Skip to main content

Full text of "North Dakota history and people; outlines of American history"

See other formats


•p^'^;-^-:  •. 

. '.' 

,%:'  '  '■'■ 

■\  ■  '■■    ■■  ■: 

Sm                nypl  research  libraries 
'S        3  3433  08044153  2 

v5 


M  ;-7  5  bc^  r  r  y 


o 


NORTH  DAKOTA 


HISTORY  AND  PEOPLE 

OUTLINES  OF  AMERICAN 
HISTORY 


ILLUSTRATED 


VOLUME    III 


CHICAGO 

THE  S.  J.   CLARKE  PUBLISHING  COMPANY 

1917 


THE  NEW  YORK 
PUBLIC  LIBRARY 

99231R 

ASTOR,  LENOX  AND 

TILDEN  fOUNUAIIONS 

B  lil4X  U 


n 


1 


HON.  LOUIS  B.  HANNA 


Biographical 


HON.  LOUIS  B.  HANNA. 

A  prominent  figure  in  tlio  banlcing  iinil  political  circles  of  North  Dakota  is  Hon.  Louis 
B.  Hanna,  the  honored  chief  executive  of  the  state,  to  which  position  he  was  called  in  1913. 
This  followed  years  of  efficient  service  in  the  legislative  halls  of  the  state  and  nation  and 
his  political  activity  was  based  not  only  upon  comprehensive  study  of  the  vital  questions 
and  issues  of  the  day  but  also  upon  broad  experience  in  the  business  world.  A  native  of 
Pennsylvania,  he  was  born  at  New  Brighton,  August  9,  1861,  a  son  of  Captain  .Jason  R. 
and  Margaret  A.  (Lewis)  Hanna,  the  former  winning  his  title  as  commander  of  Company 
C  of  the  Sixty-third  Pennsylvania  Volunteer  Infantry  during  the  Civil  war. 

In  his  youthful  days  Louis  B.  Hanna  attended  the  schools  of  New  York  city  and  of 
Cleveland,  Ohio,  and  in  recognition  of  his  pronounced  ability  the  LL.  D.  degree  was  conferred 
upon  him  by  Fargo  College  of  Fargo,  North  Dakota,  in  .June,  1915.  Throughout  the  entire 
period  of  his  business  career  his  attention  has  been  given  to  the  lumber  trade  and  to  banking 
and  his  course,  characterized  by  steady  progress  resulting  from  close  application,  broadening 
experience  and  steadily  developing  powers,  has  brought  him  to  the  front  in  the  banking 
circles  of  his  adopted  state,  so  that  he  is  now  president  of  the  First  National  Bank  at  Page, 
North  Dakota,  president  of  the  State  Bank  at  Erie,  president  of  the  State  Bank  at  Pillsbury 
and  a  director  of  the  Federal  Reserve  Bank  of  the  ninth  district. 

In  Minneapolis,  Minnesota,  in  1884,  Louis  B.  Hanna  was  married  to  Miss  Lottie  L. 
Thatcher  and  to  them  have  been  born  three  daughters  and  a  son:  Margaret  E.,  deceased; 
Jean  E.,  the  wife  of  Edwin  J.  Clapp;  Dorothy  L. ;  and  Robert  L.  The  family  hold  member- 
ship in  the  Baptist  church  and  Governor  Hanna  is  also  a  member  of  the  Masonic  fraternity, 
in  which  he  has  attained  the  Knights  Templar  degree,  while  upon  him  has  also  been  con- 
ferred the  honorary  thirty-third  degree  of  the  Scottish  Rite,  a  recognition  of  valuable  service 
rendered  to  the  order.  He  has  also  become  a  member  of  the  Mystic  Shrine  and  of  the 
Benevolent  Protective  Order  of  Elks  and  he  has  membership  in  the  Masonic  Club  of  Fargo 
and  in  the  Country  Club  of  Bismarck.  He  is  perhaps  best  known  as  one  of  the  political  leaders 
of  the  northwest,  for  he  has  left  the  impress  of  his  individuality  and  ability  in  large  measure 
upon  the  history  of  his  state.  In  1895  he  was  selected  to  represent  his  district  in  the  general 
assembly  and  at  the  close  of  his  term  was  chosen  a  member  of  the  state  senate,  serving  from 
1897  until  1901.  After  an  interval  of  four  years  he  was  again  elected  to  the  upper  house, 
of  which  he  continued  a  member  from  1905  until  1909.  In  the  latter  year  he  was  sent  to 
congress  and  reelection  continued  him  in  the  national  halls  of  legislation  for  four  years,  on 
the  expiration  of  which  period  he  was  chosen  North  Dakota's  chief  executive  and  will  so- 
continue  by  virtue  of  his  election  until  1917.  His  administration  is  characterized  by  a  pro- 
gressiveness  that  takes  into  consideration  the  salient  questions  and  conditions  of  the  state 
with  a  view  to  enlarging  the  scope  of  its  activities  and  interests  and  upholding  the  high 


«.  HISTORY  OF  xNORTH  DAKOTA 

standards  that  have  won  for  Nortli  Dakota  its  fair  name.  An  incident  in  his  life  of  which 
lie  has  every  reason  to  be  proud  is  tliat  lie  was  given  the  Cross  of  St.  Olaf  by  Haakon  VI, 
king  of  Norway,  in  September,  1915. 


JAMES  B.  SWANICK. 


James  B.  Swanick,  a  well  known  merchant  of  JNIcKenzie,  was  born  in  Toronto,  Canada, 
in  1878,  and  is  the  seventh  in  order  of  birth  in  a  family  of  ten  children,  seven  of  whom  are 
still  living.  His  parents  were  John  and  Mary  (Merrick)  Swanick,  natives  of  Scotland  and 
Ireland  respectively.  When  a  young  man  the  father  came  to  the  United  States  and  located 
at  Saratoga  Springs,  New  York,  but  afterward  removed  to  Toronto,  Canada,  where  he  spent 
the  remainder  of  his  life,  his  time  and  attention  being  devoted  to  general  farming.  He 
died  in  1882,  and  his  wife,  long  surviving  him,  passed  away  in  1915. 

During  his  boyhood  James  B.  Swanick  attended  the  public  schools  of  Toronto  and  after 
completing  his  education  came  to  the  United  States,  fhst  locating  in  Chicago,  Illinois,  where 
he  was  in  the  employ  of  James  Wild  &  Son,  merchants,  for  a  period  of  four  years.  Following 
this  he  went  to  Buffalo,  New  York,  where  he  engaged  in  clerking  in  a  mercantile  establish- 
ment for  a  similar  period.  It  was  in  1902  that  he  came  to  North  Dakota,  and  for  two  j'ears 
was  employed  in  a  lumberyard  at  Grafton,  since  which  time  he  has  been  a  resident  of 
McKenzie.  On  his  arrival  here  he  accepted  a  position  with  Mr.  Goddard,  who  was  engaged 
in  general  merchandising  under  the  firm  style  of  the  McKenzie  Mercantile  Company,  and 
Mr.  Swanick  remained  with  him  about  four  years.  On  leaving  him  he  established  a  store 
of  his  own,  which  he  still  conducts.  He  not  only  carries  a  large  line  of  general  merchandise 
but  also  handles  meats,  hartware  and  farm  implements.  He  has  built  up  an  excellent  trade, 
which  is  constantly  increasing  owing  to  his  fair  dealing  and  courteous  treatment  of  his 
customers.  He  gives  employment  to  three  clerks  and  is  the  owner  of  the  store  building 
which  he  occupies,  it  being  one  hundred  and  thirty-two  by  forty  feet  in  dimensions. 

On  the  31st  of  September,  191Q,  Mr.  Swanick  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Ethel 
Crum,  who  was  born  about  five  miles  from  McKenzie,  North  Dakota,  her  parents,  Mr.  and 
Mrs.  Charles  Crum,  being  early  settlers  of  this  state.  They  are  still  living.  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
Swanick  have  three  children:  .James  C,  Delvin  T.  and  Russell. 

The  family  attend  the  Methodist  church  and  Mr.  Swanick  is  an  Odd  Fellow,  belonging 
to  the  lodge  at  Sterling  and  having  filled  all  the  chairs  in  that  organization.  He  is  a 
republican  but  is  not  a  politician  in  the  sense  of  office  seeking,  preferring  to  devote  his 
undivided  attention  to  his  business  interests. 


GAIL  P.  SHEPARD,  M.  D. 


Dr.  Gail  P.  Shepard,  of  Jamestown,  has  rcalizi-d  that  this  is  the  age  of  specialization 
and  has  given  particular  attention  to  diseases  of  the  eye,  ear,  nose  and  throat,  in  the 
treatment  of  which  he  has  become  very  proficient.  He  was  born  in  Princeton,  Illinois,  May 
13,  1876,  a  son  of  Curtis  and  Ordella  (Harrington)  Shepard.  The  father  removed  to  this 
state  in  1882  and  two  years  later  his  family  joined  him.  Ho  engaged  in  buying  grain  and 
also  dealt  quite  extensively  in  Chester  White  hogs,  both  branches  of  his  business  proving 
profitable. 

Gail  P.  Shepard  attended  the  public  schools  as  a  boy  and  youth  and  later  entered 
Fargo  College,  from  which  he  was  graduated  in  1903  with  the  degree  of  B.  S.  He  began  his 
professional  study  in  the  Northwestern  Medical  College  at  Chicago,  which  he  entered  in  the 
year  1903,  and  in  which  he  remained  for  two  years.  He  then  matriculated  in  Bush  Medical 
College,  where  he  pursued  his  studies  for  three  years,  graduating  in  1908.  The  following 
year  he  practiced  his  profession  in  Chicago  and  at  the  end  of  that  time  returned  to  this 
state  and  located  in  Gackle,  where  he  remained  until  the  spring  of  1910.  He  then  removed 
to  Courtenay  and  continued  there  for  about  four  years,  after  which  he  returned  to  Cliicago 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  7 

and  took  postgraduate  work.  On  resuming  practice  he  located  in  Jamestown,  Stutsman 
county,  where  he  has  since  remained.  His  practice  is  increasing  month  by  month  and  he  has 
already  built  up  an  enviable  reputation  as  an  eye,  ear,  nose  and  throat  specialist.  He  is 
constantly  broadening  his  knowledge  by  study  and  thus  keeps  in  touch  with  the  new 
developments  in  medical  science,  and  he  is  an  active  -member  of  the  county  and  state 
medical  societies  and  of  the  American  Medical  Association. 

On  the  6th  of  March,  1907,  Dr.  Shepard  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Clara  M.  Eddy,  of 
Rice  Lake,  a  daughter  of  George  J.  Eddy,  of  Utica,  New  York.  Dr.  Shepard  is  a  democrat 
in  politics  and  takes  the  interest  of  a  good  citizen  in  public  affairs,  although  he  has  never 
been  an  office  seeker.  He  belongs  to  the  three  branches  of  the  Odd  Fellows,  has  taken 
the  third  degree  in  the  Masonic  order  and  is  also  a  member  of  the  Sportsman's  Chib. 
He  is  likewise  identified  with  the  Commercial  Club,  which  indicates  his  willingness  to  aid  in 
movements  seeking  the  development  and  advancement  of  his  community.  He  finds  great 
pleasure  in  hunting  and  fishing  and,  in  fact,  in  all  outdoor  sports,  which  he  values  not  only 
because  of  the  pleasure  which  they  afford  but  also  because  of  the  fact  they  promote  physical 
vigor.  In  May,  1898,  he  enlisted  as  a  member  of  Company  B,  First  North  Dakota  Regiment, 
but  was  soon  transferred  from  the  ranks  to  the  Hospital  Corps.  He  was  with  the  army  in 
the  Philippines  and  was  present  at  the  capture  of  Manila.  The  spirit  of  patriotism  which 
he  manifested  by  joining  the  army  he  has  since  displayed  in  times  of  peace,  subordinating 
his  personal  interests  to  those  of  his  city  and  state. 


RICHARD  MERRILL  DE  PUY. 

In  the  position  of  cashier  Richard  Merrill  De  Puy  is  active  in  the  management  of  the 
Eldridge  State  Bank,  which  is  one  of  the  branches  of  the  syndicate  banking  interests 
conducted  under  the  name  of  the  James  River  National  Bank,  which  corporation  has  its 
headquarters  at  .Jamestown.  Mr.  De  Puy  is  numbered  among  the  native  sons  of  the  state, 
his  birth  having  occurred  in  Bismarck  in  1891.  His  father,  William  Otis  De  Puy,  was  born 
in  Ann  Arbor,  Michigan,  in  1862,  and  the  mother,  who  bore  the  maiden  name  of  Helen  I.  Joslin, 
was  born  in  Ohio,  in  the  same  year.  The  father  became  a  dentist  and  practiced  at  Jamestown 
and  at  Bismarck  for  a  period  of  eight  years,  but  at  length  was  obliged  to  abandon  his 
profession  on  account  of  trouble  with  his  eyes.  He  afterward  spent  a  year  at  Bismarck 
as  deputy  secretary  of  state  and  later  he  entered  the  drug  business  in  that  city  as  a 
partner  of  a  Mr.  Beardsley,  which  connection  was  continued  until  1898,  at  which  time  he 
removed  to  Rolla,  North  Dakota,  where  he  conducted  a  drug  business  under  a  partnership 
relation  until  1913.  At  that  date  he  removed  to  Jamestown,  where  he  embarked  in  the 
automobile  business,  in  which  he  is  still  engaged  under  the  name  of  the  Jamestown  Motor 
Company.  He  has  secured  a  large  patronage  in  that  connection,  annually  selling  many  cars, 
and  his  capable  management  of  his  interests  is  bringing  to  him  gratifying  success. 

Richard  M.  De  Puy,  the  only  son  of  the  family,  pursued  his  education  in  the  common 
and  high  schools  of  Eolla,  North  Dakota,  and  in  the  Principia  College  and  Military 
Academy  of  St.  Louis,  from  which  he  was  graduated  with  the  class  of  1910.  He  next 
entered  the  Citizens  National  Bank  of  Jamestown,  North  Dakota,  in  the  capacity  of 
bookkeeper  and  tliere  continued  until  1915,  at  which  time  he  was  offered  and  accepted  a 
position  in  the  .James  River  Bank,  which  is  the  parent  organization  of  the  Eldridge  State 
Bank,  being  the  leading  bank  in  the  syndicate  which  owns  a  number  of  banks  in  this  part 
of  the  state.  The  Eldridge  State  Bank  was  organized  September  1,  1915,  and  from  the 
beginning  Mr.  De  Puy  has  continuously  served  as  cashier,  his  efforts  in  that  connection 
being  most  acceptable  to  the  other  officers  and  stockholders.  He  is  thoroughly  acquainted 
with  every  phase  of  the  hanking  business,  and  though  young  in  years  his  experience  has 
been  thorough,  his  training  broad,  and  his  powers  are  accordingly  well  developed.  In 
addition  to  his  banking  interests  he  holds  stock  in  the  Provident  Insurance  Company  of 
Bismarck. 

On  the  16tli  of  August,  1916.  Mr.  De  Puy  was  married  to  Jliss  rtuth  M.  Tweed,  who 
was  born   at   Jamestown,  this  state,   in    1801,  a   daughter  of   Mrs.  .T.  yj.  Rowe.     Her   father 


8  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

is  deceased.  Both  of  her  parents  were  natives  of  Pennsylvania,  but, removed  to  the  west 
in  pioneer  times.  In  religous  faith  Mr.  De  Puy  is  a  Christian  Scientist  and  fraternally 
he  is  connected  with  the  Jamestown  Lodge,  No.  995,  B.  P.  0.  E.  His  political  views  accord 
with  the  principles  of  the  republican  party  and  he  is  now  serving  as  justice  of  the  peace 
at  Eldridge,  where  he  has  made  an  excellent  record  by  the  fairness  and  impartiality  of  his 
decisions. 


JAMES  NELSON  KELLY. 


James  Nelson  Kelly  is  a  Virginian  by  birth  and  his  early  education  was  obtained  in 
public  and  private  schools  and  at  Emory  and  Henry  College  in  the  state  of  Virginia.  He 
was  born  at  Emory,  Virginia,  April  9,  1859,  the  son  of  James  and  Mahala  (Helton)  Kelly. 
His  boyhood  was  spent  on  the  farm  and  after  passing  through  the  public  schools  he  matricu- 
lated at  the  historic  old  Emory  and  Henry  College,  from  which  he  graduated  in  1879  and 
from  which  he  later  received  the  degree  of  Master  of  Arts.  After  spending  some  years  in 
Illinois  he  entered  and  graduated  from  Lake  Forest  University,  which  school  gave  him  his 
LL.  B.  degree.  Before  coming  to  North  Dakota  Mr.  Kelly  was  superintendent  of  schools  at 
Brighton,  Woodstock  and  Hillsdale,  in  the  state  of  Illinois.  For  the  past  twenty-three  years 
he  has   been  superintendent  of  the  Grand  Forks  city  schools. 

Mr.  Kelly  was  married  July  2,  1896,  to  Eleanor  G.  Murphy,  daughter  of  John  J. 
and  Elizabeth  A.  (Donnely)  Murphy,  of  Woodstock,  Ilhnois.  They  have  five  eliildren,  Eliza- 
beth Virginia,  John  J.,  Eleanor  G.,  James  N.  and  Evelyn  C. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Kelly  have  a  pleasant  home  in  the  city  of  Grand  Forks  where  the  latch 
string  is  always  out  to  their  friends.  Mr.  Kelly  has  always  taken  a  keen  interest  in  the 
welfare  of  his  city.  He  has  been  interested  not  only  in  educational  matters  but  has  been 
anxious  to  lend  a  helping  hand  in  every  good  work.  He  is  largely  interested  in  agricul- 
tural afl'airs   and   owns   some   of   tlie   finest   farms   in   the   state. 


PAUL  J.  N0RDBER6. 


Paul  J.  Nordberg,  cashier  of  the  State  Bank  of  Newburg  at  Newburg,  Bottineau 
county,  was  born  in  Norway,  October  23,  1878.  a  son  of  John  and  Hansina  (Bruem)  Nord- 
berg, who  came  to  the  United  States  in  1884,  settling  in  Pope  county,  Minnesota,  adjoining 
the  town  of  Starbuck,  where  they  purchased  a  farm.  The  father  at  once  bent  his  energies 
to  the  further  development  and  improvement  of  that  place,  whereon  he  spent  his  remaining 
days,  his  death  occurring  in  1901.     His  widow  is  still  living  and  resides  in  Starbuck. 

Paul  J.  Nordberg  was  educated  in  the  public  and  high  schools  of  Starbuck  to  the  age 
of  fourteen  years,  when  he  started  out  in  the  business  world  and  has  since  provided  for 
his  own  support.  He  entered  upon  an  apprenticeship  to  the  harness  making  trade  in  a 
shop  at  Starbuck,  and  after  completing  his  term  of  indenture  worked  at  his  trade  for 
twelve  years.  In  1899  he  came  to  North  Dakota  and  through  the  succeeding  four  years 
was  employed  in  that  line  in  Bottineau.  In  1903  he  went  to  the  old  town  of  Richburg, 
Bottineau  county,  before  the  building  of  the  railroad,  and  there  established  a  harness  store, 
but  soon  thereafter  removed  his  building  to  Westhope.  This  was  thirty  days  before  the 
railroad  was  built  into  the  town.  In  the  fall  of  1906  he  disposed  of  his  business  there  and 
in  the  spring  of  1907  went  to  Newburg,  where  he  opened  a  harness  shop.  In  July  of  the 
same  year  he  was  offered  the  assistant  cashiership  of  the  State  Bank  of  Newburg,  and, 
disposing  of  his  business,  thus  entered  upon  his  career  as  a  banker.  He  served  as  assistant 
cashier  until  January  1,  1910,  when  he  was  elected  cashier  of  the  institution  and  has  since 
served  in  that  connection,  largely  controlling  the  interests  and  establishing  the  policy  of 
the  bank.  His  work  has  been  highly  satisfactory  to  all  stockholders,  for  he  has  placed  the 
bank  upon  a  safe,  reliable  basis  and  has  conducted  its  business  according  to  the  latest 
methods  of  banking.  He  has  also  become  the  owner  of  two  farms  of  one  hundred  and  sixty 
acres  each  near  the  town  and  carefully   directs  and  manages   his  property  interests.     For 


JAMES  NELSON  KELLY 


1 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  11 

some  years  he  lias  engaged  in  tlie  real  estate  business  and  has  handled  considerable  prop- 
erty, negotiating  various  transfers  which  have  led  to  the  settlement  and  upbuilding  of 
this  section. 

In  1904  lilr.  Nordberg  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Minnie  C.  Peterson,  of  Lowry, 
Minnesota,  by  whom  he  has  five  children,  two  daughters  and  three  sons,  namely:  Wallace, 
Pauline,  Chester,  Vernon  and  Doris.  Politically  Mr.  Nordberg  is  a  republican  with  prohi- 
bition tendencies.  He  has  served  as  village  treasurer  and  as  treasurer  of  the  school  board 
for  several  years,  but  has  refused  other  oflices,  preferring  to  concentrate  his  attention  and 
efforts  upon  individual  interests.  He  and  his  wife  are  members  of  the  Lutheran  church 
and  are  highly  esteemed  by  all  who  know  them.  In  his  business  career  Mr.  Nordberg  has 
steadily  advanced  step  by  step  and  each  advance  has  brought  him  a  broader  outlook  and 
wider  opportunities.  His  plans  are  well  devised  and  carefully  executed,  and  embrace  not 
only  an  effort  for  the  attainment  of  individual  success  but  also  the  earnest  purpose  of 
promoting  the  public  welfare. 


HENRY  BOEHNKE. 


Henry  Boehnke,  who  is  now  successfully  engaged  in  the  agricultural  implement  business 
in  Kramer,  was  born  on  the  6th  of  September,  1866,  in  Bohn,  Germany,  but  was  only  seven 
years  of  age  when  brought  to  this  country  in  1873  by  his  parents,  Michael  and  Carolina 
Boehnke,  also  natives  of  the  fatherland.  The  family  located  near  Yankton,  South  Dakota, 
where  the  father  secured  a  homestead  and  engaged  in  its  operation  for  thirteen  years.  He 
then  sold  that  place  and  settled  fifty  miles  west  of  Aberdeen,  where  he  made  his  home 
until  his  removal  to  Bottineau  county,  North  Dakota,  in  1896.  He  has  since  resided  in 
Bottineau  and  has  now  reached  the  ripe  old  age  of  eighty-eight  years,  honored  and  respected 
by  all  wlio  know  him.    His  wife  passed  away  on  the  15th  of  August,  1910. 

During  his  boyhood  Henry  Boehnke  attended  the  public  schools  of  South  Dakota  and 
remained  under  the  parental  roof  until  he  attained  his  majority.  He  then  took  a  preemption 
and  engaged  in  the  improvement  and  cyltivation  of  his  land  for  three  years,  at  the  end  of 
which  time  he  removed  to  Eureka,  South  Dakota,  and  served  as  chief  of  police  for  five 
years.  It  was  in  1895  that  he  came  to  Bottineau  county.  North  Dakota,  and  took  up  a 
homestead  in  the  Turtle  mountains,  where  he  spent  three  years.  In  1898  he  became  a 
resident  of  Bottineau  and  was  engaged  in  the  implement  business  there  until  1905,  since 
which  time  he  has  made  his  home  in  Kramer.  He  served  as  manager  of  the  Kramer  Imple- 
ment Company  until  the  spring  of  1913  and  has  since  engaged  in  the  same  business  on  hia 
own  account,  building  up  a  good  trade.  In  1908  his  wife  was  appointed  postmistress  of 
Kramer  and  has  since  filled  that  position  in  a  most  satisfactory  manner. 

Mr.  Boehnke  was  married  in  1890  to  Miss  Mary  Klamisky,  and  to  them  were  born  four 
children :  Albert  A.,  Edwin  G.,  Walter  W.  and  Matilda  M.  The  wife  and  mother  died  on  the 
22d  of  May,  1903,  and  in  .June,  1909,  Mr.  Boehnke  married  Miss  Lizzie  Jorgenson.  By  the 
second  union  one  child  was  born,  but  it  died  in  infancy  December  25,  1911. 

In  religious  faith  Mr.  Boehnke  is  a  Methodist,  and  in  politics  he  is  a  republican,  taking 
an  active  and  commendable  interest  in  public  affairs.  He  served  as  deputy  sheriff  of  Bot- 
tineau county  one  term  and  has  also  served  as  one  of  the  trustees  of  the  village  board  of 
Kramer.  He  has  always  been  found  true  to  any  trust  reposed  in  him  whether  of  a  public 
or  private  nature,  and  is  numbered  among  the  valued  citizens  of  his  community. 


J.  IRA  SPAULDING. 


J.  Ira  Spaulding,  president  of  the  Farmers  &  Merchants  State  Bank  at  Sherwood,  was 
born  at  Minnewaukan,  Benson  county,  February  20,  1884,  a  son  of  Martin  J.  and  Lura 
(Howery)  Spaulding,  both  of  whom  were  natives  of  Wisconsin.  The  father  was  a  farmer 
by  occupation  and  continued  the  cultivation  of  his  land  in  Wisconsin  until   1882,  when  he 


12  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

removed  to  Benson  county,  North  Dakota,  and  filed  on  land,  which  he  improved  and  developed 
until  1891.  In  that  year  he  took  up  his  abode  at  Leeds,  North  Dakota,  where  he  carried  on 
farming  and  also  conducted  a  general  store  and  lumber  business  for  twelve  years.  In  1903 
he  removed  to  Sherwood,  North  Dakota,  where  he  opened  a  general  store  in  connection 
with  his  son,  J.  Ira  Spaulding.'  This  they  conducted  until  May,  1915,  when  they  sold  out 
and  the  father  returned  to  Leeds,  where  he  and  his  wife  are  now  residing. 

J.  Ira  Spaulding  was  largely  reared  at  Leeds,  where  he  pursued  his  education,  completing 
his  course  in  Graceland  College.  He  then  went  into  the  store  at  Sherwood  with  his  father 
and  success  attended  their  efl'orts  in  that  connection.  When  they  sold  out  J.  Ira  Spaulding 
turned  his  attention  to  the  banking  business,  purchasing  an  interest  in  the  Farmers  &, 
Merchants  State  Bank,  of  which  he  is  now  the  president,  with  F.  J.  Harris  as  vice  president. 
Perry  Brown  as  cashier  and  H.  0.  Kiel  as  assistant  cashier.  The  bank  is  capitalized  for 
ten  thousand  dollars  and  its  deposits  amount  to  one  hundred  and  ninety  thousand  dollars. 
The  bank  was  organized  in  October,  1904,  and  entered  at  once  upon  a  prosperous  existence 
that  has  made  it  one  of  the  strong  financial  concerns  of  Renville  county.  In  addition  to  his 
banking  interests  Mr.  Spaulding  owns  a  farm  of  one  hundred  and  sixty  acres  in  Ward 
county. 

In  December,  190S,  occurred  the  marriage  of  Mr.  Spaulding  and  Miss  Louise  Sherritt,  and 
to  them  have  been  born  four  children:  John  Clayton,  born  February  5,  1910;  Payson,  born 
August  35,  1912;  Teddy,  born  September  17,  1914;  and  Maxine  lone,  born  December  17,  1915. 

The  parents  attend  the  Methodist  Episcopal  church  and  Mr.  Spaulding  is  a  republican 
in  his  political  views.  He  filled  the  office  of  city  treasurer  of  Sherwood  for  one  year,  was  a 
member  of  the  town  council  for  six  years  and  is  the  present  mayor  of  the  town,  in  which 
connection  he  is  giving  Sherwood  a  businesslike  and  progressive  administration  characterized 
by  many  measures  of  practical  improvement  and  progress.  His  life  has  been  well  spent  and 
his  activities  in  the  business  world  have  been  resultant,  bringing  him  a  sul)stantial  measure 
of  prosperity. 


PATRICK  ilORRISSEY. 


1 


Patrick  Morrissey,  who  is  one  of  the  most  prosperous  and  substantial  citizens  of  Ber- 
wick, was  born  on  the  9th  of  March,  1864,  near  Oshkosh,  in  Winnebago  county,  Wisconsin, 
and  is  a  son  of  Michael  and  Katherine  (Burrc)  Jlorrisscy,  natives  of  Ireland,  who  came 
with  their  respective  parents  to  America  during  childhood.  They  became  residents  of  New 
York,  in  which  state  the  father  engaged  in  railroad  work  after  reaching  man's  estate.  He 
subsetjuently  removed  to  Wisconsin  and  purchased  land  in  Winnebago  county,  where  he 
followed  farming  for  several  years.  At  length  he  became  a  resident  of  South  Dakota,  where 
he  bought  a  relinquishment,  and  devoted  the  remainder  of  his  life  to  the  improvement  and 
cultivation  of  that  farm.    He  died  in  Huron  in  1902,  and  there  his  widow  still  resides. 

Patrick  Morrissey  attended  the  public  schools  of  Wisconsin  during  his  boyhood  and  also 
assisted  his  father  in  the  operation  of  the  home  farm,  thus  early  becoming  familiar  with 
all  the  duties  which  fall  to  the  lot  of  the  agriculturist.  On  leaving  home  he  worked  as  a 
farm  hand  in  his  native  state  for  two  years,  but  in  1885  went  to  South  Dakota,  where  he 
was  similarly  employed  for  one  summer.  The  following  winter  was  spent  in  a  lumber 
camp  in  Wisconsin  and  in  the  spring  of  1887  he  went  to  Cass  county.  North  Dakota,  where 
he  worked  as  a  farm  hand  for  eight  years.  At  the  end  of  that  time  he  took  up  a  home- 
stead in  Bottineau  county,  on  which  he  lived  until  1900.  He  still  owns  that  place,  but  now 
rents  it.  On  leaving  the  farm  he  entered  the  service  of  the  St.  Anthony  &  Dakota  Elevator 
Company,  as  manager  of  their  elevator  at  Omeraee,  North  Dakota,  for  eight  months,  after 
which  he  had  charge  of  the  Stewart  elevator  at  Berwick,  INIcHenry  county,  for  two  years. 
He  then  erected  an  elevator  of  his  own  in  Berwick,  and  has  since  operated  the  same  with 
most  excellent  success,  while  his  wife  conducts  a  general  store  at  the  same  place. 

It  was  in  September,  1901.  that  Mr.  Morrissey  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Mary 
Baldwin.  They  have  two  children,  namely:  Charles  P.,  born  September  21,  1902;  and  Mary 
P.,  born  ,July  19,  1906.     They  are  members  of  the  Catholic  church,  and  Mr.  Morrissey  is  a 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  13 

dcmoorat  in  politics.  He  has  scrvod  as  justice  of  the  peace  in  Berwick,  but  prefers  to 
devote  his  attention  to  his  business  interests,  which  are  extensive,  as  lie  is  now  the  owner 
of  three  quarter  sections  of  land  besides  his  town  property,  llis  success  in  life  is  due  to 
his  own  unaided  efforts,  as  he  started  out  for  himself  empty  handed,  and  his  prosperity 
is  the  result  of  his  industry,  enterprise  and  sound  business  judgment. 


A.  M.  TREAT,  M.  D. 


Dr.  A.  M.  Treat,  one  of  the  progressive  and  capable  physicians  and  surgeons  of  Stutsman 
county,  is  the  only  representative  of  his  profession  in  Pingiee  and  serves  a  territory  with  a 
radius  of  twenty  miles.  He  leads  a  very  busy  life  as  there  are  many  calls  for  his  professional 
services.  He  was  born  in  Blooming  Prairie,  Minnesota,  on  the  23d  of  January,  1887,  a  son 
of  C.  W.  and  Ann  (Miller)  Treat,  both  of  whom  are  still  living.  The  father  is  an  up-to- 
date  and  etticient  farmer. 

A.  M.  Treat  attended  the  public  and  high  schools  of  his  native  town  and  subsequently 
spent  a  year  in  the  academic  department  of  the  University  of  Minnesota,  after  which  he 
entered  the  medical  department  of  that  institution,  in  which  he  remained  for  three  years. 
He  then  became  a  student  in  the  .Jefferson  Medical  College  of  Philadelphia,  from  w-hich  he 
was  graduated  in  1910.  He  removed  to  the  Pacific  coast  and  practised  in  the  state  of 
Washington  for  two  years  but  at  the  end  of  that  time,  or  in  1912,  came  to  Pingree,  North 
Dakota,  where  he  has  since  remained.  He  is  the  only  physician  in  the  town  and  has  a  large 
practice  not  only  in  Pingree  but  throughout  the  surrounding  country  for  a  radius  of  twenty 
miles.  He  keeps  in  touch  with  the  advancement  that  is  cimstantly  being  made  in  medical 
science  and  has  been  very  successful  in  the  treatment  of  disease. 

Dr.  Treat  was  married  on  the  25th  of  August,  1912,  to  Miss  Maude  Hosfelt,  a  daughter 
of  J.  B.  Hosfelt.  a  resident  of  Bickleton,  Washington.  The  Doctor  supports  the  republican 
party  but  confines  his  political  activity  to  the  exercise  of  his  right  of  franchise  as  his  pro- 
fessional work  demands  his  undivided  attention.  He  holds  membership  in  the  Congregational 
church  and  seeks  to  promote  the  spread  of  its  influence  and  the  principles  which  govern  his 
life  are  still  further  indicated  by  the  fact  that  he  is  a  third  degree  Mason.  He  finds  much 
pleasure  in  hunting  and  motoring  and  recognizes  the  importance  of  recreation.  He  is  highly 
respected  both  as  a  man  and  as  a  physician  and  personally  has  many  friends. 


CHARLES  ALLEN. 


Charles  Allen,  deputy  county  treasurer  of  Grand  Forks  county,  was  born  May  31.  1859,  in 
County  Longford,  Ireland.  His  father,  Joseph  Allen,  spent  his  entire  life  in  that  country, 
where  he  died  December  25,  1883,  at  the  age  of  sixty-eight  years.  He  was  a  stock  raiser 
and  farmer  and  was  quite  successful  in  the  conduct  of  his  business  affairs.  In  politics  he 
was  active  and  cooperated  in  many  practical  and  beneficial  projects  for  civic  improvement. 
He  became  the  first  president  of  the  local  Land  League  and  he  was  an  active  and  earnest 
supporter  of  the  cause  of  education,  building  the  first  schoolhouse  under  the  national  board 
of  education.  His  religious  faith  was  that  of  the  Presbyterian  church.  He  married  Elizabeth 
Murphy,  also  a  native  of  Ireland,  and  her  death  occurred  in  County  Longford  when  she  had 
attained  the  notable  old  age  of  ninety-two  years. 

Charles  Allen  was  the  tenth  in  order  of  birth  in  a  family  of  twelve  children  and  was 
educated  in  the  national  schools  of  Longford  county  and  also  studied  under  private  tutors. 
His  early  life  was  spent  upon  his  father's  farm  and  at  the  age  of  nineteen  years  he  started 
out  to  earn  his  own  living,  being  first  employed  as  timekeeper  and  bookkeeper  by  a  bobbin 
manufacturing  concern  in  his  native  county.  He  served  in  that  capacity  for  six  years  and 
also  represented  the  company  as  buyer.  His  employers  were  M.  McXeill  &  Son,  who  had 
one  of  the  largest  concerns  of  the  kind  in  that  section  of  Ireland.  Attracted  by  the  oppor- 
tunities of  the  new  world,  Mr.  Allen  came  to  America  in  1884  and  made  his  wav  direct  to 


14  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

Grand  Forks,  Avhere  he  arrived  an  utter  stranger  save  that  he  had  a  slight  acquaintance  with 
George  C.  Dixon,  who  had  come  from  a  neighboring  town  in  Ireland.  Mr.  Allen  took  up 
government  land  in  the  Turtle  mountains  and  followed  farming  there  for  several  years.  He 
then  made  a  trip  back  to  Ireland,  where  he  spent  the  winter  of  1888-9,  when  he  again  came 
to  North  Dakota.  In  the  spring  of  the  latter  year  he  secured  a  position  under  W.  C.  Ander- 
son then  county  auditor.  He  was  connected  with  the  office  for  sixteen  years  as  clerk  and 
deputy  and  as  assistant  auditor  under  William  Ackerman.  He  also  spent  some  time  m  the 
employ  of  M.  F.  Murphy,  a  real  estate  dealer,  and  for  three  years  was  with  the  Northern 
State  Bank  of  Grand  Forks  in  the  capacity  of  bookkeeper.  He  then  entered  the  county 
treasurer's  office  under  H.  A.  Shaw,  with  whom  he  continued  to  the  end  of  his  term,  after 
which  John  Bridston.  the  present  county  treasurer,  appointed  Mr.  Allen  as  deputy  and  he 
is  now  acting  in  that  capacity.  In  politics  he  is  a  republican  and  from  the  time  he  secured 
his  naturalization  papers  he  has  been  an  active  worker  in  the  ranks  of  the  party. 

Jlr.  Allen  was  united  in  marriage  in  August,  1897,  to  Jliss  Sarah  Margaretta  Carothers, 
who  was  born  in  Pittsburgh,  Pennsylvania,  a  sister  of  the  late  R.  M.  Carothers.  county  judge 
and  an  old  settler  of  Grand  Forks.  Five  children  have  been  born  to  :\Ir.  and  Mrs.  Allen, 
four  sons  and  a  daughter,  JIary,   Frederick  Wallace,  Joseph  Carothers,  Robert   and  James 

Rentoul. 

Mr.  Allen  was  made  a  Mason  in  the  spring  of  1889  in  his  home  town  and  since  that  time 
has  always  taken  a  very  active  part  in  the  work  of  the  order.  His  brother-in-law,  George 
Henry  Miller,  was  at  the  time  master  of  the  lodge  in  which  he  was  initiated  and  prior  to  his 
death  Mr.  Miller  had  become  high  sheriff  of  County  Longford  and  land  commissioner  of 
Wexford  and  Longford  counties.  For  many  years  he  was  deputy  grand  master  of  the 
Masons  in  the  province  of  Meath  and  in  Masonic  circles  was  well  known  and  highly 
esteemed.  At  the  time  of  his  death  he  resided  at  Mill  View,  Edgeworth.  and  is  survived  by 
his  wife,  Mrs.  Kathryn  Miller,  a  sister  of  Mrs.  Charles  Allen.  In  :\Iasonry  Mi:  Allen  has 
steadily  advanced,  taking  all  of  the  degrees  of  the  York  and  Scottish  Rites  and  thus  becoming 
a  Knight  Templar  and  a  thirty-second  degree  Mason.  He  is  now  secretary  of  the  Royal  Arch 
chapter  at  Grand  Forks  and  also  of  the  Scottish  Rite  bodies  and  he  belongs  to  the  Brother- 
hood of  American  Yeomen.  His  religious  faith  is  that  of  the  Presbyterian  church.  Those 
who  know  him,  and  he  has  a  wide  acquaintance,  esteem  him  highly  as  a  man  of  genume 
personal  worth  who  holds  to  exalted  ideals  and  at  all  times  endeavors  to  make  them 
effective  in  his  life.  '    . 


MATT  JOHNSON. 


Throughout  his  business  career  Matt  Johnson  has  been  identified  with  newspaper  work 
and  is  now  editor  and  proprietor  of  the  Omemee  Herald,  published  at  Omemee,  Bottineau 
county.  He  has  also  taken  a  very  prominent  part  in  local  politics  and  has  been  calleil  upon 
to  fill  public  positions  of  honor  and  trust. 

Mr.  Johnson  was  born  in  Northwood,  Worth  county.  Iowa,  February  1,  1872,  and  is  a 
son  of  Knute  W.  and  Mathia  (Amundson)  Johnson,  natives  of  Norway.  The  mother  was 
onfy  three  years  of  age  on  her  arrival  in  this  country.  The  father  came  to  the  new  world 
during  the  administration  of  President  Pierce  and  at  the  time  of  the  Civil  -war  enlisted 
in  Company  B,  Seventh  Iowa  Volunteer  Infantry,  and  remained  in  the  service  until  hostilities 
ceased. 

Matt  Johnson  was  about  seven  years  of  age  when  the  family  came  to  North  Dakota, 
and  he  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  of  Traill  county.  At  the  age  of  thirteen  he  began 
learning  the  printer's  trade,  at  which  he  served  a  five  years'  apprenticeship,  and  has  since 
devoted  the  gieater  part  of  his  time  and  attention  to  newspaper  work.  At  the  age  of 
eighteen  he  began  the  publication  of  a  paper  at  Caledonia  and  was  later  similarly  employed 
at  Shelly  and  Halstad,  Minnesota.  In  1901  he  came  to  Bottineau  county.  North  Dakota, 
and  took  up  a  homestead,  \vhicli  he  sold  three  years  later.  He  has  been  connected  with  two 
different  papers  in  Bottineau  and  in  1905  purchased  the  Omemee  Herald,  which  he  has  since 
conducted  with  most  gratifying  success. 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  15 

Mr.  Johnson  is  a  member  of  the  Masonic  fraternity  and  politically  is  identified  with 
the  republican  party.  His  fellow  citizens,  recognizing  his  worth  and  ability,  elected  him 
to  the  state  legislature  in  1909,  and  he  has  also  served  as  village  clerk  of  Omemee  and 
clerk  of  the  district  court  from  1911  to  1915.  He  is  public-spirited  and  progressive  and 
never  withholds  his  support  from  any  worthy  enterprise. 


J.  E.  HALSTEAD. 


J.  E.  Halstead,  wliu  owns  tlie  Jamestown  Steaiu  Laundry,  was  born  in  Indiana  on  the 
18th  of  November,  1863,  and  is  a  son  of  John  and  Sarah  (Martin)  Halstead.  The  father  was 
a  farmer  by  occupation  and  as  the  years  passed  accumulated  a  competence.  Both  he  and 
his  wife  are  now  deceased.     To  them  were  born  three  sons:  J.  E.,  A.  M.,  and  A.  P. 

J.  E.  Halstead  received  his  education  in  the  public  schools  and  after  putting  aside  his 
textbooks  became  connected  with  the  drug  business,  continuing  in  that  line  for  two  years. 
At  the  end  of  that  time  he  made  his  way  to  North  Dakota  and  for  seven  years  he  was  in 
the  employ  of  a  Mr.  Lutz,  who  was  engaged  in  the  lumber  business.  In  1897  he  purchased 
the  laundry  at  Jamestow-n,  which  he  has  since  thoroughly  modernized,  installing  the  most 
improved  machinery.  He  gives  steady  employment  to  nine  people  and  collects  and  delivers 
■work  by  wagon.  His  reasonable  prices  and  the  high  quality  of  the  work  done  have  enabled 
him  to  build  un  a  large  and  lucrative  patronage.  In  addition  to  his  laundry  he  has  other 
interests,  owning  stock  in  the  Zimmerman  store,  the  Citizens  National  Bank,  and  the 
Cleveland  First  State  Bank. 

Mr.  Halstead  was  married  in  18S3  to  Miss  Ella  Butcher,  a  daughter  of  William  Butcher, 
and  they  have  become  the  parents  of  a  son  and  daughter,  Ethel  and  Albert.  Mi-.  Halstead 
is  a  republican  and  has  served  the  people  as  alderman,  promoting  in  every  way  possible 
the  interests  of  good  government.  In  religous  faith  he  is  a  Presbyterian,  and  fraternally  he 
belongs  to  the  Masons,  to  the  Mystic  Shrine  and  to  the  Elks.  His  association  with  the 
Commercial  Club  indicates  his  interest  in  his  town  and  his  public  spirit  also  extends  to  the 
state  of  North  Dakota,  which  he  believes  has  a  great  future  in  store  for  it.  He  greatly 
enjoys  hunting  and  motoring,  which  afford  him  needed  recreation. 


EJIIL  J.  HEADLAND. 


Emil  J.  Headland,  who  is  successfully  engaged  in  farming  in  Stanley  township,  Cass 
county,  is  a  native  of  that  county,  born  on  the  23d  of  June,  1876.  His  parents,  John  E. 
and  Solveig  (Palmer)  Headland,  were  born  in  Norway,  where  they  remained  until  1869, 
when  they  came  to  the  United  States.  They  first  located  in  Rice  county,  Minnesota,  but  in 
1871  removed  to  Cass  county,  North  Dakota.  They  took  up  their  residence  upon  a  farm, 
where  they  lived  until  1907,  in  which  year  they  retired  and  went  to  Fargo,  where  they  still 
reside.     All  their  six  children  are  living. 

Emil  J.  Headland  was  reared  in  this  county  and  in  his  childhood  met  with  the  usual 
experiences  of  the  hoy  raised  upon  the  frontier.  The  family  residence  was  for  several  years 
a  log  cabin  covered  with  sod  and  the  nearest  neighbors  were  a  number  of  miles  away. 
He  assisted  his  father  in  the  development  of  the  farm  as  soon  as  he  became  old  enough, 
and  attended  the  common  schools  in  the  acquirement  of  an  education.  Subsequently  he 
took  a  business  course  in  Fargo.  When  but  fifteen  years  of  age  he  took  charge  of  the 
operation  of  the  home  farm  and  a  number  of  years  later  he  purchased  the  place,  which  is 
located  on  section  1,  Stanley  township.  He  has  added  to  his  holdings,  which  now  comprise 
three  hundred  and  seventy  acres  in  this  state  and  eighty-four  acres  in  Minnesota,  all  of 
which  is  well  improved.  He  derives  a  good  income  from  his  land  and  he  also  has  other 
interests,  being  a  stockholder  and  the  secretary  of  the  Farmers  Elevator  Company,  a 
stockholder  and  a  director  of  the  Scandinavian  Bank  at  Fargo,  and  secretary  and  treasurer 
of  the  River  Line  Telephone  Company. 


IG  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

Mr.  Headland  was  married  on  New  Year's  Day,  1910,  to  Miss  Oline  Dalil,  wlio  was 
born  in  Minnesota,  a  daughter  of  Ole  and  Rebecca  Dahl,  the  former  of  whom  is  deceased, 
wliile  tlie  latter  is  still  living.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Headland  have  three  children,  Mildred  Rebecca, 
Solveig  Oline  and  Emil  Johan. 

Mr.  Headland  supports  the  republican  party  at  the  polls  and  has  served  as  assessor 
of  his  township.  Fraternally  he  is  a  thirty-second  degree  Mason  and  he  is  also  a  member 
of  the  Sons  of  Norway.  He  possesses  those  sterling  qualities  characteristic  of  his  race 
and  has  not  only  gained  financial  independence  but  has  also  won  the  sincere  respect 
of  all  with  whom  he  has  come  in  contact. 


FRED  GORDON. 


Fred  Gordon,  a  farmer  and  stockman  living  at  Tioga,  was  born  at  Danville,  in  the 
province  of  Quebec,  Canada,  June  35,  1834,  and  has  therefore  passed  the  eighty-second 
milestone  on  life's  journey.  His  parents  were  John  and  Rhoda  (Pope)  Gordon.  The  father, 
a  native  of  Scotland,  acquired  his  education  in  the  schools  of  that  country  and  on  coming 
to  the  new  world  with  his  brother  settled  at  Kingston,  Canada,  where  he  worked  at  the 
baker's  trade,  having  previously  served  a  seven  years'  apprenticeship  in  Scotland.  He  after- 
ward removed  to  Shipton,  Canada,  where  he  carried  on  farming,  purchasing  two  hundred 
acres  of  land,  which  he  successfully  developed  and  improved.  He  was  one  of  the  pioneer 
settlers  of  that  district  and  died  in  Shipton  at  the  advanced  age  of  eighty-eight  years.  His 
wife,  who  was  born  in  Wheelock,  Vermont,  spent  her  girlhood  upon  a  farm  in  the  Green 
Jloinitain  state  but  was  married  in  Canada,  where  she  went  with  her  father,  who  there 
followed  the  millwright's  trade.  Mrs.  Gordon  reached  an  advanced  age  and  passed  away 
at   Shipton. 

Fred  Gordon  met  the  usual  experiences  that  fall  to  the  lot  of  the  farm  bred  boy 
while  spending  his  youthful  days  on  the  old  homestead  at  Shipton.  The  farm  was  situ- 
ated three  miles  from  Danville.  He  had  but  little  opportunity  to  attend  school  and  when 
comparatively  young  began  work  as  a  farm  hand.  Going  to  Vermont  in  early  manhood, 
he  was  employed  at  farm  labor  there  at  a  salary  of  twelve  dollars  per  month,  which  was 
the  highest  wage  paid  for  such  work  at  that  time.  All  farm  work  was  done  by  hand  as 
the  modern  farm  machinery  had  not  then  been  invented  or  introduced.  In  1863  he  removed 
to  Wells  River,  New  Hampshire,  and  purchased  a  farm  near  Woodville,  having  acquired  the 
capital  wherewith  to  make  the  purchase  through  his  economy  while  working  for  others  at 
twelve  dollars  per  month.  For  some  time  he  cultivated  his  original  farm  and  then  sold  out, 
after  which  he  bought  land  at  Swift  River,  New  Hampshire.  There  he  engaged  in  farm- 
ing and  also  carried  on  logging  at  Bungie,  New  Hampshire.  The  logging  firm  with  which 
he  wns  employed  purchased  seven  thousand  acres  of  land  in  Minnesota  and  sent  Mr.  Gordon 
to  buy  two  hundred  calves  to  stock  this  ranch.  He  then  sold  his  New  Hampshire  farm  and 
purchased  the  calves,  which  he  took  to  the  Minnesota  ranch,  one  hundred  horses  having  been 
sent  out  the  year  before.  He  took  back  two  carloads  of  horses  in  the  cars  that  the  calves 
had  been  shipped  in.  Since  that  period  he  has  been  continuously  identified  with  the  devel- 
opment of  the  northwest.  In  1882  lie  removed  to  Niagara,  Grand  Forks  county,  and  pur- 
chased eighty  acres  of  land  adjoining  the  town  of  Niagara  for  twelve  hundred  dollars.  He 
next  bought  four  hundred  acres  from  George  R.  Baker,  the  arrangement  being  that  he  was 
to  pay  fourteen  thousand  bushels  of  wheat,  giving  Mr.  Baker  such  an  amount  each  year 
as  he  could  to  apply  upon  the  indebtedness.  In  three  years  he  had  discharged  his  financial 
obligation.  He  continued  to  engage  in  farming  and  stock  raising  near  Niagara  from  1882 
until  1908,  or  for  a  period  of  twenty-six  years,  at  the  end  of  which  time  he  sold  out  and 
removed  to  Tioga,  where  he  purchased  a  relin<iuishment  of  one  hundred  and  sixty  acres. 
From  time  to  time  he  has  added  to  his  holdings  until  he  is  now  the  owner  of  over  one 
thousand  acres  of  valuable  land  in  Williams  county,  his  home  being  situated  on  his  farm 
a  half  mile  w^est  of  the  town  of  Tioga.  In  making  his  purchases  he  has  displayed  sound 
judgment  and  his  property  interests  now  return  to  him  a  very  gratifying  annual  income. 
He  also  owns  town  property  in  Tioga  in  addition  to  a  large  number  of  farms.     He  owns  the 


FRED  flORDOX 


-1 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  19 

Gordon  Hotel  in  Tioga;  a  poolroom  in  Temple  and  another  in  Guthrie,  North  Dakota.  He 
lias  always  been  a  great  trader  and  buys,  sells  and  trades  farms  and  city  property.  To 
Mr.  Gordon  was  awarded  the  contract  for  paving  the  streets  of  Larimore,  North  Dakota, 
and  he  also  had  a  subcontract  to  grade  a  part  of  the  right  of  way  for  the  Great  Nortlurn 
Railroad  from  Devils  Lake  to  Fort  Benttm,  North  Dakota. 

In  February,  1873,  Mr.  Gordon  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Helen  A.  Andrews,  who 
was  born  at  Shipton,  in  the  province  of  Quebec,  Canada,  a  daughter  of  Horatio  and  Khoda 
(Aldney)  Andrews,  who  were  natives  of  Claremont,  New  Hampshire.  Mrs.  Gordon  com- 
pleted her  education  by  graduation  from  the  high  school  at  Danville,  Canada,  and  she  passed 
away  in  March,  1916,  while  on  a  visit  to  the  home  of  her  son  in  Alberta.  To  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
Gordon  were  born  nine  children,  of  whom  six  survive,  Kenneth  McC,  George,  Fred  M., 
Valmer,  William  C.  and  Emma  R. 

In  his  political  views  Mr.  Gordon  is  an  earnest  democrat  and  his  religious  faith  is  that 
of  the  Episcopal  church.  He  belongs  to  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America  and  both  within 
and  without  that  organization  has  many  warm  friends.  With  every  phase  of  pioneer  life 
in  North  Dakota  he  is  familiar  and  his  memory  forms  a  connecting  link  between  the  primi- 
tive past  of  territorial  days  and  the  progressive  present.  He  has  done  much  for  the  upbuild- 
ing of  the  state  through  the  conduct  of  his  business  affairs  and  his  keen,  quick  judgment 
in  trading  on  a  big  scale  has  brought  him  notable  and  well  deserved  prosperity.  While 
about  eighty-three  years  of  age  he  is  as  active  as  a  man  of  fifty  and  looks  no  older.  His  life 
record  would  put  to  shame  many  a  man  of  less  resolute  spirit,  who,  gi-own  weary  of  the 
burdens  resting  upon  him,  would  relegate  his  duties  to  others.  Still  hale  and  hearty,  his 
mind  alert  and  his  faculties  unimpaired,  he  is  today  one  of  the  most  active,  successful  and 
honored  business  men  of  Williams  county. 


C;  A.  MENGE. 


C.  A.  Menge,  a  hardware  merchant  and  one  of  the  prominent  business  men  of  Mylo, 
was  born  in  Germany  on  the  9th  of  February,  1872,  a  son  of  August  and  F'rederika  (Malak- 
owski)  Menge,  both  of  whom  were  natives  of  Germany.  They  came  to  the  United  .States  in 
1878,  and  first  settled  in  Goodhue  county,  Minnesota,  but  in  1881  moved  to  Norman  county 
and  homesteaded. 

In  the  public  schools  of  that  state  C.  A.  Menge  pursued  his  early  education,  supple- 
mented by  a  course  in  a  business  college  in  St.  Paul.  As  early  as  his  twelfth  year,  how- 
ever, he  became  a  wage  earner,  working  for  neighboring  farmers,  and  when  a  youth  of 
eighteen  he  took  charge  of  his  father's  farm,  which  he  cultivated  and  further  developed, 
contiiuiing  active  in  that  way  for  three  j'eara.  Later  he  rented  other  land  and  engaged 
in  farming  independently.  His  initial  training  in  the  hardware  trade  was  received  in  1901, 
when  he  entered  a  store  in  Lockhart,  Minnesota,  where  he  was  employed  for  three  years. 
In  1905  he  came  to  North  Dakota  and  after  four  months  spent  in  Bisbee,  where  he  had 
charge  of  a  lumberyard  until  it  was  sold,  he  removed  to  Mylo  on  the  7th  of  July,  1905, 
four  days  before  the  sale  of  town  lots  was  held.  There  he  was  placed  in  charge  of  the 
business  of  the  Rogers  Lumber  Company  and  at  the  same  time  entered  into  partnership 
with  Charles  Stenson,  establishing  a  hardware  and  implement  business  under  the  lirm 
style  of  Menge  &  Stenson.  They  erected  a  store  building  and  opened  the  first  business 
house  in  the  new  town.  During  the  first  year  of  his  connection  with  Mr.  Stenson,  Mr.  Mengo 
lived  in  the  back  part  of  the  store  and  had  charge  of  the  hardware  department,  while 
Mr.  Stenson  took  charge  of  the  sale  of  farm  implements.  On  the  1st  of  January,  J  907,  they 
dissolved  partnership  and  Mr.  Jlenge  continued  in  the  hardware  trade  independently.  He 
now  has  an  excellent  store,  carrying  a  large  and  carefully  selected  line  of  both  shelf  and  heavy 
hardware,  and  his  sales  have  reached  a  gratifying  annual  figure.  In  addition  he  owns  a 
farm  of  one  hundred  and  sixty  acres  near  Mylo,  and  his  spirit  of  enterprise  and  progressive- 
ness  constitutes   him   one  of  the  leading  business  men  of  his   locality. 

In  1897  Mr.  Menge  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Ida  R.  Hagenston,  of  Ada,  Min- 
nesota, and  to  them  have  been  born  four  children:  Alma  F.,  who  is  attending  the  Valley  City 


20  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

Normal   School;    Verna,   a   pupil   in   the   Bisbee   high    school;    Arnold,   also    in   school;    and 
Marjorie,  who  has  not  yet  reached  school  age. 

Mr.  Menge  belongs  to  the  Methodist  church,  while  his  wife  is  of  the  Lutheran  faith, 
but  in  the  absence  of  churches  to  their  respective  denominations  in  Mylo  they  attend  the 
Presbyterian  church.  Fraternally  Mr.  Menge  is  connected  with  tlie  Jiodern  Woodmen  of 
America.  His  political  allegiance  is  given  to  the  republican  party  and  he  was  nominated  at 
the  primaries  in  the  summer  of  1916  for  the  office  of  state  legislator,  his  friends  recognizing 
that  he  possesses  the  qualities  which  would  make  a  safe  counselor  in  matters  of  signitlcance 
to  the  commonwealth.  He  is  a  public-spirited  citizen,  loyal  to  the  best  interests  of  his 
community,  and  his  efforts  in  behalf  of  public  progress  have  resulted  most  beneficially  in 
his   district. 


RUSSELL  D.  CHASE. 


Kussell  D.  Chase,  an  able  lawyer  of  Jamestown,  is  a  member  of  the  well  known 
firm  of  Thorp  &  Chase  and  since  1913  has  served  as  states  attorney.  He  was  born 
in  Carrington,  North  Dakota,  on  the  14th  of  April,  1888,  a  son  of  Ed  M.  and  Kate  A.  Chase. 
The  father,  who  settled  in  this  state  in  1883,  devoted  his  life  to  merchandising.  He 
passed  away  in  1904  but  is  survived  by  his  widow. 

Russell  D.  Chase  attended  the  public  and  high  schools  and  then  entered  the  University 
of  North  Dakota,  graduating  from  the  College  of  Law  in  1909.  He  immediately  located 
at  .Jamestown  and  engaged  with  George  W.  Thorp  in  the  practice  of  law  under  the  style 
of  Thorp  &  Chase.  They  have  a  good  clientage  and  are  recognized  as  able  members  of 
the  bar.  In  1913  Mr.  Chase  was  elected  states  attorney  on  the  republican  ticket  and  has 
since  given  much  of  his  time  to  the  discharge  of  his  official  duties.  He  has  made  an 
excellent  record,  having  proved  both  efficient   and  conscientious. 

Mr.  Chase  is  a  Protestant  in  religious  faith  and  fraternally  is  a  Knight  Templar 
Mason  and  an  Elk.  He  is  one  of  the  progressive  and  public-spirited  young  men  of 
Jamestown  and  has  gained  the  respect  of  the  community. 


JESSE   J.  TAYLOR. 


Jesse  J.  Taylor,  cashier  of  the  State  Bank  of  Oriska  at  Oriska,  Barnes  county,  waa 
born  at  Oak  Center,  Wisconsin,  .January  29,  1876,  and  is  a  representative  of  one  of  the 
old  pioneer  families  of  that  state.  In  the  period  of  Wisconsin's  early  development  his 
grandfatlier  removed  thither  with  his  family,  settling  at  Oak  Center,  where  he  engaged 
in  farming,  and  his  activity  and  enterprise  contributed  to  the  upbuilding  of  the  district. 
His  son,  Lewis  Taylor,  a  native  of  Byron,  New  York,  was  reared  in  Wisconsin  and  in  1881 
removed  to  Brownton,  Minnesota,  where  he  resided  for  three  or  four  years.  He  then 
went  to  Long  Lake,  where  he  remained  until  the  spring  of  1889,  when  lie  came  to  North 
Dakota,  settling  first  at  Tower  City,  Cass  county,  where  he  resided  for  three  years. 
He  then  established  his  home  eleven  miles  north  of  Oriska,  where  he  engaged  in  farming 
until  1914.  In  Wisconsin  he  wedded  Henrietta  Young,  a  native  of  Schenectady,  New  Y^ork, 
and  upon  her  death  in  1914  he  retired  from  active  business  life  and  his  son  Herbert, 
who  has  an  adjoining  farm,  now  operates  the  old  homestead,  cultivating  an  entire  section 
of  land.     The  family  n\imbered  seven  children,  of  whom  three  have  passed  away. 

Jesse  .J.  Taylor,  the  eldest  of  the  four  surviving  members  of  the  family,  attended  the 
public  schools  in  the  various  localities  in  which  the  family  lived  and  afterward  took  up 
the  profession  of  teaching,  which  he  followed  for  three  years.  He  afterward  entered 
the  employ  of  Nicholas  Gauche,  a  pioneer  merchant  of  Oriska,  with  whom  he  remained  for 
two  years  and  then  in  order  to  better  qualify  himself  for  business  life  he  attended 
Dixon  College  at  Dixon,  Illinois,  studying  there  for  two  years.  On  returning  to  Oriska 
he  secured  a  position  in  the  State  Bank,  which  was  organized  in   April,  1903,  and   opened 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  21 

its  doois  fur  business  on  the  3rd  of  August  of  that  year  with  ili-.  Taylor  as  cashier — • 
a  position  which  he  has  since  continuously  occupied.  The  other  oiJScers  of  the  bank  are 
George  0.  Goulet,  president;  Wesley  Van  Steenburgh,  vice  president;  and  Ethel  J.  Gamble, 
assistant  cashier.  The  bank  was  capitalized  for  ten  thousand  dollars  and  the  success  of  the 
institution  is  indicated  in  the  fact  that  the  capital  stock  has  been  raised  to  twenty 
thousand  dollars  and  there  is  a  surplus  fund  of  five  thousand  doUais,  with  undivided 
profits  of  thirteen  hundred  dollars.  Its  deposits  amount  to  about  two  hundred  and  fifteen 
thousand  dollars  and  its  loans  and  discounts  to  two  hundred  and  ten  thousand  dollars. 
The  business  is  conducted  along  the  most  modern  methods  of  general  banking  and  the 
policy  pursued  is  a  safe,  conservative  one,  meriting  the  confidence  and  support  of  the 
public.  On  the  1st  of  July,  1916,  they  opened  a  savings  department,  accepting  accounts 
from  one  dollar  upward,  and  this  is  also  proving  successful.  In  the  first  two  months 
five  hundred  dollars  was  deposited  in  small  sums,  so  that  the  bank  will  prove  a  help  to 
the  community  as  well  as  a  source  of  individual  profit,  enabling  the  small  wage  earner 
to  save  money. 

On  the  11th  of  May,  1904,  Jlr.  Taylor  was  married  to  Miss  Florence  Rice,  of  Dunlap, 
Illinois,  a  daughter  of  Elisha  Rice,  a  pioneer  settler  of  Illinois  and  successful  farmer  there. 
Mr.  and  Mrs.  Taylor  have  one  child,  Geneva,  now  in  school.  The  parents  are  members  of 
the  Congregational  church  and  occupy  an  enviable  position  in  the  warm  regard  of  their 
fellow  townsmen.  Mr.  Taylor  also  belongs  to  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America  and  the 
Masonic  order.  He  has  been  successful,  is  a  popular  and  efficient  bank  officer  and  a  genial, 
courteous  gentleman  whose  circle  of  friends  is  almost  coextensive  wtih  the  circle  of  his 
acquaintance. 


ROBERT  B.  GRIFnTH. 


Robert  B.  Griffith,  president  of  the  Robert  B.  Griffith  Company,  has  throughout  his 
business  career  displayed  a  spirit  of  initiative  that  has  resulted  in  steady  progress,  bringing 
him  into  close  and  prominent  connection  with  some  of  the  most  important  commercial, 
industrial  and  financial  interests  of  Grand  Forks  and  of  the  state.  He  was  born  in  Welland 
county.  Ontario,  Canada.  December  24,  1856,  a  son  of  .James  and  Ellen  (Randall)  Griffith. 
The  father,  a  native  of  Ontario,  resided  in  Canada  until  1885,  when  he  removed  with  his 
family  to  North  Dakota,  establishing  his  home  in  Grand  Forks,  where  he  engaged  in  business 
with  his  son.  He  afterward  removed  to  Pasadena,  California,  and  there  retired  from  active 
business  life,  making  his  home  in  that  city  of  flowers  and  sunshine  until  death  called  him  in 
1911,  when  he  was  eighty-one  years  of  age.  His  wife  had  passed  away  in  1909  at  the  age 
of  seventy-two  years.  Tliey  were  the  parents  of  twelve  children,  of  whom  five  died  in 
infancy. 

Robert  B.  Griffith,  the  second  in  order  of  birth,  spent  his  early  life  in  Ontario,  where  he 
attended  the  public  schools,  and  after  leaving  high  school  he  turned  his  attention  to  mercan- 
tile pursuits,  with  which  he  was  connected  in  Ontario  for  a  decade.  On  the  expiration  of 
that  period  lie  came  to  Xorth  Dakota  and  established  his  present  business  in  Grand  Forks 
on  the  2d  of  Xovember,  1881.  His  business  has  enjoyed  a  remarkable  growth.  He  had  but 
one  clerk  in  the  beginning  and  at  present  his  employes  number  about  one  hundred.  He  has 
always  conducted  a  department  store,  carrying  a  large  general  line  of  goods,  and  his  estab- 
lishment is  thoroughly  modern  in  its  equipment  and  in  the  character  of  the  stock  handled. 
His  progressivcness,  his  initiative  and  his  enterprise  have  made  his  establishment  a  standard 
of  commercial  activity  in  Xorth  Dakota.  His  business  interests,  however,  cover  a  still 
broader  scope,  for  he  has  become  an  official  factor  in  the  development  and  control  of  many 
interests  of  importance.  He  is  now  president  of  the  Grand  Forks  Street  Railway  Company 
and  a  director  of  the  First  X^ational  Bank.  He  is  also  interested  in  the  agricultural  develop- 
ment of  the  state  and  is  the  owner  of  much  valuable  farming  property. 

Even  these  are  but  phases  of  his  activity,  for  along  many  lines  which  have  contributed 
to  the  material  expansion  and  moral  development  of  the  community  he  has  been  equally 
active.     He  is  a  director  of  the  Commercial  Club,  of  which  he  wns  formerly  president,  and 


22  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

at  unc  tiiiiu  he  was  alderman  of  Grand  Korks  but  could  never  be  induced  to  accept  other 
I)ublic  oliice.  He  has,  however,  studied  tlie  questions  which  are  to  the  statesman  and  man 
of  allairs  of  the  greatest  import  and  signilicance  and  has  cooperated  heartily  in  many  well 
delined  projects  to  improve  economic  and  sociological  conditions.  For  many  years  he  has 
been  the  president  of  the  North  Dakota  Enforcement  League.  He  is  a  most  active  worker 
in  the  Baptist  church  and  for  the  past  thirty  years  has  been  superintendent  of  the  Sunday 
school.  He  is  likewise  the  president  of  the  North  Dakota  Baptist  state  convention  and  still 
his  interests  broaden  into  other  lines,  for  he  is  a  member  of  the  Fortnightly  Club,  a  literary 
organization,  and  of  the  Franklin  Club,  a  social  organization. 

In  September,  1885,  Mr.  Griffith  married  Minnie  C.  Webster,  of  Grand  Forks,  and  they 
had  four  children.  Paul  B.,  a  graduate  of  the  University  of  North  Dakota  and  now  in  business 
with  his  father,  married  Maude  Begg  and  they  have  a  son,  Robert  B.  Marion  died  at  the  age 
of  nine  months,  Earl  Webster  at  the  age  of  three  years  and  Margaret  Pearl  when  six  years 
of  age.     Later  they  adopted  a  daughter.  Faith,  who  is  now  attending  school. 

F'rom  a  comparatively  humble  position  in  the  business  world  Robert  B.  Griffith  has 
steadily  worked  his  way  upward  through  his  own  efl'orts  and  is  today  not  only  one  of  the 
best  known  and  leading  merchants  of  Grand  Forks  but  one  of  the  most  prominent  business 
men  of  the  state.  Wealth  has  come  to  him  but  its  attainment  has  been  by  no  means  the 
end  and  aim  of  his  life.  While  interested  in  most  of  the  important  business  enterprises  of 
Grand  Forks,  in  which  he  has  official  control,  he  has  regarded  this  as  but  one  phase  of  exist- 
ence, never  excluding  his  active  participation  in  and  support  of  the  other  vital  interests 
which  are  of  significant  value  to  society  at  the  present  time.  The  subjective  and  objective 
forces  of  lite  are  in  him  well  balanced,  making  him  cognizant  of  his  own  capabilities  and 
powers,  while  at  the  same  time  he  thoroughly  understands  his  duties  and  his  obligations. 


CHARLES  A.  KLAUS. 


Charles  A.  Klaus,  who  is  known  to  the  traveling  public  of  the  whole  northwest  as  the 
proprietor  of  the  Gladstone  Hotel  at  Jamestown,  one  of  the  best  hostleries  in  the  state,  was 
born  in  Green  Bay,  Wisconsin,  on  the  28th  of  July,  1863.  His  parents,  Charles  and  Annie 
(Lenz)  Klaus,  were  both  of  German  birth.  Until  thirteen  years  of  age  our  subject  attended  the 
parochial  schools  of  Green  Bay  and  thus  acquired  his  education.  He  then  went  to  work  in  a 
grocery  store,  where  he  remained  until  1883,  when  as  a  young  man  of  nineteen  years  he  came 
to  Dakota  territory.  He  joined  an  uncle,  Anton  Klaus,  who  was  in  the  real  estate  business 
at  Jamestown,  and  continued  with  him  for  three  years,  after  which  he  was  appointed  assist- 
ant postmaster,  in  which  capacity  he  served  until  1890,  when  he  was  made  postmaster.  He 
filled  that  office  acceptably  until  1894,  when  he  accepted  the  position  of  manager  of  the 
Gladstone  Hotel,  of  which  'he  became  sole  owner  in  1897.  The  hotel  has  developed  with  the 
development  of  this  section  of  the  state  and  the  small  wooden  building  which  it  occupied 
at  first  has  given  place  to  a  large  modern  structure,  which  is  one  of  the  finest  hotel  build- 
ings in  the  state.  The  furnishings  and  appointments  of  the  hotel  are  up-to-date  and  no 
expense  has  been  spared  in  providing  for  the  comfort  of  the  guests.  Moreover,  the  value 
of  courtesy  and  willing  service  has  been  impressed  upon  all  the  employes.  In  addition  to 
owning  this  hotel,  which  is  one  of  the  most  profitable  hostleries  in  the  state,  Mr.  Klaus  has 
large  holdings  in  farm  lands. 

In  April,  1887,  Mr.  Klaus  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Anna  Bosche,  a  native  of 
Green  Bay,  Wisconsin,  by  whom  he  has  a  daughter,  Katherine.  He  is  a  stanch  democrat 
and  has  been  prominent  in  state  political  affairs,  serving  as  a  delegate  to  a  numbei  of  state 
conventions.  He  has  also  been  active  in  local  affairs  and  from  1896  to  1902  was  a  member 
of  the  Jamestown  city  council.  His  religious  faith  is  that  of  the  Catholic  church  and  fra- 
ternally he  is  connected  with  the  Catholic  order  of  Foresters,  the  Knights  of  Columbus  and 
the  Benevolent  Protective  Order  of  Elks.  His  military  record  covers  six  years'  service  as  a 
member  of  Company  H,  North  Dakota  National  Guard,  and  when  he  retired  he  held  the 
rank  of  first  sergeant.  From  1903  until  1904  he  served  as  president  of  the  Jamestown 
Commercial  Club  and  in  that  capacity  was  instrumental  in  carrying  to  successful  completion 


CHARLES  A.  KLAUS 


THE  jy£w  rOHK 

PUBLIC  LIBRA  My 

•tlLOSH  ^p-v ^^ 

M. 


-)■ 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  25 

a  number  of  projects  for  the  advancement  of  the  city.  He  can  always  be  counted  upon  to 
give  time  and  energy  as  well  as  money  to  the  promotion  of  movements  for  the  general  wel- 
fare and  is  recognized  as  one  of  the  foremost  citizens  of  Jamestown.  He  is  also  popular 
personally  and  has  many  warm  friends. 


HENRY  W.  F.  LAW,  M.  D. 


Dr.  Henry  W.  F.  Law,  physician  and  surgeon  of  Grand  Forks,  was  born  at  Uxbridge, 
Ontario,  Canada,  January  13,  1871,  his  parents  being  Frank  and  Alice  (Blanchard)  Law,  who 
were  also  natives  of  that  province.  Their  ancestors  came  from  England  at  an  early  period 
in  the  development  of  Canada.  The  grandfather,  William  Law,  was  born  in  Cumberland, 
England,  but  in  early  life  emigrated  to  the  new  world  and  engaged  in  business  as  a  wagon 
manufacturer.  In  1866  he  removed  to  Cedar  Falls,  Iowa,  where  his  remaining  days  were 
passed.  His  wife,  who  bore  the  maiden  name  of  Harriet  Bradley,  was  born  in  Yorkshire, 
England,  was  married  in  Ontario  and  like  her  husband  spent  her  last  days  in  Cedar  Falls, 
Iowa.  The  maternal  grandparents  of  Dr.  Law  were  James  and  Harriet  Hannah  (Burton) 
Blanchard.  The  grandfather  became  one  of  the  pioneer  settlers  of  Canada,  where  he  remained 
until  his  demise.  His  wife,  a  native  of  Middlesex,  England,  also  passed  away  in  Ontario,  Can- 
ada. The  father  of  Dr.  Law  spent  his  early  life  as  a  farmer  in  Ontario  and  in  1901  removed  to 
Hannah,  Xorth  Dakota,  where  he  passed  away  in  1915  at  the  age  of  seventy-one  years.  His 
widow  still  survives  and  is  now  living  in  Grand  Forks  at  the  age  of  seventy  years.  Their 
family  numbered  seven  children,  five   sons  and  two  daughters. 

Dr.  Law,  the  third  in  order  of  birth,  attended  the  common  schools  of  Ontario  and 
afterward  pursued  a  high  school  course  at  I^ngdon  and  at  Hannah,  North  Dakota.  In 
preparation  for  a  professional  career  he  entered  the  Detroit  College  of  Medicine  at  Detroit, 
Michigan,  from  which  he  was  graduated  in  1904.  He  then  returned  to  Hannah,  North  Dakota, 
where  he  opened  an  office  and  remained  in  active  practice  until  1913,  when  he  sought  a 
broader  field  in  a  larger  city  and  removed  to  Grand  Forks. 

On  the  1st  of  October,  1901,  in  Hannah,  North  Dakota,  Dr.  Law  was  married  to  Miss 
Alice  M.  Byers,  a  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Jlrs.  James  Byers,  of  a  well  known  family  of  Pem- 
bina county,  North  Dakota.  The  two  children  of  this  marriage  are:  Frank,  who  was  born 
in  Hannah  in  October,  1906,  and  is  now  attending  school  in  Grand  Forks;  and  Goldie,  who 
was  born  in  Hannah  in  1911. 

The  parents  are  members  of  the  Presbyterian  church  and  fraternally  Dr.  Law  is  a 
prominent  Scottish  Rite  Mason  and  member  of  the  Mystic  Shrine.  He  also  belongs  to  the 
Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows  and  the  Benevolent  Protective  Order  of  Elks,  while  his 
religious  faith  is  that  of  the  Presbyterian  church.  While  residing  in  Cavalier  county,  North 
Dakota,  he  served  as  county  physician  and  throughout  the  jears  of  his  practice  he  has  done 
much  general  hospital  work.  He  belongs  to  the  Grand  Forks  County  Medical  Society,  the 
North  Dakota  State  Medical  Society  and  the  American  Medical  Association. 


HON.  B.  A.  HALL. 


Hon.  B.  A.  Hall,  of  Lakota,  probate  judge  of  Nelson  county  serving  for  the  second  term, 
was  born  in  Biddeford.  Maine,  December  5.  1833,  a  son  of  A.  L.  and  Avis  R.  (White)  Hall. 
The  father  was  a  native  of  Vermont  and  the  mother  of  Bangor,  Maine,  and  in  1S55  they 
removed  with  their  family  to  Wisconsin,  where  they  spent  several  years.  Afterward  they 
became  residents  of  Glencoe,  McLeod  county,  Minnesota,  where  they  cast  in  their  lot  with 
the  pioneer  settlers.  The  father  possessed  considerable  skill  as  a  machinist  and  for  many 
years  was  connected  with  the  Singer  Sewing  Machine  Company.  He  was  also  a  prominent 
Mason  and  enjoyed  the  confidence  and  goodwill  of  all  with  whom  he  came  in  contact.  He 
died  in  1902,  at  the  advanced  age  of  eighty-six  years,  having  long  survived  his  wife,  who 
passed  away  in  1891,  at  the  age  of  sixty  years.  In  their  family  were  four  ohildren,  of 
Vol.  m— 2 


26  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

whom  Judge  Hall  was  the  second.  Tlie  otlier  surviving  member  of  tlie  family  is  Charles  T. 
Hall,  now   living  at  Brownton,  Minnesota. 

Judge  Hall  was  less  than  two  years  of  age  when  the  removal  was  made  to  Wisconsin  and 
in  the  common  schools  of  Fond  du  Lac,  that  state,  he  pursued  his  education,  after  which 
he  learned  the  i)rinter's  trade  there.  Subsequently  he  removed  to  Minnesota  and  was  con- 
nected with  the  printing  business  in  Glencoe  for  sixteen  years.  In  1904  he  arrived  in  North 
Dakota,  settling  first  at  Fargo,  where  he  worked  on  the  Fargo  Journal  for  a  short  time.  He 
afterward  removed  to  Hope  and  later  to  Petersburg,  where  he  published  the  Petersburg 
Record  for  nine  years.  On  the  expiration  of  that  period  he  removed  to  Lakota  and  in  1912 
was  elected  probate  judge,  now  serving  for  the  second  term. 

On  the  3d  of  October,  1893,  Mr.  Hall  was  married  in  Long  Prairie,  Minnesota,  to  Miss 
Marie  Theresa  Marz,  a  daughter  of  Phillip  and  Mary  Marz,  the  former  now  deceased.  Her 
parents  were  pioneer  settlers  of  Minnesota.  By  her  marriage  Mrs.  Hall  has  become  the 
mother  of  two  sons:  Harold  R.,  who  was  born  at  Long  Prairie  in  March,  1895,  and  is  now 
manager  of  the  Tolna  Tribune;  and  Harlan  Leroy,  who  was  born  in  Petersburg,  North 
Dakota,  July  30,  190S,  and  is  attending  school  here.  The  elder -son  was  married  in  September, 
1914. 

Judge  Hall  is  a  Master  Mason  and  also  a  member  of  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America 
and  exemplifies  in  his  life  the  beneficent  spirit  underlying  those  orders.  His  political  allegiance 
is  given  to  the  republican  party  and  his  capability  in  office  is  indicated  by  the  fact  that  in 
election  in  the  fall  of  1916  he,  as  a  candidate  for  the  position  for  the  third  term,  received  the 
highest  vote  of  any  of  the  republican  nominees  on  the  county  ticket  in  his  home  city,  Mr. 
Frazier  candidate  for  governor  being  the  only  man  having  more  votes  than  he.  His  ability 
and  the  wise  use  which  he  has  made  of  his  opportunities  constitute  the  measure  of  his  progress 
and  success  and  he  is  accoimted  one  of  the  valued  citizens  of  Lakota  and  Nelson  county. 


HON.  ROLLIN  C.  COOPER. 


Hon.  Rollin  C.  Cooper,  who  has  represented  his  district  in  the  house  of  representatives 
and  in  the  state  senate  and  who  lias  for  more  than  a  third  of  a  century  been  closely  and 
prominently  associated  with  the  agricultural  development  of  Griggs  count}',  his  home  being 
now  at  Cooperstown,  was  born  September  30,  1845,  in  Washtenaw  county,  Michigan,  a  son 
of  Thomas  and  Caroline  Cooper,  wdio  Avere  natives  of  Vermont.  Their  marriage  was  celebrated 
in  the  Green  Mountain  state  and  in  1832  they  removed  westward  to  Michigan,  casting  in  their 
lot  with  the  pioneer  settlers,  after  which  the  father  devoted  his  attention  to  farming  for  many 
years,  contributing  in  substantial  measure  to  the  development  of  his  district.  There  he 
reared  his  family  of  eleven  children. 

Rollin  C.  Cooper,  the  ninth  in  order  of  birth,  was  a  lad  of  thirteen  years  when  he  went 
to  Minnesota,  in  which  state  he  resided  for  a  few  years,  but  removed  to  Colorado  in  1861. 
There  he  engaged  in  mining  and  also  was  successful  as  an  agriculturist.  In  1880  he  arrived 
in  Griggs  county,  North  Dakota,  and  the  following  year  settled  upon  the  present  site  of 
Cooperstown,  which  he  platted  and  which  was  named  in  honor  of  himself  and  his  brother, 
T.  J.  Cooper.  On  removing  to  Griggs  county  Rollin  C.  Cooper  at  once  began  farming  and 
grain  buying  and  as  his  intelligently  directed  labors  brought  to  him  success  he  added  to  his 
acreage  until  he  became  one  of  the  most  extensive  landowners  and  grain  buyers  of  the 
state,  having  in  all  fourteen  thousand  acres,  of  which  nine  thousand  acres  were  under  culti- 
vation, mostly  devoted  to  the  production  of  wheat. 

In  Colorado,  in  1870,  Mr.  Cooper  was  married  to  Miss  Emma  C.  IJutchins.  a  native  of  Ohio 
and  a  daughter  of  Henry  and  Ella  Hutchins.  They  had  two  children  who  died  in  infancy 
and  they  adopted  a  daughter,  Florence,  who  passed  away  at  the  age  of  twenty-seven  years. 

Mr.  Cooper  is  an  exemplary  member  of  the  Masonic  fraternity  and  has  taken  the 
degrees  of  the  Lodge  of  Perfection  of  the  Scottish  Rite.  During  territorial  days  he  was 
appointed  by  Governor  Ordway  a  member  of  the  board  of  county  commissioners  of  Griggs 
county  and  so  continued  to  serve  by  successive  reelections  until  1898,  doing  splendid  work 
in  tliat  connection.     It  is  well  known  that  he  stood  by  the  state  most  loyally  in  the  ilarkest 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  27 

liovirs  of  its  history,  assisting  tlio  eommoinvoalth  in  passing  over  a  period  which  threatened 
bankruptcy.  He  never  lost  faitli,  liowever,  and  he  passed  by  no  opportunity  that  would 
enable  him  to  further  the  best  interests  of  North  Dakota.  He  is  an  extremely  modest  man, 
entirely  free  from  ostentation  and  display,  but  the  specific  office  of  biography  is  not  to  give 
voice  to  a  man's  modest  estimate  of  himself  and  his  accomplishments  but  rather  to  leave  a 
perpetual  record  establishing  his  position  by  the  consensus  of  public  opinion  on  the  part  of  his 
fellows.  This  o])inion  was  expressed  in  1S<)4,  when  Mr.  Cooper  was  chosen  to  represent  his 
district  in  the  state  legislature,  and  again  four  years  later,  when  he  was  elected  a  member  of 
the  state  senate.  In  the  house  he  was  a  member  of  the  committee  on  railroads  and  several 
other  important  committees.  His  colleagues  at  that  period  and  his  acquaintances  through 
all  the  long  years  of  his  residence  in  the  state  have  nothing  but  good  to  say  of  Rollin  C. 
CVioper. 


!•:.  .J.  LANDER  &  COMPANY. 

Among  the  business  enterprises  of  Grand  Forks  that  have  contributed  in  substantial 
measure  to  the  upbuilding,  development  and  jnogress  of  that  section  of  the  state  is  E.  J. 
Lander  &  Company.  The  firm  was  organized  in  Grand  Forks  in  August,  1883,  as  a  partnership 
concern  but  the  business  progiessed  and  developed  to  such  an  extent  that  it  was  deemed 
advisable  to  incorporate  and  accordingly,  in  1897,  this  was  done.  Mr.  Lander,  who  organized 
the  business,  became  its  first  president  and  remains  the  president  and  active  manager  of 
tne  corporation  today.  The  company  engages  in  the  business  of  loaning  money  on  first  mort- 
gages and  negotiating  investment  securities.  Its  charter  also  permits  the  company  to  act  as 
administrator,  executor  or  trustee  of  estates,  as  guardian  of  minors  or  as  assignee  or  receiver 
of  individuals,  firms  or  corporations.  The  reliable  business  methods  of  the  firm  are  indicated 
in  the  fact  that  many  of  its  patrons  have  remained  with  it  throughout  the  entire  jieriod  of 
its  existence  or  for  over  thirty  years,  and  never  has  an  investor  lost  a  dollar  of  principal 
or  interest  through  any  investment  made  for  him  by  this  company,  which  bears  a  well 
established  reputation  for  conservative  and  thoroughly  reliable  methods,  conducting  its 
interests  along  safe,  legitimate  lines.  Farm  mortgages  properly  and  conservatively  made 
are  recognized  as  sound  security  and  every  banker  of  North  Dakota  deals  in  and  with  these 
securities  with  the  same  degree  of  confidence  in  their  soundness  and  intrinsic  value  that 
eastern  bankers  deal  in  government  bonds.  Watchfulness  and  carefulness  have  been  adopted 
as  the  slogans  of  the  company  and  they  enjoy  an  unassailable  reputation  for  reliability  and 
enterprise.  They  may  well  be  proud  of  the  fact  that  during  the  entire  existence  of  the 
company  no  title  upon  which  they  have  passed  has  ever  been  successfully  attacked. 


GUV  W.  RUNCORN. 


Guy  W.  Runcorn,  who  is  effieiently  filling  the  position  of  cashier  of  the  Bank  of  York 
at  York,  North  Dakota,  has  passed  his  entire  life  in  the  west  and  possesses  in  large  measure 
the  enterprise  characteristic  of  this  section  of  the  country.  He  was  born  in  Plainfield,  Wis- 
consin, .Taiuiary  5,  1882,  and  his  parents  are  William  B.  and  Etta  E.  (McFarland)  Runcorn, 
also  natives  of  that  town.  They  resided  there  until  1886,  when  with  their  family  they 
located  on  a  homestead  sixteen  miles  east  of  Cando,  North  Dakota.  The  father  operated 
tliat  place  until  1894,  when  he  returned  to  Plainfield,  Wisconsin,  residing  there  about  two 
am!  one-half  years.  At  the  end  of  that  time  he  again  came  with  his  family  to  North 
Dakota,  locating  upon  a  farm  in  Pierce  county,  ten  miles  north  of  York.  Aljout  a  decade 
later,  in  1907,  he  removed  to  York  where  he  is  still  living.     His  wife  had  died  Alay  1,  1905. 

Guy  W.  Runcorn  acquired  his  educaticm  in  the  public  schools  and  in  the  Northwestern 
Business  College  at  Grand  Forks,  North  Dakota.  On  the  5th  of  July,  190;i.  he  entered  the 
York  State  Bank  as  bookkeeper,  and  two  years  later  he  was  promoted  to  assistant  cashier  and 
in  1908  was  made  cashier.     In   Tune,  1911,  he  severed  his  connection  with  that  institvltion, 


28  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

iuid  purchased  an  interest  in  tlie  Bank  of  York,  of  wliicli  lie  lias  since  been  cashier.  Since 
.Seiiteniber,  1915,  iiis  father  has  been  president  of  the  bank,  in  which  the  two  men  own  the 
controlling  interest.  The  management  of  the  institution  is  left  largely  to  our  subject,  and 
his  intimate  knowledge  of  banking  practice,  his  understanding  of  the  basic  principles  of 
finance  and  his  familiarity  with  local  business  conditions  have  enabled  him  to  so  direct  its 
affairs  tliat  it  has  paid  a  good  dividend  and  at  the  same  time  been  a  factor  in  the  business 
development  of  the  community. 

On  the  16th  of  .June,  1915,  occuneil  the  marriage  of  Mi".  Runcorn  and  Miss  Nancy  J.' 
Fossum.  He  supports  the  republican  Jiarty  at  the  polls  and  keeps  well  informed  on  the 
issues  of  the  day.  He  belongs  to  Leeds  Lodge,  No.  67,  A.  F.  &  A.  M.;  Grand  Forks  Con- 
sistory, No.  31,  A.  &  A.  S.  R.;  Kem  Temple,  A.  A.  0.  N.  M.  S.,  of  Grand  Forks;  York  Lodge, 
No.  08,  L  0.0.  F. ;  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America  and  the  Ancient  Order  of  United 
Workmen.  He  and  his  wife  belong  to  the  Rebekahs  and  she  is  also  affiliated  with  the 
Order  of  the  Eastern  Star.  He  is  one  of  the  prominent  men  of  Benson  county  and  his 
])ersonal  friends  are  many. 


REV.  OTTO  WOLPERS. 


Rev.  Otto  Wolpers,  a  Catholic  priest  officiating  at  St.  .John's  church  in  Beach,  is 
doing  much  to  further  the  interests  of  the  organization.  He  was  born  in  German}-  in 
1870  and  in  1884,  when  a  youth  of  fourteen  years,  came  to  the  United  States,  after 
which  he  was  employed  on  a  farm  in  Minnesot,a.  He  attended  college  at  Riehardton, 
North  Dakota,  and  was  ordained  to  the  priesthood  at  Oakes  on  the  8th  of  June,  1909,  by 
the  Rt.  Rev.  John  Shanley,  bishop  of  Fargo,  after  which  he  was  sent  to  Mandan  to  take 
temporary  charge  of  the  work  at  that  place.  There  he  remained  from  October,  1909, 
until  July,  1910,  when  he  was  transferred  to  Beach,  where  he  has  since  remained. 

St.  John's  church  at  Beach  was  established  in  1906  as  a  mission  attended  from  Dickinson 
by  the  Rev.  John  Digman,  who  officiated  until  Father  A.  J.  Van  Den  Heuvel  took  charge. 
He  was  the  first  resident  priest  and  took  up  the  work  in  Beach  aftout  1908.  There  he 
continued  until  1909,  when  Father  Carl  Hierlmeier  was  appointed  priest.  He  continued  until 
1910,  when  Father  Wolpers  was  assigned  to  St.  .John's  where  he  has  since  labored.  The  first 
house  of  worship  was  built  in  1906  by  Father  John  Digman,  the  congregation  consisting 
of  but  eleven  families,  but  in  1910,  following  the  arrival  of  Father  Wolpers,  he  recognized 
the  need  of  a  new  church  for  at  that  time  there  were  one  hundred  families  in  the  parish. 
E.  J.  Donahue,  of  St.  Paul,  drew  the  plans  for  the  new  church  and  the  contract  for  the 
outside  work  was  let  to  Peter  J.  Nasvik,  of  St.  Paul,  for  twenty  thousand  si.K  hundred 
dollars.  The  work  was  started  in  the  middle  of  August,  1913,  and  the  church  w-as  com- 
pleted and  opened  for  service  on  Easter  Sunday  of  1914.  The  cornerstone  was  laid 
September  21,  1913,  by  the  Rt.  Rev.  Bishop  Vincent  Wehrle,  0.  S.  B.,  of  Bismarck,  and  the 
church  was  dedicated  by  him  June  31,  1914.  The  church  and  fixtures  cost  about  twenty- 
eight    thousand    dollars. 

Father  Wolpers  has  done  excellent  work  since  taking  charge  of  St.  John's  and  in 
addition  he  has  in  charge  the  Church  of  St.  Michael  at  Sentinel  Butte,  the  Sacred  Heart 
church  at  Sledora  and  St.  Elizabeth's  church  at  Trotters.  He  has  the  love  and  confidence 
of  his  people  and  therefore  has  secured  their  heai"ty  coopei'ation  in  the  well  defined  plans 
which  he  lias  put  forth  for  the  upbuilding  of  the  organization. 


JOHN   ARTHUR  JOHNSON. 


.John  Arthur  -Johnson,  sheriff  of  Rolette  county,  making  his  home  in  RoUa,  the  county 
seat,  was  born  in  Allamakee  count}',  Iowa,  October  12,  1874,  a  son  of  Gilbert  and  Ellen 
(Gilbert)  Johnson,  the  former  a  native  of  Norway  and  the  latter  of  Wisconsin.  The 
father   came   to   America   in   1866   and   settled   in    Caledonia,   Minnesota.     He   was   a   tailor 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  29 

by  trade  and  followed  tliat  pursuit  in  Minnesota  for  several  years  but  in  18T2  opened  a 
hotel  at  New  Albion,  Iowa,  where  h(^  carried  on  business  for  a  decade.  In  1883  he 
returned  to  Caledonia,  Minnesota,  whore  lie  resided  until  1893,  when  he  removed  to 
Rolette  county,  North  Dakota,  and  filed  on  land  near  the  village  of  Eolette.  He  later 
bought  other  land,  which  he  has  since  cultivated.  He  is  now  living  at  the  age  of  seventy- 
one  years,  while  his  wife  has  reached  the  age  of  seventy  years. 

John  Arthur  Johnson  was  reared  and  educated  in  Caledonia,  Minnesota,  and  remained 
under  the  parental  roof  until  he  had  attained  his  majority.  In  1896  he  filed  on  land 
adjoining  liis  father's  and  has  since  devoted  much  of  his  time  and  attention  to  the  further 
development  and  improvement  of  the  place.  He  now  owns  four  hundred  and  eighty  acres 
in  the  farm  on  wliicli  he  resides  and  in  addition  to  cultivating  the  cereals  best  adapted  to 
soil  and  climate  he  makes  a  specialty  of  raising  Belgian  horses. 

In  January,  1903,  Mr.  Johnson  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Lena  Jackson  and  to  them 
have  been  born  five  children:  Cecil  L.,  Ellen,  Pearl,  Louisa  and  William.  The  family  attend 
the  Episcopal  church,  in  which  the  parents  hold  membership  and  Mr.  .Johnson  is  also 
a  member  of  the  Masonic  lodge,  the  chapter  at  Rugby  and  the  commandery  at  Bottineau. 
His  political  endorsement  is  given  to  the  republican  party  and  in  1907  he  was  elected 
to  the  office  of  county  commissioner,  in  which  position  he  served  until  1914,  when  he  was 
elected  sheriff  of  Eolette  county  and  has  since  served  In  that  capacity.  The  family  came 
to  North  Dakota  without  a  dollar  but  they  have  steadily  worked  their  way  upward, 
proving  what  may  be  accomplished  in  tliis  land  of  opportunity  where  energy  and  ambition 
point  out  the  way. 


JUDGE  AUGUSTUS   P.   FOLSOM. 

.Judge  Augustus  P.  Folsom,  the  present  county  and  city  justice  of  Dickinson  and 
Stark  county,  was  born  in  Marshfield,  Washington  county,  Vermont,  September  11.  1843, 
a  son  of  .John  and  Philena  (Young)  Folsom.  The  father  was  born  at  Stanstead,  in  the 
province  of  Quebec,  Canada,  February  9,  1819,  and  in  1838  removed  to  Vermont,  locating 
at  Marshfield.  In  1845  he  went  to  Wheelock,  where  he  remained  until  18,'j9,  when  he 
removed  to  Greensboro,  there  following  the  occupation  of  farming  until  July,  18G2.  In 
response  to  the  country's  call  for  troops  he  enlisted  as  a  member  of  Company  A,  Tenth 
Vermont  Volunteer  Infantry,  remaining  in  active  service  in  Virginia  under  McClellan  with  the 
Army  of  the  Potomac  until  death  claimed  him  on  the  31st  of  October,  1863,  his  life  being  one 
of  the  sacrifices  demanded  to  preserve  the  L'nion.  His  wife  was  born  in  Claremont,  New 
Hampshire,  February  28,  1821,  and  she  reached  the  age  of  seventy-six  years,  passing  away  in 
1897.  Her  last  days  were  spent  at  Stannard,  Caledonia  county,  Vermont.  In  the  family 
were  five  children:  Celinda,  who  became  the  wife  of  J.  0.  Griffin,  a  farmer  living  at 
Greenfield,  Massachusetts;  Augustus  P.;  Jane,  who  became  the  wife  of  .1.  H.  Clark,  a  farmer 
of  Stannard,  Vermont,  and  died  in  1915;  Joseph  B.,  who  passed  away  in  1873;  and  Etta, 
who  died  in  1915. 

Judge  F'olsom  pursued  his  early  education  in  the  district  schools  of  Wheelock,  Caledonia 
county,  Vermont,  and  afterward  attended  high  school  at  Glover,  Orleans  county,  Vermont. 
The  same  spirit  of  patriotism  which  prompted  his  father's  enlistment  for  service  in  the 
Civil  war  was  manifest  in  his  case,  for  in  1863  he  joined  the  armj-  as  a  member  of  Company 
D,  Sixth  Vermont  Infantry,  with  which  he  served  in  the  Array  of  the  Potomac  until  the 
close  of  the  war.  He  took  part  in  the  Battle  of  the  Wilderness  and  other  important  en- 
gagements and  in  the  Battle  of  the  Wilderness  was  wounded  in  the  throat.  He  was 
afterward  attached  to  the  hospital  corps  until  the  cessation  of  hostilities  and  was  ward 
master  of  the  United  States  General  Hospital  of  Vermont,  which  was  situated  near  his 
birthplace. 

Leaving  the  service,  .Judge  Folsom  returned  to  Greensboro,  Vermont,  where  he  engaged  in 
the  lumber  business  and  in  milling  for  a  few  years.  At  the  end  of  that  time  he  purchased 
the  Greensboro  Bend  Hotel  at  Greensboro  Bend  and  was  its  proprietor  for  eight  years. 
On  the  IStli  of  September,  1866,  he  married  Pliilinda  Daniels,  a   native  of  Barnston,  Quebec, 


30  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

Canada,  born  June  9,  1847.  In  her  girlliood  days  she  became  a  resident  of  Vermont  and 
four  children  were  born  of  this  marriage:  Lillian,  deceased;  Ethel,  the  wife  of  Charles 
Pendergast,  who  is  farming  at  Hettinger,  North  Dakota;  L.  Everett,  who  is  railioading 
and  makes  his  home  at  Newport,  Vermont;  and  Mabel,  the  wife  of  H.  F.  Beidler,  who  is 
engaged  in  the  lumber  business  in  Dickinson.  The  wife  and  mother  passed  away  in  1905, 
at  the  age  of  fifty-eight  years.  In  June,  1914,  Judge  Folsom  was  again  married,  his  second 
union  being  with  Mrs.  Agnes  Beidler,  a  native  of  St.  Cloud,  Minnesota,  who  died  in  June, 
1915. 

It  was  in  1884  that  Mr.  Folsom  left  the  Atlantic  coast  for  the  middle  west.  Making 
his  way  to  Minneapolis,  Minnesota,  he  there  remained  for  about  a  year  and  in  April,  1885, 
became  a  resident  of  Loyalton,  Edmunds  county.  South  Dakota,  then  Dakota  territory. 
He  there  took  up  a  homestead  and  tree  claim  and  also  bought  a  lumber  business,  remaining 
there  for  three  and  one-half  years.  He  next  removed  to  New  England,  North  Dakota, 
where  he  opened  a  general  store  which  he  conducted  and  at  the  same  time  served  as  post- 
master for  four  years.  In  the  spring  of  1893  he  established  his  home  in  Dickins-on  and 
soon  afterward  was  appointed  justice  of  the  peace,  in  which  position  he  has  served  almost 
continuously  since,  acting  as  justice  for  both  city  and  county.  He  has  also  been  engaged 
in  the  land  business  and  that  has  constituted  an  important  source  of  his  revenue.  His 
oilicial  record  is  indeed  creditable.  Before  coming  to  the  west  he  had  served  for  nineteen 
years  as  a  justice  in  Vermont  and  he  has  occupied  the  office  for  twenty-two  years  in 
Dakota.  To  some  extent  he  has  engaged  in  farming  and  has  a  tract  of  ninety  acres  Avithin 
the  city  limits  of  Dickinson. 

In  polities  Judge  Folsom  is  a  republican,  active  in  support  of  his  party,  which  has 
almost  continuously  kept  him  in  public  office  since  he  attained  his  majority.  Fraternally 
he  is  a  prominent  Mason.  He  joined  the  order  in  Vermont  in  1865  and  now 
belongs  to  the  lodge,  chapter  and  commandery  at  Dickinson  and  the  council  at  Fargo. 
He  is  a  past  master  of  the  lodge  and  has  been  its  secretary  for  seven  years.  He  has 
been  secrctarj'  of  the  chapter  since  its  organization  nineteen  years  ago — the  only  one  that  has 
ever  filled  this  position.  He  is  likewise  connected  with  the  Eastern  Star  and  he  became  a 
member  of  the  Grand  Army  of  the  Kepublic  at  Loyalton,  South  Dakota.  His  religious 
faith  is  that  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  church  and  he  is  serving  onnfche  board  of  stewards 
in  the  Dickinson  church.  The  official  record  of  no  other  resident  of  Stark  county  has 
extended  o\'cr  a  longer  period  and  none  has  been  more  faultless  in  honor,  fearless  in  conduct 
or  stainless  in  reputation. 


WILLARD  BELA  OVERSON. 


Willard  Bela  Overson,  state  senator  from  Williams  county  since  1908  and  throughout 
the  entire  period  a  member  of  the  judiciary  committee,  has  since  October,  1899,  actively 
engaged  in  the  practice  of  law  in  Williston.  Free  from  ostentation  and  display,  he  is 
fortunate  in  possessing  character  and  ability  that  inspire  confidence  in  others,  and  the 
simple  weight  of  his  character  and  ability  has  carried  him  into  important  relations.  He 
was  born  in  Cambridge,  Wisconsin,  November  28,  1872,  a  son  of  Thomas  and  Marion  (Allen) 
Overson.  The  father,  a  native  of  Teleniarken.  Norway,  came  witli  his  parents  to  the 
United  States  when  ten  years  of  age,  the  family  home  being  established  in  Racine  county, 
Wisconsin,  where  he  acquired  a  liberal  education.  He  afterward  engaged  in  merchandising 
in  Cambridge,  that  state,  where  his  death  occurred  in  1901.  His  wife,  who  was  born, 
reared  and  educated  in  Utica,  New  York,  was  an  accomplished  musician  and.  before  her 
marriage  engaged  in  teaching.     She  passed  away  in  Cambridge,  Wisconsin,  in  1891. 

At  the  usual  age  Willard  B.  Overson  became  a  pupil  in  the  public  schools  of  his  native 
town,  passing  through  consecutive  grades  to  his  graduation  from  the  high  school,  while 
subsequently  he  won  the  Bachelor  of  Arts  degree  upon  graduating  from  the  University  of 
Wisconsin.  Determining  upon  the  practice  of  law  as  a  life  work,  he  then  matriculated  as 
a  law  student  in  the  State  University  and  won  his  professional  degree  in  1896.  After 
practicing  for  a  few  years  at  Racine,  Wisconsin,  he  removed  to  Williston,  Xortli   Dakota, 


WILLAED  B.  OVERSON 


1 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  33 

in  October,  1899,  and  tliroiigliout  the  inteivening  years  has  been  engaged  in  the  practice 
of  hiw  and  in  newspaper  work.  For  a  time  lie  was  lialf  owner  and  associate  editor  of 
the  Williston  Grapliic  but  sold  his  interest  in  that  paper  some  time  ago.  He  also  organ- 
ized the  Williston  Land  Company,  of  which  he  was  president  for  ten  years  and  the  lirst 
abstiaet  company  in  the  count}'.  His  attention  is  now  chielly  concentrated  upon  the  private 
practice  of  law  and  his  devotion  to  his  clients'  interests  is  proverbial.  I'or  the  past 
fourteen  years  he  has  been  attorney  for  the  Great  Northern  Railroad  Company.  In  the 
work  of  the  courts  he  is  most  thorough  and  painstaking,  preparing  his  eases  with  great  care 
and  precision,  while  his  presentation  of  a  cause  always  indicates  careful  analysis  and  his 
reasoning  is  thoroughly   logical. 

On  the  20th  of  June,  1906,  at  Sterling,  Hlinois,  Mr.  Overson  was  married  to  Miss  Alice 
Dillon,  who  was  there  born  and  reared.  After  attending  the  high  school  she  was  graduated 
from  Waterbury  Hall,  a  private  school  for  girls  at  Sycamore,  Illinois.  She  is  a  daughter  of 
Colonel  iloses  and  Emma  (Golder)  Dillon.  Her  father  was  a  native  of  Youngstown,  Ohio, 
and  at  the  time  of  the  Civil  war  enlisted  from  Illinois.  In  business  connections  he  was 
well  known  as  a  successful  lumberman  and  continued  his  residence  in  Sterling  until  his  death. 

Fraternally  Mr.  Overson  is  connected  with  Williston  Lodge,  F.  &  A.  M.,  of  which  he  is 
a  past  master,  while  at  Fargo  he  has  attained  the  thirtj-second  degree  in  the  Scottish  Rite 
and  also  holds  membership  in  El  Zagal  Temple,  A.  A.  0.  N.  M.  S.  He  is  likewise  a  charter 
member  of  Williston  Lodge,  No.  1214,  B.  P.  0.  E.,  and  a  member  of  the  Knights  of  Pythias 
and  Odd  Fellows  lodges  of  that  place.  He  holds  membership  with  the  Sons  of  the  American 
Revolution  and  his  religious  faith  is  indicated  in  his  membership  in  the  Episcopal  church. 
In  politics  he  is  a  republican  and  in  1900  was  elected  states  attorney  of  Williams  county, 
which  position  he  filled  for  two  terms  or  until  1905.  In  1908  he  was  elected  state  senator 
and  endorsement  of  his  first  term's  service  came  to  him  in  reelection  in  1913.  During  the 
past  two  sessions  he  has  been  chairman  of  the  judiciary  committee  and  has  done  much 
toward  shaping  important  legislation  in  the  state.  A  man  of  quiet  reserve  and  dignity 
but  of  splendid  intellectual  attainments,  he  is  regarded  as  one  of  the  leading  citizens  of 
Williston,  enjoying  the  confidence,  respect  and  honor  of  his  fellow  citizens  to 'an  unusual 
degree. 


JOHN  W.  DUNGAN. 


.Tohu  W.  Dungan,  county  treasurer  of  Towner  county,  his  home  being  at  Cando,  was 
chosen  to  this  position  in  1913  and  has  been  a  most  faithful  custodian  of  the  public  funds 
throughout  the  period  of  his  connection  with  the  office.  He  was  born  in  Marion  county, 
Iowa.  .Inly  17.  1871,  a  son  of  Samuel  H.  and  Sarah  J.  (Payton)  Dungan,  natives  of  Indiana. 
The  father  was  a  farmer  by  occupation  and  in  early  life  removed  to  Marion  county,  Iowa, 
where  he  purchased  land  and  began  the  development  and  improvement  of  a  farm.  Some 
time  afterward  he  removed  to  Kansas,  where  he  carried  on  farming  for  three  years  and  later 
he  established  his  home  in  Nebraska,  where  he  conducted  a  farm  for  twelve  years.  In  1893 
he  went  to  Towner  county.  North  Dakota,  where  he  filed  on  land  and  improved  a  farm,  making 
it  his  place  of  abode  throughout  his  remaining  days.  He  died  on  the  23d  of  January,  1907, 
while  his  widow  yet  survives. 

.Tiihii  W.  Dungan  spent  the  period  of  his  minority  in  the  states  of  Nebraska  and  Kansas, 
reuiaining  under  the  parental  roof  until  he  reached  adult  age.  He  then  took  up  land  in 
Towner  county.  North  Dakota,  and  this  he  improved,  continuing  its  further  cultivation  and 
development  to  the  present  time  save  for  the  period  of  his  incumbency  in  office.  He  rented 
the  farm  in  1912,  when  he  was  elected  county  treasurer  of  Towner  count}',  but  he  intends 
to  return  to  the  farm  in  the  spring  of  1917  following  his  retirement  from  office.  He  owns 
six  quarter  sections,  or  nine  hundred  and  sixty  acres  of  land,  and  his  careful  management 
of  his  property  interests  has  brought  to  him  a  substantial  measure  of  prosperity. 

On  the  18th  of  November.  1890.  Mr.  Dungan  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Ethel  M. 
Chapman  and  they  have  become  the  parents  of  four  children:  Clyde  C,  Merle  W.,  Fern  L. 
and   Kva   E.     ,Mr.   Dungan  has  always  given   his  political   allegiance  to  the   republican   party 


34  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

since  a^e  conferred  upon  him  the  right  of  franchise.  Fraternally  he  is  connected  with  the 
Odd  Fellows  and  the  Kebekahs,  the  Ancient  Order  of  United  Workmen  and  the  Degree  of 
Honor.  His  has  been  an  active  and  well  spent  life,  and  his  fellow  townsmen  recognize  in 
him  a  representative  business  man,  substantial  citizen  and  capable  oflicial. 


TRACY  R.  BANGS. 


Tracy  E.  Bangs,  member  of  the  law  firm  of  Bangs,  Hamilton  &  Bangs,  is  the  Nestor 
of  the  Grand  Forks  bar  and  is  today  the  oldest  practicing  attorney  of  the  city.  He 
there  began  practice  in  1886  but  even  prior  to  that  time  the  name  of  Bangs  was 
associated  with  the  legal  history  of  Grand  Forks,  for  his  father  was  an  active  member  of 
the  profession   at  that  point. 

Tracy  R.  Bangs  was  born  in  Le  Sueur,  Minnesota,  on  the  39th  of  April,  1863,  a  son 
of  Alfred  W.  Bangs,  a  native  of  Pennsylvania  and  a  descendant  of  an  old  Massachusetts  fam- 
ily, the  ancestors  having  come  to  America  from  England  in  1623.  The  founder  of  the 
American  branch  of  the  family  was  Edward  Bangs  and  he  became  the  founder  of  the  town 
of  Eastham,  Massachusetts,  where  he  resided  from  1633  until  1667.  In  August,  1916, 
a  tablet  was  there  erected  to  his  memory  and  the  president  of  the  Colonial  Society  of 
Massachusetts  delivered  an  address  on  that  occasion.  Early  ancestors  of  the  family  par- 
ticipated in  the  Revolutionary  war.  Alfred  W.  Bangs  practiced  law  at  Scranton,  Penn- 
sylvania, for  a  short  time,  but,  moving  west  in  1860,  became  a  pioneer  of  Minnesota  and 
afterward  aa  early  settler  of  Grand  Forks,  where  he  established  his  home  in  1881.  Subse- 
quently he  removed  to  Rapid  City,  South  Dakota,  where  he  passed  away  in  1905  at  thfr 
age  of  seventy-five  years.  During  his  residence  in  both  North  and  South  Dakota  he 
served  as  county  attorney  and  he  was  chaiiinan  of  the  last  democratic  territorial  com- 
'mittee.  He  was  at  one  time  state  senator  from  Pennington  county.  South  Dakota,  and  he 
was  a  delegate  to  the  national  convention  of  his  party  at  St.  Louis  which  nominated 
Grover  Cleveland  for  the  presidency.  He  took  a  most  prominent  part  in  promoting  the 
interests  of  his  party  and  was  a  very  active  worker  in  its  ranks.  Hg  was  also  a  leading 
member  of  the  Masonic  fraternity  and  he  left  the  impress  of  his  individuality  in  many  ways. 
upon  the  public  life  of  his  state.  His  wife,  who  bore  the  maiden  name  of  Alena  Baker,  was 
a  native  of  Pennsylvania  and  a  representative  of  an  old  Presbyterian  family  of  Scotch- 
Irish  descent.  She  died  in  Minnesota  in  1865,  leaving  a  son  and  daughter,  but  the  latter 
is  now  deceased.  In  the  fall  of  1866  A.  W.  Bangs  was  married  to  Sara  D.  Plowman,, 
she  being  the  mother  of  George  A.  Bangs,  who  is  referred  to  elsewhere  in  this  history. 

The  son,  Tracy  R.  Bangs,  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  of  his  native  town  and 
at  the  age  of  fifteen  began  to  earn  his  own  livelihood.  He  was  first  employed  as  clerk 
in  an  abstract  office  and  subsequently  occupied  a  position  in  the  auditor's  oflSce  in  LeSueur 
county,  Minnesota.  Before  leaving  the  public  schools  he  began  the  study  of  law  under  the 
direction  of  his  father  and  after  removing  to  Grand  Forks  in  the  winter  of  1881-3  he- 
secured  employment  in  the  United  States  land  office,  with  which  he  was  connected  for  two 
years.  He  afterward  became  bookkeeper  in  the  Grand  F'orks  National  Bank.  Continuing 
the  study  of  law  as  opportunity  offered,  he  was  admitted  to  practice  in  1886  and  became 
the  associate  of  his  father  under  the  firm  name  of  Bangs  &  Bangs.  A.  W.  Bangs,  moving  to 
Rapid  City,  South  Dakota,  in  the  spring  of  1889,  Tracy  R.  formed  a  partnership  with 
Charles  J.  Fisk,  now  chief  justice,  which  continued  until  after  Mr.  Bangs'  appointment  as 
United  States  District  Attorney.  He  has  been  city  attorney  and  in  1893  he  was  elected 
states  attorney,  while  in  1894  he  received  the  appointment  of  United  States  attorney,  occupying 
that  position  for  four  years,  after  which  he  retired  and  resumed  the  private  practice  of 
law.  For  several  years  he  was  alone,  after  which  he  entered  into  partnership  with  Charles- 
M.  Cooley,  now  serving  on  the  district  bench.  Later  they  were  joined  in  a  partnership 
relation  by  Helen  M.  Hamilton  under  the  firm  style  of  Bangs,  Cooley  &  Hamilton,  and 
afterward  Arthur  L.  Netcher  succeeded  Judge  Cooley  in  the  firm.  In  1915  Mr.  Netcher  with- 
drew and  on  the  1st  of  September  of  that  year  Philip  R.  Bangs,  son  of  Tracy  R.  Bangs  and 
a  graduate  of  the  law  school  of  the  University  of  North  Dakota,  became  a  member  of  the 
firm,  which  is  now  known  as  Bangs,  Hamilton   &  Bangs.     No   other  lawyer  has   practiced 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  35 

as  long  in  Grand  Forks  as  has  tlie  senior  partner.  The  firm  continues  in  the  general 
practice  of  law  and  has  perhaps  the  most  extensive  and  important  clientage  of  any  firm 
in  the  city.  Jlr.  Bangs  is  recognized  as  a  lawj'er  of  pronounced  ability.  His  mind  is 
analytical,  logical  and  inductive  and  his  reasoning  is  clear  and  his  deductions  sound.  He 
has  ever  made  it  his  purpose  to  carefully  prepare  his  cases  and  is  therefore  never  surprised 
by  an  unexpected  attack  of  an  adversary.  His  standing  among  his  professional  brethren 
is  indicated  in  the  fact  that  he  has  been  honored  with  the  presidency  of  the  County  Bar 
Association,  which  position  he  has  occupied  for  several  years.  He  was  the  third  president 
of  the  association,  which  his  father  assisted  in  organizing  and  of  which  he  became  the 
first  president.  Aside  from  his  connection  with  the  bar  Mr.  Bangs  is  a  director  of  the 
Northwest  Trust  Company,  of  the  Scandinavian-American  Bank  and  of  the  Northern 
Telephone  Company  of  Grand  Forks. 

On  the  15th  of  June,  1887,  Mr.  Bangs  was  married  at  Grand  Forks  to  iOss  Jessie  L. 
Caughell,  a  native  of  Canada  and  a  daughter  of  Charles  Caughell,  of  Vienna,  Ontario. 
They  have  become  the  parents  of  two  sons:  Felix  F.,  now  a  practicing  attorney  of  Minne- 
apolis, Minnesota;  and  Philip  R.,  who  is  associated  with  his  father. 

The  family  are  identified  with  the  Episcopal  church  and  something  of  the  nature  of 
Mr.  Bangs'  recreation  is  indicated  in  the  fact  that  he  belongs  to  the  Golf  Club  and  to 
the  Grand  Forks  Curling  Club.  He  is  also  a  member  of  the  Minneapolis  Club  and  he  has 
membership  in  the  Commercial  Club  of  Grand  Forks.  Fraternally  he  is  a  Knight  Templar 
Mason  and  is  potentate  of  Kem  Temple,  A.  A.  0.  N.  M  S.  In  fact  he  has  been  very  active 
and  prominent  in  Masonic  circles  and  since  1885  he  has  been  a  member  of  the  Knights  of 
Pj'thias  and  also  has  membership  with  the  Benevolent  Protective  Order  of  Elks.  Since 
1890  he  has  been  a  member  of  the  supreme  legislative  body  in  the  Knights  of  Pythias  and 
from  1902  until  1904  was  supreme  chancellor  of  the  order.  He  became  a  charter  member 
of  the  Elks  lodge  of  Grand  Forks  and  was  its  third  exalted  ruler.  His  political  allegiance 
has  always  been  given  to  the  democratic  party  and  he  has  done  efl'ective  work  in  its  behalf. 
Like  his  honored  father  before  him  he  has  ever  recognized  the  duties  and  obligations  as 
well  as  the  privileges  of  citizenship  and  has  ever  been  ready  to  respond  when  a  call  has 
been  made  for  aid  in  behalf  of  any  project  or  movement  tending  to  further  the  public  good. 
For  several  }-ears  he  has  been  a  member  and  is  now  the  president  of  the  board  of  trustees 
of  the  University  of  North  Dakota  and  he  has  also  served  for  a  number  of  years  on  the 
school  board  of  Grand  Forks.  He  is  numbered  among  those  who  have  molded  public 
thought  and  action  in  his  city  and  his  entire  career  has  reflected  credit  and  honor  upon 
the  city  which  honors  him. 


HENRY  EDWIN  NELSON. 


Henry  Edwin  Nelson  of  Valley  City,  who  is  filling  the  office  of  deputy  treasurer  of 
Barnes  county  and  will  take  office  as  treasurer  May  1,  1917,  came  to  this  state  from  Minne- 
sota, his  birth  having  occurred  at  Amherst,  Fillmore  county,  on  the  5th  of  July,  1877,  a 
son  of  Andrew  and  Christi  (Ellingson)  Nelson,  both  of  whom  were  natives  of  Norway.  The 
paternal  grandfather  came  to  America  about  1848  and  settled  in  Fillmore  county,  Minnesota, 
where  his  remaining  days  were  passed.  Brought  to  America  when  a  young  lad,  Andrew 
Nelson  was  reared  in  Minnesota  and  in  early  manhood  enlisted  for  service  in  the  Union 
army  as  a  member  of  a  ilinnesota  regiment  when  eighteen  years  of  age,  continuing  with 
that  command  until  honorably  discharged  at  the  close  of  the  war.  He  returned  home  with 
a  most  creditable  military  record  after  participating  in  a  number  of  hotly  contested  engage- 
ments. He  afterward  turned  his  attention  to  farming,  which  he  followed  in  Minnesota 
until  June,  1879,  when  he  removed  to  Barnes  county  and  took  up  a  homestead,  preemption 
and- tree  claim  about  thirteen  miles  south  of  Valley  City.  There  he  made  his  home  through- 
out the  residue  of  his  daj-s  and  was  successfully  engaged  in  developing  and  cultivating  his 
four  hundred  and  eighty  acre  farm,  which  is  now  owned  and  operated  by  his  youngest  son, 
.■\ndrcw  Nelson.  Of  his  family  of  eight  children  two  sons  and  four  daughters  are  now 
living. 


36  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

Heiuy  E.  Nelson,  v\lio  was  the  fifth  in  order  of  birth,  after  mastering  the  branches  of 
learning;-  taught  in  the  public  schools  attended  the  Valley  City  Normal  School  and  also 
pursued  a  commercial  course  in  the  Sioux  Falls  Business  College  at  Sioux  Falls,  South 
Dakota.  Taking  up  the  profession  of  teaching,  he  followed  it  for  five  years,  after  which 
he  engaged  in  farming,  having  purchased  three  hundred  and  tvienty  acres  of  land  north 
of  the  original  family  homestead.  This  he  cultivated  for  two  years,  at  the  end  of  which 
time  he  returned  to  Valley  City  and  was  employed  as  clerk  in  the  county 'auditor's  office  for 
four  years.  He  ne.xt  became  deputy  county  treasurer  and  made  an  excellent  record  in  that 
office  by  his  efficiency  and  fidelity,  his  work  being  carefully  systematized  and  promptly 
executed  at  all  times.  At  the  primary  election  held  in  .lune,  1916,  he  received  the  nomina- 
tion for  countj'  treasurer  and  was  duly  elected  in  November  of  the  same  year,  his  term 
of  office  beginning  May  1,  1917.  Mr.  Nelson  still  owns  his  farm  but  has  leased  his  land, 
tlie  rental  therefrom  adding  materially  to  his  income. 

On  the  28th  of  November,  190G,  was  celebrated  the  marriage  of  ilr.  Nelson  and  Miss 
Dorothy  Marsli,  of  ^'allej'  City,  North  Dakota,  a  daughter  of  R.  W.  Marsh,  deceased,  ot 
Winona,  Minnesota,  hhe  has  lived  here  since  early  childhood,  coming  to  North  Dakota  in 
1890.  Mr.  Nelson  belongs  to  the  Knights  of  Pythias  and  he  and  his  wife  hold  membership 
in  the  Congregational  church.  Practically  his  entire  life  has  been  spent  in  Barnes  county 
and  that  the  record  which  he  has  made  is  an  enviable  one  is  indicated  in  the  fact  that  his 
stanehcst  friends  are  those  who  have  known  him  from  his  boyhood  to  the  present. 


HON.  HENRY  A.  ARMSTRONG. 

Hon.  Henry  A.  Armstrong,  an  attorney  of  law  of  Hazelton,  prepared  for  his  profession 
as  a  student  in  the  State  University  of  Michigan  and  since  his  graduation  has  continu- 
ously resided  in  Emmons  county.  North  Dakota,  being  among  those  early  settlers  A\ho  re- 
claimed the  wild  land  and  converted  it  into  productive  farms.  He  was  also  called  to 
public  office  and  likewise  engaged  in  the  general  practice  of  law.  in  which  connection  he 
is  now  enjoying  a  good  clientage.  He  was  born  in  Elkton,  Ohio,  A^ril  20,  1856,  a  son  of 
Andrew  and  Elizabeth  (Bowman)  Armstrong,  both  of  whom  were  born  in  Columbiana 
county,  Ohio.  In  that  county  they  spent  their_  entire  lives,  thq  father  following  the 
occupation  of  farming  as  a  life  work.  His  political  support  was  given  to  the  republican 
party  and  he  was  prominent  as  one  of  its  local  leaders,  serving  for  six  years  as  county 
commissioner,  and   in  other  offices. 

After  mastering  the  branches  of  learning  taught  in  the  common  schools  of  his  native 
county  Henry  A.  Armstrong  continued  his  education  in  the  Paola  (Kas.)  Normal  School, 
having  become  a  resident  of  that  state  in  1879.  When  nineteen  years  of  age  he  entered 
upon  the  profession  of  teaching  in  Ohio  and  he  afterward  taught  for  one  term  at  Enterprise, 
Kansas,  following  the  completion  of  his  normal  school  course.  In  1881  he  returned  to  his 
native  state,  spending  that  summer  on  the  home  farm,  and  in  the  following  fall  he  en- 
tered upon  the  study  of  law  in  the  University  of  Michigan  at  Ann  Arbor,  from  which 
institution  he  was  graduated  in  the  spring  of  1883.  He  was  then  admitted  to  practice  at 
the  Michigan  bar  and  in  the  following  .June  came  to  Dakota  territory,  settling  in  Emmons 
county.  He  took  up  a  homestead  near  the  old  town  of  Williamsport,  then  the  county  seat, 
and  proved  up  on  his  claim,  at  the  same  time  practicing  law.  He  served  as  states  attorney 
for  sevei-al  terms  and  was  called  to  other  public  office  by  the  vote  of  his  fellow  townsmen, 
who  elected  him  county  auditor  and  afterward  register  of  deeds.  He  also  served  as  deputy 
treasurer  for  several  years  under  different  administrations  and  in  1894  he  was  chosen  to 
represent  his  district  in  the  state  legislature,  his  fellow  townsmen  being  willing  to  entrust 
their  interests  to  his  hands,  for  he  had  given  full  evidence  of  his  public  spirit  and  devo- 
tion to  the  general  welfare. 

In  1906  Mr.  Armstrong  removed  from  his  homestead  to  his  present  farm  of  four  hun- 
dred and  eighty  acres,  which  adjoins  Hazelton,  and  thereon  he  has  since  resided.  He  con- 
tinues actively  in  the  practice  of  law  as  senior  member  of  the  firm  of  Armstrong  &  Cameron, 
maintaining  law   offices   in   both   Linton   and  Hazelton.     Without   invidious   distinction  this' 


HON.  HEXKY  A.  AEilSTROXG 


PUB  Lie 


-) 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  39 

may  well  be  tciiuod  the  leading  law  firm  of  Emmons  count}',  for  tlieir  practice  is  very  exten- 
sive and  of  a  most  important  cliaracter,  connecting  tliem  with  tlie  leading  litigation  of  the 
district.  Mr.  Armstrong  is  felicitous  and  clear  in  argument,  strong  in  debate  and  logical 
in  his  deductions  and  is  seldom  if  ever  at  fault  in  the  application  of  legal  principles.  At 
the  same  time  he  prepares  his  cases  with  great  thoroughness  and  care  and  he  enjoys,  more- 
over, the  respect  of  his  professional  colleagues.  He  has  been  an  extensive  buyer  and  seller 
of  farm  lands  and  now  owns  eleven  hundred  and  forty-two  acres.  He  is  a  stockholder  in 
the  Farmers  State  Bank  of  Hazelton  and  is  its  attorney. 

On  the  15th  of  March,  1880,  Mr.  Armstrong  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Libbie  A 
Kurtz,  of  Emmons  county,  and  to  them  has  been  born  a  daughter,  Edna  L.,  the  wife  ol 
O.  M.  Garber,  of  Ashland,  Ohio. 

Mr.  Armstrong  is  well  known  in  lodge  circles,  holding  membership  in  Hazelton  Lodge, 
No.  64,  K.  P.,  Hazelton  Lodge,  No.  135,  I.  0.  0.  F.,  and  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America. 
For  a  third  of  a  centuiy  he  has  been  a  resident  of  Emmons  county  and  from  the  beginning 
has  been  accorded  a  position  of  leadership,  his  activities  contributing  in  large  measure  to  its 
material  development  and  to  the  upholding  of  its  legal  and  political  status. 


FBANK  G.  JENNINGS. 


Frank  G.  .Jennings,  publisher  of  the  Pettibone  Spectator  at  Pettibone,  Kidder  county, 
was  born  in  Casey,  Illinois,  March  32,  1895,  a  son  of  Louis  F.  and  Anna  Jennings.  The 
father,  who  was  a  merchant,  continued  to  reside  in  Illinois  until  called  to  his  final  rest. 
The  son  supplemented  his  district  school  education  by  study  in  the  high  school  at  St. 
Louis,  Missouri,  and  when  his  textbooks  were  put  aside  he  went  to  Ranger,  Texas,  where 
he  learned  the  printer's  trade,  spending  about  a  year  as  an  employe  on  the  Ranger  Record. 
He  afterward  removed  to  Greenup,  Illinois,  and  worked  on  the  Greenup  Press  as  general 
man,  spending  about  a  year  in  that  connection.  He  was  afterward  employed  in  a  clothing 
store  for  about  a  year,  on  the  expiration  of  which  period  he  came  to  North  Dakota,  settling 
at  Pettibone  in  1914.  He  worked  on  the.  Spectator  for  nine  months  or  until  .luly,  1915, 
when  he  purchased  the  paper,  which  he  still  owns  and  publishes.  It  is  the  leading  paper  of 
Kidder  county,  has  a  good  circulation  and  is  also  an  excellent  advertising  medium. 

In  April,  1914,  Mr.  Jennings  was  married  to  Miss  Bonnie  T.  Templeton,  of  Greenup, 
Illinois,  and  they  have  a  son,  Louis  Frank.  In  politics  Mr.  Jennings  is  a  democrat  but  con- 
ducts his  paper  as  an  independent  journal.  He  has  served  as  clerk  of  Pettibone  township  but 
is  not  an  ollice  seeker  although  interested  in  the  success  of  his  party.  He  belongs  to  the 
Modern  Woodmen  camp  of  Pettibone  and  is  a  leading  and  influential  citizen  of  his  community, 
easting  his  inlhience  on  the  side  of  progress  and  improvement  at  all  times. 


HENRY  W.  AAILLIS. 


Henry  W.  Willis,  ]iostmaster  at  Lansford  and  one  of  the  representative  citizens  of 
Hottineau  county,  lias  through  the  period  of  his  residence  in  that  part  of  the  state  taken 
an  active  and  helpful  interest  in  promoting  the  work  of  progress  and  improvement.  He 
was  born  in  East  Tennessee,  within  four  miles  of  the  home  of  Andrew  .Tohnson,  December 
.").  1855.  a  son  of  David  and  Elizabeth  (Lintz)  Willis,  who  were  also  natives  of  that  state. 
The  father  followed  farming  in  Tennessee  until  1880,  when  he  went  to  Arkansas,  where  he 
livi'il  for  a  finv  years  and  then  removed  to  Cherokee  county,  Kansas,  where  his  remaining 
(Imvs  were  spent,  liis  death  occurring  in  1903,  when  he  had  reached  the  age  of  seventy-five 
years.    His  widow  still  survives  and  is  now  eighty-six  years  of  age. 

Henry  \V.  Willis  pursued  his  early  education  in  subscription  schools  nf  his  native  state 
,ind  remained  with  his  parents  upon  the  home  farm  imtil  he  attained  his  majority,  after 
wl.ich  he  began  working  on  a  tobacco  plantation,  renuiining  in  the  employ  of  one  man  for 
eiL;liteen  months,  but  was  beaten  out  of  his  nionej'.     He  afterward  served  as  farm   foreman 


40 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 


for  a  year,  in  which  connection  he  superintended  the  labors  of  fourteen  men  employed  under 
him.  He  then  went  to  Illinois,  where  he  worked  by  the  month  as  a  farm  hand,  but  desirous 
that  his  labors  should  more  directly  benefit  himself,  he  then  rented  land  which  he  continued 
to  cultivate  for  some  time.  Later  he,  too,  went  to  Cherokee  county,  Kansas,  where  he  pur- 
chased land  and  carried  on  farming  on  his  own  account.  Afterward  he  became  a  resident 
of  the  Indian  Territory  and  leased  five  hundred  acres  of  land  which  he  fenced  and  improved, 
continuing  its  cultivation  for  three  years.  He  then  traded  his  lease  and  returned  to  Kansas, 
where  he  sold  his  farm.  He  next  went  to  northern  Missouri,  where  he  carried  on  the  work 
of  tilling  the  soil  for  seven  years,  and  in  1901  he  arrived  in  Bottineau  county.  North  Dakota, 
taking  up  a  homestead  near  Lansford,  after  which  he  improved  and  developed  that  place 
for  five  years.  He  bouglit  more  land  from  time  to  time  until  he  owned  an  entire  section, 
which  he  sold  in  1905.  He  then  went  to  Washington  looking  for  a  location  but  did  not  like 
the  country  and  in  consequence  returned  to  North  Dakota,  after  which  he  purchased  another 
section  of  land  in  Bottineau  county,  three  miles  from  Lansford.  To  that  place  he  has  added 
modern  equipments  and  improvements  and  he  now  has  the  farm  rented  to  good  advantage. 
In  the  fall  of  1905  he  removed -to  Lansford  and  erected  a  fine  home.  He  also  installed  a 
telephone  exchange  in  Glenburn  and  bought  an  elevator  here  which  he  operated  for  two 
years.  Extending  his  business  in  connection  with  the  establishment  of  telephone  systems, 
he  put  in  exchanges  in  several  places  and  continued  active  along  that  line  until  1909,  when 
he  again  went  back  to  the  farm  for  a  time.  On  account  of  illness,  however,  he  returned  to 
Lansford  and  in  April,  1914,  was  appointed  postmaster  of  the  town,  in  which  capacity  he  has 
.since  continued.  He  is  also  engaged  in  the  automobile  business,  handling  the  Ford,  Max- 
well and  Chalmers  cars,  for  which  he  has  found  a  ready  sale,  his  business  reaching  extensive 
proportions. 

In  November,  1878,  Mr.  Willis  was  married  to  Miss  Lydia  C.  Couch  at  Whitesburg, 
Tennessee,  and  to  them  were  born  four  children,  but  two  died  in  infancy  and  Lillian 
passed  away  in  January,  1911,  leaving  Mabel  C.  as  the  only  survivor.  For  his  second  wife 
Mr.  Willis  chose  Emma  J.  Campbell  of  Guilford,  Missouri,  whom  he  married  in  Carthage, 
Missouri,  in  1890. 

Their  religious  faith  is  that  of  the  Methodist  church  and  fraternally  Jlr.  \\'illis  is  con- 
nected with  the  Odd  Fellows  and  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America,  ^is  political  allegiance 
is  given  the  democratic  party  and  he  has  served  for  two  terms  as  a  member  of  the  city 
council  of  Lansford  and  as  justice  of  the  peace,  discharging  the  duties  of  these  positions 
in  a  most  creditable,  prompt  and  faithful  manner.  He  has  also  been  president  of  the  school 
board  and  the  cause  of  education  finds  in  him  a  stalwart  champion.  In  fact  he  is  a  man  of 
most  progressive  spirit  and  his  energy  and  enterprise  have  carried  him  into  important  business 
and  public  relations,  in  all  of  which  he  has  enjoyed  and  deserved  the  confidence,  goodwill  and 
hi};h  regard  of  his  fellow  townsmen. 


OLGER  B.  BURTNESS. 


Olger  B.  Burtness,  states  attorney  of  Grand  Forks,  well  versed  in  his  professifm  and 
recognized  throughout  the  community  as  an  able  lawyer,  was  born  at  Mekinock,  in  Grand 
Forks  county,  March  14,  1884,  a  son  of  0.  0.  and  Mary  (Anderson)  Burtness.  The  father, 
a  native  of  Norway,  came  to  America  in  1865  and  cast  in  his  lot  with  the  pioneer  settlers 
of  Wisconsin,  in  which  state  his  wife  was  born.  In  1879  Mr.  Burtness  came  to  North 
Dakota  and  filed  on  a  homestead  near  Grand  Forks,  whereon  he  engaged  in  farming  for  many 
years.  With  the  agricultural  development  of  the  district  he  has  been  closely  associated 
.md  has  lived  to  witness  a  marked  transtormation  in  the  appearance  of  his  section  of  the 
state.  He  has  now  reached  the  age  of  sixty-four  years,  while  his  wife  is  sixty-five  years 
of  age.  In  their  family  were  five  children:  Emory  0.,  who  is  engaged  in  business  at 
Mekinock;  Harvey  S.,  a  farmer  of  Grand  Forks  county;  Mrs.  L.  P.  Norby,  living  at  Morris, 
Minnesota;  Olger  B.;  and  Gaylor  H.,  who  follows  farming  at  Mekinock,  North  Dakota. 

In  his  youthful  days  Olger  B.  Burtness  attended  the  public  schools  of  Grand  Forks  county 
and  pursued  his  more  specifically  literary  course  as  a  student  in  the  arts  department  of  the 


HISTORY  OF  XORTH  DAKOTA  41 

University  of  Noitli  Dakota,  from  wliicli  lie  was  graduated  with  tlie  A.  B.  degree  in  1906. 
He  also  studied  law  there  and  won  his  professional  degree  in  1907.  He  then  opened  an 
odice  in  Grand  Forks,  where  lie  has  since  engaged  in  practice,  and  he  now  enjoys  a  large 
and  important  clientage,  his  name  figuring  in  much  of  the  notable  litigation  heard  in  the 
courts  of  his  district.  In  1910  he  was  elected  to  the  office  of  states  attorney  and  by  reelection 
has  been  continued  in  that  position  to  the  present  time,  making  a  most  creditable  record 
in  ollice.  Uis  mind  is  analytical,  logical  and  inductive  in  its  trend  and  his  thoroughness 
in  preparing  his  cases  is  one  of  the  strong  elements  in  his  success  before  the  bar,  where  his 
keen  reasoning  and  carefully  presented  evidence  never  fail  to  impress  court  or  jury. 

On  the  8th  of  September,  1909.  Mr.  Burtness  was  married  to  Miss  Zoe  Ensign,  of 
Detroit,  Minnesota,  a  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  S.  D.  Ensign.  Mr.  Burtness  is  a  director 
of  the  Young  Men's  Christian  Association  and  is  a  Mason  of  high  standing,  connected  with 
the  Scottish  Rite  and  the  Mystic  Shrine.  He  is  also  identified  with  the  Yeomen  and  the 
Sons  of  Xorway.  He  belongs  to  the  County,  State  and  American  Bar  Associations  and 
he  stands  very  high  in  professional  circles.  He  gives  to  his  clients  a  service  of  great  talent, 
unwearied  industry  and  broad  learning  and  at  the  same  time  never  forgets  that  there  are 
certain  things  due  to  the  court,  to  his  own  respect  and  above  all  to  justice  and  the  righteous 
administration  of  the  law  which  neither  the  zeal  of  the  advocate  nor  the  pleasure  of  success 
permit  him  to  disregard.  In  a  word  he  is  an  able,  faithful  and  conscientious  minister  in  the 
temple  of  justice. 


AMUX  SI.  TOl  THAGEX. 


Amun  il.  Tofthagen,  president  of  the  Lakota  Mercantile  Company,  has  throughout  his 
life  since  attaining  his  majority,  been  connected  with  commercial  pursuits.  He  was  born 
at  Hundorp,  Norway,  November  12.  1858.  His  father,  Andrew  Tofthagen,  also  a  native  of 
that  country,  came  to  America  i^  the  fall  of  1869  and  cast  in  his  lot  with  the  early  settlers 
of  Black  River  Falls,  Wisconsin,  and  vicinity,  becoming  one  of  the  successful  farmers  of  that 
district.  In  the  fall  of  1872  he  filed  on  a  homestead  in  Jackson  county.  AYisconsin,  where 
he  resided  until  his  death  which  occurred  April  1,  1903,  when  he  was  seventy-two  years 
of  age  for  he  was  born  in  the  fall  of  1830.  His  wife,  Mary  Simonson  Tofthagen,  also  a 
native  of  Norway,  came  to  America  with  the  family  in  the  spring  of  1871  and  her  death 
occurred  September  10,  1913,  when  she  was  eighty-three  years  of  age.  In  the  family  were 
seven  children  of  whom  four  are  living:  Amun;  Simon,  a  resident  of  Alberta.  Canada;  Gilbert, 
living  at  Black  River  Falls,  Wisconsin;  and  Mary,  the  widow  of  Hans  C.  Troen  of  Wisconsin. 

Amun  M.  Tofthagen  was  raised  upon  the  home  farm  to  the  age  of  fifteen  and  one-half 
years  when  he  started  out  to  earn  his  own  living.  He  had  attended  the  public  schools  of 
Black  River  Falls,  becoming  a  high  school  pupil  and  spending  the  summer  months  on  the 
home  farm,  while  the  winter  seasons  were  devoted  to  the  acquirement  of  an  education.  When 
he  left  home  he  was  employed  at  farm  labor  and  on  attaining  his  majority  became  connected 
with  mercantile  interests  as  a  clerk  for  the  firm  of  S.  P.  and  E.  C.  Jones,  proprietors  of 
the  largest  dr}'  goods  store  at  Black  River  Falls.  He  continued  in  that  connection  for 
three  years  when  he  made  arrangements  with  a  former  townsman  of  Black  River  Falls  who 
had  become  a  pioneer  mercliant  of  Grand  Forks,  to  take  charge  of  the  dry  goods  department 
of  his  general  store  in  the  latter  place.  Accordingly  he  arrived  in  Grand  Forks,  March  4, 
1882,  and  for  a  year  remained  with  A.  Abrahamsen,  but  before  the  end  of  that  time  filed 
on  a  homestead.  After  proving  up  on  the  land  he  returned  to  the  employ  of  Mr.  Abrahamsen 
and  in  the  spring  of  1885  was  appointed  the  first  auditor  of  Nelson  county.  In  1886  he  was 
elected  to  the  office  without  opposition  and  so  continued  until  1888  when  he  was  elected 
register  of  deeds.  In  1890  he  was  reelected  on  the  republican  ticket  and  filled  that  position 
until  the  close  of  the  term  when  he  retired  from  office  as  he  had  entered  it — with  the  con- 
fidence and  good  will  of  all  concerned.  In  the  summer  of  1893  he  took  an  extended  trip 
through  Europe  and  Asia  including  Palestine,  and  also  went  to  Egypt,  remaining  abroad 
for  nine  months.  On  his  return  he  removed  to  Hillsboro,  where  he  remained  for  a  year 
representing  the   firm   of  Graves   &   Vinton,   bankers   and    financiers,   in    placing   their   farm 


42  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

loans.  In  the  summer  of  1895  lie  organized  the  Lakota  Mercantile  Company  of  which  he 
became  the  president  and  has  since  remained  in  that  connection.  Theirs  is  today  the 
lar-est  enterprise  of  the  kind  in  the  county,  their  business  amounting  to  more  than  one 
hundied  anrl  thirty  thousand  dollars  annually.  They  began  in  a  small  way  but  along  the 
legitimate  lines  of  trade  have  continually  increased  their  business  until  they  now  employ 
ten  people  on  an  average.  Mr.  Tofthagen  is  also  a  stockholder  in  the  National  Bank  of 
Lakota,  of  which  his  partner,  Jacob  Thai,  is  president. 

Mr.  Tofthagen  is  a  stalwart  republican  and  a  very  active  party  worker.  In  1000  he 
was  one  of  the  three  presidential  electors  from  North  Dakota.  He  was  on  the  board  of 
directors  of  tlie  Agricultural  College  under  Governor  Andrew  Burke.  He  is  a  very  prominent 
Mason  belonging  to  both  the  York  and  Scottish  Kites,  also  to  the  Mystic  Shrine  and  the 
Order  of  the  Eastern  Star,  and  the  honorary  thirty-third  degree  has  been  conferred  upon  him. 
Since  being  initiated  into  the  order  in  Lakota  in  1886  he  has  filled  all  of  the  chairs  and  has 
several  times  been  master  of  his  lodge.  He  belongs  to  the  Masonic  Club  at  Fargo  and  to 
the  Lakota  Commercial  Club.  He  has  travelled  extensively  in  all  parts  of  the  world  includ- 
ing Alaska,  and  three  times  visited  South  America  and  has  made  one  trip  around  the  workl. 
He  has  been  in  every  metropolis  on  the  face  of  the  globe  and  he  has  the  finest  private  col- 
lection of  art  treasures  and  curios  in  the  entire  northwest.  He  also  has  an  extensive  library 
containing  fifteen  hundred  volumes,  many  of  them  being  of  rare  and  costly  editions.  His 
early  years  were  fraught  with  struggles  to  obtain  a  footing  in  business  and  he  has  come  in 
his  later  life  to  enjoy  that  rest  which  enables  one  to  cultivate  a  love  of  art  and  those  things 
which  bring  a  broad  view  and  contribute  to  intellectual  enjoyment.  Every  day  with  him 
marks  a  full  faithed  attempt  to  know  more  and  to  grow  more  and  his  success  is  the 
culmination  of  a  life  of  well  directed  energy,  whether  expressed  in  an  effort  to  attain  wealth 
or   to  attain   wisdom. 


ROBERT  M.  CALDERWOOD. 

Robert  M.  Calderwood,  president  of  the  Williston  Land  Compaii^,  was  born  near  Fox 
Lake,  Dodge  county,  Wisconsin,  March  15,  1859,  a  son  of  John  and  Emily  B.  (Greenlief) 
Calderwood.  The  father,  a  native  of  Scotland,  came  to  America  \yith  his  parents  when 
four  years  of  age,  the  family  home  being  established  near  West  Galway,  New  York,  where 
the  grandfather  engaged  in  the  milling  business  and  also  operated  a  tannery  for  a  number 
of  years.  John  Calderwood  was  there  reared  and  after  attending  the  public  schools  was 
graduated  from  an  agricultural  college  and  also  completed  a  theological  course,  subsequent 
to  which  time  he  followed  farming  in  New  Y'ork.  Later  he  removed  to  Dodge  count}',  Wiscon- 
sin, and  took  up  a  homestead  claim  near  F'ox  Lake,  where  he  engaged  in  farming.  He 
was  also  active  as  a  minister  of  the  Wesleyan  Methodist  church,  as  an  abolitionist  and  as 
an  advocate  of  the  temperance  cause.  In  a  word,  he  stood  for  reform  and  progress,  working 
ever  toward  higher  ideals  for  the  individual  and  for  the  community.  In  186"  he  went 
to  Cerro  Gordo  county,  Iowa,  purchased  land  and  engaged  in  farming  near  Rock  Falls. 
After  retiring  from  farm  work  he  served  as  minister  in  various  churches  in  Iowa,  for  a 
time  being  located  at  Blairsburg.  He  always  retained  his  landed  interests  and  from  his 
property  derived  a  good  income.  He  died  at  the  home  of  his  daughter  near  Battle  Creek, 
Michigan,  in  1900,  when  eighty-four  years  of  age.  His  wife,  who  spent  her  girlliood  days 
in  New  York,  went  to  Dodge  county,  Wisconsin,  where  she  met  and  married  Mr.  Calderwood. 
In  early  womanhood  she  engaged  in  teaching.  Her  demise  occurred  in  Ramsey  county. 
North  Dakota,  prior  to  the  death  of  her  husband.  She  was  descended  from  an  old  Vermont 
family  and  her  brother  was  one  of  the  "Green  Mountain  boys"  in  the  Civil  war. 

Robert  M.  Calderwood  was  but  eight  years  of  age  when  the  family  boms  was  estab- 
lished in  Cerro  Gordo  county  and  in  the  district  schools  near  his  father's  farm  he  pursued 
his  education,  after  which  he  assisted  in  the  cultivation  of  the  fields.  He  later  taught 
school  in  Hamilton  county,  Iowa,  and  afterward  engaged  in  farming  on  his  own  account 
on  his  father's  place  in  that  state.  In  1882  he  removed  to  North  Dakota  and  did  carpenter 
work    for    the   Great    Northern    Railroad    Company    in    Grand    Forks    count}'    near    where    he 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  '  43 

pii'i'iiipti'd  one  Imndrpd  and  sixty  acres  of  land  not  far  from  Larimore.  In  188;i  ho  removed 
to  IX'vils  Lake  and  took  up  a  tree  claim,  continuing  to  engage  in  farming  in  that  locality 
on  an  extensive  scale  until  1901,  when  lie  sold  his  interests  there.  At  that  date  he  was 
appointed  I'nitcd  States  commissioner  for  the  district  of  North  IJakota,  with  headquarters 
at  Williston,  and  occupied  that  position  for  a  term  of  six  years  or  until  1907.  Upon 
removing  to  Williston  he  embarked  in  the  land  business,  in  which  he  is  still  engaged  and  now 
handles  real  estate  and  makes  loans,  being  today  president  of  the  Williston  Land  Company. 
He  also  organized  the  Missouri  River  Bridge  Company  of  Williston  for  the  purpose  of 
building  a  pontoon  bridge  across  the  Missouri  river  to  join  Williams  and  McKenzie  counties, 
and  of  this  company  he  is  president  and  general  manager.  This  bridge  was  constructed 
at  a  cost  of  ten  thousand  dollars  and  has  facilitated  traffic  from  McKenzie  county,  bringmg 
trade  to  Williston.  He  is  the  president  and  principal  stockholder  of  the  Williston  Land 
Company  and  liis  business  in  that  connection  has  now  reached  extensive  and  profitable 
proportions. 

On  the  3d  of  December,  1901,  at  Devils  Lake,  Mr.  Calderwood  was  united  in  marriage  to 
Miss  Mary  Boothroyd,  who  was  born  near  Alexandria,  Minnesota,  a  daughter  of  Richard  and 
Eliza  Boothroyd.  She  taught  school  in  that  state  and  in  1898  came  to  North  Dakota  as 
a  school  teacher.  She  died  at  Williston  in  the  fall  of  1905  and  on  the  8th  of  September, 
1908,  Jlr.  Calderwood  was  again  married,  his  second  union  being  with  Miss  Ruth  M.  Wolcott, 
of  Spokane.  She  was  born  in  Wrightstown,  Minnesota,  and  at  the  age  of  fifteen  years 
accompanied  her  parents  on  their  removal  to  a  farm  in  Ramsey  county,  North  Dakota. 

In  politics  Mr.  Calderwod  is  a  strong  proliibitioni.st  and  in  addition  to  filling  the  office 
of  United  States  commissioner  he  was  elected  and  served  for  two  terms  as  justice  of  the 
peace  in  Ramsey  county  and  was  also  road  supervisor.  He  was  likewise  appointed  police 
magistrate  in  Williston,  holding  the  office  for  a  part  of  a  term.  He  is  a  director  of  the 
W'illiams  County  Fair  Association  and  a  member  of  the  Williston  Commercial  Club.  He 
belongs  to  the  Congregational  church,  of  which  he  is  one  of  the  leading  and  active  workers, 
serving  at  the  present  time  as  president  of  the  board  of  trustees.  His  wife  is  in  full  accord 
and  S3'mpathy  with  him  in  his  efforts  in  the  church  and  is  now  superintendent  of  the  junior 
department  of  the  Sunday  school.  Mr.  Calderwood  throws  the  weight  of  his  inlluence  to 
every  movement  that  tends  to  promote  the  material,  intellectual,  social  and  moral  progress 
of  his  community.  His  life  is  actuated  b^'  high  ideals  and  is  the  expression  of  manly  pur- 
pose, his  entire  career  being  an  exemplification  of  the  fact  that  success  and  an  honored  name 
may  be  won  simultaneously. 


JOHN  J.  BAUMGARTNER. 


Each  community  has  its  enterprising  citizens,  men  who  are  leaders  in  the  upbuilding 
of  the  towns  and  surrounding  country  districts  and  whose  activities  constitute  a  substantial 
feature  in  permanent  development.  Such  a  one  is  John  J.  Baumgartner,  president  of  the 
Security  State  Bank  and  manager  of  the  Strasburg  Bazaar,  the  leading  mercantile  institution 
of  the  town.  These  interests  and  other  activities  place  him  among  the  foremost  business 
men  of  Emmons  county.  He  was  born  in  Stra.sburg,  Russia,  of  German  parentage,  on  the 
1st  of  January,  1877.  a  son  of  Johannas  and  Margaret  (Brannagel)  Baumgartner,  both  of 
whom  were  natives  of  Russia,  to  which  country  their  parents  had  removed  from  Germany, 
In  May,  18S9,  they  came  to  the  United  States  and  established  their  home  in  Emmons 
county.  North  Dakota,  taking  up  a  claim  near  the  present  site  of  Strasburg.  Upon  the 
farm  which  the  father  there  developed  they  resided  for  twenty  years  and  upon  his  retire- 
ment from  active  business  life  they  took  up  their  abode  in  Strasburg,  where  they  now 
make  their  home. 

John  J.  Baumgartner  spent  tlie  first  twelve  years  of  his  life  in  the  land  of  the  czar 
and  then  came  with  his  parents  to  the  new  world,  supplementing  his  early  education,  acquired 
in  the  schools  of  Russia,  by  study  in  the  district  schools  of  North  Dakota.  In  pioneer 
times,  however,  the  school  system  had  been  but  inadequately  developed  and  his  opportu- 
nities in  that  direction  were  therefore  somewhat  limited,  but  in  the  school  of  exi)erience  he 


44  •  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

has  learned  many  valuable  lessons.  He  was  but  nineteen  years  of  age  when,  on  the  20th  of 
October,  1896,  he  married  Miss  Elizabeth  Schneider,  also  a  native  of  Russia,  who  came  to 
the  United  States  on  the  same  ship  with  her  future  husband.  In  the  year  of  his  marriage 
Mr.  Baumgartner  filed  on  a  homestead  near  Strasburg  and  there  the  young  couple  began 
their  domestic  life,  continuing  to  live  there  until  1902,  when  they  became  the  first  res- 
idents of  the  town  of  Strasburg,  and  there  Mr.  Baumgartner  established  the  first  store 
with  his  brother  Mike,  E.  Keller  and  Jacob  Feist  as  partners,  conducting  the  business 
under  the  firm  style  of  the  Strasburg  Bazaar.  There  have  been  some  changes  in  the 
ownership  in  the  intervening  years,  the  present  members  of  the  firm  being  John  J.  Baumgart- 
ner, who  is  general  manager,  M.  J.  Fischer  and  D.  Lauinger.  In  the  fall  of  1913  Mr. 
Baumgartner  also  became  identified  with  the  banking  business  by  the  purchase  of  the 
Security  State  Bank  and  has  since  been  president  of  the  institution.  He  has  further  ex- 
tended his  efi'orts  along  business  linos,  having  in  February,  1913,  in  association  with  others, 
puichased  the  Korth  Star  Lumber  Company,  after  which  he  reorganized  the  business  under 
the  style  of  the  Strasburg  Lumber  Company.  In  this  connection  he  has  developed  one  of  the 
leading  lumberyards  of  the  county,  his  business  having  reached  most  extensive  and  grati- 
fying proportions.  He  remains  one  of  the  board  of  directors  of  the  company  and  thus 
has  active  voice  in  its  management.  He  is  also  extensively  engaged  in  the  buying  and  sell- 
ing of  farm  lands  and  at  the  present  time  is  the  owner  of  six  hundred  and  forty  acres  in 
Emmons  county. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Baumgartner  have  become  the  parents  of  six  children,  of  whom  three, 
Helen,  John  and  Otillia,  are  yet  living.  The  parents  are  members  of  the  Catholic  church 
and  in  politics  Mr.  Baumgartner  is  a  democrat  who  for  several  years  has  served  as 
treasurer  of  the  school  board  but  otherwise  lias  not  been  active  as  an  office  holder.  His 
business  interests,  varied,  extensive  and  important,  class  him  with  the  representative  men 
of  Emmons  county. 


HON.  WESLEY  C.  McDOWELL. 

Hon.  Wesley  C.  McDowell,  president  of  the  First  National  Bank  of  Marion,  was  born 
in  Rockford,  Illinois,  August  26,  1870,  a  son  of  Samuel  McDowell,  who  is  a  native  of  Scar- 
borough, Ontario,  and  in  1869  removed  to  Illinois,  where  he  remained  for  two  years.  He 
then  returned  to  Canada  and  was  a  resident  of  Blenheim,  Ontario,  until  1886,  when  he 
removed  to  North  Dakota,  establishing  his  home  on  a  farm  in  Eddy  county,  wliere  he  is 
still  living. 

Wesley  C.  McDowell  attended  the  collegiate  institute  at  Blenheim,  Ontario,  and  in 
1896  was  graduated  from  the  Minnesota  State  Normal  School  at  Moorhead,  after  which 
he  devoted  two  years  to  teaching  in  the  country  schools  but  regarded  that  merely  as  an 
initial  step  to  other  interests.  For  one  year  he  attended  law  school  and  through  the  suc- 
ceeding four  years  he  was  upon  the  road  as  traveling  representative  for  a  machine  com- 
pany. In  1902  he  arrived  in  Marion,  where  he  organized  the  First  State  Bank,  of  which 
he  was  made  cashier.  Success  attended  the  undertakings  from  the  beginning  and  in  1909 
the  bank  was  converted  into  the  First  National  Bank,  of  which  Mr.  McDowell  remained  as 
cashier  until  1914,  when  he  was  elected  to  the  presidency  and  is  now  at  the  head  of  the 
institiition,  bending  his  efforts  to  administrative  direction  and  executive  control.  A  hand- 
some brick  building  has  been  erected  as  a  home  for  the  bank  and  is  thoroughly  equipped  in 
such  a  manner  as  to  facilitate  the  conduct  of  the  business  and  the  careful  safeguarding  of 
the  interests  of  depositors.  He  is  an  enthusiastic  agriculturist  and  very  practical  in  liis 
methods  of  farming,  owning  fifteen  hundred  acres  of  valuable  farm  land  in  the  immediate 
vicinity  of  Marion,  from  which  he  derives  a  most  gratifying  and  substantial  annual  income. 

On  Christmas  Day  of  1899  was  celebrated  the  marriage  of  Mr.  ilcDowell  and  Miss  Myrtle 
Pushor,  of  Morris,  Minnesota,  and  they  have  become  parents  of  four  daughters:  Florence, 
Maud,  Helen  and  Jean,  all  yet  at  home.  In  politics  Mr.  McDowell  is  a  democrat  and  In 
1910  was  elected  to  represent  his  district  in  the  state  senate,  in  which  he  served  for  four 
years,  giving  careful  and  thoughtful  consideration  to  the  various  important  questions  which 


HON.  WESLEY  C.  MCDOWELL 


"> 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  47 

came  up  for  discussion  jind  settlement,  actuated  at  all  times  by  a  desire  to  advance  the  inter- 
ests of  the  eummonwealth.  His  standing  in  business  circles  is  indicated  by  the  fact  that 
he  was  honored  with  the  presidency  of  the  .State  Bankers  Association,  being  called  to  that 
office  in  1910.  Fraternally  he  is  connected  with  Harmony  Lodge,  No.  53,  F.  &  A.  M.,  of 
Lidgervvood,  with  Dakota  Consistory,  Xo.  1,  A.  &  A.  S.  R.,  with  the  Brotherhood  of  Ameri- 
.•an  Yeomen  and  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America.  For  fourteen  years  he  has  lived  at 
Marion,  closely  connected  with  its  business  development  and  progress,  and  his  interests, 
llnancial  and  agricultural,  have  added  much  to  the  upbuilding  of  the  district.  In  many 
other  ways  the  town  has  reason  to  be  proud  of  him  as  a  citizen,  for  he  is  a  broad-minded 
man  who  considers  deeply  and  intelligently  the  questions  of  interest  to  city  and  state 
and  is  a  most  earnest  and  convincing  speaker,  with  a  pleasing  delivery  and  a  distinctive 
cliarm  that  arises  from  his  personality  and  his  belief  in  the  subject  which  he  is  presenting. 


NELS  L.  JOHNSON. 


Nels  L.  Johnson  is  cashier  of  the  York  State  Bank  at  Y'ork,  Benson  county,  and  is  one 
of  the  progressive,  young  business  men  of  his  part  of  the  state.  In  fact  he  displays  the 
spirit  of  enterprise  which  has  characterized  the  upbuilding  of  North  Dakota,  within  the 
borders  of  which  he  was  born  on  the  12th  of  March,  1891,  the  place  of  his  nativity  being 
Grand  Forks.  His  parents  were  Lewis  and  Mary  (Johnson)  Johnson,  both  of  whom  were 
natives  of  Norway,  whence  in  early  life  they  came  to  the  new  world,  settling  in  Minne- 
sota, where  they  resided  for  a  year.  They  afterward  removed  to  Grand  Forks  county, 
where  the  father  filed  on  land  which  he  transformed  from  a  tract  of  wild  western  prairie 
into  richly  cultivated  fields,  continuing  the  operation  and  further  improvement  of  that 
property  to  the  present  time,  he  and  his  wife  still  making  their  home  thereon. 

Nels  L.  .Johnson  was  reared  and  educated  in  Grand  F'orks  and  when  his  textbooks 
were  put  aside  he  secured  employment  in  the  Farmers  &  Merchants  Bank  at  Granville, 
North  Dakota,  as  assistant  cashier.  He  continued  to  occupy  that  position  for  four  years 
and  later  spent  three  months  in  a  bank  at  Wolf  Point.  Un  the  6th  of  May,  1916,  he  arrived 
in  York  to  become  cashier  of  the  State  Bank,  of  which  D.  A.  McLarty  is  the  president  and  G. 
C.  Van  Slyke  the  vice  president.  The  deposits  of  this  bank  amount  to  over  one  hundred 
and  fifty-two  thousand  dollars.  It  was  organized  in  1901  and  has  a  capital  stock  of  ten 
thousand  dollars  with  a  surplus  of  five  thousand  dollars.  A  fine  bank  building  was  erected 
in  1914  and  the  bank  is  in  a  very  substantial  and  healthy  condition. 

On  the  21st  of  June,  1915,  Mr.  Johnson  was  married  to  Miss  Bessie  Foss  and  they  now 
have  a  little  daughter,  Loraine  Lois,  born  June  2,  1916.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  .Johnson  are  con- 
sistent members  of  the  Lutheran  church  and  he  is  equally  loyal  as  a  member  of  Ashley  Lodge, 
No.  69,  F.  &  A.  M.  His  political  endorsement  is  given  to  the  republican  party,  for  he  is 
a  firm  believer  in  the  efficacy  of  its  principles  as  factors  in  good  government. 


ADOLPH  E.  KASTIEN. 


.Aildlpli  K.  Kastien.  mayor  of  Beach,  in  which  capacity  he  is  proving  an  excellent  execu- 
tive officer,  exercising  wise  control  over  municipal  affairs,  was  born  at  Bunker  Hill.  Illinois, 
in  1868.  a  son  of  William  Kastien.  who  was  of  German  birth.  He  came  to  the  L^nited  States 
in  tlie  '50s,  settling  in  St.  Louis,  Missouri,  and  during  the  Civil  war  he  served  for  about  four 
years  with  a  Missouri  regiment  in  the  Union  army.  In  1865  he  became  a  resident  of  Bunkei 
Hill.  Illinois,  and  took  up  the  occupation  of  farming  there.  He  has  since  continued  his 
residence  in  that  locality,  where  he  settled  in  pioneer  times,  and  he  has  now  reached  the  a^e 
of  eighty-four  years.  His  wife,  who  bore  the  maiden  name  of  Hannah  Ellabrake,  was  also 
a  native  of  Germany  and  in  childhood  accompanied  her  parents  to  the  new  world.  She  died 
in  1877  at  the  age  of  forty-three  years. 

Adiiliih  F.  Kastien  was  one  of  a  family  of  seven  children,  all  of  whom  are  vet  livin".  The 
Vol.  ni-3 


48  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

public  schools  of  Illinois  afforded  him  his  educational  opportunities,  yet  his  advantages  in 
that  direction  were  limited  as  his  services  were  needed  upon  the  farm  and  many  of  his  most 
valuable  lessons  of  life  have  been  gained  in  the  school  of  experience.  He  remained  upon 
the  home  farm  until  nineteen  years  of  age,  at  which  time  he  went  to  Chicago, 
working  in  different  shops,  learning  the  machinist's  and  boiler  maker's  trades.  Later 
he  returned  to  Bunker  Hill,  where  he  established  a  machine  shop  and  conducted 
the  business  for  a  period  of  eleven  years.  On  the  expiration  of  that  period  he 
sold  out  and  accepted  the  position  of  superintendent  of  the  plant  of  the  Colean  Manu- 
facturing Company  of  Peoria,  Illinois.  He  built  the  company's  first  tractor  and  two  threshers. 
He  also  drew  up  part  of  the  plans  for  this  machinery.  He  proved  a  most  capable  super- 
intendent of  the  factory  through  the  sjstem  in  which  he  liandled  the  men,  directing  their 
efforts  and  securing  their  cooperation.  For  a  period  of  three  years  he  held  that  position, 
but  the  reports  which  he  had  heard  from  the  machine  experts  concerning  North  Dakota 
caused  him  to  make  his  way  to  this  state  and  in  1908  he  arrived  in  Beach.  Here  he  and  hi& 
son  established  the  A.  E.  Kastien  Machine  Shop,  which  was  completed  in  1908.  It  was  a 
little  structure  twenty  by  thirty-two  feet  and  was  occupied  by  them  until  the  fall  of  1910, 
at  which  time  a  new  shop  sixty  by  one  hundred  and  thirty  feet  was  erected  at  a  cost  of 
six  thousand  dollars.  From  the  beginning  his  work  in  Beach  has  been  notably  successful 
and  profitable,  his  trade  covering  a  radius  of  one  hundred  miles.  He  is  recognized  as  the 
most  expert  machinist  in  this  part  of  the  country,  and  his  j-early  average  of  business  amounted 
to  forty-five  thousand  dollars  from  the  time  he  took  up  his  abode  in  his  new  headquarters. 
He  remained  in  that  business  until  December  1,  1915,  at  which  time  he  sold  out.  It  is  his 
purpose  to  turn  his  attention  in  other  directions.  He  owns  a  section  of  North  Dakota  land 
located  near  Beach  and  is  entering  upon  the  work  of  cattle  raising,  handling  registered 
stock.  He  has  always  been  enthusiastic  in  the  line  of  his  trade,  in  which  he  gained  expert 
efficiency,  and  it  was  only  ill  health  that  caused  him  to  retire  from  that  field. 

In  November,  1890,  Mr.  Kastien  was  married  to  Miss  Lizzie  Campbell,  a  native  of 
Ireland,  who  in  her  childhood  came  to  the  LTnited  States.  Her  parents  had  previously  passed 
away  on  the  Emerald  isle.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Kastien  have  become  the  parents  of  two  sons, 
Robert  and  Harry,  aged  respectively  twenty-three  and  twenty-one  years.  They  have  an 
adopted  daughter,  Florence,  who  is  ten  years  of  age. 

In  politics  Mr.  Kastien  is  a  republican,  having  supported  the  party  since  age  conferred 
upon  him  the  right  of  franchise.  He  was  tax  collector  in  Bunker  Hill  township  when  resid- 
ing in  Macoupin  county,  Illinois,  and  he  served  for  two  years  as  a  member  of  the  city  council 
in  East  Peoria,  Illinois.  Since  establishing  his  home  in  Beach  he  has  been  a  member  of  the 
city  council  for  four  years  and  was  largely  instrumental  in  installing  the  city  waterworks- 
and  establishing  the  sewer  system.  In  March,  1916,  he  was  elected  mayor  of  the  city  by  a 
handsome  majorit}'.  He  is  a  clean  politician  and  his  previous  record  as  councilman  led  to 
the  large  vote  which  was  given  him  when  he  was  the  mayoralty  candidate.  He  is  proving^ 
an  excellent  official  giving  to  the  city  a  progressive  administration  characterized  by  needed 
reforms  and  improvements  which  work  for  the  further  upbuilding  of  Beach.  Fraternally 
he  is  connected  with  the  Masonic  lodge  at  Beach,  of  which  he  served  as  master  in  1913, 
and  he  is  president  of  the  building  association  that  is  erecting  the  new  Jlasonic  Temple 
in  Beach.  His  life  exemplifies  the  beneficent  spirit  and  the  high  standards  of  the  craft  and 
throughout  the  city  in  which  he  makes  his  home  he  is  regarded  as  a  man  whom  to  know 
is  to  respect  and  honor. 


GUSTAVE  GOLSETH,  M.  D. 


Dr.  Gustave  Golseth,  of  .Jamestown,  one  of  the  leading  eye,  ear,  nose  and  throat 
specialists  of  the  state,  has  prepared  himself  thoroughly  for  his  chosen  work  and  has  gained 
an  enviable  and  well  deserved  patronage.  He  was  born  in  Ashby,  Minnesota,  on  the  22d  of 
July,  1876,  a  son  of  Haldor  and  Sigri  Golseth.  The  father,  who  is  deceased,  was  a  veteran 
of  the  Civil  war. 

Dr.  <;olseth  received  a  liberal  general   education,  graduating  from  the   academic  depart- 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  49 

ment  of  the  University  of  Minnesota  in  1901,  ami  the  training  and  Icnowledge  which  he  so 
gained  proved  an  excellent  foundation  for  liis  professional  study  in  the  Chicago  Medical 
College.  He  was  graduated  therefrom  in  1904  and  continued  his  preparation  for  independent 
practice  by  serving  as  an  interne  in  the  Sorenson  Hospital  at  Calumet,  Michigan,  for  a 
year.  He  then  located  in  Minnesota  and  for  three  years  engaged  in  general  practice.  During 
that  time  he  did  postgraduate  work  in  Cliicago  and  New  York  on  eye,  ear,  nose  and 
throat  and  in  the  fall  of  1907  went  tp  Europe  and  studied  at  London,  Berlin  and  Vienna 
for  a  year.  Since  returning  to  this  country  he  has  devoted  his  attention  entirely  to  the 
treatment  of  diseases  of  the  eye,  ear,  nose  and  throat  and  has  built  up  a  large  and  repre- 
sentative practice.  He  holds  membership  in  the  county  and  state  medical  societies  and  in  the 
American  Medical  Association  and  is  secretary  of  the  county  society  and  a  state  councilor. 

Dr.  Golseth  was  married  on  the  14th  of  June,  1910,  to  Miss  Florence  Pugh,  a  daughter  of 
Robert  I'ugh,  and  their  children  are  Ralph  and  .James. 

Dr.  Golseth  gives  his  political  allegiance  to  the  republican  party  and  his  religious  faith 
is  tliat  of  the  Lutheran  church.  Fraternally  he  is  well  known,  belonging  to  the  Masons, 
the  ilystic  Shrine,  the  Elks  and  the  Yeomen.  He  is  not  only  a  leader  in  his  chosen  profession 
but  he  is  also  a  public-spirited  citizen  and  a  man  of  sterling  wortli  and  all  who  have  been 
brought  in  contact  with  him  hold  him  in  high  regard. 


JAMES  A.  DINNIE. 


■Tames  A.  Dinnie,  mayor  of  Grand  Forks  and  also  one  of  the  most  prominent,  enter- 
prising and  active  business  men  of  the  city,  being  president  and  general  manager  of  the 
contracting  firm  of  Dinnie  &  Company,  was  born  in  Dundas  county,  Ontario,  Canada,  near 
Morrisburg,  on  the  7th  of  February,  1863.  His  father,  John  Dinnie,  a  native  of  Edinburgh, 
Scotland,  settled  in  Dundas  county,  Ontario,  in  1851,  and  became  a  successful  farmer  there. 
He  was  very  active  in  the  government  party  and  he  remained  a  resident  of  Canada  until 
his  death,  which  occurred  in  1904,  when  he  was  seventy-five  years  of  age.  In  early  manhood 
he  wedded  Jlary  Gow,  a  native  of  Scotland,  who  was  born,  reared  and  married  in  Edinburgh 
and  accompanied  her  husband  to  Canada,  where  she  passed  away  in  1S6S  at  the  age  of  forty- 
eight  years.  By  her  marriage  she  became  the  mother  of  nine  children,  of  whom  James  A. 
Dinnie  was  the  eighth  in  order  of  birth. 

In  the  country  schools  of  his  native  county  James  A.  Dinnie  pursued  his  education  to 
the  age  of  ten  and  a  half  years.  After  that  his  time  and  attention  were  concentrated  upon 
farm  work  until  he  reached  the  age  of  sixteen,  when  he  was  apprenticed  to  learn  the  brick- 
layer's trade.  After  being  employed  at  his  trade  in  Canada  for  a  year  he  removed  to  Minne- 
sota and  for  the  succeeding  two  years  worked  on  a  farm  in  Polk  county,  that  state.  He 
next  became  a  resident  of  Grand  Forks,  where  he  completed  his  trade.  After  spendin"  a 
year  as  a  journeyman  he  entered  upon  the  contracting  and  building  business,  forming  a 
partncrsliip  with  the  late  .John  Dinnie,  an  older  brother,  under  the  firm  name  of  Dinnie 
Brothers.  They  began  business  on  a  small  scale  but  their  interests  developed  until  theirs 
became  the  largest  contracting  business  in  the  city  and  state.  Their  interests  were  carried 
on  under  partnership  relations  until  1909,  when  John  Dinnie  withdrew  on  account  of  illness 
and  the  business  was  then  incorporated  under  the  same  name,  John  Dinnie  being  succeeded 
in  the  company  by  his  son,  A.  S.  Dinnie.  Andrew  and  Henry  Johnson  have  since  become 
members  of  the  firm.  James  A.  Dinnie  has  always  been  the  president  and  general  manager, 
while  Henry  Johnson  is  now  vice  president  and  Andrew  .Johnson  secretary  and  treasurer. 
The  firm  has  erected  many  of  the  best  buildings  in  Grand  Forks,  including  the  Masonic 
Temple,  which  is  one  of  the  finest  Masonic  temples  in  the  northwest.  They  were  also  the 
contractors  and  builders  of  Hotel  Dakota,  tlie  First  National  Bank  Building,  the  Young 
Men's  Christian  Association  building,  the  Cliff'ord  block,  the  First  Presbyterian  church,  the 
Columbia  Hotel  and  in  fact  over  sixty  per  cent  of  the  brick  buildings  in  this  citj'.  Since 
1903  the  firm  has  done  a  general  contracting  business,  extending  its  operations  all  over  the 
state,  and  has  erected  the  largest  and  most  prominent  buildings  in  Fargo,  Devils  Lake,  Hills- 
boro,  Valley  City  and  in  fact  every  city  in  the  northern  part  of  North  Dakota.     Mr.  Dinnifr 


50  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

also  has  laige  interests  in  many  other  enterprises  in  Grand  Forks.  He  is  a  director  and  the 
treasurer  of  the  Red  Kiver  Valley  Brick  Company  and  prior  to  his  connection  therewith 
operated  and  conducted  the  brick  manufacturing  establishment  of  Dinnie  Brothers,  which 
was  later  consolidated  with  the  Red  River  Valley  Company,  of  which  he  is  one  of  the 
principal  stockholders.  He  is  likewise  a  director  in  the  Scandinavian-American  Bank  of 
Grand  Forks,  a  stockholder  in  the  First  National  Bank,  the  Times-Herald  Publishing 
Company  and  in  the  Korthwest  Trust  Company  of  Grand  Forks  and  he  is  the  president 
of  the  Hoople  (N.  D.)  State  Bank.  He  is  likewise  a  stockholder  in  the  Heborn  Brick  Com- 
pany and  his  sound  judgment  and  enterprise  constitute  an  important  factor  in  the  successful 
direction  of  the  interests  of  these  institutions. 

Aside  from  business  Mr.  Dinnie  takes  an  active  part  in  many  movements  relating  to 
the  "welfare  and  progress  of  his  city.  In  politics  he  is  a  republican  but  not  until  a  few 
years  ago  did  he  take  an  active  part  in  political  work.  In  1913  he  was  chosen  alderman  of 
Grand  Forks  and  the  following  j'ear  was  elected  mayor  of  the  city,  being  the  present  chief 
executive,  in  which  connection  he  is  wisely  controlling  municipal  affairs.  He  has  long  been 
an  active  member  of  the  Commercial  Club,  and  for  the  past  eight  years  has  been  a  director. 
He  was  likewise  a  member  of  the  school  board  for  one  term  and  there  is  no  interest  of 
vital  importance  to  the  community  that  does  not  claim  his  attention  and  receive  his  support. 

On  the  1st  of  May,  1889,  in  Grand  Forks,  Mr.  Dinnie  was  married  to  Miss  Nettie 
Cooper,  a  native  of  Canada.  They  have  become  the  parents  of  a  daughter,  Vivian  Nettie, 
now  the  wife  of  R.  S.  Danforth,  of  Chicago. 

The  parents  are  members  of  the  Presbyterian  church  and  Mr.  Dinnie  belongs  to  the 
Minneapolis  Athletic  Club,  while  with  many  fraternal  and  social  organizations  of  Grand 
Forks  he  is  connected.  He  belongs  to  all  the  Masonic  bodies,  having  taken  the  degrees  of 
both  the  York  and  Scottish  Rites,  and  he  became  a  member  of  the  Elks  lodge  of  Grand  Forks 
soon  after  its  organization.  He  is  prominent  in  the  Knights  of  Pythias  and  at  one  time 
was  grand  chancellor  of  the  state,  while  formerly  he  was  district  deputy  of  the  Elks  of 
North  Dakota.  He  passed  all  the  chairs  in  the  local  lodge  of  Elks  and  was  the  first  president 
of  the  state  organization.  Formerly  he  was  identified  with  the  Loyal  Americans  and  with  the 
United  Workmen  and  he  is  still  a  member  of  the  Loyal  Order  of  ilaose.  He  finds  rest  and 
recreation  through  his  connection  with  the  Grand  Forks  Curling  Club  and  the  Grand  Forks 
Golf  Chib.  Mr.  Dinnie  certainly  deserves  great  credit  for  what  he  has  accomplished,  for 
he  started  out  to  earn  his  living  at  a  salary  of  four  dollars  per  month  and  board  on  a  farm 
and  he  also  received  a  similar  salary  when  he  learned  his  trade  as  a  bricklayer.  From  that 
point,  however,  he  has  steadily  worked  his  way  upward  and  each  forward  step  in  his  career 
has  brought  him  a  broader  outlook  and  wider  opportunities.  He  is  connected  in  every  way 
with  the  upbuilding  of  city  and  state  and  has  a  large  number  of  friends  throughout  North 
Dakota,  being  recognized  as  one  of  its  most  substantial  and  patriotic  citizens. 


H.  J.  BLANCHARD,  Jr. 


H.  J.  Blanchard,  Jr.,  who  is  now  so  acceptably  serving  as  city  attorney  of  Dickinson, 
North  Dakota,  was  born  on  the  15th  of  April,  1883,  in  Colby,  Wisconsin,  and  is  a  son  of  H.  J. 
and  Emma  (Brinker)  Blanchard,  both  of  whom  are  still  living.  During  the  dark  days  of  the 
Civil  war  the  father  fought  for  the  preservation  of  the  Union  and  he  has  always  taken 
quite  an  active  and  prominent  part  in  politics. 

During  his  boyhood  and  youth  H.  J.  Blanchard,  .Ir.,  pursued  his  studies  in  the  public  and 
high  schools  of  his  native  state  and  also  attended  the  University  of  Wisconsin  and  the 
University  of  North  Dakota,  graduating  from  the  latter  institution  in  1910.  He 
made  thorough  preparation  to  enter  the  legal  profession  and  after  his  admission 
to  the  bar  opened  an  office  in  Dickinson  in  1910.  In  the  si.x  years  that  have  since 
passed  he  has  succeeded  in  building  up  a  good  private  practice  and  has  served  as  city 
attorney  a  part  of  that  time. 

On  the  31st  of  December,  1904,  Mr.  Blanchard  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Angelia 
La  Budde,  also  a  native  of  Wisconsin,  and  they  have  one  child,  Marion.     In  religious  faith 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  51 

they  are  Protestants  and  in  politics  Mr.  Blanehard  is  an  ardent  republican,  taking  a  com- 
mendable interest  in  public  affairs.  On  liis  party  ticket  he  was  elected  to  represent  Stark 
county  in  the  state  legislature  in  1914  for  a  term  of  two  years  and  ably  filled  that  position. 
He  is  exalted  ruler  of  the  Klks  lodge  of  Dickinson  and  is  also  a  Royal  Arch  Mason.  As  a 
public-spirited  and  progressive  citizen,  he  never  withholds  his  support  from  any  enterprise 
calculated  to  advance  tlie  interests  of  his  county,  state  or  nation. 


0.  YOUNG. 

Among  the  leading  business  men  of  Grand  Forks  who  have  done  much  toward  promoting 
the  early  growth  and  development  and  later  progress  of  that  beautiful  city  and  who  have 
by  honest  methods  and  fair  dealing  combined  with  enterprise  built  up  a  notable  business 
are  Orison  and  Owen  Young,  under  the  firm  name  of  0.  Young. 

On  the  1st  day  of  April,  1885,  the}'  embarked  in  the  furniture  and  piano  business 
and  through  all  the  intervening  years  their  trade  has  constantly  grown  until  it  has  now 
assumed  large  ])roportions.  During  this  period  a  large  and  attractive  line  of  goods  has  been 
carried,  and  their  reasonable  prices  and  honorable  dealing  have  given  their  House  the 
credit  of  being  "The  oldest  and  most  reliable  piano  and  music  house  in  North  Dakota." 

In  1913  they  decided  to  discontinue  the  furniture  department  in  order  to  devote  more 
space  to  their  rapidly  growing  piano  and  music  business,  which  is  one  of  the  most  impor- 
tant of  the  commercial  activities  of  the  city.     Their  other  interests  cover  a  wide  field. 

They  are  highly  esteemed  wherever  known  and  most  of  all  where  they  are  best  known, 
and  their  contribution  to  the  material  and  political  development  of  the  city  has  been  large 
and  valuable.  In  all  that  they  undertake  they  are  actuated  by  a  spirit  of  enterprise  and 
progressiveness  that  o'erleaps  obstacles  and  difficulties  and  reaches  the  desired  goal. 


ERNEST  L.  PETERSON. 


Ernest  L.  Peterson,  publisher  of  the  Press  at  Dickinson,  was  born  in  Sweden  in  1S86, 
a  son  of  August  and  Sophia  Peterson,  of  Donaldson,  Minnesota,  where  the  father  for  many 
years  has  followed  the  occupation  of  farming  and  where  he  and  his  wife  still  reside. 

Ernest  L.  Peterson,  an  only  child,  was  educated  in  the  Stephen  and  Hallock,  Minnesota, 
schools  and  in  the  Minnesota  University.  Throughout  his  entire  business  career  he  has  en- 
gaged in  newspaper  publication.  Leaving  school,  he  established  the  Easton  Leader  at  Easton, 
Minnesota,  when  seventeen  years  of  age.  He  published  that  paper  for  about  a  year.  He 
was  afterward  connected  with  the  Ainsworth  Star-.Iournal  at  Ainsworth,  Nebraska,  and 
the  Northwest  Farm  and  Home  Magazine  of  North  Yakima,  Washington,  until  1907,  when  he 
went  to  Carrington.  North  Dakota,  after  which  he  was  connected  with  the  Independent  and 
also  with  the  Devils  Lake  .Journal,  spending  two  years  on  these  papers.  He  afterward 
removed  to  Lisbon  and  was  manager  of  the  Lisbon  Free  Press  for  two  years.  In  1911  he 
purchased  the  Milton  Globe,  a  Cavalier  county  paper,  which  he  published  until  December 
25,  1915,  and  which  he  still  owns.  Removing  to  Dickinson  in  1915,  he  purchased  the  Dickinson 
Press,  which  he  is  now  publishing  and  which  is  recognized  as  one  of  the  best  journals  in 
the  state.  It  has  a  circulation  of  thirty-five  hundred,  covering  the  whole  of  the  Missouri 
slope.  His  plant  is  splendidly  equipped  according  to  modern  ideas  of  newspaper  publication 
and  is  ho\ised  in  one  of  the  best  buildings  of  the  city.  In  fact  his  is  one  of  the  fine  ni'wspaper 
ofiices  of  the  .state  and  the  paper  is  one  of  the  largest  weeklies  circulafed  in  North  Dakota. 
It  was  established  in  188.3  and  has  since  been  in  continuous  existence.  Mr.  Peterson  has 
infused  into  his  work  all  the  ideas  of  modern  journalism  and  his  success  is  the  merited 
reward  of  persistent,  earnest  and  intelligently  directed  effort.  In  addition  to  his  newspaper 
business  he  is  interested  in  farm  lands  in  both  North  Dakota  and  Minnesota. 

In  1909,  at  Carrington,  North  Dakota,  Mr.  Peterson  was  married  to  Miss  Janet  Farrell, 


52  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

a  native  of  this  state  and  a  dauglitcr  of  Mr.  and  Mis,  William  Farrell,  who  were  pioneers 
of  Carrington  and  of  Barlow.     The  father  died  in  190T. 

In  his  political  views  Mi'.  Peterson  is  an  earnest  republican.  He  was  formerly  district 
game  warden  covering  the  northern  part  of  the  state,  holding  the  office  for  two  years. 
Fraternally  he  is  connected  with  the  Masonic  lodge  cf  Uickinson,  in  which  order  he  has 
lilled  all  of  the  chairs  save  that  of  master,  and  he  is  identified  with  the  Scottish  Rite  bodies 
at  Langdon.  He  also  has  membership  with  the  Elks  of  Dickinson  and  the  Odd  Fellows  of 
Milton,  North  Dakota,  and  in  the  latter  organization  he  has  filled  all  of  the  offices  of  the 
lodge.  He  is  a  very  prominent,  active  and  honored  member  of  the  North  Dakota  Press 
Association,  of  which  he  has  served  as  executive  committeeman,  and  he  is  also  a  member  or 
the  executive  council  of  the  National  Editorial  Association,  with  which  organization  he 
makes  an  annual  tour,  covering  the  country  from  Alaska  to  Mexico  and  from  coast  to  coast. 
His  travels  have  also  embraced  South  America  and  Panama.  He  has  comprehensive  knowl- 
edge of  the  United  States  and  in  fact  of  all  the  western  hemisphere,  for  he  has  been  in 
practically  every  state  in  the  Union  as  well  as  in  other  countries  of  the  globe.  He  possesses 
an  observing  eye  and  retentive  memory  and  is  constantly  storing  up  knowledge  from  which 
he  draws  in  writing  his  editorials  or  in  discussing  public  questions.  Forceful  and  re- 
sourceful, he  is  one  of  the  honored  and  representative  citizens  of  the  state,  wielding  a 
wide   inlluence  through   the   columns   of   the   Press. 


HON.   IRA   A.   BARNES. 


Hon.  Ira  A.  Barnes,  of  Ellendale,  state  senator  and  leading  business  man,  prominently 
connected  with  agricultural  interests  in  Dickey  counter,  was  born  in  Markville,  New  York, 
April  6,  1855,  a  son  of  Hiram  and  Laura  (Bishop)  Barnes,  who  were  also  natives  of  the 
Empire  state,  where  they  were  reared  and  married.  In  early  life  the  father  engaged  in  the 
lumber  business  but  in  later  years  gave  his  attention  to  farming.  From  his  fourth  year 
he  was  a  resident  of  Cayuga  county.  New  York,  and  there  his  death  occurred  about  1902, 
while  his  wife  survived  until  1909. 

Ira  A.  Barnes  is  indebted  to  the  public  school  system  of  New  York  for  his  educational 
opportunities.  He  was  the  eldest  of  three  sons  and  remained  at  home  until  his  twenty- 
fifth  year,  assisting  his  father  in  the  further  development  and  cultivation  of  the  home  farm. 
He  then  entered  the  employ  of  the  government  in  connection  with  lighthouse  work  on  Lake 
Ontario,  spending  three  years  In  that  connection,  and  in  March,  1883,  he  came  to  North 
Dakota,  settling  in  Dickey  county,  where  for  a  third  of  a  century  he  has  now  been  connected 
with  agricultural  interests.  He  preempted  one  hundred  and  sixty  acres  of  land  and  also 
entered ,  a  tree  claim,  while  subsequently  he  homesteaded  another  quarter  section,  proving 
up  on  the  three  claims.  He  lived  on  his  homestead  until  1908,  when  he  removed  to  Ellen- 
dale  in  order  to  give  his  children  the  advantages  of  education  there  to  be  secured.  He  still 
retains  the  ownership  of  nine  hundred  and  sixty  acres  of  valuable  farm  land  in  Dickey 
county  and  is  one  of  its  most  substantial  and  progressive  agriculturists,  having  developed 
his  lands  according  to  the  most  modern  and  progressive  methods  of  scientific  agriculture. 
He  was  also  one  of  thij  organizers  of  the  Dickey  County  Mutual  Insurance  Companj-,  of 
which  he  is  a  director  and  a  member  of  the  executive  board. 

In  1886  Mr.  Barnes  was  married  to  Miss  Agnes  McFadden,  of  Sterling,  New  Y'ork, 
and  to  them  have  been  born  eight  children:  Laura,  who  is  the  wife  of  George  Johnson,  a 
ranchman  of  eastern  Montana  Basil  B.,  a  mining  man  of  Montana;  Maud,  who  is  the  wife 
of  Fred  Bloomer,  Jr.,  of  Ellendale;  Howard,  a  Montana  agriculturist;  Barbara,  who  is  em- 
ployed as  stenographer  by  the  Fisk  Rubber  Company  of  Fargo;  Bertha  and  Belva,  who 
attend  the  State  Normal  and  Industrial  School  at  Ellendale;  and  Ralph  Sterling,  who  died 
when  five  months  old.  All  of  the  older  children  are  graduates  of  the  State  Normal  School 
of  Ellendale  and  the  family  is  one  of  which  the  parents  have  every  reason  to  be  proud. 
Mr.  Barnes  has  ever  been  a  stalwart  champion  of  the  cause  of  education  and  believes  that 
public  instruction  is  one  of  the  bulwarks  of  the  nation.  Mrs.  Barnes  is  a  member  of  the 
rre.sbytcrian  church  and  the  family  is  prominent  socially. 


HON.  IKA  A.  BARNES 


"> 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  55 

In  politics  Mr.  Barnes  is  a  democrat  where  national  issues  are  involved  but  at  local 
elections  casta  an  independent  ballot.  He  is  interested  in  community  affairs  from  the  stand- 
point of  a  public-spirited  citizen  and  for  six  years  he  served  as  a  member  of  the  city  council, 
exercising  his  oflicial  prerogatives  in  support  of  many  matters  of  municipal  legislation  that 
have  had  direct  bearing  upon  the  welfare  and  upbuilding  of  the  city.  While  living  on  the 
farm  he  served  for  years  on  the  township  board  and  on  the  school  board.  He  was  a  delegate 
to  the  first  democratic  state  convention  and  was  chosen  its  permanent  secretary.  In  1913 
he  was  elected  to  the  state  senate  on  the  democratic  ticket  in  a  district  where  the  republican 
vote  is  normally  about  three  to  one,  and  his  election  is  certainly  an  indication  of  his  per- 
sonal popularity  and  the  confidence  reposed  in  him  by  his  fellow  townsmen.  He  is  making 
an  excellent  record  in  office,  subordinating  partisanship  to  the  public  welfare  and  personal 
aggrandizement  to  the  general  good.  He  studies  closelj-  the  questions  and  issues  of  the  day, 
his  opinions  are  clear  and  definite  and  his  position  never  an  equivocal  one. 


NOKJIAX  BALFOUR,  il.  D. 


Dr.  Norman  Balfour,  engaged  in  the  practice  of  medicine  and  surgery  at  Rock  Lake, 
was  born  in  Canada  in  January,  1882,  a  son  of  James  and  Elizabeth  (Basingthwaite) 
Balfour,  who  are  also  natives  of  Canada.  The  father  there  followed  the  occupation  of  farm- 
ing for  many  j-ears  but  at  an  early  period  in  the  development  and  settlement  of  North 
Dakota  came  to  this  state,  where  he  filed  on  land  which  he  has  since  owned  and  cultivated. 
He  is  also  engaged  in  the  grain  business  And  is  one  of  the  representative  and  progressive 
residents  of  Hannah,  North  Dakota. 

Dr.  Balfour  was  reared  and  educated  at  Langdon,  North  Dakota,  having  been  but  a 
young  lad  at  the  time  of  the  removal  of  his  parents  to  this  state.  In  preparation  for  a 
professional  career  he  entered  the  Detroit  College  of  ISIedicine  at  Detroit,  Michigan,  and  was 
graduated  therefrom  with  the  class  of  1905.  He  then  returned  to  North  Dakota  and  located 
for  practice  at  Sarles,  where  he  remained  for  a  year.  In  1906  he  opened  an  office  at  Rock 
Lake,  where  he  has  since  remained  and  a  liberal  practice  has  been  accorded  him.  He  has 
also  been  owner  of  a  drug  store  there  for  some  time  and  his  commercial  pursuits  are 
likewise  bringing  to  him  a  substantial  return. 

In  November,  1911,  Dr.  Balfour  was  united  in  marriage  to  iNIiss  Genevieve  Mooney.  Mrs. 
Balfour  is  a  member  of  the  Catholic  church.  The  Doctor  holds  membership  in  the  Inde- 
pendent Order  of  Odd  Fellows  and  in  polities  maintains  an  independent  course,  voting 
according  to  the  dictates  of  his  judgment  in  support  of  the  men  whom  he  regards  as  best 
aualilied  for  office.  He  is  conscientious  in  the  performance  of  all  his  professional 
duties  and  keeps  in  touch  with  the  trend  of  modern  thought  and  scientific  investigation 
through  broad  reading  and  study. 


ROBERT   W.  KERR. 


Robert  W.  Kerr,  erfgaged  in  general  merchandising  at  Fryburg,  Billings  county,  was 
born  February  26,  1872,  in  Michigan,  a  son  of  Robert  and  Sarah  (Wilson)  Kerr.  The 
mother  died  in  that  state  and  in  1874  the  father  removed  to  Wingham,  Ontario,  Canada, 
where  he  remained  until  1884,  when  he  became  a  resident  of  Wheatland,  North  Dakota, 
continuing  to  make  his  home  at  that  place  until  his  death,  which  occurred  in  1895. 

Robert  W.  Kerr,  was  a  lad  of  twelve  years  when  he  became  a  resident  of  \\Tieatland, 
where  he  pursued  his  education,  after  which  he  began  work  as  a  farm  hand.  Later  he 
took  up  blacksmithing,  serving  a  three  years'  apprenticeship  at  Erie,  North  Dakota.  After- 
ward he  went  to  Hannaford,  where  he  opened  a  shop  which  he  conducted  for  three  years. 
At  the  end  of  that  time  he  horaesteaded  near  Portal,  North  Dakota,  and  proved  up  on  the 
property,  after  which  he  purchased  an  adjoining  quarter  section  and  thereon  engaged  in 
farming   until    1913.      He    also    devoted    considerable    time    to    the    raising    of    graded    stock. 


56  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

hotli  cattlo  and  lior&es.  After  selling  his  farm  in  1913  he  took  a  trip  through  the  country 
which  finally  took  him  to  Fryburg  in  the  spring  of  1914.  There  he  started  a  general  store, 
of  which  he  is  still  proprietor,  and  in  the  year  1915  his  business  was  doubled.  He  enjoys 
a  very  extensive  and  gra.tifying  patronage  and  his  methods  are  at  all  times  progressive 
and  enterprising.  After  a  time  he  purchased  the  building  in  which  he  is  carrying  on  business 
and  he  also  owns  other  property  in  the  village. 

On  the  23d  of  November,  1898,  Mr.  Kerr  was  married  to  Miss  Emma  Hay,  who  was  born 
in  Seaforth,  Ontario,  Canada,  November  9,  1875,  a  daughter  of  John  and  Jennie  (Boyd) 
Hay,  the  former  a  native  of  Scotland  and  the  latter  of  Canada.  The  father  was  a  mason  by 
trade  and  followed  that  pursuit  throughout  his  entire  life.  In  1879  he  arrived  in  North 
Dakota  and  for  a  few  years  engaged  in  farming  near  Buffalo.  Both  he  and  his  wife  are  now 
livin"  in  Absaraka,  North  Dakota.  Their  family  numbered  five  children,  of  whom  two  are 
now  deceased.     Those  still  living  are:   Emma;  John  H.,  a  resident  of  Absaraka;  and  Clarence 

B.,  of  Fargo. 

Mr.  Kerr  is  an  independent  democrat  in  politics  and  is  now  serving  as  postmaster  of 
Fryburg,  to  which  position  he  was  appointed  on  the  1st  of  November,  1915.  He  belongs 
to  the  Ancient  Order  of  United  Workmen  at  Portal  and  is  a  member  of  the  Presbyterian 
ehxuch.  He  is  interested  in  all  that  pertains  to  the  welfare  and  progress  of  his  community 
and  in  business  circles  he  displays  a  spirit  of  marked  enterprise  that  has  wrought  for 
success  and  made  him  one  of  the  prosperous  merchants  of  Billings  county. 


MINOR  SKIFF  WILLIAMS. 


Minor  Skiff  Williams,  one  of-  the  representative  citizens  and  prominent  business  men 
of  Williston,  wliere  he  is  now  actively  engaged  in  the  milling  business,  was  born  on  the 
12th  of  August,  1853,  in  Saxeville  township,  Waushara  county,  Wisconsin,  a  son  of  John 
A.  and  Laura  (Skiff)  Williams.  The  birth  of  the  father  occurred  near  Meadville  in  Craw- 
ford county,  Pennsylvania,  where  he  was  reared  and  educated,  and  throughout  his  business 
life  he  followed  farming  and  merchandising  and  also  owned  and  operated  flour  mills.  In 
1850  he  removed  to  Waushara  county,  Wisconsin,  traveling  by  boat  to  :\lilwaukee.  On 
reaching  his  destination,  he  took  up  a  homestead  and  in  connection  with  farming  also 
engaged  in  milling  for  many  years,  owning  the  Pine  River  Flour  Mill  and  also  the  Saxeville 
Flour  Mill.  Later  he  established  the  Waushara  Argus,  the  first  newspaper  in  Waushara  county, 
and  it  is  still  in  existence.  Mr.  Williams  took  a  prominent  part  in  public  affairs  and  was 
called  upon  to  serve  as  county  treasurer.  He  died  at  Pine  River  in  1886  and  was  laid  to  rest 
there.  In  early  manhood  he  married  Miss  Laura  Skiff,  who  was  born  in  Genesee  county. 
New  York,  but  spent  the  gi-eater  part  of  her  girlhood  in  IMeadville,  Pennsylvania,  where 
their  marriage  was  celebrated.  After  the  death  of  her  husband  she  came  to  North  Dakota 
with  our  subject  in  1887.  She  passed  away  in  1889  in  Towner  county,  and  was  interred  in 
the  Pine  River,  Wisconsin,  Cemetery. 

In  the  county  of  his  nativity  Elinor  S.  Williams  grew  to  manhood,  attending  the  country 
schools  of  Saxeville  township,  tlie  city  schools  of  Pine  River  and  the  Waushara  County 
Normal.  While  assisting  his  father  in  the  mill,  he  early  became  familiar  with  the  business 
which  he  now  follows.  In  1887  he  rernoved  to  Pierce  county,' North  Dakota,  locating  just 
over  the  Towner  county  line,  twelve  miles  north  of  Leeds.  He  preempted  a  claim  near 
Hurricane  lake  and  engaged  in  farming  there  for  five  years,  making  a  specialty  of  raising 
cattle  and  sheep.  On  selling  that  place  he  removed  to  Ward  county  and  settled  on  the 
White  Earth  river,  nearly  six  miles  from  White  Earth,  where  he  homesteaded  a  tract  and 
also  bought  a  large  amount  of  land,  operating  a  cow  ranch  there  on  an  extensive  scale  until 
1900,  when  he  was  elected  county  treasurer  of  Ward  county  and  removed  to  Minot  to  assume 
the  duties  of  that  office.  So  satisfactory  were  his  services  that  he  was  reelected  in  1902 
and  filled  the  position  for  four  years.  During  that  time  he  continued  to  run.  the  ranch  with 
the  assistance  of  a  foreman,  and  in  the  meantime  established  an  abstract  business  in  Minot, 
whicli  he  conducted  until  1907,  when  he  sold  it. 

In  1909  Mr.  Williams  was  appointed  by  President  Taft  as  receiver  at  the  L'Uited  States 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  57 

land  ollicc  in  Williston  and  removed  to  that  place,  where  he  liad  charge  of  affairs  for  four 
ytars  and  seven  months  or  until  tlie  1st  of  October,  1913.  The  following  year  he  eatab- 
lislied  the  Whole  Wheat  Jlilling  Company  and  erected  a  modern  Hour  mill  at  Williston  with 
a  capacity  of  thirty-live  barrels  per  day.  The  company  is  incorporated  and  all  of  the  stock 
is  owned  by  the  Williams  family,  our  subject  serving  as  president  and  manager  since  its 
organization.  He  also  operates  the  Independent  elevator  near  his  mill  and  in  1915  organized 
the  Havre  Mill  Company  at  Havre,  Montana,  of  which  he  is  vice  president,  and  built  the 
mill  in  April,  1916.  It  is  now  in  successful  operation.  In  1916  he  organized  a  company 
which  jjurchased  the  Wild  Rose  F'lour  Mill  in  Williams  county  on  the  Stanley  branch.  Mr. 
Williams  still  owns  his  cattle  ranch  on  White  Earth  Kivcr,  known  as  Hillside  Home,  and 
his  son  is  now  running  it. 

On  the  8th  of  August,  1875,  Mr.  Williams  was  married  in  Saxeville  township,  Waushara 
county,  Wisconsin,  to  Miss  Ella  O'Cain,  who  was  reared  there  although  she  w-as  born  in 
Sheboygan,  Wisconsin,  a  daughter  of  Isaac  and  Cynthia  (Smith)  O'Cain.  They  were  born 
near  Ithaca,  New  York,  and  were  early  settlers  of  Wisconsin.  Prior  to  her  marriage  Mrs. 
Williams  engaged  in  teaching  for  some  time  in  and  around  Pine  River.  She  has  become  the 
mother  of  three  children,  all  born  in  Saxeville,  Wisconsin,  namely:  Myrtle  K.,  who  married 
John  A.  Corbett,  a  newspaper  man  of  Williston,  North  Dakota,  and  died  in  October,  1911; 
Frances  Ada,  the  wife  of  E.  R.  Brownson,  of  Williston;  and  Charles  Minor,  who  is  conducting 
his  father's  ranch  on  White  Earth  river. 

Mr.  AVilliams  is  an  ardent  republican  and  besides  serving  as  county  treasurer  was  county 
commissioner  in  Ward  county  from  1894  to  1900.  He  is  a  member  of  the  Masonic  lodge  of 
Minot.  In  business  affairs  he  has  met  with  enviable  success  due  to  his  wise  judgment,  good 
management  and  untiring  industry,  and  he  rajiks  today  among  the  leading  citizens  of  his 
community,  having  the  respect  and  confidence  of  all  who  know  him. 


BENJAJHX  TUFTE. 


Benjamin  Tufte,  states  attorney  at  Cooperstown,  was  born  at  Siign,  Norway,  August 
23,  1801,  and  is  a  representative  of  a  family  long  connected  with  farming  interests  in  that 
locality.  His  father,  Ole  Tufte.  born  in  Siign  in  1809,  reached  the  advanced  age  of  eighty- 
eight  years,  passing  away  in  1897.  He  was  one  of  the  students  to  receive  the  benefit  of 
normal  school  instruction  in  that  country  and  became  a  teacher  in  Norway,  where  he  spent 
his  life,  retiring  alter  forty  years  devoted  to  teaching. 

Benjamin  Tufte  was  the  third  in  a  family  of  five  children  and  when  he  had  completed 
his  ])ul)lic  school  course  was  admitted  to  the  University  of  Christiania  in  1SS4.  In  1887  he 
came  to  the  United  States,  making  his  way  to  Minnesota,  where  he  was  employed  for  five 
years,  and  then  resumed  his  interrupted  education  bj'  matriculating  in  the  University  of 
Minnesota  in  1892.  He  was  graduated  therefrom  on  the  completion  of  the  law  course  in 
1895  and  the  same  year  was  admitted  to  the  bar.  For  two  years  he  practiced  his  profession 
in  Minneapolis  and  in  1897  went  to  Cooperstown,  North  Dakota,  where  he  entered  upon  the 
work  of  his  profession.  In  1898  he  was  elected  states  attorney  and  was  reelected  in  1900 
and  in  1902.  On  the  close  of  his  third  term  he  left  the  office  and  in  1904  made  a  trip  to 
Europe.  In  1906  he  was  reelected  states  attorney  and  has  been  continued  in  the  position 
to  the  present  time,  so  that  he  has  served  for  eight  terms  and  the  probability  is  that  he 
will  be  continued  in  that  position,  for  the  public  has  come  to  feel  that  there  is  no  one  so 
well  qualified  for  the  ofiico  or  who  will  prove  more  loyal  and  capable  in  the  discharge  of 
the  duties  of  that  position.  He  owns  farm  land,  which  he  rents,  giving  his  undivided 
attention  to  his  professional  and  official  interests.  His  position  as  a  lawyer  is  established 
by  the  attitude  of  his  fellow  townsmen,  who  have  attested  their  approval  of  his  ability  by 
again  and  again  electing  him  states  attorney. 

On  the  5th  of  .Tanuary,  1907.  Mr.  Tufte  was  married  to  Miss  Clara  Feiring,  a  native 
of  Wisconsin,  who  was  graduated  from  the  North  Dakota  State  University  at  Grand  Forks  and 
for  six  years  was  superintendent  of  education  in  Griggs  county.  They  have  one  child, 
Oswald. 


58  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

Mr.  Tufte  belongs  to  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows  and  to  the  Sons  of  Norway  and 
the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America  and  he  has  social  qualities  which  render  him  popular 
in  those  organizations  and  throughout  the  community  in  which  he  resides. 


LEO  E.  BEHAN. 


Leo  E.  Behan,  postmaster  at  Mohall,  was  born  in  Sheldon,  Iowa,  May  2,  1886,  a  son  of 
Daniel  and  Ellen  (Carberry)  Behan,  both  natives  of  Canada.  At  an  early  day  his  parents 
went  to  Iowa,  securing  a  homestead  claim  in  O'Brien  county  upon  which  they  established 
their  home,  the  father  devoting  many  years  to  the  cultivation  and  improvement  of  that 
property.  In  190C,  however,  he  sold  his  farm  there  and  settled  in  Renville  county,  near 
Mohall,  where  he  invested  in  one  hundred  and  sixty  acres  of  land  a  mile  and  a  half  from 
the  town.  He  is  now  engaged  in  market  gardening  and  his  business  is  returning  to  him  a 
good   income. 

Leo  E.  Behan  was  reared  in  the  usual  manner  of  farm  bred  boys,  in  O'Brien  county,  Iowa, 
dividing  his  time  between  the  duties  of  the  schoolroom,  the  pleasures  of  the  pla5'ground  and 
the  work  of  the  fields.  He  continued  to  assist  his  father  on  the  farm  until  he  attained  hia 
majority,  when  he  began  working  for  his  brother  in  an  implement  business  at  Mohall.  He 
afterward  operated  a  dray  line  in  that  town  for  three  years  and  in  1910  he  vrent  to  Montana, 
where  he  proved  up  a  homestead,  which  he  still  owns  and  which  is  now  rented.  In  May, 
1915,  he  was  temporarily  appointed  to  the  position  of  postmaster  at  Mohall  and  on  the  17th 
of  December  following  received  the  appointment  to  that  office  for  four  years.  lie  ia  now 
capably  filling  that  position,  discharging  his  duties  with  promptness  and  fidelity. 

In  October,  1908,  Mr.  Behan  was  married  to  Jliss  Sabina  ilullen,  a  daughter  of  John 
and  Catherine  (Donovan)  Mullen,  of  Buffalo,  Minnesota,  the  former  of  whom  died  in  Novem- 
ber, 1914,  and  the  latter  in  December,  1910.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Behan  have  become  the  parents 
of  three  children  but  lost  two,  Cecil  passing  away  in  July,  1911,  and  Catherine  in  May, 
1914.  The  little  son,  Vincent,  was  born  September  39,  1915.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Behan  are  mem- 
bers of  the  Catholic  church  and  in  politics  he  is  a  democrat,  giving  stalwart  support  to  the 
party.  He  is  widely  and  favorably  known  in  the  community  in  which  he  resides  and  has 
a  large  circle  of  warm  friends. 


EMIL  I.  PYES. 


Emil  I.  ryes,  manager  of  the  Grand  Forks  Fish  Company,  has  been  a  resident  of  Grand 
Forks  since  the  fall  of  1891.  He  was  a  youth  of  about  fourteen  years  at  the  time  of  his 
arrival,  his  birth  having  occurred  in  South  Russia,  October  15,  1877.  his  parents  being  Harry 
and  Etta  (Rathnian)  Pyes.  The  father  came  to  America  with  his  family  in  September,  1891, 
and  established  his  home  in  Grand  Forks,  where  he  engaged  in  merchandising  and  in  the  fish 
business,  establishing  the  Grand  Forks  Fish  Company.  He  continued  active  in  that  line  for 
twenty  years  or  until  September  21,  1911,  when  death  called  him  when  he  had  reached  the 
age  of  fifty-five  years.     His  widow  is  still  living  in  Grand  Forks. 

Emil  I.  Pyes  was  the  oldest  in  a  family  of  sLx  children.  He  began  his  education  in  the 
schools  of  his  native  country  and  after  coming  to  the  new  world  he  assisted  his  father  in 
business  and  upon  the  latter's  death  took  over  the  business  of  the  Grand  Forks  Fish  Com- 
pany. In  this  connection  he  is  still  active  and  his  enterprise  and  energy  have  brought  to 
him  substantial  and  growing  success.  He  is  a  man  of  firm  purpose,  carrying  forward  to 
successful  completion   whatever   he  undertakes. 

On  the  27th  of  May,  1906,  in  Minneapolis.  Minnesota,  Mr.  Pves  was  united  in  marriage 
to  Miss  Celia  Brahl,  a  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Hugo  Brahl,  of  Minneapolis.  They  now  have 
two  sons:  Richard  Saul,  who  was  born  in  Grand  Forks  in  1907:  and  Hugo  Hiisch.  whose 
birth  occurred  at  Grand  Forks.  April  6,  1916.     The  elder  is  now  attending  school. 

In  politics  Mr.  Pyes  is  a  republican  and  for  the  past  three  years  has  served  as  a  member 


LEO  E.  BEHAN 


r 


AS. 
1X1.  ~ 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  61 

of  the  board  of  aldermen  from  the  second  ward,  in  which  connection  lie  labors  earnestly  to 
secure  the  best  interests  of  the  city  ahmg  lines  of  civic  development  and  improvement.  lie 
belongs  to  the  Independent  Order  of  Birth  of  Abraham,  in  which  he  has  been  district  deputy 
and  also  president  of  the  state  body.  He  is  likewise  connected  with  the  Knights  of  Pythias. 
He  holds  to  the  faith  of  his  fathers,  belonging  to  the  congregation  of  the  Children  of  Israel, 
and  is  president  of  the  church.  He  is  a  member  of  the  Jewish  school  board,  the  people  of 
his  faith  maintaining  a  private  school  in  Grand  Forks,  and  he  is  also  president  of  the  Jewish 
Cemeterj-  Association.  His  life  has  been  one  of  diligence  and  enterprise  and  he  deserves 
much  credit  for  what  he  has  accomi)lished,  his  life  proving  what  can  be  done  through  earnest, 
persistent  etl'ort   intelligently  directed. 


A.  D.  COCHRANK. 


A.  D.  Cochrane,  postmaster  at  York,  Benson  county,  was  born  in  Benton  county.  Iowa, 
November  3,  1872,  a  son  of  William  W.  and  ilarian  (Cleland)  Cochrane,  the  former  a  native 
of  (Scotland,  while  the  latter  was  born  in  New  York  of  Scotch  ]>arentage.  In  young  manhood 
the  father  came  to  the  United  States,  in  1866,  and  was  married  in  New  Y'ork  in  1870.  Prior 
to  that  time,  however,  he  made  a  trip  to  low'a  and  filed  on  a  homestead  to  which  he  after- 
ward brought  his  bride.  They  continued  their  residence  there  until  the  mother's  death  in 
May,  1897,  and  in  1901  Jlr.  Cochrane  removed  to  North  Dakota  to  live  with  his  daughter, 
Mrs.  A.  L.  Obert,  and  with  his  son,  A.  D.  Cochrane,  both  of  Y'ork.  There  he  passed  away  in 
1907.  at  the  age  of  sixty-eight  years. 

A.  D.  Cochrane  acquired  his  education  in  the  public  schools  of  Dysart,  Iowa,  and  Ewing, 
Nebraska,  and  in  the  Fremont  (Neb.)  Normal  School.  When  twenty-one  years  of  age  he 
took  up  the  profession  of  teaching  and  for  twelve  years  was  engaged  in  educational  work. 
In  1901  he  arrived  in  North  Dakota  and  filed  on  a  homestead  in  McHenry  county,  fifteen 
miles  northwest  of  Towner,  the  county  seat.  In  the  spring  of  1902  he  took  up  his  permanent 
abode  in  this  state,  settling  on  his  homestead,  and  there  he  remained  for  sixteen  months. 
In  the  meantime  he  taught  a  term  of  school  in  Knox  and  in  tlie  spring  of  1903  he  put  in  a 
crop  on  his  farm.  On  the  1st  of  October  of  that  year  he  took  charge  of  the  postoifice  at 
York  under  George  A.  Binckley,  who  at  that  time  held  the  appointment  of  postmaster.  On 
the  19th  of  Februar}',  1904,  Mr.  Cochrane  was  appointed  to  the  oliice,  which  position  he  has 
filled  continuously  since,  serving  under  Presidents  Taft,  Roosevelt  and  Wilson,  a  fact  which 
indicates  his  popularity  and  efficiency.  He  is  also  the  owner  of  a  farm  of  one  hundred  and 
sixty  acres  adjoining  Y'ork  and  to  the  cultivation  of  this  property  gives  his  personal  super- 
vision. 

In  1898  Mr.  Cochrane  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Emma  P.  Delanoy,  of  Clearwater, 
Nebraska,  by  whom  he  lias  five  children,  namely:  Cleland  D.,  Fern  H.,  Margaret  M.,  Evelyn 
J.  and  James  W.  Fraternally  Mr.  Cochrane  is  connected  with  Leeds  Lodge,  No.  67,  A.  F.  & 
A.  M.;  Dakota  Consistory,  No.  1,  A  &  A.  S.  R.;  Kem  Temple,  A.  A.  0.  N.  M.  S.,  of  Grand 
Forks;  Y'ork  Lodge,  No  68,  I.  0.  0.  F. ;  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America:  and  the  Ancient 
Order  of  I'nited  Workmen.  Both  he  and  his  wife  are  members  of  the  Order  of  the  Eastern 
Star  and  of  the  Rebekahs,  the  ladies'  auxiliaries  of  the  Masonic  and  Odd  Fellows  fraternities 
respectively.  They  are  both  widely  and  favorably  known  in  the  locality  where  they  reside 
and  where  they  have  many  friends  who  entertain  for  them  kindly  regard. 


WILLIAM  MARKS  WEMETT. 

William  Marks  Wemett.  professor  of  history  in  the  State  Normal  School  at  Valley  City 
and  recognized  as  an  able  educator,  was  born  at  Hemlock  Lake,  New  Y'ork.  on  the  10th  of 
February.  1SS4.  the  youngi'st  in  a  family  of  four  sons  and  two  daughters  whose  parents 
were  Henry  and  Mary  (Knapp)  Wemett,  who  were  also  natives  of  the  Empire  state.  The  pater- 
nal grandfather,  .losepli  Wemett,  was  born  near  Montreal  and  accompanied  his  parents  when 


62  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

with  their  family  they  crossed  the  border  into  the  United  States,  settling  in  Livingston 
county,  New  York.  He  devoted  his  life  to  the  occupation  of  farming  and  lived  to  be  more 
than  eighty  years  of  age.  Henry  Wemett  was  born  in  Livingston  county  and  was  educated 
in  New  York,  completing  a  course  in  the  old  Lima  College  at  Lima,  New  York,  by  graduation. 
When  a  young  man  he  removed  to  Kirksville,  Missouri,  where  he  purchased  a  farm  that  is 
now  the  property  of  the  Kirksville  Normal  School.  After  devoting  a  few  years  to  the  cul- 
tivation of  that  land  ho  removed  to  Litchfield,  Michigan,  where  he  occupied  the  position  of 
superintendent  of  schools.  Subsequently  he  returned  to  New  Y"ork  and  has  since  made  his 
home  in  Livingston  county,  where  for  a  number  of  years  he  served  as  county  superintendent 
of  schools.  Later  he  organized  the  Dewey  Transfer  Company  and  in  this  connection  con- 
ducted a  line  of  steamboats  on  the  lakes  in  western  New  Y'ork.  Of  his  children,  Frank  L. 
is  now  pastor  of  the  First  Methodist  churcli  at  Idaho  Falls,  Idaho,  Harry  is  manager  of  the 
Diekbelt  Belting  Company  of  Chicago  and  Robert  is  on  the  old  homestead  in  New  York. 

William  M.  Wemett  in  the  acquirement  of  his  education  passed  through  consecutive 
grades  to  the  high  school  of  Rochester,  New  Y'ork,  and  later  entered  the  Syracuse  University, 
in  which  he  won  the  Bachelor  of  Arts  degree  upon  graduation  with  the  class  of  1907.  The 
following  year  the  degrees  of  M.  A.  and  P.  E.  D.  were  conferred  upon  him.  For  two  years 
lie  was  the  leader  of  the  debating  society  at  the  university  and  he  won  valedictorian  honors 
in  his  class.  He  afterward  taught  in  the  high  school  at  Albion,  New  York,  for  a  year  and 
then  spent  three  months  in  Jacksonville,  Illinois.  Later  he  accepted  the  position  of  pro- 
fessor of  history  in  the  Valley  City  State  Normal  School,  which  position  he  is  capably  filling, 
having  won  recognition  as  an  able  educator  who  imparts  clearl}-  and  readily  to  others  the 
knowledge  that  he  has  acquired  and  in  his  methods  of  instruction  holds  to  high  standards. 

In  September,  1911,  Professor  Wemett  was  married  to  Miss  Fern  Stevenson,  a  native 
of  Livingston  county.  New  York,  and  a  representative  of  an  old  family  of  that  state.  They 
liave  become  the  parents  of  two  children,  Lynn  Llewellyn  and  William  Marks. 

Professor  Wemett  has  been  a  close  and  discriminating  student  of  many  vital  and  sig- 
nilicant  problems  of  the  age  and  his  position  upon  a  question  that  has  been  engaging  public 
thought  and  attention  is  indicated  by  the  fact  that  he  is  the  president  of  the  North  Dakota 
School  Peace  League,  of  which  he  was  the  organizer  in  1914.  He'Bas  taken  an  active  part 
in  the  peace  movement  and  has  lectured  in  various  parts  of  North  Dakota  and  Montana  upon 
the  subject.  He  is  a  fluent,  forcible  speaker,  earnest  in  manner  and  of  pleasing  delivery.  He 
does  everything  in  his  power  to  promote  education,  not  only  the  instruction  in  the  school 
room,  but  that  broader  education  which  has  to  do  directly  with  the  general  interests  of 
society.  One  is  therefore  not  surprised  to  find  that  he  is  secretary  and  manager  of  the  Valley 
City  Lecture  Association  which  has  a  course  of  eight  numbers  each  winter  and  which  has 
made  an  enviable  reputation  during  the  twenty-three  years  of  its  existence.  Both  he  and 
his  wife  are  consistent  members  of  the  Methodist  church  and  Professor  Wemett  is  serving 
on  its  ollicial  board. 


GEORGE  A.  SOULE. 


Cteorge  A.  Soule,  cashier  of  the  Towner  Merchants  Bank  at  Towner,  North  Dakota,  is 
a  native  son  of  the  city  in  which  he  resides,  his  birth  having  there  occurred  December  25, 
1892.  His  parents,  George  H.  and  Annetta  (Mitchell)  Soule,  were  natives  of  Alburg  Center, 
Vermont,  and  Blake,  Ontario,  Canada,  respectively.  In  the  early  '80s  the  father  arrived  in 
North  Dakota  and  became  cashier  of  the  McHenry  County  Bank  at  Towner,  which  position 
he  filled  until  1895,  when  the  bank  was  discontinued.  He  had  also  purchased  land  in  the 
county  eight  miles  north  of  Tow-ner  and  this  he  developed  and  improved,  continuing  its 
cultivation  throughout  his  remaining  days.  Adding-  to  his  holdings  from  time  to  time  as 
his  financial  resources  increased,  he  became  the  owner  of  over  one  thousand  acres  which 
is  still  in  the  possession  of  the  family.  He  was  recognized  as  one  of  the  prominent  and 
influential  residents  of  the  northern  part  of  the  state  and  his  fellow  townsmen,  appreciative 
of  hia  worth  and  ability,  called  him  to  the  office  of  county  treasurer,  while  subsequent  to 
his  retirement  from  the  banking  business  he  served  as  United  States  commissioner  for  ten 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  63 

years.  He  was  also  mayor  of  the  city  of  Towner  for  two  terms  of  two  years  each.  At 
leii;;tli  lie  [lut  aside  all  business  an<l  oflic-ial  cares  and  made  his  home  in  Towner  throughout 
his  remaining  days,  enjoying  a  rest  which  he  had  truly  earned  and  richly  deserved.  At 
the  time  of  the  Civil  war  he  enlisted  in  response  to  the  country's  call  for  aid  as  a  member 
of  the  First  Vermont  Artillery,  in  which  he  became  first  lieutenant.  He  participated  in  a 
number  of  hotly  contested  battles  and  on  one  occasion  was  captured,  after  which  he  was 
incarcerated  in  Libby  prison  for  six  or  seven  months.  He  continued  to  serve  until  the  close 
of  the  war  and  returned  home  with  a  most  creditable  military  record.  After  a  year's 
illness  ho  passed  away  in  Towner,  March  5,  1911,  and  is  still  survived  by  his  widow,  who 
became  a  resident  of  Grandin,  North  Dakota,  in  1884,  removed  to  Grand  Forks  in  1886 
and  to  Towner  in  1889.  She  is  a  daughter  of  Allan  and  Mary  Ann  Mitchell,  the  former  of 
whom  is  now  conducting  a  ladies'  furnishing  store  at  Towner. 

George  A.  Soule  has  spent  his  entire  life  in  Towner  and  he  supplemented  his  public 
school  training  by  a  year's  study  in  the  State  University,  where  he  was  a  member  of  the 
law  class.  Upon  his  return  home  he  accepted  the  position  of  assistant  cashier  in  the 
Towner  Merchants  Bank,  a  state  bank,  and  on  the  1st  of  January,  1913,  he  was  advanced  to 
the  position  of  cashier,  in  which  capacity  he  has  since  continued.  The  other  officers  are: 
Andrew  Cilbcrtson,  president,  and  J.  J.  Egge,  vice  president.  The  bank  is  capitalized  for 
ten  thousand  dollars  and  its  deposits  amount  to  one  hundred  and  eight}'  thousand  dollars. 
This  bank  was  organized  May  1,  1893,  and  has  enjoyed  a  profitable  existence  from  the 
beginning. 

In  his  political  views  Mr.  Soule  is  an  earnest  republican  and  has  occupied  the  position 
of  city  treasurer  since  July  1,  1912.  Fraternally  he  is  connected  with  the  Masons  as  a 
member  of  the  blue  lodge  and  chapter  at  Towner  and  Lebanon  Council,  R.  &  S.  M.,  at  Rugby. 
He  attends  the  Episcopal  church  and  his  entire  life  has  been  actuated  by  laudable  ambition 
and  by  high  and  honorable  principles  manifest  in  every  relation. 


■WT^LLIAM  V.  O'CONNOR. 


^Yilliam  V.  O'Connor,  treasurer  of  the  Farmers  &  Mechanics  Savings  Bank  at  Grand 
Forks,  was  born  at  Lanark,  Ontario,  Canada,  June  24,  1879,  and  was  the  fourth  in  order  of 
birth  in  a  family  of  eight  children  whose  parents  were  Edward  and  Nora  (Lane)  O'Connor, 
both  of  whom  were  natives  of  Ireland.  In  the  early  '60s  the  father  crossed  the  Atlantic 
and  became  a  resident  of  Lanark,  Ontario.  For  a  considerable  period  he  successfully  engaged 
in  the  implement  business  and  in  the  conduct  of  a  hotel  in  Canada.  During  the  late  '80s 
he  removed  to  Xortli  Dakota,  settling  in  Grand  Forks,  where  he  engaged  in  farming.  He 
was  active  in  jiolitics  as  a  stanch  supporter  of  the  democratic  party  and  he  exerted  con- 
siderable influence  in  local  political  circles.  His  death  occurred  in  Grand  Forks  in  1903,  when 
he  was  fifty  years  of  age,  and  his  widow,  who  became  a  resident  of  Canada  in  her  girlhood 
days,  passed  away  in  Grand  Forks  in  1906,  at  the  age  of  sixty  years. 

William  V.  O'Connor  pursued  his  early  education  in  St.  Bernard's  Academy  and  afterward 
attended  the  University  of  Nortji  Dakota,  from  which  he  was  graduated  in  1911  with  the 
Bachelor  of  Arts  degree.  His  youthful  days  were  largely  spent  upon  the  home  farm  and 
after  he  completed  his  university  course  he  accepted  the  position  of  assistant  superintendent 
of  schools  in  Grand  Forks  county.  After  retiring  from  that  position  he  spent  two  years 
as  city  auditor  of  Grand  Forks  and  then  entered  the  implement  business  on  his  own  account, 
and  also  engaged  in  farming.  Later  he  began  dealing  in  farm  lands  and  making  loans 
and  in  that  undertaking  prospered  owing  to  his  judicious  investments,  unfaltering  enterprise 
and  keen  business  discernment.  In  1911  he  was  again  called  to  office,  being  elected  to 
represent  his  district  in  the  state  legislature,  and  he  also  became  a  member  of  the  board 
of  managers  at  the  Cowen  disbarment  proceedings.  During  his  second  term  as  a  member 
of  the  general  assembly  he  was  the  recognized  leader  of  the  house  and  he  left  the  impress 
of  his  individuality  and  ability  upon   important  legislation  enacted  during  that   period. 

Mr.  O'Connor  next  became  interested  in  the  banking  business  and  was  one  of  the 
organizers  of  the  Farmers  &  Jlechanies  Savings  Bank  of  Grand  Forks,  which  was  established 


64  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

in  December,  1912.  He  became  the  bank's  first  secietary  and  nlled  that  office  for  a  year, 
at  the  end  of  which  time  he  was  made  treasurer,  in  which  capacity  he  has  since  continued, 
largely  controlling  the  interests  of  the  bank  in  this  connection.  He  is  also  extensively 
interested  in  farming  and  in  the  land  business,  conducting  his  real  estate  operations  as  a 
member  of  the  ium  of  O'Connor  Brothers.  He  displays  unfaltering  enterprise,  carrying 
forward  to  successful  completion  whatever  he  undertakes,  and  his  wisely  directed  interests 
have  made  him  one  of  the  prosperous  citizens  of  Grand  Forks. 

It  was  in  that  city,  on  the  10th  of  October,  1908,  that  Mr.  O'Connor  was  united  in 
marriage  to  Miss  Etta  O'Hara,  a  native  of  Grand  Forks  and  a  daughter  of  Arthur  O'Hara, 
who  was  one  of  the  early  settlers  there.  The  father  is  now  deceased,  while  the  mother 
resides  in  Superior,  Wisconsin.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  O'Connor  have  become  parents  of  two 
children:  Edward,  who  ^yas  born  in  Grand  Forks,  August  15,  1909;  and  William  V.,  born 
June  15,  1911.  The  parents  are  members  of  the  Roman  Catholic  church  and  Mr.  O'Connor  is 
identified  with  the  Knights  of  Columbus.  In  politics  he  has  always  been  an  active  partisan 
democrat,  putting  forth  earnest  effort  to  secure  the  success  of  his  party.  He  belongs  to 
the  Grand  Forks  Commercial  Club  and  the  Grand  Forks  Golf  Chib  and  he  is  popular'  in  those 
organizations.  He  possesses  a  social,  genial  nature  that  has  gained  for  him  many  friends, 
and  he  is  widely  and  favorably  known  in  the  city  of  his  adoption. 


VICTOR  HUGO  STICKNEY,  U.  D. 

Dr.  Victor  Hugo  Stickney,  a  retired  physician  residing  in  Dickinson,  was  born  in  Ply- 
mouth, Vermont,  April  13,  1855,  a  son  of  John  W.  and  Anna  (Pinney)  Stickney,  both  of 
whom  were  of  English  descent  and  always  lived  in  New  England. 

Dr.  Stickney  continued  a  resident  of  Plymouth,  Vermont,  until  1883,  and  was  graduated 
from  the  New  Hampshire  College  in  1881,  and  from  the  Dartmouth  Jledical  College  at 
Hanover,  New  Hampshire,  in  1883.  He  received  the  Bachelor  of  Science  degree  from  New 
Hampshire  College  and  his  professional  degree  from  the  other  inftitution.  Having  com- 
pleted his  preparation  for  the  practice  of  medicine,  and  believing  that  the  west  would 
furnish  better  opportunities  for  a  young  physician,  he  made  his  way  direct  to  Dickinson, 
North  Dakota,  where  he  opened  an  office  and  immediately  began  practice.  It  was  in  the 
same  year  that  the  railroad  was  completed  to  the  town,  which  at  that  time  was  a  pioneer 
settlement.  Throughout  all  the  intervening  years  Dr.  Stickney  has  remained  in  Dickinson 
and  for  many  years  was  most  actively  engaged  in  professional  work.  In  1889  he  went  to 
Philaclelphia,  where  he  pursued  a  course  in  medicine  in  the  private  school  of  Dr.  McClellan, 
making  a  specialty  of  the  study  of  anatomy  and  surgery.  He  then  returned  to  Dickinson, 
but  each  two  years  after  that  went  to  some  eastern  city  for  post  graduate  work,  tlms 
keeping  in  close  touch  with  the  most  advanced  scientific  methods  of  medical  and  surgical 
practice.  His  pronounced  ability  won  for  him  a  very  liberal  patronage  and  he  continued 
in  active  practice  until  1914,  when  he  retired.  At  one  time  Dr.  Stickney  was  extensively 
engaged  in  stock  raising  and  shipped  stock  in  considerable  numbers,  but  he  has  also  cut 
down  his  activities  in  that  direction  to  a  considerable  extent.  He  has  been  interested  in 
the  First  National  Bank  since  its  organization  and  is  its  vice  president.  He  also  has  real 
estate  holdings  in  Dickinson  and  his  investments  have  ever  been  judiciously  made.  While 
active  in  his  profession  he  was  railroad  surgeon  for  twenty-six  years  for  the  Northern  Pacific, 
and  when  he  retired  from  the  position  was  the  oldest  surgeon  in  the  service. 

It  was  in  Dickinson,  in  1885,  that  Dr.  Stickney  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Marg- 
aret Hayes,  a  native  of  Plymouth,  Vermont,  where  she  resided  until  her  marriage.  They 
have  become  the  parents  of  two  children:  Marjory  A.,  who  is  the  wife  of  A.  P.  Neehtwey, 
a  physician  of  Dickinson;  and  Dorothy  H.,  at  home. 

In  his  political  views  Dr.  Stickney  has  ever  been  a  republican  since  age  conferred  upon 
him  the  right  of  franchise.  He  has  served  as  county  superintendent  of  schools  and  he  is 
well  known  in  Masonic  circles,  belonging  to  the  lodge,  chapter  and  eommandery  at  Dickin- 
son and  the  Scottish  Rite  bodies  at  Fargo.  He  was  the  first  master  of  the  blue  lodge  in 
Dickinson  and  is  a  past  eminent  commander  of  the  eommandery.     He  is  likewise  connected 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  65 

with  the  Elks  lodge  at  Dickinson.  He  has  long  held  membership  in  the  County  and  State 
Medical  Societies  and  in  tlie  latter  was  honored  with  the  presidency.  He  also  is  a  member 
ot  the  American  Medical  Association.  When  he  (irst  came  to  Korth  Dakota  he  had  to  cover 
in  his  practice  a  territory  as  large  as  the  New  England  states  and  had  to  make  all  trips 
on  horseback,  traveling  up  to  one  hundred  and  fifty  miles  in  relays.  The  life  was  indeed 
hard,  involving  many  sacrifices  and  personal  discomforts  as  he  rode  through  winter's  storms 
or  summer's  heat,  but  he  never  failed  to  respond  to  the  call  of  need  if  it  was  possible 
in  any  way  to  do  so.  With  him  duty  was  ever  first,  and  he  became  the  loved  family  phy- 
sician in  many  a  household.  Gradually  as  the  country  became  more  thickly  settled  his 
practice  was  narrowed  in  its  scope  of  territory,  but  not  in  volume,  for  his  business  grew 
steadily  year  by  year,  his  marked  ability  gaining  him  precedence  as  one  of  the  most  eminent 
and  capable  physicians  of  his  section  of  the  state. 


C.  F.  NELSON. 


Towner  county  probably  has  no  more  enterprising  citizen  than  C.  F.  Nelson,  president 
of  the  Citizens  State  Bank  of  Bisbee  and  one  of  the  leading  business  men  of  that  town. 
He  was  born  in  Goldfield,  Iowa,  March  4,  1876,  his  parents  being  Lewis  H.  and  Hannah 
(Madson)  Nelson,  who  were  natives  of  Denmark  and  were  brought  to  the  United  States  by 
their  respective  parents,  the  former  at  the  age  of  nineteen  years  and  tlie  latter  at  the  age 
of  thirteen.  They  located  in  Goldfield,  Iowa,  where  they  were  subsequently  married,  and 
for  forty-eight  years  they  lived  on  a  farm  near  that  city.  The  father  died  on  the  21st  of 
December,  1914,  at  the  age  of  sixty-five  years,  and  the  mother  passed  away  December 
28,  1915,  at  the  age  of  sixty.  In  the  early  days  Mr.  Nelson  paid  five  dollars  per  acre 
for  his  first  tract  of  land.  He  steadily  prospered  in  his  farming  operations  and  added  to 
his  property  from  time  to  time  until  he  owned  about  one  thousand  acres  of  very  valuable 
and  productive  land,  worth  two  hundred  dollars  per  acre. 

C.  F.  Nelson  was  given  good  educational  advantages  during  his  youth,  attending  the 
Evergreen  high  school,  the  State  Normal  School  at  Cedar  Falls,  Iowa,  and  the  Agricultural 
College  at  Ames,  that  state.  He  also  took  a  business  and  typewriting  course  at  the 
Metropolitan  Business  College  of  Chicago,  Illinois,  from  which  he  was  graduated  in  1901, 
and  was  thus  well  equipped  for  a  business  career  on  starting  out  in  life  for  himself.  Fol- 
lowing his  graduation  he  went  to  Parker,  South  Dakota,  where  he  began  dealing  in  real 
estate,  but  in  1903  he  removed  to  Cooperstown,  Griggs  county.  North  Dakota,  where  in 
connection  with  W.  T.  Munn,  now  of  Westhope,  he  established  the  Iowa  &.  North  Dakota 
Land  Company.  Within  three  months  they  sold  over  twelve  thousand  acres  of  land  around 
Cooperstown  and  later  Mr.  Nelson  was  referred  to  as  the  man  who  made  Griggs  county. 
In  1906  he  went  to  Davidson,  Saskatchewan.  Canada,  where  he  again  turned  his  attention 
to  the  real  estate  business  in  partnership  with  Elmer  G.  Opper,  but  after  spending  a  year 
and  a  half  in  that  locality  Mr.  Nelson  decided  that  North  Dakota  was  the  only  place  to 
live  and  became  a  resident  of  Bisbee,  where  he  organized  the  Citizens  State  Bank,  becoming 
cashier  of  the  institution  when  it  was  opened  for  business  September  1,  1907.  In  1913  a 
new  bank  building  was  erected,  it  being  one  of  the  finest  in  a  town  of  the  size  of  Bisbee  in 
North  Dakota.  Mr.  Nelson  was  elected  president  of  the  bank  on  the  1st  of  January,  1916, 
and  is  now  serving  in  that  capacity.  On  coming  to  this  state  his  capital  consisted  of  seven 
hundred  and  seventy-five  dollars  and  Mr.  Munn  had  but  thirty-five  dollars  when  they 
began  business  in  Cooperstown.  but  toilay  !Mr.  Nelson  ranks  among  the  substantial  men 
of  North  Dakota.  He  is  not  only  president  of  the  Citizens  State  Bank  of  Bisbee  but  is 
also  president  of  the  Hanson  Ellington  Hardware  Company  and  of  the  Nelson  Investment 
Company,  two  important  concerns. 

On  the  28th  of  December,  1904,  Mr.  Nelson  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Harriet  E. 
McCurry,  of  Eagle  Grove,  Iowa,  and  to  them  have  been  born  three  children,  Cosette  lone, 
Fahe  Elizabeth  and  Ehea  Ethlyn.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Nelson  are  members  of  the  Presbyterian 
church,  and  he  also  belongs  to  Cando  Lodge,  No.  40,  A.  F.  &A.  M.;  Cando  Chapter,  No.  17, 
R.  A.  jr.;  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America;   and  the  Danish  Brotherhood  of  America.     The 


66  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

republican  party  finds  in  liim  a  stanch  supporter  of  its  principles  and  in  1912  he  was  a 
candidate  for  state  representative,  but  in  the  republican  defeat  of  that  year  he  lost,  though 
by  only  twenty-five  votes.  He  is  now  serving  as  president  of  the  village  council,  also  of 
the  Bisbee  fire  department  and  of  the  Parents  &  Teachers  Association  of  Bisbee.  He  is 
public-spirited  and  progressive,  taking  a  commendable  interest  in  all  measures  calculated 
to  promote  the  moral,  educational  or  material  welfare  of  his  community,  and  he  never 
withholds  his  support  from  any  worthy  enterprise.  In  business  circles  he  occupies  an 
enviable  position,  and  the  success  that  has  come  to  hira  is  but  the  just  reward  of  his  own 
industry,  good  management  and  fair  dealing. 


FREDERICK  W.  PEGLOW. 


Frederick  W.  Peglow,  a  pioneer  business  man  and  prominent  citizen  of  Glenburn, 
North  Dakota,  was  born  in  Prairie  du  Chien,  Wisconsin,  on  the  15th  of  July,  1872,  his 
parents  being  Frederick  and  Margaret  (Steiner)  Peglow,  the  former  a  native  of  Germany 
and  the  latter  of  Wisconsin,  though  of  German  parentage.  Wlien  a  young  man  the  father 
came  to  the  United  States  and  located  in  Prairie  du  Chien,  Wisconsin.  He  had  previously 
learned  the  miller's  trade  and  after  his  emigration  to  America  became  associated  with  the 
pioneer  millers  of  Prairie  du  Chien,  their  mill  being  one  of  the  first  mills  in  the  city.  Mr. 
Peglow  died  in  1883  at  the  age  of  forty-two  years  after  many  years  identification  with  the 
milling  industry.     His  wife  died  in  1905  at  the  age  of  sixty-five  years. 

Frederick  W.  Peglow,  of  this  review,  attended  the  public  and  high  schools  of  Prairie 
du  Chien  but  at  the  early  age  of  fourteen  began  earning  iiis  own  livelihood  by  working 
as  a  farm  hand.  He  was  thus  employed  for  two  years  and  then  went  to  St.  Paul,  where 
he  had  his  first  lessons  in  the  mercantile  business.  During  the  following  fourteen  years 
he  was  connected  with  various  leading  mercantile  houses  in  that  city.  In  1903  he 
removed  to  Glenburn,  North  Dakota,  in  advance  of  the  railroad  and  became  one  of  the 
pioneer  builders  of  the  town.  He  erected  a  building  whie^  he  stocked  with  general 
merchandise  and  has  since  engaged  in  business  there,  now  enjoying  an  extensive  trade.  His 
was  the  first  business  house  in  the  town  and  during  the  thirteen  years  of  its  existence  he 
has  won  a  reputation  for  fair  and  honorable  dealing. 

In  1907  Mr.  Peglow  married  Miss  Bertha  Buchelt,  of  St.  Paul,  Minnesota,  and  to  them 
have  been  born  thiee  children:  Clarence  F.,  Irving  L.  and  Roselyn.  Both  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
Peglow  hold  membership  in  the  Lutheran  church;-  and  he  is  also  identiiied  with  Minot 
Lodge,  No.  1089,  B.  P.  0.  E.  As  a  republican  h§  has- taken  an  active  and  prominent  part 
in  local  politics.  He  has  served  several  terms  as  a  member  of  the  village  board  and  is 
now  chairman  of  the  same.  He  has  also  been  treasurer  of  the  school  board  since  the  dis- 
trict was  organized  and  has  filled  the  office  of  village  treasurer.  He  is  always  foremost  in 
any  movement  for  the  advancement  of  the  town's  interests  and  is  a  very  public-spirited  and 
progressive  citizen.  Besides  his  town  property  he  owns  a  farm  of  three  hundred  and 
twenty  acres  near  Glenburn  and  what  he  possesses  has  come  to  him  as  the  result  of  his  own 
industry  and  good  management. 


OLAF  J.  BOSTEOM. 


Olaf  J.  Bostrom,  proprietor  of  the  Grand  Forks  Bottling  Works,  is  one  of  the  enter- 
prising young  men  that  Sweden  has  furnished  to  this  state.  He  was  born  in  that  country, 
June  21,  1862,  a  son  of  John  and  Annie  (Johnson)  Bostrom,  who  were  natives  of  Sweden 
and  in  1887  came  to  America,  settling  in  Minnesota.  The  father  engaged  in  farming  in 
Douglas  county,  that  state,  for  a  time,  and  in  1891  removed  to  Roberts  county.  South  Dakota, 
while  later  he  removed  to  Grand  Forks,  where  he  continued  to  make  his  home  until  his 
death,  which  occurred  in  1913  when  he  was  seventy-two  years  of  age.  His  widow  is  still 
living  in  Grand  Forks  at  the  age  of  eighty-four  years.     In  their  family  were  six"  children: 


FREDERICK  W.  PEGLOW 


1- 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  69 

Olaf  J.;  John  E.,  a  resident  of  Grand  Forks;  Andrew,  living  in  Minneapolis;  Oscar,  Magnus 
and  Peter,  all  residents  of  Max,  North  Dakota. 

In  his  early  boyhood  days  Olaf  J.  Bostrom  attended  school  in  Sweden  and  when  his 
textbooks  were  put  aside  engaged  in  farm  work,  but,  attracted  by  the  opportunities  of  the 
new  world,  he  bade  adieu  to  friends  and  native  land  on  attaining  his  majority  and  came 
to  America.  He  made  his  way  to  Minnesota,  where  he  was  employed  at  farm  work  for  two 
years,  and  in  1888  he  arrived  in  Grand  Forks.  There  he  began  work  at  the  bricklayer's  trade 
and  was  engaged  in  that  line  six  years,  his  ability  being  manifest  in  the  construction  of 
many  of  the  leading  business  blocks  of  Grand  Forks.  He  afterward  became  connected  with 
the  Grand  Forks  Soda  Bottling  Works,  and  in  1903  he  bought  out  the  business  which  he  has 
since  conducted.  Under  his  direction  the  trade  has  steadily  grown  and  he  now  has  one 
of  the  best  equipped  plants  of  that  kind  in  his  part  of  the  state.  In  the  manufacture  of 
his  products  he  maintains  a  high  standard,  and  the  excellence  of  his  goods,  combined  with 
his  reasonable  prices  and  fair  dealing  is  bringing  to  him  substantial  success. 

In  1893  Mr.  Bostrom  was  married  to  Miss  Nellie  Botton,  who  died  in  Grand  Forks  in 
1898,  leaving  a  son,  Edwin,  who  was  born  in  Grand  Forks  in  1894  and  is  now  employed  by 
the  F.  S.  Seargent  Company  of  Grand  Forks.  In  November  1902,  Mr.  Bostrom  was  again 
married,  his  second  union  being  with  Miss  Augusta  Swenson,  a  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
Swen  Johnson,  residents  of  Sweden.  There  are  three  children  by  the  second  marriage: 
George  Elmer,  who  was  born  in  Grand  Forks  in  1903;  Irene,  born  in  1905;  and  Albert, 
born  in   1914.     The  first  two  are  attending  school. 

The  parents  are  members  of  the  Lutheran  church  and  are  loyal  to  its  teachings.  Mr. 
Bostrom  is  a  self-made  man  and  as  the  architect  of  his  own  fortunes  he  builded  wisely  and 
well.  Through  industry  and  perseverance  he  has  worked  his  way  upward  and  is  today  one 
of  the   leading  manufacturers  of  Grand  Forks. 


EJNAR  LOHBBAUER,  M.  D. 

Dr.  Ejnar  Lohrbauer.  mayor  of  Lakota,  where  lie  is  also  actively  engaged  in  the 
practice  of  medicine  and  surgery,  being  recognized  as  an  able  representative  of  the  profession, 
was  born  in  Christiania,  Norway,  January  4,  1866.  His  parents,  .John  and  Patrina  (Boedtker) 
Lohrbauer,  were  also  natives  of  that  country.  The  father  became  a  cotton  manufacturer 
and  the  owner  of  cotton  mills,  in  which  connection  he  conducted  an  extensive  and  profitable 
business.  He  held  many  positions  of  importance  and  responsibility  in  his  native  country 
and  there  passed  away  in  1906,  at  the  age  of  seventy-three  years.  His  widow  survived 
until  1908  and  was  sixty-eight  years  at  the  time  of  her  demise.  In  the  family  were  seven 
children. 

Dr.  Lohrliaucr.  tlie  tliird  in  order  of  birth,  attended  school  in  his  native  city  and  won  the 
Bachelor  of  Arts  <h'gree  upon  graduation  from  the  T.'niversity  of  Christiania  with  the  class 
of  1883.  Thinking  to  find  better  opportunities  in  America,  he  crossed  the  Atlantic  in  1884 
and  made  his  way  to  (irand  Forks,  where  he  became  engaged  in  the  drug  bvisiness  in  con- 
nection with  Dr.  Kutledge.  After  four  years  he  retired  from  that  partnership,  selling  his 
interest  in  the  business,  for  it  was  then  his  purpose  to  prepare  for  the  practice  of  medicine, 
toward  which  his  experience  in  the  drug  business  seemed  an  initial  step.  He  entered  the 
medical  department  of  the  University  of  Minnesota,  from  which  he  was  graduated  in  1902, 
after  which  he  opened  an  office  in  Lakota,  where  he  has  since  been  actively  and  successfully 
engaged  in  practice.  The  people  recognize  his  ability  and  his  practice  is  therefore  extensive. 
For  the  past  eight  years  he  has  been  a  member  of  the  county  board  of  health  and  he 
belongs  to  the  Nelson  County  Medical  Society,  the  North  Dakota  Medical  Association  and 
the   American   Medical   Association. 

On  the  8th  of  August,  1890,  Dr.  Lohrliaucr  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Gertrude 
Hendricks,  of  Northwood,  a  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  T.  Henry  Hendricks  and  a  repre- 
sentative of  a  well  known  family  of  that  section  of  the  state.  They  have  two  children:  Louise, 
who  was  born  in  Hillsboro  in  1893  and  is  a  high  school  graduate;  and  Leif  who  Avas  born  in 
^linneapolis  in  1900  and  is  attending  high  school. 
Vol.  ni— 4 


70  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

Frateinally  Dr.  Lohrbauer  is  connected  with  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America.  His 
political  allegiance  is  given  to  the  republican  party,  of  which  he  is  a  stalwart  champion, 
having  firm  faith  in  its  principles.  In  1915  he  was  elected  mayor  of  Lakota  and  as  chief 
executive  is  givino-  to  the  city  a  businesslike  and  progressive  administration  in  which  he 
seeks  to  uphold  and  promote  high  civic  standards. 


GUSTAVE  BAQUOL  METZGER. 

Gustave  Baquol  Metzger  is  now  living  retired  but  for  many  years  was  actively  connected 
with  the  business  and  public  interests  of  \^'illiston.  where  for  almost  a  quarter  of  a  century 
he  tilled  the  office  of  postmaster,  twenty  years  of  this  time  being  a  continuous  service.  His 
business  activities  were  also  an  element  in  the  substantial  growth  of  the  community  and 
his  rest  is  well  deserved.  He  was  born  upon  a  farm  near  Wittersheim,  Alsace-Lorraine, 
France,  February  10,  1855,  a  son  of  Ira  and  Brunnette  (Baquol)  IMetzger.  The  father's 
birth  occurred  in  the  same  house  as  his  son  Gustave's.  His  ancestors  in  direct  line  for 
two  hundred  years  had  been  born  in  that  house  and  the  dwelling  and  the  land  upon  which 
it  is  located  are  still  in  possession  of  the  family,  being  owned  by  a  brother  of  Gustave  B. 
Metzger.  The  father  acquired  his  education  in  his  native  province  and  became  a  large 
landowner  and  dealer  in  mortgages  and  loans.  His  entire  life  was  spent  near  Wittersheim, 
where  he  passed  away  in  1886,  at  the  advanced  age  of  eighty-six  years.  His  wife  was 
born  in  the  academy  at  Metz,  the  capital  city  of  Lorraine,  and  was  a  daughter  of  Emoire 
Baauol,  who  was  president  of  the  academy,  a  famous  institution  of  learning.  Moreover,  he 
was  the  author  of  the  world  famous  Baquol  Dictionary.  His  daughter,  Mrs.  Metzger,  was 
reared  and  educated  at  Metz  and  following  her  marriage  lived  at  Wittersheim  until  her 
death,  which  occurred  in  1867,  when  she  was  forty-eight  years  of  age. 

G.  B.  Metzger  spent  his  youthful  days  in  his  native  city  and  was  educated  under  the 
private  tutorage  of  Professor  Dufifner  of  Hostad,  in  Alsace-Lorraine,  and  also  attended  the 
Lycee  Imperial,  which  is  the  University  of  Alsace-Lorraine  at  Sn-assbourg.  There  lie  was 
graduated  in  1873.  He  afterward  taught  school  at  St.  Dizier  on  the  Marne,  in  France,  ami 
then  went  to  Paris,  where  he  engaged  in  the  commission  business  for  two  years.  In  1876 
he  crossed  the  Atlantic  to  New  York  city,  where  he  was  employed  as  bookkeeper  in  a 
wholesale  slaughter  house,  and  in  1885  he  entered  into  a  contract  which  took  him  to  Mon- 
tana, there  to  take  charge  of  a  sheep  ranch  owned  by  eastern  people.  On  reaching  his 
destination,  Glendive,  Montana,  however,  he  found  that  the  other  party  did  not  intend  to 
live  up  to  his  contract,  so  that  he  sought  other  employment,  becoming  hotel  clerk  and  man- 
ager of  the  Yellowstone  Hotel  at  Glendive.  After  a  year  he  decided  to  engage  in  business 
for  himself  and  in  1886  purchased  a  stock  of  groceries  and  provisions  from  a  house  in  St. 
Paul,  ^Minnesota.  He  then  started  overland  for  the  hamlet  known  as  Little  Muddy,  now 
Williston.  His  goods  were  shipped  by  rail  to  Bismarck  and  by  boat  to  Little  Muddy,  where 
they  were  thrown  off  on  the  bank  of  the  Missouri  river.  'Mi.  Metzger  set  up  two  tents,  one 
of  which  he  used  as  a  store  and  the  other  as  his  home,  and  this  was  the  beginning  of  the 
now  thriving  city  of  Williston.  For  six  months  he  occupied  the  tent  and  then  built  a  store 
building.  He  prospered  as  time  went  on  and  later  the  town  was  laid  out,  after  which 
his  general  merchandise  business  grew  accordingly.  He  had  developed  an  extensive  trade 
ere  he  closed  out  his  stock  in  1896  and  retired  from  commercial  pursuits.  In  the  meantime 
he  established  a  sawmill  and  brickyard,  both  of  which  he  conducted  successfully,  and  during 
many  years  he  also  engaged  in  raising  cattle  and  ranching.  His  business  developed  in 
most  gratifying  measure  and  success  attended  the  intelligent  direction  of  his  efforts. 

In  1886  Mr.  Metzger  was  appointed  postmaster  of  Williston  and  occupied  that  position 
until  1892.  He  was  then  out  of  office  for  four  years  or  until  August  21,  1896,  when  he 
was  again  appointed  and  so  served  until  April  16,  1915,  holding  that  office  for  a  period 
of  twenty-four  years  in  all.  During  that  time,  owing  to  the  development  of  the  town,  the 
business  of  the  office  grew  so  much  that  it  was  necessary  for  him  to  devote  his  entire 
attention  to  the  duties  of  his  position  and  accordingly  he  retired  from  commercial  pursuits. 
He  may  well  be  proud  of  the  fact  that  he  served  as  postmaster  for  twenty-four  years,  for 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  71 

this  indicates  unmistakably  liis  tliorougli  reliabilitj-  and  faithfulness.  He  with  two  other 
men  established  the  first  school  in  Williston  and  furnished  the  funds  for  the  first  term  of 
six  months  and  he  has  been  a  director  of  the  Williston  school  board  since  1907  and  was 
president  in  1915.  He  still  owns  a  large  amount  of  farm  lands  and  now  devotes  his  time 
to  the  supervision  of  his  agricultural  interests,  although  he  makes  his  liome  in  Williston, 
where  he  owns  a  fine  residence. 

I  )n  the  13th  of  March,  1882,  Mr.  Metzger  was  married  to  Miss  Margaret  Le  Dosquet, 
in  Brooklyn,  New  York.  She  was  educated  in  New  York  city  and  in  Glendive,  Montana. 
Her  parents  were  John  and  Magdalena  (Walters)  Le  Dosquet,  who  were  born  at  Coblenz  on 
the  Rhine.  They  were  educated  in  Germany  and  on  coming  to  America  settled  in  New 
York,  where  they  were  married.  Both  were  descended  from  French  Huguenot  ancestors  who 
were  driven  out  of  France  through  religious  persecution  and  took  refuge  in  Germany,  pre- 
ferring banishment  from  their  native  country  to  the  abandonment  of  their  religious  con- 
victions. To  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Metzger  have  been  born  seven  children,  of  whom  three  are  living: 
Mabel  Brunnette,  who  is  a  graduate  of  the  University  of  North  Dakota  and  has  served  as 
assistant  postmaster  at  Williston  since  1908;  Ivan  Victor,  who  is  also  a  graduate  of  the 
State  University  and  now  an  attorney  at  law  of  Williston;  and  Herbert  A.,  likewise  a 
member  of  the  Williston  bar.  All  three  are  graduates  of  the  State  University  and  the 
family  is  one  of  wliieh  the  parents  have  every  reason  to  be  proud. 

Mr.  Metzger  belongs  to  the  Congregational  church,  while  his  wife  is  a  Christian  Scientist. 
Fraternally  he  is  connected  with  ilount  iloriah  Lodge,  F.  &  A.  iL,  of  Williston,  of  which 
he  became  one  of  the  organizers  and  charter  members  and  in  which  he  has  passed  all  the 
chairs.  He  likewise  organized  Williston  Chapter,  R.  A.  M.,  of  which  -he  is  high  priest, 
and  he  has  been  a  member  of  the  grand  lodge  of  the  state.  He  is  the  oldest  member  of 
the  Odd  Fellows  lodge  at  Williston,  in  which  he  has  filled  all  of  the  offices,  and  he  has 
likewise  been  a  member  of  tlie  grand  lodge.  He  has  traveled  considerabh',  gaining  that 
broad  and  liberal  culture  wliich  is  obtained  in  no  other  way.  In  politics  he  is  a  stalwart 
republican  and  is  thoroughly  patriotic  and  American  in  spirit  and  interests.  His  two  sons 
are  now  on  the  border  with  the  North  Dakota  National  Guard,  one  of  them  holding  the 
rank  of  lieutenant  and  the  other  that  of  first  sergeant.  JIi-.  Metzger  has  ever  shown  a 
most  thorough  appreciation  of  all  that  is  truly  democratic  in  this  country  and  he  has 
ever  held  to  high  ideals  of  citizenship,  doing  everj'thing  in  his  power  to  promote  the  nation's 
good  as  well  as  the  local  interests  of  the  communitv  in  which  he  resides. 


JOHN  H.  GAMES. 


John  H.  Gambs.  general  merchant  and  postmaster  of  Pettibone,  was  born  in  Smithland, 
Iowa,  in  1882.  His  father,  Peter  Gambs,  a  native  of  Germany  was  born  in  1843  and  wedded 
Agnes  Loueks  whose  birth  occurred  in  Michigan  in  1850.  When  a  young  man  Peter  Gambs 
had  come  to  the  United  States  with  his  parents,  who  settled  in  Ohio.  He  took  up  the 
occupation  of  farming  but  at  the  time  of  the  Civil  war  put  aside  all  personal  and  business 
considerations  and  responded  to  the  country's  call  for  troops.  After  the  close  of  hostilities 
he  removed  to  Iowa  and  continued  to  engage  in  farming  in  that  state  until  he  retired  from 
active  business.     Ho  and  his  wife  now  make  their  home  in  Smithland. 

John  H.  Gambs  was  the  fifth  in  order  of  birth  in  a  family  of  six  children,  all  of  whom 
are  yet  living.  He  pursued  his  education  in  the  schools  of  Smithland,  passing  through 
consecutive  grades  until  graduated  from  the  high  school  in  the  spring  of  1899.  He  after- 
ward devoted  his  time  to  farming  upon  the  old  homestead  and  in  the  spring  of  1903  he 
came  to  North  Dakota,  settling  first  in  Burleigh  county,  where  he  took  up  a  homestead, 
securing  title  to  the  property  in  1907.  During  the  intervening  period  of  four  years  he 
carefully  and  systematically  carried  on  general  farming  and  at  the  end  of  that  period  he 
removed   to   Kidder  county. 

Mr.  Gambs  married  Miss  Emma  E.  DethlofT,  who  was  born  in  Wisconsin  in  1881  and 
who  came  to  North  Dakota  with  her  parents  about  1883,  the  family  home  being  established 
in  Wells  county.     Some  years  afterward  she  took  up  a  claim   in  Kidder  county  and  thereon 


72  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

Mr.  and  Mi's.  Gambs  began  tlicir  domestic  life  following  their  marriage.  Her  parents, 
Mr.  and  Mrs.  F.  T.  Dethloff,  were  early  settlers  of  Kidder  county,  where  the  father  con- 
tinued to  make  his  home  until  called  to  his  final  rest  in  the  spring  of  1916.  The  mother 
survives  and  is  now  living  in  Pettibone. 

Mr.  Gambs  remained  on  the  Kidder  county  homestead  until  the  fall  of  1910,  at  which 
time  he  removed  to  Pettibone  and  opened  a  general  store.  In  1909  he  had  been  made 
postmaster  of  Gerber  and  the  following  year  the  office  was  removed  to  Pettibone,  since 
which  time  he  has  continued  to  serve  as  postmaster.  In  his  business  he  has  been  successful 
from  the  start  and  now  has  an  excellent  general  merchandise  establishment,  employing  a 
number  of  clerks.  A  liberal  patronage  is  accorded  him  and  investigation  into  his  methods 
shows  that  he  is  thoroughly  reliable  as  well  as  enterprising.  Since  coming  to  Pettibone 
the  homestead  farm  has  been  rented.  He  is  also  the  possessor  of  twenty  acres  of  land  on 
the  edge  of  the  town  and  he  is  now  developing  that  place  as  a  chicken  farm,  raising  thereon 
high  grade  poultry. 

Mr.  and  Mj-s.  Gambs  have  become  the  parents  of  two  children:  Elizabeth,  born  in 
1908;  and  Walter  Richard,  born  in  1910.  Throughout  the  community  in  which  they  reside 
the  parents  occupy  an  enviable  position  in  public  regard  by  reason  of  the  fact  that  they 
hold  to  high  standards  of  living  and  their  inlluence  is  always  cast  on  the  side  of  right, 
progress  and   improvement. 


JOHN  L.  ANDRUS. 


•John  L.  Andrus  is  numbered  among  the  pioneer  residents  of  Giand  Forks  countv  and 
is  classed  with  its  most  substantial  and  respected  citizens.  He  was  born  in  Brown  county. 
New  York,  October  11,  1855,  a  son  of  Reuben  Andrus,  who  was  also  born  in  the  Empire 
state  and  was  descended  from  an  old  New  York  family  of  Scotch  origin.  He  successfully 
engaged  in  farming  in  the  east  until  1863  when  he  removed  tCLLee  county,  Illinois,  where 
he  resided  until  1866  and  then  went  with  his  family  to  .Jackson  county,  Wisconsin,  wliere 
his  remaining  days-  were  passed,  his  death  occurring  when  he  was  seventy  years  of  age.  In 
early  manhood  he  had  wedded  Louisa  Hines,  a  native  of  New  York  and  a  representative 
of  an  old  New  York  family  of  Scotch  lineage.  She  died  in  1876.  There  were  three  children 
in  the  family,  the  two  daughters  being:  Edith,  who  died  in  girlhood;  and  Flora,  the  wife 
of  Warren  (ioucher,  deceased. 

.John  L.  Andrus  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  of  Wisconsin  and  spent  his  early 
life  upon  the  home  farm.  At  the  age  of  eighteen  he  started  out  to  earn  his  living  by 
work  as  a  farm  haml  in  Wisconsin  and  later  he  began  farming  on  his  own  account  in  North 
Dakota.  It  was  on  the  19th  of  May,  1881,  that  he  arrived  in  Grand  Forks  county,  where 
he  secured  a  government  claim  of  one  hundred  and  sixty  acres  in  Michigan  township.  For 
eight  years  thereafter  he  successfully  cultivated  that  tract  but  has  since  sold  this  farm.  In 
1889  he  located  at  Thompson,  Grand  Forks  county,  and  secured  employment  with  .Jolm 
Bjorgo,  a  pioneer  merchant,  with  whom  he  remained  for  seven  years  or  until  1896.  Mr. 
Bjorgo  passed  away  and  Mr.  Andrus  continued  the  business  as  administrator  of  the  estate 
for  two  years,  after  which  he  purchased  the  store  in  partnership  with  T.  F.  McJIillnn  and 
this  they  have  successfully  conducted  through  the  intervening  period  under  the  name  of 
Andrus  &  McMillan.  Theirs  is  today  the  oldest  business  of  the  kind  in  the  city  and  its 
methods  have  ever  been  such  as  would  bear  the  closest  investigation  and  scrutiny. 

Mr.  Andrus  was  married  in  Langdon,  in  1897,  to  Miss  Signora  Carpenter,  a  native  of 
Michigan  and  a  daughter  of  the  late  Hope  Carpenter  and  Melvina  Carpenter,  the  latter  now 
a  resident  of  Langdon.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Andrus  became  parents  of  three  children:  George, 
who  was  born  at  Thompson  and  is  now  a  resident  of  Spokane,  Washington;  Ferron;  and 
Malon. 

Politically  Mr.  Andrus  is  a  republican  and  for  eighteen  years  has  served  continuously 
as  treasurer  of  his  township.  Fraternally  he  is  connected  with  the  Independent  Order  of 
Foresters  and  is  now  treasurer  of  the  local  lodge.  His  religious  faith  is  that  of  the 
Methodist  church.     His  life  has  been  well   spent  and   at   all   points  has   been   honorable   and 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  73 

upright,  winning  for  him  the  confidence  and  high  regard  of  those  with  whom  he  has  been 
brouglit  in  contact.  He  is  now  one  of  the  representative  merchants  of  Thompson  and  his 
business  interests  iiave  been  an  eU-meut  of  public  progi-ess  as  well  as  of  individual  success. 


JOHN  REUTER,  Jr. 


.Joliii  Keuter  lias  for  over  nine  years  made  las  home  in  Dickinson  and  is  now  elliciently 
serving  as  county  treasurer  of  Stark  county.  He  is  a  native  of  Illinois,  his  birth  occurring 
at  Blue  Island,  a  suburb  of  Chicago,  September  6,  1888,  and  is  a  son  of  John  and  Augusta 
Renter,  who  are  now  residents  of  the  Prairie  state  although  for  five  years  they  made  their 
home  in  Dickinson,  North  Dakota,  whither  our  subject  has  preceded  them.  He  attended 
the  public  and  high  schools  of  Blue  Island  and  also  pursued  a  course  in  the  Chicago  Business 
College,  from  which  he  was  graduated. 

For  about  four  years  after  leaving  school  Jlr.  Reuter  was  connected  with  golf  in  a 
professional  way.  In  1907  he  became  a  resident  of  Dickinson,  North  Dakota,  and  has  since 
taken  quite  an  active  and  prominent  part  in  public  affairs.  He  served  as  deputy  county 
treasurer  for  five  years,  after  which  he  engaged  in  farming  for  four  years,  and  in  1914  was 
elected  treasurer  of  Stark  county,  in  which  capacity  he  is  now  serving  with  credit  to  himself 
and  to  the  entire  satisfaction  of  his  constituents.  He  was  the  only  democrat  elected  at  that 
time  and  in  1916  was  reelected,  again  being  the  only  democrat  elected  on  the  local  ticket. 
He  is  still  interested  in  farming. 

On  the  1.5th  of  September,  1909,  was  celebrated  the  marriage  of  5Ir.  Reuter  and  Miss 
Elizabeth  Blank,  and  to  them  have  been  born  two  children,  Orville  E.  and  Lawrence.  The 
family  are  communicants  of  the  Catholic  church  and  Jlr.  Reuter  is  also  a  member  of  the 
Knights  of  Columbus.  He  is  a  prominent  member  and  stockholder  in  the  Town  and  Country 
Club  of  Dickinson  and  has  twice  won  the  state  championship  in  golf — in  1915  and  1916.  He 
is  very  fond  of  outdoor  sports,  especially  golf,  and  his  reputation  along  that  line  is  most 
enviable.  He  takes  a  deep  interest  in  the  welfare  of  his  adopted  state  and  does  all  in  his 
power  to  promote  her  prosperity. 


RODOLPH  RAV  RICHARD. 


Rodolph  Ray  Richard,  publisher  of  the  Golden  Valley  Progress  of  Beach,  was  born  at 
Little  Falls,  Minnesota,  April  12,  1888  a  son  of  Theodore  Richard  whose  birth  occurred  in 
St.  Johns,  province  of  Quebec,  whence  he  came  to  the  L'nited  States  the  family  home  being 
established  near  Little  Falls  Minnesota,  where  they  cast  in  their  lot  with  the  pioneer 
settlers.  Theodore  Richard  became  chief  clerk  of  the  Richard  Brothers  Mercantile  C'oni])any 
of  Little  Falls,  one  of  the  first  stores  of  the  town.  He  married  Vetaline  Lord,  of  Canadian 
birth,  and  both  are  still  living.  Theirs  is  a  notable  record,  for  among  their  eight  cliildren 
no  death  has  occurred. 

Rodolph  R.  Richard  pursued  his  education  in  the  public  schools  of  Little  Falls  and  in 
the  Little  Falls  Business  College,  after  which  he  entered  the  office  of  the  Little  Falls  Herald, 
where  he  learned  the  printer's  trade,  spending  a  period  of  six  years  in  connection  with  that 
paper.  He  then  went  to  Glendive,  Montana,  where  he  became  manager  of  the  Dawson 
County  Review  for  .Tames  A.  Metcalf,  remaining  as  manager  there  for  il  little  more  than  a 
year,  when  the  paper  was  sold.  Mr.  Richard  then  became  connecti'd  with  the  Olendive 
Independent  but  after  a  short  time  removed  to  Miles  City,  Montana,  where  he  became 
circulation  manager  and  business  solicitor  for  the  Miles  City  Star  and  the  Miles  City 
Independent.  His  connection  with  these  two  papers  covered  about  six  months,  at  the  end 
of  which  time  he  was  transferred  to  the  Yellowstone  Journal,  a  stock  growers  journal,  for 
which  he  was  reporter  and  solicitor  for  a  period  of  six  months.  He  next  became  connected 
with  the  Picket  at  Red  Lodge,  Montana,  in  the  same  capacity,  spending  three  months  in 
connection  with  that  journal.     On  the  15th  of  May,  1904,  he  arrived  in  Beach  and  [lurchased 


74  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

the  (ioldeii  \';illey  Progress,  which  he  )ias  since  edited  and  ]]ublislied.  It  is  owned  by 
Mr.  Ricliard  and  liis  brother,  Harvey,  and  the  paper  has  a  circulation  of  twelve  hundred, 
covoring  a  territory  of  which  Beach  is  the  center  of  a  fifty  mile  radius.  The  circulation 
of  the  ])aper  is  larger  than  tliat  of  any  other  journal  in  the  county  and  the  office  is  equipped 
in  a  most  modern  manner,  having  a  linotype  machine,  a  modern  two  revolution  rotary 
press  and  all  other  equipment  found  in  a  first  class  printing  office.  His  brother  Harvey  is 
the  linotype  operator  and  in  addition  they  employ  two  others  in  the  office.  Jlr.  Richard 
has  devoted  practically  his  entire  life  to  the  printing  business  although  for  a  brief  period  in 
early  manhood  he  was  employed  in  the  mercantile  establishment  of  an  uncle  at  Little  Falls 
and  also  as  a  drug  clerk.  He  found  the  printing  business  congenial  and  in  that  line  has 
steadily  w-orked  his  way  upward,  being  now  at  the  head  of  a  growing  and  profitable  business. 
In  politics  Mr.  Richard  is  an  independent  republican  and  his  religious  faith  is  evidenced 
in  his  membership  in  the  Catholic  church  of  Beach.  His  attention,  however,  is  chiefly  con- 
centrated upon  his  pa])er  and  he  has  made  it  an  excellent  journal — a  credit  to  the  community 
in  which  it  is  gladly  received. 


R.  E.  WENZEL. 


R.  E.  Wonzel,  one  of  the  able  attorneys  of  Pierce  county,  residing  at  Rugby,  was  born 
In  Berlin,  Germany,  May  37,  1883,  a  son  of  Gottlieb  and  Ernestine  (Silz)  Wenzel,  both  of 
whom  were  natives  of  Germany.  The  father  died  in  Berlin  when  his  son,  R.  E.  Wenzel, 
was  but  a  year  old.  He  was  a  shoemaker  by  trade  and  he  became  a  member  of  the  army, 
being  commissioned  lieutenant  of  his  company  after  four  years'  service.  Following  the 
demise  of  her  husband  Mrs.  Wenzel  came  to  the  United  States  in  1892  and  established  her 
home  at  Edgeley,  Lamoure  county.  North  Dakota.  In  1896  she  became  the  wife  of  Phillip 
Zoerb  and  removed  to  Callaway,  Nebraska,  where  she  now  resides. 

R.  E.  AVenzel  was  a  lad  of  nine  summers  when  he  accomprtjiied  his  mother  to  the  new 
world  and  following  her  second  marriage  he  remained  in  Edgeley,  where  he  served  an 
apprenticeship  at  the  printer's  trade,  since  which  time  he  has  made  his  own  way 
in  the  world  and  has  also  provided  for  his  own  education.  He  attended  the  State  Normal 
and  Industrial  School  at  Ellendale  and  subsequently  entered  the  Univ^ersity  of  North  Dakota 
at  Grand  Forks.  While  a  pupil  there  he  played  professional  ball  for  two  summers,  also 
worked. in  the  harvest  fields  and  for  one  year  worked  as  night  man  on  the  Grand  Forks 
Herald,  thus  providing  the  funds  necessary  to  meet  his  tuition  and  other  expenses  of  his 
college  course.  In  his  senior  year  he  edited  The  Student,  the  university  paper,  and  in 
1909  he  was  graduated  from  tiie  university,  having  completed  the  literary  and  law 
courses,  so  tha't  the  B.  A.  and  B.  L.  degrees  were  both  conferred  upon  him.  In  1909  he 
won  the  interstate  oratorical  contest,  which  was  the  first  time  it  had  been  won  by  a 
North  Dakota  student  for  twelve  years.  He  was  also  elected  to  membership  in  the  Phi 
Beta  Kappa  and  the  Delta  Sigma  Rho  fraternities.  He  was  also  a  member  of  the  univer- 
sity baseball  team,  six  members  of  which  with  other  recruits  made  a  tour  through  to  the 
Pacific  coast,  playing  twenty-three  games,  of  which  they  won  seventeen.  Mr.  Wenzel  had 
planned  to  enter  Yale  but  on  his  return  from  the  coast  stopped  at  Rugby  and,  finding  a 
good  opening,  for  a  location,  he  entered  upon  the  practice  of  law  there  and  has  since  actively 
and  successfully  followed  his  profession. 

In  1910  Mr.  Wenzel  was  nnited  in  marriage  to  Miss  Elizabeth  Coger,  her  father  being 
George  Coger,  a  retired  agriculturist  of  Grand  Forks.  Mrs.  Wenzel  was  graduated  from 
the  University  of  North  Dakota  with  the  class  of  1908  and  by  her  marriage  has  become 
the  mother  of  two  children,  Ralph  and  Wilma. 

Mr.  Wenzel  is  a  stalwart  champion  of  the  I'epublican  party  and  is  prominent  in 
Masonic  circles,  belonging  to  Rugby  Lodge,  No.  65,  F.  &  A.  M.,  of  wliicji  lie  is  past  master; 
Damascus  Chapter,  No.  21,  R.  A.  M.,  of  which  he  is  high  priest :  and  Lebanon  Council, 
No.  2,  R.  &  S.  M.,  being  at  the  present  time  grand  treasurer  of  the  grand  council  of  the 
state.  Mr.  Wenzel  possesses  considerable  musical  talent,  and  utilizing  his  gifts  in  this 
direction,  he  organized  a  band  at  the  State  Normal  and  Industrial  School  in  Ellendale,  also 


R.  E.  WENZEL 


o 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  77 

a  band  at  the  State  University  and  the  Rugby  Band,  all  of  which  he  served  for  a  time 
as  leader.  He  is  interested  in  all  those  forcis  which  work  for  cultural  development  and 
progress  and  the  varied  nature  of  his  activities  has  brought  him  prominence  in  many  fields. 


FRANK  RAFF. 


Frank  Rati',  jiroprietor  and  editor  of  the  Nelson  County  Observer,  published  at  Lakota, 
was  born  in  Polk  county,  Minnesota,  July  13,  1885,  a  son  of  Erik  and  Anna  (Olson)  Raff,  both 
of  whom  were  natives  of  Sweden.  Coming  to  America  in  1880,  they  settled  in  Minnesota, 
where  the  father  engaged  in  farming  to  the  time  of  his  death,  vifhich  occurred  in  1906,  when 
lie  had  reached  the  age  of  seventy-two  years.    His  widow  survives  at  the  age  of  sixty  years. 

Frank  Ratf,  who  was  the  sixth  in  order  of  birth  in  a  family  of  seven  children,  actjuired 
his  early  education  in  the  public  schools  of  Polk  county  and  afterward  attended  Crookston 
College  of  Ci'ookston.  Jlinnesota,  from  which  he  was  graduated  in  1908.  He  then  turned 
to  newspaper  work  in  1909,  becoming  connected  with  the  Fertile  Journal,  with  which  paper 
ho  was  associated  for  three  years.  On  the  expiration  of  that  period  he  removed  to  Lakota 
and  purchased  the  Nelson  County  Observer,  which  he  has  since  owned  and  published.  It 
has  a  wide  circulation,  twelve  hundred  copies  being  issued  for  Nelson  county  readers  alone, 
and  it  is  regarded  as  the  official  organ  of  the  county.  In  his  newspaper  work  Mr.  RaflF  has 
always  noted  and  followed  the  trend  of  modern  journalism  and  the  Observer  is  an  attractive 
sheet,  presenting  to  its  readers  everything  of  local  interest,  while  its  discussion  of  modern 
questions,  and  issues  shows  deep  thought  and  earnest  consideration. 

On  the  30th  of  December,  1909,  Mr.  Raff  was  married  to  Miss  Josephine  Rude,  a  daughter 
of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  A.  J.  Rude  and  a  representative  of  a  well  known  and  prominent  family  of 
Gary,  Minnesota.  To  them  have  been  born  three  children,  as  follows:  Edgar  Leroy,  whose 
natal  year  was  1911;  Alton  Elbert,  whose  birth  occurred  in  October,  1912;  and  Evelyn 
Annabel,  who  was  born  in  1915.  All  are  natives  of  Fertile,  Minnesota.  Mr.  Raff  exercises 
his  right  of  franchise  in  support  of  the  men  and  measures  of  the  republican  party  and 
champions  the  principles  of  the  party  through  the  columns  of  the  press.  He  is  a  man  of 
consulerable  influence  in  Lakota  and  Nelson  county,  being  widely  known  and  popular,  and 
warm  regard  is  entertained  for  him  bv  all  with  whom  he  has  been  associated. 


HECTOR  H.  PERRY. 


One  of  the  foremost  representatives  of  democratic  politics  in  North  Dakota  is  Hector 
H.  Perry,  an  attorney  at  law  of  EUendale,  now  a  member  of  the  democratic  national  com- 
mittee. Bom  in  New  London,  Wisconsin,  on  the  20th  of  August,  1876,  he  is  a  son  of 
Ebenezer  and  Caroline  (Krause)  Perry,  the  former  a  native  of  New  York  and  the  latter 
of  Germany.  They  were  married,  however,  in  Wisconsin  and  in  1882  came  to  North  Dakota, 
settling  in  EUendale  among  the  pioneer  families  of  that  place.  The  father  was  a  lawyer 
and  practiced  his  profession  in  EUendale  to  the  time  of  his  death,  becoming  also  one  of 
the  leading  and  influential  citizens  of  that  place,  taking  active,  helpful  and  beneficial  part  in 
all  public  affairs.  For  fourteen  years  he  also  conducted  the  North  Dakota  Record,  one  of 
the  leading  newspapers  of  Dickey  county,  and  he  was  an  active  and  prominent  member  of 
the  Masonic  fraternity.    He  passed  away  in  1904,  while  his  widow  survived  until  1915. 

Spending  his  youthful  days  in  his  native  city.  Hector  H.  Perry  mastered  the  branches 
of  learning  taught  in  the  public  and  high  schools  there  and  from  his  earliest  youth  spent 
much  time  in  his  father's  law  office,  so  that  he  became  imbued  with  the  desire  to  enter  upon 
active  connection  with  the  profession  to  which  his  father  had  devoted  his  life.  Under 
paternal  guidance  he  took  up  the  study  of  law  and  in  1902  was  admitted  to  the  bar,  at 
which  time  he  entered  into  partnership  with  his  father,  the  business  relation  contirTuing 
between  them  until  the  father's  death.  Hector  H.  Perry  then  formed  a  partnership  with 
D.   T.   Youker,  under   the  firm   style   of  Youker   &   Perry,  and  in  the   practice   of  his  pro- 


78  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

fession  lie  has  demonstrated  his  ability  to  cope  with  many  intricate  and  involved  legal 
problems  and  find  ready  and  correct  solutions  therefor.  In  addition  to  his  law  practice  he 
has  become  a  heavy  holder  of  Dickey  county  farm  lands,  his  investments  being  judiciously 
made  and  bringing  to  him  substantial  financial  return. 

Mr.  Perry  early  manifested  a  deep  interest  in  politics  and  since  attaining  his  majority 
has  been  active  in  support  of  the  principles  which  he  endorses.  In  1898  he  was  elected 
clerk  of  the  courts  of  Dickey  county  and  in  1900  he  was  reelected  to  the  position,  serving 
in  all  for  four  years.  In  1914  he  was  chosen  chairman  of  the  state  democratic  committee 
and  in  1916  was  elected  a  member  of  the  democratic  national  committee,  so  that  he  is  in 
close  touch  with  the  political  situation  of  the  hour  and  is  active  in  guiding  the  interests 
of  his  party  in  both  state  and  nation. 

In  1897  Mr.  Perry  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Jennie  H.  Monty,  of  Ellendale,  and 
theirs  is  one  of  the  attractive  homes  of  the  city,  its  hospitality  being  accounted  one  of  its 
most  pleasing  features.  Fraternally  Mr.  Perry  is  connected  with  Ellendale  Lodge,  No.  13, 
F.  &  A.  M.;  Ellendale  Lodge,  I.  O.  O.  F.;  Ellendale  Lodge,  K.  P.;  and  Aberdeen  Lodge,  No. 
1046,  B.  P.  0.  E.,  of  Aberdeen,  South  Dakota.  In  community  affairs  he  is  deeply  interested, 
and  manifests  a  public-spirited  devotion  to  all  those  plans  and  movements  which  work 
for  the  best  interests  of  the  community  and  which  look  beyond  the  exigencies  of  the 
present  to  the  future.  A  strong  advocate  at  the  bar  and  a  wise  counselor,  an  astute 
political  leader  and  a  gentleman  of  high  personal  worth,  he  is  popular  in  the  various  circles- 
in  which  he  moves  and  in  which  his  influence  has  been  strongly  felt. 


HENRY  O'KEEFE,  M.  D. 


Dr.  Henry  O'Keefe,  engaged  in  the  practice  of  medicine  and  surgery  at  Grand  F'orks,. 
was  born  at  Lindsay,  Ontario,  Canada,  March  16,  1858,  a  son  of  William  and  Bridget  (Fee) 
O'Keefe,  both  of  whom  were  natives  of  Ontario,  where  they  resided  until  1881  and  then 
removed  to  North  Dakota,  becoming  early  settlers  of  Walsh  county,  where  the  father  acquired 
large  land  holdings  and  became  a  prosperous  farmer.  His  last  days  were  spent  in  this  county, 
where  lie  passed  away  in  1912,  at  the  age  of  eighty-two  years.  His  wife  was  reared, 
educated  and  married  in  Ontario  and  died  in  1900,  at  the  age  of  seventy.  In  their  family 
were  ten  children,  of  whom  Dr.  O'Keefe  was  the  third  in  order  of  birth. 

Through  the  period  of  his  boyhood  and  youth  Dr.  O'Keefe  largely  devoted  his  time  and 
attention  to  the  acquirement  of  an  education,  supplementing  his  early  training  by  a  high 
school  course  at  Lindsay,  while  for  one  year  he  was  a  student  in  the  University  of  Laval 
at  Queliec.  He  next  entered  McGill  University  at  Montreal,  Canada,  where  he  pursued  his 
medical  course  and  was  graduated  in  1883.  On  the  9th  of  April  of  that  year  he  arrived 
in  Minto,  Walsh  county,  North  Dakota,  where  he  engaged  in  practice  for  twenty-four  years, 
at  the  end  of  which  time  he  sought  the  broader  field  of  labor  offered  in  Grand  Forks.  There 
he  took  up  his  abode  in  September,  1906,  and  during  the  intervening  period  has  engaged! 
successfully  in  the  practice  of  medicine  and  surgery,  building  up  an  extensive  and  gratiify- 
ing  practice. 

On  the  5th  of  June,  1883,  Dr.  O'Keefe  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Eliza  Connolly,, 
of  Lindsa}',  Ontario,  her  parents  being  Mr.  and  Mrs.  John  Connolly,  both  of  whom  are 
deceased.  The  Doctor  and  his  wife  have  nine  children,  all  born  in  Minto,  as  follows: 
Henry,  who  was  born  in  1889  and  was  graduated  from  Yale  University  in  1911;  Mary, 
who  is  a  graduate  of  the  State  Normal  School  at  St.  Cloud,  Minnesota,  and  St.  Joseph' 
Academy  at  St.  Paul  and  is  now  engaged  in  teaching  school  at  Malta,  Montana;  Cj'ril  F., 
who  is  now  a  general  merchant  of  Keota,  Oklahoma;  Charles  J.,  who  is  engaged  in  the 
practice  of  dentistry  at  Saco,  Montana;  Genevieve,  a  graduate  of  the  high  school  and  of 
the  University  of  North  Dakota,  and  now  employed  in  a  local  banking  institution ;  Muriel, 
who  is  now  attending  the  University  of  North  Dakota;  Gladys,  who  is  a  senior  student 
in  the  high  school;  William,  who  is  In  his  first  year  at  the  high  school;  and  Emmet,  who 
is   an   eighth   grade   student. 

The   family   are   communicants    of   the   Roman    Catholic   church    and    Dr.   O'Keefe    also- 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  79 

belongs  to  the  Knights  of  Columbus.  He  is  will  knuwii  in  fraternal  circles  as  a  member  of 
tlie  Foresters,  the  Yeomen,  the  Ancient  Order  of  I  uitej  Workmen  and  the  Modern  Woodmen 
of  America.  His  professional  connections  are  with  the  Grand  Forks  District  Medical  Society, 
the  North  Dakota  State  Medical  Association  and  the  American  Medical  Association.  He 
has  worked  his  way  upward  tluough  his  own  efl'orts,  wisely  using  his  time  and  talents  in 
preparatiou  for  his  i;rofession  and  in  discliarging  the  duties  connected  with  his  growing 
jiractice.  He  is  now  one  of  the  leading  physiciuns  of  the  state,  his  ability  being  widely 
acknowledged  by  his  colleagues  and  contemporaries  as  well  as  by  the  general  public. 


REINTIART  GILBERTSEN. 


Reinhart  Gilbertsen,  postmaster  of  Glcnburn  and  owner  and  editor  of  the  Glenburn 
.Advance,  was  born  in  Avoca.  Wisconsin,  March  11,  1S79,  a  son  of  Erick  and  Mary  (Everson) 
Gilbertsen  who  were  natives  of  Norway.  They  came  to  America  in  early  life  with  their 
respective  parents  and  tlie  father  learned  and  followed  the  blacksmith'.s  trade  devoting  many 
years  to  that  pursuit  in  Wisconsin.  He  died  in  ilarcli,  188S,  and  his  widow  is  now  a  resident 
of  San  Francisco,  California. 

The  family  removed  to  Estherville,  Iowa,  during  the  boyhood  of  Reinhart  Gilbertsen  and 
he  was  there  reared  and  educated,  learning  the  printer's  trade  after  his  textbooks  were 
put  aside.  He  worked  at  the  case  in  Estherville  and  Des  Moines  for  eight  years  and  in 
1901  made  his  way  northward  to  Kottiiieau  county.  North  Dakota,  where  he  filed  on  a 
homestead,  to  wliich  he  later  secured  title,  having  met  all  the  requirements  that  brought 
to  him  the  ownership  of  the  land.  He  worked  in  a  printing  olTice  for  a  time  in  that  county 
and  in  1904  he  removed  to  Glenburn,  Renville  eountj',  where  he  purchased  the  Glenburn 
Advance,  of  which  he  has  since  been  owner  and  editor.  He  has  a  thoroughly  equipped 
]ihuit  and  is  publishing  an  attractive  weekly  jiaper  devoted  to  the  dissemination  of  local 
and  general  news. 

In  April,  1903,  Mr.  Gilbertsen  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Matilda  Holmquist  and 
they  have  become  the  parents  of  two  children:  Cecil,  born  March  10,  1905;  and  Alice, 
born  November  23,  1909.  The  parents  hold  membership  in  the  Presbyterian  church  and 
-Mr.  Gilbertsen  is  also  identified  with  the  Masonic  fraternity  and  the  Modern  Woodmen  of 
America.  His  political  endorsement  is  given  the  republican  party  and  since  1904  he  has 
continuously  served  as  postmaster  of  the  town,  while  for  ten  years  he  has  been  a  member 
of  the  school  board.  He  is  interested  in  all  that  pertains  to  the  public  life  of  the  community 
:ind  his  aid  and  influence  are  always  given  on  the  side  of  progress  and  improvement,  his 
efforts  being  an  element  in  promoting  the  general  welfare. 


DONALD  Mcdonald. 


Donald  ^McDonald,  grand  secretary  of  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows  in  North 
Dakota  and  treasurer  of  the  Great  Northern  Life  Insurance  Company,  was  born  in  Dundas 
countj-,  Ontario,  Canada,  June  29,  1850,  and  is  of  Scotch  lineage.  His  parents,  Duncan  and 
Janet  (Mcintosh)  McDonald,  were  both  natives  of  Scotland,  the  former  arriving  in  Canada 
in  183.3  and  the  latter  in  the  '40s.  The  father  was  a  pioneer  settler  of  Dundas  county, 
where  for  many  years  he  successfully  engaged  in  agricultural  pursuits.  In  the  spring  of 
1851  he  became  a  resident  of  Dubuque,  Iowa,  and  there  passed  away  in  1858  at  the  age  of 
fifty  years.  His  widow  long  survived  and  died  in  Iowa  in  1897  at  the  age  of  seventy-eight 
years.  In  their  family  were  four  children :  Elizabeth,  the  wife  of  .1.  H.  Hickle,  of  Clarks- 
ville,  Iowa;  Donald;  Margaret,  who  is  living  in  Providence,  Rhode  Island;  and  Gordon,  who 
died  in  Louisiana  in  1907. 

Donald  McDonald  was  but  an  infant  when  his  parents  went  to  Iowa  and  in  that  state 
he  was  reared,  acquiring  his  education  in  the  public  schools.  His  early  life  to  the  age  of 
fourteen   years   was   spent   upon   the   home   farm,   after   which   he   took   his   initial   step   in 


80  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

commercial  lines  by  securing  employment  as  clerk  in  a  general  store  at  Shell  Rock,  Iowa. 
Later  he  followed  farming  and  otlier  work  and  also  taught  school  in  Iowa,  wliere  he  con- 
tinued to  make  his  home  until  1873,  when  he  arrived  in  Dakota  Territory,  being  then  a 
young  man  of  twenty-three  years.  He  settled  first  near  Vermillion,  Clay  county,  and  in 
1878  removed  to  Grand  Forks,  then  a  western  frontier  village,  and  began  the  publication 
of  a  newspaper  called  the  Plain  Dealer  which  was  one  of  the  first  papers  published  in  the 
state.  This  he  conducted  for  two  years.  He  served  as  postmaster  of  Grand  Forks  for  nine 
years,  or  from  1879  until  1888,  when  he  engaged  in  the  furniture  and  undertaking  business, 
conducting  a  store  for  nineteen  years.  At  the  end  of  that  period  he  \yas  elected  county 
treasurer  of  Grand  Forks  county,  which  office  he  filled  for  four  years,  and  tluis  in  many  ways 
he  was  closely,  actively  and  lielpfully  connected  with  the  interests  and  with  the  upbuilding 
of  Grand  Forks.  In  1895  he  was  chosen  grand  secretary  of  the  Grand  Lodge  of  Odd  Fellows 
and  has  since  occupied  that  position,  which  claims  much  of  his  time  and  attention.  He 
was  also  one  of  the  organizers  of  the  Great  Northern  Life  Insurance  Company,  of  which 
he  was  president  froAi~1910  until  January  1,  1916,  when  he  became  treasurer.  For  nineteen 
years  he  served  as  a  member  of  the  board  of  education  of  Grand  Forks  and  for  a  number 
of  j-ears  he  has  been  the  president  of  the  Grand  Forks  library  board.  In  the  fall  of  1916, 
he  was  elected  to  the  office  of  register  of  deeds  on  the  republican  ticket.  He  has  always 
taken  a  deep  interest  in  political  affairs  and  has  been  a  stalwart  supporter  of  those  inter- 
ests which  are  a  matter  of  civic  virtue  and  of  civic  pride.  His  activities  have  covered  a 
wide  scope,  connecting  him  with  commercial, 'financial  and  official  interests  in  Grand  Forks,  and 
the  worth  of  his  work  is  widely  acknowledged.  He  is  accounted  one  of  the  foremost  resi- 
dents of  his  city,  honored  and  respected  by  young  and  old,  rich  and  poor. 

On  the  10th  of  December,  1876,  in  Clarksville,  Iowa.  Jlr.  McDonald  was  united  in  mar- 
riage to  Miss  Addie  Leete,  a  native  of  Wisconsin  and  a  daughter  of  the  late  A.  N.  Leete 
and  his  wife,  Abbie  (Button)  Leete,  both  of  whom  were  natives  of  New  York  and  of  English 
descent.  The  Leete  family  was  established  in  America  in  early  colonial  days.  One  of  Mrs. 
McDonald's  great-uncles  in  the  maternal  line  was  a  colonial  governor  of  Connecticut.  Mrs. 
McDonald  passed  away  in  Grand  Forks,  September  30,  190$,  at  the  age  of  forty-eight 
years,  leaving  two  sons:  Archibald  L.,  born  in  Grand  Forks,  April  25,  1879,  and  now  a 
practicing  physician  of  Duluth,  Minnesota;  and  D.  Bruce,  who  was  born  in  Grand  Forks, 
June  2,  1891,  and  is  now  cashier  of  the  State  Bank  at  Hansboro,  North  Dakota.  In  1909 
Mr.  McDonald  was  married  to  Mrs.  J.  Addie  Nasli. 

In  his  fraternal  connections  Mr.  McDonald  is  not  only  widely  known  as  a  jirorainent 
Odd  Fellow  but  is  also  a  Mason,  belonging  to  Acacia  Lodge,  No.  4,  F.  &  A.  M.,  of  Grand 
Forks.  He  is  likewise  a  member  of  the  Curling  Club,  which  indicates  the  nature  of  his 
recreation;  he  is  a  member  of  the  Commercial  Club  and  supports  progressive  meas\n'es  for 
the  advancement  and  upbuilding  of  the  cit}-;  and  he  is  identified  with  the  First  Presbyterian 
church,  in  which  he  is  an  elder  and  an  active  worker,  doing  all  in  his  power  to  further  the 
moral  progress  of  the  community.  His  life  has  ever  been  upright  and  honorable,  winning 
for  him  the  respect,  goodwill  and  confidence  of  all  with  whom  he  has  been  brought  in  contact. 


GUNERIUS  GUNDEESON. 


Gunerius  Gunderson,  a  dealer  in  grain  and  coal  at  Mohall,  has  been  a  resident  of  the 
town  since  1903  and  throughout  the  entire  period  has  been  connected  with  the  grain  trade, 
in  which  he  has  built  up  a  business  of  substantial  proportions.  He  was  born  in  Norway, 
October  8,  1873,  a  son  of  Gunder  and  Pemille  (Olson)  Gunderson,  who  were  also  natives  of 
that  country,  where  the  father  followed  farming  throughout  his  entire  life.  He  passed  away 
in  1879,  while  his  wife  died  in  1881. 

Mr.  Gunderson  whose  name  introduces  this  review  was  reared  and  educated  in  Norway 
to  the  age  of  fifteen  years,  when  in  1888  he  bade  adieu  to  friends  and  native  land  and 
sailed  for  the  new  world,  making  his  way  to  Minneapolis,  Minnesota,  where  he  learned  the 
cigar  maker's  trade.  He  was  thus  employed  for  two  years  and  then  in  1891  removed  to 
Traill  county.  North  Dakota,  where  he  worked  for  two  years.     He  next  took  up  his  abode 


^^^^^^^^^^^^Hp,.'                                                                         wj^^^ft 

^ 

^^^^K                          ^^^ 

1 

Hp'     li^^.^r 

^ 

[  ^^ 

'  1 

■T 

J 

GUNERTUS  GUNDEKSON 


" 


a 


HISTORY  OF  XORTII  DAKOTA  83 

in  Bottineau  county,  wliere  he  filed  on  land  in  1894  and  with  characteristic  energy  began 
to  develop  and  improve  that  property,  continuing  its  cultivation  for  six  years.  At  the  end 
of  that  period  he  secured  a  situation  in  a  grain  elevator  at  Bottineau,  working  in  that  way 
for  a  year  and  a  half,  and  in  1903  he  arrived  in  Mohall,  where  he  was  employed  in  an  elevator 
for  about  five  years.  On  the  expiration  of  that  period  he  engaged  in  the  grain  business  on 
his  own  account  and  in  1907  built  an  elevator,  while  in  1916  he  erected  a  second  and  much 
larger  one.  He  is  today  the  leading  grain  merchant  in  Mohall,  conducting  the  largest 
business  done  at  any  of  the  five  elevators  of  the  city.  He  buys  and  sells  extensively  and  his 
success  has  come  to  him  as  the  result  of  close  application,  unabating  energy  and  sound 
business  judgment.  He  also  handles  coal,  in  which  he  enjoys  a  good  trade,  and  he  is  still 
the  owner  of  the  homestead  property  in  Bottineau  county. 

On  the  1st  of  January,  1905,  Mr.  Gunderson  was  married  to  Miss  Marie  C.  Mattson  and 
they  have  become  the  parents  of  four  daughters.  Hazel  M.,  Ellen  D.,  Thelma  L.  C,  and 
Alida  M. 

The  religious  faith  of  the  family  is  that  of  the  Lutheran  church,  while  in  his  political 
belief  Mr.  Gunderson  is  a  republican.  He  has  served  as  a  member  of  the  town  council  of 
Mohall  for  four  years,  also  as  justice  of  the  peace  for  four  years,  and  as  a  member  of  the 
board  of  education  for  three  years,  and  in  each  connection  has  discharged  his  duties  promptly 
and  capably.  He  is  identified  with  the  Masonic  Scottish  Rite  Lodge,  No.  2,  at  Grand  Forks 
and  has  become  a  Noble  of  the  Mystic  Shrine.  Although  he  came  to  the  United  States  a 
j'oung  lad,  empty  handed,  he  has  never  had  occasion  to  regret  his  determination  to  try 
his  fortune  in  the  new  world,  for  here  he  has  steadily  worked  his  way  upward  and  is  now 
numbered  among  the  substantial  citizens  and  progressive  business  men  of  Mohall,  enjoying 
the  respect  and  goodwill  of  all  with  whom  he  has  been  brought  in  contact. 


PETER  J.  IVERSON. 


Peter  J.  Iverson,  county  superintendent  of  schools  of  Nelson  county  and  a  resident  of 
Lakota,  was  born  in  Christiania,  Norway,  June  17,  1880.  His  father  Amund  Iverson,  also 
born  in  Norway,  came  to  America  in  1882  and  settled  in  Decorah,  Iowa,  where  he  engaged  in 
farming,  there  I'emaining  until  1894  at  which  time  he  passed  away  in  Decorah  at  the  age  of 
forty-three  years.  In  politics  he  was  a  republican  and  an  active  worker  in  local  ranks.  He 
served  for  one  term  as  township  assessor.  A  consistent  Christian  man  he  held  member- 
ship in  the  Lutheran  church  and  guided  his  life  according  to  its  teachings.  He  married  Marcn 
Sorlio,  also  a  native  of  Norway,  and  she  is  now  living  at  Red  Lake  county,  ^Minnesota.  She 
became  the  mother  of  eight  children,  seven  of  whom  survive. 

Peter  J.  Iverson  attended  the  public  schools  of  Iowa  and  Minnesota,  the  high  school  at 
Park  Regent  and  the  college  at  Fergus  Falls,  Minnesota,  from  which  he  was  graduated  with 
the  class  of  1903.  He  was  graduated  from  the  State  Normal  School  at  Mayville,  North 
Dakota,  in  1906,  and  in  1910  won  the  Bachelor  of  Arts  degree  upon  graduation  from  Luther 
College  at  Decorah,  Iowa.  He  also  spent  one  year  in  post  graduate  woik  in  the  L'niversity 
of  Wisconsin  and  another  year  in  the  North  Dakota  University,  winning  the  Master  of 
Arts  degree.  His  early  life  was  devoted  to  farm  work  which  he  followed  fnr  two  years 
after  the  death  of  his  father.  When  his  education  was  completed  he  took  up  the  profession 
of  teaching,  becoming  thus  connected  with  the  country  schools  of  Polk  county.  North 
Diikota.  He  was  afterward  principal  of  the  schools  of  Maddock,  this  state,  for  a  year  and 
principal  at  Towner,  after  which  he  served  for  two  years  as  instructor  in  Luther  College  at 
Decorah  in  the  high  school  department.  It  was  in  this  way  that  he  met  the  expenses  of 
his  own  college  course.  He  afterward  located  at  Michigan,  Nelson  county.  North  Dakota, 
where  ];e  was  superintendent  of  schools  for  three  years  and  on  the  expiration  of  that  period 
he  was  elected  county  superintendent  of  schools  in  the  fall  of  1912.  He  is  now  entering  on 
the  third  term  in  that  position,  having  twice  been  elected  without  opposition,  a  fact  which 
indicates  that  he  is  eminently  qualified  for  the  ])osition  and  tliat  his  work  is  highly  satisfac- 
tory to  the  public  at  large.  Under  his  guidance  siibstantial  advancement  has  been  made  in 
the  schools  and  the  standards  of  instruction  and  of  seholarshi|i  have  been  greatly  raised. 


84  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

On  June  12,  1912,  Professor  Iverson  was  married  at  Lakota  to  Miss  Mary  Wolford,  a 
native  of  Akron,  Indiana,  and  a  daughter  of  John  and  Lydia  (Waechter)  Wolford,  representa- 
tives of  pioneer  families  of  Indiana  of  German  descent.  Professor,  and  Mrs.  Iverson  have 
two  children:  Dale,  born  June  10,  1913;  and  Lucile,  born  January  6,  1915. 

Politically  Mr.  Iverson  is  a  republican,  and  fraternally  he  is  connected  with  the  Masons, 
the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows  and  the  Sons  of  Norway.  He  also  belongs  to  the 
Commercial  Club  and  is  interested  in  its  projects  for  the  upbuilding  of  the  city  and  the 
Lutlieran  church  llnds  in  him  an  active  member.  In  a  word  he  seeks  in  every  way  the 
further  linancial  and  moral  progi'ess  of  the  individual  and  the  community  and  his  efforts 
have  been  of  far  reaching  and  beneficial  effect. 


'^•.  JAMES  TAYLOR. 

.James  Taylor,  sheriff  of  Towner  county  and  a  resident  of  Cando,  was  born  February 
28,  1874,  in  Kansas,  his  parents  being  .Job  and  Sarah  (Grimes)  Taj'lor  who  were  natives  of 
Missouri.  The  father  was  a  farmer  and  in  an  early  day  in  the  development  of  Kansas 
removed  to  that  state,  where  he  followed  farming  for  twelve  years,  after  which  he  returned 
to  Missouri,  where  he  carried  on  general  agricultural  pursuits  until  1888.  .That  year  wit- 
nessed his  arrival  in  Towner  county.  North  Dakota,  where  he  filed  on  land  which  he  culti- 
vated and  improved  until  1905,  when  he  retired  and  went  to  California,  where  he  made  his 
home  until  his  death.  He  passed  away  in  1906,maving  long  survived  his  wife,  who  died  in 
August,  1877. 

James  Taylor  was  reared  and  educated  in  Missouri  and  North  Dakota,  being  fourteen 
years  of  age  when  his  parents  came  to  this  state.  He  remained  under  the  parental  roof  until 
he  attained  his  majority  and  then  filed  on  land  which  he  developed  and  cultivated  until 
December,  1902,  when  he  rented  his  farm.  He  still  owns  the  original  homestead,  however, 
and  has  also  added  to  his  landed  possessions  until  they  now  enibrace  eleven  hundred  and 
twenty  acres  in  Towner  county.  From  this  property  he  derives  a  very  substantial  annual 
income. 

On  tlie  25th  of  December,  1906,  Mr.  Taylor  >v'as  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Carrie 
Quick  and  to  them  were  born  two  children.  James  Roscoe  and  Mabel  Genevieve.  The 
religious  faith  of  the  family  is  that  of  the  Methodist  church  and  fraternally  Mr.  Taylor 
is  a  Mason,  a  Knight  of  Pythias  and  a  United  Workmen.  His  political  allegiance  is  given 
to  the  republican  party  and  in  1903  he  was  appointed  postmaster  of  Perth,  which  position 
he  filled  until  January,  1906.  In  January,  1907,  he  became  sheriff  of  Towner  county,  serving 
for  four  years,  and  then  for  a  period  of  about  four  years  was  engaged  in  bu.ying  grain  at 
Perth  and  Cando.  In  1914  and  again  in  1916  he  was  reelected  to  the  position  of  sheriff  and 
is  now  the  incumbent  in  that  office,  the  duties  of  which  he  discharges  in  a  prompt,  fearless 
and  faithful  manner,  his  reelection  being  evidence  of  the  confidence  reposed  in  him  by  his 
fellow  citizens.  From  territorial  days  he  has  lived  in  North  Dakota  and  throughout  the 
intervening  period  lias  been  an  interested  witness  of  the  changes  which  have  occurred,  while 
at  all  times  he  lias  taken  a  helpful  part  in  promoting  the  work  of  general  progress  and 
improvement. 


HENRY  H.  HAND. 


A  well  known  figure  in  insurance  circles  in  North  Dakota  is  Henry  H.  Hand,  the  secre- 
tary of  the  Northern  Fire  and  Marine  Insurance  Company  of  Grand  Forks.  He  was  born 
in  Lenawee  county,  Michigan,  Marcli  8,  1869,  a  son  of  Henry  H.  and  Betsy  Ann  (Smiths 
Hand,  the  former  a  native  of  New  York  and  the  latter  of  Germany.  In  young  womanhood 
Mrs.  Hand  came  to  the  new  world  and  was  married  in  Michigan.  They  removed  from  New 
York  to  Michigan  and  Henry  H.  Hand.  Sr.,  there  engaged  in  millwrighting  during  his 
early  life  and  continued  his  residence  in  Michigan  until  1868,  when  he  passed  away  at  the 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  85 

age  of  sixty-four  years.  His  widow  died  in  Portland,  Oregon,  in  1SS5  at  the  age  of 
fifty-nine  years.  In  the  family  were  three  c-liildren:  Mrs.  Nona  Ji.  ClKipman,  living  at 
Humboldt,  Sa.skatcOii'wan,  Canada;  Jlrs.  Mary  II.  Hunt,  a  resident  of  Camas,  Washington; 
and  Henry  H. 

The  last  named  having  become  a  resident  of  Portland,  Oregon,  in  early  childhood,  was 
there  reared  from  the  age  of  nine  years  and  after  attending  the  public  schools  of  that  city 
became  a  student  in  the  Columbia  Commercial  College  there.  He  started  out  in  the  business 
world  in  the  insurance  field  at  Sherwood,  Oregon,  where  he  remained  until  1894,  when  he 
removed  to  Bisbee,  Xorth  Dakota,  where  he  S])ent  the  succeeding  decade.  In  1904  he  became  a 
resident  of  Devils  Lake,  North  Dakota,  where  he  conducted  an  insurance  office  until  1909,  when 
he  arrived  in  Grand  Forks  and  organized  the  Northern  Fire  and  Jlarine  Insurance  Company, 
which  is  one  of  the  largest  and  most  substantial  insurance  companies  of  the  state.  Its 
present  officers  are:  Charles  K.  Bradley,  president;  Ale.xander  Mitchell,  vice  president;  Carl 
Fischer,  treasurer;  and  Henry  H.  Hand,  secretary.  The  last  named' is  also  a  director  of  the 
Northwestern  Underwriters'  Association.  The  business  has  been  developed  according  to  the 
last  word  in  insurance  organization  and  management  and  the  success  of  the  corporation  is 
evidenced  in  the  continued  growth  of  its  patronage. 

On  the  4th  of  August  1903,  Mr.  Hand  was  married  to  Miss  Edna  L.  Gray,  wlio  was 
born  in  North  East,  Pennsylvania,  a  daughter  of  ilr,  and  Mrs.  James  il.  Gray.  The  father 
is  now  living  but  the  mother  is  deceased.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Hand  have  become  the  parents  of 
three  children:  Howard  H.  who  was  born  at  Dex-ils  Lake  in  1904:  .Jeannette.  born  in  Grand 
Forks  in  1910;  and  Donald,  born  in  Grand  Forks  in  1913. 

ilr.  Hand  is  connected  with  the  Benevolent  Protective  Order  of  Elks  and  he  and  his 
family  are  identified  with  the  Congregational  church.  He  is  a  western  man  by  birth, 
training  and  spirit  and  western  progress  and  enterprise  finds  exemplification  in  his  career. 
The  call  of  opportunity  has  ever  been  to  him  a  call  to  action  and  his  efforts,  intelligently 
directed,  have  brought  substantial  results. 


jud(;e  will  h.  carleton. 

A  most  creditable  record  in  connection  with  the  judicial  history  of  North  Dakota  is 
that  of  Judge  Will  H.  Carleton,  of  Cooperstown,  who  has  been  eight  times  elected  county 
judge  of  Griggs  county,  a  record  which  proves  his  capability  and  his  fidelity  to  the  high 
purposes  and  standards  of  the  office  which  he  occupies.  He  was  born  in  St.  Clair  county. 
Michigan,  December  16,  1853,  a  son  of  Moses  F.  and  Mary  (Latham)  Carleton,  the  former 
born  in  New  Hampshire  in  1831,  while  the  latter  was  a  native  of  New  York.  The  grand- 
father William  H.  Carleton.  was  a  representative  of  an  old  colonial  family  and  on  leaving 
the  cast  he  removed  to  Michigan,  settling  on  the  present  site  of  St.  Clair,  in  which  vicinity 
a  number  of  his  relatives  took  up  their  abode  about  1831,  thus  aiding  in  reclaiming  that 
region  for  the  purposes  of  civilization.  One  of  the  thoroughfares  of  St.  Clair  still  retains 
the  name  of  Yankee  street,  which  was  given  to  it  by  these  early  settlers.  They  took  up  land 
and  engaged  in  farming  and  Moses  F.  Carleton  long  occujiied  the  original  homestead  of  the 
family  there.  Prominent  in  the  public  life  of  the  community,  he  was  elected  county  clerk 
and  occupied  that  position  for  six  years,  while  for  four  years  he  was  deputy  county 
treasurer  and  made  his  home  in  Port  Huron,  Jlichigan.  In  1864,  at  the  time  of  the  Civil 
war.  he  enlisted  as  a  member  of  Company  I.  Fourth  Michigan  Volunteer  Infantry,  serving 
in  eastern  Tennessee  and  northern  Alabama,  while  later  he  was  sent  with  his  regiment  to 
Texas,  where  they  were  held  on  guard  duty  until  1866.  He  had  first  joined  the  Thirtieth 
Michigan  Regiment,  which  had  been  recruited  but  was  then  divided,  part  of  the  troops 
being  assigned  to  the  Fourth  Regiment  and  part  to  the  Third  Regiment  of  Michigan  Volun- 
teers which  were  being  organized.  He  entered  the  service  as  first  sergeant  and  was  mustered 
out  as  second  lieutenant,  receiving  his  honorable  discharge  at  Detroit.  He  passed  away  in 
1903  at  the  age  of  seventy-four  years. 

The  family  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Moses  F.  Carleton  numbered  two  daui^liters  and  Judge 
Carleton    is   the   onlv   son.      He   began    his    education    in    the    district    schools   and   afterward 


86  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

attended  the  high  school  at  St.  Clair.  He  acted  as  deputy  vhile  his  father  filled  the  office 
of  county  clerk,  and  later  he  took  up  the  study  of  law  but  owing  to  impaired  health  was 
obli"'ed  to  return  to  the  farm,  whereon  he  remained  for  two  years,  although  he  had  been 
adnmted  to  the  bar.  In  1883  he  made  his  way  to  the  present  site  of  Cooperstown,  North 
Dakota,  and  took  up  a  preemption  and  later  a  homestead  claim  in  Cooperstown  township. 
He  then  turned  his  attention  to  farming,  concentrating  his  efforts  upon  the  development  and 
improvement  of  his  land  until  1888,  when  he  established  his  home  in  Cooperstown.  He 
was  employed  by  the  Gull  River  Lumber  Company,  being  connected  for  a  number  of  years 
with  a  lumberj'ard  owned  by  them.  He  also  practiced  law  and  in  1889  his  fellow  towns- 
men elected  him  states  attorney  of  Griggs  county,  which  position  he  filled  for  two  years. 
He  then  entered  upon  the  active  work  of  his  profession  in  private  practice  and  so  continued 
until  1899.  when  he  was  appointed  county  judge  to  fill  out  an  unexpired  term  and  at  each 
successive  election  since  that  time,  eight  in  all,  he  has  been  chosen  by  popular  suffrage 
for  the  office  and  since  the  first  two  terms  has  had  no  opposition. 

In  1879  Judge  Carleton  was  married  to  Miss  Eliza  Davis,  who  was  born  in  St.  Clair 
county,  Michigan,  a  daughter  of  William  H.  and  Mary  Ann  Davis.  She  passed  away  in 
1904  and  in  1910  .Judge  Carleton  wedded  Daisy  A.  Sraithers,  a  native  of  England,  who 
was  engaged  in  teaching. 

The  Judge  is  a  Mason  and  is  also  connected  with  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America, 
but  he  concentrates  his  energies  almost  entirely  upon  his  official  duties  and  his  marked 
ability,  fairness  and  impartiality  are  indicated  by  his  long  retention  in  an  office  to  which 
lite  and  liberty,  truth  and  justice  must  look  for  protection.  He  has  ever  been  interested 
in  the  matter  of  family  history  and  compiled  a  genealogy  of  the  Carletons,  tracing  the 
line  back  to  Baldwin  de  Carleton,  A.  D.  1066,  who  was  the  founder  of  the  Carletons  of 
Cumberland  county,  England.  The  prefix  de  was  continued  for  thirteen  generations.  Edward 
Carleton  settled  in  Massachusetts  in  1638,  becoming  the  founder  of  the  family  in  the  new 
world.  Among  the  names  of  prominence  figuring  on  the  pages  of  the  familj'  history  several 
have  been  knighted.  Sir  William  Carleton  was  of  the  seventeenth  generation  of  the 
Carletons  of  Carleton  Hall,  Cumberland,  England,  and  Sir  Walter  de  Carleton  was  of  the 
branch  that  settled  in  Oxfordshire,  while  Sir  Dudley  Carleton,  Viscount  Dorchester,  was  also 
of  the  Oxfordshire  branch.  Will  M.  Carleton,  the  famous  Amei'ican  poet,  was  of  the  same 
parent  stock  as  Moses  F.  Carleton,  whose  records  of  the  family  are  complete  from  the 
year  1066  to  the  present  generation. 


B.  C.  PHIPPS. 


North  Dakota  being  an  agricultural  state,  the  grain  trade  has  become  one  of  the  most 
prominent  industries  and  among  those  who  have  become  important  factors  in  its  develop- 
ment are  the  men  composing  the  firm  of  Phipps  &  Keen  of  Dunning.  The  former  is  B.  C. 
Phipps,  who  was  born  in  Paynesville.  Minnesota,  October  18.  1872,  and  is  a  son  of  John 
and  Martha  (Darnell)  Phipps,  both  natives  of  Indiana.  Throughout  his  active  business  life 
the  father  followed  farming  and  mercantile  pursuits.  In  1859  he  removed  to  Wright  county, 
Minnesota,  where  he  resided  until  locating  in  Paynesville,  that  state,  in  1861.  There  he 
took  up  land  and  began  its  -development  but  was  driven  out  by  the  Indians  during  one  of 
their  uprisings  and  returned  to  Indiana,  where  he  spent  one  year.  At  the  end  of  that  time 
he  returned  to  Minnesota  and  was  making  his  home  in  St.  Cloud  when  he  joined  Company 
I,  First  Minnesota  Infantry,  with  which  he  served  for  one  year  and  three  months  dining 
the  Civil  war.  After  his  discharge  from  the  army  he  again  became  a  resident  of  Paynes- 
ville, Minnesota,  where  he  was  engaged  in  the  mercantile  business  for  several  years,  but 
spent  his  last  days  upon  his  farm  in  that  locality,  where  he  passed  away  in  1906.  He  had 
survived  his  wife  for  several  years,  as  she  died  in  May.  1895. 

B.  C.  Phipps  attended  the  public  schools  of  Pajaiesville  in  the  acquirement  of  an  edu- 
cation and  remained  under  the  parental  roof  until  reaching  manhood.  After  leaving  home 
he  worked  for  the  Northwestern  Elevator  Company  at  several  places  as  relief  agent,  con- 
tinuing with  them  from   1893  until   1901,  when  he  formed  a   partnership  with   Lyman   M. 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  87 

Keen,  under  tlie  name  of  Phipps  &  Keen,  and  engaged  in  business  at  Hanley  Falls,  Minne- 
sota, as  grain  dealers.  In  1905  tliej-  removed  to  Westhope,  Bottineau  county,  Xortli  Dakota, 
where  they  bought  grain  for  two  years,  and  then  went  to  Dunning,  wlicre  they  erected  an 
elevator  and  have  since  engaged  in  business  with  good  success. 

( )n  the  28th  of  December,  1896,  Mr.  Phipps  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Elbe  Keen, 
a  daugliter  of  Lyman  M.  and  Almina  (Storer)  Keen,  a  sketch  of  whom  appears  below.  To 
Mr.  and  Jlrs.  Phipps  was  born  one  child,  Claude,  who  died  March  17,  1898.  In  politics 
Mr.  Phipps  is  a  republican  and  in  religious  faith  he  is  a  Methodist.  He  is  a  prominent 
Mason  and  Shriner  and  also  belongs  to  the  Jlodern  Woodmen  of  America.  For  two  years 
he  served  as  game  warden  at  Dunning  and  has  also  been  clerk  of  the  school  board  for  five 
years,  while  during  his  residence  in  Westhope  he  was  a  member  of  the  town  council.  In 
business  circles  he  occupies  an  em  ial)le  position  and  is  held  in  high  regard  wherever  known. 


LYMAN  M.  KEEN. 


Lynuin  .M.  Keen,  of  the  llrni  of  Phipps  &  Keen,  was  born  in  Livermore,  Maine,  on  the 
16th  of  May,  lS4o,  and  was  reared  and  educated  in  the  old  Pine  Tree  state  where  he  was  living 
at  the  outbreak  of  the  Civil  war.  For  ten  months  he  was  numbered  among  the  boys  in 
blue,  having  enlisted  in  September,  1864,  as  a  member  of  the  Fifth  Maine  Battery.  In  1866 
he  went  to  Minnesota  and  jjurchased  land  in  Yellow  Medicine  county,  which  he  developed 
and  improved,  following  farming  there  for  eighteen  years.  At  length  he  removed  to  Hanley 
Falls,  Minnesota,  and  embarked  in  the  grain  business  with  his  son-in-law,  B.  C.  Phipps, 
under  tlie  firm  style  of  Phipps  &  Keen.  From  1905  to  1907  they  carried  on  business  in 
Westhope,  Bottineau  county,  North  Dakota,  and  from  there  removed  to  Dunning,  where 
they  now  own  and  operate  an  elevator.  Mr.  Keen  filed  on  land  in  Williams  county,  this 
.state,  and  proved  up  on  the  same,  but  has  since  rented  his  farm. 

On  the  14th  of  February,  1867,  he  married  Miss  Almina  Storer,  who  is  also  a  native 
of  Maine,  born  in  Weld,  February  28,  1847,  and  they  became  the  parents  of  two  children: 
Sarah,  who  married  .J.  H.  Emerson  and  died  in  June,  1907;  and  Effie,  the  wife  of  B.  C. 
Phipps.  Besides  their  grain  interests  both  Mr.  Keen  and  ilr.  Phipps  own  residence  property 
in  Westhope  and  Dunning.  The  former  served  as  county  supervisor  in  Williams  county, 
North  Dakota,  and  is  an  ardent  supporter  of  the  republican  party.  Both  he  and  his  wife 
liold  membership  in  the  Methodist  church,  and  he  also  belongs  to  the  Grand  Army  of  the 
Republic  and  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows.  They  are  widely  and  favorably  known 
and  their  circle  of  friends  is  almost  co-extensive  with  their  circle  of  acquaintances. 


HENRY  W.  DEZOTELL. 


Henry  W.  Dezotell,  a  partner  in  the  firm  of  H.  Dezotell  &  Son,  general  merchants  of 
Grand  Forks,  and  also  extensively  engaged  in  farming,  was  born  in  Oconomowoc,  Wisconsin, 
November  5,  1857.  a  son  of  Stephen  and  Caroline  (Getman)  Dezotell,  both  of  whom  were 
natives  of  .Jefferson  county.  New  York,  where  they  were  reared,  educated  and  married.  In 
the  early  '50s  they  removed  to  Wisconsin,  where  the  father  became  a  well  known  and 
]n-ominent  pioneer  farmer.  He  died  in  the  state  of  his  adoption  in  1872,  at  the  age  of 
forty-five  years,  while  his-  widow,  surviving  for  many  years,  passed  away  in  Chicago  in 
1915,  at  the  age  of  seventy-seven. 

Henry  W.  Dezotell,  the  second  of  four  children,  attended  the  public  schools  of  Wisconsin, 
iiursuing  a  high  school  course  in  Monroe  county.  Later  he  removed  to  Brown  Valley,  Minne- 
sota, where  he  became  connected  with  the  lumber  industry  and  there  remained  in  business 
until  1900,  when  he  sold  out  and  removed  to  ^NOnncapolis.  In  that  city  he  established 
a  wholesale  grain  business  which  he  carried  on  for  nine  years,  and  in  1909  he  removed  to 
North  Dakota  to  engage  in  the  real  estate  business.  In  that  connection  he  traveled  Tiack 
and  forth  between  North  Dakota  and  the  twin  cities  of  Minneapolis  and  St.  Paul,  inter- 


88  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

esting  prospective  farmers  and  settlers  in  this  state  with  its  wonderful  productiveness  and 
limitless  possibilities.  While  engaged  in  the  real  estate  business  he  brought  many  people 
to  North  Dakota  who  might  otherwise  never  have  come  and  yet  who,  like  Mr.  Dezotell,  have 
won  prosperitj'  during  the  period  of  their  residence  in  this  state.  He  personally  became 
interested  in  agriculture  and  at  the  present  time  owns  farm  lands  aggregating  thirty-six 
hundred  acres  under  cultivation,  utilized  for  the  production  of  grain.  On  each  of  his  farms 
he  has  erected  substantial  buildings  for  housing  his  vast  crops  and  he  also  utilizes  the 
most  modern  and  improved  machinery  for  planting,  cultivating  and  harvesting.  In  the 
harvest  season  he  employs  hundreds  of  extra  hands  to  gather  and  thresh  the  new  crop  and 
his  farms  are  indeed  places  where  the  hum  of  industry  is  continually  heard.  In  1913  Mr. 
Dezotell  established  a  department  store  at  Grand  Forks  which  is  one  of  the  leading  mer- 
cantile establishments  of  the  city,  being  now  carried  on  by  his  son  under  the  firm  style  of  H. 
Dezotell  &  Son,  while  the  father  largely  gives  his  attention  to  the  supervision  of  his  agri- 
cultural interests. 

In  June,  1879,  Mr.  Dezotell  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Ada  L.  Bigelow,  of  Tomah, 
Wisconsin,  by  whom  he  has  a  son,  Claude  E.,  who  was  born  at  Brown  Valley,  Minnesota,  in 
18S1,  is  now  married  and  acts  as  manager  of  the  firm  of  H.  Dezotell  &  Son  at  Grand  Forks. 

Fraternally  Mr.  Dezotell  is  a  Royal  Arch  Mason.  He  belongs  to  the  Commercial  Club 
and  he  gives  his  political  support  to  the  republican  party.  Since  his  fifteenth  year  he  has 
worked  his  way  upward  unaided  and  is  now  one  of  the  popular  and  prosperous  citizens  of 
Grand  Forks,  having  important  business  connections  which  contribute  to  the  general  welfare 
and  upbuilding  of  the  district  as  well  as  to  individual  success.  He  early  had  the  prescience 
to  discern  something  of  what  the  future  had  in  store  for  this  great  and  growing  western 
country  and,  acting  according  to  the  dictates  of  his  faith  and  judgment,  he  has  lived  to 
garner  in  the  fullness  of  time  the  results  of  his  labors  and  his  sagacity. 


.JOHN  C.  ARDUSER.  -^ 


For  almost  a  quarter  of  a  century  John  C.  Arduser  has  been  closely  associated  with 
the  agricultural  development  of  Lamoure  county,  having  arrived  there  in  1892.  His 
holdings  of  farm  property  are  now  extensive  and  he  is  accounted  one  of  the  most  pro- 
gressive agriculturists  of  his  district,  his  home  being  on  section  2,  Saratoga  township. 
He  was  horn  in  Buffalo  county,  Wisconsin,  in  June,  1871,  a  son  of  Leonard  and  Celia  (Christ) 
Arduser,  who  were  natives  of  Switzerland  and  in  1866  made  the  voyage  to  the  new 
world,  establisiiing  their  home  in  Wisconsin,  where  for  many  years  the  father  engaged 
in  farming.  In  1894  he  removed  to  Stutsman  county.  North  Dakota,  where  he  purchased 
land  and  carried  on  general  agricultural  pursuits  until  1901,  when  he  retired,  now  making 
his  home  with  a  daughter  in  Wisconsin.  His  wife  passed  away  in  November,  1912,  at  the 
age  of  seventy-five  years. 

Reared  on  a  Wisconsin  farm,  John  C.  Arduser  attended  district  school  near  his 
father's  place  and  through  the  summer  months  worked  in  the  fields.  He  thus  early  became 
familiar  with  the  best  methods  of  tilling  the  soil  and  caring  for  the  crops  and  he  continued 
with  his  father  until  he  reached  his  majority,  coming  to  North  Dakota  in  1892.  Making 
his  way  to  Lamoure  county,  he  purchased  his  present  farm  and  is  today  one  of  the  exten- 
sive landowners  of  his  part  of  the  state,  owning  one  and  a  half  sections  in  Lamoure  county, 
a  half  section  in  Stutsman  county  and  three-quarters  of  a  section  in  Barnes  county,  all 
in  one  tract,  his  home  being  upon  section  2,  Saratoga  township.  He  has  made  many 
improvements,  having  three  sets  of  farm  buildings,  while  the  land  has  been  brought  to  a 
high  state  of  cultivation  and  annually  returns  excellent  harvests  for  the  care  and  labor 
bestowed  upon  it.  The  buildings  are  substantial  and  commodious  and  the  equipments  of 
the  farm  in  the  way  of  machinery  and  agricultural  implements  are  thoroughly  modern 
and  up-to-date,  so  that  the  work  is  accomplished  with  facility  and  with  a  comparative 
measure  of  ease.  In  addition  to  his  farming  interests  he  is  a  stockholder  in  the  Farmers 
Elevator  Company  of  Dickc.y  and  also  in  the  Farmers  Elevator  Company  of  Marion. 
He  makes   a  specialty   of  raising  Red   Polled   cattle   and   Poland   China   hogs   and   his   live- 


JOHN  C.  ARDUSER 


THE  :^ 

PUB:-''  I  '^ 


A919K   !.I^ 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  91 

stock  interests  are  an  important  and  profitable  branch  of  liis  business.  He  is  also  well 
known  in  banking  circles  as  president  of  tlie  State  Bank  of  Adrian,  in  which  his  son  is  cashier. 

In  I'cbruary,  1893,  Mr.  Arduser  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Margaret  Crist  and  they 
liave  licconie  the  parents  of  nine  children,  Conrad,  Anna,  Celia,  Margaret,  Stella,  Albie, 
Luella,  Leonard  and  Verna. 

The  family  attend  the  Evangelical  church,  to  which  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Arduser  belong, 
and  he  also  has  membership  with  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America  and  the  Royal 
Neighbors.  He  exercises  his  right  of  franchise  in  support  of  the  men  and  measures  of  the 
republican  party  and  has  served  as  school  clerk  and  school  treasurer  and  also  as  a 
member  of  the  town  board.  He  does  not  seek  nor  desire  office,  preferring  to  give  his 
undivided  attention  to  his  business  affairs,  which,  capably  diiected,  have  won  him  place 
with  the  leading  agriculturists  and  financiers  of  his  part  of  Lamoure  county.  His 
success  is  attributable  entirely  to  his  own  efforts.  Brooking  no  obstacles  that  could  be 
overcome  by  persistent,  earnest  and  honorable  purpose,  he  has  steadily  advanced  and  the 
rewards  of  untiring  labor  are  now  his. 


JOHN  ORCHARD. 


John  Orchard,  engaged  in  the  real  estate  business  in  Dickinson,  spent  his  early  life 
near  London,  England.  He  was  the  fourth  in  order  of  birth  in  a  family  of  seven  children 
whose  parents  were  Thomas  and  Mary  Orchard.  The  father  was  a  lumber  merchant  of 
Exeter.  England,  and  he  and  his  wife  spent  their  entire  lives  in  that  country.  In  fact  .John 
Ordiard  is  the  only  representative  of  the  family  who  came  to  America.  He  acquired  a 
common  school  education  at  E.xeter,  England,  and  afterward  completed  the  course,  at  the 
same  college,  from  which  he  was  graduated  in  1873  on  the  completion  of  a  literary  course.  He 
crossed  the  Atlantic  when  twenty-two  j-ears  of  age  and  became  a  commissariat  officer  of 
the  Canadian  Pacific  Railroad.  He  was  also  a  member  of  the  surveying  staff'  of  the  railroad, 
which  blazed  the  trail  of  that  road  from  coast  to  coast.  The  section  surveyed  by  his  party 
was  to  Fort  Gary,  Winnipeg,  and  west  to  what  is  now  known  as  Moose  .Jaw.  That  work 
consumed  a  period  of  two  years  and  after  completing  the  survey  Mr.  Orchard  walked  with 
other  members  of  the  staff  from  Fort  Gary,  Winnipeg,  to  St.  Paul,  a  distance  of  five  hundred 
miles,  whicli  they  covered  in  thirty  days. 

When  that  work  was  completed  Mr.  Orchard  went  to  Toronto,  Canada,  where  he  wedded 
Miss  Isabella  Clark,  a  resident  of  that  city  and  a  daughter  of  Mrs.  Ann  Clark,  the  widow 
of  a  pioneer  of  that  locality.  Seven  children  have  been  born  of  this  marriage:  Ernest  R., 
state  bank  examiner  for  North  Dakota;  Norris  Grey,  a  practicing  physician  of  Rochester, 
New  York,  who  is  specializing  in  the  treatment  of  diseases  of  children;  Mrs.  W'elton 
McDonald,  a  resident  of  Dickinson;  Welland  .John,  who  is  proprietor  of  a  drug  store  in 
Dickinson;  and  Winifred,  Norris  and  Chudleigh,  all  of  whom  died  in  infancy.  The  surviving 
members  of  the  family  have  all  been  given  good  educational  privileges  and  are  graduates 
of  the  college  of  Fargo.  Mrs.  Orchard  was  born  in  Stirling  Castle  of  Scotland  whiU'  her 
fiither  was  acting  as  bandmaster  of  the  Stirling  Guards.  Later  he  went  to  Canada  as 
bandmaster  of  the  Ottawa  Guards,  which  position  he  filled  to  the  time  of  his  death  in  1854. 
He  was  one  of  the  pioneers  of  Canada.  In  the  spring  of  1915  Mr.  Orchard  was  called  upon 
to  mourn  the  loss  of  his  wife,  who  passed  away  in  April  of  that  year. 

Mr.  Orchard  was  at  one  time  interested  in  business  at  St.  Catherines,  Canada,  but  his 
health  failed  and  he  returned  to  England  on  a  visit.  He  there  entered  the  Young  Men's 
Christian  Association  work  in  London  in  the  capacity  of  secretary  and  remained  in  that 
country  for  a  period  of  ten  years.  He  has  in  his  possession  the  only  Y.  M.  C.  A.  ineniber- 
sliip  card  in  the  United  States  which  was  signed  by  Sir  George  Williams,  the  founder  of 
the  association.  On  returning  to  this  country  Mr.  Orchard  settled  in  Dickinson,  North 
Dakota,  in  July,  1892,  and  was  the  pioneer  pastor  of  the  Congregational  church.  In  1895 
he  removed  to  Fargo,  where  he  was  pastor  of  the  Plymouth  Congregational  church  and  was 
also  secretary  of  the  Young  Men's  Cliristian  Association  of  Fargo  at  the  same  time.  After 
retiring  from  the  pastorate  he  spent  fourteen  years  as  international  state  Sunday  school 
Vol.  in— 8 


92  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

secretary  of  Minnesota,  North  Dakota  and  Montana  and  when  ho  resigned  that  position  he 
was  presented  with  a  beautiful  watch  as  a  token  of  tlie  appreciation  of  liis  fellowmcn  for  the 
splendid  service  which  he  had  performed  in  that  connection.  In  1910  he  returned  to  Dickinson 
and  opened  a  real  estate  and  loan  office,  since  which  time  he  has  carried  on  business  along 
that  line. 

Mr.  Orchard  has  ever  given  his  aid  and.  influence  on  the  side  of  progress,  upbuilding 
and  improvement  and  for  five  years  he  was  secretary  of  the  Commercial  Club  of  Dickinson. 
He  was  also  associated  with  Fred  Turner  in  the  promotion  of  the  National  Highway  Asso- 
ciation, now  known  as  the  Eed  Trail.  This  association  was  organized  by  the  Commercial 
Club  of  Dickinson,  of  which  Mayor  White  was  then  president  and  Mr.  Orchard  secretary. 
Twenty  thousand  dollars  was  raised  by  voluntary  subscription  for  the  building  of  the 
famous  Medora  bridge,  now  a  prominent  link  in  the  Red  Trail.  Mr.  Orchard  is  also  well 
known  in  Masonic  circles.  He  Is  a  representative  of  a  family  whose  ancestry  can  be  traced 
through  many  centuries  and  one  of  his  ancestors  was  Helliwell  Orchard,  a  prominent  early 
figure  in  Masonry,  the  writer  of  the  Helliwell  poem,  which  is  a  recognized  authority  on 
Masonry.  This  dates  back  to  the  thirteenth  century,  It  was  in  1893  that  Mr.  Orchard  of 
this  review  became  a  member  of  Dickinson  Lodge,  No.  33,  F.  &  A.  M.  He  has  since  taken 
advanced  degrees  in  the  order  and  is  now  prelate  of  Temple  Commandery,  No.  13,  K.  T., 
of  Dickinson.  Mr.  Orchard  has  traveled  extensively,  gaining  that  broad  and  liberal  culture 
which  only  travel  can  bring.  He  has  visited  France,  Germany,  Holland,  Belgium,  Switzerland, 
Spain,  Italy  and  Portugal  as  well  as  many  sections  of  the  United  States  and  has  done 
most  important  work  in  the  field  of  educational  and  Christian  organization.  The  greater 
part  of  his  life  has  been  devoted  to  activities  of  that  character  and  his  chief  ambition  and 
purpose  has  been  to  aid  as  far  as  in  his  power  in  the  mental  and  spiritual  development  of 
the  race.  His  ideals  of  life  are  high  and  his  efforts  have  been  practical  and  resultant.  For 
about  four  years  he  was  a  contributor  to  the  Cook  Publishing  Company  periodicals.  It 
would  be  tautological  in  this  connection  to  enter  into  any  series  of  statements  showing  him 
to  be  a  man  of  broad  scholarly  attainments,  for  this  has  been  shadowed  forth  between  the 
lines  of  this  review,  but  it  is  just  to  say  in  a  work  that  will  descend  to  future  generations 
that  he  is  also  a  man  of  wide  sympathy  whose  study  of  human  nature  has  led  to  most 
earnest  and  effective  results  for  the  benefit  of  his  fellowmen. 


HANS  OPPEGARD. 


The  prevalence  of  Norwegian  names  on  the  roster  of  North  Dakota's  citizens  indicates 
how  largely  the  state  is  indebted  to  the  land  of  the  midnight  sun  for  its  settlement,  devel- 
opment and  improvement.  Actively  identified  with  farming  in  Barnes  county,  near  Dazey,  and 
with  other  business  interests  is  Hans  Oppegard,  who  was  born  at  Loiten,  Norway,  December 
16,  1853.  His  ancestors  were  farming  people  and  in  a  family  of  seven  sons  and  three 
daughters  he  was  the  second  in  order  of  birth.  The  period  of  his  minority  was  spent  in 
his  native  land,  but  attracted  by  the  opportunities  of  the  new  world,  he  came  to  America 
in  1878.  After  a  year  spent  in  Minneapolis  he  arrived  in  Barnes  county,  North  Dakota,  in 
1879,  when  the  work  of  progress  and  improvement  had  scarcely  been  begun  within  its 
borders,  much  of  the  land  being  still  in  possession  of  the  government.  He  secured  a  home- 
stead claim  adjoining  the  present  town  site  of  Dazey  and  also  took  a  tree  claim.  At  that 
time  his  nearest  neighbor  was  fifteen  miles  distant.  He  began  the  arduous  task  of  developing 
a  farm  and,  believing  in  the  future  of  the  state,  in  1880  he  induced  a  few  others  to  locate 
In  the  district,  while  in  1883  and  1883  a  large  number  came.  Through  his  letters  and 
reports  to  Norway  he  was  instrumental  in  having  many  of  his  fellow  countrymen  come, 
including  five  of  his  brothers  and  two  of  his  sisters,  while  one  brother  and  one  sister  died  in 
Norway.  His  brother  Nels  became  register  of  deeds  in  Winona  county,  Minnesota,  and 
occupied  that  position  for  a  number  of  years,  while  at  the  present  time  he  is  serving  as 
postmaster  at  Galesville,  Wisconsin.  He  is  a  man  of  scholarly  attainments,  who  before 
leaving  Norway  acquired  a  knowledge  of  French,  German  and  English  as  well  as  his  native 
tongue. 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  93 

As  opportunity  has  offered  Hans  Oppegard  has  added  to  his  original  land  holdings  until 
he  today  has  sixteen  hundred  acres  near  Uazey  and  in  partnership  with  his  son  an  addi- 
tional four  hundred  and  sixty  acre  tract.  Of  late  years  he  has  been  leasing  his  land  to 
renters  ami  now  makes  his  home  in  Dazey,  but  for  a  long  jieriod  he  was  actively  engaged 
in  tilling  the  soil  and  his  efforts  constituted  a  most  important  element  in  the  reclamation 
of  a  wild  district  tdr  tlic  purposes  of  civilization. 

Mr.  Oppegard  was  appointed  county  commissioner  in  territorial  days  in  the  year  1885 
and  afterward  was  elected  for  two  terms  of  three  years  each,  while  in  1902  he  was  chosen 
by  popular  suffrage  for  the  office  of  sheriff'  of  Barnes  county,  to  which  position  he  waa 
reelected  in  1904,  serving  in  all  for  four  years,  his  record  being  characterized  by  prompt 
and  fearless  performance  of  his  duties,  notwithstanding  the  fact  that  he  had  some  rough 
jobs  to  perform.  Blind  pigs  were  plentiful  and  on  one  occasion  he  had  twenty-four  culprits 
in  jail,  of  whom  fifteen  were  bootleggers  and  owners  of  blind  pigs.  Many  tough  cliaracters 
were  in  the  county  at  tliat  day  or  passed  through  it  en  route  to  other  districts,  and  it 
required  a  man  of  stout  heart  and  unllincliing  courage  to  fill  the  office,  in  which  Mr.  Oppe- 
gard made  a  most  creditable  record. 

On  the  17th  of  March,  1871,  Mr.  Oppegard  wedded  Lorenzo  Nikelb}',  a  native  of  Loiten, 
Norway,  whose  father  was  a  farmer  and  landowner  there.  Seven  children  have  been  born 
of  this  marriage:  Carrie,  the  wife  of  Benjamin  Elstead,  of  Minnesota;  Elmer,  a  merchant 
of  Dazey;  Julia,  the  wife  of  Ole  Michaelson,  of  Valley  City;  Ole,  who  is  in  partnership  with 
his  father  in  the  implement  business  in  Dazey,  where  he  began  business  in  1903;  Palmer, 
deceased;  John,  who  is  cultivating  his  father's  home  farm;  and  Marie,  at  home.  Two  of 
the  sons,  Ole  and  Palmer,  were  graduated  from  the  State  Agricultural  College,  while  Marie 
pursued  a  course  in  the  Valley  City  State  Normal.  The  son  Palmer,  who  was  killed  by  a 
train  at  Fargo  in  1902,  had  made  an  excellent  record  and  was  a  young  man  of  great  promise 
and  exemplary  habits.  It  was  his  intention  to  become  a  railway  engineer  but  death  inter- 
vened, his  loss  being  deeply  regretted  by  a  very  extensive  circle  of  friends  as  well  as  by  his 
immediate  family. 

ill'.  Oppegard  has  made  several  visits  back  to  his  old  home  in  Norway  and  maintains 
a  love  for  his  native  land  while  displaying  the  utmost  devotion  to  the  country  of  his  adoption. 
He  holds  membership  in  the  organization  known  as  the  Sons  of  Norway  and  he  belongs 
also  to  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America.  There  is  no  phase  of  pioneer  life  in  Barnes  county 
with  which  he  is  not  familiar,  for,  arriving  here  at  an  early  day,  he  passed  through  all 
of  the  experiences  and  hardships  incident  to  settlement  on  the  frontier.  He  remembers 
well  when  deer  and  antelope  were  luimerous  and  w  lien  an  occasional  buffalo  would  be  seen.  One 
could  ride  for  miles  over  the  prairie  without  coming  to  a  house  or  fence  to  impede  his 
progress,  and  the  most  farsighted  could  scarcely  have  imagined  that  man  would  bring  about 
such  wonderful  changes  within  a  few  decades.  Mr.  Oppegard  himself  has  induced  many  to 
settle  in  the  county  and  has  contributed  his  full  share  to  the  work  of  public  progress  and 
improvement. 


AXEL  EGELAND. 


Axel  Egeland  is  president  of  the  First  National  Bank  of  Bisbee  and  has  been  prominently 
connected  with  affairs  of  importance  in  the  community  and  in  the  state,  his  efforts  along 
various  lines  constituting  a  force  in  the  development  and  upbuilding  of  North  Dakota.  A 
native  of  Norway,  he  was  born  June  9,  1875,  of  the  marriage  of  Christian  and  Valborg 
(Nannestad)  Egeland,  who  were  also  natives  of  the  land  of  the  midnight  sun.  The  father 
was  a  Lutheran  minister  and  engaged  in  preaching  the  gospel  in  Norway  throughout  his 
entire  life.  Tliere  he  passed  away  in  October,  1900,  having  for  a  considerable  period  sur- 
vived his  wife,  who  died  in  January,  1886. 

Axel  Egeland  was  reared  in  Norway  to  the  age  of  seventeen  years,  when  in  1893  he 
bade  adieu  to  friends  and  native  land  and  sailed  for  America.  He  made  his  way  to  Adrian, 
Minnesota,  where  he  remained  for  three  years  and  then  removed  to  Wilder,  Minnesota, 
where  he  attended  a  business  college.     He  afterward  taught  in  the  business  college  for  four 


94  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

years  and  later  beeaine  a  resident  of  \Mndoni,  Minnesota,  wliere  lie  was  employed  by  a  real 
estate  iirni  until  I'JOl.  He  then  embarked  in  the  real  estate  business  on  his  own  aecount 
but  after  two  years  disposed  of  his  interests  in  Minnesota  and  came  to  North  Dakota  in 
1903,  settling  at  Bisbee,  Towner  county.  There  he  organized  the  First  National  Bank, 
of  which  he  acted  as  cashier  until  1907,  when  he  became  vice  president  and  in  1909  he  was 
elected  to  the  presidency.  The  other  officers  are:  C.  H.  Olson  and  John  Kelly,  who  are 
vice  presidents,  and  C.  J.  Ness,  cashier.  The  capital  stock  of  the  bank  is  twenty-five 
thousand  dollars,  while  its  surplus  has  reached  five  thousand  dollars  and  its  deposits  three 
hundred  and  fifty  thousand  dollars.  This  is  a  strong,  safe  and  reliable  bank,  the  business 
poliej'  being  such  as  will  bear  the  closest  investigation  and  scrutiny.  In  1903  they  erected 
a  modern  bank  building  on  Main  street,  so  that  the  institution  is  now  well  housed.  Mr. 
Egeland  is  also  the  president  of  the  Fir.st  National  Bank  at  Rolette  and  of  the  First  State 
Bank  at  Mylo,  North  Dakota.  He  is  likewise  joint  owner  of  the  Bisbee  Gazette  and  in  con- 
nection with  others  he  owns  and  operates  four  thousand  acres  of  land  and  is  the  secretary 
and  treasurer  of  the  Towner  County  Land  &  Investment  Company. 

In  JIareh.  1904,  Mr.  Egeland  was  married  to  Miss  Ida  St.  Clair  Colles  and  to  them  were 
born  two  daughters:    Bessie  V.,  born  August  8,  1908;  and  Edith  V.,  March  24,  1910. 

In  politics  Mr.  Egeland  is  a  republican  and  was  elected  to  the  office  of  county  surveyor 
but  did  not  qualify.  The  town  of  Egeland  in  Towner  county  was  named  in  his  honor. 
He  has  served  as  president  of  the  village  council  of  Bisbee  for  several  terms  and  he  cooper- 
ates heartily  in  all  plans  and  measures  to  promote  the  upbuilding  and  progress  of  his 
community.  He  belongs  to  the  Masonic  order,  in  which  he  has  attained  high  rank,  as  is 
indicated  in  the  fact  that  he  is  connected  with  the  Mj'stic  Shrine.  He  is  also  a  member  of 
the  Benevolent  Protective  Order  of  Elks,  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows,  the  Modern 
Woodmen  of  America,  the  Yeomen  and  the  Royal  Neighbors.  His  religious  faith  is  that 
of  the  Episcopal  church.  Throughout  the  period  of  his  residence  in  North  Dakota  he  has 
ever  been  deeplj'  interested  in  the  work  of  progi'css  and  improvement  and  his  cooperation 
has  been  an  important  factor  in  promoting  the  welfare  of  hislcommunity  in  many  ways. 
He  was  also  a  member  of  the  Panama-Pacific  commission  from  North  Dakota  which  went  to 
San  Francisco  and  selected  a  site  for  the  erection  of  the  North  Dakota  building,  which  they 
dedicated.  In  a  word  Mr.  Egeland  is  a  forceful  and  resourceful  man  and  what  he  has 
accomplished  represents  the  fit  utilization  of  his  innate  powers  and  talents.  He  has  used 
his  time  and  opportunities  well  and  his  life  should  serve  to  inspire  and  encourage  others, 
showing  what  may  be  accomplished  and  indicating  also  that  success  and  an  honored  name 
may  be  won  simultaneously.  , 


ENOCH  A.  HOFF. 


Enoch  A.  Hoff'.  cashier  of  the  Farmers  Bank  at  Ypsilanti,  is  a  representative  of  that 
substantial  class  of  citizens  who  have  left  Minnesota  to  aid  in  the  settlement,  development 
and  progress  of  North  Dakota.  He  was  born  in  Ottertail  county,  Minnesota,  November  12, 
1881,  a  son  of  Andrew-  T.  and  Anna  (Hille)  Hoff,  natives  of  Norway.  Crossing  the  Atlantic, 
they  settled  in  Ottertail  county  about  1872  and  there  the  father  engaged  in  general  farming. 
The  mother  died  in  the  spring  of  1888  and  the  father  afterward  married  again,  his  second 
union  being  with  Isabelle  Johnson.  He  is  now  living  in  Grant  county,  Minnesota,  where 
he  is  still  actively  engaged  in  farming.  By  his  first  marriage  he  had  four  children,  of  whom 
Enoch  A.  is  the  second,  and  by  his  second  marriage  there  were  born  eight  children. 

Enoch  A.  Hoff,  reared  in  the  usual  manner  of  the  farmbred  boy,  began  his  education  in 
the  common  schools  of  Minnesota  and  afterward  pursued  his  studies  at  the  Park  Region 
College  of  Fergus  Falls,  Minnesota.  Still  later  he  entered  the  State  University  of  Minne- 
sota, where  he  pursued  a  course  in  law  and  won  the  Bachelor  of  Laws  degree  upon  gradua- 
tion in  the  spring  of  1905.  After  leaving  school  he  went  to  Evansville,  Minnesota,  where  he 
engaged  in  law  practice  for  a  year  and  a  half,  and  later  followed  his  profession  at  Ray, 
North  Dakota,  for  one  year.  He  then  removed  to  Ypsilanti  in  1909  and  in  connection  with 
M.  O.  Ruud,  of  Jamestown,  Amos  Jacobson,  of  Y'psilanti,  and  several  Minnesota   people  he 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  95 

organizoil  the  Farmers  Bank,  of  which  lie  became  cashier,  and  in  that  capacity  has  since 
miiiiaged  and  controlled  the  interests  of  the  institution,  which  has  had  a  successful  existence, 
its  business  steadily  growing  as  the  years  have  gone  by.  Aside  from  his  banking  interests 
he  owns  considerable  property,  including  farm  lands  in  Ypsilanti  township,  Stutsman  county, 
also  land  in  Lamoure  and  Burleigh  counties.  North  Dakota,  and  in  Ottcrtail  county, 
Alinnesota. 

On  the  ITtli  of  necember,  lillS,  Mr.  Tlcilf  was  married  to  Miss  Elsie  Vogel,  who  was  born 
at  Arcadia,  Wisconsin,  October  2,  1888,  a  daughter  of  William  and  Maria  (Clark)  Vogel  who 
are  now  residents  of  Arcadia,  where  they  have  spent  the  greater  part  of  their  lives.  The 
father  was  for  many  years  actively  engaged  in  farming  but  is  now  living  retired.  Their 
daughter,  Jlrs.  Hoff,  was  the  ninth  in  order  of  birth  in  their  family  of  ten  children  and  by 
her  marriage  slie  has  become  the  mother. of  a  little  daughter,  Marie,  born  February  23,  1915. 

In  his  political  views  Mr.  Hoff  is  a  republican  and  has  held  the  office  of  treasurer  in 
Vpsilanti  townsliip  and  also  has  been  school  treasurer.  He  is  a  member  of  the  Norwegian 
Lutheran  church  of  Ypsilanti  and  his  life  is  guided  by  high  and  honorable  principles  which 
find  their  exjiression  in  straightforward  business  methods  and  in  recognition  of  his  duties 
and  obligations  to  his  fellowmen  at  all  times. 


MICHAEL  BREEN. 


Michael  Breen,  editor  of  the  Wolford  Mirror,  published  at  W'olford,  Pierce  county,  was 
born  at  Mount  Forest,  Ontario,  Canada,  in  February,  1871.  His  parents,  Michael  and  Nora 
(Mahany)  Breen,  were  natives  of  Ireland.  It  was  in  the  year  1837  that  the  father  bade  adieu 
to  friends  and  native  land  and  sailed  for  Canada,  where  he  engaged  in  the  manufacture  of 
potash,  residing  at  ilount  Forest,  Ontario,  throughout  his  remaining  days.  He  was  acci- 
dentally killed  while  engaged  in  a  i^iece  of  contract  work  in  the  year  1873  and  his  widow, 
surviving  for  a  third  of  a  century,  passed  away  in  190G. 

Michael  Breen  was  reared  and  educated  in  Mount  Forest  and  after  his  textbooks  were 
put  aside  began  learning  the  printer's  trade,  which  pursuit  he  has  followed  continuously 
since.  In  1905  he  arrived  in  Wolford,  North  Dakota,  and  removed  his  newspaper  plant  to 
that  place,  issuing  the  first  number  of  the  Wolford  Mirror  on  the  28th  of  September  of  that 
year.  He  has  since  conducted  the  paper  and  has  made  it  an  influential  factor  in  the  upbuild- 
ing of  the  town,  which  was  started  in  1905,  Mr.  Breen  being  one  of  the  first  settlers  there. 
He  is  also  secretary  of  the  Farmers  Elevator  Company  and  his  business  interests  are  ever 
wisely  and  carefully  conducted.  He  has  one  of  the  excellent  printing  plants  of  the  state 
equipped  with  a  linotype  machine  and  all  modern  facilities  for  newspaper  publication  and 
job  work.  His  patronage  has  steadily  grown  and  by  reason  of  its  large  circulation  the 
paper  has  become  an  excellent  advertising  medium. 

In  February,  1900,  Mr.  Breen  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Thomascene  C.  Hendrie. 
They  are  members  of  the  Catholic  church  and  Mr.  Breen  belongs  to  the  Benevolent  Pro- 
tective Order  of  Elks,  the  ilodern  \V'oodmen  of  America  and  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd 
Fellows.  Politically  he  is  a  republican  and  while  serving  as  justice  of  the  peace  performed 
the  first  marriage  ceremony  in  Wolford.  In  a  word  he  has  been  actively  connected  with  the 
development  of  his  town,  doing  much  for  its  upbuilding  and  progress  along  many  lines  of 
public  benefit. 


OEOROE  W^  GETTS. 


George  W.  Getts,  a  dealer  in  pianos  and  other  musical  instruments  in  Grand  Forks, 
is  actuated  by  a  spirit  of  business  enterprise  and  progress  that  has  made  his  establishment 
one  of  the  leading  musical  houses  in  the  state.  He  was  born  in  La  Crosse,  Wisconsin, 
Sejtember  30,  1871,  a  son  of  Albert  and  Sarah  (Gurr)  Getts,  The  father,  also  a  native  of 
W'isconsin,   was   a   representative   of   one    of   the   pioneer   families   of   that   state,   of    German 


96  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

descent.  The  founder  of  the  American  branch  of  the  family  settled  at  Philadelphia,  Pennsyl- 
vania. In  early  life  Albert  Getts  successfully  engaged  in  hotel-keeping  at  La  Ciosse, 
Wisconsin,  and  in  his  later  years  turned  his  attention  to  agricultural  pursuits.  Coining  to 
North  Dakota,  he  cast  in  his  lot  with  the  pioneer  settlers  of  Ramsey  county  in  1892  and  there 
engaged  in  farming  for  a  considerable  period  but  is  now  living  retired  in  Alberta,  Canada. 
He  is  a  Civil  war  veteran,  having  served  as  a  member  of  an  infantry  regiment  of  Wis- 
consin volunteers,  for  about  three  years,  during  which  period  he  rendered  valiant  aid  to  the 
country  in  her  effort  to  preserve  the  Union.  His  wife  was  born  in  Illinois  and  belonged  to 
one  of  the  old  families  of  that  state,  her  father,  William  Gurr,  having  taken  up  his  abode 
in  Cook  county  at  a  very  early  day,  owning  land  that  is  now  included  within  the  corpora- 
tion limits  of  Chicago.  Both  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Getts  are  members  of  the  Presbyterian  church. 
His  political  allegiance  is  given  to  the  republican  party  and  he  still  maintains  membership 
in  the  Grand  Army  of  the  Republic.  To  him  and  his  wife  have  been  born  four  children, 
George  W.,  Edith,  Gardo  and  Irwin. 

(Jeorge  W.  Getts  began  his  education  in  the  public  schools  of  Minneapolis,  to  which 
city  his  parents  removed  during  his  early  boyhood,  and  later  he  studied  at  Devils  Lake, 
North  Dakota,  being  there  graduated  from  the  high  school  with  the  class  of  1891.  His 
early  life  was  spent  upon  the  home  farm  and  at  the  age  of  twenty  years  he  started  out  to 
earn  his  livelihood,  becoming  connected  with  the  music  trade  when  he  bought  out  the  D.  G. 
Wright  Music  Company  at  Devils  Lake.  He  began  business  there  in  a  comparatively  small 
way,  his  cash  capital  consisting  of  but  three  hundred  dollars.  For  twelve  years  he  remained 
at  Devils  Lake  and  during  that  period  developed  his  trade  to  extensive  proportions,  becoming 
the  head  of  one  of  the  leading  music  houses  of  the  city.  In  1903  he  removed  his  business 
to  Grand  Forks,  \\-here  he  has  remained  continuously  since  engaged  in  the  sale  of  pianos, 
organs  and  general  musical  instruments  and  supplies,  at  No.  23  South  Third  street.  The 
business  has  been  incorporated  under  the  name  of  the  Getts  Company  and  is  capitalized 
for  two  hundred  and  fifty  thousand  dollars.  Mr.  Getts  is  the  president  with  Mrs.  Pearl  A. 
Getts  as  the  vice  president  and  H.  B.  King  as  secretary  and  treasurer. 

On  the  1st  of  June,  1901,  in  irinneapolis,  Minnesota,  Mr.  Getts  was  married  to  Miss 
Pearl  A.  Roe,  a  native  of  Iowa,  and  they  now  have  four  children,  George  W.,  Madeline.  Dorothj- 
and  Charles  Roe,  all  natives  of  Grand  Forks,  living  with  their  parents  at  No.  885  Belmont 
street,  which  is  one  of  the  most  attractive  residence  districts  of  the  city. 

Mr.  Getts  exercises  his  right  of  franchise  in  support  of  the  principles  and  candidates 
of  the  republican  party  and  he  is  a  member  of  the  Commercial  Club,  being  in  hearty  sym- 
pathy with  its  purposes  and  plans  for  the  upbuilding  of  the  city  and  the  extension  of  its 
trade  relations.  Fraternally  he  is  connected  with  the  Masons  and  has  taken  the  degiees  of 
the  York  Rite  and  the  Mystic  Shrine.  He  belongs  to  the  First  Presbyterian  church  and 
stands  for  those  things  which  are  most  worth  while  to  the  individual  and  to  the  community. 


FRED  ROBLE. 


Fred  Roble,  editor  of  the  Dcering  Enterprise  and  postmaster  of  Deering,  McHenry 
county,  was  born  at  Cannon  Falls,  Minnesota,  on  the  4th  of  October,  1883,  a  son  of  Ignatius 
and  Louise  S.  (Warnemunde)  Roble,  the  latter  a  native  of  Germany.  The  father,  a  native 
of  Vienna,  Austria,  came  to  the  United  States  when  a  youth  of  seventeen  years,  while  the 
mother  was  brought  to  the  United  States  during  her  childhood  by  her  parents,  who  settled 
in  Illinois  Imt  afterward  removed  to  the  vicinity  of  St.  Peter,  Minnesota,  where  her  father 
homesteaded  and  engaged  in  farming  for  a  number  of  years,  at  the  end  of  which  time  he 
took  up  his  abode  in  St.  Peter.  Ignatius  Roble  was  a  millwright  by  trade  and  on  coming 
to  the  new  world  established  his  home  in  Minnesota,  where  he  was  employed  at  his  trade 
for  several  years.  Later  on  account  of  his  health  he  turned  his  attention  to  carpentering 
and  contracting.  He  died  at  Austin,  Minnesota,  December  3,  1893,  while  his  widqw,  sur- 
viving for  twenty-one  years,  passed  away  in  the  same  town  in  January,  1915. 

Fred  Roble  attended  the  public  schools  of  Austin  and  as  early  as  his  eleventh  year 
began   learning  the  printer's  trade   in  the  office  of   his   brother,  Frank  J.  Roble,  who   was 


F'RED  ROBLE 


n 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  99 

publishing  the  Austin  Weekly  and  Daily  Herald.  He  served  as  a  newsboy  for  his  brother 
and  afterward  entered  the  ollice  as  printer's  devil.  He  completed  his  apprenticeship  at  the 
trade  and  acquainted  himself  with  every  phase  of  the  business.  In  1898  his  brother  Frank 
sold  his  interest  in  the  Herald  and  removed  to  Devils  Lake,  North  Dakota,  where  he  took 
charge  of  the  Devils  Lake  News  in  the  absence  of  the  editor,  Phil  Short,  who  had  gone  with 
his  regiment  to  the  Philippines.  In  1839  Fied  Roble  went  to  Devils  Lake  and  for  the 
following  two  years  was  employed  in  the  office  of  the  News,  but  in  February,  1901, 
returned  to  Austin,  Minnesota.  In  August  of  the  same  year,  however,  he  once  more  came 
to  North  Dakota  and  worked  for  his  brother  Frank  on  a  farm  which  the  latter  had  taken 
up  as  a  homestead  claim  in  McHenry  county.  Fred  Roble  was  thus  engaged  in  farming 
until  190C,  when  he  once  more  entered  the  newspaper  field  as  an  employe  of  the  two 
Granville  papers,  the  Record  and  the  Herald.  He  was  thus  engaged  until  the  fall  of  1907, 
when  he  was  called  to  ISIohall  to  take  charge  of  the  Mohall  News,  which  he  managed  for 
about  a  year.  In  1908  he  secured  a  homestead  in  McHenry  county  six  miles  north  of 
Deering  and  in  April,  1909,  he  bought  the  plant  of  the  Enterprise,  which  he  has  since 
published,  making  it  an  attractive  and  readable  journal  which  has  a  wide  circulation  and 
therefore  proves  a  good  advertising  medium,  in  which  connection  the  paper  has  secured 
a  gratifying  patronage.  In  F'ebruary,  1915,  Mr.  Roble  was  appointed  postmaster  of  Deer- 
ing and  is  now  filling  that  position. 

On  the  21st  of  March,  1908,  occurred  the  marriage  of  Mr.  Roble  and  Miss  Amand^i 
Wallin,  of  Fergus  Falls,  Minnesota.  He  belongs  to  Deering  Lodge,  No.  140,  I.  0.  0.  F.,  and 
Pratt  Camp,  M.  W.  A.,  and  his  political  endorsement  is  given  to  the  republican  party. 
He  has  led  an  active  life,  endeavoring  at  all  times  to  win  advancement  in  the  business 
world,  and  through  untiring  effort  and  industry  he  has  reached  a  creditable  place  among 
the  representative  business  men  of  his  town  and  county. 


ARTHUR  C.  WEHE. 


Arthur  C.  Wche,  engaged  in  the  real  estate  and  investment  business  at  Lakota,  has  with 
enthusiasm  undertaken  this  work  and  has  become  the  possessor  of  expert  knowledge  con- 
cerning realty  values.  He  is  a  product  of  the  University  of  North  Dakota  and  with  thorough 
collegiate  training  he  resolutely  took  up  the  duties  of  practical  business  life.  He  was  born 
in  Milwaukee,  Wisconsin,  August  3,  1867,  a  son  of  Charles  L.  Wehe,  who  was  a  native  of 
Portage,  New  York.  The  grandfather,  John  Peter  Wehe  of  (ierman  birth,  came  to  America 
in  1839,  settling  at  Portage,  whence  in  1840  he  removed  to  Milwaukee,  there  conducting  a 
farm,  his  land  covering  the  district  that  is  now  in  the  heart  of  the  city.  His  son,  Charles 
L.  Wehe.  was  educated  in  Milwaukee,  attending  German  and  public  schools,  and  as  a  young 
man  he  engaged  in  the  boot  and  shoe  business  in  that  city.  In  1868  he  became  a  shoe 
merchant  of  Chicago,  where  he  built  up  an  extensive  trade  and  at  the  time  of  the  great 
fire  of  October,  1871,  was  proprietor  of  two  large  stores  in  that  city.  In  1882  he  removed 
with  his  family  to  North  Dakota,  settling  at  Grand  Forks  in  June  of  that  year.  In  thS 
following  autumn  he  preempted  a  homestead,  securing  four  hundred  and  eighty  acres  of 
land  in  Illinois  township,  to  which  he  devoted  his  attention  for  a  number  of  years  but  at 
at  length  he  retired  from  agricultural  pursuits  and  has  since  been  upon  the  road  as  a 
traveling  salesman,  representing  eastern  shoe  manufacturers.  He  makes  his  home  in  Grand 
Forks.  He  is  a  Civil  war  veteran,  having  served  with  the  Twenty-fourth  Illinois  Volunteer 
Infantry  from  1862  until  he  was  captured.  For  more  than  a  year  he  was  held  as  a  prisoner 
of  war  and  endured  all  manner  of  hardships  and  privations.  He  is  now  a  member  of  Gordon 
Post,  G.  A.  R.,  of  Grand  Forks,  and  in  politics  he  has  always  been  a  republican,  supporting 
the  party  which  was  the  defense  of  the  Union  during  the  dark  days  of  the  Civil  war  and 
which  has  always  been  the  party  of  reform  and  progress.  He  has  never  sought  nor  desired 
political  preferment  and  has  never  consented  to  serve  save  in  some  township  offices.  In 
early  manhood  he  wedded  Paulina  Dolch,  a  native  of  Saxony,  Germany,  who  was  brought 
to  America   by  her   parents   when   nine   years   of  age,  the   family   settling  just   outside   of 


99231« 


100  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

Milwaukee,  Wisconsin,  where  Iier  father  took  up  land.  Mrs.  Weho  passed  away  in  Grand 
Forks,  October  13,  1914,  at  the  age  of  seventy-one  years. 

Arthur  C.  Wche  was  the  eldest  in  a  family  of  ten  cliildren  and  supplemented  his  early 
education,  acquired  in  the  schools  of  Chicago,  by  four  years'  study  in  the  University  of 
North  Dakota.  He  remained  upon  the  homo  farm  to  the  age  of  twenty-four  year.s  and  he 
became  familiar  with  the  best  methods  of  tilling  the  soil  and  caring  for  the  crops.  At  the 
age  of  eighteen  years  he  took  charge  of  the  home  farm,  his  father  being  upon  the  road 
as  a  shoe  salesman,  and  managed  the  property  thereafter  for  six  years.  In  1888  Arthur 
C.  Wehe  took  up  a  claim  of  one  hundred  and  sixty  acres,  which  he  continued  to  farm  until 
1890.  He  then  pursued  a  Course  in  the  School  of  Law  at  Detroit,  Michigan,  after  which 
he  turned  his  attention  to  the  real  estate,  loan  and  insurance  business  at  Lakota,  in  which 
line  he  has  since  been  active,  success  attending  his  well  directed  efforts.  He  lias  the  largest 
farm  insurance  business  in  the  county  and  the  number  of  his  clients  is  steadily  groAving, 
business  enterprise  and  perseverance  winning  for  liira  notable  and  well  merited  success. 

On  the  14th  of  November,  1894,  Mr.  Wehe  was  married  at  Niagara,  North  Dakota,  to 
Miss  Delia  E.  Folger,  who  was  born  near  Topeka,  Kansas,  a  daughter  of  Daniel  and  Cynthia 
Folger  and  a  representative  of  an  old  family  of  Lockport,  New  York,  of  English  descent. 
Her  mother  is  now  deceased.  By  her  marriage  Mrs.  Wehe  has  become  the  mother  of  two 
cliildren:  Roy  A.,  who  was  born  September  28,  1895,  and  is  now  a  junior  in  the  State 
University;  and  Blanche  L.,  who  was  born  in  October,  1898,  and  is  now  a  senior  in  the  high 
school  at  Lakota. 

Mr.  Wehe  is  a  stalwart  republican  and  has  filled  various  township  odices,  while  for 
three  terms  he  has  been  a  member  of  the  Lakota  city  council.  He  has  always  taken  a  most 
active  part  in  politics  and  served  on  the  executive  committee  under  the  old  convention  system 
and  was  also  chairman  of  the  republican  central  committee  of  Nelson  county.  He  has 
connection  with  various  fraternal  organizations,  including  the  Odd  Fellows,  the  Knights  of 
Pythias,  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America  and  the  Owls.  He  belongs  to  the  Commercial 
Club  and  to  the  Methodist  church  and  he  is  interested  in  all  those  factors  which  feature  in 
the  material,  intellectual,  social,  political  and  moral  develojiment  and  progress  of  the 
community. 


PETER  W.  CLAUSEN. 


Peter  W.  Clausen,  vice  president  of  the  Bank  of  York,  was  born  in  Brown  county, 
Minnesota,  May  37.  1884,  and  belongs  to  that  class  of  representative  young  business  men 
who  recognize  that  the  west  holds  limitless  opportunities  and  who  are  playing  an  important 
part  in  the  upbuilding  of  this  state.  Mr.  Clausen's  parents  were  Hans  A.  and  Mary 
(Cliristonson)  Clausen,  who  were  natives  of  Denmark  and  in  early  life  they  came  to  America, 
settling  in  Michigan.  After  two  years  they  removed  to  Brown  county,  Minnesota,  where 
Mr.  Clausen  piuchased  land  and  began  the  development  of  a  farm,  which  he  continuously 
and  successfully  owned,  cultivated  and  improved  until  1913.  He  then  retired  from  active 
business  life  and  now  he  and  his  wife  reside  at  Sleepy  Eye,  Minnesota,  in  a  comfortable 
home  made  possible  tlirough  the  years  of  their  former  labor  and  activity. 

Peter  W.  Clausen  was  reared  and  educated  in  his  native  county,  supplementing  his 
public  school  course  by  study  in  a  commercial  college  at  Mankato,  Minnesota,  from  which 
he  was  graduated  with  the  class  of  1907.  He  afterward  spent  about  two  years  in  the  employ 
of  his  father,  at  the  end  of  which  time  he  removed  to  Minnewaukan,  Benson  county.  North 
Dakota,  and  secured  a  position  as  bookkeeper  in  a  bank,  acting  in  that  capacity  for  two 
years.  He  next  went  to  York  to  accept  the  position  of  cashier  of  the  Bank  of  York  and 
after  acting  in  that  capacity  for  four  years  was  chosen  vice  president.  This  bank  was 
organized  in  1906  and  its  present  officers  are:  W.  B.  Runcorn,  president:  Peter  W.  Clausen, 
vice  president;  and  G.  W.  Runcorn,  cashier.  The  bank  has  a  capital  stock  of  ten  thousand 
dollars  and  its  deposits  amount  to  one  hundred  and  sixteen  thousand  dollars.  Its  business 
has  steadily  grown  and  the  development  of  its  interests  is  attributable  in  no  small  measure 
to  the  efforts  of  Mr.  Clausen. 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  101 

111  August,  1911,  Ml-.  Clausen  was  married  to  Miss  Effie  Onion,  and  to  them  have  been 
lioiii  two  ehildren:  Kutli  IC,  born  October  1,  1912;  and  Doiifjlas  William,  born  October 
34,  111  1 4. 

.Mr.  Clausen  is  a  member  (jf  tlu'  I.utheran  elinrcli,  while  his  wife  belonjis  to  the  Pres- 
byterian chincli.  Ill  the  community  where  they  reside  they  enjoy  the  goodwill  and  friendly 
regard  of  all  wlio  know  them  and  their  home  is  justly  celebrated  for  its  warm-hearted 
hospitality.  He  is  interested  in  the  cause  of  education  and  is  serving  as  school  treasurer. 
Politically  he  is  a  republican  and  keeps  in  touch  with  the  trend  of  modern  political  thought 
but  iicitlier  seeks  nor  desires  office,  preferring  to  concentrate  his  energies  upon  his  business 
ali'airs. 


HON.  WIUJA.M  G.  OWENS. 


Hon.  William  G.  Owens,  of  Williston,  who  is  HUing  the  office  of  states  attorney  of 
Williams  county  and  who  represented  the  forty-first  district  in  the  general  assembly  of  North 
Dakota  in  1913,  was  born  in  Blown  county,  Minnesota,  near  Sleepy  Eye,  on  Lake  Hanska', 
July  7,  1S77.  His  father,  Owen  I.  Owens,  w'as  a  native  of  Wales  and  was  there  reared 
to  the  age  of  seventeen  years  when  he  came  to-  the  new  world,  settling  near  Wild  Rose, 
Wisconsin,  where  he  followed  mechanical  pursuits.  At  the  time  of  the  Civil  war  he  enlisted 
in  Company  K  of  the  Third  Wisconsin  Infantry,  with  which  he  served  for  eighteen  months. 
After  the  war  he  engaged  in  fanning  near  Wild  Rose  and  later  removed  to  Brown  county, 
Minnesota,  where  he  homesteaded  and  also  taught  school.  Upon  the  farm  which  he  there 
develo|)ed  and  improved  he  reared  his  family  of  nine  children  and  in  order  to  provide  them 
with  better  educational  facilities  he  took  up  his  abode  in  the  town  of  Sleepy  Eye,  -ivhere 
he  is  now  living  retired.  For  several  years  he  filled  the  office  of  municipal  judge  there  and 
for  many  years  he  served  in  township  offices  and  as  a  member  of  the  school  board,  being 
ever  a  public-spirited  citizen  devoted  to  the  general  good.  He  holds  membership  in  the 
Congregational  church  and  his  life  has  ever  been  upright  and  honorable.  He  married  Mary 
Angcline  Williams,  a  native  of  Wales,  who  came  with  her  jiarents  to  America  when  seven 
years  of  age,  the  family  home  being  established  in  Oshkosh,  Wisconsin.  The  education 
which  she  acquired  in  the  public  schools  there  was  supplemented  bj-  study  in  Ripon  College 
at  Kipon,  Wisconsin,  from  which  she  was  gi-aduated.  She  passed  away  October  10,  1915, 
and  was  laid  to  rest  at  Sleepy  Eye,  Minnesota.  In  the  family  were  nine  children,  five  of 
whom  are  living. 

William  G.  Owens,  the  fifth  in  order  of  birth,  attended  the  city  schools  of  Sleepy  Eye 
until  graduated  from  the  high  school  with  the  class  of  1895.  He  afterward  pursued  a  special 
course  in  the  academic  department  of  the  State  University  and  also  a  law  course,  being 
graduated  with  the  degree  of  Bachelor  of  Laws  with  the  class  of  1900.  For  six  months  he 
was  editor  of  the  Sleepy  Ej-e  Herald  and  later  engaged  in  the  practice  of  law  at  Walnut 
Grove,  Minnesota,  where  he  remained  for  six  years.  He  was  then  elected  county  attorney 
of  Redwood  county,  Minnesota,  and  removed  to  Redwood  Falls,  the  county  seat,  occupj'ing 
that  position  through  reelection  for  two  terms.  He  resigned  six  months  before  the  close 
of  the  second  term  in  order  to  remove  to  Williston,  where  he  continued  in  the  private 
practice  of  law  from  March,  1910,  until  1914,  when  he  was  elected  states  attorney  of 
Williams  county  and  is  now  occupying  that  position.  In  1913  he  had  been  elected  to  repre- 
sent the  forty-first  district  in  the  state  legislature,  in  which  he  served  for  one  term,  and  he 
has  the  credit  of  being  the  father  of  the  state  inheritance  tax  law,  from  which  the  state 
derives  a  large  share  of  its  income.  He  is  likewise  much  interested  in  farming  and  .stock 
raising  and  is  a  firm  believer  in  the  agricultural  possibilities  of  the  state. 

On  the  29th  of  June,  1904,  Mr.  Owens  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Winifred  Cheshire 
at  Walnut  Grove,  Minnesota.  The  lady  was  born  upon  a  farm  near  that  place  and  was 
graduated  from  the  teachers'  training  department  of  the  State  Normal  School  at  Mankato, 
Minnesota.  Her  parents  are  John  U.  and  ilyra  B.  (Page)  Clicshire,  the  former  a  native  of 
Toronto,  Canada,  and  the  latter  of  Minnesota.  Her  father  was  one  of  the  first  settlers 
of  Walnut  Grove  and  there  he  and  his  wife  still  make  their  home.  To  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Owens 
have   been   born   two   children:     \\ilfred   C,   born    in   Walnut   Grove  in   December,   190G;    and 


102  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

Jeancttc,  born  at  Redwood  Falls,  Minnesota,  August  27,  1909.  Mrs.  Owens  is  a  most 
devoted  wife  and  mother,  concentrating  her  attention  and  interests  upon  her  home  and 
the  rearing  of  her  children.  She  has  many  admirable  qualities  which  have  won  for  her  the 
friendship  of  all  with  whom  she  has  come  in  contact. 

In  politics  Mr.  Owens  is  a  republican  and  his  religious  faith  is  that  of  the  Congrega- 
tional church.  In  fraternal  circles  he  is  widely  and  prominently  known,  belonging  to  the 
Elks  lodge  at  Williston,  of  which  he  is  past  exalted  ruler,  the  Odd  Fellows  lodge,  of  which 
he  is  a  past  grand,  while  he  has  also  served  as  a  delegate  to  the  grand  lodge  of  both 
North  Dakota  and  Minnesota,  having  become  a  member  of  the  order  in  Walnut  Grove, 
Minnesota,  where  he  passed  through  all  the  chairs.  He  likewise  has  membership  with  the 
Modern  Woodmen  of  America  and  the  Knights  of  Pythias.  Mrs.  Owens  is  a  member  of  the 
Eastern  Star  and  like  her  husband  is  active  in  church  work,  being  particularly  helpful  as  a 
member  of  the  Ladies'  Aid  Society.  Both  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Owens  are  widely  and  favorably 
known,  their  circle  of  friends  being  almost  coextensive  with  the  circle  of  their  acquaintances. 
Mr.  Owens  is  a  member  of  the  executive  committee  of  the  North  Dakota  State  Bar  Associa- 
tion and  was  president  of  the  Williston  Commercial  Club  in  1912.  He  has  risen  rapidly  to 
prominence  in  North  Dakota,  having  been  a  resident  of  this  state  for  only  three  years 
when  he  became  a  member  of  the  general  assembly,  after  which  he  was  chosen  to  the  office 
of  states  attorney,  in  which  he  is  now  so  acceptably  serving  that  his  party  has  renominated 
him  for  a  second  term. 


CARL  B.  SWANSON. 


Carl  B.  Swanson,  president  of  the  Minot  Implement  Company,  was  born  in  Kristian- 
stad,  Sweden,  May  3,  1871,  and  there  attended  school  for  six  years,  which  together  with 
fifteen  weeks  spent  at  a  business  college  in  Minneapolis,  Minnesota,  formed  the  nucleus  of 
hia  education.  At  the  age  of  thirteen,  he  enlisted  in  the  Swedish  navy  at  the  Karls- 
krona  Naval  Station  and  left  hia  home  to  start  to  manage  his  own  affairs,  and  has  since 
been  dependent  entirely  on  his  own  resources.  He  remained  in  the  navy  until  twenty-two 
years  of  age,  but  after  having  passed  all  the  required  examinations,  at  the  age  of  twenty  he 
decided  to  take  a  leave  of  absence  to  travel  on  merchant  ships.  At  the  expiration  of  his 
leave,  he  happened  to  be  in  Chicago,  and  deciding  to  remain  in  America,  he  applied  for  and 
received  his  honorable  discharge   from   the   Swedish  navy. 

In  this  country,  Mr.  Swanson  was  first  employed  by  Charles  T.  Yerkes  of  the  North 
Chicago  Street  Railway  Company,  and  was  afterward  with  the  Brunswick-Balke-Collender 
Company  of  Chicago  in  the  Wickes  refrigerator  department,  assisting  in  some  work  on 
their  cold  storage  plant  at  the  Chicago  World's  Fair  during  1893.  Removing  to  Minne- 
sota in  1894,  Mr.  Swanson  was  employed  by  the  Ward  Machine  Company  at  Fairmont, 
Minnesota,  for  four  years,  and  the  following  seven  years  he  was  with  the  Deere  &  Webber 
Company,  Minneapolis,  Minnesota,  as  their  traveling  representative  through  the  western 
half  of  North  Dakota.  In  190,5  he  resigned  and  became  interested  in  the  Westegaard 
Machinery  Company  of  Valley  City,  North  Dakota,  but  when  a  year  had  passed,  he  sold 
his  interest  in  that  business  and  organized  the  Gilbertson  &  Swanson  Company  corpora- 
tion, and  started  an  implement  business  at  Velva,  North  Dakota,  where  he  remained  until 
the  fall  of  1912.  Still  retaining  his  interest  in  that  business,  he  removed  to  Minot,  North 
Dakota,  in  December,  1912,  and  organized  the  Minot  Implement  Company,  Inc.,  of  which 
he  has  been  the  president  from  the  beginning.  This  firm  does  a  general  retail  business 
in  all  kinds  of  tools,  and  equipments  for  farmers  and  regular  transfer  business  for  those 
wholesale  houses  whose  lines  they  represent.  The  Minot  Implement  Company  erected  its 
present  building  in  1912  and  now  has  a  total  floor  space  of  seventeeen  thousand,  three 
hundred  feet.  Their  business  has  grown  steadily  and  is  today  one  of  the  important  com- 
mercial undertakings  of  Minot.  Being  a  stanch  believer  in  the  future  of  North  Dakota, 
he  has  from  time  to  time  invested  considerable  in  North  Dakota  farming  lands,  having 
one  six  hundred  and  forty  acre  grain  and  stock  farm  in  the  Red  river  valley,  one  of  three 


CARL,  B.  SWANSON 


n 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  105 

liiiiuli'pd  and  sixty  acres  southeast  of  Velva,  and  another  of  a  quarter  section  southwest  of 
Velva,  together  with  other  tracts. 

In  1004  Mr.  Swanson  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Ksther  A.  Larson,  a  native  of 
DunnoU,  Minnesota,  and  to  them  was  born  a  son,  Carl  Everett,  who  is  now  attending 
school.  The  wife  and  mother  passed  away  February  14,  1906,  and  on  the  16th  of  July, 
1908,  Mr.  Swanson  married  Miss  Signe  M.  Larson,  a  sister  of  his  first  wife  and  a  daughter  of 
L.  M.  Larson.     There  is  one  child  of  this  second  marriage,  Willis  Roy,  at  home. 

Mr.  Swanson  was  confirmed  in  18S4  in  the  Lutheran  church  in  the  city  where  he  was 
born,  and  he  and  his  family  now  belong  to  the  First  Swedish  Lutheran  church  at  Minot. 
In  politics  Mr.  Swanson  has  always  maintained  an  independent  course,  never  aspiring  to 
public  office.  He  is  a  member  of  the  Masonic  fraternity,  and  in  1902  he  became  a  Noble  of 
tlie  Kl  Zagal  Mystic  Shrine  at  Fargo,  North  Dakota,  and  also  belongs  to  the  Elks  Lodge, 
No.   1089,  at   Minot. 

On  the  17th  of  March,  1901,  he  was  in  the  city  of  Gibraltar,  Spain,  when  the  English 
Anchor  Line  steamer,  Utopia,  was  wrecked,  and  on  that  occasion  he  received  from  the 
Italian  government  a  medal  for  saving  lives  from  drowning  and  a  Diploma  from  the 
English  Eoyal  Humane  Society.  He  has  had  many  varied  and  interesting  experiences, 
especially  during  his  service  in  the  navy  and  in  the  merchant  marine,  having  visited  the 
most  important  sea  ports  in  every  section  on  the  globe,  and  he  has  learned  many  lessons 
which  liave  been  enlightening,  while  his  constantly  expanding  efforts  have  enabled  him 
to  reach  out  along  broad  lines  with  indirect  effect  and  benefit  upon  the  welfare  of  th<» 
community  in  which  he  now  lives. 


JOHN  SYVERSON. 


John  Syverson.  merchant,  banker  and  prominent  business  man,  whose  intense  and 
intelligently  directed  activity  lias  contributed  much  to  the  upbuilding  of  Cooperstown  and 
the  development  of  Griggs  county,  was  born  in  Vaage,  Norway,  March  17.  1849,  a  son  of  Syver 
Bergum,  who  was  a  shoemaker  b}-  trade  and  also  had  a  small  farm  in  Norway.  He  died  in 
Polk  county,  Minnesota,  at  the  advanced  age  of  eighty-seven  years.  Of  his  family  of  six 
children,  three  sons  and  three  daughters,  John  was  the  fifth.  He  was  a  young  man  of  twenty 
years  when  in  1869  he  left  the  land  of  the  midnight  sun  and  sought  the  opportunities 
offered  in  the  new  world  to  the  foreign  born  man  of  enterprise  and  ambition.  Making  his 
way  to  Mankato,  Minnesota,  he  was  employed  on  a  railroad  for  two  years  and  then  went 
to  St.  James,  Minnesota,  where  he  devoted  five  years  to  clerking.  He  afterward  spent  five 
years  as  an  employe  in  a  general  merchandise  store  at  Nevada,  Iowa,  and  returning  to  St. 
James,  spent  three  years  on  a  farm. 

In  the  spring  of  1883  Mr.  Syverson  arrived  in  Cooperstown,  North  Dakota,  which  at 
that  time  was  a  tiny  hamlet  containing  a  few  frame  buildings.  He  entered  the  employ 
of  Thompson  &  Odegard  and  the  following  year  bought  out  the  interests  of  the  senior  part- 
ner, while  later  he  purchased  the  interest  of  Mr.  Odegard  and  became  sole  proprietor  of  the 
business,  which  he  lias  since  conducted.  In  1903  he  incorporated  his  mercantile  interests 
under  the  style  of  John  Syverson  &  Sons,  giving  his  two  sons  an  interest  in  the  business. 
Their  store  buikling.  seventy-five  by  one  hundred  and  forty  feet,  is  a  brick  and  stone 
structure  thoroughly  modern  and  up-to-date  in  its  equipment  and  appointment.  It  was 
built  in  1894.  The  store  fixtures  are  such  as  well  display  the  goods  and  the  arrangement 
of  the  stock  is  attractive,  while  the  business  methods  of  the  house  commend  the  firm  to 
the  patronage  and  support  of  the  public.  They  have  ever  recognized  the  fact  that  satisfied 
patrons  are  the  best  advertisement  and  in  all  their  dealings  have  conformed  their  business 
to  the  highest  commercial  standards  of  integrity  and  enterprise. 

Mr.  Syverson,  liowever.  has  not  confined  his  attention  solely  to  mercliandising  but  has 
extended  his  efforts  over  a  broad  field,  his  labors  being  at  all  times  of  a  character  that  con- 
tributes to  public  progress  and  prosperity  as  well  as  to  individual  success.  He  was  one  of 
the  organizers  of  the  State  Bank  of  Cooperstown,  which  has  enjoyed  a  steady  and  healthful 
growth  from  the  beginning  and  from  the  first  he  has  been   its  president.     He   is  also  the 


106  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

owner  of  the  two  story  bank  building,  which  is  so  arranged  as  to  facilitate  the  conduct  of 
the  business.  Mr.  Syverson  was  also  one  of  the  organizer.s  and  first  stockholders  of  the  State 
Bank  at  Finley,  North  Dakota,  of  which  he  is  now  vice  president.  He  is  also  a  stockholder 
and  the  president  of  the  State  Bank  of  Binford,  North  Dakota,  is  a  stockholder  and  the 
vice  president  of  the  Griggs  County  Telephone  Company  and  a  stockholder  and  director  of 
the  Crane-Johnson  Lumber  Company,  having  yards  in  ten  different  towns  and  cities  in 
North  Dakota.  Ho  also  owns  a  number  of  farms  which  are  cultivated  by  renters.  He  is 
likewise  the  president  of  the  board  of  trustees  of  the  Northern  Light  Masonic  Temple 
Association,  Inc.,  which  is  now  building  a  thirty-five  thousand  dollar  brick  structure  which 
is  to  be  used  exclusively  for  Masonic  purposes  and  includes  well  appointed  club  rooms. 

In  1877  Mr.  Syverson  was  married  to  Annie  T.  Odegard,  a  native  of  Norway',  whose 
family  came  to  North  Dakota  among  the  early  settlers  of  the  state.  They  have  two  sons 
and  a  daughter.  Theodore  Sigwald  is  a  worthy  successor  of  his  father  in  the  business 
circles  of  Griggs  county.  He  was  born  in  Cooperstown,  February  14,  1886,  and  after  attend- 
ing the  public  schools  there  was  graduated  from  the  Shattuck  Military  Academy  at  Faribault, 
Minnesota,  in  1904.  He  completed  a  course  in  mining  engineering  in  Columbia  University 
of  New  Vork  in  1909  and  upon  his  return  home  became  a  partner  of  his  father  in  the  firm 
of  .John  Syverson  &  Sons.  On  the  9th  of  October,  1909,  he  married  Marie  Joan  Hermes,  a 
native  of  Berlin,  Germany,  and  they  have  one  son,  John.  T.  S.  Syverson  is  prominent  in 
Masonic  circles,  being  a  past  master  of  the  blue  lodge  and  venerable  master  of  the  Lodge 
of  Perfection,  and  he  also  belongs  to  the  Theta  XI,  a  fraternity  of  Columbia  University. 
Tne  second  son,  John  A.  Syverson,  after  leaving  the  high  school  at  Cooperstown  attended 
the  Shattuck  Military  Academy  at  Faribault,  Minnesota,  and  afterward  became  a  law 
student  in  the  University  of  Michigan  at  Ann  Arbor.  Gertrude,  a  graduate  of  St.  Mary's 
Ar'i'lemy  at  Faribault,  Minnesota,  continued  her  education  in  Smith  College  at  Northani])ton, 
J[:isr.achusetts. 

It  has  been  said  that  each  individual  has  some  hobby  and  if  this  is  true  one  may  say 
that  Mr.  Syverson's  is  the  beautifying  of  his  town,  where  he  has  had  planted  many  of  the 
tre;  s  which  help  to  make  Cooperstown  one  of  the  most  beautiful  places  in  the  entire 
state.  This  is,  however,  but  one  feature  of  his  public  spirit,  for  when  the  days  were 
darkest  and  the  times  hardest  in  North  Dakota  he  did  much  toward  carrying  others 
Uuough  and  lifting  the  financial  burden  resting  upon  the  state.  Of  a  studious  nature,  he 
])osaesses  a  fine  private  library,  representing  the  best  authors  of  the  world,  with  which  he 
and  liis  wife  are  largely  familiar.  He  also  has  a  small  experimental  orchard,  to  which 
he  devotes  much  time,  and  thus  his  hours  which  are  free  from  business  cares  are  filled 
with  interests  of  an  important  and  beneficial  character  and  Mr.  Syverson,  although  extremely 
modest  and  retiring,  is  ranked  with  the  most  prominent,  representative  and  valued  citizens 
or"  Griggs  county. 


FRANK   B.   LODGE,   M.   D. 


Dr.  Frank  B.  Lodge,  engaged  in  the  practice  of  medicine  and  surgery  at  Steele,  where 
he  is  also  filling  the  position  of  county  coroner,  was  born  at  Newton,  Iowa,  May  .'51.  1868, 
a  son  of  Joseph  Lodge,  who  was  a  miller  by  trade  and  became  the  proprietor  of  tlie 
Stuart  Roller  Mills  at   Stuart,  Iowa. 

Dr.  Lodge  pursued  his  public  school  education  in  his  native  city  and  prepared  for  a  profes- 
sional career  in  the  American  Medical  College  of  St.  Louis,  from  which  he  was  graduated  in 
1897.  He  afterward  did  post  graduate  work  in  Chicago  in  1898.  Before  entering  upon 
the  study  of  medicine,  however,  he  spent  five  years  as  a  telegrapher  in  the  employ  of  the 
Chicago  &  Northwestern  Railroad  Compaiiy  in  Iowa.  Following  his  post  graduate  course 
in  Chicago  he  located  for  practice  at  Meservey,  Iowa,  where  he  remained  until  1909,  when 
he  removed  to  Steele,  North  Dakota,  and  opened  an  office.  He  is  now  the  only  physician 
practicing  in  this  locality  but  for  three  years  was  in  partnership  with  Dr.  Dewitt  Baer,  this 
association  being  discontiniied  in  1912.  In  addition  to  his  professional  duties  Dr.  Lodge 
is  interested  in  farming,  owning  land  near  Steele. 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  107 

In  1897,  at  Meservey,  Iowa,  occurred  the  marriage  of  Dr.  Lodge  and  Miss  Lyda  Barney, 
a  native  of  tliat  state.  He  has  taken  high  rank  in  Masonic  circles,  belonging  to  the  lodge 
at  Steele,  of  which  he  is  a  past  master,  the  Royal  Arch  chapter  at  Mason  City,  Iowa,  the 
consistory  at  Des  Moines  and  the  Mystic  Shrine  at  Cedar  Rapids.  He  also  has  member- 
ship in  the  Knights  of  Pythias  lodge  at  Steele  and  with  the  American  Yeomen.  His 
political  views  are  in  acjcord  with  the  principles  of  the  republican  party  and  he  has  been 
superintendent  of  the  board  of  health,  while  for  six  years  he  has  filled  the  position  of 
county  coroner,  in  which  he  still  continues.  Broad  reading  keeps  him  in  touch  with  the 
trend  of  modern  thought  and  progress  along  the  lines  of  his  profession  and  his  labors  are 
attended  with  e.vccllent  results. 


PAUL   GIRARD. 


The  jewelry  house  of  Paul  (Jirard  &  Son  is  one  of  the  leading  establishments  of  that 
character  in  Grand  Forks  and  in  the  conduct  of  the  business  the  partners  display  a  spirit 
of  unfaltering  enterprise  as  well  as  comprehensive  knowledge  of  the  ti'ade.  The  father 
was  born  in  Paris,  France,  in  October,  1862,  and  therefore  comes  of  a  country  where  expert 
knowledge  of  the  jewelry  business  seems  almost  intuitive.  His  parents  spent  their  entire 
lives  in  France,  where  the  father  passed  away  in  1886,  at  the  age  of  sixty-four  years,  while 
the  mother  reached  the  age  of  but  thirty  years,  dying  in  1871.  They  were  the  parents 
of  five  children,  of  whom   Paul  Girard  is  the  eldest. 

In  early  life  Paul  Girard  attended  the  schools  of  Paris  and  afterward  became  connected 
with  the  jewelry  trade,  which  he  thoroughly  mastered  in  principle  and  detail.  He  was 
a  man  of  thirty  years  when  in  1893  he  crossed  the  Atlantic,  making  his  way  to  Chicago, 
and  in  1900  he  arrived  in  Grand  Forks,  where  he  was  employed  in  the  jewelry  line  by  others 
for  three  years.  He  established  a  store  in  East  Grand  Forks  and  later  removed  his  business 
to  (Jrand  Forks,  where  he  has  remained  to  the  present  time,  owning  today  one  of  the 
leading  establishments  of  that  character  in  the  city.  He  carries  a  very  large  and  carefully 
selected  line  of  jewelry  of  American  and  foreign  manufacture  and  his  annual  sales  have 
now  reached  a  most  satisfactory  figure,  his  business  methods  commending  him  to  tlie  sup- 
port of  the  public,  so  that  his  trade  is  now  extensive. 

In  May,  1888,  in  Paris,  France,  Mr.  Girard  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Emilie 
Pecher.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Girard  have  one  son,  Maurice,  who  was  born  in  Paris,  France,  in 
November,  1889,  and  wedded  Miss  Eva  Anderson,  in  Bismarck,  North  Dakota.  He  was 
on  the  Mexican  border  with  the  United  States  troops  in  1916.  Mr.  Girard  adheres  to  no 
set  political  faith  but  maintains  an  independent  course  in  his  voting.  Fraternally  he  is 
connected  with  the  Benevolent  Protective  Order  of  Elks.  A  resident  of  the  city  for  sixteen 
years,  he  is  now  well  known  and  prominent  and  has  become  one  of  the  leading  merchants 
of  his  part  of  the  state. 


HON.  EDWARD  HOVERSON. 

Hon.  Edward  Hoverson.  member  of  the  state  senate  and  proprietor  of  a  hardware 
and  furniture  store  at  Beach,  was  born  in  Norway,  September  10,  1867,  and  in  1869  was 
brought  to  America  by  his  father.  Hovel  Syverson,  who  was  also  of  Norwegian  birth  and  on 
crossing  the  Atlantic  made  his  way  to  Wisconsin.  After  remaining  in  that  state  for  about 
a  year  he  removed  to  Minnesota,  where  he  continued  to  reside  until  called  to  his  final  rest, 
devoting  his  time  and  attention  to  farming  and  stock  raising.  He  married  Thora  Anderson, 
v.lio  has  also  passed  away. 

Edward  Hoverson  was  the  ninth  in  order  of  birth  in  a  family  of  ten  children,  five  of 
whom  are  yet  living.  He  acquired  his  education  in  the  public  schools  of  Minnesota  and 
afterward  took  up  the  profession  of  teaching,  which  he  followed  in  that  state  for  five 
years.     He   entered    commercial    circles   as   an   employe   of   the   Robertson    Lumber   Company 


108  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

of  Grafton,  with  whom  he  remained  in  the  position  of  boolckeeper  for  eight  years.  He 
then  returned  to  Haneocl:,  Minnesota,  where  he  entered  the  liardvvare  store  of  Jolin  Erickson, 
by  whom  he  was  employed  for  six  years,  after  which  he  was  admitted  to  a  partnership 
in  the  business,  this  connection  being  continued  for  a  year.  At  the  end  of  that  time  he 
sold  out  and  again  became  a  resident  of  Grafton,  North  Dakota,  where  he  once  more  entered 
the  lumberj'ard,  spending  a  year  in  that  connection.  He  first  came  to  this  state  in  1891. 
In  January,  1906,  he  removed  to  Beach  and  established  a  hardware,  furniture  and  under- 
taking business,  which  he  has  since  owned  and  conducted,  building  up  a  good  trade  in  this 
connection.  He  carries  a  large  and  carefully  selected  line  of  goods  and  his  enterprising 
methods,  thorough  reliabilit.y  and  earnest  effort  to  please  his  customers  have  brought  to  him 
a  liberal  patronage.  He  erected  a  business  block  twenty-four  by  sixty  feet  which  was  after- 
ward enlarged  to  fifty  by  one  hundred  and  thirty-two  feet  and  his  store  also  includes 
another  building  twenty-four  by  one  hundred  feet  which  is  used  as  the  undertaking  parlor. 
He  further  extended  the  scope  of  his  activities  along  commercial  lines  by  establishing  in 
1910  a  hardware,  furniture  and  undertaking  business  at  Sentinel  Butte,  where  he  is  still 
actively  engaged.  In  the  Beach  store  he  employs  five  people  and  at  Sentinel  Butte  has 
two  clerks.  He  also  took  up  a  homestead  six  miles  northeast  of  Beach  and  proved  up  on 
the  property  in  fourteen  months. 

In  1891  Mr.  Hoverson  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Ragnhild  Anderson,  who  was 
born  In  Minnesota,  a  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Anders  Anderson,  who  were  natives  of 
Norway  and  came  to  the  United  States  about  1870,  settling  first  in  Wisconsin,  while  later 
they  became  residents  of  Minnesota,  where  both  passed  away.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Hoverson 
have  become  the  parents  of  eleven  children,  Alvin,  Clarence,  Evelyn,  Thora,  Carl,  Edwin, 
Julius,  Mary,  John,  Helen  and  Andrew.  There  has  been  no  break  in  the  family  circle  and 
all  are  yet  enjoying  good  health. 

In  politics  Mr.  Hoverson  is  a  republican.  He  has  served  as  a  member  of  the  city 
council  and  on  the  school  board  of  Beach  and  in  1912  was  elected  a  member  of  the  state 
senate.  He  belongs  to  the  Masonic  fraternity,  the  Yeomen  and<the  Woodmen  of  the  World. 
He  is  also  actively  interested  in  church  work,  being  identified  with  the  Norwegian  organiza- 
tion, while  at  the  present  time  he  is  serving  as  one  of  the  church  trustees.  As  a  member 
of  the  school  board  he  was  instrumental  in  making  the  Beach  high  school  one  of  the  five 
agricultural  high  schools  of  the  state.  He  is  interested  in  farm  lands  and  keenly  alive  to 
the  agricultural  possibilities  of  North  Dakota  yet  his  attention  is  most  largely  concentrated 
upon  his  agi'icultural  interests.  However,  he  cooperates  in  every  movement  to  promote  the 
development  and  progress  of  the  state  in  the  utilization  of  its  natural  resources  and  his 
worth  as  a  citizen  is  widely  acknowledged.  His  fellow  townsmen  have  demonstrated  their 
faitli  in  his  ability  by  choosing  him  their  representative  in  the  legislative  halls  of  North 
Dakota  and  as  a  member  of  the  senate  he  is  doing  excellent  work  along  the  lines  of  pro- 
gressive legislation. 


JOHN  BISCHOF. 


One  of  the  representative  bankers  of  Mcintosh  county,  is  .John  Bischof,  now  serving 
as  cashier  of  the  Zeeland  State  Bank.  Like  many  of  the  leading  citizens  of  that  part  of 
the  state  he  is  of  German  lineage  but  was  born  in  Russia.  However,  during  his  residence 
in  the  United  States  he  has  become  thoroughly  identified  with  American  institutions  and 
interests.  He  was  born  in  the  southern  part  of  Russia,  December  3,  1883,  and  is  a  son  of 
John  and  Anna  (Kraus)  Bischof,  who  were  lifelong  residents  of  that  country.  The  father, 
who  was  a  farmer  by  occupation,  died  in  October,  1909,  and  the  mother  passed  away  in 
July,   1903. 

In  his  native  land  John  Bischof,  Jr.,  grew  to  manhood,  attending  school  and  assisting 
in  the  farm  work  during  early  life.  In  1905  he  crossed  the  Atlantic  and  became  a  resident 
of  Ashley,  North  Dakota,  but  after  spending  two  months  there  he  entered  the  Dakota  Business 
College  at  Fargo,  from  which  he  was  graduated  in  1906.  Returning  to  Ashley  he  accepted 
a  position  as  bookkeeper  in  the  First  State  Bank  of  Ashley,  later  becoming  assistant  cashier 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  109 

of  that  institution,  with  which  he  continued  for  one  year  and  ten  months.  He  then  removed 
to  Zeeliuul  and  took  charge  of  the  ZeeUind  State  Banlv.  After  serving  as  assistant  cashier 
for  ten  months  he  became  cashier  and  a  director  of  the  bank,  which  under  his  able  man- 
agement has  steadily  prospered.  In  1913  the  company  erected  one  of  the  most  modern  bank 
buildings  in  the  state  and  it  is  up-to-date  in  all  its  equipments.  The  bank  is  capitalized 
for  twenty  thousand  dollars,  has  a  surplus  of  five  thousand  dollars  and  its  deposits  now 
amount  to  three  hundred  and  fifty  thousand  dollars.  Its  officers  are  J.  M.  Hammond,  presi- 
dent; John  J.  Giedt,  vice  president;  and  .John  Bischof,  cashier.  It  is  the  largest  bank  in 
that  part  of  the  state  and  at  its  head  are  men  of  recognized  ability,  upright  and  honorable 
in  all  transactions. 

In  September.  I'.lll.  Mr.  Bischof  married  Miss  Cliristina  Mindt,  and  to  them  were  born 
two  children  but  Oertrude.  whose  birth  occurred  .January  18,  1914,  died  April  10,  1914.  The 
one  now  living  is  Albert  T.,  born  July  3,  1915.  Politically  Mr.  Bischof  is  identified  with 
the  republican  party  and  at  present  is  chairman  of  the  republican  county  central  committee 
of  Mcintosh  county.  His  religious  belief  is  indicated  by  his  membership  in  the  German 
Reformed  church.  For  several  years  he  served  as  deputy  state  oil  inspector  and  has  also 
been  a  member  of  the  town  board  of  Zeeland  and  president  of  the  same.  In  addition  to 
his  banking  interests  in  that  place  he  is  also  serving  as  vice  president  of  the  First  State 
Bank  of  Lehr  and  of  the  First  State  Bank  of  Ashley.  In  business  affairs  he  has  always 
been  found  prompt,  progressive  and  thoroughly  reliable  and  he  well  merits  the  success  that 
has  come  to  him  since  becoming  a  resident  of  North  Dakota. 


THOMAS  OLIVER  CHANTLAND. 

Thomas  Oliver  Gliantland  is  a  successful  self-maile  man  who  as  cashier  of  the 
Scandinavian-American  Bank  is  closely  associated  with  the  business  development  of  Grafton 
and  throughout  his  life  has  displayed  the  spirit  of  enterprise  which  has  been  the  dominant 
factor  in  the  upbuilding  of  this  state.  He  is  a  native  son  of  North  Dakota,  his  birth  having 
occurred  at  Mayville.  Traill  county.  October  30.  1883,  a  son  of  Iver  W.  and  Lena  (Berg) 
Chantland.  The  father,  a  native  of  Norway,  was  brought  to  America  by  his  parents  in 
1852,  when  but  four  years  of  age.  His  father,  Thomas  T.  Chantland,  became  a  pioneer  of 
Iowa  after  living  for  some  time  in  Wisconsin,  and  throughout  his  life  he  engaged  in  farm- 
ing. Iver  W.  Chantland  was  reared  and  educated  in  Iowa  and  in  1879  came  to  the  territory 
of  Dakota,  settling  at  Mayville,  where  he  engaged  in  general  merchandising,  becoming  one 
of  the  pioneers  of  that  section  of  the  state.  In  1901  he  removed  to  Northwood,  where  he 
embarked  in  the  lumber  business,  continuing  his  residence  there  imtil  1910,  when  he  went 
to  Jleagher  county,  Jlontana.  There  he  took  up  a  homestead  upon  which  he  continued  to 
live  until  his  life's  labors  were  ended  in  death  on  the  5th  of  May,  1913.  He  passed  away 
at  the  age  of  si.\ty-six  years.  His  wife,  who  was  born  near  Albert  Lea,  Minnesota,  was  a 
daughter  of  Ole  0.  Berg,  a  native  of  Norway,  who  died  when  Mrs.  Chantland  was  quite 
young.  She  was  then  adopted  by  Jlr.  and  Mrs.  Jeremiah  Arneson,  who  removed  with  their 
family  to  Traill  county,  settling  on  Goose  river,  near  Mayville,  where  they  have  continuously 
resided  since  1874.  There  Mrs.  Chantland  was  reared  and  educated  and  she  is  now  a  resi- 
dent of  Larimore.  By  her  marriage  she  became  the  mother  of  four  children:  Ellen  J.,  the 
wife  of  Cliarles  C.  Eastgate,  living  in  Larimore;  Thomas  Oliver,  of  this  review;  Gunhild  J., 
the  wife  of  H.  A.  Cherry,  of  Montana;  and  Peter  W.,  a  resident  of  Cando,  North  Dakota. 

At  the  usual  age  Thomas  0.  Chantland  became  a  pupil  in  the  public  schools  of  Mayville, 
passing  through  consecutive  grades  until  he  reached  the  high  school,  but  ere  his  course  was 
completed  he  put  aside  his  textbooks  at  the  age  of  fifteen  in  order  to  earn  his  own  livelihood. 
He  was  first  employed  as  a  clerk  in  a  general  merchandise  store  at  Mayville  and  followed 
that  business  for  four  years.  He  next  secured  a  position  in  the  Finley  State  Bank,  serving 
first  as  bookkeeper  but  working  his  way  upward  to  the  position  of  assistant  cashier.  In 
1907  he  was  chosen  cashier  of  the  Citizens  State  Bank  at  Sharon  and  there  remained  until 
1913.  He  afterward  became  cashier  of  the  Scandinavian-American  Bank  at  Grafton  and  still 
acts  in  that  capacity,  which  he  has  filled  most  creditably  since  1914.    His  activity  in  banking 


110  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

circles  has  brought  him  a  wiilc  acquaintance  ani.1  today  as  cashier  he  is  active  in  the  manage- 
ment and  control  of  the  Scandinavian-American  Bank,  which  has  a  paid-up  capital  stock 
of  lifty  thousand  dollars,  check  deposits  of  over  sixty  thousand  dollars,  time  certificates  of 
deposit  amounting  to  more  than  one  hundred  thousand  dollars  and  savings  deposits  of  more 
than  ninety  thousand  dollars.  Its  loans  and  discounts  amount  to  two  hundred  and  twenty- 
four  thousand  dollars.  The  bank's  statement  shows  the  institution  to  be  in  an  excellent  finan- 
cial condition. 

Mr.  Chantland  was  married  at  Finley,  July  6,  1910,  to  Miss  Florence  M.  Taisey,  a 
native  of  Mayville  and  a  daughter  of  Elmer  E.  and  Bessie  (Wilson)  Taisey.  Her  father  was 
a  pioneer  of  Finley  and  an  early  settler  of  Mayville  and  belonged  to  one  of  the  prominent 
and  inlluential  families  of  the  state,  occupying  a  leading  position  in  banking  circles.  Mr. 
and  Mrs.  Chantland  have  become  parents  of  two  children:  Donald  T.,  born  in  Sharon,  October 
35,  1912,  and  Philip  R.,  born  in  Fargo,  July   16,   1914. 

Mr.  Chantland  is  a  Master  Mason,  belonging  to  the  lodge  at  Grafton.  He  is  also  identified 
with  the  Lutheran  church  and  he  has  membership  in  the  Commercial  Club.  He  exercises  his 
right  of  franchise  in  support  of  the  men  and  measures  of  the  republican  party  and  has  made 
a  creditable  record  as  a  citizen  by  reason  of  his  stalwart  support  of  the  best  interests  of 
the  comnuuiitv  in  which  he  resides. 


CLARENCE  A.  HALE. 


Clarence  A.  Hale,  who  has  been  a  resident  of  Grand  Forks  since  1883  and  for  thirty 
years  has  been  manager  for  North  Dakota  of  the  Equitable  Life  Insurance  Company,  has 
left  the  impress  of  his  individuality  upon  the  development  of  this  state  in  many  ways  and 
at  all  times  has  been  active  in  pushing  forward  the  wheels  of  progiess.  A  native  of 
Wisconsin,  he  was  born  at  Bfadtville,  Grant  county,  August  10,  1859,  a  son  of  John  C.  Hale, 
a  native  of  New  York  and  a  descendant  of  an  old  family  of  that  state,  of  English  origin. 
Later  representatives  of  the  name  became  pioneer  settlers  of  Wisconsin.  .John  C.  Hale  was 
born  in  Allegany  county  New  York,  August  16,  1830,  and  was  a  son  of  Aaron  and  Angoline 
Hale.  He  became  a  skilled  mechanic  and  wagon  manufacturer  and  also  devoted  part  of  his 
time  to  farming.  In  1879  he  removed  from  Wisconsin  to  Y'ankton,  South  Dakota,  where 
he  east  in  his  lot  with  the  early  settlers  who  were  aiding  in  the  subjugation  of  the  western 
wilderness  for  the  purposes  of  civilization,  and  in  1881  he  became  a  resident  of  Mason  City, 
Iowa,  where  he  resided  to  the  time  of  his  death,  which  occurred  March  13,  1901,  when  he 
had  reached  the  age  of  seventy-one  years.  In  early  manhood  he  wedded  Cynthia  M.  Rowley, 
who  was  born  at  t^nadilla.  New  York,  December  37,  1834,  and  was  a  daughter  of  Seth  George 
Salisbm-y  and  Abigail  (Le  Sueur)  Rowley.  It  was  on  the  15th  of  March,  1854,  that  John  C. 
Hale  and  Cynthia  M.  Rowley  were  married  at  Bolivar,  New  Y'ork.  They  became  the  parents 
of  seven  children:  Alice  Gertrude,  who  was  born  April  16,  1855,  and  is  the  deceased  wife 
of  L.  L.  Tyler,  of  Y'ankton,  South  Dakota;  Jennie  Geraldine,  the  widow  of  S.  N.  Folger,  of 
lola,  Kansas;  Fred  Alfred,  a  farmer  living  at  Kuna,  Idaho;  Clara  Adele  the  wife  of  Charles 
Cosgrove,  of  Minneapolis;  Clarence  A.,  the  twin  brother  of  Clara;  William  Egbert,  who  is 
engaged  in  the  newspaper  advertising  business  in  Chicago;  and  Nellie  Belle,  the  wife  of 
Edward  J.  Fleming,  of  Chicago. 

Clarence  A.  Hale  w-as  educated  in  the  public  schools  of  Bradtville.  Wisconsin,  and  in  an 
academy  at  Patch  Grove,  Wisconsin,  before  entering  the  Indiana  Normal  School  at  Valparaiso, 
from  which  he  was  graduated  in  1883.  For  a  short  time  he  devoted  his  attention  to  book- 
keeping and  then  entered  the  insurance  field,  in  which  he  has  since  been  active.  Gradually 
he  has  worked  his  way  upward  and  for  the  past  thirty  years  has  been  connected  with  the 
Equitable  Life  Insurance  Company,  of  which  he  is  now  agency  manager  for  the  state  of 
North  Dakota.  He  came  to  Grand  Forks  in  April.  1882,  and  through  the  intervening  period 
has  been  connected  with  the  insurance  business,  his  success  being  attributable  to  his  close 
application  and  untiring  effort.  He  is  familiar  with  every  phase  of  pioneer  development 
and  later  progress  in  North  Dakota.  In  the  spring  of  1S79  he  rode  from  Yankton  to  his 
native  city  in  Wisconsin  on  an  Indian  pony  and  took  with  him  seven  other  ponies  which  he 


^^^^^^R^sr^     ^  _J? 

^1 

^^P^ 

^^^^^^^M 

CLARENCE  A.  HALE 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  113 

sold  on  his  arrival.  The  trip  consumed  several  weeks  and  for  many  miles  he  rode  over  the 
bleak  prairies  of  Dakota  and  western  Iowa,  enduring  many  discomforts  but  meeting  with 
no  unusual  experiences.  Reared  upon  his  father's  farm,  he  had  there  remained  to  the  age 
of  seventeen  years,  when  he  started  out  to  earn  his  own  livelihood,  and  from  that  time 
forward  has   depended   entirely   upon   his   own   efforts. 

On  the  13th  of  January,  1886,  at  Maine  Prairie,  Minnesota,  Mr.  Hale  was  united  in 
marriage  to  Miss  Ada  Jane  Spaulding,  a  native  of  that  state  and  a  representative  of  one  of 
its  pioneer  families.  She  was  born  at  Maine  Prairie,  April  16,  1866,  a  daughter  of  Willard 
and  Ellen  (McCoUum)  Spaulding,  the  latter  of  Scotch  descent  and  the  former  of  English 
lineage.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Hale  have  become  the  parents  of  five  children:  Chester  Erwin,  John, 
Lucille  Gertrude.  Alice  and  Clara  Luvenia. 

The  family  reside  at  No.  413  South  Sixth  street.  Mr.  Hale  erected  this  residence  prior 
to  his  marriage  and  to  it  brought  ilrs.  Hale  as  a  bride.  He  and  his  wdfe  are  members  of 
the  First  Presbyterian  church  of  Grand  Forks.  His  political  allegiance  is  given  to  the 
republican  party  and  he  has  always  been  active  in  its  support.  He  became  city  auditor  of 
Grand  Forks  in  1894,  serving  for  two  terms  under  Mayor  L.  B.  Richardson,  and  in  1897  he 
was  elected  to  represent  his  district  in  the  state  legislature,  where  he  became  the  father 
of  the  present  game  law.  He  has  always  been  interested  in  the  welfare  of  city  and  state 
and  his  cooperation  has  been  a  resultant  element  in  promoting  public  progress.  He  was  one 
of  the  organizers  of  the  Territorial  Fair  Association,  formed  in  1888,  and  was  its  secretary. 
He  became  one  of  the  founders  of  the  Pioneer  Club  of  Grand  Forks,  which  was  organized 
in  1883  but  has  long  since  been  discontinued.  In  1882  he  was  one  of  the  organizers  and 
members  of  the  Grand  Forks  Volunteer  Fire  Department  and  in  1887  was  president  of  the 
North  Dakota  State  Society  of  Volunteer  Firemen.  His  recreation  has  come  to  him  largely 
through  his  membership  in  the  Grand  Forks  Gun  Club  and  he  was  one  of  the  organizers  of 
the  North  Dakota  Sportsmen's  Association.  He  likewise  belongs  to  the  Commercial  Club  of 
Grand  Forks. 

Fraternally  Mr.  Hale  is  identified  with  the  Elks  but  outside  of  business  is  perhaps 
more  active  in  Masonic  circles  than  in  any  other  connection.  He  has  taken  all  of  the  degrees 
in  Masonry,  including  the  honorary  thirtj'-third  degree,  and  has  been  made  a  member  of 
various  shrines  outside  of  the  state.  When  endorsing  him  for  office  in  the  Imperial  Council 
of  the  Mystic  Shrine  his  fellow  members  of  Kem  Temple  of  Grand  Forks  spoke  of  him  as 
one  whose  "ability  and  sterling  qualities,  coupled  with  his  long  and  valuable  service  in  all 
branches  of  Masonry  entitle  him  to  wider  fields  of  activity,"  and  one  who  "by  nature,  educa- 
tion and  experience  is  eminently  qualified  to  occupy  any  position  on  the  Imperial  Divan." 
He  is  a  past  master,  past  high  priest  and  past  eminent  commander  of  the  local  bodies  at 
Grand  Forks,  is  a  past  grand  high  priest  of  the  Royal  Arch  Masons,  a  past  grand  commander 
of  the  Knights  Templar  and  master  of  Kadosh  in  Jared  Consistory.  No.  2,  A.  &  A.  S.  R.  It 
was  largely  due  to  his  efforts  that  Kem  Temple.  A.  A.  O.  N.  M.  S.,  was  organized  June  9,  1909 
— an  organization  now  having  a  membership  of  more  than  a  thousand.  He  was  its  first  poten- 
tate and  since  that  time  has  been  continuously  its  representative  in  the  Imperial  Council. 
He  is  also  the  secretary  of  the  Masonic  Building  Corporation,  which  erected  the  Masonic 
Temple  in  Grand  Forks,  one  of  the  finest  in  the  northwest.  His  devotion  to  Masonry  is 
one  of  the  unquestioned  facts  in  his  career  and  the  ability  which  he  displays  in  other  con- 
nections also  indicates  his  power  to  capably  serve  his  fellow  members  of  the  craft.  His 
life  has  been  one  of  far-reaching  effect  and  influence  in  many  connections  and  his  efforts 
have  ever  been  put  forth  on  the  side  of  progress  and  improvement,  resulting  in  notable 
benefit  for  city  and  state. 


E.  C.  RUDE. 


E.  C.  Rude,  a  general  merchant  of  York  and  one  of  the  foremost  business  men  of  Benson 
county,  was  born  in  Norway  on  the  27th  of  October,  1873,  a  son  of  Christopher  and  Christie 
Rude,  both  of  whom  spent  their  entire  lives  in  the  land  of  the  midnight  sun. 

E.  C.  Rude  was  reared  and  educated  in  his  native  coimtry,  completing  his  studies  with 


Vol.  Ill— 6 


114  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

a  high  school  course.  The  favorable  reports  which  reached  him  concerning  the  opportunities 
of  the  new  world  led  him  to  cross  the  Atlantic  in  1893,  when  he  was  twenty  years  of 
age.  He  made  his  way  at  once  to  Churchs  Ferry,  North  Dakota,  and  in  that  vicinity  was 
employed  at  farm  labor  for  several  years.  In  1899  he  removed  to  York  and  there  received 
his  initial  training  along  mercantile  lines  as  a  clerk  in  the  general  store  of  Solberg  & 
Studness,  who  carried  on  business  in  the  same  store  building  in  which  Mr.  Rude  is  now 
located.  On  the  1st  of  January,  1915,  in  connection  with  Mr.  Studness,  he  purchased  the 
interest  of  J\Ir.  Solberg  and  the  business  was  reorganized  under  the  name  of  the  E.  C. 
Rude  Company,  with  Mr.  Rude,  C.  T.  Studness  and  J.  0.  Gullickson  as  the  members  of 
the  iirm.  Mr.  Rude  was  made  general  manager  of  the  business  and  along  well  defined  lines 
ot  activity  and  enterprise  is  meeting  with  substantial  success  in  the  control  of  one  of  the 
leading   mercantile   interests   of   York. 

In  1905  Mr.  Rude  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Bertha  Gullickson,  by  whom  he  has 
four  children,  namely:  lona  C,  Clarence  K.,  Alice  J.  and  Lillian  M.  Politically  Mr.  Rude 
is  a  republican,  giving  stalwart  support  to  the  principles  of  the  party.  Fraternally  he  is 
connected  with  York  Lodge,  No.  68,  I.  0.  0.  F.,  and  the  Ancient  Order  of  United  Workmen. 
He  and  iiis  wife  are  members  of  the  Lutheran  church  and  high  esteem  is  entertained  for 
them  by  all  who  know  them  by  reason  of  their  well  spent  lives  and  many  excellent  traits 
of   heart   and   mind. 


0.   A.   RUUD. 


Among  the  leading  citizens  of  Stutsman  county  is  0.  A.  Ruud.  tlie  proprietor  of  the 
Pingiee  Patriot,  a  well  edited  and  well  managed  weekly  publication.  A  native  of  Minnesota, 
his  birth  occurred  on  the  28th  of  Marcli,  1883,  and  his  parents  are  0.  M.  and  Olive  (Peterson) 
Ruud,  both  of  whom  are  still  living  in  the  Gopher  state.  The  father  is  a  hotel  pro])rietor 
and  is  meeting  with  gratifying  success  in  business. 

0.  A.  Ruud  attended  the  public  schools  of  his  native  state  and  the  Valder  Normal  and 
Business  College  at  Decorah,  Iowa,  from  which  he  was  graduated  in  1899.  In  1907  he  came 
to  North  Dakota  and  for  two  years  thereafter  was  manager  of  a  lumberyard  at  Ypsilanti. 
Later  he  bought  grain  for  the  Andrews  Grain  Company  at  Eckelson  for  one  season  and 
then  removed  to  Pingree,  where  he  had  charge  of  a  lumberyard  for  two  years.  Having 
decided  to  go  into  business  on  his  own  account,  he  purchased  the  Pingi-ee  Patriot  in  1912 
and  has  since  published  the  paper,  which  has  about  five  hundred  subscribers.  Both  its  cir- 
culation and  its  advertising  patronage  have  shown  a  steady  growth  and  it  has  gained  an 
enviable  reputation  for  progressiveness,  for  reliability  and  for  enterprise. 

Mr.  Ruud  is  an  advocate  of  republican  principles  and  loyally  supports  the  candidates 
of  that  party  at  the  polls.  He  is  a  Lutheran  in  religious  faith,  and  fraternally  is  connected 
with  tlie  Elks  at  .lamestown.  He  has  served  as  clerk  of  the  township  board  and  as  treasurer 
of  the  school  district  and  can  be  depended  upon  at  all  times  to  further  the  public  welfare 
both  as  a  private  citizen  and  as  an  editor.  He  finds  great  pleasure  in  hunting  and  other 
outdoor  sports  and  through  such  recreation  keeps  in  fine  physical  trim.  He  has  great 
faith  in  the  future  of  North  Dakota  and  has  identified  his  interests  with  those  of  the  state, 
supporting  all  movements  calculated  to  advance  the  welfare  of  the  commonwealth. 


FRANK  E.  FEE. 


Tlie  commercial  interests  of  Towner  county  have  a  worthy  representative  in  Frank  E. 
Fee,  who  is  not  only  engaged  in  general  merchandising  at  Olmstead  but  is  also  proprietor 
of  the  F.  E.  Fee  elevator  at  that  place.  He  is  a  native  of  Wisconsin,  born  in  Adams  county. 
March  22,  1865,  and  is  a  son  of  William  F.  and  Johanna  (Le  Marchant)  Fee.  The  father 
was  born  in  Syracuse,  New  York,  but  the  birth  of  the  mother  occurred  in  Maryland.  By 
trade  William  F.  Fee  was  a  carpenter  and  millwright  but  during  the  Civil  war  ho  laid  aside 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  115 

all  personal  interests  and  went  to  the  front  as  a  member  of  a  Wisconsin  regiment.  He 
was  wounded  in  the  buttle  of  Baton  Rouge  and  wlien  hostilities  ceased  and  his  services  were 
no  longer  needed  he  returned  to  his  home  in  Wisconsin,  where  he  again  worked  at  his  trade 
for  two  or  tliree  years.  At  the  end  of  that  time  lie  removed  to  Iowa,  where  he  followed 
farming  for  some  years,  but  is  now  living  retired  at  Nora  Springs,  that  state. 

Frank  E.  Fee  was  a  very  small  child  wlien  he  accompanied  his  parents  on  their  removal 
to  Iowa  and  in  that  state  he  received  a  good  common  school  education.  At  the  age  of  nine- 
teen years  lie  left  home  and  began  his  business  career  husking  corn  at  one  dollar  per  day. 
During  the  following  season  he  was  witli  a  threshing  outfit  and  earned  three  dollars  per 
day.  In  1887  he  apprenticed  himself  to  the  jeweler's  trade  in  Hartley,  Iowa,  becoming  asso- 
ciated with  W.  H.  Barker,  and  ho  subsequently  attended  the  jewelers  school  of  Thomas  Jusek 
at  Klgin,  Illinois,  for  one  year.  Sliortly  afterward  he  purchased  Mr.  Barker's  interest  in 
the  business  at  Hartley  and  continued  to  conduct  a  jewelry  store  at  that  place  for  nineteen 
years. 

It  was  in  lODfi  that  Mr.  Fee  removed  to  Towner  county.  North  Dakota,  and  erected 
the  first  building  in  Olmstead,  this  being  an  elevator,  and  in  tlie  fall  of  the  same  year  he 
also  built  a  store.  Since  that  time  he  has  been  engaged  in  general  merchandising  and  in  the 
grain  trade,  his  patronage  being  quite  extensive.  In  1907  he  was  appointed  postmaster  of 
Olmstead  and  has  served  continuously  in  that  capacity.  Besides  his  property  in  the  village 
he  owns  four  hundred  acres  of  land  in  Towner  county  and  a  quarter  section  in  Manitoba, 
Canada. 

In  1891  was  celebrated  the  marriage  of  Mr.  Fee  and  Miss  Katie  S.  Guenthcr,  of  O'Brien 
county,  Iowa,  and  they  have  a  son,  Ennis  F.,  born  February  18,  1896.  He  was  educated 
in  tlie  Egeland  high  school  and  at  the  Nora  Springs   (Iowa)   Seminary. 

In  politics  Jlr.  Fee  is  a  republican,  and  in  his  social  relations  is  identified  witli  Beacon 
Lodge,  No.  495,  A.  F.  &  A.  M.,  of  Hartley,  Iowa;  and  Samara  Chapter,  No.  105,  R.  A.  M.,  of 
Primgliar,  Iowa.  He  is  one  of  the  foremost  business  men  of  Towner  county  being  wide- 
awake, enterprising  and  progressive,  and  he  usually  carries  forward  to  successful  completion 
whatever  he  undertakes. 


RICHARD  H.  .JOHNSON. 


Richard  H.  .Johnson,  vice  president  of  the  First  National  Bank  and  accounted  one  of 
the  valued,  representative  and  honored  citizens  of  Dickinson,  was  born  at  Eastford,  Con- 
necticut, in  1855.  His  father,  Samuel  A.  .Johnson,  a  native  of  Massachusetts,  became  a 
resident  of  Minnesota  in  1856  and  cast  in  his  lot  with  the  pioneer  settlers  of  the  St.  Charles 
district,  where  he  began  farming.  Subsequently  he  turned  his  attention  to  the  hardware 
business,  in  which  he  was  actively  engaged  to  the  time  of  his  death,  which  occurred  in  1910. 
His  wife,  who  bore  the  maiden  name  of  Mary  Cemantha  Carpenter  and  is  a  native  of 
Connecticut,  is  now  living  in  St.  Charles,  Minnesota,  at  tlic>  advanced  age  of  eighty-seven 
years. 

Richard  H.  .Johnson  was  the  second  in  order  of  birth  in  their  family  of  six  children,  five 
of  whom  are  yet  living,  one  having  died  in  childhtjod.  He  pursued  his  education  in  the 
public  schools  of  Minnesota,  and  subsequently  was  graduated  from  the  State  University  of 
Minnesota  in  the  class  of  1882,  with  the  degree  of  B.  S.  Still  later  he  entered  the  University 
of  Michigan  at  Ann  Arbor,  where  he  completed  a  course  in  1884.  winning  the  LL.  B.  degree. 
.  In  the  spring  of  that  year  he  removed  to  Bismarck.  He  had  first  come  to  North  Dakota  in 
1878,  at  which  time  he  settled  on  land  near  Jamestown,  and  through  the  capable  manage- 
ment of  his  business  affairs  he  earned  the  money  that  enabled  him  to  make  his  wav  through 
college.  He  worked  on  the  farm  through  the  summer  months  and  continued  his  education 
through  the  winter  seasons.  When  he  had  prepared  for  the  bar  he  opened  an  office  at 
Bismarck,  where  he  remained  in  active  practice  until  1889.  In  that  year  he  arrived  in 
Dickinson,  where  he  now  makes  his  home,  and  accepted  the  cashiership  of  the  Stark  County 
Bank,  which  had  been  established  in  1886.  In  1890  he  became  associated  with  A.  Hilliard 
in  organizing  the  First  National  Bank  of  Dickinson,  which  was  capitalized  at   fifty  thousand 


116  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

dollars.  This  was  the  second  bank  in  the  state  west  of  the  Missouri  river.  In  1905  the 
capital  stock  was  increased  to  one  hundred  thousand  dollars  with  a  surplus  of  fifty  thousand 
dollars.  From  the  organization  until  1914  Mr.  Johnson  continued  to  occupy  the  position  of 
cashier  and  was  then  elected  vice  president.  The  success  of  this  institution  is  attributable 
in  substantial  measure  to  his  enterprising  efforts.  Thoroughly  conversant  with  every  depart- 
ment of  banking,  he  has  always  recognized  the  fact  that  the  bank  is  most  worthy  of  sup- 
port that  most  carefully  safeguards  the  interests  of  its  depositors.  In  tlie  conduct  of  the 
bank  conservatism  and  progressivcness  are  evenly  balanced  factors  and  that  the  institution 
receives  as  well  as  merits  public  confidence  and  support  is  indicated  in  the  continuous  growth 
of  its  business,  necessitating  an  increase  in  its  capital  stock.  Mr.  Johnson  is  also  interested 
in  farm  lands  and  at  an  early  period  was  extensively  engaged  in  raising  sheep  and  cattle 
when  the  free  range  was  a  feature  of  North  Dakota. 

In  1889  was  celebrated  the  marriage  of  Richard  H.  Johnson  and  Miss  Mary  M.  Poole, 
a  native  of  Wisconsin  and  a  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Joseph  Poole,  who  removed  from 
Minnesota  to  Wisconsin  and  later  to  North  Dakota,  where  their  remaining  days  were  spent, 
both  passing  away  in  Dickinson.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Johnson  have  become  the  parents  of  five 
children:  Hartwell  P.,  who  is  employed  in  the  First  National  Bank  of  Dickinson;  LMary  M., 
at  home;  liichard  Watt,  a  mining  engineer,  who  is  a  graduate  of  tlie  State  University  at 
Grand  Forks,  while  from  the  Idaho  University  he  received  his  Master's  degree;  Beth  C,  who 
is  attending  the  university  at  Grand  Forks;  and  Ward  K.,  a  student  at  the  Dickinson  high 
school. 

In  politics  Mr.  Johnson  is  an  earnest  republican  and  for  two  terms  he  was  mayor  of 
Dickinson,  giving  to  the  city  a  businesslike  and  progressive  administration  characterized  by 
reform  and  progress.  He  has  also  been  a  member  of  the  school  board  and  of  the  library 
board  and  he  was  a  delegate  to  the  republican  national  convention  which  nominated  Taft. 
Fraternally  he  is  connected  with  the  Elks  lodge  of  Dickinson  and  he  is  a  Mason  of  high 
standing,  belonging  to  the  lodge,  chapter  and  commandery  in  Dickinson  and  to  El  Zagal 
Temple  of  the  Mystic  Shrine  at  Fargo.  He  has  passed  through  all  the  chairs  in  the  York 
Rite  bodies  in  Dickinson  and  has  also  been  an  officer  in  the  Elks  lodge.  Such  in  brief  is 
the  life  history  of  Mr.  Johnson,  who  may  wfiU  be  called  a  self-educated  and  self-made  man, 
his  record  being  such  as  an  American  citizen  holds  in  the  highest  honor.  His  ability  and 
the  strength  of  his  character  have  placed  him  in  the  creditable  place  which  he  now  occupies 
in  business  circles  and  in  public  regard.  , 


JOHN  E.  BRYANS. 


John  E.  Bryans,  of  Mohall,  a  well  known  representative  of  the  Renville  county  bar, 
was  born  in  London,  England,  in  August,  1882,  a  son  of  Edward  and  Esther  (Earl)  Bryans, 
the  former  a  native  of  Ireland  and  the  latter  of  England.  In  1880  the  father  came  to  the 
new  world,  but  returned  to  England  in  1881.  In  the  spring  of  1882  he  again  crossed  the 
Atlantic  and  for  five  years  remained  in  Canada,  where  he  worked  on  a  railroad.  In  1885 
he  arrived  in  Ward  county,  North  Dakota,  and  squatted  on  some  land  in  that  section  of 
the  county  that  is  now  Renville  county.  In  order  to  provide  for  his  immediate  necessities 
he  accepted  a  position  on  a  ranch  and  took  cattle  for  his  wages.  Ten  years  later  the  land 
was  surveyed  and  he  filed  on  his  claim  and  in  time  secured  title  to  the  property,  compris- 
ing one  hundred  and  sixty  acres.  That  constituted  but  the  nucleus  of  his  present  extensive 
possessions,  for  he  has  added  to  his  holdings  by  further  purchase  from  time  to  time  until 
he  is  now  the  owner  of  six  thousand  acres.  In  the  fall  of  1915  he  incorporated  his  exten- 
sive business  interests  under  the  style  of  the  Edward  Bryans,  Sr.,  &  Sons  Mouse  River 
Horse  &  Cattle  Company  and  gave  to  each  of  his  twelve  children  a  share.  The  place  is 
now  stocked  with  six  hundred  head  of  cattle  and  he  raises  one  hundred  and  fifty  calves 
annually.  He  has  also  been  largely  engaged  in  sheep  raising  and  in  1907  sold  ten  thousand 
head.  His  ranch  is  today  the  largest  in  the  state  and  the  life  record  of  Mr.  Bryans  stands 
as  a  splendid  example  of  what  can  be  accomplished  through  enterprise,  diligence  and  judicious 
investment  and,  moreover,  indicates  that  success  and  an  honored  name  may  be  won  simul- 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  117 

tancously.  lie  lias  now  reached  tlie  age  of  fifty-nine  years  and  svicli  is  liis  prosperity  tliat 
he  is  able  to  spend  the  winter  seasons  in  California,  while  in  tlie  suninier  months  he  returns 
to  supervise  his  extensive   interests  in  Kenville  county. 

John  E.  Bryans,  whose  name  introduces  this  review,  was.  reared  and  educated  in  North 
Dakota  and  Minnesota.  Liberal  school  privileges  were  accorded  him,  his  studies  being  com- 
pleted with  a  law  course  in  the  State  University  of  North  Dakota,  from  which  he  was 
graduated  Avith  the  class  of  190S.  He  then  began  practice  in  Grano  and  Lansford,  North 
Dakota,  remaining  in  active  professional  connection  with  those  towns  for  two  years.  In 
I'jll  he  removed  to  Mohall,  the  county  seat  of  Kenville  county,  where  he  has  since  followed 
his  profession,  and  his  developing  powers  in  law  practice  have  gained  for  him  an  extensive 
and  distinctively  representative  clientage.  In  1916  he  was  nominated  for  the  position  of 
states  attorney  on  the  republican  ticket.  In  1911  he  entered  into  partnership  with  R.  H. 
Grace  and  the  firm  has  since  occupied  a  commanding  position  at  the  bar  but  has  recently 
been  dissolved  owing  to  the  fact  that  the  senior  partner  has  been  nominated  for  the  supreme 
bench.  Mr.  Bryans  possesses  one  of  the  largest  law  libraries  in  the  northwestern  part  of 
the  state  and  is  a  constant  student  of  the  principles  of  jurisprudence,  his  comprehensive 
knowledge  of  the  law  enabling  him  to  ably  meet  the  attack  of  the  opposing  council.  For 
eight  months  he  filled  the  office  of  assistant  states  attorney.  Aside  from  his  active  connec- 
tion with  the  bar  he  is  a  stockholder  in  the  Mohall  State  Bank. 

In  March,  1909,  Mr.  Bryans  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Mercy  Hayes  and  they 
have  become  the  parents  of  four  children,  Merrett,  George,  John  E.  and  Emery,  ilr.  and 
Mrs.  Bryans  are  consistent  members  of  the  aiethodist  church  and  he  belongs  to  the  Modern 
Woodmen  of  America  and  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows.  He  served  several  years 
as  a  member  of  the  school  board  and  is  now  mayor,  his  terra  expiring  March  31,  1917. 
Under  liis  able  administration  the  city  is  installing  a  sewer  system  and  waterworks  and 
making  many  other  improvements,  such  as  grading  streets,  extending  sidewalks  and  doing 
drainage  work.  He  is  a  representative  of  one  of  the  most  prominent  and  honored  families 
of  the  northwest  and  individual  merit  and  ability  have  gained  him  a  high  position  in  the 
public  regard. 


JOSEPH  MAHOWALD. 


Joseph  Mahowald,  harness  manufacturer  of  Grand  Forks  and  owner  of  one  of  the 
important  productive  industries  of  the  city,  was  born  in  New  Market,  Minnesota,  November 
26,  1874,  a  son  of  .John  and  Catherine  (Sauber)  Mahowald,  who  were  natives  of  Luxemburg, 
German}'.  The  father  arrived  in  Minnesota  in  1853  an<l  he  settled  on  a  farm  in  Scott  county, 
but  at  the  time  the  tract  came  into  his  possession  it  was  covered  with  forest  trees.  He 
and  his  children  cleared  the  land  and  later  cultivated  it,  transforming  it  into  a  splendidly 
improved  farm.  Thereon  the  father  spent  his  remaining  days,  his  death  occurring  in  1901, 
when  he  was  seventy-four  years  of  age.  It  was  about  1862  that  Mrs.  Mahowald  crossed  the 
Atlantic  to  the  new  world  and  she,  too,  became  a  resident  of  Minnesota,  where  she  met 
Mr.  Mahowald,  becoming  his  wife  at  New  Trier,  that  state.  Their  wedding  journey  was 
made  with  an  ox  team.  Mrs.  Mahowald  survived  her  husband  for  about  four  years,  passing 
away  in  1905  at  the  age  of  si.xty-four.  In  their  family  were  ten  children,  six  sons  and 
four  daughters. 

Joseph  Mahowald.  the  seventh  in  order  of  birth,  attended  the  schools  of  Scott  county, 
Minnesota,  through  eight  winter  seasons  and  remained  with  his  father  upon  the  home  farm 
until  he  reached  the  age  of  twenty-three  years,  early  becoming  familiar  with  the  best 
methods  of  tilling  the  soil  and  caring  for  the  crops.  He  next  went  to  work  for  his  brother 
in  the  harness  making  business  at  Bird  Island,  Minnesota,  and  there  learned  the  trade.  In 
1901  he  established  a  harness  manufactory  at  Hector,  Minnesota,  where  he  remained  in 
business  until  the  1st  of  September,  1906,  when  he  sought  a  broader  field  of  labor  in  the 
larger  city  of  Grand  Forks.  There  he  bought  out  T.  .J.  McMullen  and  has  now  been  engaged 
in  the  harness  manufacturing  business  at  Grand  Forks  through  all  the  intervening  period. 
His  predecessor  had   conducted  the  shop   for   twenty-six  years   and   since  assuming   control 


118  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

Mr.  Mahowald  lias  developed  the  business  along  substantial  lines  resulting  in  the  large 
increase  of  tlie  trade.  He  remained  in  the  McMullen  building  until  3  914,  when  he  erected 
his  present  business  block,  a  fireproof  structure  seventy-six  by  ninety-two  and  one-half  feet. 
It  has  a  full  basement  and  one  story  above  the  street  and  contains  three  stores,  one  of 
which  is  utilized  by  Mr.  Mahowald,  while  one  is  in  use  as  a  clothing  store  and  the  third  as 
a  restaurant.  During  the  first  year  of  his  connection  with  the  harness  trade  in  Grand 
Forks  his  business  amounted  to  twelve  thousand  dollars  and  in  1915  his  sales  reached 
thirty-three  thousand  dollars.  He  believes  in  extensive  and  judicious  advertising  and  issues 
catalogues  and  seasonable  price  lists  which  are  mailed  to  farmers.  In  fact  his  business  is 
conducted  along  the  most  progressive  lines  and  he  is  now  carrying  on  a  wholesale  and 
retail  harness  manufacturing  business,  having  the  largest  and  most  complete  saddlery  house 
in  the  state  of  North  Dakota.  He  carries  everything  in  the  line  of  horse  furnishing  goods 
and  emidoys  only  skilled  mechanics  in  the  manufacturing  department.  In  addition  to  selling 
harness  and  saddlery  he  carries  a  complete  stock  of  trunks  and  traveling  bags  and  has  built 
up  a  legitimate  business  along  the  lines  of  honest  and  honorable  dealing. 

On  the  18th  of  .June,  1901,  at  Bird  Island,  Minnesota,  Mr.  Mahowald  was  married  to 
Miss  Katherine  Leach,  a  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Nick  Leach,  who  were  pioneers  of  that  ■ 
place,  where  they  still  reside.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Mahowald  have  become  parents  of  seven 
children:  Agnes  M.,  who  was  born  at  Hector,  Minnesota,  January  3.9,  1903;  Florence  M.-, 
born  in  Hector,  August  30,  1905;  Alfred  M.,  born  at  Bii'd  Island,  October  10,  1906;  Ralph  E.  M., 
born  at  Grand  Forks,  March  1,  1911;  Katherine  M.,  born  in  Grand  Forks  in  1913;  Magdalene 
M.,  born  in  1915;  and  Bernardine  M.  born  in  1916. 

The  religious  faith  of  the  family  is  that  of  the  Roman  Catholic  church  and'  Mr.  Mahowald 
belongs  to  the  Knights  of  Columbus  and  the  Catholic  Order  of  Foresters.  He  is  also  con- 
nected with  the  Yeomen,  while  in  politics  he  maintains  an  independent  course.  He  has  never 
sought  ollice,  preferring  to  concentrate  his  efi'orts  upon  his  business,  and  the  thoroughness 
with  which  he  mastered  his  trade  and  has  conducted  his  interests  has  made  him  one  of  the 
substantial,  progi-essive  and  successful  merchants  of  Grand  Forks. 


J.  BYRON  VAIL. 


.J.  Byron  Vail,  the  well  known  and  popular  countv  treasurer  of  McHenry  county, 
residing  in  Towner,  was  born  in  Ontario,  Canada,  June  17,  1855,  and  is  a  son  of  George  W. 
and  Hannah  (Gunn)  Vail,  also  natives  of  Canada.  Coming  to  the  United  States  the  father 
located  in  Michigan,  where  he  spent  the  remainder  of  his  life,  dying  there  in  September, 
1904.  He  was  engaged  in  business  as  a  general  merchant  throughout  the  greater  part  of 
his  career.     His  wife  survived  him  about  a  year  and  died  in  August,  1905. 

It  was  during  the  boyhood  of  J.  Byron  Vail  that  the  family  removed  to  Michigan, 
in  which  state  he  was  practically  reared.  There  he  attended  school  but  completed  his  educa- 
tion in  Ontario,  Canada,  and  Poughkeepsie,  New  York,  taking  a  business  course  at  the 
latter  place.  F'or  sixteen  years  he  conducted  a  general  store  in  Port  Huron,  Michigan, 
prior  to  coming  to  North  Dakota  in  1899.  He  located  in  Balfour,  McHenry  county,  where 
he  engaged  in  the  implement  business  until  1908  and  for  the  following  four  years  dealt  in 
real  estate.  In  1913  he  removed  to  Towner,  the  county  seat,  and  assumed  charge  of  the 
county  treasurer's  office.  A  year  later  he  was  elected  county  treasurer  and  has  since  filled 
that  position  in  a  most  creditable  and  satisfactory  manner.  He  owns  four  hundred  and 
eighty  acres  of  land  in  the  state,  which  he  rents. 

Mr.  Vail  was  married  in  August,  1884,  to  Miss  Mahetta  Holden,  a  daughter  of  Moses 
and  Betsey  (Eastman)  Holden,  who  were  natives  of  Canada  and  pioneers  of  Michigan. 
They  returned  to  Canada,  however,  and  both  died  there,  tlic  mother  in  1887  and  the  father 
in   1901. 

Mr.  Vail  is  a  Methodist  but  as  there  is  no  church  of  that  di'iumiination  in  Towner 
he  attends  the  Presbyterian  church,  in  which  he  is  an  elder,  and  lie  is  likewise  director  of 
music  in  the  Sunday  school  and  the  teacher  of  the  Bible  class.  He  takes  a  great  deal  of 
interest  in  everything  relating  to  the  community  welfare  and  is  president  of  the  Towner 


J.  BYRON  VAIL 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  121 

Chamber  of  Commerce  and  secretary  and  treasurer  of  the  Library  Association.  In  poli- 
tics he  is  an  ardent  supporter  of  the  republican  party.  He  has  been  called  upon  to  serve 
in  several  local  offices,  including  that  of  school  director,  justice  of  the  peace  and  treasurer 
of  the  villa'ge  of  Balfour.  Being  a  public-spirited  citizen  he  has  discharged  his  official 
duties  in  a  capable  manner,  never  shirking  any  obligation  that  has  devolved  upon  him. 


WILLIAJI  A.   APPLEDOORN. 

William  A.  Appk-doorn,  who  is  cngagi'd  in  conducting  a  blacksmith  shop  and  is  also 
proprietor  of  a  hardware  and  implement  business  at  Zenith,  Stark  county,  was  born  in 
Bemmel,  Holland,  May  20,  1888.  His  father  was  a  farmer  in  Holland  but  is  now  deceased. 
The  mother  is  still  living  and  is  conducting  a  general  store  at  Bemmel.  In  their  family 
were  five  children,  William  A.,  Benjamin,  Annie,  Carrie  and  Dreke. 

It  was  in  Holland  that  William  A.  Appledoorn  was  reared  and  educated,  supplementing 
his  early  education  by  college  training.  He  learned  the  blacksmith's  ti-ade  in  his  native 
country,  spending  two  years  in  learning  how  to  make  horseshoes  and  shoe  horses,  such 
being  the  thoroughness  of  his  preparation.  He  had  to  pay  his  own  expenses  while  thus 
engaged.  He  followed  his  trade  in  Holland  until  he  came  to  the  United  States,  sailing  from 
Rotterdam  on  the  4th  of  March,  1910,  and  landing  at  New  York.  Making  his  way  westward 
to  North  Dakota,  he  settled  first  at  Belfield  but  a  week  later  removed  to  Zenith,  where  he 
conducted  a  blacksmith  shop  for  the  Holland-Dakota  Land  Company  for  ten  months.  At 
the  end  of  that  time  he  purchased  the  business  and  conducted  the  shop  for  four  years.  In 
1915  he  erected  a  store  building  and  added  to  his  smithy  a  stock  of  farm  machinery  and 
hardware.  He  is  an  enterprising  merchant,  alert  and  watchful  of  every  opportunity  pointing 
to  success.  He  has  a  good  line  of  hardware  and  handles  much  machinery,  including  engines, 
threshing  machines,  etc.  A  motor  furnishes  the  power  for  his  blacksmith  shop  and  he  lias 
all  the  work  that  he  can  do.  In  order  to  further  qvuilify  for  the  conduct  of  his  business  he 
attended  a  commercial  college  in  Fargo  in  the  winter  of  1915-16.  He  is  very  thorough  in 
everything  that  he  undertakes  and  his  energy  and  ability  are  pronounced. 


JOHN  H.   SHAW. 


John  H.  Shaw,  vice  president  of  the  First  National  Bank  of  Williston,  is  a  native  of 
Franklin,  Venango  county,  Pennsylvania.  He  was  born  September  1,  1874,  of  the  marriage 
of  W.  H.  and  Sarah  (JtcKenzie)  Shaw.  The  father  was  a  farmer  of  Franklin,  Fennsylvania, 
through  much  of  his  life.  However,  he  spent  the  year  1861  in  Illinois  and  Iowa  but  following 
the  discovery  of  oil  he  made  the  rush  to  the  oil  fields  and  soon  afterward  returned  to 
Franklin,  where  both  he  and  his  wife  passed  away. 

■lohn  H.  Shaw  acquired  his  education  in  the  Cooperstown  high  school  and  Grove  City 
College  at  Grove  City,  Pennsylvania,  and  afterward  engaged  in  farming  for  his  father  until 
he  reached  the  age  of  nineteen  years.  Seeking  the  opportunities  ofl'ered  in  the  west,  he 
made  his  way  to  Cave  Hills.  South  Dakota,  in  1893  and  engaged  in  ranching  with  his  brother, 
W.  A.  Shaw,  remaining  there  for  seven  years.  He  later  started  a  ranch  on  the  Little 
Missouri  river  in  McKenzie  county  North  Dakota.  His  landed  possessions  were  extensive 
and  he  carried  on  his  business  affairs  on  a  large  scale.  He  now  has  a  big  ranch  on  the  Fort 
Berthold  Indian  reservation  and  is  one  of  the  leading  cattle  men  of  North  Dakota,  having 
important  business  interests  in  that  connection.  When  the  First  National  Bank  of  Williston 
was  consolidated  with  the  Citizens  National  Bank  on  the  9th  of  May,  1913,  under  the  former 
name,  he  became  one  of  the  directors  of  the  new  organization  and  in  1915  Avas  chosen  vice 
president  of  the  First  National,  which  position  he  is  now  filling.  He  also  still  manages  his 
ranch,  which  he  has  placed  in  charge  of  a  foreman.  He  is  now  deeply  interested  in  both 
banking  and  stock  raising  and  his  well  directed  labors  are  bringing  to  him  success.  In 
addition  to  his  connection  with  the  First  National  Bank  he  is  president  of  the  Alexandria 


122  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

State  Bank  of  Alexandria,  president  of  the  Citizens  State  Bank  of  Stanley,  North  Dakota, 
and  a  stockholder  in  still  other  banks. 

On  the  10th  of  October,  1906,  at  Cochranton,  Pennsylvania,  Mr.  Shaw  wedded  Miss  Artie 
Cargo,  who  was  born  in  Pennsylvania  and  there  lived  to  the  time  of  her  marriage.  She  ia 
a  daughter  of  Hugh  and  Mary  Cargo,  natives  of  the.  Keystone  state,  the  former  now 
deceased,  while  the  latter  is  still  living.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Shaw  have  two  children,  Martha  W. 
and  Eleanor,  both  born  in  Williston,  the  former  October  1,  1907,  and  the  latter  September 
28,  1913. 

In  politics  Mr.  Shaw  is  a  republican  and  when  McKenzie  county  was  organized  he  was 
appointed  by  Governor  Sarles  to  the  position  of  county  commissioner,  which  office  he  filled 
for  two  terms.  He  belongs  to  the  Congi-egational  church,  is  a  member  of  the  Masonic  lodge- 
of  Williston,  in  which  he  has  been  junior  deacon,  the  Scottish  rite  bodies  of  Grand  Forks 
and  Kem  Temple,  A.  A.  O.  N.  M.  S.,  of  Grand  Forks.  Mr.  Shaw  is  one  of  the  old-time 
ranchmen  of  the  state,  having  become  identified  with  cattle  interests  at  a  day  when  there 
was  a  wide,  open  range  and  the  cowboy  was  a  picturesque  figure  as  he  rode  over  the  plains. 
Mr.  Shaw  has  long  controlled  extensive  interests  in  cattle  and  is  still  the  owner  of  a  valuable 
ranch  property  situated  on  the  Little  Missouri  river.  Extending  his  efforts,  he  has  become 
one  of  the  leading  bankers  in  his  part  of  the  state,  a  strong  force  in  financial  circles,  while 
the  record  that  he  has  made  is  an  indication  of  the  fact  that  success  and  an  honored  name 
may  be  won  simultaneously. 


GEORGE  L.  RYERSON. 


George  L.  Ryerson,  an  attorney  of  Mohall,  was  born  in  Waushara  county,  Wisconsin,- 
January  8,  1869,  his  parents  being  Gustav  and  Gumborg  (Anderson)  Ryerson.  The  mother 
was  born  in  Xorway  and  with  her  parents  removed  to  Wisconsin  when  three  years  of  age. 
The  father  was  also  born  in  Xorway  and  with  his  parents  came  to  America  about  the  year 
1850  at  the  age  of  fourteen,  and  for  a  few  years  was  a  resident  of  Chicago  but  afterward 
removed  to  Wisconsin,  where  he  was  employed  in  lumber  camps  and  in  rafting  lumber 
down  the  Wisconsin  and  Mississippi  rivers  to  St,  Louis,  He  also  engaged  in  manufacturing 
shingles  at  a  time  when  they  were  made  by  hand.  He  also  turned  his  attention  to  farming 
and  homesteaded  land  in  Waushara  county,  Wisconsin,  the  patent  thereto  being  issued  to 
him  February  19,  1857.  W'ith  characteristic  energy  he  began  to  develop  and  improve  this 
raw  tract,  which  he  transformed  into  productive  fields  and  which  he  continued  to  cultivate 
for  many  years,  but  he  is  now  living  retired  in  Wautoma,  Wisconsin,  at  the  advanced  age 
of  seventy-nine.  His  wife  passed  away  in  1879.  She  was  of  the  third  generation  of  the- 
family   residing  in   Wisconsin. 

George  L.  Ryerson  was  reared  and  educated  in  W'isconsin,  remaining  under  the  parental 
roof  until  he  reached  the  age  of  seventeen  years,  when  he  started  out  in  the  world  to  win 
a  fortune.  He  went  first  to  Stevens  Point,  Wisconsin,  where  he  learned  the  printer's  trade, 
being  employed  on  the  Stevens  Point  Journal  for  three  and  a  half  years.  In  1890  he  removed 
to  Grand  Forks,  North  Dakota,  and  for  a  year  was  employed  on  the  Herald  and  Plaindealer, 
but,  ambitious  to  engage  in  business  on  his  own  account,  he  then  established  the  Reynolds- 
Enterprise  at  Reynolds.  North  Dakota,  publishing  the  first  issue  of  that  paper  on  October  2, 
1891,"  For  twelve  years  he  remained  editor  and  proprietor  of  that  journal  and  during  that 
period  he  was  elected  clerk  of  the  district  court  of  Grand  Forks  county  in  1898.  He  became- 
a  prominent  figure  in  political  circles  early  in  life  and  was  secretary  of  the  republican 
central  committee  of  Grand  Forks  county  during  the  McKinley-Bryan  campaign  of  1896. 
He  continued  to  serve  for  four  years  in  the  position  of  clerk  of  the  district  court  and  was 
renominated  for  a  third  term  in  1902  but  withdrew  before  the  election.  During  the  period' 
in  which  he  held  the  office  of  clerk  he  had  devoted  his  leisure  time  during  the  day  and 
his  evenings  at  home  to  the  study  of  law  and  was  admitted  to  the  bar  in  1901.  After 
retiring  from  office  he  entered  into  the  active  practice  of  law  at  Reynolds.  In  1904  he 
removed  to  Mohall,  where  in  partnership  with  W.  A.  Guilfoyle  he  opened  a  law  office  and' 
continued  in  the  practice  of  law  as  a  member  of  that  firm  until   1906,  when  he  formed  a. 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  123 

paitiiersliip  with  Robert  H.  Bosard,  niaintaiiiing  offices  at  both  Mohall  and  Minot.  This 
relation  between  them  continued  until  the  fall  of  1908,  when  Mr.  Ryerson  sold  out  and 
established  his  home  in  Minot,  where  he  entered  into  partnership  with  Dudley  L.  Nash,  who 
was  that  year  elected  states  attorney  of  Ward  county  (then  comprising  what  is  now  the 
counties  of  Ward,  Mountrail,  Burke  and  Renville),  the  firm  name  being  Ryerson  &  Nash. 
Mr.  Ryerson  acted  as  assistant  states  attorney  and  the  partnership  was  maintained  until 
1911.  In  the  meantime  Jlr.  Ryerson  had  established  a  bank  at  Medicine  Lake,  Montana, 
and  in  1910  went  there  to  take  charge  of  the  bank,  acting  as  cashier  of  that  institution, 
which  was  known  as  Security  State  Bank  of  Medicine  Lake,  until  1915.  He  is  still  one 
of  its  stockholders  and  directors.  Extending  the  scope  of  his  activities  in  banking  circles, 
in  1911  he  and  others  organized  the  First  State  Bank  of  Froid,  Montana,  of  which  he  has 
since  been  the  vice  president,  and  in  the  fall  of  1913,  Mr.  Ryerson  and  associates  established 
the  Security  State  Bank  of  Flaxville,  Montana,  which  in  February,  1915,  was  consolidated 
with  the  State  Bank  of  Flaxville,  and  in  that  institution  he  Is  still  a  stockholder.  In  1915 
he  returned  to  Mohall,  where  he  opened  a  law  office  and  resumed  active  practice,  in  which 
he  has  since  continued.  The  same  year  he  was  appointed  assistant  states  attorney  and  still 
occupies  that  position.  Upon  coming  to  Mohall  he  also  bought  stock  in  the  First  National 
Bank  of  Jlohall  and  is  now  chairman  of  its  board  of  directors.  His  business  interests  and 
activities  are  thus  extensive  and  important  and  in  addition  he  has  farming  interests  in  the 
vicinit}'  of  Mohall. 

On  the  8th  of  August.  1S92,  Mr.  Ryerson  was  married  to  Miss  Tina  Brathovde  and  to 
them  were  born  two  children:  Glenn  Jay,  who  died  in  January,  1905;  and  Reuben  Alvin. 
The  wife  and  mother  passed  away  in  September,  1896,  and  on  the  30th  of  December,  1897, 
Mr.  Ryerson  wedded  -Julia  Sergeant,  a  native  of  Zumbrota,  Minnesota,  by  whom  he  has  three 
children,  Thomas  Lincoln,   Edith  Glenna  and  George   Sergeant. 

Mr.  Ryerson  was  brought  up  a  Liithcran  and  his  wife  in  the  Congregational  church. 
In  politics  Mr.  Ryerson  has  always  been  a  republican.  In  1901  he  was  honored  with  election 
to  the  position  of  secretary-treasurer  of  the  North  Dakota  Press  Association,  and  again 
elected  to  the  same  office  in  1902,  the  latter  election  taking  place  on  board  Captain  Heerman's 
steamer  "Minnie  H."  during  an  excursion  of  the  association  across  Devils  Lake  to  Fort 
Totten.  He  belongs  to  the  Masons,  the  Odd  Fellows,  the  Knights  of  Pythias,  the  Modern 
Woodmen,  the  Ancient  Order  of  United  Workmen  and  the  Independent  Order  of  Foresters. 
His  good  qualities  are  many  and  all  who  know  him  speak  of  him  in  terms  of  high  regard;  his 
business  ability  is  pronounced  and  has  carried  him  into  important  relations;  his  professional 
powers,  too,  have  gained  him  place  with  the  leading  lawyers  of  the  western  part  of  the 
state,  and  in  matters  of  citizenship  no  one  questions  his  capability,  fidelity,  or  loyalty. 


N.  H.  STORY. 


N.  H.  Story,  cashier  of  the  First  National  Bank  of  Leeds,  is  a  native  of  Iowa,  his  birth 
having  occurred  in  Worth  county  in  October,  1881.  His  father,  Severn  Story,  was  born  in 
Norway  and  in  the  year  1868  crossed  the  Atlantic  to  the  new  world,  making  his  way  to 
Minnesota,  where  he  afterward  met  and  married  Gunhild  Narveson,  who  was  born  in  that 
state.  In  1871  they  removed  to  Worth  county,  Iowa,  where  Mr.  Story  purchased  land  and 
engaged  in  farming  throughout  his  remaining  days,  becoming  one  of  the  substantial  citizens 
of  his  community.    He  died  in  .June.  1890.  while  his  widow  still  survives. 

N.  H.  Story  spent  his  early  youth  in  Worth  county,  Iowa.  He  attended  school  in  Albert 
Lea.  Minnesota,  and  Worth  county.  Iowa,  and  completed  his  education  in  the  Luther  College 
at  Decorah  Iowa.  His  identification  with  the  banking  interests  of  North  Dakota  dates  from 
1904,  at  which  time  he  accepted  the  position  of  assistant  cashier  in  the  bank  at  Maddock, 
where  he  remained  for  four  years.  He  was  also  engaged  in  banking  in  South  Dakota  for 
four  years,  after  which  he  returned  to  Maddock  and  was  again  assistant  cashier  there  for 
three  years.  In  1915  he  removed  to  Leeds  to  accept  the  position  elf  cashier  of  the  First 
National  Bank,  in  which  0.  I.  Hegge  is  president  and  G.  W.  C.  Ross  vice  president.  This 
bank    is    capitalized    for    twenty-five    thousand    dollars    and    its    deposits    amount    to    two 


124  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

hundred  and  twenty-five  thousand  dollars.  In  1914  they  erected  a  modern  bank  building, 
so  that  the  institution  is  now  well  housed.  The  bank  was  converted  from  a  state  bank 
into  the  First  Kational  Bank  in  1903  and  Mr.  Story  is  now  one  of  the  stockholders  and 
directors.     He  also  owns  an  eighty-acre  tract  of  improved  land  near  Leeds. 

In  June,  1909,  Mr.  Story  wedded  Miss  Hulda  Lungren  and  they  have  become  parents 
of  four  children,  namely:  Norma,  Niel,  Maurice  and  Ruth.  Fraternally  Mr.  Story  is  connected 
with  the  Knights  of  Pythias  and  the  Ancient  Order  of  United  Workmen,  while  his  religious 
faith  is  that  of  the  Lutheran  church.  He  votes  with  the  republican  party  and  keeps  well 
informed  on  the  questions  and  issues  of  the  day  but  does  not  seek  nor  desire  public  office, 
preferring  to  give  undivided  attention  to  his  business  affairs.  He  has  capably  directed  his 
interests  and  has  won  that  success  which  follows  earnest,  persistent  labor  and  close  appli- 
cation. 


HON.  JOHN  H.  WISHEK. 


Among  the  prominent  and  influential  citizens  of  Mcintosh  county  none  stand  higher 
in  public  esteem  than  John  H.  Wishek,  who  has  taken  a  very  im])ortant  part  in  the 
development  of  that  section  of  the  state.  He  now  makes  his  home  in  Ashley  and  is  not 
only  interested  in  business  enterprises  in  that  city  but  in  many  others  throughout  North 
Dakota.  It  was  largely  through  his  influence  that  the  Soo  Railroad  was  extended  west 
from  Kulm,  he  securing  the  right  of  way  and  making  possible  the  building  of  the  road. 
He  is  still  the  owner  of  five  town  sites  and  is  the  father  of  the  town  of  Wishek. 

Mr.  Wishek  was  born  in  Warren,  Pennsylvania,  on  the  17th  of  April,  1855,  and  is  a 
son  of  Charles  and  Barbara  (Solethe)  Wishek,  the  former  born  near  Lake  Constance, 
Baden,  Germany,  and  the  latter  near  Strasburg,  in  the  province  of  Lorraine,  Germany. 
On  the  paternal  side  he  is  descended  from  the  Russian  nobility  but  during  an  uprising  in 
Russia  his  greatgrandfather  was  exiled  and  settled  on  Lake  Constance  in  Baden,  (Jermanj-, 
where  the  grandfather  of  our  subject  was  born.  He  became  one  of  the  judges  of  Baden 
and  was  a  man  of  prominence  in  his  community.  Two  of  his  daughters  married  into  the  Von 
Langsdorf  family,  the  husband  of  one  being  a  general  and  the  other  a  colonel  in  the  (jerman 
army.  Both  were  exiled  during  the  German  insurrection  of  1848  and  came  to  the  United 
States.  They  were  accompanied  by  Charles  Wishek,  the  father  of,  our  subject,  who  first 
located  in  Warren,  Pennsylvania,  but  afterwaid  removed  to  Sharon  Center,  Medina  county, 
Ohio. 

John  H.  Wishek  was  a  child  of  five  years  when  the  family  removed  to  Ohio  and  in 
the  public  schools  of  that  .state  he  began  his  education.  After  attending  high  school  he 
was  for  two  years  a  student  in  the  academy  at  Lodi,  Ohio,  following  which  he  entered 
the  University  of  Michigan  at  Ann  Arbor,  where  he  was  graduated  from  the  law  depart- 
ment in  the  class  of  18~8.  He  first  opened  an  office  in  a  small  town  in  Marion  county, 
Ohio,  where  he  engaged  in  the  practice  of  law  for  live  years  and  also  took  an  active  part 
in  local  affairs,  serving  as  mayor  of  the  town. 

It  was  in  1884  that  Mr.  Wishek  came  to  North  Dakota  and  located  in  what  is  now 
Mcintosh  county,  at  once  becoming  actively  identified  with  its  development  and  upbuilding. 
He  and  George  W.  Lilly,  Charles  C.  Morrell  and  C.  C.  Basey  were  the  first  county  com- 
missioners and  he  was  appointed  by  the  board  as  county  clerk  and  register  of  deeds.  In 
addition  to.  serving  in  those  capacities  he  performed  the  duties  of  states  attorney  free  of 
charge  as  it  was  impossible  to  hold  the  three  offices.  Subsequently  he  wag  regularly 
elected  register  of  deeds  and  county  clerk,  serving  as  such  for  eight  years.  In  1893  he 
was  sent  to  the  state  legislature  and  after  filling  that  position  for  one  term  was  elected 
to  the  state  senate  for  one  term. 

Since  that  time  Mr.  Wishek  has  devoted  his  attention  to  his  extensive  business 
interests  and  the  practice  of  law,  in  which  he  has  won  prominence.  His  real  estate  interests 
are  very  large  and  he  buys  and  sells  much  property.  Farming  and  banking  have  also 
claimed  a  large  share'of  his  attention.  He  is  a  heavy  holder  of  North  Dakota  farm  lands, 
owning  a  few  thousand  acres,  and  is  engaged  in  the  lumber  and  grain  business,  owning  five 
or   six    elevators   and   lumberyards   in   different   places.      In   1898    he    established    the   First 


HOX.  .TOHX  H.  WISHEK 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  127 

State  Bank  of  Wishek,  of  which  he  has  since  served  as  president;  in  1901  he  founded  the 
Ashley  State  Bank  of  Ashley,  of  which  he  is  also  president,  these  being  the  first  two  banks 
organized  in  Mcintosh  county.  Mr.  Wishek  also  founded  the  Pollock  State  Bank  in  1901 
and  the  First  State  Bank  of  Reader,  North  Dakota,  in  1907,  and  has  been  president  of  both 
institutions  since  their  organization.  He  is  also  interested  in  several  other  small  banks 
of  the  state  and  is  regarded  as  one  of  the  ablest  financiers  of  North  Dakota.  He  is  a  con- 
servative, yet  progressive  business  man,  and  has  wisely  safeguarded  the  institutions  with 
which  he  is  connected,  his  policj'  winning  for  them  the  confidence  and  support  of  the  public. 

In  1891  Mr.  Wishek  married  Miss  Nina  Farley,  of  Ashley,  who  is  a  representative  of 
an  old  New  England  family,  the  Farleys  having  settled  in  Connecticut  prior  to  the  Kevolu- 
tionary  war,  in  which  some  of  them  took  part  as  Minutemen.  To  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Wishek 
have  been  born  eight  children:  Esther,  Anna  and  Carl,  who  are  now  attending  college;  John 
and  Max,  who  are  in  the  high  school;  and  Jean,  Homer  and  Joseph,  who  are  in  the  graded 
schools  of  Ashley. 

Mr.  Wishek  is  a  staunch  advocate  of  the  principles  of  the  republican  party  and  in 
1914  was  a  candidate  for  nomination  as  governor  on  a  personal  liberty  platform  but 
although  he  received  fourteen  thousand  votes  he  failed  of  nomination.  Fraternally  he  is  a 
member  of  Eureka  Lodge,  A.  F.  &  A.  il.  at  Eureka;  Marion  Chapter,  No.  36,  R.  A.  M.; 
Marion  Commandery  K.  T.,  of  Marion,  Ohio;  Dakota  Consistory,  No.  1,  A.  &  A.  S.  R. ;  and 
EI  Zagal  Temple,  A.  A.  0.  N.  M.  S.  He  also  belongs  to  Bismarck  Lodge,  No.  1199,  B.  P. 
0.  E.,  and  to  the  Knights  of  Pythias,  while  his  w'ife  holds  membership  in  the  Methodist 
Episcopal  church.  Mr.  Wishek  is  justly  counted  as  one  of  the  builders  of  the  state  and  it 
is  to  such  wide-awake,  enterprising  business  men  that  the  commonwealth  owes  its  pros- 
perity. He  never  withholds  his  support  from  any  object  calculated  to  benefit  the  com- 
munity and  he  has  exerted  a  beneficial  influence  on  many  public  enterprises,  never 
allowing  his  personal  interests  to  interfere  with  his  duties  of  citizenship. 


GEORGE  I.  ELLIOTT. 


The  grain  interests  of  Golden  Valley  county  have  a  worthy  representative  in  George 
I.  Elliott,  who  as  a  member  of  the  firm  of  Elliott  &  Back  is  operating  an  elevator  at 
Beach.  He  is  a  native  of  Kansas,  born  in  Round  Springs,  Mitchell  county,  in  March,  1876, 
but  when  only  four  years  of  age  accompanied  his  parents,  Thomas  D.  and  Martha  M. 
(Corser)  Elliott,  on  their  removal  to  Minnesota.  They  first  located  in  Breckenridge  but 
afterward  removed  to  Ilcnning,  traveling  across  the  country  by  wagon.  At  the  latter  place 
the  father  purchased  a  quarter  section  of  railroad  land  and  to  its  cultivation  and  improvement 
devoted  his  energies  throughout  the  remainder  of  his  life.  The  mother  also  died  on  the 
old  homestead  at  Ilenniiig,  Minnesota. 

Upon  the  home  farm  George  I.  Elliott  grew  to  manhood,  remaining  under  the  parental 
roof  until  his  marriage.  It  was  in  1900  that  he  wedded  Miss  Charlotte  M.  Nelson, 
a  native  of  Sweden,  who  came  to  this  country  alone  at  the  age  of  fifteen  years  and 
located  at  Henning.  To  this  union  has  been  born  eight  children,  namely:  Beatrice, 
Lynnfred,  Stanley,  Kenneth,  Lucile,  Russell,  Franklin  and  Marion. 

After  his  marriage  Mr.  Elliott  removed  to  .Jessie,  North  Dakota,  and  entered  the 
employ  of  the  Great  Western  Elevator  Company,  taking  charge  of  their  elevator  at  that 
place,  where  he  remained  about  seven  years.  In  May,  1907,  he  went  to  Bowman  county 
and  took  a  homestead  near  Rhame,  proving  up  on  the  same.  On  the  8th  of  July, 
1908,  he  again  entered  the  service  of  the  Great  Western  Elevator  Company,  this  time  at 
Tower  City,  but  only  remained  there  about  three  months.  Since  November,  1908,  he  has 
made  his  home  in  Beach,  where  in  connection  with  E.  E.  Lloyd  he  conducted  the  elevator 
which  belonged  to  the  Golden  Valley  Grain  Company  and  which  was  built  by  the  Chase 
Lumber  Company  in  1906.  When  it  came  into  possession  of  the  former  company  in  the 
fall  of  1908  Mr.  Elliott  was  made  manager  and  continued  in  that  position  after  it  was 
purchased  by  ().  D.  Brault  in  1912  until  July,  1915.  On  the  20th  of  that  month  he 
formed  a  copartnership  with  0.  E.   Back  and   under  the  name  of   Elliott  &   Back  they  have 


128  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

since  operated  the  elevator,  our  subject  serving  as  manager.  The  elevator  has  a  capacity 
of  forty  thousand  bushels  and  in  the  past  year  they  have  handled  about  two  hundred  thousand 
bushels,  having  secured  a  liberal  share  of  the  public  patronage.  In  their  business  dealings 
they  are  upright  and  honorable,  and  the  success  that  has  come  to  them   is  certainly  well 

deserved. 

Mr.  Elliott  and  his  family  are  connected  with  the  Congi-egational  church  of  Beach,  and 
he  is  also  a  member  of  the  Masonic  fraternity  and  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows 
at  that  place  and  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America  at  Fergus  -Falls,  Minnesota.  By  his 
ballot  he  supports  the  men  and  measures  of  the  republican  party,  and  he  has  been  called 
upon  to  serve  as  a  member  of  the  city  council  of  Beach.  He  is  a  man  in  whom  the  public 
has  the  utmost  confidence  and  he  stands  high  both  in  business  and  social  circles. 


WARREN  A.  ODELL. 


Warren  A.  Odell,  secretary,  treasurer  and  manager  of  the  Odell  Dry  Goods  Company  of 
Grand  Forks,  was  born  in  Owatonna,  Minnesota,  April  20,  1873,  a  son  of  Othniel  H.  Odell, 
who  is  a  native  of  Wisconsin  and  a  descendant  of  an  old  pioneer  family  of  that  state  of 
English  lineage.  He  followed  farming  during  the  greater  part  of  his  life  and  also  engaged 
in  merchandising  to  a  considerable  extent.  When  quite  young  he  went  to  Minnesota  with 
his  parents  and  not  only  was  a  prominent  figure  in  business  circles  there  but  also  was  active 
in  local  political  circles,  doing  much  to  further  civic  progress.  He  served  as  a  member  of 
the  city  council  an4  as  a  member  of  school  boards  and  his  worth  was  widely  acknowledged 
by  his  fellow  townsmen.  Death  called  him  in  February,  1913,  and  in  his  passing  the  com- 
munity lost  a  representative  citizen.  His  wife,  who  bore  the  maiden  name  of  Mary  Warren 
Merrick,  is  a  native  of  New  York  and  a  representative  of  an  old  family  of  that  state.  She 
is  now  living  in  Minnesota,  where  she  and  her  husband  long  since  took  up  their  abode. 
By  her  marriage  she  became  the  mother  of  three  children :  Warren  A. ;  Chester  L.,  a  traveling 
man  residing  in  Owatonna,  Minnesota;  and  Arthur  0.,  a  merchant  of  Williston,  North 
Dakota.     All  three  brothers  have  become  connected  with  commercial  interests. 

Warren  A.  Odell  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  of  Owatonna  and  in  the  Pillsbury 
Academy  at  that  place.  He  spent  his  life  to  the  age  of  twenty-one  years  upon  the  home 
farm  and,  taking  up  the  profession  of  teaching,  became  connected  with  the  public  schools 
at  Beaver  Lake.  He  devoted  two  years  to  educational  work  and  then  entered  mercantile 
circles,  becoming  a  partner  in  the  firm  of  Odell  &  Mann,  dealers  in  groceries  and  crockery 
at  Owatonna.  There  he  continued  in  business  for  three  years,  after  which  he  sold  his  interest 
and  became  a  stockholder  in  the  Hawley  Mercantile  Company  at  Hawley,  Minnesota,  where 
he  operated  quite  successfully  for  six  years.  He  then  retired  from  that  company  and  pur- 
chased the  clothing  store  of  the  Shea  Company  at  Owatonna,  where  he  remained  in  business 
for  a  year  and  a  half,  after  which  he  removed  to  Grand  Forks,  where  he  accepted  the  position 
of  assistant  manager  of  the  dry  goods  department  in  the  Ontario  department  store,  remain- 
ing in  that  connection  for  two  years.  He  next  took  charge  of  the  dry  goods  store  of  F.  C. 
Zuelsdorf  Company,  in  which  Robert  B.  Griffith,  president  of  the  Ontario  store,  had  an  inter- 
est. Mr.  Odell  acted  as  manager  of  that  business  for  five  years,  at  the  end  of  which  time 
he  was  one  of  the  organizers  of  the  Odell  Company,  Incorporated.  On  the  5th  of  March, 
1914,  he  purchased  the  Zuelsdorf  interests,  since  which  time  he  has  largely  increased  and 
developed  his  business  and  is  today  at  the  head  of  the  third  largest  commercial  establishment 
in  the  city.  The  officers  of  the  Odell  Company  are:  T.  C.  Griffith,  president;  Warren  A. 
Odell,  secretary,  treasurer  and  manager;  and  George  Fitzgerald,  vice  president.  The  store 
contains  an  area  of  seventy-five  thousand  square  feet  and  in  the  establishment  is  carried 
a  full  line  of  goods  as  is  usually  found  in  the  first-class  department  store.  He  employs 
on  an  average  of  sixteen  salespeople  throughout  the  year  and  his  business  is  steadily  grow- 
ing, having  already  reached  extensive  and  gratifying  proportions.  His  career  is  an  embodi- 
ment of  modern  ideals  in  commercial  life  and  the  enterprise  and  determination  which  he  has 
displayed  have  carried  him  into  important  business  relations. 

At  Owatonna,  on  the  4th  of  September,  1899,  Mr.  Odell  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  129 

Myrtle  Evelyn  Bariihart,  a  native  of  Minnesota  and  a  (laughter  of  the  late  Peter  and  Almeda 
(Sheldon)  Barnhart,  who  were  early  settlers  of  Minnesota.  Her  father  is  now  deceased, 
while  her  mother  survives.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Odcll  bccanua  parents  of  three  children:  Estelle 
Evelyn,  w^ho  was  born  at  llawley,  Minnesota,  June  35,  1901,  and  passed  away  in  Grand  Forks 
in  December  1U15;  -Mildred  Han-iet,  born  in  Hawley  in  November,  1902;  and  Gertrude  Laurine, 
born  in  Owatonna,  Minnesota,  in  April,  1905. 

In  addition  to  his  commercial  and  property  interests  in  Grand  Forks,  Mr.  Odell  is  the 
owner  of  farm  lands  in  Minnesota  and  North  Dakota  and  is  a  firm  believer  in  the  future  of 
the  north%yest.  He  has  won  his  success  since  starting  out  in  life  on  his  own  account  and 
his  advancement  is  attributable  entirelj'  to  his  own  efforts  and  perseverance.  Those  who 
know  him  esteem  liim  as  a  man  of  marked  personal  worth  and  regard  him  as  a  most  pro- 
gressive merchant,  alert  and  enterprising.  His  business  methods  will  bear  the  closest  investi- 
gation and  scrutiny  and  Grand  Forks  is  proud  to  number  him  among  the  representatives  of 
her  commercial  interests.  In  politics  he  is  independent,  with  republican  proclivities,  easting 
his  vote  with  regard  to  the  capability  of  a  candidate  rather  than  party  affiliation.  He 
belongs  to  the  First  Baptist  church,  is  librarian  of  the  Sunday  school  and  takes  an  active 
part  in  church  work,  while  his  interest  in  the  commercial  development  of  his  city  is  indi- 
cated in  his  membership  in  the  Merchants  Association  and  the  Commercial  Club. 


CURTIS    J.    LORD. 


Curtis  .J.  Lord,  whose  indefatigable  effort  has  won  for  him  a  substantial  and  honored 
position  in  business  circles  in  Towner  county,  is  now  president  of  the  First  National  Bank 
of  Cando.  Through  the  steps  of  an  orderly  progression  he  has  advanced  to  his  present 
place  of  prominence  and  responsibility  and  his  labors  have  at  all  times  been  of  a  character 
that  has  contributed  to  public  progress  as  well  as  to  individual  success.  He  was  born 
in  Shakopee.  Minnesota,  January  23,  1862.  a  son  of  Charles  and  Julia  O.  (Buffum)  Lord, 
who  w-ere  natives  of  New  Hampshire.  In  the  paternal  line  the  ancestry  can  be  traced 
back  to  the  very  beginning  of  England's  history,  while  in  the  maternal  line  Mr.  Lord  is  a 
direct  descendant  of  the  Whites,  who  were  among  the  Puritans  that  settled  in  the  Massa- 
chusetts Bay  colony  in  1638,  while  some  of  the  family  came  with  the  original  Mayflower 
colonists  in  1620  and  landed  at  Plymouth.  His  ancestors  were  prominent  during  the 
colonial  period  in  New  England  and  many  of  them  served  in  the  early  Indian  and  colonial 
wars  as  well  as  in  the  war  of  the  Revolution.  The  father  was  a  physician  and  on  removing 
to  the  west  in  1854  settled  at  Shakopee,  Minnesota,  where  he  practiced  medicine  and  also 
engaged  in  farming  for  six  years.  During  his  remaining  days  he  concentrated  his  efforts 
upon  his  professional  interests.  Prior  to  his  removal  to  the  west  he  had  engaged  in  medical 
practice  in  Pittsburgh,  Pennsylvania.  He  always  kept  in  touch  with  general  progress  along 
professional  lines  and  was  conscientious  in  the  performance  of  all  of  his  professional  duties. 
He  died  in  April,  1881,  while  his  widow  survived  until  April,  1898. 

Curtis  J.  Lord  was  reared  and  educated  in  Shakopee  and  made  his  initial  step  in  the 
business  world  as  an  employe  of  his  brother  in  a  drug  store.  He  also  worked  in  the  post- 
office,  which  was  located  in  the  store.  In  1882  he  was  registered  as  a  pharmacist  and  in 
1885  removed  to  Devils  Lake,  North  Dakota,  where  he  occupied  the  position  of  assistant 
postmaster  and  subsequently  became  assistant  cashier  of  a  bank,  in  which  capacity  he 
continued  until  1887.  He  then  removed  to  Churchs  Ferry  and  took  charge  of  what  is  now 
the  First  National  Bank,  as  cashier.  In  1888  he  became  one  of  the  organizers  of  the  Towner 
County  Bank  at  Cando,  of  which  H.  L.  Whithead  was  elected  president  and  Mr.  Lord  cashier. 
Later  they  were  joined  by  his  brother.  Harry  Lord,  who  purchased  an  interest  in  the  bank 
and,  associated  with  Curtis  J.  Lord,  converted  this  into  the  First  National  Bank  with  Curtis 
J.  Lord  as  the  president,  F.  L.  Thompson,  vice  president,  and  Harry  Lord  as  cashier.  The 
bank  was  capitalized  for  twenty-five  thousand  dollars  and  has  a  surplus  of  thirty-five 
thousand  dollars  with  undivided  profits  of  more  than  three  thousand  dollars.  Their  deposits 
amount  to  more  than  five  hundred  and  twelve  thousand  dollars  and  the  institution  is 
regarded  as  one  of  the  strongest  banks  in  North   Dakota.     Its  business  policy  has  always 


130  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

maintained  an  even  balance  between  piogressiveness  and  conservatism,  carefully  protecting 
the  interests  of  depositors  and  yet  carrying  on  the  business  in  accordance  with  the  demands 
of  a  commercial  age.  They  erected  a  fine  modern  bank  building  on  the  principal  corner  of 
the  town  in  1906  and  it  is  splendidly  equipped  for  the  conduct  of  the  business.  In  addition 
to  his  banking  interests  Mr.  Lord  is  president  of  the  Cando  Mill  and  Elevator  Company  and 
vice  president  of  the  Thompson  Realty  Company  and  he  likewise  has  large  farming  interests 
in  Towner  and  Rolette  counties. 

In  August,  1890,  ilx.  Lord  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Jennie  B.  Mcintosh,  a 
daughter  of  David  and  Jane  Mcintosh,  pioneer  settlers  of  North  Dakota.  The  father  was  at 
one  time  a  steamboat  captain  on  the  great  lakes  and  sailed  for  many  years,  being  widely 
known  by  the  older  residents  of  Chicago  as  Captain  Mcintosh.  On  removing  to  Korth  Dakota 
he  homesteaded  in  Towner  county,  where  he  spent  his  remaining  days.  To  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Lord 
has  been  born  a  son.  Vine  D.,  whose  natal  day  was  August  37,  1893,  and  who  was  graduated 
from  the  University  of  Wisconsin  in  June,  1916. 

The  parents  are  members  of  the  Congregational  church  and  Mi'.  Lord  is  identified  with 
the  Knights  of  Pythias,  the  Benevolent  Protective  Order  of  Elks  and  the  Independent  Order  of 
Odd  Fellows,  while  in  Masonry  he  has  taken  all  the  degrees  up  to  the  thirty-second  degree  of 
the  Scottish  Rite.  His  political  endorsement  is  given  to  the  republican  party  and  from  1900 
until  1904  he  served  as  railroad  commissioner  of  the  state.  He  has  also  been  president  of 
the  town  council  of  Cando  and  is  a  leading  figure  in  many  movements  for  the  benefit  of  the 
city  and  the  upbuilding  of  his  section  of  the  state. 


JOHN  YEGEN. 


Among  the  pioneers  of  the  state  who  have  lived  to  reap  the  reward  of  their  early 
labor  and  their  perseverance  in  the  face  of  hardships,  is  John  Yegen,  of  Bismarck,  who  is  now 
enjoying  a  period  of  well  deserved  leisure.  He  was  born  in  Switzerland  on  the  18th  of 
January,  1844,  a  son  of  Conradin  and  Emmrita  Yegen,  the  former  a  school  teacher  by 
profession.     Both  are  now  deceased. 

John  Yegen  received  his  education  in  the  common  schools  of  his  native  country  and 
then  went  to  Germany,  where  he  became  ajiprenticed  to  the  confectionery  and  pastry  trade. 
After  serving  his  three  years'  term  of  apprenticeship  he  went  to  Liege,  Belgium,  where  he 
remained  for  a  year,  after  which  he  returned  to  Switzerland  and  remained  with  his  parents 
for  a  year.  In  1866,  however,  he  emigrated  to  the  United  States  and  first  settled  on 
Division  street.  New  York,  where  he  was  located  for  a  year.  He  then  removed  westward 
to  La  Crosse,  Wisconsin,  which  was  then  the  terminus  of  the  railroad.  Later  he  divided 
his  time  between  Sioux  City,  Iowa,  and  various  points  in  Minnesota,  engaging  in  business  in 
those  places  in  a  tent.  In  1873  he  took  a  boat  bound  from  Sioux  City  to  Bismarck,  but 
when  they  had  gone  but  a  short  distance  a  terrible  storm  overtook  thom  and  it  was  impossible 
for  the  boat  to  go  on  for  a  time.  Mr.  Yegen  went  ashore  to  look  for  game  and  get  some 
exercise  and  while  he  was  gone  the  boat  started  on  and  he  was  compelled  to  walk  to 
Vermillion  and  then  from  Vermillion  to  Yankton,  a  distance  of  twenty-eight  miles.  During 
all  the  time  that  he  was  making  his  way  along  the  road  and  on  foot  the  storm  continued  and 
the  snow  was  very  deep,  so  that  it  was  very  hard  traveling.  He  eventually  arrived  at 
Yankton  after  enduring  a  great  deal  of  fatigue  and  suffering,  and  his  face  was  badly 
swollen  from  the  cold.  Although  he  had  had  a  long  and  weary  trip  he  reached  Yankton  eight 
hours  ahead  of  the  boat.  He  continued  his  journey  by  boat  to  Bismarck,  arriving  there 
on  the  1st  of  May,  1873.  He  had  his  tent  with  him  and  as  soon  as  possible  pitched  It, 
setting  it  up  on  the  present  site  of  the  McKenzie  Hotel.  He  gained  a  good  patronage  and 
continued  to  engage  in  the  confectionery  and  bakery  business  in  Bismarck  until  two  years 
ago,  being  one  of  the  reliable  and  successful  business  men  of  the  city.  In  1913  he  sold  the 
lot  where  his  store  stood  for  so  many  years  and  removed  to  the  present  location  of  the 
business.  He  is  now  living  retired,  but  the  business  which  he  founded  is  conducted  by  a 
son  and  his  partner  under  the  name  of  Yegen  &  Snyder.  Mr.  Yegen  of  this  review  has 
large  and  valuable  land  holdings  in  the  state  and  has  an  irrigation  system  upon  his  place, 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  131 

eight  liviiulicil  acres  being  under  ditch.  He  has  utilized  well  the  opportunities  which  he 
found  and  luis  gained  financial  independence  and  also  the  esteem  and  respect  of  all  who  have 
been  associated  with  him. 

ilr.  Yegen  married  Miss  Annie  Petersoii  anil  he  has  nine  children,  four  sons  and  live 
daugliters.  His  religious  faith  is  tliat  of  the  (  hrislian  Science  ciinrcli,  and  in  politics  he  is  a 
non-partisan.  From  1888  to  1892  he  served  ably  as  a  member  of  the  state  legislature  and  he 
has  also  held  the  office  of  city  assessor.  He  has  witnessed  the  growth  and  development  of 
the  state  from  early  pioneer  times  and  is  confident  that  there  is  still  greater  advancement 
in  store  for  it  in  the  future. 


CYRILLUS  N.  SWANSON. 


Cyrillus  N.  Swanson.  conducting  a  large  general  merchandise  establishment  at  Larimore, 
was  born  in  Skfma,  Sweden,  July  9,  1870,  a  son  of  Swan  Nelson,  a  native  of  that  country, 
where  he  still  resides.  He  has  been  quite  successful  in  the  conduct  of  a  merchant  tailoring 
business  in  the  province  of  Skana.  His  wife,  who  bore  the  maiden  name  of  Carrie  Olson, 
was  also  born  in  Sweden  and  is  yet  living. 

Cyrillus  X,  Swanson  was  the  eldest  of  their  family  of  eleven  children  and  in  the 
common  schools  of  his  native  country  acquired  his  education  but  started  out  to  earn  his 
own  living  when  only  ten  years  of  age.  He  was  first  employed  as  a  sheep  herder,  which 
occupation  he  followed  for  two  years  and  was  then  apprenticed  to  learn  the  trade  of  market 
gardening.  He  served  the  full  apprenticeship  and  followed  that  pursuit  to  the  age  of 
seventeen  years,  when  he  crossed  the  Atlantic  to  America.  Soon  after  his  arrival  on  the 
shores  of  the  new  world  he  made  his  way  to  Minnesota  and  next  went  to  Bowesmont,  North 
Dakota,  where  he  arrived  an  entire  stranger  unacquainted  with  the  English  language.  He 
reached  this  state  on  the  12th  of  August,  1888,  and  during  the  first  year  after  his  arrival 
'.vas  employed  as  a  farm  hand  in  Pembina  county,  during  which  time  he  improved  his  oppor- 
tunities by  attending  night  school,  thus  acquainting  himself  with  the  language  of  the  people 
and  with  American  history  and  conditions.  He  afterward  secured  a  clerkship  in  the  store  of 
V.  S.  Waldo,  of  Bowesmont,  in  whose  employ  he  remained  for  four  years,  gaining  a 
tliorough  understanding  of  modern  commercial  methods  and  of  the  general  merchandise 
business  in  all  its  departments.  With  the  money  which  he  saved  from  his  earnings  he 
embarked  in  business  on  his  own  account,  beginning  with  a  cash  capital  of  three 
hundred  and  fifty  dollars,  a  part  of  which  was  applied  on  the  purchase  price  of  the 
building  in  which  he  launched  his  undertaking.  He  opened  his  store  on  the  17th  of 
September.  189.3,  dealing  in  groceries  and  general  merchandise,  and  from  a  humble  beginning 
he  has  built  up  his  present  extensive  business. '  He  continued  at  Bowesmont  until  May, 
1912,  and  then  removed  his  stock  to  Larimore,  adding  it  to  the  stock  of  S.  Strandness,  a 
pioneer  merchant,  which  he  purchased.  He  has  today  a  thoroughly  modern  and  up-to-date 
store,  having  developed  an  excellent  business  as  the  years  have  gone  on.  In  the  winter  of 
1914-15  he  purchased  a  lot  fifty  by  one  hundred  and  forty  feet  on  Towner  avenue,  the 
principal  business  thoroughfare  of  Larimore,  and  thereon  he  erected  a  substantial  and 
beautiful  business  block  with  a  fioor  space  of  fifty  by  one  hundred  feet.  He  carries  a  very 
extensive  and  carefully  selected  line  of  goods,  having  a  first  class  department  store,  in 
which  he  employs  from  five  to  nine  clerks  according  to  the  season. 

In  1901,  at  Bowesmont,  Mr.  Swanson  was  married  to  Miss  Myrtle  Lyons,  who  was  born 
at  Ardock,  North  Dakota,  a  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  John  Lyons,  who  were  pioneer  settlers 
of  this  state  and  are  still  living.  Three  children  have  been  born  to  this  union:  Mirabel, 
born  April  22,  1902;  Velva.  June  4,  1904;  and  Cyrillus,  June  7,  1915. 

Politically  Mr.  Swanson  is  an  active  republican,  giving  stalwart  aid  to  the  jinrty, 
and  is  now  serving  as  city  alderman,  in  which  connection  he  exercises  his  ofilcial  |>rerogatives 
in  support  of  every  measure  and  movement  which  he  believes  will  be  of  public  benefit.  He 
was  made  a  Mason  in  Larimore  and  he  is  also  an  exemplary  member  of  the  Independent 
Order  of  Odd  Fellows,  the  Ancient  Order  of  United  Workmen,  the  Yeomen  and  the  -Modern 
Woodmen  of  America.     He  is  likewise  a  member  and  one  of  the  trustees  of  the  first  Methodist 


132  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

church.  He  belongs  to  the  Commercial  Club,  of  which  he  is  serving  as  a  director,  and  he 
cooperates  in  every  movement  put  forth  by  that  organization  for  the  benefit  of  the  city. 
When  he  came  to  America  he  incurred  an  indebtedness  which  it  took  him  two  years  to 
discharge,  but  he  practiced  the  closest  economy  as  well  as  industry  and  as  the  result  of  his 
frugal  living  and  his  untiring  labor  he  soon  gained  a  substantial  basis  on  which  to  build 
his  later  success.  Gradually  he  has  worked  his  way  upward,  his  trade  growing  year  by 
year  until  he  is  now  at  the  head  of  a  large  and  profitable  business,  and  he  has  never  seen 
occasion  to  regret  liis  determination  to  come  to  the  new  world. 


D.  RAY  GREGG. 


North  Dakota's  banking  interests  in  the  northern  tier  of  counties  find  a  prominent 
representative  in  D.  Ray  Gregg,  the  vice  president  of  the  First  International  Bank  of  Sher- 
wood, the  president  of  the  Security  State  Bank  of  Medicine  Lake,  Montana,  and  the  presi- 
dent of  the  First  State  Bank  of  Froid,  Montana.  Recognizing  the  opportunity  for  the 
extension  of  his  activities  in  that  field,  he  has  become  an  important  factor  in  business 
progress  and  development,  which  are  always  consequent  in  large  measure  upon  the  estab- 
lishment and  successful  management  of  banking  institutions.  Mr.  Gregg  is  a  native  of 
Traer,  Iowa.  He  was  born  June  22,  1881,  of  the  marriage  of  William  H.  and  Alice  (Neal) 
Gregg,  the  former  a  native  of  Vermont  and  the  latter  of  Ohio.  They  were  married  in 
Tama  county,  Iowa,  the  former  having  located  there  in  early  manhood  immediately  after 
the  Civil  war,  while  Mrs.  Gregg  had  gone  to  that  district  as  a  school  teacher  in  early 
womanhood.  ^Ir.  Gregg  purchased  land  across  the  line  in  Black  Hawk  county,  Iowa,  and  for 
some  j'cars  was  engaged  in  farming.  Subsequently  he  concentrated  his  efforts  and  atten- 
tion upon  the  live  stock  business,  in  which  he  operated  very  prominently  and  profitably  for 
a  number  of  years  but  is  now  living  retired  in  Traer. 

D.  Ray  Gregg  supplemented  his  public  school  training  by  a  course  in  Oberlin  College 
at  Oberlin,  Ohio,  where  he  won  the  Bachelor  of  Arts  degree  as  a  member  of  the  class 
of  1903.  Subsequently  he  spent  five  months  in  the  employ  of  the  Equitable  Life  Assurance 
Society  in  New  York,  working  in  New  Y'ork  city  and  Cleveland,  Ohio.  Later  he  accepted 
a  position  as  bookkeeper  with  the  Wade-Park  Banking  Company  of  Cleveland,  which  con- 
stituted his  initial  training  in  the  banking  business.  A  year  later  that  bank  was  merged 
into  the  Cleveland  Trust  and  Mr.  Gregg  went  with  the  latter  institution,  with  which  he 
was  associated  until  the  summer  of  1905.  In  November  of  that  year  he  arrived  in 
Sherwood,  North  Dalcota,  to  accept  the  position  of  assistant  cashier  of  the  First  Inter- 
national Bank.  Two  years  later,  in  .June,  1907,  he  was  made  cashier  of  the  bank  and  in 
June,  1914,  he  was  elected  vice  president  of  the  institution.  When  he  accepted  the  cashier- 
ship  the  deposits  of  the  bank  amounted  to  about  thirty  thousand  dollars  and  today  the 
institution  has  deposits  of  two  hundred  and  twentjf  thousand  dollars,  doing  the  largest 
business  of  any  bank  in  Renville  county.  This  is  attributable  in  large  measure  to  the 
enterprising  efforts  and  progressive  spirit  of  Mr.  Gregg,  whose  long  experience  in  the  field 
of  banking  has  constituted  the  foundation  upon  which  to  build  the  success  of  the 
institution.  Moreover,  he  closely  studies  every  phase  of  the  banking  business  and  the 
progressive  methods  which  have  been  introduced  in  the  past  few  years,  and  the  policy 
which  he  has  pursued  is  such  as  commands  the  unfaltering  confidence  and  support  of  the 
public.  His  plans  are  well  devised  and  earefullj'  executed  and  his  business  has  ever  been 
conducted  with  a  recognition  of  the  fact  that  the  bank  which  most  carefully  safeguards 
the  interests  of  its  depositors  is  the  one  most  worthy  of  support.  He  is  also  interested 
in  three  other  banks,  being  president  of  the  Security  State  Bank  of  Medicine  Lake.  Montana, 
having  been  the  dominant  factor  in  its  organization  in  1910;  president  of  the  First  State 
Bank  of  Froid,  Montana;  and  a  stockholder  in  the  Security  State  Bank  of  Flaxville, 
Montana.  In  addition  to  his  banking  interests  he  is  the  owner  of  nine  hundred  and  sixty 
acres  of  land  across  the  boundary  line  in  Saskatchewan,  Canada,  and  three  hundred  and 
ninety  acres  in  Renville  county. 

On   the   31st  of  December,   1910,  Mr.   Gregg  was  united   in   marriage   to   ]\Iiss   Eleanor 


D.  RAY  GREGG 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  135 

Stanton  Ihiniilton,  of  Borlin,  Wisconsin,  by  whom  he  lias  two  sons,  David  Hamilton  and 
Donald  Neal.  Politically  Mr.  Gregg  is  an  earnest  republican  and  has  served  as  a  member 
of  the  city  council  of  Sherwood  and  also  as  clerk  of  the  school  board.  Fraternally  he  is 
connected  with  Tyrian  Lodge,  A.  F.  &  A.  M.,  of  Sherwood;  Sherwood  Lodge,  No.  95,  I.  O. 
0.  F.;  and  Minot  Lodge,  No.  1089,  B.  P.  0.  E.,  while  both  he  and  his  wife  are  consistent 
members  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  church.  While  his  business  interests  are  extensive 
and  important,  he  has  ever  found  time  to  cooperate  in  matters  of  general  good  and 
lias  been  a  generous  contributor  to  etTorts  for  the  moral  progress  as  well  as  the  material 
U]ibuilding  oi  his  community.  He  is  a  representative  of  that  class  of  men  of  liberal  educa- 
tion and  broad  business  training  to  whom  the  opportunities  of  the  west  are  a  call  to 
action,  and  he  is  playing  an  important  part  in  the  development  of  a  great  state,  utilizing 
its  natural  resources  and  the  business  conditions  which  are  evolved  through  its  settlement. 


MANSER  D.  WAGNESS. 


Manser  D.  Wagness,  who  is  at  the  head  of  tlie  Wagness  Automobile  Company  of 
Lakota,  in  which  business  he  has  been  engaged  since  1909,  has  been  a  lifelong  resident 
of  this  state,  his  birth  having  occurred  in  Ottofy,  March  31,  1889.  He  is  the  only  child 
of  Sever  and  Mary  (Osby)  Wagness,  botli  of  whom  were  natives  of  Minnesota,  whence  they 
removed  to  this  state  at  an  early  period  in  its  development,  settling  at  Ottofy,  where  for 
a  long  period  Mr.  W'agness  filled  the  position  of  postmaster.  He  also  engaged  for  a  time 
.  in  merchandising  and  was  an  active  and  representative  citizen  of  his  community.  He  died 
in  North  Dakota  in  1891,  when  In  the  thirties.  His  widow  survived  until  1895  and  was  but 
thirty-five  years  of  age  at  the  time  of  her  demise. 

Manser  D.  Wagness  was  but  six  years  old  when  left  an  orphan  and  wni  taken  into  the 
home  of  his  aunt,  Mrs.  Gronna,  of  Lakota,  where  he  attended  school,  passing  through  con- 
secutixe  grades  until  graduated  from  the  high  school.  He  made  his  initial  step  in  the 
business  world  by  securing  a  clerkship  in  a  hardware  store  but  was  ambitious  to  eng.ige 
in  business  on  his  own  account  and  carefully  saved  his  earnings  until  his  industry  and 
economy  had  brought  him  sufficient  capital  to  enable  him  to  establish  the  Wagness  Auto- 
mobile Company  in  1909.  He  then  opened  a  garage  and  through  his  able  management  has 
developed  a  business  that  is  today  one  of  the  leading  enterprises  of  this  character  in  Lakota 
and  Nelson  county.  He  does  all  kinds  of  repair  work  as  well  as  handling  all  kinds  of 
automobile  supplies,  and  his  trade  has  steadily  grown. 

<Jn  the  12th  of  August.  1913,  Mr.  Wagness  wedded  Miss  Jlyrtle  Jelhim,  a  daughter  of 
Mr.  and  Mrs.  Freguard  Jellum,  who  are  still  residents  of  Lakota.  One  child  has  been  born 
of  this   marriage,  Marian,   born   in   1914. 

The  parents  are  members  of  the  Lutheran  church,  while  in  politics  Mr.  Wagness  main- 
tains an  independent  course,  voting  for  men  and  measures  rather  than  party.  He  is  yet 
a  young  man  but  has  already  made  for  himself  a  creditable  position  in  business  circles 
and  it  is  not  difficult  to  predict  that  his  future  will  be  a  progressive  one,  knowing  the 
qualities  which  have  thus  far  dominated  his  career. 


FEED  W.  HTLDRETH. 


Fred  W.  Hildreth,  a  well  known  ranchman  now  residing  in  Williston.  was  born  on  the 
20th  of  October,  1857,  in  St.  Anthony,  now  Minneapolis,  Minnesota,  and  is  a  son  of  Benjamin 
Franklin  and  Margaret  E.  (Farnham)  Hildreth,  both  natives  of  Maine.  The  father  was 
born  and  reared  in  Milford  and  in  early  life  became  a  lumberman,  working  in  the  woods 
of  the  old  Pine  Tree  state.  In  1849  he  went  to  Minnesota  and  settled  at  St.  Anthony,  where 
he  engaged  in  logging  on  his  own  account  for  many  years.  He  subsequently  removed  to 
Elk  River.  Minnesota,  where  he  died  in  1896,  and  where  his  wife  passed  away  in  1900.     She 


136  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

•was  born  in  Calais,  Maine,  and  accompanied  her  parents  on  their  removal  to  St.  Anthony, 
Minnesota,  wliere  she  married  Mr.  Hildreth. 

Fred  W.  Hildreth  was  eight  years  of  age  when  the  family  became  residents  of  Elk 
River,  Minnesota,  where  he  grew  to  manhood,  and  he  remained  with  his  father  until  he 
attained  his  majority.  On  starting  out  in  life  for  himself  he  turned  his  attention  to  the 
cattle  and  horse  business.  In  1878  he  first  came  to  North  Dakota  on  a  prospecting  tour  and 
in  1884  he  stocked  a  cattle  ranch  near  Mingerville,  now  Wibaux,  Montana,  for  the  firm  of 
Koe  Washburn  &  Parker.  The  following  year  he  stocked  a  cow  ranch  for  Chase-Gilmore 
&  Company  south  of  Schafer  in  McKenzie  county,  and  in  1886  put  in  stock  for  himself  in 
that  county  on  Cherry  creek.  He  continued  to  make  his  headquarters  at  Elk  River, 
Minnesota,  until  1904,  when  he  removed  to  Williston,  North  Dakota,  where  he  now  resides. 
He  bu^s  and  sells  cattle  and  horses  and  is  the  owner  of  a  fine  ranch  twelve  miles  southeast 
of  Williston,  which  is  operated  by  his  partner,  Frank  Poe,  who  is  one  of  the  best  known 
cow   men  in  North  Dakota. 

At  Elk  River,  Minnesota,  November  14,  1882,  was  celebrated  the  marriage  of  ili-. 
Hildreth  and  Miss  Rose  Harper,  a  native  of  that  place  and  a  daughter  of  John  and  Sarah 
(Spokesfield)  Harper,  who  were  early  settlers  of  Minnesota.  Her  father  was  born  In  Oxford, 
En"-land,  and  on  coming  to  America  when  a  young  man  first  located  in  Massachusetts.  Her 
mother  was  born  in  Lowell,  Slassachusetts.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Hildreth  have  one  child,  Lucile, 
who  was  born  in  Elk  River,  Minnesota,  and  is  now  the  wife  of  Joseph  Cutting,  a  druggist 
of  Williston,  North  Dakota. 

Mr.  Hildreth  supports  the  republican  party  at  the  polls  but  has  never  cared  for  political 
honors,  preferring  to  devote  his  time  and  energies  to  his  business  interests.  He  is  a  member 
of  the  Minnesota  Territorial  Pioneers  Association,  being  eligible  from  the  fact  that  he  was 
born  in  that  state  during  territorial  days.  Fraternally  he  is  identified  with  the  Knights  of 
Pythias  lodge  of  Williston,  and  with  the  Masonic  lodge,  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd 
Fellows,  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America  and  the  Ancient  Order  of  United  Workmen,  all 
of  Elk  River,  Minnesota.  He  took  a  prominent  part  in  the  work  of  some  of  these  organiza- 
tions and  served  as  treasurer  of  the  Odd  Fellows  lodge  for  ten  years.  He  has  traveled 
extensively  over  the  west  and  southwest  and  now  spends  his  winters  in  California. 


NATHAN  P.  LOUCKS. 


Nathan  P.  Loucks,  manager  and  one  of  the  stockholders  of  the  Kermit  Farmers 
Cooperative  Mercantile  Company  at  Kermit,  Divide  county,  was  born  in  Smith  Falls,  Ontario, 
Canada,  August  12,  1S85,  a  son  of  J.  H.  and  Mary  E.  (Van  Dusen)  Loucks.  The  father, 
a  native  of  Smith  Falls,  was  a  son  of  .John  Loucks.  one  of  the  pioneer  settlers  of  that 
place,  who  was  born  at  Cornwall,  Ontario,  while  his  father  was  one  of  the  earliest  of  the 
pioneers  of  Ontario  and  an  Indian  fighter  in  the  days  when  the  white  race  had  to  establish 
their  supremacy  by  the  test  of  arms.  J.  H.  Loucks  was  reared  and  educated  at  Smith 
Falls  and  took  up  the  occupation  of  farming.  In  early  life  he  also  conducted  a  hotel  and 
afterward  successfully  cultivated  his  father's  farm.  In  1898  he  removed  to  Fisher,  Minnesota, 
where  he  carried  on  agricultural  pursuits  until  1900,  when  he  went  to  Grand  Forks,  where- 
he  followed  farming  until  1913.  In  that  year  he  became  a  resident  of  Kermit  and  now 
lives  retired  from  active  business  cares,  he  and  his  wife  being  among  the  respected  and 
worthy  citizens  of  the  town. 

After  attending  the  city  schools  of  Smith  Falls,  Ontario,  Nathan  P.  Loucks  continued 
his  education  in  Grand  Forks,  North  Dakota.  In  1906  he  arrived  in  Williams  county,  this 
state,  and  honiesteaded  near  Fortuna,  which  was  in  that  section  of  Williams  county  that 
afterward  became  Divide  county.  His  place  was  sixty-five  miles  from  a  railroad  and 
Williston  was  the  nearest  town.  For  two  years  he  lived  upon  this  land,  securing  title- 
thereto,  after  which  he  established  his  home  in  Kermit,  where  he  became  buyer  for  the 
Atlantic  Elevator  Company,  which  he  thus  represented  until  1910.  He  then  established 
the  Kermit  Farmers  Cooperative  Mercantile  Compaiiy,  of  which  he  has  since  been  one  of 
the  stockholders  and  the  manager.     In  this  connection  he  is  conducting  a  growing  and  sue- 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  137 

cessful  business  and  is  a  popular,  progressive,  alert  and  wide-awake  business  man.  He  still 
owns  his  homestead  property,  which  he  rents,  and  he  is  one  of  the  officers  and  a  large 
stockholder   in  the  Dooley  Implement  Company   at  Dooley,  Montana. 

On  the  29th  of  December,  1909,  Mr.  Ivoucks  was  married  to  Miss  Ethel  May  McGillivray, 
of  (iraiiil  Forks,  who  was  born  in  that  city,  was  educated  there  and  afterward  engaged  in 
teaching  in  (irand  Forks  and  in  Ward,  Williams  and  McLean  counties.  She  is  a  graduate 
of  the  sdiools  of  Gilby,  North  Dakota. 

Both  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Loucks  hold  nu'mbership  in  the  Methodist  Episcopal  church  and 
guide  their  lives  by  its  teachings,  while  his  career  further  exemplifies  the  beneficent  spirit 
of  ilasonrj'.  He  belongs  to  G-osby  Lodge,  No.  108,  A.  F.  &  A.  M.,  has  taken  the  Scottish 
Kite  degrees  in  Grand  Forks  and  also  belongs  to  Kem  Temple  of  the  Mystic  Shrine.  His 
political  endorsement  is  given  to  the  republican  party  and  for  several  years  he  was  a  director 
on  the  town  board  of  Kermit.  He  is  interested  in  all  that  pertains  to  public  progress  and 
improvement  and  his  cooperation  can  always  be  counted  upon  to  further  movements  for 
the  general   good. 


CHARLES  H.  McMANUS. 


Charles  H.  McManus,  manager  at  Grand  Forks  for  tlic  International  Harvester  Company, 
was  born  at  Perth,  Ontario,  .June  13,  1865,  a  son  of  John  and  Mary  (Ralston)  McManus, 
both  of  whom  were  natives  of  Scotland.  In  early  life  they  crossed  the  Atlantic  to  Ontario, 
Canada,  where  the  father  engaged  in  the  lumber  business,  there  passing  away  in  1874.  To 
him  and  his  wife  were  born  four  children.  The  youngest,  Allan  McManus,  is  now  residing 
on  a  farm  of  thirty-si-ii;  hundred  acres  in  Grand  Forks  county,  in  which  his  brothers, 
Charles  and  William  McManus,  are  interested  and  on  which  many  thousands  of  bushels  of 
grain  are  raised  every  year.  Their  farm  is  one  of  the  finest  and  best  equipped  in  the  state. 
The  oldest  son,  William  McManus,  is  now  living  retired  in  Seattle  save  for  the  interest  he 
has  in  the  farm  property  in  North  Dakota.  Margaret  makes  her  home  with  her  mother  in 
Seattle,  Washington.  Mrs.  McManus  is  now  eighty  years  of  age.  Her  sons  have  provided 
her  with  a  splendid  home  on  Queen  Anno  Hill,  the  most  beautiful  residential  district  of 
Seattle,  and  there  she  has  every  wish  fulfilled.  Her  husband  died  when  their  children  were 
quite  young  and  the  mother  reared  and  cared  for  her  sons  and  daughter  until  they  were 
able  to  start  out  in  business  life  for  themselves.  They  now  requite  her  maternal  care  and 
love  with  the  utmost  filial  respect  and  devotion,  surrounding  her  with  every  comfort  that 
can  be  given  her  in  the  evening  of  life. 

Charles  H.  McJIanus,  who  was  the  second  child  of  the  family,  was  a  youth  of  fifteen 
years  when  on  the  17th  of  April,  1880,  Mrs.  McManus  and  her  children  came  to  North 
Dakota,  settling  at  Grand  Forks.  She  took  up  a  homestead  in  Grand  Forks  county  and 
Cliarles  H.  McManus  had  the  opportunity  of  attending  the  public  schools  and  also  of 
pursuing  a  commercial  comse  in  a  business  college  at  Grand  Forks.  After  completing  his 
course  in  the  latter  he  entered  the  employ  of  the  McCormick  Machine  Company  at  Grand 
Foi'ks,  North  Dakota,  in  the  capacity  of  cashier  and  when  that  company  was  merged  into 
the  International  Harvester  Company  he  was  commissioned  to  select  and  buy  a  site  for  the 
building  at  Grand  Forks.  He  made  a  choice  of  the  present  site  on  which  the  company's 
magnificent  building  in  this  city  now  stands.  He  also  bought  the  site  and  superintended 
the  erection  of  the  company's  building  at  Minot,  which  is  also  a  model  structure  of  its 
kind.  Before  the  building  of  the  plant  at  Grand  Forks  was  begun  he  was  called  to  Kansas 
City  and  was  made  manager  of  the  Kansas  City  branch  of  the  business,  which  position  he 
continued  to  fill  for  ten  years.  He  was  then  returned  to  Grand  Forks  and  has  since  been 
the  manager  of  this  large  branch.  He  is  thoroughly  capable  of  managing  the  extensive 
interests  under  his  control  and  understands  every  department  of  the  farm  machinery  business 
both  in  principle  and  in  detail.  His  wise  management  has  resulted  in  accumulating  thousands 
of  dollars  for  the  company  which  he  represents.  At  the  same  time  by  his  honorable 
methods  and  helpful  spirit  he  has  made  many    loyal    friends    among   the    farmers    of    this 


138  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

state  and  of  Jlontana.    His  labors  have  brought  a  substantial  reward  and  at  all  times  he  has 
displayed  a  spirit  of  initiative  and  enterprise  that  produces  good  results. 

On  the  16th  of  May,  1893,  Jlr.  McManus  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Anna  T. 
Parker,  of  Grand  Forks,  a  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  James  Parker,  who  were  natives  of 
New  Bedford,  Massachusetts.  In  politics  Mr.  McManus  is  a  stalwart  democrat  but  has  never 
been  an  active  party  worker.  He  belongs  to  the  Benevolent  Protective  Order  of  Elks,  the 
Ancient  Order  of  United  Workmen,  and  in  Masonic  circles  has  attained  high  rank,  being 
now  a  member  of  the  Mystic  Shrine.  He  was  for  six  years  secretary  of  Acacia  lodge.  His 
business  ability,  his  patriotic  citizenship,  his  loyalty  in  friendship  and  his  unfeigned  cordiality 
nave  gained  him  personal  popularity  and  he  is  today  accounted  one  of  the  valued  citizens  of 
Grand  Forks. 


WALLACE  HENRY. 


Wallace  Henry,  of  the  Henry  Motor  Company  of  Grand  Forks,  was  born  in  Walsh 
county.  North  Dakota,  March  1,  1890,  a  son  of  W.  J.  and  Anna  (Hughes)  Henry,  who  were 
natives  of  eastern  Canada.  At  an  early  period  in  the  development  of  this  state  the  father 
came  to  Noi-th  Dakota,  settling  in  Walsh  county,  where  lie  engaged  in  farming.  He  is  a 
resident  of  Park  River  and  has  reached  the  age  of  fifty-si.x  years,  while  his  wife  is  now 
fifty-two    years   of   age. 

Wallace  Henry,  was  the  second  of  their  four  children.  In  earlj'  boyhood  he  attended 
the  schools  of  his  native  county  and  later  made  his  initial  step  in  the  business  world  by 
working  as  a  farm  hand  on  his  father's  farm.  He  was  thus  employed  until  he  removed 
to  Grand  Forks,  where  he  sought  employment,  being  connected  with  various  lines  of  work 
until  1913,  when  he  was  appointed  agent  for  the  Oakland  automobile.  Since  that  time  he 
has  sold  many  cars  to  people  in  Grand  Forks  county  and  throughout  the  state  and  his 
business  has  reached  extensive  and  profitable  proportions.  He  is  also  a  large  land  holder 
and  owns  and  operates  extensive  farming  properties  in  Pembina,  Grand  Forks  and  Walsh 
counties  and  he  likewise  has  a  large  farm  in  Alberta,  Canada,  and  another  in  Minnesota. 
Having  been  reared  to  farm  life,  he  thoroughly  understands  crop  production  and  he  keeps 
in  touch  with  the  latest  methods  of  farming,  bringing  his  fields  to '  a  very  high  state  of 
cultivation.  His  farms  are  splendidly  equipped  and  his  position  as  an  agriculturist  is  among 
the  foremost  in  the  state.  In  fact  agricultural  interests  rather  than  his  automobile  business 
constitute  the  main  interest  in  his  business  life. 

At  Crookston,  Minnesota,  on  the  22d  of  .January,  1912,  Mr.  Henry  was  united  in 
marriage  to  Miss  Lillian  Porter,  of  Crystal,  Pembina  county.  To  them  has  been  born  a 
daughter,  lilaine,  whose  birth  occurred  in  Grand  Forks  in  1915.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Henry 
hold  membership  in  the  Methodist  Episcopal  church  and  fraternally  he  is  connected  with 
the  Elks  lodge  of  Grand  Forks.  In  politics  he  is  independent.  He  enjoys  hunting  and 
kindred  sports  and  finds  his  pastime  in  all  phases  of  outdoor  life.  He  maintains  an  even 
balance  between  such  interests  and  his  business  activities,  giving  to  each  its  due  measure  of 
time  and  attention,  and  that  sound  judgment  has  characterized  his  efl'orts  in  every  relation 
is  indicated  in  his  continuous  success. 


WILLIAM  HENRY  WELCH,  M.  D. 

William  Henry  Welch,  engaged  in  the  practice  of  medicine  and  surgery  at  Larimore, 
was  born  in  Boston,  Massachusetts,  June  30,  1855,  a  son  of  Hosea  Welch,  whose  birth 
occurred  in  Caledonia  county,  Vermont,  August  14,  1824,  and  who  is  a  reprcs<'ntative  of 
one  of  the  oldest  families  of  the  Green  Mountain  state.  His  father,  who  was  a  planter, 
lived  to  the  very  advanced  age  of  ninety-six  years.  He  was  of  Welsh  descent  and  the 
family  was  founded  in  America  at  an  early  period.  Hosea  Welch  became  a  successful 
farmer  and  followed  that  occupation  until  he  retired  from  active   life.     He   is   still   living 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  139 

and  a  hale  and  hearty  man  at  the  age  of  ninety-two  years,  and  he  has  long  been  a  devout 
member  of  the  Baptist  church.  His  wife,  who  bore  the  maiden  name  of  Harriett  Darling, 
was  a  daughter  of  iloses  Darling,  of  an  old  Vermont  family  of  Scotch  descent.  Mrs.  Welch 
passed  away  in  1904  at  the  age  of  eighty-two  years. 

Dr.  Welch  was  the  third  in  order  of  birth  in  a  family  of  seven  children.  His  youthful 
days  were  spent  upon  the  home  farm  in  Vermont  to  the  age  of  seventeen  years,  when  he 
started  out  in  life  on  his  own  account.  It  was  his  desire  to  provide  means  to  pay  his 
tuition  in  tlic>  Caledonia  County  Academy,  and  when  he  had  earned  a  sufficient  sum  he  entered 
that  institution,  from  which  he  was  giaduated  with  the  class  of  1877.  He  afterward  taught 
school  in  liis  native  county  and  while  thus  engaged  devoted  his  spare  time  to  the  study 
of  medicine.  Later  he  entered  the  University  of  Vermont  as  a  medical  student  and  was 
graduated  therefrom  in  18S0  with  the  M.  D.  degree.  He  immediately  began  the  practice 
of  his  profession  at  Union,  Vermont,  remaining  at  that  village  until  the  fall  of  1883.  In 
the  spring  of  1884  he  removed  westward  to  Polk  county,  Jlinnesota,  where  he  continued 
until  1887.  He  then  removed  to  Renville  county,  where  he  continued  in  active  practice  until 
the  fall  of  1889,  when  he  removed  to  Larimore,  there  taking  up  his  abode  on  the  4th  of 
December.  He  has  since  been  engaged  in  active  practice  there  and  is  the  oldest  physician 
in  years  of  continuous  connection  with  the  town.  He  engages  in  the  general  practice  of 
both  medicine  and  surgery,  and  his  ability  is  widely  recognized.  His  entire  attention  is 
devoted  to  his  professional  work,  and  the  public  acknowledges  his  ability  by  according  him 
a  liberal   patronage. 

On  .January  1.3.  1882.  Jlr.  Welch  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Elizabeth  Morrison, 
a  native  of  Vermont  and  a  daughter  of  William  and  Hannah  (Osmore)  Morrison,  both  now 
deceased.  Doctor  Welch  is  a  thirty-second  degice  Mason  and  a  member  of  the  Mystic  Shrine. 
He  joined  the  order  in  Larimore  and  has  since  been  a  faithful  representative  of  the  craft. 
He  is  also  connected  with  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows,  the  Modern  Woodmen  of 
America,  and  the  Yeomen,  and  his  religious  faith  is  evidenced  by  his  membership  in  the 
First  Methodist  Episcopal  church  of  Larimore,  of  which  he  is  a  trustee.  Along  strictly 
professional  lines  he  has  connection  with  the  Grand  Forks  Medical  Society,  the  North 
Dakota  State  Medical  Society  and  the  American  Medical  Association,  and  through  their 
proceedings,  as  well  as  by  private  study  and  reading,  keeps  in  touch  with  the  latest  scientific 
discoveries  of  the  medical  profession. 


A.  C.  STRINGER. 


A.  C.  Stringer,  cashier  of  the  First  State  Bank  of  Kief,  was  born  in  Mitchell  county, 
Iowa,  May  3,  1889,  a  son  of  Carl  B.  and  Cora  (Griffith)  Stringer,  natives  of  Illinois  and 
Iowa  respectively,  the  mother's  parents  having  been  pioneer  settlers  of  the  Hawkeye  state, 
to  which  they  removed  from  Germany.  The  progenitors  of  the  Stringer  family  were  English 
and  at  an  early  day  the  grandparents  of  our  subject  settled  in  Illinois.  When  a  young 
man  Carl  B.  Stringer  removed  from  that  state  to  Iowa,  establishing  his  home  in  Decorah, 
and  later  he  became  a  resident  of  Mitchell  coiinty,  where  he  was  married  and  for  fifteen 
years  engaged  in  farming.  Eventually  he  removed  to  Osage,  Iowa,  where  he  became  identified 
with  the  banking  business,  remaining  for  many  years  president  of  the  Home  Trust  & 
Savings  Bank,  which  he  developed  into  one  of  the  strong  financial  institutions  of  that 
part  of  the  country.  In  recent  years  he  has  been  living  retired  from  active  business 
management  l)ut  for  twenty  years  or  more  he  was  heavily  interested  in  North  Dakota 
farm  lands  and  in  Canada  lands  but  at  a  recent  date  disposed  of  his  land  holdings.  In 
May,  1914,  he  purchased  the  First  State  Bank  of  Kief,  North  Dakota,  and  [ilaced  his  son, 
A.  C.  Stringer,  in  charge  of  that  institution. 

In  the  schools  of  Osage  A.  ('.  Stringer  passed  through  consecutive  grades  to  the  high 
school  and  was  graduated  with  the  class  of  1909.  He  afterward  attended  the  Iowa  State 
Agricultural  College  and  also  the  Globe  Business  College  of  St.  Paul,  Minnesota,  from  which 
he  was  graduated  in  1911.  In  the  summer  of  that  year  he  was  connected  with  the  First 
State  Bank  of  Kief  and  in  the  autumn  went  to  Lakeville,  Minnesota,  where  he  accepted  the 


140  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

position  of  assistant  casliier  in  tlie  Decorah  State  Bank,  there  remaining  for  a  year  and  a 
half.  In  1913  he  removed  to  Minneapolis  and  assisted  Mr.  Samuels,  ^is  former  employer, 
to  organize  the  Citizens  State  Bank,  in  which  he  remained  for  almost  a  year  after  it  opened 
its  doors  for  business.  The  following  spring  he  came  to  North  Dakota  in  search  of  a 
favorable  location  for  the  establishment  of  'a  bank  and  the  present  banking  institution  was 
purchased.  The  old  cashier  was  retained,  while  Mr.  Stringer  became  vice  president  of  the 
institution  and  his  father  the  president.  In  May,  1915,  Kdward  Simbalenko,  a  prominent 
business  man  of  Kief,  was  made  vice-president  of  the  bank,  while  A.  C.  Stringer  succeeded 
to  the  cashiership  and  is  now  the  active  manager  of  the  bank,  which  in  the  intervening  period 
has  enjoyed  steady  growth  in  the  conduct  of  a  general  banking  business. 

On  the  16th  of  January,  1914,  Mr.  Stringer  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Mazie 
Hansen,  of  Minneapolis,  Minnesota.  Fraternally  he  is  connected  with  Osage  Lodge,  No.  102, 
F.  &  A.  M.  Politically  he  is  a  republican  and  is  now  serving  as  township  treasurer  and 
as  school  treasurer.  He  is  at  all  times  willing  to  aid  in  well  advised  and  carefully  executed 
plans  for  the  benefit  and  improvement  of  his  community.  Kief  recognizes  him  as  a  foremost 
citizen.  In  his  business  affairs  he  has  prospered  and  is  today  the  owner  of  two  residence 
properties  in  Kief  together  with  two  hundred  and  forty  acres  of  farm  land  in  Sheridan 
county. 


GUY  S.  BURTCH. 


Guy  S.  Burtch,  manager  of  the  Acme  elevator  at  Deering,  is  one  of  those  who  have 
been  identified  with  substantial  development  in  the  northwestern  part  of  the  state, 
for  he  was  a  homesteader  of  Ward  county,  thus  aiding  in  reclaiming  wild  land  for  the 
purposes  of  civilization.  He  was  born  in  Winnebago,  Minnesota,  June  2,  1879,  a  son  of 
Levi  and  Jane  (Henton)  Burtch,  natives  of  Woodstock,  Canada,  and  of  Erie,  Pennsyl- 
vania, respectively.  They  were  married  at  Waushara  county,  Wisconsin,  and  settled  in 
La  Crosse,  that  state,  where  they  lived  for  five  years,  when  they  became  residents  of 
Cerro  Gordo  county,  Iowa.  Four  years  later  they  established  their  home  in  Minnesota  and 
some  time  afterward  the  father  filed  on  a  homestead  near  Winnebago,  on  which  he 
resided  until  1903,  carefully,  persistently  and  successfully  cultivating  his  farm  during 
that  period.  For  six  years  thereafter  he  was  a  resident  of  Westbourne,  Manitoba,  and  in 
1908  he  came  to  North  Dakota,  settling  at  Deering,  where  he  now  resides.  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
Burtch  have  traveled  life's  journey  together  as  man  and  wife  for  sixty  years  and  have 
now  reached  the  ages  of  eighty-two  and  seventy-nine  years  respectively. 

Guy  S.  Burtch  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  and  at  Parker  College  in  Winnebago. 
He  spent  eight  years  of  study  in  that  institution  of  learning  and  won  a  teacher's  diploma 
in  1900.  After  completing  his  school  work  he  was  married  on  the  20th  of  .lune,  1900, 
to  Jliss  Ethel  Wells,  of  Huntley,  Minnesota,  and  immediately  afterward  came  to  North 
Dakota  with  his  bride.  He  filed  on  a  homestead  comprising  the  southeast  quarter  of  section 
9,  Margaret  township.  Ward  county,  five  miles  northwest  of  Deering,  and  resided  upon  that 
place  for  two  years,  when  he  preempted  his  claim.  In  1902  he  took  up  his  abode  in  the 
town  of  Deering  and  assumed  the  management  of  the  Acme  elevator,  of  which  he  has  now 
had  control  for  fourteen  years,  becoming  one  of  the  best  known  grain  buyers  in  his 
section  of  the  state.  He  is  thoroughly  acquainted  with  every  phase  of  the  grain  trade 
and  has  done  excellent  work  in  this  connection,  making  the  undertaking  one  of  profit  to  the 
owners.  He  has  also  wisely  invested  in  real  estate  and  is  now  the  owner  of  an  entire 
section  of  land  which  he  farms.  At  other  times  his  holdings  have  been  more  extensive  but  he 
has  bought  and  sold  from  time  to  time  as  he  has  seen  opportunity  for  judicious  invest- 
ment and  profitable  sales,  winning  a  substantial  measure  of  success  through  his  land 
operations. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Burtch  have  become  the  parents  of  four  children,  but  the  first  born, 
Mabel  is  deceased.  The  others  are  Merrill  W.,  Muriel  M.  and  Howard  G.  Politically  Mr. 
Burtch  is  a  republican  and  while  not  an  office  seeker  keeps  well  informed  on  the  questions 
and  issues  of  the  day,  so  that  he  is  able  to  support  his  position  by  intelligent  argument. 


GUY  S.  BrRTCH 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  143 

Hfi.  served  on  the  board  of  the  Thursby  Butte  school  district  for  seven  years  and  five 
years  was  its  president.  Fraternally  he  is  connected  with  Deering  Camp,  No.  141,  I.  O.  0.  F., 
and  Deering  Lodge,  No.  2944,  M.  W.  A.,  serving  for  the  past  seven  years  as  clerk  in  the 
latter.  He  and  his  wife  attend  the  Congregational  church  and  they  are  highly  respected 
residents  of  the  community  in  which  they  make  their  home,  their  sterling  worth  ensuring 
them  a  warm-hearted  welcome  in  the  best  homes  of  the  city  and  county. 


WILLIAM  E.  PAULSON. 


William  E.  Paulson,  county  auditor  of  Benson  county  and  a  resident  of  Minnewaukan, 
was  born  in  Swift  county,  Minnesota,  on  the  11th  of  November,  1876,  a  son  of  Isaac  and 
Mette  (Berge)  Paulson,  who  are  natives  of  Norway,  where  they  were  reared  and  married. 
In  1870  they  came  to  the  United  States,  settling  in  Benson,  Minn.,  in  which  locality  the 
father  took  up  a  homestead.  He  was  thereafter  actively  engaged  in  farming  in  Swift  county 
for  forty-four  years,  and  he  is  now  living  retired  in  Benson,  enjoying  the  fruits  of  his 
former  toil. 

William  E.  Paulson  obtained  his  early  education  in  district  schools  and  afterward 
attended  the  graded  schools  of  Benson  and  Willmar  Seminary.  When  he  had  attained  adult 
age  he  began  farming  on  his  own  account  in  Swift  county,  owning  a  tract  of  land  adjoining 
his  father's  place,  and  thereon  he  resided  until  1904,  when  he  came  to  North  Dakota. 
Settling  in  Minnewaukan,  he  spent  the  following  winter  as  a  clerk  in  the  office  of  the 
county  register  of  deeds  and  in  the  summer  of  1905  was  appointed  deputy  county  auditor,  in 
which  capacity  he  continued  until  the  fall  election  of  1910.  He  was  then  cliosen  county 
auditor,  was  again  elected  in  1912  and  1914  and  for  the  fourth  time  is  a  candidate  for 
the  office  without  opposition.  No  higher  testimonial  of  his  capability  and  fidelity  could 
be  given  than  the  fact  that  he  has  thus  received  the  endorsement  of  the  entire  county. 

In  1908  Mr.  Paulson  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Alice  Wilcox,  of  Benson,  Minnesota, 
by  whom  he  has  a  son,  Lyle  W.  Mr.  Paulson  belongs  to  the  Ancient  Order  of  United 
Workmen  and  is  master  workman  of  his  lodge.  He  is  also  connected  with  the  Homesteaders 
and  is  serving  as  secretary  of  the  local  organization.  He  and  his  wife  are  devoted  members 
of  the  Presbyterian  church  and  he  is  serving  on  its  board  of  trustees,  while  to  the  support 
of  the  church  he  is  a  liberal  donor  and  in  the  various  departments  of  its  work  takes  an 
active  interest.  His  political  allegiance  has  always  been  given  to  the  republican  party  and 
throughout  the  entire  period  of  his  residence  in  Benson  county  he  has  been  connected  with 
public  office,  making  an  excellent  record  by  reason  of  his  unfaltering  fidelity  and  capability. 


DUNCAN  WILLIAM  McKENZIE. 

Duncan  William  McKenzie,  a  dealer  in  farm  machinery  at  Dickinson,  has  throughout  his 
entire  business  career  made  steady  advance  by  reason  of  his  persistency  of  purpose,  his 
energy  and  laudable  ambition.  He  was  born  in  Pictou  county.  Nova  Scotia,  October  7, 
1859,  and  in  that  country  his  parents  spent  their  entire  lives.  The  son  there  remained 
until  tlie  fall  of  18S0  and  was  engaged  in  farming  in  his  native  country.  On  attaining  his 
majority  he  came  to  the  United  States,  settling  in  Wausau,  Wisconsin,  but  in  1881  came 
to  North  Dakota,  making  his  way  first  to  Gladstone  and  afterward  to  Dickinson,  wliile  later 
he  went  to  Glendive,  ilontana.  He  was  employed  as  a  fireman  on  the  Northern  Pacific  until 
injured  in  a  wreck  on  the  22d  of  July,  1883.  For  nine  months  he  was  incapacitated  for 
duty.  He  went  back  to  Nova  Scotia  but  after  recovering  returned  to  Dickinson,  while 
later  he  spent  another  winter  in  Canada.  He  next  went  to  Anthracite,  Alberta,  where  he 
operated  a  stationary  engine  for  some  months.  In  July,  1886  he  again  became  a  resident 
of  Dickinson,  where  he  has  now  made  his  home  for  thirty  years.  For  six  years  he  had 
charge  of  a  bridge  crew  for  the  Northern  Pacific,  after  which  he  purchased  a  machinery 
and  flour  and  feed  store  in  partnership  with  Edward  L.  Jones  of  Wisconsin.     This  partner- 


144  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

ship  was  maintained  until  the  death  of  Mr.  Jones  in  February,  1909,  after  which  Mr. 
MeKenzie  bought  out  the  interest  of  his  partner  and  became  sole  proprietor.  In  1913  he 
befan  the  erection  of  a  new  business  block  and  now  has  a  fine  brick  building  in  which  he 
carries  an  extensive  stock  of  farm  machinery,  including  the  manufactured  product  of  the 
Moline  and  International  Harvester  Companies.  His  annual  sales  have  reached  a  gratifying 
figure  and  his  business  has  become  one  of  the  important  commercial  interests  of  Dickinson. 
He  is  also  a  stockholder  in  a  bank  and  in  an  elevator  and  in  business  affairs  he  displays 
sound  judgment  and  keen  discrimination. 

In  1893  Mr.  MeKenzie  was  married  to  Miss  Louise  Dittberner,  who  was  born  in  Berlin, 
Germany,  but  came  to  the  United  States  in  her  early  girlhood,  her  home  being  two  miles 
south  of  Kichardton,  Stark  county,  North  Dakota.  To  Mr.  and  Mrs.  MeKenzie  have  been 
born  eight  children  but  three  died  in  infancy.  The  others  are:  Herbert,  who  was  born 
in  1896  and  is  now  attending  the  State  University  at  Grand  Forks;  Florence,  who  was  born 
in  1898  and  is  a  student  in  the  Dakota  Business  College  of  Fargo;  Eleanor,  born  in  1900; 
Duncan,  in  1901,  and  George,  in  1907. 

Mr.  MeKenzie  holds  membership  with  the  Elks  lodge  at  Dickinson,  witli  the  Knights 
of  Pythias  lodge,  in  which  he  is  a  past  chancellor,  with  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows 
of  which  he  is  a  past  grand,  and  with  the  Independent  Order  of  Foresters  of  Toronto, 
Canada.  His  political  allegiance  is  given  the  republican  party  and  for  four  ■  years  he 
has  served  as  county  commissioner  and  for  seven  years  as  a  member  of  the  city  council. 
He  is  a  very  prominent  and  active  worker  in  the  Commercial  Club,  doing  everything 
in  his  power  to  promote  tlie  interests  of  Dickinson  through  the  organized  effort  of  that 
institntion. 


OLAF   A.   ENGEMOEN. 


Olaf  A.  Engemoen,  actively  identified  with  the  banking  business  as  assistant  cashier 
of  the  Farmers  &  Merchants  Bank  at  Steele,  was  born  in  Norway  in  1877,  a  son  of  A.  O. 
and  Martha  (Mortenson)  Engemoen,  who  are  also  natives  of  the  land  of  the  midnight  sun. 
It  was  in  the  spring  of  1881  that  the  father  brought  his  family  to  the  United  States  and 
settled  about  ten  miles  north  of  Fargo,  North  Dakota,  where  he  remained  for  several  years. 
In  1884  he  removed  to  Minnesota  and  took  up  a  homestead  claim  upon  which  he  still  resides. 
He  has  converted  the  land  into  rich  and  productive  fields  and  is  now  carrying  on  general 
farming  and  dairying,  being  numbered  among  the  wide-awake  and  progressive  agriculturists 
of  that  district.  Upon  his  farm  he  and  his  wife  have  reared  a  family  of  five  children,  and 
while  the  parents  are  both  living,  two  of  the  children  have  passed  away. 

Olaf  A.  Engemoen,  who  was  the  second  in  order  of  birth,  began  his  education  in  the 
district  school  near  his  father's  farm,  upon  which  he  was  reared,  early  becoming  familiar 
with  all  the  duties  and  labors  that  fall  to  the  lot  of  the  agriculturist.  He  afterward  con- 
tinued his  studies  in  Concordia  College  of  Moorhead,  Minnesota,  and  was  graduated  from 
that  institution  in  the  spring  of  1905.  He  continued  to  assist  his  father  until  he  reached 
the  age  of  eighteen  years  and  then  came  to  North  Dakota  in  1896.  Here  he  was  employed 
as  a  farm  hand  and  he  also  spent  a  year  in  survey  work  with  the  Soo  Railroad  Company. 
Following  the  completion  of  his  course  of  study  at  Moorhead  he  entered  the  First  National 
Bank  of  Mayville  and  eventually  removed  to  Sawyer,  North  Dakota,  where  he  filled  the 
position  of  assistant  cashier  in  the  Sawyer  State  Bank.  He  remained  there  for  a  period  of 
about  two  years  and  in  the  spring  of  1907  removed  to  Steele,  where  he  has  since  made 
his  home.  At  the  time  of  the  organization  of  the  Farmers  and  Merchants  Bank  he  was  made 
assistant  cashier  and  in  this  undertaking  was  associated  with  M.  T.  Weum  and  0.  J. 
Mortenson  of  Moorhead.  The  bank  was  founded  in  1907  and  capitalized  for  ten  thousand 
dollars.  The  scope  of  the  bank  has  been  extended  to  include  a  farm  lands  department  and 
the  company  also  owns  a  warehouse  in  Steele  and  deals  in  real  estate  and  handles  insurance. 
The  various  branches  of  the  business  are  carefully  and  wisely  managed  and  are  bringing 
substantial   success. 

In  the  fall  of  1908  Mr.  Engemoen  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Esther  De  .Shon,  a 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  145 

native  of  Cliicago,  who  was  reared,  however,  in  North  Dakota.  There  was  but  one  ehild 
of  this  marriage,  Marguerite,  who  was  born  in  1909.  The  wife  and  mother  passed  away 
in  tlie  fall  of  1910  and  in  the  summer  of  1913  Mr.  Engemoen  was  again  married,  his  second 
union  being  with  Carrie  Schoeny,  who  was  born  at  Freeport,  Illinois,  a  daughter  of  Charles 
and  Caroline  Schoeny,  wlio  were  early  residents  of  Freeport.  Of  the  second  marriage  there 
lias  been  born  a  son,  Kobort,  whose  birth  occurred  in  1914. 

'Sir.  Kngemoen  exercises  his  right  of  franchise  in  support  of  the  men  and  measures 
that  he  deems  of  greatest  worth,  usually  voting  with  the  republican  party.  He  previously 
served  as  township  treasurer,  as  city  treasurer  and  as  clerk  of  the  school  district  and  at 
the  present  time  he  is  public  administrator,  clerk  of  the  school  district  and  township 
treasurer.  No  public  trust  reposed  in  him  has  ever  been  betrayed  in  the  slightest  degree, 
a  fact  which  is  indicative  of  his  faithfulness  to  duty  under  all  circumstances.  Fraternally 
he  is  a  Mason,  belonging  to  Steele  Lodge,  No.  102,  F.  &  A.  M.,  and  he  is  also  identified 
with  the  Yeomen  Camp,  No.  1374,  and  is  correspondent  of  the  Yeomen.  He  has  many 
pleasing  and  attractive  traits  of  character  and  those  who  know  him  speak  of  him  in  terms 
of  warm  regard,  recognizing  his  sterling  worth  and  the  fidelity  which  he  has  displayed  in 
all  of  life's  relations. 


C.  L.  LINDSTROM. 


C.  L.  Lindstrom.  general  manager  of  the  ilutual  Land  Company  of  Grand  Forks,  first 
visited  North  Dakota  in  1879  and  is  consequently  acquainted  with  its  pioneer  development, 
his  activities  having  been  of  a  character  that  have  contributed  to  public  progress  and 
improvement  as  well  as  individual  success.  He  was  born  at  Cannon  Falls,  Minnesota, 
September  12,  1861,  a  son  of  Andrew  and  Ingeborg  (Christopherson)  Lindstrom,  the  former 
a  native  of  Sweden  and  the  latter  of  Norway.  Making  his  way  to  Minnesota  in  1848  the 
father  settled  at  Cannon  Falls  and  engaged  in  farming,  filing  on  a  claim  during  the  admin- 
istration of  President  Buchanan.  He  married  in  ^Minnesota  and  spent  his  remaining  days 
there,  passing  away  in  1908  at  the  age  of  eighty  years.  His  wife  survived  until  1910  and 
was  seventy-nine  years  of  age  at  the  time  of  her  demise.  In  the  family  were  the  following 
children:  Andrew,  living  at  Lakota;  A.  E.;  Anthony,  a  resident  of  California;  L.  W.,  a 
resident  of  Ortonville,  ilinnesota ;  and  Josephine,  the  wife  of  Dr.  Robert  Stickeberger,  of 
Oberon,  North  Dakota. 

After  attending  public  school  and  spending  a  short  period  at  Ailolphus  College  at  St.  Peter, 
Minnesota,  C.  L.  Lindstrom  followed  various  occupations  in  that  state  until  1879  when  he 
removed  to  North  Dakota.  Later  he  went  to  Montana  and  assisted  in  building  Fort 
Assiniboine.  Returning  to  this  state  he  located  at  Larimore,  Grand  Forks  county,  and  in 
1883  removed  to  Benson  county  where  he  resided  until  1910.  He  was  engaged  in  farming 
until  he  removed  to  Grand  Forks  and  became  receiver  in  the  land  office.  He  afterward 
entered  upon  the  practice  of  law  in  Minnewaukan,  having  been  admitted  to  the  bar  in  1900, 
and  there  continued  until  1910  when  he  accepted  the  position  of  general  manager  of  the 
Mutual  Land  Company  of  North  Dakota  of  which  .John  I.  Larum,  of  Buxton  is  president, 
C.  H.  Opsal,  vice  president,  0.  L.  Lindstrom,  secretary  and  A.  L.  Lindstrom,  assistant 
secretary.  In  this  connection  he  is  contributing  in  substantial  measure  to  the  upbuilding 
and  di'vcloj)ment  of  the  business  which  has  attained  extensive  and  gratifying  proportions. 

On  the  25th  of  February,  1887,  Mr.  Lindstrom  was  married  to  Miss  Mary  Mathison  of 
Wahpeton.  North  Dakota,  a  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Peter  Mathison.  They  are  parents 
of  three  children:  Mrs.  Effie  Burke,  who  was  born  at  Oberon,  February  17,  1889,  and  is  a 
graduate  of  the  art  department  of  the  University  of  North  Dakota,  while  she  is  now  the 
wife  of  T.  H.  Burke,  of  Minnewaukan,  North  Dakota,  where  he  is  states  attorney;  Albert  L., 
who  was  born  at  Oboron,  November  16,  1892,  and  is  a  graduate  of  the  State  University; 
and  Harold,  who  was  born  July  35,  1902,  and  is  now  attending  high  school. 

Mr.  Lindstrom  gives  his  political  allegiance  to  the  republican  party  and  was  the  first 
county  commissioner  of  Benson  county,  serving  from  1888  until  1891.  He  was  connected 
with  the  Indian  service  at  Fort  Totten  under  President  Harrison,  and  for  two  terms,  from 


146  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

1894  until  1898  was  a  member  of  the  state  legislature.  In  1898  he  was  appointed  receiver 
of  the  United  States  land  office  for  a  four  year  term  and  in  1893  he  was  elected  states 
attorney  of  Benson  county,  which  office  he  held  for  two  terms.  He  has  been  a  member  and 
chairman  of  the  county  seat  committee  for  a  number  of  years  and  he  is  a  most  active  party 
worker,  doing  all  in  his  power  to  promote  the  gi-owth  of  his  party  and  win  for  it  success, 
his  opinions  carrying  weight  in  its  councils.  Fraternally  he  is  a  thirty-second  degree  Mason 
and  a  member  of  the  Mystic  Shrine  and  also  belongs  to  the  Benevolent  Protective  Order 
of  Elks.  He  has  attained  high  rank  as  a  citizen  and  public  official  and  the  positions  of 
trust  to  which  he  has  been  called  have  come  to  him  in  recognition  of  his  ability  and  trust- 
worthiness. His  official  duties  as  well  as  his  private  business  affairs  have  brought  him  a 
wide  acquaintance  and  those  who  know  him  entertain  for  him  a  warm  regard. 


VALENTINE  KOCH. 


Amono-  the  prominent  and  representative  citizens  of  Dickinson  is  numbered  Valentine 
Koch  who  is  now  filling  the  office  of  clerk  of  the  court  to  the  entire  satisfaction  of  all 
concerned.  His  early  home  was  on  the  other  side  of  the  Atlantic,  for  he  was  born  in 
Russia,  July  24,  1889,  his  parents  being  Joseph  and  Frances  Koch.  In  1896  they  brought 
their  family  to  America  and  located  in  Dickinson,  North  Dakota,  where  they  still  reside. 
By  occupation  the  father  is  a  mason. 

Valentine  Koch  was  a  little  lad  of  seven  years  on  the  emigration  of  the  family  to  the 
United  States  and  in  Dickinson  he  grew  to  manhood,  obtaining  his  education  in  the  common 
and  high  schools  of  that  city.  After  laying  aside  his  textbooks  he  engaged  in  newspaper 
work  in  the  employ  of  others  until  1908,  when  he  established  the  North  Dakota  Herald,  a 
German  paper,  which  he  published  until  the  spring  of  1911,  when  he  sold  out.  He  continued 
in  press  work,  however,  until  elected  clerk  of  the  court  in  1912.  So  efficiently  did  he  fill  that 
position  that  he  was  reelected  in  1914  and  was  elected  without  opposition  in  1916. 

On  the  3d  of  May,  1910,  Mr.  Koch  married  Miss  Barbara  Fischer,  by  whom  he  has  three 
children,  namely:  Jerome  John,  Theodore  and  Leo  Frank.  He  and  his  wife  are  members 
of  tlic  Catholic  church  and  he  is  also  connected  with  the  local  council  of  the  Knights  of 
Columbus  and  the  Yeomen,  being  foreman  of  the  latter  lodge  at  the  present  time.  The 
republican  party  has  always  found  in  him  a  stanch  supporter  of  its  principles  and  he  has 
become  a  recognized  leader  in  political  affairs.  He  is  preeminently  public-spirited  and  pro- 
gressive and  has  always  been  found  true  to  any  trust  reposed  in  him. 


E.  EUGENE  GOWELL. 


E.  Eugene  Cowell,  who  is  now  the  owner  and  publisher  of  the  Dogden  News  of 
Dogden,  McLean  county,  has  the  distinction  of  having  established  a  larger  number  of 
newspapers  in  North  Dakota  and  Minnesota  than  any  other  man  and  furthermore  has  made 
every  paper  with  which  he  has  been  connected  a  force  in  behalf  of  good  government.  A 
great  deal  of  his  energy  has  been  expended  in  effective  work  for  clean  polities  and  he  is 
widely  known  in  that  connection  throughout  the  two  states.  He  was  born  in  Hazelton 
township,  Buchanan  county,  Iowa,  August  12,  1862,  a  son  of  J.  E.  and  Marcia  (Morse) 
Cowell,  both  of  whom  were  born  in  the  east  but  removed  to  Buchanan  county  in  1861. 
The  father  was  &  farmer  and  carpenter  by  occupation.  His  death  occurred  in  1895  and  his 
wife  passed  away  February  28,  1868.  To  them  were  born  three  childi-en,  two  of  whom  are 
living  and  of  whom  E.  Eugene  is  the  eldest. 

The  Iowa  schools  afforded  E.  Eugene  Cowell  his  educational  opportunities  and  after 
attending  the  high  school  at  Independence  he  came  to  North  Dakota  in  1883  and  secured  a 
position  with  the  Larimore  Pioneer,  edited  by  Scott  &  Church.  He  received  a  salary  of 
twelve  dollars  a  week  and  made  it  a  point  to  save  ten  dollars  of  that  amount,  keeping  his 
expenses   down   by  living  in  a  shack  and   doing  his  own  cooking.     Later  with  his  savings 


E.  EUGENE  COWELL 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  149 

he  purchased  the  Niagara  Times,  which  ho  edited  for  a  short  period.  Subsequently  he 
returned  to  Minnesota  and  at  one  time  owned  ten  papers  in  Washington  county,  that  state. 
While  living  there  the  question  came  up  and  a  law  was  passed  defining  a  legal  newspaper 
and  it  was  he  who  worded  the  section  which  contains  the  legal  standard  for  a  newspaper. 
During  the  si.xteen  years  that  he  was  in  Minnesota  he  established  and  for  a  time  edited 
fourteen  different  papers  and  was  very  active  in  politics,  doing  all  in  his  power  to  secure 
clean  government.  He  was  the  leader  in  a  movement  in  Stillwater  which  succeeded  in 
effecting  radical  and  beneficial  changes  in  the  city  government.  In  1900  he  came  again 
to  North  Dakota  and  first  established  the  Balfour  Statesman,  later  founding  eleven  other 
papers  in  the  state.  It  is  generally  stated  that  Mr.  De  Lacy  of  Minnesota  established  more 
papers  than  any  other  man,  but  Mr.  Cowell's  record  exceeds  his  as  the  number  of  papers 
established  by  Mr.  De  Lacy  was  only  twenty-one,  while  Mr.  Cowell  has  founded  twenty- 
six,  as  follows:  St.  Paul  Times,  1885;  St.  Paul  Park  Times,  1887;  Newport  News,  1890; 
South  St.  Paul  Telegram,  1890;  North  St.  Paul  Enterprise,  1890;  Stillwater  American, 
1892;  Stillwater  Daily  Times,  1898;  South  Stillwater  Lumberman,  1893;  Lakeland  Review, 
1892;  Afton  Ideal,  1892;  Cottage  Grove  Herald,  1892;  Forest  Lake  Gem,  1893;  Wildwood 
Outing,  1892;  Northern  Light  (Marine),  1892,  all  in  ilinnesota;  Bartlett  Courier,  1884; 
Balfour  Statesman,  1900;  Granville  Times,  1900;  Voltaire  Critic,  1901;  Drake  Observer, 
1902;  Carpeo  Herald,  1901;  Dogden  Observer,  1907;  Max  Phonogram;  Drake  Telegram; 
Bergen  Sentinel;  Progressive  West  (Plaza)  1908;  and  Euso  Record,  1916,  ail  published  in 
North  Dakota.  In  1912  he  took  up  his  residence  in  Dogden  and  purchased  the  Dogden 
News,  which  he  has  since  edited  and  published.  It  has  a  circulation  of  three  hundred  and 
is  in  every  respect  a  high  class  country  paper.  The  plant  is  equipped  with  eleven  presses  of 
modern  design  and  stands  for  twenty-five  printers.  Mr.  Cowell  owns  property  in  both 
Iowa  and  North  Dakota  and  has  accumulated  a  competence,  although  his  chief  aim  has 
not  been  to  make  money  but  to  serve  the  various  communities  with  which  he  has  been 
connected. 

On  the  15th  of  September,  1886,  Mr.  Cowell  was  married  to  Miss  Mary  C.  Schabacker 
at  Newport,  Minnesota,  and  to  them  have  been  born  three  children;  Grace  E.,  now  employed 
on  the  Glasgow  Democrat,  at  Glasgow  ilontana;  Clarence  C,  who  is  editing  a  newspaper 
at  Max,  North  Dakota;  and  Pearl  C. 

Mr.  Cowell  is  a  strong  republican  but  has  never  held  office  although  he  has  been  a 
leader  in  political  circles  wherever  he  has  lived.  The  guiding  principle  of  his  life  is  found 
in  his  religious  belief  and  he  is  an  active  and  influential  member  of  the  Baptist  church. 
He  is  a  close  friend  of  Colonel  Lounsberry,  the  editor  of  this  history,  and  is  personally 
known  to  many  other  prominent  citizens  of  this  state.  One  of  his  hobbies  is  the  study 
of  genealogy,  to  which  he  has  devoted  much  of  his  spare  time.  To  his  friends  he  is 
familiarly  known  as  "the  Bishop"  and  the  warm  regard  in  which  he  is  held  by  those  who 
know  him  best  is  proof  of  his  agreeable  personal  qualities.  His  record  as  a  newspaper 
man  and  political  leader  is  one  of  which  he  has  every  reason  to  be  proud,  and  he  is  justly 
ranked  as  a  leading  citizen  of  Dogden. 


HAVELOCK  BENNETT. 


Havelock  Bennett,  an  implement  dealer  of  Larimore.  has  been  identified  witli  tlie  devel- 
opment of  the  town  since  1882.  He  has  always  lived  in  the  middle  west,  his  birth  having 
occurred  in  Marquette  county,  Wisconsin,  November  6,  1859.  His  father,  Benjamin  Bennett, 
a  native  of  the  north  of  England,  came  to  America  in  1849,  settling  in  Wisconsin  among  its 
pioneer  residents,  and  there  he  successfully  followed  farming  at  an  early  day.  About  the 
time  of  the  close  of  the  Civil  war  he  removed  to  Bremer  county,  Iowa,  where  he  resided  for 
more  than  thirty  years,  and  his  last  days  were  spent  in  Spokane,  Washington,  where  he  died 
in  1912  at  the  age  of  seventy-nine  years.  His  wife,  who  bore  tlie  maiden  name  of  Elizabeth  ■ 
Slater,  was  a  native  of  England  and  came  to  America  in  1847  with  her  parents,  who  were 
pioneers  of  Wisconsin.     She  was  reared  and  married  in  that  state  and  became  the  mother 


150  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

ot'  fourteen  cliildren.  Slie,  too,  passed  away  in  Spokane  in  1914,  when  seventy-seven  yeai's 
of  age. 

.The  tliird  member  of  tlie  family  was  Havelock  Bennett,  who  is  indebted  to  the  county 
school  system  of  Iowa  for  the  educational  privileges  whicli  he  enjoyed.  He  early  became 
familiar  with  the  best  metliods  of  tilling  the  soil  and  earing  for  the  crops,  and  spent  his 
youth  upon  the  farm  until  he  reached  the  age  of  twenty-one,  when  he  started  out  on  his 
own  account.  He  was  first  engaged  by  J.  C.  Garner,  an  implement  dealer  of  Waverly,  Iowa, 
and  in  1883  came  to  North  Dakota  with  the  firm  of  Hunt,  Holt  &  Garner,  implement  dealers 
who  established  business  at  Larimore.  He  was  associated  with  that  firm  as  a  salesman  and 
afterward  was  a  salesman  with  0.  H.  Phillips  of  Larimore,  a  pioneer  implement  dealer,  for 
ten  years,  and  on  the  expiration  of  that  period  entered  business  on  his  own  account.  _He  has 
since  been  conducting  his  store  and  is  today  one  of  the  leading  and  prosperous  implement 
dealers  of  Larimore  and  Grand  Forks  county,  his  trade  having  assumed  extensive  propor- 
tions. He  also  conducts  large  farming  interests,  having  twelve  hundred  and  forty  acres  of 
land,  all  in  Grand  Forks  county. 

In  1904  in  Grand  Forks,  Mr.  Bennett  was  married  to  Mis.  Sabena  (Schaefer)  Valerius, 
a  native  of  Germany  and  a  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Joseph  Schaefer,  who  became  early 
residents  of  ^^'abasha  county,  Minnesota,  but  are  now  deceased.  Mr.  Bennett  is  a  Consistory 
Mason  and  a  member  of  the  Mystic  Shrine,  and  he  also  belongs  to  the  Independent  Order 
of  Odd  Fellows.  In  politics  he  is  a  republican  and  has  served  for  two  terms  as  a  member  of 
the  city  council  of  Larimore,  in  which  connection  he  has  done  excellent  work  to  uphold  and 
advance  civic  standards.  For  more  than  a  third  of  a  century  he  has  lived  in  Larimore  and  is 
today  one  of  its  best  known  and  most  highly  esteemed  citizens,  his  personal  record  as  well 
as  his  business  career  making  for  him  a  creditable  position  in  public  regard. 


MANVILLE  A.  JOHNSON. 


Manville  A.  .Johnson,  socretar3'  and  manager  of  the  Michigan  Mercantile  Company  at 
Michigan,  Nelson  countj^  was  born  April  13,  1889,  in  New  London,  Minnesota.  His  father, 
John  A.  Johnson,  a  native  of  Sweden,  came  to  America  in  1865  and  settled  in  New  London, 
where  he  engaged  in  general  merchandising  and  in  farming,  being  quite  successful  in  the 
management  of  his  business  affairs.  During  the  Indian  wars  in  Minnesota  he  served  as  a 
member  of  the  Home  Guards  of  the  state.  His  political  allegiance  was  given  to  the  repub- 
lican party  and  locally  he.  was  quite  active,  filling  various  public  positions  of  honor  and 
trust.  He  passed  away  in  New  London  in  1890,  at  the  age  of  forty-flve  years.  His  widow, 
who  bore  the  maiden  name  of  Christina  Teigland,  was  born  in  Norway  and  in  early  girlhood 
came  with  her  parents  to  the  United  States,  the  family  home  being  established  in  Minne- 
sota, where  she  met  and  married  Mi-.  Johnson.  She  is  now  a  resident  of  Mayville,  North 
Dakota.  The  four  children  of  her  marriage  are:  Anna,  the  wife  of  0.  N.  Larson,  of  May- 
ville; Sadie,  the  wife  of  C.  E.  Funk,  of  Carver,  Minnesota;  Martha,  who  died  in  Mayville  in 
1913;   and  Manville  A. 

The  last  named  was  educated  in  the  country  schools  of  Minnesota  and  in  the  Mayville 
Normal  School  and  in  his  youthful  days  he  early  became  familiar  with  farm  work  in  all 
of  its  departments.  When  a  youth  of  fifteen  he  started  out  to  earn  his  own  living  and 
secured  employment  as  a  faim  hand  in  North  Dakota,  devoting  two  years  to  that  occupation, 
during  which  time  he  also  attended  school  through  the  winter  seasons.  In  1907  he  secured 
a  position  as  delivery  boy  and  clerk  with  the  Michigan  Mercantile  Company  and  from  that 
luimble  position  has  worked  his  way  steadily  upward  step  by  step  until  lie  has  become  one 
of  the  large  stockholders  in  the  undertaking  and  is  the  secretary  and  general  manager  of 
the  company,  having  occupied  this  dual  position  since  1913.  This  is  an  incorporated  com- 
pany and  today  controls  the  largest  commercial  enterprise  of  Nelson  county,  employing  on 
an  average  of  eight  people.  The  store  has  a  floor  space  of  forty  by  one  hundred  feet  and 
the  stock  carried  is  valued  at  about  thirty  thousand  dollars.  The  present  officers  are :  Marcus 
Johnson,  president:  N.  J.  Walen,  vice  president;  and  Manville  A.  .Johnson,  secretary;  with 
Lawrence  Krostue  on  the  board  of  directors  in  addition  to  the  officers.    Manville  A.  Johnson 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  151 

is  also  ciigai,'('(l  in   fanning,  owning  and   cviltivating  one  luindied  and   sixty  acres  of   land   in 
Michigan  townsliip. 

Politically  Mr.  Johnson  exercises  his  right  of  franchise  in  support  of  the  men  and  meas- 
ures of  the  democratic  party.  Kraternally  he  is  connected  with  the  Odd  Fellows  lodge  at 
Slichigan,  of  which  he  is  a  past  grand,  and  he  belongs  to  the  Commercial  Club  and  to  the 
Lutheran  church— associations  which  indicate  much  of  the  natui'e  of  his  interests  and  the 
rules  which  govern  his  conduct.  He  stands  for  progress  in  all  things  leading  to  the  material, 
intellectual,  social,  political  and  moral  development  of  his  community  and  the  progressive 
spirit  which  he  has  manifested  throughout  his  entire  life  constitutes  the  measure  of  his 
substantial  success. 


AXEL  W.  SWENSON.  JI.  D. 


J)r.  Axel  W.  Swenson,  engaged  in  the  practice  of  medicine  and  surgery  in  liisbee,  is  one 
of  the  substantial  citizens  that  Norway  has  furnished  to  Towner  county.  His  birth  occurred 
in  %'adso,  Norway,  .June  IT,  1870,  his  parents  being  Sven  and  Mary  Swenson,  who  were  also 
natives  of  the  same  country.  The  father  was  a  fisherman  and  followed  that  pursuit  until 
1882,  when  he  came  to  America,  making  his  way  to  Wisconsin,  where  he  purchased  land  and 
engaged  in  general  farming  until  1901.  He  then  came  to  North  Dakota  and  resided  with 
his  children  until  called  to  his  final  rest,  his  death  occurring  in  April,  1913.  He  had  long 
survived  his  wife,  who  died  in  1880. 

Doctor  Swenson  was  a  little  lad  of  but  six  jears  when  tlie  family  home  was  established 
in  the  new  world.  His  education  was  largely  acquired  in  Minneapolis,  his  preliminary  studies 
being  supplemented  by  a  course  in  Hamline  University,  from  which  he  was  gi-aduated  with 
the  M.  D.  degree  as  a  member  of  the  class  of  1901.  He  then  located  for  practice  at  Jlad- 
dock,  where  he  followed  his  profession  for  two  years  and  then  removed  to  Bisbee,  where  he 
has  remained  continuously  since  1903  or  for  thirteen  years.  His  pronounced  ability  has 
won  recognition  in  a  large  and  growing  practice.  He  is  local  surgeon  for  the  Soo  Railroad 
Company.  He  belongs  to  the  Devils  Lake  District  Medical  Society,  which  honored  him  with 
election  to  the  presidency,  and  he  also  has  membership  in  the  North  Dakota  State  Medical 
Society  and  the  American  Medical  Association.  He  filed  on  land  in  Bottineau  county.  North 
Dakota,  in  1899  and  his  real  estate  possessions  now  include  two  farms  of  three  hundred  and 
twenty  acres  each,  one  in  Towner  county  and  the  otlier  in  Rolette  county.  He  also  owns 
and  conducts  a  drug  store  at  Bisbee  whicli  he  purchased  in  1911.  His  business  affairs  are 
thus  wide  and  important  and  successful  management  is  bringing  to  him  gratifying  prosperity. 

In  1901  Doctor  Swen.son  was  married  to  Miss  Adeline  Evenson  and  they  have  become  par- 
ents of  four  children:  Helen,  Adeline,  Fritjof  and  Dorothea.  Politically  Doctor  Swenson  is  a 
republican,  but  while  at  all  times  a  loyal  and  public-spirited  citizen,  never  seeks  or  desires 
office.  He  is  an  exemplary  representative  of  the  Masonic  order,  being  connected  with  lodge, 
chapter,  commandery  and  Mystic  Shrine,  and  he  also  belongs  to  the  Modern  Woodmen  of 
America  and  the  Royal  Neighbors.  His  religious  belief  is  evidenced  by  his  membership  in 
the  Lutheran  church  and  at  all  times  finds  expression  in  his  relations  of  a  public  and  pri- 
vate nature. 


THEODORE  G.  THOMPSON. 


Theodore  G.  Thompson,  of  Cooperstown,  operating  extensively  in  the  field  of  real  estate 
and  senior  partner  in  the-Thompson-McDermot  Company,  which  is  engaged  in  merchandising, 
was  born  at  Herring  Lake,  .Jackson  county.  Minnesota,  in  October,  1877,  a  son  of  Knute 
Thompson.  Ho  was  the  eldest  of  four  children  and  was  but  five  years  of  age  when  brought 
to  Cooperstown,  where  he  pursued  his  education  in  the  public  schools,  afterward  continuing 
his  studies  in  the  University  of  North  Dakota.  In  1S97  he  opened  a  general  store  in  Finley, 
where  he   rciiiaineil    until    I'.Ml.J.   wlien   he   disposed   of   his   interest   in   that   place  and  entered 


152  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

busimss  circles  in  Cooperstown  in  partnership  witli  his  brother,  T.  A.  Thompson,  who  later 
took  up  tlie  profession  of  law  and  is  now  district  judge  at  Kalispell,  Montana.  The  brothers 
conducted  their  mercantile  interests  under  the  firm  style  of  Tliompson  Brothers  and  the 
partnership  was  maintained  until  190G,  when  T.  A.  Thompson  was  succeeded  by  J.  H. 
McDermot  and  George  K.  Houghton  under  the  firm  style  of  the  Thompson-McDermot  Com- 
pany. Their  store,  which  would  be  a  credit  to  a  city  of  much  larger  size  than  Cooperstown, 
is  at  the  corner  of  Burrell  and  Ninth  streets,  in  the  center  of  the  business  district.  Their 
building  is  fifty  by  one  hundred  feet.  They  carry  a  complete  and  well  selected  line  of 
"cneral  mercluuidise,  for  which  they  find  a  ready  sale.  They  are  most  careful  in  the  per- 
sonnel of  the  house,  in  the  line  of  goods  carried  and  in  tlie  treatment  accorded  patrons  and 
their  stoclc  displays  many  of  the  most  attractive  features  oli'ered  by  domestic  and  foreign 
markets.  In  January,  1915,  Mr.  Thompson  joined  H.  S.  Halverson,  H.  V.  Hammer  and  G. 
H.  Condy  in  organizing  the  Thompson-Halverson  Land  Company  and  to  the  conduct  of 
tlieir  real  estate  business  Mr.  Thompson  is  now  largely  devoting  his  time  and  energies, 
handling  an  extensive  amount  of  land  belonging  to  the  company  and  to  its  individual  mem- 
bers. This  company  has  been  instrumental  in  bringing  in  many  new  settlers  and  locating 
them  under  favorable  conditions.  Personally  Mr.  Thompson  has  valuable  farm  holdings 
which  are  operated  by  renters.  He  is  also  the  vice  president  of  the  Sutton  Mercantile  Com- 
pany at  Sutton,  iSTorth  Dakota. 

On  the  6th  of  JiiYie,  1906,  Mr.  Thompson  was  married  to  Miss  Helga  M.  Hammer,  a 
daughter  of  H.  P.  Hammer,  a  leading  business  man  of  Cooperstown,  mentioned  elsewhere  in 
this  work.     Their  children  are  Kenneth  Howard,  Mary  Helen  and  Eleanor. 

Mr.  Thompson  is  a  prominent  Mason,  belonging  to  the  blue  lodge,  the  Scottish  Kite  and 
the  Mystic  Shrine,  and  he  is  a  trustee  of  the  Northern  Light  Masonic  Temple  Association 
which  is  erecting  in  Cooperstown  a  thirty-five  thousand  dollar  building  for  Masonic  uses 
exclusively.  He  is  also  a  member  of  the  Sons  of  Norway  and  he  possesses  many  of  the 
sterling  traits  for  which  the  citizens  who  have  come  from  the  land  of  the  midnight  sun  are 
justly  famous.  Diligence  and  determination  are  accounted  among  his  salient  characteristics 
and  have  enabled  him  to  accomplish  liis  purposes,  wliicli  have  ever  had  their  root  in  laudable 
ambition  tliat  has  been  a  spur  to  honorable  endeavor. 


G.  MARSHALL  FOSTER,  D.  D.  S. 

One  of  the  most  prominent  dentists  of  the  western  part  of  North  Dakota  is  Dr.  G. 
Marsliall  Foster,  who  is  successfully  engaged  in  the  practice  of  his  chosen  profession  at  Beach. 
He  was  born  on  the  14th  of  September,  1878,  in  Albion.  Michigan,  of  which  state  his  parents, 
Cliarles  M.  and  Minnie  G.  (Orr)  Foster,  were  residents  for  many  years  though  natives  of 
New  England.  In  1881  the  family  came  to  North  Dakota  and  located  near  .Jamestown,  where 
the  father  took  up  a  homestead. 

There  Doctor  Foster  was  reared,  his  early  education  being  obtained  in  the  public  schools 
of  Eldridge.  and  he  later  attended  the  high  school  of  Jamestown.  In  1901  he  was  made 
commissary  agent  for  the  State  Hospital  for  the  Insane  at  the  latter  place  and  was  con- 
nected with  the  financial  department  of  that  institution,  looking  after  and  distributing  sup- 
plies. For  six  years  he  efficiently  filled  that  position  but  preferring  a  professional  career 
he  then  entered  the  Cliicago  College  of  Dental  Surgery,  from  which  he  was  graduated  in 
1910.  He  at  once  opened  an  office  in  Beach  and  here  he  has  since  practiced  with  marked 
success,  his  patronage  coming  from  the  best  people  of  the  town  and  surrounding  country. 

On  the  35th  of  December,  1910,  Doctor  Foster  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Daisy  R. 
Hom,  a  native  of  Wisconsin,  who  became  a  trained  nurse  and  practiced  in  North  Dakota 
prior  to  lier  marriage.  The  Doctor  and  his  wife  now  have  three  sons:  Ray  M.,  Rex  M.  and 
Reese. 

By  his  ballot  Doctor  Foster  supports  the  men  and  mea.sures  of  the  republican  party  but 
has  little  time  for  politics,  preferring  to  devote  his  attention  to  his  business  interests.  He 
is  a  member  of  Sunset  Lodge,  No.  88,  A.  F.  &  A.  M.,  of  Beach,  and  in  professional  circles 
he  stands  high,  being  a  prominent  member  of  the  North  Dakota  State  Dental  Association 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  153 

and  the  National  Dental  Association.  He  also  belongs  to  the  Delta  Sigma  Delta,  a  dental 
fraternity,  and  the  Kortli  Dakota  Automolnle  Association.  He  is  an  active  supporter  in  all 
measures  calculated  to  promote  the  interests  of  dentistry,  has  attended  and  given  clinics 
throughout  the  state,  and  by  giving  free  lectures  is  trying  to  educate  school  children  in 
the  care  of  their  teeth.  The  Doctor  is  a  member  of  the  executive  committee  building  the 
new  Masonic  Temple  at  Beach  and  never  withholds  his  support  from  any  enterprise  calcu- 
lated to  promote  the  moral  and  material  welfare  of  his  community. 


JOHN  CHAKLES  FIELD. 


John  Giarlcs  Field  has  for  tlie  past  si.xteen  years  served  as  county  surveyor  of  Williams 
county  and  as  one  of  its  pioneer  settlers  has  been  prominently  identified  with  the  develop- 
ment of  the  county.  Since  1887  he  has  made  his  home  in  VVilliston  and  has  always  been 
regarded  as  one  of  its  leading  citizens. 

Mr.  Field  was  born  in  Pittsfield,  Hlinois,  November  28,  1862,  and  is  a  son  of  Julius  B. 
and  Mary  A.  (St.  Ives)  Field,  natives  of  Connecticut,  where  they  continued  to  reside  until 
after  their  marriage.  In  1855  they  became  residents  of  Pittsfield,  Illinois,  where  the  father 
taught  school  for  a  time  and  later  engaged  in  contracting.  Both  lie  and  his  wife  died  there. 
She  was  born  in  Saugatuck,  Connecticut,  and  also  engaged  in  teaching  school  in  early  life, 
being  well  educated. 

John  Charles  Field  attended  the  public  and  high  schools  of  Pittsfield  and  later  entered 
Illinois  College  at  Jacksonville,  Illinois,  where  he  was  a  classmate  of  William  Jennings 
Bryan.  For  a  few  years  after  his  graduation  he  traveled  as  a  musician  with  a  minstrel 
show  throughout  the  west,  but  subsequently  took  a  course  in  civil  engineering  at  Valparaiso 
Universit}',  Valparaiso,  Indiana,  and  a  post  graduate  course  at  Gustavus  Adolphus  College, 
St.  Peter,  Minnesota,   where  the  degree  of  C.   E.  was  conferred  upon  him. 

For  two  years  Mr.  Field  taught  school  in  Minnesota,  and  then  entered  the  service  of 
the  Great  Northern  Railroad  as  a  civil  engineer,  working  with  a  construction  crew  from 
Devils  Lake,  North  Dakota,  to  the  state  of  Washington.  This  was  from  1886  to  1888  inclu- 
sive. He  was  next  a  contractor  for  the  United  States  government  at  Fort  Buford,  North 
Dakota,  erecting  new  buildings  at  the  army  post,  where  he  remained  until  1893,  during 
which  time  he  became  well  acquainted  with  the  officers  there.  From  1893  to  1895  he  was  in 
charge  of  construction  of  irrigation  work  for  tlie  United  State  government  on  the  F'ort  Peck 
Indian  reservation  in  Montana. 

In  1887  Mr.  Field  moved  his  family  to  Little  Muddy,  now  Williston,  where  he  has  since 
made  his  headquarters.  He  assisted  in  organizing  Williams  countj'  in  1892  and  has  held  some 
county  office  ever  since.  He  has  filled  the  position  of  county  surveyor  since  1900,  being 
reelected  every  two  years ;  was  the  first  justice  of  the  peaeo  of  Williston ;  and  has  served  as 
clerk  of  the  district  court. 

On  the  8th  of  March,  1884,  at  St.  Peter,  Minnesota,  Mr.  Field  was  united  in  marriage  to 
Miss  Bertha  Olive  Dunn,  who  was  born  at  Lake  Emily,  Lesueur  county  Minnesota,  wliich 
place  was  named  for  her  aunt,  Emily  Pettis.  There  Mrs.  Field  was  reared  and  after  attend- 
ing the  local  schools  entered  the  Minnesota  State  Normal  at  Mankato,  from  which  she  was 
graduated.  By  her  marriage  to  our  subject  she  has  become  the  mother  of  seven  children, 
of  whom  four  are  living,  namely;  Ethel  Agnes,  who  was  born  in  Kasota,  Minnesota,  and 
is  now  the  wife  of  Norman  Dickey,  a  contractor  of  \V'illiston.  North  Dakota;  Elsie  Leali, 
who  was  born  at  Fort  Buford,  North  Dakota,  and  is  the  wife  of  Noah  Pranger,  teller  in  a 
bank  of  Williston;  Herbert  Francis,  who  was  born  in  Kasota,  Minnesota,  and  is  conducting 
a  garage  in  Williston;  and  Esther  Lena,  who  was  born  at  Fort  Peck,  Montana,  and  is  tlie 
wife  of  Leo  Knboske,  also  interested  in  a  garage  in  Williston. 

The  republican  party  finds  in  Mr.  Field  a  stanch  supporter  of  its  principles,  and  both 
he  and  his  wife  are  members  of  the  Christian  church.  He  is  quite  prominent  in  fraiernq,iS 
organizations,  being  a  charter  member  of  the  Odd  Fellows  lodge  of  Williston,  which  was 
moved  there  from  Fort  Buford,  where  it  was  originally  organized.  He  is  past  noble  grand 
of  that  lodge  and  past  commander  of  the  canton  of  North  Dakota  and  past  state  commander 


154  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

of  North  Dakota.  He  has  filled  all  the  offices  in  both  the  Grand  Lodge  and  the  (jrand 
£ncampment  and  is  a  member  of  all  the  ladies'  auxiliaries  of  the  order.  He  also  belongs 
to  the  Knights  of  Pythias  lodge  of  Williston,  and  is  "a  charter  member  of  both  the  Ancient 
Order  of  United  Workmen  and  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America  at  that  place.  He  has 
always  been  found  true  to  any  trust  reposed  in  him  whether  public  or  private  and  no  man. 
in  the  community  stands  higher  in  the  esteem  of  his  fellow  citizens  than  .John  C.  Field. 


JEREMIAH  D.  BACON. 


Jeremiah  1).  Bacon,  a  capitalist  of  Grand  Forks,  whose  business  career  has  been  char- 
acterized b}'  unfaltering  enterprise  and  keen  sagacity,  was  born  in  Waverly,  Iowa,  June  34, 
1865,  a  son  of  Elijah  F.  and  Sylvia  Adelaide  (Barker)  Bacon,  the  former  a  native  of  the  state 
of  New  York  and  the  latter  of  Indiana.  With  their  respective  parents  tlioy  removed  to 
Wisconsin..  The  paternal  grandfather,  Noah  Brockway  Bacon,  lived  to  the  notable  old  age 
of  one  hundred  and  three  years  and  passed  away  m  Des  Moines,  Iowa,  in  1902,  while  his 
wife,  Mrs.  York  Bacon,  died  in  Wisconsin,  in  1888,  at  the  age  of  seventy  years.  The  maternal 
grandfather  William  Barker,  removed  from  Indiana  to  Wisconsin,  where  his  wife  passed 
away  about  1875,  and  later  he  became  a  resident  of  Waverly,  Iowa,  afterward  moving  to 
Rndd,  Iowa,  where  he  died  in  1884,  when  more  than  eighty  years  of  age.  Elijah  F.  Bacon 
became  a  prominent  business  man  of  Waverly,  where  he  carried  on  general  merchandising 
and  the  grain  business,  afterward  becoming  interested  in  banking  and  farming.  Later  in 
life  he  removed  to  Grand  Forks,  where  he  died  in  April,  1915,  at  the  age  of  eighty-four 
years.  His  widow  is  still  living  in  Grand  Forks  and  is  enjoying  excellent  healtli  at  the  age 
of  eighty.  In  their  family  were  eight  children,  of  whom  seven  are  yet  living:  William  F., 
engaged  in  the  machinery  business  at  C'ando,  North  Dakota;  F.  C.,  a  traveling  salesman  rcsiil- 
ing  at  Grand  Forks;  J.  F.,  manager  of  the  Grand  Forks  Herald;  Mrs.  J.  E.  Drake,  of  D.s 
Jloines,  who  is  now  deceased;  Mrs.  M.  H.  Allen,  of  Grand  Forks;  Mrs.  C.  L.  Van  Alstein,  of 
Grand  Forks;  Mrs.  S.  X.  Way,  of  Watertown,  South  Dakota;  and  J.  D.,  who  was  the  fifth  in 
order  of   birth. 

The  last  named  attended  school  in  Waverly,  Iowa,  and  on  leaving  the  high  school  took 
up  the  occupation  of  farming,  engaging  cjuite  extensively  in  dealing  in  horses  and  cattle, 
which  he  shipped  from  Iowa  to  North  Dakota.  In  1883  he  removed  to  Grand  Forks,  where 
he  began  buying  and  selling  horses  and  later  he  entered  the  livery  business,  at  tlie  same 
time  continuing  as  a  dealer  in  horses.  He  has  been  continuously  engaged  in  that  line  since 
1887,  and  at  Grand  Forks  erected  the  largest  livery  barn  in  the  state.  He  also  built  the 
largest  hotel.  The  Dacotah,  in  the  state  in  1897  and  still  conducts  it,  making  it,  by  reason 
of  his  careful  management  and  high  standards  of  hotel  service,  one  of  the  leading  hostelries 
of  the  northwest.  He  also  has  extensive  farming  interests  and  personally  superintends  the 
cultivation  of  a  large  tract  of  land.  He  is  a  director  in  the  Street  Railway  Company  of 
Grand  Forks  and  of  the  Northern  Packing  Company,  is  president  of  the  Times-Herald  Pub- 
lishing Company  and  a  director  of  the  Nelson  Grain  Sower  Company.  His  activities  have 
been  a  most  important  element  in  the  substantial  development  and  upbuilding  of  Grand 
F'orks  along  business  lines.  He  is  today  a  director  of  many  of  the  most  important  industries 
and  leading  corporations  not  only  of  Grand  Forks  but  of  the  entire  state.  In  the  conduct 
of  his  business  he  has  always  followed  constructive  methods,  never  building  up  his  own 
interests  at  the  sacrifice  of  the  business  of  others.  His  connections  now  cover  a  broad  scops 
and  in  the  conduct  of  his  affairs  he  has  displaj'ed  notable  foresight  and  keen  sagacity  com- 
bined with  marked  persistency  of  purpose.  He  owns  much  valuable  property  in  Cirand  Forks 
and  is  the  proprietor  of  the  Lilac  Hedge  Farm  of  Grand  Forks  county,  which  is  one  of  the 
finest  farms  in  the  state,  supplied  with  every  modern  improvement  in  the  way  of  buildings 
and  machinery.  The  fame  of  this  farm  has  been  perpetuated  by  a  local  quartette  of  sing- 
ers, one  of  whom,  Hiram  Gibbs,  a  resident  of  Grand  Forks  since  boyhood,  w-as  the  composer 
of  a  song  which  is  a  description  of  the  Lilac  Hedge  Farm  and  which  is  sung  to  the  tune 
"Where   the  River  Shannon  Flows."     It  is  as  follows: 


JEREMIAH  D.  BACOX 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  157 

"There's  a  spot  in  Xoitli  Dakota 
Where  the  English  Coulee  flows, 
Where   they   breed   the   jnire   Ked   Duroc 
And  the  sweet  alfalla  grows 
Where   the   Holsteius   roam  and   Uourish, 
And   the   liorses   keep   on   edge 
Where  the  Brundage  family  did  their  part 
To   make  the   farm  called  Lilac  Hedge. 

There's  a  S[)ot  in  North  Dakota 
Where  the  poultry  are  well  fed, 
\\"here  they  raise  the  fat  bronze  turkey 
And   the   big   Khode   Island   Ked, 
Where   the   Pekin   honk   and    wander 
Down  by  the  water's  edge, 
And  they  all   know   Roy  the   foreman, 
On  the  farm  called  Lilae  Hedge. 

There's  a  spot  in  North  Dakota, 
Where  they  raise  the  best  of  corn, 
And  they  feed  it  from  the  silo 
At   su])per,   noon   and   morn, 
Where  the  golden   wheat  and  barley 
Fill  the  granaries  to  the  ledge, 
'Tis  the  pride  of  Jerry  Bacon 
That  farm  called  Lilac  Hedge. 

So  we'll  get  up  and  holler 
For  this   ideal   farm. 
Where  they  have  a  lot  of  fruit  trees 
And  the  lilacs  add  their  charm, 
There  is  not  a  place  can  beat  it. 
And  that's  the  toast  we  pledge, 
If  you  want  to  see  a  real  farm 
Take  a  trip  to  Lilac  Hedge." 

On  December  1,  1886,  Air.  Bacon  was  married  to  Miss  Calista  Louise  Brundage  of  Rudd, 
Iowa,  a  daughter  of  G.  W.  and  ilaria  Brundage.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Bacon  have  become  parents 
of  three  children:  Myron,  who  spent  two  years  at  the  Northwestern  Military  Acadi'my 
and  later  graduated  from  the  high  school  at  Grand  Forks,  after  which  he  attended  the 
University  of  North  Dakota  for  two  years;  Keith,  who  is  attending  Northwestern  Military 
Aca<lemy;   and  Newell,  who  died  while  visiting  in  Iowa  when  three  years  of  age. 

Mr.  Bacon  is  a  prominent  Mason,  having  attained  the  thirty-second  degree  of  the 
Scottish  Rite.  He  also  belongs  to  the  Elks  lodge  of  Grand  Forks,  in  which  he  has  filled  all 
of  the  chairs,  to  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America  and  the  Ancient  Order  of  United 
Workmen.  His  political  allegiance  is  given  to  the  republican  party  and  his  ability  naturally 
renders  him  a  leader  in  political  circles  as  well  as  in  other  connections.  For  eight  years  he 
was  a  member  of  the  city  council  of  Grand  Forks,  and  for  four  years  represented  his  district 
in  the  house  of  representatives,  while  for  a  similar  period  he  was  a  member  of  the  state 
senate  and  left  the  impress  of  his  idividuality  upon  the  legislation  enacted  during  tliose 
periods.  For  twenty  consecutive  years  he  has  been  a  member  of  the  school  board  and  the 
cause  of  education  indeed  finds  in  him  a  stanch  champion.  "There  are  indeed  few  phases 
of  public  life  in  which  he  is  not  deeply  and  helpfully  interested.  He  was  chairman  of  the 
committee  for  raising  fifty  thousand  dollars  for  the  purpose  of  building  an  addition  to  the 
Young  Men's  Christian  Association  building  and  he  was  largely  instrumental  in  securing 
that  amount  within  a  few  days.  From  a  comparatively  humble  position  .Jeremiah  D.  Bacon 
has  worked  his  way  steadily  upward  to  a  place  of  marked  prominence,  being  today  regarded 
Vol.  HI— 8 


158  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

as  one  of  the  leading  and  honored  residents  of  Grand  Forks,  standing  high  in  connection 
with  the  public  life  of  the  state,  and  one  who  has  been  a  leading  factor  in  its  growth  and 
development.  On  removing  to  Grand  Forks  he  displayed  remarkable  prescience  in  perceiving 
the  Towth  and  progress  of  the  state.  He  built  what  is  known  as  the  Dacotah  Hotel,  at  that 
time  the  largest  in  the  state  and  still  considered  one  of  the  best,  remaining  the  leading 
liotel  of  Grand  Forks,  among  its  guests  having  been  some  of  the  most  notable  men  of  the 
country.  He  has  also  erected  a  number  of  the  most  prominent  buildings  of  the  city,  and 
among  the  structures  he  has  erected  in  the  last  few  years  are  the  Bacon  flats.  He  stands 
as  one  of  the  prominent  representatives  of  agiicultural  life  In  North  Dakota.  His  is  one  of 
the  model  farms  of  the  country  and  all  who  visit  that  section  of  the  state  and  are  interested 
in  farming  go  to  see  it.  He  is  not  only  the  owner  of  a  model  property  but  he  thoroughly 
understands  the  work  of  scientific  farming  in  principal  and  detail  and  is  equally  well 
acquainted  with  every  practical  phase  of  the  work.  He  has  delivered  many  public  addresses 
upon  questions  of  farming  and  with  others  traveled  in  1915  in  many  states,  speaking  upon 
the  question  of  diversified  farming,  one  of  which  lectures  was  given  at  the  capitol  building 
in  Madison,  Wisconsin.  In  his  addresses  he  never  fails  to  speak  a  good  word  for  North 
Dakota  and  its  possibilities.  In  fact  he  has  done  much  to  advertise  the  state  and  its 
natural  resources  and  climate,  and  his  words  have  been  productive  of  good  results  in  its 
upbuilding.  Mr.  Bacon  believes  that  the  bracing  air  of  North  Dakota  makes  bigger  and 
broader  men,  more  hospitable  and  better  citizens.  In  December,  1916,  it  is  his  intention  to 
be  one  of  a  party  of  about  four  hundred  North  Dakotans  to  take  a  special  train  to  Cliicago 
to  attend  the  Fat  Stock  Show  and  boost  the  state.  He  is  a  director  and  treasurer  of  the 
Elks  Building  Society  of  Grand  Forks;  also  a  director  of  the  State  and  County  Fair  Board, 
of  the  Grand  Forks  Street  Railway  Company,  the  Grand  Forks  Oratoric'  Society,  the  Nelson 
Grain  Sower  Company,  the  Patent  Cement  Concrete  Company;  and  a  stockholder  of  the 
Great  Northern  Life  Insurance  Company  and  the  Scandinavian  American  Bank.  He  enjoys 
hunting  and  kindred  sports  and  wisely  gives  to  recreation  a  sufficient  amount  of  time  that 
enables  him  to  maintain  his  best  balance  in  all  of  his  life  work.  What  he  has  accomplished 
represents  the  wise  use  of  his  native  talents  and  his  time,  showing  him  to  be  a  strong  and 
resourceful  man,  ready  to  meet  any  emergency  with  the  confidence  that  comes  from  per- 
sonal strength  and  a  correct  conception  and  acknowledgment  of  the  rights  of  others.  North 
Dakota  has  reason  to  feel  thankful  to  him  for  what  he  has  accomplished  in  making  its 
resources  and  advantages  known,  for  he  has  done  splendid  work  in  exploiting  the  state  and 
its  possibilities  and  his  labors  have  been  attended  by  most  excellent  results. 


A.  L.   OBERT. 


Business  enterprise  finds  a  substantial  representative  in  A.  L.  Obert,  a  most  successful 
lumber  dealer  of  York,  whose  well  defined  plans  are  based  upon  sound  judgment  and  whose 
prosperity  is  the  result  of  persistent  and  earnest  effort.  He  was  born  in  Pennsylvania, 
February  11,  1S57,  a  son  of  Orange  N.  and  Lois  (Robinson)  Obert,  who  were  natives  of  New 
York.  The  father  was  a  carpenter  by  trade  and  spent  his  early  life  in  the  Empire  state, 
after  which  he  removed  to  Ohio  and  later  to  Pennsylvania.  Eventually  he  established  his 
home  west  of  the  Mississippi  river,  becoming  a  resident  of  Howard  county,  Iowa,  in  1860. 
There  he  resided  throughout  his  remaining  days,  passing  away  February  14,  1891.  He  had 
survived  his  wife  for  exactly  four  years,  her  death  having  occurred  February  14,  1887. 

The  boyhood  and  youth  of  A.  L.  Obert  were  passed  at  Chester,  Iowa,  and  its  schools 
afi'orded  him  his  educational  opportunities.  He  started  out  to  earn  his  living  as  a  farm 
hand  and  was  thus  employed  for  six  years,  after  which  he  took  charge  of  his  father's  farm, 
which  he  cultivated  for  nine  years.  Upon  the  death  of  his  parents  he  purchased  the  interests 
of  the  other  heirs  in  the  property  and  rented  it  for  several  years  but  ultimately  sold. 

It  was  in  1891  that  Mr.  Obert  arrived  in  North  Dakota,  making  his  way  to  Traill 
county,  where  he  operated  an  elevator  for  the  St.  Anthony  &  Dakota  Grain  Company  for 
two  years.  He  next  removed  to  York  to  become  manager  for  the  same  com])any  of  the 
elevator   at   that   point,  having   charge   from    1893   until   1899.      As   a   side   line  he   put   in   a 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  159 

lumberyard  in  1893  and  has  since  been  active  in  connection  with  tlie  lumber  trade,  con- 
stantly broadening  his  efforts  in  that  direction.  He  purchased  a  second  lumberyard  and  is 
today  the  only  lumber  dealer  of  the  town,  having  a  business  of  extensive  and  gratifying 
proportions.  He  has  also  made  judicious  investment  in  real  estate  and  is  the  owner  of 
fourteen  quarter  sections  of  land,  while  his  wife  owns  three  quarter  sections,  making  their 
total  holdings  thirteen  hundjed  and  sixty  acres. 

-  In  .January,  l'J13,  Mr.  Obert  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Agnes  W.  Cochrane,  a 
daughter  of  Willliam  Cochrane,  whose  birth  occurred  in  Leith,  Scotland.  His  early  life  was 
devoted  to  farming.  In  ISOO  he  came  to  the  United  States  and  in  1869  removed  to  Iowa, 
settling  at  Dysart,  Tama  county,  where  he  became  a  warm  personal  friend  of  Jim  Wilson. 
He  purchased  land  a  mile  from  Dysart  at  five  dollars  per  acre  and  there  engaged  in  farming 
for  a  considerable  period.  In  1881  he  removed  to  Clarion,  Wright  county,  and  purchased 
land  at  ten  dollars  per  acre.  In  April,  1885,  he  became  a  resident  of  Antelope  county, 
Xebraska.  where  he  took  up  a  homestead,  which  he  cultivated  and  improved  for  a  consider- 
able period.  He  next  turned  his  attention  to  merchandising  opening  a  general  store  at 
Orchard,  Xebra.ska,  where  he  remained  for  twenty  years.  On  the  27th  of  May,  1871,  he  was 
united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Marion  M.  Cleland,  a  native  of  Edwards,  New  York,  and  she 
passed  away  in  Orchard,  Nebraska,  May  18,  1894,  at  the  age  of  fifty-four  years.  In  1901 
Jlr.  Cochrane  removed  to  York,  North  Dakota,  after  which  he  made  his  home  with  his 
children  throughout  his  remaining  days,  his  death  occurring  February  27,  1906,  at  the  age 
of  sixty-nine  years. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Obert  are  Presbyterians  in  religious  faith  and  fraternally  he  is  connected 
with  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows.  His  political  opinions  accord  with  the  prin- 
ciples of  the  republican  party  and  he  keeps  thoroughly  informed  concerning  the  questions 
and  issues  of  the  day.  His  interest,  however,  chielly  centers  in  his  growing  business  affairs 
and  the  extent  and  importance  of  his  business  connections  make  him  one  of  the  representative 
and  substantial  citizens  of  Benson  county. 


J.  W.  \^aDUIFIELD. 

Diligence  and  determination,  salient  points  in  the  business  career  of  J.  W.  Widdifield, 
brought  him  in  time  to  rank  among  those  extensively  and  successfully  engaged  in  farming 
in  Barnes  county.  To  the  original  claims  which  he  entered  from  the  government  he  added 
until  his  landed  possessions  comprised  nearly  one  thousand  acres  and  he  still  gives  his 
thought,  time  and  energies  to  agricultural  pursuits.  He  was  born  in  York,  Ontario,  Canada, 
.January  16,  1851,  a  son  of  Obed  and  Emeline  (Hambleton)  Widdifield,  the  former  a  native 
of  the  state  of  New  Y'ork  and  the  latter  of  U.xbridge,  Ontario.  The  paternal  giandfather, 
William  Widdifield,  was  born  in  Pennsylvania  and  the  maternal  grandfather,  John  Hambleton, 
was  a  native  of  New  York,  his  family  being  the  importers  and  breeders  of  the  famous 
Hambletoiiian  trotting  stock.  Both  grandfathers  of  J.  W.  Widdifield  removed  to  Ontario, 
Canada,  a  large  number  emigrating  from  the  States  about  that  time.  Both  engaged  in 
farming  and  both  reached  an  advanced  age,  Mr.  Widdifield  being  eighty-eight  years  of  age 
at  the  time  of  his  demise.  The  family  was  noted  for  longevity,  one  of  his  brothers  reaching 
the  extreme  old  age  of  ninety-nine  years  and  nine  months,  while  another  lived  to  be  ninety- 
seven  and  a  sister  ninety-si.x.  A  member  of  this  family  was  the  distinguished  Dr.  Widdifield, 
who  represented  North  York  in  the  Ontario  provincial  legislature  and  was  sheriff  of  York 
county  until  his  death.  Olx'd  Widdifield  devoted  his  active  life  to  farming  and  is  now  livin"- 
retired  at  the  age  of  eighty-eight,  enjoying  good  health. 

His  .son,  .1.  W.  Widdifield.  the  eldest  in  a  family  of  four  sons  and  two  daughters,  spent 
his  boyhood  days  vipon  the  old  home  farm,  dividing  his  time  between  the  work  of  the  fields 
and  attendance  at  the  public  school  near  his  father's  home  in  York  county,  Ontario.  When 
twenty-two  years  of  age  he  began  farming  on  his  own  account  and  so  continued  until  1891. 
His  father  was  a  carpenter  and  J.  W.  Widdifield  learned  the  trade  with  him.  both  combining 
carpentering  and  farming  as  their  life  work.  In  the  year  mentioned  J.  W.  Widdifield  left 
Canada  and  made  his  way  to  Leal,  North  Dakota.     He  homesteaded  a  quarter  section  and 


160  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

also  purchased  a  tree  claim  right  and  from  time  to  time  as  his  financial  resources  increased 
he  added  to  his  possessions  until  he  was  the  owner  of  nearly  one  thousand  acres  of  land.  He 
engaged  in  general  agricultural  pmsuits  and  also  to  some  extent  in  cattle  raising.  While 
he  is  not  actively  engaged  in  farming  he  still  gives  personal  supervision  to  his  interests, 
deriving  a  substantial  income  from  his  land. 

In  1S79  Mr.  Widdifield  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  E.  C.  Hilborn,  who  was  born  at 
Oxbridge,  Ontario,  February  28,  1855,  and  departed  this  life  December  6,  1914.  Scarcely 
has  a  death  in  this  part  of  the  state  occasioned  deeper  or  more  widespread  i egret.  Jlrs. 
Widdifield  had  always  taken  a  most  active  and  helpful  interest  in  church  work  and  other 
agencies  for  the  moral  uplift  and  benefit  of  humanity.  She  was  evangelistic  superintendent 
of  the  Woman's  Christian  Temperance  Union  for  the  state  for  a  number  of  years  and  was 
holding  that  office  at  the  time  of  her  death.  While  she  belonged  to  the  Friends'  church  she 
did  not  hold,  herself  aloof  from  other  denominations  but  worked  in  perfect  accord  and 
sympathy  with  all  who  were  seeking  to  benefit  mankind.  Hers  was  a  most  noble  Christian 
character,  her  influence  being  ever  a  potent  force  for  good,  while  she  shed  around  her  much 
of  tlie  sunshine  of  life.  Many  who  knew  her  spoke  of  her  as  one  of  the  most  beautiful 
characters  they  had  ever  known.  Kindly  in  spirit,  generous  in  her  acts,  ever  ready  to 
extend  a  helping  hand  or  speak  a  word  of  encouragement,  she  was  indeed  dear  to  the 
hearts  of  young  and  old,  rich  and  poor,  in  the  community  in  which  she  lived.  "Not  from 
great  deeds  do  the  blessings  of  life  chiefly  come,  but  from  the  little  ministries  which  fill 
the  long  years,"  and  day  after  day  she  spoke  an  encouraging  or  inspiring  word  or  did  good 
deeds  that  called  forth  the  best  in  others.  She  cultivated  good  because  she  believed  that 
the  divine  spark  was  in  every  individual,  and  the  memory  of  her  beautiful  life  and  giacious 
presence  yet  remains  as  a  blessed  benediction  to  all  who  knew  her.  In  relation  to  her  one 
might  well  quote  the  lines  of  James  Whitcomli  Riley  witli  slight  change: 

"I  cannot  say  and  I  will  not  say 
That  she  is  dead — she  has  passed  away! 
With  a  cheery  smile  and  a  wave  of  the  hand 
She  has  wandered  into  another  land 
And  left  ns  dreaming  how  very  fair 
It  needs  must  be  since  she  lingers  there." 

In  all  of  her  good  work  for  the  church  and  for  the  temperance  cause  Mrs.  Widdifield 
found  an  able  assistant  in  her  husband,  whose  deep  interest  in  matters  of  public  concern  is 
actuated  by  high  ideals  of  citizenship.  For  the  past  eleven  years  he  has  been  superintendent 
of  the  temperance  department  of  the  State  Sunday  School  Association  and  has  always  taken 
an  active  part  in  church  and  Sunday  School  work,  while  his  sterling  traits  of  character 
find  recognition  in  the  high  regard  which  is  entertained  for  him  by  all  who  know  him. 


JAMES  ALFRED  HOWELL  WINSLOE,  D.  V.  S. 

Dr.  James  Alfred  Howell  Winsloe,  engaged  in  the  practice  of  veterinary  surgery  at 
Cooperstown,  was  born  in  Liverpool,  England,  .June  22,  1874,  a  son  of  .lames  Arnold  and 
Rebecca  (Howell),  Winsloe.  Among  the  ancestors  of  the  family  in  England  were  several 
who  became  prominent  representatives  of  the  British  navy  including  Sir  Alfred  A\'insloe, 
now  rear  admiral  in  the  British  navy,  his  father  having  been  the  eldest  brother  of  James 
Arnold  Winsloe.  The  last  named  came  to  the  United  States  in  1879  and  purchased  land 
in  Jlar^iand  but  afterward  removed  to  Illinois  and  in  1881  became  a  resident  of  Xorth 
Dakota.  For  a  time  he  was  employed  in  a  bank  at  Buffalo,  this  state,  and  subsequently 
founded  the  American  Exchange  State  Bank  of  Buffalo,  which  he  conducted  for  a  few 
years.  He  afterward  went  to  Ocean  Springs,  Mississippi,  where  he  superintended  a  large 
poultry  ranch,  but  ultimately  he  returned  to  Maryland,  his  home  being  now  at  Pasadena, 
fourteen  miles  from  Baltimore. 

Dr.  W'insloe,  the  eldest  of  a  familj-  of  four  children,  began  his  education  in  liis  native 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  161 

city  anil  ((iiitiiiuril  liis  studies  in  London.  Knjjiand,  New  York  city.  New  Haven,  Illinois,  and 
Hiiiralo,  Xoitli  Dakota,  as  the  family  lemoved  from  point  to  point.  Eventually  he  entered 
the  Ontario  Veterinary  College  at  Toronto.  Canada,  and  was  there  graduated  on  the  20tli 
of  March,  1897.  After  investigating  various  places  in  search  of  a  favorable  location  he 
decided  upon  Cooperstown,  where  he  has  since  successfully  practiced.  He  has  fine  barns, 
furnishing  ample  accommodation  for  professional  care  and  treatment,  and  he  keeps  in  close 
touch  with  the  latest  discoveries  of  the  profession  and  the  latest  appliances  having  to  do 
with  horse  surger}',  while  his  hosjiital  is  supplied  with  operating  tables  and  every  equipment 
to  facilitate  his  work.  In  1911  he  extended  the  scope  of  his  business  to  include  the  raising 
of  Shetland  ponies,  of  which  he  now  has  a  large  number  of  imported  stock  with  Billy  Puck, 
weight  three  hundred  pounds,  as  leader.  The  ponies  number  altogether  thirty-seven  at  the 
present  time.  Tliese  are  to  bo  found  on  his  farm  of  twenty-five  acres  adjoining  Cooperstown 
on  the  southwest. 

Dr.  Winsloe  was  married  on  the  23d  of  JIa}',  1900,  to  iliss  Anna  Donesla,  who  was 
born  in  Austria,  and  they  have  two  children,  Edith  and  Olive  both  in  school.  Fraternally 
the  Doctor  is  connected  with  the  Masonic  lodge,  the  Elks  and  the  Knights  of  Pythias.  He 
has  ever  taken  an  interest  in  the  Griggs  County  Fair,  of  which  he  has  been  secretary  for 
several  years,  and  he  has  done  much  to  further  its  interests.  He  holds  membership  in  the 
Xorth  Dakota  and  American  Veterinary  Associations  and  ranks  among  the  most  pro- 
gressive and  successful  members  of  his  profession  in  the  state. 


WILSON  L.  RICHARDS. 


Wilson  L.  Richards,  of  Dickinson,  actively  connected  with  banking  and  ranching  interests 
in  Stark  county,  is  a  native  of  Alabama.  He  was  born  in  1862,  a  son  of  Thomas  S.  and 
Mary  .J.  (Lawson)  Richards.  The  father,  a  native  of  Georgia,  followed  various  business 
pursuits,  becoming  at  different  times  a  merchant,  stockman  and  hotel  proprietor.  His  wife 
was  a  native  of  Mississippi.  In  1867  they  removed  to  Texas,  where  the  father  spent  his 
remaining  days,  his  death  occurring  Marcli  14,  1915.  His  widow  survives  and  is  yet  a 
resident   of   Texas. 

\Vilson  L.  Richards  remained  at  home  until  he  attained  his  majority  and  for  a  short 
time  was  employed  as  a  cow  puncher  in  Texas.  In  1885  he  came  with  a  herd  of  steers 
from  Texas  to  North  Dakota  a  distance  of  fourteen  hundred  miles,  the  journey  consuming 
a  long  period.  He  settled  near  the  Little  Missouri  river  about  seventy-five  miles  from 
Dickinson  and  remained  on  this  McKenzie  county  ranch  for  four  years.  In  1889  he 
assumed  the  management  of  a  ranch  belonging  to  W.  L.  Crosby,  of  La  Crosse,  Wisconsin, 
and  acted  in  that  capacity  until  1897.  During  that  period  he  also  engaged  in  raising  cattle 
indejiendently  and  in  the  year  mentioned  he  purchased  the  old  Crosby  ranch,  which  is 
still  in  his  possession.  The  same  year  he  took  up  his  abode  in  Dickinson  and  has  since 
made  that  city  his  home.  In  1898,  however,  he  went  to  Alaska  in  the  hope  of  making 
profitable  investments  but  his  efforts  there  terminated  in  failure.  The  same  year  he 
returned  to  Dickinson  and  again  became  actively  engaged  in  the  live  stock  business,  in 
which  field  his  efforts  were  crowned  with  well  merited  success.  In  1900  he  organized  the 
Dakota  State  Bank,  which  was  later  converted  into  the  Dakota  National  Bank.  In  1908 
he  sold  his  interest  in  that  institution  and  iK'came  a  stockholder  in  the  Merchants  National 
Bank  of  Dickinson,  of  which  he  was  elected  president  in  1910,  since  which  time  he  has 
been  the  chief  executive  officer  and  directing  head.  He  is  still  largely  interested  in  stock 
raising,  having  about  five  thousand  head  of  cattle  among  which  are  two  herds  of  two 
hundred  and  fifty  heads  eSch,  all  registered  full  blooded  stock.  His  landed  possessions 
embrace  sixty-five  hundred  acres  in  Texas  and  twelve  thousand  six  himdred  acres  in  North 
Dakota,  so  that  he  is  one  of  the  largest  landowners  of  this  state.  He  has  also  broadened 
the  scope  of  his  activities  in  the  field  of  banking,  being  interested  in  six  banks  and  president 
of  three. 

In  189,3  Mr.  Richards  was  united  in   marriage  to  Miss  Mabel  Smith,  a  native  of  New 


162  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

York  who  came  to  North  Dakota  in  1884  with  her  parents,  JIi'.  and  Mrs.  Fayette  Smith. 
Mr.  and  Mrs.  Richards  have  three  children,  Wilson  C,  Thomas  F.  and  Dorothy. 

Ml".  Richards  is  familiar  with  every  phase  of  pioneer  life  in  North  Dakota.  He  has 
spent  twenty-five  j'ears  in  the  saddle  in  Texas  and  North  Dakota,  taking  part  in  all  of 
the  rounduj>s  covering  the  entire  country  west  of  the  Missouri.  He  has  seen  the  changes 
which  have  resulted  in  the  development  of  a  gi'eat  commonwealth  here  since  the  days  when 
he  rode  the  open  range  and  herded  his  cattle  upon  the  wild  prairies.  The  Diamond  C  ranch, 
which  is -the  old  Crosby  ranch  now  belonging  to  Mr.  Richards,  was  the.  battle  gi-ound  of 
General  Sully,  whose  two  thousand  troops  met  six  hundred  Sioux  Indians  shortly  after 
the  New  Ulm  massacre.  This  is  the  last  of  the  old-time  ranches  that  is  kept  up.  Probably 
no  man  in  North  Dakota  has  put  more  money  into  circulation  than  has  Mr.  Richards 
through  his  extensive  and  varied  investments.  At  one  time  he  was  an  equal  partner  in 
the  purchase  of  thirty-seven  thousand  acres  of  railroad  land  in  North  Dakota.  His  efforts 
have  always  been  an  element  of  public  prosperity  as  well  as  of  Individual  success  and  his 
effective  labors  have  made  him  one  of  the  most  valued  and  representative  citizens  of  the 
state.  Mr.  Richards  is  a  well  known  Mason,  belonging  to  the  lodge,  chapter,  commandery 
and  Eastern  Star  in  Dickinson  and  to  El  Zagal  Tem])le  of  the  Mystic  Shrine  in  Fargo. 
He  is  a  representative  of  the  Grand  Commandery  of  Texas  to  the  Grand  Commandery  of 
North  Dakota  and  he  has  passed  through  all  of  the  chairs  of  the  lodge,  chapter  and  com- 
mandery. Hale  and  hearty  at  the  age  of  fifty-four  years,  lie  seems  hardly  yet  beyond  the 
zenith  of  his  powers.  Ability,  energy  and  ambition  have  carried  him  forward  and  the 
utilization  of  opportunities  has  followed  his  ready  recognition  of  the  chances  presented. 


WILLIAM  F.  JOHNSON. 


William  F.  .Johnson,  a  druggist  of  Bremen,  was  born  in  Waseca,  Minnesota,  in  1873  and 
is  the  eldest  of  the  three  children  of  James  and  Eliza  (.James)  Johnson.  The  father  was 
a  pioneer  resident  of  Waseca  and  in  that  localitj-  engaged  in  general  farming  and  stock 
raising.  His  wife  also  belonged  to  one  of  the  pioneer  families  of  Minnesota  and  both  are 
now  deceased  but  their  children  are  all  living. 

William  F.  Johnson  largely  acquired  his  education  in  the  schools  of  Mapleton,  Min- 
nesota. His  father  died  when  the  son  was  in  his  fifth  year,  and  the  mother  when  he  w-as 
a  lad  of  fourteen,  so  that  he  was  early  left  an  orphan.  He  afterward  became  a  member 
of  a  theatrical  company  and  subsequently  engaged  in  the  amusement  business  independently, 
devoting  a  period  of  thirteen  years  to  the  conduct  of  a  dramatic  company.  He  then  turned 
his  attention  to  the  drug  business  at  Eden  Valley,  North  Dakota,  where  he  thoroughly 
acquainted  himself  with  the  trade,  spending  four  years  at  that  place.  Later  he  removed 
to  New  Rockford,  North  Dakota,  where  he  was  employed  as  a  drug  clerk  for  a  period  of 
four  years,  and  in  1910  he  became  a  resident  of  Bremen,  where  lie  now  makes  his  home. 
He  erected  his  present  store,  which  was  the  first  store  in  Bremen,  and  stocked  it  with 
general  merchandise  and  drugs.  The  venture  has  proven  successful  and  he  is  now  enjoying 
an  excellent  trade,  carrying  a  very  complete  line  of  general  merchandise,  drugs  and  con- 
fectionery. He  was  also  appointed  postmaster  on  the  27th  of  May,  1910,  and  has  since 
occupied  that  position  and  he  is  the  owner  of  Wisconsin  farm  lands.  He  is  likewise  a 
stockholder  in  the  Mother  Lode  Copper  Jline  of  Alaska  and  in  the  National  Briquetting 
Company  of  Kenmare,  North  Dakota.  In  his  investments  he  shows  keen  sagacity  and  sound 
business  judgment  and  his  energy  and  enterprise  have  carried  him  into  important  business 
connections  which  are  now  bringing  to  him  a  'substantial  reward  for  his  intelligently 
directed  labor. 

In  1908  Mr.  Johnson  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Sarah  E.  Weeks,  who  was  born 
in  Floyd  county,  Virginia,  in  1890,  a  daughter  of  Mont  and  Sarah  Weeks,  who  were  old- 
time  residents  of  Floyd.  The  father  is  now  deceased,  while  the  mother  makes  her  home 
at  New  Rockford,  North  Dakota.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Johnson  have  become  the  parents  of  twn 
children:  Ralph,  who  was  born  June  26,  1909,  and  died  .January  31,  1910;  and  Jlarlyss, 
born    August    5,    1912. 


WILLIAM  F.  JOHNSON 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  165 

Mr.  .Iiilinsiiii  exercises  his  right  of  fraiiohise  in  support  of  the  men  and  measures  of  the 
republican  l)arty  and  is  a  lirm  believer  in  the  eliicacy  of  its  principles  as  factors  in  good 
j.'uverliment.  llis  religious  faith  is  that  of  the  Methodist  church  and  he  is  interested 
in  all  those  forces  which  are  working  for  the  betterment  of  the  individual  and  of  the 
community,  giving  active  aid  and  cooperation  to  all  well  devised  plans  for  the  improvement 
and  upbuilding  of  the  district  in  which  he  resides. 


GEORGE  D.  RICHARDS. 


George  D.  Richards,  cashier  of  the  Kirst  State  Bank  of  Crystal  Springs,  was  hoin  at 
Langford,  South  Dakota,  November  17,  1893.  His  parents,  Clarence  and  Jennie  (Davison) 
Richards,  are  natives  of  Pepin,  Wisconsin,  and  of  Reeds  Landing,  Minnesota,  respectively. 
(In  removing  to  South  Dakota  at  an  early  period  in  its  development  they  settled  near  Lang- 
ford  where  they  still  make  their  home,  and  the  father  is  there  engaged  in  business  as  a 
lumber  dealer. 

George  D.  Richards  was  educated  in  the  sdiools  of  Langford,  passing  through  consecu- 
tive grades  to  his  graduation  from  the  high  school,  after  which  he  engaged  in  teaching  for 
six  months.  Later  he  went  to  Pierpont,  where  he  was  employed  by  the  Dakota  Lumber 
Company  for  five  months,  when  he  entered  the  Minnesota  School  of  Business  at  Minneapolis, 
in  which  he  pursued  a  commercial  course.  On  the  completion  of  his  studies  he  secured  the 
position  of  bookkeeper  in  the  First  National  Bank  of  Steele  and  there  remained  until 
October  14,  1914,  when  he  was  transferred  to  Crystal  Springs  as  cashier  of  the  First  State 
Bank,  of  which  he  is  a  stockholder  and  director.  He  has  also  made  investment  in  farm  lands 
in  Kidder  county  and  is  a  stockholder  and  the  secretary  of  the  Crystal  Springs  Farmers 
Elevator  Company. 

On  the  20tli  of  July,  1916,  Mr.  Richards  was  married  to  Miss  Hazel  Pool,  a  native  of 
Minnesota,  who  for  eight  jears  prior  to  her  marriage  was  a  resident  of  Steele,  North  Dakota. 
Politically  Mr.  Richards  is  a  republican  and  fratornallj'  is  connected  with  the  Masonic  lodge 
at  Steele.  Interested  in  the  welfare  of  his  community,  he  does  everything  in  his  power  to 
advance  its  upbuilding  and  has  served  as  school  treasurer  and  town  treasurer.  The  greater 
|)art  of  his  attention,  however,  is  given  to  his  banking  interests  and  in  this  connection  he  is 
associated  with  Dr.  T.  S.  Pryse,  who  is  president  of  the  bank,  and  F'.  I.  Kaufmann,  who  is 
vice  president. 


HERBERT  B.  GRAY. 


Among  the  men  promincntl}-  identilicd  witli  financial  interests  in  Towner  County  is 
numbered  Herbert  B.  Gray,  who  is  now  serving  as  cashier  of  the  new  organized  Rock  Lake 
State  Bank  at  Rock  Lake,  North  Dakota.  He  was  born  in  Chester  county,  Pennsylvania, 
December  12,  1879,  a  son  of  Edward  B.  and  Rachel  A.  (John)  Gray,  who  were  also  natives  of 
the  Keystone  state  and  representatives  of  honored  old  Pennsylvania  families.  For  many  years 
the  father  was  engaged  in  the  coal  and  feed  business  at  Whitford,  Chester  County,  and  at 
the  same  time  served  as  postmaster  and  ticket  agent  for  the  Pennsylvania  Railroad  at  tliat 
place.     He  passed  away  in  the  spring  of  1913,  and  the  mother  died  the  following  fall. 

Ilorliert  B.  Gray  obtained  his  early  education  in  the  district  schools  near  his  boyhooil 
home  and  this  was  supplemented  by  a  course  at  Westchester  high  school,  from  which 
he  was  graduated  in  the  class  of  1899.  In  September  of  the  same  year  he  came  west  and 
located  at  Linton,  Emmons  county.  North  Dakota,  where  he  taught  school  that  fall.  In 
the  following  spring  he  accepted  a  position  in  the  ofUce  of  the  register  of  deeds,  but  in 
April,  1900,  went  to  Bismarck,  where  he  obtained  liis  first  experience  in  the  banking  business 
as  an  employe  in  the  First  National  Bank  under  the  preceptorsliip  of  Pye  &  Little,  two  of  the 
ablest  bankers  of  the  west.  This  firm  also  o])erated  branch  banks  and  lumberyards  at 
(lillerent   points  throughout  the  state   and  after  about  a  year  spent  in  the  First  National 


166  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

Bank  at  Bismarck  they  appointed  Mr.  (Jray  as  local  agent  for  their  lumberyard  at  that 
place.  Occasionally  he  also  served  as  relief  man  for  their  branch  banks  and  lumberjards 
and  he  remained  with  them  until  1904.  The  following  year  he  was  in  the  employ  of  the 
Mandan  Mercantile  Company  as  bookkeeper  at  Mannhaven,  Mercer  count}',  North  Dakota^ 
but  on  the  founding  of  tlie  town  of  Rock  Lake  in  1905  lie  removed  to  tiiat  place  and  became 
local  manager  of  the  lumberyard  of  the  John  D.  Grulier  Company,  serving  in  that  capacity 
up  to  the  fall  of  I'OOS,  when  he  was  otl'ered  and  accepted  the  cashiership  of  the  Farmers  State 
Bank  of  Eock  Lake.  In  1911  that  bank  absorbed  the  First  National  Bank  and  on  their 
consolidation  under  that  name  of  the  First  National  Bank  Mr.  Gray  continued  as  cashier  up 
to  the  1st  of  May,  1916,  when  he  resigned  that  position  to  accept  the  cashiership  of  the 
newly  organized  Eock  Lake  State  Bank,  the  officers  of  which  are  all  local  business  men  of 
known  reliability.  Iowa  capital  has  been  invested  in  the  enterprise  and  the  capital 
stock  is  twenty  thousand  dollars.  Since  the  opening  of  the  bank  for  business  on  the  1st  of 
July,  1916,  the  deposits  have  reached  forty  thousand  dollars  in  three  months,  and  loans 
and  discounts  amount  to  thirty-five  thousand  dollars. 

In  February,  1910,  Mr.  Gray  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Stella  M.  Balfour,  of  Hannah, 
North  Dakota,  and  to  them  have  been  born  two  children,  Catherine  Elizabeth  and  .James 
Edward.  Fraternally  Mr.  Gray  is  a  member  of  the  Devils  Lake  Lodge,  No.  1216,  B.  P.  0.  E.; 
and  Eock  Lake  Lodge,  No.  145,  I.  0.  O.  F. ;  and  politically  he  is  identified  with  the  republican 
party.  For  several  years  he  has  served  as  treasurer  of  the  special  school  district  of  Eock 
Lake  and  he  is  also  filling  the  position  of  treasurer  of  the  village.  He  is  one  of  the  well 
known  bankers  of  the  northern  part  of  the  state  and  occupies  an  enviable  position  in 
business  circles  as  a  man  of  unquestioned  integrity,  sound  judgment  and  good  executive 
ability. 


WILLIAM  A.  VENNUM. 


William  A.  Vennum,  a  farmer  living  on  section  1,  Grand  Vallej'  township,  Dickey 
county,  has  been  identified  with  tliat  county  from  carlj^  pioneer  times  and  has  contributed 
much  to  its  development,  especially  along  agricultural  lines.  He  was  born  in  Whiteside 
county,  Illinois,  October  25,  1844,  a  son  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Thomas  Venniim,  who  died  during 
the  smallpox  scourge  that  swept  over  the  country  in  1847.  Their  son,  William  A.,  was  then 
reared  in  the  home  of  Moses  A.  Green.  At  an  early  age  he  began  working  as  a  farm  hand 
for  others,  but  before  a  year  had  passed  the  Civil  war  was  inaugurated  and,  prompted  by 
a  spirit  of  loyalty  and  patriotism,  Mr.  Vennum  responded  to  the  country's  call  for  aid,^ 
enlisting  in  August,  1861,  as  a  member  of  Company  C,  Sixty-fifth  Illinois  Volunteer  Infantry,. 
with  which  regiment  he  continued  until  the  close  of  hostilities.  He  was  mustered  out  of 
service  in  July,  1865,  with  a  most  creditable  military  record,  having  participated  in  a 
number  of  hotly  contested  engagements. 

After  being  honorably  discharged  Mr.  Vennum  returned  to  Illinois  and  for  four  or  five 
years  continued  to  work  as  a  farm  hand,  after  which  he  began  farming  for  himself  on 
rented  land.  On  January  28,  1874,  he  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Jane  Green,  of 
Carroll  county,  Illinois,  and  later  they  removed  westward  to  North  Dakota,  casting  in  their 
lot  with  the  pioneer  settlers  of  Dickey  county,  where  they  arrived  on  the  Ttli  of  April, 
1882.  Immediately  afterward  Mr.  Vennum  took  up  a  preemption  of  one  hundred  and 
sixty  acres  and  in  the  summer  of  1883  secured  a  homestead  claim,  while  a  few  years 
later  he  bought  a  relinquishment  on  a  tree  claim.  He  has  made  some  changes  in  his. 
land  holdings  during  the  intervening  years  but  still  owns  three  quarter  sections  and  is  one 
of  the  substantial  farmers  and  sterling  citizens  of  Dickey  county.  His  entire  life  has  been 
devoted  to  agricultural  pursuits  and  he  has  won  through  earnest,  honest  labor  a  substantial 
measure  of  success. 

To  Mr.  and  Mrs.  \'cnnum  have  been  born  a  son  and  six  daughters:  Martin,  at  home; 
Delia,  the  wife  of  Carl  Woodard,  of  Forbes,  North  Dakota;  Celia,  the  wife  of  Bert  Hilton, 
a  fruit  grower  of  California;  Maud,  the  deceased  wife  of  Ethan  O.  Gordon;  Ada  S.,  the  wife  of 
Fred  J.  Tomlin,  a  resident  of  Illinois;  and  Ida  and  Laura,  both  at  home.     The  two  youngest 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  167 

daughters  arc  firaduati's  of  tlic  Kmtli  Dukuta  State  Xoriiuil  ami  liiilustrial  Scliool  of  Ellfiiilale 
and  are   now   capable  and   successful   teachers. 

In  politics  Mr.  N'ennum  is  a  democrat  and  has  served  as  townsliip  assessor  l)ut  iias 
never  been  a  seeker  for  political  ollice.  For  many  years  he  lias  been  a  member  of  tlie  school 
board  and  the  cause  of  public  education  receives  his  strong  endorsement  and  earnest  support. 
In  fact  he  stands  for  all  those  measures  which  tend  to  promote  the  substantial  devi'lopnicnt  of 
his  community,  and  in  days  of  peace  he  is  as  loyal  to  his  country  as  when  he  followed  the 
stars  and  stripes  on  the  battlefields  of  the  south. 


HERMAN  J.  BERGETH. 

lI'Minan  J.  Bcrgctli,  assistant  cashier  of  the  Farmers  Bank  of  Newbury,  North  Dakota, 
is  a  native  of  this  state,  his  birth  occurring  in  Penn,  Ramsey  county,  on  the  15th  of  June, 
1890,  and  is  a  son  of  John  and  Nellie  (Stoe)  Bergeth,  both  natives  of  Norway.  On  coming 
to  America  about  1878  the  father  located  in  Minnesota,  where  he  took  up  a  preemption  and 
engaged  in  farming  until  1883,  when  he  removed  to  Ramsey  county.  North  Dakota.  There  lie 
secured  a  homestead,  which  he  has  improved  with  good  and  substantial  buildings  and  which 
he  has  since  operated.     His  wife  is  also  living. 

On  the  home  farm  in  Ramsey  county,  Herman  J.  Bergeth  grew  to  manhood,  attcniling 
first  the  district  schools  and  later  the  high  school  at  Penn  and  a  business  college  at  Grand 
Forks.  He  was  thus  well  fitted  for  life's  practical  duties  and  accepted  the  position  of  assistant 
cashier  of  the  Farmers  Bank  of  Newburg,  Bottineau  county,  in  which  capacity  he  is  now 
serving.  The  bank  has  a  capital  of  ten  thousand  dollars  and  its  deposits  amount  to  forty- 
five  thousand  dollars.  Its  officers  are  J.  L.  Page,  of  Westhope,  president;  Martin  Teigen, 
vice  president;  and  John  T.  Page,  cashier.  Mr.  Bergeth  is  a  Lutheran  in  religious  faith,  and 
in  politics  he  is  a  prohibitionist,  believing  the  liquor  traffic  to  be  one  of  the  most  important 
issues  before  the  people.  He  is  one  of  the  sterling  young  men  of  the  community  and  has 
a  host  of  warm  friends. 


OSCAR  T.  PETERSON,  M.  D. 

Dr.  Oscar  T.  Peterson,  physician  and  surgeon  of  Northwood,  was  born  at  Sassja,  Sweden, 
March  20,  1866.  His  parents,  August  and  Clara  Peterson,  also  natives  of  that  country, 
brought  their  family  to  America  in  1868,  settling  in  Sibley  county,  Minnesota,  when  it  was 
a  pioneer  district.  The  tract  of  land  upon  which  they  first  located  is  now  in  the  town  site 
of  Gibbon.  There  for  many  years  the  father  successfully  engaged  in  farming  and  in  1010 
was  called  to  his  final  rest  at  the  age  of  seventy-eight  years.  His  Avidow  still  survives  and 
yet   occupies   the   old  homestead   pro|>erty   at   Gibbon. 

In  a  family  of  eight  children  Dr.  Peterson  was  the  third.  After  mastering  the  branches 
of  learning  taught  in  the  public  schools  of  Gibbon  he  continued  his  education  in  the  Gustavus 
Adolphus  College  at  St.  Peter,  Minnesota.  His  early  life  to  the  age  of  twenty-six  years 
was  spent  upon  the  home  farm,  after  which  he  entered  what  is  now  the  medical  department 
of  the  State  University  of  Illinois  and  was  graduated  therefrom  with  the  class  of  189.5.  He 
afterward  spent  six  months  as  interne  in  the  Bethesda  Hospital  at  St.  Paul,  Minnesota,  and 
on  the  expiration  of  that  period  entered  upon  the  private  practice  of  his  profession  in 
Northwood  on  the  2d  of  November.  1895.  There  he  remained  for  three  and  one-half  years, 
after  which  he  went  abroad  for  post  graduate  study  and  work  in  Berlin,  where  he  continued 
for  three  and  one-half  years,  receiving  instruction  from  some  of  the  most  eminent  physicians 
and  surgeons  of  the  old  world.  On  the  1st  of  October,  1902,  he  again  opened  an  oflRce  in 
Northwood.  where  he  has  since  continuously  and  successfully  engaged  in  the  general  practice 
of  medicine  and  surgery.  His  ability  in  that  connection  is  pronounced,  being  based  upon  a 
coniprohensivc  knowledge  of  the  most  scientific  principles,  and  his  judgment  is  seldom,  if 
ever,  at  fault  in  the  diagnosis  of  a  ease.     His  use  of  remedial  agencies  brings  desired  results 


168  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

and  his  practice  is  now  extensive  and  important.  For  a  number  of  j'ears  he  has  served  as 
}iealth  officer  at  Nortliwood. 

On  the  37th  of  June,  1907,  Dr.  Peterson  was  married  to  Mi.ss  Odina  Haraldson,  a  native 
of  Iowa  whose  parents  located  tliere  in  pioneer  times.  The  father  is  now  deceased,  but  the 
mother  is  yet  living.  Dr.  and  Mrs.  Peterson  have  become  parents  of  two  daughters:  Ethel, 
who  was  born  in  Northwood,  March  24,  1911;  and  Solveg,  born  December  21,  1915. 

Dr.  Peterson  follows  an  independent  political  course,  voting  according  to  the  exigencies 
of  the  case  and  the  capability  of  the  candidates.  He  belongs  to  the  Lutheran  church  and 
also  has  membership  with  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America  and  the  Ancient  Order  of 
United  Workmen.  His  interest  in  community  affairs  is  evidenced  by  his  membership  in  the 
Commercial  Club  and  along  strictly  professional  lines  he  has  member.ship  in  the  Grand  Forks 
Medical  Society  the  North  Dakota  State  Medical  Association  and  the  American  Medical 
Association.  The  elemental  strength  of  his  character  was  shown  in  his  determination  to 
secure  professional  training  and  he  largely  provided  for  the  expenses  of  his  college  course, 
after  which  he  entered  upon  active  work  in  a  profession  where  advancement  depends  entirely 
upon  individual  merit  and  ability.  He  has  ever  fully  recognized  the  responsibility  that  rests 
upon  him  and  all  of  his  professional  services  are  performed  with  a  sense  of  conscientious 
obligation. 


ANDREW  PEDERSON. 


Andrew  Pedorson,  president  of  the  Dakota  Plumbing  &  Heating  Company  of  Grand 
Forks,  was  born  in  Molde,  Norway,  September  18,  1867.  His  grandfather,  Peter  Pederson, 
was  a  man  of  marked  intellectual  attainments  and  became  an  educator  of  world-wide 
fame.  He  was  a  veteran  of  the  War  of  1812,  serving  as  an  officer  in  the  army.  Andrew 
Pederson,  father  of  Andrew  Pederson  of  this  review,  was  a  shoemaker  by  trade  and  spent 
his  entire  life  in  Norway,  meeting  with  considerable  success  in  his  business  career.  He 
ivorked  his  way  upward  and  for  years  conducted  a  shoe  manufacturing  establishment  near 
Molde.  He  married  Gertie  Anna  Pederson,  a  native  of  Norway,  and  both  passed  away 
in  1893,  the  former  at  the  age  of  sixty  years  and  the  latter  at  the  age  of  fifty.  They 
were  the  parents  of  three  children,  two  of  whom  are  living,  the  daughter  being  Selma, 
the  wife  of  Marcus  Suthcleff,  now  a  resident  of  Grand  Forks,  North  Dakota. 

The  son,  Andrew  Pederson,  was  educated  in  the  schools  of  his  native  country  and 
when  thirteen  years  of  age  started  out  to  earn  his  own  livelihood.  He  began  to  learn  the 
tailor's  trade  and  also  the  butchering  business  but  found  neither  of  these  pursuits  con- 
genial and  went  to  sea,  spending  five  years  as  a  sailor.  In  1892  he  crossed  the  Atlantic 
to  the  new  world,  making  his  way  direct  to  Grand  Forks,  where  he  arrived  an  utter 
stranger,  having  neither  friends  nor  relatives  here.  His  financial  condition  rendered  It 
imperative  that  he  immediately  obtain  employment,  and  starting  out  on  a  search  for 
work,  he  entered  the  empkiy  of  the  Grand  Forks  Electric  Light  &  Gas  Company,  with  which 
he  was  connected  until  1909,  and  working  his  way  steadily  upward,  he  served  for  a  number 
of  years  as  its  general  foreman.  In  February,  1909,  he  organized  and  established  the 
Dakota  Plumbing  and  Heating  Company,  a  corporation  of  which  he  is  the  president.  This 
company  is  engaged  in  the  general  plumbing  and  heating  business  and  is  rated  as  the 
largest  and  most  substantial  in  that  part  of  the  state.  The  other  officers  are:  Peter 
Braseth,  vice  president;  and  Hans  C.  Nelson,  secretary  and  treasurer.  The  firm  employs  on 
an  average  of  sixteen  people  and  at  times  as  high  as  twenty-five  men.  Its  business  extends 
throughout  the  entire  state  and  into  northern  Jlinnesota,  much  of  their  work  being  done 
under  contract. 

On  the  15th  of  May,  1895,  Mr.  Pederson  was  united  in  marriage  in  Grand  Forks  to 
Miss  Carrie  Pederson,  a  native  of  Norway  and  a  daughter  of  Peter  Pederson.  Seven 
children  have  been  born  of  this  union:  Anna,  Gunder,  Alpha,  Ruby,  Alice,  Ancor  and  Ellen. 
The  parents  are  loyal  members  of  the  Zion  Lutheran  church,  of  which  Mr.  Pederson  is 
secretary.  In  politics  he  is  a  republican,  active  in  support  of  the  party,  and  he  is  now 
serving  as  alderman  from  the  seventh  ward.     He  holds  membership  with  the  Brotherhood  of 


AXllRKW  PEOERSOX 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  171 

American  Yeomen,  witli  the  Sons  of  Norway  and  with  tlie  Commercial  Club  of  Grand 
Forks.  He  came  to  America  a  poor  boy  but  actuated  by  laudable  ambition  to  attain 
success.  He  carried  with  him  no  false  hope  of  rapidly  attaining  wealth  but  realized  that 
advancement  in  this  country,  as  elsewhere,  must  be  obtained  by  persistent,  earnest  effort  and 
capability.  Gradually,  therefore,  he  has  worked  his  way  upward  and  what  he  has 
accomplished  is  the  result  of  individual  worth  and  merit.  He  may  well  be  proud  of  what 
he  has  accomplished,  being  today  at  the  head  of  a  firm  which  occupies  a  commanding  posi- 
tion in  his  chosen  field  of  labor. 


JOHN  A.  COEBETT. 


.John  A.  Corbett,  editor  of  the  Williston  Graphic,  was  born  in  Ontario,  Canada,  March 
19,  1877,  a  son  of  John  C.  and  Margery  (Good)  Corbett.  The  father  was  born,  reared  and 
educated  in  Ontario  and  became  a  railroad  man  in  Canada.  He  moved  to  the  United 
States  in  1887  and  followed  railroading  on  the  Great  Northern  at  Fort  Assinniboine, 
Montana,  and  Williston  and  Minot,  North  Dakota.  He  and  his  wife  are  now  residents  of 
Stanley,  North  Dakota. 

John  A.  Corbett  was  educated  in  the  schools  of  North  Dakota  and  Illinois.  He  spent 
some  time  as  a  pupil  in  the  ilinot  high  school,  from  wliich  he  was  graduated  and  after- 
ward became  a  student  in  the  North  Dakota  Agiicultural  College  at  Fargo.  Returning  to 
Minot,  he  engaged  in  newspapef  w'Ork  and  in  190B  removed  to  Williston,  where  he  purchased 
the  Graphic,  of  which  he  is  now  the  owner  and  editor.  This  paper  has  a  good  circulation 
and  is  one  of  the  bright  and  attractive  journals  published  in  that  section  of  the  state. 

Ml'.  Corbett  has  been  married  twice  and  he  has  three  children.  His  political  endorsement 
is  given  to'  the  republican  party  and  at  one  time  he  served  as  a  member  of  the  Williston 
school  board  but  has  never  been  a  politician  in  the  sense  of  office  seeking  although  he 
keeps  well  informed  on  the  questions  and  issues  of  the  day.  Fraternally  he  is  connected 
with  Williston  Lodge.  I.  0.  0.  F..  of  which  he  is  a  past  noble  grand,  with  the  Elks  lodge 
and  with  the  Modern  Woodmen  camp  of  Williston. 


CHARLES  J.  HOOF. 


Charles  J.  Hoof,  who  is  engaged  in  general  farming  on  section  30.  Bryant  township, 
Logan  county,  was  born  in  Nova  Scotia  on  the  12th  of  January,  1861,  and  is  a  son  of  Julius 
H.  and  Lucy  J.  (Veit)  Hoof,  natives  of  Prussia  and  of  Quebec,  Canada,  respectively.  They 
were  married  in  Nova  Scotia,  to  which  country  they  had  removed  in  their  youth.  The 
father  was  a  painter  and  cabinetmaker  and  engiaver  and  devoted  several  years  of  his  life 
to  the  art  of  engraving.  In  1878  he  and  his  son  Charles  came  to  North  Dakota,  settling  in 
Traill  county  where  he  homesteaded  eighty  acres,  residing  thereon  for  six  years.  In  1885 
he  went  to  Logan  county  and  a  short  time  afterward  homesteaded  eighty  acres,  upon  which 
he  lived  until  compliance  with  the  law-  concerning  length  of  residence  and  improvements 
gave  him  title  to  the  pioperty.  Subsequent  to  that  he  and  his  w-ife  made  their  home  with 
their  son  Cliarles.  In  community  affairs  Julius  H.  Hoof  took  an  active  part,  serving  for 
two  terms  as  county  clerk  and  for  two  terms  as  judge  of  the  county  court.  For  many 
years  he  also  occupied  the  position  of  justice  of  the  peace  and  upon  both  the  justice  and 
the  county  benches  he  rendered  decisions  which  were  strictly  fair  and  impartial,  his  opinions 
being  based  upon  the  law  and  the  equity  in  the  case. 

Charles  J.  Hoof  pursued  a  district  school  education  and  on  the  4th  of  .June,  1884.  home- 
steaded a  quarter  section  of  land  on  section  20,  Bryant  township,  upon  which  he  still  resides. 
This,  how-ever,  constituted  but  the  nucleus  of  his  present  holdings,  for  he  has  added  to  his 
farm  from  time  to  time  until  he  is  now  the  owner  of  three  hundred  and  twenty  acres  of 
as  valuable  land  as  can  be  found  in  Logan  county.  The  old  homestead  property  is  one  of 
the  well  improved  farms  of  that  part  of  the  state,  for  his  labors  have  converted  it  from 


172  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

a  tract  of  wild  land  into  rich  and  productive  fields,  and  while  he  has  thus  furthered  his 
business  interests  he  has  also  been  foremost  in  any  movement  for  the  upbuilding  of  his  home 
county. 

In  1S89  Mr.  Hoof  was  married  to  Miss  Theresa  B.  Steidl,  of  Logan  county,  North 
Dakota,  who  was  born  in  Austria.  They  have  become  the  parents  of  seven  children:  Anna, 
the  wife  of  Earl  Janes,  of  Kidder  county,  North  Dakota;  Charles  V.,  at  home;  Alice  A., 
the  wife  of  M.  B.  Fallgatter,  a  business  man  of  Kintyre,  North  Dakota;  Jessie,  the  wife  of 
Peter  Nord,  of  Logan  county;   and  Mabel,  Joseph  and  Maud,  all  at  home. 

In  his  political  views  Mr.  Hoof  is  an  ardent  republican  but  has  never  been  an  office 
seeker.  He  belongs  to  the  Brotherhood  of  American  Yeomen  and  in  his  religious  faith  is 
a  Piesbyterian,  while  his  wife  is  a  member  of  the  Catholic  church.  Diligence  and  determina- 
tion liave  been  the  crowning  points  in  his  career  and  have  enabled  him  to  advance  from  a 
humble  financial  position  to  one  of  affluence. 


HENTIY  G.  LYKKEN. 


Henry  G.  Lykkcn.  a  civil  engineer  of  Grand  Forks,  was  born  December  9,  1880,  in 
Dakota  county,  JMinncsota,  a  son  of  Gilman  H.  and  Ella  (Thoreson)  Lykken.  The  father, 
a  native  of  Norway,  came  alone  to  America  when  a  youth  of  fifteen  years  and  settled  in 
Minnesota  but  in  1879  removed  to  the  territory  of  Dakota,  establishing  his  home  in  Walsh 
county,  where  he  engaged  in  farming  and  where  he  is  still  living  at  the  age  of  sixty-four 
years.     His  wife,  a  native  of  Minnesota,  was  born  in  1860. 

Henry  G.  Lykken  was  the  eldest  of  their  family  of  nine  children.  In  his  youthful  days 
he  attended  the  public  schools  of  Auburn  and  afterward  became  a  student  in  the  University 
of  North  Dakota,  from  which  he  was  graduated  in  1905  with  the  Bachelor  of  Arts  degree. 
He  later  pursued  a  course  in  mining  engineering  and  won  the  M.  E.  degree  in  1906.  He 
entered  upon  the  practice  of  Municipal  Engineering  at  Grand  Forks  in  the  same  year  and 
has  since  done  much  engineering  work  in  that  city  and  in  other  parts  of  the  state.  In 
1910  he  became  city  engineer  and  so  continued  until  1914.  In  the  line  of  his  profession  he 
has  connection  with  the  American  Society  of  Municipal  Improvement.  While  city  engineer 
he  instituted  much  of  the  splendid  system  of  paving,  of  which  Grand  Forks  is  justly  proud 
and  he  was  connected  with  other  important  improvements. 

In  December,  1911,  Mr.  Lykken  was  married  to  Miss  Frances  Hamilton,  of  Deer  Lodge, 
Montana,  a  daughter  of  William  H.  and  Frances  Hamilton,  of  Frankfort,  Kentucky.  They 
have  become  the  parents  of  three  children:  Margaret  who  was  born  in  Grand  Forks  in 
1912;  Henry  G.,  born  in  1913;  and  William,  in  1915.  The  parents  are  members  of  the 
Lutheran  church  and  Mr.  Lykken  is  a  well  known  and  popular  citizen  and  his  professional 
ability  has  enabled  him  to  make  a  steady  advance  in  his  chosen  field  of  labor. 


THOMAS  E.  HAYWARD. 


Thomas  E.  Hayward,  cashier  of  the  Golden  Valley  State  Bank  at  Beach,  was  born  in 
Cambridge,  Maryland,  in  1879,  a  son  of  Charles  E.  and  Emily  (Eccleston)  Hayward.  who 
were  also  natives  of  Maryland.  The  father,  an  attorney  by  profession,  spent  his  entire  life 
in  his  native  state,  practicing  at  Cambridge.  At  the  time  of  the  Civil  war  he  responded 
to  the  call  of  the  Confederacy  and  served  for  four  years  in  the  Twenty-first  Virginia  and 
the  Second  Florida  regiments  with  the  rank  of  lieutenant.  Both  he  and  his  wife  are  now 
deceased.     They  had  a  family  of  four  children,  all  of  whom  are  living. 

Thomas  E.  Hayward,  who  was  the  j'oungest,  piirsued  his  education  in  the  graded 
schools  of  Cambridge  and  in  Kenyon  College  at  Gambler,  Ohio.  He  afterward  engaged  in 
teaching  school  at  Decatiu'.  Illinois,  for  three  years  and  subsequently  was  employed  as  a 
teacher  of  history  in  the  high  school  of  Aurora,  Illinois,  there  spending  two  years.  He  next 
went  to  Minneapolis,  where  he  remained  for  five  years,  engaged  in  teaching  throughout  that 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  173 

period,  He  became  assistant  principal  of  the  West  liigh  school,  in  wliich  connection  he 
remained  for  a  period  of  three  years.  Later  he  entered  the  Soutli  Side  State  Bank  of 
Minneapolis  but  after  a  brief  period  left  tliat  institution  to  accept  a  position  with  H.  R. 
Lyon,  who  was  the  principal  stockholder  in  a  company  owning  a  line  of  banks  through 
North  Dakota.  Mr.  Hayward  became  auditor  of  the  company  and  entered  the  state  in  that 
capacity  in  1910.  In  December,  1915,  he  went  to  Beach  and  purchased  an  interest  in  the 
Golden  Valley  State  Bank,  of  which  he  became  ca.shier  and  so  serves.  This  bank  is  capitalized 
at  twenty-live  thousand  dollars  and  has  a  surplus  of  equal  amount.  The  institution  was 
organized  in  ]!IO,"i  by  F.  E.  N'ear  and  from  the  beginning  has  enjoyed  a  continuous  growth. 
Mr.  Hayward  is  proving  a  most  competent  ollieial  whose  courteous  and  obliging  manner  has 
won  him  popularity  with  the  patrons  of  the  bank,  while  his  loyalty  to  the  interests  of  the 
institution  has  gained  for  him  the  confidence  and  high  regard  of  his  fellow  officials  and 
associates  in  the  bank. 

In  1909  Mr.  Hayward  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Marjorie  Farnum.  a  native  of 
Colorado  who  became  a  resident  of  Montana.  Her  father,  Vinson  Farnum,  was  a  prominent 
real  estate  num.  He  has  passed  away,  but  her  mother,  who  is  now  Mrs.  Joseph  A.  Baker, 
i.s  living  in  Jlontana.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Hayward  have  become  parents  of  a  little  daughter, 
Sarah   Elizabeth. 

In  religious  faith  Mr.  Hayward  is  a  Christian  Scientist,  belonging  to  the  mother  church 
at  Boston,  Massachusetts.  While  in  Aurora,  Illinois,  he  became  a  member  of  the  Benevolent 
Protective  Order  of  Elks  and  now  has  membership  in  the  Elks  lodge  at  Mandan.  His 
political  allegiance  is  given  to  the  republican  party,  but  while  he  exercises  his  right  of 
franchise  in  support  of  its  men  and  measures,  he  does  not  seek  nor  desire  office.  While 
engaged  in  teaching  he  displayed  notable  ability  as  an  educator,  imparting  clearly  and 
readily  to  others  the  knowledge  that  he  had  acquired,  and  since  entering  the  field  of  banking 
he  has  made  equal  progress,  being  actuated  at  all  times  by  a  spirit  of  unfaltering  determina- 
tion and  enterprise. 


BERT  G.  Mcelroy. 


Bert  G.  McElroy,  publisher  of  the  Dawson  Press,  issued  at  Dawson.  Kidder  county, 
and  accorded  a  liberal  jiatronage,  was  born  in  Milwaukee,  Wisconsin,  in  1875,  a  son  of 
Thomas  H,  and  Ellen  F.  (Hawkins)  McElroy,  the  former  a  native  of  Xew  Briinswick  and 
tlie  latter  of  Providence,  Rhode  Island.  The  father  was  a  newspaper  man  and  inaugurated 
the  first  two-cent  newspaper  of  Milwaukee,  Wisconsin.  He  established  the  sheet  known 
as  the  Milwaukee  Evening  Chronicle  in  1879  and  continued  its  publication  for  a  period  of 
three  years.  He  was  afterward  associated  with  Mr.  Peek,  at  one  time  governor  of  the 
state,  as  typesetter  in  his  office.  In  early  life  he  removed  to  Iowa,  where  the  became  the 
owner  and  editor  of  the  Waukon  Democrat.  He  was  thus  connected  with  newspaper  publica- 
tion in  Iowa  until  18G1,  at  which  time  he  returned  to  Wisconsin  and  enlisted  for  senice 
with  the  Twenty-fourth  Wisconsin  Regiment  of  Volunteers.  He  served  until  the  close  of 
the  war.  making  a  creditable  military  record  through  the  loyalty  and  bravery  which  he 
had  displayed  on  the  field  of  battle.  Eventually  he  returned  to  Milwaukee,  where  he  accepted 
the  position  of  foreman  in  the  ofiice  of  the  Milwaukee  Sentinel  and  in  that  connection  he 
continued  until  1886,  when  he  went  to  ShuUsburg,  Wisconsin,  establishing  the  South- 
western Local,  a  paper  which  he  published  until  1895.  In  that  year  he  removed  to  Iron 
Mountain,  Michigan,  where  he  began  the  i)ublication  of  the  first  daily  to  be  established 
in  that  town  and  for  five  years  he  continued  in  that  business  and  made  the  paper  an  attractive 
and  growing  one.  He  afterward  removed  to  Wausaukee,  Wisconsin,  afterward  to  New 
Holstein  and  later  to  Cudahy,  Wisconsin.  He  was  engaged  in  the  newspaper  business  at 
all  three  of  these  points  and  it  was  while  at  CMdahy  that  he  retired  from  active  life. 
passing  away  in  May,  1915.  His  widow  still  survives.  The  father  died  at  the  age  of 
seventy-seven  years,  while  the  mother  has  reached  the  age  of  seventy.-eight  years. 

Bert  G.  McElroy  was  the  youngest  of  their  five  children,  four  of  whom  are  now  living. 


174  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

William  H.,  a  brother,  is  connected  with  the  editorial  department  of  the  New  York  Sun  and 
Sheridan  V.  is  local  editor  of  the  Grand  Rapids  Leader  of  Grand  Rapids,  Wisconsin. 

Bert  G.  JIcElroy  was  educated  in  the  schools  of  Milwaukee  and  of  ShuUsburg,  Wisconsin, 
being  graduated  from  the  high  school  in  the  latter  place.  He  afterward  learned  the  printing 
trade  there  in  the  office  of  his  father  and  afterward  was  associated  with  his  father  in  different 
printing  offices.  For  a  time  they  were  connected  in  the  publication  of  the  Iron  Mountain 
Daily  and  following  the  retirement  of  the  father  Bert  G.  McElroy  worked  for  three  years 
at  Jlihvaukee.  In  1902  he  came  to  North  Dakota  and  secured  employment  in  the  office  of 
the  Bismarck  Tribune,  with  which  he  was  associated  for  a  period  of  a  year.  After  leaving 
the  office  of  the  Tribune  he  managed  a  paper,  the  Linton  Advocate,  owned  by  C.  A.  Patterson, 
who  was  a  prominent  man  of  that  time.  He  continued  to  manage  the  business  for  a  year, 
after  which  he  removed  to  Braddock  and  purchased  the  Braddock  News,  which  he  published 
for  three  years.  After  disposing  of  that  sheet  he  took  charge  of  the  Napoleon  Homestead 
of  Napoleon,  North  Dakota,  which  was  one  of  the  oldest  newspapers  of  the  state.  He 
continued  to  acceptably  fill  that  position  until  December,  1915,  at  which  time  he  removed 
to  Dawson  and  purchased  the  Dawson  Press,  which  has  a  circulation  of  more  than  six  hundred. 

In  1896  Mr..  McElroy  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Mary  L.  Jetty,  was  was  born  in 
Montreal,  •  Canada,  a  daughter  of  Leon  and  Matilda  (Laramee)  Jetty,  both  residents  of 
Canada.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  JIcElroy  have  become  parents  of  three  children:  Donald  H.,  who 
was  born  in  December,  1898,  and  is  now  employed  on  the  Bismarck  Tribune;  Mildred,  born 
in  1900;  and  Luttie,  born  in  1901. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  McElroy  attend  the  Presbyterian  church.  In  politics  he  is  a  republican 
aiul  iiublishes  his  paper  in  the  interest  of  that  party.  His  attention  largely  centers  upon 
his  newspaper  work  and  he  keeps  in  touch  with  the  trend  of  modern  journalism. 


C.  E.  FULLER,  D.  V.  S. 


Dr.  C.  E.  Fuller,  engaged  in  the  practice  of  veterinary  surgery  at  Beach,  was  born  in 
South  Dakota  in  188fi.  His  father,  C.  S.  G.  Fuller,  a  native  of  Bath,  England,  came  to  the 
United  States  when  fifteen  years  of  age,  settling  at  Syracuse,  New  York,  w'here  he  remained 
until  he  attained  his  majority.  He  then  went  to  Chicago  and  was  employed  by  the 
jewelrj'  firm  of  Otto  Young  &  Company,  in  which  business  he  eventually  purchased  an 
interest.  He  was  also  employed  at  difl'erent  periods  by  Marshall  Field  &  Company  and  at 
the  Fair.  The  period  spent  in  these  connections  covered  twelve  years,  at  the  end  of  which 
time  he  established  Iiis  home  in  Brookings,  South  Dakota,  and  there  entered  the  hardware 
business  in  partnership  with  a  ilr.  Dox.  Later  he  established  a  store  at  De  Smet,  South 
Dakota,  and  assumed  the  management  of  the  business  after  retiring  from  the  Brookings 
partnership,  selling  his  interest  to  his  partner.  Later  he  admitted  his  brother,  G.  C.  R.  Fuller, 
to  an  interest  in  the  De  Smet  store  and  that  relation  was  maintained  until  1891.  To  his 
stock  of  hardware  he  added  general  merchandise  and  the  establishment  became  famous 
for  miles  around  because  of  the  quality  and  variety  of  the  goods  carried.  He  also  took 
up  stock  raising  as  a  side  line,  dealing  in  horses  and  cattle,  and  was  thus  a  most  active 
and  enterprising  business  man  up  to  the  time  of  his  death,  which  occurred  March  20,  1905. 
His  wife,  who  bore  the  maiden  name  of  C.  T.  Dow  and  was  a  native  of  Portage,  Wisconsin, 
died  in  September,  1916. 

Dr.  Fuller,  who  was  the  second  in  order  of  birth  in  a  family  of  four  children,  tliree 
of  whom  are  living,  pursued  his  education  in  the  public  schools  of  De  Smet,  in  the  South 
Dakota  Agricultural  College  at  Brookings  and  in  the  Chicago  Veterinary  College,  from  which 
he  was  graduated  with  the  class  of  1908.  He  then  went  to  Bellevue,  Iowa,  where  he  began 
practice,  there  remaining  until  .January  7,  1911,  after  which  he  returned  to  De  Smet  and  later 
practiced  for  a  time  at  Isabel,  South  Dakota,  where  he  also  took  up  a  homestead,  to  which 
he  secured  his  title  by  complying  with  the  laws  regarding  occupancy  and  improvement. 
On  the  21st  of  February,  1913,  Dr.  Fuller  arrived  in  Beach  and  in  the  intervening  period 
has  built  up  a  very  extensive  practice,  being  regarded  as  one  of  the  most  capable  veterinarians 
of  his  section   of   the   state.     He   always   keeps   in   touch   with   the   latest   experiments   and 


HISTORY  OF  XORTII  DAKOTA  IT.j 

discoveries  of  a  professional  chanieter  ami  his  labors  Iiave  been  atteink-il  witli  notable 
results. 

On  the  23(1  of  December,  1914,  Dr.  Fuller  was  married  to  Miss  Evangelyn  Butterfiehl, 
of  Sparta,  Wisconsin,  a  daughter  of  Mr.  and  llrs.  .lell'erson  Butterfield.  early  residents 
of  Wisconsin.  To  Dr.  and  Jlrs.  Fuller  has  been  hciiii  a  dauj;hter,  Mereditli,  wliose  natal 
day  was  January  10,  1916. 

Dr.  Fuller  is  a  Mason  belonging  to  the  lodge  at  Bellevue,  Iowa.  His  political  allegiance 
is  given  to  the  republican  party  and  in  1914  he  was  appointed  to  the  position  of  assistant 
state  veterinarian,  in  which  capacity  he  is  now  serving,  performing  the  duties  of  that  office 
in  addition  to  an  extensive  jirivate  jiiactice. 


JAMES  P.  CAIN. 


•Tames  P.  Cain,  a  memlier  of  the  North  Dakota  bar  practicing  at  Dickinson,  is  a  native 
of  Iowa,  his  birth  having  occurred  at  Clare  in  1882.  His  parents,  Patrick  and  Marj'  Cain, 
are  natives  of  Ohio  and  Iowa  respectively  and  are  now  living  in  the  latter  state,  where  the 
father  follows  the  occupation  of  farming. 

James  P.  Cain,  the  eldest  in  a  family  of  eleven  children,  pursued  his  education  in 
Cieighton  University  of  Omaha  and  in  Georgetown  University  of  Washington.  D.  C.  where 
he  matriculated  as  a  law  student  and  won  his  LL.  B.  degiee  upon  graduation  with  the 
class  of  IDOO.  He  then  removed  to  St.  Paul,  Minnesota,  where  he  opened  an  office  and 
practiced  law  for  a  j'ear  and  a  half,  but  in  Maj',  1911,  came  to  North  Dakota  and  established 
an  office  in  Dickinson.  Here  he  has  since  followed  his  profession  and  is  now  accorded  a 
good  clientage.  He  is  also  connected  with  a  land  business,  being  treasurer  of  the  Western 
Land  Company  of  Dickinson,  which  was  organized  by  .John  Jloes,  H.  L.  Eeichert  and  .Tames 
P.   Cain  in   1915. 

In  1915  ilr.  Cain  was  married  to  Miss  Mary  JIcGinley.  a  representative  of  one  of  the 
pioneer  families  of  North  Dakota.  They  hold  membership  in  the  Catholic  church  of  Dickinson 
and  Jlr.  Cain  is  also  a  member  of  the  Knights  of  Columbus,  in  which  he  has  filled  all  of  the 
offices  and  has  become  district  deputy  of  the  state.  He  also  belongs  to  the  Elks  lodge  of 
Dickinson.  His  political  allegiance  is  given  to  the  democratic  party  and  he  was  made  its 
candidate  for  the  office  of  state's  attorney  in  1916.  His  course  in  his  chosen  profession 
has  been  marked  by  steady  progression  since  his  arrival  in  Dickinson  and  his  ability  has 
won  for  him  a  liberal  clientage. 


HUGH  CASEMENT. 


Hugh  Casement,  dealer  in  farm  machinery  at  Inkster,  was  born  June  16.  1856,  at 
I/akefield.  Ontario.  His  father,  Thomas  Casement,  however,  was  a  native  of  Ireland  and 
about  1832  crossed  the  Atlantic  to  Canada,  becoming  a  pioneer  settler  of  Lakefield,  where 
he  engaged  in  business  as  a  baker,  having  served  a  seven  years'  apprenticeship  at  the  trade 
in  Belfast.  Ireland.  His  work  in  that  connection  was  of  a  high  standard  and  he  conducted 
a  profitable  bakery  business  for  some  time.  Later  he  successfully  followed  agricultural 
pursuits  and  was  thus  engaged  to  the  time  of  his  death,  which  occurred  in  March,  1897, 
when  he  was  seventy-si.x  years  of  age.  In  early  manhood  he  wedded  Sarah  Nelson,  a  native 
of  Canada  and  a  representative  of  one  of  the  pioneer  families  of  that  country.  By  her 
marriage  she  became  the  mother  of  ten  children,  of  whom  Hugh  was  the  second.  She 
survived  her  husband  for  more  than  a  decade,  passing  away  in  July,  1908,  at  the  age  of 
eighty-two  years.  In  tracing  the  ancestral  line  of  Hugh  Casement  it  is  learned  that  his 
great-grandfather  was  the  richest  landowner  of  Ireland  but  through  the  rebellion  lost  his 
entire  estate.  His  grandfather.  Philip  Casement,  served  as  a  colonel  in  the  English  army 
for  twenty-one  years  and  took  part  in  all  the  wars  in  West  India.  His  uncle.  Robert  Case- 
ment, became  the  first  postmaster  of  Lakefield,  Canada,  and  was  also  a  prominent  merchant 


176  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

of  that  town.  Some  member  of  the  family  since  that  day,  covering  a  period  of  almost  one 
hundri'd  years,  has  occupied  the  position  of  postmaster,  W.  H.  Casement,  an  elder  brother 
of  Hugh  Casement,  having  served  in  that  position  for  the  past  forty-three  years. 

Hugh  Casement  pursued  his  education  in  the  public  schools  of  Lakefield,  Ontario,  and 
in  early  life  was  busily  employed  at  farm  work  assisting  in  clearing  one  hundred  acres 
of  land.  His  youth  was  fraught  with  many  trying  experiences  and  was  a  period  of  earnest, 
unremitting  toil.  On  the  1st  of  July,  1884,  he  arrived  at  Inkster  and  purchased  a  farm 
covering  four  hundred  and  sixty  acres  of  land  in  Wheatfield  township,  Grand  Forks  county. 
This  he  still  owns  and  for  many  years  personally  carried  on  the  work  of  cultivating  and 
develoj)ing  that  property  but  in  recent  years  has  rented  it  to  others.  In  1904  he  left  the 
farm  and  took  up  his  abode  in  Inkster,  where  he  began  dealing  in  farm  machinery  and  in  this 
business  is  still  engaged,  having  one  of  the  largest  establishments  of  that  kind  in  Grand 
Forks  and  Walsh  counties.  He  deals  in  all  kinds  of  farm  machinery,  including  the  John 
Deere  plows  and  manure  spreaders,  the  McCormick  binders  and  mowers  and  the  R  &  V 
gasoline  engines.  His  trade  has  now  assumed  extensive  proportions  and  he  also  conducts  a 
branch  store  at  Fordville,  Walsh  county. 

In  November,  1887,  at  Inkster,  Mr.  Casement  was  married  to  Miss  Emma  Brodie,  a 
native  of  Canada  and  of  Scotch  descent.  Her  father.  Dr.  Brodie,  became  a  prominent 
physician  of  Millbrook.  Three  children  have  been  born  to  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Casement,  of  whom 
two  are  deceased:  one  who  died  in  infancy;  and  Watson,  who  died  when  six  years  old. 
The  surviving  son  is  Thomas  Henry  Hulbert,  whose  birth  occurred  in  Wheatfield  township, 
Grand  Forks  county,  and  who  married  Hazeltine  Currier,  a  native  of  Inkster  and  a  daughter 
of  Mrs.  Hattie  Currier,  one  of  the  first  settlers  of  Inkster.  There  is  one  child  of  this 
marriage,  .Jean  Casement,  born  in  1914,  at  Fordville,  where  the  father  is  manager  of  his 
father's    business. 

Politically  Mr.  Casement  is  a  stalwart  republican,  taking  an  active  interest  in  the  party. 
His  worth  and  ability  have  been  widely  recognized  and  he  was  made  the  first  treasurer 
of  Wheatfield  township,  which  position  he  filled  until  1904.  He  is  now  serving  for  the  second 
term  as  mayor  of  Inkster,  his  incumbency  in  the  office  covering  four  years.  Fraternally 
he  is  connected  with  the  Independent  Order  of  Foresters  and  the  Modern  Woodmen  of 
America.  He  also  belongs  to  the  First  Presbyterian  church,  of  which  he  is  a  trustee.  He 
likewise  has  membership  in  the  Commercial  C'liib,  which  further  indicates  his  interest  in 
community  affairs  and  his  devotion  to  the  general  good.  His  has  been  an  active  and  well 
spent  life,  his  labors  bringing  their  just  reward  in  a  most  substantial  success. 


W.  A.  HUGHES. 


W.  A.  Hughes,  a  well  known  merchant  of  Deering,  McHenry  county,  was  born  on  the 
Mason  and  Dixon  line  at  Cardifl',  Maryland,  April  23,  187G,  a  son  of  Hugh  E.  and  Isabelle 
(De  JIoss)  Hughes,  both  of  whom  were  natives  of  Lancaster  county,  Pennsylvania.  The 
father  was  an  expert  slate  miner  and  followed  that  occupation  throughout  his  entire  life  save 
for  the  period  of  his  service  in  the  Civil  war.  He  enlisted  with  a  New  York  regiment  and 
after  his  first  term  had  expired  he  rejoined  the  array  as  a  member  of  a  Pennsylvania  regi- 
ment. For  nine  months  of  the  time  he  was  held  as  a  prisoner  of  war  in  Libby  prison, 
meeting  all  the  hardships  of  such  an  experience.  He  died  in  October,  1912,  while  his  wife 
survived  only  until  1913. 

W.  A.  Hughes  spent  his  youthful  days  in  Pennsylvania  and  early  began  working  in 
the  slate  mines,  being  thus  employed  until  eighteen  years  of  age.  Thinking  to  find  other 
pursuits  more  congenial  and  profitable,  he  then  accepted  a  clerkship  and  was  tlnis  engaged 
until  1903,  when  he  left  the  east  and  came  to  North  Dakota,  settling  at  Deering,  JIcHenry 
county.  There  he  again  engaged  in  clerking  until  1912,  when  he  purchased  an  interest  in 
the  store  in  which  he  was  employed  and  has  since  been  one  of  the  proprietors.  The 
business  is  now  carried  on  under  the  firm  style  of  W.  A.  Hughes  &  Company  and  they 
have  an  extensive  stock  of  general  merchandise,  carefully  selected  to  meet  the  varied 
demands  of  the  public.     Their  business  methods  are  such  as  will  bear  the  closest  investiga- 


W.  A.  HUGHES 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  179 

tion  and  scrutiny  and  their  enterprise  is  the  basic  element  in  their  growing  success.     Mr. 
Hughes  is  also  secretary  and  treasurer  of  the  Farmers  Elevator  Company. 

In  January,  1906,  occurred  the  marriage  of  Mr.  Hughes  and  Miss  Ethel  Staples, 
a  daughter  of  Almon  and  Fidelia  (Dunnell)  Staples.  Her  iather  was  a  native  of  Maine  but 
at  an  early  day  removed  to  Owatonna,  Jlinuesota,  and  there  engaged  in  merchandising 
until  his  death  in  1880,  while  his  wife  passed  away  in  1878.  Mrs.  Hughes  is  one  of  the  pioneer 
womi'ii  of  North  Dakota  and  at  an  early  day  taught  school  for  several  years  in  McHenry 
county  and  also  in  Willow  City.  She  entered  a  homestead  claim  in  McHenry  county  in  1900, 
iniinuved  the  property  and  is  still  the  owner  thereof,  deriving  from  the  place  a  good  rental, 
while  Mr.  Hughes  is  the  owner  of  one  hundred  and  sixty  acres  near  the  town  of  Decring.  He 
is  a  member  of  the  Presbyterian  church  and  she  is  an  Episcopalian.  Mr.  Hughes  belongs  to 
the  Masonic  fraternity  and  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows.  His  political  allegiance  is 
given  to  the  republican  party.  He  was  elected  a  member  of  the  first  town  board  and  was 
elected  mayor  of  Deering  the  second  year  after  the  incorporation  of  the  town,  while  for 
some  time  he  has  served  on  the  school  board.  He  is  deeply  interested  in  everything  per- 
taining to  the  welfare  and  progress  of  the  district  in  which  he  resides  and  his  aid  and  coop- 
eration can  be  counted  upon  to  further  any  measure  or  plan  for  the  public  good. 


EDWIN   F.   HUGHES. 


Edwin  F.  Hughes,  of  Lakota,  was  born  in  Gloucestershire,  England,  .July  15,  1871, 
a  son  of  Alfred  and  Harriet  (Paley)  Hughes,  both  of  whom  were  natives  of  England,  where 
the  father  has  spent  his  entire  life.  He  is  now  engaged  in  the  giain  and  milling  business 
at  the  age  of  seventy-three  years,  but  in  1S87  was  called  upon  to  mourn  the  loss  of  his 
wife,  who  passed  away  at  the  age  of  forty-six.  Their  family  numbered  eight  children, 
of  whom  Edwin  F.  Hughes  was  the  fifth  in  order  of  birth. 

After  mastering  the  branches  of  learning  taught  in  the  schools  of  Gloucester,  England, 
Edwin  F.  Hughes  continued  his  education  in  Wickliflfe  College.  Attracted  by  the  opportunities 
which  he  believed  he  might  secure  in  the  new  world,  he  then  crossed  the  Atlantic  and 
in  1895  removed  to  Lakota,  North  Dakota.  His  business  affairs  have  been  systematically 
and  wisely  conducted  and  the  spirit  of  enteri)rise  which  has  actuated  him  at  every  point  in 
his  career  has  brought  him  substantial  and  growing  success.  He  has  handled  considerable 
valuable  property,  negotiating  important  realty  transfers,  and  he  is  also  interested  in 
farming. 

In  July,  1902,  was  celebrated  the  marriage  of  Edwin  F.  Hughes  and  Miss  Clara  Bakley, 
a  daugliter  of  the  Rev.  Bakley,  of  Neenah,  Wisconsin,  and  they  have  become  parents  of 
three  children:  Edwin  Paley,  who  was  born  in  Lakota  in  1903;  Edith,  in  1906;  and 
Winifred,  in  1913. 

The  parents  are  members  of  the  Episcopal  church  and  ^Ir.  Hughes  is  an  exemplary 
representative  of  the  Masonic  lodge,  in  which  he  has  filled  all  of  the  chairs.  His  political 
allegiance  is  given  to  the  republican  party  and  he  has  filled  the  office  of  city  auditor  and 
has  also  been  president  of  the  school  board.  He  is  interested  in  all  measures  pertaining 
to  general  progress  and  improvement  in  his  community  and  the  weight  of  his  inffuenee 
is  always  given  on  the  side  of  development  and  advancement. 


JAMES  M.  CUBBISON. 


.Tamos  M.  Cubbison  was  one  of  tlie  earliest  residents  of  Minnewaukan,  where  he  still 
makes  his  home,  having  arrived  there  prior  to  the  buililing  of  the  railroad  and  before  a  house 
had  been  erected  in  the  town.  In  point  of  length  of  residence  he  is  the  oldest  citizen  there. 
He  was  born  in  New  Castle,  Pennsylvania,  September  7,  1846,  his  parents  being  Uriah  and 
Susan  (Ritchie)  Cubbison,  both  natives  of  the  Keystone  state,  the  former  born  in  Lawrence 
county  and  the  latter  in  Butler  county.     Following  their  marriage  they  resided  in  Lawrence 

Vol    I1I-9 


180  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

county,  where  the  father  worked  at  the  millwright's  trade,  which  he  followed  throughout 
his  active  business  career. 

James  M.  Cubbison  obtained  his  education  in  the  public  schools  of  New  Castle  and  in 
the  Philadelphia  College  of  Pharmacy,  from  which  he  was  graduated  with  the  class  of  1S67. 
He  began  his  preparation  for  the  drug  business  as  an  employe  in  a  drug  store  in  Pittsburg 
and  then  decided  that  college  training  should  further  qualify  him  for  work  of  that  character. 
In  1864  he  left  the  drug  store  where  he  was  employed  to  enlist  as  a  member  of  Company 
H,  Eighty-seventh  Pennsylvania  Volunteer  Infantrj',  and  was  assigned  to  duty  as  a  hospital 
steward,  in  which  connection  lie  continued  until  the  close  of  the  war.  He  then  returned 
home  and  it  was  subsequent  to  that  time  that  he  attended  the  college  of  pharmacy.  In 
1866  he  secured  a  clerkship  in  a  drug  store  in  Oil  City,  Pennsylvania,  and  for  two  years 
thereafter  was  a  pharmacist  of  Akron,  Ohio.  He  then  returned  to  his  old  home  in  the 
Keystone  state  and  from  1868  until  1883  was  engaged  in  the  drug  business  on  his  own 
account  in  !^ew-  Castle,  Pennsylvania. 

The  year  1883  witnessed  the  arrival  of  Mr.  Cubbison  in  North  Dakota,  at  which  time 
he  took  up  his  abode  in  Minnew'aukan.  On  the  4th  of  June,  1884,  the  count}'  was  organized 
and  he  was  appointed  the  first  county  register  of  deeds,  to  which  office  he  was  afterward 
regularly  elected  until  he  had  occupied  that  position  for  ten  consecutive  years.  In  18'J4  he 
engaged  in  the  drug  business,  which  he  conducted  for  fifteen  j-ears,  selling  out  his  store 
in  1909.  In  the  meantime,  or  in  1897,  he  had  been  appointed  postmaster  of  Minnewaukan  and 
occupied  that  position  continuously  until  1914,  when  he  was  removed  to  make  way  for  the  only 
democrat  in  the  town. 

In  1887  Mr.  Cubbison  was  joined  in  wedlock  to  Miss  Mary  Holland,  of  New  Castle, 
J'ennsj'lvania,  by  whom  he  has  one  daughter,  Susan,  the  wife  of  H.  H.  Hurning,  of  Jamestown, 
North  Dakota,  and  the  mother  of  a  son,  Harry.  Mrs.  Cubbison  is  a  member  of  the  Catholic 
church. 

Fraternally  Mr.  Cubbison  is  a  Mason,  belonging  to  Minnewaukan  Lodge,  No.  46,  A.  F.  & 
A.  M. ;  Leeds  Chapter,  No.  20  R.  A.  M. ;  Cyrene  Commandery,  No.  7,  K.  T.  He  is  also  a 
member  of  Jamestown  Lodge,  No.  995,  B.  P.  0.  E.;  the  Ancient  Order  of  United  Workmen; 
and  J.  J.  Crittenden  Post,  No.  31,  G.  A.  R.  Through  his  connection  with  the  last  named 
organization  he  maintains  pleasant  relations  with  his  old  army  comrades  and  delights  in 
meeting  with  the  "boys  in  blue."  He  has  always  been  interested  in  the  cause  of  education  and 
for  several  years  served  as  a  member  of  the  school  board  of  Miijnewaukan.  His  long 
residence  in  Benson  county  and  his  active  connection  with  public  affairs  have  brought  him  a 
wide  acquaintance  and  the  sterling  traits  which  he  has  displayed  in  every  relation  of  life 
have  firmly  established  him  in  the  goodwill  and  confidence  of  his  fellowmen. 


J.  DWIGHT  HARGREAVES. 


J.  Dwight  Hargreaves,  owner  and  editor  of  the  Dunseith  Magnet,  published  at  Dunseith, 
Rolette  county,  has  in  this  connection  a  finely  equipped  printing  oflice  and  is  issuing  a  paper 
that  would  be  a  credit  to  a  place  of  much  larger  size.  Mr.  Hargi-eaves  was  born  in  Houston 
county,  Minnesota,  February  5,  1870,  and  is  a  son  of  Mark  and  Elizabeth  (Ostrander) 
Hargreaves,  who  were  natives  of  England  and  New  York  respectively.  In  1846  tlie  father 
removed  to  Houston  county,  Minnesota,  in  company  with  his  parents,  when  a  little  lad  of  but 
seven  years.  He  afterward  worked  as  a  farm  hand  and  also  took  up  a  homestead,  which  he 
cultivated  and  improved  until  after  the  outbreak  of  the  Civil  war.  He  then  put  aside  all 
business  and  personal  considerations  and  enlisted  in  response  .to  the  call  of  the  Union  as  a 
member  of  the  First  Wisconsin  Battery  of  Light  Artillery.  With  that  command  he 
served  for  four  years  and  then  returned  to  his  home  in  Houston  county,  Minnesota,  after 
which  he  engaged  in  farming  until  1872.  In  that  year  he  was  elected  county  slieriff  and 
occupied  the  position  for  six  years,  being  reelected  as  the  result  of  the  capable  and  faithful 
manner  in  which  he  discharged  his  duties.  He  then  returned  to  Hokah,  Minnesota,  where 
lie  was  justice  of  the  peace,  and  in  1886  he  established  the  Hokah  Sun,  a  weekly  paper 
which   he  continued  to  publish  until  1903.     He  then  retired  from  active  business  life  and 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  181 

spent  his  remaining  days  in  well  earned  rest,  passing  away  in  July,  1914,  while  his  wife 
died  in  1900.  Htlr.  Hargreaves'  grandfather  on  his  mother's  side,  Hiram  Ostrandcr,  was 
also  in  the  newspaper  business  and  at  one  time  was  associated  with  his  brother-in-law, 
Thurlow  Weed,  in  the  publication  of  the  Albany  (N.  Y.)  Journal,  but  in  1S56  moved  to  the 
then  frontier  town  of  La  Ciosse,  Wisconsin,  where  lie  was  interested  in  a  paper.  In  1858 
lie  moved  to  Hokali,  Jliiniesota,  and  established  tlio  Hokah  Chief,  which  he  continued  to 
publish  till  after  the  close  of  the  war. 

J.  Ihvight  Hargreaves  was  reared  at  Hokah,  Jlinuesota,  and  in  the  public  schools  there 
obtained  his  education,  after  which  he  learned  the  printing  trade  in  his  fathers  oHice.  He 
was,  as  it  were,  "to  the  manner  born,"  being  connected  with  the  business  through  environment 
and  training  from  early  boyhood.  He  was  employed  at  different  times  as  a  printer  in 
Chicago,  St.  Louis,  Denver  and  Des  Moines,  spending  ten  years  in  the  last  mentioned  city. 
Ht  then  purchased  a  newspaper  plant  at  Colo,  Iowa,  which  he  conducted  for  three  years, 
and  in  1913  he  removed  to  Spooner,  Wisconsin,  where  he  established  the  Washburn  County 
Republican,  which  he  conducted  for  a  year.  He  next  removed  to  St.  John,  North  Dakota, 
and  for  a  year  and  a  half  was  engaged  in  the  publication  of  the  St.  John  Leader,  wliich 
he  established  in  191o.  In  September,  1915,  he  went  to  Dunseith  and  purchased  the 
Dunseith  Magnet,  which  he  has  since  owned  and  edited.  He  now  has  a  splendidly  equipped 
newspaper  plant  supplied  with  a  linotype  machine  which  is  the  only  one  in  Rolette  county, 
and  he  does  excellent  job  work  as  well  as  newspaper  printing. 

On  the  25th  of  June,  1904,  Mr.  Hargreaves  was  married  to  Miss  Mary  Forney  and  they 
liave  become  parents  of  three  children,  namely:  Donald,  who  was  born  December  35,  1905; 
Elizabeth,  whose  natal  day  was  January  11,  1911;  and  Helen  whose  birth  occurred  May  24, 
1912.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Hargreaves  attend  the  Methodist  church  and  take  an  active  interest  in 
its  work.  Politically  he  is  a  republican  and  at  the  present  time  is  filling  the  office  of  justice 
of  the  peace,  in  which  connection  he  renders  decisions  that  are  strictly  fair  and  impartial, 
basing  his  judgment  upon  the  law  and  tlie  equity  in  the  case. 


OLE  HOFF. 

Ole  HolT,  proprietor  of  a  photographic  gallery  in  Grand  Forks,  in  connection  with  which 
he  displays  much  artistic  ability,  received  his  initial  training  along  that  line  in  his  native 
country  of  Norway.  He  was  born  at  Solor,  Norway,  .January  3,  1886,  a  son  of  Christian  and 
Maren  (Sletten)  Hoff,  who  were  also  natives  of  that  country,  where  they  still  reside  at  the 
ages  of  sixty-six  and  si.xty-five  years  respectively.  The  father  has  always  followed  farming 
as  a  life  work.  In  their  family  were  four  children:  Thorwald,  a  resident  of  British  Columbia; 
Olea,  who  is  with  her  parents;  Ole;  and  Karen,  a  resident  of  Christiania,  Norway. 

In  his  youthful  days  Ole  Hoff  attended  the  public  schools  of  his  native  country  and 
afterward  entered  upon  an  apprenticeship  to  a  photograplier  of  Christiania.  After  completing 
his  term  of  indenture  he  worked  at  his  trade  in  Norway  until  1906,  when  he  came  to  the 
new  world  and  made  his  way  to  Minneapolis,  where  he  was  employed  in  the  line  of  his 
chosen  art  for  two  years.  In  1908  he  came  to  Grand  Forks,  where  he  was  employed  in  a 
photographic  gallery  for  two  years.  In  1911  he  opened  his  present  studio  and  from  the 
beginning  the  business  has  enjoyed  a  steady  and  continuous  growth,  so  that  he  has  today 
one  of  the  leading  photographic  establishments  in  his  section  of  the  state.  He  does 
excellent  work,  recognizing  the  value  of  light  and  shade  and  of  posing.  He  has  the 
reputation  of  taking  pictures  which  are  most  natural  and  lifelike  and  his  excellent  work 
has  brcniglit  him  a  liberal  patronage. 

On  the  25th  of  June,  1908,  Mr.  HofI  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Thora  Olsen,  of 
Minneapolis,  a  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Nicholas  Olsen,  who  became  residents  of  Wilton, 
North  Dakota,  but  the  father  is  now  in  Alaska.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Hofl'  have  two  children: 
Elsa,  who  was  born  in  Minneapolis,  July  29,  1909;  and  Thora,  who  was  born  in  Grand 
Forks,  May  25,  1911.     Both  are  attending  school. 

The  parents  are  members  of  the  Lutheran  church  and  Mr.  HofT  also  has  membership  wilhi 
the  Sons  of  Norway  and  with  the  Knights  of  Pythias.     1 1  politics  he  maintains  an  independent 


182  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

course  and  he  coneentiates  his  energies  upon  business  ail'airs,  the  honors  and  emoluments  of 
public  oilice  having  no  attraction  for  him.  He  is  in  sympathy,  however,  with  all  progressive 
movements  for  the  public  good.  His  energy  and  diligence  have  brought  him  advancement  in 
business  and  he  keeps  in  close  touch  with  the  latest  and  most  improved  photographic 
processes. 


BERT  A.  BEESEE. 


B.  A.  Bresee,  engaged  in  the  undertaking  business  in  Grand  Forks,  was  born  in  Sac 
countj',  Iowa,  October  31,  1887,  a  son  of  Albert  and  Henrietta  (Pierce)  Bresee,  both  of  whom 
were  natives  of  the  state  of  New  York  but  in  early  life  became  residents  of  Iowa.  The 
father  removed  to  that  state  after  living  for  a  time  in  Illinois,  where  for  many  years  he 
has  engaged  in  the  contracting  business.  He  is  now  si.xty-eight  years  old  while  his  wife 
has  reached  the  age  of  fifty-six  years.  In  their  family  were  five  children,  of  whom  B.  A. 
is  the  youngest.  Two  of  the  number  have  passed  away  and  the  others  are:  VV.  Bresee,  of 
Illinois;  and  D.  Bresee,  living  in  Missouri. 

In  his  youthful  days  Mr.  Bresee  attended  scliool  in  Iowa  and  in  Illinois  and  continued 
his  education  in  the  Sac  County  Institute.  He  nest  started  out  in  the  business  world  in 
connection  with  the  furniture  and  undertaking  business  at  Sac  City,  Iowa,  where  he 
remained  for  a  short  period.  He  then  went  to  Des  Moines,  Iowa,  where  he  pursued  post 
graduate  work  in  undertaking  and  embalming,  and  later  removed  to  Lincoln,  Kansas, 
where  he  conducted  an  undertaking  establishment  until  1908.  The  succeeding  two  years 
were  spent  at  Britton,  South  Dakota,  and  in  1910  he  arrived  in  Grand  Forks,  where  he 
o])ened  an  undertaking  establishment  that  is  today  one  of  the  leading  business  interests  of 
the  kind  in  his  section  of  the  state.  He  is  now  vice  president  of  the  North  Dakota  State 
Funeral  Directors  Association  and  is  chairman  of  its  legislative  committee. 

On  the  20th  of  October,  1910,  Mr.  Bresee  was  married  at  Britton,  South  Dakota,  to  Miss 
Sadie  S.  Jones,  a  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  E.  0.  Jones,  of  Britton.  Fraternally  he  is 
connected  with  the  Knights  of  Pythias  and  with  the  Benevolent  Protective  Order  of  Elks 
and  his  political  allegiance  is  given  to  the  republican  party.  He  is  very  popular,  having  a 
host  of  warm  friends  throughout  both  North  and  South  Dakota,  and  in  Grand  F'orks,  where 
he  is  particularly  well  known,  he  is  spoken  of  in  terms  of  high  regard. 


HERMAN  RABE. 


Herman  Ealie,  proprietor  of  the  Dickinson  Bottling  Works  at  Dickinson.  Stark  county, 
was  born  in  Germany  in  1869.  the  seventh  in  order  of  birth  in  a  family  of  eiglit  children, 
although  only  two  are  now  living.  His  parents  were  Fred  and  Charlotte  Rahe.  both  natives 
of  Germany,  whence  they  came  to  the  United  States  in  1874,  settling  at  Howard  Lake, 
Minnesota,  where  they  cast  in  their  lot  with  the  pioneer  residents.  The  fathci-,  who 
had  been  a  merchant  of  Germany,  took  up  the  occupation  of  farming  in  Minnesota  and 
in  that  state  his  death  occurred.  His  widow  afterward  removed  to  Dickinson,  North 
Dakota,  where  her  last  days  were  spent. 

Herman  Eabe  was  a  little  lad  of  but  five  years  when  lie  left  the  fatherland.  In  the 
schools  of  Minnesota  he  acquired  his  education  and  upon  his  father's  farm  in  that  state  he 
remained  imtil  he  attained  his  majority.  In  April,  1904,  he  arrived  in  Dickinson,  where 
he  purchased  the  bottlinf;  works  which  he  has  since  owned  and  managed,  building  up  a 
business  of  substantial  and  gratifying  proportions.  This  is  the  only  enterprise  of  the  kind 
west  of  the  Missouri  river  in  North  Dakota  and  his  trade  now  covers  a  wide  territory. 
He  has  been  engaged  in  this  business  for  the  past  twelve  years  and  his  extensive  patronage 
makes  the  undertaking  a  profitable  concern.  He  is  also  interested  to  some  extent  in  real 
estate. 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  183 

In  1897  Mr.  Eabe  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Adina  Uecker,  who  was  born  in 
Jlinnosota,  a  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Jlrs.  Otto  Uecker,  who  were  natives  of  Germany  but 
became  early  residents  of  IMinnesota,  where  they  still  make  their  home.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Babe 
have  become  the  parents  of  six  children,  Willie,  Lydia,  Albert,  Hugo,  Walter  and  Arthur. 

In  politics  Jlr.  Rabe  maintains  an  independent  attitude,  voting  according  to  the  dictates 
of  his  judgment.  He  has  served  as  alderman  of  the  fourth  ward  of  Dickinson  and  he  is 
always  interested  in  affairs  relating  to  the  welfare  and  progress  of  tlie  community.  He 
belongs  to  both  the  Masonic  and  Elks  lodges  of  Dickinson  and  is  a  member  of  the  Lxitheran 
churcli.  Practically  all  of  his  life  has  been  spent  in  the  west  and  the  spirit  of  western 
enterprise  and  progress  has  actuated  him  at  every  point  in  his  career  and  enabled  him  to 
gain  the  present  creditable  position  which  he  now  occupies  as  a  leading  business  man  of 
Stark  county. 


THOMAS  SEABORN,  Jr. 


Thomas  Seaborn,  Jr.,  is  proprietor  of  one  of  the  mercantile  establishments  of  Wood- 
worth,  conducting  a  general  store  in  which  he  carries  a  good  line  and  puts  forth  every 
effort  to  please  his  patrons.  A  native  of  Illinois,  he  was  born  at  Virden  in  1873,  a  son 
of  Thomas  and  Emma  (Worthington)  Seaborn,  both  of  whom  are  natives  of  Hereford, 
England.  They  were  there  reared  and  following  their  marriage  they  came  to  the  new 
world,  crossing  the  Atlantic  in  1870,  which  year  witnessed  their  arrival  at  Virden.  In 
that  locality  the  father  engaged  in  raising  and  feeding  cattle,  becoming  recognized  as 
an  autliority  upon  various  subjects  connected  with  the  business.  His  interests  were  most 
carefully  and  wisely  managed  and  thereby  he  won  a  large  fortune.  He  and  his  wife 
are  now  living  at  Farmersville,  Illinois,  and  he  has  retired  from  active  business,  enjoying  in 
well  earned  rest  the  fruits  of  his  former  toil. 

Thomas  Seaborn,  the  second  of  a  family  of  seven  children,  six  of  whom  survive, 
entered  the  public  schools  of  Virden,  Illinois,  at  the  usual  age  and  was  qualified  for  life's 
practical  and  responsible  duties  by  his  thorough  training  there.  He  early  became  familiar 
with  the  various  branches  of  farm  work  and  continued  to  give  his  attention  to  general 
agricultural  pursuits  until  he  was  twenty-eight  years  of  age,  but  in  the  meantime  he  had 
learned  the  blacksmith's  trade  and  when  in  1900  he  came  to  North  Dakota  he  established  a 
bla.ksmith  shop  at  Seaborn,  which  he  conducted  in  connection  with  ranching  and  cattle 
raising.  Later  he  established  a  general  store  and  began  dealing  in  real  estate,  at  the 
same  time  continuing  in  the  cattle  industry,  while  a  portion  of  his  attention  was  still 
directed  to  general  merchandising  and  blacksmitliing.  He  freighted  all  of  his  supplies  and 
stock  from  Edmunds  and  Carrington.  His  nearest  neighbor  at  that  time  was  four  miles 
distant  and  those  who  lived  closest  to  him  were  ranchers  and  cattle  men.  He  became  an 
extensive  cattle  dealer  of  Stutsman  county,  building  up  the  business  to  enormous  proportions. 
Various  interests  and  occupations  continued  to  claim  the  attention  of  Mr.  Seaborn  until  1914 
and  in  the  conduct  of  his  real  estate  affairs  he  acquired  property  until  he  was  the  owner 
of  three  sections  of  land,  but  gi'adually  he  disposed  of  that  and  invested  his  money  in  his 
mercantile  stock  and   in  other  ways. 

In  1911.  after  disposing  of  his  interests  at  Seaborn.  Jlr.  Seaborn  removed  to  Woodwortli, 
where  he  established  a  store,  carrying  a  complete  line  of  general  merchandise,  including 
furniture.  In  connection  therewith  he  handles  implements,  having  the  agency  for  the 
International  Harvester  Company,  and  keeping  on  hand  at  all  times  a  complete  line  of 
farm  machinery.  He  likewise  deals  in  hardware  and  he  handles  automobiles,  having  the 
agency  for  the  Ford  and  Studebaker  cars  and  wagons.  In  a  word,  he  is  ready  to  supply  the 
needs  and  demands  of  the  community  along  many  lines  and  his  business  interests  arc  most 
wisely  and  honorably  conducted.  He  has  ever  recognized  the  fact  thAt  satisfied  patrons 
are  the  best  advertisement  and  he  has  endeavored  to  please,  his  reasonable  prices,  courteous 
treatment  and  enterprising  methods  securing  for  him  a  business  which  is  now  large  and  grati- 
fying. In  fact  he  has  one  of  the  most  extensive  general  stores  of  the  county,  his  sales 
amounting  to  about  fifty  thousand  dollars  per  year — a  fact  which  needs  no  comment, 
as  it  speaks  for  itself. 


184  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

In  1895  Mr.  Seaborn  was  married  to  Miss  Clara  Case,  who  was  born  at  Thomasville, 
Illinois,  in  1S74,  a  daughter  of  Loren  and  Mary  Case,  both  of  whom  are  now  deceased. 
Mr.  and  Mrs.  Seaborn  have  become  parents  of  four  children :  Howard,  wlio  was  born  in 
1897;  Irene,  born  in  1899;  Clarence,  in  1901;  and  Thomas,  in  1905. 

Mr.  Seaborn  gives  his  political  support  to  the  republican  party.  His  religious  faith 
is  that  of  the  Episcopal  church,  while  his  wife  holds  membership  in  the  Baptist  church.  He 
is  identified  with  the  Masons  and  also  with  the  Woodmen  and  his  interest  in  the  cause  of 
public  education  Avas  manifest  in  his  service  as  school  director.  He  stands  for  those 
things  which  are  most  worth  while  in  the  life  of  the  community  and  in  matters  of  civic 
welfare  is  never  content  to  choose  the  second  best.  He  does  not  seek  office,  for  he  feels  that 
his  time  is  fully  taken  up  by  his  business  affairs  and  in  a  short  space  of  time  he  has 
developed  a  notably  successful  commercial  enterprise.  He  has  a  fine  store  and  it  is  to  such 
men  as  Mr.  Seaborn  that  the  state  owes  its  rapid  development,  his  course  being  at  all 
times  such  as  commends  him  to  the  conBdence  and  goodwill  of  the  general  public. 


W.  L.  WILDER. 


W.  L.  Wilder  was  born  in  St.  Taul,  Minnesota,  in  June,  1858,  a  son  of  S.  and  Emma 
(Howe)  Wilder,  natives  of  Massachusetts  and  of  Maine  respectively.  In  1850  the  father 
removed  to  the  west,  settling  at  St.  Paul,  where  he  became  an  accountant.  He  afterward 
abandoned  that  profession,  however,  and  engaged  in  farming  near  St.  Paul.  Subsequently 
he  removed  to  California  and  passed  away  in  San  Francisco  in  1910,  the  death  of  his  v.ife 
occurring  in  the  same  year. 


HARRY  McPHERSON. 


Important  business  interests  are  conducted  by  Harry  McPherson,  whose  success  is 
the  legitimate  and  logical  outcome  of  earnest  purpose  intelligently  directed.  He  makes 
his  home  at  St.  John,  Rolette  county,  and  has  been  a  very  active  factor  in  the  business 
development  of  that  section  of  the  state.  He  was  born  at  Norham,  in  eastern  Canada, 
February  2,  1865,  a  son  of  Joseph  and  Ann  Jane  (Galbraith)  McPherson,  who  were  natives 
of  Canada  and  of  Ireland  respectively.  The  father's  parents  were  old  empire  loyalists. 
Joseph  McPherson  learned  the  carriage  maker's  trade,  which  he  followed  in  Canada  for 
many  years.  Ultimately  he  retired  from  business  and  in  1911  removed  to  Langdon,  North 
Dakota,  where  he  spent  his  remaining  days,  there  passing  away  in  September,  1913. 
He  had  long  survived  his  wife,  who  died  in  1876. 

Harry  McPherson  was  reared  and  educated  in  Canada  and  on  starting  out  in  life 
secured  a  clerkship  in  a  general  store.  For  five  years  he  was  employed  in  one  establish- 
ment, a  fact  indicative  of  his  faithfulness  and  capability.  On  the  expiration  of  that 
period  he  removed  to  Michigan,  where  he  worked  for  a  short  time  and  then  removed  to 
Canada.  A  year  later,  however,  he  became  a  resident  of  Langdon,  North  Dakota,  where 
he  resided  for  three  years  and  then  went  to  St.  Paul,  where  he  conducted  a  confectionery 
business  for  six  months.  Later  he  again  went  to  Langdon  and  filed  on  land  two  and  a  half 
miles  southwest  of  the  town.  With  characteristic  energy  he  bega,n  the  development  and 
cultivation  of  the  place  and  continued  to  operate  the  farm  for  seven  years,  at  the  end  of 
which  time  he  sold  out.  He  then  again  took  up  his  abode  in  Langdon,  where  he  built  a 
home  and  for  a  time  engaged  in  handling  horses.  In  1905  he  removed  to  St.  John,  Rolette 
county,  where  he'  established  a  general  merchandise  store,  since  which  time  he  has 
conducted  the  business,  enjoying  a  liberal  patronage  and  making  his  store  one  of  the  lead- 
ing commercial  enterprises  of  the  county.  He  also  handles  horses,  which  constitutes  an 
important  branch  of  his  business,  and  he  likewise  deals  in  real  estate.  He  owns  seven 
hundred  and  sixteen  acres  of  land  in  Rolette  county,  which  he  operated  as  a  stock  ranch 
until   the   fall   of  1916,  when  he  rented   the   place.     He  is  a   stockholder  in  the  Home  Oil 


HARRY  MCPHERSON 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  187 

Company  of  Devils  Lake  and  St.  John.  He  also  owns  considerable  town  property  and 
scarcely  a  day  goes  by  that  he  does  not  make  some  kind  of  a  land  deal.  The  extent  and 
importance  of  his  business  interests  make  him  one  of  the  foremost  citizens  of  the  county. 

On  the  14th  of  August,  1895,  Mr.  McPherson  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Ella 
Gibson,  a  daughter  of  Thomas  and  Mary  Jane  (Brown)  Gibson,  who  were  natives  of 
Canada.  The  father  followed  farming  in  that  country  until  1884,  when  he  removed  to 
Pembina  county,  North  Dakota,  where  he  took  up  a  homestead  which  he  improved  and 
developed,  residing  thereon  until  the  death  of  his  wife  in  1887.  He  then  retired  from  farm- 
ing and  returned  to  Canada,  where  he  spent  his  remaining  days,  passing  away  in  1910. 
To  Mr.  and  Mrs.  McPherson  have  been  born  three  children:  Ethel  Edna,  who  was  born  in 
1896  and  is  now  attending  school  at  Valley  City,  North  Dakota;  Stella  May,  born  in  July, 
1898;  and  Jennie  Louise,  born  in  June,  1904. 

In  politics  Mr.  McPherson  maintains  an  independent  course,  voting  according  to  the 
capability  of  the  candidates.  He  has  served  as  chairman  of  the  town  board  of  St.  John 
and  also  as  chairman  of  the  school  board.  His  wife's  religious  faith  is  that  of  the  Metho- 
dist church.  His  life  has  ever  been  guided  by  high  and  honorable  principles,  his  many 
substantial   qualities   being   of   a   pronounced  character. 


JOHN  F.  McPIKE. 


.John  F.  McPike,  postmaster  of  Cando,  to  which  position  he  was  appointed  in  the 
spring  of  1916,  was  born  in  Mapes,  Nelson  county.  North  Dakota,  in  October,  18S5,  a  son 
of  .J.  H.  and  Ada  L.  (Briggs)  McPike,  both  of  whom  were  natives  of  Missouri.  Coming  to 
North  Dakota,  they  settled  in  Nelson  county  in  1883  and  for  two  years  the  father  engaged 
in  farming  there.  He  next  became  a  resident  of  Towner  count}-,  where  he  filed  on  land 
and  developed  and  improved  a  farm.  To  his  original  holdings  he  added  from  time  to  time, 
making  judicious  investments  in  property  until  he  is  now  the  owner  of  nine  quarter  sections. 
He  hires  men  to  farm  the  land  while  he  lives  in  Cando,  merely  giving  his  supervision  to  his 
property,  while  he  enjoys  a  rest  that  he  has  truly  earned  and  richly  deserves. 

■John  F.  McPike  was  reared  and  educated  in  Towner  county  and  remained  with  his 
parents  until  he  reached  the  age  of  twenty-three  years.  After  pursuing  a  commercial 
course  in  the  Gem  City  Business  College  at  Quincy,  Illinois,  he  engaged  in  keeping  books 
for  a  time  and  then  began  farming  on  his  own  account  on  rented  land,  which  he  operated 
for  eight  years.  In  the  spring  of  1916  he  was  appointed  postmaster  of  Cando,  in  which 
capacity  he  is  now  serving.  In  1914  he  was  the  candidate  on  the  democratic  ticket  for  the 
ortice  of  county  register  of  deeds  but  was  defeated. 

In  January,  1909,  Mr.  McPike  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Bessie  Mulheim,  of 
Bowling  Green,  Missouri,  and  to  them  has  been  bom  a  son.  Jack  V.,  whose  birth  occurred 
in  June,  1912.  Mr.  McPike  is  a  worthy  representative  of  the  Masonic  fraternity  and  also 
of  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows,  while  his  religious  faith  is  that  of  the  Presbyterian 
church.  Practically  his  entire  life  has  been  passed  in  Towner  county  and  tliat  his  career 
has  ever  been  an  honorable  and  upright  one  is  indicated  in  the  fact  that  many  of  his 
stanchest  friends  are  those  who  have  known  him  from  his  boyhood  to  the  present. 


ROBERT  WAAG. 


Robert  Waag.  president  of  the  Farmers  State  Bank  of  Petersburg,  belongs  to  that  class  of 
industrious,  enterprising  citizens  that  Norway  has  furnished  to  North  Dakota.  He  was 
born  October  12,  1865,  in  Aalesund,  Norway,  and  his  father,  Nels  Waag,  is  still  living  in  that 
locality,  where  for  many  years  he  carried  on  farming,  his  labors  resulting  in  the  attainment  of 
profits  that  now  enable  him  to  live  retired.  He  married  Berte  Ous,  who  was  born  in  that 
country  and  died  in  1910,  at  the  age  of  eighty-six  years. 

Through  the  period  of  his  minority  Robert  Waag  remained   a   resident   of   his   native 


188  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

country  but  in  1887,  when  in  liis  twentj'-second  year,  came  to  the  United  States  with  the 
territory  of  Dakota  as  his  destination.  He  made  his  way  direct  to  Petersburg,  becoming 
one  of  the  first  settlers  of  that  place,  and  for  about  five  years  thereafter  engaged  in  farming 
in  the  employ  of  others.  During  that  time  he  also  improved  his  opportunities  to  further 
his  education  and  from  1893  until  1897  attended  the  Aaberg  Academy  at  Devils  Lake  and 
the  Minnesota  Normal  and  Business  College  at  Minneapolis.  When  his  textbooks  were 
put  aside  he  entered  upon  the  field  of  education  as  a  teacher.  Returning  to  Nelson  county, 
he  taught  school  for  five  years  and  displayed  marked  talent  in  imparting  clearly  and 
readily  to  others  the  knowledge  that  he  had  acquired.  He  then  took  up  farming  en  his  own 
own  account  and  devoted  his  undivided  attention  to  general  agricultural  pursuits  for  five 
years.  In  the  fall  of  1907  he  became  interested  in  the  Farmers  State  Bank,  was  chosen  to 
the  presidency  of  that  institution  and  has  since  been  active  in  directing  its  upbuilding  and 
development.  It  is  conducted  according  to  thoroughly  modern  banking  methods  and  every- 
thing possible  is  done  to  accommodate  patrons  in  extending  liberal  credit,  yet  never  to  the 
point  of  jeopardizing  the  interests  of  depositors. 

On  the  26th  of  January,  1910,  at  Petersburg,  North  Dakota,  Mi-.  Waag  was  married 
to  Miss  Christina  Reiten,  a  native  of  Norway  and  a  daughter  of  Knuto  and  Ane  Reiten, 
the  father  now  deceased,  while  the  mother  is  still  living.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Waag  have  two 
children:     Agnes,  born  in  Petersburg,  March  25,  1911;  and  Norman  B.,  born  January  30,  1913. 

In  politics  Mr.  Waag  is  independent,  voting  according  to  the  dictates  of  his  judgment 
with  little  regard  for  party  ties.  He  belongs  to  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows,  the 
Sons  of  Norway  and  to  the  Commercial  Club,  and  the  rules  which  govern  his  conduct  are 
further  indicated  in  his  membership  in  the  Lutheran  church.  North  Dakota  has  always 
received  his  stalwart  allegiance  since  he  became  a  resident  of  the  state,  and  with  the  passing 
years  he  has  contributed  in  substantial  measure  to  the  development  and  upbuilding  of 
the  district  in  whicli  he  makes  his  home. 


JOHN   F.   ROBINSON. 


John  F.  Robiuson,  president  of  the  First  National  Bank  at  Steele,  which  institution 
has  made  an  excellent  showing  by  reason  of  the  safe  conservative  business  policy  inaugurated 
and  maintained,  was  born  in  Lansing,  Minnesota,  January  16,  1875,  his  parents  being  J. 
E.  and  Elizabeth  Robinson.  With  the  removal  of  the  family  to  Austin,  Jlinnesota,  he 
pursued  liis  education  in  the  public  schools  there,  passing  through  consecutive  grades 
to  his  graduation  from  the  high  school.  He  started  out  in  the  business  world  in  connection 
with  banking,  securing  the  position  of  messenger  in  the  Austin  National  Bank,  with  which 
he  was  connected  for  eight  years,  having  been  advanced  to  the  position  of  teller  ere  he  left 
that  institution.  He  then  removed  to  Steele  in  1898  and  organized  the  Kidder  County 
State  Bank  with  a  capital  stock  of  five  thousand  dollars.  He  became  cashier  of  the  new 
institution,  with  Dr.  A.  M.  Lewis,  of  Austin,  Minnesota,  as  president,  and  his  father, 
J.  E.  Robinson,  as  vice  president.  In  1902  John  F.  Robinson  purchased  the  interest  of 
Dr.  Lewis  and  became  president,  while  F.  D.  Jones  was  made  cashier.  In  the  meantime 
the  capital  stock  of  the  bank  had  been  increased  to  ten  thousand  dollars  and  in  1907  the 
institution  was  converted  into  the  First  National  Bank  of  Steele,  while  the  capital  stock  was 
increased  to  twenty-five  thousand  dollars.  Upon  the  reorganization  John  F.  Robinson  became 
president,  John  C.  Taylor  vice  president  and  F.  D.  Jones  cashier,  all  of  whom  continue  in 
their  respective  offices  and,  together  with  L.  Dornacker  and  A.  R.  Robinson,  constitute  the 
board  of  directors.  The  bank's  statement  shows  the  business  to  be  in  excellent  condition. 
It  has  a  surplus  of  fifteen  thousand  dollars,  while  its  deposits  amount  to  more  than  two 
hundred  thousand  dollars  and  its  loans  and  discounts  to  about  one  hundred  and  seventy-five 
thousand  dollars.  A  general  banking  business  is  conducted  and  the  methods  of  the  house 
ensure  its  continued  safe  existence,  for  its  progressiveness  is  wisely  tempered  by  conservatism. 
Mr.  Robinson  is  also  interested  in  farming  in  Kidder  county,  but  the  greater  part  of  his 
attention  is  given  to  the  bank,  the  subsidiary  interests  of  which  are  the  First  State  Bank 
of  Tuttle,  established  in  1912,  and  the  Farmers  State  Bank  of  Dawson,  established  in  1916. 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  189 

In  1899  l[r.  Robinson  was  married  to  Miss  Althea  R.  Richards,  who  was  born  near 
Pepin,  Wisconsin,  and  they  have  two  children,  Isabelle  and  Lyman,  both  at  home.  Mr. 
Robinson  is  an  exemplary  representative  of  the  ilasonic  fraternity,  his  membership  being 
in  the  lodge  at  Steele,  and  he  also  belongs  to  the  Knights  of  Pythias  lodge  at  Steele,  of  which 
he  is  a  past  chancellor,  and  to  the  Elks  lodge  at  .Jamestown.  He  exercises  his  right  of 
franchise  in  support  of  the  men  and  measures  of  the  republican  party  but  has  had  neither  the 
time  nor  the  inclination  to  seek  public  office,  preferring  to  concentrate  his  energies  upon 
his  developing  business  interests,  which  have  brought  him  to  a  creditable  position  in  the 
financial  circles  of  his  county. 


BRIDGEMAN-RUSSELL  COMPANY. 

The  Bridgeman-Russell  Company,  butter  and  ice  cream  manufacturers  of  Duluth,  Minne- 
sota, established  a  branch  at  Grand  Forks  April  1,  1916,  with  Roy  F.  Bridgeman  in  charge 
of  the  business,  which  has  steadily  grown  and  prospered.  He  was  born  at  Duluth  in  April, 
1S90,  a  son  of  Henry  and  Charlotte  (Medin)  Bridgeman,  both  of  whom  were  natives  of  Canada 
but  in  early  life  became  residents  of  Minnesota.  Recognizing  the  need  for  the  manufacture 
of  butter  for  the  trade,  Henry  Bridgeman  became  one  of  the  pioneers  in  the  -creamery 
business  and  entered  into  a  partnership  under  the  firm  style  of  the  Bridgeman-Russell 
Company  at  Duluth,  which  is  the  home  of  the  Primus  butter  and  Velvet  ice  cream.  Since 
establishing  the  business  they  have  opened  branch  houses  at  Crookston,  Minnesota,  Sioux 
Falls,  South  Dakota,  Hancock,  Michigan,  and  Grand  Forks,  North  Dakota.  The  business  has 
steadily  developed  under  the  able  guidance  of  the  partners.  Henry  Bridgeman  is  living 
in  Duluth  and  remains  active  in  the  business,  which  has  developed  into  one  of  the  leading 
industries  of  this  great  agricultural  and  cattle  raising  section,  furnishing  a  splendid 
market  for  the  dairymen. 

The  company  at  Duluth,  with  notable  prescience  and  foresight,  recognized  the  advisability 
of  locating  one  of  their  plants  in  North  Dakota.  The  partners  in  the  company  carefully 
studied  the  question  of  location  and  decided  to  open  a  large  output  plant  at  Grand  Forks. 
They  bought  a  site  admirably  adapted  to  their  needs  and  began  the  erection  of  a  modern 
creamery,  which  is  a  model  of  its  kind,  every  precaution  being  taken  to  make  the  establish- 
ment measure  up  to  the  highest  standards.  The  site  chosen  was  at  Ninth  and  University 
streets  on  the  direct  line  of  the  Great  Northern  Railroad,  which  company  ran  a  track 
to  the  jilant  so  as  to  afford  every  facility  for  the  easy  handling  of  the  product  in  shipment. 
The  Bridgeman-Russell  Company  erected  a  two  story  building  of  buff  brick  fifty  by  one 
luindri'd  feet.  The  work  was  begun  in  191.5  and  was  completed  early  in  1916.  Thoroughly 
modern  machinery  was  installed,  consisting  of  two  large  rotary  churns  and  separators  and 
also  the  latest  improved  machinery  for  the  manufacture  of  ice  cream.  In  connection  a  cold 
storage  plant  is  maintained  and  on  the  second  floor  there  are  attractive  offices.  The  question 
of  sanitation  was  made  a  matter  of  the  utmost  importance  in  building  and  equipping  the 
plant  and  upon  its  completion  everything  was  inspected  by  the  state  sanitary  department, 
which  pronounced  it  one  of  the  most  modern  and  perfect  plants  of  the  kind  in  the  state. 
Operations  were  begun  on  the  1st  of  April.  1916,  and  the  plant  has  been  worked  to  its 
capacity  ever  since,  manufacturing  twenty  thousand  pounds  of  the  finest  butter  daily  beside 
two  thousand  gallons  of  ice  cream.  Eggs  and  poultry  are  also  shipped  daily  to  eastern 
markets  and  there  is  a  growing  demand  for  home  consumption.  This  company  turns  out 
what  is  known  to  the  trade  as  Primus  butter  and  Velvet  ice  cream  and  both  names  have 
become  a  synonym  for  excellence  in  their  particular  line  wherever  the  product  has  been 
once  used.  In  the  Grand  Forks  plant  are  found  thirty-five  employes,  -K'ith  an  office  force 
of  ten  expert  stcnogiaphers  and  clerks.  Men  of  broad  experience  are  employed  for  the 
manufacture  of  butter  and  ice  cream  and  two  automobile  trucks  are  used  for  delivery  in 
'Jrand  Forks  and  vicinity.  The  remainder  of  the  product  is  immediately  transferred  to 
waiting  cars  and  shipped  to  eastern  consimiers.  When  it  is  rememborpd  that  this  plant  has 
been  in  existence  for  only  a  few  montlis  its  progress  has  been  most  notable.  Its  splendid 
location,  easy  of  access,  its  sanitary  conditions  and  the  careful  handling  of  the  product  have 


190  HISTORY  OF  XORTH  DAKOTA 

contl-ibuted  to  its  substantial  growth  and  the  business  is  today  a  prosperous  productive 
industry  of  Grand  Forks.  The  growth  of  the  trade  at  this  point  is  largely  due  to  the  efforts 
and  careful  management  of  Eoy  F.  Bridgeman,  who  is  justly  accounted  one  of  the  most 
popular  of  the  young  business  men  of  the  city. 


JOHN  J.  NIERLING. 

John  J.  Nierling,  the  organizer  of  the  Citizens  National  Bank  of  Jamestown  and  its 
president  from  the  beginning,  and  also  president  of  the  First  State  Bank  of  Cleveland, 
North  Dakota,  is  a  resourceful  business  man  ready  to  meet  any  emergency  and  at  all 
times  following  constructive  methods  in  the  conduct  of  his  interests.  For  thirty-eight  years 
he  has  resided  in  Jamestown  and  the  upbuilding  of  his  section  of  the  state  is  attributable  in 
large  measure  to  his  well  defined  purpose  and  unremitting  energy.  He  was  born  in  Lansing, 
Iowa,  July  23,  1856,  and  is  a  son  of  Anton  and  Mary  (Buck)  Nierling.  He  obtained  a  public 
school  education  in  Iowa  and  was  graduated  on  the  completion  of  a  commercial  course 
from  the  Bayless  College  at  Dubuque,  Iowa,  in  1876.  His  early  experiences  were  those  of 
the  farm,  for  he  was  reared  as  a  farm  lad.  However,  he  early  became  connected  with  bank- 
ing, spending  three  years  iii  a  clerical  position  in  a  bank.  He  was  a  young  man  of 
twenty-two  years  when  on  the  13th  of  December,  1878,  he  removed  to  Jamestown,  North 
Dakota,  where  he  has  since  resided.  With  the  passing  years  he  has  become  actively 
and  prominently  connected  with  business  affairs  as  a  dealer  in  lands  and  through  connec- 
tion with  banking  and  gas  companies.  In  1905  he  organized  the  Citizens  National  Bank 
and  has  continuously  served  as  its  president,  shaping  its  policy  and  promoting  its  business. 
He  is  also  president  of  the  First  State  Bank  at  Cleveland,  president  of  the  Jamestown  Gas 
Company  and  a  director  of  the  Midland  Continental  Railroad  Company. 

On"  the  1st  of  January,  1880,  at  Waukon,  Iowa,  Mr.  Nierling  was  united  in  marriage 
to  Miss  Lilian  Spence,  a  daughter  of  George  AV.  Spence.  She  passed  away  in  January, 
1896,  leaving  the  following  children:  Harry  J.;  George  A.;  B.  V.,  who  wedded  Anna  De 
Puy;   J.  J.,  Jr.,  who  married  Miss  Lucile  Corwin;   and  Bessie  G. 

In  his  political  views  Mr.  Nierling  is  an  earnest  republican  and  his  fellow  townsmen 
have  called  him  to  office.  He  served  at  various  times  between  1881  and  1900  as  register  of 
deeds,  as  county  auditor  and  as  county  treasurer  of  Stutsman  county  and  in  1895  he 
became  a  member  of  the  house  of  representatives  for  a  two  year  term.  He  carefully 
considers  all  vital  questions  and  his  influence  is  on  the  side  of  progress,  reform  and 
improvement.  Fraternally  he  is  also  in  a  position  of  recognized  leadership.  He  was 
grand  master  of  the  state  in  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows  in  1898  and  through 
the  succeeding  two  years  was  grand  representative  to  the  sovereign  grand  lodge.  In 
Masonry  he  has  attained  high  rank  and  is  a  Shriner,  while  with  the  Benevolent  Protective 
Order  of  Elks  he  likewise  holds  membership.  His  religious  faith  is  that  of  the  Presby- 
terian church.  His  enviable  standing  in  business  circles  is  indicated  by  the  fact  that  he 
was  chosen  for  the  presidency  of  the  North  Dakota  Bankers'  Association  in  1914-15.  Thus 
Istep  by  step  along  many  lines  he  has  progressed  and  as  he  has  passed  has  left  the 
impress  of  his  individuality  and  ability  upon  the  financial  and  political  history  of  his  state. 


ABRAHAM  KASSIS. 


Abraham  Kassis,  who  is  now  successfully  engaged  in  the  confectionery  business  in 
Williston  and  also  deals  in  real  estate  to  some  extent,  was  born  December  33,  1873,  in 
Zahleh,  district  of  Mount  Lebanon,  Syria,  of  which  country  his  parents.  George  and 
Eegina  (Jaha)  Kassis,  were  also  natives.  The  father  was  engaged  in  business  as  a  merchant 
in  Zahleh,  where  his  death  occurred.  In  1891  the  mother  brought  her  children  to  America 
and  first  located  in  Fargo,  North  Dakota,  but  later  removed  to  Williston,  where  she  passed 
away  in  October,  1913. 


JOHN  J.  ^aERLING 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  193 

Abraham  Kassis  spent  the  first  seventeen  years  of  his  life  in  his  native  land  and  gained 
his  early  business  experience  as  a  clerk  in  his  father's  store  in  Zahleh.  During  his  residence 
in  Fargo  he  was  similarly  employed  for  a  time  and  also  worked  as  a  farm  hand.  In  1893 
he  returned  to  Syria,  where  he  remained  until  after  his  marriage,  but  again  became  a  resident 
of  Fargo,  North  Dakota,  in  1896.  He  did  farm  work  until  the  spring  of  1897,  when  he 
secured  a  homestead  near  Rugby  in  Pierce  county,  and  engaged  in  its  operation  until 
1903,  when  he  established  a  general  store  on  his  farm  and  turned  his  attention  to  merchandise. 
Later  in  the  same  year  he  sold  his  place  and  removed  to  Williston,  where  he  purchased  a 
general  store,  which  he  conducted  until  1904.  On  disposing  of  that  he  and  his  family 
went  to  the  Holy  Land  and  remained  abroad  for  one  year.  In  1906  vre  again  find  him  in 
Williston,  North  Dakota,  wheie  he  engaged  in  general  merchandising  until  1908,  when  he 
established  the  Paris  Confectionery  Store,  which  is  an  up-to-date  candy  store,  modern  in  all 
its  appointments.  He  is  the  owner  of  a  large  amount  of  city  property  in  Williston,  upon 
which  he  erects  liouses  and  then  sells,  and  he  has  a  fine  farm  in  Williams  county,  which  he 
rents. 

After  his  return  to  Syria,  Mr.  Kassis  was  married  in  Zahleh,  July  20,  1895,  to  Miss 
Freda  Shikany,  a  native  of  Bukfeiya,  Syria,  which  was  also  the  birth  place  of  her  parents, 
Tamer  and  Techela  Shikany.  There  her  father  engaged  in  business  as  a  tobacco  merchant 
and  manufacturer  of  cigarettes  for  some  years,  but  he  and  his  wife  are  now  living  in 
Alexandria,  Egypt.  Of  the  ten  children  born  to  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Kassis,  eight  are  living, 
namely:  .Julia,  Mary,  Edna  and  Victoria,  all  born  in  Eugby,  North  Dakota;  Blanche,  born 
in  Alexandria,  Egypt;  and  Thoiiias,  George  and  Monaca,  born  in  Williston,  North  Dakota. 

The  family  are  communicants  of  the  Roman  Catholic  church,  and  Mr.  Kassis  is  a 
member  of  Lodge  No.  1214,  B.  P.  0.  E.,  of  Williston.  and  a  charter  member  of  Williston 
Council,  No.  1798,  Knights  of  Columbus.  He  also  belongs  to  the  Williston  Commercial 
Club.  Although  he  came  to  this  country  empty  handed  he  has  steadily  worked  his  way 
upward  to  success  and  is  now  in  comfortable  circumstances,  due  entirely  to  his  own  industry, 
good  management  and  enterprise.  He  merits  the  high  esteem  in  which  he  is  held  and  he  is 
regarded  as  one  of  the  leading  business  men  of  Williston. 


JAMES   L.   .JOHNSON. 


•Tames  L.  .Johnson  a  merchant  of  York,  was  born  in  West  Virginia,  September  10. 
1860,  a  son  of  Andrew  .Jackson  and  Elizabeth  (Stump)  Johnson,  the  former  a  native  of 
West  Virginia  and  the  latter  of  Germany.  The  father  took  up  the  occupation  of  farming 
as  a  life  work  and  was  engaged  in  general  agricultural  pursuits  in  W>st  Virginia  during 
the  greater  part  of  his  life.     He  passed  away  in  1S74.  while  his  wife  survived  until  1887. 

.Tames  L.  .Johnson,  whose  name  introduces  this  review,  spent  his  boyhood  and  youth 
in  his  native  state,  pursuing  a  public  school  education  and  remaining  with  his  parents  until  he 
attained  his  majority.  In  early  life  he  learned  the  blacksmith's  trade,  which  lie  followed  in 
West  Virginia  until  1884,  but  believing  that  the  district  beyond  the  Mississippi  would 
furnish  better  opportunities  to  an  ambitious  young  man,  he  made  his  way  to  Kansas  when 
twenty-four  years  of  age.  There  he  worked  at  his  trade  from  1884  until  1887  and  in  the  latter 
year  arrived  in  Benson  county.  North  Dakota,  where  he  filed  on  land  a  mile  from  York,  spend- 
ing three  years  in  the  development,  cultivation  and  improvement  of  that  property.  The  town 
of  York  was  established  just  before  his  arrival.  Not  only  did  he  concentrate  his  energies  upon 
farming  but  also  upon  blacksmithing.  conducting  a  shop  at  York  until  1892.  when  he  withdrew 
from  industrial  lines  to  concentrate  his  efforts  upon  commercial  pursuits.  He  opened  a 
general  store  in  York  which  he  has  since  conducted  and  he  today  has  the  largest  stock  of 
goods  in  the  town,  while  his  trade  has  reached  gratifying  proportions.  In  October,  1913, 
he  suffered  losses  through  fire  but  in  the  spring  of  1914  he  erected  a  modern  store  building 
fifty  by  sixty  feet,  in  which  he  now  carries  a  very  attractive  line  of  goods.  He  has  ever 
recognized  the  fact  that  satisfied  patrons  are  the  best  advertisement  and  his  efforts  to  please 
his  customers  have  resulted  in  the  growth  of  his  trade.  He  also  owns  a  nicely  improved 
farm  of  four  hundred  acres  four  miles  southwest  of  York. 


194  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

In  July,  1886,  'Mr.  Jolinson  w;is  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Florence  Bunker  and  to  them 
have  been  born  eight  children:  Thomas  E.,  who  is  now  manager  of  his  father's  store; 
Myrtle,  who  is  a  twin  to  Thomas  and  is  the  wife  of  E.  P.  Bretsch,  a  resident  of  York; 
William  J.,  who  is  employed  by  his  father  in  the  store;  Lilly  and  Fanny,  both  at  home; 
Gretta,  the  wife  of  Clarence  Fullman,  a  farmer  of  Pierce  county;  George,  who  is  in  the 
store;  and  Jay,  at  homo. 

Mr.  Johnson  was  reared  in  the  Baptist  faith,  but  there  is  no  church  of  that  denomination 
in  York,  so  that  he  attends  and  supports  other  denominations  in  the  town.  He  is  well  _ 
known  througli  his  fraternal  relations,  being  a  Scottish  Rite  Mason  and  member  of  the 
Mystic  Shrine,  an  Odd  Fellow  and  member  of  the  Eebckahs  and  also  a  member  of  the 
Ancient  Order  of  United  Workmen  and  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America.  Politically  he 
is  a  democrat  and  for  four  years  he  filled  the  office  of  county  assessor.  He  has  also  filled 
other  local  positions,  such  as  town  treasurer  and  member  of  the  schoolboard  and  he  is 
helpfully  interested  in  all  that  pertains  to  the  work  of  progress  and  improvement,  doing 
everything  in  his  power  to  advance  the  general  good  in  his  community. 


HUGH  EGAN. 


Occupying  a  prominent  position  among  the  foremost  business  men  of  Beach  is  Hugh 
Egan,  president  of  the  Beach  State  Bank  and  also  identified  with  other  financial  institutions 
in  tliis  state.  He  was  born  in  Springfiuld,  Slinnesota,  on  the  22d  of  April.  1883,  and  is  a 
son  of  John  and  .Jolianna  (Callahan)  Egan,  both  natives  of  County  Tipperary,  Ireland, 
though  they  came  separately  to  America  and  were  married  in  New  York.  For  some  time 
they  made  their  home  in  Fond  du  Lac,  Wisconsin,  and  while  there  the  father  enlisted  in  the 
Union  army  during  the  Civil  war,  becoming  a  member  of  the  Twelfth  Wisconsin  Volunteer 
Infantry.  He  was  with  General  Sherman  on  his  drive  to  the  sea,  starting  at  Cairo,  Illinois, 
and  participating  in  the  siege  of  Jacksonville,  Mississippi.  When  hostilities  ceased  and 
his  services  were  no  longer  needed  he  returned  to  his  home  in  Wisconsin  but  in  1865  moved 
farther  west,  taking  up  government  land  near  Springfield,  Minnesota,  where  he  lived  for 
many  years.  There  his  wife  died  in  1888  and  he  continued  there  until  two  years  prior  to  his 
death,  when  he  came  to  Beach,  North  Dakota,  and  passed  away  at  the  home  of  our  subject 
in  1913.  In  his  family  were  nine  children:  Mary,  now  the  wife  of  Thomas  Kane,  of 
Pocatello,  Idaho;  Agnes,  the  widow  of  Edward  Gee  and  a  resident  of  Beach,  North  Dakota; 
Emeline,  the  wife  of  John  Sifert  living  on  a  farm  near  Beach;  Edward,  on  a  farm  near 
Golva,  Golden  Valley  county;  Martin,  Howard,  JI.  C.  and  Hugh,  all  residents  of  Beach, 
North  Dakota;  and  Pierce  E.,  of  Flaxville,  Montana. 

Hugh  Egan  began  his  education  in  the  district  schools  near  Springfield,  Minnesota, 
and  later  attended  high  school  in  Sisseton,  South  Dakota,  where  after  leaving  school  he 
worked  until  1904.  He  then  took  up  a  homestead  near  Tagus  in  Ward  county,  North 
Dakota,  where  he  lived  until  1010.  In  the  meantime  he  and  his  brother  M.  C.  Egan  started 
the  Citizens  State  Bank  of  Tagus,  of  which  the  latter  became  president,  while  our  subject 
served  as  vice  president.  In  connection  with  banking  they  also  engaged  in  the  real  estate 
business  and  in  farming  there  until  1910,  when  they  sold  out  and  removed  to  Beach.  That 
year  they  organized  the  Beach  State  Bank  with  a  capital  of  fifteen  thousand  dollars  and 
from  its  establishment  the  oflicers  have  been  Hugh  Egan.  president:  Louis  Harth.  vice 
president;  Martin  Egan,  cashier;  and  John  McCarthy,  assistant  cashier.  There  is  now  a 
surplus  and  undivided  profits  amounting  to  ten  thousand  dollars,  and  the  deposits  are 
about  one  hundred  and  seventy-five  thousand  dollars.  At  the  beginning  a  small  bank  building 
was  erected  of  brick  and  in  1912  an  addition  was  made,  the  whole  structure  having  cost 
sixteen  thousand  dollars.  It  is  modern  in  equipment  and  is  well  fitted  for  the  purpose  for 
whicli  it  is  intended.  In  connection  with  a  general  banking  business  the  firm  handles  real 
estate  and  loans,  making  a  specialty  of  farm  loans,  in  which  they  have  built  up  an  extensive 
business.  In  1914  Mr.  Egan  of  this  review  went  to  Golva  and  established  the  Security 
State  Bank,  with  a  capital  of  ten  thousand  dollars,  since  serving  as  its  president.     He  is 


HISTORY  OF  XORTII  DAKOTA  195 

also  inteiested  in  farm  lands  in  Golden   Valley  county  and  is  numbered   among  the   most 
substantial  business  men  of  his  section  of  the  state. 

In  religious  faith  Mr.  Egan  is  a  Catholic,  belonging  to  St.  John's  church  of  Beach 
and  the  Knights  of  Columbus  at  Dickinson.  He  is  a  prominent  member  and  a  director  of  the 
Commercial  Club  of  Beach,  cooperating  with  others  in  promoting  J;he  welfare  of  the  town 
along  various  lines.  He  is  public-spirited  and  progi'essive  to  a  marked  degree  and  never 
withholds  his  support  from  any  worthy  enterprise  for  the  advancement  of  his  town  and 
county.  The  position  he  now  occupies  in  business  circles  is  an  enviable  one,  and  his  success 
is  attributable  to  his  own  industry  and  good  management. 


LAURENCE  ALFRED  WARNER. 

Laurence  Alfred  Warner,  publisher  of  the  Billings  County  Herald  at  Medora,  was  born 
at  Hope,  Steele  county,  North  Dakota,  January  7,  1890,  a  son  of  James  Alfred  and  Eva 
(Ellsbury)  Warner.  The  father  was  born  in  Piper  City,  Illinois,  and  the  mother  in  St. 
Charles,  Minnesota.  In  early  life  they  became  residents  of  Hope  and  were  married  there. 
For  a  considerable  period  Mr.  Warner  devoted  his  attention  to  newspaper  publication  but 
is  now  engaged  in  the  real  estate  and  insurance  business  in  Jamestown.  In  the  meantime, 
however,  he  was  the  owner  of  a  line  of  elevators  and  while  connected  with  the  grain  trade 
made  his  headquarters  at  Vienna,  South  Dakota.  To  him  and  his  wife  there  have  bcpu 
born  two  children,  the  elder  being  Gordon  Earl,  who  resides  at  Sentinel  Butte,  Billings 
county.  North  Dakota,  where  he  is  serving  as  assistant  postmaster. 

Lam-ence  A.  Warner  is  indebted  to  the  public  school  system  of  North  Dakota  for  the 
educational  opportunities  which  he  enjoyed.  He  attended  high  school  at  Dickey  and  at 
Marion,  Lamoure  county,  and  afterward  matriculated  in  the  State  Agricultural  College  at 
Fargo.  When  eighteen  years  of  age  he  began  the  publication  of  a  paper  at  Hazel,  South 
Dakota,  and  following  the  completion  of  his  education  he  entered  the  employ  of  Walker 
Brothers  of  Fargo,  spending  three  years  in  the  composing  room.  He  next  went  to  Dickey, 
where  he  purchased  the  Dickey  Reporter,  which  he  published  for  about  seven  months.  He 
then  sold  that  paper  and  removed  to  Tuttle,  where  he  established  the  Tuttle  Reporter.  Later 
he  spent  a  brief  period  at  Bozeman,  Montana,  but  soon  returned  to  North  Dakota  and  on  the 
6th  of  ilareh,  1916,  purchased  the  Billings  County  Herald,  which  he  is  now  publishing.  This 
paper  was  established  in  1906  by  George  L.  Nelson,  who  continued  its  publication  until  1909, 
when  he  sold  out  to  George  W.  Clemens,  from  whom  Mr.  Warner  purchased  the  jilant. 
He  has  a  well  equipped  office  and  is  doing  a  good  business.  The  patronage  of  the  paper 
has  increased  since  he  took  charge  both  in  its  circulsition  and  advertising  departments. 

On  the  1st  of  June,  1912,  Mr.  Warner  was  married  to  Miss  Ruby  C.  Walker,  a  native 
of  Coshocton,  Ohio,  who  became  a  resident  of  St.  Paul  and  there  resided  until  the  time  of 
her  marriage.  They  now  have  one  son,  .lames  DeWitt.  In  his  political  views  Mr.  Warner 
is  a  republican  who  stanchly  upholds  the  principles  of  the  party  but  does  not  seek  nor 
desire  public  office,  preferring  to  concentrate  his  undivided  attention  upon  his  newspaper 
work. 


D.    F.   MCLAUGHI.IN. 


D.  F.  ilcLaughlin.  one  of  the  foremost  bankers  of  North  Dakota,  occupying  the  ]iositi(m 
of  cashier  in  the  Cando  National  Bank  of  Cando,  Towner  county,  was  born  in  the  province  of 
Ontario,  near  Toronto,  December  27,  1861,  his  parents  being  Philip  B,  and  Ellen  (Herring) 
McLaughlin.  The  father's  birth  occurred  at  Mona  JFills,  Ontario,  while  the  mother  was  born 
in  Toronto.  He  turned  his  attention  to  merchandising  at  Mona  Jlills  and  there  continued 
actively  in  business  until  1870,  when  he  removed  to  the  United  States,  settling  first  at  Lyle, 
Minnesota,  where  he  engaged  in  the  grain  business,  being  identified  with  that  trade  until  his 
death.    He  passed  away  in  Austin,  Minnesota,  in  1898,  while  his  wife's  death  occurred  there 


196  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

in  1906.  Politically  he  was  a  democrat  and  was  much  interested  in  civic  affairs.  For 
several  years  he  served  as  mayor  of  Lyle  and  also  held  other  local  offices,  discharging  his 
duties  with  a  sense  of  conscientious  obligation  and  a  recognition  of  public  needs  that  made 
him  a  capable  incumbent  in  office. 

Spending  his  youthful  days  in  his  parents'  home,  D.  F.  McLaughlin  attended  the 
public  schools  of  Lyle  and  afterward  continued  his  studies  in  tlie  Breckenridge  Institute  at 
Decorah,  Iowa.  In  September,  1883,  he  arrived  in  North  Dakota,  then  a  part  of  Dakota 
territory,  first  establishing  his  home  at  Auburn,  Walsh  county,  where  he  represented 
the  J.  H.  Townsend  Mill  Company  of  Stillwater,  Minnesota,  as  a  grain  buyer.  Subsequently 
that  business  was  absorbed  by  the  Red  River  Valley  Elevator  Company,  with  which  Mi-. 
McLaughlin  continued  until  1892  and  within  that  period  was  advanced  to  the  position  of 
general  superintendent  of  that  company,  which  owned  a  line  of  elevators.  In  1894  he 
embarked  in  tlie  grain  business  on  his  own  account,  first  establishing  an  elevator  at  Ada, 
Minnesota.  That  undertaking  proved  profitable  and  he  extended  his  efforts  by  the 
establishment  of  another  elevator  at  Argyle,  Minnesota,  after  which  he  continued  to  build 
other  elevators  at  difl'erent  points  until  his  line  of  elevators  numbered  fourteen  and  his 
business  took  on  extensive  proportions.  In  1899  he  became  identified  with  banking  through 
the  organization  of  the  State  Bank  of  Cando,  of  which  he  became  the  cashier.  In  1904 
that  institution  was  nationalized,  becoming  the  Cando  National  Bank,  and  Mr.  McLaughlin 
remained  as  cashier.  In  1909  he  purchased  the  controlling  interest  in  the  First  National 
Bank  of  Egeland,  of  which  he  is  now  president,  and  he  has  further  extended  his  operations 
in  the  field  of  banking  by  becoming  the  vice  president  of  the  Bank  of  Hansboro  and  vice 
president  of  the  F'armers  &  Merchants  Bank  of  Sarles.  He  is  also  a  director  in  the  State 
Bank  of  Russell.  He  still  operates  two  elevators,  one  at  Cando  and  one  at  Starkweather, 
and  he  has  extensive  holdings  in  farm  lands,  owning  some  fifteen  thousand  acres  in  North 
Dakota,  all  of  which,  with  the  exception  of  one  of  the  farms,  is  operated  by  tenants.  He  was 
also  the  founder  and  became  the  president  of  the  McLaughlin  Loan  Company,  an  incorporated 
company  with  a  capital  stock  of  one  hundred  thousand  dollars.  His  business  connections, 
important  and  extensive,  rank  him  with  the  leading  business  men  and  financiers  of  the 
state. 

Fraternally  Mr.  JIcLaughlin  is  connected  with  the  Jlodern  Woodmen  of  America,  while 
his  political  allegiance  is  given  to  the  democratic  party.  Both  he  and  his  wife  are  members 
of  the  Catholic  church  and  he  is  a  generous  contributor  to  various  movements  which  are 
projected  for  the  public  good.  He  concentrates  the  major  portion  of  his  attention,  however, 
upon  his  business  affairs  and  is  notably  prompt,  energetic  and  reliable.  By  perseverance, 
determination  and  honorable  effort  he  has  overthrown  the  obstacles  which  have  barred  his 
path  to  success  and  has  reached  the  goal  of  prosperity,  while  his  genuine  worth,  broad 
mind  and  public  spirit  have  made  him  a  director  of  public  thought  and  action. 


GUNDER  0.  CHRISTIANSON. 

Gunder  O.  Christianson,  proprietor  of  a  garage  and  superintendent  and  manager  of  the 
lighting  system  at  Reynolds,  was  born  in  Norwaj',  August  18,  1878,  a  son  of  Julius  and 
Scgried  (Hansen)  Christianson,  who  were  also  natives  of  Norway,  wiiere  they  spent  their 
entire  lives.  The  father  engaged  in  business  as  a  mechanical  engineer  and  became  overseer  of 
the  government  railway  service,  in  which  responsible  position  he  continued  for  many  years. 
He  died  in  1909,  while  his  widow  yet  survives  and  is  a  resident  of  Kongsvinger,  Norway. 

Gunder  0.  Cliristianson  was  the  ninth  in  a  family  of  thirteen  children  and  after  acquir- 
ing his  education  in  the  schools  of  his  native  country  he  entered  upon  an  apprenticeship 
to  the  machinist's  trade  when  but  twelve  years  of  age.  He  completed  the  term  of  his 
indenture  and  then  continued  to  work  at  his  trade  in  Norway  until  1894,  when  at  the  age 
of  sixteen  years  he  crossed  the  Atlantic  and  made  his  way  to  Reynolds,  North  Dakota. 
There  he  followed  his  trade  and  also  spent  one  summer  at  work  in  the  country  districts, 
running  a  thresher  engine.  He  afterward  returned  to  Grand  Forks  county  and  established 
the  Reynolds  Garage,  while  later  he  inaugurated   the   electric   lighting   system   and  became 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  197 

supi^iintcndent  and  general  manager  of  the  plant,  in  wliich  connection  lie  still  continues.  He 
also  carries  on  his  garage  and  both  branches  of  his  business  are  proving  profitable  owing  to 
his  capable  management  and  unfaltering  enterprise. 

On  the  8th  of  October,  1898,  at  Grand  Forks,  ilr.  Christiansen  was  married  lo  Miss 
Ragnhild  Servesen  and  to  them  have  been  born  eight  children:  James,  born  in  1899;  Sydney, 
in  1901;  Milton,  in  1903;  Victor,  in  1905;  Arnold,  in  1907;  Roy,  in  1909;  Alpha,  in  1911; 
and  Joyce,  in  1913.     Most  of  the  children  are  now  in  school. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Christiansen  hold  membership  in  the  Lutheran  church  and  Mr.  Christianson 
is  also  identified  with  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America.  In  politics  he  maintains  an 
independent  course  but  is  never  remiss  in  the  duties  of  citizenship,  holding  to  those  interests 
which  he  believes  will  be  of  most  permanent  benefit  to  the  district  in  which  he  lives.  He  lias 
always  possessed  musical  taste  and  talent  and  is  now  leader  of  the  Reynolds  Concert  Band, 
a  cornet  band  of  twenty-six  pieces,  their  work  being  of  high  standard.  Laudable  ambition 
brought  Mr.  Christianson  to  the  new  world  and  he  has  since  made  wise  use  of  his  time  and 
opportunities,  standing  today  among  the  successful  business  men  of  the  district  in  which  he 
located  more  than  two  decades  ago. 


BJARNE  0.  THORKELSON. 


lijarne  O.  Thorkelson,  cashier  of  the  First  State  Bank  at  South  Heart,  Stark  county, 
was  born  in  Valley  City,  North  Dakota,  March  35,  1888,  a  son  of  Thorkel  A.  and  Bertha 
C.  Thorkelson.  The  father,  a  native  of  Norway,  settled  in  Faribault,  Minnesota,  on  coming 
to  the  United  States  but  afterward  removed  to  Valley  City,  North  Dakota,  where  he  was 
married.  Ho  engaged  in  merchandising  there  for  a  time  but  afterward  became  a  resident 
of  Fingal,  twenty-five  miles  south  of  Valley  City,  where  he  owned  and  conducted  a  general 
store.  Later,  however,  he  returned  to  Valley  City,  where  he  opened  a  land  and  insurance 
office,  continuing  actively  in  that  business  until  his  death,  wliich  occuned  October  B,  1913. 
His  widow  survives  and  is  now  living  at  Fergus  Falls,  Minnesota. 

Bjarne  0.  Thorkelson  was  the  second  in  order  of  birth  in  a  family  of  seven  children,  six 
of  whom  are  yet  living.  His  education  was  largely  acquired  in  Fingal,  where  he  became  a 
high  school  pupil.  Later  he  was  graduated  on  the  completion  of  a  commercial  course  in 
a  business  college  of  Fargo  and  when  his  textbooks  were  put  aside  he  returned  to  Fingal, 
where  he  worked  in  the  First  National  Bank  for  two  years,  occupying  the  position  of 
bookkeeper.  He  next  removed  to  Mott,  North  Dakota,  where  for  a  short  time  he  was  in 
the  employ  of  the  Brown  Company,  land  agents.  He  afterward  went  to  Regent,  where 
he  accepted  the  position  of  assistant  cashier  in  the  Citizens  State  Bank,  there  continuing  for 
a  year.  Returning  to  Mott,  he  was  employed  in  the  First  State  Bank  of  that  place  until 
March,  1913,  when  he  went  to  South  Heart  and  organized  the  First  State  Bank,  of  which 
he  has  since  been  the  cashier  and  a  most  active  factor  in  controlling  the  interests  and 
shaping  the  policy  of  the  institution.  The  other  ofScers  are:  Frank  Krueger,  president; 
and  Lewis  Kudrua,  vice  president.  At  the  time  of  the  organization,  however,  A.  G.  Anderson, 
of  Fergus  Falls,  became  president  and  E.  A.  Huff,  of  Ypsilanti,  North  Dakota,  became  vice 
president.  The  bank  is  capitalized  at  ten  thousand  dollars  and  has  a  surplus  and  undivided 
profits  of  fifteen  hundred  dollars.  The  bank  owns  its  own  building  and  has  a  most  attractive 
home.  Mr.  Thorkelson  is  also  interested  in  farm  lands,  having  about  seven  sections  located 
near  South  Heart,  and  he  carries  on  a  real  estate  business  in  connection  with  banking. 
He  is  one  of  the  most  progressive,  alert  and  wide-awake  business  men  of  Stark  county. 

On  the  14th  of  June,  1910,  at  Enderlin,  North  Dakota,  occurred  the  marriage  of  Mr. 
Thorkelson  and  Miss  Florence  Crowell,  a  native  of  Minneapolis,  Minnesota,  and  a  graduate 
of  the  State  Normal  School  at  Valley  City.  On  the  completion  of  her  course  there  she 
engaged  in  teaching  at  Fingal  and  at  Anamoose,  North  Dakota,  By  her  marriage  she 
has  become  the  mother  of  two  children,  Dorothea  Earle  and  Daphne  Dale. 

Mr,  Thorkelson  is  deeply  interested  in  everything  pertaining  to  the  welfare  and  (irogrcss 
of  his  community.  He  is  now  serving  as  president  of  the  school  board  of  South  Heart  and  he 
was  largely   instrumental   in   bringing  about   the   erection   of  a   new   twenty   ttfisand   dollar 


198  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

school  building,  a  beautiful  strueUu-e,  wliieli  affords  accommodation  for  the  grades  and  for 
the  high  school.  He  doe^  much  to  promote  the  interests  of  his  own  town  and  his  efforts 
are  practical  and  resiiltant. 


A.  H.  LEAN. 


A.  H.  Lean,  manager  for  the  Cando  Mill  &  Elevator  Company  at  Caiido,  Towner  countj', 
is  a  man  of  enterprising  and  progressive  spirit,  recognized  as  a  valuable  addition  to  the 
business  circles  of  his  community.  He  was  born  in  Wisconsin,  July  19,  1857,  and  is  a  son 
of  Edwin  and  Emma  (Barber)  Lean,  who  were  natives'  of  England.  In  _early  manliood  the 
father  came  to  the  new  world  and  settled  in  Wisconsin,  where  he  purchased  land  wliich 
he  improved  and  developed,  giving  his  attention  to  its  further  cultivation  to  the  time  of 
liis  death,  which  occurred  in  1901.     He  had  long  survived  his  wife,  who  passed  away  in  1873. 

A.  H.  Lean  was  reared  and  educated  in  Wisconsin,  spending  his  youthful  days  in  his 
parents'  home,  and  on  attaining  his  majority  became  a  resident  of  Minnesota.  Tliere  he 
worked  as  a  farm  hand  for  a  few  years  and  about  1884  removed  to  Lakota,  Nelson  county, 
Xortli  Bakota.  He  filed  on  land,  taking  up  a  tree  claim,  and  while  complying,  with  the  laws 
that  brought  him  title  to  his  property  he  also  worked  in  that  locality  as  a  grain  buyer  for 
four  years.  He  next  turned  his  attention  to  the  hardware  business,  in  which  he  engaged  for 
two  years,  when  he  sold  his  store  and  removed  to  Cando,  where  he  took  charge  of  the  plant 
of  the  North  Dakota  Milling  Company.  He  represented  that  firiir  for  five  years,  at  the  end 
of  which  time  a  company  was  organized  under  the  name  of  the  Cando  Mill  &  Elevator 
Company,  of  which  Mr.  Lean  has  since  been  manager.  The  other  officers  are:  C.  J.  Lord, 
ju-esident;  F.  L.  Thompson,  vice  president;  and  R.  F.  Powell,  secretary  and  treasurer.  Mr. 
Lean  is  not  only  manager  but  also  one  of  the  stockholders  and  a  director  of  the  company 
and  under  his  guidance  the  business  has  become  one  of  the  profitable  commercial  concerns  of 
the  town.  He  also  owns  a  hardware  store  at  Rocklake,  North  Dakot.i,  and  formerly  owned  a 
homestead  property  but  after  proving  up  on  it  sold. 

In  1880  ocpurred  the  marriage  of  Mr.  Lean  and  Miss  Lizzie  Deal,  by  whom  he  had  one 
child,  A.  Roy,  who  is  engaged  in  the  implement  business  at  Rocklake  and  is  manager  of  his 
father's  hardware  store  there.  The  wife  and  mother  passed  away  in  1893  and  in  the  fall 
of  1900  Mr.  Lean  was  again  married,  his  second  union  being  with  Anna  Krause,  by  whom  he 
has  one  child,  Helen,  born   in   1902. 

Mr.  Lean  exercises  his  right  of  franchise  in  support  of  the  principles  and  candidates  of 
tlie  republican  party  and  fraternally  lie  is  connected  with  the  Ancient  Order  of  United  Work- 
men. His  religious  belief  is  that  of  the  Congregational  church  and  both  he  and  his  wife  are 
highly  esteemed  in  the  community  where  they  make  their  home  and  where  he  has  won  an 
enviable  position  as  a  substantial  and  representative  business  man. 


CHARLES  S.  MARSDEN,  M.  D. 

Dr.  Charles  S.  Marsden,  oculist  and  aurist,  whose  thorough  preliminary  preparation  and 
subsequent  study  have  made  him  one  of  the  able  representatives  of  his  profession,  was 
born  in  Middlesex  county,  Ontario,  Canada,  March  30,  1873,  a  son  of  J.  W.  and  Anne 
(Summers)  Marsden.  The  father,  a  native  of  England,  went  to  Canada  when  quite  young 
with  his  father  who  was  the  founder  of  the  Canadian  branch  of  the  family,  becoming  a 
pioneer  settler  of  Middlesex  county.  In  early  manhood  J.  W.  Marsden  engaged  in  business 
as  a  railroad  contractor  but  devoted  his  later  years  to  agricultural  pursuits.  In  1888  he 
came  to  North  Dakota,  settling  in  Pembina  eo>inty.  His  wife,  a  native  of  Canada  and  of 
English  ffescont.  died  in  Emerson,  Canada,  in  July,  1883,  at  the  age  of  thirty  years. 

Dr.  Marsden  the  eldest  of  their  four  children,  began  his  education  in  the  schools  of 
his  native  country  and  of  North  Dakota  and  afterward  attended  the  University  of  Michi- 
gan at  Ann  Arbor,  in  which  he  pursued  a  medical  course,  winning  his  professional  degree 


DR.  CHARLES  S.  JIARSDEN 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  201 

upon  giadiiation  with  the  class  of  1903.  For  five  years  following  his  graduation  he 
practiced  at  Carrington,  North  Dakota,  and  then  took  up  the  study  of  diseases  of  the 
eye,  ear,  nose  and  throat,  pursuing  post  graduate  work  along  those  lines  in  Philadelphia, 
Pennsylvania,  under  private  instruction.  In  1908  he  established  an  office  in  Grand  Forks, 
where  he  has  since  remained,  concentrating  his  energies  upon  his  specialty.  Here  he  was 
first  associated  with  Dr.  Andrew  Ekern  but  for  some  time  has  been  alone  and  in  point  of 
practice  is  the  leading  oculist  and  aurist  of  Grand  Forks.  He  keeps  in  touch  with  the  latest 
scientific  researches  and  discoveries  and  thus  is  able  to  give  his  patients  the  benefit  of 
broad  knowledge  and  experience.  He  belongs  to  the  Grand  Forks  County  Medical  Society, 
the  North  Dakota  State  Medical  Society  and  the  American  Medical  Association  and  for 
the  past  five  years  has  been  treasurer  of  the  Grand  Forks  District  Medical  Society. 

On  the  27th  of  June,  190G,  Dr.  Marsden  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Jessie  Mitchell, 
of  Crystal,  North  Dakota,  a  daughter  of  William  E.  Mitchell,  a  North  Dakota  pioneer. 
Dr.  and  Mrs.  Marsden  have  become  the  parents  of  two  sons:  Charles  S.,  who  was  born 
in  Grand  Forks,  February  7,  1910;  and  Wendell,  born  March  4,  1912.  Dr.  and  Mrs. 
Marsden  attend  the  Methodist  church,  in  the  work  of  which  Mrs.  Marsden  is  helpfully 
interested. 

The  Doctor  belongs  to  the  Golf  Club,  which  affords  him  recreation  from  arduous  pro- 
fessional cares.  He  is  likewise  identified  with  the  Commercial  Club.  He  is  a  Royal  Arch 
chapter  and  thirty-second  degree  Mason  and  has  been  master  of  Acacia  Lodge,  No.  4,  A.  F.  & 
A.  jr.,  of  Grand  Forks.  He  has  likewise  crossed  the  sands  of  the  desert  with  the  Nobles  of 
the  Mystic  Shrine.  He  worked  his  own  way  through  the  university  and  from  the  outset 
of  his  business  career  has  been  dependent  upon  his  own  resources.  Prompted  at  all  times 
by  laudable  ambition,  he  has  advanced  step  by  step,  making  his  work  of  worth  to  the 
community,  and  his  increasing  ability  now  gives  him  position  among  the  ablest  oculists  and 
aurists  of  the  northwest. 


THEODORE  N.  HARTUNG. 


Theodore  N.  Hartung.  .a  prominent  citizen  and  one  of  the  leading  business  mentor 
Dickinson,  was  born  in  Melbourne,  Australia,  January  23,  1870,  and  is  of  German  parentage, 
being  a  son  of  Nicholas  and  Elizabeth  (Kenesse)  Hartung,  who  went  to  Australia  in  1850 
during  the  gold  exeitment  in  that  country  and  there  spent  the  remainder  of  their  lives. 
Our  subject  was  educated  in  a  Church  of  England  grammar  school  in  his  native  land  and  on 
the  completion  of  his  education  served  a  three  years'  apprenticeship  to  the  machinist's  trade. 
He  then  accompanied  his  brother.  Henry  Hartung.  into  the  interior  of  Australia,  where 
he  spent  two  years  in  surveying. 

It  was  in  1892  that  Mr.  Hartung  came  to  the  United  States  and  located  in  Richardton, 
Stark  county.  North  Dakota,  where  he  made  his  home  for  about  thirteen  years.  He  was 
elected  sheriff  of  the  county  in  1904  and  removed  to  Dickinson  in  order  to  assume  the 
duties  of  that  office,  which  he  filled  for  two  consecutive  terms  at  that  time.  In  1916  he  was 
again  reelected  to  the  office  of  sheriff. 

In  the  meantime  he  has  been  engaged  in  business  as  a  dealer  in  real  estate  and  has 
also  handled  loans  and  insurance.  He  is  a  director  of  the  Dickinson  Abstract  Company  and 
is  vice  president  of  the  North  Dakota  Pressed  Brick  Company.  His  varied  busines.?  interests 
have  been  most  capably  managed  and  success  has  attended  his  well  directed  efforts. 

Mr.  Hartung  was  married  in  January,  1896,  to  Miss  Myrtle  V.  Greenbaum  and  they 
have  two  children,  Herman  and  Vera.  In  religious  faith  the  family  are  Episcopalians,  and 
in  his  fraternal  relations  Mr.  Hartung  is  a  Royal  Arch  Mason  and  a  member  of  the  Indepen- 
dent Order  of  Odd  Fellows,  the  Benevolent  Protective  Order  of  Elks,  the  Knights  of 
Pythias,  the  Woodmen  of  the  World  and  the  Ancient  Order  of  United  Workmen.  He  casts 
his  ballot  in  support  of  the  men  and  measures  of  the  republican  party  and  takes  an  active 
interest  in  political  affairs.  For  three  years  he  served  as  alderman  of  Dickinson  from  the 
third  ward  and  has  also  been  game  warden  of  his  district.  He  is  a  member  of  the 
Dickinson   Auto   and   Commercial    Club   and   does   all   in   his   power   to   promote   the    interests 

Vol.   Ill— 10 


202  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

of  his  town  and  county,  being  especially  active  in  promoting  the  good  roads  movement. 
No  trust  reposed  in  hini  has  ever  been  betra3'ed  and  he  is  today  recognized  as  one  of  the 
leading  and  representative  citizens  of  Stark  county. 


CHARLES  F.  "S' ARTY. 


Charles  F.  Varty,  owner  and  editor  of  The  Bantry  Advocate,  published  at  Bantr.v, 
McHenry  county,  was  born  in  Durham,  Iilngland,  in  March,  1879,  a  son  of  John  and  Harriett 
(Sutherst)  Varty,  who  were  natives  of  England.  The  father  was  foreman  of  a  coke 
burning  plant  of  that  country  and  in  I88.3  crossed  the  Atlantic  to  the  new  world,  settling 
in  Monroe,  Iowa,  where  he  was  interested  in  coal  mines  for  several  years.  He  then  removed 
to  Numa,  Iowa,  where  he  resided  until  1900,  when  he  became  a  resident  of  Ward  county. 
North  Dakota,  and  took  up  a  homestead  claim,  which  he  developed  and  improved,  continuing 
its  cultivation  for  some  time.  Eventually  lie  sold  that  property  and  bought  anotlier 
farm,  which  he  has  since  cultivated,  being  still  busily  engaged  in  agricultural  pursuits. 
His  wife  passed  away  in  February,  1908. 

Charles  F.  Varty  spent  the  first  four  years  of  his  life  in  his  native  land  and  was  then 
brought  by  his  parents  to  the  new  world.  He  was  reared  and  educated  in  Iowa  to  the 
age  of  fourteen  years,  when  he  returned  to  England,  where  he  learned  the  printer's  trade, 
following  that  pursuit  in  his  native  country  for  fourteen  years.  On  the  expiration  of  that 
period  he  again  came  to  the  United  States  and  worked  for  nine  months  on  his  father's 
farm.  He  then  removed  to  Palermo,  thence  to  Stanley,  North  Dakota,  where  he  was 
employed  at  the  printing  trade  for  about  a  year,  and  in  1910  he  removed  to  Bantry, 
McHenry  county,  where  after  working  as  a  printer  for  eighteen  months  he  purchased  The 
Bantry  Advocate,  which  he  has  since  owned  and  published.  He  has  a  well  equipjjed  newspaper 
plant  and,  in  addition  to  publishing  The  Advocate,  does  all  kinds  of  job  work  in  a  highly 
satisfactory  manner.  The  paper  has  a  subscription  list  of  over  six  liundred  and  is 
recognized  as  the  official  organ  of  the  county. 

In  July,  1912,  Mr.  Varty  was  married  to  Miss  Martha  M.  Templin.  a  native  of  Berlin, 
Germany.  She  is  a  member  of  the  Lutheran  church,  and  both  are  highly  esteemed  in  the 
community  where  they  reside.  Mr.  Varty  belongs  to  the  Brotherhood  of  American  Yeomen 
and  the  Knights  of  Pythias.  Politically  he  is  a  republican  and  is  now  filling  the  office  of 
justice  of  the  peace,  in  which  connection  he  renders  decisions  that  are  strictly  fair  and 
impartial. 


SAMUEL  J.  RADCLIFFE. 


Samuel  J.  Radcliffe,  engaged  in  the  practice  of  law  at  Larimore,  was  born  in  S.yracuse, 
New  York,  September  16,  1873,  a  son  of  Robert  and  Linda  (Sears)  Radcliffe.  The  father, 
who  was  born  on  the  Isle  of  Man,  crossed  the  Atlantic  to  the  Empire  state  when  a  young 
man  and  after  remaining  there  for  a  number  of  years  removed  to  North  Dakota  in  1880, 
at  which  time  he  settled  in  Grand  Forks.  Later  he  became  a  resident  of  Larimore,  where 
he  has  since  remained.  In  the  early  period  of  his  residence  here  he  engaged  in  carpentering 
but  is  now  carrying  on  farming  and  is  an  active,  enterprising  man  of  sixty-nine  years.  His 
wife,  who  was  born  in  New  York,  passed  away  in  Larimore  in  1888,  at  the  age  of  forty-two 
years.     Their  family  numbered  two  sons,  Samuel  J.  and  Thomas  .1. 

The  former  was  a  little  lad  of  less  than  seven  years  when  the  family  home  was 
established  in  North  Dakota  and  his  youthful  days  were  devoted  to  the  acquirement  of  an 
education.  After  attending  the  high  school  of  Larimore,  from  wliich  he  was  graduated  with 
the  class  of  1891,  he  entered  the  University  of  North  Dakota  and  gained  his  Bachelor  of  Arts 
degree  upon  graduation  in  1895.  He  then  took  up  the  profession  of  teaching  at  Neche, 
North  Dakota,  and  afterward  became  a  law  student  in  the  LTniversity  of  Minnesota,  where 
he  won  the  LL,  B.  degree.     He  was  admitted  to  the  bar  in   1899   and   it   was  after  that 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  203 

time  that  he  secured  his  professional  degree  in  tlic  JMiiinesota  university,  winning  it  in  1908. 
He  entered  ujiou  practice  at  Uirimore,  wlierc  he  has  since  remained,  and  lie  has  always  held 
to  the  highest  professional  standards,  while  his  ability  is  manifest  in  the  favorable  verdicts 
whicli  he  has  won  for  his  clients  in  much  notable  litigation. 

On  the  29th  of  September,  1899,  Mr.  lladclillo  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Margaret 
Askew,  of  Grand  Forks,  a  daughter  of  William  and  Elizabeth  Askew,  who  became  residents 
of  Neche,  North  Dakota,  and  are  now  deceased.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Radcliffe  have  a  daughter, 
Margaret,  who  was  born  in  Larimore  in  1904  and  is  now  in  school. 

Mr.  RadcliU'e  is  a  member  of  the  various  Masonic  bodies,  having  attained  the  thirty- 
second  degree  of  the  Scottish  Rite,  and  is  also  connected  with  the  Yeomen.  His  religious 
faith  is  evidenced  in  his  membership  in  the  Presbvterian  church,  of  which  he  is  an  elder. 
His  interest  in  the  intellectual  progress  of  his  community  is  show'n  in  the  fact  tliat  he  is 
now  ably  serving  as  president  of  the  board  of  education  of  Larimore.  He  belongs  to  the 
Delta  Sigma  Rho,  a  fraternity  of  the  University  of  North  Dakota,  and  along  strictly 
professional  lines  has  connection  with  the  State  and  National  Bar  Associations.  He  has  ever 
been  of  a  studious  nature  and  this  is  manifest  in  the  thoroughness  with  which  he  prepares 
bis  cases  before  entering  the;  courts.  He  has  made  for  himself  a  creditable  place  amimg 
the  able  lawyers  of  his  district  and  is  now  accorded  an  extensive  clientage. 


C.  H.  SHELDON. 


C.  H.  Sheldon,  a  grain  buyer  operating  an  elevator  at  Minnewaukan,  where  he  makes 
his  home,  and  also  an  elevator  at  Maddock,  is  a  native  of  the  neighboring  state  of  Minnesota, 
his  birth  havipg  occurred  at  Excelsior,  December  18,  1858.  His  parents,  Charles  B.  and  Mary 
K.  (Prentice)  Sheldon,  were  natives  of  Massachusetts  and  Connecticut  respectively  and  both 
were  representatives  of  old  New  England  families.  The  father  prepared  for  the  ministry 
at  Williams  College  in  Massachusetts  and  afterward  attended  the  theological  seminary  at 
Oberlin,  Ohio.  For  many  years  he  filled  pulpits  in  different  parts  of  the  country.  He  was 
stationed  at  Excelsior,  Minnesota,  for  several  years  and  thence  removed  to  southern  Cali- 
fornia, wliere  his  last  days  were  passed,  his  death  occurring  when  he  had  reached  the  age  of 
seventy-four. 

C.  H.  Sheldon  piusued  his  education  in  the  public  schools  of  Excelsior  and  in  the 
University  of  Minnesota  and  in  1879  he  began  his  education  as  a  grain  buyer  by  assuming 
the  management  of  an  elevator  at  Dalton,  Minnesota.  In  1880  he  came  to  this  state  as 
grain  buyer  for  the  Northern  Pacific  Elevator  Company  at  Buffalo  and  in  1883  lie  became 
associated  with  his  brother-in-law,  Frank  Thoms,  in  establishing  a  grain  business  at  Hamil- 
ton, North  Dakota.  A  year  later,  however,  they  sold  out  and  Mr.  Sheldon  returned  to  his 
old  position  with  the  Northern  Pacific  Elevator  Company  at  Buffalo,  in  which  connection 
he  remained  until  1891.  He  then  resigned  and  spent  a  year  in  southern  California.  In  the 
fall  of  1893  he  returned  to  North  Dakota  and  was  made  manager  of  the  elevator  at  Min- 
newaukan owned  by  the  Northern  Pacific  Elevator  Compan}'.  He  remained  in  that  position 
until  the  failure  of  the  company  two  or  three  years  later.  He  was  continued  as  manager 
by  the  Powers  Elevator  Company,  who  leased  the  Minnewaukan  elevator,  but  about  1S95 
Mr.  Sheldon  embarked  in  the  grain  business  on  his  own  account.  For  a  year  he  bought 
on  the  track,  following  which  he  leased  the  William  Plummer  elevators  at  JDnnewaukan 
and  Maddock  and  has  since  operated  at  both  places,  being  today  one  of  the  well  known 
grain  buyers  of  the  northern  part  of  the  state.  Long  experience  in  this  connection  has  made 
liiiii  well  qualified  for  the  successful  management  of  the  interests  which  are  now  under  his 
control  and  his  business  has  assumed  extensive  and  gratifying  proportions.  He  is  also  the 
owner  of  six  hundred  and  forty  acres  of  land  in  Colorado  and  has  valuable  orange  orchard 
holdings   in    southern    California. 

In  1880  Mr.  Sheldon  was  joined  in  wedlock  to  "Miss  ^Nfary  E.  Snowden,  of  Salem.  New 
York,  by  whom  he  has  four  children,  as  follows:  Isabella  Jf..  the  wife  of  Torger  Sinness, 
of  .Minnewaukan,  North  Dakota,  who  is  the  leading  attorney  at  Benson  county;  Mary  E., 
at  home;  Anna,  the  wife  of  Fred  Pierson.  who  is  manager  of  a  line  of  banks  in  Montana, 


204  HISTORY  OF  x\ORTIi  DAKOTA 

with   headquarters   at   Great   Inills;    and   Ethel   I'.,   a   high   school   student.     The   three   elder 
daughters  are  all  graduates  of  Carlton  College. 

Mr.  Sheldon  is  a  republican  in  politics  and  for  several  years  served  as  a  member  of  the 
board  of  aldermen  of  Minnewaukan,  while  for  a  long  period  he  has  been  a  member  of  the 
school  board.  He  takes  an  active  and  helpful  interest  in  civic  affairs  and  does  all  in  his 
power  to  uphold  municipal  standards.  Fraternally  he  is  identified  with  the  following 
organizations:  Minnewaukan  Lodge,  No.  46,  A.  F.  &  A.  M.;  the  Ancient  Order  of  United 
Workmen;  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows;  and  the  American  Yeomen.  Mr.  Sheldon 
and  his  family  are  members  of  the  Episcopal  church,  in  which  he  is  now  serving  as  warden. 
Genial  and  social  by  nature,  he  wins  friends  wherever  he  goes.  In  his  business  career  he  has 
made  steady  advancement  by  reason  of  close  application  and  indefatigable  energy  and  is 
today  regarded  as  one  of  the  substantial  business  men  of  his  section  of  the  state. 


DANA  D.  FOFT. 


Dana  D.  Foft,  manager  of  the  George  Heaton  Lumber  Company  of  Belfield,  was  born 
at  State  Center,  Iowa,  December  18,  1885,-  a  son  of  Samuel  and  Laura  Foft,  who  are  now 
residents  of  Waukee,  Iowa,  where  the  father  is  cashier  of  the  Bank  of  Waukee.  His  wife 
has  passed  away.  They  were  the  parents  of  six  children :  Florence ;  Dana  D. ;  Wilf ord,  wlio 
is  living  in  Douglas,  Wyoming;  Earl,  a  resident  of  Rockwell  City,  Iowa;  and  Lela  and 
Pauline,  both  at  home. 

In  the  pursuit  of  his  education  Dana  D.  Foft  became  a  high  school  pupil  at  Perry,  Iowa, 
and  afterward  made  his  initial  step  in  the  business  world  in  connection  with  the  lumber  trade 
by  entering  the  employ  of  the  Brenton  Brothers  Lumber  Company,  by  wiiom  he  was  employed 
in  the  local  yards  at  Waukee  for  live  years.  He  afterward  spent  two  j'ears  elsewhere  in  the 
employ  of  that  company  and  then  settled  at  Creston,  Iowa,  where  he  became  bookkeeper  for 
the  Green  Bay  Lumber  Company,  with  which  he  continued  for  a  year.  In  March,  1910,  he 
arrived  in  North  Dakota  and  took  charge  of  the  Belffeld  branch  of  the  George  Heaton  Lum- 
ber Company,  of  which  he  is  still  manager,  and  at  this  point  he  has  built  up  a  good  business 
for  the  corporation  wliieh  he  represents,  his  fidelity  and  capability  being  widely  recognized 
by  the  company.     He  is  also  interested  in  farming,  having  land  near, the  village. 

In  .June,  1912,  Mr.  Foft  was  married  to  Miss  Lula  May  Trent,  a  native  of  Braincrd, 
Minnesota,  and  thej^  have  many  warm  friends  in  the  locality  in  which  they  reside.  Mr.  Foft 
is  a  most  public-spirited  citizen,  doing  everything  in  his  power  to  promote  the  welfare  and 
upbuilding  of  the  town.  He  has  been  a  member  of  the  Commercial  Club  since  taking  up 
liis  residence  in  Belfield  and  in  1916  was  elected  its  president.  He  was  very  active  in  secur- 
ing a  lyceum  course  for  the  city,  a  course  which  has  brought  to  Belfield  many  notable  attrac- 
tions. For  a  year  he  was  president  of  the  Belfield  city  board,  having  previously  served  for 
a  year  as  alderman.  When  president  of  the  village  he  was  instrumental  in  having  many 
sidewalks  laid  and  an  electric  light  plant  established.  In  1910  he  was  appointed  chief  of  the 
fire  department  and  still  occupies  that  position.  In  ])olitics  iie  is  an  independent  republican, 
while  fraternally  he  is  identified  with  the  Odd  Fellows,  being  a  past  noble  grand  of  Belfield 
lodge  and  the  present  district  deputy  grand  master  in  the  organization.  He  lias  many 
substantial  and  admirable  qualities,  not  the  least  of  which  is  his  devotion  to  the  general 
good,  manifest  in  many  tangible  ways  for  the  town's  improvement. 


ROBERT  A.  YEATER. 


Robert  A.  Y'eater.  postmaster  of  Wing,  North  Dakota,  claims  Ohio  as  his  native  state, 
his  birth  occurring  in  Ashland  in  1873.  His  father,  Samuel  Ycater,  was  born  in  Pennsylvania 
of  German  ancestry  and  spent  most  of  his  life  in  the  Keystone  state,  though  he  died  in 
Ohio  about  1876.  As  an  occupation  he  followed  general  farming.  He  married  Maria  H. 
Bushey,  also  a  native  of  Pennsylvania,  who  is  still  living  at  the  extreme  old  age  of  ninety- 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  205 

four  years  and  now  makes  her  home  in  Missouri.  Eobert  A.  is  the  youngest  of  tlieir  eleven 
iliildien,  five  of  whom  are  still  living. 

Keared  to  manhood  in  Ohio,  Kobert  A.  Yeater  attended  the  public  schools  and  college  of 
.\shland  and  obtained  a  good  education,  which  well  fitted  him  for  teaching.  About  1890  he 
removed  to  Emmons  county,  North  Dakota,  and  there  taught  school  for  a  period  of  three 
years,  after  which  he  located  in  Burleigh  county,  where  he  followed  the  same  profession  for 
two  years  while  making  his  home  in  Bismarck.  He  was  next  in  tlie  employ  of  the  Wood 
JIachine  Company,  a  New  York  lirni,  for  about  a  year,  and  subsequently  entered  the  service 
of  W.  ]).  Washburn  as  a  wheat  liuyer.  He  also  served  as  postmaster  at  Arnold  for  a  period 
of  eight  years  and  for  five  years  was  engaged  in  the  grain  business.  During  that  time  he 
also  followed  farming,  to  which  occupation  he  has  devoted  considerable  attention  since.  For 
a  year  or  two  lie  was  an  employe  in  the  North  Dakota  penitentiary  and  subsequently  filed  on 
a  claim  a  short  distance  from  Arena  in  Burleigh  county,  locating  thereon  in  1910  and  proving 
up  on  the  same.  There  he  engaged  in  general  farming  with  good  success.  In  December,  191^^, 
he  was  appointed  postmaster  of  Wing  and  is  now  filling  that  position.  He  is  also  interested 
in  the  real  estate  business,  handling  both  farm  and  town  property. 

In  1898  Mr.  Yeatej-  married  Miss  Emma  W.  Peterson,  a  resident  of  Burleigh  county  and 
a  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Swan  Peterson,  who  located  there  at  an  early  day.  Her  motlier 
is  deceased,  but  her  father  is  still  living  at  the  age  of  eighty-four  years.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Yeater 
have  become  the  parents  of  six  children,  namely:  Jessie  M.,  Paul,  Nettie,  Douglas,  Marion 
and  Audrey. 

Mr.  Yeater  is  a  member  of  Wing  Camp,  No.  63,  Woodmen  of  the  World,  and  is  a  charter 
member  of  the  Congregational  church  of  Wing,  of  which  he  is  now  a  trustee.  His  life  has 
been  guided  by  his  religious  belief  and  his  fellow  citizens  have  the  utmost  confidence  in  him. 
In  politics  he  is  a  democrat.  In  1910  he  was  appointed  notary  public  by  Governor  Burke 
and  reappointed  by  Governor  Hanna,  still  holding  his  commission.  At  one  time  he  was 
engaged  in  general  mercantile  business  at  Arnold  and  also  dealt  in  real  estate  ,at  the  same 
time.  His  life  has  been  a  very  active  and  busy  one  and  at  all  times  has  been  above  reproach, 
winning  him  the  high  regard  of  all  with  whom  he  has  been  brought  in  contact. 


F.  J.  ROBERTS,  M.  D. 


Dr.  F.  J.  Roberts,  the  foremost  physician  of  Towner  county,  located  at  Cando,  was 
born  in  Rockford,  Minnesota,  on  the  14th  of  July,  1876,  a  son  of  Albert  and  Melissa 
(MeKinley)  Roberts.  The  father  is  a  native  of  Maine  and  the  mother  of  Pennsylvania  and 
they  were  married  in  Minnesota,  to  which  state  Albert  Roberts  removed  following  the  close 
of  the  Civil  war,  in  which  he  had  served  as  a  member  of  the  Twentieth  Regiment  of  Maine 
Volunteer  Infantry,  thus  rendering  valuable  aid  in  defense  of  the  Union.  His  wife  went  to 
Jlinnesota  in  her  girlhood  days  with  her  parents.  It  was  in  that  state  that  Mr.  Roberts 
was  engaged  in  farming  for  many  years  and  he  became  one  of  the  foremost  figures  in  his 
locality.  He  served  as  a  member  of  the  state  legislature  from  Wright  county  and  his 
fitness  for  leadership  made  him  a  leading  figure  in  the  public  life  of  the  community.  In 
the  fall  of  1882  he  came  to  North  Dakota  and  homesteaded  a  quarter  section  of  land  a 
half  mile  north  of  the  present  city  limits  of  Devils  Lake,  which  property  he  still  owns. 
In  1884  the  family  took  up  their  abode  upon  the  homestead  and  there  remained  until  1890. 
Albert  Roberts  was  also  one  of  the  earliest  business  men  of  Fargo.  He  there  established 
himself  in  the  implement  business,  but  the  failure  in  crops  during  the  following  two  years, 
which  precluded  the  possibility  of  the  sale  of  agricultural  implements,  led  to  his  failure 
in  that  undertaking.  In  1882  he  went  to  Ramsey  county  and  homesteaded  at  Creel  City. 
For  the  jiast  eight  years  he  has  resided  at  Devils  Lake  and  during  that  period  has  lived 
retired,  merely  giving  his  attention  to  the  supervision  of  his  property  interests  and 
investments. 

Dr.  Roberts  was  educated  in  the  Devils  Lake  high  school,  from  which  he  was  -Taduated 
with  the  class  of  189.5.  The  following  fall  he  took  up  the  study  of  medicine,  "which  he 
rend  niirlci    the  preccptorship  of  Dr.  W.  E.  Swanston  of  Devils  T^ke.     In  the  same  fall  he 


206  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

entered  the  College  of  Physicians  and  Surgeons  at  Minneapolis,  Minnesota,  which  was  the 
oldest  medical  school  in  the  state,  and  from  that  institution  was  graduated  in  the  class  of 
1899.  Following  his  graduation  he  served  an  interneship  in  the  city  and  county  hospital  of 
St.  Paul  covering  one  year  and  in  that  manner  gained  broad  and  valuable  practical  experi- 
ence in  connection  with  hospital  work.  In  the  autumn  of  1900  he  returned  to  North  Dakota 
and  accepted  a  government  appointment  as  physician  to  the  Indian  agency  at  Turtle 
Mountains,  where  the  people  were  suffering  from  a  virulent  epidemic  of  smallpox.  Out  of 
one  hundred  and  twenty  cases  Dr.  Roberts  lost  but  one  and  that  death  was  occasioned 
through  com'plications  with  pneumonia. 

In  Novernber,  1900,  Dr.  Roberts  removed  to  Cando,  where  he  opened  an  office  and  has 
since  been  engaged  in  active  practice.  In  the  intervening  sixteen  years  he  has  won  liberal 
public  support  in  the  line  of  his  profession,  his  practice  being  now  extensive  and  of  a  most 
important  character.  His  efficient  work  is  promoted  through  wide  study,  which  keeps  him 
in  close  touch  with  modern  scientific  thought  and  investigation  along  the  lines  of  medical 
and  surgical  practice.  In  addition  to  his  interests  of  that  character  he  is  extensively 
interested  in  farm  lands,  owning  eleven  hundred  and  twenty  acres  in  Towner  county. 

In  1903  Dr.  Roberts  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Ruby  Rutledge,  of  Grand  Forks, 
Xorth  Dakota.  Her  father,  Dr.  S.  P.  Rutledge,  a  well  known  practitioner  of  Grand  Forks, 
is  now  deceased.  Dr.  and  Mrs.  Roberts  have  a  daughter,  Margaret  Melissa.  Dr.  Roberts 
is  a  prominent  Mason,  belonging  to  Cando  Lodge,  No.  40,  A.  F.  &  A.  M. ;  Cando  Cliapter, 
No.  18,  R.  A.  M.;  C.  J.  Atkins  Commandery,  No.  14.  K.  T.;  and  Kern  Temple,  A.  A.  0.  N.  M.  S., 
of  Grand  Forks.  He  is  also  identified  with  the  Ancient  Order  of  United  Workmen,  the 
Modern  Woodmen  of  America  and  the  American  Yeomen.  His  professional  connections  are 
with  the  Devils  Lake  District  Medical  Society,  the  North  Dakota  State  Medical  Association 
and  the  American  Medical  Association  and. he  utilizes  every  possible  means  of  keeping  in 
close  touch  with  the  advancement  being  continuously  made  by  the  leading  physicians  and 
surgeons  of  the  country. 


ANDERS   ALFRED  ROLF. 


Anders  Alfred  Rolf,  engaged  in  merchant  tailoring  in  Gi-and  Forks,  was  born  at 
SnSrestad,  Sweden,  July  3,  1873.  a  son  of  John  and  Elsa  (Johnson)  Rolf,  who  were  also 
natives  of  that  country.  Coming  to  America  in  the  early  '.90s,  they  settled  in  Forest  City, 
Iowa,  and  afterward  removed  to  North  Mankato,  Minnesota,  where  the  father  passed 
away  in  1911  at  the  age  of  sixty  years,  while  the  mother  now  resides  at  the  old  home- 
stead in  North  Mankato.  Mr.  Rolf  was  a  merchant  tailor  and  conducted  a  successful 
business  along  that  line.  His  religious  faith  was  that  of  the  Lutheran  church  and  his  poli- 
tical belief  that  of  the  republican  party.  For  many  years  he  served  as  a  member  of  the 
school  board  at  North  Mankato  and  was  a  prominent  and  influential  citizen  as  well  as  a 
leading  business  man  of  that  locality. 

Anders  A.  Rolf,  the  eldest  of  a  family  of  eight  children,  pursued  his  education  in  the 
schools  of  his  native  country  and  afterward  attended  the  Mankato  Business  College,  in 
which  he  completed  a  course  when  fifteen  years  of  age.  He  afterward  entered  the  employ 
of  his  father  and  learned  the  merchant  tailor's  trade,  after  which  he  was  his  father's 
associate  and  assistant  in  business  for  nine  years.  On  leaving  home  he  went  to  Sioux  City, 
Iowa,  where  he  remained  for  a  brief  period,  and  later  was  successively  at  Oshkosh  and 
Milwaukee,  Wisconsin,  and  St.  Paul,  Minnesota,  being  employed  in  leading  tailoring  estab- 
lishments of  those  cities.  In  1906  he  arrived  in  Grand  Forks  and  became  a  traveling  sales- 
man for  Hagstraum  Brothers,  wholesale  merchant  tailors  of  St.  Paul,  making  Grand  Forks 
liis  headquarters.  In  1909  he  entered  the  merchant  tailoring  business  on  his  own  account 
under  the  firm  name  of  Rolf  Brothers,  his  business  associate  being  Gotfried  Rolf,  who 
remained  associated  with  him  in  the  business  until  1913,  since  which  time  Mr.  Rolf  of 
this  review  has  been  alone.  He  has  today  the  leading  tailoring  establishment  in  the  city, 
having  among  his  patrons  the  most  prominent  residents  of  Grand  Forks  and  vicinity.  He 
keeps    thoroughly    abreast    with   the    latest    materials    and    styles    and    the    products    of   his 


ANDERS  A.  ROLF 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  209 

establislinu'iit  would  be  a  credit  to  any  merehant  tailoring  establishment  in  any  American 
metropolis. 

On  the  15th  of  May,  1913,  Jlr.  Rolf  was  married  to  Miss  Hilda  Sophia  Shawstad,  a 
native  of  Norway  and  a  daughter  of  John  and  Gunild  Shawstad,  the  latter  now  a  resident 
of  Minnesota,  while  the  former  is  deceased.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Rolf  have  become  the  parents 
of  two  children,  Irene  Eunice  and  Kenneth  Wilford,  both  born  in  Grand  Forks.  The 
family  resides  at  No.  718  South  Third  street. 

Politically  Mr.  Rolf  is  a  republican  where  national  issues  are  involved  but  casts  an 
independent  local  ballot,  on  which  occasions  he  supports  the  man  rather  than  the  party. 
Fraternally  he  is  connected  with  the  Knights  of  Pythias  and  he  belongs  to  the  Com- 
mercial Club,  being  in  hearty  sympathy  with  every  practical  plan  and  measure  for  the 
upbuilding  of  Grand  Forks,  believing  that  the  city  has  before  it  a  great  future.  He  is 
thoroughly  satisfied  with  the  city  as  a  place  of  residence  and  is  putting  forth  every 
possible  effort  to  aid  in  the  vfork  of  progress  and  development  there. 


CHARLES  E.  BLACT?:WELL. 


Charles  E.  Blackwell,  a  lumber  dealer  of  Cooperstown,  was  born  in  Waukesha,  Wisconsin, 
in  November,  1849.  His  father.  Charles  Blackwell,  a  native  of  New  York,  removed  to 
Wisconsin  in  the  early  '40s  and  there  married  Miss  .Jane  Moon.  He  followed  the  wheel- 
wright's trade  until  the  1st  of  May,  1864,  when  he  enlisted  for  service  in  the  Civil  war, 
becoming  first  lieutenant  of  Company  B,  Thirty-ninth  Wisconsin  Volunteer  Infantry.  With 
his  command  he  went  south  and  died  while  engaged  in  active  duty  in  the  following  August. 

Charles  E.  Blackwell,  the  eldest  in  a  family  of  four  children,  acquired  his  early 
education  in  the  public  schools  of  Waukon,  Wisconsin,  and  on  the  1st  of  May,  1S64,  when  a 
youth  of  less  than  fifteen  years,  he,  too,  ofl'ered  his  services  to  his  country,  joining  the  same 
regiment  to  which  his  father  belonged,  as  a  drummer.  He  was  m\istered  in  at  Milwaukee 
and  was  sent  to  Memphis,  Tennessee,  where  the  regiment  under  command  of  Colonel 
Butterick  remained  until  the  fall,  when  the  troops  were  returned  to  Wisconsin  and  Mr. 
Blackwell  was  honorably  discharged  at  Milwaukee  on  the  1st  of  September.  His  father 
had  been  one  of  the  organizers  of  the  regiment  and  Mr.  Blackwell  was  anxious  to  become 
a  soldier,  having  played  the  drum  at  war  meetings  where  recruiting  was  going  on.  He 
established  a  boys'  band  of  four  drums  and  one  of  his  companions  enlisted  at  the  same 
time  as  Mr.  Blackwell,  who  at  that  date  was  a  youth  of  but  fourteen  years  and  five  months. 

In  November,  18T3,  Mr.  Blackwell  was  married  to  Miss  Carolyn  Ross,  a  native  of 
Wisconsin  and  a  davighter  of  H.  J.  Ross.  Their  children  are:  Charles  H.,  now  a  resident 
of  Seattle,  Washington;  Ada,  the  wife  of  Alexander  S.  .4nderson,  of  Chicago;  and  Hiram  M., 
a   lumber  merchant  of   Broadville,  Montana. 

Mr.  Blackwell  is  identified  with  the  Grand  Army  of  the  Republic  and  there  are  few  men 
of  his  years  who  have  the  right  to  wear  the  little  bronze  button  that  proclaims  service  in 
defense  of  the  Union.  He  is  both  a  York  and  Scottish  Rite  Mason,  having  been  identified 
with  the  order  for  forty-three  years,  while  for  forty-two  years  he  has  been  a  Knight 
Temjilar.  He  has  always  been  much  interested  in  the  cause  of  Masonry,  exemplifying  in 
his   life   the   beneficent   spirit   and   purpose   of  the   craft. 


JOHN  SHIKANY. 


flicupying  a  foremost  place  among  the  leading  business  men  and  prominent  citizens  of 
Williston  is  John  Shikany,  a  native  of  Syria,  born  in  Zahleh,  district  of  Lebanon,  December 
28,  1S6T.  His  parents.  Will  and  Mary  (Sawaya)  Shikany,  spent  their  entire  lives  in  that 
country,  the  father  being  a  merchant  of  Zahleh.  There  .John  Shikany  grew  to  manhood  and 
after  completing  his  education  learned  the  stone  mason's  trade,  which  he  followed  in  Syria 
until  1S91. 


210  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

That  3'ear  witnessed  his  arrival  in  tlie  United  States  and  after  spending  six  montlis 
in  Milwaukee,  Wisconsin,  where  he  worked  as  a  stone  cutter,  he  came  to  North  Dakota  and 
settled  in  Fargo,  where  he  was  also  employed  as  a  stone  cutter  and  laborer.  In  1893 
Mr.  Shrkany  returned  to  Syria,  where  he  followed  his  trade  for  three  years,  and  then  again 
came  to  America,  this  time  taking  up  a  homestead  near  Rugby  in  Pierce  county,  North 
Dakota.  He  was  engaged  in  farming  there  until  1901,  when  he  sold  his  place  and  the 
following  year  established  a  general  store  in  Williston,  where  he  is  stil!  carrying  on  business. 
He  opened  his  first  stock  of  goods  in  a  log  house  but  now  lias  an  up-to-date  store  witli  a 
patronage  which  is  large  and  substantial.  He  has  made  a  specialty  of  buying  and  selling 
bankrupt  stocks  and  has  steadily  prospered  in  his  undertakings  until  he  is  now  one  of  the 
well-to-do  citizens  of  the  town.  He  has  erected  a  beautiful  residence,  which  is  considered 
the  best  in  Williston,  and  this  his  family  now  occupy.  He  has  also  put  up  other  buildings 
which  he  has  sold  and  is  still  the  owner  of  some  valuable  real  estate  in  the  city  besides  three 
fine  farms  in  Williams  county  under  cultivation,  which  he  rents. 

At  Fargo,  North  Dakota,  Mr.  Shikany  was  married  December  24,  1893,  to  Miss  Fanny 
Kassis,  also  a  native  of  Zahleh,  Syria,  and  a  daughter  of  George  and  Regina  Kassis,  who  are 
mentioned  in  the  sketch  of  Abraham  Kassis  on  another  page  of  this  history.  By  this  union 
the  following  children  have  been  born :  Blanche,  who  was  born  at  sea  while  her  parents  were 
returning  to  Syria;  .Jacob,  born  in  Zahleh,  Syria,  who  is  on  the  border  with  Company  E,  First 
Infantry,  North  Dakota;  Walter  Joseph,  who  is  associated  in  business  with  his  father;  and 
Michael  and  Joseph,  at  school,  all  three  born  near  Rugby,  North  Dakota;  and  George  and 
Bertha,  at  school,  both  born  in  Williston. 

The  family  are  members  of  the  Roman  Catholic  church  and  Mr.  Shikany  is  also  con- 
nected with  the  Knights  of  Columbus,  being  a  charter  member  of  the  lodge  at  Williston. 
He  votes  with  the  republican  party  and  takes  a  commendable  interest  in  public  affairs. 
He  was  the  first  of  the  Syrian  colony  to  locate  in  North  Dakota  and  is  recognized  as  its 
leader,  being  man  of  power  and  influence  among  the  people  from  his  native  land.  He  has 
never  regretted  his  emigration  to  America  for  here  he  has  prospered  as  the  years  have  gone 
by  until  he  is  now  quite  wealthy  and  the  success  that  has  come  to  him  is  due  entirely  to  hia 
own  unaided  efforts  and  sound  judgment. 


GEORGE  S.  CRANNA. 


George  S.  Cranna  is  the  vice  president  of  the  firm  of  Goldaramer,  Cranna  &  Weaver, 
outfitters,  merchant  tailors  and  general  dry  goods  merchants  of  Lakota,  at  which  point  they 
are  conducting  a  business  of  growing  importance  and  volume.  Mr.  Cranna  is  of  Scotch  birth. 
He  was  born  in  Aberdeenshire,  Scotland,  January  7,  1885,  a  son  of  John  and  Mary  (Scott) 
Cranna,  who  have  spent  their  entire  lives  in  the  land  of  hills  and  heather,  where  the  father 
is  now  engaged  in  the  contracting  business,  to  which  lie  has  devoted  many  years.  He  lias 
reached  the  age  of  seventy-two,  while  his  wife  is  now  sixty-eight  j'ears  of  age.  They  reared 
a  family  of  ten  sons  and  a  daughter,  of  whom  George  S.  Cranna  is  the  seventh  in  order  of 
birth. 

Through  the  period  of  his  earl3-  youth  George  S.  Cranna  attended  the  parish  school  and 
afterward  continued  his  education  in  the  Latin  high  school.  Later  he  served  an  apprenticeship 
at  the  tailoring  trade,  covering  a  period  of  four  years;  and  afterward  worked  for  two  years 
as  a  journeyman  tailor  in  London.  Hoping  to  find  better  business  opportunities  on  this 
side  the  Atlantic,  he  then  came  to  America  in  the  fall  of  1008  and  made  his  way  at  once 
across  the  country  to  Lakota,  where  he  established  a  tailoring  business,  in  which  he  has 
since  been  engaged.  The  general  mercantile  firm  of  Goldammer,  Cranna  &  Weaver  was 
formed  on  the  Sth  of  .June,  1916,  and  they  have  one  of  the  leading  establishments  in  tlieir 
line  in  the  county.  They  carry  a  large  stock  of  dry  goods  and  are  outfitters  handling  men's, 
women's  and  children's  ready-to-wear  clothing,  having  a  business  that  is  constantly  growing. 
The  men  at  the  head  of  the  firm  are  all  clear-sighted,  broad-minded,  intelligent  and  enter- 
prising business  men  and  there  is  every  reason  to  predict  for  them  a  successful  future. 
Mr.  Goldammer  is  a  pioneer  implement  merchant  of  Lakota,  with  long  experience  in  commercial 


HISTORY  OF  XORTH  DAKOTA  211 

lines.  Mr.  Ciaima,  the  vice  piesident,  wliile  still  a  young  man,  has  displayed  his  sterling 
worth  ill  many  ways  both  as  a  busiiii^ss  man  and  citizen  of  Nelson  county  and  Korth 
Dakota.  .Mr.  Weaver  is  also  a  young  man,  ambitions  and  energetic.  Already  they  have 
instituted  resultant  plans  for  winning  trade  and  they  lully  realize  that  satisfied  customers  are 
the  best  advertisement.  Therefore  they  are  putting  forth  every  ellort  to  please  their 
patrons  and  their  honorable  dealing  and  reasonable  prices  commend  thein  to  public  patronage. 
In  politics  Jlr.  Cranna  maintains  an  independent  coui'se.  l-raternally  he  is  connected  with 
the  Masons,  being  senior  warden  in  his  lodge,  while  in  the  Knights  of  Pythias  he  has  been 
a  member  of  the  grand  lodge.  He  belongs  to  the  Commercial  Club,  which  indicates  his 
deep  interest  in  community  affairs,  and  his  sense  of  moral  obligation  is  seen  in  his  identi- 
fication with  the  Congregational  cliurch.  In  a  word,  his  has  been  a  well  spent  life  in 
which  he  has  recognized  his  obligations  and  responsibilities  as  well  as  his  privileges  and 
opportunities. 


HOX.  GEORGE  H.  LAW. 


George  H.  Law,  successfully  engaged  in  farming  about  four  miles  from  Leal,  in  Barnes 
county,  was  born  at  Stanford,  Niagara  Falls,  Ontario,  November  27,  1S62,  a  son  of  James 
and  Alvina  (Beamsley)  Law,  the  former  a  native  of  Dundee,  Scotland,  and  the  latter  of 
Canada.  In  the  maternal  line  the  ancestry  is  English,  the  grandfather  being  Eden  Beamsley, 
of  Oxfordshire,  England.  The  paternal  grandfather,  John  Law,  a  native  of  Scotland,  emi- 
grated to  Canada  with  his  family  of  three  sons  and  two  daughters:  George,  James,  John, 
Mary  and  Maggie.  Mr.  Law  of  this  review  now  has  in  his  possession  the  dress  in  which 
all  of  these  children  were  christened.  It  displays  elegant  handwork  and  was  made  by  the 
mother  of  the  family.  Taking  up  land  in  Canada,  John  Law  continued  farming  and  there 
died  at  the  age  of  eighty-two  years.  His  wife  passed  away  before  the  birth  of  her  grand- 
son, George  H.  James  Law  was  reared  to  the  occupation  of  farming,  which  he  followed 
until  he  met  death  by  drowning  at  the  age  of  forty-two  years. 

George  H.  Law,  an  only  child,  continued  at  Niagara  Falls  until  1882,  when  he  went  to 
Winnipeg,  there  remaining  for  two  years  as  an  employe  of  the  Canadian  Pacific  Railroad. 
He  worked  along  the  line  of  that  road  to  Calgary  and  was  engaged  in  locating  lumber  yards 
at  the  various  division  points.  In  1886  he  arrived  in  Barnes  county.  North  Dakota,  and 
for  the  first  year  was  employed  on  the  Boardman  farm.  He  was  then  advanced  to  the 
jKJsition  of  foreman  and  so  continued  for  eleven  yea,rs,  at  the  end  of  which  time  he  pur- 
chased his  present  farm  property  four  miles  south  of  Leal  and  has  since  devoted  his  time 
and  energies  to  the  cultivation  and  development  of  his  own  land.  He  is  a  very  active, 
enterprising  and  successful  agiiculturist  and  his  fields,  including  forty  acres  planted  to 
corn,  wheat  and  oats  and  one  hundred  acres  to  timothy,  present  a  most  attractive  appearance. 
In  addition  to  cultivating  his  fields  he  is  engaged  in  operating  a  steam  threshing  outfit. 

Mr.  Law  was  imited  in  marriage  to  Miss  Annie  E.  Scelig,  who  was  born  in  Winona 
county,  Minnesota,  February  3,  187.3,  a  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Ernest  Seelig,  who  were 
natives  of  Germany.  Following  their  marriage  they  crossed  the  Atlantic  to  the  new  world 
about  1870  and  resided  in  Winona  county,  Minnesota,  until  they  removed  to  Cass  county. 
North  Dakota,  where  they  arrived  on  the  16th  of  April,  1879.  There  the  father  engaged  in 
farming  until  his  death,  which  occurred  when  he  was  sixty-seven  years  of  age.  while  his 
wife  reached  the  age  of  sixty-:eight  years.  To  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Law  have  been  born  four 
children,  namely:      Ollie  and  Elsie,  who  are  high  school   students;   Harold;   and  George. 

Mr.  Law  is  w'ell  known  in  fraternal  circles,  being  a  Royal  Arch  Mason,  an  Elk,  a  Modern 
Woodmen  of  America  and  an  Odd  Fellow.  His  political  endorsement  is  given  to  the 
republican  party  and  he  has  been  somewhat  prominent  and  active  in  political  circles.  He 
has  been  chairman  of  the  town  board  of  Anderson  township  since  its  organization,  has  been 
a  director  and  clerk  of  the  school  district  and  his  fellow  townsmen,  appreciative  of  his 
worth  and  ability,  called  hira  to  serve  them  in  the  state  legislature  in  1907.  .So  excellent 
was  his  record  during  his  first  term  that  he  was  reelected  in  1909  and  again  in  1911  and 
for  three  terms  remained  a  member  of  the  house,  leaving  the  impress  of  his  individuality 


212-  .  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

upon  the  legislation-  enacted  during  that  period,  for  it  is  characteristic  of  Mr.  Law  that 
he  stands  loyally  in  support  of  every  measure  which  he  believes  to  be  for  the  benelit  of  the 
.state  and  is  equally  stalwart  in  his  opposition  to  proposed  legislation  that  he  believes 
will  be  inimical  to  the  best  interests  of  the  commonwealth.  His  political  integrity  is  just 
as  pronounced  as  his  reliability  in  business  afl'airs  and  it  is  well  known  that  he  is  a  man 
in  whom  to  have  confidence. 


OLAF  G.  STORAKEE. 


Olaf  G.  Storaker,  a  clothing  merchant  of  Larimore,  was  born  at  Montevideo,  Minnesota, 
September  20,  1885,  a  son  of  N.  P.  and  Margaret  Storaker,  who  are  natives  of  Norway,  from 
which  country  they  came  to  America  soon  after  their  marriage.  In  later  life  the  father  took 
up  the  business  of  contracting  and  he  and  his  wife  are  still  living  in  Montevideo,  the  former 
at  the  age  of  sixty  years  and  the  latter  sixty-two  years  of  age.  Their  family  numbered 
six  children,  of  whom  Olaf  G.  is  the  second  in  order  of  -birth. 

At  the  usual  age  O.  G.  Storaker  became  a  pupil  in  the  public  schools  of  Montevideo  and  the 
thorough  educational  training  which  he  there  received  fitted  him  for  life's  practical  and 
responsible  duties.  He  afterward  became  connected  with  the  clothing  trade  in  his  native 
city  and  there  resided  until  1907,  when  he  removed  to  Grand  Forks,  Nortli  Dakota,  where  he 
again  became  connected  with  the  clothing  business,  entering  the  employ  of  M.  G.  Olsen,  with 
whom  he  remained  until  I'JIO.  In  that  year  he  removed  to  Nortliwood,  where  he  embarked 
in  the  clothing  business  on  his  own  account,  and  after  a  year  he  became  a  resident  of 
Larimore,  where  on  the  30th  of  May,  1911,  he  established  his  present  business,  start- 
ing with  a  full  line  of  all  kinds  of  men's  clothing.  He  today  has  the  leading  establishment 
of  this  character  in  the  city,  carrying  a  large  and  well  selected  stock  which  meets  the 
demands  of  the  purchasing  public.  His  business  methods,  too,  are  an  expression  of  enter- 
prise and  commercial  integrity  and  have  won  for  him  the  entire  respect  and  confidence  of 
the  public. 

On  the  23d  of  June,  1909,  in  Aneta,  North  Dakota,  Mr.  Storaker  was  married  to  Miss 
Maude  G.  Magoris,  a  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  James  H.  Magoris,  of  Larimore,  who  were 
pioneers  of  that  section  of  the  state  and  are  still  residents  of  Larimore.  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
Storaker  have  one  child,  James  M.,  who  was  born  in  Northwood,  April  12,  1910,  and  is 
now  attending  school.  Mr.  Storaker  possesses  much  musical  talent  and  became  the  organizer 
of  the  Larimore  Hussar  Band  of  twenty  pieces,  which  is  now  the  leading  musical  organization 
of  that  section.  In  politics  he  maintains  an  independent  course.  Fraternally  he  is 
connected  with  the  Master  Masons  and  he  also  has  membership  in  the  Commercial  Club, 
an  organization  that  has  done  much  to  further  the  best  interests  of  the  city,  displaying 
a  spirit  of  initiative  that  has  placed  Larimore  in  a  position  of  leadership  in  connection 
with    many    public    movements. 


SANFORD  HARRIS  ASHLEY. 

Sanford  Harris  Ashley,  an  undertaker  and  embalmer  of  Grand  Forks,  was  born  in 
Milton,  Vermont.  December  13,  1880.  His  father,  Charles  S.  Ashley,  also  a  native  of  the 
Green  Mountain  state,  was  a  representative  of  one  of  the  old  Vermont  families  of  English 
descent  which  was  founded  in  America  by  one  of  the  passengers  from  the  Mayflower. 
Charles  S.  Ashley  took  up  the  business  of  undertaking  and  spent  his  entire  life  in  Ver- 
mont, where  he  passed  awaj'  in  1913.  at  the  age  of  sixty-three  years.  His  political  support 
was  given  to  the  republican  party  and  he  took  an  active  interest  in  politics,  while  his  fellow 
townsmen,  recognizing  his  ability,  called  him  to  various  public  oflSces,  including  that  of  state 
senator.  He  had  a  wide  acquaintance  and  wherever  known  was  spoken  of  in  terms  of  the 
.highest  regard  because  of  his  sterling  qualities  of  manhood  and  citizeilship.  His  wife, 
who    bore    the    maiden    name    of    Cora    Isabelle    Harris,    was    born    in    Vermont    and    also 


SANFORD  H.  ASffLEY 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  215 

■belonged  to  one  of  tlic  old  families  of  that  state,  her  father  beinf;  Lucius  Harris,  a  large 
landowner,  representing  one  of  the  wealthy  Vermont  families  at  Castleton.  Jlrs.  Ashley- 
still  survives  and  makes  her  home  at  Milton.  In  the  family  were  but  two  children, 
one  of  whom  died  at  the  age  of  three  years. 

Sanford  H.  Ashley  after  attending  the  public  schools  of  Milton  continued  his  educa- 
tion in  Norwich  University  at  Northfield,  Vermont,  from  which  he  was  graduated  in  1900 
with  the  degree  of  civil  engineer.  He  started  out  to  provide  for  his  own  support  when  a 
youth  of  fifteen  and  since  that  time  has  been  dependent  upon  his  own  resources.  He  first 
worked  along  the  line  of  civil  engineering  and  it  was  this  which  aroused  his  ambition  to 
secure  a  university  education  in  that  field.  Following  his  graduation  he  devoted  his  attention 
to  professional  interests,  being  at  different  periods  construction  engineer  with  the  Chicago 
&  Alton  and  the  Chicago,  Burlington  &  Quincy  Railroads  in  construction  and  location  work 
on  their  lines  between  Old  Monroe  and  Mexico,  Missouri,  and  was  engaged  in  construction 
work  on  the  South  &  Western  Railroad  in  North  and  South  Carolina.  He  was  also 
associated  with  various  other  important  engineering  projects  and  enterprises  until  1907, 
when  he  went  to  Grand  Forks.  There  he  purchased  an  undertaking  business  that  had  been 
established  in  1883  by  Don  JIcDonald,  a  pioneer  business  man  of  this  city.  Mr.  Ashley 
has  since  successfully  conducted  the  business  and  is  accorded  a  most  liberal  patronage. 
In  addition  to  carrying  a  large  line  of  undertaking  supplies  he  has  in  connection  with  his 
establishment   a   commodious   chapel   in   which    funeral   services  may  be   held. 

On  the  25th  of  December,  1905.  at  Greenfield,  Massachusetts,  Mr.  Ashley  was  united 
in  marriage  to  Miss  Josephine  Caroline  Strecker,  a  native  of  that  state  and  a  daughter  of 
Edward  and  Josepliine  Strecker,  the  former  now  deceased.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Ashley  have 
two  children:  Ruth  Isabelle,  who  was  born  December  20,  1911;  and  Esther  May,  born 
April  26,  1914.  The  family  occupy  an  attractive  residence  at  No.  504  Belmont  street,  which 
property  is  owned  by  Mr.  Ashley. 

In  politics  he  is  a  republican  wliere  national  issues  are  involved  but  at  local  elections 
votes  independently.  In  Masonry  he  has  attained  high  rank,  having  taken  the  degrees 
of  the  Scottish  Rite  and  also  belonging  to  the  Mystic  Shrine.  He  is  also  connected  with  the 
Benevolent  Protective  Order  of  Elks,  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows,  the  Fraternal 
Order  of  Eagles  and  the  Eastern  Star.  During  his  college  days  he  received  military  train- 
ing and  on  the  return  of  Admiral  Dewey  from  the  Philippines  he  had  charge  of  a  detach- 
ment of  his  bodyguard  and  traveled  all  over  the  United  States  with  him.  Ability  has 
brought  Mr.  Ashley  to  the  front  in  business  connections  and  enabled  him  to  advance  from  a 
humble  starting  point  to  a  place  of  prominence  and  affluence. 


GEORGE  B,  EVERSON. 


George  B.  Everson,  now  serving  as  assistant  cashier  of  the  AVilliams  County  State 
Bank  at  Williston,  was  born  near  Mona,  Mitchell  county,  Iowa,  .January  12,  1874,  his 
parents  being  Peter  K.  and  Sorina  (Thompson)  Everson.  The  father  was  a  native  of 
Norway  but  was  only  two  years  of  age  when  brought  to  this  country  by  his  parents,  the 
family  locating  in  Mitchell  county,  Iowa,  where  he  was  reared  and  educated.  In  early 
life  he  engaged  in  farming  but  later  conducted  a  general  store  in  Mona  and  subsequently 
became  a  dealer  in  hardware  and  machinery  at  Lyle,  Minnesota.  He  finally  retired  from 
business  and  returned  to  the  old  home  farm  near  Mona,  Iowa,  where  his  death  occurred. 
His  widow  came  to  North  Dakota  with  her  children  and  died  at  Tioga,  Williams  countv. 
She  was  born  in  Illinois  but  reared  in  Iowa,  having  accompanied  her  parents  to  ilitchell 
county   in   childhood.     They   were   farming   people. 

In  his  native  county  George  B.  Everson  grew  to  manhood,  attending  first  the  country 
schools  and  later  the  schools  of  Mona.  He  also  pursued  a  course  at  Valder  Business  College 
in  Decorah,  Iowa,  from  which  he  was  graduated,  and  subsequently  was  associated  in  business 
with  his  father  at  Lyle,  Minnesota.  On  the  28th  of  March,  190.3,  he  became  a  resident  of 
Bottineau  county.  North  Dakota,  and  there  served  as  deputy  countv  treasurer  for  a  vear 
5>nd  a  half,  after  wliich  he  lilled  tlie  position  of  assistant  cashier  in   tlio  liotfineau  National 


216  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

Bank.  In  March,  1912,  he  removed  to  Williston  and  accepted  a  similar  position  in  the 
Williams  County  State  Bank,  in  whicli  capacity  he  is  still  serving,  being  also  a  stockholder 
and  director  of  the  bank.  He  is  the  owner  of  a  good  farm  in  Williams  county,  which  he 
rents,  and  also  has  a  nice  residence  in  Williston. 

Mr.  Everson  was  married  in  Kenyon,  Minnesota,  March  12,  1901,  to  Miss  Gurine  Jeglum, 
a  native  of  that  place,  where  she  spent  her  early  life.  She  was  given  good  educational 
advantages,  being  a  graduate  of  St.  Olaf  College  at  Northfield,  Minnesota,  and  she  taught 
music  at  Kenyon  for  some  time.  Her  father,  L.  O.  .Jeglum,  was  born  in  Norway  and 
was  an  early  settler  of  Goodhue  county,  Minnesota,  where  he  followed  farming  for  many 
years,  hut  both  he  and  his  wife  are  now  deceased.  Mr.  and  Sirs.  Everson  have  four  children: 
Lloyd  Parker,  born  in  Mona,  Iowa,  May  27,  1902;  Selina  Irene,  born  in  Bottineau,  North 
Dakota,  .June  28,  1904;  Viola  Evelyn,  born  in  the  same  place.  May  8,  1907;  and  Kenneth 
Wesley,  also  born  in  Bottineau,  May  4,  1910. 

By  his  ballot  Mr.  Everson  supports  the  men  and  measures  of  the  republican  party. 
He  joined  the  Knights  of  Pythias  at  Lyle,  Minnesota  and  there  served  as  keeper  of  records 
and  seals,  but  is  now  connected  with  the  lodge  of  that  organization  at  Williston.  Both 
he  and  his  wife  are  prominent  members  of  the  United  Norwegian  Lutheran  church,  in  the 
work  of  which  they  take  an  active  interest.  Mrs.  Everson  is  president  of  the  Ladies 
Aid  Society,  and  she  is  also  a  member  of  the  Book  and  Thimble  Club  of  Williston. 


JOSEPH  B.  MALONE. 


Joseph  B.  Malone,  postmaster  of  South  Heart,  where  he  is  also  engaged  in  merchandising 
as  a  dealer  in  hardware  and  implements,  was  born  in  Minneota,  Minnesota,  in  1883.  His 
father,  Patrick  Malone,  a  native  of  Ireland,  came  to  the  United  States  soon  after  his 
marriage,  being  accompanied  by  his  wife,  who  bore  the  maiden  name  of  Jane  Hughes,  and 
their  only  child.  They  settled  first  at  Eockford,  Illinois,  where  the  father  engaged  in 
railroading.  After  remaining  in  that  state  for  five  years  he  removed  to  Minneota,  Minnesota, 
in  1883  and  took  up  a  claim,  turning  his  attention  to  general  agricultural  pursuits,  in  which 
he  engaged  up  to  the  time  of  his  retirement  from  active  business  life.  In  1912  he  arrived  in 
Page,  North  Dakota,  and  later  became  a  resident  of  South  Heart,  where  both  he  and 
his  wife  are  now  living. 

Their  family  numbered  eight  children,  two  of  whom  have  passed  away.  The  fifth  in 
order  of  birth  was  .Joseph  B.  Malone,  who  at  the  usual  age  became  a  pupil  in  the  public 
schools  of  Minneota,  and  when  his  textbooks  were  put  aside  he  concentrated  his  efforts 
upon  the  work  of  the  home  farm,  running  a  tractor  for  a  period  of  ten  years.  In  1908  he 
came  to  North  Dakota  and  homesteaded  in  the  vicinity  of  South  Heart.  Complying  with  the 
law  regarding  occupancy  and  improvement,  he  secured  title  to  the  property  after  spending 
four  years  in  its  cultivation.  During  the  winter  seasons  while  proving  up  on  his  claim 
he  managed  the  Gunderson  &  Adair  Elevator  at  South  Heart  for  two  seasons.  After  leaving 
his  farm  he  took  up  his  abode  in  South  Heart  and  opened  his  present  implement  and  hard- 
ware store  in  1913.  In  the  intervening  period  of  three  years  he  has  built  up  a  substantial 
business  along  that  line.  He  now  carries  a  good  stock  and  in  March,  1916,  he  admitted  his 
brother,  John  Malone,  to  a  partnership.  Success  has  attended  him  in  the  conduct  of  this 
enterprise,  the  business  having  now  reached  gratifying  proportions.  He  is  also  interested 
in  farm  lands,  consisting  of  a  half  section  adjoining  South  Heart.  In  February,  1912.  he 
was  appointed  postmaster  of  the  town  and  has  since  occupied  that  position. 

In  1911  Mr.  Malone  was  married  to  Miss  Mary  Kennedy,  a  native  of  South  Heart,  who 
was  reared  in  that  town  and  taught  in  the  South  Heart  school  for  a  period  of  about  eight 
years.  She  is  a  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  William  Kennedy,  who  were  early  settlers  there. 
Going  to  Stark  county  in  pioneer  times,  Mr.  Kennedy  met  all  of  the  hai'dships  and  privations 
incident  to  frontier  life  and  gradually  worked  his  way  upward  through  the  utilization  of 
the  opportunities  which  came  to  him.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Malone  have  become  the  parents  of 
two  children.  Margaret  and  William  P.  J. 

In  politics  Mr.  Malone  is  a  stalwart  democrat  and  is  now  serving  as  township  treasurer. 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  217 

He  was  also  at  one  time  school  clerk.  He  belongs  to  the  South  Heart  Catholic  church  and 

to  Dickinson  Council,  No.  1515,  K.  C.  Now  numbered  among  the  substantial  residents  of 

Stark    county,    his    creditable    business  position    is    due    to    his    unfaltering    industry    and 
determination. 


HENRY  HAWICINSON. 


Henry  Hawkinson,  who  is  engaged  in  merchandising  at  Crocus,  Towner  county,  was 
born  in  Sweden  in  May,  1869,  a  son  of  Jons  and  Bengta  (Hanson)  Hawkinson,  who  were 
also  natives  of  that  country.  The  father  devoted  his  life  to  farming  in  Sweden  and  never 
crossed  the  Atlantic,  passing  away  in  his  native  land  in  March,  1912,  while  his  wife  survived 
only  until  August,  1913. 

Henry  Hawkinson  was  reared  and  educated  in  Sweden  and  in  ilinnesota,  having  come 
to  America  when  a  youth  of  seventeen  years,  at  which  time  he  located  in  Litchfield, 
Minnesota.  He  had  previously  learned  the  carpenter's  trade  and  on  coming  to  the  new 
worUl  he  secured  employment  along  that  line.  Later  he  embarked  in  the  contracting  business 
on  his  own  account  and  continued  in  active  identification  with  the  building  intere.sts  of 
Litchfield  for  an  extended  period,  making  his  home  in  that  city  for  twenty-two  years.  In 
1905  he  removed  to  Rocklake,  North  Dakota,  and  for  three  years  was  employed  by  Nela 
Hawkinson,  his  cousin.  In  1908  he  arrived  in  Crocus,  where  he  embarked  in  general  mer- 
chandising and  has  since  continued  in  that  line  of  business,  in  connection  with  which  he 
has  been  accorded  a  liberal  patronage.  He  erected  a  modern  store  building  and  carries  an 
enormous  stock,  enjoying  a  large  trade,  which  he  has  built  up  through  thoroughly  reliable 
methods  and  unfaltering  enterprise.  He  is  also  a  stockholder,  director  and  the  vice  president 
of  the  Crocus  State  Bank  and  he  also  has  valuable  property  holdings,  including  an  improved 
farm  of  one  hundred  and  sixty  acres,  while  he  also  has  a  fourth  interest  in  another  tract 
of  improved  land  of  four  hundred  and  eighty  acres. 

On  the  30th  of  September,  1895,  Mr.  Hawkinson  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Annie 
Fridholm  and  to  them  have  been  born  three  children,  William,  Clarence  and  Esther.  The 
family  adhere  to  the  faith  of  the  Lutheran  church  and  Mr.  Hawkinson  also  holds  membership 
with  the  Modern  Brotherhood  of  America.  Politically  he  is  a  republican  and  has  filled  a 
number  of  local  offices,  serving  as  village  clerk  and  treasurer,  while  in  March,  1909,  he  was 
appointed  postmaster  of  Crocus,  which  position  he  yet  fills.  His  official  and  commercial 
activities  thus  rank  him  with  the  representative  men  of  his  town.  He  deserves  much 
credit  for  what  he  has  accomplished  as  he  has  worked  his  way  steadily  upward  through  his 
own  efforts,  having  come  to  America  empty-handed.  As  the  architect  of  his  own  fortunes 
he  has  builded  wisely  and  well  and  his  record  proves  what  may  be  accomplished  when 
ambition  and  determination  point  out  the  way. 


ADOLPHUS  W.  GUEST.  M.  D. 

Dr.  Adolphus  W.  Guest  is  engaged  in  the  general  practice  of  medicine  at  Jamestown 
but  has  specialized  to  a  considerable  extent  in  nervous  diseases  and  has  gained  a  wide  repu- 
tation as  an  alienist.  He  was  born  in  London.  Ontario,  Canada,  on  the  6th  of  July,  1S69,  of 
the  marriage  of  Richard  W.  and  Margaret  (Fitzgerald)  Guest,  both  natives  of  Canada,  born 
respectively  in  1832  and  in  1830.  The  father  is  the  youngest  son  of  William  Guest,  a  native 
of  Ireland.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Richard  W.  Guest  are  the  parents  of  seven  children,  of  whom 
our  subject  is  the  sixth  in  order  of  birth.  Their  son.  Major  Frederick  Guest,  is  now  serving 
as  a  surgeon  with  the  Canadian  Expeditionary  forces  who  took  part  in  the  Dardanelles 
campaign. 

Dr.  Adolphus  W.  Guest  received  his  early  education  in  the  country  schools  and  later 
attended  the  high  school  at  London,  after  which  he  entered  the  Western  University,  from 
which  he  was  graduated  with  the  degree  of  M.  D.  in  April,  1897.     He  located  for  practice 


218  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

in  Erie.  Cass  county,  North  Dakota,  where  he  remained  for  five  years  and  was  then 
appointed  assistant  superintendent  of  tlie  insane  hospital  at  Jamestown,  which  office  he  held 
until  1905,  when  he  resumed  private  practice.  He  has  the  confidence  of  both  the  general 
public  and  his  professional  brethren  and  is  up-to-date  and  progressive  in  his  methods,  as  he 
is  constantly  studying  along  medical  lines.  He  has  given  especial  attention  to  nervous 
diseases  and  is  known  as  one  of  the  best  alienists  in  the  southern  part  of  the  state.  He 
holds  membership  in  the  Stutsman  County  Medical  Society,  of  which  he  has  served  as 
president  for  two  terms,  in  the  North  Dakota  Medical  Society  and  in  the  American  Medical 
Association.  In  addition  to  his  lucrative  practice  he  has  other  interests,  owning  valuable 
land  in  this  state. 

Dr.  Guest  was  married  on  the  88tli  of  December,  1900,  to  Miss  Marjorie  Baker,  a 
daughter  of  Henry  and  Elizabeth  (Hill)  Baker,  pioneers  of  Bufi'alo,  this  state.  One  son, 
Adolphus  Richard,  has  been  born  to  this  union. 

Dr.  Guest  easts  his  ballot  in  favor  of  the  candidates  and  measures  of  the  republican 
party  and  for  eight  years  served  acceptably  as  county  coroner.  He  is  prominent  in  local 
fraternal  circles,  belonging  to  the  Masons,  the  Mystic  Shrine,  the  Woodmen,  the  Workmen, 
and  the  Elks.  He  finds  much  pleasure  in  all  outdoor  sports  and  spends  much  of  his  leisure 
time  in  Imnting,  fishing  and  motoring.  From  boyhood  he  has  been  dependent  upon  his  own 
resources  and  paid  his  own  way  through  college,  earning  the  necessary  money  by  different 
kinds  of  work.  He  gives  his  closest  attention  to  his  practice  but  also  finds  time  to 
cooperate  in  projects  for  the  public  good.  He  is  recognized  as  an  excellent  citizen  as  well 
as  a  successful  physician. 


CHARLES  I.  COOK. 


Charles  I.  Cook,  editor  and  owner  of  the  Beach  Advance  and  also  engaged  in  farming 
in  the  vicinity  of  Beach,  in  Golden  Valley  county,  was  born  at  Anoka,  Minnesota,  January  17, 
1865,  a  son  of  William  Henry  and  Mary  A.  (Webber)  Cook,  both  of  whom  were  natives 
of  Ohio.  About  1858  they  removed  to  Minnesota,  settling  at  Anoka.  The  father  was  a 
carpenter  and  cabinet  maker  by  trade  and  followed  those  pursuits  throughout  his  entire 
life.  He  resided  in  Anoka  until  about  1890,  when  he  went  to  Florida  and  subsequently 
removed  to  California,  where  his  death  oceur'red.  His  widow  is  now  living  with  her 
daughter.  Mis.  W.  A.  Sprague,  in  Beach.  In  the  family  were  seven  children:  Addle,  the 
wife  of  George  Epps,  of  Anoka;  Effie  Isabclle.  the  wife  of  W.  A.  Sprague,  of  Beach;  Fred  M., 
who  resides  on  a  ranch  in  Oregon:  Cliarles  I.;  Herbert  G.,  of  Jlinneapolis;  John,  who  is 
engaged  in  railroad  work  at   St.   Paul;   and  one  who  died  in   infancy. 

Cliarles  I.  Cook  passed  through  consecutive  grades  to  the  high  school  of  Anoka  and 
afterward  entered  the  office  of  the  Anoka  Union,  there  learning  the  printer's  trade.  He 
then  pursued  a  night  school  course  in  order  to  supplement  his  previous  education  and  all 
through  his  life  he  has  been  a  student  of  events  and  has  kept  in  close  touch  with  the  trend 
of  modern  thought  and  progress.  For  a  time  he  was  employed  on  the  Anoka  Herald  and 
was  advanced  to  the  position  of  foreman,  while  subsequentl}'  he  became  assistant  manager. 
Later  he  bought  the  paper  and  devoted  about  three  j^ears  to  its  publication,  after  wliich 
he  sold  out  and  removed  to  Huron,  South  Dakota,  where  he  purchased  an  interest  in  the 
Journal-World.  For  six  months  he  was  connected  with  that  paper  and  then  disposed  of 
his  interest,  after  which  he  joined  AV.  F.  Hollister  in  the  establishment  of  the  Morning 
Herald,  which  was  the  first  daily  paper  of  Huron.  After  publishing  that  paper  for  some 
time  Mr.  Cook  sold  out  to  his  partner  and  on  the  8th  of  April,  1908,  arrived  in  Beach, 
beginning  tlie  publication  of  the  Beach  Advance  on  the  1st  of  May  of  that  year.  Mr.  Cook 
remained  as  sole  proprietor  until  April  6,  1912,  when  he  sold  out  to  M.  C.  Egan,  who  formed 
a  stock  company  under  the  name  of  the  Advance  Publishing  Company  with  Mr.  Noonaii,  of 
Omaha,  as  manager,  while  Pierce  Egan  was  made  editor.  It  is  still  conducted  under  the 
same  name  but  in  1916  ISIr.  Cook  took  over  the  management  of  the  paper,  which  is  published 
weekly.  The  plant  is  well  equipped  and  under  the  control  of  Mr.  Cook  the  business  lias 
been  largely  developed.     Mr.  Cook  took  up  a   homestead  just  across  the  line  in  Montana. 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  219 

proved  up  on  the  same  and  afterward  bought  a  half  section.  Still  later  his  investment 
made  him  the  owner  of  several  sections  of  land  and  subsequently  he  sold  all  but  the  original 
three  quarters,  which  he  is  now  farming  in  addition  to  the  publication  of  the  paper. 

On  the  21st  of  August,  1885,  Mr.  Cook  was  married  to  Miss  Harriet  M.  Stewart,  a 
native  of  New  Hampshire,  born  in  June,  1867.  For  a  considerable  period  she  lived  in  Iowa 
but  in  1882  removed  to  Anoka,  Minnesota,  where  she  was  married.  They  became  the  parents 
of  three  children,  but  one  died  at  the  age  of  three  years,  the  others  being  B.  Frances  and 
Cecile  I.,  both  at  home. 

The  parents  are  members  of  the  Congiegational  church  and  Mr.  Cook  belongs  to  Beach 
Lodge,  No.  88,  F.  &  A.  M.,  to  the  Yeomen  at  Anoka  and  to  the  Woodmen  of  the  World 
at  Beach.  In  polities  he  is  a  republican  and  while  living  in  Minnesota  served  for  two 
terms  as  alderman  of  Anoka.  He  has  always  preferred  to  concentrate  his  energies,  however, 
upon  his  private  business  interests  and  do  his  political  work  as  a  private  citizen  rather 
than  as  an  ofiice  holder.  He  is  public  spirited  in  a  marked  degree  and  does  everything  in 
his  power  to  advance  the  best  interests  of  his  locality. 


0.  M.  WESTLEY. 


O.  M.  Westley,  assistant  cashier  of  the  Farmers  State  Bank  of  Hannaford,  was  born 
in  Norway,  April  18,  1863.  His  father,  Ole  H.  Westley,  was  born,  reared  and  married  in 
that  country  and  in  1881  brought  his  family  to  North  Dakota,  settling  in  Griggs  county, 
where  he  homesteaded  and  engaged  in  farming,  eventually  adding  another  quarter  section 
to  his  original  one  hundred  and  sixty  acres,  situated  five  miles  southeast  of  Cooperstown. 
Year  after  year  he  carefully  and  systematically  developed  the  fields  and  cultivated  the 
soil  but  is  now  enjoying  a  well  earned  rest  at  the  age  of  eighty-three  years. 

O.  M.  Westley,  the  eldest  of  a  family  of  eight  children,  spent  his  school  days  in  Norway 
and  was  a  youth  of  eighteen  when  he  came  to  the  new  world.  He  assisted  in  the  arduous 
task  of  developing  a  new  farm  and  continued  upon  the  old  home  place  until  1885,  when  he 
homesteaded  land  for  himself  and  engaged  in  farming.  He  also  purchased  a  relinquishment 
and  a  tree  claim  and  he  continued  upon  his  place  until  1905,  carefully  and  systematically 
developing  the  fields  and  converting  his  land  into  a  well  improved  farm.  He  was  then 
elected  register  of  deeds  and  occupied  the  position  for  two  terms,  or  for  four  years.  On 
the  3d  of  May,  1909,  he  accepted  the  position  of  assistant  cashier  of  the  Farmers  State 
Bank  and  is  now  acting  in  that  capaeity.     He  still  owns  his  farm  land,  which  he  rents. 

On  the  18th  of  May,  1886,  Mr.  Westley  was  married  to  Miss  Malina  Jenson,  a  native 
of  Norway  and  a  daughter  of  Jens  Bull,  who  became  a  pioneer  resident  of  North  Dakota. 
The  children  of  this  marriage  are:  Olive,  now  the  wife  of  B.  M.  Lunde,  of  Hannaford; 
Martin,  who  is  connected  with  the  United  States  mail  department;  Oscar  and  .Jeanette.  both 
at  home;  Julius,  who  is  in  a  mercantile  establishment  at  Hannaford;  and  William,  Harry 
and  Myrtle,  all  at  home. 

Mr.  We.stl^y  is  a  self-made  man.  having  been  dependent  upon  his  ow-n  resources  since 
he  started  out  in  life  on  his  own  account.  He  resolved  to  win  success  if  it  could  be  done 
by  persistent,  honorable  effort  and  he  has  already  gained  a  place  among  the  substantial 
residents  of  Griggs  county. 


JOHNT   A.   KIBLINGER. 


John  A.  Kiblinger,  an  auctioneer  and  farmer  of  Benson  countj',  who  is  also  filling  the 
office  of  deputy^  county  sheriff',  was  born  near  Springfield,  Ohio,  on  the  4th  of  March,  1880, 
and  is  a  son  of  Sylvanus  and  Katorah  (Kizer)  Kiblinger,  both  of  whom  were  natives  of 
Springfield,  Ohio,  as  were  their  respective  parents.  The  father  followed  the  occupation  of 
farming  in  the  Buckeye  state  during  the  greater  part  of  his  life  and  is  still  living  there 


220  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

but  is  now  retired,  enjoying  the  fruits  of  his  former  toil.  He  has  for  almost  a  third  of 
a  century  survived  his  wife,  who  passed  away  in   1884. 

John  A.  Kiblinger  was  reared  and  educated  in  Springfield,  Ohio,  but  his  opportunities 
for  attending  school  were  somewhat  limited  as  he  has  made  his  own  way  in  the  world 
from  the  age  of  fourteen  years.  For  three  years  he  worked  in  a  foundry  and  afterward 
was  employed  as  a  farm  hand  for  two  years.  In  1899  he  removed  to  Canton,  South  Dakota, 
where  he  was  employed  for  five  years,  and  then  became  a  resident  of  Dickey  county.  North 
Dakota,  where  he  spent  one  year.  In  the  fall  of  1904  he  was  fortunate  in  drawing  No.  60 
at  the  time  of  the  allotment  of  lands  in  the  Indian  reservation  at  Devils  Lake  and  he 
filed  on  land  three  miles  from  Oberon.  This  he  improved  and  has  since  cultivated,  his  home 
being  still  upon  that  place,  to  which  he  expects  to  return  on  the  1st  of  January,  1917. 
He  owns  two  hundred  and  forty  acres,  constituting  a  valuable  property,  and  he  also  leases 
land  from  the  Indians.  He  is  a  very  capable  and  successful  auctioneer,  being  a  graduate 
of  the  .Jones  National  School  of  Auctioneering  at  Chicago,  while  ten  years'  experience  in 
crying  Dakota  farm  lands  has  made  him  thoroughly  qualified  in  that  direction.  He  now 
does  a  large  business  in  auctioneering,  his  work  in  that  line  being  constantly  sought.  He 
makes  a  business  of  raising  graded  shorthorn  cattle  upon  his  farm  and  he  intends  in  the 
future  to  concentrate  more  and  more  of  his  attention  upon  his  agricultural  and  stock 
raising  interests. 

On  the  1st  of  January,  1902,  Mr.  Kiblinger  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Mamie 
Parcells  and  to  them  have  been  born  four  children,  Millie  B..  Lelah  K.,  Mary  and  Laura  E. 

Mr.  Kiblinger  belongs  to  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Felows,  the  Benevolent  Pro- 
tective Order  of  Elks,  the  Ancient  Order  of  United  Workmen  and  the  Modern  Woodmen 
of  America.  He  votes  with  the  republican  party  and  for  eight  years  he  served  as  constable 
at  Oberon,  while  for  three  years  he  was  a  member  of  the  school  board.  In  January,  1913, 
he  was  appointed  deputy  sheriff  of  Benson  county  and  is  now  active  in  that  capacity,  his 
terra  of  office  to  extend  until  January,  1917.  He  has  always  been  loyal  and  faithful  in 
the  discharge  of  public  duties  and  his  record  in  office  is  a  creditable  one. 


HON.  W.  A.  SMALL. 


Hon.  W.  A.  Small  is  extensively  engaged  in  farming  in  Rolette  county,  where  he  is 
cultivating  nine  hundred  and  sixty  acres  of  rich  land.  He  makes  his  home  in  Mylo  and  his 
farm  property  adjoins  the  town  on  two  sides.  A  native  of  La  Crosse,  Wisconsin,  he  was 
born  August  3,  1S68,  a  son  of  Alfred  and  Nora  (Welch)  Small,  the  former  a  native  of 
Maine  and  the  latter  of  Ireland.  Mrs.  Small  came  with  her  parents  to  the  United  States 
when  a  little  maiden  of  sixteen  summers,  about  the  year  1858.  the  family  home  being 
established  near  Lake  City,  Minnesota,  where  the  daughter  remained  until  she  reached 
womanhood  and  was  married.  During  his  boyhood  days  Alfred  Small  removed  with  his 
parents  to  Illinois  and  at  the  time  of  the'  Civil  war  enlisted  in  an  Illinois  regiment,  with 
which  he  served  throughout  the  period  of  hostilities.  After  the  close  of  the  confiict  he 
removed  to  Minnesota,  where  he  was  married  and  filed  on  a  homestead  near  Worthington. 
In  1881  he  arrived  in  Fargo,  North  Dakota,  where  he  spent  the  following  five  years  and 
in  1886  formed  one  of  the  vanguard  of  immigration  into  the  territory,  making  his  way  to 
Churchs  Ferry,  where  he  settled  and  opened  a  butcher  shop.  He  also  engaged  in  farming 
and  for  seven  years  was  variously  employed.  He  afterward  removed  to  West  Superior, 
Wisconsin,  and  later  to  Milwaukee,  where  his  death  occurred  May  2,  1916.  The  mother 
of  Hon.  W.  A.  Small  passed  away  in  1872  and  subsequently  the  father  wedded  Nellie 
Chapel. 

W.  A.  Small  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  of  Minnesota  and  Fargo  and  on 
Teaching  young  manhood  began  work  as  a  farm  hand.  Later  he  was  employed  in  a 
number  of  ways  prior  to  1897,  when  he  became  a  resident  of  Mylo,  in  which  year  he 
filed  on  a  homestead  now  within  the  corporation  limits  of  the  town.  He  has  since  resided 
thereon  and  from  time  to  time  as  the  years  have  passed  and  his  financial  resources  have 
permitted  he  has  made  further  investment  in  property  until  he  now  owns  six  quarter  sec- 


imS.  W.  A.  SMALL 


HOX.  W.  A.  SjrALL 


THE  NEW  YOhf; 
PUBLIC  LIPRARY 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  225 

tion8  and  is  rated  as  one  of  the  most  piospcious  farnieis  of  his  section.  His  farming 
interests  are  carefully  managed  and  directed  and  practical,  progressive  methods  are 
utilized  in  the  cultivation  and  development  of  his  fields,  thus  converting  his  land  into 
vahiahle    farming   ])ropi'rly. 

On  the  28th  of  October,  190:i,  Mr.  Small  v.-as  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Anna  Pearl 
Bock,  of  Mylo,  and  they  have  become  the  parents  of  three  children,  Ross  0.,  Frank  R.  and 
Elsie  Marie. 

Mr.  Small  votes  with  the  republican  i>arty  and  ever  keeps  well  informed  on  the 
questions  and  issues  of  the  day,  thus  being  able  to  support  his  position  by  intelligent 
argument.  In  1912  he  was  chosen  to  represent  his  district  in  the  thirteenth  general 
assembly  and  proved  a  helpful  legislator,  stanchly  supporting  various  measures  for  the 
public  good.  Fraternally  he  is  connected  with  Rolette  Lodge,  No.  166,  F.  &  A.  M.,  and 
with  Devils  Lake  Lodge,  No.  1216,  B.  P.  0.  E.  He  holds  membership  with  the  Methodist 
church,  while  his  wife  is  a  member  of  the  Presbyterian  church.  They  are  highly  esteemed  in 
the  community  where  they  live,  having  a  circle  of  friends  almost  coextensive  with  the 
circle  of  their  acquaintance.  Substantial  qualities  have  won  for  them  high  regard,  for 
their  many  good  traits  are  appreciated  by  those  with  whom  they  have  been  brought  in 
contiTct. 


TUNIS  0.  BRANDENBURG,  D.  V.  S. 

Dr.  Tunis  O.  Brandenburg,  engaged  in  the  practice  of  veterinary  surgery  in  Lakota, 
was  born  in  Michigan,  this  state,  August  16,  1890,  and  is  a  son  of  C.  P.  and  Jennie 
(Carpenter)  Brandenburg,  the  former  a  native  of  Maryland  and  the  latter  of  Illinois.  From 
the  place  of  his  nativity  the  father  removed  to  Ohio  and  afterward  became  a  resident  of 
North  Dakota,  settling  near  Michigan  in  1890.  He  homesteaded  and  is  still  living  on  his 
land,  devoting  his  time  and  energies  in  capable  manner  to  farm  work.  He  was  born  in 
1861  and  has  therefore  passed  the  fifty-fifth  milestone  on  life's  journey.  His  w-ife  was 
born  in  1862  and  by  her  marriage  has  become  the  mother  of  four  children:  Mrs.  A.  Lamont, 
living  at  Dunseith,  North  Dakota;  Tunis  0.,  of  this  review;  Howard  and  Vernon,  residents 
of   Michigan. 

In  his  early  j-outh  Tunis  0.  Brandenburg  attended  the  public  schools  of  ^Michigan, 
passing  through  consecutive  grades  to  the  high  school,  from  which  he  was  graduated  with 
the  class  of  1907.  Later  he  became  a  student  in  the  agricultural  college  at  Fargo  and  in 
1913  he  was  graduated  from  Cornell  University  on  the  completion  of  a  course  in  veterinary 
medicine  and  surgery.  He  then  returned  to  Lakota,  where  he  has  since  been  engaged  in 
active  practice,  and  his  ability  is  widely  recognized,  as  is  indicated  by  the  liberal  patronage 
now  accorded  him.  He  belongs  to  the  North  Dakota  State  Veterinary  Medical  Association, 
and  the  American  Veterinary  Medical  Association.  He  also  became  a  member  of  the  Society 
of  Comparative  Medicine  and  while  at  Cornell  L^niversity  joined  the  Omega  Tau  Sigma,  a 
college  fraternity. 

In  addition  to  his  practice  Dr.  Brandenburg  is  interested  in  farming  and  displays 
careful  management  in  controlling  his  agricultural  interests.  Politically  he  is  a  republican 
but  does  not  seek  nor  desire  office,  preferring  to  concentrate  his  energies  upon  his  pro- 
fessional   interests,    which    are    constantly   growing. 


GUY  B.  SQUIRES. 


Guy  B.  Squires  is  acting  as  postmaster  at  Crystal  Springs  and  at  the  same  time  is 
conducting  a  general  store,  in  which  connection  he  carefully  studies  the  public  wishes  and 
demands,  and  through  his  wise  selection  of  goods  is  able  to  make  large  and  profitable  sales, 
drawing  his  trade  from  a  wide  territory.  Born  in  Wisconsin,  he  is  a  son  of  Cliarles  and 
Emma  (Darrah)  Squires,  both  of  whom  were  natives  of  the  state  of  New  York.  The 
father  followed  general  farming  and  also  specialized  in  stock  raising.  In  the  fall  of  1908 
Vol.  m— 11 


226  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

he  came  to  North  Dakota  and  established  his  home  on  section  30,  Crystal  Springs  township, 
Kidder  county,  where  he  is  still  active  at  the  age  of  seventy-four  years.  At  the  time  of 
the  Civil  war  he  went  to  the  front  with  a  New  York  regiment,  with  which  he  remained 
for  three  years.  For  a  time  he  was  incarcerated  in  a  southern  military  prison  ajid  he 
also  encountered  the  hardships  and  privations  incident  to  pioneer  life.  To  him  and  his 
wife  were  born  four  children,  all  of  whom  are  living,  but  the  mother  passed  away  in  1914. 

Guy  B.  Squires,  the  third  in  order  of  birth,  largely  acquired  his  education  at  Blue 
Earth,  Minnesota,  and  was  giaduated  from  the  high  school  there.  He  afterward  took  up 
the  profession  of  teaching,  which  he  followed  for  three  years  in  Minnesota,  and  in  1907  he 
came  to  this  state,  after  which  he  entered  a  homestead  three  miles  south  of  Crystal  Springs. 
Not  a  furrow  had  been  turned  nor  an  improvement  made  upon  the  place  w-hen  it  came  into 
his  possession,  but  with  characteristic  energy  he  began  the  development  of  the  fields  and 
also  engaged  in  stock  raising.  While  devoting  the  summer  seasons  to  farming  he  taught 
school  during  the  winter  months.  He  was  one  of  the  pioneers  of  the  district  and  aided  in 
laying  broad  and  deep  the  foundation  upon  which  has  been  built  the  later  progress  and 
prosperity  of  the  county.  He  assisted  in  organizing  the  township  of  Crystal  Springs  in 
1909  and  has  since  been  its  clerk.  In  1914  he  secured  title  to  his  claim  and  in  December, 
1915,  he  removed  to  the  village  of  Crystal  Springs,  where  he  purchased  the  general  store 
of  Ealph  Miller  and  has  since  been  engaged  in  merchandising.  He  carries  a  large  line  of 
general  merchandise  and  of  hardware  and  has  increased  his  stock  four  fold  since  taking 
over  the  store.  He  also  conducts  a  restaurant  and  soda  fountain  in  connection  with  his 
business  and  he  has  met  with  very  substantial  success  through  the  wise  conduct  of  his 
interests  and  the  careful  direction  of  his  labors.  He  is  also  still  engaged  in  stock  raising, 
having  si.xty-five  head  of  cattle  on  his  place,  and  he  is  yet  the  owner  of  the  homestead 
property  on  which  he  made  his  start  as  a  business  man  of  Kidder  county.  In  this  connection 
he  operates  a  cream  station,  buying  and  shipping  cream.  In  a  word,  he  is  ever  watchful 
of  opportunities  pointing  to  success  and  utilizes  every  means  at  hand  to  win  honorable 
advancement. 

In  1899  Mr.  Squires  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Dollah  Wakcman,  who  was  born 
in  Wisconsin  in  18G7,  a  daughter  of  Orlando  and  Cecelia  Wakeman,  who  were  early  residents 
of  Jlinnesota  but  have  now  passed  away.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Squires  have  become  the  parents 
of  seven  children:  Cecelia,  born  in  1901;  Percy,  born  in  March,  1903;  Glenn,  born  in  July, 
1904;  Melva,  born  in  1905;  Charles,  whose  birth  occurred  in  November,  1906;  Gerald,  born 
in  August,  1908;  and  Fayette,  born  in  October,  1910. 

In  politics  Mr.  Squires  is  a  republican  but  has  never  been  a  politician  in  the  sense  of 
office  seeking  although  he  is  now  filling  the  position  of  postmaster,  to  which  he  was  appointed 
in  1916.  He  has  also  had  official  connection  with  the  schools  and  he  is  secretary  and 
treasurer  of  the  Farmers  Local  Union,  occupying  that  position  since  its  organization  in 
1912.  He  is  likewise  secretary  of  the  Farmers  Elevator  Company.  He  belongs  to  the 
Presbyterian  church  and  is  active  in  support  of  those  forces  which  work  for  the  moral 
progress  of  the  community.  When  he  came  to  Kidder  county  the  town  of  Ciystal  Springs 
had  not  yet  come  into  existence  and  Tappen  was  the  nearest  market.  He  underwent  many 
of  the  hardships  and  privations  of  frontier  life  and  has  borne  his  part  in  the  work  of 
development  and  improvement.  He  was  in  limited  financial  circumstances  when  he  located 
in  Kidder  county  but  by  persistent  energy,  intelligently  directed,  he  has  worked  his  way 
upward  and  he  has  made  the  obstacles  and  difficulties  which  have  seemed  to  bar  his  path 
serve  as  an  impetus  for  renewed  effort  on  his  part. 


HARRY  DENCE. 


Harry  Dence,  editor  and  proprietor  of  the  Belfield  Times,  one  of  the  leading  news- 
papers of  Stark  county,  was  born  on  the  27th  of  March,  1883.  in  Morrisburg,  Ontario,  Canada, 
and  is  a  son  of  Alfred  and  Mary  (Smith)  Dence,  the  latter  also  of  Canadian  birth.  The 
father,  however,  was  a  native  of  Kent  county,  England.  For  many  years  he  was  engaged 
in  business  as  a  produce  merchant  at  Morrisburg,  Ontario,  Canada,  where  he  died  on  the 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  227 

22(1  of  January,  1901.  He  survived  his  wife  only  a  short  time  as  she  passed  away 
October  21,  1900,  and  two  of  their  four  children  are  also  deceased. 

Harry  Dence  was  reared  and  educated  in  Canada,  finishing  school  at  the  Collegiate 
Institute  of  Morrisburg.  He  was  practically  reared  in  a  print  shop  and  after  leaving  school 
at  the  age  of  eighteen  years  worked  as  a  journeyman  printer  in  various  parts  of  the 
United  States.  In  December,  1906,  he  came  to  Nortli  Dakota  and  was  employed  at  his 
trade  in  Wahpeton,  Leeds,  Bowbells,  Beach  and  Belfield.  In  January,  1913,  he  purchased 
the  Belfield  Times,  wliich  he  has  since  published,  and  now  has  a  modernly  equipped  office. 
Tile  circulation  of  the  paper  has  been  increased  to  one  thousand,  its  subscriptions  coming 
from  a  radius  of  thirty  miles  around  Belfield.  It  is  republican  in  politics,  is  a  bright  newsy 
sheet,  well  edited  and  well   printed. 

On  tlie  8th  of  October,  1911,  Mr.  Dence  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Abbie  G. 
Hennessy,  a  native  of  Aitken,  Minnesota,  and  a  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  John  Hennessy, 
who  were  born  in  Maine.  Her  mother  died  in  1887,  and  her  fatlier  passed  away  in  1914. 
Mr.  and  Mrs.  Dence  have  one  child,  Joan. 

Mr.  Dence  casts  an  independent  ballot,  preferring  to  support  the  men  whom  lie  believes 
best  calculated  to  fill  the  offices  regardless  of  party  ties.  He  was  one  of  the  few  to  agitate 
the  raising  of  Belfield  from  a  village  to  a  city  and  was  instrumental  in  accomplishing  that 
object.  While  a  resident  of  Beach  he  managed  the  editorial  department  of  the  Golden 
Valley  Chronicle  for  a  period  of  two  years  and  has  done  much  to  promote  the  newspaper 
interests  of  this  state.  Mr.  Dence  was  confirmed  in  the  Episcopal  church,  and  is  a  member 
of  the  Masonic  lodge  of  Belfield  and  the  Belfield  Commercial  Club.  He  takes  an  active 
interest  in  public  aS'airs  and  has  borne  an  important  part  in  the  development  of  his  city. 


ANDREW    FOLEY. 


Andrew  Foley,  cashier  of  the  First  National  Bank  at  Rock  Lake,  was  born  in  New 
Hope,  Missouri,  January  11,  1876,  a  son  of  D.  F.  and  Flora  (Hunter)  Foley,  botli  of  whom 
were  natives  of  Missouri.  The  father  followed  merchandising  and  when  he  left  his  native 
state  in  1889  removed  to  Towner  county,  North  Dakota,  filing  on  land  near  Cando.  There 
he  carried  on  general  agricultural  pursuits  for  a  considerable  period  or  until  his  wife's 
death,  after  which  he  returned  to  Slissouri.  where  he  again  engaged  in  farming  for  a  period. 
Later  ho  again  took  up  his  abode  in  Rock  Lake,  where  his  remaining  days  were  spent.  His 
wife  died  in  May,  1895,  and  he  survived  until  November,  1912. 

Andrew  Foley  was  reared  and  educated  in  Elsberry,  Missouri,  and  remained  with  his 
parents  until  he  attained  his  majority.  He  began  farming  in  North  Dakota,  devoting  his 
energies  to  that  occupation  until  he  reached  the  age  of  eighteen,  when  he  returned  to 
Missouri,  where  he  spent  three  years  in  farming.  He  next  entered  a  business  college  at 
Quincy,  Illinois,  and  subsequently  removed  to  St.  Louis,  where  he  accepted  a  position  with 
a  wholesale  house.  After  a  year  spent  in  that  connection  he  returned  to  Elsberry,  Missouri, 
and  was  appointed  assistant  cashier  in  a  bank  with  which  he  was  associated  for  two  years. 
In  December.  1906.  he  arrived  at  Rock  Lake,  Towner  county,  and  entered  the  employ  of 
the  N.  W.  Hawkinson  Lumber  Company  as  head  bookkeeper,  acting  in  that  capacity  until 
July,  1909,  at  which  time  he  entered  the  Farmers  State  Bank  as  assistant  cashier.  That 
position  he  held  until  1911,  at  which  time  the  Farmers  Bank  purchased  the  First  National 
Bank  and  he  remained  as  assistant  cashier  in  the  latter  institution  iintil  May  1,  1916,  when 
he  was  promoted  to  the  position  of  cashier.  The  other  officers  are:  W.  .T.  Lichty,  president; 
and  N.  W,  Hawkinson,  vice  president.  Tliis  bank  is  capitalized  for  twenty-five  thousand 
dollars  and  has  a  surplus  of  ten  thousand  dollars,  while  its  deposits  amount  to  one  hundred 
and  twenty-three  thousand  dollars.  Mr.  Foley  is  also  one  of  the  stockholders  and  directors 
of  the  bank  and  as  its  cashier  is  active  in  its  management  and  control.  He  is  recognized 
as  a  courteous  and  obliging  official,  doing  everything  in  his  power  to  further  the  interests 
of  the  patrons  to  a  point  that  will  not  jeopardize  the  stability  of  the  institution.  In  1907 
they  erected  a  fine  modern  bank  building  whicli  is  thoroughly  equipped.  Mr.  Foley  is  also 
a  stockholder  and  the  vice  president  of  the  Lichty  Mercantile  Company,  which  is  now  engaged 


228  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

in  the  grain  trade  in  Rock  Lake,  and  lie  likewise  has  large  farm  interests  in  Towner  county, 
owning  four  hundred  and  eighty  acres  of  splendidly  improved  land  near  Rock  Lake. 

In  July,  1914,  Mr.  Foley  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Anna  Wagle,  by  whom  he  has 
a  daughter,  Emily,  born  September  21,  1915.  Mr.  Foley  belongs  to  the  Masonic  fraternity 
and  to  the  Baptist  church — associations  which  indicate  much  of  the  nature  of  his  interests 
and  the  rules  that  govern  his  conduct.  His  political  allegiance  is  given  to  the  democratic 
party  and  in  all  matters  of  citizenship  he  stands  for  those  things  which  are  progressive 
and  beneficial.  Along  the  line  of  intelligently  directed  effort  he  has  made  his  advance  in 
the  business  world  and  the  success  which  he  has  achieved  is  creditable. 


WILHELM  C.  NOREM. 


Wilhelm  C.  Norem,  cashier  of  the  Woodworth  State  Bank,  is  a  native  of  Rochelle, 
Illinois,  and  as  the  family  name  indicates,  comes  of  Norwegian  ancestry,  his  parents,  C.  A. 
and  Christina  (Rudd)  Norem,  having  both  been  natives  of  Norway.  Upon  coming  to  the 
United  States  the  father  made  his  way  at  once  across  the  country  to  Illinois  and  in  the 
vicinity  of  Rochelle  took  up  the  occupation  of  farming.  In  the  fall  of  1887  he  removed  to 
Iowa,  where  he  continued  to  reside  until  called  to  his  final  rest  in  November,  1915.  The 
mother  still  makes  her  home  in  that  state. 

In  the  family  were  seven  children,  of  whom  Wilhelm  C,  who  was  born  in  1873,  was 
the  fourth  in  order  of  birth.  At  the  usual  age  he  entered  the  public  schools,  mastering  the 
preliminary  branches  of  learning  in  Illinois  and  afterward  continuing  his  studies  in  Minne- 
apolis. After  leaving  school  he  became  traveling  representative  for  the  Acme  Harvester 
Company,  which  he  represented  in  the  capacity  of  collector.  Previously  he  had  secured  a  claim 
in  Pierce  county,  North  Dakota,  upon  which  he  remained  for  a  short  time,  and  he  also 
taught  school  in  Pierce  and  Wells  counties  for  a  period  of  two  years  before  entering  upon 
the  work  of  collector.  He  continued  with  the  Acme  C-ompany  until  1906,  at  which  time 
be  removed  to  Edmunds,  where  in  connection  with  .John  McC'arty  and  W.  C.  Wescom  he 
organized  the  Edmimds  Bank,  with  the  management  of  which  he  was  directly  associated, 
first  as  cashier  and  later  as  president  for  a  period  of  seven  years.  In  the  fall  of  1911  he 
established  the  bank  of  Woodworth,  its  organizers  being  Mr.  Noreiii,  Ed  Alfsen  and  A.  G. 
Dunlop,  the  first  named  being  now  cashier.  He  has  further  extended  his  efforts  in  banking 
circles,  having  in  1915  opened  the  State  Bank  at  Goldwin,  North  Dakota,  of  which  he  is 
likewise  cashier  and  which  w^as  formed  by  the  same  men  who  organized  the  Woodw-orth 
bank.  In  addition  to  managing  financial  interests  which  come  under  their  control  the 
bank  conducts  a  successful  real  estate  department,  handling  both  city  property  and  farm 
lands,  and  also  writes  insurance,  representing  some  of  the  strongest  companies  of  the 
country.  Mr.  Norem  is  a  republican  and  keeps  well  informed  on  the  questions  and  issues 
of  the  day  but  does  not  desire  nor  seek  public  offi.ce,  feeling  that  he  prefers  to  do  his 
public  duty  as  a  private  citizen. 


J.    J.    KEHOE. 


J.  .J.  Kehoe,  present  states  attorney  of  Towner  county  and  a  leading  member  of  the 
bar,  was  born  in  Delaware  county,  Iowa,  November  5,  1872,  his  parents  being  Patrick  and 
Catherine  (Hogan)  Kehoe,  who  were  natives  of  Ireland.  In  boyhood  and  girlhood  they 
came  to  the  United  States,  the  former  making  the  trip  with  his  mother,  while  Mrs.  Kehoe 
crossed  the  Atlantic  with  her  father.  They  became  residents  of  Cincinnati,  Ohio,  wJiere  they 
were  married,  and  in  1842  they  cast  in  their  lot  with  the  pioneer  settlers  of  Iowa,  establish- 
ing their  home  in  Delaware  county  when  the  work  of  progress  and  development  seemed 
scarcely  begun  there.  The  father  purchased  land  from  the  government  and  developed  an 
excellent  farm  upon  which  he  resided  to  the  time  of  his  death  in   1907.     He  passed  away 


HISTORY  OF  XORTTI  DAKOTA  229 

at  the  very  notable  old  age  of  ninety-seven  years,  while  his  wife  was  killed  in  a  runaway- 
accident  in  1889. 

After  attending  the  public  schools  J.  J.  Kehoe  became  a  student  in  St.  Joseph's  College 
at  Dubuque,  Iowa,  and  later  attended  the  Iowa  State  University,  from  which  he  won  his 
LL.  B.  degree  in  the  class  of  1897.  He  then  located  for  practice  at  Charles  City,  Iowa, 
where  he  was  associated  with  J.  C.  Canii)bcll  in  the  work  of  the  profession.  At  length  he 
removed  to  Cando,  North  Dakota,  where  he  formed  a  partnership  with  James  B.  Brook, 
the  jiresent  county  judge  of  Towner  county.  The  business  relation  between  them  was 
maintained  until  1U08  and  during  the  four  succeeding  years  Mr.  Kehoe  practiced  independently 
but  in  1912  admitted  W.  T.  Moseley  to  a  partnership  under  the  firm  style  of  Kehoe  & 
Moseley.  Their  patronage  has  been  extensive  and  of  an  important  character  and  Mr.  Kehoe's 
standing  as  an  able  lawyer  is  further  indicated  in  the  fact  that  in  1906  he  was  elected  to 
the  office  of  states  attorney  and  has  been  four  times  reelected,  serving  in  all  for  ten  con- 
secutive years.  He  had  also  been  elected  city  attorney  of  Charles  City,  Iowa,  in  1898  and 
occupied  that  position  for  three  years.  Soon  after  his  arrival  in  Cando  he  was  there  elected 
city  attorney  and  served  for  two  years  in  that  position.  His  knowledge  of  the  law  is 
comprehensive  and  exact  and  his  mind  is  analytical,  logical  and  inductive.  His  reasoning 
is  clear  and  deductions  sound,  while  the  logic  of  his  arguments  never  fails  to  impress 
court  6r  jury  and  seldom   fails  to  win  the  verdict  which  he  desires. 

Aside  from  his  professional  interests  Mr.  Kehoe  has  important  property,  being  a  large 
holder  of  farm  lands,  owning  independently  twelve  hundred  and  eighty  acres  in  Towner 
county,  together  with  a  half  interest  in  four  hundred  and  eighty  acres  in  the  county  and 
a  third  equity  in  eighteen  hundred  and  eighty  acres  in  Ramsey  county. 

ilr.  Kehoe  exercises  his  right  of  franchise  in  support  of  the  men  and  measures  of  the 
republican  party  and  fraternally  he  is  identified  with  Charles  City  Lodge,  No.  418,  B.  P.  0.  E. 
He  and  his  wife  are  members  of  the  Catholic  church.  Mr.  Kehoe  is  widely  known  as  a 
business  man,  as  an  able  lawyer  and  as  a  progressive  citizen.  He  has  wisely  used  his  time, 
talents  and  opportunities  and  his  life  record  should  serve  to  inspire  and  encourage  others, 
showing  what  may  be  accomplished  through  individual  effort. 


PAUL  C.  JOHNSON. 


Paul  C.  .Johnson,  a  well  known  general  merchant  of  Northwood,  Crand  Forks  county, 
was  born  in  Norway,  February  16,  1848,  a  son  of  Cliristian  and  Gunhild  Paulsen,  who  were 
also  natives  of  the  land  of  the  midnight  sun.  Coming  to  the  new  world,  they  settled  in 
Houston  county,  Minnesota,  and  their  last  days  Avere  spent  in  Roseau  county  where 
the  father  died  at  the  age  of  eighty-six  years.  The  mother  lived  for  a  time  with 
her  son,  Paul  C.  .Johnson,  and  afterward  with  his  sister,  Mrs.  Ida  .Johnson,  at  whose  home 
she  passed  away  in  1900,  at  the  age  of  seventy  years.  In  the  family  were  five  children,  of 
whom  Paul  C.  is  the  eldest. 

In  his  early  youth  Paul  C.  Johnson  attended  school  for  a  week.  He  afterward  received 
instruction  from  his  gi-andmothcr  and  for  twenty-nine  days  attended  school  in  this  country, 
which  comprised  the  full  extent  of  his  educational  opportunities.  However,  he  possesses 
an  observing  eye  and  retentive  memory  and  he  has  continually  added  to  his  fund  of 
knowledge,  becoming  a  well  informed  and  practical  business  man.  In  1870  he  arrived 
in  Northwood,  Iowa,  and  for  three  years  thereafter  was  employed  at  farm  labor.  At  the  end 
of  that  time  he  walked  to  Freeborn  eoimty,  Minnesota,  where  he  was  married  and  renuiined 
for  a  year.  On  the  expiration  of  that  period  he  removed  to  Northwood,  North  Dakota,  in 
1875  and  on  the  2d  of  July  of  that  year  took  up  his  abode  on  a  farm  in  that  locality. 
With  characteristic  energy  he  began  its  development  and  improvement  and  converted  it 
into  a  highly  cultivated  tract  of  land  upon  which  he  resided  for  seventeen  years  or  until 
1892,  when  he  established  a  dry  goods  .store  in  Northwood  which  he  has  since  conducted, 
having  now  a  large  and  well  appointed  store  in  which  he  carries  an  extensive  line  of  goods 
that  meets  the  varied  demands  of  the  purchasing  public.  When  he  started  from  Freeborn 
county,  Minnesota,  he  had  little  idea  as   to  where  he  would   eventually   settle.     He   made 


230  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

the  trip  by  wagon,  carrying  with  him  all  his  worldly  possessions  and  accompanied  by  his 
wife  and  child.  They  journeyed  thus  for  a  month  before  reaching  what  is  now  Northwood. 
Soon  after  arriving  at  that  point  Mr.  Johnson  filed  on  land  near  the  river  and  built  a  log 
cabin  thirteen  by  eleven  feet,  having  no  assistance  in  the  work  save  that  which  his  wife 
could  render.  After  its  completion  they  occupied  that  primitive  home  in  contentment  for 
several  years.  Mr.  Johnson  had  to  travel  to  Fargo  for  supplies,  a  distance  of  more  than 
a  hundred  miles,  which  he  covered  with  ox  teams,  the  journey  requiring  a  week.  He  would 
return  with  supplies  to  last  for  several  months.  He  at  once  began  to  break  the  sod  and  his 
first  crop  was  harvested  from  twenty  acres.  From  that  point  forward  he  continued  to 
develop  his  fields  until  he  had  the  entire  one  hundred  and  sixty  acres  under  cultivation 
and  found  that  the  rich  soil  produces  splendid  returns.  Though  he  started  in  business  life 
with  almost  nothing,  he  is  today  one  of  the  prosperous  citizens  and  honored  pioneer  settlers 
of  Grand  Forks  county. 

He  was  also  the  first  postmaster  of  Northwood,  being  appointed  in  1879,  and  the  first 
money  which  lie  received  for  his  services  during  a  quarter  was  forty  cents.  He  held  that 
position  for  five  years  or  until  the  town  was  started.  For  eight  years  he  was  mayor 
of  Northwood  and  his  administration  was  characterized  by  progressiveness  and  substantial 
municipal  improvement.  He  has  also  been  a  member  of  the  city  council,  has  been  school 
director  and  for  many  years  school  treasurer  of  Northwood.  In  politics  he  has  always 
maintained  an  independent  course,  holding  himself  free  to  exercise  liis  right  of  franchise 
according  to  the  dictates  of  his  judgment. 

In  June,  1874,  !Mr.  Johnson  was  married  to  Miss  Sophia  Hansen,  of  Freeborn  county, 
Minnesota,  who  passed  away  in  the  spring  of  1899  at  the  age  of  forty-four  years.  Seven 
children  were  born  to  them:  Mrs.  Clara  Erickson,  who  was  born  in  Freeborn  county  and  is 
now  living  in  Lind  township,  Grand  Forks  county.  North  Dakota;  Bernhard,  who  was  born 
in  Grand  Forks  county  and  is  married  and  now  resides  on  a  farm  in  Northwood  township 
of  the  same  county;  Gilman,  who  is  married  and  resides  in  Northwood;  Mrs.  Ida  Saugstad, 
also  living  in  Northwood;  Mary,  at  home;  Hans,  who  is  married  and  resides  in  Northwood; 
and  Stella,  who  was  married  November  16,  1916,  to  Henry  A.  Haga,  of  Northwood.  With 
the  exception  of  the  first  named,  all  were  born  in  Grand  Forks  county.  In  February, 
1900,  Mr.  Johnson  was  again  married,  his  second  union  being  with  Miss  Andrea  Sagen,  of 
Grand  Forks.  Their  only  child  died  in  infancy.  As  a  pioneer  citizen,  as  a  representative 
business  man  and  as  a  capable  official  in  public  office,  Mr.  .lohnson  stands  high  in  the  regard 
of  his  fellow  townsmen  and  he  certainly  deserves  much  credit  for  what  he  has  accomplished. 


JAMES  TWAMLEY. 


No  history  of  North  Dakota  would  be  complete  without  extended  reference  to  James 
Twamley,  of  Grand  Forks,  whose  name  is  inseparably  interwoven  with  the  business 
development  and  with  the  intellectual  and  moral  progress  of  the  community — in  fact  with  all 
those  things  which  have  made  history  in  this  state.  He  was  born  in  County  Carlow, 
Ireland,  November  5,  1843.  His  father,  Peter  Twamley,  also  a  native  of  that  country, 
located  in  New  York  city  on  coming  to  America  in  1844  and  there  continued  to  reside 
until  his  death,  which  occurred  in  1896,  when  he  had  reached  the  advanced  age  of  eighty- 
nine  years.  He  was  an  accountant  by  profession  and  thus  provided  for  his  family.  At 
the  time  of  the  Civil  war  he  and  two  of  his  sons  responded  to  the  country's  call  for  aid 
in  preserving  the  Union,  the  father  becoming  a  member  of  the  Twenty-second  New  York 
Infantry.  He  married  Elizabeth  Abbott,  also  a  native  of  the  green  isle  of  Erin,  and  her 
death  occurred  in  1881,  when  she  was  sixty-seven  years  of  age.  There  were  six  children 
in  the  family:  Henrietta,  who  became  the  wife  of  James  McKenell  but  both  are  now  deceased; 
Joseph,  who  served  in  the  Civil  war  and  died  in  1882;  Elizabeth  Ann,  the  wife  of  John 
Pullman,  of  Brooklyn,  New  York;  Peter,  who  was  a  member  of  the  Forty-eighth  New 
York  Volunteer  Cavalry  during  the  Civil  war  and  for  twenty  years  was  president  of  the 
Forty-eighth  Veteran  Association,  dying  July  30,  1916,  his  remains  being  interred  in  Green- 


JAMES  TWAMLEY 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  233 

wood   eometcry    at    Brooklyn;    Jennie,   the   deceased    wife   of   John   Bolton,   ah    importer   of 
New  York  city;   and  James  of  this  review. 

The  last  named  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  of  New  York  and  in  the  College  of 
the  City  of  New  York  and  when  seventeen  years  of  age  started  out  in  the  business  world 
as  an  employe  in  the  wliolesale  dry  goods  house  of  De  Forest,  Armstrong  &  Company. 
Later  he  was  with  John  V.  Farwell,  of  Chicago,  and  subsequently  embarked  in  business  on 
his  own  account  as  a  member  of  the  firm  of  Seymour,  Carter  &  Twamley,  but  in  the  big 
Chicago  fire  of  1871  their  establishment  was  destroyed  and  Mr.  Twamley  lost  the  greater 
part  of  his  fortune  at  that  time.  He  then  returned  to  New  York  city  and  entered  into 
partnership  with  George  B.  Gurley  under  the  firm  name  of  Gurley  &  Twamley,  dealers  in 
dry  goods,  at  No.  327  Broadwa}'.  That  association  was  maintained  for  six  years,  at  the 
end  of  which  time  Mr.  Twamley  removed  to  St.  Paul  and  for  eight  years  was  buyer  for 
the  Auerbach-Finch-Sheffer  Company  and  also  a  member  of  the  firm,  having  a  financial 
interest  in  the  business.  On  account  of  ill  health,  however,  he  left  St.  Paul  and  removed 
to  Grand  Forks,  North  Dakota,  and  has  resided  in  this  state  ever  since.  Soon  after  his 
arrival  he  entered  the  wholesale  and  retail  grocery  business,  forming  a  partnership  with 
Frank  Viets  after  which  they  purchased  the  Metlar  stock,  then  located  at  the  corner  of 
Third  and  Dc  Mers  streets,  where  the  present  Ontario  department  store  now  stands.  This 
was  the  first  wholesale  grocery  establishment  within  the  territorj'  now  embraced  in 
North  Dakota.  Mr.  Twamley  personally  purchased  the  site  of  the  store,  which  is  today  the 
most  valuable  corner  in  the  city  of  Grand  Forks,  its  estimated  worth  being  one  hundred 
thousand  dollars.  Something  of  the  rise  in  real  estate  values  in  Grand  Forks  resulting 
from  the  growth  and  development  of  the  city  is  indicated  in  the  fact  that  Mr.  Twamley 
made  the  purchase  of  that  property  for  seven  tliousand  dollars  and  after  owning  it  for 
twelve  years  he  sold  it  for  twenty-two  thousand  dollars,  while  in  the  meantime  he  had 
received  twenty  thousand  dollars  in  rental.  The  firm  of  Twamley  &.  Viets  existed  for 
a  year,  at  the  end  of  which  time  the  latter  retired  and  returned  to  Ohio,  being  succeeded  in 
the  business  by  John  A.  Grove  under  the  firm  style  of  Twamley  &  Grove.  That  firm 
successfully  carried  on  the  business  for  two  years,  at  the  end  of  which  time  Mr.  Twamley 
went  to  Minto,  North  Dakota,  where  he  was  joined  by  Mr.  Viets,  his  former  partner,  in 
the  establishment  of  a  wholesale  grocery  business.  They  also  erected  a  mill,  which  they 
operated  for  six  years  but  on  account  of  poor  railroad  facilities  sold  the  business  and 
Mr.  Twamley  returned  to  Grand  Forks,  since  which  time  he  has  practically  lived  retired. 
During  twelve  years  of  this  period,  however,  he  has  acted  as  public  administrator  of 
Grand  Forks  county  and  for  the  past  fifteen  years  has  been  state  agent  for  the  Detroit 
Heating  &  Lighting  Company,  manufacturers  of  gas  plants  for  public  and  domestic  use. 
Mr.  Twamley  maintains  his  interest  in  that  business  merely  to  be  occupied,  for  indolence 
and  idleness  are  utterly  foi-eign  to  his  nature  and  he  cannot  content  himself  without  the 
supervision  of  some  business  interests  to  occupy  his  attention.  Through  all  of  his  business 
career  he  has  studied  closeh'  the  questions  affecting  liis  interests  and  his  sound  judgment 
has  been  displayed  in  the  success  that  has  attended  his  efforts. 

On  the  .'Jth  of  September,  1S66,  Mr.  Twamley  was  married  in  Newburgh,  New  York, 
to  Miss  Elizabeth  Hawkins,  a  native  of  Orange  county.  New  York,  and  a  daughter  of 
Lewis  and  Mary  (Blake)  Hawkins,  early  residents  of  Orange  county  and  of  Scotch-Irish 
descent.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Twamley  have  two  children:  Frederick,  who  was  born  in  New- 
burgh, New  York,  in  1868  and  is  now  a  resident  of  New  York  city;  and  Edna,  who  is  a 
teacher  in  the  University  of  North  Dakota. 

In  politics  Mr.  Twamley  is  a  republican  and  has  always  been  interested  in  political 
and  civic  questions,  giving  active  support  to  many  measures  for  the  general  good.  He  was 
appointed  the  first  regent  of  the  State  T'niversity  of  North  Dakota  and  was  largely  instru- 
mental in  inducing  Governor  Ordway.  then  chief  executive  of  Dakota  territory,  to  locate 
the  University  at  Grand  Forks.  Believing  firmly  in  republican  principles,  he  has  done 
everything  in  his  power  to  promote  the  success  and  ensure  the  growth  of  the  party  in  the 
districts  in  which  he  has  lived.  He  is  the  oldest  Scottish  Rite  Mason  in  North  Dakota  and 
is  the  oldest  thirty-third  degree  Mason.  While  he  has  never  filled  a  chair  in  the  order 
he  has  always  been  a  most  earnest  worker  in  support  of  the  craft.  He  joined  Gramercy 
Lodge,  No.  537,  F.  &  A.  M.,  in  New  Y'ork  city  in  1805,  two  years  after  its  organization,  and 


234  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

he  is  today  tlie  oldest  living  representative  of  that  lodge.  He  likewise  belongs  to  the 
Independent  and  the  United  Orders  of  Foresters  and  during  the  years  when  proliibition  was  an 
•  issue  he  was  one  of  the  workers  that  secured  the  adoption  of  the  prohibition  plank  and 
during  that  period  he  served  as  grand  chief  templar  of  the  state.  He  organized  the 
Commercial  Club  of  Grand  Forks,  was  its  first  member  and  its  first  president,  occupying 
that  position  for  many  years,  during  which  time  he  instituted  many  plans  that  resulted 
beneficially  in  the  upbuilding  of  the  city  along  many  lines.  He  belongs  to  the  Congre- 
gational church,  of  which  he  was  formerly  a  trustee,  serving  as  such  until  1915,  when 
he  resigned.  He  aided  in  organizing  the  church  and  has  ever  been  most  active  in  its  work, 
doing  everything  in  his  power  to  promote  the  moral  as  well  as  the  material  and  political 
progress  of  his  community.  The  cause  of  education  has  found  in  him  a  stalwart  champion 
and  for  many  years  he  served  on  the  school  board,  being  the  oldest  representative  of  the 
board  of  Grand  Forks.  In  a  word  there  is  practically  no  phase  of  development  and 
progress  in  Grand  Forks  with  which  Mr.  Twamley  has  not  been  connected.  He  was  the 
organizer  of  the  movement  and  was  instrumental  in  having  the  city  park  board  commis- 
sioners of  Grand  Forks  donate  a  two-acre  tract  for  the  erection  of  a  building  in  which 
to  preserve  historic  relics  and  he  contemplates  raising  funds  for  the  erection  of  a  building 
to  be  used  as  a  meeting  place  for  the  old  settlers  and  also  as  a  museum.  Personally 
lie  has  a  large  collection  of  relics  of  pioneer  days  which  he  will  donate  to  the  museum 
and  wiiich  includes  the  first  oxcart  that  came  into  the  state.  To  this  cart  he  will  add 
a  mounted  ox,  showing  to  later  generations  the  primitive  methods  used  by  the  pioneer. 
A  sod  house  will  also  be  one  of  the  features  of  the  museum.  Mr.  Twamley  has  every 
reason  to  be  proud  of  the  part  which  he  has  played  in  the  development  and  upbuilding 
of  his  city  aiid  state  and  the  work  of  perhaps  no  other  has  been  more  effective  in  advancing 
the  interests  of  Grand  Forks  and  of  North  Dakota.  He  is  truly  a  self-made  man,  for  he  has 
been  both  the  architect  and  builder  of  his  own  fortunes.  The  first  salary  which  he  earned 
was  fifty  dollars  per  year  and  out  of  that  sum  he  had  to  pay  his  living  expenses.  Tlie 
second  year  he  received  one  hundred  and  fifty  dollars  and  the  third  year  two  hundred  and 
fifty  dollars.  During  the  fourth  year  of  his  employment  the  company  with  which  he  was 
connected  failed  on  account  of  the  Civil  war,  for  they  were  the  owners  of  one  hundred 
stores  in  the  south.  That  he  advanced  from  the  beginning  is  indicated  in  that  record  and 
his  progress  was  continuous  until  he  retired  from  active  business. 


PROFESSOR  ROBERT  B.  MURPHY. 

Professor  Robert  B.  Murphy,  superintendent  of  schools  in  Michigan  and  recognized 
as  one  of  the  able  educators  of  the  eastern  part  of  the  state,  was  born  on  Prince  Edward 
Island,  February  20,  1880.  His  parents,  James  and  Alice  (Donnelly)  Murphy,  are  also 
natives  of  that  locality  and  there  the  father  became  engaged  in  farming  and  has  also 
been  connected  with  the  fishing  industry.  He  was  born  in  1849,  and  his  wife  in  1847,  and  both 
are  still  living. 

Professor  Murphy  was  the  fourth  in  order  of  birth  in  their  family  of  five  cliildren,  and 
after  attending  the  public  schools  on  Prince  Edward  Island  he  continued  his  education  in  the 
Prince  of  Wales  College,  from  which  he  was  graduated  in  1896,  winning  the  literary 
degree.  He  afterward  attended  the  Mayville  Normal  School,  where  he  pursued  a  professional 
course  and  was  graduated  in  190.5.  In  the  interval,  however,  he  took  up  the  profession  of 
teaching  on  liis  native  island  and  was  made  principal  of  the  Fanning  high  school  at 
Malpeque,  there  remaining  for  four  years.  It  was  in  1904  that  he  entered  the  normal  school 
at  Mayville,  North  Dakota,  from  which  he  was  graduated  the  following  year.  He  was  then 
elected  superintendent  of  schools  at  Tower  City,  Cass  county,  where  he  continued  for  eight 
years  or  until  1913,  and  while  there  located  he  took  out  his  naturalization  papers  in  1911. 
Two  years  later  he  went  to  Michigan  and  has  since  been  superintendent  of  the  schools  of 
that  city.  He  has  completed  the  work  for  the  Bachelor  of  Arts  degree  at  tlie  University  of 
North  Dakota  and  he  has  taught  in  the  summer  sessions  of  tlie  State  University,  also  of  the 
Mayville    Normal    School    and    at    Minot.     He    imparts    clearly    and    readily    to    others    the 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  235 

kiKiwlcdge  that  lie  has  acquired  and  he  is  eonstantly  seeking  out  new  metliods  that  will  render 
jiis  work  more  eiTective.  He  disjdays  great  zeal  aiul  interest  in  his  professional  duties  and 
lias  tile  ability  to  win  the  cooperation  of  teachers  and  pujiils. 

On  the  14tli  of  August,  1898.  Professor  ilurphy  was  married  to  Miss  Beatrice  McLeod,  who 
was  born  on  Prince  Kdward  Island,  a  daughter  of  Captain  and  Mrs.  George  JIcLeod.  The 
father  was  a  well  known  sea  captain  and  commanded  a  number  of  sailing  vessels.  At  the 
time  of  his  demise  he  was  in  charge  of  a  government  steamer  sailing  betw-een  Prince  Edward 
Island  and  the  mainland  and  he  was  most  widely  and  favorably  known  in  that  district. 
Professor  and  Mrs.  Murpliy  have  become  parents  of  three  children,  as  follows:  Rita 
Alice,  who  was  born  on  Prince  Edward  Island,  January  16,  1900,  and  is  now  a  senior  in 
the  high  school  at  Michigan;  Everett  Bruce,  who  was  born  on  Prince  Edward  Island, 
January  1.3,  1905,  and  is  a  seventh  grade  student;  and  Lloyd  Geoige,  whose  natal  day 
was  July  21,  1914. 

Professor  Murphy  has  various  fraternal  connections.  He  belongs  to  the  Masonic 
lodge  of  Tower  City  and  to  Michigan  City  Lodge,  I.  0.  0.  F.,  and  is  most  loyal  to  the 
purposes  of  those  organizations.  His  political  allegiance  is  given  the  democratic  party  and  he 
is  now  serving  as  city  treasurer.  He  belongs  to  the  Commercial  Club  of  Michigan  and  is 
active  in  furthering  its  purposes  while  ])romoting  the  growth  and  upholding  the  standards 
of  the  city,  but  his  attention  is  chielly  directed  in  the  line  of  his  profession  and  he  has 
made  marked  progress  in  that  field.  In  1915  he  w-as  elected  president  of  the  department 
of  secondary  education  of  the  North  Dakota  Education  Association  and  is  now  filling  that 
position. 


HARVE  ROBINSON. 


Harve  Robinson,  a  banker  of  Sentinel  Butte,  was  born  at  Rensselaer,  Indiana,  in  1867, 
his  parents  being  Thomas  and  ilargaret  (Parkinson)  Robinson,  who  were  natives  of  Ohio. 
Their  family  numbered  eleven  children,  of  whom  Mr.  Robinson  of  this  review  was  the  tenth  in 
order  of  birth.  In  early  life  the  father  and  mother  removed  to  Indiana  and  there  spent 
their  remaining  days,  Mr.  Robinson  following  the  occupation  of  farming  and  stock  raising 
as  a  life  work. 

Harve  Robinson  acquired  his  education  in  the  schools  of  Rensselaer,  Indiana,  and  in 
Purdue  L'niversity,  which  he  attended  for  a  year.  In  1891  he  arrived  in  Miles  City,  Montana, 
and  took  up  the  work  of  cow  punching,  continuing  in  that  employment  for  eight  years, 
'on  the  expiration  of  which  period  he  engaged  in  the  cattle  business  on  his  own  account. 
He  afterward  went  into  the  western  part  of  North  Dakota  and  settled  on  a  ranch  thirty-five 
miles  south  of  Sentinel  Butte,  whereon  he  had  about  five  hundred  head  of  cattle.  He 
continued  actively  in  the  live  stock  business  until  1914  and  was  one  of  the  prominent  and 
successful  ranchmen  of  his  district.  His  fellow  citizens,  appreciating  his  worth  and 
ability,  called  him  to  public  office  in  1899  by  electing  him  county  treasurer  of  Billings 
county,  which  position  he  filled  for  two  terms.  In  1903  he  removed  to  Sentinel  Butte,  in 
which  year  he  entered  the  Interstate  Bank  of  Sentinel  Butte  as  assistant  cashier.  The 
bank  was  established  in  that  year  by  Messrs.  Cranford,  Martin,  Simpson,  Hunter  and 
McGillivray  and  the  last  named  sold  his  stock  to  Mi\  Robinson.  After  serving  for  a  time  as 
assistant  cashier  Mr.  Robinson  was  elected  to  the  presidency  of  the  bank  but  sold  his 
interest  therein  in  1909.  He  then  organized  the  Stockmen's  State  Bank  at  Medora,  of  which 
he  is  the  president.  In  the  meantime,  or  in  1905,  he  organized  the  State  Bank  at  Terry, 
Montana,  but  sold  his  interest  therein  in  1910.  In  1906  he  became  one  of  the  organizers 
of  the  First  National  Bank  of  Wibaux,  Montana,  and  in  1911  he  organized  the  Glendive 
State  Bank.  In  the  last  two  named  he  is  still  interested.  He  has  done  much  to  further 
banking  in  his  section  of  the  state  and  his  operations  along  that  line  have  constituted  a 
source  of  vast  benefit  to  the  communities  in  which  he  has  established  and  promoted  banks. 
In  the  early  days  he  homesteaded  a  quarter  section  which  is  now  within  the  limits  of 
the  town  site  of  Sentinel  Britte. 

In  1889  Mr.  Robinson  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Jennie  Gilbert,  who   was  born 


236  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

at  Sentinel  Butte,  where  her  parents,  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Henry  Gilbert,  located  in  pioneer 
times.  Mrs.  Robinson  passed  away  in  1908,  leaving  three  children,  Addison,  Dorothy  and 
Jennie.  For  his  second  wife  Mr.  Robinson  chose  Miss  Nellie  Elliot,  a  daughter  of  Mr.  and 
Mrs.  Thomas  Elliot,  of  Minnesota,  and  to  them  has  been  born  a  son.  Harvard  Kenton, 
who  was  named  in  honor  of  Simon  Kenton,  the  famous  Indian  fighter,  who  was  a  great- 
grandfatlier  of  MJ-.  Robinson. 

Fraternally  Mr.  Robinson  is  connected  with  the  Masons  and  the  Elks  of  Dickinson, 
becomino-  a  charter  and  a  life  member  of  the  latter  organization.  His  political  allegiance  is 
o-iven  to  the  republican  party  and  in  1911  he  was  elected  to  represent  his  district  in  the 
state  leo-islature.  Realizing  the  possibilities  and  opportunities  of  this  country,  he  has  worked 
his  way  steadily  upward  and  his  intelligently  directed  industry  has  been  an  element  in  the 
growth  and  improvement  of  the  districts  in  which  he  has  operated.  His  plans  have 
always  been  well  formulated  and  carefully  executed  and  thus  he  has  carried  forward  to 
successful  completion  whatever  he  has  undertaken. 


JOHN  NEAL  BLACK. 


John  Neal  Black,  engaged  in  the  manufacture  of  candy  and  ice  cream  at  Grand  Forks 
and  thus  prominently  connected  with  the  commercial  interests  of  the  city,  was  born  at 
Boston,  Massachusetts,  January  26,  1873.  His  father,  William  Black,  a  native  of  that  state, 
was  a  representative  of  an  old  Massachusetts  family  of  Scotch  descent  that  was  founded 
in  America  prior  to  the  Revolutionary  war.  Through  various  generations  down  to  and 
including  William  Black  representatives  of  the  family  were  florists  and  horticulturists. 
William  Black  passed  away  in  Boston  in  18S0  at  the  age  of  twenty-nine  years,  having 
spent  his  entire  life  in  that  city.  In  business  he  had  been  very  successful.  His  wife, 
who  bore  the  maiden  name  of  Elizabeth  Adderly,  was  a  native  of  England  and  in  young 
womanhood  came  to  the  new  world,  making  her  way  to  Boston,  where  she  met  and 
married  Mr.  Black.  She  is  now  living  at  Atlanta,  Georgia.  In  the  family  were  three 
children,  the  two  daughters  being:  Eliza,  the  wife  of  .J.  L.  Kelly,  of  Chattanooga,  Tennessee; 
and  Caroline,  who  died  at  the  age  of  nine  years. 

John  N.  Black  was  educated  in  the  common  schools  of  Boston  to  the  age  of  eleven 
years  and  then  started  out  to  earn  his  living,  being  first  employed  by  J.  T.  Garland,  a  candy 
manufacturer  at  Minneapolis,  Minnesota,  with  whom  he  learned  the  confectioner's  trade, 
remaining  in  Mr.  Garland's  service  for  ten  years.  He  was  first  employed  at  a  salary  of  four 
dollars  per  week  but  gradually  worked  his  way  upward.  It  was  after  the  death  of  his 
father  that  his  mother  and  the  family  removed  to  Minneapolis  and  with  the  business 
interests  of  that  city  John  N.  Black  was  connected  for  a  considerable  period.  After 
leaving  the  service  of  Mr.  Garland  he  was  employed  by  other  leading  candy  manufacturers 
in  difl'erent  parts  of  the  country,  spending  some  time  at  Cliattanooga,  Tennessee,  and  at 
Cincinnati,  Ohio.  Eventually  he  came  to  North  Dakota,  settling  at  Grand  Forks  in  1902 
upon  removal  from  Lima,  Ohio.  There  he  entered  the  employ  of  H.  K.  Geist.  one  of  the 
leading  candy  manufacturers  of  the  city,  with  whom  he  continued  for  four  years.  In 
November,  1907,  he  embarked  in  business  on  his  own  account,  opening  a  candy  depart- 
ment in  the  George  Wilder  grocery  store,  where  he  leased  a  small  space.  Gradually  the 
business  grew  and  developed  until  his  became  the  leading  establishment  of  the  kind  in 
Grand  Forks.  He  is  now  extensively  engaged  in  the  manufacture  of  confectionery  and  ice 
cream  and  he  maintains  two  retail  stores,  one  at  No.  10  North  Third  street,  while  the  main 
store  is  in  the  Scandinavian-American  Bank  building.  These  are  both  splendidly  and 
attractively  equipped  and  bring  to  him  a  liberal  patronage.  He  also  conducts  a  factory 
at  East  Grand  Forks,  Minnesota,  where  he  manufactures  all  kinds  of  candies  and  ice 
cream.  He  is  the  sole  owner  of  the  business  and  his  ice  cream  trade  is  particularly  exten- 
sive, for  he  makes  large  shipments  all  over  North  Dakota  and  to  nearby  states.  His 
business  has  been  developed  along  legitimate  and  substantial  lines  and  he  employs  in  the 
factory  and  his  stores  thirty  people  on  an  average.  He  has  always  concentrated  his  efforts 
along  this  single  line,  has  studied  the  wishes  of   the  people   and  has   manifested  a   spirit 


JOHN  N.  BLACK 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  239 

of  initiative  in  bringing  forth  now  products  both  in  ice  cream  and  in  confectionery.  All  of 
his  goods  are  standard  products  and  his  success  is  indeed  well  merited,  being. the  logical 
and  legitimate  reward  of  his  earnest,  persistent  effort. 

On  the  13th  of.  June,  1904,  in  Grank  Forks,  5Ir.  Black  was  married  to  Miss  Christina 
Kimble  who  was  born  at  East  Grand  Forks,  a  daughter  of  Andrew  and  Elizabeth  Kimble, 
the  former-  now  deceased,  while  the  latter  is  living.  Her  father  was  one  of  the  first 
settlers  of  East  Grand  Forks  and  had  his  farm  directly  on  the  boundary  line  of  the  city. 
He  became  a  very  prominent,  progressive  and  successful  man  and  was,  moreover,  honored 
as  a  pioneer  settler.  He  took  quite  an  active  interest  in  local  politics  and  in  civic  matters 
and  filled  various  positions  of  honor  and  trust,  including  that  of  alderman  and  member 
of  the  school  board  of  East  Grand  Forks.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Black  have  become  the  parents  of 
six  children,  Gladys,  Emmett,  William,  Madeline,  Norma  and  Donald,  but  the  second 
named   has   passed   away. 

Mr.  Black  gives  his  political  allegiance  to  the  republican  party  and  his  religious  faith 
is  evidenced  in  his  membership  in  the  Episcopal  church.  He  belongs  to  the  Commercial 
Club  and  is  in  hearty  sympathy  with  its  purposes  to  upbviild  Grand  Forks,  extend  its 
trade  relations  and  establish  higher  civic  standards.  He  has  always  cooperated  in  move- 
ments for  the  general  good  and  at  the  same  time  he  has  carefully  and  wisely  directed  his 
business  affairs  along  lines  leading  to  continued  growth,  resulting  in  very  substantial 
success. 


GUSTAVE  M.   HEDDERICH. 

Gustave  M.  Hedderich,  deceased,  was  one  of  the  honored  citizens  and  prominent  business 
men  of  Williston  for  several  years  and  took  an  important  part  in  the  upbuilding  of  the  city. 
He  was  born  in  Evansville,  Indiana,  on  the  11th  of  October,  1860,  and  was  a  son  of 
Christian  and  Magdalena  (Muntzer)  Hedderich,  both  natives  of  Germany.  The  father  was 
only  five  years  of  age  when  he  came  to  America  and  settled  in  Evansville,  Indiana,  where  after 
reaching  manhood  he  engaged  in  the  hotel  business,  conducting  the  Washington  House  for 
many  years.  He  died  in  that  city  in  1885  and  there  his  wife  also  passed  away.  Her  birth 
occurred  in  Lyons.  New  York,  her  parents  having  crossed  the  Atlantic  to  the  United  States. 
She  was  reared  and  educated  in  Lyons  and  from  there  removed  to  Evansville,  Indiana, 
where  .she  was  married. 

During  his  boj'hood  Gustave  M.  Hedderich  attended  the  grammar  and  high  schools 
of  Evansville  and  subsequently  took  up  the  study  of  law  for  a  time.  At  an  early  day 
he  made  his  way  to  Fort  Buford,  North  Dakota,  and  to  Woody  Mountain,  Canada,  when 
this  region  was  mainly  inhabited  by  the  Indians,  and  he  became  a  personal  friend  of  Sitting 
Bull  and  many  of  the  Sioux  chiefs.  In  fact  he  taught  Sitting  Bull  to  write  his  name  in 
English — an  accomplishment  of  which  the  Indian  was  very  proud.  Mr.  Hedderich  was  con- 
nected with  the  post  traders  store  at  Poplar,  Montana,  when  that  town  was  an  Indian 
trading  post,  and  remained  there  until  his  brother  George  died  at  Fort  Buford,  North  Dakota, 
when  he  went  to  the  latter  place.  He  and  his  brother  Oint  then  bought  out  the  firm  of 
Leigliton,  .lordan  &  Hedderich  and  conducted  the  store  at  Fort  Buford  until  the  government 
abandoned  the  old  military  post  there  in  1895,  when  they  moved  the  business  to  Williston, 
which  was  then  a  town  of  only  three  hundred  inhabitants.  Having  faith  in  its  future  develop- 
ment, however,  they  erected  a  large  brick  store  building  and  were  not  long  in  securing  a  good 
trade,  which  steadily  increased  as  the  country  became  more  thickly  settled.  He  also  took  iin 
active  part  in  everything  pertaining  to  the  welfare  of  the  community,  becoming  associated  with 
many  movements  for  the  public  good.  He  built  the  first  irrigation  ]dant  in  the  northwestern 
part  of  the  state,  near  Williston,  and  his  success  in  that  undertaking  constituted  an  initial 
step  which  was  later  followed  by  the  government,  which  promoted  and  established  the  large 
irrigation  project  that  now  furnishes  water  to  that  section.  In  addition  to  his  other 
interests  Mr.  Hedderich  became  extensively  and  successfully  engaged  in  the  raising  of  polled 
Angus  cattle,  being  the  first  man  in  his  section  of  the  state  to  own  a  fine  herd  of  these  cows. 

On  the  5th  of  April,  1888,  Mr.  Hedderich  was  married  to  Miss  Grace  Dustin,  a  daughter 


240  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

of  Jesse  S.  and  Lorana  (Carter)  Dustin,  the  former  a  native  of  Vermont  and  the  latter  of 
Virginia.  The  death  of  Mr.  Hedderieh  occurred  April  29,  1906,  and  was  a  matter  of  the 
keenest  regret  to  all  who  knew  him.  His  circle  of  friends  was  coextensive  with  the  circle 
of  his  acquaintance.  He  manifested  the  utmost  loyalty  to  his  neighbors  and  because  of 
tlie  soundness  of  his  judgment  his  advice  was  often  sought  by  them.  He  left  to  his  family 
a  comfortable  competence,  the  reward  of  his  years  of  earnest,  persistent  and  intelligently 
directed  toil.  The  firm  of  G.  M.  Hedderieh  &  Company  is  still  doing  a  fine  business  and 
today  has  one  of  the  largest  general  stores  in  northwestern  North  Dakota.  He  was  a 
charter  member  of  the  Royal  Arcanum  of  Helena,  Montana.  Mrs.  Hedderieh  lives  in  Williston 
and  is  prominent  in  social  circles  there.  They  had  a  wide  acquaintance  among  army  officers 
who  were  at  old  Fort  Buford  and  Mr.  Hedderieh  had  the  happy  faculty  of  winning  friends 
wherever  he  went.  His  life  was  ever  an  upright,  honorable  one,  winning  for  him  the 
goodwill,  confidence  and  high  regard  of  all  witli  whom  he  came  in  contact,  and  to  his  family 
he  left  not  only  a  substantial  competence  but  also  the  priceless  heritage  of  an  untarnished 
name. 


JOHN  E.  MLARTIN. 


.John  E.  Martin,  attorney  at  law  with  offices  at  Maxbass,  was  born  in  Minneapolis, 
Minnesota,  .July  1,  1884,  a  son  of  Ole  and  Ella  (Stensby)  Martin,  who  were  natives  of  Norway. 
The  mother  is  now  deceased,  but  the  father  survives  and  makes  his  home  in  Minneapolis. 

John  E.  Martin  acquired  his  education  in  the  graded  schools  of  Minneapolis  and  in  the 
North  high  school,  after  which  he  attended  the  University  of  Minnesota,  completing  a  course 
in  the  law  department  and  graduating  as  a  member  of  the  class  of  1910.  Immediately 
afterward  he  came  to  North  Dakota  and  settled  at  Plaza,  Mountrail  county,  where  he  entered 
upon  the  practice  of  his  profession.  There  he  remained  for  six  months,  when  his  mother's 
death  occurred  and  he  returned  to  Minneapolis.  After  a  brief  period  he  located  in  Minot 
with  George  A.  McGee,  with  whom  he  was  associated  in  practice  for  ten  months.  In 
October,  1912,  he  came  to  Maxbass,  where  he  has  since  successfully  followed  his  profession, 
being  now  accorded  a  large  and  gratifying  clientage  that  connects  him  with  much  important 
litigation  tried  in  the  courts  of  Bottineau  county.  He  prepares  his  cases  with  thoroughness, 
is  logical  in  his  reasoning  and  clear  in  his  deductions. 

On  the  18th  of  November,  1914,  Mr.  Martin  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Kathryne 
Louise  Vye,  of  Plaza,  North  Dakota,  and  to  them  has  been  born  a  daughter,  Kathryne 
Gwenith. 

Mr.  Martin  is  a  member  of  Minot  Lodge,  No.  1089,  B.  P.  0.  E.,  and  in  religious  faith 
his  wife  is  a  Congiegationalist.  Politically  he  is  a  republican  and  at  the  spring  primary 
of  1916  received  the  nomination  for  judge  of  the  county  court  and  that  fall  was  elected. 
He  never  regards  lightly  the  duties  that  devolve  upon  him  in  a  professional  capacity  and 
his  ability  is  widely  recognized.  He  is  the  present  mayor  of  Maxbass,  having  served  in  that 
capacit}'  for  the  past  three  years,  and  is  also  a  member  of  the  school  board. 


JOHAN  JULIUS  HANSON. 


Johan  Julius  Hanson,  a  representative  of  the  farming  interests  of  Lamoure  county, 
his  home  being  on  section  27,  Black  Loam  township,  was  born  in  Norway,  September  10, 
1859,  a  son  of  Olaves  and  Stina  Hanson,  who  arrived  in  the  United  States  in  June.  1865, 
accompanied  by  their  family  and  settled  in  Meeker  county,  Minnesota,  where  the  father 
took  up  a  homestead  of  seventy-two  acres.  He  lived  upon  this  farm  until  1890,  when 
he  removed  to  Grove  City,  Minnesota,  and  in  1906  came  to  North  Dakota,  after  which  he  went 
to  live  with  his  son,  H.  J.  Hanson,  in  Litchville,  there  remaining  up  to  the  time  of  his 
death,  which  occurred  in  1908.  For  more  than  a  quarter  of  a  century  he  had  survived  his 
wife,  who  died  in  this  state  in  1882. 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  241 

JoliiUi  J.  Hanson  was  not  yet  six  years  of  age  when  liis  parents  panic  to  the  new  world. 
He  acqnireil  a  common  school  education  in  Minnesota,  his  boyhood  days  being  passed  witliout 
any  incident  of  special  importance.  In  the  spring  of  1882  he  came  to  North  I>akota  and 
started  to  earn  his  living  at  farm  life.  He  filed  on  a  homestead  claim  constituting  tha 
southeast  quarter  of  section  6,  Litchville  township,  and  with  characteristic  energy  began  to 
develop  and  cultivate  that  property,  there  remaining  until  1888,  when  he  returned  to 
Minnesota.  Kor  three  years  thereafter  he  lived  in  Cirove  City,  where  he  carried  on  general 
merchandising,  but  in  1891  he  again  came  to  Xortli  Dakota  and  opened  a  mercantile  store  in 
Litchville.  For  three  years  he  was  again  identitied  with  mercantile  interests  and  in  the 
spring  of  1895  he  removed  to  Verona,  Lamoure  county,  where  he  engaged  in  business 
and  also  occupied  the  position  of  postmaster  for  three  years.  In  the  fall  of  1898  he  sold 
out  his  stock  of  goods  and  purchased  one  hundred  and  si.xty  acres  of  land  on  section  36,  Black 
Loam  township,  after  which  he  removed  to  his  farm  and  thereon  continued  to  make  his  home 
until  the  fall  of  1915,  when  he  moved  across  the  road  and  established  his  residence  on 
section  27.  He  has  bought  land  from  time  to  time  and  is  now  the  owner  of  nine  hundred  and 
twenty  acres  in  Black  Loam  township  and  a  quarter  section  in  Litchville  township.  Much 
of  the  land  was  totally  unimproved  or  but  slightly  improved  when  it  came  into  his 
possession,  but  with  characteristic  energy  he  began  its  development  and  converted  it  into 
productive  fields  from  which  he  annually  gathers  good  harvests. 

In  1881  ilr.  Hanson  was  married  to  Miss  Carrie  Bjorke,  of  Meeker  county,  Minnesota, 
a  native  of  Norway,  who  came  with  her  parents  to  this  country  in  1867.  The  two  children 
born  of  this  marriage  are:  Ludwig,  living  at  Eudyard,  Montana;  and  Alfred,  who  remains 
at  home  and  cultivates  a  part  of  his  father's  land.  The  wife  and  mother  passed  away  in 
December,  1884,  and  in  1885  Mr.  Hanson  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Oliana  Kulsath, 
of  Prairie  township,  Lamoure  county,  but  a  native  of  Norway.  She  came  to  the  United 
States  with  her  parents  in  1870  and  has  since  remained  on  this  side  of  the  Atlantic.  The 
children  of  this  marriage  are  nine  in  number,  of  whom  seven  are  living:  Harry  and  Olaf, 
both  at  home;  Mabel,  who  has  taken  up  a  homestead  claim  in  Montana;  and  Josie,  Walter, 
William   and  Laura,  all  of  whom  are  under  the  parental   roof. 

Mr.  Hanson  and  his  family  are  members  of  the  Lutheran  church  and  he  is  interested  in 
all  that  pertains  to  the  moral  progress  and  uplift  of  the  community.  His  political  views  are 
in  accord  with  the  principles  of  tlie  republican  party,  but  while  he  keeps  well  informed  on 
the  questions  and  issues  of  the  day,  he  does  not  seek  nor  desire  office,  preferring  to  give 
his  undivided  attention  to  his  business  affairs. 


W.  T.  MOSELEY. 


W.  T.  Moseley  is  a  well  known  representative  of  a  profession  wliich  lias  important 
bearing  upon  the  progress  and  stable  prosperity  of  every  community,  being  now  actively 
engaged  in  law  practice  as  a  member  of  the  firm  of  Kehoe  &  Moseley  of  Cando.  A  native 
of  Wisconsin,  he  was  born  in  Sparta,  March  6,  1877,  his  parents  being  Dr.  William  H.  and 
Sarah  B.  (McKenzie)  Moseley,  the  former  born  in  Franklinville,  New  York,  and  the  latter 
in  Middlebury,  Vermont.  They  came  west  with  their  respective  parents  in  childhood, 
arriving  in  Wisconsin  in  the  early  '50s,  at  wliich  time  they  took  up  their  abode  among  the 
pioneer  settlers  of  Monroe  county.  On  reaching  manhood  the  father  prepared  for  the  practice 
of  medicine  and  for  many  years  was  a  well  known,  prominent  and  successful  physician  of 
Sparta.  In  1896  he  removed  to  Madison,  Wisconsin,  where  his  remaining  days  were  jiassed, 
his  death  there  occurring  in  .June,  1911.     His  widow  still  resides  in  that  city. 

Liberal  educational  opjiortunities  were  accorded  W.  T.  Moseley.  He  completed  his 
studies  in  the  University  of  Wisconsin,  whicli  conferred  upon  him  the  Bachelor  of  letters 
degree  in  1900  and  in  1903  his  LL.  B.  degree.  His  first  two  years  as  a  law  student  were 
spent  at  Georgetown  University  in  Washington,  D.  C,  where  he  was  also  employed  as 
special  agent  in  the  United  States  census  bureau,  to  which  position  he  was  appointed  in 
June,  1900.  During  his  service  in  that  connection  he  was  placed  in  charge  of  agriculture 
on  the  Indian  reservations  of  the  United  States,  over  which  he  had  jurisdiction  for  two  years 


242  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

and  during  that  time  lie  attended  Georgetown  University,  in  wliicli  lie  pursued  liis 
preparation  for  the  bar.  Following  his  graduation  from  the  law  school  of  the  University 
of  Wisconsin  he  came  direct  to  North  Dakota  in  1903  and  lor  two  years  was  employed  in 
the  collection  department  of  the  J.  I.  Case  Threshing  Machine  Company,  with  headquarters 
at  Fargo.  From  1905  until  1907  he  was  traveling  auditor  fur  F.  FI.  Stoltzo,  who  at  that  time 
operated  a  line  of  thirty  lumberyards  in  Kortli  Dakota,  and  while  thus  engaged  he  gained  a 
broad  acquaintance  throughout  the  state.  In  August,  1907,  he  arrived  in  Cando,  where  he 
formed  a  law  partnership  with  Charles  C.  Converse  under  the  firm  name  of  Converse  &, 
Moseley.  That  partnership  continued  until  May,  1908,  when  Mr.  Converse  removed  to 
McKenzie  county,  and  during  the  succeeding  four  years  Mr.  Moseley  practiced  independently. 
On  the  1st  of  Jul}',  1912,  he  joined  J.  J.  Kehoe  in  forming  the  present  partnership  under 
the  firm  style  of  Kehoe  &  Moseley,  which  constitutes  today  one  of  the  strong  law  firms 
of  their  part  of  the  state.  They  have  a  large  practice  and  are  verj'  successful  in  its 
conduct.  Mr.  Jloseley  has  comprehensive  knowledge  of  the  principles  of  jurisprudence  and 
his  abilitj'  in  analyzing  a  case  and  arriving  at  the  strong  points  in  its  evidence  is  marked. 
In  association  with  Mr.  Kehoe  he  owns  four  hundred  and  eighty  acres  of  land  in  Towner 
county. 

On  the  24th  of  September,  1907,  Mr.  Moseley  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Josephine 
A.  Wells,  of  Portage,  Wisconsin,  a  classmate  in  the  University  of  Wisconsin  in  which  she  was 
the  honor  student  in  the  class  of  1903,  in  which  year  the  degree  of  B.  L.  was  conferred 
upon  her.  She  was  also  made  a  member  of  the  Plii  Beta  Kappa  fraternity  and  belonged  to 
the  Pi  Beta  Phi  sorority.  Mr.  and  ^Mrs.  Moseley  have  two  children,  Forrest  M.  and 
Marion  W. 

ill'.  Moseley  is  a  republican  in  politics  and  m  1910  was  appointed  to  the  ollice  of 
city  attorney  of  Cando,  in  which  position  he  has  served  continuously,  while  in  the  fall 
of  1916  he  was  elected  to  the  oflice  of  states  attorney.  He  belongs  to  Cando  Lodge,  No.  40, 
F.  &  A.  M.,  and  Cando  Chapter,  No.  IS,  E.  A.  M.,  and  he  is  also  identified  with  Harlan  Chapter 
of  the  Phi  Delta  Phi,  a  college  fraternity.  Both  he  and  his  wife  are  members  of  the 
Congregational  church  and  Mrs.  !JIoseley  is  very  active  in  church  and  club  circles,  belonging  to 
the  Fleur  de  Lis  Club  of  Cando.  Theirs  is  an  enviable  social  position  and  the  hospitality 
of  the  best  homes  of  Cando  is  cordiallj'  extended  them.  Nature  endowed  Mr.  Moseley 
witli  strong  intellect  and  he  has  used  his  talents  wisely  and  well,  concentrating  his  efforts 
upon  a  profession  in  which  merit  and  ability  are  the  only  factors  that  win  advancement. 
His  knowledge  of  the  law  is  comprehensive  and  exact  and  he  is  seldom,  if  ever,  at  fault  in 
the  application  of  a  legal  principle. 


GEORGE  E.  BURGESS. 


One  of  the  foremost  business  men  and  prominent  citizens  of  Billings  county  is  George  E. 
Burgess,  who  is  now  serving  as  cashier  of  the  Stockmen's  State  Bank  of  Mcdora  and  is  also 
extensively  engaged  in  the  cattle  business.  He  was  born  in  Wisconsin  in  1865  and  is  one 
of  a  family  of  seven  children,  his  parents  being  .John  and  Rachel  Burgess,  who  were  pioneer 
settlers  of  western  Wisconsin,  where  they  located  in  the  early  '50s.  The  mother  is  still 
living  but  the  father  is  deceased. 

George  E.  Burgess  spent  his  boyhood  and  youth  in  the  state  of  his  nativity  and  is 
indebted  to  its  public  schools  for  the  education  he  obtained.  On  starting  out  in  life  for 
liiinself  he  turned  his  attention  to  railroading,  being  employed  as  engineer  and  surveyor  by 
the  Cliippewa  Valley  &  Northern  Pacific  Railroad  from  18S7  to  1897.  He  made  his  home 
with  his  parents  until  his  removal  to  North  Dakota  in  1890.  On  severing  his  connection 
with  the  railroad  he  turned  his  attention  to  ranching  about  four  miles  north  of  Medora  in 
Billings  county  and  has  since  engaged  in  the  stock  business  on  an  extensive  scale.  He  raises 
on  an  average  of  from  three  to  four  hundred  head  of  cattle  annually  and  as  his  stock  ia 
of  good  grade  he  commands  the  highest  price  on  the  market.  At  the  present  time,  however, 
his  cattle  interests  are  confined  mostly  to  Montana.  In  1909  he  assisted  in  organizing  the 
Stockmen's    State    Bank    of    Medora,   being   connected    in    this    enterprise    with    C.    Peterson 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  243 

Haive  Robinson,  G.  H.  Parker  and  J.  T.  Johnson.  The  bank  has  a  capital  of  fifteen  tliousanil 
dollars  and  a  surplus  of  like  amount,  and  Mr.  IJurgess  has  efficiently  served  as  its  cashier 
since  its  incorporation. 

In  IS'JS  he  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Nettie  Strom,  a  native  of  Iowa,  tliough  her 
parents,  who  are  now  deceased,  W'ere  pioneers  of  Bismarck,  North  Dakota.  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
Burgess  have  three  eliildren  namely:     Ethel,  Erma  and  Helen. 

Mr.  Burgess  afliliates  with  the  republican  party  and  from  1903  to  1915  filled  the  oflice  of 
register  of  deeds  in  Billings  county.  He  is  a  Royal  Arch  Mason,  belonging  to  the  bhie 
lodge  and  chapter  at  Dickinson,  and  he  is  also  a  member  of  the  Elks  lodge  at  that  place. 
He  is  a  man  of  excellent  business  and  executive  ability,  possessing  sound  judgment  and 
keen  ihsiglit,  and  to  these  characteristics  may  be  attributed  his  success  in  life,  for  on  starting 
out   for  hinisclt   he   was   witliout   capital   and  his  success   is   due  to  his  own   unaided   efforts. 


J.  F.  GARDNER. 


J.  F.  Gardner,  cashier  of  the  Farmers  State  Bank  of  Belfield,  was  born  in  Wisconsin, 
of  which  state  his  parents,  John  \V.  and  Dorothy  E.  (Springstend)  Gardner,  are  also  natives 
and  wliere  they  still  continue  to  reside.  There  he  attended  the  public  schools  and  completed 
his  education  at  a  business  college  in  the  Twin  Cities,  where  he  pursued  a  course  in  book- 
keei)ing.  ]"or  a  time  he  was  in  the  employ  of  the  firm  of  Whipple  &  Malstedt  at  Minneapolis 
and  then  entered  the  Elk  Valley  Bank  at  Larimore,  Nortli  Dakota,  as  a  bookkeeper,  remaining 
tliere  for  a  period  of  two  years  from  1900.  He  next  held  tlie  position  of  receiving  teller 
in  the  Second  National  Bank  of  Minot  until  1008,  when  he  returned  to  Jlinneapolis  and 
accepted  a  position  with  the  Gold-Stabeck  Loan  &  Credit  Company,  his  work  being  confined 
mostly  to  Nortli  Dakota. 

On  leaving  that  firm  Mr.  Gardner  located  in  Belfield  on  the  1st  of  August,  1915,  and 
became  cashier  of  the  Farmers  State  Bank,  which  was  organized  on  the  1st  of  September,  that 
year,  by  W.  S.  Richards,  Mr.  Eyer  and  Mr.  Gardner.  It  is  capitalized  at  fifteen  thousand 
dollars  and  has  already  built  up  a  good  business,  though  now  only  a  year  old. 

By  his  ballot  Mr.  Gardner  supports  the  men  and  measures  of  the  republican  party 
but  has  never  cared  for  political  honors.  He  is  now  serving  as  an  ofiicer  in  the  recently 
organized  Masonic  lodge  of  Belfield  and  is  also  a  member  of  the  Knights  of  Pythias  lodge  at 
Minot.  He  is  one  of  the  representative  business  men  of  Belfield  and  is  held  in  high  esteem 
wlierever  known. 


DAVID   KALIL. 


David  Kalil,  engaged  in  merchandising  at  Williston,  is  a  member  of  the  firm  of  Kali! 
Brothers,  who  since  1907  have  dealt  in  groceries,  meats,  farm  machinery  and  implements 
in  the  town,  where  they  are  still  conducting  a  profitable  enterprise.  David  Kalil  was  born 
at  Turbol,  Syria,  July  4,  1882,  a  son  of  Kalil  and  Mary  (Farage)  Mussaaid,  who  are  also 
of  Syrian  birth.  The  father  has  devoted  his  life  to  farming  and  both  he  and  his  wife  are 
still  residents  of  Syria. 

It  was  after  coming  to  America  that  David  Kalil  changed  his  name  to  its  present  form, 
for  in  his  native  land  he  was  Kalil  Mussaaid.  He  acquired  his  education  in  the  schools 
of  his  native  city  and  became  a  farmer  and  tobacco  raiser  of  Syria,  wlicre  lie  remained  until 
1899,  when  at  the  age  of  seventeen  years  he  crossed  the  Atlantic  and  started  in  business  life 
in  the  new  world  as  a  factory  hand  in  Lawrence.  JIassachusetts.  He  afterward  worked  in 
a  brick  manufacturing  plant  at  Fishkill-on-the-Hudson  in  New  York  for  about  three  years 
and  during  that  period  carefully  saved  his  earnings  until  industry  and  economy  had  brought 
him  sufficient  capital  to  enable  him  to  embark  in  business  on  his  own  account.  Removing 
to  the  west,  he  established  a  grocery  store  at  Duluth.  Minnesota,  where  he  carried  on  business 
for  two  years,  and  in   1903  he  went  to  Williston,  North  Dakota,  and  homesteaded  land  in 


244  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

that  vipinity.  After  devoting  four  years  to  the  development  and  improvement  of  his  property 
he  again  engaged  in  merchandising,  becoming  a  member  of  tlie  tirm  of  Knlil  Brotliers  in 
1907.  His  partner  is  his  brother  Jim,  who  married  ilamie  Zine,  of  Forzol,  Syria.  In  the 
intervening  period,  covering  a  decade,  they  have  built  up  a  good  business,  handling  groceries, 
meats,  farm  niacliinery  and  implements,  and  their  trade  is  now  large  and  gratifying,  bringing 
to  them  a  good  financial  return.  David  Kalil  also  owns  farm  land  in  Williams  county, 
covering  the  quarter  section  which  he  homesteaded,.  and'  he  has  another  quarter  section  in 
Montana.  He  also  has  considerable  city  property,  including  his  residence  and  store  building, 
both  of  which  he  erected. 

On  the  14th  of  August,  1904,  at  Duluth,  Minnesota,  Mr.  Kalil  was  married  to  Miss 
Sadie  Homeid,  a  native  of  Syria  who  in  early  girlhood  came  to  America,  making  her  way 
to  Duluth.  Four  children  have  been  born  of  this  marriage:  Wilbur,  Rosaline,  Edward  and 
Solomon. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Kalil  hold  membership  in  the  Roman  Catholic  church.  His  political 
allegiance  is  given  to  the  republican  party  and  fraternally  he  is  connected  with  the  Moose. 
He  is  yet  a  young  man  but  has  already  made  for  himself  a  most  substantial  position  in 
business  circles  and  his  career  since  coming  to  tlfe  new  world  has  been  characterized  by 
steady  progress.  He  certainly  deserves  much  credit  for  what  he  has  accomplished,  as  his 
efforts  have  been  intelligently  directed  and  he  has  readily  adapted  himself  to  changed 
conditions  and  different  business  methods. 


JOHN   SAD. 

John  Sad.  a  lawyer  practicing  at  Hannaford  since  his  admission  to  the  bar  in  1914, 
was  born  at  Hardanger,  Xorway.  .July  24,  1S88.  His  father,  Asbjorni  B.  Sad,  also  a  native 
of  Hardanger,  came  to  North  Dakota  with  his  family  in  1889,  settling  first  at  Valley  City 
but  after  two  years  removing  to  Fargo.  Later  he  returned  to  Valley  City,  where  he 
remained  until  1904,  employed  at  the  trade  of  merchant  tailoring.  He  then  purchased  a 
farm  east  of  Dazey,  upon  which  he  still  resides. 

John  Sad  was  the  eldest  in  a  family  of  six  children  and  was  only  about  a  year  old 
when  brought  to  the  new  world,  so  that  practically  his  entire  life  has  been  spent  in  this 
state.  He  attended  the  public  schools  and  later  became  a  student  in  the  North  Dakota 
State  University,  where  he  pursued  a  course  in  law  that  qualified  him  for  admission  to  the 
bar  in  1914.  After  receiving  his  license  to  practice  he  located  in  Hannaford,  where  he  has 
since  remained  and  in  the  intervening  period  he  has  gained  a  good  clientage  which  many  an 
older  practitioner  might  well  envy.  He  displays  energy  and  ability,  is  a  fluent,  forceful 
speaker  and  readily  recognizes  the  relation  of  points  in  law  to  the  facts  in  the  case.  At 
the  present  time  he  is  the  republican  nominee  for  states  attorney  in  Griggs  county  and  receives 
strong  endorsement  from  fellow  members  oi  the  bar. 

On  the  27th  of  November,  1913,  Mi-.  Sad  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  May  Stee, 
who  was  born  near  Dazey,  a  daughter  of  Thomas  Stee,  a  pioneer  of  Barnes  county.  They 
have  a  circle  of  warm  friends  at  Hannaford  and  in  this  part  of  the  state  and  Mr.  Sad  is 
a  representative  member  of  the  Ancient  Order  of  United  Workmen.  His  chief  interest, 
however,  is  his  law  practice  and  he  gives  undivided  attention  to  the  interests  entrusted  to 
his  care. 


OSCAR  M.  NESS. 


Oscar  M.  Ness,  cashier  of  the  First  State  Bank  of  Mylo,  Rolette  county,  is  a  native  of 
the  neighboring  state  of  Minnesota,  his  birth  having  occurred  in  Cottonwood  county, 
December  14,  1885.  His  parents  are  John  H.  and  Carrie  Ness,  the  former  a  native  of 
Norway  and  the  latter  of  Iowa.  When  but  six  years  of  age  the  father  accomjianied  his 
parents  to  the  new  world,  the  family  home  being  established  in  Minnesota,  where  he  was 
reared  and  educated.     He  took  up  the  occupation  of  farming  as  a  life  work  and  followed 


OSCAR  M.  NESS 


f  - 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  247 

that  pursuit  in  Cottonwood  county  for  many  years  but  is  now  living  retired,  ho  and  his 
wife  making  their  home  in  Windom,  Minnesota. 

Oscar  M.  Ness  was  reared  at  Windom  and  is  indebted  to  its  public  schools  for  his 
educational  opportunities.  He  remained  with  his  parents  until  he  attained  his  majority 
and  then  started  out  in  the  business  world  bj'  securing  a  situation  in  a  bank  at  Mankato, 
Minnesota,  where  he  served  for  two  or  three  years  as  bookkeeper.  He  then  went  to 
Bisbee  in  1908  and  accepted  the  position  of  assistant  cashier  in  the  First  National  Bank, 
which  office  he  filled  until  January,  1916.  He  then  removed  to  Mylo,  Rolette  county,  to 
become  cashier  of  the  First  State  Bank,  of  which  Axel  Egeland  is  the  president  and 
E.  J.  Honeyford  vice  president.  Mr.  Ness  is  one  of  the  stockholders  and  directors  of  this 
bank,  which  is  capitalized  for  ten  thousand  dollars  and  has  a  surplus  of  two  thousand 
dollars,  while  their  deposits  amount  to  one  hundred  and  forty  thousand  dollars.  Mr.  Ness 
is  also  a  stockholder  and  one  of  the  directors  of  the  First  National  Bank  of  Bisbee  and  his 
real  estate  investments  cover  six  hundred  and  forty  acres  of  land  in  Rolette  county.  He 
buys  and  sells  land,  this  constituting  an  important  branch  of  his  business,  and  he  is 
thoroughly  informed  concerning  property  values. 

On  the  4th  of  June,  1913,  Mr.  Ness  was  married  to  Miss  Isabelle  Gerrard.  They  are 
members  of  the  Lutheran  church  and  in  social  circles  in  their  community  occupy  an 
enviable  position.  Mr.  Ness  belongs  to  the  Masonic  fraternity  and  to  the  Independent 
Order  of  Odd  Fellows,  while  his  political  allegiance  is  given  to  the  republican  party.  He 
served  on  the  school  board  while  at  Bisbee  but  has  never  sought  or  desired  political  office, 
feeling  that  the  pursuits  of  private  life  are  in  themselves  abundantly  worthy  of  his  best 
eft'orts.  He  has  based  his  hope  upon  diligence  and  determination  as  factors  iii  success 
and  through  the  utilization  of  those  qualities  has  worked  his  way  steadily  upward,  being 
now  numbered  among  the  men  of  affluence  in  his  community. 


OLE  TORGERSEN. 


Ole  Torgersen,  a  lumber  dealer  of  Berwick,  was  born  in  Norway,  Februarj-  24,  1861, 
and  was  a  little  lad  of  eight  years  when  in  1869  he  was  brought  to  America  by  his  parents, 
Torger  and  Nettie  (Larscn)  Torgersen,  who  settled  in  Mitchell  county,  Iowa.  After  nine 
years  they  removed/  to  Yellow  Medicine  county,  Minnesota,  where  the  father  filed  on  a 
homestead  on  which  he  resided  for  a  number  of  years.  Later  he  took  up  his  abode  at 
Canby,  where  his  remaining  days  were  passed,  his  death  there  occurring  in  March.  1914. 
His  widow  still  survives  and  has  now  reached  the  advanced  age  of  eight.y-six  years.  Her 
home  is  still   in   Canby. 

Ole  Torgersen  pursued  a  district  school  education  in  Iowa  and  through  the  period  of 
his  boyhood  and  youth,  when  not  occupied  by  the  duties  of  the  schoolroom,  aided  in  the 
work  of  the  home  farm.  He  remained  with  his  father  until  he  reached  his  twenty-fifth  year 
and  then  turned  from  agricultural  to  commercial  pursuits,  securing  a  position  in  a  lumber 
yard  in  Toronto,  South  Dakota,  where  he  was  employed  for  five  years. 

In  1890  Mr.  Torgersen  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Hulda  .Johnson,  then  of  Toronto 
but  a  native  of  Rushford,  Minnesota,  and  of  Norwegian  parentage.  Following  his  marriage 
he  embarked  in  the  lumber  business  on  his  own  account,  becoming  a  partner  in  the  Winnor- 
Torgersen  Lumber  Company,  with  yards  at  various  points  in  South  Dakota.  Subsequently 
they  disposed  of  their  interests  in  that  state  and  bought  other  luml>er  yards  in  North 
Dakota,  carrying  on  a  profitable  and  growing  business  until  1912,  when  Mr.  Torgersen 
severed  his  connection  with  his  firm,  buying  from  the  Winnor-Torgerscn  Lumber  Company 
their  yards  at  Berwick  and  Willow  City.  Later  he  also  acquired  a  yard  at  Balta  and 
another  at  Orrin  and  he  now  operates  the  four  yards,  being  thus  extensively  engaged  in  the 
lumber  trade,  in  which  long  experience,  close  application  and  unfaltering  energy  are  bringing 
to  him  substantial  and  well  merited  success.  He  possesses  marked  energy,  and  closely 
studying  every  phase  of  the  lumber  trade  and  the  market,  he  has  been  able  to  purchase 
judiciously  and  to  win  a  fair  profit  on  his  investment.  He  also  owns  a  farm  of  one  hundred 
and  si.xty  acres  in  Ransom  county  and  an  entire  section  of  land  in  Greeley  county,  Kansas. 


248  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

Jlr.  and  Jlrs.  Torgersen  have  no  children  of  their  own,  but  have  reared  and  educated 
three  girls,  two  half  sisters  of  his  wife — ^Louise,  now  the  wife  of  Dr.  6.  H.  Walker,  of 
Fairfax,  Minnesota;  and  Augusta,  the  wife  of  N.  M.  Tweet,  a  merchant  of  Berwick,  North 
Dakota;  and  a  niece,  Jessie  Torgersen,  who  is  now  attending  the  State  University  at  Grand 
Forks,  North  Dakota.  Mr.  and  Mi'S.  Torgersen  are  members  of  the  Lutheran  church  and 
he  belongs  also  to  Canby  Lodge,  No.  147,  F.  &  A.  M.,  and  has  attained  the  thirty-second 
degiee  of  the  Scottish  Rite  in  South  Dakota  Consistory,  No.  4,  S.  P.  E.  S.,  of  Aberdeen. 
His  political  allegiance  is  given_  to  the  republican  party  and  he  is  now  a  member  of  the 
town  board.  He  maintains  a  helpful  attitude  toward  any  movement  calculated  to  benefit 
the  district  or  state  in  which  he  lives  and  he  is  a  representative  of  that  class  of  progressive 
men  who  are  doing  much  to  further  the  upbuilding  of  North  Dakota.  Starting  out  in  life 
empty  handed,  he  has  worked  his  way  upward  through  persistent  and  honorable  effort  and 
is  now  one  of  the  well  known  lumber  merchants  of  his  section  of  the  state. 


DANIEL   W.   FRAKER. 


Since  the  spring  of  1S9S  Daniel  W.  Frakcr  has  been  a  resident  of  Towner  county  and 
has  been  actively  identified  with  its  development  and  prosperity.  For  several  years  he  was 
engaged  in  agi'icultural  piu-suits  and  was  also  identified  with  educational  interests  for  a 
time  but  is  now  serving  as  register  of  deeds  and  makes  his  home  in  Cando.  He  was  born 
on  the  24th  of  February,  1876,  in  Pennsylvania,  of  which  state  his  parents,  Dyson  F.  and 
Sarah  (Ci-omer)  Fraker,  were  lifelong  residents.  By  trade  the  father  was  a  niolder  but 
he  also  followed  the  occupation  of  farming.  When  the  country  became  involved  in  Civil 
war  he  put  aside  all  personal  interests,  enlisting  February  19,  1S64,  in  Company  L,  Twenty- 
first  Pennsylvania  Cavalrj-,  with  which  he  served  until  July  9,  1865,  where  he  was  mustered 
out.  For  more  than  forty  years  he  was  a  devoted  member  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  church 
and  died  in  that  faith  at  Fort  Littleton,  Pennsylvania,  December  29,  1915,  at  the  age  of 
sixty-nine  years,  three  months  and  twenty-two  days.  He  had  survived  his  wife  for  eight 
years,  as  she  passed  away  October  4,  1907,  at  the  age  of  sixty-one. 

In  the  home  of  this  worthy  couple  Daniel  W.  Fraker  grew  to  manhood,  surrounded  by 
good  Christian  influence,  and  in  the  local  schools  he  obtained  his  education.  At  the  age  of 
nineteen  years  he  left  the  parental  roof  and  went  to  Story  county,  Iowa,  where  he  worked 
as  a  farm  hand  for  one  year.  The  following  two  years  were  spent  in  Ohio,  and  in  the  spring 
of  1898  he  came  to  North  Dakota,  his  destination  being  Cando,  Towner  county,  where  he 
filed  on  land,  which  he  operated  for  a  number  of  years.  He  then  rented  his  land  and  removed 
to  Egeland,  where  he  taught  school  from  1904  to  1914.  In  1914  he  was  elected  register 
of  deeds  of  Towner  county  and  removed  to  Cando  to  assume  the  duties  of  that  ofiice,  which 
he  has  since  most  faithfully  discharged.  He  is  now  the  republican  candidate  for  reelection, 
having  always  affiliated  with  that  party.  He  is  a  man  who  commands  the  respect  and 
confidence  of  all  with  whom  he  is  brought  in  contact. 


GEORGE  DUNCAN. 


George  Duncan,  clerk  of  the  courts  of  Benson  county  and  a  resident  of  Minnewaukan, 
is  a  native  of  Scotland,  his  birth  having  occurred  at  Euthven,  Aberdeenshire,  on  the  15th  of 
June.  1S60.  He  is  a  son  of  .James  and  Janet  (Wilson)  Duncan,  who  were  also  natives  of 
Scotland,  the  former  born  in  Aberdeen  county  and  the  latter  in  the  county  of  Banff.  The 
father  carried  on  farming  in  the  land  of  hills  and  heather  throughout  his  entire  life  and 
there  passed  away  in  1889,  having  for  a  long  period  survived  his  wife,  who  died  in  1871. 

George  Duncan  supplemented  his  public  school  education,  acquired  in  Scotland,  by  study 
in  ilinnesota.  He  came  to  America  in  .June,  1882,  and  for  three  years  was  a  resident,  of 
Minnesota,  after  which  he  removed  to  Grand  Forks  county.  North  Dakota,  where  he  resided 
for  two  years.     He  next  made  his  way  to  ilinnewaukan,  Benson  county,  and  filed  on  land 


HISTORY  OF  XORTII  DAKOTA  249 

wliich  he  has  ciiltivatcil  to  a  greater  or  less  extent  for  twenty  years  In  April,  1897,  he  was 
aippointed  clerk  of  the  courts  of  Benson  county  and  at  the  next  election  was  regularly 
chosen  by  popular  suffrage  for  that  position,  in  which  he  has  since  been  continued  by 
reelection,  covering  a  period  of  almost  twenty  years.  This  is  a  notable  record  of  faith- 
fulness and  capability  and  all  who  know  aught  of  his  service  speak  of  him  in  terms  of  high 
regard.  He  also  deals  in  land  and  has  quite  extensive  farming  interests,  his  business  affairs 
in  that  connection  being  wisely  and  profitably  managed. 

On  the  13th  of  May,  1894,  Mi'.  Duncan  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Tillie  Pierson 
and  to  them  have  been  born  six  children:  Walter,  who  died  August  22,  1912,  at  the  age 
of  seventeen  years;  and  George,  Mabel,  Don,  Dorothy  and  Fred,  all  at  home.  Among  the 
living  children  all  are  yet  in  school  save  the  eldest,  who  is  now  working  in  the  office  of 
clerk  of  the  courts  under  his  father.  The  family  reside  on  forty  acres  of  land  just  outside 
the  village,  in  West  Bay  township,  Benson  county,  and  Mr.  Duncan  is  treasurer  of  that 
township,  which  was  organized  in   1908. 

In  his  political  views  Mr.  Duncan  is  an  earnest  republican  but  not  a  politician  in  the 
usually  accepted  sense  of  office  seeking.  He  has  been  long  in  a  position  of  public  trust 
and  it  has  come  to  him  as  the  recognition  of  fidelity  on  his  part  and  capability  in  the 
discharge  of  his  duties.  Fraternally  he  is  connected  with  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd 
Fellows  and  the  Ancient  Older  of  United  Workmen,  while  the  religious  faith  of  the  family 
IS  that  of  the  Presbyterian  church. 


HENRY  A.  SORENSON. 


Among  the  representative  business  men  of  Belfield  is  numbered  Henry  A.  Sorenson, 
a  dealer  in  hardware,  furniture  and  farm  implements.  He  was  born  in  Minnesota  in  1879 
and  is  a  son  of  Cliris  and  Matilda  Sorenson.  For  many  years  the  father  was  engaged  in 
the  implement  business  in  Appleton.  ilinnesota,  and  he  continued  to  reside  in  that  state  until 
his   death. 

During  his  boyhood  and  youth  Henry  A.  Sorenson  attended  the  public  schools  of  Minne- 
sota, and  he  remained  on  the  home  farm  until  twenty-eight  years  of  age,  giving  his  father 
the  benefit  of  his  labors.  On  coming  to  Xorth  Dakota  in  1909,  he  located  in  Belfield,  where 
he  and  his  brother,  J.  S.  Sorenson,  started  in  the  hardware,  furniture  and  implement  business. 
He  is  still  interested  in  that  enterprise  and  todaj-  has  one  of  the  leading  establishments  of 
the   kind   in   Stark   county. 

In  the  fall  of  1911,  Mr.  Sorenson  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Mary  Amundson,  also 
a  native  of  Minnesota,  and  to  them  have  been  born  two  children.  Marvel  and  Lucille.  They 
are  members  of  the  Norwegian  Lutheran  church  of  Belfield,  of  which  Mr.  Sorenson  is  one  of 
the  trustees.  Politically  he  affiliates  with  the  republican  party.  He  is  a  prominent  and 
influential  member  of  the  Belfield  Commercial  Club,  which  he  served  as  vice  president  in 
1915,  and  is  at  present  treasurer  of  the  club.  On  starting  out  in  life  for  himself  he  was 
in  limited  circumstances  but  through  industry,  perseverance  and  good  judgment  he  has  worked 
his  way  steadily  upward  until  he  now  ranks  among  the  substantial  citizens  of  the  com- 
munity. Besides  his  business  in  Belfield  he  is  now  interested  in  farm  lands  to  some  extent 
and  whatever  he  undertakes  ho  generally  carries  forward  to  successful  completion. 


THOMAS  JERMANUS. 


Syria's  contribution  to  the  citizenship  of  North  Dakota  includes  Thomas  Jermanus,  a 
merchant  of  Williston,  who  was  born  at  Maalackat,  Syria,  February  14,  1873.  His  parents, 
Kalil  and  Xijmeli  (Oassien)  Jermanus,  were  also  natives  of  that  country,  where  they  spent 
their  entire  lives,  the  father  always  devoting  his  attention  to  merchandising  at  Maalackat- 
Zahleh. 

It  was  there  that  Thomas  Jermanus  acquired  his  education  and  afterward  learned  the 


250  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

trade  of  shoemaking.  The  opportunities  of  tlie  new  world  attracted  him  and  at  the  age 
of  seventeen  lie  bade  adieu  to  friends  and  native  land  and  sailed  for  America,  arriving 
in  Cliicago  in  1890.  There  he  engaged  in  shoemaking  until  1893.  Then  he  became  a  clerk 
in  a  dry  goods  store  in  St.  Paul,  Minnesota,  where  he  spent  the  succeeding  decade.  In  1903 
he  arrived  in  Williston  and  homesteaded,  after  which  he  farmed  his  place  until  he  proved 
up  and  won  his  title.  In  1905  he  established  a  general  store  at  Williston  and  in  1907 
admitted  his  brother-in-law  to  a  partnership  under  the  firm  name  of  Jermanus  &,  Bousliman. 
That  connection  was  continued  imtil  1911,  when  he  purchased  the  interest  of  Mr.  Bousliman 
and  lias  since  carried  on  the  business  alone  under  the  name  of  the  National  store.  He  has 
gained  a  good  patronage  by  enterprise  and  reliable  methods,  his  success  being  the  direct 
result  of  persistent,  earnest  labor. 

On  the  15th  of  February,  1903,  Mi\  Jermanus  was  married  to  Miss  Julia  Bousliman,  of 
St.  Paul,  who  was  born  in  Zahleh,  Syria.  She  is  a  daughter  of  Moses  and  Sanura  Bousliman, 
who  were  also  natives  of  Syria,  where  the  father  followed  the  business  of  a  tinner  until 
his  death.  The  mother  is  now  living  with  Mrs.  Jermanus.  To  Jlr.  and  Mrs.  Jermanus 
have  been  born  four  children:  George,  born  in  St.  Paul;  and  Charles,  John  and  Nijmeh,  all 
born  in  Williston. 

Since  becoming  a  naturalized  citizen  Mr.  .Jermanus  has  exercised  his  right  of  franchise 
in  support  of  the  men  and  measures  of  the  republican  party.  His  religious  faith  is  that  of 
the  Roman  Catliolic  church  and  fraternally  he  is  connected  with  Williston  Lodge,  No.  1214, 
B.  P.  0.  E.,  and  with  the  Moose.  He  still  owns  his  homestead  property,  which  he  now 
rents,  and  he  also  has  valuable  real  estate  in  Williston,  where  he  is  recognized  as  one  of  the 
leading  citizens  of  Syrian  birth. 


J.  R.  WATERS. 


The  city  of  Beach,  North  Dakota,  probably  has  no  more  wide-awake  or  enterprising 
citizen  than  J.  R.  Waters,  who  is  engaged  in  the  loan  and  real  estate  business  and  also 
follows  farming  on  an  extensive  scale.  He  was  born  in  Warren,  Ohio,  on  the  18th  of 
December,  1867,  and  was  about  five  or  six  years  of  age,  when  he  accompanied  his  parents, 
George  and  Ellen  W^aters,  on  their  removal  to  Montezuma,  Iowa,  where  botli  the  father  and 
mother  died.  There  J.  R.  Waters  grew  to  manhood,  receiving  the  usual  instruction  in  the 
public  schools,  and  after  his  graduation  from  the  high  school  of  Montezuma  entered  the 
Agricultural   College  at  Ames,  Iowa,  from   which   he   was   later  graduated. 

Mr.  Waters  began  his  business  career  as  a  railroad  man.  being  employed  as  train  dis- 
patcher by  the  Iowa  Central,  Santa  Fe,  Chicago,  Milwaukee  &  St.  Paul,  the  Soo  line  and 
the  Great  Northern  Railroads  until  1901,  since  which  time  he  has  given  his  attention  to  the 
real  estate  business.  He  first  entered  the  service  of  the  C.  C.  Samson  Land  Company  of  St. 
Paul  and  in  1902  became  a  member  of  the  firm  with  headquarters  at  Grand  Forks,  North 
Dakota.  In  1908  he  severed  his  connection  with  that  company  and  removed  to  Minot,  where 
he  organized  the  Security  Loan  Company,  but  remained  there  only  one  j^ear.  It  was  in  Feb- 
ruary, 1909,  that  he  arrived  in  Beach  and  embarked  in  the  loan  business.  This  he  has  since 
made  his  principal  business,  though  lie  handles  real  estate  to  some  extent  and  is  farming  a 
vast  acreage  of  upward  of  two  thousand  acres.  He  is  gradually  working  into  the  cattle 
business,  which  he  has  found  quite  profitable,  and  is  now  raising  Holstein  and  shorthorn 
cattle  quite  extensively.  He  is  also  interested  in  thoroughbred  horses,  making  a  specialty 
of  racers,  and  owns  some  fast  stock.  His  home  is  a  fine  residence  on  the  north  side  of  the 
town  of  Beach  and  has  just  been  completed.  It  is  modern  and  thoroughly  up-to-date  in  its 
appointments. 

Since  coming  to  Beach,  Mr.  Waters  has  taken  an  active  interest  in  the  Commercial 
Club,  serving  as  its  first  president,  and  he  has  been  instrumental  in  advancing  the  welfare 
of  the  city  along  various  lines.  He  never  allows  his  personal  aff'airs  to  interfere  with  his 
duties  as  a  citizen,  and  his  cooperation  can  be  depended  upon  to  further  all  worthy  objects 
for  the  public  good.  He  is  a  prominent  Mason,  belonging  to  Lafayette  Lodge,  No.  52,  A.  F 
&  A.  M.,  of  Montezuma,  Iowa;   to  Dakota  Consistory,  No.   1,  at  Fargo;   and  to  El  Zagal 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  251 

Temple  of  the  ilystic  Shrine  at  Fargo.  He  is  also  a  member  of  the  Elks  lodge  at  Dickinson 
and  other  organizations.  It  is  as  a  business  man,  however,  that  he  is  most  widely  known. 
Prosperity  has  attended  his  well  directed  efforts  and  he  today  ranks  with  the  most  sub- 
stantial citizens  of  Golden  Valley  county.  His  executive  ability  is  beyond  question  and  in 
business  affairs  he  is   enterprising,  progressive  and  reliable. 


C.  E.  WARD. 


The  educational  interests  of  North  Dakota  have  a  worthy  representative  in  C.  E.  Ward, 
the  present  efficient  superintendent  of  schools  for  Stark  county.  He  was  born  in  Boulder, 
Clinton  county,  Illinois,  April  25,  1884,  his  parents  being  Jasper  and  Mary  A.  (Moore)  Ward, 
who  are  now  residents  of  Missouri.     By  occupation  the  father  is  a  farmer. 

In  the  state  of  his  nativity  C.  E.  Ward  began  his  education  in  the  public  schools  but  when 
he  was  twelve  years  of  age  the  family  removed  to  Irwin,  low'a,  where  he  continued  to 
attend  school  for  some  time,  completing  a  high  school  course.  Coming  to  North  Dakota 
in  1906  he  secured  a  homestead  south  of  Belfield  in  Stark  county  and  while  proving  up  on 
his  claim  engaged  in  teaching  school,  continuing  to  successfully  follow  that  profession  until 
elected  county  superintendent,  at  which  time  he  was  serving  as  principal  of  the  Belfield 
high  school.  So  acceptably  did  he  fill  the  office  of  superintendent  that  he  was  reelected  at  the 
end  of  his  two  years'  terra  in  1914  and  was  again  the  candidate  of  the  republican  party  for 
that  position  in  the  fall  of  1916. 

Mr.  Ward  was  married  on  the  5th  of  August,  1909,  to  Miss  Emma  Kemble,  and  they 
have  become  the  parents  of  two  children:  Dorothea  and  Charles  H.  In  religious  faith 
they  are  Protestants  and  Mr.  Ward  is  a  Royal  Arch  Mason  and  also  a  member  of  the 
Benevolent  Protective  Order  of  Elks  and  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows.  He  was 
a  leader  in  the  campaign  for  the  twenty  thousand  dollar  school  building  erected  In  Belfield 
in  1914  and  has  been  instrumental  in  promoting  the  Normal  School  for  Dickinson  and 
many  other  worthy  enterprises  since  becoming  a  resident  of  that  city.  The  good  roads 
movement  receives  his  earnest  support  and  Stark  county  probably  has  no  more  enterprising 
or  progressive  citizen  than  C.  E.  Ward. 


OSCAR  GREENLAND. 


Oscar  Greenland,  cashier  of  the  First  National  Bank  of  Binford,  Griggs  county,  was 
born  on  the  18th  of  July,  1873,  in  Fillmore  county,  Minnesota,  and  is  the  oldest  in  a  family 
of  six  children,  four  of  whom  are  still  living.  His  parents,  Frithiof  and  Nathalia  (Evenrud) 
Greenland,  were  born,  reared  and  married  in  Norway,  whence  they  came  to  the  United 
States  in  1871  and  located  in  Minnesota,  making  their  home  there  until  their  removal  to 
Griggs  county.  North  Dakota,  in  1881.  Here  the  father  took  up  a  homestead  and  a  tree 
claim,  upon  which  he  continued  to  reside  until  1902,  when  he  left  the  farm  to  the  operation 
of  his  youngest  son  and  removed  to  Cooperstown,  where  he  has  since  engaged  in  the 
machine  business.  He  has  taken  a  very  prominent  and  influential  part  in  public  aff'airs  and 
has  been  called  upon  to  fill  positions  of  honor  and  trust.  He  was  elected  county  assessor, 
in  which  capacitj'  he  served  for  two  years,  and  was  then  elected  sherifif  of  Griggs  county. 
So  acceptably  did  he  fill  that  position  that  he  was  reelected,  serving  for  four  years. 

Oscar  Greenland  was  about  eight  years  of  age  when  he  accompanied  his  parents  on. 
their  removal  to  North  Dakota.  He  obtained  his  education  in  the  district  schools  and  in 
1892  began  his  business  career  as  a  clerk  in  the  hardware  store  of  Peter  E.  Nelson  at 
Cooperstown,  where  he  remained  for  four  years.  He  was  next  with  the  firm  of  Berg  Brothers 
&  Company  until  1899,  when  he  formed  a  partnership  with  his  employers  and  started  a 
hardware  and  general  mercantile  business  at  Binford,  which  town  had  just  been  established, 
theirs  being  the  second  store  to  open  there.  Mr.  Greenland  is  still  interested  in  that 
business,   which    is    now    conducted    under    the    style   of -Greenland- Pritz    &    Company,    Inc. 


252  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

In  1906  he  was  one  of  the  organizers  of  the  First  National  Bank  of  Binford  and  has  since 
been  a  member  of  its  board  of  directors.  Thej'  immediately  erected  a  good  substantial 
building,  well  equipped  for  its  purpose,  and  from  the  first  have  received  a.  liberal  share  of 
the  public  patronage.  The  bank  has  a  capital  of  twenty-five  thousand  dollars  and  a  surplus 
of  ten  thousand  dollars,  while  its  deposits  at  the  present  time  amount  to  one  hundred  and 
seventy  thousand  dollars.  In  1908  Mr.  Greenland  became  cashier  of  the  bank,  in  which 
capacity  he  is  still  serving,  the  other  officers  being  Lewis  Berg,  president;  Joseph  Buchheit, 
vice  president;  and  N.  E.  Greenland,  assistant  cashier. 

On  the  19th  of  April,  1900,  was  celebrated  the  marriage  of  Mr.  Greenland  and  Miss 
Bertha  Lier,  a  native  of  Wisconsin  and  a  daughter  of  Mathias  C.  Lier,  who  was  born  in 
Norway  and  brought  his  family  to  North  Dakota  in  1899.  To  this  union  have  been  born  the 
following  cliildren:  Inez  Caroline,  Florence  Mercedes,  Blanche  Ovidia,  Thelma,  Beatrice 
Marjory   and   Bernice  Muriel. 

Mr.  Greenland  is  president  of  the  local  lodge  of  Sons  of  Norway  and  is  a  democrat 
in  politics.  He  is  one  of  the  leading  representatives  of  his  party  in  his  district  and  has 
twice  been  a  candidate  for  the  state  legislature  but  was  defeated  as  the  republican  party 
is  in  the  majority  there.  He  takes  a  commendable  interest  in  public  aflairs  and  is  a 
liberal  supporter  of  all  enterprises  calculated  to  benefit  his  town,  county  or  state. 


JOHN  DUNCAN  TAYLOK,  M.  D. 

Dr.  John  Duncan  Taylor,  a  distinguished  physician  and  former  member  of  the  state 
senate,  has  throughout  the  period  of  his  connection  with  North  Dakota  contributed  to  its 
growth  and  development.  Arriving  in  the  state  when  a  youth  of  but  nineteen  years, 
he  has  since  cooperated  in  many  plans  and  movements  which  have  resulted  directly  in  the 
upbuilding  of  his  district,  meeting  the  hardships  and  privations  of  pioneer  life  and  also 
living  to  witness  the  remarkable  changes  which  have  brought  North  Dakota  to  its  present 
condition  of  high  civilization.  He  was  born  in  Ontario,  Canada,  May  16,  1859,  a  son  of 
Charles  B.  and  Mary  (Lockhart)  Taylor,  both  of  whom  were  natives  of  Scotland  but  in 
early  life  became  residents  of  Canada.  They  remained  in  Ontario,  however,  for  only  a 
short  time.  The  father  removed  to  Detroit,  Michigan,  in  1868  and  there  engaged  in  the 
dry  goods  business,  maintaining  his  residence  in  that  city  up  to  the  time  of  his  death,  which 
occurred  in  1903,  when  he  had  reached  the  age  of  sixty-nine  years.  His  wife  died  in 
Ontario  in  1863,  when  but  twenty-eight  years  of  age.  They  had  a  family  of  two  children, 
the  daughter  being  Mrs.  Marion  Van  .Sycle,  of  Grand  Forks. 

Dr.  Taylor  pursued  his  primary  studies  in  the  schools  of  Detroit,  A\here  he  continued 
his  education  to  the  age  of  fifteen.  He  then  put  aside  his  textbooks  and  for  a  time  sold 
papers  in  that  city,  later  becoming  a  pharmacist.  At  nineteen  years  of  age  he  removed 
westward  to  North  Dakota  and  established  a  drug  store  at  Grandin,  while  later  he 
became  a  resident  of  Churchs  Ferry.  There  he  carried  on  business  for  a  period  but  after- 
ward sold  out  preparatory  to  entering  upon  the  study  of  medicine,  which  he  pursued  in  the 
Detroit  College  of  Medicine.  After  graduating  from  that  institution  with  the  class  of 
1891  he  entered  the  Rush  Medical  College  of  Chicago,  whore  he  won  his  M.  D.  degree  as  a 
member  of  the  class  of  1893.  Returning  to  North  Dakota,  he  opened  an  office  at  Churchs 
Ferry  but  the  same  year  removed  to  Grand  Forks,  where  he  has  since  practiced.  His  ability 
has  "brought  him  prominently  before  the  public  in  a  ].rofessional  capacity.  He  studies 
broadly,  thinks  deeplv  and  keeps  in  touch  with  the  trend  of  scientific  investigation  and 
research,  being  at  all  times  deeply  interested  in  anything  which  tends  to  brmg  to  man 
the  key  to  the  complex  mystery  which  we  call  life.  Dr.  Taylor  belongs  to  the  Grand 
Forks  District  Medical  Societv,  of  which  he  was  the  first  president,  and  he  also  has 
membership    in   the   North    Dakota    State   Medical    Association    and    the    American    Medical 

Association.  •    i      i     i 

Dr  Taylor  holds  membership  in  the  Presbyterian  church,  while  in  Masonic  circles  he  has 
attained  high  rank,  having  become  a  Knight  Templar  and  a  member  of  the  Mystic  Shrine. 
He  is  a  charter  member  of  the  Country  and  Golf  Clubs  of  Grand  Forks  and  finds  therein 


PR.  JOIIX  I).  TAYLOR 


n 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  255 

needed  rest  and  recreation,  llis  political  allegiance  is  given  to  the  republican  party  and 
from  1900  until  1908  he  was  a  member  of  the  state  senate  from  the  seventh  senatorial 
district,  which  he  represented  in  the  upper  house  for  two  terms.  During  that  period  he 
gave  most  thoughtful  and  earnest  consideration  to  the  questions  which  came  up  for 
settlement  and  supported  all  those  measures  which  he  deemed  beneficial  to  the  common- 
wealth and  as  earnestly  opposed  those  which  he  considered  inimical  to  the  best  develop- 
ment of  the  state.  While  serving  as  senator  he  had  established  the  public  health  laboratory 
at  the  University  of  North  Dakota.  In  1908  he  was  elected  mayor  of  Grand  Forks 
and  remained  as  chief  executive  of  the  city  for  two  years,  after  vifhich  he  traveled 
extensively  in  all  parts  of  Europe,  for  a  year  doing  post  graduate  work.  Following  his 
return  to  Grand  Forks  he  was  appointed  a  member  of  the  board  of  regents  for  the  state 
of  North  Dakota  for  a  term  of  four  years  and  is  now  acting  in  that  capacity.  His  work 
in  public  connections  as  well  as  in  professional  circles  has  been  far-reaching  and  bene- 
ficial and   tlie    value   of   his   service   to  the  state   is   widely   acknowledged. 


DAVID  D.  McKEE. 


David  D.  McKee,  cashier  of  the  Tappen  State  Bank  at  Tappen,  Kidder  county,  is  a 
native  of  Querida,  Colorado,  born  .January  36,  1884,  his  parents  being  David  William  and 
Anna  (Ryan)  ilcKeo,  wlm  arc  also  natives  of  that  state.  Removing  northward  to 
Minnesota,  the3'  settled  in  Kennedy,  where  they  still  reside. 

David  D.  McKee  was  but  an  infant  at  the  time  of  the  removal  to  that  place,  where 
he  was  reared.  He  attended  the  graded  schools  and  when  he  started  out  to  earn  his 
own  living  secured  work  as  a  farm  hand  by  tlie  month  in  that  vicinity.  There  he  remained 
until  1904,  when  he  removed  to  Sharon,  North  Dakota,  where  he  conducted  a  lumberyard 
for  the  St.  Anthony  Dakota  Elevator  Company  of  Minneapolis,  of  which  he  had  charge  foi- 
seven  years.  Since  1911  he  has  lived  in  Tappen,  where  he  assisted  in  organizing  the  Tappen 
State  Bank,  its  charter  being  received  on  the  4th  of  Jurie,  1910.  The  officers  are:  0.  N. 
(Jrafshein,  president;  Alexander  Curry,  vice  president;  and  David  D.  McKee,  cashier. 
These  oflicers  have  occupied  their  respective  positions  from  the  beginning.  The  bank  is 
capitalized  for  ten  thousand  dollars  and  now  has  a  surplus  of  ten  thousand  dollars.  The 
company  owns  the  bank  building  and  conducts  both  a  general  banking  and  real  estate 
business.  In  1912  the  Tappen  State  Bank  purchased  the  Pettibone  State  Bank,  which  the 
company  still  conducts.  Mr.  JIcKee  was  the  real  promoter  of  the  Tappen  Bank  and  has  been 
the  moving  spirit  in  its  conduct  and  successful  management.  He  is  likewise  half  owner 
of  a  large  sheep  ranch,  on  which  are  about  twenty-five  thousand  head  of  Shropshire  and 
Merino  sheep.  He  is  likewise  interested  in  farming  and  has  an  entire  section  of  land 
under  cultivation. 

In  1905  Mr.  McKee  was  married  to  Miss  Eva  Long,  a  native  of  Sharon,  North  Dakota, 
and  they  have  two  children,  Owen  and  Walter,  born  respectively  in  1908  and  1913.  The 
religious  faith  of  the  family  is  that  of  the  Catholic  church  and  in  his  political  belief 
Jlr.  McKee  is  a  democrat.  His  interest,  however,  centers  upon  his  business,  although  he  is  not 
remiss  in  the  duties  of  citizensliip.  and  his  close  application,  unfaltering  perseverance  and 
intelligently  directed  energy  are  the  salient  features  in  his  advancement  toward  financial 
independence. 


CHARLES  S.  MOORES. 


The  business  interests  of  Steele  coiuity  have  a  worthy  representative  in  Charles  S. 
Moores,  who  has  been  prominently  identified  with  the  development  of  Hope  and  has 
materially  aided  in  its  upbuilding  and  prosperity.  He  has  assisted  in  establishing  various 
enterprises  and  is  today  serving  as  vice  president  of  the  Hope  National  Bank,  of  which 
he  was  one  of  the  organizers. 


256  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

Mr.  Moores  was  born  on  the  12th  of  Augnst,  1864,  in  Etstigouche,  New  Brnnswick, 
Canada,  of  which  place  his  parents,  Alex  and  Levina  (Allan)  Moores,  were  also  natives. 
His  paternal  grandfather,  David  Moores,  was  also  born  in  New  Brunswick,  but  the  family 
came  originally  from  Scotland  and  for  several  generations  they  were  identitied  with  the 
lumber  business.  In  1868  the  father  removed  to  Minnesota,  where  his  family  joined  him  the 
following  year  and  where  he  continued  in  the  lumber  business  until  accident  ly  killed  by  a 
log  rolling  upon  him  when  thirty-six  years  of  age. 

Charles  S.  Moores  is  the  older  of  the  two  children  of  the  family  and  was  about 
five  years  of  age  when  he  became  a  resident  of  Minnesota,  his  boyhood  being  spent  at 
Elk  Kiver,  where  he  attended  school.  At  the  age  of  eighteen  he  started  out  in  life  for 
himself  and  for  three  years  engaged  in  lumbering.  In  1885  he  came  to  North  Dakota  and 
took  up  a  homestead  in  Kichland  county.  When  the  Great  Northern  and  Soo  Railroads  were 
built  across  his  land,  they  erected  a  station  in  1886,  to  which  thej-  gave  the  name  of  Stiles, 
and  he  opened  a  general  store  at  that  place,  which  he  conducted  with  success  until  1894. 
He  then  sold  out  and  purchased  the  Hope  Roller  Jlill  at  Hope,  Steele  county,  which  he 
operated  until  1913.  In  the  meantime  he  had  become  interested  in  other  enterprises  in 
that  city.  In  1907  he  built  the  light  plant  and  engaged  in  its  operation  until  1912,  when 
he  sold  it  to  the  Frank  E.  Corson  Company,  who  now  conduct  it.  Although  he  has 
recently  disposed  of  some  of  his  property,  Mr.  Moores  is  still  the  owner  of  two  sections  of 
land  in  Steele  county  and  has  three  sections  of  farm  land  in  Montana.  In  1900,  ht  was  one 
of  the  organizers  and  promoters  of  the  Hope  State  Bank,  which  changed  its  name  six 
years  later  to  the  Hope  National  Bank.  Its  capital  and  surplus  now  amount  to  over 
sixty  thousand  dollars  and  a  large  amount  of  business  is  transacted  over  its  counters.  On 
its  organization  the  present  modern  bank  building  was  erected  and  its  equipment  is 
substantial  and  up-to-date.  From  the  beginning  Mr.  Moores  has  served  as  its  vice  president, 
the  other  officers  being  Ole  Arnegard,  president  and  George  A.  Warner,  cashier. 

In  October,  1888,  Mr.  Moores  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Celia  Stiles,  who  died  in 
May,  1898.  Her  father,  Ezra  Stiles,  was  a  prominent  farmer  of  Richland  county  and  it  was 
in  his  honor  the  town  of  Stiles  was  named.  The  children  born  of  this  union  are:  Winnifred, 
who  attended  the  Hope  high  school  and  also  the  Minnesota  Business  College  at  Minneapolis 
and  is  now  in  the  employ  of  the  Hope  National  Bank;  Harold,  who  also  attended  high  school 
and  is  now  conducting  one  of  his  father's  farms;  and  Zelma,  who  completed  her  education 
in  the  Valley  City  State  Normal  and  is  now  engaged  in  teaching.  Mr.  Moores  was  again 
married  in  1901,  his  second  wife  being  Miss  Augusta  Link,  of  New  York  state,  by  whom 
he  has  two  children,  Charles  and  Richard,  both  in  school. 

Mr.  Moores  is  a  Knights  Templar  Mason  and  a  member  of  the  Mystic  Shrine.  He 
has  taken  an  active  interest  in  educational  affairs  and  has  been  a  member  of  the  school 
board  for  a  number  of  years.  He  has  never  cared  for  political  honors,  however,  preferring 
to  give  his  undivided  attention  to  his  extensive  business  interests,  which  have  been  so 
managed  that  he  is  now  numbered  among  the  prosperous  and  substantial  citizens  of  his 
community. 


N.  J.  STEFFEN. 


N.  J.  Steffen,  of  Belfield,  is  prominently  connected  with  farming  interests  and  with  the 
grain  trade  in  Stark  county  and  that  section  of  the  state.  He  was  born  in  Hastings, 
Minnesota,  August  16,  1877,  a  son  of  Bathazer  and  Josephine  (Swartz)  Steffen.  He  was 
reared  in  his  native  city  and  when  a  youth  of  but  fourteen  years  became  connected  with 
the  grain  trade  as  a  buyer.  He  also  long  served  in  public  office,  acting  as  deputy  in  every 
office  in  the  courthouse.  When  twenty-one  years  of  age  he  went  to  Holland,  Minnesota, 
where  he  bought  grain  for  the  Minnesota  &  Western  Grain  Company  for  three  years.  He 
then  removed  to  Ortonville,  where  lie  established  an  elevator,  but  soon  afterward  sold  out 
to  the  Farmers  Grain  Company  and  went  to  Appleton.  where  he  bought  grain  for  a  year 
for  the  Interstate  Grain  Company.  In  1909  he  arrived  in  Buffalo,  North  Dakota,  and  entered 
the  employ  of  the  Great  Western  Elevator  Company,  with  which  he  remained  for  a  year. 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  257 

In  1909  he  arrived  in  Belfield  and  took  charge  of  the  new  Farmers  Blevator,  of  which  he 
is  still  manager  and  one  of  the  liuavy  stockliolders.  On  tlie  5th  of  November,  1915,  be  bought 
a  line  of  elevators,  including  one  at  Belfield,  also  at  South  Heart,  at  Beach  and  at  Medora 
and  in  addition  to  managing  his  individual  interests  he  is  still  manager  of  the  farmers 
Elevator  of  Belfield.  His  activities  are  wisely  directed  and  sound  judgment  characterizes 
all  of  his  business  allairs.  He  has  farm  property  in  Stark  county  and  real  estate  in 
Bellield.  deriving  a  good  rental  from  his  town  luddings.  He  also  has  the  agency  for  the 
King  and  Buick  automobiles. 

In  1899  Sir.  .Steffen  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Stelle  Thompson,  a  native  of 
Hastings,  Jlinnesota,  and  a  daughter  of  J).  L.  Thompson.  They  now  have  a  son,  Hugh  T., 
who  is  attending  school  in  Lewiston,  Montana. 

In  politics  Jlr.  Steffen  is  a  stalwart  democrat  and  has  filled  various  city  offices.  He 
is  treasurer  of  the  Commercial  Club  of  Belfield,  and  he  belongs  to  the  Elks  lodge  of 
Dickinson  and  to  the  Minneapolis  Athletic  Club.  He  also  holds  membership  in  the 
Catholic  church,  while  his  wife  and  son  are  members  of  the  Presbyterian  church.  Opportunity 
is  ever  to  him  a  call  to  action.  He  recognizes  the  fact  tliat  ojiportunity  tauntingly  plays 
before  the  dreamer,  slips  away  from  the  sluggard  but  yields  its  rewards  to  the  man  of 
persistent,  earnest  and  intelligently  directed  effort.  He  has  therefore  wisely  used  the 
chances  that  have  come  to  him  and  his  entire  career  has  been  marked  by  an  orderly 
progression,  while  each  forward  step  has  brought  him  a  broader  outlook  and  wider 
opportunities. 


OLE  ELLESTGSON. 


Ole  Ellingson,  a  leading  merchant  and  pioneer  of  Epping,  was  born  in  Hoi,  Hallingdal, 
Norway,  February  12,  1867,  a  son  of  Filing  Swenson  Rodning  and  Gunhild  Vebjornsdatter, 
who  were  also  natives  of  Norway,  where  they  spent  their  entire  lives,  the  father  passing 
away  in  1886  and  the  mother  in  1867. 

Reared  in  his  native  country,  Ole  Ellingson  completed  his  education  in  the  high 
school  at  Hoi,  Hallingdal,  and  in  1886,  when  nineteen  years  of  age,  crossed  the  Atlantic 
to  the  new  world.  Making  his  way  to  North  Dakota,  he  settled  at  Reynolds  in  1888  and 
in  1892  he  supplemented  his  education  previously  acquired  by  study  in  the  Northwestern 
Business  College  at  Grand  Forks.  He  began  earning  his  living  on  this  side  the  Atlantic 
as  clerk  in  a  general  store  at  Reynolds  and  later  went  to  Mcintosh,  Minnesota,  where  he 
was  employed  as  clerk  in  a  general  store  for  six  years.  He  afterward  engaged  in  business 
on  his  own  account  there  until  1906,  when  he  removed  to  Epping  when  the  town  site  was 
laid  out — ^just  a  spot  on  the  prairie,  no  houses  having  as  yet  been  built.  He  put  up  a  tent 
and  therein  opened  the  first  store  in  the  town.  As  soon  as  he  could  get  lumber  shipped  he 
erected  a  frame  building  for  use  as  a  store  and  he  still  has  the  largest  merchandise 
establishment  of  the  town,  having  been  very  successful  in  the  development  and  conduct 
of  his  business.  He  also  assisted  in  organizing  the  Citizens  State  Bank  of  Eppin"  but  is 
not  connected  with  it  at  the  present  time.  He  homesteaded  in  Williams  county  and  now 
owns  and  cultivates  eight  quarter  sections  of  land  near  Epping,  from  which  he  has  sold  as 
high  as  ten  thousand  bushels  of  wheat  at  threshing  time.  He  is  also  engaged  in  the  real  estate 
business  and  deals  in  farm  lands  extensively.  In  all  his  business  affairs  he  has  displayed 
sound  judgment,  unfaltering  enterprise  and  persistency  of  purpose  and  his  name  is  moreover 
recognized  as  a  synonym  of  business  integrity  by  those  who  have  had  dealings  with  him. 

On  the  12th  of  May,  1898,  Mr.  Ellingson  was  married  at  Grand  Forks  to  Miss  Maggie 
Olson,  who  was  born  in  Norway,  a  daughter  of  Andrew  and  Berget  (Wiken)  Olson,  who 
were  also  natives  of  that  country,  whence  they  came  to  America  when  their  daughter, 
Mrs.  Ellingson,  was  but  seven  years  of  age.  They  settled  at  Winger,  Minnesota,  where 
Mr.  Olson  passed  away,  while  his  widow  still  occupies  the  old  home  place  there.  To  Mr. 
and  Mrs.  Ellingson  have  been  bom  seven  children,  namely:  Arnold,  who  is  deseased; 
Elmer;  Blanche;  Christine;  Olga;  Alf;  and  Loraine. 

Politically   Mr.   Ellingson   is   a  progressive   and   has   always   been   a   staunch   advocate 


258  .         HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

of  prohibition  principles,  doing  everything  in  his  power  to  advance  the  cause  of  temperance 
and  secure  the  abolishment  not  only  of  the  use  but  the  manufacture  of  alcoholic  beverages. 
His  fellow  townsmen,  appreciative  of  his  wortli  and  ability,  have  called  him  to  various 
public  offices.  He  aided  in  organizing  the  village  of  Epping,  served  as  a  member  of  the 
sc-liool  board  and  is  now  town  treasurer.  His  interest  in  beluilf  of  temperance  is  inilie;ited 
in  his  membership  in  the  Independent  Order  of  Good  Templars,  of  which  he  was  grand 
treasurer  for  four  years,  and  for  eiglit  years  he  represented  Mcintosh  Lodge,  I.  O.  G.  T., 
in  the  grand  lodge,  of  which  he  is  still  a  member.  He  has  closely  studied  the  question 
of  tem]ierance  in  all  of  its  various  phases  and  his  efforts  have  been  far-reaching  and  beneficial 
along  lines  that  curb  the  drink  habit.  He  is  a  charter  member  of  the  Odd  Fello^\■s  loiljje  at 
Epping,  in  which  he  has  filled  all  of  the  chairs.  His  religious  faith  is  that  of  the  United 
Lutheran  church  and  he  is  a  director  of  the  Wittenberg  Hospital  at  Williston.  He  belongs  to 
the  Sons  of  Norway  and  was  active  in  the  movement  wliicli  in  191i  was  started  by  American 
citizens  of  Norwegian  birth  who  were  boin  in  the  ilistrict  of  Hoi,  Hallingdal,  for  raising  money 
to  send  to  the  people  of  their  district  in  Norway  as  a  jiresent  from  their  former  fellow 
countrymen  now  in  America  upon  the  occasion  of  the  celebration  at  Hoi,  Hallingdal,  of  the 
one  hundredth  anniversary  of.  Norwegian  independence.  Representatives  of  all  these  men 
met  at  Fargo  in  1914  and  selected  Mr.  Ellingson  as  chairman  of  the  committee  to  go  to 
Norway  and  present  the  gift.  He  was  also  delegated  by  Governor  Hanna  of  North  Dakota 
to  convey  to  the  people  of  Norway  a  message  and  greeting  from  him  and  to  act  as  his 
representative  at  the  celebration.  Mr.  Ellingson  is  one  of  the  leading  citizens  of  Norwegian 
birth  in  the  northwestern  part  of  the  state,  a  big-minded,  liberal  man  of  lofty  principles 
and  high  character.  His  work  along  many  lines  has  been  of  benefit  in  upbuilding  the  material, 
intellectual,  social  and  moral  welfare  of  the  community  but  in  none  have  his  efforts  been 
more  strongly  exerted  than  in  support  of  the  temperance  cause,  and  he  is  today  recognized 
as  one  of  the  strongest  advocates  of  prohibition  in  his  section  of  North  Dakota. 


J.  6.  MUNDY. 


J.  G.  Mundy,  proprietor  of  an  independent  grain  elevator  at  Mylo  and  also  of  branch 
elevators  at  Ina  and  at  Agate,  in  Rolette  county,  is  thus  prominently  connected  with  the 
grain  trade  in  his  section  of  the  state.  He  was  born  in  Ontario,  Canada,  on  the  18th  of 
April,  1SS2,  a  son  of  Mark  and  Jane  (Gemmell)  Mundy,  the  former  a  native  of  England 
and  the  latter  of  Ontario.  The  father  was  but  four  years  of  age  when  taken  by  his 
parents  to  Canada  and  on  attaining  his  majoritj'  he  began  farming  as  a  renter  in  Ontario. 
In  1886  he  came  to  North  Dakota,  settling  in  Rolette  county,  where  he  filed  on  a  pre- 
emption, which  he  later  filed  and  proved  up  as  a  homestead,  the  place  being  situated  about 
two  and  a  half  miles  east  of  the  present  town  site  of  Rolla.  He  was  one  of  the  first  settlers 
in  that  section  of  the  country  and  his  nearest  market  was  Devils  Lake,  one  hundred  miles 
distant.  From  that  point  all  of  his  supplies  had  to  be  hauled  by  team,  while  the  products 
of  his  'farm  were  taken  there  for  sale.  He  built  a  log  cabin,  which  constituted  his  home 
for  ten  years,  and  in  the  early  days  he  met  all  the  hardships  and  experiences  of  pioneer 
life.  Subsequently  he  purchased  a  farm  a  mile  from  Rolla,  on  wliich  he  erected  a  modern 
residence,  and   there  he   still   makes   his  home. 

J.  G.  Mundy  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  of  Rolla  and  in  the  North  Dakota 
Agricultural  College  at  Fargo.  When  he  reached  man's  estate  he  rented  the  home  farm 
and  thus  became  actively  identified  ■with  agricultural  pursuits.  A  year  later  he  had  his 
initial  experience  as  a  grain  buyer  in  connection  with  an  elevator  at  Rolla,  where  he 
was  employed  for  two  years.  He  then  went  to  Williams  county  and  filed  on  a  homestead 
seven  miles  west  of  Williston.  The  same  year  he  returned  to  Rolette  county  and  again 
became  associated  with  the  grain  business,  being  made  manager  of  the  Farmers  Elevator 
at  Mylo,  in  which  connection  he  remained  for  five  years.  In  1910  he  purchased  his  pres'int 
elevator  at  Mylo  and  began  business  independently.  In  1916  he  bought  an  elevator  at  Ina 
and  another  at  Agate  and  is  now  operating  the  three  elevators  in  the  conduct  of  a  grow- 
ing and  successful  grain  business.     His  activities  are  wisely  and  intelligently  direct*-!  and 


J.  G.  MUNDY 


Tl 
PUELi 


AT 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  261 

success  is  attending  his  eflforts  in  a  substantial  degree.  He  is  also  a  member  of  the  iirm 
of  Mundy  &  Grassman,  implement  dealers  of  Mylo,  and  in  that  connection  enjoys  a 
liberal  patronage. 

On  the  3d  of  January,  1905,  Mr.  Slundy  was  'married  to  Miss  May  P.  Cooper,  of 
Rolette  county,  and  they  have  become  the  parents  of  five  children,  Gladys  E.,  Mark  A.,  Robert 
J.,  Marian   L.,  and  Mildred  E. 

Mr.  Mundy  gives  his  political  allegiance  to  the  republican  party  and  fraternally  is 
connected  with  Rolla  Lodge,  No.  60,  F.  &  A.  M.  He  is  likewise  a  member  of  the  Grand 
Forks  Consistory,  No.  2,  A.  &,  A.  S.  R.,  and  Kem  Temple  of  the  Mystic  Shrine  at  Grand 
Forks.  He  also  belongs  to  Devils  Lake  Lodge,  No.  1316,  B.  P.  0.  E.  He  and  his  wife 
are  members  of  the  Jlethodist  churcli  and  tliey  are  well  known  and  highly  respected  resi- 
dents of  Rolette  county,  where  Mr.  Mundy  occupies  a  prominent  position  among  the  busi- 
ness men  of  the  community. 


JTDGE   FREDERICTv  MASER. 

Frederick  Masci',  who  is  now  so  ably  serving  as  county  judge  of  Stark  county,  luis 
been  a  resident  of  Dickinson  since  1904  and  has  since  taken  an  active  and  prominent 
part  in  the  development  of  this  section  of  the  state.  He  was  born  in  Germany  on  the  33d  of 
August,  1864,  and  is  a  son  of  George  and  Rosina  Maser,  both  now  deceased.  He  is  indebted 
to  tlie  public  schools  of  his  native  land,  for  the  early  educational  privileges  he  enjoyed.  In 
1881  he  emigrated  to  America,  locating  in  Baltimore  and  remaining  there  until  1887,  when  lie 
entered  a  college  and  seminary  at  Afton,  Minnesota,  graduating  in  1890.  He  then  located 
in  Belle  Plaine,  Minnesota,  were  he  made  his  home  until  his  removal  to  Dickinson,  North 
Dakota,  in  1904.  He  served  as  secretary  and  manager  of  the  Rainy-Butte  Land  Company 
until  1913,  when  he  was  elected  county  judge  of  Stark  county  and  has  since  filled  that 
position  in  a  most  creditable  manner.  He  was  interested  in  colonization  schemes  and  has 
been  instrumental  in  locating  people  on  farms  in  this  state,  colonies  having  been  formed  for 
tliat  purpose  in  Illinois,  Iowa,  Ohio,  Minnesota  and  Wisconsin. 

On  the  24th  of  November,  1891,  .ludge  Maser  was  united  in  marriage  to  Jliss  Lydia 
Dreher,  and  to  them  have  been  born  six  children,  namely:  Viola;  Fred,  who  is  now  a 
druggist;  Victor,  who  is  interested  in  banking;  Walter,  a  midshipman  at  Annapolis;  Ruth; 
and  Albert. 

Judge  Maser  is  a  member  of  the  Lutlieran  church  and  his  political  alliliaticn  is  with 
the  republican  party.  In  November,  1916,  he  was  reelected  to  the  office  of  county  judge, 
a  position  he  has  filled  for  tlie  past  four  years  most  efficiently.  He  is  vice  president  of  the 
Dickinson  Building  &  Loan  Association  and  also  of  the  Dickinson  Commercial  Club.  He 
has  worked  hard  for  the  promotion  of  dry  farming  in  this  state  and  no  project  calculated 
to  advance  the  interests  of  the  community  seeks  his  aid  in  vain.  His  course  in  life  has  ever 
been  such  as  to  commend  him  to  the  confidence  and  regard  of  all  witli  whom  lie  has  been 
brought  in  contact. 


WILLTA:M   D.   HUGHES. 


William  D.  Hughes,  a  conductor  on  the  Northern  Pacific  living  at  Jamestown,  was  born 
in  Leavenworth,  Kansas,  December  13,  1869,  a  son  of  Thomas  and  Ellen  (Sheehan)  Hughes, 
the  former  a  native  of  Wales  and  the  latter  of  Ireland.  \Vlicn  a  young  man  the  father 
came  to  America  and  at  the  time  of  the  Civil  war  responded  to  the  call  of  his  adopted 
country  for  aid,  becoming  a  recruiting  officer  at  Ellsworth,  Kansas.  He  died  during  the 
infancy  of  his  son  William,  after  which  Iiis  widow  became  associated  witii  the  Seventh 
Regiment  ami  was  in  South  Carolina  in  the  reconstruction  period.  .She  afterward  made  her 
way  by  rail  to  Yankton  and  thence  up  the  Missouri  river  on  the  steamer  Western  to  Fort 
Rice.     Three  daughters  and  two  sons  accompanied  her,  while  the  eldest  son.  Frank,  remained 


262  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

in  Leavenworth,  Kansas.  William  D.  Hughes'  earliest  memories  are  connected  with  Fort 
Rice.  The  family  there  remained  until  the  spring  of  1874,  when  they  were  transferred  with 
the  Seventh  Rfgimont  to  Fort  Lincoln,  and  William  D.  Hughes  saw  the  troops  startin'sr  out 
for  the  Black  Hills,  also  when  they  went  up  the  Yellowstone  and  again  when  tliey  started 
on  the  trip  which  terminated  in  the  Custer  massacre.  In  1874  his  elder  brother,  Frank 
Hughes,  came  to  the  territory  witli  a  wagon  train  and  accompanied  the  expedition  to  tlie 
Yellowstone  as  a  teamster  in  that  year,  also  went  on  the  expedition  to  the  Black  Hills 
in  1875  as  a  herder  and  in  1876  became  a  soldier  of  Company  L,  under  General  Custer,  and 
was  one  of  the  brave  boys  in  blue  whose  lives  were  sacrificed  to  Indian  cruelty  and  treachery. 
Mr.  Hughes  remembers  distinctly  when  the  news  of  the  massacre  was  brought  to  Bismarck 
and  the  wounded  were  conveyed  to  that  city  on  the  steamer  Far  West.  His  brother's  widow 
was  living  with  them  at  that  time.  The  family  afterward  removed  to  Fort  Lincoln,  where 
they  remained  until  the  fort  was  abandoned  and  then  went  to  Bismarck,  where  they  resided 
for  a  year,  during  which  period  the  two  eldest  sisters  were  married. 

\\'illiam  D.  Hughes  remained  in  Bismarck  until  1893,  when  he  took  up  railroading  in  the 
employ  of  the  Northern  Pacific.  He  was  advanced  to  the  position  of  conductor  in  1903  and 
is  now  a  passenger  conductor  on  that  road,  having  been  retained  in  its  service  for  more  than 
twenty-three  years.  He  is  considered  a  courteous  and  obliging  official  by  the  patrons  of  the 
road,  while  his  thorough  trustworthiness  and  fidelity  are  recognized  by  the  company. 

In  September,  1S94,  William  D.  Hughes  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Agnes  Roberts, 
of  Sauk  Center,  Minnesota,  where  her  father,  a  veteran  of  the  Civil  war,  settled  in  pioneer  days. 
Fraternally  Mr.  Hughes  is  connected  with  the  Benevolent  Protective  Order  of  Elks  and  the 
Order  of  Railway  Conductors.  Tliere  are  few  residents  of  Dakota  who  have  more  intimate 
knowledge  of  the  early  history  of  the  state  than  Mr.  Hughes,  whose  boyhood  was  spent  at 
the  forts  on  the  western  frontier  and  who  is  acquainted  with  all  those  movements  which 
were  made  by  the  pioneers  and  bj'  the  government  to  protect  the  early  settlers  and  make 
it  possible  to  plant  the  seeds  of  civilization  in  what  was  then  the  far  west.  He  well  remem- 
bers the  leading  Indian  chiefs  of  that  ))eriod  and  has  heard  .John  Grass  and  Chief  Gane  speak 
in  ]iublic.  He  has  watched  the  supplanting  of  the  red  men  by  tlie  white  race,  the  Indian 
tepee  by  the  pioneer's  cabin  and  has  lived  to  see  the  remarkable  changes  whicli  have  since 
been  carried  forward,  introducing  into  what  was  once  a  wild  western  wilderness  all  the 
advantages  and  opportunities  of  civilization.  He  has  a  wide  acquaintance  among  the  pioneers 
and  later  residents  of  the  state  and  is  highly  esteemed  by  all  who  know  him. 


ank:er  b.  steen. 


Anker  B.  Steen,  of  Reynolds,  Grand  Forks  county,  was  born  at  Rochester,  Minnesota, 
March  38,  1862,  a  son  of  the  Rev.  L.  and  Carrie  (Eriekson)  Steen,  natives  of  Norway.  The 
father,  a  clergyman  of  the  Lutheran  church,  was  graduated  from  the  University  of  Christiania 
in  1856  and  won  the  degree  of  Doctor  of  Divinity.  He  came  to  America  in  1859,  settling  at 
Rochester,  Minnesota,  in  order  to  do  missionary  work  among  the  early  settlers  and  the 
Indians.  He  was  a  man  of  most  liberal  education,  speaking  several  modern  languages  as  well 
as  Greek  and  Hebrew.  His  entire  life  was  devoted  to  the  ministry,  in  which  connection  he 
did  a  most  important  work,  his  labors  not  being  denied  their  full  harvest  nor  the  aftermath. 
He  became  a  resident  of  North  Dakota  in  1881  and  thereafter  lived  retired  until  called  to  his 
final  rest  in  1907  at  the  age  of  eighty-nine  j^ears.  For  about  two  years  he  had  survived 
his  wife,  who  passed  away  in  Portland,  North  Dakota,  at  the  age  of  sixty-eight  years,  while 
his  death  occurred  in  Page.  In  the  family  were  six  children.  Anker  B.  being  the  third  in 
order  of  birth. 

After  passing  through  consecutive  grades  in  the  public  schools  of  Benson  until  graduated 
from  the  high  school  there  Anker  B.  Steen  started  out  to  make  his  own  way  when  a  youth 
of  seventeen  years.  He  was  first  connected  with  mercantile  pursuits,  entering  into  partner- 
ship with  John  Steen  in  the  establishment  and  conduct  of  a  general  merchandise  store  at 
Benson  in  the  year  1881.  Afterward  the  brothers  removed  their  stock  and  business  to 
Portland,  North  Dakota,  where  they  remained  for  three  years,  but  there  met  with  financial 


HISTORY 'OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  263 

reverses.  Anker  B.  Steeii  there  learned  tlie  barber's  trade  and  engiii^cd  in  that  lino  of  business 
as  journeyman  and  proprietor  of  a  shop  for  sixteen  years.  In  IDOG  he  located  at  Reynolds 
and  for  the  first  year  was  connected  with  the  State  Bank  of  Reynolds,  having  charge  of 
the  eolloi'tions.  He  then  established  liis  present  business  as  a  dealer  in  groceries,  fruit, 
confectionery  and  men's  furnishings  and  in  the  intervening  period  he  has  developed  a 
substantial  and  profitable  trade,  having  now  a  very  liberal  share  of  the  public  patronage. 

On  the  23th  of  .July,  1891,  Mr.  Steen  was  united  in  marriage  in  Hillsboro,  North  Dakota, 
to  Miss  Florence  L.  Bannester,  a  native  of  Vermont  and  a  daughter  of  William  Bannesier, 
a  representative  of  an  old  Vermont  family  and  a  Civil  war  veteran.  He  married  Sarah 
Cowles,  also  descended  from  an  old  Vermont  family,  and  she  Is  now  living  with  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
Steen,  who  have  a  family  of  five  children:  Maude  Louella,  the  wife  of  Edward  Curn,  living 
at  Kalamazoo,  Michigan:  Blanche,  tlie  wife  of  Patrick  Gerry,  of  Grand  Forks;  and  Esther, 
Percy  and  Doris,  all  at  home. 

In  politics  Mr.  .'^teen  is  a  stalwart  republican  and  during  the  past  thirty-two  years 
he  has  spent  thirty  years  in  public  life,  filling  various  positions  of  trust  and  responsibility 
in  the  township  and  county.  Fraternally  he  is  connected  with  the  Ancient  Order  of  United 
Workmen,  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America  and  the  American  Brotherhood.  His  religious 
belief  is  that  of  the  Lutheran  church,  to  the  teachings  of  which  he  loyally  adheres,  conforming 
his  life  at  all  times  to  the  principles  therein  inculcated. 


ANDREW  K.   REITEN. 


A  spirit  of  enterprise  and  laudable  ambition  led  Andrew  K.  Reiten  to  seek  a  home  in 
the  new  world,  where  he  hoped  that  he  might  win  success  along  legitimate  business  lines. 
Acting  in  accordance  with  his  faith  and  judgment,  he  became  a  resident  of  North  Dakota 
and  is  now,  as  the  result  of  his  close  application  and  industry,  one  of  the  successful  merchants 
of  Petersburg,  where  he  is  dealing  in  farm  im|)lements.  He  was  born  in  Harham  Aalesund, 
Norway,  June  13,  1866,  a  son  of  Knute  and  Anna  (Reiten)  Reiten,  who  were  also  natives 
of  that  country,  where  the  father  engaged  in  farming  throughout  his  entire  life.  He  died 
in  1881,  at  the  age  of  sixty  years,  and  is  still  survived  by  his  widow,  who  has  now  reached 
the  age  of  eighty-four  years.  In  their  family  were  six  children,  four  sons  and  two  daughters, 
as  follows:  Ola  K.,  who  is  a  resident  of  Petersburg;  Nels  K.,  also  living  in  Petersburg; 
Andrew  K.,  of  this  review;  Peter,  who  yet  makes  his  home  in  Norway;  Mrs.  Anna  Reiten,  a 
resident  of  Alvcstad.  Norway;  and  Mrs.  Christina  Woog,  of  Petersburg. 

In  the  public  schools  of  his  native  country  Andrew  K.  Reiten  pursued  his  education  and 
engaged  in  farming  on  his  father's  land  until  he  reached  his  twenty-first  year.  On  the  30th 
of  Jlay,  1887,  he  sailed  for  the  new  world  and  made  his  way  at  once  to  Michigan,  North 
Dakota,  then  the  territory  of  Dakota.  For  four  years  thereafter  he  engaged  in  farming 
and  then  established  a  mercantile  business  in  connection  with  Martin  Ekram.  For  ten 
years  he  has  been  actively  connected  with  mercantile  interests  in  Petersburg,  where  he  is 
dealing  in  farm  machinery,  building  up  a  large  trade  along  that  line  and  winning  for  himself 
a  prominent  position  in  commercial  circles  of  his  town. 

On  the  3d  of  March,  1896,  Mr.  Reiten  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Laura  Larsen.  of 
Petersburg,  a  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Oiarles  Larsen,  of  Nelson  county,  where  they  settled 
in  pioneer  times  and  still  make  their  home.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Reiten  have  become  parents  of 
eight  children,  namely:  Arnold,  who  was  born  in  Petersburg  in  1897  and  is  a  senior  in  the 
high  school:  Conrad  and  Connance,  twins,  who  were  born  in  1899.  at  Petersburg,  and  now 
attend  the  high  school  there;  Lawrence,  whose  birth  occurred  in  Petersburg  in  1904,  and  who 
is  an  eighth  grade  student;  Thelma,  Robert  and  Andrew,  who  were  born  in  Petersburg  in 
the  years  1907,  1908  and  1910  respectively  and  are  all  attending  school:  and  Amelia,  born 
at   Petersburg   in    1914. 

Mr.  Reiten  belongs  to  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows,  the  Modern  Woodmen  of 
America  and  the  Sons  of  Norway.  His  political  support  is  given  the  democratic  party  and 
he  has  held  various  village  and  township  offices.  He  has  been  both  councilman  and  mayor 
of  Petersburg  and  for  six  years  was  a  member  of  the  board  of  county  commissioners.     He  is 


264  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

ever  loyal  to  the  best  interests  of  the  community  and  his  cooperation  can  always  be  counted 
upon  to  further  progiessive  public  measures  that  result  in  the  benefit  and  upbuilding  of  his 
district.  He  has  never  had  occasion  to  regret  his  determination  to  come  to  the  new  world, 
for  in  this  land  he  found  the  opportunities  which  he  sought  and.  working  his  way  steadilv 
upward  along  legitimate  business  lines,  is  today  one  of  the  substantial  citizens  of  Nelson 
county. 


A.  H.  MOVIUS,  M.  D. 


Dr.  A.  H.  Movius,  who  is  senior  partner  in  the  firm  of  Movius  &  Wood  of  Jamestown, 
Stutsman  county,  is  recognized  as  one  of  the  able  and  progressive  physicians  of  the  county! 
He  is  a  native  of  North  Dakota,  his  birth  having  occurred  in  Fargo  on  the  25th  of  April, 
1883.  His  parents  are  Ernest  F.  and  Marie  (Rosenkranz)  Movius,  the  former  a  minister 
of  the  German  Evangelical  church  and  a  pioneer  of  North  Dakota.  The  paternal  grand- 
parents -were  among  the  first  settlers  of  Dakota  territory,  locating  at  Big  Stone  lake" while 
the  Indians  were  in  camp  there.  Kev.  Ernest  F.  Jlovius  was  for  twenty  years  a  presiding 
elder  but  is  now  living  retired. 

A.  H.  Movius  attended  the  public  and  high  schools  in  Fargo  and  subsequently  took  a 
course  in  the  School  of  Pharmacy  of  Valparaiso  University  at  Valparaiso,  Indiana,  from 
which  he  was  graduated.  After  working  as  a  pharmacist  for  a  few  years  he  entered  the 
Physicians  and  Surgeons  College  of  Chicago,  now  known  as  the  School  of  Medicine  of  the 
University  of  Illinois,  and  was  graduated  from  that  institution  in  1906.  For  a  year  and  a 
half  he  served  as  interne  in  the  Lakeside  Hospital  at  Chicago,  thus  gaining  practical 
knowledge  that  fitted  him  to  begin  the  independent  practice  of  his  profession.  In  1907 
he  located  in  Flandreau,  South  Dakota,  where  he  remained  until  March,  1909,  when  he 
removed  to  .Jamestown,  North  Dakota.  In  the  intervening  seven  years  he  has  built  up  a  large 
and  profitable  practice.  He  has  never  ceased  to  be  a  student  of  his  profession  and  each  year 
spends  some  time  in  post  graduate  work,  thus  increasing  his  efficiency  and  keeping  in  touch 
with  the  latest  developments  in  the  theory  and  practice  of  medicine.  He  is  also  a  member 
of  the  county  and  state  medical  societies  and  of  the  American  Medical  Association.  Aside 
from  his  private  practice,  in  which  he  is  associated  with  Dr.  Wood,  he  is  chief  surgeon  for  the 
Midland  Continental  Railroad  Company. 

On  the  3d  of  October,  1907,  Dr.  Movius  was  married  to  Miss  Helen  M.  Shepard,  a 
daughter  of  Cliarles  F.  Shepard,  of  Cleveland.  Ohio,  and  Chicago,  Illinois.  To  this  union  has 
been  born  a  son,  Alfred  H.  The  Doctor  is  quite  prominent  fraternally,  belonging  to  both 
the  Scottish  and  York  Rites  in  the  Masonic  order,  in  the  latter  of  which  he  has  attained 
the  Knights  Templar  degree,  to  the  Mystic  Shrine,  to  the  Odd  Fellows,  to  the  Elks  and  to  the 
Workmen.  He  is  a  Protestant  in  religious  faith.  He  is  a  republican  in  politics  and  takes 
an  active  interest  in  public  affairs.  He  is  serving  as  alderman  of  .Jamestown  and  is 
also  superintendent  of  the  county  board  of  health.  He  is  fond  of  all  outdoor  sports  and 
whenever  possible  indulges  in  hunting  and  fishing.  He  is  not  only  an  excellent  physician  and 
surgeon  but  is  also  a  public-spirited  citizen  who  is  at  all  times  willing  to  further  in  any 
way  possible  the  advancement  of  his  community  and  state,  and  he  is  highly  esteemed 
and  respected. 


JAMES  Mcintosh. 


Throughout  the  existence  of  Cando,  .lames  Mcintosh  has  been  identified  with  its  develop- 
ment and  he  had  previously  farmed  the  land  on  which  the  town  was  established.  In  fact 
he  was  plowing  there  when  the  men  came  to  lay  out  the  village.  He  has  done  everything 
within  his  power  to  promote  its  interests  and  is  today  numbered  among  its  leading  citizens. 

Mr.  Mcintosh  was  born  in  Cliicago,  Illinois,  August  14,  1846,  and  is  a  son  of  David 
and  .Jane  (Sonimers)  JMntosh.  The  mother  was  born  at  Watkins  Glen,  New  York,  but 
the  birth  of  the  father  occurred  at  Little  York,  Ontario,  now  the  city  of  Toronto,  Canada. 


1 


^  ♦ 


*> 

\ 

1 

^^m 

rt 

-/ 

aflH 

u 

h: 

■^^.. 

J  -Tfl 

/ 

DR.  A.  H.  MOVIUS 


f'Ui'Ll 


HISTORY  OF  XORTII  DAKOTA  267 

He  bi'cunie  a  captain  on  steamboats  on  the  Great  Lakes,  sailing  out  of  Cliicago  from  1835 
to  1876.  In  1864  he  established  his  home  at  Niles,  Michigan,  but  subsequently  returned  to 
Chicago,  where  he  continued  to  reside  for  five  years.  He  then  removed  to  Fulton,  Missouri, 
whicli  was  his  home  until  April  28,  1886 — the  date  of  his  arrival  in  Devils  Lake,  North 
Dakota.  He  filed  on  land  in  Towner  county  and  spent  the  remainder  of  his  life  in  Cando. 
He  died  on  the  11th  of  November,  1896,  honored  and  respected  by  all  who  knew  him,  and 
his    wile   passed   away    in   June,    1906. 

Ill  his  native  city  James  Mcintosh  passed  the  days  of  his  boyhood  and  youth,  attending 
the  public  and  high  schools  of  Cliicago,  and  after  the  completion  of  his  education  was 
employed  as  bookkeeper  by  different  firms  in  that  city  for  many  years,  most  of  the  time 
being  with  D.  Cole  &  Son  in  the  real  estate  and  loan  business.  In  1886  he  accompanied  his 
parents  on  their  removal  to  North  Dakota,  bringing  with  them  a  carload  of  goods,  which 
were  liauled  across  the  country  from  Devils  Lake  to  Towner  county.  Mi-.  Mcintosh  took  up 
a  homestead  adjoining  his  father's  place  and  during  the  first  six  months  spent  there  only 
two  people  passed  his  house.  He  improved  and  operated  his  land  for  eight  years  but  sold 
the  place  at  the  end  of  that  time  and  removed  to  Cando  in  1894. 

Mr.  Mcintosh  has  been  a  stanch  supporter  of  the  republican  party  since  casting  his  first 
presidential  vote.  The  family  has  always  been  a  loyal  and  patriotic  one  and  five  boys  of 
his  father's  family  were  killed  in  battle  during  the  Civil  war.  Seven  of  the  family  now 
rest  in  Rose  Hill  cemetery,  Chicago.  Soon  after  his  arrival  in  Cando  in  1894  Mr.  Mcintosh 
was  elected  justice  of  the  peace  and  has  efficiently  served  in  that  capacity  ever  since.  He  has 
also  served  as  deputy  register  of  deeds  of  Towner  county  for  twenty  years  and  has  been 
deputy  in  other  county  offices.  No  trust  reposed  in  him  has  ever  been  betrayed  in  the  slightest 
degree  and  lie  has  always  discharged  his  official  duties  in  a  prompt  and  capable  manner. 
His  office  is  in  the  First  National  Bank  building.  He  is  one  of  the  representative  citizens  of 
Canilo  and  an  honored  pioneer  of  Towner  county. 


HON.  DUANE  ERWLN'  GEER. 

Ever  strong  and  resourceful  in  business,  watchful  of  opportunities  and  of  all  indica- 
tions pointing  to  success,  Hon.  Duane  E.  Geer  has  made  steady  progress  in  business  since 
he  first  cast  in  his  lot  with  the  citizens  of  North  Dakota.  He  was  born  in  Chenango  county, 
New  York,  May  29,  1858,  a  son  of  Dwight  and  Mary  (Healey)  Geer,  both  of  whom  were 
natives  of  Connecticut  and  representatives  of  old  colonial  families.  They  were  married  in 
the  Charter  Oak  state  and  about  two  years  later  removed  to  New  York.  The  father,  who 
was  a  miller  by  trade,  operated  a  mill  in  Chenango  county,  New  Y'ork,  for  a  number  of 
years  but  at  the  time  of  the  Civil  war  his  business  interests  were  laid  aside  and  he  joined 
the  army  as  a  member  of  Company  I,  One  Hundred  and  Fourteenth  New  Y'ork  Regiment  of 
Volunteer  Infantry,  with  which  he  served  throughout  the  entire  period  of  hostilities.  He 
passed  away  in  De  Ruyter,  New  York,  where  he  had  resided  for  more  than  sixty  years. 

D.  E.  Geer.  after  attending  public  schools,  continued  his  education  in  the  Cincinnatus 
Academy  at  Cincinnatus,  New  Y'ork,  from  which  he  was  graduated  with  the  class  of  1877. 
Wlien  his  textbooks  were  put  aside  he  took  up  the  profession  of  teaching,  which  he  followed 
for  three  years,  although  this  was  not  his  initial  effort  along  that  line,  as  he  had  taught 
prior  to  pursuing  his  academic  course.  He  began  teaching  when  but  seventeen  years  of  age 
and  while  engaged  in  that  work  during  the  winter  seasons  he  devoted  the  summer  months  to 
farm  labor.  In  fact  he  was  continuously  connected  with  farming  in  the  east  until  1880, 
when  he  removed  westward  to  Y'ankton,  South  Dakota,  and  began  work  in  connection 
witli  the  government  survey,  being  thus  employed  for  two  years.  His  duties  took  him 
northward  to  Dickey  county.  North  Dakota,  and  in  1882  he  established  his  home  in  Ellen- 
dale,  where  he  has  since  resided.  On  his  arrival  there  he  opened  a  real  estate,  loan  and 
insurance  office  and  through  the  intervening  period  has  built  up  and  conducted  an  extensive, 
growing  and  profitable  business.  He  has  brought  into  this  immediate  section  millions 
of  dollars  which  he  has  loaned  for  the  development  of  the  farming  districts.  His  sales  of 
farm  lands  have  been  enormous.     Some  of  his  sales  have  covered  as  much  as  seventy-one 


268  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

quarter  sections  of  land.  In  addition  to  his  operations  in  the  field  of  real  estate  Mr.  Geer 
himself  has  become  the  owner  of  extensive  landed  interests  in  Dickey  county  and  from  his 
property  derives  a  most  gratifying  g/nd  substantial  income  annually. 

In  1890  Mr.  Geer  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Etta  Denio,  of  EUendale,  North 
Dakota,  by  whom  he  has  three  children,  namely:  Mabel  B.,  the  wife  of  Dwight  Crabtree, 
who  is  associated  with  his  father-in-law  in  the  real  estate  business;  Clayton  Duane,  a 
student  in  the  State  Normal  and  Industrial  School  at  EUendale;  and  Doris  Emma,  who  is 
attending  St.  Mary's  Hall  at  Faribault,  Minnesota. 

Politically  Mr.  Geer  is  a  republican  and  keeps  well  informed  on  the  questions  and  issues  of 
the  day.  In  1900  he  was  elected  to  the  state  senate,  serving  during  the  sessions  of  1901  and 
1903.  He  gave  careful  study  to  the  vital  and  significant  questions  which  came  up  for  settle- 
ment and  left  the  impress  of  his  individuality  upon  legislation  enacted  at  that  period.  In  many 
connections  he  has  rendered  valuable  service  to  the  public.  He  was  a  member  of  the  board  of 
trustees  of  the  State  Normal  and  Industrial  School  of  EUendale  for  two  years  and  he  served  for 
several  years  as  a  member  of  the  board  of  education  at  EUendale.  He  has  ever  been  deeply 
interested  in  the  cause  of  public  instruction,  lending  the  weight  of  his  influence  for  the  benefit 
of  the  schools  and  the  adoption  of  higher  educational  standards.  Fraternally  he  is  connected 
with  EUendale  Lodge,  No.  13,  F.  &  A.  M.,  and  has  become  a  life  member  of  Dakota  Consistory, 
No.  1,  A.  A.  S.  R.  He  is  also  identified  with  the  Ancient  Order  of  United  Workmen.  Neither 
does  he  neglect  the  higher,  holier  duties  of  life.  He  has  always  been  one  of  the  leaders  in  church 
building  and  is  active  in  any  movement  tending  to  advance  the  welfare  of  the  district  in  which 
he  lives.  His  life  has  been  varied  in  its  activity,  honorable  in  its  purpose,  far-reaching  and 
beneficial  in  its  effects  and  thus  has  become  an  integral  part  of  the  history  of  Dickey  county  and 
the  southeastern  section  of  the  state.  He  is  a  man  of  keen  discrimination  and  sound  judgment 
and  his  executive  ability  and  excellent  management  have  brought  to  the  enterprises  with 
which  he  is  connected  a  large  measure  of  success.  The  same  qualities  which  have  worked 
for  advancement  in  his  private  business  interests  have  been  manifest  in  his  official 
service  and  thus  it  is  North  Dakota  accounts  him  one  of  her  leading  and  honored  residents. 


JOSEPH  BUCHHEIT. 


The  business  interests  of  Binford  have  a  worthy  representative  in  .Joseph  Buchheit, 
who  is  at  the  head  of  one  of  the  leading  mercantile  establishments  of  Griggs  county  and 
is  also  vice  president  of  the  First  National  Bank  of  Binford.  He  was  born  in  Waterloo, 
Ontario,  Canada,  May  2,  1854,  and  is  a  son  of  Jacob  and  Mary  (Buchheit)  Buchheit,  who 
were  natives  of  Bavaria,  Germany,  and  although  of  the  same  name  were  not  related.  It  was 
about  1831  that  the  father  crossed  the  Atlantic  and  settled  in  Ontario,  Canada,  becoming 
one  of  the  pioneers  of  Waterloo,  where  in  the  midst  of  the  wilderness  he  developed  and 
improved  a  farm.  About  1862  he  removed  to  St.  Joseph  county,  Indiana,  and  purchased  a 
farm  near  South  Bend,  which  had  been  partially  improved  and  to  its  further  development  and 
cultivation  he  devoted  his  energies  for  many  years.  He  cleared  away  the  timber  and  converted 
the  land  into  productive  fields.  He  was  over  eighty-four  years  of  age  at  the  time  of  his 
death,  and  his  wife  died  at  the  age  of  sixty-eight  years. 

In  the  family  of  this  worthy  couple  were  thirteen  children,  eight  of  whom  reached 
maturity,  and  Joseph  Buchheit  of  this  review  is  the  eighth  in  order  of  birth.  He  was  about 
eight  years  of  age  when  taken  by  his  parents  to  Indiana,  where  he  attended  the  district 
schools.  In  1870  he  began  clerking  in  a  store  at  Misliawaka,  Indiana,  and  continued 
to  follow  that  occupation  for  six  years,  at  the  end  of  wliich  time  he  located  upon  a  farm 
which  his  father  had  purchased  in  addition  to  the  original  tract. 

In  1880  Mr.  Buchlieit  came  to  North  Dakota  and  after  spending  a  short  time  in  Cass 
county,  located  in  Griggs  county  in  the  fall  of  1882.  He  went  to  that  county  with  R.  C. 
Cooper  and  preempted  a  quarter  section  of  land,  but  the  following  winter  returned  home 
on  account  of  the  death  of  his  mother.  In  the  spring  of  1883  he  located  on  his  claim  in 
Griggs  county,  becoming  one   of   its  earliest   settlers,  and  he   continued   to   follow   farming 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  269 

until  iyo3,  wlieii  he  remuved  to  Biiifoid.  lie  became  the  owner  of  sixteen  hundred  acres 
of  valualile  land  and  is  still  interested  in  farming  to  some  extent  although  he  does  not 
actively  engage  in  that  occupation  at  the  present  time.  He  is  a  member  of  the  Buchheit, 
Bakken  Company,  conducting  a  large  general  store  at  Binford  and  as  previously  stated 
is  also  serving  as  vice  president  of  the  First  National  Bank. 

On  the  9th  of  July,  1887,  Mr.  Buchheit  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Bella  M.  Minnick, 
of  South  Bend,  Indiana,  of  which  state  her  father,  Jacob  Minnick,  was  an  early  settler. 
Mr.  and  ilrs.  Buchheit  have  spent  much  time  in  travel  over  this  country,  have  visited  the 
West  Indies  and  now  spend  their  winters  either  in  California  or  Florida.  Mr.  Buchheit  has 
taken  a  prominent  part  in  local  politics  and  at  an  early  day  was  elected  county  commissioner 
in  Griggs  county,  in  which  capacity  he  served  so  acceptably  that  he  was  retained  in  ollice  for  a 
quarter  of  a  century.  He  was  a  well  informed  man,  a  student  of  men  and  affairs  and  has 
that  broad  general  knowledge  which  only  travel  can  bring. 


AlsTDREW  ENGEBRETSON. 


Andrew  Engebretson  dates  his  residence  in  Benson  county  from  1900,  in  which  year 
he  came  to  the  new  world  from  Xorway,  his  native  land.  He  was  born  in  July,  1S70, 
a  son  of  Engebret  and  Karen  (Amundsen)  Johnson,  who  were  also  natives  of  Norway.  The 
father  followed  farming  throughout  his  entire  life  in  his  native  country  and  never  came  to 
the  new  world.     He  passed  away  in  1894,  while  his  wife  died  in  1876. 

The  youthful  days  of  Andrew  Engebretson  were  spent  in  Norway  and  he  there  learned 
the  shoemaker's  trade,  which  he  afterward  followed  in  his  native  country  until  1900. 
Attracted  by  the  opportunities  of  the  new  world,  he  crossed  the  Atlantic  when  thirty  years  of 
age  and  made  his  way  at  once  to  Minnewaukan,  Benson  county.  North  Dakota,  where  he 
worked  for  others  for  four  years.  He  then  established  a  harness  and  shoe  business  on  his 
own  account  and  has  since  continued  active  along  that  line.  He  carries  a  large  stock  of 
goods  and  enjoys  a  liberal  patronage. 

Mr.  Engebretson  was  married  in  May,  1916,  to  Miss  Carrie  Hanson  and  they  have 
a  large  circle  of  warm  friends  in  Minnewaukan,  where  he  has  now  lived  for  sixteen  years. 
Since  becoming  a  naturalized  American  citizen  he  has  voted  with  the  republican  party  and  his 
religious  faith  is  that  of  the  Lutheran  church.  He  has  never  had  occasion  to  regret  his 
determination  to  come  to  the  new  world,  for  here  he  has  found  favorable  business  opportunities 
and  in  their  utilization  has  steadily  worked  his  way  toward  the  goal  of  success. 


J.  W.  SCHULENBERG. 


J.  W.  Schulenberg,  the  well  known  and  popular  postmaster  of  Bisbee  and  one  of  the 
honored  pioneers  of  Towner  county,  was  born  on  the  2d  of  November,  1853,  in  Thieusville, 
Wisconsin,  and  is  a  son  of  John  and  Margaret  (Bruns)  Schulenberg,  who  were  natives  of 
Germany  and  came  to  this  country  with  their  respective  parents  in  early  life.  They 
located  in  Wisconsin,  where  they  were  subsequently  married.  Learning  the  miller's  trade, 
the  father  followed  that  occupation  for  some  years  in  the  employ  of  others  and  later  built 
a  mill  in  Franklin,  Sheboygan  county,  Wisconsin,  which  he  operated  until  called  from  this 
life  at  the  age  of  forty-eight  years. 

During  his  boyhood  and  youth  J.  W.  Schulenberg  attended  the  public  and  high  schools  of 

Sheboygan  and  under  the  able  direction  of  his  father  learned  the  miller's  trade,  at  which 

he  worked   for   about   fourteen   years   in   different   parts   of   Wisconsin   and   Minnesota.     In 

1888  he  came  to  North  Dakota  and  filed  on  a  homestead  in  Towner  county,  a  mile  and  a  half 

southeast  of   the   present   town   of   Bisbee.      To   the   improvement   and   cultivation    of   that 

place  he  devoted  his  energies  until  1903.  when  he  removed  to  Bisbee  with  the  coming  of  the 

Soo  railroad.     He  was  identified  with  tlw  implement  business  for  six  years  but  in  August,  19Ki, 

was  appointed  postmaster  of  Bisbee  and  has  since  discharged  the  duties  of  that  position  with 
Vol.  m— 13 


270  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

credit  to  himself  and  to  the  entire  satisfaction  of  the  general  public.  He  still  owns  his 
homestead  and  has  various  town  properties. 

In  1876  Mr.  Schulenberg  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Minnie  Graf,  of  Misha  Mokwa, 
Wisconsin,  and  to  them  have  been  born  six  children,  namely:  Edmund,  cashier  of  the 
First  National  Bank  of  Streeter,  North  Dakota;  Amelia,  wife  of  Frank  Walsh,  a  farmer 
of  Towner  county;  Laura,  wife  of  J.  E.  Shier,  also  a  farmer  of  Towner  county;  Emma,  the 
wife  of  Henry  Meyer,  a  farmer  of  Rolette  county;  Richard,  who  is  conducting  an  automobile 
garage  in  Stanley,  North  Dakota;  and  Agues,  who  is  serving  as  assistant  postmaster  of 
Bisbee. 

The  family  are  of  the  Catholic  faith  and  Mr.  Schulenberg  is  a  democrat  in  politics.  He 
is  one  of  the  well  known  citizens  of  Towner  county  and  is  held  in  the  highest  esteem,  having 
a  host  of  warm  friends  who  appreciate  his  worth  and  ability. 


.J0R6EN  M.  VATSVOG. 


With  the  history  of  pioneer  development  in  North  Dakota  Jorgen  M.  Vatsvog  is  familiar 
by  reason  of  experience  in  all  those  elements  which  feature  most  largely  in  pioneer  life. 
He  was  born  in  Stavanger,  Norway,  September  T,  186S,  and  is  a  son  of  ilarcus  G.  and  Martha 
(Gunderson)  Vatsvog,  who  were  also  natives  of  that  country  and  there  spent  their  entire 
lives.  The  father  was  a  fisherman  and  died  in  December,  1911,  while  his  widow  survived 
until  1913. 

Jorgen  M.  Vatsvog  was  reared  and  educated  in  Norway  and  he,  too,  took  uj)  the 
work  of  fishing  in  order  to  provide  for  his  own  support.  He  was  thus  engaged  until  1SS6, 
when  he  came  to  America,  making  his  way  at  once  to  North  Dakota.  For  several  years 
he  was  employed  as  a  farm  hand  in  Traill  county  and  in  1893  removed  to  JIcHenry  county, 
where  his  wife  took  up  a  homestead  claim,  devoting  two  j^ears  to  its  cultivation  and 
improvement.  In  1895  Mr.  Vatsvog  filed  on  a  homestead  two  miles  north  of  Upham  and 
has  since  devoted  his  time  and  energies  to  its  cultivation,  converting  the  land  into  rich 
and  productive  fields.  This  has  not  covered  the  scope  of  his  activities,  however,  for  on  the 
12th  of  June,  1905,  he  removed  to  Upham  and  engaged  in  the  implement  business,  which 
he  has  since  carried  on,  becoming  one  of  the  enterprising  and  progressive  merchants  of  the 
town. 

In  1898  Mr.  Vatsvog  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Louisa  Sondrael  and  they  have 
become  the  parents  of  nine  children:  Clara,  John,  Annie,  Lousia,  Esther  and  Morris,  all  ot 
whom  are  yet  living;  and  Martha,  Martin  and  Martha,  now  deceased. 

Mr.  Vatsvog  is  a  member  of  the  Sons  of  Norway.  In  politics  he  has  always  been  an 
earnest  and  stalwart  republican.  In  1914  he  was  a  candidate  for  state  senator  in  the 
thirty-fourth  district  but  was  defeated  together  with  the  others  on  the  ticket.  He  has 
filled  the  office  of  mayor  of  Upham  and  president  of  the  school  board  and  his  progressive  spirit 
has  been  an  element  in  furthering  municipal  interests  and  in  supporting  those  measures  whicli 
are  a  matter  of  civic  virtue  and  of  civic  pride.  He  has  never  had  occasion  to  regret  his 
determination  to  come  to  the  new  world.  Arriving  in  this  country  when  a  youth  of  eighteen 
years,  he  has  made  good  use  of  his  time  and  o'pportunities  and  has  gradually  worked  his 
way  upward  to  a  substantial  place  in  business  circles,  while  as  a  man  and  citizen  ho  is 
highly  esteemed. 


HARRY  ALBERT  GEMBERLING. 

Harry  Albert  Gemberling,  engaged  in  the  farm  implement  and  machinery  business 
at  Epping  as  senior  partner  in  the  firm  of  Gemberling  &  Bjella,  was  born  near  Salem, 
Snyder  county,  Pennsylvania,  October  16,  1879,  a  son  of  Charles  L.  and  Ellen  J.  (Erdly) 
Gemberling,  who  are  also  natives  of  Snyder  county,  where  the  father  worked  as  a  laborer 
until  1902,  when  with  his  wife  and  three  sons  he  removed  westward  to  North  Dakota.     He 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  271 

then  took  up  a  homestead  in  Williams  eounty,  being  one  of  the  liist  to  homestead  in  that 
locality  among  the  cow  men.  He  continued  to  farm  his  place  until  1914,  when  he  letired 
and  removed  to  Epping,  erecting  there  a  nice  residence.  He  is  today  in  comfortable 
circumstances  and  he  and  his  wife  arc  there  residing,  enjoying  well  earned  rest,  their 
former  labors  supplying  them  with  all  of  the  necessities  and  some  of  the  luxuries  of  life. 
They  were  the  parents  of  three  children,  all  born  in  Snyder  county,  Pennsylvania,  namely: 
Harry  A.;  Frederick  Cromwell,  who  died  on  the  old  homestead  near  Epping  in  the  spring 
of  lUOT  and  was  buried  at  Williston;  and  Arthur  Uavid,  who  came  with  the  family  to 
Xortli  Dakota  in  1902  and  took  up  a  homestead  in  Williams  county  in  1913.  He  now 
cultivates  all  of  the  farm  land  belonging  to  the  family  and  he  married  Miss  Edna  Crawford, 
of  Kay,  North  Dakota,  who  is  a  sister  of  Mrs.  Harry  A.  Gemberling.  The  family  is  now 
well  known  and  prominent  in  this  section  of  the  state  and  they  have  contributed  in  substantial 
measure  to  the  development  of  this  section. 

Reared  and  educated  in  his  native  county,  Harry  A.  Gemberling  was  employed  as  a  farm 
hand  in  Pennsylvania  until  1902,  when  removal  was  made  to  North  Dakota.  He  was  then 
twenty-tiuee  years  of  age  and  he  took  up  a  homestead  near  Epping,  after  which  he  worked 
for  the  Great  Northern  Railroad  Company  as  brukcman  and  freight  conductor,  residing, 
however,  upon  the  homestead.  He  engaged  in  railroading  until  the  spring  of  190T  and 
remained  upon  the  homestead  until  1911.  In  that  year  he  embarked  in  business  on  his  own 
account  by  forming  the  firm  of  Gemberling  &  Bjella  for  the  conduct  of  a  farm  implement 
and  machinery  business  at  Epping.  There  he  is  now  enjoying  a  good  trade,  the  business 
having  steadily  grown  in  the  intervening  period  of  six  years. 

On  the  3d  of  September,  1911,  Mr.  Gemberling  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Gertrude 
Crawford,  of  Ray,  North  Dakota,  who  was  born  at  Hallock,  Minnesota,  a  daugliter  of 
George  and  Carrie  Crawford  of  that  place.  The  father  died  at  Hallock,  after  which  his 
widow  and  daughter  removed  to  North  Dakota,  Mrs.  Crawford  taking  up  a  homestead  in 
Williams  county,  near  Ray,  where  she  now  resides.  Jlrs.  Gemberling  pursued  her  education 
in  the  schools  of  Stephen,  Minnesota,  and  the  high  school  at  Duluth,  Minnesota,  and  for 
four  terms  successfully  engaged  in  teaching  in  Williams  county.  North  Dakota.  By  her 
marriage  she  has  become  the  mother  of  a  son,  Merrill  Albert,  born  in  Epping,  July  12,  1912. 

In  his  political  views  Mr.  Gemberling  is  independent,  considering  the  capability  of  the 
candidate  rather  than  his  .party  affiliations.  He  belongs  to  the  German  Lutheran  church  and 
his  has  been  an  active  and  well  spent  life.  Whatever  success  he  has  achieved  is  due 
entirely  to  his  own  efforts  and  he  has  made  for  himself  a  creditable  position  in  the 
commercial  circles  of  his  adopted  county. 


.JOHN  A.  JOHNSON,  M.  D. 


Dr.  .John  A.  Johnson,  engaged  in  the  practice  of  medicine  and  surgery  at  Larimore,  was 
born  in  the  southern  part  of  Iceland  on  the  24th  of  Ma}',  1877,  a  son  of  Arni  and  Steinun 
Johnson,  both  of  whom  were  natives  of  the  same  country.  In  early  life  the  father  engaged 
in  farming  there  and  in  1883  crossed  the  Atlantic  to  Canada,  while  in  1897  he  became  a 
resident  of  the  L'nited  States.  At  the  present  time,  however,  he  is  living  in  Manitoba  at  the 
age  of  sixty-six  years.  His  wife  passed  away  in  Milton,  North  Dakota,  at  the  age  of  fifty 
years. 

Dr.  .Johnson  was  the  eldest  of  their  three  children,  the  others  being  Valdimar  L.,  a 
resident  of  Saskatchewan,  Canada;  and  T.  A.  Johnson,  of  Bottineau,  North  Dakota. 
Through  the  period  of  his  boyhood  and  youth  Dr.  Johnson  attended  the  graded  schools  of 
Canada  and  the  Valley  City  Normal  School  of  North  Dakota.  He  then  took  up  the  profession 
of  teaching,  which  he  followed  in  this  state  for  a  year,  and  later  he  matriculated  in  the 
medical  department  of  the  L'niversity  of  North  Dakota,  while  later  he  continued  his  medical 
studies  at  the  University  of  Illinois.  Still  later  he  entered  the  Chicago  ilcdical  College, 
from  which  he  was  graduated  with  the  class  of  1910.  He  returned  to  ^^lountain,  North 
Dakota,  for  practice   and   in    1913   removed  to   Petersburg  but   is   now   living   in   Larimore 


272  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

Gi-iind  Forks  county,  where  he  is  accorded  a  large  and  lucrative  practice  which  is  indicative  of 
tlie  confidence  and  trust  reposed  in  him  by  his  fellow  townsmen. 

On  the  12th  of  June,  1912,  Dr.  Johnson  wedded  Miss  Inga  Knutson,  of  Dazey,  a  daughter 
of  Ole  and  Andriiie  Knutson,  who  were  pioneers  of  this  state.  Mrs.  Johnson  is  a  graduate  of 
the  Valley  City  Normal  School  and  completed  the  literary  course  in  the  University  of  North 
Dakota  with  the  class  of  1912.  Prior  to  her  marriage  she  also  successfully  engaged  in 
teaching.  She  has  become  the  mother  of  one  child,  Harald,  who  was  born  at  ilountain  in 
June,  1913. 

Dr.  and  Mrs.  Johnson  hold  membership  in  the  Lutheran  church  and  the  Doctor  is  very 
prominent  in  fraternal  circles.  He  is  a  thirty-second  degree  Mason  and  member  of  the 
Mystic  Shrine,  a  member  of  the  Ancient  Order  of  United  Workmen  and  the  Yeomen. 
His  political  support  is  given  to  the  democratic  party,  which  finds  in  him  a  stalwart  champion. 
Along  strictly  professional  lines  his  connection  is  with  the  Nelson  County  Medical  Association, 
the  North  Dakota  Medical  Association  and  the  American  Medical  Association,  and  through  the 
proceedings  of  those  bodies  he  keeps  in  touch  with  the  trend  of  modern  thought  and 
scientific  research  bearing  upon  his  chosen  life  work. 


THOMAS  J.  SMITH. 


Thomas  .J.  Smith,  conducting  important  commercial  interests  under  the  name  of  the 
Grand  Forks  Seed  &  Implement  Company  and  also  figuring  in  traction  and  financial  circles 
of  the  city  and  state,  has  through  his  various  activities  contributed  in  substantial  measure 
to  the  upbuilding  and  progress  of  the  community  and  commonwealth.  He  was  born  in 
Winona,  Minnesota,  December  23,  1859,  a  son  of  Frank  Smith,  a  native  of  Germany,  who  in 
1850  crossed  the  Atlantic  to  America  and  settled  in  Pennsylvania.  He  removed  to  Winona, 
Minnesota,  during  an  early  period  in  its  development  and  there  followed  the  blacksmith's 
trade  until  his  death,  which  occurred  in  1871.  His  wife,  who  bore  the  maiden  name  of  Mar- 
garet Butler,  was  born  in  Ireland  and  came  alone  to  America  in  1855.  After  remaining  for 
a  brief  period  in  New  York  city  she,  too,  went  to  Winona,  where  she  met  and  married  Frank 
Smith. 

Their  only  child,  Thomas  J.  Smith,  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  of  St.  Charles, 
Minnesota,  but  when  a  lad  of  only  ten  years  began  earning  his  living  and  has  been  self-sup- 
porting from  that  age.  His  youthful  days  were  spent  at  farm  work,  but  hoping  to  find  other 
labor  more  profitable,  he  came  to  North  Dakota,  then  Dakota  territorj-,  in  1879,  settling  at 
Bismarck,  where  he  secured  employment  on  a  steamboat  that  made  trips  between  Y'ankton 
and  Fort  Benton,  Montana.  He  was  also  employed  at  farm  labor.  In  1882  he  removed  to 
Grand  Forks,  becoming  one  of  its  pioneer  settlers,  and  for  the  first  five  years  of  his  residence 
there  served  as  assistant  postmaster.  In  1887  he  accepted  the  position  of  bookkeeper  and 
collector  with  the  McCormick  Harvester  Company,  with  which  he  remained  for  four  years, 
when  he  removed  to  Reynolds,  North  Dakota,  where  he  embarked  in  the  implement  business 
on  his  own  account.  He  operated  there  successfully  for  twelve  years,  at  the  end  of  which 
time  he  disposed  of  his  interests  in  Reynolds  and  returned  to  Grand  Forks,  where  he  estab- 
lished his  present  business  under  the  name  of  the  Grand  Forks  Seed  &  Implement  Company, 
of  which  he  is  sole  proprietor.  In  addition  to  handling  a  vast  amount  of  seeds  annually  he 
is  also  conducting  an  extensive  trade  in  farm  implements,  handling  the  products  of  the 
John  Deere  and  International  Harvester  Companies.  This  is  by  far  the  largest  business  of 
the  kind  in  Grand  Forks  and,  built  up  through  the  efforts  of  Mr.  Smith,  constitutes  a  tangible 
proof  of  his  enterprise  and  ability.  Extending  his  efforts  into  other  fields,  he  is  now  a 
director  of  the  Grand  Forks  Street  Railway  Company  and  is  likewise  well  known  in  banking 
circles,  being  a  director  of  the  Scandinavian-American  Bank,  a  director  of  the  Mekinock 
State  Bank  and  president  of  the  First  State  Bank  of  Regent,  North  Dakota.  His  fellow 
townsmen,  recognizing  the  wisdom  of  his  business  judgment,  have  thus  sought  his  coopera- 
tion in  various  fields. 

On  the  1st  of  December,  1887,  in  Grand  Forks,  occurred  the  marriage  of  Mr.  Smith  and 
Miss  Emma  R.  Parker,  a  native  of  Canada  and  a  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  W.  C.  Parker, 


THOMAS  J.  SJIITH 


1 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  275 

the  former  now  deceased,  while  the  latter  is  living.  Five  children  have  been  born  to  Mr. 
and  Mrs.  Smith:  Alta,  the  wife  of  Dr.  Donald  K.  Woods,  of  Great  Falls,  Montana;  Vincent, 
of  Regent,  North  Dakota;  and  Frank,  Harold  and  Thomas,  all  at  home.  The  family  residence, 
a  beantiful  home  at  No.  891  Belmont  street,  is  owned  by  Mr.  Smith. 

He  and  his  family  are  members  of  the  First  Presbyterian  church  and  he  belongs  to 
the  local  organizations  of  the  Odd  Fellows,  Foresters,  Yeomen  and  Modern  Woodmen  of 
America.  He  is  also  a  member  of  the  Commercial  Club  of  Grand  Forks.  In  politics  he  is  a 
very  active  and  influential  republican  and  at  this  writing,  in  1916,  is  president  of  the  city 
council.  He  has  studied  closely  those  questions  which  are  of  vital  importance  in  municipal 
affairs  and  is  as  well  a  student  of  the  great  political,  sociological  and  economic  problems 
of  the  country.  In  a  word  he  stands  as  a  high  type  of  American  manhood  and  chivalry  and 
is  a  representative  of  that  class  of  American  citizens  who  through  inherent  force  of  char- 
acter have  won  prominence  and  success.  Starting  out  in  life  on  his  own  account  when  a 
little  lad  of  but  ten  years,  he  has  since  depended  upon  his  own  resources  and  efforts  and  his 
ability  and  intelligently  directed  eifort  have  brought  him  to  the  front  until  he  now  stands 
not  only  as  a  representative  and  successful  business  man  of  Grand  Forks  but  also  as  one 
who  wields  a  wide  influence  in  public  affairs. 


WILBUR  NORMAN  ALLEN. 


Wilbur  Norman  Allen,  proprietor  of  a  general  merchandise  store  at  Tappen,  was  born  in 
Mobile,  Alabama,  February  29,  1888,  a  son  of  Wilbur  and  Josephine  Allen.  He  pursued  his 
education  there  until  graduated  from  the  high  school  and  afterward  he  attended  the  Cin- 
cinnati University,  where  he  completed  a  course  with  the  class  of  1910.  He  afterward 
made  a  trip  through  Europe  and  was  present  at  the  coronation  of  King  Edward.  In  1913  he 
returned  to  the  United  States  and  went  to  Dawson,  North  Dakota,  where  he  was  employed 
in  the  general  mercantile  store  of  Peterson  &  Company,  with  whom  he  remained  for  a  few 
months.  He  was  then  given  charge  of  their  branch  store  at  Tappen  and  continued  in  that 
connection  until  December,  1915.  On  the  22d  of  July,  1916,  he  opened  a  general  store  of  his 
own,  which  he  is  conducting  on  a  strictly  cash  basis.  His  previous  experience  has  well  qualified 
him  for  the  conduct  of  a  business  of  this  character  and  his  trade  is  steadily  growing.  He 
carries  a  line  of  groceries,  shoes,  dry  goods  and  notions  and  he  also  runs  a  cream  station  in 
connection.  In  addition  to  his  other  interests  Mr.  Allen  is  engaged  in  farming  and  all  his 
business  affairs  are  carefully  and  wisely  directed. 

In  November,  1915,  Mr.  Allen  was  married  to  Miss  Blanch  McQueen,  a  native  of 
Poynette,  Wisconsin,  born  September  17,  1893.  She  was  formerly  engaged  in  teaching  school 
near  Tappen.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Allen  have  a  wide  circle  of  friends  in  their  locality  and  their 
own  liome  is  justly  celebrated  for  its  warm-hearted  hospitality.  They  belong  to  the  Pres- 
byterian church  and  Mr.  Allen  votes  with  the  democratic  party,  while  fraternally  he  is 
connected   with   the  Yeomen  and  with  the  Knights  of  Pythias. 


ANDREW   R.   SWENDSEID. 


Norway  has  contributed  many  substantial  citizens  to  North  Dakota,  among  whom  is 
numbered  Andrew  R.  Swendseid,  a  general  merchant  of  Petersburg.  He  was  born  at  Tele- 
marken,  Norway,  February  7,  1857,  a  son  of  RoUef  and  Anna  (Tofsdotter)  Swendseid,  both 
of  whom  were  natives  of  Norway.  Coming  to  America  in  1867,  they  settled  in  southern 
Minnesota,  where  the  father  engaged  in  farming  until  1886,  when  he  removed  to  Nelson 
county.  North  Dakota,  and  secured  farm  lands.  His  remaining  days  were  devoted  to  the 
development  and  improvement  of  his  farm,  which  he  converted  into  a  valuable  property. 
He  died  in  1904,  at  the  age  of  sixty-seven  years,  while  Mrs.  .'-iwendseid  is  still  living  at  the 
age  of  eighty-three  years;     In  their  family   were  the  following  children:      Andrew  E.,   of 


276  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

this  review;  Tove,  of  Petersburg;  Ole,  a  resident  of  Williston;  Peter,  living  in  Petersburg: 
Carl,  who  also  makes  his  home  in  Petersburg;   and  Mrs.  Dora  Venberg.  living  in  California. 

Brought  to  America  when  a  lad  of  ten  years,  Andrew  R.  Swendseid  attended  the  public 
schools  of  Fillmore  county,  Minnesota,  and  afterward  became  a  student  in  Luther  College 
at  Decorah,  Iowa.  Subsequently  he  taught  school  for  a  short  time  in  the  former  state  and 
in  1883  came  to  North  Dakota,  where  he  entered  land  and  began  farming,  devoting  twelve 
years  to  general  agricultural  pursuits.  He  then  established  his  present  mercantile  business 
in  Petersburg,  where  he  has  since  remained  an  active  factor  in  commercial  circles  for  almost 
a  quarter  of  a  century.  He  conducts  a  good  business,  having  a  well  appointed  store,  and 
his  honorable  methods  have  gained  him  a  liberal  patronage.  He  is  also  a  director  of  the 
Farmers  Lumber  Company  and  the  Petersburg  Electric  Company.  His  judgment  in  business 
affairs  is  sound  and  his  discrimination  keen. 

Mr.  Swendseid  has  been  married  twice.  In  .June,  1878,  he  wedded  Miss  Caroline  Larsen, 
of  Fillmore  county,  a  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Lars  Larsen.  She  died  in  December,  1892, 
leaving  three  children:  Ralph,  who  was  born  in  Fillmore  county  in  1883  and  now  resides 
in  Sanish,  North  Dakota;  Anthony,  who  was  born  in  1885  and  is  in  Petersburg;  and  Theodore, 
who  was  born  in  Petersburg  in  1887  and  is  now  living  in  Marmarth,  North  Dakota.  In  June, 
1895,  Mr.  Swendseid  was  again  married,  his  second  union  being  with  Miss  Mary  Wangen,  a 
daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Hans  Wangen.  of  Gudbrandsdalen,  Norway.  There  are  three 
children  of  this  marriage:  Clarence,  who  was  born  in  1896  and  is  attending  University 
of  Minnesota  at  Jlinneapolis;  Irene,  who  was  born  in  1897  and  is  a  high  school  pupil  in 
Petersburg;  and  Harold,  who  was  born  in  1905  and  is  also  attending  school. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Swendseid  hold  membership  in  the  Lutheran  church  and  guide  their  lives 
according  to  its  teachings.  Mr.  Swendseid  also  belongs  to  the  Sons  of  Norway.  His 
political  support  is  given  to  the  republican  party  and  he  has  filled  various  local  offices, 
including  that  of  president  of  the  village  board  and  president  of  the  board  of  education, 
while  for  two  terms  he  represented  his  district  in  the  state  legislature  and  during  his  con- 
nection with  the  house  of  representatives  most  carefully  considered  all  of  the  vital  questions 
which  came  up  for  settlement,  lending  the  weight  of  his  influence  in  support  of  all  those 
measures  which  he  deemed  of  greatest  value  and  worth  in  promoting  the  welfare  of  the  state. 


WINFIELD  F.  WARE. 


Winfield  F.  Ware,  secretary  and  treasurer  of  the  Brosnahan  &  Olson  Hardware  & 
Implement  Company  of  Grafton,  comes  from  the  neighboring  state  of  Minnesota,  his  birth 
liaving  occurred  in  Winnebago,  January  11,  1872.  His  ancestral  line  .can  be  traced  back 
to  England  but  the  family  has  been  distinctively  American  in  its  lineal  and  collateral  lines 
for  several  generations,  as  the  first  representative  of  the  family  came  to  the  new  world 
prior  to  the  Revolutionary  war,  settling  in  Massachusetts.  In  that  state  occurred  the 
birth  of  Daniel  N.  Ware,  father  of  Winfield  P.  Ware.  He  became  a  prosperous  lumber 
merchant  and  a  pioneer  settler  of  Minnesota,  where  he  took  up  his  abode  about  1868,  He 
married  Grabilla  Fuller,  a  native  of  Massachusetts  and  a  representative  of  one  of  its  old 
families,  her  ancestors  having  come  to  the  new  world  on  the  Mayflower.  To  Mr.  and 
^Irs.  Ware  were  born  two  sons,  the  elder  being  Frank,  a  resident  of  Los  Angeles,  California. 
The  father  died  in  Winnebago  in  1892,  at  the  age  of  si.xty-five  years,  while  the  mother 
had  reached  the  advanced  age  of  eighty-four  years  when  called  to  her  final  rest  in  1907. 
She,  too,  maintained  her  residence  at   Winnebago  until  she  passed  away. 

Winfield  F.  Ware  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  of  his  native  city  and  in  the 
Cedar  Rapids  (la.)  Business  College,  from  which  he  was  graduated  in  1892.  From  the  age 
of  nineteen  years  he  has  been  dependent  entirely  upon  his  own  resources,  taking  his  initial 
step  in  the  business  world  as  an  employe  of  the  Colman  Lumber  Company  of  La  Crosse. 
He  was  associated  with  that  firm  for  eight  years,  during  which  period  he  gained  broad 
practical  e.xperience  and  comprehensive  knowledge  of  commycial  methods.  He  next  entered 
the  hardware  and  implement  business  at  Amboy,  Minnesota,  as  an  employe  of  the  Amboy 
Hardware  &  Implement  Company,  with  which  he  continued  for  six  years.    He  was  afterward 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  277 

the  representative  of  various  binder  companies  as  a  traveling  salesman  and  in  1904  he 
removed  to  Grafton,  where  he  secured  employment  in  the  implement  department  of  the 
Hrosnahan  &  Olson  Hardware  &  Implement  Company,  with  which  he  was  associated  as  an 
employe  for  nine  years.  He  then  became  a  member  of  the  lirm,  of  which  he  is  now  secretary 
and  treasurer.  The  business  was  organized  and  incorporated  in  1902  and  theirs  is  today 
the  largest  hardware  and  implement  trade  in  Walsh  county.  They  represent  the  leading 
manufacturers  of  the  country  in  the  line  of  goods  which  they  carry  and  their  business 
methods  at  all  times  measure  up  to  the  highest  standards. 

On  the  9th  of  January,  1908,  at  Drayton,  North  Dakota,  Mr.  Ware  w-edded  Miss  Nellie 
Stewart,  a  native  of  Canada  and  a  daughter  of  Alexander  Stewart.  They  have  one  son, 
Winfield  A.,  born  in  Grafton,  March  13,   1909. 

ilr.  and  Mrs.  \\'are  are  members  of  the  First  Presbyterian  church  and  are  interested 
in  all  those  forces  which  work  for  the  betterment  and  upbuilding  of  the  district  in  which 
they  live.  Fraternally  Mr.  Ware  is  connected  with  the  Odd  Fellows.  His  interest  in 
community  affairs  is  shown  by  his  membership  in  the  Commercial  Club  and  his  political 
views  are  in  accord  with  the  principles  of  the  republican  party.  His  entire  life  has  been 
actuated  by  a  spirit  of  progress  that  has  been  manifest  in  his  business  career  and  also  in 
his  devotion  to  the  general  good.  There  are  no  spectacular  or  unusual  chapters  in  his  life 
history,  but  earnestness  and  persistency  of  purpose  have  led  to  his  steady  advancement 
along  well  defined  lines  of  labor  until  his  position  in  mercantile  circles  and  in  public  regard 
in   his  community  is  enviable. 


MARTIN  E.  UGGEN. 


Martin  E.  Uggen,  president  of  the  Citizens  Bank  of  Epping,  is  among  those  who  have 
recognized  the  opportunities  of  the  west  and  in  their  utilization  have  sought  success.  He 
was  born  near  Dundas,  in  Rice  county,  Minnesota,  January  5,  1882,  a  son  of  A.  F.  and 
Oline  (Juvrud)  Uggen.  The  father  was  born,  reared  and  educated  in  Norway  and  in  1871 
crossed  the  Atlantic  to  America,  after  which  he  took  up  his  abode  on  a  farm  in  Rice  county, 
Minnesota,  where  he  still  resides.  His  wife  was  the  first  white  child  born  in  Forest  town- 
ship. Rice  county,  and  her  entire  life  was  there  passed,  during  which  period  she  witnessed 
remarkable  changes  as  the  county  was  transformed  from  a  pioneer  district  into  a  place 
of  highly  developed  civilization. 

Martin  E.  Uggen  attended  district  schools  in  Rice  county  and  business  college  at 
Faribault,  after  which  he  continued  his  education  in  the  Southern  Minnesota  Normal  College 
at  Austin,  Minnesota.  In  1903  he  removed  to  Williams  county.  North  Dakota,  and  filed 
on  a  homestead  on  which  now  stands  the  town  of  Epping,  In  1907  he  organized  the  Uggen 
Realty  Company  for  the  conduct  of  a  real  estate  business  of  which  he  has  continuously  been 
the  manager  and  directing  head,  and  as  the  years  have  passed  he  has  negotiated  many 
important  and  profitable  realty  transfers.  In  1910  he  organized  the  Citizens  State  Bank 
of  Epping  and  has  since  been  actively  engaged  in  the  banking  business  as  president  of 
the  institution  as  well  as  president  of  the  realty  company.  It  was  Mr.  Uggen  who  laid 
out  and  owned  the  town  site  of  Epping.  where  he  still  holds  many  valuable  town  lots,  and 
the  development  of  the  place  is  largely  attributable  to  his  efforts  and  enterprise. 

On  the  4th  of  September.  1907,  at  Freeborn,  Minnesota.  Mr.  Uggen  was  married  to 
Miss  Inez  Peterson,  a  native  of  Freeborn  county  who  there  acquired  her  early  education, 
which  was  supplemented  by  further  study  in  the  Southern  Minnesota  Normal  College  at 
Austin,  Minnesota.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Uggen  have  four  children,  namely:  Mildred  Irene,  Glenn 
Austin,  Andrew   Kenneth   and  Hazel  Oline.  all  born   in   Epping,  North   Dakota. 

Politically  Mr.  Uggen  is  a  democrat  and  is  now  serving  as  president  of  the  village 
board  of  trustees,  while  his  wisely  directed  efforts  led  to  the  incorporation  of  the  town. 
He  has  always  taken  an  active  part  in  school  work,  has  served  on  the  board  as  director  and 
clerk  and  is  now  clerk  of  the  board  of  education  of  the  newly  organized  Epping  special 
school  district.  His  religious  faith  is  that  of  the  Lutheran  church,  while  fraternally  he  is 
connected  with  the  Independent  ()rder  of  Odd  Fellows,  being  a  charter  member  of  the  lodo-e 


278  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

at  Epping,  in  which  he  has  passed  all  the  chairs  and  is  now  secretary.  He  is  also  a  charter 
member  and  the  secretary  of  the  Sons  of  Norway.  Epping  regards  him  as  a  most  pro- 
gressive and  leading  citizen  and  his  work  in  public  connections  has  been  widely  and  bene- 
ficially resultant,  while  his  labors  along  business  lines  have  brought  him  most  substantial 
and  well  merited  returns. 


WALTER  A.    SHEAR. 


Walter  A.  Shear,  editor  and  proprietor  of  the  Sentinel  Butte  Republican,  was  born  in 
Villard,  Pope  county,  Minnesota,  on  the  16th  of  August,  1881,  his  parents  being  D.  W.  and 
Artimissa  (Workman)  Shear,  both  natives  of  New  York.  They  came  west  in  pioneer  times 
and  settled  at  Villard,  Minnesota,  where  they  still  continue  to  reside.  For  about  four  years 
the  father  published  the  Villard  Enterprise  but  since  that  time  has  devoted  his  attention  to 
the  real  estate  and  loan  business. 

In  his  native  county  Walter  A.  Shear  grew  to  manhood  and  he  completed  his  education 
in  the  high  schools  there.  On  starting  out  in  life  for  himself  he  turned  his  attention  to 
newspaper  wofk  and  became  a  compositor  in  the  office  of  the  Villard  Call.  Subsequently 
he  and  his  fathej  started  the  Villard  Enterprise,  which  they  conducted  for  four  years,  our 
subject  having  cli^arge  of  the  mechanical  department.  Before  leaving  there  he  was  married 
in  June,  1903,  to  Miss  Mamie  Kane,  also  a  native  of  Villard,  and  to  them  has  been  born 
a  daughter,  Thelma,  now  attending  school. 

In  1903  Mr.  Shear  Removed  to  Sauk  Center,  Minnesota,  and  for  a  year  was  in  the  employ 
of  the  Sauk  Center  Herald.  At  the  end  of  that  time  he  removed  to  Sentinel  Butte, 
North  Dakota,  and  took  up  a  homestead  twenty  miles  south  of  that  place  at  Burkey.  This  he 
subsequently  sold  and  purchased  a  farm  near  Sentinel  Butte,  upon  which  he  is  now  engaged 
in  raising  small  grains.  Upon  his  removal  to  Sentinel  Butte  he  became  identified  with 
newspaper  publication  there,  becoming  editor  of  what  was  then  known  as  the  Billings 
County  Republican.  This  paper  was  established  on  the  28th  of  April,  1904,  but  after  the 
division  of  Billings  and  Golden  Valley  counties  the  name  was  changed  to  the  Sentinel  Butte 
Republican,  under  which  it  is  still  published.  It  was  the  first  newspaper  to  come  into 
existence  in  the  southwestern  part  of  the  state  after  the  Bad  Lands  Cowboy. 

Mr.  Shear  has  a  well  appointed  office  and  his  paper  is  a  bright,  newsy  sheet,  thoroughly 
up-to-date.  In  politics  he  is  a  stanch  republican  and  through  his  paper  does  much  to  promote 
the  interests  of  that  party.  From  1909  to  1915  he  served  as  postmaster  of  Sentinel  Butte, 
and  as  a  public-spirited  and  progressive  citizen  does  all  within  his  power  to  advance  the 
interests  of  his  town  and  county.  He  is  a  member  of  the  Elks  lodge  in  Dickinson  and  is 
a  man  highly  esteemed  wherever  known. 


EDWARD  J.  HUGHES. 


Edward  J.  Hughes,  receiver  at  the  United  States  land  office  at  Dickinson,  was  born  in 
Osage,  Iowa,  November  9,  1876,  a  son  of  Andrew  C.  and  Mary  (MeCarty)  Hughes,  who  were 
of  American  birth.  Becoming  residents  of  Iowa,  they  made  their  home  at  Osage  until 
1887,  when  they  removed  to  North  Dakota.  Making  their  way  to  Fargo,  they  soon  after- 
ward settled  upon  a  farm  near  Clifi'ord  and  in  time  the  father  became  one  of  the  most 
prominent  agriculturists  of  his  part  of  the  state,  adding  to  his  holdings  until  he  was  the 
owner  of  between  eight  and  ten  sections.  In  the  winter  months  he  took  his  teams  to  the 
lumber  woods  of  Wisconsin  and  on  one  of  these  trips  he  passed  away.  His  wife  died  upon 
the  North  Dakota  farm. 

Edward  J.  Hughes  completed  his  education  in  the  Mayville  Normal,  at  which  time  he  was 
a  schoolmate  of  Lynn  J.  Frazier,  now  candidate  for  governor.  Later  Mr.  Hughes  engaged  in 
teaching  in  Traill  and  Steele  counties  for  about  four  years.  In  1898  he  went  to  Fargo  and 
spent  three  years  with  the  Luger  Furniture  Company  and  three  years  with  the  Wasem  &  Gaard 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  279 

Furniture  Company.  He  then  removed  to  Barnesvillc,  Minnesota,  where  he  opened  a  furni- 
ture store,  of  which  he  was  sole  proprietor  for  about  two  years,  and  at  tlie  end  of  tliat 
time  was  joined  by  his  brother-in-law,  John  V.  Boulger.  At  the  end  of  two  years  in  that 
partnership  relation  Mr.  Hughes  sold  his  stock  of  goods  and  removed  to  Dickinson  in  the 
spring  of  1905.  There  he  established  business  under  the  name  of  the  Dickinson  Steam 
Laundry  and  conducted  the  enterprise  for  five  years.  On  selling  out  he  purchased  a  furniture 
store  and  the  firm  of  Boulger  &  Hughes  continued  active  in  that  field  until  1915,  when  the 
stock  of  furniture  was  sold.  With  the  furniture  business,  however,  Mr.  Hughes  had  always 
conducted  an  undertaking  business  and  in  this  he  still  continues,  with  picture  framing  as 
another  feature  of  his  trade.  He  is  still  interested  financially  in  these  lines  but  is  not 
active  in  the  management  of  the  business.  However,  his  work  has  been  a  feature  in  the 
commercial  upbuilding  of  Dickinson,  which  he  is  now  serving  as  receiver  of  the  United  States 
land  office,  having  been  the  presidential  appointee  to  that  position  on  the  6th  of  April,  1914. 
He  is  also  interested  in  farm  lands  near  Dickinson  and  from  that  property  derives  a  sub- 
stantial annual   income. 

On  the  30th  of  June,  1903,  Mr.  Hughes  was  married  to  Miss  Nellie  T.  Boulger,  a  native 
of  Fargo.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Hughes  are  members  of  St.  Patrick's  Catholic  church  at  Dickinson 
and  he  holds  membership  with  the  Knights  of  Columbus.  He  is  very  prominent  in  the 
Benevolent  Protective  Order  of  Elks  at  Dickinson,  was  exalted  ruler  of  the  lodge  there  for 
two  terms  and  was  largely  instrumental  in  securing  the  erection  of  their  new  clubhouse. 
In  the  Knights  of  Columbus  he  is  a  past  grand  knight  and  has  also  been  trustee.  His  political 
opinions  accord  with  the  principles  of  the  democratic  party,  to  which  he  gives  stalwart 
allegiance. 


ALFRED  0.  MADLAND 


Alfred  0.  Madland,  the  efficient  and  popular  assistant  cashier  of  the  First  National  Bank 
of  Sentinel  Butte,  North  Dakota,  has  also  other  business  interests,  for  he  is  developing  a  coal 
mine  in  the  vicinity  of  the  town  and  is'  also  a  member  of  a  real  estate  firm.  He  was  born 
in  Stavanger,  in  southwest  Norway,  .January  5.  1888,  a  son  of  Ole  A.  and  Kathryn  Madland. 

Alfred  0.  Madland  attended  the  common  schools  of  Norway  but  when  fifteen  years  of  age 
came  to  the  United  States  and  located  in  Centerville.  Soutli  Dakota.  He  worked  on  farms  for 
a  time  and  during  the  winter  months  attended  school,  thus  completing  his  education.  He 
later  taught  school  near  Centerville  and  remained  in  that  locality  until  1909.  In  that 
year  he  removed  to  Sentinel  Butte,  North  Dakota,  where  he  has  since  remained.  After 
farming  for  three  years  on  a  tract  of  land  two  miles  west  of  the  town  he  entered  the 
Sentinel  Butte  State  Bank  as  bookkeeper  and  made  so  excellent  a  record  that  in  six  months 
he  was  promoted  to  assistant  cashier,  which  position  he  is  still  filling.  The  bank  was 
established  in  1910  with  a  capital  stock  of  fifteen  thousand  dollars,  which  was  increased 
to  twenty-five  thousand  dollars  at  the  time  of  its  reorganization  as  thfl  First  National  Bank 
in  1915.  Its  affairs  are  in  a  very  satisfactory  condition  and  its  surplus  and  undivided 
profits  total  ten  thousand  dollars.  In  1910  the  institution  erected  a  substantial  and  attrac- 
tive frame  buihiing,  which  still  remains  its  home.  The  officers  are:  E.  J.  Curtin,  president; 
W.  A.  Hart,  vice  president;  W.  C.  Stuhr,  cashier;  and  A.  0.  Madland,  assistant  cashier. 

During  the  four  years  that  Mr.  Madland  has  been  connected  with  the  bank,  in  which 
he  is  a  stockholder,  he  has  gained  a  thorough  knowledge  of  the  business  and  his  judgment 
and  advice  have  pro%'ed  sound  and  discriminating.  He  gives  the  greater  part  of  his  time  and 
attention  to  his  official  duties.  Mr.  Madland  is  likewise  developing  a  lignite  coal  mine  which 
he  owns,  four  miles  from  the  city,  and  there  is  every  prospect  of  the  business  reaching 
extensive  proportions.  The  vein  of  coal  is  from  seventeen  to  twenty-four  feet  in  depth 
and  underlies  a  quarter  section  of  land,  and  thus  an  abundant  supply  is  assured.  He  hauls 
tlie  coal  to  Sentinel  Butte  and  expects  to  develope  tlie  mine  more  during  the  winter  of 
1916-17  than  he  has  ever  before  done. 

Mr.  Madland  is  a  republican  in  his  political  belief  and  for  two  years  he  has  served  as 
alderman  in  Sentinel  Butte.     He  belongs  to  the  Woodmen  of  the  World  and  is  also  a  member 


280  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

of  the  Lutheran  church,  in  tlie  teachings  of  which  are  found  the  principles  which  have  governed 
his  life.  Altliough  a  young  man  he  has  accomplished  more  than  many  of  his  seniors  and 
there  is  no  doubt  that  he  will  achieve  still  greater  success  in  the  future. 


W.  W.  WOOD,  M.  D. 

Dr.  W.  VV.  Wood,  who  is  successfully  engaged  in  the  practice  of  his  profession  at  James- 
town, Stutsman  county,  was  born  at  Chicago,  Illinois,  on  the  28th  of  April,  1880,  a  son  of 
James  and  Janet  (Allen)  Wood,  both  now  deceased.  The  father,  who  was  born  in  Scot- 
land, was  a  contractor  by  occupation. 

The  subject  of  this  review  attended  tlie  public  schools  and  high  school  in  Chicago 
and  for  four  j'ears  taught  in  the  schools  of  that  city.  Having  decided  upon  the  practice  of 
medicine  as  his  life  work,  he  entered  the  Medical  College  of  the  University  of  Illinois,  from 
which  he  was  graduated  in  1906.  For  fourteen  months  he  was  an  interne  in  the  Lakeside 
Hospital  and  for  ten  months  served  in  a  similar  capacity  in  the  St.  Mary  of  Nazareth  Hos- 
pital, thus  gaining  practical  knowledge  of  the  treatment  of  various  diseases.  On  begin- 
ning his  independent  practice  he  located  in  Jasper,  Minnesota,  where  he  remained  for  six 
months,  but  on  the  1st  of  June,  1909,  he  removed  to  Jamestown,  North  Dakota,  and  formed 
a  partnership  with  Dr.  Movius,  a  classmate.  The  two  doctors  were  also  internes  together 
and  their  present  association  has  been  mutually  congenial  and  also  profitable.  They  are 
surgeons  for  the  Midland  Railroad  and  have  gained  a  representative  private  practice.  Dr. 
Wood  also  does  considerable  work  at  the  local  hospital. 

On  the  16th  of  October,  1908,  occurred  the  marriage  of  Dr.  Wood  and  Miss  Mollie  Han- 
sen, a  native  of  Denmark,  by  whom  he  has  a  son,  Walter  William. 

Dr.  Wood  casts  his  ballot  in  support  of  the  republican  party  but  has  never  taken  an 
active  part  in  politics.  However,  he  is  now  serving  as  city  health  officer  and  in  that  capacity 
is  doing  much  to  safeguard  the  public  health.  He  holds  membership  in  the  county  and 
state  medical  societies  and  in  the  American  Medical  Association  and  thus  keeps  in  touch  with 
the  trend  of  medical  practice.  Fraternally  he  is  identified  with  the  Masonic  order,  includ- 
ing the  Mystic  Shrine,  and  with  the  Elks,  while  in  religion  he  is  a  Protestant.  He  finds 
needed  recreation  in  hunting  and  fishing  and  enjoj'S  all  outdoor  sports.  He  is  much  inter- 
ested in  public  advancement  and  is  an  active  member  of  the  Commercial  Club,  cooperating 
in  its  project  for  the  growth  and  advancement  of  Jamestown  and  Stutsman  county. 


LEVI  C.  WIXGATE. 


Levi  C.  Wingate,  vice  president  of  the  Williams  County  State  Bank  at  Williston,  was 
born  July  19,  1882,  at  Soldier,  Monona  county,  Iowa,  a  son  of  Andrew  L.  and  Carrie  Wingate. 
The  father,  a  native  of  Norway,  was  educated  in  that  countrj-  to  the  age  of  fourteen  years 
and  then  came  with  his  parents  to  the  new  world,  the  family  home  being  established  in  Rock- 
ford,  Illinois,  whence  he  afterward  went  to  Iowa.  There  he  engaged  in  farming  for  a  consid- 
erable period  and  in  1894  took  up  his  abode  upon  a  farm  near  Hartington,  Nebraska,  where 
his  death  occurred  in  1908.  His  wife,  a  native  of  Norway,  remained  in  that  country  to  the 
age  of  nineteen  years  and  then  became  a  resident  of  Eockford,  Illinois,  where  she  gave  her 
hand  in  marriage  to  Andrew  L.  Wingate.     She,  too,  passed  away  near  Hartington,  Nebraska. 

Levi  C.  Wingate  acquired  his  preliminary  education  in  district  schools  near  Soldier,  Iowa, 
and  afterward  attended  the  normal  school  at  Castana,  Iowa,  and  Drake  University  at  Des 
Moines,  where  he  pursued  various  courses,  including  that  of  law.  He  afterward  became  pro- 
fessor of  mathematics  in  Parker  College  at  Winnebago,  Minnesota,  and  a  year  later  became  a 
teacher  in  the  coraiuerical  department  of  the  National  Business  College  at  Sioux  City,  Iowa. 
He  next  accepted  the  position  of  secretary  of  a  land  company  at  Minneapolis,  handling  lands 
and  investments,  and  when  he  removed  to  North  Dakota  he  became  cashier  of  the  First  State 
Bank  at  Ray,  where  he  resided  for  five  years.     On  the  expiration  of  that  period  he  accepted 


DE.  W.  W.  WOOD 


HISTORY  OF  XOkTH  DAKOTA  283 

the  caslueislii[i  in  the  Williams  County  Slate  Bank  at  Williston  and  after  three  and  one-half 
years  he  was  eleeted  vice  president,  in  which  oljiee  he  is  now  active,  practically  having  charge 
of  the  bank.  He  is  putting  forth  every  ellort  to  develop  the  institution  along  lines  of  sub- 
stantial growth  and  progress  an<l  he  and  his  fellow  ollieers  havi;  made  it  one  of  the  strong 
moneyed  institutions  of  the  county.  Mr.  Wingate  is  the  owner  of  eight  hundred  acres  of 
land  in  the  lowei-  Yellowstone  valley  of  Montaiui,  lying  in  the  irrigated  district,  and  is  much 
interested  in  agiiculture. 

On  the  10th  of  April,  1906,  in  Winnebago,  Minnesota,  Mr.  Wingate  was  united  in  mar- 
riage to  Miss  Carrie  L.  Waldren,  who  was  there  born,  a  daughter  of  W.  L.  and  Lettie  Waldren. 
Her  father  was  at  that  time  a  farmer  and  stockman  but  is  now  engaged  in  the  real  estate 
busine^s  in  Winnebago.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Wingate  luive  two  children,  Florence  and  Angoline, 
both  Imni  in  Kay,  North  Dakota. 

ill-.  Wingate  has  erected  a  pleasant  residence  in  Williston  and  his  success  enables  him 
to  provide  for  his  family  all  the  comforts  and  some  of  the  luxuries  of  life.  In  politics  he 
is  a  republican  and  is  a  progressive  citizen  but  has  had  neither  time  nor  inclination  to  seek 
public  office.  He  belongs  to  the  Lutheran  church,  to  the  Odd  Fellows  lodge  of  Williston, 
of  which  he  is  treasurer,  to  the  Modern  Woodmen  camp  and  to  the  Elks  Lodge,  No.  1214,  of 
Williston.  His  life  has  practically  been  devoted  entirely  to  the  land  and  banking  business 
and  in  all  business  matters  he  displays  sound  judgment  and  discrimination  as  well  as  unfal- 
tei  ing  enterprise  and  persistency  of  purpose. 


W  ILLIAM  Jl.  UIXON. 


William  H.  Di.xon,  a  lumber  merchant  of  Tioga,  was  born  November  8,  1871,  at  Frank- 
ton,  Indiana,  his  parents  being  Oliver  H.  and  Mary  (Ferguson)  Dixon,  natives  of  Virginia 
and  Indiana  respectively.  In  the  latter  state  both  were  reared  and  there  Mr.  Dixon  took 
up  the  occujiation  of  farming,  which  he  followed  throughout  his  entire  business  career  in  the 
vicinity  of  Frankton,  Indiana,  where  both  he  and  his  wife  passed  away. 

William  H.  Dixon  spent  his  youthful  days  to  the  age  of  eighteen  years  on  the  farm  near 
Frankton  and  supplemented  his  district  school  training  by  study  in  the  city  schools.  In 
1S9J  he  removed  to  Wild  Rice,  Cass  county.  North  Dakota,  where  he  became  agent  for  the 
Chicago,  Jlilwaukee  &  St.  Paul  Railroad  Company,  spending  six  months  at  that  point,  while 
the  succeeding  ten  years  were  devoted  to  similar  service  at  various  points  in  the  state.  On 
the  28th  of  August,  1902,  he  arrived  in  the  new  town  of  Tioga,  where  he  opened  a  lumber- 
yard, the  first  one  in  the  town.  At  that  time  Tioga  contained  a  section  house  but  nothing 
else.  It  is  today  a  village  with  a  jiopulation  of  seven  hundred  and  contains  good  business 
houses  and  industrial  enterprises  and  is  constantly  growing  In  1910  Mr.  Di.von  incorporated 
his  interests  under  the  name  of  the  W.  II.  Dixon  Lumber  Company,  of  which  he  is  the  presi- 
di'nt  and  general  manager.  His  yard  is  in  the  center  of  the  town  and  he  carries  a  large 
amount  of  lumber  and  builders'  supplies.  His  activities  have  ever  been  carefully  and  wisely 
directed  and  success  is  attending  his  efforts.  He  is  also  engaged  quite  largely  in  farming 
in  Williams  county  and  in  connection  therewith  makes  a  specialty  of  handling  Poland  China 
and  Duroc-Jcrsey  hogs.  He  also  assisted  in  organizing  the  electric  light  company  and  the 
telephone  company  of  Tioga  and  otherwise  has  been  prominently  identified  with  the  busi- 
ness development  of  his  district.  His  lumber  traile  has  reached  extensive  proportions  and 
within  a  period  of  fifteen  years  he  lias  become  one  of  the  prosperous  citizens  of  his  section 
of  the  state. 

On  the  a?th  of  ilay,  1914,  Mr.  Dixon  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Cordelia  Davis, 
of  Fairmount,  Indiana,  where  she  was  born,  reared  and  educated.  After  attending  Fairmount 
Academy  she  taught  music  and  drawing  in  the  arts  department  of  that  institution  and  is  a 
most  intelligent  and  accomplished  lady,  being  a  recognized  leader  in  the  social  life  of  Tioga. 
Her  parents,  William  F.  and  Elizabeth  Davis,  were  natives  of  Indiana  and  the  father  is  now 
engaged   in   farming  at  Fairmount,  which  pursuit  he  lias  made  his  life  work. 

In  his  political  views  Mr.  Dixon  is  independent  and  fraternally  is  connected  with  the 
Elks  lodge,  No.   1214.  at   ^\'illist(ln.  of   wliicli   he   is  a  charter  member.     His  has   been   a   well 


284  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

spent  and  active  life  and  proves  what  may  be  accomplished  when  laudable  ambition  points 
out  the  way.  Persistent  purpose  has  enabled  him  to  press  iorward  to  the  goal  of  success 
and  while  promoting  his  individual  interests  he  has  at  the  same  time  cooperated  in  move- 
ments that  have  been  of  direct  and  far-reaching  benefit  to  the  community  in  which  he  lives. 


GEORGE  D.  JOHNSON. 


Among  those  who  have  been  active  in  the  upbuilding  of  Watford  City  through  the  estab- 
lishment and  conduct  of  growing  commercial  interests  is  George  D.  Johnson,  a  progressive 
and  enterprising  young  business  man.  He  was  born  in  Neenah,  Winnebago  county,  Wisconsin, 
September  22,  1883,  a  son  of  Ingolf  E.  and  Carrie  (Omit)  Johnson.  The  father,  a  native 
of  Christiania,  Norway,  was  a  child  when  his  parents  crossed  the  Atlantic  and  settled  among 
the  pioneer  residents  of  Winnebago  county,  Wisconsin,  his  father  taking  up  the  occupation 
of  farming  near  Neenah.  There  Ingolf  E.  Johnson  was  reared  and  eventually  became  a 
machinist  of  Neenah,  where  he  has  conducted  his  business  successfully  for  more  than  forty 
years.    His  wife  was  born  and  reared  in  Winnebago  county,  where  she  still  resides. 

George  D.  Johnson,  spending  his  j-outhful  days  in  his  native  city,  acquired  his  educa- 
tion in  the  public  schools  and  then  obtained  a  clerkship  in  a  clothing  store.  Later  he  was 
employed  in  a  grocery  store  and  in  1908  he  sought  the  opportunities  of  the  growing  west  by 
removing  to  Williston,  North  Dakota,  where  he  spent  a  year  as  a  salesman  in  a  clothing 
store.  In  1909  he  became  a  resident  of  McKenzie  county  and  took  up  a  homestead  near  the 
present  site  of  Watford  City.  He  proved  up  on  that  property  and  was  also  manager  of  a 
general  store  at  the  old  Farland  postoflBce.  When  Watford  City  was  established  he  went 
to  that  place  and  became  manager  of  the  Walla  &  Vildma  general  store.  In  the  spring  of 
191G  he  embarked  in  business  on  his  own  account  and  now  carries  a  large  stock  of  general 
merchandise,  for  which  he  finds  a  ready  sale.  His  methods  are  most  progressive  and  his 
energy  and  determination  enable  him  to  overcome  all  difficulties  and  obstacles  in  his  path. 
He  has  a  large  trade,  accorded  him  by  the  surrounding  rural  community,  and  it  is  known, 
that  fair  treatment  will  ever  be  received  at  his  hands. 

In  politics  Mr.  Johnson  is  a  republican  and  he  was  elected  chairman  of  the  first  village 
board  of  Watford  City  and  was  mayor  in  1914-1915,  making  an  excellent  record  as  chief 
executive.  Fraternally  he  is  connected  with  the  Knights  of  Pythias  at  Neenah,  Wisconsin. 
He  has  always  preferred,  however,  to  concentrate  his  efforts  upon  his  business  interests,  know- 
ing that  success  is  the  legitimate  outcome  of  persistent  effort,  energy  and  determination. 
His  long  experience  in  merchandising  has  been  one  of  the  strong  elements  of  his  growing 
success  and  he  is  familiar  with  every  phase  of  the  trade  and  with  commercial  conditions  in 
general.  He  is  popular  as  a  business  man  and  as  a  public  official  and  as  mayor  of  Watford 
City  is  doing  much  to  advance  civic  improvements,  looking  ever  beyond  the  exigencies  of 
the  moment  to  the  opportunities  and  possibilities  of  the  future. 


CARL  A.  IvRAUSE. 


Carl  A.  Krause,  secretary  and  manager  of  the  Neche  Mercantile  Company  of  Neche,  Pem- 
bina county,  was  born  January  30,  1878,  in  Schonsee,  Germany,  and  was  the  second  of  a 
family  of  seven  children  whose  parents  were  Anthony  and  Mary  (Schultz)  Krause,  who  were 
also  natives  of  that  eovmtry.  They  remained  residents  of  Germany  until  1893,  when  they 
crossed  the  Atlantic  to  the  new  world  and  cast  in  their  lot  with  the  early  settlers  of  Gretna, 
Manitoba.  The  father  is  a  harness  maker  by  trade  and  is  still  actively  engaged  in  that 
business,  which  he  has  successfully  followed,  winning  a  substantial  measure  of  prosperity  as 
the  years  have  gone  by. 

Carl  A.  Krause  was  a  youth  of  fifteen  when  the  family  came  to  the  American  continent 
and  he  continued  his  education  for  a  brief  period  in  the  public  schools  of  Gretna  but  soon 
afterward  started  out  to  earn  his  livelihood  and  whatever  success  he  has  since  achieved  is 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  285 

attributable  to  liis  earnest  labor.  His  first  position  was  that  of  clerk  in  the  store  of  E. 
Penner  &  Company  at  Gretna,  with  which  firm  he  was  connected  for  ten  years,  during  which 
time  he  gained  an  intimate  knowledge  of  mercantile  methods  and  gradually  worked  his  way 
upward.  At  length  he  resigned  his  position  to  become  a  member  of  and  manager  for.  the 
Neche  Mercantile  Company,  which  lias  the  second  largest  mercantile  interests  in  that  section. 
This  is  au  incorporated  company  which  was  formed  iu  1913,  its  ollJcers  being:  F.  P.  Holmes, 
president;  C.  X.  Murphy,  vice  president;  Carl  A.  Krause,  secretaiy;  and  F.  C.  Holmes,  treas- 
urer. They  have  built  up  a  business  of  extensive  proportions  and  they  carry  a  very  attractive 
line  of  goods.  Moreover,  the  neat  and  tasteful  arrangement  of  the  store  and  the  honorable 
methods  followed  constitute  important  factors  in  the  growing  success  of  the  institution. 
For  fourteen  years  Mr.  Krause  has  been  connected  with  the  business  and  his  efforts  have  been 
a  most  important  contributing  factor  to  its  continued  growth  and  prosperity.  The  business 
was  instituted  under  the  direction  of  Murphy,  Holmes  &  Company  and  following  the  death 
of  the  senior  partner  the  firm  name  was  changed  to  Holmes,  Briden  &  St.  Amour.  The  busi- 
ness was  carried  on  under  the  firm  style  of  Holmes  &  Briden  at  the  time  Jlr.  Krause  became 
manager  and  since  1915  he  has  been  a  member  and  secretary  of  the  firm. 

On  the  7th  of  January,  1909,  at  Flensburg,  Jlinnesota,  occurred  the  marriage  of  Mr. 
Krause  and  Miss  Blanche  Wotzka,  a  native  of  Minnesota  and  a  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
Bartholomew  Wotzka,  who  were  pioneer  residents  of  that  state.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  ICrause  have 
become  the  parents  of  four  children,  Vincent,  Marcus,  Carl  and  Lucien.  All  were  born  in 
Neche. 

In  politics  Mr.  Krause  has  pursued  an  independent  course.  He  has  never  sought  or  filled 
public  office  but  gives  stalwart  support  to  the  principles  in  which  he  believes.  He  holds 
membership  in  the  Koman  Catholic  church  and  with  the  Knights  of  Columbus.  There  is  no 
phase  of  commercial  development  in  Neche  with  which  he  is  not  familiar  owing  to  his  long 
connection  with  the  business  in  which  he  is  now  a  partner.  Ability  and  determination  have 
enabled  him  to  gradually  work  his  way  upward  In  commercial  circles  and  he  is  today  num- 
bered among  those  who  are  upbuilding  the  state  along  lines  of  substantial  progress. 


WnXIAM  A.  LANTERMAN. 

Business  activity  in  Mandan  finds  a  worthy  representative  in  William  A.  Lanterman, 
■who  has  been  president  of  the  State  Bank  since  1893  and  who,  carefully  directing  its 
interests,  has  made  this  a  strong  and  reliable  institution.  He  was  born  in  Blairstown,  New 
Jersey,  November  24,  1854,  a  son  of  Abraham  and  Jane  (La  Eue)  Lanterman,  also  natives 
of  that  state.  Both  have  now  passed  away,  the  father  having  died  in  the  year  1877,  while 
the   mother's  death   occurred   in   1904. 

William  A.  Lanterman  completed  his  education  in  the  Blairstown  Academy,  from  which 
he  was  graduated,  and  in  1875  he  arrived  in  North  Dakota,  becoming  one  of  the  pioneer 
residents  of  Grand  Forks.  For  a  time  he  engaged  in  business  at  Hillsboro,  this  state,  and 
in  1883  removed  to  Mandan,  where  he  was  engaged  in  the  stock  business  until  1900.  In  the 
meantime  he  had  become  actively  identified  with  banking  interests,  having  in  1892  been 
elected  to  the  presidency  of  the  State  Bank  of  Mandan,  in  which  connection  he  has  since 
given  his  attention  to  administrative  direction  and  executive  control.  He  thoroughly  under- 
stands every  phase  of  the  banking  business  and  recognizes  the  fact  that  the  bank  which 
most  carefully  safeguards  the  interests  of  its  depositors  is  the  one  most  worthy  of  public 
confidence  and  support.  Aside  from  his  interests  in  the  State  Bank  he  is  the  president 
of  the  Mandan  Loan  &  Investment  Company,  is  vice  president  of  the  First  National  Bank 
at  New  Salem,  North  Dakota,  and  has  other  connections  with  financial  institutions. 

On  the  22d  of  March.  1886,  in  Racine,  Wisconsin.  Mr.  Lanterman  was  united  in  mar- 
riage to  Miss  Harriet  M.  Shaw,  by  whom  he  has  three  children,  as  follows:  Bessie,  who  is 
now  the  wife  of  E.  A.  Ripley,  of  Mandan,  North  Dakota;  Eunice,  who  gave  her  hand  in 
marriage  to  William  Ordway,  of  Minneapolis,  Minnesota;  and  Horace  W.,  a  resident  of 
Mandan,  North  Dakota. 

Fraternallv   Mr.  Lanterman   is   a   Master   Mason,   while   his   religious   faith   is   that   of 


286  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

the  rn'sbyteiiau  chuich.  His  political  support  is  given  the  democratic  party  and  he  has 
held  municipal  offices  in  Mandan,  where  his  public  spirit  has  been  manifest  in  his  faith- 
fulness to  duty.  He  has  steadily  advanced  in  those  walks  of  life  demanding  intellectuality, 
business  ability  and  fidelity  and  today  commands  the  respect  and  esteem  not  only  of  his 
community  but  of  the  people  throughout  the  state.  He  is  modest  and  unostentatious  in 
manner  but  all  speak  of  him  in  terms  of  high  praise. 


COLONEL  CLEMENT  A.  LOUNSBERRY. 

Colonel  Clement  A.  Lounsberry,  a  Civil  war  veteran,  public  official  and  one  who  has 
done  much  in  framing  the  history  of  the  state  and  contributing  to  the  development  of  North 
Dakota,  is  a  native  of  Indiana.  He  was  born  in  Dekalb  county  on  the  27th  of  March,  1843, 
and  represents  one  of  the  old  New  York  families  founded  prior  to  1660  by  ancestors  who 
settled  on  the  Hudson.  Richard  Lounsberry  was  one  of  those  who  established  the  town  of 
White  Plains,  New  York,  whence  he  afterward  removed  to  Stamford,  Connecticut,  and  in 
that  state  representatives  of  the  name  have  become  distinguished  in  manufacturing,  banking 
and  educational  circles,  while  two  of  the  number  have  served  as  governor  of  Connecticut. 
In  the  maternal  line  Colonel  Lounsberry  traces  his  ancestry  back  to  one  who  came  from 
England  in  1635,  and  the  family  is  connected  with  the  Lockwoods,  the  Benedicts,  the 
Whitneys  and  other  people  of  prominence  in  the  east.  His  maternal  grandmother  was  a 
Benedict  and  his  paternal  grandmother  was  a  Wliitney  of  the  Eli  ^'V^litney  family.  His 
mother,  who  bore  the  maiden  name  of  Sarah  Weeks,  was  descended  from  Jonathan  Weeks, 
whose  four  sons  were  killed  by  the  Indians  in  the  massacre  at  Wyoming. 

Left  an  orphan  during  his  childhood  days.  Colonel  Lounsberry  went  to  Michigan  when 
a  youth  of  fourteen  and  during  the  summer  months  worked  at  farm  labor,  while  in  the 
winter  seasons  he  attended  the  district  schools.  He  had  previously  been  a  pupil  in  the 
schools  of  Hicksville,  Ohio,  where  his  early  youth  was  passed.  With  the  outbreak  of  the 
Civil  war  he  responded  to  the  country's  call  for  troops,  enlisting  in  Calhoun  county,  Michigan, 
and  his  loyalty  and  capability  in  service  are  indicated  in  the  fact  that  he  was  advanced 
to  the  command  of  his  regiment  some  time  before  the  close  of  the  war.  General  Byron  M. 
Cutcheon,  under  whom  he  served,  said  of  him:  "Colonel  Lounsberry  served  under  me  as  a 
private,  sergeant,  second  lieutenant,  first  lieutenant,  captain,  and  assistant  adjutant  general 
and  chief  of  my  staff,  and  succeeded  me  as  colonel  of  his  regiment,  and  I  must  say  that 
he  was  the  bravest  soldier  that  I  ever  knew."  His  military  record  has  been  given  by  a 
contemporary  historian  as  follows:  "Register  of  military  service:  Entered  the  service  as 
a  private  in  the  Marshall  Light  Guards,  April  31,  1S61.  Mustered  into  United  States  service, 
Company  I,  First  Michigan,  three  months.  May  1,  1861;  discharged  July  6,  1863,  on  return 
from  Libby  prison.  Reenlisted  August  9,  1862.  Mustered  into  service  as  first  sergeant 
Company  I,  Twentieth  Michigan,  August  19,  1862.  Second  lieutenant,  Company  K,  Feb- 
ruary 1,  1863;  first  lieutenant,  Company  H,  .January  31,  1864;  captain,  Company  A,  June  23, 
1864;  brevet  major  'for  gallant  and  meritorious  services  in  the  present  campaign  in  front 
of  Richmond.'  December  3,  1864;  lieutenant  colonel,  December  20,  1864  (mustered  April  29, 
1865),  and  colonel,  March  11,  1865.  Mustered  out  lieutenant  colonel  commanding  regiment, 
May  30,  1865.  First  lieutenant's  commission  dated  November  19,  1863,  and  captain's, 
June  23,  1864. 

"History  of  service:  First  Bull  Run,  .July  21,  1861,  Wilcox  Brigade,  Heintzelman's 
Division,  wounded,  prisoner  of  war  until  June  25,  1862.  First  Brigade,  First  Division,  Ninth 
Army  Corps.  September  22.  1862,  Noland's  Ford,  October  14;  White  Sulphur  Springs,  Novem- 
ber 14;  Fredericksburg,  December  13,  13,  14,  1862;  Horse  Shoe  Bend,  Kentucky,  May  9,  1863, 
wounded  and  prisoner  three  weeks;  Blue  Springs,  Tennessee,  October  10,  1863;  Loudon, 
Tennessee,  November  14,  1863;  Lenoir  Station,  November  15;  Campbell  Station.  Novem- 
ber 16;  Siege  of  Knoxville,  November  17  to  December  5;  Fort  Sanders,  November  29.  1863; 
Hurby's  Ford,  December  15,  1863;  Strawberry  Plains,  January  33.  1864;  Turkey  Bend,  March 
14,  1864;  The  Wilderness,  May  5,  6,  7,  1864;  Ny  River,  May  9;  Spottsylvania,  May  10,  11, 
12,  1864;  Hatcher's  Run,  October  27  and  28,  1864;  Siege  of  Petersburg  from  October  5,  1864, 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  287 

to  April  3,  1863;  Fort  Stoadman,  March  25,  1865.  Adjutant  General,  Ely's  Brigade,  and 
assumed  command  First  Michigan,  S.  S.,  and  Second  Michigan  Infantry,  and  conducted  these 
rciraents  into  Petersburg,  receiving  the  surrender  of  that  city  from  two  of  the  three  parties 
authorized  to  surrender  the  city  by  the  common  council,  April  3,  1865,  and  planted  the  flag 
on  the  custom  house  and  courthouse  before  other  troops  entered  the  city.  Ely's  Brigade 
was  Second  Brigade,  First  Division,  Ninth  Army  Corps." 

While  in  front  of  St.  Petersburg,  Colonel  Lounsberry  had  filed  on  a  homestead  at 
Fairmont,  Martin  county,  Minnesota,  making  the  affidavit  before  his  commanding  officer. 
With  the  close  of  hostilities  he  purchased  sheep,  which  he  drove  from  Michigan  to  his  home- 
.stead,  and  since  that  time  lie  has  been  closely  identified  with  the  development  of  the 
west.  Almost  immediately  following  the  establishment  of  his  home  in  Minnesota  he  became 
prominently  connected  with  public  affairs  in  his  community.  In  the  summer  of  1866  he 
was  appointed  county  auditor  of  Martin  county  and  later  was  elected  and  reelected  to  the 
position,  being  nominated  by  both  republicans  and  democrats  in  1868.  He  declined  the 
democratic  nomination  but  received  practically  the  entire  vote  of  the  county.  He  was 
connected  with  General  B.  M.  Ciitcheon,  Eev.  S.  S.  Hunting,  Cliaplain  Joseph  Jones  and 
Dr.  O.  P.  Cliubb,  previous  army  comrades,  in  the  purchase  and  development  of  the  town  site 
of  Fairmont,  and  it  was  as  representative  of  his  partners  that  he  came  to  the  west.  In  the 
summer  of  1868  he  began  the  publication  of  the  Martin  County  Atlas  and  when  the  railroad 
was  completed  to  Wells,  Minnesota,  in  the  spring  of  1870  he  removed  his  paper  to  that 
place  and  resigned  his  position  as  auditor  of  Martin  county.  In  1872,  after  leasing  his 
paper,  he  became  editorially  connected  with  the  Minneapolis  Tribune  and  from  July,  1873, 
until  1884  published  the  Bismarck  Tribune,  of  which  he  was  the  promoter.  In  February,  1876, 
he  was  made  postmaster  of  Bismarck  and  continued  in  that  office  until  1885,  when  he 
resigned.  A  history  of  Martin  county,  Minnesota,  in  writing  of  him,  said:  "Fairmont 
sustained  quite  a  loss  in  the  removal  of  Colonel  Lounsberry,  who  was  a  public-spirited, 
energetic  worker,  and  who  did  all  he  could  to  assist  in  building  up  the  town  and  county. 
He  was  interested  in  a  number  of  schemes  for  the  advancement  of  this  place.  His  news- 
paper not  receiving  the  support  he  thought  it  entitled  to  and  having  an  offer  from  the 
citizens  of  Wells,  which  was  then  the  terminus  of  the  railway,  he  moved  there.  Colonel 
C.  A.  Lounsberry  was  a  man  of  more  than  ordinary  ability,  and  since  his  removal  from 
here  has  occupied  prominent  positions.  ...  As  a  newspaper  writer  he  has  few  equals 
in  the  northwest." 

When  countj-  auditor  at  Fairmont,  Colonel  Lounsberry  was  annoyed  by  the  faulty 
newspaper  reports  of  legislative  proceedings  and  declared  that  if  he  ever  had  an  opportunity 
he  would  report  the  legislative  proceedings  in  a  way  that  would  give  information  to  those 
interested  in  public  affairs.  His  opportunity  came  in  the  winter  of  1872-3,  when  he  reported 
the  Minnesota  legislature  for  the  Minneapolis  Tribune  and  the  St.  Paul  Dispatch,  completely 
revolutionizing  the  system  of  legislative  reporting,  so  far  as  the  Twin  Cities  were  con- 
cerned. Even  after  establishing  the  Tribune  at  Bismarck  he  returned  two  winters  and 
reported  the  Minnesota  legislature  for  the  Minneapolis  Tribune  and  the  St.  Paul  Dispatch. 
and  has  several  winters  been  employed  by  the  Associated  Press  to  report  the  North  Dakota 
legislature  for  the  St.  Paul,  Minneapolis,  Fargo  and  Grand  Forks  dailies,  and  for  the 
Bismarck   Tribune. 

There  is  one  feature  in  the  constitution  of  the  state,  put  there  through  the  persistent 
effort  of  Colonel  Lounsberry.  It  had  been  the  custom  to  introduce  bills  and  have  them 
read  by  title  and  referred  directly  to  the  committee.  There  was  no  opportunity  to  know 
what  was  in  the  bill,  unless  the  member  chose  to  give  it;  on  being  interviewed,  or  the  com- 
mittee head  could  be  found  and  an  opportunity  given  to  examine  the  bill.  Through  the 
eflTorts  of  the  Colonel,  and  in  the  interest  of  publicity,  it  was  provided  in  the  constitution 
that  every  bill  must  be  read  in  full  at  the  time  of  its  introduction  and  upon  its  final 
passage.     This  gives  an  opportunity  to  hear  and  examine  it. 

In  many  ways  Colonel  Lounsberry  has  left  the  impress  of  his  individuality  upon  the 
public  life  of  the  various  communitifs  in  which  he  lived.  In  1895  Colonel  Lounsberry  estab- 
lished the  Record  at  Fargo,  a  monthly,  his  object  being  to  gather  material  for  a  history 
of  the  state.  The  publication  was  continued  until  1905,  when  it  was  suspended  on  account 
of  his  transfer  to  the  general  land  office  at  Washington.     In  March,  1889,  he  was  appointed 


288  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

special  agent  of  the  general  land  office  and  as  such  agent  has  conducted  more  than  five 
thousand  investigations  for  the  government,  appearing  for  the  government  in  some  five 
hundred  hearings.  His  work  covered  not  only  Minnesota  and  the  two  Dakotas,  but  Nebraska, 
Wyomin",  New  Mexico,  Colorado,  Washington  and  Montana.  From  his  long  residence  in 
the  public  land  regions  and  his  familiarity  with  conditions  and  with  the  laws,  he  was  par- 
tieiilarlv  well  adapted  to  this  class  of  work,  and  was  finally  transferred  to  the  general 
office  at  his  own  request,  in  August,  1905.  He  was  originally  appointed  a  special  agent  of 
the  General  land  ofiice  upon  recommendation  of  General  Cutcheon  and  was  removed  during 
the  Cleveland  administration  but  was  immediately  reinstated  under  the  Harrison  admin- 
istration. In  1889  he  was  admitted  to  practice  law  in  Cass  county,  North  Dakota,  and  on 
the  37th  of  March,  1904,  was  licensed  to  practice  before  the  supreme  court  of  the  state.  As 
a  member  of  the  penitentiary  board  he  was  associated  with  John  A.  McLean  in  the  work 
of  supervising  the  construction  of  the  penitentiary  at  Bismarck,  and  later  he  was  again 
made  a  member  of  the  board. 

Colonel  Lounsberry  was  married  in  1864  to  Miss  Lucretia  V.  Hoskins  and  his  family 
numbers  four  sons  and  a  daughter,  the  latter,  Hattie  A.,  being  now  the  wife  of  Charles 
E.  V.  Draper,  of  Mandan.  The  eldest  son,  George  H.,  is  an  architect  and  builder  of  Duluth; 
Wells  is  owner  of  a  fruit  farm  at  Medford,  Oregon;  and  Fred  and  William  are  in  the 
job  printing  business  In  Duluth.  For  his  present  wife  Colonel  Lounsberry  married  Mrs.  Sarah 
Jane   (Mason)   Brownson,  widow  of  Colonel  Harry  Brownson. 

Fraternally  Colonel  Lounsberry  is  connected  with  the  Masonic  lodge,  chapter  and  com- 
mandery  and  he  belongs  also  to  the  Grand  Army  of  the  Republic  and  the  Loyal  Legion. 
He  has  long  been  a  communicant  of  the  Episcopal  church  and  his  life  has  been  guided  by 
his  belief.  He  has  ever  been  a  man  loyal  to  his  honest  convictions,  fearless  in  defense  of 
what  he  believes  to  be  right,  and  he  has  done  much  to  mold  public  thought  and  opinion  in 
his  state   and  thus  shape  its  history. 


PETER  0.  THORSON. 


Peter  0.  Thorson,  publisher  of  the  Normanden,  has  been  a  representative  of  journalistic 
interests  in  Grand  Forks  since  1893,  then  a  young  man  of  twenty-six  years.  He  was 
born  in  Waupaca  county,  Wisconsin,  August  2,  1867,  a  son  of  Die  and  Anna  (Iverson) 
Thorson,  who  were  natives  of  Norway.  Emigrating  to  America  in  1861  they  settled  in 
Wisconsin  where  tlie  father  engaged  in  farming,  and  there  he  resided  until  his  death  which 
occurred  in  1907  when  he  had  reached  the  age  of  eighty  years.  His  wife  survived  him  until 
1913,  and  passed  away  in  Grand  Forks  at  the  age  of  seventy-eight  years. 

Peter  0.  Thorson  was  the  fourth  in  order  of  birth  in  a  family  of  nine  children.  At  the 
usual  age  he  became  a  pupil  in  the  public  schools  of  Wisconsin,  and  after  attending  high 
school  completed  his  education  in  a  business  college.  He  afterward  engaged  in  the  stationery 
and  book  business  with  F.  W.  Eddings  &  Company  from  1888  until  1891,  and  in  the  latter 
year  became  connected  with  the  Grand  Forks  Herald  on  which  he  worked  until  1893.  At 
that  time  he  purchased  an  interest  in  the  Normanden  Publishing  Company,  which  was  then 
issuing  a  weekly  paper  which  was  afterward  converted  into  a  semi-weekly.  It  today  has  a 
circulation  of  nine  thousand  seven  hundred  copies  and  is  one  of  the  leading  papers  of  the 
state,  being  widely  circulated  among  the  people  of  Norwegian  birth  and  education.  It  is 
published  according  to  the  most  progressive  ideas  of  modern  journalism,  and  its  success  is 
attributable  in  large  measure  to  the  eflforts  of  Mr.  Thorson  who  has  been  identified  with  the 
paper  for  twenty-three  years.  In  August,  1916,  he  took  over  the  Progressive  Observer,  a 
weekly  paper,  which  has  been  published  in  Grand  Forks  for  seven  years.  He  is  also  a 
director  of  the  Western  Realty  Comnanv  of  Farco  and  the  success  which  he  has  attained  in 
business  is  the  direct  result  of  his  energy  and  ability.  He  possesses  marked  energy  and 
determination  and  carries  forward  to  successful  completion  whatever  he  undertakes. 

On  the  19th  of  December,  1895,  in  Grand  Forks,  Mr.  Thorson  was  united  in  marriage  to 
Miss  Eliza  Brathovde,  a  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  John  Brathovde  of  New  Hope,  Wisconsin. 
Five  children  have  been  born  of  this  marriage:     Thelma,  born  in  1896  and  a  graduate  of 


PETER  0.  THORSON 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  291 

till'  liigli  sc-liQol  of  Grand  Forks;  Alvin,  born  in  IS'JS;  Uarold,  in  1902;  I'aul  in  1906;  and 
Genevieve,  in  1910.  All  are  natives  of  Grand  Forks  and  the  younger  children  a.re  yet  in 
school.  Fraternally  Mr.  Thorson  is  connected  with  the  Knights  of  Pythias  and  the  Yeomen. 
He  belongs  also  £o  the  Sons  of  Norway  and  to  the  Norwegian  Press  Association  of  America. 
His  deep  interest  in  the  welfare  of  his  fellowmen  and  desire  for  higher  standards  of  living 
is  indicated  by  his  membership  in  the  Young  Jlcn's  Christian  Association.  He  is  president 
of  the  board  of  education  of  Grand  Forks,  and  has  labored  most  earnestly  in  advancing  the 
interests  of  the  schools.  Partially  tlirough  his  efforts  the  present  high  school  building  is 
being  erected,  and  when  completed  will  be  tlio  finest  in  the  state.  He  works  for  all  those 
forces  which  are  factors  in  civic  betterment,  and  holds  to  high  standards  in  manhood  and 
citizenship. 


PAUL  MANN. 


Paul  Mann,  cashier  of  the  Merchants  State  Bank,  is  thus  actively  identified  with  the 
financial  interests  of  Hebron  and  Morton  county.  He  was  born  in  New  Salem,  North 
Dakota,  February  26,  1889,  a  son  of  William  Henry  and  Anna  (Lange)  Mann,  who  were 
natives  of  Germany.  Coming  to  the  new  world,  they  settled  in  Chicago  in  1881  and  there 
resided  for  about  two  years.  The  father  was  a  cabinet  maker  and  followed  his  trade  in 
Chicago  until  1883,  when  he  sought  the  opportunities  offered  in  the  northwest,  making  his 
way  to  the  territory  of  Dakota.  He  located  at  New  Salem,  in  what  is  now  North  Dakota, 
and  in  that  locality  took  up  land  from  the  government.  Not  a  furrow  had  been  turned 
nor  an  improvement  made  upon  the  place  but  with  characteristic  energy  he  began  its  culti- 
vation and  remained  thereon  for  about  five  years.  He  then  returned  to  New  Salem,  where 
in  1889  he  established  a  general  store  under  a  partnership  relation.  He  afterward  bought 
out  his  partner's  interest  in  the  business,  of  which  he  still  remains  sole  proprietor.  He  is 
today  one  of  the  oldest  merchants  of  the  place,  having  for  nearly  thirty  years  been  actively 
connected  with  the  commercial  interests  of  New  Salem.  He  has  likewise  extended  his 
cfTorts  into  other  fields  and  is  now  vice  president  of  the  Merchants  State  Bank  of  Hebron 
and  a  director  of  the  Farmers  &  Merchants  State  Bank  of  New  Salem.  In  piiblic  affairs 
he  has  also  been  prominent  and  active  and  for  the  past  eight  years  has  been  a  member  of 
the  railroad  commission  of  the  state. 

Paul  Mann  acquired  his  early  educ;iti(in  in  the  schools  of  New  Salem  and  afterward 
continued  his  studies  at  Valparaiso,  Indiana,  where  he  completed  both  a  commercial  and 
an  academic  course.  He  was  there  graduated  in  1906,  after  which  he  returned  to  his 
native  city  and  for  a  year  was  his  father's  assistant  in  the  store.  In  1907  he  removed  to 
Hebron  and  entered  the  Merchants  State  Bank  in  the  capacity  of  bookkeeper.  The  follomng 
year  he  was  advanced  to  the  position  of  assistant  cashier  and  occupied  that  office  until  1910, 
when  he  was  promoted  to  the  cashierahip.  He  is  also  a  stockholder  and  a  director  of  this 
bank,  which  was  organized  in  October,  1906,  and  capitalized  for  ten  thousand  dollars,  its 
officers  being:  F.  Schweigert.  president;  Fred  Dichtenmueller,  vice  president;  and  E.  H. 
Mann,  cashier.  About  1908  C.  F.  Ewald  was  made  president  and  so  continued  for  about 
two  years,  when  he  was  succeeded  by  Jacob  Schmalenberger.  At  that  date  W.  H.  Mann 
became  the  vice  president.  F.  H.  Mann  continued  as  cashier  until  1910,  when  he  was 
succeeded  by  Paul  Mann,  who  is  still  filling  the  position,  with  C.  H.  Oellerman  as  assistant 
cashier.  The  bank  has  a  surplus  and  imdivided  profits  of  twelve  thousand  five  hundred 
dollars.  .A  fine  building  of  brick  construction  was  erected  in  1907  and  its  equipment  is 
thoroughly  modern.  There  are  large  safety  deposit  vaults  and  every  accessory  to  protect 
the  interests  of  the  patrons  of  the  bank.  The  liabilities  of  the  institution  are  about  two 
hundred  and  fifty  thousand  dollars  and  the  business  of  the  bank  has  steadily  grown  from 
•  lie  beginning.  In  addition  to  the  general  banking  business  which  is  carried  on  the  company 
conducts  a  real  estate,  loan  and  insurance  department  and  receives  a  liberal  patronage 
along  those  lines. 

In  October,   1911,  Mr.  Mann   was  unitcrl   in   marriage  to  Miss  Henrietta  K.   Urban,  who 


292  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

was  born  in  Hebron,  Xorth  Dakota,  in  September,  1891,  and  they  have  two  sons,  Kenneth 
and  Frederick. 

Mr.  Mann  votes  with  the  republican  party,  which  he  has  supported  since  age  conferred 
upon  him  tlie  right  of  franchise.  For  five  years  he  has  been  treasurer  of  the  village  and 
is  numbered  among  those  who  have  taken  a  leading  part  in  community  affairs,  doing  every- 
thing in  his  power  to  uphold  the  business  interests  of  the  town.  His  religious  faith  is 
evidenced  by  his  membership  in  the  German  Evangelical  church  and  he  actively  supports  all 
movements  for  the  moral  progress  of  the  district. 


FEANIC  G.  ORE. 


The  financial  interests  of  North  Dakota  have  a  worthy  representative  in  Frank  G.  Orr, 
who  has  been  identified  with  several  banks  in  this  state  and  is  now  serving  as  vice  presi- 
dent of  the  First  State  Bank  of  Mott.  in  which  city  he  makes  his  home.  He  was  born  in 
Victory,  Wisconsin,  August  23,  18T2,  and  is  a  son  of  Thomas  G.  and  Emma  (Newell)  Orr,  the 
former  a  native  of  Marietta,  Ohio,  and  the  latter  of  Waukon,  Iowa.  His  paternal  grand- 
father spent  his  entire  life  in  Ohio,  of  which  state  the  family  were  pioneers,  and  there  he 
died  in  the  prime  of  life.     He  was  a  physician  by  profession. 

In  early  life  Thomas  G.  Orr  went  to  Iowa  and  at  the  age  of  thirteen  years  he  enlisted 
as  a  drummer  in  the  Fifth  Iowa  Volunteer  Infantry  at  the  beginning  of  the  Civil  war.  After 
serving  in  that  capacity  for  two  years,  he  became  a  private  in  the  infantry  and  served  as 
such  until  the  end  of  his  three  years'  enlistment.  Later  he  joined  the  cavalry  and  altogether 
was  with  the  army  for  four  years  and  a  half,  taking  part  in  many  important  engagements. 
^\^len  hostilities  ceased  he  was  honorably  discharged  from  the  service.  Subsequent!}-  he  took 
a  business  course  in  a  commercial  college  at  Chicago,  Illinois,  and  then  became  an  express 
messenger.  He  continued  to  fill  that  position  until  1870,  when  he  removed  to  Lansing,  Iowa, 
and  began  dealing  in  wheat.  F'rom  there  he  moved  across  the  Mississippi  river  to  Victory, 
Wisconsin,  and  about  1877  became  a  resident  of  \  iroqua,  that  state,  where  he  conducted 
an  elevator  and  also  engaged  in  the  machinery  business  until  1883.  In  the  latter  year  Mr. 
Orr  went  to  South  Dakota  and  took  up  a  homestead  and  tree  claim  near  Mobridge.  After 
following  farming  for  a  year  he  was  elected  register  of  deeds  and  auditor  of  Walworth  county 
and  was  subsequently  reelected,  serving  in  all  eight  years.  During  that  time  he  attended 
the  territorial  legislature  at  Bismarck  and  for  two  sessions  served  as  chief  clerk.  He  was  a 
member  of  the  constitutional  convention  and  has  always  taken  an  active  part  In  public  affairs. 
He  has  been  chairman  of  the  republican  state  central  committee  and  for  a  number  of  years 
has  been  president  of  the  South  Dakota  Old  Settlers  Association,  which  has  annual  home 
comings  alternating  between  Aberdeen  and  Sioux  Falls.  Mr.  Orr  has  been  particularly  active 
in  the  Grand  Army  of  the  Republic  and  for  tlie  past  six  years  has  been  commandant  of  the 
Soldiers  Home  at  Hot  Springs,  South  Dakota,  while  his  wife  has  served  as  matron.  He  has 
been  very  successful  in  its  management  and  is  regarded  as  one  of  the  most  public-spirited 
and  progressive  citizens  of  his  community.  At  one  time  he  was  in  charge  of  a  delegation  of 
members  of  the  territorial  legislature  of  Dakota  to  the  Montana  legislature  at  the  invita- 
tion of  its  members.  In  his  family  were  two  sons  and  one  daughter,  but  the  eldest,  Charles, 
died  at  the  age  of  eight  years,  and  Angle,  who  became  the  wife  of  George  Opie.  died  when 
twenty-one  years  of  age. 

Frank  G.  Orr,  the  only  survivor,  began  his  elementary  education  in  the  schools  of  Wis- 
consin and  continued  his  studies  after  the  removal  of  the  family  to  Dakota.  During  the  first 
year  of  their  residence  in  the  territory  they  had  to  haul  all  their  goods  from  Aberdeen,  a 
distance  of  one  hundred  miles,  and  on  their  way  to  that  city  collected  buffalo  bones,  which 
they  disposed  of  there.  Mr.  Orr  sometimes  accompanied  his  fatlier  on  these  trips.  In  1893 
he  began  a  five  years'  course  at  the  South  Dakota  State  College  at  Brookings,  and  on  its 
completion  was  elected  secretary  and  treasurer  of  the  college,  serving  in  that  capacity  and 
at  the  same  time  conducting  classes  until  1904.  He  then  resigned  and  went  to  Aberdeen, 
where  he  became  identified  with  the  newspaper  business  on  the  Dakota  Farmer.  Later  he 
was  for  line  year   foreign  news  editor  of  the  Daily  American. 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  293 

On  the  1st  ol'  .Tainiaiy.  1U06,  .Mr.  Oir  acef|>ti'd  the  position  of  assistant  cashier  of  tlie 
Citizens  State  Banlc  at  Kussell,  North  Dakota,  where  he  remained  nntil  l'J09,  when  lie  sold 
his  interest  in  that  concern  and  removed  to  Mott,  which  has  since  been  his  home.  He  organ- 
ized the  First  State  Bank,  of  wliich  he  became  cashier,  but  has  served  as  vice  president  since 
1913.  In  1909  he  also  organized  the  Galloway  &  Orr  Abstract  Company,  and  tiie  senior  mem- 
ber of  the  firm  is  now^  cashier  of  the  Farmers  State  Bank  of  Bentley,  North  Dakota.  They 
purchased  two  banks  at  Bentley,  which  they  consolidated,  and  the  institution  is  now  in  a 
llourishinj;  condition.  At  one  time  Mr.  Orr  owned  an  interest  in  the  State  Bank  of  New  Eng- 
land and  tlie  Citizens  State  Bank  at  Kegeiit  but  has  sold  that  property.  In  addition  to  his 
other  business  interests,  he  also  deals  extensively   in   real  estate. 

On  the  oth  of  .luly,  lUUO,  Jlr.  Orr  was  united  in  nnirriage  to  Miss  Lulu  Cornell,  a  native 
of  Winnepeg,  Canada,  and  a  daughter  of  William  H.  Cornell,  who  was  a  pioneer  of  Dakota, 
having  located  in  Sioux  I'alis  in  1875.  Mrs.  Orr  was  educated  at  the  Brookings  high  school 
and  the  South  Dakota  Normal  at  Madison,  after  which  she  taught  school  for  some  time  prior 
to  her  marriage.  She  has  become  the  mother  of  two  children:  Harry  (i.  and  Fred  K.  Mr. 
Orr  is  a  member  of  the  Masonic  fraternity  and  was  the  first  master  of  the  lodge  at  Russell 
and  also  the  lodge  at  Mott,  with  which  he  is  now  coiuiected.  He  is  one  of  the  leading  business 
men  of  Hettinger  county  as  well  as  one  of  its  representative  citizens  and  occui)ie.s  an  enviable 
jjosition  in  financial  circles. 


JOHN  S.  CONYERS. 


John  S.  Conyers,  of  the  firm  of  Conyers  &  Son,  lumber  dealers  of  Cando.  North  Dakota, 
was  one  of  the  first  settlers  of  Towner  county  and  has  therefore  witnessed  its  entire 
development,  in  the  work  of  which  he  has  taken  a  very  active  and  prominent  part.  He  was 
born  in  Paris,  Missouri,  on  the  37th  of  November,  1858,  and  is  a  son  of  William  S.  and 
Ann  E.  (Parsons)  Conyers,  also  natives  of  that  state,  the  former  born  in  ^Monroe  county 
and  the  latter  in  Pike  county.  The  father,  who  w'as  a  farmer  and  stock  raiser  by  occupa- 
tion, made  his  home   in  Missouri  until  his  death. 

There  John  S.  Conyers  was  reared  and  educated  in  much  the  usual  manner  of  boys 
at  that  time.  In  1883  he  made  his  way  to  this  state,  reaching  Larimore  on  the  1st  of 
March,  which  town  was  then  the  western  terminus  of  the  railroad.  There  he  rented  four 
hundred  and  eighty  acres  of  land  and  after  putting  in  his  crop  started  west  with  a  team 
of  horses  and  the  running  gear  of  a  wagon  to  look  for  a  suitable  location.  At  Bartlett  he 
met  some  half  breed  Indians  who  told  him  of  the  beautiful  countrj'  in  what  is  now  Towner 
county  and  later  he  met  Frank  Blair,  who  had  visited  this  section,  and  he  told  Mr.  Conyers 
it  was  the  prettiest  country  he  had  ever  seen,  advising  him  to  locate  here.  Our  subject 
then  loaded  some  board  on  his  wagon  at  Bartlett  and  started  across  the  country.  On 
reaching  Coulee,  four  miles  south  of  the  present  city  of  Cando,  he  unloaded  and  built  the 
frame  for  his  shack,  which  he  covered  with  sod.  He  then  returned  to  Larimore  and  harvested 
his  crop,  coming  to  Towner  county  again  that  fall  after  his  work  was  done  and  spending 
the  winter  here.  The  following  year  he  filed  on  a  preemption  and  also  a  tree  claim.  He 
was  one  of  eight  men  who  wintered  in  Towner  ccmnty  in  1883-4  and  among  them  they  were 
able  to  have  this  section  surveyed.  As  was  the  custom  at  that  time,  Mr.  Conyers  plowed 
a  furrow  around  the  section  he  wished  to  reserve,  and  as  his  brother  Thomas  W.,  then  on 
a  cattle  ranch  in  Nevada,  had  promised  to  join  him.  he  included  in  his  furrow  some  eight 
hundred  acres  of  land.  After  the  survey  had  been  made  Imth  filed  on  this  tract  and  the 
original  claims  are  still  in  the  possession  of  the  family. 

On  coming  to  Towner  county.  John  S.  Conyers  was  without  capital  and  for  some  years 
lie  made  his  living  by  hauling  lumber  fur  the  settlers  who  followed  him  into  the  country. 
In  1884  he  was  one  of  three  county  commissioners  appointed  by  the  governor  to  locate  the 
county  seat,  the  others  being  Captain  P.  P.  Parker,  now  of  Phoenix,  Arizona;  and  H.  C. 
!)avis.  now  living  in  Michigan.  There  was  nnich  contention  over  the  selection  of  the  site, 
many  of  the  settlers  wanting  it  located  at  their  nearest  settlement  or  on  their  own  land 
lint   the   committee   looked   ahead   to  the    futiue   dcvelopnu'nt   of   fhe  country   north   of  them 


294  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

and,  desiring  to  make  tlie  location  a  permanent  one,  chose  the  present  site.  There  was 
strong  objection  to  this  decision  in  the  meeting  called  for  that  purpose  but  the  spokesman 
of  the  committee  said:  "Gentlemen,  we  were  appointed  to  this  committee  to  decide  this 
location  and  in  virtue  of  our  authority  we  select  this  location  and  name  the  town  Cando 
to  show  you  that  we  can  do  it." 

Mr.  Conyers  continued  to  follow  farming  until  1888,  when  the  railroad  was  built  into 
Cando  and  he  moved  to  the  town,  where  he  opened  a  lumberyard.  The  first  train  entering 
the  town,  which  was  a  construction  train,  brought  him  two  carloads  of  lumber.  His  brother 
Thomas  W.  was  associated  witli  him  in  business  until  the  latter's  death  in  the  fall  of  1911, 
when  our  subject  bought  his  interest  and  admitted  his  son  Robert  T.  to  partnership.  Under 
the  firm  name  of  Conyers  &  Son  the  business  is  now  carried  on  and  they  enjoy  an  excellent 
trade.  Mr.  Conyers  is  a  director  of  the  First  National  Bank  of  Cando  and  is  the  owner  of  eight 
hundred  acres  of   valuable  farming  land  in  Towner  county. 

In  December,  1888,  he  was  united  in  marriage  to  Mrs.  Rachel  E.  (Canfield)  Judd,  of 
Danbury,  Connecticut,  and  of  the  four  children  born  to  them  three  survive,  namely:  Edna  S., 
who  is  a  graduate  of  Stanley  Hall,  at  Minneapolis;  Robert  T.,  who  is  a  graduate  of  Culver 
Military  Academy,  at  Culver,  Indiana,  and  is  now  in  business  with  his  father;  and  Jane  S., 
who  was  educated  at  Graham  Hall,  at  Minneapolis,  and  is  now  the  wife  of  E.  F.  Bacon  of 
Cando,  North  Dakota. 

The  family  attend  the  Congregational  church  and  Jfr.  Conyers  is  a  prominent  Mason, 
belonging  to  Cando  Lodge,  No.  40,  A.  F.  &  A.  M.;  Cando  Chapter,  No.  18,  R.  A.  M.;  C.  J. 
Atkins  Commandery,  No.  14,  K.  T.,  of  Cando;  Dakota  Consistory,  No.  1,  A.  &  A.  S.  R. ;  and 
Kem  Temple,  A.  A.  0.  N.  M.  S.,  of  Grand  Forks.  He  is  one  of  the  representative  citizens 
of  his  town  and  is  deserving  of  honorable  mention  in  this  volume  on  account  of  the 
important  part  he  has  taken  in  the  development  of  Towner  county. 


JOHN   A    HAIG. 


John  A.  Haig,  county  superintendent  of  schools  of  Ramsey  county  and  a  resident  of 
Devils  Lake,  was  accorded  liberal  educational  opportunities  and  in  their  improvement  he 
c]ualified  for  the  important  work  which  he  has  since  done  in  the  educational  field.  He  was 
born  in  Potsdam,  New  York,  October  30.  1848,  and  is  a  son  of  John  and  Helen  (Aitchison) 
Haig,  both  of  whom  have  now  passed  away,  the  father  having  reached  the  venerable  age 
of   ninety-three   years    ere   he   was    called   to   the    home    beyond. 

After  attending  the  public  schools  of  his  native  city  John  A.  Haig  continued  his  studies 
in  the  Potsdam  Academy  and  in  the  Middlebury  College  at  Middlebury,  Vermont,  from 
which  he  was  graduated  with  the  class  of  1873.  He  then  became  the  first  teacher  in  the 
I'nion  Free  school  at  Madrid,  New  York,  where  he  remained  for  two  years,  after  which 
he  went  to  Massena  as  superintendent  of  the  Union  Free  School  and  Academy,  remaining 
in  that  connection  for  five  years.  He  afterward  spent  a  brief  period  as  a  law  clork  in 
Madrid  but  later  resumed  school  work  there  and  recognition  of  his  ability  led  to  his  election 
to  the  office  of  county  superintendent,  in  which  position  he  served  for  nine  years.  He  came 
to  North  Dakota  in  1894  to  accept  the  position  of  principal  of  the  city  schools  of  Devils 
Lake  and  remained  at  the  head  for  seven  years.  He  afterward  spent  two  years  as  super- 
intendent of  schools  at  Rolla  and  in  1904  took  up  farming  in  connection  with  teaching. 
He  organized  the  Consolidated  school  at  Webster,  where  he  taught  for  two  years,  and  in 
1908  he  was  elected  county  superintendent  of  schools,  which  position  he  is  now  filling  for 
the  eighth  year.  Recognizing  the  great  value  to  be  secured  through  concentrating  effort, 
money,  time  and  attention  on  school  work,  he  has  promoted  the  consolidation  of  schools  and 
has  brought  about  the  consolidation  of  seventeen  out  of  thirty-nine.  Throughout  his  pro- 
fessional career  he  has  sought  to  introduce  higher  standards  of  teaching  and  has  been 
able  to  inspire  the  teachers  and  pupils  under  him  with  much  of  his  own  zeal  and  interest 
in  the  work.  His  labors  have  been  productive  of  excellent  results,  the  far-reaching  eflFects 
of  which  will  be  felt  for  all  time  to  come. 

On  the  13tli  of  July,  1876,  Professor  Haig  was  married  to  Miss  Mary  A.  Hawley  and 


HISTORY  OF  XORTII  DAKOTA  295 

to  them  have  been  l)orn  four  children,  Alan  V.,  Myron  J..  Helen  E.  and  Ernest  H.,  but  the 
last  named  died  at  the   age  of   thirty-two   years. 

The  religious  faith  of  the  family  is  that  of  the  Presbyterian  church  and  in  his  political 
belief  Professor  Haig  is  a  republican,  but  while  he  keeps  well  informed  on  the  questions 
and  issues  of  the  day  and  is  able  to  support  his  position  by  intelligent  argument  he  has 
never  sought  nor  desired  political  proferment  outside  the  strict  path  of  his  profession.  Steady 
advancement  in  the  field  of  his  chosen  labor  has  brought  him  prominence  among  the 
educators  of  his  part  of  the  state. 


A.    B.    DORAN. 


A.  B.  Doran,  a  hardware  merchant  of  Taylor,  is  numbered  among  those  who  through 
well  directed  business  activity  are  contributing  to  the  substantial  upbuilding  of  Stark 
county.  He  was  born  at  Waddington,  St.  Lawrence  county.  New  York,  March  11,  1877.  a 
son  of  Samuel  B.  and  ,Tane  (Behan)  Doran,  both  of  whom  were  natives  of  the  Empire  state, 
where  the  father  spent  his  entire  life  and  where  the  mother  still  makes  her  home. 

A.  B.  Doran,  their  eldest  son,  was  reared  in  New  York  and  after  passing  through  the 
various  grades  of  the  public  schools  continued  his  education  in  the  College  of  Montreal, 
after  which  he  returned  home,  remaining  a  resident  of  New  York  for  several  years.  While 
in  the  east  he  joined  the  army,  with  which  he  served  for  seven  months.  The  year  1907 
witnessed  his  arrival  in  North  Dakota,  at  which  time  he  settled  in  Grand  Forks  and  entered 
the  wholesale  grocery  house  of  Nash  Brothers,  by  which  he  was  employed  for  about  a  year. 
He  afterward  removed  to  Bismarck,  where  he  entered  the  service  of  the  International 
Harvester  Company,  with  which  he  continued  for  three  years  as  a  traveling  salesman, 
during  which  period  he  made  his  headquarters  at  Bismarck.  He  next  became  a  resident  of 
Taylor,  where  he  engaged  in  the  implement  business  in  partnership  with  Cornelius  Williams 
under  the  firm  name  of  Williams  &  Doran.  That  connection  was  continued  until  1914, 
when  Mr.  Doran  sold  out  and  opened  a  hardware  store  in  Taylor,  carrying  a  full  line  of 
shelf  hardware  and  enjoying  a  good  business,  which  he  conducts  under  the  name  of  the 
Taylor  Hardware  Company.  He  has  built  up  his  trade  along  substantial  lines,  ever  recogniz- 
ing the  fact  that  satisfied  customers  are  the  best  advertisement.  In  1914  he  erected  a  fine 
brick  store  building  which  is  one  of  the  substantial  commercial  features  of  the  town. 

In  1909  Jlr.  Doran  was  married  at  Detroit,  Minnesota,  to  Miss  Margaret  Oedbaucr  of 
that  place,  and  they  have  become  parents  of  two  daughters,  Margaret  and  Cliarlotte.  The 
parents  are  members  of  the  Catholic  church  and  Mr.  Doran  is  connected  with  the  Knights 
of  Columbus  at  Rutland,  Vermont.  He  was  clerk  of  the  school  board  of  Taylor  during 
1915-16  and  served  on  the  village  board  of  trustees  during  the  first  year  after  its  incorpora- 
tion in  1912.  He  is  interested  in  community  aff'airs  to  the  extent  of  giving  hearty  coopera- 
tion to  well  defined  plans  and  measures  for  the  general  good. 


HON.   CHRISTIAN   GANSSLE. 

Hon.  Christian  (Janssle,  formerly  a  member  of  the  state  senate  and  now  actively  engaged 
in  merchandising  at  St.  Thomas,  was  born  May  20,  1866,  in  Waldorf,  Germany.  The  father, 
John  Ganssle,  also  a  native  of  Germany,  learned  and  followed  the  baker's  trade,  winning 
substantial  success  through  his  business  activity.  He  wedded  Marie  Buetler,  also  a  native 
of  Germany.  Mr.  Ganssle  died  in  that  country  in  1871.  when  his  son  Cliristian  was  but 
five  years  of  age,  and  in  1876  the  mother,  accompanied  by  her  family  of  nine  children,- 
of  wliom  Cliristian  was  the  seventh,  crossed  the  Atlantic  to  Canada,  settling  in  Bismark. 
Ontario.  Her  choice  of  a  destination  was  influenced  by  the  fact  that  she  had  friends 
formerly  from  Germany,  who  were  there  residing. 

Cliristian  Ganssle,  then   a  lad   of  ten  years,  acquired  his   education    in   the   schools  of 
Bismark,  Canada,  and   of   St.   Thomas,  North   Dakota,   the  family   having   removed   to  this 


296  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

state  in  1882.  They  were  among  the  first  settlers  of  St.  Thomas  and  after  completing 
his  education  ilr.  Ganssle  entered  a  homestead  claim  of  one  hundred  and  sixty  acres  in 
St.  Thomas  township,  Pembina  county.  This  he  cultivated  for  fifteen  years  and  still  owns 
that  tract.  In  1901  he  turned  his  attention  to  the  drug  business,  which  he  has  since  suc- 
cessfully carried  on.  •  While  inexperienced  in  pharmaceutical  lines,  he  has  had  from  the 
beginning  A.  C.  Grant,  a  registered  pharmacist,  as  a  partner.  The  firm  is  Ganssle,  Campbell  & 
Grant  and  in  addition  to  the  drug  business  they  conduct  a  large  department  store  in 
St.  Thomas,  having  a  very  liberal  patronage  which  makes  theirs  a  profitable  concern. 

•  On  the  33d  of  January,  1900,  Mr.  Ganssle  was  married  to  Miss  Lena  Morrison,  a  native 
of  Canada  and  of  Irish  descent,  the  parents  being  JNIr.  and  Mrs.  Thompson  Morrison,  who 
were  pioneer  residents  of  Pembina  county.  The  father  is  now  deceased,  while  the  mother 
makes  her  home  with  Mrs.  Ganssle. 

The  religious  faith  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Ganssle  is  that  of  the  Lutheran  church  and  he  is 
identified  also  with  the  Commercial  Club,  cooperating  heartily  with  its  efforts  to  upbuild 
the  city  and  extend  its  trade  relations.  His  political  allegiance  has  always  been  given  to 
the  republican  party  since  age  conferred  upon  him  the  right  of  franchise  and  for  the  past 
twenty  years  he  has  been  active  in  promoting  its  welfare.  He  is  now  mayor  of  St.  Thomas, 
which  position  he  is  filling  for  the  fourth  term  or  eight  years,  and  he  was  also  alderman 
of  the  city  for  six  years.  He  has  served  in  both  the  house  of  representatives  and  the 
state  senate,  being  elected  to  the  former  for  three  terms,  and  thus  he  has  left  the  impress 
of  his  individuality  upon  much  important  legislation.  He  has  a  record  second  to  none  of 
the  state's  lawmakers,  for  while  in  the  general  assembly  he  carefully  studied  the  questions 
which  came  up  for  consideration  and  viewed  each  important  problem  from  the  standpoint 
of  a  broad-minded,  public-spirited  man  who  recognized  not  only  existing  conditions  but 
looked  beyond  the  exigencies  of  the  moment  to  the  possibilities  and  opportunities  of  the 
future.  While  he  has  won  substantial  and  notable  success  in  business,  his  fellow  citizens 
have  reason  to  honor  him  for  what  he  has  accomplished  for  the  city  and  for  the  state, 
and  liigh  on  the  roll  of  North  Dakota's  most  valued  residents  appears  the  name  of 
Hon.   Christian   Ganssle. 


CHARLES  EVERETT  HUNT,  B.  A.,  M.  D.  , 

Dr.  Charles  Everett  Hunt,  engaged  in  medical  practice  at  Valley  City,  his  studious  habits 
keeping  him  in  close  connection  with  the  advance  that  is  constantly  being  made  along 
professional  lines,  was  born  in  Lamoure  county,  North  Dakota,  August  10,  1887,  a  son  of 
Everett  H.  and  Ella  (Seekins)  Hunt,  natives  of  Leon,  Cattaraugus  county,  New  York.  The 
paternal  grandfather.  Major  Hunt,  went  into  the  Civil  war  as  captain  of  a  company  which 
he  organized  and  served  throughout  the  period  of  hostilities,  being  promoted  to  the  rank 
of  major.     He  was  a  representative  of  an  old  colonial  family. 

Everett  H.  Hunt,  leaving  the  east,  became  a  resident  of  North  Dakota  in  1882  and  took 
up  a  homestead  in  Lamoure  county,  after  which  he  was  joined  bj'  his  parents  and  his 
wife's  parents  and  two  sons,  all  of  whom  secured  land  contiguous  and  formed  quite  a  set- 
tlement. For  ten  years  Everett  H.  Hunt  devoted  his- attention  to  the  development  of  hia 
claim  and  afterward  removed  to  Jamestown,  North  Dakota,  where  he  established  a  truck 
garden,  shipping  large  quantities  of  vegetables.  Later  he  went  into  the  bakery  and  restau- 
rant business,  which  he  conducted  for  some  time,  but  in  1905  he  removed  to  Manitoba, 
where  he  remained  for  a  year  and  a  half,  carrying  on  a  bakery  and  confectionery  store. 
He  tlien  located  in  Grand  Forks,  North  Dakota,  where  he  now  resides. 

In  a  family  of  two  sons  and  three  daughters  Dr.  Hunt  was  the  youngest  and  after 
mastering  the  branches  of  learning  taught  in  the  public  and  high  scliools  of  Jamestown  he 
entered  the  State  University  at  Grand  Forks  and  won  his  Bachelor  of  Arts  degree  in  1911. 
He  took  up  the  study  of  medicine  during  tlie  last  two  years  and  afterward  entered  North- 
western University  of  Chicago,  there  winning  his  M.  D.  degree  in  1913.  Having  been  suc- 
cessful in  a  competitive  examination,  he  spent  one  year  as  house  physician  and  surgeon  in 
the  Minneapolis  City  Hospital,  where  he  gained  that  broad  and  valuable  experience  which 


^ 


"*%*. 


it'f 


DR.  CHARLES  E.  HUNT 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  299 

can  never  be  secured  as  quickly  and  tlioroughly  in  any  other  way  as  in  liospital  practice. 
At  the  end  of  a  year  he  came  to  Valley  City,  where  he  opened  an  office,  and  in  the  interim 
he  has  built  up  a  large  and  increasing  practice. 

On  the  14th  of  September,  1911,  Dr.  Hunt  was  married  to  Miss  Lois  Robertson,  a  native 
of  Minnesota,  and  a  daughter  of  Dr.  E.  P.  Robertson,  president  of  Wesley  College  of  North 
Dakota.     Dr.  and  Mrs.  Hunt  have  two  daughters. 

Dr.  Hunt  is  a  Royal  Arch  Mason,  belong.s  to  the  Order  of  the  Eastern  Star  and  is  also 
connected  with  the  Knights  of  Pythias,  the  Benevolent  Protective  Order  of  Elks,  the  Moose 
anil  the  JIaccabees.  He  is  likewise  a  member  of  the  Barnes  County  Pioneer  Club.  Along 
strictly  professional  lines  he  has  membership  with  the  Cheyenne  Valley  Medical  Society 
and  the  North  Dakota  State  Medical  Society.  He  is  a  man  of  scholarly  tastes  and  habits 
who  throughout  his  life  has  been  a  student  not  only  along  the  lines  connected  with  his  pro- 
fession but  also  of  the  best  literature,  reading  broadly  and  thinking  deeply  in  connection 
with  many  questions  which  are  engaging  public  thought  and  attention. 


A.  L.  JOHNSON. 


A.  L.  .loluison,  president  of  the  city  board  of  Devils  Lake  and  one  of  the  proprietors  of 
the  Devils  Lake  Steam  Laundry,  was  born  in  Riceville,  Iowa,  November  U.  187S,  a  son  of 
Barnabas  M.  and  Fidelia  (Woolworth)  .Johnson,  the  former  now  deceased,  while  the  latter  is 
living  upon  a  homestead  claim  in  Montana. 

Following  the  removal  of  the  family  to  Lyle,  Minnesota,  A.  L.  Johnson  was  educated  in 
the  schools  of  that  place  and  in  Highland  Park  College  at  Des  Moines,  Iowa,  from  which  he 
was  graduated  witli  the  class  of  1899.  Taking  up  the  work  of  a  druggist,  he  devoted  seven 
years  to  the  business  in  Lyle,  Minnesota,  and  in  Hope,  North  Dakota,  and  in  1906  removed  to 
Devils  Lake.  The  following  year,  in  connection  with  E.  M.  Ostrander,  he  established  the 
laundry  which  they  have  since  conducted  under  the  name  of  the  Devils  Lake  Steam  Laundry. 
They  also  have  a  dry  cleaning  department  in  connection  therewith  and  something  of  the 
volume  of  their  business  is  indicated  in  the  fact  that  they  have  eighteen  employes.  Their 
business  is  conducted  according  to  the  most  modern  processes  and  methods  and  success  in 
substantial  measure  is  attending  them,  for  they  are  both  men  of  ability  and  their  close 
ajipliiation  and  unremitting  energy  are  bringing  substantial  rewards.  Mr.  Johnson  has  also 
taken  a  prominent  part  in  public  affairs.  In  1913  he  was  elected  president  of  the  city  board 
and  during  liis  term  in  office  has  installed  a  municipal  garbage  plant,  established  a  system 
of  meat  inspection  and  is  ever  looking  toward  tliose  interests  and  projects  which  pertain  to 
the  public  healtli.  The  city  has  also  been  placed  upon  a  substantial  footing  and  in  a  word 
he  has  displayed  a  most  progressive  spirit  in  conducting  municipal  afl'airs,  bringing  to  bear 
the  same  sound  judgment,  keen  insight  and  systematic  methods  which  have  characterized 
tiie  conduct  of  his  private  business  interests. 

In  July,  1904,  Mr.  Johnson  was  married  to  Miss  Bessie  Ostrander  and  to  them  have  been 
horn  two  sons  and  two  daughters,  namely:     Leonora  M.,  B.  Marion,  C.  Byron  and  Harriett  P. 

In  politics  Mr.  .Johnson  is  a  progressive  republican.  In  all  of  his  public  service  he  has 
subordinated  self-aggrandizement  to  the  general  good  and  partisanship  to  the  public  welfare 
and  his   course   in   ollicc    lia.;   r?ceived   the   highest   (■(iinnieiiil;:tion    iiiul   emlorsi-miMit 


FRANK  A.  KELLOGG. 


Tlie  Conrti  nav  Farmers  Cooperative  Association  of  Courtenay  is  abiy  managed  by  Frank 
A.  Kellogg,  an  enterprising  and  progressive  business  man,  who  in  the  conduct  of  the  interests 
intrusted  to  his  eare  is  ever  watchful  of  every  opportunity  pointing  to  success,  and  he  has 
made  the  undertaking  one  of  worth  to  the  community  as  well  as  a  source  of  profit  to  the 
stockholders.  He  was  born  in  Fillmore  county,  Minnesota,  September  1.  ISfifi,  and  is  a  son 
of  E.  D.  Kellogg,  who  was  born  in  New   Vnrk  and   at  the  age  of  twenty-two  years  removed 


300  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

westwai-a  to  Fillmore  oouiity,  Minnesota,  where  he  resided  fifty-six  years,  devoting  his  time 
and  energies  to  general  farming.  He  married  Elizabeth  Crowel,  a  native  of  Ohio  and  her 
death  occurred  in  1911,  while  Mr.  Kellogg  passed  away  in  1913. 

Of  their  family  of  eight  children  Frank  A.  Kellogg  was  the  third  in  order  of  birth. 
Spending  his  boyhood  days  upon  the  home  farm,  he  divided  his  time  between  the  district 
schools  and  the  work  of  the  fields  and  when  his  textbooks  were  put  aside  he  concentrated 
his  entire  attention  upon  the  task  of  assisting  his  father  until  he  reached  the  age  of  twenty- 
two  years,  when  lie  left  home.  For  some  time  thereafter  he  traveled  and  gained  much  knowl- 
edge in  that  way.  He  spent  a  year  at  Spokane  Falls,  a  year  in  Moscow,  Idaho,  and  six 
months  in  Kentucky  and  Tennessee,  where  he  was  engaged  in  shipping  horses  and  stock.  He 
then  came  to  North  Dakota  and  entered  a  claim  near  Fairmount  in  1892.  He  proved  up  on 
that  property  and  at  the  end  of  four  years  went  to  Todd  county,  Minnesota,  where  in  1898 
he  purchased  one  hundred  and  twenty  acres  of  land,  which  he  at  once  began  to  cultivate  and 
improve,  remaining  thereon  for  eight  months.  He  next  established  his  home  in  Courtenay, 
where  he  entered  the  grain  business  as  an  employe  of  the  Royal  Elevator  Company,  wdth 
which  he  continued  until  1909.  In  that  year  he  entered  the  employ  of  the  Homestead  & 
Dodge  Elevator  Gomapny,  with  which  he  continued  for  a  period  of  two  years.  In  1911  the 
Courtenaj-  Farmers  Co-operative  Association  was  organized  and  Jlr.  Kellogg  was  made  man- 
ager, which  position  he  has  filled  from  the  beginning.  He  aided  in  its  organization  and  tliat 
he  is  most  capa.ble  in  his  present  position  is  shown  by  the  large  dividends  that  have  been 
declared  on  the  pro  rata  plan.  There  are  seventy-si.x  stockholders  in  the  organization  and 
from  the  beginning  the  business  has  been  a  success  owing  to  the  careful  management  and 
unfaltering  enterprise  of  Mr.  Kellogg.  He  is  likewise  interested  in  farm  lands,  having  six 
hundred  and  forty  acres  in  Stutsman  county  and  three  hundred  and  twenty  acres  in  Foster 
county  near  Glenfield,  North  Dakota.  He  also  owns  one  tenth  interest  in  the  Farmers  & 
Merchants  Bank,  of  Clementsville,  North  Dakota,  and  is  a  director  in  same. 

In  1901  Mr.  Kellogg  was  married  to  Miss  Ethel  Stevens,  who  was  born  in  Yorkshire, 
England,  and  came  to  the  United  States  with  her  sister  in  1896.  Her  parents  have  both 
passed  away.  Mrs.  Kellogg  was  one  of  a  family  of  nine  children  and  by  her  marriage  has 
become  the  mother  of  two  children:  Russell,  born  in  October,  1905;  and  Minnie,  born  on  tlie 
1st  of  July,  1909. 

Mr.  Kellogg  is  an  independent  voter,  preferring  not  to  bind  himself  by  party  ties.  He 
has  served  as  a  member  of  the  town  board  but  has  never  been  ambitious  in  the  field  of  office 
seeking.  He  belongs  to  Liberty  Lodge,  No.  65,  I.  O.  0.  F.,  of  Courtenay,  in  which  he  has 
jiassed  through  all  the  chairs,  and  he  is  a  consistent  and  faithful  member  of  the  Courtenay 
Presbyterian  church,  in  which  he  is  acting  as  a  trustee.  He  does  all  in  his  power  to  further 
its  work  and  extend  its  influence  and  his  aid  and  cooperation  are  always  given  on  the  side  of 
advancement,  reform  and  improvement. 


JACOB  SCHMALENBERGER. 

Business  enterprise  in  Hebron  finds  a  worthy  representative  in  Jacob  Schmalenberger, 
the  president  of  the  Merchants  State  Bank  and  a  man  of  notable  business  ability.  His  plans 
are  always  well  defined  and  promptly  executed  and  through  his  own  labors  he  has  worked 
his  way  upward  to  success.  A  native  of  Illinois,  he  was  born  at  Millstadt,  St.  Clair  county, 
about  eight  miles  southeast  of  St.  Louis,  on  the  19th  of  August,  1853,  his  parents  being 
Jacob  and  Sophia  Schmalen,berger,  who  were  natives  of  Germany  and  after  coming  to  the 
new  world  in   18.'!4  settled  in  Illinois,  always  remaining  in  that  state. 

Jacob  Schmalenberger  of  this  review,  spending  his  youthful  days  under  the  parental 
roof,  attended  the  graded  and  high  schools  of  Millstadt  and  afterward  entered  a  college  at 
Warrenton,  Missom-i.  When  his  textbooks  were  put  aside  he  returned  home  and  began 
farming  in  connection  with  his  father,  spending  his  time  in  that  way  until  his  marriage  on 
the  36th  of  April,  1880,  when  Miss  Minnie  Albert  became  his  wife.  She  was  born  in  St. 
Louis  and  her  parents  removed  to  a  farm  in  the  same  neighborhood  where  the  Schmalen- 
berger family  resided  and  there  she  was  reared.     They  have  become   the   parents  of   four 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  301 

i-liiUlren:  Lena,  wlio  is  now  tho  wife  of  Ludwig  Reliiu,  a  resident  of  Hebron;  Fred,  wlio  is 
operating  his  father's  farm;  Katie,  the  wife  of  George  Pratzel,  proprietor  of  a  general  store 
at  Hebron;  and  Albert,  at  home. 

At  the  time  of  his  marriage  Mr.  Sthnialenberger  rented  a  farm  in  St.  Clair  count}',  Illi- 
nois, and  there  carried  on  general  agricultural  pursuits  for  about  five  years.  In  1885  he  came 
to  North  Dakota  and  settled  six  miles  northwest  of  Hebron,  where  he  took  up  a  govern- 
ment claim  of  one  hundred  and  si.xty  acres.  He  proved  up  on  that  property,  which  he  still 
owns,  and  since  then  he  has  purchased  more  land,  all  in  the  same  section  of  the  state.  His 
holdings  are  very  extensive  and  he  is  now  farming  about  thirty-one  hundred  acres.  His 
interests  are  conducted  along  mammoth  lines  and  he  is  one  of  the  foremost  agriculturists 
of  his  part  of  the  state.  He  is  now  raising  blooded  Hereford  shorthorn  cattle,  having  about 
two  hundred  and  fifty  head,  and  he  was  formerly  quite  actively  connected  with  the  sheeji 
industry.  He  has  built  one  of  the  largest  barns  in  his  part  of  tho  state,  its  dimensions  being 
forty-eight  by  eighty  feet  and  forty-eight  feet  in  height.  This  is  a  bank  barn.  In  addition 
he  has  a  large  sheep  barn  which  is  one  hundred  feet  in  length.  Much  of  his  land  is  devoted 
to  the  cultivation  of  grain  and  he  is  one  of  the  most  progressive,  wide-awake,  alert  and 
enterprising  farmers  of  North  Dakota.  He  still  gives  active  management  to  his  agricul- 
tural interests  although  in  lUlO  he  left  the  farm  and  removed  to  Hebron,  where  he  has 
since  maintained  his  residence.  In  1906  he  became  interested  in  the  Merchants  State  Bank 
and  in  1910  was  elected  to  the  presidencj',  in  which  position  he  still  continues.  He  believes 
in  maintaining  a  standard  of  service  in  banking  that  will  never  jeopardize  public  confidence 
and  in  the  conduct  of  the  bank  tempers  progressiveness  by  a  safe  conservatism.  He  is  like- 
wise a  stockholder  in  the  Bismarck  Providence  Life  Insurance  Company  of  Bismarck,  North 
Dakota. 

Mr.  Schmalenberger  gives  his  political  allegiance  to  the  republican  party,  which  he  has 
supported  since  age  conferred  upon  liim  the  right  of  franchise.  He  belongs  to  the  German 
Evangelical  church  of  Hebron,  of  which  he  has  been  one  of  the  directors  since  its  organiza- 
tion and  chairman  of  its  board  for  man}'  years.  He  believes  thoroughly  in  advancement 
'  and  works  as  earnestly  for  the  upbuilding  of  town,  county  and  state  as  he  does  to  promote 
his  individual  business  interests,  his  patriotic  spirit  tlius  taking  tangible  form  in  efforts  for 
the  general  good. 


JUDGE  FRED  S.  DEWEY. 


Fre<l  S.  Dewey,  Avho  is  now  so  efficiently  serving  as  county  judge  of  Hettinger  county. 
North  Dakota,  and  is  a  resident  of  Mott,  was  born  on  the  24th  of  September,  1864,  in  Poy 
Sippi,  Waushara  county,  Wisconsin,  and  is  descended  from  an  old  and  honored  New  England 
family,  his  parents  being  Frederick  and  Lucy  A.  (Bond)  Dewey.  The  Dewey  family  was 
founded  in  America  by  three  brothers,  one  of  whom  settled  in  Massachusetts,  another  in 
New  Hampshire  and  the  third  in  Vermont,  and  it  is  from  the  last  that  Admiral  Dewey  was 
descended,  while  Nelson  A.  Dewey,  territorial  governor  of  Wisconsin,  was  descended  from 
the  one  who  settled  in  New  Hampshire.  The  -Judge,  however,  belongs  to  the  Massachusetts 
branch  of  the  family.  His  father  was  born  in  Westfield,  that  state,  and  was  a  son  of 
Cliarlps  Dewey,  whose  father  was  one  of  the  three  brothers  who  came  to  this  country.  The 
.Tudge's  father  removed  to  Wisconsin  during  pioneer  days  and  was  accompanied  by  several  of 
his  brothers,  one  of  whom,  Charles  Dewey,  erected  the  first  brick  building  in  Milwaukee. 
From  that  city  Frederick  Dewey  drove  across  the  country  to  Waushara  county,  where  he 
took  up  a  tract  of  government  land.  Although  he  passed  through  a  fine  prairie  country  he 
was  looking  for  timber  land  in  order  that  he  might  have  an  abundance  of  fire  wood  and 
building  material.  He  cleared  and  improved  his  homestead  and  bought  more  land  adjoining, 
which  remained  in  the  family  until  1911.  He  died  upon  that  place  at  the  age  of  sevent.v- 
five  years,  and  his  wife,  who  was  a  native  of  Chardon,  Ohio,  passed  away  in  .January,  1904, 
at  tlie  age  of  seventy-four  years. 

In  the  family  of  this  worthy  couple  were  seven  cliildien,  of  whom  Judge  Dewey  is  the 
youngest.     He   spent   his   school   days   in    Wisconsin    and   remained   on   the   home   farm    until 


302  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

1897,  wliuii  he  turned  his  attention  to  genei-al  mereliandising,  but  after  the  death  of  his 
partner  in  1899  he  closed  out  the  business  and  took  up  insurance.  During  this  time  lie  lived 
with  his  mother  but  shortly  after  her  death  in  1904  he  came  to  North  Dakota,  being  induced 
by  the  ^V'.  H.  Brown  Company  to  come  to  this  state  and  look  the  country  over.  He  was 
well  pleased  with  prospects  here  and  on  his  return  homo  persuaded  his  brother  H.  A.  Dewey 
and  J.  R.  Chalmers  to  accompany  him  on  his  removal  to  North  Dakota.  They  all  home- 
steaded  four  miles  south  of  JMott  in  Hettinger  county,  the  Judge  locating  upon  his  place  in 
November,  1904,  and  to  its  development  and  cultivation  he  devoted  his  energies  for  two 
years.  In  the  winter  of  1906-7  he  took  an  active  part  in  organizing  the  county  and  at  that 
time  was  appointed  county  judge,  in  which  capacity  he  has  since  served,  having  been  elected 
and  reelected  at  each  succeeding  election.  He  is  still  the  owner  of  a  good  farm  of  three 
hundred  and  twenty  acres  but  since  1910  has  resided  in  Mott  and  still  owns  his  city  prop- 
erty there.  He  has  seen  Mott  grow  from  a  piece  of  raw  prairie  with  one  little  frame  build- 
ing, forty  miles  from  a  railroad,  to  a  flourishing  little  city  with  two  railroads. 

On  the  4th  of  December,  1908,  Judge  Dewey  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Abbie  J. 
Contanche,  a  native  of  Wisconsin  and  a  daughter  of  John  Contanche,  who  was  one  of  the 
early  settlers  of  that  state.  After  a  short  married  life  of  three  years  Mrs.  Dewey  passed 
away  in  November,  1911,  leaving  many  friends  as  well  as  her  husband  to  mourn  her  loss. 
The  Judge  is  a  Master  Mason  and  as  a  public  official  he  well  merits  the  confidence  and  trust 
reposed  in  him,  for  his  duties  have  all  been  most  faithfully  and  conscientiously  discharged, 
his  decisions  being  fair  and  unbiased.  A  genial,  courteous  gentleman,  he  has  made  a  host 
of  warm  friends  during  his  residence  in  Hettinger  county  and  wherever  known  is  held  in 
tlie  highest  esteem. 


THOMAS  FLEMING  McMILLAN. 

Thomas  Fleming  McJMillan,  member  of  the  general  mercantile  firm  of  Andrus  &' 
McMillan  at  Thompson,  Grand  Forks  county,  was  born  September  25,  1856,  in  Butler  county, 
Pennsylvania,  a  son  of  Thomas  Simpson  McMillan,  who  was  born  in  Belfast,  in  the  north  of 
Ireland  on  the  1st  of  February,  1831,  a  son  of  Thomas  and  Elizabeth  (Nieols)  McMillan. 
It  was  in  1845  that  Thomas  Simpson  McMillan  came  to  the  United  States,  settling  first  in 
Philadelphia,  while  later  he  located  in  Butler  county,  Pennsylvania,  where  he  married 
Miss  Mary  Jane  Boyd,  who  was  born  in  the  Keystone  state  but  was  of  Irish  descent,  her 
parents  being  Samuel  and  Mary  J.  (Stevenson)  Boyd.  For  some  years  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Thomas 
McMillan  lived  in  Butler  count}-,  Pennsylvania,  and  the  mother  there  passed  away  in  1868 
at  the  age  of  forty-three  years.  In  the  spring  of  1871  the  father  removed  to  Franklin  county, 
Kansas,  casting  in  his  lot  with  its  early  settlers.  In  the  fall  of  1875  he  went  with  his  family 
to  Pierce  county,  Wisconsin,  where  he  carried  on  general  agricultural  pursuits  until  his 
death,  which  occurred  at  River  Falls,  Wisconsin,  September  2,  1907,  when  he  had  reached  the 
age  of  eighty-six  years,  seven  months  and  one  day.  In  the  family  were  nine  children,  of 
whom  two  passed  away  in  infancy. 

Thomas  F.  JlciUUan,  the  third  in  order  of  birth,  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  of 
Pennsylvania,  Kansas  and  Wisconsin,  to  which  states  he  accompanied  his  father  on  his 
various  removals.  His  early  training  was  that  of  the  farm  bred  boy  and  he  continued  to 
assist  his  father  in  the  cultivation  of  the  fields  until  he  reached  the  age  of  eighteen  years. 
He  then  started  out  to  earn  his  own  living  and  was  first  employed  as  a  farm  hand.  Later 
he  took  up  the  occupation  of  carpentering  and  served  for  three  years  at  his  trade.  Before 
engaging  in  carpentering,  however,  he  removed  from  Wisconsin  to  North  Dakota  on  the  21st 
of  May,  1880,  and  homcsteaded  one  hundred  and  fifty-eight  and  two-thirds  acres  of  land  in 
Michigan  township.  Grand  Forks  county,  three  miles  from  the  town  of  Thompson.  He 
proved  up  on  that  place  and  continued  to  cultivate  it  for  three  years,  retaining  the  ownership 
thereof  for  a  number  of  years,  although  be  has  now  sold  that  property.  After  leaving  the 
farm  he  turned  his  attention  to  mercantile  pursuits,  becoming  a  clerk  in  the  employ  of 
John  Bjorgo,  a  pioneer  merchant  and  lumber  dealer,  with  whom  he  remained  for  two 
years.    He  then  joined  J.  L.  Andrus  in  1898  in  forming  the  present  firm  of  Andrus  &  McJIillan 


THOMAS  F.  McMillan 


HISTORY  OF  NOR  11 1  DAKOTA  305 

lor  tlie  conduct  of  a  general  merchandise  store  and  in  tlie  intervening  period  they  have 
developed  a  business  of  extensive  and  gratifying  projjortions.  They  also  have  various  other 
interests,  being  stocliholders   in  other  business  concerns. 

Fraternally  Mr.  JlcMillan  is  a  member  of  the  Independent  Order  of  Foresters  and  is 
the  present  court  deputy.  His  religious  faith  is  that  of  the  Methodist  church  and  he  is  an 
active  and  earnest  worker  in  that  organization,  serving  as  secretary-treasurer  of  the  church 
and  as  one  of  its  trustees.  In  politics  he  is  a  prohibitionist  where  national  issues  are 
involved  but  at  local  elections  casts  an  independent  ballot.  He  deserves  classification  witli 
the  self-made  men  of  his  district  for,  starting  out  in  life  at  the  age  of  eighteen,  he  has 
steadily  worked  his  way  upward,  his  prosperity  being  due  to  his  energy  and  ability. 


JAjVIES  L.  BOUCHER. 


The  banking  interests  of  Burleigli  county  have  a  worthy  representative  in  James  L. 
Boucher,  the  w-ell  known  and  popular  cashier  of  the  DriscoU  State  Bank  of  UriscoU,  North 
Dakota.  He  was  born  in  Waseca,  Minnesota,  .January  9,  1892,  his  parents  being  Thomas 
and  Mary  (Bowe)  Boucher,  who  are  natives  of  Pennsylvania  and  Wisconsin  respectively. 
At.  an  early  day  they  removed  to  Jlinnesota  and  located  in  Waseca,  but  subsequently  came 
to  North  Dakota.  After  living  in  Fargo  for  a  time  they  took  up  their  residence  in  Valley 
City,   where   they   now    make   theii'   home. 

James  L.  Boucher  accompanied  his  parents  on  their  removal  to  this  state.  During  his 
boyhood  and  youth  he  acquired  a  good  practical  education,  attending  school  in  Aberdeen, 
South  Dakota,  for  a  time.  Later  he  was  a  pupil  at  the  Valley  City  Normal  and  also  pur- 
sued a  course  in  the  Minneapolis  Business  College.  On  starting  out  in  life  for  himself  he 
secured  a  position  in  the  postoffice  at  Aberdeen  and  was  in  the  employ  of  the  government 
for  three  years.  He  was  next  with  the  Chicago,  Milwaukee  &  St.  Paul  Railroad  as  an 
employe  in  the  superintendent's  office  at  Aberdeen  for  a  few  years  and  then  removed  to 
Driscoll,  entering  the  DriscoU  State  Bank  as  bookkeeper.  After  holding  that  position  for 
one  year  he  was  made  assistant  cashier,  in  which  capacity  he  also  served  for  a  year,  but 
since  1914  has  been  cashier,  filling  that  office  with  credit  to  himself  and  to  the  entire  satis- 
faction of  all  concerned.  The  Driscoll  State  Bank  was  organized  in  1908  with  a  capital  of 
ten  thousand  dollars  and  its  first  officers  wei-e  George  H.  Niles,  president;  S.  J.  Simonson, 
vice  president;  and  George  V.  Cunningham,  cashier.  Mi-.  Niles  is  still  the  chief  executive, 
while  the  other  olTicers  at  the  present  time  are  George  V.  Cunningham,  vice  president;  and 
•James  L.  Boucher,  cashier.  The  capital  stock  has  been  increased  to  fifteen  thousand  dollars 
and  there  is  a  surplus  of  five  thousand  dollars.  A  new  bank  building  of  stone  was  erected 
in  1908  and  it  is  modern  and  up-to-date  in  its  appointments.  There  are  a  large  number 
of  safety  deposit  boxes  and  the  deposits  of  the  bank  now  amount  to  seventy-five  thousand 
dollars.  The  bank  takes  both  checking  and  saving  accounts  and  business  is  conducted 
on  a  safe  basis  which  commends  it  to  the  public. 

In  addition  to  his  banking  business  Mr.  Boucher  has  become  interested  in  other  enter- 
prises and  is  now  dealing  in  automobiles,  being  a  distributor  for  the  Chevrolet,  Oldsmobile 
and  Hudson  cars.  He  is  a  member  of  the  Catholic  church  and  also  of  the  Knights  of 
Ciilumbus  lodge  at  Bismarck.  Although  still  a  young  man  he  has  already  met  with  excellent 
success  in  life  and  today  ranks  with  the  leading  business  men  of  his  community. 


GEORGK  IIKXKV   .MOKIJ.RING. 

George  Henry  Moellring,  a  lawyer  practicing  at  the  bar  of  Ray.  Williams  county,  was 
born  near  (Juincy,  Adams  county,  Illinois,  November  14.  1879.  His  father,  Daniel  C.  Moellrin", 
whose  birth  occurred  near  Hanover.  (Jermany.  was  tliere  reared  to  the  age  of  twenty-five 
years,  when  in  1859  he  crossed  the  Atlantic  and  settled  in  Adams  county,  Illinois,  where  he 
carried  on  farming  until  his  death.     It  was  there  that  he  wedded  Christina  Peters,  a  native 


306  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

of  Lorraine,  France,  who  in  childhood  accompanied  her  parents  to  New  Orleans,  Louisiana, 
where  she  was  educated.     She  also  died  on  the  old  home  place  in  Adams  county,  Illinois. 

It  was  in  his  native  county  that  George  H.  Moellring  was  reared  and  educated,  sup- 
plementing his  district  school  training  by  study  in  the  Qiaddock  College  at  Quincy.  For 
professional  training  he  entered  the  Highland  Park  College  at  Des  Moines,  Iowa,  where 
he  pursued  his  law  course  and  was  then  admitted  to  the  Iowa  bar  in  1901.  He  afterward 
practiced  law  in  Mason  City,  Iowa,  for  a  year  and  then  came  to  North  Dakota,  settling  at 
Lano'don,  the  county  seat  of  Cavalier  county,  where  he  remained  in  active  practice  from 
1903  until  1905  and  during  that  period  homesteaded.  In  the  latter  year  he  removed  to 
Ray,  where  he  oi)ened  a  law  office  and  has  since  engaged  in  practice,  being  now  accorded 
a  large  and  important  clientage.  His  knowledge  of  the  principles  of  jurisprudence  is  com- 
prehensive and  exact  and  the  thoroughness  with  which  he  prepares  his  cases  is  one  of  the 
elements  of  his  success.  He  owns  farm  lands  in  North  Dakota,  beside  his  residence,  and 
business   property   in   Ray. 

On  the  2Sth  of  June,  1905,  at  Meltonville,  Iowa,  Mr.  Moellring  was  married  to  Miss 
Nellie  Wiley,  who  was  there  born  and  reared.  She  is  a  graduate  of  the  Iowa  Normal 
School  at  Cedar  Falls  and  taught  school  in  that  state  prior  to  her  marriage.  She  is  a 
'laughter  of  Harrison  and  Ellen  Wiley,  the  former  a  native  of  New  York  and  the  latter  of 
Wisconsin,  but  now  residents  of  Meltonville,  where  they  settled  at  an  early  day.  Mr.  and 
Mrs.  Moellring  have  three  children,  as  follows:  Vivian  Marceille,  who  was  born  October  18, 
1910;  Genevieve  Leone,  whose  birth  occurred  July  1,  1913;  and  Lela  Lorraine,  whose  natal 
day  was  November  14,  1915.     All  were  born  in  Ray. 

Politically  Mr.  Moellring  is  a  democrat  and  has  been  an  active  worker  in  the  party. 
He  belongs  to  the  Methodist  Episcopal  church  and  is  a  charter  member  of  the  Odd  Fellows 
lodge  at  Ray,  of  which  he  has  been  noble  grand  and  for  six  years  a  delegate  to  the  grand 
lodge.  He  is  also  a  past  chancellor  commander  of  the  Knights  of  Pythias  lodge  at  Ray  and 
lie  has  passed  all  the  chairs  in  the  Modern  Woodmen  camp  in  Illinois,  of  which  he  was  a 
member.  He  is  the  author  if  a  volume  entitled  "The  Neutral's  Portion,"  a  book  of  wide  . 
circulation  which  he  published  under  the  nom  de  plume  of  Elwin  Lorraine  and  which  deals 
with  the  problem  of  the  Americans  supplying  munitions  to  the  warring  nations  in  Europe. 
It  is  written  in  the  form  of  a  romance  but  surrounds  the  question  indicated.  It  was  brought 
out  by  a  New  York  publisher  and  has  already  been  widely  read.  It  displays  marked  literary 
talent  as  well  as  careful  and  comprehensive  handling  of  the  question  discussed.  The  pub- 
lishers of  the  book  claim  for  it  the  distinction  that  it  is  the  first  and  only  novel  at  present 
written  around  the  theme  that  it  presents. 


B.  .J.  SCHOREGGE. 


There  is  probably  no  resident  of  Williston  who  takes  a  more  active  interest  in  her 
upbuilding  and  prosperity  than  B.  J.  Schoregge,  cashier  of  the  Williams  County  State  Bank. 
He  is  untiring  in  his  efforts  to  promote  the  development  of  the  city  and  never  withholds  his 
support  from  any  worthy  enterprise  for  the  public  good.  He  was  born  in  Mankato,  Min- 
nesota, June  6,  1875,  a  son  of  John  J.  and  Mary  (Lang)  Schoregge.  His  father  was  a  native 
of  Germany  but  was  brought  to  America  by  his  parents  in  childhood,  the  family  locating  in 
Boston,  Massachusetts,  where  he  attended  the  grammar  and  high  schools.  Having  decided 
to  adopt  the  legal  profession,  he  also  attended  law  school  and  for  a  time  engaged  in  practice 
in  Boston  and  later  in  Olivia,  Minnesota,  where  he  located  in  the  early  '70s.  He  died  in 
that  state  in  1913  and  his  wife  is  also  deceased.  She  was  born,  reared  and  educated  in 
Wisconsin. 

B.  J.  Schoregge  passed  the  days  of  bis  boyhood  and  youth  in  Glencoe,  McLeod  county, 
Minnesota,  and  is  indebted  to  the  schools  of  that  city  for  the  education  he  acquired.  He  early 
became  identified  with  the  banking  business  for  as  a  boy  he  was  employed  in  a  bank  for 
some  time.  In  1902  he  went  to  Rolla,  North  Dakota,  and  served  as  cashier  of  the  State  Bank 
of  Rolla,  later  holding  a  similar  position  in  the  First  State  Bank  of  Balfour,  this  state. 
In  1904  he  became  assistant  cashier  of  the  First  National  Bank  of  Williston,  in  which  capacity 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  307 

lie  served  until  the  fall  of  1905,  when  he  was  promoted  to  cashier,  and  filled  that  position 
until  1909.  For  a  short  time  he  was  then  connected  with  the  First  National  Bank  of  Leeds, 
North  Dakota,  but  in  July,  1909,  he  was  appointed  dejjuty  state  bank  examiner  and  entered 
upon  the  duties  of  that  position,  which  he  filled  until  August,  1914,  when  he  became  vice 
president  of  the  Williams  County  State  Bank  at  Williston  and  was  later  made  cashier.  In 
that  capacity  he  is  still  serving  and  he  occupies  an  enviable  position  in  banking  circles  of  the 
state. 

On  the  Sth  of  August,  1909,  llr.  Schoregge  was  married  in. Williston  to  Miss  Nell  Hitt, 
who  was  born  in  Saline  county,  Missouri,  and  remained  there  until  removing  to  Williston  in 
1906.  In  that  city  they  have  a  fine  home  and  Mrs.  Schoregge  owns  farm  property  in  this 
state.  He  is  a  member  of  the  Episcopal  church  and  his  wife  belongs  to  the  Methodist  church, 
and  both  occupy  an  enviable  position  in  social  circles.  Fraternally  he  belongs  to  Mount 
Moriah  Lodge,  A.  F.  &  A.  M.;  Mount  Moriah  Chapter,  R.  A.  M.;  and  also  to  the  Ancient 
Order  of  United  Workmen,  all  of  Williston.  His  political  support  is  given  the  democratic 
party. 

Mr.  Schoregge  has  an  interesting  military  chapter  in  his  history.  Before  coming  to 
North  Dakota  he  served  for  eight  years  in  the  Minnesota  National  Guard  at  Olivia,  becoming 
first  sergeant  of  Company  H,  Third  Regiment.  At  Williston  he  joined  Company  E,  First  North 
Dakota  National  Guard  and  was  made  first  lieutenant,  being  afterward  promoted  to  captain 
of  the  company,  in  which  capacity  he  served  until  the  spring  of  1913.  He  was  at  that  time 
appointed  deputy  state  bank  examiner  and  as  his  duties  in  that  connection  kept  him  upon 
the  road  he  resigned  from  the  company  and  is  now  captain  of  the  North  Dakota  National 
Guard  on  supernumerai-y  list.  Outside  of  his  business  he  is  now  principally  interested  in 
advancing  the  welfare  of  his  adopted  city  and  is  everywhere  recognized  as  one  of  its  most 
public-spirited  and  progressive  citizens. 


CHARLES   P.   CARPENTER. 


Charles  P.  Carpenter,  of  Grafton,  treasurer  of  Walsh  county,  was  born  March  19,  1881, 
near  Forest  River,  in  Grand  Forks  county.  His  father,  John  A.  Carpenter,  a  native  of  New 
York  and  a  descendant  of  an  old  family  of  that  state,  came  of  English  ancestry,  being  a 
grandson  of  Henry  Carpenter,  a  native  of  England,  who  became  the  founder  of  the  family 
in  the  new  world.  His  son,  James  Carpenter,  was  both  a  farmer  and  carpenter,  learning 
the  trade  in  early  life.  He  became  a  pioneer  settler  of  Missouri  and  on  removing  to  the 
territory  of  Dakota  homesteaded  at  Forest  River,  where  he  resided  to  the  time  of  his 
death,  which  occurred  in  1908,  when  he  had  reached  the  advanced  age  of  eighty-seven  years. 
He  was  a  Civil  war  veteran,  serving  with  a  New  York  regiment,  and  ere  the  close  of  hos- 
tilities  had   reached   the  rank   of  captain. 

.John  A.  Carpenter  devoted  his  life  to  general  farming  and  to  the  sale  of  farm  imple- 
ments. In  the  spring  of  1879  he  removed  from  central  Missouri  in  a  prairie  schooner  to 
Forest  River,  North  Dakota.  He  had  been  reared  and  educated  in  the  Empire  state  but 
soon  after  the  close  of  the  war  had  removed  to  Missouri.  His  political  allegiance  is  given 
the  republican  party  and  his  religious  faith  is  that  of  the  Methodist  church.  He  is  now  living 
retired  from  active  business  and  makes  his  home  in  California.  He  married  Elizabeth  Cook, 
a  native  of  London.  England,  and  a  daughter  of  Philip  Cook,  who  became  a  resident  of 
Illinois  when  Mrs.  Carpenter  was  but  two  years  of  ago.  He  was  afterward  numbered  among 
the  early  settlers  of  Grand  Forks  county.  North  Dakota,  where  he  homesteaded  alxiut  1879 
and  there  resided  until  191.!.  when  he  removed  with  his  daughter  and  son-in-law  to  California, 
where  he  is  now  living  at  the  notable  age  of  ninety-six  years.  His  wife  passed  away  at 
Forest  River  in  1905,  at  the  age  of  seventy-seven  years.  It  was  in  Jlissouri  that  Mr.  and 
Mrs.  .lohn  A.  Carpenter  were  married  and  to  them  were  born  two  children,  the  daughter 
being  Nettie,  now  the  wife  of  Thomas  Greene,  of  Montana.  The  wife  and  mother  passed 
away   December   23,    1913. 

After  attending  public  schools  of  Forest  River.  Charles  P.  Carpenter  continued  his  educa- 
tion   in   the   University  of  North   Dakota.     To   the   age   of   ten   years   he  remained   upon   the 


308  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

home  farm  and  wlien  twenty-two  years  of  age  started  out  to  earn  his  own  living,  being  first 
employed  as  a  clerk  in  a  general  merchandise  store  at  Forest  River.  He  spent  two  years 
in  that  connection  and  in  the  spring  of  1903  entered  the  office  of  the  treasurer  of  Walsh 
r'ounty  in  the  position  of  deputy.  In  1913  he  was  elected  county  treasurer  and  received 
endorsement  of  his  first  term's  service  in  a  reelection  in  1914.  He  has  made  an  excellent 
record  in  that  position,  proving  a  faithful  custodian  of  the  public  funds,  his  duties  being 
discharged  most  capably  and  systematically. 

On  the  2d  of  August,  1905,  Mr.  Carpenter  was  married  in  Grafton  to  iliss  Edna  Hamel. 
a  native  of  Minnesota  and  a  daughter  of  Joseph  and  Mary  (Greenagel)  Hamel.  They  have 
two  children:     Ralph,  born  in  Grafton,  June  24,  1906;  and  Gordon,  Januai-y  14,  1908. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Carpenter  are  members  of  the  First  Presbyterian  church  and  Mr.  Carpenter 
is  also  an  exemplary  representative  of  the  Masonic  fi'aternity.  He  was  made  a  Mason  in 
Grafton  in  1908  and  has  been  secretary  of  his  lodge  for  five  years  and  of  the  Royal  Arch 
cliapter  for  two  years,  serving  in  the  latter  position  at  the  present  time.  He  also  has 
i-.iembership  with  the  Jlodern  Woodmen  of  America,  the  Commercial  Club  and  the  Grafton 
Curling  Club.  Politically  he  exercises  his  right  of  franchise  in  support  of  the  men  and 
measures  of  the  republican  party  and  in  its  work  takes  an  active  and  helpful  interest,  doing 
all  in  his  power  to  promote  its  growth  and  insure  its  success  by  reason  of  his  firm  belief 
in  the  principles  of  the  party.  He  is  indeed  a  public-spirited  citizen  and  one  whose  efforts 
luT'e  boen  a  potent  force  in  upholding  high  standards  in  public  service. 


JOHN  O.  MILSTEN. 


John  0.  Milsten  is  cashier  of  the  First  National  Bank  of  Belfield,  one  of  the  strong 
financial  institutions  of  Stark  county.  He  was  born  in  Sacred  Heart,  Minnesota,  July  21, 
1881,  a  son  of  Lars  and  Ingeborg  (Snelling)  Milsten.  He  entered  upon  his  banking  career 
on  attaining  his  majority,  at  which  time  be  secured  a  position  as  bookkeeper  in  tlie  First 
National  Bank  at  Benson,  Miiniesota,  where  he  remained  for  a  year.  He  then  returned  to 
Sacred  Heart  and  engaged  in  farming  in  that  locality  in  connection  with  his  brother,  Hernum 
Milsten,  being  actively  identified  with  agricultural  pursuits  for  about  two  years.  In  1906 
he  removed  to  Belfield  and  was  made  cashier  of  the  Belfield  State  Bank.  That  bank  ^^as 
organized  in  March,  1906,  and  capitalized  for  ten  thousand  dollars.  Its  oflScers  were:  H.  R. 
Lyon,  president;  R.  C.  Davis,  vice  president;  and  Cliarles  F.  Picker,  cashier.  Mi\  Lyon  was 
succeeded  by  Ed  O'Connor,  while  Mr.  Milsten  became  cashier.  The  control  was  purchased  in 
1910  by  the  Holland-Dakota  Land  Company,  which  held  it  for  a  little  more  than  a  year, 
when  R.  C.  Davis  and  .J.  0.  Milsten  became  the  controlling  factors  in  the  institution,  follow- 
ing the  purchase  of  the  majority  of  stock.  In  September,  1909,  the  bank  was  reorganizeil, 
becoming  a  national  bank,  and  the  capital  stock  was  increased  to  twenty-five  thousand  dol- 
lars. Mr.  Milsten  continued  as  cashier,  which  office  he  occupied  until  March,  1911,  when  he 
sold  his  interest  in  that  institution.  He  then  joined  R.  C.  Davis  and  Anton  Anderson  in 
organizing  the  Merchants  State  Bank  of  Belfield,  of  which  Mr.  Davis  became  the  president, 
Mr.  Anderson  vice  president  and  Mr.  Milsten  cashier,  with  C.  M.  Barton  as  assistant  casliicr. 
In  April,  1910,  the  Merchants  State  Bank  and  the  First  National  Bank  were  consolidated, 
becoming  the  First  National  Bank,  which  is  today  capitalized  for  twenty-five  thousand  dollars 
and  has  a  surjdus  of  an  equal  amount.  The  bank  is  in  excellent  condition,  their  statement 
of  September  12,  1916.  showing  resources  amounting  to  three  hundred  fifteen  thousand  and 
forty-two  dollars,  which  shows  a  marked  increase  in  the  business.  At  the  end  of  the 
first  year  theii-  dejiosits  amounted  to  one  hundred  and  fifty-nine  thousand  dollars.  The  bank 
owns  its  own  building  and  the  business  is  conducted  along  safe  conservative  lines  that  win 
public  confidence  and  support.  It  makes  real  estate  loans  and  also  handles  insurance,  while 
its  banking  methods  are  most  sound.  Mr.  Milsten  is  also  interested  in  farm  lands  in  North 
Dakota  and  Minnesota  and  is  himself  farming  about  six  hundred  and  forty  acres.  He  has 
oi)erated  quite  extensively^  in  land  and  the  real  estate  dciiartmciit  of  tlic  liaiik  is  an  impor- 
tant one. 

In  Slay.  1912,  ilr.  Milsten  was  married  to  Miss  .Jennie  Belle  Wellmaii.  of  Anoka.  Minne- 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  309 

sot.ii,  ii  ilaiiyliti'i-  of  A.  K.  W'L'llmaii,  ami  lluy  have  two  thihiri'ii,  -laiiet  May  and  .Johil 
Wellman.  llr.  Milsten  is  a  member  of  the  Lutlieran  ehureh  of  Sacred  Heart  and  fraternally 
lie  is  conni'oted  with  the  Odd  Fellows  lodge  at  Belfield  and  the  Elks  lodge  at  Dickinson.  In 
politics  he  is  a  stalwart  republican  and  served  as  village  treasurer  before  the  town  was 
incorporated.  He  has  since  been  a  member  of  the  city  council  and  for  ten  jears  has  been 
clerk  of  the  scIkjoI  board.  He  is  a  member  of  the  ("onimercial  Club  and  is  actively  and 
liclprnlly   interested  in  everytliing  peitaining  to  tlic  ])iiblic  welfare. 


FRED  R.  STEVENS. 


Fred  R.  Stevens,  a  member  of  tin-  Ramsey  county  bar  and  a  resident  of  Crary,  was  born 
in  Humbird,  Wisconsin,  on  the  9th  of  July,  1869,  a  son  of  Alfred  and  Frances  (Wilder) 
Stevens.  The  father,  a.  farmer  by  occupation,  left  Wisconsin  in  1880  and  removed  to  North 
Dakota,  making  the  journey  westward  with  team  and  wagon.  He  homesteaded  in  Ramsey 
county,  after  which  he  engaged  successfully  in  farming  for  a  number  of  years  but  is  now 
living  retired,  enjoying  a  rest  which  he  has  truly  earned  and  richly  deserves.  His  wife  has 
passed  away. 

Fred  R.  Stevens  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  of  Wisconsin  to  the  age  of  sixteen 
years,  after  which  lie  joined  his  parents  to  North  Dakota.  They  were  among  the  pioneer 
settlers  of  Ramsey  county,  so  that  he  early  became  inured  to  the  hardships,  privations  and 
experiences  of  frontier  life.  He  early  aided  in  the  arduous  task  of  develoj)ing  a  now  farm 
and  later  he  engaged  in  farming  on  his  own  account  until  1896,  when  he  turned  his  atten- 
tion to  the  implement  business,  w'hich  he  carried  on  for  eight  j'ears.  He  also  spent  ten 
years  in  the  real  estate  business  and  while  thus  occupied  devoted  his  leisure  hours  to  the 
study  of  law.  He  afterward  took  special  law  work  in  the  University  of  North  Dakota  and 
was  admitted  to  the  bar  in  June,  1914.  He  has  since  engaged  in  active  practice  and  is 
making  steady  advance  along  professional  lines,  for  he  has  already  demonstrated  his  ability 
to  cope  with  intricate  and  complex  legal  problems.  He  also  continues  active  in  the  real 
estate  business. 

On  the  7th  of  October,  1901,  Mr.  Stevens  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Rose  Southam 
and  to  them  was  born  one  child,  Donovan  A.  Jlrs.  Stevens  died  July  24,  1903,  and  on  the 
1st  of  May,  I'JOG,  Jlr.  Stevens  wedded  Miss  Edith  Foster.  They  are  members  of  the  Con- 
gregational church  and  he  is  a  Mason  of  high  rank  and  belongs  to  the  Mystic  Shrine.  In 
politics  he  is  a  democrat  and  in  the  fall  of  lOlfi  was  a  candidate  in  Ramsey  county  for  the 
ofiice  of  states  attorney.  He  is  connected  with  the  school  board  of  the  Crary  School  for  the 
Deaf  and  Dumb  at  Devils  Lake  and  he  is  interested  in  many  public  questions  and  measures, 
giving  active  support  to  various  projects  that  have  for  their  object  the  welfare  and  upbuild- 
ing of  city,  county  and  state. 


JAMES  J.  SiUTH. 


•Tames  J.  Smith,  city  engineer  of  Grand  Forks,  was  born  in  Pakenli.im,  Ontario,  April 
4,  186.S.  and  was  the  second  of  the  six  children  whose  parents  were  Daniel  M.  and  Mary 
(Mantle)  Smith.  The  father,  a  native  of  County  Cavan,  Ireland,  accompanied  his  parents, 
Mr.  and  Mrs.  Daniel  Smith,  on  their  emigration  to  Canada  when  a  youth  of  thirteen  years, 
the  family  becoming  pioneer  residents  of  Ontario.  The  grandfather  was  a  trustee  of  an 
estate  in  Ireland  which  was  owned  by  an  Englisli  bisliop  and  looked  after  the  private  inter- 
ests of  the  ])relate.  Daniel  M.  Smith  became  a  merchant,  nu'cting  with  fair  success  in  busi- 
ness for  about  thirty  years  but  during  a  widespread  financial  panic  he  lost  much  of  the 
fortune  that  he  had  acquired.  About  1884  he  removed  to  JFcPherson  county.  North  Dakota, 
where  he  engaged  in  farming  throughout  his  remaining  days.  He  died  about  1888,  at  the 
age  of  sixty-five  years,  while  his  father  reached  the  notable  old  age  of  one  himdred  j-ears, 
passing  away  in  Canada.     The  mother  of  .Tames  J.  Smith  Avas  born  in  Canada  and  was  a 


310  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

(laughter  of  James  Mantle,  a  Canadian  ijioueer  of  Irish  birth  born  in  the  south  of  Ireland, 
while  the  Smith  family  came  from  the  north  of  Ireland.  Mrs.  Daniel  M.  Smith  died  in  her 
native  country  about  1873,  when  thirty-three  years  of  age. 

James  J.  Smith  was  educated  in  the  schools  of  Ontario  and  of  Michigan.  When  seven- 
teen years  of  age  he  started  out  in  life  on  his  own  account  and  for  two  years  engaged  in 
teaching  in  his  native  country.  He  was  also  employed  for  a  similar  period  in  Iosco  county, 
Michigan.  He  next  entered  the  employ  of  the  Seattle  &  West  Coast  Railway  Company  in 
Washington  territory,  being  engaged  in  preliminary  construction  work,  and  in  that  con- 
nection he  became  familiar  with  the  profession  of  civil  engineering.  He  spent  seven  years  in 
railroad  work  and  three  years  in  mining  engineering  work  at  Cripple  Creek,  Colorado.  In 
February,  1897,  he  arrived  in  Grand  Forks,  North  Dakota,  and  was  employed  by  W.  S.  Russell 
in  architectural  and  engineering  lines,  remaining  with  him  until  the  fall  of  1898,  when  he 
became  a  city  employe  in  the  capacity  of  assistant  city  engineer.  In  1900,  on  the  death 
of  Aleck  Oldham,  then  city  engineer,  he  was  appointed  to  fill  the  vacancy  and  so  continued 
until  the'  spring  of  1909.  During  the  succeeding  four  years  he  was  in  Nevada.  Oregon  and 
California  engaged  in  railroad  and  mining  work.  On  returning  to  Grand  Forks  in  1913  he 
was  reappointed  city  engineer  and  has  continuously  occupied  the  position  to  the  present 
time.  In  point  of  length  of  service  and  improvement  of  sewers,  paving,  water  works  and 
other  large  projects  he  has  done  more  than  any  of  his  predecessors  in  office  ajid  hence  it  is 
that  his  official  career  has  been  strongly  endorsed.  He  also  had  charge  of  all  the  big  county 
ditches  built  in  Grand  Forks  county.  In  previous  years  lie  worked  on  the  Busk-Ivanhoe 
railroad  tunnel  of  Colorado  for  two  years  and  he  has  been  identified  with  various  important 
engineering  projects.  At  Cripple  Creek  he  surveyed  more  claims  for  United  States  patent 
and  did  more  underground  surveying  than  any  other  engineer  in  the  Cripple  Creek  mining 
district  during  the  length  of  time  in  whicli  he  maintained  his  residence  there.  His  broad 
e.xperiences  liave  given  him  comprehensive  knowledge  concerning  the  country  and  its  resources. 

At  Grand  Forks,  February  2,  1903,  Mr.  Smith  was  married  to  Miss  Mary  Taylor,  a  native 
of  Canada.     They  have  become   parents  of  five  children:      Daniel,  Mary   Catherine,   Emmett, 
Margaret  and  Bernard.     All  were  born  in  Grand  Forks  save  the  last  named,  who  is  a  native  • 
of  Reno,  Nevada. 

The  family  reside  at  No.  437  Maple  street,  where  Mr.  Smith  owns  a  pleasant  home.  In 
politics  he  maintains  an  independent  course,  voting  without  regard  to  the  political  affiliation 
of  the  candidates.  His  religious  faith  is  that  of  the  Roman  Catholic  church.  Fraternally 
he  is  connected  with  the  Ancient  Order  of  United  Workmen  and  he  also  has  memliership  in 
the  Municipal  Society  of  Engineers.  Experience  has  been  his  teacher  and  under  that  guidance 
he  has  mastered  valuable  lessons  which  have  enabled  him  to  work  his  way  steadily  upward  in 
a  business  way. 


JERRY  HAYES. 


Jerry  Hayes,  actively  connected  with  ranching  interests  in  Stark  county,  his  home 
being  in  Dickinson,  was  born  in  Vermont  in  18.54.  a  son  of  Daniel  and  Mary  Hayes,  both  of 
whom  were  of  Irish  birth  and  when  young  came  to  the  United  States,  settling  in  the  Green 
Mountain  state,  where  their  remaining  days  were  passed.  The  father  devoted  his  life  to  the 
occupation  of  farming. 

Jerry  Hayes,  the  third  in  a  family  of  nine  children,  was  educated  in  the  schools  of 
Vermont  and  was  about  thirty-four  years  of  age  when  he  came  to  North  Dakota.  In  the 
meantime  he  had  learned  and  followed  the  blacksmith's  trade  in  New  England.  He  arrived 
in  the  northwest  practically  penniless,  but  after  working  for  a  brief  time  at  odd  jobs  he 
established  a  blacksmith  shop  and  conducted  business  on  his  own  account  for  five  years. 
In  1887  he  was  elected  sheriff  under  territorial  rule  and  served  for  two  terms,  after  which  he 
occupied  the  position  for  six  j'ears  following  the  admission  of  the  state  into  the  Union.  He 
was  a  brave,  loyal  and  fearless  officer  and  retired  from  the  position  as  he  had  entered  it, 
with  the  confidence  and  goodwill  of  all  law-abiding  citizens.  His  service  in  office  is  perhaps 
best  remembered  by  his  success  in  capturing  two  train  robbers.     The  Northern  Pacific  was 


JKINt'i     IIAVKS 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  •  313 

held  up  at  New  Salem  and  the  robbers  were  able  to  get  away  with  considerable  loot. 
Mr.  Hayes  was  notified  of  the  holdup  and  by  special  train  made  his  way  from  Dickinson 
to  New  Salem.  Arriving  on  the  scene  of  the  robbery,  he  learned  everything  possible  con- 
cerning the  affair  and  his  efforts  finally  resulted  in  the  capture  of  the  pair  together  with  all 
the  stolen  property.  The  capture  involved  much  hardship  and  danger  on  his  part  and  was 
rewarded  by  a  gift  of  one  thousand  dollars  from  the  United  States  government  mail  officials. 
He  traced  the  robbers  to  the  Standing  Rock  Indian  reservation,  where  the  capture  was  made. 
He  next  went  to  Alaska,  wliere  he  spent  two  years  prospecting  for  coal  and  also  engaged  in 
frtighting  and  blacksmithing,  making  Dawson  his  headquarters.  He  did  not  meet  with 
success  as  a  prospector  but  his  efforts  in  freighting  and  blacksmithing  brought  to  him  a 
considerable  sum.  In  1899  Mr.  Hayes  returned  to  North  Dakota  and  he  is  now  engaged  in 
ranching  in  Stark  county,  having  important  interests  of  that  character.  He  devotes 
considerable  attention  to  the  raising  of  horses  and  raises  on  an  average  four  hundred  and 
fifty  head,  which  he  ships  to  Europe  for  war  purposes. 

At  the  age  of  twenty-two  years  Mr.  Hayes  was  married  in  Brandon,  Vermont,  to 
Miss  Bridget  Tully,  a  native  of  that  state  and  a  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Patrick  Tully,  who 
spent  their  entire  lives  in  Vermont.  JJ-"'.  and  Mrs.  Haj-es  have  become  the  parents  of  three 
children:  Victor  and  Raymond,  who  are  engaged  in  ranching  and  cattle  raising  in  McKenzie 
county:  and  Mis.  Maye  Cain  whose  husband  is  also  a  cattleman  of  McKenzie  county. 

At  one  time  Mr.  Hayes  held  the  New  England  record  for  endurance  runs.  Fraternally 
he  is  a  Mason  and  an  Odd  Fellow.  He  belongs  to  lodge,  chapter  and  commandery  at  Dickinson 
and  both  he  and  his  wife  are  connected  with  the  Eastern  Star.  He  also  belongs  to  the 
Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows  and  both  are  connected  with  the  Rebekah  degree.  In 
politics  he  has  always  been  a  stalwart  democrat  and  is  now  alderman  of  the  fourth  ward  in 
Dickinson.  He  has  served  as  a  delegate  to  the  democratic  state  convention  at  Grand  Forks 
on  two  different  occasions  and  his  opinions  carry  weight  in  the  councils  of  his  party  in  North 
Dakota.  Arriving  empty  handed  in  the  northwest,  he  has  steadily  worked  his  way  upward 
and  through  the  intervening  period  his  labors  have  been  so  intelligently  directed  and  his 
industry  has  been  so  unfaltering  that  he  has  gained  a  place  among  the  prosperous  and 
representative  ranchmen  of  the  northwest. 


SAMUEL  ALWIN  ZIMMERMAN,  M.  D. 

Dr.  Samuel  Alwin  Zimmerman,  engaged  in  general  practice  at  Valley  City  but  s[)eeializ- 
ing  more  and  more  in  surgery  and  gynecology,  has  devoted  his  attention  to  professional 
labors  since  1907,  in  which  year  he  completed  a  course  in  the  medical  department  of  North- 
western University  at  Cliicago.  He  was  born  in  Elizabeth,  Minnesota,  July  4,  1ST7,  a  sou 
of  Abraham  and  Marie  Zimmerman,  the  former  a  Civil  war  veteran  now  living  at  Blackduck, 
Minnesota. 

Dr.  Zimmerman  supplemented  his  public  school  training  by  study  in  the  State  Normal 
School  at  St.  Cloud,  Minnesota,  from  which  he  was  giaduated  with  the  class  of  1897.  He 
won  his  Ph.  B.  degiee  in  Hamline  University  with  the  class  of  1903  and  then  spent  four 
years  in  preparation  for  the  practice  of  medicine  and  surgery  as  a  student  in  the  North- 
western University  at  Cliicago,  being  numbered  among  its  alumni  of  1907.  In  the  previous 
year  he  was  elected  to  the  Alpha  Omega  Alpha,  an  honorary  fraternity.  He  at  once  entered 
upon  active  practice,  to  which  he  has  since  devoted  his  time,  thought  and  purpose  at  Vallev 
City.  At  his  graduation,  in  a  competitive  examination  for  an  intcrneship  in  St.  Luke's 
Hospital  of  Cliicago,  he  was  awarded  first  place  and  in  his  hospital  practice  ^aiiii'd  that 
broad,  valuable  experience  which  is  never  as  quickly  acquired  in  any  other  way  as  in  hospital 
work.  From  1909  until  1911  he  was  county  physician  of  Barnes  county  and  in  1914  was 
elected  secretary  of  the  Sheyenne  Valley  Medical  Society,  his  term  of  office  to  continue  until 
1917.  In  1915  he  was  made  secretary  of  the  county  board  of  health  of  Barnes  county  for 
a  two  years'  term.  His  practice  from  the  beginning  has  constantly  grown  in  volume  and 
importance  and  he  is  gradually  devoting  more  and  more  time  to  surgery  and  synecoloey. 
specializing  in  his  reading  and  in  his  study   along  those  lines. 


314  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

On  the  3d  of  June,  1908,  in  Drayton,  North  Dakota,  Dr.  Zimmerman  was  united  in 
marriage  to  Miss  Lulu  Wylie,  a  daughter  of  Joseph  M.  Wylie.  They  have  one  son,  Bruce 
Wylie  Zimmerman,  born  July  18,  1913.  The  parents  are  members  of  the  Methodist 
Episcopal  church  and  Dr.  Zimmerman  holds  membership  with  the  Masons  and  the  Knights 
of  Pythiiis.  His  political  allegiance  is  given  to  the  republican  party  but  he  has  never 
sought  nor  desired  office  outside  the  strict  path  of  his  profession,  preferring  to  concentrate 
his  energies  upon  the  important  duties  which  devolve  upon  him  in  his  professional  capacity. 
He  has  ever  been  most  conscientious  in  the  discharge  of  his  duties  and  holds  to  the  highest 
professional  standards. 


LYMAJSr  N.  GARY. 


Lj-man  N.  Gary  has  been  a  resident  of  Mandan  since  1881  and  was  formerly  engaged  in 
the  practice  of  civil  engineering  but  is  now  concentrating  his  efl'orts  upon  the  real  estate 
business,  of  which  he  is  a  prominent  representative.  He  was  born  in  Hoboken,  Kew  Jersey, 
May  5,  1856,  and  comes  of  English  ancestry,  the  lineage  being  traced  back  to  .John  Gary, 
who  left  England  in  the  year  1630  and  became  the  founder  of  the  family  in  the  new  world. 
His  parents,  William  S.  and  Phoebe  (Northrup)  Gary,  were  natives  of  New  Jersey  and  there 
spent  their  entire  lives,  the  father  passing  away  in  1907,  after  long  surviving  his  wife,  who 
died  in  the  year  1864. 

Lyman  N.  Gary  acquired  his  early  education  in  the  schools  of  liis  native  state  and  con- 
tinued his  studies  at  Troy,  New  York,  where  he  specialized  in  the  civil  engineering  course  in 
the  Rensselaer  Polytechnic  Institute.  He  left  that  school  in  1874  and  entered  Golumbia 
College  of  New  York  city,  in  which  he  took  a  speical  course  in  civil  engineering.  In  18S1  he 
arrived  in  North  Dakota  and  for  a  time  followed  his  profession,  after  which  he  turned  his 
attention  to  the  real  estate  business,  in  which  he  has  continuously  engaged  to  the  present 
time.  He  knows  every  phase  of  the  business,  is  conversant  with  the  property  that  is  upon 
tlie  market  and  is  thus  able  to  assist  his  clients  in  making  judicious  purchases  and  profitable 
sales.  He  is  accorded  a  liberal  patronage  in  this  field  of  activity  and  is  regarded  as  a  man 
thoroughly  reliable  as  well  as  enterprising  in  all  that  he  undertakes.  In  addition  to  his 
rea'l  estate  activity  he  is  identified  with  various  other  institutions  of  Mandan. 

On  the  12th  of  December,  1894,  in  Mandan,  Mr.  Gary  was  married  to  Miss  Anne  Alison 
Glark,  and  this  union  has  been  blessed  with  a  daughter  and  three  sons,  Ethelind,  William  S., 
Alison  and  Colin.  Mr.  Gary  is  a  Mason,  having  taken  the  degrees  of  the  lodge  and  chap- 
ter and  his  loyalty  to  the  craft  is  evidenced  in  the  fidelity  with  which  he  adheres  to  its  teach- 
ings concerning  mutual  helpfulness  and  brotherly  kindness.  In  politics  he  is  a  republican  but 
has  never  been  an  office  seeker.  The  family  belong  to  the  Presbyterian  church  and  Mr.  Gary 
is  one  of  the  directors  of  the  Mandan  hospital.  The  consensus  of  public  opinion  establishes 
his  reputation  as  that  of  a  man  who  in  every  relation  of  life  is  thoroughly  reliable  and 
trustworthy.  He  ranks  high  in  business  circles  and  is  esteemed  equally  well  in  social  rela- 
tions. In  a  word  his  sterling  traits  of  character  have  gained  for  him  the  high  and  enduring 
regard  of  all  with  whom  he  has  been  brought  in  contact. 


ROBERT  McBRIDE. 


Robert  McBride,  president  of  the  Merchants  &  Farmers  Bank  at  Cavalier,  was  born  in 
western  Ontario,  Canada,  October  1,  1856,  a  son  of  William  and  Mary  (Castle)  McBride.  The 
father,  a  native  of  the  north  of  Irelind,  became  a  resident  of  Canada  when  a  youth  of  twelve 
years  and  was  there  educated.  He  wedded  Mary  Castle,  a  native  of  Canada,  and  for  many 
years  he  was  engaged  in  farming  in  that  country.  He  passed  away  there  in  1906  at  the  age 
of  eighty  years,  while  his  wife  died  in  1894  at  the  age  of  sixty-five  years.  In  their  family 
were  seven  children.  John  McBride,  who  was  a  member  of  the  first  constitutional  con- 
vention of  North  Dakota  and  of  the  first  state  senate,  passed  away  at  Milton,  December  29, 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  315 

I'JIO,  having  left  the  impress  of  his  individuality  for  good  upon  the  development  of  the 
state.  William  McBride  resides  in  Niles,  Machigan.  Mrs.  Margaret  Muir  is  a  resident  of 
Gowanda,  New  York.  Mrs.  Jane  Turner  resides  in  Courtney,  North  Dakota.  Mrs.  Isabelle 
Galbraith  i_s  a  resident  of  Ontario  and  James  B.  McBride  is  living  on  the  old  homestead  in 
Canada. 

The  other  member  of  the  family,  Robert  jrcBride,  was  the  third  in  order  of  birth.  In 
his  youthful  days  he  attended  the  Canadian  schools,  after  which  he  took  up  the  profession 
of  teaching,  which  he  followed  for  several  years  in  Canada  and  in  Pembina  and  Cavalier 
counties,  North  Dakota.  He  was  later  made  deputy  county  treasurer  of  Pembina  county, 
which  position  he  filled  from  1893  until  1899,  and  was  then  elected  county  treasurer,  serving 
for  the  succeeding  three  years.  He  removed  to  Cavalier  in  1905  and  entered  the  banking 
business  as  the  organizer  and  promoter  of  the  Merchants  &  Farmers  Bank,  of  which  he  has 
since  been  the  head. 

On  the  37th  of  January,  1893,  Mr.  McBride  was  married  in  Pembina  county  to  Miss 
Madge  Scott,  a  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  James  Scott.  They  have  become  the  parents  of 
two  children:  Dora  I.,  who  was  born  in  Pembina  in  1S93  and  is  a  graduate  of  the  high 
school  of  Cavalier  and  of  the  State  University,  in  which  she  completed  the  arts  course,  is 
now  teaching  in  the  high  school  at  Glen  UUen,  North  Dakota.  William  Scott,  born  in  1895, 
■was  graduated  from  the  high  school  of  Cavalier  and  is  now  a  sophomore  in  the  State 
University. 

Fraternally  Mr.  McBride  is  well  known  in  Masonic  circles  and  is  a  member  of  the 
Eastern  Star  and  of  the  Masonic  Veterans'  Association.  He  also  has  membership  with  the 
Ancient  Order  of  United  Workmen  and  the  United  Order  of  Foresters.  His  wife  is  widely 
known  throughout  the  state  in  connection  with  her  work  in  the  Eastern  Star,  of  which 
she  has  been  grand  matron.  She  is  also  very  prominent  in  club  circles  and  is  now  cor- 
responding secretary  of  the  State  Federation  of  Woman's  Clubs  of  North  Dakota.  For  ten 
years  Mr.  McBride  has  been  a  member  of  the  city  council  of  Cavalier  and  has  exercised  his 
official  prerogatives  in  support  of  various  plans  and  measures  for  the  general  good.  He 
is  a  most  highly  respected  citizen  of  his  county.  He  came  to  North  Dakota  in  April,  1883, 
and  without  assistance  or  help  from  anyone  he  has  worked  his  way  upward  and  stands 
very  high  in  public  regard  and  in  business  circles. 


FRED   L.   ROQUETTE. 


Fred  L.  Roquette,  president  of  the  Roquette  Department  Store  Company  of  Dickinson, 
has  been  closely  identified  with  this  enterprise  since  1893  and  throughout  the  intervening 
period,  covering  a  quarter  of  a  century,  has  ranked  with  the  leading  merchants  of  his  city, 
his  career  at  all  times  being  actuated  by  a  spirit  of  enterprise  and  progress.  He  was  born 
in  Fremont.  Iowa,  .July  31,  1869,  a  son  of  Philip  and  Elizabeth  (Mader)  Roquette.  His 
mother  came  to  North  Dakota  with  her  son  Fred  and  passed  away  in  Dickinson  in  1901.  In 
her  family  were  four  children:  J.  F.,  F.  A.  and  G.  W.,  all  of  whom  are  farmincr  near 
Dickinson:   and  Fred  L.,  who  was  the  third  in  order  of  birth. 

Reared  and  educated  in  Iowa,  Fred  L.  Roquette  first  came  to  North  Dakota  in  1S91  and 
settled  on  Crooked  creek,  thirty  miles  north  of  Dickinson,  where  he  engaged  in  ranching,  his 
time  being  there  devoted  to  cattle  raising  for  ten  years.  He  then  disposed  of  his  ranch  and 
stock  and  took  up  his  abode  in  Dickinson,  since  which  time  he  has  concentrated  his  efforts 
upon  commercial  pursuits.  The  Roquette  Department  Store  was  established  in  1888  by 
.1.  J.  Freeman,  under  the  firm  style  of  Freeman  &  Company.  In  1892  the  business  was 
purchased  by  Roquette  Brothers  and  at  that  time  only  a  line  of  dry  goods  was  handled. 
Their  location  was  on  Villard  street,  between  Sims  and  First  avenue.  West,  where  the  Green 
drug  store  now  stands.  They  removed  to  their  present  location  in  1915.  Fred  L.  Roquette 
purchased  the  interest  of  his  brother,  F.  A.  Roquette,  and  incorporated  the  business  under 
the  firm  style  of  the  F.  L.  Roquette  Company.  He  has  since  been  president  of  the  company,, 
with  W.  F.  Sommers,  of  Dickinson,  as  vice  president,  and  his  son,  H.  L.  Roquette,  as  secre- 
tary and  treasurer.    At  the  time  of  the  incorporation  they  added  a  stock  of  queensware  and 


316  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

groceries  and  now  have  a  large  department  store,  carrying  a  complete  and  well  selected 
line  of  general  merchandise.  Mr.  Eoquette  also  owns  a  branch  store  at  OUie,  ilontana,  which 
he  established  in  1916.  He  is  regarded  as  one  of  the  progressive  merchants  of  the  city, 
active  and  energetic  and  watchful  at  all  times  of  opportunities  pointing  to  success. 

On  the  16th  of  May,  1895,  Mr.  Roquette  was  married  in  Dickinson  to  Miss  Mabel  V. 
Klinefelter,  a  native  of  Bigstone,  Minnesota,  who,  however,  became  a  resident  of  Dickinson 
prior  to  her  marriage.  Thej'  have  three  children:  H.  L.,  who  is  now  connected  with  the 
store;  La  Verne,  who  is  a  second-year  student  in  the  Northwestern  Conservatory  at 
Minneapolis;  and  Oral  Florence,  attending  the  Dickinson  high  school. 

Ml-.  Roquette  is  a  chapter  Mason,  while  his  son,  H.  L.,  belongs  to  the  blue  lodge.  The 
father  is  also  identified  with  the  EUcs  at  Dickinson.  In  politics  he  is  a  democrat  and  in 
1910  was  elected  to  represent  his  district  in  the  state  legislature.  For  six  years  he  has 
been  a  member  of  the  city  council  of  Dickinson,  ever  exercising  his  official  prerogatives  ifl 
support  of  the  measures  that  he  believes  will  benefit  the  city  and  uphold  in  any  way  its 
civic  standards.     His  lias  been  a  well  spent  life  fruitful  of  good  results. 


COLONEL   J.   M.   PATCH. 


Colonel  J.  M.  Patch,  one  of  the  best  known  pioneers  of  Eddy  county,  residing  at  New 
Rockford,  was  born  in  Summit  county,  Ohio,  near  Akron,  May  6,  1840,  a  son  of  Horace  D. 
and  Cynthia  A.  (Cliapman)  Patch,  both  of  whom  were  natives  of  New  York.  After  their 
marriage  they  removed  to  Ohio,  where  the  father  engaged  in  merchandising  until  1844.  when 
he  went  with  his  family  to  Beaver  Dam,  Wisconsin,  and  there  entered  upon  the  practice 
of  law,  having  previously  been  admitted  to  the  bar.  He  became  an  active  factor  in  public 
affairs  in  Wisconsin  during  the  formative  period  in  the  state's  history  and  was  a  member 
of  the  convention  that  framed  the  constitution  of  the  state,  while  subsequently  he  served 
<is  a  member  of  the  state  legislature.  During  his  first  term  in  the  general  assembly  he 
framed  and  became  the  stalwart  champion  of  a  bill  which  was  to  be  drafted  into  the  con- 
elitution,  giving  the  wife  equal  rights  in  her  husband's  property.  He  was  ridiculed  for  this, 
however,  and  the  bill  was  defeated.  The  following  term  he  stood  for  reelection,  was  returned 
to  tlie  legislature  and  during  his  second  term  made  such  a  strenuous  fight  for  the  bill  timt 
he  succeeded  in  having  the  measure  adopted.  A  historian  of  Wisconsin  speaks  of  him  as 
one  of  the  "fathers  of  the  state."  It  is  well  known  that  his  influence  was  a  potent  factor 
in  shaping  the  public  interests  of  Wisconsin  in  a  large  measure  and  in  laying  broad  and 
deep  the  foundation  upon  which  has  been  built  much  of  the  present  progress  and  prosperity 
of  the  state.  He  was  a  member  of  the  National  Guard  in  Ohio  and  on  the  outbreak  of  the 
Civil  war  immediately  raised  a  company  which  became  Company  C  of  the  Sixteenth  Wis- 
consin Infantry.  He  was  elected  its  captain,  went  to  the  front  and  at  Pittsburg  Landing 
sustained  wounds  from  wihch  he  died  two  or  three  weeks  later  at  Shiloh.  where  he  had 
been  taken  with  his  regiment. 

Colonel  Patch,  whose  name  introduces  this  record,  was  educated  in  the  high  school  at 
Beaver  Dam,  \\'isconsin,  and  had  prepared  to  enter  the  State  University  at  the  time  when 
the  Civil  war  broke  out.  His  plans  were  then  changed,  however,  for  he  immediately  enlisted 
at  the  first  call  for  troops,  becoming  a  member  of  Company  A,  Second  Wisconsin  Infantry 
Regiment,  with  which  he  took  part  in  the  battle  of  Bull  Run.  He  was  subsequently  promoted 
to  the  rank  of  first  sergeant  and  he  served  for  two  years  and  nine  months,  being  honorably 
discharged  in  February,  1864.  He  had  been  wounded  at  the  battle  of  Fredericksburg  and 
was  confined  in  the  hospital  at  Alexandria,  Virginia,  after  which  he  was  sent  home  on  a 
furlough  and  later  was  honorably  discharged.  On  reaching  Wisconsin  he  found  that  his 
mother  had  been  obliged  to  mortgage  her  home,  upon  which  there  rested  an  indebtedness 
of  eighteen  hundred  dollars.  Colonel  Patch  returned  to  the  front  and  met  Colonel  0.  B. 
Knowles  of  the  Twenty-first  Pennsylvania  Cavalry,  whom  he  told  that  he  wished  to  act 
as  sutler  for  his  regiment,  explaining  that  it  was  his  purpose,  if  possible,  to  raise  the 
money  to  pay  off  the  mortgage  on  his  mother's  home.  He  met  the  regiment  in  front  of 
Petersburg   and   was    installed   as   sutler.     He   had   no   money,   but   his    purpose,   becoming 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  317 

known,  secured  him  all  the  goods  that  he  wanted  on  credit,  and  two  months  later  he  was 
able  to  send  his  mother  two  thousand  dollars  to  pay  off  the  mortgage.  During  the  following 
few  montlis  prior  to  the  close  of  the  war  he  sent  his  mother  twelve  thousand  dollars  in 
government    bonds. 

Following  the  close  of  hostilities  Colonel  Patch  went  to  Owatonna,  Minnesota,  in  October, 
1S66,  and  there  was  associated  with  others  in  the  manufacture  of  farm  machinery  and 
broadcast  seeders.  Eventually  he  sold  his  interest  in  that  business  and  for  five  or  six  years 
was  identified  with  the  sale  of  machinery.  Later  he  engaged  in  scientific  farming  and  in 
that  connection  lost  heavily  owing  to  successive  crop  failures.  In  May,  1883,  he  arrived  in 
North  Dakota  and  settled  on  a  homestead  two  and  one-half  miles  north  of  the  present  city 
of  Xew  Rofkford.  He  at  once  began  the  arduous  task  of  breaking  the  prairie  and  proved 
up  on  his  land.  That  fall  the  railroad  was  built  in  the  county  and  New  Rockford  was 
laid  out,  after  which  Colonel  Patch  took  up  his  abode  in  the  town  and  erected  a  hotel 
building  which  he  opened  for  business  on  the  last  day  of  January,  1884.  He  then  success- 
fully conducted  that  hostelry  until  it  was  destroyed  by  fire  on  the  1st  of  September,  1892." 
Since  then  he  has  given  his  attention  to  the  supervision  of  his  property  interests,  for  as 
the  years  went  on  he  made  judicious  investments  and  is  now  the  owner  of  valuable  farm 
lands  in  his  section  of  the  state. 

In  1867  Colonel  Patch  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Gertrude  L.  Hough,  of  Lowville, 
New  York,  by  whom  he  had  five  children,  three  of  whom  survive,  namely:  May  H.,  the  wife 
of  .John  A.  Rush,  of  Minneapolis,  Minnesota;  Gertrude  M.,  who  gave  her  hand  in  marriage 
to  Martin  L.  Maddox,  of  Cincinnati,  Ohio;  and  Harriet  D.,  the  wife  of  John  A.  La  Rue,  of 
Indianapolis,  Indiana.  In  1893  Colonel  Patch  removed  to  Indianapolis,  Indiana,  where  he 
resided  for  twenty  years.  His  wife  passed  away  there  in  1901,  and  his  mother  in  1908, 
at  the  notable  old  age  of  ninety-six  years.  While  he  made  his  home  in  Indianapolis  through 
two  decades,  much  of  his  time  throughout  that  entire  period  was  passed  in  New  Rockford, 
where  his  property  interests  were  located,  and  when  the  two  decades  had  passed  he  returned 
ti)  make  his  home  in  Eddy  county. 

In  politics  Colonel  Patch  is  a  democrat  and  in  1890  was  elected  to  the  North  Dakota 
state  senate,  the  only  representative  of  his  party  ever  sent  to  the  senate  from  this  district. 
Fraternally  he  is  connected  with  Century  Lodge,  No.  60,  F.  &  A.  M.  His  has  been  an  active, 
upright  and  honorable  life  actuated  by  a  spirit  of  progress  in  business,  by  loyalty  in  citizenship 
and  by  fidelity  in  friendships,  and  his  genuine  worth  has  made  him  honored  and  respected 
wherever  he  is  known. 


JOSEPH  C.  SUTER,  M.  D. 


Dr.  .Joseph  C.  Suter,  engaged  in  the  practice  of  medicine  and  surgery  in  Grafton,  where 
he  has  remained  since  1907,  was  born  in  Lanark  county,  Canada,  October  5,  1864,  a  son  of 
Thomas  and  Isabelle  (Calvert)  Suter,  both  of  whom  were  natives  of  Ireland  and  in  early 
life  became  residents  of  Canada.  There  the  father  took  up  the  occupation  of  farming, 
which  he  carefully,  systematically  and  profitably  followed.  In  later  life  he  removed  to 
North  Dakota  and  spent  his  last  days  in  the  home  of  his  son  .Joseph  in  Grafton,  passing 
away  in  1901,  at  the  age  of  seventy-five.  His  widow  survived  until  1907  and  died  in 
Grafton  at  the  age  of  seventy-seven  years. 

Dr.  Suter  was  the  third  in  order  of  birth  in  a  family  of  five  children.  In  early  life  he 
attended  the  Canadian  schools,  after  which  he  took  up  the  profession  of  teaching  in  Ontario 
and  still  later  entered  Queens  College.  Ho  also  studied  at  Trinity  College  in  Toronto, 
pursuing  the  medical  course  which  won  him  his  professional  degree  in  1891.  The  same  year  he 
located  for  practice  at  Crystal,  North  Dakota,  where  he  remained  for  sixteen  years,  and  in  the 
latter  part  of  1907  he  removed  to  Grafton,  where  he  has  since  engaged  in  practice,  meeting 
witli  notable  success.  His  patronage  is  now  large  and  the  importance  of  his  practice  is 
widely  acknowledged.  He  has  done  post  graduate  work  in  both  Chicago  and  Xew  York  and 
he  belongs  to  the  AValsh  County,  the  North  Dakota  State  and  the  American  Medical  Associa- 


318  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

tions,  thus  keeping  in  touch  with  the  trend  of  modern  thought  and  scientific  investigation 
bearing  upon  the  practice  of  medicine  and  surgery. 

On  the  3d  of  July,  1895,  in  Ontario,  Canada,  Dr.  Suter  was  married  to  Miss  Carrie  B. 
Smith,  a  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Robert  Smith,  the  latter  now  deceased,  while  the  former 
is  yet  living  at  Perth,  Ontario.  Dr.  and  Mrs.  Suter  have  three  children:  Isabelle,  who  was 
bom  at  Crystal,  North  Dakota,  in  1897  was  graduated  from  the  high  school,  while  at  the 
present  time  she  is  attending  the  State  University;  Evelyn,  who  was  born  at  Crystal  in 
1903  and  is  now  a  high  school  pupil  at  Grafton;  and  Joy,  who  was  born  in  Crystal  in  1906 
and  is  a  junior  in  the  high  school. 

The  family  have  an  attractive  home  in  Grafton,  in  addition  to  which  Mr.  Suter  owns 
and  cultivates  farm  lands  in  his  section  of  the  state.  Whatever  success  he  has  achieved 
is  attributable  entirely  to  his  own  eflforts.  He  has  worked  his  way  upward  through  sheer 
force  of  character  and  ability  and  in  his  vocabulary  there  has  been  no  such  word  as  fail. 
He  is  connected  with  various  fraternities,  being  a  Chapter  Mason,  an  Odd  Fellow,  a  Knight 
of  Pythias,  a  Forester  and  a  Modern  Woodman  of  America.  His  political  endorsement  is 
given  to  the  republican  party  and  he  lends  active  aid  in  all  matters  of  progressive  citizenship 
but  allows  nothing  to  interfere  with  the  faithful  and  conscientious  performance  of  his 
professional  duties. 


CARL  ERICKSON. 


Carl  Erickson,  the  present  efficient  sheriff  of  Williams  county,  now  living  in  Williston, 
was  born  December  37,  1870,  on  a  farm  three  miles  southeast  of  Osage  in  Mitchell  county, 
Iowa,  and  is  a  son  of  Claus  and  .Julia  (Inglebritson)  Erickson,  both  natives  of  Christiansand, 
Norway.  There  the  father  worked  as  a  lumber  jack  after  his  education  was  completed  until 
he  came  to  the  new  world  at  the  age  of  twenty-four  years.  After  spending  a  year  and  a 
half  at  'Wliitewater,  Wisconsin,  he  removed  to  Mitchell  county,  Iowa,  and  purchased  land 
near  Osage,  where  he  engaged  in  farming  until  1898,  which  year  witnessed  his  arrival  in 
Moody  county.  South  Dakota.  There  he  is  still  engaged  in  agricultural  pursuits.  Not  long 
after  coming  to  America  he  sent  for  his  sweetheart  back  in  Norway  and  they  were  married 
in  Milwaukee,  Wisconsin.     She  died  on  the  home  farm  near  Osage,  Iowa. 

Carl  Erickson  attended  the  district  schools  near  his  boyhood  home  and  remained  with 
his  father  until  twenty-one  years  of  age,  early  becoming  familiar  with  the  work  of  the 
farm.  After  leaving  the  parental  roof  he  was  emploj'ed  as  a  farm  hand  near  Osage  until 
March  1,  1896.  when  he  went  to  Ledyard,  Kossuth  county,  Iowa,  and  purchased  a  quarter 
section  of  land,  on  which  he  engaged  in  farming  on  his  own  account  for  six  years.  On 
selling  that  place  he  removed  to  Williams  county,  North  Dakota,  June  26,  1902,  and 
secured  a  homestead  near  Spring  Brook,  where  he  farmed  until  entering  upon  the  duties  of 
sheriff,  being  elected  to  that  office  November  S,  1912.  He  then  rented  his  farm  and  removed 
to  Williston.  He  was  reelected  sheriff  in  1914  but  cannot  fill  the  office  more  than  two  terms, 
after  which  he  intends  to  return  to  his  farm,  which  is  one  of  the  largest  and  best  in 
Williams  county,  comprising  seven  hundred  and  twenty  acres  near  Spring  Brook.  He  has 
been  an  auctioneer  for  many  years  and  has  operated  threshing  machines  for  the  past 
twenty-seven  years. 

At  Osage,  Iowa,  November  16,  1S93,  Mr.  Erickson  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss 
Martha  Larson,  who  was  born  at  Holland  near  Christiansand,  Norway,  where  she  spent  the 
first  fifteen  years  of  her  life,  and  then  lived  in  Christiansand  for  six  years.  At  the  end  of 
that  time  she  came  to  the  United  States,  joining  a  brother  in  Osage,  Iowa.  Her  mother  is 
still  living  in  Christiansand,  Norway,  at  the  advanced  age  of  ninety-six  years.  To  Mr.  and 
Mrs.  Erickson  have  been  born  six  children,  namely:  Clifford  B.,  who  was  born  in  Osage,  Iowa, 
and  died  at  the  age  of  eighteen  months;  Lloyd,  who  was  bom  in  Ledyard,  Iowa,  in  1896,  and 
was  accidentally  killed  at  Spring  Brook,  North  Dakota,  September  12,  1913;  Katie  B.,  born 
in  Ledyard,  Iowa,  in  1S9S:  Melvin,  born  in  the  same  place.  1901;  Charles,  born  in  Ledyard  in 
November,  1902 ;  and  Howard,  born  in  Spring  Brook,  North  Dakota,  September  7,  1906. 

In  politics  Mr.  Erickson  is  a  socialist  and  is  one  of  two  socialists  elected  to  the  oflSce  of 


CARL  KRICKSnX 


r 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  321 

sherifl'  in  the  United  States  in  1912.  He  has  served  as  school  director  both  at  Ledyard,  Iowa, 
and  Spring  Brook,  North  Dakota,  and  assisted  in  organizing  Spring  Brook  township,  wiiere 
his  farm  is  located.  It  is  one  of  the  best  improved  places  of  the  locality  and  upon  it  he  is 
extensively  engaged  in  raising  registered  stock,  making  a  specialty  of  Percheron  horses, 
Poland  China  hogs  and  Hereford  cattle.  In  religious  faith  he  is  a  Lutheran.  He  has  a  host 
of  warm  friends  throughout  the  county  and  is  affectionately  known  as  Sod  Buster  Erickson 
or  Carl  Erickson,  the  Sod  Buster.  He  is  widely  and  favorably  known  and  has  the  confidence 
and  high  regard  of  all  with  whom  he  has  been  brought  in  contact. 


GILBERT  C.  GUNDERSON. 


Gilbert  C.  Gunderson,  the  woU  Uiiouii  ;uid  ]i()|>ul:ir  cashier  of  the  Scandinavian-American 
Bank  at  Alexander,  North  Dakota,  was  born  on  the  1st  of  June,  1887,  in  Ridgeway,  Winne- 
shiek county,  Iowa,  and  is  a  son  of  Evan  and  Elise  (Hovden)  Gunderson,  also  natives  of  that 
county.  In  1888  the  family  removed  to  Rugby,  North  Dakota,  and  the  father  is  -still  engaged 
in  farming  in  Pierce  county,  where  he  and  his  wife  reside. 

In  that  locality  Gilbert  C.  Gunderson  grew  to  manhood,  and  his  early  education,  acquired 
in  the  district  schools  of  Pierce  county,  was  supplemented  by  a  three  years'  course  at  the 
University  of  North  Dakota.  On  starting  out  in  life  for  himself  he  engaged  in  general  mer- 
chandising, handling  bankrupt  stocks  in  various  parts  of  the  state,  and  for  three  years 
he  served  as  assistant  cashier  of  the  Merchants  Bank  of  Rugby.  In  May,  1913,  he  was 
appointed  chief  clerk  in  the  office  of  the  state  treasurer  at  Bismarck  and  filled  that  position 
for  one  year.  It  was  on  the  10th  of  March,  1914,  that  he  was  elected  cashier  of  the  Scandi- 
navian-American Bank  at  Alexander,  McKenzie  county,  and  has  since  served  in  that  capacity 
with  credit  to  liimself  and  to  the  entire  satisfaction  of  all  concerned.  He  is  also  secretary 
and  treasurer  of  the  Gunder  Olson  Grain  Company,  owning  and  operating  elevators  at  Alex- 
ander and  Rawson,  and  is  vice  president  of  the  First  State  Bank  of  Killdeer,  Dunn  county, 
North  Dakota,  of  which  his  brother  is  cashier.  Besides  the  enterprises  already  mentioned 
Mr.  Gunderson  is  largely  interested  in  farming  and  in  all  his  undertakings  he  is  meeting  with 
well  merited  success. 

Since  attaining  his  majority  he  has  alBliated  with  the  republican  party.  Fraternally 
Mr.  Gunderson  is  prominently  identified  with  a  number  of  organizations.  He  is  a  charter 
member  of  Yellowstone  Lodge,  No.  110,  A.  F.  &  A.  M.,  of  Alexander,  of  which  he  has  served 
as  secretary,  and  he  was  also  secretary  of  the  Masonic  lodge  at  Rugby.  He  belongs  to 
Damascus  Chapter,  R.  A.  M.,  of  Rugby;  Loraine  Commandery,  K.  T.,  of  Bottineau;  Kern 
Temple  of  the  Mystic  Shrine  and  the  York  Rite  bodies  at  Grand  Forks.  He  is  also  a  member 
of  the  Knights  of  Pythias  lodge  at  Bismarck;  the  Elks  lodge.  No.  1214,  at  Williston;  and 
the  Odd  Fellows  lodge  at  Alexander.  In  business  affairs  he  has  steadily  prospered  until  he 
has  become  one  of  the  substantial  men  of  his  community  as  well  as  one  of  its  representative 
citizens. 


OLAF  M.  MUUS. 


Olaf  M.  Muus,  proprietor  of  a  store  at  White  Earth,  was  born  in  Toten,  Norway,  April 
23,  1876,  and  is  a  brother  of  Enair  Muus  of  Minot,  in  connection  with  whose  sketch  on 
another  page  of  this  work  mention  is  made  of  the  family.  His  education  was  acquired 
in  the  common  schools  of  his  native  country  and  through  the  period  of  his  boyhood  and 
youth  he  was  more  or  less  actively  engaged  in  farm  work.  He  had  reached  the  age  of 
twenty  when  in  1896  he  came  to  the  new  world,  making  his  way  to  Minot.  There  he 
secured  employment  as  a  section  hand  on  the  Great  Northern  Railroad  and  later  went 
to  Concordia  College  at  Moorhead,  Minnesota,  through  the  winter  months,  realizing  the 
need  of  further  education  and  its  value  as  a  force  in  business  life.  In  the  summer  he  would 
return  to  North  Dakota  and  engage  in  laying  steel  for  the  new  branch  road  of  the  Great 


322  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

Northern.  AA'ben  winter  came  again  he  would  resume  his  studies  and  through  his  own 
efforts  he  jjrovided  for  the  expenses  of  liis  college  course.  He  entered  commercial  circles 
as  clerk  in  the  general  store  of  Lee  Larson  at  Minot.  In  1901  he  removed  to  White  Earth 
Mountrail  county,  to  establish  a  general  store  for  Julius  Fauchold  of  Jlinot  and  he  continued 
as  its  manager  and  also  bought  out  the  lumberyard  at  White  Earth,  which  he  conducted 
until  1905.  He  then  sold  that  business  and  opened  the  general  store  which  is  now  conducted 
under  the  name  of  the  Olaf  M.  Muns  Company.  He  has  the  largest  trade  of  the  town  and  the 
enterprise  has  proven  successful  from  the  beginning,  for  his  business  methods  measure  up 
to  high  commeicial  and  modern  standards.  He  also  had  a  dry  goods  and  clothing  store 
at  Jloorhead,  Minnesota,  which  he  conducted  for  four  years  while  carrying  on  business  at 
White  Earth  but  eventually  sold  his  Minnesota  establishment  and  now  concentrates  his 
entire  energies  upon  the  business  at  ^Miite  Earth.  In  addition  to  his  other  activities  he 
is  vice  president  of  the  First  State  Bank  of  Wliite  Earth. 

On  the  39th  of  August,  1900,  at  Minot,  North  Dakota,  Mr.  Muus  was  united  in  marriage 
to  his  Norway  sweetheart.  Miss  Helga  Lundby,  a  native  of  Toten,  Norway,  and  a  daughter 
of  Ole  and  Helena  Lundby,  who  were  also  born  in  that  country  and  still  reside  there,  the 
father  being- a  country  storekeeper.  Mrs.  Muus  crossed  the  Atlantic  to  the  United  States  in 
1897,  making  her  way  first  to  Chicago,  Illinois,  and  subsequently  to  Minot,  North  Dakota, 
where  she  was  married.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  JIuus  now  have  three  children,  namely:  Jalmer, 
who  was  born  at  White  Earth,  North  Dakota,  on  the  12th  of  July,  1901;  Harold,  born  at 
White  Earth,  May  9,  1905;  and  Meyer,  whose  birth  occurred  at  Wliite  Earth  on  the  18th 
of  October,  1909. 

Politically  Mr.  iluus  is  a  republican  and  has  been  active  in  community  affairs,  serving  as 
president  of  the  village  council  and  also  as  one  of  the  county  commissioners  of  Mountrail 
county.  He  is  now  president  of  the  school  board.  In  religious  faith  he  is  connected  with 
the  Lutheran  church  and  is  very  active  in  its  work,  serving  as  one  of  its  trustees  and 
doing  all  in  his  power  to  further  its  cause.  His  wife  is  also  active  in  the  church  and  has 
been  president  of  the  Ladies  Aid  Society,  of  which  she  is  now  secretary.  Mr.  Muus  is  a 
charter  member  of  White  Earth  Lodge,  F.  &  A.  M.,  of  which  he  is  now  senior  warden,  and 
he  belongs  to  Fargo  Lodge,  No.  260,  B.  P,  0.  E.  Mr.  Muus  is  an  entei  prising  citizen, 
thoroughly  progressive  in  his  methods.  He  started  out  as  a  section  hand  but  ambition 
prompted  him  to  attend  school  in  the  winter  while  working  on  the  railroad  in  the  summer. 
Step  by  step  he  has  advanced  and  is  now  one  of  the  prosperous  and  leading  merchants  of 
Mountrail  county — an  excellent  example  of  what  can  be  accomplished  when  ambition  and 
enterprise  point  out  the  way.  His  life  record  should  serve  to  inspire  and  encourage  others 
and  is  an  example  well  worthy  of  emulation. 


GEOKGE  McCULLOUGH  WILLIAMSON,  M,  D, 

Dr.  George  McCullough  Williamson,  devoting  his  time,  thought  and  energies  to  the 
practice  of  medicine  and  surgery,  his  efforts  being  attended  with  excellent  results,  was 
born  in  Picton,  Ontario,  Canada,  May  21,  1867,  a  son- of  Robert  Williamson  and  a  gi-andson 
of  Richard  Williamson,  who  became  the  founder  of  the  family  in  America.  He  was  a  native 
of  Ireland  and  there  remained  until  after  the  birth  of  Robert  Williamson,  whose  natal 
year  was  1830.  It  was  in  1835  that  the  grandparents  crossed  the  Atlantic,  settling  in 
Prince  Edward  county,  Ontario.  Robert  Williamson  became  a  successful  agiiculturist  there, 
spending  his  entire  life  in  Prince  Edward  county,  his  labors  being  terminated  in  death  in 
1888,  when  he  was  fifty-eight  years  of  age.  In  political  affairs  he  was  active  and  filled 
various  offices,  giving  his  support  to  the  conservative  party.  His  wife,  who  bore  the 
maiden  name  of  Rachel  Jane  Carr,  is  a  native  of  Canada  and  a  daughter  of  Peter  and 
Mary  Ann  (Smith)  Carr,  who  were  pioneer  settlers  of  Prince  Edward  county,  the  Carr 
family  having  come  from  Scotland,  while  in  the  maternal  line  Mrs.  Williamson  is  of 
Hanoverian  stock.  She  is  still  living  and  is  now  making  her  home  with  her  son.  Dr. 
George  M.  Williamson,  in  Grand  Forks,  being  now  in  the  eighty-second  year  of  her  age, 
her  birth  having  occurred  August  25,  1835.    She  became  the  mother  of  eight  children. 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  323 

])r.  Williamson,  who  was  the  sixth  in  order  of  birth,  acquired  his  early  education  in 
the  public  schools  of  Picton  and  afterward  attended  the  Pieton  Collegiate  Institute,  from 
which  he  was  gi'aduated  in  1887.  He  afterward  taught  school  for  a  period  of  five  years 
in  Prince  Edward  county  and  brought  the  institution  of  which  he  had  charge  up  to  a  high 
rank.  In  the  fall  of  1890  he  removed  to  Winnipeg  and  entered  the  Jlanitoba  Medical 
Cdllegc.  a  department  of  the  University  of  JIanitoba,  from  which  he  was  graduated  in  1S95 
with  the  degree  of  M.  D.,  C.  M.  He  later  removed  to  Ardoch,  North  Dakota,  and  became 
associated  in  practice  with  I>i-.  John  Jlontgoincry,  wliich  partnership  existed  for  two  years. 
In  1897  he  bought  out  his  partner  and  continued  successfully  in  practice  alone  until  1906 
when  he  went  abroad  for  post  graduate  work  in  Edinburgh,  Scotland,  attending  there  the 
Royal  College  of  Physicians  &  Surgeons.  On  completing  his  studies  he  took  the  examination  of 
the  Royal  College  of  Physicians  &  Surgeons,  Edinburgh,  and  the  Faculty  of  Physicians  & 
Surgeons,  (flasgow,  the  examination  being  known  as  the  triple  qualification,  and  received 
the  degrees  of  h.  R.  C.  P.  &  S.,  Edinburgh,  and  L.  F.  P.  &  S.,  Glasgow.  Later  he  entered 
upon  special  work  at  London,  England,  and  remained  for  some  months  devoting  his 
time  to  the  study  of  diseases  of  children  in  the  Hospital  for  Sick  Cliildren,  Great  Ormonde 
street.  After  completing  this  work  he  went  to  Dublin,  Ireland,  where  he  entered  the 
celebrated  Rotunda  Hospital  and  took  up  the  special  study  of  obstretrics  and  gynecology. 
Thus  splendidly  qualified  by  broad  training  for  important  professional  duties,  he  returned 
to  the  United  States,  settling  at  Grand  Forks,  North  Dakota,  w-here  he  entered  into  partner- 
ship with  Drs.  H.  M.  ^Vlieeler  and  R.  D.  Campbell.  Since  that  time  he  has  been  continuously 
engaged  in  practice,  making  a  specialty  of  obstetrics  and  the  diseases  of  children,  in  which 
lines  he  displays  eminent  ability  and  skill.  His  studies  have  covered  a  wide  range  and  have 
been  most  thoroughly  conducted  under  the  direction  of  some  of  the  most  eminent  phj'sicians 
of  the  new  and  old  world.  He  is  now  surgeon  for  the  Great  Northern  Railway  Company  and 
the  Northern  Pacific  Railway  Company  and  is  examiner  for  many  old  line  insurance  com- 
panies. Dr.  Williamson  has  always  been  active  in  promoting  the  interests  of  his  profession. 
He  is  a  charter  member  of  the  Grand  Forks  District  Medical  Society  and  was  its  second 
president.  He  is  active  in  the  work  of  the  state  association,  at  this  writing — in  1916 — 
occupying  the  office  of  vice  president  of  the  North  Dakota  State  Medical  Society.  He  was 
largely  instrumental  in  securing  the  .  passage  of  the  present  state  medical  practice  act 
and  is  at  present  a  member  of  the  state  board  of  medical  examiners,  being  secretary  and 
executive  oflfieer  of  the  board.  The  present  high  standing  of  the  examinations  conducted 
by  this  board  is  chiefly  due  to  his  efforts,  which  have  been  recognized  by  the  Federation  of 
State  Medical  Examining  Boards — a  national  organization — in  his  appointments  to  important 
committees  in  this  body.  He  enjoys  the  confidence  and  goodwill  of  the  profession  throughout 
the  state  and  counts  his  medical  friends  by  the  hundreds. 

In  Minneapolis,  Minnesota,  on  the  2d  of  November,  1898,  Dr.  Williamson  was  married 
to  Miss  Emma  A.  Holstrom,  a  native  of  Minnesota  and  a  daughter  of  Peter  Holstrom.  Dr. 
and  Mrs.  Williamson  own  an  attractive  residence  at  No.  860  Belmont  street,  which  is  in  the 
finest  residence  district  of  the  city.  Mrs.  Williamson  belongs  to  the  exclusive  Franklin 
CTub  and  is  also  prominent  and  active  in  charitable  organizations.  She  is  a  member  of  the 
Presbyterian  church  and  is  a  social  favorite,  but  with  all  of  her  activities  she  is  first  of 
all  a  home  maker,  her  interests  centering  at  her  own  fireside. 

Dr.  Williamson  is  a  prominent  Mason.  He  joined  the  order  in  Prince  Edward  Lodge, 
No.  18,  G.  R.  C,  at  Picton,  Ontario,  his  application  being  before  the  lodge  three  days  after  his 
twenty-first  birthday.  He  is  a  member  of  Corinthian  Cliapter,  No.  3,  R.  A.  M.,  and  St. 
Aldemar  Cumuiandcry,  No.  3,  K.  T.,  of  Grand  Forks.  He  is  also  a  member  of  Kem 
Temple,  A.  A.  O.  N.  M.  S.,  while  in  the  Scottish  Rite  he  has  taken  the  foiirteenth  degree, 
being  a  member  of  the  Carmel  Lodge  of  Perfection.  In  civic  organizations  he  is  active, 
being  a  director  in  the  Grand  Forks  Commercial  Club  and  the  Associated  Charities.  In  the 
latter  he  is  very  active  in  promoting  its  organization  and  is  deeply  interested  in  all  work  that 
tends  to  make  men  better.  He  belongs  to  the  Curling  and  Golf  Clubs.  Of  the  former 
he  was  the  organizer  and  introduced  the  game  to  the  Grand  Forks  public.  He  is  one  of  the 
directors  of  the  North  Dakota  Curling  Association,  of  which  he  is  the  president.  He  finds 
his  chief  diversion  through  that  sport,  which  affords  him  needed  rest  and  recreation.  After 
spending  his  early  youth  upon  the  home  farm  to  the  age  of  seventeen  years  he  started  out  in 


324  HISTORY  OF  XORTH  DAKOTA 

the  world  independently,  worked  his  own  way  through  the  university  and  by  reason  of 
his  inherent  force  of  character  and  the  development  of  his  native  talents  he  has  gained 
a   position  among  the  eminent  physicians  and  surgeons  of  his  adopted  state. 


WILLIAM  R.  JAav. 


William  K.  Jack,  proprietor  of  the  Jack  Monumental  Works  and  thus  actively  con- 
nected with  industrial  interests  of  Grand  Forks,  was  born  in  Alcona  county,  Michigan,  October 
8,  1872,  a  son  of  George  and  Margaret  (Scarlett)  Jack,  the  former  a  native  of  Scotland  and 
the  latter  of  Gray  county,  Ontario,  Canada.  When  in  his  first  year  George  Jack  was  taken 
to  Canada  by  his  parents,  Mr.  and  ]\tis.  William  Jack,  and  the  former  there  engaged  in 
farming  at  an  early  day,  continuing  his  residence  in  that  country  until  his  death.  George 
Jack  was  reared,  educated  and  married  in  Ontario  and  afterward  removed  to  Alcona  county, 
Jlichigan,  where  he  engaged  in  farming,  becoming  one  of  the  first  settlers  of  that  locality. 
He  is  still  living  at  the  age  of  sixty-six  years  but  his  wife  died  when  their  son  William  was 
but  four  years  of  age,  passing  away  while  on  a  visit  in  Gray  county,  Ontario.  They  had  three 
children,  one  of  whom  is  now  deceased,  while  George  S.,  the  brother  of  William  R.  Jack,  now 
resides  at  Minot,  North  Dakota. 

In  early  life  William  R.  Jack  attended  the  public  schools  of  Michigan  and  after  putting 
aside  his  textbooks  engaged  in  lumbering  and  in  surveying.  At  the  age  of  twenty  years  he 
removed  from  IMichigan  to  Ada,  Minnesota,  and  there  resided  for  several  years,  taking  up 
liis  abode  in  Crookston  in  1896.  There  he  became  a  salesman  in  connection  with  a  marble 
house  and  was  upon  the  road  for  two  and  a  half  years.  From  1898  until  1903  he  was 
identified  with  that  business  at  Crookston,  being  connected  with  important  interests  in  that 
line,  and  in  1904  he  established  a  similar  entei-prise  of  his  own.  In  1907  he  removed  to  Grand 
Forks,  North  Dakota,  and  erected  a  modem  business  block,  in  which  he  opened  a  roller 
skating  rink  and  also  established  marble  works,  which  in  the  intervening  period  have  grown 
to  large  proportions.  He  still  owns  this  building  and  still  conducts  the  rink  as  well  as  his 
monument  works. 

On  the  1st  of  September,  1899,  Mr.  Jack  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Alvina  May 
Kresia,  of  Emerson,  Manitoba,  a  daughter  of  Carl  and  Marie  Kresia,  who  were  residents  of 
Manitoba  and  are  now  deceased.  The  daughters  of  the  household  are:  Hazel  Mildred,  whose 
birth  occurred  at  CYookston,  April  1,  1905,  and  who  is  now  attending  the  graded  schools  of 
Grand  Forks;  Myrtle  Rose,  who  was  born  in  Cavalier,  February  28,  1895,  and  is  a  high  school 
and  college  graduate;  and  Olive,  who  was  born  at  Emerson,  Manitoba,  May  10,  1901,  and  is 
now  attending  school. 

In  politics  Mr.  Jack  is  independent,  voting  according  to  the  dictates  of  his  judgment 
and  not  by  reason  of  party  ties.  Fraternally  he  is  connected  with  the  Yeomen.  As  the 
architect  of  his  own  fortunes  he  has  builded  wisely  and  well,  developing  interests  of 
importance,  which  return  to  him  a  substantial  measure  of  prosperity  and  which  constitute 
important  features  in  the  business  activity  of  Grand  Forks. 


ERNEST  R.  BROWNSON. 


Ernest  R.  Brownson,  actively  engaged  in  the  real  estate  business  in  Williston,  was  born 
in  Otsego,  Allegan  county.  Michigan,  May  3,  1870,  his  parents  being  Alfred  and  Adelaide 
M.  (McRay)  Brownson.  The  father  was  a  native  of  Williston,  Vermont,  and  was  but  four 
years  of  age  when  his  parents  removed  with  then-  family  to  Michigan.  The  gi-andfather, 
.Toel  Brownson,  was  also  born  in  the  Green  Mountain  state  and  there  remained  until  after 
his  marriage,  devoting  his  time  to  farming  and  shoemaking.  In  early  manhood,  however, 
he  determined  to  try  his  fortime  in  the  west  and  with  his  wife  and  children  crossed  Lake 
Qiamplain  and  Lake  George,  proceeded  by  boat  down  the  canal  and  also  en  route  was  a 
passenger  over  the  third  railroad  built  in  the  United  States.     From  the  end  of  the  rail  route 


WILLIAM  R.  JACK 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  327 

Ik-  jMococded  overland  by  wagon  to  Michigan  and  finally  arrived  at  Wayland,  a  small 
si'ttlcnicnt  midway  between  Kalamazoo  and  Grand  Rapids.  There  he  bought  government 
land  in  the  heart  of  the  wilderness  and  cleared  it  of  timber.  He  cut  down  the  trees 
with  which  to  build  a  log  cabin  and  gradually  cleared  the  land,  making  it  ready  for 
the  plow.  Thereon  he  continued  to  engage  in  farming  until  1867,  when  he  sold  that  place. 
He  then  resided  with  his  son,  Alfred,  at  Otsego,  until  he  moved  to  Macon,  Jlissourl,  to 
li\e  with  his  daughter,  Mrs.  Evelyn  Gage.     There  he  died  at  the  age  of  eighty-six  years. 

His  son,  Alfred  Brownson,  was  reared  in  the  Michigan  wilderness  upon  his  father's  farm 
near  \Vayland.  He  received  a  common  school  education  and  subsequently  taught  for  a 
number  of  years  during  the  winters,  while  the  summer  months,  were  devoted  to  farming. 
In  early  manliood  he  married  and  settled  upon  a  farm  about  eight  miles  from  Plainwell, 
Michigan,  remaining  there  for  about  five  years.  At  the  end  of  that  time  practically  all  his 
household  cfl'ects  were  destroyed  by  fire  and  he  purchased  a  one  hundred  and  sixty  acre  tract 
near  Otsego,  iMichigan,  where  he  carried  on  general  farming  until  1883.  He  then  decided 
to  go  west  and  after  disposing  of  his  Michigan  property  came  to  Dakota  territory,  making  a 
part  of  the  journey  by  wagon.  He  homesteaded  in  Dickey  county,  within  four  miles  of 
Cakes,  although  the  town  had  not  been  established  at  that  time  and  his  place  was  forty 
miles  from  a  railroad.  Upon  the  farm  which  he  there  developed  he  reared  his  family 
and  witnessed  the  entire  growth  and  upbuilding  of  the  district.  At  length  he  sold  out 
and  spent  his  time  with  his  son  in  Williston  for  several  years  but  eventually  removed  to 
Helena.  Montana,  where  he  passed  away  in  1908,  at  the  age  of  seventy-six  years,  his  remains 
being  interred  in  the  Odd  Fellows  cemetery  in  that  city.  His  wife  was  born  near  Tecumseh, 
Michigan,  and  in  early  womanhood  taught  school  in  that  state.  Her  death  occurred  in 
Williston,  Xorth  Dakota,  when  she  had  reached  the  age  of  seventy-six  years.  She  was  a 
daughter  of  Oliver  and  Sallie  (Ferris)  McRay,  the  former  a  pioneer  woodsman  and  farmer 
of  Michigan  who  lived  for  a  time  at  Tecumseh.  that  state,  and  afterward  made  an  overland 
trip  to  Plainwell,  Michigan,  settling  first  on  a  farm  eight  miles  from  town  and  later  on  one 
two  miles  out.  After  retiring  from  farm  life  he  went  to  Canon  City,  Colorado,  where  his 
sons  had  located  some  years  before.  He  passed  away  there  at  a  ripe  old  age.  His  wife 
died  on  the  old  home  place  while  they  were  preparing  to  go  west  and  was  laid  to  rest 
in  the  village  cemetery  at  Otsego,  Michigan.  Ernest  R.  Brownson  was  reared  on  the  old 
homestead  farm  near  Otsego,  Michigan,  and  attended  the  district  schools  to  the  age  of 
fourteen  years,  when  he  joined  his  parents  at  Oakes,  Dickey  county.  North  Dakota.  He 
continued  his  education  in  the  district  schools  there,  in  the  Oakes  high  school,  in  Macalester 
College  at  St.  Paul,  Minnesota,  and  in  the  North  Dakota  Normal  School  at  Valley  City. 
He  was  graduated  from  the  last  named  in  1897  and  soon  afterward  was  elected  superintendent 
of  schools  at  Williston.  At  that  time  there  were  but  three  rooms  in  the  school  and  the 
town  had  a  population  of  two  hundred  and  sixty.  With  marked  enthusiasm  and  energy 
he  began  the  upbuilding  of  the  educational  interests  of  the  town  and  laid  the  foundation 
for  future  development  along  that  line.  'When  he  closed  his  school  work  in  Williston  six 
years  later  there  were  ten  rooms  in  the  school  and  it  was  during  his  tenure  of  office 
that  the  modern  Central  school  building  was  erected.  In  1903  he  was  called  to  larger  fields 
of  efl'ort  by  election  to  the  oflice  of  county  superintendent  of  schools  for  Williams  county, 
which  position  he  occupied  for  two  years,  being  elected  on  the  democratic  ticket  though  the 
county  was  overwhelmingly  republican.  During  this  period  he  reorganized  the  county  school 
districts.  At  the  time  he  took  charge  there  were  four  districts  and  thirty  schools.  By 
redistricting  and  in  other  ways  he  succeeded  in  placing  the  schools  upon  a  modern  basis, 
resulting  in  excellent  work.  While  superintendent  of  schools  in  1903  he  became  interested  in 
the  land  business  and  he  was  also  appointed  United  States  commissioner.  At  one  time 
he  liuniesteaded  in  Mountrail  county,  near  the  town  of  White  Earth,  and  after  proving 
up  on  that  property  sold  it.  He  now  devotes  his  entire  attention  to  his  land  and  loan  business 
in  Williston  and  to  farming  and  ranching  on  a  large  scale.  He  has  eighteen  hundred  acres 
of  ranch  land,  on  which  he  raises  shorthorn  cattle,  and  is  also  engaged  in  the  cultivation  of 
grain.     He  likewise  owns  considerable  town  property. 

On  the  27th  of  December.  1S98,  Mr.  Brownson  was  married  to  Miss  Frances  Ada  Williams 
at  White  Earth,  North  Dakota.  She  was  born  in  Saxeville,  Wisconsin,  a  daughter  of 
Miner   S.   and   Eleanor    (Ocain)    Williams,  with    whom   she   came   to   North   Dakota   in   her 


328  ■  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

girlhood,  the  family  home  being  established  near  Hurricane  Lake,  Pierce  county,  where  the 
father  engaged  in  farming.  Mrs.  Brownson  attended  the  district  schools  of  Pierce  county 
and  the  Valley  City  Normal  School.  She  afterward  became  a  teacher  in  Williston  and 
here  became  the  wife  of  Mr.  Brownson,  whose  acquaintance  she  had  formed  while  both 
were  stiulents  in  the  Valley  City  Normal.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Brownson  have  one  child,  Ada 
Claire,  who  was  born  in  Williston,  March  33,  1900,  and  is  now  a  junior  in  the  high  school. 

Mr.  Brownson  gives  his  political  allegiance  to  the  democratic  party  and  in  community 
affairs  he  takes  a  deep  interest.  For  nine  years  he  served  as  clerk  of  the  school  board  and 
has  been  president  of  the  library  board  of  Williston  for  the  past  five  years.  He  served  as 
a  member  of  the  board  of  regents  for  four  years  under  appointment  by  Governor  Burke.  He 
is  a  stanch  advocate  of  temperance  principles  and  has  always  abstained  from  the  use  of  all 
intoxicants.  Both  he  and  his  wife  are  active  members  of  the  Congregational  church  and 
for  thirteen  consecutive  years  he  was  superintendent  of  the  Sundaj'  school.  His  wife  is  a 
helpful  member  of  the  Ladies  Aid  Society  and  does  her  full  share  in  other  church  activities. 
In  1905  she  became  a  charter  member  of  the  Book  &  Thimble  Club  of  Williston  and  she  is 
well  known  in  literary  circles  of  the  city.  Mi-.  Brownson  is  a  charter  member  of  the  Modern 
Woodmen  camp  and  the  Modern  Brotherhood  of  America,  both  of  Williston,  and  belongs  also 
to  the  Masonic  order.  He  has  always  chosen  those  things  which  make  for  better  citizenship 
and  higher  standards  of  manhood.  He  has  worked  for  interests  whose  object  has  been  the 
upbuilding  of  the  community  and  he  has  labored  untiringly  to  advance  all  those  interests 
which  are  a  matter  of  civic  virtue  and  civic  pride.  His  fellow  townsmen  speak  of  him  in 
terms  of  warm  regard,  recognizing  the  worth  of  his  character. 


FRANK  D.  WOODWORTH. 


Frank  T>.  Woodworth.  a  well  known  real  estate  dealer  of  Driscoll,  is  a  native  of 
Wisconsin,  his  birth  occurring  in  Kenosha,  August  2,  1854.  He  is  a  representative  of  an  old 
colonial  family  of  English  origin,  which  was  founded  in  Massachusetts  in  1631,  and  his 
ancestors  participated  in  the  Revolutionary  war  and  also  in  the  War  of  1813.  His  parents, 
Elias  and  Helen  M.  (Van  Wie)  Woodworth,  were  born  in  the  Empire  state  but  in  early  life 
removed  to  Wisconsin,  where  they  were  married.  Subsequently  they  became  residents  of 
Minnesota  and  from  that  state  came  to  North  Dakota  in  1882.  For  twelve  years  they  made 
their  home  in  Walsh  county,  after  which  they  returned  to  Minnesota,  where  the  mother 
died  in  January,  1905,  and  the  father  on  the  17th  of  March,  1907. 

At  the  age  of  ten  years  Frank  D.  Woodworth  was  taken  by  his  parents  to  Medford, 
Minnesota,  where  he  continued  his  education,  begun  in  the  schools  of  Wisconsin.  On  leaving 
home  he  worked  as  a  farm  hand  for  a  time  and  was  later  in  the  employ  of  the  firm  of 
Winston  &  Le  May,  general  contractors,  until  June,  1880,  when  he  removed  to  Casselton, 
North  Dakota.  For  the  following  year  and  a  half  he  again  engaged  in  farm  labor  for 
others  but  at  the  end  of  that  time  he  went  to  Walsh  county  and  took  a  preemption 
and  tree  claim.  Later  he  traded  that  property  for  a  deeded  claim  and  continued  to  farm 
until  1895,  when  he  embarked  in  mercantile  business  at  Hope,  North  Dakota.  At  that  place 
he  also  engaged  in  buying  and  selling  grain  and  in  dealing  in  land.  During  the  ten  years 
of  his  residence  in  Hope  he  built  up  a  good  business  but  finally  sold  out  in  1905  and  removed 
to  Di'iscoll,  where  he  is  now  living.  He  took  a  claixn  two  miles  north  of  the  city  and 
proved  up  the  same.  He  is  still  interested  in  farming  but  now  gives  the  greater  part  of  his 
attention  to  the  real  estate  business,  and  as  he  has  a  thorough  knowledge  of  land  values 
in  his  locality  he  is  meeting  with  success  in  that  undertaking. 

In  1890  Mr.  Woodworth  married  Mrs.  Alice  Clint,  a  native  of  Marion,  Minnesota, 
and  a  daughter  of  Thomas  E.  Cooper,  who  was  one  of  the  pioneers  of  that  state.  Mrs. 
Woodworth  died  in  the  spring  of  1909,  and  one  of  their  three  children,  Harold,  who  was  born 
in  1893,  passed  away  in  January,  1904.  The  other  children  are  Jessie,  now  the  wife  of 
S.  A.  Lonbakcn,  living  in  Glendive,  Montana;  and  Clara,  who  is  teaching  school. 

The  republican  party  finds  in  Mr.  Woodworth  a  stanch  supporter  of  its  principles, 
and  he  has  filled  the  office  of  school  treasurer  but  takes  no  active  part  in  political  affairs. 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  329 

He  is  a  member  of  Octideutal  Lodge,  No.  27,  A.  F.  &  A.  M.,  and  the  Eastern  Star  Chapter, 
No.  13,  both  of  Hope,  and  he  also  belongs  to  the  Homesteaders  of  Des  Moines,  Iowa.  He 
is  today  one  of  the  highly  esteemed  citizens  of  Driscoll  and  has  a  host  of  friends  throughout 
Unrleigh  county. 


FEEDERICK  N.  GELBACH. 


Frederick  N.  Gelbach,  proprietor  of  a  clothing  and  shoe  store  in  Mott  and  one  of  the 
most  enterprising  and  energetic  business  men  of  the  place,  was  born  in  Grant  county, 
Wisconsin,  on  the  6th  of  September,  1872,  and  is  a  son  of  Lewis  and  Sophia  (Knapp) 
Gelbach,  both  natives  of  Germany.  His  paternal  grandfather,  John  Gelbach,  came  to  this 
country  from  Prussia  in  1842  and  located  in  Pennsylvania,  where  he  spent  the  remainder 
of  his  life,  his  home  being  near  Pittsburgh.  The  father  was  born  in  Prussia  and  came 
with  the  family  to  America.  He  became  one  of  the  pioneers  of  Grant  county,  Wisconsin, 
where  he  followed  farming  until  1900,  when,  his  home  being  broken  up  by  the  death  of 
his  wife,  he  sold  his  jjlace  and  removed  to  Lancaster,  the  county  seat.  In  early  life  he 
engaged  in  contracting  and  building  to  some  extent,  and  he  always  took  an  active  interest  in 
local  afl'airs.  After  a  useful  and  well  spent  life  he  passed  away  in  1909  at  the  age  of 
seventy-five  years.     He  had  six  sons  and  three  daughters,  all  of  whom  are  living. 

In  this  family  Frederick  N.  Gelbach  is  the  seventh  in  order  of  birth.  His  education  was 
obtained  in  the  district  schools  near  his  boyhood  home  and  after  laying  aside  his  textbooks 
he  engaged  in  merchandising  at  Albany,  Wisconsin.  He  was  in  business  there  on  his  own 
account  from  189G  to  1908  but  in  the  latter  year  sold  a  half  interest  in  his  store  and  came 
to  North  Dakota.  He  homesteaded  thirteen  miles  north  of  Mott  in  Hettinger  county  and 
proved  up  on  his  claim  in  a  year  and  a  half  by  commuting.  Mr.  Gelbach  retained  his  interest 
in  the  store  at  Albany,  Wisconsin,  until  1913,  when  he  sold.  On  the  9th  of  October,  1912, 
he  purchased  a  clothing  and  shoe  store  at  Mott,  which  he  has  since  successfully  conducted, 
and  in  1916  he  erected  an  up-to-date  brick  building,  to  which  his  stock  was  removed,  the 
store  being  opened  for  business  on  the  29th  of  September.  He  has  traded  his  farm  for 
alfalfa  land  near  Riverside,  California,  where  he  now  owns  fifty  acres. 

In  June,  1896,  Mr.  Gelbach  married  Miss  Jennie  Mitchell,  who  died  in  1912.  Her  parents 
were  Thomas  and  Ida  IHtchell,  pioneers  of  Wisconsin.  Mr.  Gelbach  was  again  married 
January  1,  1914,  his  second  union  being  with  Miss  Helga  Danielson,  a  native  of  Sweden,  who 
came  to  North  Dakota  in  1908,  and  to  them  has  been  born  one  child,  Alta  Mae.  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
Gelbach  are  members  of  the  Congregational  church  and  are  most  estimable  people,  who  are 
held  in  high  regard  by  all  who  know  them.  Mr.  Gelbach  has  served  on  the  school  board 
but  prefers  to  devote  his  attention  to  his  business  affairs,  which  have  always  been  most 
capably  managed  so  that  the  results  have  been  satisfactory.  He  is  a  well  posted  man 
and  is  a  genial,  pleasant  gentleman. 


WILLIAM  C.  HAMILTON. 


William  C.  Hamilton,  conducting  business  at  Grafton  iinder  the  name  of  the  Grafton 
News  Agency  in  the  sale  of  books  and  stationery,  is  a  native  of  Iowa,  his  birth  having 
occurred  in  Wapello  county,  December  29,  1861,  at  the  home  of  his  parents,  .lames  Lewis 
and  Martha  (Birchfield)  Hamilton,  who  resided  near  Ottumwa.  The  father  was  a  native 
of  Ohio  and  a  descendant  of  an  old  Virginia  family  of  Scotch  and  Welsh  ancestry.  The 
grandfather,  James  Hamilton,  came  to  America  about  the  time  of  the  War  of  1812.  He 
died  when  his  son,  .James  Lewis,  was  about  four  years  of  age,  after  which  his  widow  became 
the  wife  of  Thomas  Brown,  who  removed  with  the  family  to  Iowa  about  184.5.  In  that 
state  .lames  L.  Hamilton  was  reared  and  educated,  and  taking  up  the  occupation  of  farming, 
followed  that  pursuit  until  his  death  in  February,  1914.  when  he  was  seventy-six  years  of 
age.     He   served   for  two   years  during   the   Civil   war,   holding  the   rank   of   major   in   the 


330  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

Thirty-sixth  Iowa  Infantry.  His  wife,  a  native  of  Indiana,  was  a  representative  of  an  old 
Carolina  family  of  German  lineage.     She  is  still  living  at  the  old  home  in  Iowa. 

William  C.  Hamilton  was  the  eldest  of  their  seven  children,  five  sons  and  two  daughters. 
After  attending  public  schools  he  continued  his  education  in  the  Southern  Iowa  Xormal 
and  Scientific  Institute  at  Bloomfield,  Iowa.  His  youthful  days  were  spent  upon  the  home 
farm  witli  the  usual  experiences  of  the  farm  bred  boy,  and  at  the  age  of  eighteen  years 
he  took  up  the  profession  of  teaching,  which  he  followed  in  his  native  state  for  five  years. 
In  1S86  he  arrived  in  South  Dakota,  making  his  way  to  Sturgis,  Lawrence  county,  now 
Meade  county,  but  after  a  short  period  he  removed  to  Rapid  City,  where  he  went  to  clerk 
in  a  drug  store,  which  position  he  occupied  until  1900.  He  was  afterward  employed  by  others 
as  a  pharmacist  at  various  points  until  190".  In  1910  he  opened  a  drug  store  at  Edgeley, 
North  Dakota,  where  he  remained  in  business  until  July,  1913,  when  he  removed  to  Grafton 
and  established  the  Grafton  News  Agency,  in  which  connection  he  has  since  carried  on  a 
gi-owing  and  profitable  business.  Under  that  title  he  is  engaged  in  the  sale  of  books  and 
stationery,  having  the  leading  business  of  the  kind  in  the  town,  his  stock  being  large  and 
carefully  selected,  while  his  reasonable  prices  and  honorable  dealing  insure  a  continuance  of 
the  trade.     He  also  owns  the  building  in  which  his  business  is  conducted. 

On  the  12th  of  November,  1894,  Mr.  Hamilton  was  married  in  Helena,  Montana,  to  Miss 
Ella  Stevens,  a  native  of  Iowa  and  a  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Benjamin  Stevens,  who  were 
early  settlers  of  that  state  and  are  now  deceased.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Hamilton  have  three 
children,  Lewis  E.,  Rollin  and  Martha  Irene. 

The  family  attend  the  Congregational  church  and  Mr.  Hamilton  also  holds  membership 
with  the  Odd  Fellows  and  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America.  In  politics  he  is  a  democrat 
and  Ills  interest  in  local  afi'airs  is  indicated  by  his  membership  in  the  Commercial  Club,  in  which 
he  gives  active  cooperation  to  all  practical  and  progressive  plans  for  the  upbuilding  of  the  city. 
His  own  career  has  been  marked  by  steady  progress  since  he  started  out  to  provide  a 
livelihood  at  the  age  of  eighteen.  He  has  worked  his  way  steadily  upward,  basing  his 
success  upon  energy,  enterprise  and  persistency  of  purpose. 


GEORGE  F.  DAHLSTROM. 


George  F.  Dahlstrom,  a  farmer  of  Stutsman  county,  living  on  section  18,  Marstonmoor 
township,  is  a  native  son  of  Wisconsin,  his  birth  having  occurred  near  Oshkosh.  September 
13,  1868,  his  parents  being  John  and  .Johanna  Dahlstrom,  natives  of  Sweden  and  Norway 
respectively.  They  were  married  on  the  boat  on  which  they  came  to  the  new  world  and  they 
established  their  home  near  Oshkosh,  while  at  the  present  time  they  are  living  at  Winchester, 
Wisconsin. 

George  F.  Dahlstrom  is  the  fifth  in  order  of  birth  in  their  family  of  ten  children,  of 
whom  nine  are  yet  living.  He  was  educated  in  the  schools  of  his  native  state  and  assisted 
in  the  work  of  the  home  farm  until  he  reached  the  age  of  twenty-one  years,  when  he  sought 
employment  in  the  woods  of  northern  Wisconsin.  He  secured  a  situation  in  a  sawmill  and 
for  five  years  worked  in  connection  with  the  lumber  industry  in  that  state.  He  then  removed 
to  Winnebago,  Minnesota,  where  he  conducted  a  meat  market  for  seven  years  and  in  the 
spring  of  1903  he  came  to  North  Dakota,  settling  in  Stutsman  county,  where  he  entered 
a  homestead  claim,  proving  up  on  his  property.  He  was  one  of  the  first  settlers  in  his 
part  of  the  county  and  when  he  took  up  his  abode  there  he  had  to  drive  twenty-two  miles 
to  town.  He  worked  persistently  and  earnestly  in  converting  his  tract  of  wild  prairie  land 
into  productive  fields  and  as  prosperity  attended  his  efforts  he  began  buying  more  land. 
He  is  raising  small  grain  and  corn  and  also  shorthorn  cattle  and  he  now  makes  a  specialty  of 
dairying.  He  has  one  hundred  head  of  cattle,  including  thirty  milch  cows,  and  all  the  milking 
is  done  by  hand.  His  horses  number  twenty-four  head  and  he  has  sisty-five  head  of 
Poland  China  hogs.  He  is  today  farming  an  entire  section  of  land  and  is  one  of  the  leading 
and  representative  agriculturists  of  his  district.  In  1913  he  built  a  fine  bank  bam  and 
in  191.5  erected  his  present  large  and  attractive  residence,  which  is  equipped  with  a  hot  water 
heating  system   and  an  incandescent   electric  light  plant   which  not  only   supplies   lighting 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  331 

for  the  home  but  also  for  the  barn.  In  fact  his  place  is  splendidly  equipped  according  to 
modern  methods  and  he  uses  the  latest  improved  machinery  to  facilitate  the  work  of  the 
fields.  He  is  a  stockholder  in  the  Farmers  Elevator  Company  and  also  in  the  Equity  Elevator 
at  St.  Paul. 

In  1894,  while  living  in  Winnebago,  Minnesota,  Jir.  Dahlstrom  was  married  to  Miss 
Sarah  Silrum,  who  was  born  in  Faribault  county,  Minnesota,  and  they  have  three  children: 
Irvin,  Stella  and  Walter.  The  parents  hold  membership  in  the  Lutheran  church  at  Pettibone 
and  Mr.  Dahlstrom  gives  his  political  support  to  the  republican  party.  He  has  served 
as  assessor  and  was  chairman  of  the  local  board  when  the  township  was  organized,  while 
at  the  present  time  he  is  serving  as  township  supervisor.  He  is  likewise  serving  for  the  third 
term  as  president  of  the  school  board  and  is  interested  in  all  that  pertains  to  public  progress 
as  well  as  to  individual  success.  He  has  lived  to  witness  remarkable  changes  in  the  county 
as  the  work  of  civilization  and  improvement  has  been  carried  forward  and  as  the  county  has 
been  converted  into  a  populous  and  prosperous  region  by  the  men  who  have  here  established 
homes  and  have  not  only  developed  their  personal  business  affairs  but  has  recognized  and 
utilized  their  opportunities  for  the  establishment  of  a  stable  county  government. 


W.  B.  DICKSON. 


Throughout  Stark  county  and  throughout  sections  of  the  state  where  he  is  well  known 
W.  B.  Dickson  is  spoken  of  in  terms  of  high  regard  as  a  substantial  citizen  and  valuable 
official,  serving  now  as  register  of  the  United  States  land  office  in  Dickinson.  He  was  born 
in  the  province  of  Ontario,  Canada,  near  Seaforth,  November  26,  1853,  and  comes  of  Scotch 
Canadian  parentage.  At  the  place  of  his  nativity  he  acquired  his  elementary  education  and 
later  he  attended  the  Academy  of  Georgetown,  from  which  he  won  a  teacher's  certificate. 
Keturning  to  Brussels,  Ontario,  where  he  had  completed  his  graded  school  education,  he 
then  became  a  teacher  in  the  schools  of  that  place  and  so  continued  for  about  three  years. 
But  he  regarded  this  merely  as  an  initial  step  to  other  professional  labor  and  when 
opportunity  offered  took  up  the  study  of  law,  attending  Osgood  Hall,  the  chief  center  of 
learning  in  the  province  of  Ontario.  Later  he  was  articled  to  the  law  office  of  James  T. 
Garrow,  late  chief  justice  of  the  court  of  appeals  of  the  province  of  Ontario,  under  whose 
direction  he  pursued  his  reading  for  five  years,  which  was  the  period  prescribed  by  Canadian 
law  for  a  law  course.  During  his  preparatory  period  he  had  to  pass  four  very  thorough 
examinations,  the  first  in  primary  law,  the  second  in  first  intermediate  law,  the  third  in 
second  intermediate  law,  while  the  fourth  gave  him  a  position  as  solicitor  and  barrister. 
After  successfully  passing  the  required  examinations  he  was  admitted  to  the  Canadian  bar  at 
Osgood  Hall,  Toronto,  after  which  he  returned  to  Brussels.  Ontario,  where  he  opened  an  office 
and  continued  to  practice  for  about  eight  years.  While  thus  engaged  he  was  retained  on  a 
case  which  took  him  to  Montana  and  there  on  the  10th  of  July,  1888,  he  was  admitted  to 
practice  before  the  Montana  bar  at  Helena.  Later  he  went  to  Denver,  Colorado,  where  he 
lived  for  a  few  years,  and  in  May,  1894,  he  removed  to  Langdon,  where  he  opened  a  law  office 
following  his  admission  to  the  North  Dakota  bar.  Mr.  Dickson  practiced  successfully  at 
Langdon  for  twenty  years,  or  until  1915,  and  won  a  place  among  the  ablest  lawyers  of  his 
section  of  the  state.  He  displayed  marked  abUity  in  preparing  his  cases  as  well  as  in 
presenting  his  cause  before  the  courts  and  both  as  a  private  practitioner  and  as  a  public 
prosecutor  in  Cavalier  county  he  won  rank,  gaining  favorable  verdicts  in  some  of  the  most 
notable  criminal  cases  that  have  ever  been  tried  in  North  Dakota.  For  nine  years  he  served 
as  states  attorney  of  Cavalier  county,  first  by  appointment  and  afterward  by  election  on  four 
different  occasions.  While  in  that  office  he  was  one  of  the  prosecutors  in  the  case  of  the  state 
vs.  Barry  and  the  state  vs.  Gillespie  and  also  tried  other  important  murder  cases.'  In  1915 
he  received  appointment  from  President  Wilson  to  the  position  of  register  of  the  United  States 
land  office  at  Dickinson.  He  then  removed  to  the  latter  city  and  has  since  discharged  the 
duties  of  the  position.  The  United  States  land  office  at  Dickinson  has  tributary  government 
land  that  brings  to  the  office  an  amount  of  business  that  classes  it  not  only  as  the  largest 
in  the  state  but  in  the  entire  northwestern  group  of  states. 


332  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

On  the  26th  of  September,  1S86,  Mr.  Dickson  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Jennie 
H.  Cormack,  a  native  of  Ingersoll,  Ontario,  who  was  reared,  however,  in  Brussels.  They 
have  become  the  jjarents  of  three  children:  Alice  R.,  a  teacher  of  English  in  Dickinson; 
Robert  Murray,  a  member  of  Company  K  of  the  North  Dakota  Infantry,  now  with  the 
soldiers  on  tlie  Mexican  border;  and  Agnes  I.,  who  is  attending  the  Valley  City  Normal 
School. 

In  politics  Mr.  Dickson  has  always  been  a  stalwart  democrat  since  becoming  a  citizen 
of  the  United  States  and  is  a  zealous  party  worker,  doing  much  for  the  promotion  of 
democratic  interests  in  the  communities  in  which  he  has  lived.  His  political  career,  like 
his  private  life,  will  bear  the  closest  investigation  and  scrutiny  and  his  course  has  won 
for  him  the  respect  of  the  members  of  the  opposition  party.  His  service  as  states  attorney 
is  highly  commended  and  he  has  also  been  a  member  of  the  school  board.  Fraternally  he 
is  connected  with  the  Masonic  lodge  at  Brussels,  Ontario,  of  which  he  is  a  past  master, 
and  he  also  belongs  to  the  Royal  Arch  chapter  at  Langdon  and  to  El  Zagal  Temple  of  the 
Mystic  Shrine  at  Fargo.  He  also  has  membership  in  the  Knights  of  Pythias  lodge  at 
Langdon  and  is  a  past  grand  chancellor.  His  religious  faith  is  that  of  the  Presbyterian 
church,  to  the  teachings  of  which  he  loyally  adheres.  He  is  a  gifted  speaker  and  his 
genial  manner  has  won  for  him  a  host  of  friends  throughout  the  state.  In  fact  he  is  one 
of  the  most  prominent  representatives  of  the  northwestern  part  of  the  state,  honored 
and  respected  wherever  known  and  most  of  all  where  he  is  best  known. 


SEWARD  JI.  HYDLE. 


One  of  the  most  prominent  and  influential  citizens  of  Williston  is  Seward  M.  Hydle, 
cashier  of  the  Williston  State  Bank.  He  was  born  on  the  31st  of  March,  1874,  in  Hardanger, 
on  the  west  coast  of  Norway,  and  is  a  son  of  Magnus  and  Syneva  (Osa)  Hydle,  also  natives 
of  that  country.  The  father  was  a  farmer  by  occupation  and  was  a  well  educated  man.  He 
was  a  leader  in  his  community,  holding  municipal  office  and  being  always  consulted  in  public 
affairs,  in  which  connection  his  advice  was  generally  followed.  He  died  on  the  old  Hydle 
farm  in  Norway  and  there  his  widow  still  makes  her  home. 

Seward  M.  Hydle  attended  the  district  schools  near  Ulvik,  Norway,  and  also  the  high 
school  in  that  town  for  one  year.  In  1892,  at  the  age  of  eighteen  years,  he  came  alone  to 
America,  his  destination  being  Hatton,  Traill  county.  North  Dakota,  where  some  of  his 
neighbors  in  Norway  had  located.  There  he  worked  as  a  farm  hand  for  three  years  and 
attended  the  district  schools  during  the  winter  months,  thus  gaining  a  knowledge  of  the 
English  language.  Feeling  the  need  of  a  better  education,  he  saved  during  that  period 
enough  to  enable  him  to  continue  his  studies  in  a  higher  institution  of  learning.  In  1895  he 
entered  Valders  Business  College  and  Normal  School  at  Decorah,  Iowa,  where  he  was  a 
student  during  the  winter  seasons  for  three  years  but  worked  during  the  summer  months. 
He  was  graduated  from  that  school  in  1898  and  in  the  fall  of  that  year  went  to  Ilillsboro, 
Traill  county.  North  Dakota,  teaching  three  terms  in  the  country  schools  of  that  locality. 

In  1899  Mr.  Hydle  gained  his  first  banking  experience  as  bookkeeper  in  the  Hillsboro 
National  Bank,  with  which  he  was  connected  until  1905,  serving  as  its  cashier  during  the 
last  two  years.  On  resigning  that  position  he  established  the  First  State  Bank  at  Garrison, 
North  Dakota,  in  1905,  but  the  following  year  became  assistant  cashier  of  tlie  W^illiams 
County  Bank  at  Williston  on  its  incorporation.  In  1910  he  and  his  associates  purchased  the 
Williston  State  Bank  and  he  has  since  served  as  its  cashier,  in  charge  of  the  active  aifairs  of 
the  bank,  which  under  his  able  guidance  has  steadily  prospered  and  is  now  one  of  the 
leading  moneyed  institutions  of  Williams  county.  He  is  a  director  of  the  Missouri  Bridge 
Company. 

On  the  19th  of  August,  1908,  at  Petersburg,  North  Dakota,  Mr.  Hydle  was  united  in 
marriage  to  Miss  Nellie  S.  Johnson,  who  was  born  in  Decorah,  Iowa,  but  when  only  two 
years  old  was  brought  to  this  state  by  her  parents,  Martin  N.  and  Stella  (White)  Johnson, 
the  father  taking  up  a  homestead  near  Petersburg,  where  he  farmed  for  some  years.  He 
was  a  native  of  Wisconsin  but  from  the  age  of  two  years  had  made  his  home  in  Decorah, 


SEWARD  iM.  HVDLE 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  335 

Iowa.  He  stuJicd  for  the  legal  profession  and  after  his  admission  to  the  bar  engaged  in  the 
practice  of  law  in  Iowa  until  his  removal  to  Petersburg,  North  Dakota,  in  1881.  There  he 
also  practiced  in  connection  with  farming.  His  fellow  citizens  recognizing  his  worth  and 
ability,  honored  him  with  some  of  the  highest  offices  within  their  gift.  He  served  as  states 
attorney  of  Nelson  county  from  1890  until  189G  and  was  one  of  the  first  congressmen  elected 
from  this  state,  holding  that  position  for  ten  years.  He  was  a  presidential  elector  in  1876 
and  was  a  delegate  to  the  North  Dakota  constitutional  convention  in  1889.  He  was  congress- 
man at  large  from  this  state  from  1890  to  1898.  In  1909  he  was  elected  to  the  United  States 
senate  and  was  filling  that  position  at  the  time  of  his  death,  which  occurred  in  J'^argo,  North 
Dakota,  October  31,  1909.  Thus  passed  away  one  of  the  most  prominent  and  influential  men 
of  the  state — a  man  honored  and  esteemed  by  all  who  knew  him.  He  was  a  graduate  of  the 
arts  and  law  departments  of  the  Upper  Iowa  University,  of  which  institution  his  wife  was 
also  a  graduate.  She  was  born  in  Worcester,  Massachusetts,  and  in  early  life  accompanied 
her  parents  on  their  removal  to  Illinois  and  later  to  Iowa.  She  married  Mr.  Johnson  in  Iowa 
City  and  is  now  living  at  Petersburg,  North  Dakota. 

Mrs.  Hydle  was  also  highly  educated,  being  graduated  from  the  arts  and  science  depart- 
ments of  the  University  of  North  Dakota,  which  has  conferred  upon  her  the  degree  of  B.  S. 
She  has  taught  in  the  high  schools  of  Hillsboro  and  Minto,  North  Dakota,  and  of  Seattle, 
Washington.  For  the  past  five  years  she  has  been  a  member  of  the  Williston  school  board 
and  was  its  president  for  two  years.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Hydle  have  two  children ;  Neva  .losephine, 
born  in  Williston,  June  17,  1909;  and  John  Houghton,  born  in  Williston,  July  23,  1914. 

In  politics  Mr.  Hydle  is  a  republican  and  in  religious  faith  is  a  Lutheran  while  Mrs.  Hydle 
is  a  Presbyterian.  He  is  serving  as  senior  deacon  in  the  Masonic  lodge  of  Williston,  has  taken 
all  the  degrees  of  the  Scottish  Rite  and  is  a  member  of  Kera  Temple  of  the  Mystic  Shrine  at 
Grand  Forks.  He  also  belongs  to  the  Sons  of  Norway,  the  Benevolent  Protective  Order  of 
Elks,  the  Knights  of  Pythias  and  the  Ancient  Order  of  United  Workmen,  all  of  Williston. 
He  is  a  director  of  the  Commercial  Club  and  is  greatly  interested  in  the  community  welfare. 
He  stands  high  both  in  business  and  social  circles  and  is  one  of  the  most  popular  citizens  of 
the  town  which  he  now  claims  as  his  home. 


WILLI a:\i  F.  KEMPSHALL. 


William  F.  Kcmpshall,  postmaster  at  Taylor,  was  born  in  Branford,  Connecticut,  August 
16,  1858,  a  son  of  John  Kerapshall,  a  native  of  England,  and  his  wife,  Fannie  (Hemstalk) 
Kempshall,  who  was  also  of  English  birth.  Coming  to  America,  they  settled  at  New 
Haven,  Connecticut,  where  the  father  followed  the  shoemaker's  trade,  which  he  had  previ- 
ously learned  in  his  native  land.  He  afterward  removed  to  Maroa,  Illinois,  where  he  spent 
his  remaining  days,  both  he  and  his  wife  being  now  deceased.  William  F.  Kempshall  was 
one  of  four  children  and  there  were  six  other  children  by  two  previous  marriages.  A  brother 
of  William  F.  Kempshall  was  the  well  known  E.  Kempshall,  who  held  the  patent  for  the 
invention  of  the  golf  ball.  He  became  a  millionaire  and  made  his  home  in  Washington, 
D.  C.     He  died  in  November,  1916. 

AVilliam  F.  Kempshall  acquired  his  education  in  the  schools  of  Maroa,  Illinois,  and  after 
his  textbooks  were  put  aside  he  returned  to  New  Britain,  Connecticut,  wliere  he  learned  the 
machinist's  trade,  spending  four  jears  in  that  city.  He  next  entered  the  theatrical  business, 
in  which  he  traveled  over  thirty-two  states  and  two  territories,  visiting  many  of  those  states 
on  various  occasions.  He  left  the  stage  in  1894  to  enter  the  employ  of  the  Colorado  Midland 
Kailroad  and  while  in  that  connection  became  the  business  manager  of  the  Colorado  Midland 
Band,  which  position  he  filled  for  a  period  of  three  years.  During  that  time  the  band 
)>Iayed  at  the  Mountain  and  Plain  Festival  and  won  first  prize  among  thirty-four  bands  for 
three  consecutive  years,  receiving  three  hundred  dollars  as  prize  money.  He  then  went  to 
St.  Charles,  Minnesota,  and  was  engaged  in  the  hotel  business  for  a  year,  subsequently 
removing  to  Minneapolis,  where  he  worked  at  his  trade  in  the  employ  of  the  Globe  Iron 
Works  Company  for  a  period  of  seven  years. 

In   1906   Mr.   Kempshall   arrived  in   North   Dakota   and   filed   on  a   homestead   in   Dunn 


336  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

county,  a  distance  of  twenty-five  miles  nortli  of  Taylor.  He  proved  up  on  that  property 
and  in  1911  took  up  his  abode  in  Taylor,  where  he  has  since  made  his  home.  At  the  present 
time  he  is  filling  the  office  of  postmaster  and  is  making  an  excellent  record  in  this  position. 
On  removing  to  Taylor  he  entered  into  arrangements  to  lead  and  instruct  the  Taylor 
band  and  orchestra,  the  band  consisting  of  thirty  pieces  and  the  orchestra  of  fourteen. 
Both  Mr.  Kempshall  and  his  wife  are  musicians  of  marked  ability  and  the  latter  is  a  teacher 
of  piano.  They  are  thus  valuable  additions  to  the  musical  circles  of  city  and  county  and  have 
done  much  to  cultivate  musical  taste  in  Taylor  throughout  the  surrounding  district.  On  the 
30th  of  November,  1913,  Mr.  Kempshall  was  appointed  to  the  office  of  postmaster,  which  posi- 
tion he  is  still  filling. 

In  1894  was  celebrated  the  marriage  of  Mr.  Kempshall  and  Miss  Carrie  E.  Welch,  a 
relative  of  Charlie  Welch,  who  has  won  fame  as  the  manufacturer  of  Welch's  grape  juice. 
Her  oarents,  Abraham  and  Mary  Welch,  were  residents  of  the  state  of  New  York.  They 
weie  of  English  birth  and  the  father  prepared  for  tjie  ministry  but  after  coming  to  America 
engaged  in  merchandising.     Both  he  and  his  wife  are  now  deceased. 

In  his  political  views  Mr.  Kempshall  is  a  democrat  but  has  never  been  a  politician  in 
the  usually  accepted  sense  of  office  seeking.  His  wife  is  a  member  of  the  Episcopal  church 
and  tlicy  are  held  in  high  esteem  throughout  the  community  in  which  they  reside,  occupying 
an  enviable  position  in  social  circles. 


E.  L.  DUELL. 


E.  L.  Duell  filling  the  office  of  county  treasurer  in  Ramsey  county  and  maintaining  his 
home  at  Devils  Lake,  was  born  in  Virden,  Illinois,  July  14,  1883,  a  son  of  D.  G.  and  Ella  V. 
(Snider)  Duell.  The  father  is  a  veteran  of  the  Civil  war.  having  served  in  defense  of  the 
Union  as  a  member  of  the  Fifty- second  Illinois  Volunteer  Infantry. 

E.  L.  Duell  was  educated  in  the  public  and  high  schools  of  Devils  Lake,  to  which  city  his 
parents  removed  when  he  was  but  two  years  of  age,  his  father  homesteading  in  this  section 
of  the  state.  After  completing  his  piiblic  school  course  E.  L.  Duell  entered  the  LTniversity 
of  North  Dakota,  in  which  he  studied  for  three  yenrs  and  then  matriculated  in  the  University 
of  Illinois,  from  which  he  was  graduated  in  1904.  He  next  engaged  in  the  lumber  business 
and  in  February,  1905,  was  called  to  public  office  by  appointment  to  the  position  of  deputy 
county  aiiditor.  He  served  in  that  capacity  until  November,  1906,  when  he  was  made  deputy 
county  treasurer,  and  so  continued  for  about  six  and  a  half  years,  or  until  the  1st  of 
May,  1913,  when  election  placed  him  in  the  office  of  county  treasurer  for  a  four  years' 
term,  so  that  he  will  remain  the  incumbent  until  May,  1917.  He  has  always  been  a 
stalwart  republican  and  is  one  of  the  earnest  workers  for  the  party  in  Ramsey  county. 

Fraternally  Mr.  Duell  is  a  prominent  Mason,  belonging  to  the  lodge,  chapter,  commandery 
and  Mystic  Shrine,  while  in  his  life  he  exemplifies  the  beneficent  spirit  upon  which  the  order 
is  based.  He  is  also  identified  with  the  Elks  and  with  the  Ancient  Order  of  United 
Workmen.  He  stands  for  progressiveness  and  does  everything  in  his  power  to  promote  public 
improvement  and  advancement.  The  sterling  traits  of  his  character  have  won  him  the 
esteem  of  his  fellow  townsmen  and  he  has  a  circle  of  friends  almost  coextensive  with  the 
circle  of  his  acquaintance. 


LUDVIG   SCHULSTAD. 


Ludvig  Sehulstad,  numbered  among  the  merchants  of  Reynolds,  where  he  is  engaged  in 
the  hardware  trade,  was  born  in  Norway,  October  25,  1849,  a  son  of  Lars  and  Lisbeth 
Sehulstad,  who  spent  their  entire  lives  in  Norway.  In  his  youthful  days  Ludvig  Sehulstad 
devoted  his  attention  to  the  acquirement  of  an  education  but  after  reaching  his  fifteenth 
year  his  labors  were  concentrated  on  the  work  of  tilling  his  father's  farm.  Wlien  he  had 
reached  the  age  of  twenty  years  he  bade  adieu  to  friends  and  family  and  sailed  for  the 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  337 

new  world  in  1870,  settling  first  in  Mitchell  county,  Iowa,  where  he  remained  for  twelve 
years.  During  that  period  he  clerked  for  eight  years  in  a  hardware  store  and  thus  gained 
comprehensive  knowledge  of  the  business.  He  afterward  removed  to  Norman,  Winnebago 
county,  Iowa,  where  he  opened  a  hardware  store,  conducting  his  business  at  that  point 
for  four  years.  On  selling  out  he  removed  to  Reynolds  in  1889  and  established  a  hardware 
store,  being  today  the  oldest  hardware  merchant  in  the  city  and  carrying  the  largest  line  of 
shelf  and  heavy  hardware.  His  trade  has  grown  steadily  as  the  result  of  his  progressive 
and  honorable  business  methods  and  he  has  long  since  reached  a  position  among  the  prosperous 
citizens  of  his  district. 

On  the  4th  of  March,  1879,  Mr.  Schulstad  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Lena 
Odegard,  of  St.  An.sgar,  Iowa,  and  to  them  have  been  born  nine  children.  Oscar  Lawrence, 
who  was  born  in  Lyle,  Minnesota,  in  1879,  is  married  and  now  lives  in  Forbes,  North  Dakota. 
Lizzie  OtiUie,  who  was  born  in  Lyle  in  1881,  is  now  in  Seattle,  Washington.  Louis  Melvin, 
born  in  Lyle  in  1883,  is  a  resident  of  Brainerd,  Minnesota.  Mrs.  Mabel  Laura  McMicken 
was  born  in  Norman,  Iowa.',  in  1886  and  is  now  a  resident  of  Slontana.  Lottie  Helma  Maria, 
born  in  Norman,  Iowa,  in  1887,  is  a  graduate  of  the  State  Normal  School  at  Valley  City, 
North  Dakota,  and  is  now  a  teacher  in  the  schools  of  Washington.  Olivia  Antonia,  born 
in  1889  at  Reynolds,  is  also  a  graduate  of  the  State  Normal  at  Valley  City  and  is  teaching 
in  North  Dakota.  Harry  Reynolds,  born  in  Reynolds  in  1891,  is  assistant  cashier  of  the 
State  Bank  of  Reynolds.  Clarence  Leonard  was  born  in  Reynolds  in  1894  and  is  now  at 
Forbes,  North  Dakota.  Mildred  Lucille,  born  in  Reynolds  in  1898,  is  now  a  junior  in  the 
University  of  North  Dakota. 

The  parents  are  members  of  the  Lutheran  church,  in  which  Mr.  Schulstad  is  now  serving 
as  treasurer.  He  gives  his  political  allegiance  to  the  republican  party  and  for  three  terms 
served  as  alderman  of  Reynolds.  He  has  also  been  a  member  of  the  school  board  and  at  no 
time  is  he  neglectful  of  the  duties  of  citizenship.  He  has  never  had  occasion  to  regret  his 
determination  to  come  to  the  new  world.  He  borrowed  money  with  which  to  make  the 
trip  and  with  his  early  earnings  paid  back  the  sum  which  he  had  thus  secured.  From  that 
point  forward  his  career  has  been  one  of  steady  progress  and  he  is  today  one  of  the  substantial 
business  men  and  respected  citizens  of  Grand  Forks  county. 


FRANK  BUDACK. 


Frank  Budack,  of  Walipeton,  who  was  elected  treasurer  of  Richland  county  by  a  good 
majority  in  November,  1916,  is  known  as  a  capable  and  faithful  official,  having  made  an 
excellent  record  as  sheriff.  He  was  born  in  Germany  on  the  3d  of  February,  1873.  a  son 
of  John  and  Matilda  (Koch)  Budack.  the  former  of  whom  was  born  in  18.51  and  the  latter 
in  1855.  They  were  reared  and  married  in  the  fatherland  and  in  1885  came  to  the  UnitM 
States  and  settled  in  Richland  county.  North  Dakota,  where  the  father  engaged  in  farming 
for  others  for  four  years.  At  the  end  of  that  time  he  took  up  a  homestead  in  that  county 
and  at  once  began  the  improvement  of  his  place.  Although  he  was  a  poor  man  when  he 
came  to  this  country  he  is  now  in  comfortable  circumstances,  having  recognized  and  utilized 
the  opportunities  offered  here  to  the  man  of  energy  and  determination.  To  him  and  his  wife 
have  been  born  four  children,  of  whom  two  are  living,  namely:  Frank,  and  Herman,  who 
resides  upon  the  old  homestead.  The  father  is  a  member  of  the  Lutheran  church  and  in 
politics  is  a  democrat.  He  has  made  many  friends  throughout  Richland  county  and  is  one 
of  the  esteemed  citizens  of  Hankinson,  where  he  is  now  living  retired.  His  father,  W.  M. 
Budack,  passed  away  in  Germany,  as  did  the  maternal  grandfather  of  our  subject.  Ernest 
Koch,  who  died  at  the  venerable  age  of  ninety-six  years. 

Frank  Budack  attended  the  early  country  schools  in  the  pursuit  of  his  education  and 
under  the  instruction  of  his  father  gained  during  his  boyhood  much  knowledge  concerning 
farming.  After  putting  aside  his  textbooks  he  followed  agricultural  pursuits  until  he  was 
twenty-two  years  old.  working  for  others  after  leaving  home  at  the  age  of  fourteen  years. 
Following  his  marriage,  in  1895,  he  took  up  a  homestead  in  Roberts  county.  South  D.ikota, 
where  he  resided  until  he  received  a  patent  for  his  land.    He  then  removed  to  Hankinson,  this 


338  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

state,  and  engaged  in  selling  machinery  for  about  five  years.  He  next  became  connected 
with  the  Wipperman  Mercantile  Company,  working  as  a  canvasser  and  collector  until  he  was 
made  deputy  sheriff  under  George  Moody.  He  proved  so  efficient  in  that  position  that  in  1912 
he  was  elected  sheriff  and  in  1914  was  reelected  to  that  office.  He  has  proven  prompt, 
aggressive  and  fearless  in  the  discharge  of  his  duties  and  has  had  the  support  of  all  good 
citizens  of  the  county.     In  1916  he  was  elected  county  treasurer. 

Mr.  Budack  was  married  in  1893  to  Miss  Martha  Klingbeil,  a  native  of  Germany,  by 
whom  he  has  three  childi'en:  Tillie,  who  is  at  home;  Edward,  who  is  with  a  surveying  party 
in  South  Dakota;  and  Carrie,  at  home. 

Mr.  Budack  is  a  stalwart  democrat  and  has  done  all  within  his  power  to  further  the 
success  of  that  party  at  the  polls.  His  religious  faith  is  indicated  by  his  membership  in 
the  Lutheran  church.  He  devotes  his  entire  time  to  his  official  duties  and  his  record  is 
creditable  alike  to  his  ability  and  to  his  public  spirit  and  integrity. 


REV.  VINCENT  STANLEY  MAJER. 

Rev.  Vincent  Stanley  Majer,  pastor  of  the  Polish  Catholic  church  at  Minto,  was  born  in 
Russian  Poland,  May  8,  1876,  a  son  of  Joseph  and  Euphemia  (Cerha)  Majer,  who  were  also 
natives  of  that  country,  where  they  spent  their  entire  lives.  The  father  engaged  in 
bookkeeping  and  clerical  work  and  passed  away  in  1908  at  the  age  of  seventy-six  years, 
while  the  mother  died  in  1888  at  the  age  of  thirty-six. 

Rev.  Majer  was  the  fourth  in  order  of  birth  in  a  family  of  five  sons.  In  early  life  he 
attended  the  common  schools  of  his  native  country,  also  the  gymnasium  and  college  and  the 
University  of  Krakow,  where  he  took  up  the  study  of  theology.  He  entered  upon  the 
work  of  the  priesthood  in  connection  with  a  church  three  miles  from  Krakow  and  there 
remained  for  two  years,  after  which  he  came  to  America  on  a  visit  to  his  uncle,  Monseigneur 
D.  A.  Maier,  of  St.  Albert's  church  in  St.  Paul,  Minnesota.  This  was  in  April,  1908.  Soon 
afterward  Father  Majer  made  his  way  to  Minto  to  take  charge  of  the  Polish  Catholic 
church  and  later  he  was  assigned  to  duty  at  Warsaw  by  Bishop  Clianley,  there  continuing  for 
fifteen  months,  during  which  period  he  built  up  the  parish  to  large  proportions.  He  built 
the  first  church  at  Minto  but  it  was  destroyed  by  fire  on  the  5th  of  May,  1916,  so  that 
he  is  now  engaged  in  the  work  of  rebuilding  and  the  new  church  will  be  constructed  on  a 
much  larger  scale. 

Father  Majer  is  at  the  head  of  the  Holy  Rosary  T.  D.  M.  Society,  also  of  the  United 
Society  and  other  organizations  fostered  by  the  church  and  the  work  of  the  church  in  its 
various  departments  is  being  most  thoroughly  carried  forward  under  his  supervision.  He 
is  a  man  of  scholarly  attainments,  devoted  to  his  chosen  calling,  and  his  consecration  and 
zeal  are  productive  of  excellent  results. 


L.  F.  TAVIS. 


L.  F.  Tavis,  postmaster  of  Glen  UUin,  was  born  in  Wheeling,  West  Virginia,  August  24, 
1862,  a  son  of  Lawrence  and  Sophia  (Graute)  Tavis,  both  of  whom  were  natives  of  the 
province  of  W'estphalia,  Germany,  where  they  were  reared  and  married.  Coming  to  the 
United  States  in  1860,  they  settled  on  a  farm  near  Wheeling,  West  Virginia,  and  there 
remained  until  1886,  when  they  removed  to  North  Dakota,  establishing  their  home  at  Glen 
Ullin,  where  they  resided  until  called  to  their  final  rest,  the  father  passing  away  in  1895. 
They  had  a  family  of  nine  children,  five  of  whom  have  departed  this  life,  the  others  being: 
John;  Herman  J.,  who  is  engaged  in  the  insurance  business  at  Mandan;  L.  F. ;  and  Louis  A., 
who  is  connected  with  the  banking  business  at  Mandan. 

L.  F.  Tavis  pursued  his  education  in  the  schools  of  West  Virginia,  in  which  state 
he  resided  until  1885,  when  he  came  to  Nortli  Dakota  and  purchased  a  half  section  of 
railroad  land  adjoining  the  town  site  of  Glen  Ullin  and  resided  thereon  until  1891,  when  he 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  339 

took  up  his  abode  in  tlie  town  and  disposed  of  liis  farm.  At  tliat  time  he  purchased  a  lialf 
interest  with  Euj,'ene  Denzel  in  a  general  mercliandise  business  whicli  they  conducted  under 
the  tirm  name  of  Uenzel  &  Tavis  for  about  six  montlis.  Mr.  Denzel  then  sold  his  interest 
to  the  two  brothers  of  Mr.  Tavis,  who  were  at  that  time  in  Mandan,  and  the  firm  style 
was  changed  to  Tavis  Brothers.  That  connection  was  continued  until  August,  1897,  when 
L.  F.  Tavis  bought  out  the  interest  of  his  brothers  and  continued  the  business  under  his 
own  name.  This  was  carried  on  until  1901,  when  he  organized  the  Glen  Ullin  Mercantile 
Company,  of  which  he  became  manager  and  so  remained  until  May,  1915,  when  not  desiring 
to  continue  actively  in  the  business  any  longer,  he  resigned  that  position  and  was  elected 
president.  It  was  on  the  25th  of  May,  1915,  that  he  took  charge  of  the  Glen  Ullin  post- 
olhce,  a  third  class  oUice,  and  is  now  acting  in  that  capacity.  In  addition  to  his  other 
business  connections  he  is  interested  in  the  Merchants  State  Bank  of  Glen  Ullin. 

On  the  12th  of  April,  18S7,  Mr.  Tavis  was  married  to  Miss  Emma  Feser,  a  native  of 
Baden,  Germany,  who  on  crossing  the  Atlantic  took  up  her  abode  in  Glen  Ullin.  Four- 
teen children  have  been  born  of  this  union,  of  whom  two  have  passed  away,  the  others 
being:  Agatha,  the  wife  of  Anthony  Theisen,  who  is  engaged  in  the  well  drilling  business 
in  New  England,  North  Dakota;  Joseph  J.,  who  is  cashier  of  the  Security  State  Bank  at 
Raleigh,  North  Dakota;  John  F.,  assistant  cashier  of  the  First  National  Bank  of  Mandan; 
Edward  L.,  secretary  and  treasurer  of  the  Glen  Ullin  Mercantile  Company  and  residing  at 
home;  Frank  J.,  who  is  engaged  in  the  restaurant  business  at  Haylield,  Miimesota;  Mary, 
who  is  a  Sister  in  a  convent  at  St.  Joseph,  Minnesota;  Laura,  at  home;  Lawrence  M.,  Anna, 
Paul  M.  and  Anton  P.,  all  of  whom  are  attending  school;  and  Theresa. 

In  politics  Mr.  Tavis  is  a  democrat  and  has  held  a  number  of  local  offices.  For  six  years 
or  more  he  was  school  treasurer  and  has  ever  been  deeply  and  helpfully  interested  in  the 
cause  of  education.  He  and  his  family  are  communicants  of  the  Sacred  Heart  church  at 
Glen  Ullin  and  he  is  widely  and  favorably  known  in  his  district,  where  for  many  years 
he  has  been  prominently  connected  with  agricultural,  commercial,  financial  and  official 
interests. 


JONATHAN  A.  PETERSON. 


Jonathan  A.  Peterson,  a  well  known  lumber  dealer  residing  in  Wildrose  and  one  of  the 
foremost  citizens  of  that  town,  was  born  on  the  11th  of  March,  1877,  near  Waukon  in 
Allamakee  county,  Iowa,  his  parents  being  John  A.  annd  Annie  S.  (Olson)  Peterson,  both 
natives  of  Sweden.  The  father  was  only  seven  years  of  age  when  brought  to  America  aJid 
he  was  reared  in  Cliicago,  Illinois,  his  education  being  acquired  in  the  city  schools.  Later 
he  was  engaged  in  the  boot  and  shoe  business  there  imtil  his  store  was  destroyed  by  fire. 
In  the  '^s  he  removed  to  Allamakee  county,  Iowa,  and  for  several  years  was  engaged  in 
farming  in  Center  township.  Long  before  the  Civil  war  he  enlisted  in  the  regular  army  and 
marched  from  Fort  Leavenworth.  Kansas,  to  Salt  Lake,  Utah,  during  the  Mormon  campaign, 
and  later  marched  to  Oregon,  taking  part  in  the  engagements  against  the  Indians  there.  After 
one  of  the  battles  with  the  red  men,  in  which  he  was  wounded,  he  was  left  on  the  field  for 
dead  but  was  found  by  his  comrades  and  nursed  back  to  life.  They  cared  for  him  until 
he  was  strong  enough  to  be  moved  to  a  hospital  seventy  miles  away  and  he  had  not  fully 
recovered  from  his  wounds  when  discharged  from  the  army.  Mr.  Peterson  then  returned  to 
Allamakee  county,  Iowa,  and  resumed  farming  but  when  the  south  endeavored  to  secede  he 
again  offered  his  services  to  his  adopted  country,  this  time  enlisting  in  Company  B,  Twenty- 
seventh  Iowa  Volunteer  Infantry,  with  which  he  served  until  hostilities  ceased.  He  took 
part  in  many  hotly  contested  engagements  and  at  one  time  was  ill  with  yellow  fever. 
After  the  war  he  continued  to  follow  farming  in  Center  township,  Allamakee  county,  Iowa,  for 
many  years,  and  was  one  of  the  oldest  residents  of  his  locality.  At  length  he  retired  from 
active  labor  and  made  his  home  with  his  son  Jonathan  A.  in  Denbigh,  North  Dakota, 
where  his  death  occurred.  His  remains  were  taken  back  to  his  old  home  in  Iowa  and  he  was 
laid  to  rest  in  the  churchyard  of  the  Swedish  Baptist  church  in  Center  township,  which  he 
had  helped  to  build.  His  widow  is  now  living  with  her  sister  in  Worthington,  Minnesota. 
She  came  to  this  country  with  her  jiarents  when  fifteen  years  of  age  and  located  in  Iowa. 


340  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

On  the  old  home  farm  in  Allamakee  county,  Iowa,  Jonathan  A.  Peterson  passed  his 
boyhood  and  youth,  attending  the  district  schools  of  Center  township  and  aiding  his  father 
in  the  operation  of  the  farm  until  twenty-five  years  of  age.  Coming  to  North  Dakota,  he 
took  a  homestead  near  Eiga  in  McHenry  county  in  1903,  and  in  connection  with  his  father 
also  established  a  lumberyard  in  the  town,  which  he  conducted  until  1905.  During  the 
following  five  years  he  was  connected  witli  the  Imperial  Lumber  Company  at  Denbigh  and 
when  tlie  town  of  Wildrose  was  started  in  1910  he  removed  to  that  place  and  opened  a 
lumberyard,  which  he  still  carries  on  under  the  name  of  J.  A.  Peterson.  He  not  only  does  a 
big  business  at  that  place  but  also  owns  and  operates  other  yards  at  Corinth  and  Alamo. 

On  the  15th  of  June,  1905,  at  Riga,  North  Dakota,  Mr.  Peterson  was  united  in  marriage 
to  Miss  Ruth  A.  Thompson,  who  was  born  in  West  Rupert,  Bennington  county,  Vermont,  and 
from  that  state  removed  to  Missouri,  but  she  was  practically  reared  in  Oakes,  Dickey  county, 
North  Dakota.  After  attending  school  at  that  place,  she  entered  the  State  Normal  School 
at  Ellendale,  North  Dakota,  where  she  completed  her  education,  and  later  engaged  in 
teaching  for  seven  terms  in  Dickey  county,  North  Dakota.  Her  parents,  Prescott  W.  and 
Alice  M.  (Baker)  Thompson,  were  also  natives  of  the  Green  Mountain  state  and  were 
early  settlers  of  Dickey  count}-,  where  the  father  lived  for  twenty-nine  years  pi'ior  to 
his  death.  His  widow  subsequently  took  up  a  homestead  in  McHenry  county,  this  state, 
and  is  now  living  in  Riga.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Peterson  have  two  children:  Vernon  Arnello, 
born  in  Denbigh,  May  29,  1906;  and  Vivian  Alice,  born  in  Wildrose,  February  28,  1913. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Peterson  are  members  of  the  Presbyterian  church,  and  she  takes  a  very 
active  part  in  its  work,  serving  as  superintendent  of  the  Sunday  school  and  as  a  member  of 
the  Ladies  Aid  Society.  By  his  ballot  Mr.  Peterson  supports  the  men  and  measures  of  the 
republican  party,  and  he  has  filled  the  office  of  chairman  of  the  town  board  of  Wildrose. 
He  is  a  member  of  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America  and  has  served  as  clerk  of  his  camp. 
His  interests,  however,  principally  center  in  his  business  affairs,  and  being  a  man  of  sound 
judgment,  strict  integi'ity  and  farsightedness  he  has  met  with  excellent  success  in  his 
undertakings  and  is  today  one  of  the  substantial  citizens  of  Williams  county  as  well  as 
one  of  its  most  hiehlv  esteemed  residents. 


FRANCIS  PEAKE,  M.  D. 


Dr.  Francis  Peake,  who  has  practiced  medicine  and  surgery  for  a  number  of  years  at 
Jamestown  and  who  served  for  five  years  on  the  state  board  of  medical  examiners,  was 
born  in  Hamden,  Delaware  county,  New  York,  on  the  25th  of  July,  1869.  His  father,  Ira 
Peake,  who  followed  the  occupation  of  farming,  passed  away  on  the  11th  of  February,  1886, 
when  almost  eighty  years  of  age,  as  his  birth  occurred  on  the  18th  of  March,  1806.  His  wife, 
who  bore  the  maiden  name  of  Abigail  Law,  was  called  to  her  reward  in  1876. 

Francis  Peake,  who  is  the  second  in  order  of  birth  in  a  family  of  five  children,  received 
excellent  educational  advantages.  After  attending  the  common  schools  he  was  a  student  in 
the  Walton  Academy  at  Walton,  New  York,  and  graduated  in  1890  from  a  college  entrance 
course.  In  1891  he  entered  the  Hahnemann  Medical  College  of  Cliicago,  from  which  he  was 
graduated  with  the  class  of  1894.  He  made  an  excellent  record  in  that  institution  and  was 
appointed  house  surgeon  of  Hahnemann  Hospital  but  did  not  serve  in  that  capacity,  locating 
instead  at  Cliampaign,  Illinois,  where  he  became  an  assistant  to  the  medical  firm  of  Replogle 
&  Patterson.  After  six  months,  however,  he  removed  to  Fergus  Falls,  Minnesota,  where  he 
remained  for  a  similar  period,  and  then  went  to  Pelican  Rapids,  that  state,  where  he 
practiced  for  three  years.  His  next  removal  was  to  Alexandria,  Minnesota,  and  seven  years 
later,  or  in  1905,  he  settled  at  Valley  City,  North  Dakota,  whence  in  October,  1908,  he  removed 
to  Jamestown.  He  has  since  resided  there  and  in  the  intervening  eight  years  has  gained 
recognition  as  a  progressive  and  eflBcient  physician  and  surgeon.  He  is  careful  in  diagnosis 
and  in  the  treatment  of  disease  employs  the  latest  methods,  as  he  keeps  in  close  touch  with 
the  development  in  the  theory  and  practice  of  medicine.  He  is  medical  examiner  for  the  state 
board  of  insanity  and  served  on  the  state  board  of  medical  examiners  for  five  years.  He 
belongs  to  the  Minnesota  State  Homeopathic  Society,  the  North  Dakota  Homeopathic  Medical 


DR.  FRANCIS  PEAKE 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  343 

Society,  of  which  he  served  for  two  years  as  president,  and  to  the  American  Institute  of 
Homeopathy.  He  Is  on  the  staff  of  surgeons  of  the  Parkview  Hospital  of  Jamestown,  of 
which  he  is  also  a  stockholder,  and  he  lias  other  business  interests,  owning  stock  in  the 
Zimmerman  Company  and  holding  title  to  valuable  farm  land. 

On  the  3d  of  July,  1894,  occurred  the  marriage  of  Dr.  Peake  and  Miss  Cora  Blanche 
Henderson,  a  daughter  of  Harvey  and  Ella  (Seward)  Henderson,  of  Walton,  New  York.  Three 
children  were  born  to  this  union:  Abigail  Lucile  and  Ella  Marion,  both  of  whom  are  students 
in  Syracuse  University  at  Syracuse,  New  York;  and  Cyrus  Henderson,  who  is  a  high  school 
student.  The  wife  and  mother  passed  away  on  the  29th  of  November,  1900.  On  the  3d  of 
Jiine,  1903,  Dr.  Peake  was  married  to  Miss  Winifred  Kenely,  of  St.  Cloud,  Minnesota.  One 
daughter,  Katherine  Virginia,  was  born  to  this  union. 

Dr.  Peake  is  a  republican  in  politics  but  has  never  desired  to  hold  office  outside  of  the 
strict  path  of  his  profession.  He  is  a  Knight  Templar  Mason  and  also  belongs  to  the 
Mystic  Shrine,  and  he  is  an  active  member  of  the  Methodist  church.  Determination  and 
enterprise,  which  are  among  his  salient  characteristics,  were  early  manifested  as  he  worked 
his  own  way  through  college.  He  gives  the  most  careful  attention  to  his  patients  and  his 
practice  demands  the  greater  part  of  his  time  but  he  also  finds  opportunity  to  cooperate  in 
movements  for  the  community  welfare. 


wn^LIAM  J.  GLENNY. 


The  business  interests  of  Mott,  North  Dakota,  have  a  worthy  representative  in  William 
J.  Glenny,  who  is  a  member  of  the  well  known  firm  doing  business  under  the  name  of  the 
Mott  Supply  Company.  He  was  born  in  Philadelphia,  Pennsylvania,  on  the  26th  of 
December,  187",  and  is  a  son  of  Alexander  and  Rebecca  (McElroy)  Glenny,  botli  natives  of 
Ireland.  His  paternal  grandfather  was  James  Glenny  and  his  maternal  grandfather  was 
George  McElroy.  The  grandparents  on  both  sides  continued  to  reside  on  the  Emerald 
isle  throughout  life.  When  a  young  man  the  father  of  our  subject  came  to  the  new 
world  and  located  in  Philadelphia,  Pennsylvania,  where  he  engaged  in  the  milk  business  until 
1886,  when  he  removed  to  Hudson,  Iowa.  At  that  place  he  conducted  a  meat  market  and 
also  dealt  in  cattle  but  did  not  meet  with  success  in  that  venture.  In  1892  he  became  a 
resident  of  Chicago,  Illinois,  but  was  not  long  permitted  to  enjoy  his  new  home  as  he 
died  shortly  after  his  arrival  there  at  the  age  of  forty-five  years.  His  widow  then  returned 
to  Iowa  with  her  two  sons  and  purchased  a  farm,  on  which  they  grew  to  nianliood. 

William  -J.  Glenny,  the  younger  of  the  these,  attended  tlie  common  and  high  schools  of 
Hudson,  Iowa,  and  completed  his  education  at  the  Iowa  State  Normal  in  Cedar  Falls,  Iowa. 
He  then  returned  to  the  home  farm,  on  which  he  remained  until  1899,  when  he  accepted  a 
position  with  the  Hudson  Savings  Bank,  which  had  been  formed  by  the  consolidation  of  the 
First  National  Bank  and  the  Hudson  State  Bank.  He  remained  with  that  institution  for 
five  years,  during  which  time  he  was  promoted  to  the  position  of  assistant  cashier.  Mr. 
Glenny  next  engaged  in  the  lumber  business  at  Hudson  but  at  the  end  of  one  year  removed 
to  Waterloo,  Iowa,  and  engaged  in  the  same  business,  successfully  conducting  a  lumber- 
yard there  until  1907.  In  that  year  he  sold  out  and  removed  to  Mott,  North  D-akota, 
which  then  contained  but  one  small  store.  In  partnership  with  R.  T.  Thorpe  and  John 
Basford,  he  embarked  in  general  merchandise  but  in  1910  he  purchased  their  interests  in 
the  business  and  admitted  H.  0.  Pearce  to  the  firm,  the  business  having  always  been 
conducted  under  the  style  of  the  Mott  Supply  Company.  At  this  time  they  erected  their 
present  store  building,  which  has  a  frontage  of  one  hundred  feet,  is  eighty  feet  in  depth 
and  is  two  stories  in  lieight  with  a  full  basement.  They  carry  a  well  selected  stock  of  dry 
goods,  clothing,  boots,  shoes,  millinery,  groceries,  hardware,  stoves,  tinware,  crockery\vare, 
etc..  and  also  deal  in  lumber  and  farm  machinery.  Their  stock  is  valued  at  fifty  thousand 
dollars  and  they  do  an  annual  business  of  over  one  hundred  thousand  dollars.  Their 
equipment  includes  a  frost  proof  storage  for  potatoes,  etc.,  and  their  establishment  is 
up-to-date  in  every  respect.  As  their  prices  are  reasonable  and  their  goods  first  class  they 
have  built  up  an  excellent  trade,  tlioir  patronage  coming  from  many  miles  around  Mott. 


344  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

On  the  38th  of  September,  1910,  Mr.  Glenny  married  Jliss  JIaud  Virdeii,  of  Waterloo, 
Iowa,  a  daugliter  of  C.  W.  Mrden,  who  is  one  of  the  successful  farmers  of  Blacli  Hawk 
count}',  that  state,  and  who  has  served  as  supervisor  for  some  years.  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
Glenny  are  members  of  the  Congregational  church  and  he  is  also  affiliated  with  the 
Masonic  fraternity.  He  is  a  man  of  more  than  ordinary  ability,  sound  judgment  and  sagacity 
and  to  these  characteristics  may  be  attributed  his  success  in  the  business  world,  and  his 
pleasant,  genial  manner  has  made  him  a  host  of  friends  wherever  known. 


HENRY  PORTER. 


Henry  Porter,  an  energetic  business  man  of  Walhalla,  where  he  is  engaged  in  dealing  in 
farm  implements  and  in  automobiles,  was  born  in  Worcester  county,  Massachusetts, 
August  30,  1853,  a  son  of  Clement  and  Elizabeth  (Commo)  Porter,  both  of  whom  are  natives 
of  Quebec.  In  childhood  they  accompanied  their  respective  parents  to  Massachusetts,  where 
they  were  educated  and  married.  The  father  took  up  the  occupation  of  farming  and  has 
since  remained  a  resident  of  Massachusetts,  where  he  is  now  living  at  the  age  of  ninety- 
three  years.  His  wife  has  reached  the  age  of  eighty-eiglit  years,  so  that  they  are  one 
of  the  most  venerable  couples  in  their  part  of  the  state.  In  their  family  were  six  children: 
Peter,  Joseph  and  Louis,  all  residents  of  Massachusetts;  Henry,  of  this  review;  Clement, 
living  at  Wilmot,  South  Dakota;  and  Mrs.  Mary  Jane  Snow,  of  Massachusetts. 

In  his  youthful  days  Henry  Porter  attended  the  schools  of  his  native  state  but 
when  only  nine  years  of  age  hired  out  to  work  on  a  farm.  He  was  to  receive  his  board  and 
clothing  only  for  a  number  of  3-ears.  At  length  he  removed  from  Massachusetts  to  St.  Paul, 
Minnesota,  in  1877  and  was  there  connected  with  tlie  boot  and  shoe  business  for  six  years.  On, 
the  expiration  of  that  period,  or  in  1883,  he  came  to  Dakota  territory,  homesteading  in 
what  is  now  Cavalier  county.  North  Dakota.  He  proved  up  on  that  land  and  there  engaged 
in  farming  for  a  considerable  period,  converting  liis  place  into  rich  and  productive  fields. 
In  1901  he  removed  to  Walhalla,  where  he  established  an  implement  store,  in  which  he  has 
been  quite  successful,  handling  all  kinds  of  farm  implements  and  machinery  together  with 
automobiles,  selling  the  Ford  and  Overland  cars.  His  business  is  a  profitable  one  and  his 
trade  is  steadily  growing,  his  success  being  due  to  capable  management,  indefatigable 
industry  and  unfailing  enterprise. 

Mr.  Porter  was  married  to  Miss  Emma  Lucier  of  Worcester  county,  Massachusetts, 
who  was  born  August  20,  187i,  a  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Nelson  Lucier.  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
Porter  have  three  children:  Mrs.  Flora  May  Tatrant,  who  has  two  children;  Mrs.  Clara 
May  Nachbar,  of  Crookston,  Minnesota,  who  has  one  child;  and  Emma,  wife  of  Otto  Braget. 

The  religious  faith  of  the  family  is  that  of  tlie  Roman  Catholic  church.  In  polities  Mr. 
Porter  is  a  republican  and  has  served  as  county  commissioner  of  Cavalier  county.  He  is 
regarded  as  one  of  the  leading  and  representative  men  of  his  section  of  the  state.  His 
pronounced  ability  has  won  him  success  in  business,  while  his  sterling  worth  has  gained 
for  him  the  respect,  goodwill  and  confidence  of  his  fellowmen.  His  life  record  proves  what 
may  be  accomplished  when  there  is  a  will  to  dare  and  to  do,  and  his  course  should  serve  to 
inspire  and  encourage  others,  showing  that  success  and  an  honored  name  may  be  won 
sinniltaneously. 


ALBERT  C.  ISAMINGER. 


Albert  C.  Isaniinger,  cashier  of  the  Arena  State  Bank  at  Arena,  Burleigh  county,  was 
born  in  Oliio  in  1877.  His  father,  John  A.  Isaminger,  was  a  mechanic  who  lived  for  many 
years  in  Ohio  but  is  now  a  resident  of  Washington,  his  liome  being  near  Seattle.  His 
wife,  wlio  bore  the  maiden  name  of  Kate  Laven,  was  also  a  native  of  Ohio. 

Albert  C.  Isaniinger  was  the  second  in  order  of  birth  in  a  family  of  five  cliildren, 
«I1  of  whom  are  yet  living.     He  was  educated  in  the  public  schools.     At  the  age  of  seven  years 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  345 

he  accompanied  Iiis  parents  on  tlieir  removal  to  Nebraska,  the  family  home  being  established 
on  a  farm  about  twenty-seven  miles  from  Omaha.  There  he  remained  until  he  was  about 
nineteen  years  of  age,  after  which  he  began  earning  his  living  by  working  as  a  farm  hand.  In 
1903  he  came  to  North  Dakota  and  secured  employment  on  a  ranch  located  near  Denholl'. 
There  he  remained  for  about  a  year,  when  he  entered  the  employ  of  a  general  merchant 
of  that  town,  for  whom  he  worked  for  two  years.  He  ne.xt  entered  the  Denhofi'  State 
Bank  as  assistant  cashier  and  afterward  occupied  the  position  of  cashier  for  a  period 
of  seven  years.  He  has  since  been  engaged  in  the  banking  business,  in  which  connection 
he  has  become  widely  and  favorably  known.  After  leaving  the  Denhoff  State  Bank  he 
removed  to  Arena  in  1913  and  in  connection  with  Mr.  Halver  and  Mr.  Davies  organized 
the  Arena  State  Bank,  which  was  capitalized  for  ten  thousand  dollars  and  of  which  Jlr. 
Isaminger  has  since  been  the  cashier.  He  has  largely  shaped  its  policy  and  directed  its 
interests  in  his  official  connection  and  under  his  guidance  the  business  of  the  bank  has 
steadily  grown,  the  institution  being  now  a  profitable  concern.  In  addition  to  his  stock 
in  the  bank  Mr.  Isaminger  owns  considerable  property  in  Burleigh  county  from  which  he  now 
derives  a  good  rental. 

In  1907  occurred  the  marriage  of  Mr.  Isaminger  and  Miss  Alberta  Halver,  of  Minnesota, 
a  daughter  of  Andrew  Halver,  a  ranchman  and  the  president  of  the  Arena  State  Bank. 
Mr.  and  Mrs.  Isaminger  have  become  the  parents  of  two  children.  Merle  and  Marion. 

In  his  political  views  Mr.  Isaminger  is  a  republican  but  is  without  aspiration  for  office. 
His  undivided  time  and  attention  are  given  to  his  business  affairs  and  in  both  banking  and 
farming  he  is  meeting  with  substantial  success.  He  is  actuated  by  the  spirit  of  western 
enterprise  and  progress  and  the  laudable  ambition  of  youth,  which,  combined  with  energy 
and  perseverance,  are  bringing  to  him  success  as  he  progresses  in  his  business  career. 


OLE  T.  ELLESTAD. 


Prominent  among  the  energetic,  farsighted  and  successful  merchants  of  Grand  Forks  is 
Die  T.  Ellestad,  who  is  engaged  in  the  hardware  business  and  has  one  of  the  leading  com- 
mercial enterprises  of  Grand  Forks.  He  was  born  in  Winneshiek  county,  Iowa,  February  26, 
1865,  a  son  of  ToUef  and  Margrit  (Holien)  Ellestad,  who  were  natives  of  Norway,  where 
they  were  reared  and  married.  They  became  parents  of  five  sons  and  four  daughters,  of 
whom  Ole  T.  was  the  si.xth  in  order  of  birth.  It  was  in  the  year  1855  that  the  parents 
crossed  the  Atlantic  and  became  pioneer  settlers  and  agriculturists  of  Iowa,  residing  for  many 
years  on  Washington  Prairie  in  Winneshiek  county,  where  the  father  passed  away  in  1908, 
at  the  age  of  eighty-four  years,  while  the  mother  died  in  Decorah,  Iowa,  in  1913,  at  the  age 
of  eighty-eight. 

Ole  T.  Ellestad  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  on  Washington  Prairie,  in  the  Breck- 
enridge  school  at  Decorah,  Iowa,  and  in  Slack's  Business  College  at  Decorah,  from  which 
he  was  graduated  with  the  class  of  1882.  His  early  life  was  spent  upon  the  home  farm 
and  the  summer  months  were  devoted  to  the  work  of  the  fields,  while  the  winter  seasons 
were  given  to  the  acquirement  of  his  education.  When  a  youth  of  nineteen  years  he  started 
out  on  his  own  account  and  was  first  employed  in  a  photograph  gallery  of  Grand  Forks,  North 
Dakota,  where  he  received  a  salary  of  five  dollars  per  week.  The  business  was  not  to  his 
liking,  however,  and  after  several  months  he  resigned  his  position  and  secured  employment 
with  the  Judson  Castelman  Hardware  Company,  owners  of  the  pioneer  hardware  store  of 
the  city.  His  salary  with  that  house  was  originally  thirty  dollars  per  month.  He  contin- 
ued with  the  company  for  five  years,  thoroughly  learning  tlie  hardware  business  in  princi- 
ple and  detail.  When  the  original  company  sold  out  to  Neville  &  Company  he  continued  with 
the  latter  and  also  with  its  successors,  the  Neville  &  Whitney  Hardware  Company.  He  was 
connected  with  that  enterprise  altogether  for  fifteen  years,  at  the  end  of  which  time  he 
resigned  his  position  and  entered  into  partnership  with  Andrew  Redving  under  the  firm  name 
of  Redving  &  Ellestad.  They  established  business  on  a  small  scale  but  developed  and  extended 
their  interests  until  they  are  proprietors  of  one  of  the  largest  hardware  establishments  in 
the  state.     They  carry  an  extensive  line  of  goods  and  occupy  a  building  thirty-six  by  one 


346  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

hundred  and  fifty  feet,  in  addition  to  whicii  they  have  warehouse  facilities,  also  railroad 
trackage  which  enables  them  to  make  ready  shipments.  They  emi^loy,  on  an  average,  six 
people  and  their  trade  is  constantly  growing,  while  the  house  ranks  with  the  substantial 
commercial  concerns  of  Grand  Forks.  Jlr.  Ellestad  started  out  in  the  business  world  on  his 
own  account  with  a  cash  capital  of  but  thirty  dollars.  At  every  point  in  his  career  he  has 
been  impelled  by  a  laudable  ambition  that  has  enabled  him  to  overcome  difficulties  and 
obstacles  and  work  his  way  steadily  upward  to  success. 

On  August  6,  1896,  Mr.  Ellestad  was  married  in  lola,  Wisconsin,  to  Miss  Helen  Bergen, 
a  native  of  that  state  and  a  daughter  of  the  late  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Knute  Bergen.  Her  father 
was  a  pioneer  settler  of  Wisconsin  and  a  Civil  war  veteran.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Ellestad  have 
two  children:  Hulda,  who  was  born  at  Grand  Forks,  May  5,  1897;  and  Norma,  born  March 
12,  1899.     The  family  residence  is  at  No.  514  Chestnut  street. 

Mr.  Ellestad  is  a  member  of  the  Commercial  Club  and  is  a  charter  member  of  the  Sons 
of  Norway  and  of  the  Brotherhood  of  American  Yeomen.  For  twenty-five  years  he  has 
been  a  valued  representative  of  the  Knights  of  Pj'thias  lodge  and  he  is  an  active  and  promi- 
nent member  of  Zion's  Lutheran  church,  of  which  he  formerly  served  as  treasurer,  and  was 
one  of  the  builders  of  the  present  house  of  worship.  His  life  has  ever  been  actuated  by 
high  and  honorable  principles  and  his  course  has  at  all  times  been  such  as  would  bear  the 
closest  investigation  and  scrutiny.  He  gives  his  political  allegiance  to  the  republican  party 
and  has  always  taken  an  active  part  in  politics  and  matters  of  civic  concern.  For  ten 
years  he  served  as  a  member  of  the  city  council  and  board  of  health. 


JOHN  VALLELY. 


John  Vallely,  who  since  the  3d  of  June,  1883,  has  been  a  resident  of  Grand  Forks  and 
that  section  of  North  Dakota,  being  now  engaged  in  the  real  estate  and  collection  business, 
was  born  in  Lanark  county,  Ontario,  January  21,  1861,  a  son  of  Michael  and  Mary  (Ryan) 
Vallely.  The  father,  a  native  of  Ireland,  crossed  the  Atlantic  to  Canada  in  1848  and  became 
a  prosperous  farmer  of  Lanark  county,  Ontario,  where  he  also  figured  actively  in  politics.  He 
spent  the  greater  part  of  his  life  in  that  country  and  passed  away  in  1903,  at  the  age  of 
eighty-one  years.  His  wife,  who  was  born  in  Canada,  was  of  Irish  lineage  and  was  a 
daughter  of  Anthony  Ryaii,  a  pioneer  settler  of  Lanark  county,  Ontario.  She  passed  away 
in  1887,  at  the  age  of  sixty-four  years. 

John  Vallely,  the  third  in  order  of  birth  in  a  family  of  six  children,  was  educated  in 
Lanark,  Canada,  and  spent  his  early  life  upon  the  home  farm,  during  which  period  he  became 
familiar  with  all  the  duties  and  labors  that  fall  to  the  lot  of  the  agriculturist.  On  attaining 
his  majority  he  started  out  in  the  world  on  his  own  account  and,  making  his  way  to  North 
Dakota,  reached  Grand  Forks  on  the  3d  of  June,  1882.  Soon  afterward  he  took  up  a  home- 
stead covering  the  northeast  quarter  of  section  7,  township  153,  range  56,  and  thereon  he 
followed  farming  until  1888,  when  he  sold  his  land  and  secured  employment  as  traveling 
salesman  for  an  implement  house.  He  continued  active  in  that  business  until  1895,  when  he 
opened  a  real  estate  and  collection  office  in  Grand  Forks,  where  he  has  since  carried  on' 
business  along  that  line.  During  the  years  1909  until  1912  inclusive  he  was  deputy  state 
bank  examiner  and  since  then  has  represented  the  Northwestern  Jobbers  Credit  Bureau  of 
St.  Paul.  He  has  also  been  active  in  political  circles  as  a  stalwart  supporter  of  the 
democratic  part}'  and  for  the  past  ten  years  has  been  the  representative  of  the  sixth  ward  in 
the  city  council,  in  which  connection  he  has  exercised  his  official  prerogatives  in  support  of 
various  public  measures  that  have  proven  beneficial  and  effective. 

On  the  28th  of  November,  1889,  in  Grand  Forks,  Mr.  Vallely  was  married  to  Miss  Lila 
Moran,  a  native  of  Canada  and  a  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Alexander  Moran,  who  are  now 
deceased.  Mrs.  Vallely  passed  away  October  10,  1915,  in  Grand  Forks,  at  the  age  of 
fifty-four  years,  leaving  four  children:  Mary  Lillian,  who  was  born  June  3,  1896;  Margaret 
Irene,  born  April  18,  1898;  Alonzo  Joseph,  April  13,  1900;  and  Michael  Alexander,  January  3, 
1903.    All  were  born  in  Grand  Forks. 

The  religious  faith  of  the  family  is  that  of  the  Roman  Catholic  church  and  Mr.  Vallely  is 


JOHN  VALLELY 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  349 

identified  with  the  Catholic  Order  of  Foresters,  the  Benevolent  Protective  Order  of  Elks,  the 
Ancient  Order  of  United  Workmen  and  the  Brotherhood  of  American  Yeomen.  His  business 
affairs  and  public  activities  have  made  him  widely  known  and  he  is  recognized  as  one  who 
owes  his  success  entirely  to  his  own  efforts. 


J.  D.  STKNSON. 


J.  D.  Stenson,  filling  the  office  of  deputy  register  of  deeds  in  Ramsey  county,  his  lioiiie 
being  in  Devils  Lake,  is  numbered  among  the  native  sons  of  Wisconsin,  his  birth  having 
there  occurred  on  the  8th  of  October,  1S84.  His  parents,  James  and  Dinah  (Hood)  Stenson, 
came  'with  their  family  to  North  Dakota  in  lSb6  and  the  father  homestcaded,  securing  a 
tract  of  government  land,  which  he  converted  into  a  productive  farm.  He  served  under  Sir 
John  French  in  the  British  Home  Guards  and  he  now  makes  his  home  at  Devils  Lake,  North 
Dakota. 

The  youthful  days  of  J.  D.  Stenson  were  devoted  to  the  acquirement  of  a  public  school 
education  in  Devils  Lake,  after  which  he  entered  the  employ  of  a  railroad  company.  A  little 
later,  however,  he  became  connected  with  the  grocery  store  of  J.  R.  Haslem  and  remained 
in  that  establishment  until  he  was  called  to  the  office  of  deputy  register  of  deeds,  being 
appointed  to  the  position  on  the  1st  of  January,  1915.  He  is  now  capably  serving  in  that 
capacity,  discharging  his  duties  in  a  methodical,  systematic  manner  that  ensures  accuracy. 

On  the  29th  of  October,  1908,  Mr.  Stenson  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Mary  Daeley 
and  to  them  have  been  born  two  sons  and  two  daughters.  Mr.  Stenson  votes  with  the  repub- 
lican party  and  has  ever  kept  well  informed  on  the  questions  and  issues  of  the  day.  Fra- 
ternally he  is  connected  with  the  Ancient  Order  of  United  Workmen.  He  also  has  a  military 
chapter  in  his  life  record,  for  through  ten  years  he  was  connected  with  the  National  Guard 
and  for  six  years  was  captain  of  Company  M  of  the  First  North  Dakota  Regiment.  He  is 
a  public-spirited  man,  interested  in  everything  pertaining  to  the  general  welfare  and  progress 
of  town,  county  and  state,  and  his  cooperation  in  plans  and  measures  for  tlie  public  good 
has  been  beneficial  and  resultant. 


FORDYCE  C.  EASTWOLD. 


Fordyce  C.  Eastwold,  of  Steele,  states  attorney  for  Kidder  county,  was  born  in  Fari- 
bault county,  Minnesota,  February  3,  1881,  a  son  of  Ale.xander  and  Helen  Eastwold,  the 
former  a  native  of  Keokuk,  Iowa,  and  the  latter  of  Wisconsin.  They  were  of  Norwegian 
ancestry,  their  parents  having  been  natives  of  the  land  of  the  midnight  sun. 

Fordyce  C.  Eastwold  completed  his  education  at  the  Southern  Minnesota  Normal  College 
at  Austin,  Minnesota,  and  the  Breck  School  at  Wilder,  Jackson  county,  Minnesota.  While 
in  the  former  institution  he  taught  commercial  law  and  civil  government  for  two  years 
and  also  was  an  instructor  in  other  branches.  After  leaving  college  he  became  a  student 
in  the  University  of  North  Dakota  at  Grand  Forks,  where  he  entered  upon  a  law  course, 
being  there  graduated  with  the  class  of  1910.  In  the  fall  of  the  same  year  he  entered  upon 
active  practice  at  White  Earth,  North  Dakota,  and  on  the  6th  of  January,  1911,  he  removed 
to  Steele,  North  Dakota,  where  he  opened  an  olfice.  In  1913  he  entered  into  partnership  with 
Arne  Vinje  and  the  association  still  continues  although  Mr.  Vinje  has  been  elected  judge  of 
the  probate  court.  In  1912  Mr.  Eastwold  was  elected  states  attorney  of  Kidder  county  and 
is  now  serving  for  the  second  term  in  that  office,  while  in  November,  1916,  he  was  reelected 
for  a  third  term.  He  enjoys  a  good  practice,  both  partners  being  progressive  lawyers,  wise 
in  counsel  and  able  in  argument. 

In  1907  Mr.  Eastwold  was  married  to  Miss  Vendella  Byron,  a  native  of  Wisconsin,  who 
settled  in  Bristol,  South  Dakota,  where  she  remained  until  her  marriage.  Four  children  have 
been  born  to  them,  Helen  Vendella,  Vivian  Dorothy,  Fordyce  Byford  and  Marcel  Byron. 

The  parents  hold  mcmbfrship  in  the  Methodist  Episcopal  church,  in  the  work  of  which 


350  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

they  are  actively  and  helpfully  interested,  Mr.  Eastwold  now  serving  as  church  trustee.  In 
politics  he  is  a  republican,  while  fraternally  he  is  connected  with  the  Knights  of  Pythias  and 
with  the  Yeomen  at  Steele.  He  has  farming  interests  aside  from  his  profession  but  he  gives 
the  greater  part  of  his  thought  and  attention  to  the  practice  of  law  and  is  very  careful  in 
analyzing  and  prosecuting  his  cases,  his  solution  of  intricate  legal  problems  being  usually 
correct. 


H.  H.  HAMILTON. 


H.  H.  Hamilton,  who  is  manager  of  the  Northwestern  Telephone  Company  at  James- 
town, was  born  in  Cleveland,  Ohio,  December  14,  1875,  a  son  of  John  G.  and  Melissa  L. 
Hamilton.  .John  G.  Hamilton,  who  is  well  known  as  an  attorney  and  prominent  in  the  politi- 
cal affairs  of  the  state,  moved  with  his  family  to  Dakota  territory  in  18T6  so  that  the  sub- 
ject of  tliis  sketch  is  one  of  the  very  early  residents — entitled  to  wear  the  Ox  Cart  pin. 

H.  H.  Hamilton  attended  the  common  schools  at  Grand  Forks  and  the  University  of 
North  Dakota  and  was  securing  a  good  foothold  in  business  when  the  Spanish-American 
war  called  for  young  men  and  he  Joined  Company  D  of  the  First  Nortli  Dakota  Volunteers, 
serving  eighteen  months  in  the  Philippines. 

After  his  discharge  from  the  army  he  returned  to  this  state  and  entered  a  real  estate 
and  loan  office,  remaining  there  for  some  time  and  later  going  to  the  Pacific  coast,  remain- 
ing there  and  in  western  Canada  for  two  years  in  tlie  real  estate  and  development  business. 
At  the  end  of  that  time  he  returned  to  North  Dakota  and  joined  the  force  of  the  North- 
western Teleijhone  Company  at  Grand  Forks.  In  1910  he  removed  to  .Jamestown  as  man- 
ager of  the  company's  interests  there,  a  position  which  he  still  holds. 

Mr.  Hamilton  is  a  republican  in  politics  but  has  never  sought  nor  desired  office.  His 
religious  faith  is  that  of  the  Episcopal  cluirch  and  fraternally  he  is  identified  with  the 
Masonic  blue  lodge  and  chapter,  the  Elks,  the  Workmen  and  the  Eagles.  He  is  a  lietitenant 
in  the  First  North  Dakota  Infantry  and  at  this  time  November,  1916,  is  serving  with  his 
regiment  on  the  Mexican  border.  His  army  experience  and  training  induce  him  to  take  an 
earnest  interest  in  the  subject  of  national  preparedness. 

Mr.  Hamilton  is  descended  from  a  family  that  has  taken  prominent  place  in  the  busi- 
ness, political  and  military  affairs  of  the  nation,  and  his  career  both  in  business  and  mili- 
tary affairs  demonstrates  the  theory  that  heredity  counts,  for  he  unquestionably  sustains 
the  reputation  of  his  worthy  ancestors. 


THEODORE  B.  ELTON. 


Theodore  B.  Elton,  states  attorney  in  Grand  Forks  county,  was  born  in  the  city  of 
Grand  Forks,  December  17,  1879,  a  son  of  James  and  Hannah  E.  (Bird)  Elton.  The  father, 
a  native  of  England,  came  to  America  in  young  manhood  and  settled  in  North  Dakota  in 
the  early  '70s.  He  was  register  of  the  United  States  land  office  at  Grand  Forks  in  the 
early  '80s — a  period  of  pioneer  settlement  in  the  state.  Subsequently  he  was  elected  county 
treasurer  of  Grand  Forks  county,  which  position  he  filled  for  two  terms,  and  was  also  deputy 
collector  of  internal  revenue  for  a  term.  In  1903  he  was  chosen  to  represent  his  district 
in  the  state  legislature  and  since  the  close  of  his  term  has  lived  retired.  He  has  in  large 
measure,  however,  left  the  impress  of  his  individuality  upon  the  development  and  progress 
of  the  state.  He  attended  the  first  meeting  of  the  county  commissioners  and  is  familiar 
with  every  phase  of  later  improvement  and  advancement  in  his  locality.  He  now  resides 
in  Grand  Forks  at  the  age  of  seventy-two  years,  while  his  wife,  a  native  of  Canada,  in 
which  country  they  were  married,  is  now  fifty-nine  years  of  age.  In  their  family  are  five 
children:  Harold  A.,  a  resident  of  Terre  Haute,  Indiana;  Theodore  B.;  James  F.,  living  in 
Astoria,  Oregon;  George  S.,  a  resident  of  Terre  Haute;  and  Wilmer  N.,  of  Grand  Forks. 
All  of  the  children  were  born  in  Grand  Forks. 

Theodore  B.   Elton  at   the  usual   age  became   a   pupil   in   the   public   schools   of   Grand 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  351 

Forks  and  passed  througli  consecutive  grades  to  his  graduation  from  the  high  school,  after 
which  lie  entered  the  law  department  of  the  Xational  University  at  Washington,  D.  C, 
completing  his  course  there  with  the  Bachelor  of  Laws  degree  in  1906,  while  in  1907  the 
Master  of  Laws  degree  was  conferred  upon  him.  During  this  time  he  was  private  secretary 
to  United  States  Senator  H.  C.  Hansbrough,  and  clerk  of  the  committee  on  public  lands  of 
the  United  States  senate.  He  entered  upon  the  private  practice  of  law  at  Grand  Forks  in 
the  spring  of  1909,  becoming  a  partner  of  Frank  B.  Feetham  in  the  firm  of  Feetham  &  Elton. 
This  relationship  was  maintained  for  two  and  a  half  years  but  since  1912  Mr.  Elton  has 
practiced  alone.  Since  1910  he  has  Ix'en  referee  in  bankruptcy,  his  territory  comprising 
eleven  counties  in  the  northern  district  of  North  Dakota,  At  the  general  election  in  1916 
he  was  elected  states  attorney  of  Grand  Forks  county.  He  is  a  lawyer  well  versed  in 
his  profession  and  his  capability  has  gained  him  a  creditable  position  among  the  repre- 
sentatives of  the  Grand  Forks  bar.  He  belongs  to  both  the  county  and  state  bar 
associations. 

On  the  7th  of  July,  1910,  in  Washington,  D.  C,  Mr.  Elton  was  married  to  Miss 
Fannie  If.  Hamlin,  a  daughter  of  Harris  C.  and  Fannie  M.  Hamlin,  the  former  now  deceased. 
Mr.  and  !Mrs.  Elton  have  one  child,  Dorothy  ilay,  who  was  born  in  Grand  Forks,  .July  18,  1913. 

Mr.  Elton  has  long  been  actively  interested  in  athletics  and  has  held  the  doubles  tennis 
championship  of  the  state  with  his  brother  James  for  two  years.  Fraternally  he  is  connected 
with  the  JIasons  and  has  been  worshipful  master  of  his  lodge,  while  in  the  .'^cottish  Rite 
he  has  attained  the  thirty-second  degree.  He  also  has  membership  with  the  Yeomen.  His 
religious  faith  is  evidenced  in  the  fact  that  he  Is  a  communicant  of  the  Episcopal  church, 
in  which  he  has  served  as  vestryman  for  the  past  six  years.  He  belongs  to  the  Commercial 
Club  and  is  in  hearty  sympathy  with  its  purposes  to  upbuild  the  city,  extend  its  trade 
relations  and  uphold  its  civic  standards.  In  a  word,  he  stands  as  a  type  of  American  manhood 
and  chivalry.  ' 


EDWIN  M.  YOUNG. 


The  rapid  settlement  and  consequent  development  of  North  Dakota  has  brought  about 
business  conditions  which  have  given  excellent  opportunities  to  the  ambitious  and  pro- 
gressive young  business  man.  The  great  broad  prairies  of  the  state  have  been  claimed  and 
cultivated  and  for  the  farm  work  there  has  been  a  demand  for  all  the  latest  improved  farm 
machinery  and  agricultural  implements.  The  merchant  dealing  in  this  line,  therefore,  has 
generally  won  success  if  he  brings  to  bear  close  application  and  indefatigable  energy,  com- 
bined with  sound  judgment,  in  the  conduct  of  his  business.  Such  has  been  the  record  of 
Edwin  M.  Young  of  the  firm  of  Y'oung  Brothers,  implement  dealers  of  Neche.  He  was  born 
in  Winston,  Missouri,  February  37,  1868,  a  son  of  Michael  W.  Young,  a  native  of  Germany, 
who  was  brought  to  America  by  his  parents  when  but  four  years  of  age.  His  father, 
Michael  Young,  Sr..  first  settled  in  Ohio  and  there  his  wife  soon  afterward  passed  away, 
subsequent  to  which  time  Michael  W.  Young  was  reared  by  relatives.  He  acquired  his 
education  in  the  schools  of  Ohio  and  in  that  state  was  married,  after  which  he  removed  to 
Will  county,  Illinois,  where  he  followed  farming  until  about  the  close  of  the  Civil  war, 
when  he  became  a  resident  of  Daviess  county,  Missouri,  where  he  established  his  home  and 
continued  to  reside  until  1882.  That  year  witnessed  his  arrival  at  Woonsocket.  South 
Dakota,  where  he  homesteaded  and  remained  until  1892.  He  next  became  a  resident  of 
Pembina  county.  North  Dakota,  where  he  has  since  made  his  home  but  for  a  long  period 
has  lived  retired  from  active  business.  He  married  Sarah  Koonse,  a  native  of  New  York 
and  a  daughter  of  Henry  Koonso.  who  was  of  German  birth  and  became  the  founder  of  the 
American  branch  of  the  family.  He  afterward  settled  in  Ohio  and  it  was  in  that  state  that 
Mr.  and  Mrs.  Young  became  acquainted  and  were  married.  To  them  were  born  eight 
children,  five  of  whom  are  yet  living:  Rev.  I.  A.  Young,  who  is  a  minister  of  the  Evangelical 
Association,  now  located  at  Plankinton.  South  Dakota;  Calvin  M..  a  farmer  of  Cavalier, 
Pembina  county.  North  Dakota;  William  H.,  a  member  of  the  firm  of  Y'oung  Brothers  of 
Neche;  Edwin  M.;  and  Ella,  the  wife  of  Louis  O.  Fcrch,  of  Cavalier. 


352  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

The  youthful  training  of  Edwin  M.  Young  was  that  of  the  farm  boy  and  his  public 
school  education  was  acquired  in  South  Dakota.  He  afterward  took  up  the  trade  of  brick- 
making,  his  father  having  conducted  a  brick  manufacturing  plant  at  Winston,  Missouri,  for 
fifteen  years.  After  the  family  removed  to  South  Dakota  he  concentrated  his  energies  upon 
farming  and  so  continued  until  he  left  home.  He  then  took  up  railroad  work  and  was 
associated  with  the  Minneapolis,  St.  Paul  &  Sault  Ste.  Marie  for  four  years.  He  next 
entered  the  meat  business  at  Neche  and  the  market  was  conducted  by  the  firm  of  Young^ 
Brothers  until  February,  1916.  In  1913  they  established  a  farm  machinery  and  implement 
business  which  they  have  since  carried  on,  and  today  they  have  the  largest  trade  of  the 
kind  at  Neche.  They  represent  the  International,  John  Deere  and  Moline  Companies,  thus 
handling  the  best  farm  machinery  upon  the  market. 

On  the  31st  of  March,  1894,  Edwin  M.  Young  was  married  near  Highmore,  South 
Dakota,  to  Miss  Jennie  Campbell,  a  native  of  Scotland  and  a  daughter  of  John  and  Susan 
Campbell.  Six  children  were  born  to  them:  Roy  0.,  Edith  E.,  Harold,  Ruby,  Earl  C.  and 
Florence  M.  The  wife  and  mother  passed  away  December  5,  1905,  at  the  age  of  thirty- 
eight  years,  and  on  the  3d  of  April,  1907,  Mr.  Young  was  married  at  Grand  Forks.  North 
Dakota,  to  Miss  Mary  Wenholz,  a  native  of  Illinois. 

Edwin  M.  Young  exercises  his  right  of  franchise  in  support  of  the  men  and  measures 
of  the  republican  party.  For  a  number  of  years  he  has  served  as  a  member  of  the  school 
board  of  Neche  and  is  a  stalwart  champion  of  progress  in  education.  Fraternally  he  is 
connected  with  the  Yeomen  and  the  Maccabees  and  he  belongs  to  the  First  Methodist 
church,  in  the  work  of  which  he  is  taking  an  active  part,  serving  as  one  of  the  trustees  of 
the  church  and  as  superintendent  of  the  Sunday  school.  His  has  been  an  active  and  well 
spent  life  and  his  purposes  and  plans  have  ever  been  such  as  would  bear  close  in\-estigation 
and  scrutiny.  He  has  been  prompted  by  a  laudable  ambition  in  the  conduct  of  his  business 
affairs  and  his  record  proves  that  success  and  an  honored  name  may  be  won  simultaneously. 


WILLIAM  H.  YOUNG, 


William  H.  Young  is  the  senior  partner  of  the  firm  of  Young  Brothers,  dealers  in  agri- 
cultural implements  and  farm  machinery  in  Neche  and  also  identified  with  the  automobile 
trade  of  Pembina  county.  William  H.  Young  was  born  in  Joliet,  Illinois,  October  12,  1865, 
his  parents  being  Michael  W.  and  Sarah  (Koonse)  Young,  both  of  whom  were  of  German 
descent.  Extended  mention  of  them  is  made  on  another  page  of  this  work  in  connection 
with  the  history  of  their  son,  Edwin  M.  Young.  William  H.  Young  acquired  a  public  school 
education  and  had  no  special  advantages  at  the  outset  of  liis  career  but  has  worked  his  way 
persistently  upward  step  by  step,  utilizing  each  opportunity  that  has  come  to  hand  for  the 
achievement  of  honorable  success.  In  his  youthful  days  he  was  trained  to  the  work  of  the 
fields  and  early  took  up  the  occupation  of  farming.  Eventually  he  and  his  brother  embarked 
in  commerical  pursuits,  establisliing  and  conducting  a  meat  market  at  Neche,  which  business 
was  successfully  carried  on  until  February,  193  6.  In  the  meantime,  or  in  1913,  they  opened 
a  farm  machinery  and  implement  business  at  Neche  and  under  the  firm  style  of  Young 
Brothers  are  still  conducting  this  enterprise.  Their  trade  has  now  o'ertopped  that  of  any 
other  business  of  similar  character  in  the  town.  They  draw  their  trade  from  a  large  sur- 
rounding territory  and  their  annual  sales  have  reached  a  most  gratifying  figure.  Selling 
the  products  of  the  International,  John  Deere  and  Moline  Companies'  plants,  they  thus  handle 
farm  machinery  and  implements  of  standard  grade  and  they  well  merit  the  liberal  patron- 
age accorded  them.  They  are  also  agents  for  the  Maxwell  ear  and  in  that  connection  have 
developed  a  business  of  gratifying  proportions. 

At  Woonsocket,  South  Dakota,  on  the  3d  of  January,  1889,  Mr.  Young  was  married  to 
Miss  Mary  Meyer,  a  native  of  Ontario,  Canada,  and  a  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  F.  F.  Meyer, 
who  were  of  German  descent.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Y'^oung  became  parents  of  seven  children :  Hugh 
M.,  the  publisher  of  the  Neche  Chronotype;  Lloyd  F.;  William  H.;  Elsie  K.;  Iva  and  Vera, 
twins;  and  Edward  Merrill.  The  wife  and  mother  passed  away  in  1908,  in  Neche,  at  the 
age  of   forty-two   years,  and  on  the   7th   of   February,   1911,  in  Bruce,  North   Dakota,  Mr. 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  353 

Young  wedded  Miss  Ella  Wood,  a  native  of  Iowa,  her  parents  having  been  among  the  earliest 
settlers  of  that  state. 

Mr.  Young  gives  his  political  endorsement  to  the  republican  party  and  keeps  well 
informed  on  the  questions  and  issues  of  the  day  but  has  never  sought  nor  filled  public  offices. 
Fraternally  he  is  connected  with  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America  and  is  a  member  of  the 
First  Methodist  church.  His  has  been  a  well  spent  life,  his  purpose  and  activity  carrying 
him  steadily  forward  from  the  humble  point  at  which  he  started  in  the  business  world  to  a 
place  where  his  success  is  scarcely  second  to  that  of  any  merchant  of  his  town.  Moreover, 
his  interests  have  been  of  a  character  which  have  contributed  to  public  progress  and  improve- 
ment and  the  course  that  he  has  pursued  has  made  his  name  ever  an  honored  one  in  the 
community  where  he  resides. 


JUDGE  E.  H.  GRIFFIN. 


Judge  E.  H.  GrilTin,  a  well  known  factor  in  republican  circles  in  the  eastern  part  of  the 
state  and  now  serving  upon  the  bench  as  judge  of  the  county  court  of  Ramsey  county,  was 
born  in  Dodge  county,  Wisconsin,  July  17,  1878,  a  son  of  Patrick  and  Catherine  (Wiseman) 
Griffm.  In  the  year  1849  the  father  left  Ireland,  his  native  country,  and  crossed  the  Atlantic 
to  the  new  world,  becoming  a  resident  of  Dodge  county,  Wisconsin,  where  his  remaining 
days  were  passed.    His  widow  survives  and  is  now  living  in  Madison,  Wisconsin. 

At  the  usual  age  Judge  Griffin  became  a  pupil  in  the  public  schools  of  Dodge  county 
and  passed  through  consecutive  grades  to  the  high  school  at  Waterloo.  Later  he  took  up 
the  profession  of  teaching,  which  he  followed  for  seven  years,  proving  a  capable  educator 
and  imparting  clearly  and  readily  to  others  the  knowledge  that  he  had  acquired.  He  next 
turned  his  attention  to  merchandising,  in  which  he  engaged  in  Edmore,  North  Dakota,  being 
thus  identified  with  commercial  pursuits  for  eight  years.  In  the  meantime  he  took  up  the 
study  of  law,  which  he  pursued  privately,  and  on  the  10th  of  December,  1910,  was  admitted 
to  practice  at  the  North  Dakota  bar.  He  then  opened  an  office  in  Devils  Lake,  where  he 
has  since  remained.  The  ability  which  he  displayed  in  practice  before  the  courts  led  to 
his  election  to  the  office  of  county  judge  in  1912  and  so  excellent  was  his  record  upon  the 
bench  that  in  1914  he  was  reelected  and  again  became  the  nominee  of  the  republican  party 
in  1916  and  was  reelected  for  a  third  term  by  a  large  majority.  His  decisions  have  been 
strictly  fair  and  impartial  and  he  has  received  the  high  endorsement  of  colleagues  and  con- 
temporaries at  the  bar  as  well  as  of  the  general  public  in  elections. 

On  the  16th  of  April,  1901,  Judge  Griffin  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Mary  Rebecca 
Dolan  and  to  them  have  been  born  four  children.  Pearl  M.,.  Lloyd  E.,  Gerald  J.  and  Vernon 
M.  The  religious  faith  of  the  family  is  that  of  the  Catholic  church  and  Judge  Gviflin  is 
identified  with  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America  and  with  the  Brotherhood  of  American 
Yeomen.  He  has  always  given  his  political  support  to  the  republican  party  and  has  long 
been  an  active  worker  in  its  ranks.  In  1909  he  was  assistant  clerk  in  the  house  of  repre- 
sentatives and  in  1911  was  made  chief  clerk  of  the  house.  He  is  actuated  by  progressive 
purpose  in  all  that  he  does  and  his  well  spent  life  has  gained  for  him  the  respect,  confidence 
and  honor  of  his  fellow  townsmen,  who  have  manifested  their  loyalty  and  belief  in  him  by 
twice  electing  him  to  serve  in  judicial  positions. 


JOHNSON  S.  JNIYER. 


•Johnson  S.  Myer,  proprietor  of  a  general  mercantile  establishment  in  Charbonneau,  was 
born  near  Caldwell,  Noble  county,  Ohio,  August  9,  1882,  his  parents  being  John  and  Clara 
(Steen)  Myer.  The  father,  also  a  native  of  Noble  county,  followed  farming  there  and  in 
West  Virginia  prior  to  his  arrival  in  North  Dakota,  at  which  time  he  settled  near  Towner, 
Mellenry  county.  There  he  engaged  in  farming  for  a  time  and  now  makes  his  home  in  the 
Turtle  mountains,  near  Dunseith,  North  Dakota,  where  he  continues  in  active  connection  with 


354  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

agricultural  interests.  His  wife  was  born  in  Ireland  but  in  her  childhood  became  a  resident 
of  Ohio. 

.Johnson  S.  Myer  obtained  a  district  school  education  in  Oliio  and  West  Virginia  and 
accompanied  his  parents  upon  their  removal  to  McHenry  county,  Nortli  Dakota,  in  1902. 
There  he  continued  to  assist  in  farm  work  and  later  went  with  his  father  to  Dunseith.  In 
1908  he  homesteaded  in  McKenzie  county  where  Gharbonneau  now  stands  and  tliere  engaged 
in  active  farming  until  1913.  When  the  town  was  laid  out  he  bought  a  lot,  built  a  store 
and  established  a  hardware  business,  afterward  adding  thereto  a  stock  of  general  merchan- 
dise. This  was  one  of  the  first  stores  of  the  town  and  from  the  beginning  lie  has  enjoyed 
a  large  and  growing  trade,  his  patronage  steadily  increasing  as  the  town  develops  and  the 
country  around  becomes  more  thickly  settled. 

On  the  4th  of  November,  1905,  Mr.  Jlyer  was  married  to  Miss  Anna  May  Fee,  of  Dun- 
seith, who  was  born  and  reared  in  Iowa  and  went  to  Dunseitii  with  her  brother.  They  have 
become  parents  of  three  children:  Elvin,  who  was  born  in  the  Turtle  mountains,  near 
Dunseith;  and  Edith  B.  and  Susie,  who  were  born  on  the  home  farm  in  McKenzie  county. 

Mr.  Myer  is  a  socialist  and  was  the  nominee  of  his  party  for  sheriff  of  McKenzie  county 
in  1910  and  again  in  1914.  He  is  a  charter  member  of  the  Odd  Fellows  lodge  at  Gharbonneau 
and  his  wife  is  an  active  member  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  church,  of  which  he  is  a  trustee. 
He  is  a  director  of  the  Gharbonneau  Hall  Association.  For  fourteen  years  he  has  resided 
continuously  in  the  western  part  of  North  Dakota  and  as  the  years  have  gone  on  has  aided 
more  and  more  largelj'  in  the  development  and  progress  of  the  district  with  which  he  has 
been  connected.  He  has  now  made  for  himself  a  creditable  place  in  business  circles  and  is 
contributing  niucii  to  the  advancement  of  the  new  town  of  Gharbonneau. 


JOHN  MURPHY. 


John  Murphy,  a  banker  of  Reynolds,  was  born  in  Allamakee  county,  Iowa,  May  15,  1872, 
a  son  of  Patrick  and  Mary  (Manning)  Murphy,  both  of  whom  were  natives  of  Ireland,  whence 
they  emigrated  to  America  in  early  life,  becoming  pioneer  settlers  of  Iowa.  The  father  there 
engaged  in  business  as  a  railway  contractor  in  connection  with  the  Milwaukee  Railway  and 
during  the  greater  part  of  his  life  remained  In  that  state.  However,  he  lived  for  a  time  in 
North  Dakota  but  afterward  returned  to  Iowa,  where  he  passed  away  in  1906,  at  the 
advanced  age  of  eighty-six  years.  For  four  years  he  had  survived  his  wife,  who  died  in  1902, 
at  the  age  of  seventy-six  j-ears. 

In  their  family  were  seven  children,  of  whom  John  Murphy  was  the  youngest.  In  his 
youthful  days  he  attended  school  in  his  native  state  and  in  1892,  when  a  young  man  of 
twenty,  years,  made  his  way  to  Grand  F'orks,  where  he  secured  a  clerkship  in  the  clothing 
store  of  the  Apple  Company.  After  a  year  he  entered  the  Grand  Forks  National  Bank  at 
Mekinock  and  later  had  charge  of  a  hardware  store  for  a  year.  In  the  spring  of  1894  he 
arrived  in  Reynolds  and  entered  the  State  Bank  of  Reynolds  as  assistant  cashier,  being 
promoted  to  the  position  of  cashier  the  following  year.  He  has  since  remained  in  that 
connection  and  has  ever  been  regarded  as  a  most  obliging  and  courteous  official,  contributing 
in  large  measure  to  the  success  of  the  institution  by  tlie  thoroughness  of  his  work  and  liis 
carefulness  in  safeguarding  its  interests.  The  bank  is  capitalized  for  twenty-five  thousand 
dollars  and  is  the  largest  in  Grand  Forks  county  outside  of  the  city  of  Grand  Forks.  He 
also  established  and  is  manager  of  the  Farmers  Elevator  Companj'  of  Reynolds,  having  one  of 
the  largest  elevators  of  the  state,  four  hundred  thousand  bushels  being  handled  in  1915. 
In  that  year  a  two  hundred  per  cent  dividend  was  paid  to  the  stockholders. 

In  January.  1896,  at  Postville,  Iowa,  Mr.  Murphy  was  married  to  Miss  Katherine  Horgan, 
a  native  of  that  state.  They  have  become  parents  of  three  children:  H.  Reginald,  who  was 
born  at  Reynolds  in  1897  and  is  now  a  law  student  in  Greighton  University  at  Omaha, 
Nebraska;  Monica,  who  was  born  in  Reynolds  in  1898  and  is  now  attending  the  GoUege  of 
St.  Catherine  at  St.  Paul,  Minnesota;  and  Veronica,  who  was  born  in  Reynolds  in  1903  and  is 
attending  high  school. 

The  religious  faith  of  tlie  family  is  that  of  the  Roman  Catholic  church  and  Mr.  Murphy 


JOHX  MLRPHY 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  357 

is  a  Kiiiglit  of  Columbus  of  tlie  fourth  degiee.  In  politics  he  is  a  democrat,  and  while  he 
has  never  sought  nor  desired  political  ollice,  he  has  been  president  of  the  school  board'  of 
Reynolds  for  the  past  twenty  years.  He  stands  loyally  in  support  of  interests  and  activities 
which  he  believes  will  upbuild  his  city  and  lends  active  support  to  every  measure  for  the 
general  good.  For  twenty-four  years  he  has  been  a  resident  of  Grand  Forks  county,  witness- 
ing much  of  its  development  and  growth  as  the  evidences  of  pioneer  life  have  been  supplanted 
by  those  of  modern  civilization.  He  has  contributed  his  full  share  to  the  material  develop- 
ment of  the  county  and  is  justly  classed  with  the  most  enterprising  business  men  of  his 
section. 


J.  X.  SOUTHARD. 


J.  N.  Southard,  business  manager  of  the  New  Rockford  State  Center,  was  born  in  Col- 
chester, Illinois,  on  the  4th  of  Maj',  1S6S,  and  is  a  son  of  Newman  H.  and  Rebecca  (McNeil) 
Southard,  who  were  natives  of  Illinois  and  Ohio  respectively.  In  the  Prairie  state  the  father 
spent  his  entire  life,  his  birth  occurring  near  Naples  in  1833,  and  he  passed  away  in  1901. 
He  followed  farming  and  also  engaged  in  merchandising.  The  mother  is  still  living  and 
has  now  reached  the  advanced  age  of  eighty-nine  years. 

In  the  state  of  his  nativity  .J.  N.  Southard  grew  to  manhood,  and  his  early  e(i\Kation, 
acquired  in  the  public  schools,  was  supplemented  by  a  course  at  Lincoln  Universit}',  Lincoln, 
Illinois  At  the  age  of  thirteen  years  he  began  learning  the  printer's  trade  and  throughout 
his  business  career  has  been  identified  with  newspaper  work.  For  several  years  he  was 
thus  employed  in  Chicago  and  Bloomington,  Illinois,  and  was  connected  with  different  papers 
in  Omaha,  Nebraska,  for  eight  years.  At  the  end  of  that  period  he  came  to  North  Dakota 
and  entered  the  office  of  the  Fargo  Forum,  where  he  remained  for  five  years. 

In  June,  1916,  Mr.  Southard  removed  to  New  Rockford,  where  in  company  with  others 
lie  established  the  New  Rockford  State  Center,  which  was  the  first  daily  paper  carrying  a 
full  Associated  Press  report  established  in  the  central  part  of  the  state.  He  is  now  serving 
as  business  manager  of  the  same,  while  the  paper  is  edited  by  John  H.  Worst,  who  for 
twenty  years  was  president  of  the  Agricultural  College  at  F'argo.  The  firm  also  publish  the 
Agricultural  Northwest,  which  is  a  semi-monthly  farm  paper  representing  the  fotir  states 
of  North  and  South  Dakota,  Minnesota  and  Montana.  It  is  also  edited  by  Mr.  Worst  and 
on  its  editorial  staff  are  the  four  presidents  of  four  agricultural  colleges  of  the  four  states 
mentioned,  which  is  something  no  other  farm  paper  has.  The  New  Rockford  Publishing 
Company  occupy  their  own  building,  which  is  one  of  the  most  modern  and  up-to-date  estab- 
lishments of  the  kind  in  North  Dakota,  having  the  latest  printing  presses,  two  linotype 
machines,  etc.     The  New  Rockford  State  Center  is  the  only  independent  daily  in  the  state. 

On  the  24th  of  December,  1891,  Mr.  Southard  married  Miss  Viola  E.  Green,  of  Gales- 
burg.  Illinois,  and  they  have  one"  child,  Douglas  JI.,  born  August  7,  1911.  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
Southard  hold  membership  in  the  Presbyterian  church,  and  he  is  also  identified  with  the 
Knights  of  Pythias  fraternity  and  the  Woodmen  of  the  World.  His  political  support  is 
given  the  republican  party  and  in  1892  he  served  as  assistant  secretary  to  the  state  republi- 
can committee.  He  is  a  very  progiessive  and  public-spirited  citizen,  taking  an  active  part 
in  the  promotion  of  any  enterprise  for  the  good  of  his  community  and  has  been  a  hard 
woiker  for  the  removal  of  the  state  capital  to  New  Rockford. 


0Jr.4R  L.  CASADY. 


Omar  L.  Casady,  cashier  of  the  McKenzie  County  Bank  of  Watford  City,  was  born 
in  Burlington,  Indiana,  September  3,  1883.  His  parents,  Ransom  and  Sarah  (Grant)  Casady, 
who  are  now  residing  in  Grecnsburg,  Indiana,  are  natives  of  that  state  and  there  remained 
until  1896,  when  they  cast  in  their  lot  with  the  farming  community  of  Benson  county. 
North  Dakota.  In  1907,  however,  the  father  retired  from  active  business  life  and  they 
returned  to  Greensburg. 


358  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

Omar  L.  Casady  was  reared  upon  his  father's  farm  near  Burlington.  Indiana,  to  the 
a^e  of  thirteen  years  and  during  tliat  period  attended  tlie  district  schools.  After  coming 
to  North  Dakota  he  attended  the  city  schools  of  Leeds  and  then  turned  liis  attention  to 
newspaper  work,  in  which  he  engaged  at  Leeds  and  at  Rugby  from  1900  until  1905,  working 
as  a  printer.  In  the  latter  year  he  became  bookkeeper  in  the  Merchants  Bank  of  Kugby, 
and  the  successive  steps  in  his  banking  career  are  indicated  in  the  fact  that  he  has  been 
assistant  cashier  of  the  Tioga  State  Bank,  assistant  cashier  of  the  Leeds  State  Bank  and 
cashier  of  the  Citizens  State  Bank  of  Rugby.  He  has  also  represented  as  manager 
the  E.  J.  Lander  Com])any  in  land  loans  at  Rugby,  and  in  the  spring  of  1913  he  became  the 
vice  president  of  the  JIcKenzie  County  Bank,  then  located  at  Schafer.  In  1914  that  bank  was 
removed  to  A\'atford  City  and  he  became  cashier,  in  which  capacity  he  has  since  continued. 
He  has  had  long  experience  in  connection  with  the  banking  business,  which  he  thoroughly 
understands  in  principle  and  detail,  and  he  has  made  a  creditable  record,  advancing  steadily 
in  financial  circles. 

On  the  1st  of  June,  1910,  at  Great  Falls,  Montana,  Mr.  Casady  was  married  to  Miss 
Isabelle  McClintock,  who  was  born  at  Neche,  Pembina  county,  North  Dakota,  a  daughter  of 
W.  D.  McClintock,  a  ranchman  and  farmer  who  is  the  owner  of  a  chain  of  banks  in  North 
Dakota  and  Montana  and  now  lives  at  Rugby,  this  state.  Mrs.  Casady  was  educated  In  the 
schools  of  Rugby  and  in  St.  Joseph's  school  at  St.  Paul  and  also  in  Stanley  Hall  in  Minne- 
apolis. Mr.  and  Mi'S.  Casady  have  one  child,  Robert  Warren,  who  was  born  in  Rugby, 
May  3,  1915. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Casady  are  members  of  the  Episcopal  church,  and  he  is  prominently 
known  in  several  fraternal  organizations,  being  a  charter  member  of  Yellowstone  Lodge, 
No.  110,  A.  F.  &  A.  M.,  of  Alexander,  McKenzie  county,  a  member  of  Damascus  Chapter, 
No.  21,  R.  A.  M.,  of  Rugby;  also  of  the  Ancient  Order  of  United  Workmen;  and  the  Elks 
lodge  at  Minot.  He  exercises  his  right  of  franchise  in  support  of  the  men  and  measures 
of  the  republican  party,  and  while  not  a  politician  in  the  sense  of  office  seeking,  he  served  as 
city  treasurer  of  Rugby.  He  organized  the  Watford  City  Commercial  Club,  of  which  he  is 
now  the  president,  and  he  is  also  the  president  of  the  school  board.  In  a  word,  he  is  a 
public-spirited  and  progressive  man,  alert,  enterprising  and  energetic,  doing  everything  in  his 
power  to  lift  the  public  to  higher  levels  of  living  and  to  the  adoption  of  higher  standards 
of  thinking  in  relation  to  the  material,  intellectual,  social  and  moral  interests  of  the  com- 
munity and  the  state. 


WILLIAM  A.  COLLINS. 


William  A.  Collins,  secretary  and  manager  of  the  Grand  Forks  Steam  Laundry  Company 
at  Grand  Forks,  was  born  in  Horton,  Iowa,  September  3,  1875,  a  son  of  C.  P.  and  Susie  A. 
(Dyer)  Collins,  in  whose  family  were  four  sons  and  a  daughter,  of  whom  William  A.  is  the 
eldest.  The  father  is  a  native  of  Vermont  and  a  representative  of  an  old  Vermont  family 
of  Irish  origin,  the  ancestral  line  in  America  being  traced  back  to  the  settlement  of  the 
Pilgrim  fathers.  C.  P.  Collins  is  now  engaged  in  the  lumber  and  machinery  business  at 
Fairview,  Montana,  and  is  also  engaged  in  ranching  and  stock  raising,  handling  draft  horses 
and  blooded  cattle.  He  is  also  the  president  of  the  Grand  Forks  Steam  Laundry  Company, 
having  become  connected  with  this  business  at  the  time  of  its  organization  and  incorporation 
in  1905.  His  wife,  a  native  of  Wisconsin,  is  descended  from  an  old  pioneer  family  of  that 
state  and  is  now  with  her  husband  at  Fairview,  Montana. 

William  A.  Collins  largely  acquired  his  education  in  the  schools  of  Waverly.  Iowa,  where 
the  family  was  living  during  much  of  the  period  of  his  youth.  He  afterward  became  a 
student,  however,  in  the  public  schools  of  Grand  Forks  and  attended  the  Northwestern  Busi- 
ness College  of  Grand  Forks.  Starting  out  in  the  business  world,  he  condncted  a  stock  farm 
for  his  father  in  Grand  Forks  county.  From  1S97  until  1903  he  was  engaged  in  the  machin- 
ery business  with  the  firm  of  Collins  &  Stinson,  of  which  his  father  was  a  member.  He 
afterward  worked  for  L.  B.  Gibbs  in  the  wholesale  flour  and  fuel  business  and  became  one 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  359 

of  the  incorporators  of  the  Gibbs  Grain  &,  Fuel  Company,  of  which  he  was  secretary  and 
treasurer  until  the  business  was  discontinued  in  I'JO'J. 

Mr.  Collins  is  now  engaged  in  the  laundry  business,  which  occupies  his  entire  attention. 
The  present  business  was  established  in  ]S84  by  C  G.  Neils  as  a  small  hand  laundry  and  on 
the  7th  of  August,  l'J()5,  William  A.  Collins  purchased  the  plant,  which  he  remodeled  and 
eijuipped  with  the  latest  and  most  modern  niaehinerj'.  From  a  small  start  he  has  built  up 
a  business  of  extensive  proportions,  developing  the  largest  steam  laundry  in  the  state.  The 
building  is  located  at  Nos.  51.',  to  517  DeJlers  avenue  and  iias  an  ap|iroximate  lloor  space 
of  fifty-tive  thousand  square  feet,  being  lifty-si.\  by  ninety  feet  in  dimensions  and  three 
stories  in  height.  The  company  emiiloys  an  average  of  more  than  lifty  people  and  the  busi- 
ness covers  a  great  radius  which  includes  the  north  half  of  North  Dakota,  also  eastern 
Montana  and  western  Minnesota.  Of  the  company  his  father  is  president,  with  William  A. 
Collins  as  secretary,  W.  A.  Crary  vice  president,  and  William  T.  Lee  treasurer.  In  1908  his 
first  plant  was  destroyed  by  fire  and  was  only  partially  insured,  but  with  characteristic 
energy  he  began  the  work  of  rebuilding,  never  for  a  moment  becoming  discouraged  but  set- 
ting to  work  with  renewed  energy  and  unfaltering  purpose  to  bring  his  business  to  the  point 
which  it  had  reached  when  the  fire  occurred.  He  gives  his  entire  attention  to  the  busi- 
ness, wliich  he  has  so  thoroughly  systematized  that  he  feels  it  would  continiie  to  prosper 
even  if  he  were  not  there.  Mr.  Collins  has  displaj-ed  marked  business  ability  in  the  upbuild- 
ing of  this  enterprise  and  he  is  now  at  the  head  of  a  very  profitable  iiulustrial  concern. 
Mr.  Collins'  high  standing  as  a  business  man  is  indicated  in  the  fact  that  in  1913  he  was 
elected  to  the  presidency  of  the  Northwestern  Laundrymen's  Association.  He  attended  the 
conventions  of  the  Laundry  Owners  National  Association  for  nine  years  and  is  considered  one 
of  the  progressive  men  in  the  business.  In  manner  he  is  extremely  modest  and  free  from 
ostentation,  but  he  has  friends  among  laundrymen  throughout  the  entire  country  and  has 
done  much  executive  work  in  the  interests  of  the  business  generally,  continually  studying 
methods  to  improve  business  conditions  both  for  the  employer  and  employe,  and  that  his 
plans  are  practical  and  resultant  is  indicated  in  his  individual  success. 

On  the  14th  of  .June,  1903,  in  .Jamestown,  North  Dakota,  William  A.  Collins  was  united 
in  marriage  to  Miss  Bessie  Alexander,  a  native  of  Wisconsin  and  a  daughter  of  George  and 
Nannie  (Curtis)  Alexander.  They  have  one  child,  Helen  Ethel,  who  was  born  in  Grand 
Forks,  July  11,  1910. .  The  residence  of  tlie  family  is  at  No.  519  North  Third  street. 

In  politics  Mr.  Collins  is  a  republican.  Ho  belongs  to  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America, 
also  to  the  Grand  Forks  Commercial  Club  and  has  been  actively  interested  in  promoting 
the  moral  progress  of  the  community.  He  is  a  member  and  stew-ard  of  the  First  Methodist 
Episcopal  church  and  for  the  past  ten  years  has  been  a  director  of  the  Young  Men's  Chris- 
tian Association  of  Grand  Forks.  His  life  is  actuated  by  high  ideals  and  never  has  he 
allowed  business  to  monopolize  his  time  and  attention  but  has  always  found  opportunity  to 
cooperate  in  plans  and  measures  that  work  for  the  general  good. 


FRANK  WILHELM  DEASON,  M.  D. 

Di-.  Frank  Wilhclm  Deason,  a  practicing  physician  of  8t.  Thomas,  is  numbered  among 
North  Dakota's  native  sons,  his  birth  having  occurred  at  Grafton,  September  23,  1887.  His 
father,  Christopher  Deason,  a  native  of  Norway,  arrived  in  America  in  ]87.'i  and  made  his 
way  direct  to  Walsh  county.  North  Dakota,  where  he  still  resides,  being  employed  in  the 
courthouse  in  Grafton.  He  was  for  many  years  engaged  in  the  nursery  and  horticultural 
business.  He  homesteaded  one  hundred  and  sixty  acres  of  land  in  Golden  Valley,  eight 
miles  west  of  Park  River,  and  thereon  engaged  in  agricultural  pursuits  for  a  time.  His 
son.  Dr.  Deason,  was  born  in  the  first  log  cabin  in  Grafton,  the  building  having  been  erected 
by  a  Mr.  Cooper.  In  politics  Christ()|>lier  Deason  is  a  stanch  republican  and  for  fcmr  years 
he  filled  the  office  of  deputy  sherid'  under  Cliarles  Jacobson.  His  religious  belief  is  that  of 
the  Lutheran  church.  In  early  manhood  he  wedded  JIartha  Christianson,  a  native  of  Nor- 
way, who  came  to  America  two  years  after  the  arrival  of  Mr.  Deason.  Their  marriage  was 
blessed  with   four  children,  those  besides  our  subject  being:     Jeannette,  the  wife  of   Peter 


360  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

A.  Boa,  a  grain  dealer  of  Joliette,  North  Dakota;  Myrtle,  deceased;  and  Chester,  a  student 
in  the  dental  school  of  the  Northwestern  University  at  Chicago,  Illinois. 

After  attending  the  public  and  high  schools  at  Grafton  Dr.  Deason  of  tliis  review  took 
up  the  study  of  pharmacy  under  the  direction  of  H.  L.  Haussamen,  of  Grafton.  He  was 
also  coiuieeted  for  a  time  with  R.  O.  Hatlelid  and  after  mastering  the  drug  business  he 
became  a  registered  assistant  pliarmacist  and  devoted  about  six  months  to  work  of  that 
character.  He  next  entered  the  Northwestern  University  Medical  School  at  Chicago  and  won 
his  professional  degree  witii  the  class  of  1910.  He  holds  membership  in  Nu  Sigma  Nu  and  in 
Kappa  Tlieta  Alpha,  two  college  fraternities.  During  his  senior  year  and  following  his 
graduation  he  was  connected  with  the  Lying-in  Hospital  and  through  his  practice  there 
gained  much  valuable  knowledge.  Returning  to  North  Dakota,  he  opened  an  office  in  St. 
Tliomas,  where  he  has  since  remained  in  practice.  His  professional  duties  make  constant 
demands  upon  his  time  and  energies  and  the  extent  of  his  practice  is  indicative  of  the  con- 
fidence and  trust  reposed  in  his  ability  by  his  fellow  townsmen.  He  belongs  to  the  Grand 
Forks  District  Medical  Society,  the  North  Dakota  State  Medical  Society  and  the  American 
Medical  Association  and  is  ever  keenly  interested  in  those  problems  the  solution  of  which 
tends  to  bring  to  man  the  key  to  the  complex  mystery  which  we  call  life.  He  reads 
broadly,  thinks  deeply  and  shows  keen  discrimination  in  diagnosing  his  cases. 

On  the  30th  of  November,  1913,  at  Grafton,  Dr.  Deason  was  married  to  Miss  Aletta 
G.  Olson,  a  native  of  Grafton  and  a  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Gunder  Olson,  who  were 
pioneer  settlers  of  that  place,  the  father  becoming  a  prominent  hardware  merchant  there. 
Dr.  and  Mrs.  Deason  had  two  children:  Myrtle,  now  deceased;  and  Frank  Wilhelm,  who 
was  born  in  St.  Thomas,  May  15,  1915. 

Di-.  Deason  is  prominent  in  Masonic  circles,  having  been  made  a  Mason  in  St.  Thomas 
in  1913.  In  the  lodge  he  has  passed  through  all  the  chairs  and  has  been  worshipful  master. 
He  likewise  belongs  to  the  Royal  Arch  chapter.  Sometliing  of  the  nature  of  his  recreation 
is  indicated  in  the  fact  that  he  belongs  to  the  Curling  Club.  He  is  likewise  a  member  of  the 
Commercial  Club  and  that  he  is  not  neglectful  of  the  higher,  holier  duties  of  life  is  indicated 
in  the  fact  that  he  is  a  member  of  St.  .John's  Lutheran  church  at  St.  Thomas,  of  which  he 
is  now  serving  as  financial  secretary,  while  in  the  various  branches  of  the  church  work  he 
heartily  cooperates.  His  political  endorsement  is  given  to  the  republican  pai-ty  but  the 
only  political  offices  that  he  has  ever  held  have  been  in  the  strict  path  of  his  profession. 
He  is  superintendent  of  the  board  of  liealth  of  Pembina  county  and  /or  one  year  was  county 
coronor.  Dr.  Deason  early  gave  evidence  of  tlie  elemental  strength  of  his  character  in  his 
determination  to  secure  an  education.  He  put  forth  every  effort  that  would  enable  Iiim  to 
gain  the  means  necessary  for  his  college  course,  doing  everything  from  acting  as  waiter  in  a 
restaurant  to  clerk  in  a  store.  Persistency  and  energy  brought  their  reward  and  at  length, 
having  graduated  from  the  Northwestern  University  medical  department,  he  entered  upon  a 
practice  that  has  brought  him  to  a  prominent  position  among  the  able  and  prosperous  physi- 
cians of  Pembina  county.  He  is  the  only  doctor  in  St.  Thomas  and  his  patronage  is  now  large 
and  extensive. 


CLINTON  C.  RANDALL. 


Clinton  C.  Randall,  who  on  the  1st  of  January,  1917,  assumed  the  office  of  sheriff  of 
McKenzie  county,  was  born  in  Canton,  Pennsylvania,  February  6,  1876,  a  son  of  Tim  and 
Matilda  (Clark)  Randall.  The  father,  also  a  native  of  Pennsylvania,  in  which  state  he  was 
reared  and  educated,  took  up  the  occupation  of  farming,  but  at  the  time  of  the  Civil  war 
put  aside  all  business  and  personal  considerations  to  espouse  the  Union  cause.  After  his 
return  from  the  front  he  returned  to  Henry  county,  Iowa,  in  1868  and  there  engaged  in 
farming.  In  1883  he  went  to  Dickinson,  North  Dakota,  as  a  carpenter  in  the  employ  of  the 
Northern  Pacific  Railroad,  in  fact  arriving  in  Dickinson  before  the  railroad  was  built.  Later 
he  became  a  ranchman  in  the  Kildeer  mountains  of  Dunn  county.  North  Dakota,  where  he 
remained  until   1903,   when  he   disposed   of  his   cattle   and   retired   from   ranching.     He   then 


HISTORY  OI'   NORTH  DAKOTA  361 

removed  to  Kent,  Washington,  where  he  is  now  enjoying  a  well  ournod  rest.  His  wife,  a 
native  of  ilenry  county,  Iowa,  also  survives. 

Reared  upon  the  frontier,  Clinton  C.  Randall  pursued  Iiis  ciUication  in  the  schools  of 
Dunn  and  Stark  counties.  His  opportunities,  however,  were  limited  as  the  family  lived  on 
a  ranch  and  the  schools  of  that  district  were  widely  scattered.  Ho  eventually  had  a  ranch 
on  the  Little  Jlissouri  river  and  later  he  homesteadcd  in  JFcKenzie  county,  near  Watford 
City,  where  he  still  conducts  a  stock  ranch. 

On  the  3d  of  December,  1903,  Mr.  Randall  was  married  to  Miss  Mary  Riley  at  Richard- 
son, Korth  Dakota,  and  they  have  become  the  parents  of  six  children,  James  T.,  Grace, 
Lawrence  C,  Frank  L.,  Mildred  and  Klizabeth.  His  political  endorsement  is  given  to  the 
republican  party  and  upon  that  ticket  he  was  elected  sheriff  of  McKenzie  county  on  the 
7th  of  November,  1916,  entering  upon  the  duties  of  that  position  on  the  1st  of  January 
following,  so  that  he  is  now  the  incumbent  in  the  office.  He  has  also  served  three  terms 
on  the  school  board.  He  is  well  known  as  one  of  the  stockmen  of  the  county,  having  been 
reared  here  in  the  cow  country.  He  is  familiar  with  every  phase  of  range  life  as  represented 
on  the  great  broad  prairies  of  North  Dakota  and  he  has  a  wide  and  favorable  acquaintance 
throughout  his  part  of  the  state  as  is  shown  by  the  strong  endorsement  that  was  given 
him  in  the  popular  vote  w'hen  he  was  a  candidate  for  his  present  odiee. 


P.  H.  McGURREN. 


P.  H.  McCiurren,  a  druggist  at  Craiy,  Ramsey  county,  was  born  in  Casselton,  North 
Dakota,  on  the  30th  of  August,  1S83,  and  is  a  son  of  Dr.  C.  J.  McGurren,  who  is  mentioned 
elsewhere  in  this  work.  At  the  usual  age  he  was  sent  to  the  public  schools  and  passed 
through  consecutive  grades  until  he  became  a  higli  school  pujjil  in  Casselton.  He  afterward 
pursued  the  pharmaceutical  course  in  Highland  Park  College  and  later  took  the  required 
examination,  which  he  successfully  passed.  He  was  first  engaged  in  business  at  Wyndniere, 
North  Dakota,  from  1907  until  1910,  when  he  sold  out  at  that  jjlaee  and  removed  to  Crary, 
purchasing  a  drug  store  which  he  has  since  conducted,  meeting  with  a  fair  meas\u-e  of  suc- 
cess in  the  business 

On  the  fith  of  August,  1910,  Mr.  McGurren  was  married  to  Miss  Laura  Klinglcr  and 
they  have  two  children,  Esnia  and  Kenneth.  Mr.  McGurren  votes  with  the  democratic  party 
and  fraternally  is  connected  with  the  Benerolent  Protective  Order  of  Elks  and  the  Modern 
Woodmen  of  America.  He  is  actuated  by  a  progressive  spirit  in  his  attachment  to  his  native 
state  and  does  everything  in  his  power  to  further  its  progress  and  upbuilding.  His  salient 
characteristics  are  such  as  commend  him  to  the  confidence  and  goodwill  of  his  fellow  towns- 
men and  he  has  won  many  friends  during  the  period  of  his  residence  in  Crary. 


NELS  0.  NELSON. 


Nels  0.  Nelson,  called  by  popular  sull'riige  to  the  ofllcc  of  shcritT  of  Walsh  county,  is 
now  proving  a  capable  oflicial,  prompt  and  fearless  in  the  discharge  of  his  duties.  He  was 
born  December  1,  1856,  in  the  county  of  Hafslo,  Norway,  a  son  of  Ole  and  Margaret  Johnson 
(Solve)  Nelson  Sterry,  who  were  also  natives  of  the  same  country.  In  the  spring  of  1857 
they  crossed  the  Atlantic  to  the  new  world  with  their  family,  settling  first  at  Black  Earth, 
Dane  county,  Wisconsin,  where  the  father  engaged  in  general  farming.  In  1864  he  removed 
to  Buffalo  county,  Wisconsin,  where  he  resided  until  his  death,  which  occurred  in  1869,  when 
he  was  forty-nine  years  of  age.  His  w  ife  passed  away  in  1885,  at  the  age  of  sixty-one  years. 
They  had  a  family  of  six  children. 

Nels  ().  Nelson,  the  third  in  order  of  birth,  was  educated  in  the  imblic  schools  of 
Modena,  Wisconsin,  and  spent  his  early  life  upon  the  home  farm,  becoming  familiar  with 
the  best  methods  of  tilling  the  soil  and  caring  for  the  crops.  At  the  age  of  twenty-four 
years  he  started  out  in  the  world  on  his  own  account  and  on  the  38th  of  May,  1881,  arrived 


362  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

at  Grand  Forks,  North  Dakota,  where  he  took  up  the  business  of  grain  buying.  In  the 
spring  of  1883  he  removed  to  Grafton,  Walsh  county,  and  for  several  years  thereafter  devoted 
his  attention  to  the  sale  of  farm  implements.  In  1885  he  was  appointed  deputy  sheriff  under 
Gunder  Olson,  the  second  sheriff  of  Walsh  county,  and  for  two  j'ears  filled  that  position. 
During  the  succeeding  thirteen  years  he  was  the  sole  representative  at  Grafton  of  the 
Deering  Imi)lenient  Company  and  during  the  next  eighteen  years  he  served  as  county 
constable.  In  1912  he  was  elected  sheriff  of  Walsh  county,  which  position  he  is  filling  for 
the  second  term.  No  trust  reposed  in  him  has  ever  been  betrayed  in  the  slightest  degree. 
He  has  always  proven  a  capable  and  loyal  official  and  one  whose  fidelity  has  never  been 
called  into  question.  The  work  of  his  office  is  always  systematically  discharged  and  as  the 
custodian  of  public  and  individual  rights  he  has  proven  himself  a  safeguard  to  the  law- 
abiding  and  a  menace  to  all  who  do  not  hold  themselves  amenable  to  law. 

On  the  3Sth  of  February,  1886,  in  Grafton,  Mr.  Nelson  was  married  to  Miss  Lena  Olson, 
a  native  of  Grant  county,  Wisconsin,  and  a  daughter  of  Thore  and  Marie  (Vista)  Olson,  who 
were  pioneer  settlers  of  that  state,  where  they  resided  for  more  than  sixty  years.  The 
father  died  in  August,  1916,  at  the  age  of  eighty-seven.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Nelson  have  six 
children:  Maria  Elizabeth,  the  wife  of  George  E.  Hodgdon,  of  Everett,  Washington;  Otis  E., 
who  for  the  past  six  years  has  been  a  mail  clerk  and  makes  his  home  in  Grafton;  Anna 
Sophia,  a  teacher  in  the  public  schools  of  Conway,  North  Dakota;  Fred  Theodore,  who  is  a 
law  student  in  the  University  of  North  Dakota  but  is  now  on  duty  on  the  Mexican  border 
as  a  member  of  Company  C  of  Grafton;  Samuel  Dewey,  who  is  teaching  at  Lankin,  North 
Dakota;  and  Grant  Newell,  a  student  in  the  high  school.  All  of  the  children  were  born 
in  Grafton  and  it  has  been  Mr.  Nelson's  purpose  to  provide  them  with  excellent  educational 
privileges. 

In  his  own  career  there  is  an  interesting  military  record,  for  he  was  one  of  the 
organizers  of  Company  C  of  the  First  Regiment  of  the  North  Dakota  National  Guard,  of 
which  he  became  third  sergeant,  serving  for  a  period  of  three  years.  His  political  endorse- 
ment has  always  been  given  to  the  republican  party,  of  which  he  is  a  stalwart  champion. 
He  belongs  to  the  Lutheran  church  and  to  the  Commercial  Club.  His  has  been  a  well  spent 
life  characterized  by  fidelity  in  office  and  progressivencss  and  loyalty  in  his  business  con- 
nections. For  more  than  a  third  of  a  century  he  has  lived  in  Walsh  count}',  contributing  in 
substantial  measure  to  its  development  and  growth,  and  he  is  honored  by  a  wide  acquaintance, 
his   circle   of   friends   being   almost   coextensive   therewith. 


CARLOS  S.  JONES,  M.  D. 


Dr.  Carlos  S.  .lones.  a  well  known  physician  and  surgeon  of  Williston,  successfully 
engaged  in  the  practice  of  his  chosen  profession,  was  born  in  Boston,  Massachusetts,  August 
16,  1875,  his  parents  being  Charles  C.  and  Catherine  (Selby)  .lones.  The  father  was  also  a 
native  of  Boston,  where  he  began  his  education  in  the  common  schools,  and  after  attending 
high  school  and  a  preparatory  college  entered  Harvard  University,  from  which  he  was 
gradtiated.  For  a  time  he  was  engaged  in  the  banking  business  in  Boston,  but  in  1877 
removed  to  Duluth,  Minnesota,  where  he  conducted  a  bank  for  a  few  years,  and  then  went 
to  Australia,  his  last  days  being  spent  in  Sidney,  where  he  died  in  1880.  The  Doctor's  mother 
was  born  on  Mackinac  island  but  was  quite  young  when  taken  by  her  parents  to  Montreal, 
Canada,  where  she  received  a  good  education.  She  married  Mr.  Jones  in  Duluth,  Minnesota, 
but  now  7nakes  her  home  in  Milwaukee,  Wisconsin. 

Dr.  Jones  was  practically  reared  in  Duluth  and  attended  the  grammar  and  high  schools 
of  that  city.  In  1892  he  entered  the  United  States  Naval  Academy  at  Annapolis,  Maryland, 
from  which  he  was  graduated  in  1896.  Believing  that  the  medical  profession  offered  more 
opportunities  for  him  he  resigned  from  the  naval  service  in  1896  and  entered  the  medical 
department  of  the  University  of  Minnesota,  where  he  spent  two  years.  During  the  following 
two  years  he  was  a  student  at  the  College  of  Physicians  and  Surgeons  in  Chicago,  Illinois, 
from  which  he  was  graduated  with  the  degree  of  M.  D.  in  1900.  For  several  years  he 
practiced  his  profession  at  Ironwood,  Michigan,  and  in  1904  was  appointed  surgeon  for  the 


DR.  CARLOS  S.  JOXKS 


HISTORY  OF  NOR'lll   DAKOTA  365 

United  States  Steel  Corporation  at  Tower,  Jliimesota,  where  he  remained  until  190S.  lie 
then  took  two  years'  post  giaduate  work  at  Augustana  Hospital,  Chicago,  and  in  1910 
removed  to  Williston,  Xorth  Dakota,  where  he  has  since  engaged  in  the  general  practice  of 
medicine  and  surgery,  specializing  in  the  latter  branch  of  the  profession.  His  two  years' 
hospital  experience  has  well  fitted  him  for  private  practice  and  has  made  him  one  of  the 
best  informed  physicians  in  his  section  of  the  state. 

In  October,  1909,  Dr.  Jones  married  Miss  Barbara  Cameron,  at  Anoka,  Minnesota,  wlicre 
she  was  born  and  reared.  She  attended  school  there  and  also  in  Minneapolis.  Her  parents, 
Robert  E.  and  Hester  Belle  (Thomas)  Cameron,  w-ere  natives  of  Nova  Scotia,  but  at  an  early 
day  removed  to  ilinnesota,  locating  on  a  farm  near  Anoka,  which  Mr.  Cameron  operated  for 
many  years,  but  both  he  and  his  wife  are  now  living  retired  in  Anoka. 

By  his  ballot  Dr.  Jones  supports  the  men  and  measures  of  the  republican  party  and  he 
has  filled  the  office  of  health  officer  in  Williston.  He  is  a  member  of  the  Northwestern 
District  Medical  Association,  the  Dakota  Medical  Association,  the  American  Medical  Associa- 
tion and  the  Kotana  Medical  Association,  the  last  named  being  composed  of  physicians  of  the 
Dakotas  and  Montana.  Success  has  come  to  him  in  his  chosen  calling  and  he  now  ranks 
among  the  leading  representatives  of  the  medical  profession  in  his  section  of  the  state.  In 
religious  faith  he  is  an  Episcopalian  and  in  his  fraternal  relations  he  is  connected  with 
Williston  Lodge,  Xo.  1214,  B.  P.  O.  E.,  and  tlie  Kniglits  of  Pythias  lodge,  also  of  Williston. 
In  addition  to  these  organizations  he  belongs  to  the  blue  lodge  of  Masons  at  Ironwood, 
Michigan;  the  chapter  at  Bessemer,  that  state;  the  commandery  at  Ironwood;  and  -\hmcd 
Temple  of  the  Mystic  Shrine  at  Marquette,  Michigan. 


DAVID   E.   FULLER. 


David  E.  Fuller,  a  merchant  of  Alexander,  made  his  first  sale  in  the  town  on  the 
17th  of  March.  1907.  He  is  today  an  esteemed  merchant  there,  and  in  his  business  hag 
always  maintained  a  position  of  leadership.  He  was  born  in  Wabasha,  IMinnesota,  February 
27.  1867,  a  son  of  Timothy  and  Schoolastic  (Cratt)  Fuller.  The  father,  a  native  of  New 
Hampshire,  was  a  carpenter  by  trade  and  for  a  time  worked  in  Canada.  In  1857  he  removed 
to  Wabasha,  Minnesota,  where  he  established  a  general  store  that  he  conducted  until  his 
death.     His  wife  was  a  native  of  Ottawa,  Canada,  and  she  too  passed  away  in  Wabaslia. 

It  was  in  the  common  schools  there  that  David  E.  Fuller  obtained  his  education,  but 
he  was  left  an  orphan  when  only  seven  years  of  age,  after  which  he  did  farm  work  for 
his  board  and  clothes  until  he  reached  the  age  of  seventeen.  He  then  learned  the  carpenter's 
trade  with  his  uncle  and  was  employed  in  building  operations  at  Wabasha  for  three  years. 
He  next  went  to  Minneapolis,  where  he  engaged  in  carpentering  for  four  years  on  the 
expiration  of  which  period  he  returned  to  Wabasha  and  followed  carpentering  there  and  at 
Plain  View,  Minnesota.  In  1906  he  removed  to  McKenzie  county.  North  Dakota,  and  took 
up  a  homestead  seven  miles  southeast  of  Alexander.  In  February,  1907,  he  bought  a  lot 
in  the  town  and  from  Williston  hauled  lumber  with  which  he  erected  a  store  building.  He 
then  established  a  general  store,  which  he  opened  for  business,  making  his  first  sale  on 
the  17th  of  JEarch, — the  first  merchant  in  the  town.  From  the  beginning  his  trade  lias  con- 
tinually increased  and  he  has  recently  completed  a  large,  modern,  brick  store  building,  fitted 
up  in  the  finest  shape  and  equipped  with  every  facility  necessary  for  the  conduct  of  the 
trade.  His  business  has  assumed  extensive  proportions  and  is  constantly  growing.  His 
methods  are  such  as  will  bear  the  closest  investigation  and  scrutiny,  and  his  enterprising 
spirit  and  progressiveness  have  placed  him  in  the  front  ranks  among  the  leading  merchants 
of  the  town.  He  also  has  other  important  business  connections.  He  assisted  in  organizing 
the  Alexander  Grain  Company,  which  built  the  elevator  and  is  successfully  engaged  in  the 
grain  trade.  Of  that  company  Jlr.  Fuller  is  the  president  and  he  is  also  the  vice  president 
of  the  Scandinavian-American  Bank  of  Alexander.  He  still  owns  his  homestead  property 
and  has  purchased  adjoining  land,  from  which  he  receives  good  rentals.  He  has  erected  an 
attractive  residence  in  Alexander  and  is  regarded  as  one  of  the  town's  most  substantial 
citizens. 


366  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

On  September  22,  1896,  Mr.  Fuller  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Aleta  JI.  McCarthy 
of  riain  View,  Minnesota,  and  to  them  liave  been  born  two  children,  Nellie  May  and  Lois 
Irene,  both  born  in  Plain  View.  In  politics  Mi-.  Fuller  is  a  democrat.  He  was  elected  a 
member  of  the  first  village  council  of  Alexander  and  has  served  continuously  since,  doing 
much  to  shape  the  policy  and  promote  the  interests  of  the  town.  He  belongs  to  the  IModern 
Woodmen  camp  at  Plain  View,  and  his  religious  faith  is  that  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal 
church.  He  is  recognized  as  a  man  of  marked  ability,  of  high  and  honorable  purposes,  and 
is  continually  seeking  larger  levels  of  living  for  the  communit}-.  All  who  know  him,  and 
he  has  a  wide  acquaintance,  speak  of  him  in  terms  of  high  regard. 


GEORGE  W.  MOOERS. 


George  W.  Mooers,  deceased,  was  during  the  period  of  his  residence  at  Devils  Lake  well 
known  in  connection  with  the  real  estate  and  loan  business,  in  which  he  remained  active  up 
to  the  time  of  his  demise.  He  was  born  in  Howard  Lake,  Minnesota,  February  27,  1874, 
and  was  a  son  of  Calvin  and  Elvira  Mooers,  the  former  of  whom  is  still  living.  The  public 
schools  of  his  native  town  afforded  George  W.  Mooers  his  early  educational  privileges  and 
later  he  entered  the  State  Normal  School  at  Mayville,  North  Dakota,  from  which  in  due  time 
he  was  graduated.  Taking  up  the  profession  of  teaching,  he  proved  a  capable  and  pro- 
gressive educator,  serving  as  principal  of  the  schools  of  Oberon,  North  Dakota,  for  four 
years.  He  had  eome  to  this  state  with  his  parents  in  1883,  when  a  youth  of  but  nine  years, 
and  through  the  intervening  period  to  the  time  of  his  death  remained  in  North  Dakota, 
a  progressive  and  loyal  citizen.  After  retiring  from  his  position  in  connection  with  the 
Oberon  schools  he  became  associated  with  A,  M,  Powell  in  the  insurance  business  and  thus 
continued  for  seven  years.  He  next  engaged  in  business  on  his  own  account,  handling  real 
estate,  loans  and  insurance,  and  met  with  a  substantial  measure  of  success,  winning  a  large 
clientage. 

In  1900  Mr.  Mooers  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Elizabeth  AV.  Walton  and  to  them 
were  born  two  daughters,  Amy  E.  and  Ruth  H.  The  family  attend  the  I'piscopal  church,  in 
which  Mr,  Mooers  as  well  as  the  family  held  membership.  He  was  a  republican  in  his  political 
views,  and  while  he  never  sought  nor  held  office,  he  cooperated  heartily  in  many  well  devised 
plans  and  measures  for  the  upbuilding  of  his  city.  He  was  president  of  the  school  board  and 
did  much  to  further  the  cause  of  public  instruction.  He  was  prominent  in  the  Ancient 
Order  of  United  Workmen  and  was  serving  as  grand  master  of  the  state  at  tlie  time  of 
his  death  in  1913,  Mrs,  Mooers  since  the  demise  of  her  husband  has  continued  the  business, 
in  which  she  has  been  very  successful.  She,  too,  is  a  graduate  of  the  State  Normal  School 
and  it  was  during  her  student  days  there  that  she  met  Mr.  Mooers.  She  afterward  became 
a  teacher  and  she  has  further  proven  her  worth  and  capability  by  taking  up  the  business 
left  by  her  husband.  Mr.  Mooers  was  devoted  to  the  welfare  of  his  family  and  had  the 
attractive  social  qualities  which   rendered  him   popular  with   a   large  circle  of  friends. 


AUGUST  M.  BRUSCHWIEN. 

August  M.  Bruscliwien,  a  banker  of  Driscoll,  Burleigh  county,  Avas  born  in  Lamoure 
county.  North  Dakota,  in  1884,  His  father,  John  Brnschwien,  a  native  of  Germany,  came 
to  the  United  States  when  about  sixteen  years  of  age  and  settled  first  in  Pennsylvania, 
after  which  he  removed  to  Wisconsin.  In  1879  he  arrived  in  North  Dakota  and  took  up  a 
preemption  claim  in  Cass  county.  In  1882  he  secured  a  homestead  claim  in  Lamoure  county 
and  upon  that  place  spent  his  remaining  days,  his  time  being  devoted  to  general  farming 
and  stock  raising.  In  fact  he  made  a  specialty  of  raising  stock  and  won  substantial  success 
thereby.  His  death  occurred  in  1914.  In  early  manhood  he  wedded  a  Miss  Wolf,  a  native 
of  Wisconsin,  who  died  in  1888,  They  were  the  parents  of  six  children,  of  whom  five  are 
living,  August  M,  being  the  fourth  in  order  of  birth. 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  367 

]ii  the  schools  of  Lamouie  county  August  II.  Brusehwien  pursued  liis  early  education 
and  afterward  attended  tlie  Dakota  Business  College  at  Fargo.  For  a  brief  period  he  was 
employed  at  the  Great  Northern  depot  at  that  place  and  then  returned  to  the  Lamoure  county 
farm,  spending  a  period  of  about  five  years  thereon.  In  1906  he  removed  to  Burleigh  county, 
where  he  took  up  a  homestead,  settling  near  DriscoU.  There  he  remained  for  two  years, 
at  the  end  of  wliich  time  he  removed  to  the  town  and  entered  the  employ  of  George  Boelter, 
a  coal.  Hour  and  feed  merchant,  with  whom  he  remained  for  two  years.  In  March,  1910, 
lie  entered  the  emi)loy  of  the  Farmers  &  Merchants  State  Bank  in  the  position  of  assistant 
cashier.  The  bank  was  organized  in  1906  by  J.  C.  Hallum,  who  became  president,  Clarence 
Hallum,  who  is  vice  president,  and  ^I.  B.  Finseth,  cashier.  The  bank  is  capitalized  for  ten 
thousand  dollars  and  has  a  surplus  amounting  to  five  thousand  dollars.  Mr.  Bruschwien  still 
continues  to  act  as  assistant  cashier  and  is  a  worthy  representative  of  the  institution.  In 
addition  to  his  activities  in  the  banking  field  Mr.  Bruschwien  is  also  engaged  in  real  estate 
dealing,  handling  both  country  and  town  property,  and  he  is  a  stockholder  in  the  Farmers 
Elevator  of  JIarion,  Xorth  Dakota. 

In  March,  1913,  Mr.  Bruschwien  was  married  to  Miss  Sarah  Weins,  a  resident  of  South 
Dakota  and  a  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Henry  Weins,  who  were  pioneers  of  that  state. 
They  afterw-ard  removed  to  North  Dakota  and  the  mother  has  now  passed  away.  Mr.  and 
Jlrs.  Bruschwien  have  two  children,  Hazel  and  Harold. 

In  polities  Mr.  Bruschwien  is  a  democrat  and  has  held  all  of  the  township  offices, 
including  those  of  assessor,  clerk,  justice  of  the  peace  in  Prairie  and  in  DriscoU  townships 
and  clerk  of  the  school  district.  He  is  a  member  of  the  DriscoU  Lutheran  church  and  is 
serving  as  one  of  its  trustees.  His  interest  in  community  affairs  is  deep  and  sincere  and 
he  actively  cooperates  in  manj^  measures  that  arc  advanced  for  the  purpose  of  promoting 
the  welfare  and   upbuilding  of  the  district. 


HERMAN  M.  EISENLOHR.  D.  V.  M. 

Dr.  Herman  il.  Eisenlohr,  a  veterinary  surgeon  who  maintains  a  veterinary  hospital 
at  Lariniore  and  is  now  actively  engaged  in  farming  in  Grand  Forks  county,  was  born 
•January  4,  1879,  in  Story  City,  Iowa,  a  son  of  Mathew  and  .Jane  (Gross)  Eisenlohr,  both 
of  whom  are  natives  of  Germany.  The  mother  was  but  a  year  old  when  in  18.52  she  was 
brought  to  America  by  her  father,  David  Gross,  who  settled  in  Jasper  county,  Iowa,  and 
established  the  town  of  Prairie  City.  He  early  devoted  his  attention  to  farming  in  that 
locality,  also  engaged  in  shoe  manufacturing  and  in  various  other  business  activities,  con- 
tinuing his  residence  at  Prairie  City  until  called  to  his  final  rest.  After  residing  for  some 
time  at  ilonroe,  Iowa,  Mathew  Eisenlohr  removed  to  Gilbert,  that  state,  where  he  is  still 
living  at  the  age  of  seventy  years.  He  has  made  farming  and  cattle  dealing  his  life  work. 
His  wife  has  reached  the  age  of  sixty-six  years.  In  the  family  were  five  children: 
Mrs.  Emma  Whalen,  a  resident  of  Picrpont,  South  Dakota;  Mrs.  Nellie  Rainbolt.  living  at 
Gilbert.  Iowa;  Herman  M.,  of  this  review;  Frank  S.,  a  resident  of  Havana,  North  Dakota; 
and  John,  who  died  in  infancy. 

In  his  youthful  days  Dr.  Eisenlohr  attended  the  district  schools  of  Iowa  and  later 
took  up  the  occupation  of  farming  and  stock  raising  in  that  state.  He  subsequently  removed 
to  Day  county.  South  Dakota,  and  later,  determining  to  engage  in  the  practice  of  veterinary 
surgery,  entered  the  veterinary  college  at  Grand  Rapids,  Michigan,  from  which  he  was 
graduated  on  the  11th  of  April,  1913.  On  the  24tli  of  the  same  month  he  arrived  in 
tiarimore,  where  he  has  since  practiced  his  profession,  and  in  connection  with  his  pro- 
fessional visits  he  conducts  a  veterinary  hospital  and  also  a  feed  and  livery  barn  at 
Larimore.  He  is  likewise  engaged  in  farming  and  his  varied  and  important  interests  are 
bringing  to  him  substantial  and  well  merited  success.  He  keeps  in  touch  with  the  latest 
discoveries  connected  with  veterinary  practice  and  follows  the  most  modern  methods  in  his 
work.  His  property  interests  include  a  large  farm  in  Grand  Forks  county,  just  outside 
the  city  limits  of  Ijarimore.  and  also  a  large  farm  in  South  Dakota.     Both  have  been  brought 


368  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

under  a  high  state  of  cultivation  and  return  to  him  a  handsome  income  for  the  care  and 
Labor  which  he  bestows  upon  them. 

On  the  27th  of  February,  1907,  Dr.  Eisenlohr  was  married  to  Miss  Anna  Olsen,  a 
daughter  of  Louis  and  Mary  (Tenning)  Olsen,  who  were  natives  of  Norway  and  became 
residents  of  Iowa.  Mi's.  Eisenlohr  passed  away  July  14,  1909,  leaving  a  daughter,  Florence, 
who  was  born  at  Havana,  North  Dakota,  .January  2,  1908,  and  is  now  with  her  grand- 
parents at  Gilbert,  Iowa. 

Dr.  Eisenlolu-  is  well  known  in  fraternal  circles,  being  connected  with  the  Masons,  the 
Odd  Fellows,  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America,  the  Ancient  Order  of  United  Workmen,  the 
Homesteaders  and  the  Royal  Neighbors.  Along  professional  lines  he  has  various  connections, 
his  name  being  on  the  membership  list  of  the  North  Dakota  Live  Stock  Sanitary  Commission, 
while  he  is  also  connected  with  the  North  Dakota  Veterinary  Association,  the  Veterinary 
Science  Association  and  the  American  Medical  Association.  His  political  allegiance  is  given 
to  the  democratic  party  and  for  two  years  he  has  been  alderman  of  Larimore.  Actuated 
by  laudable  ambition,  he  has  won  his  advancement  step  by  step  until  he  now  occupies  a  high 
professional  position,  while  his  labors  have  been  of  the  utmost  value  to  stock  raisers  of 
his   section   of   the   state. 


PAUL  M.  PAULSON. 


Paul  M.  Paulson,  attorney  at  law  and  editor  of  the  Michigan  Arena,  published  at 
Michigan,  Nelson  county,  was  born  August  21.  1883,  at  Gundestrup,  Denmark,  a  son  of  Jens 
and  Johanna  (Christiansen)  Paulson,  who  are  likewise  natives  of  Denmark,  in  which  countrj' 
both  are  still  living.  They  had  a  family  of  six  children,  five  of  whom  are  yet  living,  Paul  M. 
being  the  second.  The  father  is  a  successful  farmer  and  an  active  advocate  of  and  worker 
for  good  roads.  He  has  had  military  training  and  is  quite  active  in  political  and  civic  affairs 
in  Ulstrup,  Denmark. 

Paul  M.  Paulson  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  of  Ulstrup  and  spent  his  early  youth 
upon  the  home  farm  to  tlie  age  of  fourteen  years,  when  he  started  out  to  earn  his  living.  He 
was  first  employed  as  a  farm  hand  in  Denmark  but  in  1902,  at  the  age  of  nineteen  years, 
crossed  the  Atlantic  to  America,  making  his  way  to  Buchanan,  North  Dakota,  where  he 
arrived  in  the  spring  of  the  year  an  entire  stranger.  His  financial  condition  rendered  it 
imperative  that  he  gain  immediate  employment  and  he  sought  and  secured  work  upon  a 
farm.  For  five  years  he  remained  in  the  employ  of  J.  A.  Buchanan,  an  old  pioneer  settler 
there,  and  during  the  winter  seasons  improved  his  time  by  attending  school,  thus  acquiring  a 
good  education.  After  his  graduation  from  the  high  school  of  Buchanan  he  entered  Fargo 
College  and  later  the  University  of  North  Dakota  for  the  study  of  law  and  was  graduated  with 
the  LL.  B.  degree  in  1915.  Prior  to  that  time,  however,  he  had  engaged  in  teaching,  having 
spent  three  years  as  a  teacher  in  Argusville  and  at  Gardner  in  Cass  county,  being  principal  of 
the  Gardner  schools  for  two  years.  When  his  university  course  was  completed  he  located  for 
the  practice  of  law  in  Michigan,  where  he  has  since  remained,  and  his  developing  power  and 
ability  in  the  line  of  his  profession  has  gained  for  him  a  good  clientage.  In  the  fall  of  1915  he 
purchased  the  Michigan  Ai'ena  and  has  since  edited  and  published  that  paper. 

While  at  Fargo  College  and  the  University  Mr.  Paulson  was  a  member  of  the  foot- 
ball teams,  playing  for  three  years.  He  was  tackle  on  the  Fargo  College  team.  In  1915  he 
was  a  member  of  the  debating  team  that  represented  the  University  of  North  Dakota 
against  Montana.  His  chief  diversion  is  tennis  but  he  enjoys  all  outdoor  sports  and  atliletics. 
His  religious  faith  is  that  of  the  Congregational  chtnch  and  he  belongs  to  several  fraternal 
organizations,  including  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows,  the  Phi  Delta  Phi,  a  legal 
fraternity,  and  the  Delta  Sigma  Rho,  an  honorary  fraternity.  He  likewise  has  membership 
in  the  Commercial  Club  of  Michigan.  His  political  allegiance  is  given  to  the  republican 
party  and  he  is  very  active  in  politics.  On  one  occasion  he  was  the  nominee  of  his  party 
for  the  office  of  states  attorney  and  in  1915  he  was  appointed  United  States  commissioner 
for  the  district  of  North  Dakota  for  a  four  years'  term,  so  that  iie  is  now  the  present  incum- 
bent in  that  office.     His  life  record  should  serve  to  inspire  and  encourage  others,  showmg 


PALL  M.   I'Air.SOX 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH   DAKOTA  371 

what  may  be  accomplished  when  there  is  a  will  to  dare  and  to  do,  for,  severing  home  ties, 
he  came  alone  to  the  new  world  and  unfriended  and  unaided  has  worked  his  way  upward 
the  worth  of  his  character  and  ability  gaining  for  him  the  creditable  position  which  he  now 
occupies. 


G.  S.  NEWBERRY. 


G.  S.  Newberry,  cashier  of  tlio  First  National  Hank  of  Carrington  and  a  iiicniber  of  its 
board  of  directors,  was  born  in  Ontario,  Canada,  October  21,  1876,  a  son  of  George  and 
Martha  (Gimblett)  Newberry.  The  father  was  born  on  the  Isle  of  Wight,  England,  and 
when  a  youth  of  sixteen  years  sailed  for  the  new  world,  making  his  way  to  Canada.  His 
wife  was  born  and  reared  in  Ontario  and  in  1883  they  came  to  the  United  States,  traveling 
by  ox  team  the  last  twenty  miles  of  the  jovnney.  They  established  their  home  at  Coopers- 
town,  North  Dakota,  becoming  pioneer  residents  of  that  place,  and  have  since  resided  there. 

G.  S.  Newberry  was  a  little  lad  of  but  six  summers  when  his  parents  removed  to 
North  Dakota  and  in  the  public  schools  of  Cooperstown  he  pursued  his  education.  In  1898 
he  removed  to  Carrington,  then  a  young  man  of  twenty-two  years,  and  entered  upon  his 
banking  experience  as  bookkeeper  in  the  Carrington  State  Bank.  His  position  at  first  was 
a  minor  one.  He  built  the  fires,  attended  to  the  collections  and  did  other  such  tasks  as 
were  assigned  him,  receiving  therefor  a  salary  of  thirty  dollars  a  month,  with  which  he 
had  to  meet  all  of  his  expenses.  In  1900  the  bank  was  reorganized  and  converted  into  the 
First  National  Bank,  at  which  time  Mr.  Newberry  was  chosen  cashier.  At  that  date  the 
bank  deposits  were  approximately  one  hundred  thousand  dollars.  .Since  then  the  institu- 
tion has  steadily  grown  and  the  deposits  have  passed  the  half  million  mark.  In  1908  the 
bank  building  was  destroyed  by  fire,  but  phoenixlike  from  its  ruins  rose  one  of  the  finest 
bank  buildings  in  the  state.  They  immediately  began  the  work  of  reconstruction  and  today 
the  First  National  of  Carrington  is  housed  in  a  most  splendid  manner,  the  bank  being 
equipped  in  every  possible  way  to  safeguard  the  interests  of  depositors.  In  addition  to 
his  stock  in  the  bank  Mr.  Newberry  is  the  owner  of  eight  hundred  acres  of  valuable  North 
Dakota  farm  land. 

In  January,  1901.  Mr.  Newberry  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Mary  G.  Sheehy,  of 
Postville,  Iowa,  by  whom  he  has  two  children,  ,lanies  Hervej'  and  George  Stevenson.  In 
Masonic  circles  Mr.  Newberry  holds  membership  in  Carrington  Lodge,  A.  F.  &  A.  M.,  and 
Carrington  Cliapter,  No.  15,  R.  A.  JI.  He  also  belongs  to  Carrington  Lodge,  I.  O.  0.  F.  In 
his  political  views  he  is  somewhat  liberal  yet  usually  votes  with  the  republican  party. 
He  is  never  neglectful  of  his  duties  of  citizenship  and  his  influence  is  always  given  on  the 
side  of  progi-css  and  improvement.  He  believes  in  advancement  thiough  constructive  measures, 
whether  in  business  or  in  public  affairs,  and  his  own  progress  has  been  won  in  that  way. 
He  has  gone  on  step  by  step  and  his  orderly  progression  has  brought  him  to  a  creditable 
position  in  banking  circles. 


RALPH  A.  PENCE. 


One  of  the  representative  citizens  and  prominent  business  men  of  McLean  county  is 
Ralph  A.  Pence,  who  occupies  an  enviable  position  in  financial  circles.  He  is  a  resident  of 
Dogden  and  the  founder  of  the  Dogden  State  Bank,  in  which  he  is  now  serving  as  cashier. 
He  was  born  near  ^Maquoketa,  Iowa,  on  the  12th  of  August,  1880,  and  in  that  state  his 
parents,  William  T.  and  Mary  .\.  (Campbell)  Pence,  have  passed  their  entire  lives.  For 
many  years  the  father  engaged  in  farming  but  is  now  living  retired  in  Maquoketa.  In  the 
famil}-  are  six  children,  namely:  R.  W.,  now  a  physician  of  Minot.  North  Dakota;  Ralph  A., 
of  tRis  review;  Christa  A.,  a  resident  of  Lansford,  North  Dakota;  .1.  R.,  also  a  physician  of 
Minot;  Glendola  M.,  the  wife  of  H.  D.  Miley,  a  hardware  merchant  and  farmer  of  Lans- 
ford; and  Florence  E.,  at  home  with  her  parents  in  Iowa. 

Reared  on  the  home  farm,  Ralph  A.  Pence  is  indebted  to  tlie  public  schools  of  Iowa  for 


372  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

the  early  educational  advantages  he  enjoyed.  Later  he  attended  the  high  school  at  Maquo- 
keta  and  for  one  j'ear  was  a  student  at  the  Iowa  State  College  in  Iowa  City.  On  coming  to 
North  Dakota  in  1002  he  located  on  a  farm  ten  miles  southeast  of  Dogden  and  proved  up 
on  his  homestead.  Subsequently  he  was  in  the  employ  of  the  Rogers  Lumber  Company  at 
Balfour  for  six  months  and  then  entered  the  German  American  State  Bank  at  that  place, 
serving   as   assistant   cashier. 

In  1906  Mr.  Pence  removed  to  Dogden  and  in  June  of  tiiat  year  assisted  in  organizing 
the  Dogden  State  Bank  with  a  capital  stock  of  ten  thousand  dollars,  its  first  ofiicers  being 
D.  N.  Loose,  president;  A.  L.  Lombard,  vice  president;  and  R.  A.  Pence,  cashier.  The  last 
named  still  holds  that  position,  while  R.  W.  Pence  is  serving  as  president  and  G.  M.  Pence 
as  vice  president.  They  have  erected  a  good  fireproof  brick  building  on  the  original  site 
of  the  bank  and  it  is  modern  in  all  its  appointments. 

Mr.  Pence  has  not  confined  his  attention  entirely  to  the  banking  business  but  has 
branched  out  and  is  now  interested  in  a  number  of  different  enterprises.  He  is  the  owner 
of  twenty-five  hundred  acres  of  land,  having  a  large  tract  near  Dogden,  and  is  engaged  in 
tlie  cultivation  of  four  hundred  acres.  He  has  handled  a  large  amount  of  real  estate  and  is 
still  interested  in  that  business.  He  also  deals  in  live  stock  and  is  treasurer  and  a  stock- 
lioldor  of  the  Tarmers  Elevator  Company  of  Dogden.  In  these  connections  he  has  probably 
done  more  than  any  other  man  for  the  upbuilding  and  development  of  Dogden  and  is  entitled 
to  the  distinction  of  being  one  of  the  foremost  citizens  of  McLean  county. 

On  the  14th  of  April,  1907,  Mr.  Pence  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Goldie  M.  McRob- 
erts,  who  is  a  native  of  Michigan  but  has  spent  most  of  her  life  in  North  Dakota,  her  home 
being  three  miles  south  of  Balfour.  Her  parents  were  William  H.  and  Maria  McRoberts  but 
her  motlier  is  deceased  and  her  father  has  married  again,  his  second  wife  being  Mrs.  Jennie 
McRoberts.     ilr.  and  ^Mrs.  Pence  have  one  daugliter,  Ruth  Arlene,  born  September  29,  190S. 

Tlie  republican  party  finds  in  Mr.  Pence  a  standi  supporter  of  its  principles.  He  lias 
served  both  as  village  treasurer  and  school  treasurer  for  some  years  and  has  done  much  to 
promote  the  interests  of  his  communitj^  along  various  lines  of  endeavor.  He  is  secretary 
of  Friendship  Lodge,  No.  109,  A.  F.  &.  A.  M.,  of  Dogden,  and  occupies  an  enviable  position 
in  both  business  and  social  circles. 


L.  B.  DOCHTERMAN,  M.  D. 

For  eleven  years  Dr.  L.  B.  Dochterman  has  engaged  in  the  practice  of  his  profession  in 
Williston,  making  a  specialty  of  surgery,  and  today  ranks  among  the  leading  representatives 
of  the  medical  fraternity  in  North  Dakota.  He  was  born  in  Covington,  Indiana,  November 
14,  1877,  and  is  a  son  of  Michael  and  Lydia  (Coffing)  Dochterman.  The  father  was  born, 
reared  and  educated  in  Pennsylvania,  but  in  early  life  removed  to  Indiana,  locating  near 
Covington,  where  he  engaged  in  farming  for  many  years.  The  mother  spent  her  entire  life 
in  that  locality. 

At  the  early  age  of  four  years  Dr.  Dochterman  was  left  an  orplian.  He  began  his 
education  in  the  district  schools  near  Covington  and  later  attended  what  was  then  known 
as  the  Northern  Indiana  Normal  School  but  is  now  Valparaiso  University  at  Valparaiso, 
Indiana,  where  he  pursued  a  course  in  pharmacy  and  was  graduated  with  the  degree  of 
Ph.  G.  Having  decided  to  enter  the  medical  profession  he  next  entered  the  Detroit  College  of 
Medicine,  from  which  he  was  gi-aduated  with  the  M.  D.  degree  in  1900.  He  was  first  engaged 
in  practice  at  Bottineau,  North  Dakota,  for  five  years,  but  in  1905  removed  to  Williston, 
where  he  has  built  up  a  large  and  lucrative  practice.  He  specializes  in  surgery  and  is 
regarded  as  the  leading  surgeon  of  Williston.  In  1910  he  took  a  post  graduate  course  in  that 
branch  of  his  profession  at  the  Post  Graduate  Hospital  of  New  York  City.  He  owns  two 
sections  of  valuable  land  which  is  partially  under  cultivation. 

Dr.  Dochterman  was  married  in  Bottineau,  March  9,  1904,  to  Miss  Frances  May  McMillen, 
a  native  of  Middletown,  New  York,  where  she  spent  the  first  sixteen  years  of  her  life.  She 
tlun  accompanied  her  parents  on  their  removal  to  Iowa.  In  1902  Mrs.  Dochterman  went  to 
Bottineau  county,  North  Dakota,  locating  in  Bottineau,  where  she  engaged  in  the  abstract 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  373 

business  for  about  a  year  and  a  half.    Her  parents  returned  to  Jliddletown,  New  York,  where 
they  are  now  living.    The  father  is  a  railroad  man. 

Politically  Dr.  Dochterman  is  independent  and  he  has  no  time  for  ofllce,  his  attention 
hcing  wholly  devoted  to  his  professional  interests.  He  has  a  very  large  and  elegant  library 
and  his  leisure  hours  are  spent  among  his  book.s.  His  collection  of  medical  works  is  one  of 
the  largest  and  most  up-to-date  in  North  Dakota  and  he  is  an  honored  member  of  the 
Kotana  Medical  Association.  He  also  belongs  to  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows 
and  is  a  member  of  the  Christian  church.  Mrs.  Dochterman  is  a  member  of  the  Episcopal 
church  and  is  a  recognized  social  leader,  prominent  in  literary  and  club  circles,  serving  at 
one  time  as  treasurer  of  the  State  Federation  of  Women's  Clubs.  She  has  also  been  presi- 
dent of  the  Book  and  Thimble  Club  of  Williston,  belongs  to  the  Eastern  Star  and  takes  a 
great  interest  in  outdoor  sports.  She  is  an  expert  horsewoman  and  has  a  great  love  for  the 
noble  steed. 


ROSS  McINTOSH. 


Canada  has  made  a  most  valuable  contribution  to  the  citizenship  of  North  Dakota  and 
among  the  substantial  and  representative  citizens  of  Cavalier  is  Ross  Mcintosh,  of  Canadian 
birth,  who  is  now  engaged  in  the  practice  of  law  in  the  courts  of  Pembina  county.  He  was 
born  in  Ontario,  May  7,  18S8,  a  son  of  Alexander  and  Catherine  (JIcGilvery)  Mcintosh,  who 
were  also  natives  of  Canada.  In  1896  they  came  to  North  Dakota,  settling  in  Bottineau 
county  and  the  father  was  principal  of  the  city  schools  of  Bottineau  and  of  Cavalier,  mak- 
ing valuable  contribution  to  the  educational  development  of  that  section  of  the  state.  He 
died  in  1908  at  the  age  of  sixty-five  years  but  his  widow  is  still  living  in  Cavalier  at  the 
age  of  si.xty-five.  In  their  family  were  the  following  children,  of  whom  Ross  is  the  youngest. 
The  others  are:  John,  who  is  now  a  minister  of  the  gospel  located  at  Toronto,  Canada; 
Mrs.  Rachel  E.  R.  Pratt,  of  Cavalier;  Alexander,  who  is  engaged  in  mercantile  pursuits  in 
Cavalier;  Mrs.  J.  H.  Pinkerton,  of  Corvallis,  Oregon;  Jesse,  living  at  Moose  Jaw,  Saskatche- 
wan, Canada;  Jlrs.  W.  H.  Often,  of  Cavalier;  D.  F.  and  D.  T.,  both  residing  in  Cavalier;  Paul, 
who  lives  in  Montana;  and  Henry,  of  Grafton,  North  Dakota. 

In  earl}'  life  Ross  Mcintosh  attended  the  public  schools  of  Pembina  county  and  after- 
ward continued  his  education  in  the  University  of  North  Dakota,  in  which  he  completed 
his  law  course  with  the  class  of  1912.  Locating  for  practice  in  Cavalier,  he  has  since  remained 
a  representative  of  his  pj-ofcssion  at  that  place  and  is  rapidly  advancing  to  the  front  among 
the  able  lawyers  at  the  Pembina  county  bar.  He  carefully  prepares  his  cases  and  presents 
his  arguments  with  clearness  and  force,  his  deductions  are  always  logical  and  he  is  seldom 
if  ever  at  fault  in  the  application  of  legal  principles.  He  belongs  to  the  District  Bar  Asso- 
ciation and  at  the  present  time  is  city  auditor  of  Cavalier.  He  is  fond  of  good  literature 
and  in  a  word  is  a  broadminded  and  well  educated  young  man  whose  natural  gifts  and 
ability  are   bringing  him  prominently   to  the   fiont. 


MARTIN  E.  BYE. 


Martin  E.  Bye,  dealer  in  automobiles  and  farm  implements  at  Grafton,  is  numbered 
among  North  Dakota's  native  sons,  his  birth  having  occurred  in  Grand  Forks  county,  June 
5,  1883,  his  parents  being  Erie  A.  and  Karan  (Sillorude)  Bye,  both  of  whom  are  natives  of 
Norway.  The  father  came  to  the  United  States  in  1872,  at  which  time  he  settled  in  Goodhue 
county,  Minnesota,  where  he  engaged  in  farming  until  1879  and  then  removed  to  Grand 
Forks  county.  North  Dakota,  where  he  took  up  a  homestead  in  Ferry  township.  Upon  that 
place  he  has  since  resided  and  is  numbered  among  the  honored  pioneer  settlers  of  the  county, 
having  contributed  in  substantial  measure  to  the  work  of  early  development  and  improvement 
as  the  wild  lands  of  that  district  were  converted  into  rich  and  productive  farms.  In  his 
business  he  has  been  attended  with  success  and  has  long  been  accounted  one  of  the  most 


374  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

progressive  and  prosperous  farmers  of  his  county.  His  wife  came  to  America  in  the  early 
'TOs  with  her  parents,  who  also  settled  in  C4oodhue  county,  ilinnesota,  at  an  early  day.  By 
her  marriage  she  has  become  the  mother  of  ten  children,  five  sons  and  five  daughters,  of  whoni 
one  son  and  one  daughter  have  passed  away,  Martin  E.  being  the  fourth  in  order  of  birth. 
The  religious  faith  of  the  family  is  that  of  the  Lutheran  church  and  in  politics  the  father 
has  always  maintained  an  independent  course,  voting  according  to  the  dictates  of  his 
judgment. 

After  mastering  tlie  branches  of  learning  taught  in  the  common  schools  of  Grand  Forks 
county,  Jlartin  E.  Bye  attended  the  Union  Commercial  College  at  Urand  Forks,  from  which 
he  was  graduated  with  the  class  of  1905.  His  early  life  was  spent  upon  the  home  farm 
and  at  the  age  of  nineteen  years  he  started  out  to  earn  his  own  livlihood.  He  was  first 
employed  as  a  bookkeeper  and  clerk  by  the  firm  of  Redving  &  EUestad,  with  whom  he 
remained  for  seven  .years,  when  he  resigned  his  position  and  removed  to  Grafton.  Tliere  he 
entered  the  employ  of  the  Brosnaham  &  Olson  Company,  with  whom  he  continued  for  two 
years,  but  ambitious  to  engage  in  business  on  his  own  account,  he  carefully  saved  his  earn- 
ings until  his  industry  and  economy  had  brought  him  sufficient  capital  to  carry  out  his 
cherished  wish.  He  then  entered  into  partnership  with  L.  E.  Olson,  his  father-in-law,  and 
under  the  firm  style  of  Bye  &  Olson  began  dealing  in  farm  implements  and  machinery.  They 
also  became  agents  for  the  Ford  and  Overland  automobiles  and  they  are  now  doing  the 
largest  business  in  these  lines  in  the  county.  Thej'  are  both  men  of  progressive  spirit, 
watchful  of  all  opportunities  pointing  to  success,  and  laudable  ambition  has  prompted  Mr. 
Bye  at  every  point  in  his  career,  so  that  he  has  steadily  advanced  toward  the  goal  of 
prosperity. 

On  the  26th  of  June,  1907,  at  Grand  Forks,  Mr.  Bye  was  married  to  Jliss  Annie  Marie 
Olson,  a  native  of  that  place  and  a  daughter  of  L.  E.  and  Olga  Olson,  who  were  early  settlers 
of  Grand  F'orks  county,  there  locating  in  ISSO. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Bye  hold  membership  in  the  Lutheran  church  and  on  the  11th  of  0;:tober, 
1916,  he  was  made  a  Mason  in  Grafton.  Politically  he  exercises  his  right  of  franchise  in  sup- 
port of  the  men  and  measures  of  the  republican  party  but  the  honors  and  emoluments  of 
office  have  had  no  attraction  for  him,  as  he  has  always  preferred  to  concentrate  his'ettorts 
upon  his  business  affairs  and  his  career  proves  that  success  and  an  honored  name  may  be 
won  simultaneously. 


LAES  NELSON. 


Lars  Nelson,  who  follows  farming  on  section  30,  Corrine  township,  Stutsman  county, 
was  born  near  Malmo,  in  the  county  of  Skane,  Sweden,  February  7,  1864,  a  son  of  Nels 
and  Elme  Anderson.  The  father  was  a  farmer  of  Sweden  and  both  he  and  his  wife  have 
long  since  passed  awary.  Their  family- numbered  seven  children:  Lars;  Hilma,  deceased: 
Oscar,  Olaf  and  Carl,  still  living  in  Sweden;  Nels,  a  resident  of  Minneapolis,  Jlinnesota;  and 
Alma,  deceased. 

Lars  Nelson  acquired  his  education  in  graded  schools  of  Sweden  and  continued  his  resi- 
dence in  that  country  until  he  reached  the  age  of  twenty-seven  years,  when  he  bade  adieu 
to  friends  and  native  land  and  sailed  from  Malmo  on  the  10th  of  September,  1891,  with 
New  York  as  his  destination.  From  the  eastern  metropolis  he  proceeded  westward  to 
Jamestown,  North  Dakota,  where  he  arrived  on  the  21st  of  September  but  remained  there 
for  only  four  days,  after  which  he  entered  a  homestead  claim  in  Corrine  township,  Stuts- 
man county,  his  place  being  situated  on  section  30.  In  the  customary  manner  he  secured 
title  to  the  property  and  has  made  his  home  thereon  continuously  since.  He  carefully  and 
persistently  developed  his  fields,  bringing  about  a  marked  change  in  the  productiveness  of 
his  place,  and  as  his  financial  resources  increased  he  extended  the  boundaries  of  his  farm, 
acquiring  one  hundred  and  sixty  acres  on  section  25  in  1S95,  three  hundred  and  twenty 
acres  on  section  31  and  one  hundred  and  sixty  acres  on  section  36,  Corrine  township.  He 
farms  all  of  his  five  quarters  and  also  cultivates  a  rented  tract  of  one  hundred  and  sixty 
acres.     His  attention  is  largely  devoted  to  the  cultivation  of  small  grain,  of  which  he  raised 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  375 

thirty-two  tliousand  busliols  in  1915.  His  place  is  well  stocked  and  he  now  lias  thirty  head 
of  I'ercheron  horses,  ten  head  of  hogs  and  nine  head  of  cattle.  He  owns  a  threshing  outfit 
and  does  mueh  thresliing  through  the  surrouiuling  country.  He  has  recently  added  a  shock 
loader  to  his  ecjuipnient,  which  saves  one-half  of  the  labor.  He  has  set  out  a  lino  grove  which 
constitutes  one  of  the  attractive  featuies  of  his  place,  and  he  has  added  to  his  farm  all 
modern  equipments  and  accessories,  but  when  the  land  came  into  his  possession  it  was  all 
wild  and  unimproved  and  the  work  of  development  has  been  entirely  accomplished  through 
his  own  labors.  In  1907  he  built  a  large  barn  forty  by  sixty  feet,  with  plank  floor,  and 
in  1909  he  erected  a  commodious  and  attractive  residence.  Kverything  about  his  place  is 
kept  in  good  repair.  The  buildings  are  well  painted  and  tiiere  is  every  evidence  of  the  care 
and  supervision  of  a  practical  and  progressive  owner,  ilr.  Nelson  has  established  an  electric 
plant  upon  his  place,  not  only  lighting  his  residence  but  also  his  barn.  In  addition  to  his 
successful  management  of  his  farming  interests  he  is  a  stockholder  in  the  Courtenay  Farmers 
Elevator,  in  the  Independent  Harvester  Company  and  in  the  Jlorley  Twine  Company,  and 
his  real  estate  possessions  include  two  corner  lots  in  the  village  of  Courtenay. 

Before  leaving  his  native  land  Mr.  Nelson  was  married  in  Sweden,  in  1886,  to  Miss 
Elna  Nelson,  and  they  have  become  parents  of  five  children,  all  of  whom  are  yet  living,  so 
that  the  family  circle  remains  unbroken  by  the  hand  of  death.  These  are:  Herman,  who  is 
married  and  follows  farming  near  his  father's  place:  Ellen,  the  wife  of  .Joseph  Austrim, 
residing  in  Wimbledon,  North  Dakota;  A\igust,  wlio  is  married  and  resides  near  the  old 
homestead:  (ieorge,  also  a  resident  of  (orrine  township,  Stutsman  county;  and  Annie, 
at  home. 

In  politics  Mr.  Nelson  is  an  earnest  republican  and  for  six  years  acceptably  served  as  a 
member  of  the  township  board.  He  is  also  a  member  and  treasurer  of  the  school  board  in 
District  23,  which  position  he  has  occupied  for  the  past  seventeen  years,  and  for  four  years 
he  has  been  township  assessor.  His  religious  faith  is  indicated  by  his  membership  in  the 
Lutheran  church  and  fraternally  he  is  connected  with  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows 
at  Courtenay.  He  drives  an  automobile  and  keeps  up  with  the  trend  and  spirit  of  the  times 
in  all  things,  being  regarded  as  one  of  the  progressive  farmers  of  his  county. 


CHARJLES  E.  V.  DKAPKR. 


Cliarles  E.  V.  Draper,  formerly  president  of  tlie  Mandun  Telcplione  Company,  possesses 
a  notably  enterprising  spirit  and  his  business  career  has  been  characterized  by  steady  progress, 
his  efl'orts  iit  all  times  proving  an  clement  of  public  value.  Recognizing  and  utilizing  oppor- 
tunities, he  has  steadily  worked  his  way  ujjward  in  the  conduct  of  his  present  business 
interests,  displaying  marked  executive  ability.  He  was  born  in  Phelps,  New  York,  Octo- 
ber 15,  1855,  a  SQU  of  V.  V.  and  Elizabeth  (Sherrell)  Draper,  both  of  whom  were  natives  of 
the  Empire  state.  Removing  westward,  they  established  their  home  at  Marshalltown,  Iowa, 
in  1863. 

Charles  E.  V.  Draper  began  his  education  in  the  schools  of  his  native  town  and  con- 
tinued his  studies  in  Marshalltown,  following  the  removal  of  the  family  to  the  middle  west. 
A  careful  review  of  the  field  of  business  led  him  to  select  the  law  as  a  life  work  and  in  1881 
he  was  graduated  from  the  law  department  of  the  Iowa  State  University.  However,  he 
changed  his  plans  and  did  not  engage  in  active  practice.  In  the  fall  following  his  gradua- 
tion he  came  to  Bismarck  and  took  charge  of  the  office  of  the  Western  Union  Telegraph 
Company,  remaining  in  that  position  for  four  years.  He  then  went  to  Minneapolis,  Minne- 
sota, where  he  continued  for  a  brief  period  with  the  Postal  Telegraph  Company.  Still  later 
he  went  to  Canada,  where  he  installed  the  first  duplex  and  quadruplex  instruments  between 
Winnipeg  and  British  Columbia,  remaining  in  that  connection  for  about  five  years,  during 
which  time  he  had  charge  as  circuit  manager  of  the  lines  between  Brandon  and  Medicine  Hat, 
the  division  later  being  extended  to  Donald,  British  Columbia,  covering  nine  hundred  miles 
of  route  and  over  thirty-five  hundred  miles  of  wire,  which  was  the  longest  route  on  record 
under  the  direction  of  one  man.  He  left  that  position  in  1891  and  came  to  Mandan,  where 
he  has  since  remained,  and  in  1900  he  became  president,  general  manager  and  chief  stock- 


376  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

holder  of  tlie  Jiandan  Teleplione  Company.  His  previous  experience  well  qualified  liim  for 
tlie  discharge  of  liis  duties  in  that  position  of  responsibility.  He  held  to  the  highest  stand- 
ards of  service  and  controlled  a  well  established  system  that  has  made  efficiency  its  motto. 
He  continued  active  in  the  business  until  May,  1916,  when  he  disposed  of  his  interests  and 
is  now  living  retired  in  Mandan.  In  1882  Mr.  Di-aper  invented  an  electric  fire  alarm  in 
Mandan  which  automatically  blows  a  steam  whistle  whenever  a  fire  alarm  is  turned  in  and 
this  system  is  still  in  use.  He  also  installed  the  first  electric  arc  lamp  in  Dakota  territorj', 
which  was  put  in  use  on  the  steamer  Dakotah,  plying  between  St.  Louis  and  Fort  Benton, 
Montana. 

On  the  1st  of  October,  1884,  in  Bismarck,  Mr.  Draper  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss 
Hattie  A.  Lounsberry,  a  daughter  of  Colonel  Clement  A.  Lounsberry.  This  union  has  been 
blessed   with   two   daughters,   Olivia   Mcdora   and   Elizabeth   Lucretia. 

The  parents  attend  the  Episcopal  church  and  Mr.  Draper  is  a  Royal  Arch  Mason  and  a 
member  of  the  Knights  of  Pythias.  His  political  allegiance  is  given  to  the  republican  party 
and  for  six  years  or  three  terras  he  filled  the  oflSee  of  coroner  of  Jlorton  county.  North 
Dakota.  This  is  the  only  political  oflice,  however,  that  he  has  accepted,  for  he  prefers  to 
concentrate  his  energies  upon  his  business  interests  and  by  reason  of  his  close  application, 
fidelity  and  ability  he  has  made  stead}'  progress  along  the  line  leading  to  substantial  success. 


J.   DEXTER  PEIRCE. 


J.  Dexter  Peirce,  active  in  the  real  estate,  loan  and  insurance  business  at  Larimore, 
was  born  at  Newburgh,  New  York,  December  5,  1857,  a  son  of  Henry  T.  and  Mary  Eliza- 
beth (Chapman)  Peirce.  The  father  was  born  in  Plymouth  county,  Massachusetts,  and 
traced  his  ancestry  back  through  many  generations  to  Captain  Michael  Peirce,  who  came  ' 
from  England  in  1633  and  settled  at  Plymouth.  He  was  killed  by  the  Indians  at  Atterbury 
Flats,  Massachusetts.  The  mother  of  J.  D.  Peirce  was  a  native  of  New  York  and  a  daugh- 
ter of  Tliomas  Chapman,  who  was  born  in  England  and  became  the  founder  of  that  family 
in  the  United  States.  He  established  business  at  Newburgh,  New  York,  as  an  iron  manu- 
facturer. It  was  in  the  Empire  state  that  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Henry  T.  Peirce  were  married  and 
spent  their  entire  lives.  The  former  was  engaged  in  the  real  estate  business  and  also 
became  actively  identified  with  building  operations  in  New  York  city  but  later  turned  his 
attention  to  the  occupation  of  farming.  He  passed  away  in  1875,  at  the  age  of  sixty-three 
3'ears,  while  his  wife  survived  until  1903  and  died  at  the  age  of  sixty-nine  years.  In  their 
family  were  three  children. 

J.  D.  Peirce,  the  eldest,  spent  his  youthful  days  as  a  pupil  in  public  and  preparatory 
schools  of  New  York  and  then  took  his  initial  step  In  the  business  world  as  clerk  in  a  dry 
goods  jobbing  house  of  New  Y'ork  city.  Attracted  by  the  opportunities,  of  the  growing 
northwest,  he  came  to  this  state  and  settled  on  a  preemption  claim  near  Hunter,  Cass 
county,  proving  up  on  that  property.  In  1885  he  removed  to  a  faim  near  Larimore  and  con- 
tinued there  to  engage  in  general  agricultural  pursuits  until  1896,  when  he  took  up  his  abode 
in  the  town  and  turned  his  attention  to  the  real  estate  and  insurance  business.  Throughout 
his  entire  business  career  he  has  been  characterized  by  a  spirit  of  initiative,  manifesting 
the  qualities  of  the  pioneer  who  must  take  the  advance  steps.  Mr.  Peirce  was  the  first 
man  in  North  Dakota  to  raise  alfalfa  and  corn  and  while  upon  .the  farm  he  also  specialized 
in  the  raising  of  Holstein  cattle.  He  is  today  the  owner  of  broad  acres  of  fine  farm  land 
and  of  much  city  property,  having  largely  placed  his  capital  in  the  safest  of  all  invest- 
ments— real  estate.  He  carries  on  agricultural  interests  on  an  extensive  scale  and  employs 
the  most  modern  scientific  methods  in  the  development  of  his  fields  and  in  the  raising  of 
stock.  He  is  engaged  extensivelj^  in  the  real  estate  business,  in  writing  insurance  and 
placing  loans  and   has   other   important   connections. 

Mr.  Peirce  makes  his  home  at  Larimore  and  is  the  secretary  of  the  Larimore  Commer- 
cial Club,  of  which  he  was  one  of  the  organizers.  He  also  belongs  to  the  Grand  Forks  Com- 
mercial Club  and  there  is  no  plan  or  movement  put  forth  for  the  development  of  town, 
county  or  state  that  does  not  receive  his  endorsement  and  active  support.     Fraternally  he 


J.  DEXTER  PEIRCE 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  379 

is  a  Consistory  Mason  and  member  of  the  Mystic  Slirine  and  of  the  Eastern  Star.  He  is  also 
connected  with  the  liomesteaders  and  his  religious  faitli  is  indicated  in  tlie  fact  that  lie 
has  membership  in  the  Untarian  church  at  Newburgh,  New  York,  llis  political  allegiance 
is  given  to  the  republican  party  and  he  represented  his  district  as  a  member  of  the  third 
legislative  assembly,  has  also  acted  as  police  magistrate  and  as  city  treasurer  of  Larimore. 
Tlie  breadth  of  his  interests  is  further  indicated  in  the  fact  that  he  is  a  member  of  tlie 
American  Genetic  Association  and  of  the  American  Association  for  the  Advancement  of 
Science.  Reading  broadly  and  thinking  deeply,  carrying  his  investigations  into  many  realms, 
he  is  today  a  broad-minded,  cultured  gentleman,  forceful  and  resourceful,  and  his  elforts, 
which  have  resulted  in  the  attainment  of  notable  personal  success,  have  also  been  a  most 
potent  force  in  the  development  of  the  town  and  district  in  which  he  lives.  His  influence 
has  always  been  on  the  side  of  progress  and  he  takes  much  pride  in  the  fact  that  Larimore 
had  the  first  farmers'  institute  in  the  state,  the  first  farmers'  club  in  the  state,  the  first 
raid-winter  fair  in  the  state,  the  first  local  good  roads  convention,  the  first  state  good  roads 
convention,  the  first  boy  scouts  in  the  state,  the  first  high  school  teaching  agriculture,  manual 
training  and  domestic  science  and  was  the  first  to  raise  potatoes  for  shipment. 


J.  A.   IvRAMER. 


•J.  A.  Kramer,  filling  the  oflice  of  county  auditor  in  Ramscj-  county  since  191.3,  his 
record  for  faithful,  prompt  and  efficient  service  beiiig  most  commendable,  is  one  of  the 
substantia!  citizens  that  Ontario,  Canada,  has  furnished  to  North  Dakota.  He  was  born  at 
Mildmay  on  the  19th  of  .January,  1883,  a  son  of  Alexander  and  Catherine  (Weber)  Kramer, 
both  of  whom  are  still  residents  of  Canada. 

In  the  public  schools  of  his  native  province  .T.  A.  Kramer  pursued  his  education  and  in 
1902,  at  the  age  of  nineteen  years,  left  home.  He  wont  first  to  Langdon  where  he  remained 
for  two  years  and  afterward  spent  a  similar  period  in  JIunieh.  In  1909  he  took  up  his 
abode  permanently  at  Devils  Lake,  where  he  has  since  remained,  and  in  1913  he  accepted  the 
ofiice  of  county  auditor,  to  which  position  he  was  reelected  in  1914,  while  in  1916  he  became 
his  party's  candidate  for  reelection.  He  has  always  given  his  political  allegiance  to  the 
republican  party  since  becoming  a  naturalized  American  citizen,  and  is  much  interested 
in  the  political  situation  and  in  the  vital  questions  and  issues  of  the  day. 

Mr.  Kramer  has  become  interested  in  farming  since  removing  to  North  Dakota  and  he 
has  made  for  himself  a  place  among  the  respected  and  substantial  citizens  of  Ramsey 
county.     His  religious  faith  is  (hat  of  the  Catholic  churoli. 


ALBERT  F.  E.   SCHIERBAUM,  M.  D. 

Dr.  Albert  F.  E.  Schierbaum,  physician  and  surgeon,  actively  following  his  profession 
lit  Hebron,  was  born  in  Warren  county,  Missouri,  October  27,  1873,  a  son  of  John  F.  and 
Anna  (Klick)  Schierbaum,  who  resided  for  a  number  of  years  in  Jlissouri  and  eventually 
iie:ame  residents  of  Illinois.  The  father  was  a  German  Evangelical  minister  and  devoted 
his  life  to  the  work  of  preaching  the  gospel.     Both  he  and  his  wife  passed  away  in  Illinois. 

In  the  graded  schools  of  Holstein,  Missouri.  Dr.  Schierbaum  pursued  his  early  education 
and  subsequently  entered  the  University  of  Illinois  at  Champaign,  while  later  he  became 
a  student  in  Washington  University  at  St.  Louis.  It  was  in  the  latter  institution  that 
he  entered  the  medical  department  and  was  graduated  therefrom  in  1S94,  for  he  had  deter- 
mined to  make  the  practice  of  medicine  and  surgery  his  life  work.  He  first  opened  an  ofTice 
in  Marine,  Illinois,  where  he  practiced  for  fifteen  years,  on  the  expiration  of  which  period 
he  went  to  New  York  for  post  graduate  work  in  the  New  York  Post  Graduate  College.  In 
this  way  and  through  private  reading  and  study  he  kept  in  touch  with  the  trend  of  modern 
thought  and  scientific  investigation  into  the  rules  which  govern  health  and  its  restoration. 
After  completing  his   studies   in   New   York  ho   located   for   practice   in   Des   Moines,  Iowa, 

Vol.  Ill— IS 


380  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

where  he  remained  for  two  years,  specializing  in  the  treatment  of  diseases  of  the  eye,  ear, 
nose  and  throat.  He  removed  from  that  city  to  Hebron  in  June,  1911,  and  here  entered  upon 
the  general  practice  of  medicine  and  surgery,  forming  a  partnership  with  Dr.  Harry  A. 
Brandes  in  October,  1914.  which  relation  he  yet  maintains.  Through  the  years  of  his  residence 
in  Morton  county  Dr.  Schierbaum  has  made  continuous  progi-ess  along  professional  lines 
and  has  proven  his  ability  to  cope  with  the  various  complex  and  intricate  problems  connected 
with  the  profession.  In  addition  to  his  practice  he  owns  and  conducts  a  drug  store  at 
Hebron  and  at  Golden  Valley  as  a  member  of  the  firm  of  Schierbaum  &  Itrich,  the  junior 
partner  being  the  active  member  of  the  firm.  Dr.  Schierbaum  is  also  interested  in  farming, 
having  three  hundred   and   twenty  acres   of   rich   and   productive   land. 

It  was  in  1897  that  Dr.  Schierbaum  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Hattie  J.  Kircheis, 
who  was  born  in  Marine,  Illinois,  and  there  remained  until  her  marriage,  prior  to  which  time 
she  was  a  successful  teacher  in  the  primary  grades  of  the  Marine  schools.  To  the  Doctor  and 
his  wife  has  been  born  a  daughter,  Marguerite. 

In  his  fraternal  relations  Dr.  Schierbaum  is  a  Mason,  holding  membership  in  the  blue 
lodge  at  Marine,  Illinois,  of  which  he  is  a  past  master,  in  the  Royal  Arch  chapter  at 
Dickinson,  North  Dakota,  and  in  the  Scottish  Kite  bodies  at  Fargo  and  has  attained  the 
thirty-second  degree  in  the  consistory.  He  is  also  connected  with  the  Woodmen  lodge  at 
Marine  and  with  the  Yeomen  at  Hebron.-  He  belongs  also  to  the  German  Evangelical  church 
and  his  political  allegiance  is  given  to  the  republican  party  and  he  is  now  serving  as  city 
health  officer  of  Hebron,  while  formerly  he  was  a  member  of  the  school  board.  He  assisted 
in  organizing  the  Commercial  Club  in  1913  and  has  continuously  served  as  its  president. 
This  club  has  a  membership  of  sixty  and  it  has  done  much  to  further  the  material  interests 
of  Hebron  and  upholds  its  standards  of  citizenship.  It  has  been  particularly  active  in  extend- 
ing the  telephone  connections  of  the  town  and  in  establishing  good  roads  in  this  section  of 
the  state.  Along  strictly  professional  lines  Dr.  Schierbaum  is  connected  with  the  Morton 
County  iledical  Society,  The  North  Dakota  Medical  Society  and  the  American  Medical 
Association  and  is  much  interested  in  scientific  research  and  investigation  along  the  lines 
of  medical  and  surgical  science.  His  activities,  broad  and  varied,  have  made  him  a  valued 
citizen  of  Hebron  and  one  whose  efforts  have  been  far-reaching  and  beneficial. 


JX'DGE    GEORGE    SHEPHERD. 

■Judge  George  Shepherd,  occupying  the  bench  of  the  county  court  of  Walsh  county,  was 
born  in  Scotland,  November  23,  1851,  a  son  of  John  and  Isabella  (Alexander)  Shepherd, 
who  were  also  natives  of  the  land  of  hills  and  heather.  The  father  followed  the  occupation 
of  farming  and  both  he  and  his  wife  spent  their  entire  lives  in  .Scotland,  his  death  occurring 
in  1891,  while  his  wife  passed  away  in  1853. 

Judge  Shepherd  was  but  two  years  of  age  at  the  time  of  his  mother's  demise  and  was 
a  j'oung  man  of  about  twenty-two  years  when  he  crossed  the  Atlantic  to  Canada,  settling 
in  County  Perth,  Ontario,  where  he  engaged  in  farming  until  1881.  He  then  removed  to 
St.  Paul,  Minnesota,  where  he  took  up  railroad  work  but  in  1882  removed  to  Walsh  county 
and  filed  on  a  homestead.  He  then  bent  every  energy  to  the  development  and  improvement 
of  his  farm  and  continued  the  cultivation  of  his  fields  until  1897,  when  he  rented  his  land 
and  entered  the  employ  of  the  McCormick  Company,  representing  them  in  the  sale  of  farm 
machinery  for  three  years.  His  fellow  townsmen,  appreciative  of  his  worth  and  ability 
and  his  patriotic  devotion  to  the  best  interests  of  the  community,  elected  him  in  1891  to 
represent  the  third  district  on  the  board  of  county  commissioners,  on  which  lie  served  for 
nine  years,  giving  valuable  aid  to  many  progressive  public  measures  during  that  period. 
In  1900  he  was  elected  county  judge  and  has  since  remained  upon  the  bench,  covering  a 
period  of  sixteen  years,  while  again  in  1916  he  was  the  candidate  of  the  democratic  party 
and  was  reelected  to  the  same  office.  With  the  completion  of  this  term  he  will  have  held 
county  office  for  a  quarter  of  a  century.  His  long  service  on  the  bench  indicates  the  fairness 
and  impartiality  of  his  opinions  and  the  confidence  reposed  by  the  public  in  his  judicial 
integrity. 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  381 

In  April,  1871,  Judge  Shepherd  was  married  to  Miss  Isabella  Taylor,  a  native  of 
Scdtlaiul,  and  they  are  the  parents  of  one  daughter,  Mrs.  Isabella  Alsip,  who  is  a  native 
of  Scotland  and  now  resides  in  Winnipeg,  Manitoba.  Two  children  have  been  born  to 
Mrs.  Alsip:  Mrs.  (iladys  Cox,  who  was  born  in  Grand  Forks  and  now  resides  in  Winnipeg; 
and  Margaret  Alsip,  also  born  in  Grand  Forks.  Mrs.  Cox  has  a  son,  Willard  Gordon,  whose 
birth  also  opc-urrcd  in  Winnipeg. 

Judge  Shepherd  has  always  been  a  stalwart  cliampion  of  democratic  principles  since 
becoming  a  naturalized  American  citizen.  He  holds  membership  in  the  Presbyterian  church, 
while  fraternally  he  is  a  prominent  York  Rite  Mason  and  member  of  the  Mystic  Shrine  as 
well  as  a  member  of  the  Independent  Order  of  Foresters.  He  commands  the  respect  of  all 
who  know  him  and  is  widely  known,  occup}'ing  a  prominent  position  in  ])ul>lic  circles 
throui'hout   the   state. 


J.  ROSS  JUcKEXZIE,  M.  B. 


Dr.  J.  Ross  ilacKenzie,  who  is  successfully  engaged  in  the  practice  of  medicine  in 
Carrington,  where  he  has  made  his  home  since  the  fall  of  1893,  was  born  in  Drumbo, 
Oxford  county,  Ontario,  Canada,  October  8,  1870,  and  is  a  son  of  .James  and  Eliza  (Giles) 
MacKenzie,  who  were  natives  of  Scotland  but  in  early  life  crossed  the  Atlantic  and  located 
in  Ontario,  where  they  continued  to  reside  until  called  to  the  world  beyond.  He  died  in 
1908  and  was  survived  by  his  wife  for  seven  years,  her  death  occurring  in  November,  1915. 

During  his  boyhood  Dr.  MacKenzie  attended  the  schools  of  Canada  and  completed  his 
education  at  the  University  of  Toronto,  from  which  he  was  graduated  with  the  M.  B.  degree 
in  the  class  of  1893.  In  the  fall  of  that  year  he  removed  to  Carrington,  Foster  county.  North 
Dakota,  and  opened  an  ollice  for  the  practice  of  his  profession.  He  has  met  with  good 
success  in  his  chosen  calling  and  as  the  years  have  passed  he  has  gradually  built  up  an 
excellent  practice.  He  has  served  as  superintendent  of  the  board  of  health  of  Foster  county 
since  his  arrival  in  1893  and  this  fact  alone  would  indicate  his  high  standing  in  the  community. 

In  September,  1903,  Dr.  MacKenzie  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  .Jessie  Soliday,  a 
daughter  of  Henry  A.  and  Sarah  Soliday,  a  sketch  of  whom  appears  elsewhere  in  this  work. 
The  Doctor  and  his  wife  had  a  little  son,  George,  who  was  born  in  1904  and  died  in  1910. 
They  affiliate  with  the  Congiegational  church  and  have  a  host  of  friends  in  Carrington. 
Dr.  MacKenzie  votes  with  the  republican  party  and  holds  membership  in  the  Tri-County 
Medical  Society,  the  North  Dakota  Medical  Society  and  the  American  Medical  Association, 
thus  keeping  in  touch  with  the  advancement  being  made  along  the  line  of  his  profession. 


REV.  AUGUST  DEBUS. 


Rev.  August  Debus,  pastor  of  St.  John's  German  Evangelical  church  at  Hebron,  has 
been  a  power  for  good  in  the  community  in  which  he  lives,  taking  an  active  and  helpful 
interest  in  the  temporal  as  well  as  the  spiritual  welfare  of  his  parishioners  and  seeking 
ever  to  bring  his  ])eople  to  hij;lier  standards  of  living  and  broader  reaches  of  thought.  He 
was  born  in  Germany,  at  Lahr,  Baden,  on  the  6th  of  August,  18.53,  and  wlien  quite  young 
was  left  an  orphan.  He  remained  a  resident  of  the  fatherland  until  he  reached  the  age 
of  twenty-three  years  and  then  sailed  for  the  new  world  in  1856.  He  completed  his  edu- 
cation in  Europe  by  graduation  from  the  Missionary  College  at  Basel.  Switzirland,  after 
which  he  came  direct  to  the  United  States  and  made  his  way  to  Galien.  Alicliigan.  wliere  he 
remained  for  about  three  years.  On  the  expiration  of  that  period  he  removed  to  Wabash, 
Indiana,  where  he  spent  six  years,  after  which  he  came  to  North  Dakota.  Arriving  in 
Hebron,  he  organized  a  congregation  here  and  instituted  the  work  of  the  church.  At  the 
beginning  there  .were  but  thirteen  families.  In  the  fall  of  1885  he  secured  the  erection  of  a 
little  frame  building  to  be  used  as  a  house  of  worship.  Ten  years  later  such  was  the  growth 
of  his  congregation  that  this  building  had  to  be  enlarged  and  in  1908  a  fine  new  stone  and 


382  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

brick  eliurcli  was  erected  at  a  cost  of  more  tlian  twenty-five  thousand  dollars.  It  is  a 
beautiful  building,  a  line  tyjie  of  ecclesiastical  architecture,  and  is  splendidly  equipped  and 
furnished.  Rev.  Debus  has  remained  its  pastor  since  1886  and  the  work  which  he  has  done 
has  endeared  him  in  notable  measure  to  his  people. 

In  Michigan,  in  1878,  Rev.  Debus  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Katherine  Seifert,  who 
was  born  in  Germany  and  in  the  early  'TOs  came  to  the  United  States.  She  has  been  of 
much  assistance  to  her  husband  in  his  work  and  has  the  love  of  their  people  in  a  marked 
degree. 

In  politics  Rev.  Debus  has  always  been  a  republican  and  keeps  well  informed  on  the 
questions  and  issues  of  the  day.  His  efl'ort,  however,  has  been  concentrated  upon  the  work 
of  the  church,  where  he  has  served  as  pastor  for  almost  a  third  of  a  century.  In  early  life 
he  studied  medicine  and  for  many  years  after  coming  to  Hebron  he  was  the  only  resident 
of  the  locality  for  miles  around  who  had  a  knowledge  of  medical  science,  so  that  in  addi- 
tion to  his  church  duties  he  served  as  physician  to  his  people  and  sometimes  traveled  between 
eighty  and  ninety  miles  to  see  a  patient.  Gradually,  however,  as  the  country  has  become 
more  thickly  settled  he  has  been  able  to  relinquish  his  labors  of  that  character  and  con- 
centrate his  efforts  more  and  more  largely  upon  the  upbuilding  of  his  clnu'ch.  He  is  a 
speaker  of  more  than  ordinary  ability,  earnest,  eloquent  and  persuasive  and,  moreover,  is 
a  deep  thinker  and  an  earnest  student.  He  was  the  head  of  his  synod  for  years  and  is  most 
highly  esteemed  throughout  the  community  by  people  of  all  denominations.  During  the 
seasons  of  crop  failure  In  his  section  of  the  state  he  has  aroused  the  interest  of  other  synods 
in  Nebraska  and  Iowa,  from  whom  he  has  secured  carloads  of  oats,  corn  and  other  cereals 
for  distribution  among  the  people  here.  In  a  word  Rev.  Debus  has  looked  after  every  interest 
of  his  parishioners,  never  for  a  moment  forgetting  that  his  real  purpose  has  been  to  develop 
character  and  inculcate  the  highest  standard  of  living.  It  is  no  wonder  that  his  people 
love  and  revere  him,  for  he  has  gone  in  and  out  among  them  as  counselor  and  friend, 
extending  a  helping  hand  here,  speaking  an  encouraging  word  there  and  uttering  admoni- 
tions when  needed.  He  has  built  up  a  strong  congregation  and  has  indeed  been  a  dominant 
factor  in  the  moral  development  of  the  county. 


LOUIS  THEODORE  HAGEN. 

Louis  Theodore  Hagen,  cashier  of  the  First  State  Bank  of  Ray,  was  born  at  Silver  Lake, 
Worth  county,  Iowa,  July  8,  1886,  a  son  of  Narve  E.  and  Maiie  (Gulson)  Hagen.  The  father 
was  born  in  Freeman  township,  Freeborn  county,  Minnesota,  and  there  acquired  his  educa- 
tion, after  which  he  followed  farming  in  that  county  until  1911,  when  he  removed  to  Conrad, 
Montana,  where  he  took  up  a  homestead  and  is  now  engaged  in  farming.  His  wife  was  born 
at  Silver  Lake,  Iowa,  and  is  also  living. 

Louis  T.  Hagen  spent  his  youthful  days  on  his  father's  farm  in  Freeborn  county,  iliniie- 
sota,  and  supplemented  his  district  school  education  by  study  in  the  University  Preparatory 
School  and  the  University  of  Minnesota,  being  thus  liberally  educated  and  qualified  for 
life's  practical  and  responsible  duties.  After  clerking  and  carrying  on  other  business  inter- 
ests in  Minnesota  for  a  time  he  removed  to  Ray,  Williams  county,  North  Dakota,  in  1910 
and  entered  Linwell's  State  Bank.  Later  he  was  appointed  to  the  position  of  as-istant 
cashier  in  the  Williams  County  State  Bank  at  Williston,  whore  he  ronained  until  1914, 
when  he  was  made  assistant  cashier  of  the  First  State  Bank  at  Ray  and  later  cashier  and  is 
now  occupying  the  latter  position.  His  long  training  and  broad  experience  in  connection 
with  banking  has  made  him  thoroughly  familiar  with  the  business  in  all  of  its  depart- 
ments and  he  is  a  popular  official  in  the  institution  with  which  he  is  now  connected. 

On  the  25th  of  June.  1914,  at  Sheldon,  North  Dakota,  ilr.  Hagen  was  united  in  mar- 
riage to  Miss  Lillian  E.  Hoif,  who  is  a  native  of  that  place.  Her  parents,  Peter  J.  and 
.Josephine  (Shirley)  Hoff,  became  early  settlers  of  Sheldon,  Ransom  county.  North  Dakota, 
and  still  reside  there.  The  father  established  the  first  drug  store  of  the  town,  which  he 
still  conducts,  being  the  oldest  druggist  in  the  state  of  North  Dakota.  Mrs.  Hagen  obtained 
her  early  education  at  Sheldon,  also  attended  St.  Mary's  Hall  of  Faribault.  Jlinnesota,  and 


HISTORY  OF  iNORTI-I  DAKOTA  383 

was  engaged  in  teaeliiiig  at  Kay,  North  Dakota,  prior  to  lier  marriage,     ilr.  and  ilrs.  Hagen 
have  one  child,  Lillian  Louise,  born  at  Kay,  North  Dakota,  September  4,  1915. 

Politically  Jlr.  Hagcn  is  a  democrat  and  was  clerk  of  the  school  board  of  the  city  of' 
Kay  but  otiierwise  has  not  held  public  ollico,  although  never  remiss  in  the  duties  of  eitizen- 
shij)  and  cooperating  in  large  measure  in  promoting  public  progress  and  improvement.  He 
belongs  to  the  Elks  lodge  at  Albert  Lea,  Minnesota,  which  is  his  only  fraternal  connection, 
and  his  religious  faith  is  indicated  by  his  membership  in  the  Lutheran  church.  Steadily 
working  his  way  upward  along  well  delined  lines  of  business  and  placing  his  dependence 
upon  the  substantial  qualities  of  enterprise,  determination  and  reliability,  he  is  now  num- 
bered among  the  substantial  and  valued  representatives  of  banking  interests  in  Williiims 
county. 


GEORGE  H.  KOGEX. 

George  11.  Kogen,  cashier  of  the  Earmers  State  Bank  of  \\'alford  City,  entered  upon 
his  present  relations  in  .June,  1916,  but  has  already  made  for  himself  an  enviable  place 
in  the  business  circles  of  the  town  and  in  the  bank  by  reason  of  his  coiutesy  and  obliging 
spirit.  He  was  born  in  Brookings,  South  Dakota,  September  27,  1888,  a  son  of  Eric  J.  and 
llary  (Langum)  Rogen.  The  father,  a  native  of  Norway,  came  to  America  when  a  youth  of 
fifteen  years  and  afterward  took  up  the  ocoipation  of  farming  in  Lake  county.  South  Dakota, 
where  he  homesteaded.  Subsequently  he  removed  to  Pierce  county.  North  Dakota,  and  settled 
near  Barton,  where  he  engaged  in  farming  until  1910.  He  then  removed  to  Brookings,  South 
Dakota,  where  he  now  resides.  His  wife,  a  native  of  Fillmore  county,  ilinncsota,  removed 
to  South  Dakota  during  her  early  girlhood  and  sjieiit  lier  last  days  in  Brookings,  where  she 
passed  away  in  1909. 

George  H.  Rogen  was  but  si.K  years  of  age  when  brought  to  this  state.  He  attended 
the  district  schools  of  Pierce  county  to  the  age  of  fourteen  and  afterward  continued  his 
education  at  Augustana  College  in  Canton,  South  Dakota,  and  in  the  National  Business  Col- 
lege in  Minneapolis,  in  which  ho  pursued  a  commercial  course.  He  was  afterward  employed 
as  bookkeeper  and  assistant  cashier  in  the  Farmers  &  llerchants  Bank  at  Barton,  North 
Dakota,  for  seven  years  and  thus  gained  broad  practical  experience  concerning  banking  in 
all  of  its  phases  and  departments.  In  .June,  1916,  lie  accepted  the  position  of  cashier  and 
director  in  the  Farmers  State  Bank  of  Watford  City  and  is  now  giving  his  attention  to  the 
duties  of  that  oHicc.  He  is  the  owner  of  a  one  hundred  and  si.vty  acre  farm  north  of  Towner 
in  McHenry  county,  which  he  rents. 

On  the  22d  of  April,  1914,  at  Barton,  North  Dakota,  Mr.  Imogen  was  united  in  marriage 
to  Miss  Alice  Cruden,  who  was  born  and  i eared  in  Barton,  a  daughter  of  M.  P.  and  Rose 
(Marucheck)  Cruden,  who  are  natives  of  Wisconsin  and  became  farmers  of  Pierce  county. 
North  Dakota,  where  the}'  still  make  their  home.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Rogen  have  a  son,  Ronald 
Shirley,  born  in  Barton,  February  16,  1915. 

Mr.  Rogen  belongs  to  the  Lutheran  church  and  his  wife  to  the  Catholic  church.  In  poli- 
tics he  is  a  democrat  but  has  had  neither  time  nor  inclination  to  seek  office,  preferring  to 
concentrate  his  energies  upon  his  business,  affairs,  his  dose  a])piication  resulting  in  steady 
progress. 


MILES  EVANS  STRIOCER. 


Miles  Evans  Strieker,  manager  of  the  wholesale  grocery  house  of  the  Stonc-Ordean- 
Wells  Company  and  thus  actively  connected  with  the  commercial  interests  of  Grand  Forks, 
was  born  in  Alexandria,  Minnesota,  June  16,  1870,  a  son  of  Thomas  H.  Strieker,  a  native  of 
Ohio  and  a  representative  of  an  old  Ohio  family  of  German  extraction.  His  ancestors  set- 
tled in  Pennsylvania  prior  to  the  Revolutionary  war.  Thomas  H.  Strieker  followed  mer- 
chandising and  agricultural  pursuits  but  at  the  time  of  the  Civil  war  put  aside  all  busi- 
ness and  personal  considerations  and  for  three  years  served  as  a  private  in  a  Minnesota 


384  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

regiment.  He  passed  away  February  10,  1916,  at  the  age  of  seveiity-iiiiie  years.  In  early 
manhood  he  wedded  Henrietta  Evans,  a  native  of  Wisconsin  and  a  descendant  of  an  old 
pioneer  family  of  that  state,  of  Welsh  lineage.  She  is  now  living  in  Coeur  d'Alene,  Idaho, 
and  she  became  the  mother  of  five  children,  four  sons  and  a  daughter,  of  whom  Miles  E.  was 
the  second. 

In  the  public  schools  of  Alexandria,  Minnesota,  Miles  E.  Strieker  pursued  his  education 
and  at  the  age  of  sixteen  years  made  his  initial  step  in  the  business  world  by  securing  a 
position  as  delivery  boy  in  a  retail  grocery  store  at  Alexandria.  In  1889  he  removed 
westward  to  Waterville,  Washington  and  with  William  Williams  established  a  retail 
grocery  store  under  the  firm  name  of  Williams  &  Strieker,  conducting  that  business  for 
six  months.  He  then  disposed  of  his  interests  to  his  partner  and  for  a  short  time  visited 
in  the  Puget  Sound  country.  He  then  returned  to  Alexandria,  Minnesota,  where  he  entered 
into  partnership  with  J.  A.  Carlson  under  tlie  firm  name  of  Carlson  &  Strieker  for  the 
conduct  of  a  retail  grocery  store  at  that  place.  That  connection  was  maintained  for 
several  years,  at  the  end  of  which  time  the  partnership  was  dissolved  and  Mr.  Strieker 
afterward  carried  on  the  grocery  store  alone,  continuing  in  business  successfully  for  three 
years,  when  he  sold  out.  He  then  became  connected  with  the  wholesale  grocery  trade 
as  city  salesman  for  Nash  Brothers,  pioneer  wholesale  grocers,  with  whom  he  continued  for 
nine  months.  He  next  became  salesman  for  the  Stone-Ordean-Wells  Company,  wholesale 
grocers,  representing  their  Minnesota  plant  until  August,  1912,  when  they  established 
business  at  Nos.  14-16  South  Fourth  street,  in  Grand  Forks.  Jlr.  Strieker  was  made 
manager  of  the  new  enterprise,  which  office  lie  has  since  continuously  filled.  The  business 
has  proved  a  success  from  the  start  and  theirs  is  today  one  of  the  leading  wholesale 
grocery  establishments  in  this  section  of  the  country.  They  employ  five  traveling  salesmen 
and  have  ten  other  employes  in  the  store  and  warehouse.  Their  main  building  is  fifty  by 
one  hundred  feet  and  they  also  have  another  building  containing  twenty  thousand  square 
feet.  Their  goods  are  largely  sold  in  Grand  Forks  and  vicinity  and  the  business  is  steadily 
growing. 

In  his  native  city  Mr.  Strieker  was  married  on  the  24th  of  November,  1898,  to  Miss 
Emma  Perry,  who  was  born  in  Minnesota,  a  daughter  of  Thomas  J.  and  Ella  (Hillier) 
Perry.  They  have  become  the  parents  of  three  sons :  Thomas  Perry,  born  at  Alexandria, 
Minnesota,  October  25,  1899;  Miles  Cleveland,  born  at  Grand  Forks,  April  12,  1910;  and 
■John  Evans,  born  at  Grand  Forks  in  Februar}',  1912. 

In  his  consideration  of  national  political  questions  Mr.  Strieker  is  a  republican  but 
casts  an  independent  local  ballot.  He  belongs  to  the  Masonic  order,  into  which  he  was 
initiated  at  Alexandria.  He  has  since  taken  the  degrees  of  the  chapter  and  of  the  consistory 
and  is  now  identified  with  the  Mystic  Shrine.  He  also  belongs  to  the  Benevolent  Protective 
Order  of  Elks  and  is  in  hearty  sympathy  with  the  principles  and  purposes  of  the  Commercial 
Club.  His  own  career  has  been  marked  by  a  steady  progression  that  lias  resulted  from  a 
recognition  of  opportunity  and  the  wise  use  of  his  time  and  talents. 


SIMON  WESTBY. 


Simon  Westby,  president  of  the  Williston  State  Rank,  was  born  near  Bergen,  Norway, 
February  1,  1876,  and  is  a  son  of  Ole  and  Ranghild  (Munson)  Westby,  who  were  natives 
of  Norwav.  The  father,  who  was  a  sea  captain,  is  now  retired  and  makes  his  home  near 
Bergen,  but  the  mother  has  passed  away. 

Simon  Westby  attended  the  normal  school  near  Bergen  until  seventeen  years  of  age, 
when,  in  1893,  he  crossed  the  Atlantic  to  America,  making  his  way  to  Traill  county,  North 
Dakota,  where  he  worked  as  a  farm  hand  and  filled  other  positions  that  would  yield  to 
him  an  honest  living.  For  a  time  he  taught  school  in  Traill  county  and  he  also  worked 
as  a  section  boss  for  the  Great  Northern  Railroad.  For  two  years  he  was  clerk  of  the  dis- 
trict court  within  the  second  judicial  district  at  Rugby,  North  Dakota,  and  in  1906  he  was 
elected  railroad  commissioner  of  North  Dakota,  filling  that  position  in  1907  and  1908.  In 
the  latter  year  he  arrived  in  Williston,  where  he  engaged  in  the  real  estate  business,  and  in 


SIMON  WKSTJU' 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  387 

1910  he  purchased  an  interest  in  the  ^Yilliston  State  Bank,  of  which  lie  became  and  still 
is  the  president.  He  has  since  been  active  in  the  nianagemont  of  the  bank  and  has  made 
it  a  stron<;  financial  institution,  carefully  and  wisely  controlled.  He  is  one  of  two  directors 
in  North  Dakota  of  the  Bankers  Trust  &  Savings  Bank  of  Minneapolis  and  a  director  of 
the   F'irst   National   Bank   of   Reserve,   Jlontana.     He   also   owns   an   elevator   at    Williston. 

On  the  3d  of  September,  1898,  Mr.  Westby  was  married  at  Sharon,  Steele  county,  North 
Dakota,  to  Miss  Nettie  Kloster,  who  was  born  at  Adams,  Minnesota,  but  was  reared  in 
Steele  county,  where  her  i)arents,  Andrew  N.  and  Maddel  (Lee)  Kloster,  settled  at  an  early 
day,  establishing  their  home  at  Sharon.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Westby  have  five  children :  Rangvald, 
who  was  born  at  Aneta,  Nelson  county,  North  Dakota;  and  Agnes,  Hannah,  Gladys  and 
Selmer,  all  born  at  Eugby. 

Mr.  Westby  homesteaded  in  Pierce  county  and  established  the  postolfice  at  Westby, 
there  serving  as  postmaster  for  five  years.  He  still  has  his  homestead  property  and  also 
owns  another  farm  and  is  recognized  as  the  loading  Norwegian-American  citizen  of  this 
section  of  the  state.  He  belongs  to  the  United  Lutheran  church,  to  the  Sons  of  Norway, 
being  president  of  the  local  council  at  Williston,  and  to  the  Loyal  Order  of  Moose,  in  which 
be  is  treasurer.  He  also  has  membership  with  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows 
and  the  JIasonic  fraternity  and  in  his  life  exemplifies  the  beneficent  spirit  of  the  craft. 
His  has  been  a  well  spent  life  and  warm  regard  is  entertained  for  him  by  those  who  know 
him  best,  for  he  has  many  substantial  qualities  which  have  given  him  a  firm  hold  upon  the 
goodwill   and  confidence  of   his   fellowmen. 


JUDGE  W.  M.  JACKSON. 


Judge  W.  M.  Jackson,  county  judge  of  Eddy  county,  was  born  in  Perry  county,  Indiana, 
on  the  1st  of  September,  1876,  a  son  of  James  and  Mary  A.  (Cassidy)  Jackson,  both  of 
whom  were  natives  of  Perry  county,  their  parents  having  removed  from  Kentucky  to  Indiana 
at  an  early  day.  The  grandfather  of  Mrs.  Jackson  came  to  America  from  Ireland  and 
took  part  in  much  of  the  early  siuvey  work  in  southern  Indiana.  James  Jackson  is  a 
grandson  of  .lames  Jackson,  Sr.,  one  of  the  Kentuckians  who  took  refuge  behind  tlie  cotton 
bales  at  the  battle  of  New  Orleans  and  won  victory  for  the  American  forces  there  on  the 
8th  of  January,  1815.  In  the  year  1891  James  .Jackson,  father  of  .fudge  .Jackson,  removed 
to  Cliristian  county,  Illinois,  and  there  engaged  in  farming  until  he  removed  to  Assumption, 
where  he  is  now  conducting  business  as  a  dealer  in  hay  and  feed. 

.fudge  .Jackson  pursued  his  education  in  the  Christian  Brothers  College  at  St.  Louis,  Mis- 
souri, where  he  won  the  Bachelor  of  Arts  degree  in  1903,  and  in  the  University  of  Michigan, 
from  which  he  was  graduated  with  the  LL.  B.  degree  as  a  member  of  the  class  of  1907.  Follow- 
ing his  graduation  he  went  to  the  Pacific  coast  and  spent  eight  months  in  Everett.  Washington, 
where  he  opened  a  law  office.  In  the  spring  of  190S,  however,  he  returned  eastward  to 
St.  Paul  and  for  si.x  months  represented  a  law  publishing  house  on  the  road,  hoping  in  his 
travels  to  find  a  suitable  location  for  practice.  On  the  10th  of  .lanuary,  1910,  he  established 
his  home  in  New  Rockford  where  he  opened  an  office  and  entered  \ipon  the  active  work  of 
his  profession,  to  which  he  devoted  his  energies  until  1914,  when  he  was  elected  to  the 
office  of  county  judge  and  is  now  serving  upon  the  bench.  He  was  also  the  first  city 
attorney  of  New  Rockford  after  its  incorporation,  filling  that  office  from  1912  until  1914. 
His  political  allegiance  has  always  been  given  to  tlie  democratic  party  but  he  never  allows 
partisanship  to  interfere  with  the  faithful  performance  of  his  judicial  duties  and  his  oi)inions 
on  the  bench  are  strictly  fair  and  impartial.  Ho  has  a  comprehensive  knowledge  of  the 
law  with  the  ability  to  correctly  apply  its  princijdes  and  his  opinions  have  received  the 
endorsement  of  the  hiffher  courts. 

Judge  Jackson  holds  membership  in  the  Catholic  church.  He  has  always  been  much 
interested  in  athletics  and  was  captain  of  the  track  team  at  the  Christian  Brothers  College 
in  1902  and  1903,  in  which  years  the  college  won  the  state  championship.  He  was  also  captain 
of  the  football  team  in  1901  and  1902  and  again  his  team  was  successful,  winning  victories 
over  such  toaTus  as  that  of  St.  Louis  L'niversitv,  while   in   1901   they  tied  with   Washington 


388  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

University,  which  refused  to  play  with  them  the  following  year.  Judge  Jackson  has  many 
friends  in  New  Rockford  and  throughout  Eddy  county,  the  sterling  w'orth  of  his  character 
winnino-  for  liim  the  regard  of  tliose  witli  wliora  he  has  heen  associated. 


OLAF  AUGUST  NELSON. 


Olaf  August  Nelson,  proprietor  of  a  grain  elevator  at  Tioga,  was  born  at  Vermland, 
Sweden,  September  23,  1867,  his  parents  being  Nels  and  Caroline  Nelson,  who  were  also 
natives  of  tliat  country,  where  they  spent  their  entire  lives,  the  father  always  following 
the  occupation  of  farming  in  order  to  support  his  family. 

Reared  in  Sweden,  Olaf  A.  Nelson  there  took  up  the  occupation  of  farming  and  in  1SS7 
canu'  to  America,  settling  at  Dassel,  Minnesota,  where  he  engaged  in  grain  buying  until 
1893.  He  then  removed  to  Brooten,  in  that  state,  where  he  conducted  a  general  store  until 
1S05.  He  then  disposed  of  his  business  in  the  town  and  concentrated  his  efforts  upon 
farming  and  the  sale  of  farm  lands  in  Brown  Vallej-,  Minnesota.  Later  he  traveled  for  five 
vears  in  the  Ignited  States  and  for  two  years  in  Soutli  America — in  Chile  and  tlie  Argentine 
Republic — prospecting  for  gold  in  1903  and  1904.  Three  times  he  crossed  the  Andes,  making, 
his  way  from  the  Atlantic  to  the  Pacific  coast  in  South  America  with  pack  mules.  In  1905 
he  arrived  in  Tioga,  North  Dakota,  when  the  town  was  first  established,  and  in  the  fall  of 
1906  he  became  actively  connected  with  its  business  interests  through  the  building  of  the 
Nelson  Brotliers  elevator  at  that  place.  He  has  since  operated  in  grain  and  his  elevator 
business  constitutes  one  of  the  important  commercial  enterprises  of  the  town.  Nelson 
Brothers  also  own  an  elevator  and  lumber  yard  at  Hamlet,  North  Dakota.  O.  A.  Nelson 
homesteaded  in  the  vicinity  of  Tioga  and  is  yet  engaged  in  farming  and  stock  raising,  his 
efforts  in  that  connection  being  attended  with  excellent  results. 

On  the  15th  of  May,  1907,  Mr.  Nelson  was  united  in  marriage  at  Sisseton,  South 
Dakota,  to  Miss  Mary  Oslund,  who  was  born  in  Sweden  and  in  early  girlhood  came  to  the 
new  world.  Their  children  are  three  in  number,  Gustave  Oscar,  Roy  and  Chester  Franklin, 
all  of  whom  were  born  in  Tioga. 

ilr.  Nelson  exercises  his  right  of  franchise  in  support  of  the  principles  and  candidates 
of  tlie  republican  party  and  is  now  serving  on  the  town  board  of  Tioga,  while  almost  con- 
tinuously he  luis  filled  some  public  office.  He  is  a  charter  member  of  the  Independent  Order 
of  Odd  Fellows  lodge  at  Tioga.  Through  the  period  of  his  residence  in  Tioga,  covering  about 
twelve  years,  he  has  become  widely  and  favorably  known.  Hi'  had  no  one  to  assist  him 
at  the  outset  of  his  career  but  had  to  depend  entirely  upon  his  own  plans  and  efforts  to 
attain  success.  Step  by  step  he  has  advanced  and  today  is  at  the  head  of  a  business  of 
gratifying  proportions,  his  elevator  constituting  a  market  for  the  grain  producers  of  liis 
district. 


HENRY  KRAFT. 


Henry  Kraft,  proprietor  of  a  general  store  at  Streeter,  was  born  in  Russia  in  the 
spring  of  1865  and  that  country  was  also  the  birthplace  of  his  parents,  George  and  Maggie 
(Roth)  Kraft,  who  in  1873  bade  adieu  to  their  native  country  and  crossed  the  Atlantic 
to  the  new  world.  They  settled  in  South  Dakota,  where  the  father  secured  a  homestead 
and  preemption  claim,  and  for  many  j'ears  he  engaged  successfully  in  general  farming  and 
stock  raising,  handling  both  cattle  and  sheep,  but  at  the  present  time  he  is  living  retired 
from  active  business,  he  and  his  wife  being  pleasantly  situated  in  the  town  of  Scotland. 

Henry  Kraft  was  the  eldest  of  a  family  of  seven  children,  three  of  whom  are  yet  living, 
and  was  but  eight  years  of  age  at  the  time  of  the  emigration  to  the  new  world,  so  that 
his  education  was  largely  acquired  in  the  schools  of  South  Dakota,  but  at  that  time  the 
educational  system  of  the  district  in  which  he  lived  had  not  been  greatly  developed  and 
many  of  his  most  valuable  lessons  have  been  learned  in  the  school  of  experience.  With 
the  family  he  shared  in  all  the  hardships  and  deprivations  attendant  upon  pioneer  life.     He 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  38!) 

remained  in  South  Dakota  for  nine  years  after  reaching  liis  majority  and  engaged  in  general 
merchandising  in  Eureka  and  afterward  at  Hosraer  but  left  that  place  in  1897,  at  which 
time  he  removed  to  North  Dakota  and  secured  a  homestead  claim  in  Stutsman  county. 
He  was  six  weeks  in  traveling  with  a  horse  team  from  South  Dakota  to  his  farm  in 
Stutsman  county,  whereon  he  remained  for  nine  years,  performing  all  the  arduous  tasks 
of  developing  new  fields,  his  labors,  however,  res\ilting  in  a  marked  change  in  the  api)earance 
of  the  place.  At  the  end  of  that  ]ieriod  he  removed  to  Streeter  and  again  turned  his 
attention  to  general  merchandising,  in  which  he  is  now  engaged.  He  formed  a  partnership 
in  1906  with  Henry  Klundt  and  the  relation  between  them  has  since  existed  with  mutual 
pleasure  and  profit.  They  carry  a  complete  line  of  general  merchandise  and  their 
undertaking  hao  been  attended  with  success  from  the  begiiming,  for  their  business  methods 
are  thoroughly  reliable  and  they  put  forth  every  effort  to  i)lease  their  customers.  When 
Mr.  Kraft  came  to  North  Dakota  in  1897  he  started  with  a  cash  capital  of  eight  hundred 
dollars  and  homesteaded  a  quarter  section.  From  that  point  he  gradually  developed  his 
business  interests  and  acquired  three  sections  of  land,  all  in  Stutsman  county,  with  the 
exception  of  one  quarter  which  is  located  in  Logan  county.  He  now  rents  his  land  and  the 
income  thereby  secured  is  a  very  substantial  one. 

Mr.  Kraft  married  Miss  Katie  Goehring,  who  was  born  in  Kussia,  and  they  have 
seven  children,  .Jennie,  Maggie,  Eegina,  John,  Ade,  Katie  and  Esther.  They  also  lost  two 
children.  The  parents  are  members  of  the  Evangelical  church  at  Bismarck  and  Mr.  Kraft 
exercises  his  right  of  franchise  in  support  of  the  men  and  measures  of  the  republican  party. 
He  does  not  seek  nor  desire  political  oflice,  however,  as  a  reward  for  pai'ty  fealty  and  in 
fact  he  does  not  seek  to  figure  prominently  in  anj'  connection  outside  of  business,  ])refcrring 
to  concentrate  his  efforts  upon  his  mercantile  and  agricultural  interests.  It  has  been  his 
unremitting  diligence,  combined  with  sound  judgment  in  Inisiness  affairs,  that  has  won  him 
a  place  among  the  substantial  residents  of  Stutsman  county. 


JOHN  P.  REEVE. 


John  P.  Reeve  is  today  one  of  the  most  prominent  and  influential  citizens  of  Beach 
as  well  as  one  of  the  most  extensive  farmers  and  stock  raisers  of  Golden  Valley  county. 
He  was  born  at  Ann  Arbor,  Michigan,  March  3,  1871,  and  spent  the  first  seventeen  years 
of  his  life  in  his  native  state.  He  then  went  to  Chicago,  Hlinois,  and  obtained  work  in  the 
factory  of  the  Deering  Harvester  Company,  after  which  he  traveled  for  that  concern  for 
three  years,  his  territory  extending  from  ^Manitoba  to  Texas.  In  1904  he  entered  the  machinery 
business  at  La  Ci-osse,  Wisconsin,  representing  the  International  Harvester  Company  there 
until  1908. 

It  was  in  the  latter  year  that  Mr.  Reeve  moved  to  Beach.  North  Dakota,  believing  that 
this  section  of  the  country  offered  excellent  opportunities  to  the  farmer  and  business  man, 
for  he  had  traveled  extensively  through  this  state  when  representing  the  Deering  Company 
In  connection  with  Bernard  O'Connell  and  C.  F.  White,  of  La  Orosse,  Wisconsin,  he  purchased 
one  whole  township — township  142,  range  105,  nine  miles  north  of  Beach.  This  they  divided 
and  sold  to  the  settlers,  disposing  of  the  entire  tract  except  that  now  owned  by  Mr.  Reeve, 
whereon  he  is  engaged  in  farming  and  stock  raising.  He  has  from  twelve  to  fifteen  hundred 
acres  of  land,  upon  which  he  raises  small  grains  and  corn  on  an  extensive  scale,  and  he 
also  gives  considerable  attention  to  the  raising  of  graded  stock,  keeping  about  one  hundred 
and  fifty  head  of  horses  and  one  hundred  and  forty  head  of  cattle  upon  his  place.  He 
continued  to  reside  ujion  his  ranch  until  the  fall  of  1914,  when  he  removed  to  Beach,  where 
lie  now  makes  his  home.  In  August  of  that  year  he  purchased  the  Pioneer  Grocery  & 
Meat  Market,  which  he  conducted  iindcr  the  name  of  the  J.  P.  Reeve  Farm  Market  until 
June,  1916,  when  he  sold  out.  He  recently  established  a  bank  at  Golva,  North  Dakota,  and  is 
serving  as  its  president. 

On  the  7th  of  December,  1900,  Mr.- Reeve  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Clara  B. 
Thompson,  of  La  Crosse,  Wisconsin,  and  they  are  now  numbered  among  the  most  highly 
esteemed  citizens  of  Beach.     Mr.  Reeve  has  been  prominently  identified  with  the  development 


390  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

of  the  city  and  besides  his  rcsidonce  owns  a  good  two  story  store  and  office  building,  erected 
by  liim  in  1916  at  a  cost  of  about  tliirty  thousand  dollars.  It  was  largelj'  through  his 
instrumentality  that  Beach  was  made  the  county  seat  of  Golden  Valley  county.  Jn  1906 
he  became  secretarj'  of  the  Beach  Commercial  Club,  which  position  he  continued  to  fill 
for  some  time,  and  he  remained  a  member  of  that  organization  during  its  existence,  but  in 
1916  it  was  replaced  by  the  Beach  Chamber  of  Commerce,  which  was  organized  with  about 
one  hundred  members,  and  Mr.  Reeve  was  made  its  first  president,  in  which  capacity  he 
is  now  serving.  He  has  always  been  what  is  termed  a  "booster"  for  .the  town  and  in 
his  present  office  is  doing  much  to  promote  its  Interests  along  various  lines.  Since  1914  he 
has  also  been  president  of  the  Golden  Valley  Auto  Association,  and  in  1915  was  made 
president  of  the  State  Auto  Association.  He  is  responsible,  for  the  good  roads  in  his  section 
of  the  state  and  is  untiring  in  his  efforts  to  promote  operations  along  that  line.  In  1913  Jlr. 
Reeve  was  appointed  president  of  the  state  game  board  and  is  still  filling  that  important 
position,  doing  everything  within  his  power  to  enforce  the  game  laws  of  the  state.  The 
republican  party  finds  in  liim  an  ardent  supporter  and  he  has  served  as  a  member  of  the 
stiite  republican  committee.  In  1911  he  was  elected  to  the  legislature  on  his  party  ticket. 
He  is  a  life  member  of  the  Elks  lodge  at  Dickinson  and  is  also  connected  with  the  Knights 
of  Pythias  at  La  Ci'osse,  Wisconsin.  His  influence  is  always  found  on  the  side  of  right  and 
progiess  and  there  is  probably  no  man  in  his  community  that  has  done  more  for  the 
upbuilding  and  prosperity  of  town  and  county  than  John  P.  Reeve. 


ARCHIE  MILLER. 


Archie  Miller,  manager  of  the  Grand  Opera  House  at  Devils  Lake,  is  a  native  of 
Milwaukee,  Wisconsin.  He  was  born  September  26,  1885,  of  the  marriage  of  Otto  H.  and 
Clara  (Wendel)  Miller.  His  giandfather  died  at  Fortress  Monroe  in  1862,  during  the  Civil 
war.  The  father,  however,  is  still  living  in  Milwaukee.  It  was  in  the  public  schools  of  that 
city  that  Archie  Miller  began  his  education  which  he  completed  by  a  course  in  a  business 
college,  thus  becoming  qualified  for  responsible  duties  in  the  business  world.  He  accepted 
a  position  as  cashier  and  bookkeeper  with  a  show  business  and  afterward  became  manager 
at  Minneapolis,  spending  eleven  years  altogether  in  that  occupation.  ■  In  1912  he  removed  to 
Devils  Lake  and  became  manager  of  the  Grand  Opera  House  and  has  since  conducted  a 
profitable  business  at  that  point.  He  has  been  quite  successful,  doing  much  to  improve  the 
business  and  presents  to  the  public  attractive,  clean  and  entertaining  plays  and  vaudeville 
performances.  The  high  character  of  entertainments  which  he  furnishes  is  indicated  by  the 
liberal  patronage  which  he  receives  from  the  best  class-  of  people.  He  studies  the  question 
of  stage  production  fully  and  his  long  connection  with  the  show  business  enables  him  to 
bring  to  Devils  Lake  the  best  attractions. 

On  the  11th  of  April.  1914,  Mr.  Miller  was  married  to  Miss  Olive  Hansen.  He  is  a 
Mason  of  high  rank  as  indicated  by  the  fact  that  he  has  membership  in  the  Jlystic  Shrine. 
He  also  belongs  to  the  Benevolent  Protective  Order  of  Elks.  In  politics  he  maintains  an 
independent  course,  voting  for  men  and  measures  rather  than  party.  That  he  is  interested 
in  community  affairs  is  indicated  in  the  active  and  helpful  cooperation  he  has  given  to 
many  plans  and  measures  for  the  public  good  and  in  1913  he  served  as  secretary  of  the 
Chautauqua  Association,  giving  to  the  public  that  year  a  most  successful  series  of  Chautauqua 
entertainments. 


MARTIN  H.  SCHOLBERG,  D.  D.  S. 

Dr.  Martin  H.  Scholberg,  engaged  in  the  practice  of  dentistry  at  Willston,  claims  Min- 
nesota as  his  native  state,  his  birth  occurring  in  Lanesboro,  Fillmore  county,  December  13, 
1870.  His  parents,  Hans  and  Karen  (Frovarp)  Scholberg,  were  born,  reared  and  married 
in  Norway  and  while  living  in  that  country  the  father  served  as  a  sea  captain.  In  1867 
he  emigrated   to  America   and   after   living  for   a   time   in  Fillmore   county,   Minnesota,  he 


DR.  JIARTIN  H.  SCTIOLBERG 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  393 

removed  to  Bigstone  county,  lliat  state,  and  took  up  a  homestead  near  Ortonville,  where 
he  and  liis  wife  spent  the  remainder  of  tlieir  lives  on  tlie  liome  farm. 

Dr.  Scholberg  spent  his  boyliood  and  youth  in  Bigstone  county,  Minnesota,  wlierc  he 
attended  the  district  schools,  and  later  pursued  his  studies  in  Augsburg  Seminary  of  Minne- 
apolis and  the  Minneapolis  Academy,  graduating  from  the  last  named  institution.  He  next 
entered  the  dental  department  of  the  University  of  Minnesota,  from  which  he  was  graduated 
with  the  degree  of  U.  D.  S.  in  1900.  Soon  after  his  graduation  he  opened  an  odice  iu  Harvey, 
Korth  Dakota,  where  he  practiced  about  a  year,  but  in  I'JOl  removed  to  Minot,  reiuaining 
there  until  going  to  Williston  in  191fi.  He  has  met  with  success  in  his  chosen  profession, 
being  an  expert  dentist  of  kiiown  reliability,  and  ii  riiaii  in  wlmni  the  coniniUMity  have 
the  utmost  confidence. 

On  the  1st  of  July,  1909,  Dr.  Scliolberg  was  married  in  Minot  to  Miss  Gertrude  Car- 
penter, who  was  born  in  St.  Charles,  Michigan,  and  lived  there  until  going  to  Minot  in  1904. 
Her  parents,  Milton  and  Lucy  Carpenter,  were  also  natives  of  Michigan,  and  her  father 
followed  farming  near  St.  Charles  until  his  death.  Mrs.  Carpenter  is  now  living  in  Flint, 
Michigan.  The  children  born  to  the  Doctor  and  his  wife  are  Harold  Milton,  Marian  Louise 
and  Euth  Margaret,  all  born  in  Minot. 

The  republican  party  has  always  found  in  Dr.  Scholberg  a  stanch  supporter  of  its  prin- 
ciples and  he  served  as  secretary  of  the  Ward  county  central  republican  committee.  He  has 
been  a  trustee  of  the  Mayville  Normal  School  and  while  a  resident  of  Minot  was  city  com- 
missioner. He  is  a  member  of  the  North  Dakota  State  Dental  Society  and  of  the  National 
Dental  Association.  His  religious  faith  is  that  of  the  Lutheran  church  but  his  wife  holds 
membership  in  the  Congregational  church.  Fraternally  he  belongs  to  Minot  Lodge,  No. 
1089,  B.  P.  0.  E.,  the  Knights  of  Pythias  and  the  Ancient  Order  of  United  Workmen,  and 
wherever  known  he  is  held  in  high  regard. 


JUDGE  H.  A.   SOLIDAY. 


Carriiigton's  development  is  attributed  in  notable  measure  to  the  efforts  of  .Judge  H. 
A.  Soliday,  who  along  many  lines  of  substantial  improvement  has  aided  in  the  upbuilding 
of  the  city  which  justly  accounts  him  one  of  its  foremost  and  honored  residents.  Pennsyl- 
vania claims  him  as  a  native  son,  his  birth  having  occurred  in  Williamsburg,  Blair  county, 
that  state,  on  the  25th  of  February,  1836.  His  parents,  Abraham  and  Catherine  (Bowers) 
Soliday,  were  natives  of  Pennsylvania,  where  they  were  reared  and  married,  and  about  1846 
or  1847  they  removed  to  Wayne  county,  Ohio.  The  father  was  a  millwright  by  trade  and 
followed  that  pursuit  throughout  his  active  life.  He  and  his  wife  continued  their  residence 
in  Ohio  until  called  to  the  home  beyond. 

Judge  Soliday  was  reared  under  the  jiarental  roof  and  ])ursued  his  education  in  the 
public  schools  of  Wayne  county.  In  his  youthful  days  he  learned  the  millwright's  trade 
under  his  father's  direction  and  was  associated  with  him  in  the  contracting  and  milling 
business  for  several  years.  In  1861  he  turned  his  attention  to  merchandising  in  Doylestown, 
Ohio,  and  subsequently  he  transferred  his  business  operations  to  Akron.  Ohio,  while  later 
he  became  a  merchant  of  Canton,  Ohio,  there  remaining  until  1883,  when  he  removed  to 
North  Dakota  and  settled  in  Carrington  at  the  time  of  the  building  of  the  railroad.  The 
town  was  platted  but  there  were  no  buildings  completed,  and  Judge  Soliday  erected  the 
first  store  building  in  the  new  town.  As  the  settlers  were  coming  in  large  inimbers.  however, 
and  there  was  no  place  to  shelter  them,  he  allowed  his  store  to  be  used  by  them  and 
supplied  meals  to  them  for  some  time  without  charge.  Subsequently  he  converted  his 
building  into  a  hotel,  which  he  conducted  for  a  few  months,  but  he  did  this  only  as  a  tem- 
porary expedient  to  cover  the  exigencies  of  the  case.  In  Jfarch,  188.3.  he  filed  on  a  homestead 
adjoining  the  town  site  and  proved  up  on  that  property.  In  1884,  after  the  New  Kirkwood 
Hotel  was  built  by  the  town  site  company,  he  was  induced  after  much  persuasion  to  take 
charge  of  and  conduct  the  hotel,  which  was  turned  over  to  him  free  of  rent.  He  carried 
on  the  biisiness  for  five  years  and  thus  was  an  active  figure  in  hotel  circles  during  the 
*urlv  davs  of  the  town's  development.     The  first  Hour  mill  of  Carrington  was   erected  by 


394  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

Judge  Soliday,  C.  H.  Davidson  and  G.  L.  Farnham,  but  soon  afterward  they  sold  the  property. 
In  1890  Judge  Soliday  established  a  store  and  for  the  succeeding  fifteeen  years  was  prominently 
identified  with  the  commercial  interests  of  Carrington,  conducting  a  growing  and  profitable 
business.  In  1905  he  disposed  of  his  mercantile  interests  and  has  since  given  his  attention  to 
the  supervision  of  his  real  estate  investments.  He  still  owns  his  homestead  adjoining  the  town 
save  a  small  corner  which  was  platted  into  residence  lots.  He  also  owns  six  other  quarter 
sections  of  farm  land  in  Foster  county  and  is  one  of  Carrington's  most  substantial  and 
progi-essive  business  men,  having  been  actively  connected  with  many  of  the  interests  which 
have  led  to  tlie  upbuilding  and  progress  of  the  community. 

In  1860  Judge  Soliday  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Sarah  A.  Galehouse,  of  Wayne 
county,  Ohio,  by  whom  he  had  four  children,  two  of  whom  survive,  namely:  George  W.,  who 
is  engaged  in  the  land  business  at  Seattle,  Washington;  and  Jessie  A.,  the  wife  of  Dr.  J.  E. 
MacKenzie,  a  physician  and  surgeon  of  Carrington. 

In  politics  Judge  Soliday  has  been  a  stanch  republican  since  the  organization  of  the 
party.  He  did  not  have  a  vote,  however,  until  the  campaign  of  1800,  when  Abraham  Lincoln 
was  the  presidential  nominee  for  whom  Judge  Soliday  cast  his  first  vote.  In  later  years 
he  has  rather  allied  himself  with  the  progi'essive  wing  of  the  part3'.  He  was  a  member  of  the 
first  board  of  county  commissioners  which  was  regularly  elected  in  Foster  county  and  was 
chosen  chairman  of  this  board,  which  built  the  first  courthouse.  On  the  organization  of  the 
county  he  was  appointed  the  first  county  judge  and  he  was  also  appointed  by  Governor 
Miller  a  member  of  the  board  of  regents  of  the  state  penitentiary.  However,  he  has  never 
been  an  office  seeker  and  all  of  his  political  preferments  have  come  to  him  unsought.  While 
now  in  his  eighty-first  year  he  has  retained  his  faculties  unimpaired  and  his  vigor  is 
remarkable.  He  drives  his  automobile  as  well  as  a  youth  of  twenty-one  and  appears  to  be 
a  man  of  sixty-five  rather  than  eighty-one  years. 

"While  the  snows  of  winter  are  on  his  head 
The  flowers  of  spring  are  in  his  heart." 

Old  age  need  not  necessarily  suggest  idleness  nor  want  of  occupation.  There  is  an  old 
age  that  gi-ows  stronger  and  better  mentally  and  morally  as  the  years  go  on  and  gives  out  of 
the  rich  .stores  of  its  w-isdom  and  experience  for  the  benefit  of  others,  and  such  has  been  the 
record  of  Judge  Soliday.  He  knows  every  phase  of  Foster  county's  development  and  upbuilding 
and  in  the  work  of  ju-ogress  and  improvement  has  indeed  borne  a  helpful  part. 


AVALTER  CARLOUS  FOLLETT,  D.  D.  S. 

Dr.  Walter  Carious  Follett,  a  well  known  and  highlj'  esteemed  representative  of  the 
dental  profession  at  Devils  Lake,  was  born  in  Mapleton,  North  Dakota,  May  4,  1886,  a 
son  of  Charles  Coatsworth  and  Sarah  Edna  (Ohr)  Follett,  who  in  the  year  1879  removed  to 
Lisbon,  North  Dakota,  where  the  father  homesteaded  and  took  up  the  arduous  task  of 
converting  the  wild  prairie  land  into  richly  productive  fields.  He  has  made  farming  his 
life  work  and  is  now  living  retired  in  Williamsport.  Pennsylvania,  but  his  wife  has  passed 
away. 

At  the  usual  age  Dr.  Follett  entered  the  public  schools  and  was  graduated  from  the 
high  school  at  Fargo  in  1905.  His  professional  training  was  received  in  the  dental  department 
of  Northwestern  University  at  Chicago,  where  he  was  graduated  with  the  class  of  1908. 
He  located  in  Devils  Lake,  where  he  has  continuously  engaged  in  practice  since  September 
of  that  year.  His  patronage  has  steadily  grown  and  he  is  regarded  as  one  of  the  capable 
and  efficient  dentists  of  the  city.  He  thoroughly  understands  modern  methods  and  added 
to  his  scientific  knowledge  is  a  mechanical  skill  and  ingenuity  that  results  in  most  excellent 
dental  surgery. 

On  the  5th  of  June,  1913,  Dr.  Follett  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Agatha  Hagen  at 
Minneapolis,  Minnesota.  She  is  a  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Ole  A.  Hagen,  who  reside  at 
Black  River  Falls,  Wisconsin.     In  his  political  views  the  Doctor  is  a  republican  but  while 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  395 

convei-saiit  with  the  (HU'stions  and  issues  of  the  day  lias  never  been  an  office  seeker.  He 
holds  membership  with  the  Ancient  Order  of  United  Workmen  and  is  a  member  of  Devils 
Lake  Lodge,  No.  31.  He  is  prominent  in  llasonic  circles,  holding  membership  in  ilinnewaukun 
Lodge,  No.  21,  F.  &  A.  .\I.,  Doric  Chapter,  No.  8,  K.  A.  .M.,  Cyrcne  Comnumdery,  No.  7, 
K.  T.,  all  of  Devils  Lake,  and  Kem  Temple,  A.  A.  0.  N.  M.  S.,  of  Grand  Forks.  He  is 
also  connected  with  the  Devils  Lake  Shrine  Club.  He  has  passed  all  the  chairs  in  Doric 
Chapter  and  was  high  priest  in  the  year  1916  and  at  the  same  time  was  holding  the 
ollice  of  generalissimo  in  Cyrene  Commandery.  He  is  a  member  of  the  Kpiscopal  church  and  his 
life  has  ever  been  guided  by  high  and  honorable  princijiles.  He  holds  to  advanced  standards 
of  i)rofessional  ethics  and  is  a  member  of  the  North  Dakota  State  and  the  American 
Dentiil  Associations.  A  young  man,  he  has  already  attained  a  position  which  many  an 
older  practitioner  might  well  envy  and  his  laudable  ambition  argues  well  for  further  advance- 
ment in  his  chosen  callina;. 


N.  J.  BOTHNE. 


N.  .J.  Uothne,  a  prominent  attorney  of  New  Rockford,  whose  thorough  understanding  of 
the  principles  of  jurisprudence  is  manifest  in  his  capable  handling  of  imi)ortant  litigated 
interests,  was  born  in  Norway,  October  15,  1871,  a  son  of  John  O.  and  Anna  G.  (Skaar) 
liothne.  The  mother  passed  away  in  that  country  in  1S95  but  the  father  is  still  living  there 
at  the  age  of  eighty-four  years.  Mrs.  Bothne's  father  was  a  member  of  parliament,  as  was 
one  of  his  brothers,  and  a  third  brother  was  head  of  the  Lutheran  church  of  that  country, 
being  the  first  man  to  translate  the  New  Testament  into  the  Finnish  language.  He  was 
made  bishop  of  the  church  and  exerted  a  most  widely  felt  inlluence  over  the  moral  develop- 
ment of  his  communitv. 

N.  J.  Bothne  spent  his  youthful  days  in  his  native  land  and  acquired  his  education 
in  the  public  schools.  In  1892,  before  attaining  majority,  he  came  to  the  United  Statfs, 
nuiking  his  way  to  Fort  Abercrombie,  Kiciiland  county.  North  Dakota,  where  lie  was 
employed  on  a  farm  during  the  summer  months  and  in  the  winter  seasons  attended  school. 
His  time  was  thus  passed  for  four  years,  on  the  e.\piration  of  which  period  he  removed  to 
Minneapolis,  Minnesota,  where  he  attended  school  for  two  years.  On  the  outbreak  of  the 
Spanish-American  war  ho  returned  to  Fort  Abercrombie  and  there  enlisted  as  a  member  of 
Company  I,  First  North  Dakota  Regiment  of  Volunteer  Infantry.  He  was  one  of  the  first 
members  of  the  expedition  sent  to  the  Philippines  and  took  part  in  the  battle  of  Manila 
and  aided  in  quelling  the  Philippine  insurrection.  He  was  with  General  Law-ton  on  three 
expeditions  and  saw  much  active  service  in  the  orient.  Although  he  enlisted  as  a  private  he 
was  promoted  to  a  noncommissioned  office  and  lie  never  lost  a  day  in  all  of  his  eighteen 
months'  service.  In  October,  1899,  ho  was  mustered  out  and  resumed  his  studies  in  the 
Minneapolis  Normal  School,  from  which  he  was  graduateil  with  valedictorian  honors  in 
the  spring  of  1900.  He  came  to  this  country  totally  unac(iuainted  with  the  English  language 
and  he  deserves  much  credit  for  what  he  has  accomplished.  lie  not  only  mastered  the 
tongue  but  displayed  high  scholarship  and  was  unanimous!}'  elected  valedictorian  of  li is  class. 

Following  his  graduation  Mr.  Bothne  returned  to  Norway  and  tliroxigh  the  succeeding 
three  months  lectured  in  tlie  principal  cities  on  his  cxperienees  in  the  Philippines  and  also 
concerning  the  social  and  political  conditions  of  that  country.  He  came  again  to  the 
I'nited  States  in  1900  and  entered  the  law  department  of  the  University  of  Minnesota,  in 
which  he  won  his  LL.  B.  degree  in  190.3.  On  the  .'ith  of  .June,  the  day  following  his  graduation, 
he  was  admitted  to  practice  at  the  Minnesota  bar  and  four  days  later  he  opened  a  law 
ofTice  in  Herman,  Minnesota.  There  he  remained  in  successful  practice  until  August,  1907, 
when  he  went  to  Elbow  Lake,  Minnesota,  and  in  1908  was  elected  states  attorney  as  an 
fndependent  candidate  in  a  strongly  republican  county  with  the  entire  political  machine 
against  him.  He  capably  and  efficiently  served  for  four  years  and  then  received  the  nomina- 
tion on  the  nonpartisan  ticket  for  the  ollice  of  district  judge  but  later  withdrew  from  the 
campaign  and  concentrated  his  attention  upon  the  private  practice  of  his  profession. 
In  rebruary.   1913,  he  removed  to  New  Rockford,  where   he   has  built   up   an   extensive  law 


396  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

practice  which  he  conducts  with  notable  success.  His  ability  is  pronounced.  He  carefully 
and  systematically  prepares  his  cases  before  entering  the  courts;  his  reasoning  is  sound, 
his  deductions  logical  and  his  arguments  are  clear  and  concise. 

On  the  25th  of  June,  1905,  Mr.  Bothne  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Nellie  Jacobs, 
who  is  descended  on  both  the  paternal  and  maternal  sides  from  old  colonial  families.  Madam 
Nordica,  the  famous  opera  singer,  was  her  second  cousin.  Mrs.  Bothne  was  prominent  in 
newspaper  circles,  owning  and  editing  the  Herman  Enterprise,  and  was  the  vice  president 
of  the  Minnesota  Editorial  Association  but  disposed  of  her  newspaper  after  her  marriage. 
To  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Bothne  have  been  born  two  children,  James  Ellis  and  Edwin  Eugene. 

j\Ir.  Bothne  belongs  to  Century  Lodge,  No.  60,  F.  &  A.  M.  He  joined  the  Masonic 
order  in  the  Philippines  as  a  member  of  the  military  organization  of  the  lodge.  He  has 
since  taken  the  degrees  in  Carrington  Chapter,  No.  15,  R.  A.  M.,  and  belongs  as  well  to 
New  Rockford  Lodge,  K.  P.  His  wife  is  a  member  of  the  Congregational  church.  Tliey  are 
highly  esteemed  in  New  Rockford  and  throughout  the  section  of  the  state  in  which  they 
reside  and  in  a  profession  where  advancement  depends  entirely  upon  individual  merit  and 
abilit}'  Mr.  Bothne  has  worked  his  way  steadily  upward  to  a  point  of  prominence  and 
distinction. 


A.  R.  8MYTHE. 


A.  .R.  Smythe,  junior  partner  in  the  law  firm  of  Cuthbert  &  Smythe,  attorneys  of  Devils 
Lake,  was  born  in  Ogden,  Boone  county,  Iowa,  on  the  9th  of  January,  1885,  a  son  of  Robert 
C.  and  Mary  E.  (Bonberger)  Smythe,  who  were  pioneer  settlers  of  Boone  county,  where  they 
still  make  their  home. 

At  the  usual  age  A.  R.  Smythe  entered  the  public  schools  of  Ogden  and  passed  through 
consecutive  grades  to  the  high  school.  In  a  review  of  the  broad  field  of  business  in  a  selec- 
tion of  a  life  work,  he  determined  upon  a  professional  career  and  entered  upon  the  study 
of  law  in  the  Indiana  Law  School.  He  there  completed  his  course  and  was  graduated  with 
the  class  of  1910.  He  located  for  practise  at  Devils  Lake  in  December,  1911,  entering  into 
partnership  with  Frederic  T.  Cuthbert  under  the  firm  style  of  Cuthbert  &  Smythe.  This 
connection  has  now  been  maintained  for  five  years  and  the  firm  has  enjoyed  a  large  and 
growing  practise,  having  been  connected  with  much  important  litigation.  Mr.  Smj'the 
realizes  fully  the  necessity  for  thorough  preparation  and  does  not  enter  the  court  without 
being  fully  prepared  not  only  to  clearly  present  his  cause  but  also  to  meet  the  attacks  of 
the  opposing  council. 

On  the  27th  of  August,  1913,  Mr.  Smythe  was  married  to  Miss  Emily  J.  Cuthbert,  and 
to  them  has  been  born  a  son,  Arthur  C.  Mr.  Smytlie  is  a  republican  in  his  political  views 
and  while  not  an  ofiice  seeker  is  never  neglectful  of  the  duties  of  citizenship  and  loyally 
supports  those  interests  which  he  believes  to  be  for  the  public  good.  He  is  now  serving  as 
assistant  states  attorney  and  is  president  of  the  board  of  education  of  Devils  Lake,  in  which 
connection  he  is  seeking  to  promote  the  cause  of  public  instruction  and  advance  the  high 
standards  of  the  schools.  His  religious  faith  is  that  of  the  Episcopal  church  and  he  is  iden- 
tified with  various  fraternal  orders,  belonging  to  the  Masonic  lodge  and  chapter,  the  Odd 
Fellows,  the  Elks  and  the  Woodmen.  He  is  thoroughly  in  sympathy  with  the  purposes  of 
these  organizations,  recognizing  at  all  times  man's  obligation  to  his  fellowman. 


MARTIN  T.  OLSON. 


Martin  T.  Olson,  connected  with  commercial  interests  at  Driscoll  as  a  dealer  in  hardware, 
implements  and  furniture,  was  born  at  Willmar.  Minnesota,  in  1872.  His  father,  0.  B.  Olson, 
is  a  native  of  Norway,  born  In  1849,  and  in  the  year  1865  he  came  to  the  United  States, 
settling  first  in  Meeker  county,  Minnesota.  He  afterward  took  up  a  homestead  near  Willmar 
at  the   age   of  twenty-one   years   and   proved   up   on   that   property,   continuing   its   further 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  '  397 

dovi'Iopmont  and  cultivation  until  1901,  but  thinking  to  find  commercial  pursuits  more 
congenial,  ho  became  connected  with  the  luirdwaie  trade,  which  lie  carried  on  at  Willmar 
for  a  period  of  four  years.  In  1906  he  removed  to  Driseoll  and  established  his  present 
business,  conducting  at  the  present  time  a  good  store  in  which  carries  a  well  selected 
line  of  furniture,  hardware  anil  implements.  His  business  enterprise  and  activity  are 
substantial  features  in  his  growing  success.  Mr.  Olson  was  united  in  nuirriage  to  Miss 
Julia  Tiiomijson,  a  native  of  Oshkosli,  Wisconsin,  and  a  daughter  of  Tyke  Thompson, 
now  deceased. 

Martin  T.  Olson  was  Die  eldest  in  a  family  of  fourteen  cliildren,  twelve  of  whom  are 
yet  living.  He  acquired  liis  education  in  the  schools  of  Willmar  and  remained  upon  his 
father's  place  until  he  was  twenty-six  years  of  age,  when  lie  embarked  in  farming  on  his 
own  account.  He  afterward  went  to  New  London,  Minnesota,  where  he  became  connected 
with  thp  ^-ocery  trade  and  also  conducted  a  general  merchandise  establishment,  remaining 
there  for  a  period  of  two  years.  On  selling  out  he  went  to  Thief  River  Kails,  Minnesota, 
wlu're  he  resumed  business  along  the  same  lines,  there  continuing  for  a  year  and  a  half. 
He  then  returned  to  Willmar  and  spent  some  time  in  looking  arouinl  fur  a  favorable  location 
to  engage  in  merchandising.  In  1906  he  arrived  in  l>iiscoll  and  established  his  present 
store.  He  became  his  father's  associate  in  a  liardware  business  and  as  the  years  passed  on 
he  extended  tlie  scope  of  his  trade  relations  by  opening  a  furniture  department  and  also 
a  line  of  implements.  His  business  allairs  have  been  notably  successful,  being  based  upon 
unremitting  energy,  a  recognition  of  conditions  of  the  times  and  thorough  reliability. 
The  business  is  now  carried  on  under  the  firm  style  of  O.  B.  Olson  &  Son  and  in  addition 
to  his  mercantile  connections  Mr.  Olson  is  a  stockholder  in  the  North  Dakota  Improvement 
Company,  while  his  father  is  a  stockholder  in  a  steamship  company. 

In  1902  Mr.  Olson  was  married  to  Miss  Caroline  l'"oasligar,  a  resident  of  Minnseota, 
born  near  Willmar,  and  a  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  John  Foasligar,  both  ot-whom  are 
now  deceased.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Olson  have  become  parents  of  two  children,  Delia  and 
Beatrice.  In  politics  he  is  a  republican,  while  his  religions  belief  is  that  of  the  Liitlicran 
church.  His  success  is  due  to  his  close  application  and  ]iersistent  energy,  wliieh  have  enabled 
him  to  overcome  dillicnlties  and  obstacles  in  his  patli  and  work  liis  way  steadily  upward. 


RUDOLPH  P.  LUCHAU. 


Rudolph  P.  Luchau,  ]iublisher  of  The  thafton  News  and  Times  and  well  known  in 
Walsh  county  as  a  progressive  business  man  and  citizen,  was  born  in  (Joodhue  county, 
Minnesota,  June  2."),  1876,  a  son  of  John  P.  and  Gesclie  (Augustine)  Lncliau,  who  were  natives 
of  Germany.  In  the  '50s  the  father  came  to  the  new  world,  settling  in  Goodhue  county  as 
a  pioneer.  He  became  a  successful  farmer,  devoting  his  entire  life  to  general  agricultural 
pursuits.  In  1880  he  removed  to  Norman  county,  Minnesota,  where  he  passed  away  in  1894,  at 
the  age  of  sixty-seven  years.  It  was  in  her  girlhood  days,  during  the  '50s,  that  Mrs. 
Luchau  came  with  her  brother  to  the  United  States  and  they  made  their  way  to  Goodhue 
county,  Minnesota,  where  slie  met  and  married  Mr.  Liichau.  She  passed  away  in  Norman 
county  in  1897,  at  the  age  of  sixty-four  years. 

Rudolph  P.  Luchau,  the  youngest  in  a  family  of  seven  children,  atteiidi'd  the  public 
schools  of  Norman  county  and  the  St.  Paul  Business  College  at  St.  Paul  Park,  completing  a 
commercial  course  by  graduation  with  tlie  class  of  1897.  His  early  training  was  tliat  of  the 
farm  and  he  early  became  familiar  with  all  the  work  necessary  in  the  develo])ment  of  tlie 
fields.  At  the  age  of  twenty-two  he  started  out  in  life  independently  and  took  up  educational 
■work,  teaching  in  the  schools  of  Minnesota  for  five  years.  He  next  entered  the  field  of 
newsiiaper  publication  at  Gary,  Minnesota,  purchasing  the  Gary  Graphic,  which  he  conducted 
for  a  year.  In  1906  he  removed  to  Grafton  and  purchased  The  News  and  Times,  which  had 
been  established  in  1880.  For  a  decade  he  has  continuously  and  successfully  edited  and 
published  that  pa])er,  making  it  an  attractive  journal  to  its  many  readers.  It  is  the  oldest 
and  only  democratic  paper  in  Walsh  county.     It  has  a  circulation  of  twelve  hundred  copies 


398  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

weekly  and  is  tiie  largest  weekly  paper  of  the  county.  Mr.  Lucliau  follows  most  progressive 
mothods  in  conducting  the  paper  and  e.xemplifies  in  his  work  the  spirit  of  modern  journalism. 
Politically  Mr.  Luchau  is  a  democrat  and  fraternally  is  connected  witli  the  Modern 
Woodmen  of  Ameiica  and  the  Yeomen.  He  largely  finds  his  recreation  through  his  member- 
ship in  the  Curling  Club.  He  is  also  a  member  of  the  Commercial  C^lub,  of  which  he  is 
serving  as  one  of  the  directors,  and  he  cooperates  in  every  plan  put  forth  by  that  organization 
for  the  benefit  of  the  city  and  the  development  of  its  trade  relations.  He  is  a  firm  believer 
in  Xorth  IJakota,  recognizing  its  possibilities  and  its  ojiportunities,  and  is  at  all  times 
working  for  the  interests  of  his  community. 


GEORGE   BRUEGGER. 

Death  claimed  George  Bruegger  on  the  2Sth  of  October,  1906,  and  prior  to  that  time 
he  had  for  a  considerable  period  been  active  in  the  development  of  Williston  and  Williams 
county.  He  was  born  near  Watertown,  Jefferson  county,  Wisconsin,  March  28,  1S56,  a  son 
of  Lucius  and  Margaret  (Briisch)  Bruegger.  When  a  young  man  the  father  came  to  America 
and  in  1840  became  a  resident  of  Watertown,  Wisconsin,  where  he  continued  to  make  his 
home  throughout  his  active  business  life  but  after  his  retirement  he  removed  to  Iowa, 
where  his  death  occurred.  The  mother  came  to  the  new  .world  with  her  parents  and  located 
in  AVatertown,  AVisconsin,  where  she  married  Lucius  Bruegger.    8he  j^assed  away  in  that  city. 

The  education  of  George  Bruegger  was  acquired  in  the  district  and  city  schools  of 
his  native  county  and  he  started  upon  his  business  career  as  a  clerk  in  a  grocery  store 
at  Watertown,  Wisconsin.  When  twenty  years  of  age  he  went  to  the  west,  spending 
some  time  in  California,  in  Utah  and  in  Colorado,  where  he  engaged  in  clerking  in  gold 
mining  camps.  In  March,  1887,  he  arrived  in  Little  Muildy,  now  Williston,  North  Dakota, 
and  sent  for  his  brother  Jolm,  who  joined  him.  They  opened  a  store  in  a  tent  and  did 
business  as  general  merchants.  George  Bruegger  continued  at  Williston  for  many  years 
and  not  only  became  one  of  the  most  progi'essive  and  prosperous  merchants  of  the  town 
but  also  did  an  extensive  business  as  a  dealer  in  live  stock,  having  large  herds  of  cattle  on 
the  range.  At  length  his  health  failed  and  he  retired  from  the  store,  after  which  he  devoted 
his  entire  attention  to  the  live  stock  business  in  order  to  live  in  the  open  although  lie  still 
retained  his  financial  connection  with  the  store.  He  was  injured  by  a  gasoline  engine  at 
an  elevator  in  Williston  and  died  from  the  effects  of  that  injury  October  28,  1906. 

On  the  16th  of  October,  1890,  Mr.  Bruegger  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Elizabeth 
Kehr,  of  Milwaukee,  Wisconsin,  who  was  born  at  Watertown,  that  state,  a  daughter  of 
Donald  and  Catherine  (Hoeflner)  Kehr.  The  father  was  a  native  of  Alsace-Lorraine,  and 
when  a  young  man  left  France  for  the  new  world,  settling  at  Watertown,  Wisconsin,  after- 
ward becoming  a  resident  of  Milwaukee.  He  was  a  cooper  by  trade.  His  wife,  who  was  born 
at  Coblenz,  Germany,  was  brought  to  the  United  States  by  her  parents  when  six  years  of 
age,  the  family  home  being  established  in  WatertoAvn,  where  she  lived  until  after  her  mar- 
riage, when  she  accompanied  her  husband  to  Milwaukee,  Wisconsin.  iShe  passed  away  in 
Williston,  while  on  a  visit  November  6,  1898,  and  is  buried  in  Williston  cemetery.  Mr. 
Kehr  was  for  more  than  half  a  century  a  member  of  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows. 
He  died  in  Williston,  October  8,  1913,  and  rests  beside  his  wife  in  the  Williston  Cemetery. 
Their  daughter,  Mrs.  Bruegger,  acquired  her  education  in  the  schools  of  Watertown,  Wis- 
consin, and  in  1890  became  a  resident  of  AVilliston.  Six  children  were  born  to  Mr.  and 
Mrs.  Bruegger:  Eugene  George,  whose  birth  occurred  in  Milwaukee,  Wisconsin,  and  who  is 
now  with  the  Bruegger  Mercantile  Company  of  Williston;  George  Eniil,  who  was  born  in 
Williston  and  died  at  the  age  of  three  years;  Donald,  who  was  born  in  Watertown,  Wiscon- 
sin, and  died  in  W^illiston  when  a  year  old;  Erwin  Kehr,  who  was  born  in  Milwaukee  and  is 
now  a  student  in  the  University  of  Wisconsin;  Orville  H.,  who  was  born  in  Milwaukee  and 
is  a  high  school  pupil  in  Williston;  and  Harold  S.,  also  a  high  school  student. 

Mr.  Bruegger  gave  his  political  allegiance  to  the  democratic  party  and  fraternally 
was   connected  with  the   Independent  Order  of   Odd   Fellows,  while  his  religious   faith   was 


THE  ^•^'>^  Vt«IC 
PUBLIC  LIBRARY 


AH» 


GEORGE  BEUEGGER 


MRS.  GEORGE  BRUEGGEi; 


rtAKT 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  403 

indicated  in  his  membersliip  in  tlie  Evangelical  Protestant  cliurcli.  He  was  one  of  tlie 
pioneer  mercliants  of  Williston  and  became  a  leading  citizen  and  wealthy  business  man. 
Success  attended  his  efforts  by  reason  of  his  enterprise  and  unquestioned  integrity.  He 
always  dealt  justly  and  fairly  with  all  and  his  record  indicates  what  can  be  accomplished 
through  honorable  methods  coupled  with  persistency  of  purpose.  He  had  many  friends,  all 
of  whom  esteemed  him  highly  for  his  sterling  worth,  and  he  was  best  liked  where  best 
known.  Mrs.  Bruegger  has  been  a  member  of  the  school  board  of  Williston  for  the  past 
four  years  and  has  two  more  years  to  serve.  She  is  also  a  member  of  the  Kebekalis,  and 
of  the  Civic  League,  of  which  she  was  one  of  the  organizers.  Through  the  League  the  public 
library,  known  as  the  James  Memorial  Library,  was  located  and  built  at  Williston.  She  is 
a  member  of  St.  Peter's  Episcopal  cliurch  and  is  active  in  church  and  guild  work. 


ELLING  J.  SEVERSON. 


Elling  J.  Severson,  president  and  secretary  of  the  Dakota  Auto  Company  of  Grand 
Forks,  was  born  in  Norway,  December  18,  18S0,  a  son  of  John  and  Anna  Severson.  Tlie 
father  came  to  America  in  1SS5,  settling  near  Aneta,  North  Dakota,  where  he  engaged  in 
farming,  and  there  he  still  resides  at  the  age  of  eighty-tour  years,  while  his  wife  is  now 
fifty-nine  years  of  age.  They  became  the  parents  of  four  sons  and  three  daughters,  6f  whom 
Elling  J.  Severson  was  the  third  in  order  of  birth. 

After  spending  the  first  five  years  of  his  life  in  his  native  country  Elling  J.  Severson 
was  brought  by  his  parents  to  the  United  States  and  in  early  life  attended  the  public 
schools  of  North  Dakota,  while  later  he  became  a  student  in  Swengle's  Business  College  at 
Grand  Forks.  Being  thus  well  qualified  for  activity  along  commercial  linos,  he  seemed  a 
clerical  position  and  was  so  employed  for  seven  years.  He  afterward  embarked  in  merchan- 
dising on  his  own  account  at  Kloten,  North  Dakota,  where  he  remained  for  seven  years, 
while  later  he  spent  two  years  upon  the  road  as  a  traveling  salesman,  representing  a  men's 
furnishings  house.  In  .January,  1915,  he  became  connected  with  the  Dakota  Auto  Company,  of 
which  he  is  the  president  and  treasurer,  and  in  this  connection  he  has  bviilt  up  a  business 
of  substantial  and  gratifying  proportions. 

In  1906  Mr.  Severson  was  married  to  Miss  Sadie  H.  Baston  of  Carlton,  Minnesota,  a 
daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  John  Baston.  They  have  become  the  parents  of  four  children: 
Ethel  Jane,  who  was  born  at  Kloten  in  1908,  and  is  now  attending  school  in  Grand  Forks; 
Marion  Grace,  born  in  Kloten  in  1910;  Elling  Bruce,  born  in  Kloten  in  1912;  and  Gerald 
Wayne,  born  in  Grand  Forks  in  1915. 

In  his  political  views  Mr.  Severson  is  a  stalwart  republican  and  fraternally  he  is  a 
Master  Mason  and  a  Knight  of  Pythias.  Enterprise  and  diligence  have  ever  been  his  salient 
characteristics  and  by  means  of  these  qualities  he  has  worked  his  way  steadily  upward.  He 
now  occupies  an  enviable  position  in  public  regard  in  Grand  Forks,  while  in  business  circles 
he  has  made  for  himself  a  most  creditable  place. 


FRED  J.  STEFFECTC. 


Fred  J.  Stefleck,  superintendent  of  schools  in  McKenzic  county,  is  doing  pioneer  work 
in  promoting  the  educational  development  of  his  section  of  the  state  and  is  bringing  to 
bear  in  his  work  the  most  progressive  and  advanced  ideas  concerning  mod<'rn  education. 
He  makes  his  home  in  Schafer,  having  removed  to  the  county  seat  after"  his  election  to  the 
oflioe  that  he  is  now  filling.  His  birth  occurred  in  Kewaunee,  Wisconsin,  May  30,  1881, 
a  son  of  Simon  M.  and  Agnes  (Schleisc)  Steffeck.  The  father  was  born  in  Germany  and 
in  his  boyhood  accompanied  his  parents  to  America.  Subsequently  he  engaged  in  farming  on 
his  own  account  near  Oconto,  Wisconsin,  where  he  is  now  living  retired,  having  put 
aside  active   business  cares   after   long   identification   with   the  agricultural   interests   of   that 

Vol.  Ill— 19 


404  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

district.  His  wife,  who  was  born  in  (jermany  and  was  brouyiit  to  tlio  I'nited  States  in 
her  childliood  days,  passed  away  in  February,  1915. 

Fred  J.  Stefl'eck  pursued  his  early  education  in  the  district  schools  of  Oconto  county 
and  afterward  pursued  a  teacher's  course  in  the  Oshkosh  State  Normal  School,  following 
which  he  entered  upon  the  profession  of  teaching,  which  he  followed  through  the  summer 
months,  returning  to  Oshkosh  for  further  study  in  the  winter.  He  had  to  work  and  thus 
provide  the  money  necessary  for  his  education  but  finally  was  graduated  with  the  class 
of  1904  after  having  alternately  taught  and  attended  school.  He  continued  to  engage  in 
teaching  in  Oconto  county  until  190S,  when  he  entered  the  Northern  Indiana  University  at 
Valparaiso,  where  he  won  the  degree  of  Master  of  Accounts.  In  the  spring  of  l',)09  he 
went  to  Minot  as  field  deputy  superintendent  of  schools  in  Ward  county  and  there  continued 
until  the  fall  of  1910,  when  he  removed  to  McKenzie  county,  Nortli  Dakota,  and  took  up  a 
homestead  near  Berg.  There  he  taught  school  while  proving  up  on  his  homestead,  his  school 
being  fifty  miles  from  a  railroad.  In  the  spring  of  1913  he  was  nominated  for  superintendent 
of  schools  in  McKenzie  county  and  in  the  fall  of  that  year  was  elected,  assuming  the 
duties  of  the  position  on  the  1st  of  January,  1913.  In  the  following  year  he  was  reelect,ed 
and  again  on  the  7th  of  November,  191(5,  was  chosen  for  a  third  term,  his  reelection  certainly 
being  a  strong  endorsement  of  his  capability  in  ollice  and  the  confidence  reposed  in  him. 
Under  his  superintendency  the  number  of  consolidated  schools  has  been  advanced  from  one  to 
nine.  The  county  had  eighty  schools  when  he  took  charge  and  since  then  sixty-five  more 
have  been  organized,  making  a  total  of  one  hundred  and  forty-five  schools  in  the  county. 
He  has  qualified  ten  schools  to  draw  state  aid  and  has  put  McKenzie  county  No.  12  on  the 
list  of  fifty-two  counties  in  the  state  of  North  Dakota.  The  schools  over  which  lie  has 
supervision  are  far  apart,  one  of  these  being  eighty-seven  miles  from  the  county  seat.  He 
has  to  travel  one  hundred  and  twenty-five  miles,  from  one  end  of  the  county  to  the 
other,  to  visit  the  schools,  some  of  these  being  situated  far  away  in  the  "Bad  Lands."  He 
has  done  much  to  stimulate  interest  in  education  and  to  raise  the  standard  of  the  schools. 
He  has  established  the  ])upils'  industrial  contest  in  difi'erent  parts  of  the  county,  offering 
prizes  for  drawing,  for  the  best  agricultural  products  and  for  the  best  specimens  of  domestic 
science  work,  and  he  was  instrumental  in  inducing  the  county  commissioners  to  donate 
one  hundred  and  fifty  dollars  for  this  purpose.  To  make  the  work  even  more  interesting 
for  the  parents,  Mr.  Steffeck  held  prize  contests  for  farm  products  in  connection  with  the 
school  work  and  this  eventually  led  to  the  establishment  of  the  McKenzie  County  Fair  at 
Alexander. 

On  the  16th  of  February,  1915,  Professor  Steffeck  was  married  to  Jliss  Jessie  A.  Magee, 
of  Menominee,  Michigan,  who  was  born  in  Shawano  county,  Wisconsin,  near  Angelica. 
She  supplemented  lier  public  school  education  by  study  in  the  Northern  Indiana  University 
at  Valparaiso  and  afterward  taught  school  in  Oconto  county,  Wisconsin.  She  is  a  daughter 
of  John  and  Helen  (Richmond)  Magee,  the  former  a  native  of  Manitowoc  county,  Wisconsin, 
and  the  latter  of  Shawano  county.  Mr.  Magee  is  now  a  lumber  merchant  of  Gillett, 
Wisconsin. 

Professor  and  Mrs.  Steffeck  hold  membership  in  the  Roman  Catholic  clunch.  In 
politics  he  is  a  republican  and  upon  that  ticket  was  elected  to  his  present  position.  He 
still  owns  his  homestead  and  directs  its  cultivation  while  concentrating  the  greater  part 
of  his  time  and  attention  upon  his  school  duties,  in  which  connection  he  has  done  notable  and 
successful  work. 


G.  J.  McINTOSH,  M.  D. 


Dr.  G.  J.  Mcintosh,  engaged  in  the  practice  of  medicine  and  surgery  at  Devils  Lake,  where 
he  has  made  his  home  since  1907,  was  born  in  Glengarry  county,  Ontario,  on  the  12th  o-t 
August,  1877,  a  son  of  Donald  and  Margaret  (Monroe)  Mcintosh.  The  father  is  stili  living  at 
the  advanced  age  of  eighty-four  years,  while  the  mother  has  reached  tlie  age  of  seventy-six. 

Liberal  educational  privileges  were  accorded  Dr.  Mcintosh,  who  after  attending  the  graded 
and  high    schools   in   his    native   county   continued   his   education    in    the   Collegiate    Institute 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  405 

at  \iiiiklrck  Hill.  Ontario,  and  dcvoli'd  two  years  to  tlie  arts  course  in  tliat  school,  lie 
then  entered  upon  tlie  study  of  medicine  at  McGill  University  of  Montreal  and  was 
graduated  therefrom  with  the  class  of  1905.  Following  his  graduation  he  located  for  practice 
in  Wehster,  North  Dakota,  wliere  he  remained  through  I'JOo  and  1900,  anil  on  tlie  1st  of 
.Januar}',  1907,  he  opened  an  ollice  in  Devils  Lake,  where  he  has  since  successfully  practiced. 
He  was  associated  with  Dr.  Sihler  for  eight  years  and  he  enjoys  a  large  and  glowing 
practice,  continuing  active  in  the  field  of  general  medicine  and  surgery.  He  reads  broadly, 
thinks  deeply  and  keeps  in  touch  with  the  trend  of  modern  investigation  and  research. 
He  readily  discriminates  between  the  essential  and  the  non  essential  in  his  professonial 
work  and  his  labors  have  been  attended  with  excellent  results. 

On  the  25th  of  December,  1909,  Dr.  Mcintosh  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Mabel 
ColsoM.  of  Minnesota,  and  to  them  have  been  born  two  children,  Donald  and  Marion.  The 
parents  are  nienibers  of  the  I'resbyterian  church  and  guide  their  lives  according  to  its 
teachings.  I'raternally  Dr.  Jlclntosh  is  connected  with  the  Masons  and  has  attained  high 
rank  in  the  order,  as  is  indicated  by  his  meinberslii|)  in  the  Mystic  Shrine.  He  is  likewise 
connected  with  the  KIks,  of  which  he  is  a  past  e.\alted  ruler.  His  political  support  is 
given  to  the  republican  party  and  he  is  now  serving  as  a  member  of  the  state  board  of 
medical  examiners  through  ap])ointmeiit  of  (iovernor  Hanna.  He  belongs  to  the  District 
Medical  Society,  of  which  he  is  now  president,  ami  he  also  has  membership  in  the  North 
Dakota  State  Medical  .Society  and  the  American  Medical  Association.  His  interest  in 
allairs  of  general  moment  is  that  oi  a  jHiblic-spirited  citizen  but  the  greater  part  of  his 
time  and  attention  are  concentrated  u])on  his  professional  duties,  which  have  been  of 
growing  importance,  and  today,  in  connection  with  Dr.  Sililer,  he  is  conducting  the  General 
Hospital  of  Devils  Lake,  having  a  three  story  building,  well  equipped  in  every  particular. 
It  contains  forty  beds  and  they  jierform  all  kinds  of  major  and  minor  operations  and  in 
addition  make  a  specialty  of  internal  medicine  and  obstetrical  ]iractice.  Their  institution 
has  been  largely  resjionsible  for  the  establishment  of  a  high  standard  of  professional  work 
in  Devils  Lake,  for  they  kceji  in  touch  with  the  trend  of  modern  thimght  and  scientific 
investigation. 


R.  C.  DAVIS. 


R.  C.  Davis,  president  of  the  First  National  Bank  of  Helfiold,  has  long  been  prominently 
connected  with  linancial  interests  of  the  town  and  in  all  he  has  undertaken  has  been  actuated 
by  a  spirit  of  unfaltering  enterprise  and  determination.  He  was  born  in  Auburn,  New 
York,  April  27,  1873,  a  son  of  Jesse  and  Carrie  (Curtis)  Davis,  who  were  farming  people 
in  the  vicinity  of  Auburn  and  there  resided  until  1883,  when  they  removed  with  their  family 
to  Nortli  Dakota.  The  father  took  up  a  homestead  and  tree  claim  three  miles  north  of 
Lisbon,  tlie  two  tracts  adjoining,  and  he  also  bought  land  on  the  same  section.  With 
characteristic  energy  he  began  the  development  and  improvement  of  his  property  and 
continued  its  cultivation  until  he  won  a  substantial  measure  of  success,  when  he  retired 
from  active  business  life  and  removed  to  Lisbon,  where  he  still  makes  his  home.  In  their 
family  were  five  children:  W.  T.,  who  is  the  owner  of  a  fertilizer  jilant  at  Ogdenshurg, 
New  York;  R.  C:  Helen,  the  wife  of  K.  1".  Marsh,  of  Lisbon,  North  Dakota;  .1.  A.,  living  in 
Belfield:  and  Jeannie,  who  died  at  the  age  of  sixteen  years. 

R.  C.  Davis  was  a  youth  of  ten  years  when  he  came  to  North  Dakota,  after  wliich 
he  was  reared  upon  the  home  farm  near  Lisbon,  remaining  with  his  parents  until  he 
attained  his  majority.  Following  his  graduation  from  the  Lisbon  high  school  he  spent  one 
year  in  college.  When  twenty-oiu-  years  of  age  he  went  to  Faigo,  where  he  was  cmjiloyed 
as  clerk  in  a  grocery  store  for  five  years,  after  which  he  went  njion  the  road  as  a  traveling 
salesman  for  the  (iriggs-Cooper  Company  of  St.  Paul,  re])resenting  that  corporation  in  North 
Dakota  territory  for  three  years.  On  the  expiration  of  that  period  he  removed  to  Belfield, 
where  he  established  a  general  store,  which  he  conducted  until  1908.  He  then  sold  his 
business  to  J.  E.  McCabe  and  turned  his  attention  to  banking  by  purchasing  an  interest 
in   the    Belfield    State    Bank.      In    March,    1911,    he   joined    .1.    O.    Milsten    in    organizing    the 


406  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

Merchants  State  Bank,  of  which  he  became  the  president.  He  took  an  active  interest  in 
managing  and  developing  that  institution  and  in  April,  1913,  he  purchased  an  interest  in 
the  First  National  Bank  of  Belfield  and  was  elected  to  its  presidency.  He  is  still  active 
in  the  bank  and  through  the  efforts  of  Mr.  Bavi.s  and  the  other  oHicers  it  has  become  a 
strong  financial  institution,  carrying  on  a  general  banking  business  in  which  progessiveness 
is  tempered  by  a  safe  conservatism.  He  is  also  interested  in  farming  land  near  Belfield  and 
is  the  owner  of  town  property,  doing  a  considerable  real  estate  business,  whereby  his  income 
is  materially  advanced. 

In  March,  1905,  Mr.  Davis  was  married  to  Miss  Carrie  Colson,  a  native  of  Belfield,  and 
they  have  two  children,  Helen  and  Thelma.  Mr.  Davis  has  recently  retired  from  the 
office  of  president  of  the  Commercial  Club  of  Belfield,  in  which  he  did  good  work  for  his 
city.  He  is  now  a  member  of  the  school  board  and  the  cause  of  education  finds  in  him  a 
stalwart  champion.  In  fact  he  is  a  progressive  citizen,  one  who  recognizes  the  needs  and 
opportunities  of  the  city  and  does  everything  in  his  power  to  promote  the  general  welfare. 


JOHN  W.  STAMBAUGH. 


John  W.  Stambaugh,  the  well  known  and  popular  postmaster  of  Carrington,  North 
Dakota,  was  born  on  the  Gth  of  February,  1867,  and  is  a  son  of  G.  W.  and  Susan  (Wonders) 
Stambaugh,  both  natives  of  Pennsylvania.  In  early  life  the  father  was  a  veterinary 
surgeon  but  for  the  past  thirty-five  years  has  devoted  his  time  to  the  ministry,  preaching  for 
the  Brethren  church.  At  present,  however,  he  is  practically  living  retired  on  his  farm  one 
mile  north  of  Carrington,  having  removed  to  Foster  county.  North  Dakota,  in  1898.     His  wife 

is  also  living. 

During  his  boyhood  John  W.  Stambaugh  accompanied  his  parents  on  their  removal  to 
Iowa  and°later  to  Nebraska,  in  which  states  he  was  reared  and  educated.  He  learned 
the  miller's  trade,  which  he  followed  for  seven  years,  but  in  1897  he  came  to  North  Dakota 
and  purchased  land  in  Foster  county,  adjoining  the  city  limits  of  Carrington,  upon  which 
he  engaged  in  farming  for  several  years.  He  still  resides  upon  his  farm  but  he  now  rents 
his  land?  He  gave  up  agricultural  pursuits  when  appointed  postmaster  of  Carrington,  entering 
upon  the  duties  of  that  office  April  8,  1914. 

On  the  6th  of  February,  1S95,  Mr.  Stambaugh  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Anna 
J.  Plock,  and  to  them  have  been  born  six  children,  namely:  Mollie  M.,  George  W.,  Henry  H., 
.lohn  W.,  Jr.,  Grace  M.  and  David  J.,  all  at  home.  The  family  hold  membership  in  the 
Brethren' church,  and  Mr.  Stambaugh  is  also  identified  with  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd 
Fellows,  the  Homesteaders  and  the  Woodmen  of  the  World.  He  casts  his  ballot  with 
'  the  democratic  party  and  takes  a  commendable  interest  in  public  affairs.  He  has  made  a 
very  efficient  postmaster  and  is  held  in  the  highest  regard  by  all  who  know  him  and  his 
circle  of  friends  and  acquaintances  is  extensive. 


WILLIAM  RAMSAY  McMURRAY. 

William  Ramsay  McMurray,  a  hardware  merchant  of  Walhalla,  was  born  in  Pickering, 
Ontario,  Canada,  February  3,  1861,  his  parents  being  James  and  Annie  (Ramsay)  McMurray. 
The  father's  birth  occurred  on  the  same  land  where  his  son  was  born  and  where  tlie  village 
of  Granwood  now  stands,  and  the  mother  was  born  in  Ihe  village  of  Pickering.  In  fact 
both  were  reared  and  educated  in  Pickering,  and  after  attaining  man's  estate  the  father 
took  up  the  occupation  of  carpentering,  which  he  followed  in  connection  with  farming. 
In  1883  he  removed  to  Dakota  territory  and  purchased  land  in  Walsh  county,  near  Park 
Hivcr.  He  then  sent  for  his  family,  who  pined  him  in  1884,  and  he  resided  upon  his  farm 
for  ei<^ht  years.  In  1893  he  removed  to  Park  River,  where  he  made  his  home  until  1901, 
when  "he  sold  his  property  in  the  village  and  became  a  resident  of  Minneapolis,  Minnesota, 
where  he   lived  retired   until   his  death,   which   occurred   December   30,   1911,   when   he   w:is 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  407 

seventy-seven  years  of  age,  the  date  of  his  birth  having  been  April  19,  1834.  His  widow 
is  now  living  in  Duluth,  Minnesota,  at  the  age  of  seventy-three  years,  her  birth  liaving 
occurred  March  22,  1843.     In  their  family  were  nine  children,  seven  sons  and  two  daughters. 

William  Kamsay  McMurray,  the  eldest  of  this  family,  pursued  his  early  education  in 
the  village  scliools  of  U.vbridge,  Ontario,  and  after  attending  the  high  scliool  there  became  a 
student  in  tlie  Whitby  Collegiate  Institute.  AHien  his  textbooks  were  put  aside  he  began 
clerking  and  in  1884  he  turned  his  attention  to  farming,  continuing  actively  in  agricultural 
pursuits  from  that  date  until  1892.  In  1897  he  removed  to  Walhalla,  where  he  established 
a  hardware  business  which  he  has  since  conducted  along  successful  lines.  He  today  has  one 
of  the  oldest  establishments  of  the  kind  in  his  section  of  the  state  and  he  enjoys  a  good 
trade  as  the  result  of  enterprising  methods  and  honorable  dealing. 

On  the  5th  of  June,  1901,  Mr.  McMurray  was  married  to  Mrs.  Myrtle  (Van  Slyke)  Sump- 
ter,  a  daughter  of  Levi  and  Matecia  Ann  Van  Slyke,  who  in  1888  became  pioneer 
residents  of  northeastern  North  Dakota.  Five  children  have  been  bom  to  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
McMunay:  Zclla  Vern,  who  was  born  in  Walhalla,  June  22,  1902;  William  Floyd,  born 
October  2,  190.');  Ethel  Bernice,  March  22,  1905;  Annie  Beatrice,  June  29,  1907;  and  James 
Jfartin,  November  21,  1909.     All  are  now  attending  school  and  all  were  born  in  W'alhalla. 

Mr.  McMurray  exercises  his  right  of  franchise  in  support  of  the  men  and  measures  of 
the  democratic  party  and  has  served  on  the  town  board.  He  belongs  to  the  Masonic 
fraternity,  in  which  he  has  taken  the  Royal  Arch  degree,  and  he  is  also  connected  with  the 
Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows.  His  religious  faith  is  that  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal 
church,  of  which  he  is  a  loyal  and  representative  member,  doing  all  in  his  power  to  promote 
the  moral  progress  of  his  community.  Those  who  know  him  esteem  him  as  a  man  of 
sterling  worth,  a  man  whose  word  is  as  good  as  his  bond  and  whose  loyalty  in  citizenship 
is  equal  to  his  progressiveness  in  business  affairs. 


THOMAS  CASEY. 


Thomas  Case}'  has  been  one  of  the  builders  of  modern  North  Dakota,  prominently 
connected  at  different  times  with  banking  interests  and  extensively  engaged  in  dealing  in 
lands  and  loans.  At  the  present  time  he  is  concentrating  his  efforts  largely  upon  the 
conduct  of  his  farming  interests  and  makes  his  homo  in  Litchville.  He  was  born  in  Fort 
Dodge,  Iowa,  in  March,  1868,  a  son  of  John  and  Ellen  Casej'.  The  father,  a  native 
of  Ireland,  came  to  the  new  world  in  young  manhood  and  in  1854  went  to  Iowa,  easting 
in  his  lot  among  the  early  settlers  of  that  state.  He  secured  government  land  prior  to 
the  passage  of  the  homestead  act  and  there  developed  a  farm  on  which  he  resided  to  the 
time  of  his  death,  giving  his  attention  to  general  agricultural  pursuits  and  stock  raising. 
He  passed  away  at  the  comparatively  early  age  of  forty  years,  since  which  time  his  widow 
has  continued  to  reside  upon  the  farm  and  is  yet  enjoying  good  health  at  the  age  of  seventy- 
four  years.   Their  family  numbered  four  sons  and  a  daughter. 

Thomas  Casey,  who  was  the  eldest,  pursued  a  public  school  education  and  continued 
to  assist  in  the  further  development  and  improvement  of  the  home  farm  until  1886,  when 
he  arrived  in  North  Dakota,  settling  at  Buffalo.  He  then  went  to  work  on  the  Lewis  farm, 
where  he  remained  for  about  five  years,  after  which  he  obtained  a  position  in  the  First 
National  Bank  at  Buffalo,  there  remaining  also  for  five  years.  In  1896,  in  company  with 
C.  E.  Batcheller,  he  organized  the  First  National  Bank  at  Fingal,  at  which  time  there  was 
only  one  other  bank  in  Barnes  county.  Mr.  Casey  became  president  of  the  institution, 
with  Mr.  Batcheller  as  cashier,  the  two  owning  all  the  stock.  Prospering  in  this  venture, 
they  extended  their  undertakings  in  the  field  of  banking  and  in  1900  organized  the  First 
State  Bank  at  Nome  and  also  the  First  State  Bank  at  Litchville,  Mr.  Casey  becoming 
president  of  the  former  and  cashier  of  the  latter.  lie  removed  to  Litchville  the  fall  before 
the  railroad  was  completed  and  there  spent  the  winter,  continuing  to  control  the  bank 
until  1907,  when  he  disposed  of  his  stock  in  the  three  banks  at  Fingal,  Nome  and  Litch- 
ville. At  the  first  named  place  Mr.  Casey  and  Mr.  Batcheller  organzied  the  Fingal  Land  & 
Loan  Agency,  Incorporated,  and  did  an  extensive  business  in  buying  and  selling  lands  and 


408  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

placing  loans.  He  is  a  firm  lielii'ver  in  jirinter's  ink  and  ajvertisod  extensively,  which  resulted 
in  large  sales  of  farm  property.  The  firm  also  wrote  a  vast  amount  of  insurance  annuallj- 
and  in  all  their  varied  business  interests  kept  up  with  the  times.  The  partners  were 
both  self-made  men,  aggressive,  energetic  and  determined,  and  they  won  the  confidence  of 
bankers  in  the  east,  from  whom  they  always  received  ample  funds  with  which  to  make  loans. 
Mr.  Casey  now  gives  his  entire  attention  to  the  management  of  his  personal  affairs.  He  is 
the  owner  of  a  farm  of  fifteen  hundred  and  forty  acres  in  Ransom  county,  on  which  he 
has  erected  a  dairy  and  a  horse  barn  one  hundred  and  si.x  by  thirty-eight  feet  and  thirty-six. 
feet  in  height.  In  the  construction  of  tliis  barn  four  car  loads  of  cement  were  used  and  it 
is  equipped  with  iron  frames  and  fittings.  It  is  thoroughly  modern  in  every  respect  and 
has  ample  accommodations  for  forty-six  cows  and  eighty  horses.  There  are  other  thoroughly 
modern  buildings  upon  the  place,  including  a  cement  silo  flfty-two  feet  in  height  by  eighteen 
feet  in  diameter,  being  one  of  the  liigliest  in  this  section.  He  makes  a  specialty  of  liandling 
thoroughbred  Holstein  cattle,  of  which  he  has  a  fine  herd.  There  is  a  very  attractive 
residence  upon  that  farm  and  in  addition  to  his  Ransom  county  property  he  owns  three 
quarter  sections  in  Barnes  county  and  four  quarters  in  Lamoure  county,  so  that  his  holdings 
altogether  comprise  about  four  sections. 

On  the  19th  of  November.  1904.  occurred  the  marriage  of  Mr.  Casey  and  Miss  Alice 
Neill,  of  Iowa,  a  daughter  of  .1.  J.  Xeill.  and  their  children  are  Carol  and  Gladys.  Mr.  Casey 
has  alwaj'S  avoided  public  office,  although  he  takes  an  active  interest  in  public  affairs  and 
can  be  counted  upon  to  further  any  plan  or  measure  for  the  general  good.  His  attention 
is  concentrated  largely  upon  his  business  interests  and  in  the  conduct  thereof  he  has  won 
substantial  success,  while  his  honorable  methods  have  gained  him  confidence  and  respect  and 
his  social  qualities  have  won  to  him  many  warm  friends. 


GEORGE  McCLELLAN. 


George  McClellan,  a  well  known  resident  of  Beach,  who  is  devoting  his  attention  prin- 
cipally to  the  real  estate  and  farm  loan  business  but  is  also  engaged  in  farming  to  some 
extent,  was  born  in  County  Armagh,  Ireland,  September  1.  1878,  and  is  a  son  of  William  and 
Annie  (Hutchinson)  McClellan,  who  brought  their  family  to  the  United  States  in  1881  and 
located  in  Michigan.  Two  years  later,  however,  they  came  to  Dakota  territory  and  for  many 
years  lived  on  a  homestead  near  Page. 

At  the  age  of  seventeen  George  McClellan  ran  away  from  home  for  the  purpose  of  making 
his  own  way  through  school,  taking  a  freight  train  at  Colgate,  bound  for  the  northwestern  part 
of  the  state,  where  he  worked  for  one  season  as  a  farm  hand.  During  the  following  winter  he 
attended  a  business  college  at  Moorhead,  Minnesota,  where  he  pursued  a  regular  commercial 
course  and  also  took  up  stenography.  In  order  to  pay  his  expenses  he  sawed  wood  and  did  other 
work  which  he  could  obtain.  Subsequently  he  entered  a  law  office,  where  he  studied  for  a  time, 
and  was  next  in  the  employ  of  the  J.  I.  Case  Machinery  Company  at  Fargo  during  the  fall, 
while  through  the  summer  months  he  attended  school.  For  four  years  he  was  connected  with 
the  First  National  Bank  of  Fargo  in  the  collection  and  bookkeeping  departments,  and  then 
bought  a  bankrupt  stock  of  mechandise  at  Esmond,  where  he  conducted  a  store  for  two  years. 
At  the  end  of  that  time  he  sold  out  and  opened  a  real  estate  office  at  the  same  place,  remaining 
there  another  year.  He  ne.xt  opened  a  real  estate  office  at  Beach,  where  in  1908  he  erected  a 
building  and  continued  to  carry  on  business  there  and  in  the  meantime  he  was  appointed 
United  States  commissioner  for  his  district,  serving  as  such  until  1911,  when  he  was  elected  to 
the  state  legislature.  Since  that  time  Mr.  McClellan  has  been  engaged  in  the  real  estate 
business  in  Beach  and  has  made  a  specialty  of  farm  loans.  He  is  also  cultivating  land  in 
Golden  Valley  county. 

Mr.  McClellan's  parents  are  still  living  and  now  make  their  home  on  a  farm  near  Page, 
North  Dakota.  In  the  family  are  six  children,  namely:  Robert  and  Thomas,  both  on  the  home 
farm;  George,  of  this  review:  Martha:  Annie;  and  Emma,  now  the  wife  of  R.  M.  Locke, 
of  Castor,  Alberta,  Canada. 


GEORGE  McCLELLAN 


r: 


fCHK 

8RAKY 


HISTORY  OF  NORTJI  DAKOTA  411 

In  rpligious  faith  Jlr.  MeClcllaii  is  a  Presbyterian  and  he  is  a  member  of  the  Elks 
lodge  at  Glendive,  Montana.  On  attaining  his  majority  lie  became  identified  with  the 
republican  party  and  iijion  that  ticket  was  elected  to  the  state  legislature  in  lull.  Later 
he  was  appointed  chairman  of  the  state  central  committee  of  the  bull  moose  party  and  in  1U15 
was  again  elected  on  the  republican  ticket,  being  the  present  representative  from  his  district. 
He  was  also  the  first  city  auditor  for  the  city  of  Beach  and  no  trust  reposed  in  him  has  ever 
been  betrayed.  His  official  duties  have  always  been  faithfully  and  conscientiously  performed 
and  his  constituents  have  the  utmost  confidence  in  his  ability  and  trustworthiness.  The 
success  which  he  has  achieved  in  life  is  due  to  his  own  unaided  efforts  and  he  enjoys  the  proud 
American  title  of  a  self-made  man. 


REV.  PETER  McGEOUGH. 


Rev.  Peter  ildieough,  the  officiating  priest  of  the  Catholic  church  at  \\  inililedon,  was 
born  in  Ireland  in  November,  1881,  a  son  of  John  and  Anna  (McKenna)  McGeough,  who  were 
also  natives  of  the  Emerald  isle  and  there  spent  their  entire  lives.  The  father,  who  always 
engaged  in  general  farming,  died  in  1906,  but  the  mother  is  still  living  in  Ireland,  where  they 
reared  their  family  of  four  children,  all  of  whom  survive. 

Peter  McCieougli  began  his  education  in  the  public  schools  of  Ireland  and  afterward 
pursued  a  classical  course  at  St.  ilacarten's  Seminary,  Jlonaghan,  Ireland,  completing  his 
course  by  graduation  with  the  class  of  1900.  He  then  devoted  two  years  to  the  study 
of  philosophy  at  tlie  Irish  College  in  Paris,  France,  an<l  his  theological  course  was  pursued  at 
Maynooth,  Ireland,  where  he  was  ordained  to  the  priesthood  in  -June,  1907.  Assigned  to  duty 
in  the  United  States,  he  came  to  Xorth  Dakota  in  August  of  that  year  and  was  appointed 
assistant  pastor  of  the  Catholic  church  of  Jamestown  and  also  attended  the  missions  at 
Medina  and  Windsor  from  1907  until  October,  1908.  He  was  then  made  assistant  pastor 
at  the  Cathedral  in  Fargo  and  there  continued  Until  July.  1912,  at  which  time  he  went 
to  Wimbledon,  assigned  to  the  pastorate  of  the  church  there.  The  church  has  a  membership 
of  forty  families  or  about  two  hundred  and  sixty  communicants.  He  also  has  charge  of 
St.  'John's  church  at  Kensal,  with  a  membership  of  about  three  hundred.  The  organization 
at  Wimbledon  is  known  as  St.  Boniface  church.  The  work  was  there  established  in  1886, 
the  first  invested  priest  being  Father  Woeste,  who  took  charge  in  1902  and  who  was 
succeeded  by  Father  Bierens  in  1905,  the  latter  remaining  until  he  was  succeeded  by  Father 
McGeough.  The  present  church  edifice  and  priest's  residence  were  built  in  1908  at  a  cost 
of  approximately  twenty-seven  thousand  dollars. 


ERICIv  ERICKSOX. 


Erick  Erickson.  grain  merchant,  banker  and  one  of  the  extensive  landowners  of  Griggs 
county,  living  at  Cooperstown.  was  born  in  Bergen,  Norway,  on  the  20th  of  .June,  1853, 
and  was  the  youngest  of  a  family  of  three  sons  and  two  daughters.  In  185G  his  stepfather, 
Jacob  Wallen.  brought  his  family  to  the  new  world,  settling  in  Dane  coimty.  Wisconsin, 
where  he  remained  for  two  years  and  then  removed  to  Jackson  county,  wliere  he  engaged  in 
farming  throughout  his  remaining  days.  The  eldest  brother  of  Erick  Erickson  was 
Absalom  Erickson.  who  enlisted  in  ISfil  for  service  in  the  Union  army  as  a  member  of  a 
Wisconsin  cavalry  company,  with  which  he  served  until  the  close  of  the  war,  when  he  was 
honorably  discharged.  There  were  also  several  cousins  of  Erick  Erickson  who  donned  the 
blue  uniform  and  went  to  the  south  in  defense  of  the  stars  and  stripes,  but  he  was  too  young 
to  enter  the  army. 

Erick  Erickson  spent  his  boyhood  and  youth  in  Wisconsin  in  the  usual  manner  of  farm 
bred  boys  and  in  1882  he  removed  to  Nelson  county.  North  Dakota,  where  he  filed  on  a 
homestead,  which  he  occupied  and  cultivated  for  seven   years.     He  then  sold  that   property 


412  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

and  established  his  home  in  Cooperstown,  where  he  engaged  in  the  implement  business, 
which  he  conducted  successfully  for  two  years  and  then  added  thereto  a  stock  of  general 
merchandise.  He  conducted  his  store  and  machine  business  successfully  until  1906,  when  he 
sold  out  and  bought  an  implement  and  general  merchandise  business  at  Jessie,  North  Dakota, 
where  he  remained  in  business  for  two  years.  He  then  traded  his  store  for  farm  land 
and  entered  into  partnership  with  J.  G.  Thompson  and  Oliver  Hutf  for  the  conduct  of  a  general 
store  at  Sutton,  a  newly  established  town.  Still  further  broadening  the  scope  of  his  activities, 
Mr.  Erickson  became  interested  in  the  Citizens  State  Bank  of  Sutton  and  yet  remains  one  of 
its  stockholders.  When  in  Jessie  he  became  connected  with  the  State  Bank  of  that  place  and 
also  continues  to  hold  his  stock  in  that  institution,  while  in  the  State  Bank  of  Cooperstown  he 
has  been  a  stockholder  from  the  beginning  and  is  now  its  vice  president.  He  continued  in 
active  business  at  Sutton  for  two  years,  when  he  traded  his  interest  in  the  store  for  farm 
land  and  in  1912  he  purchased  an  elevator  at  Cooperstown,  which  he  conducts  under  the 
style  of  the  Erickson  Company.  He  is  a  stockholder  in  several  farmers'  elevators  and  is  thus 
actively  and  prominently  connected  with  the  grain  trade.  From  time  to  time  he  has  made 
judicious  investments  in  property  and  is  now  the  owner  of  twenty-five  hundred  acres  of 
farm  land,  mostly  in  Griggs  county,  the  greater  part  of  which  he  rents.  He  gives  personal 
attention,  however,  to  the  management  of  his  farms  and  he  also  acts  as  agent  for  the  J.  I.  Case 
Threshing  Machine  Company,  handling  its  output  at  Cooperstown. 

In  January,  1884,  Mr.  Erickson  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Isabella  Tvetaken,  a 
native  of  Norway,  and  they  have  a  son  and  a  daughter,  Edwin  0.  and  Myrtle  S.  The  latter 
is  at  home  but  the  son  married  Miss  Clara  Hammer  and  is  now  engaged  in  farming. 

Mr.  Erickson  is  identified  with  the  Sons  of  Norway  and  with  the  blue  lodge  of  Masons 
and  he  is  interested  in  the  Masonic  Temple  Association,  which  is  now  erecting  in  Coopers- 
town a  thirty-five  thousand  dollar  building  for  Masonic  purposes  exclusively.  He  is  ever 
interested  in  the  welfare  and  progress  of  his  community  and  for  four  years  while  on  the  farm 
he  filled  the  office  of  assessor,  but  he  does  not  seek  nor  desire  political  preferment  as  he 
feels  that  his  time  is  fully  occupied  with  his  business  affairs  and  that  he  can  best  fiu-ther  the 
public  welfare  by  advancing  the  material  development  of  town  and  county,  for  after  all  it 
is  not  so  much  the  machinery  of  government  nor  even  the  men  who  occupy  the  public 
offices  upon  which  rest  the  stability  and  upbuilding  of  a  community  as  upon  its  well  conducted 
legitimate  business  enterprises. 


WILLIAM  McMURCHIE. 


William  McMurchie,  states  attorney  of  Pembina  county,  living  in  Cavalier,  was  born  in 
York  county,  Ontario,  Canada,  June  24,  1859,  a  son  of  James  and  Mary  (McMillan)  McMurchie, 
both  of  whom  were  natives  of  Scotland  but  in  early  life  became  residents  of  Canada,  where 
they  spent  their  remaining  days.  The  father  there  engaged  in  farming  until  his  death, 
which  occurred  in  1881,  when  he  had  reached  the  age  of  eighty-five  years.  His  wife  passed 
away  in  1891,  at  the  age  of  seventy-six  years,  having  survived  him  for  a  decade.  They  were 
the  parents  of  a  notable  family  of  twenty  children. 

William  McMurchie,  the  fourteenth  in  order  of  birth,  attended  the  country  schools  and 
afterward  took  up  the  profession  of  teaching  but  later,  desirous  of  improving  his  own 
education,  entered  upon  a  literary  course  in  the  University  of  Toronto.  He  came  to  North 
Dakota  in  1886,  settling  in  Pembina  county,  and  for  one  year  taught  school  in  St.  Thomas. 
While  thus  engaged  he  took  up  the  study  of  law  and  later  was  admitted  to  the  bar  in  1889. 
He  then  opened  an  office  in  St.  Thomas,  where  he  remained  in  active  practice  until  1912,  when 
he  removed  to  Cavalier.  Through  the  intervening  period  he  has  been  engaged  in  the  practice 
of  law  in  Cavalier  and  his  ability  has  brought  him  prominently  to  the  front.  In  1910  he 
was  elected  states  attorney  and  reelection  has  continued  him  in  the  position  to  the  present 
time. 

On  the  21st  of  September,  1891,  Mr.  McMurchie  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Mariette 
Smith,  a  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Daniel  Smith,  of  Potsdam,  New  York.  She  passed  away 
February  10,  1906,  leaving  three  children.     Pliny  Smith,  who  was  born   in   St.  Thomas  in 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  413 

1892,  was  graduated  from  the  high  scliool  and  is  now  manager  for  the  Quaker  Oats  Company 
at  Vancouver,  British  Columbia.  William  E.,  born  in  St.  Thomas  in  1894,  and  Charles  J., 
born  in  1897,  are  now  with  their  father. 

Mr.  MeMurchie  is  actively  interested  in  agricultural  pursuits,  deriving  therefrom  a 
substantial  income.  In  his  profession,  too,  he  is  making  steady  progress  and  he  belongs  to 
both  the  Count}'  and  State  Bar  Associations,  enjoying  the  respect  and  goodwill  of  his  col- 
leagues and  contemporaries  in  practice.  His  advancement  is  due  entirely  to  his  own  eiforts 
and  ability.  Taking  up  the  profession  of  teacliing  when  eighteen  years  of  age,  he  afterward 
rcturneil  to  school,  meeting  the  expenses  of  his  university  course  with  the  money  which  he 
had  earned  in  the  schoolroom.  He  is  always  approachable,  always  genial  and  courteous  and 
the  salient  traits  of  his  character  are  such  as  win  for  him  high  regard. 


EDWIN  C.  RUBLE. 


Edwin  C.  Ruble,  engaged  in  the  real  estate,  law  and  loan  business  in  Driseoll,  was  born 
in  Minnesota  in  December,  18T7.  His  father,  Ole  E.  Ruble,  a  native  of  Wisconsin,  became 
a  pioneer  settler  of  central  Minnesota,  where  he  arrived  in  1870.  He  then  homesteaded  and 
largely  concentrated  his  energies  upon  cattle  raising,  bringing  into  that  part  of  the  country 
the  first  herd  of  cattle  there  introduced.  He  began  raising  full  blooded  Holstein  cattle  and 
also  high  grade  hogs  and  in  addition  he  carried  on  general  farming.  He  remained  upon 
that  place  until  1902,  when  he  removed  to  Willmar,  Minnesota,  where  he  lived  a  retired 
life.  He  owned  much  land  and  also  business  property  in  Willmar  and  was  engaged  in  no 
business  save  the  supervision  of  his  property  holdings.  He  married  Lina  Benson,  a  native  of 
Minnesota,  in  which  state  she  was  also  reared.  They  had  four  children,  all  of  whom  are 
yet  living.     The  father,  however,  passed  away  in  1913.  while  the  mother  still  survives. 

Edwin  C.  Ruble,  the  second  in  order  of  birth  in  his  father's  family,  attended  the  public 
schools  and  the  Willmar  Business  College.  He  completed  his  course  in  the  Minnesota  State 
University  in  Minneapolis,  from  which  he  was  graduated  and  which  in  1904  conferred  upon 
him  the  Doctor  of  Laws  degree.  For  a  time  he  engaged  in  the  practice  of  law  at  Willmar, 
ilinnesota,  but  in  1905  came  to  Xorth  Dakota,  settling  at  Driseoll,  where  he  established  a 
law  office  and  also  began  dealing  in  real  estate.  He  is  the  only  practicing  attorney  in 
Burleigh  county  outside  of  Bismarck  and  he  does  a  good  business  in  the  p!(th  of  his 
profession,  while  he  has  also  gained  a  good  clientage  in  real  estate  and  loans.  While  in 
college  was  a  classmate  of  U.  L.  Burdick,  who  two  years  ago  was  a  candidate  for 
governor  of  North  Dakota  on  the  progressive  ticket.  One  of  Mr.  Ruble's  chief  interests  in 
a  business  way  is  farming,  he  having  probably  more  land  under  cultivation  than  any  other 
man  residing  in  this  part  of  the  country.  He  uses  the  most  modern  means  and  scientific 
methods  in  farming  and  his  place  is  a  splendid  example  of  what  can  be  accomplished  by 
so  doing.  His  farm  constitutes  one  of  the  most  attractive  features  of  the  landscape  with 
its  s]ilendid  equipment.  In  his  office,  in  addition  to  his  law  practice,  he  specializes  in 
handling  both  town  and  country  real  estate.  He  buys  undeveloped  land  which  he  breaks 
and  cultivates,  transforming  it  into  modern  farm  property,  after  which  he  sells.  In  this 
way  he  has  done  much  toward  the  upbuilding  and  development  of  North  Dakota  farm  land, 
particularlj'  in  his  part  of  the  state. 

In  1908  Mr.  Ruble  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Edith  .June  Sjoberg.  a  native  of 
Duluth,  Minnesota,  and  a  lady  of  liberal  education,  having  been  graduated  from  the  Minnesota 
.■^tate  University  in  the  class  of  1904.  She  is  a  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Herman  Sjoberg, 
the  former  a  prominent  political  leader  and  also  a  grain  dealer  and  state  g'-ain  inspector 
to  the  time  of  his  death.  His  widow  still  survives.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Ruble  have  become  parents 
of  two  sons,  Earl  H.  and  Kenneth  D.  Mrs.  Ruble  was  a  capable  teacher  prior  to  her 
marriage  and  for  a  period  of  four  years  was  principal  of  the  high  school  at  Renville, 
Minnesota. 

In  politics  Mr.  Ruble  is  a  republican.  He  belongs  to  the  Woodmen  camp  at  Driseoll, 
in  which  he  has  passed  through  all  the  chairs,  and  his  religious  faith  is  indicated  by  his 
membership  in  the  Norwegian  Lutheran  church  of  Driseoll.  In  all  that  he  does  he  is  actuated 


414  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

by  the  spirit  of  progress  and  enterprise.  In  1907  he  was  appointed  United  States  com- 
missioner, an  office  which  lie  is  still  tilling.  Mr.  Ruble  is  greatly  interested  in  the  subject 
of  planting  and  developing  trees  in  this  part  of  the  country  and  is  putting  forth  earnest 
efforts  to  educate  the  farmers  of  the  coinmunitj'  to  that  course.  His  work  in  this  direction 
has  been  productive  of  good  results  and  adds  much  to  the  beauty  and  value  of  property. 
He  is  now  engaged  in  the  cultivation  of  a  nursery,  in  which  he  is  meeting  with  excellent 
success,  proving  that  trees  can  be  raised  on  the  North  Dakota  plains.  He  is  the  owner  of 
much  town  property  as  well  as  farm  property,  the  latter  amounting  to  eighteen  hundred 
acres.  He  Iiires  men  to  till  his  land,  renting  very  little  of  it,  and  thus  he  is  able  to  secure  the 
adoption  of  hi.s  own  ideas  regarding  farming.  While  working  toward  high  ideals  he  uses 
the  most  practical  methods  and  the  results  of  his  labors  are  manifest  in  his  growing  success. 


\\7LLrAiI  W.  KELTNER. 


William  W.  Keltner,  who  is  successfully  engaged  in  agricultural  pursuits  in  Judson 
township.  Williams  county.  North  Dakota,  was  born  on  the  11th  of  March,  1863,  near 
Lanark,  Carroll  county,  Hlinois,  his  parents  being  Henrj'  and  Catherine  I.  (Eisenbise) 
Keltner.  The  father  was  a  native  of  Troy,  Ohio,  where  he  remained  until  reaching  man- 
hood, and  then  went  to  South  Bend,  Indiana,  but  in  1840  removed  to  Carroll  county,  Illi- 
nois, where  he  was  engaged  in  farming  for  many  years.  At  length  he  retired  from  active 
labor  and  removed  to  Pearl  City,  Illinois,  where  he  passed  away  at  the  ripe  old  age  of 
eighty-six  years.  His  wife,  who  is  still  living  is  eighty- four  years  old  and  is  a  native  of 
South  Bend,  Indiana,  where  their  marriage  was  celebrated. 

William  W.  Keltner  spent  the  first  eiglit  years  of  his  life  in  his  native  county  and  then 
accompanied  his  parents  on  their  removal  to  Jo  Daviess  county,  Illinois,  where  after  com- 
pleting his  education  he  aided  his  father  in  tlie  operation  of  the  home  farm  until  twenty- 
five  years  of  age.  He  then  removed  to  Stephenson  county,  the  same  state,  where  lie 
followed  farming  until  1903,  which  year  witnessed  his  arrival  in  Williams  county.  North 
Dakota.  He  took  up  a  homestead  in  .ludson  township,  where  he  still  continues  to  reside, 
and  is  now  the  owner  of  three  quarter  sections  of  land,  upon  which  he  is  engaged  in  general 
farming  and  the  raising  of  shorthorn  cattle.  He  assisted  in  organizing  the  Williston  Cream- 
cry  &  Produce  Company,  of  which  he  is  still  a  stockholder,  and  was  its  first  president. 
Mr.  Keltner  also  aided  in  the  organization  of  the  Farmers  Elevator  Company  of  Williston, 
of  which  lie  has  been  vice  president  and  in  which  he  is  still  interested,  and  he  was  one  of 
tlie  organizers  and  has  been  president  of  the  Farmers  Telephone  Company  since  its  organi- 
zation in  1907.  For  the  past  ten  years  he  has  done  an  extensive  business  as  an  auctioneer, 
crying  many  sales  throughout  this  section  of  the  state  and  selling  in  this  way  over  a  half 
million  dollars  worth  of  farm  products. 

On  the  24th  of  January,  1889,  at  Nora,  .lo  Daviess  county,  Illinois,  Mr.  Keltner  mar- 
ried Miss  Emily  J.  Albright,  who  was  born  near  Lena,  Stephenson  county,  that  state, 
where  she  was  reared  and  educated.  Her  parents,  Jacob  and  Mattie  (Ervin)  Albright, 
were  both  natives  of  Ohio  and  are  now  deceased.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Keltner  became  the  parents 
of  three  sons.  Elson  A.,  born  in  Loran,  Stephenson  county,  Illinois,  February  24.  1891,  died 
on  the  2d  of  the  following  September.  Stanley  D.,  born  at  the  same  place,  June  25,  1892, 
was  educated  at  Mount  Morris  College.  Mount  Morris.  Illinois,  and  is  now  at  home.  Allen  S., 
born  September  5,  1896,  near  Lena,  Stephenson  county,  Illinois,  in  the  same  house  where 
his  mother's  birth  occurred,  was  also  educated  at  Mount  Morris  College.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Keltner 
are  now  rearing  two  children,  Goldie  and  Marion  Joyce,  the  former  aged  twelve  years  and 
the  latter  eight.  After  the  death  of  their  mother,  who  was  a  neighbor  of  the  Keltners,  they 
went  to  live  with  our  subject. 

In  politics  Mr.  Keltner  is  a  democrat  but  at  local  elections  he  supports  the  men  whom 
he  believes  best  qualified  to  fill  the  offices  regardless  of  party  afiiliations.  He  has  often 
been  solicited  by  his  friends  to  run  for  the  legislature  but  has  always  declined.  He  assisted 
in  organizing  the  school  board  in  his  township  and  is  a  member  of  the  same,  doing  all  in 
his  power  to  advance  the  educational  and  moral  welfare  of  his  community.     He  is  a  local 


WILLIAM  \A-.  KELTNER 


r 


K  1- 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  417 

minister  of  tlie  nrctliicii  <ir  l>iiiik:inl  clmnli,  piciuliing  in  a  cliunli  nine  miles  west  of  Willis- 
ton.  His  upiiylit,  lionorablc  life  has  roiiiiiKMidcci  liiiii  to  tlie  contidonce  of  all  witli  whom 
he  has  been  bi'oui;ht  in  contact  eitlier  in  a  business  or  social  way  and  it  is  safe  to  say  that 
no    man    in   .hidson    township    is   held    in   liiglier  re<;aril. 


W.  .1.  KKD.MONI). 


W.  .1.  lii'dniond,  pro|irict(M'  of  a  uara<;e  at  Devils  l.aki>  and  a^'cnt  Uir  ^<•vclal  Midi  known 
antomobile  mannfactories.  was  born  in  Hnniboldt  coinity,  luwa,  on  the  5th  of  Felnuaiy, 
]SS:i,  a  son  of  Matthew  and  Anna   (Harnablei    Kedmond.  the  latter  now  deceased. 

After  acqnirinf;  a  pnblic  school  edncation  W.  1.  IJidmond  entered  upon  his  business 
career  as  a  clerk,  bein<j  employed  in  connection  with  various  places.  He  then  removed  to 
the  west  in  1!)02.  becoming  a  resident  of  Devils  l>iike.  where  he  secured  a  clerkship  in 
a  dry  ^oods  and  grocery  store.  He  afterward  turned  his  attention  to  the  livery  business, 
which  he  carried  on  from  1906  until  1911.  In  the  latter  year  he  began  selling  cars  for  the 
Horton  ilotor  Company  and  he  now  handles  the  Cadillac  and  Paige  cars,  having  the 
agency  foi-  five  counties.  He  ha>  developed  a  large  business  in  this  connection  and  his 
patronage  is  steadily  increasing  as  the  motor  car  comes  more  and  more  generally  into 
use.  He  also  has  a  well  eciuipped  garage,  in  which  he  does  all  kinds  of  repair  work  and 
handles  all  kinds  of  automobile  su|)plies. 

On  the  24tli  of  l-ieijtember,  liUO,  Mr.  Redmond  was  tinited  in  marriage  to  Miss  Anna 
M.  Cadigan  and  to  tliem  has  been  born  a  son,  William  Matthew.  The  ndigious  faith  of  the 
family  is  that  of  the  Catholic  church  and  ilr.  Redmond  is  identified  with  the  Henevoh-nt 
Protective  Order  of  Elks  and  the  Ancient  Order  of  United  Workmen.  His  political  support 
is  given  to  the  progressive  party.  He  is  accounted  one  of  the  valued  cittizens  of  his 
community  and  has  shown  a  commendable  interest  in  the  welfare  and  progress  of  city  and 
state,  at  all  times  championing  thosi  things  which  are  of  greatest  vaUie  in  the  development 
of  the  commonwealth. 


WENDELL  HOMER   LIKWELL. 

Wendell  Ilonicr  Linwell.  a  man  of  forceful  and  resourceful  business  ability  whose  enter- 
prise and  progi-essiveness  have  carried  him  into  important  relations,  is  now  general  manager 
of  the  Linwell  Company,  with  headquarters  at  Ray.  He  was  born  near  Petersburg,  Nelson 
lounty.  North  Dakota,  August  28,  1887,  a  son  of  Martin  Victor  and  Anna  (Paulson)  Linwell, 
both  natives  of  Minnesota.  The  father  is  now  living  at  Northwood,  (Jrand  Forks  county, 
where  he  has  retired  from  business.  He  has  long  been  a  prominent  and  influential  resident 
of  his  section  of  the  state,  with  farreaching  and  important  interests  that  have  made  his 
life  work  an  element  in  public  progress  and  developnu-nt  in  the  (Irand  Forks  district. 

It  was  at  Northwood  that  Wendell  If.  Linwell  was  reared  and  there  attended  school. 
Later  he  entered  the  L'niversity  of  North  Dakota,  from  which  he  was  graduated  with  the 
Bachelor  of  Arts  degree  in  the  class  of  1908,  He  had  also  taken  up  the  study  of  law  and 
was  graduated  with  the  LL.  B.  degree  in  1909,  The  same  year  he  took  up  his  abode  in 
Hay  and  became  associated  with  the  Linwell  C<unpauy,  which  owns  and  operates  a  large 
department  store,  a  lumber  yard  and  the  Linwell  State  Bank  and  also  has  three  other 
lumber  yanls  in  other  towns.  W.  H,  Linwell  is  now  general  manager  of  the  company  and 
vice  president  of  the  bank  and  he  is  also  secretary  and  treasurer  of  the  company.  He  is 
a  man  of  farsighted  business  judgment,  seldom,  if  ever,  at  fault  in  foreseeing  the  possibilities 
of  a  situation,  and  his  determination  and  energy  have  enabled  him  to  overcome  all  difliculties 
and  obstacles  in  his  path.  In  addition  to  his  financial  and  commercial  interests  he  has 
extensive  investments  in  agricultural  lands. 

On  the  28th  of  .June,  1911,  at  (irand  Forks,  North  Dakota.  Mr.  Linwell  was  united  in 
marriage  to  Miss  Zella  Shephard,  a  native  of  this  state  and  a  daughter  of  Robert  and  Xcllie 


418  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

(Spink)  Shephard,  natives  of  Canada  and  Scotland  respectively.  The  mother  is  now  deceased, 
but  the  father,  who  became  an  early  settler  of  North  Dakota,  is  now  living  retired  in 
California.  Mrs.  Linwell  was  educated  in  the  high  school  at  Grand  Forks  and  by  her 
marriage  has  become  the  mother  of  two  children:  Martin  Victor,  Jr.,  born  at  Ray,  North 
Dakota,  March  15,  1912;  and  Margaret  Elaine,  whose  birth  occurred  at  Ray  on  the  19th  of 
December,   1914. 

Politically  Mr.  Linwell  is  a  republican  and  is  now  filling  the  office  of  city  commissioner 
of  Ray.  He  is  identified  with  several  fraternal  organizations,  being  a  charter  member  of 
Ray  Lodge,  F.  &  A.  M.,  of  which  he  was  secretary  for  two  years,  the  Elks  lodge,  No.  1089, 
at  Minot,  the  Knights  of  Pythias  and  the  Odd  Fellows  lodges  at  Ray.  He  is  also  identified 
with  the  Sigma  Clii,  a  college  fraternity.  His  social  qualities  render  him  popular  wherever 
he  is  known,  while  his  business  ability  constitutes  a  notable  force  in  the  development  of 
the  districts  in  which  he  operates.  He  possesses  in  large  measure  the  spirit  of  initiative 
and  recognizes  and  utilizes  opportunities  which  others  pass  heedlessly  by.  Efficiency  is  his 
watchword  in  business  and  his  methods  are  thoroughly  up-to-date.  His  activities  are  at  all 
times  well  planned  and  carefully  executed  and  hi.s  ramifying  interests  now  cover  a  broad 
territory  and  are  of  that  character  which  contribute  to  public  advancement  and  prosperity 
as  well  as  to  individual  success. 


REV.  MARTIN  TEIGEN. 


Rev.  Martin  Teigen,  manager  of  the  Farmers  elevator  at  Kramer,  is  one  of  the  repre- 
sentative citizens  that  ilinnesota  has  furnished  to  North  Dakota.  He  was  born  in  Blue 
Earth  county  in  the  former  state,  January  15,  1872,  a  son  of  Ole  L.  and  Brita  (Brekke) 
Teigen,. both  of  whom  were  natives  of  Norway,  where  they  were  reared  and  married  and 
resided  until  after  the  birth  of  three  of  their  children.  They  came  to  America  immediately 
following  the  Civil  war  and  established  their  home  in  Blue  Earth  county,  Minnesota,  where 
the  father  purchased  one  hundred  and  twenty  acres  of  land  on  the  bank  of  the  Little 
Cob  river.  There  the  family  resided  until  1879,  when  they  removed  to  Jackson  county  and 
he  purchased  two  hundred  acres  on  the  Des  Moines  river.  There  he  carried  on  farming 
until  his  death,  which  occurred  in  1908,  while  his  widow  survived  until  1913. 

After  attending  public  schools  Martin  Teigen  became  a  pupil  in  the  Luther  College 
at  Decorah,  Iowa,  and  later  matriculated  in  the  University  of  Minnesota,  where  he  played 
for  two  years  on  the  football  team.  Having  determined  to  prepare  for  the  ministry,  he 
next  entered  the  Luther  Theological  Seminary  at  Hamline,  Minnesota,  from  which  institution 
he  was  graduated  with  the  class  of  1900.  He  was  then  ordained  to  the  ministry  and  in 
July  of  the  same  year  removed  to  Souris,  Bottineau  county.  In  that  section  of  the  state 
he  organized  twelve  different  congregations,  covering  a  wide  circuit  in  his  ministerial  work, 
preaching  to  sixteen  different  congregations.  In  the  fall  of  1900  he  filed  on  a  homestead 
one  mile  south  of  the  present  town  of  Roth,  on  which  he  located  and  lived  for  two  years.  He 
continued  active  in  the  ministry  in  Bottineau  county  until  1910,  when  he  accepted  a  call 
from  a  church  in  Max,  McLean  county,  and  filled  the  pulpit  there  for  three  years,  at  the  end 
of  which  time  failing  health  forced  him  to  resign  and  he  returned  to  his  farm  in  Bottineau 
county,  where  he  resided  for  two  years.  In  1915  he  located  in  Kramer  and  accepted  the 
management  of  the  Farmers  elevator,  in  which  capacity  he  has  since  continued,  making  for 
himself  a  creditable  place  in  the  business  circles  of  that  locality.  As  time  has  passed  he 
has  improved  his  opportunities  for  making  judicious  investments  in  property  and  is  now 
the  owner  of  nine  hundred  and  sixty  acres  of  land  in  Bottineau  and  Ward  counties  and  in 
northern  ^Minnesota.  From  his  farms  he  derives  a  substantial  annual  income  and  through 
his  investments  he  has  contributed  to  the  agricultural  development  of  the  state.  In  1915 
he  was  instrumental  in  organizing  the  Farmers  Bank  of  Newburg,  of  which  he  is  vice 
president. 

In  1906  Rev.  Teigen  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  MathUda  Wollan,  of  Starbuck, 
Minnesota,  by  whom  he  has  five  children,  namely:  Erling  T.,  Bjarne  W.,  Thorald  N., 
Gudrun  I.  and  Ingolf  O. 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  419 

In  politics  Mr.  Teigen  is  a  democrat  and  in  1914  was  the  candidate  of  his  party  for 
the  state  legislature  but  failed  of  election.  His  fellow  townsmen  entertain  for  him  the 
highest  respect,  recognizing  in  him  a  man  whom  to  know  is  to  esteem  and  honor.  His  life, 
ever  actuated  by  high  principles,  has  made  his  influence  a  force  for  good  in  the  communities 
in  which  he  has  lived  and  labored,  and  while  working  toward  high  ideals  he  has  used  most 
practical  methods. 


REV.  LUCIEN  LAGANIERE. 


Kev.  Lucien  Laganiere,  pastor  of  the  Roman  Catholic  church  at  Neche,  was  born  at 
Champlain,  in  the  province  of  Quebec,  Canada,  March  28,  1868,  a  son  of  Louis  Laganiere, 
who  is  a  native  of  that  country  and  a  representative  of  one  of  its  old  families.  The  founder 
of  tlie  Canadian  branch  of  the  family  was  Louis  Hamelin  de  Laganiere,  who  arrived  at 
Montreal  in  1678  and  was  one  of  the  original  settlers  there.  He  was  an  oflicer  of  the 
French  army,  holding  the  rank  of  captain,  and  he  became  a  large  landowner,  receiving 
various  grants  from  the  French  government  made  by  King  Louis  XIV.  After  Canada  ceased 
to  be  a  French  province  he  retired  to  his  lands,  while  his  children  scattered  all  over  Canada 
and  were  among  the  discoverers  and  explorers  of  the  Canadian  northwest.  Among  the  rep- 
resentatives of  the  family  were  Senator  Solomon  Hamelin  and  Joseph  Hamelin,  the  latter 
now  a  member  of  the  Canadian  parliament   from   Manitoba. 

Louis  Laganiere  became  a  successful  farmer  of  Champlain,  where  he  is  still  living  at  the 
advanced  age  of  eighty-one  years.  He  has  retired  from  business  cares  and  is  now  enjoying 
the  fruits  of  a  well  spent  life,  making  his  home  with  his  son,  Ludger  Ijaganiere,  of  Champlain. 
He  married  Olive  Bailly,  a  native  of  Champlain  and  a  representative  of  an  old  Canadian 
family  of  French  descent.  She  is  descended  from  Carpentier  de  Bailly,  who  came  from 
France  in  1680,  and  he  and  his  descendants  were  officers  in  the  army  and  also  became  large 
landowners  and  people  of  wealth.  Mrs.  Laganiere  passed  away  in  1900,  at  the  age  of  sixty- 
six  years.  She  had  become  the  mother  of  eight  children,  of  whom  the  Rev.  Lucien  Laganiere 
was  the  fourth  in  order  of  birth. 

Spending  his  early  youth  in  his  father's  home.  Rev.  Laganiere  attended  the  parochial 
schools  of  Champlain  and  when  a  youth  of  thirteen  entered  the  Three  Rivers  College  for 
his  classical  education.  He  was  afterward  graduated  from  the  University  of  Ottawa  after 
having  prepared  for  the  priesthood  and  in  1892  was  ordained  in  Ottawa  by  Archbishop 
Duhamel.  He  then  took  up  active  duties  as  a  professor  in  the  University  of  Ottawa,  where 
he  remained  fpr  three  years,  after  which  he  became  a  missionary  preacher  and  so  labored 
until  1912.  He  was  then  assigned  to  duty  as  pastor  of  St.  Nereus  church  in  Neche,  where 
he  has  since  remained.  This  church  was  organized  in  1883  as  a  mission  and  as  such  was 
in  charge  of  Father  Bonin  and  Father  Genin.  founders  of  the  church.  There  are  now 
one  hundred  families  in  the  Neche  and  Bathgate  parishes,  of  which  Father  Laganiere  has 
charge,  and  the  church  is  making  continuous  progress  under  his  guidance.  He  belongs  to  the 
Knights  of  Columbus  and  is  interested  in  all  those  things  which  pertain  to  the  welfare  of 
his  people. 


OLE   K.   WAXVIK. 


Ole  K.  Waxvik,  a  merchant  tailor  of  Grand  Forks,  was  born  in  the  province  of  Siind- 
more,  Norway,  August  31,  1863,  a  son  of  Knud  Knudsen,  who  was  also  a  native  of  Norway, 
where  he  spent  his  entire  life.  He  was  active  in  civic  affairs  of  his  community  and  held 
various  political  offices,  ranking  with  the  most  prominent  and  influential  citizens  of  tire 
district  in  which  he  lived.  He  married  Karen  Oldstader.  a  native  of  Norway,  who  is  now 
living  with  a  son  at  the  old  home  in  that  country  at  the  age  of  seventy-seven  years,  but 
Mr.  Waxvik  passed  away  in  1911  at  the  age  of  eighty-two  years.  They  were  the  parents 
of  eight  children. 

Ole  K.  Waxvik.  the  third  in  order  of  birth,  was  educated  in  the  schools  of  his  native 


420  HISTORY  OF  N'ORTH  DAKOTA 

land  to  the  age  of  fifteen  yf'H's,  when  he  started  out  to  earn  his  liveliliood.  Up  to  that 
time  he  had  remained  upon  tlie  home  farm  and  liad  assisted  largely  in  its  further  development 
and  cultivation.  Later  he  was  apprenticed  to  the  merchant  tailor's  trade,  serving  a  term 
of  indenture  for  three  years  and  later  working  at  the  trade  as  a  journeyman.  Subsequently 
he  engaged  in  business  on  his  own  account  in  a  place  called  Waxvik  for  three  years  and 
in  1886  he  sailed  for  America.  He  did  not  tarry  on  the  Atlantic  coast  but  made  his  way 
at  once  to  North  Dakota,  settling  at  Mayville,  Traill  county.  In  the  spring  of  1S8S  he 
removed  to  (irand  Forks  and  after  a  brief  period  secured  a  position  with  Gulick  Peterson, 
a  pioneer  tailor,  with  whom  he  remained  for  about  nine  months.  Later  he  entered  the 
service  of  John  J.  McCallum,  also  a  merchant  tailor  of  the  city,  and  in  1896,  in  connection 
with  Mr.  McCallum  and  H.  Langord  formed  the  Grand  Forks  Tailoring  Company,  establish- 
ing the  largest  business  of  its  kind  in  the  city.  Their  interests  were  conducted  successfully 
for  three  and  a  half  years,  at  the  end  of  which  time  Mr.  McCallum  died  and  the  other 
partners  took  over  his  interest  in  the  business,  which  they  carried  on  until  March,  1915, 
when  Mr.  Langord  also  passed  away.  Mr.  Waxvik  then  purchased  his  interest  in  the  business 
and  has  since  been  sole  proprietor.  His  is  today  the  second  oldest  niei chant  tailoring  estab- 
lishment in  (irand  Forks  and  his  trade  is  equaled  by  few  in  that  line  in  the  city.  He  con- 
ducts his  establishment  at  No.  9  South  Fourth  street,  where  he  has  been  located  since  1911. 
His  work  is  of  the  highest  grade  and  his  business  has  brought  to  him  well  deserved  success, 
resulting  from  his  close  application,  his  excellent  workmanship,  his  reliable  methods  and 
his  reasonable  prices.  He  also  owns  considerable  farm  property  in  western  Minnesota  and 
likewise  has  city  property,  including  his  home  at  No.  420  Cottonwood  street  and  the  building 
in  which  his  store   is   located. 

On  the  1st  of  November,  1891,  at  Grand  Forks  ili'.  Waxvik  was  united  in  marriage  to 
Miss  Mary  Anderson,  a  native  of  Wisconsin  and  a  daughter  of  Anders  Eust  and  Ragnel 
Nelson,  who  were  natives  of  Norway  and  became  early  settlers  of  Wisconsin.  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
Waxvik  have  had  twelve  children,  eleven  of  whom  are  yet  living,  the  second  son,  Rudolph, 
having  passed  away.  The  others  are:  Karl,  Johan,  Oscar,  Clara,  Helen,  Mildred,  Neal,  Stella, 
Ruth,  Eudulpli  and  Esther.  All  of  the  children  were  born  on  Cottonwood  street,  in  Grand 
Forks. 

In  ])olitics  Mr.  Waxvik  maintains  an  independent  course,  sup|iorting  men  and  measures 
rather  than  part}'.  He  is  a  prominent  Mason,  having  attained  the  thirty-second  degree  of 
the  Scottish  Rite,  while  with  the  Nobles  of  the  Mystic  Shrine  he  has  crossed  the  Sands  of  the 
desert.  He  likewise  belongs  to  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows  and  the  Sons  of 
Norway  and  is  a  valued  and  helpful  member  of  the  Commercial  Club.  Although  he  started 
out  in  the  business  world  a  poor  boy  he  has  won  the  success  which  follows  earnest  and 
honorable  effort  and  is  today  more  than  satisfied  with  North  Dakota  as  a  place  of  residence, 
expecting  always  to  make  his  home  here. 


THOMAS  GEORGE  K  ELLINGTON. 

Thomas  George  Kellington,  president  and  manager  of  the  New  Rockford  Milling  Company 
at  New  Rockford,  North  Dakota,  was  born  December  10,  1863,  in  Ontario,  Canada,  and  is  a  son 
of  Richard  and  Mary  (Weeks)  Kellington,  natives  of  England.  About  1850  they  crossed 
the  ocean  in  a  sailing  vessel  and  located  in  Canada.  The  father  was  a  miller  by  trade  and 
operated  flour  mills  in  several  towns  in  Canada  but  at  length  came  to  the  United  States, 
becoming  a  resident  of  Hannibal,  Missouri,  in  1866.  There  he  was  engaged  in  the  same 
occupation  until  1872,  when  he  removed  to  Austin,  Minnesota,  and  later  to  Faril)ault,  that 
state,  where  his  last  days  were  passed.  His  death  occurred  in  1891,  and  his  wife  jiasscd 
away  in  1908. 

Mr.  Kellington,  of  this  review,  was  a  little  lad  of  ten  years  when  the  family  removed 
to  Minnesota  and  he  was  practically  reared  and  educated  in  Faribault.  Under  the  able 
direction  of  his  father  he  learned  the  miller's  trade,  and  on  leaving  home  in  1880  went  to 
Minneapolis,  where  he  worked  at  the  trade  for  four  years.  He  tlien  came  to  North  Dakota 
and  located   in  Valley   City,  where  after  being   in   the  employ   of  others   for   five  years,  he 


JllSTORY  OF  NORTH   DAKOTA  421 

i>stablisln'cl  a  Hour  and  Iced  busiiiebs,  which  lie  canii'd  on  until  m03.  That  year  witnessed 
his  arrival  in  New  KoekforU,  where  he  has  since  made  his  home.  Here  he  embarked  in  the 
niillinj,'  business  but  in  190G  his  jiropcrty  was  struck  by  lightning  and  burned  down. 
L'ndaunted  by  this  disaster,  he  reorganized  the  New  Koekford  ililliug  Company,  of  which  he 
has  since  been  president  and  manager.  The  company  erected  a  modern  mill  with  a  capacity 
of  one  hundred  and  fifty  barrels  per  day  and  are  now  doing  a  large  and  piofitable  business. 
.Mr.  Kellington  is  also  a,  stockholder  in  the  I-'armers  &  Merchants  Bank  and  of  the  New 
Koekford  .State  Center,  which  is  one  of  the  leading  daily  papers  of  North  Dakota.  He 
is  also  interested  in  farming,  owning  three  hundred  and  twenty  acres  of  land  two  and  a 
half  miles  from  Valley  City. 

On  the  1st  of  May,  188G,  Mr.  Kellington  married  .\li»s  .lulia  JC.  Walker,  of  \  alley  City, 
and  to  them  were  born  two  children:  Richard,  who  died  in  March,  1S89;  and  Celestia  M.,  at 
home  with  her  father.  After  a  happy  married  life  of  thirty  years,  Mrs.  Kellington  died 
June  12,  1916,  after  a  short  illness  in  a  hospital  at  Chicago,  Hlinois,  leaving  many  friends  as 
well  as  her  immediate  family  to  mourn  her  loss. 

Mr.  Kellington  is  an  earnest  and  consistent  member  of  the  Congregational  church  and  is 
also  identified  with  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows  and  the  Voemen.  His  politii-al 
support  is  given  the  democratic  party  at  the  polls  and  he  takes  quite  an  active  part  in 
public  allairs,  serving  as  town  supervisor  for  four  j-ears  and  as  city  alderman  for  the  same 
length  of  time.  He  is  now  chairman  of  the  board  of  directors  of  the  Capital  Removal  Asso- 
ciation and  does  all  in  his  power  to  promote  the  interests  of  New  Rockfonl.  Public-spirited 
and  progressive  to  an  eminent  degree,  he  gives  his  supjiort  to  every  worthy  enterprise  for 
the  public  good  and  he  is  regarded  as  one  of  the  leading  business  men  of  his  city. 


PROFESSOR  H.  H.  AAKER. 


Professor  H.  H.  Aaker,  president  of  Aaker's  Business  College  at  Grand  Forks,  is  one  of 
the  best  known  educators  in  the  field  of  commercial  training  in  North  Dakota  and  the  insti- 
tution which  he  has  built  up  at  (irand  P'orks  is  indeed  a  credit  to  the  city  as  well  as  a 
monument  to  his  |)ersonal  enterprise  and  ability.  A  native  son  of  Iowa,  Professor  Aaker  was 
born  at  Ridgeway,  April  10,  1SG2,  a  son  of  Hans  O.  and  Ragnild  (Cuttehus)  Aaker,  both  of 
whom  were  natives  of  Telemarken,  Norway.  They  came  to  America  in  1848,  settling  first  in 
Wisconsin  but  after  three  years  removed  to  Iowa  in  1851,  establishing  their  home  at  Boreau.\ 
S]irings.  There  the  father  took  uj)  the  occupation  of  fanning  and  in  that  locality  he  and  his 
wife  spent  their  remaining  days.  He  was  born  in  182S  and  ])asscd  away  in  1900.  while  his 
wife,  who  was  born  in  1S24,  died  in  the  year  1892.  They  had  a  family  of  ten  children,  of  whom 
Professor  Aaker  was  the  sixth  in  order  of  birth. 

Reared  in  his  native  state.  Professor  H.  H.  Aaker  attended  the  conunon  schools  ami 
afterward  became  a  student  in  Lutlur  College  at  Decorah.  Iowa,  which  he  attended  for  four 
years.  He  ne.\t  entered  the  Valparaiso  University  at  Valparaiso.  Indiana,  where  he  spent 
two  years  in  post-graduate  work,  after  which  he  took  up  the  profession  of  teaching  in  the 
Willmar  Seminary  at  Willniar,  Minnesota,  where  he  had  charge  of  the  commercial  department 
for  five  years.  lie  next  entered  mercantile  lines  at  Twin  Valley,  Minnesota,  where  he 
conducted  business  for  three  years,  after  which  he  acee|)ted  the  position  of  principal  of  tli? 
commercial  department  of  Concordia  College  at  Moorhead,  Minnesota,  and  two  years  later 
was  elei'ted  president  of  that  institution,  in  which  capacity  he  continued  for  nine  years  or 
until  1902,  when  he  resigned  and  founded  Aaker's  Business  College  at  Fargo.  He  resided  in 
Fargo  for  fourteen  years  or  until  August.  191.'),  when  he  removed  to  (Jrand  Forks,  where  he 
has  since  made  his  home.  The  Aaker's  Business  College  of  (irand  Forks  was  established  in 
1907  and  the  first  home  of  the  college  was  in  the  business  district  of  the  city.  In  1911 
he  purchased  the  present  modern  building  valued  at  forty  thousand  dollars  and  has  since 
conducted  one  of  the  most  thoroughly  up-to-date  commercial  schools  in  the  state.  The  work 
of  the  school  is  thoroughly  systematized  and  includes  all  branches  of  commercial  training, 
having  even  a  gas  tractor  and  auto  engineering  department.  The  school  is  conducted  on  the 
same   plan    which    ]iroved    so   successful   at    I-'argo    and    is    under    the    general    supervision    of 


422  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

Professor  Aaker,  who  is  now  giving  undivided  attention  to  this  institution,  while  his  wife 
is  in  charge  of  the  shorthand  department.  The  school  uses  the  same  kind  of  textbooks 
and  oflers  just  the  same  courses  as  the  Fargo  institution  and  in  fact  cooperates  with  it. 
There  are  five  teachers  and  special  courses  are  given  for  various  branches  of  business. 
Professor  Aaker  yet  maintains  the  school  at  Fargo  and  has  found  it  possible  to  fill  positions 
with  the  graduates  of  one  school  or  another,  thus  making  the  institutions  of  twofold  worth  to 
his  pupils.  All  of  the  teachers  have  had  broad  experience  particularly  qualifying  them  for 
the  work  of  instruction,  and  they  keep  in  close  touch  with  the  most  modern  business 
methods  and  the  demands  of  the  business  world.  In  addition  to  his  important  interests 
as  head  of  two  of  the  leading  business  colleges  of  the  state  Professor  Aaker  is  now  a 
director  of  the  Scandinavian  American  Bank  of  Fargo  and  of  St.  Luke's  Hospital.  His 
judgment  is  sound,  his  insight  keen  and  his  enterprise  is  unfaltering. 

On  the  5th  of  September,  1900,  at  Minneapolis,  Minnesota,  Professor  Aaker  was  united 
in  marriage  to  Miss  Annette  Peterson,  a  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  John  C.  Peterson,  both  of 
whom  are  deceased.  Professor  and  Mrs.  Aaker  have  one  son,  Roland,  who  was  born  at  Moor- 
head,  Minnesota,  June  22,  1901,  and  is  now  a  second  year  high  school  student. 

Professor  Aaker  has  membership  with  the  Sons  of  Norway  and  with  the  Ancient  Order 
of  United  Workmen.  His  political  allegiance  is  given  to  the  republican  partj-  and  while  living 
in  Moorhead,  Minnesota,  he  was  elected  mayor  of  that  city,  to  which  he  gave  a  most 
businesslike  and  progressive  administration  characterized  by  needed  reform  and  progress. 
He  has  always  been  an  advocate  of  the  cause  of  temperance  and  was  candidate  for  governor 
of  North  Dakota  on  the  prohibition  ticket  in  1904,  while  in  1912  he  was  the  candidate  for 
governor  on  the  progressive  republican  ticket.  His  opinions  carry  weight  in  party  councils  and 
his  insiglit  into  tne  grave  political  problems  is  the  result  of  broad  and  thorough  study. 


JOHN  S.  B.  SEARS. 


John  S.  B.  Sears,  who  is  proprietor  of  a  meat  market  at  Inkster  and  is  also  engaged  in 
farming,  was  born  in  Montgomery,  New  York,  February  16,  1866,  a  son  of  Charles  and 
Sarah  (Brown)  Sears,  both  of  whom  were  natives  of  the  Empire  state.  Their  early  ancestors 
came  to  America  as  passengers  on  the  Mayflower  and  later  representatives  of  the  name 
settled  in  New  York.  In  the  ancestral  line  appear  the  names  of  several  who  served  in  the 
Revolutionary  war.  The  grandfather,  Samuel  Sears,  was  the  last  man  to  draw  a  pension 
for  military  aid  rendered  to  the  country  in  the  war  for  independence.  The  maternal  grand- 
father, John  Brown,  was  an  early  settler  of  Orange  county.  New  York.  The  father  and 
mother  of  John  S.  B.  Sears  spent  their  entire  lives  in  the  Empire  state,  the  latter  passing 
away  in  1867,  when  but  twenty-eight  years  of  age,  while  the  former  died  in  1905,  at  the 
age  of  sixty-seven.  For  a  time  he  engaged  in  farming  and  later  became  proprietor  of  a  meat 
market.  He  was  afterward  elected  the  first  dairy  inspector  of  New  York  state,  which  posi- 
tion he  filled  up  to  the  time  of  his  death. 

In  his  youthful  days  John  S.  B.  Sears  was  a  pupil  in  the  schools  of  Orange,  New  York, 
being  reared  by  an  aunt  after  the  death  of  his  mother.  He  came  alone  to  North  Dakota 
in  April,  1881,  at  the  age  of  fifteen  years,  and  worked  first  for  John  McKelvy,  of  Grand 
Forks,  who  there  conducted  a  lumberyard  and  farm.  Later  he  was  in  the  employ  of  Mr. 
Duckworth,  after  which  he  rented  eighty  acres  of  land  in  Grand  Forks  county  and  began 
farming.  When  eighteen  years  of  age  he  bought  one  hundred  and  si.vty  acres  and  removed 
to  Inkster,  bending  his  efforts  toward  the  development  and  improvement  of  his  property 
and  also  working  out  in  the  employ  of  others.  In  1888  he  established  a  meat  market  at 
Inkster,  which  he  has  since  conducted,  covering  a  period  of  more  than  twenty-eight  years, 
and  throughout  all  this  time  has  enjoyed  an  unassailable  reputation  for  business  integrity 
as  well  as  business  enterprise.  He  likewise  retains  farming  interests,  and  careful  man- 
agement, indefatigable  energy  and  persistency  of  purpose  have  gained  for  him  a  substantial 
measure  of  success.     He  is  also  a  director  of  the  Farmers  Elevator  of  Orr. 

On  the  29th  of  June,  1887,  Mr.  Sears  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Emily  Lampkin 
of  Tnkstor,  who  passed  away  in  -\ugust,  1898.     She  was  a  daughter  of  Mrs.  B.  B.  Bond,  one  of 


JOHX  S.  B.  SEARS 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  425 

tho  piirlv  pioneer  women  of  tliis  state.  Three  ehildren  were  born  of  that  marriage,  two 
of  whom  are  now  deceased;  Harry,  who  died  in  Inkster  in  1S96,  at  the  age  of  four  years; 
and  Leila,  who  passed  away  in  Grand  Forks  in  1916,  when  twenty-three  years  of  age.  The 
surviving  daughter,  Leola,  born  in  1895,  is  a  graduate  of  the  Inkster  high  school.  On  the 
22d  of  March,  1901,  Mr.  Sears  was  again  married,  his  second  union  being  with  Mrs.  Mina 
(Anderson)  Pritchard,  a  daughter  of  Mathew  and  Fannie  Anderson.  By  her  first  marriage 
Mrs.  Sears  had  three  children:  Fred  P.,  who  enlisted  in  a  Canadian  regiment  for  service 
in  the  European  war  and  was  killed  in  France  in  June,  1916;  Stanley;  and  Mrs.  F.  C.  Nye, 
who  has  two  children,  Chester  and  Billy.  Mr.  Nye  is  editor  of  a  paper  at  Lansford,  North 
Dakota. 

Mr.  Sears  has  taken  high  rank  in  Masonr}-,  having  attained  the  thirty-second  degree 
of  the  Scottish  Rite.  He  is  also  connected  with  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America  and  the 
Yeomen.  His  political  allegiance  is  given  to  the  republican  party  and  he  has  served  as  both 
alderman  and  mayor  of  Inkster,  exercising  his  official  prerogatives  in  support  of  many  pro- 
gressive movements  resulting  in  benefit  to  the  city.  Moreover,  he  has  so  directed  his  affairs 
in  business  life  that  out  of  humble  surroundings  he  has  come  into  the  field  of  broad  oppor- 
tunity, activity  and  usefulness. 


J.  E.  THORSEN. 


J.  E.  Thorsen,  a  general  merchant  of  Crary,  is  numbered  among  Wisconsin's  native 
sons,  his  birth  having  occurred  at  Scandinavia,  Wisconsin,  on  the  24th  of  December,  1874. 
His  parents  were  Ole  and  Anna  Thorsen,  the  former  a  pioneer  farmer  of  Wisconsin,  but 
both  are  now  deceased. 

In  the  public  schools  of  his  native  state  .J.  E.  Thorsen  began  his  education,  which  was 
continued  in  the  academy  at  Scandinavia.  In  1896  he  came  to  North  Dakota,  going  first  to 
Grand  Forks,  where  he  occupied  a  clerkship  for  seven  years.  He  spent  a  year  near  Lari- 
more  and  on  the  expiration  of  that  period  went  to  Crary,  where  he  began  clerking  for  the 
firm  of  Mann  &  Sons.  In  June,  1912,  he  embarked  in  business  on  his  own  account  and 
today  carries  a.  large  and  carefully  selected  line  of  general  merchandise,  meeting  with  a 
fair  measure  of  success  in  the  conduct  of  the  business.  The  property  which  he  homesteaded 
after  his  arrival  in  the  state  is  still  in  his  possession. 

In  1908  Mr.  Thorsen  was  married  to  Miss  Anna  Resvick  and  they  have  become  parents 
of  four  children:  Alta.  Evelyn,  Donald  and  Ovcdia.  The  religious  faith  of  the  family  is 
that  of  the  Lutheran  church,  while  Mr.  Thorsen  exercises  his  right  of  franchise  in  support 
of  the  men  and  measures  of  the  republican  party.  He  enjoys  the  confidence  and  goodwill 
of  his  fellow  townsmen,  who  have  found  him  worthy  of  their  highest  respect  and  who 
account  him  one  of  the  progressive  business  men  of  the  town. 


HERMAN  LEUTZ. 


Herman  Leutz.  vice  president  of  the  State  Bank  at  Taylor,  was  born  in  Germany  in 
1875,  a  son  of  Herman  and  Emma  I>entz,  who  arc  also  natives  of  the  fatherland,  where 
they  still  reside.  In  the  family  were  three  children  but  Herman  is  the  only  one  who  came 
to  the  United  States.  He  pursued  his  education  in  the  schools  of  his  native  country  and 
was  a  youth  of  seventeen  years  when  in  1892  he  bade  adieu  to  friends  and  relatives  and 
crossed  the  Atlantic,  making  his  way  direct  to  North  Dakota.  He  first  settled  at  Richard- 
ton,  where  he  secured  employment  as  clerk  in  the  general  store  of  W.  McClure  &  Company, 
with  whom  he  remained  for  four  years.  He  next  went  to  Mandan.  whore  he  entered  the 
First  National  Bank  and  thus  received  his  preliminary  training  in  connection  with  the 
banking  business.  He  spent  a  year  in  that  institution  and  in  .Tanuary,  1898,  removed  to 
Taylor,  where  he  established  a  general  merchandise  store,  conducting  business  successfully 
along  that  line  for  nine  years  or  until  1907,  winning  a  substantial  measure  of  success  by 
Vol.  in— so 


426  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

the  able,  careful  and  piogiessive  manner  in  which  he  conducted  his  interests.  In  1904  he 
embarked  in  the  cattle  business  and  also  found  that  a  profitable  source  of  income  owing 
to  his  capable  management  and  sound  business  judgment.  It  was  also  in  the  year  1904 
that  he  established  the  State  Bank  of  Taj'lor,  of  which  he  has  since  been  the  vice  president. 
His  partner,  Mr.  McClure,  took  charge  of  their  mercantile  interests,  while  Mr.  Leutz  con- 
centrated his  attention  upon  banking  activities.  The  bank  is  capitalized  for  twenty  thou- 
sand dollars  and  lias  a  surplus  of  ten  thousand  dollars.  It  met  a  need  in  the  business  life 
of  the  community  and  has  prospered  from  the  beginning,  while  the  safe,  conservative 
methods  followed  have  guaranteed  to  it  a  continued  and  liberal  patronage.  The  business 
interests  and  activities  of  Mr.  Leutz  now  cover  a  wide  scope.  Not  only  is  he  connected  with 
banking  and  merchandising  in  Taylor  but  also  has  important  farming  and  cattle  interests, 
is  engaged  in  the  real  estate  business,  makes  farm  loans  and  writes  insurance.  He  holds 
considerable  farm  property  and  is  extensively  interested  in  cattle  raising,  having  from  one 
hundred  and  thirty  to  one  hundred  and  forty  head  upon  his  farms. 

In  1898  Mr.  Leutz  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Alice  C.  Kauer,  a  native  of  Germany, 
and  to  them  have  been  born  four  children:  H.  F.,  Gertrude,  Eleanor  and  W.  A.  In  his 
political  views  Mr.  Leutz  is  a  republican  and  in  1907  was  elected  county  commissioner  of 
Stark  county.  He  has  also  filled  the  office  of  postmaster  in  Taylor.  Fraternally  he  is  a 
Mason  of  high  rank  and  is  now  connected  with  El  Zagal  Temple  of  the  ilystic  Shrine  at 
Fargo.  His  life  is  an  exemplification  of  the  beneficent  spirit  of  the  craft,  for  in  his  rela- 
tions with  his  fellowmen  he  always  attempts  to  follow  the  principles  which  constitute  the 
basic  elements  of  the  Masonic  order.  In  business  he  has  at  all  times  been  thoroughly  reliable 
as  well  as  progressive  and  his  enterprise  has  carried  him  into  important  relations,  while  his 
activities  liave  ever  been  of  a  character  that  have  contributed  to  public  progi-ess  as  well  as 
to  individual  success. 


EDGAR  M.  GENTRY. 


Edgar  M.  Gentry,  cashier  of  the  Farmers  &  Merchants  Bank  at  Clementsville,  Stutsman 
county,  is  a  native  of  Bloomington,  Indiana,  and  a  son  of  Milton  and  Flora  Gentry,  who  are 
likewise  natives  of  the  Hoosier  state.  The  father  was  born  near  Gosport  and  engaged  in 
general  farming  and  stock  raising.  He  and  his  wife  now  reside  in  Kansas,  where  they  have 
made  their  homo  for  the  past  thirty  years. 

Edgar  M.  Gentry  is  the  eldest  of  their  five  children,  of  whom  four  are  yet  living.  With 
the  removal  of  the  family  to  Kansas  he  pursued  his  early  education  in  the  school  sof  Burling- 
ton, that  state,  and  afterward  continued  his  studies  at  Sedalia,  Missouri.  He  later  took  up 
railroading  with  the  Chicago,  St.  Paul,  Minneapolis  &  Omaha  road,  with  which  lie  was  con- 
nected for  a  period  of  about  seven  years.  Resigning  his  position,  he  turned  his  attention  to 
the  lumber  business,  managing  a  yard  at  Woodstock,  Minnesota.  He  also  acted  as  collector 
and  remained  with  the  company  for  a  period  of  ten  years,  his  long  connection  therewith  indi- 
cating clearlj'  his  ability  and  fidelity.  When  he  left  the  company  he  went  to  Weyburn, 
Canada,  where  he  became  owner  of  three  hundred  and  twenty  acres  of  land  which  he  culti- 
vated for  two  years  with  the  aid  of  hired  help.  After  leaving  the  Canadian  farm  he  went  to 
Clementsville  in  August,  1913,  and  was  one  of  the  five  organizers  of  the  Clementsville  bank, 
his  associates  in  the  undertaking  being  Myron  Ackerman,  Fred  Carr,  C.  H.  Raiter  and  F.  A. 
Kellogg.  Upon  the  organization  of  the  bank  Mr.  Gentry  was  made  cashier,  which  position  he 
has  since  filled.  The  institution  is  known  as  the  Farmers  &  Merchants  Bank  and  has  become 
recognized  as  a  safe  and  reliable  moneyed  concern  owing  to  the  conservative  policy  which  has 
always  been  followed  in  the  oflicial  management.  Mr.  Gentry  owns  fifty  per  cent  of  the  stock 
of  the  bank  and  he  has  been  the  leading  spirit  in  guiding  its  destinies. 

In  1900  Mr.  Gentry  was  married  to  Miss  Laura  Novinger.  who  was  born  in  Halifax, 
Pennsylvania,  a  daughter  of  Charles  and  Rebecca  Novinger,  both  of  whom  were  boin  and 
reared  in  the  Keystone  state  and  afterward  became  residents  of  Kansas.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Gentry 
have  two  children:     Lorraine,  born  in  1903;  and  Gertelle,  in  1910. 

Mr.  Gentry  belongs  to  the  Masonic  lodge  at  Adrian,  Minnesota,  the  Royal  Arch  chapter 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  427 

at  Worthington,  Jliniiesota,  the  Knight  Tcmphir  coininandery  at  Jamestown,  North  Dakota, 
and  El  Zagal  Temple  of  the  Mystic  Ishiine  at  Fargo.  He  has  thus  attained  high  rank  in  the 
order  and  is  one  of  its  prominent  representatives,  loyal  at  all  times  to  the  teachings  and  pur- 
poses of  tlie  craft,  while  in  his  life  he  is  equally  faithful  to  the  highest  moral  standards  and 
attends  the  Presbyterian  elnueh.  Laudable  amliition  luis  prompted  him  at  every  stage  in  his 
career  aiid  led  liim  out  of  humble  surroundings  into  a  position  of  prominence  in  tlie  business 
circles  in  which  he  moves. 


MOKLEY  NELSON. 


Morley  Nelson,  proprietor  of  a  feed  mill  at  Hoople,  was  born  in  Peterboro,  Ontario,  Jan- 
uary 25,  1882,  a  son  of  William  and  Mary  (Moncrief)  Nelson,  who  were  also  natives  of 
Ontario,  wliere  they  were  reared,  educated  and  married.  Later  in  life  the  father  engaged  in 
farming  and  he  remained  a  resident  of  Ontario  (mtil  his  death,  which  occurred  July  29,  lOKi, 
when  he  had  reached  the  age  of  eiglity-four  years.  His  widow  still  survives  at  the  age  of 
eighty  years.  To  them  were  born  nine  children,  as  follows:  Mrs.  Jennie  Plunket,  living  in 
Ontario;  Mrs.  Kate  S.  Edwards,  a  resident  of  Kingston,  Ontario;  Mrs.  Beulah  Sliearer,  of 
Ontario;  Lizzie  and  Bella,  also  living  in  Ontario;  Albert,  who  is  principal  of  a  high  school  in 
Ontario;  Herbert,  who  lives  in  Saskatchewan  and  is  an  agent  for  the  Canadian  Pacific  Rail- 
road; Mrs.  Louise  Adams,  of  Ontario;  and  Morley,  of  this  review. 

Of  this  family  Morley  Nelson  was  the  fifth  in  order  of  birth  and  in  his  youthful  days  he 
attended  the  schools  of  Ontario,  after  which  he  took  up  ranching  in  western  Canada,  being 
thus  engaged  until  1899,  when  he  removed  to  North  Dakota  and  settled  on  a  farm  in  Walsh 
county.  There  he  resided  for  five  years,  after  which  he  removed  to  Hoople  and  establislicd 
his  present  feed  mill,  since  which  time  he  has  successfully  conducted  the  business.  He  now 
enjoys  a  large  sale  and  the  enterprise  is  recognized  as  one  of  tlie  profitable  business  concerns 
of  the  town.    He  is  likewise  the  agent  for  the  Standard  Oil  Company  at  Hoople. 

On  Christmas  day  of  1905,  in  Walsh  county,  Mr.  Nelson  wedded  Miss  Effie  Parkins,  a 
daughter  of  Mi-,  and  Mrs.  Wright  Parkins,  who  were  pioneer  settlers  of  Walsh  county.  The 
father  is  now  deceased.  He  was  a  soldier  of  the  Civil  war,  enlisting  in  a  Wisconsin  regiment, 
with  which  he  remained  at  the  front  throughout  the  entire  period  of  hostilities.  He  partici- 
pated in  a  number  of  hotly  contested  engagements  and  was  with  Sherman's  army  on  the 
memorable  march  from  Atlanta  to  the  sea.  Of  the  three  sons  born  to  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Nelson 
one  died  in  infancy,  the  others  being  Homer,  who  was  born  in  1909;  and  Manard,  born  in  1914. 

The  parents  are  members  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  church  and  are  people  of  sterlinjf 
worth,  enjoying  the  high  regard  and  goodwill  o;  all  with  whom  thej-  have  come  in  contact.  In 
community  affairs  Mr.  Nelson  is  interested,  cooperating  in  plans  and  measures  for  the  general 
good,  and  in  Hoople  is  regarded  as  a  valued  and  representative  citizen.  As  a  business  man  he 
has  made  steady  progress  through  earnest,  persistent  effort  and  his  sound  judgment  is  mani- 
fest in  his  growing  success. 


JAMES  WHELAN. 


James  Whelan,  proprietor  of  the  Whelan  elevator  at  St.  Thomas,  is  a  representative  of 
that  large  class  of  Canadian  citizens  who  have  crossed  the  border  to  become  identified  with 
American  interests  and  have  proven  a  substantial  addition  to  the  commercial,  social  and  public 
life  of  the  communities  in  which  they  have  settled.  Mr.  Whelan  was  born  in  Renfrew,  Ontario, 
January  11,  ISfiO.  His  father,  Thomas  Whelan,  a  native  of  Ireland,  arrived  in  the  county 
in  1848  and  was  a  pioneer  farmer  of  that  country  and  later  of  North  Dakota.  He  took  up  a 
homestead  in  Pembina  county  in  1S81  and  there  continued  to  engage  in  geni'ral  agricultural 
pursuits  until  his  death,  which  occurred  in  191."?,  when  he  was  eighty-five  years  of  age.  His 
political  allegiance  was  given  to  the  democratic  party  and  he  was  quite  active  in  local  political 
circles.    For  a  number  of  years  he  served  as  supervisor  of  Lodema  township  and  he  also  filled 


428  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

the  office  of  school  director.  In  religious  faith  he  was  a  devout  Roman  Catholic.  He  married 
Sarah  Fenelon,  a  native  of  Ireland,  who  in  1849  went  alone  to  Canada,  where  she  became 
acquainted  with  Mr.  Whelan,  who  sought  her  hand  in  marriage. 

James  Whelan  was  the  second  in  order  of  birth  of  their  nine  children  and  in  the  public 
schools  of  Renfrew  county,  Ontario,  he  pursued  his  education.  His  youthful  experiences  were 
those  of  the  farm  boy  who  early  begins  work  in  the  fields  and  becomes  familiar  with  all  of  the 
duties  incident  to  the  development  and  improvement  of  a  farm.  On  attaining  his  majority 
he  started  out  in  the  world  independently  and  in  1880  sought  the  opportunities  offered  in  the 
territory  of  Dakota,  making  his  way  to  Grand  Forks.  In  1882  he  removed  to  St.  Thomas 
and  filed  on  land  in  Lodema  township,  Pembina  county,  which  he  still  owns  and  cultivates. 
In  1883  he  entered  grain  trade  circles,  becoming  a  grain  buyer  for  the  firm  of  Pillsbury  & 
Hulbert,  of  Minneapolis.  He  is  today  the  oldest  grain  buyer  on  the  Northern  Pacific  and 
Great  Northern  Railways  and  has  handled  enormous  quantities  of  grain,  developing  a  busi- 
ness of  extensive  proportions.  He  has  purchased  and  shipped  millions  of  bushels  of  wheat 
and  his  business  has  constituted  a  market  for  the  producers,  being  accounted  one  of  the 
important  commercial  enterprises  of  his  section  of  the  state.  In  1891  he  built  an  elevator 
which  has  a  capacity  of  thirty-five  thousand  bushels  and  is  the  second  largest  in  St.  Thomas. 
He  also  owns  and  conducts  another  elevator  at  Lawton,  North  Dakota,  having  a  capacity  of 
thirty  thousand  bushels. 

On  the  15th  of  August,  1895,  at  Devils  Lake,  Mr.  AVhelan  was  married  to  Miss  Margaret 
Kenefic,  a  native  of  New  \ork  and  a  daughter  of  Edmond  and  Mary  (Mallon)  Kenefic,  who 
were  of  Irish  descent  and  representatives  of  an  old  family  of  New  York.  To  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
Whelan  were  born  three  children,  of  whom  two  are  living:  Thomas  G.,  who  was  graduated 
from  the  law  department  of  the  North  Dakota  State  University  with  the  LL.  B.  degree;  and 
Louis  K.    They  lost  their  second  son,  James  Francis,  who  died  at  the  age  of  six  j^ears. 

Politically  Mr.  Whelan  is  a  democrat  and  for  twenty-eight  years  has  been  an  alderman 
of  St.  Thomas,  while  for  twenty  years  he  has  served  on  the  school  board.  He  belongs  to  the 
Roman  Catholic  church  and  to  the  Knights  of  Columbus.  He  has  membership  in  the  Com- 
mercial Club  and  is  much  interested  in  its  projects  to  develop  the  business  connections  of  the 
city  and  uphold  the  interests  of  the  town.  For  more  than  a  third  of  a  century  he  has  lived 
at  St.  Thomas,  witnessing  practically  its  entire  development  and  improvement  and  contribut- 
ing in  substantial  measure  to  its  advancement.  He  is  a  resourceful  man,  ready  to  meet  any 
emergency  and  actuated  at  all  times  by  a  spirit  of  laudable  ambition  that  has  led  him  out  of 
humble  surroundings  into  a  field  of  large  and  important  activity. 


GEORGE  E.  HAINES. 


George  E.  Haines,  a  well  known  druggist  of  Wildrose  and  one  of  the  representative  citizens 
of  Williams  county,  was  born  on  the  23d  of  April,  1882,  in  Grove  City,  Meeker  county,  Minne- 
sota, a  son  of  George  and  Mary  (McKinley)  Haines,  who  now  make  their  home  in  Paynesville, 
that  state.  The  father  was  born,  reared  and  educated  in  Illinois  but  became  an  early  settler 
of  Meeker  count}%  Minnesota,  and  engaged  in  mercantile  business  in  Grove  City  and  Paynes- 
ville for  some  years  but  is  now  living  retired  at  the  latter  place.  The  mother  is  a  native  of 
Ontario,  Canada,  but  in  early  childhood  removed  to  Minnesota. 

George  E.  Haines  is  indebted  to  the  city  schools  of  Paynesville,  Minnesota,  for  his  early 
educational  advantages,  but  these  were  supplemented  by  a  course  in  law,  pharmacy  and  chem- 
istry at  the  State  University  of  Minnesota,  from  which  he  was  graduated  with  the  degree  of 
Ph.  G.  in  1905.  Later  in  tlie  same  year  he  removed  to  Towner,  North  Dakota,  where  he  was 
engaged  in  the  drug  business  until  1911.  when  he  became  a  resident  of  Wildrose  and  has 
since  conducted  a  drug  store  at  that  place,  becoming  one  of  the  leading  business  men  of  the 
town.    He  is  also  the  owner  of  a  similar  store  at  Grenora,  North  Dakota. 

At  Craik,  Saskatchewan,  Canada,  Mr.  Haines  was  married  July  17,  1906,  to  Miss  Maud 
A.  Phipps,  a  native  of  Paynesville,  Minnesota,  where  she  attended  both  the  common  and 
high  schools  with  her  husband.  Her  parents,  E.  A.  and  Hattie  (Chisholm)  Phipps,  were  also 
born  in  Minnesota  and  are  now  living  in  Montana.     By  occupation  tlie  father  is  a  farmer. 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  429 

Mr.  and  ILrs.  Haines  have  four  children,  the  two  older  born  in  Denbigli  and  the  others  in 
Wildrose,  Xorth  Dakota.  In  order  of  birth  they  arc  as  follows:  Beverly  ila.xinc,  born  .July 
14,  1307;  Maxwell  George  Eramett,  May  5,  1909;  .June  Althela,  June  3,  1911;  and  William 
Kenneth,  March  8,  1913. 

In  religious  faith  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Haines  are  Episcopalians  and  the  latter  takes  a  prominent 
part  in  the  work  of  the  Sunday  school,  the  Ladies  Aid  Society  and  the  Mothers  Club.  Mr. 
Haines  is  a  stalwart  republican  and  is  an  inlluential  leader  in  local  politics.  He  served  as 
mayor  of  the  village  of  Wildrose  in  1913,  as  president  of  the  school  board  and  also  as  presi- 
dent of  the  Commercial  Club,  which  he  organized.  Any  enterprise  for  the  good  of  the  com- 
munity receives  his  hearty  endorsement  and  support,  and  he  well  merits  the  respect  and  con- 
fidence reposed  in  him. 


ULRICK  BENJAAHN  HELLAND. 

Ulrick  Benjamin  Helland,  proprietor  of  the  Peoples  Market  at  Grafton,  is  a  western 
man  by  birtli.  training  and  preference  and  the  spirit  of  western  enterprise  finds  exemplifica- 
tion in  his  business  career.  He  was  born  in  Grant  county,  Minnesota,  August  3,  1875,  a  son 
of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Hans  Helland,  who  were  natives  of  Norway.  In  the  early  '60s  the  father 
came  to  the  new  world  and  first  settled  in  Rice  county,  Minnesota,  where  he  became  identi- 
fied with  the  pioneer  development  of  the  district.  Later  he  was  successfully  engaged  in 
farming  in  Grant  count}'  and  there  passed  away  on  the  old  homestead  in  1913.  It  was  in 
Minnesota  that  he  married  and  to  him  and  his  wife  were  born  sixteen  children. 

U.  B.  Helland,  the  fifteenth  in  the  family,  is  indebted  to  the  public  school  system  of 
Minnesota  for  the  educational  advantages  which  he  enjoyed.  His  early  years  were  spent 
upon  the  home  farm,  where  he  soon  became  familiar  with  the  duties  and  labors  incident  to 
the  development  of  the  fields.  At  the  age  of  sixteen  years  he  started  out  to  earn  his  own 
living  and  entered  upon  an  apprenticeship  to  the  butcher's  trade,  which  he  followed  in  the 
employ  of  others  for  four  years.  In  1891  he  arrived  in  North  Dakota  and  in  1903  took  up 
his  abode  in  Grafton,  where  he  entered  business  on  his  own  account,  establishing  his  interests 
under  the  name  of  the  Peoples  Market.  He  began  in  a  very  small  way  but  today  has  the 
largest  and  best  business  of  the  kind  in  Walsh  county,  employing  four  skilled  butchers. 
He  does  all  of  his  own  slaughtering  and  conducts  a  high-class  market,  furnishing  to  the 
public  meats  of  superior  grade. 

On  the  18th  of  September,  1913,  Mr.  Helland  was  married  to  Miss  Amanda  Moe,  a 
native  of  Minnesota  and  a  daughter  of  Hans  and  Ella  (Larsen)  Moe,  who  are  members  of 
an  old  Minnesota  family  of  Norwegian  birth  and  both  are  still  living.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Helland 
hold  membership  in  the  Lutheran  church  and  generously  contribute  to  its  support.  Mr. 
Helland  is  a  member  of  the  Commercial  Club  and  he  gives  his  political  support  to  the 
republican  party,  believing  that  its  principles  are  most  conducive  to  good  government.  While 
he  started  out  in  life  a  poor  boy.  he  has  succeeded  through  his  own  efforts  and  is  today  in 
control   of  an  extensive,  profitable   and  growing  business. 


C.  .J.  STICKNEY. 


C.  J.  Stickney,  clerk  of  the  court  and  numbered  by  the  consensus  of  public  opinion  among 
the  representative  business  men  of  New  Rockford,  is  a  member  of  the  general  merchandising 
firm  of  Prader  &  Stickney  and  has  been  identified  with  the  interests  of  the  town  since  early 
manhood.  He  was  born  at  rolumbus  Junction,  Iowa,  on  the  28th  of  March,  1880,  and  is  a 
son  of  Horace  A.  and  Myra  (Carpenter)  Stickney.  both  of  whom  were  natives  of  Iowa.  The 
father  was  employed  as  a  telegraph  operator  for  a  number  of  years  in  his  native  state  and  in 
1882  came  to  North  Dakota,  homesteading  in  Kidder  county.  Subsequently  he  removed  to 
Steele  and  there  he  engaged  in  the  hotel  business.  He  also  continued  his  farming  and  horse 
ra:ising  interests  and  in  1894  he  removed  to  New  Rockford,  where  he  conducted  a  hotel  for  two 


430  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

years.  On  the  expiration  of  that  period  he  became  a  resident  of  Brainerd,  Minnesota,  where 
he  is  now  living  retired,  but  liis  wife  passed  away  in  the  spring  of  1916. 

C.  J.  Stickney  was  but  two  years  of  age  when  hi&  parents  came  to  this  state  and  within 
its  borders  he  was  reared  and  educated,  attending  the  public  schools  of  Steele  and  also  a  pri- 
vate school  at  New  Eockford,  while  later  he  became  a  pupil  in  the  Minnesota  School  of  Busi- 
ness in  Minneapolis.  Through  the  succeeding  four  or  five  years  he  was  employed  in  the  office 
of  The  Transcript,  a  weekly  newspaper  of  New  Rockford,  and  working  his  way  upward  in  that 
connection,  he  was  in  1901  made  editor  of  the  Provost,  which  he  continued  to  publish  and 
manage  for  six  years.  He  next  entered  the  employ  of  the  firm  of  Prader  &  Baeder,  general 
merchants,  and  on  the  1st  of  January,  1914,  when  Ml'.  Baeder  retired  from  the  lirm,  Mr. 
Stickney  acquired  his  interests  in  the  business,  which  was  then  reorganized  under  the  firm 
style  of  Prader  &  Stickney  and  so  continues.  Theirs  is  one  of  the  important  commercial 
enterprises  of  the  town,  a  large  trade  being  enjoyed,  while  the  patronage  is  steadily  increas- 
ing owing  to  their  progressive  methods  and  thorough  reliability. 

On  the  25th  of  December,  1901,  Mr.  Stickney  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Helen  A. 
Schmid,  of  New  Eockford,  who  was  a  teacher  in  the  public  schools  of  that  town.  To  them 
have  been  born  five  children,  namely:  Cozette,  Norma,  Joan,  Walter  and-Betty.  Fraternally 
Mr.  Stickney  is  identified  with  Century  Lodge,  No.  60,  A.  F.  &  A.  M. ;  Jamestown  Lodge,  No. 
99.5,  B.  P.  0.  E.;  and  the  American  Yeomen. 

Mr.  Stickney  gives  his  political  allegiance  to  the  republican  party  and  in  1902  was  elected 
clerk  of  the  courts  of  Eddy  county,  which  position  he  filled  for  four  years.  In  1913  he  was 
again  chosen  to  that  position  and  has  served  continuously  since.  In  the  same  year  he  was 
elected  president  of  the  city  council  and  was  made  chairman  of  the  public  improvement  com- 
mittee, which  built  the  present  city  hall,  also  installed  a  complete  w.iterworks  system,  a  com- 
plete sewer  system  and  modern  fire  equipment.  In  addition  they  caused  the  construction  of 
many  miles  of  cement  sidewalks,  spending  some  three  hundred  thousand  dollars  in  needed  and 
valuable  public  improvements,  all  of  which  stand  as  a  monument  to  the  aggressive  and  pro- 
gressive public  spirit  of  the  community.  By  reason  of  what  he  has  accomplished  in  otlice  as 
well  as  a  business  man,  Mr.  Stickney  deserves  to  be  ranked  with  the  prominent  and  valued 
residents  of  New  Eockford. 


JOHN  BRUEGGER. 


John  Bruegger,  president  of  the  Bruegger  Mercantile  Company  of  Williston  and  one 
of  the  most  prominent  democrats  of  North  Dakota,  was  born  in  Watertown,  Jeflferson 
county,  Wisconsin,  October  8,  1860,  and  is  a  son  of  Lucius  and  Margaret  (Briisch)  Brueg- 
ger, both  natives  of  Switzerland  When  a  young  man  the  father  came  to  America  and  in 
1840  became  a  resident  of  Watertown,  Wisconsin,  where  he  continued  to  make  his  home 
throughout  his  active  business  life  but  after  his  retirement  he  removed  to  Iowa,  where 
his  death  occurred.  The  mother  came  to  the  new  world  with  her  parents  and  located  in 
Watertown,  Wisconsin,  where  she  married  Lucius  Bruegger.  She  passed  away  in  that  city. 
During  his  boyhood  John  Bruegger  attended  the  public  schools  of  Watertown,  Wisconsin, 
and  there  began  his  business  career  as  a  news  carrier.  Later  he  accepted  a  position  as  cash 
boy  in  a  men's  furnishing  store  and  dry  goods  establishment,  and  for  the  long  period  of 
forty-two  years   has  been   uninterruptedly   identified   with   mercantile   interests. 

Leaving  home  at  the  age  of  fourteen  years,  Mr.  Bruegger  went  to  Alma,  Wisconsin, 
where  he  clerked  in  a  dry  goods  store  for  a  time  and  later  engaged  in  general  merchandising 
on  his  own  account  until  1887.  On  the  24th  of  May,  that  year,  he  established  his  present 
business  in  Williston,  North  Dakota,  when  there  was  not  a  railroad  within  eighty-seven 
miles,  but  he  had  firm  faith  in  the  future  development  of  the  city,  which  is  today  one  of 
the  leading  business  centers  of  that  part  of  the  state.  In  partnership  with  his  brother 
George,  Mr.  Bruegger  began  business  in  a  tent  under  the  name  of  John  Bruegger  but  the 
firm  style  was  subsequently  changed  to  John  Bruegger  &  Brotlier  and  when  the  business 
was  finally  incorporated  the  name  of  the  Bruegger  Mercantile  Company  was  assumed.  Our 
subject  is  also  president  of  the  Williston   Farmers  Cooperative   Creamery  &   Produce  Com- 


JOHN  BRUEGGER 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  433 

pany.  In  the  early  days  when  cattle  ran  the  range  he  was  extensively  interested  in  the 
cattle  business  and  at  the  present  time  is  identified  with  farming,  owning  a  large  amount 
of  land  besides  liis  citj'  propertj'.  He  was  appointed  director  of  the  Williston  substation 
experimental  farm  by  Governor  Burke  and  is  president  of  the  Williams  County  Fair 
Association. 

Having  already  gained  a  good  start  in  business  Mr.  Bruegger  returned  to  his  old  home 
in  Watertown,  Wisconsin,  where  on  the  7th  of  August,  1894,  he  was  united  in  marriage 
to  Miss  Augusta  Keck.  As  children  they  had  attended  the  same  Sunday  school  and  the 
friendship  then  formed  ripened  into  love  as  the  years  went  by  and  when  able  to  provide 
a  good  home  for  her  Mr.  Bruegger  returned  for  the  sweetheart  of  his  youth.  Her  parents, 
John  and  Rosina  Keck,  were  natives  of  Germany,  where  they  were  reared.  They  were  mar- 
ried in  Watertown,  Wisconsin,  after  their  emigration  to  America,  and  there  spent  the 
remainder  of  their  lives.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Bruegger  have  one  child,  Hilmar,  wlio  was  born  in 
\\'atertown,  Wisconsin,  and  is  now  associated  in  business  with  his  father. 

Since  attaining  his  majority  Mr.  Bruegger  has  affiliated  with  the  democratic  party 
and  has  taken  a  very  active  and  influential  part  in  political  affairs.  He  assisted  in  or- 
ganizing the  town  of  Williston  and  was  a  member  of  the  first  town  board.  In  those  early 
days  he  also  served  as  assistant  treasurer  and  county  auditor  of  Williams  county,  and  later 
filled  the  office  of  mayor  of  Williston,  giving  the  city  a  businesslike  and  public-spirited  admin- 
istration. There  is  no  man  in  his  section  of  the  state  who  stands  higher  in  the  ranks  of  his 
party  and  from  1912  to  1916  he  was  honored  with  the  position  of  national  committeeman 
for  North  Dakota,  in  which  capacity  he  became  widely  known  throughout  the  country.  At 
one  time  he  was  a  candidate  for  the  United  States  senate  but  as  the  republicans  were  in 
the  majority  failed  of  election.  Mr.  Bruegger  is  a  member  of  the  Free  Evangelical  Protes- 
tant church  and  is  prominently  identified  with  both  the  Knights  of  Pythias  and  the 
Benevolent  Protective  Order  of  Elks.  He  was  a  charter  member  of  the  former  lodge  in  Minot 
and  instituted  the  lodge  at  Williston,  of  which  he  also  became  a  charter  member  and  in 
which  he  has  passed  through  all  of  the  chairs,  being  chancellor  commander  three  different 
times.  He  was  also  a  charter  member  of  Lodge  10S9,  B.  P.  0.  E.,  at  Minot  and  now  belongs 
to  Lodge  No.  1314  at  Williston.  He  is  a  member  and  has  served  as  a  director  of  the  Com- 
mercial Club.  Curing  his  residence  in  this  state  of  almost  thirty  years  he  has  gained 
an  enviable  position  in  political,  business  and  social  circles  and  is  justly  regarded  as  one 
of  the  foremost  citizens  of  Williams  county.  Mr.  Bruegger  has  always  taken  a  deep  interest 
in  the  welfare  of  the  farmer  and  in  times  of  need  has  been  generous  in  extending  credit  to 
those  who  have  lost  their  crops  or  from  some  other  cause  needed  assistance.  He  has  thus 
made  a  host  of  friends  throughout  his  adopted  state  and  all  who  know  him  hold  him  in  high 
regard. 


HERBERT  CEANDALL  DE  PUY. 

Herbert  Crandall  De  Puy,  practicing  law  at  Grafton,  was  admitted  to  the  bar  of  North 
Dakota  on  the  11th  of  .January,  1894,  and  for  more  than  twenty-two  years  has  been  con- 
tinuously engaged  in  practice,  being  recognized  as  a  lawyer  of  ability  in  Walsh  county  and 
that  section  of  the  state.  He  was  born  at  New  Brunswick,  New  Jersey,  April  14.  1869,  a  son 
of  William  Romer  and  Ellen  Maria  (Crandall)  De  Puy,  both  of  whom  were  natives  of  New 
York  and  representatives  of  old  families  of  that  state.  The  De  Puys  came  of  French  Huguenot 
ancestry  and  it  was  during  the  early  part  of  the  seventeenth  century  that  a  branch  of  the 
family  was  established  on  American  soil,  settlement  being  made  in  New  York.  The  maternal 
grandparents  of  Mr.  De  Puy  walked  from  western  Rhode  Island  to  New  York  and  were  among 
tlie  pioneers  of  the  Empire  state.  They  were  of  English  lineage  but  the  Crandall  family  was 
established  in  this  country  at  an  early  period  in  its  development.  William  R.  De  Puy  studied 
law  and  became  a  prominent  attorney  of  New  York  city,  while  later  he  successfully  engaged 
in  practice  in  Grafton,  North  Dakota,  where  he  resided  until  his  death,  which  occurred  in 
December,  1910,  when  he  was  sixty  five  years  of  age.  For  several  years  he  had  survived  his 
wife,  who  died  in  Minto,  Walsh  county,  in  1896.  at  the  age  of  forty-nine  years. 

Herbert  Crandall  De  Puy,  the  only  child  of  that  marriage,  was  educated  in  the  LTnion  free 


434  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

school  at  Seacliff.  Long  Island,  and  in  Union  College  at  Schenectady,  New  York.  He  after- 
ward entered  his  father's  law  office,  studj'ing  both  in  New  York  City  and  in  (Jrafton,  and  oa 
the  11th  of  January,  1S94,  he  was  admitted  to  the  North  Dakota  bar.  He  was  then  associated 
in  practice  with  his  father  until  the  latter's  retirement  about  1907,  under  the  firm  name  of 
De  Puy  &  De  Puy.  Since  then  H.  C.  De  Puy  has  been  alone  and  he  maintains  his  place  among 
the  most  prominent  lawyers  of  Walsh  county,  where  he  has  now  been  practicing  for  twenty- 
two  years.  He  continues  in  the  general  practice  of  law  and  is  well  versed  in  all  branches  of 
jurisprudenec. 

On  the  19th  of  January,  1898,  Mr.  De  Puy  was  married  to  Miss  Jessie  Thomson,  a  native 
of  Canada  and  a  daughter  of  Samuel  D.  and  Christina  (Scott)  Thomson,  both  of  whom  are 
still  living.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  De  Puy  have  four  children:  Harriett,  born  in  Minto,  North  Dakota, 
January  30,  1901;  William,  born  in  Minto,  May  30,  1903;  Jessie,  September  13,  1907;  and 
Marjorie,  May  7,  1911. 

Politically  Mr.  De  Puy  has  always  been  a  democrat  and  since  1907  has  occupied  the 
position  of  states  attorney.  While  a  resident  of  Minto  he  served  for  one  term  as  mayor  of 
the  city  and  he  has  always  taken  an  active  and  helpful  part  in  politics,  recognizing  the 
duties  and  obligations  as  well  as  the  privileges  of  citizenship.  Fraternally  he  ie  connected 
with  the  Knights  of  Pythias.  He  also  belongs  to  the  Curling  Club  and  to  the  Commercial 
Club,  while  along  strictly  professional  lines  he  has  association  with  the  Walsh  County,  the 
North  Dakota  and  the  American  Bar  Associations.  He  is  strong  and  forceful  in  argument, 
clear  and  logical  in  his  reasoning  and  correct  in  his  application  of  legal  principles  to  the 
points  in  issue,  so  that  his  career  at  the  bar  has  been  marked  by  steady  progress. 


GEORGE  FARRIES. 


George  Farries,  editor  and  owner  of  the  Williston  Herald,  was  born  in  Ontario,  Canada, 
near  Lucknow,  January  5,  1874,  his  parents  being  John  and  Jean  (Scott)  Farries.  The  father 
was  a  native  of  Scotland  and  when  a  young  man  crossed  the  Atlantic,  settling  in  Bruce 
county,  Ontario,  where  he  engaged  in  farming  throughout  his  remaining  days.  His  wife 
was  also  a  native  of  the  land  of  hills  and  heather  and  was  but  eight  years  of  age  when 
she  became  a  resident  of  Canada.  There  she  was  married  and  always  resided,  her  death 
occurring  in  Lucknow,  Canada. 

George  Farries  attended  district  school  near  Lucknow  and  when  his  textbooks  were 
put  aside  assisted  his  father  in  the  work  of  the  farm.  He  came  to  North  Dakota  in  1891, 
settling  at  Oakes,  Dickey  county,  where  he  was  connected  with  newspaper  publication  on 
the  Oakes  Kepublican  until  1898.  He  then  went  to  Aberdeen,  South  Dakota,  where  he  was 
engaged  in  newspaper  work  for  about  two  years.  In  1900  he  removed  to  Courtenay,  Stuts- 
man county,  and  purchased  the  Courtenay  Gazette,  which  he  published  for  a  decade,  or 
until  1910.  On  the  1st  of  January  of  the  latter  year  he  purchased  the  Williston  Herald, 
a  paper  that  was  then  struggling  for  existence,  but  he  has  built  it  up  and  has  made  it  an 
attractive  journal  with  a  wide  circulation.  He  is  editor,  manager  and  owner  of  the  paper 
and  its  success  is  attributable  entirely  to  his  own  enterprising  efforts.  The  paper  is  neat  in 
appearance  and  the  plant  is  equipped  in  a  modern  manner  so  that  he  is  able  to  do  good  job 
work  in  connection  with  his  newspaper  printing. 

In  April,  1898,  Mr.  Farries  was  married  to  Miss  Maggie  Piper,  of  Oakes,  North  Dakota, 
who  was  born  near  Tara,  Ontario,  Canada,  and  with  her  parents  removed  to  North  Dakota 
in  an  early  day.  They  made  the  journey  across  the  country  with  an  ox  cart  and  settled 
near  Sheldon,  this  state.  Sirs.  Farries  passed  away  at  Coirrtenay,  North  Dakota,  in  1906, 
and  at  her  death  left  four  children:  Willis  J.,  born  in  Oakes;  and  Alfred  S.,  Ralph  and 
Robert,  all  born  in  Courtenay.  Having  lost  his  first  wife  Mr.  Farries  wedded  her  sister.  Miss 
Emma  Piper. 

They  hold  membership  in  the  Congregational  church,  of  which  Mr.  Farries  is  a  trustee, 
and  in  church  work  they  are  very  active,  Mrs.  Farries  now  serving  as  vice  president  of  the 
Ladies'  Aid  Society.  Mr.  Farries  is  vice  president  of  the  Commercial  Club  of  Williston,  in 
politics   is   a  republican  and  belongs  to  the   Masonic  blue   lodge   and  chapter   at  Williston, 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  435 

being  king  of  the  latter.  He  also  has  membcrsliip  in  the  Odd  Fellows  lodge,  the  Elks  lodge 
and  the  Ancient  Order  of  United  Workmen  at  Williston  and  his  influence  is  always  felt 
on  the  side  of  progress,  reform  and  improvement. 


D.  D.  McNAUGHTON,  D.  V.  S. 

Dr.  1).  1).  JIcNaughton,  engaged  in  the  prac_tice  of  veterinary  surgery  at  Devils  Lake, 
was  boni  in  Glengarry  eounty,  Ontario,  August  31,  1870,  a  son  of  J.  G.  and  Annie  J.  (McMil- 
lan) JUNaughton.  On  leaving  Canada  the  parents  removed  to  Devils  Lake,  where  their 
remaining  days  were  passed. 

D.  D.  JlcXaughton  acquired  his  education  in  the  public  schools  of  Canada  and  pursued 
his  professional  course  in  the  veterinary  department  of  McGill  L'niversity  at  Jlontreal,  where 
he  was  graduated  with  the  class  of  1S93.  He  first  practiced  at  Cornwall,  Ontario,  where  he 
remained  for  seven  years  and  in  the  spring  of  1899  he  removed  to  Devils  Lake,  where  he 
has  since  continued  his  profession  most  successfully.  He  is  accorded  a  liberal  patronage 
and  his   pronounced   ability  leads  to   the   continued  growth   of   his  practice. 

In  November,  1904,  Dr.  McXaughton  was  married  to  Miss  Mae  E.  Webster,  a  daugliter 
of  William  Webster,  one  of  the  pioneer  settlers  of  Ramsey  county.  Dr.  and  Mrs.  McXaughton 
have  two  children,  Esther  and  Donald  W.  The  parents  are  members  of  the  Presbyterian 
church  and  Dr.  McXaughton  is  also  a  Koyal  Arch  Mason  and  a  member  of  the  Elks  and  the 
Woodmen.  His  political  allegiance  is  given  to  the  republican  party  and  in  1912  he  was 
elected  county  commissioner  for  a  term  of  four  years  and  m  1916  was  reelected.  He  also 
holds  office  as  assistant  state  veterinary\  Along  professional  lines  he  has  membership  with 
the  North  Dakota  Veterinary  Association  and  the  American  Veterinary  Association.  Although 
his  first  interest  is  his  profession,  in  which  he  has  made  substantial  and  continuous  progress, 
he  has  at  the  same  time  found  opportunity  to  cooperate  with  well  defined  plans  and  meas- 
ures for  the  public  good.  He  is  particularly  interested  in  the  development  of  good  roads 
and  in  other  progressive  movements  resulting  in  the  benefit  of  the  connuunity  and  state. 
In  every  connection  he  manifests  a  spirit  of  progressiveness  that  makes  him  one  of  the  highly 
respected  citizens  of  Devils  Lake. 


ARTHUR  H.  ROBINSON. 


Arthur  H.  Robinson,  the  owner  of  a  farm  of  one  hundred  and  sLxty  acres  on  section  6, 
Courtenay  township,  Stutsman  county,  came  to  the  northwest  from  Pennsylvania,  his  birth 
having  occurred  in  the  Keystone  state  in  1854.  His  parents  were  Robert  and  Mary  (Kee) 
Robinson,  both  natives  of  Ireland,  whence  they  emigrated  to  the  new  world  soon  after  their 
marriage,  arriving  in  the  '50s.  They  settled  in  Pennsylvania,  where  the  father  carried  on 
business  as  a  mechanic  and  carpenter  for  some  time,  but  later  in  life  took  up  the  occupa- 
tion of  farming,  which  he  followed  until  he  retired  from  active  business  cares.  He  was 
called  to  his  final  rest  in  1889  and  his  wife,  surviving  him  for  twenty  years,  passed  away 
in  1909,  having  reached  the  very  notable  old  age  of  ninety-six  years. 

Arthur  H.  Robinson  is  the  oldest  of  the  three  surviving  children  of  their  family.  At 
the  usual  age  he  began  his  education  in  the  common  schools  of  Pennsylvania  and  when  not 
busy  with  his  textbooks  his  attention  was  given  to  farm  work.  He  continued  in  active 
identification  with  agricultural  interests  in  Pennsylvania  until  1889,  when,  at  the  age  of 
thirty-five  years,  he  removed  westward  to  X'orth  Dakota  and  filed  on  a  claim  on  section  6, 
Courtenay  township,  Stutsman  county.  He  immediately  began  the  development  of  his 
place,  performing  the  arduous  task  of  breaking  the  sod  and  tilling  the  fields  until  his  land 
was  brought  under  a  high  state  of  cultivation,  while  the  modern  buildings  which  he  erected 
furnished  ample  shelter  for  grain  and  stock.  His  home  is  an  attractive  and  commodious 
residence  standing  in  the  midst  of  several  acres  of  trees  which  he  set  out  and  which  add 
to  the  beauty  of  the  landscape.     He  is  now  renting  his   farm  but  still   resides  upon  the 


436  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

homestead  and,,  having  extended  his  possessions,  he  Is  now  the  owner  of  three  hundred  and 
twenty  acres  of  good  land. 

In  1883  Mr.  Robinson  was  married  to  iliss  Mary  Keid,  who  was  born  in  Ireland  in 
1860  and  when  a  maiden  of  sixteen  summers  came  with  her  brothers  to  the  United  States. 
The  Reids  were  early  settlers  of  North  Dakota  but  both  the  parents  of  Mrs.  Robinson  are 
now  deceased.  To  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Robinson  have  been  born  seven  children:  Ellwood,  who 
was  born  in  1SS4  and  is  now  residing  in  Montana;  Mrs.  Bessie  Gray,  who  was  born  in  1885; 
Mrs.  Helen  Milne,  born  in  1887;  Mary,  who  was  born  in  1893  and  is  now  living  in  Montana; 
Edna,  who  was  born  in  1894  and  is  also  ^residing  in  Montana;  Marion,  who  was  born  in 
1896;  and  Ruth,  born  in  1899.    The  family  circle  yet  remains  unbroken  by  the  hand  of  death. 

Politically  Mr.  Robinson  is  a  republican,  but  the  honors  and  emoluments  of  office  have 
no  attraction  for  him.  He  has  served  as  school  director  and  is  always  loyal  to  the  best 
interests  of  the  community,  cooperating  in  all  well  defined  plans  and  measures  for  promoting 
the  general  good.  He  is  a  member  of  the  Courtenay  Presbyterian  church  and  throughout 
the  community  in  which  he  has  so  long  resided  he  has  many  warm  friends. 


KNUT  A.  SATHER. 


Knut  A.  Sather,  manager  for  the  Farmers  Mercantile  Company  at  Northwood,  was  born 
July  20,  1875,  in  Aalesund,  Norway.  His  father,  Bendik  Sather,  never  came  to  America, 
devoting  his  life  to  farming  in  his  native  country,  in  which  pursuit  he  won  success.  He  died 
in  1903,  at  the  age  of  seventy-eight  years.  His  wife,  who  bore  the  maiden  name  of  Martha 
VViseth,  passed  away  in  1900,  at  the  age  of  sixty-eight  years. 

Knut  A.  Sather  was  the  seventh  in  order  of  birtli  in  their  family  of  eight  children 
and  in  the  public  schools  of  his  native  city  he  pursued  his  education  to  the  age  of  sixteen 
years,  when  he  came  to  America,  making  his  way  direct  to  Northwood,  North  Dakota,  where 
he  arrived  on  the  1st  of  April,  1892.  He  had  spent  his  early  life  on  the  farm  and  after 
coming  to  North  Dakota  secured  employment  as  a  farm  hand.  He  arrived  here  a  stranger 
unacquainted  with  the  language  and  customs  of  the  people  among  whom  he  now  cast  in  his 
lot,  but  he  possessed  energy,  determination  and  ambition  and  those  qualities  constituted  for 
him  an  excellent  capital.  He  worked  during  the  summer  months,  at  farm  labor  and  in  the 
winter  seasons  attended  the  public  schools  of  Mayville,  thus  improving  his  education.  After 
leaving  the  farm  he  removed  to  Grand  Forks,  where  he  entered  the  employ  of  John  M. 
Tarang,  a  grocer  of  East  Grand  Forks,  with  whom  he  continued  for  three  years.  During 
that  period  he  attended  night  school,  devoting  his  attention  to  the  study  of  bookkeeping, 
in  which  he  became  very  proficient.  He  afterward  accepted  a  position  as  clothing  salesman 
with  the  Arneson  Mercantile  Company  of  East  Grand  Forks,  there  remaining  for  two  years, 
after  which  he  became  connected  with  the  clothing  department  of  the  R.  B.  Griffith  depart- 
ment store.  He  spent  three  years  in  that  position  and  in  these  various  connections  gained 
wide  experience.  He  afterward  returned  to  the  Arneson  Mercantile  Clothing  Company  and 
for  a  year  occupied  the  position  of  general  manager  of  the  clothing  department.  He  next 
removed  to  Hatton  and  as  a  partner  of  S.  E.  Wiseth  organized  the  firm  of  Sather  &  Wiseth 
for  the  conduct  of  a  clothing  business.  That  association  was  maintained  for  three  years, 
after  which  he  sold  his  interest  and  became  associate  manager  with  the  Hatton  Mercantile 
Company,  there  remaining  for  four  years.  On  the  expiration  of  that  period  he  returned 
to  Northwood  and  purchased  an  interest  in  the  Northwood  Farmers  Mercantile  Company, 
of  which  he  became  the  manager.  This  is  an  incorporated  company  and  Mr.  Sather  is  one 
of  the  board  of  directors.  The  other  officers  are  C.  0.  Swenson,  president,  Albert  Onsagor, 
secretary,  and  Ole  Tingelstad,  treasurer.  Practically  Mr.  Sather  has  devoted  his  entire  life 
to  commercial  pursuits  and  is  thus  well  qualified  for  the  onerous  and  responsible  duties 
which  devolve  upon  him  in  his  present  connection.  He  is  a  man  of  energy  aiul  ability  whose 
efforts  are  wisely  and  carefully  directed,  and  laudable  ambition  has  brought  to  him  the 
measure  of  success  which  is  today  his. 

On  the  29th  of  June,  1906,  Mr.  Sather  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Bertha  Bergsrud, 
a   native   of  Minnesota   and   a   daughter   of  !N[r.   and   Mrs.  Jens   Bergsrud,   of   an   old   pioneer 


KXUT  A.  SATHER 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  439 

family  of  North  Dakota.  The  father  is  still  living,  but  the  mother  passed  away  in  1914. 
Mr.  and  Mrs.  Sather  have  become  parents  of  four  children;  Myrtle,  Irene,  Bcrnhard  and 
Jean. 

In  politics  Mr.  Sather  has  always  maintained  an  independent  course,  voting  according 
to  the  dictates  of  his  judgment.  He  has  membership  with  the  Sons  of  Norway  and  the 
Jlodcrn  Woodmen  of  America  and  he  is  an  active  church  worker,  belonging  to  the  United 
Norwegian  Lutheran  church  of  Northwood,  of  which  he  is  the  secretary.  He  is  also  a  mem- 
ber of  the  Commercial  Club  and  is  deeply  interested  in  its  plans  and  purposes  to  upbuild  the 
city  and  extend  its  business  connections  as  well  as  uphold  its  civic  standards.  In  a  review 
of  his  life  there  are  certain  features  which  stand  out  prominently.  He  borrowed  the  money 
with  which  to  pay  his  passage  to  the  new  world,  but  having  arrived  on  American  shores,  he 
put  forth  every  efTort  to  gain  a  start  and  has  followed  in  the  path  marked  out  by  persist- 
ency of  purpose  and  laudable  ambition,  his  indefatigable  industry  at  length  carrying  him 
into  important  commercial  connections. 


ERNEST  BYLIN. 


Ernest  Bylin,  cashier  of  the  Tioga  State  Bank  of  Tioga,  North  Dakota,  was  born  near 
Park  Kiver,  in  Walsh  county.  North  Dakota,  November  30,  1SS4,  a  son  of  A.  G.  and  Tilda 
(Jolinson)  Bylin.  The  father,  a  native  of  Sweden,  acquired  his  education  in  that  country 
and  became  an  iron  worker.  In  young  manhood  he  crossed  the  Atlantic  and  made  his  way 
to  St.  Paul,  Minnesota,  where  he  worked  at  his  trade.  Later  ho  was  employed  in  a  similar 
capacity  at  Grafton,  North  Dakota,  and  subsequently  removed  to  Walsh  county,  settling 
near  Park  Eiver,  where  he  engaged  in  farming  and  stock  raising.  There  he  still  makes  his 
home  and  that  his  worth  is  appreciated  by  his  fellow  townsmen'  is  shown  in  the  fact  that  he 
has  been  called  to  a  number  of  local  ofllices.  He  has  also  been  a  member  of  the  school  board 
and  is  interested  in  the  advancement  of  education.  His  wife  %vas  born  in  Sweden  and  became 
one  of  the  early  residents  of  Park  River,  where  they  were  married.  Her  deatli  occurred 
in  the  '80s. 

In  his  youthful  days  Ernst  Bylin  entered  the  district  schools  at  Park  River  and  afterward 
attended  tlie  Union  Commercial  College  at  Grand  I'orks.  He  clerked  in  his  father's  store 
at  Norton,  North  Dakota,  and  afterward  took  up  railroading.  Subsequently  he  became 
identified  with  the  lumber  trade  and  in  1907  he  removed  to  Tioga,  Williams  county,  where 
he  became  bookkeeper  and  assistant  cashier  in  the  Tioga  State  Bank.  His  fidelity  and 
ability  led  to  his  promotion  to  the  cashiership,  in  whicli  connection  he  is  now  found,  and  he 
is  also  a  director  of  the  McGregor  State  Bank  of  McGregor,  North  Dakota. 

On  the  15th  of  May,  1913,  Mr.  Bylin  was  married  to  Miss  Alma  Stockman,  of  Swea  City, 
Iowa,  who  was  born  at  Elmore,  Minnesota,  and  pursued  her  education  in  the  schools  of  that 
state  and  of  Iowa.     Mr.  and  Mrs.  Bylin  have  one  child,  Winifreil,  born  in  (Jrand  Forks, 

Politically  Mr.  Bylin  is  independent.  He  has  served  in  local  oflices  at  Tioga,  being  a 
member  of  the  school  board,  and  he  is  ever  ready  and  willing  to  cooperate  in  movements  for 
the  general  good.  Fraternally  he  is  associated  with  the  Masons  and  the  Odd  Fellows  and  in 
the  local  lodge  of  the  latter  has  been  noble  grand.  A  native  son  of  North  Dakota,  his 
memory  goes  back  to  the  period  of  territorial  days  and  compasses  those  decades  in  which 
have  occurred  the  greatest  progress  and  improvement  recorded  in  the  state. 


JOHN  J.  MARTIN. 


The  great  agricultural  state  of  North  Dakota  furnishes  an  excellent  opportunity  for 
those  who  wish  to  engage  in  the  farm  machinery  and  implement  business,  for  there  is 
constant  demand  for  all  of  the  equipment  that  goes  with  the  operation  and  conduct  of  a 
model  farm  of  the  twentieth  century.  It  is  to  that  business  that  Jolin  J.  Martin  is  now 
devoting  his  energies,  being  senior  partner  nf  the   firm   nf  Martin   &   Chaussee.  conducting  a 


440  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

well  equipped  farm  machinery  and  implement  business  at  Watford  City.  He  was  born  near 
Fremont,  Sandusky  county,  Oliio,  January  18,  1884,  and  is  a  son  of  Fredericli  and  Emma 
(Krass)  Martin.  The  father  was  born  on  tlie  same  farm  on  whicli  occurred  tlie  birth  of  his 
son  John,  and  after  attending  the  district  schools  he  cultivated  the  old  homestead  that  his 
father  first  purchased  on  settling  in  Sandusky  county.  There  he  continued  to  reside  until 
called  to  the  home  beyond,  and  his  widow  still  occupies  that  place. 

At  the  usual  age  John  J.  Martin  became  a  district  school  pupil  and  later  had  the  benefit 
of  a  course  in  a  business  college  at  Fremont,  Ohio.  He  next  entered  the  Ohio  Northern 
University  at  Ada  and  when  his  education  was  completed  he  began  selling  books  in  central 
Wisconsin,  from  which  point  he  gradually  worked  his  way  westward,  reaching  North  Dakota 
in  December,  1905.  He  then  homesteaded  in  McKenzie  county  and  lived  upon  his  property 
for  a  while.  It  was  his  desire,  however,  to  devote  his  attention  to  commercial  pursuits  and 
he  utilized  the  opportunity  of  erecting  the  first  store  building  in  the  town  of  Schafer, 
hauling  the  lumber  from  the  sawmill  at  Grinnell.  He  then  established  a  general  store  at 
Schafer  and  conducted  it  for  a  time  but  afterward  resumed  farming  in  McKenzie  county. 
In  1914,  when  Watford  City  was  laid  out,  he  joined  J.  B.  Chaussee  in  organizing  the  present 
firm  of  Martin  &  Chaussee  for  the  conduct  of  an  implement  and  farm  machinery  business. 
This  they  have  since  conducted  and  their  trade  has  steadily  grown.  Mr.  Martin  still  has 
his  homestead  and  farm  land  in  McKenzie  comity  and  he  is  meeting  with  good  success  in 
his  undertakings  by  reason  of  his  well  managed  business  affairs. 

In  September,  1906,  occurred  the  marriage  of  Mr.  Martin  and  Miss  Elizabeth  Balsizer, 
of  Fremont,  Ohio,  who  was  there  born  and  reared,  her  parents  being  Louis  and  Laura 
(Gessner)  Balsizer,  who  were  farming  people  of  Sandusky  county.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Martin 
have  three  children,  namely:  Lewis  Frederick  and  John  Paul,  who  were  born  on  the  home- 
stead place  near  Schafer,  North  Dakota;  and  Ethel  Marcelle,  whose  birth  occurred  at 
Watford  City,  this  state.     . 

Politically  Mr.  Martin  is  a  democrat  and  he  served  as  clerk  of  the  school  district  when 
it  comprised  one-half  of  McKenzie  county.  He  has  also  been  clerk  of  Watford  City.  His 
religious  faith  is  that  of  the  Lutheran  church  and  it  guides  him  in  all  of  his  relations, 
making  him  a  man   of  sterling  worth   and  lofty   purpose. 


E.  T.  MOEN. 


E.  T.  Moen,  actively  connected  with  farming  interests  in  Ramsey  county,  was  born  in 
Vernon  county,  Wisconsin,  October  5,  185S,  a  son  of  T.  and  Anna  C.  (Bair)  Moen.  The 
father  was  a  pioneer  settler  of  that  state,  taking  up  his  abode  within  its  borders  in  1848, 
but  both  he  and  his  wife  are  now  deceased. 

At  the  usual  age  E.  T.  Moen  entered  the  public  schools,  pursuing  his  studies  for  some 
time  in  La  Crosse,  Wisconsin,  where  he  became  a  high  school  pupil.  He  had  attained  the 
age  of  about  twenty-one  years  when  in  1879  he  left  home  and  removed  to  Fargo,  Dakota 
territory — for  this  was  ten  years  before  the  admission  of  the  state — and  there  became 
connected  with  the  firm  of  Hazen  &  Clement  in  the  real  estate  business.  In  1880  he  took 
up  a  claim  southwest  of  Fargo  and  while  engaged  in  the  development  of  his  property  also 
spent  considerable  time  in  buying  wheat  in  Fargo.  In  the  fall  of  1881  he  entered  the 
employ  of  the  Northwestern  Trust  Company  with  which  he  continued  for  two  years,  and 
in  1883  he  arrived  in  Ramsey  county,  opening  a  real  estate  and  loan  office  at  Devils  Lake 
in  connection  with  the  men  who  constituted  the  Northwestern  Trust  Company  at  Fargo. 
Gradually  he  acquired  land,  making  investment  as  he  found  opportunity,  and  for  some 
time  he  was  in  partnership  with  S.  Serumgard.  In  1904,  however,  he  withdrew  from  the 
partnership  and  concentrated  his  energies  upon  agricultural  pursuits  until  1909.  He  then 
disposed  of  his  farm  and  took  up  the  business  of  selling  farm  lands.  He  has  since  been 
active  in  that  field  and  in  farming  operations  and  has  met  with  a  fair  measure  of  success, 
his  labors  being  of  a  character  that  have  contributed  to  the  development  of  the  community 
in  considerable  measure. 

On  September  15,  1884,  Mr.  Moen  was  married  to  Miss  Reca  Steele  and  to  them  was 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  441 

born  a  son.  Everett  Warren,  who  passed  away  at  tlie  age  of  seven  years.  The  parents  are 
nienihers  of  the  Lutheran  church  and  Mr.  Jloen  gives  his  political  allegiance  to  the  republican 
party.  He  has  been  nominated  for  the  oflice  of  public  administrator.  He  is  deeply  inter- 
ested in  the  state  and  its  development  and  is  a  public-spirited  citizen,  interested  in  every 
plan  and  project  for  the  general  good  and  giving  hia  aid  and  cooperation  to  all  movements 
which  he  believes  will  benefit  city  and  state. 


WILLIAJI  C.  TREUMANN. 


William  C.  Treumann,  county  auditor  of  Walsh  county  and  president  of  the  Treumann 
Abstract  Company  of  Grafton,  was  born  at  Elmshorn,  Germany,  December  14,  1S62.  His 
father,  August  Treumann,  was  also  a  native  of  that  country,  where  he  remained  until  1872, 
when  he  brought  his  family  to  the  new  world,  settling  first  in  Ohio.  He  afterward  lived 
for  a  short  period  in  Indiana  and  then  removed  to  Le  Sueur,  Minnesota,  becoming  one  of  its 
early  settlers.  He  took  up  his  abode  there  in  1872.  He  was  a  ship  carpenter  in  Germany 
and  for  many  years  followed  the  sea  but  at  Le  Sueur  was  connected  with  the  repair  depart- 
ment of  the  Omaha  Railroad.  For  several  years  he  served  as  mayor  of  that  city  and  for  a 
number  of  years  was  a  member  of  the  city  council.  He  took  quite  an  active  interest  in 
politics,  giving  allegiance  to  the  republican  party.  He  passed  away  October  .'>.  1899,  meeting 
with  a  tragic  death  in  the  railroad  yards  at  Mankato,  Minnesota,  while  in  the  discharge  of 
his  duties,  being  at  that  time  fifty-nine  years  of  age.  His  wife,  who  bore  the  maiden  name 
of  Anna  Koenig,  spent  her  entire  life  in  Germany,  dying  in  1871.  She  was  the  mother  of 
three  children,  one  of  whom  passed  away  in  infancy,  while  the  surviving  daughter  is 
Helcno,  the  wife  of  Otto  J.  Larson,  now  residing  in  Seattle. 

The  son,  William  C.  Treumann,  was  educated  in  the  public  and  high  schools  and  the 
business  college  at  Le  Sueur.  Minnesota,  and  when  eighteen  years  of  age  made  his  initial 
step  in  the  business  world.  He  was  first  employed  as  bookkeeper  and  subsequently  engaged 
in  general  olTice  work  at  Le  Sueur.  On  the  l.'ith  of  November,  18S1,  he  arrived  in  Grand 
Forks,  and  though  an  utter  stranger,  he  immediately  secured  employment  as  a  bookkeeper 
with  the  firm  of  Luke  Steele  &  Company,  dealers  in  hardware  and  machinery.  He  con- 
tinued with  that  company  until  1885  and  in  the  winter  of  1883-4  was  transferred  to 
Grafton  as  general  manager.  He  resigned  his  position  the  following  year  in  order  to  enter 
the  real  estate,  insurance  and  loan  business  and  also  opened  a  set  of  abstract  books,  being 
today  the  oldest  in  the  abstract  bu.siness  in  Grafton,  succeeding  to  the  business  of  C.  A.  M. 
Spencer,  the  pioneer  abstractor  of  Walsh  county,  ifr.  Treumann  began  business  in  a  small 
way  but  today  is  the  leader  in  his  line  in  Walsh  county.  He  incorporated  his  interests 
under  the  name  of  the  Treumann  Abstract  Company,  of  w-hich  he  is  president,  while  W.  K. 
Treumann,  his  eldest  son,  is  secretary  and  treasurer.  They  handle  many  loans  and  nego- 
tiate many  important  realty  transfers  and  their  clientage  is  steadily  growing.  Mr.  Treu- 
mann is  also  a  director  of  the  First  National  Bank  and  conducts  a  farm  of  one  hundred 
and  sixty  acres  in  ^\''alsh  county,  in  addition  to  which  he  has  other  large  realty  holdings 
in   his  section   of   the  state. 

At  Grafton,  on  the  29th  of  November,  1888,  ilr.  Treumann  was  married  to  Miss 
Elizabeth  Baird,  a  native  of  Canada  and  a  daughter  of  the  late  .John  Baird.  Tliey  are 
parents  of  three  sons:  William  K.,  who  was  born  in  Grafton,  December  2,  1889,  is  the 
secretary  and  treasurer  of  the  Treumann  Abstract  Company,  although  at  the  present 
time  he  is  in  Texas  as  second  lieutenant  of  Company  C  of  the  First  North  Dakota  Infan- 
try; Oscar  B.,  who  was  born  January  6,  1891,  is  teller  in  the  First  National  Bank  of 
Grafton  and  also  serving  w-ith  the  same  regiment  in  Texas  as  battalion  sergeant  major. 
Elwell  ().  was  born  June  26.  1906. 

Politically  ^[r.  Treumann  is  a  stalwart  republican  and  in  1914  was  elected  county 
auditor  of  Walsh  county,  which  position  he  is  now  filling.  He  was  a  member  of  the 
school  board,  in  which  capacity  he  served  for  a  number  of  years,  and  he  was  formerly 
president  of  the  board  of  trustees  of  the  North  Dakota  Institution  for  the  Feeble 
Minded.     He,  too,  has  an   interesting   military  record,  for   in    1885   he   became   one   of  the 


442  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

first  members  and  organizers  of  Companj'  C  of  the  First  Regiment  of  tlie  North  Dakota 
National  Guard  and  was  made  second  lieutenant.  He  was  promoted  through  various 
grades  to  the  rank  of  colonel  and  as  such  commanded  his  regiment  in  the  Philippines 
during  the  insurrection  on  the  islands  at  the  time  of  the  Spanish-American  war.  There 
he  participated  in  more  than  thirty  engagements.  He  is  now  a  member  of  the  Spanish- 
American  Army  of  the  Philippines.  Fraternally  he  is  a  prominent  Mason,  belonging  to 
the  lodge,  chapter,  commandciy,  Mystic  Shrine  and  Eastern  Star.  He  also  has  member- 
ship in  the  Masonic  Veterans  Association  and  he  was  master  of  the  Military  Field  Lodge, 
the  only  organization  of  its  kind  formed  during  the  Spanish-American  war.  His  identifi- 
cation with  the  craft  dates  from  1891  and  he  has  ever  been  a  most  loyal  follower  of 
its  teachings  and  its  beneficent  purposes.  Something  of  the  nature  of  his  recreation  is 
indicated  in  the  fact  that  he  belongs  to  the  Curling  Club  of  Grafton  and  is  still  active 
in  the  promotion  of  military  rifle  shooting,  being  an  expert  with  the  military  rifle.  He  is 
also  a  member  of  the  Commercial  Club  of  Grafton.  His  has  been  an  active  and  honorable 
life,  fraught  with  good  deeds  and  crowned  with  successful  accomplishment,  and  his  mili- 
tary record  was  but  a  manifestation  of  the  spirit  of  patriotic  loyalty  which  has  always 
animated   him. 


ROBERT  A.  HINMAN. 


Robert  A.  Hinman,  of  Alexander,  who  is  filling  the  oflice  of  county  coroner  of 
McKenzie  county  and  is  well  known  as  a  furniture  dealer  and  undertaker,  was  born  near 
Ingraham,  Clay  county,  Illinois,  April  3.  1873,  a  son  of  Benjamin  and  Mary  (Reed) 
Hinman.  The  father  was  born  in  Pennsylvania  and  prior  to  the  Civil  war  resided  in  Clay 
county,  Illinois,  where  he  engaged  in  farming.  He  enlisted  in  the  Fifty-Third  Illinois 
Infantry  and  saw  service  in  various  hotly  contested  compaigns.  On  one  occasion  he  was 
run  over  and  severely  injured  by  the  ammunition  wagon,  his  death  resulting  from  the 
effects  of  this  injury  in  1877.  He  had  continued  to  reside  in  Clay  county  up  to  that 
time.  His  wife,  who  was  born  in  Virginia  and  pursued  her  education  in  that  state, 
afterward  went  with  her  parents  to  Ohio  and  later  to  Illinois,  where  she  married.  She 
is   now   living   in   Bridgeport,   Illinois. 

Robert  A.  Hinman  acquired  his  education  in  Chicago.  He  was  but  four  years  of 
age  when  his  father  died  and  he  early  began  to  earn  his  living.  He  served  as  a  bell 
boy  in  the  Congress  Hotel  in  Chicago  when  it  was  first  opened  and  afterward  was 
employed  for  three  years  at  the  Hospital  for  the  Insane  at  Kankakee,  Illinois.  He  also 
spent  six  years  at  the  Iowa  Hospital  for  the  Insane  at  Clarinda.  Iowa,  where  he  did  super- 
vising work  and  had  charge  of  the  embalming  in  the  morgue.  After  resigning  that  posi- 
tion he  removed  to  McKenzie  county,  North  Dakota,  in  the  spring  of  1906  and  took  up 
a  homestead  three  miles  west  of  Alexander.  He  proved  up  on  that  property,  after  which 
he  returned  to  the  Iowa  State  Hospital  for  the  Insane,  where  recognition  of  his  former 
capable  services  again  won  him  his  position. 

There  Mr.  Hinman  remained  until  the  spring  of  1910  when  he  married  and  took  up 
his  abode  on  his  homestead  in  McKenzie  county.  North  Dakota,  but  with  no  expectation 
of  remaining  permanently.  Some  of  the  people  in  the  community,  however,  called  upon 
him  to  act  as  embalmer  and  the  excellence  of  his  work  led  them  to  entreat  him  to 
remain  and  take  up  his  permanent  abode  in  Alexander.  He  purchased  an  old  building, 
fourteen  by  thirty  feet,  and  moved  it  to  his  lot  in  the  town,  first  squatting  upon  the 
lot  and  afterward  purchasing  it.  In  the  building  he  engaged  in  undertaking  and 
embalming  and  afterward  added  a  stock  of  furniture  and  has  since  been  numbered  among 
the    leading    merchants    of    the    community. 

On  May  14,  1910,  Mr.  Hinman  was  married  to  Miss  Elizabeth  Hill,  of  Clarinda.  Iowa, 
who  was  born  in  Scotland  but  was  educated  in  Kansas,  having  come  to  this  country 
at  the  age  of  ten  years.  In  their  family  are  three  children,  Robert  Ellis,  Max  Eldon  and 
Ivan    .James,   all    born    in    Alexander. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Hinman  are  members  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  churcli  and  Mr.  Hinman 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  443 

is  a  charter  member  of  both  the  Masonic  and  Odd  Fellows  lodges  in  Alexander  and  likewise 
has  mcmbersliip  with  the  Knights  of  Pythias.  His  political  support  is  given  to  the 
republican  party  and  he  was  the  first  man  elected  coroner  of  McKenzie  county,  which 
position  he  still  fills.  He  referecd  the  first  prize  fight,  umpired  the  first  organized  ball 
game  and  sold  the  first  Bible  at  retail  in  that  county.  He  is  a  licensed  embalmer  in  both 
Iowa  and  North  Dakota  and  has  had  an  unusual  experience  along  professional  lines  at 
the  two  state  hospitals.  He  is  competent  and  successful  and,  moreover,  in  the  com- 
munity in  which  he  resides  he  is  a  popular  man,  having  a  circle  of  friends  almost 
co-extensive   with  the  circle  of  his  acquaintance. 


THOilAS  M.  EVANS. 


Thomas  M.  Evans,  a  well  known  resident  of  Tioga,  has  there  resided  since  1910,  in 
which  year  he  established  and  incorporated  the  Goldammer-Evans  Company  for  the  pur- 
pose of  dealing  in  machinery,  horses  and  lands.  He  was  born  in  Fayette  county,  Pennsyl- 
vania, Xovember  16,  1864,  a  son  of  D.  K.  and  Hannah  N.  (Starr)  Evans.  The  father  was 
born  in  Brownsville,  Fayette  county,  and  became  a  machinist,  being  employed  for  some 
time  in  the  Snowden  machine  shops  in  building  railway  and  steamboat  engines,  in  which 
connection  he  assisted  in  building  the  engines  for  the  United  States  Steamship  Jlerrimac. 
He  was  engaged  in  work  on  the  engines  used  in  fitting  out  boats  for  the  navy  at  the  time 
of  the  Civil  war  and  later  removed  to  Keokuk  county,  Iowa,  where  he  engaged  in  farming. 
Subsequently  he  became  a  resident  of  Iowa  county,  Iowa,  where  he  is  now  living  retired,  making 
his  home  in  North  English  at  the  age  of  seventy-six  years.  His  wife,  who  was  born  in 
Fayette  county,  Pennsylvania,  and  was  there  reared  and  married,  accompanied  her  hus- 
band to  Iowa  and  passed  away  at  North  English  at  the  age  of  sixty-seven  years. 

Thomas  il.  Evans  was  reared  to  farm  life  in  Keokuk  county,  Iowa,  and  supplemented 
his  district  school  education  by  iiigh  school  training  at  North  English,  Iowa.  Following 
his  graduation  he  concentrated  his  energies  upon  farming  until  he  reached  the  age  of 
twenty-three  years,  when  thinking  to  find  commercial  pursuits  more  congenial  and  more 
profitable,  he  established  a  hardware  and  machinery  business  at  North  English,  remaining 
a  partner  in  that  enterprise  for  seven  years  after  working  for  a  time  in  the  same  line  by 
the  month.  In  1901  he  sold  out  there  and  the  following  year  acted  as  a  traveling  sales- 
man for  Hamilton  Brothers,  machinery  dealers  of  Cedar  Rapids,  Iowa.  The  year  190:i  wit- 
nessed his  arrival  in  North  Dakota,  at  which  time  he  took  up  his  abode  at  Lakota,  Nelson 
county,  becoming  manager  of  the  branch  store  of  the  Olsgard  &  Sandlie  Company,  dealers 
in  machinery,  lumber  and  furniture  at  Brocket,  North  Dakota.  There  he  continued  until 
1907  and  through  the  succeeding  three  years  resided  in  Dakota,  where  ho  had  charge  of 
collections  and  credits  for  the  Lakota  Mercantile  Company.  In  February,  1910,  he  arrived 
in  Tioga,  where  he  embarked  in  business  as  a  member  of  the  Goldammer-Evans  Company 
for  the  sale  of  machinery.  They  also  deal  in  horses  and  lands  and  conduct  an  extensive 
business  which  has  steadily  grown.  Mr.  Evans  is  general  manager  and  is  in  charge  of  the 
business  at  Tioga.  He  is  a  man  of  capability,  well  poised,  possessing  sound  judgment  and 
unfaltering  industry.  The  careful  management  of  his  business  affairs  has  brought  him 
a  substantial  success  and  made  him  one  of  the  representative  citizens  of  his  town. 

On  the  4th  of  February,  1889,  at  Sigourney,  Iowa,  Mr.  Evans  was  united  in  marriage 
to  Miss  Ida  I.  King,  who  was  born  on  a  farm  in  Iowa  county,  Iowa,  and  was  there  reared 
and  educated.  Her  parents,  Abel  and  Chestina  (Ray)  King,  were  farming  people  of  Iowa 
county,  Iowa,  and  are  now  deceased.  To  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Evans  have  been  born  four  chil- 
dren, as  follows:  Essie  May,  who  is  deceased;  Floyd  D.,  who  was  born  in  Washington 
county.  Iowa,  and  is  associated  with  his  father  in  business;  Olive  D.,  born  in  Nira,  Wash- 
ington county,  Iowa;  and  Cledith  C,  who  was  born  at  North  English,  Iowa,  and  is  assistant 
cashier   in   a   bank  at   Scobey,   Montana. 

Politically  Mr.  Evans  is  a  republican  and  is  now  serving  as  president  of  the  town 
council  of  Tioga.  Fraternally  he  is  connected  with  the  Masonic  lodge  at  Lakota,  in  which 
he  lipid   the  oflfice  of  junior   warden,  and   lie  also  belongs   to  the  Modern   Woodmen   camp  at 


444  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

Lakota.  A  Presbyterian  in  religious  faith,  lie  assisted  largely  in  building  the  church  of 
that  denomination  at  Tioga,  which  is  now  free  from  all  indebtedness  and  is  a  credit  to 
the  town.  He  has  never  been  neglectful  of  the  higher,  holier  duties  of  life,  has  ever  found 
time  to  cooperate  in  the  moral  development  of  the  communities  in  which  he  has  lived  and 
his  work   in   this   connection,  as   in   other   directions,   has   been   farreachng  and   beneficial. 


JOHN  C.  ZELLER. 


John  C.  Zeller  is  a  merchant,  postmaster  and  bandmaster  at  Watford  City.  He  is  the 
only  man  who  has  ever  occupied  the  position  of  postmaster,  having  been  appointed  to 
the  position  when  the  new  town  was  laid  out.  He  was  born  near  Metz,  in  Alsace-Lorraine, 
Germany,  October  17,  1881,  his  parents  being  Michael  and  Mary  (Klopstein)  Zeller.  The 
father,  also  a  native  of  that  country,  was  a  silk  weaver  and  there  remained  until  1888, 
when  he  became  a  resident  of  Shakopee,  Minnesota,  where  he  took  up  railroad  work,  both 
he  and  his  wife   spending  their  remaining   days   in  that  place. 

John  C.  Zeller  was  a  little  lad  of  seven  years  when  his  parents  brought  their  family 
to  the  new  world.  He  has  already  attended  school  for  a  year  in  Metz  and  on  reaching  Min- 
nesota entered  the  public  schools  of  Shakopee,  there  pursuing  his  education.  He  made  his 
initial  step  in  the  business  world  as  clerk  in  a  general  store  and  in  1907  he  removed  to 
McKenzie  county,  North  Dakota,  where  he  homesteaded  near  Schafer.  At  the  same  time 
he  managed  a  hardware  store  in  Schafer  and  when  the  new  town  of  Watford  City  was  laid 
out  he  took  up  his  abode  there  and  opened  a  hardware  store  on  the  1st  of  May,  1914.  He 
has  since  carried  on  the  business  and  is  accorded  a  liberal  patronage.  He  still  owns  his 
homestead  and  other  farm  lands,  from  which  he  derives  a  good  rental,  and  he  is  rceognized 
as  a  progressive  young  business  man,  alert,  energetic  and  farsigbted.  He  was  appointed 
the  first  postmaster  of  Watford  City  and  has  occupied  the  position  to  the  present  time. 

In  politics  Mr.  Zeller  is  a  democrat  and  for  four  years  he  has  filled  the  office  of  public 
administrator  of  McKenzie  county.  His  religious  faith  is  that  of  the  Roman  Catholic 
church.  He  organized  the  Watford  City  Band,  of  which  he  is  leader,  and  this  organization 
has  become  well  known,  doing  excellent  work.  He  possesses  natural  musical  talent  which 
he  has  developed  through  study  and  practice,  and  he  has  made  the  Watford  City  Band  an 
organization  most  creditable  to  the  town. 


LOUIS  NELSON  STICE. 


Louis  Nelson  Stice  is  a  worthy  representative  of  the  industrial  and  business  interests 
of  Williston,  being  at  the  head  of  the  Stice  Motor  Company.  He  was  bom  in  Waverly,  Illi- 
nois, on  the  2d  of  March,  1879,  a  son  of  William  B.  and  Sarah  Jane  (Smith)  Stice.  The 
father  was  also  a  native  of  that  state  and  was  educated  at  Waverly.  For  many  years  he 
followed  farming  near  that  town  but  is  now  living  retired  in  Springfield,  Illinois.  The  birth 
of  the  mother  occurred  near  Auburn  in  Sangamon  county,  Illinois,  and  she  died  on  the  old 
Stice  homestead   near  Waverly. 

During  his  boyhood  and  youth  Louis  Nelson  Stice  remained  under  the  parental  roof, 
attending  first  the  district  schools  and  later  the  Waverly  high  school,  from  whicli  he  was 
graduated.  Going  to  Springfield,  Illinois,  he  there  served  a  three  years'  apprenticeship  to 
the  machinist's  trade,  which  he  followed  in  Illinois  until  1905,  when  he  went  to  Williston, 
North  Dakota,  as  a  machinist  in  the  employ  of  the  Great  Northern  Railroad.  In  1909  he 
established  the  Williston  Machine  &  Boiler  Works  and  conducted  business  under  that  name 
until  1910,  when  he  purchased  the  interests  of  his  partners  and  changed  the  style  of  the 
firm  to  the  Stice  Motor  Company.  He  erected  a  good  modern  brick  garage  and  in  connec- 
tion with  the  machine  business  does  a  general  automobile  business,  dealing  in  Maxwell  and 
Buick  cars.    He  is  manager  of  the  enterprise  and  has  in  his  employ  a  number  of  first  class 


LOUIS  N.  STICE 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  447 

incilianics  wlio  turn  out  exeullent  work.  Mr.  .Stico  also  owns  a  line  home  in  Williston  and 
owns  and  operates  considerable  farm  land  in  Williams  county. 

At  St.  Louis,  Missouri,  in  1904,  was  celebrated  the  marriage  of  Mi-.  Stice  and  Miss 
Mabel  Hazlett,  who  was  born,  reared  and  educated  in  Taylorville,  Illinois.  Her  parents, 
James  K.  and  Mary  Hazlett,  are  also  natives  of  the  Prairie  state  and  for  many  years  the 
father  was  engaged  in  farming  near  Taylorville  but  in  1913  came  to  North  Dakota  and  took 
up  a  homestead  in  Williams  county.  At  present  he  is  living  retired  in  Willi.stoii.  Of  the 
four  children  born  to  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Stice  three  are  living,  namely:  Robert,  born  in  Eloom- 
ington,  Illinois,  March  4,  1905;  Lawrence,  born  in  Williston,  North  Dakota,  December  33, 
I'JOT;    and  Mary  Eoseland,  born  in   Williston,  January   1,   1910. 

Mr.  Stice  is  independent  in  politics  and  is  a  member  of  the  Masonic  lodge  of  Williston. 
He  also  belongs  to  the  Williston  Commercial  Club.  Upright  and  honorable  in  all  his  deal- 
ings, he  stands  high  in  business  circles  and  his  course  in  life  has  ever  been  such  as  to  com- 
mend him  to  the  confulonee  and  higli  regard  of  all  witli  whom  he  has  been  brought  in  contact. 


ET.    EEV.    .JOSEPH    AUGUSTIN    LEIHEUX. 

Rt.  Rev.  Joseph  Augustin  Lemicux,  rector  of  St.  Jlichael's  Pro-Cathedral  at  Grand 
Forks,  was  born  at  St.  Anselm,  Dorchester  county,  Canada,  August  28,  1855,  a  son  of 
William  Lemieu.K,  a  native  of  Canada,  who  was  born  in  January,  1807,  and  passed  away 
February  7,  1894,  in  St.  Lazare,  county  of  Bellcchasse,  in  the  province  of  Quebec,  Canada, 
aged  about  eighty-eight  years;  he  was  a  carpenter,  builder  and  farmer  and  was  a  very 
devout  member  of  the  Roman  Catholic  church — a  man  of  high  ideals  and  principles.  He 
was  descended  from  an  old  Canadian  family  of  French  origin,  the  progenitors  of  the 
family  having  come  from  Rouen,  Normandy,  during  the  early  part  of  the  seventeenth 
century.  It  was  two  brothers,  Peter  and  William,  who  founded  the  J.K!niieux  family  in 
Canada  and  the  United  States,  the  former  settling  at  Levis,  in  the  province  of  Quebec,  and 
the  latter  at  St.  Thomas,  Montmagny  county,  Quebec.  It  is  of  the  latter  branch  that 
Rev.   Lemieux   is    a   representative. 

William  Lemieux,  father  of  the  Rt.  Rev.  J.  A.  Lemieux,  was  married  in  early  man- 
hood to  Elizabeth  Campagna,  a  native  of  St.  Isidore  in  the  province  of  Quebec.  She  was 
born  in  September,  1812,  and  passed  away  November  10,  1874,  at  the  age  of  sixty-two 
years.  She  had  a  family  of  fifteen  children,  nine  sons  and  six  daughters,  of  whom 
Rev.  Lemieux  of  this  review  was  the  youngest.  Three  of  the  number  have  entered 
religious  orders.  Rev.  D.  M.  Lemieux,  born  February  24,  1842,  is  now  retired.  He  was 
graduated  from  Laval  University  of  Quebec  and  was  ordained  October  1,  1871,  by  Cardinal 
Taschereau.  A  daughter  of  the  family,  Vitalina  Lemieux,  now  known  as  Sister  ilary 
Philomina  of  the  Jesus  Marie  Order  in  Woonsocket,  Rhode  Island,  has  been  mother 
superior    of   various   convents. 

The  early  life  of  the  Rt.  Rev.  J.  A.  lycmieux  was  spent  upon  the  home  farm  of  his 
father  and  his  early  education  was  obtained  in  the  schools  of  Saint  Vital  de  Lambton, 
Beauce  county,  in  the  province  of  Quebec.  He  afterward  attended  a  preparatory  school 
in  the  city  of  Quebec,  later  studied  in  St.  Lawrence  College  near  Montreal  and  was 
ordained  at  the  Trappist  monastery  at  Oka.  by  Archbishop  Fabre  of  the  Montreal  arch- 
diocese, October  28,  1883.  His  first  charge  was  that  of  assistant  priest  to  his  brother, 
the  Rev.  D.  M  Lemieux,  in  preparation  for  missionary  work  at  Rlanc  Sablon  on  the 
Labrador  coast.  He  was  afterward  in  Montreal  as  assistant  pastor  in  St.  Scholastic  and 
St.  Bartholomew  churches.  He  then  came  to  the  United  States,  going  first  to  Marlboro, 
Massachusetts,  and  afterward  he  was  assistant  pastor  at  Webster  and  later  at  Fitchburg, 
Massachusetts.  In  1892  he  was  given  charge  of  the  church  at  Mandan.  Nortli  Dakota,  and 
subse(|Uently  was  transferred  to  the  cathedral  at  Fargo.  In  1898  he  built  the  cathedral, 
which  is  a  magnificent  monument  to  the  cause.  On  the  1st  of  September,  1907.  he  retired 
on  account  of  ill  health  and  when  he  had  sufficientlj'  recovered  to  resume  active  duty  he 
was  appointed  pastor  of  St.  Jlichael's  at  Grand  Forks  on  February  21,  1911,  where  he 
has  since  remained.  He  was  made  a  domestic  prelate  by  His  Holiness  Pope  Pius  X.  Thia 
Vol.  m— 21 


us  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

decree  was  issued  August  24,  1911,  after  ^vliich  liis  investiture  toolc  place  ou  Tlianks- 
giving  day  of  the  same  year.  His  zeal  and  devotion  to  tlie  cause  have  resulted  in  his 
advancement  in  ecclesiastical  ranks.  His  work  at  Grand  Forks  has  had  far-reaching 
effect,  resulting  in  bringing  his  people  into  closer  connection  with  the  churcli,  and  he  is 
today  one  of  tlie  most  distinguished  representatives  of  the  Catholic  ministry  in  tlie  west. 


C.  E.  GRAY. 

G.  E.  Gray,  proprietor  of  the  Colonial  Hotel  at  Devils  Lake,  has  been  engaged  in  the 
conduct  of  that  hostehy  since  1911.  He  is  a  native  of  Illinois,  his  birth  having  occurred 
at  Lena,  October  10,  1876,  liis  parents  being  John  P.  and  Elizabeth  (Brue)  Gray.  The 
father  was  a  soldier  in  the  Civil  war,  serving  as  a  bugler,  and  he  and  liis  wife  are  now 
residents  of  Devils  Lake. 

After  acquiring  a  public  school  education  in  his  native  state,  C.  E.  Gray,  at  the  age 
of  eighteen  years  engaged  in  the  restaurant  business,  devoting  about  seventeen  years  to 
that  activity  in  connection  with  railroad  eating  houses  in  Chicago.  He  was  connected 
with  C.  H.  Shaver  and  with  the  Railroad  News  Company.  His  long  experience  gave  him 
comprehensive  knowledge  of  the  wants  of  the  traveling  public  in  that  connection  and  in 
1911  he  purchased  the  Colonial  Hotel  of  Devils  Lake,  a  three  story  building  of  sixty- 
eight  rooms,  with  hot  and  cold  water  in  each  room.  He  has  about  sixteen  employes  and 
in  connection  with  the  hotel  conducts  a  lunch  counter.  In  addition  to  his  hotel  interests 
he  owns  a  dairy  and  vegetable  farm  from  which  he  secures  supplies  of  fresh  vegetables 
and  milk. 

On  the  21st  of  JIarch,  1900,  Mr.  Gray  was  married  to  Miss  Grace  Smith,  a  native 
of  Minnesota  and  to  them  have  been  born  two  children,  Maude  L.  and  Allen  E.  Mr.  and 
Mrs.  Gray  hold  membership  in  the  Episcopal  church  and  he  is  a  prominent  Mason  who 
has  advanced  to  high  rank  in  the  order  and  is  now  a  member  of  the  Mystic  Shrine.  He 
also  has  membership  in  the  Benevolent  Protective  Order  of  Elks.  His  political  allegiance 
is  given  to  the  democratic  party,  yet  he  is  not  strictly  partisan,  often  regarding  tlie  capa- 
bility of  the  candidate  as  above  his  party  connection.  He  is  interested  in  matters  per- 
taining to  the  public  good  and  is  never  neglectful  of  the  duties  of  citizenship,  giving  his 
aid  and   cooperation   wherever   the   best   interests   of   the   community   aVe   to    be   furthered. 


WILLIAM  WILTSCHKO. 


William  Wiltschko,  filling  the  office  of  county  auditor  of  Foster  count}-,  was  born 
in  Escanaba,  Michigan,  on  tlie  lOtli  of  August,  1876,  a  son  of  Mathias  and  Margaret 
(Kuplik)  Wiltschko,  both  of  whom  were  natives  of  Austria.  The  father  when  a  lad  of 
nine  years  came  with  his  parents  to  the  United  States,  and  the  mother  crossed  the  Atlan- 
tic in  young  womanhood.  Both  settled  in  Wisconsin,  where  they  were  married,  and  sub- 
sequently they  removed  to  Escanaba,  Michigan.  There  Mathias  Wiltschko  engaged  in 
business  for  some  years  as  a  foundrj'man  and  later  became  connected  with  the  fishing 
industry.  In  1882  he  was  one  of  the  pioneer  settlers  of  North  Dakota  and  spent  the 
summer  and  following  winter  in  Jamestown.  In  April,  18S3,  he  removed  his  family  to 
this  state,  taking  up  his  abode  on  a  homestead  in  Bertsell  township,  Foster  county,  about 
seven  miles  north  of  the  present  town  site  of  Carrington.  There  he  devoted  his  ener- 
gies to  fanning  until  his  death,  which  occurred  January  17,  1903.  His  widow  still  sur- 
vives and  now  makes  her  home  with  her  son  William. 

Spending  his  youthful  days  under  the  parental  roof,  and  acquiring  his  education  in 
the  district  schools,  William  Wiltschko  on  attaining  his  majority  became  the  active  asso- 
ciate and  assistant  of  his  father  in  the  operation  of  the  home  farm,  the  boundaries  of 
which  had  been  increased  until  it  embraced  an  entire  section.  After  his  father's  death 
in  1903,  he  and   his  brother  August  took   charge   of   the   home   place  and   continued    its   cul- 


IllSTURY  UF  XURlil  DAKUIA  WJ 

tivatioii  until  tlir  t:ill  of  11)14,  when  William  Wiltsi-hko  wus  elected  to  tlie  ulliec  dI  euiinty 
nuilitiir,  in  wliiili  rapacity  lie  is  now  serving,  making  an  excellent  record  by  the  prompt, 
capable  and  s.vstemalic  manner  in  which  he  discliarges  his  duties.  Jle  is  a  democrat 
in  his  jiolitical  belief  and  was  elected  to  the  ollice  in  a  strongly  republican  county,  a  fact 
which   indicates   his   ])ersonal   po])ularity   and   the  conlidenee   reposed   in   him. 

.Mr.  Wilstchko  belongs  to  Aurora  Lodge,  No.  ati,  K.  &.  A.  Jl.;  to  the  Carrington  Chap- 
ter, No.  15,  K.  A.  M.;  and  to  Zion  Commandery,  No.  '.),  K.  T.  He  also  has  memlxMship 
iu  Barlow  Lodge,  No  106,  L  0.  O.  F.,  and  with  the  Knights  of  the  .Maccabees.  Carring- 
ton  numbers  him  among  her  representative  citizens  and  Foster  county  classes  him  with 
those  who  have  aided  materially  in  promoting  its  (levelopmeiit  and  bringing  almiit  its 
Ijresent-day   progress  and  i)rospcrity. 


JOHN  M.  SCHRAM,  D.  D.  S. 

Dr.  .lohii  .M.  Schrani,  engaged  in  tlie  )n-acticc  of  dcntistiy  at  i\ay,  was  burn  in 
Jfazeppa.  Minnesota,  October  15,  1879,  a  son  of  Matthew  and  Anna  (Dunlinger) 
Scluam.  The  father,  a  native  of  Prussia,  Germany,  came  to  America  in  young  manhood, 
making  his  way  to  Cliicago,  Illinois,  where  he  did  newspaper  work.  In  18G1,  responding 
to  the  country's  call  for  aid,  he  enlisted  in  an  Illinois  infantry  regiment  and  was  at  the 
front  for  three  years,  being  wounded  in  battle  on  one  occasion.  lie  served  with  the  rank 
of  sergeant  and  returned  to  his  home  with  a  most  creditable  military  record.  After  the 
war  he  continued  newspaper  work  in  Chicago  until  on  account  of  his  health  he  was  obliged 
to  remove  to  Mazeppa,  Minnesota,  where  ho  established  the  Mazeppa  Tribune,  of  which 
he  was  editor  and  owner  for  a  number  of  years.  He  passed  away  there  at  the  age  of 
forty-three  and  is  still  survived  by  his  widow,  who  was  born  in  Luxemburg,  (Jermauy,  and 
in  early  womanhood  became  a  resident  of  Chicago,  where  she  was  married.  For  a  time 
she  engaged  in  the  millinery  business  in  Minnesota  and  afterward  in  North  ]>akota  and  is 
now  the  owner  of  a  fruit  ranch  at  Sandpoint,  Idalio. 

Dr.  Schram  attended  the  city  schools  of  Mazeppa,  Minnesota,  to  the  age  of  sixteen 
years  ami  afterward  matriculated  in  the  Lake  City  high  school,  from  which  he  was  grad- 
uated. Having  determined  to  make  the  practice  of  der.tistry  his  life  work,  he  then  entered 
the  Cliicago  College  of  Dental  Surgery,  from  which  he  was  graduated  in  1903  with  the- 
D.  D.  S.  degree.  He  first  located  for  practice  at  Park  Kiver,  North  Dakota,  where  he 
remained  for  four  years  or  until  1907  and  then  removed  to  Kay,  Williams  county,  where 
he  has  since  practiced.  He  became  the  pioneer  dentist  there  and  in  fact  was  one  of  the 
first  dentists  of  the  northwestern  part  of  the  state.  He  has  always  kept  in  close  touch 
with  the  onward  march  of  the  profession  and  his  ability  is  widely  recognized,  for  he  pos- 
sesses notable  mechanical  skill  and  ingenuity  as  well  as  comprehensive  knowledge  of  the 
scientific  principles  of  his  profession.  He  is  still  the  owner  of  a  quarter  section  of  land 
a  mile  and  a  half  west  of  Ray,  which  he  homesteaded  and  from  which  he  now  derives  a 
good  rental. 

On  the  28th  of  December,  1909.  at  Red  Lake  Falls,  Minnesota.  Dr.  Silnan.  was  united 
in  marriage  to  Miss  Mayme  Ericson,  a  native  of  Sweden  and  a  daughter  of  Louis  E.  and 
Anna  Ericson,  who  were  also  born  in  that  country.  The  father,  a  tailor  by  trade,  brought 
his  family  to  the  United  States  when  Mrs.  Schram  was  but  three  years  of  age,  becoming 
one  of  the  early  settlers  of  Red  Lake  Falls,  Minnesota.  Mrs.  Schram  is  a  graduate  of  the 
Mankato  (Minnesota)  Normal  School  and  for  six  years  prior  to  her  marriage  taught 
school  at  Fergus  Falls  and  Cloquet,  Minnesota.  She  is  now  the  mother  of  three  chil- 
dren, namely:  Duane  -\rthur,  Lloyd  William  and  .John  Noel,  all  natives  of  Kay.  North 
Dakota. 

The  religious  faith  of  the  family  is  that  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  church  and  Dr. 
Schram  is  well  known  in  fraternal  circles,  being  a  charter  member  of  Craftsman  Lodgi', 
No.  107,  F.  &  A.  JL.  of  which  he  is  now  worshipful  master,  past  noble  grand  of  Ray  Lodge, 
No.  126,  I.  0.  0.  F.,  and  a  member  of  the  Knights  of  Pythias.  He  was  a  delegate  to  the 
grand  lodge  of   Masons   in   North   Dakota   and   has   been   an   active  worker   in   behalf   of  the 


450  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

craft.  His  wife  is  connected  with  the  Rebekah  degree  of  Odd  Fellows.  Mrs.  Schram  is 
past  noble  grand  of  the  lodge  for  the  second  time  and  has  been  district  deputy  and  dele- 
gate to  the  grand  lodge  and  is  now  president  of  Rebekah  District,  No.  17.  Di-.  Schram  is  an 
earnest  worker  for  all  those  principles  which  stand  as  the  basic  element  of  these  orders 
and  which  inculcate  higher  standards  of  living  among  men.  His  political  allegiance  is  that 
of  the  progressive  republican  type  and  in  a  word  Dr.  Schram  stands  for  improvement  and 
advancement  in  all  things  political,  social,  intellectual  and  moral  as  well  as  in  connection 
with  his  profession. 


J.   EDWARD   STRAND. 


J.  Edward  Strand,  serving  for  the  third  term  as  clerk  of  the  district  court  in 
McKenzie  county  and  also  engaged  in  the  abstract  business  at  Schafer,  was  born  in 
Winnebago  county,  Iowa,  October  11,  1882,  a  son  of  Henry  J.  and  Carolina  (Railson) 
Strand.  The  father  was  a  native  of  Norway  but  acquired  the  greater  part  of  his  educa- 
tion in  the  schools  of  this  country,  having  crossed  the  Atlantic  in  early  life.  He  became  a 
resident  of  Iowa,  where  he  took  up  the  occupation  of  farming.  He  was  educated  for  the 
ministry  and  engaged  in  preaching  during  his  active  life  but  is  now  living  retired  on  his 
farm   near   Xorthwood,   Iowa.     His   wife  was   born   in  Wisconsin. 

J.  Edward  Strand  pursued  his  early  education  at  Albert  Lea,  Minnesota,  attending 
the  Luther  Academy  there  and  also  Luther  College  at  Decorah,  Iowa.  He  became  a 
teacher  in  Traill  county.  North  Dakota,  in  1905  and  the  following  year  taught  at  Minot, 
Ward  county.  In  the  fall  of  1906  he  arrived  in  McKenzie  county  and  homesteaded  near 
Schafer,  where  he  has  since  resided.  He  has  been  called  to  several  public  offices,  first 
serving  as  deputy  county  treasurer  of  McKenzie  county,  while  in  1912  he  was  elected 
clerk  of  the  district  court.  His  fidelity  and  capability  in  office  are  indicated  in  the  fact 
that  he  was  reelected  in  1914  and  1916.  ^Vhile  acting  in  that  capacity  he  also  conducts 
an  abstract  business  in  Schafer  and  his  plans  are  always  well  defined  and  promptly 
executed. 

On  the  17th  of  June,  1911,  Mr.  Strand  was  united  In  marriage  to  Miss  Bessie  Shaw, 
of  Iowa,  who  pursued  her  education  in  the  Iowa  Normal  School  and  in  the  Luther 
Academy  at  Albert  Lea,  Minnesota.  She  was  a  successful  teacher  prior  to  her  marriage, 
following  that  profession  in  Iowa  and  in  Glasgow,  Montana.  She  has  become  the  mother 
of   two    children,   Elizabeth    and    Carroll. 

In  his  political  views  Mr.  Strand  has  always  been  a  republican,  su]>porting  the  party 
since  age  conferred  upon  him  the  right  of  franchise,  and  that  he  is  popular  with  his  fellow 
townsmen  is  indicated  by  the  large  majorities  which  have  been  given  him  at  his  elections. 


WARREN    D.    PUTMAN. 


Warren  D.  Putman,  owner  and  publisher  of  the  Strecter  Herald  and  well  known  as 
one  of  the  progressive  citizens  of  Streeter,  was  born  in  Gloversville,  New  York,  September 
25,  1876,  a  son  of  Aaron  and  Sophia  (Skaine)  Putman.  The  father  died  in  the  Empire 
state,  after  which  the  mother  came  with  her  son,  Warren  D..  to  North  Dakota  and  is 
still    a    member    of    his    household. 

Warren  D.  Putman  is  indebted  to  the  public  school  system  of  New  York  for  the  edu- 
cational privileges  which  he  enjoyed  and  which  qualified  him  for  life's  practical  and 
responsible  duties.  In  early  manhood  he  took  up  the  trade  of  plumbing,  which  he  mas- 
tered and  followed  for  some  time  in  New  York.  Attracted  by  the  opportunities  of  the 
growing  west,  however,  he  left  New  York  in  1903  and  made  his  way  to  Oldham,  South 
Dakota,  where  he  purchased  a  restaurant,  which  he  conducted  for  one  year.  He  then  came 
to  North  Dakota  and  filed  on  section  24,  township  137,  range  69,  in  Stutsman  county.  He 
proved   up  his   property   and   continued   the   work   of   further   development   and   cultivation 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  451 

until  1912,  converting  it  into  an  excellent  farm.  After  living  thereon  for  eight  years 
he  removed  to  Streetcr  and  opened  a  restaurant,  which  he  conducted  for  a  year  and  a, 
half.  At  the  end  of  that  time  he  secured  a  position  in  the  office  of  the  Streeter  Herald, 
then  owned  by  the  firm  of  Krekow  &  Rieland.  This  paper  has  been  established  by 
'lom  Pettet  in  1907  and  in  1915  was  purcliased  by  Jlr.  Putman,  who  is  now  sole  owner 
and  is  as  well  the  editor  and  manager.  The  paper  is  accorded  a  good  circulating  and 
advertising  patronage  and  by  reason  of  its  enterprising  manner  of  gathering  and  dis- 
seminating news  has  become  popular  with  the  public.  Mr.  Putman  has  recently  erected 
a  new  frame  office  building  twenty-four  by  thirty  feet,  two  stories  in  height,  in  which 
the  newspaper  plant  is  now  housed.  Agi-iculturc  also  claims  a  part  of  his  attention,  for 
he  is  still  farming  his  place  and  derives  therefrom  a  gratifying  annual  income. 

In  1905  Mr.  Putman  was  married  to  Miss  Myra  Christman,  a  native  of  Palatine 
Bridge,  New  York,  whence  she  removed  to  North  Dakota.  Three  daughters  have  been 
born  of   this   marriage,   Barbara,  Beulali  and   Virginia,   all  attending   the   Streetcr   schools. 

Mr.  Putman  publishes  the  Herald  as  an  independent  paper  but  exercises  his  right  of 
franchise  in  support  of  the  men  and  measures  of  the  republican  party,  and  has  filled  the 
office  of  justice  of  the  peace  in  Streeter,  in  which  connection  he  has  made  an  excellent 
record  by  the  fair  and  impartial  manner  in  which  he  has  discharged  his  duties.  He 
belongs  to  that  class  of  enterprising  men  who  are  fast  upbuilding  the  west,  utilizing  the 
natural  resources  offered  in  the  state  and  putting  forth  every  effort  to  promote  progress 
and    improvement    here. 


JAMES  A.  Wtt,KINS. 


.James  A.  Wilkins,  cashier  of  the  Merchants  Bank  of  Pembina,  was  born  in  Huron 
county,  Ontario,  September  24,  1877,  and  was  the  eldest  of  the  family  of  four  children  born 
to  A.  C.  and  Mary  (Kerr)  Wilkins.  The  father  was  a  native  of  England  and  came  to 
.\merica  in  the  '50s,  after  which  he  took  up  the  occupation  of  farming  in  Huron  county. 
Eventually  he  removed  to  North  Dakota,  settling  at  Drayton  in  1882.  He  cast  in  his  lot 
with  the  pioneer  residents  of  that  district  and  was  engaged  in  the  hotel  business  at  Drayton 
and  also  in  farming,  his  death  occurring  in  191.'!,  wlien  he  had  reached  the  age  of  sixty-two 
years.  He  wedded  Mary  Kerr,  a  native  of  Ontario,  Canada,  and  of  Irish  descent.  Of  their 
children,  Mabel  is  now  a  resident  of  Winnipeg.  Nellie  became  the  wife  of  R.  J.  Moore  and 
is  residing  in  Drayton,  while  Charles  W.  Wilkins  is  a  banker  of  Willow  City,  North  Dakota. 

.James  A.  Wilkins  was  but  a  child  at  the  time  of  the  removal  of  the  family  to  North 
Dakota  and  in  the  schools  of  Drayton  pursued  his  education,  passing  through  consecutive 
grades  to  the  high  school.  His  youthful  exjieriences  were  those  that  fall  to  tlie  lot  of  the 
farm  boy  who  is  early  called  upon  to  aid  in  the  labors  of  the  field.  On  attaining  his  majority 
he  entered  upon  an  independent  business  career,  securing  the  position  of  iKiokkcepcr  in  the 
First  Bank  of  Drayton,  now  known  as  the  First  National  Bank.  He  there  remained  for 
two  years  and  in  December,  1898,  he  removed  to  Pembina  to  accept  the  position  of  assistant 
cashier  in  the  Merchants  Bank,  occupying  that  position  until  1902.  He  was  then  elected 
cashier  and  has  so  continued  to  the  present  time,  covering  a  period  of  more  than  fourteen 
years.  His  connection  with  the  bank  embraces  a  period  of  almost  twenty  years  and  by 
reason  of  his  capability,  close  application,  fidelity  and  comprehensive  knowledge  of  the 
banking  business  he  has  contributed  in  large  measure  to  the  success  of  the  institution.  The 
bank  is  capitalized  for  ten  thousand  dollars,  has  a  surplus  of  ten  thousand  dollars  and 
niiilividod  profits  of  almost  three  thousand  dollars.  Its  deposits  amount  to  almost  two 
hundred  thousand  dollars.  The  bank  has  enjoyed  a  continuous  growth  from  tlie  beginning, 
and  as  Mr.  Wilkins  has  been  with  it  from  the  start,  he  deserves  much  credit  for  what  has 
been  accomplished. 

On  the  17th  of  .June.  1902.  Jlr.  Wilkins  was  married  in  Essex,  Ontario,  to  Miss  Elma 
Naylor,  a  native  of  Canada  and  a  daughter  of  .James  and  Ellen  Naylor,  both  now  deceased. 
They  have  one  child,  Ellen  Paith,  born  in  Pombiija,  May  30,  1903. 

Mr.  Wilkins  is  a  republican  and  takes  an  active  part  in  the  local  interests  of  the  party. 


452  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

He  lias  served  as  a  member  of  tlie  school  board  and  as  a  member  of  the  city  council  for  a 
number  of  years  and  is  at  present  connected  with  both.  He  has  done  much  to  further  public 
progress  and  his  farsighted  plans  and  carefully  executed  purposes  are  fruitful  of  good 
results.  He  belongs  to  the  Commercial  Club  and  to  Pembina  Lodge,  No.  3,  F.  &  A.  M.,  which 
is  the  second  oldest  lodge  in  the  state.  He  has  served  as  its  master  for  several  terms  and 
has  taken  a  most  active  part  in  its  work.  His  life  has  been  characterized  by  those  qualities 
which  have  been  dominant  elements  in  making  for  good  citizenship.  He  is  a  substantial 
business  man  and  at  the  same  time  he  recognizes  his  obligations  in  public  connections  and 
is  always  loyal  to  the  trust  reposed  in  him. 


MARTIN  OLSEN. 


Martin  Olsen,  successfully  conducting  a  photographic  studio  in  Kenmare,  is  one  of  the 
representative  business  men  and  substantial  and  valued  citizens  of  Ward  county.  He  was 
born  in  Hutchinson,  McLeod  county,  Minnesota,  November  20,  1883,  a  son  of  William  and 
Marie  (Christianson)  Olsen.  The  father  was  born  near  Veile,  Denmark,  and  in  young  man- 
hood joined  the  army,  with  which  he  served  for  many  years,  but  later  turned  his  attention 
to  farming.  In  the  early  '70s  he  crossed  the  Atlantic  to  the  new  world,  establishing  his 
home  near  Hutchinson,  Minnesota,  where  he  purchased  land  and  engaged  in  tilling  the  soil 
to  the  time  of  his  death,  which  occurred  October  15,  1905.  His  wife,  also  a  native  of  Den- 
mark, was  brought  to  America  in  her  early  girlhood  days,  the  family  home  being  established 
in  Minnesota.  Following  the  death  of  her  husband  she  sold  the  old  home  farm  and  removed 
to  Hutchinson,  Minnesota.     She  is  at  present  making  her  home  with  her  son  Martin. 

Martin  Olsen  was  reared  upon  the  farm  near  Hutchinson  and  obtained  a  district  school 
education,  supplemented  by  study  in  the  city  schools  of  Hutchinson  and  in  Ansgar  College 
there,  taking  a  business  com'sc  in  the  latter,  after  which  he  took  up  the  trade  of  painting. 
In  1905  he  removed  to  Kenmare,  North  Dakota,  and  began  traveling  for  the  Watkins  Medical 
Company.  He  had  previously,  however,  taken  up  a  claim  at  Balfour,  North  Dakota,  which 
he  occupied  until  his  removal  to  Kenmare.  After  three  years  spent  with  the  Watkins  Medical 
Company  he  bought  out  a  photographic  studio  in  Kenmare  in  1908  and  for  seven  months 
conducted  the  business  in  partnership  with  P.  .J.  Hampen.  At  the  end  of  that  time  he 
acquired  his  partner's  interest  and  is  now  sole  proprietor  of  the  gallery.  He  also  ran  a  branch 
studio  at  Carpio,  Ward  county,  from  1908  initil  1911,  and  he  now  owns  a  branch  studio  at 
Tolley,  North  Dakota.  His  place  of  business  is  supplied  with  the  most  modern  equipment 
lor  the  taking  of  pictures  and  he  is  doing  excellent  work  in  that  connection,  a  liberal  patronage 
being  now  accorded  him.  He  has  also  made  judicious  investment  in  real  estate  and  is  the 
owner  of  one  hundred  and  sixty  acres  of  land  eleven  miles  north  of  the  town,  which  he  rents. 
At  his  place  in  Kenmare  he  is  interested  in  poultry  raising,  specializing  in  White  Wyandotte 
chickens,  all  of  which  are  thoroughbreds  with  rose  combs.  His  property  interests  include  his 
studio  building,  several  lots  and  his  residence  in  Kenmare.  His  home  is  a  beautiful  and 
commodious  one,  surrounded  by  large  and  well  kept  grounds. 

On  the  3d  of  May,  1912.  at  Kenmare,  Mr.  Olsen  was  married  to  Miss  Anetta  Marie 
Ilampen,  who  was  born  in  Belgrade,  Minnesota,  October  27,  1890,  and  was  there  educated 
while  spending  her  girlhood  days  in  the  home  of  her  parents,  Lars  and  Anna  Hampen,  who 
were  natives  of  Denmark  and  became  early  settlers  of  Minnesota.  The  father  engaged  in 
merchandising  at  Belgrade  until  1907,  when  he  removed  to  Kenmare,  where  he  is  now  con- 
ducting a  store.  His  wife  passed  away  there  in  1911.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Olsen  have  become  the 
parents  of  two  children:  Paul  Ellsworth,  who  was  born  July  13,  1913,  and  died  in  infancy; 
and  Eunice  Harriet,  who  was  born  August  14,  1914. 

In  politics  Mr.  Olsen  is  a  democrat  and  in  the  spring  of  1914  was  elected  park  commis- 
sioner of  Kenmare  for  a  two  year  term,  while  in  1916  he  was  reelected  for  a  five  year  term. 
He  is  a  very  active  and  earnest  worker  in  the  Danish  Lutheran  church,  of  which  he  is  a  mem- 
ber, and  aided  in  organizing  th"  Nazareth  church  at  Kenmare  in  1905,  since  which  time  he  has 
been  one  of  its  trustees  and  the  treasurer.  For  the  past  five  years  he  lias  served  as  superin- 
tcmlcnt  of  the  Sundav  school,  in  which  ^Mrs'.  Olsen  is  a  teacher,  and  she  is  equally  'interested 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  455 

•with  her  husband  in  all  branches  of  thureh  work.  Slie  possesses  considorable  musical  talent, 
is  a  successful  teacher  and  has  been  leader  of  tlie  church  choir.  Their  home  is  a  Jiospitable 
one  whose  good  cheer  is  greatly  enjoyed  by  their  many  friends.  Tlie  extent  of  Mr.  Olsen's 
interests,  business  and  otherwise,  has  made  him  a  substantial  and  valued  citizen  of  the  com- 
munity in  which  he  resides. 


SHEKMAN   R.   WOOD. 


Minnesota  has  furnished  a  large  quota  to  the  citizenship  of  Xorth  Dakota  and  a  repre- 
sentative of  this  class  is  Sherman  R.  Wood,  one  of  tlie  progressive  merchants  of  the  new 
town  of  \Vatford  City,  where  he  is  now  connected  with  the  Farmers  Lumber  Company.  He 
was  born  at  Pleasant  Grove.  Olmsted  county,  Minnesota,  July  16,  1870,  a  son  of  Hiram 
and  Delia  (Pattridge)  ^\'ood.  The  father  was  born  in  Vermont  and  prior  to  the  Ci^il  war 
became  a  resident  of  Olmsted  county,  Minnesota,  where  he  followed  blacksmithing.  con- 
ducting a  smithy  for  many  years  at  Pleasant  Grove.  His  wife,  who  was  also  born  in  the 
Green  Mountain  state,  was  educated  and  nianicd  at  St.  Albans  and.  like  her  husband,  passed 
away  at  Pleasant  Grove. 

In  the  district  schools  of  his  native  city  Sherman  R.  Wood  pursued  his  early  education 
and  afterward  was  graduated  from  a  business  college  at  Grand  Rapids,  Michigan.  He 
started  out  in  the  business  world  as  a  clerk  in  a  dry  goods  and  clothing  store  at  Tracy, 
Minnesota,  and  thus  received  his  initial  training  along  commercial  lines.  In  1901  he  removed 
to  Rolhi,  North  Dakota,  where  he  engaged  in  clerking,  and  there  he  afterward  remained 
in  business  on  his  own  account  for  eiglit  years.  In  1909  he  arrived  in  JIcKenzie  county  and 
homesteaded  near  Schafer.  He  also  established  a  general  store  at  Schafer  and  in  1914  he 
removed  to  the  new  town  of  W^atford  City,  where  he  has  since  remained,  being  numbered 
among  its  leading  and  prominent  merchants.  He  helped  to  organize  the  Farmers  Lumber 
Company  and  he  is  also  interested  to  some  extent  in  farming.  He  is  making  a  close  study  of 
agricultural  problems  and  is  keeping  in  close  touch  with  the  trend  of  scientific  farming.  His 
business  interests  at  Watford  City  are  growing  and  constitute  him  one  of  the  leading  men 
of  the  town. 

In  November,  1894,  Mr.  Wood  was  \initcd  in  marriage  to  Jliss  Olive  Howard,  of  Tracy, 
Minnesota,  wlio  was  born  in  Wabasha,  that  state,  but  was  largely  reared  in  Tracy.  They 
have  one  child,  Hiram,  who  was  born  in  Tracy  in  1899. 

Mr.  Wood  ia  a  republican,  interested  in  the  success  and  growth  of  tlie  party  but  not 
an  office  seeker.  He  is,  however,  serving  as  treasurer  of  the  Schafer  school  district.  He 
belongs  to  the  Presbyterian  church  and  is  a  member  of  various  fraternal  oganizations,  being 
identified  with  the  Masonic  lodge  and  Modern  Woodmen  camp  at  Tracy  and  with  tlie  Odd 
Fellows  lodge  at  Rolla,  in  which  he  has  passed  through  all  the  chairs  and  has  twice  been 
noble  grand.  He  is  likewise  a  charter  member  of  the  Ihiited  Workmen  lodge  at  Watford 
(^ity.  He  is  well  known  and  his  varied  interests  are  making  him  a  controlling  figure  in 
the   public   life   and   thought   of   the   district    in    wliir'h   he   resides. 


JAMES  E.  BUTTREE. 


James  E.  Buttree,  of  Valley  City,  secretary  and  treasurer  of  the  Austin-Dakota  Devel- 
opment Company,  was  born  near  Peterboro,  Ontario.  Canada,  in  March.  1869.  and  comes  of 
iMi'.'lish  and  Scotch-Irish  ancestry,  his  paternal  grandfatlier  being  .Tohn  Buttree.  a  native  of 
Vorksliirc.  England,  who  soon  after  his  marriage  crossed  tlie  Atlantic  and  established  his 
family  in  a  home  near  Peterboro,  where  he  engaged  in  farming.  He  died  at  the  compara- 
tively early  age  of  forty-five  years.  His  son.  George  Buttree.  was  born  in  Yorkshire,  was 
brouglit  in  early  childhood  to  the  new  world  by  his  jiarents.  took  \ip  the  work  begun  by 
his  father  and  also  engaged  in  the  manufacture  of  lumber,  conducting  sawmills.  In  issn 
he   came   to   Xorth    Dakota,   which    was    at    that    time    a    part   of    Dakota    territory,   entered 


456  •  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

land  in  Grand  Forks  county  and  there  engaged  in  farming,  and  lie  and  liis  family  endured 
the  hardships  of  pioneer  days.  The  home  was  bej'ond  the  railroad  tor  a  time.  He  con- 
tinued farming  throughout  his  active  days,  his  death  occurring  in  1912,  when  he  had 
reached  tlie  age  of  eighty-eight  years.  His  wife,  who  bore  the  maiden  name  of  Elizabeth 
Kerr,  was  born  at  Grafton,  Ontario,  Canada,  and  passed  away  in  1913  at  the  age  of  eighty-two 
years. 

Their  son,  James  E.  Buttree,  was  the  ninth  in  order  of  birth  in  their  family  of  ten 
children.  At  the  usual  age  he  began  his  education  in  the  schools  of  Canada,  but  it  was 
several  years  after  the  family  moved  to  North  Dakota  that  schools  were  established  in  the 
pioneer  district  in  which  they  settled.  He  resumed  his  studies  in  the  scliools  of  Grand 
Forks  during  the  winter  months  and  throughout  the  period  of  his  minority  he  continued 
upon  the  home  farm  most  of  his  time.  He  continued  farming  on  the  homestead  several 
years  beyond  his  minority  and,  as  threshing  was  a  part  of  farming,  he  became  familiar 
with  threshing  machinery  and  went  into  that  line  of  work  as  a  traveling  salesman.  In 
1901  he  removed  to  Valley  City,  where  he  engaged  in  the  machine  business,  giving  his 
attention  exclusively  to  threshing  machinery.  He  was  one  of  the  first  in  his  community  to 
recognize  the  automobile,  to  see  in  it  the  coming  vehicle  for  means  of  travel,  and  spent 
several  strenuous  years  preaching  the  merits  of  the  then  much  laughed  at,  "horseless 
carriage." 

In  1910  he  began  the  promotion  of  a  company  to  develop  certain  raining  claims  located 
at  Austin,  Nevada.  His  efiorts  culminated  in  the  organization  of  the  Austin-Dakota 
Development  Company,  with  headquarters  at  Valley  City.  This  company  owns  and  is 
now  operating  and  developing  silver  mines  in  Nevada,  having  thirty-one  mining  claims 
and  fractions.  They  have  sunk  three  shafts  and  one  tunnel  and  they  have  reports  from 
such  authorities  as  Prof.  E.  J.  Babcock,  mineralogist  of  the  State  University,  that  their 
proposition  has  indications  of  becoming  one  of  the  best.  Mr.  Buttree  had  taken  an  option 
on  the  land  before  he  organized  the  company  of  which  he  is  now  secretary-treasurer.  He 
had  absolute  confidence  in  the  property,  although  he  met  with  much  difficulty  in  convincing 
others,  as  so  many  mining  propositions  of  the  past  have  been  promotion  schemes  only, 
exploited  for  the  sole  purpose  of  getting  the  public's  money,  that  confidence  in  such  ven- 
tures was  undermined,  but  now  the  value  of  liis  judgment  is  fully  proven  and  the  project 
is  no  longer  in  the  experimental  stage.  One  of  Mr.  Buttree's  marked  characteristics  is  his 
persistency  and  this  has  enabled  him  to  succeed,  working  his  way  upward  in  the  face  of 
difficulties   and   obstacles  until   his   success   seems   now   assured. 

Fraternally  Mr.  Buttree  is  connected  with  the  blue  lodge  and  chapter  in  Masonry 
and  with  the  Knights  of  Pythias  and  he  is  also  a  member  of  the  Congregational  church — 
associations  which  indicate  much  of  the  nature  of  his  interests  and  the  rules  of  his  conduct. 


JOHN  A.  MARTIN. 


John  A.  Martin,  who  opened  the  pioneer  hardware  store  of  Alexander,  wliere  he  has 
engaged  in  business  since  1910,  was  born  in  Ridgeway,  Winneshiek  county,  Iowa,  Decem- 
ber 29,  1877,  a  son  of  John  and  May  (Cowdy)  Martin.  The  father  was  born  in  Leicester- 
shire, England,  and  there  leariied  the  blacksmith's  trade,  after  which  he  crossed  the  Atlan- 
tic to  Kingston,  Ontario,  Canada,  where  he  worked  at  his  trade  for  five  years.  He  also 
spent  four  years  in  a  similar  manner  in  Chicago,  Illinois,  and  in  the  early  '60s  removed  to 
Ridgeway,  Winneshiek  county,  Iowa,  becoming  one  of  its  pioneer  settlers.  There  he  fol- 
lowed blacksmithing  and  farming  and  spent  his  remaining  days  there,  his  death  occurring 
in  1909.     His  wife  was  born  in  Kingston,  Ontario,  and  is  now  a  resident  of  Cresco.  Iowa. 

John  A.  Martin  acquired  his  education  in  the  public  schools  of  Ridgeway  and  in  1901 
removed  to  Nortli  Dakota,  after  which  he  engaged  in  farming  near  Maddock,  Benson  county, 
from  1901  until  1905.  In  the  latter  year  he  homesteaded  near  Alexander,  in  McKenzie 
county,  and  there  carried  on  general  agricultural  pursuits  until  1910,  when  he  opened 
the  pioneer  hardware   store  of  the  town.     He  has   since  conducted  the  business  and  grati- 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  457 

fyiiig  results  Iiavc  attomicd  his  efforts  because  of  his  reliablr  metluxls  and  enterprising 
spirit. 

t)n  tlie  29th  of  August,  1909,  Mr.  Martin  was  married  to  Miss  Kachel  Taylor,  of 
Alexander,  North  Ilakota,  who  was  born  in  Fargo  and  pur.sued  lier  education  there,  at 
Hope,  North  Dakota,  and  in  the  Mayville  Normal  School,  from  which  she  was  graduated. 
She  afterward  engaged  in  teaching  in  McKenzie  county  in  1903.  She  is  a  daughter  of 
William  and  Kliza  Taylor,  natives  of  Ireland  and  Wisconsin  respectively.  Her  father 
became  a  farmer  of  Hope,  North  Dakota,  where  he  lived  until  called  to  his  final  rest,  and 
Mrs.  Taylor  now  resides  on  tlie  farm  near  Alexander.  Three  children  have  been  born  of 
this  marriage:  Dorothy,  who  was  born  July  29,  1910;  Howard,  born  September  30,  1911: 
and  Grace,  December  22,  1912.     All  are  natives  of  Ale.\ander. 

The  parents  are  consistent  and  helpful  members  of  the  Metliodist  Kpiscopal  church 
and  Mrs.  Jlartin  is  a  member  of  the  Ladies'  Aid  Society  and  superintendent  of  the  Sunday 
school.  Mr.  Martin  is  a  charter  member  of  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows  and  the 
blue  lodge  of  Masons  at  Alexander.  In  polities  he  is  a  republican  and  from  1908  until 
1910  inclusive  served  as  clerk  of  the  court  of  McTCenzie  county.  His  influence  has  always 
been  a  potent  force  in  promoting  projects  for  the  general  good  and  he  is  rated  as  one 
of  the  most  substantial  and  valued  citizens  of  Alexander  as  well  as  one  of  its  oldest 
merchants.  He  built  the  first  dwelling  house  in  the  town  and  was  one  of  tJie  organizers 
of  the  Rural  Telephone  Company.  He  lias  lived  to  see  remarkable  changes  in  this  section 
of  the  state  as  the  tide  of  emigration  has  swept  steadily  westward  and  he  has  ever  borne 
his  part  in  advancing  tlie  interests  of  the  community  in  which  he  resides  and  upholding 
its  civic   standards. 


FRANK  READ,  Jr. 


The  woik  of  the  teacher  is  always  of  the  utmost  importance  but  besides  the  ability  to 
impart  clearly  and  readily  to  others  the  knowledge  that  he  has  acquired,  combined  with 
zeal  and  enthusiastic  interest  in  the  work,  the  man  who  essays  to  instruct  an  unfortunate 
class  must  be  possessed  by  a  spirit  of  deep  sympathy  and  broad  humanitarianism.  It  was 
those  qualities  that  caused  Professor  Frank  Read  to  accept  tlie  supcrintcndcncy  of  the 
North  Dakota  .School  for  the  Deaf  at  Devils  Lake.  He  was  born  in  Jacksonville,  Illinois, 
August  12,  1866,  a  son  of  Frank  and  Cassie  (Smith)  Read.  His  father  was  one  of  the 
pioneer  teachers  for  the  deaf,  being  connected  with  the  Illinois  School  for  the  Deaf  at 
.Jacksonville,  Illinois,  for  thirty-eight  years  as  a  teacher,  while  for  thirty  years  of  that 
time  he  also  edited  the  Deaf  Jfute  Advance.  He  has  also  acted  as  minister  to  the  deaf, 
thus  giving  religious  as  well  as  secular  instruction.  Both  he  and  his  wife  are  still  residents 
of  .Jacksonville. 

It  was  in  the  public  schools  of  that  city  that  Frank  Reaii.  Jr.,  pursued  his  early  education, 
while  later  he  entered  the  Illinois  College  at  Jacksonville,  from  which  he  was  graduated 
with  the  degrees  of  B.  A.  and  M.  A.  in  1888,  pursuing  his  course  in  preparation  for  his 
present  work.  He  became  a  member  of  the  Phi  Alpha  while  attending  college,  a  society  of 
which  North  Dakota's  first  governor  was  one  of  the  seven  founders.  Professor  Read  had 
become  deeply  interested  in  the  work  of  instructing  the  deaf  by  reason  of  his  father's  con- 
nection with  that  branch  of  education  and  he  took  up  the  same  work  in  1889  in  the 
.Jacksonville  institution.  He  remained  at  that  school  until  August  12.  1912.  when  he  accepted 
the  superintendency  of  the  Oklahoma  School  for  the  Deaf,  there  remaining  until  September  1, 
1915,  when  he  was  elected  to  his  present  position  as  superintendent  of  the  North  Dakota 
School  for  the  Deaf  at  Devils  Lake  by  the  board  of  control.  In  this  school  are  taught  the 
common  branches  which  usually  comprise  the  public  school  curriculum  and  to  the  course 
of  instruction  is  added  industrial  work  such  as  printing,  cabinetmaking  and  other  trades, 
while  the  girls  are  taught  sewing  and  all  kinds  of  housework  and  china  painting.  In  fact 
the  course  of  instruction  is  such  as  to  develop  head,  hand  and  heart  and  bring  into  the 
lives  of  the  pupils  as  far  as  possible,  all  that  has  been  denied  them  by  reason  of  the  absence 
of  the  sense  of  hearing.    The  school  has  an  enrollment  of  one  hundred  and  four,  with  eleven 


458  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

teachers  for  the  common  branches  and  three  teachers  in  the  industrial  work.  In  1916  the 
first  reunion  of  graduates  and  former  pupils  was  held  on  which  occasion  fifty  were  present. 
On  June  24,  1896,  Professor  Read  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  M,  Kate  S,  Stevenson, 
who  has  also  done  excellent  work  as  a  teacher  for  the  deaf  in  Iowa,  Kansas  and  Illinois. 
They  now  have  one  child,  Margaret  Kathryn.  The  religious  faith  of  the  family  is  that  of 
the  Presbyterian  church  and  Mr.  Read  is  connected  with  the  Knights  of  Pythias.  The  major 
part  of  his  time  and  attention,  however,  are  concentrated  upon  his  work  in  connection  with 
the  school  and  splendid  results  have  attended  his  labors.  He  is  continually  seeking  out  new 
methods  to  broaden  his  efficiency  and  is  constantly  learning  from  experience  tiie  best 
metliods  of  instruction,  bringing  into  the  lives  of  the  unfortunate  a  broader  outlook  and 
greater   hope. 


J.  H.  JIIKKELSON. 


.T.  H.  Jlikkelson,  now  serving  as  cashier  of  the  Crocus  State  Bank  of  Crocus,  North 
Dakota,  is  a  native  of  this  state,  his  birth  occurring  in  Ramsey  county  on  the  10th  of 
April,  1889.  He  is  a  worthy  representative  of  one  of  the  honored  pioneer  families  of  North 
Dakota,  his  parents  being  Jorgen  and  Anna  (Anderson)  Mikkelson,  the  former  a  native  of 
Denmark  and  tlie  latter  of  Sweden.  They  were  married  in  Sweden  and  remained  there  until 
after  the  birth  of  two  of  their  children  but  in  the  early  '80s  came  to  the  new  world,  attracted 
by  its  opportunities  and  advantages.  Locating  in  Ramsey  county.  North  Dakota,  Mr.  Mikkel- 
son secured  a  homestead  and  also  used  his  preemption  and  tree  claim  rights.  He  has 
prospered  in  his  farming  operations  and  from  time  to  time  he  has  added  to  his  property 
until  he  now  owns  about  thirteen  hundred  acres  of  farm  land.  He  is  still  actively  engaged 
in  agiicultural  piusuits  which  he  has  always  found  profitable,  and  he  continues  to  reside 
upon   his   farm. 

In  the  district  schools  of  Ramsey  county,  .T.  H.  Mikkelson  began  his  education  which 
has  been  supplemented  by  a  course  in  the  Webster  high  school  and  the  State  Agi-icultural 
College  at  Fargo.  For  some  time  following  the  completion  of  his  studies  he  worked  on 
the  home  farm,  giving  his  father  the  beenlit  of  his  services,  but  in  1914  he  turned  his 
attention  to  banking,  becoming  assistant  in  the  Bank  of  Webster.  On  the  1st  of  January, 
1916,  his  father  purchased  an  interest  in  the  Qocus  State  Bank  and  our  subject  was  made 
cashier  of  the  institution,  in  which  important  capacity  he  is  now  serving.  He  has  become 
thoroughly  familiar  with  the  banking  business  in  principle  and  detail  and  under  his  manage- 
ment the  bank  with  whicli  he  is  now  connected  is  making  steady  advancement. 

Mr.  Mikkelson  was  married  in  .June,  1916,  to  Miss  Dora  Eklund,  of  Rolla,  North 
Dakota.  They  are  members  of  the  Lutheran  church  and  are  held  in  high  esteem  by  all  who 
know  them.  Mi-.  Mikkelson  casts  his  ballot  with  the  republican  party  and  takes  a  deep 
interest  in  public  affairs. 


WILLIAM  H.  DENNY. 


For  almost  eighteen  years  William  H.  Denny  has  been  prominently  identified  with  the 
business  interests  of  Williston  and  has  borne  an  important  part  in  the  development  and 
upbuilding  of  the  city  and  also  of  Williams  county,  where  he  is  today  conducting  a  large 
ranch,  raising  both  cattle  and  horses  on  quite  an  extensive  scale.  His  birth  occurred  at 
New  Auburn.  Sibley  county,  Minnesota,  March  17,  1870,  and  he  is  a  son  of  William  and 
Marian  E.  (Joslyn)  Denny.  The  father  was  born  on  a  farm  near  Batavia.  New  York,  and 
from  there  he  removed  to  Buffalo,  that  state,  where  he  completed  liis  education.  Subse- 
quently he  became  a  resident  of  Lansing,  Michigan,  and  was  living  there  when  the  country 
became  .involved  in  civil  war.  He  enlisted  in  the  Second  Michigan  Regiment.  Burdan  Sharp- 
shooters, and  during  his  three  years  and  a  half  with  the  Union  army  saw  some  pretty  hard 
service.     On  being  honorably  discharged  he  returned  to  Lansing  but  in  1866  went  to  Min- 


WILLIAM  H.  UENNV 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  461 

nesota,  settling  on  a  homestead  near  Stewart  in  Sibley  county,  where  he  engaged  in  fann- 
ing for  several  years,  but  finally  removed  to  New  Auburn  and  later  to  Gleneoe,  MeLeod 
county,  Minnesota,  where  he  conducted  a  gun  and  sporting  goods  store  for  a  time.  He 
is  now  living  retired  in  Anoka,  that  state,  and  there  his  wife,  who  was  a  native  of  Lansing, 
Michigan,  died. 

William  II.  Denny  passed  his  boyhood  and  youth  in  Minnesota  anjl  js  indebted  to  the 
public  schools  of  that  state  for  the  early  educational  advantages  he  enjoyed.  It  was  in 
1SS5  that  the  family  removed  from  Gleneoe  to  Anoka,  where  he  attended  a  business  college, 
and  in  1S87  he  went  to  St.  Cloud,  ilinnesota,  where  the  following  two  years  were  spent. 
In  1889  he  became  a  cowboy  on  a  cattle  ranch  near  Terry.  Montana,  and  from  ]893  to  1809 
made  his  home  in  Minnewaukan.  Benson  county,  North  Dakota,  where  he  dealt  in  horses 
which  he  drove  from  Montana  ranches  to  this  state.  For  a  time  Mr.  Denny  was  also  con- 
nected with  the  Benson  County  State  Bank  at  Minnewaukan  and  on  coming  to  Williston 
in  January,  1899,  assisted  in  organizing  the  Williams  County  State  Bank,  which  was  the 
first  bank  in  Williams  county.  In  1900,  it  was  converted  into  the  First  National  Bank  of 
Williston  and  Mr.  Denny  served  as  its  cashier  until  190G,  since  which  time  he  has  engaged 
in  the  real  estate  business.  He  also  manages  his  large  ranch  in  Williams  county,  where  he 
raises  both  horses  and  cattle,  making  a  specialty  of  Herefords.  and  he  was  one  of  the 
organizers  and  is  the  secretary  of  the  Missoini  I'iver  Bridge  Company.  His  home  is  in 
Williston. 

On  the  Sth  of  March,  1899,  Mr.  Denny  was  married  in  that  city  to  Miss  Katherine  K. 
Hufnail.  who  was  born,  reared  and  educated  in  Wisconsin.  Prior  to  her  marriage  she  engaged 
in  teaching  school  in  Minnewaukan,  North  Dakota.  Her  parents  are  Dr.  W.  H.  and  Abby 
(Dammon)  Hufnail.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Denny  have  one  child,  Marian  Katherine,  born  in 
Williston. 

Mr.  Denny  takes  an  active  interest  in  fraternal  organizations  and  is  past  exalted  ruler 
<il  Lodge  No.  1214,  B.  P.  0.  E.,  of  which  he  is  a  charter  member.  He  is  also  a  charter  member 
and  ])ast  chancellor  commander  of  the  Knights  of  Pythias  lodge  of  Williston,  and  has  been 
a  delegate  to  the  Grand  Lodge  two  terms.  He  has  filled  the  offices  of  junior  and  senior 
warden  in  the  Masonic  lodge,  is  also  a  charter  member  of  Williston  Chapter.  R.  A.  M.,  and 
has  always  endeavored  to  live  up  to  the  principles  of  these  organizations.  His  political  sup- 
port is  given  the  republican  party.  Mr.  Denny  assisted  in  organizing  the  city  of  Williston 
and  was  elected  its  first  mayor  in  1904.  So  acceptably  did  he  fill  that  ollice  that  he  was 
reelected  for  a  second  term  without  opposition  and  gave  the  city  a  businesslike  and  progres- 
sive administration.  He  is  a  man  of  influence  in  his  community,  occupying  an  enviable 
position  in  both  business  and  social  circles. 


GEORGE   L.   GULLIKSON. 


The  young  town  of  Watford  City  has  enjoyed  notable  growth  and  among  those  who 
have  contributed  to  its  substantial  development  is  George  L.  GuUikson,  who  is  engaged  in 
the  land  and  farm  loan  business  and  who  also  owns  and  controls  extensive  farming  and 
stock  raising  interests  in  McKenzie  county.  He  was  born  in  Grand  Forks.  May  8,  1886,  a 
son  of  Ole  and  Marie  (Larsen)  Gullikson.  The  father,  a  native  of  Norway,  became  a  resident 
of  Minnesota  in  his  boyhood  days  and  in  the  early  '80s  removed  to  Grand  Forks  county. 
North  Dakota,  where  he  followed  farming.  Later  hi-  became  a  resident  of  Bottineau  county 
and  conducted  a  hotel  at  Willow  City.  He  next  removed  to  McKenzie  county  and  home- 
steaded  near  Schafer,  where  he  followed  farming  until  a  recent  date,  when  he  took  up  car- 
])entering  at  Watford  City.  His  wife,  also  a  native  of  Norway,  was  taken  by  her  parents 
to  Minnesota  in  her  early  girlhood  and  was  married  in  Grand  Forks.  She  also  survives  and 
is  living  in  Watford  City. 

At  the  usual  age  George  I-  Gullikson  began  his  education,  which  he  continued  through 
successive  giades  in  the  public  schools  of  Grand  Forks  until  he  became  a  high  school  pupil. 
Later  he  attended  the  University  of  North  Dakota  and  afterward  was  employed  as  a 
stenographer   in   a   law  office  at  Willow  City,  Bottineau  county,  for  five  years.     In   1907   he 


462  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

removed  to  McKeiizie  county  and  homcsteaded  near  Schafer.  He  was  also  cashier  of  the 
McKenzie  County  Bank  from  1910  until  1915,  when  he  resigned  to  engage  in  the  land  and 
farm  loan  business  on  his  own  account  at  Watford  City,  where  he  is  now  located.  He  is 
also  engaged  in  farming  and  stock  raising  and  the  various  branches  of  his  business  are 
bringing  to  him  substantial  and  gratifying  returns. 

On  the  12th  of  October,  1909,  Mr.  Gullikson  was  married  to  Miss  Harriet  B.  Johnson,  of 
Renville  county,  Minnesota,  where  she  was  reared  and  educated,  afterward  engaging  in  the 
work  of  teaching  school.  She  is  a  daughter  of  L.  W.  and  Julia  Johnson.  Her  father  was  a 
fanner  and  pioneer  settler  of  Renville  county,  Minnesota,  where  he  still  makes  his  home, 
altliough  now  living  retired.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Gullikson  have  two  childi'cn,  Dorothy  Marie  and 
George  Lionel,  who  were  born  in  McKenzie  county. 

In  his  political  views  Mr.  Gullikson  is  an  earnest  republican  and  upon  the  organization 
of  Watford  City  he  was  elected  justice  of  the  peace,  which  position  he  still  fills.  He  also 
served  on  the  township  board  at  Schafer  and  as  United  States  commissioner  from  1910  to 
1915.  He  belongs  to  the  United  Lutheran  church,  and  fraternally  he  is  connected  with 
the  Elks  lodge  of  Williston,  while  of  the  ynited  Workmen  lodge  at  Watford  City  he  is  a 
charter  member  and  is  now  overseer.  He  possesses  a  social,  genial  nature  and  those  qualities 
which  command  friendship  and  regard,  and  as  well  he  displays  those  traits  which  are 
forceful  factors  in  the  attainment  of  business  success. 


WILLIAM  O.  JOGS. 


William  0.  Joos,  head  of  the  Joos  Mercantile  Company  of  Wimbledon,  is  a  native  of 
Fountain  City,  Wisconsin.  He  was  born  on  the  23d  of  March,  18t39,  of  the  marriage  of  John 
and  L^rsula  (Joos)  Joos.  The  father  went  to  Wisconsin  in  1850  and  thereafter  lived  in  or 
near  Fountain  City.  He  engaged  in  farming  for  a  long  period  but  at  length  retired  from  the 
work  of  the  fields  and  now  makes  liis  home  in  Fountain  City,  where  he  is  enjoying  well 
earned  rest.  In  his  family  were  ten  children,  all  of  whom  reached  adult  age:  Solomon  and 
John  M.,  both  now  deceased ;  William  0. ;  Amelia,  the  wife  of  Anton  Fleckeisen,  of  Fountain 
City,  Wisconsin;  Paul,  a  resident  of  Denhoff,  North  Dakota;  Henry,  of  Granville,  North 
Dakota;  Lydia,  the  wife  of  Lloyd  Bond,  of  Fountain  City;  Jacob,  residjng  at  Columbus,  North 
Dakota;  Paulina,  the  wife  of  Jens  Christiansen,  of  Portal,  North  Dakota;  and  Malinda,  at 
home. 

In  the  district  schools  of  Wisconsin.  William  0.  Joos  pursued  his  education  and  in  1884, 
when  fifteen  years  of  age,  came  to  North  Dakota,  making  his  way  to  Jamestown,  wliere  he 
remained  for  several  years,  during  wliich  period  he  was  employed  on  a  farm  and  in  the  store 
of  Haas  Brothers  &  Company.  He  next  entered  the  service  of  the  Northern  Pacific  Railroad 
Company  as  baggage  man  in  Jamestown  and  so  continued  for  two  years,  after  which  he 
returned  to  Wisconsin,  where  he  remained  for  four  years.  In  the  spring  of  1898  he  arrived 
in  Wimbledon,  North  Dakota,  and  in  company  with  W.  G.  Joos  bought  out  the  general  store 
of  Bowden  &  Mayer  on  the  corner  of  Railroad  and  Main  streets.  The  store  was  originally 
started  by  G.  L.  Hunt,  who  sold  out  to  the  firm  from  which  Messrs.  Joos  purchased  it.  The 
last  named  bouglit  tlie  building  as  well  as  the  stock  of  goods  and  conducted  their  business 
therein  for  about  four  years,  at  the  end  of  which  time  they  disposed  of  the  building  and 
had  it  moved  away.  It  was  in  1902  that  they  erected  a  two-story  building  on  the  same  site — 
a  frame  structure  with  steel  siding.  They  have  greatly  increased  their  stock  of  general 
merchandise  and  are  accorded  a  liberal  and  growing  patronage.  W.  O.  Joos  is  also  interested 
in  farming  land  in  Williams  county,  this  state,  and  in  Minnesota  and  he  is  a  stockholder  and 
one  of  the  organizers  of  the  F'irst  National  Bank  of  Wimbledon,  of  which  he  was  elected  vice 
president  in  1914.  His  business  interests  are  thus  wide  and  varied  and  constitute  an  impor- 
tant element  in  the  commercial  and  financial  development  of  the  community. 

On  the  20th  of  November,  1895,  Mr.  Joos  was  married  to  Ida  L,  Sehoepp,  a  native  of 
Alma,  BuiTalo  county,  Wisconsin.  Politically  Mr.  Joos  is  a  republican  and  the  appreciation 
of  his  fellow  townsmen  for  his  splendid  qualities  of  citizenship  is  indicated  in  the  fact  that 
they  have  elected  him  to  nearly  all  the  village  oflfices.     Fraternally  he  is  a  Mason,  a  charto" 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  463 

member  of  WimbUiiuii  Lodge,  No.  71,  of  wliicli  ho  lias  been  the  secretary  for  the  past  twelve 
years.  He  is  very  prominent  in  Masonic  circles,  is  a  member  of  Qieyenne  Chapter,  No.  4,  K. 
A.  M.,  of  Valley  City;  and  St.  Klmo  Commandery,  No.  5,  K.  T.,  of  Valley  City;  and  of  Dakota 
Consistory  at  Fargo  he  is  a  life  member,  liaving  therein  attained  the  thirty-second  degree  of 
the  Scottish  Rite.  He  belongs  likewise  to  the  Odd  Fellows  and  Knights  of  Pythias  lodges 
at  Wimbledon,  to  the  Woodmen  of  America,  to  the  Kebekalis  and  to  the  Royal  Neighbors 
and  he  is  in  thorough  sympathy  with  the  beneficent  sjiirit  and  purposes  upon  wliich  these 
did'erent  organizations  are  founded.  Recognizing  the  brotherhood  of  mankind,  he  is  con- 
stantly reaching  out  a  licljiiiig  hand  where  aid  is  needed  and  there  are  many  who  liave 
reason  to  thank  liim   for   timely  assistance. 


ALBKRT  M.  BAUKOL. 


Among  the  energetic  and  progressive  young  business  men  of  Wildrose,  North  Dakota, 
is  numbered  Albert  Jf.  Baukol,  who  now  holds  the  position  of  cashier  of  the  Security  State 
Bank  at  that  place.  He  was  born  near  Starbuck  in  Pope  county,  Minnesota,  and  is  a  son 
of  Morten  U.  and  Anna  (Stcndalen)  Baukol.  both  natives  of  Norway,  whence  they  emi- 
grated to  the  United  States  when  about  eigliteen  years  of  age  and  located  in  Pope  county, 
Jlinnesota.  There  the  father  is  still  engaged  in  farming,  but  the  mother  passed  away 
in  1909. 

In  the  county  of  his  nativity,  Albert  M.  Baukol  grew  to  manhood.  He  attended  the 
district  schools  and  later  pursued  his  studies  at  Glenwood  Academy  in  Glenwood,  Minnesota. 
He  also  took  a  commercial  course  at  the  National  Business  College  in  Minneapolis  and  was 
thus  well  fitted  to  enter  business  life.  For  a  time  he  held  the  position  of  assistant  cashier 
in  the  Secuj'ity  State  Bank  at  Noonan,  North  Dakota,  but  in  1915  removed  to  Wildrose  to 
assume  the  duties  of  cashier  of  the  Security  State  Bank  at  that  place,  in  which  capacity 
he  is  now  serving  with  credit  to  himself  and  to  the  entire  satisfaction  of  all  concerned. 

Mr.  Baukol  was  married  at  Fergus  Falls,  Minnesota,  June  17,  1913,  to  Miss  Kmma 
Mittag,  who  was  born  in  Hankinson,  North  Dakota,  and  was  graduated  from  the  Minnesota 
Normal  School  at  Moorhead.  They  now  have  a  little  son.  Brooks  Warfield,  born  in  Noonan, 
North  Dakota.  They  are  faithful  members  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  church,  and  Mr.  Baukol 
also  belongs  to  the  Masonic  fraternity  and  the  Sons  of  Norway.  At  the  polls  he  supports 
the  republican  party  and  he  takes  a  deep  and  coinmendable  interest  in  public  adairs.  He 
is  one  of  the  representative  young  business  men  of  Wildrose  and  wherever  known  is  held 
in  the  highest  esteem. 


JULIUS  JACOBSON. 


Julius  Jacobson,  dealing  in  farm  machinery  and  agricultural  implements  at  Alexander, 
was  born  at  Lake  Park,  Jlinnesota,  March  12,  1881,  a  son  of  Gust  and  Inger  (Oladliaug) 
Jacobson.  The  father  was  born  in  Norway  and  at  the  age  of  sixteen  years  crossed  the 
Atlantic,  becoming  a  resident  of  Fillmore  county,  Minnesota,  where  he  took  up  farm 
work.  In  1870  he  homestcaded  near  Lake  Park,  where  he  carried  on  general  agricultural 
pursuits  for  many  years  but  is  now  living  retired,  making  his  home  in  Lake  Park.  His 
wife,  also  a  native  of  Norway,  arrived  in  Lake  Park  in  young  womanhood  and  was  there 
married.     She  passed  away  in  1904. 

Julius  Jacobson  spent  his  youthful  days  upon  his  father's  farm  and  after  attending  the 
district  schools  continued  his  education  in  the  Agricultural  College  at  Fargo  and  in  the 
Minnesota  Business  College  at  Minneapolis.  When  not  busy  with  his  textbooks  his  time 
and  attention  were  devoted  to  the  work  of  the  fields  and  after  his  education  was  com- 
pleted he  began  farming  on  his  own  account  on  his  father's  land  near  Lake  Park.  At 
length  he  disposed  of  his  property  there  and  in  1905  became  a  resident  of  McKenzie  county, 
North  Dakota,   taking   up   a    homestead   near   Alexander.     He   devoted   seven   years   to   the 


464  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

cultivation  and  improvement  of  that  property  and  in  I'Ji:;  lie  established  a  farm  machin- 
ery and  implement  business  at  Alexander,  since  which  time  he  has  been  actively  and  suc- 
cessfully connected  with  the  commercial  pursuits  of  the  town.  His  business  is  carefully 
conducted  and  his  reliable  methods  bring  to  him  substantial  returns.  In  addition  to  his 
mercantile  interests  Mr.  Jacobson  is  extensively  engaged  in  farming  and  stock  raising  in 
McKcnzie  county,  where  he  has  large  land  holdings. 

On  the  25th  of  Jime,  1901,  Mr.  .Jacobson  was  married  to  iliss  Hilda  Burg,  of  Lake 
Park,  ilinnesota,  who  was  born  in  Sweden  and  in  childhood  became  a  resident  of  Lake 
Park.  Her  parents,  Emanuel  and  Emma  Burg,  were  natives  of  Sweden  and  became  farm- 
ing people  in  Minnesota,  where  lu?r  mother  passed  awaj'.  Her  father  has  since  removed 
to  Pompeys  Pillar,  Montana,  where  lie  now  resides.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  .Jacobson  have  become 
the  parents  of  five  children:  Violet  Evangeline  and  Morris  Elwood  Greenleaf,  who  were 
born  at  Lake  Park,  ilinnesota;  and  .Janet  Gustava,  .John  Garvin  and  Dean  -\bner,  all  ot 
whom  were  born  at  Alexander. 

Politically  Mr.  .Jacobson  is  a  republican,  but  while  he  gives  stalwart  suppoit  to  the 
party  he  has  never  sought  or  desired  office.  He  is  a  charter  member  of  the  Masonic  lodge 
and  of  the  Odd  Fellows  lodge  of  Alexander  and  both  he  and  his  wife  are  consistent  and 
faithful  members  and  active  workers  iu  the  United  Lutheran  church,  doing  everything  in 
their  power  to  promote  its  growth  and  extend  its  influence.  Both  are  held  in  high  esteem 
and  the  number  of  their  friends  is  constantly  growing  as  their  acquaintance  broadens. 


LESLIE  STINSON. 


Leslie  Stinson,  a  dealer  in  farm  implements  and  fuel  at  Grand  Forks,  where  lie  has 
made  his  home  since  1898,  developing  a  large  business  that  constitutes  an  important  asset 
in  commercial  circles  in  his  city,  was  born  in  Minneapolis,  Minnesota,  January  18,  1861, 
a  son  of  Hugh  and  Letitia  (Leslie)  Stinson,  who  came  to  the  new  world  from  England, 
establishing  their  home  in  Minnesota  in  1856.  There  the  father  engaged  in  farming 
tliroughout  the  greater  part  of  his  life  and  passed  awaj'  in  Minneapolis.  His  wife  died 
Febniary  22,  1916,  at  the  age  of  seventy-seven  years. 

Leslie  Stinson  was  the  second  in  their  family  of  six  children  and  in  early  boyhood 
attended  school  in  ilinneapolis,  after  which  he  went  to  Stevens  county,  Minnesota,  where 
he  engaged  in  railroad  work  as  an  employe  of  the  Great  Northern.  He  worked  at  Fishers 
Landing  for  a  time  and  in  1877  removed  to  North  Dakota,  where  he  was  employed  in  rail- 
road work.  He  afterward  returned  to  Minneapolis  and  in  1879  went  upon  the  road  as  a 
traveling  salesman,  representing  a  farm  machinery  house.  He  continued  in  that  business 
for  about  twenty  years  and  before  the  termination  of  that  period  came  to  North  Dakota 
in  connection  with  his  work,  traveling  through  this  and  other  states.  In  1898  he  estab- 
lished a  farm  implement  business  at  Grand  Forks  on  his  own  account  and  in  the  inter- 
vening period  of  eighteen  years  has  developed  his  business  to  large  and  profitable  pro- 
portions. He  carries  a  large  line  of  farm  implements  of  the  latest  and  most  improved 
makes  and  his  sales  are  now  extensive.  He  has  also  become  connected  with  various  other 
business  concerns  of  his  city,  being  a  director  of  the  Times-Herald  Publishing  Company 
and  a  director  of  the  Rasmussen  &  Bemis  Company.  He  is  likewise  on  the  board  of 
directors  of  the  Happy  Farmer  Tractor  Company  of  Minneapolis,  is  president  of  the  Stin- 
son Tractor  Company  of  Minneapolis  and  is  a  member  of  the  board  of  directors  of  the 
Minneapolis  &  Duluth  Mining  Companj',  engaged  in  operating  lead  and  zinc  mining  proper- 
tise  at  Wallace,   Idaho. 

In  January,  1888,  Mr.  Stinson  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Ada  Swart,  of  Minne- 
apolis, a  daughter  of  Isaac  Swart,  a  pioneer  settler  of  that  place.  He  was  well  known 
there  for  many  years  but  is  now  deceased.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Stinson  have  become  the  parents 
of  five  children:  Edward  Leslie,  who  was  born  at  Morris,  Minnesota,  in  1891  and  attended 
the  high  school  of  Grand  Forks  and  the  University  of  North  Dakota,  while  now  he  is 
associated  in  business  with  his  father;  Vera,  who  was  born  in  1894  and  is  attending  the 
university;   .\lice.  who  was  born   in   1896  and  is  a   student   in   a  girls'   school  at  Roanoke, 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  465 

\'ii'giiiiu;   Ardis,  wliu  was  burn   in   J-Vljiiiai y,   Ib'J'J,  ami   is  a   liigli   selioul   pupil;    and  .Marian, 
who  was  born  in   lUOl   and   is  a  high   school   iitudeiit. 

In  politics  Mr.  Stinson  maintains  an  independent  course.  ]''ratcrnally  he  is  a  York 
and  Scottish  Rite  Mason  and  is  now  serving  on  the  board  of  directors  of  the  Masonic 
Temple  Building  Association.  His  advancement  in  the  business  world  has  been  the  legiti- 
nuite  outcome  of  his  own  labors.  He  stands  high  in  public  regard  and  is  widely  anil 
favorably  known  throughout  the  state  the  woilli  of  his  character  winning  lor  him  t\\r 
high   esteem    evervwhere    tendered    him. 


WILLIAM  JL  (jUAV,  .U.  D. 


Dr.  William  H.  Gray,  wlio  since  1907  has  been  connected  with  the  medical  prote^^sion 
in  Williams  county,  practicing  in  Kay  since  1913,  was  born  at  Mount  Ayr,  in  Kinggohl 
county,  Iowa,  July  6,  1S7G,  his  parents  bi'ing  William  and  Margaret  (Spates)  (jray,  both 
of  whom  were  natives  of  Indiana.  The  father  became  a  farmer  of  that  state  but  removed 
to  Iowa  and  cast  in  his  lot  with  the  early  settlers  of  Kinggold  county,  where  he  carried 
on  agricultural  pursuits  near  Mount  Ayr  to  the  time  of  his  death,  which  occurred  twenty- 
three  years  ago.  It  was  in  Iowa  that  he  wediled  .Margaret  Spates  and  she  is  now  living  at 
New  Market,  Iowa. 

Dr.  Gray,  after  attending  the  district  schools  of  his  native  county,  becanu'  a  high 
school  pupil  at  Tingley,  Iowa,  and  then  entered  the  normal  school  at  Lincoln,  Nebraska. 
After  completing  his  more  specifically  literary  course  he  took  up  the  study  of  medicine, 
matriculating  in  the  Lincoln  Medical  College  at  Lincoln,  Nebraska,  in  1900.  He  there  com- 
lileted  a  thorough  four  years'  course,  being  graduated  with  the  M.  D.  degree  in  the  class 
of  1904.  He  first  located  for  practice  in  Polk  county,  Nebraska,  where  he  remained  until 
1907  and  then  removed  to  \Vheclock.  Williams  county.  North  Dakota,  where  he  followed 
his  profession  for  six  years,  going  in  1913  to  Kay.  He  has  since  taken  post-graduate 
work  under  the  renowned  Mayo  Brothers  of  Rochester,  Minnesota.  Ho  was  president  of 
his  class  while  at  college  and  he  is  one  of  the  most  successful  physicians  of  Williams 
county,  his  knowledge  of  the  science  of  medicine  and  surgery  being  comprehensive  and 
exact.  Moreover,  he  discharges  his  professional  duties  with  a  sense  of  conscientious  obli- 
gation that  makes  his  work  of  marked  value. 

Politically  Dr.  Gray  is  a  republican  and  keeps  well  intdriiuil  on  the  questions  and 
issues  of  the  day.  Fraternally  he  is  connected  with  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America  and 
with  the  Royal  Neighbors,  but  the  greater  i)art  of  his  attention  is  given  to  his  j)rofessional 
interests  and  duties.  He  belongs  to  the  Northwestern  District  Medical  Society  and  broad 
reading  keeps  him  in  touch  with  the  trend  of  modern  thought  and  progress  along  profes- 
sional  lines. 


CARL  OSCAR  HIGHUM. 


With  the  development  and  upbuilding  of  Wildrosc  the  name  of  Carl  Oscar  Highum  is 
inseparably  connected  for  he  located  there  two  years  before  the  railroad  reached  the  town 
and  has  since  been  one  of  its  foremost  business  men.  Ilis  birth  occurred  in  Rushford, 
Minnesota.  November  26,  188.3,  and  his  parents,  Peter  and  Lena  (Brekke)  Highum.  still  make 
their  home  at  that  place.  The  father  is  a  native  of  W'isconsin  but  as  early  as  1800  removed 
to  Minnesota  and  located  on  a  farm  near  Rushford  in  Fillmore  county,  where  he  followed 
agricultural  pursuits  for  some  years  but  is  now  living  retired  in  Rushford.  He  has  always 
taken  quite  an  active  and  prominent  part  in  local  affairs  and  has  been  called  upon  to  serve 
in    township    and    school    offices. 

In  the  district  schools  of  Fillmore  county,  Minnesota.  Carl  Oscar  Highum  began  his 
education,  and  he  later  attended  the  city  schools  of  Pushford  and  a  business  college  at 
St.  Paul.     Following  this  he  sjient  two  years  in  Lanesboro,  Minnesota,  but  since   1904  has 


466  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

been  a  residtiit  of  North  Dakota.  For  a  time  lie  engaged  in  business  as  a  grain  buyer  at 
Hamilton,  and  from  1906  to  1909  was  similarly  engaged  at  Maxbass.  In  August  of  the 
latter  year  he  removed  to  what  is  now  known  as  Wildrose  but  at  that  time  was  Montrose, 
the  name  being  changed  in  1910.  Here  he  established  the  First  State  Bank  and  served  as 
its  cashier  until  1911,  but  after  the  raib'oad  had  been  built  to  this  place  he  retired  from 
banking  and  turned  his  attention  to  the  grain  trade,  which  he  has  found  quite  profitable. 
In  1912  he  ]iurchased  the  yrain  elevator  at  Wildrose,  which  he  still  o|)erates,  and  lie  also 
owns  another  at  Zahl,  North  Dakota,  besides  some  valuable  farm  property. 

On  the  11th  of  March,  1910,  at  Edmore,  North  Dakota,  was  celebrated  the  marriage  of 
Mr.  Highum  and  iliss  Olive  Johnson,  who  was  born  in  Grafton,  this  state,  and  coming  here 
with  her  husband  was  the  first  woman  to  locate  permanentlj'  in  Wildrose.  Her  parents, 
C.  0.  and  Josephine  Johnson,  are  natives  of  Beloit,  Wisconsin.  In  1885  they  became  resi- 
dents of  Grafton,  North  Dakota,  but  subsequently  removed  to  Edmore,  where  Mr.  Johnson 
is  engaged  in  farming.  He  is  one  of  the  prominent  men  of  his  community  and  has  served 
as  county  commissioner  of  Ramsey  county  for  fourteen  years.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Highum  have 
two  children,  namely:  Josephine  Lillian,  born  in  Wildrose,  June  14,  1911;  and  Orville 
Cliristian,  born  September   15,  1912. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Highum  are  earnest  and  consistent  members  of  the  Methodist  church  and 
she  is  a  teacher  in  the  Sunday  school.  Fraternally  Mr.  Highum  is  identified  with  the 
Yeomen,  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America  and  the  Masonic  order,  and  politically  he  is  a 
stanch  republican.  He  has  served  as  school  treasurer.  Success  has  atteixled  his  well  directed 
efforts  and  he  now  ranks  Avith  the  most  substantial  men  of  his  community,  as  well  as  one 
of  its  representative  and  honored  citizens. 


HARDY  HENRY  LA  DUE. 


Death  claimed  a  valued  citizen  of  Williston  when  Hardy  Henry  La  Due  passed  to  the 
home  beyond.  He  was  born  in  Alburg,  Vermont,  .June  4,  1842,  a  son  of  Abraham  and  Mary 
La  Due,  who  were  natives  of  the  Green  Mountain  state  and  there  spent  their  entire  lives, 
the  father  following  the  tailor's  trade. 

Hardy  H.  La  Due  acquired  his  education  in  the  schools  of  Alburg  and  it  was  his  desire 
to  become  a  physician  but  in  this  he  was  opposed  by  his  father.  As  a  boy  he  worked  at 
the  blacksmith's  trade  and  afterward  entered  the  service  of  the  Central  Railroad  Company 
of  Vermont,  in  which  connection  he  worked  his  way  upward  to  the  position  of  locomotive 
engineer,  his  run  being  between  Boston  and  Montreal.  At  the  time  of  the  Civil  war  he 
responded  to  the  country's  call  for  troops,  enlisting  as  a  member  of  Company  K,  Thirteenth 
Vermont  Infantry,  with  which  he  continued  until  the  close  of  hostilities.  A  bullet  cut  off 
the  top  of  his  thumb  at  Gettysburg  but  otherwise  he  escaped  injury  and  after  the  war  he 
returned  to  railroading  in  Vermont. 

In  1882  jNIr.  La  Due  removed  to  the  west,  settling  at  St.  Paul,  Minnesota,  where  he 
became  an  engineer  on  the  Great  Northern  Railroad.  In  1887  he  made  his  way  to  Minot 
and  for  about  five  years  thereafter  continued  active  in  railroad  work.  In  1891  he  established 
his  home  at  Glasgow,  Montana,  and  in  1894  became  a  resident  of  Williston.  He  was 
engineer  on  the  Great  Northern  Railroad  continuously  for  more  than  a  quarter  of  a  century 
and  made  a  most  excellent  record  for  faithful  service.  At  length  he  was  injured  and  retired 
from  railroading  in  1907,  after  which  he  made  his  home  in  Williston  to  the  time  of  his  death 
on  the  9th  of  April,  1912.  \ATien  he  left  Vermont  his  fellow  workmen  in  the  employ  of  the 
Central  Railroad  Company  presented  him  with  a  beautiful  ring  as  a  token  of  their  esteem 
and  friendship.  He  became  one  of  the  pioneer  engineers  on  the  Great  Northern  and  as  such 
was  known  to  thousands  of  people  throughout  North  Dakota  and  ISIontana,  who  called  him 
"Pap"  La  Due.  He  enjoyed  their  friendship  in  an  unusual  degree  and  he  was  also  a  personal 
friend  of  James  J.  Hill,  president  of  the  road.  He  had  an  eye  to  good  investments  and  thus 
left  a  comfortable  fortune  to  his  family  when  he  passed  away,  for  he  had  become  the 
owner  of  considerable  property  in  Wjlliston. 

On  the  7th  of  September,  1893,  Mr.  La   Due  was  maiTied  at   Oak  Valley  Farm,  near 


HARDY  H.  LA  DUE 


MES.  H.\i;i)V  If.  I. A  1)1  K 


I^K 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  471 

Towner,  North  Dakota,  to  Miss  Myrtle.  Robinson,  who  was  born  in  Granville,  Putnam 
county,  Illinois,  a  daughter  of  James  L.  and  Martha  (Sill)  Robinson.  Her  father,  a  native 
of  Lexington,  Kentucky,  was  educated  in  Illinois  and  in  1883  removed  to  McHenry  county, 
North  Dakota,  homesteading  one  hundred  and  twenty  miles  from  a  railroad.  There  he 
engaged  in  farming  until  he  retired  from  active  business,  when  he  removed  to  Willislon, 
where  he  and  his  wife  spent  their  remaining  days,  the  former  dying  in  June,  1910,  and  the 
latter  in  October,  1913.  Their  daughter,  Mrs.  La  Due,  spent  her  girlhood  in  her  native 
county  to  the  age  of  thirteen  years,  and  then  went  with  her  parents  to  Guthrie  county,  Iowa, 
the  family  home  being  established  near  Casey.  There  she  lived  until  her  father  settled  on 
the  homestead  near  Towner,  in  McHenry  county.  In  early  womanhood  she  taught  school 
in  this  state.  By  her  marriage  she  became  the  mother  of  one  son,  James  Ednion,  who  was 
born  in  Williston,  August  13,  1902,  and  is  attending  school  in  Williston.  She  is  regarded  as 
a  very  capable  business  woman,  having  extensive  property  interests.  She  built  La  Due 
Court,  a  modern  apartment  house,  in  Williston.  which  has  recently  been  completed  at  a  cost 
of  forty-five  thousand  dollars.  In  business  affairs  her  judgment  is  sound  and  her  dis- 
crimination keen.  She  has  been  active  in  women's  clubs  and  was  for  some  time  connected 
with  the  State  Federation. 

Fraternally  Mr.  La  Due  was  a  Mason  and  he  maintained  pleasant  relations  with  his 
old  army  comrades  through  his  membership  in  the  Grand  Army  of  the  Republic.  His 
political  allegiance  was  given  to  the  republican  party  and  he  served  as  alderman  of 
Williston.  His  religious  faith  was  that  of  the  Episcopal  church,  while  his  wife  is  a  member 
of  the  Christian  Science  church.  He  was  a  man  of  social  nature,  genial  in  spirit,  kindly  in 
disposition,  and  his  man}'  good  qualities  made  him  ])opular  wherever  he  was  known. 


JOSEPH  JOHX  WALKER,  M.  D. 

Dr.  Joseph  John  Walker,  a  physician  and  surgeon  of  Cavalier  who  is  now  filling  the 
olTice  of  mayor  in  his  city,  was  born  in  Clinton.  Ontario.  February  28,  1868.  a  son  of  John 
and  Mary  (Chappel)  Walker.  The  father,  a  native  of  England,  settled  in  Ontario  in  pioneer 
times  and  followed  farming  in  Canada  throughout  his  remaining  days,  departing  this  life  in 
1883,  when  he  had  reached  the  age  of  forty-seven  years.  His  wife,  who  was  born  and  edu- 
cated in  England,  is  now  living  at  the  age  of  seventy-four  and  makes  her  home  with 
Dr.  Walker,  her  only  child. 

In  his  youthful  days  Dr.  Walker  was  a  pii|iil  in  the  public  schools  of  Canada  and  con- 
tinued his  education  in  Trinity  University  at  Toronto,  from  which  institution  he  was  gradu- 
ated upon  the  completion  of  a  medical  course  in  the  class  of  1900.  In  the  fall  of  that  year 
he  located  for  practice  at  Hamilton,  Xorth  Dakota,  where  he  remained  for  three  years  and 
then  went  to  Cavalier.  There  he  has  since  remained  in  active  practice  in  connection  with 
Dr.  Galbraith.  Prior  to  pursuing  his  medical  course  he  took  up  veterinary  surgery  in  the 
Ontario  Medical  College,  completed  his  course  and  after  his  graduation  practiced  for  eight 
years  in  Ontario.  It  was  at  the  end  of  that  period  that  he  turned  his  attention  to  medical 
practice  and  eventually  won  his  M.  D.  degree.  In  this  calling  he  has  made  steady  advance, 
for  he  has  attended  various  medical  clinics  and  has  remained  an  earnest  and  discriminating 
student  of  the  profession,  keeping  in  touch  with  the  latest  discoveries  brought  to  light 
through  modern  research  and  investigation.  His  standing  among  his  colleagues  and  con- 
temporaries in  his  section  of  the  state  is  indicated  in  the  fact  that  he  has  been  honored 
with  the  presidency  of  the  Grand  Forks  Medical  Association.  He  also  belongs  to  the  North 
Dakota  State  Medical  Association  and  the  American  Medical  Association.  Aside  from  his 
profession  he  has  extended  his  interests  into  other  fields  and  is  now  a  director  of  the 
Cavalier  Milling  Company  and  of  the  Great  Northern  Life  Insurance  Company  of  Grand 
Forks,  North  Dakota.  He  likewise  has  large,  farming  interests,  owning  an  extensive  tract 
of  land  which  he  is  carefully  and  systematically  cultivating. 

In  .Tune.  1902,  at  Bathgate,  North  Dakota,  Dr.  Walker  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss 
Elizabeth  Campbell,  a  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Arthur  Campbell,  of  Kent  county.  Ontario. 
Five  children  have  been  born  of  this  marriage:  Cora  Luxton,  who  was  born  in  Hamilton  in 
Vol  m— 22 


472  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

Apiil.   1903;   Eugene  Arthur,  born   in   Cavalier  in   1906;   Mary,  in   1910;   Jolm,   in   1914;   and 
Kenneth,  in  October,  1916. 

Dr.  Walker  gives  his  political  allegiance  to  the  democratic  party  and  in  1913  was  elected 
mayor  of  Cavalier,  to  which  position  he  has  since  been  reelected,  so  that  he  is  the  present 
incumbent  in  the  office.  He  is  giving  to  the  city  a  businesslike  and  progressive  administra- 
tion, seeking  ever  to  further  the  interests  and  the  upbuilding  of  his  town.  Fraternally  he  is 
a  Master  ilason.  In  every  relation  of  life  into  which  he  has  directed  his  activities  he  has 
gained  recognition  as  a  man  of  worth  and  ability  and  he  now  has  a  circle  of  friends  almost 
coextensive   with    the   circle   of   his   acquaintance. 


W.   A.   HAMILTON. 


W.  A.  Hamilton,  manager  of  the  Bovey-Shute  Lumber  Company  at  Devils  Lake,  was 
born  near  Rockford,  Illinois,  on  the  14th  of  May,  1854,  and  is  a  son  of  J.  M.  and  Sarah  A. 
(Derwent)  Hamilton,  who  were  of  Scotch  and  English  descent.  For  many  years  they  resided 
in  Illinois,  where  the  father  took  up  a  homestead  and  devoted  his  life  to  farming.  He  died 
in  1907  but  the  mother  is  still  living  in  the  old  home. 

The  public  school  system  of  his  native  state  afforded  W.  A.  Hamilton  his  educational 
opportiuiities  and  in  the  school  of  experience  he  has  learned  many  of  life's  valuable  lessons. 
He  remained  with  his  father  until  he  reached  the  age  of  twentj'-four  years,  when  he  married 
and  removed  to  Cedar  ~Falls,  Iowa,  where  he  resided  for  three  years.  In  18S2  he  arrived 
in  North  Dakota  and  made  his  way  to  Grand  Forks.  There  he  was  engaged  in  the  lumber 
and  machinery  business  in  connection  with  the  firm  of  Hunt  &  Holt  and  Garner  Brothers. 
He  continued  in  that  place  until  January,  1886,  when  he  removed  to  Devils  Lake  and 
remained  with  the  house  of  Garner  &  Cleveland  until  1889.  The  following  year  he  was 
appointed  postmaster  of  Devils  Lake,  serving  for  five  years  under  the  administrations  of 
Presidents  Harrison  and  Cleveland.  For  a  time  he  engaged  in  the  drug  business  and  later 
was  connected  with  the  Merchants  National  Bank,  of  which  he  was  vice  president  until  the 
institution  failed  in  1907.  However,  it  paid  one  hundred  cents  on  the  dollar.  After  remain- 
ing out  of  business  for  a  brief  period  Mr.  Hamilton  entered  the  employ  of  F.  H.  Stultz  as 
superintendent  of  a  line  of  lumberyards  and  afterward  was  given  charge  of  the  home  yard 
at  Devils  Lake  and  remained  in  that  connection  for  four  years.  He  then  entered  into  con- 
nection with  the  Bovey-Shute  Lumber  Company,  for  which  he  has  since  been  manager. 

On  the  5th  of  December,  1878,  Mr.  Hamilton  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Sophia 
Kilgore.  They  hold  membership  in  the  Presbyterian  church  and  Mr.  Hamilton  is  also 
connected  with  the  Ancient  Order  of  United  Workmen.  His  political  endorsement  is  given 
to  the  republican  party.  He  is  interested  in  the  state  and  its  development  and  is  a  public- 
spirited  man  whose  worth  is  widely  acknowledged.  He  has  many  admirable  qualities  and 
enjoys  the  friendship  and  regard  of  many  with  whom  he  has  been  brought  in  contact. 


ALBERT   C.  THOMPSON. 


Albert  C.  Tliompson,  publisher  of  the  Park  River  Herald  and  well  known  as  a  repre- 
sentative of  journalistic  interests  in  Walsh  county,  was  born  in  Baldwin,  Wisconsin,  Novem- 
ber 9,  1875,  a  son  of  Cnute  and  Annie  Thompson,  who  were  natives  of  Norway.  Coming  to 
America  in  1859,  Cnute  Thompson  settled  in  liluskego,  Wisconsin,  and  there  engaged  in  the 
contracting  business,  but  at  the  time  of  the  Civil  war  put  aside  all  business  and  personal 
considerations  and  enlisted  as  a  member  of  the  Fourth  Wisconsin  Infantry,  with  which  he 
was  on  duty  for  four  months.  Later  he  joined  the  Sixteenth  Wisconsin  Infantry  and  was 
with  the  army  throughout  the  entire  ]jeriod  of  the  Civil  war.  He  was  wounded  in  action 
and  ever  proved  himself  a  brave  and  loyal  soldier.  In  1878  he  removed  to  the  northwest 
and  after  about  a  year  spent  at  Moorhead,  ^Minnesota,  became  a  resident  of  Richland  county. 
North  Dakota,  in  1879.     There  he  cast  in  his  lot  with  the  pioneer  settlers  and  took  up  con- 


HISTORY  OF  XOKTll   DAKOTA  -473 

stiiiction  wurk.  iloinj;  a  ^ood  business  as  a  contractor  and  builder,  lie  passed  away  at  the 
National  Soldiers'  Home  in  Milwaukee  in  1910,  when  seventy  years  of  age,  his  birth  having 
occurred  in  1840.  He  had  long  survived  his  wife,  who  died  in  1880  at  the  age  of  thirty-live 
years.     Tlieir   family   numbered   eight   children. 

Allen  C.  Thompson,  who  was  the  fifth  in  order  of  birtli.  attended  school  in  Richland 
county,  Wisconsin,  and  afterward  continued  his  education  in  the  high  school  at  Minneapolis 
am!  in  the  University  of  Minnesota.  In  the  latter  institution  lie  took  up  the  study  of 
law  and  was  graduated  therefrom  in  1905.  He  then  began  practice  in  Adams,  Walsh 
county,  where  he  remained  until  1909,  when  he  disposed  of  his  interests  there  and  in  1913 
purchased  the  Edinburg  Tribune,  which  he  has  since  conducted.  In  1915  he  also  became  the 
owner  of  the  Park  River  Herald,  which  he  is  now  publishing,  and  in  the  interim  he  has 
built  up  the  paper  to  large  proportions.  He  still  retains  active  connection  with  the  legal 
profession  and  is  a  member  of  the  Walsh  County  and  North  Dakota  State  Bar  Associations. 
He  is  likewise  the  owner  of  one  luimlrcil  and  si.xty  acres  of  fine  farming  land  in  Walsh 
county. 

In  .fuly,  1912,  Mr.  Thompson  was  united  in  nuirriage  to  Miss  Anna  llerom.  of  Kdinburg, 
a  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Andrew  IJerom,  who  were  pioneer  settlers  of  Walsh  county. 
Tlic  father  died  in  1909  at  the  age  of  fifty-one  years,  while  his  wife  survived  until  1916, 
passing  away  at  the  age  of  sixty-one.  They  had  a  family  of  four  children,  of  whom 
Mrs.  Thompson  was  the  second,  and  by  her  marriage  she  has  become  the  motlier  of  a 
daughter,  Harriet,  who  was  born   in  Edinburg  in   191.S. 

The  religious  faith  of  the  parents  is  that  of  the  Lutheran  church  and  fraternally 
Mr.  Thompson  is  connected  with  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows,  the  Ancient  Order 
of  United  Workmen  and  the  Foresters.  His  political  allegiance  is  given  to  the  republican 
party  and  in  191G  he  served  as  secretary  of  the  county  central  committee.  He  is  much 
interested  in  political  questions  and  keeps  well  informed  on  the  issues  of  the  day  so  that 
he  is  able  to  support  his  position  by  intelligent  argument.  His  editorials,  too,  have  elicited 
nnich  interest  and  awakened  deep  thought  and  the  papers  which  he  publishes  have  done 
not  a  little  to  shape  public  opinion  and  action. 


HARRY  L.  STARLlXf;.  1).  I).  S. 

Keeping  in  close  touch  with  tlie  trend  of  modern  tliougiit  and  investigation  in  collec- 
tion with  dentistry  Dr.  Harry  L.  Starling  is  recognized  as  one  of  the  ablest  dentists  in 
the  state,  although  he  is  now  giving  little  time  to  professional  activities,  concentrating  his 
efforts  upon  the  management  and  direction  of  his  extensive  agricultural  interests  and  other 
important  business  affairs  in  McKenzie  county.  He  was  born  in  Indianapolis,  Indiana, 
.Inly  :iO,  1862,  a  son  of  Samuel  and  Sarah  (Stewart)  Starling.  Tlic  father,  a  native  of 
Cliillicothe.  Ohio,  was  reared  and  educated  in  that  city  and  in  Indianapolis.  He  became  a 
commission  mercliant  in  Indianapolis  and  there  spent  his  remaining  days.  His  wife  was 
a  noted  artist  producing  paintings  of  rare  beauty  and  skill,  and  lier  last  days  were  spent 
in  Paris,  France. 

Dr.  Starling  pursued  his  education  in  tlie  schools  of  Indianapolis  and  Cincinnati  Oliio, 
until  after  tlie  death  of  his  parents  when  he  removed  to  Red  Wing,  Minnesota,  where  he 
attendetl  high  school.  Determining  to  make  the  practice  of  dentistry  liis  life  work  he 
then  entered  the  dental  department  of  the  University  of  Pennsylvania,  from  which  he  was 
grailuatcd  and  received  his  degree.  He  located  for  practice  in  Red  Wing,  Minnesota,  and 
in  1884  removed  to  Fargo.  Xorth  Dakota,  where  he  followed  his  profession  until  1912, 
when  he  retired.  In  1914  he  removed  to  a  ranch  in  McKenzie  county  near  Schafer  in 
inder  to  more  closely  supervise  his  extensive  interests  in  that  county.  He  resides  in 
Watford  City  during  the  winter  months  but  spends  the  summer  .season  on  the  ranch.  He 
still  maintains  a  small  ollice  in  Watford  City,  where  he  does  work  for  the  accommodation 
of  the  iniblic,  Init  jiractically  he  has  retired  from  active  iiractice,  jireferring  now  to  con- 
centrate  his   efforts   upon   his   property   investments   and   business    interests. 

On  .luno  2,  1902,  at  Fargo,  Dr.  .Starling  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Maud  Keiiyon, 


474  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

who  was  born  in  Wisconsin.  Slie  attended  the  high  school  of  Fargo,  Xorth  Dakota,  and  com- 
pleted her  education  at  the  Northwestern  University  of  Chicago,  Illinois.  She  is  a  daugh- 
ter of  George  P.  Kenj-on,  who  became  a  resident  of  Fargo  in  1882.  He  was  state  agent 
for  threshing  machines  and  farai  machinery  and  became  one  of  the  pioneer  implement 
dealers  of  Fargo  and  of  Minneapolis.  Later  in  life  he  removed  to  Schafer,  where  he  con- 
ducted business  as  a  dealer  in  farm  implements  and  machinery,  and  his  last  days  were 
spent  in  Wadena,  Xorth  Dakota.  His  careful  conduct  of  his  business  affairs,  his  industry, 
enterprise  and  capable  management  brought  to  him  a  very  substantial  measure  of  success. 
To  Dr.  and  Mrs.  Starling  has  been  born  a  son,  Kenyon,  whose  birth  occurred  in  Fargo, 
July  30,   1905. 

In  politics  Dr.  Starling  is  a  republican.  While  he  has  never  been  a  politician  in  the 
sense  of  oflice  seeking  he  was  appointed  one  of  the  state  board  of  dental  examiners  by 
Governor  E.  T.  Burke  and  served  continuously  for  eighteen  years,  being  secretary  of  the 
board  for  sixteen  years  of  that  time.  He  belongs  to  the  North  Dakota  Dental  Association 
and  the  American  Dental  Association,  and  while  he  is  not  actively  engaged  in  practice 
at  the  present  time  he  keeps  in  touch  with  modern  professional  thought  and  research  work 
and  is  today  one  of  the  best  known  dentists  of  the  state.  During  his  residence  in  Fargo, 
which  covers  more  than  a  quarter  of  a  century,  he  was  accorded  a  most  liberal  and  exten- 
sive practice  that  was  an  indication  of  public  trust  in  his  professional   ability. 

He  is  also  greatly  interested  in  fraternal  affairs  and  gives  much  time  to  the  work  of 
the  different  lodges  with  which  he  is  connected.  He  organized  the  Elks  lodge  at  Fargo  of 
which  he  is  still  a  member,  and  he  served  as  its  exalted  ruler.  His  standing  in  tlie  Knights 
of  Pythias  is  shown  in  the  fact  that  he  was  honored  with  the  position  of  grand  chancellor 
of  the  state.  He  is  equally  prominent  in  Masonic  circles,  belonging  to  the  lodge,  chap- 
ter, commandery,  the  consistory  and  the  Mystic  Shrine,  while  upon  him  has  been  conferred 
the  honorary  thirty-third  degree  Scottish  Kite,  a  recognition  of  the  Important  services 
which  he  has  rendered  to  the  order.  Tiie  success  which  has  attended  his  efforts  in  busi- 
ness now  affords  him  leisure  and  opportunity  for  cooperation  with  those  projects  which 
tend  to  bring  man  to  a  higher  level  of  living  and  larger  reaches  of  thought,  and  he  may  well 
be  counted  one  of  the  foremost   and  representative   citizens  of   the   commonwealth. 


EMIL  L.  GUNDERSON. 


Emil  L.  Gunderson,  cashier  of  Linwell's  State  Bank  at  Ray  and  one  of  the  pioneer 
bankers  of  Williams  county,  was  born  at  St.  Ansgar,  Mitchell  county,  Iowa,  November  21, 
1877,  a  son  of  Erik  and  Louisa  (Helgerson)  Gunderson.  The  father,  a  native  of  Norway, 
came  to  America  at  the  age  of  fifteen  years,  making  his  way  to  Mitchell  county,  Iowa,  in 
1857.  There  he  worked  as  a  farm  hand  for  a  few  years  and  with  the  money  thus  earned 
purchased  a  fine  farm  near  St.  Ansgar,  which  he  owned  and  occupied  for  fifty-five  years, 
there  remaining  until  his  death.  His  wife,  who  was  born  in  Winneshiek  county,  Iowa,  also 
passed  away  on  the  old  home  place. 

Emil  L.  Gunderson  acquired  his  early  education  in  the  district  schools  of  Mitchell  county 
and  in  the  high  school  at  Nora  Springs,  Iowa,  and  in  1898  he  went  to  Aneta,  Nelson  county. 
North  Dakota,  where  he  accepted  the  position  of  assistant  cashier  in  a  bank,  thus  serving 
for  five  years.  In  1903  he  became  a  resident  of  Ray,  Williams  county,  and  assisted  in 
organizing  Linwell's  State  Bank,  of  which  he  became  cashier.  In  that  connection  he  has  since 
continued  and  is  today  the  pioneer  banker  of  Williams  county.  He  thoroughly  understands 
the  complex  questions  of  banking  and  has  so  conducted  the  institution  as  to  carefully  safe- 
guard the  depositors  while  at  the  same  time  extending  liberal  credit  to  patrons.  In  the 
spring  of  1906  Mr.  Gunderson  broke  the  first  half  section  of  land  ever  cultivated  in  his 
locality  in  order  to  find  out  what  it  would  produce,  and  is  now  extensively  engaged  in  farm- 
ing and  the  raising  of  both  horses  and  cattle. 

On  the  2d  of  January,  1905,  Mr.  Gunderson  was  married  to  Miss  Lillian  Sorenson,  of 
Bartlctt,  North  Dakota,  who  was  born  at  Marinette,  Wisconsin,  and  in  1901  came  to  this 
state.     She  was  connected  with  an  abstract  office  at  Lakota  for  a  time  and  later  removed 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  475 

to  Williams  county,  where  she  filled  the  position  of  register  of  deeds  and  also  homesteaded 
near  Tioga,  Williams  county.  To  Jlr.  and  Mrs.  (iunderson  have  been  born  five  children, 
two  of  whom  are  deceased.  Those  surviving  arc:  Leila,  whose  birth  occurred  in  June,  1909; 
Blaine,  whose  natal  day  was  July  29,  1910;  and  an  infant,  born  August  1.5,  191G.  All  arc 
natives  of  Ray,  North  Dakota. 

Politically  Mr.  Gunderson  is  an  earnest  republican  and  in  1912  was  elected  to  represent 
his  district  in  the  state  legislature,  serving  in  the  forty-first  session,  during  which  time  he 
was  on  the  committees  on  banking,  live  stock  and  education.  He  has  always  been  deeply 
interested  in  the  cause  of  the  public  schools  and  served  on  the  school  board  when  his  district 
measured  seventy-seven  by  thirteen  miles  and  contained  forty-four  schools.  lie  afterward 
left  the  school  board  but  after  three  years  returned  to  again  serve  in  that  capacity,  having 
been  altogether  for  nine  years  in  that  position.  Fraternally  he  is  connected  with  the  Elks 
lodge  No.  1214  at  Williston,  of  which  lie  becAme  a  charter  member,  and  he  also  has  member- 
ship with  tlie  Ancient  Order  of  United  Workmen  at  Fargo.  He  belongs  to  the  United 
Lutheran  church  and  he  is  a  stanch  advocate  of  prohibition.  In  fact  his  aid  and  influence 
arc  always  given  in  behalf  of  those  forces  which  work  for  moral  uplift  and  which  promote 
civic  progress.    Those  who  know  him  esteem  him  highly  and  his  worth  is  widely  acknowledged. 


ROBERT  BENJIMEN   STACY-JUDD. 

Robert  Benjimen  Stacy-Judd  is  one  of  the  more  recent  but  also  one  of  the  most  valu- 
able acquisitions  to  the  citizenship  of  Minot,  where  he  has  made  his  home  for  only  two 
years.  Within  that  period,  however,  he  has  gained  recognition  as  one  of  the  capable,  promi- 
nent and  distinguished  architects  of  the  state,  his  handiwork  being  seen  at  various  points 
in  North  Dakota.  He  was  born  in  London,  England,  .June  21,  1884,  a  son  of  Benjimen  and 
Elizabeth  (Thomi]son)  .Judd,  the  latter  born  in  Scotland  in  1857,  of  Scotch  parentage.  The 
father  claimed  direct  descent  from  ."^ir  Andrew  .Judd,  who  founded  one  of  the  first  public 
schools  in  England  at  Tonbridge.  in  Kent  county,  in  the  year  1553.  Benjimen  .Judd  was  born 
in  1856,  within  the  sound  of  Bow  Bells  of  London. 

Robert  B.  Stacy-Judd  acquired  his  early  education  in  St.  Paul's  school  at  Knightsbridge, 
London,  and  afterward  attended  Acton  College  and  five  other  schools  in  England  and 
Scotland.  JIo  began  studying  as  a  naval  architect  and  afterward  took  up  the  profession  of 
architecture,  serving  four-year  articles  with  .James  Thompson,  the  distinguished  English 
architect.  He  also  studied  building  construction  under  Cliarles  F.  Mitchell,  the  foremost 
man  in  his  line  in  I^ondon,  England,  and  architeeture  under  Connabeer.  He  was  certified  in 
1905  and  continued  in  private  studies  until  1910.  After  leaving  .James  Thompson  he  went 
with  the  Great  Northern  Railway  Company  of  England,  executing  building  works  throughout 
the  railway  system.  He  was  next  connected  with  the  Franco-British  Exposition  Company, 
which  he  joined  in  1907,  having  charge  of  the  architectural  staff  on  the  grounds  and  so 
continuing  until  the  works  were  completed  in  1908.  He  was  next  associated  with  the 
William  Morris  Company  of  London  and  after  traveling  extensively  in  professional  connec- 
tions he  began  independent  practice  at  Eastbourne,  Sussex,  England,  while  subse(iucntly  he 
opened  another  office  in  Ventnor  on  the  Isle  of  Wight.  In  1909  he  was  editor  of  the 
Eastbourne  and  Sussex  Society  .Journal  and  he  also  owned  and  edited  the  Short  Storv 
Time-table.  He  had  previously  entered  the  literary  field,  having  his  first  short  story  accepted 
in  1908.  Later  he  wrote  for  a  number  of  newspapers  and  he  also  became  connected  with 
amusement  interests,  owning  one  theatre  for  three  years,  while  in  two  other  theatrical  ven- 
tures he  was  a  partner.  He  wrote  and  illustrated  "The  Humors  of  the  History  of  Personal 
Adornment"  and  other  humorous  booklets  in  1906,  and  in  1912  he  wrote  and  produced  in 
England  "A  Study  in  Black  and  White."  a  silent  play.  At  the  same  time  he  was  keeping 
more  or  less  closely  in  touch  with  his  profession  and  in  a  word  his  powers  were  developing 
along  many  lines  as  he  gave  scope  to  the  talents  with  which  nature  endowed  him. 

Mr.  Stacy-Judd  left  England  in  the  spring  of  1913,  crossing  to  the  Atlantic  ocean, 
after  which  he  visited  two  hundred  and  forty  cities  in  Canada,  the  United  States  and 
Alaska  in  search  of  a  suitable  location.    At  length  he  was  induced  to  settle  in  Minot,  whither 


476  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

he  came  as  a  stranger  after  eighteen  months'  travel  in  America.  He  then  entered  into  part- 
nership with  Areliitect  R.  T.  Frost,  of  Minot,  and  after  three  months  spent  in  that  connec- 
tion began  practice  alone.  The  recognition  of  his  ability  was  almost  immediate  and  his 
clientage  has  consequently  and  constantly  grown.  He  designed  the  Bethania  Lutheran 
church  at  Minot.  the  first  concrete  building  in  the  city,  and  the  La  Due  block  at  Williston, 
Xorth  Dakota,  which  was  the  first  all  steel  building  in  the  state.  Among  his  most  important 
work  perhaps  is  the  Armory  at  Williston.  He  was  likewise  the  architect  and  builder  of 
the  IVrson  Flat  block  at  Bismarck,  Nortli  Dakota,  remodeled  the  Union  National  Bank  at 
Minot,  designed  the  Catholic  church  at  Hazelton,  also  the  Blakey  block  at  Minot  and  a 
number  of  fine  bank  buildings  throughout  the  state.  He  designed  the  McKinney-Fnller  block 
at  Grand  Forks  and  the  Central  block,  the  Eby  &  Young  block  and  the  Central  Hotel,  all 
in  Minot.  In  August,  1916,  he  had  twenty-seven  building  works  in  operation  at  one  time. 
His  success  is  notable  by  reason  of  the  fact  that  he  has  attained  his  present  prominence 
and  distinction  within  the  short  period  of  two  j'ears.  This  is  due.  however,  to  his  sterling 
•cliaracter  and  to  his  high  professional  standards. 

Mr.  Stacy-.Tudd  has  been  liberally  educated  in  the  arts  and  in  the  sciences  as  well  as 
in  architecture  and  architectural  construction  and  he  yet  continues  his  litei-ary  work,  having 
since  his  arrival  in  Minot  written  "Draehla,"  a  modern  problem  play,  which  was  produced 
the  first  time  by  the  Lynman  Players  in  Minot.  He  made  his  first  aeroplane  flight  in  1911 
over  the  English  Channel.  He  is  continually  enriching  his  life  by  broadening  experiences, 
by  further  study,  investigation  and  research,  and  by  reason  of  his  liberal  culture  association 
with  him  means  expansion  and  elevation.  His  political  allegiance  is  given  to  the  republican 
party,  while  his  religious  faith  is  that  of  the  Episcopal  church. 


ALBERT  N.  BAUMANN. 


Albert  N.  Baumann,  a  representative  of  commercial  interests  at  Westhope,  being  man- 
ager of  the  Westhope  Mercantile  Company,  of  which  he  is  also  a  stockholder  and  director, 
was  born  in  Watertown,  Wisconsin,  in  February,  1879,  a  son  of  Albert  and  Susan  (Simon) 
Baumann,  both  of  whom  were  natives  of  Wisconsin.  The  father  was  a  commission  mer- 
chant of  Watertown.  Wisconsin,  for  several  years  and  in  1882  removed  to  Grand  Forks 
county,  North  Dakota,  settling  nine  miles  from  Tliompson,  upon  a  homestead  claim  which 
lie  entered  from  the  government.  This  he  developed  and  improved,  transforming  it  into  a 
valuable  and  productive  tract  of  land,  continuing  its  cultivation  until  1900.  During  that 
period  he  also  served  as  postmaster  of  Thompson  for  four  years  and  in  1900  he  returned 
to  AVisconsin,  where  for  two  years  he  conducted  a  meat  market.  He  then  again  became  a 
resident  of  Thompson,  where  he  remained  for  about  a  year,  when  in  1903  he  removed  to 
Westliope,  where  he  lived  retired  until  his  death  a  decade  later.  It  was  in  January,  1913, 
that  he  passed  away,  but  his  widow  still  survives. 

Albert  N.  Baumann  was  reared  and  educated  in  Wisconsin  and  in  Grand  Forks  county. 
North  Dakota,  remaining  inuler  the  parental  roof  until  he  had  attained  his  majority.  In 
1901  lie  came  to  Bottineau  county  and  took  up  a  homestead  which  he  developed  and  im- 
proved, operating  the  land  for  about  four  years.  In  1904  he  established  his  home  in 
Westhope,  where  he  opened  a  meat  market,  which  he  has  since  conducted,  and  in  1912  he 
added  a  stock  of  groceries.  He  has  today  one  of  the  best  stores  of  the  kind  in  Bottineau 
county  and  enjoys  a  large  patronage  which  he  fully  merits.  Extending  the  scope  of  his 
activities,  he  opened  a  clothing  and  men's  furnishing  goods  department  and  enjoys  a  good 
trade  in  that  connection.  He  is  also  a  stockholder  and  director  and  manager  of  the  West- 
liope Mercantile  Company  and  is  likewise  the  owner  of  a  meatmarket  at  Antler.  His  landed 
possessions  include  an  entire  section  in  Grand  Forks  county,  a  part  of  which  is  the  old 
family  homestead,  and  he  has  also  eighty  acres  of  irrigated  land  in  Idaho. 

In  June,  1907,  occurred  the  marriage  of  Mr.  Baumann  and  Miss  Alice  Warner,  by 
wliom  lie  has  four  children,  Albert  H.,  Winthrop  0.,  Francis  and  Louise.  Their  religious 
faith  is  that  of  the  Catholic  church  and  Mr.  Baumann  belongs  to  the  Knights  of  Columbus 
and   the   Modern   Woodmen   of   America.     Politically   he   is   a    democrat    and   has   served   as 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  479 

aldennaii   ul    \\estliope   for  eight   years,   while  at   the   present   time   he  is  a    member   of   tlie 

school   board.     His   business   interests  and  activities  along  other   lines  have   contrilmted   to 
the  progress  and  development  of  this  section  of  the  state. 


COLONEL   CALVIN   S.   ULINK. 

Colonel  Calvin  S.  Uline,  who  was  born  in  New  York  in  1833,  received  an  academic 
education  at  Cliarlotteville  and  then  settled  in  New  Jersey.  Three  years  later  he  went  to 
Indianapolis  where  he  was  employed  in  the  ])astonice.  He  remained  in  that  city  three 
years  and  settled  in  St.  Paul  in  1850. 

He  was  for  five  years  associated  witii  L.  H.  Eddy  and  C.  W.  Griggs  in  the  grocery 
bnsiness.  When  the  war  broke  out  he  enlisted  in  the  Second  Minnesota  Regiment  and 
served  with  distinction  for  four  years.  His  bravery  in  the  engagements  in  which  his  regi- 
ment participated  won  for  him  successively  commissions  as  second  lieutenant,  first  lieu- 
tenant, captain,  major,  and  he  returned  to  St.  Paul  after  the  war  as  a   lieutenant  colonel. 

Colonel  Uline  was  liberal,  broad-minded  and  popular  and  was  repeatedly  elected  treas- 
urer of  Kanisey  county,  having  served  from  1868  to  1876.  He  became  in  1876  right  of 
way  agent  for  the  St.  Paul,  Minneapolis  &  JIanitoba  Kailway  Company  and  was  connected 
with  that  road  until  1882,  when  he  sold  his  homestead  on  Mississippi  street  and  moved  to 
Devils  Lake,  where  he  lived  until  his   death  in  May,   1902. 

Colonel  Uline  was  married  in  1865  to  Miss  Olive  Eddy,  sister  of  Luther  H.  Eddy.  His 
wife  died  thirty-three  years  ago.  Five  children  were  the  issue  of  this  marriage:  Ella 
Uline.  deceased:  Olive  Uline,  deceased;  Charles  Miller  Uline,  deceased;  Mrs.  Dudley  Lee 
Xasli,  of  Minot,  North  Dakota;   and  Mrs.  Adolph  Schmidt,  of  Lewiston,  Idaho. 


COLONEL  D.  F.  ELLSWORTH. 

Colonel  D.  F.  Ellsworth,  who  is  now  living  retired  in  New-  Rockford,  won  distinction 
as  a  soldier  of  the  Civil  war  and  in  times  of  peace  has  taken  a  prominent  part  in  public 
alfairs.  A  native  of  Pennsylvania,  he  was  born  in  Potter  county,  July  35,  1836,  and  is  a 
son  of  Daniel  F.  and  Rhoda  L.  (Babcock)  Ellsworth,  wdio  were  born,  reared  and  married 
in  New  York  but  shortly  after  their  marriage  removed  to  Pennsylvania,  where  the  father 
engaged  in  farming  for  some  years.  Subsecjuently  he  removed  to  the  county  seat  of  Pot- 
ter county — Coudersport,  to  enter  upon  the  duties  of  sherifl',  to  which  odice  he  had  been 
elected,  and  he  later  served  as  justice  of  the  peace  there.  In  1854  he  became  a  resident 
of  Hardin  county,  Iowa,  and  built  a  hotel  in  Eldora,  the  county  seat,  which  he  conducted 
for  many  years,  he  and  his  wife  spending  their  last  days  in  that  city. 

Colonel  Ellsworth  was  educated  in  the  common  schools  of  Pennsylvania  and  was 
eighteen  years  of  age  on  the  removal  of  the  family  to  Iowa.  After  reaching  manhood  he 
became  identified  with  the  land  business  and  was  active  in  locating  settlers  on  land  prior 
to  the  homestead  law.  The  Civil  war  having  broken  out,  he  returned  to  Pennsylvania 
in  1S62  and  enlisted  in  the  One  Hundred  and  Forty-ninth  Pennsylvania  Volunteer  Infan- 
try, which  was  one  of  the  celebrated  Bucktail  regiments.  After  serving  as  a  private  for 
eight  months  he  was  promoted  to  quartermaster  sergeant  of  his  regiment  and  in  the 
fall  of  1803  was  made  first  lieutenant  and  regimental  quartermaster.  On  the  20th  of 
.June.  1864,  he  was  again  promoted,  this  time  being  commissioned  captain  and  assistant 
quartermaster  of  volunteers,  which  took  him  from  his  regiment  but  he  continued  with 
the  Army  of  the  Potomac  throughout  its  service.  In  the  fall  of  1864  he  was  assigned  to  the 
Artillery  Brigade  of  the  Second  Corps  and  made  division  quartermaster  and  the  same  fall 
congress  passed  a  bill  giving  all  division  quartermasters  the  rank  and  pay  of  a  major. 
After  the  close  of  hostilities  Colonel  Ellsworth  returned  from  Washingtcm  to  his  home  in 
Iowa,  arriving  there  July  27,  1805,  but  he  had  not  been  mustered  out  of  service  and  on 
the  4th  of  August  he  was  ordered  to  Fort  Leavenworth,  Kansas,  and  from  there  to  Fort 


480  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

Kearney,  Nebraska,  where  he  was  made  post  quartermaster  and  chief  quartermaster  of  the 
district  of  Nebraska,  in  which  important  capacity  he  served  until  the  1st  of  November, 
1865,  when  he  resigned  and  returned  home. 

During  the  following  three  years  Colonel  Ells^^  orth  was  engaged  in  farming  in  Hardin 
county,  Iowa,  but  in  1868  was  appointed  assistant  assessor  of  internal  revenue,  which 
office  he  held  for  four  and  a  half  years,  when  congress  passed  a  bill  abolisliing  that  position. 
Subsequently  he  removed  to  Butler  county,  Iowa,  and  was  engaged  in  the  drug  business 
at  Bristow.  In  1876  he  was  admitted  to  the  bar  and  practiced  law  until  1881,  when  he  came 
to  North  Dakota,  being  one  of  the  pioneers  of  Lisbon,  Ransom  county.  He  was  there  the 
day  the  county  was  organized — April  13,  1881, — and  the  same  summer  filed  on  a  pre- 
emption in  that  part  of  the  county  which  was  later  cut  off  to  form  Sargent  county.  He 
was  elected  a  member  of  the  first  board  of  county  commissioners  and  took  an  active  part 
in  the  development   of   that   region. 

It  was  in  1899  that  Colonel  Ellsworth  removed  to  New  Eockford  and  established  the 
Volunteer,  a  weeklj'  newspaper,  but  shortly  afterward  sold  it  to  C.  J.  JIaddox  and  the 
paper  was  merged  with  the  Transcript.  The  Colonel  later  was  placed  in  charge  cf  The 
Provost.  In  1906  he  was  elected  county  judge  of  Eddy  county  and  served  in  that  capacity 
for  four  terms,  up  to  the  1st  of  January,  1915.  since  which  time  he  has  lived  retired,  enjo\'- 
ing  a   well   earned    rest. 

On  the  2d  of  .June,  1859,  Colonel  Ellsworth  married  Miss  Mary  E.  Starkweather,  of 
Lansing,  Michigan,  but  a  native  of  New  York  state.  During  the  Civil  war  she  accom- 
panied her  husband  from  1863  to  1805,  they  being  located  at  Washington,  D.  C,  a  part 
of  that  time.  Today  they  are  a  most  remarkable  couple,  both  being  eighty  years  of  age 
and  still  retaining  their  faculties  and  vigor  to  a  great  degree.  Their  children  are  Willis 
A.,  a  resident  of  New  Eockford;  James  E.,  a  dentist  of  Forman,  North  Dakota;  Alfred 
H.,  night  editor  of  the  New  Eockford  State  Center;  and  Lura,  the  wife  of  Grant  Simms, 
of  Grand  Eapids,  Michigan.  The  Colonel  affiliates  with  the  republican  party  and  is  a 
prominent  member  of  Fort  Seward  Post,  G.  A.  E.,  of  Jamestown,  North  Dakota.  He  is 
a  man  honored  and  respected  wherever  known,  and  he  has  a  host  of  warm  friends  in 
Eddy  county. 


ANDEEW  URSETH. 


Norway  has  furnished  to  this  state  many  of  its  most  prominent  and  influential  citi- 
zens— men  who  through  their  own  unaided  efforts  have  worked  their  way  upward,  becoming 
prominent  in  both  business  and  public  life.  Among  those  now  residing  in  Williams  county 
is  Andrew  Urseth,  cashier  of  the  First  State  Bank  of  Wildrose.  He  was  born  near  Oster- 
dalen,  Norway,  September  14,  1876,  a  son  of  Andrew  and  Anna  (Moen)  LTrsetli,  who 
remained  in  that  country  throughout  life,  the  father  being  engaged  in  agricultural  ]iur- 
suits.  During  his  boyhood  the  son  attended  the  public  schools  as  he  found  opportunity 
and  assisted   his   father   in   the   operation   of   the   farm. 

In  1894  Mr.  Urseth  came  to  the  new  world  in  the  hopes  of  benefitiiig  his  financial 
condition  and  first  located  at  Cummings,  Traill  county.  North  Dakota,  where  he  worked 
as  a  farm  hand  through  the  summer  months  and  attended  school  during  the  winter  sea- 
son. Feeling  the  need  of  a  better  education  he  entered  the  Minnesota  Normal  &  Business 
College  at  Minneapolis,  where  he  pursued  his  studies  for  five  winters  while  working  as  a 
farm  hand  through  the  remainder  of  the  year,  for  which  he  deserves  much  credit.  He  took 
up  a  homestead  in  Bottineau  county  and  for  a  time  was  employed  as  a  clerk  in  a  general 
store  at  Bottineau.  Later  he  entered  the  First  National  Bank  at  that  place,  with  which 
institution  he  was  connected  for  five  years,  first  as  bookkeeper  and  subsequently  as  assistant 
cashier.  In  1910  Mr.  Urseth  removed  to  Howard,  Williams  county,  and  established  the 
Security  State  Bank,  of  which  he  became  cashier,  but  the  following  year  accepted  a  similar 
position  with  the  First  State  Bank  of  Wildrose,  in  which  capacity  he  is  now  serving.  He 
understands  the  banking  business  both  in  principle  and  detail  and  the  institution  with 
which  he  is   now  connected  has  steadily   prospered  under  his  able   management.     He   is  also 


HISTORY  UF  NORTH  DAKOTA  481 

a  stockholder  and  director  of  a  bank  at  Coriirtli,  Xorth  Dakota,  and  owns  farm  lands  in 
this  state  and  in  ilontana. 

On  the  30th  of  November,  1910,  Mr.  L'rseth  was  married  in  Bottineau  to  .Miss  Lillian 
Stewart,  who  was  born,  reared  and  educated  in  that  city,  of  which  her  parents,  Duncan 
and  Evelyn  (Turner)  Stewart,  were  early  settlers.  They  came  originally  from  Canada. 
Mr.  Stewart,  who  made  farming  his  life  work,  is  now  deceased,  but  his  wife  is  still  living 
and  continues  to  reside  in  Eottiiu'au.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  l'r.seth  have  one  child,  Alf  Leroy,  who 
was  born   in   Wildrose,   November   4,    1911. 

By  his  ballot  Mr.  Urseth  supports  the  men  and  measures  of  the  republican  party  and 
he  has  served  as  a  member  of  the  town  board.  In  religious  faith  he  is  a  Lutheran,  but 
his  wife  holds  membership  in  the  Baptist  church  and  takes  an  active  part  in  its  work, 
serving  as  president  of  the  Ladies  Aid  Society  and  as  a  teacher  in  the  Sunday  school. 
Fraterhulh'  he  is  connected  with  the  Masonic  order  and  he  helped  to  organize  the  Sons 
'  of  Norway  at  Wildrose,  serving  as  the  first  president  of  that  society.  He  is  a  self-made 
as  well  as  a  self-educated  man  for  the  success  that  has  come  to  him  is  due  entirely  to  Ids 
own  well  directed  eft'orts  and  good  business  ability  for  at  the  beginning  of  his  career  he 
had  no  outside  aid  or  advantages  but  had  to  rely  entirely  on  his  own  industry  and  enter- 
prise. At  the  present  time,  however,  he  is  one  of  the  well-to-do  citizens  of  his  community 
and  his  course  has  been  such  as  to  command  the  respect  and  confidence  of  all  who  know 
him. 


THOMAS  JOHNSON. 


Thomas  Johnson,  president  of  the  Farmers  Security  Bank  at  Park  Kiver,  was  born 
January  11,  1S53,  in  Racine  county,  Wisconsin,  a  son  of  John  Johnson,  whose  birth 
occurred  at  Landswerk,  Norway,  w-hence  he  came  to  America  in  1840,  making  his  way  to 
Racine  county,  Wisconsin,  where  he  cast  in  his  lot  among  the  pioneer  settlers.  In  1854 
he  removed  to  Chickasaw  county,  Iowa,  and  was  one  of  the  first  to  locate  in  that  dis- 
trict. There  he  entered  a  claim  from  the  government  and  began  the  development  of  a 
farm,  which  he  continued  to  cultivate  and  improve  until  death  called  him  in  1887, 
when  he  was  more  than  eighty-one  years  of  age.  His  wife,  who  bore  the  maiden  name 
of  Anna  Peterson,  was  also  a  native  of  Norway  and  with  her  husband  and  one  child,  Peter, 
came  to  the  new  world.  In  the  family  were  seven  children,  six  sons  and  a  daughter,  who 
reached  adult  age,  Thomas  being  the  fifth  in  order  of  birth.  The  motlier  passed  away 
in  1863. 

At  the  usual  age  Thomas  Johnson  became  a  pujdl  in  the  public  schools  and  afterward 
attended  Bradley  Academy  at  Bradford,  Iowa,  and  Luther  College  at  Decorah,  that  state, 
thus  continuing  his  studies  until  he  attained  his  majority.  His  youthful  days  up  to  that 
period  were  spent  upon  the  home  farm  and  he  early  became  familiar  witli  the  best  methods 
of  tilling  the  soil  and  caring  for  the  crops.  His  first  active  work  be.yond  that  of  farming 
was  in  the  schoolroom  as  a  teacher,  but  after  devoting  a  term  to  that  work  he  began 
farming  on  his  own  account  and  was  thus  engaged  in  Iowa  until  1893,  when  he  came  to 
North  Dakota,  settling  at  Park  River,  Walsh  county.  There  he  established  an  implement 
and  farm  machinery  business,  entering  into  jjartnership  with  Messrs.  Hendrickson  and 
Olson.  Later  he  became  a  partner  of  Thomas  Wadde  and  since  1900  he  has  been  engaged 
in  the  implement  business  alone,  in  which  connection  he  has  built  up  a  trade  of  large  and 
gratifying  proportions,  his  store  being  to  him  a  very  profitable  source  of  income  at  the 
present  time.  He  was  also  one  of  the  organizers  and  incorporators  of  the  Farmers  Security 
Bank,  which  was  established  in  the  fall  of  1909,  at  which  time  he  was  elected  president 
and  has  since  served  in  that  connection.  He  is  also  president  of  the  Farmers  Elevator 
Company  and  its  principal  stockholder  and  thus  his  business  connections  closely  touch  the 
commercial,    financial    and    agiicultural    interests    of    the    community. 

On  the  6th  of  May,  l.'!96,  at  Northfield,  Jlinnesota,  Mr.  Johnson  was  married  to  Miss 
Belle  Huseby,  a  native  of  Norway,  who  in  her  infancy  was  brought  to  America  by  her 
parents,  Andrew  and  Gertrude  Huseby,  who  still  reside  at  the  old  home  seven  miles  from 
Northfield,   where  they   have   remained   for   a   half   century.     Mr.   and  Mrs.   Johnson   have 


482  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

three   children:      Genevra   Alvina.   who   was   born   in   April,   1899;    Olivor   Reuben,   born    Feb- 
ruary  S,    1902;    and   Pearl   Henrietta,   born   June    21,    1905. 

The  parents  are  members  of  the  Lutheran  church  and  Mr.  Johnson  belongs  to  the 
Commercial  Club  of  Park  River.  In  politics  he  has  been  a  stalwart  republican  since  east- 
ing his  first  presidential  vote  for  U.  S.  Grant.  In  1903  he  served  as  a  member  of  the  state 
legislatiu'e  from  the  third  district  and  during  the  two  succeeding  terms  was  a  member 
of  the  state  senate.  He  carefully  considered  the  important  problems  which  came  up  for 
settlement  and  lent  the  weight  of  his  aid  and  intluence  in  support  of  many  plans  and 
measures  for  the  general  good.  For  twenty  years  he  has  served  on  the  Park  River  school 
board,  of  which  he  is  still  a  member  and  the  president.  His  influence  has  always  been 
on  the  side  of  ])rogress  and  improvement  for  the  benelit  of  city  and  state  and  his  labors 
have  been   of   far-reaching   effect   and   importance. 


GEORGE  W.  NEWTON. 


George  W.  Newton,  proprietor  of  the  Brunswick  Hotel  at  Williston,  was  born  in  Phila- 
delphia, Pennsylvania,  November  38,  1858.  He  has  long  been  identified  with  the  west,  for 
his  have  been  the  experiences  of  the  cowboy  and  the  buflalo  hunter.  His  parents,  George  and 
Sarah  Anna  (Fox)  Newton,  were  natives  of  England  and  Ireland  respectively.  The  former 
acquired  his  education  at  Bristol,  England,  and  in  early  life  learned  the  shoemaker's  trade, 
which  he  later  followed  in  Philadelphia  and  subsequently  in  Prescott,  Wisconsin,  where 
he  engaged  in  that  business  for  five  years.  He  then  became  proprietor  of  the  Newton 
House  and  continued  in  the  hotel  business  for  many  years.  On  removing  to  the  middle 
west  he  made  his  way  first  to  St.  Paul,  Minnesota,  but  at  that  time  it  looked  as  though 
Prescott,  Wisconsin,  would  develop  more  rapidly  and  accordingly  he  located  there.  His 
last  days  were  spent  in  Red  Wing,  Minnesota,  where  his  wife  also  died.  She  was  born  at 
Castlereigh,  Ireland,  and  they  were  married  in   Philadelphia. 

George  W.  Newton  acquired  his  education  in  the  city  schools  of  Prescott,  Wisconsin, 
and  when  a  young  man  served  as  cabin  boy  and  boat  hand  on  the  river  boats  which  plied 
on  the  St.  Croix  and  Mississippi  rivers.  He  was  thus  engaged  until  1878,  when  he  went  to 
Miles  City,  Montana,  then  a  wild  frontier  town  of  three  hundred  inhabitants,  mostly  cow- 
boys, the  life  of  the  community  centering  in  the  dance  halls,  the  saloons  and  the  gambling 
houses.  Mr.  Newton's  journey  to  the  northwest  was  an  overland  one  from  Fort  Lincoln 
to  Bismarck  and  thence  to  Miles  City,  and  for  five  years  thereafter  he  engaged  in  hunting 
buffaloes  in  Montana,  but  by  1S83  those  animals  had  been  so  largely  exterminated  that 
hunting  was  no  longer  profitable  and  Mr.  Newton  removed  to  what  is  now  Williams  county, 
North  Dakota,  where  he  was  employed  as  cowboy  on  the  old  Cirinnell  ranch.  Subsequently 
he  was  foreman  on  the  R.  C.  Matthews  ranch,  which  position  he  occupied  until  1887,  when  he 
established  the  Brunswick  restaurant  and  saloon  in  Little  Jluddy  now  Williston,  conduct- 
ing that  business  when  Williston  was  headquarters  for  the  cowboys.  He  never  closed  the 
saloon  night  or  day,  for  when  the  cowboys  went  to  the  ranches  he  just  left  the  place  open 
and  went  to  his  home,  so  that  if  anyone  wanted  a  drink  during  the  night  he  helped  himself. 
Mr.  Newton  conducted  this  saloon  for  five  years  after  the  state  went  dry,  saying  that  it 
took  five  years  for  the  news  to  reach  Williston.  On  closing  out  his  saloon  he  opened  a  drug 
store  under  the  name  of  the  Williston  Drug  Company  and  conducted  that  business  for  six 
years,  after  which  he  sold  out.  He  then  opened  the  Brunswick  Hotel,  of  which  he  is  now 
proprietor. 

In  1884  Mr.  Newton  wedded  his  old  sweetheart  from  Wisconsin — iliss  Annie  Manning. 
She  made  her  way  to  Bismarck  by  boat  and  Mr.  Newton  left  the  Grinnell  ranch,  where  lie 
was  employed  as  a  cowboy,  to  go  to  Bismarck  to  meet  her,  driving  in  a  buckboard  to  that 
city,  where  they  were  married,  after  which  he  started  with  his  bride  lor  the  Grinnell  ranch. 
While  on  the  way  to  that  place  they  spent  one  night  at  Fort  Berthold  on  the  Indian  reser- 
vation. That  night  representatives  of  the  Montana  Live  Stock  Association,  who  were  look- 
ing for  stolen  cattle  and  horses,  came  to  him  and  inspected  the  brands  on  the  horses  which 
he   was   driving,   also   asked  liira   where   he   was   from   ond   other  questions.      They   told    him 


GEOROK  W.  XEWTOX 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  485 

tliiit  their  captain  said  for  him  not  to  go  to  the  Grinnell  ranch  until  they  gave  liim  per- 
mission to  do  so,  as  they  were  looking  up  cattle  thieves  about  the  country  and  Grinnell's 
was  known  as  a  hangout  for  bad  men  and  cattle  rustlers.  Mr.  Newton  defiantly  answered 
them  and  the  next  morning  went  on  his  way,  unheeding  their  command.  It  was  on  the 
26th  of  October,  18S4,  that  he  married  Miss  Manning,  who  was  born  at  Kock  Elm,  Pierce 
county,  Wisconsin,  a  daughter  of  Daniel  and  Kate  Manning,  who  were  early  settlers  of  that 
state  but  are  now  deceased.  To  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Newton  have  been  born  live  children,  as 
follows:  Claudie,  who  is  deceased;  George,  a  native  of  Fort  Buford,  North  Dakota;  Margaret, 
who  was  born  in  Nesson,  North  Dakota,  and  is  the  wife  of  E.  H.  Bergran,  an  auditor  residing 
in  Chicago,  Illinois;  and  Clara  and  .John  Henrj',  both  of  whom  were  born  in  Williston,  North 
Dakota. 

In  politics  Mr.  Newton  is  a  democrat  and  was  a  member  of  the  school  board  for  sev- 
eral years.  He  belongs  to  the  Episcopal  church,  while  his  wife  and  family  are  connected 
with  the  Roman  Catholic  church,  lie  is  identified  with  the  Knights  of  Pythias  and  Elks 
lodges  of  Williston.  He  assisted  in  organizing  the  Williams  County  Fair  Association,  of 
which  he  is  one  of  the  directors,  and  he  has  taken  a  most  prominent  part  in  promoting 
public  progress  and  improvement  along  many  lines.  He  is  today  one  of  the  wealthy  citizens 
of  northwestern  North  Dakota,  owning  considerable  farm  land  which  he  rents,  while  his 
citj'  realty  is  extensive.  His  liome  is  a  fine  modern  residence — a  typical  evidence  of  the 
success  which  has  come  to  him. 

There  is  no  phase  of  frontier  life  with  which  he  was  not  familiar  and  his  reminiscences 
of  the  early  days  are  most  interesting.  When  the  Montana  "stranglers"  stopped  Mr.  and 
Mrs.  Newton  at  Fort  Berthold  they  had  with  them  two  half-breeds  who  were  charged  with 
stealing  horses.  Two  years  after  the  decomposed  bodies  of  two  men  were  found  in  a  lake 
that  went  dry  and  were  identified  as  these  iialf-breeds — which  was  the  way  cattle  thieves 
were  handled  in  the  early  days.  Mr.  Newton  is  a  splendid  type  of  the  old  bullalo  hunter 
and  frontiersman  who  is  fast  disappearing  in  the  west  and  lie  has  vivid  recollection  of  the 
notorious  gangs  of  tough  cowboys  who  settled  in  McKenzie  county  in  the  early  '80s  after 
driving  large  herds  of  cattle  through  from  Texas.  Mr.  Newton  has  killed  hundreds  of  buf- 
faloes upon  the  western  plains,  his  largest  killing  at  one  stand  being  thirty-six  head.  The 
animals  were  skinned  for  their  hides,  a  dollar  and  a  quarter  being  paid  for  a  calf  hide,  two 
dollars  and  seventy-five  cents  for  a  bull  hide  and  four  dollars  for  a  choice  robe  hide.  Dur- 
ing 1879  and  1880  Mr.  Newton  was  skinning  hides  for  the  Frazier  brothers — "Bill  and  Steel," 
who  were  famous  buffalo  hunters  of  an  early  day.  They  hunted  buffaloes  in  Kansas,  where 
they  lived  on  a  ranch,  and  in  1879  and  ISSO  came  to  Montana  to  hunt.  During  the  first 
year  Steel  Frazier  killed  five  thousand  buffaloes  in  Montana.  He  had  six  men  employed  to 
follow  him  and  skin  the  animals,  Mr.  Newton  being  one  of  the  number.  The  I'razier  brothers 
piled  their  hides  along  the  Yellowstone  river  and  the  boats  took  them  awa}-  in  the  spring. 
Mr.  Newton  has  lived  to  see  the  wide,  open  country  with  its  free  range  converted  into  pro- 
ductive farms  dotted  here  and  there  with  thriving  towns  and  villages,  while  all  the  evi- 
dences of  a  modern  civilization  have  been  introduced,  and  where  once  the  buffaloes  roamed 
at  will  over  the  broad  plains,  herds  of  fine  blooded  stock  in  well  fenced  pastures  are  today 
seen.  It  may  be  that  he  remembers  with  a  sigh  the  old  days  of  freedom  when  men  were 
tested  as  to  their  real  worth  of  character,  yet  he  also  rejoices  in  the  changes  which  have 
occurred  whereby  the  natviral  resources  of  the  country  are  being  developed  and  North 
Dakota  is  steadily  working  its  way  to  a  place  in  the  foremost  rank  of  the  great  states  of 
the  Union. 


ASLE    B.JELLA. 


The  business  career  of  Asle  Bjella,  of  Epping,  is  a  notable  one.  Contrast  his  present 
position  as  a  substantial  citizen  and  man  of  affluence  with  his  condition  in  1S9G,  when  he 
had  a  capital  of  thirteen  cents,  without  employment  and  unable  to  speak  the  English 
language.  The  change  that  has  occurred  has  been  wrought  by  persistent,  earnest  effort.  He 
knows  what  it  means  to  work  hard,  to  save  his  money  and  to  make  judicious  investments. 
He  has  disjilayed  sound  judgment  in  his  business  career,  and   indefatigable  energy  has  been 


486  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

tlie  basis  of  liis  success.  He  was  born  in  Aal,  Hallingdal,  Norway,  Kovember  24,  1877,  a 
son  of  A.  0.  and  Anna  (Rud)  Bjella,  who  were  also  natives  of  the  land  of  the  midnight  sun. 
The  father  came  first  to  the  United  States  in  1893  and  after  remaining  for  two  years  returned 
to  Norway,  whore  he  again  spent  two  years.  He  then  came  for  the  second  time  to  the 
United  States  and  established  his  home  in  Waukon  township,  Norman  county,  Minnesota, 
where  he  took  up  the  occupation  of  farming  and  where  he  is  still  living  at  the  age  of 
eighty- seven  years.  His  wife  remained  a  lifelong  resident  of  Norway,  there  passing  away 
in  the  spring  of  1895,  her  husband  reaching  their  native  land  six  weeks  before  her  demise. 

Asle  Bjella  acquired  his  education  in  the  public  schools  of  his  native  country  and  in 
1895,  when  a  youth  of  eighteen  years,  came  to  the  United  States  with  his  brother  and 
sister.  They,  too,  made  their  way  to  Norman  county,  Minnesota,  where  he  worked  on  a 
farm  for  a  year.  In  the  spring  of  1896  he  went  to  Cass  county,  North  Dakota,  where  he 
was  employed  at  farm  labor  for  two  years  at  twelve  dollars  per  month.  He  then  returned 
to  Norman  county,  Minnesota,  where  he  began  to  learn  the  blacksmith's  trade,  which  he 
followed  for  three  years.  He  next  removed  to  Mcintosh,  Minnesota,  and  worked  in  his 
brother's  blacksmith  shop  for  several  years.  In  1906  he  arrived  in  Williams  county,  where 
he  took  up  a  homestead  a  mile  and  a  half  from  what  is  now  Epping.  He  started  a  blacksmith 
shop  on  the  site  of  the  town,  although  the  district  was  then  unmarked  hj  any  buildings. 
The  country  became  more  thickly  settled,  however,  as  the  years  went  on  and  he  continued 
to  enjoy  a  growing  business  until  1916,  when  he  sold  out.  He  also  engaged  in  farming  and 
after  improving  his  original  purchase  he  added  to  his  land  until  he  now  owns  three  hundred 
and  sixty  acres  in  one  farm  and  also  has  an  interest  in  other  lands.  He  is  now  connected 
with  commercial  interests  of  Epping  as  a  partner  of  H.  A.  Gemberling  in  the  implement 
business,  under  the  firm  name  of  Gemberling  &  Bjella,  and  they  enjoy  an  extensive  trade. 

On  the  31st  of  January,  1904,  Mr.  Bjella  was  married  to  Miss  Clara  Bagstcad,  a  daughter 
of  P.  A.  and  Johanna  (Sillerud)  Bagstead,  of  Mcintosh,  Minnesota.  She  was  born  at 
Manville,  North  Dakota,  but  her  parents  returned  to  the  former  state.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Bjella 
now  have  a  family  of  four  children:  Lloyd  A.,  Yewell  Philander,  Lillian  E.  and  Norman, 
all  born  in  Epping.  Mr.  Bjella  is  a  member  of  the  Sons  of  Norway  and  was  the  first 
president  of  the  lodge  in  Epping.  Both  he  and  his  wife  hold  membership  in  the  United 
Lutheran  church.  His  record  is  indeed  commendable,  showing  what  may  be  accomplished 
when  one  has  the  will  to  dare'  and  to  do.  Undeterred  by  any  obstacles  in  his  path,  he  has 
worked  his  way  steadily  upward,  winning  success  by  honorable,  straightforward  methods 
and  judicious  investment,  and  today  he  is  one  of  the  substantial  citizens  of  Williams  county. 


STEPHEN   C.   BARNES. 


Stephen  C.  Barnes  is  the  publisher  of  the  Recorder  Post  at  Dickinson,  in  which  con- 
nection he  is  well  known.  He  wag  born  near  Chillicothe,  Missoiu-i,  on  the  23d  of  June, 
1884,  a  son  of  Andrew  .lackson  and  Margaret  (Watkins)  Barnes.  He  lived  on  a  farm  in  his 
early  youth  and  afterward  attended  Guerin  College  at  St.  Louis.  Later  he  took  up  the 
study  of  photography,  to  which  he  devoted  five  years,  and  subsequently  he  entered  the 
newspaper  field  in  connection  with  the  Kansas  City  Star.  He  was  with  that  paper  for  a 
brief  period  and  afterward  was  with  the  Times  News  at  Ann  Arbor,  Michigan,  as  advertis- 
ing manager,  remaining  with  that  paper  until  1909,  when  he  came  to  North  Dakota  and 
entered  into  business  connections  with  the  Tribune  of  Bismarck,  of  which  paper  Marshall 
H.  Jewell  was  the  publisher  for  many  years.  Mr.  Barnes  became  the  advertising  manager 
and  continued  with  that  paper  until  1914,  when  he  went  to  Dickinson  and  purchased  the 
Recorder  Post,  which  he  still  owns  and  publishes.  The  Recorder  was  established  in  1892 
and  the  Post  was  started  by  Mr.  Carter,  who  is  secretary  to  L.  B.  Hanna.  These  two  papers 
were  consolidated  in  1906.  It  was  on  the  1st  of  December,  1914,  that  Mr.  Barnes  began 
their  publication  and  he  has  a  well  equipped  plant.  The  Recorder  Post,  published  weekly, 
is  an  independent  paper  and  is  an  interesting,  readable  journal,  the  business  being  care- 
fully managed,  a  spirit  of  enterprise  dominating  the  work  of  the  office  at  all  times. 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  487 

On  the  16th  of  August,  1905,  Mr.  Barnes  was  married  to  Miss  Ada  Mott,  of  Avalon, 
Missouri.  They  have  become  parents  of  three  children:  Mildred,  who  wa.s  born  June  12, 
190T;  Keitli,  born  August  11,  1910;  and  Robert,  born  September  18,  1916.  Mr.  Barnes  has 
niembersliip  in  the  Christian  church  at  Ann  Arbor,  Micliigan.  Fraternally  he  is  a  Mason, 
holding  niembersliip  in  the  lodge,  chapter  and  Eastern  Star  at  Jlarceline,  Missouri,  and  in 
Tanered  Conimandery,  K.  T.,  at  Bismaiclv.  He  is  also  connected  with  the  Modern  Woodmen 
camp  of  Wellsville,  Kansas,  and  the  Elks  Lodge,  No.  1137,  of  Dickinson.  His  political 
endorsement  is  given  to  the  democratic  party  and  he  is  a  strong  believer  in  its  principles, 
although  he  does  not  seek  nor  desire  office  nor  has  he  made  his  paper  a  partisan  sheet.  He 
has  had  long  experience  in  the  newspaper  field  'and  success  is  attending  his  efforts  in  this 
direction. 


JOHN  E.  GREENE. 


John  E.  Greene,  who  since  1904  has  engaged  in  the  practice  of  law  at  Minot.  was  born 
in  Janesville,  Wisconsin,  January  10,  1858,  his  parents  being  William  M.  and  Abby  M. 
(Crandall)  Greene,  who  were  natives  of  Rhode  Island,  the  former  born  in  1819  and  the 
latter  May  9,  1822.  In  early  life  the  father  learned  and  followed  the  wagonmaker's  trade. 
In  1849  he  went  to  the  gold  fields  of  California.  On  his  return  he  came  west  and  took  up 
the  occupation  of  farming.  In  1853  he  left  New  England  and  became  a  resident  of  southern 
Illinois,  where  he  remained  until  1856,  when  he  established  his  home  at  Janesville,  Wisconsin, 
there  residing  until  1858.  when  he  became  a  resident  of  Dane  county,  Wisconsin.  In  1871 
he  removed  to  Colorado,  where  he  continued  until  1877 — the  year  of  his  arrival  in  southern 
Minnesota.  He  had  lost  his  wife  in  Colorado  in  1874.  He  continued  to  make  his  home  in 
Minnesota  until  a  few  years  before  his  death.  He  finally  moved  in  1902  to  Battle  Ci-eek, 
Michigan,  where  he  died.  He  was  a  soldier  of  the  Civil  war,  enlisting  in  1861  as  a  private 
of  Company  A,  Thirteenth  Wisconsin  Volunteer  Infantry,  with  which  he  remained  until  the 
close   of   hostilities,   rendering   valiant   aid   to   the   Union    cause. 

.Judge  Greene  is  the  youngest  of  a  family  of  five  children.  He  pursued  his  education  in 
the  public  schools  of  Wisconsin  and  of  Colorado  and  in  the  year  1874,  when  a  youth  of 
sixteen  years,  became  an  employee  at  a  trading  post  in  Colorado,  where  he  continued  until 
November,  1878.  In  that  year  he  went  to  Wells,  Minnesota,  where  he  took  up  the  study 
of  law  in  the  office  of  his  brother,  M.  W.  Greene,  there  remaining  until  liis  brother  went 
to  Fargo  in  1882.  It  was  in  January  of  that  year  that  .John  E.  Greene  was  admitted  to  the 
bar,  after  which  he  continued  to  engage  in  the  practice  of  law  at  Wells,  Minnesota,  until 
1885,  when  he  removed  to  Fargo  and  joined  his  brother  in  the  firm  of  Miller  &  Greene.  That 
association  w^as  maintained  until  1887.  In  1891  he  was  in  partnership  with  Clias.  J.  !Mahnken 
at  Fargo  for  two  years;  practiced  alone  thereafter  until  1904  when  he  removed  to  Minot 
where  he  has  practiced  continually  since.  He  was  alone  until  August.  1909.  when  he  became 
a  partner  in  the  firm  of  Palda,  Aaker  &  Greene.  This  partnership  was  dissolved  in  .Tanuary, 
1916,  and  Judge  Greene  is  now  practicing  alone.  His  clientage  is  extensive  and  important 
and  the  ability  which  Mr.  Greene  has  displayed  ranks  him  as  one  of  the  able  mombers  of 
the  bar  at  Minot.  His  careful  analysis  enables  him  to  readily  understand  the  relation  of 
cause  and  effect  and  to  determine  the  law  principle  applicable  to  the  point  in  litigation. 
He  is  strong  in  argument,  clear  in  reasoning  and  logical  in  his  deductions. 

On  the  nth  of  May,  1882,  Mr.  Greene  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Martha  S.  Polleys, 
a  native  of  La  Crosse,  Wisconsin,  and  a  daugliter  of  James  W.  and  Charlotte  M.  (Huff) 
Polleys.  both  of  whom  were  born  in  New  Brunswick.  Canada.  They  bec.Tine  jiioneer  settlers 
of  Wisconsin,  where  they  took  up  their  abode  in  the  early  '50s.  and  the  father  served  for 
a  number  of  years  as  sheriff  of  LaCrosse  county.  He  proved  a  loyal  soldier  of  the  Union 
at  the  time  of  the  Civil  war.  becoming  a  member  of  the  Eighth  Wisconsin  Infantry,  in 
which  he  won  promotion  until  he  had  reached  the  rank  of  colonel.  The  later  years  of  his 
life  were  devoted  to  agricultural  pursuits  and  about  1872  he  removed  from  Wisconsin  to 
Wells,  Minnesota,  where  he  became  manager  of  the  agricultural  interests  of  Colonel  Clark 
Thompson.     Both  he  and  his  wife  passed  away  at  Wells.     Mr.  and  Mrs.  Greene  have  three 


488  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

children,  niimely:  Abbj-  Jlargiiret,  the  public  librarian  at  Minot;  Florence  W.,  at  home; 
and  James  il.,  living  in  California.  They  are  all  members  of  the  Episcopal  church.  Mrs. 
Greene  died  June  7th,  1898,  at  Fargo. 

Fraternally  Mr.  Greene  is  connected  with  the  Masons  and  the  l^lks.  His  political 
allegiance  is  given  to  the  republican  party  but  the  honors  and  emoluments  of  oifice  have  had 
little  attraction  for  him,  as  it  has  ever  been  his  desire  to  give  undivided  attention  to  his 
professional  duties.  He  has  earned  an  enviable  reputation  at  the  bar  and  it  is  A\ell  known 
that  his  activity  at  all  times  conforms  to  the  highest  standard  of  professional  ethics.  He 
is  a  member  of  the  American  Bar  Association,  in  which  he  has  served  in  the  general  council 
and  as  a  member  of  the  committee  on  uiiiforra  state  laws.  He  likewise  belongs  to  the 
North  Dakota  State  Bar  Association,  of  which  he  was  president  in  1911-12.  Other  associa- 
tions which  indicate  his  intellectual  activity  and  interest  are  his  membership  in  the  American 
Academy  of  Political  and  Social  Science  and  the  American  Judicature  Society.  He  belongs 
to  the  Minot  Commercial  Club,  the  Inquisitors  Club,  a  literary  organization,  and  to  the 
Fortnightly  Club  of  Minot,  also  to  the  Minneapolis  Athletic  Club.  He  has  deep  concern  in 
those  questions  which  are  of  vital  interest  to  state  and  nation  and  association  with  him. 
mt^ans  expansion   and  elevation. 


NELS  JI.  ORVIK. 


Xels  'SI.  Orvik,  cashier  of  the  Micliigan  State  Bank  and  a  resi<lent  of  Micliigan  since- 
18.S6,  was  born  at  Moldo,  Norway,  May  17,  1870,  liis  parents  being  Xels  and  Karen  Orvik. 
wlio  were  natives  of  Norway,  where  the  father  engaged  successfully  in  farming,  but  both 
he  and  his  wife  have  now  passed  away. 

Nels  M.  Orvik  attended  public  schools  of  his  native  country  imtil  1886,  when  he  bade 
adieu  to  friends  and  native  land  and  sailed  for  America,  making  his  way  direct  to  Michi- 
gan, North  Dakota.  He  first  earned  his  living  on  this  side  the  Atlantic  by  farm  work,  to 
which  he  devoted  four  years.  Realizing  the  need  of  a  broader  education  and  having  saved 
his  earnings  with  the  purpose  of  entering  school,  he  then  became  a  student  in  the  Brecken- 
ridge  Institute  at  Decorah,  Iowa,  from  which  he  was  graduated  w'ith  the  class  of  1902. 
Following  the  completion  of  his  studies  he  secured  employment  wjth  J.  1'.  Laml)  &  Com- 
pany, now  of  the  firm  of  Lamb  Brothers,  bankers  and  dealers  in  grain  and  lumber  in 
Michigan.  He  remained  with  that  firm  for  four  years  and  during  the  succeeding  three 
years  was  with  Gordon  Brothers.  On  the  expiration  of  that  period  he  formed  a  partnership 
with  Senator  A.  .1.  Gronna,  of  Lakota,  and  established  a  general  store  in  Jlichigan.  wlicre 
he  conducted  a  profitable  business  until  1904  under  tlie  firm  style  of  Or\ik  &  Company. 
On  the  completion  of  the  Soo  Railroad  he  removed  to  Adams  and  there  engaged  in  the 
hardware  business,  which  he  conducted  profitably  for  three  years.  He  next  entered  the 
field  of  banking  and  became  cashier  of  tlie  Scandinavian-American  Bank  at  Adams,  filling 
that  position  for  a  year,  at  the  end  of  which  time  the  Scandinavian-American  Bank  took 
over  the  Michigan  City  Bank  and  Mr.  Orvik  was  made  cashier  of  the  latter,  which  position 
he  has  since  capably  filled,  wisely  directing  the  policy  and  shaping  the  business  connections 
of  the  institution.  He  lias  closely  studied  every  phase  of  the  banking  business  and  his 
success  is  the  result  of  broad  knowledge,  persistent  effort  and  keen  sagacity. 

In  1895,  at  Grand  Forks,  Mr.  Orvik  was  married  to  Miss  Laura  Rodlin,  wlio  was  born 
on  the  Atlantic  ocean  while  her  parents  were  en  route  from  Norway  to  America.  Two 
children  have  been  born  to  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Orvik,  Vivian  and  Walter.  The  parents  are  mem- 
bers of  the  Lutheran  church  and  Mr.  Orvik  belongs  to  the  Knights  of  the  JIaccabees  and  also 
to  tlie  Commercial  Club  of  Michigan.  In  politics  he  follows  an  independent  course,  voting 
according  to  the  dictates  of  his  judgment.  Mr.  Orvik  certainly  deserves  much  credit  for 
what  he  has  accomplished,  for  he  came  to  America  a  poor  lioy  without  means  or  personal 
effects,  due  to  the  fact  that  the  ship  was  wrecked  when  but  a  few  days  out  from  port. 
It  was  wrecked  on  Insular  island,  not  far  from  Norway,  and  all  of  the  passengers  lost 
their  entire  belongings,  while  several,  including  two  of  the  ship's  crew,  lost  tbeir  lives. 
Undeterred  by  this   misfortune,  Mr.   Orvik   continued   on    liis   way,  resolved   to   win   success 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  489 

if  it  could  be  done  tliiougii  persistent  and  lionoiable  elVort,  and  =ince  coming  to  America 
he  has  built  up  his  fortunes  upon  the  broad  foundation  of  industry  and  is  today  one  of 
the  representative    business    men    and   citizens   of   Michigan. 


ARTHUR  D.  KXUTSOX. 


Arthur  D.  Knutson,  a  well  known  hardware  merchant  of  Walhalla,  was  born  on  the 
2Stli  of  December,  18TS.  in  Swift  county,  Minnesota,  and  is  a  son  of  Knute  and  Inga 
(Clapi)el  Knutson,  both  natives  of  Norway.  In  early  life  they  emigrated  to  .\merica  and 
located  in  Minnesota,  becoming  pioneers  of  that  state,  where  tliey  continued  to  make  their 
home  throughout  the  remainder  of  their  lives.  The  father  made  farming  his  life  work 
and  died  in  Swift  county,  Minnesota,  in  1900  at  the  age  of  scventy-si.\  years.  The  mother 
survived  him  for  three  years,  passing  away  in  1903  at  the  age  of  fifty-nine.  In  the  family 
of  this  worthy  couple  were  six  children,  namely:  ilrs.  Sarah  Robertson,  a  resident  of 
Dawson,  Minnesota;  Jlrs.  Anna  Lant.  of  Keokuk,  Iowa;  Jliss  Margaret  Knutson,  of 
Appleton,  Minnesota;  Artluir,  of  this  review;  Kcrniit.  also  of  Appleton ;  and  Iver,  of  Canby, 
Minnesota. 

In  the  state  of  his  nativity  Arthur  Knutson  grew  to  manhood  and  he  is  indebted  to 
its  ]>ublic  schools  for  the  early  educational  advantages  he  enjoyed,  and  later  attended  the 
Minnesota  Xormal  School  and  Red  Wing  Seminary.  After  laying  aside  his  textbooks  he 
was  engaged  in  general  merchandising  for  a  time,  and  later  was  employed  as  traveling 
salesman  for  Lindsey  Brothers  of  .Minneapolis  for  four  years,  his  territory  being  Minne- 
sota and  the  Dakotas.  In  190G  he  went  to  Portland,  Oregon,  v.horc  he  was  engaged  in  the 
real  estate  and  loan  business  until  1910,  when  he  sold  out  and  removed  to  Walhalla,  North 
Dakota.  Buying  the  stock  of  hardware  from  Mr.  Anderson,  he  has  since  conducted  business 
along  that  line  and  is  meeting  with  success  in  this  venture,  enjoying  a  good  trade,  which 
is  constantly  increasing. 

In  April,  1908,  Mr.  Knutson  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Clara  A.  Hansen,  of 
Grand  Forks,  North  Dakota.  Her  family  were  pioneers  of  Grand  Forks  county,  and  her 
father,  O.  G.  Hansen,  served  as  sheriff  there.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Knutson  have  a  little 
daughter,  (jertrude,  born  in  1911.  Tliey  are  members  of  the  Lutheran  church  and  Mr.  Knutson 
is  also  identified  with  the  Masonic  fraternity.  By  his  ballot  he  su))ports  the  men  and 
measures  of  the  republican  party  and  takes  a  commendable  interest  in  public  allairs.  He 
is  an  enterprising,  reliable  business  man.  who  commands  the  confidence  and  respect  of 
all  who  know  him. 


ALFRKD  C.  OLSEN. 


Alfred  C.  Olsen.  editor  and  proprietor  of  The  Transcript  and  one  of  the  leading  citizens 
of  New  Rockford,  North  Dakota,  was  born  on  the  4tli  of  October,  1S76,  in  Indejjendence, 
Wisconsin,  his  parents  being  Halver  and  Caroline  Olsen,  who  were  natives  of  Norway  and  on 
coming  to  America  in  ]S.5(J  located  in  Wisconsin.  There  the  father  followed  farming  for  some 
time  but  eventually  removed  to  Slontana,  becoming  a  resident  of  that  state  when  the  bulfaloes 
were  still  seen  in  largo  herds  in  that  region.  He  engaged  in  ranching  there  until  1883, 
when  he  removed  to  North  Dakota  and  settled  near  Carrington,  Foster  county.  He  filed 
on  land  and  secured  a  homestead  besides  both  preemption  and  tree  claims  and  continued 
to  operate  his  land  until  IflO.i.  when  he  retired  from  active  labor  and  returned  to  Wisconsin, 
making  his  home  in  that  state  until  called  to  his  final  rest  in  Xovrniber,  1912.  Tlie  mother 
of  onr  subject  had  passed  away  in  March,  1902. 

Alfred  C.  Olsen  was  practically  reared  and  educated  in  New  Rockford.  being  about 
seven  years  of  age  at  the  time  of  the  removal  of  the  family  to  Foster  county  in  1883. 
He  began  learning  the  printer's  trade  in  1889  in  the  oflice  which  he  nows  owns  and  in  due 
time  tlioroughly  mastered  the  business.     In   the   fall  of  1902  he  purchased  The  Transcript. 


490  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

after  having  managed  the  office  for  four  years,  and  he  has  since  conducted  the  paper  on 
his  own  account.  It  has  a  circulation  of  twelve  hundred  -and  eighty-five  and  is  published 
weekly,  its  editorials  being  well  written,  its  news  items  up-to-date  and  reliable  and  its 
advertising  patronage  good.  The  plant  is  modern  in  equipment  and  the  work  turned 
out  is  first  class. 

On  the  35th  of  December,  1906,  was  celebrated  the  marriage  of  Mr.  Olsen  and  Miss 
Edith  Schmidt,  whose  parents  are  still  living.  For  fourteen  years  her  father,  Professor  C. 
C.  Schmidt,  was  superintendent  of  the  Jamestown  public  schools  and  for  the  past  nine  years 
has  been  superintendent  of  the  Teachers  College  at  the  State  University,  being  one  of  the 
prominent  educators  of  North  Dakota.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Olsen  have  four  children:  Kathryn  A., 
Karl  Frederick,  Harvey  Eugene,  and  Ada  Clara. 

In  politics  Mr.  Olsen  is  independent,  endeavoring  to  support  the  best  man  for  office 
regardless  of  party  ties.  He  and  his  wife  are  earnest  and  consistent  members  of  the 
Congregational  church  and  he  also  belongs  to  Century  Lodge,  Xo  60,  A.  F.  &  A.  M.  at  New 
Rockford;  the  Royal  Arch  Chapter,  at  Carrington;  the  Elks  lodge  at  Jamestown,  and  the 
Odd  F'ellows  lodge  at  New  Rockford.  By  his  personal  support  and  through  the  columns 
of  his  paper  he  has  aided  many  worthy  enterprises  for  the  advancement  of  his  town  and 
county  and  is  recognized  as  one  of  the  most  progressive  and  public-spirited  citizens  of 
the  community. 


GEORGE  A.  BANGS. 


George  A.  Bangs,  attorney  at  law  of  Grand  Forks,  his  entire  professional  career  being 
marked  by  that  steady  progress  which  results  from  comprehensive  knowledge  of  the 
principles  of  jurisprudence  and  ability  to  accurately  apply  its  principles,  was  born  in 
Minnesota,  November  8,  1867,  a  son  of  Alfred  W.  and  Sarah  D.  (Plowman)  Bangs,  the 
former  a  native  of  Pennsylvania  and  the  latter  of  Ontario.  In  1857,  in  her  girlhood  days, 
the  mother  accompanied  her  parents  to  Minnesota,  the  family  settling  there  in  pioneer 
times.  Alfred  W.  Bangs  prepared  for  the  bar  and  for  many  years  engaged  in  active  practice 
in  Minnesota,  where  he  was  also  prominent  in  public  affairs,  serving  as  county  attorney  and 
as  a  member  of  the  state  senate.  He  was  also  at  one  time  state  senator  of  South  Dakota. 
In  1881  he  removed  to  Grand  Forks,  North  Dakota,  where  he  followed  his  profession  until 
1889,  when  he  opened  an  office  in  Rapid  City,  South  Dakota,  where  he  continued  in  the 
practice  of  law  until  called  to  his  final  rest  in  1906,  when  seventy-five  years  of  age.  His 
widow  is  still  living  there  at  the  age  of  seventy-four  years.  The  family  numbered  six 
children,  the  eldest  of  whom,  Tracy  R.  Bangs,  a  son  of  the  father's  first  marriage,  is  now 
one  of  the  leading  attorneys  of  Grand  Forks. 

George  A.  Bangs  acquired  his  early  education  in  the  schools  of  Minnesota,  where  he 
remained  until  he  reached  the  age  of  fourteen  years.'  He  read  law  in  the  office  of  his 
father  and  also  under  the  direction  of  his  brother,  Tracy  R.  Bangs,  and  was  admitted  to  the 
bar  at  Grand  Forks  in  November,  1893.  For  two  years  he  filled  the  office  of  states 
attorney  and  from  1896  to  1906  was  city  attorney,  which  position  he  is  now  filling,  his 
frequent  reappointments  to  that  office  standing  as  incontrovertible  evidence  of  his  ability 
and  fidelity.  In  addition  to  his  law  practice  he  is  one  of  the  directors  of  the  Grand  Forks 
Street  Railway  Company. 

Mr.  Bangs  has  been  married  twice.  On  the  1st  of  October,  18S9,  he  wedded  Miss  Maria 
A.  Griggs,  who  passed  away  in  Grand  Forks,  March  21,  1891.  On  the  8th  of  July,  1895,  he 
was  again  married,  his  second  union  being  with  Miss  Xenia  A.  Gilbreath,  a  daughter  of 
John  W.  and  M.  A.  Gilbreath.  ^Ir.  Bangs  lost  his  second  wife  on  the  12th  of  September, 
1913.     In  1911  he  adopted  a  son,  Donald  A.  W.  Bangs. 

Fraternally  Mr.  Bangs  is  connected  with  the  Knights  of  Pythias  and  is  serving  on  its 
board  of  control.  He  is  also  connected  with  the  Benevolent  Protective  Order  of  Elks.  In 
politics  he  is  a  democrat,  has  served  as  counsel  for  the  state  legislature  and  is  now  a 
candidate  for  congress.  He  belongs  to  both  the  North  Dakota  State  Bar  Association  and 
the  American  Bar  Association   and  he  has   made   for  himself  a   creditable   position   among 


GEORGE  A.  BANGS 


^    \ 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  493 

the  able  lawyers  of  Grand  Forks.  Many  specific  evidences  of  his  ability  might  be  cited.  He 
served  as  chief  counsel  for  the  hovise  of  representatives  during  the  impeacliment  proceed- 
ings of  John  r.  Cowan  in  March,  1911.  He  served  as  chairman  of  the  committee  in  the 
interest  of  fraternal  insurance  companies  in  1904  and  was  instrumental  in  readjusting  rates 
of  insurance  for  the  Knights  of  Pythias,  which  at  that  time  was  practically  bankrupt  but 
is  now  in  a  prosperous  condition.  In  1907,  in  recognition  of  his  work,  he  was  requested  to 
address  the  Insurance  Commission  of  the  United  States  at  Kichmond,  Virginia,  and  did  so. 
In  fact  he  is  a  recognized  authority  upon  insurance  conditions  and  laws  throughout  the 
country. 


ALONzo  Mcdonald. 


Alonzo  McDonald,  now  serving  as  cashier  of  The  Citizens  Bank  of  Waihalla,  has  spent 
almost  his  entire  life  in  North  Dakota  and  has  taken  an  active  part  in  its  development. 
He  is  a  native  of  Canada,  however,  his  birth  occurring  in  the  city  of  Ottawa,  August  24, 
1870,  and  his  parents,  John  and  Mary  Jane  (Dickson)  McDonald,  were  also  natives  of  the 
Dominion,  the  former  born  in  Glengarry  county  and  the  latter  near  Ottawa.  In  187S 
tliey  removed  to  Grand  Forks  county,  North  Dakota,  becoming  pioneers  of  that  region, 
where  the  father  is  still  living  at  the  age  of  seventy-three  years.  By  occupation  he  is  a 
farmer.     The  mother  died  in  1889  at  the  age  of  forty-four. 

Alonzo  McDonald  was  about  eight  years  of  age  on  the  removal  of  the  familj-  to 
North  Dakota.  He  had  previously  attended  school  to  some  extent  in  the  city  of  Ottawa 
and  continued  his  education  in  the  public  schools  of  Grand  Forks  county.  Later  he  entered 
the  University  of  North  Dakota,  where  he  pursued  a  general  and  literary  course  and  after 
leaving  that  institution  engaged  in  teaching  school  for  a  time.  On  retiring  from  that  pro- 
fession he  devoted  his  attention  to  the  implement  business  in  Waihalla  for  twenty  years, 
selling  out  at  the  end  of  that  time  to  become  cashier  of  tlie  Citizens  Bank  of  Waihalla, 
in  which  capacity  he  has  since  served.  He  is  recognized  as  one  of  the  leading  business 
men  of  the  town   and  occupies  a   prominent  position  in  banking  circles. 

In  March,  1899,  Jlr.  McDonald  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Isabella  Graj',  of  Wai- 
halla, a  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Jlrs.  Julius  Gray,  who  were  pioneers  of  Pembina  county.  To 
this  union  have  been  born  three  cliildren:  Richmond,  born  in  1902;  Beulah,  in  1906;  and 
John,  in   1913. 

In  politics  Mr.  McDonald  is  independent,  supporting  the  men  whom  he  believes  best 
qualified  for  office  regardless  of  party  ties.  He  takes  a  commendable  interest  in  educa- 
tional affairs  and  has  served  as  school  director.  Fraternally  he  is  a  Master  Mason  and  a 
member  of  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America.  In  addition  to  his  banking  he  is  interested 
in  farminj;  to  some  extent  and  in  all  his  undertakings  has  met  with  well  deserved  success, 
being  a   man   of   progressive   methods,   sound   judgment   and   unquestioned   integrity- 


CLARENCE  T.  BOLSTAD. 


Clarence  T.  Bolstad,  editor  and  manager  of  the  Golden  Valley  Chronicle,  published 
at  Beach,  was  born  in  Vernon  county,  Wisconsin,  December  25,  1890,  a  son  of  A.  J.  and 
Bertha  M.  (Everson)  Bolstad,  who  are  natives  of  Norway.  Coming  to  the  United  States, 
the  father  settled  in  Wisconsin  about  1SG4,  and  he  and  his  wife  are  now  resiileiits  of 
Viroqua,   Wisconsin. 

Their  family  numbered  nine  children,  of  whom  Clarence  T.  Bolstad  is  the  youngest. 
At  the  usual  age  he  became  a  pupil  in  the  public  schools  of  Wisconsin  and  completed  his 
studies  in  the  Toland  University  with  the  class  of  1908.  Immediately  afterward  he  came 
to  North  Dakota,  settling  first  at  Enderlin.  where  he  was  connected  with  the  Independent 
for  a  period  of  three  years.  Removing  to  Oriska,  North  Dakota,  he  then  purchased  the 
Sentinel  in  the  fall  of  1912  and  the  following  summer  bought  the  Fingal  Herald,  after 
which  lie  managed  and  edited  the  two  papers  for  a  period  of  two  years.  On  selling  out 
Vol.  m— 23 


494  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

he  removed  to  Ambrose,  Xortli  Dakota,  wliere  ]ie  took  over  the  management  of  the  Ambrose 
Publishing  Company,  whicli  position  he  filled  for  a  period  of  a  year.  In  January,  1916,  he 
removed  to  Beach  and  became  manager  and  editor  of  the  Golden  Valley  Chronicle,  which 
in  his  present  business  connection.  This  paper  was  established  in  1903,  being  the  first  news- 
paper published  at  Beach.  It  now  has  a  circulation  of  about  nineteen  hundred  and  the 
office  force  includes  three  employes  under  the  management  of  JMr.  Bolstad.  He  concen- 
trates his  attention  upon  this  paper  and  under  his  guidance  a  bright,  newsy,  entertaining 
journal  is  published.  Its  editorials  are  clear-cut  and  the  cogent  reasoning  appeals  to 
his  readers. 

In  1913  Jlr.  Bolstad  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Cora  Berg,  a  native  of  Grand 
Forks,  North  Dakota,  and  a  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Peter  Berg,  of  Enderlin.  the 
former  a  merchant  of  that  place.  Mr.  and  ]\Irs.  Bolstad  have  become  parents  of  one 
child,  Maynard.  They  are  members  of  the  Lutheran  church  and  Mr.  Bolstad  belong.s  to 
Tower  City  Lodge,  No.  9,  F.  &  A.  M.  His  political  allegiance  is  given  to  the  republican 
party  and  his  paper  is  published  in  the  interests  of  the  principles  which  he  supports.  He 
is  actuated  at  all  times  by  a  progressive  spirit  that  is  constantly  seeking  opportunities 
for  advancing  the  paper  and  the  interests  of  the  community  and  his  labors  are  far-reaching 
and  resultant. 


IRA  SANKEY  ABPLANALP,  M.  D. 

Dr.  Ira  Sankey  Abplanalp,  whose  success  as  a  practitioner  of  medicine  and  surgery 
indicates  his  thorough  professional  preparation,  has  made  his  home  at  Ray  since  October  19, 
1906.  He  was  born  at  Denver,  Worth  county,  Mis.souri,  October  29,  ]878,  a  son  of  Casper 
and  Magdalena  (Stahley)  Abplanalp.  The  father,  a  native  of  Indiana,  was  born  and  reared 
in  Dearborn  county,  where  he  afterward  followed  farming  until  1862.  He  then  made  his 
way  to  Virginia  City,  Montana,  on  an  overland  gold  prospecting  trip  but  in  1863  returned  to 
Indiana.  He  was  married  in  that  state  and  in  1870  removed  with  his  family  to  Worth  county, 
Missouri,  where  he  engaged  in  farming  and  stock  raising  for  many  years.  He  still  occupies 
the  old  home  farm  near  Denver  but  is  now  living  retired.  His  wife  is  a  native  of  Switzerland 
and  in  young  womanhood  crossed  the  Atlantic  and  became  a  resident  of  Indiana,  whence 
she  accompanied  her  husband  to  Missouri,  where  they  now  make  their  home. 

Dr.  Abplanalp  was  educated  in  the  district  schools  and  in  the  State  Normal  School 
at  Kirksville,  Missouri,  from  which  in  due  time  he  was  graduated.  In  his  early  boyhood 
he  became  familiar  with  all  the  duties  and  labors  that  fall  to  the  lot  of  the  agriculturist 
and  subsequently  he  took  up  the  profession  of  teaching  in  Missouri,  but  desiring  to  enter 
other  professional  circles,  he  became  a  student  in  the  St.  Louis  University  in  1902,  entering 
the  medical  department,  from  which  he  was  graduated  in  1906  with  the  degree  of  M.  D. 
He  afterward  served  as  interne  in  Ensworth  Hospital  at  St.  Joseph,  Missouri,  after  which 
he  made  his  way  to  Minot,  looking  for  a  favorable  location.  He  found  what  he  sought 
at  Ray  and  since  the  19th  of  October,  1906,  has  been  a  resident  of  that  place.  In  the 
intervening  years  he  has  built  up  a  large  practice,  demonstrating  liis  ability  in  the  careful 
manner  in  which  he  has  handled  his  cases.  He  has  always  been  most  careful  in  the  diagnosis 
of  a  case  and  his  ability  has  brought  him  prominently  to  the  front  as  a  practitioner  of 
Williams  county.  He  likewise  has  other  business  interests,  for  he  is  now  the  owner  of  three 
quarter  sections  of  land  in  Williams  county  and  is  successfully  engaged  in  sheep  raising, 
having  imported  three  hundred  head  of  good  sheep,  which  he  has  on  his  ranch.  He 
advocates  the  raising  of  more  live  stock  by  the  farmers  and  especially  sheep  and  sets  a 
good  example  by  undertaking  this  himself.  His  methods  are  practical  and  resultant  and 
he  is  demonstrating  the  fact  that  the  sheep  industry  may  be  made  a  profitable  source  of 
income  in  northwestern  North  Dakota. 

On  the  29th  of  January,  1907,  at  Minneapolis,  Minnesota,  Dr.  Abplanalp  was  united  in 
marriage  to  Miss  Elizabeth  McLeod,  wlio  was  born  in  Gentry  county,  Missouri,  near  the  home 
of  her  future  husband,  her  parents  being  Edward  M.  and  Elizabeth  (Green)  McLeod,  natives 
of   Ohio    and    Missouri    respectively.     Her    father    was    a    farmer    and    school    teacher    and 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  495 

served  as  county  judge  of  Oentiy  county.  Botli  lie  and  his  wife  are  still  living 'on  the 
old  home  farm  in  Missouri  and  are  numbered  among  the  valued  and  respected  citizens  of 
their  part  of  the  state.  Mrs.  Abplanalp  pursued  lier  education  in  the  district  schools  and 
in  the  (State  Normal  School  at  Maryville,  after  which  she  took  up  the  profession  of  teaching. 
By  her  marriage  she  has  become  the  mother  of  two  children,  namely:  Helen,  who  was 
born  in  Ray,  North  Dakota,  on  the  7th  of  February,  1911;  and  Ruth,  whose  birth  occurred 
in  Ray,  May  19,  1912. 

Politically  Di".  Abplanalp  is  a  democrat  with  independent  tendencies,  especially  at  local 
elections,  where  he  sujiports  the  candidate  rather  than  party.  For  three  years  he  served  as 
school  director  of  Ray  and  was  president  of  the  board  the  last  year.  During  that  time  the 
district  was  bonded  for  seventeen  thousand  dollars,  putting  the  schools  on  a  substantial 
basis.  The  Doctor  has  always  taken  an  active  interest  in  measures  pertaining  to  general 
progress  and  improvement.  Fraternally  he  is  connected  witli  Ray  Lodge,  A.  K.  &  A.  M.,  of 
which  he  is  a  charter  member,  and  he  is  also  a  member  of  the  Odd  Fellows  lodge  at  Ray,  of 
which  he  was  the  first  vice  noble  grand  and  is  a  past  noble  grand.  He  has  also  been  a 
delegate  to  the  grand  lodge.  One  of  the  early  physicians  in  the  northwestern  part  of  the 
state,  he  has  always  enjoyed  an  extensive  practice.  He  is  a  popular  citizen,  liberally  educated 
and  broad-minded,  and  throughout  his  professional  career  he  has  remained  a  keen  and 
discriminating  student  of  all  those  questions  the  solution  of  whicli  tends  to  bring  to  man 
Ihe  key  to  the  complex  mystery  which  we  call  life. 


L.  B.  GARNAAS. 


L.  B.  GarnuHS,  a  foremost  business  man  of  Sheycunc,  who  as  president  of  the  Farmers 
&  Merchants  Bank  occupies  a  leading  position  in  financial  circles,  was  born  in  Norway, 
.July  1,  1870,  a  son  of  B.  L.  and  Ingrid  (Svenkerud)  Garnaas,  who  came  to  the  United  States 
in  18S7  and  after  two  years  spent  in  Litchfield,  Minnesota,  removed  in  1889  to  McHenry 
county.  North  Dakota,  where  the  father  filed  on  a  homestead  on  which  they  resided  until 
189S.  They  then  removed  to  Sheyenne,  Eddy  county,  and  while  now  living  retired  from  active 
connection  with  business  interests,  the  father  is  still  a  financial  factor  in  the  mercantile 
alVairs  conducted  by  L.  B.  Garnaas.  His  has  been  an  active  and  useful  life  characterized 
by  enterprise   and   persistency   of   purpose  and   crowned   with   success. 

L.  B.  Garnaas  spent  the  first  seventeen  years  of  his  life  in  his  native  country  and  after 
coming  to  America  with  his  parents  in  May,  1887,  supplemented  his  education,  acquired  in 
the  jniblic  schools  of  Norway,  by  a  few  months'  study  on  this  side  the  Atlantic.  Going 
first  to  Litchfield,  Minnesota,  he  was  employed  in  that  vincinity  as  a  farm  hand  for  two 
years,  after  which  he  came  to  North  Dakota  and  filed  on  a  homestead  in  McHenry  county. 
He  proved  up  on  that  projicrty  and  occupied  the  farm  until  189.5,  adding  much  to  its  value 
tlirough  cultivation  and  the  various  accessories  of  modern  farm  life  which  he  added  to  the 
|ilace.  He  then  removed  to  Sheyenne,  where  he  engaged  in  merchandising.  He  now  conducts 
a  general  store  and  farm  implement  business  and  in  1904  he  was  joined  in  the  undertaking 
by  his  brothers,  Nels  B.,  Ole  B.  and  ToUof  B.  The  business  was  then  reorganized  and 
incorporated  under  the  firm  name  of  Garnaas  Brothers  and  they  liave  since  developed  one 
of  the  largest  commercial  enterprises  of  Eddy  county.  Their  establishment  is  the  expression 
of  modern  commercial  ideas,  for  therein  they  carry  a  large  stock  and  conduct  their  sales 
•,u-cording  to  methods  that  will  bear  the  closest  investigation  and  scrutiny.  In  1906  L.  B. 
llarnaas  organized  the  Farmers  &  Merchants  Bank  of  Sheyenne,  of  which  lie  became  the 
president  and  liaK  served  continuously  in  tliat  capacity  since.  He  is  a  heavy  holder  of 
farm  lands,  owning  three  tliousaiid  acres  independently,  while  the  firm  of  Garnaas  Brothers 
are  owners  of  an  additional  three  thousand  acres.  His  judgment  in  business  affairs  is  sound, 
his  discrimination  keen  and  at  all  times  he  has  proven  himself  both  forceful  and  resourceful 
in  the  management  of  important  business  interests. 

On  the  6th  of  January,  1897,  Mr.  Garnaas  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Carrie 
Halverson,  of  Eddy  county,  who  was  born  in  Norway  and  accompanied  her  parents  on  their 
eiuiirration    to   the   I'nited   States    in    1884.     To   Mr.   and    Mrs.   Garnaas   have   been   bom    si\- 


496  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

children,   as  follows:     Edith,   who  is   attending   St.   Olaf   College   at   Northfield,   Minnesota; 
and  Cora,  Pearl,  Bjorn,  Levorn  and  Alf  all  at  home. 

Politically  Mr.  Garnaas  is  a  republican  but  has  never  been  an  office  seeker.  In  1908  he 
was  nominated  against  his  wishes  for  the  office  of  railroad  commissioner.  Soon  afterward 
he  went  to  Norway,  taking  no  active  part  in  the  campaign,  yet  he  was  defeated  by  only 
three  hundred  and  fifty  votes.  Had  he  made  eflbrt  to  win  the  election,  there  is  no  doubt 
that  success  would  have  been  his.  For  ten  years  he  served  as  postmaster  of  Sheyenne  and  for 
a  number  of  years  he  was  a  member  of  the  republican  county  central  committee  of  Eddy 
county,  while  in  1912  he  was  a  delegate  to  the  national  republican  convention  held  in 
Chicago  and  was  state  delegate  to  the  progressive  convention.  He  and  his  wife  are  members 
of  the  Lutheran  church  and  he  is  interested  in  all  that  pertains  to  the  material,  intellectual, 
political  and  moral  progress  of  his  community.  Regarding  America  as  the  land  of  opportunity, 
he  has  put  forth  earnest  effort  to  wisely  utilize  the  chances  that  have  come  to  him  and  has 
never  had  occasion  to  regret  his  determination  to  come  to  the  new  world.  As  the  years 
have  gone  on  he  has  advanced  step  by  step  and  orderly  progression  has  brought  him  to  a 
prominent  position  in  the  business  circles  of  Eddy  county,  where  high  regard  is  entertained 
for  him  by  all  who  know  liim. 


GEORGE  B.  CRUM. 


George  B.  Ci'um,  who  for  twentj'-seven  years  has  been  identified  with  the  grain  busi- 
ness, is  now  manager  of  and  member  of  the  firm  operating  under  the  name  of  the  La  Moure 
Grain  &  Fuel  Company,  having  a  giain  elevator  in  La  Moure.  His  interests  are  wisely  and 
carefully  managed  and  he  is  a  well  known  figure  in  grain  trade  circles,  being  thus  con- 
nected with  one  of  North  Dakota's  chief  sources  of  wealth.  He  was  born  in  Wayne  county, 
Ohio,  August  33,  1853,  a  son  of  John  R.  and  Mary  A.  (Beale)  Crum.  The  father  was  born 
in  Huntingdon  county,  Pennsylvania,  in  1831,  and  the  mother's  birth  occurred  in  Juniata 
county,  that  state,  in  1832.  In  the  year  1881  they  came  to  North  Dakota,  settling  in  Grand 
Rapids,  then  the  county  seat  of  Lamoure  county,  where  >Ir.  Ci-um  homesteaded  one  hun- 
dred and  sixty  acres  in  Henrietta  township.  He  proved  up  on  his  property  and  there  resided 
for  four  years.  In  1885  he  was  appointed  colporteur  by  the  Presbyterian  board  of  publi- 
cation and  given  charge  of  the  territory  which  includes  the  eastern  half  of  North  Dakota. 
^Vhile  thus  engaged  he  made  his  headquarters  at  Lisbon.  Some  time  afterward  he  was 
ordained  to  the  Presbyterian  ministry  and  for  several  years  filled  pulpits  of  his  church  in 
the  Red  River  valley.  He  afterward  left  the  ministry  and  removed  to  Dunseith,  where  he 
used  his  preemption  right  on  a  quarter  section  of  land.  In  1911,  after  having  passed  the 
eightieth  milestone  on  life's  journe.y,  he  went  to  Canada  and  entered  land,  winning  his 
title  to  the  property  by  complying  with  the  laws  regarding  occupancy  and  improvement. 
He  is  now  living  retired  at  the  age  of  eighty-five  years,  making  his  home  in  Dunseith,  but 
his  wife  passed  away  in  1906. 

George  B.  Crum  supplemented  his  public  school  training  by  study  in  Saybrook  Academy. 
Through  the  succeeding  seven  years  he  taught  school  during  the  winter  months,  while  the 
.summer  seasons  were  devoted  to  farming.  While  thus  engaged  he  also  took  up  the  study 
of  medicine,  but  the  strain  provea  too  gieat  upon  his  constitution  and  he  was  advised  by 
a   physician  to  give   it  up. 

In  1875  Mr.  Crum  was  married  to  Miss  Esther  Burd,  of  Vermilion  county,  Illinois,  and 
they  became  the  parents  of  five  children,  of  whom  three  are  living:  Charles  C,  now  a 
member  of  the  firm  of  Porter  &  Crum,  general  merchants  of  La  Moure;  Mary  0.,  the  wife 
of  E.  W.  Ciist.  of  La  Moure;  and  Cora  B.,  the  wife  of  George  E.  Powers,  of  Roundup,  Montana. 

In  1881  Mr.  Ci-um  removed  to  North  Dakota,  settling  in  Lamoure  county,  where  he 
and  his  father  rented  the  E.  P.  Wells  farm  of  sixteen  hundred  and  forty  acres.  After  two 
years,  however,  the  farm  was  turned  back  to  Mr.  Wells  and  Mr.  Crnm  was  offered  and 
accepted  the  foremanship  of  the  farm  at  a  good  salary,  remaining  in  that  position  for  two 
years.  He  afterward  taught  school  for  a  year  and  later  was  employed  by  the  firm  of  Diesem 
&  Franks,  general  merchants  of  Grand  Rapids,  with  whom  he  continued  for  two  years.     In 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  497 

18S7  he  accepted  the  management  of  the  Northern  Pacific  elevator  in  Grand  Kapids  and  a 
year  later  transferred  his  allegiance  to  the  North  Dakota  Elevator  Company,  acting  as  its 
manager  for  five  years.  In  1894  he  removed  to  La  Moure  and  was  given  charge  of  the  in- 
terests of  the  Monarch  Elevator  Company,  with  which  he  continued  for  four  years,  and  in 
tlie  spring  of  189"  he  was  appointed  deputy  treasurer  and  deputy  auditor,  but  the  state 
examiner  subsequently  objected  to  one  man  filling  both  oflices  and  Mr.  Crum  remained  in  the 
position  of  county  treasurer  until  1899.  He  then  again  entered  the  employ  of  the  Monarch 
Elevator  Company  in  charge  of  its  interests  at  Lisbon,  where  he  remained  for  two  years, 
after  which  he  again  spent  a  year  in  Grand  Eapids  in  the  employ  of  Diesem  &  Franks.  From 
1903  until  1906  he  was  with  the  Great  Western  Elevator  Company  at  Westport,  Minnesota, 
and  in  1906  he  returned  to  La  Moure,  where  he  superintended  the  building  of  the  Farmers 
Elevator.  For  six  years  he  was  manager  of  the  elevator,  paying  the  farmers  two  hundred 
and  fifty  per  cent  in  that  period.  He  then  went  upon  the  road  as  solicitor  for  the  Gould 
Grain  Company  and  served  in  that  position  for  two  years  and  three  months,  and  in  the 
latter  year  he  maintained  an  oflSee  in  La  Moure.  On  the  1st  of  December,  1914,  he  took 
his  family  to  the  western  coast,  where  they  spent  the  winter,  returning  home  in  the  follow- 
ing May.  For  a  short  period  thereafter  Mr.  Crum  was  representative  on  the  road  of  the 
Lloyd  Mortgage  Company  of  La  Moure  and  on  the  1st  of  January,  1916,  he  and  his  son, 
Cliarles  C,  bouglit  the  Johnson  Brothers  elevator,  formerly  the  Monarch  elevator  of  La  Moure, 
and  establislied  business  under  the  firm  style  of  G.  B.  and  C.  C.  Crum,  Mr.  Crum's  previous 
experience,  extended  and  important  in  relation  to  the  grain  trade,  well  qualifies  him  for 
the  duties  which  he  has  assumed  in  this  connection  and  he  is  now  meeting  with  substantial 
and  well  merited  success. 

Mr.  CYum  exercises  his  right  of  franchise  in  support  of  the  men  and  measures  of  the 
republican  party  and  served  as  the  first  county  assessor  after  the  organization  of  Lamoure 
county.  He  was  also  for  a  number  of  years  on  the  board  of  education  and  he  has  always 
been  deeply  interested  in  every  plan  and  measure  for  the  general  good.  Fraternally  he  is 
connected  with  Mackay  Lodge,  No.  18,  F.  &  A.  M.;  Edgeley  Cliapter,  No.  23,  R.  A.  M.;  and 
also  with  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America  and  the  Brotherhood  of  American  Yeomen,  while 
he  and  hia  wife  are  connected  with  Bartholomew  Cliapter,  O.  E.  S. 

Mr.  Crum  lost  his  first  wife  July  21,  1905,  and  on  the  1st  of  August,  1907,  he  wedded 
Mrs.  Lydia  S.  Thomas,  of  La  Moure.  They  are  both  members  of  the  Presbyterian  church,  in 
which  he  is  serving  as  an  elder,  and  they  are  interested  in  the  various  branches  of  the 
church  work  and  contribute  generously  to  its  support.  Mr.  Crum  has  had  wide  and  various 
experience  in  business  and  at  all  points  in  his  career  has  been  actuated  by  a  spirit  of  enter- 
prise that  has  enabled  him  to  overcome  difficulties  and  obstacles  and  work  his  way  steadily 
upward. 


HON.  TREADWELL  TWICHELL. 

Among  the  prominent  and  progressive  residents  of  Cass  county  is  Hon.  Treadwell 
Twichell,  who  has  for  six  sessions  represented  his  district  in  the  state  legislature  and  other- 
wise has  been  prominently  connected  with  public  affairs.  Moreover,  he  is  one  of  the  exten- 
sive landowners  of  the  county,  having  valuable  property  holdings,  including  six  thousand, 
six  hundred  and  forty  acres  all  of  which  is  under  cultivation.  He  was  born  at  Hastings, 
Minnesota.  November  19.  1864,  a  son  of  Luther  L.  and  Sallie  (Dance)  Twichell,  the  former 
a  native  of  New  York  and  the  latter  of  Ohio.  In  185.")  they  removed  westward  to  Minnesota 
and  the  father  established  a  mercantile  business  at  Hastings,  but  both  he  and  his  wife  spent 
their  last  days  in  Minneapolis.  They  had  a  family  of  eight  children,  seven  of  whom  are 
yet  living. 

Treadwell  Twichell  started  out  in  life  on  his  own  account  when  a  youth  of  sixteen 
years  and  has  since  depended  upon  his  own  resources.  In  1879  he  came  to  North  Dakota, 
establishing  his  home  in  Cass  county,  and  later  he  purchased  land,  adding  to  his  holdings 
from  time  to  time  until  he  is  now  the  owner  of  six  thousand,  six  hundred  and  forty  acres, 
all  of  which  is  improved.  His  own  home  is  situated  on  section  26,  Durbin  township.  His 
land  has  been  divided  into  seven  difi"erent  farms,  all  of  which  he  operates,  and  in  connection 


498  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

with  general  agricultural  pursuits  he  makes  a  specialty  of  stock-raising,  keeping  on  hand 
good  grades  of  cattle,  horses  and  hogs.  He  is  very  energetic  and  his  determination  and 
perseverance  have  been  salient  factors  in  the  attainment  of  his  success.  In  addition  to  his 
home  interests  he  is  the  president  of  the  Farmers  Elevator  Company  at  Mapleton  and  presi- 
dent of  the  local  Telephone  Company — two  important  enterprises  of  the  locality.  His  plans 
are  always  carefully  formulated  and  promptly  executed  and  he  is  notably  energetic  and 
reliable. 

In  1890  Jlr.  Twichell  was  married  to  Hiss  Grace  B.  Dill,  a  daughter  of  Colonel  Daniel 
.J.  Dill  of  Wisconsin,  and  they  have  become  the  parents  of  four  children:  Abigail  and  Daniel 
H..  who  are  graduates  of  the  high  school  of  Fargo;  and  Charlotte  and  Mary  P..  who  are  now 
students  of  tli£  Fargo  high  school.  The  parents  attend  the  ilethodist  Episcopal  church. 
Mr.  Twichell  belongs  to  the  Masonic  fraternity  and  has  attained  the  thirty-second  degree  of 
the  Scottish  Eite.  He  also  has  membership  in  the  Modern  Woodmen  Camp  and  with  the 
Yeomen.  His  political  allegiance  is  given  to  the  republican  party  and  he  is  one  of  its  leaders 
in  this  state.  For  four  terms  he  served  as  a  member  of  the  North  Dakota  legislature  and 
for  two  terms  as  a  member  of  the  senate.  In  1901  he  was  elected  sheriff  of  Cass  county  and 
was  reelected  in  1903.  In  1907  he  was  again  chosen  to  represent  his  district  in  the  state 
legislature  and  at  that  session  was  elected  speaker  of  the  house.  In  1913  he  was  reelected 
so  that  he  is  now  a  member  of  the  general  assembly.  He  has  carefully  studied  the  leading 
questions  and  issues  and  has  given  thorough  consideration  of  all  questions  coming  wp  for 
settlement.  His  name  is  associated  with  much  important  constructive  legislation  and  he  is 
recognized  as  one  of  the  valued  and  honored  members  of  the  lawmaking  body  of  the  state. 
He  acted  as  chairman  of  the  Korth  Dakota  delegation  to  the  national  republican  convention 
of  1913  and  he  was  among  those  active  against  promoting  reciprocity  with  Canada.  He  repre- 
sents seven  northwest  states  on  the  Rural  Ciedits  Committee  of  the  Chamber  of  Commerce 
of  the  United  States.  For  twenty-four  years  he  has  been  chairman  of  the  board  of  super- 
visors of  Cass  county  and  he  was  chairman  of  the  joint  investigating  committee  that  in- 
vestigated governmental  and  financial  state  conditions.  In  1909  he  was  the  nominee  of 
the  progressive  wing  of  the  republican  party  for  office  of  govenor  and  was  defeate"d.  He 
is  at  present  a  member  of  the  state  budget  commission  having  been  chairman  of  the  last 
appropriation  committee.  He  takes  great  pleasure  in  the  society  of  his  family  and  friends, 
is  always  courteous,  kindly  and  affable,  and  those  who  know  him  personally  have  for  him 
warm  regard.  His  life  is  beneficial  in  all  respects  and  he  has  ever  supported  those  interests 
which  are  calculated  to  uplift  and  benefit  humanity  and  which  further  the  interests  of  the 
commonwealth. 


CHARLES  EDWARD  BOYDEN. 

Charles  Edward  Boyden,  the  veteran  editor  of  the  Lisbon  Free  Press  of  Lisbon,  North 
Dakota,  was  born  at  Peoria,  Illinois.  January  26,  1850.  His  father,  John  Boyden,  came  from 
Massachusetts  and  the  family  tree,  in  book  form,  compiled  by  ilerrill  N,  Boyden,  of  Boston, 
Massachusetts,  shows  a  distinguished  line  of  ancestors  as  far  as  literary  ability  is  concerned. 
His  mother,  whose  maiden  name  was  Jane  Gunn,  came  from  the  Carver  family,  one  of  whom 
was  the  first  governor  of  Plymouth  colony,  and  another,  a  famous  traveler  and  writer,  Jona- 
than Carver,  who  extended  his  travels  to  St.  Anthony's  Falls  in  1766. 

Mr.  Boyden,  who  is  now  familiarly  called  "Colonel,"  claims  no  military  career  as  at  the 
outbreak  of  the  Civil  war  he  could  only  get  into  the  Home  Guards,  being  but  thirteen  years 
of  age  when  in  1863,  in  northern  Missouri,  such  companies  were  organized,  composed  of  old 
men  and  boys,  as  a  protection  against  guerrilla  bands.  He  received  an  academic  education  in 
a  private  academy  in  Bloomington,  Missouri,  and  afterward  engaged  in  teaching,  while  sub- 
sequently he  tiu'ned  his  attention  to  merchandising  in  Golden  City,  Missouri.  He  removed  to 
Sparta,  Wisconsin,  in  1876  and  was  soon  afterward  appointed  deputy  collector  of  internal 
revenue,  serving  the  government  several  years.  He  then  removed  to  Dakota  territory  in 
1880-81,  settling  at  Watertown,  where  he  engaged  in  banking,  being  first  an  assistant  in  the 
First  National  Bank  and  afterward  cashier  of  the  Merchants  Bank  of  that  citv.     He  was 


CHARLES   E.   BOYDEN 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  501 

also  a  member  of  the  sdiool  board  for  seven  years  and  clerk  of  the  municipality  for  four 
years  and  thus  became  actively  associated  with  the  early  development  and  progress  of  that 
district. 

At  Golden  City,  Missouri,  on  the  5th  of  October,  1873,  Mr.  Boyden  was  married  to 
Mrs.  Maria  B.  Williams,  to  whom  four  children  were  born,  two  of  whom  are  living:  C.  E. 
Boyden,  -Ir.,  a  railroad  agent  at  Oberon,  Korth  Dakota,  for  the  Xortliern  Pacific  Railroad; 
and  Mrs.  Blanche  Hutchinson,  who  has  become  noted  as  a  dramatic  reader,  having  gradu- 
ated from  Bcloit  College  of  Wisconsin  and  the  Emerson  School  of  Oratory  at  Boston,  Massa- 
chusetts, the  wife  of  F.  V.  Hutchinson,  of  Fargo,  who  is  connected  with  the  Northern 
School  Supply  Company.  One  stepson,  Judge  F.  B.  Williams,  is  a  prominent  lawyer  and  citi- 
zen of  Springfield,  Missouri. 

■  Mr.  Boyden  early  became  identilied  with  .Masuiiry,  liaving  taken  the  master's  degree  in 
1873  in  Lamar  Lodge,  No.  292,  A.  F.  &  A.  M.,  at  Lamar,  Missouri.  The  chapter  and  templar 
degrees  were  added  in  1884  at  Watertown,  Dakota,  and  the  Scottish  Rite  a  little  later. 
He  is  also  a  member  of  the  Eastern  Star  and  a  Noble  of  the  Mystic  Shrine,  belonging  to 
El  Zagal  Temple  at  Fargo.  He  is  a  past  master  of  the  lodge,  past  hiprh  priest  of  the 
chapter  and  now  eminent  commander  of  Ivanhoe  Commandery,  No.  8,  K.  T.,  of  Lisbon.  He 
is  also  district  deputy  grand  master  of  the  district  comprising  Ransom,  Lamoure  and  Dickey 
counties.  He  is  also  past  giand  treasurer  of  the  Grand  Lodge  of  Dakota  Territory.  He  is  a 
past  chancellor  of  the  Knights  of  Pjthias  of  Lisbon  and  a  representative  to  the  Grand  Lodge, 
and  his  membership  relations  further  extend  to  the  Commeiclal  Club  and  the  Presbyterian 
churcli  of  Lisbon,  in  which  he  is  an  elder. 

Mr.  Boyden  has  always  been  a  republican  since  lie  became  a  voter,  casting  his  first 
ballot  in  1872  for  General  Grant  as  president.  He  is  proud  to  be  identified  with  the  grand 
old  party  with  its  fine  record  of  accomplishment.  Blaine,  McKinley  and  Roosevelt  were 
leaders  who  inspired  enthusiasm.  For  the  past  twenty  years  Mr.  Boyden  has  engaged  in 
newspaper  work  and  for  the  past  twelve  years  has  been  editor  of  the  Lisbon  Free  Press 
of  Lisbon,  North  Dakota.  The  work  is  congenial  to  him,  for  he  believes  the  press  to  be  a 
means  of  uplifting  communities  to  higher  planes  of  living  and  thinking.  In  other  words, 
he  regards  it  worth  while  to  be  of  service  to  his  fellowmen  and  those  who  know  him  bear 
testimony  to  the  worth  of  his  work  and  his  contributions  to  the  world's  progress. 


FRANK  ELilER  WEED,  M.  D. 

Dr.  Frank  Elmer  Weed,  physician  and  surgeon  of  Park  River,  was  born  at  Grand  Forks, 
North  Dakota,  October  31,  1888,  a  son  of  Dar  and  Anna  .J.  (Bena)  Weed.  The  mother,  a 
native  of  Bohemia,  came  to  America  in  early  life.  The  father  was  born  in  Pennsylvania  and 
was  a  descendant  of  an  old  Pennsylvania  Dutch  family.  In  early  life  he  took  up  railroad 
work  and  was  connected  with  the  Great  Northern  Railroad  Companj'  for  some  time  but 
afterward  engaged  in  the  grain  business,  in  which  he  met  with  a  fair  measure  of  success. 
If  was  about  1880  that  he  took  up  his  abode  in  Grand  Forks,  thereafter  remaining  a 
resident  of  this  city,  his  death  occurring  July  9,  1912,  at  Conway,  Walsh  county,  when 
he  had  reached  the  age  of  fifty-eight  years.  His  widow  still  occupies  the  old  home  at 
Conway. 

Dr.  Weed,  their  only  child,  pursued  his  education  in  the  public  and  high  schools  of 
Conway  and  in  1906  and  1907  was  a  student  in  the  University  of  North  Dakota.  He  tlien 
entered  the  University  of  Minnesota,  where  he  pursued  a  medical  course  and  was  graduated 
therefrom  in  1912  with  the  M.  D.  degree.  Prior  to  his  graduation  he  served  as  interne 
in  the  University  of  Minnesota  Hospital  from  the  fall  of  1911  until  .Tune,  1912.  He 
then  began  practice  at  Lankin.  North  Dakota,  in  August,  1912,  and  there  remained  for  three 
years,  when  in  August,  191.j.  he  removed  to  Park  River,  where  he  has  since  remained.  He 
has  here  built  up  a  good  practice  and  his  ability  is  attested  in  the  excellent  results  which 
attend  his  professional  services. 

On  the  loth  of  .June,  1915,  at  Grafton,  North  Dakota,  Dr.  Weed  was  united  in  marriage  to 
Miss  Hortense  I.   Spain,   a   native  of  Minnesota   and  a   daughter  of  L.  M.  and   Lucy  .lane 


502  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

(Latham)    Spain,  the  former  a  native  of  Ireland,  while  the  latter  was  born   in  Wisconsin, 
of  American  ancestry. 

In  politics  Dr.  Weed  maintains  an  independent  course  and  has  never  sought  office 
outside  the  strict  path  of  his  profession  but  since  the  fall  of  3915  has  been  public  health 
officer  of  Walsh  county.  He  belongs  to  Alpha  Omega  Alpha,  an  honorary  fraternity,  and 
also  to  Plii  Beta  Kappa,  a  medical  fraternity.  He  likewise  has  membership  in  the  Z.  C. 
B.  J.,  In  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America,  in  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows  and 
in  the  Masonic  fraternity.  In  the  last  named  he  has  taken  the  degiees  of  lodge,  chapter, 
commandery  and  Mystic  Shrine  and  he  was  made  a  Mason  in  Park  River.  Along  strictly 
professional  lines  he  has  membership  with  the  Grand  Forks  District  Medical  Society,  the 
North  Dakota  State  Medical  Society  and  the  American  Medical  Association.  Thorough 
preliminary  training  well  qualified  him  for  his  professional  duties  and  he  has  continued  the 
habit  of  his  student  days — a  thorough  mastery  of  every  problem  which  presents  itself 
for  his  solution  in  his  active  practice. 


EDWARD  T.  THOMPSON. 


Along  the  lines  of  orderly  progression,  advancing  step  by  step,  Edward  T.  Thompson 
has  reached  a  creditable  and  enviable  position  in  business  circles,  being  now  president  of 
the  First  National  Bank  of  St.  Thomas.  The  spirit  of  western  enterprise  has  ever  been 
manifest  in  his  career.  He  was  born  in  McGregor,  Iowa,  November  11,  1863,  a  son  of  0.  P. 
Thompson,  a  native  of  Norway,  who  came  to  America  in  the  early  '50s  and  settled  in  Clayton 
county,  Iowa.  He  became  a  pioneer  resident  there  and  for  many  years  successfully  engaged  in 
general  merchandising  in  Decorah,  Iowa.  He  was  quite  active  in  politics  as  a  supporter  of  the 
republican  party  and  took  a  helpful  interest  in  promoting  civic  affairs  in  Decorah,  Iowa, 
where  he  established  his  home  in  1864,  there  spending  his  remaining  days.  His  death 
occurred  February  15,  1907,  when  he  was  seventy-two  years  of  age.  He  wedded  Thonette 
Simons,  a  native  of  Norway,  who  was  a  maiden  of  but  eight  years  when  brought  by  relatives 
to  the  United  States.  For  a  time  she  lived  in  Wisconsin  and  afterwards  in  Iowa,  where  she 
became  acquainted  with  O.  P.  Thompson,  who  sought  her  hand  in  marriage.  The  wedding 
was  celebrated  at  McGregor,  Iowa,  and  Mrs.  Thompson  survived  her  husband  until  September 
21,  1916,  passing  away  at  the  old  home  in  Decorah  when  seventy-eight  years  of  age. 

Edward  T.  Thompson  was  the  second  in  order  of  birth  in  a  family  of  five  children  and 
In  the  acquirement  of  his  education  passed  through  consecutive  grades  in  the  public  and 
high  schools  of  Decorah,  after  which  he  attended  a  business  college  there.  At  the  age  of 
eighteen  years  he  started  out  to  earn  his  own  living  and  his  first  position  was  that  of  a 
clerk  in  his  father's  store.  In  1882  he  left  home  and  came  to  North  Dakota,  settling  at 
St.  Thomas,  at  which  time  the  town  was  just  entering  upon  its  initial  period  of  growth 
and  development.  He  at  once  secured  employment  in  the  store  of  Olson,  Thompson  &  Chris- 
tian, which  was  one  of  the  first  general  stores  of  the  town,  his  father  being  a  member  of 
that  firm.  Edward  T.  Thompson  remained  an  employe  of  that  establishment  for  three  years 
and  was  then  admitted  to  a  partnership.  On  the  death  of  Mr.  Christian  the  firm  name  was 
changed  to  the  Olson-Thompson  Company  and  thus  continued  until  1890,  when  Mr.  Thomp- 
son purchased  the  interest  of  Mr.  Olson  and  the  firm  style  of  Thompson  &  Son  was  assumed. 
That  relation  was  maintained  until  1896,  when  they  sold  out.  In  the  meantime  they  had 
built  up  the  business  to  large  and  gratifying  proportions  and  their  capable  management 
brought  a  very  substantial  measure  of  success. 

Mr.  Thompson  had  also  extended  his  eft'orts  into  other  fields,  having  in  1S91  joined 
with  other  prominent  citizens  in  organizing  and  establishing  the  First  National  Bank  of 
St.  Thomas,  of  which  Mr.  Thompson  became  the  president.  He  has  since  remained  at 
the  head  of  the  institution  and  has  largely  directed  its  policy  and  shaped  its  affairs,  while 
at  the  same  time  he  was  actively  engaged  in  merchandising  until  1912,  conducting  in  addition 
to  the  business  at  St.  Thomas  branch  stores  at  Crystal  and  at  Voltaire,  North  Dakota.  He 
also  has  large  farming  interests  and  at  the  present  time  is  engaged  in  the  further  develop- 
ment and  improvement  of  sixteen  hundred  acres  of  valuable  farm  land  in  this  section  of 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  503 

the  state.  His  plans  have  always  been  carefully  formulated  and  he  is  notably  prompt, 
energetic  and  reliable  in  all  of  his  business  dealings. 

Ou  the  5th  of  September,  1906,  Mr.  Thompson  was  married  in  Eau  Claire,  Wisconsin, 
to  Miss  Bertha  Kramer,  a  native  of  that  state  and  a  daughter  of  Charles  K.  and  Sarah  Kramer. 
The  father  is  now  deceased,  but  the  mother  survives  and  makes  her  home  with  Mr.  and 
Mrs.  Thompson,  who  have  become  parents  of  two  sons:  Edward,  born  in  St.  Thomas,  Sep- 
tember 17,  1907;  and  Robert,  September  9,  1912. 

While  extensive  business  affairs  have  claimed  the  attention  and  profited  by  the  coopera- 
tion of  Mr.  Thompson,  he  has  also  found  time  to  take  part  in  [)ublic  affairs  and  has  always 
been  a  progressive  citizen,  loyal  to  the  best  interests  of  liis  community.  His  political 
allegiance  is  ever  given  to  the  republican  party  and  he  has  worked  earnestly  to  further  its 
growth  and  promote  its  success.  For  four  years  he  filled  the  office  of  county  treasurer  of 
Pembina  county,  serving  from  1889  until  1893.  He  has  likewise  been  president  of  the 
board  of  trustees  of  St.  Thomas  and  treasurer  of  the  city  for  a  number  of  years,  and  has 
been  president  of  the  school  board  at  intervals  since  1890,  filling  the  position  at  the  present 
time.  He  stands  for  all  that  is  most  progressive  in  the  life  of  the  community  and  believes 
in  upholding  the  highest  civic  standards.  In  this  connection  he  became  a  member  of  the 
t'omiiiorcial  Club  and  in  fact  was  one  of  its  organizers.  He  was  made  a  Mason  in  St.  Thomas 
in  1893  and  has  filled  all  of  the  chairs  in  the  local  lodge.  Advancing  through  the  York  Rite, 
he  is  now  a  Chapter  and  Commandery  Mason  and  is  likewise  a  member  of  tlic  Mystic  Shrine. 
He  also  holds  membership  with  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows  and  his  religious  faith 
is  that  of  the  Lutheran  chuich.  His  has  indeed  been  a  well  spent  life,  commending  him  to 
the  confidence  and  good  will  of  all  who  know  him.  He  started  out  on  his  own  account  with 
a  cash  capital  of  thirty  dollars  and  he  based  his  success  upon  industry  and  integrity,  never 
for  a  moment  neglecting  the  former  nor  for  a  moment  forgetting  that  honesty  is  the  best 
policy.  He  realized  that  close  application,  too,  is  a  strong  element  of  business  advancement 
and  along  the  line  of  persistency  of  purpose  he  has  won  success,  studying  at  all  times  the 
conditions  of  trade  and  striving  at  all  times  to  meet  the  demands  of  patrons  whether  in 
commercial  or  banking  lines. 


ANDREW  F.  NOHLE. 


Andrew  F.  Xohle,  banker,  merchant  and  enterprising  business  man,  and  now  actively 
identified  with  ranching  interests  in  JIcKenzie  county,  was  born  in  Lowville,  Lewis  county. 
New  York.  October  1,  1858.  He  is  a  son  of  Oiarles  A.  Xohle  and  a  brother  of  George  Nohle, 
mentioned  elsewhere  in  this  work.  While  spending  his  youthful  days  on  his  father's  farm 
he  acquired  his  education  in  the  public  schools  of  Lewis  county  and  his  time  and  attention 
were  devoted  to  farm  work  there  until  he  attained  his  majority.  In  1881  he  became  a 
resident  of  Grand  Forks,  North  Dakota,  where  he  was  engaged  in  the  hotel  business  for  a 
year.  In  1883  he  removed  to  Mayville.  North  Dakota,  where  he  purchased  a  biinch  of  cows, 
which  he  drove  to  Devils  Lake  and,  adding  to  the  numl)er  b.y  additional  purchase  while  en 
route,  he  at  length  had  two  hundred  and  sixty  head  in  the  herd.  These  cattle  were  the 
property  of  L.  B.  Richardson,  Charles  Sprout  and  E.  M.  Prouty,  Mr.  Nohle  having  a  working 
interest  in  them.  He  drove  the  cattle  to  a  place  near  the  present  site  of  Towner,  in  the 
Mouse  River  country,  and  there  established  a  cattle  ranch,  being  the  first  white  man  to 
engage  in  the  raising  of  cattle  in  that  district.  His  nearest  white  neighbor  was  twenty-five 
miles  away.  Mr.  Nohle  continued  to  carry  on  ranching  there  until  1893,  when  he  removed 
to  a  point  near  Saco,  Montana,  on  the  Milk  river,  where  he  conducted  his  ranch  until  1894. 
During  that  period  he  also  operated  in  the  cattle  business  in  the  Panhandle  country  of  Texas. 
In  the  year  1897  he  took  up  his  abode  in  McKenzie  county.  North  Dakota,  and  established 
a  big  ranch  on  the  Missouri  river,  near  where  the  town  of  Dore  now  stands,  in  what  is 
known  as  the  Yellowstone  Valley  country.  Upon  that  place  he  has  since  remained  and  is 
prominently  known  as  a  rancliman  of  the  western  part  of  the  state. 

Mr.  Nohle  also  has  other  important  business  connections.  He  is  president  of  the  First 
National  Bank  of  Fairview,  Montana,  is  the  president  of  the  Dakota  Trading  Company  of 


504  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

Alexander,  North  Dakota,  is  president  of  the  Buford  Mercantile  Company  of  Buford,  North 
Dakota,  president  of  the  First  State  Bank  of  Buford  North  Dakota,  and  president  of  the 
Nohle-Gilbertson  Company,  Incorporated,  of  Buford,  North  Dakota,  which  company  owns  a 
large  cattle  and  horse  ranch.  He  is  likewise  president  of  the  firm  of  Nohle  Brothers,  In- 
corporated, of  JIcKenzie  county,  having  extensive  cattle  ranching  and  land  interests.  He 
has  furthermore  extended  his  efforts  by  becoming  president  of  three  diflTerent  elevator  com- 
panies. In  a  word,  he  has  been  one  of  the  most  active  and  potent  factors  in  the  development 
and  upbuilding  of  his  section  of  the  state  in  the  line  of  material  progress.  He  has  a  splendidly 
improved  farm  near  Dore  and  his  investments  have  been  most  judiciously  made  in  lands,  in 
cattle  and  in  commercial  and  financial  interests.  The  steady  development  of  his  business 
affairs,  guided  at  all  times  by  sound  judgment,  has  made  him  one  of  the  wealthiest  men 
of  McKenzie  county. 

Mr.  Nohle  has  given  his  aid  in  support  of  many  plans  resulting  to  the  benefit  of  his  dis- 
trict in  other  ways.  He  has  served  on  the  school  board,  and  when  McKenzie  county  was 
organized  he  was  appointed  a  member  of  the  board  of  county  commissioners  by  Governor 
E.  Y.  Sarles.  For  twelve  consecutive  years  he  continued  as  chairman  of  the  board,  being 
reelected  at  each  biennial  election,  and  at  the  end  of  that  time  he  would  not  consent  to 
serve  longer,  although  popular  franchise  would  have  retained  him  in  office.  He  is  prominent 
in  the  Odd  Fellows  society,  holding  membership  now  at  Buford,  North  Dakota.  He  became 
a  charter  member  of  the  lodge  at  Sidney.  Montana,  of  which  he  is  a  past  noble  grand.  He 
also  belongs  to  the  Masonic  lodge  at  ilondak,  Montana,  and  to  the  Elks  lodge  at  Williston, 
North  Dakota.  Not  to  know  Andrew  F.  Nohle  in  this  section  of  the  state  is  to  argue  one's 
self  unknown.  He  has  a  very  wide  acquaintance  and  everywhere  is  spoken  of  in  terms  of 
high  legard  by  those  who  recognize  his  value  as  a  business  man  and  as  a  citizen. 


N.  THEODORE  ROSENQUIST. 

N.  Theodore  Eosenquist,  president  of  the  First  State  Bank  at  Epping,  was  born  near 
Hastings,  Pierce  county,  Wisconsin,  August  19,  1878,  a  son  of  Andrew  and  Cecelia  (Swenson) 
Rosenquist.  The  father,  a  native  of  Sweden,  was  married  in  that  country  and  in  1866  came 
to  the  new  world,  settling  near  River  Falls,  Wisconsin,  where  he  purchased  land  and 
engaged  in  farming.  In  1881  he  removed  to  Ottertail  county,  Minnesota,  where  he  carried 
on  farming  until  his  death,  but  in  his  native  land  he  had  been  a  carpenter.  He  passed  away 
in  1910  and  his  widow  is  now  a  resident  of  Clarissa,  Minnesota. 

N.  Theodore  Rosenquist  largely  acquired  his  education  in  the  district  schools  of  Otter- 
tail  county  and  the  high  school  at  Wadena.  Minnesota,  after  which  he  became  a  student  in 
the  Valparaiso  University  at  Valparaiso.  Indiana,  from  which  he  was  graduated  in  1900 
with  the  degree  of  Bachelor  of  Science.  In  that  year  he  went  to  Hatton,  Nortli  Dakota, 
and  accepted  the  position  of  principal  of  the  schools,  there  remaining  until  the  spring  of 
1905,  when  he  went  to  McKenzie  county  and  homesteaded.  While  living  on  his  claim  he  also 
worked  in  the  United  States  reclamation  service.  In  1906  he  established  the  First  State 
Bank  at  Epping,  which  was  the  first  banking  institution  in  the  town,  and  from  the  beginning 
he  has  been  its  president,  directing  its  policy  and  shaping  its  course.  In  this  connection  he 
has  built  up  the  business  to  substantial  proportions  and  the  bank  has  become  one  of  the 
valuable  financial  assets  of  the  northwestern  part  of  the  state.  He  is  also  the  owner  of 
fine  farming  land  in  Williams  county  and  believes  firmly  in  the  value  and  possibilities  of 
farm  property  in  this  section  of  the  state. 

On  the  30th  of  February,  1907,  at  Parkers  Prairie,  Minnesota,  Mr.  Rosenquist  was 
married  to  Miss  Anice  J.  Nelson,  who  was  there  born  and  spent  her  girlhood  in  that  place 
and  at  Wadena,  Minnesota,  where  she  attended  the  high  school.  She  is  also  a  graduate  of 
the  Minnesota  Normal  School  at  St.  Cloud  and  for  some  time  prior  to  her  marriage  wa.s  a 
most  successful  educator,  serving  as  principal  of  the  schools  at  Kerkhoven,  Minnesota,  and 
as  assistant  principal  at  Cando,  North  Dakota.  Later  she  was  superintendent  of  schools  in 
McKenzie  county,  this  state,  and  is  now  acting  as  cashier  in  the  First  State  Bank  of  Epping. 
She  is  a  lady  of  superior  intelligence  and  liberal  education  and  did  much  to  develop  and 


N.    IHKiiDnllK  KOSEXQUIST  AND  FAMILY 


HISTORY  OF  XORTII  DAKOTA  507 

iipbiiiUl  the  Sfliools  of  McKenzic  county  wlioii  sciviii-;  as  county  superintendent.  At  that 
time  the  county  was  an  open  country,  its  popuhition  consisting  largely  of  cow  men,  and  it 
wa3  a  dillicult  task  to  standardize  the  schools  and  place  them  upon  a  substantial  basis.  She 
also  possesses  excellent  business  judgment  and  keen  sagacity  and  her  husband  attributes 
much  of  his  success  to  her  assistance,  encouragement  and  wise  discernment.  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
Kosenquist  have  a  son,  Newton  Theodore,  born  in  Kpping,  August  2,  1914. 

In  politics  Mr.  Rosenquist  maintains  an  independent  attitude,  voting  for  the  man  rather 
than  the  part}^  He  organized  the  school  district  at  Epping  and  is  now  president  of  the 
school  board  while  also  serving  as  a  trustee  of  liis  town.  He  belongs  to  the  Independent 
Order  of  Odd  Fellows  at  Ilatton  and  to  the  Jfodern  Woodmen  camp  at  Kp])ing.  Both  he  and 
his  wife  are  held  in  the  highest  esteem  as  people  of  recognized  sterling  worth  in  business  and 
in  social  relations. 


ELMER  R.  DAVIDSON. 


ICliiicr  K.  Davidson,  tlie  well  known  cashier  of  the  Farmers  &  Merchants  Hank  of 
New  Rockford,  North  Dakota,  was  born  on  the  18th  of  September.  1874,  in  Ea.stnian,  Crawford 
county.  Wisconsin,  his  parents  being  .lames  and  .Jennie  (Jk-Clure)  Davidson,  the  former  a 
native  of  Marion,  Indiana,  and  the  latti  r  of  I'latteville,  Wisconsin.  When  a  child  of  eight 
or  nine  years  the  father  aocompanied  his  jiarents  on  their  removal  to  Wisconsin,  the  family 
being  among  the  very  earliest  settlers  of  Crawford  county,  where  they  located  in  1855. 
After  reaching  manhood  .lames  Davidson  was  married  at  Eastman  and  lie  and  his  bride 
located  on  a  farm,  he  having  purchased  his  father-in-law's  old  homestead.  On  the  9th  of 
August,  1863,  he  enlisted  in  Company  A.  Thirty-first  Wisconsin  Volunteer  Infantry,  and 
remained  in  the  service  until  hostilities  ceased,  being  discharged  at  Madison,  Wisconsin,  July 
6,  1863.  He  was  with  General  Sherman  on  the  march  to  the  sea  and  took  part  in  many 
hotly  contested  battles,  ilr.  Davidson  remained  a  resident  of  Crawford  county,  Wisconsin, 
until  March.  1S87,  when  he  came  to  North  Dakota  and  secured  a  homestead  in  ICddy  county, 
six  miles  east  of  New  Rockford,  on  which  he  resided  until  1905.  He  then  sold  his  land  and 
removed  to  Taconia.  Washington,  where  he  now  makes  his  home.  In  his  family  are  five 
living  children,  namely:  Elmer  R..  of  this  review:  Laura,  who  is  living  in  Portland,  Oregon; 
Elizabeth,  the  wife  of  George  Dc  Armond.  postmaster  at  Sitka.  Alaska;  Cora,  the  '.vife  of 
John  Medlicott,  of  Tacoma,  Washington;  and  Harriet,  the  wife  of  George  Kottke,  superin- 
tendent of  the  high  school  at  Hayfield,  Minnesota. 

Elmer  R.  Davidson  acquired  his  early  education  in  the  public  schools  of  New  Rockford, 
and  at  the  dedication  of  the  Valley  City  Normal  School  entered  that  institution,  where  ho  was 
a  student  for  some  time.  Later  he  ])ursued  a  course  at  the  Gem  City  Business  College  in 
Quincy,  Illinois,  and  after  completing  his  education  became  identified  with  the  banking 
business  in  August,  1896,  becoming  l)ookkce])er  and  telh'r  in  the  Bank  of  New  Rockford,  with 
wliicli  he  was  connected  for  two  years.  SubsecpK'ntly  he  and  others  organized  the  Eddy 
County  State  Bank,  of  which  he  was  placed  in  charge  as  cashier,  and  he  served  in  that 
capacity  for  three  years,  at  the  end  of  which  time  the  bank  was  sold.  Mr.  Davidson  tlicn 
located  on  liis  homestead  and  engaged  in  farming  during  the  following  tlirec  years.  In 
.January.  1905.  he  was  made  chief  clerk  in  the  oHicc  of  Secretary  of  State  E.  F.  Porter  and 
held  that  position  until  March  1906,  when  he  returned  to  New  Rockford  and  organized  the 
Farmers  &  Merchants  Bank,  becoming  cashier  of  that  institution.  This  is  one  of  the  most 
reliable  and  substantial  banks  of  the  central  part  of  the  state  and  its  officers  are  men  of 
the  highest  business  integrity. 

On  the  24th  of  April.  1901.  was  celelirat.cl  the  marriage  of  Mr.  Davidson  and  Miss  Grace 
Bennett,  of  Jamestown,  Xortli  Dakota,  and  tliey  have  become  the  parents  of  three  children, 
Edith  M.,  ^f>y  Bennett  and  Nellie  Elizabeth.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Davidson  are  active  and 
faithful  mapbers  of  the  Congregational  church  and  Mr.  Davidson  has  served  as  a  member 
of  the  chuM^  board  for  twenty  years.  He  is  also  a  prominent  Mason,  belonging  to  Century 
Lodge,  No.^0,  A.  F.  &  A.  M.,  of  New  Rockford;  Carrington  Chapter,  No.  15,  R.  A.  M..  of 
Carringtoii:    Zion    Commandery.    No.    9.    K.    T..    of    New    Rockford:    and    El    Zagal    Temple. 


508  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

A.  A.  0.  N.  M.  S.,  of  Fai-go,  while  both  he  and  his  wife  are  members  of  Ionic  Chapter,  No.  39, 
0.  E.  S.  He  is  also  connected  with  New  Rockford  Lodge  of  Knights  of  Pythias,  the  Modern 
Woodmen  of  America  and  the  America  Yeomen.  In  politics  he  is  a  republican,  and  while 
he  has  never  been  an  aspirant  for  public  office  he  has  alwaj's  taken  an  active  interest  in 
public  all'airs  and  can  always  be  counted  upon  to  assist  in  any  worthy  enterprise  for  the  good 
of  the  community.  In  business  he  has  steadily  prospered  as  the  years  have  gone  by  and 
today  is  the  owner  of  two  thousand  acres  of  land  in  Eddy  county  besides  other  property. 
He  occupies  an  enviable  position  in  financial  circles  and  wherever  known  is  held  in  the 
highest  esteem. 


GEORGE  W.  HEINMILLER. 


Among  the  county  officials  of  Foster  county  none  stand  higher  in  public  esteem  than 
George  W.  Heinmiller,  who  for  the  past  ten  years  has  served  as  county  surveyor.  He  waa 
born  in  Indiana  on  the  30th  of  June,  1855,  and  is  a  son  of  John  and  Susanna  (Cupp)  Hein- 
miller, natives  of  Germany  and  Virginia  respectively.  During  his  boyhood  the  father  came 
with  his  parents  to  America  and  located  in  Pennsylvania,  where  he  was  reared  and  educated. 
In  1848  he  and  a  companion  started  to  California  on  foot  but  stopped  in  Indiana,  where 
Mr  Heinmiller  purchased  land  and  engaged  in  farming  throughout  the  remainder  of  his  life. 
He  also  worked  at  the  carpenter's  trade,  which  he  hud  learned  in  his  youth.  His  death 
occurred  in  October,  1900,  and  his  wife  passed  away  in  1902. 

George  W.  Heinmiller  passed  his  boyhood  and  youth  under  the  parental  roof,  hia 
education  being  obtained  in  the  public  schools  of  Indiana,  and  he  remained  at  home  until 
twenty-seven  years  of  age.  He  then  purchased  land  in  his  native  state  and  began  farming 
on  his  own  account.  He  also  followed  the  carpenter's  trade  to  some  extent.  It  was  in 
April,  1897,  that  he  removed  to  Carrington.  Foster  county,  North  Dakota,  where  he  continued 
to  work  at  carpentering  for  several  years  and  then  turned  his  attention  to  civil  engineering. 
In  1906  he  was  elected  county  surveyor  and  so  ably  has  he  filled  that  office  that  he  has  been 
retained  in  the  position  up  to  the  present  time.  He  is  also  serving  as  city  engineer  by 
appointment. 

In  1883  Mr.  Heinmiller  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Tena  Gilbert,  who  died  in  May, 
1898,  after  a  short  illness,  leaving  three  children,  namely:  Vada,  Elsie  and  Marie.  Mr. 
Heinmiller  was  again  married  in  October,  1903,  his  second  union  being  with  Mrs.  Mary 
Troby.  In  religious  faith  they  are  Methodists,  and  he  is  also  a  member  of  the  Independent 
Order  of  Odd  Fellows  and  the  Modern  Brotherhood  of  America.  By  his  ballot  he  supports 
the  men  and  measures  of  the  republican  party  and  he  takes  a  commendable  interest  in  public 
affairs  as  every  true  American  citizen  should. 


WHXIAM  B.  MATHEWS. 

Tile  banking  and  commercial  interests  of  Williams  county  have  a  worthy  representative 
in  William  B.  Mathews  of  Wildrose.  He  was  born  in  Albion,  Edwards  county,  Illinois, 
February  24,  1872,  and  is  a  son  of  A.  B.  and  Sarah  E.  (Parker)  Mathews,  both  natives  of 
Maine,  the  former  born  in  Bangor  and  the  latter  in  AVaterville.  When  the  Civil  war  broke 
out  the  father  enlisted  in  a  Maine  regiment  and  served  for  a  year  and  a  half.  After  the 
war  he  removed  to  Albion,  Illinois,  where  he  engaged  in  law  practice  until  1882,  when  he  went 
to  Breckenridge,  Minnesota,  and  followed  his  profession  at  that  place  for  twenty -five  years. 
He  was  not  only  one  of  the  leading  attorneys  of  the  town  but  became  one  of  its  most  influential 
citizens,  taking  a  prominent  part  in  public  afi'airs.  On  leaving  Breckenridge  l#removed  to 
Minneapolis,  where  he  lived  retired  for  a  time,  but  his  last  days  were  spent  in^ellington, 
Ohio,  and  at  that  place  he  passed  away  in  1915— a  man  honored  and  respeclSBd  wherever 
known.     His  wife  had  died  at  Breckenridge,  Minnesota,  in  1904. 

William  B.  Mathews  was  a  little  lad  of  ten  years  when  the  family  left  Albion,  Illinois, 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  509 

and  removed  to  Breckenridge,  and  at  the  latter  place  he  grew  to  manhood,  bein;^  indebted 
to  its  public  schools  for  the  greater  part  of  his  education.  For  some  time  he  operated  a  large 
farm  owned  by  his  father  near  Breckenridge  but  since  1004  has  made  his  home  in  North 
Dakota,  in  that  year  he  took  up  a  homestead  near  Kutland,  Nortli  Dakota,  and  also 
embarked  in  the  implement  business  at  that  place.  In  l'J09  he  was  employed  by  the  State 
Bank  of  I'addington  and  moved  it  to  the  new  town  of  Wildrose,  where  he  is  still  actively 
engaged  in  the  banking  business,  serving  as  vice  president  of  the  institution.  He  also  owns 
an  interest  in  the  Home  Lumber  Company  of  Wildrose  and  is  engaged  in  the  land  business  as 
a  member  of  the  firm  of  Mathews  &,  Hess. 

Mr.  Mathews  was  married  at  Colfa.\,  Richland  county,  North  Dakota,  July  25,  11)02, 
to  Miss  Maud  E.  Hannan,  who  was  born  and  reared  in  Wisconsin  and  removed  to  Richland 
county  with  her  parents,  B.  G.  and  tjarah  .Jane  (Remington)  Hannan.  They  were  natives 
of  Sturgeon  Bay,  Wisconisn,  and  at  length  became  residents  of  Wenatchee,  Washington, 
where  Jlrs.  Hannan  died.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Mathews  have  three  children,  Ethel  Grace,  Stella 
Cyrina  and  Sarah  Jane. 

In  his  fraternal  relations,  Mr.  JIathews  is  connected  with  the  blue  lodge  and  chapter  of 
the  Masonic  order,  and  is  also  a  member  of  the  Ivnights  of  the  Maccabees  and  the  Modern 
Woodmen  of  America.  His  political  support  is  given  the  republican  party,  and  he  has 
Berved  as  president  of  the  town  board  of  Wildrose,  being  one  of  its  prominent  citizens.  He 
stands  high   in   business   circles   of   Williams   countv. 


GEORGE  W.  YOUNG. 


George  W.  Young,  attorney  at  law  of  Park  River,  was  born  in  Marquette,  Michigan, 
September  28,  1866,  a  son  of  Samuel  and  Ann  L.  (Hutton)  Y'oung,  the  former  a  native  of 
Ireland  and  the  latter  of  Scotland.  The  parents  were  married  in  Ontario,  Canada,  to  which 
country  they  had  removed  in  early  life.  Subsequently  they  became  residents  of  Michigan 
and  afterward  of  Iowa  before  taking  up  their  abode  in  the  Red  River  vallej'  in  1S78,  at 
which  time  they  settled  two  miles  north  of  Cavalier.  The  father  there  homesteaded  and 
secured  title  to  his  property  but  afterward  removed  to  the  Pembina  mountains,  where  a  town 
was  established  that  was  called  Young.  Eventually  Mr.  Young  disposed  of  his  real 
estate  holdings  in  North  Dakota  and  now  resides  with  a  daughter  at  Whittier,  California, 
having  reached  the  age  of  seventy-seven  years.  His  wife  passed  away  in  Salt  Lake  City, 
Utah,  in  1900,  at  the  age  of  sixty  years.  They  had  eight  children:  George  W.,  .James, 
who  is  engaged  in  the  machinery  business  at  Hydro,  Oklahoma;  Samuel,  who  is  a  practicing 
physician  and  surgeon  of  Lennox.  South  Dakota;  Mrs.  Anna  Schroedcr,  whose  hu.'band  is  a 
ranchman  and  resides  in  Whittier,  California;  William,  a  practicing  physician  of  Baker, 
Montana;  Martha,  a  stenogia[)her  residing  at  Detroit,  Michigan;  and  two  children  who  died 
in  infancy. 

George  W.  Y'oung,  whose  name  introduces  this  review,  pursued  his  early  education  in  the 
schools  of  Iowa  and  afterward  continued  his  studies  in  the  public  schools  of  Pembina 
county.  North  Dakota,  and  in  the  State  University  at  Grand  Forks.  He  prepared  for  a 
professional  career  as  a  law  student  in  the  University  of  Georgia  and  won  his  LL.  B.  degree 
in  1894.  He  located  for  practice  at  Park  River  in  1895  and  has  since  followed  his  profession 
there.  He  is  now  city  attorney  and  has  filled  the  office  of  county  justice  and  of  city 
magistrate.  A  liberal  clientage  has  alwa^-s  been  accorded  him  and  his  ability  has  made  him 
a  prominent  figvire  in  court  circles.  Since  coming  to  North  Dakota  he  has  acquired  quite  an 
amount  of  valuable  farm  land  until  today  his  holdings  in  one  body  are  more  extensive  than 
those  of  any  other  single  individual  in  Walsh  county.  He  has  a  farm  of  twelve  hundred 
and  ninety-five  acres  all  in  one  tract,  and  he  has  leased  his  properties  to  good  tenants,  so 
that  his  land  is  being  rapidly  developed  and  improved.  He  also  owns  city  property  in 
Park  River. 

On  the  loth  of  November,  1899,  Mr.  Y'oung  was  married  to  Miss  Minnie  M.  Nicklin,  of 
Park  River,  whose  father  was  a  pioneer  of  North  Dakota  but  passed  away  October  13,  1916, 
at  the  age  of  si.\ty-five  years.     In  the   family  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.   Young  are   four  children : 


510  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

Huttou  L.,  who  was  boni  in  Park  Rivor,  .St'iitember  J,  1901,  and  is  now  attending  higli  scliool ; 
Lew  A.,  who  was  born  at  Park  River,  October  4,  1905;  Edgar  S.,  born  in  ilay,  1908;  and 
Vernon,  born  February  20,  1912. 

In  community  alTairs  Jlr.  Young  has  long  taken  a  deep  and  lieljiful  interest  and  his 
cooperation  can  be  counted  upon  to  further  any  plan  or  measure  for  the  public  good.  In 
addition  to  the  offices  which  he  has  held  in  the  strict  path  of  his  profession  he  has  served  for 
many  years  as  a  member  of  the  board  of  education  and  is  also  a  director  of  the  library 
board.  He  belongs  to  the  Seventh  .ludicial  District  Bar  Association  and  the  North  Dakota 
State  Bar  Association.  Mr.  Young  has  worked  his  way  steadily  upward  until  he  stands  on 
a  high  plane  of  citizenship  and  has  attained  equally  creditable  rank  in  his  profession. 
Possessing  a  studious  nature,  he  took  advantage  of  every  moment  in  his  early  manhood  to 
study  and  broaden  his  knowledge,  and  the  wise  use  of  his  spare  time  constituted  his 
equipment  for  college.  He  now  possesses  comprehensive  knowledge  of  the  principles  of 
jurisprudence  and  is  seldom,  if  ever,  at  fault  in  the  application  of  a  legal  principle.  Those 
wlio  know  him  entertain  for  him  the  warmest  regard,  appreciating  his  sterling  personal 
worth  as  well  as  his  professional  skill. 


SAMUEL  W.  RICH. 


On  the  roster  of  county  officials  in  Eddy  county  appears  the  name  of  Samuel  W.  Rich, 
who  is  now  efficiently  serving  as  treasurer.  He  claims  Wisconsin  as  his  native  state,  his 
birth  occrrrring  near  Kilbourn  City,  in  Columbia  county,  March  14,  1879,  and  he  is  a  son  of 
Sumner  K.  and  Mary  A.  (Kogle)  Rich,  natives  of  Massachusetts  and  Ohio  respectively.  In 
1848  the  father  became  a  resident  of  Wisconsin,  where  he  purchased  land  and  carried  on 
farming  until  1907,  but  is  now  living  retired  at  Friendship,  that  state,  at  the  ripe  old  age 
of  eighty-four  years.     The  mother  is  sixty-six  years  of  age. 

In  the  state  of  his  nativity  Samuel  W.  Rich  grew  to  manhood,  receiving  the  usual  educa- 
tional advantages  of  the  country  boy.  He  remained  with  his  parents  until  eighteen  years 
of  age,  when  he  came  to  Xorth  Dakota  and  located  in  Eddy  county,  which  has  since  been  his 
home.  For  a  few  years  he  worked  as  a  farm  hand  and  afterwards  engaged  in  threshing  on 
his  own  account  during  the  summer  season,  while  through  the  rest  of  the  year  he  sold  farm 
machinery.  In  1909  he  was  appointed  deputy  county  treasurer  and  so  acceptably  did  he  fill 
that  position  that  he  was  elected  treasurer  in  May,  1913,  and  has  served  in  that  capacity 
ever  since.  The  duties  of  the  office  have  been  capably  discharged,  and  his  fellow  citizens 
have  the  utmost  confidence  in  his  reliability. 

Mr.  Rich  was  married  December  25,  1907,  to  Miss  Anna  M.  Johnson,  by  whom  he  has 
three  children,  namely:  Mernaoe  M.,  born  March  28,  1909;  Lyle  E.,  born  October  5,  1910; 
and  Lois  V.,  born  February  10,  1916.  Mrs.  Rich  holds  membership  in  the  Congregational 
church,  and  Mr.  Rich  is  identified  with  the  Masonic  fraternity,  the  Modern  Woodmen  of 
America,  the  Yeomen  and  the  Benevolent  Protective  Order  of  Elks.  The  republican  party 
has  always  found  in  him  a  stanch  supporter  of  its  principles,  and  he  occupies  a  prominent 
position  in  its  ranks  in  Eddy  county.  He  has  become  a  leader  in  public  affairs  and  well 
merits  the  confidence  reposed  in  him. 


EDWARD  ALFSEN. 


Edward  Alfsen.  who  owns  and  operates  a  grain  elevator  at  Edmunds,  has  spent  his 
entire  life  in  the  midst  of  America's  most  famous  grain  raising  districts,  for  he  was  born 
at  Farmington,  Minnesota,  November  2,  1871.  His  parents,  Thomas  and  Enger  Alfsen,  were 
natives  of  Norway  and  following  their  marriage  came  to  the  United  States  in  the  '60s, 
settling  in  Minnesota,  where  their  remaining  days  were  passed. 

Edward  Alfsen,  the  third  of  their  five  children,  was  educated  in  the  Minnesota  schools 
and  resided  in  that  state  until  1889,  when  he  came  to  North  Dakota,  settling  at  Cooperstown, 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  511 

wliiTi'  lie  worked  for  seven  years.  He  tlieii  went  to  Minnewaukan.  Benson  county,  and 
began  buying  wheat  for  the  ilonareh  Klevator  Coinimny,  conducting  their  business  at  that 
jioint  until  1902.  lie  then  established  an  elevator  on  his  own  account  at  Flora,  where  he 
remained  until  1906,  when  he  sold  out  there  and  removed  to  Edmunds,  where  he  built  his 
j)rcsent  elevator  with  a  capacity  of  thirty-live  thousand  bushels.  His  plant  is  operated  with 
gas  power  and  he  is  thus  actively  connected  with  the  grain  trade  of  Stutsman  county, 
having  developed  a  business  of  large  and  gratifying  proportions.  He  also  has  other  important 
interests,  for  he  is  now  farming  about  one  thousand  acres  of  land,  utilizing  improved 
agricultural  methods  in  the  development  and  cultivation  of  this  extensive  tract.  He  is 
likewise  a  stockholder  and  director  of  the  Bank  of  Woodworth  and  lie  makes  his  home  in 
Kdmunds.  He  owns  a  Studebaker  motor  car  and  easily  goes  from  point  to  point  to 
superintend  his  business  interests. 

In  1903  Mr.  Alfsen  was  married  to  Miss  Jennie  Uolesby,  a  native  of  North  Dakota, 
and  they  have  two  children,  Frederick  and  Ethel.  Mr.  Alfsen  exercises  his  right  of  franchise 
in  support  of  the  men  and  measures  of  the  republican  pafty  and  his  fraternal  connections  are 
with  the  Odd  Fellows  lodge  at  Minnewaukan  and  with  the  Elks  lodge  at  Jamestown.  His 
business  interests  make  constant  demand  upon  his  time  and  energies  and  he  is  notably  prompt, 
industrious  and  reliable.  Moreover,  he  seems  to  possess  a  genius  for  devising  and  executing 
the  right  thing  at  the  right  time,  combined  with  that  substantial  quality  of  everyday 
common  sense  which  is  too  often  lacking  and  therelty  occasions  failure  in  the  handling  of 
business  interests. 


RICHARD  F.  GALLAGHER. 


Richard  F.  Gallagher,  a  prominent  attorney  of  Beach,  Xorth  Dakota,  is  a  native  of  the 
neighboring  state  of  Minnesota,  his  birth  occurring  at  Oak  Grove,  Anoka  county,  October  29, 
1880.  His  father,  Patrick  Gallagher,  was  born  in  Ireland  and  on  coming  to  the  United 
States  located  at  Petersburg,  Virginia,  where  he  married  Miss  Sarah  Walsh,  who  was  born 
at  Harpers  Ferry,  that  state.  In  1836  he  removed  to  Minnesota  and  for  some  time  made 
his  home  in  St.  Paul,  where  he  was  employed  in  cutting  stone  for  the  old  capitol,  remaining 
there  until  the  building  was  finished.  Subsequently  he  took  up  his  residence  at  Oak  Grove 
in  Anoka  county,  Minnesota,  where  he  had  preempted  land.  At  the  time  of  the  Civil  war 
he  enlisted  in  Company  A,  Eighth  Minnesota  Volunteer  Infantry,  and  with  Sully's  expedition 
came  west  into  Dakota.  Later  he  went  south  with  his  regiment  and  participated  in  the 
battle  of  Murfreesboro.  For  a  time  he  was  ill  with  fever  but  remained  in  the  service  until  the 
close  of  the  war,  when  he  was  honorably  discharged  and  returned  home.  He  remained  a 
resident  of  Oak  Grove  until  his  death,  which  occurred  in  1886.  His  wife  died  in  1892. 
They  were  the  parents  of  six  children,  namely:  Mary  Louise,  deceased;  William  A.,  living 
on  the  old  home  place  at  Cedar,  Minnesota;  .James  E.,  deceased;  Joseph  B.,  also  a  resident 
of  Cedar;  Kathryn,  a  school  teacher;  and  Ricliard  F.,  of-this  review. 

Richard  F.  Gallagher  began  his  education  in  the  district  schools  near  his  boyliooil  home 
and  later  attended  the  Minneapolis  Academy.  Subsequently  he  entered  the  University  of 
Minnesota,  where  he  pursued  the  academic  and  law  courses  and  was  graduated  from  the 
law  department  in  1906.  On  his  admission  to  the  bar  he  opened  an  office  in  Minneapolis 
but  remained  there  only  a  short  time,  however,  as  he  came  to  Beach,  North  Dakota,  in 
August,  1906.  He  formed  a  partnership  with  John  Keohene  under  the  firm  name  of  Keohene 
&  Gallagher,  which  remained  unchanged  until  1913,  when  Mark  F.  .Jones  joined  tlie  company. 
Tn  .\pril,  191.").  Mr.  Gallagher  withdrew  from  the  firm  and  was  alone  in  practice  until  1910, 
when  he  formed  a  partnership  with  Herbert  L.  Hailaday,  the  style  of  the  firm  being  now 
(Jallagher  &  Hailaday.  They  are  at  the  head  of  a  large  jiractice  and  are  numbered  among  the 
leading  attorneys  of  Golden  Valley  county. 

On  the  30th  of  October,  1912,  Mr.  Gallagher  was  unitcil  in  marriage  to  Miss  Lillian  M. 
Brownfield,  a  native  of  Cooperstown,  Xorth  Dakota,  and  to  them  have  been  born  two 
children,  Inez  Marie  and  Kathryn  Ann.  Since  age  conferred  upon  him  the  right  of  suffrage. 
Mr.  Gallagher  has  supported  the  republican   party,  and  he  has  served   as  city  attorney  of 


512  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

Beach  from  the  organization  of  the  village  and  as  states  attorney  of  Billings  county  before 
its  division.  He  is  a  member  of  the  Catholic  church  and  also  belongs  to  Dickinson  Lodge, 
No.  1137,  B.  P.  0.  E.  He  has  met  with  well  deserved  success  in  his  chosen  profession  and 
has  been  connected  with  important  litigation  held  in  the  courts  of  his  district.  As  a 
citizen  lie  is  also  prominent  and  wherever  know  is  held  in  high  regard. 


ROBERT  MERCER  EVANS,  M.  D. 

Dr.  Robert  Mercer  Evans,  engaged  in  the  practice  of  medicine  in  Minto,  has  experienced 
all  of  the  hardships  that  come  to  the  pioneer  physician  and  he  has  also  won  the  esteem  and 
confidence  which  are  accorded  the  practitioner  of  conscientious  purpose  who. does  not  hesi- 
tate to  sacrifice  his  personal  comfort  to  the  demands  of  suffering  humanity.  He  was  boni 
at  Brockville,  Leeds  county,  Ontario,  August  26,  1844,  a  son  of  William  Evans,  a  native  of 
Ireland,  who  in  1S28  crossed  the  Atlantic  to  Canada  and  became  one  of  the  pioneer  settlers 
of  Leeds  county,  where  he  successfully  engaged  in  farming.  He  settled  in  the  midst  of  a 
forest  and  cleared  away  one  hundred  acres  of  timber.  He  continued  to  reside  in  Leeds 
county  until  1881,  when  he  crossed  the  border  and  became  a  resident  of  the  territory  of 
Dakota,  settling  in  Walshville  township,  Walsh  county.  There  again  he  east  in  his  lot  with 
the  pioneer  settlers,  being  among  the  first  to  take  up  a  government  claim  in  that  district, 
and  there  he  lived  to  the  ripe  old  age  of  ninety-nine  years  and  seven  months,  passing  away 
September  19,  1899.  He  married  Bessie  Bright,  a  relative  of  the  distinguished  John  Bright, 
the  English  statesman.  jMrs.  Evans  was  born  in  England  and  in  1829  accon'.panied  her  par- 
ents to  Canada,  where  she  met  and  married  Mr.  Evans.  She,  too,  reached  an  advanced  age, 
being  eighty-<"ix  years  old  at  the  time  of  her  death  in  1889.  In  the  family  were  seven  chil- 
dren: Thomas,  now  deceased;  Robert  Mercer;  Elizabeth,  the  wife  of  Charles  La  Trace,  liv- 
ing in  Walshville  township,  Walsh  county.  North  Dakota;  Frances,  the  wife  of  Alexander 
Robinson,  also  of  Walshville  township;  John  J.,  a  resident  farmer  of  Grand  View,  Manitoba; 
Catherine,  the  wife  of  Henry  Robinson,  a  brother  of  Alexander  Robinson;  and  Joseph, 
deceased.    The  old  Evans  homestead  is  still  in  possession  of  representatives  of  the  family. 

Dr.  Evans  pursued  his  early  education  in  the  schools  of  Brockville,  Ontario,  and  was 
graduated  from  the  grammar  school  with  the  class  of  1862,  wiiile  in  1863  he  completed  a 
course  in  the  provincial  normal  school  at  Toronto,  Canada.  He  afterward  took  up  the  pro- 
fession of  teaching,  which  he  followed  for  several  years  in  Toledo,  Leeds  county,  and  at  the 
end  of  that  period  he  turned  his  attention  to  the  study  of  medicine,  being  graduated  from 
the  College  of  Physicians  &  Surgeons  at  Toronto  in  1869,  winning  his  professional  degree 
at  that  tipie.  He  located  for  the  practice  of  medicine  in  Farmersville,  Leeds  county,  where 
he  remained  for  eighteen  months,  and  then  removed  to  Belleview,  near  Manvel,  in  Grand 
Forks  county,  in  1879.  He  was  the  first  physician  north  of  Grand  Forks  and  there  was  no 
otlier  until  Pembina  was  reached.  There  he  remained  until  the  fall  of  1881  and  on  the 
building  of  the  railroad  he  removed  to  Minto,  where  he  has  since  been  located.  He  is  the 
oldest  ])hysician  now  practicing  in  Grand  Forks  and  Walsh  counties  when  one  counts  the 
length  of  time  devoted  to  the  profession  in  that  locality.  He  belongs  to  the  Grand  F'orks 
Medical  Association  and  he  has  always  kept  in  touch  with  the  trend  of  modern  thought 
and  progress  whereby  the  medical  fraternity  has  come  into  a  broader  and  more  accurate 
knowledge  concerning  the  laws  of  health  and  the  treatment  of  disease. 

Dr.  Evans  has  been  married  twice.  In  Ontario,  Canada,  at  his  old  home,  in  1865,  he 
wedded  Miss  Louise  Kearns,  a  native  of  Leeds  county  and  a  daughter  of  Thomas  and  Louise 
(Raymond)  Kearns,  representatives  of  an  old  pioneer  family  of  Leeds  county.  Mrs.  Evans 
passed  away  in  Minto  in  1882  and  on  the  7th  of  February,  1885,  in  Minto,  Dr.  Evans  wedded 
Miss  Carrie  Marsh,  a  daughter  of  Sidney  and  Mary  (Beardsley)  Marsh,  representatives  of 
an  old  New  York  family.  There  are  two  children  of  this  marriage:  Amy  Marsh,  now  prin- 
cipal of  the  high  school  at  Minto;  and  R.  Mercer  Evans,  D.  D.  S.,  who  is  a  graduate  of  the 
Northwestern  Dental  College  of  Chicago  of  the  class  of  1915  and  is  now  practicing  in 
Grafton,  North  Dakota. 

Politically  Dr.  Evans  is  a  republican  and  has  served  as  mayor  of  Minto  during  one  half 


DR.  ROBEKT  M.   I'A'ANS 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  515 

of  the  period  of  its  existence,  lie  was  elected  tlic  first  county  superintendent  of  schools 
in  Walsh  county  in  1881  and  occupied  that  position  for  twelve  years,  during  which  he 
divided  the  county  into  school  districts  and  afterward  organized  the  educational  system.  At 
the  time  he  resigned,  in  1892,  the  county  had  one  hundred  and  seventeen  school  districts  and 
the  work  of  intellectual  progress  has  heen  carried  steadily  forward  until  Walsh  county  has 
every  reason  to  be  proud  of  its  school  system.  Since  1S'J2  he  has  continuously  been  a  valued 
member  of  the  school  board  of  Minto.  I'raternally  he  became  a  charter  mimbir  of  the 
Independent  Order  of  Foresters,  of  the  Knights  of  Pythias  and  of  the  Masonic  lodge  of 
Alinto.  He  was  made  a  Mason  in  Brockville,  Ontario,  in  1808  and  he  became  a  charter 
member  as  well  of  the  Eastern  Star  chapter  at  iMinto,  serving  at  the  present  time  as  its 
worthy  patron.  He  likewise  belongs  to  the  Knights  Templar  Commandery  at  Grand  Forks 
and  in  his  life  is  a  loyal  adherent  of  the  beneficent  teachings  of  the  craft.  He  belongs  to 
the  Episcopal  church  and  he  also  has  membership  in  the  Commercial  Club,  in  which  con- 
nection he  is  putting  forth  earnest  elFort  to  advance  the  interests  of  the  city.  In  fact  for 
more  than  a  third  of  a  century  he  has  been  a  most  earnest  worker  for  the  benefit  and  upbuild- 
ing of  Walsh  county  and  the  state  and  Ids  labors  have  been  productive  of  splendid  results 
in  the  line  of  material,  intellectual,  political,  social  and  moral  progress.  He  knows  just 
what  it  means  to  practice  upon  the  western  frontier,  for  the  early  days  inured  him  to 
hardships  and  trials.  On  many  occasions  he  would  take  long  drives  in  the  middle  of  the 
night  to  answer  the  call  of  duty  when  the  thermometer  registered  from  forty  to  fifty 
degrees  below  zero.  Through  summer's  heat  also  he  traveled  to  the  bedside  of  his  patients 
and  his  name  is  spoken  of  as  that  of  the  loved  family  physician  in  many  a  household  through 
his  section  of  the  state.  While  he  has  now  passed  the  seventy-second  milestone  on  life's 
journey  there  are  many  who  are  loath  to  give  up  his  professional  services,  so  that  he  yet 
continues   in   active   practice. 


JOHN  STEEN. 


North  Dakota  has  been  fortunate  on  the  whole  in  the  class  of  men  who  have  occupied 
her  public  offices,  for  in  the  main  they  have  been  citizens  of  marked  public  spirit,  loyal  to  the 
best  interests  of  the  commonwealth  and  capable  of  discharging  the  important  and  responsible 
duties  that  devolve  upon  them.  In  this  connection  mention  should  be  made  of  Hon.  John 
Steen,  now  residing  in  Bismarck,  where  he  is  filling  the  ollice  of  .state  treasurer.  He  belongs 
to  that  substantial  class  of  citizens  that  Norway  has  furnished  to  the  northwest— men  who 
have  the  rugged  sterling  qualities  of  their  race,  who  are  strong,  fearless  and  resourceful. 

Jlr.  Steen  was  born  in  Norway,  .luly  28,  1874,  his  parents  being  John  and  Sigrid  Stecn, 
also  natives  of  that  land.  In  the  schools  of  his  native  country  John  Stecn  pursued  his 
education  to  the  age  of  fifteen  years,  when  occurred  a  momentous  event  in  his  life — the 
severing  of  the  ties  that  bound  him  to  his  native  country  and  the  trip  to  the  new  world,  his 
destination  being  North  Dakota,  to  which  state  four  of  his  older  brothers  had  preceded  him. 
After  reaching  the  new  world  he  spent  a  year  in  further  study  in  Minneapolis,  continuing 
his  education  by  a  three  years'  course  at  Devil's  Lake,  North  Dakota,  and  also  in  the  North 
Dakota  Agricultural  College.  He  thus  gained  broad  scientific  knowledge  of  the  best  methods 
of  farming  and  when  his  college  days  were  over  entered  upon  the  practical  work  of  the  fields. 
His  time  and  attention  have  since  been  given  to  agriculture,  which  more  than  a  century  ago 
George  Washington  said  "is  the  most  useful  as  well  as  the  most  honorable  occupation  of 
man."  He  has  seven  hundred  acres  of  land  in  Pierce  county  and  his  energies  have  been 
concentrated  upon  the  development  and  improvement  of  his  farm  according  to  the  most 
modern  methods.  The  result  of  his  efi'orts  is  seen  in  highly  cultivated  fields,  yielding 
substantial  crops  and  is  also  manifest  in  substantial  biiildings  and  other  modern  equipments 
of  the  farm.  In  addition  to  conducting  his  private  farming  interests  he  is  manager  of  the 
Hong  Farmers  Elevator  Company. 

Mr.  Steen  is  a  Lutheran  in  religious  belief,  holding  to  the  faith  of  his  ancestors.  His 
fraternal  relations  connect  him  with  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows  and  with  tlie 
Vol  m— 21 


516  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

Modern  Woodmen  of  America.  His  political  allegiance  has  always  been  given  to  the 
republican  party  since  age  conferred  upon  him  the  right  of  franchise.  His  study  of  the 
questions  and  issues  of  the  day  has  been  broad  and  thorough,  giving  liim  comprehensive 
knowledge  of  political  conditions  and  the  needs  and  demands  of  the  country.  Appreciation 
of  his  ability  on  the  part  of  his  fellow  townsmen  in  his  school  district  led  to  his  election 
to  the  state  legislature  in  1907.  He  proved  a  capable  working  member  of  that  body  and  was 
reelected  in  1909.  Pierce  countj'  further  honored  him  by  electing  him  county  treasurer,  in 
which  office  he  served  for  two  terms,  or  from  1909  until  1915.  His  incumbency  in  that 
position  and  his  legislative  service  indicate  his  fitness  for  higher  official  honors  and  lie  was 
named  for  the  office  of  state  treasurer,  to  which  he  was  elected  in  the  fall  of  1914,  entering 
upon  the  duties  of  the  position  on  the  1st  of  January,  1915,  for  a  two  years'  term.  He  is 
a  faithful  custodian  of  the  public  funds,  is  prompt  and  systematic  in  the  discharge  of  his 
duties  and  his  course  is  winning  him  high  endorsement  from  state  officials  and  the  public 
at  large. 


H.  H.  MAXWELL. 


H.  H.  Maxwell,  who  is  now  serving  his  second  term  aa  county  superintendent  of  schools 
of  Eddy  county,  is  one  of  the  well  known  citizens  of  New  Rockford,  where  he  has  made  his 
home  since  entering  upon  the  duties  of  that  office.  He  was  born  October  18,  1875,  in 
Martinsville,  Indiana,  of  which  state  his  parents,  J.  J.  and  Cynthia  A.  (Hodges)  Maxwell, 
were  also  natives.  Throughout  his  business  career  the  father  followed  farming  in  Indiana 
and  there  died  in  December,  1902.     The  mother  is  still  living. 

On  the  home  farm  H.  H.  Maxwell  passed  his  boyhood  and  youth  in  much  the  usual 
manner  but  was  provided  with  better  educational  advantages  than  the  average  boj-.  After 
attending  the  common  schools  of  Indiana,  he  entered  Butler  University  at  Indianapolis, 
graduating  in  1897.  Later  he  was  a  student  at  the  Cliicago  University  and  completed  a 
course  at  the  Indiana  State  Normal  School,  from  which  he  was  graduated.  Since  that  time 
he  has  devoted  his  attention  to  teaching  and  has  met  with  excellent  success  in  his  chosen 
profession.  For  two  years  he  taught  in  Indiana  and  for  three  years  in  Missouri,  after  which 
he  came  to  North  Dakota  in  1903  and  was  principal  of  the  high  school  at  Valley  City  for 
three  years.  During  the  following  two  years  he  was  superintendent  of  the  Mayville  schools 
and  then  held  a  similar  position  in  reference  to  the  city  schools  of  New  Rockford  for  four 
years.  During  that  time  his  fellow  citizens  recognizing  his  ability  elected  him  county 
superintendent  of  Eddy  county  and  he  is  now  serving  in  that  position  for  a  second  term. 
Under  the  capable  management  the  schools  of  the  county  have  made  steady  advancement 
and  now  rank  among  the  best  in  the  state.  While  in  Mayville  Mr.  Maxwell  also  served  as 
supervisor  of  the  teachers'  training  course  at  the  State  Normal  there. 

On  the  24tli  of  December,  1903,  he  married  Miss  Louise  McCnlly,  a  daughter  of  Walter 
G.  and  Mary  M.  (Miller)  McCully,  who  were  born  in  Missouri  and  are  now  living  in  Columbus, 
Nebraska.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Maxwell  have  three  children:  Howard,  born  December  2,  1903; 
Donald,  born  November  28,  1905;  and  Richard,  born  March  27,  1910.  The  family  attend  the 
Methodist  Episcopal  church,  to  which  the  parents  belong  and  Mr.  Maxwell  is  also  affiliated 
with  the  Masonic  fraternity,  and  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America.  In  politics  he  is  a 
democrat.  His  success  as  an  educator  has  been  marked  and  lie  merits  the  high  esteem 
in  which  he  is  held. 


J.   E.  JOHNSON. 


J.  E.  .Johnson,  cashier  of  the  Security  Bank  of  Sheyenne,  was  born  in  Hampton, 
Franklin  county,  Iowa,  on  the  3d  of  October,  1876,  a  son  of  Iver  and  Bertha  Johnson,  who 
were  natives  of  Norway  and  came  to  the  United  States  about  1861.  After  spending  several 
months  in  Wisconsin,  a  removal  was  made  to  Hampton,  Iowa,  where  Mr.  Johnson  was  for 
several  years  engaged  in  contracting  and  building.     In  1898  he  took  his  family  to  Lanesboro, 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  517 

Miniu'sota,  where  he  Iins  since  lived  retired,  enjoying'  a  rest  wliicli  he  lias  truly  earned  and 
richly  deserves. 

At  the  usual  age  ■!.  E.  Johnson  became  a  ]nii)il  in  the  public  schools  of  Hampton,  Iowa,  and 
afterward  attended  Coe  College  at  Cedar  Kapids,  Iowa.  When  he  had  completed  his  studies 
in  that  institution  he  removed  to  North  Dakota  in  J'"ebruary,  1893,  settling  at  Grafton, 
where  he  secured  employment  as  bookkeeper  and  ollice  man  with  the  Hendriekson  &  OUon 
Company,  a  business  firm  with  varied  interests.  He  remained  wuth  that  firm  for  five  years, 
following  which  he  associated  himself  with  the  McCormick  Harvesting  Machine  Company  in 
their  offices  in  Grand  Forks  and  Fargo.  He  continued  in  the  employ  of  that  firm  for  eight 
years,  a  fact  which  indicates  his  fidelity  as  well  as  capability,  and  in  1906  he  arrived  in 
Sheyenne  to  accept  the  position  of  cashier  in  the  Farmers  &  Merchants  Bank  upon  the 
organization  of  that  institution.  He  entered  the  bank  as  its  first  cashier  and  remained  in 
active  connection  therewith  until  February  1,  in]3,  when  he  resigned  to  organize  the 
Security  Bank  of  Sheyenne,  which  opened  its  doors  on  the  20th  of  March  of  that  year  with 
Mr.  Johnson  as  cashier.  He  is  a  popular  ollicial,  courteous  and  obliging,  doing  everything 
possible  to  further  the  interests  of  the  patrons  of  the  bank  to  a  point  that  will  not  jeopardize 
the  safety  of  the  institution.  His  long  e.xperience  has  made  him  thoroughly  familiar  with  the 
banking  business  in  its  various  departments  and  he  is  contributing  much  to  the  success  of  the 
Security  Bank  of  Sheyenne. 

On  the  -1th  of  March,  1900,  Mr.  Johnson  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Tillie  Xewton, 
of  Grafton,  North  Dakota,  by  whom  he  has  three  children,  namely:  Hazel  H..  Lucille  A. 
and  Newton  E. 

Mr.  Johnson  is  a  republican  and  keeps  well  informed  on  the  questions  and  issues  of  the 
day  but  is  not  an  office  seeker.  He  belongs  to  Century  Lodge,  No.  60,  F.  &  A.  M.,  of  New 
Rockford,  and  to  Carrington  Chapter,  No.  15,  R.  A.  M.  Both  he  and  his  wife  are  members 
of  the  Norwegian  Lutheran  church,  in  the  work  of  which  they  are  actively  interested,  while 
to  its  support  they  make  generous  contribution.  Mr.  Johnson  is  recognized  as  a  man  of  many 
sterling  qualities,  capable,  resourceful  and  energetic.  He  early  recognized  the  truth  of  the 
old  adage,  "there  is  no  excellence  without  labor,"  and  he  also  has  realized  that  success  is  to 
be  won  only  at  the  price  of  earnest,  self-denying  effort.  He  has  therefore  closely  applied 
himself  to  his  business  and  his  trustworthiness,  enterprise  and  initiative  have  enabled  him 
to  reach  a  creditable  and  enviable  place  in  the  banking  circles  of  ICddy  county. 


ED^VIN  T.  SPAFFORD. 


Prominent  among  the  energetic,  farsighted,  capable  and  successful  business  men  of 
Thompson  is  ICdwin  T.  Spafl'ord,  the  president  of  the  Farmers  .State  Bank  and  a  general 
merchant.  He  was  born  in  Minneapolis,  Minnesota,  December  .5,  1860,  a  son  of  David  P.  and 
Hulda  A.  (Townsend)  SpafTord,  who  were  natives  of  Vermont  and  Jfaine  respectively.  At  an 
early  day  the  father  removed  to  the  west,  settling  near  Minneapolis,  whore  he  engaged  in 
logging  and  in  the  lumber  business,  continuing  his  residence  there  up  to  the  time  of  his 
death,  which  occurred  in  1872,  when  he  was  fifty-six  years  of  age.  He  enlisted  for  service 
against  the  Indians  on  the  western  frontier  during  the  period  of  the  Civil  war  and  he 
contributed  in  substantial  measure  to  the  pioneer  development  of  the  district  in  which 
he  lived.  His  widow  survived  him  for  many  years,  passing  away  in  1912  at  the  age  of 
seventy-six.  In  their  family  were  three  children,  of  whom  Edwin  T.  is  the  eldest.  The 
surviving  daughter,  Miss  Lillian  I.  Spafl'ord,  is  a  resident  of  Faribault,  Minnesota. 

In  early  life  Edwin  T.  SpatTord  attended  the  schools  of  St.  .\nthony  and  of  Minneapolis, 
after  wliich  he  engaged  in  the  lumber  business  at  Grand  Forks,  becoming  a  resident  of  North 
Dakota  in  1878.  After  a  year,  however,  he  removed  to  Mallory,  ^Minnesota,  where  he 
engaged  in  the  lumber  business  and  in  general  merchandising  for  a  year  and  a  half.  On 
the  expiration  of  that  period  he  removed  to  Thompson,  but  at  that  time  the  site  of  the 
town  was  bare  of  habitations.  He  established  the  firm  of  Mallory  &  Spafl'ord  and  continued 
in  business  in  that  connection  for  about  twenty-five  years.  After  a  few  years'  residence 
in  Thompson  he  opened  the  general  merchandise  store  which  he  still  conducts,  carrying  on 


518  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

business  on  an  extensive  scale,  having  one  of  the  leading  mercantile  establishments  of  the 
county  outside  of  Grand  Forks.  He  has  other  important  business  connections,  being  president 
of  the  Farmers  State  Bank  of  Thompson,  director  of  the  Citizens  State  Bank  of  Minneapolis 
and  vice  president  of  the  Harriet  State  Bank  of  Minneapolis.  He  also  has  lumber  interests  in 
Oregon  and  is  connected  with  merchandising  at  Box  Elder,  Montana,  under  the  name  of  the 
Valley  Mercantile  Company.  He  also  holds  large  tracts  of  farm  lands  which  he  operates, 
carrying  on  agricultural  interests  on  an  extensive  scale,  and  the  extent  and  importance  of  his 
business  connections  make  him  one  of  the  leading  business  men  and  citizens  of  the  north- 
western part  of  the  state. 

In  February,  1891,  Mr.  Spafford  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Eva  G.  Johnson,  of 
Kasson,  Minnesota.  They  have  become  parents  of  a  daughter,  Helen  J.,  who  was  born  in 
Thompson  in  1893  and  is  a  graduate  of  the  West  high  school. 

F'raternally  Mr.  Spafford  is  a  Mason  and  has  attained  high  rank  in  the  order,  as 
indicated  by  his  membership  in  the  Mystic  Shrine.  His  political  allegiance  is  given  to  the 
republican  party  and  for  a  number  of  years  he  served  as  postmaster  of  Thompson.  His 
career  is  notable  by  reason  of  his  success  and  the  methods  which  he  has  followed.  Starting 
out  in  life  on  his  own  account  when  but  seventeen  years  of  age,  he  not  only  provided  for 
his  own  support  but  also  assisted  in  the  support  of  the  family.  Each  step  which  he  has 
taken  has  been  a  forward  one  and  his  orderly  progression  has  brought  him  into  important 
commercial  and  financial  connections.  The  plans  which  he  has  followed  have  ever  been  such 
as  would  bear  the  closest  investigation  and  scrutiny,  for  at  the  outset  of  his  career  he 
recognized  the  eternal  principle  that  industr_y  wins  and  made  industry  the  beacon  light  of  his 
life.  Through  indefatigable  efl'ort  and  close  application  he  has  won  advancement  that  has 
brought  him  ultimately  to  a  place  among  the  most  prosperous  and  leading  business  men  of  his 
section  of  the  state. 


HON.  CHARLES  JOSEPH  FISK. 

Korth  Dakota  has  reason  to  be  proud  of  the  history  of  her  bench  and  bar,  for  on  the  long 
list  of  legal  p-actitioners  in  the  state  appear  the  names  of  many  who  have  won  distinguished 
honors  and  are  recognized  as  the  equal  of  the  ablest  representatives  of  the  profession  elsewhere. 
Judge  Cliarles  Joseph  Fisk  is  one  who  has  carved  his  name  high  on  the  keystone  of  the  legal 
arch  and  since  1907  he  has  been  one  of  those  who  make  up  the  personnel  of  the  supreme 
court,  being  now  chief  justice,  thereby  filling  the  highest  office  in  connection  with  the 
state's  highest  tribunal.  He  was  born  in  Whiteside  county,  Illinois,  March  11,  1862,  a  son 
of  Clark  S.  and  Adelia  E.  (Reynolds)  Fisk,  the  former  a  native  of  Pennsylvania,  born  in 
1832,  and  the  latter  a  native  of  Vermont.  The  father  died  in  1897  and  the  mother  has  also 
passed  away.     Tlie  Fisk  family  comes  of  English  ancestry. 

After  attending  the  common  schools,  Judge  Fisk  continued  his  education  in  the  Northern 
Illinois  College  at  Fulton,  Illinois,  and  was  admitted  to  practice  at  the  bar  of  North  Dakota 
in  1886.  He  first  opened  an  office  at  Larimore  and  afterward  became  an  attorney  of  Grand 
Forks.  His  ability  brought  him  almost  immediately  into  professional  prominence.  It  was 
recognized  that  as  a  lawyer  he  was  sound,  clear  minded  and  well  trained.  He  proved  himself 
a  strong  advocate  with  the  jury  and  was  concise  in  his  appeals  before  the  court.  He  displayed 
what  seemed  to  be  a  natural  discrimination  as  to  legal  ethics  and  was  found  to  be  so 
thoroughly  well  read  in  the  minutiae  of  the  law  that  he  was  able  to  base  his  arguments  upon 
thorough  knowledge  of  and  familiarity  with  precedents  and  to  present  a  case  upon  its 
merits,  never  failing  to  recognize  the  main  points  at  issue  and  never  neglecting  to  give  a 
thorough  preparation.  It  naturally  followed  that  professional  honors  and  advancement  came 
to  him.  In  1893  he  was  made  secretary  of  the  commission  to  revise  the  seven  codes  of  the 
state  and  continued  to  act  in  that  capacity  until  1895.  He  was  also  city  attorney  of  Grand 
Forks  from  1893  until  1895  and  in  1897  judicial  honors  were  conferred  upon  liim  by  his 
election  to  the  bench  of  the  first  judicial  court  of  North  Dakota,  whereon  he  served  for  ten 
years.  On  the  expiration  of  that  period  he  was  elected  supreme  court  judge  of  North  Dakota 
and  continues  upon  the  bench. 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  519 

On  the  20th  of  October,  1S86,  in  Sterling,  Illinois,  Judge  Fisk  was  united  in  marriage 
to  Miss  Ida  M.  Myers,  and  they  have  two  children,  Helen  M.  and  Doris  May.  Judge  and 
Mrs.  I'isk  attend  the  Methodist  Episcopal  churdi  and  Iraternally  he  is  a  Scottish  Kite  and 
Mystic  h^hrine  Mason  and  also  a  charter  member  of  the  Elks  Lodge,  Xo.  25.J,  at  Grand 
Forks.  He  likewise  belongs  to  the  Commercial  Club  at  Grand  Forks.  His  political  allegiance 
has  always  been  given  to  the  democratic  party  and  he  has  been  a  close  student  of  the 
important  political,  sociological  and  economic  ijuestions  and  interests  of  the  day.  In  this 
wide  general  information  is  found  one  of  the  strong  elements  of  his  power  and  ability  as 
lawyer  and  jurist.  The  broad  knowledge  enables  him  to  understand  life  in  its  various 
phases,  the  motive  springs  of  human  conduct  and  the  complexity  of  business  interests, 
which,  combined  with  a  comprehensive  familiarity  with  statutory  law  and  with  precedent 
make  him  one  of  the  ablest  judges  who  have  sat  upon  the  appellate  bench  of  North  Dakota. 


CLEMENT  P.  O'BRIEN. 


Clement  P.  O'Brien,  cashier  of  the  Farmers  Security  Bank  of  Park  River,  was  born  in 
Waukon,  Iowa,  on  the  8th  of  February,  1890.  His  father,  Patrick  O'Brien,  a  native  of  Ireland, 
came  to  the  United  States  in  1859,  making  his  way  to  Iowa,  where  he  cast  in  his  lot  among 
the  pioneer  settlers.  There  he  resided  until  1901,  when  he  removed  to  Park  River,  where  he 
now  makes  his  home.  For  a  long  period  he  was  connected  with  farming  but  is  now  living 
retired.  He  wedded  Mary  Kelleher,  a  native  of  Pennsylvania  and  of  Irish  descent.  Her 
parents  became  pioneer  residents  of  Iowa  and  there  Mrs.  O'Brien  was  reared,  educated  and 
married.  She  became  the  mother  of  si.\teen  children,  of  whom  Clement  P.  is  the  twelfth  in 
order  of  birth. 

^^'hen  a  youth  of  eleven  years  Clement  P.  O'Brien  accompanied  his  parents  on  their 
removal  to  this  state  and  attended  the  public  schools  of  Park  River.  After  leaving  the 
high  school  he  became  a  student  in  a  commercial  school  of  Minneapolis.  His  early  life  had 
been  spent  upon  the  farm  with  the  usual  experiences  of  the  farm  bred  boy  and  after  his 
education  was  completed  he  secured  the  position  of  bookkeeper  with  the  J.  J.  O'Brien  Land 
Company  of  Grafton,  with  which  he  remained  for  two  years.  On  the  expiration  of  that 
period  he  became  assistant  cashier  in  the  F'armers'  Security  Bank  of  Park  River  and  was 
elected  to  the  office  of  cashier  in  August,  1916,  being  the  fust  incumbent  in  that  position. 

On  the  1st  of  July,  1916,  in  Winnipeg,  Canada,  Mi-.  O'Brien  was  married  to  Miss  Florence 
Daughcrty,  a  native  of  Park  River  and  a  daughter  of  J.  J.  Daugherty,  formerly  postmaster 
of  Park  River  and  one  of  the  early  settlers  of  that  section  of  the  state. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  O'Brien  are  communicants  of  the  Roman  Catholic  church  and  lie  belongs 
also  to  the  Knights  of  Columbus.  In  politics  he  is  a  democrat  and  he  has  membership  in 
the  Commercial  Club,  taking  an  active  and  helpful  interest  in  promoting  the  welfare  of  his 
city  through  the  organized  efforts  of  the  club  to  further  its  upbuilding  and  advance  its 
improvement. 


SVERRE  G.  SEVERTSON. 


Occupying  a  foremost  position  among  the  bankers  of  North  Dakota  is  Sverre  G. 
Severtson,  who  is  now  serving  as  cashier  of  the  First  National  Bank  of  Sheyenne.  He  was 
born  on  the  10th  of  January,  1866,  in  Trondhjem,  Norway,  and  is  a  son  of  John  and  Gertrude 
(Kindseth)  Severtson,  who  spent  their  entire  lives  in  the  land  of  the  midnight  sun. 
There  the   father   died  in   1908,  and   the  mother   passed   away   in    1915. 

Reared  in  Norway,  Sverre  G.  Severtson  was  given  good  educational  advantages  and  was 
graduated  from  the  high  school  of  Trondhjem  with  the  class  of  1882.  Three  years  later  he 
bade  adieu  to  home  and  native  land  and  sailed  for  the  new  world.  He  first  located  in 
Minneapolis,  Minnesota,  where  he  accepted  a  position  in  a  bank  and  was  afterward  connected 
with  different  banking  institutions  in  that  city  until  1893,  when  he  was  appointed  cashier 


520  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

of  the  city  treasury  department  of  Minneapolis,  serving  in  that  responsible  position  until 
January,  1900,  when  he  resigned.  So  well  were  his  services  appreciated  that  he  was  presented 
with  resolutions  of  regret  on  his  resignation. 

On  his  retirement  from  that  office  Mr.  Severtson  removed  to  Sheyenne,  North  Dakota, 
and  took  charge  of  the  Bank  of  Sheyenne,  which  had  just  been  organized  but  which  in 
1907  was  converted  into  the  First  National  Bank.  He  has  served  as  its  cashier  since  1900 
with  the  exception  of  two  years  when  he  filled  the  position  of  state  bank  examiner  from 
March,  1913,  to  May,  1915.  He  then  resumed  his  duties  as  cashier  of  the  First  National 
Bank  of  Sheyenne  and  under  his  management  it  has  become  one  of  the  leading  financial 
institutions  of  that  part  of  the  state.  Its  capital  is  twenty-five  thousand  dollars;  its  surplus 
eight  thousand  dollars;  its  deposits  two  hundred  and  seventeen  thousand  dollars  and  its  loans 
one  hundred  and  forty-eight  thousand  dollars.  Its  other  officers  are  D.  N.  Tallman,  of  Willmar, 
Minnesota,  president;  0.  C.  Oefstdahl,  C.  W.  Brolin  and  H.  P.  Halverson,  vice  presidents;  and 
J.  O.  Severtson,  assistant  cashier.  S.  G.  Severtson  is  the  owner  of  four  hundred  and  eight 
acres  of  improved  farm  land  in  Eddy  county  and  is  a  stockholder  of  the  Sheyenne  Elevator 
Company. 

On  the  20th  of  May,  1893,  Mr.  Severtson  married  Miss  Bertha  M.  Olsen,  and  they  have 
become  the  parents  of  three  children:  J.  Osborn,  now  serving  as  assistant  cashier  of  the 
First  National  Bank  of  Sheyenne;  Gladys  M.,  a  stenographer  in  the  state  examiner's  office 
at  Bismarck:  and  Bertha  N.,  who  is  attending  high  school  in  Sheyenne. 

Since  becoming  a  naturalized  citizen  Mr.  Severtson  has  affiliated  with  the  republican 
party,  and  his  church  connection  is  with  the  Lutheran  denomination.  He  has  taken  the 
thirty-second  degree  in  the  Masonic  fraternity  and  is  a  member  of  Zuhrah  Temple  at 
Minneapolis.  He  is  also  a  Knight  Templar  and  belongs  to  the  Benevolent  Protective  Order 
of  Elks  at  Jamestown,  North  Dakota;  and  the  Ancient  Order  of  United  Workmen  at 
Sheyenne.  His  prominence  in  banking  circles  makes  him  one  of  the  leading  citizens  of 
Sheyenne.  He  is  a  man  of  excellent  business  and  executive  ability  who  plans  wisely  and  is 
able  to  carry  forward  to  successful  completion  whatever  he  undertakes. 


JUDGE  FRANZ  S.  KELLOGG. 

Franz  S.  Kellogg,  a  ranchman  of  McKenzie  county,  extensively  engaged  in  cattle  r:iis- 
ing  and  in  the  production  of  flax,  was  born  In  Ashtabula  county,  Ohio,  May  7,  1864,  a  son 
of  Oliver  P.  and  Zillah  (Cole)  Kellogg.  The  father  was  born  in  the  state  of  New  York 
but  became  an  earlj'  resident  of  Ohio  and  supplemented  his  early  education  by  study  in 
Hiram  College  at  Portage,  Ohio,  from  which  he  was  in  due  time  graduated.  He  then  took 
up  farming  in  Ashtabula  county  and  afterward  became  one  of  the  earlj-  stockmen  of  Colo- 
rado and  also  of  Sundance,  Wyoming,  locating  there  in  territorial  days.  He  became  a  most 
prominent  and  influential  citizen  as  well  as  pioneer  ranchman  and  was  speaker  of  the  first 
house  of  representatives  following  the  admission  of  the  state  into  the  Union.  After  long 
connection  with  ranching  interests  in  Wyoming  he  returned  to  Ohio  and  he  and  his  wife  are 
now  living  retired  in  the  town  of  Rock  Ci-eek,  Ashtabula  county. 

Spending  his  youthful  days  in  his  native  state,  Franz  S.  Kellogg  there  acquired  his 
education,  being  graduated  from  Mount  Union  College,  and  in  1884,  when  twenty  j^ears  of 
age,  went  to  Colorado  as  a  ranchman.  He  remained  there  for  three  years  and  in  1887 
removed  to  Sundance,  Wj'oming,  where  he  became  interested  in  a  large  ranch.  He,  too, 
figured  prominently  in  the  public  life  of  that  community  and  was  state  land  commissioner 
of  Wyoming  and  also  a  member  of  the  board  of  control  of  the  state.  In  1901  he  left 
Wyoming  to  remove  to  North  Dakota,  making  his  way  to  McKenzie  county.  He  established 
a  cattle  ranch  on  the  Fort  Berthold  Indian  reservation,  where  he  has  since  remained.  He  is 
today  one  of  the  most  prominent  ranchmen  of  the  western  part  of  the  state  and  following 
the  fall  round-up  of  1916  made  extensive  shipments  of  cattle  to  Chicago.  He  also  sells  a 
large  amount  of  flax  annually  and  the  extent  and  importance  of  his  business  interests  make 
liim  one  of  the  most  prominent  business  men  of  McKenzie  county. 

On  the  20th  of  February,  1888,  at  Sterling,  Colorado,  .Judge  Kellogg  was  united  in  mar- 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  523 

riage  to  Miss  Lulu  Rockliill,  who  was  born  in  Klaik  county,  Ohio,  and,  like  her  husband, 
is  a  graduate  of  Afount  Union  College  of  Ohio,  after  which  she  became  a  teacher  in  the 
schools  of  Wyoming.  Five  children  liave  been  born  to  the  Judge  and  ilrs.  Kellogg:  Frances, 
the  wife  of  George  Shafer;   Bryant;   Perry;   Clement;   and  Thomas. 

In  politics  Judge  Kellogg  is  a  republican  and  was  chosen  the  first  county  judge  of 
McKenzie  county,  wliich  position  he  filled  for  two  terms.  He  became  a  charter  memb<'r  of 
Holyoke  Lodge,  No.  76,  I.  O.  0.  F.,  at  Holyoke,  Colorado,  and  afterward  joined  Schafer  Lodge, 
I.  0.  0.  F.,  on  its  organization.  He  makes  his  home  in  Schafer,  from  which  point  he  super- 
intends his  ranching  interests,  which  are  now  extensive  and  important,  giving  him  rank 
with  the  leading  business  men  of  his  section  of  the  state.  He  is  a  big  man  physically  and 
mentally.  There  is  nothing  narrow  nor  contracted  in  his  make-up  and  his  broad-mindedness 
is  manifest  in  all  that  he  does  and  especially  in  his  position  regarding  public  questions  of 
widespread   and   vital   interest. 


WILLIAM  CROZIER  FAWCETT,  M.  D. 

Dr.  William  Ciozier  Fawcctt,  a  phj-sician  and  surgeon  practicing  at  Starkweather,  was 
born  near  London,  Ontario,  on  the  IGth  of  June,  1878,  a  son  of  S.  W.  and  Augusta  (Crozier) 
Fawcett.     The  mother  is  now  living  in  Canada  but  the  father  has  passed  away. 

In  his  native  city  Dr.  Fawcett  pursued  his  early  education,  passing  through  consecutive 
grades  to  the  high  school.  Determining  upon  the  practice  of  medicine  as  a  life  work,  hft 
afterward  entered  the  Western  Medical  College  at  London,  Ontario,  Canada,  and  was  there 
graduated  in  1901.  His  initial  practical  experience  came  to  him  as  interne  in  St.  Joseph's 
Hospital  at  London,  Canada,  and  he  entered  upon  the  private  practice  of  medicine  at  Dray- 
ton, North  Dakota,  where  he  remained  for  a  year.  In  1903  he  removed  to  Starkweather.  He 
is  the  only  physician  of  the  town  and  has  always  been  accorded  a  liberal  patronage  by  his 
fellow  townsmen  and  the  people  of  the  surrounding  country.  For  a  number  of  years  he  has 
also  been  interested  in  the  automobile  business. 

On  the  1st  of  August,  190.5,  Dr.  Fawcett  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Edith  M. 
ilaywood,  of  Toronto,  Ontario,  Canada.  Their  religious  belief  is  that  of  the  Methodist 
church  and  in  politics  Dr.  Fawcett  is  a  republican,  believing  firmly  in  the  principles  of  the 
party  as  factors  in  good  government.  He  has  served  as  president  of  the  town  board,  as  a 
member  of  the  school  board  and  as  district  health  officer.  He  has  long  been  a  champion  of 
the  good  roads  movement  and  of  various  plans  for  the  welfare  and  upbuilding  of  the  dis- 
trict but  concentrates  his  efforts  and  attention  most  largely  upon  his  practice  and  from  time 
to  time  takes  post  graduate  work  to  keep  abreast  with  the  trend  of  modern  thought  and 
])rogress  in  professional  circles. 


HON.  S.  N.  PUTNAAL 


Hon.  S.  N.  Putnam,  ranking  with  the  foremost  business  men  of  New  Rockford,  is  the 
owner  of  a  large  lumber  yard,  in  which  connection  he  has  developed  a  trade  of  gratifj'ing 
proportions.  In  his  life  he  exemplifies  the  spirit  of  western  enterprise  which  has  been  the 
dominant  factor  in  the  upbuilding  of  this  section  of  the  country.  He  was  born  at  Big 
Lake,  ilinnesota.  on  the  28th  of  ilarcli,  1801,  and  is  a  son  of  Henry  T.  and  Caroline  (Newton) 
Putnam,  both  of  whom  were  natives  of  Massachusetts,  where  they  were  reared  and  mar- 
ried. In  1856  they  removed  to  Big  Lake,  Minnesota,  where  Mr.  Putnam  engaged  in  farming, 
and  subsequently  he  took  up  his  abode  on  Maine  Prairie,  Minnesota,  where  for  some  years 
he  devoted  his  attention  to  merchandising.  He  afterward  became  a  resident  of  Ottertail 
cotmty.  Minnesota,  where  he  renewed  active  connection  with  farming  interests,  and  there  he 
resided  to  the  time  of  his  death. 

S.  N.  Putnam  pursued  a  public  school  education  and  afterward  attended  the  St.  Cloud 
(Minn.)  Normal  School,  from  which  he  was  graduated  with  the  class  of  1880.    He  afterward 


524  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

pursued  a  partial  law  course  in  the  University  of  ilinnesota,  and  while  he  has  never  engaged  in 
law  practice,  his  knowledge  of  the  principles  of  jurisprudence  has  been  of  value  to  him  -in 
the  conduct  of  his  business  afl'airs.  In  1883  he  arrived  in  Dakota  territory  and  filed  on  a 
homestead  in  Eddy  county,  near  Tiflfany.  There  he  taught  school  for  a  period  and  later  was 
elected  county  superintendent  of  schools,  after  which  he  removed  to  New  Rockford  and 
served  for  two  terms  in  the  county  superintendent's  office.  Later  he  was  elected  and  served 
for  three  terms  in  the  office  of  the  county  register  of  deeds,  his  frequent  reelections  indicating 
the  marked  fidelity  and  capability  with  which  he  discharged  the  duties  devolving  upon  him. 
While  acting  in  that  capacity  he  also  engaged  in  the  abstract  business,  in  which  he  con- 
tinued following  his  retuement  from  the  register's  office  at  the  close  of  his  third  term.  In 
1911  he  established  a  lumber  yard  in  New  Kockford  and  through  that  connection  has  since 
been  prominently  identified  with  the  commercial  interests  of  the  city.  He  carries  a  larwe 
supply  of  building  materials  of  all  kinds  and  his  lumber  trade  is  now  extensive,  making 
his  business  a  prosperous  one. 

In  1888  Mr.  Putnam  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Grace  Brown,  of  Tiffany,  North 
Dakota,  and  to  them  was  born  one  child,  who,  however,  is  now  deceased.  j\Irs.  Putnam  is 
a  graduate  of  the  Mayville  Normal  School  and  of  the  University  of  North  Dakota  and  is  a- 
lady  of  broad  and  liberal  culture  and  of  innate  refinement.  She  has  done  much  to  promote 
intellectual  and  moral  progress  in  the  community  and  her  labors  and  influence  have  con- 
stituted a  forceful  element  in  advancing  those  things  which  are  of  cultural  value.  She  was 
elected  county  superintendent  of  schools  in  Eddy  county  and  occupied  that  position  in  a 
most  creditable  manner  for  three  terms.  She  was  the  first  chairman  of  the  Minerva  Club 
of  New  Rockford  and  is  district  vice  president  of  the  North  Dakota  Federation  of  Women's 
Clubs.    She  is  also  quite  active  in  church  work. 

Mr.  Putnam  has  been  an  influential  factor  in  political  circles  for  a  long  period,  giving 
support  to  the  republican  party.  In  the  fall  of  1906  he  was  elected  a  member  of  the  state 
legislature  and  was  reelected  in  1908,  serving  for  two  terms  in  the  house  of  representatives, 
after  which  he  was  chosen  in  1910  a  member  of  the  state  senate  from  his  district  and  was 
reelected  in  1912,  so  that  he  remained  for  four  years  in  the  upper  house  of  the  general 
assembly.  He  gave  most  thoughtful  and  earnest  consideration  to  all  vital  questions  which 
came  up  for  settlement  and  his  aid  and  influence  were  always  on  the  side  of  progressive 
and  constructive  legislation.  In  community  affairs  he  is  also  active,  being  a  member  of  the 
present  board  of  aldermen  of  New  Rockford,  while  at  all  times  his  support  can  be  counted 
upon  to  further  measures  and  movements  for  the  general  good.  He  is  prominent  in  Masonic 
circles,  his  membership  being  in  Century  Lodge,  No.  60,  F.  &  A.  M.;  Carrington  Chapter, 
R.  A.  M.;  and  Zion  Commandery,  K.  T.  He  also  belongs  to  El  Zagal  Temple,  A.  A.  0.  N.  M.  S., 
and  he  and  his  wife  hold  membership  in  the  Congregational  church.  Their  influence  has 
ever  been  a  force  for  progress  and  improvement  and  their  efforts  have  been  widely  resultant. 


CHARLES  W.  McGEE. 


Charles  W.  McGee,  a  pioneer  merchant  of  Ray,  where  he  is  now  conducting  a  well  estab- 
lished and  liberally  patronized  store,  was  born  in  Indianola,  Iowa,  September  19,  1870,  a  son 
of  James  and  Mary  McGee,  who  were  natives  of  West  Virginia  and  became  early  settlers  of 
Iowa,  where  they  took  up  their  abode  in  1860.  The  father  was  a  farmer  by  occupation  and 
both  he  and  his  wife  continued  their  residence  in  Iowa  until  called  to  their  final  rest. 

Cliarles  W.  McGee  was  educated  in  the  district  schools  of  Warren  county,  Iowa,  and  in 
the  Indianola  high  school,  followed  by  study  in  Simpson  College  at  Indianola.  He  made  his 
initial  step  in  the  business  world  as  clerk  in  a  clothing  store  at  Perry,  Iowa,  where  he 
remained  until  1902,  when  he  came  to  Williams  county  and  homesteaded  near  Ray.  For 
more  than  fourteen  years  he  has  now  been  identified  with  this  section  of  the  state.  In 
February,  190.3,  he  established  a  general  store  at  Ray,  where  he  is  still  conducting  business, 
and  he  is  today  the  oldest  merchant  in  the  town.  His  business  has  developed  along  sub- 
stantial lines  until  he  now  enjoys  a  very  substantial  and  gratifying  trade.  He  has  always 
made  it  his  purpose  to  carry  in  stock  the  latest  products  of  the  manufacturer  and,  study- 


HISTORY  OF  NORT\I  DAKOTA  525 

iii<'  the  market,  he  has  been  able  to  make  judicious  purchases  and  profitable  sales.  Mr. 
McGee  owns  about  fourteen  hundred  acres  of  land  near  liay,  which  he  rents.  He  is  a  director 
of  the  First  State  Bank  of  Ray  and  was  one  of  the  incorporators  and  managers  of  tlie  Ray 
Klevator  Company,  which  shipped  the  first  carload  of  grain  from  that  place. 

On  the  23d  of  November,  1904,  near  Ray,  Mr.  ifcGee  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss 
Minnie  Myrah,  who  was  born  at  Spring  Grove,  Minneiiota,  a  daughter  of  Ole  J.  Myrah,  who 
is  also  a  native  of  Spring  Grove  and  became  one  of  the  early  settlers  of  Arthur,  North 
Dakota,  where  he  and  his  wife  now  reside,  his  attention  being  given  to  general  agricultural 
pursuits.  Jlrs.  McGee  spent  her  girlhood  days  in  Minnesota  and  at  Arthur,  North  Dakota, 
and  afterward  removed  to  Williams  county,  where  she  secured  a  homestead.  By  her  mar- 
riage she  has  become  the  mother  of  three  children,  Charles  Owen,  Grace  Evelyn  and  Horace, 
all  natives  of  Ray. 

Jlr.  and  Mrs.  McGee  are  members  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  church  and  loyally  adhere 
to  its  teachings.  Mr.  McGee  belongs  to  the  Masonic  lodge,  to  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd 
Fellows  and  to  the  Knights  of  Pythias  and  in  the  last  named  is  a  past  chancellor  com- 
mander. Politically  he  is  a  republican  and  is  now  one  of  the  city  commissioners  of  Ray. 
He  was  also  treasurer  of  the  school  board  for  many  years  and  he  has  been  an  active  par- 
ticipant in  many  of  the  well  defined  plans  and  measures  for  the  upbuilding  of  the  city  and 
the  promotion  of  its  interests,  especially  along  lines  of  civic  improvement  and  betterment. 


GILBERT  C.  BJONE. 


Gilbert  C.  Bjone,  actively  engaged  in  farming  on  section  2,  Black  Loam  township, 
Lamoure  county,  was  born  in  Norway,  August  6,  1862,  and  is  a  son  of  Christian  and  Kjariste 
(Sorom)  Bjone.  The  father,  who  was  a  farmer  by  occupation  and  always  followed  that 
pursuit  to  provide  for  his  family,  died  in  Norway,  but  the  mother  is  still  living  at  the  age 
of  eighty-four  years. 

Gilbert  C.  Bjone  is  indebted  to  the  public  schools  of  his  native  country  for  the  educational 
opportunities  which  he  enjoyed.  The  reports  which  reached  him  concerning  the  opportuni- 
ties of  the  new  world  determined  him  to  try  his  fortune  in  America  and  in  1881,  when 
nineteen  years  of  age,  he  bade  adieu  to  friends  and  native  land  and  sailed  for  the  United 
States.  He  did  not  tarry  on  the  eastern  coast  but  at  once  continued  westward  to  Fergus 
Falls,  Minnesota,  where  he  worked  for  an  uncle  for  a  year.  In  1882  he  removed  to  Kindred, 
Cass  county,  North  Dakota,  where  he  also  spent  a  year  and  in  1883  he  arrived  in  Lamoure 
county,  where  his  brother  Simon  was  then  living,  having  homesteaded  here,  his  claim 
embracing  the  farm  upon  which  Gilbert  C.  Bjone  now  resides.  In  1886  the  latter  purchased 
his  first  quarter  section  of  land  and  in  1891  he  bought  his  brother's  homestead,  upon  which 
he  has  lived  since  coming  to  Lamoure  county.  Other  purchases  have  been  made  from  time 
to  time  until  his  holdings  now  embrace  nine  hundred  and  sixty  acres  of  as  fine  farm  land 
as  can  be  found  in  the  state,  and  he  is  numbered  among  the  most  successful  agiiculturists 
and  substantial  citizens  of  his  county.  His  home  farm  is  splendidly  improved  and  cultivated. 
His  residence  is  equipped  with  hot  water  heat,  lighted  with  gas  and  has  all  the  modern 
conveniences  and  improvements  of  a  city  home.  His  barn  is  one  of  the  largest  in  the  state 
and  sheds  and  other  outbuildings  furnish  ample  shelter  for  giain.  stock  and  farm  machinery. 
He  utilizes  the  latest  improved  agricultural  implements  and  in  cultivating  his  farm  employs 
the  most  progressive  methods,  so  that  his  place  now  presents  a  most  attractive  appearance. 
In  1916  he  and  his  brother  Hans  organized  the  Farmers  &  ;Nrcrchants  State  Bank  of  Verona, 
of  which  Jlr.  Bjone  is  the  president. 

In  1889  occurred  the  marriage  of  Gilbert  C.  Bjone  and  Miss  Abilena  Olson,  a  native  of 
Norway,  who  came  to  the  United  States  with  her  parents  in  her  girlhood  days,  and  by  her 
marriage  she  has  become  the  mother  of  one  child,  Hannah.  Mr.  Bjone  votes  with  the  repub- 
lican party,  believing  firmly  in  its  principles  as  forceful  factors  in  good  government.  He 
served  for  several  years  as  a  member  of  the  town  board  and  he  cooperates  in  any  plan  and 
measure  which  he  deems  of  worth  to  the  community.  He  and  his  wife  are  members  of 
the   Norwegian   Lutheran   church   and   he   is   identified   with   Litchville   Lodge,   F.   &   A.   M., 


526  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

manifesting  in  his  life  the  beneficent  spirit  of  the  craft,  which  is  based  upon  the  principles 
of  mutual  helpfulness  and  brotherly  kindness.  Coming  to  the  new  world  in  early  manhood, 
he  has  never  regretted  his  decision  to  try  his  fortune  on  this  side  the  Atlantic,  for  here  he 
found  the  opportunities  which  he  sought  and  in  their  utilization  has  gained  a  place  among 
the  prosperous  citizens  of  his  adopted  country.  Moreover,  his  life  record  indicates  what 
may  be  accomplished  when  there  is  a  will  to  dare  and  to  do  and  shows  that  success  and  an 
honored  name  may  be  won  simultaneously. 


CHARLES  OSCAR  POPE  SMITH. 

Charles  Oscar  Pope  Smith,  a  chiropractor  of  Valley  City  who  displays  notable  ability 
in  the  path  of  his  profession,  was  born  in  Susquehanna,  Pennsylvania,  November  27,  1869, 
a  son  of  Albert  and  Marion  (Pope)  Smith.  The  father  was  born  in  Waverly,  New  York, 
and  the  mother  in  Susquehanna,  Pennsylvania.  The  ancestry  of  the  Pope  family  is  traced 
back  to  the  Mayflower  and  some  of  their  descendants  settled  in  Vermont  and  others  in 
New  Jersey.  Representatives  of  the  latter  branch  went  to  Ohio,  founding  the  well  known 
Pope  family  of  Toledo.  The  maternal  grandfather  of  Dr.  Smith  was  Daniel  Robeson  Pope, 
a  man  of  great  energy  and  force  of  character  who  bought  timber  land  which  he  cleared  and 
developed  into  farms  that  he  sold.  He  repeated  that  operation  half  a  dozen  times  and  won 
success  in  his  undertaking.  At  various  periods  he  also  owned  and  operated  sawmills  and 
was  an  active,  energetic  business  man  whose  labors  were  attended  with  prosperity.  His  wife 
was  a  member  of  the  Thayer  family  of  old  colonial  stock.  Her  father  was  a  thirty-third 
degree  Mason,  therefore  a  most  prominent  representative  of  the  order.  He  conducted  a  gen- 
era! store  at  Toad  Hill,  Susquehanna  county,  Pennsylvania,  before  the  railroad  was  built 
through,  and  once  a  year  he  went  to  New  York  to  buy  goods  which  were  shipped  by  canal 
and  horse  team  to  their  destination. 

Albert  Smith  was  but  a  young  boy  at  the  time  of  his  father's  death.  He  took  up  the 
study  of  telegraphy  and  was  one  of  the  first  operators  to  read  by  sound.  At  an  early 
day  he  was  train  dispatcher  on  the  Erie  Railroad  and  later  he  joined  the  forces  of  the 
Delaware  &  Hudson  Canal  &  Railroad  Company,  in  which  he  lield  various  important 
positions  calling  for  executive  ability  and  administrative  direction.  He  was  thus  engao-ed 
until  1890,  when  he  removed  to  Nevada,  where  he  became  interested  in  mining  properties 
but  three  years  later  passed  away  at  the  comparatively  early  age  of  fifty  years. 

Dr.  Smith,  an  only  child,  attended  school,  at  Esperance,  New  York,  and  later  at  Adams- 
ville,  that  state,  while  he  completed  his  higli  school  course  at  Albany,  New  York.  He  then 
engaged  in  railroad  work,  which  he  followed  for  more  than  a  quarter  of  a  century  in 
connection  with  the  express  department,  being  a  representative  of  the  National  Express 
Company  from  1885  until  1905.  In  the  following  year  he  arrived  in  Valley  City.  He  had 
previously  occupied  a  joint  office  where  he  had  charge  of  the  interests  of  the  National  and 
of  the  Northern  Express  Companies,  and  upon  removing  to  Valley  City  he  became  manacer 
for  the  latter  company  and  so  continued  for  several  years. 

Not  long  after  his  arrival,  however,  he  took  up  the  study  of  drugless  healing  and  he 
pursued  a  course  in  mecliano-tlierapy  in  Chicago  in  the  American  College  of  Mechano- 
Therapy,  from  wliich  he  was  giaduated  in  1913.  The  following  year  he  was  graduated 
from  the  National  School  of  Cliiropractic  and  since  1913  he  has  been  successfully  and 
continuously  engaged  in  practice  in  Valley  City,  where  he  is  now  accorded  an  extensive 
patronage.  While  studying  chiropractic  he  received  special  credits  for  his  work  and  since 
his  graduation  has  received  special  credits  for  post  graduate  work.  He  is  a  hard  student, 
giving  thoughtful  attention  to  the  mastery  of  every  problem  and  plan  which  seems  to 
promote  the   success   of  his   practice. 

In  September,  1905,  Dr.  Smith  was  married  to  Miss  Myrtle  B.  Myers,  of  Grand  Rapids, 
Michigan,  and  they  have  become  parents  of  two  children,  Charles  and  Grenville.  Both  Dr. 
and  Mrs.  Smith  are  widely  and  favorably  known  in  Valley  City,  where  the  hospitality  of 
many  of  the  best  homes  is  cordially  extended  them.  The  Doctor  is  a  Mason  and  an  Elk 
and    is   also   identified    with    the   Knights   of    Pythias.      He   belongs    to    the   North    Dakota 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  529 

(.liirupiactoi-s  Association  and  he  is  in  thorough  sympathy  with  the  stringent  laws  which 
have  established  a  high  standard  of  professional  skill  and  ability  for  the  followers  of  that 
method  of  healing.  Ue  is  a  student  of  his  profession  at  all  times,  a  courteous,  genial  gentle- 
man and  a  man  of  pleasing  personality  and  lie  has  gained  many  friends  and  won  pro- 
fessional success. 


JOSEPH   C.   KOWALSKI. 


.Joseph  C.  Kowalski  is  the  senior  partner  in  tlie  firm  of  Kowalski  &  Everson,  grocers 
of  Park  River,  where  he  has  lived  since  1903.  lie  was  born  in  Mapleton,  Minnesota,  March 
9,  1886,  a  son  of  Philip  and  Pauline  (Kinsok)  Kowalski,  both  of  whom  are  natives  of 
Breslau,  Germany.  Soon  after  their  marriage  they  came  to  the  new  world,  settling  in  Min- 
nesota, where  the  father  engaged  in  farming  for  a  long  period  and  the  careful  management 
of  his  business  affairs  brought  to  him  the  substantial  success  that  now  permits  him  to  live 
retired.  He  is  making  his  home  in  Moorhead,  Minnesota,  at  the  age  of  sixty-two  years, 
while  his  wife  has  reached  the  age  of  fiftysi.x.  In  their  family  were  ten  children,  of  whom 
one  son,  Frank,  is  now  deceased.  The  others  are:  Barbara,  the  wife  of  Albert  Johnson,  of 
Juneberry,  Minnesota;  Philip,  residing  in  Jfoorhead,  Minnesota;  John,  a  resident  of  Scobey, 
Montana;  Andrew,  of  Moorhead.  Minnesota;  Annie,  of  Venturia,  North  Dakota;  Peter; 
Michael;  and  Hattie,  who  is  living  in  Moorhead,  Minnesota. 

Of  this  family  Joseph  C.  Kowalski  was  the  second  in  order  of  birth.  In  early  life  he 
attended  the  schools  of  Mapleton,  Minnesota,  until  he  had  completed  the  high  school  course 
and  later  he  pursued  a  brief  course  in  the  Commercial  College  at  Fargo,  there  remaining 
until  1911.  He  afterward  worked  on  his  father's  farm,  devoting  his  attention  to  general 
agricultural  pursuits  between  the  ages  of  eighteen  and  twenty-one  years.  Arriving  in  North 
Dakota  he  took  up  his  abode  in  Minto,  where  he  was  employed  in  a  general  store  for 
four  3'ears.  On  going  to  Park  River  he  embarked  in  business  on  his  own  account  as  suc- 
cessor to  T.  T.  Thompson  and  in  the  intervening  period  he  has  built  up  a  very  extensive 
grocery  trade.  In  addition  to  a  large  line  of  staple  and  fancy  groceries  which  he  carries,  he 
handles  selected  teas  and  coffees,  canned  meats,  canned  vegetables  and  canned  fruits.  His 
goods  are  always  of  high  grade  quality  and  his  business  is  steadily  growing  by  reason  of  his 
thoroughly  reliable  methods  and  close  application. 

Mr.  Kowalski  is  a  Roman  Catholic  in  his  religious  faith  and  fraternally  he  is  connected 
with  the  Ancient  Order  of  United  Workmen.  His  jiolitical  allegiance  is  given  to  the  demo- 
cratic party,  hut  the  honors  and  emolnniciits  of  olliee  have  had  no  attraction  for  him. 


HON.  FRANK  E.  PLOYHAR. 

Hon.  Frank  E.  Ployhar.  who  since  190S  has  been  continuously  a  member  of  the  state 
legislature,  has  the  distinction  of  being  the  youngest  man  ever  appointed  to  serve  on  the 
appropriations  committee  and  his  legislative  service  in  other  respects  has  been  notable,  indi- 
cating the  recognition  of  his  ability  on  the  part  of  his  fellowmen  and  colleagues.  In  business 
connections  he  is  known  as  the  organizer  and  promoter  of  the  Bismarck  Oas  Company  and 
of  the  Valley  City  Oas  Company,  of  both  of  which  he  is  ])resident  and  general  manager,  and 
he  is  also  president  of  the  Building  &  Loan  Association  of  Valley  City,  where  he  makes  his 
home.  He  was  born  in  Bristol.  Worth  county.  Iowa.  April  IS.  1878,  being  the  eldest  in  a 
family  of  nine  children  whose  parents  were  Martin  and  Catherine  Ployhar.  The  father  was 
born  in  1854  and  is  therefore  now  sixty-two  years  of  age.  In  1877  he  married  and  after 
residing  for  a  brief  time  in  Iowa,  removed  to  North  Dakota  in  its  territorial  days,  settling  at 
Wahpeton  on  the  18th  of  May,  1881.  There  he  engaged  in  farming  for  twenty  years  and 
in   Hlfll  he  took  up  a  homestead  at  McClusky.  North   Dakota,  where  he  still  resides. 

Frank  E.  Ploj'har,  reared  and  educated  in  Wahpeton.  left  the  high  school  to  learn  the 
printer's  trade,  at  which  he  worked  in  the  eniidoy  of  others  until   190.").  when  he  purchased 


530  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

the  Valley  City  Alliance,  which  he  conducted  for  two  years.  That  paper  was  then  amal- 
gamated with  the  Times-Record,  which  he  published  for  two  years  and  then  sold.  In  March, 
1913,  he  organized  the  Valley  City  Gas  Company,  erected  a  modern  plant  and  has  laid  out 
twelve  miles  of  mains  and  pipe  lines.  The  plant  has  a  manufacturing  capacity  of  two 
hundred  and  eighty  thousand  feet  in  twenty-four  hours,  with  a  gasometer  capacity  of  thirty 
thousand,  manufacturing  gas  of  an  excellent  quality.  He  displays  marked  executive  force 
and  discriminating  judgment  in  the  management  of  this  enterprise  and  his  success  and  expe- 
rience in  that  field  led  him  to  organize  in  1915  the  Bismarck  Gas  Company,  of  which  he  has 
since  been  president  and  general  manager,  while  still  continuing  in  those  official  connections 
with  the  Valley  City  Gas  Compan}'.  He  likewise  acts  as  president  of  the  Valley  City  Building 
&  Loan  Association  and  his  sound  judgment  is  manifest  in  the  careful  direction  of  its 
interests. 

On  the  IGtli  of  April,  1902,  ill-.  Ployhar  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Edith  Maude 
Persons,  of  Valley  City,  a  daughter  of  Page  Persons,  who  went  to  Valley  City  in  1877,  when 
it  was  a  tiny  hamlet,  but  who  is  now  deceased.  Their  children  are  Percy  Page  and  Earl 
Franklyn,  both  in  school. 

Mr.  Ployhar  is  prominent  in  Masonic  circles,  having  taken  the  degrees  of  the  lodge, 
chapter,  commandery  and  Mystic  Shrine.  He  is  a  charter  member  of  Valley  City  Lodge,  No. 
1110,  B.  P.  0.  E.,  and  of  the  Knights  of  Pythias.  He  has  long  been  a  prominent  figure  in 
political  circles,  exercising  considerable  influence  in  that  direction  when  engaged  in  news- 
paper publication.  In  1908  his  ability  having  won  the  attention  of  those  who  direct  political 
affairs,  he  was  nominated  for  the  oflice  of  state  representative  on  the  republican  ticket 
and  was  reelected  in  1910,  again  in  1913  and  1914, 4ind  in  1916  he  was  elected  for  a  four  year 
term  to  the  state  senate.  He  has  given  thorough  study  to  all  important  questions  coming 
up  for  consideration  and  when  appointed  to  the  appropriations  committee  in  1911  was 
the  youngest  man  ever  called  to  that  position  in  the  state.  In  1909  he  had  been  chairman 
of  the  education  committee  and  he  became  ranking  member  of  the  appropriations  committee 
and  during  the  succeeding  term  was  made  its  chairman.  He  holds  to  progressive  methods 
and  views  and  is  a  man  of  indomitable  energy,  who  accomplishes  what  he  undertakes,  biased 
by  neither  fear  nor  favor  in  upholding  his  honest  convictions. 


EDWARD  LITTON. 


Edward  Litton,  the  pioneer  druggist  and  one  of  the  most  successful  merchants  of  Lari- 
more,  was  born  in  Litchfield,  Hlinois,  June  19,  1865,  a  son  of  James  Robert  and  Elizabeth 
Ann  (Harkey)  Litton,  who  were  also  natives  of  that  state.  The  paternal  grandfather, 
Charles  A.  Litton,  became  a  pioneer  settler  of  Morgan  county,  Illinois,  and  in  early  days 
served  as  its  sheriflf.  The  family  is  of  English  lineage  and  its  progenitor  in  the  new  world 
settled  first  at  New  Orleans,  Louisiana.  In  the  maternal  line  the  ancestry  can  be  traced 
back  through  the  Scherers.  James  R.  Litton  became  a  successful  merchant  of  Litchfield, 
Illinois,  and  during  the  '70s  was  engaged  in  the  wholesale  grocery  business  in  St.  Louis, 
Missouri,  but  spent  his  last  days  in  Minneapolis,  Minnesota,  where  he  passed  away  in  1893 
at  the  age  of  fifty-seven  years.  His  wife  was  a  representative  of  an  old  Illinois  family 
that  was  established  at  Hardensburg,  now  Litchfield,  at  a  very  early  day.  She  survived  her 
■husband  for  some  time  and  passed  away  in  Larimore,  North  Dakota,  in  1914  at  the  age  of 
seventy-three  years. 

Their  only  child,  Edward  Litton,  spent  his  youthful  days  as  a  pupil  in  the  schools  of 
Litchfield  and  of  St.  Louis.  Missouri,  and  following  the  completion  of  his  public  school 
course  he  entered  the  College  of  Pharmacy  at  St.  Louis  from  which  he  was  graduated 
with  the  class  of  1883.  From  the  age  of  twelve  years  he  has  been  continuously  connected 
with  the  drug  business,  finding  it  a  most  congenial  pursuit.  In  May,  1897,  he  became  a 
resident  of  Larimore,  where  he  opened  a  drug  store,  which  he  has  since  successfully  con- 
ducted. He  is  the  pioneer  druggist  of  the  town  as  well  as  one  of  its  most  enterprising  and 
prosperous  merchants.  He  carries  a  large  and  carefully  selected  line  of  drugs  and  druggists' 
sundries  and  his  trade  is  now  most  gratifying. 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  531 

On  the  18th  of  April,  1900,  at  Grand  Forks,  Mr.  Litton  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss 
Kose  CertruUf  Miillc,  a  native  of  Canada  and  a  dau^diter  of  John  and  Anna  Malle,  the 
former  now  deceased,  while  the  latter  is  living.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Litton  have  become  the 
parents  of  two  sons  and  a  daughter:  Mildred  H.,  who  was  born  in  Larimore,  September  4, 
1904;  Edward  James,  born  February  G,  1908;  and  Philip  John,  born  April  5,  1911. 

Politically  Mr.  Litton  is  a  republican  and  keeps  well  versed  on  the  questions  and  issues 
of  the  day  but  has  never  been  a  politician  in  the  sense  of  office  seeking.  He  is  a  thirty- 
second  degree  Mason,  having  joined  the  order  at  Larimore  in  1899,  while  in  1904  he  became 
a  member  of  the  Consistory.  The  element  of  strength  in  his  character  was  shown  in  the 
fact  that  ho  provided  for  his  college  course  and  made  for  himself  the  opportunity  which 
enabled  him  to  qualify  for  a  pharmaceutical  career.  He  keeps  in  touch  with  everything 
that  has  to  do  with  the  drug  business  and  he  has  ever  maintained  a  high  standard  in  the 
line  of  goods  carried  as  well  as  in  the  treatment  accorded  his  patrons. 


NICHOLAS  W.  COMFORD. 


In  taking  up  the  history  of  Nicholas  W.  Comford  we  present  to  the  readers  of  this 
volume  the  history  of  one  whose  work  was  of  great  worth  in  the  development  of  North 
Dakota.  In  pioneer  days  before  Bismarck  had  passed  beyond  the  point  of  a  frontier  hamlet 
he  became  connected  with  the  state  and  through  the  intervening  years  to  his  death  played 
an  important  part  in  promoting  its  upbuilding  along  the  lines  of  substantial  improvement. 
He  was  born  in  Guelph,  Canada,  June  29,  1844,  a  son  of  Richard  and  Julia  (.Jennings)  Comford, 
who  were  natives  of  Ireland,  where  they  were  reared,  educated  and  married,  three  children 
being  born  to  them  ere  their  emigration  to  the  new  world.  The  father  took  up  the  occu- 
pation of  farming  in  Canada  and  later  became  connected  with  agricultural  interests  in 
Wisconsin  and  ilinnesota,  becoming  a  pioneer  settler  of  both  states.  Later  he  horaesteaded 
near  Yankton,  South  Dakota,  and  there  engaged  in  farming  until  he  retired  from  active 
business  life,  at  which  time  he  removed  to  Bismarck,  casting  in  his  lot  with  its  earliest 
settlers.  He  took  up  his  abode  there  in  1873  and  there  lived  retired  from  active  life  for 
many  years.  Subsequently  he  established  his  home  in  Glendive,  Montana,  in  order  that 
he  and  his  wife  might  be  near  their  son  Nicholas  and  both  passed  away  at  that  place. 

Nicholas  W.  Comford  was  a  lad  of  eight  years  when  he  accompanied  his  parents  from 
Canada  to  Wisconsin,  where  he  attended  school  for  a  winter  or  two.  He  afterward  went 
with  the  family  to  Minnesota  and  thence  to  Yankton,  South  Dakota,  where  much  of  his 
early  life  was  spent  upon  his  father's  ranch.  This  was  in  the  '60s.  When  the  father  left 
the  ranch  Nicholas  W.  Comford  made  his  way  to  Fort  Lincoln,  now  Bismarck,  and  there 
resided  for  some  time,  building  the  first  hotel  at  Bismarck  about  1871  or  1872.  His  sisters 
conducted  the  hotel  for  him  and  many  a  famous  Missouri  river  boatman  and  old  Dakota 
cowman   were   entertained  there. 

Returning  to  Minnesota,  Mr.  Comford  married  and  then  brought  his  bride  to  Bismarck, 
both  driving  overland  to  Montana  in  the  '70s  in  connection  with  .John  Smith,  the  famous 
freighter.  They  proceeded  to  Fort  Benton,  Montana,  through  the  wild  Indian  and  buflfalo 
country  and  on  reaching  their  destination  Mr.  Comford  engaged  in  buying  and  selling  cattle 
from  1874  until  1877.  In  the  latter  year,  accompanied  by  his  wife,  he  drove  a  herd  of 
cattle  to  Canada  and  entered  into  a  contract  with  the  Canadian  government  to  supply  beef 
to  the  Indians  of  Canada  for  a  year.  In  1878  he  and  his  wife  drove  across  the  country 
over  the  old  McMuUen  trail  to  Oregon,  spending  the  winter  at  Grand  Ronde,  Oregon,  where 
he  bought  and  sold  cows.  He  drove  a  herd  of  cattle  from  Oregon  to  Sweet  Grass,  Montana, 
where  he  sold  his  stock  and  then  proceeded  to  Miles  City,  after  which  he  established  a  line  of 
meat  markets  along  the  Great  Northern  Railroad  at  the  time  the  road  was  being  built 
through  that  country.  He  also  engaged  in  hunting  buffaloes  on  the  plains  of  Montana  and 
for  ten  years  maintained  his  home  at  Glendive,  Montana,  which  was  the  county  seat  of 
Dawson  county.  He  served  as  one  of  the  early  sheriffs  in  that  county  and  also  as  county 
commissioner  and  continued  in  active  and.  successful  connection  with  business  interests 
there.     He  built  a   hotel  and  livery  barn  at  Glendive  and  conducted  business  along  those 


532  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

lines  for  a  while  and  also  engaged  in  ranching  in  that  section  of  the  state.  Later  he  removed 
to  Estevan,  Saskatchewan,  Canada,  where  he  conducted  a  ranch  for  two  years  and  then 
became  a  resident  of  Towner,  North  Dakota,  settling  on  a  ranch  on  the  Wintering  river. 
In  1901  he  became  a  resident  of  White  Earth,  Mountrail  county,  and  making  extensive 
investments  in  that  part  of  the  state,  became  the  owner  of  the  townsites  of  AVhite  Earth, 
Tioga  and  Spring  Brook  and  one-half  of  the  town  site  of  Ray.  He  dealt  extensively 
in  land  and  town  site  property  in  his  later  years,  maintaining  his  home  at  White  Earth, 
where  he  passed  away  May  14,  1914,  when  about  seventy  years  of  age.  He  was  one  of  the 
picturesque  figures  of  pioneer  days  in  North  Dakota  and  was  widely  known  among  all  the 
early  cowmen  of  this  state  and  of  Montana.  He  arrived  in  the  territory  of  Dakota  in  the 
early  '60s  and  became  familiar  with  every  phase  of  pioneer  life  and  later  development. 

It  was  in  1871  that  Mr.  Comford  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Elizabeth  Butler,  who 
was  born  in  Brooklyn,  New  York,  In  1854,  a  daughter  of  James  and  Catherine  (McDonald) 
Butler.  Her  father,  a  native  of  Ireland,  became  identified  with  farming  interests  in  that 
coimtry  but  in  earty  manhood  crossed  the  Atlantic  to  New  York  city,  where  he  wedded 
Miss  McDonald,  who  was  born  in  the  eastern  metropolis.  About  1855  they  removed  to 
Rice  county,  Minnesota,  settling  near  Faribault,  whore  Mr.  Butler  engaged  in  farming  for 
many  years.  Eventually  he  retired  from  active  life  and  they  removed  to  Glendive,  Montana, 
to  be  near  one  of  their  sons,  spending  their  last  days  there.  Mrs.  Comford  was  only  a  year 
old  when  her  parents  went  to  Rice  county,  Minnesota,  where  she  was  reared  and  educated, 
there  remaining  until  her  marriage  at  the  age  of  seventeen  years.  For  forty-three  years 
Mr.  and  Mrs.  Comford  traveled  life's  journey  happily  together  and  she  accompanied  liim  on 
all  his  overland  trips  in  pioneer  times,  living  in  a  wagon  and  enduring  all  of  the  hardships 
of  frontier  travel.  While  crossing  the  plains  they  saw  herds  of  buffaloes  numbering  five 
thousand  head.  There  were  many  Indians  in  the  district  in  which  they  traveled.  To  Mr.  and 
Mrs.  Comford  were  born  two  children:  Ernest,  born  in  Minneapolis,  December  13,  1895; 
and  Dash,  born  in  Minneapolis,  .June  16,  1898.    Both  are  with  their  mother  in  WTiite  Earth. 

The  religious  faith  of  the  family  is  that  of  the  Roman  Catholic  church,  of  which 
Mr.  Comford  was  a  communicant.  In  politics  he  was  a  stanch  democrat,  always  an  enthusi- 
astic worker  in  support  of  the  presidential  candidates  of  the  party.  His  was  a  well  spent 
life.  The  opportunities  of  the  northwest  drew  him  to  Dakota  in  its  territorial  days  when 
the  work  of  progress  and  development  had  scarcely  begun  within  its  borders.  He  was 
among  the  vanguard  who  planted  the  seeds  of  civilization  here,  taking  an  active  part  in 
introducing  upon  the  western  frontier  business  interests  which  led  to  the  substantial  develop- 
ment and  progress  of  his  district.  As  the  years  went  on  he  made  for  himself  a  creditable 
place  in  business  cireles-and  won  success  through  sound  judgment,  judicious  investment  and 
unfaltering  enterprise.  He  lived  to  see  the  great  changes  which  were  wrought  as  the  pioneer 
cabin  was  replaced  by  the  commodious  and  substantial  farmhouse,  as  straggling  villages 
developed  into  thriving  towns  and  cities  and  as  all  modern  improvements  were  introduced. 
His  work  in  pushing  forward  the  wheels  of  progress  was  an  important  one  and  as  an 
honored   pioneer   settler   he   will   long   be   remembered. 


A\1LLIAM  C.  SCHWOEBEL. 


Since  ])ioneer  days  William  C.  Schwoebel  has  been  prominently  identified  with  the 
upbuilding  and  prosperity  of  Eddy  county.  He  has  assisted  in  transforming  the  wild  land  into 
good  and  productive  farms  and  has  also  aided  in  the  commercial  development,  having  for 
several  years  been  engaged  in  the  implement  business  in  New  Rockford.  He  was  born  in 
F'ountain  City,  Wisconsin,  December  20,  1862,  a  son  of  George  and  Elizabeth  Schwoebel,  of 
whom  more  extended  mention  is  made  in  the  sketch  of  G.  J.  Schwoebel  on  another  page  of  this 
history.  Our  subject  attended  the  public  schools  of  his  native  state  and  by  assisting  in  the 
operation  of  the  home  farm  gained  an  excellent  knowledge  of  agricultural  piu'suits  which 
has  been  of  great  value  to  him  in  later  years. 

On  leaving  the  parental  roof  Mr.  Schwoebel  came  to  North  Dakota  and  settled  in 
what  is  now  Eddy  county  but  at  that  time  formed  a  part  of  Foster  county.     .\.s  the  land  had 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  533 

not  then  been  survcyt'il  he  squatted  upon  a  tract,  subsequently  securing  botli  a  preemption 
and  tree  claim.  This  was  in  1883  and  he  continued  to  operate  his  farm  until  1902.  By 
planting  and  cultivating  the  required  number  of  trees,  he  made  final  proof  on  his  tree  claim. 
As  time  passed  he  steadily  prospered  in  his  undertakings  and  was  able  to  add  to  his  property 
until  he  now  owns  a  section  and  a  half  of  land  four  miles  southeast  of  New  Rockford. 
In  1902  Mr.  Schwoebel  was  elected  county  auditor,  in  which  capacity  he  served  for  six 
years,  and  then  bought  an  interest  in  an  implement  business  with  Hugh  Peoples,  the  lirm 
name  of  Peoples  &  Schwoebel  being  assumed.  He  has  since  carried  on  business  along  that 
line  and  has  built  up  an  excellent  trade. 

Jlr.  Schwoebel  was  married  December  20,  1892,  to  Miss  Elizabeth  D't'onnor,  by  whom 
he  has  three  children,  namely:  Florence,  who  is  a  graduate  of  the  University  of  Minnesota 
and  is  now  at  home;  Lynn  W.,  who  is  attending  the  law  school  of  the  University  of  North 
Dakota;  and  William  C,  Jr.,  born  July  27,  1915. 

Mr.  Schwoebel  is  a  prominent  Mason,  having  taken  the  degrees  of  the  blue  lodge, 
chapter  and  commandery,  and  he  also  belongs  to  the  Mystic  Shrine.  He  is  a  member  of 
tke  Ancient  Order  of  United  Workmen  and  the  Yeomen  at  New  Kockford,  and  the  Benevolent 
Protective  Order  of  Klks  at  Jamestown.  He  is  never  remiss  in  duties  of  citizenship  and 
casts  his  ballot  with  the  republican  party.  During  his  entire  residence  in  Kddj'  county 
he  has  taken  an  active  part  in  public  affairs  and  has  been  honored  with  many  local  otTices, 
the  duties  of  wliich  he  has  always  faithfully  performed.  While  living  on  the  farm  he 
served  as  justice  of  the  peace  and  school  director  and  for  six  years  was  also  county  commis- 
sioner. As  previously  stated  he  was  elected  county  auditor  in  1902  and  efficiently  served 
in  that  capacity  for  six  years.  He  has  filled  the  position  of  city  auditor  in  New  Rockford 
and  has  been  a  member  of  the  city  council.  No  trust  reposed  in  him  has  ever  been  betrayed 
and  his  oflicial  duties  have  always  been  most  faithfully  and  conscientiously  performed. 
Mr.  Schwoebel  is  a  stockholder  in  the  Farmers  &  Jlerchants  Bank  of  New  Rockford  and  also 
in  the  New  Rockford  State  Center,  which  now  ranks  among  the  leading  dailies  of  North 
Dakota.  His  interests  have  been  broad  and  varied,  and  he  is  regarded  as  one  of  the  foremost 
citizens  of  his  conmiunity. 


GEHARD  FLOM. 


Among  the  progressive  young  business  men  of  North  Dakota  who  have  chosen  bank- 
ing as  the  field  of  their  activitj'  is  Gchard  Flom,  who  is  now  cashier  of  the  State  Bank  of 
Edinburg.  He  is  a  native  son  of  this  state,  his  liirth  having  occurred  in  Cavalier  county, 
near  Milton,  November  29,  1891.  His  father.  Peter  Flom,  was  a  native  of  Iowa  and  a 
representative  of  one  of  its  old  pioneer  families,  of  Norwegian  descent.  The  founder  of 
the  American  branch  of  the  family  was  Torjus  Flom,  who  came  to  the  new  world  in  the 
early  '60s  and  settled  in  Iowa  but  afterward  became  a  pioneer  resident  of  North  Dakota, 
removing  to  this  state  in  1882,  when  it  was  still  a  part  of  the  territory  of  Dakota.  He 
settled  in  Tiber  township,  Walsh  county,  where  he  homesteaded  and  preempted  three  hun- 
dred and  twenty  acres  of  land,  and  upon  the  farm  which  he  has  there  developed  he  still 
makes  his  home.  He  has  been  a  successful  agriculturist,  his  farm  work  being  most  care- 
fully, systematically  and  wisely  managed. 

Peter  Flom  was  educated  in  Minnesota  and  came  with  his  parents  to  North  Dakota. 
At  the  ago  of  twenty-two  years  he  started  out  to  provide  for  his  own  support  and  took 
up  the  occupation  of  farming,  becoming  the  owner  of  an  excellent  tract  of  land  in  Mont- 
rose township,  Cavalier  county.  He  married  Gurine  Johnson,  a  native  of  Norway,  who 
about  1888  came  to  America,  making  her  way  direct  to  North  Dakota.  By  her  marriage 
she  has  become  the  mother  of  four  children,  who  are  yet  living. 

Gohard  Flom  pursued  bis  education  in  the  public  and  high  schools  of  Milton  and  in  the 
commercial  department  of  Crookston  College,  thus  qualifying  for  life's  practical  and  respon- 
sible duties.  His  youthful  days  were  devoted  to  farm  work  during  the  periods  of  vacation, 
but  on  attaining  his  majority  he  turned  his  attention  in  other  directions,  seeking  employ- 
ment in  the  First  National  Bank  of  Twin  Valley,  Alinnesota.     He  was  employed  as  book- 


534  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

keeper  in  that  institution  and  afterward  became  connected  witli  tlie  State  Banlv  of  Grandin 
as  assistant  cashier,  remaining  there  for  three  and  a  lialf  j-ears.  He  afterward  became  for 
a  short  period  assistant  cashier  in  the  State  Bank  of  Nekoma  and  later  was  elected  cashier 
of  the  State  Bank  of  Edinburg,  assuming  the  duties  of  his  present  position  on  the  1st  of 
August,  1916.  This  bank  is  capitalized  for  ten  thousand  dollars,  has  a  surplus  and  undi- 
vided profits  of  twenty-six  hundred  dollars  and  its  deposits  amount  to  more  than  one 
hundred  and  fifty  thousand  dollars. 

On  the  24th  of  December,  1913,  Mr.  Flora  was  married  in  Edinburg  to  Miss  Martha 
Mygard,  a  native  of  Walsh  county  and  a  daughter  of  L.  A.  and  Annie  Mygard,  who  for 
thirty  years  have  been  residents  of  Walsh  county.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Flom  have  a  daughter, 
Gladys   Minerva,   who  was   born   December   21,   1914,   in   Grandin. 

Politically  Mr.  Flom  is  a  stalwart  republican  and  has  filled  various  township  offices. 
He  takes  quite  an  active  part  in  local  and  state  politics,  doing  everything  in  his  power  to 
secure  the  adoption  of  the  principles  of  the  republican  party.  Fraternally  he  is  connected 
with  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America,  while  his  religious  faith  is  that  of  the  Lutheran 
church.  Actuated  by  a  spirit  of  enterprise,  he  has  put  forth  every  endeavor  to  win  advance- 
ment along  business  lines  and  has  already  attained  a  position  which  many  a  man  of  much 
greater  age  might  well  envy. 


JUDGE  PERCY  S.  CREWE. 


Judge  Percy  S.  Crewe,  judge  of  the  county  court  of  Renville  county  and  a  resident  of 
Mohall,  was  born  in  New  .Jersey,  December  8,  1879,  and  comes  of  Canadian  ancestry  in  the 
paternal  line.  His  father,  William  T.  Crewe,  was  a  native  of  Canada  and  became  a  news- 
paper man  in  New  .Jersey.  He  made  his  home  in  Hoboken  and  for  a  time  served  as  an 
official  there.  He  wedded  Mary  A.  Tilson,  a  native  of  Ireland,  and  he  died  at  a  comparatively 
early  age  when  his  son.  Judge  Crewe,  was  but  two  years  old.  The  mother  still  survives 
and  makes  her  home  with  her  children.  She  removed  to  the  west  after  her  husband's  death 
and  located  in  the  Red  River  valley  of  North  Dakota,  where  she  reared  her  family. 

Judge  Crewe,  one  of  three  children,  is  indebted  to  the  public  school  system  of  North 
Dakota  for  the  early  educational  advantages  which  he  received  and  later  he  became  a  student 
in  the  State  University  at  Grand  Forks.  He  was  graduated  from  both  the  academic  and 
law  departments  in  1904  and  after  his  graduation  was  appointed  to  the  Indian  service  as 
special  legal  adviser  at  the  Fort  Totten  agency.  There  he  remained  for  about  a  year,  on 
the  expiration  of  which  period  he  went  to  Williston,  North  Dakota,  where  he  engaged  in 
the  private  practice  of  law  for  four  years.  During  that  period  he  was  made  city  attorney 
and  was  also  appointed  United  States  commissioner,  filling  both  ofiices  at  the  same  time. 
In  1909  he  removed  to  Minot,  where  he  became  associated  with  George  Ryerson  and  Dudley 
Nash,  forming  the  law  firm  of  Ryerson,  Nash  &  Crewe,  with  offices  in  both  ]\Iinot  and 
Sherwood.  In  July.  1910,  on  the  organization  of  Renville  county,  Mr.  Crewe  was  appointed 
county  judge  of  the  new  county  and  at  every  election  since  has  been  chosen  to  fill  that 
office,  so  that  he  is  still  upon  the  bench,  and  he  is  one  of  the  most  efficient  county  judges 
of  the  state  and  one  of  the  most  popular  officials  of  Renville  county.  He  was  one  of  the 
first  homesteaders  of  what  is  now  Renville  county,  filing  on  one  hundred  and  sixty  acres 
of  land  in  1901.  Complying  with  the  laws  regarding  improvement  and  occupancy,  he  won 
title  to  the  property,  which  he  afterward  sold. 

On  the  22nd  of  April,  1914,  Judge  Crewe  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Margaret  L. 
Granger,  of  Marion,  Iowa,  and  to  them  has  been  born  a  daughter,  Barbara  Stewart. 
Mis.  tYewe  is  a  lady  of  much  charm  and  marked  refinement  and  presides  with  gracious  hos- 
pitality  over  her  home. 

In  his  political  views  the  Judge  has  always  been  a  republican.  Fraternally  he  is  con- 
nected with  Mohall  Lodge,  No.  13,  F.  &  A.  M.,  and  Jared  Consistory,  No.  2,  A.  &  A.  S.  R., 
at  Grand  Forks,  having  thus  attained  the  thirty-second  degree  of  the  Scottish  Rite.  He 
likewise  belongs  to  Kem  Temple  of  the  Mystic  Shrine  and  Mrs.  Crewe  is  a  member  of  the 
Methodist  Episcopal  church.    While  interested  in  all  affairs  of  public  moment  and  cooperating 


EDMLXD  WHITE 
Cotintv    SiirvevdV 


OEORGE  A.  SCOFIEED 
Deputy   Mieiiir 


LUDVIG  JI.  KOCKNE 
County  .Supeiintendpnt 


JUD0;E    IM-.KCY   S.   CKEWE 
Couiitv  Judge 


JOIIX  J).  TAYLOR 
Clerk  of  Court 


\VALT];il  X.  MARTINE 
Register    of    Deeds 


I'ETEK  CARL80X 
County    Auditor 


ANTHON  J.  BERG 
County  Treasurer 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  537 

in  many  projects  for  tht  general  good,  Jiulge  Dewe  naturally  concentrates  his  efforts  and 
attention  upon  liis  olliiial  duties  and  liis  course  upon  the  bench  has  been  in  harmony  with 
his  record  as  a  man  and  citi/en,  characterized  by  public  spirit  as  well  as  by  strict  impartiality 
in  the   interpretation  of  the  law. 


JOHN  DIGIITON  TAYUIR. 


.lohn  Dighton  Taylor,  of  Mohall,  lilling  the  position  of  clerk  of  the  courts  of  Renville 
county,  was  born  in  London,  England,  July  19,  1807,  his  parents  being  John  and  Mary 
(Dighton)  Taylor.  The  mother  died  in  London  when  her  son  John  was  but  thirteen  years 
of  age.  The  father  was  traffic  manager  of  the  Midland  llailroad  in  London  for  a  number 
of  years  and  subsequently  he  went  to  South  Africa  where  he  saw  service  in  the  Boer  war. 
His  last  days  were  spent  in  that  country. 

John  D.  Taylor  after  attending  the  public  schools  continued  his  education  in  King's 
College  of  London  and  in  1884,  prior  to  his  eighteenth  year,  he  came  to  the  United  States, 
making  his  way  to  Jlarion  county,  Towa,  where  lie  lived  for  two  years.  He  next  located 
in  the  Black  Hills  of  South  Dakota,  where  he  worked  at  ranching  and  at  any  labor  that 
would  keep  him  in  the  open  air,  for  he  was  threatened  with  tuberculosis,  so  that  after 
coming  to  this  country,  having  a  little  money  to  aid  him,  he  spent  his  first  years  in  getting 
back  his  health,  doing  such  work  as  lie  could  secure  that  would  enable  him  to  accomplish 
his  purpose.  He  spent  ten  years  in  the  Black  Hills  and  fully  regained  his  health  during 
that   period. 

While  there  Mr.  Taylor  was  married  to  Jliss  Margaret  Cart,  of  Marion  county,  Iowa, 
and  in  1897  he  returned  to  that  county,  where  for  five  years  he  engaged  in  farming.  But 
the  opportunities  of  the  northwest  attracted  him  and  in  1902  he  came  to  what  is  now 
Renville  county  and  filed  on  a  homestead  west  of  Sherwood,  which  he  still  owns  and  on 
which  six  of  his  children  still  reside.  In  1910,  when  Renville  county  was  organized,  he  was 
appointed  clerk  of  the  courts,  being  made  one  of  the  first  county  officials,  and  four  times 
he  has  been  regularly  elected  to  the  office.  His  long  continuance  in  the  position  is  irrefutable 
proof  of  his  capability  and  fidelity.  He  now  owns  two  hundred  and  fifty-six  acres  of  farm 
land,  having  added  to  his  homestead  by  later  purchase,  and  his  property  is  one  of  the  well 
improved  farms  of  the  county.  He  has  added  to  it  many  modern  improvements  and  equip- 
ments and  has  recently  sunk  a  deep  well  on  the  farm,  its  depth  being  five  hundred  and 
forty-two  feet,  resulting  in  furnishing  an  abundant  supply  of  cold,  clear  water. 

In  1911  Mr.  Taylor  was  called  upon  to  mourn  the  loss  of  his  wife,  who  passed  away, 
leaving  a  family  of  seven  children:  Blanche,  the  wife  of  Dell  Burnham.  of  Burdett,  Alberta, 
Canada;  and  George,  Lillian,  James,  Irene,  Beulah  and  Velma,  all  of  whom  remain  upon 
the  home  farm.  Mr.  Taylor  was  again  married  December  23,  1914,  his  second  union  being 
with  Miss  Margaret  Moran,  of  Flint,  Michigan,  and  they  have  one  child,  Ellen  Frances. 

Mr.  Taylor  exercises  his  right  of  franchise  in  support  of  the  principles  and  candidates 
of  the  republican  party  and  was  for  several  years  school  clerk  and  township  clerk  of 
Stafford  township.  Fraternally  he  is  connected  with  Sherwood  Lodge,  No.  95,  I.  0.  0.  F., 
the  .Modern  Woodmen  of  America  and  the  Modern  Brotherhood  of  America.  He  is  always 
approachable,  always  genial  and  courteous  and  is  proving  one  of  the  efficient  county  officials 
of  Renville  county  and,  moreover,  is  personally  popular  with  all  with  whom  he  comes  in 
contact. 


PETER  CARLSON. 


Renville  eoiinty  has  been  signally  favored  in  the  class  of  men  who  have  occupied  her 
public  oflices,  for  on  the  whole  they  have  been  loyal  and  pnblie-spirite<l  citizens,  anxious  to 
further  the  interests  and  promote  the  upbuilding  of  the  new  county.  One  of  these  is  Peter 
Carlson,  who  is  now  county  auditor.     He  was  born  in  Sweden,  December  4,  1870,  a  son  of 

Vol.  ni— S5 


538  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

Carl  -and  Betsy  (Oleson)  Okeson,  both  of  whom  are  now  living  in  Sweden  at  the  advanced 
age  of  eighty-three  years. 

Peter  Carlson  remained  in  his  native  land  until  he  attained  his  majority  and  then  bade 
adieu  to  family  and  friends  preparatory  to  trying  his  fortune  in  America.  He  obtained  a 
common  school  education  in  Sweden  and  attended  night  schools  in  the  United  States  and 
in  1903  entered  the  Minnesota  Normal  School  and  Business  College  of  Minneapolis.  In  1891 
he  arrived  in  the  United  States  and  made  his  way  to  Hallock,  Kittson  county,  Minnesota, 
where  he  began  work  as  a  farm  hand.  He  remained  in  that  county  for  nine  years,  dividing 
his  time  between  carpentering  and  farming,  and  in  1903  he  removed  to  Bottineau  county. 
North  Dakota,  where  he  filed  on  a  homestead  near  Westhope.  He  proved  up  on  that  property, 
which  he  still  owns,  and  in  1903  he  became  interested  in  the  lumber  business,  managing  a 
yard  for  two  years.  In  1905  he  settled  in  ToUey,  where  he  conducted  a  lumberyard  until 
1910,  when  Renville  county  was  organized  and  he  removed  to  Mohall.  He  was  made  one 
of  the  first  ofiicials  of  the  county,  being  appointed  auditor,  and  since  that  time  he  has 
been  four  times  eleeted  to  the  office.  He  is  loyal  to  the  duties  that  devolve  upon  him  and 
the  trust  reposed  in  him  and  the  work  of  the  office  is  promptly,  systematically  and  capably 
done.  He  still  owns  his  homestead  in  Bottineau  county  and  also  an  equity  in  a  quarter 
section   in   Renville   county. 

In  1907  Mr.  Carlson  wedded  Miss  Christine  Frykman,  of  Barrett,  Minnesota,  and  they 
have  three  children.  Dora  Elizabeth,  Fern  Eleanore  and  Paul  Renville.  Mr.  Carlson  is  a 
democrat  in  his  political  views  and  fraternally  is  connected  with  the  Modern  Woodmen  of 
America.  Both  he  and  his  wife  are  members  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  cliurch  and  loyally 
adhere  to  its  teachings,  which  they  attempt  to  embody  in  every  relation  of  life. 


ANTHON  J.   BERG. 


Anthon  J.  Berg,  treasurer  elect  of  Renville  count}-,  was  born  in  Norway,  August  10, 
1878,  a  son  of  Jacob  and  Merit  (Olson)  Berg,  who  came  to  the  United  States  soon  after 
the  birth  of  their  son  Anthon.  Reaching  the  Atlantic  coast,  they  traveled  across  the  country 
as  far  west  as  Tracy,  Minnesota,  and  after  a  brief  period  removed  to  Volga,  South  Dakota, 
where  the  father  filed  on  a  homestead  east  of  Bryant  in  1882.  On  that  place  he  resided  to 
within  a  few  months  of  his  death,  which  occurred  in  Brj'ant  on  the  18th  of  February,  1914, 
when  he  was  in  his  seventy-fourth  year.  He  had  converted  his  farm  into  an  attracti\'e  and 
valuable  property,  bringing  his  land  to  a  high  state  of  cultivation.  His  widow  is  still 
residing  in  Bryant. 

Anthon  J.  Berg's  educational  training  was  that  afforded  by  the  district  schools  and  later 
he  became  a  pupil  in  the  South  Dakota  State  Agricultural  College  at  Brookings,  where  he 
acquired  his  business  training.  On  the  completion  of  a  commercial  course  in  the  spring 
of  1901  he  put  aside  his  text-books  and  found  employment  as  a  clerk  in  a  mercantile  house 
at  Lake  Preston,  South  Dakota,  where  he  remained  for  one  year.  Later  the  stock  was 
removed  to  Kenmare,  North  Dakota,  and  Mr.  Berg  took  charge  of  the  business  at  that  point. 
In  1903  he  established  a  store  at  Barber,  North  Dakota,  and  about  the  same  time  was  made 
postmaster  of  the  town.  There  he  remained  in  business  until  1908,  when  he  sold  out  and 
went  to  Tolley,  where  he  engaged  in  the  real  estate  business.  A  year  later  he  purchased 
the  Tolley  .Journal,  which  he  published  for  a  year  and  then  sold.  In  1913  he  was  appointe<I 
deputy  auditor  of  Renville  county,  in  which  capacity  he  has  since  served,  making  a  credita- 
ble record  in  tliat  office,  and  at  the  primary  election  held  in  June,  1916,  he  was  made  the 
republican  nominee  for  the  office  of  county  treasurer,  to  which  he  was  elected  in  tlie  fall 
by  a  majority  of  over  six  hundred  votes.  He  has  always  been  a  loyal  advocate  of  repub- 
lican principles  and  has  been  an  earnest,  active  worker  in  behalf  of  the  party. 

On  the  1st  of  September,  1904,  Mr.  Berg  was  married  to  Miss  Bertha  Johnson,  of 
Kenmare.  and  to  them  have  been  born  four  children:  Mabel  E.,  Arnold  .J.  B.,  Lyman  G.  and 
Bernice  R.  Fraternally  Mr.  Berg  is  connected  with  Minot  Lodge,  No.  1089,  B.  P.  0.  E.,  and 
he  also  belongs  to  the  ilodern  Woodmen  of  America.  He  and  his  wife  are  members  of  the 
Norwegian  Lutheran  church  and  they  are  held  in  warm  esteem  throughout  the  community 


HISTORY  OF  XORTH  DAKOTA  539 

in  which  they  live.  Since  coming  to  this  section  of  the  state  Mr.  Berg  has  acquired  four 
quarter  sections  of  farm  land  and  is  regarded  as  one  of  the  substantial  and  representative 
residents  of  Kcnvillo  county. 


WALTER  N.  MARTINE. 


Walter  N.  Martine,  register  of  deeds  in  Kciivilli'  county,  was  born  in  Brown  county, 
Minnesota,  October  1,  1873,  a  son  of  Isaac  and  Klizabetli  (Werring)  Martine  tlic  former  a 
native  of  New  York  and  the  latter  of  England.  The  father  enlisted  for  service  in  tlic 
L'nion  army  at  tlie  time  of  the  Civil  war,  becoming  a  member  of  Company  F,  Second  Wisconsin 
Infantry,  with  which  lie  remained  for  three  years.  He  was  wounded  in  battle  and  also  suf- 
fered from  a  sunstroke  while  at  the  front,  but  notwithstanding  these  drawbacks  he  ren- 
dered valuable  service  to  his  country.  In  1866  he  removed  to  Brown  county,  Minnesota, 
wliere  lie  entered  a  government  claim  which  he  improved  and  continued  to  develop  up  to 
the  time  of  his  death,  which  occurred  April  10,  1897.     His  widow  survives. 

Walter  X.  Martine  is  indebted  to  the  public  school  system  of  his  native  county  for 
the  educational  privileges  which  he  enjoyed  and  which  prepared  him  for  life's  practical  and 
responsible  duties.  He  remained  under  the  parental  roof  until  he  was  twenty-two  yeara 
of  age  and  in  1901  he  removed  to  Renville  county.  North  Dakota,  where  he  filed  on  land 
near  ToUey.  Through  the  succeeding  nine  years  his  time  and  energies  were  devoted  to 
the  cultivation  and  improvement  of  that  farm  and  in  1910  he  put  aside  agi'icultural  pursuits 
for  official  service,  having  been  elected  register  of  deeds,  which  position  he  yet  occupies.  In 
1916  he  was  again  elected  to  the  office.  He  is  still  the  owner  of  three  bundled  and  twenty 
acres  of  good  land  and  hires  men  to  farm  the  place. 

Fraternally  Mr.  Martine  is  connected  with  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America  and  the 
Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows.  He  also  belongs  to  the  Congregational  church  and  he 
gives  his  political  allegiance  to  the  republican  party,  which  finds  in  him  a  stalwart  cham- 
pion. He  is  making  an  excellent  record  in  office  and  is  accounted  one  of  the  substantial 
citizens  of  his  locality.  Moreover,  his  record  is  in  many  respects  notable  and  worthj'  of 
emulation.  Twenty-one  years  ago  he  was  injured  and  this  has  necessitated  his  using  a 
wheel  chair  ever  since.  Under  such  a  handicap  many  a  man  would  have  become  discouraged, 
but  with  firm  purpose  and  determination  Mr.  Martine  has  pursued  his  way  and  has  mad& 
for  himself  a  most  creditable  position  in  the  world.  He  started  out  in  business  life  empty 
lianded,  but  though  he  had  no  funds,  he  possessed  courage,  ambition  and  persistency  of 
purpose  and  these  qualities  have  resulted  in  his  ac(iuireniont  of  a  substantial  farm  jiroperty, 
while  at  the  same  time  he  has  won  the  respect,  confi<li!ice  and  goodwill  of  his  fellowmen. 
He  greets  all  with  a  smile  and  has  that  happiness  and  contentment  of  nature  wliich  make 
life  worth  wliile.  He  has  always  followed  the  golden  rule  and  his  life  record  proves  that 
success  and  an  honored  name  may  be  won  simultaneously.  All  who  know  him  speak  of  him 
in  terms  of  high  regard  and  his  example  should  indeed  inspire  and  encourage  others. 


MARTIN  H.  HAUGAN. 


Martin  H.  Haugan,  sheriff  of  Renville  county  and  a  resident  of  Mohall,  was  born  in 
Norway  in  .January,  1868,  a  son  of  Halvor  and  Martha  (.Johnson)  Haugan,  who  were  also 
natives  of  that  country.  The  father  was  a  farmer  by  occupation  and  also  learned  the  car- 
penter's trade,  which  he  followed  for  several  years  before  coming  to  America  in  1886.  On 
reaching  the  Atlantic  coast  he  continued  his  journey  across  the  country  to  Warren,  Cass 
county.  North  Dakota,  where  he  was  employed  at  carpentering  for  some  time.  He  after- 
ward removed  to  Braincrd,  Minnesota,  where  he  engaged  in  business  on  his  own  account  for 
six  years.  He  then  returned  to  Warren.  North  Dakota,  where  he  conducted  a  blacksmith 
shop  until  1901,  when  he  removed  to  Bottineau  county  and  filed  on  land  a  half  mile  from 
Mohall.     This  he  developed,  converting  the  raw   prairie  into  productive   fields,  and   he   has 


540  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

since  been  actively  engaged  in  its  further  cultivation  and  improvement.  Both  he  and  his 
wife  are  yet  living  and  he  is  now  sixty-nine  j'ears  of  age. 

Martin  li.  Haugan  spent  his  youthful  days  in  the  land  of  the  midnight  sun  and  when 
sixteen  years  of  age  went  to  Sweden,  where  he  was  employed  in  lumber  camps  for  three 
years.  Attracted  by  the  favorable  reports  which  he  heard  concerning  the  opportunities  in 
the  new  world,  he  made  his  way  to  the  United  States  with  Warren,  North  Dakota,  as  his 
destination.  There  he  was  employed  at  different  jobs  until  he  had  saved  from  his  earnings 
a  sufficient  sum  to  enable  him  to  purchase  one  hundred  and  sixty  acres  of  land  in  Cass 
county,  whereon  he  engaged  in  farming  for  nine  years.  In  1901  he  removed  to  Bottineau 
county  and  filed  on  land  a  mile  east  of  Mohall,  improving  and  cultivating  that  place  until  he 
secured  title  thereto.  In  fact  he  continued  its  further  cultivation  until  1908,  when  he  took 
up  his  abode  in  Mohall  and  engaged  in  the  implement  business  as  manager  for  the 
Fitzmaurice  &  Baney  Implement  Company,  occupying  that  position  of  responsibility  for 
sLx  years.  In  1914  he  was  elected  county  sheriff  and  has  since  occupied  the  position,  to 
which  he  was  reelected  in  1916  and  the  duties  of  which  he  discharges  without  fear  or  favor. 
He  still  owns  three  hundred  and  twenty  acres  of  land  which  his  sons  are  now  cultivating. 
He  was  formerly  interested  in  the  Farmers  Cooperative  Hardware  Company  and  he  is  a 
stockholder  and  one  of  the  directors  of  the  Farmers  Elevator  Company  and  also  of  the 
Mohall  Telephone  Company,  in  which  connection  he  became  one  of  the  organizers  of  the 
first  telephone  company  in  the  county.  He  is  likewise  a  stockholder  in  the  Mohall  State 
Bank  and  in  the  Renville  County  Investment  Company. 

In  December,  1893,  Mr.  Haugan  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Lena  Sorenson  and 
they  have  become  the  parents  of  six  children,  Henry,  Julia,  Millie,  Sidney,  Melvin  and 
Louise.  They  also  adopted  a  little  son,  Eoy  V.,  when  he  was  but  two  weeks  old  and  he 
has  now  reached  the  age  of  six  years. 

The  parents  are  worthy  Christian  people,  holding  membership  in  the  Lutheran  chmxh, 
and  fraternally  Mr.  Haugan  is  connected  with  the  Ancient  Order  of  United  Workmen.  His 
political  allegiance  is  given  the  democratic  party  and  he  has  filled  various  local  offices, 
serving  as  supervisor  of  Bottineau  county,  as  a  member  of  the  school  board  and  for  two 
years  as  a  member  of  the  city  council  of  Mohall.  He  is  a  stockholder  and  director  of  the 
Mouse  River  Loop  Cliautauqua  Association.  He  represents  one  of  the  oldest  families  in 
this  section  of  the  state,  he  and  his  father  and  brother  having  been  the  first  settlers  of  their 
locality.  From  that  time  forward  he  has  been  continuously  identified  with  the  development 
and  progress  of  the  district  in  which  he  lives  and  has  not  only  been  a  witness  to  but  a 
most  active  participant  in  the  transformation  which  has  been  brought  about,  changing 
this  from  a  wild  prairie  district  into  a  region  of  rich  farms,  in  the  midst  of  which  have 
sprung  up  enterprising  towns  and  villages,  each  with  its  substantial  commercial,  industrial 
and  financial  interests.  Mr.  Haugan's  efforts  have  been  attended  with  excellent  results  not 
only  for  his  own  benefit  but  also  in  behalf  of  the  public  welfare  and  as  a  county  official 
he  is  now  making  an  excellent  record. 


LUDVIG  M.  ROCKNE. 


Ludvig  M.  Rockne,  filling  the  oflice  of  superintendent  of  schools  in  Renville  county,  his 
home  being  in  Mohall,  was  born  near  Mayville,  North  Dakota,  March  22,  1861,  a  son  of 
Iver  L.  and  Martha  C.  (Larson)  Rockne,  who  are  both  natives  of  Norway.  The  father  was 
two  years  of  age  when  brought  by  his  parents  to  the  United  States  in  1852.  He  was  reared 
in  Iowa  and  in  Minnesota  and  he  visited  Dakota  even  before  it  was  created  a  territory. 
It  was  in  the  home  of  his  uncle  near  Vermilion,  South  Dakota,  that  Dr.  William  Jayne.  the 
first  governor  of  Dakota  territory,  was  inaugurated.  In  1877  Iver  L.  Rockne  became  a  resi- 
dent of  Traill  county.  North  Dakota,  where  he  took  up  a  homestead.  Two  years  later  he 
■was  elected  county  treasurer  of  that  county  and  faithfully  and  acceptably  filled  the  office 
until  1883.  For  many  years  thereafter  he  successfully  engaged  in  farming  in  this  state  and 
he  and  his  wife  are  now  living  upon  a  farm  in  Minnesota. 

Ludvig  M.  Rockne  was  reared  in  Traill  county  and  was  graduated  from  the  high  school 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  541 

of  Hillsboro  with  the  class  of  1899.  After  teaching  for  a  year  he  entered  the  State  Uni- 
versity and  was  graduated  with  the  class  of  1904,  receiving  the  Bachelor  of  Arts  degree.  He 
then  went  to  Lidgerwood  and  was  assistant  principal  of  schools  at  that  place  for  a  year. 
He  afterward  spent  a  year  as  principal  of  the  schools  of  Petersburg,  at  the  end  of  which 
time  he  accepted  the  position  of  principal  of  the  schools  in  Mohall,  which  position  he  occupied 
for  two  years.  He  then  turned  his  attention  to  newspaper  work,  publishing  the  Mohall  News 
for  more  than  five  years.  In  1914  he  was  elected  county  superintendent  of  schools  and  in 
1916  was  reelected  to  that  office.  He  has  done  much  to  promote  the  standard  of  education, 
has  closely  studied  the  conditions  of  the  schools  and  the  possibilities  for  improvement  and 
wliilp  working  toward  high  ideals  has  used  most  practical  methods. 

On  the  23d  of  July,  1913,  Mr.  Rockne  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Alma  M.  Jordahl, 
of  Lake  Park,  Minnesota,  a  daughter  of  Peter  and  Elizabeth  Jordahl,  who  were  natives  of 
Xorway  and  in  early  life  came  to  the  new  world.  The  father  served  for  three  years  with 
a  Minnesota  regiment  in  defense  of  the  Union  during  the  Civil  war  and  the  grandfather  was 
also  for  three  years  numbered  among  those  who  defended  the  country's  interests  at  the 
front.  The  father  i)urchascd  land  near  Lake  Park,  Minnesota,  and  there  carried  on  farming 
throughout  his  remaining  days,  his  death  occurring  in  1895.     His  widow  still  survives. 

Ludvig  M.  Rockne  served  as  clerk  of  the  school  board  for  five  years  and  as  justice  of 
the  peace  for  two  years  and  in  1911  was  first  assistant  secretary  of  the  senate.  His  public 
duties  have  ever  been  discharged  in  a  most  prompt  and  efficient  manner,  his  labors  being 
productive  of  good  results.  His  political  allegiance  has  always  been  given  to  the  republican 
party.  Fraternally  he  is  connected  with  the  Masons,  was  secretary  of  the  local  lodge  for 
tliree  years,  and  is  now  master  of  the  lodge.  His  religious  faith  is  that  of  the  Lutheran 
church.  He  is  treasurer  of  the  Northwestern  Educational  Association,  which  meets  at 
Minot  once  a  year  and  has  a  membership  of  over  five  hundred.  He  was  president  of  the 
elementary  section  of  the  state  association  for  one  year  and  was  secretary  for  a  similar 
period.  His  entire  life  has  been  spent  in  the  northwest  and  the  spirit  of  modern  enterprise 
and  progress  which  has  dominated  this  section  of  the  country  has  found  expression  in  his 
entire  career.  He  has  contributed  much  to  the  progress  of  the  community  along  various 
lines  and  he  has  never  made  wealth  the  standard  of  successful  attainment,  realizing  the 
essential  value  of  intellectual  and  moral  as  well  as  material  development. 


EDMUND  WHITE. 


Edmund  White,  filling  the  position  of  county  surveyor  of  Renville  county,  his  home 
being  at  Mohall,  was  born  near  Stratford,  Ontario,  Canada,  February  21,  1871,  a  son  of 
Thomas  and  Eleanor  (Bernard)  White,  the  former  a  native  of  England  and  the  latter 
of  Orangeville,  Ontario.  Crossing  the  Atlantic  to  Canada  with  his  parents  when  a  boy  of 
eleven  years,  Thomas  White  was  there  reared  to  the  occupation  of  farming  and  afterward 
homcsteaded  in  Ontario,  securing  a  tract  of  timber  land  on  which  he  felled  the  trees  and 
then  cleared  away  the  stumps  preparatory  to  cultivating  the  land.  Throughout  his  remain- 
ing days  his  attention  was  devoted  to  the  further  improvement  of  that  farm,  whereon  he 
passed  away  January  2,  1901,  while  his  wife  died  in  ilarch,  1908. 

Edmund  White  was  reared  and  educated  in  Ontario  and  attended  night  and  correspondence 
schools  in  finishing  a  technical  education.  He  also  studied  architecture  at  the  Central  Young 
Men's  Christian  Association  at  Chicago  for  some  time.  He  became  a  civil  engineer  and 
architect  and  has  followed  the  dual  profession  for  the  past  ten  years.  From  1891  imtil 
lOOfi  he  was  engaged  in  construction  work  altogether.  In  March,  1897,  he  removed  to 
Tlottineau  county  and  homestcaded  near  Kramer,  after  which  he  developed  and  improved 
that  property  for  several  years.  In  1907  he  served  as  city  engineer  of  Bottineau  and  in 
190S  became  county  surveyor  of  Bottineau  county,  serving  for  seven  years.  He  was  also 
city  engineer  during  this  time  until  1912.  For  the  past  two  years  he  has  filled  the  position 
of  county  surveyor  of  Renville  county  and  the  prompt  and  efficient  manner  in  which  he 
discharges  his  duties  has  gained  him  recognition  as  a  most  capable  and  trustworthy  ofllcial. 
He  owns  a  highly  improved  quarter  section  of  land  in  Grover  township,  Renville  county, 
from  which  he  now  derives  a  ^ood  rental. 


542  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

On  the  8th  of  June,  1904,  Mr.  White  was  joined  in  wedlock  to  Miss  Isabelle  Kean,  a 
daughter  of  Arcliie  and  Mary  (Campbell)  Kean,  of  Almonte,  Ontario.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  White 
have  become  parents  of  four  children:  Eleanor  I.,  Archie  E.,  Myrtle  E.  and  Donald  T.  The 
family  attend  the  Presbyterian  church  and  Mr.  White  is  also  a  loyal  member  of  the  Inde- 
pendent Order  of  Odd  Fellows  and  the  Ancient  Order  of  United  Workmen.  Something  of  the 
breadth  of  his  interests  is  shown  in  his  membership  in  the  National  Geographic  Society  and 
he  is  a  charter  member  of  the  North  Dakota  Society  of  Engineers.  Politically  he  is  a 
republican  and  always  keeps  well  informed  on  the  questions  and  issues  of  the  day.  his 
support  of  any  measure  being  the  result  of  a  firm  belief  in  its  efficiency  as  a  factor  in 
good  government. 


GEORGE  A.  SCOFIELD. 


George  A.  Scofield,  filling  the  position  of  deputy  sheriff  in  Renville  county,  was  born 
in  Rochester,  Minnesota,  February  23,  186.3,  of  the  marriage  of  Peter  and  Rebecca.  (Stewart) 
Scofield,  natives  of  Ireland.  Coming  to  America  in  early  life,  the  father  settled  in  Canada, 
where  he  lived  for  four  years  and  then  removed  to  Olmsted  county  Minnesota,  where  he 
cultivated  rented  land.  He  also  operated  his  father-in-law's  place  until  1867,  when  he 
removed  to  Kansas  with  the  intention  of  taking  up  a  homestead,  but  he  there  became  ill 
and  passed  away.  His  widow  still  survives  and  has  now  reached  the  advanced  age  of 
eighty-three  years. 

George  A.  Scofield  spent  his  youthful  days  in  Olmsted  count}',  Minnesota,  and  is  indebted 
to  its  public  school  sj'stem  for  the  educational  privileges  which  he  received.  He  remained  at 
home  until  he  reached  the  age  of  twelve  years  and  then  went  to  live  with  an  uncle,  with 
whom  he  remained  for  seven  years.  In  1883  he  removed  to  Towner  county,  North  Dakota, 
where  he  filed  on  land  and  developed  and  improved  a  farm,  continuing  its  cultivation  for 
eleven  years,  or  until  1894,  when  he  was  appointed  customs  officer  at  Portal,  North  Dakota. 
For  ten  and  a  half  years  he  acceptably  filled  that  position,  discharging  his  duties  with 
promptness  and  capability.  On  the  expiration  of  that  period  he  removed  to  Grano,  Renville 
county,  and  engaged  in  general  merchandising,  continuing  the  business  until  January,  1911, 
when  his  store  was  destroyed  by  fire.  The  next  three  years  were  spent  in  clearing  up  his 
accounts  and  in  1913  he  was  appointed  to  the  position  of  deputy  sheriff  under  S.  A.  Wilcox, 
but  the  following  year  he  removed  to  Mohall,  the  county  seat,  and  embarked  in  the  life 
insurance  business.  In  1915  he  was  appointed  deputy  sheriff  under  M.  H.  Haugan  and  now 
occupies  that  position.  He  owned  farm  land  in  Renville  county  until  1916,  when  he  sold 
that  property.  His  real  estate  possessions,  however,  include  the  nicest  residence  in  Grano, 
a  structure  erected  in  the  modern  style  of  architecture  at  a  cost  of  fifty-five  hundred  dollars. 

In  December,  1893,  Mr.  Scofield  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Agnes  McNamara,  who 
was  born  in  Carrollton.  Illinois,  and  is  a  daughter  of  .John  and  Mary  McNamara,  of  Boone- 
ville,  Illinois,  both  now  deceased.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Scofield  have  become  the  parents  of  two 
children,  Annie  Irene,  born  January  19,  1899;  and  Mary  Vivian,  born  October  13,  1905.  The 
religious  faith  of  the  family  is  that  of  the  Catholic  church  and  Mr.  Scofield  is  identified 
with  the  Knights  of  Columbus  and  also  with  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America.  His  political 
views  are  in  accord  with  the  principles  of  the  republican  party,  of  which  he  is  a  stanch 
advocate,  doing  everything  in  his  power  to  promote  its  growth  and  ensure  its  success.  For 
several  years  he  served  on  the  school  board  at  Portal. 


C.  J.  McGURREN,  M.  D. 


Dr.  C.  J.  McGurren  who  is  specializing  in  the  treatment  of  the  eye,  ear,  nose,  throat, 
and  surgery  at  Devils  Lake,  was  born  in  Wyoming  county.  New  York,  April  27,  1873,  a 
son  of  James  and  .Julia  (Drummond)  McGurren.  The  fatlier  was  a  captain  in  the  Civil  war 
under  General  McClellan,  and  being  captured  was  held  a  prisoner  for  four  months  at  Libby 


DR.  C.    1.   McCrUREN 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  545 

and  for  four  months  at  Andersonville.  He  served  with  the  Kighty-ninth  New  York.  Infantry, 
and  participated  in  various  hotly  contested  engagements.  At  the  close  of  the  war  he  returned 
to  his  home  in  New  York,  but  in  1879  removed  westward  to  the  frontier,  his  destination 
being  the  territory  of  Dakota.  He  homcsteaded  at  Casselton,  in  what  is  now  North  Dakota, 
and  at  once  began  the  arduous  task  of  developing  and  improving  a  farm  there,  converting 
the  wild  prairie  into  productive  fields.  He  continued  to  reside  upon  that  place  and  further 
developed  and  improved  it  until  1906  when  he  retired  from  active  business  and  removed  to 
Casaelton,  where  he  and  his  wife  now  make  their  home. 

Dr.  MeGurren  was  a  little  lad  of  six  years  when  brought  by  his  parents  to  North 
Dakota  and  thus  he  was  reared  under  pioneer  conditions  and  surroundings.  His  early  edu- 
cation was  acquired  in  the  public  schools  and  supplemented  by  study  in  St.  Thomas  College 
in  St.  Paul,  Minnesota,  where  he  remained  for  two  years,  and  by  a  course  in  the  .Jesuit  Col- 
lege at  ,S]>okane,  Washington.  For  five  years  thereafter  he  engaged  in  teaching  school,  but 
regarded  this  merely  as  an  initial  step  to  other  [jrofessional  labor.  Determining  to  engage 
in  the  practice  of  medicine  he  entered  the  Michigan  State  University  at  Ann  Arbor  and 
later  continued  his  medical  studies  in  St.  Louis,  Missouri,  and  in  Hamline  University  of 
Minnesota.  He  was  graduated  from  the  medical  department  of  the  last  named  institution 
in  1904  and  for  three  years  thereafter  practiced  in  Larimore,  North  Dakota.  In  the  fall  of 
1907  he  opened  an  office  at  Devils  Lake,  where  he  has  since  remained.  He  has  taken  posb 
graduate  work  in  preparation  for  his  specialty,  studying  in  Chicago  and  in  Philadelphia,  and 
he  now  concentrates  his  energies  upon  the  treatment  of  diseases  of  the  eye,  ear,  nose  and 
throat  and  upon  surgery.  He  is  a  member  of  the  medical  staff  of  Jlercy  Hospital  of  Devils 
Lake  and  is  now  serving  for  the  second  term  as  a  member  of  the  state  board  of  health,  of 
which  he  is  the  secretary.  He  enjoys  a  large  and  constantly  increasing  practice,  his  i)ro- 
fessional  activities  making  constant  demands  upon  his  time  and  energies.  In  addition  to 
his  practice  he  is  interested  in  agricultural  pursuits,  owning  farm  lands  in  this  section  of 
the  state,  and,  moreover,  he  is  a  director  of  the  Larimore  National  bank. 

On  June  28,  1904,  Dr.  MeGurren  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Henrietta  Langer,  and 
\into  them  have  been  born  two  children,  James  F.,  and  Mary  J.  The  religious  faith  of  the 
family  is  that  of  the  Catholic  church  and  Dr.  MeGurren  also  belongs  to  the  Knights  of 
Columbus,  the  Catholic  Order  of  Foresters,  the  Ancient  Order  of  LTnited  Workmen  and  the 
Elks.  His  political  allegiance  is  given  to  the  republican  party  but  the  honors  and  emolu- 
ments of  office  oiitside  the  path  of  his  profession  have  no  attraction  for  him.  He  belongs 
to  the  District  Medical  Society  which  has  honored  him  with  election  to  its  presidency  and 
he  is  also  a  member  of  the  North  Dakota  State  Medical  Association  and  the  American  Med- 
ical Association,  through  the  proceedings  of  w-hieh  he  keeps  abreast  with  the  latest  scientific 
investigation,    research    and    discovery. 


CHARLES  EVENSEN. 


Charles  Evensen,  one  of  the  well  known  business  men  of  Sheyenne,  possesses  that 
spirit  of  enterprise  which  results  in  substantial  benefit  to  the  community  as  well  as  to  the 
individual.  He  was  born  in  Norway,  September  18,  1865,  a  son  of  Martinius  and  Caroline 
(Larson)  Evensen,  who  came  to  the  United  States  in  1880,  settling  in  Cliicago,  Illinois. 
The  mother  died  eleven  months  later,  but  the  father  continued  his  residence  in  Chicago 
until  about  1900.  when  he  removed  to  North  Dakota,  taking  up  his  abode  in  Kindred,  where 
he  resided  until  his  death  in  1910.  He  was  a  carpenter  and  builder  and  for  many  years 
was  actively    engaged    in    building   operations. 

Charles  Evensen  spent  the  first  fifteen  years  of  his  life  in  his  native  country  and  began 
his  education  in  the  public  schools  there,  while  later  he  continued  liis  studies  in  the  public 
schools  of  Chicago.  Afterward  he  was  employed  in  various  connections  in  Chicago  until 
1888,  when  he  came  to  North  Dakota,  settling  at  Kindred,  where  he  accepted  a  position  in 
the  store  of  his  brother  Rudolph,  who  had  come  to  this  state  about  1882  and  had  estab- 
lished a  general  merchandise  business  at  Kindred.  Mr.  Evensen  of  this  review  remained 
in  Kindred  until  1899,  when  he  removed  to  Sheyenne  and  established  his  present  mercantile 


546  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

business,  which  he  has  now  conducted  for  a  period  of  seventeen  years.  Throughout  the 
time  he  has  been  prominently  identified  with  the  commercial  development  of  the  town  and 
he  now  has  one  of  its  leading  stores,  carrying  a  well  selected  and  attractive  stock  for  which 
he  asks   reasonable   prices  and  thus  wins   a  good   sale. 

On  the  10th  of  June,  1895,  Mr.  Evensen  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Ingeborg 
Myhra,  a  native  of  Spring  Grove,  Minnesota.  Her  parents,  natives  of  Norway,  emigrated 
to  the  United  States  and  took  up  their  abode  among  the  early  settlers  of  Minnesota.  To 
Mr.  and  Mrs.  Evensen  have  been  born  six  children,  four  of  whom  survive,  namely:  Millard, 
Carl,   Marian    and    Gladys,    all    at    home. 

The  parents  are  members  of  the  Lutheran  Synod,  and  Mr.  Evensen  gives  his  political 
support  to  the  republican  party.  In  earlj'  manhood,  attracted  by  the  opportunities  of 
the  northwest,  he  came  to  this  state  and  through  the  intervening  period  his  labors  have 
been  so  directed  that  he  has  gradually  worked  his  way  upward  and  is  today  numbered 
among   the   prosperous    merchants   of   his    section   of   the   state. 


MAETIN  RUD. 


Martin  End,  who  operates  an  excellent  farm  on  section  22,  Pleasant  township,  Cass 
county,  was  born  in  Norway  on  the  30th  of  May,  1866,  of  the  marriage  of  Hans  and  Martha 
(Kud)  Rud,  lifelong  residents  of  that  country.  They  had  seven  children  but  only  three 
survive  and  they  are   all  living  in  America. 

Martin  Rud  attended  the  schools  of  his  native  land  in  the  acquirement  of  his  education 
but  in  April,  1886,  when  about  twenty  years  of  age,  he  came  to  the  United  States.  Until 
Kis  marriage,  which  occurred  in  1899,  he  worked  as  a  farm  hand,  after  which  he  took  charge 
of  the  operation  of  a  farm  on  section  22,  Pleasant  township,  Cass  county.  North  Dakota, 
which  he  and  his  wife  now  own.  The  place  comprises  one  hundred  and  twenty  acres  of 
productive  land  and  it  is  in  a  high  state  of  development.  Mr.  Rud  has  carefully  conserved 
the  fertility  of  the  soil  and  has  made  many  improvements  upon  the  place.  He  has  erected 
good  buildings,  which  he  keeps  in  excellent  repair,  and  his  farm  is  one  of  the  valuable  and 
attractive  places  in  his  locality.  He  engages  in  general  farming  and  receives  a  good  income 
from  his  land.     He  also  owns   stock  in  the  Farmers  Elevator  at  Hickson. 

Mr.  Rud  was  united  in  marriage  in  1899  to  Miss  Carrie  Myrhe,  who  was  born  in  Nor- 
way but  in  1885  came  to  this  country.  They  have  become  the  parents  of  two  sons,  Melvin 
and   Clifford. 

Mr.  Rud  gives  his  political  allegiance  to  the  republican  party  and  is  serving  for  the 
third  j'ear  as  assessor  of  Pleasant  township  and  for  the  twelfth  year  as  president  of  the 
school  board,  his  continuance  in  those  offices  proving  his  efficiency  and  conscientiousness. 
Both  he  and  his  wife  are  members  of  the  Lutheran  church,  of  which  he  is  now  treasurer. 
He  has  earned  the  title  of  a  self-made  man,  for  when  he  began  his  independent  career  he 
had  neither  money  nor  the  aid  of  influential  friends  and  he  has  since  depended  solely  upon 
his  own   efforts. 


C.  D.  LORD. 


C.  D.  Lord,  president  of  the  Bank  of  Park  River  and  thus  well  known  in  the  business 
circles  of  Park  River  and  Walsh  coimty,  was  born  in  Shakopee,  Minnesota,  December  23, 
1856,  a  son  of  Charles  and  Julia  (Buffum)  Lord,  both  of  whom  were  natives  of  New  Hamp- 
shire. In  the  year  1850  they  made  their  way  westward  to  Minnesota,  where  the  father 
successfully  engaged  in  the  practice  of  medicine  and  surgery,  spending  his  remaining  days 
in  that  state.     There  he  passed  away  in  1882,  at  the  age  of  sixty-one  years. 

C.  D.  Lord  was  the  fifth  in  a  family  of  eight  children  and  his  youthful  days  were 
largely  devoted  to  the  acquirement  of  a  public  school  education  in  Minnesota.  He  after- 
ward entered  the  State  University  of  Michigan  at  Ann  Arbor  for  the  pharmaceutical  course 


HISTORY  OF  XORTli  DAKOTA  547 

and  subsequently  lie  became  connected  with  the  banking  business  as  an  associate  of  Andrew 
J.  Smith  of  the  Citizens  Bank  of  Sauk  Centre,  Minnesota.  There  he  remained  from  1880 
until  1SS5,  when  he  removed  to  Jlelrose,  .Minnesota,  and  entered  the  Bank  of  Melrose.  In 
fact  he  assisted  in  organizing  that  bank  in  connection  with  Henry  Keller  and  C.  M.  Sprague 
and  remained  a  factor  in  its  management  for  nine  months.  On  the  expiration  of  that  period 
he  removed  to  Bark  Kiver,  North  Dakota,  where  he  arrived  in  188G  and  organized  the  Bank 
of  Bark  River  with  a  capital  of  ten  thousand  dollars.  It  was  at  first  a  private  bank  but  in 
1889  was  transformed  into  a  state  bank,  lie  is  likewise  a  director  and  the  president  of 
the  Gardar  State  Bank  at  Gardar  and  the  president  of  the  First  National  Bank  of  Hampden, 
North  Dakota.  He  is  thoroughly  conversant  with  every  branch  of  the  banking  business  and 
is  a  recognized  authority  on  many  problems  of  banking.  He  is  likewise  interested  in 
agricultural  pursuits  and  the  development  of  the  farming  interests  of  this  section  of  tin; 
state  and  he  owns  large  acreage  in  Walsh  county. 

On  the  I8II1  of  -July,  1882,  Mr.  Lord  was  united  in  marriage  to  JUss  Annie  K.  Chewny, 
of  Farmuigton,  Minnesota.  She  is  a  daughter  of  li.  J.  and  M.  A.  Chewny,  the  latter  still 
a  resident  of  Farmington.  Four  children  have  been  born  to  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Lord:  Frank  C, 
who  was  born  in  Sauk  Centre,  Minnesota,  and  is  assistant  cashier  of  the  Bank  of  Park 
River;  Ethel,  the  wife  of  James  H.  Douglass,  of  Seattle,  Washington;  Jessie,  who  is  a 
graduate  of  the  Park  River  high  school;  and  Leah,  who  also  completed  a  course  in  the  high 
school  of  Park  River.  The  family  occupies  an  enviable  position  in  social  circles  and  the 
hospitality  of  the  best  homes  of  this  part  of  the  state  is  freely  accorded  them. 

Mr.  Lord  is  well  known  in  Masonic  circles,  having  attained  the  thirty-second  degree 
of  the  Scottish  Rite,  while  he  is  also  a  Noble  of  the  Mystic  Shrine.  His  high  standing  in 
the  order  is  indicated  in  the  fact  that  he  has  been  honored  with  the  position  of  treasurer 
in  the  grand  lodge  for  the  past  eighteen  years.  He  is  also  connected  with  the  Independent 
Order  of  Foresters.  In  politics  he  is  a  democrat  and  has  served  as  a  member  of  the  city 
council,  as  a  member  of  the  school  board  and  was  the  first  candidate  of  his  party  for  the 
office  of  state  treasurer  after  the  admission  of  North  Dakota  into  the  Union.  His  opinions 
carry  weight  in  party  councils  and  his  efforts  for  public  improvement  have  been  far- 
reaching  and  effective.  His  business  activity  is  an  element  of  progress  in  Park  River  and 
the  surrounding  country  and  at  the  same  time  his  affairs  have  been  so  wisely  and  capably 
managed  as  to  bring  to  him  individually  a  substantial  and  well   merited  measure  of  success. 


GUNNAR  OLGEIRSON. 


Gunnar  Olgeirson  is  one  of  the  representative  business  men  of  Burleigh  county,  now 
filling  the  position  of  cashier  of  the  German  State  Bank  of  Wing.  He  was  born  on  the 
18th  of  August,  1870,  in  Iceland,  of  Avhich  country  his  parents,  Bjarui  and  Gudrnn  Olgeir- 
son. were  also  natives.  He  was  nine  years  of  age  when  the  family  emigrated  to  the  new 
world  and  located  in  Manitoba,  Canada,  where  they  spent  a  year  and  a  half,  and  in  1881 
came  to  North  Dakota.  The  father  took  up  a  homestead  near  Milton,  in  Pembina  county, 
on  which  both  he  and  the  mother  spent  the  remainder  of  their  lives. 

Gunnar  Olgeirson  passed  his  boyhood  and  youth  under  the  parental  roof  and  on  leav- 
ing home  in  1891  entered  the .  University  of  North  Dakota  at  Grand  Forks,  graduating 
from  the  academic  department  of  that  institution.  During  the  following  two  years  he 
engaged  in  teaching  school  at  Thompson,  Grand  Forks  county,  and  at  the  end  of  that 
time  returned  to  the  university,  where  he  pursued  a  law  course  and  was  graduated  with  the 
T.T.  B.  degree  in  1904.  On  his  admission  to  the  bar  he  opened  an  ofTice  in  Underwood, 
North  Dakota,  where  he  was  engaged  in  practice  for  three  years,  and  was  then  elected 
judge  of  the  probate  court,  filling  that  position  in  a  most  creditable  and  acic]itable  manner 
for  six  years. 

On  retiring  from  the  bench  Jfr.  Olgeirson  removed  to  Wing  to  assume  the  duties  of 
cashier  of  the  German  State  Bank,  in  which  capacity  he  is  still  serving.  He  is  also  one 
of  its  directors.  This  bank  was  organized  on  the  29th  of  June,  1911,  by  J.  E.  Davis  of 
Goodrich,  who  has  since  filled  the  position  of   president,  while  F.  M.  Davis  has  served  as 


548  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

vice  president  and  Gunnar  Olgeirson  as  cashier  from  its  incorporation.  Tlie  capital  stock 
of  the  bank  is  ten  thousand  dollars  and  there  is  a  surplus  and  undivided  profits  of  four 
thousand  dollars.  The  company  erected  a  good  frame  and  metal  covered  building  in  which 
to  house  the  bank  and  they  have  built  up  an  excellent  business  in  general  banking,  loans 
and  insurance.  In  addition  to  his  banking  interests  Mr.  Olgeirson  is  also  carrying  on  farm- 
ing near  Wing  and  is  engaged  in  the  real  estate  business.  He  is  a  wide-awake,  energetic 
man  and   is   meeting  with  well  deserved   success   in   his   operations. 

Mr.  Olgeirson  was  married  in  1908  to  Miss  Isabelle  Hagen,  a  native  of  Burleigh  countVj 
and  to  them  have  been  born  three  sons,  namely:  Robert  H.,  George  B.  and  John  W.  Mr. 
Olgeirson  holds  membership  in  the  Lutheran  church,  and  fraternally  is  a  member  of  the 
blue  lodge  of  Masons  at  Bismarck  and  the  Knights  of  Pythias  lodge  at  Washburn,  North 
Dakota.  He  is  a  republican  in  politics  and  by  his  ballot  supports  all  progressive  measures 
which  he  believes  will  prove  of  public  benefit.  He  has  done  much  to  promote  the  interests 
of  his  town  and  county  and  is  justly  regarded  as  one  of  the  leading  citizens  of  the  com- 
munity. 


HON.  ALFRED  BEECHER  COX. 

Hon.  Alfred  Beecher  Cox,  who  for  six  years  was  a  member  of  the  North  Dakota  senate 
and  is  actively  engaged  in  business  as  vice  president  and  general  manager  of  the  Northern 
Seed  Company  of  Valley  City  and  president  of  the  Dakota-Montana  Land  &  Investment 
Company,  has  been  prominently,  actively  and  helpfully  associated  with  the  interests  of 
this  state  for  a  third  of  a  century.  He  was  born  in  Colchester  county,  Nova  Scotia,  March 
18,  1863,  a  son  of  Abraham  and  Susan  (Bentley)  Cox,  who  were  natives  of  the  same 
locality  and  representatives  of  old  families  there  who  engaged  in  farming  and  stock  raising. 
The  father  became  an  extensive  farmer  and  also  dealt  successfully  in  live  stock  to  the  age 
of  seventy-four  years,  when  his  life's  labors  were  ended  in  death. 

Of  a  family  of  seven  children  Alfred  B.  Cox  was  the  eldest  and  after  pursuing  his 
studies  in  the  pxiblic  schools  of  his  native  county  he  attended  the  Horton  Academy  and  the 
Acadia  College  at  Wolfville,  Nova  Scotia,  where  he  pursued  the  arts  course.  He  afterward 
engaged  in  clerking  for  a  year  at  Truro.  In  1883  he  removed  to  the  west,  settling  at 
Cooperstown,  North  Dakota,  where  he  remained  for  two  years.  He  then  went  to  Sanborn, 
where  he  resided  for  twelve  years,  during  which  period  he  was  connected  with  the  lumber 
and  grain  trades.  In  1807  he  went  to  Valley  City,  being  interested  in  the  elevators  along 
the  Northern  Pacific  Railroad  and  also  interested  in  farm  lands  in  Barnes  county.  In  1913 
he  became  associated  with  General  A.  P.  Peake  and  others  in  buying  out  the  Northern 
Seed  Company,  which  had  established  business  some  years  before.  Mr.  Cox  became  vice 
president  and  general  manager  upon  the  reorganization  of  the  business  and  so  continues  to 
the  present  time.  Their  trade  now  extends  all  over  North  Dakota,  Montana,  the  northern 
part  of  South  Dakota  and  western  Minnesota  and  their  business  is  rapidly  increasing,  for 
patrons  have  found  their  goods  reliable  and  their  methods  thoroughly  honorable.  Mr.  Cox 
is  also  interested  in  other  business  enterprises,  being  president  of  the  Dakota-Montana  Land 
&  Investment  Company,  which  has  its  home  ofiice  at  Valley  City.  He  is  also  interested  in  a 
business  at  Courtenay,  North  Dakota,  which  is  managed  by  his  son  under  the  name  of  the 
Cox-Nelson  Companj',  this  being  a  farm  implement  and  hardware  business  of  extensive  and 
gratifying  proportions. 

On  the  25th  of  May,  1887,  Mr.  Cox  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Grace  Van  Voorhis, 
a  native  of  Pennsylvania  and  a  daughter  of  .James  H.  Van  Voorhis,  who  became  one  of  the 
early  settlers  living  west  of  Cooperstown,  North  Dakota,  on  a  farm,  having  taken  up  his 
abode  there  in  1882.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Cox  have  become  parents  of  two  sons.  Edward  B.,  who 
attended  the  public  schools  and  the  normal  school  at  Valley  City  and  was  graduated  from 
the  State  University  of  Michigan,  is  now  secretary  and  manager  of  the  Cox-Nelson  Company, 
doing  business  at  Courtenay.  He  married  Genevieve  McFarland,  a  daughter  of  George  A. 
McFarland,  president  of  the  Valley  City  Normal  School.  Gordon  Van  Voorhis,  who  attended 
the  public  schools  and  the  State  Normal  of  Valley  City,  is  now  employed  in  the  First 
National  Bank  of  Fargo,  North  Dakota. 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  551 

Fraternally  Mr.  Cox  is  a  prominent  Mason,  having  taken  the  degrees  of  lodge,  chapter, 
commandery  and  Mystic  Shrine,  and  he  is  also  connected  with  the  Knights  of  Pythias.  His 
political  allegiance  has  always  been  given  to  the  lepublican  party.  In  1899  he  was  elected 
to  the  state  senate  and  was  reelected  in  190],  serving  in  all  for  six  years.  He  is  a  man  of 
excellent  judgment  not  only  iu  business  affairs  but  in  connection  with  questions  of  public 
moment,  and  he  displays  the  same  ability  and  energy  in  working  for  the  general  good  that 
he  does  in  managing  his  private  interests.  In  a  word,  he  is  a  good,  clean  citizen,  helpful  in 
bringing  about  those  purifying  and  wholesome  reforms  which  have  been  gradually  growing 
up  in  the  political,  municipal  and  social  life  of  the  city.  He  keeps  in  touch  with  the  trend  of 
modern  thought  and  progress.  Unselfish  and  retiring,  he  prefers  a  quiet  place  in  the  back- 
ground to  the  glamour  of  publicity,  but  his  rare  aptitude  and  ability  in  achieving  results  make 
him  constantly  sought  and  often  bring  him  into  a  prominence  from  which  he  would  naturally 
shrink  were  less  desirable  ends  in  view. 


ROBERT  BRUCE  GORE. 


At  a  very  early  day  in  the  development  of  this  state  Robert  Bruce  Gore  came  to  Dakota 
territory  and  for  some  time  was  employed  as  a  cowboy  and  government  scout  in  this  region. 
Later  he  owned  and  operated  ranches  but  is  now  interested  in  the  automobile  business,  owning 
a  large  modern  garage  in  Alexander.  He  was  born  in  Clayton  county,  Iowa,  on  the  28th 
of  -January,  1854,  and  is  a  son  of  Nicholas  and  Hannah  (Crop)  Gore,  both  natives  of 
Pennsylvania,  though  they  were  married  in  Iowa.  The  father  was  a  j'oung  man  when  he 
went  to  tlie  latter  state  and  purchased  government  land  in  Clayton  county  at  one  dollar 
and  a  quarter  per  acre,  his  farm  being  located  near  the  town  of  Colesbiirg  just  over  the 
line  in  Delaware  county,  Iowa.  Upon  that  place  he  continued  to  make  his  home  until  his 
death.     His   widow  now   lives   in   Manchester,   Iowa. 

Robert  Bruce  Gore  spent  the  first  twenty-four  years  of  his  life  in  his  native  county, 
where  he  attended  school  as  he  found  opportunity  and  aided  his  father  in  the  work  of 
the  farm.  At  the  age  of  fifteen,  however,  he  began  earning  his  own  livelihood  and  has 
since  been  dependent  upon  his  own  resources.  In  1878  he  made  his  way  across  the  coun- 
try to  Clear  Lake  and  on  to  Sioux  City,  Iowa,  and  then  up  the  ilissouri  river  to  Fort 
Pierre  in  Dakota  territory,  being  a  passenger  on  the  steamboat  C.  K.  Peek.  At  Fort 
Pierre  he  obtained  work  as  a  "bull  whacker,"  driving  a  bull  team  in  a  freight  train  between 
that  place  and  the  Black  Hills.  Later  he  punched  cattle,  being  one  of  the  old  time  cow- 
boys of  the  Black  Hills  in  territorial  days,  and  in  1899  established  a  cattle  ranch  of  his 
own  in  McKenzie  county,  North  Dakota,  making  his  headquarters  at  Wibaux,  Montana. 
This  was  in  the  days  of  the  open  range  and  his  ranch,  known  as  the  U  cross  outfit,  was 
one  of  the  famous  cattle  ranches  on  the  Missouri  river.  His  cattle  with  the  V-\-  brand 
roamed  all  over  the  Bad  Lands  and  the  ranch  boss — Bob  Gore — became  well  known  to  the 
cattle  men  of  that  country.  On  the  20th  of  July,  1912,  he  sold  his  ranch  but  cattle  bear- 
ing his  bran<I  are  still  running.  He  felt  that  the  days  of  the  old  ranchman  were  over  and 
would  rather  disjjose  of  his  property  than  engage  in  cattle  raising  according  to  modern 
methods.  He  removed  to  Alexander  and  after  living  retired  for  a  year  established  a  large 
modern   automobile    garage,   which   he   now    conducts. 

On  the  lltli  of  June,  1912,  Mr.  Gore  was  married  in  Alexander  to  .Miss  .Mabel  Burge. 
By  a  former  marriage  he  has  two  sons,  Frank  Byron  and  Scott  Bruce.  The  latter  now 
owns  and  operates  a  ranch  in  the  Bad  Lands  south  of  Alexander  and  is  the  champion 
broncho  buster  of  North  Dakota,  having  given  exhibitions  in  broncho  busting  and  in  rid- 
ing wild  horses  all  over  the  west.  He  has  never  been  thrown  from  a  horse  in  any  contest 
that  he  has  entered  and  at  Denver,  Colorado,  he  won  a  two  thousand  dollar  prize  for  riding 
a  wild  horse.  The  owner  of  this  horse  offered  to  bet  any  amount  of  money  that  no  one 
could  ride  or  stay  on  its  back.  Hearing  of  this  Scott  Gore  got  all  the  money  he  could, 
packed  up  his  saddle  and  went  to  Denver,  where  he  bet  his  two  tliousand  dollars  that  he 
could   ride   the   horse.     He   not   only   rode   it   and   got   the    two   thousand   dollars   but   also 


552  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

received  one-half  of  the  gate  receipts.     He  has  also  ridden   at  Cheyenne,  Wyoming;   Miles 
City  and  Glendive,  Montana,  and  other  places. 

Mr.  Gore  of  this  review  is  a  charter  member  of  Yellowstone  Lodge,  No.  110,  A.  F.  & 
A.  M.  at  Alexander,  which  he  helped  to  organize.  He  has  taken  the  thirty-second  degree 
in  the  Scottish  Rite.  Politically  he  affiliates  with  the  republican  party  and  has  always 
taken  an  active  part  in  public  affairs.  In  November,  1888,  he  was  elected  const.able  of 
Lawrence  county.  South  Dakota,  now  Mead  county,  and  served  for  two  years;  has  served 
as  deputy  sheriff  of  McKcnzie  county,  North  Dakota  for  over  three  years;  and  was  one 
of  the  first  county  commissioners  elected  in  the  latter  county,  although  others  had  pre- 
viously been  appointed  to  that  position.  During  the  Wounded  Knee  Indian  campaign  in 
South  Dakota  in  1889  and  1890  he  served  as  a  scout  for  the  army,  being  connected  with 
the  Si:!^th  United  States  Cavalry  at  Pine  Ridge.  He  has  practically  witnessed  the  entire 
development  of  this  state  and  is  widely  and  favorably  known,  having  a  host  of  friends 
in  both  North  and  South  Dakota. 


WILLIAM  FRANlvLIN  B  EERIER. 

Flasher  lost  one  of  its  valued  and  representative  citizens  when  William  Franklin  Berrier 
passed  away  August  19,  1915.  He  was  then  in  the  fifty-third  year  of  his  age,  his  birth 
having  occurred  in  Allamakee  county,  Iowa,  September  8,  1862.  His  father,  Matthew  Wilson 
Berrier,  was  born  in  Pennsylvania  and  in  early  manhood  went  to  Iowa,  becoming  one  of  the 
early  settlers  of  Allamakee  eoimty.  After  devoting  some  time  to  farming  lie  engaged  in 
the  meat  business  at  Humboldt,  Iowa,  and  his  sons  have  there  succeeded  him  in  that 
undertaking. 

William  Franklin  Berrier  spent  his  youthful  days  in  his  native  state  and  in  1882,  when 
a  young  man  of  twenty  years,  made  his  way  to  South  Dakota.  The  following  year  he  home- 
steaded  in  Hughes  county,  there  remaining  until  December,  1891,  when  he  removed  to 
Minneapolis  and  became  associated  with  the  Northwestern  Hide  &  Fur  Company,  for  which 
he  traveled  throughout  North  Dakota,  making  his  headquarters  at  Fargo.  In  December, 
1902,  he  brought  his  family  to  this  state,  arriving  in  Flasher  en  New  Year's  day  of  1903. 
Here  he  had  erected  a  building — the  first  business  building  in  the  town,  it  being  still  in 
use  as  a  general  store  and  postoffice.  Mr.  Berrier  began  general  merchandising  and  was 
appointed  postmaster  of  the  village,  in  which  position  he  continued  until  his  death.  From 
the  beginning  he  was  actively  and  prominently  identified  with  the  progress  and  improve- 
ment of  his  section  of  the  state.  He  was  one  of  the  promoters  of  the  First  State  Bank  of 
Flasher  and  became  its  first  president,  so  continuing  until  this  bank  consolidated  with  the 
Flasher  State  Bank  some  four  years  later.  He  was  also  the  promoter  and  business  manager 
of  the  Southern  Morton  County  Telephone  Company  and  was  prominent  and  active  in  every 
movement  for  the  advancement,  improvement  and  upbuilding  of  his  community.  He  was 
looked  upon  as  the  father  of  the  town  and  Flasher  indeed  largely  stands  as  a  moniiment 
to  his  enterprise.  Fraternally  he  was  a  prominent  Mason,  attaining  that  high  rank  which 
enabled  him  to  afterward  become  a  member  of  the  Shrine.  He  also  belonged  to  the  Benevolent 
Protective  Order  of  Elks.  All  who  knew  him  entertained  for  him  the  highest  regard  and  he 
enjoyed  the  warm  friendship  of  many  with  whom  he  was  brought  in  contact.  He  was  a 
loyal  citizen,  a  faithful  friend  and  a  devoted  husband  and  father. 

On  the  16th  of  March,  1890,  Mr.  Berrier  was  married  to  Miss  Fannie  Schlosser,  of 
Lodi,  Wisconsin,  a  daugter  of  Henry  and  Frederica  (Leitz)  Schlosser,  who  were  natives 
of  Germany.  In  the  '50s,  when  twenty-one  years  of  age.  the  father  became  a  resident 
of  Wisconsin  and  was  a  pioneer  settler  of  the  district  of  Lodi.  At  the  time  of  the  Civil 
war  he  enlisted  in  Company  A,  Fiftieth  Wisconsin  Volunteer  Infantry,  with  which  he 
served  throughout  the  period  of  hostilities.  He  was  stationed  in  North  Dakota  and  other 
sections  of  the  west  in  order  to  quell  Indian  uprisings,  and  when  the  need  for  this  was 
over  he  returned  to  Wisconsin,  where  he  spent  the  remainder  of  his  life,  passing  away  in 
1907,  at  the  age  of  seventy-seven  years.  Mrs.  Berrier  was  the  youngest  of  his  seven  children. 
She  spent  her  girlhood  in  Wisconsin  and  afterward  learned  the   printing  trade   at   Blunt, 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  553 

South  Dakota,  where  her  brotlier  imblished  tlie  Blunt  Advocate.  Following  her  marriage 
in  1890  she  spent  some  time  in  Minneapolis  and  thence  went  to  Flasher,  where  she  pur- 
chased the  local  paper,  the  Flasher  Hustler,  which  she  conducted  for  six  years,  selling  out 
in    May,    1910. 

To  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Berrier  were  born  three  children,  as  follows:  Helen,  who  was  the 
first  white  child  to  live  in  Flasher  and  is  now  the  wife  of  Dr.  George  H.  Spielmau;  Charles, 
who  died  at  the  age  of  nine  years;  and  Harold,  whose  natal  day  was  November  1,  1906, 
and  who  was  the  first  white  child  born  in  Flasher,  Morton  county,  North  Dakota. 

Mrs.  Berrier  has  always  taken  a  most  active  part  in  advance  movements  in  Flasher. 
She  was  largely  instrumental  in  promoting  the  movement  that  led  to  the  erection  of  the 
new  high  school  building,  a  two-story  brick  structure  containing  five  rooms.  She  went 
around  with  petitions  after  others  had  failed  and  forced  the  project  through.  She  also 
selected  the  site  for  the  building — a  most  admirable  location,  the  ground  being  high  and 
ideally  situated.  Acting  as  assistant  postmaster,  she  was  always  able  to  relieve  her  husband 
in  his  work  in  the  office.  She  was  the  organizer  of  the  first  Sunday  school  in  Flasher  and 
secured  the  services  of  a  missionary,  Avho  came  from  Bismarck  in  the  spring  of  1903  to  aid 
her  in  establishing  the  school.  She  belongs  to  the  Ladies  Aid  Society  and  in  fact  takes  a 
most  active  part  in  the  church  work,  doing  all  in  her  pow-er  to  advance  moral  progress  in 
the  community.  Her  residence  in  this  section  of  the  state  compasses  the  period  of  Indian 
occupancy  and  of  pioneer  development.  In  the  early  days  the  visits  of  the  Indians  were 
common  and  on  one  occasion  Mrs.  Berrier  started  to  take  a  picture  of  a  number.  One 
of  them,  however,  strenuously  objected,  but  with  signs  he  conveyed  to  her  the  information 
that  he  would  return,  which  he  did  in  full  Indian  war  costume  gotten  up  for  the  occasion. 
He  proved  to  be  the  famous  Sioux  chief  and  warrior,  Rain-in-the-Facc.  Mrs.  Berrier  is  a 
lady  of  splendid  talents  and  qualities,  honored  by  all  who  know  her,  and  her  work  in  behalf 
of  the  material,  social,  intellectual  and  moral  progress  of  her  community  has  been  most 
beneficial. 


JOHN  V.  N.  SUNDBERCx. 


Prominent  among  the  public  officials  of  Eddy  county  is  John  V.  N.  Sundberg.  who  is 
now  filling  the  office  of  register  of  deeds  with  credit  to  himself  and  to  the  entire  satisfac- 
tion of  his  constituents.  He  was  born  near  Cambridge,  in  Henry  county,  Illinois,  on  the 
31st  of  December,  1871,  and  is  a  son  of  John  and  Anna  S.  (Nelson)  Sundberg,  both  natives 
of  Sweden.  The  father  came  to  America  in  1 852  and  it  was  six  years  later  that  the  mother 
crossed  the  Atlantic  to  this  country.  Locating  in  Henry  county,  Illinois,  ,Iohn  Sundberg 
purcliascd  land  near  Kewance  and  engaged  in  farming  there  until  1876,  when  he  removed 
to  Webster  county,  Iowa,  where  he  bought  a  quarter  section  for  twelve  hundred  dollars. 
Upon  a  part  of  this  tract  the  town  of  Callender  has  since  been  located.  To  the  cultiva- 
tion and  improvement  of  his  land  the  father  devoted  his  attention  throughout  the  remain- 
der of  his  life,  dying  there  in  May,  1913.     The  mother  is  still  living. 

John  V.  N.  Sundberg  was  not  five  years  of  age  when  the  family  removed  to  Webster 
county,  Iowa,  where  he  grew  to  manhood,  his  early  education  being  acquired  in  the  local 
schools.  Later  he  attended  Augustana  College  at  Rock  Island,  Illinois,  and  then  engaged 
in  teaching  school  in  that  state  and  in  Sovith  Dakota  for  four  years.  On  the  8th  of 
April,  1898.  he  arrived  in  Sheyenne,  Eddy  county,  North  Dakota,  and  taught  one  term 
of  school  at  that  place.  He  next  engaged  in  the  lumber  business  in  partnership  with  his 
brothers  and  they  also  operated  a  feed  mill.  On  selling  out  he  accepted  the  position  of 
manager  for  the  Federal  Elevator  Company  at  Sheyenne  and  remained  with  them  one 
season,  after  which  he  Avas  with  the  Nortliwest  Lumber  Company  for  three  years.  He 
was  subsequently  engaged  in  the  manufacture  of  concrete  blocks  and  did  general  contract 
work  until  his  election  to  the  office  of  register  of  deeds  in  1910,  since  which  time  he  has 
devoted  his  attention  to  the  duties  of  that  position.  Mr.  Sundberg  is  a  stockholder  in 
the  Capital  Construction  Company  of  New  Rockford  and  at  one  time  owner  of  two  thousand 
acr<'s  of  land  in  Eddy  county  but  has  since  disposed  of  a  part  of  this.  However,  he  still 
owns  twelve  hundred  acres  of  land,  one  half  section  being  in  Benson  county,  North   Dakota. 


554  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

On  the  12th  of  February,  1902,  Mr.  Sundberg  married  Miss  Augusta  Peterson,  and  tliey 
have  two  children:  Carl  V.  Q.,  born  February  23,  1907;  and  Miltou  E.,  born  May  5,  1913. 
The  parents  hold  membership  in  the  Swedish  Lutheran  church  of  Sheyenne  but  during 
their  residence  in  New  Eockford  have  attended  the  Methodist  church.  Mr.  Sundberg  is  a 
Royal  Arch  Mason  and  also  belongs  to  the  Loyal  Order  of  Moose.  The  republican  party 
finds  in  him  a  stanch  supporter  of  its  principles  and  he  has  served  as  school  clerk  for  two 
years  and  has  also  filled  the  office  of  constable  besides  that  of  register  of  deeds  of  Eddy 
county.  His  public  duties  have  always  been  most  efficiently  performed  and  his  course  in 
life  has  ever  been  such  as  to  commend  him  to  the  confidence  and  higli  regard  of  all  with 
whom  he  is  brought  in  contact.  In  business  affairs  he  is  prompt,  energetic  and  reliable 
and  success  has  attended  his  well  directed  efforts,  so  that  he  is  now  one  of  the  substantial 
citizens  of  New  Rockford. 


OLE  K.  BRANDVOLD. 


The  upbuilding  of  a  community  does  not  depend  so  much  upon  the  machinery  of 
government  or  even  upon  the  men  who  occupy  public  positions  as  upon  the  merchants  and 
manufacturers,  whose  progressive  spirit  is  constantly  manifest  in  efforts  to  improve  and 
develop  a  district.  To  this  class  belongs  Ole  K.  Brandvold,  who  is  sole  proprietor  of  a  dry 
goods  and  general  merchandise  store.  He  was  born  April  11,  1867,  in  Hallingdahl,  Norway, 
a  son  of  Knut  Brandvold,  also  a  native  of  that  country,  who  came  to  America  in  1S85 
and  settled  in  Edinburg.  North  Dakota,  where  he  resided  to  the  time  of  his  deatli,  spend- 
ing his  last  years  in  retirement  from  business.  He  was  a  successful  farmer  and  during 
his  residence  in  Norway  took  an  active  part  in  local  politics  and  in  civic  affairs.  He  died 
in  Edinburg  in  1910  at  the  age  of  seventy-eight  years,  while  his  wife  passed  away  in 
Norway  in  1871.  She  bore  the  maiden  name  of  Carrie  Skar  and  was  the  mother  of  two 
children,  Ole  K.   and   Torkel. 

In  the  public  schools  of  their  native  country  tlie  sons  were  reared  and  educated, 
spending  their  early  life  upon  the  home  farm,  and  when  seventeen  years  of  age  Ole  K. 
Brandvold  started  out  to  make  his  way  in  the  world.  He  was  first  employed  as  clerk  in 
a  general  merchandise  store  in  Norway  and  there  became  acquainted  with  all  phases  of 
the  business.  The  reports  which  i-eached  him  concerning  America  led  hira  to  the  determi- 
nation to  try  his  fortune  on  this  side  of  the  Atlantic  and  in  1891  he  came  to  the  new 
world  and  joined  his  brother  Torkel  at  Edinburg  after  spending  two  years  in  Minne- 
sota. He  was  employed  in  that  state  as  a  farm  hand  and  following  his  arrival  in  North 
Dakota  he  spent  one  summer  in  the  employ  of  John  Jensen,  a  farmer  of  Walsh  county. 
He  next  entered  the  employ  of  Edward  Field,  afterward  a  member  of  the  firm  of  Grant 
&  Field,  with  which  firm  he  continued  for  several  years.  On  resigning  his  position  he 
joined  C.  A.  .Jeglun  in  purchasing  the  Field  business,  which  they  conducted  successfully 
for  eight  years,  or  until  1908.  At  that  date  Mr.  Jeglun  sold  his  interest  to  Anton  Johnson 
and  the  firm  became  Brandvold  &  .Johnson.  They  conducted  one  of  the  leading  dr}'  goods 
and  general  merchandise  establishments  in  Edinburg,  developing  their  business  to  larce 
and  substantial  proportions.  In  1916  Mr.  Brandvold  purchased  the  interest  of  Mr.  .Johnson 
and  is  today  sole  proprietor  of  the  store,  which  is  a  large  and  well  appointed  establish- 
ment, bringing  to  the  owner  a  very  substantial  income. 

Mr.  Brandvold  has  been  married  twice.  In  Edinburg,  in  1902,  he  wedded  Annie  Sun- 
derson,  a  native  of  Iowa  and  a  daughter  of  Sunder  Sunderson,  an  Iowa  pioneer,  who 
afterward  became  one  of  the  early  settlers  of  Walsh  count}'.  Mrs.  Brandvold  passed  away 
when  but  twenty-one  years  of  age,  leaving  an  infant  daughter,  Annie.  On  the  14th  of 
November,  1908,  at  Edinburg,  Mr.  Brandvold  was  joined  in  wedlock  to  Miss  Christie 
Braaten,  a  native  of  Norway  and  a  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Anders  Braaten.  Her  mother 
is  still  living  in  Norway  but  her  father  has  passed  awaj'.  The  children  of  this  marriage 
are  Carl,   Oilman,   Ellis  and  Margaret,  all  born   in   Edinburg. 

Politically  Mr.  Brandvold  is  a  democrat.  His  religious  faith  is  that  of  the  Lutheran 
church,  in  which  he  takes  an  active  and  helpful  interest.     He  came  to  America  a  poor  boy 


HISTORY  OF  XORTH  DAKOTA  555 

but  recognized  the  opportunities  licre  otl"erc(l  and  tlirougli  persistent  and  lionorable  eflort 
has  steadily  worlced  liis  way  upward.  His  entire  lite  has  been  one  of  labor  and  his  career 
proves   that   lionorable   ellort    will   eventually    win   success. 


LOUIS  H.  LANDKY,  M.  D. 


Ur.  Louis  11.  Landry,  a  prominent  physician  and  surgeon  of  Walhalla,  North  Dakota,  is  a 
native  of  the  province  of  Quebec,  Canada,  his  birth  occurring  at  Three  Rivers,  November  10, 
187'J,  and  he  comes  of  an  old  and  honored  French  family  which  was  founded  in  Canada 
by  Colonel  Landry,  who  came  from  France  with  a  company  of  soldiers  to  protect  the  white 
settlers  from  the  Lidians  when  tluit  region  was  largely  wild  and  uninhabited  save  by  the 
savages.  The  Doctor's  paternal  grandfather  was  also  a  physician  and  was  one  of  the  first  to 
operate  on  a  cataract  of  the  eye.  His  medical  education  was  obtained  in  the  hospitals 
of  France  and  was  very  thorough,  making  him  a  most  successful  phj'sician  and  surgeon 
of  his  time.    For  many  years  he  was  engaged  in  practice  at  Becaneour,  Quebec,  Canada. 

Arthur  Landry,  our  subject's  father,  was  born,  reared  and  educated  in  Canada,  and  became 
a  captain  in  the  English  army,  with  which  he  served  until  1890,  when  he  removed  to 
Connecticut  and  was  engaged  in  the  hotel  business  at  Waterbury  until  about  1905.  He 
then  returned  to  Canada  and  is  still  living  in  the  province  of  Quebec  at  the  age  of 
seventy-three  j-ears.  In  earl}'  manhood  he  married  Miss  Josephine  ILiilhot,  a  native  oi 
Quebec,  who  died  in  1908,  at  the  age  of  fifty-four  years,  while  on  a  visit  at  Edmonton, 
Alberta,  Canada.  To  them  were  born  four  children,  of  whom  Louis  H.  is  the  second  in  order 
of  birth.  The  others  are  ilrs.  Clara  Lynch,  a  resident  of  Bridgeport,  Connecticut;  Ulric 
Landry,  also  of  Bridgeport;  and  Miss  Bella  Landry,  of  Seymour,  Connecticut.  The  last  named 
was  born  in  Waterbury,  that  state,  but  the  others  are  natives  of  Canada. 

During  his  boyhood  Dr.  Landry  attended  school  in  Quebec,  completing  a  literary 
course  in  the  college  at  Arthabaska,  from  which  lie  was  graduated,  and  having  decided  to 
become  a  physician  he  later  entered  Laval  University  and  on  his  graduation  from  that  insti- 
tution in  1904  received  the  degree  of  M.  D.  F'or  two  years  he  was  engaged  in  practice  at 
Manehang,  Massachusetts,  and  for  one  year  at  Fall  River,  that  state.  On  the  21st  of 
December,  1907,  he  arrived  in  Walhalla,  North  Dakota,  and  during  his  residence  here  has 
succeeded  in  building  up  a  large  and  lucrative  practice  for  he  is  recognized  as  one  of  the 
ablest  physicians  and  surgeons  of  Pembina  county.  He  is  an  honored  member  of  the  Dis- 
trict Medical  Society,  the  North  Dakota  Medical  Society  and  the  American  Medical  Asso- 
ciation. He  is  also  affiliated  with  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows,  the  Rebckahs,  the 
Modern  Woodmen  of  America  and  the  Yeomen,  and  in  religious  belief  is  a  Roman  Catholic, 
while  in  politics  he  is  a  republican.  His  success  in  his  cliosea  profession  has  been  marked 
and  both  as  a  man  and  a  physician  he  stands  high  in  the  community  where  he  now  makes 
his  home. 


JAY  W.  BROWN. 


Jav  W.  Brown,  engaged  in  merchandising  at  Sentinel  Butte,  is  actuated  in  all  of  his 
business  affairs  and  public  connections  by  a  spirit  of  enterprise  and  progress  that  produces 
excellent  results  in  the  attainment  of  success  and  in  the  advancement  of  the  welfare  of 
his  commuity.  Michigan  numbers  him  among  her  native  sons,  his  birth  having  there 
occurred  in  1876.  His  father,  George  W.  lirown,  was  born  in  New  York  and  in  18G9 
removed  to  Michigan,  while  in  1902  he  became  a  resident  of  North  Dakota.  He  is  now 
living  at  Medora,  this  state,  where  he  is  engaged  in  general  farming.  His  wife,  who  bore 
the  maiden  name  of  .Sarah  S.  Strong,  was  reared  in  Jlichigan  and  they  became  the  parents 
of  six  children. 

Jay  W.  Brown,  the  second  of  tiie  family,  attended  the  Michigan  sch<u)ls  but  experience 
has  largely  been  his  teacher.  At  the  age  of  nineteen  years,  or  in  1895,  he  made  his  way 
to  .\Iedora,  North  Dakota,  and  was  employed  on  ranches  in  that  section  of  the  state.     He 


556  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

reached  Jlcdora  with  but  ten  cents  in  his  pocket  and  from  that  time  has  been  dependent 
entirely  upon  his  own  resources,  so  that  tlie  success  he  has  achieved  is  entirely  the  result 
of  his  personal  effort  and  business  ability.  For  three  years  he  worked  on  a  ranch  and  in 
1898  built  a  livery  barn  at  Medora.  The  same  year  he  was  appointed  deputy  sheriff  of 
Billings  county  and  held  that  office  for  four  years.  He  next  engaged  in  the  livery  business 
until  1902,  when  he  sold  out  and  began  raising  horses  on  a  ranch,  devoting  his  attention 
to  that  interest  until  1905,  when  he  disposed  of  his  ranch  and  removed  to  Sentinel  Butte. 
There  he  established  a  livery  business  which  he  conducted  for  two  years,  meeting  with 
success  in  the  undertaking.  In  1907  he  sold  out  and  began  dealing  in  horses,  concentrating 
his  efforts  upon  that  interest  for  two  years.  In  1909  he  purchased  the  general  merchandise 
store  of  J.  J.  Bartley,  now  of  Beach,  and  has  since  been  engaged  in  the  management  of 
this  business.  His  trade  is  drawn  from  a  broad  territory  and  something  of  the  volume 
of  his  business  is  indicated  in  the  fact  that  he  now  employs  five  salespeople.  He  handles 
a  complete  line  of  general  merchandise  and  men's  furnishing  goods,  his  stock  being  valued 
at  between  eighteen  and  twenty  thousand  dollars.  He  has  a  building  twenty-four  by 
ninety  feet  and  his  store  is  tastefully  arranged,  while  the  business  methods  of  the  house 
win  for  it  a  liberal  patronage.  He  is  also  interested  in  lands,  largely  as  a  speculator,  and 
he  owns  a  most  attractive  home  in  Sentinel  Butte,  valued  at  eleven  thousand  dollars. 

In  1905  Mr.  Brown  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Dorothy  Grimm,  a  native  of  Detroit, 
Minnesota,  and  a  daughter  of  Fritz  Grimm,  who  was  a  carpenter  by  trade.  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
Brown  have  three  children:     Bernice,  born  in  1907;  Avis,  in  1909;   and  George,  in  1913. 

Mr.  Brown  exercises  his  right  of  franchise  in  support  of  the  men  and  .uieasures  of  the 
republican  party  and  fraternally  he  is  connected  with  the  Elks  lodge  at  Dickinson  and  with 
the  Yeomen  at  Sentinel  Butte.  He  attends  and  supports  the  Congregational  church  and 
he  is  interested  in  all  those  forces  which  work  for  the  upbuilding  and  development  of  the 
community.  His  has  been  a  well  spent  life  in  which  energj-,  close  application  and  persis- 
tency of  purpose  have  constituted  the  basic  elements  of  his  success.  Working  his  way 
steadily  upward,  he  has  gained  a  creditable  position  among  the  substantial  business  men 
of  the  northwestern  part  of  the  state. 


ALLEN  HOOPLE. 


Allen  Hoople,  register  of  deeds  in  Walsh  county  and  a  popular  and  well  known  resi- 
dent of  Grafton,  was  born  in  Ontario,  Canada,  October  15,  1849,  a  son  of  David  and  JIargaret 
(Hunter)  Hoople,  natives  of  Canada  and  Scotland  respectively.  They  removed  to  southern 
Minnesota  in  1S53,  settling  at  Hastings,  where  the  father  engaged  in  farming  for  almost 
three  decades.  In  1881  he  came  to  North  Dakota,  taking  up  his  abode  in  Walsh  county, 
where  he  continued  to  carry  on  general  agricultural  pursuits  until  his  death,  which  occurred 
when  he  was  seventy-six  years  of  age.  During  the  period  of  the  Civil  war  he  enlisted  as  a 
private  in  the  First  Minnesota  Regiment.  His  wife  passed  away  in  Calgary,  Canada,  in 
1908,  at  the  advanced  age  of  eighty  years. 

Allen  Hoople  was  the  eldest  in  their  family  of  seven  children  and  in  his  youthful  da3's 
he  attended  the  country  schools  of  Waseca  and  Dakota  counties  of  Minnesota.  He  afterward 
worked  upon  his  father's  farm,  early  becoming  familiar  with  all  the  labors  incident  to  the 
cultivation  and  development  of  the  fields.  Subsequently  he  purchased  a  farm  in  Steele 
county,  Minnesota,  and  there  continued  to  engage  in  the  cultivation  of  crops  until  1880, 
when  he  removed  to  Walsh  county.  North  Dakota,  taking  up  his  abode  on  a  tract  of  land 
tliat  now  includes  the  town  site  of  Hoople,  which  was  platted  by  Allen  Hoople,  being  laid 
off  in  town  lots.  He  there  continued  to  farm  for  some  time  but  on  the  1st  of  January,  1913, 
removed  to  CJrafton  following  his  election  to  the  office  of  register  of  deeds.  He  was  reelected 
in  1914,  so  that  he  is  serving  for  the  second  term,  and  in  1916  he  was  the  republican  candi- 
date for  reelection.  He  has  also  filled  the  office  of  mayor  of  Hoople  and  was  assistant  post- 
master for  twelve  years.  He  was  likewise  chairman  of  the  township  board  and  of  the  first 
board  of  education  of  Hoople.  In  a  word,  he  has  taken  an  active  and  helpful  interest  in 
matters  relating  to  the  public  welfare,  giving  earnest  cooperation  to  all  plans  and  measures 


ALLEN  HOOPLE 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  559 

for  the  general  good.     He  owns  a   large  amount   of  town   propertj'   at   Hoople  and  also   lias 
farm   lands   of   considerable    extent. 

In  July,  1876,  llr.  Hoople  was  married  to  Miss  Klla  lironson,  who  died  in  1S9S  and  was 
laid  to  rest  in  the  Hoople  eemetery.  Her  parents,  Mr.  and  Jlrs.  M.  B.  Bronson,  were  well 
known  pioneer  people  from  Steele  county,  Minnesota.  There  were  si.v  eliildren  of  that  mar- 
riage: George  H.,  who  was  born  and  now  resides  in  Hoople,  is  married  and  has  four  chil- 
dren— Glenn,  Vera,  Allen  and  Earl;  Mrs.  Myrtle  May  Aarness,  who  was  born  in 
Hoople  and  now  resides  in  South  Dakota  with  her  husband  and  little  daughter,  Marion; 
Jennie  Belle,  the  wife  of  Samuel  Provan,  of  Minneapolis,  by  whom  she  has  a  son,  Robert; 
an  infant  who  was  born  and  died  in  1877;  and  twins,  who  were  born  in  1879  and  also  passed 
away  in  infancy.  In  November,  1902,  Mr.  Hoople  was  again  married,  his  second  union  being 
with  Miss  Susie  Kalsted,  who  passed  away  at  Iloopli'  in  1'.I04.  In  Di^cembcr,  1908,  he 
married  Jlrs.   Knima   Sidmore. 

Mr.  Hoople  is  a  consistent  memln-r  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  church  and  contributes 
generously  to  its  support.  He  belongs  to  the  Masonic  fraternity,  having  taken  the  degrees 
of  lodge  and  chapter,  and  he  is  also  connected  with  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America.  His 
advancement  in  the  business  world  is  attributable  entirely  to  his  own  efforts  and  sound 
judgment.  He  is  a  man  of  high  ideals,  his  broad  forehead  indicating  his  intellectual  strength, 
while  his  eyes  meet  one  fairly  and  squarely,  for  in  his  record  there  is  nothing  sinister  and 
nothing  to  conceal.  His  entire  career  has  been  as  an  open  book  which  all  may  read  and  the 
course  which  he  has  followed  may  well  serve  as  a  source  of  inspiration  in  business,  while  in 
.  every  other  relation  it  is  also  worthy  of  enuilation. 


JOHN  TRACY. 


John  Tracy,  cashier  of  the  First  National  Bank  of  Valley  City,  has  that  interest  in  his 
business  which  makes  it  a  genuine  pleasure  to  solve  intricate  business  problems  and  find 
the  answer  for  complex  questions.  To  his  business  and  his  home,  therefore,  he  devotes  his 
attention  and  has  become  a  substantial  resident  of  the  community  in  wliich  he  has  lived 
from  his  youthful  days  to  the  present.  He  was  born  in  Wethersfieid,  Connecticut,  February 
10,  1809,  but  arrived  in  Valley  City  in  1S81  with  his  jiarents,  Michael  and  Mary  J.  (Dem- 
ing)  Tracy.  The  father,  a  native  of  Ireland,  came  to  America  in  his  boyhood  days  and 
made  his  way  to  Connecticut,  where  he  had  relatives  living.  Later  his  father  and  his 
ten-year-old  brother  also  came  to  the  new  world,  joining  the  son  in  Connecticut.  With  the 
outbreak  of  the  Civil  war  Alichael  Tracy  enlisted  as  a  member  of  Company  1",  Si.\teenth 
Regiment,  Connecticut  Volunteer  Infantry,  and  three  days  after  leaving  home  took  part  in 
the  battle  of  Antietam.  Eater  he  was  captured  at  Plymouth,  North  Carolina,  and  was 
placed  in  Andersonville  prison,  where  he  remained  until  the  close  of  the  war.  A  com- 
panion in  arms  and  a  fellow  prisoner,  David  Deniing,  was  i)ractically  killed  in  the  rush 
for  cars  when  the  men  were  liberated,  his  weakened  condition  making  him  unable  to  with- 
stand the  pressure  put  upon  him.  Mr.  Tracy  returned  to  Connecticut  and  later  married 
the  widow  of  his  former  companion,  Mr.  Deniing,  after  which  he  continued  his  residence 
in  that  state  until  1881,  wlien  he  brought  his  family  to  North  Dakota,  continuing  his  resi- 
dence in  Valley  City  until  his  death,  which  occurred  in  May,  190.3,  when  he  was  fifty-nine 
years  of  age. 

John  Tracy  acquired  a  public  school  education  and  in  tlie  fall  of  1888  accepted  a  posi- 
tion in  the  office  of  the  county  treasurer,  there  remaining  until  November  5,  1889,  when 
he  entered  the  employ  of  the  First  National  Bank  as  collection  clerk.  Through  intermediate 
positions  he  was  advanced  to  that  of  cashier  and  so  continues.  He  is  today  the  oldest  in 
continuous  connection  with  the  banking  business  in  Barnes  county  and  has  seen  the 
deposits  of  the  banks  of  the  countv  increase  from  one  hundred  and  thirty  thousand  to  over 
five  million  dollars.  His  ability  as  a  banker  is  recognized  and  the  wisdom  of  his  judgment 
in  business  affairs  causes  his  advice  to  be  often  sought.  He  is  conservative  and  tells 
people  what  they  should  know  rather  than  what  they  might  like  to  hear,  but  he  does  this 


560  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

without  giving  offense.  He  has  been  very  successful  in  liis  personal  investments  and  at 
all  times  he  has  concentrated  his  efforts  upon  his  business  affairs. 

On  the  12th  of  September,  1892,  Mr.  Tracy  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Jessie 
Batchelder.  a  native  of  Providence,  Rhode  Island,  and  a  daughter  of  Alonzo  J.  and  Frances 
A.  (Stevens)  Batchelder,  who  were  natives  of  Vermont.  Her  grandfather,  Jeremiah 
Batchelder  of  the  Green  Jlountain  state,  married  Eliza  Wheeler,  who  was  a  daughter  of 
Comfort  Wheeler,  who  enlisted  in  April,  1780,  for  service  in  the  Revolutionary  war  when 
eighteen  years  of  age.  He  served  for  eight  months  under  Captain  Samuel  Duell  and  for 
three  months  imder  Captain  Keith,  and  from  September  10,  1781,  to  September  10,  1782, 
he  served  under  Captain  Corbin  of  Connecticut.  He  was  also  a  loyal  American  soldier  of 
the  War  of  1812  and  took  part  in  the  invasion  of  Plattsburg.  In  1916  Mrs.  Tracy  was  a 
delegate  to  the  national  convention  of  the  Daughters  of  the  American  Revolution  at  Wash- 
ington, D.  C.  Ml',  and  Mrs.  Tracy  have  become  parents  of  three  children:  Leila  G.,  who 
attended  the  Valley  City  State  Kormal  and  is  now  a  student  in  the  State  University  of 
Minnesota:  Xeal  H.  and  J.  Frank,  also  in  school. 

Mr.  Tracy  has  led  a  quiet  life  free  from  ostentation  and  display  and  in  his  career 
there  have  been  no  spectacular  phases,  but  he  has  those  substantial  qualities  which  have 
made  him  a  worthy  and  law-abiding  citizen,  ever  ready  to  uphold  the  legal  and  political 
status  and  advance  the  social,  intellectual  and   moral   development  of  the  community. 


HON.  ANDREW  J.  McFADDEN. 

On  the  roll  of  North  Dakota's  legislators  appears  the  name  ot  Hon.  Andrew  J.  McFadden, 
now  a  member  of  the  state  senate  and  also  well  known  in  Pembina  county,  where  he  is 
extensively  engaged  in  farming.  He  was  born  in  Peterborough,  Ontario,  Canada,  February 
5,  1862.  His  father,  William  McFadden,  a  native  of  Ireland,  went  to  Canada  in  yo\mg 
manhood,  arriving  there  during  the  latter  part  of  the  '30s.  He  first  settled  at  Peterborough 
and  in  1864  removed  to  Bruce  county,  where  he  resided  until  1882,  when  he  became  a 
resident  of  Pembina  county.  North  Dakota.  There  he  homesteaded  in  Neche  township 
and  concentrated  his  energies  upon  general  agricultural  pursuits,  in  which  he  actively  con- 
tinued until  his  death,  which  occurred  in  1906,  when  he  had  reached  the  age  of  ninety-one 
years.  He  was  at  that  time  the  oldest  citizen  in  his  section.  His  wife,  who  bore  the 
maiden  name  of  Alice  Handbidge,  was  also  born  in  Ireland  and  with  her  parents  started  for 
America,  but  her  mother  died  at  sea.  It  was  also  in  the  latter  '30s  that  the  Handbidge 
family  was  established  in  Ontario  and  there  William  McFadden  and  Alice  Handbidge 
became  acquainted  and  were  married  October  10,  1845.  The  latter  died  at  Neche  in  1911 
at  the  age  of  eighty-six  years.  In  their  family  were  twelve  children,  nine  sons  and  three 
daughters,  ten  of  whom  are  yet  living. 

Andrew  J.  McFadden  was  the  tenth  of  the  family  and  the  youngest  son.  He  spent  his 
youthful  days  upon  his  father's  farm,  devoting  the  summer  months  to  work  in  the  fields, 
while  the  winter  seasons  were  spent  in  attendance  at  the  common  schools.  On  attaining 
his  majority  he  started  out  to  provide  for  his  own  support.  Accompanying  his  parents 
to  Pembina  county,  he  took  up  a  homestead  adjoining  his  father's  land  and  there  began  farm- 
ing, to  which  he  devoted  his  attention  until  1892.  He  then  removed  to  Neche,  where  he 
began  dealing  in  farm  machinery  and  harness,  remaining  in  active  connection  with  the 
commercial  pursuits  of  the  town  until  1910,  when  he  resumed  farming  operations,  in  which 
he  is  now  extensively  engaged,  cultivating  nine  quarter  sections  of  land,  which  he  has 
brought  under  a  very  high  state  of  development.  His  methods  are  most  practical  and 
progressive  and  from  his  well  cultivated  fields  he  annually  gathers  rich  harvests.  He  is 
also  connected  with  Charles  H.  Dawson  in  the  firm  of  Dawson  &  McFadden,  conducting  a 
real  estate  and  investment  business.  He  is  likewise  a  stockholder  in  the  Farmers  Elevator 
at  Neche  and  one  of  its  directors.  ^Vliat  he  undertakes  he  accomplishes.  In  his  vocabulary 
there  is  no  such  word  as  fail  and  his  persistency  of  purpose  enables  him  to  advance  steadily 
toward  the  goal  of  success.  When  he  started  out  in  the  machinery  business  he  had  a 
capital  of  forty  dollars  but  he  built  up  a  trade  that  approximated  one  hundred  thousand 


HISTORY  OF  XfMrni  DAKOTA  561 

doUnrs  a  year,  notwithstanding  tlie  fatt  tliat  wluii  liu  oponed  liis  store  he  was  in  com- 
petition with  tlirce  other  concerns,  lie  built  up  tlic  biggest  busintss  of  the  town  and  after 
a  short   time   he   had   but   one   com])ctitor. 

Mr.  Mcl'adden  has  been  married  twice.  In  Xeclie,  in  1S87,  lie  wuildud  .\huy  K.  Edger- 
ton,  a  native  of  Canada  and  a  daughter  of  Joseph  and  Eunice  (Lockwood)  Edgerton,  rep- 
resentatives of  one  of  the  pioneer  Canadian  families.  Mrs.  McFadden  passed  away  in 
Neche  in  1895,  wlien  but  twenty-five  years  of  age.  By  that  marriage  there  were  four  chil- 
dri'u:  Alice,  now  the  wife  of  Theodore  Torgerson,  living  in  Estcvan,  Saskatchewan,  Can- 
ada; .Miles,  who  died  at  the  age  of  five  years;  .lohn  Karl,  who  was  graduated  from  the 
Xorth  Dakota  State  University  with  the  degrees  of  B.  A.  and  \Aj.  1).  in  1915  and  is  now 
a  practicing  lawyer  of  Cavalier,  Pembina  county;  and  Roscoe,  who  died  at  the  age  of 
two  years.  Having  lost  his  first  wife,  Mr.  JlcFadden  was  married  at  Crookston,  Minne- 
sota, to  Miss  Emma  Cunningham,  a  native  of  Ontario  and  a  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
William  Cunningham,  who  were  early  residents  of  Hruce  county,  Ontario.  Mr.  and  .Mrs. 
McFadden  were  schoolmates  in  Bruce  county. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  McFadden  hold  membership  in  the  Mi'lhodist  iluuili  And  their  lives  are 
guided  by  high  and  honorable  principles.  He  was  made  a  Mason  at  Halligatc,  Xorth  Dakota, 
and  he  is  identified  with  the  Ancient  Order  of  United  Workmen,  the  Knights  of  Pythias, 
the  Benevolent  Protective  Order  of  Elks  and  the  Jlodern  Woodmen  of  America.  He  has  held 
office  in  several  of  these  organizations  and  has  been  grand  umstcr  workman  in  Xorth 
Dakota.  The  republican  party  receives  his  strong  political  endorsement  and  he  does 
everything  in  his  power  to  promote  its  growth  and  ensure  its  success.  For  twenty  years 
he  served  as  clerk  of  his  tawnship  and  for  ten  years  was  a  member  of  the  school  board, 
acting  in  that  capacity  until  1912.  In  1914  his  fellow  townsmen,  appreciative  of  his 
worth  and  ability,  elected  him  a  member  of  the  .state  senate,  so  that  he  is  now  a  member  of 
the  upper  house.  His  life  has  ever  been  guided  by  well  defined  plans  and  purposes  that 
are  the  result  of  a  careful  consideration  of  those  questions  which  have  been  of  vital 
interest  to  him,  questions  relative  to  his  business  and  to  his  public  duties.  He  has  been 
loyal  to  every  trust  reposed  in  him  and  his  fellow  townsmen  entertain  for  him   high  regard. 


PETER  M.  MATXSOX. 


Since  1884  Peter  Jl.  Mattson  has  been  a  resident  of  Eddy  county  and  he  ha&  been 
prominently  identified  with  its  development  and  upbuilding  during  that  time.  During  all 
these  years  he  has  been  interested  in  farming  and  since  his  removal  to  Xew  Rockford  in 
1892  has  been  connected  with  various  enterprises.  He  is  one  of  the  leading  lawyers  of  the 
city  and   is  also  editor  and  proprietor  of  the   Eddy  County    Provost. 

Mr.  JIattson  was  born  on  the  30th  of  May,  iSfil,  in  Sweden,  of  whicli  country  his 
parents.  Matt  and  Bengta  (Payers)  Jfattson,  were  also  natives.  It  was  in  1879  that  they 
brought  their  family  to  America  and  located  in  Red  Wing,  Minnesota,  where  the  father 
engaged  in  farming  on  rented  land  until  18S4,  when  he  removed  to  Eddy  county.  North 
Dakota,  and  filed  on  land  near  Sheyenne.  He  eontinueil  the  improvement  and  operation 
of  that  farm  until  life's  labors  were  ended  in  death  .June  10,  1909.  The  mother  is  still 
living. 

Peter  M.  .Mattson  attended  school  in  his  native  land,  being  a  young  man  of  eighteen 
years  when  he  came  with  his  parents  to  the  United  States,  and  he  remained  with  them 
in  Minnesota  until  he  attained  his  majority,  when  he  started  out  in  life  for  himself.  In 
1883  he  came  to  Xorth  Dakota  an<l  obtained  work  as  a  farm  hand  at  liuiralo.  Cass  county, 
but  the  following  year  he  took  up  .a  homestead  in  Eddy  county  and  devoted  his  energies 
to  its  cultivation  and  improvement  until  1892.  in  which  year  he  removed  to  New  Rock- 
ford.  During  the  following  three  years  he  was  engaged  in  the  implement  business  and 
then  entered  the  State  Universit}'  of  Minnesota,  where  he  pursued  a  law  course  and  was 
graduated  in  the  spring  of  1896.  He  returned  to  New  Rockford,  where  he  has  since  prac- 
ticed, and  today  he  is  numbered  among  the  leading  members  of  the  legal  fraternitv  in 
Eddy   county.      In    the   spring   of    1901    he   established   the   Eddy   County    Provost,   a    weekly 


562  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

newspaper,  which  he  has  since  edited,  and  in  tliis  venture  he  lias  also  met  with  success. 
His  plant  is  modern  in  its  equipment  and  the  work  turned  out  is  of  a  high  grade.  Mr. 
Mattson  is  still  interested  in  farming  and  is  today  the  owner  of  twenty-eight  hundred 
acres  of  valuable  land  in  Eddy  and  Wells  counties.  Two  of  his  farms,  one  of  twelve  hun- 
dred acres  and  the  other  of  live  hundred,  are  operated  by  hired  help  under  his  own  super- 
vision, and  in  connection  with  general  farming  he  has  made  a  specialty  of  the  raising  of 
thoroughbred  Yorkshire  and  mule  foot  hogs  and  dining  the  year  of  1915  raised  seven 
carloads  of  those  animals,  for   which  he   received   a  good   price  when   placed   on  the   market. 

On  the  1st  of  January,  1887,  Mr.  Mattson  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Kate  Peter- _ 
son,  and  to  them  have  been  born  three  children:  T.  Evelyn,  now  the  wife  of  Ralph 
Nay  lor  of  Springfield,  Massachusetts;  Roger  0.,  who  is  a  student  in  medicine  at  the 
State  Universit}-  of  Minnesota;  and  Edgar  P.,  who  is  studying  law  at  the  State  University 
of  North  Dakota  in  Grand  Forks. 

In  religious  faith  Mr.  Mattson  is  a  Lutheran,  and  fraternall)-  he  is  identified  with  the 
Knights  of  Pythias,  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America,  the  Yeomen,  the  Benevolent  Pro- 
tective Order  of  Elks,  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows  and  the  Loyal  Order  of 
Moose.  He  casts  his  ballot  in  support  of  the  men  and  measures  of  the  republican  party 
and  has  taken  quite  a  prominent  and  intluential  part  in  local  politics.  In  the  fall  of  1894 
he  was  elected  clerk  of  the  courts  of  Eddy  county,  in  which  capacity  he  served  until  1898, 
and  it  was  during  that  time  that  he  took  up  the  study  of  law.  On  retiring  from  that 
position  he  was  elected  states  attorney  and  filled  that  office  most  acceptably  until  1903. 
He  has  also  been  a  member  of  the  city  council  of  New  Rockford,  and  his  official  duties 
have  always  been  conscientiously  and  satisfactorily  discharged.  He  occupies  an  enviable 
position  in  both  business  and  professional  circles  and  well  merits  the  confidence  reposed 
in  him    by   his    fellow   citizens. 


OSCAR  H.  WILL. 


Oscar  H.  Will  is  engaged  in  the  nursery,  seeds  and  florist  business  at  Bismarck  and 
stands  very  high  in  public  regard  as  an  enterprising  and  progressive  business  man,  his 
labors  being  attended  with  success.  He  was  born  at  Pompey,,  New  York,  September  9, 
1855,  his  parents  being  Francis  A.  and  Margaret  (Barchie)  Will,  both  of  wliom  were 
natives  of  Germany.  The  father  came  to  America  when  a  youth  of  eighteen  years  and 
throughout  his  remaining  days  was  a  resident  of  the  Empire  state,  devoting  his  life  to 
the  occupation  of  farming.     Both  he  and  his  wife  have  now  passed  away. 

Oscar  H.  Will  was  educated  in  the  district  schools  of  New  Y'ork  and  in  1881  came  to 
Bismarck,  since  which  time  he  has  been  closely  identified  with  the  commercial  and  indus- 
trial interests  of  the  city.  In  1883  he  opened  a  greenhouse,  in  connection  with  which  he 
handles  nursery  stock,  flowers  and  seeds,  and  along  legitimate  lines  he  has  built  up  a 
trade  that  is  now  the  largest  west  of  Minneapolis.  He  thoroughly  understands  every  phase 
of  the  business,  is  careful  and  systematic  in  its  conduct  and  displays  sound  judgment  in 
its  management.  Moreover,  his  commercial  integrity  is  a  point  which  stands  iinc(ues- 
tioned  in  his  career.  The  growth  of  his  trade  year  by  year  has  placed  him  among  the  men 
of  affluence  in  Bismarck,  although  he  came  to  this  city  empty-handed.  In  addition  to  his 
nursery  business  he  is  president  of  the  Bismarck  Building  &  Loan  Association. 

On  the  20th  of  December,  1882,  in  Bismarck,  North  Dakota,  Mr.  Will  was  united  in 
marriage  to  Miss  Elvira  Isabelle  Bird,  by  whom  be  has  two  children,  George  Francis  and 
Mabel  Margaret.  The  religious  faith  of  the  family  is  that  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal 
church. 

In  politics  Mr.  W'ill  is  independent,  nor  has  he  ever  souglit  public  office.  The  positions 
which  he  has  filled  have  never  been  of  a  political  character  but  have  furthered  the  welfare 
of  city  and  state.  The  cause  of  education  found  in  him  a  loyal  friend  when  he  was  a 
member  of  the  Bismarck  school  board  aifd  he  has  also  done  effective  public  work  as  a 
member  of  the  state  board  of  agriculture.  Mr.  Will  deserves  much  credit  for  wiiat  he 
has  accomplished  and   his   success   in   business   fi-om  the  beginning   of  his  residence  in   the 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  563 

cai)ital  has  been  uniform  and  rapid.  As  has  been  truly  remarked,  after  all  that  may  be 
done  for  a  man  in  the  way  of  giving  him  early  opportunities  for  obtaining  the  require- 
ments which  are  sought  in  the  schools  and  in  books,  he  must  essentially  formulate,  deter- 
mine and  give  shape  to  his  own  character;  and  this  is  what  Mr.  Will  has  done.  He  has 
persevered  in  the  pursuit  of  a  persistent  purpose  and  has  gained  a  most  satisfactory 
reward. 


WILLIAM  McKEAN. 


William  .McKean,  who  has  been  identified  with  journalistic  interests  throughout  the 
entire  period  of  his  active  business  career,  has  published  the  Sanborn  Enterprise  contin- 
uously since  1881  and  thus  perhaps  has  been  connected  with  one  publication  longer  than, 
any  other  editor  in  the  state.  His  birth  occurred  in  Mercer,  Pennsylvania,  on  the  14th  of 
May,  1850,  his  parents  being  William  and  Isabella  (Hawthorne)  McKean,  the  former  born 
in  the  north  of  Ireland  in  1801,  while  the  latter  was  born  near  Mercer,  Pennsylvania,  in 
1S03.  He  attended  the  common  schools  in  pursuit  of  an  education  and  subsequently 
entered  a  printing  oliice,  where  he  received  his  initial  training  in  the  field  of  labor  to  which 
he  has  devoted  his  life.  In  the  winter  of  1879-80  he  came  to  Dakota  territory  and  secured 
a  position  on  the  old  Fargo  Argus,  being  thus  employed  for  a  short  time.  In  the  latter 
|)art  of  March,  18S0,  he  went  to  .Jamestown  as  foreman  of  the  Jamestown  Alert  under  the 
late  Marshall  McQure,  who  had  just  acquired  the  plant.  In  1881  Mr.  McKean  established 
the  Sanborn  Enterprise,  which  he  has  edited  and  published  continuously  and  successfully 
since,  covering  a  period  of  three  decades.  For  a  period  between  1901  and  1913  his  oldest 
son,  Ralph  H.,  was  a  partner  in  the  Enterprise,  the  latter  then  retiring  and  taking  up  a 
homestead  on  Berthold  Indian  reservation.  The  paper  is  devoted  to  the  dissemination  of 
local  and  general  news  and  is  deservedly  poi)ular,  being  accorded  a  large  advertising  as 
well  as  subscription  patronage. 

On  the  20tli  of  May  1879,  in  Meadville.  Pennsylvania,  ilr.  McKean  was  united  in 
marriage  to  Miss  Rachel  Minniss,  daughter  of  Thomas  S.  Minniss.  They  have  become  the 
jiarcnts  of  three  children,  as  follows:  Ralph,  who  wedded  Miss.  Agnes  Murphy  and  has 
two  sons;  Josephine,  the  wife  of  E.  A.  Marsh,  by  whom  she  has  a  daughter  and  two  sons; 
and  Thomas  M. 

Since  becoming  a  citizen  of  Dakota,  Mr.  McKean  has  unfalteringly  given  his  political 
allegiance  to  the  republican  party,  and  his  fellow  townsmen,  recognizing  and  appreciating 
his  worth  and  ability,  have  called  him  to  a  number  of  public  offices.  He  served  as  the 
first  treasurer  and  clerk  of  the  town  of  Sanborn,  North  Dakota,  and  acted  as  state  game 
warden  for  one  term.  He  has  also  been  chairman  of  the  school  board  and  the  board  of 
trustees,  while  for  the  past  sixteen  years  he  has  been  a  member  of  the  district  school 
board  as  treasurer,  tli*  cause  of  education  ever  finding  in  him  a  stanch  champion.  His 
military  record  covers  service  in  the  National  Guard  of  Pennsylvania,  from  which  he 
retired  with  the  rank  of  first  lieutenant.  Fraternally  he  is  identified  with  the  Masons 
and  is  now  a  past  master  of  Sanborn  Lodge,  No.  14,  A.  F.  &  A.  M.  His  residence  in  the 
state  covers  the  period  of  pioneer  development  and  present-day  progress  and  his  record  is 
inseparably  interwoven  with  the  annals  of  North  Dakota. 


FRANK  SCH'IKR  TALa)TT. 


Frank  .Squicr  Talcott,  of  Bismarck,  was  appointed  warden  of  the  state  penitentiary 
in  the  year  1913.  This  was  not  his  first  official  service,  however,  for  in  other  connections 
he  had  given  demonstration  of  his  worth  as  a  citizen  and  of  his  loyalty  and  capability  in 
public  office.  He  is  a  native  son  of  America's  metropolis,  his  birth  having  occurred  in  New 
York  city.  July  12,  1863.  The  family  is  of  Scotch-Irish  lineage  and  in  colonial  days  was 
founded  in  America  by  an  emigrant  ancestor  from  England.  Representatives  of  the  name 
Served  in  the  Revolutionary  war.     The  great-grandfather  was  the  Rev.  Talcott.  who  devoted 


564  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

his  life  to  the  work  of  the  ministry,  while  his  son,  the  grandfather  of  F.  S.  Taleott,  entered 
the  educational  field.  He  was  a  native  of  Massachusetts  and  lor  a  number  of  years  con- 
ducted a  boys'  school  in  Fitehfield,  that  state,  his  death  occurring  when  he  was  fifty  years 
of  age.  His  son,  Frank  Piatt  Taleott,  was  born  in  Jlassacluisetts  and  became  one  of  the 
partners  in  the  great  mercantile  firm  of  H.  P.  Clatlin  &  Son  of  New  York  city,  where  he 
passed  away  in  1863  at  a  comparatively  early  age.  His  w-ife,  who  bore  the  maiden  name 
of  Gertrude  Squier,  then  returned  to  the  home  of  her  father,  Socrates  Squier,  of  Bufi'alo, 
New  York. 

It  was  in  that  home  that  Frank  Squier  Taleott  was  reared,  remaining  a  resident  of 
Butfalo  until  1881,  when  at  the  age  of  eighteen  years  he  came  to  North  Dakota  and  set- 
tled on  land  belonging  to  his  maternal  grandfather.  Later  in  the  same  year  he  continued 
his  education  by  matriculating  in  Williams  College  of  Massachusetts,  from  which  he  was 
graduated  in  the  class  of  1885.  He  afterward  entered  upon  the  study  of  law,  attending  a 
law  school  of  Buffalo,  New  Y'ork,  and  in  1887  he  returned  to  his  farm  in  Cass  county.  North 
Dakota,  where  he  continuously  and  successfully  engaged  in  general  agricultural,  pursuits 
until  1913,  when   he   disposed  of   his   land. 

On  the  8th  of  June,  1893,  in  Buffalo,  New  Y'ork,  Mr.  Taleott  married  Agnes  W.  Thomp- 
son, a  daughter  of  A.  Porter  Thompson  and  a  representative  of  an  old  New  Y'oik  family. 
They  now  have  four  children,  namely:  Porter  T.,  Frank  S.  Jr.,  Esther  B.  and  Ruth.  The 
parents  are  members  of  the  Episcopal  church  and  Mr.  Taleott  is  identified  with  several 
fraternal  organizations,  holding  membership  with  the  Masons,  the  Knights  of  Pythias  and 
the  Elks.  His  political  endorsement  has  always  been  given  to  the  republican  party  and 
he  is  one  of  the  active  workers  in  its  ranks  in  North  Dakota.  In  1900  he  was  elected  to 
the  state  senate  from  the  eleventh  district  and  so  creditable  was  his  record  and  such  his 
personal  popularit}'  that  he  was  reelected  in  1904,  in  1908  and  again  in  1912.  At  the  end 
of  thirteen  years'  service  as  a  member  of  the  upper  house  he  resigned  his  position  to 
become  warden  of  the  state  penitentiary.  He  left  the  impress  of  his  individuality  upon 
the  legislation  of  the  state  through  more  than  a  decade,  during  which  time  he  closely 
studied  the  vital  questions  and  issues  of  the  day.  He  was  earnest  and  purposeful  and 
brought  sound  judgment  to  bear  upon  existing  conditions,  upon  the  needs  and  upon  the 
opportunities  of  the  commonwealtli.  He  has  long  been  recognized  as  a  leader  in  repub- 
lican ranks  and  was  chairman  of  the  state  central  committee  in  the  campaigns  of  1910 
and  1913.  after  which  he  again  accepted  the  position  in  order  to, fill  the  vacancy  caused  by 
the  death  of  George  Grey,  who  was  then  chairman.  He  is  a  warm  personal  friend  of 
Governor  Hanna,  who  speaks  of  him  in  terms  of  the  highest  praise  and  appreciation.  From 
him  he  received  the  appointment  to  his  present  position  as  warden  and  took  charge  of  the 
penitentiary  at  Bismarck,  where  his  work  has  proven  most  acceptable.  He  has  studied 
the  methods  followed  in  other  state  institutions  of  similar  character  and  is  endeavoring  to 
temper  justice  with  mercy  and  maintain  a  system  that  will  call  forth  the  latent  manhood 
and  honor  of  those  who  have  been  law  breakers,  hoping  thereby  to  restore  them  to  a  full 
and  worthy   citizenship. 


ALFRED  DEAN,  M.  D. 


Dr.  Alfred  Dean,  actively  engaged  in  the  practice  of  medicine  and  surgery  in  Grand 
Forks,  was  born  at  Ardoch,  North  Dakota,  March  8,  18S3,  a  son  of  George  A.  Dean,  whose 
birth  occurred  near  Toronto,  Canada,  and  who  in  the  spring  of  1879  came  to  Dakota  terri- 
tory. He  was  a  pioneer  of  Walsh  county,  where  he  successfully  carried  on  agricultural  pur- 
suits for  a  considerable  period.  He  spent  his  last  days  in  Minto,  North  Dakota,  where  he 
passed  away  in  April,  1905,  at  the  age  of  sixty-four  years.  The  Dean  family  is  of  English 
lineage  and  the  founder  of  the  American  branch  was  one  of  the  Mayflower  i>assengers.  In 
the  maternal  line  Dr.  Dean  comes  of  Scotch-Iri.sh  ancestry.  His  mother,  Letitia  (Sully) 
Dean,  a  native  of  Canada,  is  now  living  at  Minot,  North  Dakota. 

Dr.  Dean,  the  sixth  in  order  of  birth  in  a  family  of  eight  children,  was  educated  in  dis- 
trict schools,  in   the   public   schools  of  Minto  and  in  the  State  University.     He  spent   two 


DK.   AI.I'KKI)   DKA-V 


n 


HISTORY  OF  XOKTII   DAKOTA  567 

years  as  a  medical  studfiit  in  tlie  University  of  Nortli  Dakota  and  completed  his  prepara- 
tion for  a  professional  career  in  the  Jefferson  Jlcdical  College  of  Philadelphia,  Pennsylvania, 
which  conferred  upon  him  the  M.  D.  degree  in  1911.  His  early  life  had  been  devoted  to  farm 
work  and  after  the  death  of  his  father  he  had  conducted  the  home  farm  until  he  entered 
the  university  for  the  study  of  medicine,  believing  that  he  would  find  that  a  more  con- 
genial vocation.  Following  his  graduation  he  served  as  interne  in  the  City  Hospital  of 
Wilkesbarre,  Pennsylvania,  for  one  year  and  a  half  and  then  returned  to  North  Dakota, 
settling  at  Grand  Forks,  where  he  entered  upon  the  private  practice  of  his  profession.  He 
has  since  been  in  continuous  and  active  practice,  his  labors  being  attended  with  gratifying 
success.  He  is  a  member  of  the  Grand  Forks  Medical  Society,  the  Nortli  Dakota  Medical 
Society  and  the  American  Medical  Association. 

On  the  24th  of  May,  1916,  in  Negaunee,  Michigan,  Dr.  Dean  was  married  to  Miss  Helen 
La  Rue  Schurtz,  a  daughter  of  Orr  Schurtz,  a  native  of  Michigan.  He  is  now  erecting  a 
beautiful  home  at  No.   1123   Belmont  avenue. 

The  Doctor  has  membership  with  Phi  Clii,  a  fraternity  of  the  .lell'erson  Medical  Col- 
lege, and  he  also  belongs  to  the  ilasonic  lodge  and  chapter  at  Grand  Forks,  the  Modern 
Woodmen  of  America  and  the  Modern  Brotherhood  of  America.  He  is  likewise  connected 
with  the  Commercial  Club  and  is  in  hearty  sympathy  with  its  efforts  for  the  upbuilding  of 
the  city,  and  he  is  also  a  member  of  Fortnightly  club.  His  religious  faith  is  that  of  the 
Presbyterian  church.  His  political  support  is  given  to  the  republican  party  where  national 
issues  are  involved  but  at  local  election  he  easts  an  independent  ballot.  At  present  he  is 
serving  as  city  health  officer  of  Grand  Forks,  having  been  appointed  in  September,  1914. 
In  a  measure  he  worked  his  own  way  through  the  university,  which  indicates  that  at  every 
point  in  his  career  he  has  been  actuated  by  laudable  ambition  and  firm  purpose.  He  is  yet 
a  young  man  but  has  already  attained  a  success  that  many  an  older  practitioner  might 
well   envy. 


JAMES  il.vcLAarLAN. 


James  JIacLachlan,  county  auditor  of  Eddy  county  and  a  resident  of  New  Koekford, 
was  born  in  Rockside,  Ontario,  Canada.  March  14.  ISOS,  a  son  of  Malcolm  MacLachlan. 
He  acquired  a  public  school  education  in  his  native  iirovince  and  also  attended  the  Cana- 
dian Business  College  at  Chatham,  Ontario.  After  completing  his  studies  he  went  to  the 
western  coast  and  for  a  year  was  engaged  in  the  grocery  and  feed  business  in  Seattle,  ^ 
Washington.  He  then  disposed  of  his  interest  to  his  partner  and  returned  to  Detroit, 
Michigan,  where  he  was  employed  for  a  year  in  a  wholesale  commission  house.  He  after- 
ward returned  to  Chatham,  Ontario,  and  for  eight  years  was  bookkeejjer  and  office  man 
for  the  Canada  Flour  Mills  Company,  which  for  a  portion  of  the  time  he  represented  on 
the  road  in  the  eastern   provinces. 

Ill  1900  Mr.  MacLachlan  came  to  North  Dakota,  settling  in  New  Rockfoid,  where  he 
accepted  the  management  of  the  Lahart  grain  elevator.  He  had  previously  purchased 
grain  in  Cliathain,  Ontario,  for  a  year  and  was  thoroughly  familiar  with  the  business. 
After  a  year  with  the  Lahart  Elevator  Comjiany  be  removed  to  Calgary,  Canada,  for  the 
benefil  of  his  wife's  health,  spending  a  year  there,  during  which  time  he  was  manager  of 
the  branch  of  the  Empire  Bonding  Company  of  Umdon.  Ontario,  in  the  province  of  Alberta. 
He  returned  to  New  Rockford  in  190.'}  and  was  made  buyer  for  the  Farmers  Elevator 
Company;  which  position  he  held  for  eight  years.  In  1912  he  was  elected  county  auditor 
and  was  reelected  in   1914,  while  in   191G  he  was  again  elected  to  that  position. 

In  1896  Mr.  MacLachlan  was  joined  in  wedlock  to  Miss  Margaret  .McGregor,  of  Chatham, 
Ontario,  by  whom  he  had  three  children,  one  of  whom  survives,  Gordon  H.  Mrs.  MacLachlan 
is  now  deceased.  Fraternally  he  is  identified  with  the  following  organizations:  Century 
Lodge.  No.  60.  A.  F.  &  A.  M.;  Carrington  Cliapter,  No.  15,  R.  A.  M.;  Zioii  Commandery.  K.  T.; 
El  Zagal  Temple.  A.  A.  O.  N.  JI.  S. ;  and  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America.  He  also  has 
membership  with  the  Spns  of  Scotland  and  the  Congiegational  church.  Mr.  MacLachlan 
is  now  serving  as  president  of  the  men's  Bible  class.     He  is  justly  accounted  one  of  the  pro- 


568  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

gressive  and  representative  men  of  Eddy  county.  In  addition  to  proving  a  capable  and 
efficient  incumbent  in  otiice,  he  has  made  for  himself  a  creditable  place  in  business  circles  as 
the  owner  of  a  farm  of  one  hundred  and  sixty  acres,  seven  miles  from  Xew  Eockford,  and 
as  a  stockholder  in  the  Farmers  &  Merchants  Bank.  Those  who  know  him,  and  he  has  a 
wide  acquaintance,  speak  of  him  in  terms  of  high  regard,  recognizing  his  worth  as  both  a 
man  and  citizen. 


JOHN  WALKER. 


John  Walker,  of  Grandin,  Cass  county,  is  one  of  the  early  settlers  of  North  Dakota 
and  has  played  a  part  in  the  development  of  his  section  both  as  a  farmer  and  as  a  business 
man.  He  was  born  in  the  province  of  Ontario,  Canada,  on  the  27th  of  March,  1854,  a  son 
of  Robert  and  Catherine  (Currie)  Walker,  natives  respectively  of  England  and  Canada.  The 
father  devoted  his  life  to  farming  and  both  passed  away  in  Ontario. 

•John  Walker  was  reared  at  home  and  received  his  education  in  the  public  schools.  He 
continued  to  reside  in  the  Dominion  until  1881,  when  he  came  to  North  Dakota  and  located 
in  Grandin,  at  which  time  no  train  had  run  into  the  town  although  the  rails  were  laid.  Not 
long  after  his  arrival  he  took  up  a  homestead  and  a  tree  claim  and  subsequently  preempted 
the  tree  claim  and  has  since  engaged  in  farming.  In  the  fall  of  1884  he  removed  to  Grandin 
but  continued  to  operate  his  farm,  to  which  he  returned  about  1898  or  1899.  He  lived  there 
until  1904,  when  he  again  removed  to  Grandin  and  for  the  past  ten  years  he  has  been 
engaged  in  the  grocer}',  fruit  and  cigar  business  there.  He  carries  a  well  selected  stock  and 
his  reasonable  prices  and  fair  dealing  have  secured  him  a  good  patronage.  He  still  super- 
vises the  cultivation  of  his  land,  from  which  he  derives  a  good  return. 

In  1883  Mr.  Walker  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Bella  Thirsk,  a  native  of  Ontario, 
Canada.  She  is  a  member  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  church  and  furthers  its  work  in  every 
way  possible.  Mr.  Walker  belongs  to  Hillsboro  Lodge,  No.  511,  A.  F.  &  A.  M.;  Dakota 
Consistory,  No.  1.  A.  &  A.  S.  R.;  and  El  Zagal  Temple,  A.  A.  0.  N.  M.  S.  His  business 
interests  have  demanded  the  greater  part  of  his  time  so  that  he  has  not  taken  an  active 
part  in  public  affairs.  He  is  respected  by  all  who  come  in  contact  with  him  and  is  accounted 
one  of  the  valued  citizens  of  Grandin  and  Cass  county. 


A.  A.  RUMREICH. 


Enterprising  business  methods  are  followed  by  A.  A.  Rumreich,  proprietor  of  a  hardware 
store  at  Pisek.  He  is  numbered  among  the  pioneer  settlers  of  the  state  and  is  a  man  of 
prominence  in  his  community,  ranking  with  the  leading  merchants  of  his  town.  He  was  born 
in  Moravia,  April  16,  1870,  and  is  a  son  of  Frank  P.  and  Marie  (Schnedar)  Rumreich,  who 
were  also  natives  of  that  country,  where  they  were  reared  and  married.  In  1881  they 
emigrated  to  the  new  world  and  on  the  4th  of  June  arrived  in  North  Dakota.  The  father 
then  took  up  a  homestead  in  Walsh  county,  where  he  engaged  in  farming.  In  1889  he  re- 
moved to  Pisek  and  established  a  hardware  business  which  since  1894  has  been  conducted  by 
his  son,  whose  name  introduces  this  review.  The  father  also  established  the  first  lumber 
yard  in  that  section  and  he  remained  a  prominent,  influential  and  respected  citizen  of  Walsh 
county  to  the  time  of  his  death,  which  occurred  February  6,  1909,  wlien  he  was  sixty-one 
years  of  age.     His  widow  survives  at  the  age  of  seventy-one  years. 

Tlie  first  born  of  their  nine  children  was  A.  A.  Rumreich,  who  in  early  youth  entered  the 
schools  of  Moravia,  which  he  attended  to  the  age  of  ten  years.  He  then  accompanied  his 
parents  to  the  new  world,  after  which  he  pursued  his  education  only  in  the  summer  months 
for  two  years  while  employed  in  various  kinds  of  work  on  the  farm.  He  continued  to  assist 
in  the  cultivation  of  his  father's  farm  until  he  reached  the  age  of  twenty-two  and  for  four 
years  he  engaged  in  the  grain  business,  buying  and  selling.  WTaile  so  occupied  he  realized 
the  need  of   a  thorough   business  training   and  attended  the  Union   Commercial   College   at 


HISTORY  OF  XORTII  DAKOTA  569 

Grand  Forks  for  three  moiitlis  in  ordir  to  I'urtlici-  LMjuip  liimself  for  a  commercial  career.  It 
was  about  this  time  tliat  lie  returned  to  I'isek  and  pureliased  his  father's  interest  in  tiie 
hardware  store  wliieh  he  has  since  successfully  conducted.  He  took  over  the  business  on  the 
1st  of  November,  1894,  and  has  since  managed  the  store,  carrying  a  large  line  of  shelf  and 
heavy  hardware.  His  reliable  business  methods  secure  him  a  ready  sale  and  throughout  his 
career  he  has  ever  realized  that  satisfied  patrons  are  the  best  advertisement. 

On  the  30th  of  October,  1894,  Mr.  Kunneich  was  married  at  Crookston,  ilinnesota,  to 
Miss  Antonia  Patocka,  a  daugliter  of  Mr.  and  Jlrs.  Thomas  Patocka,  also  natives  of  Moravia, 
and  early  pioneer  settlers  of  Dakota.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Kumreich  have  si.x  children:  Aniilian, 
who  was  born  in  ISUO  and  is  now  clerking  in  tlie  Xorlhern  State  Bank  at  Grand  Forks; 
Adalbert,  born  in  lUOS;  Peter,  who  was  born  in  1900,  and  Jlary,  born  in  1903,  both  attending 
high  school;  Rudolph,  born  in  1906;  and  Stephen,  in  lull.  All  were  born  in  Pisek.  The 
parents  are  membors  of  the  Bohemian  Catholic  church  and  Mr.  Kumreich  holds  membersliip 
in  the  Catholic  Union.  Politically  he  is  a  democrat  and  he  has  been  called  upon  to  fill  a 
number  of  public  positions  of  honor  and  trust.  He  has  served  as  president  of  the  village 
board,  as  town  clerk  and  as  a  member  of  the  town  council.  He  possesses  considerable  musical 
talent  and  is  leader  of  the  First  Band  of  Pisek,  in  which  he  plays  the  cornet,  being  master 
of  that  instrument.  His  interests  are  thus  broad  and  varied  and  have  contributed  much  to 
the  life  of  the  cunimunity,  advancing  its  material,   political  and  cultural   forces. 


RUDOLPH  FINGER. 


Rudolph  Finger,  a  merchant  of  South  Heart,  was  born  in  Davenport,  Iowa,  January  18, 
1857,  a  son  of  Bernard  and  Margaret  (Arndt))  Finger,  who  were  natives  of  Germany  and  in 
early  life  came  to  the  United  States.  The  father  lirst  settled  in  Cincinnati,  Ohio,  and  after- 
ward removed  to  St.  Louis,  Mis.souri,  finally  becoming  a  resident  of  Wisconsin.  Later  he 
went  to  northern  Illinois  and  afterward  to  Davenport,  Iowa,  where  he  made  his  home  until 
1887,  when  he  took  his  family  to  South  Heart,  North  Dakota.  He  was  married  near  Daven- 
port, llventually  lie  and  his  wife  became  residents  of  Minneapolis,  where  they  remained 
until  called  to  their  final  rest.  At  the  time  of  the  Civil  war  Bernard  Finger  responded  to 
the  call  of  his  adopted  country  for  aid  and  enlisted  as  a  member  of  the  Sixteenth  Illinois 
Cavalry,  with  which  he  served  for  two  years  and  ten  months.  He  held  the  rank  of  first 
lieutenant  and  acting  commissary  and  was  ever  a  bra\e  and  loyal  soldier,  continuing  with 
his  command  until  the  close  of  the  war.  He  then  returned  to  Davenport  and  after  spending 
three  j'cars  in  the  employ  of  the  French  &  Davis  Sawmill  Company  he  embarked  in  the 
grocery  business  in  partnership  with  Jack  Malchau.  A  year  later  he  sold  his  interest  to  his 
partner,  after  which  he  became  city  assessor,  remaining  in  that  ollice  for  six  years.  Later 
he  served  as  justice  of  the  peace  and  police  magistrate,  occupying  those  positions  for  eight 
years,  and  as  justice  he  married  eight  hundred  and  forty-nine  couples.  Later  he  was  book- 
keeper at  the  Kimball  Hotel  of  Davenport  for  a  short  time  and  subsequently  was  book- 
keeper with  other  concerns  until  his  removal  to  North  Dakota  in  1887.  He  took  over  a  store 
that  his  oldest  son  had  established  at  South  Heart  and  conducted  business  at  that  point  until 
his  removal  to  Minneapolis,  where  he  lived  with  a  daughter  until  his  death.  His  wife 
reached  an  advanced  age.  In  their  family  were  nine  children,  of  whom  two  have  passed 
away,  Bernard  and  Johanna,  the  latter  dying  at  the  age  of  eighteen  years.  The  others  are 
Rudolph,  Eugene,  Tliekla,  Gustav,  .Julia,  Johanna  and  Edgar. 

Rudolph  Fingi'r  was  educated  in  Davenport  and  there  resided  until  1S79,  wlun  he  left 
home  to  look  up  a  location.  In  1882  he  became  a  resident  of  Terry  Station,  Montana,  where 
he  remained  for  a  season,  and  later  he  went  on  a  buffalo  range  for  a  winter,  during  which 
period  he  killed  two  hundred  and  thirty-five  buffaloes.  In  the  following  spring  he  took  up 
a  homestead  near  South  Heart  and  proved  up  the  property,  which  is  located  adjacent  to  the 
town.  There  he  resided  until  1889,  when  he  went  into  the  "bad  lands"  and  began  raising 
stock.  He  devoted  his  attention  to  that  business  until  1911,  when  he  sold  out  anil  following 
the  removal  of  his  parents  to  Jlinneapolis  he  took  up  his  abode  in  South  Heart  to  look  after 
the  property  interests  of  the  Finger  family  at  that  place.     At  the  same  time  he  coiitiniu'd  in 


570  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

the  cattle  business  and  he  has  ranged  cattle  all  over  the  country  in  the  vicinity  of  South 
Heart,  tormerly  grazing  about  two  hundred  head.  He  still  has  his  farm  land,  much  of  which 
is  devoted  to  grazing  pin-poses.  In  1911  he  erected  a  business  block  and  opened  a  general 
store  in  South  Heart,  since  which  time  he  has  successfully  engaged  in  merchandising. 

In  1895  Ml-.  Finger  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Mattie  M.  Wilson,  a  native  of 
Harlan,  Iowa,  and  they  have  become  the  parents  of  seven  children,  Eugene,  Fred,  Roland, 
Hester,  Bernard,  Harold  and  Helen.  The  family  occupy  a  pleasant  residence  in  South  Heart 
which  Mr.  Finger  owns.  He  is  also  the  owner  of  his  store  building.  He  has  been  a  member 
of  the  school  board  on  his  town  for  the  past  fourteen  years  and  was  influential  in  the 
erection  of  a  new  school  building  of  which  South  Heart  has  every  reason  to  be  proud,  ilore- 
over,  he  is  numbei'cd  among  the  pioneer  settlers  of  Stark  county  and  is  familiar  with  every 
phase  of  pioneer  life  with  its  hardships  and  its  privations.  He  can  relate  many  interesting 
tales  concerning  his  experiences  of  early  days  an<l  all  who  know  him  recognize  that  he  has 
been  a   helpful   factor  in   promoting  progress   and    imiirovement   as   the   years   have  gone   on. 


GEORGE  W.  DELISLE. 


George  W.  Delislc  is  proprietor  of  The  Cash  Store,  a  general  mercliandise  establishment 
at  Walhalla.  He  has  there  resided  from  the  period  of  pioneer  development  in  Pembina 
county.  His  birth  occurred  in  North  Hadley,  Massachusetts,  May  12,  1867,  his  parents  being 
Peter  and  Leonora  (Welford)  Delisle.  The  father's  birth  occurred  near  Montreal,  Canada, 
while  the  mother  was  born  near  Ogdensburg,  New  York.  They  remained  in  New  York  until 
1860  and  then  removed  to  Massachusetts,  where  they  resided  until  1877.  In  that  year  they 
became  residents  of  Pembina  county.  North  Dakota,  and  the  father  passed  away  in  Pembina 
in  1887  at  the  age  of  forty-five  3'ears,  having  during  the  meantime  devoted  his  attention  to 
general  farming.  His  widow  is  now  a  resident  of  Seattle,  Washington,  and  has  reached  the 
age  of  seventy-three  years.     In  their  family   were  seven  sons  and  two  daughters. 

George  W.  Delisle,  the  third  in  order  of  birth,  attended  the  public  schools  of  !Massachu- 
setts  and  of  Pembina  county.  North  Dakota,  and  was  but  twelve  years  of  age  when  he  made 
his  initial  step  in  connection  with  mercantile  interests.  He  was  a  resident  of  Pembina  for 
nine  years  and  in  1886  he  went  to  Grafton  and  to  Cashel,  where  he  established  branch  stores 
in  connection  with  Joseph  Deschenes.  He  continued  at  Grafton  until  1897,  when  he  removed 
to  Walhalla,  where  he  estaVjlished  his  present  business,  starting  in  a  small  way  but  devel- 
oping the  enterprise  until  it  has  become  one  of  the  leading  business  concerns  of  his  section. 
He  conducts  his  interests  under  the  name  of  The  Cash  Store  and  he  now  enjoys  a  large  and 
steadily  expanding  trade.  He  has  been  most  careful  in  making  his  purchases  and  the  fine 
line  of  goods  which  he  carries  has  brought  to  the  store  a  verj^  desirable  class  of  customers. 
A  general  sentiment  exists  that  goods  bought  in  The  Cash  Store  can  always  be  depended 
upon  for  quality  and  satisfactory  service  as  well  as  price.  His  establishment  is  a  splendid 
example  of  successful  merchandising  along  progressive  lines.  He  has  eonstantlj'  studied  the 
wants  of  the  trade  and  he  early  adopted  and  has  maintained  the  cash  system  of  doing  busi- 
ness, conducting  his  business  upon  the  basis  of  small  profits  and  quick  sales.  He  has  four 
distinct  departments  in  his  store  and  in  addition  he  owns  a  chain  of  similar  stores  in  Sas- 
katchewan, Canada.  He  handles  farm  machinery  in  each  of  these  stores  in  addition  to  his 
other  lines  of  goods  and  his  business  has  reached  extensive  and  gratifying  proportions. 
Moreover,  he  has  a  system  perfected  by  himself  by  which  he  is  able  to  ascertain  at  any  time 
the  exact  condition  of  each  department  of  his  business.  His  stock  book,  the  only  book  which 
he  keeps,  shows  at  all  times  the  amount  of  each  and  every  kind  of  stock  in  the  stoie,  the 
sales  and  also  the  profits  of  each  department  for  each  day  and  the  amount  of  each  clerk's 
sales. 

In  January,  1891,  Mr.  Delisle  was  married  to  iUss  JIary  Ella  O'Connor,  a  daughter  of 
Mr.  and  Mrs.  M.  Binke,  of  Drayton.  They  have  become  the  parents  of  five  children.  Mary 
Delvina,  born  in  Cashel,  January  16,  1893,  is  a  graduate  of  the  academy  at  Fargo.  Helena 
Theresa,  born  in  Cashel,  November  29,  1893,  was  graduated  with  honors  from  Fargo  Acad- 
emy.    George  Francis,  born  in  \\'alhalla,  March  3,  1899,  is  now  a  high  school  pupil.     Mar- 


GEORGE.  W.  DELFSLE 


HISTORY  OF  iXORlU  UAKuTA  573 

cella  Leonore,  born   January   31,   I'JOl,   is  also  attendinj^  liigli   seliool   ami    l.itwrcnce   S.,  borr. 
August   2U,    1004,   completes   tlio    laniily. 

Mr.  Dt'liski  and  bis  lamily  are  eoniniunieants  of  tlie  Roman  Catbolic  cburcb  and  be  bolds 
juenibersbi]>  also  witli  tbe  Modern  Woodmen  of  America.  In  polities  be  is  a  republican  and 
has  served  for  several  years  as  mayor  of  Walballa,  giving  tbe  city  a  businesslike  adminis- 
tration characterized  by  the  same  qualities  that  have  won  bim  success  as  a  merchant. 
Starting  out  in  life  for  himself  at  the  age  of  twelve  years,  bis  educational  opportunities 
necessarily  curtailed,  he  has  by  home  study,  by  broad  reading  and  close  observation  become 
a  well  informed  business  man,  practical  and  enterprising,  possessing  both  originality  and 
initiative.  He  certainly  deserves  much  credit  for  what  he  has  accomplished.  In  his  vocabu- 
lary there  is  no  such  word  as  fail.  He  knows  that  success  can  be  won  through  persistent 
and  honorable  effort  and  along  that  line  be  has  advanced.  The  word  Kxcclsior  is  written 
on  bis  banner  and  victory  has  crowned  bis  achievements.  It  is  to  sucb  men  that  tbe  north- 
west owes  its  rapid  and  substantial  growth  and  variou.s  sections  of  North  Dakota  and  of 
southern  Canada  have  profited  by  his  labors. 


R.  W.  MEADOWS,  M.  D. 


Dr.  R.  W.  Meadows,  the  leading  physician  of  Sheyenne,  where  he  has  been  actively 
engaged  in  practice  since  1911,  was  born  in  Brantford,  Ontario,  Canada,  October  8,  1879,  bis 
parents  being  Reuben  and  Ellen  (Hutchinson)  Meadows,  both  of  whom  were  natives  of 
Ontario,  where  they  spent  their  entire  lives,  the  father  theie  following  the  occupation  of 
farming. 

After  pursuing  bis  early  education  in  tbe  public  schools  of  Brantford,  Dr.  Meadows  con- 
tinued his  studies  in  the  Western  University  at  London,  Ontario,  there  preparing  for  the 
practice  of  medicine.  He  pursued  the  regular  course  and  won  bis  professional  degree  upon 
graduation  with  the  class  of  1902.  The  same  year  be  went  aljroail  and  in  I^ondon,  Kngland, 
attended  tbe  clinics  held  in  Guys  Hospital  for  three  months.  Returning  to  Ontario,  he 
drove  for  a  few  months  with  the  old  family  physician  in  Brantford,  gaining  practical  ex- 
perience as  his  assistant,  but  in  the  fall  of  the  same  year  removed  to  Madilock,  North 
Dakota,  where  be  opened  an  ofliee  and  remained  in  successful  practice  until  191 1.  He  then 
sought  a  broader  field  of  labor  at  Sheyenne  and  in  the  intervening  period  of  five  years  has 
built  up  an  extensive  and  important  practice  which  is  constantly  growing  as  a  recognition 
of  his  ability  on  the  part  of  his  fellow  townsmen. 

In  1905  Dr.  Meadow's  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Sarah  Teigen,  of  Davenport,  North 
Dakota,  by  whom  he  has  two  children,  Maurice  M.  and  May  L.  The  parents  are  members  of 
the  Slethodist  Episcopal  church  and  Dr.  Meadows  belongs  also  to  tbe  Anc'ient  Order  of 
United  Workmen.  Along  strictly  professional  lines  he  has  association  with  tlie  Tri  County 
Medical  Society,  the  North  Dakota  State  Medical  Association  and  the  American  Jledical  As- 
sociation. He  holds  to  high  professional  standards  and  kei'ps  in  touch  with  the  advanced 
thought  of  the  profession,  following  its  extensive  and  scientific  research  work.  While  quick 
to  adopt  any  new  idea  which  be  believes  will  prove  an  element  in  successful  practice,  be 
does  not  hastily  discard  old  and  time-tried  methods  the  value  of  which  has  been  proven.  In 
a  word,  his  soimd  judgment  recognizes  that  which  is  most  effective  and  his  labors  have  been 
fraught  with  excellent  results. 


RICHARD  F.  row  i:i,L. 


Richard  F.  Powell,  of  Cando,  who  since  190.'?  has  been  actively  engaged  in  the  development 
and  management  of  his  farming  interests,  which  embrace  three  thousand  acres  of  land,  and 
who  has  become  known  as  one  of  the  leading  raisers  of  purebred  stock  in  Towner  county,  was 
born  in  Ontario,  Canada,  July  1,  1861,  a  son  of  Caleb  and  Susan  (Gierke)  Powell,  who  were 
also  natives   of  Ontario.     The   father  there   followed   the  occupation   of   farming  until    1883, 


574  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

when  he  removed  to  Devils  Lake,  North  Dakota.  After  a  short  time,  however,  he  took  up  a 
homestead  in  Towner  county  in  February,  1884,  and  gave  tlie  cultivation  of  the  place  over  to 
the  care  of  his  younger  son.  He  then  resided  in  Cando  throughout  his  remaining  days,  passing 
away  in  1896,  while  his  wife  survived  him  for  more  than  a  decade,  her  death  occurring  in 
April,  1908. 

Richard  F.  Powell  was  reared  and  educated  in  Ontario  and  when  fifteen  years  of  age 
began  providing  for  his  own  support  by  work  as  a  farm  hand.  He  also  clerked  in  a  store  for 
a  few  years.  It  was  in  1883  that  he  became  a  resident  of  North  Dakota,  spending  one  year 
as  an  employe  in  a  lumber  yard  at  Larimore.  He  next  went  to  Bartlett,  where  he  took  charge 
of  a  lumber  yard  for  six  months,  at  the  end  of  which  time  the  business  was  removed  to  Devils 
Lake,  where  he  operated  until  1883.  In  the  fall  of  that  year  he  removed  to  Minnew-aukan,  the 
county  seat  of  Benson  county,  and  opened  a  lumber  yard  at  New  Rockford  and  at  Sjkeston  as 
well  as  at  Minnewaukan.  He  acted  as  manager  of  the  yard  at  the  last  named  place  until 
1886.  In  the  meantime — in  1884 — he  filed  on  land  but  did  not  prove  up  on  it.  In  1886  he 
removed  to  Churchs  Ferry  as  representative  of  the  same  lumlier  companj'  and  there  continued 
until  1890,  when  he  was  transferred  to  Cando,  assuming  the  management  of  tlie  company's 
yard  at  that  place.  He  remained  as  manager  until  1903.  In  the  meantime,  however,  he  had 
bought  land  whenever  the  opportunity  offered,  carefully  saving  his  earnings  in  order  to  make 
judicious  investments  in  farm  property.  He  now  has  three  separate  farms  averaging  one 
thousand  acres  apiece  and  for  the  past  thirteen  years  he  has  been  concentrating  his  attention 
and  energy  upon  his  agi'icultural  and  stock  raising  pursuits.  He  makes  a  specialty  of 
handling  purebred  Percheron  horses  and  shortliorn  cattle  and  now  has  about  one  hundred  and 
fift}'  head  of  fine  cattle.  He  is  also  the  secretary  and  treasurer  of  the  Cando  Mill  &  Elevator 
Company.  His  business  affairs  have  been  most  wisely  and  judiciously  managed  and  controlled 
and  keen  sagacity  has  been  manifest  in  his  investments,  while  his  unabating  energy  has 
enabled  him  to  overcome  all  the  difficulties  and  obstacles  that  bar  the  path  of  progress  in 
business  affairs. 

In  October,  1887,  ]\Ir.  Powell  was  united  in  marriage  to  Jliss  Victoria  Barber  and  they 
have  become  the  parents  of  four  children:  Norman  B.,  who  died  in  November,  1909;  Gladys, 
who  is  attending  the  State  University;  Raymond,  who  was  gi'aduated  from  the  State  Agri- 
cultural College  ill  June,  1916;  and  Frank,  who  is  now  a  student  in  the  State  Agricultural 
College  at  Fargo. 

In  1910  Mr.  Powell  erected  a  fine  modern  residence  in  Cando.  He  and  his  wife  belong  to 
the  Methodist  church  and  he  is  also  identified  with  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America.  Politi- 
cally he  is  a  republican  and  has  been  a  member  of  the  city  council  of  Cando,  while  for  six 
years  he  served  as  president  of  the  school  board.  He  takes  a  deep  and  helpful  interest  in  all 
matters  pertaining  to  public  progi'ess  and  improvement  and,  realizing  public  needs  and  oppor- 
tunities, has  been  able  to  direct  his  efforts  along  most  valuable  lines.  He  can  well  claim  the 
proud  American  title  of  self-made  man,  for  tlirough  individual  efi'ort  and  ability  he  has 
worked  his  way  upward,  laj'ing  the  foundation  for  his  own  success  and  building  tliereon 
wisely  and  well. 


S.  GEORGE  VATIITE,  M.  D. 


Dr.  S.  George  White,  an  active  member  of  the  medical  profession,  practicing  at  Ambrose 
since  1907,  although  he  is  called  in  his  professional  capacity  to  many  points  in  the  north- 
western part  of  the  state,  was  born  in  Ottawa,  Ontario,  Canada,  February  15,  1882,  a  son 
of  Samuel  and  Emelia  (Kutsehke)  White.  The  father's  birth  occurred  in  Ontario  and  he 
was  educated  in  Ottawa.  He  took  up  horticultural  work  and  landscape  gardening  and  had 
charge  of  the  capitol  grounds  at  Ottawa,  where  he  spent  his  entire  life,  dying  there  when  his 
son  George  was  an  infant.  His  wife,  who  was  born  in  Hamburg,  Germany,  was  taken  to 
Canada  during  her  childhood  by  her  parents,  who  settled  at  Ottawa,  where  she  still  resides. 

Dr.  ^\^lite  acquired  his  preliminary  education  tlirough  the  public  school  system  of 
Ottawa,  after  which  he  attended  the  Collegiate  Institute  of  Ottawa  and  later  entered  McGill 
University  at  Montreal,  where  he  was  graduated  with  the  class  of  1903  on  the  completion 


HISTORY  OF  XORTil  DAKOTA  575 

of  the  medical  course,  winning  his  professional  degree.  He  then  aecejited  the  position  of 
interne  in  St.  Luke's  Hospital  at  Ottawa  and  afterward  became  medical  superintendent  of 
that  institution,  oocu])ying  that  ])osition  for  two  years.  In  1903  he  removed  to  .Minot,  North 
Dakota,  where  he  continued  in  active  practice  until  11)07,  when  he  opened  an  ollice  in  Am- 
brose, which  town  was  then  but  a  jear  old.  There  lie  luis  practiced  medicine  continuously 
since  but  his  work  extends  over  a  much  wider  territory  as  he  is  frequently  called  into 
various  sections  of  northwestern  North  Dakota  for  medical  or  surgical  practice.  He  had 
thorough  training  and  his  ability  is  pronounced,  enabling  him  to  successfully  cope  with  the 
involved  and  intricate  problems  that  confront  the  physician.  While  in  Minot  he  filled  the 
position  of  city  health  oHicer  and  has  been  county  liealtli  ollicer  of  Divide  county  for  two 
terms. 

On  the  2d  of  November,  1911,  at  ilinot,  Dr.  White  wedded  Miss  May  McKvers,  a  native 
of  Missouri  and  a  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  John  McKvcrs,  who  removed  to  North  Dakota  in 
pioneer  times,  settling  at  Bowbells,  while  later  they  became  residents  of  Lignite.  Her  father 
died  at  IJowbells,  December  31,  1914,  but  her  mother  is  now  living  at  Lignite. 

Dr.  and  ilrs.  White  are  widely  and  favorably  known  in  Ambrose  and  throughout  this 
section  of  the  state.  Mrs.  White  is  a  very  active  and  helpful  worker  in  the  Ladies'  Aid 
Society  of  the  Presbyterian  church  of  Ambrose,  of  which  both  she  and  tli£  Doctor  are  mem- 
bers. He  belongs  to  Ambrose  Lodge,  No.  97,  F.  &,  A.  M.,  in  which  he  has  passed  through  all 
of  the  chairs,  twice  serving  as  master.  He  is  likewise  a  Knight  Templar  of  Minot  Com- 
mandery  and  belongs  to  Kem  Temple  of  the  Mystic  Shrine.  Politically  he  follows  an 
independent  course.  Along  professional  lines  he  has  membership  with  the  Northwestern 
District  Jledical  Society  of  Nortli  Dakota  and  the  American  Medical  Association  and  tlirough 
the  proceedings  of  these  organizations  he  keeps  in  touch  with  progressive  professional  thought 
and  methods. 


WILLL\M  C.  BEARDSLEY. 


Since  1883  William  C.  Beardsley  has  been  a  resident  of  Eddy  county  and  in  that  time 
has  taken  an  active  part  in  its  development,  especially  along  agricultural  lines.  He  was  born 
in  Geauga  coiinty,  Ohio,  on  the  14tli  of  June,  1854,  and  is  a  son  of  Ervin  and  Mary  J. 
(Crothers)  Ueardslej',  also  natives  of  the  Buckeye  state.  The  father  followed  farming  as  a 
means  of  livelihood  and  at  the  time  of  the  Civil  war  bought  horses  for  the  government.  He 
continued  to  reside  in  Ohio  throughout  life  and  passed  away  in  1884,  being  long  survived  by 
his  wife,  who  died  in  1910. 

In  the  state  of  his  nativity  William  C.  Beardsley  grew  to  manhood,  and  his  early  educa- 
tion, ac<|uired  in  the  public  schools,  was  supplemented  by  a  course  at  Oberlin  College.  He 
remained  with  his  parents  until  he  attained  his  majority  and  for  several  years  engaged  in 
teaching  school  in  Ohio.  On  coming  to  North  Dakota  in  1882  he  located  in  Grand  Forks 
county,  but  the  following  year  removed  to  Eddy  county  and  liled  on  land  three  miles  from 
New  Rockford.  He  improved  his  place  and  (mgaged  in  its  cultivation  until  1908,  when  he 
rented  the  farm  and  removed  to  New  Rockford,  where  he  now  makes  his  home. 

On  taking  up  his  residence  there  Mr.  Beardsley  was  appointed  county  judge  of  Eddy 
county  and  was  later  elected  to  that  ollice,  in  which  he  served  most  acceptably  for  four 
years.  For  three  years  he  was  manager  of  the  Farmers  Elevator  Company  in  New  Rock- 
ford, in  the  meantime  serving  one  year  as  city  assessor,  but  at  the  present  time  he  devotes 
his  attention  principally  to  the  operation  of  a  farm  of  forty  acres  inside  the  city  limits. 
He  still  owns  six  hundred  and  eighty  acres  of  land  in  Eddy  county  and  is  a  stockholder  in 
the  Farmers  Elevator  Company.  In  connection  with  farming  he  has  nuide  a  specialty  of 
sheep  raising  and  keeps  about  eight  hundred  head  ujion  his  place. 

Mr.  Beardsley  was  married  .July  31,  1889,  to  Miss  Emma  Schwoebcl,  a  daugliter  of 
George  and  Elizabeth  Schwoebel,  of  whom  more  extended  mention  is  made  in  the  sketch  of 
G.  .J.  Schwoebel  on  another  page  of  this  work.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Beardsley  have  three  children, 
Elwin  W.,  who  is  now  serving  as  cashier  of  the  New  Rockford  Bank;  Lloyd  G.,  who  was 
graduated  in  pharmacy  in  1916  at  the  L'niversity  of  Minnesota;  and  lone  K.,  who  will  finish 
a  coiirse  at  I'niversitv  of  North  Dakota  in  1917. 


576  HISTORY  OF  NORTPI  DAKOTA 

Besides  the  offices  already  mentioned,  Mr.  Beardsley  lias  been  called  upon  to  serve  on 
the  town  council  and  he  has  always  abl}'  performed  any  dutj'  devolving  upon  him.  He  is  a 
stanch  supporter  of  the  republican  party  and  a  Congregationalist  in  religious  belief.  Frater- 
nally he  belongs  to  the  Masonic  order  and  the  Ancient  Order  of  United  Workmen. 


0.  L.  KERMOTT,  D.  D.  S. 


Dr.  0.  L.  Kermott,  one  of  the  most  capable  and  successful  of  the  dentists  practicing  in 
McHenry  county,  has  a  well  appointed  office  in  Towner  and  the  extent  of  his  patronage 
indicates  the  recognition  of  his  ability  on  the  part  of  the  general  public.  He  is  one  of  North 
Dakota's  native  sons,  his  birth  having  occurred  at  St.  Tliomas  on  the  9th  of  January,  1883, 
his  parents  being  George  E.  and  Ida  M.  (Atkinson)  Kermott,  who  were  natives  of  Canada 
but  in  young  manhood  and  womanliood  arrived  in  this  state.  The  father  came  to  North 
Dakota  in  1880  and  filed  on  a  homestead  in  Pembina  county,  also  becoming  identified  with 
commercial  pursuits  as  the  owner  of  a  drug  store  in  St.  Thomas.  He  conducted  that  business 
for  fifteen  or  sixteen  years  and  subsequently  spent  five  years  as  a  ranchman  in  Texas.  In 
1906  he  became  a  resident  of  Towner,  where  he  opened  a  drug  store  and  was  thus  closely 
associated  with  the  commercial  activity  of  the  place  for  five  years.  In  1911  he  removed  to 
the  western  coast  and  opened  a  drug  store  at  Coronado,  California,  where  he  is  now  located. 

Dr.  Kermott  largely  acquired  his  education  in  the  public  schools  of  Park  River,  North 
Dakota,  and  in  1905  he  took  up  the  study  of  dentistry,  matriculating  in  the  State  Dental 
College  of  Texas  at  Dallas,  from  which  institution  he  was  graduated  with  the  class  of  1908. 
He  returned  to  North  Dakota  in  1909  and  located  in  Towner,  where  during  tlie  intervening 
period  of  eight  years  he  has  built  up  an  extensive  practice.  He  keeps  in  touch  with  the 
latest  scientific  researches  and  discoveries  along  the  path  of  his  profession  and  utilizes  the 
most  modern  methods  in  his  work.  He  also  possesses  that  mechanical  skill  and  ingenuity 
which  is  one  of  the  essentials  of  successful  dental  practice  and  the  excellence  of  his  work 
has  resulted  in  the  attainment  of  notable  professional  and  financial  success. 

In  1915  Dr.  Kermott  was  married  to  Miss  Ethel  Kauffman,  of  Grand  Forks,  North 
Dakota.  He  is  well  known  in  Masonic  circles,  belonging  to  Mouse  River  Lodge,  No.  43,  F.  & 
A.  M.,  Mystic  Chapter.  No.  13,  R.  A.  M.,  Lebanon  Council,  No.  2,  R.  <^  S.  M.,  De  Molay  Com- 
mandery.  No.  10,  K.  T.,  at  Minot,  and  Kem  Temple,  A.  A.  O.  N.  M.  S.,  of  Grand  Forks.  His 
political  allegiance  is  given  to  the  republican  party  and  he  and  his  wife  are  consistent 
members  of  the  Baptist  church.  In  a  word  he  holds  to  those  things  which  the  public 
recognizes  as  of  standard  worth  and  his  life  has  been  guided  by  high  and  honorable  prin- 
ciples, exemplified  in  every  relation. 


WALTER  E.  BARRINGER. 


Walter  E.  Barringer,  cashier  of  the  First  National  Bank  at  Streeter,  is  a  representative 
in  North  Dakota  of  Wisconsin's  native  sons,  his  birth  having  occurred  in  Elroy,  that  state, 
June  20,  1870.  His  father,  George  R.  Barringer,  is  a  native  of  New  York  but  in  early  life 
removed  to  Reedsburg,  Wisconsin,  and  after  attaining  his  majority  married  Philena  Lyon, 
who  was  born  in  Oshkosh,  that  state.  Their  marriage  was  celebrated  in  1866  and  they 
became  the  parents  of  seven  children,  of  whom  Walter  E.  is  the  second.  In  1868  the  family 
removed  to  Elroy,  Wisconsin,  and  there  the  father  spent  the  greater  part  of  his  life,  devoting 
his  attention  to  general  farming.  In  1914  he  was  called  upon  to  mourn  the  death  of  his 
wife.  He  is  now  a  resident  of  Portland.  Oregon,  where  for  the  past  ten  years  he  has  been 
living  retired. 

Walter  E.  Barringer  obtained  his  education  in  the  schools  of  Elroj*  and  for  five  years 
successfully  engaged  in  teaching  in  and  near  Mauston,  Wisconsin.  He  afterward  was  for  one 
year  a  member  of  the  Third  Wisconsin  Volunteer  Infantry,  having  enlisted  for  service  in  the 
Spanish-American  war.    With  his  command  he  was  sent  to  Porto  Rico,  where  he  was  on  duty 


HISTORY  OF  XOHTil   DAKOTA  577 

until  honorably  discharged  in  1899.  He  then  entered  the  street  railway  service  at  Minne- 
apolis, spending  thirteen  months  in  that  connection,  and  later  he  resumed  the  profession  of 
teaching,  to  which  he  devoted  a  year  at  Clear  Lake,  Wisconsin.  He  next  entered  the  employ 
of  the  (Jreat  Northern  Railroad  Company  in  connection  with  the  express  department,  so  spend- 
ing a  year  and  a  half,  and  in  190.3  he  centered  his  interests  in  Xorth  Dakota  by  taking  up  a 
claim  on  section  12,  township  137,  range  TO.  in  Stutsman  county.  The  sunnncr  months  were 
devoted  to  breaking  the  sod,  tilling  the  fields  and  otherwise  developing  his  farm,  while  the 
winter  montlis  were  given  to  teaching  school.  Five  years  thus  spent  won  him  title  to  his 
claim  and  during  the  following  two  years  he  was  empIoye<l  by  the  North  Star  Lumber  Com- 
pany at  Streeter.  He  continued  with  that  corporation  until  1910,  at  which  time  he  accepted 
the  position  of  cashier  in  the  First  National  Bank  of  Streeter.  This  institution  was  first 
organized  as  a  state  bank  but  was  changed  to  the  First  National  Bank  on  the  15th  of  April, 
1915.  As  its  cashier  Mr.  Barringer  is  very  active  in  its  management  and  control  and  does  not 
a  little  toward  shaping  the  policy  of  the  bank  in  its  relations  to  its  patrons.  Tn  October, 
1914,  .Mr.  Barringer  was  made  postmaster  of  Streeter.  which  position  he  still  fills,  and  in 
addition  tio  his  other  activities  he  is  interested  in  farm  lands  from  the  standpoint  of  a  specu- 
lator and  has  al.so  dealt  in  other  real  estate.  He  now  owns  a  half  section  of  land  in  Kidder 
county,  also  a  half  section  in  Logan  county  and  four  hundred  and  eighty  acres  in  Stutsman 
county  and  he  has  other  realty,  including  town  property  in  Streeter.  His  investments  have 
been  judiciously  made,  his  sound  judgment  being  displayiii  in  tlie  profits  which  have  accrued 
from  his  purchase  and  sale  of  property. 

In  190.'i  Mr.  Barringer  was  married  to  ^Fiss  Martha  McJIillan.  wlio  was  born  in  Mauston, 
Wisconsin,  in  1880,  a  daughter  of  Walter  and  Rebecca  .McMillan,  who  w-ere  of  Scottish  and 
English  birth.  Coming  to  America,  both  settled  at  Mauston,  where  the  father  spent  his 
remaining  days,  his  death  occurring  in  1915.  The  mother  still  makes  her  home  at  Mauston. 
Mrs.  Barringer  was  the  sixth  in  order  of  birth  in  their  family  of  seven  children  and  by  her 
marriage  she  has  become  the  mother  of  one  daughter,  Ethel,  born  December  11,  1905.  Mr.  Bar- 
ringer is  a  democrat  in  politics  but  has  no  political  aspirations.  He  belongs  to  the  Modern 
Woodmen  camp  at  Streeter  and  he  and  his  wife  attend  the  Presbyterian  church,  their  aid  and 
influence  being  always  given  on  the  side  of  progress,  reform  and  improvement. 


JAIHES  EUGENE  McKOANE. 

James  Eugene  McKoane  is  identified  with  a  number  of  lines  of  business  in  Minot  and  is 
one  of  the  important  factors  in  its  commercial  growth  and  expansion.  He  is  a  man  of  inde- 
pendent means  and  is  now  devoting  the  greater  part  of  his  time  to  looking  after  his  invest- 
ments. He  was  born  in  Livingston  county,  Illinois,  April  1,  1862,  of  the  marriage  of  .John 
and  JIary  (^IcDevitt)  McKoane,  both  of  whom  were  born  in  Ireland,  the  father  in  County 
Armagh  on  the  17th  of  March,  1840,  and  the  mother  in  County  Donegal  on  the  22d  of  .Tune, 
1842.  They  were  married,  however,  in  America,  to  which  country  the  father  emigrated  when 
sixteen  years  old.  He  settled  near  Philadelphia,  Pennsylvania,  and  worked  there  as  a  farm 
hand.  He  was  married  in  that  state  and  in  1861  removed  to  Livingston  county.  Illinois,  where 
he  engaged  in  farming  on  his  own  account.  He  enlisted  in  Company  D,  Fifty-second  Illinois 
Volunteer  Infantry,  for  service  in  the  Civil  war  and  was  at  the  front  during  the  last  year  of 
the  war.  W'hile  on  board  ship  on  the  way  from  New  York  to  the  south  he  was  disabled  while 
assisting  to  haul  in  sail.  After  receiving  his  honorable  discharge  he  retmned  to  Livingston 
county,  where  ho  purchased  a  farm,  which  he  operated  until  his  death  on  the  2nth  of  Octo- 
ber. 1886.  His  wife,  who  still  survives,  makes  her  home  with  her  children.  Tliey  were  the 
parents  of  ten  children,  of  whom  nine  are  still  living  and  of  whom  the  subject  of  this  review 
is  the  eldest. 

.Tames  E.  McKoane  received  his  education  in  the  common  schools  of  Living.ston  county 
and  in  the  Northern  Illinois  Normal  School  and  Dixon  Business  College  at  Dixon,  Illinois, 
taking  both  a  business  course  and  a  teacher's  course.  He  remained  at  home  until  he  became 
of  age  and  then  went  to  Streator.  Illinois,  where  he  worked  for  a  year  as  a  bookkeeper.  At 
the  end  of  that  time  he  decided  to  try  his  fortune  in  the  northwest  and  accordingly  removed 


578  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

to  what  is  now  Edmunds  county,  South  Dakota.  He  filed  on  land  near  Bowdle,  using  all  of 
his  rights,  as  he  took  up  a  homestead,  a  preemption  and  tree  claim.  Subsequently  the  town  of 
Hosmer  was  located  on  his  land  and  he  then  engaged  in  general  merchandising  and  in  J;he 
grain  business  there.  He  also  owned  an  elevator  in  Bowdle  but  in  1902  disposed  of  his  inter- 
ests in  South  Dakota  and  removed  to  Minot,  North  Dakota.  He  purchased  the  only  abstract 
business  in  Ward  county,  which  he  is  still  conducting,  and  he  is  also  active  in  the  real  estate, 
insurance  and  loan  field.  He  has  the  largest  city  loan  business  in  Minot  and  also  makes  farms 
loans,  specializing  in  assisting  people  to  build  homes.  He  has  handled  some  of  the  largest 
loans  in  Minot  and  has  gained  an  enviable  reputation  for  fair  dealing.  He  is  vice  president  of 
the  Title  Investment  Company,  which  is  an  abstract  company,  and  in  connection  with  his 
brother  operates  the  McKoane  Grain  Company.  He  believes  firmly  in  the  value  of  real  estate 
as  an  investment  and  for  a  number  of  years  has  added  constantly  to  his  holdings,  which  now 
comprise  four  thousand  acres  of  excellent  farm  land,  including  an  entire  section  in  Canada. 
He  has  rented  all  of  his  land  and  derives  from  it  a  handsome  income.  He  devotes  the  greater 
part  of  his  time  to  looking  after  his  personal  interests,  which  are  varied  and  extensive. 

Ml-.  McKoane  was  married  on  the  15th  of  June,  1887,  to  Miss  Metta  A.  Babcock,  a  native 
of  Lanesboro,  Minnesota,  and  a  daughter  of  George  and  Annette  (Newcomb)  Babcock,  both  of 
whom  were  born  in  Massachusetts.  The  father,  who  was  a  carpenter  and  farmer,  was  an 
early  settler  in  Minnesota  and  also  in  South  Dakota.  He  resided  on  a  farm  near  Watertown, 
that  state,  and  passed  away  there.  He  served  as  county  sheriff'  while  living  in  Minnesota  and 
always  took  a  commendable  interest  in  public  affairs.  His  wife  has  also  passed  away.  To 
Mr.  and  Mrs.  McKoane  were  born  three  children,  all  of  whom  are  deceased. 

Mr.  McKoane  is  a  stanch  adherent  of  the  republican  party  and  while  living  in  Edmunds 
county,  South  Dakota,  served  as  county  superintendent  of  schools  for  four  years.  Since 
becoming  a  resident  of  Minot  he  has  been  a  member  of  the  school  board  and  Minot  city  council 
and  he  has  always  done  all  in  his  power  to  promote  the  advancement  of  educational  inter- 
ests. His  religious  faith  is  that  of  the  Roman  Catholic  church  and  in  all  relations  of  life  he 
strives  to  conform  his  conduct  to  high  standards  of  ethics.  He  is  one  of  the  foremost  citizens 
of  Minot  and  Ward  county  and  is  not  only  esteemed  for  his  ability  but  also  for  his  unques- 
tioned integrit}'. 


JOHN  LONG. 


More  than  a  century  ago  George  Washington  said  "agriculture  is  the  most  useful  as 
well  as  the  most  honorable  occupation  of  man."  H  is  to  the  work  of  tilling  the  soil  that 
John  Long  has  devoted  his  energies  and  his  careful  management  and  sound  business  judg- 
ment have  been  the  elements  in  his  growing  success.  He  makes  his  home  on  section  4, 
Rich  township,  Cass  county,  and  is  now  accounted  one  of  the  substantial  citizens  of  the 
state.  His  birth  occurred  in  La  Salle  county,  Illinois,  January  19,  1871,  his  parents  being 
James  and  Hannah  (McKeigan)  Long,  the  former  a  native  of  Dublin  and  the  latter  a  native 
of  County  Kerry,  Ireland.  Both  crossed  the  Atlantic  in  1866  when  in  young  manhood  and 
womanhood  and  they  were  married  in  La  Salle  county,  Illinois,  where  they  resided  until 
1881,  which  year  witnessed  their  arrival  in  North  Dakota.  They  took  up  their  abode  in 
Rich  township,  Cass  county,  homesteading  the  south  half  of  section  10  and  there  Mr.  Long 
developed  and  improved  a  fine  farm,  upon  which  he  resided  to  the  time  of  his  death  in  1902. 
In  the  meantime  he  had  added  to  his  landed  possessions  until  he  was  the  owner  of  two 
sections.  In  politics  he  was  a  staunch  democrat  and  while  he  was  never  an  office  seeker 
he  was  regarded  as  an  influential  worker  and  liis  opinions  carried  weight  in  the  party 
councils. 

John  Long  was  reared  at  home,  becoming  a  resident  of  North  Dakota  when  a  youth  of 
ten  years.  He  acquired  his  education  in  the  public  schools  and  on  attaining  his  majority 
purchased  a  relinquishment  on  his  present  home  farm,  which  he  filed  on  as  a  homestead, 
making  the  necessary  improvements  that  gained  him  the  title.  Purchasing  other  lands 
from  time  to  time  he  is  now  the  owner  of  six  hundred  and  forty  acres  of  the  finest  land  in 
Cass  county  and  is  one  of  the  most  progressive  and  enterprising  farmers.     He  is  a  stock- 


MR.  AND  MRS.  JAMES  LONG 


■^ 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  583 

lioldcr  in  the  Karmers  Elevator  &  Lumber  Company  at  Page  and  in  all  business  affairs 
displays  sound  judgment  and  unfalterinj,'  energy,  so  that  he  carries  forward  to  successful 
completion  whatever  he  undertakes. 

Jn  1.S9S  -Mr.  Long  was  married  to  Jliss  Mary  liyriis,  of  La  Salle  county,  Illinois,  and 
this  union  has  been  blessed  with  six  children;  Kngene,  Irene,  Joseph,  Madeline,  Catharine 
and  John,  Jr. 

In  politics  Mr.  Long  is  a  democrat  and  is  the  present  township  treasurer  of  Rich 
township,  Cass  county.  In  1913  he  was  appointed  postmaster  at  Page  and  his  brother 
Patrick  now  largely  looks  after  the  office.  He  and  his  wife  are  members  of  the  Catholic 
church  and  Mr.  Long  holds  membership  with  the  Knights  of  Columbus.  His  residence  in  Cass 
county  covers  more  than  a  third  of  a  century,  during  which  he  has  gained  a  wide 
acquaintance  and  by  his  business  enterprise  has  won  a  place  among  the  prosperous  farmers 
of  the  comn\unity,  while  his  labors  have  contributed  to  the  general  progress  and  development 
of  this  part  of  the  state. 


PETER  R.  LONG. 


Peter  R.  Long,  a  resident  farmer  of  iiicli  township,  was  born  in  La  Salle  county, 
Illinois,  August  5,  1873,  and  in  the  common  schools  of  North  Dakota  acquired  his  education. 
He  continued  to  assist  his  father  in  the  development  and  improvement  of  tlie  old  homestead 
farm  in  Cass  county  until  he  reached  his  twentyliflh  year,  but  in  18U8  he  purchased  a 
ridiniiuishmcnt  on  a  homestead  in  Lake  township  and  in  due  time  secured  ownership  to  the 
property.  He  resided  there  for  five  years  and  in  1903  he  built  his  present  residence  on  land 
which  he  had  received  according  to  the  terms  of  his  father's  will.  He  is  now  the  owner  of 
six  hundred  and  fortj'  acres,  all  in  one  body,  constituting  a  very  valuable  and  [iroductive 
farm,  the  fields  responding  readily  to  the  care  and  labor  which  he  bestows  upon  them.  He 
utilizes  the  most  progressive  methods  and  his  energy  and  determination  bring  good  results. 
In  addition  to  his  farming  interests  he  is  a  stockholder  in  the  Farmers  Elevator  &  Lumber 
Company  at  Page. 

In  1900  Mr.  Long  was  married  to  Miss  Mary  Morris,  of  Tintah,  Minnesota,  and  tliey 
have  six  children,  Lucy,  Leo,  Margaret,  Frances,  James  and  Peter,  Jr.  Since  age  conferred 
upoji  liim  the  right  of  franchise  Mr.  Long  has  voted  with  the  democratic  party  and  for 
several  years  he  served  as  a  member  of  the  township  board.  The  parents  are  members  of 
the  Catholic  church,  loyal  to  its  teachings  and  generous  in  its  support,  and  Mr.  Long  also 
holds  membership  with  the  Knights  of  Columbus.  He  represents  one  of  the  old  pioneer 
families  of  this  part  of  the  state.  Father  and  sons  have  been  most  active  in  promoting 
the  material  progress  and  upbuilding  of  Cass  county  and  are  numbered  among  its  foremost 
farmers. 


EDWARD   L.   BEATY. 


Edward  L.  Beaty,  who  is  efficiently  serving  as  clerk  of  the  courts  of  Foster  county, 
North  Dakota,  claims  Nebraska  as  his  native  state,  his  birth  occurring  at  Tecumseh,  Novem- 
ber 25,  1872.  His  parents  were  Amos  and  Anna  (McGill)  Beaty,  the  former  a  native  of 
Ohio  and  the  latter  of  Illinois.  In  the  'GOs  the  father  removed  to  Nebraska  and  purchased 
land,  whereon  he  was  engaged  in  farming  until  the  grasshoppers  destroyed  his  crops.  Becom- 
ing discouraged,  he  returned  to  Illinois,  where  he  followed  agricultural  pursuits  until  1889, 
when  he  came  to  North  Dakota  and  bought  a  tract  of  railroad  land  in  Foster  county,  which 
lie  ojierated  until  189.5.  In  the  latter  year  ho  retired  from  active  labor  and  removed  to  Car- 
rington.  where  his  last  years  were  spent  in  ease  and  quiet.  He  passed  away  in  Sei)tember, 
1907.  but  his  wife  is  still  living. 

Edward  L.  Beaty  was  educated  in  the  common  schools  of  Illinois,  in  which  state  he  was 
practically  reared  to  manhood,  being  seventeen  years  of  age  when  the  family  removed  to 
North  Dakota.  He  remained  with  his  parents  most  of  the  time  until  his  marriage.     In  the 


584  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

meantime  he  [lureliased  land  and  engaged  in  its  cultivation  and  improvement  until  1895, 
when  he  sold  liis  farm  and  bought  city  property  in  Carrington.  On  his  removal  to  tliat  city 
he  and  his  father  purchased  a  meat  market,  which  they  conducted  until  1900,  and  later  were 
engaged  in  the  hotel  and  restaurant  business.  In  1908  the  property  was  destroyed  by  fire 
and  Edward  L.  Beaty  engaged  in  general  mereliandising  for  the  following  two  years.  In 
1910  he  was  elected  clerk  of  the  courts  of  Foster  county  and  has  since  served  in  that  capacity 
with  credit  to  himself  and  to  the  entire  satisfaction  of  the  general  public.  For  the  past 
three  years  he  has  also  conducted  a  restaurant  with  good  success. 

In  April,  1901,  Mr.  Beaty  married  Miss  Laura  M.  Lingofelt,  and  to  thi'm  liave  been  boin 
three  children  but  Irma  M.,  born  in  1903,  is  the  only  one  now  living.  One,  born  in  August, 
1905,  died  the  following  October,  and  the  other  died  in  190"  in  infancy.  Jlrs.  Beaty  is  a 
faithful  member  of  the  German  Baptist  church,  and  Mr.  Beaty  belongs  to  the  Indepenilent 
Order  of  Odd  Fellows,  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America,  the  Knights  of  the  Maccabees  and 
the  Woodmen  of  the  World.  In  politics  he  is  a  stalwart  republican  and  for  six  years  he 
served  on  the  city  council  of  Carrington.  He  has  also  filled  the  position  of  deputy  state 
game  warden  and  he  has  always  faithfully  discharged  any  duties  devolving  upon  him. 


D.  WALLACE  McCAUL. 


D.  Wallace  McCaul,  one  of  the  enterprising  young  business  men  of  Walhalla,  North 
Dakota,  where  as  a  member  of  the  firm  of  Gibson  &  Company  he  is  engaged  in  general  mer- 
chandising, was  born  on  the  26th  of  August,  1893,  in  Alma,  Iowa.  His  parents  are  Frank  and 
Annie  (McGovcrn)  McCaul,  the  former  a  native  of  Grand  Rapids,  Michigan,  and  the  latter  of 
Waterville,  Minnesota.  In  early  life  the  father  removed  to  Minnesota,  where  he  was  married 
and  whore  he  engaged  in  the  livery  business  for  some  time,  and  from  that  state  he  went  to 
Iowa,  where  he  practiced  as  a  veterinary.  He  continued  to  follow  that  profession  after  his 
removal  to  Walhalla,  North  Dakota,  but  is  now  living  retired  at  the  age  of  fifty-eight  years. 
His  wife  has  reached  the  age  of  forty-eight.  In  their  family  are  three  children,  namely: 
D.  Wallace,  of  this  review;  Leo,  who  was  born  in  Waterville,  Iowa,  in  1895;  and  Cecil,  who 
was  born  in  Walhalla,  North  Dakota,  in  1903. 

D.  Wallace  McCaul  obtained  his  early  education  in  the  public  schools  of  Walhalla  and 
after  his  graduation  from  the  high  school  entered  Macalester  College  of  St.  Paul,  Minnesota. 
After  putting  aside  his  textbooks  he  turned  his  attention  to  mercantile  pursuits,  forming  a 
partnership  with  Messrs.  Gibson  and  Frazier  in  1914,  and  under  the  firm  name  of  Gibson  & 
Company  they  have  developed  a  good  business  which  is  constantly  increasing.  They  carry 
a  large  and  well  selected  stock  of  general  merchandise  and  as  their  prices  are  reasonable  they 
have  secured  a  good  patronage. 

In  politics  Ml".  McCaul  is  independent  and  in  religious  faith  is  a  Roman  Catholic,  being 
a  member  of  that  church  and  the  Knights  of  Columbus.  Although  still  a  young  man  he  has 
already  met  with  good  success  in  his  undertakings  and  is  accounted  one  of  the  leading 
merchants  of  Walhalla. 


DONALD  NIVEN. 


Among  the  substantial  citizens  of  Eddy  county  whose  prosperity  has  come  through  their 
own  well  directed  efforts  is  Donald  Niven,  of  New  Rockford.  He  was  born  in  Scotland  on 
the  23d  of  December,  1857,  and  is  a  son  of  Donald  and  Margaret  (McPhee)  Niven,  who  were 
also  natives  of  that  country.  The  father,  who  was  a  shoemaker  by  trade,  died  in  Scotland  in 
1864,  and  shortly  afterward  the  mother  brought  her  family  to  the  new  world,  believing  that 
they  would  have  better  opportunities  for  advancement  on  this  side  of  the  Atlantic.  She 
located  in  Canada,  where  she  continued  to  make  her  home  until  called  from  this  life  in  the 
fall  of  1908,  when  eighty-seven  j'ears  of  age. 

Mr.  Niven,  of   this  review,  began  his   education   in   the   schools   of   Scotland   and   later 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  585 

atti'iuleil  school  in  Ciinadii.  lie  rcmaiiiod  xvitli  his  mother  until  reaching  manhood  but  as  a 
bov  he  began  earning  his  livelihood  by  driving  cattle,  lie  also  did  farm  work  for  several 
years  and  iu  1880  went  to  Duluth,  Minnesota,  where  he  was  employed  as  a  butcher's  helper 
for  two  years  and  during  that  time  became  thoroughly  familiar  with  the  meat  business. 
In  .lunc.  1882,  he  took  charge  of  a  meat  market  at  Jamestown,  North  Dakota,  where  he 
remained  until  1885,  when  he  removed  to  Minnewaukan,  this  state,  and  engaged  in  the  meat 
business  on  his  own  account  in  partnership  with  Gregor  Schmidt  for  a  short  time.  Later 
Mr.  Niven  carried  the  mail  from  Devils  Lake  to  Dunsieth  and  Bottineau,  a  distance  of  ninety 
miles,  being  thus  employed  for  eight  months.  At  the  end  of  that  time  he  returned  to  Jlinnc- 
waukan,  where  he  continued  to  reside  until  the  suminer  of  1887,  when  he  removed  to  New 
Roekford,  Eddy  county,  and  opened  a  meat  market,  which  he  conducted  for  seventeen  years. 
In  1888  he  filed  on  land  adjoining  the  town  and  still  owns  eighty  acres  of  that  tract  besides 
one  hundred  and  si.xty  acues  which  he  purchased  west  of  New  Roekford  and  an  eight  hundred 
acre  farm  two  miles  east  of  town.  lie  has  iiii't  with  success  in  his  undertakings  and  besides 
the  pro|)erty  already  mentioned  he  is  a  stockholder  in  the  New  Rockf<n-d  Hilling  Company 
and  the  Farnu'rs  lOlevator  Company. 

In  .lune.  1901),  Jlr.  Niven  was  united  in  marriage  to  Jliss  Klizabeth  Seibert.  He  is  a 
thirty-second  degree  Mason  and  is  also  a  member  of  the  Yeomen.  Ilis  political  support  1s 
given  the  republican  party,  and  in  1900  he  was  honored  by  election  to  the  state  legislature. 
On  his  arrival  in  North  Dakota  he  had  but  one  dollar  in  his  pocket  and  put  up  his  trunk  for 
his  week's  board,  but  being  industrious,  economical  and  enterprising,  as  well  as  possessing 
good  business  ability,  he  has  steadily  worked  his  way  upward  to  prosperity  and  is  today  one 
of  the  substantial  citizens  of  New  Roekford.  His  course  in  life  has  ever  been  such  as  to 
conunend  him  to  the  confidence  of  all  with  whom  he  has  been  brought  in  contact,  and  he  is 
held  in  the  highest  esteem  by  all  who  know  him. 


HON  O.  I.  HEGGE. 


Honored  and  respected  by  all,  no  man  occupies  a  more  creditable  position  in  financial  and 
business  circles  in  Minnewaukan  and  throughout  the  northern  part  of  the  state  than  O.  I. 
Hegge,  who  is  the  president  of  the  First  National  Bank  of  Jlinncwaukan  and  with  his  partnei'S 
owns  a  controlling  interest  in  various  other  banking  institutions  which  featun!  largely  as 
factors  in  the  substantial  upbuilding  and  development  of  the  districts  in  which  they  are 
located.  Along  well  defined  lines  of  labor,  actiujted  by  laudable  ambition  and  displaying 
initiative,  enterprise  and  keen  sagacity,  Mr.  Hegge  has  won  notable  success.  He  w^as  born  in 
Norway,  December  11,  18C9,  a  son  of  Iver  and  Anna  (Seilstad)  Hegge,  who  are  still  residents 
of  Norway,  where  the  father  follows  the  occupation  of  farming. 

In  the  public  schools  of  his  native  country  O.  L  Hegge  pursued  his  education  and  in  the 
spring  of  1886,  before  reaching  his  seventeenth  year,  he  crossed  the  Atlantic  to  the  new 
world,  having  determined  to  try  his  fortune  on  this  side  the  Atlantic.  He  first  made  his  way 
to  Conway,  Walsh  county.  North  Dakota,  where  he  was  employed  as  a  farm  hand,  and  in 
1887  he  assisted  in  building  the  Northern  Pacific  Railroad  from  Orand  Forks  to  Grafton.  On 
the  1st  of  .Tanuary,  1888,  he  began  his  education  in  the  banking  l)usincss  as  a  clerk  in  the 
Bank  of  Pelican  Rapids,  Minnesota,  where  he  continued  for  three  years.  During  the  s\iceeeding 
three  years  he  was  connected  with  the  Citizens  National  Bank  of  Wahpeton  and  in  1894 
removed  to  Minnewaukan,  w-here  he  accepted  the  position  of  cashier  of  the  Benson  County 
State  Bank.  That  institution  was  reorganized  as  the  First  National  Bank  in  1900.  Mr.  Hegge 
being  retained  as  cashier,  while  he  was  also  made  vice  president  of  the  institution.  In  1908  he 
resigned  his  position  as  cashier  but  retained  the  vice  presidency  and  in  1914  was  elected  to 
the  presidency.  His  connection  with  the  Minnewaukan  bank  was  but  the  initial  step  in  his 
successful  career  as  a  banker,  for  from  time  to  time  he  has  made  investment  in  other  banking 
institutions  until  he  and  his  partners  now  own  the  controlling  interest  in  a  number  of  the 
strong  moneyed  concerns  of  his  part  of  the  state. 

In  1891  Mr.  Hegge  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Ragnild  Sware,  of  Pelican  Rapids, 
Minnesota.    Both  he  and  his  wife  are  members  of  the  Lutheran  church  and  fraternally  he  is 


586  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

a  Mason  of  high  rank,  belonging  to  Dakota  Consistory,  No.  1,  A.  &  A.  S.  R.,  and  to  El  Zagal 
Temple,  A.  A.  0.  N.  M.  S.  He  is  also  connected  with  Jamestown  Lodge,  No.  995,  B.  P.  0.  E. 
His  political  allegiance  is  unfalteringly  given  to  the  republican  party.  Under  appointment  of 
Governor  Sarles  in  1907  he  entered  upon  a  three  years'  term  as  land  commissioner.  He  had 
previously  represented  his  district  in  the  state  senate,  to  which  he  was  elected  in  1S98,  and 
he  gave  careful  consideration  while  a  member  of  the  upper  house  to  all  the  questions  which 
came  up  for  settlement.  He  has  ever  fully  recognized  the  obligations  and  duties  as  well  as 
the  privileges  of  citizenship  and  has  proven  himself  a  loyal  adopted  son  of  America. 


CHARLES    C.    MANNING. 


Charles  C.  Manning,  the  well  known  editor  of  the  Sheyenne  Star  and  one  of  the  enter- 
]irising  business  men  of  Shejenne,  was  born  in  Wyoming,  .Jones  county,  Iowa,  June  13,  1869, 
and  is  a  son  of  Rev.  George  R.  and  Lucy  (Chambers)  Manning,  the  former  a  native  of 
Quebec,  Canada,  and  the  latter  of  Pennsylvania.  As  a  Methodist  Episcopal  minister  the 
father  had  charge  of  various  churches  in  Iowa  for  some  years.  He  died  in  May,  1909,  and 
the  mother  passed  away  in  July,  1869. 

In  the  state  of  his  nativity  Charles  C.  Manning  grew  to  manhood  and  after  completing 
his  education  learned  the  printer's  trade  in  Waukon,  Iowa,  having  been  identified  with  that 
pursuit  since  1888.  For  seven  years  he  was  in  the  employ  of  others  and  in  the  meantime 
•came  to  North  Dakota  and  located  at  Minnewaukan.  In  1894  he  started  the  Oberon  Echo 
at  Oberon,  Benson  county,  and  published  the  same  until  1897,  when  he  removed  to  Sheyenne 
and  has  since  been  editor  and  proprietor  of  the  Sheyenne  Star,  which  now  has  a  circulation 
of  live  hundred  and  fifty.  His  printing  plant  is  modern  and  up-to-date  in  its  appointments 
and  the  work  turned  out  is  first  class  in  every  particular.  Mr.  Manning  is  a  stockholder  in 
the  Farmers  and  Quity  Elevator  Companies  and  ,also  in  the  Sheyenne  Creamery  Company 
and  is  doing  a  successful  business  as  an  undertaker  and  funeral  director. 

On  the  18th  of  December,  1894,  was  celebrated  the  marriage  of  Mr.  Manning  and  Miss 
Camilla  Erland,  and  to  them  have  been  born  three  children:  Alph,  who  died  in  August,  1898; 
Erland  R;  and  Lillian  C.  The  family  are  connected  with  the  Methodist  Episcopal  church,  and 
Mr.  Manning  is  also  a  member  of  tlie  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows,  the  Benevolent  Pro- 
tective Order  of  Elks,  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America  and  the  Ancient  Order  of  United 
W^orkmen.  At  the  polls  he  casts  his  ballot  with  the  republican  party,  and  he  served  as  a 
member  of  the  school  board  for  some  time.  He  has  also  been  notary  public  since  1897  and 
has  filled  the  office  of  justice  of  the  peace.  At  present  he  is  chairman  of  the  Commercial 
Club  and  in  that  capacity  has  done  much  to  promote  the  interests  of  Sheyenne  along  various 
lines. 


C.  D.  HALEY. 


C.  D.  Haley,  of  Devils  Lake,  is  conducting  an  extensive  and  profitable  implement  busi- 
ness. He  was  born  at  Blooming  Prairie,  Minnesota,  on  the  20th  of  February,  1875,  a  son  of 
Peter  and  Caroline  (Patte)  Haley.  His  father  settled  at  Devils  Lake  in  1899,  removing  to 
this  state  from  Austin,  Minnesota.  He  had  served  throughout  the  Civil  war  in  defense  of 
the  Union  cause,  enlisting  as  a  member  of  Company  C,  One  Hundred  and  Thirty-fourth  New 
York  Regiment.  Following  his  arrival  at  Devils  Lake  he  engaged  in  the  implement  business, 
becoming  one  of  the  representative  merchants  of  the  city.  He  passed  away  on  the  15th  of 
April,  1915.  having  for  five  years  survived  his  wife,  who  died  in  1910. 

C.  D.  Haley  was  educated  in  the  public  and  high  schools  of  Austin,  Minnesota,  and  Devils 
Lake,  North  Dakota,  and  after  his  textbooks  were  put  aside  turned  his  attention  to  the 
printing  business,  learning  the  trade  and  following  it  for  twelve  years  in  connection  with 
•different  papers  in  various  places  in  North  Dakota.  He  was  with  the  Free  Press  of  Devils 
Lake  for  two  years,  at  the  end  of  which  time  he  engaged  in  business  with  his  father,  who  had 
become   well  established  in  the   im])lement   trade.     F.  H.  Hyland   and   C.  D.  Haley  bought 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  587 

Mr.  Peter  Haley  out  in  100'.)  and  C.  D.  Hiiley  continued  his  association  with  ilr.  Hyhind 
until  January  1,  1916,  when  lie  biiught  out  his  partner  and  became  sole  owner  of  the  business. 
Tliis  constitutes  one  of  the  growing  and  profitable  concerns  of  the  city.  He  carries  a  large 
line  of  farm  inipk'ments  and  machinery,  representing  the  output  of  the  leading  manufac- 
turers and  he  is  also  engaged  in  the  automobile  business,  handling  the  Studebaker  car,  of 
which  he  has  sold  many  in  his  section  of  the  state. 

On  the  13th  of  January,  1896,  Mr.  Haley  was  united  in  nuirriage  to  Miss  Lena  Eudser 
and  they  now  have  a  son,  Wendell.  Mr.  Haley  is  a  Methodist  in  liis  religious  belief  and  a 
republican  in  his  political  faith.  In  Masonry  he  has  attained  the  thirty-second  degree  of  the 
Scottish  Rite,  has  also  taken  the  degrees  of  the  York  Rite  and  is  a  Noble  of  the  Mystic 
Shrine.  He  also  belongs  to  the  Benevolent  Protective  Order  of  Elks  and  to  the  Woodmen  of 
the  World  and  in  his  life  is  loyal  to  the  teachings  of  these  different  organizations,  which  are 
based  upon  a  recognition  of  the  brotherhood  of  mankind.  In  business  life  he  has  made  steady 
progress  and  advancing  step  by  step,  now  occupies  a  creditable  and  enviable  position  in  mer- 
cantile circles  in  his  adopted  city. 


PROFESSOR  ARTHUR  R.  THOMPSON. 

Professor  Arthur  K.  Thompson,  superintendent  of  schools  at  I'isek  and  also  a  well  known 
figure  in  musical  circles,  is  thus  making  valuable  contribution  to  those  forces  which  are  most 
effective  in  advancing  the  cultural  standards  of  a  comnmnity.  He  was  born  June  37,  1888,  on 
a  farm  about  three  miles  west  of  Edinburg,  in  Tiber  township,  Walsh  county.  His  father, 
Ole  A.  Thom])son.  a  native  of  Iowa,  was  a  descendant  of  an  old  Norwegian  family  that  was 
founded  in  America  by  his  father,  who  on  crossing  the  Atlantic  settled  in  Wisconsin  prior 
to  the  Civil  war.  He  afterward  removed  to  Iowa  and  became  one  of  the  pioneers  of  that 
state.  Ole  A.  ■Thompson  was  reared  and  educated  in  Iowa  and  cast  in  his  lot  with  the 
pioneer  settlers  of  \\'alsh  county,  North  Dakota,  where  he  took  up  a  homestead,  converting 
the  tract  of  wild  land  into  rich  and  productive  fields.  J'or  a  long  period  he  successfully  en- 
gaged in  farming  but  is  now  living  retired  at  Park  River.  He  has  been  quite  active  in  his 
townshi|>  in  political  and  civic  affairs  and  ids  iuHuence  is  always  given  on  the  side  of  reform, 
improvement  and  |>r<)gress.  He  nuirrieil  Rebecca  Knutson,  a  native  of  Minnesota  and  of 
Norwegian  descent,  her  father  being  Orin  Knutson,  a  Wisconsin  ]>ioneer  and  one  of  the  early 
residents  of  Minnesota.  The  mother  of  Professor  Thompson  is  also  living  and  has  reared  a 
family  of  nine  children,  the  record  being  notable  in  that  the  familj-  circle  yet  remains  un- 
broken by  the  hand  of  death. 

Professor  Thompson,  the  eldest  of  tlie  number,  was  educated  in  the  country  schools  of 
Walsh  count}'  and  did  eighth  grade  work  at  Edinburg,  He  afterward  spent  si.\  years  in  the 
Red  Wing  Seminary  at  Red  Wing,  ilinnesota,  from  which  he  was  graduated  in  1912  with 
the  Bachelor  of  Arts  degree.  He  next  entered  the  University  of  North  Dakota,  wliere  he 
spent  one  year,  specializing  in  history  and  sociology.  During  the  period  of  his  university 
work  he  also  taught  school  in  Walsh  county  and  thus  met  the  expenses  of  his  university 
course.  The  first  school  in  which  Professor  Thompson  taught  was  school  No,  2  in  district  6;t, 
ten  miles  west  of  Park  River,  in  Vesta  township,  Walsh  county,  in  1908,  It  was  a  small 
school  but  it  gave  him  his  initial  start  and  from  that  point  he  has  gradually  advanced  until 
he  is  regarded  as  one  of  the  prominent  educators  in  the  field  of  public  instruction  in  North 
Dakota,  In  the  fall  of  1916  he  was  chosen  superintendent  of  the  Pisek  school,  which  was 
especially  erected  by  the  directors  of  the  district  with  the  idea  of  having  Professor  Thompson 
take  charge.  He  is  a  capable  educator,  imparting  clearly  and  readily  to  others  the  knowledge 
that  he  has  acipiircd,  and  he  holds  to  high  educational  standards,  seeking  ever  to  ac(|uainf 
himself  with  methods  that  will  render  his  work  more  effective. 

At  Park  River,  in  1011,  Professor  Thompson  was  married  to  Miss  .Josephine  .Johnson,  a 
native  of  Walsh  county  and  a  daughter  of  K,  J.  and  Anna  (Nordhus)  Johnson,  who  arc 
residents  of  Walsh  count}'  and  bcldng  to  one  of  the  old  families  of  North  Dakota,  The 
father  is  a  prominent  and  successful  farmer.     Professor  and  Mrs.  Thompson  have  two  chil- 


'588  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

dren:      Josejih  A.,  who  was  born  at  Park  Kiver,  April   11,   1U13;   aiul  Lawrence  R.,  born   at 
Conway,  December  13,  1915. 

In  politics  Professor  Thompson  maintains  an  independent  course,  supporting  men  and 
measures  rather  than  party.  He  belongs  to  the  Lutheran  church  and  he  ie  a  member  of  the 
Walsh  County  Educational  Association  and  the  North  Dakota  State  Educational  Association. 
■  He  is  also  prominent  and  active  in  musical  circles  and  is  a  director  of  the  Conway  Concert 
Band  of  tiiirty  pieces  and  also  a  director  of  the  Pisek  Bohemian  Band  with  thirty-five  mem- 
bers. He  also  organized  the  high  school  orchestra  of  Pisek,  of  thirty-one  pieces,  a  musical 
organization  tliat  is  widely  known  throughout  the  state.  He  was  likewise  instrumental  in 
establishing  the  Conway  High  School  Orchestra  of  twenty-tlu'ee  pieces.  He  had  no  musical 
training  but  possesses  natural  talent  that  has  made  him  one  of  the  foremost  figures  in 
musical  circles  in  his  section  of  the  state.  He  has  studied  broadly  without  a  teacher  and 
his  natural  love  for  the  art  has  c'.irected  him  in  all  of  liis  work.  The  organizations  under  his 
control  have  won  more  tlian  local  fame  and  indicate  his  wise  and  careful  direction  and 
development. 


EILIE  R.  MORGAN. 


Rilie  K.  Morgan,  owner  and  publisher  of  the  Times  of  Starkweather,  was  born  at 
yuenemo,  Kansas,  on  the  U4th  of  November,  1893,  a  son  of  E.  D.  and  Sarali  (Doty)  Morgan. 
The  father  is  a  contractor  and  has  devoted  his  life  to  building  operations.  Both  he  and  his 
wife  are  now  living  retired  in  Los  Angeles,  California. 

Begiiuiing  his  education  in  the  public  schools  of  his  native  state,  Rilie  R.  Morgan  after- 
ward attended  the  University  of  Kansas  and  thus  became  well  qualified  for  life's  practical 
and  responsible  duties.  In  the  meantime  he  had  learned  the  printing  business  during  his 
high  school  days  and  on  putting  aside  his  textbooks  he  entered  upon  newspaper  work  in 
Montana,  devoting  four  years  to  that  pursuit  there.  In  September,  1914,  he  removed  to 
North  Dakota,  settling  at  Starkweather,  Ramsey  county,  where  he  purchased  the  plant  of 
the  Times.  This  paper  has  a  circulation  of  six  hundred  and  maintains  an  independent 
political   policy. 

On  the  5th  of  August,  19i:!,  Mr.  Morgan  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Edith  Thomas. 
He  is  a  zealous  champion  of  the  good  roads  movement  and  is  a  public-spirited  citizen  who 
takes  an  active  and  helpful  part  in  many  plans  for  the  upbuilding  of  the  state  and  the  com- 
munity in  which  he  lives.  He  is  independent  in  politics,  nor  has  he  ever  b;'en  an  ollice  seeker. 
He  has  alwa.ys  concentrated  his  energies  upon  the  business  in  which  he  embarked  as  a  young 
tradesman  and  his  close  application  is  undoubtedlj'  one  of  tlie  elements  of  his  growing  success. 


HON.  JOSEPH  B.  AKESSON. 

An  excellent  farm  of  six  hundreil  and  forty  acres  situated  on  section  14,  Bell  township, 
Cass  county,  is  the  property  of  Hon.  Joseph  B.  Akesson,  who  not  only  figures  as  a  leading 
agriculturist  of  his  community  but  also  as  one  of  the  prominent  citizens  who  for  two 
terms  represented  his  district  in  the  state  legislature  and  has  acceptably  filled  other  public 
offices.  A  native  of  Sweden,  he  was  born  May  36,  1856,  his  parents  being  Ake  and  Bengta 
(Nelson)  Josephson,  who  were  also  natives  of  that  country,  where  they  spent  their 
entire  lives.     They  had  a  family  of  eight  children,  six  of  whom  are  j'et  living. 

Joseph  B.  Akesson  was  reared  and  educated  in  his  native  land  and  was  sixteen  years 
of  age  when  he  bade  adieu  to  home  and  friends  and  sailed  for  the  new  world,  making  his 
way  to  Minnesota,  where  he  arrived  in  1872.  He  resided  in  that  state  for  six  years  and  in 
187S  came  to  North  Dakota,  then  a  part  of  the  territory  of  Dakota.  He  gave  his  attention 
to  steaniboating  until  1881,  in  which  year  he  took  up  his  abode  upon  the  farm  where  he 
now  resides,  owning  and  operating  six  hundred  and  fortj'  acres  on  section  14,  Bell  township, 
Cass  county.     He  has  wrought  a  marked  transformation   in  the  appearance   of  this   place, 


HISTORY  OF  XOR'Ill   DAKOTA  591 

which  he  has  prcatly  iiiipiovod  not  only  liy  tho  (h'VcUipnient  and  cultivation  of  tho  fields  but 
also  bv  the  erection  of  line  buildings  until  the  farm  is  now  supplied  with  all  the  equipments 
and  accessories  of  the  model  farm  of  the  twentieth  century.  He  had  a  common  school  and 
business  college  education  to  equip  liim  for  life's  practical  duties  and  in  the  school  of 
evperience  he  lias  also  learned  many  valuable  lessons.  In  addition  to  his  farm  interests  he  is 
the  vice  president  of  the  Grandiu  Farmers  Elevator  Company. 

March  20,  1913,  Mr.  Akesson  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Jennie  Nonthene,  a  nat-ve 
<if  Jlinnesota  and  a  daughter  of  John  and  Kcrstine  (Tykcsson)  Nonthene,  both  of  whom 
were  born  in  Sweden.  They  emigrated  to  the  United  States  in  1888,  settling  in  Minnesota, 
where  the  father  jnissed  away  and  tho  nuither  still  makes  her  home.  They  had  two 
children.  To  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Akesson  has  been  born  a  son,  Norman  Berndt,  whose  mital  day  v  as 
June  V.l,  1914. 

The  parents  hold  membership  with  the  l.utlicran  church  and  to  its  teachings  attempt  to 
conform  their  lives.  Fraternally  Mr.  Akesson  is  connected  with  the  Masons  and  has  attained 
high  rank  in  the  order,  having  taken  the  thirty-second  degree  in  the  Scottish  Rite  Consistory. 
He  is  also  a  member  of  the  Nobles  of  the  Mystic  Shrine.  He  is  perhaps  even  more  widely 
known,  however,  as  one  of  the  leaders  of  the  republican  party  in  his  county.  For  a  number 
of  years  he  filled  the  office  of  chairman  of  the  board  of  township  supervisors.  He  has 
been  assessor  and  is  now  school  treasurer  and  a  member  of  the  town  board.  In  1909 
still  higher  political  honors  came  to  him  in  his  election  to  the  state  legislature  and  so  ably 
did  he  rei)rcsent  his  district  during  the  cnsviing  two  years  that  he  was  reelected  for  a  second 
term.  He  supported  much  progi'cssive  and  constructive  legislation  and  gave  careful  considera- 
tion to  each  question  which  came  up  fur  settlement.  His  record  in  business,  too,  is  moat 
creditable,  for  along  the  lines  of  straightforward  and  honorable  dealing  he  has  won  sub- 
stantial success  and  is  now  nuudicrcd  auiong  the  prosperous  farmers  of  Cass  county. 


C.  J.  McKEAN. 


C.  J.  McKean.  cashier  of  the  Pisek  State  Bank,  was  selling  newspapers  at  the  age  of 
thirteen  and  at  fifteen  was  working  in  the  postoflfice  at  Wahpcton.  However,  this  did  not 
deier  him  from  continuing  his  education  and  at  sixteen  he  was  a  graduate  of  the  Wahpcton 
high  school.  He  has  since  depended  entirely  upon  his  own  resources  and  step  by  step  has 
advanced.  Minnesota  claims  him  as  a  native  son,  his  birth  having  occurred  in  Lake  City, 
October  25,  1877,  his  parents  being  Cliarles  A.  and  Frances  (Ambler)  McKean,  who  were 
natives  of  New  Hampshire  and  Connecticut  respectively.  In  the  early  '60s  the  father 
arrived  in  Minnesota,  where  he  homesteaded  and  engaged  in  farming  in  that  state  until 
1S80,  when  he  took  up  his  abode  upon  a  homestead  claim  near  Lake  Elsie,  at  Hankinson, 
North  Dakota,  and  he  had  reached  the  age  of  seventy-one  years  when  in  December,  1915,  he 
departed  this  life.  He  was  but  a  young  lad  at  the  time  of  the  Civil  war  and  in  order  to 
enlist  he  ran  away  from  home,  but  before  he  rea<'hed  the  front  became  ill  and  his  father 
went  and  took  him  home.  Twice  he  joined  the  army  without  the  consent  of  his  father  and 
for  a  short  period  served  at  the  front,  after  which  he  received  news  of  his  father's  death, 
lie  was  then  relieved  from'  duty  in  order  that  he  might  attend  his  father's  funeral,  after 
which  it  was  necessary  that  he  take  charge  of  the  business.  With  his  removal  to  the  west 
he  settled  at  Lake  City,  Minnesota,  and  in  1863  he  enlisted  as  a  member  of  the  First  Minne- 
sota Heavy  Artillery,  with  which  command  he  wont  to  the  front  as  sergeant,  being  stationed 
at  Chattanooga,  Tennessee,  until  the  war  was  over,  when  he  received  an  honorable  discharge 
and  returned  to  his  Minnesota  home.  His  widow  survives  and  is  living  in  Wahpcton,  North 
Dakota,  at  the  age  of  seventy-two  years,  her  birth  having  occurred  in  April,   1S44. 

In  a  family  of  seven  children  C.  .1.  McKean  was  the  fifth.  His  early  youth  was  devoted 
lu  the  acquirement  of  a  public  school  education  in  Wahpcton.  where  he  passed  through  con- 
secvitivc  grades  to  his  grajluation  from  the  high  school  when  a  youth  of  sixteen.  Later  he 
took  a  post  graduate  course  and  he  has  always  been  a  student  of  the  signs  of  the  tinn^s  and 
of  present  day  problems  and. conditions  and  has  ever  kept  in  touch  with,  the  trend  i>f  modern 
I  bought.     As  stated,  he  sold  papers  after  school  hours  when  a  youth  of  thirteen  and  assi-tcd 


592  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

liis  fatlier  in  the  postoffice  at  Walipeton  when  sixteen  years  of  age.  He  afterward  became 
bookkeeper  witli  a  machine  company  at  Wahpeton  and  he  made  his  initial  step  in  connec- 
tion with  the  banking  business  as  an  employe  of  the  Citizens  National  Bank  of  Wahpeton, 
with  w-hich  he  remained  from  1895  until  1899.  He  then  removed  to  Carrington,  North 
Dakota,  and  became  assistant  cashier  of  the  State  Bank  of  Carrington,  now  the  First 
National  Bank.  A  year  later  he  opened  a  bank  for  the  Beiseker,  Davidson  Company  in  Wells 
county  and  for  two  years  acted  as  its  cashier.  On  the  expiration  of  that  period  he  removed 
to  Pisek  and  in  May,  1902,  established  the  Pisek  State  Bank,  of  which  he  has  since  been  the 
cashier,  the  success  of  the  institution  being  attributed  in  large  measure  to  his  careful  man- 
agement and  wise  judgment  in  business  affairs.  He  is  also  a  director  of  the  National  Bank 
of  Larimore. 

On  the  31st  of  June,  1909,  Mr.  McKean  was  married  to  Miss  Lucie  Bill,  of  Carrington, 
North  Dakota,  a  daughter  of  Robert  Allyn  Bill,  a  descendant  of  Robert  Allyn,  of  Revolution- 
ary War  fame.  They  now  have  two  children:  Dorothy,  who  was  born  in  Pisek  in  1910;  and 
Douglas,  in  1911. 

The  family  occuijies  a  prominent  social  position  and  Mr.  McKean  stands  very  liigh  as  a 
citizen  and  a  banker,  being  widely  known  in  these  connections  throughout  the  state.  He  has 
served  as  clerk  of  the  school  board  and  has  been  president  of  tlie  village  board  of  trustees. 
His  military  record  covers  service  with  the  Wahpeton  militia  company.  Fraternally  he  is 
connected  with  the  Ancient  Order  of  United  Workmen  and  is  a  prominent  Mason,  having 
taken  the  degrees  of  both  the  York  and  Scottish  Rites.  He  has  membership  in  Grafton 
chapter  and  comraandery  and  with  the  Scottisli  Rite  bodies  of  Grand  Forks.  His  religious 
faith  is  that  of  the  Congiegational  eliurch,  while  his  political  belief  is  that  of  the  republican 
party,  which  he  has  supported  since  age  conferred  upon  liim  the  right  of   franchise. 


ANTON  HAAS. 


Anton  Haas,  identified  with  farming  interests  in  Eddy  county  and  with  the  business  in- 
terests of  New  Rockford  as  a  bank  director,  was  born  in  Switzerland  on  the  17th  of  Septem- 
ber, 1861,  a  son  of  Lutic  and  Barbara  Haas,  who  came  to  the  United  States  in  1866  and 
established  their  home  in  BulTalo  county,  Wisconsin,  where  the  ■  father  passed  away.  The 
mother  afterward  came  to  North  Dakota  and  spent  some  years  at  the  home  of  her  son,  Anton, 
but  died  in  Wisconsin. 

Tlie  educational  opportunities  of  Anton  Haas  were  tliose  afforded  by  the  pioneer  schools 
of  Wisconsin  and  his  chance  of  attending  was  quite  limited,  for  his  labors  were  needed  upon 
the  liome  farm.  He  was  twenty-two  years  of  age  when  in  1883  he  came  to  North  Dakota 
and  filed  on  a  homestead  four  and  one-half  miles  southeast  of  the  present  city  of  New 
Rockford,  on  which  he  resided  for  twenty-four  years.  During  that  period  he  wrought  a 
wonderful  transformation  in  the  appearance  and  productiveness  of  his  land,  bringing  his 
fields  under  a  high  state  of  cultivation  and  continuing  his  farm  work  according  to  progressive 
modern  metliods,  so  that  excellent  results  rewarded  his  efforts.  When  almost  a  quarter  of 
a  century  had  passed  he  removed  to  New  Rockford  and  purchasid  sixty  acres  adjoining  the 
city,  whicli  tract  is  now  within  the  city  limits  and  is  being  rapidly  converted  into  a  fine 
residential  district,  many  city  homes  having  already  been  erected  thereon.  Mr.  Haas  has 
built  eight  residences  since  taking  up  his  abode  in  New  Rockford  and  is  now  engaged  on  the 
construction  of  two  others,  thus  contributing  in  substantial  measure  to  the  upbuilding  and 
improvement  of  the  place.  In  tlie  meantime  he  has  made  extensive  investments  in  farm 
property  until  his  holdings  now  comprise  a  thousand  acres  in  Eddy  county.  He  was  also  one 
of  the  organizers  of  the  Farmers  &  Merciiants  Bank  of  New  Rockford  and  became  the  first 
I)resident  of  the  institution  but  resigned  the  office  two  years  later,  altlioiigh  he  still  remains 
on  the  board  of  directors. 

In  1885  Mr.  Haas  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Barbara  Prader,  of  Eddy  count)-,  by 
wliom  lie  has  ten  cliildren,  namely:  Anna  Barbara,  Dora,  Myrta,  Lucy,  Menga,  Frieda, 
Elizabeth,  Bertha,  Alfred  and  Lawrence.  The  parents  are  consistent  and  loyal  members  of 
the  German  Reformed  church  and  Mr.  Haas  also  belongs  to  the  American  Yeomen,  the  Ancient 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  593 

Order  of  United  Workmen  and  tlie  Kni<;lits  of  Pytliias.  I'ulitieiiUy  he  exercises  his  right  of 
francliise  in  support  of  tlie  men  and  measures  of  tlie  democratic  party,  lie  lias  always  felt 
that  the  pursuits  of  private  life,  however,  are  in  themselves  ahundantly  worthy  of  his  best 
elforts  and  his  indefatigable  energy  and  judicious  investment  have  constituted  the  founda- 
tion upon  which  he  has  builded  his  present  success.  He  is  today  one  of  the  large  landowners 
of  Kddy  county,  having  valuable  farming  properties  from  which  lie  derives  a  substantial 
annual  income.  His  path  to  success  has  never  been  strewn  with  the  wreck  of  other  men's 
failures  but  along  constructive  lines  he  has  wurkcd  his  way  ii|iwaril  ami  is  today  one  of  (he 
prosperous  citizens  of  Kddy  county. 


LAWRENCE  E.  SEIDL. 


Lawrence  E.  Seidl,  a  lumber  <lealer  of  I'isek,  was  born  in  Montpelier,  Wisconsin,  Novem- 
ber 10,  1870,  a  son  of  Wenzel  and  Mary  (Hoffman)  Seidl,  both  of  whom  were  natives  of 
Austria  and  on  leaving  that  country  made  their  way  to  Wisconsin,  where  they  arrived  in 
1S66.  The  father  there  took  up  the  occupation  of  farming  and  continued  a  resident  of  that 
locality  for  about  twenty-one  years,  when  in  1887  he  removed  to  Sumner  county  in  southern 
Kansas.  He  carried  on  farming  in  that  county  for  a  time  and  afterward  took  up  his  abode  in 
Wichita,  Kansas,  where  he  lived  retired,  enjoying  the  fruits  of  his  former  toil  until  his  death, 
■which  occurred  in  1909,  when  he  had  reached  the  age  of  sixty-six  years.  His  wife  passed 
away  in  1910  at  the  age  of  sixty-four  years. 

Lawrence  E.  Seidl  was  the  eldest  son  and  the  third  child  in  a  family  of  eight  children 
and  his  school  days  were  spent  in  Kewaunee,  Wisconsin,  and  in  Wichita,  Kansas.  When  his 
education  was  completed  he  entered  the  employ  of  the  Dold  Packing  Company  of  Wichita, 
there  remaining  until  1893,  when  he  arrived  in  North  Dakota.  For  two  years  lie  engaged  in 
teaching  school  at  Pisek  and  then  went  to  Park  Kiver,  where  he  was  employed  by  Aslokson  & 
Walstrom  for  two  years.  He  then  returned  to  Pisek  and  established  a  lumber  yard,  of  which 
he  has  continuously  been  the  head  since  1897.  In  this  connection  he  has  developed  a  business 
of  substantial  and  gratifying  proportions.  He  carries  a  full  line  of  lumber  and  building 
supplies  and  his  sales  are  the  result  of  honorable  business  methods,  progressiveness  and 
thorough  reliability.  He  has  made  extensive  investments  in  farm  property  and  owns  a  large 
amount  of  land  in  Walsh  county. 

On  the  9th  of  November,  1896,  Mr.  Seidl  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Tony  Eumreich, 
a  member  of  one  of  the  pioneer  families  of  the  county.  They  have  six  children:  Margaret, 
born  in  Park  Kiver  in  1897  and  now  a  graduate  of  the  high  school;  Lawrence,  who  was  born 
in  Pisek  in  190;!;  Henrietta,  in  1907;  Rosie,  in  1909;  Ferdinand,  in  1910;  and  Alice,  in  191.3. 

The  religious  faith  of  the  family  is  that  of  the  Roman  Catholc  church  and  Mr.  Seidl 
belongs  to  a  Bohemian  Catholic  order  and  to  the  Knights  of  Columbus.  In  politics  he  is 
somewhat  independent  but  generally  votes  the  democratic  ticket.  He  has  served  as  justice 
of  the  peace  for  the  past  fifteen  years  and  has  been  mayor  of  Pisek.  He  has  also  been  a 
member  of  the  school  board  and  is  interested  in  those  forces  which  work  for  the  betterment 
of  the  eommiinitv. 


SIMON  GTLBERTSON. 


Simon  Gilbertson,  a  ranchman  of  Richland  county,  Montana,  living  at  Mondak  and  well 
known  in  the  northwestern  part  of  North  Dakota,  was  born  in  Norway,  April  10.  1868,  his 
parents  being  Gilbrun  and  Elizabeth  (.Johnason)  Simonson,  who  were  natives  of  the  same 
country,  where  the  father  followed  the  occupation  of  farming  until  his  death.' 

Simon  (iilhertson  was  educated  in  Norway  to  the  age  of  nineteen  years  and  followed 
farming  in  that  country  until  1887,  when  he  crossed  the  .Atlantic  and  made  his  way  to 
Towner,  North  Dakota.  He  w-as  employed  on  a  cattle  ranch  there  for  seven  years,  when  he 
removed  to  MeKenzie  county  and   enti'red   the   service  of  Henry  Nohle  as   a  cowboy   on  the 


594  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

Nohle  ranch  near  Dare,  there  continuing  until  1899,  when  he  crossed  the  Missouri  river  into 
wliat  was  then  Dawson  county  but  is  now  Richland  county,  Montana.  There  he  filed  on  a 
homestead  and  established  the  Simon  Gilbertson  ranch,  thus  becoming  prominently  and 
actively  associated  with  ranching  and  cattle  interests.  He  afterward  joined  Andrew  Nohle 
and  Ole  J.  Morken  in  organizing  and  incorporating  the  Nohle  &  Gilbertson  Company.  They 
have  an  extensive  ranch,  on  which  they  are  raising  and  dealing  in  cattle  and  horses,  keeping 
fine  registered  Percheron  and  Shire  horses.  They  have  an  extensive  tract  of  land  in  Richland 
county  adjoining  Mr.  Gilbertson's  private  property  and  he  is  a  most  prominent  figure  in 
proninting  the  ranching  interests  of  his  section.  He  is  vice  president  of  the  corporation  and 
general  manager  of  the  ranch,  acting  as  ranch  boss,  making  his  home  upon  that  place. 

On  the  22d  of  March,  1901,  Mr.  Gilbertson  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Martina 
K]-osrud  at  Storhammer,  Norway,  and  she  was  born  at  Ringsokar.  that  country,  &  daughter 
of  Peter  and  Virginia  (Hanson)  Neilson.  Her  father  was  a  wealthy  farmer  who  spent  his 
entire  life  in  Norway,  after  which  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Gilbertson  returned  to  Norway  with  their 
eliildrcn  and  brought  her  mother  back  to  the  ranch  where  she  is  now  living.  They  have  become 
the  parents  of  three  children,  Ella  Virginia,  Inar  Edwin  and  Peter  Gilbrun,  all  born  upon  the 
ranch  in  Richland  county. 

Politically  Mr.  Gilbertson  is  a  republican  and  he  and  his  wife  are  members  of  the  Synod 
Lutheran  church.  His  position  in  business  circles  is  a  most  creditable  one,  for  he  has  devel- 
oped liis  interests  along  the  most  progressive  lines  and  is  today  one  of  the  most  prominent 
ranchmen  of  the  northwest.  He  handles  shorthorn  cattle,  Percheron,  Belgian  and  Shire 
horses  and  of  his  ranch  of  eighteen  hundred  acres  has  five  hundred  acres  under  cultivation. 
The  town  of  Nohle  is  located  upon  the  ranch.  He  is  a  most  hospitable  man,  the  good  cheer 
of  his  home  being  extended  to  all  wh6  come  his  way.  His  friends  are  many  and  he  is  a 
typical  representative  of  the  ranchman  of  the  early  days,  a  man  who  judges  his  fellowmen 
by  personal  worth  and  not  by  their  accumulations.  He  is  broad-minded,  resourceful,  capable 
and  those  who  know  him  speak  of  him  only  in  terms  of  high  regard. 


EDWARD  .T.  LANDER. 


In  financial  and  business  circles  of  Grand  Forks,  Edward  J.  Lander  is  accorded  a  promi- 
nent ])osition  by  reason  of  the  fact  that  he  is  president  of  the  Northern  State  Bank  and 
president  of  E.  J.  Lander  &  Company,  mortgage  loans  and  real  estate.  He  was  born  in 
Rockford.  Illinois,  September  12,  1860,  a  son  of  Christopher  and  Jean  (Brown)  Lander,  both 
of  whom  were  natives  of  England,  in  which  country  they  were  reared  and  married.  They 
came  to  America  in  18.53  and  retained  their  residence  in  Illinois  until  called  to  their  final 
rest.  The  father  w-as  born  in  1812  and  passed  away  in  1809,  while  the  mother,  who  was 
born  in   1814,  died  in   1895. 

In  the  family  were  eleven  children,  of  whom  Edward  J.  was  the  youngest.  After  com- 
[jleting  his  education  as  a  high  school  pupil  he  accepted  a  clerical  position  at  Rockford,  Illi- 
nois, and  in  1883  arrived  in  Grand  Forks,  North  Dakota,  where  he  has  since  engaged  in  the 
mortgage  loan  business.  He  started  out  along  that  line  in  a  small  way  but  gradually  has 
developed  his  interests  until  he  now  conducts  an  extensive  first  mortgage  loan  business, 
making  this  one  of  the  important  enterprises  of  its  character  in  the  state.  It  has  several 
branches  in  western  North  Dakota.  His  business  now  extends  to  Wyoming  and  Montana 
and  also  cast  to  Minnesota.  He  is  likewise  president  of  the  Northern  State  Bank,  president 
of  the  Great  Northern  Life  Insurance  Company,  a  director  of  the  Grand  Forks  .Street  Rail- 
way Company  and  a  director  and  secretary  of  the  Grand  Forks  Building  &  Loan  Association, 
which  has  over  a  half  million  dollars  in  loans. 

In  1894,  in  Montreal,  Canada,  Mr.  Lander  was  united  in  'marriage  to  Jliss  Jessie  King 
Krause,  her  father  being  U.  0.  Krause,  a  Civil  war  veteran  who  entered  the  service  of  the 
Union  as  a  private  and  was  mustered  out  as  captain.  He  is  now  associated  with  the  Union 
Oil  Company.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Lander  have  one  son,  Miles  K.,  who  was  born  in  Grand  Forks, 
North  Dakota,  in  1895,  is  a  graduate  of  the  Grand  Forks  schools  and  the  Blake  School  for 
Boys  at  Jlinneapolis,  Minnesota,  and  is  at  present  a  junior  in  the  University  of  Wisconsin. 


EDWARD  .1.  r,ANI)i;i; 


HISTORY  Ul'    XORTIT  DAKOTA  597 

111  politics  Mr.  Lander  is  a  progressive  repiibliiiiu  and  for  three  terms  held  the  office 
of  county  commissioner.  He  belongs  to  the  jMasoiiic  fraternity,  in  wliicli  he  has  taken  the 
York  and  Scottish  Rite  degrees.  He  also  has  membership  in  the  Country  Club  and  was  one 
of  the  organizers  and  the  first  president  of  the  Commercial  Club,  his  initiative  spirit  and 
administrativi-  ability  contributing  in  large  measure  to  the  substantial  development  of  the 
organization.  There  has  at  no  time  been  any  project  advanced  for  the  benefit  of  Grand 
Forks  and  the  uptmilding  of  this  section  of  the  eouiitry  that  has  not  received  his  endorse- 
ment and  active  support.  He  takes  a  leading  part  in  promoting  the  work  of  public  progress 
and  his  labors  have  indeed  been  resultant  and  beneficial. 


CHARLES  K.  JOHXSOX. 


Charles  R.  .Johnson,  manager  of  the  pumping  station  for  Beach,  was  born  and  reared 
in  Lac  Qui  Parle  county,  ilinnesota,  where  he  remained  until  sixteen  years  of  age.  He 
then  went  to  Roberts  county.  South  Dakota,  where  he  made  his  homo  from  1897  to  1904. 
Later  he  spent  one  year  in  ilinneapolis  and  in  190G  came  to  North  Dakota,  taking  up  a 
liomestead  four  miles  north  of  Bea<h  in  Golden  Valley  county.  For  two  years  he  and  his 
brother  engaged  in  plowing,  owning  an  outfit  for  that  purpose.  When  the  water  works 
at  Beach  were  put  in  operation  Mr.  Johnson  was  made  manager  of  the  pumping  station 
in  May,  1913,  and  has  since  filled  that  position  in  a  most  eSieient  and  satisfactory  man- 
ner, and  he  is  also  superintendent  of  water  works.  It  is  a  municipal  enterprise.  There 
are  two  wells  one  hundred  and  twenty -three  feet  in  depth  and  the  capacity  of  the  pumps 
is  about  fortj'  gallons   per   minute. 

Tn  F'ebruary.  1909,  Mr.  .Johnson  married  Miss  Edith  .Jordan,  a  native  of  Mis-ouii.  and 
til  thr'm  iias  been  born  a  son,  Orville.  They  are  earnest  and  consistent  members  of  the 
Congi-egatioiial  cliurch  and  are  held  in  the   highest  esteem  by  all  who  know   Ihem 


KNUTE  THOilPSON. 


Of  the  sons  of  Norway  or  those  of  Norwegian  ancestry  wlio  have  come  to  North 
Dakota  and  taken  a  prominent  part  in  its  substantial  development  and  upbuilding  none 
is  more  worthy  of  mention  than  l\nute  Thompson,  who  has  won  success  through  honorable 
effort  and  who  bears  few  of  the  marks  and  scars  of  the  battle,  for  he  has  maintained  a 
genial  disposition  and  kindly  spirit  through  all,  and  so  honorably  has  his  prosperity  been 
won  that  the  most  envious  cannot  grudge  him  his  success.  He  lives  in  Cooperstown  but 
still  has  important  farming  interests  in  Griggs  county.  Mr.  Thompson  was  born  in  Dane 
county,  Wisconsin,  February  2,  1850,  his  father,  Toston  Olson,  a  native  of  Norway,  having 
settled  in  that  state  six  years  before,  at  which  time  he  took  up  his  abode  in  the  town  of 
Christiania,  Dane  county,  where  he  secured  land  and  followed  farming.  He  lived  to  the 
advanced  age  of  ninety  years,  while  his  wife  reached  the  age  of  eighty-six.  One  of  their 
sons,  Ole.  was  born  in  Norway  and  enlisted  for  service  in  the  Union  army  as  a  member 
of  the  Sixteenth  Iowa  Volunteer  Infantry,  having  been  in  business  in  Dccorah,  Iowa,  at 
the  time  of  the  outbreak  of  the  Civil  war.  He  participated  in  many  important  engagements, 
taking  part  for  five  days  in  the  battle  nf  Vicksburg.  and  because  of  tiie  hardships  and  pri- 
vations which  he  experienced  while  at  the  front  his  death  occurred  soon  after  the  close  ot 
the  war.     The   family  numbered  altogether  seven  children,  of  whom   Knute  was  the  third. 

When  his  school  days  were  over  Knute  Thompson  left  home,  being  then  a  youth  of 
sixteen  years.  The  plan  was  that  he  should  attend  school  in  Madison,  Wisconsin,  to  sup- 
plement the  knowledge  that  he  had  gained  in  the  public  schools  and  in  Albion  College,  but 
he  changed  his  plans  and  went  instead  to  Minnesota,  residing  for  a  time  in  Fillmore 
county,  after  which  he  removed  to  the  western  part  of  the  state.  In  1872  he  became  a 
resident  of  Vermilion.  South  Dakota,  and  for  a  year  engaged  in  clerking  in  a  clothing  store, 
at  the  end   of   which   time   be   removed  to  Minnesota. 


598  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

It  was  in  December,  1876,  that  Mr.  Thompson  v.as  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Anna 
Odegard,  a  native  of  Norway,  and  to  tliem  were  born  four  cliildren:  Theodore,  who  is 
mentioned  elsewliere  in  this  work;  Tlior  Adolph,  who  is  now  a  district  judge  in  Montana; 
Grace  May,  the  wife  of  Ernest  Scilcens,  a  stock  dealer  of  South  St.  Paul,  Minnesota;  and 
Oscar  J.,  a  lawyer  of  Circle,  Montana,  who  pursued  his  education  in  the  State  University 
of  Xorth  Dakota  and  in  the  University  of  Washington,  since  which  time  he  has  success- 
fully practiced  his  profession. 

The  work  of  development  and  progress  had  scarcely  been  started  when  Knute  Thomp- 
son became  a  resident  of  Griggs  county,  making  his  waj'  to  the  present  site  of  Cooperstown. 
His  was  the  first  family  to  locate  in  the  town  and  he  opened  a  store  at  the  place  where 
the  firm  of  -John  Syverson  &  Sons  is  now  conducting  business.  He  successfully  managed 
his  commercial  interests  for  a  period  and  then  sold  out  to  Mr.  Syverson.  He  handled 
various  mercantile  lines,  including  machinery,  but  during  the  later  part  of  his  residence  in 
Griggs  county  he  has  concentrated  his  energies  upon  agricultural  pursuits  and  is  now  the 
owner  of  about  eighteen  hundred  acres  of  land,  of  wiiich  nine  hundred  and  twenty  acres 
is  in  the  home  place,  four  hundred  and  twenty  acres  in  another  tract  and  three  bundled 
and  twenty  acres  in  a  third  tract.  His  land  is  largely  devoted  to  wheat  raising.  He  has 
been  a  gieat  trader  and  in  all  of  his  business  transactions  has  manifested  keen  insight 
and  discriminating  judgment.  For  four  years  Mi\  Thompson  filled  the  oflice  of  county 
treasurer  but  has  never  been  ambitious  to  occupy  positions  of  political  preferment.  He 
enjoys  the  game  of  business  and  at  all  times  his  dealings  have  measured  up  to  high  stand- 
ards. He  has  been  successful  and  he  is  a  popular  citizen,  for  he  possesses  a  pleasing  per- 
sonality and  looks  upon  the  happy  side  of  life,  enjoying  the  companionship  of  his  friends 
and  taking  into  little  account  those  things  which  too  many  people  allow  to  block  progress 
or  mar  happiness. 


EDWARD  r.  COSGROVE. 


Edward  P.  Cosgrove  has  the  distinction  of  being  the  oldest  living  settler  still  residing 
In  Eddy  county  and  it  was  he  wiio  gave  to  the  town  of  K"ew  Rockford  its  name.  He  was 
born  in  Ontario,  Canada,  in  1853  and  is  a  son  of  Patrick  and  Catherine  (McNulty)  Cosgrove, 
natives  of  Ireland.  It  was  in  the  late  "SOs  or  early  '40s  that  his  parents  crossed  the  ocean 
in  a  sailing  vessel,  which  was  three  months  in  making  the  voyage,  and  they  first  located 
at  Genesee  Flats,  New  York,  but  after  residing  there  for  a  time  removed  to  Ontario, 
Canada,  where  the  father  took  up  government  land.  He  continued  to  make  his  home  in  the 
Dominion  until  he  passed  away  in  1910  at  the  extreme  old  age  of  one  hundred  and  six 
years.     The  mother  of  our  subject  had  died  in  1878. 

Edward  P.  Cosgrove  was  reared  and  educated  in  Ontario  and  remained  under  the 
]).irental  roof  until  reaching  manhood.  In  early  life  he  learned  the  trades  of  a  carpenter 
and  millwright,  at  which  he  worked  for  several  years  both  in  Ontario  and  in  Wisconsin.  It 
was  in  1879  that  he  came  to  Dakota  territory  and  filed  on  land  in  what  is  now  Eddy  county 
but  at  that  time  was  a  part  of  Foster  county.  He  proved  up  on  this  in  1883  and  continued 
to  follow  farming  until  1898,  when  he  sold  his  land  and  removed  to  New  Rockford.  He 
has  seen  the  erection  of  every  building  in  the  town  and  as  a  carpenter  has  built  seventy-two 
of  these.  On  locating  in  New  Rockford  in  1898  he  resumed  work  at  his  trade  but  for  the 
past  three  years  has  dealt  in  nmsery  stock  and  tombstones.  He  is  the  owner  of  two  fine 
residences  in  the  town. 

On  the  27th  of  October,  1913,  ]Mr.  Cosgrove  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Josephine 
!Moreau.  They  are  Catholics  in  religious  faith  and  Mr.  Cosgiove  is  non-partisan.  He  served 
one  term  as  county  commissioner  but  has  never  been  an  aspirant  for  public  office.  He 
probably  knows  his  section  of  the  country  better  than  any  other  of  its  residents  and  he 
is  thoroughly  familiar  with  pioneer  conditions  here.  Three  times  he  has  seen  the  country 
depopulated,  thousands  leaving  on  account  of  the  failure  of  crops  and  like  disasters,  and 
today  he  and  two  other  men  are  the  only  remaining  early  settlers.  On  one  occasion  it 
was  estimated  that  he  lost  seven  thousand  bushels  of  wheat.     He  has  assisted  in  threshing 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  599 


urain  wliun  tlie  snow  lay  upon  the  grouiul  to  the  depth  of  five  feet  on  the  level  and  this 
as  late  as  1890.  Undaunted  by  hardships  he  persevered  in  liis  undertakings  and  is  today 
in  comfortable  circumstances.  As  an  honored  pioneer  and  representative  citizen  he  is  cer- 
tainly deserving  of  prominent   mention  in   the   history   of  Eddy  county. 


MARTIN  C.  TILLOTSON. 


.Martin  C.  Tillotson,  a  well  known  banker  and  one  of  the  foremost  citizens  of  Maxbass, 
■was  born  in  October,  1874,  in  Boone  county,  Illinois,  his  parents  being  0.  K.  and  Christine 
Tillotson,  both  natives  of  Norway.  The  father  came  to  the  United  States  in  184ii  on  a 
sailing  vessel,  which  was  thirteen  weeks  in  making  the  trip  at  that  time.  He  located  in 
Boone  county,  Illinois,  where  he  secured  a  tract  of  government  land  and  also  bought  prop- 
erty becomin"  the  owner  of  a  good  farm,  which  he  improved  and  cultivated  until  called  from 
this  life  in  1897.  Our  subject's  mother  is  still  living  and  continues  to  reside  upon  the  old 
homestead. 

In  the  county  of  his  nativity  Martin  C.  Tillotson  giew  to  manhood  and  there  acquired 
his  early  education,  though  he  later  attended  school  at  Beloit,  Wisconsin.  By  assisting  his 
father  in  the  work  of  the  home  farm  he  early  gained  an  excellent  knowledge  of  agricultural 
pursuits  and  after  reaching  man's  estate  had  charge  of  the  home  place  for  some  time.  Later 
he  spent  one  year  on  the  road,  selling  farm  machinery,  and  in  1900  went  to  Europe  on  a 
pleasure  trip.  In  1901  he  became  a  resident  of  Delavan,  Wisconsin  ,and  remained  there  one 
year.  Since  1905,  however,  he  has  made  his  home  in  Bottineau  county.  North  Dakota,  and 
has  engaged  in  the  banking  business  at  Maxbass.  He  was  one  of  the  first  stockholders  of 
the  Maxbass  Security  Bank  and  served  as  assistant  cashier  until  the  spring  of  1916,  when 
he  was  promoted  to  the  position  of  cashier  in  which  capacity  he  is  now  serving.  The  other 
officers  are  C.  L.  Newhouse,  president,  and  H.  J.  Dale,  vice  president.  This  bank  was  organ- 
ized in  1905  and  has  a  capital  of  fifteen  thousand  dollars,  a  surplus  of  five  thousand  dollars, 
and  deposits  amounting  to  one  hundred  and  fifteen  thousand  dollars.  The  men  at  its  'head 
are  good  reliable  business  men  of  known  integrity,  it  has  steadily  prospered  and  ranks  high 
among  the  financial  institutions  of  that  part  of  the  state.  In  addition  to  his  banking  inter- 
ests, Mr.  Tillotson  has  farm  lands  in  Bottineau  county. 

In  November,  1905,  he  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Martha  Newhouse,  who  died  on 
the  3d  of  October,  1914,  leaving  many  friends  as  well  as  her  immediate  family  to  mourn  her 
loss.  Three  children  blessed  this  union,  namelj':  Lester,  born  in  September,  1900;  Helen, 
born  in  November,  1907;  and  Eunice,  born  in  May,  1911. 

Mr.  Tillotson  is  a  republican  in  politics  and  takes  an  active  interest  in  public  afi'airs, 
■especially  those  calculated  to  promote  the  moral,  educational  or  material  welfare  of  his 
community.  For  seven  j-earshe  has  served  as  a  member  of  the  school  board  and  he  has  also 
filled  the  office  of  justice  of  the  peace.  He  is  a  member  of  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America, 
and  his  religious  connection  is  with  the  Lutheran  church.  He  stands  high  in  the  esteem  of  his 
fellow  citizens  and  his  course  has  ever  been  such  as  to  commend  him  to  the  confidence  and 
regard  of  those  with  whom  he  has  been  brought  in  contact  either  in  business  or  social  life. 


EDWIN  BEISSBARTH. 

Edwin  Beissbarth,  president  of  the  First  National  Bank  of  Brinsmade.  president  of  the 
Minnewaukan  State  Bank,  of  the  Farmers  State  Bank  of  Baker  and  of  the  North  Dakota 
Realty  &.  Investment  Company,  resides  in  Brinsmade  and  from  that  point  supervises  and 
direct.^  his  important  and  growing  business  interests.  He  was  born  in  Philadelphia,  Pennsyl- 
vania, April  1,"!,  1869,  a  son  of  Andrew  and  Marie  (Thoni)  Beissbarth,  who  were  natives  of 
Germany.  The  family  have  been  connected  w  ith  the  brush  manufacturing  business  in  Germany 
from  generation  to  generation  since  1799  and  at  the  plant  there  about  six  thousand  hands 
are  employed.      During   the   present    war,   however,   the    plant   has   been    converted    into    a 


600  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

munitions  factory.  Tlie  grandfather  and  fatlier  of  Kdwin  Boissliartli  were  tlie  inventors  of 
practically  all  the  modern  methods  of  making  the  fine  grades  of  artists'  varnish  and  brushes 
of  all  kinds.  The  latter  came  to  the  United  States  in  3866,  settling  in  Xevv  York,  where  he 
became  the  pioneer  brush  manufacturer  of  America  in  that  line.  He  subsequently  removed 
to  Pliiladelphia,  where  he  started  E.  Clinton  &  Sons  in  the  manufacture  of  fine  brushes. 
Subse(|uently  he  returned  to  New  York  and  there  instituted  the  manufacture  of  fine  brushes 
for  the  firm  of  ¥.  W.  Devoe  &  Company,  and  later  he  had  charge  of  the  brush  exhibit  at  the 
Philadelphia  Centennial  which  won  the  gold  medal.  He  afterward  became  a  dominant  spirit 
in  the  factory  of  John  L.  Whiting  &  Sons  of  Boston,  Massachusetts.  Charles  Beissbarth,  of 
New  York  City,  a  brother  of  Edwin,  made  the  brush  exhibit  for  the  United  Brrish  Manufac- 
tories for  the  World's  Columbian  Exposition,  and  Edwin  Beissbarth  arranged  the  exhibit  for 
Gerts,  Lumbard  &  Company  of  Chicago  at  the  fair  of  1893. 

Edwin  Beissbarth  learned  the  business  of  brush  manufacturing  under  the  direction  of 
his  father,  beginning  when  a  lad  of  but  seven  years.  His  periods  of  play  were  indeed 
limited,  for  as  soon  as  he  would  return  from  school  he  was  put  to  work  and  all  his  spare 
hours  were  thus  occupied.  He  became  an  expert  brush  maker  and  in  1886  removed  to 
Chicago  to  enter  the  employ  of  Gerts,  Lumbard  &  Company.  In  1893  he  left  that  house  and 
went  upon  the  road  for  the  United  Brush  Manufactories,  which  in  its  New  Yoik  branch  is 
represented  by  his  brother  Charles,  who  is  at  the  head  of  the  business  there.  Edwin  Beiss- 
barth remained  with  that  company  for  seven  years  and  afterward  became  associated  with 
the  Christianson  Sisters,  wholesale  dress  manufacturers,  with  an  annual  business  amounting 
to  one  hundred  and  sixty  thousand  dollars. 

In  1903  Mr.  Beissbarth  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Anna  Christianson,  a  member  of 
the  firm,  and  the  following  year  they  removed  to  North  Dakota.  His  brother-in-law,  G.  T. 
Christianson,  had  already  come  to  this  state  in  1901  and  founded  the  Minnewaukan  State 
Bank.  He  was  joined  by  Mr.  Beissbarth  and  in  1903  the  State  Bank  of  Brinsmade  was 
founded.  This  was  converted  into  the  First  National  Bank  in  1905,  with  Mr.  Christianson 
as  president  of  the  two  banks.  In  the  spring  of  1904  Mr.  Beissbarth  entered  the  Brinsmade 
bank  as  cashier  and  upon  the  death  of  Mr.  Christianson  in  1909  succeeded  him  in  the  presi- 
dency of  the  two  institutions.  He  also  is  a  heavy  holder  of  farm  lands  in  this  state  and  the 
North  Dakota  Realty  &  Investment  Company,  of  which  he  is  the  president,  has  nine  thousand 
acres  and  in  1916  had  six  tiiousand  acres  under  cultivation.  The  business  interests  of  Mr. 
Beissbarth  have  thus  become  extensive  and  important  and  in  their  control  he  displays  most 
capable  management,  initiative  and   foresight. 

Mr.  Beissbarth  belongs  to  Brinsmade  Lodge,  No.  88,  I.  0.  0.  F.,  and  he  and  his  wife 
are  active  and  helpful  members  of  the  Presbyteiian  church.  He  is  now  serving  as  a  member  ot 
the  finance  committee  of  the  North  Dakota  State  Sunday  School  Association  and  he  does 
everything  in  his  power  to  further  moral  progress  of  the  district  in  which  he  lives.  In 
politics  he  is  a  republican  and,  while  never  an  aspirant  for  public  oflfee,  has  served  as  a 
member  of  the  town  council  and  has  always  taken  a  deep  and  helpful  interest  in  civic 
affairs. 


EDWIN  L.  GOSS,  M.  D. 


Dr.  Edwin  L.  Goss,  who  is  one  of  the  leading  physicians  of  Foster  county  and  a  repre- 
sentative citizen  of  Carrington,  was  born  on  the  7th  of  May,  1865,  in  Morris,  Illinois,  his 
parents  being  Perry  and  Mary  F.  (Spillman)  Goss,  natives  of  Ohio  and  Kentucky  respectively. 
The  father,  who  was  a  farmer  by  occupation,  removed  to  Grundy  county,  Illinois,  in  1854 
and  purchased  a  tract  of  canal  land,  which  he  operated  during  the  remainder  of  his  life, 
passing  away  there  in  1899.  The  mother  is  still  living  at  the  advanced  age  of  eighty-nine 
years. 

Dr.  Goss  was  reared  and  educated  in  Grundy  county  and  at  Dixon,  Illinois,  and  for 
three  winters  he  was  engaged  in  teaching  school  prior  to  entering  upon  the  study  of  medi- 
cine at  the  College  of  Physicians  and  Surgeons  in  Chicago,  from  which  institution  he  was 
graduated  in  1892.  He  then  located  at  Sheffield,  Iowa,  where  he  was  engaged  in  practice 
from  1892  until  1901,  but  in  the  latter  year  removed  to  Carrington,  Foster  county,  North 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  13AKOTA  601 

Dakota,  where  lie  lias  since  built  up  a  good  practice  anioiig  the  representative  people  of 
the  county.     He  is  also  the  OAvner  of  farm  land  in  that  locality. 

On  the  14th  of  June,  1892,  Dr.  Goss  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Sarah  A.  Vincent, 
by  whom  he  had  two  children:  Kollin  V.,  born  April  8,  1898;  and  Robert  B.,  born  May  12, 
1901.  The  wife  and  mother  passed  away  very  suddenly  soon  after  the  birth  of  the 
younger  son,  and  the  Doctor  was  again  married  January  I.'),  1U05,  his  second  union  being 
with  Miss  Nellie  D.  Standish.  To  them  has  been  born  a  daughter,  Dorothy  "Slny,  born 
August  18,  1910. 

Dr.  and  Mrs.  Goss  are  consistent  iiieiubers  of  the  Methodist  and  Congregational 
churches,  respectively,  and  are  q\iite  prominent  socially.  The  Doctor  is  a  member  of  the 
blue  lodge,  chapter,  commandery  and  Shrine  of  the  IMasonic  fraternity  and  also  bcdongs 
to  the  Knights  of  Pythias  and  the  Benevolent  Protective  Order  of  Elks.  Along  the  line 
of  his  profession  he  is  connected  with  the  Tri-County  Medical  Society,  the  North  Dakota 
Medical  Society  and  the  American  Medical  Association.  He  is  a  republican  in  politcs  and 
is  now  serving  as  superintendent  of  the  board  of  health  in  Carrington.  He  stands  high 
in  the  esteem  of  his  professional  brethren  and  is  regarded  as  one  of  the  foremost  physicians 
of  Foster  county. 


SAMUEL  L.  LARGE. 


Samuel  L.  Large,  a  farmer  living  near  Oriska,  in  Barnes  county,  was  born  in  Pittsburg, 
I'ennsylvania.  August  ~,  1848,  a  son  of  Levi  and  Nancy  (Kennedy)  Large,  who  were  also 
born  in  the  vicinity  of  Pittsburg  The  paternal  giandfather,  Jonathan  Large,  was  a  native 
of  New  Jersey  and  a  representative  of  an  old  colonial  family.  He  removed  to  Pennsylvania, 
where  he  engaged  in  the  milling  and  distilling  business  and  also  in  farming.  He  was  a 
man  of  marked  business  ability  and  progressive  spirit  and  !ie  took  an  active  part  in  pro- 
moting all  public  interests  tending  to  the  benefit  and  U])building  of  community  and  state. 
He  served  as  a  general  in  the  Pennsylvania  militia  and  he  was  a  man  whose  advice  was 
often  sought  on  many  subjects,  for  it  was  a  recognized  fact  that  his  opinions  were  sound. 
While  he  was  still  conducting  business  in  Pennsylvania  he  made  a  trip  to  Fond  du  Lac, 
Wisconsin,  and  there  built  a  (louring  mill  si.xty  by  eighty  feet,  three  stories  and  basement. 
Not  having  water  to  operate  the  mill  throughout  the  year,  he  afterward  built  another 
beside  it  of  the  same  size,  equipping  the  second  one  with  steam  power  and  using  one-half 
of  it  as  a  sawmill.  He  continued  to  make  his  home  in  Pennsylvania  and  was  active  in 
business  to  the  time  of  his  death,  which  occurred  when  he  had  reached  the  venerable  age 
of  ninety-three  years.  His  sons,  Levi  and  Jonathan,  became  his  associates  in  business  and 
iluring  their  father's  later  years  largely  relieved  him  of  the  management  and  heavy  cares 
of  the  business.  Levi  Large  also  gave  his  attention  to  his  farm.  The  brothers  conducted 
extensive  interests  and  their  distilling  products  won  a  wide  reputation,  the  output  being 
nearly  all  sold  in  Europe.  Upon  the  death  of  Henry  Large,  uncle  of  Samuel  L.  Large  of 
this  review,  who  had  conducted  the  distillery  for  a  number  of  years,  his  widow  sold  the 
trademark  for  thirty-four  thousand  dollars.  Levi  and  .Tonathan  Large  continued  to  conduct 
the  mills  at  Fond  du  Lac,  Wisconsin,  and  there  the  former  made  his  home  throughout  the 
greater  part  of  his  life,  reaching  the  age  of  seventy-four  years. 

Of  a  family  of  eight  children  Samuel  L.  Large  was  the  second  in  order  of  birth.  His 
boyhood  was  spent  in  Fond  du  Lac  and  after  attending  the  local  schools  he  pursued  a  course 
in  the  university  at  Madison  and  a  course  in  a  business  college  at  Fond  du  Lac.  He  was 
afterward  in  the  government  service  for  four  years  in  connection  with  the  United  States 
lake  survey,  with  headquarters  at  Detroit.  Starting  at  Green  Bay,  the  party  with  which 
he  was  connected  continued  the  survey  on  I^ke  Michigan,  Niagara  river,  the  Falls  and 
and  Lake  Erie.  When  this  was  completed,  Mr.  Large  returned  home  and  continued  on  the 
farm  until  1S81.  He  then  came  to  North  Dakota,  settling  first  at  Tower  City,  Cass  county. 
He  immediately  took  a  tree  claim  embracing  liis  present  farm,  although  he  has  added  to 
this  by  purchase  from  time  to  time  until  the  place  now  comprises  five  hundred  and  forty 
acres  of  land  which  is  rich  and  productive.     He  also  has  four  hundred  and  thirty  acres  in 


602  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

Alberta,  Canada,  which  he  has  cultivated  and  on  which  he  is  raising  large  quantities  o£ 
wheat.  His  Dakota  farm  is  a  valuable  property,  well  improved  according  to  twentieth 
centurj'  methods,  and  in  its  midst  stands  a  fine  residence,  so  that  he  has  thus  provided  an 
attractive  home  for  his  family.  He  is  extensively  engaged  in  the  cultivation  of  wheat, 
oats,  barley  and  corn  and  lie  has  also  taken  up  the  work  of  stock  raising,  having  a  small 
herd  of  thoroughbred  shorthorns  which  he  Intends  to  increase,  making  that  a  feature  of 
his   business. 

In  January,  1888,  Mr.  Large  was  married  to  Miss  Jennie  M.  Mclnnis,  a  native  of  Ontario, 
Canada,  and  a  daughter  of  Alexander  Mclnnis,  who  became  a  resident  of  Fond  du  Lac,  Wis- 
consin. The  children  of  this  marriage  are  Dora  M.  and  Elwin  B.  Mi'.  Large  has  always 
taken  his  part  in  township  affairs  and  for  two  terms  served  as  chairman  of  the  township 
board.  He  has  also  been  a  member  of  the  school  board  and  the  cause  of  public  education 
finds  in  him  a  stalwart  champion.  He  is  actuated  in  all  that  he  does  by  a  spirit  of  pro- 
gressiveness  and  is  regarded  as  one  of  the  substantial  citizens  of  the  community,  while  both 
he  and  his  wife  are  numbered  among  the  loyal  members  of  the  Congi-egational  church. 


NELS  WILLIAM  SIMON. 


Nels  William  Simon,  engaged  in  merchandising  at  Tioga,  was  born  at  Malmii,  Sweden, 
November  23,  1865,  a  son  of  John  and  Betsy  Simon,  who  were  natives  of  the  same  country. 
The  father  followed  farming  in  Sweden  until,  attracted  by  the  opportunities  of  the  new 
world,  he  crossed  the  Atlantic  and  became  a  resident  of  Illinois.  Later  he  renioved  to  Min- 
nesota, settling  near  Benson,  where  he  took  up  a  homestead  in  1871,  becoming  a  pioneer 
farmer  of  that  locality.     Both  he  and  his  wife  there  passed  away. 

Nels  W.  Simon  was  reared  on  the  old  home  farm  near  Benson  and  ])ursued  liis  educa- 
tion in  tlie  district  schools  of  Swift  county.  His  youthful  days  were  largely  devoted  to  farm 
work  for  his  father  and  eventually  lie  embarked  in  farming  on  his  own  account,  ])urchas- 
ing  land'  which  he  developed  and  improved.  He  also  engaged  in  clerking  in  a  store  at  Ben- 
son for  seven  years  and  in  1902  he  arrived  in  Williams  county,  homesteading  three  miles 
north  of  Tioga.  He  also  purchased  one  hundred  and  sixty  acres  of  land,  on  which  the  town 
of  Tioga  now  stands.  This  he  bought  from  Nick  Comford,  who  had  laid  out  tw-o  blocks, 
and  Mr.  Simon  finished  platting  the  town  in  1904,  doing  the  work  in  a  most  excellent  man- 
ner. He  then  established  the  first  store  in  the  town,  opening  a  stock  of  general  merchan- 
dise, and  since  that  time  he  has  developed  a  large  and  growing  business,  making  the  under- 
taking a  very  profitable  one.  He  is  also  the  owner  of  extensive  tracts  of  farm  land  which 
he  rents  out  and  which  bring  to  him  a  gratifying  financial  return.  In  his  business  affairs 
he  displays  sound  judgment  and  keen  discrimination  and  along  well  defined  lines  of  labor 
has  gained  notable  success.  In  addition  to  his  Tioga  establishment  he  has  a  store  at 
McGregor,  of  which  his  son  acts  as  manager.  He  is  also  a  director  of  the  Farmers  & 
Merchants  Bank  of  Tioga  and  he  was  one  of  the  organizers  of  the  creamery  company  and  of 
the  Farmers  Elevator  Company  of  Tioga.  In  fact  the  town  owes  its  development  and 
progress  in  large  measure  to  his  efforts  and  enterprise. 

In  May,  1888,  Mr.  Simon  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Ida  Johnson,  of  Benson,  ilin- 
nesota,  who  was  born  in  Sweden  and  in  her  girlhood  days  came  to  the  new  world,  being 
reared  and  educated  at  Benson,  whore  she  passed  away  in  1893,  leaving  two  children:  John, 
who  is  now  manager  of  the  McGregor  store;  and  Ida.  Both  were  born  in  Benson.  In  June, 
1894,  Mr.  Simon  was  again  married,  his  second  union  being  with  Miss  Anna  Hoverud,  of  Ben- 
son, who  was  born  in  Norway  and  in  young  womanhood  becante  a  resident  of  Minnesota.  To 
this  marriage  have  been  born  six  children:  Oliver,  who  was  born  in  Benson,  Minnesota,  and  is 
now  a  practicing  physician  connected  with  a  liospital  at  Erie,  Pennsylvania;  Clarence,  who 
is  assisting  his  father  in  the  store;  Alma,  Lillian  and  Mabel,  all  born  in  Benson;  and  Neva, 
who  was  born  in  Tioga. 

In  his  political  views  Mr.  Simon  is  an  earnest  democrat  and  has  always  been  active  in 
community  affairs.  He  helped  organize  the  village  and  has  served  for  some  time  on  the 
school  board  of  Tioga.     His  religious  faith  is  that  of  the  Lutheran  church,  to  the  teachings 


NELS   W.   SIJION 


HISTORY  OF  XOR'l'II  DAKOTA  605 

of  wliieli  liL-  Uiyally  iuilicres.  l-'rati'iiuilly  lie  is  (•(inm'ctril  with  tlic  Jlasons  aiul  is  a  charter 
member  of  the  liidependunt  Order  of  Odd  I'ellows,  liavin";  passed  tlirough  all  tlie  chairs 
in  the  local  lodge  and  served  as  a  delegate  to  the  grand  lodge.  He  is  likewise  a  charter 
member  of  the  Elks  lodge  at  Williston  and  has  filled  all  of  the  ptiices  in  the  Jlodern  Woodmen 
camp  at  Tioga  and  is  connected  with  the  Ancient  Order  of  United  Workmen.  His  life  has 
been  well  spent  and  has  been  fruitful  of  good  results.  He  has  been  both  the  architect  and 
builder  of  his  own  fortunes  and  he  has  builded  wisely  and  well,  placing  his  dependence 
upon  the  substantial  qualities  of  energy,  determination  and  enterprise,  and  through  the 
utilization  of  those  qualities  has  gained  notable  success. 


MARTIN  OLSEN. 

Ramsey  county  has  been  signally  favored  in  the  class  of  men  who  have  occupied  her 
public  oflices,  for  on  the  whole  they  have  been  loyal  to  her  best  intercs£s  and  active  in 
supporting  those  projects  which  work  for  her  upbuilding.  Faithful  in  promoting  law  and 
order  is  JIartin  Olsen,  the  present  county  sherili'  of  Ramsey  county  and  a  resident  of 
Devils  Lake.  He  was  born  in  Ottertail  county,  Minnesota,  April  14,  1877,  and  is  a  repre- 
sentative of  an  old  pioneer  family  of  Wisconsin.  His  eariy  educational  opportunities  were 
supplemented  by  a  course  in  the  Park  Region  College  at  Fergus  Falls,  Jlinnesota,  and  when 
his  textbooks  were  put  aside  he  turned  his  attention  to  agricultural  pursuits  by  home- 
steading  in  Cavalier  county,  Xorth  Dakota,  where  he  engaged  in  the  cultivation  of  his  land 
for  five  years.  He  afterward  turned  his  attention  to  the  lumber  trade,  which  he  followed 
for  three  years  in  Edmore  and  ten  years  at  Hampden,  and  in  1914  he  put  aside  business 
cares  to  concentrate  his  efforts  upon  odicial  service,  having  been  elected  to  the  office  of 
county  sheriff.  That  he  has  made  a  most  excellent  record  in  that  position  is  indicated  by 
the  fact  that  he  is  again  his  party's  candidate  and  has  no  opposition.  He  is  prompt  and 
faithful  in  the  discharge  of  his  duties  and  has  done  much  to  uphold  the  law  in  Ramsey 
county  and  lessen  the  amount  of  crime. 

Mr.  Olsen  was  united  in  marriage  to  Mrs.  Amanda  Thompson  and  to  them  have  been 
born  two  children,  Gladys  and  Florence.  The  religious  faith  of  the  family  is  that  of  the 
Methodist  church,  while  politically  Mr.  Olsen  has  always  been  a  republican  since  age  con- 
ferred upon  him  the  right  of  franchise.  Fraternally  he  is  identified  with  the  Masons  and 
has  attained  high  rank  in  the  order  as  is  indicated  by  the  fact  that  he  is  now  a  member 
of  the  Mystic  Shrine.  He  is  also  identified  with  the  Elks  and  with  the  Odd  Fellows.  In 
matters  of  citizenship  he  stands  for  progress  and  improvement  at  all  times  and  his 
cooperation  can  always  be  counted  ujion  to  lurtlier  measures  and  movements  for  the 
general  good. 


0.  1'.  ROONLIE. 


O.  P.  Rognlie,  county  treasurer  of  Benson  county  and  a  resident  of  Minnewaukan,  was 
born  in  Norway,  .January  3,  18.5G,  a  son  of  Peter  and  Cliristiana  (Ingebritson)  Rognlie,  who 
on  coming  to  the  United  States  settled  in  Houston  county,  Minnesota.  In  1871  they  were 
among  the  vanguard  who  began  the  pioneer  development  of  North  Dakota.  The  father  home- 
steaded  in  Traill  county,  securing  a  quarter  section  of  land  on  the  Red  river,  twelve  miles 
cast  of  the  present  site  of  Hillsboro,  but  he  did  not  remove  his  family  to  the  territory  until 
the  following  year,  at  which  time  he  settled  on  his  claim  and  there  resided  to  within  a  year 
of  his  death,  when  he  took  up  his  abode  with  one  of  his  daughters  in  Caledonia,  there  passing 
away  in  1910,  at  the  age  of  seventy-two  years.  He  had  been  a  resident  of  this  state  for 
almost  forty  years  and  had  contributed  in  substantial  nu'asure  to  the  work  of  converting  his 
district  from  a  Avild  western  prairie  into  a  prosperous  farming  region. 

0.  P.  Rognlie  supplemented  his  public  school  education  by  study  in  the  Augsburg  Semi- 
nary at  Minneapolis  and  in  the  University  of  Minnesota.    He  was  graduated  from  the  former 

Vol.  Ill— 2S 


6  06  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

institution  in  1881  and  after  his  university  course  lie  took  up  teacliing  as  a  vocation.  Two 
years  were  devoted  to  that  profession,  at  the  end  of  which  time  he  obtained  a  position  on  a 
Scandinavian  newspaper  published  at  Fargo.  There  he  remained  for  a  year  and  in  1886 
removed  to  Benson  county,  where  lie  began  farming  on  his  own  account.  The  following  year 
lie  filed  on  a  homestead  eight  miles  southwest  of  Minnewaukan  in  Aurora  township,  which 
was  named  in  honor  of  Mr.  Rognlie's  eldest  daughter,  who  was  the  first  white  child  brought 
into  the  townsliip.  During  the  winter  of  1891-2  and  1892-3  he  taught  school  and  then  termi- 
nated his  connection  with  educational  work.  He  continued  to  engage  in  farming  until  the 
fall  of  1914,  when  he  was  elected  county  treasurer.  He  had  brought  his  land  under  a  high 
state  of  cultivation,  converting  the  raw  tract  into  rich  and  productive  fields  from  which  he 
annually  gathered  good  harvests.  He  added  to  the  place  many  modern  improvements  and 
converted  it  into  a  valuable  farm  property.  On  the  1st  of  January,  1915,  he  assumed  the 
office  of  county  treasurer  and  in  1916  was  nominated  without  opposition,  so  that  he  will 
continue  in  the  office  for  a  second  term  of  two  years.  He  has  proven  a  most  faithful  custo- 
dian of  the  public  funds  and  administers  the  duties  of  his  office  with  strict  integrity,  thorough- 
ness and  systematic  accuracy.  In  the  meantime  he  had  added  to  his  landed  possessions  until 
he  had  acquired  six  hundred  and  forty  acres  but  has  recently  sold  one  hundred  and  sixty 
acres. 

In  1885  Mr.  Rognlie  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Augusta  Maltrud,  of  Kindred,  North 
Dakota,  by  whom  he  has  five  children,  namely:  0.  Aurora,  who  lives  with  her  brother 
Mentor;  Adeline  J.,  the  wife  of  A.  G.  Hallquist,  of  Flora,  Benson  county;  Mentor  P.  C,  who  is 
cnltivating  his  father's  farm;  Stella  C,  who  is  employed  in  the  county  treasurer's  office;  and 
Judith  W.,  a  teacher  in  the  district  schools. 

In  politics  Mr.  Rognlie  is  a  republican  and  has  ever  been  a  stalwart  champion  of  the 
party  principles.  For  twenty-five  years  he  has  served  as  a  member  of  the  school  board  in 
Benson  county  and  the  cause  of  education  has  indeed  found  in  him  an  able  champion.  Frater- 
nally he  is  connected  with  Devils  Lake  Lodge,  No.  1316,  B.  P.  O.  E.,  with  the  Ancient  Order  of 
United  Workmen  and  the  Homesteaders.  He  and  his  family  are  consistent  members  of  the 
Lutheran  church  and  guide  their  lives  according  to  its  teachings,  so  that  Mr.  Rognlie  is  known 
as  a  most  honorable  citizen  and  business  man,  commanding  on  every  occasion  the  respect  and 
confidence  of  those  who  know  him. 


M.    S.    TITUS. 


M.  S.  Titus  is  the  founder  of  the  Bank  of  Minto,  which  is  recognized  as  the  oldest  bank 
in  Walsh  county  and  one  of  the  strongest.  He  was  born  in  Scott  county,  Minnesota, 
October  23,  1858,  a  son  of  W.  S.  and  Mary  Jane  (Lament)  Titus,  the  former  a  native  of 
Connecticut  and  the  latter  of  Minnesota.  The  father  went  to  Minnesota  as  a  pioneer  of 
1840,  establishing  his  home  in  Scott  county,  where  he  engaged  in  farming,  and  in  that  state 
remained  until  death  called  him  when  he  had  reached  the  age  of  fifty-eight  years  His 
widow  died  in  1900  at  the  age  of  seventy  years  and  of  their  family  of  four  children 
M.  S.  Titus  was  the  third  in  order  of  birth. 

At  the  usual  age  M.  S.  Titus  of  this  review  became  a  pupil  in  the  public  schools  of  his 
native  county  and  when  his  textbooks  were  put  aside  he  concentrated  his  energies  upon 
farm  work  on  his  father's  land.  In  tlipt  connection  he  remained  with  his  parents  until  he 
attained  his  majority  and  then  came  to  North  Dakota  in  1879,  making  his  way  to  Grand 
Forks,  where  he  entered  the  bank  of  his  brother,  S.  S.  Titus,  who  is  the  president  of  the 
First  National  Bank  of  Grand  Forks.  M.  S.  Titus  started  there  in  a  clerical  capacity,  in 
which  he  continued  for  five  years,  and  in  1885  he  removed  to  Minto,  where  he  established 
the  Bank  of  Minto,  which  is  now  recognized  as  the  oldest  banking  institution  in  Walsh 
county.  It  has  been  conducted  along  a  safe  conservative  policy  that  has  brought  to  it  public 
confidence  and  support  and  its  patronage  is  now  liberal,  while  the  profits  derived  therefrom 
are   substantial. 

On  the  11th  of  Jfay.  1SS7,  Mr.  Titus  was  married  to  Miss  Gertrude  Viets.  a  daughter 
of  ?\Ii-.   and   Mrs.   Frank   Viets,   «ol!   known   pioneers   of   Grand   Forks   county.     They    were 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  (J07 

iiiiiniod  in  Ashtabula,  Ohio.  Jlr.  and  Mrs.  Titus  have  two  children.  Ann,  who  is  a  graduate 
of  St.  Mary's  Academy  of  Knoxvillc,  Ohio,  is  the  wife  of  M.  C.  Batcheller,  of  the  North- 
western Trust  &  Loan  Company.  Frances,  who  is  also  a  graduate  of  St.  Mary's  Academy 
of  Kno.wille,  Ohio,  is  the  wife  of  Dr.  W.  J.  Plunkett,  a  dentist  of  Minot,  North  Dakota. 

Tlie  family  are  well  known  in  Minto  and  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Titus  occupy  an  enviable  position 
in  social  circles.  Jlr.  Titus  deserves  much  credit  for  what  he  has  accomplished  as  he  started 
out  in  life  in  a  humble  capacity,  but  through  persistency  of  purpose  and  force  of  character 
he  has  worked  his  way  steadily  upward  and  his  name  is  now  an  honored  one  in  the  banking 
circles  of  his  city. 


HANS  NELSSON. 


Hans  Nclsson,  a  farmer  living  on  section  24,  Nogosek  township,  Stutsman  county, 
was  born  February  24,  1S58,  in  Sweden,  which  was  also  the  birthplace  of  his  parents. 
His  father.  Nelson  Gibson,  was  born  in  1829  and  followed  carpentering  and  farming.  The 
mother  was  born  in  1827.  Both  spent  their  entire  lives  in  Sweden,  where  Mr.  Gibson  passed 
away  in  l'J02,  having  for  two  years  survived  his  wife,  who  died  in  1900. 

Hans  Xelsson,  the  younger  of  two  children,  w'as  educated  in  the  common  schools  of 
his  native  land  and  remained  with  his  parents  until  he  reached  the  age  of  twenty-one 
years,  when,  attracted  by  the  opportunities  of  the  new  world,  he  bade  adieu  to  friends 
and  native  country  and  came  to  the  United  States  in  18S0.  In  the  same  year  he  was 
married  to  iliss  Kama  Parson,  who  was  born  in  Sweden  in  1858  and  was  a  daughter  of 
Par  and  Elsie  Parson.  The  father  has  now  passed  away,  while  the  mother  is  living  in 
Sweden.  Of  their  family  of  five  children  Mrs.  Nelsson  was  the  second  in  order  of  birtli. 
To  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Nelsson  were  born  four  children:  Carl,  born  in  1881;  Hattie,  who  was 
born  in  1890  and  is  the  wife  of  Frank  BuzzcU;  Harry,  born  in  1895;  and  Hilfred,  in  1899. 
The  wife  and  mother  passed  away  September  7,   1909. 

After  coming  to  the  United  States  Mr.  Nelsson  spent  throe  years  at  work  in  tlie  mines 
and  on  the  railroads  in  different  paTts  of  the  country  and  thus  lie  learned  much  of  the 
districts  through  which  he  traveled.  The  opportunities  of  the  growing  west  led  him  to  seek 
a  home  in  North  Dakota  in  1884,  at  which  time  he  entered  a  claim  on  section  24,  Nogosek 
township,  becoming  one  of  the  first  settlers  of  the  district.  Those  who  have  arrived  in 
Stutsman  county  in  recent  years  cannot  realize  how  great  were  the  privations  and  hard- 
ships endured  by  the  early  settlers,  for  their  homes  were  far  distant  from  markets  and 
railroads  and  none  of  the  modern  comforts  and  conveniences  could  be  secured.  The  farmers 
liad  to  depend  upon  what  they  raised,  with  only  rare  trips  to  the  towns  to  secure  needed 
supplies.  Mr.  Nelsson  at  once  began  to  break  the  sod  and  till  the  fields  and  in  course  of 
time  brought  his  land  under  a  high  state  of  cultivation.  He  at  fust  used  oxen  for  his  farm 
Avork  but  in  time  began  raising  horses  and  later  made  a  specialty  of  that.  His  nearest 
market  was  Jamestown.  As  his  financial  resources  increased  he  kept  adding  to  his  orig- 
inal holdings  until  his  possessions  aggregate  three  sections  of  land,  most  of  which  he  is  now 
renting,  although  he  still  cultivates  a  quarter  section  himself.  He  is,  however,  largely  lead- 
ing a  retired  life,  having  put  aside  many  of  the  burdens,  cares  and  responsibilities  which 
devolved  upon  him  when  he  cultivated  all  of  his  land.  He  has  always  engaged  in  raising 
Pcrchcron  horses  and  has  many  head  of  blooded  stock.  His  home  is  thoroughly  modern  in 
all  respects.  The  buildings  are  large  and  substantial  and  ho  has  an  extensive  and  beau- 
tiful grove  of  trees  surrounding  his  home.  The  equipments  of  the  farm  are  thoroughly 
modern,  including  the  latest  improved  machinery,  and  well  kept  fences  divide  his  farm 
into  fields  and  pastures  of  convenient  size.  Everything  about  the  place  indicates  his 
progressive  spirit,  and  that  his  has  been  a  most  active  life  is  shown  by  the  property 
which  he  has  acquired.  He  took  quite  an  active  part  in  the  bone  industry,  hauling  many 
loads  of  buffalo  bones  to  Jamestown,  which   was  his  market. 

In  politics  Mr.  Nelsson  is  a  republican  and  has  served  as  township  treasurer  and  school 
treasurer,  while  at  the  present  time  he  is  acting  on  the  school  board.  His  religious  faith  is 
indicated   by   his   membership   in    the   Lutheran   church   at   Couvtcnay.      In   the   summer   of 


608  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

1915  lie  took  an  extendod  trip  tlirough  llic  United  States  and  Canada,  going  from  Port 
Artlmr  in  eastern  Canada  to  Victoria  and  Seattle,  also  attending  the  Panama-Pacific 
Exposition  in  San  Francisco  and  tlie  smaller  but  beautiful  exposition  at  San  Diego.  He  also 
toured  to  Galveston,  Texas,  and  came  north  through  Kansas,  Nebraska  and  St.  Paul,  thence 
returning  to  his  home.  Ho  thus  gained  comprehensive  knowledge  of  the  west  and  many 
of  its   points   of   interest. 


FRED]-:P,1CK  WILLIAJJ  TURNER. 

Frederick  William  Turner  is  not  only  widelj-  known  throughout  North  Dakota  but 
(liroughout  the  entire  country  by  reason  of  his  active  and  helpful  connection  with  the 
good  roads  movement.  Beginning  liis  work  in  North  Dakota  as  a  promoter  and  advocate 
of  the  Red  Trail,  he  has  continued  his  activities  until  his  influence  has  been  felt  in  almost 
every  state  of  the  Union.  His  local  interests  as  a  business  man  of  Dickinson  are  indi- 
cated in  the  fact  that  he  is  proprietor  of  a  garage.  He  was  born  in  Wisconsin,  January 
14,  1871,  the  second  in  order  of  birtli  in  a  family  of  five  children,  of  whom  four  are  yet 
living.  The  parents  were  David  John  and  Esther  (Tanner)  Turner.  The  father,  who  is  a 
Civil  war  veteran  and  a  native  of  Maine,  has  spent  almost  his  entire  life  in  Wisconsin, 
and  the  mother,  who  was  born  in  that  state,  is  now  deceased. 

Frederick  William  Turner  pursued  his  education  in  schools  of  Wisconsin  and  Minne- 
sota, finishing  with  a  high  school  course  in  llinnesota.  When  his  textbooks  were  put  aside 
he  went  to  Missouri,  where  he  learned  the  horseshoeing  trade  and  later  he  established  a 
shop  at  Oxford,  Wisconsin,  while  subsequently  he  engaged  in  business  along  that  line  in 
Chicago.  He  was  employed  at  his  trade  first  in  Wisconsin  but  for  only  a  brief  period  and 
then  spent  two  winters  in  Chicago,  where  he  entered  the  Horseshoers  School  of  Anatomy. 
At  the  end  of  that  time  he  entered  the  employ  of  Ringling  Brothers  as  master  mechanic 
and  for  six  years  he  was  thus  engaged,  in  which  connection  lie  visited  almost  every  impor- 
tant city  in  the  United  States  and  British  Columbia.  He  was  a  thorough  master  of  his 
trade  and  did  important  work  along  that  line  in  connection  with  the  Ringling  Brothers 
circus.  In  1901  he  arrived  in  North  Dakota  and  immediately  established  hia  home  in 
Dickinson,  where  he  bought  out  the  business  of  T.  H.  Brren  and  established  a  horseshoeing 
and  general  blacksmith  shop,  since  which  time  he  has  actively  engaged  in  business  in 
Dickinson.  He  is  an  all  around  mechanic  and  does  all  kinds  of  work  pertaining  to  b'.ack- 
smithing.  Work  of  this  character  still  occupies  a  part  of  his  time,  although  in  1915  he 
established  a  garage  known  as  the  F.  W.  Turner's  Red  Trail  Garage.  This  has  proven  a  successful 
enterprise.  His  plant  is  equipped  in  modern  manner  and  he  has  a  two-story  building  fifty 
by  two  hundred   feet. 

In  1900  Mr.  Turner  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Tillic  Schwartz,  a  native  of  Wis- 
consin and  a  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  George  Schwartz,  the  former  now  deceased,  while 
the  latter  is  yet  living.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Turner  have  become  parents  of  two  children  but 
the  older  died  in  infancy.  The  surviving  child  is  David  George.  Mr.  Turner  is  a  member 
of  the  Golf,  Commercial  and  Automobile  Clubs  of  Dickinson.  In  all  matters  of  citizenship 
he  is  deeply  interested  and  ever  displays  a  public-spirited  devotion  to  the  general  good. 
His  political  allegiance  is  given  to  the  republican  party  and  for  six  years  he  filled  the  office 
of  alderman.  He  was  also  elected  to  represent  his  district  in  the  state  legislature  and 
while  thus  serving  was  a  member  of  the  committee  on  taxes,  military,  city  and  municipal 
corporations  and  appropriations,  and  was  chairman  of  the  'committee  on  educational  insti- 
tutions. He  was  the  promoter  and  president  of  the  National  Parks  Highway  Association 
and  was  the  leader  in  the  movement  that  resulted  in  the  building  of  the  famous  and 
beautiful  bridge  over  the  Little  Missouri  at  Medora  at  a  cost  of  twenty  thousand  dollars, 
making  possible  the  continuation  of  the  work  on  the  Red  Trail.  At  the  present  time 
he  is  a  uiember  of  the  executive  committee  of  the  Highway  Association.  He  acted  as 
jiresident  of  the  association  for  eighteen  months  and  during  that  period  appointed  its  execu- 
tive officers.  He  is  now  actively  engaged  in  improving  the  Trail  and  ho  works  untiringly 
toward  the  establishment  of  good  roads  everywhere.     He  is  also  a  member  of  the  National 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  609 

Highway  Association  oT  Wasliiiigton,  I).  C,  ami  in  lliis  connoi-tioii  lif  lias  dcnic  work  in 
every  state  in  the  Union.  He  was  ajipointed  by  (Jovevnor  Hanna  a  delegate  to  tiie  .Noitli 
western  Koad  Congress  which  met  in  Ceihir  Rapids,  Iowa,  in  I'Jlo  and  was  again  appointed 
bv  the  Governor  a  delegate  to  the  Panama  Uoad  Congress  held  in  Sacramento,  California. 
Mr.  Turner  is  a  JIason  and  has  filled  all  of  the  chairb  in  the  lodge,  chapter  and  eomniandery. 
He  is  regarded  as  a  most  prominent  representative  of  the  order  and  exemplifies  in  his  life 
the  beneficent  spirit  of"  the  craft.  He  is  also  connected  with  the  Benevolent  Protective 
Order  of  Klks.  In  a  review  of  his  life  we  notice  that  his  education  was  largely  acquired 
in  the  school  of  experience  and  at  ail  times  he  has  been  an  apt  pupil,  thoroughly  learning 
the  lessons  to  be  gained.  He  has  long  preached  the  gospel  of  good  roads  and  his  eilorts 
in  this  direction  have  been  farreaching,  effective  and  beneficial,  nuiking  liini  one  oi  tlie 
leaders  of  the  movement  in  the  United  States — a  movement  the  value  of  which  can  scarcely 
be  overestimated,  its  significance  b<'ing  manifest  in  tlie  fact  of  the  widespread  attention 
being  now  gi\'en   l^i  tju-   subject. 


(iJCUKGK  GREEN. 

George  Green,  a  haidvare  merchant  of  Milton,  was  born  in  Carver  county,  near  St. 
i'aul,  Minnesota,  January  9,  1870.  His  father,  John  Green,  a  native  of  New  York,  was  a 
son  of  George  Green,  who  was  of  German  birth  and  became  the  founder  of  this  branch  of 
the  family  in  America,  arriving  in  the  new  world  in  1793.  John  Green  successfully  fol- 
lowed the  occupation  of  farming  in  the  Empire  state  but  became  an  early  settler  of  St. 
Paul,  Minnesota,  where  he  took  up  his  abode  prior  to  the  Civil  \y;\r.  With  the  outbreak 
of  hostilities  between  the  north  and  the  south  he  responded  to  the  country's  call  for  troops 
and  with  a  Jlinnesota  regiment  served  for  two  years  and  six  months.  He  died  at  Chaska, 
Minnesota,  in  1914  at  the  age  of  seventy-six  years  and  his  wife  passed  away  in  Chaska, 
.lanuary  14,  1916,  when  eighty-four  years  of  age.  She  was  born  in  Baltimore,  Maryland, 
and  was  of  German  descent.     By  her  marriage  she  became  the  mother  of  eight  children. 

George  Green,  who  was  the  fifth  in  the  family,  was  educated  in  the  public  schools 
of  Waconia,  Minnesota,  after  which  he  started  out  to  earn  his  own  living  at  the  age  of 
thirteen  years.  In  his  boyhood  he  was  a])prenticed  to  the  saddlery  and  harness  makers 
trade,  completing  a  three  years'  term,  after  which  he  worked  at  his  trade  as  a  journeyman 
for  six  years.  On  the  20th  of  October,  1S90,  he  arrived  in  Milton,  Cavalier  county.  North 
Dakota.  He  had  no  acciuaintance  in  the  town  but  soon  secured  employment  with  A.  Olson, 
a  pioneer  harness  maker,  in  whose  service  he  remained  for  a  year.  On  the  expiration  of 
that  period  he  purchased  the  business  and  conducted  it  for  two  years,  [n  addition  to  the 
manufacture  of  hariu-ss  he  purchased  the  business  of  Johnson  it  W'roolie,  pioneer  hardware 
merchants,  and  combined  the  two  lines  of  trade.  He  has  since  been  actively  and  success- 
fully engaged  in  both  and  today  has  the  largest  business  of  the  kind  in  his  section  of  the 
state.  He  owns  his  own  building,  a  two  story  structure  twenty-eight  by  one  hundred 
feet,  thoroughly  modern  in  every  detail,  and  he  carries  a  stock  valued  at  about  twentj'-two 
thousand  dollars.  He  started  out  in  business  on  his  own  account  in  a  very  small  way  but 
through  thrift  and  good  management  he  has  become  one  of  the  |irominent  and  representa- 
tive merchants  of  his  county  and  state.  He  closely  studies  tlie  trade  and  the  demands 
of  the  public  and  has  ever  recognized  the  fact  that  satisfied  patrons  are  the  best  adver- 
tisement. He  is  also  a  stockholder  in  the  First  National  Bank  and  for  several  years  past 
lias  been  one  of  its  directors.  He  likewise  conducts  a  farm  near  Stanley  and  at  all  times 
his  actions  have  been  governed  by  tlie  rules  of  strict  and  unswerving  integrity.  He  has 
never  sought  success  except  along  constructive  lines  and  his  path  has  never  been  strewn 
with  the   wreck   of    other    men's    fortunes. 

On  the  31st  of  Jlay,  1894,  Mr.  Green  was  united  in  marriage  at  Ainlubon,  .Minnesota, 
to  Miss  Josephine  Johnson,  a  native  of  that  state  and  a  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Jacob 
.lohnson,  representatives  of  an  old  Minnesota  family.  The  father  is  now  deceased  but  the 
mother  yet  resides  at  Audubon.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Green  have  three  daughters  and  a  son 
living,   Blanche,   Marvin.   Ruth    and   Dorothv.   and    Floyd,   deceased,   all    born    in    Milton. 


610  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

Mr.  Green  served  for  five  years  as  a  member  of  the  board  of  aldermen  of  Milton, 
from  1903  until  1907  inclusive,  and  in  1908  he  was  a  member  of  the  school  board.  His 
aid  can  be  counted  upon  to  further  any  progressive  movement  for  the  benefit  of  town 
and  countj'  and  his  own  work  has  been  an  element  in  public  progress.  He  has  never  hesi- 
tated to  give  time,  money  and  effort  for  the  general  good  and  at  the  same  time  has  so 
conducted  his  business  affairs  that  substantial  results  have  accrued. 


JOHN  0.  LOVBERG. 


John  0.  Lovberg,  one  of  the  extensive  landowners  of  Cass  county,  is  a  native  son  of 
Xorway  and  possesses  the  excellent  traits  characteristic  of  his  race.  Ho  was  born  on  the 
13th  of  August,  1840,  a  son  of  Ole  and  Jennie  Lovberg,  who  were  lifelong  residents  of  that 
country.     Two  of  their  six  children  are  still  living. 

John  0.  Lovberg  attended  the  public  schools  of  his  native  land  in  the  acquirement  of  his 
education  and  continued  to  reside  in  Norway  until  1869,  when  he  came  to  the  United  States. 
For  three  years  he  made  his  home  in  the  vicinity  of  Northiield,  Minnesota,  but  at  the  end 
of  that  time  he  removed  to  Cass  county,  North  Dakota,  and  located  on  his  present  home  farm 
on  section  39,  Barnes  township.  At  that  time  the  county  was  but  thinly  settled  and  con- 
ditions of  life  were  those  of  a  frontier  district.  His  first  home  was  a  log  cabin  with  a  sod 
roof  and  that  continued  to  be  his  residence  for  twelve  years,  after  which  he  erected  a  fine 
frame  house.  He  has  also  made  many  other  improvements  upon  the  place,  putting  up 
excellent  barns  and  outbuildings  and  planting  a  fine  grove  of  trees.  His  faith  in  the  future 
of  North  Dakota  is  evidenced  in  the  fact  that  from  time  to  time  he  has  purchased  additional 
land  in  the  state,  his  holdings  now  totaling  eight  hundred  and  sixty-five  acres,  all  of  which 
is  improved. 

Jlr.  Lovberg  was  married  in  Norway  to  Miss  Karn  Danielson,  who  passed  away  in 
Minnesota  in  1871,  leaving  two  children,  Julius  and  Gustaf.  In  1879  Mr.  Lovberg  was  again 
married,  Miss  Mary  Olson  becoming  his  wife.  She  was  likewise  born  in  Norway,  whence  she 
emigrated  to  the  United  States  in  1877.  Eight  children  have  been  born  to  this  union,  as 
follows:  Ole,  Henry,  John,  Martin,  Edward,  Leroy,  Ida,  and  Minnie  the  wife  of  Theodore 
Ellingson,  now  a  resident  of  Fargo. 

Mr.  Lovberg  casts  his  ballot  in  support  of  the  reiaiblican  party  and  has  been  a  member 
of  the  township  board  and  a  school  director  for  forty  years  his  length  of  service  being  the 
best  proof  of  his  ability  and  conscientiousness.  Although  he  is  now  a  man  of  independent 
means,  when  he  crossed  the  Red  river  on  his  way  to  North  Dakota  he  was  without  a  cent 
and,  moreover,  had  two  small  children  to  provide  for.  He  was  quick  to  recognize  the 
opportunities  offered  in  this  new  coimtry  and  at  once  availed  himself  thereof,  working 
untiringly  in  order  to  secure  a  start.  His  business  acumen  has  enabled  him  to  invest 
wisely,  and  his  enterprise  and  thorough  knowledge  of  farming  have  made  him  one  of  the 
most  successful  farmers  of  his  county. 


GEORGE  FREDERICK  SHAFER. 

George  Frederick  Shafer,  living  at  Shafer,  North  Dakota,  and  filling  the  office  of  states 
attorney  of  JMcKenzie  county,  was  born  at  Taylor,  Stark  county,  North  Dakota,  Novem- 
ber 33,  1888,  a  son  of  Charles  and  Eva  (Diehm)  Shafer.  The  father  arrived  in  this  state 
in  1870  and  is  one  of  its  historic  characters,  being  closely  identified  with  its  pioneer  devel- 
opment and  subsequent  progress. 

George  F.  Shafer  was  reared  on  the  old  home  ranch  in  McKen/.ie  county  and  the 
town  of  Shafer,  which  is  the  county  seat,  is  now  on  land  that  was  and  still  is  the  Shafer 
ranch  headquarters.  He  was  the  first  white  child  in  McKenzie  county  and  as  there  were 
no  schools  in  the  county  at  the  time  he  pursued  his  education  at  Williston,  where  there 
was  a  log  schoolhouse.     I'rior  to  this,  Iiowever,  he  received  instruction  from  his'  father  and 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  613 

lUdtlu-r  on  tho  ramh  aiul  In;  was  twelve  years  of  age  when  he  startcil  to  public  school. 
Passing  through  consecutive  grades,  he  was  graduated  from  the  Willistuu  high  school 
in  lyOS  and  then  entered  the  University  of  North  Lhikota,  from  which  he  was  graduated 
in  1912  on  the  completion  of  a  law  course,  winning  the  LL.  B.  degree  and  also  the  vale- 
dictorian honors  of  his  class.  He  then  opened  a  law  oflice  in  the  town  of  Shafer  on  the 
1st  of  January,  1913,  and  in  tho  fall  of  1914  was  elected  states  attorney  of  McKcnzie 
countv,  which  position  he  is  now  filling,  and  is  again  a  candidate  for  the  ollicc  without 
opposition.  While  in  college  he  represented  the  State  University  in  three  intercollegiate 
debates,  the  first  being  held  in  the  spring  of  1909,  when  the  University  of  South  Dakota 
was  a  contestant,  the  second  being  held  with  Hamline  University  at  tit.  Paul,  Minnesota, 
and  the  third  with  the  University  of  South  Dakota  at  Urand  Forks.  In  1913  he  won 
the  debating  contest  for  the  University  of  North  Dakota  against  the  University  of  South 
Dakota  and  he  also  won  the  Merrifleld  prize  in  the  oratorical  contest  of  the  State  Univer- 
sity. In  the  spring  of  1912  he  was  a  delegate  from  the  University  of  North  Dakota  to  the 
convention  of  the  National  Civics  Clubs  held  at  Columbia  University.  New  York,  and 
adjourned  to  Washington,  D.  C,  where  the  delegates  were  taken  through  the  various 
department's  of  the  United  States  government,  tluis  obtaining  an  insight  into  the  man- 
agement of  allairs  at  the  capital.  Mr.  Shafer  has  every  reason  to  lie  proud  of  his  college 
record  as  a  speaker  and  debater  and  in  this  foreshadowed  the  success  of  his  later  life. 
He  has  won  a  creditable  position  as  a  member  of  the  bar  and  his  advancement  is  assured. 

On  the  1st  of  September,  1915,  Mr.  Shafer  was  married  to  Miss  Frances  Kellogg,  a 
native  of  Ohio  and  a  daughter  of  Franz  S.  and  Lula  (Rockhill;  Kellogg.  Her  father  was 
born  at  Rockhill,  Ashtabula  county,  Ohio,  and  became  a  pioneer  settler  of  Wyoming  and 
of  Colorado.  He  was  state  engineer  of  Wyoming  and  is  by  profession  a  civil  engineer. 
He  also  owned  a  stock  ranch  in  Wyoming  and  in  1901  removed  to  North  Dakota,  settling 
in  McKenzie  county,  where  he  has  an  extensive  ranch  property  and  is  regarded  as  one  of 
the  leading  stock  raisers  and  citizens  of  his  part  of  the  state.  His  wife  is  a  native  of 
Ohio.  Their  daughter,  Mrs.  Shafer,  spent  her  girlhood  in  Ohio,  Wyoming  and  North 
Dakota.  By  her  marriage  she  has  become  the  mother  of  one  child,  George  Francis,  who  was 
born. in  Shafer,  April  3,  191C. 

The  parents  are  members  of  the  Presbyterian  church  and  Mr.  Shafer  is  serving  on  the 
church  board.  Fraternally  he  is  connected  with  the  Odd  Fellows  lodge  of  Shafer,  of  which 
lie  is  vice  noble  grand,  and  he  is  also  clerk  of  Shafer  Camp,  No.  4303,  M.  W.  A.  He  exer- 
cises his  right  of  franchise  in  support  of  the  principles  and  candidates  of  the  republican 
party  but  has  never  been  an  oflice  seeker,  preferring  to  give  his  entire  time  and  attention 
to  his  professional  duties  although  he  is  a  close  and  discriminating  student  of  the  ques- 
tions and  issues  of  the  day. 


ARTHUR  K.  T.  WYLIJi,  M.  D, 

Dr.  Artluir  R.  T.  Wylie,  superintendent  of  the  North  Dakota  Institution  for  the 
Feeble  Minded  at  Grafton,  was  born  November  5,  1871,  in  Condit,  Ohio,  a  son  of  Robert 
Wylie,  who  was  born  in  the  Buckeye  state  and  belonged  to  one  of  the  old  Virginia  families 
of  Scotch  descent  that  was  founded,  however,  in  Ohio  at  an  early  period  in  the  pioneer 
development  of  the  latter  state.  He  was  a  Presbyterian  minister  who  devoted  many  years 
of  his  life  to  the  active  work  of  the  gospel  but  is  now  living  retired  in  the  enjoyment  of 
a  well  earned  rest  at  the  age  of  eighty  years.  His  wife,  who  bore  the  maiden  name  of 
Sarah  Jadden,  was  born  in  Ohio  and  is  of  Pennsylvania  Dutch  descent. 

Dr.  Wylie  was  the  eldest  in  their  family  of  four  children  and  the  public  schools  of 
his  native  state  afforded  him  his  early  educational  opportunities.  He  completed  a  high 
school  course  and  later  entered  Harvard  University,  from  which  he  was  graduated  in  1S93 
with  the  degree  of  Bachelor  of  Arts.  He  also  won  the  B.  A.  degree  at  Wooster  University 
in  the  class  of  1892  and  the  Ph.  D.  degree  was  there  conferred  upon  him  in  1894.  Later  he 
prc[iarcd  for  the  practice  of  medicine  as  a  student  in  the  University  of  Minnesota,  whore 
lie  gained  his  professional  degree   in   1906.     In  the  meantime,  when  he  had  completed   his 


61-4  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

college  course,  he  took  up  the  profession  of  teaching,  which  he  followed  for  three  years 
and  from  his  earnings  provided  the  means  for  his  medical  education.  Immediately  after 
his  graduation  he  became  assistant  physician  in  the  Minnesota  School  for  tlie  Feeble 
Minded  at  P'aribault,  where  he  continued  until  1910,  when  he  was  appointed  by  the  state 
board  of  trustees  to  the  position  of  superintendent  of  the  Xorth  Dakota  Institution  for 
the  Feeble  Minded  at  Grafton  and  has  since  remained  in  that  connection.  His  position 
is  one  of  large  responsibility  and  he  keeps  in  touch  with  the  latest  scientific  methods  of 
treatment,  care  and  instruction.  His  efforts  are  being  attended  with  excellent  results, 
the  school  making  substantial  progress  under  his  direction.  He  is  a  member  of  the  Amer- 
ican Association  for  the  Study  of  the  Feeble  Minded  and  he  belongs  as  well  to  the  North 
Dakota   State   Medical   Society  and   the  American   Medical   Association. 

At  St.  Paul,  on  the  8th  of  June,  1S99,  Dr.  Wylie  was  married  to  Miss  Eugenia  Kod- 
cliU'e,  a  native  of  South  Carolina.  His  political  allegiance  is  given  to  the  republican  party 
and  his  interest  in  community  all'airs  is  shown  by  his  membership  in  the  Commercial  Club 
of  Grafton.  He  was  made  a  Mason  at  Faribault,  Minnesota,  and  is  an  exemplar}'  represen- 
tative of  the  craft,  while  his  religious  belief  is  manifest  in  his  membership  in  the  Pres- 
byterian  church. 


GEORGE  M.  OrOXNOR. 


I 

Since  1883  George  M.  O'Connor  has  been  a  resident  of  Eddy  county  and  has  therefore 
witnessed  almost  its  entire  development.  As  an  agriculturist  he  aided  in  transforming  tlie 
wild  land  into  productive  farms  but  is  now  buyer  for  the  Farmers  Elevator  Company  of 
New  Rockford,  where  he  makes  his  home.  He  was  born  on  the  12th  of  December,  1870^ 
in  Venango  county,  Pennsylvania,  which  was  also  the  birthplace  of  his  parents,  Maurice 
and  Susan  (Ehoads)  O'Connor.  In  early  life  the  father  followed  farming  and  well  drill- 
ing, having  drilled  many  wells  in  the  oil  regions  of  Pennsylvania  and  also  artesian  wells 
in  Iowa  and  Wisconsin.  In  1882  he  came  to  Eddy  county.  North  Dakota,  and  filed  on  land 
a  mile  and  a  half  from  New  Eockford.  He  was  engaged  in  the  improvement  ai»d  operation 
of  that  farm  until  1901,  when  he  retired  from  active  labor  and  returned  to  his  old  home 
in  Pennsylvania,  where  he  passed  away  in  1910.  The  motlier  of  our  subject  is  still 
living. 

George  M.  O'Connor  spent  the  lirst  twelve  years  of  his  life  in  his  native  state  and 
then  accompanied  his  parents  on  their  removal  to  Eddy  county.  North  Dakota.  There 
were  only  eight  children  in  school  at  New  Rockford  when  he  became  a  pupil.  In  1900  he 
filed  on  land  three  miles  southeast  of  the  town  and  engaged  in  its  cultivation  for  three 
years  but  sold  out  at  the  end  of  that  time  and  turned  his  attention  to  contracting  in  New 
Rockford.  He  took  contracts  for  grading,  moving  buildings,  etc.,  for  about  five  years,  and 
then  became  connected  witli  the  Farmers  Elevator  Compau}'  as  bu3'er,  in  which  capacity 
he  is   still   acting. 

In  October,  1898,  Mr.  O'Connor  married  Miss  Marian  Broughton,  by  whom  he  has 
si.x  children,  namely:  Alice,  Frank,  George,  Glenn,  Ruth  and  Harriet.  Mrs.  O'Connor  and 
the  children  are  members  of  the  Congregational  church,  and  Mr.  O'Connor  is  identified  with 
the  Yeomen  lodge.  His  political  support  is  given  tlie  republican  party.  The  family  are 
held  in  high  esteem  by  all  who  know  them. 


EDWARD   I.   DONOVAN,  M.  D. 

Dr.  Edward  I.  Donovan,  president  of  the  Citizens  Bank  of  Langdon  and  one  of  the  best 
known  physicians  and  business  men  of  Cavalier  county,  was  born  on  the  25th  of  December, 
1858,  in  Northumberland  county,  Ontario,  Canada.  His  parents,  Patrick  and  Ellen  (O'Connor) 
Donovan,  were  natives  of  the  Emerald  isle  and  on  crossing  the  Atlantic  in  1837  located  in 
Canada,  where  the  father  followed  farming  as  a  life  work.     He  died  in  1884  at  the  age  of 


HISTORY  OF  XOR'Ill   DAKOTA  615 

sixty-eight  yesus,  and  the  mother,  wlio  hiiig  survived  liim,  passed  away  in  I'JU  at  tlie 
extreme  old  age  of  ninety-three.  They  had  six  eliildreii,  ui  wlioni  the  Udetur  is  tlie  next 
to  the   youngest. 

Dr.  Donovan  grew  to  manluiod  in  Canada,  attending  tlie  public  schools  and  also  the 
high  school  at  Campbellford,  Ontario.  On  the  completion  of  his  education  he  engaged  in 
teaching  school  for  four  years,  and  then  took  up  the  study  of  medicine  in  Queens  College 
at  Kingston,  Ontario,  from  which  he  was  graduated  with  the  M.  D.  Degree  in  1886.  Soon 
after  his  grail\uition  the  Doctor  located  at  Xeche,  North  Dakota,  where  he  was  engaged 
in  practice  with  his  brother,  Dr.  P.  C.  Donovan  for  one  year,  but  in  1S8T  he  removed  to 
hangdon  and  has  since  been  identified  with  the  professional  and  business  interests  of  that 
place.  The  atizens  State  Bank  was  established  in  1893  and  he  became  its  president  in  1895, 
in  which  capacity  he  has  since  served;  making  the  bank  what  it  is  today — one  of  the  safest 
financial  institutions  of  North  Dakota.  The  business  transacted  over  its  counters  has  now 
readied  a  large  volume,  due  to  the  confidence  tlie  public  has  in  its  oflicials.  The  Doctor 
is  also  president  of  the  State  Bank  of  Hannah  and  the  Bank  of  Mowbray,  North  Dakota. 
In  1887  he  established  a  drug  store  in  Langdon,  which  he  has  since  conducted  with  growing 
success,  and  he  erected  the  building  where  he  carries  on   the  business. 

At  Kingston,  Canada,  Dr.  Donovan  was  married  in  1890  to  iliss  Mary  McKenty,  a 
daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  .John  JIcKenty.  There  is  one  child  by  this  union:  Kdward  J., 
who  was  born  in  Langdon  in  1894  and  was  gi-aduated  from  the  higli  school  of  that  place, 
being  now  a  student  in  the  law  department  of  the  Catholic  University  of  Washington,  D.  C, 

Politically  Dr.  Donovan  affiliates  with  the  democratic  party  and  religiously  he  is  con- 
nected with  the  Roman  Catholic  church  and  the  Knights  of  Columbus.  He  also  holds 
membership  in  the  American  Jledical  Association,  the  Dakota  Medical  Society  and  the 
District  Medical  .Society  and  through  these  organizations  he  keeps  well  posted  on  the 
advancement  being  made  in  his  profession.  In  business  circles  he  occupies  a  prominent 
position,  being  regarded  as  one  of  the  leading  bankers  of  his  section  of  the  state.  On  start- 
ing out  in  life  for  himself  he  was  in  limited  circumstances  and  the  success  that  has  come 
to  him  is  due  to  his  own  enterprise,  sound  judgment  and  good  management,  which  have 
made  him  one  of  the  most  substantial  as  well  as  one  of  the  most  useful  citizens  of  Langdon. 


GEORGE   M.    PHlCi:. 


George  M.  Price,  attorney  at  law  practicing  in  Langdon,  is  a  native  of  Iowa,  liis  birth 
having  occurred  in  Iowa  City,  December  .30,  1874.  His  father,  Benjamin  Price,  was  born 
in  Ohio,  a  descendant  of  one  of  the  old  families  of  that  state  which  in  previous  generations 
was  established  in  Maryland  by  Welsh  ancestors.  The  foimder  of  the  American  branch  of 
the  family  settled  in  Calvert  county,  Maryland,  (ninr  to  the  Revolutionary  war,  and  repre- 
sentatives of  the  family  served  with  the  American  army  in  the  struggle  for  independence. 
Dr.  Benjamin  Price  is  a  dentist  who  graduated  from  the  State  University  of  Iowa,  and  for 
many  years  practised  in  Iowa  City  where  he  was  also  prominent  in  political  <  ircles  and 
in  support  of  high  standards  of  civic  life.  He  married  Priscilla  Miliies,  a  native  of  England 
who  came  to  America  in  1859  with  her  parents,  George  M.  and  Rosa  (Freckingham)  Milnes, 
who  settled  in  .Springdale,  Iowa,  where  they  spent  their  remaining  days.  Dr.  and  Mrs.  Price 
noAV  reside  in  Pasadena,  California,  and  he  has  retired  from  active  connection  with  his 
profession.  They  are  parents  of  four  living  children:  Estella,  the  widow  of  Henry  Brown, 
a  resident  of  Covina,  California:  Louis,  a  merchant  of  Sfonta  Vista,  California;  George  M. ; 
and    Mildred,   who    is    with    her    parents. 

-After  attending  the  public  and  high  schools  of  Iowa  City,  George  M.  Price  continued 
his  studies  in  the  collegiate  and  law  departments  of  the  Iowa  State  L'niversity,  from  which 
he  was  graduated  with  the  LL.  B.  degree  in  1899.  Later  he  located  for  practise  in  Des 
Moines,  Iowa,  where  he  remained  for  a  year  and  in  April,  1901,  arrived  in  Langdon,  North 
Dakota,  where  he  immediately  entered  upon  the  active  practise  of  his  profession  and  also 
engaged  in  the  loan  business  with  W.  A.  Laidlow,  who  was  then  cashier  of  the  Citizens 
State  bank.     Their  interests  w-ere  conducted  under  the  firm  name  of  Laidlow  &  Price  until 


616  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

1906  when  JIi'.  Price  witlidiow  from  that  connection  and  has  since  concentrated  his  efforts 
exclusively  upon  the  practise  of  law  in  which  he  is  now  accorded  a  very  gratifying  and 
important  clientage.  He  has  proven  resourceful  in  handling  his  cases  and  strong  and  logical 
in  presenting  his  arguments.  He  still  retains  banking  connections  as  a  director  in  the 
Citizens  State  bank  of  Langdon. 

It  was  in  Langdon  on  the  ISth  of  January,  1904,  that  Mr.  Price  wedded  Miss  Isabel 
McKenty,  a  native  of  Kingston,  Ontario,  and  a  daughter  of  John  and  Bethia  (Raney) 
McKenty,  both  now  deceased.  The  father  was  of  Scotch-Irish  descent  and  the  mother  came 
of  English  and  Scotch  ancestry.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Price  have  two  sons:  George  R.,  born  in 
Langdon  Marcli  5,  1909,  and  Robert  R.,  born  November  1,  1911. 

Ml-.  Price  is  a  member  of  the  First  Presbyterian  church  of  Langdon  and  he  belongs  to 
the  Knights  of  Pythias  and  the  Masonic  fraternity.  He  was  made  a  Mason  at  Iowa  City, 
Iowa,  and  has  taken  the  thirteenth  degree  in  the  Scottish  Rite  at  Langdon.  Politically  he 
is  an  active  and  stalwart  republican  and  for  several  terms  was  city  attorney  of  Langdon, 
while  from  1901  until  January,  1905,  he  was  states  attorney,  having  been  reelected  to  the 
office.  He  concentrates  his  energies  upon  his  professional  interests  and  is  a  member  of  the 
county  and  state  bar  associations.  In  a  profession  where  advancement  depends  entirely  upon 
individual  merit  and  ability  he  has  steadily  worked  his  way  upward  and  has  achieved 
more  than   local   distinction   as   an   able   lawyer. 


JOSEPH  ROGERS,  M.  D. 


Dr.  Joseph  Rogers,  of  Alexander,  is  numbered  among  the  prominent  surgeons  of  the 
western  part  of  the  state.  Pronounced  ability  has  brought  him  to  the  front  and  that  he 
has  kept  in  touch  with  the  trend  of  modern  scientific  thought,  research  and  investigation  is 
indicated  in  his  most  thoroughly  equipped  hospital.  He  was  born  in  Cedarville,  Ontario, 
Canada,  September  26,  1877,  a  son  of  Samuel  and  Sarah  (Cook)  Rogers.  The  father  was 
born  in  Streetsville,  Ontario,  and  took  up  the  business  oi  milling  and  farming,  which  he 
followed  for  many  years,  but  is  now  living  retired  in  Saskatchewan.  His  wife  was  born 
in  Clinton,  Ontario,  and  they  now  make  their  home  at  Lloydminstei,  .Saskatchewan. 

Dr.  Rogers  acquired  his  early  education  in  the  public  school  of  Cedarville,  Gray  county, 
Ontario,  and  later  attended  the  high  school  of  Mount  Forest,  Ontario.  Subsequently  he 
entered  the  Ontario  College  of  Pharmacy  in  which  he  won  the  Ph.  M.  B.  degree.  Upon  that 
broad  foundation  he  built  the  superstructure  of  medical  knowledge.  From  1901  until  1903 
he  was  a  student  in  Trinity  Medical  College,  which  in  the  latter  year  was  consolidated  with 
the  Toronto  Medical  College,  and  there  Dr.  Rogers  remained  until  he  won  his  M.  D.  degree 
in  igO-l.  In  June  of  that  year  he  opened  an  office  at  Donnybrook,  Ward  county.  North 
Dakota,  where  he  followed  his  profession  until  1914,  when  he  sold  out  his  practice  there. 
He  was  at  that  time  a  candidate  for  state  senator  on  the  democratic  ticket  but  lost  the 
election  by  thirty  votes.  However,  it  was  a  defeat  that  meant  almost  a  victory,  for  he 
carried  thirteen  out  of  twsnty-flve  precincts  in  his  district,  winning  the  election  in  every 
district  in  which  he  made  a  campaign.  In  1914  he  removed  to  Alexander  and  opened  a 
piivate  hospital.  This  is  a  thoroughly  modern  institution  in  its  equipment,  being  supplied 
with  every  convenience  and  accessory  necessary  to  the  performance  of  all  kinds  of  major 
and  minor  operations.  He  enjoys  a  well  earned  reputation  as  a  surgeon  of  rare  ability  and 
skill  and  while  he  yet  continues  in  the  practice  of  general  surgery  he  specializes  in  abdominal 
surgery  and  is  well  qualified  for  most  important  work  of  that  character.  The  Doctor  owns 
two  farms,  one  in  Ward  county,  near  Donnybrook,  and  the  other  in  Montraill  county,  near 
Stanley. 

At  Donnybrook,  North  Dakota,  on  the  34th  of  April,  1907,  Dr.  Rogers  was  married 
to  Miss  Edith  E.  Magoon,  who  was  born  in  Minneapolis,  Minnesota  and  there  attended  the 
city  schools.  After  leaving  the  high  school  she  was  graduated  from  the  Nurses'  Training 
School  of  the  Northwestern  Hospital  of  Minneapolis  and  she  has  been  of  great  assistance 
to  Dr.  Rogers  in  his  woik.  She  has  become  the  mother  of  a  son,  Joseph,  .Jr.,  who  was  born 
in  Donnyljrook,  March  1,  191.S.  and  who  is  the  life  and  light  of  the  household. 


DR.  JOSEPH  ROGERS 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  619 

Dr.  Rogers  luaintains  an  iudeijendciit  euuise  in  politics  but  leans  to  tlie  democratic 
party.  He  is  also  a  strong  advocate  of  prohibition  and  has  always  followed  the  strictest 
temperance  principles.  He  is  now  president  of  the  Commercial  Club  of  Alexander  and 
fraternally  is  connected  with  the  Masons,  the  Odd  Fellows,  the  United  Workmen  and  the 
Modern  Woodmen  of  America  at  Alexander.  He  likewise  has  membership  in  the  Methodist 
i:piscopal  chuicli  and  ho  puts  forth  every  effort  that  tends  to  place  the  community  upon 
a  higher  level  of  living  or  introduce  loftier  .5;tamlards  of  thought  and  purpose.  His  personal 
worth  as  well  as  his  professional  skill  have  gained  for  him  a  notable  position  in  public 
regard. 


JAMES  F.  GORTHY. 


.James  F.  Gorthy,  who  is  farming  in  Courtenay  township,  Stutsman  county,  was  born 
in  New  York  in  1861,  a  son  of  David  and  Mary  Gorthy,  who  in  1882  emigrated  westward 
and  established  their  home  in  Fargo,  North  Dakota,  where  they  lived  for  a  year  and  a  half. 
They  then  took  up  a  homestead  west  of  Cooperstown,  where  they  lived  for  a  number  of 
years,  but  in  1908  went  to  the  state  of  Washington. 

.James  F.  Gorthy  spent  about  fifteen  years  of  his  boyhood  and  youth  in  the  province 
of  Quebec,  Canada,  to  which  he  went  with  his  parents,  and  in  1882,  when  twenty-one  years 
of  age,  he  made  his  way  to  Fargo,  where  he  was  joined  by  his  parents  the  following  year. 
North  Dakota  was  then  a  frontier  region  and  buffalo  were  still  found  in  that  section  of 
the  state,  while  many  other  evidences  of  pioneer  life  were  to  be  seen  and  many  hardships 
and  privations  had  to  be  endured  by  the  early  settlers.  Mr.  Gorthy  \vas  employed  in  the 
vicinity  of  Fargo  for  about  a  year  and  a  half  and  in  1883  ho  took  up  a  homestead  west  of 
Cooperstown,  where  compliance  with  the  law  regarding  occupancy  and  improvement  brought 
him  title  to  the  property,  upon  which  he  lived  for  sixteen  years,  transforming  the  wild 
tract  into  a  well  developed  farm.  He  then  removed  to  Franklin  county,  Kansas,  where  he 
cultivated  a  rented  farm  for  three  years,  and  on  the  expiration  of  that  period  he  established 
his  home  at  Wimbledon.  A  year  later  he  purchased  a  quarter  section  of  land  at  Spiritwood 
hake  and  when  his  financial  resources  had  sufficiently  increased  he  added  another  quarter 
section,  living  upon  that  farm  for  twelve  or  thirteen  years.  In  the  meantime,  however,  he 
went  to  Oregon,  where  he  worked  at  the  carpenter's  trade  for  three  years,  after  which  he 
returned  to  North  Dakota.  He  now  makes  his  home  in  Courtenay  township,  Stutsman 
county,  where  he  is  engaged  in  general  farming  and  stock  raising,  specializing  more  and 
more  largely  in  the  raising  of  blooded  stock.  He  now  has  twenty  head  of  high  grade  cattle 
on  his  place,  fifteen  head  of  Jersey  Red  hogs  and  twenty  head  of  Percheron  horses.  He  also 
operated  a  threshing  machine  for  a  number  of  years. 

Mr.  Gorthy  was  married  to  Miss  Frances  0.  Shear,  who  was  born  in  New  York,  but 
the  marriase  was  celebrated  in  Cooperstown,  North  Dakota.  They  have  six  children,  Fredie 
Clinton,  CTarence  J.,  Mary  O.,  Ethel  D.,  Robert  H.  and  Frances  Janet. 

In  polilics  ilr.  Gorthy  is  a  democrat  and  has  held  some  township  offices,  but  his  ambition 
is  not  in  the  lino  of  office  holding  as  he  prefers  to  concentrate  his  energies  upon  his  business 
affairs,  and  his  close  application  and  intelligently  directed  efforts  are  winning  for  him  sub- 
stantial success  in  his  farming  operations. 


JOSIAII  FLATT. 


For  a  considerable  period  .losiah  Klatt  was  numbered  among  the  progressive  and  enter- 
prising agriculturists  of  Cass  county  and  v.on  success  through  his  earnest,  persistent  efforts. 
He  was  born  in  England,  October  7,  183-1.  and  there  spent  the  days  of  his  boyhood  and 
youth  until  he  crossed  the  Atlantic  to  Canada  when  fourteen  years  of  ago.  He  remained  a 
resident  of  that  country  until  1878,  which  year  witnessed  his  arrival  in  North  Dakota.  He 
took  up  his  abode  at  Fargo,  where  he  remained  for  seven  years  and  then  purchased  the 
farm  that  his  widow  still  occupies,  becoming  the  owner  of  four  hundred  and  eighty  acres 


620  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

of  rich  and  productive  land  on  section  28,  Kenyon  townsliip,  Cass  county.  He  at  once  began 
to  develop  and  improve  the  property  and  thereon  erected  a  number  of  fine  buildings  and 
added  other  modern  equipments. 

Mr.  Flatt  was  twice  married.  In  Canada  ho  wedded  Jliss  Rachel  Lyons,  who  passed 
away  in  that  country  and  by  wliom  he  had  eight  children.  In  1S73  Mr.  Flatt  was  agaiii 
married,  Iiis  second  union  being  with  Miss  Tamar  Whitlej',  a  native  of  Canada  and  a 
daugliter  of  AMlliam  and  Abigail  (Hughson)  WTiitley,  both  of  whom  passed  away  in  that 
country.  By  his  second  wife  Mr.  Flatt  had  thirteen  children,  of  whom  the  following  sur- 
vive: Thomas  G.,  who  follows  farming  in  Cass  county;  Josiah;  Wesley;  Walter,  at  home; 
Emma  G.,  who  is  the  wife  of  George  Gould;  Edna  May,  who  gave  her  hand  in  marriage 
to   Warren  Collins;   and  Earl,  who  is  still  at  home. 

The  death  of  the  husband  and  father  occurred  March  12,  1910,  and  he  was  laid  to  rest 
in  tlie  Rose  Valley  cemetery,  leaving  a  widow  and  seven  children  to  mourn  his  loss.  She 
still  gives  personal  supervision  to  the  operation  of  the  farm  and  displays  good  business 
ability  in  its  management.  Slie  belongs  to  the  Free  Methodist  church,  in  the  work  of  which 
she  takes  an  active  and  helpful  part,  and  her  well  spent  life  has  gained  her  high  regard 
wherever  she  is  known.  Mr.  Flatt  was  also  a  consistent  Christian,  belonging  to  the  Free 
Methodist  church,  and  in  his  political  views  he  was  an  earnest  democrat  but  he  never  sought 
nor  held  office.  He  was  much  interested  in  the  schools  of  the  communitj'  and  the  cause  of 
education  found  in  him  a  stalwart  champion.  In  his  business  career  his  record  was  one  of 
steady  progi-ess  resulting  from  indefatigable  energy,  persistency  of  purpose  and  honorable 
dealing,  and  thus  it  was  that  he  was  able  to  leave  his  widow  in  very  comfortable  financial 
circumstances. 


CAPTAIN  CYRUS  H.  CULVER. 

Captain  Cyrus  H.  Culver,  wlio  now  makes  his  home  in  New  Rockford,  is  one  of  the 
honored  veterans  of  the  Civil  war,  in  which  struggle  he  won  his  title.  For  almost  three 
years  he  fought  for  the  preservation  of  the  Union  and  for  brave  and  meritorious  service 
rose  from  the  ranks  to  captain  of  his  company.  He  has  always  been  found  a  loyal  and 
trustworthy  citizen  and  during  his  residence  in  North  Dakota  has .  done  much  to  promote 
the  interests  of  the  state  along  various  lines. 

The  Captain  was  born  in  Sherman,  Chautauqua  county.  New  York,  June  5,  1839,  a  son 
of  Heman  and  Rhoda  .Jane  (Cornish)  Culver.  The  mother  was  also  a  native  of  Chautauqua 
county,  New  Y'ork,  but  the  birth  of  the  father  occurred  in  Erie  county,  Pennsylvania.  The 
latter,  who  was  a  farmer  by  occupation,  left  New  York  in  the  fall  of  1844,  and  with  his 
family  removed  to  Boone  county,  Illinois,  where  he  took  up  a  homestead  and  engaged 
in  its  operation  for  ten  years.  He  then  went  to  Cliickasaw  county,  Iowa,  where  he  purchased 
land  and  followed  farming  for  many  years,  but  at  length  retired  and  made  his  home  with 
his  children  in  Cliarles  City,  Floyd  county,  Iowa.  He  died  in  Osage,  Iowa,  in  1889  and  liis 
wife  passed  away  in  1894. 

In  the  public  schools  of  Illinois  and  Iowa  Captain  Culver  obtained  his  education.  At 
the  age  of  nineteen  years  he  left  home  and  secured  work  at  cutting  cord  wood  in  Illinois. 
On  leaving  there  he  went  to  Oil  City,  Pennsylvania,  where  he  was  engaged  in  the  oil  business 
until  1862.  Feeling  that  his  country  needed  his  services  he  enlisted  on  the  12th  of  August, 
that  year,  in  Company  I,  One  Hundred  and  Forty-second  Pennsylvania  Infantry,  with  which 
he  served  for  two  years  and  eleven  months.  He  vpas  promoted  from  fifth  sergeant  to 
orderly  sergeant  and  at  the  end  of  a  year  and  a  half  was  made  first  lieutenant  but  after 
serving  with  that  rank  for  one  month  was  commissioned  captain  of  his  company  and  as 
such  was  mustered  out  at  the  close  of  the  war.  He  participated  in  many  hotly  contested 
battles  and  was  several  times  wounded  but  not  seriously,  although  at  Cold  Harbor  he  was 
struck  by  a  piece  of  shell  near  the  backbone  and  the  injury  was  very  painful.  In  one 
engagement  his  clothes  were  pierced  by  twenty-seven  bullet  holes.  He  was  never  in  the 
hospital,  however,  and  was  always  found  in  the  thickest  of  the  fight. 

On  leaving  the  army  Captain  Culver  went  to  Michigan,  where  he  spent  one  year,  and 


HISTORY  OF  NOR'lll   DAKOTA  G21 

tliiMi  roturni'd  to  t'liickiisaw  county,  Iowa.  wIktc  he  ami  a  l)r(^tlu■r  boujjlit  tlic  father's  farm 
iiiul  operated  it  until  1872.  The  Captain  tlien  went  to  Central  America  but  during  the 
year  spent  in  that  country  he  lost  all  that  he  had  previously  made.  On  his  return  to  the 
United  States  he  located  in  Henry  county,  Illinois,  wlicre  he  began  life  anew  by  working 
for  others  for  three  years.  At  the  end  of  that  time  he  rit\uned  to  New  Hampton,  Iowa. 
where  he  remained  two  years,  and  tlien  iijiiiiii  went  to  .Michigan,  where  tlic  folhiwing 
three  years  were  passed. 

In  1882  Captain  Culver  came  to  North  Dakota  and  assisted  in  organizing  Foster  county, 
which  at  first  extended  to  the  Canadian  line.  He  was  ai)pointed  assessor  of  the  new  county 
and  tilled  that  jiosition  for  seven  years.  He  filed  on  land  and  engaged  in  its  cultivation  until 
1895,  in  the  meantime  adding  to  his  property  as  he  found  opportunity  until  he  had  eight 
hundred  acres  which  he  still  owns,  this  being  located  twelve  miles  east  of  New  Uockford. 
On  account  of  ill  health  he  left  the  farm  in  1895  and  went  to  St.  Paul,  Minnesota,  where  he 
resided  long  enough  to  educate  his  son  at  the  State  University  of  Minnesota.  Later  he  and 
liis  wife  lived  with  a  son,  who  was  a  ()hysieian  in  Barron  county,  Wisconsin,  for  three  years, 
but  at  the  end  of  that  time  the  family  removed  to  Sioux  Falls,  South  Dakota,  where  the 
Doctor  is  still  engaged  in  practice.  After  making  their  home  there  for  three  years.  Captain 
Culver  and  his  wife  returned  to  New  Rockford,  where  they  now  occupy  a  fine  modern  resi- 
dence, surrounded  by  all  the  comforts  and  nuiny  of  the  luxuries  of  life. 

It  was  on  the  25th  of  .January,  18G5,  that  the  Captain  married  Miss  Alsina  Pettit, 
a  daughter  of  Seth  and  Nancy  (Millin)  Pettit,  the  former  a  native  of  Saratoga  Springs, 
New  York,  and  the  latter  of  Erie  county,  Pennsylvania.  Mr.  Pettit  became  a  farmer  of  Erie 
county,  where  he  continued  to  make  his  home  until  his  death,  which  occurred  in  1886.  His 
wife  died  in  l'.ini  at  the  age  of  eighty-two  years.  Captain  and  Mrs.  Culver  had  three  children: 
Fred  D.,  who  was  born  January  24,  18fi7,  and  is  now  extensively  engaged  in  fruit  farming 
in  Washington;  Charles  F.,  who  was  born  April  3,  1872,  and  is  practicing  medicine  in  Sioux 
Falls.  South  Dakota:  and  Fanny,  wlm  was  born  Jaiuiary  6,  1876,  and  died  on  the  i:'.tli  of  the 
following  Fi'bruary. 

While  living  on  his  farm  Captain  Culver  devoted  considerable  attention  to  the  raising  of 
graded  stock.  Ho  is  now  a  stockholder  in  the  New  Rockford  Publishing  Company,  which 
publishes  the  New  Rockford  State  Center,  a  daily  paper,  and  the  Agricultural  Northwest, 
which  is  a  semi-monthly  farm  paper,  and  he  is  also  a  stockholder  in  the  Equity  Cooperative 
I'lxcliange  at  St.  Paul,  Minnesota,  and  the  Equity  Iillevator  Company  of  New  Rockford,  North 
Dakota,  of  which  he  was  one  of  the  organizers.  For  over  half  a  century  he  has  been  identified 
with  the  M:isonic  fraternity,  has  taken  the  degrees  of  the  Scottish  Rite  and  is  a  member  of 
the  Shrine.  The  Captain  is  also  a  prominent  member  of  the  Crand  Army  of  the  Republic 
and  every  year  attends  the  national  cncamjiments  of  that  order.  As  color  bearer  for  North 
Dakota,  he  carried  the  Hag  in  the  procession  at  Washington,  D.  C,  in  1902  and  again  in 
1015.  In  religious  faith  he  is  a  Congregationalist  and  in  politics  is  non-partisan.  He  is  a 
man  in  whom  the  public  have  the  utmost  confidence  and  he  is  deserving  of  prominent  men- 
tion in  this  volume  as  one  of  the  loyal  defenders  of  the  Union  during  the  dark"  days  of  the 
Civil  war  and  as  one  of  the  pioneers  of  North  Dakota  who  bore  his  part  in  the  early  develop- 
ment and   upljuiMiiig   of  the  state. 


NILS  H.  RINDE. 


Nils  H.  Rinde,  a  resident  of  Grafton  iind  cleik  of  the  district  court  of  Walsh  county, 
was  born  at  Northfield,  Minnesota,  January  12,  1850.  His  father,  Hans  H.  Rinile,  a  native 
of  Norway,  came  to'  America  in  1851  and  took  up  his  abode  among  the  pioneer  settlers 
of  Wisconsin,  where  he  engaged  successfully  in  farming.  In  185r!  he  removed  to  Minnesota 
and  established  his  home  in  Rice  county  when  the  work  of  progress  and  development 
seemed  scarcely  begun  there.  With  the  outbreak  of  the  Civil  war  he  responded  to  the 
country's  call  for  troops  and  joined  the  army  as  a  member  of  Comjiany  H,  Fourth  Minne- 
sota Infantry,  with  which  he  served  until  the  close  of  the  w;ir.  participating  in  several 
important   engagements  and   the   marcli   under   Sherman    from   Atlanta   to   the   sea.      He   was 


622  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

always  loyal  to  his  dvity  whether  upon  the  firing  line  or  the  lonely  picket  line,  and  fol- 
lowing the  close -of  the  war  he  became  a  member  of  the  Grand  Army  post,  thus  maintaining 
pleasant  relations  with  his  old  comrades,  the  "boys  in  blue."  In  1883  he  removed  to 
Walsh  county.  North  Dakota,  and  homcsteaded  on  one  liundred  and  sixty  acres  of  land 
in  Dundee  township,  remaining  thereon  for  the  time  required  to  bring  him  his  title  to 
the  property.  He  then  returned  to  Minnesota,  where  he  resided  until  his  death,  wiiich 
occurred  when  he  was  seventy-six  years  of  age.  His  political  support  was  given  to  the 
republican  party  and  he  was  active  in  local  politics  and  civic  at! airs.  Jn  Norway  he  wedded 
Eandi  Borlaug,  a  native  of  that  country,  and  when  they  crossed  the  Atlantic  they  were 
thirteen  weeks  en  route.     She  passed  away  in  1911,  at  tlie  age  of  seventy-six  years. 

Nils  H.  Rinde  was  the  third  of  eleven  children  born  of  that  marriage.  The  common 
schools  of  Minnesota  afl'orded  him  his  early  educational  privileges  and  later  he  altended 
college  at  Northfield,  Minnesota.  His  youthful  days  -vvere  spent  upon  the  home  farm  an<i 
he  early  took  up  the  task  of  assisting  in  the  work  of  the  fields  and  the  care  of  the  crops. 
At  the  age  of  twenty-four  years  he  started  out  independently  to  earn  his  living,  taking 
up  the  profession  of  teaching,  which  he  followed  for  two  years  in  Minnesota  and  in  Walsh 
county,  North  Dakota,  where  he  settled  in  1880.  It  was  on  the  31st  of  April  of  that 
year  that  he  arrived  in  Grand  Korks,  North  Dakota,  but  soon  afterward  he  took  up  a 
preemption  in  Walsh  county  and  has  since  engaged  in  farming.  His  place  eomjjrises  three 
hundred  and  si.xty  acres  of  rich  and  productive  land  and  is  now  being  operated  by  his 
sons,  while  the  father  gives  his  attention  to  his  official  duties.  He  is  today  the  oldest' 
official  in  Walsh  county  in  years  of  continuous  connection  witli  oHice,  for  in  November, 
1898,  he  was  elected  clerk  of  the  district  court,  which  position  he  has  since  successfully 
filled,  being  chosen  again  and  again  for  that  service.  In  1903  and  again  in  1905  he  was 
elected  a  member  of  the  state  legislature,  representing  the  third  district  in  the  house  of 
representatives  for  two  terms.  He  sat  on  the  democratic  side  of  the  house,  for  he  has 
always  been  a  stalwart  champion  of  democratic  prineiijles  and  has  been  an  active  worker 
in  political   circles   and   in   support   of   progressive   civic   matters. 

In  Rice  county,  Minnesota,  in  November,  1879,  Mr.  Rinde  w-as  married  to  Miss  Inga- 
borg  Hove,  a  native  of  Norway  and  a  daughter  of  Sjur  and  Vrita  (Borlang)  Hove,  the 
former  now  deceased,  while  the  latter  is  still  living.  Mis.  Rinde  departed  this  life  at 
Grafton  in  May,  1907,  at  the  age  of  forty-five  years.  She  had  become  the  mother  of 
twelve  children,  of  whom  eleven  survive:  Hamilton,  Samuel,  Rosa  Bella,  Mathilda,  Nich- 
olas, Oliver,  Joseph,  Nels,  Edward,  Elinora  and  Leonora.  The  last  named  is  the  wife  of 
Amund  Ilalvorson,  of  Ward  county.  North  JJakota.  One  daughter,  Anna  Marie,  has  passed 
away. 

Jlr.  Rinde  holds  membership  with  tlie  Modern  Woodmen  of  America  and  the  Yeomen 
and  his  religious  belief  is  evidenced  in  his  membersliip  in  the  United  Lutheran  church.  He 
belongs  to  the  Commercial  Club  and  actively  cooperates  in  its  work  for  the  benefit  and 
upbuilding  of  citj'  and  district.  He  is  a  self-made  man  and  deserves  all  the  credit  which 
that  term  implies.  He  left  home  with  a  cash  capital  of  one  hundred  and  twenty-five  dol- 
lars, of  which  sixty-five  dollars  was  spent  to  bring  his  car  of  goods  and  supplies  to  Walsh 
county.  He  has  since  steadily  worked  his  way  upward,  working  earnestly  and  persistently, 
his  untiring  industry  and  determination   gaining  for  him  the  success  which   is  his. 


CARL  KING. 


A  very  small  percentage  of  North  Dakota's  citizens  are  native  sons  of  the  county  in 
which  they  reside,  but  Carl  King  has  that  distinction,  for  he  now  makes  his  home  near 
Cuba,  in  Barnes  county,  and  his  birth  occurred  in  Valley  City,  November  30,  1878.  His 
father,  1'.  0.  King,  was  born  at  Hamar,  Norway,  April  3,  1847,  pursued  his  education  there 
and  afterward  learned  the  cabinet  maker's  trade  in  Christiania,  where  at  the  same  time 
he  was  attending  the  government  schools,  being  a  pupil  in  the  drafting  department.  He 
married  Karen  Iverson  and  in  1873  crossed  the  Atlantic  to  the  new  world,  spending  two 
years    in    Duhith.      He    later    removed    to    Menomonie,    Wisconsin,    where    he    remained    until 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  623 

1S77,  being  eniploycd  during  lliat  period  at  his  trade.  Jn  April  ul'  tlio  latter  year  lie 
took  up  his  abode  at  Farmington,  now  Valley  City.  Practically  no  houses  had  been  erected 
on  the  town  site  at  the  tinii'.  although  the  settlers  were  (locking  in  at  that  period,  and 
thus  work  became  plcntiliil.  lie  engaged  in  carpentering  and  building  and  erected  most 
of  the  iirst  houses  there  constructed,  continuing  his  building  operations  tor  eight  years. 
In  KSS5  he  ))urchased  a  homestead  right  six  miles  south  of  Valley  City  and  thereon  resided 
until  1U07,  when  he  retired  and  is  now  living  in  Kugcne,  Oregon,  while  his  sons,  Henry 
and  Edward,  operate  his  homestead  larm  in  Barnes  county  of  live  hundred  and  sixty 
acres,  lie  returns  frequently  to  superintend  the  further  development  of  that  place  and 
with  the  assistance  of  his  sons  has  recently  completed  a  barn  lifty-eight  by  one  hundred 
feet.  The  first  lloor,  of  cement  construction,  is  arranged  for  the  stabling  of  horses  and 
cattle,  while  the  immense  room  above  furnishes  ample  shelter  for  two  hundred  tons  of 
hay.  This  is  one  of  the  largest  and  best  barns  in  the  state  ami  in  ventilation,  arrangement 
and  equipment  is  thoroughly  modern.  Mr.  King  is  still  an  active,  energetic  man  who 
enjoys  good  health  and  is  not  an  infrequent  visitor  among  his  old  friends  in  Barnes  county. 
While  a  resident  of  Valley  City  he  served  as  school  treasurer  and  after  removing  to  his  farm 
was  school  treasurer  of  his  district.     He  was  also  elected  and  served  as  county  commissioner. 

Carl  King  enjoys  the  distinction  of  having  been  the  first  male  child  born  in  Barnes  county 
and  was  the  third  in  order  of  birth  in  a  family  of  six  sons  and  five  daughters.  The  first  white 
female  child  was  Lillian  Weiser,  who  became  Mrs.  J.  W.  Nielson  and  is  now  deceased,  her  birth 
occurring  prior  to  that  of  Mr.  King,  but  her  death  left  him  the  first  native  resident  of  Barnes 
county  still  remaining  within  its  borders,  and  as  a  large  portion  of  that  section  of  the  state 
was  still  unsettled  at  the  time,  his  claim  does  not  cover  Barnes  county  alone.  He  spent  his 
school  da_\  s  in  \'alley  City  and  in  vacation  periods  worked  upon  the  home  farm,  thus  early 
becoming  familiar  with  the  best  methods  of  tilling  the  soil  and  caring  for  the  crops.  In  1903 
he  engaged  in  farming  on  his  own  account,  settling  a  mile  west  of  Cuba,  where  he  has  three 
hundred  and  twenty  acres  of  farm  land.  Upon  this  stands  a  modern  residence  tastefully  and 
con\eniently  arranged,  while  in  the  rear  are  to  be  seen  commodious  barns  and  granaries,  with 
sheds  for  the  shelter  of  the  fann  machinery,  of  which  he  has  the  latest  improved  patterns. 
Everything  about  the  place,  which  is  one  of  the  neatest  and  best  kept  in  the  state,  indicates 
his  progressive  spirit  and  practical  methods.  In  addition  to  managing  his  farm  he  was  in  charge 
of  the  Paulson  &  Bye  elevator  at  Cuba  for  four  years. 

On  the  25th  of  May,  1904,  Mr.  King  was  married  to  Miss  Bessie  M.  Adeouk,  who  was 
born  in  Valley  City,  September  G,  188.''),  a  daughter  of  the  late  William  Adcock,  who  was  also 
a  pioneer  and  successful  farmer  of  Barnes  county.  The  children  of  this  marriage  are  Elsie 
Elizabeth,  Lome  Hugo,  Stanley  Herbert  and  Raymond  Milton,  all  now  in  school.  Fraternally 
Jlr.  King  is  connected  with  the  Elks  and  is  popular  both  within  and  outside  of  that  organiza- 
tion. He  is  a  good  citizen,  an  enterprising  and  intelligent  young  man  and  is  highly  respected 
wherever  known. 


LAUREAS   J.   WEIIE. 


Laureas  J.  Wehe,  an  attorney  at  law,  who  since  1910  has  been  engaged  in  law  practice 
at  Devils  Lake,  North  Dakota,  was  born  in  Chicago,  Illinois,  November  5,  1874.  He  is  the 
son  of  Charles  L.  and  Paulina  E.  Wehe,  the  latter  now  deceased,  of  Grand  Forks,  North 
Dakota. 

The  father  went  to  Dakota  territory  in  1882,  stopping  at  Grand  Forks  part  of  the  spring 
and  summer  of  that  year.  He  invested  quite  heavily  in  Grand  Forks  real  estate  at  that 
time.  He  purchased  the  ''Old  Veits  Hotel."  the  "Crockery  Store,"  the  "Dick  Fadden  Saloon" 
property,  a  forty  acre  tract  adjoining  the  town  site  on  the  south  and  other  pieces  of  property. 
He  made  a  trip  to  Devils  Lake  that  same  year  and  took  up  a  claim  northwest  of  "Old 
Devils  Lake  City,"  and  close  to  the  present  city  of  Devils  Lake.  He  still  owned  at  this  time 
a  large  shoe  store  in  Chicago,  where  he  had  been  in  business  for  many  years.  His  claim 
was  afterwards  jumped  by  part  of  the  crowd  who  were  mixed  up  in  the  killing  of  the 
Ward  brothers.    He  returned  to  Cliicago  the  same  year  and  disposed  of  his  shoe  store  in  that 


€24  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

city,  and  in  tlio  spring  of  1883  he  sliipped  witli  his  family  for  Bartlett,  tlie  end  town  on  the 
road,  west  of  Grand  Forks.  Here  he  entered  into  the  general  mercantile  and  implement 
business.  He  was  the  first  implement  dealer  in  Ramsey  county.  He  took  up  a  homestead  and 
tree  claim  south  of  Bartlett,  which  he  still  owns.  When  the  railroad  pushed  on  he  went 
out  of  business  and  devoted  his  time  to  farming  for  several  years  then,  later,  while  the 
family  were  still  living  on  the  farm,  lie  went  on  the  road  as  a  traveling  salesman.  In 
3896  he  moved  with  his  family  to  (irnnil  Forks,  in  order  to  take  advantage  of  the  educational 
facilities   offered   at   the   I'niversity. 

ill  tlie  early  'SOs  Laureas  J.  Wehe  attended  one  of  the  first  schools  opened  in  this 
county  and  tlie  next  year  entered  the  school  opened  up  by  General  W.  H.  Standish  in 
his  law  office.  There  being  no  school  in  town,  the  General  opened  up  this  school  out  of 
pure  generosity  for  the  children  of  the  neighborhood.  Congressman  P.  D.  Norton  was 
another  of  the  boys  who  attended  General  Standish's  school  with  him.  Later  Laureas  J. 
Wehe  entered  the  high  school  and  collegiate  courses  at  the  university  and  graduated  there- 
from with  the  class  of  1899,  with  the  degree  of  Bachelor  of  Arts.  One  summer  he  spent 
on  the  road  as  a  traveling  salesman.  The  following  year  he  went  into  the  real  estate,  loan 
and  collection  business  at  (irand  Forks,  an<l  took  up  the  study  of  law  at  the  same  time  at 
the  University,  and  graduated  therefrom  in  1902.  He  was  president  of  his  class,  and 
graduated  with  high  honors  as  a  student.  Tlie  supreme  court  of  the  state  passed  the  class  of 
1902  without  examination  because  of  its  high  rank  in  scholarshi]i.  Jlr.  Wehe  was  an  active 
college  student  in  college  life;  besides  being  president  of  his  class,  he  was  a  member  of 
the  board  of  control  of  inter-college  societies,  an  active  and  ready  debater,  had  been  presi- 
dent of  several  societies  and  was  a  member  of  the  regular  football  team  for  three  years. 

For  a  year  after  his  graduation  Mr.  Wehe  practiced  law  at  Grand  Forks  in  association 
with  General  Standish.  At  the  end  of  the  year  he  took  up  a  homestead  near  Edmore  and 
after  juoving  up  same  he  practiced  law  at  Edmore  until  the  beginning  of  1910,  when  he 
removed  to  Devils  Lake  He  was  hired  by  the  board  of  managers  of  the  state  legislature 
as  special  attorney  to  assist  George  A.  Bangs,  at  Devils  Lake,  in  the  preparation  of  the 
impeachment  case  against  John  F.  Cowan.  In  1910  he  was  appointed  special  assistant 
attorney  general  at  Devils  Lake  by  Attorney  General  Andrew  Miller.  He  is  building  up  a 
nice  practice  in   law. 

Fraternally  Mr.  Wehe  is  connected  with  the  Woodmen,  with  the  Workmen,  with  the 
Indejiendent  Order  of  Foresters,  and  the  Knights  of  Pythias.  His  religious  faith  is  that  of  the 
Presbyterian  church,  and  his  political  belief  is  that  of  the  republican  party.  He  takes 
ouite  an  active  and  helpful  interest  in  politics  and  is  chairman  of  the  republican  central 
committee  of  Ramsey  county.  His  interest  in  community  affairs  is  deep  and  sincere  and  is 
manifest  in  tangible  support  of  many  plans  and  measures  for  the  general  good.  He  is 
serving  as  a  member  of  the  Chautauqua  board,  having  been  a  director  for  two  years.  His 
entire  life  has  been  actuated  by  a  progressive  spirit  that  has  been  strongly  manifest  from 
the  time  when  he  began  his  preparation  for  the  bar,  and  which  in  the  intervening  years  has 
constituted  an  element  not  only  for  professional  advancement,  but  also  for  the  support 
of  many  public  interests. 


FRANK   LeROND  McVEY,  PH.  D.,   LL.   D. 

I'rank  LcRond  McVey,  economist,  educator,  lecturer  and  now  president  of  the  University 
of  North  Dakota  at  Grand  P'orks,  entered  upon  his  work  in  connection  with  the  State  Univer- 
sity in  1909  but  spent  his  early  years  in  Ohio  and  Iowa.  His  birth  occurred  in  Wilmington, 
Ohio,  November  10,  1869,  his  parents  being  Alfred  Henry  and  Anna  (Holmes)  McVey. 
His  lineage  is  traced  from  Scotch-Irish  ancestors,  the  founder  af  the  American  branch  of 
the  family  being  John  Jason  McVey,  who  was  born  in  1759  and  came  to  the  new  world 
in  1780.  He  was  a  farmer  by  occupation  and  participated  in  the  Revolutionary  war.  while 
later  representatives  of  the  family  aided  the  American  cause  in  the  War  of  1812.  Alfred 
Henry  McA^ey,  a  native  of  Ohio,  graduated  from  the  Ohio  Wesleyan  LTniversity.  He  responded 
to  the  country's   call   for  troops   at  the  outbreak   of   the   Civil   war   and   served   as   a   private 


DR.  FRANK  LE  ROND  McVEY 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  627 

I'ur  one  year  with  an  Ohio  regiment  of  infantry.  He  became  a  member  of  tlie  Oliio 
bar  ill  1869  and  in  18S3  he  removed  to  JJes  Moines,  Iowa,  where  he  has  served  as  judge  of  the 
district  court  and  is  recognized  as  a  distinguislied  and  able  lawyer,  having  in  hiter  years 
specialized  in  the  tield  of  insurance  and  corporation  law.  He  wedded  Anna  Holmes,  a 
iiative  of  Ohio  and  a  representative  of  the  Holmes  family,  of  English  and  Scotch  lineage, 
tlmt  was  established  in  Massachusetts  in  1638.  Judge  and  Mrs.  McVey  have  become  the 
parents  of  five  children,  of  whom  Dr.  McVey,  of  (Jrand  Forks,  is  the  oldest.  The  others 
are:  Edwin  H.,  an  attorney  at  law  practicing  in  Kansas  City,  Missouri;  William  P.,  a 
pastor  of  the  endowed  Methodist  church  at  Watseka,  Illinois;  Kate,  the  wife  of  John  G. 
Park,  of  Kansas  City;  and  the  Rev.  Charles  H.  McVey,  a  Congregational  minister  at 
Honohihi,  Hawaii. 

In  the  pursuit  of  his  education  Dr.  McVey  attended  the  public  schools  of  Toledo, 
Ohio,  and  Des  Moines,  Iowa,  and  subsequently  entered  the  Ohio  Wesleyan  University, 
from  which  he  graduated  with  the  Bachelor  of  Arts  degree  in  1893.  He  afterward  became 
a  graduate  student  at  Yale  and  in  1895  the  Ph.  D.  degree  was  conferred  upon  him,  while 
later  his  alma  mater  honored  him  with  the  LL.  D.  degree.  His  life  has  been  given  over  to 
educational  and  social  problems.  He  was  principal  of  the  schools  at  Orient,  Iowa,  in  1891 
and  became  instructor  in  history  at  t)ic  Teachers'  College  of  Columbia  University  in  J895-6. 
For  eleven  years  he  was  connected  with  tlie  University  of  Minnesota  as  instructor  and  as 
assistant  professor  and  professor  of  economics,  there  remaining  from  1896  until  1907,  and  in 
1909  he  accepted  the  presidency  of  the  University  of  Xortli  Dakota.  In  1914  he  became 
chairman  of  the  committee  on  economy  of  time  in  education  of  the  National  Association 
of  State  Universities  and  he  is  a  member  of  the  National  Education  Association. 

In  1900  Dr.  McVey  acted  as  special  agent  in  connection  with  the  United  States  census 
and  in  1910  he  was  chosen  first  vice  president  of  the  American  Economic  Association.  From 
1907  until  1909  he  was  the  first  chairman  of  the  Minnesota  tax  commission  and  his  work 
as  an  economist  and  his  understanding  of  many  of  the  complex  problems  of  taxation  assisted 
the  Commission  in  establishing  a  broad  foundation  for  its  work  in  Minnesota.  While  a  resi- 
dent of  Minneapolis  he  acted  as  president  of  the  Associated  Charities  of  that  city  from  1898 
until  1907.  In  the  latter  year  he  became  secretary  of  the  Minnesota  Academy  of  Social  Sci- 
ences and  so  continued  for  two  years.  In  1904  he  was  a  director  of  the  Twin  City  exhibit  at 
the  Louisiana  Purchase  Exposition  and  a  member  of  the  International  Jury  of  Awards  at  St. 
Louis.  He  has  served  as  a  member  of  the  executive  committee  of  the  National  Conference 
of  Charities  and  Corrections  and  from  1914  to  191,7  was  chairman  of  the  National  Conference 
on  Marketing  and  Farm  Credits.  In  1914  he  wiis  a  member  of  the  advisory  committee  on 
agriculture  of  the  United  States  Commission  on  Industrial  Relations  and  he  holds  member- 
ship with  the  American  Academy  for  the  Advancement  of  Science  and  the  American 
Statistical  Association. 

Among  the  books  Dr.  McVey  has  written  are:  "The  Populist  Jlovement,"  published  in 
1S96;  "History  and  Government  of  Minnesota,"  1900;  "Modern  Industrialism,"  1904;  "Trans- 
portation." 1910;  and  "The  Makings  of  a  Town,"  1913.  He  was  an  editorial  writer  in  New 
York  in  1895  and  assistant  editor  of  The  Economic  Bulletin  in  1909.  He  was  also  editor  of  the 
proceedings  of  the  Minnesota  Academy  of  Social  Sciences  from  1907  until  1909  and  he  is 
engaged  in  editing  the  National  Social  Sciences  Series  of  books  on  social  and  economic 
subjects.  His  services  as  a  lecturer  have  been  in  frequent  demand.  In  1913  he  was  a 
guest  of  Koyal  Frederick  University  of  Christiania,  Norway,  and  lectured  before  the  students 
and  faculty  of  tliat  university.  He  has  also  been  heard  at  various  colleges  and  universities, 
among  which  are  the  Ohio  W'esleyan  University,  Northwestern  University,  the  University  of 
Illinois,  the  University  of  Missouri  and  Washington  University  of  St.  Louis.  His  lecture 
On  "The  Making  of  a  Town,"  has  been  delivered  more  than  a  hundred  times.  It  is  an 
analysis  of  the  situation  of  the  town,  showing  where  the  various  movements  for  civic 
sanitation  which  are  transforming  the  larger  cities  are  leaving  the  town  untouched,  and 
suggesting  a  practical  method  of  applying  the  principles  of  civic  health  to  the  smaller 
units  in  American  life.  The  lecturer  traverses  the  whole  life  of  the  comni\inity  and  shows 
how  by  the  cooperation  of  business  men  and  the  best  jilanning  of  the  educational,  moral 
and  governmental  features  of  the  town,  public-spirited  citizens  can  put  a  new  cooperative 
spirit  at  work  within  their  communities,  with  the  inevitable  result  of  transforming  living 

Vol.  Ill— 29 


628  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

conditions.  The  whole  program  presented  by  the  lecturer  is  not  a  Utopian  dream,  but 
a  practical  and  immediate  possibility.  Under  the  title  of  "The  New  Schoolmaster"  he 
presents  the  work  of  the  modern  trained  teacher,  his  relations  to  the  community,  the  school 
equipment,  what  the  school  can  do  to  raise  standards  and  the  needs  of  the  new  education 
before  it  can  do  its  full  work  as  a  gi-eat  national  factor.  One  of  his  interesting  lectures 
treats  of  the  boy  as  the  storm  center  of  progTcss,  the  resi)onsibility  of  parents,  the  share 
of  the  community  in  this  responsibility  and  the  fundamental  points  of  the  boy  problem. 
He  has  also  lectured  on  the  subject  of  "Agriculture  and  Cooperation"  and  under  the  subject 
"The  Nation  Yesterday  and  Today,"  he  discusses  the  great  national  problems,  presenting 
some  suggestions  for  their  solution. 

On  the  21st  of  September,  1898,  Dr.  McVey  was  married  to  ili.ss  ilabel  .\I.  Sawyer,  of 
Minnesota,  a  daughter  of  .J.  if.  and  Jennie  (Wilson)  Sawyer.  They  luivc  three  children: 
V'irginia,  born  in  Minneapolis,  February  23,  1903;  Frank,  December  29,  1903;  and  Janet, 
October  30,  190". 

Dr.  and  Mrs.  McVey  hold  membership  in  tlu'  First  Presbyterian  church  of  Grand  Forks, 
in  which  he  is  serving  as  a  trustee.  He  belongs  to  the  Phi  Gamma  Delta  fraternity  and  in 
politics  is  a  republican  where  national  issues  are  involved. 


BRYNJOLF  PROM. 


Brynjolf  Prom,  president  of  the  State  Bank  of  Milton,  is  numbered  among  the  sons  of 
Norway,  who,  recognizing  the  opportunities  of  the  new  world,  have  sought  the  success 
which  they  believed  to  be  more  quickly  secured  on  this  side  the  Atlantic  than  in  the  land 
of  the  midnight  sun.  That  his  faith  was  justified  is  shown  by  the  position  which  Mr.  Prom 
now  occupies.  He  was  born  in  Bergen,  Norway,  March  19,  1857.  His  father,  Jacob  Prom, 
always  remained  in  Norway  and  was  a  man  of  much  natural  ability  and  talent.  He  became 
an  actor  and  was  on  the  stage  at  the  time  of  Ole  Bull,  the  distinguished  violinist,  and  Henrik 
Ibsen  and  Bjorn  Bji'irnson,  the  well  known  authors.  It  was  these  latter  who  established  the 
national  stage  of  Norway  during  the  early  '50s.  Mr.  Prom  became  an  actor  of  great  power, 
his  ability  placing  him  on  a  par  with  Booth.  Barrett,  McCMllough  and  other  distinguished 
celebrities  of  the  American  stage,  but  death  terminated  his  career  in  1865,  when  he  was 
but  thirty-tliree  years  of  age.  His  wife,  who  bore  the  maiden  name  of  Helen  Wiese,  was 
a  native  of  Norway  and  a  representative  of  one  of  the  old  families  of  that  country.  She 
died  in  1862  at  the  age  of  thirty  years,  leaving  three  sons  and  a  daughter.  The  eldest, 
Hjalmar  Prom,  was  a  sailor  and  died  of  yellow  fever  while  en  route  to  Cuba.  The  others 
are:  Halfden.  now  a  resident  of  Florida;  Brynjolf;  and  Bergliot.  now  the  wife  of  Thomas 
Feniley,  of  Cliristiania,  Norway. 

Brynjolf  Prom  attended  the  public  schools  of  his  native  country  and  continued  his 
education  at  Munich,  Bavaria,  Germany.  He  was  giaduated  from  the  Polytechnic  University 
at  Munich  in  1880  and  after  completing  his  course  there  returned  to  Norway,  but  in  1881 
crossed  the  Atlantic  to  America,  first  settling  in  Pennsylvania.  He  took  up  his  abode  at 
Middletown  and  unfortunate  circumstances  forced  him  to  seek  immediate  employment,  which 
he  found  in  a  gas  pipe  manufacturing  plant.  In  that  connection  hard  labor  was  his  lot  not- 
withstanding the  fact  that  he  was  qualified  by  education  and  training  for  a  much  more 
responsible  position.  While  in  New  York  he  had  been  assured  of  a  position  as  a  draughtsman 
in  a  large  manufacturing  plant  at  Middletown.  but  on  his  arrival  found  that  another  had 
already  been  started  in  the  position.  He  spent  three  months  in  the  gas  manufacturing 
plant  and  then  removed  to  Menomonie,  Wisconsin,  where  he  spent  the  succeeding  winter. 
During  that  period  he  attended  the  public  schools  in  order  to  familiarize  himself  with  the 
English  language.  WHiile  he  began  in  the  lower  grades  during  the  winter  he  worked  his 
way  upward  until  he  was  graduated  with  the  high  school  class  of  that  year.  This  brought 
him  knowledge  not  only  of  the  English  tongue  but  of  the  American  system  of  education. 

In  April,  1882.  Mr.  Prom  arrived  .it  Fargo,  North  Dakota,  an  absolute  stranger  and 
there  met  Karl  J.  Farup,  a  North  Dakota  pioneer,  who  at  that  time  was  in  the  service  of 
the  government   as  a   surveyor.     Through   Mr.  Farup  he  secured  a  government   position  in 


HISTORY  OF  XORT II   ! DAKOTA  629 

till'  siirvfyiii>;  clijjaitiiu'iit  and  during  the  two  yours  that  he  spent  in  that  connection  his 
duties  took  him  into  all  of  the  various  counties  of  the  northwestern  part  of  the  state. 
W'lien  he  conipk'tod  liis  work  as  a  surveyor  in  the  service  of  tlie  government  he  located 
at  Park  River  and  in  1885  secured  employment  in  the  First  National  Bank,  becoming  book- 
keeper' and  remaining  an  employe  of  the  bank  until  1888.  He  then  removed  to  Jlilton  and 
accepted  the  casliiersliip  of  the  State  Bank  of  Jlilton,  which  had  been  established  only  a 
few  months  before.  He  lias  continued  as  an  active  officer  of  the  bank  until  the  present 
time,  having  been  elected  in  1915  to  the  presidency  of  the  institution.  He  displays  sound 
judgment  and  unfaltering  enterprise  in  controlling  the  interests  of  the  bank  and  his  activities 
at  all  times  measure  up  to  the  highest  standards  of  the  banking  business. 

On  the  ISth  of  February,  1887,  Mr.  Prom  was  married  at  Park  River  to  Miss  Anna 
Oslakson.  a  native  of  Minnesota  and  a  daughter  of  Bjiirn  Oslakson,  a  pioneer  of  that  state 
and  a  Civil  war  veteran.  Both  he  and  iiis  wife  are  now  deceased.  Mr.  and  JIis.  Prom  have 
tliree  children.  Hazel,  born  in  Park  River.  .Tunc  27,  1888,  is  the  wife  of  Dr.  Tom  Smith, 
a  dentist  of  Langdon.  Cavalier  county.  Rolf  H.,  b(M-n  July  11,  1892,  is  connected  with  the 
State  Bank  of  Milton.  Paul  F.,  tlie  youngest  of  the  family,  was  born  in  Milton.  ^Marcli  11. 
1902. 

In  politics  Jlr.  Prom  is  a  progressive  republican,  active  in  the  party,  and  was  a  delegate 
to  the  republican  national  convention  held  in  Oiicago  when  Roosevelt  was  nominated.  He 
has  filled  every  official  position  in  Milton,  including  that  of  mayor,  in  which  capacity  he 
served  for  several  terms,  giving  to  the  town  a  business'ike  and  progressive  administration  . 
that  brought  about  various  needed  reforms  and  improvements.  He  has  also  been  a  valued 
member  of  the  school  board  and  has  been  active  in  civic  and  political  affairs.  He  cooperates 
in  clforts  for  tlic  upbuilding,  of  his  city  as  a  member  of  the  Commercial  Club,  of  which  he 
has  been  president,  and  there  is  no  project  of  public  importance  that  seeks  his  aid  in  vain. 
He  was  made  a  Mason  at  Park  River  and  has  now  attained  the  thirty-second  degree  of  the 
Scottish  Rite,  while  of  the  Mystic  Shrine  he  is  also  a  member.  He  came  to  America  a  poor 
boy  and  instead  of  capital  possessed  courage,  determination  and  laudable  ambition.  After 
leaving  Germany  he  was  employed  for  six  months  at  Copenhagen,  Denmark,  as  a  mechanical 
draughtsman  and  then  had  to  go  to  Norway  to  perform  military  duties,  but  on  his  arrival 
there  was  too  late  as  the  drawing  for  the  army  had  already  been  made.  He  then  secured 
exemption  from  military  service  and  came  to  the  new  world.  He  has  since  embraced  every 
opportunity  to  further  his  success  along  legitimate  lines  and  his  course  has  at  all  times 
been  such  as  may  be  commended  to  those  who  seek  honorable  success.  Capability  and  per- 
sistency of  purpose  have  been  crowning  points  in  hi.s  career  and  have  gained  for  him  the 
creditable  place  wliich   he  now   lilN   in   business  circles  and    in   public  regard. 


KUGEXE  D.  HOdKKl!. 


Kugene  D.  Booker,  a  hardware  merchant  of  Pembina,  lias  long  been  identified  with  the 
business  interests  and  development  of  that  town,  his  activities  reaching  o>it  along  various 
lines  that  have  bad  direct  effect  in  promoting  the  ]irogiess  and  prosjierity  of  his  community, 
rie  was  born  in  Richmond  county,  Virginia,  Alarcli  17,  1869,  and  is  a  son  of  Rasmus  D. 
Booker,  who  was  of  Knglish  descent,  although  the  family  was  founded  in  America  at  an 
early  period  in  the  colonization  of  the  new  world.  Rasmus  D.  Booker  became  a  pro:ninent 
physician  of  Richmond  county,  Virginia,  after  graduating  from  the  State  Cniversity.  Dur- 
ing the  Civil  war  he  served  as  commissary  officer  with  the  rank  of  captain  in  Lee's  army, 
and  he  passed  away  at  his  old  home  in  Virginia  in  1897.  at  the  age  of  seventy-two  years. 
For  his  second  wife  he  married  Klizabeih  Eubank,  a  native  of  the  Old  Dominion,  and  she, 
too.  was  of  English  lineage.     She  died  in   HlflO.  at  the  age  of  fifty  years. 

In  the  family  were  two  children  but  Eugene  D.  Booker  is  now  the  only  survivor  of 
the  second  marriage.  He  pursued  his  education  in  Aberdeen  Academy  and  at  Richmond 
College  and  when  he  had  reached  man's  estate  started  out  in  life  independently.  He  studied 
medicine  in  the  University  of  Maryland  for  a  year  and  then  on  account  of  ill  health  made 
his   way   westward,   going   direct   to    Pembina.   North    Dakota,   where   be   arrived    in    .\iigust. 


630  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

1890.  His  choice  of  a  location  was  influenced  by  the  solicitation  of  L.  E.  Booker,  a  cousin, 
who  was  a  jjrominent  banker  of  Pembina  and  was  at  that  time  state  treasurer  of  North 
Dakota.  For  four  months  Eugene  D.  Booker  devoted  his  time  to  rest  and  recreation  and 
then  entered  his  uncle's  bank  in  the  position  of  bookkeeper.  He  continued  in  that  connection 
for  seven  years  and  after  brief  connection  witli  the  bank  was  made  assistant  casliier.  In 
1S99  he  joined  George  W.  Kyan  and  irank  M.  King  in  organizing  the  firm  of  King  & 
Company  for  the  conduct  of  a  hardware  and  machinery  business.  Tiieirs  was  the  first 
combination  store  to  handle  both  lines,  and  the  partnership  continued  for  si.v  years,  at 
the  end  of  which  time  Mr.  Booker  and  Mr.  King  purchased  the  interest  of  Mr.  Ryan  and 
the  firm  style  of  King  &  Booker  was  then  assumed.  The  business  was  carried  on  under 
that  name  until  the  spring  of  1916,  when  Mr.  I'ving  retired  and  Mr.  Booker  now  continues 
in  the  hardware  trade  under  his  own  name,  having  a  large  and  liberal  patronage.  He  is 
also  the  secretary  of  the  Pembina  Building  &  Loan  Association,  whicli  office  he  has  filled 
for  twenty  years,  and  he  is  likewise  one  of  the  directors  of  the  company.  The  hardware 
and  machinery  business  of  which  he  is  now  sole  proprietor  was  begun  in  a  comparatively 
small  way  on  borrowed  capital,  but  the  business  has  been  developed  along  substantial  lines 
until  it  is  now  one  of  the  largest  of  its  kind  in  Pembina  county. 

On  the  28th  of  March,  1893,  Mr.  Booker  was  married  in  Richmond  county,  Virginia, 
to  Miss  Emily  Simonson,  a  native  of  Virginia  and  a  daughter  of  John  and  Mary  Simonson, 
the  latter  now  deceased.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Booker  became  parents  of  ten  children:  John, 
Elizabeth,  Ryan,  Ada,  Dorothy,  Robert,  Emily,  James,  Neil  and  Louise.  All  were  born 
in  Pembina  except  "Ryan,  whose   birth   occurred   in  Newport   News,   Virginia,   in   1898. 

Mr.  Booker  exercises  his  right  of  franchise  in  support  of  the  men  and  measures  of 
the  democratic  party  but  the  honors  and  emoluments  of  oflice  have  had  no  attraction  for 
him.  He  was  made  a  Mason  in  Pembina  Lodge  and  he  belongs  also  to  the  Brotherhood  of 
Yeomen.  His  interest  in  community  affairs  is  shown  by  his  membership  in  the  Commercial 
Club  and  his  cooperation  in  its  plans  and  purposes  for  the  upbuilding  of  the  city.  In 
religious  faith  he  is  a  Methodist  and  for  the  past  ten  years  has  been  superintendent  of  the 
Sunday  school.  His  work  is  proving  an  efl'ective  force  in  the  moral  development  of  the 
community  and  at  the  same  time  his  interests  are  a  factor  in  the  material  development 
of  Pembina,  for  the  growth  of  a  city  does  not  depend  so  much  upon  the  machinery  of 
government,  or  even  upon  the  men  wlio  occupy  its  offices,  as  it  does  ui>on  the  businf-ss 
enterprises  which  keep   it   in   touch   with   the  outside   world. 


ANDREW  L  KOEHJISTEDT. 

Andrew  I.  Kochmstedt,  who  is  now  serving  as  postmaster  of  Langdon  and  is  also 
proprietor  of  the  Courier-Democrat,  one  of  the  leading  newspapers  of  Cavalier  county,  was 
born  in  Waterloo  county,  Ontario,  Canada,  July  3,  1860,  and  is  a  son  of  Francis  and 
Katherine  (Montag)  Koehmstedt,  natives  of  Germany,  who  emigrated  to  Canada  in  1848. 
There  the  father  engaged  in  farming  but  also  worked  at  the  stone  mason's  and  brick- 
layer's trade,  and  he  continued  to  reside  in  Canada  up  to  tlu»  time  of  his  death,  which 
occurred  in  1899  when  he  was  seventy-eight  years  of  age.  The  mother  died  in  1901  at  the 
age  of  seventy-six.     They  were  the  parents  of  eight  children. 

Andrew  I.  Koehmstedt  is  the  third  in  order  of  birth  in  this  family.  His  early  educa- 
tion, obtained  in  the  public  schools  of  Canada,  was  supplemented  by  a  course  at  St.  Jerome's 
College  in  Berlin,  Ontario,  and  after  laying  aside  his  textbooks  he  learned  the  printer's 
trade,  at  which  he  worked  in  Canada  until  1882.  The  following  year  he  came  to  North 
Dakota  and  took  up  a  homestead  in  Cavalier  county,  twelve  miles  north  of  Langdon.  He 
continued  to  follow  his  trade,  however,  and  was  in  the  employ  of  others  for  some  time. 
In  December,  1887,  he  removed  to  Langdon,  where  he  has  since  resided,  and  on  the  13th  of 
January,  1888,  established  the  Langdon  Democrat,  which  he  conducted  for  some  time.  On 
the  fith  of  February,  1891,  he  bouglit  the  Cavalier  County  Courier  and  consolidated  the 
two  papers  under  the  name  of  the  Courier-Democrat,  which  is  today  the  leading  Democratic 
organ   in    Cavalier    county.      The    Courier   was    started    in    1885    by    C.    B.    C.    Dohcrty.      The 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  631 

paper  now  has  a  circulation  of  fifteen  Imndreil  cojiies  anil  is  tliorouglily  up-to-ilate,  its 
editorials   well   written   and   its   news   reliable. 

On  the  29th  of  April,  1SS9,  Jlr.  Koebmstedt  was  married  in  J^aii^'don  to  Miss  Cecelia 
Fischer,  a  daughter  of  Casper  and  Mary  Fischer,  and  to  tliis  nni(in  ten  children  have 
been  born,  namely:  Lorraine;  Eleanor;  Fred  S.,  who  is  now  with  the  Eighth  United  States 
I'avalry  on  the  Mexican  border,  being  a  member  of  the  baml  stationed  at  El  I'aso,  Texas; 
(ieorge,  who  is  in  the  office  with  his  father;  Leo;  Lillian;  Ado;  Dorothy;  Harry;  and  Helen, 
who  di<'d  in  Eebruary,  1916,  at  the  age  of  nine  years.  The  two  oldest  daughters  are  grad- 
uates (It  tlie  Langdon  schools  and  Eleanor  has  attended  the  Valley  City  Normal;  Leo  and 
Lillian  arc  now  in  high  school;   and  the  younger  children  are  attending  the  graded  schools. 

The  family  are  communicants  of  the  Roman  Catholic  church,  and  Mr.  Kochmstedt  is 
also  a  member  of  the  Catholic  Order  of  Foresters  and  the  Ancient  Order  of  United  Work- 
nu>n.  In  politics  he  is  a  stalwart  democrat  and  since  April,  1913,  has  most  eHieiently 
served  as  postmaster  of  Langdon.  13oth  personally  and  through  his  paper  he  exerts  a  wide 
inlluence  and  he  is  justly  regarded  as  one  of  the  leading  citizens  of  the  community.  He 
has  been  identified  with  Cavalier  county  since  pioneer  days  and  has  done  nuich  to  promote 
its  interests  and  prosperity,  taking  a  deep  and  connncndablo  interest  in  public  all'airs  as 
every  true  American  citizen  should  do,  although  he  was  born  across  the  bonh-i    in  Canada. 


GEORGE  W.  :\I1LLH(IUSE. 


On  the  list  of  honored  dead  of  McKenzie  county  appears  the  name  of  George  \V.  iMill- 
liiiusc,  who.  as  a  |)ublie  ollicial  and  a  business  man  occupied  a  high  place  in  the  regard  of 
the  ciimnnniity  in  which  he  lived,  lie  had  many  admirable  characteristics,  and  his  life 
was  at  all  times  guided  by  liigli  and  honorable  principles.  A  native  of  Minnesota  Mr. 
Millhouse  was  born  near  Oronoco,  Olmsted  county,  on  the  14tli  of  August,  1858,  his  par- 
ents being  Christian  and  Hannah  (Rogers)  Millhouse.  The  father,  a  native  of  I'ennsyl- 
\ania,  was  reared  to  manhood  in  that  state  and  became  a  shoe  merchant  of  Tomoqua. 
in  the  early  '50s  he  removed  to  Oronoco,  Minnesota,  and  opened  one  of  the  pioneer  shoe 
liouses  of  that  state,  there  continuing  in  business  for  many  years.  Later  he  removed  to 
I.uverne,  Minnesota,  in  order  to  be  with  his  son  George,  and  there  passed  away  in  1880. 
His  wife  was  born  in  Truro,  England,  and  when  a  little  maiden  of  seven  summers  was 
brought  to  America,  spending  the  remainder  of  her  girlhood  in  Tomoviua,  Pennsylvania. 
After  the  death  of  her  husband  she  made  her  home  with  lur  son  George,  who  was  living  in 
Alexander,  North  Kakota,  after  removing  from  i-uvcriu'.  ilinnesota.  She  passed  away 
at  Minneapolis   in   March,   1916. 

George  W.  Jlillhouse  pursued  his  education  in  the  schools  of  Oronoco  and  after  his 
t<'xt  books  were  put  aside  began  learning  the  drug  trade.  In  1883  he  established  a  drug- 
store at  Liiverne  where  he  remained  until  1900  when  he  removed  to  McKenzie  county. 
North  Dakota,  and  took  up  a  homestead  on  the  old  Fort  ISuford  military  reservation. 
There  he  engaged  in  raising  cattle  and  horses,  renuiining  upon  his  ranch  until  elected  the 
(irst  treasurer  of  McKenzie  county  in  1905,  serving  by  reelection  until  1909.  In  that  year 
he  removed  to  Alexander  and  became  president  of  the  Alexander  State  Bank,  in  which  be 
remainrd  to  the  time  of  his  death  which  occurred  October  3,  1914,  just  five  weeks  after 
he  and   his    wife   returned   from   an   extended   European   tour. 

It  was  on  the  18th  of  August,  1882.  that  Mr.  ilillhouse  was  united  in  marriage  to 
.Miss  Annie  L.  Baker,  of  Medford.  Walsh  county.  North  Dakota,  a  daughter  of  Grant  B. 
and  Laura  (Worthing)  Baker,  the  father  a  native  of  New  York,  the  mother  of  New  Hamp- 
shire. Both  came  to  ilinnesota  with  their  parents,  and  were  married  in  Red  Wing.  .Minne- 
sota. Mrs.  Millhouse  was  born  in  Red  Wing.  Minnesota,  and  was  educJitcd  at  Pine  Island, 
that  state.  With  her  parents  she  removed  to  Walsh  county  in  ISSl  and  was  there  nuirricd. 
The  family  were  pioneers  of  that  county  and  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Millhouse  were  the  first  couple 
married  in  Medford  township.  They  became  the  parents  of  two  children:  Roland  B.,  who  was 
born  in  Luverne,  Minnesota,  October  31,  1884,  married  Miss  May  Major,  a  daughter  of  John 
and  Aurclia    (.\rcMillan)   Jlajor,  of  Wisconsin,  who  became  residents  of  North    Dakota.      Her 


632  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

fatlier  lias  passed  away,  but  the  mother  is  now  living  in  Mi>ntaiia.  To  .Mr.  and  Mrs.  Roland 
Millhouso  have  been  born  two  children,  Ruth  and  Jean.  Milton  il.  Millhou.se,  the  j-ounger 
son.  was  born  in  Luverne,  June  23,  1887,  and  wedded  Miss  Jane  Cartwright,  daughter  of 
Samuel  0.  and  Louise  CartAvright,  natives  of  New  York  and  Wisconsin  respectively.  In 
the  latter  state  tliey  were  married  and  came  to  Dakota  in  its  territorial  days.  They  are 
now  residents  ot  Alberta,  Canada.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Milton  Jlillhouse  have  a  daughter,  Marion. 
The   sons   occupy   and   conduct   the   old  Millhouse   ranch   on   the   Fort   Buford   reservation. 

In  politics  Mr.  Millhouse  was  a  progressive  republican.  He  served  as  school  treasurer 
anil  tlie  cause  of  education  ever  founil  in  him  a  stalwart  friend.  The  fan\ily  are  Ejjisco- 
jialians.  Mr.  Millliousc  attended  tlie  Kpiscoj.-al  ehurcli  and  belonged  to  the  JIasonic  fra- 
ternity— associations  which  indicate  much  of  the  nature  of  the  rules  that  governed  his 
conduct.  He  was  a  man  of  sterling  character,  a  loving  and  devoted  husband  and  faithful 
friend,  anrl  a  patriotic,  progressive  citizen.  In  all  of  his  business  relations  lie  was  found 
strictly  honorable  and  reliable,  and  his  clVorts  constituted  a  valuable  contribution  to  the 
uphuiMing  of  the  community,  so  that  his  loss  was  deeply  felt  throughout  McKenzie  county 
as  well    as   in    his    imnicdiate   familv. 


JOHN'  KMMKTT  IMRKK. 


Jolm  iMumett  Burke  is  connected  with  a  profession  which  ha-,  important  bearing  U|ion 
the  progress  and  stable  ])rosperity  of  every  community  and  as  a  member  of  the  bar  has 
reached  a  creditable  position,  displaj-ing  unfaltering  industry  in  the  preparation  of  his  cases, 
while  a  keen,  analytical  mind  enables  him  to  make  correct  application  of  the  points  in  law 
to  the  points  in  litigation.  Korth  Dakota  claims  liim  as  a  native  son.  He  was  born  in  Fargo 
on  the  .lOth  of  March,  IHli,  a  son  of  John  PI.  and  Elizabeth  B.  (Boyle)  Burke,  who  were 
natives  of  Ireland,  the  former  born  in  1S47  and  the  latter  in  1849.  They  were  married,  how- 
ever in  the  United  States,  the  father  having  been  brought  to  the  new  world  when  less  than 
a  year  old.  He  was  reared  in  Iowa,  engaged  in  railroad  construction  work  and  came  to  North 
Dal<ota  about  the  year  1871.  He  afterward  turned  his  attention  to  railroad  contracting  and 
subsequently  removed  to  Highland  township,  Cass  county,  whei-e  he  took  uj)  his  abode  upon  a 
farm.  In  connection  with  general  agricultural  pursuits  he  engage^  in  newspaper  publication 
at  Sheldon  and  became  a  prominent  factor  in  the  development  and  progress  of  that  com- 
munity. He  served  as  county'  eoniniissioner  and  filled  other  public  offices,  in  which  he  accept- 
ably served  until  about  the  time  of  his  retirement  from  business  life  in  the  year  1913.  He  is 
now  residing  in  Minnewaukon,  where  he  is  living  retired.  He  filled  the  office  of  county  judge 
as  well  as  county  commissioner  and  yet  he  was  never  an  aspirant  for  political  positions  and 
regarded  the  pursuits  of  private  life  as  in  themselves  abundantly  worthy  of  his  best  efforts. 

Jolm  Emmett  Burke  was  the  second  in  a  family  of  live  children.  His  brother,  Edward  T., 
is  at  the  present  time  a  member  of  the  supreme  court  of  North  Dakota  and  is  regarded  as  a 
most  eminent  and  distinguished  jurist  in  the  northwest.  Thomas  Henry,  also  a  member  of 
the  bar.  is  serving  as  state's  attorney  of  Benson  count.v.  Emma  J.  is  a  teacher  in  Columbia 
University  of  New  York,  and  Viola  is  the  wife  of  Roy  C.  Ells,  an  extensive  farmer  and  the 
owner  of  a  line  of  elevators  in  Saskatchewan.  Canada,  making  his  home  at  Rosetown,  Sas- 
katchewan. 

The  other  niciiilier  ol  the  family  is  John  Emmett  Burke,  who  pursued  his  early  education 
in  the  common  schools  of  Sheldon,  North  Dakota,  also  attencled  the  agricultural  college  at 
largo  and  the  normal  school  at  Valley  City.  He  pursued  his  law  studies  in  the  University 
)f  Tennessee  at  Xasliville  and  in  the  Southern  University  at  Huntingdon,  Tennessee,  and  he 
lias  moreover  learned  many  valuable  lessons  in  the  school  of  experience,  of  which  he  has 
made  wise  use,  for  he  possesses  an  observing  ej'e  and  retentive  memory.  He  began  teaching 
school  when  but  sixteen  years  of  age  and  during  vacation  periods  -worked  upon  the  home 
farm  for  about  two  years.  He  afterward  learned  the  printer's  trade  and  was  employed  along 
that  line  at  Fargo,  Grand  Forks,  Bismarck  and  also  in  his  father's  oflice.  He  afterward 
established  the  Kindred  Mirror  but  a  year  later  sold  out.  In  1900  he  resumed  his  education 
but   again    enfcred    the    newspapi'r   Meld.   ]niivliasiiig    the  Houston   County   News   at    I'rin,  Ten- 


ncssi'e. 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  635 

He  coiuliu-tid  tliat  paiuM-  for  a  number  of  nionths,  alter  wliicli  lie  sold  to  Congress- 
iiian  Hobbs.  He  then  entered  tlie  employ  of  the  Deering  Harvester  Company,  witli  which  he 
was  connected  for  a  year.  He  then  went  to  Velva,  where  he  engaged  in  practicing  law  in 
partnership  witli  .ludge  Palda.  an  association  that  was  maintained  until  t'.tOS,  when  Mr.  Burl<e 
turned  his  attention  to  farming  and  for  tliree  years  cultivated  liis  lands.  He  then  rented  his 
farms  and  resumed  law  practice^,  during  which  period  he  has  practiced  independently.  He  is 
accorded  a  good  clientage  that  connects  him  with  much  important  litigation  and  his  ability 
at  the  bar  is  widely  recognized.  He  is  very  industrious  and  careful  in  preparing  his  cases  and 
his  cause  is  always  presented  in  tlie  strong,  clear  light  of  reason.  His  ai)plication  of  a  legal 
principle  is  correct  and  judges  and  juries  listen  to  him  with  attention.  He  is  now  a  stock- 
liolder  in  and  the  attorney  for  the  llinot  Automobile  Company.  He  is  also  an  extensive 
landowner  of  North  Dakota  and  he  owns  a  fruit  ranch  at  the  foot  of  Jlount  Adams,  Wash- 
ington, and  also  a  forty-acri'  tract  of  irrigated  land  in  Texas.  His  investments  have  been 
wisely  made  and  return  to  him  a  gratifying  income. 

On  the  18th  of  September,  l'J13,  Mr.  Burke  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Emma  \V. 
Kottka,  a  native  of  Stillwater.  Minnesota,  and  a  daughter  of  Frederick  and  Augusta  (Thiel) 
Koltka,  both  of  whom  were  born  in  Germany  and  have  passed  away.  They  were  numbered 
among  the  early  residents  of  the  (iopher  state,  Mr.  Kottka  becoming  very  wealthy  there. 

Mr.  Burke  is  a  prominent  ligurc  in  fraternal  circles.  He  has  attained  the  thirty-second 
degiec  of  the  Scottish  Rite  and  is  a  member  of  El  Zagal  Temple  of  the  Mystic  Shrine  at 
Kargo.  H(!  is  also  identified  with  the  Elks,  Knights  of  Pythias,  Ancient  Order  of  United 
Workmen,  Jlodern  Woodmen  of  America,  the  Moose  and  the  Eagles.  He  is  the  vice  president 
of  the  Humane  Society  of  Minot  and  he  is  interested  in  all  those  aflairs  which  have  to  do 
with  the  welfare  and  upbuilding  of  the  city.  In  politics  he  is  a  republican  and  is  the  present 
city  judge  of  Minot.  serving  for  the  fourth  year.  He  also  presides  over  tlie  juvenile  court  in 
the  eighth  judical  district,  wliicli  was  established  July  1.  1915.  Contrary  to  the  ofttimes 
accepted  opinion  that  the  lawyer,  accustomed  to  weighing  evidence  and  meting  out  justice, 
possesses  a  cold  nature,  Jlr.  Burke  is  known  as  a  most  sympathetic  man,  ever  ready  to  extend 
a  helping  hand  and  believing  that  there  is  good  in  every  individual  if  it  can  be  reached.  He 
is  well  qualified  to  preside  over  the  juvenile  court,  as  he  has  the  faculty  of  winning  the  con- 
fidence and  arousing  the  better  uatuie  of  the  young  delincpients  who  come  under  his  juris- 
diction. 


.lOHX  R.  GIBSOX. 


•lohn  R.  Gibson,  a  hardware  merchant  oi  St.  Thomas,  was  born  at  Cobden.  Ontario, 
Canada,  August  fi,  ISGO,  a  son  of  Edward  Gibson,  a  native  of  Ireland,  who  on  coming  to 
Canada  settled,  at  Gouldburn,  Perth  county,  where  he  engaged  in  farming.  He  afterward 
became  a  resident  of  Renfrew  countj-,  Ontario,  where  he  took  up  his  abode  in  pioneer  times 
and  there  met  with  substantial  profit  in  carrying  on  farming  interests.  He  died  about  1883, 
at  the  age  of  fifty-five  years.  His  wife,  who  in  her  maidenhood  was  Marj-  Rankin,  was  born 
in  Xcw  Brunswick.  Canada,  and  was  of  Scotch  descent,  re|)resenting  one  of  the  earlj'  fami- 
lies of  Xew  Brunswick.  She  died  in  1872.  Her  family  numbered  three  daughters  and  two 
sons,  of  whom  .John  R.  Gibson   was   the  second. 

In  the  country  schools  of  Renfrew  county  .lohn  R.  (iibson  acipiired  his  education  and 
his  youthful  experiences  were  those  of  the  farm-bred  boy.  On  attaining  his  majority  he 
left  home  and  came  to  North  Dakota,  settling  in  St.  Thomas,  where  lie  arrived  in  Jlay, 
1881.  The  work  of  initial  development  and  upbuilding  had  just  begun  and  he  secured  a 
liotnestead  claim  of  one  hundred  and  sixty  acres  in  St.  Thomas  township  prior  to  the  time 
when  the  regular  survey  was  made.  After  cultivating  that  land  for  foni-  years  he  sold  his 
farm  and  with  a  yoke  of  oxen  drove  to  Benson  county,  «here  he  seemed  a  preemjition 
claim.  For  two  years  he  resided  there  and  then  disposed  of  his  farm,  after  which  he 
returned  to  St.  Thomas  and  for  thirteen  years  thereafter  was  engaged  in  the  grain  busi- 
ness. In  190.3,  in  connection  with  Arthur  Cliilderhose,  he  established  a  general  merchan- 
dise store  which  was  conducted  under  the  firm  name  of  Childerhose  Si  (iibson  until  1906, 
during  which  time  they  enjoyed  a  large  and  growing  trade,  developing  one  of  the  leading 


636  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

establisbments  of  the  kind  in  tlie  town.  At  tlie  end  of  that  period  their  store  was 
destroyed  by  fire,  after  which  Mr.  Cliilderbose  removed  to  Winnipeg  and  Mr.  Gibson  turned 
his  attention  to  the  liardware  trade,  opening  the  second  exclusive  hardware  store  in  St. 
Thomas.  His  trade  has  steadily  grown  until  it  is  today  the  leading  establishment  of  the 
kind  in  the  town.  Unfaltering  enterprise  and  determination  are  factors  in  the  success 
which  has  attended  Mr.  Gibson  throughout  the  greater  part  of  his  business  career.  He  has 
wisely  used  his  time,  talents  and  opportunities  and  his  course  proves  that  success  is  not  a 
matter  of  genius  or  of  fortunate  circumstances,  as  held  by  some,  but  is  rather  the  outcome 
of  clear  judgment,  experience  and  indefatigable  energy.  In  addition  to  his  mercantile 
pursuits  he  is  engaged  in  farming,  having  a  quarter  section  of  land  in  Midland  township, 
Pembina  county. 

In  Cobden,  Ontario,  Mr.  Gibson  was  married  to  Miss  Sarah  Jane  Cliildcrhose.  a  native 
of  Canada  and  a  daughter  of  Henry  and  Jane  (Ross)  Childerhose,  who  became  early  set- 
tlers of  Renfrew  county,  Ontario.  The  father  was  of  Irish  and  the  mother  of  Scotch 
descent  and  both  have  now  passed  away.  ilr.  and  ]Mrs.  Gibson  became  the  parents  of  two 
children:  Irene,  a  domestic  science  teacher  in  the  Park  River  Extension  School  in  Walsh 
county;  and  Harrj',  who  is  attending  school  m  Minneapolis. 

Mr.  Gibson  is  a  republican  in  his  political  views,  active  in  support  of  the  party.  He 
served  as  county  treasurer  for  two  terms,  from  May,  1911,  until  1915,  proving  a  faithful 
custodian  of  the  public  funds,  and  in  1906  he  entered  upon  a  two  years'  term  as  railroad 
commissioner  of  the  state.  In  1916  he  was  chairman  of  the  republican  county  central  com- 
mittee of  Pembina  county  and  he  does  everything  in  his  power  to  promote  the  success  and 
insure  the  continued  growth  of  the  party.  Of  the  Commercial  Club  he  was  one  of  the 
organizers  and  is  still  a  helpful  member.  He  is  a  Ma.son  of  high  rank  and  a  prominent  Odd 
Fellow,  having  served  for  one  year  as  grand  master  of  the  Odd  Fellows  lodge  of  North 
Dakota.  He  likewise  has  membership  with  the  Modern  ^^'oodmen  of  America  and  the  Inde- 
pendent Order  of  Foresters  and  he  is  a  member  of  the  First  Presbyterian  church.  His 
career  is  creditable  inasmuch  as  his  success  is  attributable  entirely  to  his  persistent  and 
rionorable  effort.  Coming  to  North  Dakota,  he  reached  Grand  Forks  with  a  capital  of  but 
twenty-five  cents  and  is  today  numbered  among  the  most  substantial  citizens  of  St. 
Thomas,  a  fact  which  has  won  for  him  the  proud  American  title  of  "a  self-made  man." 


JOHN   WESTBERG. 


John  Westberg,  an  enterprising  mcrcliant  of  Milton,  proprietor  of  a  well  equipped  variety 
store  and  also  engaged  in  the  sale  of  clothing  and  groceries,  has  in  fact  one  of  the  leading 
general  mercantile  establishments  of  Cavalier  county.  He  was  born  May  17, "1866.  in  Malmo, 
Sweden,  a  son  of  Andrew  Westberg,  who  on  leaving  Sweden  in  1873  established  his  home 
near  Moline,  Illinois,  where  he  engaged  in  general  agricultural  pursuits  to  the  time  of  his 
death,  which  occurred  in  1882,  when  he  was  fifty-seven  years  of  age.  His  wife,  Mrs.  Anna 
Westberg,  also  a  native  of  Sweden,  accompanied  by  her  family,  joined  her  husband  in 
America  in  1879  and  passed  away  at  Moline  in  1888,  at  the  age  of  sixty-one  years. 

Of  the  two  sons  and  two  daughters  in  that  family  John  Westberg  is  the  youngest.  He 
passed  through  consecutive  grades  to  the  high  school  in  Moline  and  when  fifteen  years  of  age 
put  aside  his  textbooks  to  provide  for  his  own  support.  He  was  apprenticed  to  the  molder's 
trade,  which  he  followed  for  three  years  but  did  not  find  that  pursuit  congenial  and  tui'ned 
his  attention  to  merchandising.  He  secured  employment  as  a  salesman  in  the  Famous 
clothing  store  of  Moline  and  was  connected  with  clothing  lines  until  1904.  For  seven  years 
of  that  period  he  was  engaged  in  business  on  his  own  account  at  West  Pullman.  Illinois,  at 
the  end  of  which  time  he  disposed  of  his  interest  and  located  at  Valley  City,  North  Dakota. 
There  he  was  employed  by  Adolph  Sternberg,  a  clothing  merchant  with  whom  he  remained 
for  four  years.  He  afterward  spent  a  short  time  at  Aberdeen  and  subsequently  took  charge 
of  the  advertising  and  window  trimming  departments  of  the  business  of  H.  F.  W.  Shaller, 
of  Watertown,  with  whom  he  remained  for  three  years,  when  lie  became  secretary  of  the 
Elks  at  Watertown,  continuing  in  that  connection  for  three  years.     In  1911  he  arrived  in 


HISTORY  OF  NOR'll  I   DAKOTzV         .  637 

Jlilton  and  accepted  tlio  position  of  manager  of  the  Cavalier  County  Farmers  Cooperative 
Company,  continuinj,'  in  control  of  the  business  for  five  years  or  until  May,  19ie,  when  he 
resi<'ned  and  embarked  in  business  on  his  own  account,  establishing  the  first  complete  variety 
store  in  Cavalier  county.  He  handles  many  of  the  same  lines  of  goods  kept  in  the 
Wcohvorth  stores  of  the  country  and  he  has  a  large  and  varied  assortment  of  merchandise. 
including  clothing  and  groceries.  The  business  has  proven  profitable  from  the  beginning  and 
is  today  one  of  the  leading  general  merchandise  establishments  of  the  county.  The  store 
covers  a  lloor  space  of  twenty-five  by  one  hundred  feet  and  is  modern  in  every  detail. 

On  the  19th  of  ifarcli,  1897,  at  Milwaukee,  Wisconsin,  Mr.  Westberg  was  married  to 
Miss  (ieorgia  C.  Hackston,  a  daughter  of  Dr.  Hackston,  of  Grand  Forks,  and  they  have 
become  jiarents  of  two  children  but  both  are  now  deceased.  In  politics  Mr.  Westberg  is 
a  denu)crat  and  fraternally  he  is  connected  with  the  Elks  lodge  at  Grand  Forks.  He  belongs 
to  the  Commercial  Club  of  Milton  and,  believing  firmly  in  the  principle  of  cooperation,  gives 
active  aid  to  all  those  plans  and  projects  which  are  looking  toward  the  liettcrment  of  the 
community  and  the  substantial  upbuilding  of  the  cit}'. 


ALBERT  J.  CLURE. 


Albert  .1.  Clure,  formerly  actively  identified  with  llu'  business  interests  of  Bremen  as 
a  banker,  was  a  member  of  the  Tallman  Investment  Company,  which  owns  and  controls 
a  line  of  ten  banks,  and  is  now  assistant  cashier  of  the  Devils  Lake  State  Bank.  On  the 
1st  of  September,  1916,  he  disposed  of  his  banking  interests  in  Bremen.  Throuuh  the 
steps  of  an  orderly  progression  he  has  reached  his  present  enviable  position  in  financial 
and  business  circles  in  Wells  county.  He  was  born  in  Hastings,  Minnesota,  August  17, 
1870,  a  son  of  Charles  Clure,  a  native  of  New  York,  who  after  spending  about  eight  years 
in  V'ermont  removed  to  Illinois,  where  he  remained  until  nineteen  years  of  age.  At  that 
date,  or  in  1834,  he  became  a  resident  of  Hastings,  Minnesota.  He  was  a  stone  mason  by 
trade  and  erected  the  Gardner  flour  mill  and  many  other  prominent  buildings  in  Hastings 
and  vicinity.  He  had  the  reputation  of  laying  tlie  largest  stone  in  Minnesota  and  follow- 
ing this  exploit  he  became  well  known  in  connection  with  his  chosen  vocation.  After  a 
time  he  homesteaded  a  quarter  section  of  land  about  eleven  miles  south  of  Hastings,  in 
Dakota  county.  He  continued  to  work  at  his  trade  until  the  outbreak  of  the  Civil  war, 
at  which  time  he  joined  a  Minnesota  regiment,  going  to  the  front  as  a  mechanic.  He 
served  in  that  capacity  for  a  period  of  four  years,  or  the  entire  duration  of  the  war,  and 
following  his  return  he  proved  up  on  his  homestead  and  also  continued  to  engage  in  work 
as  a  stone  mason.  He  and  his  eldest  son  broke  one  hundred  acres  of  his  claim  in  1867 
and  on  that  tract  raised  one  thousand  bushels  of  wheat,  which  sold  for  three  dollars  a 
bushel.  St.  Paul  was  at  that  time  their  maiket.  They  purchased  machiniry  in  St.  Paul 
which  was  taken  to  the  Mississippi  river  and  from  that  point  taken  to  Hastings,  Mr, 
Clure  remained  in  Hastings  until  1901,  at  which  time  he  removed  to  Long  Beach,  Cali- 
fornia, where  he  spent  his  remaining  days  in  the  enjoyment  of  a  well  earned  rest  from 
labor  until  called  to  the  home  beyond  on  the  17th  of  August,  1916.  His  wife,  who  bore 
the  nuiiden  name  of  Mary  Scheffer,  was  a  native  of  Vermont,  and  they  were  married  in 
Aurora,  Illinois,  in  1852.  each  having  gone  with  their  respective  parents  to  that  state 
about  the  same  time.  Mrs.  Clure  passed  away  December  19,  189.5.  Their  family  num- 
bered four  children.  Onirics  Edward,  the  eldest,  after  residing  in  Washington,  Oregon 
and  other  western  states  went  to  Alaska  in  1913  and  is  now  a  banker  at  Petersburg.  Alaska. 
James  F.  is  a  ranchman  of  Cambridge,  Idaho,  having  one  thousand  acres,  on  which  he  is 
extensively  engaged  in  raising  cattle.  Frank  L.  is  the  owner  of  the  old  homestead  at 
Hastings,  Minnesota,  and  is  also  the  proprietor  of  a  garage  and  is  an  automobile  salesman. 

The  youngest  of  the  family  is  Albert  .T.  Clure,  who  attended  the  schools  of  Hastings 
and  afterward  pursued  a  business  course  at  Red  Wing,  ^linnesota.  He  organized  the  State 
Bank  at  Keynolds  in  1889,  when  nineteen  years  of  age,  and  became  acting  cashier  of  the 
institution,  his  brother  taking  the  position  of  cashier  in  the  fall  of  1890,  while  Albert  J. 
Clure  went  to  Grand  Forks  and  accepted   the  position   of   tilhr   in   the   Union    Bank   of  that 


638  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

city,  wliere  lie  remained  until  1893.  At  that  time  lie  became  a  victim  of  the  typhoid  fever 
epidemic  which  visited  Grand  Forks  and  returned  to  his  liomc  in  Hastings,  ilinnesota. 
I'pon  his  recovery  he  was  advised  bj^  his  physician  to  take  outside  work  and  became  a 
professional  baseball  player,  connected  with  the  Des  Moines  (Iowa)  team.  He  was  also 
connected  with  the  Grand  Forks  team  for  a  time  and  with  the  Stewart  team,  a  member 
of  the  Southern  League.  Through  this  outdoor  life  he  fully  recuperated  and  in  the  fall 
of  1897  he  went  to  Xew  Rockford,  North  Dakota,  where  he  embarked  in  the  implement 
business,  carrying  on  liis  store  there  for  eleven  years,  or  until  March,  1908.  He  spent  the 
succeeding  four  montlis  in  rest  and  travel,  after  wliiili  he  went  upon  the  I'oad  for  the  La 
Crosse  Implement  Company,  of  Minneapolis,  Minnesota,  his  territory  covering  the  north 
half  of  Xorth  Dakota.  His  duties  in  that  connection  occupied  his  attention  until  Decem- 
ber, 1909.  On  the  20th  of  that  month,  in  connection  with  D.  X.  Tallman.  of  ilinnesota.  he 
entered  the  field  of  banking  and  organized  ten  diflercnt  banks,  including  the  State  Bank  at 
Luverne,  X'orth  Dakota,  the  Sutton  State  Bank,  the  Juauita  State  Bank,  the  Brantford 
State  Bank,  the  State  Bank  at  Bremen  and  the  State  Banks  at  Heimdal,  Selz,  Aylmer,  Guthrie 
and  Simeoe.  Tlie  syndicate  at  one  time  had  a  line  of  thirty-seven  banks  in  tlie  state.  The.=e 
banks  are  capitalized  at  ten  thousand  dollars  each  and  the  business  is  conducted  under 
the  name  of  the  Tallman  Investment  Company.  Mr.  Clure  is  also  interested  in  farm 
lands  and  in  everything  that  he  does  he  displays  a  spirit  of  marked  enterprise,  keenly  alert 
to  the  business  opiiortiuiities  which  are  dcvelojicd  in  a  growing  country.  He  is  never  afraid 
to  ventiu'e  where  favoring  oi>por(unity  leads  the  way  and  his  progressiveness  has  accom- 
plished splendid  results. 

On  tlie  21st  of  December,  1S9S,  Mr.  Clure  was  married  to  Miss  Winifred  E.  Fowler, 
a  native  of  Council  Bluffs,  low-a,  born  March  5,  1882,  and  a  daughter  of  Eaton  and  Nellie 
Fowler,  the  latter  a  native  of  Minnesota.  She  is  now  living  at  Long  Beach,  California,  but 
Mr.  Fowler  passed  away  at  Oakland,  that  state.  To  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Clure  have  been  born 
three  children:  Albert  E.,  who  was  born  -hine  1.  1901 ;  Dorothea  E..  born  December  1, 
190.'!;  and  Mary  E.,  born  August  1,  1910. 

Jlr.  Clure  votes  with  the  republican  party  but  has  never  becii  a  jiolitician  in  the 
sense  of  office  seeking.  He  has  membership  in  Xew  Rockford  Camp,  X^o.  2214,  M.  W.  A.,  and 
he  and  his  family  are  members  of  the  Baptist  church.  Fortunate  in  possessing  character 
and  ability  that  ins])ire  confidence  in  others,  the  simple  weight  of  his  character  and  ability 
has  carried  him  into  important  business  relations,  and  through  his  banking  operations  he 
has  contributed    much    to   the   dcvelo|inu'nt    and   u]>building   of   tfie   state. 


\V.  E.  HOCTCING,  D.  D. 


Dr.  W.  E.  Hocking,  tlic  senior  partner  in  the  well  known  lirm  of  Hocking  &  Hocking, 
ilcntal  surgeons  at  Devils  Lake,  exemidifies  in  his  practice  the  most  progressive  methods 
of  the  profession  and  at  all  times  keeps  in  touch  with  the  trend  of  modern  thought  and 
scientific  investigation  in  the  field  of  dental  practice.  Dr.  Hocking  has  been  a  lifelong 
resident  of  North  Dakota.  He  was  born  in  \A'heatland,  Cass  county,  on  the  17th  of 
September,  1882,  a  son  of  J.  S.  and  Mary  .T.  (Matters)  Hocking.  The  father  came  to 
Dakota  territory  in  the  '70s  and  homesteaded  in  Cass  county  before  the  building  of  the 
X'^orthern  Pacific  Railroad.  He  aided  much  in  the  pioneer  develojunent  of  the  district  and 
for  a  long  period  was  there  identified  witli  agricultural  ]iuisuits.  He  passed  awaj'  in 
1915   and   is  still   survived  by  his   widow. 

W.  E.  Hocking  supplemented  his  public  school  training  by  study  in  the  normal  school 
at  Mayville  and  afterward  taught  for  a  year  as  principal  of  the  high  school  at  Bisbee, 
but  regai-ded  this  merely  as  an  initial  step  to  other  professional  labor.  He  determined  to 
make  the  practice  of  dentistry  his  life  work  and  with  that  end  in  view  entered  the  Chicago 
College  of  Dental  Surgery,  from  which  he  was  graduated  with  the  class  of  190C.  Immediately 
afterwai'd  he  came  to  Devils  Lake,  where  he  has  since  remained  covering  a  period  of  more 
than  a  decade  and  in  the  interim  he  has  built  up  a  gratifying  and  steadily  gi-owing 
practice.     His   high   professional   attainments   arc   indicated   in   the   fact   that   he   has   been 


lJ 


DK.  \V.  E.  HOCIiING 


PnSTORV-Ul'  XURTli  DAKOTA  (in 

iiuulf  secretary  of  the  stiite  board  of  dental  examiners,  in  which  capacity  he  is  now  Moving 
and  he  is  also  a  member  of  the  Xorth  Dakota  State  Dental  Society  and  tlie  American 
Dental  Association. 

In  March,  190U,  Dr.  llockinj;  was  uiiiticl  in  iiKirriafie  t<i  Miss  l.cr  .\iina  J'itzf;cralil. 
They  are  members  of  the  Episcopal  church  and  Dr.  Hockini;  belon^'S  also  to  tlw  .Masonic 
fraternity,  ])assinn;  iii)ward  throuitli  both  routes  so  that  lie  is  now  a  Kni-jiit  Temjilar  and 
a  consistory  ilason.  In  politics  he  is  a  stalwart  republican  and  is  serving  as  a  member 
of  the  city  commission,  having  charge  of  the  police  and  lire  departments.  For  a  minihei- 
of  years  he  was  secretary  of  the  Chautauqua  Association  at  Devils  Lake  and  did  much 
to  furnish  to  the  city  attractive  and  instructive  entertainment,  making  the  (  li;nit;iiii|iia 
:\n  element  of  cultural  value  in  Ramsey  county.  It  is  a  recognized  fact  that  Dr.  ITocking 
always  follows  the  better  part  and  that  his  iullnencc  and  aid  are  given  to  tlie  side 
of  progress  and  improvement  at  all  times. 


HON.  .JOHX  L.   CASIIEL. 


.John  L.  Cashel  of  Grafton,  Xorth  Dakota,  has  filled  and  is  filling  a  iiioininent  position 
in  the  business  world.  A  native  of  Xew  York  city,  he  was  born  June  24,  1848,  and  was 
the  youngest  of  the  four  children  of  Andrew  and  Jfary  Ann  (Lyons)  Cashel,  who  were 
natives  of  Ireland,  as  were  their  three  eldest  children.  Coming  to  America  in  1847,  they 
settled  in  Xew  York  city  but  after  a  brief  period  removed  to  Ohio,  where  the  father  carried 
on  farming  until  1857.  He  then  established  his  home  in  Buffalo  county.  Wisconsin,  where 
he  was  engaged  in  general  agricultural  pursuits  to  the  time  of  his  death.  The  district  in 
which  he  settled  was  a  western  wilderness  at  that  period  and  he  aided  largely  in  converting 
it  into  a  productive  farming  region.  He  was  a  very  practical  man  in  all  that  he  accomplished 
and  his  labors  brought  substantial  results.  He  was  a  democrat  in  his  political  views  and 
he  passed  away  Xoveraber  1,  1892.  at  the  age  of  eighty-one  years,  in  the  faith  of  the  Roman 
Catholic  church.  His  wife  had  departed  this  life  in  1859.  Of  their  children  but  two  are 
now  living.     A  daughter,  Catherine  T.  Cashel,  is  a  resident  of  Enid,  Oklahoma. 

.Tohn  L.  Cashel,  the  surviving  son,  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  of  \\isconsin,  in 
the  Wayland  University  at  Beaver  Dam.  Wisconsin,  and  in  the  State  University,  also  pur- 
suing a  commercial  course  at  La  Crosse,  Wisconsin.  His  early  experiences  were  those  of  the 
farm  bred  lioy  and  when  he  started  out  independently  he  taught  in  the  public  schools  of 
Buffalo  county,  Wisconsin,  for  four  years.  In  1871  he  became  principal  of  the  La  Crosse 
Business  College,  in  which  he  purchased  a  half  interest  and  with  which  he  was  successfully 
identified  for  five  years.  On  the  expiration  of  that  period  he  turned  his  attention  to  mer- 
chandising at  Rochester,  Minnesota,  where  he  remained  for  two  years  and  afterward  engaged 
in  the  real  estate  and  abstract  business  at  Faribault,  Minnesota,  for  three  years.  On  the 
31st  of  August,  1881,  he  arrived  in  Grafton,  territory  of  Dakota,  when  the  city  contained 
a  population  of  less  than  one  hundred  and  before  the  advent  of  the  railroad.  However,  he 
had  the  prescience  to  discern  something  of  what  the  future  had  in  store  for  this  gi'owing 
western  district:  he  organized  and  established  the  first  bank  in  the  county,  called  the  Walsh 
County  Bank,  continuing  the  business  under  that  name  until  it  was  merged  into  the  First 
National  Bank  on  the  first  of  .January,  1883.  Mr.  Cashel  at  that  time  became  cashier  and 
so  continued  for  twenty-eight  years,  after  which  he  occupied  the  presidency  for  three  years. 
In  1906  he  was  elected  president  of  the  State  Bankers  Association.  He  organized  the 
Scandinavian-American  Bank  on  the  14th  of  Xovember.  1913,  and  has  continuously  served 
as  its  president.  He  still  remains  a  large  stockholder  in  the  First  National  Bank,  he  also 
has  investments  in  various  corporate  interests,  while  his  land  holdings  are  extensive.  He 
has  shown  keen  discernment  in  extending  his  business  relations  and  his  interests  today 
make  him  one  of  the  ])rominent  factors  in  the  material  developnnnt  and  U|ibnilding  of  the 
district   in   which   he   lives. 

At  La  Crosse,  Wisconsin,  on  the  1st  of  September,  1874,  Mr.  Cashel  was  married  to  Miss 
Margaret  iforris.  a  native  of  that  place  and  a  descendant  of  one  of  its  old  families,  her 
father.   Thomas   ilorris.   being   a    prominent    pioneer   merchant    of   that    city.      Mr.    and    Mrs. 


642  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

Cashel  have  two  sons.  Morris  J.,  who  was  born  November  4,  1884,  the  Jay  of  President  Cleve- 
land's first  election,  is  a  graduate  of  the  University  of  Wisconsin  and  is  now  assistant  cashier 
of  the  Scandinavian-American  Bank  of  Grafton.  John  L.,  wlio  was  born  June  19,  1SS6,  and 
was  graduated  from  the  law  department  of  Yale  University  with  the  LL.  B.  degree,  is 
engaged  in  active  law  practice  at  Grafton,  Nortli  Dakota. 

Mr.  Cashel  is  a  strong  believer  in  education  and  has  given  to  his  sons  excellent  oppor- 
tunities along  that  line.  For  seventeen  years  he  was  president  of  the  board  of  education  of 
Grafton  and  a  member  of  the  board  for  nineteen  years.  He  served  for  six  years  as  a  member 
of  the  city  council  and  has  always  exercised  his  ofiicial  perogatives  in  support  of  measures 
for  the  public  good.  His  first  presidential  vote  was  cast  for  U.  S.  Grant  in  1873  and  he 
supported  the  republican  party  until  189.3,  since  which  time  he  has  been  a  stanch  democrat. 
For  twenty  years  he  was  in  the  state  senate  and  has  left  the  impress  of  his  individuality 
and  ability  in  large  measure  upon  North  Dakota  legislation.  He  is  the  author  of  many 
important  laws  on  the  statute  books.  He  was  chairman  of  the  democratic  state  central 
committee  from  1906  until  1910  and  in  1908  he  was  a  candidate  at  the  primary  for  the 
United  States  senate,  carrying  more  than  forty-four  counties  in  the  state.  He  was  one  of  the 
three  delegates,  with  the  governor,  from  this  state,  to  attend  the  conference  of  the  governors 
of  the  states  called  by  the  president  at  the  White  House,  Washington,  D.  C,  May  13,  14  and  15, 
1908,  to  consider  the  "Conservation  of  Natural  Resources,"  He  was  a  delegate  to  the 
democratic  national  convention  at  St.  Louis  in  1916.  He  belongs  to  the  Roman  Catholic 
church  and  has  taken  the  fourth  degree  in  the  Knights  of  Columbus.  For  five  years  he 
filled  the  office  of  president  of  the  Commercial  Club  of  Grafton,  of  which  he  is  still  a  mem- 
ber, and  for  five  years  he  was  president  of  the  Red  River  Valley  Drainage  League.  All  these 
associations  and  activities  prove  how  broad  are  his  interests  and  how  important  has  been 
his  service  to  the  public.  He  has  ever  recognized  the  possibilities  of  the  country  and  has 
labored  to  realize  these  to  the  fullest,  his  efforts  at  all  times  being  an  element  in  the 
advancement  of  the  material,  intellectual,  social,  political  and  moral  welfare  of  Walsh 
county,  in  particular,  and  North  Dakota  in  general. 


THOMAS  M.  MURPHY. 


Tliomas  il.  JIurphy,  a  well  known  resident  of  Sanborn,  now  living  retired,  was  born 
in  County  Mayo,  Ireland,  November  10,  1845,  and  of  that  county  his  parents,  Michael  and 
Catherine  (Campbell)  Murphy,  and  his  grandfather,  Thomas  Mur])liy,  were  also  natives. 
The  family  were  farming  people  and  to  that  pursuit  the  father  devoted  his  energies  until 
called  to  his  final  rest  in  November,  1879,  when  seventy-four  years  of  age. 

Thomas  M.  Murphy,  the  fourth  in  order  of  birth  in  a  family  of  seven  children,  spent 
his  j-outhful  days  in  Ireland  to  the  age  of  sixteen  years,  when  in  1861  he  and  his  eldest 
brother  came  to  America,  to  which  country  the  eldest  sister  had  previously  emigrated  in 
1852,  making  her  home  with  her  uncle,  William  Murphy,  at  Michigan  City,  Indiana.  She 
was  married  in  La  Fayette,  Indiana,  to  John  McNicholas  and  later  removed  to  \'\'yandotte 
covinty,  Kansas,  where  she  lived  for  some  time  and  then  went  with  lier  husband  to  Den- 
ver, Colorado,  where  she  passed  away  in  March,  1883,  while  Mr.  McNicholas  died  in  1884. 
When  Thomas  il.  ilurphy  and  his  brother  came  to  the  United  States  in  1861  they  settled 
in  Queens  county.  Long  Island,  where  both  worked  on  a  farm  from  the  16th  of  June  until 
the  17th  of  August.  Not  having  definite  information  concerning  their  sister,  they  went 
to  Indiana  but  remained  for  only  a  few  weeks,  learning  that  their  sister  had  gone  to 
Wyandotte,  Kansas,  whither  they  also  proceeded.  The  brother  of  Thomas  M.  Murphy 
afterward  removed  to  Missouri,  where  he  engaged  in  farming  until  1873,  when  he  became  a 
resident  of  Ottertail  county.  Minnesota,  making  his  home  in  that  state  until  his  death, 
which  occurred  in  May,  1908. 

Thomas  M.  Murphy  remained  for  two  years  in  Kansas  and  then  went  to  Illinois,  where 
he  spent  a  year.  In  September,  1870,  he,  removed  to  Minnesota,  having  entered  the  employ 
of  the  Northern  Pacific  Railroad  Company.  He  ran  a  work  train  and  kept  along  the  line 
as  construction    continued,   remaining   in    the    employ    of   the    railroad    luitil    1897.      He    won 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  643 

udvancfiiiriit  I'lum  time  to  tiiiu'  ami  was  in  t-iiarpe  of  track  and  trains  of  tin-  Dakota 
division,  while  for  some  time  lie  served  as  conductor,  also  as  a  track  foreman  and  as  road 
master.  While  thus  emi)loycd  he  met  all  the  ])roniinent  nu>u  of  the  early  days,  inclmling 
General  tJeorge  A.  Custer  and  many  others  of  note.  In  Jlay,  1SS3,  he  removed  to  Sanborn, 
wliere  he  has  since  made  his  home. 

On  the  5th  of  November,  1875,  Mr.  Murphy  was  married  to  Miss  Catherine  O'Gorman, 
wlio  was  born  in  Dakota  county,  Minnesota,  in  January,  1658,  a  daughter  of  John  and 
Mary  O'Corman.  .She  passed  away  in  1893.  The  children  of  that  marriage  were  nine  in 
iiumbtM-  but  live  died  in  infancy.  William,  born  in  Hobart,  Minnesota,  September  28,  1878, 
was  educated  in  the  public  schools  and  the  State  Normal  School  at  Valley  City,  from  which 
he  was  graduated  in  1895,  being  the  youngest  to  complete  the  course  in  that  institution 
from  its  opening  to  the  present  time.  He  is  now  president  of  its  alumni  society  for  the 
year  1910-17.  After  his  graduation  he  taught  school  at  Bull'alo  and  at  Litchville,  North 
Dakota,  until  his  marriage  on  the  oOth  of  October,  1903,  to  Miss  Anna  Bertha  Riedman,  of 
Batavia,  New  York,  a  daughter  of  Frederick  Riedman,  who  came  to  Dakota  in  1884.  The 
children  of  this  marriage  are  JIaria,  Gordon  and  James.  After  his  marriage  William 
Murphy  engaged  in  farming  for  some  time  and  in  1906  established  an  implement  business 
in  Sanborn,  carrying  a  large  line  of  general  farm  machinery  and  representing  various 
leading  lirnis  of  manufactureis.  He  has  taken  an  active  part  in  political  atiairs  as  a 
supporter  of  the  republican  party  and  is  a  brilliant,  clever  and  genial  man.  For  several 
j'cars  he  has  been  justice  of  the  peace  and  chairman  of  the  board  of  trustees  of  the  town 
of  Sanborn..  He  was  chief  of  the  lire  department  for  four  years  and  is  a  life  member  of 
the  North  Dakota  Firemen's  Association.  John,  the  next  of  the  family,  is  secretary  of 
the  state  prison  at  Bismarck.  Henry  T.  is  engaged  in  the  insurance  business  at  Bismarck 
in  partnership  with  C;  B.  Little,  president  of  the  First  National  Bank  there.  Both  John 
and  Henry  were  members  of  Company  G,  North  Dakota  National  Guard,  and  saw  active 
service  in  the  Philippines  at  the  time  of  the  Spanish-American  war.  Michael  Bernard  is 
now  in  the  employ  of  the  government  at  Point  Fermin,  California. 

Mr.  Slurpliy  has  a  complete  record  of  his  ancestry  back  to  1798.  His  great-grand- 
father, James  Jlurpby,  whose  wife  was  Bridget  JIurphy,  and  his  maternal  grandfather, 
Patrick  Cam|)bell,  both  took  part  in  the  rebellion  of  1798.  Mr.  Murphy  has  always  been 
a  wide  reader  and  student  of  history  and  is  a  man  of  much  more  than  ordinary  intelligence. 
He  discusses  in  interesting  maimer  all  the  leading  and  vital  questions  and  issues  of  the 
day  when  appealed  to  for  his  opinion  and  his  sons  seem  to  have  inherited  his  splendid 
mental  traits. 


ALBERT  HENRY  MAKEE. 


Albert  Henry  Makee,  cashier  of  the  First  International  Bank  at  Noonan,  was  born  in 
Laporte  City,  Iowa,  October  11,  1873,  a  son  of  William  U.  and  Mary  A.  (Perry)  Makee.  The 
father  was  born  at  Rochester,  New  Y"ork,  August  16,  1840,  and  when  but  five  years  of  age 
was  taken  to  Watertown,  W'iseonsin,  where  he  was  reared  to  the  age  of  twelve.  In  1852 
he  became  a  resident  of  Manitowoc,  Wisconsin,  and  in  the  schools  of  that  state  pursued 
his  education.  In  1861  he  enlisted  in  the  Mechanics  Fusiliers  under  Captain  Bates  of 
Company  D  and  with  that  comnumd  remained  for  six  months,  being  on  duty  at  Camp 
Douglas  in  Chicago,  where  he  was  honorably  discharged  at  the  end  of  a  half  year,  although 
his  term  of  enlistment  was  for  but  ninety  days.  He  then  returned  to  Manitowoc  and  once 
more  ollered  his  services  to  the  country,  joining  Company  D  of  the  Twenty-seventh  Wis- 
consin Volunteer  Infantry,  with  which  he  served  for  three  years  and  eleven  months,  par- 
ticipating in  the  siege  of  \'icksburg  and  the  fighting  along  the  Mississippi  river.  He  was 
at  Jenkins  Ferry,  also  at  Saline  River,  Arkansas,  and  at  Little  Rock.  He  was  promoted  to 
the  rank  of  corporal,  sergeant  and  first  sergeant  and  was  qffered  the  commission  of  captain 
in  one  of  the  negro  regiments  but  did  not  accept. 

After  the  war  William  H.  Makee  returned  to  Laporte  City,  Iowa,  where  he  engaged 
in  merchandising  as  a  dealer  in  groceries,  boots  and  shoes  and  drugs.     At  length   he  sold 


6U  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

out  all  but  tlic  iliiii;  duijartmeiit  aiul  toiicontratcd  his  cuergk-s  upon  the  luvtliei-  iipbiiiUliii,L; 
of  that  business  until  1878,  whtn  he  disposed  of  liis  store  and  removed  to  Fargo,  Noi'tU 
]>akota.  There  he  engaged  in  the  wholesale  grocery  business  as  manager  of  Eaymond  & 
Kingman,  with  whom  he  remained  for  three  years.  He  afterward  established  a  large  general 
store  at  Devils  Lake,  North  Dakota,  in  ISSl,  continuing  in  business  there  until  1S84,  when 
he  removed  to  the  Turtle  mountains  of  Xortli  IJakota,  in  whicii  district  he  opened  a 
general  store  in  what  is  no«^  the  town  of  Uunseith.  He  was  a  pioneer  of  that  country 
when  it  was  a  wilderness,  its  iidiabitants  being  the  Indians  and  the  few  cowboj's  who  rode 
the  range.  There  he  continued  until  1S93,  when  he  Mas  appointed  collector  of  customs  at 
the  town  of  Portal,  Xorth  Dakota, — a  port  of  entry  on  the  Canadian  line.  In  ISUo  he 
removed  to  Kenmare,  A\'ind  county,  and  established  the  first  business  house  there — a  drug 
store  Mhich  lie  conducted  until  August.  I'JIG,  when  he  closed  out  and  retired  froni'  active 
life,  still  making  his  home,  liowevcr,  in  Kenmare.  While  at  Dunseith  in  the  Turtle  moun- 
tains, in  the  early  days,  there  was  so  much  disturbance  by  the  Indians  and  the  border 
rulhans  ''shooting  up  the  town''  that  he  organized  two  troops  of  cavalry,  known  as  Troops 
A  and  B  of  the  Dakota  Territory  National  Guard,  and  was  appointed  major,  commanding 
these  troops,  who  did  service  in  keeping  down  the  outlaws  and  quelling  the  Indian  uprisings. 
He  is  known  as  Major  ilakee  to  all  the  pioneer  residents  of  North  Dakota  and  in  this  and 
other  connections  became  widely  known  throughout  the  state.  While  at  Dunseith  a  man 
robbed  the  bank  in  da3'light,  forced  the  cashier  at  the  point  of  a  gun  to  give  up  the  money, 
thanked  him  for  it  and  rode  way.  He  afterward  returned,  robbed  a  store,  shot  a  clerk  and 
left  town  with  must  of  the  villagers  chasing  him,  but  he  gave  his  pursuers  the  slip  and 
doubled  back  to  town,  riding  up  to  the  door  of  Major  Makee's  store.  The  Major  picked 
up  his  old  reliable  army  carbine,  whicli  the  robber  ordered  him  to  drop.  The  order  had  no 
effect:  on  the  contrary  he  fired  at  the  desperado,  who  also  fired  at  him.  The  two  shots 
were  simultaneous,  but  the  Major's  bullet  hit  the  robber  in  the  arm  and  his  ritle  fell  to  the 
lloor.  He  lied  and  hid  in  a  log  shack.  Major  Makee  and  a  few  others  went  in  pursuit. 
The  man  still  had  two  pistols  and  a  pistol  battle  took  place  in  which  the  culprit  was  slain. 
Major  Makee  fras  appointed  a  colonel  on  the  staff  of  Governor  Shortridge  and  also  served 
as  colonel  on  the  staff  of  Governor  John  Burke  for  six  years.  In  his  oflicial  capacity  he  took 
part  ill  tlir  launching  of  the  battleship  North  Dakota.  In  his  political  views  he  was  a 
republican  in  early  manhood,  casting  his  first  presidential  vote  for  Abraham  Lincoln,  but 
since  the   Civil  war   has   been   a   democrat. 

ilajor  Makee  was  united  in  marriage  to  Jliss  Mary  Alice  Perry,  who  was  born  in 
Bangor,  Maine,  and  pursued  her  education  in  the  schools  of  that  state.  She  is  a  direct 
descendant  of  Commodore  Perry  and  her  father  bore  the  name  of  Oliver  Hazard  Perry. 
The  marriage  of  Major  and  Mrs.  Makee  was  celebrated  at  Laporte  City,  Iowa,  and  they 
have  become  parents  of  four  children:      Galen  Perry,  Francis,  Albert  H.  and  Lendal  E. 

Albert  H.  Makee  began  his  education  in  the  schools  of  Laporte  City,  Iowa,  and  con- 
tinued his  studies  in  Fargo,  in  the  high  school  at  Dunseith  and  in  the  State  Normal  School 
at  Valley  City.  He  engaged  in  farming  and  stock  raising  on  his  father's  rancli  in  the 
Turtle  mountains  and  entered  commercial  circles  in  1900,  when  he  and  his  brother,  under 
llie  firm  style  of  Makee  Brothers,  established  a  lumberj'ard  at  Portal.  There  he  remained 
until  1906,  when  he  sold  out  and  went  to  Kermit,  where  he  was  cashier  of  the  First  Inter- 
national Bank  until  1907.  In  that  year  he  oi-ganized  the  First  International  Bank  at 
Noonan,  and  has  since  been  its  cashier,  contributing  in  large  measure  to  its  success.  He  is  a 
wide-awake  business  man,  always  ready  to  meet  an  emergency  in  a  business  situation  and 
devise  plans  toward  the  development  of  the  interests  entrusted  to  his  care.  He  carefully 
safeguards  the  depositors  by  his  business  policy  and  at  the  same  time  docs  not  hamper 
progressivencss  by  an  undue  conservatism.  In  addition  to  his  banking  interests  Mr.  Makee 
has  operated  largely  in  land  and  sold  thirty-six  quarter  sections  in  1915.  His  efforts  in 
this  direction  have  also  been  an  element   in  the   development  of  the  county. 

In  1897  Mr.  Makee  was  married  to  Miss  Ida  Carlson,  of  Oxbow,  Saskatchewan,  Can- 
ada, who  was  born  in  Winnipeg,  Canada,  and  was  left  an  orphan  during  her  early  girlhood. 
Her  education  was  acquired  at  Minot,  North  Dakota,  and  by  her  marriage  she  has  become 
the  mother  of  four  children:  William  Perry,  born  at  Portal;  Lendel  Billings;  Fayette 
Albert:  and  Esther  May. 


HISTORY  OF  XOKTII  DAKOTA  645 

111  piilitii-s  Ml.  Makee  is  a  ic'imblicaii  and  I'or  two  years,  uihUt  apiiointiiK'Ht  ul  i;o\- 
i-rnoi-  Burke,  lillcd  the  office  of  county  commissioner  of  Divide  county  following  tlie  or^.m- 
ization  of  the  county.  He  is  now  president  of  the  school  board  of  Noonan.  l-'raternally 
he  is  connected  with  Crosby  Lodge,  Xo.  108,  !•'.  &  A.  M.,  and  has  taken  the  Scottish  Kite 
degrees  at  Grand  I'orks,  where  he  also  has  membership  in  Kem  Temple  of  the  ilyslic 
Shrine.  Fraternally  he  is  connected  with  Minot  Lodge,  Xo.  1080,  B.  l\  0.  K.  He  is  regardi'd 
as  one  of  the  leading  citizens  of  Divide  county,  his  business  ability,  his  enterprise  and  his 
[lublic  spirit  making  him  widely  and  favorably  known. 


THO.MAS   DKVANEY. 


•  Thomas  Devaney,  practicing  law  at  Langdon,  was  born  .March  14.  1S7.5,  at  Kimball. 
Pennsylvania,  a  son  of  John  and  Mary  Jane  (Bowell)  Devaney,  who  were  natives  of  Ireland 
and  Kngland  respectively.  The  former  came  to  America  about  1860  and  settled  at  Kimball, 
Pennsylvania.  In  the  spring  of  18S0  he  arrived  in  North  Dakota,  establishing  his  home 
at  Carlisle,  Pembina  county,  in  the  month  of  March  as  one  of  the  pioneer  settlers  there. 
He  was  a  stone  cutter  by  trade  but  homestended  on  one  hundred  and  sixty  acres  in  Carlisle 
township  where  he  carried  on  farming  until  l!)l)5.  After  retiring  from  active  business  life 
he  removed  to  Boise,  Idaho,  where  he  enjoyed  the  fruits  of  his  former  toil  until  he  passed 
away  August  11.  1015,  at  the  age  of  seventy  years.  He  was  a  strong  democrat  and  took 
an  active  part  in  polities  and  upbuilding  civic  standards,  but  never  sought  nor  desired 
political  office.  During  the  Civil  war  he  proffered  his  services  to  the  government  but  could 
not  pass  the  necessary  physical  examination.  In  religious  faith  lie  was  a  devout  Roman 
t'atholic.  His  wife,  a  native  of  England,  came  with  her  parents  to  America  in  1845,  spending 
^ix  weeks  eu  route  on  a  sailing  vessel.  Iter  father  became  a  farmer  in  Susquehanna  county, 
I'ennsylvania,  where  he  lived  until  his  death,  and  in  that  county  his  daughter  Mary  Jane 
became  acquainted  with  John  Devaney  who  sought  her  hand  in  marriage.  She  died  at 
Eugene,  Oregon,  November  4,  1016,  and  was  buried  at  Boise,  Idaho,  beside  her  husband. 

In  their  family  were  fourteen  children  of  whom  seven  are  living,  Thomas  Devaney  being 
the  second  of  this  number.  He  was  but  five  years  of  age  when  his  parents  came  to  North 
Dakota  so  that  he  was  reared  on  the  western  frontier.  He  attended  the  district  schools 
of  Pembina  county  and  the  high  school  at  Neche  through  two  winter  seasons.  During  the 
spring  term  of  1895  he  attended  Hamilton  high  school  and  in  .January  1896  entered  the 
State  University  of  North  Dakota  from  which  he  was  graduated  with  the  Bachelor  of  Arts 
degree  in  June  1001.  With  the  broad  literary  education  to  serve  as  a  fovuidation  on  which 
to  build  professional  knowledge,  he  took  up  the  study  of  law,  and  was  admitted  to  the  bar- 
December  11.  1000.  In  the  meantime,  after  leaving  the  State  I'niversity,  he  entered  upon 
the  profession  of  teaching  at  Langdon  in  the  fall  of  1001  and  taught  school  for  a  year.  He 
then  took  up  a  homestead  in  Henderson  township,  Cavalier  county,  and  engaged  in  farming 
thereon  for  fourteen  months,  thus  winning  his  title  to  the  property.  In  1003  he  removed 
to  Langdon  and  secured  a  position  in  the  office  of  the  register  of  deeds.  He  also  spent 
three  and  one-half  years  as  office  deputy  to  the  sheriff  and  while  thus  engaged  pursued  his 
studies  in  law  under  the  direction  of  \V.  D.  Dickson.  After  passing  the  state  examination 
he  entered  into  partnership  with  his  former  preceptor  under  the  firm  style  of  Dickson  & 
Devaney.  which  relation  continued  until  .lune  1,  1015,  since  which  time  Mr.  Devaney  has 
remained  alone  in  the  priictice  of  law  and  has  built  up  a  very  gratifying  practice  that  has 
connected  him  with  much  important  litigation.  He  is  a  member  of  both  the  county  and 
state  bar  associations  and  believes  in  maintaining  a  high  professional  standard. 

On  July  14,  1903,  Mr.  Devaney  was  married  to  Miss  Maude  S.  Sanford,  a  native  of 
Toledo,  Ohio.  Her  father  was  a  native  of  New  York  and  of  Irish  descent.  Her  mother  was 
born  in  Canada.  She  attended  the  university  of  North  Dakota  and  graduated  in  June  1902 
with  a  degree  of  Bachelor  of  Arts.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Devaney  have  a  son.  Thomas  Edwin,  born 
in  Langdim  October  1,  1910.  Mr.  Devaney  belongs  also  to  the  Knights  of  Pythias  lodge  in 
which  he  has  passed  all  the  chairs  becoming  chancellor  commander.  He  had  a  militarv  train- 
ing  covering   three   years'   cadet    service   at   the   University   of   North    Dakota   and   became 


646  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

captain  of  Company  "W  of  university  cadets.  He  joined  liis  company  as  a  private,  tlie 
second  year  was  made  corporal  and  later  he  worked  his  way  upward  through  various 
promotions  to  tlie  rank  of  captain.  He  belongs  to  the  Commercial  Club  and  in  politics  is 
an  active,  stalwart  republican.  He  has  served  as  justice  of  the  peace  in  Cavalier  county 
since  1909  and  is  also  city  attorney  of  Langdon,  having  been  appointed  in  June  1915  to 
succeed  his  former  partner  who  is  now  legistrar  of  the  United  States  Land  Office  at  Dickin- 
son, North  Dakota.  Practically  his  entire  life  has  been  spent  in  this  state,  his  residence 
here  covering  more  than  thirty-six  years.  He  has,  therefore,  witnessed  much  of  its  growth 
and  transformation  and  at  all  times  he  has  been  actively  interested  in  maintaining  the 
highest  standards  for  the  commonwealth. 


G.  E.  HARDING. 


0.  E.  Harding,  owner  and  publisher  of  the  Sun  at  Qiurchs  Ferry,  was  born  in  Sibley, 
Iowa,  in  December,  1877,  a  son  of  0.  B.  and  Emma  (Moyer)  Harding,  both  of  whom  are 
now  living.  He  acquired  a  jiublic  school  education  in  Iowa,  passing  through  consecutive 
gi'ades  to  the  high  school,  while  later  he  became  a  student  in  Morningside  College  at  Sioux 
City,  Iowa,  from  which  he  was  graduated  with  the  Ph.  B.  degree  in  June,  1905.  He  then 
took  up  the  profession  of  teaching,  which  he  followed  for  si.x  years,  and  for  three  years  was 
superintendent  of  schools  at  Cliurchs  Ferry.  Ha  has  been  engaged  in  the  newspaper  business 
for  the  past  three  years,  owning  and  publishing  the  Sun,  which  is  an  independent  journal. 

On  the  24th  of  May,  1906,  Mr.  Harding  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Sadie  Van  Home 
and  they  have  become  the  parents  of  three  children,  Genevieve,  Cliarles  and  Cedric.  Mr. 
Harding  is  a  Methodist  in  religious  faith  and  fraternally  is  connected  with  the  Masonic 
lodge,  with  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America  and  with  the  Brotherhood  of  American  Yeo- 
men. In  politics  he  is  a  republican,  but  votes  for  men  and  measures  rather  than  party.  By 
President  Wilson  he  was  appointed  postmaster  of  Churchs  Ferry  and  is  now  occujiying  that 
position.  He  is  interested  in  farm  lands  and  is  a  believer  in  the  future  of  North  Dakota, 
recognizing  the  fact  that  modern  scientific  methods  are  rapidly  developing  her  resources  and 
promoting  the  progress  of  the  state.  In  all  plans  for  the  general  good  he  is  interested  and 
he  is  particularly  stanch  in  his  championship  of  the  good  roads  movement. 


HENDRICK  A.  RYGH. 


Hendrick  A.  R3'gh,  president  of  the  First  National  Bank  of  Cavalier,  has  through  a 
IJrogressive  policy,  tempered  by  safe  conservatism,  built  up  one  of  the  leading  financial  insti- 
tutions of  the  northeastern  part  of  the  state.  He  was  born  in  Ottertail,  Minnesota,  August  8, 
1868,  a  son  of  Taral  and  Inger  Rygh,  who  were  natives  of  Norway.  Coming  to  America  in 
1864,  they  settled  near  Decorah,  Iowa,  and  in  1867  removed  to  Minnesota,  where  tlie  father 
engaged  in  farming.  Subsequently  he  turned  his  attention  to  merchandising  in  Ottertail, 
Minnesota,  where  he  remained  in  business  up  to  the  time  of  his  death,  when  he  was  sixty- 
four  years  of  age.  For  eight  years  he  was  survived  by  his  wife,  who  died  at  the  age  of 
eighty-four  years. 

Hendrick  A.  Rygh,  their  only  surviving  child,  acquired  a  public  school  education  in 
Minnesota  mid  tlien  entered  the  Chicago  University,  from  which  he  was  graduated  with  the 
Bachelor  of  Arts  degree  in  1891.  He  afterward  took  up  the  study  of  law  in  the  University 
of  Chicago  and  also  pursued  his  reading  in  night  schools.  After  leaving  school  he  entered 
mercantile  circles  at  Litchfield,  Minnesota,  where  he  remained  in  business  for  seven  years 
and  then  turned  his  attention  to  the  loan  l)rokcrago  business  in  that  state.  Three  years 
later,  or  in  1907,  he  removed  to  Cavalier,  North  Dakota,  and  bought  out  the  State  Bank. 
which  he  reorganized  and  converted  into  the  First  National  Bank,  of  which  he  has  since  been 
the  president.  This  is  one  of  the  leading  banks  of  the  northeastern  part  of  the  state.  It 
has  a  paid-up  capital  of  twenty-five  thousand  dollars  and  has  large  deposits.     The  business 


HKXDRICK  A.  RYOH 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  64!) 

is  conducted  according  to  tlie  most  modern  methods  of  banking  and  yet  its  policy  allows 
of  no  unwarranted  risks.  Mr.  Rygh  is  also  a  director  of  the  Mountain  State  Bank  at 
jroiintain,  North  Dakota,  and  ho  is  extensively  engaged  in  farming,  having  large  tracts  of 
land  which  he  has  V>ronght  under  a  high  state  of  development  and  improvement.  In  business 
ad'airs  his  judgment  is  sound,  his  discrimination  keen  and  his  enterprise  unfaltering. 

In  September,  ISO."),  at  Lake  Park,  Minnesota,  Mr.  Rygh  was  united  in  marriage  to 
Miss  Minnie  Olsen,  a  daughter  of  5Ir.  and  Mrs.  Martin  Olsen,  pioneer  settlers  of  North 
Dakota.  There  are  two  sons  by  this  marriage:  Milton,  who  was  born  in  Dalton,  Minnesota, 
in  3899  and  is  now  a  senior  in  the  high  school  of  Cavalier;  and  Clarence,  who  was  born  in 
Litchfield,  Minnesota,  in  1901  and  is  also  attending  school. 

Fraternally  Mr.  Rygh  is  connected  with  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows  and  both 
he  and  his  w-ife  hold  membership  in  the  Presbyterian  church.  He  is  fond  of  literature  and 
one  of  the  attractive  features  of  his  pleasant  home  is  his  fine  library.  In  the  Rygh  home 
hos])itality  reigns  supreme  and  its  good  cheer  is  greatly  enjoyed  by  the  many  friends  of 
the  family.  Mr.  Rygh  is  justly  accounted  one  of  the  foremost  business  men  of  Cavalier 
and  his  section  of  the  state,  and  while  promoting  individual  interests  he  has  always  main- 
tained an  attitude  in  public  afi'airs  that  has  rendered  his  labors  an  element  in  general 
progress  and  prosperity. 


MRS.  ISABELLA  CAVILEER. 

No  liistiirv  of  northern  North  Dakota  Wduld  be  comjilete  and  satisfactory  without 
mention  of  Mrs.  Isabella  Cavilcer,  whose  identification  with  that  part  of  the  country  dates 
from  its  earliest  pioneer  development.  She  was  born  August  7,  1840,  in  the  Selkirk  settle- 
ment in  Frog  Plain  parish  of  Manitoba.  Her  father,  Donald  Murray,  was  a  native  of  Scot- 
land and  in  1812  went  to  Winnipeg,  Canada,  with  his  parents  and  their  family,  which 
numbered  six  children.  His  parents  were  Alexander  and  Isabella  (Murray)  ;Murray,  who, 
though  of  the  same  name,  were  not  related.  Mr.  Murray,  the  grandfather  of  Mrs.  Cavileer, 
did  not  come  to  the  northwest  as  a  colonist.  Donald  Murray  become  one  of  the  merchants 
and  importers  of  Winnipeg  and  spent  his  entire  life  in  that  locality,  passing  away  in  1889 
at  the  age  of  eighty-eight  years.  His  wife,  who  bore  the  maiden  name  of  .lane  Mary  Ilcron, 
wa.s  a  daughter  of  Cliarles  Francis  Heron,  chief  factor  of  the  Hudson's  Ray  Company.  She 
lived  to  the  advanced  age  of  eighty-five  years,  passing  away  March  29,  1885. 

Mrs.  Cavileer  was  the  eldest  of  their  twelve  children,  seven  sons  and  five  daughters.  She 
was  educated  in  private  schools  of  Winnipeg,  her  instructor  being  a  descendant  of  Sir  Isaac 
Richard  Prichard,  grandfather  of  the  present  archbishop  of  Manitoba,  the  Rev.  Samuel 
Matheson.  It  was  on  the  13th  of  March,  1S'>C>.  at  Winnipeg,  Manitoba,  that  Isabella  Murray 
became  the  wife  of  Charles  T.  Cavileer,  a  native  of  Springfield,  Ohio,  and  of  French  descent. 
He  was  one  of  six  brothers,  two  of  whom  became  residents  of  England  and  two  of  Canada, 
while  two  remained  in  the  LTnited  States.  Charles  T.  Cavileer  was  born  March  6,  1818,  in 
Si)ring(ield,  Ohio,  and  was  reared  as  one  of  a  large  family  of  sons  and  daiighters  in  a  spacious 
and  lovely  home  that  stood  in  the  fashionable  part  of  Springfield  until  just  two  years  prior 
to  the  death  of  Mr.  Cavileer,  when  it  was  torn  down. 

When  seventeen  years  of  age  he  left  the  parental  roof  and  went  to  the  home  of  his 
uncle,  Charles  Constable,  a  lawyer  of  Mount  Carmel,  Illinois.  There  he  entered  uimii  an 
apprenticeship  to  the  saddlery  trade,  which  he  thoroughly  mastered,  becoming  an  expert 
workman  in  that  line.  Times  were  hard  and  he  wrote  home:  "To  be  serious,  father,  pros- 
pects here  are  blacker  than  midnight.  Our  bank  here  is  about  winding  up.  The  state  has 
no  credit  at  hand,  and  fifty  per  cent  worse  abroad.  We  are  in  a  squall,  breakers  ahead, 
behind,  and  all  around  us,  and  a  'loco  foco'  legislature  at  the  helm,  and  my  staying  here  is 
quite  out  of  the  question."  Making  his  way  northward  to  Red  Rock,  near  St.  Paul.  Minnesota, 
Mr.  Cavileer  then  purchased  one  hundred  and  sixty  acres  of  land  there  but  lost  it  through 
the  dishonesty  of  another.  Later  he  invested  in  other  property  and  became  the  owner  of 
twelve  hundred  acres,  including  the  site  of  the  Merchants  Hotel  and  the  Union  depot  of  St. 
Paul.  He  also  owned  the  first  harness  shop  in  St.  Paul  and  in  association  with  Dr.  Dewey 
Vol.  ni— 30 


650  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

established  the  first  drug  store  there.  While  associated  \vith  the  Doctor  he  studied  medicine 
and  became  the  possessor  of  the  best  collection  of  medical  books  in  the  northwest.  In  1849 
he  was  appointed  the  first  territorial  librarian  of  Minnesota  by  Governor  Ramsey  and  was 
also  corresponding  librarian  of  Madison,  Wisconsin,  in  1854.  During  his  time  in  St.  Paul  he 
roamed  about  the  Great  Lakes  and  around  Duluth  and  became  largely  familiar  with  the 
northM-est  and  its  opportunities.  It  was  while  he  was  in  St.  Paul  that  his  father's  death 
occurred  and  his  appreciation  of  his  father  is  shown  in  a  letter  which  he  wrote  to  his  sister, 
in  which  he  spoke  of  receiving  letters  and  clippings  ''containing  the  alHicting  intelligence 
of  father's  death,  and  however  long  I  may  have  been  from  home,  you  may  well  believe  it 
was  sad  and  distressing  news.  In  the  short  period  of  my  existence,  I  have  seen  something  of 
human  nature,  probably  more  "of  the  bad  than  good,  and  in  my  comparison  of  men,  I  have 
always  placed  father  with  the  good  and  best.  Nor  do  I  believe  that  I  judged  him  with 
jiartial  eyes  because  he  was  my  father,  but  from  my  notions  of  men's  duties  to  their  God 
and  fellow-beings,  from  their  usefulness  as  good  and  upright  citizens,  have  I  considered  him 
an  example  worthy  to  pattern  after,  and  it  has  always  been  my  highest  ambition  to  be  just 
like  him,  and  to  live  as  he  has  lived  and  die  as  lie  has  died  is  my  first  prayer." 

In  1851  Mr.  Cavileer  removed  to  Pembina,  North  Dakota,  to  accept  the  position  of 
collector  of  customs  for  the  United  States  government.  At  that  time  his  wife  and  a  clerk 
were  the  only  English-speaking  people  of  the  place.  Mr.  Cavileer  continued  in  the  govern- 
ment service  until  1884  but  in  1864  was  postmaster.  In  the  early  period  of  his  residence 
at  Pembina  he  entered  into  an  agreement  with  William  H.  Forbes  and  Norman  W.  Kittson, 
of  the  firm  of  Forbes  &  Kittson  of  St.  Paul,  ilinnesota,  to  carry  on  a  trade  at  Pembina,  then 
in  ilinncsota  territory,  and  through  the  Red  River  Settlements.  British  possessions,  with 
the  Indians,  halfbreeds  and  whites,  for  the  Minnesota  firm,  and  the  agreement  furthermore 
states  that  he  was  to  have  one-half  of  the  profits  or  be  equally  responsible  for  one-half  of 
the  losses,  should  such  be  incurred.  Even  prior  to  that  time,  for  perhaps  a  period  of  three 
years,  Mr.  Cavileer  had  been  connected  with  the  firm.  In  1851,  because  of  high  waters,  Mr. 
Kittson  had  been  forced  to  remove  the  store,  taking  his  goods  on  barges  borrowed  from  the 
Hudson's  Bay  Company,  with  another  barge  for  the  household  goods  and  the  family.  The 
Red  River  and  all  its  tributaries  were  at  their  highest  flood.  At  length  they  reached  Point 
Michael,  now  Hyde  Park,  and  four  miles  from  there  were  met  by  carts  which  conveyed  them 
to  Walhalla.  then  known  as  St.  Joseph.  There  a  store  of  hewn  oak  logs  had  been  erected,  a 
story  and  a  half  high.  There  was  a  large  room  in  front  for  the  merchandise,  with  an  ample 
room  at  the  back  for  the  storage  of  pemmican,  dried  meats,  buffalo  robes  and  all  articles  of 
)irovision.    Near  by  was  a  commodious  log  house  for  the  family. 

It  was  after  Mr.  Kittson  left  there  in  June,  1853,  that  Mr.  Cavileer  was  appointed  to 
take  charge,  and  with  all  of  his  effects  he  left  Pembina  for  St.  .Joseph,  where  he  prepared  for 
the  conveying  of  furs  and  other  supplies  from  St.  Joseph  to  St.  Paul.  Thej'  traveled  with 
a  "brigade"  of  from  eighty  to  ninetj'  carts,  starting  between  the  20th  and  the  35th  of  .June. 
No  such  trip  was  ever  completed  in  less  than  twenty-two  days,  while  the  longest  covered 
thirty-si.x  days — occasioned  by  the  high  waters.  One  man  would  have  charge  of  four  teams, 
and  ten  packs  or  about  one  thousand  pounds  were  loaded  in  each  cart.  Ten  buffalo  robes, 
five  hundred  muskrat  or  five  hundred  mink  skins  made  a  pack.  Buffalo  robes  sold  at  that 
time  for  twelve  dollars  a  skin.  The  highest  number  of  lynx  taken  in  one  season  was  four 
thousand  and  of  martens  seven  hundred,  and  fishers  four  hundred.  From  two  to  four 
thousand  wolves,  mostly  of  the  prairie  variety,  were  killed  each  year,  together  with  a  few 
timber  wolves,  ilr.  Cavileer  saw  as  many  as  three  hundred  prairie  wolves  in  one  pack  on 
the  outskirts  of  a  herd  of  buffalo.  Black,  brown  and  grizzlj'  bears  were  killed  to  the  number 
of  from  twenty-five  to  fifty  in  a  season.  The  furs  were  sold  to  a  New  York  buj'er  who  met 
the  carts  in  St.  Paul,  and  the  amount  of  the  annual  sale  reached  about  sixty  thousand 
dollars.  Although  the  trip,  viewed  from  the  standpoint  of  modern  rapid  travel,  might  now 
seem  irksome,  it  yet  had  many  charms,  for  sometimes  the  air  was  black  with  ducks,  affording 
excellent  hunting,  and  all  the  streams  were  filled  with  fine  fish.  They  traveled  in  the  cool 
of  the  morning  and  evening  and  rested  in  the  heat  of  the  day.  The  men  pitched  their  tents 
at  night,  going  into  camp  between  six  and  seven  o'clock.  They  breakfasted  at  two  o'clock 
in  the  morning  and  then  started  about  their  packing.  The  experiences  were  indeed  many, 
sometimes  hard  and  ofttimes  pleasant.     In  those  days  the  red  men  were  far  more  numerous 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  651 

thiui  the  white  settl.Ts  aiul  great  iiulocd  have  l.eo.i  tlie  changes  xvhieh  have  occm-red,  briiigin- 
about  modern  development  and  progressiveness. 

Mr.  Cavileer  passed  away  in  Pembina  in  1902,  at  the  age  of  about  eighty-five  years,  and 
tlius  was  called  from  this  life  one  who  had  long  been  a  prominent  and  honored  figure  in 
North  Dakota,  contributing  in  large  measure  to  its  upbuilding  and  settlement.  Wliile  in 
Mount  Carmel,  Illinois,  he  had  been  a  warm  personal  friend  of  Abraham  Lincoln  and  in  the 
long  winter  evenings  they  frequently  whiled  away  the  hours  with  a  game  of  euchre. 

'^Tu  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Cavileer  were  born  live  children:  Sarah  Jane,  who  was  born  in  \\in- 
nipeg  and  is  now  deceased;  Edniond  K..  who  was  born  in  18.58  and  passed  away  in  1915; 
William  McMurray,  who  was  born  February  12,  1859,  and  died  in  St.  Luke's  Hospital  in 
St.  Paul,  June  6,  1896;  Albert  Donald,  who  was  born  at  Winnipeg,  October  4,  18C1,  and  is 
now  postmaster  of  Pembina;  and  Lulah  Belle,  to,  whom  we  are  indebted  for  the  material 
concerning  her  parents.  The  wedding  journey  of  her  parents  consisted  of  a  trip  from  St. 
Joseph  to  St.  Paul,  beginning  on  the  10th  of  June,  1856,  while  on  the  4th  of  July  they 
reached  their  distination.  While  en  route  they  met  three  hundred  Chippewas  who  were 
starting  out  to  fight  the  Sioux.  There  was  no  i)hase  of  life  on  the  western  frontier  with 
wliich  Mr.  Cavileer  was  not  familiar.  His  memory  compassed  the  period  of  the  early  days 
wlicn  the  Hudson's  Bay  traders  ruled  this  section  of  tlie  country  down  to  the  period  of 
modern-day  progress  and  development.  He  was  a  man  of  many  splendid  traits  of  character 
and  among  his  admirable  qualities  was  his  friendship  for  the  poor.  They  could  always  rely 
upon  him  and  at  every  possible  opportunity  he  extended  to  them  a  helping  hand,  ever  feeling 
that  it  was  more  blessed  to  give  than  receive.  He  was  singularly  free  from  greed  ami  never 
looked   for  it  in  his  fellowmen. 

"His  life  was  gentle,  and  the  elements 

So  mixed  in  him  that  Nature  might  stand  up 

And  sav  to  all  the  world,  'tliis  was  a  man.'  " 


HENRY  TRIELSEN. 


Henry  Truelsen.  a  mine  owner  residing  at  Zenith,  was  born  in  Schleswig,  Germany. 
October  20.  1844,  a  son  of  .John  F.  and  Magdalcna  (Dienhoflf)  Truelsen,  who  were  also  natives 
of  the  fatherland,  where  they  spent  their  entire  lives.  Mr.  Truelsen  was  a  blacksmith  by 
trade.     In  their  family  were  four  children. 

Henry  Truelsen  attended  the  schools  of  his  native  town  and  was  confirmed  in  the 
Lutheran  church  at  the  age  of  fifteen  years.  He  earned  his  first  money  as  waiter  and  shoe 
boy  in  a  hotel  in  his  native  village  when  fourteen  years  of  age,  working  mornings  and 
evenings,  while  during  the  daytime  he  attended  school.  He  received  twelve  dollars  and  his 
board  as  his  wage  for  the  year.  The  next  five  years  were  spent  as  an  apprentice  in  a 
grocery  store,  where  he  received  his  board  but  no  salary.  He  suffered  many  hardships  during 
that  period,  working  from  daylight  until  dark,  and  becoming  convinced  that  lie  would  have 
better  opportunities  in  the  new  world,  he  sailed  for  the  United  States  in  1866,  settling  first 
at  Eagle  River,  ilichigan.  where  he  was  employed  as  bookkeeper  by  .John  H.  Hanson.  Three 
years  later  he  removed  to  Duluth,  Minnesota,  which  town  had  an  assured  future  as  the 
result  of  the  authorized  construction  of  the  Lake  Superior  &  Mississippi  River  Railroad.  At 
the  time  that  Mr.  Truelsen  first  saw  it,  on  the  8th  of  May,  1869,  however,  it  was  a  small 
hamlet.  He  had  neither  friends  nor  capital  when  he  arrived  in  Ihiluth  and  he  accepted 
the  first  job  which  he  could  secure,  that  of  mixing  mortar  for  a  plastering  firm.  Later  he 
went  to  work  on  the  railroad  and  subsequently  was  employed  in  a  stone  quarry.  He  next 
entered  into  partnership  with  ilichael  Pastoret  in  the  grocery  business  in  June.  ISTO,  which 
partnership  was  dissolved  in  the  winter.  1871.  Later  Jlr.  Truelsen  added  a  stock  of  general 
merchandise,  conducting  business  alone  for  a  number  of  years  until  1885.  In  1880  he 
secured  an  interest  in  the  Duluth  Fish  Comi)any  and  did  a  big  business  in  that  connection 
until  1886,  when  the  company  sold  out  to  A.  Booth  &  Son.  Not  only  did  .\Ii-.  Truelsen 
become   one   of   the   p7-oniinent   and   representative   business   men   of   Duluth    but    was   also   a 


652  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

prominent  and  active  factor  in  political  circles.  He  was  for  four  terms  alderman  of  Dulutli 
and  in  1886  was  chosen  sheriff  of  St.  Louis  county.  From  1891  to  1894  he  was  president 
of  the  board  of  public  works  of  Duluth.  In  1896  he  was  elected  mayor  of  the  city,  having 
a  majority  of  seven  hundred  and  seventy-nine  votes  over  the  republican  candidate  after  one 
of  the  hottest  campaigns  ever  witnessed  in  the  city.  All  of  the  daily  papers  were  out 
against  him,  but  the  public  recognized  his  ability  and  popular  suffrage  put  him  in  office. 
He  continued  as  chief  executive  of  Duluth  from  1896  until  1900  and  later  was  twice  again 
a  candidate  for  mayor,  being  defeated  by  only  four  votes  each  time.  Three  years  ago  he 
returned  to  Duluth,  where  he  did  active  campaign  work  for  some  of  his  friends  in  that  city. 
He  was  a  well  known  and  prominent  figure  in  politics  in  Duluth  for  seventeen  years.  He  is 
a  natural  leader  of  men,  which  was  shown  in  the  fact  that  he  was  successful  in  his  effort 
to  obtain  for  Duluth  a  splendid  waterworks  system,  although  he  was  ojiposcd  in  this  field 
by  all  the  daily  papers  of  the  city  as  well  as  the  machine  politics  then  controlling  Duluth. 
This  light  Duluth  will  not  soon  forget  nor  the  man  who  made  it  and  the  city  will  profit  by 
his  efforts  for  years  to  come. 

Having  heard  that  North  Dakota  lands  were  selling  for  a  dollar  and  a  quarter  per  acre 
and  knowing  of  the  mining  and  coal  possibilities  of  the  state,  Mr.  Truelsen  started  an  in- 
vestigation in  connection  with  other  Duluth  citizens,  the  result  of  which  was  that  he  and 
Hansen  E.  Smith,  of  Duluth,  opened  the  Zenith  coal  mine.  On  the  1st  of  April.  1914,  their 
interests  were  consolidated  with  those  of  the  Dakota  Fuel  Company,  with  headquarters  in 
Dickinson,  W.  L.  Richards  being  president  of  that  company.  Mr.  Truelsen  has  been  a 
stockholder  and  manager  for  that  company  for  the  past  fourteen  years  and  is  regarded  as 
an  expert  in  connection  with  mining  interests.  He  is  a  healthy,  robust  man  of  seventy-two 
years  and  says  that  his  excellent  health  is  due  to  the  busy  life  that  he  has  led.  He  became 
one  of  the  two  town  site  owners  of  Zenith,  which  was  laid  out  in  1910,  and  he  is  also 
president  of  the  Farmers  Elevator  of  Zenith. 

In  1866  Mr.  Truelsen  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Henriette  Hansen,  of  Eagle  River, 
Michigan,  who  died  May  26,  1895.  They  became  the  parents  of  nine  children,  of  whom 
five  are  j'et  living,  Magdalena,  Henry,  Ida,  August  and  Mary. 

Mr.  Truelsen  is  a  man  of  marked  determination  who  carries  forward  to  successful  com- 
pletion whatever  he  undertakes  and  his  course  is  always  the  result  of  earnest  deliberation. 
Every  community  in  which  he  has  lived  has  profited  by  his  efforts  and  his  cooperation  is 
now  a  strong  force  in  the  development  of  the  lignite  coal  interests  of  the  state. 


RICHARD  S.  JOHNSTONE. 


Richard  S.  Johnstone,  vice  president  of  the  First  National  Bank  of  Ashley,  North 
Dakota,  was  born  in  St.  Marys,  Elk  county,  Pennsylvania,  December  15,  1868,  and  is  a 
son  of  Charles  S.  and  Ellen  (Simpson)  Johnstone,  natives  of  Scotland,  where  they  were 
reared  and  married.  After  the  birth  of  two  of  their  children  they  came  to  the  United 
States  in  January,  1867,  and  located  in  Barclay,  Bradford  county,  Pennsylvania.  In  Scotland 
the  father  was  employed  as  a  miner  and  he  continued  to  follow  that  occupation  for  a 
number  of  years  after  his  emigration  to  America.  In  the  spring  of  1885  he  came  to 
North  Dakota  and  ])reempted  one  hundred  and  sixty  acres  of  land  in  Mcintosh  county,  but  in 
1S87  he  went  to  Birmingham,  Alabama,  where  he  spent  fourteen  months.  He  took  up  a 
quarter  section  in  Mcintosh  county,  North  Dakota,  as  a  tree  claim  and  continued  to 
reside  upon  his  farm  for  seventeen  years,  successfully  engaging  in  its  operation.  In  1903 
he  removed  to  Ashley  and  had  charge  of  the  Ashley  Milling  Company  fi-om  1906  to  1909. 
He  remained  in  Ashley  until  September,  1916,  when  he  removed  to  Mandan,  where  he  now 
makes  his  home.  He  is  vice  president  and  general  manager  of  the  Merchants  National 
Bank  there.  He  became  a  heavy  holder  of  farm  lands,  much  of  which  he  still  owns,  and 
since  making  his  home  in  this  state  he  has  steadily  prospered,  becoming  one  of  the  well-to-do 
and  substantial  men  of  his  community. 

In  the  state  of  his  nativity  Richard  S.  .Johnstone  was  practically  reared  and  educated  in 
iiuu'li   the  usual   nuinnei',   and   in    1885   accompanied   his   parents   on    their   removal   to   North 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH   DAKOTA  05:5 

Dakuta.  in  I'J-ll,  in  connection  witli  liis  lather  aiul  liruUicr  'I'liomas  8.,  he  houglit  tlic 
Inion  State  Bank  of  Ashley,  which  was' founded  in  1900  by  R.  K.  Hedtke  and  G.  E.  Gross. 
Wlicn  it  came  into  possession  of  the  Johnstoncs,  Thomas  S.  was  made  president;  Charles  S., 
(he  father,  vice  president;  and  Richard  S.,  cashier.  On  the  17th  of  June,  1916,  it  was 
converted  into  tlic  First  Xational  Bank  of  Ashley  and  is  today  one  of  the  most  reliable 
moneyed  institutions  of  that  section  of  the  state.  The  lirst  publislied  statement  of  the 
bank's  resources  after  its  purchase  by  tlie  present  firm  showed  a  total  business  of  ninety- 
two  tlumsand,  four  hundred  and  sixty-two  dollars  and  eighty-one  cents,  wliilc  the  last  slate- 
rii.'nt  showed  a  total  business  of  three  hundred  and  sixty-eight  tliousand,  six  hundred  dollars. 
Its  progress  lias  been  steady  and  reliable  and  the  men  at  the  head  of  the  institution  are 
among  the  most  substantial  business  men  of  Mcintosh  county. 

On  the  26th  of  October,  1894,  Richard  S.  Johnstone  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss 
lUrtha  1.  Cottrell,  of  Ashley,  who  is  a  native  of  Ohio,  and  they  have  become  the  parents  of 
seven  cliildren,  tliose  still  living  being:  Edgar  C,  assistant  cashier  of  the  Merchants  National 
Hank  at  Mandan;  and  Richie  A.,  Ambrose,  Valcntina,  Bruce  and  Irene,  all  at  home.  Mr. 
and  Mrs.  Johnstone  are  prominent  and  active  members  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  church  of 
.\shley  and  lie  is  a  member  of  its  official  board.  In  politics  he  is  a  republican  and  has 
served  for  two  years  on  the  village  board  and  for  the  same  length  of  time  on  the  school 
board.  He  is  one  of  the  leading  and  representative  citizens  of  Ashley,  occupying  a  prominent 
liosition  in  business  and  financial  circles,  and  his  genuine  worth  is  widely  recognized.  Besides 
his  interest  in  the  First  National  Bank  he  is  also  vice  president  of  the  German  American 
State  Bank  of  Linton,  North  Dakota,  and  vice  president  and  manager  of  the  Merchants 
Xational  at  JIandan. 


H.  G.  HALVERSON. 


11.  G.  Halverson,  who  has  filled  the  important  position  of  cashier  of  the  First  National 
Bank  of  Milton  since  1903  and  is  one  of  the  leading  business  men  of  the  town,  was  born  in 
Norway  on  the  22d  of  October,  1868,  his  parents  being  Gulbrand  and  Ingeborg  Halverson. 
He  was  only  a  year  old,  however,  when  the  family  came  to  the  United  States,  the  voyage 
being  made  on  a  sailing  vessel  in  1869,  and  they  located  at  Rushford,  Fillmore  county, 
Minnesota,  where  the  father  engaged  in  business  as  a  carpenter  and  builder  and  also  as  a 
wagon  manufacturer.  In  1881  he  removed  to  Mayville,  North  Dakota,  and  erected  the  first 
building  in  that  town,  making  his  home  there  until  his  death,  which  occurred  in  1890,  when 
he  was  sixty-seven  years  of  age.  The  mother  of  our  subject  is  still  living  and  has  now 
reached  the  age  of  seventy-three.  In  the  family  were  ten  children  but  only  four  survive,  H. 
G.  Halverson  being  the  second  in  order  of  birth.  The  others  are  Mrs.  M.  M.  Elken  and  Mrs. 
(!.  F.  Morey,  both  residents  of  Mayville;  and  Ben  Halverson,  of  Hatton,  North  Dakota. 

As  soon  as  he  attained  a  sufficient  age,  H.  G.  Halverson  entered  the  public  schools  of 
liushford,  Minnesota,  and  after  the  removal  of  the  family  to  Mayville,  North  Dakota,  he 
attended  school  there.  On  starting  out  in  life  for  himself  he  engaged  in  clerking  in  the 
latter  city  for  several  years,  and  subsequently  went  to  Minneapolis,  Minnesota,  wlicre  he 
was  employed  as  bookkeeper  for  a  time.  On  his  return  to  North  Dakota,  he  entered  a  bank 
at  Mayville,  where  he  remained  until  his  removal  to  Milton  in  1903.  He  has  since  served 
as  cashier  of  the  First  National  Bank  at  that  place  and  today  occupies  a  foremost  position 
among  the  bankers  of  Cavalier  county. 

In  .June,  1901,  Mr.  Halverson  was  married  in  Mayville  to  Miss  Emily  Carhart,  a  daughter 
of  Joseph  Carhart,  who  was  president  of  the  State  Normal  School  at  that  place.  Mr.  Car- 
hart  came  originally  from  Indiana  and  was  one  of  the  pioneers  of  North  Dakota.  Mr.  and 
Mrs.  Halverson  have  five  children,  the  first  two  born  in  Mayville  and  the  others  in  Milton. 
In  order  of  birth  they  are  as  follows:  Alice,  who  was  born  in  1902  and  is  now  attending 
high  school;  Helen,  born  in  1903;  Emily  Louise,  in  1906;  Harlan  Grant,  in  1911;  and  Marcus 
Lynn,  in  1914. 

Mr.  Halverson  is  affiliated  with  the  Masonic  fraternity  and  is  a  member  of  the  Lutheran 
church.     By  his  ballot  he  supports  the  men  and  measures  of  the  republican  party.     He  is  one 


654  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

of  the  self-made  men  of  his  coiuinuiiitj'  as  well  as  one  of  the  leading  citizens,  having  worked 
his  way  upward  to  a  position  of  affluence  with  no  outside  aid  or  encouragement.  He 
possesses  good  business  and  executive  ability  and  usually  carries  forward  to  successful  com- 
pletion whatever  he  undertakes. 


W.  H.  WITHERSTINE,  M.  D. 

Ur.  W.  H.  Witherstine,  physician  and  surgeon  of  Grand  Forks,  was  born  in  Dover, 
Minnesota,  November  7,  1882,  a  son  of  Dr.  Horace  H.  and  Amelia  (Hatfield)  Witherstine. 
The  family  is  of  C4erman  lineage,  the  ancestry  being  traced  back  to  Henry  Wicderstein,  who 
came  from  Germany  in  1727  and  who  changed  the  name  to  Witherstine.  His  son,  John 
Witherstine,  was  born  in  Herkimer,  New  York,  in  1762.  His  wife  was  scalped  by  the 
Indians  in  the  Mohawk  valley  but  lived  for  twenty  years  thereafter.  They  were  the  parents 
of  David  Witherstine,  who  was  born  in  Herkimer  in  1803  and  married  Margaret  Petrie. 
Both  died  in  New  York,  the  latter  passing  away  in  1901  at  the  age  of  eighty-five  years. 
Their  son,  Horace  H.  Witherstine,  is  a  native  of  Herkimer,  born  in  1850,  and  after  removing 
to  Dover,  Minnesota,  took  up  the  profession  of  teaching  at  an  early  day.  It  was  there 
he  met  and  married  Miss  Hatfield,  who  was  a  native  of  Dover  and  whose  parents  were 
among  the  earliest  settlers  of  southern  Minnesota.  The  grandfather,  Henry  Hatfield,  removed 
from  Iowa  to  Minnesota  when  the  work  of  progress  and  development  seemed  scarcely  begun 
in  that  state  and  there  he  spent  his  remaining  days,  following  the  occupation  of  farming  for 
many  years,  although  during  the  latter  period  of  his  life  he  lived  retired  from  business.  He 
died  in  1915  at  the  age  of  eighty-five  years.  His  widow,  who  bore  the  maiden  name  of 
Martha  Thompson,  was  born  in  the  state  of  New  York  and  is  now  living  in  Minnesota  at  the 
age  of  seventy-nine  years. 

Dr.  Horace  H.  Witherstine  went  to  Minnesota  to  engage  in  teacliing  school  and  at  one 
time  was  a  candidate  for  the  office  of  county  superintendent  of  schools  but  was  defeated  in 
the  election.  He  then  decided  to  study  medicine  and  entered  Rush  Medical  College  of  Chicago, 
from  wiiich  institution  he  was  graduated  in  the  class  of  1886.  He  afterward  returned  to 
Minnesota,  settling  at  Rochester,  where  he  has  now  practiced  for  many  years,  and  his  ability 
is  widely  known.  He  has  also  been  a  prominent  factor  in  political  circles  there  and  his 
patriotic  loyalty  to  the  best  interests  of  his  city  is  indicated  in  the  fact  that  frequent 
reelections  kept  him  in  the  office  of  mayor  for  ten  years.  He  was  also  state  senator  for  two 
terms,  or  from  1904  until  1912,  and  later  when  he  became  a  candidate  for  congress  he  met 
his  first  political  defeat,  his  opponent  being  Hon.  Sidney  Anderson,  who  was  the  republican 
candidate.  To  Dr.  Horace  H.  Witherstine  and  his  wife  were  born  four  children,  of  whom 
Dr.  W.  H.  Witherstine  is  the  eldest.  The  others  are  Vernon,  Glenn  and  Lela,  all  living  in 
Rochester. 

In  early  life  Dr.  W.  H.  Witherstine  attended  the  public  schools  of  Rochester  and  the 
high  school  of  that  city.  He  afterward  studied  at  the  University  of  Chicago  and  in  Rush 
Jledical  College,  from  which  he  waS"  graduated  in  1904.  Ho  became  interne  and  house  physi- 
cian and  sxngeon  in  the  Cook  County  Hospital  at  Chicago,  where  he  remained  for  two  years, 
gaining  that  broad  and  valuable  experience  which  is  never  as  quickly  secured  in  any  other 
way  as  in  hospital  practice.  He  afterward  returned  to  Rochester  and  entered  into  partner- 
ship with  his  father  but  a  year  later  removed  to  Grand  Forks,  where  he  has  made  his  home 
since  1907.  He  is  today  at  the  head  of  a  large  and  important  practice  and  his  ability  is 
widely  recognized  by  his  colleagues  in  the  profession  as  well  as  those  who  seek  his  servicer 
as  a  practitioner. 

On  the  1st  of  .June,  1906,  Dr.  Witherstine  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Ida  Dahlem, 
of  .Toilet,  Illinois,  a  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  .John  Dahlem.  The  father  is  now  deceased 
but  the  mother  is  still  living.  Dr.  and  Mrs.  Witherstine  have  had  four  children:  Ruth,  who 
was  born  in  Rochester,  Minnesota,  in  1907  and  died  in  infancy;  Elizabeth,  born  in  1908; 
Margaret,  born  in  1911;  and  John,  born  in  1913.  The  three  last  named  were  born  in 
Grand  Forks. 

Dr.  Witherstine  and  his  wife  are  members  of  the  Congregational  church,  in  which  he 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  657- 

is  serving  as  a  trustee.  He  is  a  proiniiient  Mason,  having  attained  the  thirty-second  degree 
in  the  Scottisli  Rite  and  the  Knight  Templar  degree  in  the  York  Rite.  He  also  belongs  to 
the  Benevolent  Proteetive  Order  of  Klks,  to  the  Knights  of  Pythias  and  to  the  Yeomen. 
Along  more  strictly  social  lines  he  is  connected  with  the  Country  Club  and  his  interest  in 
the  welfare  and  advancement  of  the  city  is  manifest  in  his  membership  in  the  Commercial 
Club,  but  at  all  times  his  professional  duties  are  given  paramount  attention  and  he  belongs 
to  the  Minnesota  Medical  Society,  the  Grand  Forks  Medical  Society,  the  North  Dakota  State 
Medical  Society,  the  American  Medical  Association  and  the  Clinical  Congress  of  American 
Surgeons.  He  is  likewise  a  lecturer  in  the  medical  department  of  the  University  of  North 
Dakota.  In  a  profession  where  advancement  depends  entirely  upon  individual  merit  and 
ability  he  has  worked  his  way  steadily  upward  and  at  all  times  he  has  reached  out  in  helpful 
spirit  to  his  fellowmon,  giving  his  time  and  energy  in  aid  of  many  who  have  been  unfor- 
tunate. At  the  same  time  he  gained  the  patronage  of  many  of  the  leading  families  of  the 
city  and  his  ability  finds  expression  in  the  splendid  results  which  attend  his  professional 
services. 


ADOLPH  SCHli^KE. 


Langdon  has  profited  by  the  enterprising  spirit  of  Adolph  Schulke.  the  builder  of  one 
of  its  substantial  business  blocks  and  a  progressive  merchant,  conducting  a  department 
store.  He  was  born  in  Bromberg,  in  West  Prussia,  Germany,  November  12,  1867.  His 
father,  Frederick  Schulke,  a  native  of  Germany,  was  a  real  estate  dealer  who  successfully 
conduct^  business  in  that  country  until  his  death,  which  occurred  in  1904,  when  he  had 
reached  the  age  of  si.\ty-nine  years.  His  wife,  who  bore  the  maiden  name  of  Henrietta, 
or  "Hettie"  Kollmer,  also  spent  her  entire  life  in  the  fatherland,  passing  away  in  1914  at 
the  age  of  seventy-eight  years.  She  had  a  family  of  ten  children,  of  whom  Adolpli  was 
the  sixth  in  order  of  birth. 

In  the  public  and  high  schools  of  his  native  city  Adolph  Schulke  ])ursued  his  education 
and  then  started  out  in  life  on  his  own  account  when  seventeen  years  of  age.  He  was 
apprenticed  to  learn  the  grocer's  trade  and  followed  that  business  in  Germany  for  several 
years,  or  until  1884,  when  he  crossed  the  Atlantic  to  America,  becoming  a  resident  of 
Chicago.  After  clerking  in  that  city  for  a  year  he  spent  two  years  in  Wisconsin  and  on 
the  10th  of  June,  1887,  arrived  at  Bathgate,  Pembina  county,  North  Dakota.  He  was 
an  entire  stranger  there  but  he  believed  that  the  northwest  held  opportunities  for  an 
ambitious,  energetic  young  man  and  he  came  to  this  state  with  the  full  intention  of  win- 
ning success  if  it  could  be  attained  through  persistent,  earnest  efl'ort.  After  six  months  he 
removed  to  Langdon  and  took  up  a  homestead  in  Langdon  township,  Cavalier  county, 
whereon  he  engaged  in  farming  until  1892.  On  the  17th  of  March  of  that  year  he  estab- 
lished a  retail  grocery  and  confectionery  business  in  Langdon  witli  a  ca|)ital  of  about  fifteen 
hundred  dollars  and  from  that  humble  start  he  has  built  up  a  business  of  extensive  and 
gratifying  proportions,  having  now  the  largest  enterprise  of  the  kind  in  his  section  of 
the  state.  Ho  has  increased  his  stock  to  include  a  large  line  of  drj-  goods  and  in  fact 
has  a  well  equipped  department  store.  In  1892  he  erected  the  Schulke  block,  a  two  story 
building  fifty  by  one  hundred  and  forty  feet,  the  upper  floor  of  which  is  used  for  ollice 
purposes,  while  the  remainder  is  devoted  to  the  business.  Something  of  the  growth  and 
success  of  his  establishment  is  indicated  in  the  fact  that  he  now  employs  on  an  average 
from  fifteen  to  eighteen  people,  while  his  annual  sales  reach  from  one  hundred  and  fifteen 
to  one  hundred  and  twenty  thousand  dollars.  His  store  is  thoroughly  modern  in  its  equip- 
ment and  accessories  and  the  line  of  goods  carried  is  most  attractive,  while  his  methods 
are  thoroughly  progressive  and  his  prices  at  all  times  reasonable.  Mr.  Schulke  also 
conducts  a  branch  store  at  Nekoma  and  another  at  Dresden  and  thus  he  is  extending  his 
efforts  over  a  broad  field. 

On  the  1.3th  of  November,  1891,  in  Langdon,  Mr.  Schulke  was  married  to  Miss  Minnie 
Irwin,  a  native  of  Ontario,  Canada,  and  a  daughter  of  James  and  Sarah  (Reid)  Irwin, 
both  now  deceased.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Schulke  have  become  the  parents  of  four  children: 
Alma,   who   was   born    in   Langdon    and   is   the   wife   of   Raymond    Fabel,    manager   of   the 


658  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

Schulke   store  at   Dresdfii,  by   whom   slie   lias   one  child,   Eileen;    Fred,   « lio   is   assisting  liis 
father  in  the  store  at  Langdon;   Herbert;   and  Walter. 

Politically  Mr.  Schulke  is  a  republican  and  about  1901  served  as  alderman  of  Langdon 
but  has  never  sought  office  as  a  reward  for  party  fealty.  He  is  a  thirty-second  degree 
Jli'son  and  a  member  of  the  ilystic  Shrine,  having  been  identified  with  the  craft  since 
he  was  received  as  an  entered  apprentice  in  the  lodge  at  Langdon  in  1894.  He  also 
belongs  to  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows  and  to  the  Commercial  Club.  He  has 
membershii)  in  the  First  Presbyterian  church,  of  which  he  was  formerly  a  trustee,  serving 
in  that  position  for  twelve  years.  He  takes  an  active  interest  in  the  work  of  the  church,  to 
the  support  of  which  he  has  been  a  generous  contributor,  and  he  is  a  public-spirited  citizen, 
at  all  times  interested  in  every  plan  and  project  for  advancing  the  welfare  and  upbuilding 
the  interests   of   city,  county   and   state. 


F.  H.  HAVERLAKD. 

F.  H.  Haverland,  manager  of  the  Dakota  Auto  Company  at  Grand  Forks,  was  born  in 
Jlcnomonie,  Wisconsin,  in  June,  1S67,  a  son  of  C.  H.  and  Emily  (Bailey)  Haverland,  natives 
of  Iowa  and  Missouri  respectively.  Both  became  residents  of  Wisconsin  at  an  early  day 
and  there  Mr.  Haverland  engaged  in  general  farming  and  in  raising  horses  and  mules. 
Later  he  removed  to  Grand  Forks  and  afterward  to  Washington,  where  he  turned  his  atten- 
tion to  fruit  growing,  and  he  now  makes  his  home  in  Walla  Walla,  Wasliington,  at  the  age 
of  seventy   years,  while   his   wife  has   reached   the   age   of  sixty-eight   years. 

F.  H.  Haverland,  the  eldest  in  a  family  of  six  children,  attended  school  in  Wisconsin 
in  his  early  boyhood  and  in  1881  accompanied  his  parents  to  Grand  Forks,  where  he  con- 
tinued his  education.  Wlien  his  textbooks  were  put  aside  he  continued  for  some  time 
to  assist  his  father  in  the  work  of  the  home  farm  but  in  1893  entered  the  employ  of  the 
Minneapolis  &  Northern  Elevator  Company  as  a  grain  buyer.  After  ten  years  spent  in 
that  connection  he  went  upon  the  road  for  the  same  company,  with  which  he  remained 
until  1910,  or  for  seventeen  years,  a  fact  which  stands  in  incontrovertible  proof  of  his 
ability  and  fidelity.  At  the  end  of  that  period  he  resigned  and  started  in  business  on  his 
own  account  bv  establishing  the  Dakota  Auto  Company  at  Grand  Forks,  under  which 
name  he  now  handles  the  Cadillac,  Studebaker  and  Maxwell  cars.  He  has  built  up  one  of 
the  largest  agencies  in  Grand  Forks  county.  He  also  has  an  extensive  garage  and  does 
general  repair-  work  on  automobiles.  His  business  has  grown  steadily  and  has  now  reached 
very  gratifying   proportions. 

In  December,  1891,  at  Durand,  Wisconsin,  Mr.  Haverland  was  married  to  Miss  Jennie 
A.  Thompson,  a  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Hugh  Thompson.  The  mother  is  now  deceased 
b\it  the  father  is  still  living.  The  children  of  this  marriage  are:  Edna,  who  was  born  in 
Grand  F'orks  in  1904;  Leslie,  born  in  1906;  and  Kenneth,  born  in  1909.  All  are  attending 
school   in   Grand  Forks. 

The  parents  hold  membership  in  the  Methodist  Episcopal  church  and  Mr.  Haverland 
belongs  also  to  the  Odd  Fellows  and  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America.  His  political 
allegiance  is  given  to  the  republican  party  but  the  honors  and  emoluments  of  office  have 
no  attraction  for  him.  In  the  business  world  he  has  steadily  worked  his  way  upward 
and  has  won  success  and  also  gained  popularity  by  reason  of  his  geniality,  his  uniform 
courtesy    and    upright    life. 


CHARLES    0.    RUSSELL. 


The  automobile  business,  perhaps  the  most  rapidly  developing  industry  of  the  past 
quarter  of  a  century,  finds  a  substantial  representative  at  Devils  Lake  in  Oiarles  0. 
Russell,  proprietor  of  the  Russell  Garage.  He  was  born  in  Rockford,  Illinois,  January  10, 
1868,  and  is  a  son  of  George  W.  and  Elizabeth  A.   (Bate)  Russell.     The  father  is  a  veteran 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  659 

of  the  Civil  war,  serving  in  tlie  Fifty-fil'tli  Illinois  Volunteer  Infantry.  In  1875  he 
removed  to  Iowa,  where  he  took  up  the  (iiH-ii|iation  of  farming,  and  he  now  makes  his 
home    in    Greene,    Iowa. 

Charles  0.  Russell  was  a  lad  of  but  seven  years  at  the  time  of  the  removal  of  the 
family  to  Iowa  and  in  the  publie  and  high  schools  of  Greene,  he  pursuinl  his  education, 
supplemented  by  a  course  in  a  business  college.  He  was  afterward  employed  as  a  book- 
keeper in  that  state,  spending  one  year  in  a  drug  store,  one  year  in  the  lumber  business 
and  one  year  in  a  bank.  It  was  in  1891  that  he  arrived  in  North  Dakota  and  for  tliree 
years  he  was  in  tlie  employ  of  the  Great  Northern  Railroad  Company.  He  afterward 
spent  a  year  in  the  employ  of  the  McCormick  Harvester  Company  and  in  1807  he  embarked 
in  the  dray  business,  in  which  he  continued  until 'l898.  He  ne.\t  turned  his  attention  to 
the  agricultural  implement  business  which  he  carried  on  for  ten  years,  and  during  that 
time  he  extended  the  scope  of  his  activities  by  also  establishing  a  garage.  He  then 
continued  both  lines  until  1913,  wlien  he  closed  out  his  agricultural  implement  business 
and  has  since  concentrated  his  attention  upon  his  automobile  trade.  He  has  a  splendidly 
equipped  garage  and  repair  shop,  handles  all  kinds  of  automobile  supplies  and  accessories 
and  fail-  dealing,  reasonable  prices  and  prom]it  attention  to  the  wislies  of  his  customers 
have  brought  to  him  a  constantly  growing  trade. 

On  the  31st  of  March,  1897,  Mr.  Russell  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Minnie  Hills. 
They  hold  membership  in  the  Methodist  church  and  Mr.  Russell  belongs  also  to  the 
Benevolent  Protective  Order  of  Elks  and  the  Ancient  Order  of  Unitctl  Workmen.  His 
political  allegiance  is  given  to  the  republican  party  and  he  has  been  prominent  in  public 
affairs  and  civic  interests  in  his  town.  For  ten  years  he  served  as  a  member  of  the  city 
council,  exercising  his  official  prerogatives  in  support  of  many  well  defined  plans  and 
measures  for  the  general  good.  For  fifteen  years  he  served  as  chief  of  the  fire  department 
and  did  splendid  work  for  Devils  Lake  in  that  connection.  He  is  greatly  interested  in  the 
state  and  its  development,  recognizing  its  natural  resources  and  opportunities,  and  at  all 
times  is  a  most  public-spirited  man.  He  belongs  to  the  International  Fire  Chiefs  Associ- 
ation, has  been  president  of  the  State  Volunteer  Fire  Association  and  was  one  of  the 
three  men  who  drafted  the  present  fire  marshals'  law  of  North  Dakota.  He  is  a  champion 
of  the  good  roads  movement  and  does  everything  in  his  power  to  promote  the  interests  of 
the  public  highways,  recognizing  their  marked  value  as  factors  in  the  development  of  the 
state. 


WILLIAM  E.   DAHL. 


North  Dakota  is  indeed  indebted  to  Norway  for  her  contribution  to  the  citizenshi;* 
of  the  state,  for  the  substantial  qualities  of  untiring  industry  and  reliability  which  char- 
acterize the  Norwegian  race  have  been  a  strong  element  in  tlie  development  of  this  section 
of  the  country.  A  representative  of  this  class  is  William  E.  Dahl,  blacksmith,  implement 
dealer,  farmer  and  land  owner  of  Milton,  who  was  born  at  Christiania,  Norway,  December 
13,  1859,  but  reared  at  Kongsberg.  His  father,  Evan  P.  Dahl,  was  a  blacksmith  and  live 
stock  dealer  who  successfully  conducted  business  in  his  native  country.  He  there  wedded 
Mam  Furley,  who  was  born  in  1830,  while  his  birth  occurred  in  1820.  They  became 
parents  of  fourteen  children,  of  whom  William  E.  was  the  sixth.  Both  parents  spent 
their  entire  lives  in  Norway,  the  father  reaching  the  advanced  age  of  eighty-seven  years 
ere  death  called  him  in  1907,  while  his  wife  passed  away  in  1878,  at  the  comparatively 
early    age    of    forty-eight    years. 

William  K.  Dahl  acquired  his  education  in  the  public  schools  of  Kongsberg  to  the 
age  of  seventeen  years,  when  he  started  out  in  the  business  world  on  his  own  account, 
taking  up  the  task  of  learning  the  blacksmith's  trade  under  the  direction  of  his  father. 
During  the  succeeding  three  years  he  was  employed  by  the  National  Railway  as  a  fireman 
and  as  a  shop  worker.  Tho  line  was  known  as  the  East  Boundary  Railway  and  was  the 
first  railway  built  in  Norway.  Resigning  his  position  at  the  end  of  three  years,  Mr.  Dahl 
then  emigrated  to  the  new  world,  leaving  Christiania  on  the  Ist  of  May,  1880,  and  arriving 
at  Baltimore,  Maryland,   on   the   17th   of  that   month.     He   immediately   made  his   way   to 


660  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

Morris.  Minnesota,  wliere  lie  remained  for  a  year,  engaging  in  blacksmitliing  and  in  running 
a  tliresliiiig  engine.  Removing  to  Ashby,  Minnesota,  lie  opened  a  blacksmith  shop  and  there 
conducted  business  tor  eight  months,  on  the  expiration  of  which  period  he  sold  out.  He 
next  took  up  his  abode  at  Eothsay,  Minnesota,  where  he  was  employed  by  his  older  brother, 
Peter  Dahl,  who  had  come  to  America  in  1872  and  was  also  a  blacksmith.  William  E. 
Dahl  there  remained  for  about  eighteen  months  and  in  1884  removed  to  North  Dakota, 
arriving  in  Grafton  on  the  1st  of  November  of  that  year.  He  there  remained  for  seven 
montlis,  when  he  removed  to  Gardar,  where  he  spent  two  and  one-half  years  and  on  the 
expiration  of  that  period  he  established  a  blacksmith  shop  in  Milton,  where  he  has  since 
been  actively  engaged  in  business.  He  is  today  the  oldest  settler  of  the  town  in  years 
of  continuous  connection  therewith,  having  arrived  in  August.  1887,  at  which  time  the  city 
had  a  population  of  but  six.  His  was  the  first  dwelling  in  the  town  and  for  many  years 
the  largest.  He  also  began  the  sale  of  farm  machinery  and  in  that  line  has  been  quite 
successful.  In  fact  in  both  branches  his  business  has  steadily  increased,  bringing  to  him 
a  substantial  financial  return.  He  is  likewise  extensively  and  successfully  engaged  in 
farming,  conducting  one  farm  of  two  hundred  and  twenty  acres  and  another  of  one 
hundred  and  sixty  acres  in  his  section  of  the  county.  His  business  affairs  are  well  managed 
and  his   success  has  been   built  upon  the   foundation  of  earnest,  persistent   effort. 

Mr.  Dahl  was  married  near  Fergus  Falls,  Minnesota,  to  Miss  Mary  Snabakken.  a  native 
of  that  state  and  a  daughter  of  Gabriel  and  Sarla  Snabakken,  who  were  pioneer  farming  people 
of  Minnesota  but  both  are  now  deceased.  Mrs.  Dahl  passed  away  in  Milton,  at  the  age  of 
twenty-seven  years,  and  Mr.  Dahl  subsequently  wedded  Miss  Augusta  Ekram,  a  native  of 
Trondhjem,  Norway.  They  have  become  parents  of  seven  children:  Edith  A.,  the  wife  of 
Karl  Anderson,  of  Milton;  JIabel  G.,  who  died  June  29,  1916,  at  the  age  of  twenty-two  years; 
Portis;    Harriett;    Ruth   and   Ruby,   twins;    and   Lillian. 

Mr.  Dahl  gives  his  political  allegiance  to  the  republican  party  and  is  one  of  its  active 
local  workers.  He  has  been  a  member  of  the  town  board  for  a  number  of  years,  serving 
now  for  the  third  consecutive  term,  and  for  the  past  four  years  he  has  been  a  member  of  the 
school  board.  He  holds  membership  with  the  Knights  of  Pythias  and  was  chancellor  com- 
mander at  Milton  in  1900.  He  belongs  to  the  Commercial  Club  and  to  the  Lutheran  church 
and  in  the  latter  has  been  trustee  for  a  number  of  years.  The  rules  which  govern  his 
conduct  are  those  which  measure  up  to  high  standards  of  manhood  and  citizenship. 
Coming  to  America  in  early  manhood,  he  has  ever  manifested  the  utmost  loyalty  to  the 
country  and  its  principles  and  as  the  years  have  advanced  ho  has  made  his  work  of 
worth  to  the  district  in  which  he  lives,  commanding  the  respect  of  his  fellow  townsmen 
by  an  upright   and   well    spent   life. 


REV.  0.  S.  HOUKOM. 


Rev.  0.  S.  Houkom  was  for  eighteen  years  a  minister  of  the  Lutheran  church  but  since 
1003  has  devoted  his  attention  to  farmi.ig.  He  is  operating  a  good  farm  on  section  29, 
liarnes  township,  Cass  county,  and  also  owns  land  in  Grand  Forks  county.  A  native  of 
Norway,  his  birth  occurred  on  the  31st  of  May,  1850.  His  parents,  Svenung  and  Mary 
Houkom,  who  were  both  born  in  that  country,  came  to  the  United  States  and  continued  to 
make  their  home  here  until  called  by  death.  They  were  the  parents  of  eight  children  who 
grew  to  maturity,  and  six  are  still  living. 

Rev.  O.  S.  Houkom  was  reared  in  Norwaj-  and  there  received  his  general  education.  In 
1870,  when  twenty  years  of  age,  he  came  to  America  and,  making  his  way  to  the  middle 
west,  located  in  Vernon  countj^,  Wisconsin.  He  remained  there,  however,  only  a  short  time, 
after  which  he  went  to  Minnesota.  In  both  states  he  worked  as  a  laborer  through  the 
summer  months,  while  during  the  winter  he  attended  the  common  schools.  In  1875  he 
pursued  a  course  in  the  La  Crosse  Business  College  and  the  following  year  entered  Augsburg 
Seminary  at  JNIinneapolis,  where  he  pursued  the  regular  college  course  for  four  years  and  the 
theological  course  for  three  years,  graduating  with  the  class  of  1884.  After  his  graduation 
from   the   seminary   he   began   preaching   and   followed    that   profession   for   eighteen    years, 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  663 

IioUling  various  iiastoiates  in  Nortli  Dakota.  In  1902  lie  retired  troni  tlie  ministry  and 
turned  his  attention  to  agricultural  pursuits,  operating  his  farm  in  Grand  i''oiks  county. 
In  1913  he  bought  the  place  in  Barnes  township  where  he  now  lives  and  which  comprises 
eiLditvthree  and  a  halt"  acres.  lie  still  holds  title  to  his  place  in  (Irand  Forks  county  and 
both  farms  are  well  improved. 

In  1888  Mr.  Houkom  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Anna  ilarie  Glerum,  who  was  born 
in  Norway  and  came  to  the  United  States  in  her  girlhood.  They  became  the  parents  of  two 
children:  John  A.,  who  is  studying  for  the  ministry;  and  S.  Merius,  who  is  now  studying 
architecture  at  the  Agricultural  College  of  North  Dakota.  The  wife  and  mother  died  in  1891 
and  was  buried  in  Grand  Forks  county.  In  1893  Rev.  Houkom  was  against  married,  Miss 
Anna  Dahlum,  a  native  of  Michigan,  becoming  his  wife.  They  have  eight  children:  Magnus, 
Marie,  Alohilda,  Agnes,  Hans,  Carl,  Harold  and  Margaret. 

Rev.  Houkom  is  a  republican  and  for  many  years  has  served  on  the  school  board.  He 
takes  the  keenest  interest  in  tlie  welfare  of  the  public  schools  and  has  done  much  to  further 
their  advancement.  He  is  a  progiessive  and  successful  farmer  and  since  coming  to  this 
country  has  gained  gratifying  i)rosperity.  During  the  years  of  his  service  in  the  ministry 
he  was  instrumental  in  building  up  the  Lutheran  church  in  this  state,  and  he  still  does  all  in 
his  power  to  advance  the  cause  of  Christianity.  In  territorial  days  he  was  very  active  in  the 
cause  of  temperance  and  has  always  taken  a  deep  interest  in  the  prohibition  movement.  He 
assisted  in  organizing  the  (irand  Forks  Deaconess  Hospital  and  was  its  secretary  for  twelve 
years  and  is  still  a  member  of  the  hospital  association. 


HERBERT  E.  WHEELER. 


Herbert  E.  Wheeler,  of  Minot,  is  devoting  his  time  to  the  discharge  of  his  duties  as  city 
assessor  and  as  clerk  of  the  park  board,  but  is  connected  with  business  circles  of  Minot  as 
the  owner  of  an  amusement  park,  the  management  of  which  he  leaves  to  others.  His  birth 
occurred  at  Pittston.  Pennsylvania,  November  29,  1865,  and  he  is  a  son  of  Orville  C.  and 
Ella  (Wallace)  Wheeler,  born  respectively  in  Jamestown,  New  York,  and  in  Riverside, 
Pennsylvania.  The  paternal  grandfather  was  a  man  of  fine  appearance,  being  tall  in 
stature,  very  erect  and  of  a  military  bearing.  The  father  was  a  carpenter  in  early  man- 
hood but  at  the  time  of  his  marriage  was  a  foreman  in  a  large  sash  and  blind  factory, 
which  position  he  held  until  his  death,  which  occurred  in  1908  when  he  had  reached  the 
age  of  seventy-five  years.  His  widow,  who  still  survives,  is  living  in  Minneapolis  wUh  a 
daughter.  At  the  time  of  the  Civil  war  he  enlisted  in  the  Twelfth  Pennsylvania  Cavalry 
and  was  made  first  lieutenant.  He  served  throughout  the  war  but  escaped  being  wounded, 
although  he  contracted  a  disease  which  confined  him  to  a  hospital  for  some  time.  He 
rode  a  splendid  horse,  which  was  known  as  Black  .Jack,  and  was  so  high  spirited  that  it 
took  two  men  to  hold  it  when  it  was  being  mounted.  Lieutenant  Wheeler  was  attended 
by  a  negro  valet,  who  became  so  attached  to  his  master  that  he  did  not  wish  to  leave  him 
at  the  close  of  the  war.  Our  subject  has  his  father's  saber  and  he  also  has  a  spur  which 
was  worn  by  the  wife  of  General  Reno  when  she  visited  her  husband  at  the  front. 

Herbert  E.  Wheeler,  who  is  the  oldest  in  a  family  of  eight  children,  attended  school 
at  Red  Wing,  Jlinnesota,  and  Ortonville,  Minnesota,  receiving  a  good  education.  When 
seventeen  years  of  age  he  began  clerking  in  a  store  at  Ortonville.  where  he  remained 
for  about  two  years,  after  which  he  engaged  in  general  merchandising  in  partnership  with 
A.  Johnson.  Not  long  afterward,  however,  the  latter  died  and  Mr.  Wheeler  then  sold  out 
the  business  and  went  to  Seattle,  his  father  having  advised  him  to  go  west.  He  secured 
a  position  as  clerk  in  a  dry  goods  store  known  as  the  Bon  jMarche,  where  he  remained  for 
two  years.  At  the  end  of  that  time  he  returned  home  on  a  visit  and  then  in  1893  removed 
to  ilinot.  North  Dakota.  The  proprietor  of  the  Seattle  store  where  he  had  been  employed 
happened  to  pass  through  Minot.  called  on  Mr.  AVhceler  and  induced  him  to  return  to 
Seattle  and  take  charge  of  the  department  in  which  he  had  worked.  He  remained  in  tliat 
city  until  1897,  when  he  again  took  up  his  residence  in  Minot.  Following  his  marriage  in 
tliat   rear  he   removed   to  Devils   Lake,  North   Dakota,   where   he  became   manager   of   the 


664  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

Devils  Lake  Cooperative  Association,  a  position  wliicli  lie  held  for  two  years,  at  tlie  end  of 
which  time  lie  removed  the  stock  to  Minot  and  engaged  in  business  there.  Togetlier  with 
a  partner  he  also  established  a  dry  goods  store  at  Granville,  the  first  store  in  that  town, 
which  had  not  then  been  reached  by  a  railroad.  His  partner  managed  the  Granville  store, 
while  Mr.  Wheeler  had  charge  of  the  store  at  Minot.  After  about  eight  years  he  sold  the 
business  and  established  the  lirst  amusement  park  in  Minot  on  six  acres  of  wooded  land 
a  little  west  of  the  city.  After  conducting  the  place  for  about  two  years  he  rented  it 
until  the  fall  of  1914,  when  he  again  took  charge  of  the  place.  He  tore  down  the  old 
buildings  and  in  the  spring  of  1015  erected  a  new  building  sixty-five  by  seventy-five  feet 
in  dimensions,  provided  with  a  good  stage,  a  fine  dancing  floor,  check  room  and  refresh- 
ment stands,  and  adapted  for  all  kinds  of  entertainments.  He  also  erected  fifty  new 
bath  houses  of  the  most  approved  construction  and  in  the  fall  of  1915  added  fifty  more. 
He  has  also  placed  a  carload  of  fine  white  sand  from  Denby  on  the  bathing  beach  and  is 
sparing  no  expense  in  making  the  amusement  park  one  of  the  best  in  the  state.  He  has 
placed  a  competent  man  in  charge  of  the  park,  wliile  he  himself  devotes  his  time  to  the 
discharge  of  his  oflicial  duties.  He  is  serving  as  city  assessor  and  as  a  member  of  the  park 
board  and  is  making  a  most  creditable  record  in  those  capacities. 

When  Ml'.  Wheeler  was  first  clerking  in  Jliiiot  a  lady.  Miss  Mary  McKinley,  who  lived 
in  Seattle,  came  in  to  the  store  and  the  proprietor  told  her  that  he  had  a  clerk  who  had 
previously  been  employed  in  Seattle  and  introduced  her  to  Jlr.  Wheeler.  Later  when 
he  had  returned  to  Seattle  the  same  lady  was  shopping  in  the  store  in  which  he  was  em- 
ployed and  was  told  that  there  was  a  clerk  who  had  worked  in  Minot  and  was  again 
introduced  to  Mr.  Wheeler.  His  second  introduction  led  to  their  marriage,  which  was 
celebrated  in  Minot  in  1897.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Wheeler  have  become  the  parents  of  two 
children:  Gladys  M.,  the  wife  of  Hart  Swalstad,  a  jeweler  of  Minot;  and  Neil  E.,  who 
is  at  home  and  is  learning  the  jeweler's  trade. 

Mr.  Wheeler  is  a  stalwart  republican  and  does  all  in  his  power  to  further  the  success 
of  his  party  at  the  polls.  He  is  an  influential  member  of  the  Presbyterian  church,  of 
which  he  is  serving  as  trustee,  and  his  wife  is  active  in  the  work  of  the  Ladies  Aid 
Society.  She  is  also  a  member  of  the  W^omen's  Relief  Corps.  Mr.  Wheeler  is  affiliated  with 
the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America  and  is  a  director  of  the  Minot  Humane  Society.  He 
is  treasurer  of  the  Burns  Club  of  Minot,  is  one  of  the  directors  of  the  Fortnightly  Club, 
which  was  organized  to  debate  prominent  subjects  during  the  winter  months,  and  was 
president  of  the  State  Tax  Association  until  the  election  of  the  State  Tax  Commission  in 
1914.  Nothing  afl'ecting  the  welfare  of  his  city  or  state  is  a  matter  of  indifi'erence  to 
him  and  he  has  done  much  toward  promoting  progress  along  many  lines  of  activity. 


C.    I.    HARTSON. 


C.  I.  Hartson,  manager  of  the  Equity  Elevator  Company  of  New  Kockford,  North 
Dakota,  was  born  in  Adams  county,  Wisconsin,  May  19,  1860,  and  is  a  son  of  Isaac  and 
Lydia  (Bloss)  Hartson,  both  natives  of  New  York.  The  father,  who  was  a  farmer  by 
occupation,  removed  to  Illinois  at  an  early  day  when  Chicago  was  a  mere  village,  and 
in  1856  became  a  resident  of  Wisconsin,  where  he  preempted  land  and  engaged  in  its 
cultivation  until  1888.  It  was  in  the  latter  year  that  he  came  to  North  Dakota  and 
filed  on  land  in  Eddy  county,  where  he  engaged  in  farming  until  1904,  when  he  sold  his 
place,  spending  the  remainder  of  his  life  in  retirement  at  New  Rockford.  He  passed  away 
May  23,  1908,  at  the  age  of  eighty-one  years,  and  his  wife  died  May  29,  1902. 

C.  I.  Hartson  was  reared  and  educated  in  Wisconsin  and  on  leaving  home  went  to 
Minnesota,  where  he  entered  the  service  of  the  Great  Northern  Railroad  Company  as  a 
timber  inspector,  remaining  in  their  employ  for  two  years.  In  June,  1883,  he  arrived  in 
Eddy  county,  North  Dakota,  and  secured  a  homestead  on  which  he  lived  until  1893,  when 
he  rented  the  place  and  removed  to  New  Rockford.  He  continued  to  own  his  farm  until 
1900,  when  he  sold  it.  On  taking  up  his  abode  in  New  Rockford,  Mr.  Hartson  embarked  in 
the  livery   business,   which   he   carried    on    for   six   years,   but   disposed   of    it    in    1899    and 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  665 

became  connected  with  an  elevator  at  Tajiiuii,  North  JJakota,  remaining  there  one  year. 
He  was  next  engaged  in  tlie  grain  business  in  sontbern  Jlinnesota  fur  six  years,  and  in  1U06 
took  charge  of  an  elevator  at  Towner,  Jlcllenry  county,  Nortli  Dakota,  where  the  follow- 
ing six  years  were  spent.  Since  then  Mr.  Ilartson  has  made  his  home  in  New  Rockford  and 
has  had  the  management  of  the  Kquity  Elevator  Company,  of  which  he  is  a  stockholder. 
He  is  also  a  stockholder  of  the  New  Rockford  State  Center,  a  daily  paper,  and  is  the 
owner  of  farm  land  in  Minnesota  and  residence  and  business  property  in  New  Rockford, 
which  he  rents.     In   1885  he  took   a   preemption   in   Eddy  county  but  has   sold  tliat   farm. 

On  the  34th  of  February,  1884,  Mr.  Uartson  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Lenora 
Hyatt,  and  they  hiive  become  the  parents  of  five  children:  Fred,  who  is  now  with  E.  J. 
Lander  &  Company,  land  and  loan  agents  at  Grand  Forks;  Mildred,  the  wife  of  William 
Ritchie,  of  New  Rockford;  Ruby,  the  wife  of  Roy  Stetzel,  of  New  Rockford;  Alice,  the  wife 
of  Cliarles  Rosecranz,  of  Towner;  and  Uarloy,  who  is  pursuing  a  course  in  forestry 
engineering   at   the   State   University   of   Montana. 

By  his  ballot  Mr.  Hartson  supports  the  men  and  measures  of  the  republican  party. 
He  is  identified  with  the  blue  lodge  and  chapter  of  the  Masonic  fraternity  and  also  belongs 
to  the  Ancient  Order  of  United  Workmen.  In  religious  faith  he  is  a  Methodist  and  his 
course  in  life  has  ever  been  such  as  to  commend  him  to  the  confidence  and  high  regard  of 
his  fellow  citizens.  He  is  widely  and  favorably  known  and  as  one  of  the  pioneers  of  the 
state  is  deserving  of  prominent   mention   in   its  history. 


HAL\OR  P.  HAMJIER. 


Halvor  P.  Hammer,  a  capitalist  of  Cooperstown,  belongs  to  that  class  of  representative 
and  progressive  men  that  Norway  has  furnished  to  North  Dakota.  The  state  has  every 
reason  to  be  proud  of  her  citizens  of  Norwegian  birth,  for  their  energies  and  enterprise 
have  constituted  valuable  factors  in  the  development,  promotion  and  upbuilding  of  the 
state.  Mr.  Hammer  was  born  at  Soliir,  Norway,  in  1857,  a  son  of  Peter  Cliristopher 
Hammer,  who  was  a  farmer  in  the  land  of  the  midnight  sun. 

Having  spent  the  period  of  his  minority  in  his  native  country,  Halvor  P.  Hammer 
came  to  the  United  States  in  1879,  arriving  at  Northfield,  Minnesota,  on  the  memorable 
day  when  the  Younger  brothers  held  up  the  bank  and  shot  up  the  town.  He  reached  there 
almost  immediately  after  the  affair  took  place.  He  spent  two  years  in  the  vicinity  of 
Xorthfield  engaged  in  farming,  having  obtained  his  elementarj'  knowledge  of  farming  and 
stock  raising  on  his  father's  place  in  Norwaj',  which  was  largely  devoted  to  the  raising  of 
cattle   and    horses. 

In  1881  Mr.  Hammer  came  to  North  Dakota  anil  secured  a  homestead  in  Nelson  county, 
but  after  two  years  sold  his  farm  and  removed  to  Cooperstown,  where  he  purchased  and  for 
a  year  conducted  a  meat  market.  He  afterward  bought  a  livery  barn,  wliich  he  afterward 
sold,  and  later  established  an  implement  business  where  his  present  warehouse  now  stands. 
The  warehouse,  a  concrete  iron  structure  one  hundred  by  one  hundred  and  forty  feet,  was 
built  in  I'JOO.  In  the  fall  of  1888  Mr.  Hammer  purchased  the  general  merchandise  business 
of  Lawrence  Brothers  and  opened  his  store  for  business  on  the  10th  of  August.  On  the 
17th  of  the  same  month  there  was  a  heavy  frost  which  injured  the  crops  and  brought  on 
hard  times.  On  .January  1,  1901,  he  sold  the  merchandise  business  to  Thoni])son  Brothers, 
after  which  he  devoted  his  attention  to  live  stock,  real  estate  and  the  implement  trade  for 
some  time.  In  1906  he  sold  an  interest  in  the  implement  business  to  Butler  &  Hamilton, 
since  which  time  the  business  has  been  carried  on  under  the  name  of  the  Hammcr-Condy 
Company.  When  he  sold  he  accepted  land  in  part  payment  and  since  that  time  has  dealt 
extensively  in  real  estate.  He  owns  six  hundred  and  forty  acres  of  land  adjoining  Coopers- 
town on  the  north,  which  is  the  home  ranch,  and  he  is  a  partner  in  a  company  which  owns 
about  thirty  tliousands  acres  of  farm   land. 

From  the  beginning  of  his  residence  in  this  city  Mr.  llaTiumr  has  engaged  in  stock 
raising  and  about  1909  he  began  buying  and  importing  high  grade  Percheron  and  Belgian 
stock,  which   has  constituted   an   important   branch   of  his  business  and   a   most  gratifying 


666  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

source  of  income.  At  ijresent  he  has  about  sixty  head  of  horses.  The  leading  sire,  Vou- 
more,  a  Percheron,  \Yeighing  twenty-one  hundred  pounds,  as  a  three  year  old  won  the  grand 
championship  at  Chicago,  Illinois,  and  the  same  in  South  Dakota  in  1911  and  was  proclaimed 
grand  champion  at  the  State  l''air  of  North  Dakota  each  year  from  1912  until  1916 
inclusive.  The  leading  Belgian  sire.  Minus,  weight  twenty-one  hundred  pounds,  won  the 
grand  ehami)ionship  in  Manitoba,  in  South  Dakota,  North  Dakota  and  Jlinncsota,  and  he 
has  a  Percheron  mare,  weight  over  two  thousand  pounds,  which  carried  oil'  the  grand 
championship  for  three  successive  years  in  North  Dakota  in  both  state  and  interstate 
fairs.  Another  marc  on  his  ranch,  a  Belgian  weighing  two  tliousand  pounds,  has  won 
the  grand  championship  in  five  states.  He  owns  the  Percheron  mare,  L'orinne,  a  full' 
daughter  of  Carnot,  and  a  half  interest  in  the  latter  was  sold  for  twenty  thousand  dollars. 
Corinne  won  second  place  at  the  international  fair  as  a  yearling,  first  place  at  the  South 
Dakota  State  Fair  and  first  jjlace  at  the  Minnesota  State  Fair  in  1915.  Jlr.  Hammer  has 
given  the  control  of  his  stock  over  to  his  three  sons,  who  conduct  the  business  under  tlic  lirm 
name  of  Hammer  Brothers.  Aside  from  his  other  interests  Mr.  Hammer  is  president  of  the 
F'iist  National  Bank  at  Cooperstown,  is  president  of  the  H.  S.  Halverson  Company,  real 
estate  dealers  of  McHenry  county,  North  Dakota,  president  of  the  Halverson-Thompson 
Land  Company  of  Cooperstown  and  president  of  the  Hammer-Halverson-Beyer  Elevator 
Company,  owning  elevators  at  Cooperstown,  McHenry,  Carrington  and  Esmond.  He  is 
likewise  president  of  the  First  State  Bank  of  Sutton,  the  State  Bank  of  Glenfield,  the 
Hammer-Condy  Company,  conducting  an  implement  business  at  Cooperstown,  the  Hammrr- 
Thinglestad  Company  at  Binford.  with  warehouses  in  Binford  and  Sutton,  and  the  Hammer- 
Carlson   Company,  dealers  in  hardware  and  implements  at  Finley.  North   Dakota. 

Jn  1881  Mr.  Hammer  was  united  in  marriage  to  Jliss  Clara  Anderson,  a  native  of 
Norway  and  they  have  nine  children:  Helga,  the  wife  of  Theodore  G.  Thompson,  of  the 
Halverson-Thompson  Land  Company;  Annie,  the  wife  of  B.  C.  Phipps,  cashier  of  the  First 
National  Bank  of  McHenry,  North  Dakota;  Emma,  the  wife  of  Dr.  Grangard,  a  resident 
of  North  Dakota;  Josephine,  the  wife  of  0.  J.  Melgard,  cashier  of  a  bank  at  Madelia, 
Minnesota;  Clara,  the  wife  of  Edwin  Erickson,  a  farmer  and  stockman  of  the  Sheyenne 
river;  Ida,  at  home;  William  P.,  who  is  a  graduate  of  the  University  of  Illinois  at  Cham- 
paign and  is  now  senior  member  of  the  firm  of  Hammer  Brothers;  and  Ralph  and  Henry, 
who  are  still  attending  school  but  are  members  of  the  firm  of  Hammer  Brothers. 

Mr.  Hammer  is  a  member  of  the  Masonic  fraternity  but  has  always  avoided  public 
office.  His  has  been  a  busy  and  useful  life,  in  which  he  has  proven  a  good  citizen  as  well 
as  a  most  progressive  and  enterprising  business  man.  The  course  which  he  has  followed 
has  won  him  high  respect,  for  in  the  attainment  of  success  he  has  never  won  his  advance- 
ment at  the  price  of  another's  failure  nor  taken  advantage  of  the  necessities  of  another 
in  a  business  transaction.  He  has  always  followed  constructive  methods,  recognizing  and 
utilizing  opportunities,  and  he  has  established  such  business  enterprises  as  the  settlement 
of  the  district  and  conditions  have  warranted  and  demanded.  Jleeting  public  needs,  his 
business  interests  have  constantly  broadened  and  expanded,  bringing  to  him  an  increasing 
revenue  which   now   makes  him   one   of  the   most   substantial   residents   of   Griggs  county. 


SIMON  SCHEFTER. 


Simon  Schefter,  proprietor  of  one  of  the  leading  mercantile  establishments  of  Langdoiv 
and  also  the  owner  of  two  other  stores  in  Cavalier  county — one  at  Milton  and  the  other 
at  Hannah — was  born  September  20,  1881,  in  Mildmay.  Hrncc  county.  Ontario,  Canada,, 
his  parents  being  Anthony  and  Caroline  (Kuneman)  Schefter.  also  natives  of  Lower 
Canada.  Throughout  his  active  business  life  the  father  engaged  in  farming  and  he  passed 
away  at  the  old  home  in  Canada  in  1911  at  the  age  of  sixty-five  years.  The  mother  is 
still  living  in  Mildmay  at  the  age  of  sixty-six.  Twelve  children  were  born  to  them,  and 
Simon,  who  is  the  fifth  in  order  of  birth,  is  one  of  twins. 

During  his  boyhood  and  youth  Simon  Schefter  aided  in  the  work  cif  the  home  fariii  ami 
attended   the   ])ul)lic   schools   of   Canada,   coniplcting   his   education   by    a    higli    sclmol   course. 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  667 

]!<'liuc  leaving  tlu'  JJoiiiiiiiiiii  lie  woikcil  in  a  dry  gooiln  store,  wliere  lie  gained  his  first 
knowledge  of  mercantile  jiursuits,  and  after  his  removal  to  Laiigdon,  North  Dakota,  in  1904, 
he  was  employed  in  the  store  of  J\Ir.  Boyd  for  two  years.  Since  that  time  he  has  engaged 
ill  merchandising  on  his  own  account  and  is  today  at  the  head  of  a  large  establishment. 
lie  carries  a  well  selected  stock  and  has  built  up  an  excellent  patronage  as  he  is  courteous 
to  his  customers  and  is  a  nuui  of  reliable  business  methods.  He  now  has  branch  stores  at 
Hilton   and   Hannah,   which    luive    afso   proved   quite   profitable. 

Jlr.  Schefter  was  manied  in  i^angdon,  July  IT,  IIJO",  to  Jliss  .Margaret  llerricks,  a 
daughter  of  William  ami  i^ouisa  llerricks,  who  were  among  the  pioneers  of  Jlinnesota. 
Mr.  and  Mrs.  Schefter  now  have  three  children:  Louise,  born  in  lilOS;  Margaret,  born 
in  I'JO'J;  and  Kichard.  born  in  TJII.  'I'he  daughters  are  now  in  school.  The  family  attend 
the  Koman  Calliolic  churcli.  to  which  the  parents  belong,  and  My.  .Schefter  is  also  a  member 
of  the  Catholic  (Irder  of  l-drcsters.  Politically  he  alliliates  with  the  democratic  party. 
He  devotes  his  undivided  attention  to  his  business  interests  and  by  his  own  industry, 
enterprise  and  sound  judgment  has  won  success  in  his  undertakings,  so  that  lie  is  now 
numbered  among  the  substantial  citizens  of  Cavalier  county  though  he  came  licre  in 
limited   circumstances. 


•  IIDCK  .lAMKS   VASS   BKOOKK. 

Among  the  proiniiieiil  representatives  of  the  North  Dakota  bar  is  numljcrcil  .ludge 
James  Vass  Brooke  of  Cando.  w  lio  is  now  serving  as  county  judge  of  Tow-ntr  county.  He  was 
born  in  Warrenton,  \"irginia,  im  tlie  10th  of  January,  1853,  and  belongs  to  an  honored 
old  family  of  lliat  state,  being  a  son  of  James  Vass  and  JIary  (Norris)  Brooke.  His 
father  was  a  leader  in  public  affairs,  exerting  a  great  influence  in  liis  community.  At  the 
early  age  of  nineteen  years  he  was  licensed  to  practices  law  and  being  an  eloquent  speaker 
took  an  active  part  in  campaign  work  for  the  whig  party,  being  a  most  ardent  sn|)])Orter 
of  Henry  Clay,  a  lock  of  whose  silver  hair  was  sent  him  iu  recognition  of  his  sujiporl. 
At  one  time  he  was  commonwealth  attorney  for  Fauquier  countj'  and  was  secretary  of 
the  whig  party.  In  1861  he  was  elected  to  succeed  Captain  J.  CJ.  Marr,  whose  blood  was 
the  first  shed  in  the  Civil  war,  as  a  delegate  to  the  secession  convention  and  his  name 
appears  as  one  of  tlie  signers  of  the  ordinance  of  secession.  In  Maivh,  1802,  he  organized 
and  took  to  the  war  what  was  known  as  Brooke's  Battery  attached  to  I'oague's  Battalion 
of  Artillery,  Jackson's  Corps.  Tliat  spring  while  stationed  at  Belle  Isle  Captain  Brooke 
was  placed  in  command  of  the  well  known  prison  camp  at  that  place.  In  1863,  having 
been  disabled  in  the  service,  he  was  nuide  a  member  of  the  .Virginia  house  of  delegates, 
where  he  served  until  the  fall  of  Kiclnnond.  He  took  an  active  part  in  the  conduct  of  the 
war  and  was  a  member  of  the  secret  committee  which  advised  with  the  generals  in  the 
field.  At  the  close  of  the  war  Mr.  Brooke  formed  a  law  copartnership  with  the  Hon.  K. 
Taylor  Seott,  afterw-ard  attornej-  gener.il  of  \'irgiiiia.  and  for  thirty  years  tin-  Inm  of 
Brooke  &.  Scott  was  one  of  the  most  i)roiniiu'nt  at  the  \  irginia  bar.  ilv.  Broolie  practiced, 
for  fifty-five  years  in  Fauquier  county  and  was  one  of  the  most  conspicuous  lawyers  of 
the  Old  Dominion.  He  served  repeatedly  in  the  senate  and  in  the  house.  In  the  late  '70s 
he  was  chairman  of  tlie  judiciary  committee  and  had  ii  leading  hand  in  the  extensive 
revision  of  the  code  of  Virginia  made  at  that  time. 

James  \'ass  Brooke,  Jr.,  was  educated  at  the  Hampden  Sidney  College  of  \irginia  and 
was  first  honor  student  in  (lie  class  of  1873,  the  degrees  of  A.  B.  and  A.  M.  being  con- 
ferred upon  him  by  that  institution.  Later  he  took  up  the  study  of  law  in  the  University 
of  Virginia  and  was  graduated  in  1875  with  B.  L.  degree.  The  lollowing  year  he  opened  an 
office  hi  Staunton,  Virginia,  where  he  practiced  for  three  years,  but  on  the  death  of  his 
mother  he  retui'ned  home,  lie  took  an  active  part  in  public  all'airs  ami  for  two  terms  served 
as  mayor  of  Warrenton. 

It  was  in  October,  1882,  that  Mr.  15rooke  came  to  Xortli  D.ikota  and  located  in  Fargo, 
wliere  he  engaged  in  newspajjcr  vork  and  the  real  estate  business  for  a  time.  In  the 
spring  of  1883  he  went  to  Devils  Lake  as  agent  for  a  town  site  company  and  assisted  in 


668  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

platting  the  town.  He  served  as  the  first  superintendent  of  schools  of  Ramsey  county, 
filling  that  position  for  two  terms,  and  he  represented  the  county  in  the  state  legislature  in 
the  session  of  1891.  On  the  election  of  W.  N.  Roach  to  the  United  States  senate,  Mr. 
Brooke  accompanied  him  to  Washington  as  his  private  secretary,  and  in  1894  he  was 
appointed  register  of  the  United  States  land  office  at  Grand  Forks,  in  which  capacity  he 
served  until  the  expiration  of  his  terra  of  four  years. 

After  his  retirement  from  that  position,  Jlr.  Brooke  removed  to  C'ando  and  in  the  fail 
of  the  same  year  was  elected  states  attorney  of  Towner  county,  being  reelected  in  1900. 
In  1907  he  was  appointed  a  member  of  the  board  of  regents  of  the  University  of  North 
Dakota.  He  was  admitted  to  practice  in  the  supreme  courts  of  the  United  States  in  1910 
and  is  today  one  of  the  best  known  attorneys  of  northwestern  North  Dakota.  In  1914  he 
was  elected  to  his  present  office  of  county  judge  of  Towner  county  and  has  filled  that  position 
with    distinction. 

On  the  32d  of  October,  1894,  ilr.  Brooke  married  Miss  Annabel  Bailey,  of  Canton, 
South  Dakota,  and  to  them  have  been  born  four  children,  three  of  whom  are  living,  namely: 
Richard  Xorris,  now  in  his  senior  year  in  the  State  University  of  North  Dakota;  Jeannie 
Morrison,  who  is  attending  the  Valley  City  Normal  School;  and  Francis  Calvert,  who  is 
attending  the  graded   schools   of   Cando. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Brooke  hold  membership  in  the  Presb\'terian  church  and  tlie  latter  takes 
a  very  prominent  part  in  church  and  club  work,  being  librarian  of  the  Fleur  de  Lis  Club 
at  the  present  time.  Fraternally  Mr.  Brooke  is  a  member  of  Cando  Lodge,  No.  40,  A.  F. 
&  A.  M.,  and  of  the  American  Yeomen.  In  politics  he  is  an  ardent  democrat  and  he  occupies 
an  influential  position  in  his  party  ranks.  In  1890  he  was  nominated  for  attorney  general 
of  the  state  but  declined  the  honor,  preferring  to  run  for  the  legislature.  He  served  as 
private  secretary  to  the  only  three  democratic  senators  from  this  state,  these  being  Senators 
Roach,  Thompson  and  Purcell.  During  the  failure  of  crops  in  the  late  'SOs  Mr.  Brooke 
organized  a  Cliamber  of  Commerce  in  Devils  Lake  to  aid  in  taking  care  of  the  poor  people 
throughout  that  section.  He  was  one  of  the  most  prominent  figures  in  the  early  develop- 
ment of  North  Dakota  and  assisted  in  framing  the  educational  system  of  the  state.  For 
several  years  he  was  identified  with  newspaper  work  in  Devils  Lake  but  his  time  has  been 
principally  devoted  to  the  legal  profession. 


JESSE  G.  DITSWORTH. 


The  new,  enterprising  town  of  Charbonneau,  McKenzie  county,  owes  its  development 
largely  to  Jesse  G.  Ditsworth,  who  hauled  the  lumber  to  build  the  first  store.  That  was 
in  1913  and  in  the  intervening  period  he  has  done  much  to  advance  the  interests  of  the 
town,  where  he  is  now  successfully  engaged  in  merchandising.  He  was  born  near  Independence, 
Iowa,  April  9,  1883,  a  son  of  Ephraim  and  Angeline  (Cosier)  Ditsworth.  The  father  was 
born  in  Pennsylvania  but  in  his  childhood  days  was  taken  to  Jo  Daviess  county,  Illinois, 
where  he  was  reared  and  educated.  In  pioneer  times  he  became  a  resident  of  Iowa,  settling 
near  Independence,  where  he  followed  farming  for  five  years.  He  next  took  up  his  abode 
near  Washington  Springs,  in  Jerauld  county,  South  Dakota,  where  he  secured  a  homestead, 
to  the  development  of  which  he  devoted  seven  years.  He  next  removed  to  Kossuth  county, 
Iowa,  and  purchased  land  near  Bancroft,  where  he  carried  on  farming  until  he  retired  from 
active  business.  He  has  a  rich  and  valuable  tract  of  land,  from  which  he  derives  a  very 
substantial  income,  and  he  now  makes  his  home  at  Lucedale,  Mississippi.  His  wife,  a  native 
of  .Jo  Daviess  county,  Illinois,  also  survives. 

Jesse  G.  Ditsworth  was  taken  to  Wessington  Springs,  South  Dakota,  during  his  infancy 
and  there  remained  for  seven  years.  He  afterward  became  a  pupil  in  the  district  schools 
near  Bancroft,  in  Kossuth  county,  Iowa,  and  when  his  textbooks  were  put  aside  became  the 
assistant  of  his  father  in  farm  work,  being  thus  engaged  until  he  reached  the  age  of 
twenty-three  years.  In  1907  he  removed  to  McKenzie  county.  North  Dakota,  and  home- 
steaded  six  miles  north  of  the  present  site  of  Charbonneau.  After  proving  up  on  that 
propertj'  he  engaged  in  the  gasoline  engine  business  as  a  representative  of  the  International 


JESSE  G.  DITSWORTH 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  671 

Harvester  Company  and  in  1913,  when  the  town  of  Cliarbonneau  was  laid  out,  he  purchased 
lots  and  hauled  lumber  overland  from  Mondak,  Montana,  with  which  to  build  a  store,  estab- 
lisliin"  the  lirst  store  in  the  new  town.  In  this  undertaking  he  was  associated  with  G.  W. 
Kitter  under  the  lirm  style  of  Ditsworth  &  Ritter,  but  later  he  purchased  the  interest  of 
the  junior  i)artner  and  is  now  alone  in  business.  He  became  the  pioneer  merchant  of 
L'luu  bunneau,  his  store  and  the  bank  building  being  erected  about  the  same  time.  From 
the  beginning  he  has  taken  an  active  interest  in  the  development  of  the  region  and  his  labors 
have  brought  forth  good  results.  He  still  has  his  homestead,  which  he  rents,  and  he  is 
actively  identilied  with  the  work  of  improvement  in  the  western  part  of  the  state.  He  is 
a  stockholder  of  the  Provident  Insurance  Company  of  Bismarck. 

On  the  16th  of  October,  1913,  ilr.  Ditsworth  was  married  to  Miss  Willma  Newman,  of 
Buford,  North  Dakota,  who  was  born  and  educated  near  Schoolcraft,  Michigan,  and  in  early 
womanhood  became  a  teacher  in  the  schools  of  Williams  county.  North  Dakota.  Mr.  and 
Mrs.  Ditsworth  have  one  child,  Elizabeth  Angeline,  whose  birth  occurred  August  21,  1914, 
and  who  was  the  first  child  born  in  Charbonneau. 

Fraternally  Mr.  Ditsworth  is  connected  with  the  Odd  Fellows  lodge  at  Charbonneau, 
of  which  he  is  a  charter  member.  He  was  president  of  the  Fraternity  Hall  Association  and 
is  now  its  vice  president.  His  political  allegiance  is  given  to  the  republican  party  and  he 
has  served  as  a  director  of  the  Charbon  school  district.  He  and  his  wife  belong  to  the 
Methodist  Episcopal  church  and  their  many  sterling  traits  of  character  have  won  for  them 
the  admiration  and  high  regard  of  all  with  whom  they  have  been  brought  in  contact. 


CHARLES  ERB. 


Charles  Krb,  conducting  a  meat  market  in  Milton  since  1908  and  thus  actively  connected 
with  the  business  development  of  the  town,  was  born  in  Brooklyn,  New  York,  September  29, 
1870.  His  father,  Jacob  Erb,  a  native  of  Germany,  came  to  the  United  States  during  the  '50s 
and  settled  in  Brooklyn,  where  he  resided  until  his  death,  which  occurred  in  1879,  when'he  was 
fifty-eight  years  of  age,  for  he  was  born  in  1821.  He  was  a  stone  mason  by  trade  and  had 
always  followed  that  pursuit  in  order  to  provide  for  his  family.  Before  leaving  Germany  he 
married  Margaret  I'Leicher,  who  was  there  born  in  1829,  while  her  death  occurred  in  Brooklyn 
in  1883.    They  were  the  parents  of  fourteen  children,  eight  of  whom  reached  adult  age. 

Charles  Erb  was  next  to  the  youngest  in  the  family  and  the  public  schools  of  Brooklyn 
afforded  him  his  educational  privileges,  but  he  was  a  lad  of  only  nine  years  at  the  time  of  his 
father's  death  and  from  that  age  had  to  aid  in  supporting  the  family.  He  was  first  employed 
in  a  rope  factory  in  Brooklyn  at  a  salary  of  three  dollars  per  week  and  during  his  second  year's 
service  he  received  three  and  one-half  dollars  per  week.  His  next  promotion  brought  him  a 
salary  of  a  dollar  per  day  and  he  remained  in  the  factory  for  two  and  one-half  years.  Later 
he  was  apprenticed  to  learn  the  butcher's  trade,  which  he  followed  as  a  journeyman  until  1908. 
In  the  spring  of  1901  he  came  to  North  Dakota  from  Pelican  Rapids,  Minnesota,  where  he  lived 
for  fourteen  years.  On  reaching  this  state  he  settled  in  Willow  City,  where  he  resided  for 
eight  ytars  and  during  the  last  year  of  that  period  was  engaged  in  business  on  his  own  account. 
On  the  16th  of  November,  1908,  he  removed  to  Milton,  where  he  established  his  present  busi- 
ness becoming  the  pioneer  butcher  of  the  town.  He  started  in  a  small  way  with  limited 
capital  but  has  gradually  developed  his  trade  along  substantial  lines  until  his  business  is 
equal  to  that  of  any  meat  market  in  the  county.  He  slaughters  all  of  his  own  meat  and 
handles  about  one  hundred  and  sixty  beeves,  two  hundred  and  forty  hogs,  one  hundred  and 
thirty  calves  and  fifty  sheep  annually.  He  also  manufactures  all  of  the  sausage  which  he 
sells  and  he  employs  a  skilled  butcher  to  assist  him.  His  entire  attention  is  devoted  to  the 
busine.-.s  and   to   the   sale  and   shipment  of   live   stock. 

In  July,  IS'JO.  at  Moorhead,  Minnesota,  Mr.  Erb  was  married  to  Miss  Magdalene 
Damschen,  a  native  of  Carver  county,  Minnesota,  who  was  reared  at  Pelican  Rapids,  that 
state,  spending  her  girlhood  in  the  home  of  her  parents,  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Fred  Damschen,  who 
are  representatives  of  an  old  Minnesota  family.  Nine  children  have  been  born  to  Mr.  and 
Mrs.  Erb;  Frank,  Annie,  Edna,  Florence,  Alice,  Frederick,  Margaret,  Raymond  and  Howard. 

Vol.   Ill— 31 


672  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

The  son  Frauk  married  Kmma  Cromb  and  resides  at  Overly,  North  Dakota.  Annie  is  the 
widow  of  John  McLaurin  and  they  have  a  daughter,  Fern  Edniond,  born  August  25,  1916. 
Mrs.  McLaurin  makes  her  home  with  lier  parents  since  her  husband's  death. 

The  family  attend  the  First  Presbyterian  church,  although  Mr.  Erb  was  reared  in  the 
Lutheran  faith.  Fraternally  he  is  connected  with  the  Ancient  Order  of  United  Workmen. 
He  belongs  to  the  Commercial  Club,  being  in  hearty  sympathy  with  its  purposes,  and  he 
gives  his  political  allegiance  to  the  republican  party.  He  served  as  a  member  of  the  town 
board  in  1913,  but  while  interested  in  all  matters  pertaining  to  the  general  welfare,  he 
concentrates  his  efforts  upon  his  business.  He  owns  the  building  in  which  he  conducts  his 
market,  also  his  home  and  other  city  property,  which  constitutes  the  visible  evidence  of 
his  life  of  well  directed  energy  and  thrift.  His  success  is  attributable  in  large  measure  to 
the  fact  that  he  has  never  dissipated  his  energies  over  a  broad  field  but  has  alwaj's  con- 
centrated his  efforts  upon  the  line  in  whioli  he  embarked  as  a  young  tradesman. 


JAMES  FAULIvN'ER  McQUEEN,  D.  D.  S. 

Dr.  James  Faulkner  McQueen,  actively  engaged  in  the  practice  of  dentistry  at  Penftbina, 
was  born  in  Wellington  county,  Ontario,  Canada,  April  7,  1860.  A  record  of  his  family  is 
given  in  connection  with  the  sketch  of  Dr.  W.  W.  McQueen  which  appears  on  another  page 
of  this  work.  Dr.  McQueen  of  this  review  acquired  his  early  education  in  the  public  and 
high  schools  of  his  native  county  and  afterward  was  graduated  from  the  Ottawa  Normal 
School  with  the  class  of  1886.  He  then  began  teaching  in  Canada  and  devoted  seven  years 
to  that  profession.  With  the  desire  of  becoming  a  practitioner  of  dentistry  he  then  entered 
the  dental  department  of  the  Detroit  College  of  iledicinc  and  won  his  professional  degree 
upon  graduation  with  the  class  of  1900. 

Dr.  McQueen  located  for  practice  in  Milton,  North  Dakota,  where  he  remained  for  six 
years,  and  then  removed  to  Pembina,  where  he  has  been  located  since  1907.  He  became  the 
successor  of  Dr.  Falloon,  who  was  the  only  resident  dentist  of  Pembina  and  had  practiced 
there  for  about  six  years  before  the  arrival  of  Dr.  McQueen.  The  latter  has  built  up  a  large 
practice  and  his  professional  work  indicates  that  he  has  a  thorough  and  comprehensive 
knowledge  of  the  principles  of  the  profession,  combined  with  mechanical  skill  and  ingenuity, 
which  are  so  necessary  as  an  asset  in  dental  surgery. 

In  Ontario,  Canada,  on  the  4th  of  September,  1900,  Dr.  McQueen  was  married  to  Miss 
Agnes  E.  Hood,  a  native  of  Canada  and  a  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Thomas  Hood.  The 
mother,  who  was  of  Irish  birth,  is  now  deceased.  Dr.  and  Mrs.  McQueen  have  two  sons: 
Thomas  Craig,  who  was  born  August  10,  1903,  and  is  now  attending  high  school;  and  James 
Donald,  born  October  17,  1906. 

Dr.  and  Mrs.  McQueen  hold  membership  in  the  Presbyterian  church,  in  the  work  of 
which  they  take  a  most  active  and  helpful  part.  He  is  serving  as  elder  and  treasurer  of  the 
church  and  as  a  member  of  the  board  of  managers  and  his  wife  is  equally  active  for  the 
moral  development  of  the  community,  holding  membership  in  the  Ladies  Aid  and  in  the 
Civic  League.  Dr.  McQueen  maintains  an  independent  political  course  yet  is  not  neglectful 
of  his  duties  of  citizenship.  He  was  one  of  the  organizers  of  the  Commercial  Club  and  has 
filled  the  office  of  justice  of  the  peace  and  he  stands  at  all  times  for  law  and  order,  for 
progress  and  improvement,  for  righteousness  and  advancement. 


HENRY  E.  CLOSE. 


Henry  E.  Close,  a  pharmacist  of  Langdon,  is  today  one  of  the  oldest  representatives  of 
that  line  of  business  in  Cavalier  county,  having  established  his  present  drug  store  in 
September,  1906.  Through  the  intervening  period  he  has  built  up  a  trade  of  large  and 
gratifying  proportions  and  underlying  his  success  is  a  comprehensive  knowledge  of  the 
scientific   principles   that   constitute    the   basic   element   of   the   drug    business.      A    native   of 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  673 

Ontario,  ho  was  born  at  (Joklstone,  October  14,  1874.  His  father,  Mark  Close,  was  a  native 
of  England  and  a  son  of  William  Close,  who  became  the  founder  of  the  family  in  the  new 
world,  crossing  the  Atlantic  about  1847,  at  which  time  his  son  Mark  was-  a  little  lad  of  six 
years.  The  family  settled  at  Goldstone,  so  that  Hark  Close  was  there  reared  and  educated, 
and  when  his  textbooks  were  put  aside  he  took  up  agricultural  pursuits.  Eventually  he 
became  a  resident  of  North  Dakota,  making  his  way  to  Milton  in  1890.  He  then  purchased 
land  and  for  a  quarter  of  a  century  tliereafter  was  connected  with  agricultural  pursuits  in 
that  district,  his  death  there  occurring  October  20,  1915,  when  he  had  reached  the  age  of 
seventy-three  years.  He  married  Elizabeth  Bettison,  a  native  of  Canada,  whose  father, 
William  Bettison,  was  a  pioneer  of  Wellington  county,  where  he  followed  agricultural 
pursuits.  It  was  in  Canada  that  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Close  were  married  and  to  them  were  born 
four  children:  John,  now  a  resident  of  Seattle,  Washington;  Henry  E.;  Arthur,  w^ho  has 
departed  this  life;  and  Melburn,  living  in  Milton,  North  Dakota. 

Henry  E.  Close  largely  acquired  his  education  in  the  public  schools  of  Milton,  passing 
through  consecutive  grades  to  the  high  school.  His  youthful  experiences  were  those  of  the 
farm  bred  boy,  but  deciding  not  to  follow  agricultural  pursuits  as  a  life  work,  he  became 
a  student  in  Drew's  Pharnutceutical  College  at  Minneapolis.  He  was  first  employed  in  the 
pharmacy  of  .John  F.  Anderson,  a  pioneer  druggist  of  Jlilton,  with  whom  he  remained  for 
five  years.  He  then  joined  Frank  Briggs  in  purchasing  the  Anderson  store,  which  they  con- 
ducted under  the  firm  style  of  Close  &  Company  for  tw^o  years.  On  the  expiration  of  that 
period  Mr.  Close  purchased  his  partner's  interest  and  carried  on  the  business  alone  for  seven 
years,  enjoying  a  good  trade  during  that  interval.  He  then  sold  the  business  and  removed 
to  Langdon,  where  in  September,  1906,  he  opened  his  present  store.  He  is  today  one  of  the 
oldest  pharmacists  in  Cavalier  county  and  has  always  maintained  a  foremost  position  among 
the  leading  representatives  of  that  line  of  trade.  He  carries  a  large  and  well  selected  line  of 
drugs  and  druggists'  sundries  and  is  most  careful  in  preparing  prescriptions  and  in  fact  is 
regarded  as  a  most  reliabh>  as  well  as  a  most  progressive  and  enterprising  merchant. 

At  Hoople,  North  Dakota,  on  the  17th  of  August,  1899,  Mr.  Close  was  married  to  Miss 
Anna  ^'.  Ferguson,  a  native  of  Canada  and  a  daughter  of  William  and  Mary  (Wendell) 
Ferguson,  the  former  now  deceased.  !Mr.  and  Mrs.  Close  have  a  daughter,  Alice  Muriel,  who 
was  born  at  Milton,  June  19,  1906. 

The  parents  are  members  of  the  First  Presbyterian  church  of  Langdon  and  Mr.  Close  is 
also  a  prominent  Mason,  having  been  initiated  into  the  order  at  Milton.  He  has  since 
attained  the  thirty-second  degree  of  the  Scottish  Rite  and  is  likewise  a  member  of  the 
Mystic  Shrine.  He  is  also  connected  with  the  Odd  Fellows,  holding  membership  in  both  the 
subordinate  lodge  and  encampment,  and  with  the  Knights  of  Pythias.  He  likewise  has 
membership  in  the  Commercial  Club.  The  wonderful  growth  of  the  northwest  is  attributable 
in  considerable  measure  to  the  fact  that  its  citizens  have  cooperated  in  efforts  for  the 
general  good  and  have  been  actuated  by  a  most  public-spirited  devotion  to  the  welfare  and 
upbuilding  of  their  respective  districts.  Thus  have  come  into  existence  the  commercial  clubs, 
which  have  been  most  important  factors  in  promoting  general  progress,  and  Mr.  Close  is  an 
interested  and  helpful  member  of  the  organization  at  Langdon. 


JEHIEL  H.  STEELE. 


Jehiel  H.  Steele,  who  owns  a  farm  of  three  hundred  and  twenty  acres  on  section  33, 
Nogosek  township,  Stutsman  county,  is  following  progressive  methods  in  the  further 
development  and  improvement  of  his  farm,  which  he  secured  in  pioneer  times  as  a  home- 
stead and  as  a  tree  claim.  He  was  born  in  Bedford  county,  Pennsylvania,  January  2,  1859,  a 
son  of  John  A.  and  Elizabeth  ( Davis  i  Steele,  who  were  likewise  natives  of  the  Keystone 
state.  The  father,  who  was  born  in  Huntington  county,  .Inly  10.  1830.  was  a.  woolen  man- 
ufacturer of  Pennsvlvania  until  1882,  when  he  came  to  the  northwest,  casting  in  his  lot 
with  the  pioneer  settlers  of  Stutsman  county,  where  he  honiesteaded  a  quarter  of  section  24, 
Lyon  township,  southwest  of  Nogosek.  He  remained  thereon  for  a  period  of  twelve  years, 
after  wliich  he  returnerl  to  Pennsylvania,  where  he  spent  his  remaining  days,  his  death  there^ 


674  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

occurring  April  24,  1899.  His  wife,  who  was  born  August  27,  1830,  died  on  the  15th  of 
August,  1871,  and  of  their  family  of  eight  children  only  four  are  now  living. 

Jehiel  H.  Steele  was  the  fourth  child  in  that  family  and  after  obtaining  his  education 
in  the  district  schools  of  Pennsylvania  and  spending  the  period  of  his  minority  there  he 
came  to  North  Dakota  in  1884,  when  a  young  man  of  about  twenty-five  years,  and  for  one 
year  assisted  his  father  in  the  development  of  the  claim  which  he  had  entered.  Later  he 
lived  with  his  brother  on  section  32,  Nogosek  township,  Stutsman  county,  which  place  they 
homesteaded  in  1886.  In  connection  with  that  property  Jehiel  H.  Steele  secured  a  tree 
claim  on  the  same  section,  thus  becoming  the  owner  of  one-half  of  section  32.  He  at  once 
concentrated  his  energies  upon  the  development  and  improvement  of  that  property  and  his 
interests  have  since  centered  upon  his  farm,  which  he  has  converted  into  a  valuable  and 
productive  place.  He  was  one  of  the  first  settlers  of  his  locality  and  at  that  time  Pingree, 
fourteen  miles  distant,  was  his  nearest  market.  He  employs  the  most  modern  and  scientific 
methods  in  the  cultivation  of  his  farm  and  he  occupies  a  home  that  is  most  attractive  by 
reason  of  its  many  conveniences  and  its  splendid  modern  equipment.  It  is  a  nine-room 
house  and  he  has  his  own  lighting,  water  and  heating  plants.  He  divided  his  place  into 
fields  of  convenient  size  by  well  kept  fences  and  he  secured  the  latest  improved  machinery 
to  promote  his  farm  work.  His  is  indeed  an  excellent  property,  constituting  one  of  the  at- 
tractive features  of  the  landscape. 

On  the  6th  of  May,  1880,  Mr.  Steele  was  married  to  Miss  Louerama  Riden,  who  was 
born  in  Pennsylvania,  April  39,  1861,  a  daughter  of  Mitchel  and  Mary  (Henry)  Riden,  who 
were  natives  of  Pennsylvania,  where  they  spent  their  entire  lives,  the  father  devoting  his 
energies  to  general  farming.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Steele  have  become  the  parents  of  twelve  chil- 
dren: Mrs.  Elfie  S.  Hayes,  born  October  24,  1881;  Mrs.  Jennie  M.  Powers,  born  January  7, 
1883;  Grover  C,  May  24,  1885;  Mrs.  Mary  E.  Cook,  March  13,  1887;  Mrs.  Hester  M.  Cook, 
August  27,  1889;  John  H.,  August  29,  1891;  Lewis  C,  May  28,  1894;  Mrs.  Harriet  H.  Niel, 
May  9,  1896;  Mrs.  Bertha  B.  Niel,  June  15,  1898;  Etta  L.,  January  4,  1900;  one  who  died 
in  infancy;  and  Alice  Queen,  born  February  11,  1913. 

Mr.  Steele  exercises  his  right  of  franchise  in  support  of  the  men  and  measures  of  the 
republican  party  and  formerly  served  as  township  clerk,  also  as  treasurer  and  as  school 
clerk  in  Nogosek  township.  By  appointment  he  served  for  two  years  and  a  half  as  a  direc- 
tor of  the  Corinne  township  district  school.  He  has  always  preferred,  however,  to  concentrate 
his  energies  upon  his  private  business  affairs  and  the  result  of  his  labors  is  seen  in  his 
success  and  in  his  fine  farni.  He  has  planted  ten  hundred  and  thirty  trees  around  his  dwelling 
and  he  has  an  orchard  of  one  hundred  fruit  trees.  His  is  indeed  a  beautiful  place  and  one 
which  indicates  the  progressive  spirit  of  the  owner.  Having  rented  his  farm  to  his  son 
John,  Mr.  Steele  is  now  living  practically  retired  but  still  gives  supervision  to  the  further 
development  of  his  land. 


OLE  J.  MORKEN. 


Ole  J.  Morken,  a  well  known  banker  and  business  man  of  Buford,  serving  as  cashier  of 
the  First  State  Bank,  was  born  in  Norway,  September  30,  1881,  a  son  of  John  and  Anna 
(Sveen)  Morken,  who  were  also  natives  of  that  country,  where  they  were  reared  and 
educated.  In  1890  they  crossed  the  Atlantic,  establishing  their  home  at  Brainerd,  Minnesota, 
where  the  father  engaged  in  the  lumber  business  until  1900.  He  then  removed  to  Baypoint, 
California,  where  he  is  still  connected  with  the  lumber  trade. 

Ole  J.  Morken  obtained  his  education  in  Norway  to  the  age  of  thirteen  years  and  after- 
ward continued  his  studies  in  the  public  schools  of  Brainerd,  Minnesota,  and  in  the  Brainerd 
Business  College,  where  his  training  equipped  him  for  the  position  which  he  soon  afterward 
secured,  that  of  bookkeeper  in  the  First  National  Bank  at  Northwood,  North  Dakota.  He 
remained  there  as  bookkeeper  and  teller  from  1901  until  1907.  when  he  removed  to  Buford 
and  became  assistant  cashier  of  the  First  State  Bank.  A  few  months  later  he  was  advanced 
to  the  position  of  cashier  and  has  since  acted  in  that  capacity.  He  is  also  the  secretary  and 
treasurer  and  one  of  the  stockholders  of  the  Nohle-Gilbertson  Company,  Incorporated.     He 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  675 

assisted  in  organizing  that  companj-,  wliicli  is  operating  a  large  horse  and  cattle  ranch  in 
Richland  county,  Jlontana,  handling  Porcheron  and  Shire  horses  and  keeping  only  registered 
stock.  This  ranch  is  located  on  the  south  side  of  the  Missouri  river  in  Montana  and  is  a 
splendidly  oqui])])cd  property.  They  are  raising  horses  on  an  extensive  scale,  their  business 
being  one  of  the  important  interests  of  the  kind  in  that  section.  Mr.  Morken  is  also  secretary 
;nid  treasurer  of  Nohle  Brothers,  Inc.,  who  are  large  landowners  and  cattle  raisers,  having 
an  extensive  ranch  property  in  McKenzie  county,  Xorth  Dakota.  He  is  likewise  the  treasurer 
of  the  Buford  Mercantile  Company  and  thus  his  activities  have  extended  into  various  lines, 
all  of  which  have  profited  by  his  enterprise  and  progressiveness. 

On  the  loth  of  .January,  1908,  Mr.  Morken  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Delia  A. 
Araess,  of  Reynolds,  North  Dakota,  where  she  was  born  and  reared.  After  attending  the 
high  school  there  she  continued  her  education  in  the  North  Dakota  Normal  and  afterward 
successfully  engaged  in  teaching,  while  later  she  was  secretary  and  treasurer  of  the  Red 
River  Valley  Telephone  Company  at  Xorthwood. 

Fraternally  Mr.  Morken  is  a  Mason,  having  taken  the  Scottish  Rite  degrees  at  Grand 
Forks,  and  is  a  member  of  Kem  Temple  of  the  Mystic  Shrine.  He  is  a  man  of  fine  business 
and  personal  qualities,  capable  of  managing  extensive  interests,  and  at  all  times  is  resource- 
ful, progressive  and  sagacious.  He  has  been  prominently  connected  with  many  of  the  most 
important  activities  of  the  western  part  of  Williams  county.  North  Dakota,  and  of  eastern 
Montana,  and  his  work  is  ever  of  a  character  that  contributes  to  public  progress  and  pros- 
perity as  well  as  to  individual  success. 


D.  C.  MOORE. 


An  honorable  record  is  that  of  D.  C.  Moore  of  Grafton,  who  as  the  architect  of  his  own 
fortunes  has  builded  wisely  and  well,  while  at  all  times  he  has  commanded  public  confidence 
and  respect  by  reason  of  his  honorable  methods.  Through  determined  effort,  ability  and 
strength  of  character  he  has  reached  his  present  position  as  president  of  the  Grafton  National 
Bank.  He  was  born  in  Lewis  county,  New  York,  .June  9,  1851,  a  son  of  James  Duano  and 
Emily  (Arthur)  Moore,  who  were  natives  of  Massachusetts.  In  early  life  the  father  engaged 
in  farming.  He  spent  practically  all  of  his  days  in  New  York  and  there  passed  away  at 
the  age  of  seventy-two  years.     His  wife  died  in  the  same  year,  at  the  age  of  seventy-one. 

Of  their  family  of  nine  children  D.  C.  Moore  was  the  sixth  in  order  of  birth  and  until 
he  attained  his  majority  he  remained  a  resident  of  the  Empire  state.  He  then  removed  to 
Iowa,  where  he  engaged  in  the  real  estate  business  and  also  took  up  the  practice  of  law, 
being  admitted  to  the  bar  in  1879.  His  fellow  citizens,  appreciative  of  his  worth  and  public 
spirit,  elected  him  to  the  office  of  sheriff  of  Winneshiek  county,  Iowa,  and  in  1881  he  Avas 
reelected  to  that  position  but  declined  to  serve  and  removed  to  Grafton,  North  Dakota.  He 
became  identified  with  its  business  interests  as  a  banker  in  that  year,  being  elected  cashier 
of  the  Bank  of  Grafton,  in  which  capacity  he  continued  until  1883.  The  bank  was  then 
reorganized  under  the  name  of  the  Grafton  National  Bank  and  Mr.  Moore  was  again  chosen 
cashier,  in  which  connection  he  continued  until  1914,  when  he  was  advanced  to  the  presidency 
and  has  since  been  the  chief  executive  officer.  He  has  always  directed  the  interests  of  the 
bank  and  largely  controlled  its  policy. 

On  the  18th  of  October,  1882.  Mr.  Moore  was  married  to  :Miss  Ella  .1.  Heivly,  of 
llpcorah,  Iowa,  and  to  them  have  been  born  two  children.  Frederick  A.,  born  in  Grafton  in 
IS'*."),  is  the  assistant  cashier  of  the  Grafton  National  Bank  and  at  the  jiresent  writing,  in 
November.  1916,  is  second  lieutenant,  Company  M,  First  North  Dakota  Infantry,  stationed  in 
Texas  to  defend  the  border  against  Mexican  attack.  He  is  married  and  has  two  children, 
Dewitt  Charles  and  Mary  Louise.  The  younger  son  in  the  family  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  D.  C.  Moore 
was  Dewitt  C.  Moore,  who  died  in  Grafton  in  1902,  at  the  age  of  twelve  years. 

Mr.  5Ioore  gives  his  political  allegiance  to  the  democratic  party.  He  has  always  been 
an  active  member  of  the  Masonic  fraternity,  being  past  grand  commander  of  the  Knights 
Templar  of  North  Dakota,  past  grand  high  priest,  Royal  Arch  Masons,  past  grand  patron. 
Order  of  the  Eastern  Star,  and  a  thirty-second  degree  Scottish  Rite  Mason,  while  with  the 


676  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

Nobles  of  tilt'  Mystic  Shrine  he  has  crossed  the  hot  sands  of  the  desert.  He  is  widely  known 
and  his  substantial  qualities  have  won  him  favor  with  the  public  and  warm  friendship  among 
those  with  whom  he  is  most  closely  associated.  For  thirty-six  years  he  has  been  actively 
identified  with  banking  interests  in  Grafton  and  throughout  the  entire  period  his  upright, 
honorable  course  has  been  acknowledged  by  all. 


JUDGE   JOHN    S.    WALLACE. 

Judge  John  S.  Wallace,  of  Burlington,  passed  away  September  15,  1916,  and  in  his 
death  the  community  in  which  he  resided  lost  one  of  its  valued  and  representative  citizens. 
He  was  largely  connected  with  mining  interests  and  enjoyed  the  distinction  of  being  the 
only  mine  inspector  employed  by  the  United  States  government.  Moreover,  he  was  one 
whose  activities  proved  of  material  benefit  to  the  localities  in  which  he  resided,  for  his 
diligence  and  determination  brought  results  in  business  and  his  patriotic  and  progressive 
spirit  was  a  factor  in  promoting  civic  progress.  He  made  his  home  in  Biudington  and  was 
closely  associated  with  the  development  of  the  mining  industry  iu  that  part  of  the  state. 
He  was  born  in  Coatbridge,  Scotland,  May  16,  1851,  a  son  of  William  Wallace.  Between 
the  ages  of  seven  and  twelve  years  he  attended  school  in  his  native  town  and  then  started 
out  to  learn  a  trade  in  accordance  with  the  customs  of  the  times.  His  gi-andmother  decided 
that  he  was  to  become  a  boilermaker  and  therefore  at  the  age  of  twelve  years  he  was 
apprenticed  to  that  trade,  in  connection  with  which  he  was  to  receive  the  munificent  salary 
of  twelve  cents  a  day  for  tlie  first  year!  His  first  work  was  heating  rivets  in  a  small  forge, 
after  which  he  would  run  into  the  boiler  and  poke  the  hot  rivet  through  the  hole  for  the 
riveters.  He  remained  at  that  work  for  only  a  brief  period  and  at  the  age  of  thirteen  was 
employed  as  engineer  on  a  small  steamboat  on  a  ship  canal  in  Scotland,  known  as  the 
Firth  and  Clyde.  In  this  way  he  made  trips  between  Coatbridge,  Glasgow,  Grangemouth 
and  Bowling.  Ho  spent  the  time  in  that  w-ay  until  he  reached  the  age  of  seventeen,  when 
remaining  for  two  years,  after  which  he  went  upon  the  road  as  a  locomotive  engineer.  He 
he  secured  work  in  the  locomotive  shops  of  the  North  British  Railway  Company,  there 
continued  in  that  position  for  two  years,  after  which  his  father  induced  him  to  come  to 
the  United  States,  and  in  1874  he  crossed  the  Atlantic,  settling  in  the  Hocking  valley  of 
Ohio,  where  he  worked  in  different  capacities  in  the  coal  mines.  In  1877  he  accepted  a 
position  as  locomotive  engineer,  resigning  two  years  later  in  order  to  install  equipment  for 
the  first  mine  in  Ohio  to  operate  with  modern  mining  machinery.  On  the  completion  of  this 
contract  he  was  retained  as  mine  machinist  and  afterward  installed  three  other  plants  in 
the  neighborhood,  also,  in  1889,  superintending  the  equipment  of  four  mines  near  Nelsonville, 
Ohio.  ^Vhen  that  work  was  done  he  continued  in  his  original  position  as  mine  manager  for 
a  period  of  eight  years. 

While  thus  engaged  he  was  closely  studying  the  needs  and  possibilities  for  future  devel- 
opment in  mine  machinery,  and,  as  the  result  of  his  investigations  took  out,  in  the  course 
of  his  lifetime,  no  less  than  nine  deeds  of  patent  including  an  originally  designed  automatic 
pump  and  a  device  for  converting  the  automobile  into  a  source  of  power  for  farming 
operations.  He  was  engaged  in  perfecting  details  of  the  latter  named  invention  during 
the  closing  years  of  his  life  and  left  a  secondary  application  still  pending. 

From  the  foregoing  it  will  be  seen  that  Mr.  Wallace  was  gi-adually  acquiring  the 
technical  knowledge  necessary  to  the  conduct  of  large  operations  and  in  1888  he  became  a 
member  of  the  fiiiu  of  Wallace  &  Brooks,  mining  and  shipping  coal  in  the  Hocking  Valley 
district  until  1891,  when  he  sold  liis  interest  and  accepted  a  position  as  mine  superintendent 
in  Belmont  county,  Oliio. 

Wlien  the  mine  closed  three  years  later  he  entered  the  Scranton  School  of  Mines,  where 
he  pursued  a  full  mining  course,  including  mine  surveying,  and  when  he  finished  his  studies 
in  1896  was  employed  by  the  Birwind-White  Coal  Company  to  open  and  equip  two  mines 
for  a  capacity  of  two  thousand  tons  per  day.  ^^^^en  he  had  completed  the  first  plant  he 
was  asked  to  come  to  Burlington,  North  Dakota,  and  take  charge  of  the  company's  mine 
at  that  place,  and   put   in   the  equipment   for  mining  machinery,   cable,  haulage   and  brick 


J.  S.  WALLACE 


PUT 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  679 

7 

liluiit.  Ill  .laimai'V,  1898.  ho  rcaclicd  Burlington.  Inning  been  appointed  to  the  position  of 
superintendent  of  the  mine,  whieh  was  then  owned  by  the  Soo  Kailioad  t'onipany.  When 
that  property  was  sold  he  opened  a  mine  on  his  own  account  and  continued  the  business  to 
the  time  of  his  death.  He  was  forceful  and  resourceful,  was  familiar  with  every  phase  of 
mining  operation  through  practical  experience  and  scientific  study  and  so  directed  his  efforts 
that  each  step  in  his  business  career  was  a  forward  one.  Several  years  prior  to  liis  demise 
he  was  requested  by  the  secretary  of  the  interior  to  enter  the  United  States  reclamation 
service  and  go  to  Williston,  Xorth  Dakota,  there  to  take  charge  of  the  opening  of  a  coal 
mine  for  an  irrigation  project.  This  he  di<l  and  the  mine  was  operated  with  Mr.  Wallace 
as  mine  inspector,  in  which  connection  lie  enjoyed  the  rather  unique  distinction  of  being 
the  only  mine  inspector  employed  by  the  United  States  government.  In  connection  with 
Daniel  W.  Bowker  he  owned  and  conducted  the  largest  wholesale  and  retail  coal  business 
in  his  section  of  the  state  and  he  also  owned  and  operated  the  Wallace  elevator  and  mills 
at  Burlington.  In  a  word,  his  activities  were  of  a  character  that  contributed  in  substantial 
measure  to  the  business  development  and  substantial  progress  and  improvement  of  the 
district  in  which  he  lived. 

In  1873  Mr.  Wallace  was  married  to  Miss  Barbara  Macauly  and  they  became  the  parents 
of  seven  children:  William,  wlio  died  in  1914;  Alexander,  deceased;  .Jeannie,  the  wife  of 
Edgar  Devol.  a  druggist  of  Huntington,  West  Virginia;  Alvin,  who  resides  in  Burlington; 
John,  who  is  superintending  a  mine  at  Taskar,  North  Dakota:  Sylvia,  deceased:  and  Earle, 
superintendent  of  the  Wallace  mine  at   Biulington,  North   Dakota. 

Mr.  Wallace  was  well  known  in  fraternal  circles,  holding  membership  in  Star  in  the 
West  Lodge,  Xo.  33,  F.  &  A.  M.,  at  Minot;  Tyrian  Cliapter,  Xo.  14,  R.  A.  M.;  and  the  Knights 
of  Pythias  at  Nelsonville,  Ohio,  of  whieh  he  was  a  past  chancellor.  When  he  passed  away 
the  fraternal  organizations  of  which  he  was  a  representative  attended  his  funeral  services 
in  a  body,  paying  a  last  tribute  of  respett  to  his  memory.  He  always  took  a  very  active 
and  helpful  interest  in  community  affairs  and  his  influence  was  an  effective  force  in  carrying 
forward  to  successful  completion  many  plans  and  projects  for  the  general  good.  He  assisted 
in  the  organization  of  Burlington  township  and  while  a  member  of  the  school  board  called 
the  election  for  the  purpose  of  bonding  the  district  for  a  school  at  Burlington,  resulting  in 
the  erection  of  a  ten  thousand  dollar  school  building  in  the  city.  He  served  continuously 
as  justice  of  the  peace  from  the  time  of  the  organization  of  Burlington  township  and  was 
usually  called  by  the  title  of  judge.  He  it  was  who  surveyed  and  laid  out  the  town  and 
there  is  no  important  element  of  its  substantial  growth  and  improvement  which  has  not 
profited  by  his  cooperation.  His  was  a  strenuous  life,  fruitful  of  results,  and  at  the  same 
time  he  was  a  genial  gentleman  whose  unfeigned  cordiality  easily  won  and  held  friendship. 


FREDERICK   HENBY    ERTEL. 

Frederick  Henry  Ertel,  manager  of  the  Chicago  office  of  the  F.  B.  Collins  Investment 
Company  of  Oklahoma  City,  is  well  known  in  North  Dakota.  He  was  born  in  Hamburg, 
Germany,  December  28,  1851,  a  son  of  Frederick  H.  and  Lucie  (Quakolinski)  Ertel,  the 
former  a  wealthy  cotton  merchant  of  Hamburg. 

F.  H.  Ertel  attended  commercial  schools  of  Hamburg  and  at  the  age  of  sixteen  years 
entered  his  father's  office,  where  he  remained  until  1869.  He  later  went  to  Liverpool, 
England,  where  ho  continued  until  the  Franco-Prussian  war,  when  he  returned  to  his  native 
country  and  entered  the  German  army,  remaining  in  active  service  until  the  close  of  hostil- 
ities in   1871. 

The  following  year  Mr.  Ertel  crossed  the  Atlantic  to  the  new  world  and  made  his 
way  to  St.  Louis,  where  for  four  years  he  was  bookkeeper  in  the  office  of  a  lumber  com- 
pany. He  afterward  became  associated  with  the  St.  Louis  Dispatch  and  two  years  later 
went  to  St.  Paul,  where  he  engaged  in  newspaper  work  for  two  years.  In  1881  he  removed 
to  .Jamestown,  North  Dakota,  and  established  the  Jamestown  Herald,  with  which  he  was 
associated  for  a  year.  Believing  Mandan  offered  better  opportunities,  he  removed  to  that 
place  in  1882  and  established  the  Mandan  Pioneer,  which  he  continued  to  publish  until  1884. 


680  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

On  selling  out  he  took  up  a  claim  at  Belfield,  North  Dakota,  and  proved  up  on  that  property. 
In  1885  he  again  went  to  St.  Louis,  where  he  published  a  cartoon  paper  called  The  Whip, 
there  remaining  for  five  years,  when  he  sold  the  business  and  removed  to  New  York  city, 
becoming  associated  with  the  New  York  Morning  Journal,  in  which  connection  he  continued 
for  several  years.  He  was  afterward  identified  with  financial  journalism  for  several  years 
and  in  1896  he  established  a  monthly  publication  called  Bonds  and  Mortgages.  He  was 
thus  engaged  in  business  for  seventeen  years  or  until  1913,  when  he  sold  that  publication. 
In  the  same  year  he  became  general  western  manager  for  the  Financial  World  of  New  York, 
with  which  he  was  identified  until  November  1,  1916.  He  has  since  become  associated  with 
the  F.  B.  Collins  Investment  Company  of  Oklahoma  City  as  manager  of  the  Chicago  office, 
a  company  interested  in  the  sale  of  farm  mortgages. 

In  1890  Mr.  Ertel  was  married  to  Miss  Mathilda  Paquet,  of  Quebec,  Canada.  He 
belongs  to  the  Press  Club  of  Cliicago  and  is  widely  known  in  journalistic  and  business 
circles  in  various  centers  of  the  country,  particularly  in  New  Y'ork  and  Chicago.  He  is 
yet  deeply  interested  in  North  Dakota  and  her  welfare  and  has  in  this  state  many  friends. 


EDGAR  LOUIS  RICHTER. 


Edgar  Louis  Riehter.  editor  and  manager  of  the  Larimore  Pioneer  and  one  of  the 
prominent  figures  in  journalistic  circles  in  North  Dakota,  is  one  of  Ohio's  contributions  to 
the  citizenship  of  the  northwest,  for  his  birth  occurred  at  Harrison,  Hamilton  county,  that 
state,  April  27,  1862.  His  father,  Rev.  Louis  Riehter,  was  a  Presbyterian  minister  who 
descended  from  an  old  Ohio  family.  The  grandfather,  Louis  Riehter,  who  founded  the  Amer- 
ican branch  of  the  family,  was  of  German  birth  and  on  coming  to  the  United  States  in  1841 
settled  in  the  Buckeye  state,  where  he  continued  to  reside,  devoting  his  life  to  the  ministry 
until  called  to  the  home  beyond.  His  son,  the  Rev.  Louis  Riehter,  pursued  his  education  in 
the  schools  of  that  state  and  afterward  entered  the  ministry,  in  which  he  continued  until 
his  demise,  which  occurred  in  Minneapolis  in  1905,  when  he  was  seventy-five  years  of  age, 
for  he  was  born  on  the  22d  of  May,  1830.  At  the  time  of  the  Civil  war  he  put  aside  other 
considerations  and  interests  and  enlisted  for  service  at  the  front  but  was  rejected  on 
account  of  defective  eyesight.  His  wife,  who  in  her  maidenhood  was  Sarah  Jane  Schroyer, 
was  a  native  of  Pennsylvania  and  a  representative  of  one  of  the  old  families  of  that  state. 
She  was  born  November  24,  1836,  and  during  her  girlhood  accompanied  her  parents  to  Ohio. 
She  passed  away  January  1,  1915. 

Edgar  L.  Riehter  was  the  eldest  of  a  family  of  two  sons  and  two  daughters,  the  others 
being:  Martha,  the  wife  of  Charles  L.  Foote,  of  Hoquiam,  Washington;  Daniel  E.,  an  at- 
torney at  law  of  Minneapolis;  and  Ellen,  the  wife  of  A.  E.  Foote.  of  Royalton.  Minnesota. 
Mr.  Riehter  of  this  review  acquired  his  education  in  the  schools  of  Ohio  and  when  only  ten 
years  of  age  started  out  to  earn  his  living,  being  first  employed  as  a  messenger  boy  by  the 
Pittsburgh,  Fort  Wayne  &  Chicago  Railroad  at  Ada,  Ohio.  He  afterward  went  to  Ellinwood, 
Kansas,  whither  his  parents  had  removed,  and  there  he  learned  telegraphy  in  connection  with 
the  Atchison,  Topeka  &  Santa  Fe  Railroad.  When  he  had  mastered  the  business  he  started 
out  to  see  the  world  and  worked  for  twenty-four  diff'erent  railroad  companies,  during  which 
time  he  developed  expert  skill  as  a  telegraph  operator.  He  was  with  the  Western  Union 
Telegraph  Company  in  all  parts  of  the  United  States  and  was  able  to  hold  important 
positions  along  that  line,  but  he  felt  himself  handicapped  by  the  lack  of  a  liberal  education  and 
determined  to  broaden  his  knowledge.  This  he  did  by  studying  in  night  schools  for  several 
years,  becoming  a  well  informed  man.  He  also  studied  law  during  that  period  but  on 
account  of  a  death  in  his  family  he  could  not  continue  his  law  studies.  He  arrived  in 
Larimore,  North  Dakota,  on  the  31st  of  December,  1894,  and  for  two  years  thereafter  was 
telegraph  operator  for  the  Great  Northen  Railroad  Company.  At  the  end  of  that  period  he 
turned  his  attention  to  newspaper  publication  and  has  been  identified  with  the  Larimore 
Pioneer  up  to  the  present  time.  He  is  a  well  known,  valued  and  honored  member  of  the  North 
Dakota  Press  Association,  which  has  called  him  to  its  various  offices.  He  has  served  as  its 
secretary,  as  the  third,  second  and  first  vice  president  and  in  1915  was  unanimously  elected  to 


HISTORY  OF  XORTH  DAKOTA  681 

tlie  presidency,  while  in  1016  he  was  niiule  a  member  of  the  advisory  board  and  ehairman  of 
one  of  the  most  important  committees.  It  has  been  a  rule  of  the  Press  Association  that  in 
order  to  be  elected  president  a  man  must  work  up  and  make  good  all  along  the  line.  That 
Mi:  Richter  did  so  is  evidenced  by  the  unanimous  support  which  he  received  when  a  can- 
didate for  the  presidency.  During  his  first  term  he  conducted  successfully  what  is  known 
as  North  Dakota  Api)rcciation  Week,  a  work  which  was  considered  by  the  best  advertising 
authority  to  have  been  the  most  gigantic  and  far-reaching  advertisement  that  was  ever 
promoted  by  any  state  in  the  Union.  Another  successful  un.iertaking  which  he  promoted 
was  what  is  nationally  known  as  the  Lariraore,  North  Dakota,  Baked  Potato  Day,  which 
became  one  of  the  features  of  the  Panama-Pacific  E.xposition  in  San  Francisco,  California, 
April  25,  1915.  In  every  possible  way  he  has  put  forth  his  efforts  to  benefit  his  town  and 
at  the  present  time  he  is  serving  for  the  second  term  as  president  of  the  Larimore  Fire 
Department. 

On  the  25th  of  February,  1896,  Mr.  Richter  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Addie  L. 
Arnold,  a  daughter  of  Ellery  C.  and  Adeline  A.  (Steere)  Arnold,  the  former  a  representative 
of  an  old  pioneer  family  of  Larimore  township.  Grand  Forks  county.  Both  were  natives  of 
Rhode  Island  and  the  father  came  of  Irish  ancestry,  while  on  the  maternal  side  the  lineage 
is  French.  Mr.  Arnold  passed  away  on  the  1st  of  September,  1916,  and  was  laid  to  rest  with 
Masonic  honors  in  the  Larimore  cemetery.  He  had  been  a  charter  member  of  the  Masonic 
lodge  of  Larimore  and  was  always  a  most  exemplary  representative  of  the  craft.  He  was 
also  a  veteran  of  the  Civil  war,  serving  as  a  member  of  the  Fifth  Minnesota  Infantry,  and 
for  more  than  twelve  years  he  was  postmaster  of  Larimore.  Two  children  have  been  born 
to  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Richter:  Edgar  D.,  who  was  born  at  Ashland,  Wisconsin.  September  27, 
1888,  and  is  now  an  artist  living  at  Boston,  Massachusetts;  and  Alice  Carey,  who  was 
born  May  24,  1891,  and  is  now  the  wife  of  Otto  A.  Ekroth,  of  Minneapolis,  Minnesota. 

The  parents  are  members  of  the  First  Methodist  church  of  Larimore,  of  w^hich  Mr. 
Richter  is  serving  as  a  steward.  He  belongs  to  the  Commercial  Club  and  actively  co- 
operates in  many  of  its  plans  and  measures  for  the  upbuilding  of  his  city.  He  is  a  valued 
member  of  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows,  the  Benevolent  Protective  Order  of  Elks, 
the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America,  the  Ancient  Order  of  United  Workmen,  the  Yeomen,  the 
Eagles  and  the  Rebekahs.  His  political  allegiance  is  given  to  the  republican  party  and  he 
has  been  very  active  as  a  member  of  the  state  central  committee.  In  1916  he  was  made  the 
candidate  of  his  party  for  the  oflice  of  state  senator  in  the  fifth  district,  consenting  to  this 
step  after  receiving  a  petition  from  a  large  number  of  his  friends  urging  him  to  become  a 
candidate.  The  nomination  came  to  him  without  effort  on  his  part  from  those  who  believed 
that  he  would  carefully  guard  the  interests  of  the  district  and  promote  the  welfare  of  the 
commonwealth.  In  this  connection  a  Minot  paper  said:  "He  is  a  man  of  splendid  legislative 
ability,  experienced  in  public  affairs,  and  has  a  broad  and  comprehensive  knowledge  of  the 
public  questions  which  must  be  met  and  solved  by  the  next  legislature.  He  has  an 
acquaintance  throughout  the  state  that  will  be  a  valuable  asset  to  his  district  and  that 
will  enable  him  to  take  a  commanding  position  among  the  members  of  the  senate.  He  can 
see  big  things  without  becoming  a  fanatic  and  do  big  things  without  becoming  a  crank.  His 
election  will  be  a  decided  benefit  not  only  to  the  district  which  elects  him  but  to  the  entire 
state."  There  is  no  doubt  as  to  the  high  opinion  entertained  for  him  by  his  fellow  townsmen 
and  it  is  a  recognized  fact  that  no  one  has  done  more  to  advertise  and  make  puldie  the 
interests  of  Larimore  than  he. 


.TUDD  H.  KTRKHAM,  M.  D. 


The  medical  fraternity  in  Cavalier  county  has  a  worthy  representative  in  Dr.  .Tudd  H. 
Kirkham,  who  is  now  successfully  engaged  in  general  practice  in  Langdon.  He  is  a  native  of 
Wisconsin,  born  in  .Tuneau,  Dodge  county,  May  18,  1889,  and  is  a  son  of  Eugene  Elias  and 
Nellie  (.Jones)  Kirkham,  natives  of  New  York  and  Wisconsin  respectively.  Before  the 
Civil  war  the  father  removed  with  five  of  his  brothers  to  Wisconsin  and  when  the  south 
attempted  to  secede  he  and  four  brothers  enlisted  in  the  Twenty-ninth  Wisconsin  Volunteer 


682  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

Infantrj'.  He  went  to  the  front  as  a  private  but  one  of  lus  brothers  was  made  sergeant  of 
his  company.  When  hostilities  ceased  he  returned  to  Wisconsin  and  for  several  years  was 
engaged  in  the  marble  and  granite  business  at  Beaver  Dam.  He  was  an  active  factor  in 
local  ])olitics  and  was  called  upon  to  serve  as  county  clerk  for  many  years.  After  a  useful 
and  well  spent  life  he  died  in  Wisconsin  in  1912  at  the  age  of  sixty-foiu-  years.  His  widow 
is  still  living  in  Juneau,  Wisconsin,  at  the  age  of  fifty-eight.  In  their  family  were  five 
children,  namely:  Jessie,  now  Mrs.  H.  A.  Kenning  of  Juneau;  Dean  Bessel,  a  newspaper  man 
of  Milwaukee;  Mrs.  A.  E.  Justman,  of  Juneau;  Judd  H.,  of  this  review;  and  B.  O..  also  a 
newspaper  man  connected  with  the  Free  Press  of  Milwaukee. 

Dr.  Kirkham  attended  the  common  and  high  schools  of  Juneau,  Wisconsin,  and  later 
entered  Marquette  University,  from  which  he  was  graduated,  being  granted  the  degree  of 
A.  B.  in  1908  and  the  M.  D.  degree  in  1913.  For  one  j-ear  he  served  as  interne  in  Trinity 
Hospital  at  Milwaukee,  and  from  1913  to  1915  was  one  of  twelve  house  officers  at  the 
Milwaukee  County  Hospital,  thus  adding  to  his  theoretical  knowledge  practical  experience 
that  is  of  great  value  to  him  in  his  private  practice.  In  1916  he  took  five  months'  post- 
graduate course  in  the  Milwaukee  County  Hospital,  and  on  return  to  Langdon  admitted  Dr. 
John  W.  Towey  to  a  partnership.  In  1915  he  located  in  Langdon,  North  Dakota,  and  although 
he  has  been  here  but  a  short  time,  he  has  already  built  up  a  good  practice  which  is  con- 
stantly increasing  as  his  skill  and  ability  in  his  chosen  profession  become  recognized. 

On  the  13th  of  September,  1914,  in  Minot,  North  Dakota,  was  celebrated  the  marriage 
of  Dr.  Kirkham  and  Miss  Ora  Edith  Burrell,  a  daughter  of  William  and  Esther  Ann  (Mack) 
Burrell.  Her  mother  is  deceased.  The  Doctor  and  his  wife  have  a  little  son,  Judd  Burrell, 
born  November  10,  1915. 

In  politics  Dr.  Kirkham  is  a  progressive  republican  and  in  his  fraternal  relations  is 
identified  with  the  Masonic  Order,  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows  and  the  ilodern 
Woodmen  of  America.  He  is  a  member  of  Cavalier  County  Medical  .Society,  North  Dakota 
Medical  Society  and  the  American  iledical  Association  and  although  still  a  young  man  he 
is  already  recognized  as  an  able  physician  and  is  held  in  high  esteem  by  his  professional 
brethren  as  well  as  the  general  public. 


HENRY  AMERLAND. 


Thirty-three  years  have  come  and  gone  since  Henry  Amerland  arrived  in  Fargo  and 
through  the  intervening  period  he  has  been  closely  identified  with  its  business  interests, 
largely  operating  in  the  field  of  real  estate,  his  activities  being  now  conducted  under  the 
name  of  The  Amerland  Company.  He  has  lived  to  see  remarkable  changes  here  as  the  state 
has  become  thickly  settled,  and  within  his  memory  there  has  been  a  marked  rise  in  real 
estate  values,  which  is  indicative  of  the  general  prosperity  that  has  accompanied  all  lines 
of  business  endeavor. 

!Mr.  Amerland  is  a  native  of  Minnesota.  He  was  the  second  white  child  born  in  Wabasha 
county,  where  his  birth  occurred  upon  a  farm  on  the  8th  of  November,  1854,  his  i)arents  being 
Herman  J.  and  Catherine  (Buttke)  Amerland.  The  father  was  a  carpenter  by  occupation  and 
also  followed  farming,  devoting  his  life  to  those  two  pursuits.  He  established  his  home  in 
Wabasha  county  and  there  Henry  Amerland  was  I'eared  and  educated,  attending  the  public 
schools.  He  continued  his  residence  in  that  district  until  1876,  when  he  removed  to  Plain- 
view,  Minnesota,  where  he  remained  until  1882,  during  which  time  he  was  engaged  in  the 
banking  business.  He  was  also  prominent  in  public  affairs  of  the  community  and  for  three 
years  served  as  treasurer  of  the  board  of  education.  He  then  removed  to  Jlinto,  North 
Dakota,  where  for  two  years  he  was  connected  with  banking,  and  while  there  was  elected 
the  first  president  of  the  board  of  trustees  of  the  city  and  also  served  as  a  member  of  the 
board  of  education.  In  1884  he  removed  to  Fargo  and  for  three  years  thereafter  concentrated 
his  attention  upon  banking  and  then  for  three  years  engaged  in  merchandising.  Later  he 
found  there  a  profitable  field  for  real  estate  activity  and  turned  his  attention  to  that  busi- 
ness, in  which  he  has  been  engaged  for  a  number  of  years.  He  has  watched  his  opportunity 
for  judicious  investment  and  is  now  the  owner  of  large  real  estate  holdings  in  Cass  and  other 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  685 

VDiiiitk'S  in  North    Dakota.      He  lia-  likrwiM'  ur.uXv  iiivr-tiiiriits  in  CanmiM   an.l    from  liis  prop- 
erty hoUliiifrs  he  ilerivos  a  "jratifyinj;  aniuial  income. 

Jlr.  Amerlanil  was  marrii'il  in  1S81  to  ^fiss  Cora  Niiiiamakir.  and  this  union  lias  been 
blessed  with  two  daugliters,  Xiiia  V.  ami  Blanch  L.  Mr.  .\merlaud  exercises  his  right  of 
franchise  in  support  of  the  men  and  measures  of  the  republican  party,  which  finds  in  him  a 
stalwart  chamjiion.  He  served  as  deputy  county  auditor  wluii  in  Wabasha  county,  ifinne- 
sota,  and  for  a  number  of  years  was  a  member  of  the  board  of  education,  doing  all  in  his 
power  to  further  the  interests  of  the  public  schools.  For  nine  years  he  served  as  a  member 
of  the  city  council  of  Karj;o  and  his  efforts  in  that  connection  proved  an  element  in  main- 
taining those  intensts  which  are  a  matter  of  civic  virtue  and  civic  pride.  He  belongs  to  the 
Jlethodist  Episcopal  church  and  guides  his  life  according  to  its  teachings,  being  ever  honor- 
able and  upright  in  all  his  dealings  and  in  every  relation.  He  belongs  to  the  Fargo  Corn- 
mereial  Club  and  is  in  hearty  symjiathy  with  its  plans  to  extenil  its  business  connections  and 
imiirove  the  trade  relations  of  the  city.  Fargo  numbers  him  among  her  valued  residents,  for 
he  is  one  who  not  only  in  a  business  but  also  in  a  social  way  has  given  tone  to  the  city.  He 
has  attractive  qualities  which  render  him  popular  wherever  he  is  known  and  his  sterling 
traits  of  character  are  those  which  make  regard  once  given  him  an  enduring  feature.  Those 
who  know  him  best  esteem  him  most  and  he  has  a  very  extensive  circle  of  friends  in  this 
part  of  the  state. 


FRAXK  .r.  FISCHER. 


Frank  -J.  Fischer,  actively  engaged  in  the  grain  business  at  Wales,  was  born  Xovember 
25,  1888,  in  Mount  Carmel  township,  Cavalier  county,  North  Dakota.  His  father,  Joseph  J. 
Fischer,  a  pioneer  of  that  county,  was  a  native  of  Canada  and  belonged  to  an  old  Canadian 
family  of  Cierman  descent.  The  father.  Casper  Fischer,  settled  in  Bruce  county,  Canada,  in 
1820  and  was  one  of  the  first  residents  of  that  section.  He  took  up  the  occupation  of 
farming  and  remained  a  resident  of  that  country  to  the  time  of  his  death,  which  occurred  in 
1863,  when  he  was  fifty-four  years  of  age.  His  son,  .Joseph  .J.  Fischer,  was  reared  and 
educated  in  Canada  and  devoted  his  early  life  to  farming.  Ciossing  the  border  into  the 
United  States  in  1886,  he  took  up  a  homestead  in  Cavalier  county,  North  Dakota,  and  there, 
followed  agricultural  pursuits  until  19i:i,  when  he  retired  from  active  life.  While  he  has 
disposed  of  his  old  homestead  farm  he  still  has  large  landed  interests,  possessing  fourteen 
quarter  sections  in  Cavalier  county,  and  from  his  holdings  he  derives  a  gratifying  annual 
income.  In  1899  he  entered  extensively  into  the  grain  business,  having  at  first  a  small 
warehouse  in  Wales  but  since  then  developing  and  enlarging  his  interests  until  he  is  one 
of  the  leading  grain  merchants  in  his  part  of  the  state.  In  1904  he  built  an  elevator  at 
Wales  with  a  ca|iaeity  of  fifty  tliousand  bushels  and  for  some  years  he  also  conducted  a 
branch  elevator  at  Kaleida,  Manitoba.  He  also  owns  considerable  realty  in  Wales,  including 
the  opera  house  and  other  properties,  and  he  has  been  one  of  the  prime  factors  in  the 
development,  improvement  and  upbuilding  of  the  town.  He  is  today  one  of  the  oldest  as 
well  as  one  of  the  most  successful  of  its  residents  and  is  respected  and  honored  wherever 
known.  In  politics  he  is  a  stanch  democrat  and  has  always  take'n  an  active  part  in  local 
affairs.  Since  1904  he  has  served  as  president  of  the  school  board  of  Wales  and  is  entering 
upon  his  thirteenth  consecutive  year  in  that  position.  His  religious  faith  is  that  of  the 
Roman  Catholic  church  and  he  Ixdoiigs  also  to  the  Catholic  Order  of  Foresters.  In  1887,  at 
the  old  home  in  Bruce  county,  Canada,  .Tosepli  .1.  Fischer  wedded  Miss  Emma  Schefter.  a 
native  of  Canada  and  of  German  descent.  They  became  the  jiarents  of  the  following  named 
children:  Frank  J.;  Nellie,  the  wife  of  .John  Hotton,  residing  in  W'ales;  Olive,  the  wife  of 
W".  W.  Lynch,  also  of  W'ales;  William;  Edward  .1.;  .Joseph;  Leo;  and  Alvin. 

Frank  ■!.  Fischer  began  his  education  in  the  public  schools  of  Wales  and  continued  his 
studies  in  St.  .John's  Llniversity  at  Collegeville,  Minnesota,  from  wliich  he  was  graduated 
in  1908  on  the  completion  of  a  commercial  course.  His  youthful  days  were  spent  upon  the 
home  farm  and  in  1909  he  started  out  in  business  on  his  own  account,  entering  the  grain 
trade,  in   which   he   continued   alone   until    1908.   when   he   became   a    member   of   the   Fischer 


686  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

Elevator  Company,  of  which  he  is  now  manager,  buyer  and  part  owner.  In  this  connection 
he  controls  a  business  of  large  and  growing  proportions,  making  it  an  excellent  market  for 
the  local  grain  raisers.  He  is  also  cultivating  four  hundred  and  eighty  acres  of  land  and 
in  his  farming  methods  displays  a  spirit  of  undaunted  enterprise  and  progressiveness. 

On  the  19th  of  July,  1910,  Mr.  Fischer  was  married  in  Wales  to  Miss  Edith  B.  Davidson, 
a  native  of  Toronto,  Ontario,  and  a  daughter  of  W.  J.  and  Ida  Davidson.  They  now  have 
three  children,  Eichard  Dale,  Marc  and  Louise  Jeannette. 

The  religious  faith  of  the  family  is  that  of  the  Roman  Catholic  church  and  Mr.  Fischer 
is  identified  with  the  Catholic  Order  of  Foresters  and  the  Knights  of  Columbus.  In  politics 
he  is  a  democrat  and  is  now  serving  as  treasurer  of  Dresden  township,  Cavalier  county. 
He  has  been  a  lifelong  resident  of  the  county  in  which  he  now  makes  his  home  and  through- 
out the  entire  period  has  been  identified  with  agriculture  or  some  of  its  kindred  industries. 
As  a  giain  merchant  he  occupies  a  creditable  position  among  the  business  men  of  the  dis- 
trict, carefully  and  wisely  directing  his  interests  and  allowing  no  obstacle  to  bar  his  progress 
if  it  can  be  overcome  by  persistent  and  honorable  effort. 


P.   G.   MLLER. 


P.  G.  Miller,  an  automobile  dealer  of  Devils  Lake,  progressive,  alert  and  enterprising, 
is  also  proprietor  of  the  Aberdeen  Hotel  located  on  Third  street.  He  is  a  native  son  of  Iowa, 
his  birth  having  occurred  in  that  .state  .lanuary  3,  1869.  His  parents,  J.  C.  and  J.  F. 
(Howard)  Miller,  have  both  passed  away.  \Vliile  spending  his  youthful  days  under  the 
parental  roof  P.  6.  Miller  attended  the  public  schools  near  his  father's  home  and  when  his 
text  books  were  put  aside  turned  his  attention  to  general  merchandising,  with  which  business 
he  was  connected  in  his  old  home  town  for  two  years.  He  then  secured  a  clerkship  in  Des 
Moines,  Iowa,  where  he  remained  for  two  years,  after  which  he  devoted  his  attention  to 
farming  in  Iowa  for  several  years.  It  was  in  1903  that  he  arrived  in  North  Dakota,  making 
his  way  to  Devils  Lake,  where  he  took  up  the  business  of  contracting  and  building.  He  was 
thus  actively  identified  with  the  improvement  of  the  city  until  May  1,  1016,  when  he  turned 
his  attention  to  the  automobile  business  at  311  Third  street,  establishing  a  service  and 
repair  department  and  handling  the  Reo  and  Maxwell  cars.  He  has  already  built  up  a 
business  of  considerable  proportions  which  promises  future  success.  He  employs  four  men 
in  his  shop  and  two  in  his  office  and  his  business  is  steadily  growing. 

On  November  5,  1890,  Mr.  Miller  was  married  to  Jliss  Anna  Lavender  and  they  have 
become  parents  of  a  son  and  a  daughter,  Robert  and  Helen,  the  former  now  in  business  with 
his  father. 

In  his  fraternal  relations  Mr.  Miller  is  an  Odd  Fellow  and  politically  is  identified  with 
the  socialist  party.  He  served  on  the  city  council  and  when  a  candidate  on  the  socialistic 
ticket  for  the  office  of  mayor  he  failed  of  election  by  only  thirty-nine  votes,  receiving  the 
support  of  men  of  other  parties  by  reason  of  their  belief  in  his  political  integrity  and 
public-spirited  citizenship  and  his  ability  to  faithfully  perform  the  duties  of  the  office.  He 
stands  for  good  roads  and  all  public  imjirovements  and  is  an  advocate  and  supporter  of  high 
standards  of  civic  virtue  and  civic  progress. 


MARTIN  SELLIE. 


One  of  the  most  prosperous  and  successful  farmers  of  Mountrail  county  is  Martin  Sellie, 
who  is  extensively  engaged  in  agricultural  pursuits  and  is  also  identified  with  the  commercial 
interests  of  Powers  Lake.  His  early  home  was  on  the  other  side  of  the  Atlantic,  for  he 
was  born  on  the  17th  of  September,  1S67,  near  Trondhjem.  Norway,  in  which  country  his 
parents,  Hans  and  Margaret  (Olsen)  Sellie,  spent  their  entire  lives.  By  occupation  the 
father  was  also  a  farmer. 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  687 

In  his  native  land  ilartiii  Sellie  grew  to  manhood  and  had  the  usual  educational  ad- 
vantages of  a  farmer  boy  in  tliat  country.  Believing  tliat  America  offered  better  opportu- 
nities to  the  ambitious  young  man  than  the  older  countries  of  Europe,  he  crossed  the  Atlantic 
in  1885,  when  eighteen  years  of  age,  and  made  his  way  westward  to  Fergus  Falls,  Minnesota, 
where  he  worked  as  a  farm  hand  for  five  years.  During  that  time  he  saved  his  earnings  and 
was  able  to  purchase  a  farm  in  Wilkin  county,  that  state,  which  he  successfully  operated 
from  1892  to  1903.  On  selling  out  there  he  removed  to  Powers  Lake,  North  Dakota,  and 
took  up  a  homestead  in  Burke  county.  As  the  years  have  passed  he  has  steadily  prospered 
in  his  undertakings  until  he  is  now  the  owner  of  six  quarter  sections,  on  which  he  is  now- 
engaged  in  general  farming  and  stock  raising,  making  a  specialty  of  the  raising  of  Percheron 
horses  and  shorthorn  cattle.  In  1909  when  the  town  of  Powers  Lake  was  started,  he  formed 
a  partnership  with  Ole  Breding  and  established  a  hardware  and  implement  business,  which 
they  are  still  conducting,  although  Mr.  Sellie  continues  to  live  on  his  farm. 

He  was  married  in  Wilkin  county,  Minnesota,  May  8,  1890,  to  Miss  Lena  Olsen,  and  on 
their  twenty-fifth  anniversary  in  1915  they  celebrated  their  silver  wedding,  at  which  time 
they  received  the  congratulations  of  many  friends.  Mrs.  Sellie  was  also  born  near  Trondhjcm, 
Norway,  and  was  a  young  lady  when  she  came  to  the  United  States  and  settled  in  Wilkin 
county,  Minnesota.  Her  father,  Bardo  Olsen,  better  known  as  Bardo  Breding,  was  a  native 
of  Norway  and  one  of  the  early  settlers  of  Wilkin  county,  where  he  followed  farming  for 
some  years,  but  later  came  to  North  Dakota  and  took  up  a  homestead  near  Powers  Lake, 
where  he  died.  His  wife  is  also  deceased.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Sellie  have  six  children  living: 
Clara,  now  the  wife  of  Benjamin  Peterson,  a  farmer  living  near  Powers  Lake;  Hulda,  the 
wife  of  Olaf  Johnson,  also  a  farmer  near  Powers  Lake;  Arthur,  Esther,  Ernest  and  Earl 
Walter,  all  at  home.  They  also  had  one  son  Marvin,  who  died  when  he  was  eighteen  years 
old.  The  first  four  children  were  born  in  Wilkin  county,  Minnesota,  and  the  others  in 
Mountrail  county.  North  Dakota. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Sellie  are  members  of  the  Baptist  church  and  are  most  estimable  people, 
having  a  host  of  warm  friends  who  hold  them  in  the  highest  regard.  Mr.  Sellie  votes  with 
the  republican  party  and  has  been  called  upon  to  serve  in  township  offices  and  also  as  a 
member  of  the  town  board  of  Powers  Lake.  He  has  served  on  the  school  board  of  his 
district  and  has  done  much  to  promote  tlie  educational  interests  of  his  locality. 


ADOLPHUS  C.  KOTCHFAN. 


Adolphus  C.  Kotchian,  cashier  of  the  First  State  Bank  of  Kermit,  North  Dakota,  was 
born  near  Lidgerwood,  in  Kichland  county.  North  Dakota,  July  25,  1887.  His  father,  Joseph 
Kotchian,  was  a  native  of  AVisconsin,  who  in  1880  removed  to  North  Dakota,  settling  in 
Richland  county,  where  he  filed  on  a  homestead  and  engaged  in  farming  in  the  vicinity  of 
Lidgerwood.  He  wedded  Mary  Riba.  who  was  born  near  Vienna,  in  eastern  Hungary,  but 
in  her  girlhood  was  brought  to  the  new  world,  the  family,  home  being  established  in  Wis- 
consin, where  she  was  reared.  She  still  occupies  the  old  home  farm  near  Lidgerwood  but 
has  been  a  widow  for  twenty-one  years,  her  husband  having  died  in  1895. 

Adolphus  C.  Kotchian  spent  the  days  of  his  boyhood  and  youth  in  the  usual  manner 
of  farm  bred  boys.  The  work  of  the  fields  claimed  his  attention  through  the  summer  months 
and  in  the  winter  seasons  he  attended  school,  becoming  a  high  school  student  in  Lidgerwood. 
His  start  in  the  business  world  was  made  as  a  clerk  in  a  general  store  there  and  afterward 
he  was  employed  in  the  Lidgerwood  State  Bank  as  a  bookkeeper,  occupying  that  position  for 
seven  years.  In  1910  he  removed  to  Kermit  and  purchased  stock  in  the  First  State  Bank, 
of  which  he  was  elected  cashier,  since  which  time  his  attention  and  energies  have  been 
devoted  to  the  management,  control  and  upbuilding  of  the  bank.  He  also  owns  farm  lands 
in  Divide  county  and  rents  this  property  to  good  advantage. 

On  the  7th  of  December.  1911.  Mr.  Kotchian  was  united  in  marriage  to  5Iiss  May 
Bouzer  at  Kermit.  She  was  born  in  Lidgerwood,  a  daughter  of  Alexander  F.  and  Anna 
(Dinger)  Bonzer.  Her  father  was  born,  reared  and  educated  in  Illinois  and  later  home- 
fiteaded  in  South  Dakota,  while  subsequently  he  became  the  proprietor  of  a   meat  market 


688  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

and  general  mereliandise  establishment  in  Lidgerwood.  He  is  now  engaged  in  the  banking 
and  real  estate  business  there  and  is  a  director  of  the  Farmers  National  Bank.  He  is  also 
state  senator  from  his  district  and  is  one  of  the  most  prominent  and  influential  residents  of 
that  part  of  the  state.  His  daughter,  Mrs.  Kotchian,  was  reared  in  Richland  county  and 
completed  her  education  by  graduation  from  the  high  school  at  Lidgerwood.  By  her  marriage 
she  has  become  the  mother  of  one  son,  Arcliibald  Carljie,  who  was  born  in  Kermit,  July  17, 
1914. 

Jlr.  Kotchian  exercises  his  right  of  franchise  in  support  of  the  men  and  measures  of 
the  republican  party  and  has  filled  various  local  ofEces.  He  has  been  both  clerk  and 
treasurer  of  the  town  board  of  Kermit  and  was  clerk  of  the  school  board  in  the  Mentor 
district.  Fraternally  he  has  wide  connections,  belonging  to  Crosby  Lodge,  No.  108,  A.  F.  &  A. 
M.,  while  at  Grand  Forks  he  has  taken  the  Scottish  Rite  degrees  and  become  a  Noble  of 
Kem  Temple  of  the  Mystic  Shrine.  His  York  Rite  connection  is  with  Jlinot  Chapter,  No. 
14,  R.  A.  M.,  and  he  also  belongs  to  Minot  Lodge,  No.  1089,  B.  P.  0.  E.,  and  to  the  Modern 
Woodmen  camp  at  Kermit,  of  which  he  is  clerk.  His  has  been  an  active  and  useful  life 
and  his  efforts  have  been  so  directed  as  to  count  for  the  utmost  in  the  attainment  of  suc- 
cess. His  ideals  are  high  and  a  career  of  usefulness,  integrity  and  honor  has  brought  to  him 
the  confidence  and  good  will  of  all  with  whom  he  has  been  associated. 


J.  H.  COLLINSON. 


J.  H.  Collinson,  a  locomotive  foreman  for  the  Great  Northern  Railroad,  residing  at 
Devils  Lake,  was  born  in  Manchester,  England,  in  1854,  a  son  of  Alfred  and  Lucy  (Booth) 
Collinson.  He  was  but  ten  years  of  age  when  his  father  died  and  from  that  time  forward  has 
had  to  depend  upon  his  own  resources,  so  that  whatever  success  he  has  achieved  or  enjoyed  is 
attributable  entirely  to  his  persistent,  earnest  effort.  Leaving  England  in  1881,  when  a 
young  man  of  about  twenty-seven  years,  he  crossed  the  Atlantic  and  made  his  way  to 
Minneapolis,  where  he  was  connected  with  the  St.  Louis  Railroad.  In  1882  he  removed 
to  Barnesville,  Minnesota,  whence  he  came  to  Devils  Lake,  North  Dakota,  May  1.  1888. 
Throughout  more  than  a  third  of  a  century  he  has  been  in  the  employ  of  the  Great  Nortliern 
Railroad,  now  holding  the  position  of  locomotive  foreman,  with  about  seventy  men  under 
his  direction.  He  has  worked  his  way  steadily  upward  in  lailroad  circles  and  his  success 
is  well  merited. 

In  1877  Mr.  Collinson  was  married  to  Miss  Mary  .1.  Willan  and  they  became  the  parents 
of  two  sons,  .James  E.  and  R.  C,  and  a  daughter,  Mary,  who  married  Brooks  Hoskins,  of 
Bismarck,  and  who  died  on  the  1st  of  July,  1914. 

Mr.  Collinson  belongs  to  the  Episcopal  church  and  in  Masonry  he  has  taken  the  degrees 
of  lodge,  chapter  and  commandery  and  belongs  to  the  Masonic  Veterans  Association.  In 
politics  he  is  a  republican,  and  while  never  an  office  seeker,  has  served  on  the  school  board. 
He  is  now  a  veteran  in  the  Great  Northern  railway  service,  recognized  as  a  most  faithful 
and  trusted  employe,  enjoying  the  full  confidence  of  those  whom  he  serves  and  the  respect 
of  those  who  serve  under  him.  He  is  well  known  all  along  the  entire  line  of  the  Great 
Northern  and  there  are  few  who  have  been  longer  in  the  employ  of  the  company. 


JUDGE  F.   W.  BLEAKLEY. 


One  of  Langdon's  most  distinguished  citizens  is  F.  W.  Bleakley,  now  serving  as 
county  judge  of  Cavalier  county.  He  is  a  native  of  Canada,  his  birth  occurring  in  Oxford 
county,  August  14,  1859,  but  since  1898  has  made  his  home  in  Langdon,  North  Dakota, 
and  has  been  prominently  identified  with  business  affairs  and  political  interests.  His  father 
George  Bleakley  was  born  in  County  Fermanagh,  Ireland,  and  on  crossing  the  Atlantic 
in  1843  located  in  Canada,  where  he  subsequently  married  Miss  Mary  Hand,  who  was 
born  in  Wellington,  Somersetshire,  England,  and  was  taken  to  Canada  during  her  childhood. 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  689 

she  lived  lor  a  time  in  New  Unuisw  ieU  aiul  tKiin  there  removed  to  Quebec  and  later  to 
Oxford  county,  Canada.  She  died  in  IHyj  at  the  age  of  seventy  years  and  Mr.  Bleakley 
passed  away  in  1904  when  seventy-live  years  of  age.  Throughout  his  active  business  life 
he  was  engaged  in  the  furniture  business  in  Canada,  where  his  death  occurred.  In  the 
family  were  five  children,  of  whom  the  .Judge  is  the  second  in  order  of  birth,  and  he  has 
two  brothers  still  livinj;,  namely:  (ieorge,  a  resident  of  Ontario,  Canada;  and  Walter,  of 
Wisconsin. 

In  early  life  Judge  Bleakley  attended  the  \\uh\w  schools  of  Canada  and  also  learned  the 
cabinet  maker's  trade  under  the  direction  ol  his  father.  For  some  time  he  engaged  in 
cabinet  making  and  contracting.  Desiring  a  university  education  he  pursued  a  private 
course  of  study  and  was  granted  a  license  to  ])raetiee  law  but  never  availed  himself  of  that 
privilege.  In  1898  he  removed  to  Langdon,  North  Dakota,  where  he  was  engaged  in  the 
contracting  business  for  two  years,  and  then  turned  his  attention  to  the  abstract  business, 
which  he   has   since   followed   with  good   results. 

On  the  23d  of  Jlay,  1887,  Judge  lileakley  was  married  in  Manitoba,  Canada,  to  Miss 
Rebecca  Olver,  a  daughter  of  Edwin  and  Ann  Olver,  and  to  this  union  three  children  were 
born:  Alma,  who  was  born  in  Manitoba,  in  May,  1888,  and  attended  the  University  of 
North  Dakota;  Ida,  who  was  born  in  1890  and  is  a  graduate  of  the  high  school  of  Langdon; 
and  Ella,  who  Avas  born  in  1893  and  is  a  graduate  of  Wesley  Conservatory  of  Music  at  Grand 
Forks,  North  Dakota,  and  also  of  the  Toronto  Conservatory  of  Music.  She  is  now  teaching 
music  in  Wesley  Conservatory  of  Music  in  Grand  Forks.  Mrs.  Bleakley  was  killed  in  a 
cyclone  May  29,  1909,  and  left  many  friends  as  well  as  her  immediate  family  to  mourn  her 
death. 

Judge  Bleakley  is  a  member  of  the  Protestant  Episcopal  church  and  is  also  alRliated 
with  the  Knights  of  Pythias,  the  Independent  Order  of  Foresters,  the  Knights  of  tlie 
Maccabees  and  the  Modern  Brotherhood  of  America,  being  identified  with  the  Grand  Lodge 
of  the  first  named  order.  His  fellow  citizens  recognizing  his  worth  and  ability  elected 
him  district  judge  in  1910  and  he  filled  that  office  in  1911  and  1912.  He  was  reelected  in 
1914  and  is  still  serving  as  judge  of  Cavalier  county.  In  the  fall  of  1916  he  was  again  the 
republican  candidate  for  reelection.  His  decisions  have  always  been  fair  and  impartial 
and  he  commands  the  respect  of  the  entire  community.  His  upright,  honorable  life  has 
won  for  him  a  host  of  friends  and  admirers  who  have  the  utmost  confidence  in  him  and  he 
has  never   been   known   to  take   advantage   of   others   in   any   transaction. 


JOHN  L.  HULTENG. 


.lohn  L.  Hulteng,  active  in  the  plumbing  business  of  Grand  Forks  as  the  head  of  the 
John  L.  Hulteng  Company,  Incorporated,  was  born  at  Fergus  Falls,  Minnesota,  Se|)tember 
28,  1889,  a  son  of  A.  J.  and  Maria  (Jensen)  Hulteng,  the  former  a  native  of  Sweden  and 
the  latter  of  Norway.  When  twenty-two  years  of  age  the  father  came  to  America,  settling 
in  Minnesota,  where  he  cast  in  his  lot  with  the  pioneers.  He  became  a  well  known 
minister,  devoting  his  life  to  the  work  of  preaching  the  gospel.  In  1894  he  arrived  in 
Grand  Forks,  North  Dakota,  where  he  is  still  active  in  the  ministry  at  the  age  of  fifty-four 
years.     In  their  family  were  six  children,  of  whom  John  L.  Hulteng  is  the  eldest. 

After  spending  the  first  five  years  of  his  life  in  his  native  state  John  L.  Hulteng 
was  taken  by  his  parents  to  Grand  Forks.  When  six  years  old  he  entered  the  public 
schools,  passing  through  consecutive  grades  until  he  reached  the  high  school,  in  which  he 
studied  for  three  years.  He  engaged  in  bookkeeping  for  the  B.  O.  Paulsness  Plumbing 
Company  and  for  seven  years  was  manager  of  that  business.  In  1913  he  established  the 
John  L.  Hulteng  Plumbing  Company,  Incorporated,  and  in  the  intervening  ])eriod  of  three 
years  this  business  has  grown  to  large  proportions.  He  has  received  patronage  from  the 
best  families  of  Grand  Forks  and  vicinity,  (hiing  work  in  nearly  all  the  line  homes  and 
in  many  of  the  important  business  blocks  of  (irand  Forks.  His  patronage  is  now  extensive 
and   his    success    is    assured. 

On  the  5th  of  October,  191.5.  in  Granil   Forks:  .\lr    Ihiltcng  was  man  ied  to  .Miss  Kagnhild 


690  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

Anderson,  a  daughter  of  Jlr.  and  Mrs.  Arme  Anderson,  the  former  now  deceased  while  the 
latter  is  still  living.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Hulteng  hold  membership  in  the  United  Lutheran 
church.  He  gives  his  political  allegiance  to  the  republican  party  and  in  1914  was  elected 
alderman,  in  which  position  he  is  nov/  serving  for  the  second  term.  He  has  proved  a  capable 
official,  laboring  for  the  best  interests  of  the  city,  and  his  work  in  the  council  results  in 
civic  improvement  and  betterment.  He  is  one  of  the  best  known  young  business  men  of 
Grand  Forks  and  has  made  for  himself  a  very  creditable  position,  building  up  a  trade 
that  lias  now  reached  large  and  gratifying  proportions. 


FRANK  H.   SPRAGUE. 


Frank  H.  Sprague,  president  of  the  First  National  Bank  of  Grafton,  displays  in  his 
business  career  keen  insight  and  discriminating  judgment  that  produce  substantial  and 
gratifying  results.  He  is  thoroughly  conversant  with  every  phase  of  the  banking  business 
and  has  made  the  First  National  Bank  one  of  the  strong  moneyed  concerns  of  that  part 
of  the  state,  extending  to  the  community  liberal  credit  to  a  point  that  will  not  impair  the 
safet.y  of  the  institution  or  endanger  the  deposits. 

A  native  of  New  York,  Mr.  Sprague  was  born  at  Chenango  Bridge,  Broome  county, 
March  16,  1857,  his  parents  being  Barnabas  and  Mary  Jane  (Tower)  Sprague,  who  were 
also  natives  of  the  Empire  state  and  were  there  reared,  educated  and  married.  The  Sprague 
family  was  founded  in  America  in  1633,  when  Francis  Sprague  crossed  the  Atlantic  and 
settled  at  Duxbury,  Massachusetts.  His  ancestors  had  emigrated  from  Holland  to  England 
in  the  fifteenth  century.  In  tracing  the  ancestral  line  it  is  found  that  the  ancestor  in  the 
third  generation  was  Lieutenant  John  Sprague,  of  Lebanon,  Connecticut,  who  was  born 
about  16.56  and  died  .July  11,  1725.  Captain  Silas  Sprague,  who  commanded  a  company 
during  the  Revolutionary  war,  was  born  January  30,  1727.  His  son,  Silas  Sprague,  Jr.,  was 
born  at  Lebanon,  Connecticut,  February  18,  1762,  and  departed  this  life  May  8,  1840.  He 
was  the  father  of  Charles  Sprague,  who  was  born  at  Barnstable,  Massachusetts,  December  13, 
1791,  and  devoted  his  life  to  farming  and  milling,  passing  away  November  30,  1871.  He 
was  the  giandfather  of  Frank  H.  Sprague.  In  the  maternal  line  the  ancestry  is  traced 
back  to  John  Tower,  who  came  from  England  in  1637.  His  son,  John  Tower,  born  May  12, 
1609,  wedded  Mary  Book  on  the  13th  of  February,  1638,  and  passed  away  at  Hingham, 
Massachusetts,  February  13,  1701.  Both  the  paternal  and  maternal  ancestors  of  Frank  H. 
Sprague  took  active  part  in  the  struggle  for  independence,  serving  with  distinction  in 
defense  of  the  rights  of  the  colonists  against  England.  Barnabas  Sprague,  father  of 
Frank  H.  Sprague,  was  born  at  Chenango  Bridge,  Broome  county.  New  York,  April  22,  1819, 
and  passed  away  at  the  home  of  his  son  in  Grafton,  North  Dakota,  November  23,  1895.  His 
remains  were  taken  back  to  Binghamton,  New  York,  for  interment  in  Spring  Forest  ceme- 
tery. In  his  early  life  he  engaged  in  farming  and  in  1852,  accompanied  by  his  brother 
Charles  and  his  brother-in-law,  Elkanah  Hinckley,  went  to  California  by  way  of  the  Isthmus. 
For  three  years  he  followed  various  pursuits  in  the  vicinity  of  Marysville,  California,  and 
then  returned  to  New  York  in  1855.  There  he  purchased  a  farm  of  one  hundred  and  twenty 
acres  near  his  birthplace  and  resided  until  1892.  He  was  one  of  the  prominent  and  influ- 
ential men  of  his  town  and  was  highly  regarded  for  his  sterling  qualities.  On  the  29th  of 
April,  1856,  he  wedded  Mrs.  Mary  Jane  (Tower)  Dyer,  a  daughter  of  Daniel  and  Thirza 
(Whitmarsh)  Tower.  She  was  born  September  3,  1817,  and  died  October  1,  1891.  They 
became  the  parents  of  a  son  and  daughter,  Frank  H.  and  Carrie  L.  The  latter  was  born 
October  13,  1860,  and  died  at  Waterville,  New  York,  September  19,  1875,  her  remains  being 
interred  in  Spring  Forest  cemetery  at  Bingliamton,  New  Y'ork. 

In  early  life  Frank  H.  Sprague  pursued  his  studies  in  the  little  red  schoolhouse  in  the 
county  of  his  birth  and  afterward  became  a  pupil  in  the  high  school  at  Binghamton,  New 
York.  Later  he  worked  upon  his  father's  farm  until  he  reached  man's  estate  and  then  went 
to  Illinois,  where  he  followed  teaching  for  a  year.  Later  he  began  the  sale  of  farm 
implements  and  from  1879  until  1882  was  upon  the  road  as  a  traveling  salesman  in  that  line 
in  the  Mississippi  valley  and  in  the  Dakotas.     In  June  of  the  latter  year  he  took  up  his 


FRANK  11,  M'i;.\i.ri; 


THI  NEN\'  YORK 
PUBLIC  LIBRARY 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  693 

abode  in  Grafton,  wlifre  lie  )ias  now  made  liis  lionie  for  more  than  a  third  of  a  century. 
There  he  established  a  farm  loan  business  wliieh  he  conducted  along  successful  lines,  and 
it  was  a  logical  step  from  that  Held  of  activity  to  the  banking  business,  which  he  entered 
in  1910  by  purchasing  a  controlling  interest  in  the  First  National  Bank  of  Grafton,  of  which 
he  has  since  been  vice  president  or  president.  He  has  instituted  a  most  progressive  policy 
in  the  conduct  of  the  bank,  his  efforts,  however,  being  tempered  by  a  safe  conservatism 
that   prevents   all   unwarranted   risk. 

On  the  2d  of  .January,  1883,  Mr.  Sprague  was  married  to  Miss  Nellie  May  Ash,  of 
Albert  Lea,  Minnesota,  who  was  born  January  15,  1861,  a  daughter  of  Eli  and  Lura 
(Hodgkins)  Ash.  Three  children  have  been  born  of  this  marriage.  Manville  Hewitt  was 
born  at  Grafton,  Janaury  29,  1884,  and  after  graduating  from  the  high  school  entered  the 
Leland  Stanford,  Jr.,  University  of  California,  where  he  won  his  Bachelor  of  Arts  degree 
in  1905.  He  resides  in  Grafton  and  is  a  captain  of  the  North  Dakota  National  Guard,  while 
in  business  circles  he  is  well  known  as  cashier  of  the  First  National  Bank.  On  the  24th  of 
October,  1907,  he  married  Miss  Edna  Blake  Knatvold,  of  Albert  Lea,  Minnesota,  a  daughter 
of  Thorvold  V.  and  Anna  (Blake)  Knatvold,  of  Albert  Lea.  The  children  of  this  marriage  are 
Ruth  Lucile,  born  J&nuary  2,  1909;  and  Dorothy  May,  born  August  12,  1911.  Carrie  Lucile 
Sprague,  the  only  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Frank  H.  Sprague,  was  born  in  Grafton, 
November  11,  1S8S,  and  was  educated  at  Stout  Institute  at  Menominee,  Wisconsin,  and  at 
Vassar  College.  Leonard  Tower  Spragrie.  the  younger  son,  born  in  Grafton,  January  9, 
1895,  is  a  graduate  of  the  Harvard  Military  School  of  Los  Angeles,  California,  and  is  now 
a  senior  in  the  Leland  Stanford,  Jr.,  University  of  California. 

Mr.  Sprague  is  a  member  of  the  Masonic  fraternity  and  one  of  its  most  prominent 
representatives  in  the  state.  He  served  as  giand  master  of  the  Grand  Lodge  in  1915,  was 
grand  high  priest  of  the  Grand  Chapter  in  1908  and  grand  commander  of  the  Grand  Com- 
mandery  in  1905.  He  is  a  thirty-second  degree  Mason  of  the  Scottish  Rite,  belongs  to  the 
Red  Cross  of  Constantine  and  is  a  Noble  of  the  Mystic  Shrine.  He  is  also  a  prominent  figure 
in  political  circles  and  in  1914  was  chairman  of  the  republican  state  central  committee,  in 
which  connection  he  put  forth  most  earnest  efforts  in  the  development  of  party  work  for 
the  best  interests  of  the  commonwealth.  In  a  word,  he  is  a  most  progressive  citizen,  standing 
as  a  high  type  of  American  manhood  and  chivalry. 


VERNON  E.  GRANT. 


Vernon  E.  Grant,  proprietor  of  the  Plum  Grove  Stock  and  Poultry  Farm  near  Qiba, 
in  Barnes  county,  is  not  only  active  along  the  lines  indicated  in  the  title  of  his  place  but 
was  also  one  of  the  first  to  introduce  the  growing  of  alfalfa  in  his  section  of  the  state. 
He  was  born  in  Maquokcta,  Iowa,  December  24,  1886.  a  son  of  Samuel  C.  and  Eunice  C. 
(Wright)  Grant.  The  father  was  born  at  Bridgeport,  Jackson  county,  Iowa,  and  was  a 
son  of  William  Grant,  who  settled  in  that  state  in  pioneer  times  and  there  engaged  in 
farming.  Samuel  C.  Grant  learned  the  miller's  trade  and  in  1893  came  to  North  Dakota, 
spending  the  following  winter  in  Valley  City.  In  1893  he  took  charge  of  the  Marsh  mill 
on  the  Sheyenne  river  and  afterward  purchased  a  farm  a  mile  northeast  of  Cuba,  concen- 
trating his  energies  upon  general  agricultural  pursuits.  For  four  years  prior  to  his  death, 
which  occurred  December  12,  1903,  when  he  was  fifty-seven  years  of  age.  he  was  also 
onsaged  in  the  grain  business  as  a  buyer  at  Cuba.  His  county  found  him  a  valued  citizen 
and  he  took  active  and  helpful  part  in  advancing  township  affairs  and  in  supporting  a 
progressive  school  system  as  a  member  of  the  school  board.  His  widow,  who  was  borni 
in  Michigan,  still  resides  upon  the  home  farm.  Their  family  numbered  four  sons,  of  whom 
two  died  in  infancy,  while  tw^o  are  yet  living,  Burt  S.  being  now  a  resident  of  Maquoketa, 
Iowa. 

Vernon  E.  Grant,  the  other  member  of  the  family,  after  mastering  the  branches  of 
learning  taught  in  the  district  schools,  continued  his  education  in  the  State  Normal  School 
at  Valley  City  and  afterward  in  the  Northern  Indiana  University  at  Valparaiso,  Indiana. 
He  then  returned  to  the  home  farm  and  upon  his  father's  death  in  1903  assumed  its  active 

Vol.  rn— 3  2 


694  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

management,  successfully  developing  and  controlling  the  property  since  that  time.  He 
quickly  branched  out  into  the  live  stock  business  and  is  today  the  owner  of  a  large  herd 
of  red  polled  cattle,  many  of  which  are  thoroughbreds.  He  is  develoiJing  the  herd  up  to 
the  highest  standard.  He  also  raises  thoroughbred  Duroc  Jersey  hogs  and  fine  poultry, 
keeping  several  hundred  high  class  bufi'  Wyandotte  chickens.  He  is  fast  winning  a  well 
deserved  reputation  as  a  breeder  of  high  grade  cattle,  hogs  and  poultry  and  thus  it  is  that 
his  place  has  become  well  known  as  the  Plum  Grove  Stock  and  Poultry  Farm.  He  is  also 
a  successful  grower  of  alfalfa,  being  among  the  first  to  attempt  to  produce  that  crop  in  his 
district.  His  farm  buildings  are  well  arranged  and  he  has  a  fine  grove  to  the  north  and 
west  of  his  property.  He  has  also  planted  some  fruit  trees  which  have  come  or  are  coming 
into  bearing  and  he  has  many  of  the  smaller  fruits  upon  his  place.  He  has  recently  com- 
pleted a  fine  modern  residence  containing  nine  rooms  with  a  full  basement  underneath. 
There  are  large  porches  across  the  front  of  the  house,  the  upper  ones  being  arranged  for 
sleeping  purposes,  while  the  lower  porches  are  used  for  reading  and  lounging.  The  house  is 
supplied  with  furnace  heat,  hot  and  cold  water,  electric  light  and  all  the  modern  conveniences 
usually  found  in  the  best  city  homes. 

Mr.  Grant  is  identified  with  several  lodges,  being-  a  Mason,  Knight  of  Pythias  and 
Modern  Woodman  of  America.  He  is  a  student  and  book  lover  who  has  read  extensively, 
enriching  his  mind  with  the  best  thought  of  all  ages.  He  possesses  ambition  and  ability, 
qualities  which  are  always  essential  to  success,  and  already  he  has  gained  a  most  creditable 
position   among   the   representative   agriculturists   of   Barnes   county. 


.J.  W.  WARREN.  M.  D. 


Dr.  J.  W.  Warren,  physician  and  surgeon  at  Leeds,  was  born  in  Harper,  Ontario,  Can- 
ada, March  25,  1882,  a  son  of  Joseph  and  Christina  (Brownlee)  Warren.  The  father  was  a 
native  of  Ontario,  Canada,  and  was  of  Irish  and  Scotch  descent.  He  engaged  in  merchan- 
dising for  a  considerable  period  at  Harper  and  also  filled  the  position  of  postmaster  for 
thirty-nine  years.  His  business  and  official  activities  thus  made  him  widely  known  and 
the  sterling  woith  of  his  character  gained  him  high  regard.  At  his  death  his  son,  Dr. 
Warren,  assumed  the  duties  of  postmaster  and  oontiiuied  to  serve  for  two  years.  It  was  in 
August,  1U04,  that  Joseph  Warren  passed  away  at  the  age  of  sixty-eight  years.  His  widow 
is  still  living  in  Harper  at  the  age  of  seventy-live  years  and  in  1913  she  traveled  four  thou- 
sand miles  alone,  being   a   remarkably  well  preserved  woman 

In  the  acquirement  of  his  education  Dr.  Warren  attended  the  Perth  Collegiate  Institute 
of  Ontario,  from  which  he  was  graduated  with  the  class  of  1901,  and  thus  having  gained 
good  literary  education  to  serve  as  the  foundation  upon  which  to  rear  the  superstructure 
of  professional  knowledge,  he  entered  the  Queens  Medical  College  at  Kingston,  Ontario, 
from  which  he  was  graduated  with  the  class  of  1905.  The  same  year  he  located  for  prac- 
tice in  Leeds,  North  Dakota,  where  he  has  since  remained.  His  brother.  .Tohn  F.  Warren, 
also  a  iihysician,  had  become  a  resident  of  Leeds  in  1897  and  practiced  there  until  his 
death,  which  occurred  in  1906.  Dr.  J.  W.  Warren  is  recognized  as  an  able  pliysician  and 
there  is  much  demand  made  upon  him  for  professional  service.  He  carefully  diagnoses 
his  cases  and  in  predicting  the  outcome  of  disease  is  seldom  at  fault,  his  judgment  being 
sound,  while   his   ability   is   pronounced. 

On  the  3d  of  June,  1908,  Dr.  Warren  was  married  to  Miss  Nellie  Wardrope  and  to 
them  has  been  born  a  son,  Ralph  Kenneth,  whose  natal  day  was  February  5,  1911.  For 
six  years  Dr.  Warren  has  served  as  county  coroner  of  Benson  county  and  is  now  a  candidate 
for  reelection.  He  has  also  been  city  health  oiilccr  of  Leeds  and  is  local  surgeon  for  the 
Great  Northern  Railroad  and  the  Northern  Pacific  Railroad.  He  belongs  to  the  Devils  Lake 
District  Medical  Society,  to  the  North  Dakota  State  Medical  Society  and  the  American 
Medical  Assdciation  and  through  the  proceedings  of  those  bodies  keeps  in  touch  with  the 
trend  of  modern  professional  thought  and  investigation.  Fraternally  he  is  connected  with 
the  Elks  and  with  the  Masons.  He  belongs  to  both  the  blue  lodge  and  the  chapter  and 
for  two  years  has  served  as  high  priest  in  the  latter,  having  but  recently  letired  from  that 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  695 

position.  He  is  also  eonnectod  witli  tliu  Vcoinuii,  tiio  iloduni  Woodmi'ii  of  America  and 
the  Woodmen  of  the  World.  His  political  endorsement  is  given  to  the  republican  party, 
while  of  the  Episcopal  church  he  is  a  communicant.  His  has  been  an  active  and  well  spent 
life  fraught  with  good  results  for  the  benefit  of  his  fellovvmen,  while  at  the  same  time 
he  lias   won   a    substantial   measure   of   success   in   tlie   conduct   of   his   professional   interests. 


E.  V.  GUSTUSON,  M.  D. 


Dr.  !•:.  \'.  Gustuson,  a  prominent  physician  of  Milton,  JTorth  Dakota,  was  born  on  tlie 
4t]i  of  .July,  1879,  in  Cliariton,  Iowa,  a  son  of  G.  P.  and  Eva  (Johnson)  Gustuson,  natives 
of  Sweden.  The  mother  came  to  America  with  her  parents  on  a  sailing  vessel  during  her 
childhood,  the  family  locating  in  Michigan.  The  father  also  came  to  the  United  States  in 
early  life  and  after  their  marriage  tlie  young  people  settled  in  Illinois,  where  Mr.  Gustuson 
engaged  in  farming  until  1866,  when  he  remove<l  to  Iowa,  becoming  a  pioneer  of  Lucas 
county.  While  living  there  he  engaged  in  railroad  work.  From  1900  to  1912  he  was  a 
resident  of  Chicago,  Illinois,  but  his  last  days  were  spent  in  California,  where  he  passed 
away  in  1912  at  the  age  of  seventy-six  years.  His  widow  is  still  a  resident  of  Los  Angeles 
and  has  attained  the  age  of  seventy  years.  In  tlieir  family  were  nine  children,  the  Doctor 
being  the  fifth  in  order  of  birth. 

At  the  usual  age  Dr.  Gustuson  entered  the  public  schools  of  Iowa,  where  he  acquired 
his  literary  education,  and  having  determined  to  become  a  physician  he  later  attended  the 
Cliicago  College  of  Medicine  and  Surgery  at  Chicago,  from  which  he  was  graduated  with 
the  degree  of  il.  D.  in  1909.  For  a  year  he  was  connected  with  the  Norwegian  Deaconess 
Hospital  in  Cliicago,  but  at  the  end  of  that  time  he  came  to  Milton,  Nortli  I>akota,  and 
opened  an  office.  In  the  six  years  that  have  since  elapsed  he  has  built  up  a  lucrative  prac- 
tice, which  is  constantly  increasing,  and  he  is  now  regarded  as  one  of  the  leading  physicians 
of  Cavalier  county. 

Dr.  (iustuson  was  married  in  Watcrville,  Iowa,  September  18,  1909,  to  iliss  Oline 
Doloris  Gronlid,  a  daughter  of  Rev.  and  Mrs.  C.  J.  Gronlid,  of  that  place,  who  later  removed 
to  Xorth  Dakota.  The  Doctor  and  his  wife  have  two  children,  both  born  in  Milton : 
Jluriel  Oline,  born  in  1910;  and  Evelyn  Virginia,  born  in  1912.  The  family  is  identified 
with  the  Lutheran  church  and  are  quite  prominent,  being  held  in  the  highest  esteem  by 
all  who  know  them.  Dr.  Gustuson  has  served  as  liealtli  officer  and  in  the  ranks  of  liis 
|)rofessional  bretliren  occupies  an  enviable  position,  liis  skill  and  ability  Ix'iiig  widely 
recognized. 


EDWAKD  R.  LAXGTOX. 


One  of  the  progressive  business  men  of  Pembina  is  Edward  R.  Langton.  who  is  engaged 
in  the  sale  of  hardware,  automobiles  and  farm  implements  and  machinery.  He  was  born 
in  Peterborough,  Canada,  August  6,  1869,  a  son  of  .Foseph  Langton,  a  native  of  Englaml, 
who  came  to  America  and  at  length  settled  in  Pembina  township,  Pembina  county,  North 
Dakota.  Although  a  plasterer  b}'  trade  he  followed  farming  during  the  period  of  his  resi- 
dence in  this  state.  He  died  in  Peterborough,  Canada,  in  1888  at  the  age  of  seventy-five 
years.  His  wife,  who  bore  the  maiden  name  of  Sarah  Bishop,  was  a  native  of  England  and 
passed  away  in  Peterborough  in  1887. 

Edward  R.  Langton,  the  youngest  in  their  family  of  ten  cliiMren,  was  educated  in  the 
public  schools  of  Neche,  Pembina  county,  and  his  early  life  to  the  age  of  twenty-two  years 
was  spent  U])on  the  home  farm.  However,  when  a  youth  of  twelve  }'ears  he  began  working 
for  his  uncle,  .lames  Langton,  an  early  settler  of  Pembina  county  and  one  of  the  county 
commissioners  in  pioneer  times,  taking  an  active  part  in  the  work  of  the  republican  party. 
Edward  R.  Langton  remained  in  the  employ  of  his  uncle  until  he  reached  the  age  of  about 
twenty  years  and  it  was  after  that  time  that  his  education   was  acquired.     When   lie   left 


696  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

his  uncle's  service  his  father  gave  him  a  forty  acre  tract  of  land,  upon  which  he  engaged 
in  farming  from  1892  until  1910,  but  in  the  meantime  whenever  the  opportunity  offered 
he  added  to  his  land  until  he  became  the  owner  of  a  tract  of  seven  hundred  and  sixty  acres, 
which  is  still  in  his  possession.  During  the  past  five  years  he  has  leased  this  farm,  receiving 
a  crop  share  for  the  rental  thereof.  In  1910,  wishing  to  give  his  children  broader  educa- 
tional opportunities,  he  removed  to  Pembina,  where  he  purchased  a  home  and  established 
his  family.  He  then  entered  into  the  hardware  and  implement  business  and  has  developed 
a  very  extensive  trade  in  that  connection.  He  represents  the  Moline  and  Acme  Harvester 
Companies  and  is  also  general  agent  and  distributor  for  the  Ford  and  Buick  automobiles. 
He  is  likewise  financially  interested  in  the  Farmers  Elevators  at  Xeche  and  at  Pembina 
and  his  business  has  been  developed  along  substantial  lines,  making  it  one  of  the  profitable 
commercial   concerns  of   the  county. 

On  November  17,  1894,  Mr.  Langton  was  married  in  Pembina  to  iliss  Malissa  Gillies, 
a  native  of  Ontario,  Canada,  and  a  daughter  of  Joseph  and  Susanna  Gillies,  who  were 
natives  of  Scotland  but  have  now  passed  awaj\  They  became  early  settlers  of  Pembina 
county.  North  Dakota,  arriving  in  1882,  and  for  a  long  period  thereafter  Mr.  Gillies  was 
successfully  engaged  in  farming  within  the  borders  of  the  county.  To  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Langton 
have  been  born  five  children,  Maude  Beatrice,  Mabel  Evelyn,  Warren,  York  and  May.  Two 
of  the  children  are  now  students  in  the  University  of  North  Dakota  and  it  is  the  purpose 
of  the  parents  to  afi'ord  their  children  the  best  possible  educational  opportunities. 

•  Mr.  Langton  has  ever  been  a  stalwart  champion  of  the  public  schools  and  for  several 
terms  served  as  a  member  of  the  school  board  of  Pembina  township.  He  has  never  sought 
nor  desired  political  office,  however,  but  has  always  given  his  allegiance  to  the  republican 
party.  Fraternally  he  is  a  Mason  and  a  Modern  Woodmen  of  America  and  he  belongs  to 
the  Commercial  Club  and  the  famil}-  attend  the  Methodist  church.  These  associations 
indicate  the  principles  that  govern  his  conduct  and  make  him  a  man  of  genuine  personal 
worth.  He  maintains  a  helpful  attitude  in  all  civic  matters  and  charitable  work  and  he 
and  his  wife  occupy  a  very  enviable  position  in  the  social  circles  in  which  they  move. 


GEORGE  H.  HEBERT. 


George  H.  Hebert,  a  resident  of  the  city  of  Bottineau,  filling  the  position  of  auditor 
of  Bottineau  county,  was  born  in  Addison  county,  Vermont,  July  29,  1866,  a  son  of  Oliver 
A.  and  Susan  A.  (Sloan)  Hebert.  both  of  whom  were  natives  of  Quebec,  Canada,  where 
they  were  reared  and  married.  About  1853  they  crossed  the  border  into  the  United  States, 
settling  in  Vermont.  The  father  was  a  contractor  and  builder,  carrying  on  business  along 
that  line  in  the  Green  Mountain  state  until  1879,  when  he  removed  to  the  west,  settling 
in  Sioux  Falls,  South  Dakota.  There  the  mother  passed  away  in  1908,  since  which  time 
Mr.  Hebert  has  made  his  home  among  his  children,  being  now  with  his  son,  E.  J.  Hebert,  at 
Delhi,  Minnesota. 

George  H.  Hebert  was  a  youth  of  thirteen  years  when  the  family  left  New  England 
and  he  supplemented  his  education,  acquired  in  the  public  schools  of  Vermont,  by  further 
study  in  Sioux  Falls,  being  there  graduated  from  the  high  school  with  the  class  of  1883. 
Following  the  completion  of  his  course  he  earned  his  first  dollar  in  the  office  of  the  first 
newspaper  of  Sioux  Falls  and  spent  the  summer  months  in  that  connection,  after  which 
he  became  identified  with  railroad  work,  accepting  a  position  with  the  Omaha  Railroad 
Company,  in  the  employ  of  which  road  he  continued  for  ten  years.  From  his  seventeenth 
to  his  twenty-third  j'ear  he  was  occupying  the  position  of  cashier  in  the  Sioux  Falls  station. 
In  the  autumn  of  1893  he  became  connected  with  the  Great  Northern  system  and  was 
made  the  first  station  agent  at  Yankton  after  the  road  was  built  into  that  city.  He  con- 
tinued in  the  employ  of  the  Great  Northern  for  twenty  years,  filling  various  positions  in 
the  general  offices  and  at  various  points  along  the  road. 

Mr.  Hebert's  connection  with  North  Dakota  dates  from  1899,  in  which  year  he  spent 
four  months  as  reUef  agent  along  the  line  of  the  Great  Northern,  while  in  1901  he  was 
made  station  agent  at  Rugby.    The  same  year  he  filed  on  a  homestead  near  the  town  and  in 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  697 

1<J05  he  was  transferred  to  Bottineau  as  station  agent,  continuing  in  Uiat  position  up  to 
the  time  of  his  election  in  1913  to  the  ollice  of  county  auditor.  lie  made  so  excellent  a 
record  in  that  position  that  he  was  reelected  in  1914  and  again  in  191G  was  nominated 
for  tlie  office.  His  political  allegiance  is  always  given  to  the  democratic  party  and  it  is 
upon  that  ticket  that  he  has  been  called  to  the  position  which  he  is  now  filling. 

Jlr.  Hebert  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  JIary  L.  Hayes  and  their  family  numbers 
a  son  and  a  daughter:  Leonard  A.,  who  is  a  railroad  man;  and  Florence  M.,  a  trained 
nurse  located  in  Havre,  Jlontana.  Tlie  parents  are  members  of  the  Catholic  church  and 
Mr.  Hebert  also  belongs  to  the  Knights  of  Columbus.  He  has  made  judicious  investment 
in  Uuid  and  is  now  the  owner  of  tliree  (piarter  sections  of  valuable  farm  land  in  Pierce 
county,  having  filed  on  one  of  these  quarters  as  a  homestead  in  the  spring  of  1901  wlicn 
he  was  station  agent  at  Rugby.  He  has  witnessed  many  changes  in  this  part  of  the  state 
as  the  work  of  progress  and  development  has  been  carried  steadily  forward  and  he  has 
contributed  to  the  upbuilding  of  the  community  in  every  possible  way.  He  is  a  man  of  very 
genial  nature  and  has  a  host  of  warm  friends  not  only  among  his  political  constituents 
but  among  all  with  whom  he  has  been  brought  in  contact  regardless  of  party  affiliation, 
liis  unfeigned   cordiality  and  kindly   spirit  winning  him   wide   popularity. 


CHARLES  P.   PETERSON. 


Charles  P.  Peterson,  proprietor  of  a  general  store  at  Dawson,  is  one  of  those  who  in 
the  establishment  of  a  commercial  enterprise  furnishes  facilities  for  a  vast  agricultural 
region  and  thus  contributes  in  substantial  measure  to  its  development.  Mr.  Peterson  was 
born  in  Jackson  county,  Wisconsin,  in  1874,  a  son  of  Even  Peterson,  a  native  of  Norway, 
who  wedded  Sarah  Christianson,  also  a  native  of  that  country.  They  came  to  the  United 
States  about  1857,  settling  at  La  Crosse,  Wisconsin,  where  the  father  worked  at  the  trade 
of  upholstering.  He  afterward  entered  a  government  claim  in  Jackson  county  and  there 
followed  farming  for  about  sLs  years,  when  he  removed  to  Eau  Claire,  Wisconsin,  where  he 
resumed  work  at  his  trade,  continuing  at  that  place  up  to  the  time  of  his  death,  which 
occurred  in  1896.     His  widow  survived  him  for  about  thirteen  years,  passing  away  in  1909. 

Charles  P.  Peterson  was  the  youngest  in  a  familj'  of  nine  children,  four  of  whom  are 
now  living.  He  is  indebted  to  the  public  school  system  of  Eau  Claire  for  the  educational 
privileges  which  he  enjoj'ed  and  he  received  his  initial  business  training  as  a  clerk  in  a 
general  store  at  that  place.  In  1889  he  went  to  Duluth,  where  he  was  employed  in  a  gen- 
eral store,  spending  five  years  in  that  position.  He  next  removed  to  Hawley,  Clay  county, 
Minnesota,  where  he  acted  as  clerk  for  two  years,  and  upon  his  return  to  Eau  Claire,  Wis- 
consin, he  again  engaged  in  clerking  in  that  city,  remaining  there  until  the  death  of  his 
father. 

In  1898  Mr.  Peterson  became  a  resident  of  Fargo,  North  Dakota,  where  he  entered 
the  clothing  business,  with  which  he  was  connected  for  fourteen  years,  interested  in  the 
house  of  Alex  Stern  &  Company.  In  the  spring  of  1912  he  removed  to  Dawson  and  pur- 
chased the  general  store  of  Raymond  Kepler,  after  which  he  established  himself  in  busi- 
ness and  has  met  with  excellent  success  in  the  conduct  of  the  store,  to  which  he  gives 
his  personal  attention  and  at  the  same  time  employs  three  clerks.  He  carries  a  large  line 
of  general  merchandise  and  puts  forth  earnest  and  eflfective  effort  to  advance  the  interests 
of  the  establishment.  His  methods  at  all  times  will  bear  the  closest  investigation  and 
scrutiny  and  his  sound  judgment  enabled  him  to  overcome  all  obstacles  and  difliculties 
in  his  path.  In  addition  to  his  commercial  interests  Mr.  Peterson  is  connected  with  farm- 
ing, having  three-quarters  of  a  section  of  land  in  Kidder  county,  from  which  he  derives 
a  good  rental. 

In  January,  1900.  Mr.  Peterson  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Emma  ICverson,  who 
was  born  in  Eau  Claire,  Wisconsin,  a  daughter  of  Lewis  and  Louise  Everson,  who  were 
natives  of  Norway  and  became  pioneer  settlers  of  the  Badger  state.  The  father  is  now 
leading  a  retired  life  in  Eau  Claire  but  the  mother  passed  away  about  1894.     Mr.  and  Mrs. 


698  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

Peterson  have  become  the  parents  of  two  children:     Clifford,  who  was  born  in   1901;   and 
Mahalali,  born  in  1908. 

In  his  political  views  Mr.  Peterson  is  a  republican  and  has  served  as  treasurer  of 
Sibley  township  but  is  not  a  politician  in  the  sense  of  being  an  aspirant  for  office.  He 
holds  membershi])  with  the  Knights  of  the  Maccabees  at  Fargo  and  the  Yeomen  at  Daw- 
son and  he  is  foreman  in  the  local  organization  of  the  latter  order.  He  is  also  a  member 
of  the  Lutheran  church  and  his  life  is  guided  by  its  teachings.  His  activities  have  been 
directed  along  lines  which  not  only  lead  to  substantial  results  in  business  but  which  also 
win  respect  and  high  regard.  He  is  ever  straightforward  and  honorable  and  Dawson  secured 
a  valuable  addition  to  its  citizenship  when  Mr.  Peterson  resolved  to  cast  in  his  fortunes 
with  the  town. 


\MLLIAM   J.    EDWARDS. 


William  J.  Edwards,  an  architect  of  pronounced  ability  residing  in  Grand  Forks,  has 
designed  and  sui>erintended  many  public  buildings  in  North  Dakota  and  other  states,  and 
many  of  the  structures  represent  the  highest  types  of  architectural  skill  and  beauty.  Con- 
stantly expanding  powers  have  brought  him  to  his  present  position  as  a  foremost  architect 
of  the  northwest. 

Mr.  Edwards  is  a  native  of  Rankin,  Renfrew  county,  Ontario,  and  is  a  son  of  ^^'illiam  P. 
Edwards,  who  was  born  in  Canada,  September  26,  1825,  and  was  of  English,  Welsh  and 
Dutch  descent.  The  founder  of  the  family  on  this  side  of  the  Atlantic  was  Evan  Edwards, 
who  settled  in  Canada  about  1833  and  was  a  pioneer  of  that  country.  He  afterward,  about 
1829,  removed  to  Buffalo,  New  York,  where  he  remained  about  two  years  and  then  returned 
to  Canada,  where  he  died  in  1863.  William  P.  Edwards,  the  son  of  Evan  Edwards,  became 
a  successful  farmer,  and  throughout  his  entire  life,  except  while  in  Buffalo,  New  Y'ork,  was 
a  resident  of  Canada,  where  he  passed  away  at  the  age  of  sixty-two  years.  He  belonged  to 
the  conservative  party  and  was  active  in  political  affairs.  He  filled  various  public  offices, 
serving  for  eight  years  as  postmaster  of  his  town,  as  a  member  of  the  school  board  for 
many  years,  and  in  other  positions  of  honor  and  trust.  His  religious  faith  was  that  of  the 
Methodist  church.  In  early  manhood  he  wedded  Frances  James,  a  native  of  Canada,  born 
January  20,  1826,  and  a  daughter  of  John  and  Amelia  (Thorpe)  James,  who  were  pioneer 
residents  of  Ramsey,  Lanark  county.  Mrs.  Edwards  passed  away  in  1889  at  the  age  ot 
sixty-three  years.  Of  the  foiu'  sons  of  William  P.  Edwards  and  Frances  (.James)  Edwards, 
three  are  living:  William  J.,  the  subject  of  this  sketch;  .John  E.,  formerly  a  resident  of 
Park  River,  North  Dakota,  but  now  a  real  estate  dealer  of  Winnipeg,  Canada ;  and  Isaac  P., 
a  contractor  of  Park  River,  North  Dakota.  The  other  son,  Enoch  Wesley,  died  at  the  age 
of  twenty- four  years  at   Smiths  Falls,  Ontario,  Canada. 

William  .J.  Edwards  pursued  his  education  in  the  common  schools  of  Rankin  and  the 
high  school  at  Pembroke,  Renfrew  county,  Canada,  and  spent  his  early  life  upon  the  home 
farm  with  the  usual  experiences  that  fall  to  the  farm  bred  boy.  When  a  boy  of  sixteen 
years,  he  chopped  and  hauled  cordwood  twelve  miles  to  market  to  obtain  money  with 
which  to  buy  books.  He  started  out  independentl.y  on  attaining  his  majorit}^  but  from  the 
age  of  seventeen  years  had  been  earning  practically  all  the  money  he  spent,  most  of  which 
went  for  artist's  materials  and  books.  When  a  lad  of  only  thirteen  he  displayed  talent  in 
the  line  of  his  present  profession  by  remodeling  the  old  log  house,  which  he  converted  into 
a  modern  and  comfortable  home,  ^^^lilc  still  in  school  he  worked  in  vacations  at  the 
builders  trade,  and  studied  architecture  for  several  j'ears.  He  later  secured  a  position 
with  the  Canadian  Pacific  Railway  Company  as  superintendent  of  their  water  service,  build- 
ing water  tanks  and  other  such  structures  for  the  com])any.  He  was  also  with  the  engineers 
and  surveyors'  corps  and  had  a  number  of  men  under  his  charge.  He  continued  with  the 
railway  company  for  two  and  one-half  years,  and  though  he  entered  its  service  as  a  mere 
youth,  his  ability  won  him  promotion  to  a  superintendenc}',  which  brought  him  large 
responsibilities. 

In  early  life  he  had  taken  up  the  study  of  architecture  and  in   1894  concentrated  his 


^VILLIAM  J.  EDWARDS 


TKF  NEW  YOPK 
PUFLIC  LIBRARY 


•  X  6  I  A  N  • 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  701 

energies  upon  that  profession.  On  the  30th  of  April,  1893,  he  became  a  resident  of  North 
Dakota,  and  about  six  months  later  he  established  himself  in  business  at  Park  River,  Walsh 
eounty,  and  designed  and  superintended  many  fine  structures  in  that  locality.  In  the  fall 
of  1903  he  removed  to  Grand  P'orks,  since  which  time  ho  has  perfected  and  executed  plans 
for  the  erection  of  manj'  public  buildings  in  North  Dakota,  Montana  and  other  states  of 
the  west.  There  are  examples  of  his  work  in  all  the  principal  cities  and  many  of  the  larger 
towns  of  North  Dakota,  schools,  hospitals,  churches,  bank  buildings  and  other  public  struc- 
tures. He  planned  the  State  Sanitarium  at  Dunseith,  many  of  the  schools  in  Grand  Forks, 
and  is  the  architect  of  the  new  high  school  building,  which,  under  his  supervision,  is  now 
being  erected  at  an  approximate  cost  of  six  bundled  thousand  dollars  and  will  be  the  finest 
school  building  in  the  west.  Utility,  convenience  and  beauty  are  all  features  of  his  work, 
and  he  embodies  in  his  buildings  the  highest  ideals  of  architecture.  His  son,  Charles  P. 
Edwards,  is  now  associated  with  him  in  business. 

On  the  21st  of  June,  1887,  Mr.  Edwards  was  united  in  marriage  at  Easton's  Corners, 
Ontario,  to  Miss  Theodora  Georgiana  Hunt,  a  native  of  Canada  and  a  daughter  of  Edward  A. 
and  Rebecca  (Bates)  Hunt,  the  former  of  English  and  Irish,  and  the  latter  of  Irish  lineage. 
The  mother  of  Mrs.  Edwards  is  a  resident  of  Canada,  and  formerly  resided  on  a  farm  near 
Park  River,  North  Dakota,  and  will  be  remembered  by  many  of  the  old  residents  there.  At 
the  present  time  she  makes  her  home  at  Duval,  Saskatchewan,  but  Mr.  Hunt  has  passed  away. 

To  Mr.  and  ilrs.  Edwards  were  born  eight  children,  of  whom  seven  are  living:  Nellie  E., 
a  student  of  music  and  art,  and  Cliarlcs  P..  architectural  draughtsman,  residents  of  Grand 
i'lirks;  Francos  Blair,  formerly  a  teacher  but  now  married  to  Frederich  L.  Langton,  of  Ross, 
Xurth  Dakota ;  John  Stanly,  a  corporal,  and  Hebor  L.,  at  nineteen  years  of  age  a  sergeant, 
both  in  Company  M,  First  North  Dakota  Regiment,  stationed  on  the  Mexican  border 
in  1916;  William  W.,  a  high  school  student,  and  Wallace  Evan,  in  the  sixth  grade,  both 
of  Grand  Forks.  The  family  residence  is  in  Riverside  Park,  where  Mr.  Edwards  owns  an 
attractive  home.  In  1914,  he  was  called  upon  to  mourn  the  loss  of  his  wife,  who  was  born 
November  18,  1863,  and  passed  away  in  Grand  Forks  on  the  30th  of  .June,  1014,  at  the 
age  of   fifty-one   years. 

Mr.  Edwards  comes  of  a  family  in  which  there  is  a  military  strain,  for  in  both  the 
paternal  and  maternal  lines  were  ancestors  who  were  officers  in  the  British  army.  William 
Edwards,  the  great-grandfather  of  William  .1.  Edwards,  was  a  surgeon  general. 

In  his  political  views  Mr.  Edwards  is  a  republican.  At  one  time  he  was  city  engineer 
of  Park  River  and  was  formerly  a  member  of  the  Grand  Forks  park  board.  He  has  always 
taken  a  deep  interest  in  civic  affairs  and  stands  loyally  in  support  of  those  interests  which 
promise  improvement  and  progress  in  the  municipal  life.  As  a  member  of  the  Commercial 
(  lub  he  cooperates  heartily  in  all  plans  which  are  working  for  the  betterment  of  his  city 
Mild  its  trade  relations.  He  is  a  member  of  the  First  ilethodist  church,  of  which  he  is  one  of 
the  trustees.  He  belongs  to  Acacia  Lodge,  No.  4,  A.  F.  &  A.  M.;  the  Benevolent  and  Pro- 
tective Order  of  Elks;  the  Ancient  Order  of  United  Workmen  and  the  Independent  Order 
of  Odd  Fellows,  all  of  Grand  Forks. 

Those  who  know  aught  of  Mr.  Edwards  career  recognize  the  fact  that  his  course  has 
l)oen  marked  by  steady  progress.  The  exercise  of  effort  has  given  him  strength  and  pro- 
moted his  capability,  while  discriminating  study  has  added  to  his  knowledge  and  efficiency. 
Experience,  too,  has  been  to  him  an  excellent  teacher  and  has  found  in  him  an  apt  pupil, 
so  that  he  ranks  today  among  the  most  capable  and  best  known  architects  of  North  Dakota 
and  the  surrounding  states,  with  a  patronage  that  has  made  him  widely  known. 


MARTIN  E.  JOHNSON 


Martin  E.  Johnson  gained  such  a  measure  of  success  as  a  farmer  that  he  now  has 
sufliciont  capital  to  "nable  him  to  retire  from  active  life  and  is  enjoying  a  period  of  rest 
and  leisure,  making  his  home  in  Fargo.  He  was  born  on  the  23d  of  February,  1860,  of 
the  marriage  of  Evan  and  Olena  (Christiansen)  .Tohnson,  who  brought  their  family  to  the 
rnitcd    States    in    1867.     Tliev    located    in    Winiiobagii    N'alloy,    Houston    county.    Minnesota, 


702  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA     • 

where  they  remained  for  four  years,  but  in  1871  they  came  to  North  Dakota,  the  father 
taking  up  a  squatter's  claim  in  Stanley  township,  near  Wild  Rice,  Cass  county.  In  July 
of  that  year  they  left  that  place  and  removed  to  a  claim  on  the  Sheyenne  river  in  Normanna 
township,  which  the  father  operated  until  1898,  when  he  removed  to  Moorhead,  Minnesota, 
his  demise  occurring  there  in  February,  1913.  For  many  years  he  had  survived  his  wife, 
who  died  in  1872. 

Martin  E.  Johnson  passed  the  days  of  his  boyhood  and  youth  under  the  parental  roof 
and  attended  the  common  schools  and  the  Moorhead  (Minn.)  high  school  in  the  pursuit  of  an 
education.  In  1885  he  began  his  independent  career,  renting  land  in  Xormanna  township 
which  he  cultivated  for  three  years.  At  the  end  of  that  time  he  had  saved  sufficient  money 
to  purchase  a  farm  comprising  a  half  section  in  Stanley  township,  to  the  improvement  and 
operation  of  which  he  gave  his  time  and  energy  until  1913.  He  carefully  conserved  the 
fertility  of  the  soil,  used  up-to-date  methods  and  improved  machinery  in  carrying  on  his 
farm  work  and  was  rewarded  by  excellent  crops.  He  is  now  living  retired  in  Fargo,  where 
he  is  well  known  and  highly  esteemed.  In  addition  to  his  farm  he  owns  stock  in  the 
F'armers  Elevator  at  Warren  and  in  the  Scandinavian-American  Bank  at  Fargo,  of  wliich 
he  is  a  director. 

In  1885  occurred  the  marriage  of  Mr.  Johnson  and  Miss  Gina  R.  Anderson,  of  Bellmont, 
Traill  county,  this  state,  by  whom  he  has  eight  children :  Olena  C,  now  Mrs.  Henry 
Perhus,  of  Xormanna  township:  Mabel,  the  wife  of  Martin  Martinson,  of  Dunn  county, 
Wisconsin;  Alfred,  who  is  operating  our  subject's  homestead;  Ella  R.,  the  wife  of  Robert 
Clemenson,  of  Stanley  township;  and  Cora  M.,  Hilda  G.,  Nelius  F.  and  George  M.,  all  of 
whom  are  at  home. 

Mr.  Johnson  supports  the  democratic  party  at  the  polls  and  has  been  called  to  local 
office,  serving  as  township  treasurer  for  seven  or  eight  years  and  as  a  member  of  the 
school  board  for  about  fifteen  years,  his  retention  in  those  offices  being  evidence  of  his  ability 
and  conscientiousness.  He  belongs  to  the  Norse  Society  and  the  Sons  of  Norway  and  his 
religious  allegiance  is  given  to  the  Norwegian  Lutheran  church.  He  is  a  public-spirited 
citizen  and  personally  is  popular,  his  salient  characteristics  being  such  as  invariably  inspire 
respect  and  win  regard. 


HUGH  GIBSON. 


Hugh  Gibson,  county  treasurer  of  Pembina  county  and  a  resident  of  Cavalier,  was  born 
in  Ontario,  Canada,  February  8,  1868,  his  parents  being  Thomas  and  Mary  (Currie)  Gibson, 
both  of  whom  were  natives  of  Ontario,  from  which  place  they  removed  to  Manitoba  in  1879. 
After  five  years'  residence  there  they  came  to  North  Dakota  in  1884,  settling  in  Pembina 
county,  where  the  father  engaged  in  farming  until  his  death  in  1888,  when  he  had  reached  the 
age  of  sixty-three  years.  His  wife  passed  away  in  1896,  when  she  had  reached  the  age 
of  seventy-two  years.  In  their  familj'  were  eleven  children,  of  whom  Hugh  Gibson  is 
the  youngest. 

At  tlie  usual  age  Hugh  Gibson  became  a  pupil  in  the  public  schools  of  Manitoba  and 
later  continued  his  studies  in  North  Dakota.  After  putting  aside  his  textbooks  he  con- 
centrated his  energies  upon  farming  for  a  time  and  later  engaged  in  merchandising.  He 
worked  in  a  general  store  at  Langdon  before  the  railway  reached  there  and  later  at  Bay 
Centre  and  Neche,  and  in  1899  engaged  in  merchandising  at  Leroy.  In  1908  he  sold  out  his 
business  and  took  the  management  of  the  Farmers  Cooperative  store  at  Walhalla,  and  later 
formed  a  partnership  with  Frank  Eraser  and  D.  W.  McCaul  and  bought  the  Farmers' 
interests  in  the  store,  managing  the  business  until  1914.  His  fellow  townsmen,  appreciative 
of  his  wortli  and  ability,  called  upon  him  for  public  service  and  in  1914  he  was  elected 
county  treasurer  of  Pembina  county  and  in  1916  was  reelected.  He  has  served  as  township 
treasurer  and  also  as  school  treasurer  of  St.  Joe  township,  Pembina  county,  and  thus  he 
has  been  actively  identified  with  public  affairs  as  well  as  with  the  business  interests  of  the 
community.  He  has  worked  his  way  upward  entirely  through  his  earnest  labors  and 
close  application  and   in   addition  to  his  other  interests  he  has  engaged  in   farming  on   an 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  703 

extensive  scale.  He  owns  a  half  section  of  land  near  Bathgate,  Xorth  Dakota,  which  con- 
stitutes one  of  the  finest  farms  in  I'embina  county.  This  he  has  brought  under  a  high  state 
of  cultivation,  carrying  on  farm  work  according  to  the  most  scientific  methods,  and  it  is  also 
equipped  with  the  latest  improved  farm  machinery  and  modern  buildings  for  the  storage 
of  the  immense  crops  which  he  harvests.  He  is  likewise  a  director  and  stockliolder  of  the 
Citizens  Telephone  Company  of  Bathgate. 

On  the  8th  of  Xovember,  1899,  Mr.  Gibson  was  married  to  Jliss  Margaret  Boyd 
Patterson,  a  native  of  Bay  Centre  and  a  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  S.  J.  Patterson,  wlio  were 
pioneers  of  Pembina  county.  Fraternally  Mr.  ttibson  is  a  Mason  of  high  rank,  having  taken 
the  Scottish  Kite  degrees  in  Grand  Forks,  where  he  also  became  a  member  of  the  Mystic 
Shrine.  He  belongs  to  the  Independent  Order  of  Foresters,  to  the  Modern  Brotherhood  of 
America  and  both  he  and  his  wife  are  identified  with  the  Eastern  Star.  They  are  also 
members  of  the  Presbyterian  church.  His  entire  life  has  been  characterized  by  high 
and  honorable  principles  and  worthy  purposes  and  he  has  so  directed  his  efforts  in  a 
business  way  as  to  win  success  and  has  also  gained  the  proud  American  title  of  a  "self-made 
man." 


SAMUEL  0.  TOLLEFSON. 


Samuel  0.  ToUefson,  manager  for  the  Farmers  Elevator  Company  at  Milton  and  secretary 
and  treasurer  of  the  Pioneer  Machine  &  Hardware  Company,  doing  business  at  Milton  and 
Osnabrock,  Cavalier  county,  was  born  in  Moscow,  Freeborn  county,  Minnesota,  April  16, 
1867,  and  comes  of  Norwegian  ancestry.  His  father,  Ole  Tollefson,  was  a  native  of  Illi- 
nois, but  the  giandfather,  Tollef  Tollefson,  was  born  in  Norway  and  came  to  the  new 
world  in  the  '40s,  thus  founding  the  American  branch  of  the  family.  He  became  a  pioneer 
settler  at  Rock  Prairie,  Illinois,  near  the  Wisconsin  line,  and  there  he  engaged  in  farming 
until  1854,  when  he  removed  to  Minnesota,  being  one  of  the  first  to  settle  in  Freeborn 
county.  With  the  work  of  pioneer  development  and  improvement  he  was  closely  associated, 
the  family  experiencing  all  of  the  hardships  and  privations  incident  to  life  on  the  frontier, 
and  there  he  passed  away  in  1896,  at  the  very  venerable  age  of  ninety-eight  years.  His 
son,  Ole  Tollefson,  reared  and  educated  in  Freeborn  county,  took  up  the  occupation  of 
farming  as  a  life  work  but  passed  away  in  1869,  when  but  thirty-four  years  of  age.  His 
wife,  Eunice  Olson,  a  native  of  Norway,  was  brought  to  the  new  world  by  her  father, 
Severt  Olson,  in  the  early  'oOs,  the  family  home  being  established  first  in  Illinois  and 
afterward  in  Freeborn  county,  Minnesota,  where  she  met  and  married  Mr.  Tollefson,  whom 
she  survived  until  1887,  passing  away  at  the  age  of  fifty-two  years.  In  the  family  were 
sL\  children:  Carrie,  the  wife  of  Gunder  Nelson,  of  Osnabrock,  North  Dakota;  Marguerite, 
the  wife  of  Martin  Nelson,  of  Sheviin,  Jlinnesota;  Theodore,  living  on  the  old  homestead; 
Lena,  the  deceased  wife  of  Edward  Soronsen,  a  farmer  residing  near  St.  Paul,  Minnesota; 
Samuel  O.,  of  this  review;   and  Ole,  now  deceased. 

Samuel  0.  Tollefson  acquired  a  public  school  education  in  Moscow  and  spent  his 
youthful  dav's  upon  the  home  farm,  early  becoming  familiar  with  all  departments  of  farm 
work.  When  twenty  years  of  age  he  started  out  in  life  on  his  own  account,  arriving  in 
Park  River,  North  Dakota,  in  the  fall  of  1887.  There  he  was  employed  in  the  machine 
shop  of  his.  brother-in-law,  Gunder  Nelson,  for  eight  months  and  in  the  spring  of  1888  he 
removed  to  Milton,  where  he  engaged  in  the  machinery  business  with  Mr.  Nelson  for  two 
vears.  He  next  became  connected  with  the  grain  and  elevator  business,  being  employed 
as  grain  buyer  and  manager  at  Milton  for  the  Minneapolis  &  Northern  Elevator  Company 
of  Minneapolis  for  ten  years.  He  then  resigned  his  position  and  with  others  formed  a 
cooperative  colnpany  and  established  a  machinery  and  hardware  business  at  Milton  and 
at  Osnabrock,  these  two  establishments  being  conducted  under  the  name  of  the  Pioneer 
Machine  &  Hardware  Company,  Incorporated,  of  which  Mr.  Tollefson  is  the  secretary  and 
treasvirer.  This  is  one  of  the  leading  firms  of  its  kind  in  Cavalier  county  and  the  business 
has  been  developed  to  substantial  proportions.  Mr.  Tollefson  is  also  manager  of  the  Farm- 
ers Elevator  Company  and  one  of  its  stockholders. 

In    1897   Mr.   Tollefson   was   married   at   Ashby,  Minnesota,  to  Miss   Caroline   Black,   a 


704  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

native  of  that  state  and  a  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Charles  Black,  of  Ottertail  county, 
wheie  they  settled  in  1860.  The  father  was  a  Civil  war  veteran  and  both  he  and  his 
wife  are  now  deceased.  In  the  family  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Tollefson  are  five  children:  Karl 
Orland,  Gordon  V.,  Hulbert  C,  Berniee  and  Gladys,  all  born  in  Milton.  The  parents  are 
members  of  the  Lutheran  church  and  Mr.  Tollefson  is  a  Mason  and  a  Knight  of  Pythias. 
He  became  an  entered  apprentice  at  Milton  in  1896  and  since  that  time  has  attained  the 
thirty-second  degree  of  the  Scottish  Eite  and  is  also  connected  with  the  Mystic  Shrine.  He 
belongs  to  the  Commerical  Club  and  there  is  no  phase  of  the  city's  interest  and  develop- 
ment with  which  he  is  not  closely  associated.  In  politics  he  is  a  republican.  He  has 
served  on  the  board  of  education  for  the  past  twelve  years,  serving  in  that  connection  at 
the  present  time,  and  he  is  also  a  member  of  the  village  board.  He  has  never  allowed 
business  affairs  to  so  monopolize  his  time  that  he  cannot  find  opportunity  to  aid  in  pro- 
moting the  development   and  upbuilding  of  his   district. 


FRED  COMPTOX  UPTOX. 


Fred  Compton  Upton,  president  of  the  Minot  Motor  Sales  Company  and  recognized  as 
a  valuable  addition  to  the  business  life  of  the  fast  growing  young  city  in  which  he  resides, 
was  born  in  New  Sharon,  Iowa,  March  24,  1872,  a  son  of  David  and  Lucy  Ann  (Bangham) 
Upton.  The  father,  a  native  of  Plattsburg,  New  York,  was  reared  and  educated  in  that  state 
and  became  a  farmer  and  building  contractor  there.  In  1855  he  removed  to  New  Sharon, 
Iowa,  where  the  continued  in  the  same  lines  of  business.  He  made  the  journey  across  the 
country,  walking  part  of  the  way,  and  he  reached  his  destination  with  but  twenty-five  cents 
as  his  sole  capital  upon  which  to  begin  life  in  the  west.  He  possessed,  however,  energy  and 
determination  and  these  constituted  the  foundation  upon  which  he  built  his  success.  Some 
years  afterward  he  engaged  in  the  hardware  and  furniture  business  in  Tobias,  Nebraska, 
removing  to  that  place  in  1890  and  there  continuing  his  residence  until  his  death,  which 
occurred  in  ]914.  David  Upton  enlisted  in  1863  in  Company  B,  Fortieth  Iowa  Infantry,  served 
three  years  and  was  honorably  discharged  at  the  end  of  the  war.  He  took  part  in  several 
battles,  served  as  special  messenger  to  General  Steele  and  for  part  of  the  time  was  mail 
agent.  It  was  in  Montezuma,  Iowa,  that  he  wedded  Lucy  Ann  Bangham,  who  was  born  in 
Clinton  county,  Ohio,  and  was  there  reared  and  educated  but  in  young  womanhood  removed 
to  Montezuma,  Iowa,  where  she  arrived  in  1855.  She  now  divides  her  time  among  her  chil- 
dren and  at  present  is  with  her  son  in  Minot. 

Fled  Compton  Upton  was  a  pupil  in  the  schools  of  X'ew  Sharon,  Iowa,  and  afterward 
attended  college  at  Burlington,  that  state.  Following  his  graduation  he  became  connected  with 
the  machine  business  as  a  salesman  for  the  Piano  Manufacturing  Company  of  Piano,  Illinois, 
liaiidling  harvesting  machinery  which  he  sold  over  nine  states.  Subsequently  he  was  pro- 
prietor of  a  hardware  and  furniture  business  at  Belvidere,  N^ebraska,  for  two  years  and  then 
entered  the  banking  business  at  Mahaska,  Washington  county,  Kansas,  where  he  remained 
for  seven  years.  He  went  to  Minot,  North  Dakota,  as  general  collection  agent  for  the  J.  I. 
Case  Threshing  Machine  Company  of  Racine.  Wisconsin,  in  1911  and  so  continued  until  1916, 
wlien  he  incorporated  the  Minot  Motor  Sales  Company,  of  which  he  is  the  president.  This 
company  deals  in  Oldsmobiles  and  the  Simplex  gas  tractor,  having  charge  of  the  northwestern 
district  for  both.  Their  building  is  tlie  most  modern  in  its  equipment  of  those  used  for  like 
purpose  in  Minot  and  such  has  been  the  growth  of  their  business  that  the}^  intend  to  enlarge 
the  building  soon.  They  bought  the  building  and  remodeled  it  to  better  serve  their  purpose 
for  display  rooms  and  garage.  As  is  well  known,  the  Oldsmobile  is  one  of  the  best  motor 
cars  upon  the  market  and  for  it  the  firm  finds  a  ready  sale  owing  to  their  enterprise  and 
the  reliability  of  their  business  methods.  Their  garage  is  splendidly  equipped  for  doing  all 
kinds  of  repair  work  on  motor  cars  and  they  carry  an  extensive  line  of  automobile  supplies 
and  accessories.  They  have  every  reason  to  he  proud  of  their  undertaking,  whicli  although 
one  of  the  newly  organized  enterprises  of  the  city  has  already  become  one  of  its  foremost 
commercial   interests. 

On  the  2d  of  September,  1896,  Mr.  Upton  was  married  to  Miss  Ollie  Hanson  at  Tobias, 


MR.  AND  MBS.  FRED  C.  UPTON 


THE  NEW  YORK 
PUBLIC  LIBRARY 

A*'.  3  r     '.  ll.>  t.  '    .»  >  B 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  707 

Sulinc  county.  Nebraska.  She  was  lioin  in  D.illas.  Iowa,  and  was  educated  in  .Maliaska  county. 
She  afterwards  taught  school  in  Tobias.  Neluaska,  for  a  number  of  years,  liy  her  marriage 
she  became  the  mother  of  two  children:  Aneita,  who  was  born  in  Belvidere,  Nebraska.  August 
r>,  1903;  and  Florence,  born  in  Minot,  September  13,  1912. 

Throughout  his  entire  life  Mr.  Upton  has  been  actuated  by  a  spirit  of  cnterpri.sc  and 
progress.  He  was  the  leader  of  the  movement  to  incorporate  the  city  of  Mahaska,  Kansas,  and 
served  as  a  nu'mber  of  its  first  city  council.  He  was  a  candidate  for  president  of  the  city 
cummission  of  Jlinot  in  1914  but  was  defeated  by  seven  votes.  Throughout  almost  the  entire 
campaign  he  was  absent  from  the  city  on  business,  else  he  would  probably  have  been  elected. 
His  political  allegiance  is  given  to  the  republican  party  an<l  he  is  a  firm  iM'liever  in  its  prin- 
ciples. His  religious  faith  is  that  of  the  Methodist  ICpiscopal  church  and  for  the  past  five 
years  lie  has  been  Sunday  school  superintendent  of  the  Vincent  Methodist  church  at  Minot. 
wliile  in  other  branches  of  the  church  work  he  takes  an  equally  helpful  interest.  He  is  popular 
in  fraternal  circles  and  in  the  Masonic  organization  has  attained  high  rank,  as  is  indicated 
by  his  membership  in  the  Mystic  Shrine.  He  belongs  also  to  the  Ancient  Order  of  United  Work- 
men, the  Sons  of  Veterans  and  the  United  Commercial  Travelers  but  would  never  accept  office 
in  anv  of  these.  He  is  now  erecting  a  fine  modern  residence  at  No.  419  First  street,  Southeast, 
and  he  is  regarded  as  one  of  the  most  public-spirited  residents  of  Minot,  being  always  in 
the  lead  in  any  movement  for  the  betterment  of  the  city.  His  ideas  are  practical  as  well  as 
progressive  and  throughout  his  entire  life  he  has  been  a  man  of  action  rather  than  of  theory. 


WILLIAil  S.  \\TUTMAN. 

William  S.  Wliitnian,  owner  of  tlie  American  Bottling  Works  at  Grand  Forks,  became 
■a  resident  of  North  Dakota  when  a  youtli  of  sixteen  years.  He  was  born  in  Erie,  Penn- 
sylvania, August  28,  1867,  a  son  of  Edward  and  Rose  (Herrmann)  Whitman.  The  father, 
a  native  of  Germany,  came  to  .\nierica  in  young  manhood  and  settled  at  Erie,  Pennsylvania, 
where  he  engaged  in  carpentering  throughout  his  remaining  days,  his  death  occurring  Jan- 
uary 9,  1881,  when  he  was  forty-one  years  of  age.  His  widow  still  resides  at  Erie,  Penn- 
sylvania, and  is  now  seventy-three  years  of  age.  Their  family  numbered  seven  children, 
two  of  whom  have  passed  away. 

William  S.  Whitman,  the  eldest  in  the  family,  attended  school  in  Erie  and  was  also 
a  student  in  a  business  college  there  He  was  sixteen  years  of  age  when  he  left  his  native 
city  and  removed  to  Erie,  North  Dakota.  The  following  year  he  returned  to  Erie,  Pennsyl- 
vania, but  the  next  spring  again  took  up  his  abod?  in  Erie,  North  Dakota.  He  was  only 
fourteen  when  he  entered  the  employ  of  Warner  Brothers,  dealers  in  dry  goods  and  car- 
jjets,  ill  the  cajiacity  of  cash  boy,  and  while  working  in  the  day  time  he  attended  night 
school.  Gradually  he  worked  his  way  upward  with  that  firm,  remaining  with  them  until 
1891,  when  he  purchased  a  section  of  land  in  Cass  county  and  began  farming.  He  continued 
active  in  farm  work  until  1904,  when  he  rented  his  land.  His  previous  experience  along 
mercantile  lines  enabled  him  to  secure  the  position  of  manager  in  the  general  store  of  W. 
T.  Hunter  at  Erie.  North  Dakota.  He  remained  in  tliat  connection  for  three  and  one-half 
years,  after  wliidi  he  opened  a  drug  store  on  his  own  account  in  Erie,  carrying  on  the  busi- 
ness for  two  years.  On  selling  out  to  L.  B.  Hanna  he  was  induced  by  CJeorge  Moss,  of  Fargo, 
to  open  the  American  Bottling  AVorks  at  Grand  Forks.  He  placed  this  business  on  a  sub- 
staiitial  basis,  and  after  two  years  bought  out  the  interest  of  the  others  and  has  enlarged 
his  plant,  which  is  now  thoroughly  equipped  and  modern  in  every  respect.  He  has  the  latest 
improved  machinery  for  use  in  putting  up  his  product,  and  his  is  today  the  leading  bottling 
works  in  fJrand  Forks.  He  is  represented  on  tlie  road  by  two  men  who  cover  a  large  terri- 
tory, including  Minnesota  and  Nortli  and  Soutli  Dakota.  His  trade  is  extensive  and  the  busi- 
ness has  Ijeconie  one  of  the  important  and  profitaldc  productive  industries  of  tlie  city.  In 
addition  to  his  interests  along  that  line  >rr.  Whitman  is  the  owner  of  two  of  the  finest 
farms  in  the  state,  one  of  six  liundred  and  forty  acres  near  Erie  and  another  of  tliree  hun- 
dred and  twenty  acres  near  Drayton,  North  Dakota.  The  land  was  wild  when  it  came  into 
his  possession   but  he  has  converted  these  places   into  modern  farms   with   all   modern   im- 


708  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

provements,  including  fine  barns  and  every  facility  for  the  shelter  of  grain  and  stock.  He 
has  recently  completed  a  barn  for  stock  at  a  cost  of  three  thousand  dollars. 

In  1890  Mr.  Whitman  was  united  in  marriage  at  Wheatland,  North  Dakota,  to  Miss 
Elizabeth,  a  daughter  of  Andrew  Beith,  and  they  have  one  child,  Kdith  E.,  born  in  Erie, 
North  Dakota,  in  1895.  She  is  a  graduate  of  both  the  high  school  and  the  conservatory  of 
music.  The  wife  and  mother  passed  away  in  1895  and  on  January  7,  1906,  Mr.  Whitman 
was  married  to  Miss  Elmina  Dows,  of  Portland,  Oregon,  a  daughter  of  E.  L.  Dows,  of  Erie, 
North  Dakota. 

Politically  Mr.  Whitman  is  a  republican  and  is  now  serving  for  the  first  term  as  alder- 
man. In  Masonry  he  has  attained  high  rank  and  has  become  a  Mystic  Shriner.  He  also 
belongs  to  the  Ancient  Order  of  United  Workmen  and  to  the  Benevolent  Protective  Order 
of  Elks.  He  has  membership  in  the  Commercial  Club  and  gives  valuable  aid  to  all  measures 
and  plans  for  the  upbuilding  of  the  city,  and  its  advancement.  He  is  a  man  of  progressive 
spirit  and  in  his  business  career  has  advanced  step  by  step  until  he  occupies  a  creditable  and 
commanding  position  in  commercial  circles.  His  worth  makes  him  one  of  the  highly  respected 
citizens  of  Grand  Forks. 


ADAM  BOLLINGER. 


Russia  has  furnished  a  substantial  percentage  of  citizens  to  Stutsman  county  and 
among  the  number  is  Adam  Bollinger,  now  successfully  engaged  in  merchandising  in  Medina. 
He  was  born  in  South  Russia,  near  Odessa,  March  2,  1875,  a  son  of  Jacob  and  Barbara  Bol- 
linger, who  in  1887  resolved  to  establish  their  home  in  America  and  perfected  arrangements 
whereby  they  brought  their  family  to  the  new  world.  They  did  not  tarry  on  the  Atlantic 
seaboard  but  made  their  way  at  once  into  the  interior,  settling  in  Campbell  county.  South 
Dakota,  where  Mr.  Bollinger  took  up  a  homestead  claim.  Upon  that  place  the  mother 
passed  away  but  the  father  is  still  living  there  and  has  been  actively  associated  with  the 
pioneer  development  and  later  progress  of  his  locality,  especially  along  agricultural  lines. 

After  coming  to  the  new  world  Adam  Bollinger  continued  his  education  in  the  schools 
of  South  Dakota  and  remained  upon  the  home  farm  until  he  reached  the  age  of  twenty-one 
years,  when  he  took  up  a  homestead  of  one  hundred  and  sixty  acres  in  Wells  county.  North 
Dakota,  meeting  the  laws'  requirements  as  to  occupancy  and  improvement,  so  that  he  secured 
title  thereto.  He  lived  upon  that  place  for  about  five  years  and  then  disposed  of  the  land, 
after  which  he  removed  to  Medina  in  1900  and  opened  a  general  mercantile  establishment, 
becoming  a  member  of  the  firm  of  Olson-Preszler  &  Bollinger.  They  conducted  a  store  near 
the  site  of  Mr.  Bollinger's  present  store  and  the  business  was  thus  continued  until  February, 
1916,  when  the  partnership  was  dissolved  and  the  stock  divided,  Mr.  Bollinger  taking  the  furni- 
ture, hardware  and  farm  machinery.  He  is  now  conducting  business  under  his  own  name. 
He  has  a  large  and  carefully  selected  stock  and  the  reliability  of  his  business  methods,  com- 
bined with  his  indefatigable  enterprise,  has  secured  to  him  a  growing  trade.  He  owns  the 
building  in  which  his  store  is  located  and  he  is  also  the  owner  of  valuable  farm  property, 
having  between  four  and  five  hundred  acres,  from  which  he  derives  a  gratifying  annual 
income. 

In  February,  1896.  Mr.  Bollinger  was  married  to  Miss  Margaret  Wohl.  who  is  of  German- 
Russian  birth,  and  when  quite  young  came  to  the  United  States,  settling  in  North  Dakota. 
They  have  become  the  parents  of  seven  children,  John,  Rose,  Adam,  Albert,  Otilda,  Eliza- 
beth and  William  Howard.  The  eldest  son  is  manager  of  the  Powers  Elevator  at  Pompeys 
Pillar,  Montana,  and  the  others  are  all  in  school.  The  son  Albert  was  the  first  baby  boy 
born  in  Medina  and  because  of  this  received  as  a  gift  a  city  lot,  which  is  lot  18.  block  5. 

The  parents  are  members  of  the  German  Lutheran  church  and  Mr.  Bollinger  belongs  to 
the  Elks  lodge  at  Jamestown.  His  political  views  accord  with  the  principles  of  the  republican 
party  and  when  in  Wells  county  he  served  as  deputy  county  assessor.  He  served  for  four 
years  as  president  of  the  village  of  Medina,  has  also  been  village  treasurer,  and  in  1912 
was  elected  to  represent  his  district  in  the  house  of  representatives,  becoming  a  member  of 
the  thirteenth   general  assembly.     So  excellent   a  record   did  he   make   during  that   session 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  709 

tliat  lie  was  reelected  to  the  lifteenth  assembly.  His  legislative  course  won  him  high  com- 
mendation, for  he  was  loyal  to  the  interests  of  the  state  and  was  connected  with  much 
constructive  legislation,  which  he  strongly  favored.  He  is  a  self-made  man,  for  from  his 
youth  he  has  been  dependent  upon  his  own  resources  and  has  worked  his  way  upward 
through  an  orderly  progression  that  lias  brought  him  to  a  place  among  the  substantial  and 
respected  merchants  and  business  men  of  Stutsman  county. 


JOHN  HOPPERSTAD. 


John  Hoppcrstad,  proprietor  of  the  City  Market  m  Grafton,  has  developed  a  business 
in  the  sale  of  home  dressed  meats  to  large  and  profitable  proportions  and  is  entirely  a  self- 
made  liian,  his  success  being  attributable  solely  to  his  own  eiTorts.  It  was  the  desire  to 
benefit  his  financial  condition  that  led  him  to  come  to  the  new  world  from  his  native  coun- 
try, Norway,  where  he  was  born  .January  10,  1889,  his  parents  being  Guturn  and  Christine 
(Brien)  Hopperstad,  who  were  also  natives  of  Norway.  For  many  years  the  father  engaged 
in  the  live  stock  business  as  a  buyer  and  shipper  and  spent  his  entire  life  in  Norway,  where 
he  passed  away  in  1914  at  the  age  of  fifty-two  years.  His  widow  survives  and  is  now  in 
her  fifty-eighth   year. 

Their  only  child,  John  Hopperstad,  entered  the  schools  of  Norway  at  the  usual  age 
and  later  was  apprenticed  to  the  meat  trade.  He  came  to  America  in  1907,  when  a  youth 
of  eighteen  years,  and  made  his  way  at  once  to  Grafton,  thus  following  the  example  of 
many  of  his  fellow  countrymen,  who  had  already  become  residents  of  North  Dakota.  In 
Grafton  he  established  himself  in  the  meat  business,  opening  the  City  Market,  which  has 
since  grown  and  developed  to  large  proportions.  He  has  always  made  a  specialty  of 
handling  home  dressed  meats  and  he  has  built  up  a  large  trade,  being  most  careful  in  the 
selection   of  the   meats   which  he  carries. 

On  the  31st  of  March,  1914,  Mr.  Hopperstad  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Talette 
Rod,  a  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Ole  Rod,  of  Grafton,  and  they  have  one  child,  Orton  R., 
who  was  born  in  Grafton,  December  23,  1914. 

In  politics  Mr.  Hopperstad  maintains  an  independent  course,  not  caring  to  ally  him- 
self  witli  any  party.  He  has  taken  the  Royal  Arch  degree  in  Masonry  and  he  belongs  to 
the  Ancient  Order  of  United  Workmen,  exemplifying  in  his  life  the  beneficent  spirit  upon 
which  those  orders  are  based.  Coming  to  the  new  world  when  a  young  man  imbued  with 
the  hope  of  winning  success  on  this  side  the  Atlantic,  he  has  steadily  and  persistently  put 
forth  earnest  effort  in  his  business  career  and  is  today  at  the  head  of  one  of  the  successful 
commercial    enterprises    of    Grafton. 


PETER  0.  C.  JOHNSON,  M.  D. 

Dr.  Peter  O.  C.  Johnson,  practicing  at  Watford  City,  McICenzie  county,  has  been  well 
qualified  for  onerous  [irofessional  duties  by  thorough  training  in  Rush  Medical  College  of 
Chicago,  which  conferred  upon  him  his  degree  in  191.5.  He  was  born  in  Glenwood,  Minne- 
sota. January  10,  1883.  a  sun  of  George  and  IVDiria  (Munter)  Johnson.  The  father,  a  native 
of  Norway,  was  there  reared  and  educated  and  in  young  manhood  became  a  resident  of  Pope 
county,  Minnesota.  He  followed  farming  near  Glenwood  and  there  married  and  established 
his  home.  He  was  somewhat  prominent  in  community  affairs,  serving  in  township  oflices  and 
as  school  director,  and  he  passed  away  in  Pope  county  in  1888.  His  wife,  who  was  born  in 
Sweden,  was  brought  to  America  by  her  parents  when  twelve  years  of  age  and  is  now  a 
resident  of  Glenwood,  Minnesota.  Her  father  was  a  wealthy  resident  of  Gottenburg, 
Sweden,  but  met  with  financial  reverses  and  in  the  early  '60s  came  to  America  for  the  pur- 
pose of  enlisting  in  the  Union  army  for  service  in  the  Civil  war.  He  joined  the  army  at 
Fort  Snelling,  Minnesota,  and  was  on  active  duty  in  the  northwest  in  Montana  and  North 
Dakota,   iiarticipating  in   the   Indian   campaigns,  which   involved   very  hard   service.     After 


710  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

beino-  honorably  discharged  lie  returned  to  Xorth  Dakota  and  before  1870  engaged  in  trading 
in  horses  with  the  Indians.  Later  he  returned  to  Pope  county,  Minnesota,  where  he  took 
a  homestead  and  followed  farming  vmtil  his   demise. 

Dr.  Johnson  spent  his  j'outhful  days  on  his  father's  farm  in  ilinnesota  and  supplemented 
his  district  school  training  by  a  course  in  the  Glcnwood  Academy,  from  which  he  was  grad- 
uated with  the  class  of  1901.  Later  he  attended  Luther  College  at  Decorah,  Iowa,  and  won 
his  Bachelor  of  Arts  degree  by  graduation  with  the  class  of  1906.  For  three  years  he  taught 
school  in  McHenry  and  Walsh  counties  and  in  1910  he  entered  the  medical  department  of 
the  University  of  North  Dakota,  where  in  1913  he  received  his  B.  S.  degree.  He  afterward 
spent  two  years  in  the  Rush  iledkal  College  of  Chicago  and  won  his  professional  degree  at 
the  end  of  that  time.  He  served  as  house  physician  in  the  Deaconess  Hospital  at  Minneap- 
olis, where  he  was  associated  with  Dis.  Sheldrup  and  Severtson.  When  his  term  as  house 
physician  was  over  he  opened  an  office  in  Watford  City,  where  he  has  since  remained  in  the 
general  practice  of  medicine.  He  is  in  close  touch  with  the  most  modern  methods  and 
already  he  has  become  well  established  jirofessionally  since  taking  up  his  abode  in  McKenzie 
county. 

On  the  8th  of  September,  1907,  at  Glcnwood,  Minnesota,  Dr.  Johnson  wedded  jMiss 
Hannah  Dalager,  who  was  born  in  that  locality,  a  daughter  of  Hans  S,  and  Ingeborg  (Larson) 
Dalager,  who  were  natives  of  Xorway  and  became  early  settlers  of  Pope  county,  Minnesota, 
where  her  father  became  the  largest  farmer  of  that  locality.  He  died  in  1910  and  his  widow 
now  resides  at  Glcnwood.  It  was  in  the  district  schools  of  that  county  that  Mrs.  Johnson 
began  her  education,  and  after  completing  the  high  school  course  in  Glen  wood  she  attended 
the  normal  school  at  St.  Cloud,  Minnesota,  subsequent  to  which  time  she  successfully  on- 
gaged  in  teaching.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Johnson  have  three  children:  Philip  0.  C. ;  and  Maxwell 
and  Maxlne,  twins.     All  were  born  in  McHenry  county,  North  Dakota. 

Dr.  Johnson  is  a  republican  but  has  never  sought  or  desired  office.  He  and  his  wife  be- 
long to  the  Synod  Lutheran  church  and  take  a  most  active  and  helpful  part  in  the  church 
work.  He  is  a  charter  inember  of  the  United  Workmen  lodge  at  Watford  City  and  he  be- 
longs to  the  Kotana  Medical  Association,  the  North  Dakota  Medical  Association  and  the 
American  Medical  Association,  thus  keeping  in  close  touch  with  the  trend  of  modern  thought 
and  investigation  in  the  line  of  his  profession.  He  is  indeed  a  deep  student  of  the  science 
of  medicine  and  has  broad  and  comprehensive  knowledge  of  those  principles  upon  which  the 
laws  of  health  are  based.  His  ability  is  now  being  recognized  in  a  growing  practice  and  his 
success  is  well  deserved. 


GUSTAVUS  E.  STROMBERG,  :\I.  D. 

Dr.  Gustavus  E.  Stromberg,  a  prominent  physician  and  surgeon  of  Langdon,  was  born 
in  Gottenburg,  Sweden,  on  the  7th  of  May,  1884,  a  son  of  John  A.  and  Charlotte  (Anderson) 
Stromberg,  who  brought  their  family  to  America  in  1887  and  located  in  Chicago,  Illinois. 
The  father  has  now  reached  the  age  of  sixty-three  years  and  stiJl  resides  in  Chicago.  The 
mother  is  fifty  years  of  age.  In  order  of  birth  their  children  are  as  follows:  Joseph, 
who  is  a  physician  of  Chicago;  Gustavus  E.,  of  this  review;  Bertha,  of  Chicago;  Benjamin, 
who  is  now  attending  the  medical  department  of  the  University  of  Illinois;  and  Morris, 
also  of   Chicago. 

In  the  public  schools  of  that  city  Gustavus  E.  Stromberg  acquired  his  early  education 
and  later  entered  the  Harvey  College  of  Applied  Sciences,  from  which  he  was  gra<luated  in 
1904.  Having  determined  to  engage  in  the  practice  of  medicine  he  next  matriculated  at 
the  College  of  Physicians  and  Surgeons  in  Chicago,  where  he  was  graduated  in  1909  with 
the  degree  of  M.  D,,  and  then  became  interne  in  Covenant  Hospital  at  Chicago,  Illinois. 
Since  then  he  has  engaged  in  private  practice  and  is  today  one  of  the  leading  representa- 
tives of  the  medical  profession  in  Cavalier  county,  having  become  a  resident  of  Langdon 
in  February,  1911,  He  owns  and  operates  the  Langdon  Hospital,  which  he  established  and 
which  he  conducts  on  a  high  plane.  It  is  equipped  with  all  modern  appliances  for  medical 
and  surgical  work  and   also  for  the  comfort  of  the  patients. 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  711 

On  tlio  22(1  of  October,  I'JOS,  in  Chicago,  Dr.  Slronibcrg  nuirricil  ilis.s  Celia  \crcna 
Gage,  a  liangliter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  William  Gage,  of  Michigan,  and  they  now  have  two 
children;  both  born  in  Langdon,  namely:  Murray  Gage,  born  July  20,  1913;  and  Char- 
lotte Margaret,  born   November   10,  1914. 

Dr.  .Stroniberg  keeps  thoroughly  up-to-date  in  his  profession  and  on  three  different 
occasions  has  taken  i)ost  graduate  courses  in  Chicago.  Although  engaged  in  general  prac- 
tice he  gives  considerable  attention  to  surgery  and  ranks  among  the  best  surgeons  in  his 
part  of  the  state.  He  is  still  a  member  of  the  Chicago  Medical  Society  and  also  belongs 
to  the  American  Medical  Association.  On  the  republican  ticket  he  was  elected  coroner  of 
Cavalier  county  and  has  ably  filled  that  office.  (Socially  he  is  identified  with  the  Masonic 
fraternity  and  the  Benevolent  Protective  Order  of  Klks.  He  is  practically  a  self-made  man 
who  worked  his  way  through  medical  college  and  the  prominence  he  has  attained  in  his 
profession  is  therefore  the  more  creditable.  In  every  relation  of  life  has  been  found 
honorable  and  upright  and  he  has  made  a  host  of  warm  friends  since  coming  to  North 
Dakota. 


F.  A.  L.  WANNER. 


1''.  A.  L.  Wanner,  now  successfully  engaged  in  the  real  estate  business  in  Dickinson,  has 
for  several  years  been  prominently  identified  with  the  colonization  of  different  portions  of 
the  state  and  in  this  way  has  done  much  for  its  development  and  upbuilding.  He  is  a 
native  of  Canada,  born  March  2,  1890,  and  is  a  son  of  F.  X.  and  Appolina  (Aman)  Wanner, 
who  are  still  living  in  Canada,  where  the  father  carries  on  operations  as  a  rancher  and 
mill   owner. 

F.  A.  L.  Wanner  obtained  his  education  in  the  public  and  high  schools  of  Canada  and 
for  a  time  managed  the  business  of  his  father.  Subsequently  he  taught  school  for  three 
years  and  for  six  months  was  in  charge  of  the  normal  course  in  the  high  school  of  Regina, 
Canada.  Daring  the  following  two  years  he  was  engaged  in  the  general  merchandise  busi- 
ness in  Prussia,  Canada,  and  then  engaged  in  the  colonization  of  that  district,  his  colony 
being  known  as  the  St.  Francis  colony.  He  took  an  active  part  in  organizing  the  Canadian 
Grain  Growers  Associations  and  the  Volksverein.  For  one  year  he  was  interested  in  the 
real  estate  business  in  Regina  and  later  engaged  in  the  same  business  at  St.  Paul.  Minne- 
sota, before  coming  to  Dickinson,  North  Dakota,  in  1916.  Here  his  attention  is  also 
devoted  to  real  estate  operations  and  he  is  taking  an  active  interest  in  colonizing  Stark 
county.  At  the  present  time  Mr.  Wanner  is  organizing  the  Northwest  Co-Operative  Realty 
Company,  establishing  real  estate  agencies  in  every  progressive  town  and  training  efficient 
real  estate  men  to  handle  this  business  in  a  profitable  way.  He  is  a  very  progressive, 
far-sighted  biisiness  man  and  is  meeting  with  excellent  success  in  his  undertakings.  Mr. 
Wanner  is  an  ardent  repiiblican  in  politics  and  is  a  consistent  member  of  the  Catholic 
church  and  the  Knights  of  Columbus. 


FREDKRlCIv  OLAF  LARSON. 

Frederick  Olaf  Larson,  manager  and  editor  of  the  Souris  Messenger  of  Souris.  was 
born  at  Decorah,  Iowa,  February  1,  1886,  a  son  of  Henry  N.  and  Hilda  N.  Larson.  The 
father,  who  was  of  Norwegian  descent,  died  at  the  age  of  sixty  years,  and  his  father  passed 
away  at  the  age  of  eighty-six  and  his  mother  when  seventy-four  years  of  age.  Mrs.  Hilda 
Larson  yet  survives  at  the  age  of  sixty-six.  Her  father  died  when  he  was  ninety  years 
of  age  and  her  mother  is  still  living  at  the  age  of  more  than  ninety.  Frederick  O.  Larson 
has  five  sisters  who  survive. 

In  the  public  schools  of  Decorah,  Frederick  0.  Larson  pursued  his  education  and  tlien 
entered  upon  his  business  career  in  the  line  in  which  he  has  always  continued.  He  made 
his  start  as  platen-press  feeder  with  the  Standard  Printing  Company  of  Decorah  and 
remained   in  that  office   for  about  three  months,  after  which  he  secured  a   better   position 


712  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

with  the  Lucheian  Publisliing  House,  there  continuing  for  a  year,  feeding  piateu  and  cylin- 
der presses.  Upon  the  removal  of  the  Standard  Printing  Company  to  Moline,  Illinois,  he 
reentered  their  employ  but  continued  for  only  four  months.  Ke  was  then  offered  and 
accepted  a  position  with  the  Deoorah  Posten,  remaining  for  nearly  four  years,  worknig 
on  platen,  cylinder  ana  Goss  presses  and  also  at  the  type  cases  to  some  extent.  From 
Decorah  he  removed  to  Starbuck,  Minnesota,  where  he  had  charge  of  the  mechanical  end 
of  the  Times  and  later  he  leased  the  paper,  which  he  continued  to  publish  for  one  year. 
He  was  afterward  engaged  in  the  land  and  insurance  business  for  a  year  and  then  removed 
to  Havana,  Nortli  Dakota,  where  he  took  charge  of  the  Union,  spending  about  five  months 
in  that  position.  He  was  then  called  home  on  account  of  the  serious  illness  of  his  father, 
who  passed  away  a  few  days  later. 

Mr.  Larson  then  returned  to  Havana,  closed  out  his  affaiis  there  and  again  took  up 
his  abode  at  Decorah,  entering  the  ofgce  of  the  Public  Opinion.  While  thus  engaged  lie 
set  up  most  of  the  advertisements,  running  from  eight  to  twenty  pages  and  occasionally 
did  some  job  work.  He  was  afterward  foreman  on  the  Decorah  Journal  until  August  6, 
1914,  when  he  arrived  in  Souris  to  take  charge  of  the  office  of  which  he  has  since  had 
charge.  In  this  connection  he  has  developed  one  of  the  best  printing  offices  of  Bottineau 
county.  At  first  his  business  was  hardly  enough  to  pay  his  wages,  but  he  has  developed 
the  interests  of  the  office  until  work  is  now  secured  from  all  surrounding  towns.  He  has 
done  work  for  the  Eev.  J.  L.  Eedal,  of  Souris;  Rev.  Fr.  T.  J.  Eagleston,  of  Westhope,  North 
Dakota;  Cashier  P.  B.  Peterson,  of  Landa,  North  Dakota;  Postmaster  Cliarnholm,  of 
Roth,  North  Dakota;  Cashier  N.  B.  Arveson,  of  Carbury,  North  Dakota;  County  Auditor 
Hebert;  County  Treasurer  Glomscth;  Register  of  Deeds  Joseph  Quamme;  Sherill'  McLean, 
of  Bottineau,  North  Dakota;  Attorney  John  E.  Martin,  of  Maxbass,  North  Dakota;  Butcher 
George  Butz,  of  Kramer,  North  Dakota;  and  N.  Magnuson,  secretary-treasurer  of  the 
Mutual  Fire  and  Telephone  Companies  of  Souris,  Bottineau  county.  North  Dakota.  The 
nature  of  this  patronage  indicates  that  the  work  done  in  the  office  is  first-class  in  every 
particular  and  the  development  of  the  business  is  attributable  largely  to  the  efforts,  ability 
and  enterprise  of  Mr.  Larson. 

In  religious  faith  Mr.  Larson  is  connected  with  the  United  Lutheran  chinch  and  at 
Starbuck,  Minnesota,  served  for  a  year  and  a  half  as  deacon.  He  belongs  to  the  Modern 
Woodmen  of  America  and  the  Brotherhood  of  Yeomen  and  his  political  allegiance  is  given 
to  the  republican  party.  A  young  man  of  enterprise,  perseverance  and  determination,  he 
has  gradually  advanced  in  his  chosen  field  of  labor,  his  success  being  the  legitimate  outcome 
of  his  efforts. 


CHARLES  MacLACHLAN,  M.  D. 

New  Rockford  has  no  more  distinguished  citizen  than  Dr.  Cliarles  MacLachlan,  who 
has  not  only  gained  high  rank  in  his  profession  but  has  also  been  prominently  identified 
with  business  and  public  affairs.  He  was  born  in  Erin,  Ontario,  Canada,  July  13,  1861,  and 
is  a  son  of  Malcolm  and  Christina  (MacDonald)  MacLachlan,  both  natives  of  Scotland,  who 
as  children  removed  to  Canada  with  their  respective  parents  and  were  married  in  the 
Dominion.  They  located  on  a  farm  which  the  father  operated  until  called  from  this  life 
in  1884  at  the  age  of  sixty-six  j'ears.  The  mother  is  still  living  and  makes  her  home  in 
Chatham,   Ontario. 

During  his  boyhood  and  youth  Dr.  MacLachlan  attended  the  public  and  high  schools 
of  Ontario,  and  having  determined  to  become  a  physician  he  entered  the  medical  department 
of  the  University  of  Toronto  in  the  fall  of  1885  and  was  graduated  from  that  institution 
with  the  class  of  1889,  the  degree  of  M.  B.  being  conferred  upon  him.  Immediately  following 
his  graduation  he  came  to  New  Rockford,  North  Dakota,  having  previously  visited  this 
section  of  the  state  in  1883,  when  it  was  still  a  territory.  At  that  time  the  land  had  not 
been  surveyed  and  he  took  a  squatter's  claim  near  the  present  town  of  Brinsmade,  Benson 
county,  but  that  summer  the  survey  was  made  and  Dr.  MacLachlan  filed  on  Ids  claim  as 
a  ])reemption,  subsequently  proving  up  on  it.     He  held  that  property  until  about  1904. 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  715 

After  locating  in  Xcw  Kdikldicl  lu>  cntcrod  upon  the  practice  of  his  profession  and  is 
today  one  of  tlie  leading  practitioners  of  the  state.  About  1897  he  became  identified  with 
tlie  banking  business,  buying  an  interest  in  the  Bank  of  New  Rockford,  and  he  was  made 
vice  ijresid^nt  of  the  institution,  but  in  1904  he  sold  his  stock  and  two  years  later  was  the 
prinu!  factor  in  the  organization  of  the  Farmers  &  Merchants  Bank.  For  certain  reasons 
he  did  not  care  to  serve  in  an  ollicial  capacity  until  two  years  later,  when  he  was  clioscn 
president  of  the  bank  and  has  since  tilled  that  responsible  position.  He  is  a  heavy  holder  of 
farm  lands  in  Eddy,  Foster  an<l  Kidder  counties,  owning  at  the  present  time  more  than 
two  thousand  acres. 

In  1902  Dr.  MacLachlan  was  united  in  marriage  to  Jliss  Ktta  Patterson  of  Wahpeton, 
North  Dakota,  and  to  them  have  been  born  foiu-  children,  of  whom  three  survive,  namely: 
Kathryn,  JIarjorie  and  .Jean.  The  Doctor  and  his  wife  are  members  of  the  Congregational 
cluucli  and  he  is  alliliatcd  with  Cent\n-y  Lodge.  A.  F.  &  A.  M.,  of  which  he  is  now  treasurer. 
He  is  a  life  member  of  Dakota  Consistory,  No.  1,  A.  &  A.  S.  R.;  is  a  noble  of  El  Zagal  Temple 
of  the  Mystic  Shrine;  and  also  belongs  to  the  Ancient  Order  of  United  Workmen  and  the 
Yeomen.  In  politics  he  is  an  ardent  republican.  His  skill  and  ability  as  a  physician  and 
surgeon  are  widely  recognized  and  he  occupies  a  foremost  position  among  his  professional 
brethren.  He  was  called  upon  to  serve  as  a  member  of  the  first  state  board  of  medical 
examiners  and  filled  that  position  for  four  years,  while  for  the  same  length  of  time  he 
was  vice  president  of  the  state  board  of  health.  About  1897  he  was  appointed  to  the  board 
of  trustees  of  the  State  Hosjiital  for  the  Insane  and  served  in  that  capacity  one  term.  He 
also  represented  his  district  in  the  state  legislature  in  1895-6,  and  for  sixteen  years  was 
surgeon  general  of  the  National  Guard.  Dr.  MacLachlan  is  one  of  the  leading  members  of 
the  Tri-County  Medical  Society,  of  which  he  was  the  first  president,  and  is  one  of  the 
most  prominent  members  of  the  North  Dakota  State  Medical  Society,  of  which  he  w^aa 
elected  presiilent  in  1911.  He  was  a  delegate  to  the  American  Medical  Association  in  1916 
and  has  served  as  surgeon  for  the  Great  Northern  and  the  Northern  Pacific  Railroads  since 
locating  in  New  Rockford.  He  has  always  been  a  foremost  figure  in  civic  affairs  and  for 
four  years  he  served  as  president  of  the  Commercial  Club  of  New  Rockford,  while  at 
the  present  time  he  is  president  of  the  State  Capital  Removal  Association.  His  support 
and  coo|)eration  can  always  be  depended  upon  to  further  any  enterprise  for  the  public  good 
and  I^hly  county  has  no  more  public-spirited  or  progressive  citizen  than  Dr.  MacLachlan. 


FREDERiaC  F.  WALZ. 


Frederick  F.  Walz.  cashier  of  the  State  Bank  of  Egeland,  North  Dakota,  and  one  of 
the  leading  citizens  of  that  place,  was  born  on  the  2d  of  September,  1880,  in  St.  Joseph, 
Minnesota,  and  is  a  son  of  Michael  and  Margaret  (Merklcr)  Walz,  both  natives  of  Germany. 
When  a  young  man  the  father  came  to  the  United  States  and  located  near  Oiicago,  Illinois, 
where  he  purchased  land,  which  subsequently  advanced  rapidly  in  value.  On  selling  out  he 
removed  to  Stearns  county,  Minnesota,  where  he  homesteaded  and  also  bovight  land,  becom- 
ing a  heavy  landholder  in  that  state.     There  he  died  at  the  advanced  age  of  ninety  years. 

Frederick  F.  Walz  completed  his  education  at  St.  John's  College  in  Collegeville,  Minne- 
sota, and  at  the  St.  Cloud  Nornuil  School.  As  early  as  his  sixteenth  year  he  began  teach- 
ing school,  being  required,  however,  to  secure  a  special  permit  to  teach  before  the  age  of 
eighteen.  As  the  compensation  was  not  great  in  that  profession,  he  resolved  to  turn  his 
attention  to  some  other  line  of  endeavor  and  in  1898  he  entered  the  State  Bank  of  Perham, 
Minnesota,  where  he  worked  the  first  six  months  for  his  board  in  order  to  learn  something  of 
the  business,  and  for  seven  years  was  an  employe  in  the  State  Bank  of  Perham. 

In  the  fall  of  1904,  Mr.  Walz  resigned  as  assistant  cashier  of  that  institution  and  re- 
movcrl  to  Valley  City,  North  Dakota,  where  he  served  the  American  National  Bank  in  a 
similar  capacity  for  about  a  year.  In  the  fall  of  1905  he  became  a  resident  of  Egeland  and 
assisted  in  organizing  the  State  Bank  of  Egeland,  of  which  he  was  made  cashier,  since 
serving  in  that  important  position.  At  the  present  time  he  and  his  wife  own  ninety  per 
cent  of  the  stock,  which  they   purchased   within  three  years  after  the  organization  of  the 

Viil    III— 33 


716  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

bank.  Mr.  Walz  is  a  most  able  financier,  a  man  of  sound  judgment  and  good  business 
ability  and  to  these  attributes  may  be  attributed  his  success  in  his  chosen  field  of  labor. 
He  is  an  enthusiastic  horticulturist,  havmg  a  fine  orchard  of  crabapples,  plums,  cherries,  etc., 
and  also  flowers  upon  his  place,  which  covers  about  an  acre  in  Egeland.  He  is  also  raising 
white  Wyandotte  chickens  and  takes  great  interest  in  his  home  and  its  surroundings. 

On  the  17th  of  February,  1908,  Mr.  Walz  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Agnes  G.  Pan- 
cratz,  of  Perham,  Minnesota,  and  they  have  become  the  parents  of  four  children,  three  of 
whom  are  living:  Genevieve  A.,  Margaret  B.  and  Helen  E.  He  is  one  of  the  representative 
business  men  of  his  town  and  is  widely  and  favorably  known  throughout  Towner  county. 


ARTHUR  GILBERT  JACOBSON. 

Sincere  regret  was  felt  throughout  Lisbon  and  Ransom  county  when  the  news  of  tlie 
death  of  Arthur  Gilbert  Jacobson  was  received,  for  he  had  been  a  substantial  citizen  and 
business  man,  highly  esteemed  by  all  with  whom  he  came  in  contact.  He  was  born  in 
Hickson,  North  Dakota,  January  33,  1884,  a  son  of  George  and  Mary  (Blilie)  Jacobson, 
both  of  whom  were  of  American  birth,  and  throughout  the  period  of  his  active  business 
life  the  father  has  resided  in  Hickson,  devoting  his  attention  to  farming  and  real  estate 
dealing.     His  wife  passed  away  in   1913. 

In  a  family  of  eight  children  Arthur  Gilbert  Jacobson  was  the  third  in  order  of  birth. 
He  was  reared  in  his  native  town  and  pursued  his  education  in  its  public  schools  and  at 
Aakers  Business  College  in  Fargo.  Following  his  marriage  he  removed  to  F'ort  Ransom, 
where  he  arrived  on  the  25th  of  August,  1907.  He  was  at  that  time  made  cashier  of  the 
Fort  Ransom  State  Bank,  having  previously  had  two  years'  experience  along  that  line  as 
assistant  cashier  of  a  bank  in  Hickson.  He  remained  as  cashier  until  his  death,  which 
occurred  on  the  2d  of  March,  1914,  when  he  was  but  thirty  years  of  age.  His  busi- 
ness ability  and  his  enterprise  had  been  large  contributing  factors  to  the  success  of  the 
bank  and  he  was  widely  recognized  as  a  progressive  and  po[n:lar  business  man. 

Mr.  Jacobson  was  married  August  14,  1907,  to  Miss  Lena  Nelson,  who  was  born  in 
Comstock,  Minnesota,  March  35,  1885,  and  there  obtained  her  education  and  made  her  home 
until  her  marriage.  She  was  a  daughter  of  Ole  and  Ingabore  (Bernhardson)  Nelson,  who 
are  still  living  at  Comstock,  the  father  devoting  his  attention ,  and  energies  to  general 
agricultural  pursuits.  Their  family  numbered  eiglit  children,  of  whom  Mrs.  Jacobson  is 
the  eldest,  and  by  her  marriage  she  became  the  mother  of  two  children,  namely:  Olive 
Gladys,  born  July  25,  1908;  and  lola  Margaret,  whose  birth  occurred  July  23,  1909.  At  the 
death  of  her  husband  Mrs.  .Jacobson  was  elected  vice  president  of  the  bank  and  still  occu- 
pies that  position.  For  seven  years  Mr.  Jacobson  was  actively  connected  with  the  busi- 
ness interests  of  Fort  Ransom  and  during  that  period  gained  the  warm  friendship  and 
regard  of  all  with  whom  he  had  dealings,  for  he  possessed  many  sterling  traits  of  character 
and  was   always   considerate  of  the  rights   and  feelings   of   others. 


GUSTAVE  BRECKE. 


The  business  interests  of  Cavalier  county  have  a  worthy  representative  in  Gustave 
Brecke,  who  is  today  one  of  the  leading  citizens  of  Milton.  His  early  home  was  on  the 
other  side  of  the  Atlantic,  for  he  was  born  in  Norway,  August  27,  1852,  and  in  that  country 
his  parents,  Ole  G.  and  Boel  (Hoff)  Brecke,  continued  to  reside  throughout  life.  The  father, 
who  was  a  carpenter  and  farmer  by  occupation,  died  in  1897  at  the  age  of  seventy-two  years, 
and  the  mother  passed  away  in  1870  at  the  age  of  forty-four  j-cars.  The  father  was  married 
a  second  time. 

By  tlie  first  union  there  were  eight  children,  of  whom  Gustave  Brecke  is  the  oldest.  As 
a  boy  he  attended  school  in  Norway  and  also  took  private  instruction  in  languages  and  com- 
mercial pursuits,  after  which  he  was  engaged  in  office  work  and  in  the  timber  and  shipping 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  717 

business.  It  was  in  ISSO  tliat  lie  crossed  tlie  occun  to  the  new  world  and  located  in  Chip- 
|)ewa  l-'alls,  Wisconsin,  where  he  was  engaged  in  niereliandising  for  four  years.  The  year 
IShl  witnessed  his  arrival  in  North  Dokata,  stopping  first  at  Thief  River  Falls,  where  he 
traded  with  the  Indians,  but  in  1885  he  located  at  Park  River,  where  he  clerked  in  a  store 
until  his  removal  to  Jlilton  in  1887.  He  has  since  made  his  home  at  that  place  and  has 
been  identified  with  various  enterprises.  Mr.  Brecke  is  now  successfully  engaged  in  the  real 
estate  and  loan  business,  is  president  of  the  Farmers  Elevator  Company  of  Milton,  is  vice 
president  of  the  State  Bank  at  that  place,  and  director  of  the  Bank  of  Fairdale,  North 
Dakota.  His  business  interests  have  been  most  carefully  managed  and  prosperity  has  come 
to  him  as  the  years  have  gone  by,  making  him  one  of  the  well-to-do  men  of  his  community. 

Mr.  Brecke  was  married  at  Chippew^a  Falls,  Wisconsin,  February  23,  1883,  to  Miss 
Carrie  Lee, Who  was  born  in  Norway  in  1863  but  was  only  seven  years  of  age  when  brought 
to  this  country  by  her  parents,  John  and  Carrie  Lee,  the  family  locating  in  Renville  county, 
Minnesota.  Of  the  four  children  born  to  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Brecke  only  one  is  living,  Olga 
Marie,  who  was  born  in  Milton,  January  11,  1901,  and  is  now  attending  high  school.  Oscar 
Lee,  died  in  1888  at  the  age  of  five  and  a  half  years;  Nora  Johanna,  died  in  1891  at  the  age 
of  two  years;  and  Nora  Johanna,  the  second  of  that  name,  died  in  1899  at  the  age  of  eight 
years. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Brecke  are  earnest  and  consistent  members  of  the  Lutheran  church  and 
he  is  now  serving  as  secretary  of  the  congregation.  The  democratic  party  finds  in  him  a 
stanch  supporter  of  its  principles  and  in  the  early  days  of  Milton  he  served  on  the  town 
board,  while  at  the  present  time  he  is  president  of  the  board  of  education.  His  varied 
business  interests,  however,  leave  him  but  little  time  for  outside  interests.  He  is  the  owner 
of  considerable  farm  property  and  the  success  that  has  come  to  him  is  due  entirely  to  his 
own  unaided  efforts.  Being  an  enterprising  business  man  of  far  more  than  ordinary  ability, 
he  has  steadily  worked  his  way  upward  to  affluence  and  today  ranks  with  the  substantial 
citizens  of  Cavalier  county. 


CARL  I.  ROLLEFSON,  M.  D. 

Dr.  Carl  I.  Rollefson,  the  pioneer  physician  of  Ambrose,  was  born  at  Granite  Falls, 
Yellow  Medicine  county,  Minnesota,  November  30,  1878,  a  son  of  I.  K.  and  Enni  (Erickson) 
Rollefson.  The  father  was  a  native  of  Norway  and  when  but  seven  years  of  age  was 
brought  to  America  by  his  parents,  who  settled  in  Fillmore  county,  Minnesota,  and  after- 
ward removed  to  Yellow  Medicine  county,  where  the  father  engaged  in  farming  in  the 
vicinity  of  Granite  Falls.  There  he  carried  on  agi-icultural  pursuits  for  many  years.  He  was 
also  a  merchant  at  Granite  Falls  but  in  1909  retired  from  active  business  life  and  removed 
to  Washington,  where  he  passed  away  December  25,  1913.  His  wife  is  a  native  of  \Vis- 
eonsin  but  went  to  Minnesota  prior  to  her  marriage,  which  was  celebrated  in  Fillmore 
county,  that  state.     She  survives  her  husband  and  is  now  living  in  Everett,  Washington. 

Dr.  Rollefson  obtained  his  preliminary  education  in  the  district  schools  near  Granite 
Falls  and  afterward  attended  St.  Olaf's  College  at  Northfield,  Minnesota,  completing  the 
work  of  the  freshman  year.  Later  he  entered  the  State  University  as  a  medical  student 
and  was  there  graduated  in  1903  with  the  degree  of  M.  D.  He  afterward  filled  the  position 
of  interne  in  the  Norwegian  Deaconess  Hospital  at  Chicago,  Illinois,  and  in  1904  he  removed 
to  Portal.  North  Dakota,  where  he  engaged  in  the  practice  of  his  profession  for  a  year  and 
a  half.  With  the  establishment  of  the  town  of  Ambrose  in  1906  he  removed  there,  becom- 
ing its  pioneer  physician,  and  in  the  intervening  period  he  has  enjoyed  a  liberal  practice 
as  the  town  has  grown  ranidly  owing  to  the  development  of  this  section  of  the  country. 
He  keeps  in  close  touch  with  the  onward  march  of  progress  made  by  the  medical  profession 
and  he  has  done  considerable  post  graduate  work  in  Chicago  clinics.  Ha  practices  both 
medicine  and  surgery  and  his  marked  ability  is  indicated  in  the  liberal  patronage  accorded 
him.  He  is  most  conscientious  in  the  performance  of  his  professional  duties  and  broad 
reading  and  investigation  keep  him  in  close  touch  with  all  that  modern  research  is  bringing 
to  light. 


718  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

On  the  Sth  of  Jaiuiaiy,  11)08,  at  Ambrose,  Dr.  RoUefson  was  united  in  marriage  to 
Miss  Marie  Tlionipson,  who  was  born  in  Fillmore  county,  Minnesota,  and  was  there  reared. 
Her  parents,  Andrew  and  Sophia   (Swenson)  Thompson,  were  early  settlers  of  Minnesota.      ' 

Dr.  and  Mrs.  Rollefson  hold  membership  in  the  Lutheran  church  and  he  also  has  mem- 
bership with  the  Sons  of  Norway  at  Ambrose.  His  political  allegiance  is  given  to  the  re- 
publican party  and  he  keeps  well  informed  on  the  questions  and  issues  of  the  day  but  he  does 
not  seek  nor  desire  office  for  he  prefers  to  give  his  undivided  attention  to  his  professional 
interests,  which  are  now  extensive  and  make  heavy  demands  upon  his  time  and  energies. 


CHARLES  A.  JACOBSON. 


Charles  A.  Jacobson  has  not  only  been  an  important  factor  in  the  development  and 
improvement  of  McKenzie  county  but  has  also  been  prominently  identified  with  public 
affairs,  having  been  called  upon  to  serve  in  several  official  positions  of  honor  and  trust. 
He  now  makes  his  home  in  Alexander  and  is  at  the  head  of  the  firm  of  C.  A.  Jacobson  & 
Sons,  dealers  in  farm  implements,  machinery  and  hardware. 

Mr.  Jacobson  was  born  in  Scandinavia,  Waupaca  county,  Wisconsin,  October  23,  1861, 
and  is  a  son  of  Andrew  and  Anna  (Olstad)  Jacobson,  natives  of  Norway.  The  father  was 
twenty  years  of  age  when  he  came  to  this  country  with  his  parents  and  located  near 
Scandinavia,  Wisconsin,  the  family  being  very  early  settlers  of  Waupaca  county.  When 
the  Civil  war  broke  out  he  enlisted  in  the  Forty- seventh  Wisconsin  Volunteer  Infantry  and 
took  part  in  many  hotly  contested  engagements.  On  receiving  his  discharge  from  the  army 
he  returned  to  Scandinavia,  where  he  died  at  the  age  of  forty  years  from  disease  contracted 
in  the  service,  thus  laying  down  his  life  for  his  adopted  country.  His  wife  was  sixteen 
years  of  age  when  she  emigrated  to  America  and  became  a  resident  of  Waupaca  county 
Wisconsin,  where  they  were  married.  After  his  death  she  continued  to  live  on  the  old 
home  farm  in  that  county  until  1882,  when  she  took  her  family  to  Grafton,  North  Dakota, 
and  settled  on  a  farm,  where  she  passed  away  in  1885. 

In  the  county  of  his  nativity  Charles  A.  Jacobson  grew  to  manhood  and  was  educated 
in  much  the  usual  manner  of  farmer  boys.  He  accompanied  the  family  on  their  removal 
to  Grafton,  North  Dakota,  in  1882  and  preempted  land  near  what  is  now  Pokin  in  Nelson 
county  but  at  that  time  formed  a  part  of  Walsh  county.  He  was  appointed  deputy  sheriff 
of  the  latter  county  by  Gunder  Olson,  then  sheriff  of  the  county,  and  served  in  that  capacity 
from  1886  to  1892.  Mr.  Jacobson  was  then  elected  sheriff  and  filled  that  office  for  two 
terms  of  two  years  each,  his  former  service  as  deputy  well  fitting  him  for  that  position. 
He  also  served  as  chief  of  police  in  the  city  of  Grafton  for  a  time. 

In  the  meantime  Mr.  Jacobson  had  become  interested  in  cattle  ranching  in  McKenzie 
county  and  in  1890  moved  his  family  to  the  old  Fort  Buford  military  reservation,  where  he 
took  up  a  homestead.  He  engaged  in  cattle  raising  on  an  extensive  scale,  his  rancli  being 
located  on  the  Yellowstone  river,  and  he  continued  to  give  the  business  his  personal  super- 
vision until  1906,  when  he  was  elected  sheriff  of  McKenzie  county,  serving  in  that  capacity 
for  two  terms.  Later  he  was  appointed  deputy  warden  of  the  state  penitentiary  at 
Bismarck  and  discharged  the  duties  of  that  position  until  February,  1915,  when  he  resigned 
in  order  to  engage  in  business  at  Alexander,  McKenzie  county,  in  partnership  with  his 
two  sons  under  the  name  of  C.  A.  Jacobson  &  Sons.  They  deal  in  hardware  and  farm 
implements  and  have  already  built  up  an  excellent  trade,  which  is  constantly  increasing. 
Mr.  Jacobson  still  owns  his  homestead  and  other  land  in  McKenzie  county  and  is  vice 
president   of   the    Scandinavian-American    Bank    of    Alexander. 

At  Decorah,  Iowa,  March  IS,  1890,  was  celebrated  the  marriage  of  ifr.  .Jacoljson  and 
Miss  Caroline  Gullickson,  who  was  born  and  reared  on  a  farm  near  Ridgeway  in  Winneshiek 
county,  Iowa.  Her  parents,  Gullick  Mogen  and  Aase  Olson  Oicn,  were  natives  of  Norway  but 
became  early  settlers  of  Winneshiek  county,  Iowa,  where  they  grew  to  manhood  and 
womanhood  and  were  married.  Both  are  now  deceased.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Jacobson  have  two 
children,  both  born  in  Grafton,  North  Dakota,  and  now  in  business  with  their  father.     The 


CHARLES  A.  JACOBSON 


'THE  NEW  yCRA 
PUBLIC  LIBRARY 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  721 

elder    son,   Elmer    Ci.,   was   born    December    3,    1892,    and    married    Miss    Bessie   George    of 
Princeton,  Minnesota.     Walter  F.,  the  younger  son,  was  born  November   12,   ls9r>. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Jacobson  hold  membership  in  the  United  Lutheran  church,  and  he  is  also 
a  member  of  the  Ancient  Order  of  United  Workmen  and  the  Independent  Order  of 
Foresters.  In  politics  he  is  an  ardent  republican,  and  in  addition  to  the  offices  already 
mentioned  he  served  as  game  warden  of  Walsh  county.  Xo  trust  reposed  in  him  has  ever 
been  betrayed  and  he  has  proved  a  very  popular  public  olTuial  as  well  as  an  efficient  one. 
He  is  widely  known  and  has  many  stanch  and  admiring  friends  in  McKenzie  and  Walsh 
counties. 


GUDJIUXD  J.  GISLASON,  B.  A.,  M.  D. 

Dr.  Gudmund  J.  Gislason,  specializing  in  his  practice  in  the  treatment  of  diseases  of  the 
eye,  ear,  nose  and  throat,  was  born  in  the  northern  part  of  Iceland,  .lanuary  21,  1877,  a  son 
of  Jon  and  Siun  Gislason.  The  parents  came  to  North  Dakota  in  188,3,  and  the  father  en- 
gaged in  farming  in  Pembina  county,  where  he  remained  until  his  death  in  1892,  when  he 
was  sixty-two  years  of  age.  His  wife  passed  away  in  the  same  county  in  1915  at  the  age 
of  seventy-three  years.  In  their  family  were  five  children;  three  sons,  Thorsteinn,  Gudmund 
and  John  Magnus;  and  two  daughters,  Odny  and  Mrs.  J.  S.  Gillis. 

Dr.  Gislason  supplemented  his  public  school  education,  acquired  in  North  Dakota,  by 
studv  in  the  University  of  Manitoba  and  later  in  the  University  of  North  Dakota,  from 
which  he  graduated  with  the  degree  of  Bachelor  of  Arts.  He  pursued  a  course  in  medicine  in 
Chicago  and  in  190+  located  at  Grand  Forks,  whore  he  has  since  practiced  his  profession. 
He  went  abroad  for  post  graduate  work  in  London,  Edinburgh,  Copenhagen  and  \'ienna, 
studying  in  Europe  for  three  years,  during  which  time  he  specialized  in  the  diseases  of  the 
eye,  ear,  nose  and  throat,  to  which  his  practice  is  now  limited.  He  has  received  a  liberal 
patronage  from  an  extensive  territory  botli  within  and  outside  the  state. 

Fraternally  Dr.  Gislason  has  attained  high  rank  in  the  Masonic  order  and  is  a  member 
of  the  Mystic  Shrine.  He  is  also  a  member  of  the  Knights  of  Pythias  and  the  Sons  of  Nor- 
way. He  belongs  to  the  Grand  Fofks '  District  Medical  Society,  the  North  Dakota  State 
Medical  Society,  the  American  Medical  Association  and  several  other  medical  societies. 


FREDERia-C  J.  REHER. 


Frederick  J.  Reher,  who  is  now  filling  the  position  of  county  superintendent  of  schools 
in  Cavalier  county  and  makes  his  home  in  Langdon,  was  born  on  the  8th  of  April,  1888,  in 
Gene-seo,  Illinois,  his  parents  being  George  and  Henrietta  (Tehn)  Reher,  both  natives  of 
what  is  now  Germany  but  originally  was  a  part  of  Denmark.  About  1871  they  came  to  the 
United  States  and  located  in  Illinois.  For  some  years  the  father  followed  farming  and  then 
turned  his  attention  to  the  milling  business.  He  is  still  living  at  the  age  of  seventy  years 
and  the  mother  has  reached  the  age  of  si.xtyeiglit. 

Frederick  J.  Reher  is  ne.xt  to  the  youngest  in  a  family  of  seven  children  and  in  the 
common  schools  of  his  native  state  he  began  his  education.  After  coming  to  North  Dakota 
he  attended  the  Valley  City  Normal,  from  which  he  was  graduated  in  1907.  In  the  mean- 
time, however,  he  had  taught  in  the  rural  schools  of  Cavalier  county  and  then  returned  to 
the  normal  to  complete  his  course.  Subsequently  he  taught  for  three  years  in  Dickey.  North 
Dakota,  but  at  the  end  of  that  time  he  returned  to  Cavalier  county  and  was  engaged  in  the 
hardware  and  implement  business  at  Alsen  for  a  year  and  a  half.  Mr.  Reher  was  then 
elected  county  superintendent  of  schools  in  1914  and  removed  to  Langdon,  the  county  seat, 
to  enter  upon  the  duties  of  that  office.  So  acceptably  has  he  filled  that  position  that  in  the 
fall  of  1916  he  was  reelected  without  opposition.  Through  his  untiring  efforts  he  has  greatly 
promoted  the  efficiency  of  the  schools,  placing  them  on  a  par  with  any  in  the  state. 

On  the  6th  of  .Tuly.  1911,  in  Alsen,  North  Dakota,  Mr.  Reher  was  united  in  marriage 


722  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

to  Miss  Marie  Graber,  a  daugliter  of  Jacob  J.  Graber,  who  was  one  of  the  pioneers  of  Cav- 
alier county  and  is  now  vice  president  of  the  Farmers  State  Bank  of  Alsen.  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
Reher  have  two  children:  Arnold  Albert,  born  in  Dickey  in  1913;  and  Erwin  Paul,  born 
in  Langdon  in  1915. 

Mr.  Reher  is  a  republican  in  politics  and  is  a  member  of  the  Menonnite  church.  He  has 
been  one  of  the  most  popular  teachers  of  his  section  of  the  state  and  stands  high  in  edu- 
cational circles.  He  is  progressive  in  his  methods,  yet  practical  in  all  that  he  does,  and 
the  people  of  Cavalier  county  now  have  just  reason  to  be  proud  of  their  schools. 


HON.  GEORGE  M.  YOUNG. 


Hon.  George  M.  Young,  a  lawmaker  whose  record  in  tlie  state  legislature  as  representa- 
tive and  senator  and  in  congress  reflects  credit  and  honor  upon  the  district  which  has 
honored  him,  is  today  accounted  one  of  the  foremost  citizens  of  Barnes  county,  making 
his  home  in  Valley  City.  He  is  of  American  and  Scotch-Irish  ancestry.  He  was  born  at 
Lakelet,  Huron  county,  Ontario,  December  11,  1S70,  a  son  of  Richard  Young,  who  was 
engaged  in  the  lumber  business,  and  Jane  (Eaton)  Young,  who  was  a  member  of  the  old 
Eaton  familj-  of  St.  Lawrence  county.  New  Y'ork.  Following  the  death  of  her  husband 
she  removed  with  her  family  to  Michigan  and  passed  away  in  1896. 

George  M.  Y^oung  received  his  education  in  the  public  and  high  schools  at  St.  Charles, 
Michigan.  In  1888  he  removed  to  Minnesota  and  engaged  in  newspaper  work  in  Minne- 
apolis and  in  1889  moved  to  Casselton,  North  Dakota.  Later  he  became  a  student  in  the 
University  of  Minnesota  and  was  graduated  therefrom  with  the  class  of  1894.  He  then 
returned  to  North  Dakota,  opening  a  law  office  in  Valley  City.  In  1906  he  erected  the 
Young  block  in  Valley  City,  and  he  also  owns  one  of  Barnes  county's  good  farms. 

Mr.  Young  was  elected  to  represent  his  district  in  the  general  assembly  in  1898  and 
was  reelected  to  the  house  in  1900.  Two  years  later  he  was  made  state  senator  and  then 
retired  from  office  at  the  close  of  his  term  but  in  1912  his  fellow  townsmen  again  sought 
his  service  and  he  was  sent  to  congress.  His  personal  popularity  and  the  confidence  reposed 
in  him  are  indicated  in  the  fact  that  he  was  reelected  in  1914,  receiving  a  majority  of 
eleven  thousand  six  hundred  votes,  and  was  again  reelected  in  1916  by  a  majority  of  thir- 
teen thousand   nine  hundred  votes. 

In  Januarj',  1899,  Mr.  Y'oung  was  married  to  Miss  Augusta  L.  Freeman,  of  St.  Charles, 
Michigan,  a  daughter  of  Jared  and  Caroline  M.  (Adams)  Freeman,  the  latter  a  representa- 
tive of  the  Adams  family  of  Massachusetts.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Young  have  one  child,  Katherine 
Adams,  seven  years  old. 


WILLIAM  T.  WASSON. 


William  T.  Wasson,  who  in  February,  1916,  established  the  Kensal  Progress,  which 
paper  he  is  now  publishing,  has  been  identified  with  the  interests  of  Stutsman  county  from 
pioneer  times,  being  among  those  who,  coming  at  an  early  day,  were  able  to  secure  govern- 
ment land.  For  a  considerable  period  thereafter  he  was  identified  with  farming  interests. 
He  was  born  in  Redwood  Falls,  Minnesota,  in  1878,  a  son  of  J.  B.  and  Jennie  B.  (Grimmer) 
Wasson,  the  former  a  native  of  New  York  and  the  latter  of  Wisconsin.  The  father  was  a 
blacksmith  by  trade  and  followed  that  business  for  many  years  but  is  now  deceased.  He 
became  a  pioneer  settler  of  Minnesota  and  his  wife  was  one  of  the  first  students  in  the 
Mankato  Normal  School  and  afterward  became  a  .successful  teacher. 

William  T.  Wasson  was  educated  in  rural  and  city  schools  of  Minnesota,  finishing  his 
course  at  Breck  College  at  Wilder,  Minnesota.  When  a  youth  of  but  fourteen  years  he 
entered  the  printing  office  of  F.  G.  Tuttle,  in  Echo,  Yellow  Medicine  county,  Minnesota,  and 
for  three  years  remained  in  that  office,  learning  the  trade  under  the  direction  of  Mr. 
Tuttle,   who  was  a   prominent   politician   of   that   period   and   locality.     Later   Mr.    Wasson 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  723 

came  to  Xortli  Dakota,  settling  first  at  Goodricli,  wliere  he  published  the  Flickertail 
Flicker  for  a  period  of  a  year.  He  also  filed  on  a  homestead  in  township  147,  range  78, 
McLean  count}',  and  performed  the  arduous  task  of  breaking  the  sod  with  eight  head  of 
steers.  He  was  occupied  with  his  farming  interests  until  1911,  when  he  removed  to  Pin- 
gree,  North  Dakota,  where  for  one  year  he  managed  a  paper,  and  on  the  expiration  of  that 
period  he  removed  to  Jamestown,  where  he  was  employed  as  a  member  of  the  reportorial 
staffs  of  both  the  Capital  and  the  Alert  for  a  period  of  three  years.  Ambitious,  however, 
to  engage  in  business  on  his  own  account,  he  carae  to  Kensal  in  February,  1916,  and 
established  the  Kensal  Progress.  The  growth  of  the  paper  has  been  remarkable,  having 
already  a  list  of  eight  hundred  subscribers  which  will  probably  reach  a  round  thousand 
by  fall.  This  fact  speaks  for  itself  in  regard  to  the  value  of  the  paper,  which  is  a  strong 
advocate  of  the  interest  of  the  farmers  and  an  equally  stanch  supporter  of  the  Non  Partisan 
League  of  North  Dakota. 

In  1907  Mr.  Wasson  was  married  to  Miss  Annabelle  Ployhar,  a  native  of  Wahpcton, 
North  Dakota,  and  they  have  become  parents  of  three  children:  Helen,  WiHabelle  and 
Howard.  Mr.  Wasson  is  a  member  of  the  Masonic  fraternity,  identified  with  McClusky 
Lodge,  No.  68,  F.  &  A.  M.,  the  beneficent  spirit  of  which  he  exemplifies  in  his  relations  with 
his  fcUowmen.  He  is  a  very  progressive  man,  a  student  of  the  times  and  keeps  abreast 
with  the  questions  of  the  age.  He  stands  for  cooperation  and  is  doing  everything  to  pro- 
mote such  a  spirit  among  the  people  of  the  community.  Well  informed  concerning  the 
vital  and  significant  problems  of  the  age,  his  well  pointed  editorials,  clear  and  forcefully 
.written,   have   done   not   a   little   to   mold   public   thought  and   opinion. 


GEORGE  H.  SPIELMAN,  M.  D. 

Dr.  George  H.  Spielman,  engaged  in  the  practice  of  medicine  and  surgery  at  Flasher,  was 
born  in  Shakopee,  Minnesota,  July  16,  1881,  a  son  of  Henry  and  Margaret  (Huth)  Spielman. 
The  father,  who  was  born  in  Boston,  Massachusetts,  in  1853,  was  a  son  of  John  Spielman,  a 
native  of  Bavaria,  Germany,  who  in  young  manhood  came  to  America,  settling  in  Boston, 
where  he  engaged  in  business  as  a  butcher  and  meat  packer.  In  1857  he  removed  to  Minne- 
sota, where  he  had  previously  purchased  land,  and  became  one  of  the  pioneer  farmers  of  that 
state.  He  won  success  in  his  agricultural  pursuits  and  continued  a  resident  of  the  vicinity 
of  Shakopee  until  his  death,  which  occurred  in  1890,  when  he  was  sixty-eight  years  of  age. 
His  son,  Henry  Spielman,  become  proprietor  of  a  hotel  at  Shakopee  and  continued  in  that 
business  until  the  death  of  his  wife  in  1904,  after  which  he  retired  from  business.  He  was 
active  in  public  affairs  and  for  eighteen  years  was  county  commissioner  in  Minnesota.  In 
1906  he  removed  to  Garrison,  McLean  county.  North  Dakota,  where  he  homesteaded  and 
proved  up  on  his  property  but  still  continues  to  reside  in  Shakopee,  where  he  owns  a  resi- 
dence  and  other  real   estate. 

In  a  family  of  five  sons  and  five  daughters  Dr.  Spielman  was  the  third.  His  brothers, 
Richard  and  Alois,  went  together  to  Flasher.  The  latter  was  a  pharmacist  and  the  former 
took  up  the  study  of  pharmacy,  being  graduated  on  the  completion  of  a  pharmaceutical 
course.  Together  they  established  the  Flasher  Drug  Store,  which  is  now  managed  by  Rich- 
ard Spielman.  and  later  they  organized  the  Mott  Drug  Company,  of  which  Alois  Spielman  is 
manager,  and  subsequently  established  a  third  business  under  the  name  of  the  New  Eng- 
land Drug  Company.  These  three  stores  are  thoroughly  modern,  containing  a  complete  line 
of  drugs  and  druggists'  sundries,  and  are  equipped  in  most  splendid  manner.  Dr.  Spielman 
acquired  his  elementary  education  in  the  public  schools  and  after  leaving  high  school  at- 
tended the  Bradley  Polytechnic  Institute  of  Peoria,  Illinois.  He  next  entered  the  Chicago 
College  of  Medicine  and  Surgery,  from  which  he  was  graduated  in  1908,  and  in  1909  he  went 
to  Flasher,  where  he  began  practice.  In  1913  he  went  to  Vienna,  Austria,  for  post-graduate 
work  and  received  instruction  under  some  of  the  most  eminent  physicians  and  surgeons  of 
the  old  world.  He  has  built  up  a  large  general  practice  and  won  a  notable  and  well  deserved 
reputation  for  skill  in  surgery.  In  his  practice  he  has  also  given  special  attention  to  ob- 
stetrics and  to  diseases  of  the  lungs  and  in   those  departments  of  practice  has   displayed 


724  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

ability  of  superior  order.  He  keeps  in  toucli  witli  tlie  latest  theories  and  discoveries  Ijearing 
upon  medical  and  surgical  practice,  visiting  tlie  leading  clinics,  reading  the  latest  medical 
journals  and  professional  literature  and  equipping  liis  office  with  the  most  higlily  improved 
instruments.  He  is  now  local  surgeon  for  tlie  Nortliern  Pacific  Railroad  Company  and  is 
county  physician  of  Morton  county.  He  likewise  figures  in  financial  circles  as  vice  president 
of  the  Raleigh  State  Bank  and  as  a  director  of  the  Flasher  State  Bank  and  the  Timmer  State 
Bank,  but  the  greater  part  of  his  time  and  attention  is  concentrated  upon  his  professional 
interests  and  activitities. 

In  August,  1910,  Dr.  Spiclman  was  married  to  Miss  Helen  Berrier,  a  daughter  of  ^\'iIliam 
F.  Berrier,  deceased,  who  is  mentioned  elsewhere  in  this  work.  They  have  become  parents 
of  two  sons,  Lloyd  and  Byron.  Tlie  Doctor's  home  is  a  thoroughly  modern  residence  ligiited 
by  electricity,  while  a  private  water  plant  supplies  not  only  the  house  witli  running  water 
but  also  his  barn  and  garage.  Fraternally  Dr.  SiJielman  is  connected  with  the  Benevolent 
Protective  Order  of  Elks  and  professionally  has  membership  in  the  Sixth  District  Medical 
Association,  the  North  Dakota  Medical  Association  and  the  American  Medical  Association, 
through  the  proceedings  of  which  he  keeps  in  close  touch  with  the  latest  scientific  researches 
and  discoveries. 


J.  H.  BAIN. 

.J.  H.  Bain,  cashier  of  the  First  National  Bank  of  Langdon,  con\es  from  the  land  of 
hills  and  heather.  He  was  born  in  Ayrshire,  Scotland,  August  13,  IsOS,  and  his  parents, 
Joseph  and  Agnes  (Hamilton)  Bain,  spent  their  entire  lives  in  that  country,  both  being 
now  deceased.  There  were  four  children  in  the  family  and  J.  H.  Bain  is  the  second  in 
order  of  birth.  In  his  native  land  he  attended  school  to  a  limited  extent  b\it  at  the  early 
age  of  ten  years  began  earning  his  own  livelihood,  since  which  time  he  has  been  entirely 
deijendent  upon  his  own  resources.  During  his  residence  in  Scotland  he  was  variously 
employed. 

It  was  in  1896  that  Mr.  Bain  crossed  the  ocean  and  came  to  Nortii  Dakota,  since  which 
time  he  has  made  his  home  in  Langdon.  He  worked  for  C.  W.  Clark  and  in  the  machine 
business  for  J.  McPhail  until  1903  but  has  since  been  identified  with  the  First  National 
Bank,  serving  as  bookkeeper  until  1910,  when  he  was  elected  cashier. 

Mr.  Bain  was  married  in  Langdon,  November  11,  1904,  to  Miss  Mabel  Aldritt,  whose 
parents  were  residents  of  St.  James,  Minnesota.  To  tills  union  has  been  born  a  daughter, 
Frances,  whose  birth  occurred  in  Langdon  in  1906.  Jlr.  Bain  is  also  a  memlier  of  the 
Masonic  fraternity,  the  Canadian  Forresters  and  the  Benevolent  Protective  Order  of  Elks. 
Since  becoming  a  naturalized  citizen  he  has  \oted  with  the  republican  party  and  takes  a 
commendable  interest  in  public  afl'airs. 


MAJOR   JOHN   G.  HAMILTON. 

Honored  and  respected  by  all,  there  is  no  man  who  occupies  a  more  enviable  position 
in  public  regard  in  North  Dakota  than  Major  John  G.  Hamilton.  It  was  he  who  established 
the  graded  school  system  of  Grand  Forks  and  served  as  secretary  of  the  constitutional  con- 
vention of  the  state,  while  in  many  other  public  offices  he  has  discharged  his  duties  with 
such  signal  honor,  capability  and  fidelity  as  to  win  the  highest  esteem  of  all.  He  was  born 
in  Dublin,  Ireland,  October  22,  1846,  a  son  of  James  and  Jennie  (Doran)  H.xmilton,  natives 
of  Scotland  and  Ireland  respectively.  The  father  came  to  America  in  1846  and  settled  in 
New  York  city,  where  he  became  secretary  for  a  steamship  company.  He  had  become  en- 
tangled in  the  Irish  revolt  and  tied  from  that  country  to  avoid  arrest,  seeking  then  a  home 
in  a  land  of  liberty.  Following  his  connection  with  the  steamship  company  he  became  con- 
nected with  iron  works  of  New  York  city,  with  which  he  remained  until  his  death  in  1864, 
when  he  was  fifty-nine  years  of  age.     His  wife  was  reared  and  educated  in  Ireland  and  died 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH   DAKOTA  725 

ill  New  York  city  in  1857,  iit  tlic  afjc  uf  tliiity-six  years.  In  tlic  family  were  tlirce  cliil- 
(lieii,  two  sons  and  a  daughter.  (_!ooif;i',  horn  in  New  York  city  in  1848,  was  connoitcd  witli 
a  steamsliip  company  and  was  drowned  at  Buffalo,  New  Y'ork,  in  1899.  The  daughter, 
Mrs.  Mary  Follcr,  was  born  in  New  Y'ork  city  and  died  there  July  3,  1902. 

Major  Hamilton  was  the  second  of  tlie  family  and  in  his  youthful  days  attended  the 
public  schools  of  New  Y'ork  until  18,58,  when  lie  suffered  an  injury  that  resulted  in  blood 
poisoniiif,',  causinji  the  amputation  of  liis  left  arm  between  the  elbow  and  wrist.  In  1863 
he  went  to  Oberliii,  Ohio,  where  lie  attended  college  and  was  graduated  in  1867  with  the 
Rachelor  of  Arts  degree,  while  in  1S70  the  Master  degree  was  conferred  upon  him.  Following 
his  graduatitm  he  went  to  Lcmisville,  Kentucky,  where  he  taught  school,  becoming  principal. 
In  the  following  July  he  suffered  an  attack  of  typhoid  fever  and  on  the  4th  of  July,  1868, 
went  to  the  home  of  his  brother  at  Corona,  New  York.  Tliere  he  recuperated  and  in  Sep- 
tember of  that  year  returned  to  Lexington,  Kentucky,  where  he  resumed  teaching,  becoming 
princi])al  of  schools  in  that  city,  where  he  continued  to  reside  until  1873.  While  there  he 
studied  law  ajul  was  giaduated  from  the  law  department  of  tlie  University  of  Kentucky 
in  1872.  In  September  of  the  following  year  he  returned  to  Ohio  and  taught  school  near 
Cleveland  until  April,  ]S7r),  wlien  he  was  appointed  United  States  Indian  agent  at  the  Sisse- 
ton  Indian  agency,  then  in  the  territory  of  Dakota,  now  South  Dakota.  After  filling  that  posi- 
tion for  three  years  he  resigned  and  went  to  St.  Paul,  Minnesota,  afterward  spending  a  year 
as  representative  of  a  school  book  publishing  house  of  that  city,  traveling  over  Minnesota 
and  North  and  South  Dakota.  In  the  spring  of  1878  he  made  his  way  to  Grand  Forks  and 
in  September  of  that  year  took  up  his  permanent  abode  in  the  city.  Opening  a  law  office, 
he  continued  in  active  practice  until  1900,  when  he  went  to  Washington  as  an  officer  of  the 
senate,  there  remaining  until  .June,  1913,  when  he  returned  to  North  Dakota  and  has  since 
lived   retired. 

Major  Hamilton  has  been  prominently  and  actively  identified  with  interests  of  moment 
to  (Jrand  Forks  and  has  done  much  to  further  its  development.  He  established  the  splendid 
gi-aded  school  system  of  the  city  and  was  president  of  the  board  of  education  for  four  years. 
He  also  served  as  city  attorney  for  a  year  and  then  resigned,  and  he  was  states  attorney 
for  five  years,  having  been  appointed  to  that  office  in  1893  to  fill  out  the  unexpired  term  of 
Tracy  R.  Bangs,  while  later  lie  was  twice  elected  to  the  office.  He  was  assistant  chief  clerk 
of  the  territorial  legislature  at  Bismarck  from  1885  until  1887  and  chief  clerk  in  1889.  He 
was  also  secretary  of  the  constitutional  convention  of  North  Dakota  and  was  chief  clerk  of 
the  general  assembly  during  the  first,  second  and  third  sessions  and  again  in  1898.  His 
official  service  has  been  characterized  by  marked  devotion  to  the  public  good  and  his  efforts 
have  been  strongly  resultant  factors  in  promoting  public  progress.  From  1889  until  1892 
lie  served  as  secretary  of  the  board  of  regents  of  the  State  University.  He  was  chairman 
of  the  compilation  commission  appointed  by  Andrew  H.  Burke  in  1891  to  compile,  classify 
and  arrange  the  codes  of  North  Dakota  and  make  them  consistent  with  the  constitution  of 
the  state.  The  other  members  of  the  commission  were  P,  H.  Eourke,  of  Lisbon,  and  R.  M 
Pollock,  of  Fargo.  They  completed  the  compilation  and  drafted  some  fifty  original  bills  and 
amended  about  one  hundred  and  fifty  other  statutes  that  came  down  from  territorial  days 
They  reported  the  work  to  the  legislature  and  all  of  the  original  bills  prepared  were  accepted 
by  them.  Major  Hamilton  was  also  a  member  of  the  commission  which  pre[)ared  the  revised 
codes  of  1895.  Another  revision  of  the  codes  was  authorized  by  the  legislature  of  1899  to 
be  made  under  the  direction  of  the  secretary  of  state.  That  compilation  was  made  by 
Jewel,  R,  N,  Stevens  and  Major  Hamilton,  Again  in  1905  the  legislature  authorized  the 
preparation  of  a  new  code  which  should  be  annotated,  all  the  decisions  of  the  supreme  court 
of  South  Dakota  and  North  Dakota  to  be  properly  placed  under  different  sections  of  the 
code.  This  was  under  the  direction  also  of  the  secretary  of  state,  while  Mr.  Jewel,  R.  N. 
Stevens  and  Major  Hamilton  did  the  work.  The  compiling  of  the  statutes  which  were 
passed  from  1899  to  1905  was  done  by  Major  Hamilton  and  Mr.  .Jewel,  and  the  annotation  of 
the  South  Dakota  supreme  court  reports  and  thirteen  volumes  of  North  Dakota  reports  and 
six  of  the  territorial  reports  of  Dakota  were  prepared  by  Major  Hiiiiiiltnn  and  R,  N. 
Stevens. 

'  Colonel  Lounsberry  regarded  Major  Hamilton  the  most  competent  person   in  the  state 
to  furnish  the  historical  facts  relative  to  the  division  of  the  territory,  the  constitutional 


726  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

convention,  the  compilation  of  tlie  laws,  the  administrations  of  the  several  governors  and 
the  bar  association,  and  these  several  chapters  in  the  present  history  of  North  Dakota  were 
in  the  main  prepared  by  him  and  indicate  the  extreme  care  and  painstaking  methods  in 
which  he  prepares  matters  of  this  kind. 

In  Cleveland,  Ohio,  in  February,  1871,  Mr.  Hamilton  was  married  to  Miss  Melissa 
Lavayea,  a  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Joseph  E.  Lavayea  of  that  city,  who  later  removed 
to  North  Dakota  in  1882,  settling  on  a  farm  in  Grace  township.  Grand  Forks  county.  Major 
and  Mrs.  Hamilton  have  two  children.  Helen  N.,  born  in  Lexington,  Kentucky,  is  a  graduate 
of  the  law  department  of  the  University  of  North  Dakota  and  is  a  member  of  the  law  firm 
of  Bangs,  Hamilton  &  Bangs.  Hastings  H.,  born  in  Cleveland,  Ohio,  has  for  some  years  been 
district  manager  at  Jamestown,  North  Dakota,  for  the  Northwestern  Telephone  Company 
and  is  now  first  lieutenant  and  adjutant  of  the  Third  Battalion  on  the  Mexican  border.  He 
served  in  the  Philippines  with  the  First  North  Dakota  Regiment  during  the  Spanish- 
American  war. 

Fraternally  Major  Hamilton  is  connected  with  the  Knights  of  Pythias  and  the  Benevolent 
Protective  Order  of  Elks.  He  is  one  of  the  most  highly  respected  citizens  of  Grand  Forks  and 
North  Dakota,  being  known  throughout  the  state  in  earlier  days  as  one  of  its  ablest  lawyers, 
while  his  connection  with  the  public  life  has  done  much  to  shape  the  history,  establish  the 
policy  and  mold  the  destiny  of  the  commonwealth. 


A.  GODFREY  ENGDAHL. 


A.  Godfrey  Engdahl,  cashier  of  the  Farmers  &  Merchants  Bank  at  Kenmare,  was  born 
in  Cambridge,  Minnesota,  August  12,  1877,  a  son  of  the  Rev.  Andrew  and  Mary  A.  (Ecklund) 
Engdahl,  both  of  whom  were  natives  of  Sweden.  The  father  obtained  his  early  education  in 
the  city  schools  of  Stockholm,  Sweden,  and  entered  college  to  prepare  for  the  ministry,  but 
low  finances  prohibited  him  from  further  continuing  his  education  and  he  took  up  the  pro- 
fession of  teaching.  Crossing  the  Atlantic  to  America,  he  settled  in  Galesburg,  Illinois,  and 
later  entered  Augustana  College,  completing  his  theological  course  there.  He  was  then 
ordained  to  the  ministry  of  the  Swedish  Lutheran  church  and  assigned  to  a  pastorate  in 
Cambridge,  Minnesota,  in  1874,  that  being  a  missionary  field.  He  became  one  of  the  pioneer 
missionary  ministers  of  his  part  of  the  state  at  a  time  when  the  Indians  were  still  in  the 
country.  He  made  long  trips  across  the  plains  in  order  to  preach  the  gospel  among  the 
pioneer  settlers.  He  drove  a  team  of  white  horses  and  was  known  for  many  miles  around  by 
his  white  team.  In  1884  he  was  assigned  to  a  church  at  Milbank,  South  Dakota,  where  lie 
remained  for  eight  years,  during  which  time  he  not  only  acted  as  pastor  at  that  place  but 
also  established  eighteen  mission  churches.  In  1893  he  accepted  a  call  from  the  church  at 
Ortonville,  Bigstone  county,  Minnesota,  where  he  continued  until  1902,  when  he  obtained  a 
leave  of  absence  and  removed  to  Ward  county,  North  Dakota,  where  he  secured  a  homestead, 
which  he  proved  up  in  two  years.  Wliile  thus  engaged  he  also  did  missionary  work  among 
the  homesteaders  of  the  localitj'.  In  1904  he  returned  to  his  church  at  Ortonville,  where  he 
remained  until  August,  1916,  when  he  retired  from  the  active  work  of  the  ministry,  but  still 
makes  his  home  in  Ortonville.  He  was  born  in  1843  and  is  therefore  seventy-four  years  of 
age.  He  gave  forty-two  years  of  his  life  to  continuous  service  in  the  church.  His  wife  was 
also  a  native  of  Sweden  and  in  her  girlhood  came  to  America  with  her  parents,  who  settled  at 
Taylor  Falls,  Minnesota,  where  the  father  engaged  in  farming.  She  became  the  wife  of 
Rev.  Engdahl  at  Forest  Lake,  Minnesota,  and  of  this  marriage  nine  children  were  born,  four 
sons  and  five  daughters,  of  whom  one  son  and  three  daughters  are  deceased.  Mrs.  Engdahl 
shared  in  the  good  work  done  by  her  husband  and  there  are  now  many  substantial  churches 
which  stand  today  as  a  monument  to  his  religious  faith  and  service.  He  was  an  earnest 
speaker,  his  words  carrying  conviction  to  the  minds  of  his  hearers,  and  his  influence  was 
widely  felt  as  a  force  for  good  in  every  community  in  which  he  lived  and  labored,  for  he  was 
not  denied  the  full  harvest  of  his  efforts  nor  the  aftermath.  There  are  many  who  have 
reason  to  thank  him  for  his  kindly  words  of  wisdom,  sympathy  and  encouragement,  enabling 
them  to  choose  the  better  things  of  life.     Such  a  career  should  well  serve  to  inspire  others. 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  729 

Adolph  G.  Engdahl  began  his  education  in  the  Swedish  school  at  Cambridge,  Minnesota, 
and  wlien  a  lad  of  seven  years  accompanii'd  his  parents  to  Milbank,  South  Dakota,  where  he 
attended  scliool.  He  was  also  a  student  in  the  College  of  Gustavus  Adolphus  at  St.  Peter, 
Minnesota,  and  afterward  in  a  sclioul  at  Minneapolis,  Minnesota.  He  then  turned  his  atten- 
tion to  general  merchandising,  which  he  followed  in  Minnesota  until  1000,  when  he  removed 
to  Kenmare,  North  Dakota,  and  entered  the  employ  of  J.  A.  Englund,  a  general  merchant,  with 
whom  he  continued  until  1905.  He  was  afterward  employed  with  the  Security  Bank  of  Ken- 
mare and  when  it  was  consolidated  with  the  First  National  Bank  he  entered  the  service  of 
the  Farmers  &  Merchants  Bank  as  cashier  and  has  since  continued  in  that  position,  making  an 
excellent  record  as  a  courteous,  obliging  and  capable  ollicial  who  extends  every  possible  aid  to 
the  patrons  of  the  bank  and  at  the  same  time  carefully  safeguards  the  interests  of  the  institu- 
tion wliieh  he  represents.  He  is  also  a  director  in  the  Farmers  Elevator  Company  at  Kenaston, 
North  Dakota. 

In  1905  Mr.  Engdahl  was  united  in  marriage  to  iliss  Bertha  Swanson,  who  was  born  at 
Brandon,  Minnesota,  and  there  remained  until  her  marriage.  Her  parents  were  born  in  Sweden 
and  on  coming  to  the  new  world  cast  in  their  lot  with  the  farming  population  of  Minnesota, 
Mr,  and  Mrs,  Engdahl  have  two  children:  Alfred  G,,  born  in  Kenmare,  July  23,  1906;  and 
Mildred  C,  born  December  12,  1913, 

In  politics  Mr,  Engdahl  is  a  democrat  and  under  three  administrations  has  served  as  city 
auditor  of  Kenmare,  He  has  taken  high  rank  in  Masonry,  belonging  to  the  Mystic  Slirine  at 
Grand  Forks,  and  also  has  membership  in  the  Odd  Fellows  lodge  and  the  Knights  of  Pythias, 
He  is  likewise  connected  with  the  Elks  lodge  at  Minot  and  both  he  and  his  wife  are  consistent 
and  faithful  members  of  the  Swedish  Lutheran  church,  finding  in  its  teachings  the  rules  which 
govern  their  conduct.  They  are  highly  esteemed  by  all  who  know  them  and  most  of  all  where 
they  are  best  known. 


WARREN  H,  NYE, 


Warren  H.  Nye,  publisher  and  editor  of  the  Medina  Citizen  of  Medina,  Stut.sman 
coimty,  North  Dakota,  was  born  in  Mount  Sterling,  Illinois,  April  2,  1875,  a  son  of  Stephen 
and  Mary  R,  (Pigraan)  Nye,  the  former  a  native  of  Vermont  and  the  latter  of  Iowa,  both 
becoming  early  residents  of  Illinois,  where  the  father  engaged  in  business  as  a  merchant 
and  insiuance  man,  but  both  he  and  his  wife  have  now  passed  away.  In  their  family  were 
five  children,  four  of  whom  are  yet  living, 

Warren  H,  Nye,  the  youngest  of  the  family,  began  his  education  in  the  graded  schools 
of  Mount  Sterling,  Illinois,  and  completed  a  high  school  course  there.  Starting  out  in  the 
business  world,  he  became  an  employee  in  the  printing  office  of  the  Democrat  Message  of 
Alount  Sterling  in  1.S93  and  there  learned  the  printer's  trade.  He  worked  in  his  native  city 
and  in  neighboring  towns  in  connection  with  the  business  until  1900,  when  he  became  a 
traveling  printer,  working  at  various  places  until  1904.  In  that  year  he  arrived  in  North 
Dakota,  going  first  to  Valley  City  and  later  to  Kensal,  In  the  fall  of  1906  he  settled  at 
Medina  and  took  over  the  Medina  Citizen,  which  had  been  established  in  the  spring  of  1904 
by  W,  J.  I>wyer,  from  whom  he  purchased  the  paper  September  1,  1906.  On  taking  charge 
he  bent  every  energy  toward  developing  the  business  and  now  publishes  an  attractive  country 
journal  which  has  a  good  circulation,  there  being  now  seven  hundred  and  fifty  subscribers. 
He  has  a  well  equipped  [jrinting  establishment  and  is  prepared  to  do  excellent  job  work. 
There  is  no  trace  of  jcllow  journalism  in  his  publication,  which  is  such  a  paper  as  can  be 
read  in  any  home,  given  over  to  the  dissemination  of  local  and  general  news. 

In  the  fall  of  1911  Mr,  Nye  was  married  to  Miss  Clara  Kirkeby,  who  was  born  in 
Naples,  South  Dakota,  in  1884,  a  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs,  0,  Kirkeby,  who  are  natives 
of  Norway  and  became  pioneer  settlers  of  South  Dakota,  Their  daughter,  Mrs,  Nye,  is  the 
eldest  of  their  four  children,  of  whom  three  are  now  living.  To  Mr,  and  Mrs,  Nye  have 
been  born  three  children:  Irene,  who  was  born  in  June,  1912;  Warren,  in  January,  1914; 
and  Orville,  born  in  October,  191G, 

Mr,  Nye  votes  with  the  republican  party  and  has  held  several  local  offices,  serving  as  village 


730  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

treasurer  and  as  clerk  for  five  years.  He  belongs  to  Jamestown  Lodge,  No.  995,  B.  P.  0.  E.; 
•Jamestown  Lodge,  No.  6,  A.  F.  &  A.  M.;  and  is  also  a  member  of  Medina  Lodge,  No.  1437, 
B.  Y.  A.,  to  the  teachings  and  purposes  of  which  he  is  ever  loyal.  Whatever  success  he  has 
achieved  is  attributable  to  his  own  efl'orts  and  to  the  fact  that  he  has  always  continued 
in  the  same  line  of  occupation  in  wliicli  lie  embarked  as  a  young  tradesman. 


JUDGE  A.  M.  CHRISTIANSON. 

Judge  A.  M.  Cliristianson,  who  took  his  place  upon  the  supreme  court  bench  of  North 
Dakota  in  1915,  is  a  native  of  Norway,  born  Augiist  11,  1877.  He  located  at  Towner,  in  Mc- 
Henry  county,  in  March,  1900,  was  elected  to  the  office  of  states  attorney  at  the  general 
election  held  in  November,  1900,  and  filled  that  position  until  the  1st  of  January,  1905. 
Public  opinion  bears  testimony  to  the  ability  which  he  displayed  in  law  practice.  Along 
with  those  qualities  indispensable  to  the  successful  attorney — a  keen,  logical  mind,  plus 
the  business  sense  and  a  ready  capacity  for  hard  work,  he  brought  to  the  starting  point 
of  his  legal  career  certain  rare  gifts.  An  excellent  presence,  an  earnest,  dignified  manner, 
marked  strength  of  character,  a  thorough  grasp  of  the  law  and  accuracy  in  the  application  of 
its  principles  to  the  points  in  litigation  have  been  the  chief  factors  in  his  effectiveness  as  an 
advocate.  Gradually  he  worked  his  waj'  upward  and  in  1914  was  named  as  one  of  the 
candidates  for  the  supreme  bench. 

On  the  14th  of  May,  1906,  .Judge  Cliristianson  was  married  to  Miss  Edith  Baldwin. 
He  belongs  to  the  Masonic  fraternity  and  has  taken  the  degrees  of  the  Mjstic  Shrine.  He 
is  als:^  identified  with  the  Benevolent  Protective  Order  of  Elks,  but  his  activity  and  interests 
center  in  his  profession,  in  which  he  has  made  steady  progress.  His  colleagues  and  con- 
temporaries speak  of  him  as  a  man  of  well  rounded  character,  finely  balanced  mind  and 
of  splendid  intellectual  attainments,  thoroughly  familiar  with  the  law  and  practice.  Pos- 
sessing these  qualities,  he  justly  merits  the  high  honor  which  was  conferred  upon  him  by  his 
elevation  to  the  court  of  appeals. 


CHARLES  MAHONEY. 


Charles  Mahoney,  a  hardware  and  implenipnt  dealer  of  Spiritwood,  is  numbered  among 
the  native  sons  of  Wisconsin,  his  birth  having  occurred  in  Hudson,  September  9,  1860.  He 
is  the  second  of  a  family  of  eleven  children  whose  parents  were  Dennis  and  Jlargaret 
(Coffin)  JIahoney,  the  former  a  native  of  Maine  and  the  latter  of  Ireland.  The  father  was 
a  plasterer  by  tra'de  and  on  leaving  the  east  settled  in  Wisconsin  about  1856,  making 
his  home  at  New  Richmond  for  a  period  of  ten  years.  He  then  removed  to  Kinnic-Kinnick, 
Wisconsin,  where  he  spent  his  remaining  days,  passing  away  in  1884,  having  for  eight  years 
survived  his  wife,  who  died  in  1876. 

After  mastering  the  elementary  branches  of  learning  taught  in  the  schools  of  New 
Richmond,  Cliarles  Mahoney  continued  his  education  at  River  Falls,  Wisconsin,  and  later 
began  learning  the  blacksmith's  trade  at  Duluth,  Minnesota.  He  came  to  North  Dakota  in 
1882  and  was  one  of  the  pioneer  settlers  of  Stutsman  county,  establishing  his  home  there 
when  the  work  of  development  and  progress  seemed  scarcely  begun.  In  1894  he  purchased 
a  farm  near  Jamestown  and  divided  his  time  between  the  cultivation  of  the  fields  and  the 
conduct  of  a  blacksmith  shop  for  seven  years.  I'p  to  the  time  when  he  purchased  his  land 
he  had  followed  blacksmithing  and  had  also  cultivated  a  rented  farm.  Wliile  thus  engaged 
he  carefully  saved  his  earnings  until  his  industry  and  economy  had  brought  him  suflicient 
capital  to  enable  him  to  purchase  property.  His  farm  was  located  four  and  a  half  miles 
northwest  of  .Jamestown  and  he  remained  thereon  until  1901,  at  which  time  he  sold  the  place 
and  removed  to  Spiritwood,  where  he  established  a  blacksmith  shop,  which  he  successfully 
conducted  for  a  period  of  seven  years.  His  excellent  work  secured  for  him  a  very  liberal 
patronage  and  in  that  way  he  won  the  capital  that  enabled  him  to  embark  in  the  hardware 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  731 

business  in  1908.  His  was  tlic  only  luudware  store  in  tlic  town  save  ono  owned  by  Rounds- 
ville  &  Doty,  of  St.  Peter,  Minnesota.  The  latter  firm  went  ont  of  business  soon  after  Mr. 
Malioney  established  his  store,  so  that  all  of  the  trade  went  to  hira,  and  in  the  conduct  of 
his  growing  business  lie  em])loys  on  an  average  three  men.  He  carries  a  very  complete  line 
of  hardware  and  farm  implements  and  his  trade  has  assumed  substantial  and  gratifying 
proportions.  He  is  also  a  partner  of  R.  E.  Dresser,  Sr.,  in  the  Spiritwood  Machine  Company, 
which  carries  a  complete  line  of  farm  implements.     This  company  was  established  February 

17,  1913,  and  from  the  beginning  their  business  has  prospered. 

In  1889  JIi.  Malioney  was  married  to  Jliss  Carrie  Bowman,  who  was  born  in  Renville 
county,  Minnesota,  December  15,  1876,  and  who  came  with  her  parents  to  North  Dakota  in 
1878,  the  family  home  being  established  a  mile  and  a  half  north  of  Jamestown.  Her  parents 
were  William  and  Jane  (Sidmore)  Bowman,  both  of  whom  were  natives  of  New  York  and 
became  early  pioneers  of  Stutsman  county,  after  which  they  were  closely  associated  with 
its  development  and  improvement  as  the  years  went  by.  Both  are  now  deceased.  The 
family  numbered  four  children,  of  whom  Mrs.  Malioney  is  the  second.  Six  children  have 
been  born  to  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Mahoney:  Alfred  D.,  who  was  born  January  30,  1893,  and  is 
now  acting  as  bookkeeper  in  his  father's  store;  Charley,  born  May  19,  1899;  Elmer,  August 

18,  1901;  Margaret.  September  9,  1902;  John,  January  5,  1906;  and  Daniel,  February  16,  1910. 

Mr.  Mahoney  has  no  political  aspirations.  He  has  experienced  all  of  the  privations 
incident  to  pioneer  life  and  knows  every  phase  of  the  county's  development,  bearing  his 
full  share  in  the  work  of  progress  and  improvement.  Present  day  conditions  have  been 
brought  about  only  through  hard  labor  on  the  part  of  the  pioneers  and  Mr.  Jlahoney  deserves 
much  credit  for  what  he  has  accomplished  in  this  connection 


JOHN  J.  POWER. 


.John  J.  Power,  mayor  of  Langdon,  took  up  his  abode  in  that  city  in  the  fall  of  1892, 
an  entire  stranger,  but  the  years  of  his  residence  have  proven  his  worth  and  ability  until 
his  fellow  townsmen  have  honored  him  with  the  highest  office  within  their  power  to  bestow. 
He  has  also  made  for  himself  a  creditable  ixisition  in  agricultural  and  grain  trade  circles. 
His  birth  occurred  at  Picton,  Ontario,  Canada,  January  16,  186.'!,  and  he  was  the  eldest 
'in  a  family  of  eight  children,  six  of  whom  are  yet  living.  The  parents,  Michael  and  Jane 
(Shannon)  Power,  were  natives  of  Ireland  and  Canada  respectively.  The  father  was  three 
years  of  age  when  taken  by  his  parents,  Mr.  and  ilrs.  John  Power,  to  Canada.  The  grand- 
father there  followed  the  occupation  of  farming  to  the  time  of  his  death.  Michael  Power 
was  reared  and  educated  in  Canada  and  became  a  prosperous  farmer,  also  taking  an  active 
and  influential  part  in  local  affairs,  both  civic  and  political.  He  filled  various  offices  in 
the  locality  and  passed  away  in  1906  at  the  age  of  seventy-one  years.  His  widow  survived 
until  1914  and  died  on  the  old  homestead  when  seventy-six  years  of  age. 

John  .J.  Power  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  of  Picton  and  in  the  Ontario  Business 
College  at  Belleville,  and  through  the  period  of  his  boyhood  and  youth  remained  upon  the 
home  farm,  and  after  his  education  was  completed  continued  to  assist  with  its  development 
until  he  reached  the  age  of  twenty-nine  years.  He  came  to  North  Dakota  in  the  fall  of 
1892,  settling  at  Langdon,  where  he  became  connected  with  farm  and  elevator  work  and 
in  1894  filed  on  a  homestead  of  one  hundred  and  sixty  acres  in  Perry  township,  Cavalier 
county,  which  he  continued  to  cultivate  and  improve  until  1914,  when  he  sold  that  property. 
In  the  meantime  he  had  become  a  resident  of  Langdon  in  1901  and  entered  the  grain 
business  at  that  place.  He  had  previously  been  engaged  in  buying  giain  for  seven  years 
at  Osnabrock,  North  Dakota,  and  was  grain  buyer  for  the  National  Elevator  Company  of 
Minneapolis  at  Langdon,  North  Dakota,  for  eleven  years  or  until  1913,  when  he  became 
manager  and  grain  buyer  for  the  Langdon  Farmers  Elevator  Company,  He  also  owns  and 
cultivates  one  thousand,  six  hundred  and  sixty  acres  of  land  all  in  Cavalier  county,  and 
his  business  affairs  are  wisely,  carefully  and  successfiillj'  conducted. 

On  the  6th  of  June,  1906.  at  Red  Lake  Falls,  Minnesota.  Mr.  Power  was  married  to  Jliss 
May   Blanche    Sorsoleil,   a   native    of   St.   Hilaire,   Minnesota,   and   a   daughter   of   William 


732  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

Sorsoleil,  now  living  at   Snoliomish,  Washington.     The  five  children   of  this  marriage  are: 
Marcus;  Mary  Genevieve;  Neil  Francis;  Jane  Kathleen;  and  Paul  Ambrose. 

The  religious  faith  of  the  family  is  that  of  the  Roman  Catholic  church,  and  Mr.  Power 
belongs  to  tlie  Knights  of  Columbus.  He  is  connected  with  the  Commercial  Club,  and  in 
politics  he  is  an  active  republican.  For  four  years  lie  served  as  a  member  of  the  city 
council  of  Langdon,  and  in  the  spring  of  1916  was  elected  mayor,  the  position  he  is  now- 
filling.  When  he  arrived  in  North  Dakota  he  had  to  work  for  a  dollar  a  day  and  was  very 
glad  to  secure  employment  at  that  rate.  But  laudable  ambition  has  enabled  him  to  work 
his  way  upward,  and  he  is  now  a  well  known  figure  in  business  and  political  circles  in 
Cavalier  county,  controling  important  commercial  interests  while  at  the  same  time  directing 
the  civic  affairs  of  Langdon. 


J.  HARVEY  JOHNSON. 


J.  Harvey  Johnson  is  president  and  manager  of  The  Hart-Johnson  Company  of  New 
Eookford,  engaged  in  the  abstract,  real  estate  and  loan  business.  He  was  born  in  Streator, 
Illinois,  on  the  10th  of  February,  1883,  and  is  a  son  of  George  F.  and  Cora  A.  (Long)  John- 
son, natives  of  New  York  and  Illinois  respectively.  For  the  past  thirty-five  years  the  father 
has  resided  in  Streator,  where  he  is  now  engaged  in  the  transfer  and  storage  business,  but 
the  mother  died  in  May,  1910. 

Mr.  Johnson  of  this  review  spent  his  boyhood  and  youth  in  Streator,  Illinois,  and  after 
completing  his  education  in  the  schools  of  that  city  he  was  engaged  in  the  music  business 
there  for  several  years  and  was  also  in  charge  of  an  orchestra.  In  1906  he  removed  to  New 
Rockford,  Eddy  county,  North  Dakota,  where  he  taught  music  for  three  years,  and  then 
turned  his  attention  to  the  real  estate,  loan,  insurance  and  abstract  business.  The  com- 
pany of  which  he  is  now  president  and  manager  was  incorporated  in  1909  under  the  name  of 
The  Hart-.Johnson  Company  and  is  now  at  the  head  of  a  good  business  which  is  constantly 
increasing.  They  are  proprietors  of  the  New  Rockford  Improvement  Company,  of  which  Mr. 
Johnson  is  also  president,  and  in  1915  erected  a  large  flat  building,  which  is  three  stories  in 
height  with  a  basement  and  contains  fourteen  flats.  In  addition  to  his  other  business  he  is 
secretary  and  treasurer  of  the  Equity  Elevator  Company  of  New  Rockford. 

In  June,  1915,  Mr.  Johnson  married  Miss  Katharine  Maddux,  who  is  a  most  estimable 
lady  and  a  member  of  the  Catholic  church.  Mr.  Johnson  is  a  member  of  the  Masonic  order, 
belonging  to  Carrington  Chapter,  R.  A.  M.,  and  he  is  also  connected  with  the  Elks  lodge  at 
Jamestown.  In  politics  he  is  a  republican,  and  he  takes  a  commendable  interest  in  public 
affairs.  He  has  been  particularly  active  in  the  development  of  New  Rockford  and  is  regarded 
as  one  of  the  leading  business  men  of  the  city  as  well  as  one  of  its  representative  citizens. 


GUSTAV  BRANDT. 


Gustav  Brandt,  a  clothing  merchant  of  Park  River,  is  a  representative  of  the  large  quota 
that  Norway  has  furnished  to  the  citizenship  of  North  Dakota.  He  was  born  at  Valders, 
March  11,  1858,  a  son  of  John  and  Beatta  (Odnes)  Brandt,  who  were  natives  of  that  coun- 
try and  there  spent  their  entire  lives.  The  father  was  a  merchant  and  farmer  until  his 
death.  He  died  in  1880,  at  the  age  of  fifty-six  years,  while  his  wife  survived  until  1890, 
passing  away  at  the  age  of  sixty-three.     In  their  family  were  ten  children. 

Gustav  Brandt,  the  fourth  in  order  of  birth,  spent  his  early  life  in  the  schools  of  Nor- 
way, after  which  he  began  working  in  stores  in  Christiania.  He  was  a  young  man  of  about 
twenty-seven  years  when  he  bade  adieu  to  friends  and  native  country  and  sailed  for  the 
new  world.  Arriving  in  1885,  he  returned  to  Norway  in  1886  but  again  came  to  the 
United  States  in  1887,  at  which  time  he  made  his  way  to  St.  Paul,  Minnesota,  where  he 
spent  three  years  in  the  consul's  office.  In  1891  he  became  a  resident  of  Park  River,  North 
Dakota,  and  was  employed  in  connection  with  mercantile  lines  until  1897,  when  he  embarked 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  733 

in  business  on  liis  own  aieonnt.  lie  has  since  conducted  his  store  and  has  developed  a 
tiade  of  gratifying  proportions.  He  closely  studies  tlie  wishes  of  the  public  in  order  to 
make  his  purchases  accordingly  and  at  all  times  he  follows  thoroughly  reliable  as  well  as 
progressive   business  metliods. 

At  Grand  Forks,  on  the  22d  of  February,  ]'.)02,  Mr.  Brandt  was  married  to  Miss  I^na 
Koppeng,  and  they  are  now  parents  of  seven  children:  John,  who  was  born  at  Park  Kiver 
in  iy04  and  is  now  attending  school;  Beatta,  born  in  1906;  Olaf,  in  1908;  Sophie,  in  1913; 
Kar.'U,  in  1914;  Christian,  in  1915;  and  Signe,  in  191G.  The  other  child  of  tlie  family, 
Karen,  who  was  born  in  1910,  passed  away  in  the  same  year. 

Mr.  Brandt  has  never  allied  himself  w^ith  any  political  party,  preferring  to  maintain 
an  independent  course  in  the  exercise  of  his  right  of  francliise.  He  is  a  Master  Mason,  loyal 
to  the  teachings  of  the  craft  which  recognizes  the  brotherhood  of  mankind  and  the  obliga- 
tions thereby  imposed.  He  has  justly  won  tlie  proud  American  title  of  a  self-made  man, 
working  his  way  upward  through  persistent,  earnest  effort,  and  never  has  he  had  occasion 
to  regret  his  determination  to  come  to  the  new  world.  Here  he  found  the  opportunities 
which  he  sought  and  in  their  utilization  has  made  steady  progress. 


HUGH  PEOPLES. 


One  of  the  most  prominent  and  influential  citizens  of  North  Dakota  is  Hugh  Peoples,  of 
New  Rockford,  who  has  taken  a  very  active  part  in  the  development  of  Eddy  county  as 
a  representative  of  her  farming  and  commercial  interests.  He  was  born  in  Londonderry, 
Ireland,  December  28,  1857.  His  father,  Hugh  Peoples,  and  his  mother,  whose  maiden  name 
was  Elizabeth  Woods,  were  of  Scotch-Irish  decent  and  Hugh  Peoples,  Jr.,  was  the  second 
in  order  of  birth  in  their  family  of  seven  children.  In  his  native  country  lie  received  an 
academic  education  and  then  entered  the  service  of  the  Belfast  branch  of  the  Bank  of 
Ireland,  with  which  institution  he  remained  for  six  years.  In  1880  he  came  to  the  United 
States  for  a  three  months'  visit  and  in  1881  returned  to  this  country,  settling  in  Boston, 
Massachusetts,  where  he  resided  for  a  time. 

In  the  spring  of  1882  Mr.  Peoples  came  to  Edd}'  county  and  located  on  land  adjoining 
what  is  now  New  Rockford.  At  that  time  there  were  only  two  other  settlers  in  what  is 
now  Eddy  county  and  they  were  located  on  Sheyenne  river  fifteen  miles  from  Mr.  Peoples. 
In  1883  he  established  a  general  merchandise  and  farm  implement  business,  his  being  the 
first  business  house  in  the  county.  He  was  also  for  a  number  of  years  engaged  in  the  bank- 
ing business  in  New  Rockford  and  adjoining  towns  and  is  still  connected  with  a  number  of 
business  enterprises.  He  has  been  identified  with  farming  operations  on  quite  an  extensive 
scale  and  labors  earnestly  for  the  best  interests  of  the  community,  especially  in  the  de- 
velopment of  the  farming  interests.  At  the  present  time  he  owns  eighteen  thousand  acres 
of  the  finest  improved  farm  land  in  the  county. 

In  religious  faith  Mr.  Peoples  is  an  Episcopalian  and  in  politics  he  is  an  ardent  repub- 
lican. He  served  as  a  delegate  to  the  national  convention  when  Theodore  Roosevelt  was 
nominated  for  the  presidency  for  the  first  time.  On  his  party  ticket  he  was  elected  to  the 
state  legislature  in  1896.  Before  leaving  his  native  land  Mr.  Peoples  was  made  a  Master 
Mason  in  Ireland  in  1879.  In  the  United  States  he  has  attained  the  other  degrees  up  to 
and  including  the  thirty-second  degree  of  the  Scottish  Rite  and  he  is  also  a  member  of  the 
Shrine,  of  the  Knights  of  Pythias  and  of  the  Yeomen. 


^VILLTAM   H.  PADDEN. 


William  H.  Padden,  an  attorney  of  Courtenay  practicing  at  the  bar  of  Stutsman  county, 
was  born  at  Hudson,  Wisconsin,  on  the  28th  of  July,  1884,  but  was  reared  in  Minneapolis, 
Minnesota,  to  which  city  he  went  with  his  parents  in  his  early  boyhood.  He  is  a  son  of 
Michael  and  Mary  (Cashman)  Padden,  the  former  a  native  of  Ireland  and  the  latter  of  Mimie- 


734  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

sota.  Both  are  still  living  and  the  father  is  a  traveling  boiler  inspector  for  the  Soo  Railroad 
Companj'.  From  Minneapolis  he  removed  to  Glenwood,  Jlinnesota,  in  1895  and  in  1908  estab- 
lished his  home  at  Enderlin,  North  Dakota,  where  he  still  resides.  In  the  family  were  six 
children,  of  whom  one  died  in  infancy,  the  others  being:  William  H.,  Anastasia,  the  wife  of 
John  Hogenson,  an  engineer  living  at  Enderlin;  Walter,  who  makes  his  home  in  Glenwood, 
Minnesota,  and  is  employed  on  the  Soo  Line  Railroad;  Florence,  deceased;  and  Ethel,  at 
home. 

William  H.  Paddcn  acquired  his  education  in  the  schools  of  Jlinneapolis  and  of  Glen- 
wood, being  graduated  from  the  high  school  of  the  latter  place  with  the  class  of  1903.  He 
afterward  pursued  an  academic  course  in  the  University  of  Minnesota  and  from  1903  until 
1905  inclusive,  pursued  a  law  course  in  that  institution.  Later  he  entered  the  University  of 
North  Dakota,  from  which  he  was  graduated  with  the  class  of  1906,  winning  the  LL.  D. 
degree.  He  began  practice  at  Towner,  the  county  seat  of  McHenry  county,  and  for  about  a 
year  was  in  partnership  with  Qiarles  Donnelly.  He  then  went  to  Conrad,  Montana,  and 
while  in  that  state  he  took  up  a  homestead,  and  complying  with  the  law's  requirements  as 
to  occupancy  and  improvements,  at  length  won  his  title  to  the  property.  He  has  been  a 
resident  of  Courtenay  since  1U13,  entering  upon  active  practice  there  in  July.  In  the  inter- 
vening period  he  has  secured  a  good  clientage  and  he  is  most  careful  in  the  conduct  of  the 
litigated  interests  entrusted  to  his  care.  With  the  financial  interests  of  the  loealitj'  he  Is 
also  identified  as  a  stockholder  of  the  Stutsman  County  Bank. 

On  the  5th  of  May,  1914,  Mr.  Padden  was  married  to  Miss  Marie  \A'allsmith,  who  was 
born  in  Illinois,  and  with  her  parents  went  to  Madison,  Minnesota,  where  her  father  and 
mother  still  reside.  In  his  political  views  Mr.  Padden  is  a  republican  but  not  an  office 
holder.  He  belongs  to  the  Catholic  church  of  Courtena^f  and  is  a  member  of  Fargo  Council 
of  the  Knights  of  Columbus.  He  is  also  identified  with  the  Modern  Woodmen  camp  at 
Glenwood,  Minnesota.  His  time  and  attention,  however,  are  chiefly  concentrated  upon  his 
professional  interests  and  his  increasing  ability  is  evidenced  in  his  growing  practice. 


STEPHEN  EYOLFSON. 


Stephen  Eyolfson,  a  dealer  in  farm  implements  and  also  engaged  in  repair  work  of 
that  character  in  Edinburg,  is  a  representative  of  that  substantial  class  of  citizens  that 
Iceland  has  furnished  to  North  Dakota.  He  was  born  December  25,  1849,  a  son  of  Ej'olfur 
Magnuson,  a  native  of  Iceland,  who  in  1876  came  to  America  and  settled  at  New  Iceland, 
Manitoba.  There  he  took  up  the  occupation  of  fanning  and  made  his  home  at  that  place 
until  his  death,  which  occurred  in  1911,  when  he  had  reached  the  very  venei-able  age  of 
eighty-five  years.  In  his  native  country  he  had  been  recognized  as  a  prominent  and 
progressive  agriculturist  and  in  Canada  received  from  Lord  Duff'erin  a  silver  medal  in 
recognition  of  his  progressive  and  advanced  ideas  in  regard  to  farming.  He  married 
Stephana  Steinum,  who  passed  away  in  Iceland  in  1864.  She  was  the  mother  of  five 
children. 

Stephen  Eyolfson,  the  second  in  order  of  birth,  pursued  his  education  in  the  common 
schools  of  his  native  country  and  his  early  life  was  spent  upon  the  home  farm.  He  was 
twenty-seven  years  of  age  when  he  came  to  the  new  world,  first  making  his  way  to  New 
Iceland  with  his  father,  for  whom  he  worked  for  five  years,  assisting  him  in  the  development 
and  improvement  of  his  farm  there.  In  1881  Mr.  Eyolfson  came  to  North  Dakota,  establish- 
ing his  home  in  Pembina  count}'.  There  he  secured  three  hundred  and  twenty  acres  of 
land  through  the  preemption  and  homestead  acts  and  at  once  began  the  arduous  task  of 
converting  the  wild  prairie  into  productive  fields.  His  labors  were  attended  with  excellent 
results  and  there  was  soon  a  marked  transformation  in  the  appearance  of  the  place,  which 
became  a  valuable  and  productive  tract  of  land.  He  still  owns  that  farm,  which  is  now 
being  cultivated  by  his  sons.  In  1909  Mr.  Eyolfson  established  a  farm  implement  business 
at  Edinburg,  where  he  today  has  the  largest  business  of  the  kind  in  his  section  of  Walsh 
county,  his  sales  reaching  an  extensive  figure  annually.  He  carries  the  best  products  of  the 
farm  implement  manufacturing  establishments  of  the  country.     He   is  also  a  director  and 


STEPHEN  EYOLFSOX 


THE  NEW  YORK 
PUBLIC  LIB-RAKY 


TiLJsax  /■••j>i»j.t:on!> 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  737 

stockholder  of  the  Edinburg  &  Gaidar  Telephone  Company.  In  all  that  he  attempts  he 
is  actuated  by  a  spirit  of  enterprise  and  progressiveness  and  his  labors  have  been  an  element 
in  public  progi"ess  as  well  as  improvement. 

In  1883,  at  Gardar,  Mr.  Eyolfson  was  married  to  Miss  Gudrun  Bjorison,  a  native  of 
Iceland  and  a  daughter  of  Thorloc  and  Thordis  Bjorison.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Eyolfson  liave 
become  the  parents  of  s<>ven  children,  Cecelia,  Thorloc.  Margaret,  Thordis,  Magnus,  Pearl  and 
Bjorn. 

The  parents  are  members  of  the  Lutheran  church  and  Mr.  Eyolfson  is  president  of  the 
congregation  at  Gardar.  Eratcrnally  he  is  a  Mason  and  is  also  connected  with  the  Independent 
Order  of  Foresters.  His  political  allegiance  is  given  to  the  republican  party  and  in  1896 
he  was  elected  on  the  populist  ticket  to  the  state  legislature.  He  has  served  as  school 
director  for  twenty  years  and  has  filled  every  township  office,  while  for  three  years  he  was 
county  commissioner  of  Pembiiia  county.  He  has  always  taken  an  active  interest  in  politics 
and  was  the  recognized  leader  of  the  populist  party  in  Pembina  county  during  its  existence. 
He  stands  for  |irogrcss  and  improvement  in  public  affairs  and  believes  thoroughly  in  the 
true  American  spirit  of  democracy.  He  has  never  had  occasion  to  regret  his  determination 
to  come  to  the  new  world,  for  here  he  has  fouiul  the  business  opportunities  which  he  sought 
and  in  their  improvement  has  made  steady  advancement,  winning  a  place  among  the  sub- 
stantial   residents    of    Edinburg. 


OLE  T.  FOSHOLDT. 


Ole  T.  Fosholdt  is  a  pioneer  merchant  of  Courlcnay  and  though  he  has  twice  suffered 
heavy  losses  by  fire  he  has  througli  persistent  energy  continued  his  business  interests  and 
his  wise  direction  and  able  management  are  bringing  to  him  a  measure  of  success  that  is 
not  only  gratifying  personally  but  also  constitutes  an  element  in  the  commercial  develop- 
ment of  his  town.  He  was  born  in  Hedalen,  Norway,,  December  13,  1867,  a  son  of  T.  J.  and 
Ronaug  Fosholdt,  who  in  the  year.  1881  brought  their  family  to  the  United  States,  cross- 
ing the  Atlantic  to  Quebec,  whence  they  removed  to  Iowa,  settling  in  Mitchell  county.  In 
the  spring  of  1882,  however,  they  came  to  North  Dakota,  where  the  father  took  up  govern- 
ment land,  securing  a  claim  ten  miles  north  of  Cooperstown,  in  Griggs  county.  He  at  once 
began  to  develop  that  tract  and  convert  it  into  rich  and  productive  fields,  which  he  con- 
tinued to  cultivate  until  he  retired  from  active  business  life.  He  is  now  living  in  Coopers- 
town,  enjoying  a  rest  which  he  has  truly  earned  and  richly  deserves.  His  wife  died  upon 
the  home  farm  near  Coopcr.stown  in  18SS  and  her  death  was  the  occasion  of  deep  regret  to 
many  friends. 

Ole  T.  Fosholdt  began  his  education  in  the  schools  of  Norway  and  continued  his 
studies  in  the  schools  of  North  Dakota.  He  was  early  trained  in  the  work  of  the  fields  and 
soon  knew  the  best  methods  of  tilling  the  soil  and  caring  for  the  crops,  but  in  the  fall 
of  1888  he  left  the  farm  to  become  a  clerk  for  Hammer  &  Condy  of  Cooperstc;wn  In  the 
winter  of  1899-90  he  pursued  a  course  in  the  Normal  Business  College  at  Portland,  North 
Dakota,  and  upon  its  completion  returned  to  the  firm  of  Hammer  &  Condy  in  the  capacity 
of  bookkeeper,  thus  serving  until  the  fall  of  1S92,  when  he  removed  to  Courtenay.  to  open 
a  general  mercantile  establishment  on  his  own  account.  He  erected  a  building  and  started 
a  general  store,  at  which  time  there  was  a  depot  and  elevator  at  Courtenay  but  no  one  was 
in  charge  of  the  depot.  His  store  at  that  time  was  located  a  block  northwest  of  its  ]iresent 
site  and  the  building  was  a  one  story  structure  twenty-four  by  thirty-six  feet.  There  he 
remained  until  the  following  spring,  when  he  pjirchased  two  lots  where  he  now  conducts 
his  business  and  erected  thereon  a  larger  building.  There  he  remained  until  1895,  when 
the  building  was  destroyed  by  fire  although  he  was  able  to  save  much  of  his  stock.  He 
next  erected  a  two  story  frame  building,  the  second  floor  being  used  as  a  hall.  That  store 
stood  until  1901,  when  he  again  suffered  a  heavy  loss  through  fire,  not  only  the  building 
but  his  stock  this  time  being  destroyed.  He  then  erected  a  fireproof  brick  building  one 
story  in  height  and  fifty-three  by  seventy  feet.  He  carries  a  full  line  of  general  merchan- 
dise, including  dry  goods,  groceries  and  men's  and  women's  furnishing  goods,  and  his  attrac- 

Vol.  Ill— 34 


738  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

tive  stock  and  honorable  methods  are  the  chief  sources  of  his  growing  success.  In  addition 
to  his  commercial  interests  he  is  a  stockholder  and  one  of  the  directors  of  the  Stutsman 
County  Bank. 

In  1894  Mr.  Fosholdt  was  married  to  Miss  Emma  Haggbcrg,  who  died  in  1903,  leaving 
a  son,  Clarence,  who  is  a  graduate  of  the  Minneapolis  Business  College  and  is  now  connected 
with  the  Stutsman  County  Bank.  In  1905  Mr.  Fosholdt  was  married  again,  liis  second 
union  being  with  Miss  Minnie  Haggberg,  who  was  born  in  Cokato,  Minnesota.  Thej'  now 
have  one  son,  Howard,  who  is  attending  school. 

Politically  Mr.  Fosholdt  is  a  republican  and  has  served  in  local  offices,  including  that 
of  village  treasurer.  He  has  also  been  officially  connected  with  the  schools,  serving  as 
school  treasurer,  and  he  has  been  a  member  of  the  town  board.  He  belongs  tq  the  Lutheran 
church  of  Courtenay  and  its  teachings  guide  him  in  his  life's  relations,  for  he  is  an  honorable 
as  well  as  successful  merchant,  a  loyal  citizen,  a  faithful  friend  and  a  devoted  husband 
and  father. 


GEORGE   W.  WILSON. 


The  town  of  Stanley,  Ward  county,  Xorth  Dakota,  owes  much  to  George  W.  Wilson, 
who- owns  the  local  hotel,  the  telephone  exchange  and  the  Stanlej'  Sun  and  who,  moreover, 
platted  the  town  itself.  He  has  been  very  successful  in  the  management  of  his  various 
business  interests,  carrying  out  all  of  his  plans,  and  he  is  justly  recognized  as  one  of  the 
leading  citizens  of  his  county.  A  native  of  Maryland,  he  was  born  in  Baltimore  on  the 
28th  of  January,  1858,  of  the  marriage  of  Samuel  E.  and  Martha  D.  (Davis)  Wilson,  the 
former  born  in  Harford  county,  Maryland,  on  the  7th  of  June,  1833,  and  the  latter  in 
Baltimore  on  the  1st  of  April,  1831.  The  father  learned  the  miller's  trade  in  early  life 
and  in  1862  removed  to  Maysville,  Kentuckj',  where  he  engaged  in  milling  for  a  time. 
Subsequently  he  followed  his  trade  in  Cincinnati,  Ohio,  for  several  years,  after  which  he 
operated  mills  in  various  places  in  that  state  until  1871,  when  he  removed  to  Liberty, 
Indiana,  where  he  followed  the  same  business  until  1875.  He  then  took  up  his  residence 
upon  a  farm  in  Delaware  county,  Indiana,  where  he  lived  until  his  death  in  1901.  During 
the  Civil  war  he  was  twice  drafted  but  as  he  furnished  substitutes  both  times  he  was  never 
in  the  military  service.  His  wife  passed  away  in  1879.  They  were  the  parents  of  six 
children,  of  whom  George  W.  is  the  eldest. 

Mr.  Wilson  of  this  review  attended  school  in  Kentucky  and  in  Ohio  and  received  his 
high  school  education  in  Liberty,  Indiana.  He  remained  with  his  parents  until  he  attained 
his  majority  and  then  began  farming  in  the  Hoosier  state,  so  continuing  until  1880.  In 
that  year  he  entered  the  employ  of  the  Northern  Pacific  Railroad  and  worked  on  the  con- 
struction of  that  road  into  Bismarck.  Later  he  was  employed  on  a  government  telegraph 
line  for  two  years  but  at  the  end  of  that  time  took  up  a  homestead  south  of  Bismarck, 
on  which  he  proved  up  in  1887.  He  then  became  a  resident  of  Minot  and  was  employed 
there  as  operator  by  the  Great  Northern  Railroad  for  a  short  time.  He  next  worked  at 
carpentering  until  the  fall  of  1887,  when  he  entered  the  journalistic  field  as  a  partner 
of  L.  D.  McGahan.  They  established  the  Williston  Beacon,  buying  out  W.  W.  Maybee, 
who  had  published  the  paper  under  the  name  of  The  Little  Muddy  Optic.  'On  going  to 
Williston  the  partners  erected  a  log  shack,  in  which  they  installed  their  printing  plant  and 
which  also  served  as  their  home.  They  had  very  limited  capital  and  in  order  to  save 
money  boarded  themselves  and  Mr.  Wilson  remembers  that  their  first  meal  consisted  of 
bread  and  liver,  the  latter  being  given  them.  They  published  the  Williston  Beacon  for 
about  eighteen  months,  after  which  they  went  to  Minot  and  established  the  Minot  Journal, 
the  fii-st  issue  of  which  appeared  on  the  26th  of  April,  1889.  Subsequently  Mr.  Wilson 
purchased  the  interest  of  his  partner  and  remained  sole  proprietor  of  the  .Journal  until 
1893,  when  he  disposed  of  the  paper  and  removed  to  Towner,  where  he  engaged  in  the 
newspaper  business  for  eighteen  months.  In  1895  he  returned  to  Minot  and  founded  the 
Minot  Mirror,  which  he  discontinued  the  following  year.  He  then  purchased  the  Minot 
Reporter  and  for  ten  years  successfully  conducted  that  paper,  selling  out  in  1906  on  receiv- 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  739 

lug  tlif  nppointment  as  register  of  the  laml  ofTiee  at  \Villi»toii.  Six  years  previously,  in 
laOO,  lie  liad  filed  on  a  homestead  in  Ward  county  and  in  1002  he  platted  the  town  of 
Stanley  on  his  land  and  sold  a  part  of  his  homestead  as  town  lots.  He  still  owns  a  large 
portion  of  the  town  site  and  he  has  been  connected  with  its  upbuilding  along  many  lines  of 
endeavor.  In  1903,  with  a  partner,  he  established  the  Stanley  Sun,  of  which  he  has  been 
the  sole  owner  since  1903.  In  1910  he  took  up  his  residence  in  Stanley  and  in  1908  he 
established  the  local  telephone  e.xchange  which  he  still  owns.  In  that  year  he  also  built 
the  Wilson  Hotel,  which  is  one  of  the  finest  buildings  in  Stanley,  and  he  is  also  conducting 
a  dairy  on  his  farm.  He  holds  title  to  two  hundred  and  fifty  acres  of  land  and  has  made 
his  place  one  of  the  best  improved  properties  of  the  county.  He  concentrates  his  energies 
upon  the  management  of  his  various  interests  and  receives  a  handsome  income  from  his 
investments. 

Mr.  Wilson  was  married  on  the  121h  of  October,  1888,  to  Miss  Clara  J.  Corbett,  a 
native  of  Corbett,  Ontario,  and  a  daughter  of  John  C.  and  Marjory  (GoodJ  Corbett,  both 
natives  of  the  province  of  Ontario,  Canada.  The  father  owned  land  there  and  engaged  in 
farming  in  the  Dominion  until  1887,  when  he  came  to  the  United  States  and  entered  the 
employ  of  the  Great  Northern  Kailroad,  with  which  he  remained  for  several  years.  He 
then  returned  to  his  farm  in  Ontario  but  a  number  of  years  later  came  to  North  Dakota 
and  assumed  the  management  of  Mr.  Wilson's  large  farm  at  Stanley.  He  is  now,  however, 
connected  with  the  AVilson  Hotel.  His  wife  is  also  living  and  they  own  a  comfortable 
liome  in  Stanley.  Jlr.  and  Mrs.  Wilson  have  two  children:  Florence  M.,  the  wife  of  G.  E. 
Beemis,  who  is  president  of  the  College  of  Commerce  at  Minot  and  further  mention  of 
whom  appears  elsewhere  in  this  work;  and  Edna  H.,  who  is  the  wife  of  R.  G.  Moore, 
editor  of  the  Stanley  Sun,  and  has  two  children,  Clarice  D.  and  Robert  W. 

Mr.  Wilson  supports  the  republican  party  at  the  polls  and  for  years  has  taken  an 
active  part  in  public  affairs.  He  was  register  of  the  land  office  at  Williston  from  1906  until 
1910,  served  as  justice  of  the  peace  at  Towner,  has  been  president  of  the  school  board  of 
Stanley  for  three  years  and  has  served  as  president  of  the  board  of  township  trustees  for 
one  year.  While  living  in  Minot  he  was  one  of  a  committee  appointed  by  its  citizens 
for  the  purpose  of  securing  the  building  of  the  Soo  Line  into  Minot  and  rendered  efficient 
service  in  that  connection.  He  belongs  to  the  Presbyterian  church  and  holds  membership  in 
the  Ancient  Order  of  United  Workmen,  the  Woodmen  of  the  World,  the  Knights  of  Pythias, 
the  Masonic  order  and  in  the  four  branches  of  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows,  in 
which  he  was  a  grand  master  in  1910  and  1911  and  representative  to  the  Sovereign  Grand 
Lodge  in  1911  and  1912.  Throughout  his  life  he  has  manifested  a  genuine  regard  for  the 
rights  of  others,  sterling  integrity  and  unusual  energy  and  determination  and  has  gained 
not  only  financial  independence  but  also  the  sincere  respect  and  the  warm  regard  of  those 
with   whom    he    has    been    associated. 


FRED  A.  REDETZKE. 


Fred  A.  Redetzke,  a  representative  of  mercantile  interests  in  Stark  county,  is  engaged 
in  business  at  Antelope,  where  he  conducts  a  general  store.  He  was  born  in  Wisconsin 
in  1883,  a  son  of  Fred  A.  and  Ernestine  (Nothnagel)  Redetzke,  both  of  whom  were  of 
German  birth.  The  father  came  to  the  United  States  about  1865  and  settled  in  Wisconsin 
but  afterward  removed  with  his  family  to  Minnesota.  In  both  states  he  carried  on  gen- 
eral farming,  devoting  his  energies  to  that  pursuit  until  called  to  his  final  rest. 

Fred  A.  Redetzke  was  but  a  young  lad  when  the  family  home  was  established  in 
Minnesota,  where  he  pursued  a  public  school  education  while  spending  his  youthful  days 
upon  his  father's  farm.  He  continued  to  assist  in  the  development  of  the  fields  upon  the 
old  homestead  until  he  attained  his  majority,  when  in  1903  he  removed  to  Hebron,  North 
Dakota,  where  he  secured  a  homestead  claim.  He  proved  up  on  that  property  in  1906  and 
afterward  turned  his  attention  to  merchandising,  securing  a  clerkship  with  the  Urbin 
Mercantile  Company  of  Hebron,  with  which  he  remained  for  a  period  of  four  years.  He 
next  entered  the  garage  business  and  was  thus  engaged  at  Hebron  for  two  years,  on  the 


740  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

expiration  of  which  jipriod  he  sold  out.  On  the  5th  of  April,  1915,  he  removed  to  Antelope, 
where  he  purchased  the  general  store  of  which  he  is  now  proprietor.  This  was  established 
in  1905  by  E.  F.  Hill.  The  elevator  had  been  opened  at  Antelope  about  1900,  which  year 
witnessed  the  beginning  of  the  town.  Tlie  mercantile  enterprise  of  which  Mr.  Redetzke  is 
now  proprietor  was  one  of  the  pioneer  business  establishments  of  Antelope  and  is  today 
one  of  the  foremost  commercial  concerns  there.  Mr.  Redetzke  is  a  wide-awake,  alert  and 
energetic  man  who  is  carefully  and  wisely  controlling  his  interests  and  has  built  up  a  good 
trade  which  he  draws  from  a  wide  territory.  He  now  carries  a  complete  line  of  hardware 
and  general  merchandise  and  puts  forth  every  effort  to  please  his  patrons. 

In  1906  Mr.  Redetzke  was  married  to  Miss  Ella  Urbin,  a  native  of  Hebron,  North 
Dakota,  and  a  daughter  of  his  former  employer,  John  Urbin.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Redetzke  have 
become  parents  of  three  children,  Lillian,  Esther  and  Doris.  They  occupy  an  attractive  resi- 
dence at  Antelope  which  Mr.  Redetzke  owns.  In  politics  he  is  a  stalwart  republican  and 
on  the  7th  of  July,  1915,  he  was  appointed  postmaster  of  Antelope,  which  position  he  is 
now  filling.  He  belongs  to  the  Evangelical  church  of  Hebron  and  guides  his  life  according 
to  its  teachings.  He  owes  his  prosperity  absolutely  to  his  own  energy  and  ability.  He 
started  out  with  a  homestead  on  which  he  filed  and  from  that  point  has  worked  his  way 
upward  to  his  present  success,  being  now  numbered  among  the  men  of  affluence  in  his 
community. 


HUGH  OSBORNE. 


Hugh  Osborne,  actively  identified  with  newspaper  publication  in  Cleveland,  Stutsman 
county,  was  born  near  Cassopolis,  Michigan,  August  25,  1880,  a  son  of  Arthur  S.  and 
Frances  (McMonagle)  Osborne,  the  former  a  native  of  Michigan  and  the  latter  of  New  York. 
Following  their  marriage  they  established  their  home  in  the  Wolverine  state,  where  they 
lived  until  1881  and  then  removed  to  the  territory  of  Dakota,  settling  near  Columbia,  in 
what  is  now  the  state  of  South  Dakota.  The  father  there  engaged  in  the  retail  lumber 
business  for  a  considerable  period  and  following  the  death  of  his  wife  he  removed  to 
North  Dakota,  e.'stablishing  his  home  in  Cleveland.    He  now  lives  in  Portland.  Oregon. 

Hugh  Osborne  was  taken  to  Soutli  Dakota  during  his  infancy  and  at  the  usual  age 
became  a  pupil  in  the  public  schools  of  Columbia,  passing  through  consecutive  grades  to  the 
high  school.  Later  he  pursued  a  year's  course  in  the  Aberdeen  Bu.^iness  College  and  for  one 
year,  was  a  student  in  the  Archibald  Business  College  of  Minneapolis,  from  which  he  was 
graduated  upon  the  completion  of  a  commercial  course.  In  1901  he  went  upon  the  road 
and  traveled  in  the  southwestern  part  of  the  country  for  a  year,  but  in  1903  came  to 
North  Dakota  and  in  1903  secured  a  homestead  claim  nine  miles  north  of  Cleveland.  He 
settled  upon  the  property,  establishing  ownership  thereto  by  close  conformity  to  the  land 
laws  of  the  country.  He  afterward  took  up  his  abode  in  tlie  town  of  Cleveland  and  pur- 
chased the  Stutsman  County  Leader  on  the  8th  of  October,  1908,  since  which  time  he  has 
continued  active  in  newspaper  publication.  The  present  paper  is  the  result  of  the  fusion 
of  the  Cleveland  Herald,  the  publication  of  which  was  begun  November  5,  1903,  and  the 
Stutsman  County  Leader,  which  was  started  January  15,  1904.  These  papers  were 
consolidated  in  1905  under  the  latter  name  and  Mr.  Osborne  has  since  given  his  close 
attention  to  journalistic  interests,  making  his  paper  one  of  credit  to  the  community.  He 
also  does  considerable  job  work  and  has  a  splendidly  equipped  office,  to  whidi  he  has 
recently   added   a   new    Campbell    press. 

On  the  19th  of  .June,  1909,  Mr.  Osborne  was  married  to  Miss  Arline  Decker,  a  native  of 
Pennsylvania,  who  came  to  North  Dakota  with  her  parents  and  settled  in  Grand  Forks. 
Two  children  have  been   born   of   this  marriage,  Frances  and  John. 

Mr.  Osborne  owns  his  home  and  also  has  other  property  in  Cleveland,  including  the 
building  which  houses  his  newspaper  office,  and  he  is  also  interested  in  farming.  His 
political  allegiance  is  given  to  the  republican  party  and  for  the  past  five  years  he  has 
served  as  village  clerk  and  in  1908  was  elected  to  assess  the  fourth  district.  He  has  also 
been   the   treasurer   of   the   school   district   for    several   years    and   is    a   progressive   citizen. 


HISTORY  OF  XORTII  DAKOTA  741 

interested  in  all  that  pertains  to  the  civic  woU'arc  and  betterment  of  the  comnmnity.  He 
is  affiliated  with  the  Congregational  church  and  seeks  to  promote  the  moral  progress  of 
ills  town,  while  in  all  things  his  inlluenee  is  on  the  side  of  right  and  of  advancement. 


DR.  A.  F.  ELLIOTT. 


Dr.  A.  F.  Elliott,  one  of  the  most  prominent  veterinarians  of  North  Dakota,  engaged 
in  practice  at  Milton,  was  born  on  the  28th  of  February,  1874,  in  Ontario,  Canada,  and 
is  a  son  of  James  and  Mary  (Curry)  Elliott.  The  father  was  a  native  of  Ireland  but  in 
early  life  removed  to  Canada,  where  ho  followed  farming  as  a  means  of  livelihood.  He  died 
there  in  1875.  but  the  niotlier,  who  was  a  native  of  Canada,  passed  away  in  North  Dakota 
in  December,  1915,  at  the  age  of  eighty-two  years. 

In  their  family  were  nine  children,  of  whom  the  Doctor  is  the  youngest.  He  began 
his  education  in  the  public  schools  of  Canada,  and  later  attended  high  school  at  Clinton, 
Ontario,  and  the  Veterinary  College  at  Toronto,  from  which  he  was  graduated  in  1896. 
In  April  of  that  year  he  located  at  Milton,  North  Dakota,  where  he  has  since  engaged  in 
practice  with  remarkable  success,  and  he  now  owns  and  conducts  one  of  the  finest  veteri- 
nary hospitals  in  the  state.  He  is  also  engaged  in  farming  on  (juite  an  extensive  scale, 
owning  six  hundred  and  eighty  acres  of  land  in  Cavalier  county  and  in  its  o])eration  uses 
the  latest  improved  machinery.  Besides  this  iirojierty  ho  owns  one  hundred  and  si.\ty 
acres  of  land  in  Vancouver,  British  Columbia. 

On  the  15th  of  November,  1899,  in  Milton,  Di."  Elliott  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss 
Laura  M.  Thompson,  a  daughter  of  William  Thompson,  one  of  the  pioneers  of  this  state. 
To  them  were  born  two  children:  Mary  Dorothy,  who  was  born  in  1902  and  is  now  attend- 
ing higli  school;  and  Jlargaret  Louise,  who  died  in  1908  at  the  age  of  eighteen  months. 

As  a  recreation  Dr.  Elliott  enjoys  motoring  and  is  the  owner  of  a  fine  Buick  of  the 
1917  model,  the  first  of  the  kind  in  Milton.  He  is  a  prominent  Mason,  having  attained  the 
thirty-second  degree  of  the  Scottish  Rite,  and  is  also  a  member  of  the  Independent  Order 
of  Foresters.  In  politics  he  is  a  republican.  In  his  chosen  profession  he  has  won  a 
foremost  position  among  the  leading  veterinarians  of  America.  For  six  years  he  served 
as  district  veterinarian  and  assistant  state  veterinarian  since  1907  and  has  been  president 
of  the  state  veterinary  examining  board.  He  is  a  member  of  both  the  American  and  North 
Dakota  \'eterinary  Associations  and  the  high  esteem  in  which  he  is  held  is  cc'rtainly  well 
merited. 


C.  W.  PLAIN. 


One  of  the  most  prominent  and  influential  citizens  of  Montrose  township,  Cavalier 
eounty,  adjoining  Milton,  North  Dakota,  is  C.  W.  Plain.  He  was  born  in  Aurora,  Illinois, 
March  10.  1S5S.  and  is  a  son  of  .Jacob  and  Angela  (Berg)  Plain,  natives  of  Orenhofen,  Ger- 
many, where  they  were  reared,  educated  and  married.  It  was  in  1852  that  the  family  came 
to  America  anil  located  in  Illinois,  where  the  father  engaged  in  farming  throughout  his  active 
business  life.  His  death  occurred  in  Aurora  in  1899  when  he  was  seventy  years  of  age,  and 
his  wife  passed  away  in  1905  at  about  the  age  of  seventy-five  years.  They  were  the  parents 
of  twelve  children,  of  whom  C.  W.  is  the  fourth  in  order  of  birth. 

Mr.  Plain  of  this  review  attended  the  country  schools  near  his  boyhood  homo  in 
Illinois  and  after  completing  his  education  served  an  apprenticeship  to  the  machinist's 
trade,  which  ho  followed  for  several  years.  For  a  time  he  was  also  upon  the  road  traveling 
for  the  William  Deering  Company.  In  1887  he  came  to  North  Dakota  and  filed  on  a  home- 
stead in  Cavalier  county,  which  he  later  proved  up  as  a  preemption  and  still  owns.  In  1888 
he  removed  to  Milton,  where  he  formed  a  partnership  with  C.  K.  McEwan  and  J.  .T.  Dougherty 
as  dealers  in  farm  machinery,  under  the  firm  name  of  McEwan,  Dougliortv  &  Plain,  being 
thus  engaged  until  1899,  when  he  bought  out  his  partners  and  thereafter  ran  the  businesii 
alone  until  1901,  when  he  sold  out  to  the  McMillan  Machine  Company.     In  1914  he  resumed 


742  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

this  business  which  lie  is  still  conducting.  In  the  meantime  Mr.  Plain  had  become  interested 
in  agricultural  pursuits.  In  1901,  shortly  after  his  marriage,  he  located  on  his  farm  two 
miles  from  Milton  where  he  now  resides  and  is  engaged  in  active  farming.  In  1906  he 
established  a  lumberyard  in  Milton  which  he  is  still  conducting,  having  built  up  a  large 
and  profitable  trade  as  a  lumber  dealer,  for  his  patronage  comes  from  a  wide  territory. 

On  the  14th  of  November,  1900,  Mr.  Plain  was  married  in  St.  Paul,  IMinnesota,  to  Miss 
Agnes  McGinnis,  a  daugliter  of  Thomas  and  Mary  McGinnis.  The  children  born  of  this 
union  are:  Karl,  who  was  born  November  12,  1901,  and  is  now  attending  high  school; 
Margaret,  born  April  6,  1903,  who  died  at  the  age  of  two  years  and  seven  months;  Urban, 
born  November  31,  1904;  Thomas,  born  February  16,  1907;  Robert,  born  February  5,  1909, 
who  died  at  the  age  of  one  year  and  seven  months;  and  Dorothy,  born  July  24,  1915. 

The  family  are  communicants  of  the  Roman  Catholic  church.  Mr.  Plain  is  a  republican 
who  has  taken  a  very  prominent  part  in  political  affairs.  He  has  served  as  president  of  the 
town  board  of  Milton.  In  1893  he  was  elected  to  the  house  of  representatives  and  in  1895 
to  the  state  senate,  of  which  he  was  an  honored  member  for  the  long  period  of  sixteen 
years.  He  fully  justified  the  confidence  reposed  in  him  by  his  fellow  citizens  and  could 
always  be  relied  upon  to  support  every  worthy  measure  for  the  benefit  of  his  county  and 
state.  His  public  and  private  life  are  both  above  reproach  and  he  is  held  in  the  highest 
esteem  by  all  who  know  him. 


SEYMOUR  S.  TITUS. 


Recognizing  the  opportunities  for  the  expansion  of  banking  interests  in  Grand  Forks, 
Seymour  S.  Titus,  founder  and  promoter  of  the  first  banking  institution  of  the  city  and 
the  second  in  the  state  of  North  Dakota,  is  today  chairman  of  the  board  of  directors  of  the 
First  National  Bank  of  Grand  Forks  and  as  such  occupies  a  most  prominent  position  in 
financial  circles  in  the  northwest.  His  achievements  represent  the  fit  utilization  of  his  time, 
talents  and  opportunities.  He  was  born  at  Oak  Grove,  Hennepin  county,  Minnesota,  June 
3,  1851.  and  is  a  son  of  Moses  S.  and  Jane  L.  Titus  the  father  removing  from  Connecticut 
to  Minnesota  in  1844,  where  he  engaged  in  farming  for  many  years. 

The  son  obtained  his  education  in  the  rural  winter  schools  of  his  native  state,  where 
he  was  reared  to  manhood  upon  the  home  farm  in  Scott  county.  In  the  fall  of  1872  he 
entered  the  First  National  Bank  of  Shakopee  Minnesota,  as  general  helper,  without  wages, 
and  so  continued  until  the  fall  of  1874,  this  constituting  the  initial  step  toward  his  present 
position,  giving  him  some  experience  in  bankinjr.  louring  the  succeeding  five  years  he  was 
employed  as  a  bookkeeper  and  clerk  by  Andrew  J.  Smith  a  private  banker  of  Sauk  Centre, 
Minnesota,  and  in  .June,  1879,  with  a  view  toward  selecting  a  location  for  a  permanent 
settlement,  he  visited  Grand  Forks,  and  on  the  29th  of  August  of  that  year  in  association 
with  J.  Walker  Smith  he  opened  the  Bank  of  Grand  Forks  which  was  the  second  bank 
opened  in  what  is  now  the  state  of  North  Dakota.  Mr.  Titus  became  cashier  of  the  new 
institution.  With  the  settlement  and  development  of  the  city  and  county  the  business 
of  the  bank  steadily  expanded,  and  at  the  close  of  business  on  the  31st  of  October,  18S1,  the 
deposits  amounted  to  two  hundred  thirty-four  thousand,  two  hundred  thirty-three  dollars. 
On  November  1,  1881,  the  Bank  of  Grand  Forks  was  converted  into  the  Citizens  National 
Bank.  Mr.  Titus  remained  its  cashier,  while  .Jacob  S.  Eshelman  became  the  president  and 
J.  Walker  Smith  vice  president.  In  .January,  1884,  the  stock  was  increased  to  one  hundred 
thousand  dollars.  On  the  1st  of  July,  1890,  the  bank  assumed  the  title  of  the  First 
National  Bank  and  in  August,  1896,  removed  to  its  present  quarters  occupying  nearly  the 
entire  first  fioor  of  the  First  National  Bank  building  its  quarters  then  being  as  fine  as 
those  of  any  bank  in  the  northwest.  At  the  beginning  the  bank  entered  upon  an  era  of 
successful  growth,  its  course  being  one  of  continuous  expansion,  and  on  September  IS,  1912, 
the  consolidation  of  the  First  National  and  the  Union  National  Banks  was  announced,  marking 
the  consummation  of  one  of  the  most  important  financial  deals  ever  carried  out  in  the  state, 
resulting  in  Grand  Forks  being  given  one  of  the  strongest  banking  institutions  in  the 
northwest.     The   bank   is   today  capitalized   for   two   hundred   thousand   dollars   and   has    a 


\ 


^* 


## 


it* 


'm 


^ 


SEYMOUR  S.  TITUS 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  745 

surplus  of  iifty  thousand  dollars.  Among  its  olliceis  and  stouklioldiT.s  are  some  of  the 
most  wealthy  and  influential  men  of  North  Dakota  and  their  high  standing  and  well  known 
business  integrity  give  the  institution  prominent  and  safe  connection  with  the  larger 
financial  centers  of  the  country.  The  strength  of  the  First  National  Bank  is  indicated  in 
the  fact  that  in  times  of  general  financial  de])re.ssion,  when  other  banks  have  been  forced  to  the 
wall,  the  First  National  has  emerged  strong  and  safe  from  the  storm  and  stress.  Its 
management  has  always  been  characterized  by  a  conservatism  that  has  constituted  the 
safeguard  of  its  deposits  and  all  of  its  manifold  interests.  Its  business  has  constantly 
broadened  in  scope  and  importance,  and  it  has  ever  remained  an  institution  of  the  greatest 
usefulness  to  the  community  and  state.  From  the  inception  of  the  private  bank,  of  which 
he  was  the  principal  founder,  through  all  the  subsequent  changes,  Mr.  Titus  remained  as 
cashier  until  September  16,  1912,  a  period  of  thirty-three  years,  when  he  was  elected 
president,  and  so  continued  until  August  1,  1916,  when  he  retired  from  the  presidency  and 
was  elected  chairman  of  the  board  of  directors.  Under  the  careful,  conservative  and  wise 
management  of  the  f:irsiglited  men  at  the  head  of  this  institution  its  growth  has  been 
almost  phenomenal,  and  it  has  come  to  be  recognized  as  one  of  the  strongest  banks  not 
only  of  North  Dakota  but  of  the  northwest.  From  the  beginning  Mr.  Titus  has  had  an 
active  part  in  its  management  and  control,  and  his  initiative  spirit  and  sound  judgment  have 
contributed  in  substantial  measure  to  its  success. 

On  the  5th  of  April,  1880,  Mr.  Titus  married  Miss  Annie  L.  Stabler  of  Sauk  Centre, 
Minnesota,  and  three  children  were  born  to  them  but  Marion  E.  alone  survives.  She  became 
the  wife  of  W.  R.  Vanderhoef,  the  owner  of  a  book,  stationery,  lens  and  kodak  store  in 
Grand  Forks.  They  now  have  two  children:  Lois  Gould,  born  May  21,  1913;  and  Dean 
Titus,  born  June  15,  1915. 

Mr.  Titus  is  a  member  of  the  First  Presbyterian  church,  Masonic  orders  and  the  Com- 
mercial Club.  He  is  now,  and  has  been  for  many  years,  treasurer  of  the  University  of  North 
Dakota,  which  is  located  at  Grand  Forks.  He  is  also  financially  interested  in  some  of  the 
leading  industries  and  enterprises  of  Grand  Forks.  In  fact,  his  broadening  interests  and 
activities  have  constituted  a  source  of  material  development  and  progress  in  city  and  state, 
and  thus  he  has  taken  an  active  part  in  the  upbuilding  of  Grand  Forks  and  of  North 
Dakota.  In  his  career  are  no  spectacular  phases.  He  has  not  reached  his  present  position 
of  prominence  by  leaps  and  bounds,  but  through  that  steady  progression  which  results 
from  the  wise  and  careful  iitilization  of  each  day's  opportunities,  resulting  from  a  recognition 
of  present  day  conditions.  Thus  his  interests  have  constantly  broadened  and  the  bank 
of  which  he  has  continuou.sly  been  one  of  the  active  managers  has  become  a  most  potent 
force  in  the  development  and  progress  of  the  state.  Moreover,  in  all  the  years  of  his 
connection  with  Grand  Forks  Mr.  Titus  has  displayed  a  spirit  of  progressive  citizenship 
that  has  made  him  an  active  cooperant  and  generous  supporter  of  every  plan  and  measure 
for  the  public  good,  and  the  value  of  his  example  as  well  as  his  generous  support  has  been 
incalculable. 


DANIEL  PRESZLER. 


Daniel  Preszler,  general  merchant  of  Medina,  was  born  in  Russia,  December  20,  1871, 
and  his  parents,  George  A.  and  Qiristina  (Mehlhof)  Preszler,  were  also  natives  of  the  same 
country.  The  mother  died  when  her  son  was  but  a  year  and  a  half  old,  and  in  the  fall  of 
1885  the  father  came  to  the  United  States  accompanied  by  his  three  sons.  Crossing  the 
country  tliey  settled  about  eight  miles  east  of  Eureka.  South  Dakota,  where  the  father 
engaged  in  farming  unil  1898,  at  which  time  he  removed  to  the  town  of  Eureka,  where  he 
is  now  living  retired.  For  many  years  he  carried  on  general  farming  and  stock  raising  and 
carefully  managed  his  business  affairs  until  success  in  large  measure  crowned  his  efforts, 
bringing  him  the  confidence  that  now  enables  him  to  rest  from  further  labors. 

Daniel  Preszler,  the  youngest  in  a  family  of  four  children,  obtained  a  district  school 
education  in  Russia,  while  his  training  in  the  United  States  has  been  largely  received  in  the 
school  of  experience.     He  remained  upon  his  father's  farm  until  twenty  years  of  age  and 


746  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

then  began  farming  on  his  own  account.  He  purchased  land  and  also  filed  on  a  homestead, 
thus  securing  altogether  four  hundred  acres  of  good  farm  land  in  McPherson  county,  South 
Dakota.  Witli  cliaraeteristic  energy  he  began  the  further  development  and  improvement  of 
his  property,  devoting  his  undivided  time  and  attention  to  general  agricultural  pursuits  and 
stock  raising.  In  this  way  he  obtained  a  substantial  measure  of  success.  Upon  leaving  his 
farm  heremoved  to  Eureka,  South  Dakota,  where  he  opened  a  furniture  store,  which  he 
conducted  for  two  years.  He  then  sold  out  in  1900  and  removed  to  Medina,  North  Dakota, 
where  he  opened  a  general  store  as  a  partner  of  Mr.  Olson  and  Mr.  Bollinger.  That 
partnership  lasted  until  the  winter  of  1915  and  in  January,  1916,  Mr.  Preszler  purchased 
the  interests  of  his  associates  and  has  since  been  the  sole  proprietor  of  the  general  mercantile 
establishment  which  he  now  owns.  He  employs  either  four  of  five  clerks  and  he  carries  an 
extensive  and  attractive  line  of  general  merchandise,  being  able  to  supply  the  varied  needs 
of  his  townspeople  and  those  of  the  surrovmding  country.  He  is  also  a  director  in  the  First 
National  Bank  of  Medina  and  he  owns  land  in  Stutsman  county,  his  holdings  comprising  a 
half  section  in  township  138,  range  GS;  two  hundred  and  forty  acres  in  township  140,  range 
68,  and  one-half  quarter  in  township  141  of  the  same  range.  He  now  leases  this  land  and 
the  rental  therefrom  largely  enhances  his  income. 

In  1893  Mr.  Preszler  was  married  to  Miss  Elizabeth  Bollinger,  also  a  native  of  Russia. 
When  slie  came  to  the  new  world  with  her  parents,  .Jacob  and  Barbara  (Schnaible)  Bollinger, 
who  were  likewise  born  in  the  land  of  the  Czar,  they  cast  in  their  lot  with  the  early  settlers 
of  Campbell  county,  South  Dakota,  and  there  they  reared  their  family  of  nine  children: 
Eva,  Martha,  Adam,  Rose,  Emma,  Daniel,  Elizabeth,  Leah  and  Rachel.  The  family  circle 
yet  remains  unbroken  by  the  hand  of  death. 

Mr.  Preszler  is  interested  in  community  affairs  and  cooperates  in  many  movements 
that  are  planned  to  promote  public  welfare  and  benefit.  He  is  a  republican  and  is  now 
serving  as  president  of  the  county  board  of  Medina  and-  is  also  treasurer  of  the  republican 
committee  of  Stutsman  county.  His  religious  faith  is  evidenced  by  his  membership  in  the 
Medina  Reformed  chm'ch,  of  which  he  is  one  of  the  elders.  His  life  measures  up  to  high 
and  honorable  standards,  for  he  has  ever  been  straightforward  in  his  relations  with  his 
fellowmen  ami  in  his  business  dealings  has  followed  a  course  which -conforms  to  the  highest 
standards. 


GEORGE  J.  SCHWOEBEL. 


George  J.  Schwoebel,  mayor  of  New  Rockford  and  a  member  of  the  firm  of  Rodenberg  & 
Schwoebel,  owning  the  leading  mercantile  establishment  of  the  town,  was  born  near  Fountain 
City,  Wisconsin,  April  21,  1860,  a  son  of  George  and  Elizabeth  (Bohri)  Schwoebel,  the  former 
a  native  of  Germany  and  the  latter  of  Switzerland.  In  young  manhood  George  Schwoebel, 
Sr.,  crossed  the  Atlantic,  while  his  wife  was  brought  to  the  new  world  by  her  parents  during 
her  early  girlhood.  Both  became  residents  of  Buffalo  county,  Wisconsin,  where  they  were 
afterward  married  and  took  up  their  abode  upon  a  farm  there  which  they  occupied  for  a 
number  of  years.  Subsequently  they  removed  to  Fountain  City,  where  for  several  years 
the  father  engaged  in  the  insurance  business.  In  1904  he  was  called  upon  to  mourn  the 
loss  of  his  wife,  who  passed  away  on  the  38th  of  February  of  that  year,  while  he  survived 
until  December  14,  1912. 

George  J.  Schwoebel  was  educated  in  the  district  schools  near  his  father's  home  and  in 
Fountain  City.  In  May,  1883,  he  left  home  and  entered  upon  an  independent  career,  going 
first  to  Vancouver,  Washington,  where  he  remained  for  two  years.  He  was  afterward 
located  for  a' time  in  Spokane,  Washington,  and  in  1884  he  arrived  in  Eddy  county.  North 
Dakota,  where  he  filed  on  a  homestead  three  and  one-half  miles  southeast  of  New  Rockford. 
In  1893  he  took  up  his  abode  in  the  town,  where  for  a  period  he  was  employed  as  a  clerk 
in  a  mercantile  establishment.  In  1901  he  purchased  a  half  interest  in  the  general  mercantile 
business  of  Rodenberg  Brothers,  after  which  the  interests  were  reorganized  imder  the  firm 
name  of  Rodenberg  &  Schwoebel.  Since  then  he  has  been  actively  connected  with  the 
management  and  control  of  this  business,  which  is  one  of  the  leading  commercial  enterprises 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  747 

of    Kildy    uuuiity.      Believing    lii'inly    in    Xuith    Dakota    and    its    future,    he    has    made    large 
investments  in  farm  lands. 

On  the  Kith  of  JIarch,  1905,  Mr.  Seliwoebel  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Marion 
Kasson,  of  Tacoma,  Washington,  and  while  three  children  have  been  born  to  them,  all  are 
now  deeeased.  Mr.  Suhwoebel  is  well  known  in  fraternal  circles,  holding  membership  in 
Century  Lodge,  No.  60,  A.  F.  &  A.  M.;  Carrington  Chapter,  No.  15,  R.  A.  M.;  Zion  Com- 
nuuidory,  No.  9,  K.  T.;  El  Zagal  Temple,  A.  A.  0.  N.  M:  S.;  the  Ancient  Order  of  United 
Woikmen;  and  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America.  A  recognized  leader  in  political  affairs 
in  his  community,  Mr.  iSehwoebel  has  always  given  his  allegiance  to  the  democratic  party 
and  in  1889  was  elected  to  the  board  of  county  commissioners,  serving  continuously  in  that 
office  for  seven  years,  when  he  resigned  to  assume  the  duties  of  county  treasurer,  to  which 
position  he  had  been  elected  in  1896.  In  1898  he  was  reelected  and  served  altogether  for 
four  years,  proving  an  able  custodian  of  the  public  funds.  In  1915  he  was  elected  to  the 
mayoralty  of  New  Rockford,  in  which  capacity  he  is  now  serving,  actuated  in  all  that  he 
does  by  a  marked  devotion  to  the  public  good  and  to  high  civic  standards.  For  a  third  of 
a  century  he  has  lived  in  Kddy  county  and  throughout  the  entire  period  has  given  his  aid 
and  inlluence  in  supjwrt  of  all  those  plans  and  projects  which  work  for  the  general  welfare 
and  piiimote  public  progress. 


wiLLiAii  w.  McQueen,  m.  n. 

Liberal  collegiate  training  and  post  graduate  work  have  well  qualilied  Dr.  \\illiam  W. 
ilcQueen  for  the  onerous  and  responsible  professional  duties  which  now  devolve  upon  him 
in  connection  with  the  practice  of  medicine  and  surgery  at  Langdon.  He  was  born  at 
Elora,  Ontario,  Canada,  November  17,  1863,  a  son  of  Malcolm  McQueen,  a  native  of 
Toronto  and  a  son  of  .James  McQueen,  who  was  the  founder  of  the  Canadian  branch  of  the 
family.  Crossing  the  Atlantic,  he  settled  first  in  New  York  city  and  later  removed  with  his 
wife  to  Lockport,  New  York,  about  1826.  Subsequently  he  became  a  resident  of  Toronto, 
Canada,  then  known  as  Little  York,  and  concentrated  his  efforts  upon  blacksmithing,  but 
later  took  up  land  and  with  his  family  settled  in  Wellington  county.  His  death  occurred 
about' 1880,  when  he  had  reached  the  very  venerable  age  of  ninety  years.  His  son,  Malcolm 
SfcQueen,  was  reared  and  educated  in  Toronto,  Canada,  and  accompanied  his  parents  to 
Wellington  county,  where  he.  too,  took  up  a  homestead  and  followed  farming  until  he  de- 
parted this  life  in  1901  at  the  age  of  seventy  years.  In  early  manhood  he  wedded  Elizabeth 
Faulkner,  a  native  of  the  north  of  Ireland  and  a  daughter  of  .John  Faulkner,  who  went  with 
his  family  to  Canada  in  1845,  settling  at  Guelph,  where  soon  afterward  he  passed  away.  His 
widow  later  removed  from  Guelph  to  land  opened  for  settlement  in  Wellington  county,  some 
twenty  miles  from  Guelph,  where  she  took  up  a  homestead,  and  it  was  there  that  her 
daughter  Elizabeth  met  and  married  Malcolm  McQueen.  .She  passed  away  in  1902  at  the 
age  of  seventy-two  years.  By  her  marriage  she  had  become  the  mother  of  eight  chilflren, 
seven  of  whom  are  yet  living. 

Dr.  McQueen,  the  fourth  in  this  family,  was  ediicate<l  in  the  public  schools  of  Wellington 
county  and  high  school  at  Essex,  Ontario,  and  afterward  matriculated  in  Queen's  LTniversity 
at  Kingston,  thus  acqiiiring  a  l)road  and  liberal  professional  knowledge.  Determining  to 
make  the  practice  of  medicine  his  life  work,  he  entered  Trinity  Jledieal  College  of  Toronto 
and  at  his  graduation  won  the  degree  of  M.  D.  C.  M.  Immediately  afterward  he  removed 
to  North  Dakota,  arriving  at  Milton  on  the  5th  of  October,  1894.  For  a  period  of  nine  years 
he  remained  in  active  practice  there,  after  which  he  took  post  graduate  work  in  Chicago 
and  on  again  coming  to  this  state  settled  at  Langdon,  where  he  has  since  remained  in  active 
practice.  He  is  today  one  of  the  oldest  physicians  of  Cavalier  county  and  his  ability  places 
him  in  the  front  rank  of  those  who  are  devoting  their  attention  to  the  general  practice  of 
medicine  and  surgery.  He  studies  broadly,  thinks  deeply,  is  careful  in  diagnosis  and 
accurate  in  his  judgment.  He  belongs  to  the  Cavalier  County  Medical  Society,  the  North 
Dakota  ifedical  Society  and  the  American  Medical  Association  and  through  their  proceedings 
gains  a  comprehensive  knowledge  of  modern  methods  of  practice.    He  also  has  other  business 


748  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

interests,  being  president  of  the  First  National  Bank  for  a  number  of  years,  wliile  at  the 
present  writing  he  is  serving  as  vice  president.  He  is  also  the  vice  president  of  the  Milton 
Land  &  Loan  Company  and  has  large  lauded  interests  in  Canada,  but  the  greater  part  of 
his  time  and  attention  is  devoted  to  his  professional  interests  and  in  addition  to  his  private 
practice  he  is  associated  with  Dr.  G.  E.  Stromberg  in  the  conduct  of  a  modern  hospital,  which 
is  carried  on  under  the  name  of  the  Langdon  Hospital  and  has  accommodations  for  ten 
patients.  This  was  opened  in  February,  1910,  and  already  has  been  accorded  a  liberal 
patronage. 

It  was  in  Milton  on  the  30th  of  June,  1902,  that  Dr.  McQueen  was  married  to  Miss 
Bertha  Ferguson,  who  is  a  graduate  nurse  of  the  Kingston  (Ont.)  Training  School  and  at 
the  time  of  her  marriage  was  practicing  her  profession  in  Fargo.  She  is  a  native  of  Toronto, 
Canada,  and  a  daughter  of  William  and  Mary  (Windell)  Ferguson,  who  were  of  Irish 
descent.     Dr.  and  Mrs.  McQueen  have  a  son,  Allan,  born  in  Langdon,  January  27,  1907. 

The  Doctor  is  a  republican  in  his  political  views  and  is  the  present  health  officer  of  the 
city  of  Langdon  and  of  Cavalier  county.  While  at  Milton  he  served  as  a  member  of  the 
school  board  and  has  ever  been  deeply  interested  in  the  cause  of  education.  After  leaving 
college  he  devoted  some  time  to  teaching  before  entering  upon  preparation  for  the  practice 
of  medicine  and  he  was  also  in  that  interval  a  bookkeeper  in  Detroit,  Michigan.  He  belongs 
to  the  First  Presbyterian  church  and  takes  an  active  and  helpful  interest  in  its  work,  doing 
everything  in  his  power  to  promote  its  progress  and  extend  its  influence.  During  his 
residence  at  Langdon  he  has  served  as  one  of  the  trustees  of  the  church.  He  also  belongs 
to  the  Commercial  Club  and  thus  his  activities  and  interests  reach  out  over  a  broad  field, 
seeking  ever  the  material,  intellectual,  social  and  moral  progress  of  the  community.  He 
keeps  well  informed  on  the  vital  questions  and  issues  of  the  day  and  the  spirit  of  enterprise 
is  manifest  in  all  that  he  does,  causing  him  to  put  forth  earnest  and  effective  effort  toward 
bringing  his  communitv  to  liigher  levels  of  living  and  larger  reaches  of  thought. 


OLE  ENGEBRETSON. 


Ole  Engebretson,  one  of  the  organizers  and  the  cashier  of  the  Farmers  State  Bank  at 
Voltaire,  is  a  representative  of  that  large  quota  of  citizens  that  Norway  has  furnished  to 
North  Dakota — men  of  worth,  of  industry  and  of  enterprise  who  have  been  a  most  important 
and  dominant  factor  in  the  development  and  upbuilding  of  the  state.  He  was  born  in  Nor- 
way in  December,  1S71,  a  son  of  Henry  and  Bertha  (Olson)  Engebretson,  who  are  also  natives 
of  that  country.  The  father  was  a  shoemaker  by  trade  and  worked  along  that  line  until 
1875,  when  he  bade  adieu  to  friends  and  native  country  and  sailed  with  his  family  for 
America.  He  made  his  way  to  Grant  eoiuity.  South  Dakota,  where  he  secured  a  homestead 
which  he  developed  and  improved,  and,  adding  to  his  original  tract,  he  is  now  the  owner  of 
four  hundred  and  eighty  acres  of  rich  and  productive  land,  upon  which  he  still  resides  at 
the  age  of  eighty  years,  while  his  wife  is  now  eighty-two  years  of  age. 

Ole  Engebretson  was  a  little  lad  of  but  four  summers  when  brought  by  his  parents  to 
the  United  States  and  therefore  the  greater  part  of  his  youth  was  spent  in  South  Dakota. 
He  supplemented  his  public  school  training  by  a  course  in  Breckenridge  Institute  at  Decorah, 
Iowa,  from  which  he  was  graduated  with  the  class  of  1893.  The  following  year  he  went 
to  Janesville,  Wisconsin,  where  he  took  up  telegraphy  and  afterward  was  in  the  service 
of  the  Great  Northern,  the  Northern  Pacific,  the  Chicago,  Milwaukee  &  St.  Paul  and  the 
Soo  Railroad  Companies  as  station  agent  and  operator.  He  was  thus  engaged  until  1906, 
when  he  removed  to  Lemmon,  South  Dakota,  and  took  a  homestead  adjoining  the  city.  This 
he  proved  up  and  afterward  platted  one  hundred  and  twelve  lots,  all  of  which  he  sold  as 
well  as  the  other  land,  which  was  sold  as  acreage  property.  In  1910  he  was  instrumental  in 
organizing  a  bank  at  Buttzville,  of  which  he  was  cashier  imtil  the  following  year,  when 
he  removed  to  Voltaire  and  organized  the  Farmers  State  Bank,  which  was  capitalized  for 
ten  thousand  dollars  and  which  now  has  deposits  amounting  to  seventy-five  thousand  dol- 
lars. The  officers  are  Ole  Dahle,  president;  John  Martinson,  vice  president;  and  Ole  Enge- 
bretson, cashier.     The  bank  has  entered  upon  an  era  of  profitable  existence,  having  already 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  751 

built  up  the  business  to  gratifying  proportions.  Mr.  Engebrctson  is  also  a  stoeldiolder  in  the 
Farmers  Klevator  Company  of  Voltaire  and  until  a  recent  date  was  interested  in  a  general 
store  and  lumberyard.  He  still  has  extensive  land  holdings,  embracing  eight  hundred  and 
eighty-three  acres,  all  of  which  he  rents  save  a  tract  of  two  hundred  and  eighty  acres,  which 
is  cultivated  under  his  personal  supervision  by  hired  men.  This  tract  adjoins  the  town 
limits  and  all  his  land  is  situated  within  nine  miles  of  Voltaire.  ' 

Mr.  Engebretson  was  married  to  Miss  Blanche  Charrier,  a  daughter  of  Felix  and  Rose 
(Boughe)  Charrier,  who  were  natives  of  France  but  have  now  passed  away.  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
Engebretson  have  become  parents  of  two  children:  Frederick  W.,  born  in  October,  1901;  and 
Emil  0.,  born  November  21,  1915. 

The  religious  faith  of  the  parents  is  that  of  the  Lutheran  church  and  Mr.  Engebretson 
is  connected  also  with  the  Benevolent  Protective  Order  of  Elks.  Politically  he  exercises  his 
right  of  franchise  in  support  of  the  men  and  measures  of  the  republican  party  and  at  all 
times  keeps  in  touch  with  the  questions  and  issues  of  the  day  but  has  had  no  ambition  to 
hold  office,  preferring  to  concentrate  his  energies  upon  his  business  affairs,  which  have  con- 
stantly broadened  in  scope  and  importance  as  he  has  utilized  the  opportunities  which  have 
come  to  him.  He  has,  however,  served  as  a  member  and  treasurer  of  the  school  board  of 
Voltaire. 


NELS  JOHNSON. 


Nels  Johnson,  devoting  his  energies  to  general  farming  on  section  26,  township  144, 
range  63,  in  Stutsman  county,  was  born  near  Helsingborg,  Sweden,  April  22,  1866,  and 
pursued  his  education  in  that  country,  there  remaining  until  he  reached  the  age  of  nineteen 
years,  when,  attracted  by  the  reports  which  he  had  heard  concerning  opportunities  in  America, 
he  crossed  the  Atlantic  to  the  United  States  in  1885,  landing  in  New  York  city.  From  that 
point  he  proceeded  to  Jamestown,  North  Dakota,  and  from  there  to  the  home  of  his  brother, 
Charles  Johnson,  a  farmer  of  Stutsman  county.  Through  that  year  he  worked  for  his 
brother  and  afterward  was  employed  by  different  farmers  until  1889,  when  he  went  to 
Afontana.  spending  two  years  at  work  on  the  Northern  Pacific  and  Great  Northern  Railroads. 
In  1891  he  returned  to  North  Dakota,  where  he  was  employed  in  the  harvest  iields,  and  in 
the  fall  of  that  year  he  went  to  Minneapolis,  where  he  spent  the  winter.  He  afterward 
visited  the  Sisseton  reservation  in  South  Dakota  but  did  not  get  any  land  and  in  1892 
he  took  up  a  homestead  of  one  hundred  and  sixty  acres  on  section  26,  township  144,  range 
63,  in  Stutsman  county.  That  summer  he  was  employed  at  grading  on  the  Soo  Railroad  near 
his  claim,  after  which  he  went  to  Chicago  and  worked  on  the  exposition  grounds,  there 
remaining  until  April,  1893,  when  he  returned  to  his  farm.  Purchasing  another  team  of 
horses,  he  worked  on  the  railroad  through  the  summer  and  then  went  to  Sweden  in  the 
fall  of  1893  and  spent  the  winter.  On  returning  to  his  homestead  he  bog;in  the  development 
of  his  place,  breaking  one  hundred  acres,  which  he  farmed.  For  a  number  of  years  he  engaged 
in  threshing.  He  proved  up  on  his  homestead  and  in  1896  purchased  eighty  acres,  the 
following  year  another  tract  of  eighty  acres  and  still  later  a  half  section  of  land.  In 
1905  he  bought  a  half  section  of  school  land  and  in  1909  made  further  investment  in  an 
eighty-acre  tract,  while  in  the  spring  of  1916  he  acquired  another  half  section.  He  has 
altogether  two  and  a  quarter  sections  in  Stutsman  county,  together  with  a  section  of  land 
in  Canada  which  he  purchased  in  1908.  He  has  thus  made  extensive  and  judicious  invest- 
ment in  farm  land  and  his  holdings  are  now  large  and  important.  He  continued  to  live 
upon  his  farm  for  some  time  but  has  i)ur(liased  a  home  in  Courtenay,  which  he  now  occupies. 
He  erected  all  of  the  buildings  upon  his  place  and  planted  ten  acres  to  trees,  making  his 
farm  one  of  the  most  attractive  in  the  county.  He  has  kept  all  of  the  buildings  in  good 
repair  and  when  in  November,  1914,  his  barn  was  destroyed  by  fire,  causing  the  loss  of  horses 
and  grain  as  well,  he  built  a  large  barn  thirty-six  by  eighty  feet.  In  fact  his  is  one  of  the 
model  farm  properties  and  the  enterprise  that  he  has  displayed  may  well  serve  as  an  example 
for  others  to  follow.  He  keeps  in  touch  with  the  latest  improved  methods  and  is  now 
farming  with  a  tractor.  He  has  high  grade  stock  upon  his  place,  including  ninety-nine 
head  of  cattle,  twelve  horses  and  forty-three  hogs.     There  is  a  schooihouse  upon  his  land. 


752  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

On  the  5th  of  Jlarch,  ia03,  Mr.  Johnson  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Betty  Anderson, 
wlio  was  born  in  Sweden,  near  Lund,  tlie  wedding  taliing  place  on  Mr.  Johnson's  second 
return  trip  to  Sweden.  Mrs.  Jolmson,  whose  birth  occurred  May  24,  1873,  is  a  daughter  of 
Ole  and  Ella  (Knutson)  Anderson,  both  natives  of  Sweden,  who  came  to  the  United  States 
in  IS'JO,  the  year  following  the  arrival  of  their  daughter.  They,  too,  settled  in  Stutsman 
county,  where  the  father  "turned  his  attention  to  farming.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Johnson  have 
become  parents  of  three   children:      Esther,  Walter  and  Helen. 

Mr.  Johnson  has  traveled  quite  extensively.  Not  only  has  he  made  two  trips  back  to 
his  native  country  since  establishing  his  home  in  the  new  world  but  also  visited  the  Paris 
Exposition  and  spent  the  winter  of  1907  in  Flordia.  He  does  not  believe  in  uselessly 
hoarding  his  money  but  believes  rather  in  enjoying  life  and  making  his  success  count  for 
tlie  utmost  in  benefiting  himself  and  his  family.  His  record,  too,  indicates  most  clearly 
th(^  opportunities  that  are  offered  in  America  to  the  ambitious  young  man  whose  honorable 
purpose  and  indefatigable  energy  have  been  the  salient  features  in  gaining  his  enviable 
success. 


H.  E.  VANCE. 


H.  E.  Vance,  a  well  known  business  man  of  Wales,  Cavalier  county,  is  one  of  North 
Dakota's  native  sons,  his  birth  having  occurred  in  Ransom  county,  December  37,  1884, 
and  he  is  a  worthy  representative  of  one  of  the  honored  pioneer  families  of  this  state. 
His  father,  John  Vance,  was  born  in  Norway,  where  he  spent  the  first  si.xteen  years  of  his 
life,  and  then  came  to  the  new  world  to  try  his  fortune.  He  first  located  at  Prairie  Farm, 
Wisconsin,  and  continued  to  reside  there  until  1881,  wlien  he  came  to  Nortli  Dakota,  taking 
up  a  homestead  in  Ransom  county,  on  which  he  still  resides.  In  that  county  he  wedded 
Miss  Mary  Anderson,  also  a  native  of  Norway,  who  was  but  two  years  old,  however,  when 
brought  to  America  by  her  parents,  the  family  becoming  pioneers  of  North  Dakota.  Tliey 
too  became  residents  of  Ransom  county  in  1881.  Mr.  Vance  is  now  fifty-seven  years  of  age 
and  his  wife  is  one  year  his  junior.     To  them  have  been  born  ten  children. 

In  this  family  H,  E.  Vance  is  the  second  in  order  of  birth.  He  is  indebted  to  the 
common  schools  of  Ransom  county  for  the  education  he  acquired  during  his  boyhood,  and 
on  leaving  that  county  in  1908  went  to  Slope  county,  where  he  secured  a  homestead  and 
developed  the  tract  into  a  fine  farm.  He  is  still  the  owner  of  four  hundred  and  eighty 
acres  of  valuable  land  and  while  residing  thereon  engaged  in  buying  and  selling  grain.  In 
1916  he  removed  to  Wales,  Cavalier  county,  and  embarked  in  the  hardware,  furniture 
and  harness  business,  which  he  is  now  carrying  on  with  good  results,  having  already  built  up 
a  profitable  trade   which   is   constantly   increasing. 

Mr.  Vance  was  married  at  Fort  Ransom,  June  17,  1908,  to  Miss  Thora  C.  Kvalness, 
and  they  have  become  the  parents  of  two  children:  Morris,  born  May  17,  1913;  and 
Doris,  born  June  38,  1914.  Fraternally  Mr.  Vance  is  identified  witli  the  Independent  Order 
of  Odd  F'ellows  and  the  Yeomen.  He  is  one  of  the  representative  young  business  men  of 
Cavalier  county  and  is  highly  respected  wherever  known. 


SKULI  G.  SKULASON. 


Skuli  G.  Skulason,  attorney  at  law  practicing  at  Lakota,  was  born  October  30,  1877,. 
at  Lundy,  Manitoba,  Canada.  His  father,  Gudmundur  Skulason,  was  a  native  of  Iceland  and 
in  1876  became  a  resident  of  Canada,  settling  at  Lundy,  near  Lake  Winnipeg,  but  owing  to 
unsatisfactory  conditions  there  the  colony  remained  for  only  a  short  time  and  afterward 
removed  to  Pembina  county,  North  Dakota.  There  Mr.  Skulason  took  up  a  homestead,  upon 
which  he  resided  until  1909,  when  he  retired  from  active  business,  enjoying  a  well  earned 
rest  up  to  the  time  of  his  death,  which  occurred  in  August,  1914.  His  wife  was  also  a 
native  of  Iceland,  where  she  was  reared  and  married.     She  survives  her  luishand  and  is  now 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  753 

a  resident  of  rciiil>ina  ccnuity.  I!y  lici'  mania jjc  slic  bci-amc  tlio  nuitln'r  of  fomteen 
children. 

Skuli  G.  Skulascin  was  tlu'  twelltli  in  oicKt  of  birtli  and  was  I'diicatcd  in  tlie  common 
schools  of  Mountain.  I'cmliina  county,  and  in  flic  I'liivcrsity  of  North  Dakota,  from  which  lie 
was  graduated  in  1901.  He  entered  that  institution  in  1895,  devoting  six  years  to  prepara- 
tory and  college  work  there,  and  in  l',)n,'i  his  alma  mater  conferred  upon  him  the  Lb.  B. 
degree,  following  the  completion  of  the  law  course.  After  his  graduation  he  located  for  the 
practice  of  law  in  Grand  Forks,  where  he  remained  until  the  fall  of  1908,  when  he  removed 
to  Washington,  D.  C,  to  become  secretary  to  the  late  Senator  M.  M.  Johnson.  In  April, 
1910,  he  returned  to  Petersburg,  North  Pakota,  and  in  the  fall  of  that  year  opened  an 
oflice  in  Lakota,  where  he  has  since  remained  in  active  and  successful  practice.  He  represents 
a  profession  in  which  advancement  depends  entirely  upon  individual  merit  and  ability  and 
his  close  application  and  untiring  devotion  to  the  interests  of  his  clients  have  been  salient 
factors  in  his  growing  success.  For  four  years  he  filled  the  olHce  of  states  attorney,  to 
which  he  was  elected  in  the  fall  of   1910. 

On  the  14th  of  December,  1903,  Mr.  Skulason  was  married  in  Petersburg,  Nelson  county, 
North  Dakota,  to  Miss  Edith  H.  Johnson,  a  native  of  Iowa  and  a  daughter  of  the  late 
Senator  M.  M.  and  Stella  W.  (White)  Johnson.  The  mother  is  still  living  and  is  a  resident 
of  California.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Skulason  have  become  the  parents  of  three  children:  Stella 
Lucille,  who  was  born  in  Grand  Forks,  June  4,  1905;  Dorothy,  October  4,  190(i-,  and  Ethel 
May,   June    14,    1911. 

In  politics  Jlr.  Skulason  is  an  active  republican,  doing  everything  in  his  power  to 
promote  the  growth  and  ensure  the  success  of  his  party.  His  interest  in  community  all'airs 
is  shown  in  his  membership  in  the  Commercial  Club  of  Lakota,  of  which  he  is  the  secretary, 
and  in  this  connection  he  puts  forth  a  strenuous  efl'ort  to  upbuild  the  city,  to  extend  its 
trade  relations  and  to  advance  civic  standards.  His  religious  faith  is  that  of  the  Methodist 
church.  Mr.  Skulason  had  but  thirty-three  dollars  on  leaving  home  and  upon  that  slender 
foundation  he  has  reared  the  superstructure  of  his  success.  He  worked  his  way  through 
college  and  through  the  university,  actuated  by  laudable  ambition.  In  his  vocabulary  there 
18  no  such  word  as  fail  and  the  strong  purpose  which  ])rom|ited  him  to  gain  a  college 
education  has  been  manifest  in  all  of  his  subsequent  career,  making  for  him  a  place  among 
the   leading    lawyers    of    his    section    of    the    state. 


ANDERS  ALBERT  WESTEEN,  M.  D. 

Dr.  Anders  Albert  Westeen,  a  physician  and  surgeon  of  Grand  Forks,  was  born  in 
Sweden  and  came  to  this  country  with  his  parents,  who  settled  in  Iowa.  Dr.  Westeen  was 
.  a  young  lad  when  the  family  home  was  established  in  Webster  county,  Iowa,  where  he 
pursued  his  education  in  the  public  school  for  a  time  and  afterward  attended  the  Gustavus 
Adolphus  College  at  St.  Peter,  Minnesota.  Later  he  was  graduated  from  Augustana  College 
at  Rock  Island,  Illinois,  with  the  class  of  1888,  when  the  Bachelor  of  Science  degree  was 
conferred  upon  him.  His  early  experience  and  training  were  those  of  the  farm  but  his 
tastes  and  inclination  led  him  to  turn  his  interests  in  other  directions  and  after  his  gradua- 
tion from  Augustana  College  he  entered  the  State  University  of  Michigan  at  .\nu  Arbor 
and  later  was  graduated  from  the  State  University  of  Minnesota  with  the  class  of  1892, 
on  which  occasion  the  M.  D.  degree  was  conferred  upon  him.  His  initial  professional  service 
was  that  of  interne  in  Bethsada  Hospital  at  St.  Paul,  Minnesota,  where  he  remained  for  a 
year.  He  then  removed  to  Grand  Forks,  North  Dakota,  where  he  arrived  in  June,  189."!, 
and  entered  upon  the  private  practice  of  medicine  and  surgery.  He  has  always  kept  in 
close  touch  with  the  advancement  in  his  profession  and  has  sjient  various  periods  abroad 
in  research  and  study,  doing  post-graduate  work  in  Berlin,  Germany,  in  1897-8,  and  in 
London  and  Vienna  in  1907-8.  In  his  studies  he  has  largely  specializei!  in  diseases  of  the 
eye,  ear,  nose  and  throat  and  in  surgery  and  to  those  branches  of  tlie  professi(m  has 
devoted   his   energies   since    1908. 

In   1890,  in  Marinette,  Wisconsin,  Dr.   Westeen   was   united   in    marriage   to   Mrs.   Emma 


754  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

Hedgren,  a  native  of  that  state  and  a  daughter  of  Mr.  and  iXrs.  John  Verner,  who  were  of 
Swedish  birth.  Dr.  and  ilrs.  Westeen  have  become  the  parents  of  two  daugliters,  Esther 
and  Iva. 

In  addition  to  his  professional  interests  Dr.  Westeen  has  become  a  director  of  the 
Scandinavian-American  Bank  and  also  of  the  Great  Northern  Life  Insurance  Company,  both 
of  Grand  Forks.  He  belongs  to  the  Swedish  Lutheran  church  and  he  holds  membership  ia 
the  Commercial  Club,  thus  cooperating  in  movements  which  seek  tlie  upbuilding  and  further 
development  and  progress  of  his  adopted  city.  In  politics  he  is  a  republican,  and  while  he 
has  never  been  a  politican  in  the  usually  accepted  sense  of  office  seeking,  he  served  for  nine 
years  as  a  member  of  the  school  board  of  Grand  Forks.  He  also  became  health  officer  of  the 
city  and  in  1909  was  again  chosen  to  that  position,  which  he  filled  until  1913.  He  belongs 
to  the  Grand  Forks  District  Medical  Society,  the  North  Dakota  State  Medical  Society  and 
the  American   Medical  Association. 


JOSEPH  C.  MEYER. 


Joseph  C.  Meyer,  a  retired  rancher  living  at  Hebron,  owes  his  success  to  those  qualities 
which  all  may  cultivate  and  which  never  fail  to  bring  their  reward — industry,  perseverance 
and  intelligently  directed  effort.  He  was  born  in  Aurora,  Illinois,  in  1862,  a  son  of  Joseph 
Meyer,  a  native  of  Germany,  who  on  coming  to  the  United  States  in  1840  settled  in  Illinois 
after  residing  for  a  brief  period  in  Iowa.  He  became  connected  with  the  firm  of  Brown  & 
Company,  wagon  manufacturers  of  Aurora,  Illinois,  and  remained  in  that  association  for  a 
long  period.  Retiring  from  the  business,  he  removed  to  Dakota  territory  in  1883  and 
proved  up  on  a  homestead,  after  which  he  returned  to  Illinois,  where  he  has  since  resided.  He 
is  now  living  retired  and  has  reached  the  age  of  eighty-si.\  years.  His  wife,  who  bore  the 
maiden  name  of  Wilhelmina  Dietrich,  is  also  a  native  of  Germany  and  by  sailing  vessel 
reached  the  United  States.  Her  parents  were  a  year  in  reaching  their  destination  from  the 
time  when  they  left  their  old  home  in  Germany.  To  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Joseph  Meyer  were  born 
four  children  and  the  family  circle  yet  remains  unbroken  by  the  hand  of  death. 

Joseph  C.  Meyer,  the  second  of  the  number,  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  of  Illinois 
and  afterw'ard  went  to  Nebraska  and  still  later  to  Denver,  Colorado,  where  he  remained 
until  March,  1878.  He  then  entered  the  employ  of  a  man  who  handled  horses  and  cattle 
but  after  a  brief  period  he  went  north  on  a  hunting  trip  with  the  son  of  an  English  lord. 
In  return  for  saving  the  life  of  the  man  he  was  given  the  hunting  outfit.  Eventually 
Mr.  Meyer  reached  Dakota  territory,  taking  up  his  abode  in  what  is  now  South  Dakota  in 
1879.  He  made  a  business  of  hunting  and  trapping  and  followed  that  pursuit  until  1883, 
when  he  turned  his  attention  to  the  live  stock  business,  establishing  a  ranch  about  fifteen 
miles  from  Medora.  There,  in  connection  with  a  Mr.  Tracy,  he  began  raising  cattle,  ranging 
his  cattle  in  the  same  country  with  Theodore  Roosevelt,  with  whom  he  has  slept  man}'  a 
night.  He  remained  upon  the  place  until  the  spring  of  1887  and  then  took  up  his  abode  upon 
a  ranch  twent3--five  miles  southeast  of  Glen  Ullin,  where  he  began  raising  horses,  Icecping 
on  an  average  about  one  thousand  head.  He  also  made  cattle  raising  a  side  line  of  that 
business  and  upon  that  place  continued  until  1897.  He  afterward  engaged  in  buying  and 
selling  horses,  covering  almost  every  state  in  the  Union.  After  four  years  devoted  to 
that  interest  he  removed  to  a  ranch  about  thirty  miles  southwest  of  Medora.  On  his 
second  ranch  he  turned  his  attention  to  cattle  raising,  keeping  on  an  average  si.\  liundred 
head,  and  when  he  sold  out  he  had  nine  hundred  head  of  cattle  and  two  himdred  head,  of 
horses.  Upon  his  place  he  also  has  a  modern  home  and  all  necessary  ranch  buildings.  In 
fact  his  place  was  as  modern  in  all  of  its  equipments  as  could  be  found  near  the  Little 
Missouri  river.  At  length,  however,  he  sold  his  stock  and  leased  his  ranch,  taking  up  his 
abode  in  Hebron,  where  he  is  now  living  retired.  He  is  the  owner  of  the  Hebron  Hotel 
and  also  of  a  beautiful  residence  in  Hebron,  together  witli  his  ranch,  comprising  six  thousand 
acres    of    valuable    North    Dakota    land. 

In  1901  Mr.  Meyer  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Matilda  Eberhart,  who  was  born  in 
Clinton  county,  Iowa,  in  1864,  a  daughter  of  Peter  Eberhart,  who  was  an  early  resident  of 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  755 

Towii  hilt  was  horn  in  CcTiiuuiy,  wliciiuo  lie  came  to  tlie  United  States  wlien  fourteen  years 
of  age.  lie  married  Leopoltiiie  Toborsky,  a  native  of  Austria,  who  came  to  the  United 
States  when  eleven  years  of  age  and  and  is  now  living  at  the  age  of  seventy-three  years, 
luT  home  being  in  Elkader,  Iowa.  In  the  family  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Eberhart  were  seven 
iliildien,  of  whom  two  sons  and  two  daughters  are  yet  living.  The  sons  are  jewelers  of 
Inuii  and  the  sister  of  Mrs.  Meyer  is  Mrs.  Krnst,  who  is  living  on  Mr.  Meyer's  ranch.  To 
.Ml.  and  Mrs.  Meyer  has  been  born  a  daughter,  .Iose])hine  Lpojioltine,  who  was  born  on  her 
father's   ranch. 

in  his  political  views  Mr.  Meyer  is  a  republican  but  whiU>  he  has  had  many  political 
positions  ollered  him  would  accept  none,  preferring  to  do  his  public  duty  as  a  private 
citizen.  There  is  no  pliase  of  the  pioneer  development  of  North  Dakota  with  which  Mr. 
Meyer  is  not  familiar.  He  was  early  inured  to  the  hardships  and  privations  of  pioneer 
life  incident  to  the  development  of  land  for  farming  and  stock  raising  purposes  and  even 
prior  to  that  time  he  roamed  over  the  great  prairies  and  along  the  rivers  of  the  state  in 
search  of  fur-bearing  animals.  His  life  history  if  told  in  detail  would  present  many  a  thrilling 
incident  and  no  one  is  better  informed  concerning  the  progress  and  upbuilding  of  the  state 
than  he.  He  deserves  much  credit  for  what  he  has  accomplished  in  a  business  way  and  his 
success  is  the  merited  reward  of  his  earnest,  persistent  ellort. 


GEORGE  W.  NOHLE. 


George  W.  Xohle,  a  ranchman  residing  at  Charbonneau,  McKenzie  county,  was  born  at 
Lowville,  Lewis  county.  New  York,  March  12,  1866,  a  son  of  Qiarles  A.  and  Minnie  (Smith) 
Nohle.  The  parents  were  natives  of  Germany,  where  both  were  reared  and  educated.  The 
father  there  learned  the  baker's  trade  and  following  his  marriage  he  came  with  his  wife  to 
the  new  world  prior  to  the  Civil  war,  settling  in  Lewis  county,  New  York,  where  he  took  up 
the  occupation  of  farming  and  maintained  his  residence  for  many  years,  both  he  and  his  wife 
passing  away  there. 

While  spending  his  youthful  days  on  his  father's  farm  George  W.  Nohle  attended  the 
district  schools  of  Lewis  county  and  afterward  gave  his  undivided  attention  to  the  work  of 
the  fiehls  until  he  attained  his  majority,  when  he  began  farming  on  his  own  account  in 
L<'wis  county.  Two  years  later  he  left  the  Empire  state  and  came  to  the  northwest, 
arriving  in  McHenry  county.  North  Dakota,  in  1891.  He  made  his  way  to  the  home  of  his 
brother,  Andrew  F.  Nohle,  who  had  previously  removed  to  this  state  and  was  the  owner  of 
a  cattle  ranch  near  Towner.  For  two  years  he  was  in  his  brother's  employ  and  then 
established  a  cattle  and  horse  ranch  of  his  own  near  Towner,  in  McHenry  county.  In  1894 
he  sold  his  stock  and  drove  overland  in  a  wagon  to  McKenzie  county,  where  he  arrived 
before  the  county  had  been  surveyed  or  organized.  He  took  up  his  abode  upon  a  ranch  near 
Williston.  in  what  is  now  Williams  county.  While  driving  from  Towner  to  McKenzie  county 
he  w^as  the  victim  of  an  accident,  a  shotgun  being  accidentally  discharged  while  he  was 
getting  out  of  the  wagon  and  so  severely  injuring  him  that  he  had  to  have  his  left  arm 
amputated.  This  handicapped  him  for  a  time,  yet  he  established  his  ranch  near  the  present 
site  of  Cliarbonneau  and  began  its  development.  Thereon  he  has  since  remained,  raising 
cattle,  sheep  and  horses,  and  he  is  today  one  of  the  most  prominent  and  best  know-n  ranch- 
men in  the  western  part  of  the  state.  He  has  been  joined  in  his  business  interests  by  his 
brother,  .\ndrew  F.  Nohle,  and  their  business  has  been  incorporated  under  the  style  of  the 
Xnlile  liiothers,  a  name  which  is  known  far  and  wide.  They  handle  land  and  also  engage 
in  raising  and  selling  cattle,  horses  and  sheep  in  McKenzie  county.  Andrew  F.  Nohle  is  the 
president  of  the  company,  with  George  W.  Nohle  as  vice  president  and  Ole  .J.  Jforken, 
mentioned  elsewhere  in  this  work,  as  the  secretary  and  treasurer.  This  company  owns 
twenty-five  sections  of  land  near  Charbonneau  and  also  leases  many  other  sections.  Upon 
their  cattle  they  have  a  brand  formed  of  the  letters  W  and  0,  upon  the  horses  another 
brand  formed  of  the  letters  P  and  L,  and  upon  their  sheep  is  the  brand  N  enclosed  in  a 
circle  and  upon  their  ranch  are  found  hundreds  of  head  of  stock.  George  W.  Nohle  is  also 
a  member  of  the  firm  of  Nohle  &  Martell,  owning  cattle  ranches  in  McKenzie  county,  and 


756  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

for  the  stock  raised  thereon  they  have  still  another  brand.  This  firm  is  composed  of  Mr. 
Nohle  and  his  two  nepliews,  C.  F.  and  E.  J.  Martell.  He  is  also  the  vice  president  of  The 
Dakota  Trading  Company,  engaged  in  merchandising  at  Alexander,  McKenzie  county,  and 
he  assisted  in  organizing  and  is  one  of  the  stockholders  of  the  Alexander  State  Bank  at 
Alexander,  which  was  the  first  bank  organized  in  McKenzie  county.  Thus  his  business  in- 
terests have  become  of  large  volume  and  importance  and  he  ranks  with  the  most  progressive 
business  men  of  his  section  of  the  state. 

Mr.  Nohle  is  a  republican  in  his  political  views  but  has  never  held  political  office, 
although  he  has  served  as  an  official  In  connection  with  the  schools,  being  one  of  the 
school  directors  of  Charbon  township,  McKenzie  county,  where  he  assisted  in  organizing 
three  different  school  districts.  He  became  a  member  of  the  Odd  Fellows  lodge  at  Sidney, 
Montana,  and  when  a  new  lodge  was  instituted  at  Buford,  North  Dakota,  near  his  home,  he 
transferred  his  membership  thereto,  becoming  one  of  its  charter  members.  When  another 
Odd  Fellows  lodge  was  started  in  the  new  town  of  CTiarbonneau  he  became  one  of  its  charter 
members  and  he  has  held  all  »f  the  offices  in  the  Odd  Fellows  lodge  save  that  of  noble  grand. 
Mr.  Nohle's  home  is  on  his  ranch  four  miles  south  of  Cliarbonneau,  which  town  was 
established  and  developed  long  after  he  took  up  his  abode  in  McKenzie  county.  In  fact  he 
is  one  of  the  pioneer  cattle  ranchers  of  the  western  part  of  the  state — a  typical  and 
picturesque  figure  of  the  western  plains.  The  free,  open  life  makes  strong  appeal  to  him 
and  he  knows  every  phase  of  cattle  ranching  and  is  thoroughly  acquainted  with  every  part 
of  the  work.  He  is  a  progressive  business  man  of  sound  judgment  who  has  recognized  and 
improved  his  opportunities,  working  his  way  steadily  upward.  Starting  out  empty-handed, 
he  deserves  much  credit  for  what  he  has  accomplished.  Obstacles  and  difficulties  have  not 
been  allowed  to  bar  his  path  or  impede  his  progress  toward  success.  He  has  surmounted 
these  with  the  same  spirit  of  dash  and  determination  that  he  has  displayed  when  riding 
over  the  ranch  in  search  of  troublesome  cattle.  In  the  management  of  his  employes  his 
has  never  been  the  command  of  the  tyrant  to  go  but  the  call  of  the  leader  to  come.  He  is 
generous,  hospitable  and  progressive,  a  splendid  specimen  of  the  western  ranchman,  whose 
interests  are  as  broad  as  his  own  acres  and  his  spirit  as  free  as  the  air  around  him.  He 
stands  among  the  most  prosperous  and  successful  ranchmen  of  his  section  of  the  state  and 
the  name  of  George  W.  Nohle  is  indeed  well  known  throughout  North  Dakota. 


WALTER  BYRON  SCOTT,  M.  D. 

Dr.  Walter  Byron  Scott  is  actively  engaged  in  medical  and  surgical  practice  at  Ray, 
where  he  owns  and  conducts  a  private  hospital  with  thoroughly  modern  equipment.  He 
has  at  all  times  kept  in  close  touch  with  the  trend  of  modern  professional  thought,  research 
and  investigation  and  his  ability  is  widely  acknowledged  by  fellow  practitioners  as  well 
as  by  the  laity.  Dr.  Scott  was  born  at  Lindsay,  Ontario,  Canada,  July  5,  1873,  a  son  of 
Leslie  and  Mary  Jane  (Williamson)  Scott.  The  father,  a  native  of  Canada,  was  thtre 
reared  and  educated  and  becam^e  one  of  the  first  operators  in  the  oil  fields  of  Texas  but 
spent  the  greater  part  of  his  life  in  Toronto,  Canada,  where  he  died  during  the  boyhood 
of  his  son.  Dr.  Scott.  His  wife  was  born  at  Blackstock,  Ontario,  and  spent  her  entire  life 
in  Canada. 

Dr.  Scott  attended  the  district  schools  at  Blackstock  and  continued  his  education  in 
the  high  school  at  Port  Hope,  Canada,  after  which  he  became  a  student  in  the  University 
of  Toronto,  from  which  he  received  the  Ph.  G.  degiee  upon  the  completion  of  a  course  in 
pharmacy,  while  later  the  degree  of  Ph.  M.  B.  was  conferred  upon  him.  He  prepared  for 
the  practice  of  medicine  at  Kingston  University  at  Kingston.  Canada,  where  he  won  the 
M.D.C.M.  degree  and  the  degree  of  the  Royal  College  of  Physicians  and  Siu-geons.  After 
doing  post-graduate  work  at  Kingston  he  removed  to  Crystal,  North  Dakota,  in  1897  and 
there  engaged  in  the  practice  of  medicine  until  1902.  when  he  removed  to  Ray.  He  was 
the  thirteenth  man  to  come  to  what  was  then  a  new  town  on  the  western  frontier  and  was 
the  only  physician  between  Williston  and  Stanley,  a  distance  of  over  sixty  miles.  It  was 
not  an  unusual  thing  for  him  in  the  early  days  to  take  a  drive  of  thirty  or  forty  miles  to 


DR.  WALTER  B.  SCOTT 


PUEJ 

[O 

A*\ 

,. 

•tlLBL 

M. 

HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  759 

see  a  |)atiriit.  He  is  today  the  oldost  practicing  physician  in  Williams  coiuitj-  and  has 
ahvays  maintained  a  position  in  the  foremost  ranks  of  the  medical  fraternity  in  north- 
western North  Dakota.  Broad  reading  and  study  have  kept  liim  in  toiieli  with  tlie  trend  of 
modern  professional  thought  and  he  has  done  extensive  post-giaduate  work  in  Seattle  and 
in  San  Francisco.  He  built  a  private  hospital  at  Ray  supplied  with  the  most  modern 
equipment,  and  his  patients  are  there  under  the  care  of  five  graduate  nurses,  for  he  employs 
no  other  nurses  than  those  who  are  graduated  from  some  training  school  of  high  standing. 
He  brought  to  North  Dakota  the  first  X-ray  static  electric  machine  in  the  state  and  he 
has  the  largest  set  of  X-ray  tubes  in  North  Dakota.  He  also  has  a  very  complete  medical 
library,  one  of  the  finest  in  the  state,  and  with  its  contents  is  largely  familiar.  In  addition 
to  an  extensive  private  practice  in  his  hospital  work  and  as  a  visiting  physician,  he  has 
also  been  surgeon  for  the  Great  Northern  Kailroad  Company  for  the  past  eight  years. 
He  belongs  to  the  Kotana  Medical  Association,  the  Northwestern  District  Medical  Associa- 
tion and  the  American  Medical  Association. 

His  practice,  however,  is  but  one  phase  of  his  activity,  for  he  has  important  business 
interests  along  various  lines.  He  owns  a  drug  store  conducted  under  the  name  of  the  Ray 
Drug  Company,  employing  a  registered  pharmacist  to  carry  on  the  business,  and  he  is 
owner  of  one-half  of  the  town  site  of  Ray,  where  he  has  seen  the  rise  in  land  values  from 
fifty  to  fifteen  hundred  dollars  per  lot.  He  owns  over  two  thousand  acres  of  land  in 
Williams  county,  of  which  he  farms  one  thousand  acres  himself,  and  he  has  nine  silos  on  his 
farms.  He  has  built  a  large  potato  warehouse  in  Ray  and  produces  enormous  crops  of 
potatoes  annually.  Upon  his  land  he  also  keeps  a  great  heard  of  registered  Holstcin  cattle 
and  is  engaged  in  breeding  that  stock.  He  owned  five  teams  of  the  best  driving  horses 
when  he  used  that  method  in  going  about  the  country  before  the  introduction  of  the  auto- 
mobile. Through  his  important  and  extensive  business  interests  he  has  done  much  to 
develop  this  section  of  the  state,  contributing  in  very  large  measure  to  its  upbuilding  and 
progress.  The  Doctor  is  also  interested  in  the  Provident  Insurance  Company  of  liismarek 
and  is  a  heavy  stockholder  in  the  Cream  of  Rice  Company  of  Chicago  and  the  Havre  Oil  & 
Gas  Company  of  Havre,  ilontana.  He,  with  two  others,  owns  twenty  acres  of  valuable 
city  property  within  a  mile  and  a  half  of  the  University  of  Washington  at  Seattle  and  has 
a  summer  home  on  Bainbridge  island  opposite  Seattle. 

On  the  23d  of  April,  1901,  at  New  Richmond,  Wisconsin,  Dr.  Scott  was  united  in 
marriage  to  Miss  May  Kane  who  was  there  born  and  reared  a  daughter  of  Patsy  and  Mary 
Kane,  who  were  natives  of  Ireland,  where  they  spent  their  youthful  days  and  were  married. 
Crossing  the  Atlantic,  they  became  early  settlers  of  Cylon,  Wisconsin  where  Mr.  Kane 
followed  farming,  but  both  he  and  his  wife  have  now  passed  away.  They  had  a  family 
of  nine  children,  all  of  whom  were  liberally  educated  and  became  college  students  and  all 
entered  professional  life.  Mrs.  Scott  supplemented  her  early  education  by  study  in  the 
University  of  Wisconsin,  from  which  she  was  graduated,  and  later  she  became  a  teacher 
at  Crystal,  North  Dakota,  where  Dr.  Scott  first  located  on  coming  to  this  state.  She  won 
the  Wisconsin  state  medal  for  debating  and  oratory  at  the  University  of  Wisconsin  and 
later  coached  her  brother  while  he  was  a  student  there  and  he  won  the  same  medal  five 
years  after  she  had  carried  off  that  honor.  Mrs.  Scott  passed  away  at  Ray,  February  27, 
191.3.  leaving  two  children:  Mary  Genevieve,  who  was  born  at  Ray  February  1".  1908; 
and  Walter  Kane,  born  at  Ray,  May  14.  1910.  Both  are  now  attending  school  in  Seattle, 
where  they  are  living  with  their  aiint,  Jennie  Kane,  a  graduate  nurse,  and  two  other  sisters, 
who  are  principals  of  schools  in  that  city. 

In  jiolitics  Dr.  Scott  is  a  stalwart  republican,  and  while  not  a  politician  in  the  sense 
of  office  seeking,  he  has  always  been  active  in  any  movement  for  the  advancement  of  the 
welfare  of  the  city  and  has  been  an  advocate  of  the  adoption  of  the  commission  form  of 
government  for  Ray.  In  fact  he  was  instrumental  in  bringing  this  about,  after  which  he 
was  elected  mayor  of  the  city  and  presided  over  the  first  city  commission.  His  reliirious 
faith  is  indicated  by  his  membership  in  the  Roman  Catholic  church.  He  is  also  identified 
with  several  fraternal  organizations,  including  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America,  the 
Ancient  Order  of  United  Workmen,  thi'  Knights  of  the  Maccabees,  the  Royal  Neighbors, 
the  Degree  of  Honor,  the  Foresters  and  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows.  He  organized 
the   first  Commercial   Club  of  Ray  and   was   its   first   president.     His   activities   have   been 

Vol.  Ill— 35 


760  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

extensive  and  have  been  wisely  directed  for  the  benefit  and  upbuilding  of  the  district  in 
which  he  lives.  His  important  business  interests  have  made  him  one  of  the  leading  factors 
in  the  material  development  of  Williams  county,  but  most  of  all,  his  work  as  a  pioneer 
pliysician  and  as  a  practitioner  of  modern  times,  familiar  with  all  the  latest  scientific 
researches  and  discoveries,  has  established  him  as  one  of  the  leading,  most  honored  and 
most  valued  citizens  of  Williams  county. 


HERMAN  L.  STKNSETH. 


Herman  L.  Stenseth,  clerk  of  the  district  court  in  Ramsey  county  and  well  known  in 
Devils  Lake  and  that  section  of  the  state,  was  born  in  Waseca  county,  Minnesota,  -July  24, 
1874,  a  son  of  L.  L.  and  Annie  Stenseth.  It  was  subsequent  to  the  Civil  war  that  the  father 
removed  to  Minnesota  and  there  he  reared  his  family. 

Herman  L.  Stenseth  pursued  his  education  in  the  public  schools  of  his  native  county 
and  after  his  textbooks  were  put  aside  engaged  in  clerking  and  in  railroading.  Later  he  was 
called  to  the  position  of  deputy  sheriff  of  Devils  Lake,  in  which  capacity  he  served  for 
six  years.  He  became  a  resident  of  North  Dakota  on  the  11th  of  July,  1885,  then  a  lad  of 
eleven  years.  He  was  appointed  to  his  present  position  as  clerk  of  the  district  court  on 
the  10th  of  February,  1910,  was  reelected  to  the  office  in  1912  and  was  again  chosen  for  the 
position  in  1914,  so  that  he  is  now  serving  for  the  third  time,  a  fact  which  indicates  his 
capability  and  fidelity. 

On  the  3d  of  October,  1901,  Mr.  Stenseth  was  united  in  marriaga  to  Miss  Lena  B.  Lee 
and  they  now  have  two  sons,  Harold  E.  and  Leonard  B.  Mr.  Stenseth  belongs  to  the  Odd 
Fellows  lodge,  to  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America,  to  the  Ancient  Order  of  United  Work- 
men and  to  the  Sons  of  Norway.  His  political  faith  is  that  of  the  republican  party  and 
his  religious  belief  that  of  the  Lutheran  church.  His  life  has  been  actuated  by  high  and 
honorable  principles  and  measures  up  to  lofty  standards  of  manhood  and  citizenship. 


E.  B.  PAGE. 


E.  B.  Page,  residing  at  Leeds,  Benson  county,  is  prominently  identified  with  the  financial 
interests  of  that  town  as  president  of  the  Security  Bank  which  he  organized,  but  his  varied 
enterprises  connect  him  with  many  sections  of  North  Dakota  and  of  Canada.  He  was  born 
in  Greene  county,  Illinois,  a  son  of  Elisha  W.  and  Anna  M.  (Williams)  Page,  furthei'  men-i 
tion  of  whom  is  made  in  the  sketch  of  their  son,  J.  L.  Page. 

E.  B.  Page  acquired  his  general  education  in  the  public  schools  and  prepared  for  his 
entrance  into  business  circles  by  taking  a  course  in  a  business  college  in  Boston,  Massa- 
chusetts. For  two  years  he  was  shipping  clerk  in  a  wholesale  feed  house  in  St.  Louis,  and 
in  1888  he  came  to  North  Dakota,  taking  up  a  homestead  in  Benson  county  seven  miles 
northeast  of  Leeds.  For  many  years,  or  until  1901,  he  engaged  in  farming  but  in  that  year 
took  up  his  residence  in  Leeds  and  founded  the  Farmers  Bank,  of  which  he  became  cashier. 
Fourteen  months  later  it  was  converted  into  the  First  National  Bank  and  Mr.  Page  became 
president  of  the  institution,  whose  policy  he  directed  until  1909,  when  he  sold  his  interest  in 
the  bank  and  severed  his  official  connection  therewith.  After  six  months  he  purchased  the 
controlling  interest  in  the  Devils  Lake  State  Bank  and  for  two  years  served  as  president 
thereof,  but  at  the  end  of  that  time  sold  his  stock  in  the  institution  and  bought  an  interest 
in  the  Union  National  Bank  of  Grand  Forks,  serving  as  its  cashier  until  it  was  merged  into 
the  First  National  Bank.  Not  long  afterward  he  severed  his  connection  with  that  bank 
and  spent  the  following  summer  upon  his  farm.  In  September,  1915,  however,  he  again 
became  a  factor  in  the  financial  world,  organizing  the  Security  Bank  of  Leeds,  of  which  he 
is  the  principal  owner  and  president.     Although  the  bank  has  only  been  in  existence  for  a 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  761 

little  over  a  year  it  has  already  gained  the  conlidence  of  the  public  and  its  business  has 
shown  a  steady  and  rapid  growth. 

Mr.  Page  has  firm  faith  in  the  future  that  awaits  North  Dakota  as  an  agricultural  state 
and  has  invested  heavily  in  farm  lands,  owning  about  two  thousand  acres  in  Benson  county 
and  one  thousand  acres  in  Wells  county  near  Carrington.  He  also  holds  the  title  to  one 
thousand  acres  of  land  near  Lethbridge,  Alberta,  Canada,  conditions  there  being  similar  to 
those  of  North  Dakota.  He  is  likewise  proprietor  of  a  grain  elevator  at  Nile,  North  Dakota, 
a  store  at  Reeder  and  at  De  Sarte,  North  Dakota,  and  an  elevator  at  New  Dayton,  Alberta, 
and  in  addition  he  is  president  of  the  Planet  Elevator  Company  at  Winnipeg,  Manitoba, 
which  operates  a  line  of  elevators  in  Saskatchewan  and  Alberta. 

Mr.  Page  was  married  October  19,  1891,  to  Miss  Birdie  Atkins  of  Cando,  North  Dakota, 
and  they  have  four  children:  Laura  W.,  the  wife  of  I.  L.  Knudson  of  Verndale,  Minnesota; 
E.  Howard,  who  is  operating  a  farm  belonging  to  his  father;  and  Walter  S.  and  Barbara, 
attending  the  West  high  school  in  Minneapolis. 

Mr.  Page  is  one  of  the  prominent  democrats  of  North  Dakota  and  served  as  alternate 
to  the  national  convention  of  the  party  held  in  St.  Louis  and  as  delegate  to  the  convention 
held  in  Denver.  He  is  identified  with  Leeds  Lodge,  No.  67,  A.  F.  &  A.  M.;  the  Leeds 
Cliaptcr,  No.  20,  R.  A.  M. ;  Cyrene  Commandcry,  K.  T.;  Dakota  Consistory,  No.  1,  A.  &  A. 
S.  R.;  and  Kem  Temple,  A.  A.  0.  N.  M.  S.  He  exemplifies  in  his  life  the  beneficent  teachings 
of  the  craft  and  the  principles  which  govern  his  life  are  still  further  indicated  in  the  fact 
that  he  is  a  member  of  the  Presbyterian  church,  to  which  his  wife  also  belongs.  The  record 
of  his  achievements  is  in  itself  proof  of  his  business  acumen  and  the  high  esteem  in  which 
ho  is  held  testifies  to  his  unswerving  integrity. 


VAUGHAN  G.  MORRIS,  M.  D. 

Dr.  \'aughan  G.  Morris,  engaged  in  the  practice  of  medicine  at  Watford  City,  McKenzie 
county,  was  born  May  5,  1879,  in  Warwick,  Ontario,  Canada.  His  parents  were  Thomas  G. 
and  Marion  (Digles)  Morris,  the  former  a  native  of  Glenrafon,  Wales,  where  he  acquired  hi* 
education.  He  accompanied  his  parents  to  Canada  and  afterward  removed  to  Vancouver, 
British  Columbia,  where  he  worked  at  the  carpenter's  trade.  Subsequently  he  became  a 
resident  of  Warwick,  Ontario,  and  there  engaged  in  the  grocery  business  to  the  time  of  hi* 
demise.  His  wife,  who  was  born  in  England,  was  but  two  years  of  age  when  brought  to 
the  new  world  by  her  parents,  who  established  the  family  home  in  Seattle,  Washington. 
Her  parents  there  passed  away  and  she  was  adopted  by  a  physician.  She,  too,  is  now 
deceased,  her  death   having   occuiTcd  at   Warwick  in  August,   1915. 

In  the  city  schools  of  Watford,  Ontario,  Dr.  Morris  pursued  his  education  until  he  became 
a  high  school  pupil.  Determining  upon  the  practice  of  medicine  as  a  life  work,  he  afterward 
entered  the  Detroit  College  of  Medicine  and  won  his  professional  degree  in  1905.  Later 
lie  spent  two  years  in  hospital  work,  gaining  that  broad  and  valuable  experience  which  is 
never  as  quickly  acquired  in  any  other  way  as  in  hospital  practice.  He  afterward  went  to 
Jlilo.  North  Dakota,  where  he  practiced  for  a  year,  and  in  1906  arrived  in  Schafer,  McKenzie 
county,  being  the  first  physician  to  locate  within  the  borders  of  the  county,  at  which  time 
Schafer  was  forty-five  miles  from  a  railroad.  He  practiced  among  the  ranchmen  and  in 
1914,  when  a  new  town  was  started  west  of  Schafer,  he  removed  to  that  place  and  was 
instrumental  in  naming  the  town  Watford  City  for  his  old  home  in  Ontario.  He  has  since 
practiced  medicine  there  and  his  ability  is  pronounced.  He  is  also  interested  in  agricultural 
pursuits,  having  two  farms  in  McKenzie  county  which  he  has  rented. 

On  the  17th  of  June,  1908,  Dr.  Morris  was  married  to  Miss  Gertrude  Scoft,  of  Williston, 
North  Dakota,  who  was  born  at  Elk  River,  Minnesota,  a  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  George 
Scott.  Her  father  was  a  lumberman  of  Elk  River  and  both  he  and  his  wife  are  now 
deceased.  Their  daughter  Mrs.  Morris  was  reared  and  educated  at  Elk  River  and  after 
completing  the  high  school  course  there  was  graduated  from  the  St.  Cloud  Normal  School. 
She  then  took  up  the  profession  of  teaching,  which  she  followed  at  St.  Cloud  and  at  Minot, 


762  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

North  Dakota.     By  her   marriage   she  has  become  the   mother  of   two   children,  Lucile   and 
Walter  Vaughan,  both  born  in   Schafer. 

In  politics  Dr.  Morris  is  a  republican  and  when  McKenzie  county  was  organized  he  was 
appointed  county  coroner  and  later  was  elected  the  first  county  coroner.  Since  1906  he  has 
been  president  of  the  McKenzie  county  board  of  health.  He  is  the  vice  president  of  the 
Chamber  of  Commerce  and  is  actively  interested  in  all  those  forces  which  work  for  the 
betterment  of  the  community  and  the  uplift  of  the  people.  He  belongs  to  the  Canadian 
Order  of  Foresters  and  is  a  charter  member  of  the  Elks  lodge  No.  1314.  He  is  also  a 
Mason,  belonging  to  the  lodge  at  Forest,  Ontario,  and  he  is  connected  with  the  Modern 
Woodmen  camp  at  Schafer.  Identified  with  McKenzie  county  from  pioneer  times,  he  has 
lived  to  witness  notable  changes  here  as  the  work  of  development  and  progress  has  been 
carried  steadily  forward.  He  rejoices  in  what  has  been  accomplished  and  at  all  times  has 
lent  his  aid  and  influence  to  measures  for  the  general  good. 


FREDERICK  HOESLEY. 


Frederick  Hoesley,  the  well  known  and  popular  manager  of  the  Farmers  Cooperative 
Store  at  Crystal,  North  Dakota,  was  born  on  the  25th  of  January,  1875,  in  Temple  county, 
Wisconsin,  of  which  state  his  parents,  Frederick  and  Rose  (Jannywoski)  Hoesley,  were  also 
natives.  In  early  life  the  father  engaged  in  farming  but  later  turned  his  attention  to  the 
hotel  business,  which  he  followed  for  some  years.  He  is  still  living  at  the  age  of  sixty-si.x 
years,  but  the  mother  died  in  1913,  at  the  age  of  sixty-two.  In  their  family  were  ten 
children,  one  of  whom  is  now  deceased.  Those  living  are  Mrs.  Rose  Schultz,  a  resident  of 
Arcadia,  Wisconsin;  Frederick,  of  this  review;  Andrew,  of  Dodge,  Wisconsin;  John,  of 
Crystal,  North  Dakota;  Frank,  of  Dodge,  Wisconsin;  Henry,  of  Crystal,  North  Dakota;  Mrs. 
Carrie  Brinkman,  of  Appleton,  Wisconsin;  and  Miss  Mary  Hoesley  and  Robert,  both  of 
Dodge,  Wisconsin. 

At  the  usual  age  Frederick  Hoesley,  Jr.,  entered  the  public  schools  of  Wisconsin,  and 
after  completing  his  education  was  engaged  in  the  farm  machinery  business  for  three  years. 
In  the  fall  of  1897  he  located  in  Minto,  North  Dakota,  and  conducted  a  general  store  at 
that  place  for  eight  years,  after  which  lie  was  engaged  in  merchandising  at  Hamilton,  this 
state  for  five  years.  It  was  in  1910  that  he  became  a  resident  of  Crystal  and  accepted  the 
position  of  manager  of  the  F'armers  Cooperative  Store,  which  has  steadily  prospered  under 
his  control.  He  now  requires  the  assistance  of  four  others  in  conducting  the  store  and  it 
has  become  a  paying  enterprise. 

In  Minto,  North  Dakota,  Mr.  Hoesley  was  married  June  35,  1907,  to  Miss  Mary  M. 
Kline,  a  daughter  of  Thomas  Kline,  one  of  the  pioneers  of  this  state,  and  they  now  have  a 
little  daughter,  Isabelle,  born  in  Crystal,  November  38,  1913.  They  are  members  of  the 
Roman  Catholic  church  and  Mr.  Hoesley  also  belongs  to  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America 
and  the  Ancient  Order  of  United  Workmen.  He  votes  with  the  democratic  party  and  takes 
an  active  interest  in  public  affairs,  having  served  as  councilman  in  Crystal  and  as  assessor 
of  Dodge  township.  He  is  a  director  of  the  First  National  Bank  of  Crystal  and  is  a  most 
progressive,  enterprising  business  men  in  whom  his  fellow  citizens  have  the  utmost 
confidence. 


JOHN  A.  CARLSON. 


John  A.  Carlson,  who  is  the  chief  stockholder  in  the  Minot  Roofing  &  Cornice  Company, 
Inc.,  a  contracting  concern,  has  gained  the  success  which  he  now  enjoys  by  well  directed 
industry  and  the  wise  management  of  his  affairs.  A  native  of  Minnesota,  his  birth  occurred 
in  Meeker  county  on  the  3d  of  January.  1873,  and  he  is  a  son  of  Elias  and  Marie  (Ahlstrom) 
Carlson,  both  of  whom  were  born  in  Sweden.  They  were  married,  however,  in  this  country, 
to  which    the    father   emigrated   when    he    was    twenty-one    years    of    age.     He    engaged    in 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  763 

wagon  making  anil  in  farming  in  Wisconsin  until  1863,  when  ho  removed  to  Minnesota, 
where  lie  resided  until  called  to  his  final  reward  on  the  4th  ot  May,  1915.  He  had  survived 
his  wife  for  a  number  of  years  as  her  demise  took  place  on  the  12th  of  June,  1901.  He 
lieid  a  number  of  local  oflicea  but  never  sought  to  figure  more  prominently  in  political 
affairs.  To  him  and  his  wife  were  born  fifteen  children,  of  whom  John  A.  is  the  seventh 
in  order  of  birth  and  of  whom  thirteen  are  still  living.  The  first  death  in  the  family  occurred 
wlien  one  of  tlie  daughters  passed  beyond  at  the  age  ot  twenty-four  years,  a  record  whicli 
is  verv  unusual. 

John  A.  Carlson  received  a  good  education,  attending  higli  school  at  Litchfield,  Minnesota, 
and  he  remained  with  his  parents  until  twenty-four  years  of  age,  when  he  became  a  resident 
of  Minot,  North  Dakota.  He  engaged  in  the  general  hardware  business  until  1907  and 
until  1911  conducted  a  cattle  ranch,  meeting  witli  success  in  l)otli  undertakings.  In  1906 
he  and  a  brother-in-law,  T.  T.  Jacobson,  organized  the  Minot  Roofing  &  Cornice  Company, 
Inc.,  which  does  general  contract  work  in  this  line.  Mr.  Jacobson  has  since  disposed  of  his 
interest  in  the  business,  and  Mr.  Carlson  now  owns  practically  the  entire  stock  of  the 
concern.  Its  success  has  been  in  the  main  due  to  his  foresight  and  business  acumen,  and 
he  is  recognized  as  a  factor  in  the  commercial  development  of  the  community.  He  likewise 
holds  title  to  valiiable  land  in  this  state  and  to  residence  and  business  property  in  Minot, 
and  he  receives  a  gratifying  addition  to  his  income  from  his  real  estate  holdings. 

Mr.  Carlson  was  married  on  the  7th  of  June,  1898,  to  Miss  Anna  Clambey,  who  was  born 
in  Sweden  of  the  marriage  of  N.  A.  and  Katherine  (Peterson)  Clambey,  also  natives  of  that 
country.  In  1889  they  came  to  the  United  States  and  took  up  their  residence  in  Ottertail 
county,  Minnesota,  where  Mr.  Clambey  is  still  farming.  In  1913  he  was  called  upon  to 
mourn  the  loss  of  his  wife.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Carlson  have  five  children:  Bessie  Marie,  Harriet 
Louisa,  Stella  Lucile,  Genevieve  Katherine  and  Hamphen  Clambey. 

Mr.  Carlson  is  an  independent  republican  and  has  been  content  to  perform  his  civic 
duties  as  a  private  citizen.  In  building  up  the  Minot  Roofing  &  Cornice  Company  he  has  not 
only  gained  financial  prosperity  but  has  also  contributed  to  the  business  growth  of  Minot. 
His  fair  dealing  and  honesty  have  had  a  part  in  maintaining  a  high  standard  of  business 
ethics.  As  the  years  have  passed  the  business  of  tlie  firm  has  grown  in  importance,  and  tlie 
management  of  its  interests  leaves  Mr.  Carlson  little  time  for  further  activity. 


THEODORE  S.  HENRY. 


Theodore  S.  Henry,  a  well  known  and  respected  young  business  man  of  Valley  City 
londucting  a  real  estate,  abstract  and  loan  business,  was  born  at  Brainerd,  Minnesota, 
.Tune  7,  1881,  a  son  of  Alfred  J.  Henry,  who  is  mentioned  elsewhere  in  this  work.  His 
education  was  acquired  in  the  public  schools,  completed  with  a  high  school  course,  and 
after  the  outbreak  of  the  war  with  Spain  he  enlisted  as  a  member  of  Company  G  of  the 
First  Regiment  of  North  Dakota  Volunteer  Infantry  under  Captain  C.  F.  Mudgett  and  Lieu- 
tenant Colonel  W.  C.  Truman.  He  was  mustered  in  at  Fargo,  April  26,  1898,  and  went  with 
the  company  to  the  Philippines,  participating  in  all  of  the  battles  and  skirmishes  in  which 
his  command  engaged.  At  length  he  returned  with  his  company  and  was  mustered  out  at 
Ban  Francisco,  September  35,  1899.  With  the  company  he  returned  to  Valley  City  and 
then  in  further  preparation  for  a  business  career  entered  the  Archibald  Business  College, 
where  he  pursued  a  commercial  course. 

Mr.  Henry  next  secured  a  position  with  the  firm  of  Lockerby  &  White,  attorneys,  witli 
whom  he  remained  until  the  summer  of  1902,  when  he  became  associated  witli  Major  John 
D.  Black  in  the  abstract  business,  while  eventually  he  became  a  partner  in  the  John  T>. 
Black  Abstract  Company.  That  partnership  was  dissolved  in  1910  by  the  withdrawal  of 
Mr.  Black  and  Mr.  Henry  subsequently  organized  the  Barnes  County  Abstract  Company, 
which  was  later  incorporated,  having  in  the  meantime  purchased  the  business  of  the  firm 
of  Warner  &  Pierce.  Mr.  Henry  has  always  been  the  active  head  of  this  company  and  he  is 
also  a  member  of  the  firm  of  Henry  &   Henry,  conducting  a   real   estate,   insurance  and   loan 


?64  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

business.     His  interests  are  carefully  managed  and  he  closely  studies  every  phase  of  every 
situation  bearing  upon  his  specific  interests. 

On  the  26th  of  December,  1908,  Mr.  Henrjr  was  united  in  marriage  to  Hiss  Gertrude  E. 
Healy.  Fraternally  he  is  a  Mason,  belonging  to  lodge,  chapter,  commandery  and  Mystic 
Shrine  and  in  the  order  he  has  been  honored  with  various  offices,  being  now  a  past  master  of 
the  lodge,  past  high  priest  of  the  chapter  and  past  eminent  commander  of  the  commandery. 
He  is  also  identified  with  the  Knights  of  Pythias  and  with  the  Benevolent  Protective  Order 
of  Elks.  He  has  always  maintained  a  deep  interest  in  military  affairs  and  in  rifle  shooting 
and  he  was  a  member  of  the  rifle  team  of  the  first  North  Dakota  National  Guard  that  partici- 
pated in  the  national  and  international  matches  at  Camp  Perry,  Ohio.  He  still  retains 
Inembership  with  the  National  Guard  and  is  now  captain  and  adjutant  of  the  First  Infantry 
Kegiment.  He  went  to  Texas  with  Company  G  of  the  First  Regiment  of  North  Dakota 
.Volunteer  Infantry  following  President  Wilson's  call  for  troops  and  is  at  present  at 
Mercedes,  Texas.  He  is  thoroughl}'  trained  in  military  tactics  and  no  one  who  knows 
Mr.  Henry  questions  his  patriotic  loyalty  to  his  country. 


HENRY  B.   JOHNSON. 


Thirty  years  have  come  and  gone  since  Henry  B.  Johnson  of  New  Roekford  arrived  in 
(North  Dakota,  here  to  become  identified  with  the  pioneer  agricultural  development  of  Eddy 
■county.  Through  the  intervening  period  he  has  worked  his  way  steadily  upward  and, 
.winning  a  substantial  measure  of  success,  is  now  living  retired.  He  was  born  in  Otsego, 
Columbia  county,  Wisconsin,  April  13,  1865,  and  ia  a  son  of  Bord  and  Ingeborg  Johnson, 
both  of  whom  were  natives  of  Norway,  where  they  were  reared  and  married.  In  1859  they 
made  the  long  voyage  across  the  ocean  to  the  new  world  on  a  sailing  vessel  which  was 
eighteen  weeks  in  reaching  the  American  port.  They  continued  across  the  country  to 
Columbia  county,  Wisconsin,  becoming  pioneers  of  that  section,  where  the  father  spent  his 
remaining  days,  his  death  there  occurring  in  1913,  when  he  was  eighty-six  years  of  age. 
His  widow  still  occupies  the  old  home  place  and  is  now  in  her  ninety-third  year.  In  their 
family  there  were  seven  children:  J.  B.,  O.  B.  and  O.  N.,  who  were  born  in  Norway;  C. 
B.,  M.  B.,  H.  B.  and  T.  R.,  who  were  born  in  Wisconsin.  All  are  living  except  James  B., 
who  died  near  Farmington,  Idaho. 

Henry  B.  Johnson  was  reared  under  the  parental  roof  with  the  usual  experiences  of 
the  farm-bred  boy  and  was  educated  in  the  Norwegian  public  schools  of  his  native  state. 
The  few  schools  of  that  district  were  largely  Norwegian  at  that  period  and  he  supplemented 
the  limited  training  therein  received  by  study  at  his  mother's  knee  by  the  light  of  a  tallow 
candle.  In  the  spring  of  1886,  just  after  attaining  his  majority,  he  came  to  North  Dakota 
and  for  two  years  was  employed  on  a  farm  two  and  one-half  miles  north  of  Buffalo.  In 
1887  he  filed  on  a  homestead  and  a  tree  claim  in  Eddy  county,  twelve  miles  southeast  of 
the  present  city  of  New  Roekford,  and  in  1888  took  up  his  abode  thereon,  remaining  there 
continuously  until  the  fall  of  1916,  when  he  retired  from  active  business  life  and  established 
liis  home  in  the  city  of  New  Roekford.  The  farm  upon  which  he  lived  for  twenty-eight 
years  had  become  a  very  valuable  property.  He  had  extended  its  boundaries  from  time  to 
time  by  additional  purchase  until  he  was  the  owner  of  eleven  hundred  and  twenty  acres  in 
that  place  and  he  had  brought  the  fields  under  a  very  high  state  of  cultivation.  Moreover, 
he  has  added  to  his  holdings  until  he  has  six  other  quarter  sections  in  Eddy  county  and 
all  of  this  has  been  achieved  since  his  arrival  in  North  Dakota.  On  coming  to  Eddy  county 
he  brought  with  him  a  span  of  mules,  on  which  he  owed  three  hundred  dollars,  and  his 
cash  capital  at  that  period  was  seventy-five  cents.  Today  he  is  one  of  the  substantial  and 
prosperous  citizens  of  the  county,  attributable  entirely  to  his  persistent,  earnest  and 
intelligently  directed  efforts.  For  thirty  years  he  engaged  in  threshing,  during  which 
period  he  wore  out  three  threshing  rigs.  He  is  a  man  of  Indefatigable  energy  and  his  per- 
sistency of  purpose  has  enabled  him  to  overcome  all  difficulties  and  obstacles  in  his  path 
and  work  his  way  upward  to  success. 

On   the   3d   of  January,   1893,   Mr.   Johnson   was   united   in   marriage   to  Miss   Caroline 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  767 

Johnson,  who  was  a  native  of  Norway  and  came  to  North  Dakota  in  the  spring  of  1888, 
locating  in  Buffalo.  She  passed  away  in  1905  and  two  years  later  Mr.  Johnson  was  again 
married,  his  second  union  being  with  Mrs.  U.  0.  Knudson,  who  bore  the  maiden  name  of 
Betsy  Peterson  and  is  a  native  of  Jackson,  Wisconsin.  Her  parents,  however,  came  from 
Norway.  By  his  second  wife  Mr.  Johnson  had  five  children,  four  of  whom  survive,  namely: 
Louis  Barnhart,  Evelyn  Idella,  Annie  Mary  and  Raymond  Bi^rnet. 

Politically  Mr.  Johnson  is  a  republican  and  has  filled  various  township  offices,  the  duties 
of  which  he  has  discharged  with  promptness  and  fidelity.  He  is  a  member  of  the  American 
Yeomen  and  he  and  his  wife  hold  membership  in  the  Norwegian  Lutheran  church,  guiding 
their  lives  by  its  teachings.  His  business  activities  and  his  social  nature  have  brought  hira 
a  wide  acduaintance  and  he  is  regarded  as  one  of  the  influential  citizens  of  Eddy  county. 


FREDERlClv  B.  STRAUSS,  M.  D. 

Dr.  Frederick  B.  Strauss,  who  has  engaged  in  the  general  practice  of  medicine  and  sur- 
gery in  Bismarck  since  1909,  was  one  of  the  first  white  children  born  there,  his  birth 
occurring  September  28,  1878.  His  parents  were  Ernest  L.  and  Marie  Theresa  (Walter) 
Strauss,  the  former  born  in  Germany  in  1837  and  the  latter  in  Ohio.  During  the  pioneer 
epoch  in  the  history  of  this  state  Ernest  L.  Strauss  came  to  the  northwest,  arriving  in  the 
early  '70s.  From  that  period  until  his  demise  he  was  closely  associated  with  interests  that 
led  to  the  substantial  development  and  improvement  of  the  state.  He  passed  away  in 
Bismarck,  June  7,  1892,  while  his  wife  survived  until  1910. 

After  mastering  the  branches  of  learning  taught  in  the  public  schools  of  his  native  city 
Dr.  Strauss  entered  St.  John's  University  near  St.  Cloud,  Minnesota,  and  was  there  graduated 
in  1897  with  the  degree  of  Bachelor  of  Arts.  His  more  specifically  professional  training 
was  received  in  Rush  Medical  College  at  Cliicago,  where  he  completed  his  ocurse  in  1901.  He 
did  post-graduate  work  in  that  city  through  the  eighteen  months  following,  after  which 
he  located  for  practice  at  Glen  Ullin,  North  Dakota,  where  he  remained  until  he  returned 
to  Bismarck  in  1909.  Here  he  has  since  given  his  attention  to  professional  duties  and  his 
practice  has  steadily  grown   in  volume  and  importance. 

On  the  24th  of  February,  1908,  in  Chicago,  Dr.  Strauss  was  united  in  marriage  to 
Miss  Marie  E.  Ball,  by  whom  he  has  three  children,  namely:  Frederick  B.,  Jr.,  Ernest 
Edward;   and  Cora  Marie. 

Dr.  Strauss  gives  his  political  allegiance  to  the  republican  party,  while  fraternally 
he  is  identified  with  the  Benevolent  Protective  Order  of  Elks  and  the  Knights  of  Columbus. 
He  is  also  a  devout  communicant  of  the  Catholic  church.  Dr.  Strauss  has  filled  the  position 
of  county  health  officer  and  county  physician  for  Morton  county  and  at  present  is  serving 
as  city  health  ofiicer  of  Bismarck.  He  is  also  surgeon  for  the  Soo  Railroad  and  a  member 
of  the  staff  of  St.  Alexis'  Hospital  and  lecturer  at  the  Training  School  for  Nurses.  He  is 
a  member  of  the  United  States  Medical  Reserve  Corps.  His  life  record  stands  in  contra- 
distinction to  the  old  adage  that  a  prophet  is  never  without  honor  save  in  his  own  country, 
for  in  the  city  of  his  birth,  in  which  the  greater  part  of  his  life  has  been  passed,  he  has 
worked  his  way  stea<lily  upward  and  is  now  accorded  a  prominent  and  gratifying  position 
among  Bismarck's  able  physicians.  He  studies  closely  along  the  line  of  liis  profession  and 
keeps  in  touch  with  advanced  scientific  methods. 


LEWIS  O.  LARSON. 


The  progressive  town  of  Courtenay  finds  a  worthy  representative  of  its  business  in- 
terests in  Lewis  O.  I^arson,  a  dealer  in  hardware,  implements  and  furniture.  It  is  a  well 
known  fact  that  the  upbuilding  and  prosperity  of  a  community  do  not  depend  so  much 
upon  the  machinery  of  government  or  even  upon  those  who  occupy  public  office  as  upon 
the  merchants,  manufacturers  and  professional  men  who  constitute  the  guiding  spirit  in  the 


768  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

substantial  development  of  the  community.  To  this  class  belongs  Mr.  Larson,  who  was 
born  in  Columbia  county,  Wisconsin,  March  2,  1856,  a  son  of  Ole  Larson,  who  was  born  in 
Norway  and  in  1844  came  to  the  United  States,  establishing  his  home  in  Columbia  county, 
Wisconsin.  Ere  leaving  his  native  land  he  was  married,  his  wife,  Mrs.  Susanna  Larson,  also 
being  a  native  of  Norway.  They  had  eight  children,  of  whom  Lewis  0.  is  the  fifth  in  order 
of  birth,  and  four  of  the  number  are  now  living.  The  father  followed  the  occupation  of 
general  farming  in  Columbia  county  for  some  time  and  afterward  removed  to  Jackson 
county,  Wisconsin,  where  he  spent  his  remaining  days,  his  deatli  occurring  in  1870.  His 
widow  long  survived  him,  passing  away  in  1910. 

In  the  district  schools  of  Wisconsin  Lewis  O.  Larson  pursued  his  education,  his  time 
being  divided  between  the  duties  of  the  school  room,  the  pleasures  of  the  playground  and 
the  work  of  the  fields.  He  continued  to  assist  in  the  cultivation  of  the  home  farm  until  he 
reached  the  age  of  twenty  years,  when  he  removed  to  Port  Gamble,  Washington,  where  he 
was  employed  in  a  sawmill  for  three  years.  He  then  returned  to  his  native  state,  where 
he  spent  another  year,  and  in  the  spring  of  1882  he  came  to  North  Dakota,  taking  up  a 
claim.  He  homesteaded  the  southeast  quarter  of  section  29,  township  149,  range  59,  in 
Nelson  county,  and  remained  upon  that  place  for  seven  years,  carefully  and  persistently 
breaking  the  sod  and  developing  the  fields  until  he  had  wrought  a  marked  transformation 
in  the  appearance  of  the  place.  In  1889  he  removed  to  Cooperstown,  where  he  spent  a  year, 
and  then  became  a  resident  of  Courtenay,  where  he  established  a  mercantile  business  as  a 
dealer  in  implements,  hardware  and  furniture.  From  the  beginning  he  has  enjoyed  a  liberal 
patronage  and  his  trade  has  steadily  grown  as  his  fellow  townsmen  have  come  to  recognize 
the  integrity  of  his  business  methods  and  his  earnest  desire  to  please  his  customers.  He  also 
became  one  of  the  organizers  and  original  stockholders  of  the  Stutsman  County  Bank  and 
in  February,  1915,  he  was  elected  president  of  that  institution,  of  which  he  had  formerly 
been  a  director.  He  thus  divides  his  attention  between  his  mercantile  and  banking  interests 
and  both  are  capably  and  profitably  managed.  In  his  store  he  carries  a  complete  stock  in 
the  various  lines  which  he  handles  and  his  trade  is  growing  most  satisfactorily.  He  owns 
the  building  which  he  occupies,  a  two  story  structure  fifty  by  one  hundred  and  thirty-two 
feet,  the  second  story  of  which  is  used  as  an  opera  house.  Until  1914  he  was  also 
extensively  interested  in  farming  and  was  the  owner  of  ten  hundred  and  forty  acres  of  land 
■  in  Stutsman  county,  but  has  since  disposed  of  all  of  his  property  save  two  farms.  He  has 
likewise  made  judicious  investment  in  town  property,  owning  considerable  real  estate  in 
Courtenay,  and  in  addition  to  his  other  business  investments  he  is  a  stockholder  in  the 
Farmers  Elevator  and  in  the  Twin  City  Fire  Insurance  Company.  His  judgment  is  sound, 
his  discrimination  keen  and  his  careful  control  of  his  interests  has  led  to  the  attainment  of 
gi-atifying  success. 

In  1895  Mr.  Larson  was  joined  in  wedlock  to  Miss  Caroline  Pierson.  who  was  born  in 
Iowa  in  1864,  a  daughter  of  Joseph  and  Kerrie  (Larson)  Pierson.  Her  mother  is  now 
deceased  but  her  father  is  still  living,  making  his  home  in  Iowa.  In  1916  Mr.  Larson  was 
called  upon  to  mourn  the  loss  of  his  wife,  who  passed  away  in  the  month  of  April,  her 
death  being  the  occasion  of  deep  regret  to  many  friends  as  well  as  her  relatives. 

In  his  political  views  Mr.  Larson  is  a  democrat  and  is  now  serving  as  a  member  of  the 
city  council  of  Courtenay.  He  belongs  to  Liberty  Lodge,  No.  65,  I.  0.  0.  F.,  and  he  attends 
the  Lutheran  church  at  Courtenay.  His  life  has  ever  been  guided  by  high  and  honorable 
principles  and  he  has  proven  a  substantial  and  valued  citizen  of  Courtenay. 


A.  G.  HOLSTROM 


A.  G.  Holstrom  is  superintendent  of  the  Grandin  Farm  No.  1,  comprising  thirty-three 
hundred  acres  of  land,  all  that  remains  of  the  original  forty-thousand-acre  farm,  the  re- 
mainder having  been  sold  off  in  smaller  farm  tracts.  That  Mr.  Holstrom  occupies  this 
responsible  position  is  indicative  of  his  business  ability  and  executive  force. 

Mr.  Holstrom  was  born  in  Sweden,  May  10,  1868,  a  son  of  Gustaf  P.  and  Stena  (Jones) 
Holstrom,   who  came   to   the   United   States    in    1881    and    settled   near   Beloit,    in   Mitchell 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  769 

county,  Kansas.  There  tlic  fatlier  formed  a  partnership  with  a  brother  who  had  preceded 
him  to  the  new  world,  having  crossed  the  Atlantic  twenty  years  before.  Ulie  two  brothers 
carried  on  their  farming  interests  together  for  eleven  years  but  in  1894  Gustaf  P.  Holstrom 
removed  to  St.  Paul,  Minnesota,  where  he  resided  to  the  time  of  his  death. 

A.  G.  Holmstrom  was  a  lad  of  thirteen  years  when  he  accompanied  his  parents  on 
their  emigration  to  the  United  States.  After  pursuing  a  course  in  the  public  schools  he 
attended  the  Campbell  University  at  Holton,  Kansas,  being  graduated  on  the  completion  of 
the  commercial  course  and  practically  completing  the  normal  course  in  1889.  He  afterward 
taught  two  terms  of  school  in  Gage  county,  Nebraska,  and  in  1890  removed  to  St.  Paul, 
Minnesota,  where  he  obtained  a  position  in  a  furniture  establishment,  spending  eight 
months  as  salesman.  He  afterward  attended  the  Miss  Hess  .School  of  Stenography,  in  which 
he  mastered  shorthand.  During  the  course  of  his  studies  he  was  employed  by  A.  R. 
Dalrymple,  the  superintendent  of  the  Grandin  Farm,  which  then  comprised  eighteen  thousand 
acres,  to  fill  the  position  of  assistant  bookkeeper  and  stenographer  and  on  the  12th  of 
August,  1892,  assumed  his  new  duties.  He  continued  to  act  in  that  capacity  for  two 
seasons,  after  which  he  was  promoted  to  the  position  of  financial  agent  for  the  Grandins 
and  remained  in  that  connection  for  seven  years,  serving  from  1894  until  1901.  In  the 
latter  year  he  was  made  general  superintendent  of  the  farm  and  has  now  continued  in 
that  position  for  fourteen  years,  controlling  one  of  the  most  extensive  farm  properties  of 
the  state,  comprising  thirty-three  hundred  acres  of  rich  and  valuable  land  which  is  being 
carefully  cultivated  and  improved  under  his  direction.  He  is  thoroughly  acquainted  with 
all  modern  agricultural  methods,  knows  the  scientific  as  well  as  the  practical  phases  of 
the  business  and  so  wisely  directs  the  interests  under  his  care  that  excellent  results  accrue. 
Moreover,  he  is  a  stockholder  and  a  member  of  the  board  of  directors  of  the  California  & 
Western  Land  Company,  holding  three  thousand  acres  in  Placer  county,  California,  acquired 
with  the  object  of  later  subdividing  it.  He  is  likewise  a  stockholder  in  the  Minnesota 
Clover  Land  Company,  of  which  he  is  treasurer  and  a  member  of  the  board  of  directors. 

In  1889  Mr.  Holstrom  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Rachael  Holmes,  of  Milwaukee, 
Wisconsin.  Fraternally  he  is  identified  with  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America  and  the 
following  branches  of  Masonry:  Hillsboro  Lodge,  No.  10,  A.  F.  &  A.  M. ;  Hillsboro  Lodge 
of  Perfection,  No.  6;  Dakota  Consistory,  No.  1,  A.  &  A.  S.  R.;  and  Osman  Temple,  A.  A. 
0.  N.  M.  S.  of  St.  Paul,  Minnesota.  He  is  ever  loyal  to  the  teachings  of  the  craft  and 
exemplifies  in  his  life  its  beneficent  spirit.  His  business  interests,  however,  are  foremost 
in  his  life  and  that  he  has  ever  been  most  faithful  to  the  interests  entrusted  to  his  care 
is  shown  in  his  promotion  to  the  responsible  position  which  he  now  fills. 


C.  H.  ANHEIER. 


C.  H.  Anheier,  of  F'argo,  national  bank  e.\aminer,  was  born  in  St.  Croix  county,  Wiscon- 
sin, on  the  11th  of  March,  1858,  a  son  of  William  and  Margaret  (Moskop)  Anheier,  both 
of  whom  were  natives  of  Germany,  whence  they  came  to  the  new  world  in  young  manhood 
and  womanhood  respectively.  Both  settled  in  Illinois,  near  St.  Louis,  and  there  they  were 
afterward  married.  A  year  or  more  later  they  removed  to  St.  Croix  county,  Wisconsin, 
where  Jlr.  Anheier  engaged  in  farming  until  ]8f)4,  when  he  established  his  home  in  Minne- 
apolis, where  he  conducted  a  flour  and  feed  business  for  many  years,  becoming  a  prominent 
merchant  in  that  line  in  his  adopted  city.  There  he  passed  away  in  1900,  but  his  widow  still 
resides  in  Minneapolis. 

C.  H.  Anheier  was  a  little  lad  of  six  years  at  the  time  of  the  removal  to  :Minneapolis. 
so  that  his  education  was  acquired  in  the  public  schools  of  that  city.  After  his  textbooks  were 
put  aside  he  became  an  assistant  of  his  father  in  business  and  so  continued  until  1880, 
when  he  removed  to  North  Dakota,  settling  at  Grand  Forks,  where  he  represented  the 
Pillsbury  interests  in  the  buying  of  wheat.  In  1881,  however,  he  removed  his  headquarters 
to  Fargo  and  the  following  year  resigned  his  position,  accepting  the  position  of  engineer  at 
the  Fargo  water  works.  In  1883  he  again  associated  himself  with  the  Pillsbury  interests 
and  so  continued  until  January,  1887.     In  the  previous  fall,  however,  he  was  elected  to  the 


770  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

office  of  county  auditor  and  entered  upon  his  duties  in  ilarch  of  the  succeeding  year.  He 
served  for  one  term  and  during  the  succeeding  term  acted  as  deputy  auditor,  after  which 
lie  was  reelected  in  1891  and  in  1893  was  again  chosen  for  the  position,  being  the  only 
democrat  elected  on  the  ticket — a  fact  which  indicates  his  personal  popularity  and  the 
confidence  reposed  in  him  by  his  fellow  townsmen,  who  felt  that  he  had  been  most  capable, 
systematic  and  faithful  in  the  discharge  of  his  duties.  He  continued  as  the  incumbent  in 
the  office  until  March,  1896.  In  January  of  that  year  he  was  appointed  national  bank 
examiner,  in  which  capacity  he  served  for  four  years,  when  he  resigned  to  take  up  the 
duties  of  receiver  of  the  Citizens  National  Bank,  to  which  he  had  previously  been  appointed. 
He  closed  up  the  business  of  the  bank  in  1901  and  in  the  meantime  had  established  himself 
in  the  lire  insurance  business,  to  which  he  gave  his  entire  attention  after  severing  his 
connection  with  the  bank.  In  June,  1913,  he  was  again  appointed  national  bank  examiner 
and  has  since  continued  in  that  position,  making  a  most  creditable  record  by  the  able  and 
prompt  manner  in  which  he  meets  the  duties  and  responsibilities  devolving  upon  him. 

In  1886  Mr.  Anheier  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Kate  M.  Sehulte,  of  Minneapolis, 
Minnesota,  by  whom  lie  had  five  children,  three  of  whom  still  survive,  namely;  Harry  W., 
a  musician  residing  in  Fargo,  North  Dakota;  Carl  F.,  who  is  employed  in  his  father's  office; 
and  Clarence  M.,  twin  brother  of  Carl,  who  is  a  civil  engineer  of  Los  Angeles,  California. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Anheier  are  members  of  the  Catholic  church  and  Mr.  Anheier  is  identified 
with  the  Knights  of  Columbus  and  the  Ancient  Order  of  United  Workmen.  He  belongs  to 
the  Fargo  Commercial  Club,  which  he  aided  in  organizing,  and  from  the  time  of  its  inception 
until  his  appointment  as  bank  examiner  he  was  a  member  of  its  board  of  trustees.  He 
served  for  two  terms  as  a  member  of  the  city  council,  exercising  his  official  prerogatives  in 
support  of  many  plans  and  measures  for  the  general  good.  For  five  or  six  years  he  was  a 
member  of  the  special  assessment  committee  and  for  a  period  he  served  as  treasurer  of 
the  agricultural  college.  All  this  indicates  the  extent  and  breath  of  his  interests  and  shows 
that  his  activities  have  been  put  forth  along  lines  which  contribute  to  the  welfare  of  city 
and  state.  He  has  a  wide  and  favorable  acquaintance  in  Fargo  and  his  many  admirable 
traits  have  won  him  personal  popularity. 


HENRY  CORNELIUS  NELSON. 

Henry  Cornelius  Nelson,  a  resident  of  Crosby  now  filling  the  position  of  sheritl  of  Divide 
county  for  the  second  term,  was  born  near  Sturgeon  Bay,  in  Door  county,  Wisconsin, 
January  29,  1876,  a  son  of  Ole  and  Gertrude  (Larson)  Nelson.  The  father  was  also  a  native 
of  Wisconsin,  born  near  Manitowoc,  and  was  the  son  of  an  early  pioneer  settler  of  that 
state.  He  followed  the  occupation  of  farming  in  Door  county  for  some  time  and  in  1889 
removed  to  Minnesota,  settling  in  Polk  county,  where  he  carried  on  farming.  His  last 
days  were  spent  upon  a  farm  near  Detroit,  Becker  county,  ilinnesota,  where  he  passed  away 
in  1896.  His  wife,  who  was  born  in  Manitowoc  county,  Wisconsin,  was  there  reared,  educated 
and  married,  and  following  the  death  of  Mr.  Nelson  she  married  again  and  is  now  living 
near  Medicine   Hat   in  Alberta,   Canada. 

Henry  C.  Nelson  spent  his  youthful  days  in  Door  county  to  the  age  of  thirteen  years 
and  then  went  to  Polk  county,  Minnesota,  where  he  attended  the  common  schools,  later 
becoming  a  pupil  in  the  high  school  at  Minneapolis.  He  was  married  in  that  state  and 
afterward  took  up  his  abode  upon  a  farm  near  Detroit,  Minnesota,  where  he  carried  on 
general  agricultural  pursuits  until  the  spring  of  1902,  when  he  sold  that  property  and  went 
to  Williams  county,  now  Divide  county.  North  Dakota.  There  he  filed  on  a  homestead 
which  he  occupied  and  improved  until  1907,  when  he  rented  his  land  and  turned  his  attention 
to  the  implement  business  at  Noonan,  Divide  county.  He  managed  his  store  until  the 
fall  of  1910,  when  he  was  appointed  sheriff  upon  the  organization  of  Divide  county,  and 
in  the  fall  of  1914  he  was  elected  to  that  position  and  is  again  a  nominee  for  the  office. 
It  was  in  1914  that  he  removed  to  Crosby,  where  he  has  since  made  his  home,  and  in 
the  discharge  of  his  duties  he  is  prompt,  faithful  and  fearless,  making  an  excellent  record. 

In  Minneapolis,  on  the   12th  of  June,  1S9S,  Mr.  Nelson   was  married  to  Miss  Amanda 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  771 

Stroschein,  who  was  born  in  Yellow  Medicine  county,  near  Woodlake,  Minnesota,  where 
she  remained  until  sixteen  years  of  age  and  then  became  a  high  school  pupil  in  ilinueapolis. 
She  is  a  daughter  of  August  and  Amelia  Stroschein.  Her  father,  a  native  of  Germany,  came 
to  America  when  a  young  man  and  settled  in  Yellow  Medicine  county,  Minnesota,  where 
he  followed  farming  for  some  time  but  eventually  retired  to  Minneapolis,  where  he  now 
makes  his  home  with  his  wife,  who  is  a  native  of  Wabasha  county,  Minnesota.  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
Nelson  have  become  the  parents  of  four  children:  George,  Melvin,  Lyle  and  Lola.  The 
first  named  was  born  in  Becker  county,  Miiuiesota,  and  the  other  three  in  Divide  county. 

ilr.  Kelson  has  always  given  his  political  support  to  the  democratic  party.  He  organized 
the  fiist  township  in  the  county  and  was  chairman  of  its  board  of  supervisors  when  living 
on  the  farm.  He  has  also  served  as  a  member  of  the  school  board.  Fraternally  he  is  con- 
nected with  the  Elks  lodge  at  Minot  and  he  became  a  member  of  the  Y'eomeu  of  Rock 
Island,  Illinois,  and  a  charter  member  of  the  Modern  Woodmen  camp  at  Xoonan.  His 
religious  faith  is  that  of  the  Presbyterian  church  and  he  is  interested  in  everything  that 
pertains  to  the  material,  political,  intellectual  and  moral  progress  of  the  community,  in  the 
upbuilding  of  which  he  is  taking  a  most   prominent  and  helpful  part. 


RALPH  J.  LYNCH. 


Business  enterprises  in  Grand  Forks  find  a  worthy  representative  in  Ralph  J.  Lynch, 
who  is  president  of  the  Grand  Forks  Ice  &  Fuel  Company,  in  which  connection  he  ia 
building  up  a  business  of  large  and  substantial  proportions.  The  city  numbers  him  among 
Its  native  sons,  his  birth  having  there  occurred  July  19,  1892.  His  parents  were  John  and 
Katherine  (Agcn)  L^-nch,  the  former  a  native  of  Ohio  and  the  latter  of  Wisconsin.  The 
father  came  to  North  Dakota  in  1877,  settling  at  Grand  Forks  when  that  place  was  a  tiny 
hamlet.  He  engaged  in  the  livery  business  and  also  in  the  ice  business,  and  as  the  j'ears 
passed  by  his  trade  grew  and  developed.  He  worked  diligently,  and  his  application  and 
industry  brought  to  him  the  success  which  he  enjoyed.  He  died  in  Grand  Forks  in  1912  at 
the  age  of  sLxty-four  years,  but  his  widow  is  still  living  there  at  the  age  of  fifty-seven 
years.  They  were  parents  of  three  children,  the  two  daughters  being  Helen  Louise  and 
Josephine. 

The  only  son,  Ralph  J.  Lynch,  pursued  his  education  in  the  Grand  Forks  schools  until 
he  left  the  high  school  to  become  a  student  in  the  University  of  North  Dakota.  He  won 
the  Bachelor  of  Arts  degree  and  left  the  institution  when  a  junior  in  the  law  department. 
His  father  had  established  the  Grand  Forks  Ice  Company  in  1877,  and  after  his  death  Ralph 
J.  Lynch  carried  on  the  business  successfully.  In  February,  1916,  he  also  began  dealing 
in  fuel,  in  which  connection  he  has  built  up  a  trade  of  large  proportions.  He  is  now  presi- 
dent of  the  (Jrand  Forks  Ice  &  Fuel  Company  and  his  trade  is  substantial  and  gratifying. 

In  politics  Mr.  Lynch  is  a  democrat.  His  religious  faith  is  that  of  the  Roman  Catholic 
church,  and  he  belongs  also  to  the  Knights  of  Columbus.  He  likewise  has  membership 
with  the  Benevolent  Protective  Order  of  Elks  and  is  a  member  of  the  Sigma  Phi,  a  fra- 
ternit3'  of  the  University  of  North  Dakota.  His  entire  life  has  been  .spent  in  Grand 
Forks,  where  the  circle  of  his  friends  is  almost  coextensive  with  the  circle  of  his  acquaint- 
ance, and  in  the  various  relations  of  life  he  has  won  high  regard,  while  in  business  his 
advancement  lias  been  continuous. 


ERICK  M.  OLMSTAD. 


An  excellent  farm  of  two  hundred  and  forty  acres  situated  on  section  26,  Weiser  town- 
ship, is  the  propertv'  of  Eriek  M.  Olmstad  and  he  derives  therefrom  a  substantial  annual 
income  as  a  reward  for  the  care  and  labor  which  he  bestows  upon  the  fields.  A  native  of 
Norway,  he  was  born  August  10,  1S62,  and  is  a  son  of  Mons  and  Christina  Olmstad,  who 
were  also  natives  of  the  same  country,  in  which  they  remained  until  1874,  when  they  came 


772  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

with  their  family  to  the  new  world,  making  their  way  to  Minnesota,  where  they  resided 
until  1885.  In  that  year  they  arrived  in  North  Dakota,  settling  on  a  farm  in  Cass  county, 
where  their  remaining  days  were  passed.  They  had  a  family  of  eleven  children,  of  whom 
eight  still  survive. 

Erick  M.  Olmstad  was  a  little  lad  of  twelve  summers  when  he  came  with  his  parents 
to  the  United  States.  He  remained  at  home  and  assisted  his  father  in  the  operation  of  the 
farm  until  he  attained  his  majority.  He  then  removed  to  North  Dakota  and  took  up  the 
work  of  digging  wells,  which  he  has  now  followed  for  about  thirty  years,  putting  down  many 
wells  in  this  part  of  the  state.  As  his  financial  resources  increased  he  purchased  the  farm 
whereon  he  now  resides,  becoming  owner  of  two  hundred  and  forty  acres  on  section  26, 
Weiser  township.  With  characteristic  energy  he  began  its  development  and  improvment 
and  upon  it  has  placed  fine  buildings  which  furnish  ample  shelter  to  grain  and  stock.  He 
also  has  an  attractive  residence  there  and  his  land  is  divided  into  fields  of  convenient  size 
by  well  kept  fences.  The  latest  improved  machinery  facilitates  the  farm  work  and  there 
is  every  evidence  of  progressiveness  in  all  departments  of  the  farm. 

In  1900  Mr.  Olmstad  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Olina  Bondly,  a  native  of  Minne- 
sota and  a  daughter  of  Peter  and  Anna  Bondly,  who  were  natives  of  Norway  and  emigrated 
to  the  United  States  in  an  early  day.  They  settled  first  in  Minnesota  but  subsequently 
came  to  North  Dakota  and  here  the  father  is  still  living.  The  mother,  however,  has  passed 
away.  Mrs.  Olmstad  is  one  of  twelve  children  born  to  her  parents  and  by  her  marriage  has 
become  the  mother  of  nine  children,  namely:  Carl  M.,  Annetta  C,  Guy  A.,  Ella  I.,  Oliver 
J.,  Roy  M.,  Alice  R.,  Ernest  B.  and  Mabel  E. 

The  parents  are  members  of  the  Lutheran  church  and  are  consistent  Christian  people. 
Mr.  Olmstad  is  a  republican  in  his  political  views  but  has  never  been  an  office  seeker,  pre- 
ferring to  concentrate  his  energies  upon  his  business  affairs.  He  is  serving,  however,  as  a 
school  director  and  believes  in  having  good  schools  that  will  supply  the  young  with  practical 
educational  training.  From  a  humble  position  in  the  business  world'  Mr.  Olmstad  has 
worked  his  way  steadily  upward  and  he  deserves  much  credit  for  what  he  has  accomplished. 
His  work  has  been  carefully  directed  and  his  sound  judgment  and  business  ability  attest 
his  worth. 


CHARLES  WILLARD  HURD. 

Charles  Willard  Hurd  was  one  of  the  pioneer  bankers  of  Alexander  and  since  the 
organization  of  the  town  has  been  one  of  its  foremost  business  men.  He  was  born  in 
Spearsville,  Indiana,  August  7,  1880,  his  parents  being  James  W.  and  Lydia  (Way)  Hurd, 
now  residents  of  Bow  Island,  Alberta,  Canada.  Tlie  ancestry  of  the  family  is  traced  back 
to  John  Hurd,  who  settled  at  Stratford  as  early  as  1648  and  was  one  of  the  prominent 
men  of  his  town.  His  son,  John  Hurd,  was  married  December  16,  1662,  to  Anna  Judson 
and  became  one  of  the  first  settlers  of  Woodbury,  Connecticut,  where  he  built  a  grist  and 
sawmill  about  1681.  His  death  occurred  about  a  decade  later.  Of  his  six  children  Benjamin 
Hurd,  the  third  son,  died  in  1754.  He  had  nine  children,  of  whom  Benjamin,  the  second 
son,  died  in  1783.  His  family  numbered  thirteen  children,  the  ninth  being  Daniel  Hurd, 
who  was  born  October  24,  1723.  After  losing  his  first  wife,  Mrs.  Experience  Hurd,  he  was 
married  in  1766  to  Aner  Castle  and  his  third  wife  was  Dorcas  Sabage.  He  had  thirteen 
children  and  after  the  birth  of  his  ninth  child  he  removed  with  his  family  to  Sandgate, 
Vermont,  where  the  graves  of  himself  and  his  wife,  Dorcas,  are  to  be  seen.  The  fifth 
child  of  Daniel  Hurd,  Sr.,  was  Daniel  Hurd,  Jr.,  the  representative  of  the  family  in  the 
sixth  generation  in  direct  line  to  Charles  Willard  Hurd.  Daniel  Hurd,  Jr.,  married  Lucinda 
Hamilton  and  established  his  home  at  Tinmouth,  Vermont.  He  had  eleven  children,  including 
Lyman  Hurd,  who  was  born  at  Tinmouth,  Vermont,  and  died  in  Ohio.  He  married  Orra 
Willard,  by  whom  he  had  three  children,  and  his  second  wife  was  Nancy  Harkness,  by  whom 
he  had  one  son.  Charles  Willard  Hurd,  the  oldest  child  of  Lyman  and  Orra  (Willard) 
Hurd,  was  married  twice.  On  the  11th  of  April,  1844,  he  wedded  Mary  Ann  Casner  and  for 
his  second  wife  chose  Mary  Methemey.  He  had  three  children  and  the  only  child  of  the 
second  marriage  was  James  William  Hurd,  the  father  of  Charles  Willard  Hurd. 


CHARLES  W.  KURD 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  775 

.laiuos  Williara  Ilurd  was  born  and  reared  in  Ohio  and  on  leaving  that  state  removed 
to  Brown  county,  Indiana,  where  he  was  married.  He  followed  farming  near  Spearsville 
for  some  years  but  came  to  North  Dakota  in  18S7  and  took  up  a  homestead  near  Dawson, 
in  Kidder  county,  where  he  engaged  in  agiicultural  pursuits  until  1896.  In  that  year  he 
established  a  store  at  Leeds,  North  Dakota,  and  conducted  it  until  his  removal  to  Bow 
Island,  Alberta,  Canada,  in  1910.  In  the  last  named  place  he  is  also  engaged  in  general 
merchandising. 

Charles  W.  Ilurd  was  only  seven  years  of  age  when  the  family  settled  in  Kidder  county, 
Nortli  Dakota,  and  he  grew  to  manhood  upon  his  father's  ranch,  which  was  located  on  the 
boundary  line  between  Kidder  and  Wells  counties,  near  the  present  town  of  Hurdsfield.  His 
early  education  was  acquired  in  the  district  schools  near  his  home  and  he  later  attended 
the  high  school  in  Jamestown  for  a  year.  He  afterward  clerked  in  a  general  store  at  Leeds 
and  in  1901  he  filed  on  a  claim  twenty-five  miles  north  of  Minot,  on  which  he  proved  up 
in  the  spring  of  1903.  In  the  fall  of  the  latter  year  he  engaged  in  the  grain  business  in 
Bay,  Williams  county,  North  Dakota,  building  the  first  elevator  in  the  town,  and  there 
remained  until  the  spring  of   1905. 

On  the  15th  of  May,  1905,  Mr.  Hurd,  accompanied  by  H.  C.  Delaney,  removed  to 
Alexander,  when  the  town  site  was  first  laid  out,  and  before  any  buildings  were  erected 
they  selected  a  lot  on  which  to  build  a  bank.  They  organized  the  Alexander  State  Bank, 
which  was  the  first  state  bank  in  McKenzie  county,  and  erected  a  red  stone  bank  building, 
which  was  the  first  structure  erected  in  the  town.  This  was  opened  for  business  on  the  15th  of 
August,  1905,  with  Mr.  Hurd  as  assistant  cashier.  In  April,  1907,  he  was  elected  cashier 
of  the  bank  and  held  that  position  until  July  1,  1916,  when  he  resigned  and  purchased  an 
automobile  garage,  which  he  is  now  conducting.  This  does  not  represent  the  entire  scope 
of  his  activities,  however,  for  he  is  also  engaged  in  the  grain  business  and  at  tlie  same 
time  is  publishing  the  McKenzie  Chronicle. 

At  Ray,  North  Dakota,  on  the  6th  of  September,  1904,  Sir.  Hurd  was  united  in  marriage 
to  Miss  Jessie  Stevens  who  was  born  in  Plymouth,  Iowa,  but  was  reared  in  Crary,  North 
Dakota.  She  completed  her  education  at  the  Mayville  Normal  School  and  afterward  engaged 
in  teaching  in  Leeds  and  Ray.  Her  parents,  Horace  E.  and  .lennie  (Holden)  Stevens,  are 
also  natives  of  Iowa  and  early  settlers  of  Crary,  North  Dakota.  They  now  live  near  Epping, 
in  Williams  county,  where  Mr.  Stevens  follows  farming.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Hurd  have  four 
children:  Mildred  Jessie,  the  first  child  born  in  Alexander,  her  birth  occurring  October  20, 
1906;  Ethel  May,  born  September  14,  1908;  Horace  James,  July  8,  1912;  and  Edith  Jennette, 
November  5,   1914. 

The  republican  party  finds  in  Mr.  Hurd  a  stanch  supporter  of  its  principles  and  he 
has  served  as  chairman  of  the  village  board  of  Alexander  since  its  organization.  His  religious 
faith  is  that  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  church  to  which  he  belongs,  and  he  is  a  charter 
member  and  treasurer  of  Yellowstone  Lodge,  No.  110,  A.  F.  &  A.  M.,  of  Alexander,  and  is 
also  a  charter  member  of  the  Odd  Fellows  lodge  at  that  place.  He  has  borne  his  share  in 
the  development  and  upbuUding  of  the  town  and  as  one  of  its  representative  and  prominent 
citizens  he  is  certainly  deserving  of  mention  in  this  volume.  Many  of  Alexander's  prosperous 
men  owe  much  to  Mr.  Hurd  for  his  financial  help  to  them  individually.  He  has  sought  to 
further  in  every  way  the  growth  of  the  community  and  the  prosperity  of  his  fellow  townsmen 
and  in  all  that  he  does  has  been  actuated  by  a  most  admirable  and  commendable  public  spirit 
that  is  indeed  worthy  of  emulation. 


JAMES  L.  McRAE. 


James  L.  McRae,  a  pioneer  banker  of  Charbonneau.  now  cashier  of  the  Farmers  State 
Bank,  has  back  of  him  long  experience  in  the  banking  business,  so  that  he  is  well  iiualified 
to  direct  and  safeguard  the  interests  of  the  institution  of  which  he  is  now  an  official 
representative.  Moreover,  the  spirit  of  progress  actuates  him  in  all  that  he  does  and  has 
hecn  one  of  the  strong  elements  in  the  success  that  has  already  been  achieved.  Mr.  McRae 
was  born  at  Bothwell,  in  Ontario,  Canada,  July  20,  1882,  a  son  of  Alexander  and  Maggie 


776  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

(Anderson)  McRae.  The  father  was  born  in  Ontario,  Canada,  and  acquired  his  education  in 
the  schools  of  that  country,  wliere  lie  spent  many  years.  He  is  a  carpenter  by  trade  and 
he  and  his  wife  are  now  living  in  British  Columbia. 

James  L.  McRae  pursued  his  education  in  the  public  schools  of  Glencoe  and  of  London, 
Ontario,  and  after  completing  the  high  school  course  entered  the  Forest  City  Business 
College  at  London,  thus  preparing  and  qualifying  for  the  onerous  duties  of  an  active 
business  career.  In  1902  he  became  bookkeeper  and  teller  in  the  First  National  Bank  of 
Breekenridge,  Minnesota,  there  remaining  for  three  and  one-half  years,  and  in  1905  he 
accepted  the  position  of  assistant  cashier  in  the  First  National  Bank  of  Hampden,  North 
Dakota,  where  he  remained  until  July  1,  1912.  He  next  was  appointed  assistant  cashier  of 
the  Farmers  State  Bank  of  Munich,  North  Dakota,  and  in  1913  he  removed  to  Charbonneau, 
McKenzie  county,  which  town  was  just  being  established.  He  organized  the  Farmers  State 
Bank,  becoming  its  cashier,  and  has  since  occupied  that  position.  While  the  bank  building 
was  being  erected  another  business  building  was  also  in  course  of  construction,  these  being 
the  first  two  buildings  in  the  town.  The  bank  has  constituted  a  most  important  soirrce  of 
business  development  in  Charbonneau  and  the  surrounding  country  and  Mr.  McRae  has 
proven  himself  thoroughly  acquainted  with  every  phase  of  the  banking  business,  his  previous 
experience  and  training  well  qualifying  him  for  the  responsibilities  which  he  assumed  as 
the  directing  head  of  the  institution. 

On  the  22d  of  August,  1906,  at  Hampden,  North  Dakota,  Mr.  McRae  was  married  to 
Miss  Ida  Hanson,  who  was  born  and  educated  in  Milan,  Minnesota.  They  have  become 
parents  of  two  sons:  Courtney,  born  in  Hampden,  April  4,  1908;  and  Leonard,  born  in 
Hampden,  December  13,  1910.  The  parents  are  members  of  the  Presbyterian  church,  in  the 
work  of  which  Mrs.  McRae  takes  an  active  and  helpful  part.  Mr.  McRae  is  a  republican 
and  has  served  as  township  treasurer  and  as  school  treasurer  in  Cliarbon  township.  Frat- 
ernally he  is  connected  with  the  Masonic  lodge  at  Calvin  and  is  a  charter  member  of 
Charbonneau  Lodge,  I.  O.  0.  F.,  in  which  he  is  now  noble  grand.  He  became  a  member  of 
the  Knights  of  Pythias  in  Breekenridge,  Minnesota,  and  filled  the  office  of  master  at 
arms.  Both  he  and  his  wife  are  widely  and  favorably  known,  occupying  a  prominent 
position  in  the  social  circles  in  which  they  move,  and  he  is  a  dignified  and  popular  gentle- 
man who  as  a  pioneer  banker  of  the  town  has  contributed  in  substantial  measure  to  the 
upbuilding  and  development  of  his  district. 


T.  H.  BLTRKE. 


T.  H.  Burke,  states  attorney  of  Benson  county  and  a  resident  of  Minnewaukan,  was 
born  February  7,  1886,  in  North  Dakota,  a  son  of  John  H.  and  Elizabeth  (Boyle)  Burke, 
both  of  whom  were  natives  of  Ireland.  They  came  with  their  parents  to  the  United  States 
in  childhood  days  and  were  married  at  Fort  Dodge,  Iowa,  where  they  resided  until  1870, 
when  they  came  to  North  Dakota,  being  among  the  earliest  pioneer  settlers  of  the  state. 
The  work  of  development  and  progress  had  scarcely  been  begun  in  all  the  great  prairie  now 
comprised  within  the  two  states  of  North  and  South  Dakota.  There  were  only  eight  or  ten 
families  in  Fargo  at  that  time  and  the  most  far-sighted  could  not  have  dreamed  of  the 
rapid  growth  which  was  to  lead  to  the  present  change.  Mr.  Burke  homesteaded  one  hun- 
dred and  sixty  acres  of  land  adjoining  what  are  now  the  state  fair  grounds  on  the  north 
and  later  sold  that  property  for  si.xty-five  dollars  per  acre.  He  became  one  of  the  contrac- 
tors in  bridge  building  in  connection  with  the  construction  of  the  Union  Pacific  Railroad 
from  Fargo  to  Bismarck  and  subsequently  he  carried  on  farming  most  successfully  for  sev- 
eral years.  In  1894  he  removed  to  Sheldon  and  purchased  the  Sheldon  Enterprise,  which 
he  published  until  1905,  while  at  the  present  time  he  is  living  retired  in  Sheldon,  enjoying 
the  fruits  of  his  former  toil  in  a  rest  that  he  has  justly  won  and  richly  merits.  He  has  long 
been  recognized  as  an  influential  member  of  the  republican  party  in  North  Dakota.  He  has 
served  as  county  commissioner,  has  frequently  been  a  delegate  to  county  and  state  con- 
ventions and  his  opinions  carry  weight  in  party  councils. 

T.  H.  Burke  supplemented  his  early  educational  training  by  study  in  the  Valley  City 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  777 

Xormal  School  and  in  the  Xorth  Dakota  State  University.  In  the  latter  be  took  up  the 
study  of  law  and  there  won  his  professional  degree  as  a  graduate  of  the  class  of  1908. 
Following  the  completion  of  his  course  he  began  the  practice  of  his  profession  in  Minne- 
waukan,  where  he  has  since  remained,  and  in  1912  he  was  elected  to  the  office  of  states 
attorney  of  Benson  county.  Endorsement  of  his  first  term's  service  came  to  him  in  his 
reelection  to  that  office  in  1914  and  he  is  now  capably  serving  in  that  capacity,  making 
a  most  excellent  record  owing  to  his  conscientious  discharge  of  his  duties  and  his  com- 
prehensive understanding  of  legal  principles. 

In  1910  Jlr.  Burke  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Eifie  Lindstrom,  of  Jlinnew'aukan, 
who  was  graduated  from  the  North  Dakota  State  University  in  1910  with  the  Bachelor  of 
Arts  degree.  She  is  a  member  of  the  Episcopal  church  and  has  attractive  social  qualities.  Mr. 
Burke  belongs  to  Minnewaukan  Lodge,  F.  &  A.  M.,  and  exemplifies  in  his  life  the  beneficent 
spirit  of  the  craft.  The  major  part  of  his  attention,  however,  is  concentrated  upon  his  pro- 
fessional duties  and  he  is  now  accounted  one  of  the  leading  attorneys  of  Benson  county. 


WILLIAil  PKUETZ. 


Witli  the  financial  interests  of  Logan  county  William  Pruetz  is  prominently  identi- 
fied, being  cashier  of  the  First  State  Bank  of  Fredonia.  Like  many  of  the  leading  citizens 
of  Xorth  Dakota,  he  is  of  foreign  birth,  for  he  was  born  in  Germany,  April  2,  1864,  a  son 
of  Christ  and  Caroline  (Mueller)  Pruetz.  His  parents  came  to  the  new  world  in  1897, 
being  brought  to  this  country  by  their  son  Charles,  who  resides  in  Kulm,  North  Dakota. 
In  that  city  they  also  made  their  home  until  called  from  this  life,  the  father  dying  in  1907 
and  the  mother  in   1909. 

Reared  under  the  parental  roof,  William  Pruetz  acquired  his  education  in  the  middle 
schools  of  Germany  and  he  remained  in  his  native  land  until  1886,  when  he  crossed  the 
Atlantic  to  the  United  States,  landing  in  New  York  city  on  the  22d  of  April.  The  first 
three  years  in  America  were  spent  in  Henderson  and  St.  Paul,  Minnesota,  and  at  the 
end  of  that  time  he  went  to  the  Pacific  coast,  remaining  for  one  year  in  Tacoma  and  for 
four  years  and  a  half  in  Spokane,  Washington.  He  then  returned  to  Minnesota  and  for 
ten  years  lived  at  Buffalo  Lake,  but  in  1905  he  came  to  North  Dakota,  taking  up  his  resi- 
dence in  Kulm.  In  1907  when  the  First  State  Bank  of  Fredonia  was  established,  he 
removed  to  that  city  and  has  since  served  as  its  cashier.  Being  a  man  of  good  business 
and  financial  ability,  he  has  done  much  to  promote  the  interests  of  the  bank  and  it  is  now- 
one  of  the  most  reliable  financial  institutions  in  that  part  of  the  state. 

Mr.  Pruetz  is  independent  in  politics,  voting  for  the  men  whom  he  believes  best  cal- 
culated to  fill  the  offices  and  never  withholding  his  support  from  any  worthy  enterprise. 
For  some  years  he  has  served  on  the  school  board,  and  he  exerts  a  beneficial  influence  on 
everything   with   which  he   is   connected. 


HON.  MARTIN  ANDERSON. 


Hon.  Martin  Anderson,  deceased,  was  at  one  time  a  member  of  the  state  senate  of 
North  Dakota  and  was  prominent  in  business  circles  as  a  landowner  and  merchant  of 
Mountrail  county.  He  was  born  at  Skane,  Sweden,  .lanuary  31,  1855.  His  father  died 
during  the  infancy  of  his  son  Martin,  and  the  mother  passed  away  in  Sweden  in  1901. 
Having  spent  the  first  fourteen  years  of  his  life  in  that  country,  Martin  Anderson  then 
came  alone  to  America,  reaching  St.  Paul,  Minnesota,  in  the  summer  of  1869.  He  spent  a 
few  months  at  work  as  a  farm  hand  and  in  the  succeeding  winter  entered  a  grocery  store, 
where  lie  was  emploj'ed  for  four  years.  On  leaving  St.  Paul  he  removed  to  Ottertaii 
county,  Minnesota,  where  he  engaged  in  farming  until  the  spring  of  1882,  when  he  estab- 
lished an  implement  and  grain  business  at  Battle  Lake.  Minnesota,  there  remaining  for 
twenty  years  or  until   1902,  when  he  removed  to  Stanley,  North  Dakota,  and  erected  the 


778  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

first  building  of  the  town  aside  from  those  built  by  the  railroad  company.  He  then  opened 
a  hardware  and  general  merchandise  store  and  he  also  filed  on  a  quarter  section  of  land 
a  mile  from  Stanley,  which  farm  is  still  owned  and  cultivated  by  his  widow.  From  that 
time  forward  until  his  death  he  was  closely  associated  with  the  commercial  and  agricul- 
tural development  of  his  county  and  was  also  prominent  in  public  aliairs.  In  190-t  he  was 
appointed  postmaster  of  Stanley,  which  position  he  filled  fur  about  five  years  or  until  he 
became  a  candidate  for  the  office  of  state  senator  and  was  elected  a  member  of  the  forty- 
fourth  general  assembly,  representing  Ward  county  in  the  upper  house.  He  was  ever  a 
stalwart  republican  in  politics  and  his  opinions  carried  considerable  weight  in  the  local 
councils  of  his  party.  While  living  in  Minnesota  he  had  filled  several  township,  village 
and  school  offices. 

On  the  8th  of  November,  1890,  Mr.  Anderson  was  united  in  marriage  to  Hiss  Josephine 
Larson,  a  daughter  of  Solomon  and  Carrie  (Johnson)  Larson.  Her  father  was  born  in 
Sweden,  August  11,  1835,  and  her  mother  December  17,  1830.  It  was  in  1869  that  Solo- 
mon Larson  came  to  the  United  States,  settling  at  St.  Paul,  Minnesota,  where  he  remained 
for  a  number  of  years.  He  afterward  removed  to  Ottertail  county,  that  state,  and  there 
filed  on  a  homestead  which  was  about  eighty  miles  from  a  town.  For  many  years  he  suc- 
cessfully engaged  in  farming  and  in  1912  purchased  a  residence  in  Battle  Lake,  Minnesota, 
where  he  continued  to  make  his  home  until  his  death  on  the  16th  of  Januarj-,  1915.  His 
■widow  survives  and  yet  resides  at  Battle  Lake.  After  removing  to  Ottertail  county  the 
town  of  Amor  was  founded  near  his  farm  and  while  there  residing  he  served  as  a  member 
of  the  school  board.  As  his  financial  resources  increased  he  invested  largely  in  property 
and  became  the  owner  of  considerable  land  at  Battle  Lake,  Minnesota,  and  at  Stanley, 
North  Dakota,  his  holdings  embracing  altogether  about  eight  hundred  acres.  Mr.  and 
Mrs.  Anderson  became  the  parents  of  six  children:  L.  A.,  a  grain  buyer  at  Karlstad,  Minne- 
sota; Joseph  N.,  who  is  attending  the  University  of  Denver  as  a  dental  student;  Esther 
C,  who  is  a  graduate  of  the  Stanley  high  school;  Irene  M.,  a  high  school  pupil;  and  Ruth 
M.  and  Clifford  A.,  who  are  also  attending  school  in  Stanley. 

Mr.  Anderson  was  a  loyal  member  of  the  Elks  lodge,  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd 
Fellows  and  the  Ancient  Order  of  United  Workmen.  He  belonged  to  the  Swedish  Lutheran 
<"hurch  and  guided  his  life  according  to  its  teachings.  He  was  an  upright,  honorable  man, 
respected  by  all  who  knew  him,  for  througliout  his  entire  life  he  held  closely  to  high 
ideals  of  manhood  and  citizenship. 


JUDGE  EMIL  LEONHAKDY. 

It  was  on  the  39th  of  March,  1911,  that  the  earthly  record  of  Judge  Emil  Leonhardy 
closed,  rounding  out  an  earthly  life  of  sixty- four  years.  A  modern  philosopher  has  said: 
"Not  the  good  that  comes  to  us,  but  the  good  that  comes  to  the  world  through  us  is  the 
measure  of  our  successs,"  and  judged  by  this  standard  the  life  of  Emil  Leonhardy  was  a 
most  successful  one.  He  was  honored,  loved  and  respected  by  his  community  but  he  did 
not  seek  that  prominence  which  brings  the  individual  in  large  measure  before  the  public. 
He  made  his  neigliborhood  the  scene  of  his  activities  and  his  community  the  beneficiary  of 
his  bounty.  His  kindly  spirit  was  continually  reaching  out  in  helpfulness  toward  those 
around  him  and  without  invidious  distinction  it  may  be  said  that  no  man  in  Williams 
■county  was  better  loved  than  Judge  Leonhardy.  He  was  born  in  Switzerland,  August  16, 
1847,  and  in  the  schools  of  that  coinitry  pursued  his  education  while  spending  his  youthful 
■days  in  the  home  of  his  parents,  John  and  Anna  Leonhardy,  who  were  also  natives  of  the 
land  of  the  Alps  and  who  came  to  the  United  States  in  1861,  at  w'hich  time  they  settled 
at  Alma,  Wisconsin.  There  the  father  secured  land  and  developed  and  improved  a  farm, 
but  both  he  and  his  wife  have  now  passed  away. 

Judge  Leonhardy  was  a  youth  of  but  fourteen  years  at  the  time  of  the  emigration  to 
the  new  world.  He  early  became  familiar  with  farm  work  In  Wisconsin,  devoting  the 
summer  months  to  the  cultivation  of  the  fields,  while  in  the  winter  seasons  he  cngiged 
in  teaching.     It   was    in   the   year    1890   that   Judge   Leonhardy    arrived    in    North    Dakota, 


JUDGE  EMIL  LEONHARDY 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  781 

establisliing  his  home  at  Williston.  He  was  prominently  identified  with  the  interests  of 
his  city  in  many  ways.  Ho  entered  into  partnership  with  Brucgger  Brothers,  general 
merchants,  wlio  were  brotliers  of  Mrs.  Leonhardy.  When  Williams  county  was  organized 
he  was  elected  the  first  county  judge  and  continued  upon  the  bench  for  several  years,  his 
decisions  being  characterized  by  marked  fairness  and  impartiality.  He  possessed  an  innate 
sense  of  justice  and  right  that  governed  him  in  all  of  his  judicial  relations  and  he  continued 
to  serve  for  several  terms.  He  was  also  engaged  in  the  insurance  business,  having  the 
agency  at  Williston  for  several  companies.  In  fact  he  was  one  of  the  pioneers  in  the 
insurance  field  and  built  up  a  business  of  gratifying  proportions  in  that  connection. 

In  November,  1872,  Judge  Leonhardy  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Mary  Bruegger, 
of  Watertown,  Wisconsin,  a  daughter  of  Lucius  and  Margaret  (Briisch)  Bruegger,  of  whom 
mention  is  made  in  connection  with  the  sketch  of  George  Bruegger  which  appears  elsewhere 
in  this  work.  To  Judge  and  Mrs.  Leonhardy  were  born  the  following,  named:  Anna,  who 
became  the  wife  of  L.  D.  Bayrell,  of  Salt  Lake  aty,  Utah;  Paul  J.,  now  a  partner  in  the 
Bruegger  Brothers'  store;  Clara,  the  wife  of  D.  E.  Plier,  of  Alexander,  North  Dakota; 
Lydia,  at  home;  Evelyn,  the  wife  of  T.  V.  Settle,  of  Williston;  Arabella,  at  home;  George, 
connected  with  the  Bruegger  Brothers'  store;  Waldo,  serving  as  postmaster  of  Williston; 
and  Ralph,  deceased. 

The  family  circle  was  again  broken  by  the  hand  of  death  when  on  the  29th  of  March, 
1911,  Judge  Leonhardy  was  called  to  the  home  beyond.  He  had  been  a  devoted  and 
consistent  member  of  the  Reformed  Lutheran  church  and  he  was  also  an  exemplary 
representative  of  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows  and  the  Ancient  Order  of  United 
Workmen.  It  was  said  of  him  that  he  was  ever  "a  helper  of  men."  His  kindly  spirit 
prompted  him  to  assist  any  who  needed  aid.  Patiently  and  heroically  he  lived  a  life  that 
was  often  fraught  with  pain.  He  suft'ered  long  from  ill  health  but  bore  all  of  his 
sufferings  courageously  and  uncomplainingly. 

"Not  unto  all  is  God's  good  gift 
Of  simple  tenderness  allowed." 

But  Judge  Leonhardy  possessed  this  in  large  measure.  He  was  gentle  in  spirit  and  in 
every  possible  way  avoided  hurting  the  feelings  of  others.  He  loved  little  children  and 
naturally  they  were  attracted  to  him.  At  his  passing  there  were  many  who  mourned  the 
loss  of  one  whom  they  had  learned  to  rely  upon  as  a  friend.  It  was  said  of  him:  "The 
lonely  soul  went  instinctively  to  him  for  advice  and  comfort.  He  never  struck  a  discordant 
note.  Kindly,  affable  and  uncomplaining,  he  lived  a  life  of  usefulness  and  won  the  affection 
of  many  people."  His  acquaintance  was  perhaps  wider  than  that  of  any  other  man  in 
his  section  of  the  state.  He  had  the  faculty  of  remembering  all  whom  he  met  and  hia 
greeting  was  ever  cheery  and  warm.  Thus  it  was  that  the  circle  of  his  friends  was 
coextensive  with  the  circle  of  his  aciiuaintance  and  the  news  of  his  demise  carried  with 
it  a  sense  of  personal  bereavement  into  many  of  the  homes  of  Williams  county.  It  seems 
that  for  him  Shakespeare  might  have  penned  tlie  words: 

"His   life   was   gentle.     And   the   elements 
So  mixed  in  him  that  Nature  might  stand  up 
And  say  to  all  the  world  'this  was  a  man.' " 


WILLIAM  HENRY  STUTSMAN. 

William  Henry  Stutsman  is  a  well  known  attorney  practicing  at  the  Mandan  bar  and  is 
also  prominent  in  public  relations.  His  course  has  been  marked  by  steady  progress  and 
yet  he  has  never  concentrated  his  energies  upon  his  individual  interests  to  the  exclusion  of 
activity  in  public  affairs  where  is  demanded  the  loyalty  and  support  of  progressive  citizens. 
Mr.  Stutsman  is  a  native  of  Keokuk.  Iowa,  born  March  2,  1866,  his  parents  being  Dr. 
Samuel  H.  and  Elizabeth   (Mooney)   Stutsman,  both  of  whom  were  natives  of  Indiana.     The 

Vol.  111—3  6 


782  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

father  served  as  a  surgeon  of  the  Forty-fifth  Iowa  Volunteer  Infantry  during  the  early 
part  of  the  Civil  war  and  later  was  in  charge  of  various  hospitals,  thus  giving  valued  aid  to 
his  country  during  the  darkest  hour  in  her  history.  He  died  in  the  year  1891,  while  his 
wife,  surviving  for  seven  years,  passed  away  in  1898. 

In  the  schools  of  Burlington,  Iowa,  William  Henry  Stutsman  acquired  his  early  edu- 
cation and  afterward  entered  the  State  University  at  Iowa  City,  in  which  he  completed 
his  more  specifically  literary  course  with  the  class  of  1887.  He  then  continued  for  the 
study  of  law  and  was  graduated  from  the  la\v'  department  in  1889.  He  located  for  prac- 
tice in  Burlington,  where  he  remained  until  1898  and  then  removed  to  St.  Paul,  becoming 
a  member  of  the  editorial  staff  of  the  West  Publishing  Company,  with  which  he  was  thus 
associated  for  four  years.  In  1902  he  arrived  in  Mandan,  where  he  opened  a  law  office  and 
as  the  years  have  gone  by  his  practice  has  constantly  increased  in  volume  and  importance. 
To  an  understanding  of  uncommon  acuteness  and  vigor  he  added  a  thorough  and  conscientious 
preparatory  training.  His  fidelity  to  the  interests  of  his  clients  is  proverbial,  yet  he  never 
forgets  that  he  owes  a  higher  allegiance  to  the  majesty  of  the  law.  His  diligence  and 
energy  in  the  preparation  of  his  cases,  as  well  as  the  earnestness,  tenacity  and  courage  with 
which  he  defends  the  right,  as  he  understands  it,  challenges  the  highest  admiration  of  his 
associates.  He  has  also  extended  his  efforts  into  financial  fields  and  is  now  vice  president 
of  the  Merchants  National  Bank. 

On  the  16th  of  September,  1891,  in  Iowa  City,  Iowa,  Mr.  Stutsman  was  united  in 
marriage  to  Miss  Ada  Sharpless,  by  whom  he  has  three  children,  namely:  Charlotte,  Jean 
and  William.  Fraternally  he  is  identified  with  the  Benevolent  Protective  Order  of  Elks, 
while  his  religious  faith  is  that  of  the  Presbyterian  church.  His  political  indorsement  is 
given  to  the  republican  party  and  as  a  candidate  on  its  ticket  he  was  elected  in  1909  to  the 
office  of  railroad  commissioner,  was  chosen  president  of  the  commission  and  was  reelected 
to  the  position  for  three  terms.  Over  the  record  of  his  public  career  and  private  life  there 
falls  no  shadow  of  wrong,  for  he  has  ever  been  most  loyal  to  the  ties  of  friendship  and 
citizenship  and  his  record  well  deserves  a  place  in  the  annals  of  his  adopted  state. 


HON.  FRED  MAEX. 


Fred  Marx,  of  Fredonia,  is  one  of  the  foremost  citizens  of  Logan  county  and  is  prom- 
inently identified  with  the  business  interests  and  public  affairs  of  that  section  of  the  state, 
now  representing  his  district  in  the  legislature.  He  was  born  in  the  neighboring  state  of 
Minnesota,  his  birth  occurring  in  Wabasha,  June  21,  1863.  His  parents,  Matthias  and 
Margaret  (Thies)  Marx,  were  born,  reared  and  married  in  Luxemburg  and  came  to  the 
United  States  in  1860,  locating  in  Wabasha  county,  Minnesota,  where  the  father  purchased 
the  relinquishment  on  a  homestead.  He  resided  upon  that  place  until  1908,  successfully  en- 
gaged in  farming,  and  then  retired,  since  which  time  he  has  made  his  home  in  the  city  of 
Wabasha. 

During  his  boyhood  and  youth  Fred  Marx  pursued  his  studies  in  the  district  school 
near  his  home  and  aided  his  father  in  the  operation  of  the  farm.  After  leaving  school  he 
devoted  his  entire  attention  to  agricultural  pursuits  and  gave  his  father  the  benefit  of  his 
services  up  to  his  twenty-sixth  year,  although  he  became  a  wage  earner  on  attaining  his 
majority.  During  the  winter  months  he  also  bought  and  sold  grain  and  stock,  which  he 
shipped  to  the  city  markets.  Subsequently  he  engaged  in  the  butcher  business  in  Wabasha, 
Minnesota,  and  was  prominently  identified  with  the  interests  of  that  city  for  a  number 
of  years. 

It  was  in  1902  that  Mr.  Marx  came  west  and  located  in  Fredonia,  North  Dakota,  where 
for  the  following  eight  years  he  was  engaged  in  the  grain  business.  He  has  bought  and 
sold  land  for  the  past  six  years  and  is  today  quite  extensively  engaged  in  the  real  estate 
and  farm  loan  business.  He  is  the  owner  of  three  hundred  and  sixty  acres  of  good  land 
in  Logan  county  and  a  butcher  shop  in  Fredonia.  Although  his  meat  market  is  conducted  by 
hired  help  he  oversees  the  business  and  in  all  his  operations  he  is  meeting  with  most  ex- 
cellent success. 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  783 

111  I'JOO  Mr.  Marx  was  united  in  marriage  to  Catherine  Bieber,  of  Lake  Benton,  Minnesota, 
who  died  in  1900,  and  two  years  later  he  married  Elizabeth  Kuster.  To  theiu  has  been 
born  one  child,  Agatha,  and  by  hor  former  marriage  Mrs.  Marx  has  a  daughter,  Mary 
Margaret. 

The  democratic  party  finds  in  Mr.  Marx  a  stanch  supporter  of  its  principles  and  he 
has  taken  a  very  active  and  inlluential  part  in  public  affairs.  His  fellow  citizens,  recognizing 
liis  ability,  elected  him  to  represent  his  district  in  the  state  legislature  in  1915,  and  he  has 
proved  an  efficient  member  of  that  body.  In  religious  faith  he  is  a  Catholic,  and  he  is  a 
member  of  St.  Joseph's  Society  and  the  Catholic  Order  of  Foresters.  He  is  wide-awake, 
energetic  business  man  and  a  citizen  of  whom  any  community  might  be  justly  proud. 


ANDREW  THOMPSON. 


Andrew  Thompson,  now  living  retired  in  Kensal,  was  the  pioneer  tow  manufacturer  of 
North  Dakota,  building  the  first  mill  of  the  kind  in  the  state  in  1900  and  thus  instituting 
an  industry  which  has  become  an  important  contributor  to  business  growth  and  prosperity. 
He  was  born  in  Belfast,  Ireland,  in  1844  and  has  therefore  now  passed  the  seventy-second 
milestone  on  life's  journey.  His  parents  were  Andrew  and  Mary  L.  (Penny)  Thompson,  also 
natives  of  the  Emerald  isle,  and  the  father,  who  was  a  flax  dresser  by  trade,  worked  along 
that  line  in  Ireland  until  1873,  when  he  emigiated  to  the  new  world,  accompanied  by  his 
family.  He  settled  at  Manchester,  New  Hampshire,  and  there  continued  to  work  at  his 
trade  until  his  death.    His  wife  passed  away  in  1878  but  he  survived  until  1909. 

Andrew  Thompson,  the  second  in  order  of  birth  in  their  family  of  twelve  children,  was 
educated  in  Ireland  and  there  learned  the  trade  of  flax  dressing  in  the  mills  of  Belfast  under 
the  supervision  of  his  father.  He  continued  a  resident  of  the  Emerald  isle  until  about 
tucntv  two  years  of  age.  when  he  came  to  the  United  States  and  secured  a  situation  in  a 
mill  at  Stark,  New  Hampshire,  where  he  remained  for  a  period  of  five  years.  In  1878  he 
removed  to  Greenville,  Ohio,  where  he  established  a  tow  mill,  continuing  business  there 
for  nine  years,  when  he  removed  to  Winchester,  Indiana.  At  the  latter  point  he  also  estab- 
lished a  tow  mill  and  conducted  the  business  for  four  years,  after  which  he  built  and 
operated  a  mill  at  PauUina,  Iowa,  where  he  continued  for  six  years.  His  next  place  of 
residence  was  at  Buffalo  Center,  Iowa,  where  he  also  built  a  tow  mill,  carrying  on  business 
there  for  six  years,  when  he  removed  his  machinery  to  Courtenay,  North  Dakota,  and  built 
tlie  first  tow  mill  in  this  state.  A  short  time  afterward  he  built  the  tow  mill  which  he  now 
owns  at  Kensal  and  for  a  period  he  operated  both  plants,  but  after  ten  years  sold  his 
Courtenay  mill  and  concentrated  all  of  his  efforts  upon  the  management  and  development 
of  his  business  at  Kensal.  He  has  been  successful  from  the  start.  His  market  is  confined 
mostly  to  the  large  eastern  upholstering  concerns.  His  is  one  of  the  important  productive 
industries  of  the  southeastern  part  of  the  state  and  the  business  is  being  gradually  developed 
to  include  the  manufacture  of  paper  articles  and  also  the  manufacture  of  a  substitute  for 
leather.  Many  new  uses  are  being  found  for  flax  tow  and  the  business  at  Kensal  is  today 
enjoying  its  most  prosperous  year,  the  trade  having  steadily  increased.  Mr.  Thompson  is 
regarded  as  one  of  the  best  flax  tow  manufacturers  in  the  United  States  as  well  as  one 
of  the  oldest  and  he  deserves  much  credit  for  introducing  this  industry  into  North  Dakota. 

In  1873  occurred  the  marriage  of  Mr.  Thompson  and  Miss  Sarah  Courtenay,  a  native  of 
Belfast,  Ireland,  born  in  1844.  In  1873  she  came  to  the  United  States  in  company  with  her 
mother,  who  is  now  deceased.  To  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Thompson  have  been  born  ten  children: 
John,  born  in  1875;  Sarah,  who  has  passed  away;  Mary;  Clara;  Maggie,  also  deceased;  George; 
Gladys,  who  is  acting  as  postmistress  of  Kensal;  Andrew;  Agnes;  and  Cliarley,  deceased. 

Politically  Mr.  Thompson  is  a  republican  and  fraternally  he  is  connected  with  the 
Masons  and  the  Odd  Fellows,  his  identification  with  the  latter  organization  covering  a 
perioil  of  forty-seven  years,  during  which  time  he  has  passed  through  all  the  chairs  of  the 
local  lodge.  He  was  reared  in  the  Presbyterian  faith  but  attends  the  Methodist  church 
in  Kensal.  His  has  been  a  most  active  and  useful  life,  fraught  with  good  results  and 
prompted  by  honorable  and  worthy   ambitions  and  purposes.     One  element  of  his  success 


784  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

is  undoubtedly  the  fact  that  he  has  always  continued  in  the  line  of  business  in  which  he 
embarked  as  a  young  tradesman,  thoroughly  mastering  every  phase  of  the  work  and  keeping 
in  touch  with  the  latest  improvements  in  the  processes  of  manufacture.  His  life  of  continu- 
ous activity  has  been  accorded  due  recognition  in  success  and  by  perseverance,  determination 
and  honorable  effort  he  has  overcome  the  obstacles  which  have  barred  his  path  and  has 
reached  the  goal  of  prosperity. 


HON.  JOHN  SATTERLUND. 


No  man  in  the  western  part  of  the  state  has  played  a  more  prominent  part  in  the 
political  and  economical  development  of  North  Dakota  than  the  Hon.  John  Satterlund, 
ex-receiver  of  the  United  States  land  office  at  Bismarck,  which  position  he  held  for  twelve 
years  and  a  half,  retiring  in  1911.  He  is  a  resident  of  Washburn  and  owner  and  publisher 
of  the  Washburn  Leader  and  Garrison  Times.  He  was  formerly  a  member  of  the  legisla- 
ture and  is  one  of  the  leading  republicans  of  the  state.  In  the  Missouri  slope  country, 
where  Mr.  Satterlund's  activities  have  been  generally  exercised,  he  is  a  man  of  standing 
and  influence,  and  his  domination  in  the  political  field  has  been  so  complete  that  he  is 
affectionately  called  "King  John."  He  is  one  of  those  astute  popular  leaders  who  live  very 
close  to  the  people  and  he  probably  knows  more  people  by  name  than  any  of  his  contem- 
poraries in  his  section  of  the  state  and  is  by  the  same  token  more  familiar  with  the  inside 
political  history  of  his  party  than  any  man  who  has  had  to  do  with  the  making  of  the 
history.  His  genius  does  not  lie  in  politics  alone  for  he  was  the  confidential  advisor 
of  Ex-United  States  Senator  W.  D.  Washburn  in  the  construction  of  the  Bismarck,  Wash- 
burn &  Great  Falls  Railroad,  now  the  Soo  line,  through  the  Missouri  valley,  was  a  director 
of  the  company  and  acquired  the  right  of  way  for  the  road,  caused  it  to  be  built  into 
Bismarck  and  contributed  very  largely  to  the  opening  up  of  the  rich  territory  that  was 
almost  wholly  unproductive  before  the  advent  of  the  railroad.  His  energy  and  achieve- 
ments entitle  Mr.  Satterlund  to  the  highest  consideration  at  the  hands  of  his  fellow  citizens 
and  he  should  be  thought  well  of  by  posterity. 

A  native  of  Sweden,  he  was  born  in  Carlstad,  May  3,  1851,  a  son  of  Erick  and  Mary 
Satterlund,  who  came  to  the  United  States  and  settled  in  Traverse  county,  Minnesota,  in 
1869.  He  had  been  given  a  good  education  in  the  land  of  liis  birth  and  had  in  him  the 
elements  needful  for  the  pioneering  of  a  new  country.  To  this  he  turned  his  attention 
when  twenty-two  3'ears  of  age,  when  he  left  Minnesota  and  made  his  way  into  the  Missouri 
river  valley  ahead  of  the  railroad  engineering  interests  at  the  Canadian  head  of  the  Great 
Lakes.  Mr.  Satterlund  left  Bismarck  and  went  to  Port  Arthur.  There  he  developed  con- 
structive ability  and  engaged  in  the  building  of  the  railroad  between  Port  Arthur  and  Fort 
William.  He  made  money  fast  and  when  he  returned  to  Bismarck  in  1878,  after  four 
years  spent  in  Canada,  lie  was  a  man  of  substance,  unlike  most  of  those  who  came  early 
into  the  territory.  He  purchased  a  large  tract  of  land  in  Burleigh  county  and  engaged  in 
farming  and  stock  raising,  being  a  pioneer  in  that  branch  of  industry  in  a  large  way. 

In  1883  Mr.  Satterlund  came  to  the  realization  of  the  importance  of  the  resources  of 
the  country  which  was  erected  into  McLean  county  a  year  later  and,  going  to  Washburn, 
he  laid  out  the  townsite  and  proceeded  to  develop  the  town  and  county.  He  started  and 
carried  through  the  movement  for  the  organization  of  McLean  county  and  was  appointed 
the  first  sheriff  of  the  new  county,  to  which  office  he  was  reelected  in  1884.  He  had  been 
county  commissioner  in  Burleigh  county  and  from  1883  he  was  for  four  years  a  deputy 
United  States  marshal.  In  1890  he  was  elected  to  the  legislature  and  reelected  two  years 
later.  As  a  natural  political  leader  Mr.  Satterlund  found  his  strength  rather  in  the 
election  of  other  men  to  office  than  holding  office  himself  and  he  was  for  some  years 
before  his  election  to  the  legislature  an  important  factor  in  sliapnig  the  policies  and  suc- 
cesses of  the  republican  party.  His  political  genius  has  been  proven  not  only  in  his  local 
successes  but  in  the  larger  affairs  involving  the  state's  representation  in  the  United  States 
congress.  So  effective  has  been  his  influence  with  the  representatives  of  his  party  that 
he  has  been  accorded  first  honors  in  many  a  hard  fouglit  battle  tor  the  election  of  a  United 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  785 

states  senator.  He  declined  political  iircferniunt  for  himself  more  than  once,  deliberately 
giving  away  the  United  States  niarsluilship  upon  one  occasion.  In  1S9S  he  accepted  the 
receivership  of  the  Bismarck  land  office,  which  position  he  held  until  1911.  As  publisher 
of  the  Washburn  Leader,  which  is  edited  by  Jlr.  Satterlund's  gifted  daughter,  Miss  Lulu, 
he  exercises  a  wide  influence  throughout  the  state  and  continued  until  his  retirement  to 
maintain  the  prominence  in  his  party  which  was  officially  and  regularly  manifested  by  his 
election  to  all  county  and  state  conventions,  of  which  he  did  not  miss  one  while  active  in 
politics  and  since  North  Dakota  was  a  state.  A  congenial  companion  with  a  great  fund 
of  anecdotes  concerning  men  and  affairs  with  which  he  had  to  do,  Mr.  Satterlund  is  very 
popular   personally. 

In  1877  he  was  married  at  Duluth,  Minnesota,  to  iliss  Charlotte  Peterson,  and  they 
liavc  four  children:  Hilda,  Lulu,  Florence  and  Floyd.  Mr.  Satterlund  is  now  practically 
living  retired  in  Washburn,  surrounded  by  his  family  and  many  friends.  He  has  been 
prominently  identified  with  many  enterprises  which  have  aided  in  the  development  of 
-McLean  county  and  is  still  connected  with  a  number  of  these.  In  1883  he  began  the 
publication  of  the  Washburn  Leader,  which  was  the  first  newspaper  of  the  county  and  is 
still  in  successful  operation,  having  a  circulation  of  nine  hundred.  He  is  interested  in 
farm  lands,  both  from  the  farming  standpoint  and  speculation;  is  a  director  of  the  First 
National  Bank  of  Washburn;  and  is  the  owner  of  coal  mines  located  five  miles  northwest 
of  the  city,  which  are  proving  a  great  success.  Fraternally  he  is  a  Knight  Templar  Mason, 
belonging  to  the  commandcry  at  Bismarck.  It  will  thus  be  seen  that  he  is  today  one  of 
the  most  prominent  men  of  his  section  of  the  state  and  the  part  that  he  has  taken  in  its 
upbuilding  and  development  can  hardly  be  appreciated. 


CHARLES  W.  WALTERS. 


Farming  interests  of  Cass  county  find  a  worthy  representative  in  Charles  W.  Walters, 
who  is  concentrating  his  energies  upon  the  further  development  and  improvement  of  his 
place,  his  efforts  being  attended  with  good  results.  He  has  one  of  the  fine  farms  in  the 
Red  River  valley,  its  neat  and  thrifty  appearance  bearing  evidence  of  the  care  and  culti- 
vation of  a  practical  and  progressive  owner.  Mr.  Walters  is  a  native  of  Illinois.  He  was 
born  July  17,  1859,  of  the  marriage  of  Charles  W.  and  Carolina  (Haas)  Walters,  both  of 
whom  were  born  in  Germany,  whence  they  came  to  America  in  1852,  establishing  their 
home  in  Illinois,  where  they  resided  for  twenty-two  years.  They  became  residents  of  North 
Dakota  in  1874  and  took  up  a  homestead  in  Noble  township,  Cass  county,  where  their 
remaining  daj-s  were  spent.  Of  their  family  of  five  children  four  reached  adult  age.  Their 
first  home  was  a  little  log  cabin,  with  board  roof  and  floor  and  from  the  door  hung  the 
latch  string,  allowing  any  one  to  enter,  for  the  spirit  of  old  time  hospitality  there  reigned 
supreme.  After  several  years  this  little  cabin  was  replaced  by  a  more  modern  and  commo- 
dious residence,  for  success  attended  the  efforts  of  the  family  as  the  years  went  on. 

Charles  W.  Walters  was  a  jouth  of  fifteen  years  when  the  family  left  Illinois  and 
came  to  this  state  and  upon  the  home  farm  he  remained  until  he  reached  the  age  of  thirty. 
He  was  then  married  to  Miss  Anna  Paulina  Grob,  who  was  born  in  Switzerland,  a  daughter 
of  Henry  and  Angelina  (Sprecher)  Grob.  At  an  early  day  the  parents  emigrated  to  the 
new  world  and  located  in  Cass  county.  Later  they  took  up  their  abode  in  Jamestown, 
where  the  mother  passed  away.  Subsequently  the  father  went  to  Idaho  and  still  later 
took  up  his  abode  in  California,  his  death  occurring  in  the  latter  state.  Following  his 
marriage  Mr.  Walters  devoted  considerable  time  to  steamboating  on  the  Red  River  between 
Fargo  and  Winnipeg,  being  employed  as  an  engineer  for  thirteen  seasons.  Later  he  pur- 
chased the  farm  upon  which  he  now  resides,  having  an  excellent  tract  of  land  of  two  liim- 
dred  and  thirty-eight  acres  on  section  11,  Noble  township.  Here  he  has  lived  continuously 
since,  save  for  a  period  of  three  years  which  the  family  spent  in  Montana,  Idaho  and 
Washington,  much  of  the  time  being  passed  on  a  fruit  farm  at  Dalton,  Idaho.  On  the 
expiration  of  that  period  they  retunied  to  North  Dakota,  satisfied  that  there  were  no 
better  opportunities   to   be   secured   anywhere   than   in   Cass   county.     Mr.   Walters   expects 


786  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

to  spend  his  remaining  days  here  and  he  is  concentrating  his  eilorts  upon  the  farm,  which 
is  a  valuable  property  well  equipped  with  modern  improvements.  He  owned  the  first  steam 
thresher  in  the  northern  part  of  the  county  and  he  has  secured  other  highly  improved 
agricultural  machinery  and  implements  to  facilitate  the  work  of  the  fields.  He  has  raised 
sixty-two  bushels  of  wheat  to  the  acre  and  has  demonstrated  the  productiveness  of  the 
soil  in  this   part  of  the  state. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Walters  have  become  parents  of  six  children,  Wesley  W.,  Margery  M., 
Charles  -A.,  Angeline  C,  Lawrence  0.  and  George  L.,  all  at  home.  In  his  political  views 
Mr.  Walters  is  an  earnest  democrat  and  has  served  as  a  member  of  the  town  board  of 
supervisors  and  also  as  justice  of  the  peace.  He  has  likewise  been  a  member  of  the  school 
board  and  his  cooperation  can  always  be  counted  upon  to  further  any  progressive  measure 
for  the  benefit  and  upbuilding  of  the  community  in  which  he  now  makes  his  home.  Wher- 
ever he  is  known  his  worth  is  recognized,  for  he  is  an  active  and  progressive  business  man, 
determined  and  energetic  in  whatever  he  undertakes  and  carrying  forward  to  successful 
completion   well   defined  plans   and   purposes. 


GEORGE  SATTLER. 


George  Sattler,  a  grain  dealer  and  owner  of  an  elevator  at  McClusky,  was  born  in 
Russia  in  1879,  a  son  of  Henry  and  Magdalina  Sattler,  who  were  also  natives  of  that 
country.  The  father  followed  the  occupation  of  farming  until  his  death,  which  occurred 
in  1897,  while  the  mother  passed  away  in  1903.     Their  entire  lives  were  spent  in  Russia. 

George  Sattler  is  the  youngest  of  five  children,  all  of  whom  are  yet  living,  and  two  of 
his  sisters  have  also  emigrated  to  the  United  States.  In  the  schools  of  his  antive  country 
George  Sattler  pursued  his  education  and  remained  on  his  father's  farm  until  1898,  when  he 
came  to  the  United  States  and  made  his  way  to  South  Dakota,  where  he  remained  for  a 
year,  during  which  period  he  was  employed  as  a  farm  hand.  In  1899  he  arrived  in  North 
Dakota,  settling  at  Anamoose,  and  during  the  following  year  he  was  employed  at  farm 
labor.  He  also  filed  on  a  homestead  situated  near  Anamoose,  Korth  Dakota,  proved  up  on 
the  place  inside  of  fourteen  months  and  afterward  sold  that  property,  subsequent  to  which 
time  he  bought  a  half  section  located  just  south  of  McClusky  on  which  he  carried  on 
general  agricultural  pursuits  for  a  period  of  two  j'ears.  In  1904  he  took  up  his  abode  in 
McClusky.  His  farm  was  situated  two  miles  east  of  the  town  and  he  was  the  first  man 
to  establish  his  home  in  McClusky  and  his  son  Emil  was  the  first  child  born  in  the  town. 
Mr.  Sattler  operated  a  dray  line  for  a  period  of  two  months  and  then  embarked  in  the 
implement  business,  in  which  he  continued  actively  until  1915.  In  the  meantime  he  became 
one  of  the  members  of  the  company  that  built  an  elevator  which  was  situated  away  from 
the  railroad.  This  they  operated  for  eight  years  and  at  the  end  of  that  time  Mr.  Sattler 
purchased  the  elevator  which  was  formerly  owned  by  Mr.  IMcClusky.  He  has  since  been 
actively  engaged  in  the  grain  trade  and  his  business  constitutes  an  excellent  market  for 
the  grain  raisers  of  the  district.  He  keeps  in  close  touch  with  conditions  relative  to  the 
business  and  his  success  is  the  direct  result  of  careful  and  able  management,  of  keen  dis- 
crimination and  marked  enterprise.  Before  becoming  interested  in  the  elevator  he  was  one 
of  a  company  that  operated  under  the  name  of  Sattler,  Winter  &  Company  but  which  passed 
out  of  existence  in  1915.  In  that  year  Mr.  Sattler  sold  out  his  implement  business  and 
purchased  the  controlling  interest  in  the  old  McClusky  &  Son  elevator,  which  in  1915 
handled  two  hundred  and  eleven  thousand  bushels  of  wheat,  while  his  business  has  averaged 
ninety  thousand  bushels  annually.  He  is  one  of  the  foremost  grain  merchants  of  his  part 
of  the  state,  building  up  and  controlling  a  business  of  large  and  profitable  proportions. 
He  is  also  interested  in  general  farming  and  has  a  tract  of  land  located  near  McClusky  and 
also  another  farm  near  Regan,  North  Dakota.  His  possessions  aggregate  altogether  about 
five  hundred  acres  under  cultivation.  His  business  affairs  are  most  carefully  and  wisely 
managed  and  his  success  is  the  direct  and  merited  result  of  earnest,  persistent  effort. 

In  1901  Mr.  Sattler  was  joined  in  wedlock  to  Miss  Mary  Schafer,  a  native  of  South 
Dakota  and  a  daughter  of  Henry  and  Margaret  Schafer.     The  father  passed  away  in  1S98, 


MR.  AM)  MRS.  GE0R(;E  S.VTTLER 


PU. 


AS  r  C  f^    LHStl  \SB 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  789 

but  the  mother  still  survives.     Mrs.  Sattler  was  reared  in  Oregon  and  by  her  marriage  has 
become  the  mother  of  four  children,  namely:   Henry,  Emil,  Kno  and  Raymond. 

Air.  Sattler  is  a  member  of  the  Mennonite  Brethren  church  of  McClusky  and  has  held 
oflice  therein.  Politically  he  is  a  republican.  At  the  present  time  he  is  serving  as  school 
treasurer  and  has  occupied  the  position  for  six  years.  His  interest  in  everything  relating 
to  the  welfare  of  the  community  is  deep  and  sincere  and  his  cooperation  is  given  to  many 
plans  which  are  working  effectively  for  the  benefit  of  town  and  county. 


PETER  REGAN. 


Peter  Regan,  a  farmer  living  at  Webster,  Ramsey  county,  was  born  in  Ireland  in 
March,  1839,  and  has  therefore  almost  reached  the  seventy-eightli  milestone  on  life's 
journey.  He  is  a  son  of  Dan  and  Mary  Regan,  both  of  whom  have  long  since  passed  away. 
In  their  family  were  eight  sons  and  live  daughters.  t 

The  schools  of  his  native  country  afforded  Peter  Regan  his  educational  opportunities 
save  for  the  lessons  which  he  has  learned  in  the  school  of  experience.  He  left  home  at  the 
age  of  seventeen  years  and  crossed  the  Atlantic  to  Canada,  after  which  he  came  to  the 
United  States  at  the  time  of  the  Civil  war.  He  made  liis  way  to  the  western  frontier, 
going  to  Grand  Forks,  North  Dakota,  where  he  remained  until  four  years  after  the  war, 
when  he  removed  to  Ramsey  county,  where  land  had  been  taken  up  by  his  son,  Daniel 
Regan.  The  family  of  six  then  broke  the  sod  and  developed  the  fields  and  adding  to  their 
possessions  from  time  to  time,  they  now  own  and  control  about  five  thousand  acres.  They 
have  been  prominently,  actively  and  successfully  connected  with  agricultural  interests  and 
their  close  application  and  unremitting  energy  have  won  a  very  creditable  measure  of 
prosperity. 

Peter  Regan  was  married  at  the  age  of  seventeen  years  to  Miss  Honora  Hern  and 
to  them  have  been  born  three  sons,  Daniel,  John  and  Edward,  who  are  yet  living,  but  the 
daughters  have  passed  away.  The  religious  faith  of  the  family  is  that  of  the  Catholic 
church  and  Mr.  Regan  belongs  to  the  Knights  of  Columbus,  his  membership  being  in 
Devils  Lake  Council.  In  politics  he  is  a  republican  and  has  done  active  service  on  the 
school  board.  For  si.x  years  he  was  county  commissioner  and  he  exercised  his  official 
prerogatives  in  support  of  various  plans  and  measures  for  the  general  good.  He  is  inter- 
ested in  the  state  and  its  development  and  is  largely  familiar  with  its  history.  Indeed 
theie  are  few  within  its  borders  who  can  claim  a  longer  residence  here.  Through  six 
decades  he  has  made  his  home  in  North  Dakota  and  has  witnessed  every  phase  of  its  trans- 
formation as  it  has  been  converted  from  a  wild,  unsettled  and  unbroken  prairie  district 
into  rich  farms,  in  the  midst  of  which  have  sprung  up  enterprising  villages  that  have 
developed  into  fine  towns  and  cities.  His  reminiscences  of  the  early  days  are  most  inter- 
esting and  his  memory  forms  a  connecting  link  between  the  primitive  past  and  the  pro- 
gressive present. 


JOSEPH  0.  BLOUIN. 


.Joseph  0.  Blouin,  living  in  De  Lamere,  is  actively  identified  with  agricultural  interests 
in  Sargent  county,  his  time  and  attention  being  occupied  with  the  care  and  cultivation  ok 
a  good  farm.  He  was  born  in  Quebec,  Canada,  May  15,  1859,  and  is  a  son  of  Macgloure 
Blouin,  whose  birth  occurred  in  Canada  on  the  5th  of  May,  1838,  and  who  devoted  his 
entire  life  to  general  farming.  He  married  Camille  Farenet,  who  was  born  in  Canada  in 
1859,  and  their  family  numbered  ten  children,  of  whom  Joseph  0.  is  the  eldest.  Six  of  the 
number  are  yet  living.  The  father  passed  away  in  April.  1910,  while  the  mother's  death 
occurred    in    1907. 

Joseph  0.  Blouin  was  educated  in  the  schools  of  Canada  and  afterward  spent  a  year 
in  Michigan,    subsequent    to    which    time    he    returned    home.         He    next    went    to  Fergus 


790  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

Falls,  Minnesota,  where  he  was  employed  on  the  first  railroad  that  passed  througli  the 
town.  There  he  remained  for  six  months,  after  whicli  he  returned  to  !St.  Paul,  Minnesota, 
where  he  resided  for  three  years,  devoting  his  time  to  teaming  and  otlier  business  interests. 

In  ISSO  Mr.  Blouin  came  to  North  Dakota  and  was  employed  on  a  railroad  during 
the  summer  season  and  in  the  woods  near  Duluth,  ilinnesota,  during  the  winter  months. 
It  was  in  this  way  that  he  gained  his  financial  start  and  in  1S84  he  bought  a  half  section 
in  section  17,  township  132,  range  53.  He  continued  to  engage  in  railroading  until  July, 
18S8,  however,  at  which  time  he  settled  on  his  Dakota  farm  and  has  since  been  identified 
with  general  agricultural  pursuits.  For  a  few  years  he  gave  the  greater  part  of  his 
attention  to  the  growing  of  wheat  but  since  then  has  devoted  his  time  and  energies  to 
general  farming  and  stock  raising.  In  1899  he  joined  a  company  known  as  tlie  Idaho 
Cereal  Company  and  was  a  stockholder  in  that  concern  until  the  mill  was  destroyed  by 
fire  in  1902,  acting  as  president  of  the  company  during  tlie  greater  part  of  the  time.  Later 
Mr.  Blouin  built  an  elevator  and  feed  mill,  which  lie  owned  and  controlled  until  1909, 
when  he  sold  out.  He  now  does  threshing  in  the  harvesting  season  and  throughout  the 
remainder  of  the  year  devotes  his  energies  to  general  agricultural  pursuits. 

In  1904  Mr.  Blouin  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  May  M.  Durgen,  who  was  burn  in 
or  near  Lisbon,  North  Dakota,  in  1884,  a  daughter  of  Sullivan  S.  and  Gardo  Durgen,  who 
were  pioneer  residents  of  this  state,  where  they  reared  their  family  of  eight  children,  of 
whom  Mrs.  Blouin  is  the  third  in  order  of  birth.  To  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Blouin  have  been  born 
four  children:  Joseph,  whose  birth  occurred  in  1906;  Sullivan,  born  in  1907;  Elvirda,  in 
1909;  and  Clarence,  in  1911. 

Mr.  Blouin  gives  his  political  indorsement  to  the  democratic  party  and  the  regard  in 
which  he  is  held  by  his  fellow  townsmen  is  indicated  in  the  lact  that  he  filled  the  office 
of  township  supervisor  for  twenty  years.  He  belongs  to  the  Modern  Woodmen  camp  at 
De  Lamere,  in  which  he  is  now  filling  the  office  of  banker.  He  and  his  wife  hold  member- 
ship in  the  Presbyterian  church  and  to  them  is  extended  w'arm-hearted  hospitality  through- 
out the  community  in  which  they  make  their  home.  Persistent  purpose,  well  defined 
plans,  close  application  and  indefatigable  energy  have  been  the  salient  features  in  winning 
business  advancement  for  Mr.  Blouin,  whose  success  should  inspire  and  encourage  others 
to   follow    his    example. 


JAMES  W.  NIELSON. 


James  W.  Nielson,  who  is  successfully  engaged  in  the  abstract  and  insurance  business 
in  Valley  City,  was  born  in  Jackson,  Michigan,  July  27,  1875,  a  son  of  Wylie  and  Mary 
(Stewart)  Nielson,  the  former  a  native  of  Edinburgh  and  the  latter  of  Glasgow,  Scotland. 
He  acquired  a  public  school  education  and  after  completing  his  studies  entered  the  Valley 
City  high  school,  after  which  he  attended  the  State  Normal  School  at  Valley  City,  while 
later  he  pursued  a  business  course  in  the  Highland  Park  Commercial  College.  Wiien  liis 
textbooks  were  put  aside  he  entered  the  employ  of  the  Northern  Pacific  Railroad  Company 
but  in  the  meantime  before  attending  business  college  }ie  had  spent  three  years  in  West 
Virginia,  where  he  managed  the  Parish  Institute  from  the  fall  of  1896  until  1899.  At  the 
time  of  the  Spanish-American  war  he  enlisted  in  the  First  West  Virginia  Regiment  under 
command  of  Captain  Humphrey  of  Company  M,  serving  from  the  26th  of  April,  1898, 
until  the  4th  of  February,  1899,  when  he  was  mustered  out  with  the  rank  of  sergeant 
major.  It  was  after  this  that  he  pursued  his  studies  in  the  commercial  college  and  then 
entered  the  employ  of  the  Northern  Pacific,  which  he  represented  in  various  positions.  In 
1902  he  returned  to  Valley  City  and  accepted  a  position  with  the  Right  Price  Mercantile 
Company,  with  which  he  remained  for  four  years.  In  January,  1907,  he  became  deputy 
slieriff  of  Barnes  county  under  Casper  Winkler,  with  whom  he  continued  for  four  years. 
He  then  established  an  abstract  business  and  has  gained  a  large  clientage  in  tliat  connec- 
tion. He  also  became  associated  with  General  A.  P.  Peakc  in  the  insurance  business  and 
along  both  lines  has  won  success. 

On   tlie   20th   of  June,   1906,   Mr.   Nielson   Wfft?   united   in   marriage   to   Miss   Lillian   A 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  791 

Weiser,  of  Valley  City,  North  Diikcjta,  now  dccoased.  She  was  a  dauglitor  of  Joel  S. 
Weiser,  a  sketch  of  whom  appears  elsewliere  ill  tliis  work.  Slie  was  the  first  white  child 
born  in   liarnes  connty,  her  natal   day   being  April   12,   1878. 

Jlr.  Xielson  is  a  Koyal  Aich  Jlason  and  is  a  past  master  of  the  lodge.  He  also  belongs 
to  the  Knights  of  Pythias  and  his  religious  faith  is  evidenced  in  his  membership  in  tlie 
Episcopal  church.  He  is  identified  with  the  Commercial  Club  of  Valley  City,  of  which  he 
served  as  secretary  for  several  years.  He  is  recognized  as  a  man  of  ability  and  good  habits 
whose  attention  is  given  strictly  to  his  business  and  whose  sterling  worth  in  every  relation 
lias  won   liim  IiIkI'  miil  enduring  regard. 


REV.  JOHN  KLEIDON. 


Rev.  John  Kleidon,  a  priest  of  the  Catholic  faith  located  at  Sanborn,  was  born  in 
Philadelphia,  Pennsylvania,  October  2,  1877,  a  son  of  James  and  Val  (Block)  Kleidon,  the 
former  also  a  native  of  Philadelphia,  while  the  latter  was  born  in  Germany.  The  Kleidon 
family  is  of  German  lineage  and  was  founded  in  America  by  August  Kleidon,  the  grand- 
father of  the  subject  of  this  review,  who  when  a  young  man  left  Germany  and  settled  in 
Hull,  England,  being  engaged  in  commerce  between  Germany,  England  and  the  United 
States.  Jt  was  this  that  led  him  afterward  to  establish  his  home  in  I'hilailelpliia,  where  he 
continued  to  ship  and  import  goods.  He  passed  away  at  the  age  of  sixty  years  and  his  son, 
•James  Kleidon,  continued  the  business  until  it  in  turn  was  taken  over  by  his  children. 

Rev.  John  Kleidon  was  the  third  in  a  family  of  six  children  and  the  only  one  who  took 
up  the  work  of  the  church.  He  pursued  his  education  in  the  parochial  schools  of  Philadelphia, 
afterward  attending  a  Catholic  high  school  and  later  became  a  student  of  German  at  Over- 
brook,  a  private  school  of  Pittsburgh.  He  then  attended  the  Philadelphia  Theological 
Seminary  and  was  ordained  to  the  priesthood  in  1907,  after  which  he  was  sent  as  assistant 
priest  to  Mandan,  North  Dakota,  where  he  remained  for  fifteen  months,  when  he  was  made 
parish  priest  consultor  of  Litchville,  Barnes  county,  there  continuing  for  two  j'ears.  In  1900 
lie  was  transferred  to  Sanborn,  where  he  has  since  remained.  The  brick  chapel  and  manse 
at  that  ])lace  were  erected  under  the  pastorate  of  Father  Bruenagel  and  since  taking  charge 
Father  Kleidon  has  made  numerous  improvements  in  the  property  and  during  this  period 
the  districts  of  St.  Mary's,  Dazey  and  Courtenay  have  been  added  to  his  parish.  There  is 
one  church  in  Sanborn  and  another  three  and  a  half  miles  out  from  the  town  and  because 
of  the  extent  of  his  parish  and  the  amount  of  work  involved  he  has  been  allowed  an 
assistant,  Father  John  Greimer.  Formerly  the  parish  was  made  of  San,born,  .Jessie,  McHenry 
and  other  small  towns.  Father  Kleidon  is  also  a  member  of  the  bishop's  staff  and  is  putting 
forth  most  earnest  and  effective  effort  to  advance  the  cause  of  the  church  in  the  district 
ill   which   lie  lives. 


RICHARD  C.  KITTEL. 


Richard  C.  Kittel,  who  is  president  of  the  First  National  Bank  of  Casselton,  has  also 
been  connected  with  other  business  interests  in  Cass  county  and  owns  a  large  amount  of 
real  estate  in  the  county.  He  was  born  in  Germany  on  the  20th  of  May,  1877,  a  son  of  H. 
William  and  Ida  (Scheel)  Kittel.  The  parents  were  natives  of  Germany,  as  were  the  grand- 
parents. Both  the  paternal  grandfather,  Casper  Kittel,  and  the  maternal  grandfather  were 
farmers.  A  grand  uncle  of  our  subject,  Frank  Kittel,  emigrated  to  the  United  States  in  his 
youth  and  served  throughout  both  the  Mexican  and  Civil  wars  and  in  each  was  wounded. 
Following  the  Civil  war  he  became  a  naturalized  American  citizen  and  he  passed  his  last 
days  in  the  Soldiers'  Home  at  Fort  Snelling,  dying  at  the  advanced  age  of  ninety-three 
years.  H.  William  Kittel  and  Ida  Scheel  were  married  in  Germany  and  later  emigrated  to 
the  United  States.  The  father  was  an  engineer  and  resided  at  various  times  in  a  number  of 
states.     His  political  belief  was  that  of  the  democratic  party  and  his  religious  faith  was 


792  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

that  of  the  Catholic  chmcU,  although  his  wife  was  a  Gei'man  Lutheran.  He  retui'ned  to 
Germany  on  a  visit  and  while  there  his  death  occurred.  His  wife  passed  away  in  Casselton. 
They  were  the  parents  of  four  children,  namely:  Richard  C;  Martin,  who  is  vice  president 
of  the  Frank  Lynch  Company  of  Casselton;  Paula  N.,  who  is  professor  of  English  and  Ger- 
man at  the  Valley  City  State  Normal  School;  and  William  F.,  cashier  of  the  First  National 
Bank  of  Casselton. 

Richard  C.  Kittel  attended  the  common  schools  in  Germany  and  when  quite  young 
began  work  as  an  office  boy.  However,  he  was  desirous  of  acquiring  a  better  education  and 
while  so  employed  attended  night  school  and  after  his  removal  to  this  country  he  studied 
law  for  one  term  at  the  State  University  of  Minnesota.  In  1895,  when  eighteen  years  of 
age,  he  went  to  Fargo,  North  Dakota,  and  entered  the  employ  of  a  wholesale  farm  machinery 
firm.  For  a  time  he  was  employed  in  the  office  and  later  represented  the  company  on  the 
road.  He  continued  with  that  concern  until  1898,  when  he  removed  to  Casselton  and  be- 
came manager  of  the  farm  machinery  and  farm  loan  business  owned  by  Frank  Lynch.  He 
continued  in  that  capacity  for  a  considerable  time  and  became  one  of  the  incorporators  of 
the  Frank  Lynch  Company.  In  1903  he  purchased  an  interest  in  the  First  State  Bank  of 
Binford,  North  Dakota,  of  which  he  served  as  president  until  he  sold  his  interest  therein  in 
1903.  On  the  1st  of  January  of  that  year  he  severed  his  active  connection  with  the  Frank 
Lynch  Company  and  bought  a  large  interest  in  the  First  National  Bank  of  Casselton,  of 
which  he  was  elected  president.  He  has  since  held  that  position  and  much  of  the  success 
of  the  bank  is  due  to  his  wide  knowledge  of  business  conditions  and  practice  and  his  sound 
judgment.  The  institution  had  a  capital  of  thirty-five  thousand  dollars  and  a  surplus  of 
two  thousand  dollars,  but  in  the  intervening  years  its  capital  has  been  increased  to  fifty 
thousand  dollars  from  profits  alone  and  its  surplus  is  now  ten  thousand  dollars,  while  the 
average  deposits  are  four  hundred  thousand  dollars.  The  high  standing  in  which  Mr. 
Kittel  is  held  by  the  bankers  of  the  state  is  indicated  in  the  fact  that  for  one  year  he  served 
as  president  of  the  North  Dakota  Bankers  Association  and  for  a  similar  length  of  time  was 
chairman  of  the  executive  committee  of  that  association.  He  was  also  honored  by  being 
chosen  as  vice  president  for  North  Dakota  of  the  American  Bankers  Association.  He  owns 
a  great  deal  of  land  and  deals  extensively  in  farm  loans  and  farm  mortgages  and  these  inter- 
ests have  made  him  keenly  interested  in  everything  that  tends  toward  increasing  the  effi- 
ciency of  farmers  and  toward  making  rural  life  more  attractive.  He  was  one  of  the  organizers 
of  the  North  Dakota  Better  Farmers  Association  and  has  since  served  as  a  director  of  the 
organization  and  as  a  member  of  the  executive  committee  thereof. 

On  the  17th  of  August,  1903,  Mr.  Kittel  was  married  at  San  Francisco  to  Miss  Florence 
Eva  Goodrich,  a  native  of  Minneapolis.  Mr.  Kittel  is  a  republican  and  has  served  as  mayor 
of  Casselton.  Fraternally  he  belongs  to  the  Masonic  blue  lodge,  the  eommandery  and  the 
Shrine,  and  in  his  life  he  exemplifies  the  beneficent  spirit  of  the  order.  He  deserves  great 
credit  for  the  success  which  he  has  achieved,  for  he  not  only  had  to  provide  for  his  own 
support  as  a  boy  but  also  assisted  in  meeting  the  family  expenses  and  in  educating  his 
younger  brothers  and  sister.  His  energy,  aggressiveness  and  business  astuteness  have  made 
him  an  important  factor  in  business  circles  of  his  part  of  the  state,  and  his  integrity  has 
gained  him  the  full  confidence  and  the  high  esteem  of  all  who  have  had  dealings  with  him. 


MAJOR   FRANK   W^ITE. 


Jlajor  Frank  WHiite,  whose  title  was  won  in  service  in  the  Philippines,  who  has  been 
chief  executive  of  North  Dakota  and  is  now  president  of  the  Middlewest  Loan  &  Trust 
Company  of  Valley  City,  is  a  man  whose  record  has  been  an  honor  to  the  state  which  has 
honored  him.  He  was  born  at  Stillman  Valley,  Illinois,  December  12,  1856,  a  son  of  the 
Hon.  Joshua  and  Lucy  Ann  (Brown)  White.  In  the  paternal  line  he  comes  of  Scotch-Irish 
ancestry  although  the  family  has  long  been  represented  on  American  soil.  His  great 
grandfather,  John  White,  who  was  born  in  the  north  of  Ireland,  became  the  progenitor  of  the 
family  in  the  United  States,  arriving  in  the  early  part  of  the  eighteenth  century,  when  this 
country  was  still  numbered  among  the  colonial  possessions  of  Great  Britian.     Before  leaving 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  795 

the  Emerald  Isle  he  had  wedded  Miss  Isabelle  ilcCiacken  and  about  1754  their  home 
was  established  in  \'iiginia,  Mr.  White  becoming  a  iiUuiter  of  Ixiudoun  county.  His  sou, 
James  White,  grandfather  of  Frank.  White,  was  born  in  that  county  aud  was  the  youngest 
of  a  family  of  eleven  childien.  He  made  Virginia  his  home  throughout  his  entire  life  and  at 
the  time  of  the  Kevolutionary  war  aided  tlie  colonists  in  the  struggle  which  won  national 
independence.  His  son,  the  Hon.  Joshua  White,  was  born  in  Loudoun  county,  Virginia, 
in  1814  and  was  the  fifth  in  order  of  birth  in  a  family  of  eight  children.  He  married 
Lucy  Ann  Brown,  who  was  born  in  Brimlield,  Massachusetts,  October  13,  1817,  and  who 
passed  away  on  the  sixty-eighth  anniversary  of  her  birth,  while  Mr.  White  survived  until 
1890.  She  was  a  daughter  uf  Dauphin  Brown,  whose  ancestry  can  be  traced  back  to  (jeorge 
Brown,  who  was  born  at  Salisbury,  England,  in  the  sixteenth  century  and  died  in  1633.  It 
was  his  son  and  namesake  who  became  the  founder  of  the  family  in  the  new  world.  He 
was  born  in  Salisbury,  England,  in  1615  and  in  1G41  became  a  resident  of  Salisbury, 
Massachusetts,  where  he  was  granted  land  in  1040  and  again  in  1641.  He  was  the  head  of  the 
colony  that  left  Salisbury,  England,  for  the  new  world  and  through  him  the  colonists  received 
their  land  grants  in  Massachusetts,  settling  at  a  place  which  they  named  in  honor  of  their 
old  home.  The  death  of  George  Brown  II  occurred  in  Salisbury,  Massachusetts,  in  1701. 
His  son,  Henry  Brown,  who  was  born  in  Salisbury  in  1659,  married  Hannah  Putnam,  of 
the  same  family  as  General  Israel  Putnam,  and  passed  away  at  Salem,  Massachusetts,  April 
25,  170S.  His  son,  John  Brown,  who  was  born  in  Salisbury,  Massachusetts,  April  15,  1683, 
died  in  Salem,  Massachusetts,  in  1738.  He  was  the  father  of  Jonathan  Brown,  who  was 
born  at  Salem  in  1716  and  died  in  1799.  He  removed  to  Brimfield,  Massachusetts.  During 
the  period  of  the  Revolutionary  war  he  served  under  three  enlistments  and  rose  to  the 
rank  of  first  lieutenant.  He  participated  in  the  battles  of  both  Lexington  and  Concord. 
His  son,  Bartholomew  Brown,  great-grandfather  of  ilajor  VVTiite,  was  born  in  Brimfield, 
Massachusetts,  in  1752  and  departed  this  life  in  1829.  He,  too,  was  a  Revolutionary  war 
soldier  on  active  duty  in  the  two  opening  engagements  of  the  conflict.  Bartholomew 
Brown's  son,  Dauphin  Brown,  the  grandfather  of  our  subject,  was  born  in  Brimfield,  Massa- 
chusetts, in  1792.  He  migrated  to  Illinois  in  1836,  located  at  Stillman  Valley  and  then 
became  prominent  in  atlairs  of  the  community.  His  daughter,  Lucy  Aim  Brown,  as 
previously  stated,  became  the  wife  of  the  Hon.  Joshua  White,  who  in  1838,  when  twenty- 
four  years  of  age,  had  removed  from  Virginia  to  northern  Illinois.  He  was  married  at 
Byron,  Illinois,  in  1840,  after  which  he  went  to  Chicago  and  engaged  in  mercantile  business 
near  the  corner  of  Dearborn  and  Lake  streets,  becoming  associated  with  his  brother-in-law. 
In  1842  he  removed  to  the  lead  mining  district  of  southwestern  Wisconsin,  where  he 
engaged  in  merchandising.  He  was  closely  associated  not  only  with  the  early  business 
development  of  that  district  but  also  with  the  public  life  of  the  community  and  became  a 
member  of  the  first  constitutional  convention  of  the  state.  In  1848  he  returned  to  Illinois, 
settling  at  Stillman  Valley,  where  he  engaged  in  farming  and  stock  raising.  His  business 
affairs  were  most  wisely  and  capably  conducted  and  judicious  investment  made  him  the 
owner  of  one  thousand  acres  of  Illinois  farm  land.  Appreciation  of  his  ability  and  loyalty 
on  the  part  of  his  fellowmen  led  to  his  election  to  the  state  senate,  where  he  served  from  1854 
until  1858.  In  other  ways  he  took  an  active  part  in  public  affairs  and  his  influence  was  ever 
on  the  side  of  progress  and  improvement.  For  twenty  years  he  was  chairman  of  the  county 
board  of  supervisors  and  during  the  Civil  war  he  was  active  in  recruiting  troops  for  the 
service.  His  eldest  son,  James  D.  White,  enlisted  in  the  Ninety-Second  Illinois  Infantry 
and  served  at  the  front  with  the  rank  of  first  lieutenant,  for  although  in  command  of  his 
company  he  was  not  entitled  to  the  rank  of  captain  owing  to  the  reduced  numbers  of  the 
company.  He  continued  witli  the  army  until  the  close  of  the  war  and  is  now  a  successful 
farmer  of  McLean  county.  North  Dakota. 

Major  White,  now  of  Valley  City,  acquired  his  education  in  Illinois,  supplementing  his 
district  school  training  by  study  in  Mount  Morris  Academy,  while  later  he  entered  the 
University  of  Illinois,  from  which  he  was  graduated  on  the  completion  of  a  civil  engineering 
course  in  the  class  of  1880.  For  two  years  thereafter  he  was  employed  on  the  Chicago, 
Milwaukee  &  St.  Paul  Railroad  in  a  professional  capacity  and  in  the  spring  of  1882  arrived 
in  North  Dakota,  after  which  he  purchased  railroad  land  near  Valley  City,  making  his 
home  thereon   until   1898.     In  the  meantime   he  had  extended  the   boundaries  of   his   farm 


796  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

until  he  became  the  owner  of  eight  hundred  acres  and  also  had  an  interest  in  other 
valuable  farm  lands  on  Getchell  Prairie. 

Interested  in  those  questions  which  affect  state  and  national  welfare  and  standing  at  all 
times  in  support  of  those  projects  which  he  believed  to  be  for  the  public  good,  JIajor  White 
in  1890  was  elected  to  represent  his  district  in  the  state  legislature  and  in  1S92  was  chosen 
state  senator,  to  which  position  he  was  reelected  in  1896.  In  1898  he  resigned  his  position 
in  the  state  senate  and  was  commissioned  major  of  the  First  North  Dakota  Volunteer  Infantry 
for  service  in  the  Spanish-American  War.  He  had  had  military  training  in  the  University 
of  Illinois  and  afterward  became  a  member  of  the  National  Guard  of  North  Dakota,  with 
which  he  served  for  ten  years,  first  holding  the  rank  of  captain  of  Company  G  of  Valley 
City.  Following  the  outbreak  of  the  war  with  Spain  he  was  mustered  in  at  Fargo  in 
May,  1898,  and  was  sent  to  San  Francisco,  sailing  from  the  Golden  Gate  on  the  27th  of 
June  for  the  Philippines,  where  the  troops  arrived  on  the  30th  of  July.  They  participated 
in  the  capture  of  Manila  on  the  13th  of  August  and  this  was  their  only  engagement  with  the 
Spaniards.  Subsequent  to  that  time  the}'  were  assigned  to  guard  duty  in  the  citj'  of  Manila 
and  continued  there  until  the  Filipino  insurrection.  Major  White  participating  with  his 
regiment  in  more  than  twenty  engagements  with  the  Filipinos.  The  record  made  by  this 
regiment  is  given  at  length  in  the  general  history  prepared  by  Colonel  Lounsberry.  Major 
White  took  an  active  part  in  all  the  engagements  in  which  his  regiment  participated  and  was 
never  off  duty  for  a  single  day  during  the  time  spent  in  the  service.  Discipline  was  always 
maintained  among  the  troops  and  the  extreme  care  in  sanitary  matters  was  no  doubt 
largely  the  cause  of  the  good  health  that  existed  among  the  men.  Returning  with  his 
regiment  from  the  Philippines,  he  arrived  in  San  Francisco  about  the  1st  of  September,  1899, 
and  was  mustered  out  on  the  25th  of  that  month. 

After  again  reaching  Valley  City,  Major  White  purchased  land  at  Litchville  and  in  1900 
he  opened  a  real  estate  and  insurance  office.  The  same  year  he  received  the  republican  nomi- 
nation for  governor  of  the  state  and  the  election  showed  him  the  people's  choice  for  that 
high  office.  He  was  inaugurated  in  1901  and  reelected  in  1902,  serving  as  chief  executive 
for  four  years,  his  administration  being  notable  in  the  fact  that  he  placed  the  state  upon  a 
sound  financial  footing.  He  was  an  efficient,  capable  and  popular  executive  and  he  brought 
about  various  needed  reforms  and  improvements.  At  that  time  a  large  amount  of  the  school 
funds  were  not  drawing  interest  but  under  Governor  \Vhite's  direction  these  were  advan- 
tageously invested  in  bonds  and  farm  loans,  bringing  a  good  financial  return  to  the  state. 
It  was  also  during  his  administration  that  the  first  state  bonds  were  redeemed.  In  .January, 
1905,  Major  White  retired  from  the  capital  and  spent  the  summer  on  his  farm  at  Litchville. 
In  the  latter  part  of  that  year  he  promoted  and  oiganized  the  Middlewest  Fire  Insurance 
Company,  of  which  he  became  the  president  and  which  in  1913  was  merged  with  the  Twin 
Cit}'  Fire  Insurance  Company,  its  headquarters  being  then  removed  to  Minneapolis.  He  next 
oiganized  the  Middlewest  Loan  &  Trust  Company,  which  began  business  on  the  2d  of  January, 
1915,  in  its  present  quarters  in  the  Gray  building  in  \'alley  City  and  under  his  direction  as 
jjresident  the  business  has  had  a  steady  gi'owth,  proving  one  of  the  successful  undertakings 
of  this  character  in  the  state,  being  now  upon  a  substantial  dividend  paying  basis.  Major 
WHiite  has  also  been  general  agent  for  the  Northwestern  National  Fire  Insurance  Company 
of  Milwaukee  for  the  states  of  North  Dakota  and  Montana  for  the  past  five  years.  His 
interest  in  public  affairs  is  firrther  indicated  in  the  fact  that  he  is  a  member  of  the  state 
board  of  regents,  having  control  of  the  educational  institutions  of  North  Dakota. 

On  the  19th  of  September,  1894,  at  Indianapolis,  Indiana,  Major  White  was  unitel  in 
marriage  to  Miss  Elsie  Hadley,  of  that  city,  a  daughter  of  A.  N.  and  Elizabeth  Hadley, 
wlio  removed  from  Ohio  to  Indiana  during  the  infancy  of  their  daughter,  Mrs.  White. 
She  has  become  the  mother  of  a  son,  Edwin  Lee,  who  after  attending  the  public  schools  was 
graduated  from  the  Valley  City  Normal  School  and  spent  one  year  at  Earlham  College  in 
Indiana,  while  he  is  now  attending  the  North  Dakota  State  L'niversity  at  Grand  Forks.  She 
also  has  an  adopted  son,  Richard,  who  is  also  in  school. 

Major  W'hite  is  a  Congregationalist  in  religious  faith.  His  wife  was  reared  in  the 
Society  of  Friends  but  has  since  become  affiliated  with  the  Congregational  church.  Fraternally 
he  is  a  Mason,  prominent  in  the  order  in  this  state,  belonging  to  Valley  City  Lodge,  F.  &  A.  M., 
Sheyenne  Chapter,  R.  A.  M.,  of  Valley  City,  St.  Elmo  Commandery,  K.  T.,  at  Valle}'  City  and 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  797 

El  Zagal  Temple  of  the  Mystic  Shrine  at  Fargo.  At  tlie  present  writing  he  is  grand  com- 
mander of  the  Knights  Tein])lar  of  the  state.  Well  deseeiuled  and  well  bred,  liberally  educated, 
congenial,  capable,  courteous  and  honorable  in  every  relation  of  life,  he  is  highly  respected  and 
has  an  unlimited  circle  of  friends,  ilrs.  White,  who  is  a  graduate  of  Earlham  College  and 
the  University  of  Michigan,  came  to  North  Dakota  in  1893  as  a  teacher  in  the  Xornial  School 
at  Valley  City.  She  is  a  member  qf  the  Woman's  Club  in  that  city  and  very  active  in 
civic  alTairs.  She  was  president  of  the  State  Federation  of  Women's  Clubs  one  year  and 
auditor  of  the  General  Federation  of  Women's  Clubs  and  was  a  director  of  that  organization 
two  terms.     This  is  the  largest   women's  organization   in   the   world. 


LAWSON  ARMSTRONG  SOLEY,  M.  D. 

Dr.  Lawson  Armstrong  Soley,  who  since  August,  1909,  has  been  in  the  continuous  and 
active  practice  of  medicine  and  surgery  at  Neche,  was  born  in  Economy,  Nova  Scotia, 
October  26,  1883.  His  parents,  Charles  William  and  Mary  (Mason)  Soley,  were  also  natives 
of  Nova  Scotia  and  the  latter  was  of  Irish  descent.  The  father  belonged  to  one  of  the  old 
families  of  that  country  of  English  and  Scotch  lineage.  He  became  a  shipbuilder  by  trade 
and  followed  that  pursuit  throughout  the  entire  period  of  his  active  life.  Both  he  and  his 
wife  liave  now  passed  away. 

After  mastering  the  elementary  branches  of  learning  in  the  public  schools  of  his  native 
city.  Dr.  Soley  continued  his  education  in  the  Phillips  Academy  of  Andover,  Massachusetts, 
from  which  he  was  graduated  with  the  class  of  1904.  His  more  specifically  literary  course  thus 
completed,  he  then  took  up  the  study  of  medicine  in  McGill  University  at  Montreal,  Canada, 
where  he  won  the  degrees  of  M.  D.  and  C.  M.  in  1908.  His  excellent  scholarship  secured 
him  appointment  to  the  position  of  interne  in  the  Royal  Victoria  Hospital  at  Montreal  and 
later  he  entered  upon  the  private  practice  of  medicine  in  Neche  in  August,  1909.  Since  that 
time  he  has  there  continued  in  active  general  practice,  employing  the  most  modern  methods 
which  have  resulted  from  scientific  research  and  investigation.  His  labors  have  been  fraught 
with  good  results  and  the  efficacy  of  his  methods  is  attested  by  the  fact  that  his  practice 
is  steadily  growing. 

On  the  12th  of  October,  1910,  Dr.  Soley  was  married  to  Miss  Jlynie  Woodman,  a  native 
of  Nova  Scotia  and  a  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Fred  W.  Woodman.  Dr.  Soley  and  his  wife 
are  Episcopalians  and  his  political  belief  is  that  of  the  republican  party.  He  was  made  a 
Mason  at  Parrsborough,  Nova  Scotia,  and  has  attained  the  thirty-second  degi-ee  of  the  Scot- 
tish Rite,  has  also  taken  the  chapter  degrees  of  the  York  Rite  and  is  a  member  of  the  Mystic 
Shrine.  He -is  likewise  connected  witli  the  Knights  of  Pythias  and  the  Ancient  Order  of 
United  Workmen  and  in  his  life  displays  the  beneficent  spirit  upon  which  these  orders  are 
founded.  He  never  regards  life's  duties  lightly  but  recognizes  the  obligations  imposed  upon 
him  in  his  professional  relations  and  in  eitizeiiship  and  at  all  times  seeks  to  uphold  higher 
standards  of  living  for  the  individual  and  for  the  eonimnnity. 


GEORGE  A.  WELCH. 


In  a  history  of  the  business  enterprise  of  Bismarck  it  is  imperative  that  mention  be 
made  of  George  A.  Welch,  one  of  the  partners  in  the  hardware  firm  of  French  &  Welch  and 
as  such  owners  of  one  of  the  leading  eonunereia)  undertakings  of  the  capital  city.  He  was 
born  upon  a  farm  in  Olmsted  county,  Minnesota.  March  14,  1866.  and  comes  of  a  family 
of  Scotch-Irish  extraction.  His  father,  George  Welch,  was  born  in  the  state  of  New  York 
in  1833  and  was  there  married  in  the  year  1852,  after  which  he  removed  westward  to  Wis- 
consin, where  he  settled  in  the  late  '50s.  He  became  a  resident  of  Minnesota  in  1864  and 
in  the  spring  of  1882  arrived  in  North  Dakota,  taking  up  his  abode  upon  a  farm  in  Bur- 
leigh county,  where  he  devoted  a  considerable  period  to  general  agricult\iral  pursuits,  his 
labors  contributing  to  the  development  and  substantial  upbuilding  nf  that  region.     His  last 


798  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

days  were  spent  in  Bismarck,  where  he  passed  away  in  1914,  and  his  widow,  surviving,  now 
makes  her  home  in  that  city. 

George  A.  Welch  pursued  his  education  at  Pleasant  Grove,  Minnesota,  but  at  the  age 
of  fifteen  years  put  aside  his  textbooks  and  in  1881  came  to  North  Dakota,  where  he  se- 
cured employment  on  a  ranch.  He  worked  in  that  way  and  at  freighting  until  he  attained 
his  majority,  when  he  embraced  his  opportunity  for  securing  land  by  entering  one  hundred 
and  sixty  acres  in  Burleigh  county.  He  resided  thereon  until  he  obtained  his  patent  and  is 
still  the  owner  of  the  propert}'.  In  the  fall  of  1902  he  was  elected  to  the  office  of  sheriff  of 
Burleigh  county  and  removed  to  Bismarck,  entering  upon  the  duties  of  the  position  in 
December.  He  was  prompt  and  fearless  in  executing  the  work  of  the  office  and  his  capable 
service  during  his  first  term  led  to  his  reelection,  so  that  he  was  the  incumbent  in  that 
position  for  four  years.  Upon  his  retirement  he  joined  with  J.  P.  French  in  forming  the 
French  &  Welch  Hardware  Company  and  has  since  been  active  in  that  line  of  business. 
They  have  a  large  and  well  appointed  store,  carrying  an  extensive  line  of  shelf  and  heavy 
hardware,  and  their  trade  has  now  reached  gratifying  proportions,  their  success  being  based 
upon  close  application,  indefatigable  energy  and  earnest  desire  to  please. 

On  the  4th  of  July,  1889,  in  Burleigh  county.  North  Dakota,  Mr.  Welch  was  joined  in 
wedlock  to  Miss  Mary  J.  Jones,  her  father  being  John  F.  Jones,  a  native  of  Wisconsin.  To 
them  have  been  born  four  children,  namely:     Margaret,  Catharine,  Josephine  and  Gwendolin. 

Fraternally  Mr.  Welch  is  identified  with  the  York  Rite  Masons,  the  Mystic  Shrine  and 
the  Knights  of  Pythias.  His  religious  faith  is  that  of  the  Presbyterian  church.  His 
political  indorsement  is  given  to  the  republican  party  and  he  has  been  a  prominent  worker 
in  its  ranks  for  a  long  period.  For  nine  years  he  was  county  commissioner  of  Burleigh  county 
and  in  1908  he  was  elected  a  member  of  the  state  senate,  in  which  he  served  for  four  years. 
His  official  record  shows  that  in  the  offices  which  he  has  filled  he  has  usually  been  called 
upon  to  serve  for  two  or  more  terms — indicative  of  his  faithfulness,  capability  and  loyalty. 
He  has  done  much  to  mold  public  thought  and  action  in  his  community  and  in  the  state. 
At  the  present  time,  however,  he  is  largely  concentrating  his  eflforts  upon  his  commercial 
interests  and  in  mercantile  circles  is  recognized  as  a  man  of  keen  discrimination  and  sound 
judgment,  while  his  executive  ability  and  excellent  management  have  brought  to  the  con- 
cern with  which  he  is  associated  a  large  degi-ee  of  success. 


JOHN  B.  CHAUSSEE. 


John  B.  Cliaussee,  a  representative  of  the  business  interests  of  Watford  City,  where 
he  is  engaged  in  dealing  in  farm  machinery  and  implements  as  a  member  of  the  firm  of 
Martin  &  Chaussee,  was  born  in  Deadwood,  South  Dakota,  October  27,  1882,  his  parents 
being  Mr  and  Mis.  Alfred  J.  Chaussee.  The  father,  a  native  of  Dubuque,  Iowa,  was  but 
nine  years  of  age  when  he  accompanied  his  parents  on  their  removal  to  Jefferson,  South 
Dakota,  where  he  remained  until  he  went  to  Deadwood.  There  he  was  foreman  of  the 
famous  Homestake  gold  mine  in  the  Black  Hills  and  continued  in  that  district  until  he 
reached  the  age  of  forty-two  years.  He  next  went  to  Elk  Point,  South  Dakota,  on  the 
Sioux  river,  where  he  continued  until  1904  and  then  became  a  resident  of  Bottineau 
county.  North  Dakota,  where  he  lived  in  honorable  retirement  from  further  business  up 
to  the  time  of  his  death,  which  occurred  June  30,  1916.  His  wife  was  born  in  Alsace- 
Lorraine,  France,  and  was  fourteen  years  of  age  when  she  came  to  the  new  world,  going 
first  to  Montreal,  Canada.  She  was  nineteen  years  of  age  when  she  accompanied  her 
parents  to  Jefferson,  South  Dakota,  where  she  was  married,  and  she  is  now  residing  in 
Omemee,   Bottineau   county. 

John  B.  Cliaussee  was  reared  in  Deadwood  to  the  age  of  fifteen  years,  at  which  time 
that  place  was  a  wild  western  town  that  placed  him  in  an  environment  such  as  is  usually 
found  with  the  early  settlement  of  a  pioneer  district.  He  attended  the  city  schools  and 
afterward  went  to  Sioux  City,  Iowa,  where  he  was  employed  in  the  clothing  store  of 
Davidson  Brothers  until  he  attained  his  majority.  He  then  removed  to  Omemee,  North 
Dakota,  and  entered  the  employ  of  Albert  Kurtz,  proprietor  of  a  drug  store,  with  whom  he 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  799 

continued  for  four  years.  He  next  became  a  resident  of  Kramer,  North  Dakota,  and  in 
I'JUG  he  arived  in  bchafer,  Korth  Dakota,  where  he  entered  the  employ  of  the  Bruegger 
Mercantile  Company  at  its  branch  store.  Later  he  became  a  member  of  the  firm  of  Banks 
&  Chaussee  at  Schafer,  conducting  a  general  store,  but  the  enterprise  did  not  prove  a 
success.  In  October,  1914,  he  joined  John  Martin  in  establisliing  the  farm  machinery  and 
implement  business  at  Watford  City  of  which  he  is  now  one  of  the  proprietors,  and  at 
this  point  their  trade  has  steadily  grown,  having  now  reached  gratifying  proportions. 

On  the  2Sth  of  May,  1908,  Mi-.  Chaussee  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  T.  M.  Man- 
gold, of  Omemee,  who  was  born  in  Stewart,  Minnesota,  and  there  pursued  a  high  school 
education,  after  which  she  was  graduated  from  the  South  Dakota  Normal  School  at  Aber- 
deen and  later  taught  school  in  Omemee.  Mr.  Chaussee  has  two  children,  Alfred  and  Dor- 
othy, both  of  whom  were  born  in  Schafer. 

Mr.  Chaussee  is  a  republican  and  served  as  public  administrator  of  McKenzie  county 
from  1907  until  1911.  He  is  known  all  over  the  county  as  ".Jack"  Chaussee.  A  nickname 
always  indicates  good  fellowship.  It  is  a  sign  of  warm  friendship,  and  it  is  well  known 
that  Jlr.  Chaussee  is  held  in  high  regard  wherever  he  is  known. 


JACOB  HERE,  JR. 


Kemarkable  has  been  the  success  of  many  who  have  come  to  this  country  from  foreign 
lands  and  through  their  own  efforts  have  risen  to  positions  of  prominence  botli  in  business 
and  public  life.  Among  the  most  substantial  citizens  of  Wishek  at  the  present  time  is 
Jacob  Herr,  Jr.,  who  is  now  successfully  farming  over  two  thousand  acres  of  land  in  Mcin- 
tosh and  Logan  counties  and  is  also  interested  in  merchandising  as  a  member  of  the  firm 
of  Herr  Brothers  &  Company.  His  early  home  was  on  the  other  side  of  the  Atlantic,  for 
he  was  born  March  6,  1873,  in  the  village  of  Kassel  in  southern  Russia.  He  was  only  two 
years  old,  however,  when  brought  to  the  United  States  by  his  parents,  Jacob  and  Margaret 
(Kreen)  Herr,  the  family  locating  in  Scotland,  Hutchinson  county.  South  Dakota,  where 
the  father  homesteaded  one  hundred  and  sixty  acres  of  land  and  also  took  up  a  tree  claim. 
He  wondered,  however,  what  he  could  do  with  so  much  land  and  only  proved  up  on  the 
homestead.  After  living  in  South  Dakota  for  twelve  years,  he  removed  to  Mcintosh  county, 
North  Dakota,  in  1887,  and  here  he  has  since  made  his  home.  He  has  bought  and  sold 
land  extensively  and  is  now  the  owner  of  twelve  hundred  and  eighty  acres  in  Mcintosh 
county  and  has  holdings  in  Saskatchewan,  Canada.  For  the  past  eight  years  he  has  resided 
in  Wishek  and  is  one  of  the  highly  respected  citizens  of  the  place. 

•Jacob  Herr,  Jr.,  was  reared  to  manhood  in  the  Dakotas  but  his  educational  advantages 
wore  limited  as  he  was  only  able  to  attend  the  district  schools  about  eight  or  ten  months. 
He  has,  however,  become  a  well  informed  man  and  has  always  made  the  most  of  his 
opportunities.  As  a  young  man  he  began  his  career  as  a  farmer.  In  1894  he  married 
Miss  Christine  Orth,  of  Kmmons  county.  North  Dakota,  and  to  them  have  been  born  ten 
cliildren,  seven  of  whom  are  still  living,  namely:  Lydia,  now  the  wife  of  George  Rohm,  of 
Wishek:  Martha,  Sophia,  Arthur,  Solomon.  Joshua  and  Orvillc,  all  at  home. 

About  the  time  of  his  marriage,  Mr.  Herr's  father  gave  him  a  quarter  section  of  land 
and  one  year  later  he  bought  another  quarter  section,  on  which  he  resided  for  three  years. 
In  connection  with  the  operation  of  his  own  farm  he  also  had  charge  of  his  father's  place 
wliich  adjoined  his  land.  In  1897  he  removed  to  Wishek,  where  he  conducted  both  a 
livery  stable  and  restaurant  for  about  a  year  and  a  half.  He  then  sold  his  three  hundred 
and  twenty  acre  farm  and  took  up  a  homestead  eight  miles  southwest  of  Wishek,  on  which 
he  resided  for  five  years.  He  next  bought  a  section  of  land  and  returned  to  Wishek, 
where  he  engaged  in  merchandising  in  partnership  with  his  father  and  brother  A.  W.  Herr, 
buying  out  the  business  of  Michael  Kline.  They  organized  the  firm  of  Herr  Brothers  & 
Company  and  built  up  an  extensive  trade  as  general  merchants.  Mr.  Herr  of  this  review 
was  identified  with  the  management  of  the  business  until  March,  1916,  when  he  sold  much 
of  his  stock  in  the  enterprise  and  is  now  giving  his  attention  largely  to  his  farming  interests. 
He  has  over  two   thousand  acres  of   land  under   cultivation   and   is  the  owner   of  twenty- 


800  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

seven  hundred  and  twenty  acres  in  Mcintosh  and  Logan  counties.  He  is  a  man  of  good 
business  ability  and  sound  judgment,  is  enterprising  and  pi'ogressive,  and  to  these  charac- 
teristics may  be  attributed  his  wonderful  success. 

The  republican  party  finds  in  Mr.  Herr  a  stanch  supporter  of  its  principles,  and  for 
three  terms  he  has  served  as  a  member  of  the  town  board  of  Wishek  and  as  school  treasurer 
for  three  terms.  In  religious  faith  he  is  a  Baptist  and  his  life  is  guided  by  the  teachings 
of  that  church,  of  which  he  is  a  faithful  member. 


MAJOR  H.  M.  CREEL. 


Major  General  H.  M.  Creel,  of  Devils  Lake,  whose  name  is  inseparably  interwoven 
with  the  military  records  of  North  Dakota  and  whose  efforts  have  been  an  element  in 
progressive  development  in  the  northwest,  was  born  on  a  farm  in  Lafayette  county, 
Missouri,  November  30,  1855,  and  is  a  representative  of  one  of  the  old  families  of  Virginia, 
established  in  that  state  in  1620.  His  grandfather  served  with  the  rank  of  colonel  in  the 
War  of  1812  and  his  uncle,  George  Cieel,  was  killed  in  the  Mexican  war.  His  grand- 
mother was  a  sister  of  the  mother  of  General  "Stonewall"  .Jackson,  and  his  grandfather. 
Dr.  David  Creel,  acted  as  foreman  of  the  grand  jury  which  heard  the  trial  of  Aaron  Burr 
for  high  treason.  Various  prominent  names  appear  upon  the  family  records,  including 
that  of  Larry  T.  Neal,  of  Ohio,  and  Hon.  George  W.  Mannapenny,  ex-commissioner  of 
Indian  affairs,  who  was  a  member  of  the  commission  that  made  the  treaty  with  the  Utes. 
Enrique  C.  Creel,  son-in-law  of  General  Louis  Terrazas,  formerly  ambassador  from  Mexico 
to  the  United  States,  also  governor  of  Cliihuahua,  late  special  ambassador  from  Mexico  in 
the  Venezuelean  trouble  and  later  minister  of  foreign  relations  in  Diaz's  last  cabinet,  is  a 
cousin  of  General  Creel. 

Reared  upon  his  father's  farm.  General  Creel  acquired  his  elementary  education  under 
private  tutorship  and  afterward  became  a  student  in  Kempei-'s  academy  at  Boonville, 
Missouri.  He  spent  a  year  in  that  school  and  also  in  Cooper  Institute  and  next  entered 
the  Virgiania  Military  Institute  at  Lexington,  Virginia,  where  he  remained  for  two  years, 
when  through  appointment  of  General  John  B.  Clark  of  the  seventh  congressional  district  he 
became  a  student  at  the  L^nited  States  Military  Academy  at  West  Point,  from  which 
he  was  graduated  with  the  class  of  June,  1877.  He  received  commission  as  second  lieutenant 
in  the  Eighth  United  States  Cavalry  and  the  same  year  was  promoted  to  higher  rank  in  the 
Seventh  Cavalry,  his  service  in  that  connection  bringing  him  to  Dakota  territory.  After 
serving  for  five  years  he  resigned  in  July,  1883.  During  his  military  experience  he  gained 
intimate  knowledge  of  the  state  and  its  pioneer  conditions  and  development.  He  had 
.charge  of  the  government  property  and  steamboat  "Dr.  Burleigh"  when  Fort  Rice  was 
abandoned  and  the  property  moved  to  Fort  Yates  in  1878.  In  that  year  Lieutenant 
General  P.  H.  Sheridan,  commanding  the  Division  of  Missouri  with  headquarters  at  Chicago, 
asked  for  a  volunteer  from  the  officers  of  the  regular  army  to  take  charge  of  the  relief 
steamer  to  New  Orleans  for  the  yellow  fever  sufferers.  Lieutenant  Creel  volunteered  and  was 
informed  by  General  Sheridan  that  Lieutenant  Benner  had  already  offered  his  services 
and  had  been  accepted,  also  that  he.  Lieutenant  Creel  had  been  detailed  to  perform  very 
important  work  on  detached  service  under  the  direct  supervision  of  the  Lieutenant  General, 
as  he  was  to  accompany  the  Northern  CKeyennes  to  the  Indiana  Territory,  to  write  a 
dictionary  and  grammar  of  their  language  and  otherwise  aid  in  keeping  these  Indians  in 
the  Territory.  Lieutenant  Benner  died  in  the  performance  of  his  mission  from  yellow 
fever,  which  no  doubt  would  have  been  the  fate  of  Lieutenant  Creel.  He  was  one  of  the 
expedition  that  located  Fort  Meade  and  in  1880  he  surveyed  Devils  Lake  and  also  made  a 
topographic  survey  of  the  Fort  Totten  military  reservation.  In  18S1  he  participated  in  the 
Sitting  Bull  campaign  and  afterward  accompanied  that  noted  Indian  chieftain  and  his  band  to 
Standing  Rock.  As  engineering  officer  he  built  the  military  telegraph  line  from  Fort 
Totten  to  Larimore.  In  July,  1882,  he  located  the  town  site  of  Devils  Lake,  which  was 
first  called  Creel  City  but  assumed  its  present  name  in  1884.  His  familiarity  with  the 
entire  country  and  his  credibility  on  all  questions  relating  to  it  made  him  authority  upon 


>[A.liiR-GENEEAl>  11.  .\1.  CllKKI. 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  803 

till'  subject  and  led  liim  to  be  called  as  a  witness  before  congress  in  1883  regarding  a 
tiiut  of  land  lying  north  and  west  of  Devils  Lake  and  comprising  nine  million  five  hundred 
thousand  acres,  wliich  was  claimed  by  the  Chippewas  but  was  recognized  by  the  interior 
department  as  the  property  of  the  United  States.  His  testimony  and  letters  to  Messrs. 
W  indom.  Plumb,  Cox,  Cockerell  and  Pottigrew  elicited  from  Hiram  Price,  commissioner 
of  Indian  atl'airs,  a  lengthy  answer.  The  bill  for  the  opening  of  tliis  land  to  settlement  was 
too  far  down  on  the  calendar  to  receive  attention  during  that  session  of  congress.  Shortly 
afterward  Secretary  Kirkwood  was  succeeeded  by  Senator  Teller,  who  with  the  legal 
department  sustained  General  Creel  in  his  position  and  the  land  was  thrown  open  by 
executive  proclamation.  His  military  record  covers  service  as  second  lieutenant  of  the 
Eighth  United  States  Cavalry  from  June  15,  1877,  to  September  30,  1S77;  second  lieutenant 
of  the  Seventh  United  States  Cavalry  from  the  latter  date  until  July,  1882,  while  in  the 
meantime  he  participated  in  the  Dull  Knife  campaign  in  1S7S  and  the  Sitting  Bull  campaign 
in  ISSl.  He  was  engineer  ollicer  of  the  Fort  Totten  district  from  1880  until  1882,  was 
inspector  and  judge  advocate  general,  with  the  rank  of  colonel,  in  the  North  Dakota  National 
Cuard  from  April  2,  1891,  until  June  29,  1905,  and  was  then  made  adjutant  general. 
Later  he  was  appointed  supervisor  at  large  of  the  Indians  of  the  United  States.  In  this 
connection  it  will  be  interesting  to  quote  from  the  executive  order  issued  from  the  governor's 
ollice  at  Bismarck  January  7,  1907,  and  which  reads  as  follows:  "At  his  own  request. 
Brigadier  General  H.  M.  Creel,  adjutant  general,  is  hereby  promoted  to  the  rank  of  major 
general  and  placed  upon  the  retired  list  of  the  North  Dakota  National  Guard  pursuant  to 
law,  to  date  from  January  7,  1907.  In  the  promotion  and  retirement  of  Major  General  H.  il. 
Creel  I  desire  to  attest  to  the  faithful  and  highly  efficient  services  rendered  by  him  during 
liis  term  of  office  as  adjutant  general.  When  appointed  adjutant  general  it  was  decided  by 
the  honoi-able  secretary  of  war  that  the  efficiency  of  the  national  guard  of  this  state  was  at 
such  a  low  ebb  that  the  state  was  not  entitled  to  the  appropriation  from  the  federal 
government  under  the  act  of  January  31,  1903.  Only  a  few  months  elapsed  before  the 
standard  of  efficiency  had  been  raised  by  General  Creel  to  the  extent  that  the  secretary  of 
war  rescinded  his  adverse  decision.  General  Creel  continued  along  these  lines  and  brought 
the  guard  to  that  state  of  efficiency  which  impelled  Lieutenant  Colonel  George  A.  DodJ, 
Tinth  United  States  Cavalry  chief  umpire  at  the  camp  of  instruction  near  Fort  D.  A.  Russell, 
Wyoming,  to  report  to  the  honorable  secretary  of  war  that  fully  ninety  per  cent  of  the 
luitional  guard  of  this  state  could  be  placed  immediately  on  an  equal  footing  with  the 
regular  army  in  the  field  of  active  service,  thus  giving  to  the  national  guard  of  this  state 
a  position  seldom  attained  by  the  guard  of  any  other  state." 

General  Creel  has  been  a  resident  of  Devils  Lake  almost  from  its  founding  and  for 
a  number  of  years  engaged  extensively  in  farming,  owning  and  conducting  a  fine  estate, 
lie  has  also  dealt  largely  in  real  estate  and  loans  and  has  engaged  in  the  grain  business. 
Ill  public  all'airs,  too,  he  has  borne  his  part.  A  contemporary  writer  has  said:  "Mr.  Creel 
was  chairman  of  the  board  of  county  commissioners  in  Ramsey  county  in  1885-188G  and 
register  of  deeds  from  January,  1S89,  to  January,  1897,  and  was  acting  county  surveyor 
from  1889  to  1895,  and  city  engineer;  He  Avas  elected  to  the  state  senate  in  the  fall  of 
1890  and  completed  serving  a  four  year  term.  He  was  elected  as  an  independent  republican 
and  was  a  nominee  for  congress  in  1898  on  the  fusion  ticket.  While  a  member  of  the  state 
senate  he  introduced  the  bill  requiring  all  applicants  for  marriage  licenses  to  be  previously 
examined  by  a  board  of  physicians  as  to  their  mental  and  physical  fitness  for  the  marriage 
state.  His  bill  was  freely  commented  upon  by  prominent  men  and  newspapers  in  the 
United  States  and  England.  The  following  were  Mr.  Creel's  committee  assignments: 
■  liairman  of  committees  on  appropriations  and  immigration,  member  of  committees  on 
Indians  and  Indian  affairs,  cities  and  municipalities,  military,  public  land  and  ways  and 
moans,  chairman  committee  on  military  affairs.  He  has  served  as  chairman  of  the  county 
re|iuhlican  central  committee  and  was  a  member  of  the  state  central  and  executive 
republican  committees.  He  was  a  member  of  the  national  committee  for  the  silver 
republicans  of  North  Dakota  for  eight  years,  being  chosen  to  this  oflice  in  1897.  In  1878, 
Colonel  Creel,  then  a  lieutenant  in  the  Seventh  United  States  Cavalry,  was  detailed  by 
General  Sheridan  to  escort  the  Northern  Cheyenne  Indians  from  the  Black  Hills  to  Fort 
Reno,   Indian    Territory,    later   held   at    Sidney    Barracks,    Nebraska.     He    accompanied    the 

Vol.  Ill— 3  7 


804  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

Thornberg  expedition  four  luiiidied  miles  in  the  Sand  Hills  of  Nebraska,  after  Dull  Knife 
with  eight  luindied  Northern  Cheyennes.  He  wrote  a  grammar  and  dictionary  of  the 
Cheyenne  or  Tsistos  language,  also  a  work  on  the  sign  language  of  the  North  American 
Indians,  which  was  published  by  the  Smithsonian  Institution,  Washington,  D.  C. 

Wlien  in  Indian  territory  General  Creel  was  married  to  Miss  Alice  H.  LaKue,  a  native  of 
Indiana  and  a  daughter  of  Richard  LaRue,  whose  farm  was  at  one  time  a  part  of  the  city 
of  Richmond.  She  is  a  niece  of  the  Hon.  William  Holman,  who  secured  an  amendment  to  an 
appropriation  bill  which  obliged  the  Northern  Pacific  Railroad  Company  to  pay  the  cost 
of  surveying  the  land  granted  to  them.  Her  grandfather,  Joseph  Holman,  was  one  of  the 
framers  of  the  state  constitution  of  Indiana. 

General  Creel  is  identified  with  several  fraternal  organizations,  including  the  Elks, 
the  Odd  Fellows  and  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America.  Throughout  his  life  he  has 
displayed  his  military  training  in  the  precision  with  which  he  executes  orders  and  carries 
out  his  plans.  Alert  and  prompt,  he  is  ever  ready  for  an  emergency,  thinks  quickly, 
decides  intelligently  and  in  relation  to  allairs  of  public  importance  looks  beyond  the 
exigencies  of  the  moment  to  the  opportunities  of  the  future. 


THE  WASHBURN  LIGNITE  COAL  COMPANY. 

The  Washburn  Lignite  Coal  Company  of  Wilton  is  today  operating  the  largest  coal 
mines  in  the  state  of  North  Dakota,  with  general  offices  in  Minneapolis,  Minnesota.  The 
company  was  founded  by  Senator  W.  D.  Washburn,  who  on  coming  to  this  region  recognized 
the  value  of  its  coal  deposits  and  opened  up  the  mine.  The  business  was  incorporated  on 
the  24th  of  December,  1902,  and  its  charter  was  secured  on  the  6th  of  the  following 
January.  Prior  to  this  the  mine  had  been  operated  by  Senator  Washburn.  The  capital 
stock  of  the  new  company  was  five  hundred  thousand  dollars  and  its  officers  are  B.  W. 
Stephenson,  president;  Stanley  Washburn,  vice  president;  W.  H.  Keller,  secretary  and 
treasurer;  and  W.  P.  Macomber,  general  manager.  With  the  exception  of  the  last  named, 
who  makes  his  home  in  Wilton,  the  other  officers  are  residents  of  Minneapolis. 

The  mine  at  Wilton  has  been  steadily  developed  and  a  shaft  has  already  been  sunk 
to  a  depth  of  sixty  feet.  During  the  winter  of  1916-7  a  second  one  is  to  be  put  in  operation 
with  the  expectation  of  mining  three  hundred  and  fifty  thousand  tons  annually,  while  the 
present  capacity  is  something  over  two  hundred  thousand  tons.  Every  precaution  possible 
has  been  made  to  safeguard  the  miners  while  at  work,  and  the  company  has  erected  many 
houses  for  the  accommodation  of  their  employes  and  also  a  hotel.  They  Iiave  endeavored 
to  make  everything  neat  and  sanitary  and  are  untiring  in  their  efforts  to  promote  the 
interests  of  those  who  serve  them.  At  the  present  time  about  four  hundred  men  are 
employed  during  the  busy  season.  Their  mine  is  up-to-date  in  its  appointments  and  the 
new  shaft  will  have  all  modern  equipments  for  handling  coal. 


HERBERT  W.  SIMS. 


Herbert  W.  Sims  has  developed  the  largest  automobile  business  in  North  Dakota  and 
certainly  has  every  reason  to  be  proud  of  this  fact.  Along  well  defined  business  lines  he 
has  built  up  his  trade  and  since  1908,  when  the  Sims  Automobile  Company  of  Grand  Forks 
was  incorporated,  he  has  been  its  president.  His  residence  in  the  state  dates  from  1886,  at 
which  time  he  removed  from  Iowa  to  North  Dakota.  He  is,  however,  a  native  of  Minne- 
sota, his  birth  having  occurred  in  Fillmore  county,  October  10,  1867.  In  the  paternal  line 
he  is  descended  from  a  wealthy  and  prominent  family  of  Huddersfield,  England,  whose 
ancestry  may  be  traced  back  for  many  generations.  His  father,  John  Sims,  a  native  of 
England,  came  to  America  about  1848  and  was  a  pioneer  settler  of  Fillmore  county, 
Minnesota.  At  the  time  of  the  Civil  war  he  responded  to  the  country's  call  for  troops, 
serving  in   a  Minnesota  regiment  in  defense  of  the  Union  cause.     Throughout  the  greater 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  805 

part  of  his  life  lie  followed  at,'iicnltiiral  iHir.^uits  and  is  now  livin-  n'tir.-d  in  Cresco,  Iowa. 
His  ]>oliti«il  allegiance  lias  always  been  given  to  the  republican  party,  lie  married  Eliza- 
beth Woodward,  a  native  of  \ermont  and  a  representative  of  one  of  the  old  families  of 
that  state.     She  passed  away  at  Cresco,  Iowa,  May   12,  1909. 

Herbert  W.  Sims,  the  second  of  a  family  of  five  children,  was  educateil  in  the  public 
schools  of  Granger  and  Ciesco,  Iowa,  and  also  attended  college  at  Decorah,  Iowa,  and  the 
Breckenridge  Business  College.  When  eighteen  years  of  age  he  started  out  to  earn  his  own 
livelihood,  being  first  employed  as  a  farm  hand.  The  following  year  he  came  to  North 
Dakota,  settling  in  Walsh  county  on  the  7th  of  March,  1880.  His  father  provided  a  farm 
for  him  there  and  for  twenty  years  he  successfully  carried  on  general  agricultural  pursuits, 
bringing  his  land  under  a  high  state  of  cultivation  and  adding  to  it  many  modern  improve- 
ments. He  still  retains  a  part  of  his  farm  interests  in  that  county.  In  the  fall  of  1905, 
however,  he  turned  his  attention  to  the  automobile  business,  entering  into  a  contract  with 
the  Buick  Motor  Company,  becoming  its  first  representative  in  Walsh  county.  He  first 
carried  a  small  and  unimportant  stock  of  automobile  accessories  and  cars  but  developed 
the  largest  business  in  the  state,  becoming  the  representative  of  other  standard  lines. 
The  Sims  Automobile  Com])any  was  established  at  Grand  Forks  in  1908  and  following  its 
incorporation  Mr.  Sims  became  president,  with  C.  D.  Lord  as  vice  president,  J.  P.  Reiton 
treasurer,  Frank  Lord  secretary,  and  Earl  F.  Sims  assistant  secretary.  The  office  and  plant 
are  located  at  Xo.  321  North  Third  street  and  from  this  point  the  company  controls  an 
extensive  trade  which  is  the  direct  and  logical  outcome  of  the  enteri)rising  efforts,  close 
application   and   business   ability   of   the   founder. 

On  the  IGth  of  October,  1889,  at  Florenceville,  Iowa,  Mr.  Sims  was  united  in  marriage 
to  Miss  Nettie  M.  Reid,  a  d.uighter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  David  Reid  of  that  place,  both  of  whom 
are  now  deceased.  The  children  of  this  marriage  are:  Earl  F.,  who  was  born  at  Inkster, 
North  Dakota,  September  12,  1890,  and  is  now  associated  with  his  father  in  business;  Claude 
J.,  born  in  CVookston:  and  Esther  B..  who  was  born  in  Inkster  and  is  the  wife  of  Clement 
Woods,  of  Winnipeg. 

The  family  are  members  of  the  Methodist  church,  and  Mr.  Sims  belongs  to  the  JIasonic 
lodge,  the  Elks  lodge,  the  Foresters  and  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America.  He  is  also  a 
member  of  the  Grand  Forks  Commercial  Club.  In  politics  he  is  a  republican  but  takes  no 
active  part  as  a  worker  nor  has  he  sought  public  office.  While  living  in  Walsh  county  he 
served  as  treasurer  of  the  school  district  for  twenty  years.  He  is  never  remiss  in  the  duties 
of  citizenship  and  cooperates  in  plans  and  measures  for  the  general  good,  while  at  the  same 
time  he  wisely  and  carefully  manages  and  directs  his  constantly  growing  business  affairs 
until  todav  he  has  an  establishment  which  sets  the  standard  for  activity  in  that  field. 


W.  R.  HALL. 


W  R.  Hall,  publisher  of  the  Glen  I'llin  News  and  a  well  known  resident  of  Morton 
county,  was  born  in  Wabasha  county,  Minnesota,  in  1874.  His  father,  George  Hall,  was  a 
native  of  Lincolnshire,  England,  and  in  1848  came  to  the  United  States,  settling  first  in 
Illinois,  whence  he  afterward  removed  to  Minnesota,  where  he  died  in  1890.  He  married 
Cordelia  Drinkw-ater,  a  native  of  Fox  Lake,  Wisconsin,  and  now  a  resident  of  Montana, 
where  she  took  up  a  homestead  in  the  spring  of  1915,  residing  thereon  at  the  age  of  seventy- 
two  years.     To  Mr.  and  Mrs.  (Jeorge  Hall   were  born  fifteen  children. 

W.  R.  Hall,  the  seventh  in  that  family,  was  educated  in  the  schools  of  Minnesota,  where 
his  parents  had  located  in  pioneer  times,  taking  up  their  residence  in  the  state  in  1856  and 
there  experiencing  all  of  the  hardships  and  trials  incident  to  settlement  upon  the  frontier. 
W.  R.  Hall  was  reared  on  the  old  homestead  and  at  the  age  of  sixteen  years  entered  the 
printing  office  of  the  Mazeppa  .lournal,  published  at  Mazeppa,  Minnesota.  After  a  brief 
l)eriod.  however,  he  became  an  employe  in  the  ofiice  of  the  Winona  (Minn.)  Leader  and  there 
practically  learned  his  tra<le.  renuiining  in  that  office  for  about  a  year.  He  next  followed  the 
life  of  a  journeyman  printer  until  he  finally  settled  at  Glen  Ullin  in  1902.  In  December  of 
that  year  he  established  the  Glen  Ullin  News,  bringing  out  the  first  issue  of  the  paper  on  the 


806  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

26th  of  December.  The  enterprise  has  proven  a  growing  one  and  the  paper  now  has  a  cir- 
culation of  one  thousand.  It  is  published  as  an  independent  republican  sheet  and  is  circulated 
over  a  wide  territory.  It  was  the  first  paper  published  in  the  county  outside  of  Mandan  and 
it  has  proven  a  welcome  weekly  visitor  in  many  homes.  His  plant  is  equipped  in  accordance 
with  ideas  of  modern  newspaper  publication  and  in  addition  to  his  office  Mr.  Hall  owns 
considerable  city  real  estate,  having  made  judicious  investment  in  property. 

In  1905  Jlr.  Hall  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Irma  Lechtlcugner,  a  native  of  Ohio,  who 
when  six  years  of  age  was  taken  to  Glen  UUin  by  her  parents,  who  were  pioneers  of  that 
locality.  That  was  in  1885.  By  that  marriage  there  were  three  children  but  the  eldest  died 
in  infancy.  The  wife  and  mother  passed  away  December  16,  1914,  leaving  two  daughters, 
Lucille  and  Irma.  In  the  spring  of  1916  Mr.  Hall  was  again  married,  his  second  union  being 
with  Anna  Lechtleugner,  a  sister  of  his  first  wife.  Her  father  is  still  living  at  the  age  of 
seventy-five  years  and  makes  his  home  in  Hebron. 

Fraternally  Mr.  Hall  is  a  Mason,  belonging  to  the  lodge  and  chapter  at  Mandan,  also 
to  the  Elks  lodge  at  Mandan  and  to  the  Modern  Woodmen  camp  at  Glen  Ullin.  He  became 
a  charter  member  of  the  last  named,  in  w-hich  he  has  passed  through  all  of  the  chairs.  His 
political  allegiance  is  given  to  the  republican  party  and  while  he  is  a  firm  believer  in  its 
principles  he  is  not  an  active  party  worker.  However,  he  is  interested  in  everything  per- 
taining to  the  welfare  of  his  community  and  personally  nad  editorially  supports  every  plan 
or  measure  that  he  believes  to  be  for  the  general  good. 


JULIUS  E.  SOMMERFELD. 


Julius  E.  Sommerfeld  is  a  resident  farmer  of  Arthur  township,  Cass  county,  his  home 
being  on  section  18,  where  he  owns  and  cultivates  a  good  tract  of  land  that  in  its  neat  and 
thrifty  appearance  bears  evidence  of  his  careful  supervision  and  practical  methods.  A 
native  of  Wisconsin,  he  was  born  in  Marquette  county,  March  25,  1874,  a  son  of  Edward 
and  Henrietta  (Schwank)  Sommerfeld,  both  of  whom  were  natives  of  Germany.  The  father 
came  to  America  when  a  young  man  and  the  mother  crossed  the  Atlantic  in  her  girlhood 
days  with  her  parents.  They  were  married  in  Wisconsin  and  there  settled  upon  a  farm  in 
1887,  after  which  they  removed  to  North  Dakota,  where  Mr.  Sommerfeld  purchased  three 
hundred  and  twenty  acres,  constituting  the  north  half  of  section  35,  Arthur  township,  Cass 
count}'.  For  a  long  period  he  very  carefully,  systematically  and  energetically  carried  on 
general  agricultural  pursuits  but  in  1906  purchased  a  tract  of  land  adjoining  Arthur  on  the 
east  and  removed  thereto,  making  his  home  upon  that  place  until  his  death,  which  occurred 
March  15,  1904.  His  widow  still  survives  and  yet  occupies  the  farm,  the  residence  being 
in  the  town  limits  of  Arthur.  Mr.  Sommerfeld  was  a  soldier  in  the  Austrian-Prussian  war 
of  1866.  He  became  a  loyal  American  citizen  of  his  adopted  country  in  every  way  and  he 
gained  nianj'  warm  friends  during  the  period  of  his  residence  in  this  state. 

Spending  his  youthful  days  in  his  parents'  home,  .Julius  E.  Sommerfeld  attended  the 
common  schools  but  as  early  as  his  ninth  year  was  making  a  hand  in  the  fields.  He  was 
a  youth  of  thirteen  when  his  parents  removed  to  North  Dakota,  after  which  he  continued 
to  assist  his  father  in  the  development  and  improvement  of  the  home  farm  until  his  twenty- 
fourth  year.  In  1900  he  began  farming  on  his  own  account  on  a  quarter  section  of  land 
which  was  purchased  for  him  by  his  father,  whom  he  afterward  reimbursed  for  the  purchase 
price.  Julius  E.  Sommerfeld  then  continued  to  cultivate  and  develop  his  own  land  and  also 
other  land  which  he  rented.  He  has  devoted  his  entire  life  to  general  farming,  which  he  has 
carried  on  extensively  and  as  his  financial  resources  have  increased  he  has  added  to  his 
holdings  until  he  now  owns  six  hundred  and  forty  acres  of  valuable  land  in  Cass  county, 
constituting  one  of  the  fine  farms  of  that  part  of  the  state.  He  is  also  a  stockholder  in 
the  Farmers  Elevator  Company  of  Arthur  and  has  served  on  its  board  of  directors  from  its 
organization,  while  for  the  past  five  years  he  has  been  its  president,  in  which  connection 
he  has  wisely  directed  its  interests. 

In   1900   Mr.   Sommerfeld   was  united   in   marriage  to  Miss   Martha   Schmidt,   of   Traill 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  807 

county,  North  Dakota.     To   this   marriage   have   been   born   two   cliildren,   William   A.  and 
Edna  E. 

Politically  Mr.  Sommerfeld  is  a  republican,  recognized  as  one  of  the  local  leaders  of  the 
party  in  Cass  county.  For  many  years  he  has  served  as  a  member  of  the  town.sliip  board 
of  trustees  and  for  a  decade  has  been  chairman  of  the  board.  He  stands  at  all  times  for 
progress  and  improvement  in  public  affairs  and  his  efforts,  directed  by  sound  judgment,  and 
a  recognition  of  the  public  needs  result  beneficially  to  the  community  in  which  he  resides. 
He  and  his  family  are  members  of  the  German  Lutheran  church  and  to  them  the  hospitality 
of  the  best  homes  of  their  part  of  the  county  is  extended.  Mr.  Sommerfeld  is  recognized 
as  one  of  the  foremost  citizens  of  Arthur  township  and  has  been  prominent  in  every  move- 
ment for  the  welfare  and  advancement  of  the  district. 


CARL  J.  SORLIEN. 


Carl  J.  Sorlien,  president  of  The  Farmers  Mercantile  Company  of  Rawson,  is  a  native 
of  Iowa,  his  birth  having  occurred  at  Bode,  Humboldt  county,  on  the  23d  of  February,  1S87, 
his  parents  being  .John  H.  and  Bertha  (Knudslien)  Sorlien.  The  father,  a  native  of  Norway, 
acquired  his  education  in  that  country  and  in  young  manhood  made  his  way  to  the  new 
world,  settling  in  Iowa,  where  he  secured  employment  as  a  farm  hand.  Later  he  engaged 
in  farming  and  stock  buj'ing  on  his  own  account  and  became  one  of  the  prosperous  agri- 
culturists of  Humboldt  county.  His  land,  which  he  purchased  many  years  ago,  constitutes 
today  one  of  the  most  highly  improved  farms  near  Bode  and  is  now  being  carried  on  by 
his  sons.  Upon  that  place  he  reared  a  large  family  and  there  passed  away  in  1907.  His 
wife  was  also  born  in  Norway  and  in  young  womanhood  came  to  the  United  States,  their 
marriage  being  celebrated  in  Bode,  Iowa,  where  she  still  resides.  The  Sorlien  Brothers 
baseball  team,  a  well  known  and  famous  team  of  Bode,  is  composed  of  nine  sons  of  Mr. 
and  Mrs.  John  H.  Sorlien.  To  this  team  Carl  J.  Sorlien  belongs  and  they  play  all  over  the 
covintry,  especially  with   college  teams. 

Carl  J.  Sorlien,  after  attending  the  district  schools,  became  a  student  in  the  Bode  high 
school  and  later  attended  the  Luther  College  at  Decorah,  Iowa,  the  Humboldt  Business  Col- 
lege and  the  Mankato  (Minn.)  Business  College.  Early  in  his  business  career  he  was  employed 
as  field  man  by  the  Iowa  Sugar  Company  of  low.a  and  later  he  secured  the  position  of  book- 
keeper and  assistant  cashier  in  the  Farmers  Savings  Bank  at  Ottosen,  Iowa.  Later  he  was 
connected  with  the  First  State  Bank  at  Bergen,  McHenry  county,  North  Dakota,  entering 
that  institution  as  assistant  cashier  in  1911,  his  brother  being  cashier  of  the  bank.  After 
two  years  Carl  J.  Sorlien  became  one  of  the  organizers  of  the  Farmers  State  Bank  at  Raw- 
son  just  after  the  town  was  laid  out  in  September,  1913.  He  was  chosen  cashier  of  the  new 
institution  and  so  continued  until  February,  1916,  when  he  resigned  to  become  president  of 
The  Farmers  Mercantile  Company,  a  corporation  which  was  formed  for  the  purpose  of  con- 
ducting a  general  merchandise  business.  They  built  a  fine  modern  store  building,  own  their 
electric  light  plant  and  have  a  splendidly  equipped  establishment.  They  today  enjoy  a  most 
extensive  trade,  their  business  having  now  reached  most  gratifying  proportions.  Mr.  Sor- 
lien remains  active  in  the  conduct  of  the  business  and  in  fact  its  prosperity  is  attributable 
in  no  small  measure  to  his  efforts,  enterprise,  keen  discernment  and  initiative  spirit. 

On  the  23d  of  March,  1911,  at  Bode,  Iowa,  Mr.  Sorlien  was  united  in  marriage  to  iUss 
Inga  Kinseth,  who  was  born  at  Bode  and  there  pursued  a  high  school  course,  after  which  she 
attended  Humboldt  College.  Later  she  engaged  in  teaching  in  Humboldt  county.  Iowa.  She 
is  a  daughter  of  Lars  and  Bertha  Kinseth,  natives  of  Norway,  who  became  farming  people  of 
Humboldt  county,  Iowa,  where  the  father  passed  away,  while  the  mother  is  now  living  in 
Bode.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Sorlien  have  two  children:  Inez,  who  was  born  in  Bergen,  December 
25.  1911:  and  Carl  C.  .!.,  born  October  18,  1914.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Sorlien  are  members  of  the 
Lutheran  church,  in  the  work  of  which  she  takes  an  active  interest.  In  politics  he  is  a 
republican  and  fraternally  is  connected  with  the  Elks  lodge  at  AVilliston.  He  realized 
at  the  outset  of  his  career  that  "there  is  no  excellence  without  labor"  and,  moroovc.-.  thor- 
oughly understood  the  fact  that  one  must  be  willing  to  pay  the  price  of  success — the  price 


808  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

of  earnest,  self-denying  labor.  His  persistent  effort  and  unfaltering  purpose  have  brought 
him  to  his  present  position  and  under  his  guidance  the  mercantile  company  has  become  a 
most  potent  factor  in  the  commercial  development  of  the  town. 


.JOHN  KITTLESEX. 


.John  Kittlesen,  who  follows  farming  on  section  IT.  Dows  townsliip,  Cass  county,  was 
born  in  Dodge  county.  Minnesota,  April  3,  1866,  a  son  of  Ivittel  and  Anna  Osmonsen  (Wilson) 
Ivittlesen,  both  of  whom  were  natives  of  Norway.  They  came  to  the  United  States  in 
childhood,  the  father  arriving  when  fourteen  years  of  age  and  the  mother  when  a  little 
maiden  of  nine  summers.  The  voyage  was  made  with  their  respective  parents  and  the 
two  families  settled  at  Rio.  Long  Prairie,  Wisconsin,  where  the  3'oung  people  became 
acquainted  and  were  married.  Subsequently  they  removed  to  Dodge  county,  Minnesota, 
where  they  resided  until  called  to  their   final  home. 

John  Kittlesen  was  reared  under  the  parental  roof  and  acquired  his  education  in  the 
common  schools.  When  seventeen  years  of  age  he  became  a  wage  earner,  working  as  a 
farm  hand  in  Dodge  county,  Minnesota,  for  three  years.  In  1886  he  arrived  in  North 
Dakota,  making  his  way  first  to  Hunter,  Cass  countj',  where  he  secured  employment  as  a 
farm  hand,  spending  two  years  in  that  connection.  In  1888  he  purchased  from  another 
man  his  right  to  a  preemption  claim  in  Nelson  county  but  never  proved  up  on  it.  In 
1890  he  rented  a  farm  west  of  Hunter  and  took  up  his  abode  thereon,  concentrating  his 
energies  upon  the  development  and  cultivation  of  the  fields.  He  continued  farming  as  a 
renter  until  1895,  during  which  period  he  carefully  saved  his  earnings  until  his  industry 
and  economy  had  brought  him  suflicient  capital  to  enable  him  to  purchase  four  hundred 
and  eighty  acres  of  land  where  he  now  resides  on  section  17,  Dows  township.  Cass  county. 
The  following  year  he  purchased  three  hundred  and  twenty  acres  additional;  in  1899 
bought  one  hundred  and  sixty  acres  more  and  in  1911  purchased  a  farm  of  one  hundred 
and  sixty  acres  in  Traill  county,  making  his  present  holdings  eleven  hundred  and  twenty 
acres,  so  that  he  is  now  one  of  the  extensive  land  owners  in  this  part  of  the  state.  He  is 
also  a  stockholder  in  the  Galesburg  Farmers  Elevator  Company  and  a  stockholder  in  the 
Ualesburg   Cooperative   Creamery   Company. 

Mr.  Kittlesen  was  married  January  13,  1887.  to  Miss  Sarah  Alden,  of  Coodhue  county, 
Minnesota,  and  to  this  union  have  been  born  five  children,  but  only  four  survive,  Elmer, 
Emma,  Tilda  and  Sedna.  In  his  political  views  Mr.  Kittlesen  is  independent.  He  belongs 
to  the  Norwegian  Lutheran  church  and  contributes  generously  to  its  support.  By  well 
directed  efforts  and  unfaltering  industry  he  has  become  one  of  the  wealthy  farmers  of 
Cass  county  and  has  taken  an  active  part  in  transforming  the  pioneer  state  of  North 
Dakota  into  which  he  made  his  way  in  1886,  into  one  of  the  great  agricultural  states  of 
the  LTnion. 


M.  R.  KEITH. 


Mr.  R.  Keith,  attorney  at  law  at  Kenmare,  was  born  in  Minneapolis,  Minnesota,  May  15, 
1884,  a  son  of  M.  C.  and  Eliza  A.  (Messenger)  Keith.  The  father  was  born  in  Augusta,  Maine. 
September  16,  1836,  and  the  mother's  birth  occurred  in  Huntington,  Lorain  county,  Ohio, 
June  23,  1843.  The  father  was  in  the  naval  service  in  the  war  of  the  rebellion  and  saw 
active  duty  at  Fortress  ^Monroe,  where  he  was  wounded.  He  was  a  ilason  in  good  standing. 
On  the  maternal  side  the  ancestry  is  traced  back  to  the  Pitt  family  of  England,  to  which 
belonged  William  Pitt,  who  proved  the  friend  of  the  American  colonists  at  the  time  of 
and  prior  to  the  Revolutionary  war.  The  great-great-grandfather  of  M.  R.  Keith  in  the 
maternal  line  was  named  Elijah  Humphrey.  He  saw  service  in  the  Revolution,  enlisting 
at  Dudley,  Worcester  county,  Massachusetts,  January  2,  1781,  for  a  three  j'ears'  term. 
He  had  previously  enlisted  in  the  Sixth  Regiment,  Connecticut,  and  became  captain  on  the 
Tst  of  .January,  1777.     On  the  Keith  side  the  ancestry  can  be  traced  back  to  an  early  period 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  809 

in  Massachusetts.  The  Hist  Ameritaii  ancestor  i)t  that  name  came  from  Scotland  and  was 
ordained  a  minister  in  tlie  colony  of  Massacliusetls.  In  Scotland  tlie  Keiths  were  earls 
marshal  of  Scotland  for  live  generations  and  were  tlie  owners  of  Castle  Dunnotar,  which 
was  razed  by  the  English  in  their  attempt  to  obtain  crown  jewels  which  were  then  in 
|Kissession  of  the  Keith   family   by  reason  of  the  ollice   lilled  by   the  head  of  the   family. 

Passing  through  consecutive  grades  in  the  public  schools  of  his  native  city,  M.  R.  Keith 
eventually  became  a  student  in  the  Central  high  school  and  later  in  preparation  for  a  pro- 
fessional career  entered  the  law  department  of  the  University  of  Minnesota,  from  which 
he  was  graduated  in  1905.  He  was  afterward  employed  iu  the  banking  department  of  the 
Minnesota  Loan  &  Trust  Company  but  early  in  1907  removed  to  Kenmare,  where  he  opened 
a  law  office  and  has  since  engaged  in  ])ractice,  lieing  accorded  a  good  clientage  that  has 
connected  him  with  mucli  important  litigation.  He  has  also  extended  his  activities  into 
other  fields  and  is  a  stockholder  and  ollicial  in  several  corporations,  being  now  a  director 
of  the  Xational  Briquetting  Company  of  Sioux  Falls,  South  ])akota,  which  has  its  plant  in 
Kenmare;  the  president  and  one  of  the  directors  of  the  Western  CYedit  Inspection  Com- 
pany of  Minot;  a  director  of  the  Keith-Jensen  Mortgage  Company,  liaving  its  hea<lquarters 
at  Kenmare;  and  ])resident  and  a  director  of  the  Farmers  State  Bank  at  Wolf  Point, 
Montana.  He  possesses  sound  business  judgment  and  keen  discrimination  and  his  invest- 
ments have  been  wisely  and  judiciously  made. 

In  September,  1907,  occurred  the  marriage  of  Mr.  Keith  and  Miss  Anna  Belle  Van 
Eman,  of  Minneapolis,  Minnesota,  who  was  born  in  Delano,  Minnesota,  and  was  largely 
reared  and  educated  in  Faribault,  that  state.  She  pursued  a  teacher's  preparatory  course 
in  Minneapolis  and  for  a  time  taught  school,  while  later  she  took  a  business  college  course 
and  was  appointed  stenographer  of  the  Minnesota  supreme  court,  occujiying  that  position 
of  responsibility  up  to  the  time  of  her  marriage. 

Fraternally  Mr.  Keith  is  connected  with  the  Masonic  lodge  at  Kenmare,  in  which  he 
lias  served  as  senior  deacon.  In  politics  he  is  a  republican  and  several  times  has  been  a 
member  of  the  Ward  county  executive  committee,  while  at  different  times  he  has  been 
called  upon  to  fill  local  offices.  While  an  active  worker  in  support  of  party  principles, 
he  is  not  ambitious  to  hold  office,  considering  the  pursuits  of  private  life  as  in  tliemselves 
abundantlv    worthv    of   his   best   efforts. 


GEORGE  E.  BOUER. 


Coming  to  North  Dakota  in  1898  for  the  benefit  of  his  health,  George  E.  Bouer  was 
so  pleased  with  the  state,  its  conditions  and  its  possibilities  that  he  became  a  permanent 
resident  and  is  now  actively  and  successfully  engaged  in  the  real  estate  and  insurance 
business  at  Courtenay.  A  native  of  Michigan,  he  was  born  in  Detroit,  February  2,  1873, 
and  is  a  son  of  William  A.  and  Margaret  Bouer,  the  former  a  native  of  Alsace-Lorraine, 
while  the  latter  was  born  in  Quebec,  Canada.  When  quite  young  William  A.  Bouer  was 
brought  by  his  parents  to  the  new  world,  the  family  liome  being  established  in  Pennsyl- 
vania. He  afterward  removed  westward  to  Michigan,  where  he  spent  the  greater  pare 
of  his  life.  He  became  a  shoe  manufacturer,  owning  and  operating  a  factory  in  Detroit 
which  became  an  important  productive  industry  of  that  city.  He  died  in  the  year  1884, 
while  his  wife  passed  away  in  1873.     In  their  family  were  four  children. 

George  K.  Bouer  acquired  his  early  education  in  Milwaukee,  Wisconsin,  and  contin- 
ued his  studies  in  the  schools  of  Denver,  Colorado.  He  afterward  learned  the  printer's  trade 
and  worked  on  the  Rocky  Mountain  News  of  Denver  for  a  period  of  three  years  and  sub- 
sequently he  entered  the  employ  of  the  Denver  Water  Company,  with  which  he  remained 
until  tiiat  business  was  consolidated  witli  the  Citizens  Water  Company  after  he  had  been 
in  the  service  of  the  former  corporation  for  four  or  five  years.  Mr.  Bouer  then  removed  to 
Milwaukee  and  became  city  salesman  for  the  Milwaukee  Blank  Book  Manufacturing  Com- 
pany, with  which  he  continued  for  two  years.  Failing  liealth  cau.sed  him  to  change  his 
occupation  upon  the  advice  of  his  physician,  who  told  him  that  he  had  better  live  in  the 
country    for  a   time.     Accordingly   he   arrived   in   North   Dakota    in    1898   and   settled    near 


810  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

Courtenay,  working  on  the  farm  of  E.  H.  Horn,  with  whom  he  remained  for  sixteen  months. 
He  afterward  filed  on  a  quarter  section  located  a  mile  and  a  half  from  the  town  of  Courte- 
nay and  in  the  course  of  time  received  his  title  to  the  property.  For  five  years  he  lived 
upon  that  place,  but  being  a  city  bred  man  he  did  not  make  much  of  a  success  at  farming, 
for  his  experience  and  training  had  all  been  along  other  lines.  In  1905  he  opened  an  ofEce  in 
Courtenay  and  established  a  collection  agency,  which  proved  a  profitable  undertaking  from 
the  beginning.  Later  he  extended  the  scope  of  his  business  to  include  insurance  and  he  subse- 
quently began  dealing  in  real  estate.  From  the  beginning  he  has  met  with  success  and 
now  has  a  large  clientage  which  has  resulted  in  his  negotiation  of  many  important  realty 
transfers.  He  is  likewise  a  stockholder  in  the  garage  of  Courtenay  and  al-so  in  the  Farmers 
Elevator. 

In  1899  ilr.  Bouer  married  Miss  Anna  B.  Milne,  who  was  born  in  Scotland  in  1880  but 
left  the  land  of  hills  and  heather  in  1S8G,  when  brought  by  her  parents,  William  and 
Margaret  S.  Milne,  to  the  new  world.  They  settled  on  a  farm  near  Courtenay,  where  they 
remained  until  the  death  of  the  father  in  November,  1896.  The  mother  still  survives  and 
makes  her  home  in  Courtenay.  The  family  numbered  seven  children,  of  whom  Mrs.  Bouer 
is  the  second.  To  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Bouer  have  been  born  three  children,  William  A.,  Ernest 
R.  and  Morris  M. 

Mr.  Bouer  is  a  stalwart  republican  and  has  supported  the  party  since  age  conferred 
upon  him  the  right  of  franchise.  He  is  at  present  justice  of  the  peace  in  Courtenay,  which 
position  he  has  occupied  for  the  past  fifteen  years,  and  his  long  continuance  in  office  plainly 
indicates  that  his  decisions  have  been  fair  and  impartial,  being  based  upon  the  law  and 
the  equity  in  the  case.  He  is  a  member  of  Liberty  Lodge,  jS'o.  72,  I.  0.  U.  F.,  and  of  the 
Knights  of  Pythias  lodge  at  Wimbledon.  In  the  former  he  has  passed  through  all  of  the 
chairs  and  is  the  present  giand  master.  He  belongs  to  the  Courtenay  Presbyterian  church 
and  of  the  volunteer  fire  department  of  Courtenay  he  is  a  member.  The  various  interests 
and  activities  of  his  life  arc  well  balanced.  He  is  neglectful  of  none  of  the  duties  of  citi- 
zenship, is  ever  ready  to  uphold  the  legal  and  moral  status  of  the  community  and  in  his 
business  affairs  has  manifested  a  spirit  of  enterprise  which  is  the  basis  of  lioiiorable 
success. 


GEORGE  J.  BOHRER. 


George  J.  Bohrer  is  conducting  a  hardware  and  implement  business  at  Cathay  and  is 
at  the  head  of  one  of  the  large  and  important  commercial  enterprises  of  Wells  county. 
He  draws  his  trade  from  a  wide  territory  and  the  volume  of  business  which  he  annually 
transacts  would  be  a  credit  to  a  city  of  much  greater  size.  Mr.  Bohrer  was  born  in  St. 
Paul  in  1876,  his  parents  being  J.  H.  and  Elizabeth  (Miller)  Bohrer,  the  former  a  native 
of  Indiana  and  the  latter  of  Ohio.  The  father  was  a  hardware  dealer  who  spent  the 
greater  part  of  his  active  business  life  in  St.  Paul,  where  he  is  now  living  retired,  but 
his  wife  passed  away  in  March,  1908.  All  their  six  children,  of  whom  George  J.  Bohrer 
is  the  eldest,  are  still  living. 

George  J.  Bohrer  was  a  city  bred  boy  and  the  public  school  system  of  St.  Paul 
afforded  him  his  educational  privileges.  He  received  his  business  training  under  hia 
father's  direction,  working  in  the  store  at  St.  Paul  until  about  twenty  years  of  age. 
He  then  entered  the  employ  of  Farwell,  Ozmun  &,  Kirk,  wholesale  hardware  dealers  of 
St.  Paul.  In  1898,  he  came  to  North  Dakota,  representing  the  credit  department  of  the 
above  house,  with  which  he  remained  until  1904.  The  following  year  he  removed  to 
Cathay,  where  he  embarked  in  the  hardware  and  implement  business  on  his  own  account, 
and  from  the  beginning  his  trade  has  steadily  grown  until  it  is  now  of  large  volume, 
necessitating  the  employment  of  five  clerks.  He  has  enlarged  the  store  building  which  he 
occupies,  also  has  two  warehouses  and  is  constantly  increasing  his  stock  to  meet  the 
growing  demands  of  the  patronage.  His  interest  centers  entirely  in  his  present  business, 
which  is  now  one  of  the  most  important  commercial  concerns  of  Wells  county.  He  is, 
however,  the  owner  of  farm  property  and  of  property  at  Portal,  North  Dakota,  from  which 
h.e  secures  a  good   rental. 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  813 

In  1899  Mr.  Bolirer  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Catherine  Lotza,  who  was  born 
in  Iowa  in  1877,  a  daughter  of  Josepli  and  Emily  Lotza,  both  early  residents  of  that  state, 
wliere  they  still  make  their  home,  the  father  being  engaged  in  general  farming.  Mr.  and 
Mrs.  Bohrer  have  become  parents  of  four  children:  Charles,  born  in  1900;  Caroline,  in 
1901;  Arthur,  in  1900;  and  George,  in  1908. 

Mr.  Hiilner  gives  his  political  allegiance  to  the  republican  party  and  for  nine  years  he 
was  a  faithful  and  able  member  of  the  town  board.  He  also  served  on  the  school  board 
for  a  period  of  nine  years.  Fraternally  he  is  connected  with  the  Knights  of  Pythias  lodge 
of  Cathay,  in  which  he  has  filled  all  the  chairs,  and  he  belongs  to  the  Knights  of  the 
Alaccabecs  at  Cathay  and  to  the  Lutheran  church.  In  a  word,  he  is  interested  in  all  those 
forces  which  work  for  the  development  of  town  and  county  along  material,  intellectual, 
social,  political  and  moral  lines  and  his  activities  have  been  productive  of  good  results 
not  only  in  the  attainment  of  business  success  but  also  in  the  accomplishment  of  those 
purposes  which  work  for  the  uplift  of  the  individual  and  the  community. 


W.  H.  MANN. 


W.  H.  Mann,  actively  identified  with  business  interests  at  New  Salem  as  a  merchant, 
banker  and  real  estate  dealer,  was  born  in  Germany  in  1857,  a  son  of  George  F.  and  Cliristina 
Mann,  who  spent  their  entire  lives  in  their  native  country,  both  having  now  passed  away. 

W.  H.  Mann,  who  was  one  of  a  family  of  seven  children,  was  the  only  one  who  came 
to  the  United  States.  After  acquiring  his  education  in  Germany  he  crossed  the  Atlantic 
in  1881,  making  his  waj'  to  Chicago,  where  he  again  attended  school  in  order  to  acquaint 
himself  with  the  Knglish  language  and  with  the  customs  of  the  people.  He  had  previously 
learned  the  cabinet  maker's  trade  and  he  followed  that  pursuit  in  Chicago  until  1883,  when 
he  came  to  Dakota  territory.  He  settled  at  once  in  New  Salem,  Morton  county,  and  assisted 
in  building  the  first  house  in  the  town.  He  continued  to  follow  carpentering  until  1888  and 
his  home  was  the  third  building  erected  in  New  Salem.  He  opened  a  furniture  store  in  the 
town  in  188."!  and  then  devoted  his  attention  to  his  store  and  to  carpentering  as  well.  With 
the  development  of  the  community  his  trade  grew  and  in  1888  he  added  a  stock  of  general 
merchandise,  so  that  he  is  now  proprietor  of  a  general  store.  His  mercantile  establishment 
was  one  of  the  first  stores  opened  in  the  town.  Between  forty  and  fifty  families  settled 
in  New  Salem  on  the  7th  of  April,  1883,  and  on  the  Sunday  following  their  arrival  a  side 
track  was  put  in  and  the  town  was  started.  There  were  but  three  farmers  in  that  band  of 
colonists,  the  rest  being  professional  men  and  merchants,  but  they  made  good  in  farming 
and  have  become  wealthy.  In  1889  Mr.  Mann  established  the  first  creamery  in  North  Dakota 
west  of  the  Missouri  and  managed  it  for  a  period  of  two  years.  Four  years  later  a  cor- 
poration of  business  men  of  New  Salem  established  another  creamery,  which  has  since  been 
a  paying  proposition.  In  1889  there  was  an  uprising  among  the  Standing  Rock  Indians 
which  caused  much  excitement  in  New  Salem.  The  government  sent  both  rilles  and  ammuni- 
tion to  the  soldiers  with  which  they  might  defend  themselves.  The  scare,  however,  lasted 
for  a  period  of  only  three  months,  when  New  Salem  again  took  up  its  regular  life.  In  the 
town  were  about  forty  men  who  had  been  trained  as  soldiers  in  the  German  army  and  there 
was  as  well  a  cavalry  troop  of  about  twelve  members  which  patrolled  the  town  until  the 
Indians  had  been  renelled. 

In  1883  they  established  a  Lutheran  church  and  school,  which  was  tlie  first  in  New 
Salem.  An  entrance  fee  of  twenty  dollars  was  charged  and  thus  the  b\iildings  were  paid 
for.  The  Rev.  Henry  Gyr  was  the  first  minister  and  the  townspeople  carefully  met  their 
obligations   in   relation  to  the  church. 

In  1 880  Mr.  Mann  was  married  in  Chicago  to  Jliss  Anna  I.uiiige.  a  native  of  Germany, 
and  to  them  were  born  seven  children:  Henry,  now  proprietor  of  a  hotel  at  IClIcndale, 
North  Dakota;  Otto,  a  resident  of  Wesby,  Montana;  Mrs.  Anna  Grauer,  living  at  Cleveland, 
North  Dakota;  Paul,  a  banker  of  Hebron,  North  Dakota;  Lena,  who  is  teacher  of  music  and 
drawing  in  the  New  Salem  schools;  and  Fritz  and  Ella,  who  are  assisting  their  father  in 
the  store. 


814  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

111  1896  Mr.  Mann,  in  connection  with  John  Bloodwood,  established  the  town  of  Mann 
Haven  and  in  connection  they  built  a  steamboat  which  made  trips  from  the  new  town  to 
Bismarck.  At  the  same  time  Mr.  Mann  turned  his  attention  to  the  real  estate  business, 
in  which  he  has  since  engaged.  In  1908  he  was  appointed  railroad  commissioner,  which 
office  he  is  now  holding.  His  life  has  been  one  of  continuous  activity,  constantly  reaching 
out  along  lines  which  have  to  do  with  the  upbuilding  and  development  of  this  section  of  the 
state.  In  1903,  in  connection  with  a  Mr.  Bacon,  of  Minneapolis,  and  A.  D.  Clarke,  he  organ- 
ized the  First  National  Bank  of  New  Salem,  which  was  capitalized  for  twenty-five  thousand 
dollars.  In  1910  he  took  a  leading  part  in  establishing  the  Farmers  &  Merchants  Bank  of 
New  Salem,  which  is  capitalized  for  twenty  thousand  dollars,  and  a  thing  of  which  New 
Salem  has  every  reason  to  be  proud  is  the  fact  that  the  town  has  the  record  of  having  the 
largest  per  capita  bank  account  of  any  town  in  the  state.  Mr.  Mann  was  also  one  of  those 
who  established  the  Provident  Life  Insurance  Company  of  Bismarck  and  in  1900  he  was 
among  those  who  organized  the  Mercer  County  Land  Company,  which  purchased  fifty-three 
thousand  acres  of  Mercer  county  land.  His  business  afl'airs  have  alwaj^s  been  of  a  nature 
which  have  contributed  to  public  progress  and  improvement  as  well  as  to  individual  success. 

In  politics  Mr.  Mann  is  a  republican  and  he  has  held  practically  all  of  the  offices  in  his 
town.  During  the  "903  he  served  for  two  terms  as  mayor  of  New  Salem  and  he  is  directly 
responsible  for  one  of  North  Dakota's  parks,  having  planted  trees  and  set  aside  a  plot  of 
ground  in  the  center  of  New  Salem  for  park  purposes.  For  sixteen  years  he  has  served  on 
the  school  board  and  was  one  of  its  members  when  the  new  schoolhouse  was  erected  at  a 
cost  of  fifteen  thousand  dollars.  In  fact  there  is  no  feature  of  the  town's  development  and 
progress  with  which  he  has  not  been  deeply  concerned  and  his  work  has  been  a  most  potent 
element  in  advancing  the  general  welfare  and  promoting  the  public  good. 


G.  H.  COFFIN,  M.  D. 


Dr.  G.  H.  Coffin,  physician  and  surgeon  and  also  proprietor  of  Drake  Hospital  at  Drake, 
McHenry  county,  has.  throughout  his  professional  career  held  to  high  standards  and  closely 
adhered  to  professional  ethics.  He  was  born  at  Lake  Minnetonka,  Minnesota,  on  the  1st  of 
October,  1879,  a  son  of  Frank  S.  and  Jemima  (Brandon)  Coffin,  the  latter  also  a  native  of 
Lake  Minnetonka,  where  the  father  operated  a  creamery  and  conducted  a  general  store  for 
more  than  forty  years.  He  was,  however,  a  native  of  Indiana.  In  1904  he  retired  from 
active  business  and  removed  to  Seattle,  where  he  died  of  heart  failure  while  delivering  a 
Memorial  day  address  before  the  Dwamisli  school  of  Seattle  on  the  29th  of  May.  1916.  He 
was  a  Civil  war  veteran  and  went  through  North  Dakota  with  General  Siblej'  of  the  Sixth 
Minnesota  during  the  Indian  uprising,  serving  for  a  year  on  the  western  frontier  and  then 
going  to  the  south,  where  he  further  aided  in  the  defense  of  the  country.  His  widow  still 
survives  and  is  now  living  in  Seattle. 

At  the  usual  age  Dr.  Coffin  became  a  pupil  in  the  public  schools  near  his  home  and  after- 
ward attended  high  school  at  Delano,  Minnesota.  Still  later  he  took  a  preparatory  course 
in  Pillsbury  Academy  at  Minneapolis  and  upon  the  broad  foundation  of  liberal  literary  cul- 
ture he  began  building  the  superstructure  of  professional  knowledge.  He  took  up  the  study 
of  medicine  in  1900,  at  which  time  he  became  a  student  in  the  medical  department  of  Ham- 
line  University,  now  the  medical  department  of  the  Universitj'  of  Minnesota.  He  was 
graduated  from  that  institution  with  the  class  of  1904  and  afterward  served  as  interne 
in  St.  Mary's  Hospital  for  a  year.  In  1905  he  went  to  Seattle,  looking  for  a  favorable  loca- 
tion in  the  northwest,  but  afterward  he  returned  to  Bonners  Ferry,  Idaho,  where  he  was 
placed  in  charge  of  a  railroad  construction  hospital  for  the  Spokane  International  Railroad. 
He  remained  in  that  position  for  about  a  year  and  in  1906  he  became  a  resident  of  Dogden, 
where  he  remained  in  successful  practice  until  April.  1914,  when  he  opened  an  office  in  Drake. 
On  the  1st  of  .June,  1916,  he  established  the  Drake  Hospital  with  eight  beds  and  in  the  inter- 
vening period  to  the  present  time  he  has  built  up  an  enviable  reputation  which  places  him 
in  the  front  rank  of  medical  practitioners  in  the  northwestern  part  of  the  state.  He  studies 
closely  everything  bearing  upon  professional  interests  and  activities  and  is  much  interested 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  815 

ill  cvi'ivtliiii';  that  teiuls  t(i  l)iiii^'  to  iiKiii  the  key  to  tlic  i-onii)lcx  inysti'r.v  wliicli  we  ciill  life. 
Ill  .lune,  1907,  Dr.  CoHiii  was  married  to  Miss  Carrie  Vackcl,  of  St.  Charles.  Missouri, 
and  they  have  become  the  parents  of  a  son,  Frank  H.  Uf.  Coflin  is  an  exemplary  representa- 
tive of  Dogden  Lodge,  No.  109,  F.  &  A.  M.,  and  also  belongs  to  Drake  l>odge,  No.  108,  I.  0. 
().  v..  and  to  Minot  Lodge,  No.  1089,  13.  P.  0.  E.  His  connections  along  strictly  professional 
lims  arc  with  the  Northwestern  District  Medical  Society,  the  North  Dakota  State  Medical 
Society  and  the  American  Medical  Association.  He  is  railway  surgeon  for  the  Soo  Line 
and  his  ability  in  both  medical  and  surgical  practice  is  pronounced.  He  has  not  only  closely 
studied  the  great  scicntilic  ])rinci]des  underlying  his  work  but  he  has  discriminating  judg- 
ment and  ready  tact  and,  moreover,  he  carries  into  the  sick  room  a  spirit  of  helpfulness  and 
gooil  cheer,  which  always  constitutes  an  encouraging  featiin'   in  the  treatment  of  a   patient. 


M.  R.  MAYER. 


.M.  K.  Mayer,  projiiictor  ot  the  (ire;it  Northern  Hotel  at  Devils  Lake  and  therefore  well 
known,  has  in  the  conduct  of  his  business  displayed  an  initiative  spirit  and  unfailing  enter- 
prise jiroductive  of  most  substantial  results.  He  has  made  the  hotel  an  institution  of 
which  the  city  has  every  reason  to  be  proud,  conducting  it  according  to  the  most  modern 
methods  of  hotel  keeping.  Mr.  Mayer  was  born  in  Illinois.  October  21,  1877,  his  parents 
being  M.  ^\.  and  Elizabeth  Mayer.  The  father  has  now  passed  away  but  the  mother  is 
living. 

At  the  usual  age  ^[.  K.  ilayer  became  a  pupil  in  the  public  schools  of  Illinois,  and  passed 
through  consecutive  grades  to  the  high  school.  He  also  made  preparation  for  West  Point 
but  turned  his  attention  in  other  lines,  becoming  connected  with  the  hotel  business.  He 
was.  as  it  were,  "to  the  manner  born"  for  his  father  and  giandfather  were  liotel  men  and 
inherited  tendency  as  well  as  natural  ])rcdilection  may  therefore  have  had  much  to  do  with 
shaping  his  choice  of  a  business  career.  He  came  to  North  Dakota  in  1909  and  in  March, 
1911,  arrived  at  Devils  Lake.  The  Great  Northern  Hotel,  of  which  he  is  now  proprietor,  was 
then  in  course  of  construction.  It  covers  an  entire  floor  and  is  one  of  the  finest  hostleries 
of  the  state.  On  the  1st  of  .January,  1914,  he  took  over  the  management  of  the  hotel,  in 
which  he  employs  forty  people.  The  hotel  contains  one  hundred  and  forty-five  rooms  at- 
tractively furnished  and  is  famous  for  its  e.vcellent  cuisine  and  for  its  unrelaxing  attention 
to  the  comforts  and  wishes  of  patrons.  Every  effort  is  put  forth  to  render  the  best  service 
possible  and  under  the  guidance  of  ilr.  >rayer  the  Great  Northern  has  become  one  of  the 
finest  and  most  lilK'ially  patronized  hotels  of  the  northwest. 

In  1900  was  celebrated  the  marriage  of  Mr.  Mayer  and  Miss  Cleo  Skinner,  by  whom  he 
has  one  daughter,  Dorothy.  He  is  a  Protestant  in  religious  faith  and  a  republican  in  his 
political  views,  but  the  honors  and  emoluments  of  oftice  have  no  attraction  for  him.  In 
Masonry  he  has  attained  high  rank,  as  is  indicated  by  his  connection  with  the  Mystic 
Shrine,  and  he  also  belongs  to  the  Benevolent  Protective  Order  of  Elks.  Mr.  Mayer  is  a 
man  of  genial,  jovial  disposition,  popular  with  all.  He  has  a  very  extensive  acquaintance 
and  those  wlio  come  in  contact  with  him  find  him  thoroughly  reliable  and  progressive  in  all 
that  he  undertakes.  He  stands  for  progress  and  improvement  in  public  affairs  and  can  be 
counted  upon  to  support  any  movement  for  the  benefit  and  upbuilding  of  his  city. 


PETER  G.  ANDERSON. 


Peter  G.  An<lerson.  since  1904  a  resident  of  North  Dakota  and  now  cashier  of  the  Citizens 
Bank  of  Ambrose,  was  born  in  Yellow  Medicine  county,  Minnesota,  near  Granite  Falls,  Feb- 
ruary 6,  1873,  a  son  of  Gustave  and  Mary  (Matson)  Anderson.  Tlie  father,  a  native  of  Nor- 
■  way.  came  to  America  with  his  parents  when  a  lad  of  six  years,  settling  in  Iowa  county, 
Wisconsin,  where  he  was  reared  and  attended  district  school.  He  afterward  took  up  the 
occupation  of  farming  and  in  Wisconsin  he  wedded  ilary  Matson,  who  was  also  a  native  of 


816  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

Norway  and  became  a  resident  of  the  United  States  in  her  early  girlhood.  In  1872  they 
removed  to  Yellow  Medicine  county,  Minnesota,  where  Mr.  Anderson  preempted  land  and 
began  the  development  of  a  farm,  converting  the  raw  prairie  into  productive  fields.  Thereon 
he  resided  until  1915,  when  he  and  his  wife  took  up  their  abode  in  Granite  Falls,  where 
they  now  reside,  Mr.  Anderson  having  retired  from  active  business. 

Upon  the  old  homestead  farm  Peter  G.  Anderson  spent  the  days  of  his  boyhood  and 
yoath,  attending  the  district  schools  through  the  winter  seasons.  He  afterward  became  a 
high  school  pupil  at  Granite  Falls  and  subsequently  entered  Wilmer  Seminary  at  Wilmer, 
Minnesota,  from  which  he  was  graduated.  He  next  became  a  student  in  the  Northern  Illinois 
Normal  School  at  Dixon  and  after  completing  his  course  there  by  graduation  he  began  teach- 
ing in  Minnesota  and  for  three  years  was  one  of  the  instructors  in  the  normal  school  at 
Madison,  that  state.  The  year  1904  witnessed  his  arrival  in  North  Dakota,  at  which  time 
he  became  connected  with  banking  interests  at  Underwood,  McLean  county,  where  he  re- 
mained until  1906,  when  he  removed  to  Ambrose,  Williams  county,  and  established  the  First 
International  Bank,  of  which  he  remained  cashier  until  1913.  In  that  year  he  and  others 
purchased  the  Citizens  Bank  of  Ambrose,  of  which  he  has  since  been  cashier,  managing  the 
business  and  developing  its  interests  along  substantial  lines.  The  policy  of  the  bank  is  a 
thoroughly  safe  and  conservative  one,  which,  however,  does  not  hamper  progressive  busi- 
ness methods.  Business  is  carried  on  in  a  fine  modern  bank  building  thoroughly  up-to-date 
in  every  respect. 

On  the  21st  of  September,  1905,  in  Minneapolis,  Minnesota,  Mr.  Anderson  was  united 
in  marriage  to  Miss  Olive  Larson,  who  was  born  in  Norway  and  in  her  girlhood  was  brought 
to  America.  Her  parents,  however,  died  in  Norway  during  her  infancy.  She  was  reared  in 
Yellow  Medicine  county  and  there  pursued  her  education  in  the  district  and  high  schools. 
Mr.  and  Mrs.  Anderson  have  become  the  parents  of  a  daughter  and  son:  Mildred  and  Archi- 
bald. 

The  Norwogian  Lutheran  church  finds  in  Mr.  and  Sirs.  Anderson  earnest  and  loyal  mem- 
bers. Politically  he  is  a  republican  and  for  the  last  six  years  he  has  served  as  president  of 
the  school  board  and  previous  to  that  time  was  a  member  of  the  board.  Fraternally  he  is 
connected  with  the  Yeomen,  the  Woodmen  and  the  Sons  of  Norway.  There  is  no  feature  of 
public  life  that  has  to  do  with  the  upbuilding  and  progress  of  his  community  in  which  he 
is  not  deeply  and  helpfully  interested.  It  was  Mr.  Anderson  who  bought  the  first  lot  in 
Ambrose,  erected  the  first  building — the  bank — in  1906  when  the  town  was  laid  out-  and 
built  one  of  the  first  residences.  Since  that  date  he  has  been  closely  and  actively  associated 
witli  its  continued  progress  and  improvement  and  the  town  owes  much  to  his  efforts  in  its 
belialf. 


CHARLES  N.  MORWOOD. 


Prominent  in  business  circles  in  Westhope  is  Charles  N.  Morwood.  who  is  at  the 
Iiead  of  the  Morwood  Department  Store  and  is  also  connected  with  the  Morwood  Hard- 
ware Company.  He  was  born  in  Missouri  in  September,  1876,  a  son  of  William  and  Mary 
J.  (Harris)  Morwood,  the  former  a  native  of  England  and  the  latter  of  Illinois.  When 
but  seven  years  of  age  the  father  accompanied  his  parents  to  Canada  and  there  he  eventually 
took  up  the  occupation  of  farming.  In  1878  he  removed  to  the  Red  river  valley  of  North 
Dakota  and  was  engaged  in  farming  in  Walsh  county  until  1897.  He  made  the  journey 
to  this  state  in  a  prairie  schooner,  driving  across  the  country,  and  was  actively  identified 
with  the  pioneer  development  of  the  Red  river  valley.  He  witnessed  many  changes  as  the 
years  passed  and  bore  liis  full  share  in  the  work  of  general  progress  and  improvement. 
In  1897  he  removed  to  southern  Texas,  where  he  purchased  land  and  there  he  still  makes 
his  home,  but  his  wife  passed  away  in  January,  1905. 

Charles  N.  Morwood  was  reared  and  educated  in  Walsh  county.  North  Dakota,  having 
been  less  than  two  years  of  age  when  brought  to  this  state.     He  completed  his  studies  in 
the  State  University  and   for  two  years  engaged   in  teaching  in  country  schools,  but  was  ' 
attracted  to  commercial  pursuits  and  for  three  years  engaged  in  clerking  in  a  store.     He 
then  left  that  place  and  began  keeping  books  for  the  Robertson  Lumber  Company  at  their 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  819 

general  iilllccs  in  Grand  Forks.  In  two  years  he  had  been  advanced  to  tlie  position  of 
head  bookl<eeper  and  two  years  later,  or  in  1903,  he  removed  to  Westhopc,  where  he 
embarked  in  general  merehandising  on  liis  own  account,  opening  business  at  this  point 
before  the  railroad  was  completed.  He  has  since  been  closely  and  prominently  associated 
with  the  commercial  development  of  the  town  and  is  today  the  proprietor  of  one  of  the 
largest  stores  in  the  state,  called  the  Morwood  Department  Store.  It  would  be  a  credit 
to  any  of  the  metropolitan  centers  of  the  country  by  reason  of  its  well  selected  line  of 
goods,  its  neat,  tasteful  and  artistic  arrangement,  its  thoroughly  reliable  methods  and  the 
uniform  courtesy  extended  ita  patrons.  In  the  development  of  this  business  Mr.  Morwood 
has  proven  himself  a  forceful  and  resourceful  man,  readily  discriminating  between  the 
essential  and  the  nonessential  in  business  management.  In  1900  he  filed  on  a  home- 
stead near  Baiitry,  in  SIcHenry  county,  and  developed  and  cultivated  that  place  until  his 
removal   to   Westhope. 

In  June,  1898,  occurred  the  marriage  of  Mr.  Morwood  and  Miss  Mabel  Scott,  by  whom 
he  has  four  children:  Erkle,  born  November  23,  1899,  and  Arthur,  born  May  39,  1901,  both 
of  whom  are  attending  high  school;  Lawrence,  born  October  S,  190G;  and  Charles,  born 
February  8,  1908. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Morwood  hold  membership  in  the  Jlethodist  church  and  he  is  also  a 
faithful  representative  of  the  Masonic  fraternity,  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows 
and  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America.  He  exercises  his  right  of  franchise  in  support  of 
the  men  and  measures  of  the  republican  party  and  from  1904  until  1911  filled  the  office 
of  village  clerk.  Throughout  his  entire  career  he  has  been  actuated  by  laudable  ambition 
that  has  led  to  the  accomplishment  of  substantial  results  and  his  business  has  at  all 
times  been  of  a  character  which  has  contributed  to  public  progress  and  improvement  as 
well  as  to  individual  prosperity.  His  ramifying  trade  interests  now  cover  a  broad  terri- 
tory and  his  store  is  a  visible  evidence  of  that  spirit  of  western  enterprise  which  has  led 
to  the  rapid  development  of  North  Dakota. 


WILLIAM  H.  BROWN. 


William  H.  Brown,  general  manager  for  the  Red  River  Light  &  Power  Company  at 
Grand  Forks,  was  born  in  Ashland,  Pennsylvania,  June  29,  1871,  a  son  of  A.  W.  and  Mary 
(Umlaul)  Brown,  who  were  natives  of  England  and  Germany  respectively.  In  early  girlhood 
the  mother  came  to  America,  settling  in  Pennsylvania,  and  when  a  young  man  A.  W.  Brown 
arrived  in  the  new  world.  In  early  life  he  engaged  in  merchandising  at  Ashland,  Pennsyl- 
vania, where  he  still  makes  his  home,  having  reached  the  age  of  seventy-two  years.  His 
wife  survives  at  the  age  of  seventy-four  years,  hi  their  family  were  eleven  children,  of 
whom  William  H.  is  the  third  in  order  of  birth. 

In  his  youthful  days  William  H.  Brown  was  :i  pupil  in  the  public  schools  of  Ashland, 
Pennsvlvania,  and  after  leaving  high  school  continued  his  studies  in  Pierce  College  at  Phila- 
delphia, from  which  he  was  graduated,  winning  the  Bachelor  of  Arts  degree.  He  then 
started  out  in  the  business  world  as  an  employe  of  the  American  Wheel  Company  of 
Chicago  and  afterward  became  connected  with  the  Philadelphia  &  Reading  Railroad  l'(iiii- 
pany,  with  which  he  was  associated  from  1892  until  1903.  In  the  latter  year  he  removed  to 
Springfield,  Illinois,  and  was  secretary  and  treasurer  of  the  Railway,  Gas  &  Steam  Heating 
Company.  He  also  became  the  secretary  of  the  Peoria  Gas  &  Electric  Company  and  was 
thus  identified  with  business  interests  of  Illinois  until  July,  1910,  when  he  came  to  Grand 
Forks.  Here  he  accepted  the  position  of  manager  of  the  Red  River  Power  cS:  Electric  Com- 
pany and  his  previous  experience  along  tliese  lines  made  liiiu  well  qualified  t<i  take  up  work 
of  that  character. 

In  June,  1896,  Mr.  Brown  was  united  in  marriage  to  I^Iiss  Amanda  Ilaney,  of  Strasburg, 
Pennsylvania,  a  daughter  of  D.  M.  and  Lucinda  Haney,  the  latter  now  deceased.  Six  chil- 
dren have  been  born  to  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Brown:  Leon  H.,  who  was  born  in  Indianapolis,  In- 
diana, in  1897,  and  is  a  student  of  the  University  of  North  Dakota,  but  at  present  is  with 
the  army  on  the  Mexican  border.     E.  Harold,  born  in  October,  1898,  at  Buffalo,  New  York, 


820  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

is  attending  high  school.  Katherine  Ruth,  born  in  Bufl'alo  in  1900,  is  also  a  high  school  pupil. 
Mildred  May,  born  in  Buffalo  in  1903,  is  attending  high  school.  Kenneth  Wheeler  and  Eliza- 
beth Ann  were  born  in  Grand  Forks,  the  former  in  1911  and  the  latter  in  1915. 

Mr.  Brown  is  a  prominent  Mason,  having  taken  the  degrees  of  the  York  and  Scottish 
Rites,  and  he  is  also  identified  with  the  Benevolent  Protective  Order  of  Elks.  His  interest 
in  the  moral  and  material  development  of  the  city  is  indicated  in  the  fact  that  he  is  presi- 
dent of  the  Young  Men's  Christian  Association  and  a  director  of  the  Commercial  Club. 
His  business  career  is  one  well  A\orthy  of  emulation.  Starting  out  to  earn  his  own  living 
when  but  nine  years  of  age,  he  was  employed  until  his  seventeenth  year  and  then  used 
the  money  which  he  had  saved  to  pay  his  expenses  while  attending  high  school.  He  after- 
ward worked  and  saved  enough  to  pay  his  tuition  in  college  and  thus  became  qualified  for 
life's  practical  and  responsible  duties.  He  has  occupied  important  positions  and  his  present 
place  is  one  of  responsibility.  Throughout  his  entire  career  his  life  has  been  actuated  by 
principles  and  guided  by  motives  that  have  commanded  for  him  confidence,  respect  and 
honor  and  he  is  today  widely  and  favorably  known  in  Grand  Forks,  where  his  salient 
characteristics  make  for  personal  popularity. 


HENRY  WEIDMAN. 


The  histor)'  of  Henry  Weidman  is  largely  the  story  of  pioneer  life  in  western  North 
Dakota.  He  has  hunted  buffalo  upon  the  plains,  has  met  the  Indians  in  their  native 
haunts  and  in  fact  has  passed  through  all  of  the  experiences  of  the  frontier.  Today  he  is 
still  extensively  engaged  in  herding  live  stock  on  the  range,  his  interests  in  that  connec- 
tion being  extensive.  He  was  born  at  Frankfort-on-the-Main,  Germany,  September  1, 
1848,  a  son  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Jacob  Weidman,  who  w-ere  also  natives  of  that  place.  Tliey 
came  to  America  during  the  early  childhood  of  Henry  Weidman,  leaving  him  with  relatives 
in  Germany,  and  settled  near  Syracuse,  New  York,  where  they  spent  the  remainder  of 
their  days. 

Henry  Weidman  continued  to  attend  school  in  Germany  until  he  reached  the  age  of 
fifteen  years.  When  a  youth  of  sixteen  he  came  to  the  new  world,  landing  in  New  York 
city,  after  which  he  made  his  way  to  the  home  of  his  parents,  who  were  then  living  at 
Oswego,  New  York.  There  he  remained  for  about  three  months.  He  had  learned  the 
machinist's  trade,  after  which  he  worked  as  a  journeyman  in  various  places  in  the  state 
until  near  the  close  of  the  Civil  war,  when  he  enlisted  in  the  Thirty-first  Regiment  of 
the  regular  army  at  Buffalo,  New  York.  This  command  was  later  consolidated  with  the 
Twenty-second  Regiment,  which  was  sent  to  North  Dakota.  Mr.  Weidman  served  for 
three  years  and  was  mustered  out  at  Fort  Stevenson  in  this  state.  He  then  entered  the 
employ  of  the  government  as  a  blacksmith,  working  at  the  dift'erent  forts  and  w-ith  the 
troops,  shoeing  the  horses  and  attending  to  the  duties  of  his  department.  During  the 
Indian  troubles  he  was  placed  in  charge  of  the  transportation  of  troops  from  one  fort  to 
another.  His  work  was  often  of  a  most  hazardous  nature,  but  he  possessed  a  courageous 
spirit  and  never  faltered  in  the  performance  of  any  task  assigned  him.  He  continued  in 
the  service  of  the  government  for  thirty-five  years.  He  has  always  believed  the  Indians 
were  in  the  right  in  protecting  their  interests  and  asserts  that  even  in  hostile  times  he 
has  always  found  them  peaceably  disposed.  He  has  always  had  a  strong  influence  over 
them  and  has  been  successful  in  pacifying  them  on  numerous  occasions.  He  studied  their 
natures  and  knew  how  to  handle  them  and  found  that  square  treatment  on  his  part  won 
the  same  from  them.  He  assisted  in  laying  out  tlie  mail  routes  for  the  government  to 
Helena  and  other  points  in  Montana  at  a  period  when  because  of  the  hostility  of  the  red 
men  he  and  his  comrades  were  compelled  to  travel  at  night  and  remain  in  hiding  during 
the  daytime. 

About  the  time  that  Mr.  Weidman  left  the  employ  of  the  government  he  engaged  in 
the  live-stock  business,  handling  horses  and  cattle  on  the  original  Fort  Peek  reservation, 
now  the  Poplar  reservation  in  Montana.  There  he  carried  on  ranching  extensively  and 
later  removed  his  herds  to  the   Fort   Berthold  reservation   in   North   Dakota.     He   settled   in 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  821 

the  big  bend  of  tlie  Missouri  river  and  is  still  engaged  in  ranching,  having  at  tliis  time 
about  five  hundred  head  of  horses  and  approximately  twelve  hundred  head  of  cattle.  When  he 
became  a  resident  of  North  Dakota,  Yankton  was  the  nearest  settlement,  but  Fort  Benton  was 
established  soon  afterward  and  later  Forts  Totten  and  Sully.  Bull'aloes  were  so  numerous  that 
it  was  necessary  to  guard  the  freighting  teams  as  they  traveled  across  the  country.  At  the 
beginning  of  the  Black  Hills  excitement  Mr.  Weidman  was  in  Montana  and  with  a  party  of 
prospectors  went  down  the  Missouri  river  on  a  steamboat,  which  at  one  time  was  compelled  to 
stop  for  two  or  more  hours  to  allow  a  herd  of  buffaloes  to  cross  the  river.  He  frequently 
indulged  in  the  sport  of  killing  bulfaloes,  on  which  occasions  he  would  be  followed  by 
Indians,  who  had  nothing  but  bows  and  arrows  and  who  would  take  the  game  after  Mr. 
Weidman  had  shot  it.  Because  of  the  friendship  which  the  Indians  always  had  for  him, 
he  has  frequently  carried  dispatches  for  the  government  when  no  other  man  could  get 
througli  or  would  even  dare  to  leave  the  protection  of  the  forts.  When  the  English  hirds 
came  to  the  plains  of  North  Dakota  about  1877  or  1878  for  a  hunting  trip,  Mr.  Weidman 
outfitted  them  for  the  hunt,  shod  their  horses,  made  their  camp,  secured  their  stores  and 
acted  as  escort  and  guide  during  the  hunt.  He  has  frequently  hunted  deer  and  bullalo 
on  the  hills  where  Minot  now  stands  and  also  where  the  city  of  Bismarck  is  located. 

In  1872  Mr.  Weidman  married  an  Indian  maiden  of  the  Grovender  tribe,  who  was  born 
on  the  old  Berthold  reservation,  and  they  became  the  parents  of  two  children  but  both  are 
now  deceased.  Mr.  Weidman  is  a  member  of  the  Elks  lodge  at  Minot  and  in  politics  is  a 
democrat.  There  is  no  phase  of  frontier  life  in  the  northwest  with  which  he  is  not  familiar 
and  he  deserves  great  credit  for  what  he  has  accomplished  in  reclaiming  this  section  of 
the  country  and  converting  it  into  a  habitable  and  productive  district.  The  story  of  his 
daily  life  through  the  thirty-five  years  of  his  connection  with  the  government  service,  if 
told  in  detail,  would  prove  more  interesting  than  any  fiction  and  would  contain  many  a 
thrilling  chapter.  His  reminiscences  of  the  early  times  are  most  interesting  and  there  is 
no  one  better  qualified  to  speak  upon  the  subject  than  Mr.  Weidman,  whose  personal 
experiences  have  acquainted  him  with  every  phase  of  pioneer  life. 


OLUF  T.  LEE. 


Oluf  T.  Lee,  who  became  a  resident  of  McKenzie  county  in  1907,  is  now  engaged  in  the 
implement  and  farm  machinery  business  in  Watford  City.  He  became  a  resident  of  Hills- 
boro,  Traill  county,  when  a  youth  of  eighteen  years,  at  which  time  he  began  work  as  a 
farm  hand  in  Traill  county.  Since  then  he  has  owned  much  land  and  has  been  actively 
identified  with  the  upbuilding  of  the  districts  in  which  he  has  lived.  He  was  born  in 
Vernon  county,  Wisconsin.  May  31,  1870,  a  son  of  Torger  and  Mattie  (Lovling)  Lee,  who 
were  natives  of  Norway.  On  coming  to  America  the  father  settled  in  Vernon  county,  Wis- 
consin, prior  to  the  Civil  war  and  for  many  years  resided  upon  the  same  farm,  in  fact 
there  continuing  to  the  time  of  his  demise.  His  widow  still  occupies  the  old  homestea<l, 
which  has  been  in  possession  of  the  family  for  more  than  sixty  years  and  which  is  now 
being  cultivated  by  one  of  her  sons. 

Oluf  T.  Lee  attended  school  in  his  native  county  although  his  home  was  a  long  dis- 
tance from  the  nearest  schoolhouse,  so  that  his  training  was  received  under  difficulties. 
When  eighteen  years  of  age  he  left  the  parental  roof  and  removed  to  Traill  county.  North 
Dakota,  where  for  five  years  he  was  emjiloyod  on  the  farm  of  Al  Pease.  He  then  rented 
a  farm  for  three  years  and  his  economy  and  industry  during  that  period  enabled  him  then 
to  purchase  the  property.  After  a  year  he  sold  that  place  at  an  advance  of  two  thousand 
dollars.  Removing  to  Canada,  he  purchased  five  hundred  and  forty  acres  of  raw  prairie 
land  near  Winnipeg  and  brought  a  portion  of  it  under  cultivation.  He  remained  in  Canada 
about  eighteen  months  and  then  sold  the  property,  for  which  he  paid  five  dollars  per  acre, 
for  ten  dollars  per  acre.  Returning  to  Traill  county,  he  next  rented  a  farm  of  sixteen 
hundred  acres  near  Hillsboro  and  was  engaged  in  general  agricultural  pursuits  on  a  very 
extensive  scale  for  two  years,  again   meeting  with  substantial   s\iccess.     He  purchased  the 


822  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

finest  business  block  in  the  citj'  of  Hillsboio  and  afterward  disposed  of  it.  For  two  j'ears 
he  engaged  in  buying  and  shipping  horses.  In  1907  he  removed  to  ilcKenzie  county,  set- 
tling on  a  homestead  near  Schafcr  and  engaged  in  the  business  of  breaking  the  raw  prairie 
land  for  homesteaders  at  four  dollars  per  acre.  He  also  operated  a  freight  line  between 
Sehafer  and  Williston,  a  distance  of  forty-five  miles,  and  during  all  of  tliis  time  lived 
upon  his  homestead  claim.  He  purchased  two  hundred  and  forty  acres  adjoining  his 
homestead,  which  made  him  a  four  hundred  acre  farm.  He  also  purchased  one  hundred 
and  sixty  acres  two  miles  west  of  Watford  City,  having  altogether  seven  hundred  acres 
of  land  in  McKenzie  county,  which  he  has  now  disposed  of.  In  the  spring  of  1910  he 
removed  to  Watford  City,  where  he  opened  his  present  store,  dealing  in  implements  and 
farm  machinery.  Already  he  has  built  up  a  good  trade  that  promises  well  for  the  success 
of  the  enterprise  in  the  future. 

On  the  29th  of  March,  1895,  Mr.  Lee  was  married  to  Miss  Ida  McKenzie,  who  was 
born  in  Johnsonburg,  New  York,  and  there  remained  to  the  age  of  sixteen  years,  when 
she  became  a  resident  of  Hillsboro,  North  Dakota.  They  have  one  child,  Doris,  who  was 
born  in   Winnipeg,  Canada,  July   2,   1901. 

Mr.  Lee  is  a  republican  and  he  belongs  to  the  Synod  Lutheran  church,  while  of  the 
Ancient  Order  of  United  Workmen  at  Watford  City  he  is  a  charter  member.  It  was 
through  his  efforts  that  that  lodge  was  organized.  He  is  a  past  master  W'orknian  and 
his  eil'orts  in  the  upbuilding  of  the  society  have  been  most  effective.  Mr.  Lee  is  a,  man  of 
very  progressive  spirit,  readily  recognizing  and  utilizing  opportunities,  and  his  life'  on  the 
whole  has  been  a  most  successful  one.  He  has  gradually  worked  his  way  upward  and 
is  accounted   one   of   the   progressive    business   men    of   McKenzie    county. 


JOSEPH  B.  BOYD. 


For  almost  thirty  years  Joseph  B.  Bo^-d  has  been  one  of  the  foremost  business  men  of 
Langdon  and  is  still  actively  engaged  in  merchandising  though  he  is  now  seriously  thinking 
of  turning  the  business  over  to  his  sons  in  order  that  he  may  spend  the  remainder  of  his 
life  in  ease.  A  native  of  Canada  he  was  born  in  Peterboro,  Ontario,  October  7,  1854,  and  is 
a  son  of  John  and  Nora  (Condon)  Boyd,  who  were  born  in  Ireland  and  emigrated  to  Canada 
in  1830.  There  the  father  followed  farming  until  his  death,  which,  occurred  in  1882  when  he 
was  sixty-nine  years  of  age,  and  the  mother,  who  survived  him  for  three  years,  passed  away 
in  1885  at  the  age  of  sixty-eight.  Joseph  E.  is  the  older  of  their  two  children,  the  other  being 
Mrs.  James  Cranley,  of  Scottville,  Michigan. 

In  the  acquirement  of  his  education  Mr.  Boyd  of  this  review  attended  the  public  schools 
of  Ontario  and  also  the  high  school  of  Peterboro.  After  putting  aside  his  textbooks  he 
assisted  his  father  in  the  labors  of  the  farm  until  twenty  years  of  age,  and  the  following 
five  years  were  spent  in  Peterboro,  where  he  was  employed  in  mercantile  establishments. 
At  the  end  of  that  time,  however,  he  returned  to  the  home  farm  and  remained  with  his  parents 
until  thej'  were  called  to  the  world  be3-ond.  In  the  fall  of  1885  Mr.  Boyd  removed  to 
Scottville,  Michigan,  where  he  lived  for  a  year  and  a  half,  and  then  came  to  North  Dakota, 
locating  first  at  Devils  Lake.  He  was  engaged  in  mercantile  business  there  and  at  Minne- 
waukan.  North  Dakota,  until  August,  1887,  when  he  became  a  resident  of  Langdon  and 
erected  the  first  building  in  the  new  town,  where  he  started  in  business  as  a  member  of  the 
firm  of  Boyd  &  Cairns,  merchants  of  both  Langdon  and  Osnabroek.  He  is  still  carrying  on 
business  at  the  former  place  and  today  not  only  has  the  oldest  but  also  the  largest  mercantile 
establishment  in  Cavalier  county,  furnishing  employment  to  eleven  people.  The  firm  carry 
a  stock  valued  at  forty-five  thousand  dollars  and  their  trade  covers  a  large  territory  around 
Langdon.  In  addition  to  general  merchandise  they  also  handle  grain  and  farm  produce  on  an 
extensive  scale.  In  1902  Mr.  Boyd  erected  the  Boyd  block,  which  is  one  of  the  most 
up-to-date  buildings  in  this  state. 

Mr.  Boyd  was  married  in  1884  at  Peterboro,  Canada,  to  Miss  Emma  Kelly,  a  daughter  of 
Mr.  and  Mrs.  William  Kelly  of  Camelford,  Ontario,  but  Mrs.  Boyd  died  in  Peterboro  in  1885 
leaving  an  infant  son,  John,  who  is  now  assisting  his  father  in  business.     The  son  married 


^^^^^^^^^^m^' 

i^MH^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^I 

^^^^^^^^^^^^^B 

^^^^K 

JOSEPH  B.  BOVD 


1  0^.^' 

PUBLlt  HY 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  825 

Miss  Charlotte  Conroy,  of  Wisconsin,  and  tliey  have  two  children:  Joseph  Henry,  born  in 
Langdon,  North  Dakota,  in  1913;  and  Mary  Margaret,  born  in  Langdon  in  1914.  Mr.  Boyd 
of  this  review  was  again  married  in  Berlin,  Wisconsin,  in  1891,  his  second  wife  being  Miss 
Gertrude  G.  Gogin,  a  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Richard  Gogin.  By  this  union  there  is  also 
a  son,  Richard  D.,  who  was  born  in  1892  in  Langdon  and  is  also  with  his  fatlicr  in  business. 

The  family  arc  members  of  the  Roman  Catliolic  church,  and  Mr.  Boyd  is  also  connected 
with  the  Knights  of  Columbus  and  the  Benevolent  Protective  Order  of  Elks.  The  democratic 
party  finds  in  him  a  stanch  supporter  of  its  principles  and  he  has  become  a  recognized 
leader  in  its  ranks  in  Cavalier  county.  Twice  he  has  been  called  upon  to  serve  as  mayor 
of  Langdon,  and  in  1896-7  he  represented  his  district  in  the  state  legislature.  He  started  out 
in  life  for  himself  as  a  poor  boy  but  being  ambitious  and  industrious  he  gradually  worked  his 
way  upward  until  he  became  one  of  the  leading  business  men  of  his  county  as  well  as  one  of 
its  most  highly  esteemed  citizens.  His  large  establisliment  in  Langdon  testifies  to  his  good 
business  and  executive  ability,  it  being  a  model  of  its  kind  in  every  department,  but  Mr. 
Boyd  is  now  contemplating  retiring  from  business,  knowing  that  his  sons  are  well  qualified 
to  carry  on  the  work  lie  has  inaugurated,  and  he  expects  to  spend  his  winters  in  the 
delightful  climate  of  southern  California.  He  is  deserving  of  a  well  earned  rest  and  his 
many  friends  wish  him  a  long  and  happy  life,  free  from  all  care  and  responsibility.  He 
is  one  of  the  most  genial  gentlemen  one  would  want  to  meet  and  he  commands  tlie 
confidence  and  respect  of  all  who  know  him. 


J.  HOLLIS  GALE. 


.T.  Hollis  Gale,  a  prominent  business  man  of  Hunter,  Cass  county,  was  born  at  Ausable, 
Clinton  county.  New  York,  July  20,  1849,  and  is  a  son  of  E.  R.  and  Cliarlotte  (Flint) 
(Jale,  who  were  natives  of  New  Hampshire  and  Vermont  respectively,  and  both  passed 
away  in   1903. 

.T.  Hollis  Gale  came  to  the  Red  River  valley  in  May,  1880,  settling  first  near  Grandin, 
but  after  a  few  months  went  to  Cassclton,  where  he  spent  the  winter  of  1880-1.  In  the 
spring  of  the  latter  j'ear  he  entered  into  partnership  with  Peter  Buffany  and  opened  a 
general  store  and  lumberyard  at  Hunter,  Cass  county.  In  1895  they  bought  out  the 
lumber  business  of  Wallace  Grosvenor  at  Arthur  and  also  the  general  store  of  Hall  & 
Larson  at  that  place  and  carried  on  the  business  there  under  the  firm  name  of  the  Arthur 
ilercantile  Company,  incorporating  their  interests  under  tiiat  name  in  1900,  when  Mr. 
Gale  was  elected  ]>resident  and' Fred  Williams  secretary  and  treasurer.  In  1893  they  i)ur- 
chased  a  general  store  at  Amenia,  Cass  county,  and  incorporated  the  business  under  the 
name  of  the  Amenia  Mercantile  Companj'  but  sold  out  at  the  end  of  eleven  years.  In  1897 
they  ])urchased  the  store  and  lumberyard  owned  by  the  Beidler  &  Robinson  Lumber  Com- 
pany at  Blanchard  and  incorporated  that  interest  under  the  name  of  the  Blanchard  Mer- 
cantile Company,  Mr.  Gale  being  elected  president  and  H.  H.  Carr  secretary  and  treasurer. 
That  business  is  still  continued  by  them  and  Mr.  Gale  yet  remains  president  of  the  cor- 
poration. 

That  Mr.  Gale  is  a  man  of  resourceful  business  ability  is  indicated  by  liis  many  and 
varied  interests.  He  became  one  of  the  principal  stockholders  and  incorporators  of  the 
Hunter  Telephone  Company  in  1905,  was  made  its  president  and  has  occupied  the  office 
for  years.  In  the  spring  of  1903  Mr.  D\ilTany  retired  from  business  and  with  the  incorpora- 
tion of  the  business  Mr.  Gale  was  elected  president  and  H.  H.  Carr  secretary  and  treasurer. 
In  1891  Mr.  Gale  and  others  bought  the  Hunter  branch  of  the  Cass  County  Bank  at  Cassel- 
ton  and  organized  it  as  the  Hunter  State  Bank.  In  1903  it  was  made  a  national  bank  with 
a  paid  in  capital  of  thirty  thousand  dollars.  Mr.  Gale,  being  the  heaviest  stockholder  in 
the  institution,  was  ma<le  president  and  has  since  occupied  the  oilice.  Wlien  the  Kindred 
State  Bank  was  organized  at  Kindred,  Mr.  Gale  was  made  vice  president  and  so  continues. 
In  1910  he  and  some  of  his  business  associates  bought  out  the  State  Bank  at  Davenport, 
of  which  he  was  elected  vice  president  and  so  continues  to  serve.  In  1911,  associated  with 
two  others,  he   organized   the   Farmers   Land   &    Loan   Company   of   Hunter.   Cass   county,  of 


826  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

which  he  is  the  secretary  and  treasurer.     This  company  was  organized  mainly  to  sell  their 
own  lands,  having  about  twelve  sections,  mostly  in  the  Red  River  valley. 

On  the  20th  of  July,  1881,  Mr.  Gale  was  married  to  Miss  Jennie  P.  Simmons,  of  Sacra- 
mento, California,  and  they  have  a  son,  Harry  F.,  who  is  married  and  lives  at  Hunter, 
where  he  is  assistant  cashier  of  the  First  National  Bank,  and  two  daughters,  Ruth  C.  and 
Jennie.  In  the  summer  of  1882,  when  the  Presbyterian  church  of  Hunter  was  organized, 
Mr.  Gale  was  made  chairman  of  the  board  of  trustees  and  also  chorister  and  has  since 
held  both  offices.  The  different  lines  of  business  in  which  he  has  been  engaged  have 
prospered,  and  while  he  now  has  a  substantial  competency,  he  prefers  the  activity  of  busi- 
ness to  a  quiet  retired  life.  He  is  still  strong  and  active  in  business  and  at  the  same 
time  he  takes  a  helpful  interest  in  all  that  pertains  to  the  welfare  of  the  people  and  of 
the  community.  Fraternally  he  is  identified  with  the  Masons,  belonging  to  the  comman- 
dery  at  F'argo  and  also  to  the  Mystic  Shrine.  His  political  allegiance  is  given  to  the 
republican   party. 


GUST  REISER. 


Among  the  foreign-born  citizens  who  have  proven  their  worth  as  substantial  factors  in 
the  upbuilding  of  Lamoure  county  is  Gust  Reiser,  a  farmer  residing  on  section  24,  Banner 
township.  He  was  born  in  Russia,  January  10,  1875,  a  son  of  Henry  and  Caroline  (Seifert) 
Reiser,  both  of  whom  were  natives  of  Russia,  the  father  being,  however,  of  German  paren- 
tage. In  1892  he  came  with  his  family  to  the  United  States  and  made  his  way  to  Arkansas, 
where  he  lived  until  1897,  when  he  came  to  North  Dakota.  After  a  year  spent  in  Lamoure 
county  he  removed  to  Kenosha,  Wisconsin,  where  his  death  occurred  about  1900  or  1901. 
His  wife  had  died  in  Arkansas. 

Gust  Reiser  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  of  his  native  land  to  the  age  of  seven- 
teen years  and  then  accompanied  his  parents  on  their  emigi-ation  to  the  United  States. 
He  remained  in  Arkansas  for  four  years  and  in  the  fall  of  1896  arrived  in  North  Dakota, 
establishing  his  home  in  Lamoure  county,  where  he  filed  on  a  homestead  three  miles 
north  of  Adrian.  Thereon  he  remained  for  nine  years,  when  he  sold  that  property 
and  bought  his  present  home  farm  of  one  hundred  and  forty-six  acres  one  mile  south  of 
Adrian,  on  which  he  has  since  resided.  He  has  recently  erected,  a  fine  modern  and  commo- 
dious residence,  and  his  labors  have  converted  his  place  into  one  of  the  well  improved 
farm  properties  of  the  county,  complete  in  all  of  its  equipment. 

In  politics  Mr.  Reiser  is  a  democrat,  while  his  religious  faith  is  that  of  the  Lutheran 
church.  He  is  truly  a  self-made  man,  for  he  started  out  in  the  business  world  empty- 
handed  and  it  has  been  through  hard  work  and  earnest  effort  that  he  has  acquired  the 
valuable  property  which  he  holds  and  which  is  today  a  rich  and  productive  farm,  respond- 
ing readily  to  the   care  and  labor  which  he  bestows  upon   it. 


THOMAS  BERGE. 


Indefatigable  activity  and  laudable  ambition  displayed  in  his  business  career  have 
made  Thomas  Berge  one  of  the  representative  citizens  of  Grand  Forks,  where  he  is  now 
well  known  as  president  of  the  Northern  Construction  Company,  Inc.  He  was  born  at 
Walters,  Norway,  September  26,  1872,  a  son  of  Carl  and  Rondhilda  Berge,  who  were  also 
natives  of  the  land  of  the  midnight  sun.  The  mother  there  passed  away  in  1874  at  the 
age  of  thirty  years,  while  the  father  died  in  Christiania,  Norway,  in  June,  1915,  at  the 
age  of  seventy-six  years.  Throughout  his  active  life  he  had  followed  the  occupation  of 
farming.  In  their  family  were  three  children:  Knute,  a  resident  of  Manitowoc  county, 
Wisconsin;   Thomas;    and  Mrs.   Segiied  Korglien,  living  at  Rhinelander,  Wisconsin. 

Tliomas  Berge  spent  his  early  school  days  in  Norway  and  in  1890,  when  a  youth  of 
sixteen  years,  came  to   America,   settling  first  at   Manitowoc,  Wisconsin,  where  he  resided 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  827 

for  nine  years.  When  a  youth  of  but  thirteen  he  had  talcen  up  the  printing  business, 
which  for  three  years  he  followed  in  Norway,  but  abandoned  it  on  account  of  his  iiealth. 
After  coming  to  the  new  world  he  began  sailing  on  the  Great  Lakes  and  subsequently  he 
entered  the  employ  of  his  uncle,  who  was  a  builder  of  JIanitowoc.  There  he  became 
acquainted  with  the  construction  business.  He  afterward  removed  to  Fergus  Falls,  where 
he  resided  for  eight  years,  and  in  1897  arrived  in  Grand  Forks,  where  he  organized  the  Northern 
Construction  Company,  Inc.  Undw  that  title  he  has  since  done  much  work  in  North  Dakota. 
He  built  the  plants  of  the  International  Harvester  Company  at  both  Bismarck  and  Grand 
Forks  and  has  erected  many  of  the  buildings  of  the  University  of  North  Dakota,  includ- 
ing the  School  of  Mines,  Woolworth  Hall,  the  gymnasium,  the  library  and  the  club  house. 
He  also  erected  the  Wellesley  College  building  and  many  of  the  finest  structures  in  Grand 
Forks  and  other  sections  of  the  state  stand  as  monuments  to  his  notable  ability  in  the 
line  of  his  chosen  vocation.  He  understands  not  only  every  practical  phase  of  building 
but  also  the  scientific  phases  of  the  business  and  displays  keen  appreciation  of  archi- 
tectural beauty,  which  ever  constitutes  a  feature  of  his  buildings  as  well  as  utility  and 
convenience.  He  takes  much  interest  in  educational  affairs  and  owns  and  operates  a 
quarter  section  of  fine  farm  land  in  Grand  Forks  county. 

On  the  18th  of  Jlay,  1900,  Jlr.  Berge  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Alice  Ward, 
of  Fergus  Falls,  a  daughter  of  Jlr.  and  Mrs.  Frank  Ward,  of  that  place.  They  now  have 
two  children,  Byron  and  Uussell,  natives  of  Fergus  Falls,  the  foriiier  born  in  1905  and  the 
latter  in   1907.     Both  are  now   in   school. 

J[r.  Berge  is  a  Mason  and  served  as  master  of  the  lodge  at  Fergus  Falls.  He  also 
belongs  to  the  Benevolent  Piotective  Order  of  Elks,  to  the  Commercial  Club  and  to  the 
Congregational  church — associations  which  indicate  much  of  the  nature  of  his  interests 
and  the  rules  that  govern  his  conduct.  In  polities  he  is  a  republican,  but  while  he  is  a  firm 
believer  in  the  principles  of  the  party  lie  has  never  been  an  office  seeker,  preferring  to 
concentrate  liis  energies  upon  his  business  alTairs.  which  have  been  of  constantly  growing 
volume  and  importance.  Thoroughness  and  reliability  have  ever  characterized  his  work 
and  have  won   for  him   the  enviable  reputation   which   he   now  bears. 


MICHAEL  G.  HELM. 


The  record  of  Michael  G.  Helm  illustrates  the  opportunities  offered  in  the  new  world 
to  enterprising  young  men  of  foreign  birth.  Laudable  ambition  has  actuated  him  at  every 
point  in  his  career  and  steadily  he  has  worked  his  way  upward,  serving  now  as  assistant 
cashier  of  the  Citizens  State  Bank.  He  is  yet  a  young  man  and  his  friends  do  not  hesitate 
to  predict  that  further  success  lies  before  him  in  the  future.  He  w-as  born  near  Odessa,  in 
southern  Russia,  on  the  20th  of  .June,  1892,  and  in  that  country  his  parents  spent  their  entire 
lives.  He  pursued  his  education  in  the  schools  of  his  native  land  and  almost  immediately 
after  his  textbooks  were  put  aside  came  to  the  United  States,  sailing  from  Bremen  and 
landing  at  New  York.  He  accompanied  an  uncle  and  they  made  their  way  direct  to  South 
Dakota,  where  Mr.  Helm  attended  school  for  seven  months  in  order  to  acquire  a  knowledge 
of  the  English  language.  He  w-as  afterward  employed  at  farm  labor  for  two  months  and 
then  went  to  Streeter,  after  which  he  again  worked  at  farm  labor  for  three  months.  He 
ne.\t  attended  school  for  a  short  period  and  at  Marion  .Junction.  South  Dakota,  was  employed 
in  a  store  for  a  short  time. 

Returning  to  Streeter,  Mr.  Helm  secured  a  situation  in  the  general  store  of  Silverman 
Brothers  and  later  was  employed  in  the  Streeter  Creamery,  thoroughly  learning  the  busi- 
ness during  the  six  months  which  he  spent  in  that  way.  He  afterward  became  identified 
with  banking  in  the  position  of  teller  in  the  Citizens  State  Bank  and  in  1914  he  was  ad- 
vanced to  the  position  of  assistant  cashier,  in  which  capacity  he  is  now  serving.  This  bank 
was  organized  in  1910  with  .Judge  N.  C.  Young  as  president  and  K.  N.  Wylie  as  cashier. 
Judge  Young  still  remains  in  the  ofBce,  with  Laura  Spaulding  as  vice  president.  C.  W. 
Spaulding.  Jr.,  as  cashier  and  M.  G.  Helm,  assistant  cashier.  The  bank  was  capitalized  for 
ten  thousand  dollars,  which  was  increased  to  twenty  thousand  dollars,  and  it  has  a  surplus 


828  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

and  undivided  prulits  amounting  to  twenty-five  hundred  dollars.  A  real  estate  and  in- 
surance department  is  conducted  and  a  good  business  is  carried  on  along  those  lines.  The 
patronage  of  the  bank  has  also  steadily  increased  and  in  its  conduct  a  safe  conservative 
policy  is  followed.  Mr.  Helm  closely  applies  himself  to  the  duties  that  devolve  upon  him 
in  this  connection  and  he  is  also  interested  in  farm  lands. 

On  the  15th  of  November,  1915,  Mr.  Helm  was  married  to  Miss  Dora  R.  Graf,  who 
was  born  on  a  farm  near  Streeter.  They  hold  membership  in  the  Lutheran  church  of 
Streeter  and  Mr.  Helm  gives  his  political  allegiance  to  the  republican  party.  Those  who 
know  him,  and  he  already  has  a  wide  and  growing  acquaintance,  esteem  him  as  a  young 
man  of  sterling  worth  and  believe  that  his  salient  qualities  are  such  as  will  win  for  him 
constant  advancement  along  business   lines. 


H.  L.  RAMSTAD. 


Success  is  not  a  matter  of  genius  as  held  by  some  but  is  the  result  of  earnest  labor 
and  perseverance  intelligently  directed.  It  has  been  along  this  line  that  H.  L.  Ramstad  has 
won  a  place  among  the  representative  agriculturists  of  Cass  county,  owning  a  farm  on 
section  10,  Pleasant  township.  He  was  born  in  Norway,  December  13,  1848,  and  mention 
of  his  parents  is  found  in  the  sketch  of  A.  L.  Ramstad  on  another  page  of  this  work. 
The  days  of  his  boyhood  and  youth  were  spent  in  his  native  country  and  when  a  young 
man  of  twenty-one  years  he  came  to  the  United  States,  making  his  way  to  Houston  county, 
Minnesota,  where  he  found  employment  upon  a  farm.  He  worked  in  the  fields  through  the 
summer  months  and  then,  ambitious  to  secure  a  better  education  and  gain  a  knowledge  of 
the  English  language,  he  attended  school  in  the  winter  seasons.  He  continued  to  work  in 
Houston  county  for  five  years  and  then  became  a  pioneer  of  the  west,  arriving  in  Cass 
county,  North  Dakota,  in  1874.  That  this  district  was  still  largely  wild  and  undeveloped 
is  indicated  in  the  fact  that  much  of  the  land  was  still  in  possession  of  the  government 
and  he  secured  a  part  of  his  present  farm  through  the  homestead  act.  Subsequently  he 
acquired  other  land,  making  additional  purchases  as  his  financial  resources  permitted  and 
opportunity  presented.  He  is  now  the  owner  of  three  hundred  and  sixty  acres  of  land, 
which  is  rich  and  productive  and  under  his  guidance  the  farm  has  been  brought  under  a 
high  state  of  cultivation,  so  that  he  annually  garners  good  crops  as  the  result  uf  his 
eflForts. 

Mr.  Ramstad  has  never  married  and  has  had  a  renter  upon  his  farm  for  many  years. 
In  addition  to  owning  this  property  he  is  a  stockholder  in  the  Farmers  Elevator  at  Hick- 
son.  In  politics  he  is  independent,  voting  according  to  the  dictates  of  his  judgment  and 
his  conscience  without  regard  to  party  tics.  He  belongs  to  the  Norwegian  Lutheran  church 
and  guides  his  life  according  to  its  teachings.  He  is  a  representative  of  one  of  the  old 
families  of  the  county,  a  family  well  known  and  highly  honored,  for  the  work  of  its  mem- 
bers has  been  of  sterling  worth  in  the  development  and  uijbuiiding  of  this  section  of  the 
state. 


B.  WAMSTAD. 


B.  Wamstad,  manager  for  the  Cargill  Elevator  Company  at  Clifford,  is  a  well  known 
representative  of  the  grain  trade  in  North  Dakota,  handling  extensive  and  important  inter- 
ests in  this  connection.  He  is  a  representative  of  that  large  class  of  North  Dakota's  citizen- 
ship that  has  come  from  Norway  and  that  constitute  so  important  an  element  in  the  sub- 
stantial development  and  upbuilding  of  the  state.  He  was  born  September  21,  1856,  in  the 
land  of  the  midnight  sun,  his  parents  being  Ole  and  Bertha  (Gagnum)  Wamstad,  who  lived 
and  died  in  Norway.  His  youthful  days  were  spent  at  home  and  his  education  was  acquired 
in  Hamar  Seminarium,  from  which  he  was  graduated  with  the  class  of  1877.  He  then  took 
up  the  profession  of  teaching  and  for  nine  years  was  identified  with  educational  work  but  the 
opportunities  of  the  new  world  proved  alluring  and  in   1887  he  came  to  the  United  States, 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  829 

first  making  his  way  to  Osage,  Iowa,  wlicre  he  liad  two  iMotlicrs  living.  There  he  remained 
for  fifteen  montlis,  working  at  farm  lalior  and  teaching  in  tlie  parochial  school.  In  the  fall 
of  1888  he  went  to  South  Dakota,  settling  at  Madison,  where  he  attended  the  State  Normal 
School  and  gained  knowledge  in  farm  work  and  in  teaching.  It  was  his  desire  to  make 
the  utmost  progress  along  educational  lines,  realizing  how  valuable  is  mental  training  ami 
discipline  as  a  preparation  for  activity  and  the  attainment  of  success  in  the  commercial 
world. 

In  1S91  Mr.  \\'amstad  was  married  at  Madison  to  Miss  Cliristine  Olson,  a  native  of  Nor- 
way, and  the  following  year  he  cultivated  his  father-in-law's  farm  but  in  the  fall  identified 
himself  with  the  grain  business  as  second  man  in  an  elevator  at  Madison.  The  following 
year  he  was  placed  in  charge  of  an  elevator  at  Ramona,  South  Dakota,  and  in  1894  went  to 
Clillord,  North  Dakota,  as  manager  of  the  Cargill  Elevator,  in  which  connection  he  has 
since  continued,  carefully,  wisely  and  successfully  directing  the  business  at  this  point. 
He  controls  imiiortant  interests  in  this  center  of  grain  raising  and  manages  the  affairs  of 
the  comjiany  in  a  way  highly  satisfactory  to  those  whom  he  represents. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Wamstad  have  had  no  children  of  their  own  but  have  reared  and  educated 
an  adii]ited  daughter,  Laura  Gilbertson,  who  is  now  the  wife  of  Dr.  W.  K.  Taylor,  of  Hanna- 
ford.  North  Dakota.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Wamstad  attend  the  Norwegian  Lutheran  church  and 
he  holds  membership  with  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America.  In  polities  he  is  a  republican 
and  has  served  as  justice  of  the  peace  but  is  not  active  as  an  office  seeker,  as  his  business 
affairs  make  full  demand  upon  his  time  and  energies.  He  has  become  well  known  during 
his  residence  in  Clifford  and  is  prominently  connected  with  a  business  that  ranks  among  the 
foremost  in  this  part  of  the  state. 


MALCOLM  D.  PATTERSON. 


Malcolm  D.  Patterson  is  now  living  retired  at  Courtcnay  but  for  a  considerable  period 
was  actively  identified  with  the  agricultural  interests  of  Stutsman  county  and  through  the 
careful  direction  of  his  business  affairs  won  the  success  that  now  enables  him  to  live  retired 
from  further  labor.  He  was  born  at  Stayner,  Simcoe  county,  Ontario,  Canada,  September 
6,  1861,  and  is  a  son  of  Duncan  and  Marion  Patterson,  who  were  natives  of  Scotland. 
Prior  to  their  marriage  they  became  residents  of  Canada,  where  their  wedding  was  celebrated, 
after  which  the  father  turned  his  attention  to  farming.  In  1879,  however,  he  left  Ontario 
and  crossed  the  border  into  the  United  States,  establishing  his  home  at  Sault  Ste.  JIarie, 
Michigan,  where  he  remained  until  1882.  He  followed  farming  there  during  tliat  period 
but  eventually  came  to  North  Dakota  and  entered  government  land  two  miles  north  of  Spirit- 
wood  Lake.  His  goods  were  unloaded  at  Fargo  and  he  drove  across  the  country  to  his  claim, 
having  to  travel  through  fourteen  miles  of  water  to  reach  his  destination.  He  then  con- 
centrated his  efiorts  upon  the  development  and  improvement  of  his  farm,  which  he  converted 
into  an  arable  and  productive  tract  of  land,  upon  which  he  lived  until  his  deatli.  To  him  and 
his  wife  were  lx)rn  five  children:  Isabella,  a  resident  of  .Superior,  Wisconsin;  .John,  living  at 
Saskatchewan,  Canada;  Daniel,  whose  home  is  in  Hibbing,  Minnesota;  Malcolm  D.;  and 
Cliristina,  who  has  passed  away.  All  were  reared  upon  the  old  homestead  farm  and  for 
many  years  lived  in  Stutsman  county. 

Malcolm  D.  Patterson  was  educated  in  Canada  and  continued  under  the  [larental  roof 
until  after  he  attained  his  majority,  when  he  left  home  and  took  up  a  government  claim  in 
Wells  county,  upon  which  he  resided  from  1896  until  1905.  He  had  purchased  a  half  section 
but  in  the  year  mentioned  he  sold  all  of  his  land  and  returned  to  Stutsman  county.  In 
tlie  meantime,  while  residing  in  Wells  county,  he  had  purchased  his  brother's  homestead  and 
when  he  again  became  a  resident  of  Stutsman  county  he  turned  his  attention  to  the  im- 
jirovement  and  development  of  his  <piarter  section,  on  which  he  lived  for  four  years.  In  1907 
he  sold  that  ]iropert\'  and  bought  a  half  section  at  the  edge  of  the  village  of  Courtenay, 
there  devoting  his  time  and  energies  to  agricultural  pursuits  until  1912,  when  he  disposed  of 
his  farm  and  stock  and  took  up  his  abode  in  the  town.     For  many  years  he  wisely  and  care- 


830  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

fully  managed  his  farming  interests  and  thereby  gained  a  measure  of  success  which  placed 
him  in  comfortable  financial  circumstances  and  relieved  him  of  the  necessity  of  further  labor. 

In  1903  Mr.  Patterson  was  married  to  Miss  Mary  Bradford,  who  was  born  in  Bruce 
county,  in  the  province  of  Ontario,  Canada,  in  1862  and  in  1885  accompanied  her  parents  on 
their  removal  to  North  Dakota.  They  now  have  a  daughter,  Catherine,  born  September 
2,  1903. 

The  parents  are  members  of  the  Presbyterian  church,  in  the  work  of  which  they  are 
actively  and  helpfully  interested,  Mr.  Patterson  serving  as  an  elder  of  the  church  in  Cour- 
tenay  for  six  years.  He  was  previously  identified  with  the  Knights  of  the  Maccabees  and  his 
political  allegiance  is  given  to  the  republican  party.  For  six  years  he  served  as  township 
supervisor  of  Courtenay  and  at  the  present  writing  is  serving  as  village  marshal.  He  has 
also  been  engineer  for  the  Courtenay  Milling  Company  since  1912.  When  he  became  a 
resident  of  North  Dakota  there  were  only  six  or  seven  settlers  between  Jamestown  and 
Courtenay  and  all  of  the  conditions  of  frontier  life  existed.  Game  was  plentiful,  including 
antelope  and  various  kinds  of  wild  birds  and  the  hunter  had  no  difficulty  in  supplying  his 
table.  One  could  ride  for  miles  over  the  country  without  coming  to  a  fence  to  impede  his 
progress  and  the  most  far-sighted  would  scarcely  have  dreamed  of  the  changes  which  were 
soon  to  be  wrought  and  which  would  transform  this  district  into  a  populous  and  prosperous 
region.  In  this  work  Mr.  Patterson  has  borne  his  full  share  and  his  labors  have  been  pro- 
ductive of  good  results.  He  has  traveled  quite  extensively  and  thereby  has  gained  broad 
knowledge,  while  in  the  school  of  experience  he  has  learned  many  valuable  lessons.  He  is 
today  a  citizen  of  worth  in  his  community  and  in  many  ways  he  has  contributed  to  the 
development  and  progress  of  the  region  in  which  he  lives. 


Wn-LIAM  M.  HOTCHKISS,  M.  D. 

Dr.  William  M.  Hotchkiss  has  held  the  office  of  superintendent  of  the  State  Insane 
Asylum  at  .Jamestown  since  1911  and  has  made  a  highly  creditable  record  in  that  con- 
nection, doing  much  to  increase  the  efficiency  of  the  institution  and  to  advance  the  standard 
of  treatment.  He  was  born  in  Meadville,  Pennsylvania,  on  March  5,  1872,  of  the  marriage 
of  H.  C.  and  Sarah  L.  (Minniss)  Hotchkiss.  who  in  1880  removed  with  their  family  to 
Jamestown,  North  Dakota.  The  father,  who  was  a  contractor  and  builder,  erected  five 
of  the  buildings  of  the  State  Insane  Asylum  and  was  also  the  contractor  for  most  of  the 
early  brick  buildings  in  the  city  of  Jamestown.  He  has  lived  retired  in  San  Diego,  Cali- 
fornia, for  a  period  of  ten  years  and  his  wife  also  survives. 

William  M.  Hotchkiss  graduated  from  the  local  high  school  and  subsequently  attended 
Jamestown  College  for  two  years,  after  which  he  entered  the  Detroit  College  of  Medicine 
at  Detroit,  Michigan,  from  which  he  was  graduated  in  1907.  He  located  for  practice  in 
New  Rockford,  North  Dakota,  and  after  remaining  there  for  four  years  was  appointed 
superintendent  of  the  State  Insane  Asylum  by  Governor  Burke  on  the  11th  of  April, 
1911.  He  has  since  served  in  that  capacity  and  is  giving  unsparingly  of  his  time,  thought 
and  energy  to  the  advancement  of  the  interests  of  the  institution.  He  is  thoroughly 
informed  as  to  the  latest  and  most  successful  methods  of  treating  mental  diseases,  is 
familiar  with  the  plans  of  administration  which  have  been  worked  out  in  similar  institutions 
throughout  the  country  and  is  constantly  striving  to  make  the  North  Dakota  State  Asylum 
■  measure  up  as  well  as  possible  to  the  standards  set  by  the  best  asylums  of  the  east. 
He  has  been  greatly  handicapped  in  his  work  because  of  the  comparatively  small  appropria- 
tion per  capita  for  the  support  of  the  in.stitution  and  he  has  sought  earnestly  to  make  the 
legislature  and  the  people  of  the  state  realize  that  insanity  is  a  form  of  disease  and  can  in 
many  cases  be  cured  if  the  proper  living  conditions  are  provided  and  if  the  needed  medical 
treatment  is  given.  He  believes  that  when  the  situation  is  properly  understood  the 
institution  will  receive  a  sufficiently  liberal  support  to  make  it  possible  to  do  away  with 
over-crowding,  to  install  all  necessary  equipment  for  the  use  of  the  most  efficient  methods  of 
treatment  and  to  secure  the  services  of  the  best  trained  and  highest  class  of  attendants. 
In    the    meantime   improvements    are    being   constantly    made    and    Dr.    Hotchkiss    and   his 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  833 

assistants  are  making  a  record  liiglily  creditable  to  their  ability  and  their  devotion 
to  their  work.  The  value  of  amusement  and  recreation  as  therapeutic  agents  has  been 
recognized  and  a  moving  picture  show  has  been  provided  for  the  inmates  once  a  week. 
Dances  and  local  talent  plays  have  been  given  and  they  have  been  taken  to  the  circus  and 
carnival  and  to  ball  games  between  the  employes  and  town  teams.  Many  of  the  patients 
work  with  the  farm  hands  and  this  occupation  has  been  found  of  value  in  keeping  them 
in  good  health  and  spirits.  Discipline  is  maintained  by  restricting  the  privileges  of  a 
patient  as  the  result  of  bad  behavior  and  every  hberty  possible  is  given  to  those  who  con- 
duct themselves  properly.  No  greater  misfortune  could  happen  to  a  patient  than  to  be 
deprived  of  the  privileges  which  he  especially  values.  In  every  way  possible  the  administra- 
tion considers  the  well-being  and  comfort  of  the  inmates. 

Dr.  Hotchkiss  was  married  on  the  loth  of  October,  1902,  to  Miss  Margaret  M.  McGinnis, 
a  daughter  of  John  McGinnis,  an  old  settler  of  North  Dakota.  The  Doctor  is  a  republican 
and  while  he  takes  the  interest  of  a  good  citizen  in  the  affairs  of  government  he  has  been 
too  much  engrossed  with  his  professional  work  to  take  an  active  part  in  politics.  He 
is  well  known  fraternally,  belonging  to  the  Masonic  order,  the  Mystic  Shrine,  the  Macca- 
bees, the  Woodmen,  the  Elks  and  the  Knights  of  Pythias  and  he  is  popular  in  all  these 
organizations.  At  the  time  af  the  Spanish-American  war  he  enlisted  in  Company  H, 
First  North  Dakota  Infantry,  and  saw  about  two  years'  service.  He  held  the  rank  of 
quartermaster  sergeant  of  his  company  and  proved  very  efficient  in  that  capacity.  He  is 
very  fond  of  all  forms  of  outdoor  life  but  takes  especial  pleasure  in  hunting  and  fishing 
and  finds  in  these  sports  the  needed  balance  to  his  strenuous  professional  work.  He 
Ijolongs  to  the  county  and  state  medical  societies,  to  the  American  Medical  Association,  the 
Medico-Psychological  Society,  and  the  American  Hospital  Association,  and  is  constantly 
studying  along  the  lines  of  the  treatment  of  mental  diseases. 


JOHN  E.  COOLEY. 


.John  E.  Cooley.  now  living  retired  at  Grand  Forks,  was  born  August  29,  1854,  at 
.Modena,  Ulster  county,  New  York,  a  son  of  Charles  E.  Cooley,  who  was  born  in  Ulster 
county,  that  state.  The  grandfather,  Justus  Cooley,  was  a  clergyman  of  the  Society  of 
Friends  and  was  of  English  lineage.  The  founder  of  the  family  in  the  new  world  was  among 
the  early  residents  of  New  York  and  there  representatives  of  the  family  have  since  been 
found.  Charles  E.  Cooley  became  a  successful  farmer  of  Ulster  county,  where  he  spent  his 
entire  life,  ranking  among  the  prominent  and  influential  residents  of  his  part  of  the  state.  • 
He  was  of  Quaker  faith,  a  man  of  high  ideals  and  religious  sentiment  and  of  upright  life. 
His  wife,  who  bore  the  maiden  name  of  Margaret  Ann  Esterly,  was  born  in  Ulster  county. 
New  York,  on  a  farm  adjoining  the  Cooley  homestead.  She  was  a  daughter  of  Abram 
Esterly,  whose  ancestors  were  among  the  first  residents  of  the  Empire  state  and  were  of 
English  and  Dutch  descent. 

John  E.  Cooley  pursued  his  e<lueation  in  Claveriek  Academy  at  Clavcrick,  New  York,  and 
in  the  public  schools  of  his  native  county.  His  youthful  days  were  spent  upon  the  home 
farm,  in  the  development  of  which  he  continued  to  assist  until  he  reached  the  age  of 
twenty-five  years,  when  he  was  married  and  came  to  North  Dakota.  It  was  on  the  1.3th  of 
August,  1879,  that  he  arrived  in  this  state,  tlien  a  part  of  Dakota  territory,  the  removal 
being  made  on  account  of  ill  health.  Establishing  his  home  at  Grand  Forks,  he  became  im- 
)>resscd  with  the  future  ])Ossibilities  of  the  state  and  immediately  made  extensive  invest- 
ments in  town  property  and  in  farm  lands  in  Grand  Forks  county.  Since  that  time  he  has 
been  continuously  connected  with  the  agric\iltural  development  of  the  district,  employing 
competent  men  to  supervise  and  cultivate  his  lands.  He  maintains  his  residence  at  his  city 
home  at  No.  611  South  Third  street.  Grand  Forks,  which  stands  on  land  that  constituted  his 
first  purchase  on  coming  to  the  state.  The  tract  at  that  time  was  twelve  acres  in  extent  and 
was  bounded  on  the  west  by  Third  street  and  on  the  north  by  Reeves  avenue  and  extended 
to  the  river.  Soon  after  making  the  purchase  he  sold  eight  acres  of  the  tract  to  two 
intimate  friends,  who  remained  his  life  neighbors,  and  one  of  them.  Major  John  G.  Hamilton, 


834  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

erected  a  very  beautiful  home  directly  opposite  the  home  of  jVfr.  C'ooley.  There  both  have 
since  resided  and  this  friendship  of  a  lifetime  still  continues.  In  the  selection  of  his  land 
Mr.  Cooley  displayed  rare  judgment,  for  it  remains  today  one  of  the  beauty  spots  of  Grand 
Forks  and  constitutes  one  of  the  most  exclusive  and  attractive  residential  districts  of  the 
city.  The  river  forms  the  eastern  boundary  and  there  are  no  streets  intersecting  to  the 
west  until  one  readies  Third  street,  one  of  the  principal  thoroughfares  of  Grand  Forks.  To 
the  south  of  his  property  and  adjoining  it  is  Central  park,  one  of  the  city's  most  beautiful 
recreation  places,  embracing  twenty  acres  of  splendidly  wooded  land,  the  entire  tract  being 
adorned  with  stately  forest  trees.  In  making  his  purchases  of  farm  lands  Mr.  Cooley  was 
advised  to  some  extent  by  the  late  James  J.  Hill,  the  president  of  the  Great  Northern  Rail- 
road Company,  who  was  thoroughly  familiar  with  the  entire  country  and  accompanied  jNIr. 
Cooley  on  his  tours  of  inspection,  for  thej'  remained  throughout  the  life  of  Mr.  Hill  intimate 
and  close  friends.  The  properties  which  he  thus  purchased  have  constantly  increased  in 
value  and  are  still  in  his  possession,  bringing  to  him  a  most  gi'atifying  annual  revenue.  One 
of  his  farms  embraces  an  entire  section. 

Mr.  Cooley  was  married  to  Miss  Rachel  Caroline  Elting,  a  daughter  of  the  late  David 
and  Rachel  Elting  and  also  a  representative  of  one  of  the  earliest  New  York  families  of 
English  descent.  They  became  parents  of  two  sons  and  two  daughters:  ilrs.  George  B. 
CliflFord,  deceased,  whose  husband  is  now  a  resident  and  capitalist  of  St.  Paul  and  also  has 
extensive  realty  and  land  holdings  in  Grand  Forks  and  North  Dakota.  The  other  daughter 
is  also  deceased.  The  sons,  Edwin  and  Alfred,  are  residents  of  Grand  Forks  and  are  married, 
making  their  home  with  their  father.  The  former  is  general  manager  for  the  George  B. 
Clifford  Company  of  Grand  Forks.     Mrs.  Cooley  passed  away  in  this  city. 

For  thirty-seven  years  John  E.  Cooley  has  been  one  of  the  most  prominent,  respected 
and  honored  residents  of  Grand  Forks.  The  west  with  its  freedom  and  its  limitless  possibilities 
made  strong  appeal  to  him  when  in  j'oung  manhood  he  sought  health  upon  the  broad 
prairies  of  North  Dakota.  His  sound  judgment  and  keen  insight  recognized  the  advantages 
here  to  be  enjoyed  and  wise  investment,  followed  by  later  careful  management  in  business 
affairs,  made  him  one  of  the  most  prosperous  citizens  of  the  locality.  His  life,  active,  honor- 
able and  resultant,  well  entitles  him  to  the  high  respect  in  which  he  is  uniformly  held  and 
no  history  of  Grand  Forks  would  be  complete  without  extended  reference  to  him  and  the 
part  which  he  has  played  in  its  upbuilding  and  progress,  for  at  all  times  he  has  stood  for 
public  improvement,  giving  active  aid,  support  and  cooperation  to  movements  for  the  gen- 
eral good.  Mr.  Cooley  gives  his  political  allegiance  to  the  republican  party  and  fraternally 
is  identified  with  the  Masons,  belonging  to  the  blue  lodge,  the  eommandery  and  the  Shrine. 
He  joined  the  order  in  Modena,  New  York,  and  organized  the  first  lodge  of  Knights  Templar 
in  Grand  Forks. 


WILIJAM  H.  ROSS. 


William  H.  Ross,  an  architect  practicing  his  profession  in  Grand  Forks,  was  born  in 
La  Ciosse,  Wisconsin,  December  17,  1889.  His  father,  John  W.  Ross,  born  in  Germany,  April 
9,  1848,  was  brought  to  America  by  his  parents  when  a  lad  of  but  four  summers.  The 
family  home  was  established  at  La  Crosse,  where  they  were  among  the  earliest  settlers, 
and  there  .John  W.  Ross  was  reared  and  educated.  In  early  manhood  he  took  up  the  study 
of  architecture  with  the  late  Charles  Ross,  then  one  of  the  leading  architects  of  La  Crosse. 
In  1879  he  removed  to  Grand  Forks,  North  Dakota,  and  in  the  spring  of  1880  was  joined 
by  his  family.  He  immediately  entered  upon  the  practice  of  his  profession,  but  owing  to  a 
scarcity  of  work  in  architectural  lines,  he  also  began  contracting  and  built  one  of  the  first 
elevators  erected  in  his  section  of  the  state.  He  also  built  some  of  the  first  homes  and 
public  buildings  of  Grand  Forks.  During  his  later  years  he  confined  his  attention  and 
activity  exclusively  to  architectural  lines  and  planned  and  designed  many  of  the  most 
prominent  buildings  of  the  state,  including  schoolhouses,  courthouses,  city  halls  and  other 
public  structures,  remaining  up  to  the  time  of  his  death  the  leading  architect  of  the  north- 
west.    Throughout  North  Dakota  and  other  sections  of  the  country  are  seen  buildings  which 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  835 

stand  as  momimeiits  to  liis  skill  and  luuidiwoik.  His.  political  allegiance  was  given  to  the 
democratic  party  and  for  many  years  he  held  the  olHce  of  city  building  inspector.  His 
religious  faith  was  that  of  the  Roman  Catholic  church  and  he  was  a  member  of  the  Knights 
of  Columbus  and  the  Royal  Arcanum.  Jn  early  manhood  he  wedded  Caroline  Schoeidieinz,  a 
native  of  La  Crosse,  Wisconsin,  whose  father  was  a  pioneer  settler  of  that  state.  Mr.  and 
Mrs.  Ross  became  the  parents  of  three  children:  William  H.,  of  this  review;  Caroline,  the 
wife  of  Abe  Jlcllahon,  who  is  with  the  Great  Northern  Railway  Company  at  Grand  Folks; 
and  Sophia,  the  wife  of  O.  F.  Rustad,  living  at  Bismarck,  North  Dakota.  The  father  passed 
away  in  Grand  Forks,  December  13,  1914,  while  the  mother  is  yet  living. 

William  H.  Ross  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  of  Grand  Forks  and  in  190C  entered 
the  office  of  his  father  in  order  to  study  architecture.  In  1908  he  was  admitted  to  a  partner- 
ship in  the  business  under  the  firm  name  of  J.  W.  Ross  &  Son  and  since  the  father's  death 
William  II.  Ross  has  successfully  conducted  the  business  alone,  maintaining,  as  his  father 
had  before  him,  a  most  creditable  position  in  professional  circles.  He  is  today  accorded 
a  liberal  patronage  and  his  success  is  assured. 

On  the  14tli  of  December,  1915,  Mr.  Ross  was  married  in  Aidoch,  North  Dakota,  to  Miss 
Charlotte  Ferris,  a  native  of  Ardoch  and  a  daughter  of  Henry  and  Jane  Ferris,  who  were 
early  settlers  of  the  state.  Mr.  Ross  was  reared  in  the  Roman  Catholic  faith  and  is  a  com- 
municant of  that  church.  In  politics  he  is  a  democrat  and  his  interest  in  community  affairs 
is  indicated  by  his  membership  in  the  Commercial  Club,  for  he  is  in  hearty  sympathy  with 
its  plans  and  purposes  to  develop  and  upbuild  the  city,  extend  its  trade  relations  and  uphold 
its  civic  standards. 


PETER  D.  PODHOLA. 


Peter  D.  Podhola,  of  Max,  McLean  county,  has  a  multiplicity  of  business  interests 
and  is  meeting  with  success  in  signal  measure  in  all  that  he  has  undertaken.  His  labors 
have  not  only  brought  him  financial  independence  but  have  also  been  largely  instrumental 
in  promoting  the  material  and  civic  progress  of  his  town  and  county-  He  owns  and  super- 
vises the  operation  of  about  sixteen  hundred  acres  of  land  and  is  engaged  in  the  macliinery 
business,  giving  especial  attention  to  the  introduction  of  the  Campbell  subsurface  packer, 
which  has  done  so  much  to  make  farming  profitable  in  this  section.  He  is  likewise  secre- 
tary and  treasurer  of  the  Podhola-Langbell  Land  &  Loan  Company,  one  of  the  leading 
organizations  of  the  kind  in  this  section  of  the  state. 

Mr.  Podhola  was  born  in  Highland,  Iowa  county,  Wisconsin,  February  19,  187G,  a  son 
of  Frank  and  Martha  Podhola.  The  father  was  born  in  Prague,  Bohemia,  but  when  about 
ten  years  of  age  accompanied  his  parents  to  the  United  States,  settlement  being  made  in 
Grant  county,  Wisconsin.  He  remained  in  that  state  until  JOOO.  when  he  removed  to 
Lidgerwood,  North  Dakota,  and  purchased  a  relinquishment  in  that  locality.  He  now  owns 
six  hundred  acres  of  land  and  concentrates  his  energies  upon  agricultural  pursuits.  He 
was  married  in  Wisconsin.  His  wife  was  born  twenty-eight  miles  from  Berlin,  Germany, 
and  when  eight  years  of  age  was  brought  by  her  parents  to  the  United  States,  the  family 
home  being  established  near  Highland,  in  Iowa  county,  Wisconsin.  She  is  also  living 
upon  the  home  farm  near  Lidgerwood.  There  are  five  children  in  their  family,  namely: 
Peter  D.;  Charlie,  who  is  living  in  Lidgerwood;  Mamie,  the  wife  of  C.  T.  Fronta,  a  resident  of 
Max;  Katherine,  of  Lidgenvood;  and  Frank,  Jr.,  also  of  that  town. 

Peter  D.  Podhola  completed  his  high  school  course  at  Highland  and  subsequently 
attended  the  Marinette  Bu.-finess  College  at  Marinette,  Wisconsin,  after  which,  in  1S94,  he 
removed  to  Wahpeton,  North  Dakota.  For  about  a  half  year  he  was  in  the  employ  of  Dr. 
Moody  a  veterinarian  of  that  place,  and  then  went  to  work  for  a  Mr.  Maksche,  the  proprietor 
of  a  store  in  Wahpeton.  After  remaining  in  that  connection  for  six  months  he  secured  a 
position  in  the  postoflice  and  general  store  at  Lidgerwood,  his  employer  being  JIathew 
Lynch.  For  six  years  he  continued  in  Lidgerwood,  after  which  he  removed  to  Sawyer,  Ward 
county,  where  he  engaged  in  the  lumber  business  on  his  own  account.     Ho  not  only  supplied 


836  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

the  early  settlors  of  the  district  with  their  lumber  but  also  did  considerable  building  for 
them.  In  addition  to  conducting  his  lumberyard  he  dealt  in  lands,  being  quick  to  recognize 
the  opportunities  which  that  new  and  rapidly  developing  country  offered.  He  still  owns 
his  homestead  of  forty-five  acres  there.  After  residing  in  Sawyer  for  about  four  years 
he  sold  his  interests  there  and  took  up  his  residence  in  Max,  where  he  has  since  remained.  At 
that  time  this  section  of  the  country  was  considered  of  little  value,  but  he  thought  otherwise 
and  promoted  its  development  in  various  ways,  with  the  result  that  others  also  recognized 
the  possibilities  of  the  district  and  at  tl)e  present  time  this  is  a  productive  and  prosperous 
section.  It  was  he  who  secured  the  introduction  of  Uax  and  he  has  also  rendered  great  service 
to  the  farmers  by  bringing  to  their  attention  the  merits  of  the  Campbell  subsurface  packer. 
This  implement  is  of  great  value,  making  possible  the  production  of  much  larger  crops  than 
could  otherwise  be  obtained  in  this  section.  JVIr.  Podhola  has  been  engaged  in  the  machinery 
business  since  1914,  handling  in  addition  to  the  Campbell  packer,  corn  cultivators  and 
planters,  manure  spreaders  and  practically  all  other  kinds  of  farm  implements.  He  is  a 
practical  agriculturist  himself,  cultivating  about  sixteen  hundred  acres  of  land,  and  in  addi- 
tion to  growing  grain  he  raises  about  one  hundred  head  of  cattle.  He  is  grading  up  his  herd 
into  blooded  shorthorns.  In  addition  to  his  other  interests  Mr.  Podhola  is  secretary-treasurer 
of  the  Podhola-Langbell  Land  &  Loan  Company,  a  twenty-five  thousand  dollar  corporation, 
which  was  organized  in  Max  in  1913.  Previous  to  that  he  had  engaged  in  the  real  estate  busi- 
ness here  independently  and  his  thorough  knowledge  of  the  business  and  of  farm  values, 
together  with  his  fine  judgment  and  enterprise,  have  been  important  factors  in  the  success 
of  the  concern.  The  other  officers  are:  P.  N.  Langbell,  president;  and  M.  H.  Podhola,  vice 
president.  He  not  only  has  extensive  property  interests  in  North  Dakota  both  individually 
and  as  a  member  of  the  company,  but  he  also  owns  raw  land  in  Nebraska. 

In  1903  Mr.  Podhola  was  married  at  Lidgerwood  to  Miss  Mary  Haveline,  who  was  born 
near  Prague,  Bohemia,  December  8,  1882,  and  was  brouglit  to  the  United  States  in  her 
infancy,  the  greater  part  of  her  life  before  her  marriage  being  spent  at  Lidgerwood.  To 
this  union  four  children  have  been  born,  namely:     Ernie  R.,  Irene,  Martha  and  Mary. 

Mr.  Podhola  is  a  republican  and  is  unswerving  in  his  loyalty  to  that  party.  He  holds 
membership  in  the  Immaculate  Conception  Catholic  church,  belongs  to  the  Knights  of 
Columbus  at  Minot,  in  which  he  has  taken  the  Forester's  degree,  to  the  Woodmen,  the 
Royal  Neighbors  and  the  Brotherhood  of  American  Yeomen.  He  has  been  among  the  first  in 
the  county  to  secure  the  various  implements  for  facilitating  farm  work  which  from  time  to 
time  are  placed  on  the  market  and  in  fact  was  the  first  man  in  the  territory  to  buy  a  gas  trac- 
tor. The  engine  has  given  thorough  satisfaction  and  is  still  in  use.  He  believes  that 
twentieth  century  conveniences  should  be  used  in  the  home  as  well  as  in  the  work  of  the  farm 
and  is  installing  in  his  residence  in  Max  an  electric  light  plant  and  a  steam  heating  plant. 
Although  he  has  always  given  the  closest  attention  to  his  private  business  interests  he  has  not 
allowed  his  own  affairs  to  monoplize  his  time  but  has  given  most  generously  of  his  energy 
and  thought  to  the  advancement  of  the  community  welfare.  He  has  served  as  clerk  of 
the  school  board  for  many  years  and  his  constructive  effort  has  been  felt  along  many 
lines  of   progress. 


PETER  SCOTT. 


Peter  Scott,  clerk  of  the  countj'  court  in  Bottineau  county,  was  born  at  Lesje, 
Gudbrandsdalen,  Norway,  June  16,  1874,  a  son  of  Paul  P.  and  Gertrude  (Nyhus) 
Scott,  who  were  also  natives  of  that  country.  The  father  was  an  officer  of  the  Norwegian 
army,  in  which  capacity  he  served  for  forty-four  years,  and  he  is  now  living  retired  at  the 
age  of  seventy-two.  His  wife  passed  away  in  1880.  LTpon  the  father's  retirement  from 
the  arm}'  he  was  awarded  a  gold  medal  by  King  Oscar,  only  four  other  men  of  his  grade 
Iiaving  ever  received  this  recognition,  for  during  forty-four  years'  service  he  had  never  asked 
for  leave  of  absence  and  his  record  was  a  splendid  example  of  loyal  military  duty. 

Peter  Scott  spent  the  period  of  his  minority  in  his  native  country  and  in  1893  landed 
in  New  York  city.     He  had  been  connected  with  mercantile  interests  in  Norway  and  during 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  839 

the  first  year  after  his  arrival  in  the  new  world  was  employed  at  different  jobs,  spending 
some  time  as  a  farm  hand  at  six  dollars  per  month.  He  made  his  way  into  the  pineries 
of  Wisconsin,  where  he  was  employed  for  two  winter  seasons  at  twelve  dollars  per  month. 
In  the  spring  of  1S95  he  removed  to  Bottineau  county,  North  Dakota,  and  during  the 
following  summer  was  employed  as  a  farm  hand.  He  then  secured  a  position  with  W.  H. 
Mcintosh  &  Company,  general  merchants,  with  whom  he  remained  until  the  fall  of  1899, 
at  which  time  he  was  appointed  register  of  deeds  by  the  board  of  county  commissioners, 
filling  out  an  unexpired  term.  He  was  tlicn  reelected  to  the  office  and  acted  in  tliat 
capacity  until  1905.  Upon  his  retirement  he  turned  his  attention  to  the  real  estate  and 
insurance  business,  in  which  he  was  engaged  until  1908,  when  he  entered  the  First 
National  Bank  of  Overly,  North  Dakota,  as  cashier.  A  year  later,  however,  he  returned 
to  Bottineau  and  in  the  summer  of  1910  was  appointed  clerk  of  the  county  court  under 
Judge  John  H.  Kirk,  since  which  time  he  has  occupied  that  position.  Judge  I.  R.  Barkway 
being  now  on  the  bench. 

In  the  fall  of  1890  Mr.  Scott  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  L.  King  and  they  have 
become  the  parents  of  five  children,  Gertrude  M.,  Helen  M.,  Geraldine  T.,  Paul  J.,  and 
Margaret  L.  The  Presbyterian  church  finds  in  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Scott  consistent  and  faithful 
members  and  he  is  equally  loyal  to  his  vows  as  a  representative  of  the  Masonic  and 
Odd  Fellow  lodges.  Politically  he  is  a  republican  and  for  the  past  two  years  has  filled  the 
office  of  city  auditor  as  well  as  that  of  clerk  of  the  county  court.  His  official  record  is 
free  from  the  slightest  taint  of  dishonor  or  inefficiency.  On  the  contrary  he  has  been  most 
loyal  to  his  duties  and  all  who  know  aught  of  him  speak  of  his  public  work  in  terms  of 
high  praise. 


OLE  M.  KNUDSON. 


Ole  M.  Knudson,  who  during  almost  seventeen  j'ears'  connection  with  the  Minot  water- 
works in  the  capacity  of  engineer  has  never  lost  a  single  day,  was  born  in  Gudbransdal, 
Norway,  January  6,  1860,  a  son  of  Knudt  and  Ragnluld  (Olson)  Knudson,  who  were  also 
natives  of  that  country,  where  the  father  conducted  business  as  a  contractor  and  builder, 
both  passing  away  in  Norway. 

Ole  M.  Knudson  was  one  of  twins,  the  youngest  children  in  a  family  of  ten.  He  at- 
tended school  in  Norway  and  at  the  age  of  twelve  years  began  earning  his  own  living  by 
working  in  a  livery  stable,  where  he  was  employed  for  four  years.  His  mother  being  a 
widow,  he  contributed  to  her  support  and  at  the  end  of  that  time  he  returned  home  and 
assisted  his  mother  on  the  farm,  his  father  having  died  when  Ole  M.  Knudson  was  but  six 
years  of  age.  He  continued  at  home  until  he  reached  the  age  of  eighteen,  after  which  he 
was  employed  by  a  farmer  of  Norway  for  two  years.  Attracted  by  the  opportunities  of 
the  new  world,  he  then  came  to  America,  making  his  way  to  La  Crosse,  Wisconsin,  at  which 
time  he  was  totally  unacquainted  with  the  English  language.  He  was  first  em])loyed  in 
piling  lumber,  working  in  that  way  through  the  summer,  after  which  he  secured  a  job  on  a 
tug  deck,  spending  two  summers  in  that  way.  He  was  next  employed  on  a  carriage  in  a 
sawmill  for  seven  seasons,  at  the  end  of  which  time  he  went  to  St.  Paul,  Minnesota,  where 
he  secured  a  position  as  stationary  engineer.  He  had  learned  the  trade  when  a  young  lad 
and  he  followed  that  business  in  .St.  Paul  for  seventeen  years,  continually  promoting  his 
energy  and  eliieicncy  through  his  wide  experience.  In  1899  he  took  up  his  abode  on  a 
claim  near  ^linot  and  for  one  year  he  was  employed  as  engineer  at  the  Leiand  Hotel,  after  , 
which  he  took  charge  of  the  Jlinot  waterworks,  continuing  as  engineer  in  that  city  for 
almost  seventeen  years.  During  the  entire  time  he  has  never  been  off  duty  for  a  single 
day  and  frequently  he  has  worked  both  day  and  night.  He  assisted  in  the  installation  of 
all  the  machinery  of  the  plant  and  he  keeps  everything  in  excellent  condition  He  is  still 
a  Inrge  landowner  in  North  Dakota,  renting  his  land,  from  which  he  derives  a  good  annual 
income,  and  in  1906  he  completed  his  present  home  at  the  corner  of  Second  street.  South- 
west, and  Third  avenue  He  likewise  owns  other  valuable  city  property  near  the  State 
Normal   School   and   his   realtv   holdings   are   the   visible   evidmie   of   a    life   of   well   directed 


840  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

energy  and  thrift  His  entire  attention,  liowever,  is  devoted  to  the  waterworks  plant  and 
it  is  the  consensns  of  public  opinion  that  it  would  be  impossible  for  Minot  to  secure  a  more 
competent  and  faithful  official. 

In  1894  Mr.  Knudson  was  married  to  Miss  Emma  Bloom,  who  was  born  at  White  Bear, 
Minnesota,  a  daughter  of  Casper  and  Margaret  (Elmer)  Bloom,  the  former  a  native  of 
Germany.  The  mother,  who  was  born  in  this  country,  died  during  the  early  girlhood  of 
Mrs.  Knudson.  Her  father  was  brought  to  the  United  States  during  his  infancy  and  was 
reared  to  manhood  at  Blooming  Grove,  Wisconsin.  He  devoted  his  life  to  farming  but  at 
the  time  of  the  Civil  war  enlisted  in  defense  of  the  Union  cause  as  a  member  of  the  First 
Wisconsin  Regiment.  He  was  never  wounded  but  on  account  of  illness  was  confined  in  a 
hospital  for  nine  months.  When  the  war  was  over  he  returned  to  the  farm  and  after 
several  years'  connection  with  agi-icultural  interests  in  Wisconsin  removed  to  Minnesota, 
where  he  still  resides,  although  he  has  now  retired  from  active  business  life.  Wherever 
known  he  is  held  in  high  respect,  for  he  possesses  many  sterling  traits  of  character  and  in 
matters  of  citizenship  has  ever  been  as  true  and  loyal  to  his  country  in  times  of  peace  as 
when  he  followed  the  nation's  starry  banner  on  the  battlefields  of  the  south.  His  daughter, 
Mrs.  Knudson,  was  the  fourth  in  order  of  birth  in  a  family  of  six  children  and  was  educated 
in  the  schools  of  Minnesota.  To  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Knudson  have  been  born  four  children :  Edith, 
the  wife  of  C.  T.  Enger,  an  engineer  residing  in  Minot,  by  whom  she  has  one  child,  Evelyn 
Irene;  Stanley  and  Ruth,  who  are  attending  school;  and  Esther,  four  years  of  age. 

Mr.  Knudson  is  a  member  of  the  Association  of  Commerce  at  Minot  and  belongs  to  the 
Lutheran  church.  In  politics  he  is  independent  but  has  never  been  an  office  seeker,  preferring 
to  concentrate  his  energies  upon  his  duties  as  superintendent  of  the  waterworks,  in  which 
connection  his  record  has  ever  been  most  creditable. 


THOR  MOELLEK,  M.  D. 


Dr.  Thor  Jloellcr,  a  physician  and  surgeon  of  Perth,  Towner  county,  was  born  in 
Cliristiania,  Norway,  on  the  20th  of  June,  1863,  a  son  of  Jens  and  Olena  (Arnesen)  Moeller. 
The  mother  died  in  Norway  and  about  ten  years  prior  to  his  death  the  father  came  to  the 
United  States,  spending  his  remaining  days  among  his  children.     He  passed  away  about  1900. 

Dr.  Moeller  became  a  high  school  pupil  in  Cliristiania,  Norway,  and  was  graduated  there- 
from before  reaching  the  age  of  fourteen  years.  His  intention  was  to  enter  the  Government 
Military  Academy  but  his  youth  prevented  his  acceptance  in  the  school  at  that  time  and 
he  therefore  made  his  initial  step  m  the  business  world  by  securing  a  position  in  a  wholesale 
millinery  establishment  in  Christiania.  The  reports  which  reached  him  concerning  the 
opportunities  of  the  new  world  led  him  to  try  his  fortune  on  this  side  the  Atlantic  and  in 
1885  he  arrived  in  New  York  city,  having  in  his  pocket  only  a  few  dollars,  which  constituted 
his  entire  capital,  and  this  sum  was  taken  from  him  by  a  pickpocket.  His  first  year's 
experiences  in  New  York  city  were  hard  but  after  a  year  there  S|)ent  he  was  joined  by  his 
brother,  Dr.  J.  0.  L.  Moeller,  who  had  been  serving  as  a  physician  on  one  of  the  Danish  trans- 
atlantic steamers.  In  company  the  two  brothers  started  for  the  middle  west  and  the 
Doctor  opened  an  office  in  Chicago,  where  his  younger  brother,  Thor  Moeller,  secured  a 
position  as  clerk  in  a  dry  goods  store.  A  year '  later  the  Doctor  removed  to  Manistee, 
Michigan,  and  Thor  Moeller  went  with  him.  It  was  while  there  that  he  took  up  the  study 
of  medicine,  reading  under  the  direction  of  his  brother,  and  in  1S89  he  entered  Rush  Medical 
College,  from  which  he  was  graduated  with  the  class  of  1892.  He  had  to  pay  his  own 
way  through  college  and  while  pursuing  his  studies  he  acted  as  instrument  cutodian  in  the 
Cook  County  Hospital,  and  while  thus  engaged  saw  many  of  the  noted  surgical  operations 
performed  in  that  institution.  He  was  also  fortunate  in  winning  the  warm  friendship  of 
Dr.  Ludvig  Hektoen,  the  noted  pathologist,  who  was  then  a  member  of  the  faculty  of  Rush 
Medical  College  and  was  the  first  coroner's  physician  appointed  in  the  city  of  Chicago. 
Dr.  Moeller  accompanied  him  in  all  of  his  post-mortem  work  and  following  his  graduation  he 
opened  an  office  in  the  Masonic  Temple  in  Cliicago,  in  which  city  he  practiced  for  two  years. 
He  then  came  to  North  Dakota  to  visit  a  brother  who  lived  in  Hillsboro  and  while  there  he 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  841 

decided  to  locate  in  Far^o.  For  eigliteen  iiioiitlis  lie  piacticed  in  tlie  latter  city  and  then 
removed  to  Fertile,  Jliiinesota,  after  which  he  became  a  resident  of  Thief  Kiver  trails.  His 
object  in  making'  this  move  was  to  look  for  a  homestead  on  which  he  might  later  establish 
a  sanitarium.  Xot  finding  what  he  wanted,  he  again  removed,  this  time  going  to  llillsboru. 
North  Dakota,  to  take  over  the  practice  of  his  brother,  J.  0.  L.  Jloeller.  In  1900  he  made 
his  way  to  the  Turtle  Mountains  in  Rolette  county  and  filed  on  a  homestead  on  one  of  the 
Fish  lakes,  which  he  named  Lake  Ipselon.  He  proved  up  on  that  property  and  for  two 
years  thereafter  practiced  in  Rolla  but  through  the  iniluence  of  his  brother.  Dr.  Henry 
Moeller,  he  went  to  Devils  Lake  to  join  him  in  practice  there.  The  partnership  was  continued 
for  two  years,  after  which  Dr.  Thor  Moeller  went  to  Minot.  In  1915  he  removed  to  Perth 
but  is  living  there  only  temporarily,  expecting  to  locate  in  Devils  Lake  in  the  near  future. 
Dr.  Moeller  is  a  skilled  surgeon,  possessing  notable  ability  in  that  direction.  Broad  study 
has  kept  him  in  touch  with  the  latest  scientific  reasearches  and  discoveries  since  leaving 
college  and  experience  has  also  promoted  his  etliciency.  He  is  ever  most  conscientious  in  the 
discharge  of  his  duties  and  his  efforts  have  been  attended  with  excellent  results.  In 
Masonic  circles  Dr.  Moeller  has  attained  high  rank  and  is  now  a  member  of  El  Zagal  Temple 
of  the  Mystic  Shrine,  while  in  his  life  he  exemplifies  the  beneficent  spirit  of  the  order. 


HORACE  G.  SPRAGUE. 


Commercial  enterprise  in  Grafton  finds  a  worthy  representative  in  Horace  G.  Sprague, 
who  is  proprietor  of  one  of  the  pioneer  grocery  houses  of  the  city.  He  was  born  at 
Stevens  Point,  Wisconsin,  May  13,  1859,  a  son  of  Horatio  J.  and  Debbie  (Rockwell)  Sprague, 
the  former  a  native  of  Binghamton,  New  York.  On  removing  westward  they  settled  first 
in  Wisconsin,  while  at  a  later  date  they  became  residents  of  Brownsdale,  Minnesota,  where 
the  father  died  in  1887  at  the  age  of  fifty-five  years.  In  early  life  he  had  devoted  his 
attention  to  the  lumber  business  and  later  had  become  a  hardware  merchant  of  Minnesota. 
For  about  a  year  he  survived  his  wife,  who  died  in  1886  at  the  age  of  fifty-four  years.  They 
were  laid  to  rest  in  Lakewood  cemetery  at  Brownsdale,  Minnesota.  In  their  family  were 
two  sons  and  two  daughters,  of  whom  the  daughters  are  now  deceased,  Lena  having  passed 
away  in  Bellevue,  Iowa,  in  1868  at  the  age  of  thirteen  years,  while  Ccna  L.  died  in  Browns- 
ville, Minnesota,  in  1885  at  the  age  of  twenty-six  years.  The  surviving  sons  are  Horace  G. 
and  Quiney  S.  The  latter  was  born  in  Bellevue,  Iowa,  in  1SG9,  and  is  now  president  of  the 
Sprague    Commission    Company    of    Minneapolis. 

Horace  G.  Sprague  largely  acquired  his  education  in  the  schools  of  Brownsdale,  Minne- 
sota, and  afterward  took  up  the  occupation  of  farming.  Later  he  followed  other  jjursnits 
and  in  1883  came  to  North  Dakota,  settling  at  Grafton,  where  he  was  first  employed  as  a 
clerk  in  the  Chandler  store.  In  1884  he  joined  his  brother  in  the  grocery  business,  the 
partnership  continuing  for  eight  years,  at  the  end  of  which  time  Horace  G.  Sprague  bought 
out  his  brother's  interest  and  has  since  continued  alone.  He  has  developed  his  trade  to 
large  and  profitable  proportions  and  ranks  with  the  leading  and  progressive  as  well  as  the 
pioneer  grocery  merchants  of  his  section  of  the  state.  He  now  tarries  a  very  large  and 
carefully  selected  stock  of  staple  and  fancy  groceries  and  the  tasteful  arrangement  of  his 
store,  its  neat  and  attractive  appearance,  his  reasonable  prices  and  honorable  business 
methods  have  all  contributed  to  his  success.  He  displays  most  nu'thodical  iiualities  in  the 
conduct  of  his  store  and  his  careful  systemati/.ation  of  the  work  bus  also  constitutiil  an 
element    in    his    advancement. 

On  the  14th  of  .lune,  1884,  Mr.  Sprague  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Florence 
Haynes,  of  Grafton,  a  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Hiram  Haynes,  pioneer  settlers  of  Roches- 
ter, Minnesota,  Mrs.  Sprague  being  their  only  child.  A  daughter  and  son  have  been  born 
to  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Sprague.  Cena  M.,  who  was  born  in  1891,  is  a  graduate  of  the  Grafton  high 
school,  of  the  University  of  North  Dakota  and  the  University  of  Illinois,  while  for  two 
years  she  pin'sued  a  library  course  in  the  University  of  Iowa.  Vernon,  who  was  born  in 
Grafton  in  1893,  was  graduated  from  the  high  school  and  subsequently  entered  upon  a  course 


842  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

in  civil  engineering  in  tlie  University  of  North  Dalcota,  wliicli  he  cempleted  by  graduation 
with  the  class  of  1915.  He  is  now  superintendent  of  paving  at  Minot  and  also  at  Bismarck. 
Mr.  Sprague  has  attained  high  rank  in  Masonic  circles,  belonging  to  the  lodge,  chapter, 
commandery  and  Mystic  Shrine.  He  is  also  identified  with  the  Ancient  Order  of  Uiiited 
Workmen  and  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America.  His  political  allegiance  is  given  to  the 
republican  part}'  and  after  serving  as  alderman  of  Grafton  he  was  elected  mayor  of  the 
city  in  1900.  Throughout  his  entire  life  he  has  displayed  a  deep  interest  in  all  those  things 
which  are  considered  most  worth  while  for  the  individual  and  the  community  and  he  has 
given  active  aid  and  assistance  to  the  efforts  which  have  been  put  forth  to  advance  the 
material,  intellectual,  social  and  moral  progress  of  his  city.  Grafton  has  long  numbered 
him  among  her  valued  residents  and  the  most  envious  do  not  grudge  him  his  success,  so 
honorably  has  it  been  won  and  so  worthily  used. 


P.  F.  MEHARRY. 

P.  F.  Meharry,  a  druggist  engaged  in  business  at  Starkweather,  was  born  in  Ontario 
on  the  1st  of  October,  1874,  a  son  of  H.  B.  and  Anna  (Fletcher)  Meharry.  The  father  is 
now  deceased  but  the  mother  survives. 

P.  F.  Meharry  pursued  his  education  in  the  schools  of  his  native  country  and  after 
leaving  high  school  received  his  professional  training  for  the  drug  business  in  Canada,  where 
he  pursued  his  studies  for  a  year  and  a  half.  He  finished  his  course  in  North  Dakota  and 
won  his  certificate  of  practice  in  1897.  He  located  first  at  St.  Thomas,  this  state,  where  he 
remained  from  1893  until  the  fall  of  1897,  when  he  removed  to  Devils  Lake.  There  he 
resided  for  five  years,  on  the  expiration  of  which  period  he  took  up  his  abode  in  Stark- 
weather, where  he  has  now  resided  for  about  fifteen  years.  He  established  a  store  in  that 
town  and  has  since  conducted  a  growing  and  profitable  business,  having  now  a  well  ap- 
pointed establishment  containing  a  large  line  of  drugs  and  druggists'  sundries. 

On  the  30th  of  November,  1905,  Ml'.  Meharry  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Alice  M. 
Barry,  who  passed  away  July  6,  1916.  Mr.  Meharry  belongs  to  the  Presbyterian  church 
and  is  a  third  degree  Mason.  His  political  endorsement  is  given  to  the  republican  party  and 
in  1905  he  was  appointed  by  President  Roosevelt  to  the  position  of  postmaster,  while  re- 
appointment came  to  him  from  President  Wilson.  He  is  interested  in  the  state  and  its 
development  and  lends  active  aid  and  cooperation  to  plans  and  movements  for  the  good  of 
his  community.  From  early  manhood  he  has  resided  in  North  Dakota  and  the  spirit  of 
western  enterprise  and  progress  which  has  led  to  the  upbuilding  of  this  section  of  the  state 
has  characterized  him  in  all  that  he  has  undertaken. 


THOMAS  A.  CURTIS. 


Thomas  A.  Curtis,  a  \vell  known  and  successful  member  of  the  Ransom  county  bar, 
practicing  at  Lisbon,  was  born  on  the  27th  day  of  January,  1862,  in  Magnolia,  Wisconsin,  a 
son  of  Israel  and  Elizabeth  (Fitzpatrick)  Curtis.  The  father  was  also  born  in  that  state 
and  became  a  sailor  on  the  great  lakes,  devoting  his  life  to  that  occupation  until  the  out- 
break of  the  Civil  war,  at  which  time  he  joined  a  Michigan  regiment  for  service  at  the  front. 
He  went  south  and  was  never  heard  from  again.  His  wife  was  born  and  reared  in  Ireland 
and  at  the  age  of  eighteen  years  came  to  the  United  States,  settling  first  in  New  York 
city,  whence  she  afterward  went  to  Wisconsin,  where  she  met  and  married  Mr.  Curtis.  She 
died  June  9,  1882,  and  is  survived  by  three  of  her  four  children,  the  eldest  having  passed 
away. 

Thomas  A.  Curtis,  who  was  the  youngest,  was  educated  in  the  schools  of  a  little 
Wisconsin  village  and  early  learned  the  printer's  trade,  which  he  followed  for  four  years, 
but  he  regarded  this  merely  as  an  initial  step  to  other  business  activity,  for  at  the  same 
time  he  was  studying  law.     On  the  7th  of  May,  1883,  he  arrived  in  Lisbon.  North   Dakota. 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  843 

ami  on  every  possible  occasion  availed  himself  of  the  opportunity  for  further  law  study, 
bi'in<!;  admitted  to  the  bar  March  23,  1885,  since  which  time  ho  has  won  a  most  creditable 
place  as  a  prominent  attorney  of  Lisbon. 

On  the  8th  of  August,  1886,  occurred  the  marriage  of  Mr.  Curtis  and  Miss  Phebe  A. 
Forward,  a  native  of  New  York,  born  February  25,  1870,  a  daughter  of  George  and  .Sara 
(Richmond!  Forward,  who  removed  from  New  York  to  Minnesota  in  the  fall  of  1882. 
Throughout  his  life  he  followed  the  occupation  of  carpentering.  Both  he  and  his  wife  have 
now  passed  away  but  are  survived  by  their  two  children,  of  whom  Mrs.  Curtis  is  the  elder.  By 
her  marriage  she  has  become  the  mother  of  five  children:  Loren  B.,  who  was  born  July  12, 
1887,  and  is  now  engaged  in  the  furniture  business  at  Halladay,  North  Dakota;  Walter  G., 
who  was  born  March  1,  1889,  and  was  admitted  to  the  bar  December  6,  1910,  since  which 
time  he  has  been  associated  with  his  father  in  law  practice;  RoUo  A.,  who  was  born  Septem- 
ber 29.  1890,  and  follows  carpentering  in  Lisbon;  Elsie  S.,  who  was  born  March  26,  1895,  and 
is  a  student  in  the  college  at  Fargo,  North  Dakota;  and  Alice  L.,  born  April  25,  1898.  The 
second  son  is  a  very  prominent  Mason,  belonging  to  Fargo  Lodge,  F.  &  A.  M.,  of  which 
he  is  secretary,  also  to  the  Royal  Arch  chapter  and  commandery  at  Lisbon,  while  with 
the  Nobles  of  the  Mystic  Shrine  he  has  crossed  the  sands  of  the  desert. 

In  his  political  allegiance  Mr.  Curtis  is  a  republican,  recognized  as  one  of  the  party 
leaders  in  his  section  of  the  state.  He  was  mayor  of  Lisbon  from  1892  until  1894,  was 
states  attorney  during  the  years  1900  and  1901  and  again  from  1908  until  1912,  was  city 
clerk  in  1885  and  1886  and  at  the  present  time  is  serving  on  the  city  board  of  education 
and  as  president  of  the  public  library  board.  He  is  much  interested  in  all  that  pertains  to 
the  general  welfare  and  his  aid  can  be  counted  upon  to  further  any  practical  plan  or  move- 
ment for  the  public  good.  Fraternally  he  is  connected  with  Lisbon  Lodge,  No.  14,  I.  0.  0.  F., 
in  which  he  has  passed  through  all  of  the  chairs  and  has  been  grand  representative,  attending 
the  Grand  Lodge  in  Seattle,  Washington,  in  1909.  He  also  belongs  to  Lisbon  Lodge,  No. 
69,  K.  P.,  and  to  the  Knights  of  the  Maccabees,  filling  all  of  the  oiBces  in  both  of  the  local 
organizations.  His  membership  extends  to  the  Ancient  Order  of  United  Workmen,  the  Elks 
and  the  Modern  Brotherhood  of  America  and  in  his  life  he  exemplifies  the  beneficent  spirit 
of  these  organizations.  He  attends  the  Methodist  Episcopal  church  and  is  serving  on  its 
board  of  trustees.  Since  1885  he  has  continuously  practiced  law  in  Lisbon  and  his  ability 
in  that  connection  has  brought  him  prominently  to  the  front,  while  his  wisely  directed 
interest  in  those  other  things  which  fcatiu'e  as  worth  while  in  life  has  constituted  an  im- 
portant element  in  public  progress  in  Lisbon. 


.JOHN  W.  GOODALL. 


•John  W.  Goodall,  a  ranchman  of  McKenzie  county  well  acquainted  with  every  phase  of 
ranch  life  in  the  northwest,  was  born  in  Oregon,  September  30,  1856,  a  son  of  0.  P.  Goodall, 
a  native  of  Missouri,  who  became  one  of  the  pioneer  settlers  of  Oiegon.  .John  W.  Goodall 
was  educated  in  the  schools  of  his  native  state  and  afterward  went  to  Wyoming,  where  he 
entered  the  employ  of  Mason  &  Lovell,  prominent  cattle  ranchmen  of  the  early  days  in 
Wyoming,  their  ranch  including  the  present  site  of  the  city  of  Thermopolis.  He  was  a 
cowboy  on  this  outfit  in  the  early  days  of  ranching  in  Wyoming  and  in  1878  he  went  to 
Medora,  North  Dakota,  where  he  took  charge  of  the  cattle  ranch  of  the  Marquis  de  Mores, 
a  French  nobleman,  who  owned  the  largest  ranch  in  North  Dakota,  having  his  own  packing 
plant  at  Medora.  Mr.  Goodall  was  selected  as  foreman  of  this  big  ranch  outfit  and  remained 
as  ranch  boss  there  until  1884,  having  under  his  charge  the  largest  cow  outfit  of  the  state. 
It  was  customary  for  him  to  have  charge  of  all  the  roundups,  in  which  all  of  the  ranchmen 
took  part,  separating  each  man's  cattle  from  the  other  herds.  At  that  period  Theodore 
Roosevelt  was  connected  with  the  ranch  life  of  the  state  and  worked  under  Jlr.  Goodall 
during  the  roundup.  They  became  old-time  friends  during  their  life  on  the  plains  and 
their  acquaintanceship  has  continued  through  the  years.  In  1884,  when  the  Marquis  de 
Mores'  outfit  broke  up,  Mr.  Goodall  was  made  foreman  of  the  Mason  &  Lovell  outfit  again, 
which  at  that  time  was  established  on  the  Little  Missouri  river,  south   of  Dickinson,  and 


844  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

which  subsequently  sold  out  to  the  Custer  Cattle  Company.  Mr.  Goodall  then  became  fore- 
man of  the  latter  ranch,  so  continuing  until  1896,  when  the  settlers  coming  into  the  country 
crowded  out  the  big  ranchmen.  Mr.  Goodall  then  established  his  own  ranch  upon  land 
formerly  occupied  by  the  Custer  Cattle  Company  south  of  Dickinson  and  adopted  as  his 
brand  the  letter  V  crossed  by  a  line.  This  had  formerly  been  the  brand  of  the  Marquis  de 
Mores.  After  two  years  spent  at  that  location  Mr.  Goodall  removed  to  a  point  on  the  Little 
Missouri  river  twenty-five  miles  south  of  Medora  and  there  remained  until  1900,  when  he 
was  elected  sheriff  of  Stark  county,  North  Dakota,  which  position  he  filled  for  four  years, 
or  until  1904,  having  been  reelected  in  1902.  When  he  was  first  called  to  the  office  he 
removed  his  ranch  to  the  northeast  corner  of  McKenzie  county,  on  the  Big  Missouri  river, 
and  since  that  time  has  engaged  in  ranching.  His  cattle  pasture  is  on  the  Fort  Berthold 
Indian  reservation.  For  three  years  Mr.  Goodall  was  United  States  inspector  of  live  stock 
on  the  Indian  reservation  and  in  the  performance  of  his  duties  traveled  all  over  the  United 
States  visiting  the  various  reservations  in  many  parts  of  the  country.  He  was  appointed 
to  this  position  by  President  Taft  through  the  infiuence  of  Theodore  Roosevelt. 

Mr.  Goodall  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Mary  Coleman,  a  native  of  McGregor  county, 
Iowa,  and  a  daughter  of  Micliael  and  Margaret  (Cochran)  Coleman.  Her  father  went  to 
Medora,  North  Dakota,  as  an  employe  in  connection  with  the  construction  of  the  Northern 
Pacific  Railroad,  while  subsequently  he  became  foreman  of  the  packing  plant  of  the  Marquis 
de  Mores  at  Medora.  Both  he  and  his  wife  are  now  deceased.  To  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Goodall 
were  born  five  children.  Winfield  J.,  who  was  born  in  Medora,  is  a  ranchman  on  the  Fort 
Berthold  Indian  reservation.  He  married  JIargaret  Keogh,  of  Alexander,  North  Dakota, 
and  they  have  one  child,  Francis  Kenneth.  Mary  is  deceased.  Louisa  is  the  wife  of  D.  M. 
Phillips,  a  farmer  of  McKenzie  county.  Margaret  has  also  passed  away.  Oliver  Perry,  the 
youngest,  is  at  home. 

Mr.  Goodall  gives  his  political  allegiance  to  the  republican  party  and  fraternally  is 
connected  with  the  Masons,  the  Knights  of  Pythias  and  the  Benevolent  Protective  Order  of 
Elks.  He  understands  thoroughly  what  it  has  meant  to  develop  and  improve  North  Dakota's 
great,  broad,  sweeping  prairies  and  as  a  plainsman  of  the  early  days  he  is  familiar  with  all 
of  the  pioneer  history  that  has  led  to  the  later  progress  and  improvement.  He  is  still  an 
active  man,  conducting  a  large  ranch,  and  can  do  as  much  work  as  the  young  men  on  the 
ranch,  still  riding  a  horse  with  all  the  old-time  skill. 


CHARLES   B.  HARRIS,  M.   D. 

Dr.  Charles  B.  Harris,  well  known  in  Pembina  and  the  northeastern  part  of  the  state, 
is  there  engaged  in  the  practice  of  medicine.  He  was  born  in  Charlestown,  Jefferson  county. 
West  Virginia,  November  6,  1857,  and  comes  of  English  ancestry,  the  family  having  been 
founded  in  Maryland  at  an  early  period  in  the  colonization  of  the  new  world.  His  father, 
Jeremiah  Harris,  was  born  in  Virginia  and  there  followed  merchandising  and  farming,  cul- 
tivating his  land  with  the  aid  of  a  large  number  of  slaves  whom  he  owned.  His  business 
affairs  were  carefully  and  profitably  conducted.  At  the  time  of  the  Civil  war  he  joined 
the  Confederate  army  as  a  member  of  Ashby's  Cavalry,  with  which  he  served  for  about  six 
months,  when  ill  health  forced  him  to  leave  the  army.  He  married  Susan  Martha  Boarman, 
a  native  of  Virginia,  and  a  representative  of  one  of  the  old  families  of  that  state,  of 
English  origin.  The  founder  of  the  family  in  America  came  to  the  new  world  with  Lord 
Baltimore  and  first  settled  in  Cliarles  county,  Maryland.  Her  father  was  Oiarles  Boarman, 
an  admiral  of  the  United  States  Navy,  who  fought  in  the  War  of  1813  against  England. 
The  death  of  Jeremiah  Harris  occurred  in  1881,  when  he  was  sixty-two  years  of  age,  after 
which  Mrs.  Harris  came  with  her  family  of  four  children  to  North  Dakota.  She  is  still  living 
at  the  advanced  age  of  eighty-six  years. 

Dr.  Harris  pursued  his  education  in  the  schools  of  Charlestown,  West  Virginia,  and 
of  Baltimore,  Maryland,  preparing  in  the  latter  city  for  his  professional  career  as  a  student 
in  the  College  of  Physicians  and  Surgeons.  He  was  g:-aduated  therefrom  March  3,  1880, 
with  the  M.   D.  degree  and  following  his  graduation  he   practiced   for   eighteen   months   at 


DR.  CHARLES  B.  HARRIS 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  847 

Jlartinsbui;;,  West  Virginia.  On  the  Utli  of  January,  1883,  he  arrived  in  Pembina  and  is 
today  the  oldest  pliysician  in  years  of  eontinuous  practice  in  Pembina  county.  His  position 
professionally  has  ever  been  among  the  foremost  and  his  comprehensive  knowledge  of  the 
science  of  modieine  well  i|ualilled  liim  for  the  onerous  duties  which  devolve  upon  him.  He  is 
a  member  of  the  Grand  I'orlcs  District  Medical  Society  and  the  North  Dakota  State  Medical 
Society  and  broad  reading  and  study  keep  him  informed  concerning  tlie  truths  brought  to 
light  by  modern  seiontitic  research  and  investigation.  Since  I'Jll  he  has  been  president  of 
the  Merchants  Bank  of  Pembina.  He  also  owns  and  cultivates  a  large  amount  of  farm  land 
in  Pembina  county  and  his  agricultural  interests  contribute  materially  to  his  Income. 

On  the  29th  of  September,  1886,  in  Pen:bina,  Dr.  Harris  was  united  in  marriage  to 
Miss  Katherine  J.  Abrams,  a  native  of  Canada  and  a  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  George  W. 
Alirams.  who  resided  near  Kingston,  Canada,  but  both  have  now  passed  away.  Dr.  and  Mrs. 
Harris  have  six  children,  Gladys,  Kathryn  J.,  Pauline,  Janette,  George  and  Mary  Margaret. 

Dr.  Harris  belongs  to  the  Ancient  Order  of  United  Workmen,  the  Yeomen  and  the 
Degree  of  Honor.  He  is  also  a  Mason.  Politically  he  is  a  democrat  and  for  many  years 
was  superintendent  of  health  in  Pembina  county  and  for  thirty  years  was  one  of  the  com- 
missioners on  the  board  of  this  county  for  the  examination  of  cases  of  insanity.  He  has 
also  served  for  twelve  years  on  the  local  school  board  but  at  the  present  time  is  filling 
only  the  position  of  health  officer  of  his  city.  He  has  always  been  loyal  to  every  trust 
reposed  in  him  and  has  proven  a  competent,  faithful  official,  discharging  every  public  and 
professional  duty  with  a  sense  of  conscientious  obligation. 


JOHN   B.   WAGXEK. 


John  B.  Wagner,  who  formerly  devoted  the  greater  part  of  his  time  to  merchandising, 
has  now  disposed  of  his  store  and  is  looking  after  a  number  of  business  interests.  He  was 
born  in  Canada  on  the  3d  of  March,  1863,  a  son  of  Charles  and  Mary  Ann  (Kennedy)  Wagner, 
also  natives  of  the  Dominion.  Our  subject's  grandparents  were  of  Irish  descent  but  removed 
to  Canada  many  years  ago.  His  mother's  father,  John  Kennedy,  taught  school  in  Ireland  for 
some  time.  The  marriage  of  Charles  Wagner  and  ilary  Ann  Kennedy  was  solemnized 
in  Canada  in  18C0  and  they  continued  to  reside  in  that  country  until  1893,  when  they  removed 
to  Richland  county,  North  Dakota.  The  father  proved  up  on  a  homestead  in  Sargent 
county  and  then  removed  to  the  vicinity  of  Lidgerwood,  wiiere  he  carried  on  agricultural 
pursuits  until  his  death,  which  occurred  in  1912.  He  was  born  in  1825.  He  was  energetic 
and  possessed  good  judgment  and  at  the  time  of  his  death  his  estate  was  worth  thirty 
thousand  dollars.  He  was  a  democrat  in  his  political  belief,  in  religious  faith  was  an 
Episcopalian,  and  fraternally  was  identified  with  the  Masonic  order.  His  wife  passed  away 
in  1895.  They  were  the  parents  of  four  children,  three  of  whom  survive,  namely:  Mrs. 
G.  H.  Gilbert,  of  New  York  city,  whose  husband  is  a  civil  engineer;  John  B.;  and  Mrs.  J.  H. 
Movius,  the  wife  of  a   prominent  banker  of  Lidgerwood. 

.John  B.  Wagner  obtained  his  education  in  the  common  schools  of  Canada  and  grew  to 
manhood  under  the  parental  roof.  In  1880  he  went  to  Detroit,  Michigan,  and  entered  the 
employ  of  a  wholesale  tobacco  company  but  later  he  became  connected  with  a  sewing 
machine  concern.  He  then  worked  in  the  lumber  woods  of  Canada  for  five  years  but  in  1887 
became  a  resident  of  Lidgerwood,  North  Dakota.  He  established  a  hardware  business  there 
and  for  twenty-five  years  successfully  engaged  in  merchandising,  selling  out,  however,  in 
May,  1914.  He  has  since  devoted  much  time  to  supervising  the  operation  of  a  half 
section  of  land  which  he  owns  and  he  has  met  with  gratifying  success  in  his  agricultural 
operations.  He  sold  thirty-six  hundred  bushels  of  1915  wheat  at  a  dollar  and  twelve  cents 
per  bushel  and  his  grain  seldom  fails  to  command  a  high  price,  as  it  is  always  of  excellent 
quality  and  as  he  watches  the  nuirkets  closely.  He  is  also  manager  of  the  opera  house  at 
Lidgerwood  and  is  agent  for  the  Standard  Oil  Company.  In  addition  to  these  interests 
he  owns  good  business  property  in  Lidgerwood. 

In  1904  occurred  the  marriage  of  Mr.  W'agner  and  Miss  Anna  Huppeler,  of  Walipeton. 
She  is  a  devout  communicant  of  the  Catholic  church,  and  he  holds  membership  in  the  Prot- 

Vol.  111—39 


848  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

estant  Episcopal  church.  He  is  also  affiliated  with  the  Masonic  blue  lodge,  of  which  he  is 
past  master,  the  Royal  Arch  chapter,  of  which  he  is  now  serving  as  high  priest,  the  com- 
mandery  and  the  Shrine;  and  holds  membership  in  the  Workmen  and  the  Independent 
Order  of  Odd  Fellows.  His  political  belief  accords  with  the  principles  of  the  democratic 
party,  and  he  works  loyally  for  the  success  of  that  party  at  the  polls.  For  a  number  of 
years  he  served  as  deputy  sheritl"  and  for  a  considerable  period  he  held  the  office  of  chief 
of  police  of  Lidgerwood.  He  has  also  served  on  the  state  board  of  science  for  eight  years  and 
for  four  years  was  secretary  of  that  body.  He  has  always  been  true  to  all  trusts  reposed 
in  him  and  gives  the  same  care  and  thought  to  the  discharge  of  his  official  duties  as  he 
does  to   the   management   of   his   private    interests. 


FRA^'K  X.  WANNER. 


Frank  X.  Wanner,  a  well  known  and  highly  esteemed  citizen  of  Dickinson,  was  born 
in  Odessa,  Russia,  on  the  8th  of  August,  1875,  and  is  a  son  of  Philip  and  Margaret  Wanner, 
who  brought  their  family  to  the  United  States  in  May,  1889,  and  first  located  at  Hebron, 
North  Dakota,  but  afterward  removed  to  Dickinson.  There  the  father,  who  was  a  black- 
smith and  machinist  by  trade,  conducted  a  shop  for  two  months,  but  at  the  end  of  that 
time  took  up  a  homestead  and  turned  his  attention  to  farming. 

Frank  X.  Wanner  began  his  education  in  the  schools  of  Russia,  being  about  fourteen 
years  of  age  on  the  emigration  of  the  family  to  the  new  world.  Here  he  continued  his 
studies,  attending  business  college  and  a  night  school  in  Dickinson  and  also  pursuing  a 
course  with  a  correspondence  college.  He  finally  took  up  the  study  of  law  in  the  oflice  of 
Senator  McBride  and  is  now  awaiting  his  admission  to  the  bar  so  that  he  may  enter  upon 
the  practice  of  the  legal  profession..  For  the  past  six  years  he  has  successfully  engaged  in 
farmipg  and  while  studying  law  also  devoted  considerable  attention  to  the  real  estate  and 
insurance  business  and  made  collections  for  different  parties.  He  is  the  owner  of  three 
hundred  and  sixty  acres  of  very  valuable  and  productive  land  and  is  interested  in  the  raising 
of  fancy  stock. 

On  the  4th  of  November,  1896,  Mr.  Wanner  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Beata 
Kupper  and  the  children  born  to  them  are  John  F.,  Fred,  Mary  A.,  Frank,  Joseph  P.,  Mar- 
guerite, Frances  and  Pauline.  The  family  are  communicants  of  the  Catholic  churcli,  and 
Mr.  Wanner  is  also  a  member  of  the  Yeomen.  As  a  republican  he  has  taken  quite  an 
active  and  influential  part  in  local  politics  and  represented  the  thirty-first  district  in  the 
general  assembly  for  two  years.  He  has  also  served  as  alderman  of  Dickinson  for  the 
same  length  of  time  and  is  regarded  as  one  of  the  most  public-spirited  and  enterprising 
citizens  of  the  town  in  which  he  now  makes  his  home. 


NELS  G.  JOHNSON. 


Nels  G.  Johnson  has  resided  in  Cass  county  since  early  pioneer  times  and  has  been 
active  in  various  lines  of  activity.  He  is  now  living  in  Horace  and  is  rural  mail  carrier  on 
route  No.  1.  He  still  owns  four  hundred  acres  of  excellent  land  in  the  county,  which  he 
rents  to  others  and  from  which  he  derives  a  good  income.  He  was  born  in  Sweden  on  the 
25th  of  March,  1864,  a  son  of  John  and  Mary  (Larson)  Johnson.  The  mother  died  in 
Sweden.  The  father  came  to  the  United  States  with  two  of  his  children  in  1882  and  in  the 
following  year  was  joined  by  two  sons  and  a  daughter.  He  located  in  Grant  county,  Minne- 
sota, where  he  resided  until  his  death. 

Nels  G.  Johnson  was  nineteen  years  of  age  when,  in  1883,  he  came  to  the  United  States 
and  for  three  years  he  resided  in  Grant  county,  Minnesota,  where  he  was  variously  employed. 
In  the  fall  of  1886  he  came  to  North  Dakota  and  located  at  Horace,  Cass  county.  He  was 
a  brick  and  stone  masop  by  trade,  having  begun  his  apprenticeship  in  Sweden,  and  after 
arriving  in  Horace  secured  employment  in  those  lines.     In  1894  he  became  interested  in  the 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  849 

^'lain  tiiulo,  takiiij;  ehaige  of  tlie  Great  Wostoni  elevator  at  Horace,  of  wliieh  lie  was 
iiiaiuiger  for  eight  j'ears.  In  the  meantime  he  purchased  two  huiulreil  and  forty  acres  of 
land  on  section  8,  Stanley  township,  and  subsequently  added  to  his  holdings,  his  farm  now 
comprising  four  hundred  acres  of  rich  and  arable  land.  From  1S9S  until  1911  he  was  actively 
engaged  in  farming  and  as  the  years  have  passed  his  resources  have  increased  until  he  is 
today  a  man  of  independent  means.  For  the  last  four  years  he  has  rented  his  land  and 
made  his  home  in  Horace,  and  since  October,  1910,  he  has  served  as  rural  mail  carrier.  He 
also  owns  stock  in  the  Farmers  elevator  at  Horace. 

In  1S98  Mr.  Johnson  was  married  to  Miss  Mary  llolman,  a  native  of  Cass  county.  North 
Dakota,  and  a  daughter  of  (Sle  Holnian,  one  of  the  pioneers  of  Stanley  township.  She  passed 
away  in   1904,  leaving  a  daughter,  Nellie. 

_Mr.  .Johnson  has  always  taken  the  interest  of  a  good  citizen  in  public  alTairs.  During 
the  many  years  that  he  has  resided  in  Cass  county  he  has  made  many  sincere  friends  who 
hold  him  in  high  regard  because  of  his  excellent  qualities. 


FRED  EWING,  M.  D. 


Dr.  Fred  Ewing,  who  in  his  practice  has  largely  specialized  in  surgery  and  is  one  of 
the  proprietors  of  the  Lakeside  Hospital  at  Kenuuire,  was  born  near  Areola,  Illinois,  October 
23,  1880,  a  son  of  James  H.  and  Anna  (McDonald)  Evving.  The  father  is  a  native  of  Coles 
county,  Illinois,  and  after  attending  the  district  schools  continued  his  education  in  an 
academy  at  Lerna  that  county.  He  later  followed  the  occupation  of  farming  and  in  1861 
responded  to  the  country's  call  for  troops,  enlisting  as  a  member  of  Company  E,  Eighth 
Hlinois  Volunteer  Infantry,  for  service  in  the  Civil  war.  He  was  subsequently  promoted  to 
the  rank  of  second  lieutenant  and  later  to  first  lieutenant  and  served  throughout  the  period 
of  hostilities  with  a  most  creditable  military  record.  He  then  returned  to  Coles  county, 
where  he  continued  to  engage  in  farming,  and  he  also  took  an  active  part  in  public  all'aira. 
In  1874  he  was  nominated  and  elected  to  represent  his  district  in  the  state  legislature  and 
was  twice  reelected,  serving  from  1874  until  1880.  He  introduced  and  succeeded  in  securing 
(he  passage  of  a  bill  which  became  the  first  law  in  the  V'nited  States  to  govern  commerce. 
Many  years  afterward  congress  enacted  a  similar  law  which  established  the  Interstate  Com- 
merce Commission.  Senator  Shelby  M.  CuUom,  of  Illinois,  who  put  through  the  Interstate 
Commerce  Commission  law,  was  a  member  of  the  Illinois  legislature  at  the  time  the  Ewing 
bill  was  passed  and  assisted  Mr.  Ewing  in  promoting  and  supporting  it.  It  was  known  as  the 
state  railway  and  warehouse  commission  bill  and  its  provisions  governed  the  railroads  of 
Illinois.  Jlr.  Ewing  continued  to  engage  in  agricultural  pin-suits  until  1900,  wdien  he  retired 
trora  active  business  life  and  removed  to  Areola,  where  he  and  his  wife,  who  was  born  near 
Lerna,  Coles  county,  now  make  their  home.  Mrs.  Ewing,  after  completing  her  education  in 
her  native  count}',  became  a  teacher  in  the  Loxa  Academy   at  Loxa,  Illinois. 

Dr.  Ewing,  after  mastering  the  branches  of  learning  taught  in  the  district  schools, 
attended  the  high  school  at  Areola,  Illinois,  and  Kno.x  College  at  Galesburg,  from  which 
institution  he  was  graduated  in  1903  with  the  degree  of  Bachelor  of  Science.  He  then 
entered  F'argo  College  at  Fargo,  North  Dakota,  as  athletic  instructor  but  regarded  this 
merely  as  an  initial  step  to  other  professional  interests  and  in  1903  entered  Rush  Medical 
College  at  Cliicago,  where  he  completed  the  four  years'  course  by  graduation  in  1907,  at  which 
time  the  JI.  D.  degree  was  conferre<l  upon  him.  I^ater  he  had  the  benefit  of  broad  practical 
experience  as  interne  in  the  Presbyt<'rian  Hospital  of  Cliicago  for  two  years,  and  for  three 
years  he  was  connected  with  the  Galesburg  (111.)  Hospital.  In  the  fall  c(|  1912  he  came  to 
North  Dakota  and  establislied  himself  in  practice  at  Kenmare,  where  in  the  fall  of  1913 
he  was  joined  by  his  brother.  Dr.  John  Ewing,  at  which  time  they  took  over  the  management 
of  St.  John's  Hospital,  which  they  conducted  until  1915.  The  two  brothers  then  established 
and  incorporated  the  Lakeside  Hospital  and  erected  a  thoroughly  modern  hospital  building 
in  the  city  of  Kenmare  with  a  capacity  of  forty  beds.  They  traveled  over  the  United 
States,  visiting  various  hospitals  in  order  to  gain  new  ideas  concerning  construction  and 
equipment   of   their   thoroughly   modern   establishment,   which    contains   everything   that    is 


850  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

of  value  in  connection  with  scientific  surgical  treatment.  Dr.  Ewing's  medical  education 
and  all  of  his  hospital  experience  and  training  prepared  liim  for  surgical  work,  in  which  he 
specializes.  He  has  attained  eminence  in  his  field  as  the  result  of  his  marked  ability 
and  patients  now  come  to  him  from  Minnesota,  Montana,  Wyoming  and  Canada  as  well  as 
North  Dakota  and  he  has  performed  many  notable  operations. 

On  the  1st  of  June,  1909,  at  Areola,  Illinois,  Dr.  Ewing  was  married  to  Miss  Maud 
Oreutt,  who  was  there  born  June  8,  1880,  a  daughter  of  Samuel  H.  and  Cordelia  (Cliapman) 
Orcutt,  the  former  a  native  of  Ohio  and  the  latter  of  New  York.  The  father  became  a  farmer 
of  Illinois  and  for  many  years  followed  that  occupation  but  is  now  living  retired  in  Areola. 
It  was  there  that  Mrs.  Ewing  was  educated  and  later  she  taught  in  the  schools  of  Areola 
to  the  time  of  her  marriage.  Fraternally  Dr.  Ewing  is  connected  with  the  Masonic  lodge 
at  Kenmare  and  his  political  support  is  given  to  the  republican  party,  but  he  has  little  time 
for  public  work,  his  cii'orts  being  demanded  by  his  profession.  In  1913  he  was  appointed 
surgeon  for  the  Soo  Eailroad  Line.  He  belongs  to  tlie  Northwestern  District  Medical  Society, 
of  which  he  was  elected  vice  president  in  1916,  the  North  Dakota  Medical  Society  and 
the  American  Medical  Association,  and  broad  reading,  study  and  investigation  keep  him 
abreast  with  the  best  thinking  men  of  the  age  and  in  close  touch  with  tlie  most  modern 
scientific  investigation. 


CHAKLES   COLVA. 


Charles  Colva,  manager  of  the  Anselm  Farmers  Elevator  Company  at  Anselm  and  owner 
of  the  Atlantic  Elevator,  was  born  in  Pennsylvania,  fifteen  miles  northeast  of  Harrisburg, 
on  the  1st  of  February,  1869,  and  is  a  son  of  Jacob  and  Fannie  Colva,  who  were  natives  of  tlie 
Keystone  state  and  spent  their  entire  lives  there,  the  fatlier  following  the  occupation  of  farm- 
ing.    Their  family  numbered  seven   children. 

Cliarles  Colva,  the  second  in  order  of  birtli,  is  indebted  to  tlie  public  school  system 
of  his  native  state  for  the  educational  privileges  which  he  enjoyed,  and  when  his  texbooks 
were  put  aside  he  began  working  for  others,  being  thus  employed  between  the  ages  of 
nineteen  and  thirty  years.  He  then  removed  westward  to  Minnesota  and  was  employed  on 
farms  in  the  vicinity  of  Mankato  for  about  two  years.  In  1901  he  came  to  North  Dakota, 
settling  in  Cass  county,  where  he  secured  a  situation  in  connection  with  an  elevator,  spending 
six  years  with  the  Amenia-Sharon  Land  Company.  On  the  expii-ation  of  that  period  he 
removed  to  Woods,  North  Dakota,  and  was  made  buyer  for  the  Monarch  Elevator  at  tliat 
place,  where  he  spent  a  year  and  a  half.  On  the  2d  of  August,  1909,  he  arrived  in  Anselm 
and  took  charge  of  the  interests  of  the  Anselm  Farmers  Elevator  Company,  which  he  still 
manages.  This  elevator  was  built  in  1908  and  has  become  tlie  center  of  the  grain  trade  of 
Ransom  county.  In  April,  1916,  Mr.  Colva  purchased  the  Atlantic  Elevator  at  Anselm 
and  has  had  it  in  operation  since  the  1st  of  July. 

In  November,  1902,  occurred  the  marriage  of  Mr.  Colva  and  Miss  Clara  Isme,  who 
was  born  in  Cass  county,  this  state,  and  they  now  have  three  children,  Lydia,  Ray  and 
Benjamin.  Mr.  Colva  is  a  republican  and  in  the  year  1914  was  elected  treasurer  of  Shenford 
township,  Ransom  county.  He  is  always  lo^'al  in  his  duties  of  citizensliip  but  he  makes 
office  holding  subservient  to  his  business  alfairs,  feeling  that  his  first  duty  is  to  the 
company  which  he  represents.  He  is  anxious  also  to  build  up  a  business  on  his  own  account 
and  is  now  well  known  as  a  grain  merchant  of  tlie  southeastern  part  of  tlie  state. 


HELMER   E.    SWENSON. 


Helmer  E.  Swenson,  a  banker  of  Kensal,  is  a  representative  of  that  large  and  substantial 
class  of  Scandinavians  who  have  played  so  important  a  part  in  the  settlement  of  the  north- 
west, reclaiming  a  wild  and  unimproved  district  for  the  purpose  of  civilization  and  planting 
a  great  empire  through  the  utilization  of  the  natural  resources  of  the  country.     He  was  born 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  851 

in  Minneapolis,  Minnesota,  July  29,  1894,  a  son  of  Louis  E.  and  Hannah  (Larson)  Swenson. 
The  father  was  born  in  Dalsland,  Sweden,  wliile  the  mother's  birtli  occurred  near  Wcrmland. 
In  early  life  they  came  to  the  United  States  and  each  settled  in  Jlinneapolis,  where  they 
were  married.  The  father  was  employed  as  a  shipi)ing  clerk  by  C.  A.  Smith  for  many  years 
and  through  the  economy  and  industry  which  he  practiced  acquired  suilicient  capital  to 
enable  him  to  engage  in  business  on  his  own  account.  He  then  opened  a  furniture  store  as 
junior  partner  in  the  firm  of  Pearson  &  Swenson  at  No.  907  Twentieth  avenue,  north,  in 
Minneapolis  a-nd  there  he  is  still  actively  and  successfully  engaged  in  business,  having  won 
a  place  among  the  representative  merchants  of  that  city.  His  wife  also  survives  and  their 
family  circle,  which  includes  four  sons  and  three  daughters,  is  yet  unbroken  by  the  hand 
of  death,  the  children  being  Clarence,  Helmer  E.,  Alice  V.,  Myrtle  C,  Richard  W.,  Esther  L. 
and  Louis  W. 

Reared  in  his  native  city,  Helmer  E.  Swenson  obtained  his  education  in  the  public 
schools  of  Minneapolis,  devoting  a  year  and  a  half  to  study  in  high  school.  When  sixteen 
years  of  age,  however,  he  started  out  in  the  business  world  as  an  employe  of  the  Mercliants 
&  Manufacturers  State  Bank  of  that  city  and  three  months  later  he  entered  the  Camden 
Park  State  Bank  as  assistant  cashier,  remaining  in  that  institution  for  four  years.  In 
1914  he  became  connected  with  the  Security  State  Bank  of  Kensal  as  assistant  cashier  and 
still  occupies  that  position.  He  has  made  a  creditable  record  for  one  of  his  years  and  his 
course  in  business  has  been  marked  by  steady  progress. 

On  the  2d  of  March,  1916,  Mr.  Swenson  was  married  to  Miss  Mabel  (J.  Kloster,  who 
was  born  in  Aneta,  Xorth  Dakota,  December  9,  1892,  a  daughter  of  Nefs  A.  and  Julia  Kloster, 
who  are   now   living  retired   in   Aneta. 

ilr.  Swenson  votes  with  the  republican  party  and  fraternally  he  is  connected  with  the 
Masonic  lodge  at  Wimbledon.  Both  he  and  his  wife  are  members  of  the  Swedish  Lutheran 
church.  They  are  young  people  of  many  sterling  qualities  and  the  hospitality  of  the 
best  homes  of   Kensal   and  throughout  the  surrounding  country  is  cordially   extended   tlif-m. 


COLONEL  C.  R.  JIEREDITH. 

Colonel  C.  R.  Meredith  has  taken  a  leading  part  in  various  lines  of  activity  in  North 
Dakota.  He  has  served  as  lieutenant  colonel  in  the  National  Guard,  was  one  of  the  organ- 
izers of  the  State  Pharmaceutical  Association,  of  which  he  has  served  as  president,  and  is 
one  of  the  most  influential  men  in  the  state  organization  of  the  republican  party.  He  is 
identified  with  business  interests  of  Casselton,  Cass  county,  as  a  druggist  and  has  gained  a 
gratifying  measure  of  success  in  that  connection.  In  1881  he  took  up  his  permanent  residence 
in  Casselton.  He  was  born  in  New  Bremen,  Lewis  county.  New  York,  on  the  4tli  of  September, 
1860,  a  son  of  Charles  D.  and  Clarissa  A.  (Miner)  Meredith,  the  former  also  a  native  of 
New  York,  while  the  latter  was  born  in  Connecticut  and  is  a  representative  of  an  old  and 
honored  New  England  family.  In  1867  the  family  removed  to  Iowa  and  settled  in  Howard 
county,  where  the  father  spent  his  remaining  days. 

Colonel  Meredith  was  seven  years  of  age  when  he  accompanied  his  parents  to  Iowa  and 
there  acquired  his  education,  attending  the  local  public  schools.'  In  his  fifteenth  year  he 
began  the  study  of  pharmacy  in  a  drug  store  at  Lime  Springs,  Iowa,  and  in  1875  he  with 
two  other  youths  came  to  Dakota  territory  on  a  pleasure  trip,  camping  on  the  Sioux  river, 
on  the  present  site  of  the  town  of  Egan,  near  Flandreau,  at  which  point  there  was  then  a 
trading  post.  They  spent  the  summer  in  the  territory,  hunting  and  fishing,  but  in  the  fall 
returned  to  Iowa.  In  February,  1881,  Colonel  Meredith  again  made  his  way  to  Dakota 
territory  and  on  Washington's  birthday  arrived  at  Casselton,  Cass  county,  where  lie  found 
employment  in  a  drug  store  conducted  by  Wood  &  Houghton,  with  whom  he  remained  for  four 
years.  In  1885  he  engaged  in  business  on  his  own  account  and  has  since  successfully  con- 
ducted a  drug  store  in  Casselton.  He  understands  the  business  thoroughly  and  displays 
sound  judgment  in  the  management  of  his  store,  which  is  one  of  the  leading  establishments 
of  its  kind  in  Cass  count}'.  For  forty  years  he  has  been  connected  with  the  drug  business 
and  his  state  certificate  as  a  pharmacist  is  one  of  the  oldest  in  North  Dakota,  its  number 


852  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

being  8.  He  is  one  of  the  three  organizers  of  the  State  Pharmaceutical  Association  who 
are  still  living  and  his  high  standing  among  his  professional  brethren  is  indicated  by  tlie 
fact  that  lie  has  served  as  president  of  tliat  association. 

In  1897  Colonel  Meredith  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Mabel  Ditmore,  of  Verndale, 
Minnesota,  and  they  became  the  parents  of  a  daughter,  Margaret,  who  graduated  from  the 
Casselton  higli  school  with  the  class  of  1914  and  is  now  in  her  sopliomore  year  at  the 
State  University  of  North  Dakota.  The  wife  and  mother  died  in  1906  and  lier  demise 
was  deeply  regretted  by  her  many   friends. 

Colonel  Meredith  has  supported  the  republican  party  since  age  conferred  upon  him  tlie 
right  of  franchise  and  for  many  years  he  has  been  a  dominant  figure  in  public  affairs  in 
North  Dakota.  For  a  number  of  years  he  served  as  chairman  of  tlie  republican  county 
committee  and  in  1908  was  chosen  as  delegate  to  the  national  convention  at  Chicago  wliich 
nominated  Taft  for  president.  When  elected  a  delegate  he  made  the  unusual  record  of  carry- 
ing every  precinct  in  the  county,  which  is  indisputable  evidence  of'  the  confidence  in  which 
he  is  held.  He  has  served  repeatedly  as  delegate  to  state  conventions  and  his  advice  is 
often  sought  on  organization  work.  Although  as  a  rule  he  has  refused  office  for  himself  he 
was  for  four  years  mayor  of  Casselton  in  the  late  '80s  and  was  the  only  mayor  of  the  town 
ever  elected  to  the  office  without  opposition.  He  has  served  as  a  member  of  the  penitentiary 
board  and  belonged  to  that  body  at  the  time  that  the  twine  plant  was  installed  in  the 
penitentiary. 

Colonel  Meredith  was  for  a  number  of  years  a  member  of  the  North  Dakota  State 
Militia  and  advanced  from  the  rank  of  lieutenant  of  Company  K  to  lieutenant  colonel  of 
his  regiment.  He  has  also  had  the  honor  of  serving  on  the  military  staff  of  practically 
every  republican  governor  since  the  admission  of  the  state  into  the  Union.  Fraternally  he 
is  affiliated  with  Casselton  Lodge,  No.  3,  A.  F.  &  A.  M.,  Casselton  Chapter,  No.  2,  R.  A.  M.; 
Fargo  Commandery,  No.  1,  K.  T.;  Fargo  Consistory,  No.  1,  A.  &  A.  S.  R.;  El  Zagal  Temple, 
A.  A.  O.  N.  M.  S.,  and  Casselton  Chapter,  O.  E.  S.,  to  which  his  daughter  also  belongs.  From 
the  foregoing  record  it  is  evident  tliat  Colonel  Meredith  is  one  of  the  foremost  men  in  his 
county. 


ALBERT  SOLBERG. 


North  Dakota  is  indebted  to  Albert  Solberg,  of  York,  for  effective  effort  toward  produc- 
ing better  farming.  He  is  giving  both  time  and  money  to  educational  work  along  the  line 
of  improved  agricultural  methods  and  is  father  of  the  movement  to  secure  legislation  that 
will  provide  for  tlie  establishment  of  a  board  of  immigration  in  each  county  throughout 
the  state.  He  has  studied  the  question  of  improved  farming  from  both  the  practical  and 
scientific  standpoints  and  has  gained  expert' knowledge  concerning  the  opportunities  of  the 
state  in  the  way  of  crop  production.  This  is  an  expression  of  patriotic  loyalty  to  the  wel- 
fare of  the  country  that  cannot  be  surpassed.  Mr.  Solberg  is  of  Norwegian  birth  but  no 
native-born  son  of  America  is  more  faithful  to  the  interests  of  the  country.  He  was  born 
on  the  4th  of  September,  1872,  a  son  of  Frederick  and  Mary  (Bjerk)  Solberg,  who  came 
to  the  United  States  when  their  son  Albert  was  a  child.  They  settled  at  Red  Wing,  Minne- 
sota, and  about  1887  came  to  North  Dakota,  taking  up  their  abode  on  a  homestead  near 
Churchs  Ferry.     He  passed  away  about  1904,  while  his  wife  survived  until  1907. 

Albert  Solberg  was  educated  in  the  common  schools  and  in  1887  came  to  North  Dakota 
with  his  father  and  his  brother  John.  Soon  after  his  arrival  he  began  work  on  a  cattle 
ranch  and  for  some  years  was  employed  at  ranching.  Subsequently  he  engaged  in  buying 
and  selling  horses  and  eventually  drifted  into  the  land  business,  with  which  he  has  now 
been  prominently  identified  for  many  years.  In  the  early  days  he  bought  and  sold  relinquish- 
ments and  in  later  years  he  has  been  one  of  the  dominant  factors  among  the  real  estate 
dealers  of  North  Dakota  who  have  been  most  active  in  bringing  settlers  into  the  state  and 
locating  them  on  farms.  In  recent  years  he  has  carried  on  a  campaign  of  advertising  tlirough 
the  eastern  states,  showing  moving  pictures  of  North  Dakota  illustrating  its  possibilities 
and  also  using  other  modern  methods  of  advertising  which  indicate  the  wonderful  advan- 
tages that   may  be   enjoj-ed   by  North   Dakota's   residents.     He   is   today   one   of   the   best 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  855 

known  among  the  real  estate  dealers  in  this  section  of  tlie  country.  He  is  now  operating 
as  a  member  of  the  firm  of  Solberg  &  Studness,  whose  land  holdings  embrace  twelve  thou- 
sand acres.  In  189S  he  removed  to  York  and  from  that  place  has  since  directed  his  activities, 
which  are  scarcely  second  to  those  of  any  land  dealer  in  North  Dakota. 

In  1897  Jlr.  Solberg  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Anna  Rude,  who  is  a  native  of 
Norway  and  by  whom  he  has  three  children — Myrtle,  Lillian  and  Evelyn,  all  at  home. 
Fraternally  Mr.  Solberg  is  connected  with  Leeds  Lodge,  No.  67,  A.  F.  &  A.  M.;  Dakota 
Consistory,  No.  1,  A.  &  A.  S.  R.;  Kem  Temple,  A.  A.  0.  N.  M.  S.,  of  Grand  Forks;  York 
Lodge,  No.  G8,  1.  0.  O.  F.;  Grand  Forks  Lodge,  No.  255,  B  P.  0.  E.;  the  Knights  of  the 
Maccabees;  and  the  Sons  of  Nonvay.  He  and  his  wife  are  members  of  the  Lutheran  church 
and  they  give  their  aid  and  inlhience  to  all  plans  and  measures  that  tend  to  promote  tlie 
moral  as  well  as  the  material  progress  of  the  district. 


JOHN  C.  THORESON. 


Business  enterprise  in  Sherwood  finds  a  well  known  and  worthy  representative  in  John 
C.  Thorcson,  a  hardware  merchant  of  that  town.  Throughout  his  life  laudable  ambition 
has  prompted  him  to  put  forth  unfaltering  cfl'ort  and  his  success  is  the  logical  and  merited 
reward  of  persistent,  earnest  labor.  He  was  born  in  Douglas  county,  ilinnesota,  October 
30,  1880,  and  is  a  son  of  Christian  Thoreson,  who  is  one  of  the  pioneer  business  men  of 
Mohall,  mentioned  elsewhere  in  this  work. 

John  C.  Thoreson  supplemented  his  public  school  training  by  a  course  in  a  commercial 
college  in  St.  Paul  and  following  the  completion  of  his  studies  he  removed  to  Oberon,  North 
Dakota,  where  he  became  grain  buyer  for  the  P.  V.  Elevator  Company.  He  acted  as  manager 
of  the  Oberon  Elevator  for  five  years  and  subsequentlj'  bought  grain  in  Kenmare  for  a 
year,  on  tlie  expiration  of  which  period  he  established  his  home  in  Mohall  and  became  a 
partner  of  his  father  in  the  hardware,  furniture  and  implement  business,  in  which  connection 
they  developed  a  substantial  and  gratifving  trade.  In  the  fall  of  1904,  in  advance  of  the 
railroad,  John  C.  Thoreson  came  to  Sherwood  and,  hauling  lumber  from  ilohall,  erected  a 
store  building  and  established  the  first  hardware  store  in  the  town.  Since  then  lie  has 
been  continuously  connected  with  commercial  interests  here  and  year  by  year  his  trade 
has  grown  until  it  has  now  assumed  gratifying  proportions.  He  is  likewise  the  owner  of  three 
hundred  and  si.xty  acres  of  excellent  farm  land  a  half  mile  west  of  Sherwood,  which  he 
personally  cultivates,  and  he  also  rents  other  land,  being  now  engaged  in  farming  on  a 
very  extensive  scale. 

Mr.  Thoreson  exercises  his  rigiit  of  franchise  in  suppoit  of  the  men  and  measures  of  the 
republican  party.  Fraternally  he  is  connected  with  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America  and 
is  a  demitted  member  of  tlic  Knights  of  Pythias.  He  likewise  belongs  to  the  Lutheran 
church  and  has  never  allowed  business  cares  to  so  monopolize  his  time  as  to  preclude  his 
active  aid  of  measures  for  moral  uplift.  Sherwood  has  counted  him  one  of  its  valued 
citizens  almost   from  the  time  the   town   site   was   platted. 


EDWIN  MORRIS. 


Edwin  Morris  is. one  of  the  largest  land  owners  of  Cass  county,  his  possessions  aggregat- 
ing over  twenty-tive  hundred  acres,  constituting  one  of  the  extensive  and  splendidly  equipped 
farms  of  this  section  of  the  state.  He  has  always  made  a  specialty  of  wheat  raising  and  the 
careful  management  of  his  business  affairs  has  gained  for  him  substantial  success.  Mr. 
Morris  was  born  in  Canada,  January  19,  1832,  and  his  parents,  James  and  Anna  (Current) 
Morris,  were  also  natives  of  that  country,  where  they  spent  their  entire  lives.  They  had  a 
family  of  four  children,  of  whom  three  are  yet  living. 

Edwin  Morris  spent  the  days  of  his  boyhood  and  youth  in  his  native  country  and  is 
indebted   to   the   public-school   system   for   the   educational   privileges   which    he   enjoyed   and 


856  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

which  qualified  him  for  life's  practical  and  responsible  duties.  He  came  to  North  Dakota 
in  1874,  settling  in  Cass  county,  and  purchased  five  sections  of  land,  which  he  secured  with 
Northern  Pacific  Railroad  bonds.  At  once  he  began  the  development  and  improvement  of  his 
property,  for  at  that  time  Cass  county  was  upon  the  western  frontier.  He  has  since  wrought 
many  clianges  as  he  has  converted  wild  prairie  into  productive  fields  and  added  to  his  farms 
all  of  the  modern  improvements  and  accessories  of  the  model  farm  property  of  the  twentieth 
century.  He  has  erected  many  substantial  buildings  and  everything  upon  his  land  indicates 
his  careful  supervision  and  his  practical  and  progressive  methods.  He  has  now  sold  some  of 
his  land  but  still  owns  over  twenty-five  hundred  acres  and  is  one  of  the  extensive  wheat 
raisers  of  this  part  of  the  state.  He  is  also  a  stockholder  in  the  Farmers  Elevator  at 
Mapleton. 

In  1865  Mr.  Morris  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  C}'nthia  Rock,  a  native  of  Canada 
and  a  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  .Tames  Rock,  who  were  also  born  in  that  country,  where  their 
entire  lives  were  passed.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Morris  became  the  parents  of  four  children:  Gordon 
W.,  a  resident  farmer  of  Cass  county;  Curtis  H.,  now  deceased;  Leslie  Sherman,  who  operates 
the  home  farm  and  is  also  engaged  in  the  laising  of  Hereford  cattle;  and  Edwin  B.,  a 
resident  farmer  of  Cass  county.  The  wife  and  mother  passed  away  in  1904  and  was  laid 
to  rest  at  her  old  home  in  Canada.  She  left  a  husband  and  three  children  to  mourn  her 
death  and  many  friends  also  deeply  regi'etted  her  passing. 

Mr.  Morris  has  now  reached  the  venerable  age  of  eighty-three  j'ears  but  still  gives 
personal  supervision  to  the  active  work  of  his  farm  and  displays  marked  business  judgment 
in  the  control  of  his  interests.  His  life  has  been  an  active  and  useful  one  and  his  labors 
have  been  attended  with  a  most  gratifying  measure  of  prosperity. 


CLARENCE  H.  PARKER. 


Clarence  H.  Parker,  one  of  the  best  known  hotel  men  of  his  section  of  the  state,  owning 
the  Leland  Hotel  and  also  proprietor  of  the  Parker  Hotel,  one  of  the  fine  hostelries  of  the 
northwest,  was  born  at  East  Tawas,  Iosco  county,  Michigan,  March  13,  1873,  a  son  of 
William  H.  and  Elizabeth  D.  (Delila)  Parker,  natives  of  New  York  and  Pennsylvania 
respectively.  In  early  life  the  father  engaged  in  railroad  contracting  and  assisted  in  the 
building  of  the  Northern  Pacific.  The  lumber  was  unloaded  at  Devils  Lake  before  the 
town  was  built  in  1882.  He  went  from  there  to  what  is  now  known  as  Query,  below  Odessa, 
and  settled  on  a  farm.  The  following  year,  however,  he  removed  to  Devils  Lake  and 
there  engaged  in  the  hotel  business.  When  the  work  of  railroad  construction  was  com- 
pleted beyond  that  point  he  left  Devils  Lake  in  1886.  He  did  contract  work  all  along  the 
line  on  the  Great  Northern  to  Minot,  where  he  arrived  in  the  spring  of  1887.  He  builb 
the  first  hotel  in  Minot  in  1886,  known  as  the  Parker  House,  and  this  he  conducted  until 
1888,  when  the  hotel  was  destroyed  by  fire.  The  following  year  he  continued  on  his  west- 
ward way  with  the  extension  of  the  railroad.  While  his  attention  was  devoted  to  contract 
work  his  wife  superintended  the  construction  of  the  hotel  at  Minot  and  afterward  con- 
ducted it  until  its  destruction  by  fire.  Making  his  way  to  Washington  Mr.  Parker,  operat- 
ing along  the  Columbia  river,  purchased  horses  from  the  Indians  and  sliipped  them  to  the 
east,  being  thus  occupied  for  a  short  time.  In  the  fall  of  1887,  however,  the  family  returned 
to  Pennsylvania  and  in  the  year  1888  again  came  to  Minot.  In  1889  the  parents  and  their 
son  Clarence  once  more  went  to  the  east,  there  continuing  until  1895,  when  they  again  came 
to  Minot.  Here  the  father  engaged  in  dealing  in  horses,  continuing  in  that  business  for 
a  number  of  years,  but  he  is  now  located  on  a  farm  two  miles  northeast  of  Minot,  which 
is  the  property  of  his  son  Clarence.  He  acts  as  manager  of  the  farm  and  is  still  a  most 
enterprising  and  energetic  business  man.  For  several  winters  he  luis  hunted  in  British 
Columbia  and  Saskatchewan.  He  belongs  to  the  Masonic  fraternity  and  to  the  Benevo- 
lent Protective  Order  of  Elks  and  his  wife  is  connected  with  the  Eastern  Star. 

Clarence  H.  Parker  is  the  younger  of  the  two  living  children  in  the  family  of  William 
H.  and  Elizabeth  D.  Parker.  He  completed  his  education  in  the  high  school  at  Saegers- 
town,  Pennsj'lvania.     When  about  thirteen  or   fourteen   3'ears  of  age  he  conducted  a  cigar 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  857 

stand  in  liis  nuithcr's  hotel  until  the  biiildiiif,'  was  destroyed  by  lire,  lie  then  enframed  in 
dealing  in  horses  in  the  cast  in  connection  with  his  father  and  to  that  undertakin','  tlevoted 
his  energies  until  1S95,  when  he  engaged  in  the  hotel  business  at  Jlinot,  leasing  the  Leland 
Hotel.  This  he  conducted  for  about  two  years,  after  which  lie  purchased  the  property, 
also  purchased  adjoining  property,  adding  a  frontage  of  seventy-five  feet,  giving  the  hotel 
a  frontage  of  one  hundred  and  twenty-five  feet  on  Main  street  and  a  depth  of  one  hundred 
and  forty  feet.  He  is  at  this  time  engaged  in  building  a  hotel  across  the  alley  to  the 
east.  The  structure  will  be  fifty  by  one  hundred  feel  and  four  stories  in  height.  It  will 
be  fireproof  and  is  In  be  known  as  the  Parker.  This  hotel  Mr.  Parker  will  personally 
conduct.  He  takes  a  justifiable  pride  in  making  it  one  of  the  finest  hostelrii  s  of  the 
northwest.  The  rooms  are  large,  light  and  well  ventilated.  The  lobby  is  particularly 
attractive  with  its  beautiful  decorations,  the  wood  work  being  of  mission  oak  and  the 
floor  of  tile,  while  the  handsome  ceiling  is  an  added  attractive  feature.  The  hotel  con- 
tains one  hundred  and  seventy-five  rooms,  with  twelve  sample  rocms  on  the  fourth  floor, 
and  the  hotel  is  conducted  exclusively  on  the  European  plan.  Mr.  Parker  is  a  popular 
hotel  proprietor,  for  in  addition  to  being  an  excellent  business  man  he  is  a  genial  and 
courteous  host,  ever  studying  the  needs,  wishes  and  comforts  of  his  guests.  In  addition 
to  his  hotel  business  he  has  other  important  interests,  for  he  is  connected  with  Mr.  McCoy 
in  the  ownership  of  a  store,  carrying  a  large  line  of  ladies'  ready-to-wear  clothing  and  dry 
goods.  He  is  also  connected  with  two  drug  stores  in  Minot  and  with  a.  jewelry  establish- 
ment and  he  owns  considerable  land  in  North  Dakota,  together  with  farm  property  in 
Texas.  He  operates  a  farm  two  miles  from  Minot,  which  is  superintended  by  his  fatlier, 
and  in  all  of  his  business  afitairs  he  displays  sound  judgment,  keen  discrimination  and 
unfaltering  energy.  He  has  always  used  his  opportunities  wisely  and  well,  has  recognized 
advantages  that  others  have  passed  heedlessly  by  and  in  the  conduct  of  his  interests  has 
displayed   keen   discrimination   as   well   as   unfaltering   energy. 

On  the  1st  of  September,  1897,  Mr.  Parker  was  united  in  marriage  to  Jliss  Gertrude 
Gordon,  a  native  of  Berry,  Illinois,  and  a  daughter  of  .James  and  Mary  (Wike)  Gordon,  who 
were  born  in  Jlissouri  and  Illinois  respectively.  On  coming  to  North  Dakota  they  located 
on  a  farm  near  Casselton.  James  Gordon  is  now  a  resi<lent  of  Fowler,  Montana,  but  his 
wife  passed  away  on  a  farm  south  of  Minot.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Parker  have  a  daughter, 
Esther,  now  the  wife  of  Ralph  Morehead,  of  the  Morehcad  Inspection  Bureau  of  Minneapolis. 

Fraternally  Mr.  Parker  is  connected  with  the  Elks  and  with  the  Masons.  In  politics 
he  is  an  independent  republican.  For  six  years  he  filled  the  ofTice  of  alderman  in  Minot 
but  has  never  aspired  to  political  preferment,  though  he  recognizes  his  duties  as  A  citizen 
and  when  in  ollice  exercised  his  official  prerogatives  in  support  of  many  progressive  meas- 
ures wliich  have  been  of  the  greatest  value  to  the  community.  As  a  business  man,  too,  his 
efforts  have  been  of  sterling  worth  in  advancing  material  prosperity.  He  has  a  wide 
acquaintance  and  his  attributes  of  reliability,  courtesy  and  affability  have  gained  for  him 
a  constantly  increasing  circle  of  friends. 


LOUIS  L.  EVJE. 


Louis  L.  Evje,  who  is  now  efficiently  serving  as  cashier  <if  the  First  State  Bank  of 
Rops,  North  Dakota,  claims  Minnesota  as  his  native  state,  his  birth  occurring  at  Nielsvillp, 
November  2.  1885.  His  parents,  Lars  K.  and  Giirine  (Amodt)  Evje,  were  both  born  in 
Norway  and  in  early  life  eniigiated  to  the  new  w^orld,  locating  in  Polk  county.  Minnesota. 
Tlie  father  took  up  a  homestead  near  Nielsvillc  and  to  its  improvement  and  cultivation 
devoted  his  time  and  attention  until  called  from  this  life  in  1915.  He  is  survived  by  the 
mother,  who  is  still  living  on  the  old  home  farm  in  Minnesota. 

Louis  L.  Evje  began  his  education  in  the  district  schools  of  Polk  county,  Minnesota, 
and  later  attendc<l  the  Dakota  Business  College  at  Fargo,  North  Dakota.  In  the  spring 
of  1907  he  became  a  resident  of  Ross  county,  Mountrail  county,  this  state,  and  accepted 
the  position  of  bookkeeper  in  the  First  State  Bank  of  Ross,  with  which  institution  he  has 


858  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

since  been  connected,  now  holding  the  important  position  of  cashier.  He  is  also  interested 
in  farming  and  stock  raising  and  owns  a  good  farm  in  Mountrail  county. 

At  Twin  Valley,  Minnesota,  December  26,  1913,  was  celebrated  the  marriage  of  Mr. 
Evje  and  Miss  Ellen  Benson,  who  was  born  and  reared  at  that  place.  She  is  a  graduate 
of  the  State  University  of  North  Dakota  at  Grand  Forks  and  prior  to  her  marriage  engaged 
in  teaching  school  in  Norman  county,  Minnesota,  and  at  Devils  Lake,  this  state  Her 
father,  Henry  Benson,  is  a  native  of  Norway  and  was  one  of  the  early  settlers  of  Norman 
county,  Minnesota,  now  making  his  home  at  Twin  Valley.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Evje  have  two 
children:  Ellen  Louise,  born  in  Ross,  North  Dakota,  October  16,  1913;  and  Laurel  Jennette, 
May  7,  1915. 

Politically  Mr.  Evje  is  a  republican,  and  he  has  been  called  upon  to  serve  as  a  member 
of  the  school  board  and  as  township  treasurer.  He  is  a  member  of  the  United  Lutheran 
church  and  is  a  thirty-second  degree  Scottish  Eite  Mason,  belonging  to  the  blue  lodge  at 
Stanley,  North  Dakota,  and  Kem  Temple  of  the  Mystic  Shrine  at  Grand  Forks.  He  is 
also  a  member  of  the  Elks  Lodge,  No.  1.'314,  at  Williston.  He  is  a  broad  minded  man  and 
deep  thinker,  who  takes  a  commendable  interest  in  public  affairs,  and  wherever  known  is 
held  in   the   highest  esteem. 


HON.  ALFRED  WHITE. 


Hon.  Alfred  White,  mayor  of  Dickinson  and  president  of  the  Dakota  National  Bank, 
is  closely  associated  with  those  interests  and  activities  which  have  direct  and  important 
bearing  upon  the  civic  welfare  and  material  progress  of  his  city.  He  was  born  in  Faversham, 
Kent,  England,  in  F'ebruary,  1857,  and  remained  a  resident  of  that  land  until  he  reached  the 
age  of  twenty  years,  having  in  the  meantime  acquired  a  high  school  education.  He  came 
alone  to  the  United  States,  making  his  way  at  first  to  Galveston,  Texas,  where  he  remained 
for  a  brief  period.  He  afterward  went  to  Palestine,  that  state,  and  later  was  connected 
with  the  Santa  Fe  Railroad  during  the  period  of  its  construction  work  in  New  Mexico.  He 
afterward  went  to  Colorado  and  Wyoming,  being  employed  in  a  similar  way.  He  had  been 
engaged  in  engineering  in  England  and  when  twenty-one  years  of  age  he  was  appointed 
to  the  position  of  engineer  on  the  Santa  Fe  construction  work.  In  1883  he  arrived  in 
Dickinson,  North  Dakota,  and  secured  the  position  of  engineer  on  the  Northern  Pacific.  Soon 
afterward  he  was  advanced  to  the  position  of  superintendent  of  the  shops  in  Dickinson. 
In  1890  he  turned  his  attention  to  cattle  raising,  having  a  large  ranch  and  grazing  extensive 
herds  of  cattle  and  horses  on  his  place,  which  was  situated  southwest  of  Dickinson.  There 
he  continued  until  1915.  He  is  still  interested  in  cattle  raising,  which  has  always  been  an 
important  branch  of  his  business,  although  he  has  extended  his  efforts  into  other  fields, 
becoming  closely  connected  with  the  commercial  and  financial  interests  of  his  town.  About 
1897  he  organized  the  firm  of  White  &.  Company  for  the  conduct  of  a  drug  store,  of 
which  he  was  proprietor  until  1905,  when  he  sold  out  to  the  Benzie  Drug  Company.  Mr. 
White  was  one  of  the  organizers  of  the  Dakota  National  Bank  and  from  the  beginning  has 
been  an  oflScer  and  director,  occupying  the  position  of  president  since  1913.  He  now  directs 
the  policy  of  this  institution,  which  is  one  of  the  strong  financial  concerns  of  that  section 
of  the  state.  Various  other  interests  have  claimed  the  time  and  profited  by  the  cooperation 
of  Mr.  W'hite,  whose  versatility  has  been  one  of  the  elements  in  his  success  and  who  at  all 
times  is  found  to  be  a  forceful  and  resourceful  business  man.  He  invented  and  for  years 
has  manufactured  a  boiler  compound  and  he  is  president  of  the  Dakota  Petroleum  Com- 
pany, which  has  big  prospects.  In  fact  he  is  interested  in  many  progressive  enterprises  of 
the  state  and  a  spirit  of  progress  has  actuated  him  at  every  point  in  his  career.  He  is 
still  interested  in  considerable  measure  in  farm  lands,  although  he  has  sold  much  of  his 
farm  property.  He  also  has  city  property  in  Dickinson  which  he  rents,  and  his  judicious 
investments  in  real  estate  have  brought  to  him  a  gratifying  financial  return. 

Mr.  White  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Annie  J.  Wood,  who  was  born  at  Bishop 
Stortford,  Herts,  England,  and  they  have  one  daughter,  now  Mrs.  A.  G.  Sanders,  of 
Dickinson. 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH   DAKOTA  861 

Mr.  White  is  one  of  tlic  lepublicaii  loadera  of  Nortli  Dakota.  He  lias  fillod  various 
local  ollices,  has  been  alderman  of  Dickinson  for  years  and  is  serving  for  the  second  terra 
as  mayor.  In  181)7  he  was  a  member  of  the  state  legislature.  He  became  chairman  of  the 
water  works  committee  when  a  member  of  the  board  of  aldermen  and  was  largely  instru- 
mental in  installing  the  present  city  system  of  water  works.  He  has  been  a  member  of  both 
the  state  and  national  republican  central  committees  and  his  opinions  have  carried  con- 
siderable weight  in  party  councils.  He  is  a  member  and  the  president  of  the  Commercial 
Club,  of  which  he  was  one  of  the  organizers,  and  his  efforts  in  that  connection  have  done 
much  to  develop  and  upbiiild  the  city,  to  extend  its  trade  relations  and  to  promote  tliose 
interests  which  are  a  nuitter  of  civic  virtue  and  civic  pride.  Mr.  White  also  ranks  high 
in  Masonry,  belonging  to  the  lodge,  chapter  and  commandery  at  Dickinson  and  the  Scot- 
tish Rite  bodies  and  the  Mystic  Shrine  at  Fargo.  He  is  also  identified  with  the  KIks  and 
Odd  Fellows  lodges  in  Dickinson  and  for  years  was  state  council  for  the  Modern  Woodmen. 
He  was  one  of  the  promoters  of  the  fine  building  which  has  been  erected  by  the  Masons, 
the  Elks  and  the  Odd  Fellows  and  served  on  the  building  committee  during  its  construc- 
tion. His  religious  faith  is  that  of  the  Episcopal  church.  Honored  and  respected  by  all,  no 
citizen  of  Dickinson  occupies  a  more  prominent  position  in  public  regard  than  Alfred  White, 
not  alone  by  reason  of  the  success  he  has  achieved  but  also  owing  to  the  straiglitforward 
business  policy  which  he  has  ever  followed  and  to  his  marked  devotion  to  the  public  good. 
The  subjective  and  objective  forces  of  life  are  in  him  well  balanced,  making  him  cognizant 
of  liis  own  capabilities  and  powers,  while  at  the  same  time  he  thoroughly  understands  his 
opportunities  and  his  obligations.  To  make  his  native  talents  subserve  the  demands  which 
conditions  of  society  impose  at  the  present  time  is  the  purpose  of  his  life,  and  by  reason  of 
the  mature  judgment  which  characterizes  his  efforts  at  all  times,  he  stands  today  as  a 
splendid  representative  of  the  prominent  banker  and  capitalist  to  whom  business  is  biit  one 
phase  of  life  and  does  not  exclude  his  active  participation  in  and  support  of  the  other 
vital   interests  which  go  to  make  up  human  existence. 


REV.   HANS    BAAGOR    THGRGRIMSEJST. 

Rev.  Hans  Baagor  Thorgrimsen,  pastor  of  the  First  Lutheran  church  at  Grand  Forks, 
is  one  of  the  valued  citizens  that  Iceland  has  furnished  to  North  Dakota.  He  was  there 
born  August  21,  1853,  a  son  of  Gudmund  Thorgrimsen,  who  w-as  descended  from  old  families 
of  Denmark  and  of  Iceland.  The  father  spent  his  entire  life  in  the  latter  country,  where 
he  successfully  engaged  in  merchandising,  and  he  was  instrumental  in  inducing  many  of 
his  fellow  countrymen  to  emigrate  to  the  United  States.  He  realized  the  advantages  here 
offered  and  his  colonists  were  the  first  citizens  of  Iceland  to  become  residents  of  Wisconsin. 
He  married  Sylvia  Neilsen,  who,  like  her  husband,  was  descended  from  Danish  and  Icelandic 
families.  Mr.  Thorgrimsen  passed  away  at  the  age  of  eighty  years,  while  his  wife  died 
at  the  old  home  in  Iceland  at  the  age  of  eighty-si.>c.  In  the  family  were  eight  children,  two 
sons  and  si.\  daughters,  four  of  the  sisters  being  older  than  the  Rev.  Thorgi-imsen  while 
two  were  younger.  Of  these,  Solveig  Dorothea  died  in  1913.  Jorgine  was  the  wife  of  Chief 
Justice  S.  W.  Sweinbjornsson  and  died  in  1915.  Mrs.  Eugenia  Nelson  passed  away  July 
9,  191G.  Her  husband  took  over  the  business  of  his  father-in-law  in  Iceland  at  the  time 
of  the  latter's  death.  Mrs.  Sylvian  Ljunge  was  a  resident  of  Copenhagen  at  the  tinu'  of 
her  death,  which  occurred  .luly  23,  1910.  Asta  is  the  deceased  wife  of  Dr.  Thomas  Ilallgrin- 
son.     Torfi  died  at  the  age  of  two  years. 

Rev.  H.  B.  Thorgrimsen  pursued  his  education  in  the  schools  of  Copenhagen.  Denmark, 
and  of  Reykjavik,  Iceland,  and  also  in  the  Luther  College  at  Decornh,  Iowa,  from  which 
he  was  graduated  with  the  Bachelor  of  Arts  degree  in  1879.  He  also  studied  theology  for  two 
years  in  Madison,  Wisconsin,  and  one  year  in  Concordia  College  at  St.  Louis,  Slissouri,  thus 
qualifying  for  the  ministry.  His  first  pa.storate  was  at  Mountain.  Pembina  county.  North 
Dakota,  and  later  he  accepted  the  pastorate  of  the  Lutheran  church  at  .Sioux  Falls.  South 
Dakota,  where  he  remained  for  twelve  years.  His  next  charge  was  at  Jlilwaukee.  Wis- 
consin, after  which   he  returned   to   Pembina   county.  North   Dakota,   where   he   also   spent 


862  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

twelve  years.  On  the  expiration  of  that  period  he  went  to  Grand  Forks,  where  he  has 
continued  for  tlie  past  five  years,  doing  splendid  work  as  pastor  of  the  Lutheran  church 
in  that  city.  He  is  a  member  of  the  Norwegian  Evangelical  Lutheran  Synod  of  America 
and  he  has  been  untiring  in  his  efforts  to  promote  the  work  of  the  church,  his  zeal  and 
consecration  resulting  largely  in  the  advancement  and  upbuilding  of  the  cause  for  which 
he  labors. 

Rev.  Thorgrimsen  has  been  married  twice.  In  1884,  at  Decorah,  Iowa,  he  wedded  Miss 
Mathilda  Stub,  who  was  born  in  Iowa  of  Norwegian  parentage,  a  daughter  of  H.  A.  Stub, 
an  early  settler  of  Iowa  and  a  minister  of  the  Lutheran  church.  The  children  of  this 
marriage  are:  Sylvia,  now  the  wife  of  the  Rev.  G.  Storaasli,  now  of  Warren,  Minnesota; 
Esther,  a  teacher  at  Thompson,  North  Dakota;  Sigerd.  living  in  Grand  Forks;  Astrid,  who  is 
connected  with  the  immigration  department  at  St.  Paul;  Gudmund.  a  giaduate  of  Luther 
College  at  Decorah,  Iowa; 'and  Margaret  Ingabred,  who  is  engaged  in  teaching  near  Hatton, 
in  Traill  county.  North  Dakota.  Having  lost  his  first  wife,  Rev.  Thorgrimsen  was  married 
June  3,  1902,  in  Wisconsin,  to  Miss  Dora  Halversen,  a  native  of  that  state  and  a  daughter 
of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Andrew  Halversen,  the  former  now  deceased,  while  the  latter  is  living. 
There  are  two  children  of  this  marriage,  Hans  Andrew  and  Alein  Marie,  both  attending  the  city 
schools. 

Rev.  Thorgrimsen  has  always  been  deeply  interested  in  the  cause  of  education  and  during 
the  greater  part  of  his  residence  at  Mountain,  North  Dakota,  served  as  chairman  of  the  school 
board.  In  every  community  in  which  he  has  lived  his  labors  have  been  an  eifective  force  for 
upbuilding  and  progi'ess  along  all  lines  which  work  for  public  betterment  and  improvement 
and  for  the  uplift  of  the  individual.  As  pastor  he  has  done  excellent  work  in  the  develop- 
ment of  his  church,  for  he  is  an  earnest  and  logical  speaker  and  deep  thinker  whose  words 
of  wisdom  have  taken  root  in  many  hearts. 


•J.  W.  RICHTER. 


J.  W.  Richter  may  well  be  termed  the  father  of  Sheyenne,  having  been  the  founder 
and  promoter  of  the  town,  which  was  laid  out  on  his  farm.  He  was  one  of  the  first  of  the 
pioneers  to  settle  in  Eddy  county  and  with  its  early  developnjent  and  improvement  was 
closely  associated.  He  was  born  in  Ripon,  Wisconsin,  May  31,  1851,  a  son  of  Ferdinand  and 
Catherine  (Riley)  Richter,  the  former  a  native  of  Hamburg,  Germany,  while  the  latter  was 
born  in  the  city  of  Cork,  Ireland.  The  paternal  grandfather  was  secretary  to  the  German 
ambassador  at  Rome  and  there  Ferdinand  Richter  met  and  married  his  wife,  who  was  at 
that  time  traveling  through  Europe.  Soon  after  their  marriage  they  came  to  the  United 
States  and  settled  in  Ripon,  Wisconsin,  where  J.  W.  Richter  was  born  and  reared,  the  family 
residing  at  that  place  until  he  reached  his  sixteenth  year,  when  the  parents  removed  to 
Dodge  Center,  Minnesota.  There  he  attained  his  majority  and  after  his  father's  death  he 
took  charge  of  and  operated  the  home  farm,  thus  early  assuming  heavy  responsibilities.  In 
1882  he  came  to  North  Dakota  and  settled  at  Grand  Forks,  where  he  met  and  married  Mrs. 
George  E.  Lange,  who  in  her  maidenhood  was  Miss  Adaline  Bradley,  of  Rochester,  Minne- 
sota, the  wedding  being  celebrated  on  the  11th  of  January,  1883. 

Soon  after  his  marriage  Mr.  Richter  accepted  the  management  of  a  gi'ain  elevator  at 
Niagara,  North  Dakota,  and  was  there  located  for  four  years.  In  the  fall  of  1886  he 
removed  to  Eddy  county  and  purchased  a  half  section  of  land  which  had  been  filed  and 
proved  up  on  by -Captain  C.  E.  Bennett  and  his  son,  the  former  a  captain  in  the  regular  army, 
being  stationed  at  that  time  at  Fort  Totten.  On  that  half  section  Mr.  Richter  located  his 
family  and  proceeded  to  develop  the  farm.  Soon  afterward  he  platted  and  laid  out  the 
town  site  of  Sheyenne  and  there  built  the  first  elevator  erected  in  that  section  of  the  county. 
He  also  conducted  the  first  mercantile  house  of  the  town  and  established  the  first  lumber 
yard,  and  up  to  the  time  of  his  death  he  was  the  most  active  factor  in  the  upbuilding, 
development  and  substantial  improvement  of  Sheyenne.  He  continued  to  add  to  his  landed 
possessions  until  within  the  boundaries  of  his  home  farm  were  comprised  eleven  hundred 
acres,  in  addition  to  which  he  had  other  farm  holdings  in  Eddv  county,  totaling  two  thousand 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  863 

acres  or  more.  In  business  all'airs  lie  displayed  sound  judgment  and  unfaltering  enterprise 
and  liis  success  was  tlie  meritoil  ami  legitimate  outcome  of  liis  labors  and  keen  discernment. 

ilr.  Uicliter  was  a  loyal  member  of  the  Knights  of  I'ythias  and  had  many  warm  friends 
among  his  brethren  of  that  organization.  In  politics  he  was  a  stanch  republican,  but  while 
he  always  took  an  active  part  in  furthering  tlie  success  of  its  candidates  and  its  measures, 
he  was  never  an  aspirant  for  public  office. 

To  Mr-,  and  Airs.  Riclitcr  were  born  two  daughters,  Floy  and  Jett,  the  latter  the  wife 
of  .1.  1*.  Wilke,  of  Wellsburg,  Nortli  Dakota.  Both  daughters  were  educated  at  .Stanley 
Hall,  in  Minneapolis,  and  as  Mrs.  Richter  has  many  interests  in  Minneapolis,  she  and  her 
daugliter,  Miss  Kloy,  spend  much  of  their  time  in  that  city,  while  the  winter  montlis  are 
passed  in  southern  California.  The  death  of  Mr.  Richter  occurred  on  the  5th  of  November, 
1913,  and  his  renuiins  were  interred  in  Rochester,  Minnesota.  His  demise  was  a  matter  of 
deep  regret  in  Sheyenne  and  wherever  he  was  known,  for  his  sterling  worth  of  character 
endeared  him  to  all  with  whom  he  came  in  contact.  The  town  of  Sheyenne  stands  as  a 
monument  to  his  enterprise,  ability  and  progressive  spirit  and  thus  his  name  is  inseparably 
interwoven  with  the  historv  of  North  Dakota. 


EDWARD  F.  KENNEDY,  j\I.  D. 

Dr.  Edward  F.  Kennedy,  practicing  at  White  Earth  since  June  24,  1909,  his  developing 
powers  bringing  him  steadily  forward  in  professional  circles,  was  born  in  Lawrence,  Essex 
county,  Massachusetts,  February  11,  1886,  a  son  of  Dr.  John  P.  and  Theresa  (Asch)  Kennedy. 
The  father,  a  native  of  Manchester,  New  Hampshire,  acquired  his  education  at  Baltimore, 
Maryland,  and  was  graduated  from  the  Baltimore  Medical  College,  after  which  he  removed 
to  Minneapolis  in  1888.  He  has  since  been  a  representative  of  the  medical  profession  in 
that  city,  where  he  is  recognized  as  a  physician  of  marked  prominence.  His  wife,  who  was 
born  in  Holyoke,  JIassachusetts,  was  educated  in  Baltimore,  Maryland,  and  by  licr  marriage 
has  become  the  mother  of  four  sons,  all  of  whom  are  physicians. 

Dr.  Edward  F.  Kennedy,  reared  in  Jlinneapolis,  attended  the  city  schools  and  after 
leaving  the  Central  high  school  spent  two  years  as  a  student  in  the  University  of  Jlinnesota. 
He  completed  his  professional  preparation  by  graduation  from  Hamline  University  at 
Minneapolis  with  the  class  of  1908  and  through  the  succeeding  year  was  house  surgeon  in 
St.  Mary's  Hospital  at  Minneapolis,  thus  gaining  the  broad  practical  experience  which  only 
hospital  service  can  bring.  On  the  24th  of  .June.  1909,  he  removed  to  White  Earth,  where  he 
has  since  remained,  and  his  ability  has  brouglit  him  prominently  to  the  front  as  a  successful 
practitioner.  Broad  reading  keeps  him  in  touch  with  the  most  modern  professional  thought 
and  his  eflorts  are  attended  with  most  excellent  results. 

Dr.  Kennedy  holds  membership  in  the  Roman  Oitholic  church.  Fraternally  he  is  con- 
nected with  the  Elks  lodge  at  Minot  and  he  belongs  to  the  Northwestern  District  Medical 
Society,  the  North  Dakota  State  Medical  Society  and  the  American  Medical  Association, 
through  the  proceedings  of  which  bodies  he  keeps  abreast  with  modern  thought,  theory 
and  discovery  concerning  all  professional  problems. 


SYDNEY  T.  PARKE. 


Sydney  T.  Parke,  a  hardware  dealer  and  general  merchant  of  .Sterling.  ecTmes  to  North 
Dakota  from  Massachusetts,  in  which  state  his  birth  occurred  in  1878.  His  father.  Thomas 
Parke,  also  a  native  of  Massachusetts,  devoted  his  life  to  general  farming  and  in  the  year 
1880  he  came  to  this  state,  settling  in  Dickey  county,  where  he  homesteaded.  For  many 
years  he  actively  and  successfully  carried  on  general  agricultural  pursuits  but  is  now  living 
retired,  spending  a  part  of  his  time  on  the  old  homestead  and  the  remainder  in  Minot  among 
his  relatives.     He  was  one  of  the  earliest  settlers  of  Dicker  countv  and  contributed   much 


864  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

to  its  pioneer  development  and  later  progress.  His  wife  died  in  1910.  Their  family 
numbered  four  children,'  all  of  whom  are  yet  living. 

Sydney  T.  Parke  was  the  second  in  order  of  birth  and  was  but  two  years  of  age  when 
the  family  left  New  England  and  came  to  this  state.  He  pursued  his  education  in  the 
schools  of  Fullerton,  North  Dakota,  and  when  his  textbooks  were  put  aside  he  entered  the 
employ  of  the  Soo  Railroad,  running  from  Cullen  to  Minneapolis.  He  remained  in  that 
connection  from  189-1  until  1900,  after  which  he  spent  two  years  in  the  service  of  the  Northern 
Pacific  Railroad  Company.  He  worked  at  various  points  along  the  Soo  Line  and  this  gave 
him  a  broad  knowledge  of  the  country  throughout  the  northwest.  In  1902  he  settled  in 
Sterling,  where  he  established  a  general  merchandise  store,  and  with  the  commercial  de- 
velopment of  the  town  he  has  since  been  connected.  At  that  time  he  bought  out  a  grocery 
store,  which  was  the  only  store  in  the  town,  and  he  added  to  his  stock  of  general  merchan- 
dise lumber  and  machinery.  His  business  is  now  gratifying  and  he  employs  three  clerks 
on  an  average.  He  is  also  postmaster  of  the  town,  having  been  appointed  to  that  position 
in  August,  1902. 

In  1901  Mr.  Parke  was  married  to  Miss  Grace  Kiser,  a  native  of  Pennsylvania,  who, 
however,  spent  her  girlhood  in  Roger  and  in  Sanborn,  North  Dakota,  being  a  daughter  of 
Mr.  and  Mis.  Miles  Kiser,  who  were  early  residents  of  this  state,  arriving  about  1886,  ere 
the  division  of  the  territory.  They  were  pioneers  in  the  locality  of  Roger  and  they  are 
still  living  in  North  Dakota.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Parke  have  become  the  parents  of  four  children, 
Nellie,  Thomas,  Miles   and   Helen. 

In  his  political  views  ^Ir.  Parke  is  an  earnest  republican  and  while  not  an  office  seeker 
he  has  served  for  fourteen  j'ears  as  postmaster  of  his  town  and  has  also  been  officially  con- 
nected with  the  schools.  In  Masonry  he  has  taken  the  degi-ees  of  lodge,  chapter  and  com- 
mandery  and  in  the  Odd  Fellows  Society  he  belongs  to  the  subordinate  lodge,  the  encamp- 
ment and  the  Rebekahs,  being  connected  with  these  bodies  at  Sterling,  while  his  Masonic 
connections  are  at  Bismarck.  He  belongs  to  the  Episcopal  church  and  has  ever  endeavored 
to  conform  his  life  to  its  teachings. 


RICHARD  DAELEY. 


Richard  Daeley,  a  member  of  the  firm  of  Coekburn  &  Daeley,  conducting  a  real  estate 
and  insurance  business  at  Devils  Lake,  was  born  in  Ontario,  Canada,  on  the  16th  of  August, 
1858,  a  son  of  William  and  Bridget  (Hayes)  Daeley.  The  father  has  now  passed  away  but 
the  mother  is  living  at  the  age  of  eighty-two  years. 

In  the  schools  of  Canada  Richard  Daeley  pursued  his  education  but  in  1879,  when  a  young 
man,  crossed  the  border  into  the  United  States  and  made  his  way  to  Colorado,  where  he  re- 
mained until  January,  1881,  when  he  removed  to  Dakota  territory,  settling  in  Elk  valley 
before  the  town  of  Larimore  was  founded.  There  he  preempted  land,  on  which  he  remained 
until  the  spring  of  1882,  when  he  sold  that  property  and  removed  to  Ramsey  county,  where 
he  homesteaded  and  engaged  in  farming  for  ten  years,  during  which  period  he  converted 
a  tract  of  wild  prairie  land  into  rich  and  productive  fields.  On  the  expiration  of  that 
period  he  took  up  his  abode  in  Devils  Lake,  where  he  established  a  grain  business,  which 
he  carried  on  for  six  years.  He  was  then  appointed  postmaster  of  the  city  and  occupied 
that  position  for  seventeen  years,  his  long  service  being  indisputable  proof  of  his  fidelity 
and  capability.  He  is  now  concentrating  his  energies  upon  the  real  estate  and  insurance 
business  as  a  member  of  the  firm  of  Coekburn  &  Daeley  and  is  accorded  a  liberal  clientage 
in  that  connettion. 

Mr.  Daeley  has  been  married  twice.  In  September,  1883,  he  wedded  Miss  Anna  Welsh, 
who  died  in  1889,  leaving  two  daughters  and  a  son.  On  the  2d  of  February,  1898,  Mr. 
Daeley  was  again  married,  his  second  union  being  with  Minnie  Kilday,  by  whom  he  has 
two  daughters. 

The  religious  faith  of  the  family  is  that  of  the  Catholic  church  and  Mr.  Daeley  holds 
membership  in  the  Catholic  Order  of  Foresters  and  with  the  Ancient  Order  of  LTnited  Work- 
men.    In  polities  he  is  a  republican.     He  is  a  progi-essive  and  respected  citizen  and  one  who 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  865 

has  iiitiiiuiti'  ami  iU'curate  knowledge  of  the  ilcvelojimi'iit  ami  u|il)uilding  of  the  county. 
His  was  one  of  the  pioneer  families  in  Kamsey  county  and  from  Larimore  he  hauled  the 
lumber  to  erect  the  first  house  upon  his  farm.  He  is,  moreover,  one  of  the  oldest  post- 
masters of  tlie  state.  There  are  few  phases  of  North  Dakota's  development  and  iniprove- 
ment  with  which  he  is  not  familiar.  He  has  seen  it  converted  from  what  was  a  broad  and 
largely  unsettled  prairie  region  into  a  great  commonwealth,  its  land  reclaimed  for  the  pur- 
poses of  civilization,  its  natural  resources  \itilizcd  fur  the  benefit  of  the  settlers.  He  re- 
joices in  what  has  been  accomplished  and  in  Kamsey  county  he  has  borne  his  share  in  the 
work  of  general  development. 


JENS  aiRISTIAN  OLSEN. 


A  respected  and  valued  representative  of  the  Danish  element  in  the  citizenship  of  Ken- 
mare  is  Jens  Christian  Olsen,  who  was  born  near  Holbek,  Denmark,  June  7,  1879,  his  par- 
ents being  Nels  and  Katherine  (Hansen)  Olsen,  who  are  also  natives  of  that  country.  The 
father  was  a  common  laborer  for  many  years  but  now  at  the  age  of  eighty-nine  is  living 
retired  in  the  same  house  in  which  his  son,  Jens  C,  was  born.  His  wife  also  sm'vives  and 
has  reached  the  age  of  eighty-three  years. 

.Jens  C.  Olsen  acepiired  his  education  in  the  schools  of  Holbek,  but  as  he  was  one  of 
twelve  children  and  his  father's  income  was  quite  limited,  he  had  comparatively  little  op- 
portunity to  attend  school.  He  began  to  provide  for  his  own  support  when  but  seven  years 
of  age,  working  at  such  tasks  as  his  strength  permitted.  He  served  an  apprenticeship  to 
the  wagon  maker's  trade,  for  which  privilege  lie  had  to  pay  one  hundred  dollars  in  cash 
to  his  employer.  His  term  of  indenture  being  over  after  five  years  and  his  diploma  assert- 
ing that  he  had  completed  his  apprenticeship  being  secured,  he  then  began  working  for  others 
and  was  thus  employed  for  four  years,  at  the  end  of  which  time  he  bade  adieu  to  family, 
friends  and  native  land  and  sailed  for  America  in  1893  in  company  with  his  brother  Ole, 
who  had  previously  come  to  the  new  world  but  had  returned  to  Denmark  for  a  visit. 

Jens  C.  Olsen  became  a  resident  of  GayviUe,  South  Dakota.  It  was  his  intention  to  go 
to  San  Francisco,  California,  where  ho  had  a  brother  living,  but  when  he  reached  GayviUe 
his  funds  were  exhausted  and  necessity  prompted  him  to  become  a  resident  of  that  town, 
in  which  he  had  not  a  single  acquaintance.  He  immediately  sought  employment,  however, 
and  obtained  work  at  wagon  repairing  in  a  blacksmith  shop.  He  there  spent  six  months' 
and  in  the  fall  of  that  year  removed  to  Powers  Lake,  Ward  county,  now  Burke  county, 
North  Dakota.  There  he  secured  a  homestead  of  one  hundred  and  sixty  acres,  filed  on  his 
claim  and  broke  the  sod.  He  then  went  to  San  Francisco,  California,  to  visit  his  brother 
but  after  eight  months  returned  to  his  homestead,  upon  which  he  lived  for  eight  months. 
He  secured  title  to  his  property  by  paying  a  dollar  and  a  quarter  per  acre  for  it,  after  which 
he  removed  to  Kenmare  and  began  wagon  making  for  the  firm  of  J.  M.  Rohe  &  Company,  with 
whom  he  continued  for  four  years.  At  the  end  of  that  time,  or  in  1908,  he  purchased  the 
shop  in  which  he  had  been  employed  and  thus  began  business  on  his  own  account,  renting 
the  Kobe  building  for  five  years.  In  1912,  however,  he  bought  a  lot  and  erected  the  building 
which  he  still  occupies.  He  also  built  a  fine  two-story  residence  in  Kenmare  in  1900,  and 
when  he  sold  his  homestead  in  1915  he  bought  a  half  section  of  land  eight  miles  north  of 
Kenmare,  constituting  one  of  the  well  improved  farms  of  Ward  county.  This  he  rents  as 
he  does  another  farm  comprising  a  quarter  section  in  Montana,  and  his  rental  of  these 
properties  adds  materially  to  his  income.  He  is  still  engaged  in  the  wagon  making  business, 
manufacturing  and  repairing  farm  wagons,  his  patronage  coming  to  him  from  many  miles 
around.  He  now  has  a  completely  equipped  shop  of  modern  construction  and  is  conducting 
a  business  of  gratifying  proportions.  He  has  never  forgotten  his  old  home  in  Denmark  and 
regularly  sends  money  to  his  aged  father  and  mother  there  to  assist  in  their  support. 

On  the  2d  of  August,  1909,  Mr.  Olsen  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Katherine  Han- 
son, who  was  born  in  Diamond  Bluff,  Wisconsin,  where  the  wedding  was  celebrated.  They 
have  become  parents  of '  two  children:  Ruth,  five  years  of  age;  and  Katherine,  two  years 
old. 


866  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

In  politics  Mr.  Olscn  maintains  an  independent  attitude,  supporting  men  and  measures 
rather  tlian  party.  He  belongs  to  the  Danish  Lutheran  church,  while  his  wife  is  an  active 
workei'  in  the  Methodist  Episcopal  church.  Fraternally  he  is  connected  with  the  Masonic 
lodge  at  Kenmare  and  also  became  a  charter  member  of  the  Danish  Brotherhood,  No.  198. 
Hi  J  life  has  been  a  busy  and  useful  one  and  he  has  become  an  important  factor  in  promoting 
the  industrial  development  of  his  adopted  city. 


HON.  ROBERT  NORHEIM. 


One  of  tlie  most  prominent  and  inlluential  citizens  of  Alexander,  North  Dakota,  is  Roberb 
Norheim,  a  leading  attorney  of  McKenzie  county,  who  was  born  in  Norway  on  the  38th  of 
June,  1877,  and  is  a  son  of  Gunerius  and  Nella  (Nodahl)  Kne.  His  parents  are  still  living 
in  Norway,  where  the  father  is  engaged  in  farming.  Robert  Norheim  was  sixteen  years  of 
age  when  he  crossed  the  Atlantic  in  1893  and  became  a  resident  of  Cresco,  Iowa,  where  he 
secured  work  on  a  farm.  Feeling  the  need  of  a  better  education  than  he  had  secured  in  his 
native  land,  he  attended  high  school  during  the  winter  months  while  employed  on  a  farm 
during  the  summer  season,  hoping  some  day  to  be  able  to  study  law.  He  managed  a  general 
store  at  Dalton,  Minnesota,  for  six  years,  during  which  time  he  saved  his  monej'  and  in  1901 
entered  the  law  department  of  the  University  of  North  Dakota,  from  whicli  he  was  graduated 
in  1904  with  the  degree  of  LL.  B.    Later  the  degree  of  LL.  D.  was  conferred  upon  him. 

Mr  Norheim  began  the  practice  of  law  at  Fargo,  North  Dakota,  where  he  remained  until 
1906,  when  he  was  appointed  United  States  commissioner  and  removed  to  Alexander.  On 
the  organization  of  McKenzie  county  he  was  also  appointed  states  attorney.  There  had  been 
a  bitter  county  seat  fight  and  also  the  legality  of  the  organization  of  the  county  was  ques- 
tioned. In  this  litigation  in  the  supreme  court  of  North  Dakota  Mr.  Norlieim  took  a  promi- 
nent part.  His  term  as  states  attorney  having  expired,  he  was  elected  to  that  office  in  1906 
and  served  in  all  two  terms.  In  1910  he  was  elected  to  the  state  legislature  and  reelected 
in  1913.  While  a  member  of  the  house  he  served  on  the  judiciary  committee  and  during  the 
session  of  1911  was  appointed  chairman  of  the  legislative  committee  to  investigate  the  state 
treasury  and  was  made  one  of  the  five  managers  to  prosecute  the  impeachment  of  Jutige 
Cowan.  Mr.  Norheim  was  one  of  the  leaders  of  the  progressives  in  the  house  of  representa- 
tives and  introduced'  and  had  passed  the  first  state  budget  bill  for  the  systematic  estimation 
of  the  state  budget.  He  prepared  and  read  a  paper  entitled  "Preparation  of  the  appropria- 
tion bills  in  New  York  and  North  Dakota"  at  the  fourth  annual  meeting  of  the  North 
Dakota  Tax  Association  at  Fargo,  January  31,  1912.  This  was  circulated  and  used  effectively 
in  the  campaign  for  a  more  extended  budget  system,  but  especially  so  during  the  legislative 
session  of  1913,  at  which  Mr.  Norheim  secured  the  passage  of  the  first  state  budget  bill. 

Mr.  Norheim  retired  from  the  legislature  in  1914  and  has  since  continued  in  the  prac- 
tice of  law  at  Alexander.  He  has  a  large  law  library  and  Is  regarded  as  one  of  the  leading 
representatives  of  the  legal  profession  in  McKenzie  county.  He  is  also  interested  in  farm- 
ing, having  large  landholdings,  and  is  vice  president  of  the  Alexander  State  Bank,  which  is 
the  oldest  institution  of  the  kind  in  the  county.  He  is  likewise  interested  in  the  McKenzie 
County  Chronicle  published  at  Alexander. 

At  Omaha,  Nebraska,  Mr.  Norheim  was  married  November  24,  1910,  to  Miss  Ida  E. 
Moore,  who  was  born  in  Wisconsin  but  was  reared  and  educated  in  Omaha.  Coming  to  McKen- 
zie county,  North  Dakota,  she  took  up  a  homestead  and  for  a  time  served  as  postmistress 
of  Alexander.  Her  parents,  Alexander  and  Margaret  Moore,  were  also  natives  of  Wisconsin, 
and  her  father,  who  is  now  deceased,  was  a  farmer  by  occupation.  Her  mother  continues 
to  reside  in  Omaha,  Nebraska.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Norheim  have  one  child,  Margaret  Nella,  born  in 
Alexander. 

By  his  ballot  Mr.  Norheim  supports  the  men  and  measures  of  the  republican  party  and 
he  is  a  recognized  leader  in  its  ranks.  He  is  a  charter  member  of  the  Odd  Fellows  lodge  at 
Alexander  and  is  also  identified  with  the  United  Lutheran  church.  He  occupies  an  enviable 
position  in  professional  circles  and  has  made  steady  progress  since  starting  out  upon  the 
practice  of  law.     The  thoroughness  and  care  with  which  lie  prepares  his  cases  is  one  of  the 


HON.  ROBERT  XORHEIM 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  869 

elements  of  his  success.     His  arguments  are  characterized  by  keen  insiglit,  careful  analysis 
clear  and  cogent  reasoning  and  logical  deductions. 

Jlr.  Norlieira  has  been  identified  with  practically  every  movement  of  recent  years  directed 
toward  the  betterment  of  social  and  industrial  conditions  of  his  county  and  section  of  the 
state.  He  led  in  the  movement  of  securing  for  his  county  tlie  services  to  the  agriculturists 
of  a  county  agent  and  tlie  benefits  of  the  Liver  bill.  He  has  been  one  of  the  ])rinie  movers 
in  the  establisliment  of  rural  mail  routes  and  in  the  building  of  an  extensive  farmers  tele- 
phone system  in  the  western  part  of  the  county.  Hailing  as  lie  does  from  a  country  where 
the  cooperative  spirit  is  exceedingly  strong  he  has  been  found  to  be  in  thorough  sympathy 
with  the  recent  aggressive  efforts  for  cooperation  among  the  farmers  of  the  northwest. 
Always  a  busy  man  Mr.  Norheim  has  nevertheless  found  time  to  devote  to  literary  interests 
and  has  a  very  fine  private  library,  said  to  be  one  of  the  best  in  western  Xorth  Dakota.  He 
has  contributed  articles  of  a  political  and  literary  nature  to  American  and  Scandinavian  news- 
papers, and  it  is  said  that  he  has  even  written  poems.  He  has  traveled  quite  extensively 
both  in  this  and  foreign  countries,  and  during  the  past  six  years  has  made  two  trips  to 
Europe.  His  most  recent  trip  was  made  in  1914,  at  which  time,  accompanied  by  Mrs.  Norlieim, 
he  traveled  in  Norway,  Sweden,  Denmark,  Germany,  France,  England  and  Ireland.  They 
returned  just  as  the  great  European  war  broke  out  and  the  voyage  across  the  Atlantic  by 
the  steamer  Cedric  was  an  exciting  one.  While  on  the  trip  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Norheim  were  eye 
witnesses  to  the  now  famous  "battle  on  Bachelor's  walk"  in  Dublin,  July  36,  1914,  which 
might  have  been  the  outbreak  of  civil  war  in  Ireland.  They  witnessed  the  firing  by  the 
Scottish  Borders,  and  saw  the  killed  and  wounded  being  picked  up  in  the  street.  They  also 
attended  the  presentation  to  Norway  by  the  slate  of  North  Dakota  of  the  Lincoln  monu- 
ment in  Christiania  on  July  4,  1914,  Mr.  Norheim  being  a  member  of  the  committee  which 
during  the  legislative  session  of  1913  started  and  organized  the  movement  for  the  state  to 
be  thus  remembered  at  Norway's  Centennial  in  1914. 


SAMUEL  RHOADES. 


The  ranching  interests  of  McKenzie  county  are  fast  converting  western  Nortli  Dakota 
from  an  unsettled,  uninhabited  district  to  a  region  where  etfort  is  bringing  prosjierity  and 
where  the  advantages  and  opportunities  of  modern  civilization  are  fast  being  introduced. 
Among  those  proniinentl.v  connected  w-ith  ranch  life  in  the  district  is  Samuel  Rhoades, 
who  was  born  in  Tennessee,  March  6,  1S72.  His  father  Ozias  Denton  Khoades,  also  a 
native  of  that  state,  went  to  the  Staked  Plains  of  Texas  at  an  early  day  and  became  a 
ranchman   there. 

Samuel  Rhoades  spent  a  portion  of  his  early  youth  at  San  Angelo,  Texas,  and  in 
early  life  was  a  cowboy  on  the  Swcnson  ranch  in  Jones  county,  Texas,  being  there  employed 
until  1892.  In  that  year  he  was  one  of  the  cow  punchers  that  drove  a  large  herd  of  cattle 
from  Texas  to  the  Bad  Lands  of  North  Dakota,  in  McKenzie  county,  taking  tliem  to  the 
A.  H.  A.  ranch.  He  worked  as  a  cowboy  on  that  outfit  until  1898,  when  lie  established 
his  own  ranch  in  ^IcKenzie  county  in  connection  with  Frank  Poe,  an  old-time  Texas  cow- 
boy, as  his  partner.  This  ranch  broke  up  in  four  years  and  Mr.  Rhoades  became  connected 
with  the  S.  B.  Zimmerman  ranch  south  of  Dickinson.  There  he  remained  for  five  years,  at 
the  end  of  which  time  he  established  another  ranch  of  his  own  in  McKenzie  county  near 
the  postoffice  of  Mary.  His  place  is  known  as  the  T  5  outfit  and  his  brand  is  made  by 
placing  the  horizontal  stroke  of  the  T  at  the  top  of  the  figure  5.  He  owns  a  very  large 
property  and  his  ranching  interests  are  extensive  and  important,  making  him  one  of 
the  leading  representatives  of  that  business  in  tlie  western  i)art  of  the  state.  He  is  also 
vice  president  of  the  First  State  Bank  of  firassy  Butte,  Nortli  Dakota,  and  was  one  of 
the  organizers  of  that  bank. 

On    the    IGtli    of    December,    1900,   Mr.    Rhoades    was    married    to    Miss    Kitty    Jlott,    of 

Dickinson,  North  Dakota,  who  was  born  in  Iowa  but  was  educated  at  Dickinson,  where  her 

father,    Frank   Mott,   removed   with   his    family   during   her   girlhood   days.      Mr.   and    Jlrs. 

Rhoades  have  become  the  parents  of  five  children,  Florence,  Ira,  Albert,  Samuel  and  Grace. 

Vol.  m— 40 


870  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

Politically  Mr.  KlioaJes  is  a  republican  and  has  served  in  several  township  oflSees  in 
Rhoades  township,  McKenzie  county,  which  township  lie  assisted  in  organizing  and  which 
was  named  in  his  honor.  He  has  also  been  oificially  connected  with  the  schools  of  his 
locality.  Success  in  very  substantial  measure  has  come  to  him  as  the  result  of  his  ranch- 
ing interests,  which  he  wisely  and  capably  directs,  and  his  large  herds  of  cattle  bring  him 
a  substantial  financial  return  annually.  He  is  a  progressive,  enterprising  business  man, 
carrying  forward  to  successful  completion  whatever  he  undertakes,  having  worked  his  way 
upward  by  determined  efl'ort  and  the  wise  utilization  of  the  opportunities  which  have  come 
to  him. 


THOKVAL  THORSGARD. 


Thorval  Thorsgard,  a  representative  of  the  agricultural  interests  of  Corrine  township, 
Stutsman  county,  his  home  being  on  section  16,  not  far  from  Courtenay,  was  born  in  Norway. 
October  22,  1875,  and  when  eighteen  years  of  age  crossed  the  Atlantic  to  the  United  States. 
He  did  not  tarry  on  the  Atlantic  coast  but  made  his  way  at  once  into  the  interior  of  the 
country,  with  Cooperstown,  North  Dakota,  as  his  destination.  For  five  or  six  years  he  was 
employed  as  a  farm  hand  in  Griggs  county,  this  state,  after  which  he  cultivated  rented 
land  there  for  seven  J'ears,  during  which  period  he  carefully  saved  his  earnings  until  his 
industry  and  economy  had  brought  him  sufficient  capital  to  enable  him  to  purchase  in  1908 
a  half  section  of  land  on  section  16,  Corrine  township.  He  then  located  upon  the  place  and 
began  its  further  development  and  improvement,  converting  it  into  one  of  the  excellent 
farms  of  the  locality.  He  keeps  the  buildings  and  everything  on  his  place  in  good  repair  and 
he  has  sixteen  head  of  high  grade  cattle,  six  horses  and  twenty  head  of  Chester  White 
hogs.  He  is  regarded  as  one  of  the  representative  agriculturists  of  the  cormty.  After 
coming  to  the  new  world  he  attended  the  public  schools  through  two  winters  and  also 
pursued  a  course  in  the  Minneapolis  Business  College,  so  that  he  was  well  qualified  for  the 
conduct  of  his  interests  at  a  later  period.  He  has  always  manifested  unfaltering  diligence 
and  determination  in  carrj'ing  on  his  work  and  his  success  is  the  merited  reward  of  his  labors. 

In  1906  Mr.  Thorsgard  was  married  to  Miss  Lena  Lund,  who  was  born  in  Norway  and 
came  alone  to  the  United  States,  making  her  way  to  Griggs  county,  North  Dakota.  Four 
children  have  been  born  of  this  marriage:  Anna,  Maude,  Roy  and  Arnold,  all  yet  at  home. 
The  parents  are  members  of  the  Lutheran  church  and  loyally  follow  its  teachings.  For 
many  years  Mr.  Thorsgard  has  served  on  the  school  board  and  has  thus  manifested  his  deep 
interest  in  the  cause  of  education.  In  politics  he  is  a  democrat  and  has  been  treasurer  of  his 
township  for  the  past  six  years,  making  a  creditable  record  by  the  prompt  and  able  manner 
in  which  he  discharges  his  duties.  Thoroughness  has  characterized  him  at  every  piont  in 
his  career  and  his  business  ability  and  enterprise  are  widely  recognized  by  those  w-ith  whom 
he  has  come  in  contact. 


DANIEL  SIMON  HOLLENGA. 

Daniel  Simon  Hollenga,  serving  for  the  second  year  as  president  and  secretary  of  the 
Minot  Association  of  Commerce,  is  well  qualified  for  his  present  position  because  of  broad 
business  experience  and  because  of  his  powers  as  a  linguist.  He  has  studied  six  difi'erent 
languages  and  is  able  to  converse  with  many  representatives  of  foreign  lands.  His  birth 
occurred  in  Veendam,  in  the  Netherlands,  September  23,  1878,  his  parents  being  Hans 
Daniel  and  Riena  Boon  Hollenga,  who  were  also  natives  of  Veendam,  the  former  born 
November  21,  1845,  and  the  latter  on  the  17th  of  February,  1848.  They  never  came  to 
the  new  world.  The  father  was  connected  with  one  of  the  most  extensive  manufacturing 
plants  of  Holland,  operating  one  of  the  largest  factories  in  the  Netherlands.  Both  he 
and  his  wife  still  survive. 

Daniel  S.  Hollenga  was  the  only  son  and  the  eldest  of  three  children.  Liberal  edu- 
cational opportunities  were  accorded  him.     He  studied  in   Zutphen  College,  from  which  he 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  871 

was  gnuliiatcd  with  tlio  class  of  1S93,  and  afterward  he  attended  the  University  at  Osna- 
bruek,  completing  his  course  by  graduation  with  the  class  of  1898.  He  also  had  private 
mstruetors  and  the  wise  direction  of  his  educational  development  made  hinri  master  of  six 
diliereiit  languages.  When  eighteen  years  of  age  he  assumed  the  management  of  hia 
own  allairs  and  has  made  steady  progress  through  all  the  intervening  years.  He  con- 
ducted an  ollice  as  adviser  to  chambers  of  commerce  and  commercial  associations,  wrote 
articles  for  papers  and  magazines  and  otherwise  employed  his  time  until  I'JOO,  when  he 
came  to  the  United  States,  landing  at  New  York,  where  he  was  associated  with  the  Hol- 
land-American Steamship  Company.  He  afterward  made  his  way  to  Seattle,  Washington, 
where  he  was  employed  in  the  capacity  of  advertising  manager  for  the  Seattle  Taxicab 
Company  for  a  year.  Later  he  was  connected  with  the  emigration  department  of  the  Cana- 
dian Pacific  Kailroad  Company,  having  charge  of  the  western  division  for  a  year  and  later 
he  was  in  the  same  capacity  with  tlie  Canadian  Northern  Railroad  Company  for  eighteen 
months.  On  the  expiration  of  that  period  he  took  charge  of  the  publicity  department  of 
the  Western  Kealty  Company  at  Poitage  La  Prairie  and  on  tlie  15th  of  February,  1914, 
he  went  to  Minot  and  accepted  his  present  position  as  secretary  of  the  Cliamber  of  Com- 
merce. He  has  since  acted  in  that  capacity  and  is  doing  excellent  work  for  the  improve- 
ment of  the  city,  the  extension  of  its  trade  relations  and  the  development  of  its  civic  pride. 
He  is  also  the  secretary  of  the  Builders  and  Traders  Exchange  and  is  general  secretary  of 
the  World's  Permanent  Peace  Association  of  Jlinot.  He  is  likewise  an  owner  of  land 
in  Canada  and  in  Holland.  His  business  interests  are  wisely  and  carefully  directed.  Jlis 
work  has  largely  been  of  a  public  nature  that  has  had  much  to  do  witli  general  welfare 
and  progress  and  his  labors   have  at  all   times  been  resultant. 

Mr.  Hollenga  attends  the  Presbyterian  church,  although  he  is  not  a  member  and  in 
politics  he  is  an  independent  republican.  Fraternally  he  is  connected  with  the  Knights  of 
Pythias  and  he  has  gained  many  warm  friends  in  that  organization  and  in  other  connec- 
tions. He  is  at  all  times  prompted  in  all  that  he  does  by  the  si]irit  of  progress  and  develop- 
ment and  his  activities  have  sought  an  ever  widening  scope. 


JOSEPH  SAYER. 


Joseph  Sayer,  viie  president  of  the  First  National  Bank  of  Hunter  and  one  of  the 
extensive  landowners  of  Cass  county,  has  valuable  farming  property  of  five  hundred  and 
sixty  acre.s  from  which  he  derives  a  gratifying  annual  income.  He  was  born  in  Enj.'land 
in  September,  1825,  and  having  now  reached  the  ninetietli  milestone  on  life's  journey,  he 
does  not  continue  active  in  the  management  of  his  business  affairs,  but  his  property  makes 
his  financial  resources  of  such  avail  that  he  can  enjoy  all  of  the  comforts  and  some  of  the 
luxuries  of  life  without  further  recourse  to  labor.  His  parents,  Mr.  and  iNfrs.  Rober  Sayer, 
were  also  natives  of  England  and  there  remained  until  called  to  the  home  beyond.  They 
had  a  family  of  ten  children,  four  of  whom  survive  and  reside  in  America. 

Joseph  Sayer  pursued  his  education  in  the  school  of  his  native  land,  where  he  con- 
tinued to  make  his  home  until  he  reached  the  age  of  twenty-two  years,  when  in  1847  he 
crossed  the  Atlantic  to  the  United  States  on  one  of  the  old-time  sailing  vessels.  He  first 
took  up  his  abode  upon  a  farm  in  Wisconsin  and  there  remained  for  three  decades  or 
until  1879,  when  he  came  to  North  Dakota,  establishing  his  home  upon  a  farm  in  Cass 
county.  He  devoted  a  number  of  years  to  the  development  and  improvement  of  that 
property  and  then  removed  to  Hunter,  where  he  now  makes  his  home.  He  is  still  the  owner 
of  valuable  land,  however,  his  holdings  in  Cass  county  comprising  five  hundred  and  sixty 
acres.  In  addition  he  is  the  vice  president  of  the  First  National  Bank  and  one  of  its  large 
stockholders. 

While  a  resident  of  Wisconsin  Mr.  Sayer  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Nancy 
Hitchcock,  a  native  of  Ohio.  She  passed  away  leaving  three  children,  nanuly:  F.  Sayer; 
Sophia,  who  is  the  wife  of  JIartin  B.  Erb  and  now  resides  in  southern  California;  and 
Robert  A.  Sayer,  who  is  engaged  in   farming  in  Cass  county,  North   Dakota. 

Mr.  Sayer  votes  with  the  democratic  party  and  has  filled  the  olliee  of  assessor  for  three 


872  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

years.  He  belongs  to  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows  and  has  guided  Ills  life 
according  to  the  teachings  of  that  organization.  He  has  never  had  occasion  to  regret  com- 
ing to  America.  For  sixty-eight  years  he  has  made  his  home  on  this  side  the  Atlantic 
and  has  enjoyed  and  benefited  by  the  business  opportunities  here  offered,  working  his  way 
steadily  upward  to  success  through  determined  elfort,  unfaltering  industry  and  persever- 
ance. He  is  now  one  of  the  venerable  residents  of  Hunter,  highly  esteemed  by  all  because 
of  a  well   spent  life. 


AUGUST  W.  HERR. 


As  an  agriculturist  August  W.  Herr  has  been  prominently  identified  with  the  develop- 
ment of  Mcintosh  and  Logan  counties  and  as  a  merchant  and  stock  dealer  he  has  been 
connected  with  the  business  interests  of  Wishek,  where  he  now  makes  his  home.  His 
entire  life  has  been  passed  in  this  section  of  the  country  for  he  was  born  in  Hutchinson 
county,  South  Dakota,  October  15,  1880,  and  he  is  a  son  of  Jacob  and  Margaret  (Kreen) 
Herr,  of  whom  further  mention  is  made  in  the  sketch  of  Jacob  Herr,  Jr.,  on  another  page 
of  this  work. 

August  W.  Herr  is  indebted  to  the  district  schools  for  the  educational  advantages 
he  enjoyed  during  his  boyhood  and  he  early  became  familiar  with  all  kinds  of  farm  work. 
In  1903  he  homcsteaded  a  quarter  section  of  larul  in  Logan  county,  Nortli  Dakota,  on 
which  he  lived  for  three  years,  and  then  sold  his  relinquishment  and  purchased  the  Doyle 
elevator  in  Wishek,  turning  his  attention  to  the  grain  trade.  In  1903  in  partnership  with 
his  father  and  brother  Jacob  he  purchased  the  mercantile  business  of  Mike  Kline  and  con- 
ducted business  under  the  firm  name  of  Herr  Brothers  &  Company  for  ten  years,  at  the 
end  of  which  time  August  W.  Herr  sold  his  interest  in  the  store,  and  has  since  given  hia 
entire  attention  to  farming  and  the  buying  and  shipping  of  cattle.  He  is  now  operating 
about  six  hundred  acres  of  land  but  is  the  owner  of  twelve  hundred  acres,  six  luunlred 
and  seventy  acres  being  in  Mcintosh  county  and  the  remainder  in  Logan  county.  He  is  an 
enterprising  and  progressive  farmer,  is  systematic  and  methodical  in  his  work  and  is  also 
a  man  of  good  business  ability.  To  these  characteristics  may  be  attributed  his  success 
and  he  is  now  numbered  among  the  substantial  citizens  of  Wishek 

In  1905  Mr.  Herr  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Lydia  Pudwill,  of  Mcintosh  county, 
and  to  them  have  been  born  three  children :  Agnes,  Margaret  and  Clifton.  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
Herr  hold  membership  in  the  Baptist  church  and  are  highly  esteemed  by  all  who  know 
them.  In  politics  Mr.  Herr  is  a  republican  and  he  is  now  serving  as  a  member  of  the 
Wishek  school  board. 


CHARLES  VOGHT. 


Charles  Voght,  a  pioneer  farmer  of  Stutsman  county,  living  on  section  13,  Nogosek 
township,  is  a  representative  of  that  large  foreign  population  which,  thoroughly  American- 
ized, lias  built  up  a  great  commonwealth  in  the  northwest,  keeping  the  state  abreast  with 
all  the  other  sections  of  the  country  in  the  manner  and  processes  of  its  development.  He 
was  born  in  Germany,  May  3,  1873,  his  birthplace  being  about  twenty  miles  from  Berlin. 
His  parents  were  William  and  Christine  (Beanstock)  Voght,  the  latter  of  English  descent. 
The  father  served  in  the  Franco-Prussian  war  of  1871  and  in  days  of  peace  was  foreman 
on  a  large  farm  in  Germany.  In  1884  he  brought  his  family  to  the  United  States  and  for 
four  years  was  a  resident  of  Wisconsin,  arriving  in  North  Dakota  in  1888.  He  entered  a 
homestead  claim  three  miles  east  of  Wimbledon  and  lived  there  throughout  the  remainder 
of  his  active  life,  passing  away  on  the  15th  of  January,  1914. 

Charles  Voght  was  a  lad  of  eleven  years  at  the  time  of  the  emigration  to  the  nev/ 
world  and  through  the  period  of  his  boyhood  worked  on  his  father's  farm.  He  afterward 
became   night   watch   at   the   Jamestown   Insane   Asylum   and   spent   one   summer   in   Fargo 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  873 

engaged  on  the  building  of  tlie  INIasonic  temple.  In  1893  lie,  too,  entered  a  tract  of  gov- 
ernment land,  securing  his  homestead  in  the  Eed  Lake  reservutiun  of  Minnesota,  but 
afterward  relinquished  the  claim. 

In  1901  Mr.  Voght  was  married  to  Mrs.  Lillian  Kobinson,  a  native  of  Maine,  and  they 
have  an  adopted  son,  Bernard  Carl.  At  the  time  of  his  marriage  Mr.  Voght  rented  the 
farm  upon  which  he  now  resides,  and  in  1902  he  made  purchase  of  the  property,  which 
was  owned  by  N.  L.  Kedman  of  Fargo  and  comprised  a  tract  of  land  of  three  hundred 
and  twenty  acres,  to  which  he  has  since  added  three  hundred  and  twenty  acres  more.  He 
is  thus  extensively  engaged  in  farming  and  diligence,  determination  and  enterprise  have 
made  him  one  of  the  prosperous  agriculturists  of  his  locality.  He  carries  on  general  farm- 
ing and  stock  raising  and  has  upon  his  place  forty-live  iicad  of  graded  red  polled  cattle, 
fifty  head  of  Poland  China  hogs  and  thirty-eight  head  of  Percheron  horses.  He  erected  the 
buildings  upon  his  place  and  has  added  all  the  modern  eijuipments  and  accessories  found 
upon  a  model  farm  of  the  twentieth  century.  The  methods  which  he  follows  both  in  the 
cultivation  of  his  fields  and  in  raising  his  stock  measure  up  to  high  standards  of  scientific 
farming  and  his  labors  are  therefore  productive  of  excellent  results.  Mr.  Voght  was  also 
one  of  the  builders  of  the  Soo  Railroad  and  for  the  past  eight  years  he  has  operated  a 
threshing  outfit. 

His  political  endorsement  is  given  to  the  republican  party  and  for  one  term  he  served 
as  supervisor  but  has  had  little  desire  to  till  political  positions.  He  is  identified  with  the 
Salvation  Army  and  he  is  interested  in  all  those  forces  which  make  for  the  uplift  of 
mankind.  A  pioneer  resident  of  Stutsman  county,  he  has  w-itnessed  practically  its  entire 
development  and  improvement  and  as  the  years  have  gone  on  he  has  borne  his  full  share 
in  promoting  the  upbuilding  of  his  district,  especially  along  lines  of  agricultural   progress. 


I.    0.    STENSRUD. 


I.  O.  Stcnsrud,  residing  on  section  7,  Pleasant  township,  where  he  has  made  his  home 
continuously  during  the  past  forty-four  years,  owns  two  hundred  and  seventy-four  acres 
of  productive  land  and  has  long  been  numbered  among  the  representative  and  substantial 
agriculturists  of  Cass  county.  His  birth  occurred  in  Norway  on  the  ISth  of  September, 
1841,  his  parents  being  Ole  and  Mary  (Dyra)  Stensrud,  who  emigrated  to  the  United  States 
in  1868  and  established  their  home  in  Houston  count}',  Minnesota.  Three  years  later  they 
came  to  North  Dakota  with  our  subject  and  on  the  ."id  of  July,  1871,  located  on  the  farm 
which  has  since  been  his  home. 

I.  0.  Stensrud  was  a  young  man  of  twenty-seven  years  when  he  accompanied  his  par- 
ents on  their  emigration  to  the  new  world.  In  the  land  of  the  midnight  sun  he  had  learned 
the  tailor's  trade  and  on  settling  in  Minnesota  opened  a  tailor  sliop  in  Spring  Grove,  that 
state.  As  above  stated,  the  family  came  to  North  Dakota  in  1871  and  took  up  their  abode 
in  Pleasant  townsihp,  Cass  county,  on  a  tract  of  one  hundred  and  eighty-five  acres  of 
railroad  land  which  I.  O.  Stensrud  purchased  for  five  dollars  an  acre,  which  was  at  thai 
time  considered  a  big  price.  Subsequently  he  bought  eighty-nine  acres  of  land  adjoining, 
80  that  his  farm  comprises  two  hundred  and  seventy-four  acres.  In  the  conduct  of  his 
agricultural  interests  he  has  won  a  most  gratifying  and  well  merited  measure  of  success, 
his  well  tilled  fields  annually  yielding  golden  harvests  as  a  reward  for  the  care  and  labor 
which  he  bestows  upon  them.  He  is  a  stockholder  in  the  Farmers  Elevator  Company  of 
Hickson  and  enjoys  an  enviable  reputation  as  one  of  the  enterprising  and  respected  citizens 
of  his  county. 

In  1869  Mr.  Stensrud  was  joined  in  wedlock  to  Miss  Mary  Johnson,  who  is  also  a  native 
of  Norway  and  came  to  this  country  in  the  year  of  her  marriage.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Stensrud 
have  become  the  parents  of  two  sons  and  two  daughters,  as  follows:  George  and  John, 
who  are  residents  of  Saskatchewan,  Canada;  Minnie,  the  wife  of  the  Rev.  R.  J.  Wisnaes,  a 
well  known  minister  of  the  Norwegian  Lutheran  church  residing  in  Cass  county;  and 
Emma,  who  is   deceased. 

Since   becoming   a   naturalized   American   citizen   Mr.    Stensrud   has   given   his   political 


874  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

allegiance  to  the  republican  party.  He  has  ably  served  as  a  member  of  the  town  board 
for  four  years  and  also  furthered  the  interests  of  education  during  his  eight  or  ten  years' 
connection  with  the  school  board.  Both  he  and  his  wife  are  devoted  and  consistent  mem- 
bers of  the  Norwegian  Lutheran  church,  exemplifying  its  teachings  in  their  daily  conduct. 
Coming  to  the  new  world  in  young  manhood,  he  wisely  utilized  the  opportunities  here 
afforded  and  through  industry  and  determination  feached  the  desired  goal.  He  liaa  now 
passed  the  seventy-fifth  milestone  on  life's  journey  and  his  career  has  ever  been  such  that  he 
can  look  back  over  the  past  without  regret  and  forward  to  the  future  without  fear. 


HON.  USHER  LLOYD  BUEDICK. 

An  enumeration  of  the  men  of  the  present  generation  who  have  won  distinction  and 
honor  for  themselves  and  whose  record  has  at  the  same  time  reflected  credit  upon  the  state 
that  has  honored  them  includes  Usher  Lloyd  Burdick,  formerly  lieutenant  governor  of  North 
Dakota  and  member  of  the  state  senate.  He  makes  his  home  in  Williston  and  in  the  com- 
munity where  he  is  best  known  is  most  highly  esteemed.  His  birth  occurred  in  Owatonna, 
Minnesota,  February  21,  1879,  his  parents  being  Ozias  Warren  and  Lucy  (Farnham)  Burdick. 
The  father  was  born  near  Montpelier,  Vermont,  in  1831  and  after  acquiring  liis  education 
there  learned  the  millwright's  trade.  Subsequently  he  removed  to  Sparta,  Wisconsin,  and 
eventually  became  a  resident  of  Plainview,  Minnesota,  in  1863.  In  1863  he  enlisted  as  a 
member  of  the  First  Minnesota  Artillery,  participated  in  the  siege  of  Vieksburg  and  in  the 
Shenandoah  campaign  of  1865.  After  the  war  he  returned  to  Plainview,  Minnesota,  to  find 
that  his  mill  had  been  partially  destroyed  during  his  absence.  He  traded  what  was  left  of 
it  for  a  farm  near  Owatonna  and  there  engaged  in  general  agricultural  pursuits  until  1882, 
when  lie  removed  to  Carrington,  North  Dakota,  and  preempted  land.  Later  he  went  to 
Grahams  Island,  where  he  homesteaded,  after  which  he  engaged  in  farming  and  stock  raising 
upon  that  place  until  1901,  when  his  buildings  were  destroj'ed  by  fire.  He  then  retired 
from  his  farm  and  removed  to  Port  Angeles,  Washington,  where  he  passed  away  in  1913. 
His  wife,  a  native  of  St.  Lawrence  county.  New  York,  went  to  Sparta,  Wisconsin,  with  her 
parents  in  her  girlhood  days  and  was  there  married. 

U.  L.  Burdick  was  but  three  years  of  age  at  the  time  of  the  removal  of  the  family 
from  Owatonna  to  Carrington.  After  attending  the  district  schools  he  became  a  student  in 
the  State  Normal  at  Mayville,  North  Dakota,  from  which  he  was  graduated  with  the  class 
of  1900.  Later  he  filled  the  office  of  deputy  county  superintendent  of  schools  in  Benson 
county  for  a  year  and  was  then  nominated  county  superintendent  of  schools  at  Minnewaukan, 
North  Dakota,  but  declined  the  nomination.  Instead  he  matriculated  in  the  L'niversity  of 
Minnesota  in  1901  for  the  study  of  law  and  was  graduated  with  the  class  of  1904  on  the 
completion  of  his  law  course,  winning  the  LL.  B.  degree.  He  then  went  to  Munich,  where  he 
commenced  the  practice  of  law  and  acted  as  credit  man  for  the  First  National  Bank.  In 
1909  he  located  in  Williston  for  the  practice  of  law  whicli  he  continued  until  1916,  when  his 
stock  raising  interests  became  so  extensive  that  he  sold  his  practice.  He  has  a  cattle 
ranch  in  Williams  county,  near  the  county  seat  and  now  devotes  his  entire  attention  to  his 
ranch.  He  has  the  finest  full  blooded  Percheron  horses  in  North  Dakota  and  his  standing 
in  this  line  of  business  is  indicated  by  the  fact  that  he  is  one  of  the  eleven  directors  of  the 
Perclieron  Society  of  America  and  represents  North  Dakota  and  Montana  on  the  board.  He 
was  also  president  of  the  North  Dakota  Live  Stock  Association  until  March,  1916.  He  is 
today  the  most  extensive  breeder  of  Percheron  horses  in  the  state  and  is  widely  known  as  a 
prominent  stockman  and  rancher.  His  place  adjoins  the  city  of  Williston  and  is  most  thor- 
oughly equipped  with  large  barns  and  all  the  accessories  necessary  for  the  successful  conduct 
of  his  business. 

On  the  5th  of  September,  1901,  Mr.  Burdick  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Emma  C.  Rob- 
ertson at  Park  River,  Walsh  county,  North  Dakota.  She  was  born  in  Northwood,  Iowa,  a 
daughter  of  Hans  and  Evalina  (Anderson)  Rasmussen.  Her  father  was  born  in  Denmark  and 
in  early  manhood  came  to  America,  after  which  he  followed  farming  at  Park  River  but  is 
now  retired  and  makes  his  home  at  Munich,  North  Dakota.     He  changed  his  name  to  Robert- 


HON.  USHER  L.  BUKBICK 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  877 

son  fium  tiie  t'lict  that  there  was  another  of  the  name  of  Kasmussen  on  the  same  mail 
route.  His  wife  was  born  in  .Sweden,  came  to  the  United  States  in  her  girlhood  and  is  now 
living  in  Munich.  Tlieir  daughter,  Mrs.  Burdick,  was  born  at  Northwood,  Iowa,  and  pur- 
sued her  education  at  Park  River  until  she  had  completed  the  high  scliool  course.  She 
afterward  entered  the  State  Normal  at  Mayville  and  the  University  of  Minnesota,  wliich 
conferred  upon  her  the  Bachelor  of  Arts  degree.  Jlr.  and  Mrs.  Burdick  liave  become  parents 
of  two  children:  (^uentin  Northrup,  born  in  JIunieh,  June  19,  1908;  and  Eugene  Allen,  born 
in  Williston,  October  15,  1912. 

Fraternally  .Mr.  Burdick  is  connected  with  the  Masonic  lodge  at  Williston,  the  Royal 
Arch  chapter  at  Minot,  the  Scottish  Rite  bodies  at  Grand  Forks  and  Kcm  Temple,  A.  A.  0. 
N.  M.  S.  He  is  also  connected  with  Williston  Lodge,  No.  1314,  B.  P.  O.  K.,  and  with  the 
Knights  of  Pythias  lodge  at  Williston.  While  a  student  in  the  University  of  Minnesota  he 
was  prominent  in  athletic  circles  and  played  right  end  on  the  championship  football  team 
of  1903,  a  record  of  which  appears  in  the  American  Intercollegiate  Football  Game.  He 
belongs  to  the  Methodist  Episcopal  church  and  his  political  allegiance  is  given  to  the  repub- 
li'jan  party.  In  1906  he  was  elected  to  represent  Cavalier  county  in  the  state  legislature 
from  the  eighteenth  district  of  North  Dakota  and  was  reelected  in  1908.  He  served  on  the 
committees  on  judiciary,  public  printing  and  county  boundaries  during  the  session  of  1906 
and  in  190S  was  chosen  speaker  of  the  eleventh  session  of  the  house  of  representatives, 
making  a  most  fair  and  impartial  presiding  ollicer.  In  1910  he  was  elected  lieutenant  gov- 
ernor of  the  state  and  took  office  January  1,  1911,  in  which  capacity  he  became  president  of 
the  senate  and  as  such  was  the  presiding  officer  and  judge  during  the  John  F.  Cowan  impeach- 
ment trial,  which  occurred  in  the  session  of  1911.  In  1913  he  was  elected  slates  attorney 
of  Williams  county  and  filled  the  office  for  one  term.  In  1914  and  again  in  1916  he  was  a 
candidate  for  governor  but  met  defeat  in  both  years.  He  was  a  member  of  the  first  state 
educational  commission  which  was  organized  in  1911,  serving  on  that  body  until  1913.  With 
the  growth  of  the  state  his  business  alTairs  have  become  increasingly  important  and  success 
iias  attended  his  efforts.  In  official  circles  he  has  made  a  creditable  record  as  one  who  has 
ever  been   faultless  in  honor,  fearless  in  conduct  and  stainless  in  reputatio" 


PHILIP  GRAHAM  REEDY,  M.  D. 

Dr.  Philip  Graham  Reed}-,  a  well  known  physician  and  surgeon  now  practicing  in  Regan 
and  the  surrounding  countr}',  is  a  native  of  North  Dakota,  born  at  Fort  Totten  on  the  23d 
of  December,  1S83,  when  there  were  few  white  men  in  this  region  and  the  country  was 
wild  and  unimproved.  His  father,  Thomas  .1.  Reedy,  was  born  in  Boston,  Massachusetts 
about  1848,  and  is  of  Irish  descent,  his  parents  having  come  to  America  from  County  Tip- 
perary,  Ireland.  After  living  for  a  time  in  the  east  they  removed  to  Rockford,  Illinois, 
where  the  Doctor's  grandfather  engaged  in  railroad  construction  work.  The  father  was 
also  similarly  employed  after  reaching  manhood  both  in  Illinois  and  Minnesota,  his  home 
being  near  Faribault  in  the  latter  state.  In  1868  he  removed  to  Fort  Totten,  North  Dakota, 
and  there  he  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Agnes  B.  Wells,  a  native  of  Minnesota,  born 
near  Lake  Pepin.  Her  father,  .James  A.  Wells,  was  one  of  the  first  territorial  congressmen 
of  Minnesota  and  one  of  the  early  school  teachers  of  Fort  Totten.  Coming  to  this  state  in 
])ionecr  days.  Thomas  .1.  Reedy  experienced  all  of  the  hardships  and  privations  of  frontier 
life  and  he  participated  in  a  number  of  fights  with  the  Indians.  He  became  familiar  with 
their  language  and  was  intimately  acquainted  with  their  chiefs.  From  Fort  Totten  he  re- 
moved to  Fort  Yates  and  was  also  actively  identilied  with  Indian  affairs  in  that  locality. 
He  is  still  living. 

Dr.  Reedy  is  the  younger  of  the  two  children  born  to  his  parents,  the  older  being  a 
daughter.  He  was  five  years  of  age  when  the  family  left  Fort  Totten  and  removed  to  the 
Pine  Ridge  Indian  agency,  where  he  lived  until  1S90,  in  the  meantime  attending  school  to 
some  extent.  The  following  year  was  spent  with  his  parents  in  Faribault,  Minnesota, 
but  in  1891  the  family  returned  to  North  Dakota,  locating  at  Fort  Yates,  where  the 
Doctor   was   instructed   by   a   private   tutor    until     1895,      That    year     he     entered    Johns 


878  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

University  near  St.  Cloud,  Minnesota,  and  after  his  graduation  from  that  institution 
in  1899  attended  the  University  of  Minnesota  at  Minneapolis,  graduating  from  the  medical 
department.  Later  lie  spent  a  year  and  a  half  at  the  University  of  Chicago,  where  he  pur- 
sued a  course  in  banking  and  higher  accounting,  and  in  1905  he  took  an  elementary  course 
in  chemistry  at  the  National  Medical  University  of  Chicago,  then  the  medical  department 
of  the  Northwestern  University.  In  1908  he  entered  the  University  of  Illinois,  from  which 
he  was  graduated  June  7,  1910,  with  high  honors,  and  then  became  an  interne  at  the  Cook 
County  Hospital  in  Chicago,  where  he  remained  until  May,  1911,  when  illness  compelled 
him  to  leave  for  the  Black  Hills.  There  he  took  up  work  with  the  state  board  of  health 
and  also  engaged  in  the  private  practice  of  his  profession.  He  became  heavily  interested 
in  land  in  that  locality.  Subsequently  he  spent  one  year  at  McLaughlin,  North  Dakota,  and 
from  there  removed  to  Regan,  where  he  is  now  located.  By  thorough  training  he  is  especially 
well  fitted  for  the  practice  of  his  chosen  profession  and  today  enjoys  a  good  practice  which 
is  constantlj'  increasing.  He  has  received  licenses  from  the  state  board  in  Illinois,  South 
Dakota  and  North  Dakota,  and  has  won  merited  success  in  both  medicine  and  surgery. 

On  the  21st  of  October,  1912,  Dr.  Reedy  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Rachel  N. 
O'Neill,  who  was  born  in  Plattsmouth,  Nebraska,  in  November,  1891.  Her  father  went  to 
the  Black  Hills  of  South  Dakota  at  an  early  day  and  participated  in  the  development  of 
that  region.  The  Doctor  and  his  wife  made  a  host  of  friends  during  their  residence  in  Bur- 
leigh county  and  wherever  known  are  held  in  high  regard. 


BENJAMIN  0.  MUNSON. 


Benjamin  O.  Munson,  a  well  known  merchant  and  prominent  citizen  of  Powers  Lake, 
North  Dakota,  was  born  near  Cannon  Falls  in  Goodhue  county,  Minnesota,  on  the  19th  of 
April,  1875,  his  parents  being  Oliver  and  Rose  (Lee)  Munson.  The  father  was  a  native  of 
Norway  but  was  only  eight  years  of  age  when  he  accompanied  his  parents  on  their  emigration 
to  America  in  1846,  the  family  locating  in  Goodhue  county,  Minnesota,  where  he  attended 
the  common  schools.  On  reaching  manhood  he  followed  farming  there  until  -1881,  when  he 
removed  to  Bradley,  South  Dakota,  and  engaged  in  the  same  occupation  in  that  locality 
for  many  years.  He  finally  retired  from  farming  and  made  his  home  in  the  town  of  Bradley 
until  his  death,  which  occurred  in  1914.  His  wife  was  a  child  of  two  years  when  brought, 
by  her  parents  from  the  old  home  in  Norway  to  the  United  States,  and  the  Lee  family 
settled  upon  a  farm  near  Kenyon  in  Goodhue  county,  Minnesota.  It  was  in  that  county 
that  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Munson  were  married,  and  since  the  death  of  the  former  Mrs.  Munson 
continues  to  reside  in  Bradley,  South  Dakota. 

In  the  district  schools  near  that  town  Benjamin  0.  Munson  obtained  his  education  and 
on  starting  out  in  life  for  himself  engaged  in  the  furniture  business  in  Bradley  for  a  year 
and  a  half.  Subsequently  he  conducted  a  general  store  at  that  place  for  eight  years,  but  in 
1909  he  came  to  North  Dakota  and  took  up  his  abode  in  the  new  town  of  Powers  Lake, 
Burke  county,  where  he  has  since  engaged  in  general  merchandising,  having  an  up-to-date- 
establishment.  He  is  one  of  the  pioneer  merchants  of  the  town  and  enjoys  a  good  trade, 
drawn  from  a  large  territory,  for  he  is  a  conscientious  and  progressive  business  man  who 
holds  the  customers  once  secured  because  of  their  faith  in  his  square  dealing  and  reliable 
business  methods.  On  coming  to  Burke  county  he  obtained  a  homestead  and  is  still  inter- 
ested in  farming. 

At  Bradley,  South  Dakota,  Mr.  Munson  was  married  June  25,  1901,  to  Miss  Mary 
Olsen,  who  was  born,  reared  and  educated  in  Norway  and  was  twenty  years  of  age  when 
she  came  to  this  country.  They  have  become  the  parents  of  four  children:  Theodore  Roose- 
velt, born  in  Bradley,  June  30,  1902;  Dorothy  Genevieve,  born  in  Bradley,  July  22,  1908; 
Powers  Stone,  born  at  Powers  Lake,  North  Dakota,  June  11,  1911 ;  and  Josephine  June,, 
who  was  born  June  11,  1915,  and  died  on  the  22d  of  the  same  month.  The  second  son  was 
named  for  two  pioneer  ranchmen  of  Burke  county  living  near  Powers  Lake,  which  town  was 
also  named  in  honor  of  Mr.  Powers. 

Since  attaining  his  majority  Mr.  Munson  has  affiliated  with  the  republican  party  and 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  879 

for  livf  vfius  lie  lias  served  as  n  school  director,  being  a  member  of  the  board  at  the  present 
time.  He  is  a  member  of  the  United  Lutheran  church  and  is  also  identified  with  the  Yeomen 
and  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America,  lie  occupies  a  prominent  position  in  commercial 
circles  and  wherever  known  is  held  in  the  highest  esteem. 


CARL  CAEX,SON. 


The  newspaper  has  been  called  both  the  mirror  and  the  molder  of  public  opinion  and 
it  is  a  well  known  fact  that  the  work  of  development  and  progress  is  largely  conserved 
through  the  efforts  of  the  enterprising  newspaper,  which  sends  its  message  abroad  and 
makes  known  to  the  world  the  opportunities  and  advantages  of  a  given  locality.  An 
exponent  of  modern  journalism  is  the  Grano  Tribune,  owned  and  published  by  Carl  Carlson. 

He  was  born  in  Larvik,  Norway,  September  16,  1892,  a  son  of  Olaf  and  Anna  (Jacob- 
sen)  Carlson,  wlio  were  also  natives  of  that  country.  The  father  was  a  blacksmith  by 
trade,  following  that  pursuit  in  the  land  of  the  midnight  sun  and  also  for  about  eighteen 
years  after  he  came  to  America.  It  was  in  1SU4  that  he  crossed  the  Atlantic  and  became 
a  resident  of  Waukon,  Iowa,  where  he  resided  for  five  years.  After  living  at  several  otiicr 
points  he  arrived  in  Kenville  county,  North  Dakota,  in  1902  and  took  up  a  homestead 
claim,  which  he  developed  and  improved,  continuously  cultivating  and  operating  that  land 
until  the  spring  of  1916.  He  then  sold  his  original  holdings  and  bought  three  quarter  sec- 
tions a  mile  and  a  half  from  Grano,  being  now  busily  engaged  in  the  further  development 
and  improvement  of  the  property.     His  wife  was  called  to  the  home  beyond  in  1909. 

Carl  Carlson  was  reared  and  educated  in  Minnesota  and  in  North  Dakota,  remaining 
with  his  parents  until  he  attained  his  majority  although  he  had  in  the  meantime  worked 
to  a  limited  extent  as  a  farm  hand.  In  April,  igi.'J,  he  purchased  the  Grano  Tribune, 
which  he  has  since  published.  The  jiaper  has  a  circulation  of  two  hundred  and  sixty-three 
and  in  addition  he  does  a  job  printing  business. 

Politically  Mr.  Carlson  maintains  an  independent  course,  voting  according  to  the 
dictates  of  his  judgment  in  support  of  those  men  whom  he  believes  will  prove  most  capable 
in  office.  Fraternally  he  is  connected  with  the  Odd  Fellows  lodge  and  the  Rebekahs  and 
also  with  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America,  while  his  religious  faith  is  indicated  in  his 
membership    in    the   Methodist   church. 


J.  E.  WESTFORD. 


J.  E.  Westford.  a  successful  farmer,  progressive  citizen  and  a  Mason  of  high  rank, 
is  living  on  section  25,  Meadow  township.  McHenry  county,  and  at  the  present  time  is  serving 
as  a  member  of  the  board  of  county  commissioners.  He  was  born  in  Iceland  on  the  14th 
of  April,  1874,  his  parents  being  Einar  and  Christine  (.Johnson)  Westford,  who  came  to  the 
United  States  in  1884,  settling  first  in  Pembina  county,  North  Dakota.  In  1S92  they  re- 
moved to  McHenry  county  and  the  father  took  up  a  homestead  claim  on  section  18,  Meadow 
township,  after  which  he  concentrated  his  energies  upon  the  further  development  and  im- 
provement of  his  land.  There  he  passed  away  in  1012,  while  his  widow  now  resides  with  a 
son. 

J.  E.  Westford  acquired  a  common  school  education  and  during  the  period  of  his 
minority  worked  with  his  father  for  several  years,  but  ambitious  to  engage  in  farming  on 
his  own  account,  he  ultimately  filed  on  a  homestead  in  Aleadow  township,  McHenry  county. 
In  all  the  intervening  years  since  1896  he  has  concentrated  his  efforts  upon  the  further 
development  and  improvement  of  that  place  and  by  additional  purchase  from  time  to  time 
he  has  extended  its  boundaries  until  he  now  owns  more  than  a  section  of  valuable  land. 
This  he  cultivates  in  a  most  progressive  and  practical  manner  productive  of  good  results 
and  his  farm  now  presents  an  attractive  appearance,  making  it  one  of  the  pleasing  features 
in  the  landscape. 


880  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

In  I'JOO  Mr.  Westford  was  united  in  marriage  to  Hiss  Polly  Johnson,  who  passed  away 
in  1903.  Nine  years  later,  or  in  1912,  Mr.  Westford  was  again  married,  his  second  union 
being  with  Jessie  Raymond,  of  McHenry  county,  by  whom  he  has  two  children,  John  E.  and 
Qiristian  A.  Mr.  Westford  holds  membership  in  Meadow  Lodge,  No.  85,  F.  &  A.  M.; 
Mystic  Chapter,  No.  13,  R.  A.  M.;  and  in  the  Scottish  Rite  Consistory  of  Bottineau.  He 
is  likewise  a  member  of  Kem  Temple,  A.  A.  O.  N.  M.  S.,  of  Grand  Forks.  He  and  his  wife 
are  consistent  members  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  church  and  their  influence  is  always  on 
the  side  of  those  things  which  are  standards  of  righteousness,  truth  and  honorable  living. 
In  politics  Ml-.  Westford  is  a  republican  and  in  1911  was  appointed  a  member  of  the  board 
of  county  commissioners  on  the  redistricting  of  the  county,  while  in  1914  he  was  elected  to 
the  office  and  is  now  proving  a  capable  official  in  that  capacity. 


JAMES  BULGER. 


James  Bulger  came  to  North  Daicota  in  pioneer  days  and  has  since  been  identified  nith 
her  business  interests.  He  is  now  a  resident  of  Maxbass,  having  made  his  home  there  for 
the  past  ten  years.  He  was  born  in  New  York  in  October,  1871,  and  is  of  Irish  descent, 
his  parents,  Augustus  and  Catherine  (Morn)  Bulger,  being  natives  of  the  Emerald  isle.  In 
early  life  the  father  came  to  America  and  located  in  New  York.  For  several  years  he  was 
in  the  employ  of  the  government  but  finally  purchased  land  in  the  Empire  state  and  turned 
his  attention  to  farming.  He  subsequently  went  to  Ontario,  Canada,  where  he  continued 
to  engage  in  agricultural  pursuits  until  life's  labors  were  ended  in  1893.  The  mother  of  our 
subject  had  died  in  1874  when  the  son  was  only  three  years  of  age. 

James  Bulger  spent  the  first  ten  years  of  his  life  in  New  York  and  then  came  to  North 
Dakota  with  a  load  of  horses,  since  which  time  he  has  made  his  home  in  this  state.  He 
was  given  the  usual  educational  advantages  during  his  boyhood  but  from  an  early  age  has 
made  his  own  way  in  the  world  unaided.  In  1900  he  homesteaded  in  Bottineau  county  and 
■was  engaged  in  farming  for  four  years  but  now  rents  his  land.  In  1904  he  removed  to 
Glenburn  and  erected  a  hotel,  w'hich  he  conducted  until  the  railroad  was  built  into  Maxbass 
in  1906,  when  he  became  a  resident  of  that  place'.  There  he  opened  a  pool  room,  which  he 
has  since  operated,  and  he  also  deals  in  cigars,  tobacco  and  fruits.  He  has  built  up  a  good 
business. 

Mr.  Bulger  married  Miss  JMargaret  Dwyer,  and  they  have  two  children:  Emmet,  born 
in  April,  1904;  and  Margaret,  born  in  January,  1910.  They  are  members  of  the  Catholic 
church,  and  Mr.  Bulger  also  belongs  to  the  Modern  W^oodmen  of  America  and  the  Ancient 
Order  of  United  Workmen.  He  affiliates  with  the  republican  party  and  is  now  serving  as 
a  member  of  the  town  council  of  Maxbass.  He  takes  an  active  interest  in  public  affairs  and 
is  numbered  among  the  representative  citizens  of  his  community. 


TORGER  SINNESS. 


Torger  Sinness,  member  of  the  bar  at  Minnewaukan,  enjoying  a  large  and  distinctively 
representative  clientage  that  has  connected  him  with  much  of  the  most  important  litigation 
tried  in  the  courts  of  his  district,  was  born  in  Norway,  September  27,  1873,  a  son  of  Ole 
and  Gunhild  (Bjerkan)  Sinness,  who  were  also  natives  of  that  country.  The  father  followed 
farming  for  many  years  in  Norway  and  is  now  living  retired  there.    The  mother  also  survives. 

Torger  Sinness  acquired  liis  early  education  in  the  schools  of  Norway,  which  he  attended 
until  he  reached  the  age  of  fourteen  years,  when  in  1887  he  came  to  the  United  States, 
settling  in  Sauk  Center,  Minnesota.  There  he  resumed  his  studies  and  afterward  became 
a  pupil  in  the  Augsburg  Seminary  at  Minneapolis,  pursuing  bis  studies  in  that  institution 
for  four  years.  During  vacation  periods  in  his  seminary  course  he  engaged  in  teaching. 
In  1896  Mr.  Sinness  came  to  North  Dakota,  settling  in  Benson  county,  and  was  elected 
county  superintendent  of  schools,  which  position  he   filled  for  three  terms,  doing  much  to 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  883 

raise  tlio  standard  of  education  and  scholarsliip  in  the  county.  He  regarded  this,  however, 
merely  as  an  initial  step  toward  otlier  professional  labor  and  became  a  law  student  in  the 
University  of  ^Minnesota,  from  wliich  be  was  graduated  with  the  class  of  1905.  He  then 
returned  to  Minncwaukan,  where  he  opened  an  office  and  entered  upon  the  active  practice 
of  law,  to  which  he  has  now  directed  his  energies  for  eleven  years,  making  for  himself  a 
most  creditable  position  at  the  Benson  county  bar.  In  190S  he  was  elected  states  attorney 
and  filled  that  position  for  two  terms.  He  has  a  large  practice  and  he  possesses  one  of  the 
most  extensive  law  libraries  jn  the  state.  Aside  from  his  law  practice  he  has  other  business 
interests,  being  a  stockholder  and  director  of  the  First  National  Bank  of  Minnewaukan  and 
a  director  of  the  Davidson-Hegge  Mortgage  Company,  which  has  its  headquarters  at  Great 
Falls,  Montana. 

On  the  31st  of  December,  1906,  occurred  the  marriage  of  Mr.  Sinness  and  Jliss  Isabelle 
Sheldon,  a  daughter  of  C.  II.  and  May  (Snowden)  Sheldon.  She  was  graduated  froiu  Carle- 
ton  College  and  is  a  lady  of  liberal  culture  and  attractive  social  qualities.  She  holds  mem- 
bership with  the  Daughters  of  the  American  Revolution.  By  her  marriage  she  has  become 
the  mother  of  four  children,  Norman,  Lester,  .Jean  and  Elizabeth. 

Both  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Sinness  hold  membership  in  the  Episcopal  church  and  he  belongs 
also  to  the  Masonic  order,  in  which  he  has  attained  high  rank,  being  now  connected  with 
the  Mj-stic  Shrine.  He  is  also  a  member  of  the  Knights  of  Pythias,  the  Modern  Woodmen 
of  America,  the  Ancient  Order  of  United  Workmen  and  the  Brotherhood  of  American  Yeo- 
men. Politically  he  is  a  republican  and  has  served  as  a  member  of  the  town  council.  He 
has  also  been  on  the  school  board  and  at  all  times  lie  manifests  a  public-spirited  devotion 
to  the  general  good. 


FREDERia<  E.  REDMAN,  i[.  D. 

Dr.  Frederick  E.  Redman,  who  is  now  successfully  engaged  in  the  practice  of  medicine 
in  Mott,  North  Dakota,  was  born  on  the  9th  of  April,  1882,  at  Mason  City,  Iowa,  his  parents 
being  Nelson  and  .Jennie  (Mcintosh)  Redman.  His  mother  was  a  native  of  Montezuma 
county,  Iowa,  but  his  father  was  born  near  .Sterling,  Illinois,  in  1846,  and  was  a  son  of  Eli 
Redman,  who  was  born  in  1791  and  for  his  services  in  the  War  of  1812  received  a  land 
grant  in  Illinois,  becoming  one  of  the  early  settlers  of  that  state.  The  latter's  son,  William 
Henry  Redman,  was  commissioned  captain  of  a  company  in  the  Civil  war  and  after  its 
close  renu)ved  to  Iowa,  becoming  one  of  the  prominent  lawyers  of  that  state.  He  was  chosen 
speaker  of  the  house  of  representatives  for  two  terms  and  was  the  author  of  the  first  pro- 
hibition bill   passed  in  Iowa. 

Nelson  Redman,  the  Doctor's  father,  was  one  of  a  family  of  seven  children,  having  four 
brothers  and  two  sisters.  At  an  early  day  he  removed  to  Iowa,  where  he  was  engaged  in  farm- 
ing and  also  in  the  machinery  business.  After  his  marriage  he  located  in  Jlason  City,  where 
he  made  his  home  until  1898,  although  in  the  meantime  he  spent  about  a  year  in  Aberdeen, 
South  Dakota,  and  then  returned  to  Iowa.  Subsequently  he  became  a  resident  of  Fargo, 
North  Dakota,  and  was  in  business  there  until  1913,  since  which  time  he  has  lived  retired,  en- 
joying a  well  earned  rest.  He  has  always  taken  an  active  part  in  church  work  and  is  a 
stalwart  prohibitionist. 

Dr.  Reduuin  is  the  older  of  the  two  children  born  to  his  parents.  His  early  education 
was  acquired  in  the  schools  of  Mason  City,  Iowa,  and  he  later  attended  the  high  school  of 
Fargo,  North  Dakota,  and  Cornell  College.  With  a  good  literary  education  as  a  foundation, 
,  he  then  entered  the  medical  department  of  Northwestern  University  at  Cliicago,  Illinois, 
from  which  he  was  graduated  in  1907  with  the  degiee  of  M.  D.  Having  passed  the  required 
examinations,  he  was  admitted  to  the  Alexian  Brothers  Hospital  in  Cliicago.  where  he  served 
as  interne  for  one  year.  The  following  year  was  spent  at  his  olil  home  in  Mason  City.  Iowa, 
and  on  the  1st  of  June,  1909,  he  removed  to  Mott,  North  Dakota,  where  he  has  since  built 
up  a  fine  practice. 

In  December,  1908,  Dr.  Redmaij^  was  iinited  in  marriage  to  Miss  Grace  Collins,  of  Chi- 
cago, who  is  a  graduate  nurse  of  ilercy  Hospital  in  that  city  and  for  five  months  had  charge 


884  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

of  patients  of  Dr.  John  B.  Murphy,  the  famous  surgeon  of  Chicago.  To  this  union  has  been 
born  a  daughter,  Eleanor.  The  Doctor  is  a  Master  Mason  and  a  member  of  the  North 
Dakota  State  Medical  Society  and  the  American  Medical  Association.  He  is  today  one  of 
the  leading  physicians  and  surgeons  of  Mott  and  in  his  practice  has  met  with  most  excellent 
success,  which  gives  him  high  standing  among  his  professional  brethren. 


CHARLES  A.  WICKLUND,  M.  D. 

Dr.  Charles  A.  Wicklund,  physician  and  surgeon,  practicing  at  Clmrchs  Ferry,  was  bom 
in  Sweden  on  the  14th  of  November,  1876,  a  son  of  A.  J.  and  Louise  Wicklund.  The  father 
is  still  living  but  the  mother  has  passed  away. 

Dr.  Wicklund  acquired  his  education  in  the  grammar  schools  of  Sweden  and  when  a 
youth  of  fourteen  years  crossed  the  Atlantic  to  America,  after  which  he  attended  public 
schools  in  this  country.  He  later  took  up  the  study  of  dentistry,  completing  the  course, 
and  for  two  years  thereafter  he  engaged  in  teaching  in  a  dental  school.  It  seemed  to  him 
a  logical  step  to  the  practice  of  medicine  and  he  attended  medical  college  in  Chicago,  from 
which  he  was  graduated  with  the  class  of  1905.  His  first  professional  service  was  that  of 
interne  in  the  National  Emergency  Hospital  in  Chicago,  after  which  he  opened  an  office  in  the 
city,  where  he  entered  upon  the  private  practice  of  medicine.  A  year  later  he  removed  to 
Waukegan,  Illinois,  whre  he  resided  for  three  years,  and  on  the  expiration  of  that  period 
he  came  to  North  Dakota,  settling  at  Hansford,  where  he  continued  for  three  years.  He  after- 
ward went  abroad  for  post  graduate  work  in  England  and  had  the  benefit  of  instruction 
under  some  of  the  eminent  physicians  and  surgeons  of  that  country.  Returning  to  America, 
he  located  at  Churchs  Ferry,  where  he  has  now  practiced  for  four  years.  He  is  meeting 
with  excellent  success,  his  professional  services  being  in  constant  demand. 

In  1908  Dr.  Wicklund  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Amy  I.  Bown  and  to  them  have 
been  born  two  children,  Louise  and  Rensselaer.  The  religious  faith  of  the  parents  is  that 
of  the  Methodist  church  and  Dr.  Wicklund  is  a  republican  yet  holds  partisanship  subservient 
to  the  common  weal  and  in  casting  his  ballot  never  holds  himself  strictly  to  party  ties. 
He  is  a  Royal  Arch  Mason  and  a  member  of  the  Benevolent  Pi-otective  Order  of  Elks  and  in 
community  affairs  he  is  deeply  interested,  manifesting  a  public-spirited  devotion  to  the 
general  good.  Along  strictly  professional  lines  he  has  connection  with  the  Devils  Lake 
District  Medical  Society,  the  North  Dakota  State  Medical  Society  and  the  American  Medical 
Association.  He  is  now  serving  as  county  physician  of  Ramsey  county,  capably  discharging 
his  duties  in  that  connection  in  addition  to  a  large  private  practice.  He  keeps  in  touch  with 
the  trend  of  modern  thought  and  investigation  along  professional  lines,  constantly  reading 
and  studying  in  order  to  promote  his  efficiency  and  render  his  services  of  the  greatest  pos- 
sible avail  in  checking  the  ravages  of  disease  and  restoring  health. 


GEORGE  J.  LEIST. 


George  J.  Leist,  devoting  his  energies  to  general  agricultural  pursuits  in  Casey  town- 
ship. Ransom  county,  was  born  in  Humboldt  county,  Iowa,  January  IS,  1S6S,  and  during 
his  youthful  days  was  a  schoolmate  of  the  champion  wrestler,  Frank  Gotch.  His  parents 
were  John  and  Barbara  Leist,  who  were  natives  of  Darmstadt,  Germany,  in  which  country 
they  were  reared  and  married.  They  arrived  in  the  United  States  on  the  15th  of  May,. 
1861,  accompanied  by  the  three  children  who  were  born  to  them  in  the  fatherland.  They 
made  their  way  to  Chicago,  where  they  lived  for  a  year,  after  which  they  removed  to 
Humboldt  county,  Iowa,  where  Mr.  Leist  took  up  a  homestead  claim  in  what  is  now  the 
town  of  Bode.  He  afterward  sold  that  property  and  removed  to  Dakota  City,  Iowa,  where 
he  resided  until  his  life's  labors  were  ended  in  death  on  the  38th  of  July,  1900.  His  widow 
survives  and  is  still  living  in  Dakota  City.  Their  fagiily  numbered  nine  children,  all  of 
whom   survive   with   the   exception   of   one   son,   Charley,   who   died   September    14,   1915. 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  885 

George  J.  Leist  was  the  fifth  in  order  of  birth  in  tliat  family.  He  i)ur»ued  his  educa- 
tion in  the  schools  of  liis  native  state  and  remained  a  resident  of  Iowa  until  he  reached 
the  age  of  twenty-four  years.  He  worked  upon  his  father's  farm  until  1892,  at  which 
time  he  took  up  the  task  of  threshing,  harvesting  and  teaming.  He  was  thus  engaged  for 
two  years,  after  which  he  removed  to  Pipestone  county,  Jlinnesota,  where  he  invested  in 
a  farm  in  1892.  That  property  he  sold  in  1896,  in  which  year  he  came  to  North  Dakota, 
settling  first  at  Sheldon,  where  he  entered  the  employ  of  the  firm  of  Hanson  &  Manning, 
implement  dealers.  He  remained  with  thcra  for  two  years,  after  which  he  bought  six  hun- 
dred and  forty  acres  comprising  section  21,  Casey  township,  and  in  1900  he  took  up  his 
abode  ui)on  the  farm  where  he  is  now  living.  Here  he  carries  on  general  agricultural  pur- 
suits and  stock  raising,  having  an  extensive  tract  of  land.  He  uses  modern  farm  imple- 
ments to  facilitate  the  work  of  the  fields  and  his  labors  are  bringing  about  a  marked 
transformation  in  the  appearance  of  the  place,  which  lie  is  converting  into  one  of  the 
valuable  farm  properties  of  the  county. 

In  January,  1904,  Mr.  Leist  was  married  to  Miss  Julia  Sullivan,  who  was  born  in 
Iowa,  January  17,  1874,  a  daughter  of  Jerry  O.  and  Rose  Sullivan,  in  whose  family 
were  ten  children,  Mrs.  Leist  being  the  third  in  order  of  birth.  Three  of  the  number 
have  now  passed  away.  To  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Leist  havt  been  born  four  children:  George, 
who  was  born  March  2,  1906;  Clifford,  who  was  born  October  3,  1907;  Neil,  born  November 
7,  1911;   and  Bessie,  born   July   13,   1914. 

Mr.  Leist  is  an  independent  voter.  At  the  present  time  he  is  serving  on  the  township 
board,  of  which  he  was  president  in  the  year  1915.  He  is  a  member  of  the  Modern  Brother- 
hood of  America  and  he  belongs  to  the  Catholic  church  of  Lisbon.  He  has  never  sought  to 
figure  prominently  in  public  affairs  but  has  given  undivided  attention  to  his  business 
interests,  and  diligence  and  determination  have  been  the  salient  forces  in  winning  for  him 
the  success  which  he  now  enjoys. 


NEWELL  R.  OLSON. 


Newell  R.  01.<on,  assistant  cashier  of  the  First  International  Bank  of  Minot,  is  num- 
bered among  the  young  business  men  of  that  city  who  have  won  a  creditable  position  and 
enviable  reputation  in  financial  circles.  Thoroughness  and  determination  characterize  his 
efforts  at  every  point  in  his  career  and  gradually  he  has  worked  his  way  upward,  while 
undoubtedly  there  is  before  him  a  bright  and  successful  future.  He  was  born  in  Atwater, 
Minnesota,  Kebruary  25,  1888,  a  son  of  Martin  and  Gunhild  (Siverton)  Olson,  both  of 
whom  were  natives  of  Norway.  They  were  married,  however,  in  the  new  world,  the  father 
having  come  to  the  United  States  in  1872,  at  which  time  he  took  up  his  abode  at  Atwater, 
Minnesota,  where  he  was  employed  by  others  for  a  time.  He  carefully  saved  his  earnings, 
however,  until  his  capital  was  suflicient  to  enable  him  to  engage  in  the  hardware  and 
machine  business,  with  which  he  is  still  actively  connected,  being  one  of  the  well  known 
and  prominent  representatives  of  industrial  interests  in  Atwater. 

Newell  R.  Olson  is  the  youngest  in  a  family  of  si.x  children.  He  was  graduated  from 
the  Atwater  high  school  with  the  class  of  1904  and  received  collegiate  training  in  the 
University  of  Minnesota,  which  he  attended  for  three  years.  When  eighteen  years  of  age 
he  began  managing  his  own  affairs.  He  was  employed  in  the  Security  Bank  of  Atwater 
as  bookkeeper  and  teller,  remaining  in  that  institution  for  four  years,  after  which  he 
removed  to  Winger,  Minnesota,  where  he  was  cashier  of  the  First  State  Bank  for  about 
eighteen  month's.  In  the  spring  of  1913  he  arrived  in  Jlinot,  w-here  he  was  employed  by 
the  Consumers  Power  Company  for  about  two  months.  At  that  time  he  entered  the  Sav- 
ings Deposit  Bank,  which  later  became  the  First  International  Bank  of  Minot.  He  is  now 
acting  in  the  capacity  of  assistant  cashier  and  devotes  the  major  part  of  his  time  to  his 
interests.  He  has  large  experience  in  banking  and  is  well  qualified  to  discharge  the  onerous 
tasks  that  devolve  upon  him. 

Mr.  Olson  belongs  to  the  Masonic  lodge  at  Atwater,  Minnesota,  to  the  Elka  lodge  at 
Minot  and  to  the  ilodern  Woodmen  camp  at  Atwater.     He  attends  the  Presbyterian  church 


886  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

and  gives  his  political  allegiance  to  the  republican  party  but  has  never  sought  nor  desired 
office,  feeling  that  the  pursuits  of  private  life  are  in  themselves  worthy  of  his  best 
efforts.  Applying  himself  closely  to  the  work  in  hand  he  is  making  steady  progress  along 
business  lines  and  his  perseverance,  indefatigable  energy  and  laudable  ambition  are  carrying 
him  steadily  forward. 


AUGUST  BOWMAN. 


With  all  those  interests  which  contribute  to  the  welfare  and  progress  of  the  community 
August  Bowman,  a  representative  farmer  of  Cass  county,  is  identified,  and  he  is  niunbered 
among  the  valued  residents  of  his  section  of  the  state.  He  was  born  in  Sweden,  February 
13,  1864,  and  was  a  little  lad  of  but  twelve  summers  when  he  crossed  the  Atlantic  to  the 
new  world.  The  voyage  was  to  him  a  most  momentous  one,  bringing  to  him  many  new 
experiences  as  he  sailed  the  seas  and  trod  for  the  first  time  the  soil  of  America.  This  was  in 
August,  1876.  He  made  his  way  to  Cass  county,  North  Dakota,  and  as  the  years  passed  and 
he  was  able  to  command  some  capital  began  farming  on  his  own  account,  investing  in  one 
hundred  and  fifty-six  acres  of  land  on  section  31,  Reed  township.  During  the  early  period  of 
his  residence  in  the  new  world,  however,  his  attention  was  given  largely  to  the  acquirement 
of  an  education  and  after  attending  the  common  schools,  ambitious  for  further  advance- 
ment ill  that  direction,  he  spent  two  j'ears  in  an  academy  at  Moorhead,  Minnesota.  In 
his  business  affairs  he  has  ever  displayed  sound  judgment  and  keen  sagacity  and,  work- 
ing along  the  lines  of  unfaltering  industry,  perseverance  and  determination,  he  has  won  a 
substantial  measure  of  success. 

In  1894  Mr.  Bowman  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Mary  E;gema,  a  native  of 
Sweden,  and  to  them  have  been  born  eight  children,  of  whom  six  are  yet  living,  namely: 
Freda   F.,   George   M.,   Lily,    Esther,   Mabel   and   Reynold   A. 

The  parents  are  members  of  the  Lutheran  church  and  adhere  loyally  thereto,  taking 
an  active  interest  in  the  work  of  the  church  and  doing  all  in  their  power  to  promote  its 
upbuilding.  Mr.  Bowman  is  a  republican  in  his  political  views  and  has  served  as  road 
superintendent  and  also  as  school  director.  His  interest  in  the  community  and  the  public 
welfare  is  deep  and  sincere,  and  he  is  regarded  as  a  valued  resident  of  his  county,  for  at 
all  times  he  stands  for  public  progress  and  improvement,  while  in  business  afl'airs  he  is 
thoroughly  reliable  and  progressive. 


HALVER  J.  DAHLER. 


Halver  J.  Dahler  gives  careful  attention  to  the  operation  of  his  excellent  farm  of  one 
hundred  and  sixty  acres  in  Nornuinna  township,  Cass  county,  but  also  finds  time  to  take 
an  active  part  in  public  affairs.  He  was  born  in  Norway  on  the  2Tth  of  .January,  1S59, 
and  he  is  a  son  of  .Johannes  and  Maren  Dahler,  who  were  also  born  in  that  country.  They 
never  came  to  America  but  spent  their  entire  lives  in  their  native  land.  Tliree  of  their 
nine  children  are   still  living. 

Halver  J.  Dahler  grew  to  manhood  in  Norway  and  received  liis  education  in  the  public 
schools  of  that  country.  In  1881,  when  twenty-two  years  o(  age,  he  emigrated  to  the 
United  States,  as  he  desired  to  take  advantage  of  the  opportunities  which  this  comparatively 
new  country  offered  to  energetic  young  men.  He  remained  in  Iowa  until  1885,  when  he 
removed  to  Cass  comity,  North  Dakota,  and  there  purchased  his  present  farm  on  section 
14,  Normanna  township.  He  has  made  many  improvements  upon  the  place  since  it  came 
into  his  possession  and  it  is  now  one  of  the  well  developed  farm  properties  of  the  locality. 
He  understands  farming  thoroughly  and  receives  a  good  income  from  the  sale  of  his  grain 
and  stock.  For  a  number  of  j'cars  he  served  as  secretary  of  the  Farmers  Grain  Elevator 
Company  and  in  that  capacity  as  well  as  in  the  management  of  his  private  affairs  proved 
himself  a  man  of  sound  business  judgment. 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  887 

111  1885  -Ml'.  Duliirr  was  iiKirriccl  (o  Miss  Kaiulcim  Hriull'dl'il,  wlio  ili< d  ill  1MI4  and 
was  laid  to  rest  in  Nonuaiiiia  ci'iucteiv.  She  was  tlic  inotluT  of  two  cliililioii,  iiaiiielv, 
Adolpli  and  Oscar.  In  1H95  Mr.  Dalilcr  was  again  marrird,  Jliss  Kaivn  Jolinson.  also  a 
native  of  Norway,  becoming;  his  wife.  To  this  union  have  been  born  seven  ciiildren: 
Jennie,   Slolfrid,   Harold,   Boinliild.   .Sigurd,   Maurice  and  George. 

Mr.  Dahler  is  a  repulilicaii  and  has  been  called  to  a  number  of  ollices  of  trust.  He 
has  served  as  assessor,  is  now  justice  of  tlie  peace  and  also  holds  the  office  of  school 
director.  He  has  been  inlluential  in  promoting  the  work  of  the  Lutheran  church,  to  which 
both  lie  and  his  wife  belong,  and  for  eight  years  he  served  as  organist  of  the  church. 
He  has  also  taught  in  the  church  school  for  many  years  and  his  record  in  that  connection 
is  one  of  which  he  has  a  right  to  be  proud.  In  addition  to  his  other  interests  he  is  con- 
nected with  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  .America.  He  has  done  his  share  in  promoting  the 
advancement  of  his  community  along  many  lines  and  is  accorded  the  respect  and  esteem 
to  which  his  sterling  qualities  and  ]iublie  s]iirit  entitle  him.  He  has  never  regretted  coming 
to  this  country,  for,  although  he  began  his  career  as  a  poor  young  man.  lie  has  here  found 
o[)porl unities   which  have  enabled   him   to   secure  a   competence. 


CLARENCE   BELDEN  LITTLE. 

Clarence  Belden  Little  is  a  most  ])rominent  figure  in  banking  circles  at  Bismarck. 
Honored  and  respected  by  all,  no  man  in  the  city  occupies  a  more  enviable  position,  not 
alone  by  reason  of  the  success  he  has  achieved  but  also  owing  to  the  straightforward  and 
honorable  business  policy  that  he  has  ever  followed.  His  success  has  depended  upon  a  ready 
recognition  and  utilization  of  oiiportunity  and  jirosperity  and  honor  are  now  his  in  large 
measure. 

JFr.  Little  is  a  native  son  of  New  England.  He  was  born  at  Pembroke,  New  Hampshire, 
November  18,  1857,  a  son  of  George  Peabody  and  Elizabeth  Anne  (Knox)  Little.  He  pre- 
pared for  college  at  the  Pembroke  Academy  and  won  his  Bachelor  of  Arts  degi-ee  upoll 
graduation  from  Dartmouth  College  with  the  class  of  18S1.  Having  prepared  for  the  bar, 
he  entered  upon  the  practice  of  law  and  in  1885  was  elected  judge  of  the  probate  court,  to 
which  position  he  was  reelected  in  1887.  Tn  that  year  official  honors  were  conferred  upon 
him,  for  he  entered  upon  a  two  years'  terra  as  inspector  general  of  the  territorial  militia. 
In  1889  he  was  elected  state  senator  and  served  continuously  for  twenty  years,  acting  as 
chairman  of  the  judiciary  committee  during  the  entire  period.  There  is  perhaps  no  resident 
of  North  Dakota  who  has  more  continuously  served  in  office  or  has  more  direct  bearing 
upon  shaping  the  legislation  of  the  state.  He  made  his  initial  step  in  banking  circles  when 
in  18S7  he  became  president  of  the  Capital  National  Bank.  In  1S95  he  was  elected  to  the 
presidency  of  the  First  National  Bank  and  consolidated  the  two  institutions  under  the 
latter  name.  He  yet  remains  president  of  the  First  National  Bank  of  Bismarck  and  is 
officially  connected  with  various  other  banking  institutions  in  North  Dakota,  being  jiresident 
of  the  McLean  County  State  Bank  at  Wilton,  the  Farmers  State  Bank  at  Wing,  the  Sterling 
State  Bank  at  Sterling  and  the  McKenzie  State  Bank  at  McKenzie,  while  of  the  Goodridge- 
Call  Lumber  Company  he  is  a  director.  The  extent  and  importance  of  his  business  con- 
nections have  won  for  him  a  central  place  on  the  stage  of  business  activity.  He  has  steadily 
advanced  in  tho.se  walks  of  life  demanding  intellectuality,  business  ability  and  fidelity  and 
success  has  come  to  him  in  substantial  and  gratifying  measure. 

In  1885,  in  Boston.  Mr.  Little  was  >initeil  in  marriage  to  ^liss  Caroline  Gore  Little, 
daughter  of  Dr.  .1.  Russell  Little.  They  have  two  children,  Virnque  Mabel  and  George  Pea- 
body.  Mr.  Little  is  a  prominent  Mason,  belonging  to  Tanered  Commandery.  No,  1,  of  Bis- 
marck, of  which  he  is  a  past  eminent  commander.^  He  is  equally  well  known  among  the 
Elks  and  is  a  past  deputy  grand  commander  of  the  territory  of  Dakota.  In  club  circles  he 
occupies  a  prominent  position,  holding  membership  in  the  Minnesota  Club,  the  Town  and 
Country  Club  and  the  University  Club  of  St.  Paul,  the  Minneapolis  CTub  of  Minneapolis 
and  the  Commercial  and  Country  Clubs  of  Bismarck.  His  political  allegiance  is  given  to 
the  republican  part}-  and  his  religious  faith  is  that  of  the  Presbj'terian  church.    His  activities 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

have  been  broad  and  varied.  The  public  life  of  few  residents  of  North  Dakota  has  covered 
so  extended  a  period  and  none  has  been  more  faultless  in  honor,  fearless  in  conduct  and 
stainless  in  reputation. 


SAMUEL  K.  McGINNIS. 


Samuel  K.  McGinnis,  who  passed  away  at  Jamestown,  Stutsman  county,  on  the  22d  of 
June,  1914,  "was  one  of  the  early  settlers  of  the  state  and  took  an  active  part  in  its  develop- 
ment. He  was  also  entitled  to  honor  as  a  veteran  of  the  Civil  war.  He  was  born  at  Mount 
Jackson,  Pennsylvania,  September  3,  1S42,  a  son  of  William  H.  McGinnis,  of  Staunton, 
Virginia.  The  family  is  of  Scotch-Irish  descent  and  their  ancestors  were  among  the 
Covenanters. 

Samuel  K.  McGinnis  attended  school  in  Lawrence  county,  Pennsylvania,  where  his  father 
had  removed,  but  in  1859  began  working  in  the  office  of  the  Lawrence  County  Journal  at 
Newcastle,  where  he  remained  until  the  beginning  of  the  Civil  war.  On  the  19th  of  April, 
within  a  week  after  Fort  Sumter  was  fired  upon,  he  enlisted  in  the  Mount  Jackson  Guards, 
which  were  later  mustered  into  the  federal  service.  Subsequently  he  became  a  member  of 
Battery  B,  First  Regiment,  Pennsylvania  Light  Artillery,  which  was  later  known  as  Cooper's 
Battery.  He  advanced  to  the  rank  of  sergeant  and  participated  in  the  second  battle  of 
Bull  Run,  where  his  saber  and  revolver  were  both  shot  away  and  he  was  seriously  wounded. 
He  was  in  the  hospital  for  six  months,  after  which  he  again  went  to  t^je  firing  line  and 
took  part  in  the  battles  of  Fredericksburg,  Gettysburg,  Chancellorsville  and  the  engagements 
of  Grant's  campaign  in  the  wilderness. 

Following  liis  return  from  the  army  Mr.  McGinnis  clerked  in  a  store  in  Mount  Jackson 
for  a  number  of  months,  after  which  he  was  elected  on  the  soldiers'  ticket  clerk  of  the  courts 
by  a  large  majority.  He  discharged  his  duties  so  capably  that  he  was  reelected  to  the  office. 
In  1879  he  came  to  North  Dakota  and  located  in  Jamestown,  Stutsman  county,  much  of  the 
town  being  located  upon  his  land.  The  following  year  his  family  joined  hira  and  he  made 
North  Dakota  his  home  until  his  death,  although  ill  health  compelled  him  to  spend  much  of 
his  time  in  San  Diego,  California.  On  his  arrival  in  Stutsman  county  in  the  fall  of  1879  he 
purchased  a  quarter  section  of  land,  now  included  within  the  city  limits  of  .Jamestown. 
This  has  been  divided  into  two  city  additions  known  as  the  first  and  second  McGinnis 
additions.  At  the  east  end  of  Front  street  he  built  the  family  residence,  which  was  occupied 
by  them  for  many  years,  and  now  known  as  the  Wimberley  House.  Across  the  street  he 
erected  the  old  City  Hospital  and  put  up  the  McGinnis  block  on  Main  street  adjoining 
the  old  Dacotah  Hotel,  both  buildings  being  later  destroyed  by  fire.  At  a  subsequent  date  he 
purchased  a  residence  for  his  family  on  South  Third  avenue.  With  many  features  of  the 
development  of  the  city  and  county  he  was  closely  and  prominently  associated.  In  connection 
with  .1.  W.  Raymond,  who  afterward  became  treasurer  of  the  state,  and  R.  E.  Wallace  he 
established  the  first  bank  of  his  city,  called  the  Bank  of  .Jamestown,  and  afterward  converted 
it  into  the  First  National  Bank  of  Jamestown.  The  three  partners  also  purchased  twenty- five 
thousand  acres  of  land  in  Stutsman  and  Lamoure  counties  and  for  many  years  Captain 
McGinnis  remained  active  in  land  interests,  not  only  handling  farm  property  but  also  much 
city  realty.  Through  his  influence  and  acquaintanceship  many  people  have  become  financially 
interested  in  North  Dakota. 

His  private  interests  were  not  allowed  to  fully  monopolize  his  time  and  energy.  For  two 
terms  he  served  as  county  treasurer  and  was  the  only  democrat  ever  elected  to  that  office  in 
Stutsman  county,  which  is  a  republican  stronghold.  He  was  at  one  time  the  democratic 
candidate  for  the  office  of  lieutenant  governor  and  carried  his  county,  a  vote  which  indicates 
his  marked  personal  popularity  and  the  confidence  reposed  in  him  by  those  who  knew 
him  best. 

On  the  30th  of  January,  1873,  Mr.  McGinnis  married  Miss  Anna  M.  Keepers,  a  daughter 
of  Captain  .John  V.  Keepers,  of  Newcastle,  Pennsylvania,  who  was  captain  of  Battery  B, 
First  West  Virginia  Light  Artillery,  during  the  Civil  war.  To  this  union  were  born  five 
children:      Samuel  K,,   deceased;   J.  Raymond;   Marie;    Irma;    and  Lillian. 


i 


SAMUEL  K.  McGINNIS 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  891 

Fraternally  Mr.  McGinnis  was  identified  with  the  Masons,  the  Elks  and  the  Ancient  Order 
of  United  Workmen  and  was  a  lifelong  attendant  at  the  Presbyterian  church.  He  donated 
twenty-seven  acres  of  land  to  the  Presbyterian  College  and  was  instrumental  in  securing 
the  location  of  the  institution  at  Jamestown.  In  this  connection  the  Rev.  G.  W.  Simon  at 
the  funeral  services  of  Captain  McGinnis  said:  "To  Captain  McGinnis  Jamestown  College 
largely  owes  its  existence.  To  the  generosity  of  the  deceased  was  due  the  original  grant 
of  twenty-seven  acres  of  ground  on  which  the  lirst  college  building  was  erected.  Afterwards 
the  contract  between  the  college  board  and  the  donor  lapsed  by  failure  of  the  board  to  carry 
out  the  original  plans.  Jn  later  years,  however,  Captain  McGinnis  confirmed  his  gift  to  the 
institution  and  voluntarily  gave  a  clear  title  to  the  land  on  which  the  buildings  now  stand, 
which  he  was  not,  under  the  terms  of  the  agreement,  compelled  to  do."  The  same  public 
spirit  and  subordination  of  personal  interests  to  the  general  welfare  characterized  him 
throughout  his  life  and  no  project  for  the  advancement  of  his  community  lacked  his  heartiest 
support  and  cooperation. 


WILLIAM  K.  SHORTRIDGE,  M.  D. 

Dr.  William  K.  .Shortridge,  engaged  in  medical  practice  at  Flasher,  has  been  an  active 
representative  of  the  profession  since  1S98,  his  connection  with  Flasher  dating  from  1906. 
He  was  born  in  Macon  county,  Missouri,  December  14,  1867,  a  soil  of  Robert  Lee  and 
Elizabeth  J.  (Miller)  Shortridge.  The  great-grandfather  was  a  planter  in  the  south  and 
was  killed  in  a  vendetta.  The  grandfather,  George  Shortridge,  a  native  of  Kentucky, 
belonged  to  one  of  the  old  colonial  families.  He  died  in  Kentucky,  after  which  his  widow 
was  married  at  Florida,  Missouri,  near  Hannibal,  to  a  Mr.  Powers,  who  belonged  to  one 
of  the  [)rominent  families  of  that  section.  Robert  Lee  Shortridge  when  a  young  man 
removed  to  Missouri  and  in  the  '50s  went  to  California,  making  the  overland  trip  and 
driving  a  herd  of  cattle.  He  remained  for  several  years,  meeting  with  a  fair  measure 
of  success,  and  then  returned  to  Missouri  by  way  of  the  Isthmus  route.  He  established 
a.  general  store  at  La  Plata,  Missouri,  and  he  and  his  brothers-in-law  surveyed  and  laid 
out  the  town,  the  main  street  of  which  is  named  Gex  in  honor  of  one  of  the  brothers-in- 
law.  Mr.  Shortridge  became  the  first  postmaster  and  was  city  tax  collector  at  the  time 
of  his  death,  which  occurred  in  190U,  when  ho  had  reached  the  age  of  eighty  y^ears.  He 
had  occupied  the  position  of  tax  collector  for  a  luimber  of  years  and  in  public  otlice  mani- 
fested the  samp  spirit  of  loyalty  that  he  displayed  at  the  time  of  the  Civil  war,  when  he 
joined  the  Federal  army.  He  took  an  active  part  in  public  alfairs  and  his  many  substan- 
tial traits  of  character  won  him  the  high  regard  and  confidence  of  the  people.  His  standing 
in  public  is  indicated  in  the  fact  that  when  he  was  a  candidate  for  the  office  of  assessor  he 
received  four  hundred  out  of  four  hundred  and  one  votes.  His  political  allegiance  was 
always  given  to  the  democratic  party.  He  married  Elizabeth  J.  Miller,  a  native  of  Missouri 
and  a  daughter  of  .John  Jackson  Miller,  a  pioneer  settler  of  Missouri,  who  became  the 
largest  landowner  of  Macon  coimty. 

Dr.  Shortridge  was  the  fourth  in  order  of  birth  in  a  family  of  seven  children,  five  of 
whom  reached  adult  age.  After  acquiring  his  elementary  education  in  the  public  schools 
lie  spent  four  years  in  high  school  and  later  entered  the  Kirksville  (ilo.)  Normal.  Later 
he  taught  school  for  one  term  and  then  became  a  student  in  the  Keokuk  Medical  College 
of  Keokuk,  Iowa,  from  which  he  was  graduated  in  1898,  standing  fourth  in  a  class  of 
eighty.  He  located  for  practice  at  Monroe,  Wisconsin,  and  afterward  returned  to  Missouri, 
■where  he  engaged  in  general  practice  and  also  conducted  a  drug  store  in  Meadville  for  a 
year.  He  afterward  spent  six  years  as  a  medical  practitioner  at  Greenville,  Iowa,  and  on 
the  12th  of  June,  1906,  arrived  at  Flasher,  North  Dakota,  at  which  time  his  nearest  com- 
petitor in  medical  practice  was  at  Mandan.  thirty-five  miles  northeast,  while  to  the  south 
there  was  no  physician  until  I><'adwood.  South  Dakota,  was  reached — a  distance  of  two 
hundred  miles.  He  has  had  patients  come  sixty-five  miles  to  get  a  tooth  jiulled  in  the 
early  days  and  he  rode  long  distances  over  the  prairies  in  order  to  answer  the  call  of  those 
who  needed  professional  service.  In  1913  he  opened  a  thoroughly  modern  and  up-to-date 
VoL  m— 41 


892  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

hospital  and  today  he  has  a  large  surgical  practice,  for  which  work  he  is  splendidly  quali- 
fied, enjoying  a  well  earned  reputation  as  a  most  skillful  and  learned  surgeon. 

On  the  31st  of  Januar}',  IIJUO,  Dr.  Shortridge  was  married  to  iliss  Lillian  Morgan,  of 
Elgin,  Illinois,  her  father  being  Manly  Morgan,  who  is  conducting  an  extensive  business 
as  a'tlorist.     The  Doctor  and  his  wife  have  two  children,  Lelia  lone  and  Cecil  William. 

In  addition  to  his  home  in  Flasher,  Dr.  Shortridge  owns  a  farm  of  three  hundred  and 
twenty  acres  adjoining  the  town  site  devoted  largely  to  alfalfa  and  to  the  raising  of 
horses,  having  twenty  head  of  fine  stock  on  his  place.  He  is  now  dealing  in  horses  and 
that  branch  of  his  business  is  likewise  proving  successful.  He  turns  to  hunting  as  a 
source  of  rest  and  recreation.  Fraternally  he  is  connected  with  the  Modern  Woodmen  of 
America,  while  his  religious  faith  is  that  of  the  Congregational  church.  He  is  always 
interested  in  public  affairs  and  cooperates  heartily  in  well  defined  plans  and  measures  for 
the  upbuilding  of  his  community.  His  attention,  however,  is  chiefly  given  to  his  professional 
interests  and  since  locating  at  Flasher  he  has  been  performing  major  operations.  His 
practice  is  now  very  extensive  and  of  a  most  important  character  and  his  well  developed 
ability,  resulting  from  careful  college  preparation,  broad  reading  and  wide  experience,  has 
made  him   splendidly   qualified  for  the  responsible  work  which   he  undertakes. 


MALCOLM  TURNER. 


Malcolm  Turner,  a  retired  farmer  living  in  Courtenay,  was  born  near  Utica,  Wiscon- 
sin, May  2,  1860,  a  son  of  Andrew  and  Rachel  Turner,  the  former  a  native  of  Scotland, 
while  the  latter  was  born  in  Guelph,  Canada.  Both  settled  in  Utica  in  early  life  and  were 
maiTied  there,  after  which  the  father  engaged  in  farming.  During  the  Civil  war  he  was 
connected  with  the  Eighth  and  with  the  Fourteenth  Wisconsin  Regiments  of  Infantry  and 
he  went  with  Sherman  on  the  celebrated  march  to  the  sea.  At  the  battle  of  Bull  Run  he 
was  captured  and  sent  to  Libby  prison,  where  he  remained  for  six  weeks,  and  for  three 
months  he  was  incarcerated  in  Andersonville  prison.  His  health  was  greatly  undermined 
by  the  hardships  of  southern  prison  life  and  he  lived  only  two  years  after  the  war.  His 
widow  died  soon  afterward,  leaving  four  children.  In  1883  William,  the  eldest  son  of 
the  family,  came  to  North  Dakota,  but  afterward  returned  to  Wisconsin.  The  daughters 
of  the  family  are:  Elizabeth,  the  wife  of  H.  Allen,  who  is  a  veteran  of  the  Civil  war  and 
resides  in  Jackson,  Minnesota;  and  Mary,  the  wife  of  John  Pugh,  of  Oshkosh,  Wisconsin. 

Malcolm  Turner  had  to  start  out  in  life  on  his  own  account  when  a  youth  of  sixteen 
and  began  working  on  the  river  and  in  the  lumber  woods,  being  thus  employed  for  a  number 
of  years.  In  fact  his  labors  in  the  woods  began  when  he  was  but  thirteen  years  of  age, 
and  in  the  summer  seasons  he  was  employed  on  the  farm  of  William  Jones.  In  1SS4  he  left 
his  native  state  and  came  to  what  is  now  North  Dakota,  arriving  at  Buffalo,  after  which 
he  worked  on  the  Norris  farm  during  the  threshing  season  and  in  the  winter  months  was 
employed  in  the  lumber  woods.  In  the  following  spring  he  returned  to  the  Norris  farm 
there  remaining  until  summer,  when  with  an  ox  team  he  drove  across  the  country  to 
Foster  county,  his  destination  being  about  eighteen  miles  north  of  Courtenay.  Eiglit 
people  made  the  trip,  his  companions  being  Edwin  Beens,  Ralph  Walker,  Dan  Clancy,  George 
O'Neal,  Edwin  McKinnon,  Don  McKinnon  and  Harvey  Gee.  Six  of  the  number  remained 
took  up  homesteads  and  all  proved  up  on  their  property.  Mr.  Turner  settled  on  section  24. 
township  145,  range  63.  That  winter  he  went  back  and  worked  in  the  woods  and  with 
the  money  thus  earned  purchased  horses.  In  the  spring  of  1886  he  returned  and  at  that 
time  sixty  more  came  out  with  him  and  settled  in  the  district.  Mr.  Turner  proved  up 
on  his  farm  and  with  his  horses  he  not  only  broke  his  own  land  but  also  did  considerable 
breaking  for  his  neighbors.  In  1885  he  managed  a  threshing  crew  for  Peter  Roberts, 
threshing  for  sixty-eight  days,  after  which  he  and  Fred  Cribbs  brought  a  threshing  rig 
from  Wisconsin  and  operated  it  in  the  fall  of  1886.  In  the  winter  he  again  returned  to 
the  woods,  selling  his  horses,  but  after  working  through  the  winter  he  purchased  another 
team  and   returned  to  the   homestead.     In  the   spring  of    1887  fourteen  more   people   came 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  893 

with  liim  and  on  tlie  28th  of  Maioli  tliey  were  lost  on  the  prairie  in  ii  snow  storm  but  all 
survived. 

After  this  Mr.  Turner  eoncentrated  his  attention  upon  the  development  of  his  farm 
and  completed  his  arrangements  for  having  a  home  of  his  own  by  his  marriage  on  the 
23th  of  December,  1888,  to  Miss  Isabel  Bradford,  who  was  born  in  Bruce  county,  Ontario, 
Canada,  in  March,  1858.  They  traveled  life's  journey  happily  together  for  fourteen  years 
but  in  the  spring  of  1902  were  separated  by  the  death  of  the  wife,  who  left  three  children: 
William,  now  living  on  the  farm;  Kobert,  who  is  employed  by  L.  0.  Larson;  and  Janet,  at 
home.  On  tBe  Sth  of  July,  1912,  Mr.  Turner  wedded  Jennie  McBride,  who  was  born  in 
Bruce  county,  Ontario,  August  9,  18G0,  and  who  at  the  present  time  is  making  an  extended 
tour  over  the  United  States. 

Mr.  Turner  lived  upon  his  homestead  until  1893  and  then  lost  his  farm.  He  went  to 
work  as  a  carpenter  and  built  many  houses  in  the  country  and  nearby  towns,  spending 
three  years  in  that  way.  In  1895  he  entered  the  employ  of  the  government  at  Tort  Totten, 
occupying  the  position  of  boss  foreman  for  four  years  and  eight  months,  but  left  that 
place  in  1899  and  took  up  his  abode  in  Foster  county,  where  he  purchased  a  half  section  of 
land  and  again  began  farming.  He  afterward  acquired  more  land  and  cultivated  an  entire 
section  until  1908,  when  he  removed  to  Courtenay,  where  he  is  now  living  retired,  enjoying 
a  rest  which  he  has  truly  earned  and  richly  deserves.  He  has  spent  two  summers  on  the 
Pacific  coast  in  and  around  Portland,  Oregon,  and  Vancouver,  British  Columbia,  and  he  has 
a  nice  home  in  Courtenay,  supplied  with  all  of  the  comforts  and  many  of  the  luxuries  of 
life. 

In  politics  Mr.  Turner  is  a  democrat  and  for  many  years  served  on  the  school  board 
in  FostiT  county.  His  life  has  been  guided  by  the  teachings  of  the  Presbyterian  church,  of 
which  he  is  a  loyal  member.  It  was  Mr.  Turner  who  instituted  the  first  celebration  on  the 
fourtli  of  July  in  his  locality,  the  year  being  18SC,  and  people  came  for  miles  around  to  take 
part  in  and  enjoy  the  festivities.  In  the  face  of  difficulties  which  would  have  utterly  dis- 
couraged many  a  man  of  less  resolute  spirit  he  has  persevered  and  has  so  wisely  and  suc- 
cessfully managed  his  business  affairs  that  he  has  become  one  of  the  substantial  citizens  of 
Stutsman  county,  his  prosperity  being  such  as  now  enables  him  to  live  retired. 


NELS  FOLSON. 


North  Dakota  is  preeminently  an  agricultural  state.  Its  great  broad  prairies  furnish 
splendid  opportunities  to  the  farmer  and  cattle  raiser  and  its  wealth  is  largely  derived 
from  its  fields.  Among  those  who  are  controlling  its  agricultural  interests  are  many  men 
of  marked  business  ability,  enterprise  and  initiative,  until  North  Dokata  is  largely  setting 
a  standard  for  agricultural  development  in  the  entire  country.  Prominent  among  the  suc- 
cessful farmers  of  Walsh  county  is  Nels  Folson,  of  Hoople,  whose  lands  are  notable  for  the 
size  of  the  crops  which  he  produces  in  his  fields.  He  is  also  a  leader  in  other  business  affairs 
of  the  community,  for  he  erected  one  of  the  first  elevators  for  the  storage  of  grain  in  Walsh 
county  and  has  done  much  to  further  commercial  development  there.  Minnesota  claims  him 
as  a  native  son,  for  his  birth  occurred  in  Houston  county,  March  5,  1859,  his  parents  being 
Christ  and  Mathilda  (Krognes)  Folson,  the  former  a  native  of  Denmark  and  the  latter  of 
Norway.  Coming  to  America  in  early  life,  they  settled  in  Houston  county,  Minnesota,  where 
they  became  acquainted  and  were  married.  There  Mr.  Folson  engaged  in  farming  but  after- 
ward removed  to  La  Crosse,  Wisconsin,  where  he  became  proprietor  of  a  hotel  which  he  con- 
ducted for  some  time.  On  selling  out  his  interest  there  he  removed  to  Walsh  county, 
North  Dakota,  in  1880  and  again  took  up  the  occupation  of  farming,  in  which  he  was 
actively  engaged  to  the  time  of  his  death  in  3  908.  He  had  reached  the  age  of  seventy-five 
years,  while  his  wife,  who  passed  away  in  Walsh  county  in  1898,  was  si.xty-five  years  of 
age  at  the  time  of  her  demise. 

Nels  Folson  was  the  eldest  in  a  family  of  nine  children  and  in  his  youthful  days  at- 
tended school  in  La  Crosse,  Wisconsin,  while  subsequently  he  worked  for  his  father.  After 
coming  to  North  Dakota  he  was  engaged  in  farming  in  Walsh  county,  acquiring  land  of  his 


894  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

own,  and  from  that  point  he  has  steadily  advanced  until  he  is  today  owner  of  some  of  the 
largest  and  finest  farms  of  the  county.  He  now  has  extensive  possessions  and  carries  on 
his  farming  interests  on  a  mammoth  scale.  He  plants  four  hundred  acres  to  potatoes  and 
in  1914  lie  raised  forty  thousand  bushels.  During  the  season  of  1916,  when  the  crop  was 
unusually  low  all  over  the  country,  he  raised  twenty  thousand  bushels.  In  1895  he  fore- 
saw the  need  of  adequate  storing  facilities  and  he  purchased  property  in  the  village  of 
Hoople,  where  he  erected  a  large  elevator  and  now  stores  his  immense  crops  of  potatoes  and 
cereals.  He  has  been  actively  engaged  in  the  cultivation  of  potatoes  since  1910  and  has 
found  this  a  profitable  source  of  income.  Today  potatoes  at  Hoople  are  selling  at  a  dollar 
and  forty-five  cents  per  bushel,  and  with  twenty  thousand  bushels  on  hand,  one  can  realize 
what  Mr.  Folson  will  gain  from  this  crop  alone.  He  has  other  extensive  crops  of  grain  and 
farm  products  and  in  his  business  he  employs  the  most  modern  methods  of  crop  produc- 
tion. He  thoroughly  understands  scientific  farming  and  every  practical  phase  of  his  work, 
and  his  success  is  based  upon  broad  knowledge,  keen  discrimination  and  intelligently  directed 
activity. 

Mr.  Folson  has  been  married  twice.  In  1881,  at  Moorhead,  Minnesota,  he  wedded  Miss 
Annie  Sturisted,  of  that  place,  who  passed  away  in  Walsh  county  in  1893.  She  was  the 
daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Ole  Sturisted  and  by  her  marriage  she  became  the  mother  of 
three  children:  Mary,  who  is  living  in  Walsh  county;  Mrs.  Minnie  Gryde,  of  Waish 
county;  and  Charles,  of  the  same  county.  In  1897  Mr.  Folson  wedded  Miss  Ida  Anderson, 
a  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  William  Anderson,  of  Linwood  township,  Walsh  county,  and 
they  now  have  a  son,  Leonard,  who  was  born  in  Hoople  in  1900  and  is  attending  St.  Olaf 
College  at  Northfield,  Minnesota. 

That  Mr.  Folson's  fellow  townsmen  appreciate  his  worth  and  ability  is  indicated  in  the 
fact  that  for  two  terms  he  has  been  honored  with  the  mayoralty  of  Hoople  and  has  been 
called  to  various  other  positions  of  public  honor  and  trust.  For  many  years  he  has  been 
a  member  of  the  school  board  and  has  done  effective  work  in  raising  the  standard  of  the 
schools.  His  political  allegiance  has  always  been  given  to  the  republican  party  since  age 
conferred  upon  him  the  right  of  franchise.  His  religious  faith  is  indicated  by  his  member- 
ship in  the  Lutheran  church  and  fraternally  he  is  connected  with  the  Ancient  Order  of 
United  Workmen  and  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America.  He  is  entirely  a  self-made  man, 
having  been  both  the  architect  and  builder  of  his  own  fortunes.  Through  earnest,  persistent 
eff'ort  he  has  worked  his  way  upward  and  in  his  vocabulary  there  has  been  no  such  word  as 
fail.  He  has  encountered  obstacles  and  difficulties  but  has  overcome  these  by  persistent, 
earnest  and  honorable  efl'ort  and  has  at  all  times  possessed  a  laudable  ambition  to  succeed. 
Gradually,  therefore,  he  has  advanced  and  while  winning  success  he  has  also  won  an  hon- 
orable name. 


CHAELES  A.  STRATTON. 


For  twelve  years  Charles  A.  Stratton  has  been  identified  with  the  newspaper  business 
in  North  Dakota  and  is  now  editor  and  proprietor  of  the  Standard  at  Wing,  where  he  has 
resided  since  the  spring  of  1913.  He  was  born  in  Chillicothe,  Ohio,  on  the  1st  of  February, 
1872,  and  is  a  son  of  Morrison  and  Elizabeth  (Scott)  Stratton,  both  now  deceased.  The 
father,  who  was  a  farmer  by  occupation,  was  a  native  of  Vermont,  but  the  mother's  birth 
occurred  in  Scotland,  though  both  passed  the  greater  part  of  their  lives  in  Ohio. 

In  that  state  Charles  A.  Stratton  grew  to  manhood,  acquiring  a  good  practical  educa- 
tion. He  attended  the  high  school  of  Waverly,  Ohio,  and  also  Notre  Dame  University  at 
Notre  Dame,  Indiana.  He  began  his  newspaper  career  in  the  office  of  the  Republican  published 
at  Waverly  and  there  learned  the  printer's  trade,  after  which  he  worked  on  various  papers 
in  his  native  state  until  1904,  which  year  witnessed  his  arrival  in  North  Dakota.  For  six 
months  he  was  connected  with  the  Milton  Globe  at  Milton,  this  state,  and  from  there  re- 
moved to  Westhope,  working  on  the  Westhope  Standard  for  a  few  months.  He  subsequently 
spent  two  years  in  Arthur,  where  he  established  the  American  and  conducted  it  until  his 
removal  to  Wilton.    He  edited  the  Wilton  News  until  the  spring  of  1913,  when  he  purchased 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  895 

the  Wing  Standard  and  has  since  published  that  journal  with  good  success.  The  Standard 
was  established  in  1913  by  C.  C.  Overton,  who  had  charge  of  the  same  until  it  eanie  into 
possession  of  Mr.  Stratton,  under  whose  management  it  has  steadily  advanced  until  it  is 
now  one  of  the  leading  newspapers  of  that  part  of  the  state.  In  1915  Mr.  Stratton  erected 
a  good  business  bloek  ami  installed  his  plant,  now  having  a  modern  and  well  equipped 
office  for  job  work  as  well  as  general  newspaper  work. 

In  1906  Mr.  Stratton  was  married  in  Arthur,  North  Dakota,  to  Miss  Dorothea  F. 
Art/,  a  native  of  Germany,  who  came  to  this  country  when  quite  young  and  after  residing 
in  South  Dakota  for  a  time  removed  to  Arthur.  To  them  have  been  born  four  children, 
namely:     Beatrice,  Cleo,  Virgil  and  Scott. 

In  religious  faith  Mr.  Stratton  is  a  Catholic  and  in  politics  he  is  a  republican  but  he 
conducts  his  paper  as  a  non-partisan  journal.  He  is  a  very  progressive  man,  taking  a  deep 
interest  in  public  affairs  and  supporting  all  measures  which  he  believes  will  prove  of  benefit 
to  the  community,  state  or  nation. 


HARRY  WAINAVRIGHT  GREEN. 

Among  those  who  have  made  North  Dakota  famous  for  its  extensive  and  well  kept 
farms,  where  the  work  is  conducted  on  a  mammoth  scale  and  splendid  results  are  achieved 
is  Harry  Wainwright  Green,  of  Leal,  who  is  the  owner  of  more  than  three  thousand  acres 
of  land  in  Barnes  county.  He  was  born  in  OtterclifT,  Ontario,  Canada,  in  February,  1S61, 
a  son  of  Robert  J.  Green,  a  native  of  Epworth,  England,  and  a  grandson  of  John  Green, 
who  was  also  born  in  that  country,  whence  he  emigrated  to  the  new  world,  settling  in 
Canada,  where  he  took  up  land  near  Peterboro,  Ontario.  He  lived  to  be  eighty-four  years 
of  age  and  some  of  his  descendants  arc  still  residing  in  the  district  in  which  he  entered 
his  claim.  He  lost  his  wife  during  the  early  boyhood  of  Robert  J.  Green,  who  was  then 
adopted  by  relatives  living  near  Niagara  Falls,  where  the  boy  was  reared.  After  reaching 
manhood  he  took  up  the  occupation  of  farming  and  remained  in  that  localitj'  until  1886, 
when  he  arrived  in  Barnes  county  and  joined  members  of  the  family  who  had  preceded 
him  to  North  Dakota.  His  last  days  were  spent  in  Fargo,  where  he  departed  this  life 
in  1912  at  the  age  of  eighty-six  years.  In  early  manhood  he  had  wedded  Hannah  Amelia 
Kirk,  a  native  of  Sheflield,  England,  and  a  daughter  of  Dr.  .John  Kirk,  of  that  country, 
who  married  a  Miss  Wainwright.  At  an  early  day  he  brought  his  family  to  the  new  world 
and  practiced  medicine  at  Little  York,  Ontario,  Canada.  He  was  one  of  the  org-anizers  of 
the  medical  school  now  aftiliated  with  Toronto  University.  On  retiring  from  active  pro- 
fessional life  he  came  on  a  visit  to  North  Dakota,  but  as  there  were  few  physicians  in  the 
district  the  people  sought  his  services  professionallj-  and  he  remained  in  Cass  county 
until  his  death,  which  occurred  about   1884,  when  he  was  seventy-six  years  of  age. 

Harry  W.  Green  was  the  fourth  in  a  family  of  seven  children  and  his  boyhood  days 
were  spent  upon  the  home  farm.  His  brothers,  John  K.  and  R.  C.  Green,  came  to  North 
Dakota  in  1S79  and  settled  in  Cass  county.  The  former  now  resides  in  Mapleton  upon  the 
land  on  which  he  first  settled  on  coming  to  this  state,  while  R.  C.  Green  is  now  a  resident 
of  (iilby,  in  Grand  Forks  county.  Both  were  pioneers  of  the  state  and  took  an  active  part 
in  the  substantial  early  development  of  the  districts  in  which  they  lived.  They  had  been 
residents  of  the  state  for  two  years  when  in  1881  Harry  W.  Green  joined  his  brother  in 
Cass  county  and  in  1885  he  took  up  a  claim  adjoining  the  present  town  of  Enderlin. 
There  he  carried  on  farming  until  1888,  when  he  sold  out  and  removed  to  Barnes  county, 
where  he  entered  into  business  relations  with  J.  B.  Folsom,  a  real  estate  dealer  of  Fargo, 
North  Dakota,  and  purchased  the  Boardman  farm,  comprising  twenty-five  hundred  acres, 
to  which  he  added  by  purchase  from  time  to  time  until  his  holdings  comprised  five  thousand 
acres.  When  Mr.  F'olsom  died  Mr.  Green  took  over  a  portion  of  this  land  and  now  has  a 
fine  farm  of  more  than  three  thousand  acres,  constituting  one  of  the  large  and  valuable 
farm  properties  of  the  state.  He  has  raised  a  large  number  of  horses,  making  a  specialty 
of  Percherons,  with  Voltaire,  a  thoroughbred,  at  the  head  of  his  stud.  He  has  alno 
specialized  in  thoroughbred  Aberdeen  Angus  cattle,  usually  having  over  one  hundred  head. 


896  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

On  the  34th  of  June,  1S91,  Mr.  Green  was  married  to  Jliss  Kate  Woodward,  whose 
brother,  Walter  B.  Woodward,  owned  and  conducted  a  large  farm  in  Cass  county,  where 
she  joined  him  and  there   fonned  the  acquaintance  of  Mr.   Green. 

Fraternally  Mr.  Green  is  connected  with  the  Masons  as  a  member  of  the  lodge,  chapter, 
commandery  and  shrine.  He  is  also  identified  with  the  Elks,  the  Ancient  Order  of  United 
Workmen  and  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America.  In  1894  he  was  elected  county  commis- 
sioner, in  which  office  he  was  continued  by  two  reelections  until  1906,  or  for  a  period  of 
three  four  year  terms.  He  made  a  most  excellent  record  in  office  and  then,  feeling  that 
he  had  done  his  full  duty  as  a  citizen,  he  retired  from  the  position  as  he  had  entered  it, 
with  the  confidence  and  goodwill  of  all  concerned.  He  is  a  broad  and  liberal-minded  man 
whose  standards  of  life  are  high  and  he  possesses  exceptional  judgment  and  foresight  as 
has  been  manifest  in  his  business  success.  He  is  a  splendid  type  of  American^  manhood, 
citizenship  and  chivalry,  enjoying  and  meriting  the  respect  of  all  with  whom  he  has  come 
in  contact. 


AMBROSE  JOSHUA  OSBORN. 

Ambrose  Joshua  Osborn,  a  photographer  of  Dickinson,  was  born  in  Steuben  county, 
Indiana,  March  3,  1870,  a  son  of  Thomas  S.  and  Lucinda  (Corey)  Osborn.  The  father  was 
born  November  14,  1845,  in  Newark,  Licking  county,  Ohio.  His  father,  Joshua  Osborn,  was 
bom  in  Bedford  county,  Pennsylvania,  May  24,  1806,  and  was  the  youngest  son  of  John  and 
Mary  Osborn,  the  former  a  soldier  of  the  Revolutionary  war.  He  was  born  in  Bedford 
county,  Pennsylvania,  in  1757  and  in  March,  1815,  removed  to  Fairfield  county,  Ohio.  Jlrs. 
Harriet  Osborn,  the  wife  of  Joshua  Osborn,  was  born  in  Lancaster,  Fairfield  county,  Ohio, 
January  11,  1811. 

Their  son,  Thomas  S.  Osborn,  acquired  his  education  in  the  district  schools  of  Ohio, 
which  he  attended  during  the  winter  months.  He  was  reared  to  the  occupation  of  farming 
and  followed  that  pursuit  most  of  the  time  until  1892.  In  the  year  1849  he  had  accom- 
panied his  parents  from  Ohio  to  Indiana  and  it  was  there  that  he  was  reared  and  married. 
At  the  time  of  the  Civil  war  he  espoused  the  cause  of  the  Union,  enlisting  on  the  19th  of 
March,  1863,  as  a  member  of  Troop  B  of  the  Nineteenth  Indiana  Volunteer  Cavalry,  with 
which  he  served  in  the  Army  of  the  Cumberland  under  Major  General  George  H.  Thomas, 
of  the  Fourth  Army  Corps.  He  participated  in  a  number  of  important  engagements  with 
that  command,  in  which  his  loyalty  and  valor  were  always  demonstrated.  On  the  9th  of 
December,  1864,  at  Tullahoma,  Tennessee,  he  was  wounded  and  was  in  a  hospital  until 
May  6,  1865,  when  he  was  discharged  on  account  of  wounds  and  also  by  reason  of  the  fact 
that  the  war  had  been  brought  to  a  close. 

It  was  on  the  1st  of  January,  1867,  at  Jamestown,  Indiana,  that  Thomas  S.  Osborn 
wedded  Miss  Lucinda  Corey,  who  was  bom  in  St.  Lawrence  county.  New  York,  September  4, 
1845.  Her  parents  were  among  the  pioneers  of  Defiance  county,  Ohio,  where  they  took  up 
their  abode  in  1849.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Osborn  are  now  living  in  Coldwater,  Michigan.  They 
belong  to  the  Methodist  Episcopal  church  and  Mr.  Osborn  holds  membership  in  Tyre  Lodge, 
No.  IS,  F.  &  A.  M.,  at  Coldwater,  while  both  he  and  his  wife  are  members  of  the  Eastern 
Star  chapter  there.  He  has  likewise  been  a  member  of  the  Grand  Army  post  since  1880 
and  in  politics  he  is  a  stalwart  republican.  He  and  his  wife  became  the  parents  of  four 
children:  Clarence  R.,  a  photographer  of  Coldwater;  Ambrose  J.;  Lewis  H.,  who  is  fore- 
man at  the  Gary  steel  mills  and  who  married  Bemice  Coolley,  their  home  being  in  Chicago; 
and  Vina  L.,  who  ia  a  teacher  of  domestic  science  in  the  city  schools  of  Coldwater, 
Michigan. 

Ambrose  J.  Osborn  was  but  a  young  lad  of  four  years  at  the  time  of  the  removal  of  his 
parents  to  Michigan,  the  family  home  being  established  at  Kinderhook.  He  attended  school 
there  and  at  Coldwater  and  after  his  textbooks  were  put  aside  he  entered  the  studio  of  his 
brother  and  learned  photography.  He  remained  with  his  brother  until  August,  1891,  when 
he  left  Michigan  and  came  to  North  Dakota,  settling  in  Gladstone.  He  took  up  a  homestead 
three   miles   north   of   the  town,   resided   thereon   for   five   years   and   secured   title   to   the 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  899 

property.  He  then  removed  to  Dickinson  and  purchased  the  photographic  studio  of  which 
he  is  now  proprietor.  He  does  excellent  work  along  his  cliosen  art  line  and  is  liberally 
patronized. 

Jlr.  Osborn  is  a  Spanish-American  war  veteran.  In  1897  he  was  associated  with  Captain 
Auld  in  organizing  a  company  of  militia,  of  which  he  was  elected  first  lieutenant,  and  in 
1898,  following  the  outbreak  of  hostilities  with  Spain,  he  went  to  the  Philippines,  where 
he  was  on  duty  for  a  year.  His  military  service  covered  altogether  seventeen  months.  On 
his  arrival  at  Fargo  he  was  detailed  for  the  position  of  battalion  adjutant  in  the  Second 
Battalion  under  Major  Fraine.  During  the  last  three  months  of  his  service  in  the  Philippines 
he  acted  as  regimental  adjutant  and  as  brigade  adjutant.  Upon  returning  to  Dickinson  he 
resumed  his  photographic  work,  in  which  he  has  since  been  engaged. 

On  the  30th  of  April,  1898,  Mr.  Osborn  was  married  to  Miss  Kheda  F.  Saunders,  a  native 
of  Virginia,  who  became  a  resident  of  North  Dakota  in  1886.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Osborn  now  have 
four  children,  namely,  Thelma  F.,  Lawton  E.,  Norman  F.  and  Clarence  J.,  all  at  home. 

Mr.  Osborn  holds  membership  with  Dickinson  Lodge,  No.  1137,  B.  P.  0.  E.,  of  which  he 
is  past  exalted  ruler.  In  politics  he  is  a  republican  and  in  1900  was  elected  alderman, 
being  one  of  the  first  chosen  to  that  office  after  the  organization  of  the  city.  He  was  later 
appointed  city  auditor  and  served  for  eight  years.  He  has  ever  been  keenly  interested  in 
all  things  pertaining  to  Dickinson's  welfare  and  upbuilding  and  is  one  of  her  progressive  and 
representative  men. 


THEODORE  GRAF. 


Theodore  Graf  is  a  well  known  representative  of  the  Russian  community  that  has 
played  so  important  a  part  in  the  upbuilding  of  Streeter  and  the  development  of  that  section 
of  the  state.  He  is  now  successfully  conducting  business  as  a  merchant  and  his  well  defined 
jilans.  carefully  executed,  arc  bringing  to  him  substantial  success.  He  was  born  in  Naudorf, 
near  Odessa,  in  southern  Russia,  October  21,  1876,  and  is  a  son  of  John  and  Christina  (Miedel- 
ider)  Graf,  who  were  also  natives  of  that  country,  where  they  remained  until  1884,  when 
they  brought  their  family  to  the  new  world,  settling  near  Scotland,  South  Dakota,  where 
Mr.  Graf  took  up  the  occupation  of  farming,  which  he  followed  in  that  locality  for  four 
years.  He  then  removed  to  North  Dakota,  establishing  his  home  near  Streeter,  where  he 
took  up  government  land  eight  miles  southwest  of  the  town.  For  a  considerable  period 
he  was  actively  connected  with  general  agricultural  pursuits  but  is  now  living  retired  in 
Streeter.    His  wife,  however,  has  passed  away. 

Theodore  Graf  was  a  little  lad  of  eight  summers  when  brought  by  his  parents  to  the 
new  world,  so  that  his  education  was  largely  acquired  in  the  schools  of  this  country.  Ho 
continued  to  assist  his  father  upon  the  home  farm  until  he  attained  his  majority.  He  was 
married  in  1896  to  Miss  Fridrcch  Enzminger,  a  native  of  southern  Russia,  who  on  coming 
to  America  settled  in  North  Dakota,  The  three  children  of  this  marriage  are:  Arthur,  who 
is  now  a  banker  living  at  Wilton,  North  Dakota;  and  Rose  and  Minnie  E.,  both  at  home. 

At  the  time  of  his  marriage  Mr.  Graf  and  his  bride  took  up  their  abode  on  a  home- 
stead claim  in  Logan  county,  and  he  secured  title  to  the  property  through  compliance  with 
the  homestead  law  concerning  its  improvement  and  residence  thereon.  He  lived  there  for 
seven  years  but  in  1905  sold  his  farm  and  erected  the  first  building  in  the  village  of 
Streeter,  located  on  the  site  of  the  present  town.  In  it  he  placed  a  stock  of  general  mer- 
chandise and  successfully  conducted  his  store  until  it  was  destroyed  by  fire  in  1912.  He 
then  formed  a  partnership  under  the  name  of  A.  Graf  &  Company,  his  brother  becoming 
his  associate  in  the  ownership  and  conduct  of  the  business.  They  erected  a  new  store  build- 
ing and  continued  the  relationship  until  March,  1915,  when  the  partnership  was  dissolved 
and  Theodore  Graf  entered  into  a  new  business  combination  under  the  firm  name  of  Graf, 
Selier  &  Buck.  Their  stock  is  large  and  attractive  and  fully  meets  the  needs  and  wants  of 
the  surrounding  community.  In  addition  to  his  mercantile  interests  Mr.  Graf  is  engaged 
to  some  extent  in  general  farming  in  Logan  county. 

His  political  allegiance  is  given  to  the  republican   party  and  he   is   interested   in   the 


900  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

questions  of  the  day,  upon  which  he  keeps  well  informed,  but  he  has  no  ambition  for  office, 
ever  preferring  to  concentrate  his  energies  upon  his  business  interests.  He  belongs  to  the 
Modern  Woodmen  camp  of  Streeter  and  to  the  Reformed  Lutheran  church,  associations 
which  indicate  much  of  the  nature  of  his  interests  and  the  rules  which  govern  his  conduct. 


PETER  O.  SATHRE. 


Peter  0.  Sathre,  a  well  known  citizen  and  prominent  attorney  of  Finley,  Steele  county, 
North  Dakota,  is  a  native  of  the  neighboring  state  of  Minnesota,  his  birth  occurring  in 
Moore  county,  February  7,  1877.  His  parents,  Jacob  and  Malene  (Stenewig)  Sathre,  were 
born,  reared  and  married  in  Norway,  whence  they  came  to  America  shortly  after  the  close 
of  the  Civil  war.  They  located  in  Moore  county,  Minnesota,  where  the  father  purchased 
land  and  engaged  in  fanning  until  1884,  and  then  came  to  North  Dakota,  taking  up  a  home- 
stead near  Sharon  in  Steele  county.  He  lived  thereon  until  his  death,  which  occurred  in 
1907,  and  his  widow  now  makes  her  home  in  Finley. 

In  the  family  of  this  worthy  couple  were  four  children,  of  whom  Peter  0.  Sathre  is  the 
only  son.  He  began  his  education  in  the  district  schools  near  his  boyhood  home  but  later 
attended  the  high  school  at  Cooperstown  and  Crookston  College,  from  which  he  was  grad- 
uated in  1900.  He  next  entered  the  State  Normal  at  Mayville  and  after  leaving  that  insti- 
tution attended  the  North  Dakota  State  University,  graduating  from  the  arts  and  law 
department  on  the  16th  of  June,  1910,  with  the  degree  of  LL.  B.  He  was  admitted  to  the 
bar  at  the  same  time  and  at  once  entered  upon  the  practice  of  his  chosen  profession  in 
Finley,  Steele  county.  In  1903  he  was  admitted  to  practice  in  the  United  States  courts. 
As  his  skill  and  ability  have  become  recognized,  he  has  gradually  secured  a  good  clientage 
and  now  ranks  among  the  leading  lawyers  of  his  county. 

On  the  14th  of  April,  1902,  Mr.  Sathre  married  Miss  Minnie  Hilstad,  of  Steele  county. 
Her  father,  M.  0.  Hilstad,  was  a  native  of  Norway  and  on  coming  to  the  United  States  first 
located  in  Wisconsin  but  in  1881  came  to  North  Dakota,  being  among  its  pioneers. 

Mr.  Sathre  is  interested  in  farming  to  some  extent  and  owns  a  half  section  of  land 
in  McKenzie  county  besides  other  property.  Both  he  and  his  wife  are  members  of  the 
United  Lutheran  church,  and  he  is  also  identified  with  the  Commercial  Club  of  Finley.  He 
is  now  serving  as  master  of  Mayflower  Lodge,  No.  94,  A.  F.  &  A.  M.,  and  also  belongs  to 
the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America.  His  political  support  is  given  the  republican  party  and 
he  takes  an  active  interest  in  public  affairs.  He  has  been  a  member  of  the  school  board 
and  is  now  serving  his  second  term  as  states  attorney.  He  stands  high  among  his  profes- 
sional brethren  and  ranks  among  the  leading  citizens  of  his  adopted  county. 


ALFRED  OLSON. 


One  of  the  most  enterprising  young  business  men  of  Mott  is  Alfred  Olson,  a  member 
of  the  firm  of  Olson  &  Iverson,  who  have  two  separate  stores,  one  of  which  is  stocked  with 
general  merchandise,  while  the  other  is  devoted  to  hardware  and  farm  implements.  Mr. 
Olson  was  born  in  Winneshiek  county,  Iowa,  April  32,  1889,  and  belongs  to  one  of  the 
pioneer  families  of  that  county,  being  a  grandson  of  0.  P.  Olson,  who  came  to  the  United 
States  from  Norway  in  1868  and  located  in  Winneshiek  county.  There  he  is  still  living 
at  the  extreme  old  age  of  ninety-four  years  and  enjoys  good  health  considering  his  age. 
For  many  years  he  engaged  in   farming  and  still  resides  on  his  original   property. 

John  Olson,  the  father  of  our  subject,  was  also  a  native  of  Norway  and  accompanied 
the  family  on  their  emigration  to  the  new  world.  On  leaving  Winneshiek  county,  Iowa,  in 
1891,  he  removed  to  Pipestone  county,  Minnesota,  and  was  engaged  in  general  mercantile 
business  at  Ihlen  until  1906.  In  the  latter  year  he  became  a  resident  of  North  Dakota, 
where  he  took  up  a  homestead  and  engaged  in  its  improvement  and  cultivation  for  five 
years.     Since   1911   he  has  made  his  home  in  Mott,  where  he  opened  a  general  store  that 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  901 

yeai-,  and  later  bought  out  the  Dakota  Mercantile  Company.  The  original  store  is  stocked 
with  hardware  and  agricultural  implements,  while  the  other  is  devoted  to  general  merchandise, 
the  latter  being  a  building  fifty  by  eiglity  feet  in  dimensions  with  a  full  basement. 

When  only  two  years  of  age  Alfred  Olson  was  taken  by  his  parents  to  Minnesota, 
where  lie  was  reared  and  educated,  and  after  leaving  school  served  an  apprenticesliip  with 
his  father.  In  1911  he  became  interested  in  the  business,  which  at  that  time  was  con- 
ducted under  the  name  of  the  Boston  Store,  but  in  1913  C.  M.  Iverson  was  admitted  to  a 
partnership,  the  firm  becoming  Olson  &  Iverson,  under  which  name  it  still  carries  on 
business.  The  father  now  has  charge  of  the  hardware  department,  while  Alfred  Olson  is 
the  senior  manager  of  the  general  store.  They  have  a  good  patronage  and  are  numbered 
among  the   leading  business   men  of   Mott. 

On  the  1st  of  August,  1914,  was  celebrated  the  marriage  of  Alfred  Olson  and  Miss 
Nettie  EUingson,  of  Goodhue  county,  Minnesota,  a  daughter  of  T.  Kllingson,  who  now 
conducts  the  Bonny  Brae  Creamery  and  Dairy  at  Valley  City,  North  Dakota.  Mr.  and 
Mrs.  Olson  have  one  child,  Frances.  The  family  is  one  of  prominence  in  the  community, 
and  Mr.  Olson  stands  high  in  business  circles  where  his  true  worth  is  appreciated.  For 
five  years  he  has  now  been  a  resident  of  Mott  and  he  has  borne  an  important  part  in  the 
development  and  upbuilding  of  the  city. 


HON.  .JAMES  MARTIN  HANLEY. 

Hon.  James  Martin  Hanley.  of  ilandan,  judge  of  the  twelfth  judical  district,  is  one  of 
North  Dakota's  honored  and  prominent  citizens.  A  lawyer  and  law  maker  he  has  left  the 
impress  of  his  individuality  upon  the  history  of  the  state.  In  his  life  are  the  elements  of 
greatness  because  of  the  use  he  has  made  of  his  talents  and  his  opportunities,  because  his 
thoughts  are  not  self-centered  but  are  given  to  the  mastery  of  life  problems  and  the  ful- 
fillment of  his  duty  as  a  man  in  his  relations  to  his  fellowmen  and  as  a  citizen  in  his  rela- 
tions to  the  city,  state  and  nation. 

A  native  of  Minnesota,  Judge  Hanley  was  born  at  Winona,  January  6,  1877,  a  son  of 
Martin  Hanley,  who  was  born  in  County  Tipperary,  Ireland,  in  1839.  He  was  brought  to 
the  United  States  by  his  parents  in  1843  and  in  1866  established  his  home  in  Winona.  Min- 
nesota, where  he  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Elizabeth  Gater,  a  native  of  England. 
In  1881  they  removed  to  Kasson,  Minnesota,  where  their  remaining  days  were  passed,  the 
father  dying  in  the  yeai*  1903,  while  the  mother's  death  occurred  in  1910. 

Spending  his  youthful  days  imder  the  parental  roof  at  Kasson,  Minnesota,  Judge 
Hanley  was  there  graduated  from  the  high  school  with  the  class  of  1893,  and  later  he  pur- 
sued the  work  of  the  junior  year  in  Carleton  College  at  Northfield,  Minnesota,  thus  laying 
a  good  literary  foundation  upon  which  to  build  the  superstructure  of  professional  knowl- 
edge. Taking  up  the  study  of  law  he  was  admitted  to  the  bar  in  1899  and  located  at  Waseca, 
Minnesota,  where  he  followed  his  profession  until  the  fall  of  1902,  when  he  removed  to 
Mandan,  North  Dakota,  and  entered  upon  practice  there.  His  advancement  at  the  bar  has 
been  continuous  and  his  ability  is  the  measure  of  his  success.  He  early  recognized  that 
progress  in  law  depends  upon  individual  merit  and  with  this  understanding  he  very  carefully 
prepared  his  cases,  while  his  clear  and  cogent  reasoning  and  logical  deductions  gained  for 
him  many  favorable  verdicts.  With  advancement  at  the  bar  also  came  progress  along 
political  lines,  ^^^latever  else  may  be  said  of  the  legal  fraternity  it  cannot  be  denied  that 
members  of  the  bar  have  been  more  prominent  actors  in  public  affairs  than  any  other 
class  of  a  community.  This  is  but  the  natural  result  of  causes  which  are  manifest  and 
require  no  explanation.  The  ability  and  training  which  qualify  one  to  practice  law  also 
qualify  him  in  many  respects  for  duties  which  lie  outside  the  strict  path  of  his  profession 
and  which  touch  the  general  interests  of  society.  In  the  year  1809  .Itidge  Hanley  was  ap- 
pointed deputy  state  oil  inspector  of  Minnesota  and  filled  that  position  for  two  years.  In 
1900  he  was  made  city  auditor  of  Waseca,  Minnesota,  and  served  in  that  capacity  for  a  two 
years'  term.     After  coming  to  this  state  he  was  chosen   as  state   secretary  of  the  North 


902  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

Dakota  Slope  Fair  and  then  came  official  honors  more  directly  in  the  path  of  his  profession, 
for  in  1908  he  was  elected  to  represent  his  district  in  the  state  legislature  and  in  1909 
was  appointed  states  attorney  for  Morton  county,  filling  that  position  most  acceptably 
for  two  years.  In  1911  he  was  again  elected  to  the  legislature  and  was  made  speaker  of 
the  house,  while  the  following  year  he  was  chosen  a  member  of  the  state  senate,  serving 
through  the  session  of  1913.  At  the  close  of  his  term  he  was  appointed  judge  of  the  twelfth 
judicial  district  comprising  four  counties  and  entered  upon  the  duties  of  the  office,  in  which 
he  will  remain  as  the  incumbent  under  the  present  appointment  until  1917.  In  September, 
1915,  he  convened  the  first  term  of  court  ever  held  in  Sioux  county,  which  includes  the 
Standing  Rock  reservation.  Judge  Hanley,  as  few  men  have  done,  has  seemed  to  realize 
fully  the  importance  of  the  profession  to  which  he  has  devoted  his  energies  and  his  reputa- 
tion as  a  lawyer  was  won  through  earnest,  honest  labor,  while  his  standing  at  the  bar  Is 
a  merited  tribute  to  his  ability. 

On  the  4th  of  Marcli,  1905,  in  Minneapolis,  Minnesota,  Judge  Hanley  was  united  in  mar- 
riage to  Miss  .Irma  Lewis,  and  their  children  are:  James  M.,  Jr.,  .Josephine  Miriam,  Irma 
Jane  and  Lewista. 

Judge  Hanley  is  identified  with  the  Knights  of  Pythias  and  the  Benevolent  Protective 
Order  of  Elks.  His  military  record  covers  service  with  the  First  North  Dakota  State  Militia, 
in  which  he  is  now  holding  the  rank  of  major.  His  political  allegiance  is  given  to  the  re- 
publican party  and  his  political  advancement  is  phenomenal,  for  few  men  of  his  years  have 
gained  the  high  honors  which  have  been  accorded  him.  A  man  of  great  natural  ability  his 
success  in  his  profession  from  the  beginning  of  his  residence  in  North  Dakota  has  been 
uniform  and  rapid.  No  plan  or  movement  for  the  benefit  of  his  city  along  lines  of  progi-ess 
and  improvement  seeks  his  aid  in  vain  and  his  public-spirited  citizenship  prompts  his  active 
cooperation  in  many  movements  that  bear  directly  upon  the  welfare  and  upbuilding  of 
the  state. 


JOHN  ELLICKSON. 


.John  Ellickson,  a  ranchman,  has  recently  retired  from  the  office  of  sherifl'  of  McKenzie 
county.  He  is  a  resident  of  Schafer  and  was  born  near  Wautoma,  Waushara  county,  Wis- 
consin, a  son  of  John  and  Christina  Ellickson.  The  father,  a  native  of  Norway,  came  to 
America  in  1848,  when  eighteen  years  of  age,  settling  near  Madison,  in  Dane  county,  Wis- 
consin, where  he  worked  as  a  farm  hand  for  two  years.  In  1850  he  removed  to  Waushara 
county,  where  he  purchased  a  farm  and  engaged  in  its  further  cultivation  and  development 
up  to  the  time  of  his  retirement  from  active  business.  He  died  some  years  afterward  on 
the  old  homestead,  passing  away  in  1913.  He  had  served  his  adopted  country  as  a  soldier 
of  the  Civil  war,  enlisting  in  the  Thirty-eighth  Wisconsin  Volunteer  Infantry.  The  Ellick- 
son homestead  in  Wisconsin  has  been  in  possession  of  the  family  for  more  than  sixty  years 
and  is  now  cultivated  by  the  youngest  son  of  John  Ellickson,  Sr.  In  community  aff'airs  the 
father  was  prominent,  serving  as  treasurer  of  the  school  board  for  more  than  twenty  years 
and  holding  a  number  of  township  offices.  His  wife  was  born  in  Norway  and  was  eighteen 
years  of  age  when  she  became  a  resident  of  Wisconsin.  She  still  survives  at  the  age  of 
eighty-six  years  and  is  yet  living  on  the  old  home  place. 

John  Ellickson  of  this  review  acquired  a  common  school  education  and  engaged  in  farm 
work  at  the  old  home  in  Wisconsin  until  twenty-one  years  of  age.  In  1885  he  removed  to 
Winnebago  county,  Iowa,  and  purchased  a  farm  near  the  present  site  of  the  town  of  Thomp- 
son, there  remaining  until  1893,  when  he  abandoned  the  work  of  the  fields  and  engaged  in 
business  in  Thompson  as  a  grain  and  live  stock  merchant  and  as  a  dealer  in  farm  implements 
and  machinery.  He  also  filled  the  office  of  postmaster  there  for  ten  years,  and  was  in 
business  in  Thompson  for  twelve  years,  on  the  expiration  of  which  period  he  sold  out 
and  traveled  through  southeastern  Minnesota  as  a  representative  of  the  Deere-Weber 
Company.  In  1905  he  resigned  his  position  and  filed  on  a  homestead  in  McKenzie  county, 
North  Dakota,  to  which  he  removed  his  family,  residing  thereon  for  a  year  and  a 
half.  Later  he  traveled  for  the  Aultman-Taylor  Company,  farm  machinery  manufacturers, 
until    1907.    when    he    left    that    position    and    began    raising    stock    upon    his    homestead. 


JOHN'    ELLICKSON 


A3  I 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  905 

also  cultivating  the  land  until  1912,  when  he  was  elected  sheriff  of  McKenzie  county,  to  which 
office  he  was  reelected  in  1914.  As  one  can  serve  as  sheriff  for  only  two  terms  in  North 
Dakota  he  will  retire  from  the  position  on  the  1st  of  January,  1917.  He  still  continues  to 
engage  in  stock  raising  on  his  homestead  and  leases  school  land  for  pasture. 

On  the  15th  of  August,  1893,  Mr.  EUickson  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Christina 
Quale,  of  Leland,  Iowa,  who  was  born  in  Dane  county,  Wisconsin,  and  was  reared  and  edu- 
cated in  Winnebago  county,  Iowa.  She  taught  school  for  fifteen  terms  in  that  state  and  in 
Wisconsin.  Her  parents,  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Andrew  Quale,  were  natives  of  Norway  and  became 
pioneer  settlers  and  farming  people  of  Iowa.  To  Mr.  and  Mrs.  EUickson  have  been  born  six 
children,  Chester  C.  J.,  Arthur  L.,  Harold  Ethon,  Waldo  Leander,  Frederick  Donald  and 
Raymond  T. 

Politically  Mr.  EUickson  has  always  been  a  republican  and  is  recognized  as  one  of  the 
local  leaders  of  his  part}'.  He  was  one  of  the  most  popular  men  who  ever  held  the  ofiice 
of  sheriff  in  McKenzie  county,  possessing  unfailing  good  nature  together  with  the  ability  to 
promptly  and  efficiently  execute  the  duties  of  the  position,  wliereby  he  has  won  the  esteem 
of  the  entire  public.  He  has  also  served  as  townsliip  clerk,  as  township  tax  assessor  and 
as  school  director  when  a  resident  of  Winnebago  county,  Iowa.  After  taking  up  his  abode 
in  Thompson,  Iowa,  he  was  a  member  of  the  city  council  and  was  a  director  of  the  school 
board.  Fraternally  he  is  connected  with  the  Odd  Fellows  lodge  at  Schafer  and  the  Elks 
lodge.  No.  1214,  at  Williston  and  he  belongs  to  the  Lutheran  church.  No  trust  reposed  in 
him  has  ever  been  betrayed  in  the  slightest  degree  and  he  possesses  many  sterling  qualities 
that  are  admirable  and  worthy  of  praise,  winning  for  him  a  prominent  position  in  public 
regard. 


CHURCHILL  I.  BARD. 


Churchill  I.  Bard,  engaged  in  the  real  estate,  insurance  and  loan  business  at  Bowdon, 
is  a  representative  of  that  class  of  men  who  recognize  the  opportunities  offered  in  a  new 
country  and  whose  activities  are  constituting  a  strong  element  in  substantial  and  per- 
manent development.  In  the  conduct  of  his  business  he  has  assisted  many  to  secure  farms 
or  homes  or  to  finance  their  interests  until  they  have  become  paying  propositions.  Marked 
energy  and  enterprise  have  characterized  his  business  undertakings  at  all  times  and  he 
possesses,  moreover,  keen  sagacity  which  enables  him  to  quickly  understand  every  phase 
of  a  business  transaction.  Illinois  claims  him  as  a  native  son.  He  was  born  in  that  state 
January  8,  1862.  His  fatlier,  Cliarles  J.  Bard,  who  Avas  born  in  New  York,  removed  to 
Illinois  upon  leaving  the  east  and  in  the  latter  state  remained  until  his  death,  which 
occurred  about  1904,  his  attention  throughout  the  intervening  period  being  given  to  general 
farming,  to  manufacturing  interests  and  to  the  amusement  business.  He  wedded  Catherine 
Kimmell,  a  native  of  Pennsylvania,  who  passed  away  in  March,  1872,  Their  family  num- 
bered six  children,  of  whom  five  are  now  living. 

Cliurchill  I.  Bard,  the  third  in  order  of  birth,  acquired  a  public  school  education  in 
Illinois  and  afterward  followed  farming  in  Kansas  for  a  period  of  eight  years.  The  suc- 
ceeding five  years  he  spent  in  the  amusement  business  with  a  traveling  company,  at  the 
end  of  which  time  he  went  to  Iowa,  where  he  was  again  engaged  in  farming,  remaining  in 
that  state  for  a  period  of  two  j'ears. 

On  the  24th  of  August,  1890,  Mr,  Bard  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Anna  L.  Davis, 
who  was  born  in  Ohio,  March  4,  1862,  a  daughter  of  Allen  and  Elizabeth  Davis,  both  of 
whom  have  now  passed  awaj'.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Bard  have  become  the  parents  of  three  children: 
Eva  K..  born  September  7,  1891;  Ruth  M.,  born  September  22,  1893;  and  Elfleda,  bom 
March  9,  1896, 

Tlie  year  1S9S  witnessed  the  arrival  of  Mr.  Bard  and  his  family  in  North  Dakota,  at 
which  time  he  homesteaded  the  southwest  quarter  of  section  24,  townsliip  145,  range  71, 
Wells  county,  which  tract  of  land  is  still  in  his  possession.  He  continued  to  cultivate  and 
improve  the  place  until  the  fall  of  1909,  at  which  time  he  took  up  his  abode  in  the  town 
of  Bowdon  and  in  1910  opened  his  real  estate  office.  He  still  continues  to  actively  handle 
farm  and  town  property  and  he  also  is  engaged  in  the  loan  and  insurance  business.     At  the 


906  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

present  time  he  has  fourteen  hundred  and  forty  acres  in  Wells,  Stutsman  and  Kidder 
counties,  with  over  eleven  hundred  acres  under  cultivation.  His  farming  interests  are  thus 
very  extensive  and  the  property  returns  to  him  a  substantial  financial  income  each  year. 
He  represents  the  National  Insurance  Company  of  Hartford. 

In  politics  Mr.  Bard  is  now  an  independent  voter.  He  formerly  gave  stalwart  allegiance 
to  the  democratic  party  but  does  not  feel  that  he  is  in  sympathy  with  the  present  party 
policy  and  in  his  voting,  as  in  other  relations  of  life,  he  stands  firmly  in  support  of  his  honest 
convictions,  his  position  at  no  time  being  an  equivocal  one.  His  worth  as  a  business  man 
and  citizen  is  widely  acknowledged  and  Wells  county  numbers  hira  among  its  representative 
residents. 


WILSON  McARTHUR  LANCASTER,  M.  D. 

Ur.  Wilson  McArthur  Lancaster,  who  is  successfully  engaged  in  the  practice  of  medicine 
at  Powers  Lake,  Burke  county,  North  Dakota,  was  born  in  Culloden,  Ontario,  Canada,  on  the 
25th  of  September,  1884,  and  is  a  son  of  Dr.  D.  H.  Lancaster,  of  whom  more  extended  men- 
tion is  made  in  the  sketch  of  Dr.  Blake  Lancaster  elsewhere  in  this  work.  Our  subject 
began  his  education  in  the  public  schools  of  Culloden  and  later  attended  the  Telsonburg 
Collegiate  Institute.  Having  decided  to  make  the  practice  of  medicine  his  life  work,  he 
entered  the  medical  department  of  Western  University  at  London,  Ontario,  Canada,  from 
which  he  was  graduated  with  the  M.  D.  degree  in  1909.  Since  then  he  has  taken  a  post 
graduate  course  in  the  diseases  of  the  eye,  ear,  nose  and  throat  at  the  Polyclinic  Hospital 
in  Philadelphia,  Pennsylvania. 

Thus  well  equipped  for  his  chosen  profession,  Dr.  Lancaster  opened  an  ofBce  at  Powers 
Lake,  North  Dakota,  in  1909,  and  has  since  engaged  in  general  practice,  though  he  specializes 
in  the  treatment  of  the  eye,  ear,  nose  and  throat.  By  the  perusal  of  medical  journals  he 
keeps  in  close  touch  with  the  advancement  that  is  being  made  in  his  profession  and  is 
thoroughly  up-to-date  in  his  work.  He  was  the  first  and  is  today  the  only  physician  of 
Powers  Lake. 

Dr.  Lancaster  was  married  in  London.  Ontario,  August  15,  1912,  to  Miss  Minnie  E. 
Orchard,  who  was  born  in  Holstein,  Canada,  but  was  reared  and  educated  in  London,  Ontario, 
pursuing  a  collegiate  course.  Her  parents,  Mr.  and  Mrs.  S.  J.  Orchard,  were  both  natives^ 
of  Ontario.  Her  mother  is  now  deceased,  but  her  father  is  still  living  and  is  now  engaged 
in  the  implement  business  in  Brandon,  Manitoba,  Canada.  Dr.  and  Mrs.  Lancaster  have  two 
children :     Aneline,  born  in  Crosby,  North  Dakota ;  and  Donald  Blake,  born  in  Powers  Lake. 

The  democratic  party  finds  in  Dr.  Lancaster  a  stanch  supporter  of  its  principles.  He  is 
a  member  of  the  Masonic  lodge  at  Mliite  Earth,  North  Dakota,  and  the  Modern  Woodmen 
of  America  at  Powers  Lake,  and  in  connection  with  his  profession  is  identified  with  the 
Northwestern  District  Medical  Association,  the  North  Dakota  Medical  Association  and  the 
American  Medical  Association.  He  is  a  quiet,  unassuming  man  and  a  very  successful 
physician  who  commands  respect  wherever  known. 


T.  B.  TORGUSON. 


T.  B.  Torguson  is  serving  as  postmaster  of  Addison  and  also  conducts  a  well  patronized 
general  store  there  and  is  likewise  secretary  and  treasurer  of  the  Farmers  elevator.  He 
was  born  at  Glenwood,  Minnesota,  on  the  2d  of  October,  1875,  a  son  of  Andrew  and  Anna 
Torguson,  the  former  a  native  of  Norway  and  the  latter  of  Wisconsin.  Both,  however,  be- 
came residents  of  Minnesota  in  the  pioneer  days  of  that  state,  and  the  father  is  still  living 
at  Glenwood,  but  the  mother  has  passed  away.  He  is  prominent  in  his  community  and  for 
many  years  has  held  one  or  another  county  office,  his  repeated  election  to  positions  of  trust 
indicating  the  esteem  in  which  he  is  held  and  the  confidence  placed  in  his  ability.  At  the 
time  of  the  Civil  war  he  enlisted  in  a  Wisconsin  regiment  of  volunteer  infantry,  went  to  the 
front  with  his  command  and  participated  in  much  hard  fighting. 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  907 

T.  B.  Torguson  is  one  of  a  family  of  six  children,  of  whom  five  arc  still  living.  He 
remained  at  home  until  he  became  of  age  and  then  began  his  business  career  as  a  olerk 
in  a  store  at  Glenwood.  In  189T  he  removed  to  Hunter,  North  Dakota,  and  worked  in  the 
store  belonging  to  .1.  H.  Gale  until  1899.  In  that  year  he  located  in  Addison  and  went  into 
business  for  himself,  and  he  has  since  gained  a  gratifying  success  as  a  general  merchant. 
He  buys  his  stock  with  especial  reference  to  the  demands  of  his  customers  and  he  gives 
full  value  for  money  received.  His  fair  dealing  and  reliability  have  also  been  factors  in 
building  up  the  large  and  representative  patronage  which  he  now  enjoys  and  he  is  recog- 
nized as  a  man  of  business  ability  and  enterprise.  He  owns  the  building  in  which  his  store 
is  located  and  is  also  linaneially  interested  in  the  Farmers  elevator,  of  which  he  is  secretary 
and  treasurer.  In  addition  to  looking  after  his  business  interests  he  is  discharging  the 
duties  of  postmaster  of  Addison. 

In  1903  Mr.  Torguson  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Mai-y  Sullivan,  by  whom  he  has 
BIX  children:     John  P.,  Elizabeth  G.,  Gladys  M.,  Dorothy  I.,  Marian  M.,  and  Eleanor  M. 

Mr.  Torguson  gives  his  political  allegiance  to  the  republican  party  and  hae  held  the 
offices  of  justice  of  the  peace  and  constable  and  is  now  president  of  the  school  board.  His 
wife  is  a  communicant  of  the  Roman  Catholic  church.  He  is  widely  known  throughout  the 
county  and  is  held  in  high  esteem  by  all  who  come  in  contact  with  him  and  personally  he 
is  popular. 


ALBERT  JOHN  ROSS. 


Albert  John  Ross,  presidential  elector  in  1916  and  a  well  known  banker  of  Stanley,  was 
born  in  Willow  Lake  township,  Redwood  county.  North  Dakota,  August  26,  1881,  a  son 
of  George  and  Catherine  (Gorres)  Ross,  natives  of  Luxemburg,  Germany.  They  were 
married,  however,  in  the  United  States  and  in  early  manhood  the  father  engaged  in  farming 
but  afterward  conducted  a  livery  stable  and  carried  on  a  wood  and  coal  business  in  Spring- 
field, Minnesota,  for  a  number  of  years.  About  1904  he  was  made  judge  of  the  probate 
court  of  Brown  county  and  is  still  acting  in  that  capacity,  he  and  his  wife  being  numbered 
among  the  prominent  and  highly  respected  residents  there.  While  residing  in  Springfield, 
Minnesota,  he  was  a  member  of  the  city  council  for  a  number  of  years. 

Albert  J.  Ross  was  the  second  in  a  family  of  five  children  and  is  the  only  son.  At  the 
usual  age  he  entered  the  public  schools  of  Springfield  and  in  1896  became  a  student  in  St. 
John's  University  at  Collegeville,  Minnesota,  where  he  spent  one  term.  He  afterward 
attended  Notre  Dame  University  at  Notre  Dame,  Indiana,  and  in  1902  was  a  student  in  the 
Minneapolis  Business  College.  He  remained  at  home  until  he  attained  his  majority,  when 
he  was  employed  as  agent  for  a  large  brewing  company  at  Springfield,  Minnesota,  continuing 
there  for  tVo  years.  It  was  subsequent  to  that  time  that  he  attended  business  college  for 
about  four  or  five  months  and  later  he  accepted  the  position  of  stenographer  in  the  State 
Bank  at  Wabasso,  ilinnesota,  remaining  with  that  institution  for  about  three  years.  He 
afterward  spent  an  equal  period  as  assistant  cashier  of  the  State  Bank  at  Devils  Lake  and 
in  1909  he  removed  to  Stanley,  where  he  became  cashier  of  the  Citizens  State  Bank,  in 
which  capacity  he  still  continues.  He  is  conducting  a  general  banking  business  and  the 
firm  also  handles  farm  loans  and  lands.  Mr.  Ross  has  become  the  owner  of  some  good  farm 
property  in  North  Dakota,  from  which  he  derives  a  substantial  annual  income. 

On  the  26th  of  November,  1906,  occurred  the  marriage  of  Mr.  Ross  and  Miss  Catherine 
Helen  Brophy.  of  Underwood,  North  Dakota,  who  was  born  near  Springfield.  Minnesota,  a 
daughter  of  Thomas  and  Mary  (Fitzgerald)  Brophy,  natives  of  Ireland  and  of  the  state 
of  New  York  respectively..  They  were  married,  however,  in  Iowa  and  the  father  for  many 
years  engaged  in  farming  but  later  turned  his  attention  to  the  implement  business.  He  was 
but  a  young  man  when  he  came  to  the  United  States  and  his  success  has  been  won  entirely 
on  this  side  of  the  Atlantic.  He  now  resides  at  Underwood,  North  Dakota,  and  is  still  in 
active  business.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Ross  have  become  parents  of  four  children:  Dorothy 
Catherine.  Elizabeth  Mary,  Margaret  Josephine  and  Charlotte  Helen,  all  at  home. 

The  religious  faith  of  the  family  is  that  of  the  Roman  Catholic  church  and  fraternally 
Mr.  Ross  is  connected  with  the  Elks  lodge  at  Minot,  the  Modern  Woodmen  camp  at  Stanley, 


908  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

of  which  he  is  clerk,  and  to  two  organizations  to  which  none  but  Catholics  are  admitted— 
the  Knights  of  Columbus  and  the  Catholic  Order  of  Foresters.  His  political  allegiance  is 
given  the  republican  party  and  he  is  a  present  member  of  the  city  council  of  Stanley  and 
chief  of  the  Stanley  fire  department.  He  is  recognized  as  one  of  the  republican  leaders  of 
Mountrail  county  and  at  a  recent  meeting  of  the  republican  state  central  committee,  held 
in  Fargo,  he  was  chosen  one  of  the  presidential  electors.  He  is  a  man  of  considerable  in- 
fluence, alert  and  enterprising  not  only  in  business  but  in  matters  of  citizenship  as  well, 
and  at  all  times  genial  and  courteous. 


L.  C.  ROSS. 

L.  C.  Ross,  editor  of  the  Record,  a  high  class  weekly  newspaper  published  at  Page,  Cass 
county,  North  Dakota,  was  born  in  Grant  City,  Missouri,  on  the  8th  of  April,  1885.  Hia 
parents,  Robert  B.  and  Emily  C.  (Downey)  Ross,  were  natives  respectively  of  Ohio  and 
Illinois  but  in  1880  removed  to  Missouri,  where  both  passed  the  remainder  of  their  lives. 
To  them  were  born  eight  children,  of  whom  six  survive. 

L.  C.  Ross  received  his  education  in  the  common  schools  of  Missouri  and  remained  with 
his  parents  until  he  was  twenty  years  of  age.  In  1905  he  went  to  Lane,  South  Dakota,  and 
became  connected  with  journalistic  interests  there.  Six  years  later,  in  September,  1911,  he 
came  to  Page,  North  Dakota,  and  took  charge  of  the  Record,  which  he  has  since  published. 
He  understands  thoroughly  every  phase  of  the  newspaper  business  and  has  made  the 
Record  one  of  the  best  country  papers  in  the  state.  The  typographical  work  is  excellently 
done,  the  events  of  interest  in  the  locality  and  in  the  world  at  large  are  well  covered,  the 
editorials  are  clearly  and  forcefully  written  and  the  business  affairs  of  the  paper  are  ably 
managed.    It  is  accorded  a  representative  advertising  patronage  and  its  circulation  is  growing 

steadily. 

On  the  3d  of  June,  1915,  occurred  the  marriage  of  Mr.  Ross  and  Miss  Ara  L.  Joseph, 
who  was  born  in  Illinois  and  is  a  daughter  of  W.  C.  and  Ida  (Parker)  Joseph.  In  1912  the 
family  removed  to  Cass  county.  North  Dakota,  and  settled  upon  a  farm  near  Page,  where 
Mr.  and  Mrs.  Joseph  are  still  living. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Ross  hold  membership  in  the  Baptist  church  and  take  a  commendable  in- 
terest in  the  furtherance  of  its  work.  He  is  a  stanch  republican  in  politics  but  has  never 
sought  office  as  a  reward  for  his  fealty.  During  the  five  years  of  his  residence  in  Page  he 
has  been  instrumental  through  the  columns  of  his  paper  in  bringing  about  advancement 
along  a  number  of  lines  of  activity  and  he  is  one  of  the  leading  citizens  of  the  town.  He  is 
a  young  man  but  he  has  already  accomplished  a  great  deal  and  his  friends  predict  for  him 
continued  success. 


ARTHUR  F.  KLENK. 


Arthur  F.  Klenk,  publisher  and  editor  of  the  Courtenay  Gazette  and  actively  concerned 
in  promoting  the  development  and  progress  of  the  town  of  Courtenay,  was  born  in  Con- 
nersville,  Indiana,  on  the  18th  of  .June,  1881,  a  son  of  Cliarles  and  Marie  (Murray)  Klenk. 
The  public  schools  of  his  native  city  afforded  him  his  educational  privileges  and  following 
his  graduation  from  the  high  school  of  Connersville  he  learned  the  furnishing  trade.  He 
did  not  follow  that  business,  however,  but  began  acquainting  himself  with  the  printing 
trade  as  an  employe  on  the  Connersville  News.  There  he  remained  for  three  years,  after 
which  he  removed  to  Shelbyville,  Indiana,  where  he  worked  on  the  Jeffersonian  for  about 
four  years. 

On  the  13th  of  November,  1903,  Mr.  Klenk  was  married  to  Miss  Kathleen  Maple,  a 
daughter  of  David  and  Nancy  A.  Maple,  who  are  still  residents  of  Indiana.  Their  daughter 
was  born  October  25,  1883,  and  passed  away  September  23,  1914. 

Following  his  marriage  Mr.  Klenk  removed  to  Anderson,  Indiana,  and  was  foreman  of 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  909 

the  Gas  Belt  Labor  News  for  a  year  and  a  half,  at  the  end  of  which  time  he  purchased  the 
McKeown  Printery,  a  job  shop,  which  he  conducted  for  about  a  year  and  then  sold.  He  was 
afterward  employed  on  the  Bulletin  in  Anderson  for  a  year  or  so  and  was  then  with  the 
Keith  Press  in  Chicago,  being  connected  with  the  mechanical  department  for  a  year.  Ke- 
moving  to  Havre,  Montana,  he  there  installed  a  Simplex  typesetting  machine  and  continued 
in  business  in  that  place  for  about  a  year.  In  Minneapolis,  to  which  city  he  then  removed, 
lie  worked  on  the  Tribune  for  a  year  and  a  half,  after  which  he  was  connected  with  the 
Northwestern  Miller,  a  magazine,  for  a  similar  period,  being  a  linotype  operator  in  the 
machine  department.  On  leaving  Minneapolis  he  went  to  Little  Falls  and  took  charge  of 
the  mechanical  department  of  the  Transcript,  a  newspaper,  with  which  he  was  associated 
for  a  year,  and  in  1906  became  a  resident  of  Jamestown,  North  Dakota,  and  assumed  the 
management  of  the  Jamestown  Daily  Alert,  which  he  continued  to  publish  for  six  years.  On 
the  1st  of  March,  J912,  he  bought  the  Courtenay  Gazette,  which  he  still  publishes  and  edits. 
This  paper  was  established  in  1898  and  during  the  last  three  years  before  Mr.  Klenk  took 
over  the  ownership  it  was  conducted  b\'  Peter  Schley,  who  published  it  and  sold  it  to  ^Ir. 
Klenk.  The  latter  is  doing  a  gratifying  amount  of  job  work.  In  his  office  he  has  a  linotype 
machine  and  he  publishes  a  good  weekly  paper  which  has  a  large  circulation  over  the 
county  and  the  southeastern  part  of  the  state.  Almost  intuitively  he  seems  to  gather  the 
news  in  w-hich  the  public  is  most  interested  and  his  discussion  of  topics  of  general  concern 
is  of  an  enligthening  character.  He  has  an  individual  electric  light  plant  and  his  newspaper 
office  in  every  particular  is  most  thoroughly  equipped,  enabling  him  to  turn  out  high  grade, 
artistic  work.  The  Gazette  is  published  as  an  independent  sheet  although  Mr.  Klenk  in 
exercising  his  right  of  franchise  supports  the  men  and  measures  of  the  republican  party. 

In  his  fraternal  relations  Mr.  Klenk  is  a  Mason,  a  Modern  Woodman  and  an  Odd  Fellow, 
and  in  the  first  named  he  has  attained  high  rank,  belonging  to  the  blue  lodge,  the  chapter 
and  the  consistory  at  Jamestown.  He  not  only  recognizes  the  purpose  of  the  order  but 
exemplifies  in  his  life  its  beneficent  spirit.  He  gives  to  his  reading  public  a  paper  which 
would  be  a  credit  to  a  city  of  much  greater  size  than  Courtenay  and  in  all  that  he  under- 
takes he  manifests  the  spirit  of  modern  progi'ess  and  enterprise. 


E.  Q.  PO^VLISON. 


E.  Q.  Powlison,  of  Wheatland,  Cass  county,  is  connected  with  a  number  of  business  in- 
terests and  has  gained  a  gratifying  measure  of  success  in  his  undertakings.  He  is  president 
of  the  Wheatland  Telephone  Exchange  and  under  his  management  the  company  is  giving 
excellent  service  to  its  subscribers.  His  birth  occurred  in  Arkansas  on  the  21st  of  August, 
1849,  and  he  is  a  son  of  Isaac  V.  and  Sarah  (Allen)  Powlison.  His  parents,  who  were  born 
in  the  state  of  New  York,  became  residents  of  Arkansas  in  1849  and  three  years  later 
removed  to  Michigan,  where  they  lived  until  1883.  In  that  year  they  came  to  North  Dakota 
and  settled  on  a  farm  in  Cass  county,  where  both  passed  their  last  days.  Eight  of  their 
nine  children  are  still  living. 

E.  Q.  Powlison  remained  under  the  parental  roof  until  he  was  twenty-three  years  of 
age  and  then  began  running  a  dray  in  Galesburg,  Michigan.  He  was  so  occupied  until  1880, 
in  which  year  he  removed  to  Cass  county,  North  Dakota,  and  turned  his  attention  to  farming. 
After  devoting  a  year  to  agricultural  pursuits  he  became  grain  buyer  for  the  Northern 
Pacific  Elevator  Company  at  Wheatland,  a  position  which  he  held  for  seventeen  years, 
proving  very  efficient  in  that  capacity.  After  severing  his  connection  with  the  elevator 
company  he  served  for  eleven  years  as  postmaster  and  in  1904  he  organized  the  Wheatland 
Telephone  E.xchange,  of  which  he  is  president  and  which  is  doing  a  good  business.  He  owns 
the  telephone  oflice  and  also  holds  title  to  his  comfortable  and  substantial  residence  in 
Wheatland.  In  addition  to  looking  after  the  interests  of  the  telephone  exchange  he  is 
engaged  in  the  undertaking  business  and  has  gained  a  reputation  for  giving  excellent  service 
at  reasonable  rates. 

Mr.  Powlison  was  married  in  1871  to  Miss  Sarah  Wheeler,  by  whom  he  has  two  children: 


910  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

Lina,  the  wife  of  Mart  Miiiard,  a  resident  of  Michigan;  and  Cora,  the  wife  of  Claude  Brewer, 
who  is  now  living,  in  the  state  of  Washington.  Mrs.  Powlison  died  in  1876,  and  five  years 
later  Mr.  Powlison  married  Miss  Susie  Mosher,  a  native  of  Vermont  and  a  daughter  of 
Alpheus  A.  and  Susan  (Willis)  Mosher.  Her  parents,  who  were  born  in  New  York  state, 
removed  to  Michigan  and  thence  to  Wisconsin,  where  both  passed  their  last  days.  Mr.  and 
Mrs.  Powlison  have  had  three  children:  Howard  S.;  Bessie  H.,  the  wife  of  Archie  Whitmore, 
who  is  living  in  Montana;  and  George,  deceased. 

Mr.  Powlison  casts  his  ballot  in  support  of  the  republican  party  and  has  served  on  the 
township  board  and  on  the  school  board.  Fraternally  he  is  connected  with  the  local  Masonic 
lodge,  with  the  Royal  Arch  chapter  at  Casselton,  and  with  Lodge  No.  31,  I.  0.  0.  F.,  of 
Wheatland,  in  which  he  has  filled  all  of  the  chairs.  Both  he  and  his  wife  are  consistent  and 
active  members  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  church  and  for  twenty-five  years  he  has  served 
as  superintendent  of  the  Sunday  school,  thus  being  an  important  factor  in  the  moral 
development  of  the  community.  He  is  an  excellent  business  man  and  a  public-spirited 
citizen  and  in  all  relations  of  life  has  conformed  his  conduct  to  high  ethical  standards. 


VICTOR  WALLACE. 


North  Dakota  offers  -splendid  agricultural  facilities  and  many  men  taking  advantage 
of  the  opportunities  here  oflTered  have  won  prosperity,  if  not  wealth.  Among  the  retired 
farmers  living  in  Page  is  Victor  Wallace,  whose  well  directed  labors  have  gained  him 
position  among  the  men  of  affluence  in  Cass  county.  He  was  born  in  Steuben  county,  New 
York,  January  25,  1839,  and  has  therefore  passed  the  seventy-seventh  milestone  on  life's 
journey.  His  parents  were  William  and  Paulina  (Bray ton)  Wallace,  who  spent  their  entire 
lives  in  Steuben  county  and  upon  the  old  home  farm  there  Victor  Wallace  was  reared,  while 
the  public  schools  of  the  neighborhood  afforded  him  his  educational  privileges. 

In  1859  at  the  age  of  nineteen  years  he  left  home,  making  his  way  westward  to 
Michigan,  at  which  time  he  took  up  his  abode  near  Dowagiac,  Cass  county,  where  he  carried 
on  farming.  At  the  outbreak  of  the  Civil  war,  in  April,  1861,  his  patriotic  spirit  was  aroused 
and  lie  enlisted  for  active  dutj'  with  the  boys  in  bluCj  being  mustered  in  as  a  member  of 
Company  E,  Forty-second  Illinois  Infantry.  The  captain  of  the  company  took  his  men  to 
Chicago,  where  they  became  members  of  the  famous  Douglas  Brigade.  Mr.  Wallace  was 
later  promoted  to  corporal  and  subsequently  became  sergeant  of  his  company.  He  partici- 
pated in  a  number  of  hotly  contested  battles  and  after  the  close  of  active  hostilities  in  1865 
the  regiment  was  sent  to  Texas  on  provost  duty  and  was  not  discharged  until  the  10th  of 
•January,  1866.  Mr.  Wallace  was  wounded  in  the  battle  of  Chickamauga  and  still  carries 
the  bullet  in  his  leg. 

After  receiving  an  honorable  discharge  Mr.  Wallace  returned  to  his  Michigan  home  with 
a  most  creditable  military  record  and  continued  to  engage  in  farming  there  until  1883.  when 
he  came  to  North  Dakota  and  purchased  a  relinquishment  on  a  homestead  in  Rich  township, 
Cass  county.  He  filed  upon  that  property,  proved  up  his  claim  and  soon  after  horaesteading 
purchased  another  quarter  section,  the  corners  of  the  two  properties  adjoining.  Five  or 
six  years  later  he  purchased  another  quarter  section  adjoining  the  homestead  on  the  north 
and  he  is  still  the  owner  of  the  entire  tract  of  four  hundred  and  eighty  acres,  from  which 
he  derives  a  very  substantial  annual  income.  Year  after  year  he  carefully,  persistently  and 
successfully  tilled  the  soil  and  thereon  resided  until  1903,  when  he  retired  and  removed  to 
Page,  where  he  has  since  made  his  home,  enjoying  a  well  earned  rest,  his  former  toil  .supply- 
ing him  with  all  of  the  comforts  and  some  of  the  luxuries  of  life.  He  is  also  a  stockholder 
in  the  Farmers  Elevator  &  Lumber  Company  of  Page. 

Mr.  Wallace  has  always  voted  the  republican  ticket,  giving  stalwart  support  to  the 
party  which  was  the  defense  of  the  Union  in  the  dark  days  of  the  Civil  war  and  which 
has  always  been  the  party  of  reform  and  progress.  He  has  studied  life  in  many  of  its 
phases  and  from  his  experiences  has  gleaned  deductions  which  are  the  embodiment  of  sound 
philosophy.     While  farming  he  was  not  only  working  to  produce  good  crops  but  was  also 


VICTOR  WALLACE 


MRS.  \"ICTOR  WALLACE 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  015 

thiiikiiifr  ilcoply,  coming  to  tliK  conclusion  that  "he  who  plows  can  produce  anything,  including 
healtli  and  happiness."  lie  has  also  said,  "It's  the  man  that  really  counts  in  farming. 
Fertile  land  is  necessary,  but  a  master  mind  must  solve  the  problem  of  production  and 
marketing."  That  he  was  thinking  in  other  veins  is  also  evident  from  some  of  his  phil- 
osophy: "The  one  principle  that  enables  the  world  to  run  smooth  is — Help.  If  that  help 
is  extended  in  courteous  and  tactful  ways  it  adds  materially  to  its  ways.  .  .  .  It  is  far 
better  to  be  right  than  popular,  much  as  one  may  like  to  be  popular,  and  in  the  effort  to  be 
right  one  may  sometimes  have  to  sacrifice  temporary  popularity."  That  Jlr.  Wallace  is 
charitable  in  his  opinions  is  indicated  in  the  following:  "It  might  be  a  profitable  thing 
to  study  the  virtues  of  people  we  dislike,  for  it  might  change  our  opinion  of  them  to  our 
own  good."  That  he  has  studied  governmental  problems  is  indicated  in  his  statement, 
"Liberty  and  justice  are  best  preserved  when  the  people  and  not  an  individual  hold  the 
reins  of  power."  That  he  is  not  apathetic  to  the  question  of  the  improvement  of  highways 
is  seen  in  his  statement:  "Oood  roads  broaden  our  sympathy,  lessen  distance  and  increase 
our   usefulness." 

It  was  during  his  service  in  the  army,  while  home  on  furlough,  that  Mr.  Wallace  was 
married  on  the  19th  of  October,  1864,  to  Miss  Hannah  L.  Quimby,  of  Cass  county,  Michigan, 
and  this  union  was  blessed  with  four  children:  Rose,  who  is  the  wife  of  W.  I.  Warrey,  of 
Alherta,  Canada;  Thomas,  who  departed  this  life  .Tune  3,  1872;  Ernest  D.,  who  is  engaged 
in  farming  in  Rich  township,  Cass  county:  and  Frank,  who  also  follows  farming  in  Rich 
township.  There  are  also  twelve  grandchildren  and  three  great-grandchildren.  Mrs.  Wallace 
passed  away  July  14,  1916.  at  the  age  of  seventy-one  years,  three  months  and  six  days,  her 
death  being  the  occasion  of  deepest  regret  to  her  many  friends  as  well  as  to  her  immediate 
family.  She  left  behind  her  the  memory  of  a  life  that  will  remain  as  a  benediction  to  all 
who  knew  her  for  years  to  come.  Mrs.  Wallace  had  been  a  member  of  the  Page  Baptist 
church  from  July  24,  1887,  and  was  one  of  its  active  workers  up  to  the  time  of  her  death, 
serving  as  clerk  of  the  church  for  several  years.  She  was  also  a  prominent  and  earnest 
worker  in  the  Woman's  Christian  Temperance  Union  and  her  influence  was  ever  a  potent 
force  for  good  along  those  and  other  lines.  She  was,  moreover,  the  ideal  wife  and  mother, 
her  interest  ever  centering  in  her  home.  She  did  most  wonderful  needle  work,  showing  the 
greatest  skill  in  that  regard,  and  many  beautifiil  pieces  were  left  by  her  to  her  children 
and  friends.  One  of  the  most  memorable  events  in  the  life  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Wallace  was 
that  which  occurred  October  19,  1914.  on  which  day  they  celebrated  their  golden  wedding, 
having  completed  fifty  years  of  married  life  characterized  by  peaceful  contentment,  theij 
love  increasing  year  by  year.  Theirs  was  the  first  celebration  of  the  kind  ever  held  in  Page 
and  on  that  occasion  they  entertained  more  than  one  hundred  guests.  All  of  their  children 
were  present  as  well  as  their  grandchildren  and  one  great-grandchild,  so  that  the  occasion 
was  a  happy  family  reunion  as  well  as  a  wedding  anniversary.  Greeting  was  sent  by 
Governor  and  Mrs.  Hanna,  who  were  unable  to  be  present,  and  from  other  absent  friends. 
The  governor's  letter  read:  "I  only  wish  I  might  be  with  you  on  the  19th  and  if  it  were 
■possible  for  me  to  get  away  I  would  do  so,  but  unfortunately  I  have  some  previous  engage- 
ments which  I  cannot  break.  I  want  to  extend  to  you  and  Mrs.  Wallace  my  very  best 
wishes  both  from  myself  and  Mrs.  Hanna.  With  very  best  wishes  to  you  both  and  wishing 
you  all  good  health  and  happiness,  I  am,  your  friend,  L.  R.  Hanna."  One  of  the  interesting 
features  of  the  occasion  was  the  reading  of  a  poem  entitled  "Song  of  Our  Hearts,"  composed 
by  their  grandson,  Victor  I.  Warrey,  as  follows: 

On  this  glorious  Golden  Wedding, 

Let  us  very  thankful  be. 
That  we  have  our   dear   grandparents 

Here  among  us,  you  and  me. 

Let  the  bells  peal  out  our  gladness 

In  an  ecstasy  of  glee. 
Let  their  golden  tongues  remind  us 

Of  our  joy.  so  fancy  free. 


916  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

Let  us  thank  our  Mighty  Kuler 
That  they're  with  us,  still  to  love 

And  beseech  that  we  shall  meet  them 
In  this  Haven  of  Rest  above. 

One  and  all,  we,  this  old  couple, 
Love  and  cherish  in  each  heart, 

And  shall  weep  with  gi-ief  and  sorrow, 
When  from  them  we  have  to  part. 

Tliey  have  loved  us   all  since   childhood. 
Shared  with  us  our  joy  and  strife. 

Now  they're  nearing  to  that  Sunset 
Which   shall   end  their  days  of  life. 

But  we  hope  to  have  them  with  us 
And  can  gather  in  their  home. 

Many    years    we    want    them    near   us, 
Tore  their  Spirits  are  called  Home. 

At  this  joyful  Golden  Wedding, 
We'll  forget  in  light  revels 

That  this  life  consists   of   sorrows. 
And  peal  forth  our  joy  like  bells. 

Let  our  gleeful  voices  tell  them 
How  we  love  to  have  them  near. 

And  we  hope  to  gather  'round  them 
On  and  on,  for  many  a  year. 


HORACE  CLARK,  M.  D. 


Among  the  progressive  and  capable  physicians  of  Cass  county  is  Dr.  Horace  Clark, 
of  WTieatland,  who  was  born  in  Buflfalo,  New  York,  November  4,  1864.  His  parents, 
Lemuel  B.  and  Mary  (Woodruff)  Clark,  passed  their  entire  lives  in  the  Empire  state. 
They  were  the  parents  of  two  children,  both  of   whom  are  still  living. 

Dr.  Horace  Clark  attended  the  common  schools  of  New  York  in  the  acquirement  of 
his  elementary  education  and  after  completing  his  preparatory  work  entered  Harvard 
University,  from  which  he  was  graduated  in  1888  with  the  degi-ees  of  Bachelor  of  Arts 
and  Doctor  of  Medicine.  He  then  became  connected  with  a  hospital  in  Boston  and  later 
was  made  assistant  surgeon  in  a  hospital  in  New  York  city,  a  position  which  he  held  for 
three  years.  At  the  end  of  that  time  he  opened  an  office  for  the  private  practice  of  his 
profession  in  Buffalo,  New  York,  where  he  remained  until  1898.  At  the  outbreak  of  the 
Spanish-American  war  he  joined  a  cavalry  regiment  and  was  connected  with  that  organi- 
zation as  surgeon  for  one  year.  On  being  discharged  from  the  military  service  he  removed 
to  Jamestown,  North  Dakota,  and  practiced  there  for  a  year.  Following  his  marriage,  in 
1901,  he  removed  to  Pierre,  South  Dakota,  where  he  remained  for  four  years,  after  which 
he  purchased  a  ranch  in  Morton  csunty,  this  state,  which  comprises  six  hundred  and 
forty  acres  and  which  he  still  owns.  The  place  is  excellently  improved  and  he  devoted  four 
years  to  its  operation,  but  at  the  end  of  that  time  removed  to  Leramon,  South  Dakota, 
where  he  engaged  in  practice  and  where  he  also  served  as  surgeon  for  the  railroad  com- 
pany, remaining  there  until  1911.  Since  that  date  he  has  resided  in  Wheatland  and  the 
confidence  which  the  public  has  in  his  ability  and  conscientiousness  is  indicated  by  the 
large  practice  which  he  has  built  up  in  a  comparatively  short  time.  He  is  also  examiner 
for  a  number  of  insurance  companies. 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  917 

Dr.  Clark  was  married  in  1901  to  Miss  Margaret  Poltcy,  a  native  of  Wisconsin  and 
a  daughter  of  David  and  Margaret  (Hunter)  Poltey.  Her  father,  who  was  born  in  the 
Badger  state,  is  still  living,  but  her  mother,  a  native  of  Canada,  is  deceased.  Dr.  and  Mrs. 
Clark  have  a  daughter,  Margaret  Mabella,  who  is  now  attending  high  school  in  Jamestown. 

Dr.  Clark  takes  the  interest  of  a  good  citizen  in  all  affairs  of  public  concern.  He 
is  a  Master  Mason,  belonging  to  Lodge,  No.  427,  A.  F.  &  A.  M.,  at  Pierre,  South  Dakota; 
and  he  is  also  identified  with  Lodge  No.  444,  B.  P.  0.  E.,  of  Huron.  He  stands  high  in  his 
chosen  profession,  and  personally  he  is  popular,  as  his  dominating  characteristics  are  such 
as  invariably  win  respect  and  regard. 


THOMAS  W.   CAHILL. 


Thomas  W.  Cahill  is  a  member  of  the  firm  of  Tannas  &  Cahill,  dealers  in  hardware, 
implements  and  automobiles  at  Ambrose,  and  he  is  finding  that  close  application  and  inde- 
fatigable energy  are  a  sure  foundation  upon  which  to  build  success.  He  was  born  at 
Waseca,  Minnesota,  and  is  the  son  of  John  and  Ellen  (Byron)  Cahill.  His  grandparents 
were  among  the  first  pioneer  settlers  of  W^aseea  county. 

Spending  his  youthful  days  in  his  native  town,  Thomas  W.  Cahill  mastered  the 
branches  of  learning  taught  in  its  public  schools,  finishing  the  high  school  course  in  1904. 
He  then  started  out  in  business  life  as  an  employe  in  a  lumberyard  at  W^aseca,  where  he 
continued  until  1906,  when  he  removed  to  the  new  town  of  Ambrose,  North  Dakota,  which 
•was  established  in  that  year,  becoming  manager  for  the  Rogers  Lumber  Company,  which  he 
represented  until  1908.  He  then  embarked  in  business  on  his  ovm  account  as  a  dealer 
in  hardware  and  implements,  forming  a  partnership  with  E.  A.  Tannas,  a  pioneer  merchant 
of  the  town.  Their  interests  are  conducted  under  the  firm  name  of  Tannas  &  Cahill,  and  they 
have  built  up  a   business  of  large  and  gratifying  proportions. 

Mr.  Cahill  is  thoroughly  progressive  and  has  an  energetic  and  determined  ambition.  He 
is  the  present  mayor  of  Ambrose  and  in  all  his  relations  to  the  public  he  is  actuated 
by  a  most  loyal  devotion  to  the  general  welfare  and  most  commendable  effort  to  aid 
in  the  further  development  and  progress  of  his  town.  His  fellow  townsmen  appreciative 
of  his  worth  and  ability  have  frequently  called  him  to  public  office. 

Mr.  Cahill  was  married  to  Miss  Genevieve  King,  of  St.  Paul,  Minnesota,  on  the  24th 
of  January,  1916.  Mrs.  Cahill  is  a  graduate  of  the  University  of  Minnesota  and  is  a 
daughter  of  the  late  Henry  King  of  St.  Paul. 


HOWARD  W.  WALKER. 


Throughout  his  business  career  Howard  W.  Walker  has  been  identified  with  newspaper 
work  and  is  today  editor  and  proprietor  of  the  Regan  Headlight,  published  at  Regan,  North 
Dakota.  He  is  a  native  of  this  state,  born  in  St.  Thomas  in  1890,  and  is  a  son  of  P.  W. 
Walker,  whose  birth  occurred  in  Ontario,  Canada.  During  the  early  '80s  the  father  came  to 
North  Dakota  and  settled  in  the  Red  River  valley  at  what  is  now  St.  Thomas,  where  he 
acquired  a  ranch  and  engaged  in  general  farming.  Later  he  conducted  a  store  but  was  living 
retired  in  Dogden  at  the  time  of  his  death,  which  occurred  in  1907.  He  married  iliss  Anna 
Keimott,  who  is  also  a  native  of  Canada  and  is  still  a  resident  of  Dogden.  Her  father.  Dr. 
Keimott,  was  for  fourteen  years  a  physician  for  the  Indians  at  the  Fort  Totten  reservation 
and  will  long  be  remembered  by  the  red  men  whom  he  helped  there. 

Howard  W.  Walker  attended  the  public  schools  of  Fargo  and  completed  his  education 
at  the  Fargo  Agricultural  College.  At  the  age  of  fifteen  years  he  began  learning  the  printing 
business  and  established  the  first  newspaper  at  Mott,  North  Dakota,  which  he  conducted  for 
about  six  months.  Later  he  again  attended  school  and  on  putting  aside  his  textbooks  went 
to  Cando,  being  connected  with  the  Cando  Herald  for  eighteen  months.  At  the  end  of  that 
time  he  removed  to  Sandy,  Montana,  and  was  manager  of  the  Bear  Paw  iXIountaineer  for 


918  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

Paul  Flint  for  eight  months.  On  his  return  to  North  Dakota,  he  and  Vern  Rodman  pur- 
chased the  Max  Enterprise,  which  they  conducted  for  about  a  year,  but  at  the  end  of  that 
time  Mr.  Walker  sold  his  interest  in  the  business  and  bought  the  Raleigh  Herald  at  Raleigh, 
North  Dakota,  which  he  published  for  two  years.  He  then  sold  that  paper  and  went  to 
Taylor,  where  he  was  employed  as  manager  of  the  Taylor  Leader  for  a  short  time.  In 
October,  1914,  he  removed  to  Regan  and  purchased  the  Regan  Headlight,  which  he  has  built 
up  from  a  practically  dead  sheet  into  one  of  the  live  journals  of  that  section  of  the  state, 
having  a  circulation  of  three  hundred. 

On  the  9th  of  June,  1913,  Mr.  Walker  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Julia  Rouning, 
who  was  born  at  Fergus  Prairie,  Minnesota,  her  parents.  Mi.  and  Mrs.  Ole  Rouning,  being 
among  the  early  settlers  of  that  state.  Her  father  died  in  the  winter  of  1914,  but  her 
mother  is  still  living  and  now  resides  in  New  England. 

In  politics  Mr.  Walker  is  a  republican  and  he  has  filled  the  office  of  justice  of  the  peace 
in  his  township.  He  is  a  prominent  member  of  the  Homesteaders  of  Regan  and  at  present 
is  serving  as  captain  of  the  degree  team.  He  is  also  a  member  of  the  Congregational  church 
of  Regan  and  does  all  in  his  power  to  promote  the  moral  and  material  welfare  of  the  com- 
munity in  which  he  lives. 


CHARLES  P.  GETCHELL. 


Charles  P.  Getchell.  cashier  of  the  State  Bank  of  Wales,  was  born  October  22,  1875,  in 
Limestone,  Aroostook  county,  Maine.  At  that  time  his  grandfather,  Dennis  Getchell,  was  a 
member  of  the  Maine  state  legislature.  His  father,  Dennis  Getchell,  Jr.,  also  a  native  of 
that  state  and  a  representative  of  one  of  its  old  families,  was  of  Dutch  and  English  descent. 
The  Getchell's  were  originally  English,  but  representatives  of  the  name  went  with  the 
colony  to  Holland,  whence  the  founder  of  the  family  in  America  came  prior  to  the  Revolu- 
tionary war.  Dennis  Getchell,  Jr.,  was  a  successful  farmer  of  Maine  and  afterward  of 
Whatcom  county,  Washington,  where  he  took  up  a  homestead  in  1888,  being  one  of  the 
pioneer  settlers  of  that  district,  where  he  is  now  living  retired.  He  married  Emily  Styles,  a 
native  of  Pennsjdvania  and  a  member  of  one  of  the  oM  families  of  that  state.  Her  father 
was  of  French  lineage  and  her  mother  of  Scotch  descent.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Dennis  Getchell,  Jr., 
became  the  parents  of  four  children,  and  with  the  exception  of  Charles  P.,  who  is  the  eldest, 
the  others  are  all  residents  of  Washington. 

Taken  to  that  state  by  his  parents  when  a  lad  of  thirteen  years,  Charles  Getchell 
pursued  his  education  in  the  public  schools  of  Blaine,  Washington,  being  graduated  from 
the  high  school  with  the  class  of  1893.  His  youthful  experiences  were  those  of  the  farm 
bred  boy,  and  in  his  boyhood  he  worked  in  the  fields  and  also  in  lumber  mills  of  Puget 
Sound.  In  April,  1898.  he  removed  with  his  family  to  Hannah,  North  Dakota,  and  became 
assistant  cashier  of  the  State  Bank  of  Hannah  and  also  assistant  postmaster,  filling  these 
positions  for  three  and  one-half  years.  In  the  fall  of  1901  he  removed  with  his  family  to 
Wales  and  became  cashier  of  the  State  Bank  of  Wales,  which  was  established  in  the  fall 
of  1901,  Mr.  Getchell  becoming  its  first  cashier.  In  fact  he  was  one  of  the  organizers  and 
opened  the  bank,  and  his  labors  and  efficiency  have  been  salient  elements  in  its  continued 
growth  and  success. 

It  was  at  Bellingham,  Washington,  September  20,  1896,  that  Mr.  Getchell  was  united 
in  marriage  to  Miss  Winifred  McMillan,  a  native  of  Hamilton,  North  Dakota,  and  a 
daughter  of  John  and  .Jemima  (Frazier)  McMillan,  who  were  pioneer  settlers  of  Pembina 
county,  the  father  publishing  one  of  the  first  newspapers  in  that  county.  He  is  now  deceased, 
and  the  mother  resides  in  Niles,  California.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Getchell  have  three  children: 
Lenore  Kathleen,  born  at  Golden,  British  Columbia,  February  36,  1898;  Theodore  Charles, 
born  in  Hannah.  North  Dakota,  December  7,  1899;  and  Francis  Winifred,  born  in  Wales, 
North  Dakota,  May  4,  1906. 

Mr.  Getchell  gives  his  political  support  to  the  republican  party  and  is  a  member  of  the 
Commercial  Club.  He  belongs  also  to  the  Masonic  fraternity  and  has  attained  the  thirty- 
second  degree   of  the   Scottish   Rite,  while   with  the   Nobles   of   the   Mystic   Shrine  he   has 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  919 

crossed  the  sands  of  the  desert.  His  life  is  an  admirable  exemplification  of  the  spirit  and 
]]urposes  of  the  craft.  He  is  a  believer  in  North  Dakota  and  its  future,  and  while  he  still 
retains  the  position  of  cashier  of  the  State  Bank  of  Wales,  he  now  has  his  residence  at  876 
Belmont  avenue,  in  Grand  Forks. 


HAKRY  J.  BAKER,  D.  D.  S. 


Dr.  Harry  .1.  Baker,  who  is  one  of  the  leading  dentists  and  representative  citizens  of 
Williston,  was  born  August  7,  1880,  in  Milton  Junction,  Wisconsin,  a  son  of  Henry  G.  and 
Kate  (Lem brick)  Baker.  The  father  was  a  native  of  New  York,  born,  reared  and  educated 
near  Plattsburg,  that  state.  At  the  age  of  twenty-two  years  he  removed  to  Milton  .Junction, 
Wisconsin,  where  he  conducted  a  hotel  for  several  years.  After  selling  out  he  removed  to 
Austin,  Minnesota,  where  he  bought  a  farm  and  engaged  in  its  operation  until  1906,  since 
which  time  he  has  made  his  home  in  Austin.  He  was  engaged  in  the  coal  business  until 
1914  but  is  now  living  retired  in  a  fine  residence  at  No.  400  South  Main  street,  His  wife 
was  born  in  Germany  and  was  eleven  years  of  age  when  she  came  to  the  new  world  with  her 
parents,  the  family  locating  on  a  farm  near  Fort  Atkinson,  Wisconsin,  where  she  grew  to 
womanhood. 

Dr.  Baker  was  but  six  years  of  age  when  he  accompanied  his  parents  on  their  removal 
from  Wisconsin  to  Austin,  Minnesota,  where  he  attended  the  city  schools.  Later  he  was 
giaduated  from  the  East  high  school  of  Minneapolis  and  then  entered  the  University  of 
Minnesota  as  a  student  in  the  College  of  Dentistry,  from  which  he  was  graduated  with  the 
D.  D.  S.  degree  in  1906.  He  at  once  opened  an  office  in  Mohall,  North  Dakota,  but  remained 
there  only  one  year,  coming  to  Williston  in  1907.  He  has  a  well  equipped  office,  supplied 
with  all  modern  appliances  known  to  his  profession,  and  has  built  up  an  e.Ktensivc  practice 
among  the  best  people  of  the  community.  He  is  a  skilled  dentist  and  the  success  that  has 
come  to  him  is  justly  merited. 

On  the  5th  of  December,  1911,  the  Doctor  married  LuEUa  M.  Davidson.  They  have  a 
little  son,  Harry  Davidson  Baker.  Dr.  Baker  is  a  prominent  member  of  Williston  T^odge,  No. 
1314,  B.  P.  0.  E.  He  has  taken  all  of  the  degrees  of  the  Scottish  Rite  at  Grand  Forks  and  is  a 
member  of  Kem  Temple  of  the  Mystic  Shrine.  In  connection  with  his  profession  he  is 
identified  with  the  North  Dakota  Dental  Association  and  National  Dental  Association,  and 
he  stands  high  in  the  esteem  of  his  professional  brethren  as  well  as  the  general  public. 


HON.  WILLIAM  SINCOi^IR. 


W  illiaui  Sinclair,  ca.shier  of  the  First  State  Bank  of  Cleveland,  secretary  of  the  Farmers 
l^lcvator  Company  and  extensively  engaged  in  farming  in  Stutsman  county,  was  born  on  the 
Orkney  islands,  in  the  northern  part  of  Scotland,  August  14,  1871,  but  since  1872  has 
resided  on  the  American  continent  and  in  1883  became  a  resident  of  North  Dakota.  His 
parents.  Malcolm  and  Mary  (Toralinson)  Sinclair,  crossed  the  Atlantic  to  Canada  in  1872 
and  established  their  home  near  Toronto,  Canada,  where  they  remained  until  1883  and 
then  brought  their  family  to  North  Dakota,  taking  up  their  residence  ton  miles  south  of 
Cleveland.  There  the  father  secured  a  homestead  claim  and  with  characteristic  energy 
liegan  the  cultivation  of  a  tract  which  hitherto  had  been  wild  and  undeveloped.  His  labors 
resulted  in  converting  the  raw  land  into  productive  fields  and  thereon  he  continued  to  the 
time  of  his  death,  which  occurred  in  the  spring  of  1899.  His  widow  long  survived  him  and 
died  in  March,  1915. 

William  Sinclair  was  the  youngest  in  a  family  of  seven  children,  of  whom  six  are  living. 
He  pursued  his  education  in  the  schools  of  Canada  and  also  spent  a  year  in  study  in  North 
Dakota.  His  training  at  farm  work  was  not  meager,  for  he  early  began  to  assist  his  father 
in  the  developinent  of  tlie  fields  and  continued  to  work  on  the  home  farm  in  that  way  until 
his  father's  death,  when  he  assumed  the  management  of  the   property  and   cultivated   the 


920  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

farm  until  1913.  He  then  rented  the  place  but  in  1916  again  assumed  personal  management 
and  responsibility  in  the  care  of  the  farm.  He  had  his  father's  farm  of  three  hundred  and 
twenty  acres  and  upon  the  death  of  his  mother  inherited  her  homestead  of  a  quarter  section. 
He  also  purchased  eighty  acres  on  section  14,  Sinclair  township,  and  afterward  bought 
section  11,  which  was  railroad  land.  He  also  iiled  on  a  homestead  and  proved  up  on  the 
property,  thus  securing  a  quarter  section,  and  he  purchased  another  half  section  south  of 
the  home  place,  so  that  his  holdings  now  embrace  sixteen  hundred  and  eighty  acres  and  he 
is  accounted  one  of  the  most  progressive,  extensive  and  successful  agriculturists  of  Stutsman 
count}'.  He  has  emplo}'ed  the  most  progressive  methods  in  his  farm  work  and  the  result 
of  his  practical  and  progressive  labors  is  seen  in  highly  cultivated  fields,  which  annually 
return  to  him  golden  harvests.  His  business  affairs  are  most  wisely  directed  and  energy  and 
determination  have  placed  him  in  a  most  conspicuous  and  honorable  position  among  the 
business  men  of  the  county.  He  is  also  secretary  of  the  Farmers  Elevator  Company  and 
in  addition  is  conducting  banking,  real  estate  and  insurance  interests.  The  First  State 
Bank  of  Cleveland,  of  which  he  is  cashier,  was  organized  March  16,  1916,  with  a  capital  of 
fifteen  thousand  dollars,  the  other  officers  being:  J.  J.  Nierling,  president;  C.  R.  Hodge, 
vice  president;  and  R.  G.  Leuzinger,  assistant  cashier.  In  connection  with  banking  a  real 
estate  and  insurance  department  is  maintained  and  the  business  is  growing  steadily. 

On  the  22d  of  June,  1916,  Mr.  Sinclair  was  married  to  Miss  Etta  Jane  Webster,  of 
Fort  Ripley,  Minnesota.  His  political  allegiance  is  given  to  the  republican  party  and  he 
has  been  a  most  active  worker  in  its  ranks.  In  1892  he  was  chosen  school  clerk  in  his  district 
and  still  occupies  that  position.  He  was  made  assessor  of  the  second  commission  district  and 
occupied  that  position  for  six  years,  while  still  further  honors  awaited  him,  for  in  1907  he 
was  elected  to  represent  his  district  in  the  state  legislature,  in  which  he  served  for  two 
terms.  He  studied  closely  the  questions  which  came  up  for  consideration  and  gave  stalwart 
allegiance  to  those  proposed  laws  which  he  believed  would  in  any  way  benefit  the  common- 
wealth. He  also  did  important  committee  work  as  a  member  of  the  committee  on  railroads 
and  appropriations.  Fraternally  he  is  connected  with  the  Modern  Woodmen,  the  Elks  and 
the  Masons,  his  membership  in  the  last  two  organizations  being  at  Jamestown.  There  are 
few  phases  of  public  activity  with  which  he  has  not  been  identified  and  his  qualities  ever 
ensure  him  leadership.  He  has  left  the  impress  of  his  individuality  upon  the  material, 
social  and  political  progress  of  town  and  county,  nor  has  his  influence  been  restricted  to  this 
district,  for  as  a  member  of  the  state  legislature  he  became  active  in  the  work  of  shaping 
-the  policy  of  the  commonwealth  in  regard  to  many  vital  things. 


CLEMENT  L.  WALDRON. 


Clement  L.  Waldron,  states  attorney  at  Beach,  recognized  as  one  of  the  ablest  members 
of  the  bar  of  Golden  Valley  county,  where  he  is  also  extensively  engaged  in  farming  and 
stock  raising,  was  born  at  Great  Bend,  Pennsylvania,  February  10,  1884.  His  father,  Arthur  K. 
Waldron,  a  native  of  Hamilton  county,  New  York,  removed  westward  with  his  family  in 
1886  settling  in  Nebraska,  where  he  remained  until  death  ended  his  labors  in  1908.  He 
devoted  his  life  to  railroading  and  thus  provided  for  his  family.  His  wife,  who  bore  the 
maiden  name  of  Carrie  N,  Boone,  was  also  a  native  of  the  state  of  New  York  and  passed 
away  in  1908, 

Clement  L,  Waldron,  the  elder  of  two  children,  was  educated  in  the  schools  of  Nebraska 
and  in  the  Nebraska  State  University,  from  which  he  won  his  Bachelor  of  Arts  degree  in 
1906.  He  also  received  the  Master's  degree  from  the  University  of  Wisconsin  in  1907, 
Returning  to  Omaha,  Nebraska,  he  was  there  admitted  to  the  bar  in  1908  and  practiced 
law  in  that  city  for  about  four  years.  In  April,  1911,  he  arrived  in  Beach,  where  he 
opened  an  office  and  has  since  followed  his  profession,  gaining  wide  recognition  as  a  skilled 
and  able  lawyer  well  qualified  to  handle  intricate  and  complex  legal  problems.  He  is  very 
careful  in  preparing  and  analyzing  his  cases  and  his  deductions  are  at  all  times  sound  and 
logical.  In  connection  with  his  practice  he  is  extensively  interested  in  agricultural  pursuits, 
having  about  one  thousand  acres  of  land  under  cultivation.     In  addition  he  is  also  engaged 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  923 

in  stock  raising,  having  a  i-anch  of  twuuty-live  hundred  acres  in  Montana  on  which  be  raises 
registered  Hereford  cattle.  He  also  raises  horses  and  hogs  and  makes  a  specialty  of  regis- 
tered Duroc  Jerseys.  His  live  stock  interests  constitute  an  important  branch  of  his  business 
and  are  bringing  to  him  well  merited  success. 

In  1911  Mr.  Waldron  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Ramona  Taylor,  a  resident  of 
Omaha,  Nebraska,  and  a  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  James  H.  Taylor,  who  are  still  residents 
of  Omaha,  where  the  father  is  engaged  in  the  general  mercantile  business.  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
Waklron  have  become  parents  of  a  daughter  and  son,  Dorothy  M.  and  Taylor. 

Politically  Mr.  Waldron  is  a  republican  and  to  his  party  gives  stalwart  support.  He 
is  now  serving  as  states  attorney  of  Golden  Valley  county  and  in  the  spring  of  1916  he 
retired  from  the  ofiice  of  city  attorney.  His  record  as  a  public  ollicial  has  been  characterized 
by  the  utmost  fidelity  to  duty.  He  holds  to  high  professional  standards  and  there  are  few 
practitioners  more  careful  to  conform  their  work  to  the  ethics  of  the  profession.  Fraternally 
he  is  a  Mason,  belonging  to  Sunset  Lodge,  No.  88,  A.  F.  &  A.  M.,  at  Beach  and  also  to  the 
Woodmen  of  the  World.  He  has  membership  in  the  Episcopal  church,  in  which  he  has  been 
called  to  office,  and  he  stands  at  all  times  for  those  things  which  are  of  greatest  value  in 
advancing  the  material,  intellectual,  political,  social  and  moral  interests  of  the  community. 
He  has  steadily  worked  his  way  upward  since  his  admission  to  the  bar.  Entering  upon  a 
profession  in  which  advancement  depends  entirely  upon  individual  merit,  he  realized  that 
industry  is  just  as  essential  in  law  practice  as  in  other  lines  and  he  has  been  a  diligent 
worker,  as  is  evidenced  in  his  clear  and  forceful  presentation  of  his  causes  before  the  courts. 
In  1907  he  held  the  University  of  Wisconsin  political  economy  fellowship  and  eight  years' 
work  in  college  is  credited  to  him.  During  the  session  of  the  Wisconsin  legislature  in  1907 
he  was  connected  with  that  body  and  had  charge  of  the  preparation  of  various  bills  relating 
to  the  regulation  of  corporations.  All  these  things  constituted  a  preparation  for  his  active 
life  work  and  in  the  field  of  law  his  advancement  has  been  continuous,  bringing  him  to  a 
prominent  position  among  the  ablest  attorneys  of  the  northwestern  part  of  the  state. 


HENRY  ERVIN  DELAMETER. 

Henrv  Ervin  Delameter,  who  is  devoting  his  time  and  attention  to  farming  in  Benson 
county,  was  one  of  the  first  settlers  of  the  county  and  throughout  the  period  of  his  residence 
there  has  consistently  supported  those  movements  making  for  general  prosperity.  He  was 
born  in  Delaware  county,  New  York,  November  15,  1870,  and  is  a  son  of  John  and  Catherine 
(Scheerder)  Delameter,  the  former  born  in  Middletown,  Delaware  county.  New  York,  May 
17,  1840.  and  the  latter  at  Davenport,  Delaware  county.  New  York,  August  17,  1841.  The 
paternal  grandfather  was  born  at  Middletown,  New  York,  March  19,  1799,  and  was  married 
May  16,  1819,  to  Rachel  Beeman,  whose  birth  occurred  at  Freehold,  Greene  county,  New 
Y'ork.  June  9.  1800,  and  to  Eda  Ward.  April  11,  1850.  She  was  born  at  Hamden,  Delaware 
county.  New  York,  March  1,  1795.  John  Delameter,  the  father,  served  in  the  Civil  war  for 
four  years  and  five  months  as  a  member  of  the  Third  New  York  Cavalry  and  his  record  is 
that  of  a  gallant  and  faithful  soldier.  In  1881  the  family  removed  west  to  Missouri  and 
for  seven  years  resided  near  Utiea,  Livingston  county.  Soon  after  the  death  of  the  mother, 
which  occurred  there  February  21,  1888,  the  father  and  two  sons,  Henry  E.  and  Melvin  E., 
came  to  North  Dakota,  arriving  at  York,  Benson  county,  on  the  21st  of  July  of  that  year. 
The  father  purchased  a  relinquishment  from  H.  A.  Nicholson,  now  of  Crary,  North  Dakota, 
who  had  squatted  on  the  present  town  site  of  Knox.  The  land  was  still  unsurveyed  and 
there  were  only  a  few  white  settlers  in  the  county.  John  Delamater  subsequently  home- 
steaded  his  tract  and  still  later  platted  the  town  of  Knox,  where  he  and  his  sons,  Henry  E., 
and  Melvin  E.,  established  a  general  mercantile  business  which  they  conducted  for  ten  years 
and  which  was  the  only  store  in  the  town.  Melvin  E.  Delameter  was  also  postmaster  at 
Kno.-s  for  seventeen  years.  In  the  death  of  John  Delameter,  on  the  31st  of  December,  1915, 
Benson  county  lost  one  of  its  leading  citizens  and  the  news  of  his  demise  brought  a  sense 
of  personal  bere.ivement  to  many.  His  son,  Melvin  E.  Delameter,  was  born  at  Walton. 
New  York,  March  14,  1868,  and  died  at  Knox,  January  26,  1906. 


924  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

Heiny  E.  Delameter  acquired  his  education  in  the  public  schools  but  when  quite  young 
became  connected  with  his  father  in  merchandising  and  thus  continued  imtil  1908,  when  his 
father  removed  to  Santa  Rosa,  California.  Henry  E.  Delameter  then  disposed  of  the  mer- 
cantile business  and  established  the  Knox  Telephone  Exchange  and  also  purchased  the  Knox 
Advocate,  which  he  still  owns.  He  has  also  since  engaged  in  farming  in  Benson  county 
and  has  much  valuable  land.  His  son,  Theron  L.,  is  now  editor  of  the  Knox  Advocate.  In 
all  of  his  business  enterprises,  as  merchant,  farmer  and  newspaper  owner,  Henry  E.  Dela- 
meter has  directed  his  affairs  wisely,  studying  conditions  carefully  and  keeping  in  touch  with 
up-to-date  methods. 

In  1891  Mr.  Delameter  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Annie  M.  Stewart,  of  Island 
Lake,  North  Dakota,  and  they  became  the  parents  of  seven  children,  as  follows:  Theron  L., 
editor  of  the  Ivnox  Advocate;  Vera  G.,  the  wife  of  Lawrence  Windle,  who  is  engaged  in 
the  elevator  business  in  Knox;  Gladys  M.,  the  wife  of  Dr.  W.  P.  Nelson,  of  Knox;  Roland  E., 
Loren  H.  and  Merlin  E.,  all  at  home;  and  John  Carlisle,  who  was  born  March  31,  1902,  and 
passed  away  on  the  17th  of  February,  1905. 

Mr.  Delameter  is  a  stanch  republican  and  while  not  an  office  seeker  has  been  active 
for  years  in  public  affairs.  He  takes  special  interest  in  ever3'thing  pertaining  to  the  schools 
and  is  now  a  member  of  the  board  of  education.  He  has  a  number  of  fraternal  affiliations, 
belonging  to  Knox  Lodge,  No.  122,  I.  0.  0.  F.;  Knox  Encampment,  No.  27;  Wolford  Canton, 
No.  6;  and  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America,  in  which  he  has  served  as  clerk  for  many 
years.  His  wife  holds  membership  in  the  Presbyterian  church  and  in  the  local  lodges  of  the 
!Maecabees  and  Royal  Neighbors.  He  has  a  wide  acquaintance  throughout  the  country  and 
his  admirable  qualities  have  won  him  a  high  place  in  the  regard  of  his  fellowmen. 


FRANK  ASBURY  WARDWELL. 

Frank  Asbury  Wardwell,  who  for  more  than  twenty  years  has  been  auditor  for  the 
city  of  Pembina,  was  born  in  Bucksport,  Maine,  December  23,  1844,  a  son  of  Rev.  Lorenzo 
D.  and  Mary  (Lavallee)  Wardwell,  the  former  for  forty  years  a  Methodist  minister  of  the 
East  Maine  Conference.  Frank  A.  Wardwell  pursued  his  education  in  the  East  Maine  Con- 
ference Seminary  at  Bucksport  and  in  the  Normal  School  at  St.  Cloud,  Minnesota.  From 
1860  until  1864  he  was  a  sailor  on  merchant  ships  and  crossed  the  equator  in  the  Indian 
ocean  four  times,  in  the  Atlantic  three  times  and  in  the  Pacific  once,  which  facts  indicate 
his  many  voyages  to  distant  lands.  From  December  2,  1864,  until  January  12,  1868,  he 
was  a  seaman  in  the  United  States  navy.  For  six  months  he  served  in  a  clerical  capacity 
and  later  was  a  seaman  on  the  United  States  Steamship  Tuscarora,  cruising  around  South 
America  and  the  South  Sea  islands,  including  the  Friendly,  Society  and  Fiji  groups.  Fol- 
lowing his  discharge  he  spent  a  year  in  school  and  then  went  to  the  south,  remaining  in 
Mississijipi  for  some  months,  after  which  he  became  infected  with  malaria  and  returned  to 
Maine,  passing  through  Chicago  the  night  previous  to  the  great  Chicago  fire. 

In  .lune,  1872,  Mr.  Wardwell  arrived  in  the  Red  River  valley  and  took  a  soldier's  home- 
stead near  Hawley,  Minnesota.  He  worked  on  the  Northern  Pacific  Railroad,  which  had 
been  built  as  far  as  Moorhead  the  previous  winter.  After  spending  his  first  summer  in 
North  Dakota  in  that  way  he  secured  the  position  of  teacher  in  a  country  school  at  Clear- 
water. Minnesota.  He  alternately  taught  school,  "bached"  on  the  homestead  and  attended 
the  Minnesota  State  Normal  for  the  next  three  years.  In  June.  1877.  he  took  up  his  abode 
at  Pembina,  where  he  continued  as  a  public  school  teacher  for  four  years.  He  was  probably 
the  first  male  teacher  within  the  territory  now  included  within  the  boundaries  of  North 
Dakota,  a  state  that  today  numbers  fifteen  thousand  public  school  teachers.  Mr.  Wardwell 
was  also  the  first  county  superintendent  of  schools  who  performed  any  active  duties,  there 
being  but  three  or  four  organized  school  districts  in  the  county.  In  1881  he  was  appointed 
deputy  county  treasurer  and  at  the  ensuing  election  was  elected  county  treasurer,  which 
position  he  filled  for  two  terms.  He  has  filled  minor  offices  and  during  the  administration 
of  Governor  Burke  was  appointed  oil  inspector,  while  for  more  than  twenty  years  he  has 
been   auditor  of   Pembina.     In   April,   1887,  in  company   with  Gunder   G.   Thompson,  under 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  925 

the  firm  naiiii>  of  Wardwell  &  Thompson,  he  purchased  The  Pioneer  Express,  a  weekly  paper 
wliich  was  a  consolidation  of  The  Pembina  Pioneer,  established  in  1878  by  P.  L.  Gatchell, 
and  the  Northern  Express,  established  two  years  later  by  R.  H.  Young  at  Drayton.  The 
latter  had  bought  out  Mr.  Gatchell,  who  sold  the  paper  to  Wardwell  &,  Thompson,  who 
continued  to  publish  The  Pioneer  Express  to  the  present  time  as  a  straight  republican 
paper.  Thus  for  more  than  twenty-nine  years  Mr.  Wardwell  has  been  continuously  connected 
with  the  paper,  which  he  has  made  an  important  organ  for  the  upbuilding  of  his  section  of 
the  state  as  well  as  a  source  of  individual  income. 

At  Pembina,  on  the  28th  of  January,  1878,  Mr.  Wardwell  was  married  by  the  Rev. 
Scott,  of  the  Presbyterian  church,  to  Winnie  Chaffee,  of  Fairhaven,  Minnesota,  a  daughter  of 
Sidney  and  Xancy  Jane  (Maxwell)  Chaffee,  the  former  a  brother  of  Lieutenant  General  Adna 
R.  C.  Chaffee,  for  some  time  commander  of  the  United  States  army.  The  following  sons 
and  daughters  have  been  born  of  this  marriage:  Sidney  L.;  James  C;  Frank  A.;  Fred; 
Theodore  M.;  Robert  H.;  Adna  R.  C;  Birdie,  who  Is  the  wife  of  J.  T.  Cockburn;  Edith; 
Mabel,  who  gave  her  hand  in  marriage  to  E.  L.  Fiddelke;  and  Majorie.  For  about  ten  years 
Mr.  \\ardwell  has  been  a  director  of  the  State  Historical  Society  and  is  deeply  interested  in 
the  history  of  North  Dakota,  having  from  pioneer  times  been  closely  associated  with  the 
work  of  development  and  progiess  in  the  state. 


JOHN  D.  MILNE. 


•  Jolin  1).  Milne,  cashier  of  the  Citizens  State  Bank  of  Langdon,  was  born  December  3, 
1867,  at  Chesley,  Ontario,  a  son  of  the  late  Andrew  Milne,  a  native  of  Scotland,  who  in 
1857  became  a  pioneer  agriculturist  of  Ontario,  Canada,  where  he  successfully  carried  on 
business.  In  politics  he  was  identified  with  the  reform  party  and  his  religious  faith  was 
that  of  the  Presbyterian  church.  He  died  at  Chesley,  August  27,  1912,  at  the  age  of  eighty- 
four  years,  having  continuously  resided  there  for  fifty-five  years.  His  wife,  who  bore  the 
maiden  name  of  Annie  Copland,  is  a  native  of  Scotland  and  in  1858  came  to  America, 
settling  at  Guelph,  Ontario,  where  she  married  Mr.  Milne.  They  were  childhood  friends  in 
Aberdeen  and  sweethearts  ere  he  left  that  country.  She  still  occupies  the  old  home  at 
Chesley. 

•John  D.  Milne  was  the  fourth  in  order  of  birth  in  their  family  of  nine  children,  all  of 
whom  are  yet  living.  He  pursued  his  education  in  the  public  schools  of  Chesley  and  in 
the  high  school  at  Mount  Forest  and  his  early  life  was  spent  upon  the  home  farm.  WTien 
sixteen  years  of  age  he  put  aside  the  work  of  the  fields  and  secured  a  clerkship  in  a  general 
store  at  Durham,  Ontario,  after  which  he  became  manager  for  Simon  Siess.  a  wholesale 
clothier  and  haberdasher  of  Denver,  Colorado,  in  which  city  he  continued  for  two  years  or 
until  the  financial  panic  of  1893,  when  the  business  was  discontinued.  Mr.  Milne  then 
came  to  North  Dakota,  settling  at  Langdon,  where  he  arrived  May  27,  1894.  In  October,  1895, 
he  became  associated  with  the  Citizens  State  Bank  of  Langdon  as  assistant  cashier  and  after 
occupying  that  position  for  six  years  was  elected  to  the  office  of  cashier,  which  position  he 
has  since  satisfactorily  filled,  developing  the  bank's  business  during  this  period  from  seven 
thousand  dollars  deposits  to  four  hundred  thousand  dollars.  The  bank  is  capitalized  for 
thirty  thousand  dollars,  has  a  surplus  and  undivided  profits  of  about  nine  thousand  five 
hundred  dollars  and  its  deposits  amount  to  about  three  hundred  and  fifty  thousand  dollars. 
Mr.  Milne  is  also  the  vice  president  and  one  of  the  directors  of  the  State  Bank  of  Hannah 
and  a  director  of  the  Citizens  Bank  of  Hannah,  the  State  Bank  of  Sarles  and  a  director  of 
the  First  National  Bank  of  Langdon,  thus  becoming  closely  associated  with  the  banking 
interests  of  Cavalier  county  and  that  section  of  the  state.  He  also  has  large  farming  in- 
terests in  Cavalier  county,  embracing  three  entire  sections  of  land. 

On  the  8th  of  February.  1897,  in  Langdon,  Mr.  Milne  was  married  to  Miss  Sadie  Hewcs, 
a  native  of  Davenport,  Iowa,  and  a  daughter  of  the  late  William  Hewes,  who  belonged  to 
a  pioneer  family  of  Iowa  and  was  a  Civil  war  veteran.  Her  mother  is  Mrs.  Frances  (Fish) 
Hewes    and    still   resides    in    Davenport.      Mr.   and    Mrs.    Milne   have    four    living   children: 


926  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

Jessie  E.,  Ida  F.,  John  A.,  and  Margaret  I.,  aged  respectively  seventeen,  sixteen,  fourteen 
and  seven  years. 

Politically  Mr.  Milne  is  a  republican  and  for  the  past  eighteen  years  has  been  city 
treasurer  of  Langdon.  Throughout  his  entire  life  he  has  taken  an  active  and  helpful  interest 
in  politics  and  has  done  everything  in  his  povrer  to  promote  civic  standards.  He  has  also 
been  treasurer  of  the  school  board  of  Langdon  for  the  past  eighteen  years  and  the  cause 
of  education  finds  in  him  a  stalwart  champion.  He  belongs  to  the  Commercial  Club  and 
he  has  membership  with  the  Odd  Fellows  and  the  Masons.  He  was  made  a  Mason  in 
Langdon,  February  7,  1897,  has  taken  the  Consistory  degrees  in  Grand  Forks  and  also  be- 
longs to  Kem  Temple  of  the  Mystic  Shrine  at  Grand  Forks.  His  life  is  an  exemplification 
of  the  principles  of  this  fraternity.  He  started  out  in  life  a  poor  boy  and  his  success  is  due 
to  his  own  efforts.  Gradually  he  has  worked  his  way  steadily  upward  and  his  life  proves 
that  power  grows  through  the  exercise  of  effort.  He  has  qualified  himself  for  the  solution 
of  important  problems  by  the  faithful  performance  of  each  day's  duties  and  thus  he  has 
gained  courage,  inspiration  and  strength  for  the  labors  of  the  succeeding  day  until  in 
business  circles  he  now  occupies  a  most  enviable  position  as  a  representative  of  the  banking 
interests  of  his  section  of  tlie  state. 


PETER  G.  VILDMO. 


Peter  G.  Vildmo,  as  a  member  of  the  firm  of  Walla  &  Vildmo  of  Watford  City,  is  eon- 
ducting  one  of  the  leading  general  stores  of  McKenzie  county,  and  business  enterprise  and  a 
progressive  spirit  have  brought  him  more  and  more  to  the  front  as  a  representative  merchant 
and  business  man  of  his  district.  He  was  born  in  Norway,  October  25,  1868,  and  is  a  son 
of  Anton  and  Christine  (Vildmo)  Peterson.  The  father  was  born  and  educated  in  Norway 
and  there  followed  farming  to  the  year  1882,  when  he  came  to  the  new  world,  settling  first  at 
Fargo  and  afterward  at  Horace,  North  Dakota,  where  he  remained  for  a  year.  In  1883  he 
homesteaded  in  Sargent  county,  near  Rutland,  and  there  carried  on  general  agricultural 
pursuits  until  death  terminated  his  labors  in  1888.  His  widow,  also  a  native  of  Norway, 
in  which  country  they  were  married,  is  now  living  at  Gonvick,  Minnesota. 

Peter  G.  Vildmo  remained  in  Norway  to  tlie  age  of  fourteen  years  and  then  accom- 
panied his  parents  to  the  new  world,  after  whieli  he  became  a  pupil  in  the  district  schools 
of  this  state.  Later  he  went  to  Concordia  College  at  Moorhead  and  for  a  short  time  was 
employed  in  a  general  store.  He  next  made  his  way  to  the  mountains  of  Oregon,  where 
he  engaged  in  prospecting  for  gold  for  three  years,  and  upon  his  return  eastward  he  settled 
at  Horace,  Cass  county.  North  Dakota.  Later  he  went  to  McKenzie  county  with  friends  to 
look  over  the  land  but  with  no  intention  of  locating  there,  but  the  prospects  seemed  favor- 
able and  he  filed  on  a  homestead  twelve  miles  north  of  Schafer.  While  proving  up  on  that 
property  he  bought  a  half  interest  in  the  general  store  located  at  Farland  and  became  a 
partner  of  Jens  G.  Walla,  under  the  firm  name  of  Jens  G.  Walla  &  Company.  They  con- 
ducted an  important  and  profitable  business  and  in  1914,  when  Watford  City  was  laid  out, 
the  firm  removed  to  the  new  town  and  changed  their  name  to  Walla  &  Vildmo,  under 
which  title  they  have  since  conducted  their  interests.  They  now  have  one  of  the  leading 
general  stores  of  McKenzie  county  and  are  accorded  a  very  liberal  patronage. 

On  the  10th  of  March,  1910,  Mr.  Vildmo  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Mattie  Aagvik, 
of  Williston,  North  Dakota,  who  was  born  and  educated  in  Norway  and  in  young  woman- 
hood became  a  resident  of  this  state,  arriving  in  1908  in  company  with  her  brother,  who 
had  come  to  the  new  world  a  number  of  years  before  but  had  returned  to  Norway  on  a 
visit.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Vildmo  have  three  children:  Agdis  Caspara,  Jessie  Georgina  and 
Margaret   Pauline. 

The  parents  are  members  of  tlie  Lutlieran  church  and  Mr.  Vildmo  is  a  charter  member 
of  the  Ancient  Order  of  United  Workmen  at  Watford  City.  His  political  support  is  given 
to  the  republican  party  and  he  has  served  as  tax  assessor  of  his  township  but  he  is  not 
ambitious  in  the  line  of  office  holding,  preferring  to  concentrate  his  efforts  upon  his  business 
affairs.     He  is  a  man  of  dignified  manner,  conservative  and  well  balanced,  and  is  a  constant 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  929 

worker  for  his  business,  acting  as  manager  of  the  store,  while  his  partner  lives  on  the 
farm.  He  also  recognizes  the  duties  and  obligations  of  citizenship  and  cooperates  in  many 
plans  and  measures  that  seek  the  welfare  and  upbuilding  of  town  and  county. 


MAJOR  JOHN  DICK  BLACK. 

Military  prowess  has  been  the  theme  of  song  and  story  from  earliest  ages  and  there  are 
fcut  few  who  are  not  inspired  by  tales  of  valor  and  loyalty  displayed  on  the  field  of  battle. 
A  splendid  record  is  the  military  history  of  Major  John  Dick  Black,  a  veteran  of  both  the 
Civil  and  Spanish-American  wars  and  one  justly  to  be  proud  of.  He  was  born  in  Meadville, 
Pennsylvania,  July  10,  1841.  His  paternal  grandfather,  Uaivd  Black,  was  born  in  Donegal, 
Ireland,  and  both  he  and  his  wife  were  of  Scotch-Irish  parentage.  The  maternal  grandfatiier, 
William  Jones,  was  a  native  of  Pennsylvania,  and  this  '"Fighting  Quaker"  was  one  of  the 
three  men  who  first  settled  near  Meadville  and  was  burned  out  and  driven  back  to  I'ort 
Duquesne  by  the  Indians  on  three  different  occasions,  returning  each  time  and  dying  there  at 
the  age  of  nearly  ninety  years.  The  maternal  grandmother  was  a  descendant  of  the  Virginia 
Kandolphs. 

Major  Black's  father,  William  Black,  and  mother,  I'hoeba  (Jones)  Black,  were  born  near 
Meadville,  Pennsylvania.  Early  in  life  he  turned  his  attention  to  farming  and  stock,  con- 
ducting an  extensive  business  ;n  horses  and  cattle  and  marketing  tliem  in  Philadelphia.  He 
was  accidently  killed  by  an  engine  when  seventy-six  years  of  age.  The  wife  and  mother  soon 
following  him  to  that  bourn  whence  no  traveler  returns. 

Major  Black,  the  youngest  of  eight  children,  completed  his  education  at  Allegheny  College, 
Meadville,  Pennsylvania,  at  the  age  of  seventeen  years.  His  desii-e  was  to  take  up  the  study  of 
medicine  but  was  unable  to  as  at  this  time  medical  students  were  required  to  be  twenty-one 
years  of  age  in  order  to  matriculate.  In  the  interim  he  decided  to  learn  a  trade  and  took 
up  that  of  a  tinsmith.  He  never  studied  medicine,  as  on  April  15,  1861,  three  days  after 
Fort  Sumter  was  fired  upon  he  responded  to  the  first  call  of  Lincoln  for  seventy-five 
thousand  troops  and  enlisted  as  a  member  of  Company  H  of  the  Erie  Zouaves,  under  the 
command  of  Captain  John  Landsworth  and  Colonel  .lohn  W.  McLean.  He  was  elected  lirst 
coporal  at  the  organization  of  the  company  and  soon  afterward  appointed  lieutenant.  At 
the  expiration  of  three  months  the  regiment  was  mustered  out,  Major  Black  then  reentered 
the  service  as  first  lieutenant  of  Company  E,  One  Hundred  Forty-fifth  Pennsylvania  Vol- 
unteer Infantry.  The  regiment  was  mustered  in  at  Erie,  Pennsylvania,  and  almost 
immediately  ordered  to  the  front.  Six  days  after  leaving  Erie,  they  took  part  in  the  battle 
of  Antietam,  after  which  they  were  ordered  to  Harper's  Ferry  and  assigned  to  the  First 
Division  of  the  Second  Army  Corps,  General  Winfield  S.  Hancock  commanding.  To  this 
First  Division  of  the  Second  Corps  Colonel  Fo.v  in  his  'History  of  the  Casualties  of  the 
War"  gives  the  credit  of  being  "the  iigthing  division  of  the  figthing  corps  of  the  entire 
armies."  Major  Black  took  part  in  all  the  battles  in  which  the  Army  of  the  Potomac,  to 
which  the  Second  Corps  belonged,  jjarticipated.  He  was  appointed  adjutant  of  his  regiment 
the  morning  of  the  battle  of  Fredericksburg,  December  13,  1862,  where  the  division  lost 
fifty-six  per  cent  of  its  enlisted  men  and  sixty-three  per  cent  of  its  olhcers  in  the  assault  on 
Mary's  Heights.  The  One  Hundred  and  Forty-fifth  Pennsylvania  lost  in  this  engagement 
nine  commissioned  officers  killed  on  the  field — the  greatest  loss  in  any  one  regiment  during 
a  single  battle  in  the  Civil  war.  Major  Black  participated  altogether  in  forty-one  engage- 
ments. At  ChanccUorsville,  May  3,  1863,  he  received  a  shell  wound  on  the  left  arm,  the 
same  piece  of  shell  killing  Major  Patton  by  his  side  At  Gettysburg,  July  2,  1S63,  his 
regiment  charged  through  the  wheat  field  on  the  right  and  in  front  of  Devil's  Den  he  was 
shot  through  the  left  lung  and  lay  on  the  field  between  the  lines  from  four  o'clock  in  the 
afternoon  until  one  o'clock  the  next  day  before  being  taken  to  tlie  field  hospital,  where 
he  remained  six  days  before  his  wound  was  attended  to  by  a  surgeon.  He  reported  for 
duty  again  in  September  and  joined  his  command.  In  the  spring  of  1804  he  was  detailed 
as  acting  assistant  adjutant  general  of  the  Fourth  Brigade  under  General  John  R.  Brooks 
and  remained  in  that  connection  until  detailed  April  13,  1864,  as  aid-dc-camp  on  the  staff  of 


930  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

General  Francis  C.  Barlow,  commanding  the  First  Division  of  tlie  Second  Army  Corps,  on 
whose  staff  he  remained  until,  on  account  of  illness,  General  Barlow  was  relieved  August  25, 
1864,  by  General  Nelson  A.  Miles.  On  June  21,  1864,  Major  Black  received  a  woimd  in  the 
right  side  and  chest  during  the  siege  of  Petersburg.  He  rejoined  his  command  at  Strawberry 
Plains  August  22,  1864,  participating  three  days  later  in  the  battle  of  Reams  Station,  where 
"for  gallant  services  and  meritorius  conduct"  he  was  appointed  a  "captain  of  volunteers  by 
brevet"  by  President  Lincoln,  later  being  assigned  to  duty  according  to  his  brevet  rank. 
General  Miles  in  relieving  General  Barlow  of  command  of  the  First  Division  of  the  Second 
Army  Corps  retained  Major  Black  as  a  member  of  his  personal  staff  with  Avhom  he  remained 
until  the  close  of  the  war.  On  April  2,  1865,  "for  conspicuous  bravery  and  valuable  services 
and  for  meritorius  conduct  during  the  battle  at  Sutherland  Station,  Virginia,"  he  was 
appointed  a  major  of  volunteers  by  brevet  by  President  Lincoln.  While  serving  on  the 
staffs  of  Generals  Barlow  and  Miles  during  the  campaign  of  1864  and  1865,  Major  Black  had 
five  horses  shot  under  him,  a  fact  which  indicates  he  was  certainly  in  the  thickest  of  the 
battles. 

On  May  19.  1865,  following  the  surrender  of  the  Confederate  Army  at  Appomattox 
and  the  return  of  the  army  to  Washington,  General  Miles  was  ordered  south  under  sealed 
orders  to  be  opened  at  the  expiration  of  twelve  hours.  By  a  special  order  from  the 
secretary  of  war,  Major  Black,  whose  regiment  had  been  ordered  mustered  out,  was  retained 
in  the  service  and  was  ordered  to  accompany  him.  The  sealed  orders  contained  the  appoint- 
ment of  General  Miles  as  commander  of  the  military  district  of  eastern  Virginia,  with 
headquarters  at  Fortress  Monroe,  and  instructions  to  remove  Jefferson  Davis,  late  president 
of  the  Confederacy,  and  Clement  C.  Clay,  supposed  to  have  been  implicated  in  the  assassina- 
tion of  President  Lincoln,  from  the  steamer  Clyde,  which  had  just  arrived  in  Hampton  Roads 
from  Savanna,  Georgia,  and  confine  them  within  the  fort.  Jlajor  Black's  duties  at  Fortress 
Monroe  were  those  of  inspector  general  of  the  military  district  of  eastern  Virginia  and  the 
additional  daily  duty  of  interviewing  the  state  prisoners,  Davis  and  Clay.  The  result  of 
the  interview,  including  the  surgeon's  report,  was  made  the  subject  of  a  daily  report  by 
General  Miles  to  Edwin  M.  Stanton,  secretary  of  war. 

On  December  1,  1865,  Major  Black  tendered  his  resignation  and  returned  to  Union  City, 
Pennsylvania.  He  had  rendered  to  his  country  most  valuable  and  valiant  service  and  well 
merited  the  release  from  further  military  duty  when  the  war  had  ended  and  the  country 
no  longer  needed  his  services.  Taking  up  the  pursuits  of  civil  life,  he  engaged  in  the  hardware 
business.     On  July  31,  1867,  he  was  appointed  postmaster  of  Union  City. 

Early  in  1867  Major  General  Miles,  then  colonel  of  the  Fortieth  United  States  Infantry, 
was  detailed  commissioner  of  the  state  of  North  Carolina  in  the  Freedmen's  Bureau,  and 
he  again  appointed  Major  Black  on  his  staff,  in  the  capacity  of  assistant  superintendent 
of  education  of  the  state,  the  duties  involved  being  the  establishing  of  schools  for  the  freed 
men.  While  engaged  in  these  duties  Major  Black  had  the  honor  of  receiving  an  imperative 
order  from  the  famous  "Ku  Klux  Klan"  to  "at  once  leave  the  state  or  death  would  be  his 
doom."  During  the  continuance  of  the  bureau  he  remained  in  North  Carolina  and  afterward 
returned   to   Union   City,  Pennsylvania. 

On  March  9,  1869,  Major  Black  was  married  to  Miss  Selenda  Gibson  Wood,  of  Buffalo, 
New  York — a  quiet,  book-loving  woman  with  high  Christian  ideals  and  of  unusual  charm. 
They  became  residents  of  the  middle  west  in  September,  1869,  when  they  located  at  Mount 
Vernon,  Illinois,  where  for  five  years  Major  Black  was  engaged  in  the  hardware  and 
agricultural  implement  business,  and  where  their  son.  Nelson  Miles  Black,  was  born 
January   21,   1870. 

The  ravages  of  malaria  made  it  necessary  to  change  to  a  more  healthful  cliinat(>  and 
they  moved  to  Union  City,  Michigan,  in  1874,  where  Major  Black  continued  in  the  liardware 
business.  The  agricultural  implement  business  having  brought  him  in  close  contact  with 
agricultural  pursuits  and  having  read  the  glowing  accounts  of  the  wonderful  farming  lands 
in  Nortli  Dakota,  he  decided  to  cast  his  lot  with  the  "humble  tillers  of  the  soil"  and  in  1880 
came  to  North  Dakota,  reaching  Valley  City,  March  28.  He  located  southwest  of  Valley 
City  with  a  colony  of  southern  Michigan  people.  Bachelor  quarters  were  maintained  during 
the  first  year  spent  in  North  Dakota  in  conjunction  with  a  friend  and  neighbor,  Ira  S. 
Lampman.     A  crop  of  wheat  and  oats  were  raised  on  rented  land  furnishing  seeds  for  the 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  931 

sixty  acres  broken  during  the  summer  on  his  own  claim  and  feed  until  the  new  crop  was 
harvested. 

The  winter  of  ISSO  and  1881  was  spent  in  Union  City,  Michigan,  and  in  the  spring  his 
family,  consisting  of  Mrs.  Black  and  their  son,  and  the  Misses  Louise  and  Kate  Black,  sisters 
of  the  Major,  accompanied  him  to  the  new  home  in  the  west.  In  her  new  environment, 
notwithstanding  the  hardships  and  privations  incident  to  pioneer  life,  Mrs.  Black  was  the 
same  happy,  loving  wife  and  mother,  and  a  neighbor  greatly  loved  and  respected  by  all  who 
knew  her.  Ko  one  could  cross  her  threshold  and  not  feel  at  home,  her  bright  and  cheerful 
manner  never  failed  to  win  its  way  straight  to  the  heart.  Nor  did  she  fail  in  her  Christian 
ideals.  There  being  no  church  nearer  than  eight  miles,  she  was  the  first  to  organize 
religious  meetings,  which  were  held  in  her  own  home  most  of  the  time  for  two  years.  la 
January,  1883,  God  in  his  wisdom  called  this  brave,  loving.  Christian  woman  from  her  loved 
ones    and    friends. 

Following  his  mother's  death,  the  son.  Nelson  Miles  Black,  then  thirteen  j-ears  of  age, 
accompanied  his  mother's  sister,  Mrs.  C.  L.  Sherwood,  to  her  homo  at  Dowagiac,  Michigan, 
where  he  finished  his  early  education  at  the  high  school.  He  graduated  in  pharmacy  at  the 
Illinois  College  of  Pharmacy,  a  department  of  the  Northwestern  University  in  1890  as  a 
preliminary  course  to  the  study  of  medicine.  He  then  returned  to  Valley  City  and  spent 
two  years  working  as  deputy  register  of  deeds  of  Barnes  county  under  his  father,  who  had 
been  elected  to  that  office  in  1888,  and  by  reelection  and  appointment  continued  in  office  for 
eight  years.  During  this  time  he  made  the  first  set  of  abstract  books  of  the  county, 
continuing  in  the  abstract  business  in  cunjuction  with  his  farming  until  1912.  In  the  fall 
of  1892  the  son  went  to  Philadelphia,  where  he  entered  the  medical  department  of  the 
University  of  Pennsylvania  and  was  given  his  Doctor  of  Medicine  degree  in  189-1.  The 
followin;.'  two  years  were- spent  in  St.  Barnabas  Hospital,  Minneapolis.  He  then  returned 
to  Pliiladelphia  and  took  a  post  graduate  c<mrse,  making  a  special  study  of  the  eye  and  ear. 
After  spending  a  year  in  St.  Christopher's  Hospital  for  CTiildren  and  Wills'  Eye  hospital, 
in  Philadelphia,  Dr.  Black  associated  himself  with  Dr.  H.  V.  Wurderaann,  of  Milwaukee,  a 
very  noted  specialist  in  diseases  of  the  ej'c  and  ear,  and  it  was  liere  that  he  was  located 
when  the  war  broke  out  with   Spain. 

Major  Black  and  his  son  Nelson,  had  been  members  of  the  National  Guard  of  tin- 
territory  of  Dakota  and  of  the  state  of  North  Dakota  from  the  time  of  its  organization. 
The  Major  filled  the  various  positions  at  dilfcrent  times  of  captain  in  command  of  the 
Valley  City  company,  captain  and  quartermaster  of  the  North  Dakota  regiment,  and  at  the 
time  of  the  declaration  of  war  with  Spain  was  senior  aid-de-camp  on  the  stair  of  Governor 
Briggs,  and  during  the  temporary  absence  of  the  governor  on  account  of  failing  health, 
took  active  part  in  the  organization  and  equipping  of  the  First  Regiment  North  Dakota. 
Volunteers. 

Dr.  Black  entered  the  National  Guards  of  North  Dakota  at  the  age  of  fifteen  years  as 
a  musician  and  continued  his  connection  with  them  until  he  left  for  the  east  to  study  medi- 
cine, when  he  was  honorably  discharged.  During  his  internesliip  at  St.  Barnabas  Hospital, 
Minneapolis,  he  was  a  member  of  the  Minnesota  Guards  in  the  capacity  of  Hospital  Steward 
of  the  First  Regiment  and  later  first  lieutenant  and  assistant  surgeon.  In  his  new  home 
in  Milwaukee,  Wisconsin,  he  became  a  member  of  the  famous  Light  Horse  Squadron  of  the 
Wisconsin  Guards,  remaining  a  member  of  the  troop  until  his  appointment  as  captain  and 
assistant  surgeon  of  the  First  Regiment  National  Guards  of  North  Dakota  to  fill  the 
vacancy  made  by  the  resignation  of  Captain  Herrick  of  Lisbon.  At  the  declaration  of 
war  with  Spain,  Dr.  Black  at  once  abandoned  practice  in  Milwaukee  and  returned  to 
Valley  City.  At  Fargo,  during  the  mobilization  of  the  regiment,  he  was  detailed  by  the 
secretary  of  war  as  medical  examiner  for  his  regiment  and  the  two  troops  recruited  for 
Grigsby's  Regiment  of  Rough  Riders.  The  record  for  good  health  which  the  North  Dakota 
regiment  gained  in  the  Philippines  is  a  tribute  to  the  thoroughness  with  which  Captain 
Black  performed  his  duties  in  this  connection.  The  regiment  was  assigned  to  the  Depart- 
ment of  the   Pacific  and   arrived   in   San   Francisco,  May  30.   1898. 

Two  days  later  Captain  Black,  having  seen  on  the  bulletin  board  the  order  appointing 
his  father  a  chief  commissary  of  subsistence  with  the  rank  of  major  in  the  volunteer 
service,  wired  his  congratulations,  which  was  the  first  intimation  Major   Hlnrk   liad   of  his 


932  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

appointment,  which  was  the  result  of  his  having  again  tendered  his  services  to  the 
government.  Reporting  at  the  war  department  at  Washington,  D.  C,  June  8,  1898, 
Major  Black,  on  June  34th  by  a  special  order  from  the  secretary  of  war,  was  directed  to 
"report  in  person  to  the  Major  General  commanding  the  Army,  for  assignment  to  duty." 
Reporting  to  Major  General  Nelson  A.  Miles,  he  was  by  him  made  a  member  of  his  staff 
and  accompanied  the  General  on  the  expedition  to  Porto  Rico  by  way  of  Santiago,  Cuba. 

On  July  23,  1898,  while  en  route  to  Porto  Rico,  the  following  order  was  promulgated 
"Major  John  D.  Black,  Chief  Commissary  of  Subsistence,  U.  S.  V.,  is  hereby  appointed  an 
Acting  Assistant  Quartermaster.  He  will  take  charge  of  the  unloading  of  all  the  property 
and  supplies  on  board  the  transports  and  will  see  to  their  proper  distribution  and  storage. 
After  the  transports  are  unloaded  and  ready  for  sea,  he  will  give  the  necessary  orders  direct- 
ing them  to  proceed  to  their  destination."  He  remained  in  Porto  Rico  until  after  the  sign- 
ing of  the  peace  protocol.  On  August  22,  1898,  he  turned  over  to  his  successor  in  office 
all  stores  and  supplies  in  compliance  with  the  following  order:  "Major  .John  D.  Black, 
Chief  Commissary  of  Subsistence  U.  S.  V.  is  hereby  relieved  from  duty  as  Acting  Assistant 
Quartermaster  and  Commissary  of  Subsistence  in  connection  with  the  Porto  Rico  expedition. 
The  Major  General  commanding  appreciates  the  arduous  and  very  efficient  services  rendered 
by  this  officer  in  unloading  troops,  supplies,  etc.,  at  the  ports  of  Guanica  and  Ponce."  He 
then  returned  with  the  general  commanding  to  army  headquarters  in  Washington,  where 
he  remained  until  he  closed  his  connection  with  the  army  by  a  semi-official  trip  to  the 
Philippine  islands.  That  Major  Black's  services  were  appreciated  by  his  commanding 
officer  is  shown  by  the  following,  which  is  a  copy  of  the  original: 
"Headquarters  of  the  Army,  Washington,  November  19,  1898. 
"The  Honorable,  The  Secretary  of  War. 
"Sir: 

"I  have  the  honor  to  recommend  that  the  following  named  officers  be  breveted  as 
indicated  below:  To  be  lieutenant  colonel  of  volunteers.  Major  John  D.  Black,  for  dis- 
tinguished and  valuable  services  as  commissary  of  subsistence  during  the  campaign  in 
Porto  Rico. 

"A"ery  respectfully, 

"Nelson  A.  Miles, 

"Major  General  Commanding. 
"Official: 

"H.  H.  Whitney, 

"Assistant   Adjutant   General." 

There  are  not  many  men  who,  like  Major  Black,  have  gained  brevet  promotion  for 
distinguished  services  in  two  wars.  On  his  arrival  in  the  Philippine  islands  he  found  his  son, 
to  whom  his  visit  was  a  complete  surprise,  as  acting  assistant  chief  surgeon  of  the  expedi- 
tionary forces  to  the  province  of  Cavite.  Captain  Black  had  been  on  detached  service  from 
his  regiment  during  the  mobilization  in  San  Francisco,  returning  to  the  regiment  during 
the  voyage  across  the  Pacific  and  again  being  detached  on  his  arrival  in  the  islands  in  the 
various  capacities  as  assistant  chief  operation  field  hospital  Second  Brigade,  First  Division, 
Eighth  Army  Corps,  during  the  battle  of  Manila  and  until  the  army  occupied  Manila.  He 
was  then  given  charge  of  one  of  the  wards  of  the  First  Division  Hospital,  Eighth  Army  Corps, 
which  position  he  occupied  until  the  breaking  out  of  the  insurrection,  when  he  was  appointed 
chief  of  ambulance  on  the  staff  of  Major  General  Arthur  McArthur  in  command  of  the 
Second  Division,  Eighth  Army  Corps,  and  with  whom  he  remained  until  ordered  on  sick 
leave  to  Japan  in  May,  1899.  Upon  his  return  he  was  ordered  to  report  to  his  regiment 
and  after  three  days  was  again  ordered  on  detached  service  with  the  Fourth  United  States 
Infantry  as  regimental  surgeon  on  the  Morong  campaign.  Upon  the  return  of  that  expedi- 
tion he  was  ordered  with  General  Lawton's  Cavite  expedition.  That  his  services  were 
recognized  on  this  expedition  is  in  evidence  by  the  following  communication  and  extract 
from  the  report  of  the  general  commanding: 

"Headquarters  First  Division,  Eighth  Army  Corps,  Manila,  P.  I.,  December  IS,  1899. 
"Captain  N.  M.  Black,  Assistant  Surgeon,  U.  S.  A. 

"Sir:  I  have  the  honor  to  inform  you  that  the  division  commander.  Major  General 
Henry  W.  Lawton,  U.  S.  Volunteers,  in  his  final  report  of  an  expedition  to  the  province  of 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  933 

Cavite,  Luzon,  P.  I.,  June  10th  to  22nd,  1899,  dated  October  9tli,   1899,  recommended  you 
for  brevet  major  United  States  Army." 

The  following  is  an  extract  from  the  general's  report: 

Cavite   Expedition. 

"I  wish  to  commend  to  your  favorable  notice  Captain  \.  il.  Black,  assistant  surgeon, 
for  very  efficient  service  on   the  battle  field."     (Appendix,  268c.) 
"Very  respectfully, 

"Clarence  E.  Edwards, 

"Lieut.  Col.  47th  infantry,  L'.  S.  V.,  Acting  Asst.  Adjt.  General." 

At  the  conclusion  of  the  Cavite  expedition  Captain  Black  was  ordered  back  to  his 
regiment  and  with  them  returned  to  the  United  States.  Upon  being  mustered  out  of 
service  at  San  Francisco  he  returned  to  Milwaukee,  Wisconsin,  whore  he  took  up  his  former 
practice   and   is   now   a  resident. 

His  official  duties  being  completed,  JIajor  Black  accompanied  the  Xqrth  Dakota  regiment 
on  its  return  to  San  Francisco.  Shortly  thereafter  he  gladly  returned  to  the  home  of  his 
adoption.  He  now  lives  in  semi-retirement  at  Valley  City,  a  most  honored  and  respected 
resident  of  North  Dakota.  He  proudly  wears  the  little  bronze  button  that  proclaims  him  a 
member  of  the  Grand  Army  of  the  Republic  and  he  is  a  past  commander  of  the  post  and 
past  department  commander  of  the  state.  He  is  also  a  member  of  the  Military  Order  of  the 
Loyal  Legion  Minnesota  Commandery.  In  Masonry  he  is  a  past  master  of  the  blue  lodge, 
past  high  priest  of  the  chapter,  past  eminent  commander  of  the  commandery,  and  past 
eminent  grand  commander  of  the  Grand  Commandery,  Knights  Templar,  of  Korth  Dakota. 
He  is  also  a  member  of  the  Mystic  Shrine.  A  gallant  soldier,  he  is  an  equally  splendid 
citizen  in  days  of  peace.  He  travels  extensively  but  still  looks  on  Valley  City  as  his 
home,  having  important  property  interests  there,  but  wherever  he  goes  he  wins  friends, 
for  his  is  an  interesting  personality  and  his  pronounced  characteristics  and  qualities  make 
him  companionable  at  all  times. 


GEORGE   MEADE   REGISTER. 

George  Meade  Register  is  engaged  in  the  general  practice  of  law  at  Bismarck,  where  he 
has  won  distinction  and  prominence  as  an  able  attorney.  He  was  born  at  Houston, 
Delaware,  February  7,  1871,  and  is  a  grandson  of  Elijah  Register,  who  was  also  a  native 
of  that  state  and  served  his  country  as  a  soldier  in  the  War  of  1812.  His  son,  Elijah 
Register,  Jr.,  was  born  in  Maryland  in  the  year  1832  and  wedded  Miss  Cornelia  W.  Jarvis, 
a  native  of  that  state.  They  resided  for  a  long  period  at  Lewes,  Delaware,  where  the  father 
died  in  the  year  1913,  and  where  the  mother  still  makes  her  home.  Their  son,  George  Meade 
Register,  attended  the  public  schools  of  Lewes  and  in  1891  was  graduated  from  St.  Jolui's 
College  at  Annapolis,  Maryland,  with  the  degree  of  Bachelor  of  Arts,  receiving  from  his 
alma  mater  the  Master  of  Arts  degree  in  1894.  When  his  college  course  was  completed  he 
took  up  the  profession  of  teaching,  which  he  followed  for  three  years  in  Maryland  and 
Virginia,  during  which  period  he  devoted  the  hours  that  are  usually  termed  leisure  to  the 
study  of  law.  He  also  pursued  a  course  in  Spragiie  School  of  Law  at  Detroit.  Michigan, 
and  in  the  year  1896  went  to  Bismarck,  North  Dakota,  where  his  brother,  Frank  H.  Register, 
an  attorney,  had  located  in  1883.  George  M.  Register  was  admitted  to  the  bar  of  North 
Dakota  in  1897  and  the  following  year  located  for  practice  at  Williamsport,  this  state, 
where  in  the  fall  of  1898  he  was  elected  states  attorney  for  Emmons  county,  filling  that 
position  for  two  years.  On  the  expiration  of  that  period  he  returned  to  Bismarck  in  1901 
and  in  1902  was  elected  states  attorney  of  Burleigh  county  for  a  period  of  two  years.  Since 
then  he  has  continually  followed  his  profession  in  Bismarck,  devoting  his  attention  to 
general  law  practice,  in  which  he  has  made  steady  progress,  being  now  accorded  a  large  and 
representative  clientage  that  has  connected  him  with  much  important  litigation  tried  in 
the  courts  of  the  state.  He  prepares  his  cases  with  thoroughness  and  care,  his  arguments 
are  clear  and  concise  and  his  logic  is  convincing. 

On  the  14th  of  December,  1898,  in  Bismarck,  Mr.  Register  was  married  to  Miss  Minnie 


934  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

L.  Scott,  who  passed  away  in  February,  1903,  leaving  two  cbildren,  Lavina  L.  and  George  S. 
Mr.  Register  was  again  married  in  June,  1905,  in  Bismarck,  his  second  union  being  with 
Josephine  A.  Pirdj',  by  whom  he  has  a  daughter,  Mary  B. 

Mr.  Register  had  military  training  when  in  St.  John's  College  and  rose  to  the  rank  of 
captain  of  his  company.  In  politics  he  has  always  been  a  republican,  stanch  and  earnest 
in  support  of  his  party  but  has  never  sought  office  outside  the  strict  path  of  his  profession. 
R-aternally  he  is  a  Master  Mason  and  he  is  an  interested  and  active  member  of  the 
Methodist  Episcopal  church,  serving  on  the  official  board  of  McCabe  church,  while  for  ten 
years  he  has  been  Sunday  school  superintendent  in  Bismarck.  His  interests  are  manifest 
along  those  lines  which  work  for  the  uplift  and  benefit  of  the  individual  and  for  the 
improvement  of   the   community. 


PERCY    MORTON    COLE. 


Percy  Morton  Cole,  engaged  in  general  merchandising  at  Kenmare,  is  a  self-made  man 
whose  success  is  attributable  to  his  persistent,  earnest  and  honorable  effort  along  legitimate 
business  lines.  He  was  born  in  Brockville,  Ontario,  Canada,  October  3,  1863,  a  son  of 
Leander  and  Mary  Florence  (Covell)  Cole.  His  father  was  born  in  the  state  of  New  York 
and  was  reared  in  Ogdensburg.  He  took  up  the  occupation  of  farming  and  when  a  young 
man  went  to  Canada,  where  he  engaged  in  general  agricultural  pursuits.  He  there  married 
and  continued  a  resident  of  Canada  until  he  passed  away  at  Algonquin  when  ninety  years 
of  age.  His  w'ife  was  born  in  Ohio  and  in  her  girlhood  went  to  visit  in  Canada,  where  she 
met  and  married  Leander  Cole,  there  continuing  her  residence  until  she  was  called  to  her 
final  rest  at  the  age  of  fifty-four  years. 

Percy  M.  Cole  is  indebted  to  the  public  school  system  of  Canada  for  the  educational 
privileges  he  enjoyed.  He  lived  upon  the  home  farm  until  he  reached  the  age  of  seventeen 
years  and  then  started  with  his  brothers,  James  and  Will  Cole,  for  Lisbon,  North  Dakota, 
in  1880.  The  brothers  established  a  hardware  business  at  that  place  and  Percy  M.  Cole 
entered  their  employ,  but  in  1882  he  removed  to  Ward  county  in  company  with  J.  L.  Colton 
and  at  Burlington  he  was  employed  by  Mr.  Colton  for  a  time.  He  also  worked  on  the 
Gray  Brothers'  cow  ranch  on  the  Mouse  river,  the  largest  ranch  in  North  Dakota,  on  which 
were  herded  twenty  thousand  cows.  Mr.  Cole  acted  as  a  cowboy  on  the  ranch  when 
the  district  was  a  new  one,  just  being  opened  up  to  settlement.  He  left  his  position  there 
to  become  deputy  sheriff  under  the  first  sheriff  of  Ward  county  in  1888.  He  occupied  that 
position  for  four  years  at  a  time  when  the  duties  were  most  arduous  because  the  entire 
countryside  was  wild  and  open,  giving  every  opportunity  for  criminals  to  escape.  He  then 
worked  as  a  clerk  in  the  general  store  of  P.  P.  Lee  at  ICnot  for  three  years  and  later 
became  assistant  manager  at  the  L.  M.  Davis  coal  mines  at  Burlington.  Upon  leaving  the 
mines  he  went  to  Kenmare,  where  in  1897,  in  connection  with  P.  P.  Lee,  he  established  a 
general  store  under  the  firm  style  of  P.  M.  Cole  &  Company,  continuing  actively  in  the 
conduct  of  the  business  in  that  relation  until  1909,  when  he  bought  out  his  partner  and  is 
now  sole  proprietor.  He  has  a  department  store  and  is  conducting  an  extensive  trade.  He 
has  ever  realized  that  satisfied  patrons  are  the  best  advertisement  and  he  has  put  forth 
every  effort  to  please  his  customers.  He  also  became  one  of  the  organizers,  in  connection 
with  J.  M.  Fox,  of  the  Kenmare  National  Bank,  of  which  he  is  now  the  vice  president,  and 
he  and  Mr.  Fox  together  own  seven  town  sites  on  the  new  branch  of  the  Northern  Pacific 
Railroad,  operating  under  the  name  of  the  Smith  Land  Company.  Individually  he  owns 
large  landed  interests  in  Ward  county  and  is  a  director  of  the  First  National  Bank  at  Tolley, 
North  Dakota,  is  vice  president  of  the  Pox  Lumber  Company  at  Kenmare  and  is  interested 
in  various  other  concerns.  In  1911  he  organized  the  Mouse  River  diautauqua  Association, 
of  which  he  is  the  president.  This  association  has  two  hundred  and  ten  acres,  valued  at 
over  fifty  thouasnd  dollars,  on  the  Mouse  river  and  known  as  the  Mouse  River  Park. 

On  the  18th  of  September,  1887,  Mr.  Cole  was  married  to  Miss  .lane  Louden  Miller,  of 
Burlington,  Ward  county,  who  was  born  in  Steubenville,  Ohio,  August  10.  1867,  a  daughter 
of   William   L.    and    Anna    (Morton)    Miller.     Her   father's    birth   occurred    at   Kilmarnock, 


PERCY  U.  COLE 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  937 

Scotland,  and  when  twenty-one  years  of  age  he  came  to  the  new  world,  settling  in 
Stt-ubcnville,  Oliio,  where  he  engaged  in  coal  mining  for  two  years.  He  then  removed  to 
Monmouth,  Illinois,  where  he  purchased  a  coal  mine,  and  later  he  came  to  >Jorth  Dakota, 
where  he  invested  in  coal  mines  at  Burlington.  He  was  thus  identified  with  the  natural 
resources  of  Ward  county  until  1915,  when  he  retired  from  active  business  life,  and  he 
and  his  wife,  who  is  also  a  native  of  Kilmarnock,  Scotland,  are  now  residing  in  California. 
Their  daughter,  Mrs.  Cole,  was  but  a  year  old  when  they  removed  to  Monmouth,  Hlinoia, 
and  she  obtained  her  education  in  the  schools  of  that  city  and  at  Alexis,  Illinois.  She  was 
a  young  lady  of  eighteen  years  when  her  parents  established  their  home  at  Burlington, 
North  Dakota,  and  there  she  gave  lier  hand  in  marriage  to  Percy  M.  Cole.  They  have  become 
the  parents  of  five  children,  James  Lester,  Esther  Grace,  Chester  Arthur,  Ethel  Marion  and 
Anna  Frances. 

Politically  Mr.  Cole  is  a  rejiublican  and  in  Ward  county  served  as  deputy  sheriff  and 
for  two  terms,  from  1910  to  1914,  was  mayor  of  Kenmare.  He  also  represented  his  district 
in  the  state  legislature  in  1903  and  has  done  not  a  little  to  mold  public  thought  and  action 
in  his  district.  He  is  a  consistent  and  faithful  member  of  the  Presbyterian  church  and  an 
exemplary  representative  of  the  Masonic  fraternity.  He  has  passed  through  all  the  chairs 
in  the  local  lodge,  has  taken  the  Scottish  Rite  degrees  at  Grand  Forks  and  is  now  a  member 
of  Kem  Temple  of  the  Mystic  Shrine  at  Grand  Forks.  He  also  has  membership  with  the 
Knights  of  Pythias  and  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows  and  is  very  prominent  in 
the  Benevolent  Protective  Order  of  Elks  at  Minot,  where  he  has  served  as  exalted  ruler.  The 
extent  and  importance  of  his  business  interests,  which  are  carefully,  wisely  and  honorably 
conducted,  make  him  one  of  the  leading  citizens  of  Kenmare  and  the  state.  He  maintains 
an  attractive  town  home  at  Grand  Forks,  but  his  business  interests  call  him  again  and 
again  to  Kenmare,  where  he  is  proprietor  of  one  of  the  largest  mercantile  establishments 
of   the   county   outside   of   Minot. 


ANDREW  GERRARD. 


Andrew  Gerrard,  one  of  the  commissioners  of  Towner  county  and  also  one  of  its  exten- 
sive land  owners,  is  a  resident  of  Bisbee.  He  was  bom  in  Scotland  in  July,  1856,  a  son 
of  Alexander  and  Margaret  (Giles)  Gerrard,  who  were  natives  of  the  land  of  hills  and 
heather.  The  father  was  a  shoemaker  by  trade  and  never  came  to  America,  passing  away 
in  Scotland  in  December,  1915,  at  the  venerable  age  of  eighty-six  years,  while  the  mother 
is  still  living. 

Andrew  Gerrard  spent  his  youthful  days  in  his  native  country  and  after  acquiring  a 
public  school  education  learned  the  blacksmith's  trade,  which  he  followed  in  Scotland  until 
1882,  when,  at  the  age  of  twenty-six  years,  he  crossed  the  Atlantic  to  the  new  world,  living 
for  a  time  in  Ontario,  Canada.  He  afterward  removed  to  Grand  Forks,  North  Dakota, 
where  he  spent  one  year,  and  then  became  a  resident  of  Towner  county,  although  the 
county  had  not  been  organized  or  named  at  that  time  and  the  town  of  Cando  had  just  been 
started.  This  was  in  1883.  He  embarked  in  the  blacksmithing  business  and  conducted  his 
shop  for  seven  years.  In  1888  he  filed  on  land  in  Bisbee  and  after  abandoning  work  at 
his  trade  in  Cando  he  took  up  his  abode  upon  his  farm,  which  he  has  since  cultivated, 
making  it  one  of  the  highly  cultivated  properties  of  the  district.  He  has  bought  more 
land  from  time  to  time  as  his  financial  resources  have  increased  until  he  is  now  the  owner 
of  eight  hundred  and  eighty  acres  of  valuable  farm  property  in  Towner  county.  He  has 
also  become  a  stockholder  and  one  of  the  directors  of  the  First  National  Bank  of  Bisbee. 

On  the  24th  of  October,  1886,  Mr.  Gerrard  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Cclia  Bisbee 
and  they  became  the  parents  of  eleven  children,  two  of  whom  died  in  infancy.  Tliose 
living  are  Maggie,  Isaac,  Andrew,  Charles,  .luanita,  Esther,  Americus,  Ruth  and  Fred. 

In  his  political  views  Mr.  Gerrard  is  an  earnest  republican  and  in  1903  was  elected  to 
the  office  of  county  commissioner  of  Towner  county,  in  which  capacity  he  has  served  for 
thirteen  years,  his  reelection  certainly  indicating  the  value  of  his  service  in  that  connection. 
He  is  a   prominent  Mason,  belonging  to  lodge,  chapter,  commandery  and  shrine,  and  he   is 

Vol.  Ill— 43 


938  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

also  a  member  of  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows  and  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America. 
Both  he  and  his  wife  hold  membership  in  the  Presbyterian  church  and  warm  regard  is 
entertained  for  them  throughout  the  community  in  which  they  have  long  resided,  Mr. 
Gerrard  having  made  his  home  in  Towner  county  for  more  than  a  thii'd  of  a  century. 


P.  A.  ANDERSON. 


P.  A.  Anderson  is  now  proprietor  of  the  Farmers  Cooperative  Store  at  Milton,  which 
is  the  largest  of  its  kind  in  that  section  of  the  state.  He  is  a  native  of  North  Dakota,  his 
birth  occurring  in  Grand  Forks  county,  May  25,  1876,  and  is  a  worthy  representative  of  one 
of  its  honored  pioneer  families,  being  a  son  of  Morris  and  Ingaborg  Anderson,  who  were 
born  in  Christiania,  Norway,  and  were  among  the  first  to  settle  in  Grand  Forks  county, 
locating  there  in  the  early  '70s.  There  the  father  followed  farming  for  many  years,  but  is 
now  living  in  the  city  of  Grand  Forks  at  the  age  of  seventy-six.  His  wife  is  also  living 
and  has  attained  the  age  of  sixty-six  years. 

P.  A.  Anderson  is  the  fourth  in  order  of  bh-th  in  a  family  of  nine  children.  His  early 
life  was  passed  among  pioneer  conditions  when  this  state  was  but  sparsely  settled  and  he 
has  borne  his  part  in  its  upbuilding  and  development.  He  attained  both  the  district  schools 
of  his  native  county  and  the  city  schools  of  Grand  Forks  in  the  acquirement  of  an  education. 
His  fust  employment  was  in  a  furniture  store  in  Grand  Forks,  where  he  remained  three 
years,  and  for  the  same  period  was  connected  with  the  grocery  business.  At  the  end  of  that 
time  he  took  up  a  homestead  near  Minot  and  proved  up  on  the  same.  Subsequently  he 
purchased  a  store  at  McCanna,  which  he  conducted  for  eight  years,  and  on  the  24th  of 
July,  1916,  bought  the  Farmers  Cooperative  Store  at  Milton,  of  which  he  now  has  charge 
and  is  enjoying  an  excellent  trade.  This  store  was  established  about  1910  and  is  in  a  most 
flourishing  condition. 

On  the  17th  of  November,  1903,  at  Grand  Forks,  was  celebrated  the  marriage  of  ilr.  Ander- 
son and  Miss  Mualfred  Christianson,  whose  parents,  Mr.  and  Mrs.  B.  Christianson,  are 
residents  of  Norway.  Two  children  bless  this  union,  namely:  Manford,  born  in  3Iinot, 
Ward  county.  North  Dakota,  in  1907;  and  Yvone,  born  in  Pilot,  Grand  Forks  county, 
February  34,  1916.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Anderson  are  members  of  the  Lutheran  church  and  are 
most  estimable  people.  He  is  also  connected  with  the  Ancient  Order  of  United  \Vorkmen 
and  is  a  republican  in  politics.  His  course  in  life  has  ever  been  such  as  to  command  the  respect 
and  confidence  of  all  with  whom  he  has  been  brought  in  contact  either  in  business  or  social 
aflfairs. 


D.  H.  UGLAND. 


D.  H.  Ugland,  cashier  of  the  Security  Bank  of  Knox,  Benson  county,  has  occupied  his 
present  position  for  a  decade  and  his  close  application  and  earnest,  intelligently  directed 
effort  have  been  an  element  in  the  continued  growth  and  success  of  the  institution.  He 
was  born  in  Goodhue  county,  Minnesota,  in  Februar}',  1880,  a  son  of  Hans  and  Mary 
(Davidson)  Ugland,  the  former  a  native  of  Norway  and  the  latter  of  Wisconsin.  It  was  in 
1861  that  the  father  came  to  the  new  world  and  made  his  way  to  Goodhue  county, 
Minnesota,  which  was  then  a  frontier  district.  He  entered  a  claim  from  the  government 
and  concentrated  his  energies  upon  its  development  and  improvement,  converting  it  into  a 
well  cultivated  farm  ere  he  left  Minnesota  in  1883  to  become  a  resident  of  Ramsey  county, 
North  Dakota.  There  he  again  homesteaded  land  and  to  its  cultivation  and  development  he 
directed  his  energies  until  1901.  In  that  year  he  took  up  his  abode  in  Knox  and  purchased 
the  Security  Bank,  of  which  he  was  the  president  until  his  death.  He  passed  away  in 
May,  1916,  and  is  still  survived  by  his  widow. 

Liberal  educational  opportunities  were  accorded  D.  H.  Ugland,  who  became  a  student  in 
the  State  University  "and  was  thus  thoroughly  qualified  for  life's  practical  and  responsible 
duties.     He   next   engaged   with   his   brother   in   the   implement   business   in    1900   and   was 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  939 

active  in  mercantile  fields  until  1900,  when  lie  entered  the  Security  Bank  as  cashier  and  has 
since  given  his  attention  to  its  management  and  direction.  The  bank  has  a  capital  stock 
of  ten  thousand  dollars  and  its  deposits  amount  to  one  hundred  and  eighty  thousaiid 
dollars.  This,  however,  is  but  one  phase  of  Mr.  Ugland's  business  activity,  which  connects 
him  prominently  with  the  commercial  and  agricultural  as  well  as  the  financial  interests  of 
Xorth  Dakota.  His  keen  discpfcnination  has  enabled  him  to  recognize  and  utilize  opportun- 
ities wliich  others  have  passed  heedlessly  by  and  in  the  management  of  his  affairs  he  has 
attained  substantial  success.  He  is  now  the  owner  of  a  line  of  twelve  elevators  on  the  Soo 
and  Great  Northern  Railroads  and  is  thus  prominently  connected  with  the  grain  trade  of  the 
state.  He  also  owns  eighty-seven  quarter  sections  of  land  in  Benson  and  Pierce  counties, 
embracing  thirteen  thousand  nine  hundred  and  sixty  acres,  all  of  which  he  rents.  In  1901 
he  homesteaded  in  Pierce  county  and  is  still  the  owner  of  the  quarter  section  which  he  thua 
secured.  His  judgment  is  sound,  his  discrimination  keen  and  notable  success  has  followed 
his  enterprise. 

In  December,  1913,  Mr.  Ugland  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Kstella  Mead  and  to 
them  has  been  born  a  son,  Harold  G.,  whose  birth  occurred  October  2,  1915.  The  parents 
are  members  of  tlie  Lutheran  church  and  Mr.  Ugland  belongs  to  various  fraternal  organiza- 
tions, including  the  Elks,  the  Odd  Fellows,  the  Modern  Woodmen  and  the  Royal  Neiglibors. 
His  political  endorsement  has  been  given  to  the  republican  party  since  age  conferred  upon 
him  the  right  of  franchise,  but  the  honors  and  emoluments  of  office  have  had  no  attraction 
for  him  as  he  prefers  to  concentrate  his  attention  and  activities  upon  his  important  and 
growing  business  affairs.  He  is  not  remiss  in  the  duties  of  citizenship  and  his  aid  and 
cooperation  can  always  be  counted  upon  to  support  measures  for  the  general  good.  He 
displays  marked  discernment  in  the  management  of  his  investments  and  throughout  his 
business  career  he  has  ever  had  the  courage  to  venture  where  favoring  opportunity  has 
led  the  way,  while  his  determination  and  even-paced  energy  have  carried  him  into  important 
relations. 


WTLLIAil  I.  LARSON. 


William  I.  Larson,  cashier  of  the  Farmers  &  Merchants  Bank  at  Tioga  and  identified 
with  various  other  business  interests  wliich  constitute  a  source  of  steady  development  and 
progress  in  Williams  county,  was  born  near  Rothsay,  Wilkin  county,  Minnesota,  June  29, 
1884,  a  son  of  Isaac  and  Lisa  Johanna  Larson,  who  were  natives  of  Sweden.  On  coming 
to  the  new  world  they  cast  in  their  lot  with  the  pioneer  settlers  of  Wilkin  county,  where 
they  took  up  their  abode  in  1870.  The  father  was  continuously  and  successfully  engaged 
in  farming  near  Rothsay  to  the  time  of  his  death,  which  occurred  in  1905.  He  served  on 
the  township  and  school  boards  and  his  worth  as  a  citizen  was  widely  acknowledged.  His 
wife  died  on  the  old  home  farm  near  Rothsay  in  1893. 

After  attending  the  district  schools  William  I.  Larson  entered  the  Northwestern 
College  at  Fergus  Falls,  Minnesota,  and  later  attended  a  normal  school  and  business  college 
at  Minneapolis,  being  thus  qualified  by  educational  training  for  life's  practical  and 
responsible  duties.  He  then  embarked  in  the  implement  business  in  connection  with  his 
brother  at  Rothsay,  :Minnesota,  and  later  went  to  Charlson,  North  Dakota,  for  the  North- 
western Securities  Company,  conducting  a  real  estate  and  loan  business  at  that  point  for  tlic 
company  until  1907,  in  which  year  he  removed  to  Ray,  North  Dakota.  There  he  was  made 
assistant  cashier  of  the  First  State  Bank  and  in  1910  he  arrived  in  Tioga  to  accept  the 
position  of  assistant  cashier  of  the  Farmers  &  Merchants  Bank,  with  which  he  has  since 
been  associated,  although  in  the  meantime  he  has  been  promoted  to  the  position  of  cashier. 
He  is  also  the  vice  pn'sident  of  the  Northwestern  Securities  Company,  which  owns  a  number 
of  banks  in  this  state.  He  homesteaded  near  Ray  and  now  owns  farm  lands  in  North 
Dakota,  from  which  he  secures  a  good  income. 

Mr.  Larson  belongs  to  the  Odd  Fellows  lodge  at  Tioga  and  to  the  Modern  Woodmen 
camp  there  and  passed  through  all  the  chairs  of  the  Modern  Woodmen  camp  at  Cliarlson, 
North  Dakota.    In  religious  faith  he  is  a  Baptist,  while  his  political  belief  is  that  of  the 


940  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

democratic  party.  He  has  been  clerk  of  the  school  board  but  has  never  been  ambitious  to 
hold  public  office.  He  is  now  secretary  of  the  Commercial  Club  of  Tioga,  in  which  connection 
he  is  putting  forth  earnest  effort  to  advance  the  welfare  and  progress  of  the  district  in  which 
he  lives  by  extending  its  trade  relations  and  upholding  its  civic  standards. 


FRANK  C.  HARRINGTON. 


Frank  C.  Harrington,  engaged  in  general  farming  on  section  23,  Elm  River  township, 
Traill  county,  was  born  in  Maine,  March  26,  1863,  a  son  of  Charles  and  Sarah  (McCarter) 
Harrington,  both  of  whom  were  members  of  old  New  England  families  and  spent  their  enth'e 
lives  in  that  section  of  the  country. 

Frank  C.  Harrington  acquired  his  education  in  the  common  schools  and  in  the  Thomas- 
ton  (Me.)  high  school.  At  an  early  age  he  became  a  wage  earner,  working  as  a  farm  hand 
when  a  lad  of  but  twelve  years.  From  that  time  forward  he  has  been  dependent  entirely 
upon  his  own  resources  and  his  ability  has  brought  him  prominently  to  the  front,  his  labors 
being  crowned  with  a  measure  of  success  that  places  him  among  the  substantial  residents 
of  his  adopted  county.  In  March,  1882,  when  nineteen  years  of  age,  he  left  his  native  state 
and  came  west  to  North  Dakota,  settling  at  Kelso,  Traill  county,  where  he  was  employed 
at  farm  labor  for  a  year.  In  1883  he  began  farming  on  his  own  account  upon  land  which  he 
rented. 

In  18S7  ]\Ir.  Harrington  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Elizabeth  Johnson,  a  daughter 
of  George  H.  Johnson,  who  was  one  of  the  first  settlers  of  Traill  county,  coming  from 
Canada  to  North  Dakota  in  1872.  For  several  years  he  conducted  a  trading  station  for  the 
Hudson's  Bay  Company  at  Quincy,  Traill  county.  For  one  year  following  his  marriage  Mr. 
Harrington  continued  to  cultivate  rented  land  and  in  1888  purchased  one  hundred  and  sixty 
acres  a  half  mile  south  of  his  present  home  farm,  paying  twenty  dollars  per  acre  for  that 
tract.  He  continued  to  reside  thereon  for  fifteen  years,  after  which  he  removed  to  another 
farm  in  Elm  River  township,  Traill  county,  which  he  had  purchased.  He  remained  there, 
however,  for  only  one  summer,  when  he  became  owner  of  the  farm  upon  which  he  now 
resides,  comprising  two  hundred  and  fifty-two  acres  of  rich  and  productive  land  which  he  has 
brought  under  a  high  state  of  cultivation.  His  farm  methods  are  both  practical  and  pro- 
gressive and  his  labors  have  been  attended  with  excellent  results,  so  that  annually  he 
gathers  good  harvests  which  find  a  ready  sale  upon  the  market. 

To  JNIr.  and  Mrs.  Harrington  have  been  born  five  children,  three  of  whom  survive, 
namely:  Maud,  who  is  manager  of  an  abstract  company  in  Williston,  North  Dakota;  and 
Charlie  and  William,  both  at  home. 

Politically  Mr.  Harrington  is  a  republican  and  has  served  as  clerk  of  the  school  board 
for  seventeen  years,  while  for  eight  or  nine  years  he  was  a  member  of  the  town  board.  He 
is  justly  accounted  one  of  the  substantial  and  well  known  men  of  his  community,  his 
business  enterprise  and  reliability  making  him  one  of  the  substantial  farmers,  while  his 
public-spirited  devotion  to  the  general  good  is  manifest  in  many  ways. 


DAVID  AITKEN. 


David  Aitken,  a  dealer  in  farm  machinery  at  Park  River,  was  born  June  30,  1862,  In 
Forfarshire,  Scotland.  His  father,  John  Aitken,  also  a  native  of  that  country,  worked  as  a 
day  laborer  there  and  remained  in  Scotland  until  his  death  at  the  age  of  seventy  years.  His 
wife,  who  bore  the  maiden  name  of  Mary  Fotheringham,  was  also  born  in  the  land  of  hills 
and  heather  and  there  passed  away  in  1866.     In  their  family  were  four  children. 

David  Aitken  was  only  four  years  of  age  when  his  mother  died.  In  1883,  with  one 
brother  and  two  sisters,  he  came  to  America  at  the  age  of  twenty  years,  arriving  in  Grafton, 
North  Dakota,  in  1883.  There  he  secured  employment  as  a  farm  hand  and  after  two  years 
spent  in  that  connection  he  rented  one  hundred  and  sixty  acres  of  land  in  Fertile  township. 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  941 

Walsh  county,  after  which  he  successfully  cultivated  the  tract  for  four  years.  With  the 
proceedings  of  his  labors  he  purchased  a  quarter  section  two  and  a  half  miles  from  Park 
Kiver  and  still  owns  that  tract  together  with  other  land,  for  he  has  since  made  judicious 
investments  in  real  estate  and  has  now  acquired  considerable  property,  his  holdings  repre- 
senting six  hundred  acres,  all  of  which  he  is  farming.  He  has  continued  to  actively  engagt 
in  general  agricultural  pursuits  from  the  beginning  and  is  regarded  as  one  of  the  leading 
and  progressive  farmers  of  Walsh  county,  his  fields  being  cultivated  according  to  the  most 
advanced  and  progressive  methods.  In  1903  he  removed  to  Park  River  and  entered  into 
the  farm  implement  and  machinery  business,  starting  out  in  a  comparatively  small  way. 
From  a  humble  beginning  he  has  built  up  a  business  of  extensive  proportions,  his  sales 
being  equal  to  those  of  any  other  house  of  a  similar  character  in  Walsh  county.  His 
business  now  amounts  to  considerably  over  one  hundred  thousand  dollars  per  year  and  in 
addition  to  his  Park  River  establishment  he  conducts  three  branch  stores,  one  of  which  is 
located  at  Edinburg  and  the  others  at  Lankin  and  Fairdale.  In  addition  lie  also  owns 
an  entire  section  of  farm  land  in  Saskatchewan,  Canada,  and  a  half  section  at  Fairdale, 
Walsh  county,  and  thus  his  agricultural  interests  are  extensive  and  profitable,  returning 
to  him  a  good  income  for  his  care,  labor  and  supervision. 

In  1892,  at  Park  River,  Mr.  Aitken  was  married  to  Miss  Laura  M.  Burbidge,  who  was 
born  in  Quebec,  Canada,  a  daughter  of  John  and  Isabella  Burbidge.  The  father  is  now 
deceased,  while  the  mother  resides  at  Park  River,  where  she  has  long  made  her  home. 
To  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Aitken  were  born  four  daughters:  Edith,  who  is  now  conducting  a  class 
in  music  at  Park  River;  and  Mary,  Evelyn  and  Mildred,  all  at  home. 

In  politics  ilr.  Aitken  is  a  republican  and  his  religious  faith  is  indicated  by  his  mem- 
bership in  the  First  Presbyterian  church  at  Park  River.  He  belongs  to  the  Masonic  lodge 
and  is  also  connected  with  the  Independent  Order  of  Foresters.  He  also  has  membership 
in  the  Commercial  Club.  When  he  arrived  in  Grafton  his  worldly  possessions  consisted  of 
a  wardrobe  trunk  and  about  thirty  dollars  in  cash.  Since  then  he  has  gradually  and  per- 
sistently worked  his  way  upward,  achieving  success  through  earnest,  persistent  effort,  his 
business  methods  being  at  all  times  honorable  and  upright,  there  being  no  esoteric  phase  in 
all  of  his  career. 


ANDREW  STEPHEN  BACKUS,  M.  D. 

Dr.  Andrew  Stephen  Backus,  actively  engaged  in  medical  practice  at  Wales,  is  of 
Canadian  birth,  his  life  record  having  begun  at  Dutton,  Ontario,  September  22,  1881.  His 
father,  William  Henry  Backus,  was  born  in  that  country  representing  a  family  long  resident 
there  but  of  English  descent.  In  1800  Leslie  Patterson  and  his  sisters  left  Fermanagh, 
Ireland,  for  Erie,  Pennsylvania,  and  there  met  Joseph  Backus,  the  great  grandfather  of  Dr. 
Backus,  who  came  from  Vermont,  and  .lohn  Pearie  from  Rhode  Island.  In  1S09  Leslie 
Patterson  married  Lydia  Backus  and  with  his  widowed  sister,  Mrs.  Mary  Story  and  her 
son  and  daughter,  together  with  .John  Pearce,  who  had  married  Fannie  Patterson,  came  to 
Canada.  On  July  4,  1809,  they  all  settled  about  five  miles  west  of  Port  Talbot  on  land 
formerly  owned  by  Colonel  Talbot,  who  had  received  large  grants  from  the  king.  Soon 
afterward  Stephen  Backus,  son  of  Joseph  and  grandfather  of  Dr.  Backus,  arrived  in  that 
locality  and  there  wedded  Annie  Story.  The  families  suflered  alf  of  the  hardships  and 
privations  of  pioneer  life  while  aiding  materially  in  developing  an  unbroken  forest  country 
into  a  beautiful  farming  district.  There  still  stands  the  old  church  in  which  the  families 
worshipped  and  which  has  been  open  for  divine  services  for  seventy-five  years,  and  not  far 
distant  is  the  burying  ground  where  were  interred  members  of  the  family.  In  the  vicinity 
of  Port  Talbot  and  for  many  miles  in  all  directions  the  descendants  of  the  Backus.  Patterson 
and  Pearce  families  reside,  and  are  enterprising  and  successful  people.  They  still  maintain 
the  old  church  and  the  burying  ground,  both  places  being  sacred  to  the  descendants. 

One  son  of  the  family.  Dr.  William  James  Backus,  is  a  prominent  physician  and  surgeon 
of  Stockton,  California,  and  the  youngest  of  the  family  is  Dr.  John  Edward  Backus,  practic- 
ing in  Saskatoon,  Canada. 


942  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

Dr.  Backus,  the  third  of  six  children,  pursued  the  studies  taught  in  the  public  and  high 
schools  of  Button  and  afterward  prepared  for  the  practice  of  medicine  as  a  student  in 
Trinity  Medical  College,  the  medical  department  of  Toronto  University,  which  conferred 
upon  him  the  M.  D.  and  C.  M.  degi-ees  at  his  graduation  in  1905.  He  afterward  had  the 
benefit  of  practice  as  an  interne  at  St.  Michaels  and  Riverside  Hospitals  at  Bullalo,  New 
York,  and  then  spent  a  year  as  surgeon  at  San  Fiancisco  in  the  employ  of  the  Pacific  Mail 
Steamship  Company.  He  next  entered  upon  private  practice  at  Wales,  North  Dakota,  in 
1908  and  in  the  intervening  period  has  won  a  liberal  patronage.  He  is  a  member  of  the 
Grand  Forks  Medical  Association  and  the  North  Dakota  State  Medical  Association.  More- 
over he  is  an  earnest  and  discriminating  student  of  the  science  of  medicine  and  surgery, 
accepting  those  views  and  ideas  which  are  most  worth  while  in  practice.  In  a  word  he  is  a 
man  of  pronounced  ability  and  performs  the  onerous  duties  devolving  upon  him  with  a 
marked  sense  of  conscientious  obligation. 

In  1908  Dr.  Backus  was  married  in  Grand  Forks  to  Miss  C.  V.  Maude  Brown,  a  native 
of  Toronto,  Canada,  and  a  daughter  of  Mr.  and  IVIrs.  W.  T.  Brown,  of  an  old  Canadian 
family.  Her  father  was  a  prominent  merchant  of  Toronto,  but  is  now  living  retired.  Dr. 
and  Mrs.  Backus  hold  membership  in  the  Episcopal  church  and  are  highly  esteemed  in  the 
community  in  which  they  reside. 


M.  0.  LONG. 


M.  0.  Long,  a  resident  of  Egeland,  Towner  county,  where  he  is  filling  the  position  of 
manager  with  the  Woodworth  Elevator  Company,  was  born  in  Indiana,  April  4,  1883,  his 
parents  being  W.  F.  and  Susanna  (Peters)  Long,  who  were  also  natives  of  the  Hoosier 
state.  The  father  was  a  farmer  by  occupation  and  followed  that  pursuit  in  Indiana  lintil 
1893,  when  he  arrived  in  Towner  county,  North  Dakota,  and  filed  on  land  which  he  afterward 
sold.  He  then  bought  land  five  miles  northeast  of  Cando  which  he  improved  find  developed 
and  has  since  owned,  bringing  the  farm  under  a  high  state  of  cultivation.  His  wife  passed 
away  in   March,   1891. 

M.  0.  Long  was  reared  and  educated  in  Indiana  and  North  Dakota  and  in  his  youthful 
days  became  familiar  with  all  the  experiences  of  frontier  life  in  this  state.  He  continued 
with  his  parents  until  he  reached  the  age  of  seventeen  years  and  then  started  out  to  learn 
the  printer's  trade,  working  on  the  Cando  Herald.  He  also  attended  school  as  opportunity 
ofl'ered  and  likewise  worked  at  his  trade,  which  he  has  followed  much  of  his  life.  On  the 
15th  of  February,  1916,  he  issued  the  first  number  of  the  Egeland  Enterprise,  of  which  he 
has  since  been  owner  and  proprietor.  In  1912  he  also  accepted  the  position  of  manager  for 
the  Woodworth  Elevator  Company  at  Egeland  and  has  since  conducted  the  business  for 
that  corporation,  carefully,  wisely  and  successfully  directing  both  that  and  his  publishing 
interests. 

In  June,  1905,  Mr.  Long  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Nora  Krisher  and  to  them 
have  been  born  five  children:  Mildred,  born  April  3,  1906;  Margaret,  November  4,  1907; 
Rowena,  December  15,  1910;  Floy,  May  19,  1913;  and  Wilma  Frances,  whose  birth  occurred 
in   February,    1916. 

Mr.  and  jMrs.  Long  hold  membership  in  the  Presbyterian  church  and  he  also  has 
membership  relations  with  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America,  the  Yeomen  and  the  Royal 
Neighbors.  Politically  he  is  an  earnest  republican  and  has  been  called  to  fill  various  positions 
of  public  trust,  serving  for  four  years  on  the  town  board  and  for  two  years  as  mayor  of 
the  city.  He  has  also  been  head  of  the  police  department  and  chief  of  the  fire  department 
and  he  is  president  of  the  Commercial  Club.  It  seems  almost  tautological  in  this  connection 
to  enter  into  any  statement  showing  him  to  be  a  man  of  broad  public  spirit,  for  this 
has  been  shadowed  forth  between  the  lines  of  this  review.  He  stands  loyally  for  all  that 
he  believes  to  be  for  the  best  interest  of  the  community  and  to  him  is  largely  due  the 
credit  for  building  both  the  schoolhouses  in  Egeland.  The  second  one  erected  is  one  of  the 
best  schoolhouses  in  the  state  and  the  town  is  very  proud  of  it.  Mr.  Long  is  certainly  to 
be  commended  for  his  [lublic  spirit  and  his  devotion  to  the  general  good  has  been  manifest 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  943 

in  many  tangible,  helpful  ways.  Through  personal  effort  and  through  the  columns  of  his 
paper  he  does  much  to  advance  the  general  good,  being  at  all  times  a  man  of  action  rather 
than   of   theory. 


JAMES  HACKNEY. 


James  Hackney,  of  New  Kockford,  is  a  traveling  auditor  and  organizer  for  the  Ely 
Salyards  Company  of  Minneapolis.  A  Canadian  by  birth,  his  natal  day  was  May  15,  1860, 
and  the  place  of  his  nativity  Goderich,  Ontario.  His  parents,  George  D.  and  Ann  (McKenzie) 
Hackney,  were  both  natives  of  Scotland.  They  went  to  Canada  in  childhood  with  their 
respective  parents  and  there  the  father  followed  the  occupation  of  farming  until  1880, 
when  he  ei-ossed  the  border  into  the  United  States,  becoming  a  resident  of  Bulialo,  North 
Dakota,  where  he  carried  on  general  agricultural  pursuits  for  eighteen  or  twenty  years, 
meeting  with  fair  success  in  liis  undertakings.  About  1900  he  removed  to  Idaho  and  at  the 
present  time    (1916)   is  living  retired  in  Post  Falls,  that  state. 

James  Hackney  acquired  a  common  school  education  in  Ontario  but  when  a  lad  of 
twelve  years  began  earning  his  own  living.  Ambitious  to  do  something  for  himself,  at  an 
early  age  he  ran  away  from  home  and  for  some  years  worked  as  a  farm  hand.  In  1883 
he  came  to  the  United  States,  settling  in  Bulfalo,  North  Dakota,  and  two  years  later  he 
made  permanent  location  in  Eddy  county,  establishing  his  residence  on  a  homestead  six 
miles  east  of  New  Rockford.  His  place  adjoined  the  present  town  site  of  Dundas.  He  at 
once  began  to  develop  and  improve  liis  property  and  resided  thereon  until  1908,  when  he 
removed  to  New  Rockford  and  became  identilicd  with  the  grain  business  as  manager  of  the 
elevator  of  the  Ely  Salyards  Company.  For  the  past  si,\;  years  he  has  represented  that 
company  on  the  road  as  solicitor  and  traveling  auditor,  making  a  most  excellent  record  in 
that  position  of  responsibility.  The  company  is  engaged  in  the  business  of  promoting  and 
financing  farmers'  elevator  companies  throughout  the  state  and  in  this  connection  Mr. 
Hackney  organizes  new  companies  and  institutes  the  business  at  various  points.  Believing 
in  the  future  of  North  Dakota,  he  has  made  investment  in  farm  property  and  is  now  the 
owner  of  six  hundred  and  forty  acres  of  land  in  Eddy  county,  in  addition  to  which  he  has 
one  hundred  and  sixty  acres  in  Wisconsin.  From  his  farm  holdings  he  derives  a  gratifying 
and  substantial  annual  income  which  adds  materially  to  the  salary  which  he  receives  in  his 
present  important   position. 

In  1884  Mr.  Hackney  was  joined  in  wedlock  to  Miss  Marj-  J.  Wren,  of  Hensall,  Ontario. 
Fraternally  he  is  identified  with  Century  Lodge,  No.  60,  A.  F.  &  A.  M.,  of  which  he  is  a. 
charter  member;  and  Jamestown  Lodge,  No.  995,  B.  P.  0.  E.  In  his  business  career  he 
displays  notable  enterprise,  activity  and  insight  into  conditions.  He  possesses  initiative 
and  that  quality  of  awareness  which  enables  him  to  recognize  opportunities  and  utilize 
them  for  the  benefit  of  the  company  which  he  represents,  while  at  the  same  time  they 
constitute  an  element  of  business  development  in  the  localities  where  he  operates. 


HENRY  FREDERICK  KAMMANN,  M.  D. 

Dr.  Henry  Frederick  Kammann,  proprietor  of  the  Hannah  Hospital  and  well  knmvn  as 
an  active  and  successful  practitioner  of  medicine  and  surgery  at  Hannah,  Cavalier  county,  took 
up  his  abode  there  on  the  1st  of  August,  1912,  and  in  the  intervening  period  has  become  well 
established  as  a  representative  practitioner.  He  was  bom  August  23,  1886,  in  Cleveland, 
Wisconsin,  and  while  he  has  reached  the  age  of  but  thirty  years  he  has  already  attained  a 
reputation  which  many  a  man  of  twice  his  years  might  well  envy.  His  father,  Henry 
Frederick  Kammann,  also  a  native  of  Wisconsin,  is  of  German  descent  and  a  son  of  Henry 
Frederick  Kammann.  Sr.,  who  in  18.'i9  came  from  the  fatherland  to  the  new  world,  at  the 
age  of  seven  years,  in  company  with  friends.  His  father  had  been  killed  in  the  war  with 
Denmark  and  thus   left  an  orphan,  Henry  F.   Kammann,  grandfather  of   our  subject,   was 


944  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

brought  by  friends  to  the  United  States.  They  landed  at  New  Orleans  and  thence  came  up 
the  Mississippi  river,  proceeding  first  to  iMinneapolis  and  tlience  to  Cleveland,  Wisconsin,  where 
the  grandfather  was  reared.  He  became  an  agriculturist  near  Cleveland  and  there  he  married 
and  reared  his  family.  He  is  still  living  in  that  locality,  where  for  many  years  he  and  hia 
son,  Henry  F.  Kammann  II,  were  successfully  identified  with  agricultural  pursuits.  The 
latter  is  now  a  resident  of  Twin  Falls,  Idaho.  The  grandfather  is  a  Civil  war  veteran,  serving 
with  a  Wisconsin  regiment  in  defense  of  the  Union.  Henry  F.  Kammann  H  was  united  in 
marriage  to  Miss  Hulda  H.  Ochs,  who  is  of  German  descent,  a  daughter  of  Julius  Ochs,  who 
on  emigrating  from  Germany  to  the  United  States  settled  at  Sheboygan,  Wisconsin.  To 
the  parents  of  Dr.  Kammann  have  been  born  four  children:  Henry  Frederick  of  this  review; 
Julius,  who  occupies  the  old  homestead  and  is  conducting  one  of  the  model  farms  and  dairies 
at  Cleveland,  Wisconsin ;  Mathilda,  the  wife  of  Dr.  Wilbert  Burke,  a  practicing  dentist  of  Twin 
Falls,  Idaho;  and  Alvin,  a  Presbyterian  clergyman,  who  was  graduated  from  the  ^McCormick 
Seminary  in  Chicago. 

Dr.  Kammann  spent  his  early  life  to  the  age  of  sixteen  years  upon  the  home  farm  and 
acquired  his  primary  education  in  the  public  and  high  schools  of  Sheboygan,  Wisconsin,  after 
which  he  entered  the  Valparaiso  University  at  Valparaiso,  Indiana,  winning  the  Bachelor  of 
Science  degree  upon  his  graduation  with  the  class  of  1906.  He  then  began  preparation  for  a 
professional  career  as  a  student  in  the  Chicago  College  of  Medicine  &  Surgery,  where  he 
completed  his  course  in  1910.  Following  his  graduation  he  served  as  interne  in  various  lead- 
ing hospitals  of  California  and  thus  gained  broad  and  valuable  experience  of  a  most  practical 
character.  He  entered  upon  the  private  practice  of  his  profession  in  German  Valley,  Illinois, 
and  there  remained  until  the  1st  of  August,  1913,  when  he  arrived  in  Hannah,  Korth  Dakota, 
to  take  charge  of  the  Hannah  Hospital,  which  he  has  since  ably  conducted.  The  hospital  was 
established  by  Dr.  William  R.  Corey  and  Dr.  Kammann  is  the  third  physician  in  charge.  The 
institution  has  accommodations  for  ten  patients  and  is  modern  in  every  detail.  It  is  the  only 
hospital  in  this  section  and  is  liberally  patronized.  The  work  there  represents  the  most 
scientific  ideas  of  modern  surgery  and  excellent  results  have  attended  the  operations  which  Dr. 
Kammann  has  performed. 

On  the  2d  of  November,  1909,  at  Chilton,  Wisconsin,  occurred  the  marriage  of  Dr. 
Kammann  and  Miss  Erna  Alves,  a  native  of  that  place  and  a  representative  of  an  old 
Wisconsin  family.  Her  parents,  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Herman  Alves,  are  still  residents  of  Chilton. 
Two  children  have  been  born  to  Dr.  and  Mrs.  Kammann :  Henry  Frederick,  who  was  born  at 
Hannah,  December  4,  1912;  and  lone  Esther,  born  September  7,  1914. 

Politically  Dr.  Kammann  is  a  republican  and  fraternally  he  is  connected  with  the  Masons, 
in  which  he  has  attained  high  rank,  being  now  a  member  of  the  Mystic  Shrine.  He  also  belongs 
to  the  Odd  Fellows,  while  his  religious  faith  is  indicated  by  his  membership  in  the  Presbyterian 
church.  His  youthful  days  were  spent  upon  the  farm  and  through  the  savings  from  his 
eai-nings  he  provided  the  money  necessary  for  his  university  education.  He  thus  displayed  the 
elemental  strength  of  his  character  and  the  same  spirit  of  enterprise,  laudable  ambition  and 
perseverance  has  characterized  his  later  life.  He  belongs  to  the  Grand  Forks  Medical  Society 
and  the  American  Medical  Association  and  the  proceedings  of  those  bodies  keep  him  in  touch 
with  the  trend  of  modern  professional  thought,  research  and  investigation. 


T.   C.   HOCKRIDGE. 


T.  C.  Hockridge  is  a  retired  river  man  and  farmer  residing  in  Hunter  and  at  the 
present  time  is  serving  as  a  member  of  the  board  of  county  commissioners  of  Cass  counvy. 
He  has  a  wide  and  favorable  acquaintance,  his  many  substantial  and  sterling  qualities 
gaining  him  a  firm  hold  upon  the  regard  of  his  fellow  townsmen.  Mr.  Hockridge  is  a  Cana- 
dian by  birth.  He  was  born  in  Toronto,  Canada,  on  the  31st  of  September,  1851,  and  is  a 
son  of  Richard  and  Elizabeth  (Ormrod)  Hockridge,  the  former  a  native  of  Barnstaple, 
England,  and  the  latter  of  Cumberland.  In  their  childhood  days  the  parents  crossed  the 
Atlantic  with   their  respective   parents  to   Ontario,   Canada,   where  they   settled   in   pioneer 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  945 

times  and  there  resided  for  many  years.  The  father  died  in  that  locality,  after  which  the 
mother  came  to  North  Dakota  and  made  her  home  with  her  son. 

Pursuing  his  early  education  in  the  common  schools,  T.  C.  Hockridge  afterward  entered 
Ingersol  (Ontario)  high  school  and  at  the  age  of  eighteen  j'ears  engaged  in  the  steamboat 
service  of  the  Mississippi  river,  his  first  position  being  that  of  watchman.  From  that 
position  he  worked  his  way  steadily  upward,  winning  one  promotion  after  another  until 
he  became  captain,  being  master  of  a  vessel  for  a  period  of  a  quarter  of  a  century.  He 
became  one  of  the  best  known  river  men  on  the  Upper  Mississippi,  having  a  wide  acquaint- 
ance at  various  ports.  In  189S  he  retired  from  the  river  service  and  turned  his  attention  to 
farming,  purchasing  a  tract  of  land  in  Arthur  township,  Cass  county,  on  which  he  resided 
for  fifteen  years,  during  which  period  he  converted  the  tract  into  richly  cultivated  fields 
that  annually  returned  him  substantial  golden  harvests.  At  length  feeling  that  his  capital 
was  sufficient  to  warrant  his  retirement  from  active  business,  he  sold  his  farm  in  the  spring 
of  1913  and  removed  to  Hunter,  where  he  now  makes  his  home,  enjoying  there  a  period  of 
well  earned  rest. 

Mr.  Hockridge  was  married  July  8,  1884,  to  Miss  Frances  Suelgrove,  of  Ingersol, 
Ontario.     The  three  children  born  to  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Hockridge  are  all  deceased. 

In  his  political  views  Mr.  Hockridge  is  an  earnest  republican  and  at  the  November  elec- 
tion of  1914  was  chosen  a  member  of  the  board  of  county  commissioners,  in  which  position 
he  is  now  serving.  While  he  is  not  now  actively  engaged  in  business  he  is  one  of  the  stock- 
holders of  the  Farmers  Elevator  Company  of  Arthur,  which  he  aided  in  organizing  and  with 
which  he  has  since  been  connected  as  a  member  of  the  board  of  directors.  Fraternally  he  is 
a  representative  of  Hunter  Lodge,  No.  62,  F.  &  A.  M.;  Casselton  Chapter,  No.  2,  R.  A.  M.; 
Auvergne  Commandery,  No.  1,  K.  T.  of  Fargo;  and  El  Zagal  Temple,  A.  A.  O.  N.  M.  S. 
He  also  has  membership  in  Chester  Lodge,  No.  55,  I.  0.  O.  F.  of  Chester,  Illinois,  with  which 
he  has  been  identified  for  thirty-five  years.  He  and  his  wife  worship  at  the  Presbyterian 
church  and  they  are  greatly  esteemed  in  the  community,  being  people  of  the  highest  respec- 
tability, possessing  sterling  traits  of  character  which  win  for  them  warm  and  enduring  regard. 
Captain  Hockridge  has  led  a  most  active,  useful  and  busy  life  and  certainly  merits  the 
rest  which  has  now  come  to  him. 


HENRY  E.  WILDFAKG. 


Henry  E.  Wildfang,  a  prominent  business  man  of  Sterling,  now  serving  as  assistant 
cashier  of  the  Sterling  State  Bank,  was  born  on  the  14th  of  December,  1S90,  in  Battle 
Cieek,  Iowa,  a  son  of  Marcus  and  Marie  Wildfang,  who  were  of  German  birth.  It  was 
about  1880  that  they  became  residents  of  Battle  Creek  and  in  that  locality  the  father 
following  farming  for  some  years  but  for  the  past  seventeen  years  has  been  traveling 
in  Europe,  where  he  is  at  the  present  time.  The  mother  died  when  her  son  Henry  E. 
was  quite  young,  leaving  two  children,  the  elder  of  whom  is  John  F.,  now  a  farmer  of 
^IcKenzie,  Burleigh  county.  North  Dakota. 

In  the  state  of  his  nativity  Henry  E.  Wildfang  passed  the  first  fifteen  years  of  his 
life  and  acquired  his  education  in  the  graded  schools  of  Denison,  Iowa,  after  which  he 
was  employed  in  a  general  store  in  that  city  until  coming  to  North  Dakota  in  1905. 
Here  he  secured  a  position  with  the  McKenzie  Mercantile  Company  of  McKenzie  and 
remained  with  them  for  four  years.  Later  he  was  with  the  Goodrich-Call  Lumber  Com- 
pany of  the  same  place  for  two  years  and  a  half,  and  at  the  end  of  that  time  entered  upon 
his  present  duties  as  assistant  cashier  of  the  Sterling  State  Bank  at  Sterling,  of  which  he 
is  now  a  stockliolder  and  director.  This  bank  was  organized  in  1907,  its  first  olTicers 
being  E.  J.  Curtin,  president;  W.  J.  Dwyer,  vice  president;  and  E.  L.  Amundsen,  cashier, 
but  at  present  C.  B.  Little,  of  Bismarck,  is  serving  as  president;  p.  P.  Bliss,  of  McKen- 
zie, as  vice  president;  H.  P.  Goddard.  of  Bismarck,  as  cashier;  H.  E.  Wildfang,  assist- 
ant cashier;  and  D.  C.  Pondexter,  teller.  Tlie  corporation  does  a  general  banking  and 
insurance  business  and  it  has  a  capital  of  twelve  thousand  five  hundred  dollars  and 
a    surplus    of    five    thousand    five    hundred    dollars.      It    is    one    of    the    most    substantial 


946  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

financial  institutions  of  the  county  and  is  doing  an  excellent  business  for  a  bank  of 
its  size.  Mr.  Wildfang  is  engaged  in  farming  on  about  a  section  of  land  near  Sterling 
and  is  interested  in  other  enterprises,  being  a  stockholder  and  treasurer  of  the 
Farmers  Equity  Elevator  Company  of  Sterling  and  manager  of  the  Excelsior  Cj'cle 
Company  of  the  same  place,  handling  Ford  and  Oakland  automobiles. 

On  the  3d  of  May,  1915,  was  celebrated  the  marriage  of  Mr.  Wildfang  and  Miss  Bessie 
L.  Roth,  a  native  of  McKenzie,  and  they  now  have  a  little  son,  Henry  R.,  born  May  17, 
1916.  Mr.  Wildfang  is  quite  prominent  in  fraternal  organizations,  being  a  member  of  the 
Masonic  lodge  at  Bismarck;  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America  and  the  Independent  Order 
of  Odd  Fellows  at  McKenzie;  and  the  Homesteaders  at  large.  By  his  ballot  he  supports 
the  men  and  measures  of  the  republican  party  and  he  takes  quite  an  active  part  in  local 
politics,  serving  as  central  committeeman.  He  has  been  clerk  of  the  township  board  and 
also  clerk  of  the  school  board.  No  trust  reposed  in  him  has  ever  been  betrayed,  whether 
of  a  public  or  private  nature  and  he  ranks  high  among  the  progressive  young  business 
men  of  Burleigh  county. 


WYLIE  NIELSON. 


Wylie  Nielson,  a  respected  and  valued  resident  of  Valley  City,  was  born  in  Edinburgh, 
Scotland,  January  11,  1846,  a  son  of  James  and  Eliza  (Wylie)  Nielson,  who  were  also 
natives  of  the  land  of  hills  and  heather.  In  the  maternal  line  the  ancestry  can  be  traced 
back  to  the  time  of  William  the  Conqueror  and  even  before  that  period,  when  representa- 
tives of  the  family  were  landholders  and  people  of  great  importance.  The  family  tree,  made 
by  George  Nielson,  the  eldest  brother  of  Wylie  Nielson,  covers  several  large  sheets  of 
blue  print,  on  which  appear  the  names  of  many  men  and  women  of  prominence.  James 
Nielson  was  a  member  of  the  town  council  of  Edinburgh  and  was  otherwise  prominent 
in  his  city.  He  was  married  November  22,  1831,  and  had  a  family  of  six  sons  and  two 
daughters. 

Wylie  Nielson,  the  sixth  in  order  of  birth,  attended  school  in  Edinburgh  until  he 
reached  the  age  of  sixteen  years,  when  in  1863  the  father  came  with  the  family  to  the 
new  world,  settling  at  Hamilton,  Ontario,  Canada.  There  he  engaged  in  the  baking  busi- 
ness until  his  death,  which  occurred  in  1876,  when  he  was  seventy-six  years  of  age.  His 
widow  survived  him  for  twelve  years  and  passed  away  in  1888  at  the  age  of  seventy-six. 
Their  son  Wylie  after  becoming  a  resident  of  Hamilton  engaged  in  clerking  in  a  grocery 
store  and  in  1870  removed  to  Detroit,  Michigan,  where  he  spent  two  years.  In  the  spring 
of  1872  he  became  a  resident  of  Jackson,  that  state,  and  there  remained  for  eight  years, 
during  which  period  he  conducted  a  grocery  store  on  his  own  account.  In  October,  1878, 
he  made  a  trip  to  North  Dakota  and  filed  on  a  tree  claim  and  preemption  twelve  miles 
northwest  of  Valley  City,  in  Stewart  township,  which  was  named  in  honor  of  his  father- 
in-law,  who  filed  on  land  at  the  same  time.  Mr.  Nielson  returned  to  Jackson,  where  he 
continued  in  business  until  1886  and  then  disposed  of  his  commercial  interests  at  that 
place  in  order  to  take  up  his  permanent  abode  in  North  Dakota.  He  then  purchased 
railroad  land,  which  was  the  first  railroad  land  sold  in  the  township.  In  the  spring  of 
1879  he  had  visited  the  state  and  had  made  arrangements  for  having  his  place  cultivated, 
one  hundred  and  sixty  acres  being  planted  to  wheat  and  oats,  bringing  to  him  a 
large  crop,  his  wheat  yielding  twenty-eight  bushels  to  the  acre  at  an  average  weight  of 
sixty-three  pounds  per  bushel.  In  1915  the  same  land  produced  thirty-four  bushels  of 
Marcus  wheat  to  the  acre,  the  increase  being  due  to  scientific  methods  of  development. 
Mr.  Nielson  located  his  family  on  his  farm  and  continued  its  cultivation  for  a  number  of 
years,  after  which  he  removed  to  Valley  City,  there  to  spend  the  winter  months  and  pro- 
vide his  children  with  the  excellent  advantages  offered  in  the  city  schools.  He  erected  a 
modern  residence  and  has  made  Valley  City  his  place  of  permanent  abode.  However,  he 
still  owns  and  operates  his  farm  lands,  comprising  eleven  hundred  acres,  devoted  to  diver- 
sified farming,  and  the  management  of  his  business  affairs  has  brought  him  notable 
success. 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  947 

Oil  the  9tli  of  April,  1873,  llr.  Xielson  wedded  Miss  Alary  Halliduy  Stewart,  wUo  was 
born  near  Glasgow,  Scotland,  a  daughter  of  James  Stewart,  who,  as  previously  mentioned, 
■was  a  pioneer  settler  of  Barnes  county.  Their  daughter,  Minnie  J.,  after  graduating  from 
the  public  schools  of  Valley  City,  attended  the  University  of  North  Dakota,  at  Grand 
Forks,  afterward  spending  "a  year  in  the  Michigan  State  University  at  Ann  Arbor  and 
later  attended  the  University  of  Chicago.  Taking  up  the  profession  of  teaching,  she 
became  instructor  of  science  in  the  Valley  City  Stale  Xormal  and  was  thus  serving  when 
elected  county  superintendent  of  schools,  which  position  she  has  since  filled,  and  is  again 
a  candidate  for  the  office  without  opposition.  She  is  also  a  member  of  the  state  board 
of  education  and  is  very  prominent  in  club  circles,  having  just  completed  her  fourth  year 
as  president  of  the  North  Dakota  Federation  of  Woman's  Clubs,  which  is  the  limit  of 
service  in  that  office.  James  W.,  the  second  member  of  the  Nielson  family,  is  mentioned 
on  another  page  of  this  work.  Hazel  Belle  after  graduating  from  the  public  schools  of 
Valley  Qty  and  the  XaUey  City  State  Normal  entered  the  University  of  North  Dakota  and 
is  now  a  teacher  in  the  Fargo  high  sciiool.  Previously  she  tauglit  in  Valley  City,  while 
in  the  State  University  she  was  the  first  lady  elected  on  the  state  board  of  control  of 
athletics.  Mrs.  Nielson  is  also  well  known  in  club  circles  and  is  a  most  charitable  and 
public-spirited   woman. 

Mr.  Nielson  is  a  member  of  the  Odd  Fellows  lodge.  He  has  always  avoided  political 
ofBce  yet  lias  taken  an  active  interest  in  public  affairs.  He  took  a  stalwart  stand  in 
support  of  the  open  shipping  of  wheat,  the  farmers  having  heretofore  to  sack  their  wheat 
while  the  elevators  shipped  the  wheat  loose.  He  has  always  stood  for  those  things  which 
are  for  the  benefit  of  the  state  and  is  a  man  of  high  character,  a  devoted  husband  and  father 
and  a  good  citizen. 


HAERY  N.  TUaCER. 


Harry  N.  Tucker,  residing  at  Courtenay,  is  a  recognized  leader  in  politics  in  Stutsman 
county,  his  opinions  carrying  great  weight  in  the  councils  of  the  progressive  republican 
party.  He  came  to  North  Dakota  from  the  east,  his  birth  having  occurred  in  Greenville, 
Pennsylvania,  March  14,  1866,  his  parents  being  John  and  Lueina  (Whitney)  Tucker,  the 
former  a  native  of  Virginia  and  the  latter  of  Vermont.  In  their  family  were  four  chil- 
dren: George,  who  is  now  a  resident  of  Courtenay;  Anna,  the  deceased  wife  of  Leonard  G. 
Heberling,  of  Cleveland,  Ohio;  Elizabeth,  the  wife  of  William  Galivan,  who  at  one  time 
resided  in  Cleveland,  North  Dakota,  and  afterward  removed  to  Alberta,  Canada,  where  he 
passed   away;   and  Harry  N. 

In  the  schools  of  his  native  state  Harry  N.  Tucker  pursued  his  education  until  he  reached 
the  age  of  eighteen  years,  when  in  1884  he  left  home  and  came  to  the  west,  settling  in  Stuts- 
man county,  where  ho  took  up  one  hundred  and  sixty  acres  of  government  land,  meeting 
the  law's  requirements  as  to  occupancy  and  improvement,  so  that  in  due  time  he  received 
his  title  to  the  property.  He  lived  upon  and  developed  that  farm  for  eight  and  a  half 
years,  but  at  length  determined  to  devote  his  attention  to  agricultural  pursuits  and  on 
the  ITth  of  November,  1893,  arrived  in  Courtenay,  where  he  established  an  elevator, 
which  was  the  first  building  in  the  town  and  was  called  the  East  Elevator.  He  transaetod 
the  first  business  wlihh  was  carried  on  in  the  town  and  from  that  time  to  the  present 
has  been  closely  associated  with  its  commercial  development  and  improvement,  continuing 
to  operate  the  elevator  for  four  years.  In  1895  he  entered  into  partnership  with  L.  O. 
Larson  under  the  firm  name  of  Larson  &  Tucker  for  the  sale  of  farm  implements  and  that 
business  relation  was  maintained  until  January  1,  1898,  when  Mr.  Tucker  sold  out  and 
soon  afterward  organized  the  H.  N.  Tucker  Company.  His  attention  was  directed  lo  that 
business  until  I'Jll,  when  he  again  sold  out.  At  that  period  Mr.  Tucker  embarked  in  the 
real  estate  business,  in  which  he  continued  for  three  years,  when  he  incorporated  the 
Pioneer  Stock  Company  in  1915,  and  of  this  business  he  is  now  manager.  Their  energies 
are  devoted  to  the  raising  of  registered  Red  Polled  cattle,  of  which  they  have  about 
fiftv  head,  all   high  grade  stock.     Mr.  Tucker  is  also   manager  of  the  Union  Central  Life 


948  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

Insurance  Company,  -wliich  covers  the  territory  of  Stutsman,  Barnes,  Foster  and  Grigg8 
counties.  He  is  a  man  of  well  defined  purpose,  whose  plans  are  carefully  executed,  and 
whatever  he  undertakes  he  carries  forward  to  successful  completion. 

On  the  1st  of  October,  1895,  Mr.  Tucker  was  married  to  Miss  Louisa  Brastrup,  of 
Jamestown,  and  they  now  have  seven  children,  Norman,  Madeline,  Alice,  Clara,  Whitney, 
Dorothy  and  John. 

In  his  political  views  Mr.  Tucker  is  an  earnest  republican  and  in  1912  had  charge  of 
the  compaign  of  the  progressive  republican  league,  which  endorsed  the  La  Follette  plat- 
form and  carried  the  state.  In  1914  he  also  had  charge  of  the  state  campaign  and 
has  been  an  active  member  of  various  important  political  committees.  In  1916  he  once 
more  had  full  charge  of  the  state  campaign  and  has  been  most  active  in  directing  the 
work  of  the  organization  and  promulgating  its  principles.  His  efforts  in  this  direction 
have  been  attended  with  splendid  results  and  he  has  done  not  a  little  to  mold  public  thought 
and  opinion.  Fraternally  Mr.  Tucker  is  connected  with  the  Yeomen  and  the  Woodmen. 
He  has  a  very  attractive  home  in  Courtenay  and  has  long  been  regarded  as  one  of  the 
representative  business  men  and  citizens  of  Stutsman  countj',  where  his  ability  has  brought 
him  prominently  to  the  front,  gaining  him  a  large  measure  of  success  in  business  and  pro- 
moting his  interests  in  other  connections. 


JERRY  KELLAND. 


Jerry  Kelland,  filling  the  office  of  sheriff  of  Cavalier  county,  was  born  in  London, 
Ontario,  January  24,  1863.  His  father,  Mathew  Kelland,  a  native  of  England,  came  to 
America  during  the  '40s  and  was  a  pioneer  farmer  of  Ontario,  where  he  resided  until  his 
death,  which  occurred  in  1910,  when  he  had  reached  the  age  of  eighty-two  years.  He 
was  active  in  local  political  and  civic  matters  and  filled  various  township  offices,  the  duties 
of  which  he  discharged  with  promptness  and  fidelity.  His  wife,  Mrs.  Elizabeth  Kelland, 
was  also  a  native  of  England,  whence  she  went  to  Canada  during  the  '40s.  She  was 
married  in  London,  Ontario,  and  became  the  mother  of  nine  children,  five  sons  and  four 
daughters,  of  whom  all  are  living  with  the  exception  of  one  sou. 

Jerry  Kelland  was  the  sixth  in  order  of  birth  and  in  the  acquirement  of  liis  education 
attended  the  public  schools  of  Exeter,  Canada.  His  youth  was  largely  spent  upon  the 
home  farm  and  at  the  age  of  eighteen  years  he  started  out  in  life  on  his  own  account. 
He  had  decided  that  he  did  not  care  to  engage  in  farming  as  a  life  work  and  he  turned 
to  the  bricklayer's  trade,  which  he  followed  for  several  years.  After  completing  hia 
apprenticeship  he  entered  the  contracting  business  and  on  the  23d  of  March,  1889,  he 
arrived  at  Langdon  an  entire  stranger.  He  at  once  took  up  the  business  of  contracting 
and  building,  which  he  followed  successfully  for  twenty  years,  and  evidences  of  his  skill 
and  handiwork  are  seen  throughout  the  town  and  county.  He  always  lived  faithfully  up 
to  the  terms  of  his  contracts  and  his  unfaltering  industry  and  reliability  were  salient 
features  in  his  growing  prosperity. 

Mr.  Kelland  was  first  married  in  Exeter,  Ontario,  in  the  spring  of  1889,  when  Mis3 
Margaret  Miller,  a  native  of  Canada,  became  hia  wife.  She  was  a  daughter  of  Mr.  and 
Mrs.  David  Miller,  pioneers  of  Exeter,  but  both  now  deceased.  Mrs.  Kelland  passed  away 
in  February,  1891,  at  Langdon,  North  Dakota,  when  thirty  years  of  age,  and  in  March, 
1893,  at  Langdon,  Mr.  Kelland  wedded  Miss  Mary  McDonald,  a  native  of  Canada  and 
a  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Thomas  McDonald,  who  became  pioneer  residents  of  Cavalier 
county,  North  Dakota.  They  were  of  Scotch-Irish  descent  and  both  have  now  passed  away. 
To  Mr.  Kelland's  second  marriage  have  been  born  three  sons  and  five  daughters:  Margaret, 
Nellie,  Daisy,  Eva,  Charles  William,  Jennie,  Howard  and  Thomas.  All  of  the  children  were 
born  in  Langdon. 

The  parents  are  consistent  members  of  the  Methodist  church,  guiding  their  lives  by 
its  teachings,  and  Mr.  Kelland  is  equally  faithful  as  a  representative  of  various  frater- 
nities. He  was  made  a  Mason  at  Langdon  in  1896  and  has  since  attained  the  thirty-second 
degree    of   the   Scottish    Rite.      He    also    has    membership    with    the    Independent    Order    of 


HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA  9.19 

Foresters  and  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America.  His  political  allegiance  has  been  given 
to  the  republican  party  from  the  beginning  of  his  residence  in  the  United  States  and  he 
is  very  active  as  one  of  its  supporters.  In  1913  he  was  elected  to  the  ollice  of  sheiill  of 
Cavalier  oouuty,  in  which  he  is  now  serving  for  the  second  term,  and  he  has  made  an 
excellent  record  in  that  position,  discharging  his  duties  without  fear  or  favor.  His  fellow 
townsmen  speak  of  his  official  service  iu  terms  of  high  regard  and  they  also  entertain  for 
him  warm  respect  by  reason  of  his  personal  qualities  and  upright  life. 


LEWIS  SCHULTZ,  SI.  D. 


Dr.  Lewis  Schultz,  engaged  in  the  practice  of  medicine  at  Minnewaukan,  is  one  of 
that  large  class  of  valued  citizens  that  Canada  has  furnished  to  North  Dakota.  He  was 
born  in  Belleville,  Ontario,  June  4,  1868,  a  son  of  Lewis  and  Marie  (Graff)  Schultz,  both 
of  whom  were  natives  of  Germany.  It  was  iu  the  year  1854  that  the  father  sailed  from 
his  native  land  to  Canada.  He  engaged  in  merchandising  and  also  followed  the  tailoring 
business,  having  learned  cutting  and  other  branches  of  tailoring  in  liis  early  life.  He 
worked  for  some  time  in  the  employ  of  others  and  then  embarked  in  business  on  his  own 
account,  continuing  active  in  the  mercantile  field  until  1888.  Putting  aside  business  cares, 
he  spent  his  remaining  days  in  enjoyment  of  a  well  earned  rest  up  to  the  time  of  his 
death,  which  occurred  in  July,  1907.  For  a  quarter  of  a  century  he  had  survived  his  wife, 
who  passed  away  in   1882. 

Dr.  Schultz  was  reared  and  educated  in  Belleville,  Ontario,  and  acquired  his  more  spe- 
cifically literary  education  by  two  years'  university  study.  He  then  began  preparation 
for  the  practice  of  medicine  and  surgery  in  the  JIanitoba  Medical  College,  where  he 
spent  three  years  as  a  student  and  then  went  to  Louisville,  Kentucky,  where  he  entered 
the  LouisviDe  Medical  College,  from  which  he  was  graduated  a  year  later  as  a  member 
of  the  class  of  1896.  He  next  went  to  Devils  Lake,  where  he  entered  upon  the  general 
practice  of  medicine,  remaining  at  that  point  for  ten  years.  Removing  to  Minnewaukan 
in  1906,  he  has  for  a  decade  continued  in  active  practice  in  Benson  county  and  recog- 
nition of  his  ability  has  come  to  him  in  a  liberal  patronage.  He  owns  sixteen  hundred 
acres  of  land  in  Benson  county  and  has  improved  one  thousand  acres  of  that  tract,  which 
is  situated  a  mile  and  a  half  north  of  Minnewaukan.  In  early  days  he  homesteaded  in 
Benson  county. 

In  February,  1896,  Dr.  Schultz  wedded  Miss  Josephine  Denoyer  and  they  have  become 
the  parents  of  a  son,  Harry  L.,  who  was  born  in  March,  1897,  and  is  now  a  student  in 
the  State  University.  Their  religious  faith  is  that  of  the  Episcopal  church  and  Dr. 
Schultz  holds  membership  in  the  Masons,  Odd  Fellows  and  ICnights  of  Pythias  lodges  and 
was  formerly  identified  with  the  Elks.  Politically  he  is  a  republican  and  for  ten  years 
he  was  retained  in  the  office  of  mayor  of  Minnewaukan,  his  frequent  reelections  standing 
as  incontrovertible  proof  of  his  ability  in  ollice.  He  brouglit  about  many  needed  reforms 
and  improvements  while  giving  the  city  a  businesslike  administration  and  his  ollicial 
efforts  constituted  a  direct  impetus  in  furthering  tlie  welfare  and  promoting  the  best 
interests  of  his  city.  He  has  witnessed  almost  the  entire  development  of  Benson  county 
to  the  present  time,  coming  here  in  pioneer  days,  and  in  many  ways  his  service  has  been 
most  helpful  in  public  affairs. 


KASPER  EMIL  EDWARDSON. 

Kaspcr  Erai!  Edwardson,  attorney  at  law  of  WTiite  Earth  and  one  of  the  extensive 
landowners  of  Mountrail  county,  was  bom  at  Aarfor,  Norway,  September  23,  1879,  a  son 
of  Edward  and  Anna  J.  (Kasperson)  Evensen,  who  were  natives  of  Norway,  where  the 
father  spent  his  entire  life  as  a  sea  captain.    His  widow  still  makes  her  home  in  Norway. 

Kasper  E.  Edwardson  acquired  a  common  school  education  near   Aarfor  and   in   1899, 


950  HISTORY  OF  NORTH  DAKOTA 

wlien  a  young  man  of  twenty  years,  came  to  America.  He  made  his  way  to  Ottertail 
county,  Minnesota,  where  he  worlced  as  a  farm  hand,  and  later  in  order  to  promote  his  edu- 
cation he  entered  Concordia  College  at  Moorhead,  Minnesota,  from  which  he  was  graduated 
in  1903.  Stimulated  by  the  desh-e  to  devote  his  life  to  professional  activity,  he  next  became 
a  law  student  in  the  University  of  North  Dakota,  from  which  he  was  graduated  in  1909 
with  the  LL.  B.  degree.  In  June  of  the  same  year  he  located  for  practice  at  ViTiite  Earth, 
where  he  has  since  remained,  and  his  ability  in  his  profession  has  won  him  a  large  and 
important  clientage.  At  the  same  time  he  has  dealt  extensively  and  invested  judiciously 
in  real  estate.  He  has  a  homestead  in  Mountrail  county  and  to  his  original  professions  has 
added  from  time  to  time  until  he  is  now  the  owner  of  eleven  hundred  acres  of  land,  mucft 
of  which  he  rents  although  he  operates  a  part  of  his  land  himself.  He  also  organized  the 
White  Earth  Creamery  and  was  one  of  the  organizers  of  the  Citizens  State  Bank  at  Arne- 
gard,  North  Dakota,  9f  which  he  is  still  a  stockholder.  In  a  word  he  is  a  very  prominent 
and  influential  business  man  whose  activities  are  splendidly  resultant. 

On  the  1st  of  August,  1909,  Mr.  Edwardson  was  married  to  Miss  Marie  Grothe  at 
Grand  Forks.  She  was  born  at  Gudbrandsdal,  Norway,  a  daughter  of  Hans  O.  and  Marie 
Grothe,  who  were  also  natives  of  that  country.  In  1907  their  daughter  crossed  the  Atlantic 
and  made  her  way  to  Grand  Forks  and  in  1912  the  parents  arrived  in  North  Dakota  and 
they  are  now  residing  upon  a  farm  near  White  Earth.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Edwardson  have  one 
child,  Margaret,  who  was  born  at  White  Earth,  May  1,  1911.  In  politics  Mr.  Edwardson 
is  a  stalwart  republican  and  for  four  years  filled  the  office  of  mayor  of  his  tovpn,  having  been 
re-elected  to  that  position  by  his  fellow  townsmen,  who  recognized  his  ability  in  the  office 
and  his  public-spirited  devotion  to  the  general  good.  He  has  also  served  as  a  member  of 
the  school  board  in  his  township  and  he  belongs  to  the  United  Lutheran  Church.  He  has 
many  admirable  qualities,  displayed  in  his  unfaltering  allegiance  to  high  standards  of  man- 
hood and  citizenship. 


JOSEPH  N.  DUBORD. 


Joseph  N.  Dubord,  cashier  of  the  Horace  State  Bank,  which  he  aided  in  organizing,  was 
born  in  Quebec,  Canada,  December  28,  1863,  a  son  of  Oliver  and  Fannie  Dubord,  both  of  whom 
were  also  natives  of  Canada.  In  the  year  1883  they  became  residents  of  North  Dakota, 
settling  in  Cass  county,  where  they  passed  away.  In  their  family  were  twelve  children, 
five  of  whom  are  yet  living. 

Joseph  N.  Dubord  was  reared  and  educated  in  his  native  country  and  was  a  young  man 
of  eighteen  years  when  he  arrived  in  Cass  county.  North  Dakota,  where  he  settled  upon  a 
farm.  He  was  employed  in  a  store  at  Horace  for  ten  years  and  was  also  postmaster  of 
the  town  for  several  years,  continuing  in  that  position  until  1906,  when  he  became  one  of 
the  organizers  of  the  Horace  State  Bank,  of  which  he  has  since  been  the  cashier  and  a 
director.  He  is  also  treasurer  of  the  Farmers  Elevator  and  is  thus  actively  connected  with 
the  business  interests  and  development  of  the  community  in  which  he  lives. 

In  1911  Mr.  Dubord  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Bernette  B.  Zuernel,  who  spent 
her  girlhood  days  in  St.  Paul,  Minnesota.  Both  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Dubord  are  members  of  the 
Catholic  church  and  he  also  has  membership  in  the  Knights  of  Columbus  and  with  the 
Foresters  and  the  Yeomen.  His  political  allegiance  is  given  to  the  republican  party  and 
for  two  years  he  has  been  treasurer  of  Stanley  township,  Cass  county.  He  is  interested 
in  all  that  pertains  to  public  progress  and  welfare  and  cooperates  in  many  well  defined  plans 
and  measures  for  the  general  good. 


INDEX 


Aaker,  II.   H 421 

Abijlanalp,   I.    S 494 

Aitken,  Daviil    940 

,Akesson,  J.  B 588 

Alfsen,  Edward   510 

AUen,  Charles    13 

Allen,   W.   N 275 

Amerland,  Henry    682 

Anderson,  Martin   777 

Anderson,  P.  A 938 

Anderson,  P.  G 815 

Andrus,  J.  L 72 

Ajiheier,  C.  H 769 

Appledoorn,  W.  A 121 

Arduser,   J.   C 88 

Armstrong,  H.  A 36 

Ashley,  S.   H 212 

Backus,  A.  S 941 

Bacon,  J.  D 154 

Bain,  J.  H 724 

Baker,  H.  J 919 

Balfour,  Norman 55 

Bangs,   G.   A 490 

Bangs,    T.    R 34 

Bard,   C.  1 905 

Barnes,   I.  A 52 

Barnes,   S.   C 486 

Barringer,  W.  E 576 

Baukol,   A.   M 463 

Baumann,   A.   N 476 

Baumgartner,  J.  J 43 

Beardsley,  W.  C 575 

Beaty,  E.  L 583 

Behan,   L.    E 58 

Beissbarth,   Edwin    599 

Bennett,  Havelock 149 

Berg,  A.  J 538 

Berge,   Thomas    826 

Bergeth,  H.  J 167 

Berrier,  W.  F 552 

Bischof,   John    108 

Bjella,  Asle   485 

Bjone,  G.  C 525 

Black,  J.  D 929 

Black,    J.    N 236 


Blackwell,  C.  E 209 

Blauchard,  H.  J.,  Jr 50 

Bleakley,  F.  W 688 

Blouin,   J.   0 789 

Boelinko,   Henry    11 

Bohrer,  G.   J 810 

Bollinger,  Adam    708 

Bolstad,   C.    T 493 

Booker,  E.  D 629 

Bostrom,  O.  J 66 

Bothne,  N.  J 395 

Boucher,  J.  L 305 

Bouer,    G.    E 809 

Bowman,   August    886 

Boyd,   J.    B 822 

Boydeu,   C.  E 498 

Brandenburg,   T.   O 225 

Brandt,  Gustav    732 

Brandvold,    0.    K 554 

Brccke,   Gustave    716 

Breeu,  Michael    95 

Brcsce,  B.  A 182 

Hridgeman-Russell  Co 189 

Brooke,  J.  V 667 

Brown,    .1.    W 555 

Brown,   W.    H 819 

Brownson,   E.   R 324 

Brucgger,  George    398 

Bruegger,  John    430 

Bruschwien,  A.  M 366 

Bryans,  J.  E 116 

Buehhcit,    Joseph    268 

Budack,   Frank    337 

Bulger,  James   880 

Burdiek,  IT.  L 874 

Burgess,  G.  E 242 

Burke,  J.  E 632 

Burke,  T.  H 776 

Burtch,  G.   S 140 

Burtness,  O.   B 40 

Buttree,  J.  E 455 

Bye,  M.  E 373 

Bylin,    Ernest    439 


Cahill,   T.   W 917 

Cain,  J.   P 175 


951 


952 


INDEX 


Calderwood,  E.  M 42 

Carleton,  W.  H 85 

Carlson,  Carl    879 

Carlson,  J.  A 762 

Carlson,  Peter    537 

Carpenter,  C.  P 307 

Cary,    L.    N 314 

Casady,  O.  L 357 

Casement,   Hugh    175 

Casey,  Thomas 407 

Cashel,  J.  L 641 

Cavileer,  Isabella    649 

Ghantland,  T.  0 109 

Chase,  R.  D 20 

Chaussee,   J.   B 798 

Christianson,    A.    M 730 

Christianson,  G.  0 196 

Clark,   Horace    916 

Clausen,  P.  W 100 

Close,  H.   E 672 

Clure,  A.  J 637 

Cochrane,  A.  D 61 

Coffin,  G.  H 814 

Cole,  P.  M 934 

Collins,   W.   A 358 

Collinson,  J.  H 688 

Colva,  Charles    850 

Comford,   N.    W 531 

Conyers,   J.    8 293 

Cook,   C.   1 218 

Cooley,   J.   E 833 

Cooper,  E.   C 26 

Corbett,  J.  A 171 

Cosgrove,  E.   P 598 

Cowell,   E.   E 146 

Cox,  A.  B 548 

Cranna,  G.  S 210 

Creel,  H.  M 800 

Crewe,  P.   S 534 

Crum,   G.   B 496 

Cubbison,  J.  M 179 

Culver,  C.   H 620 

Curtis,    T.   A 842 

Dahl,  W.  E 659 

Dahler,  H.  J 886 

Dahlstrom,  G.  F 330 

Daeley,   Eichard    864 

Davidson,  E.  E 507 

Davis,  E.   C 405 

Dean,  Alfred   564 

Deason,  F.  W 359 

Debus,  August  381 

Delameter,  H.  E 923 

Delisle,    G.   "W 570 

Dence,  Harry   226 

Denny,   W.    H 458 


De  Puy,  H.  C 433 

De  Puy,  E.  M 7 

Devaney,   Thomas    645 

Dewey,   F.    S 301 

Dezotell,    H.    W 87 

Dickson,  W.  B 331 

Dinnie,   J.   A 49 

Ditsworth,   J.   G 668 

Dixon,  W.  H 283 

Dochterman,   L.   B 372 

Donovan,  E.  1 614 

Doran,  A.  B 295 

Draper,  C.  E.  V 375 

Dubord,   J.   N 950 

Duell,   E.   L 336 

Duuean,  George  248 

Dungan,  J.  W 33 

Eastwold,  F.  C 349 

Edwards,  "W.  J 698 

Edwardson,  K.  E 949 

Egan,  Hugh   194 

Egeland,  Axel    93 

Eisenlohr,  H.  M 367 

Ellestad,  O.  T 345 

Ellickson,  John   902 

Ellingson,  Ole    257 

Elliott,   A.  P 741 

Elliott,    G.    1 127 

Ellsworth,   D.   F 479 

Elton,  T.  B 350 

Engdahl,  A.  G 726 

Engebretson,  Andrew  269 

Engebretson,   Ole    748 

Engemoen,  O.  A 144 

Erb,    Charles    671 

Erickson,  Carl  318 

Eriekson,  Eriek   411 

Ertel,   F.   H 679 

Evans,  E.   M 512 

Evans,   T.  M 443 

Evensen,  Charles   545 

Everson,  G.  B 215 

Ev.je,    L.    L 857 

Ewing,   Fred    849 

Eylofson,  Stephen  734 

Tarries,  George   434 

Fawcett,  W.  C 523 

Fee,  F.  E 114 

Field,    J.    C 153 

Finger,  Eudolph    569 

Fischer,  F.  J 685 

Fisk,   C.    J 518 

Flatt,  Josiah    619 

Flom,  Gehard  533 

Foft,  D.  D 204 


INDEX 


953 


l-'oloy,  Andrew  227 

I'ollett,  W.  C 394 

Folsom  A.  P 29 

Folson,   Nels    893 

Fosholdt,   O.    T 737 

Foster,  G.  M 152 

Fraker,  D.   W 248 

Fuller,    C.    E 174 

Fuller,    n.    E 365 

Gale,  J.  H 825 

Gallasher,   R.    F 511 

Camlis,   J.   H 71 

(.ianssle,  Christian   295 

Gardner,  J.  F 243 

Garnaas,  L.  B 495 

(ieer,  D.  E '. 267 

Gelbach,  F.  N 329 

Gemberliug,  H.  A 270 

Gentry,    E.    M :  .  . .   426 

Gerrard,  Andrew   937 

Getchell,  C.  P 918 

Getts,    6.    W 95 

Gibson,   Hugh    702 

Gibson,  J.   R 635 

Gilbertsen,  Reinhart  79 

Gilbertson,    Simon    593 

Girard,   Paul    107 

Gislason,  G.  .1 721 

Glenny,  W.  J 343 

Golseth,  Gustavo    48 

Goodall,  J.  W 843 

Gordon,  Fred 16 

Gore,    R.    B 551 

Gorthy,  J.  F 619 

Goss,  E.   L 600 

Graf,  Theodore    899 

Grant    V.    E 693 

Gray,  C.  E 448 

(ivay,    H.    B 165 

Cray,  W.   H 465 

(Jreen,  George  ■■ 609 

Green,  H.  W 895 

(Jreene,  J.   E 487 

Greenland,  Oscar  251 

Greg,  D.  R l-'52 

Griffin,   E.   H 353 

firiffith,  H.  B .-. 21 

Guest,    A.    W 217 

Gullikson,  G.  L 461 

Gunderson,  E.  L 474 

Gundcrson,  G.  C 321 

Gunderson,   Gunerius    *^0 

Gustuson,  E.  V 695 

Hackney,   James    943 

Haas,  Anton  592 


Uagen,    L.    T 382 

Haig,    J.    A 294 

Haines,  G.  E 428 

Hale,  C.  A 110 

Haley,    C.    D ' 586 

Hall,  B.  A 25 

Hall,  W.  R 805 

Halstead,   J.   E 15 

Halverson,  H.  G 653 

Hamilton,   H.    H 350 

Hamilton,   J.   G 724 

HamUton,  W.  A 472 

Hamilton,  W.   C 329 

Hammer,   H.   P 665 

Hand,    H.    H 84 

Hanley,   J.   M 901 

Hanna,  L.  B 5 

Hanson,  J.  J 240 

Harding,    C.    E 646 

Hargreaves,  J.  D 180 

Harrington,  F.  C 940 

Harris,   C.   B 844 

Hartson,  C.  1 664 

Hartung,   T.   N 201 

Haugau,   M.    H 539 

Haverland,    F.    H 658 

Hawkinson,   Henry    217 

Hayes,   Jerry    310 

Hayward,  T.  E 172 

Headland,  E.  J 15 

Hebert,  G.  II 696 

Hedderieh,  G.  M 239 

Hegge,  O.  1 585 

Heinmiller,  G.  W 508 

Helland,    U.    B 429 

Helm,  M.  G 827 

Henry,    T.    S 763 

Henry,  Wallace   138 

Herr,  A.  W 872 

Herr,  Jacob,  Jr 799 

Highum,   C.   0 465 

Hildroth,   F.   W 135 

Hinman,   I{.   A 442 

Hocking,   W.    E 638 

Hockridge,  T.   C 944 

Hoesley,  Frederick   762 

Hoff,  E.  A 94 

Hoff,   Ole    181 

Hollcnga,   D.,S 870 

Holstroni,  A.*G 768 

Hoof,  C.  J 171 

Hooiile,    Allen    556 

Hopiicrstad,  Jolin    709 

Hotchkiss,   W.    M 830 

Houkom,  O.  S 660 

Hovcrson,   Edward    107 

Hughes,   E.    F 179 


954 


INDEX 


Hughes,  E.J 278 

Hughes,  W.  A 176 

Hughes,  W.  D 261 

Hulteng,  J.  L 689 

Hunt,  C.  E ; 296 

Hurd,  C.  W 772 

Hydle,  S.  M 332 


Isaminger,  A.   C. 
Iverson,  P.  J. .  .  . 


344 
83 


Jack,   W.   R 324 

Jackson,  W.  M 387 

Jacobson,  A.  G 716 

Jacobson,  C.   A 718 

Jacobson,  Jiilius   463 

Jennings,  F.  G 39 

Jermanus,  Thomas  249 

Johnson,  A.  L 299 

Johnson,  C.  E 597 

Johnson,  6.  D 284 

Johnson,  H.  B 764 

Johnson,  John  A 271 

Johnson,  John  Arthur 28 

Johnson,  J.  E 516 

Johnson,  J.  H 732 

Johnson,  J.  L 193 

Johnson,  M.  A 150 

Johnson,  Matt  14 

Johnson,  M.  E 701 

Johnson,   Nels    751 

Johnson,   N.    G 848 

Johnson,  N.  L 47 

Johnson,  P.  C 229 

Johnson,  P.  O.  C 709 

Johnson,  R.  H 115 

Johnson,   Thomas    481 

Johnson,  W.   E 162 

Johnstone,   R.    S 652 

Jones,    C.    S 362 

Joos,  W.  0 462 

Kali!,  David   243 

Kammann,  H.  F 943 

Kastien,  A.  E , 47 

Kassis,  Abraham   190 

Keen,  L.  M 87 

Kehoe,  J.  J 228 

Keith,  M.  R .,. 808 

Kelland,  Jerry  948 

KelHugton,  T.  G 420 

Kellogg,  E.  A 299 

Kellogg,  P.   S 520 

Kelly,  J.  N 8 

Keltner,  W.  "W 414 

Kempshall,  W.  P 335 

Kennedy,  E.  P 863 


Kcrmott,  0.  L 576 

Kerr,   R.    W 55 

Kiblinger,  J.  A 219 

King,  Carl    622 

Kirkham,  J.  H 681 

Kittel,  R.  C 791 

Kittlesen,  John   808 

Klaus,  C.  A 22 

KIcidon,  John    791 

Klenk,   A.    P 908 

Knudson,  0.  M 839 

Knutson,   A.   D 489 

Koch,  Valentine    146 

Koehmstedt,  A.  1 630 

Kotchian,  A.  C 687 

Kowalski,   J.   0 529 

Kraft,    Henry    388 

Kramer,    J.    A 379 

Krause,  C.  A 284 

La  Due,  H.  H 466 

Laganiere,  Lucieu  419 

Lancaster,   W.    M 906 

Lander,  E.  J 594 

Lander,  E.  J.  &  Co 27 

I^indry,   L.   H 555 

Langton,    E.    R 695 

Lantcrman,  W.  A 285 

Large,  S.  L 601 

Larson,  P.  0 711 

Larson,  L.  0 767 

Larson,  W.  1 939 

Law,  G.  H 211 

Law,  H.  W.  P .  .  . 25 

Lean,   A.   H 198 

Lee,  O.  T 821 

Leist,    G.    J 884 

Lemieux,  J.  A 447 

Leouhardy,  Eniil   778 

Leutz,   Herman    425 

Lindstrom,   C.   L 145 

Linwell,  W.  H 417 

Little,  C.  B 887 

Litton,  Edward   530 

Lodge,    P.    B 106 

Lohrbauer,  Ejnar   69 

Long,   John    578 

Long,  M.   0 942 

Long,  P.  R 583 

Lord,  C.  D 546 

Lord,   C.   J 129 

Loueks,  N.  P 136 

Lounsberry,  C.   A 286 

Lovberg,  J.  0 610 

Luchau,  R.  P 397 

Lykken,  H.   G 172 

Lynch,  R.  J 771 


INDEX 


955 


MeBride,    Robert    :'.M 

McCaul,  D.  W U8.1 

MtClellan,    George    408 

McDonald,  Alonzo   Hi:; 

McDonald,  Donald    "D 

McDowell,  W.  C 44 

McElroy,   B.   G 173 

McFadden,  A.  J 560 

McGee,  C.  W 524 

MeGeongli,  Peter  411 

McCiinnis,    S.    K 888 

MoGnrren,  C.  J 542 

McGurron,  P.  H 361 

Mcintosh,  G.  J 404 

McWtosh,    James    264 

Mcintosh,  Ross    37.3 

MeKean,  C.  J 591 

McKean,  William    563 

McKee,  D.  D 255 

McKenzie,  D.  W 143 

McKoane,  J.  E 577 

McLaughlin,  D.   P 195 

McMauus,  C.  H 137 

McMillan,  T.  F 302 

McMurchie,  William  412 

MeMurray,  W.  R 406 

McNaughton,   D.   D 435 

MePherson,  Harry    184 

McPike,    J.   F 187 

McQueen,  J.  F 672 

McQueen,  W.  W 747 

MeRae,   J.   L 775 

McVey,  F.  L 624 

MacKenzie,   J.   R 381 

MacLachlan,   Charles    712 

MacLachlan,  James    567 

Madlaud,   A.   0 279 

Mahoney,  Charles    730 

Mahowald,   Joseph    117 

Majer,  V.  S 338 

Makeo,  A.  H 643 

Malone,  J.  B 216 

Mann,   Paul    291 

Mann,  W.  H 813 

Manning,  C.  C 586 

Marsden,  C.  S 198 

Martin,  J.  A 456 

Martin,  J.  E 240 

Martin,  J.  J 4^9 

Martine,  W.  N 539 

Marx,   Fred    782 

Maser,  Frederick   261 

Mathews,  W.  B 508 

Mattson,   P.    M 561 

Maxwell,  H.  H 516 


Mayer,   M.   R 815 

Meadows,  R.  W 573 

Meharry,    P.    F 842 

Mongc,   C.   A 19 

.Meredith,  C.   R 851 

Metzgcr,  G.  B 70 

Meyer,    J.    C 754 

Mikkelson,   J.   H 458 

Miller,  Archie    390 

Miller,  P.  G 686 

Millhouse,  G.  W 631 

Milne,  J.  D 925 

Milsten,    J.    0 308 

Moeller,   Thor    840 

Moellring,  G.   II 305 

Moen,   E.   T 440 

Mooers,  G.  W 366 

Moore,  D.  C 675 

Moores,  C.  S 255 

Morgan,  R.   R 588 

Morken,    0.    J 674 

Morris,  Edwin   855 

Morris,  V.  G 761 

Morrissey,   Patrick 12 

Morwood,  C.  N 816 

Afoseley,   W.   T 241 

Movius,  A.  H 264 

Mundy,  J.  G 258 

Munson,  B.  0 878 

Murphy,  John    354 

Murphy,  R.  B 234 

Murphy,  T.  M 642 

Muiis,  O.  M 321 

Myer,  J.  S 353 

Nelson,  C.  F 65 

Nelson,  H.  C 770 

Nelson,  H.  E 35 

Nelson,  Lars 374 

Nelson,  Morley    427 

Nelson,  N.  0 361 

Nelson,  O.  A 388 

Nelsson,  Hans    607 

Ness,   0.   M 244 

Newberry,  G.  S 371 

Newton,    George   W 482 

Nielson,  J.  W 790 

Nierling,  J.  J 190 

Nielson,  Wylie  9*6 

Niven,  Donald 584 

Nohle,  G.  W 755 

Nohle,  A.  F 503 

Nordberg,  P.  J 8 

Norem,  W.  C 228 

Norheim,  Robert   866 

Nye,  W.  H 729 


956 


INDEX 


Obert,  A.  L 158 

O  'Brien,  C.  P 519 

O  'Connor,   G.  M 614 

O  'Connor,  W.  V 63 

Odell,  W.  A ". 128 

O  'Keef e,   Henry 78 

Olgeirson,    Gunnar    547 

Olnistad,   E.   M 771 

Olsen,   A.   C 489 

Olsen,  J.  C 865 

Olsen,  Martin  452 

Olson,   Martin    605 

Olson,  Alfred   900 

Olson,  M.  T 396 

Olson,  N.  R 885 

Oppegard,  Hans    92 

Orchard,  John    91 

Orr,  F.  G 292 

Orvik,   N.    M 488 

Osborn,    A.    J 896 

Osborne,   Hugh    740 

Overson,   W.   B 30 

Owens,  W.  G 101 

Padden,  W.  H 733 

Page,    E.   B 760 

Parke,  S.  T 863 

Parker,  C.  H 856 

Patch,  J.  M 316 

Patterson,  M.  D 829 

Paulson,  P.  M 368 

Paulson,  W.  E 143 

Pcake,  Francis  340 

I'ederson,    Andrew    168 

Peglow,  F.  W 66 

Peiree,  J.  D 376 

Pence,    E.    A 371 

Peoples,  Hugh   733 

Perry,  H.  H 77 

Peterson,  E.  L s 51 

Peterson,  C.  P 697 

Peterson,   J.    A 339 

Peterson,    0.    T 167 

Phipps,  B.  C 86 

Plain,  C.  W 741 

Ployhar,  F.  E 529 

Podhola,  P.  D 835 

Porter,   Henry    344 

Powell,  E.   F 573 

Power,  J.  J 731 

Powlison,  E.  Q 909 

Preszler,   Daniel    745 

Price,  G.  M 615 

Prom,  Brynjolf   628 

Pruetz,   William    777 

Putman,  W.  D 450 


Putiiani,  S.  N 523 

Pyes,   E.   1 58 

Babe,  Herman   1 82 

Eadelitfe,  S.  J 202 

Raff,  Frank    77 

Eamstad,  H.  L 828 

Eandall,    C.    C 360 

Eead,    Fiauk   Jr 457 

Eedetzke,  P.  A 739 

Redman,   F.   E 883 

Eedmond,  W.  J 417 

Eeedy,  P.  G 877 

Eeeve,  J.  P 389 

Began,  Peter    789 

Eegister,   G.   M 933 

Eeher,   F.   J 721 

Eeiser,  Gust   826 

Reiten,  A.  K 263 

Reuter,  John,  Jr 73 

Rhoades,  Samuel   869 

Rich,  S.  W 510 

Richard,  R.  R 73 

Richards,   G.  D 165 

Richards,  W.  L 161 

Eichter,  E.  L 680 

Bichter,   J.   W 862 

Binde,   N.   H 621 

Eoberts,  F.J 205 

Robinson,  A.  H 435 

Robinson,  Harve   235 

Robinson,   J.   F 188 

Roble,   Fred    96 

Rockne,   L.   M 540 

Eogen,   G.   H 383 

Bogers,   Joseph    616 

Eognlie,   O.   P 605 

Bolf,  A.  A 206 

Bollefson,   C.   I 717 

Boquette,   F.   L 315 

Bosenquist,   N.   T 504 

Boss,   A.   J 907 

Boss,  L.   C 908 

Boss,  W.   H 834 

Buble,  E.   C 413 

Bud,  Martin   , 546 

Bude,  E.  C 113 

Bumreich,    A.   A 568 

Euncorn,   G.   W 27 

Eussell,  C.  0 658 

Euud,   O.   A 114 

Byerson,  G.  L 122 

Bygh,  H.  A 646 

Sad,  John   244 

gather,  K.  A 436 

Sathre,   P.   0 900 


INDEX 


957 


Satterlund,  John   784 

Sattler,  George    786 

Sayer,  Joseph    871 

Schoregge,  B.   J 306 

Schef ter,  Simou 666 

Schierbaum,  A.  F.  E 379 

Schmaleiiherger,   Jacob    300 

Scholberg,  M.  H 390 

Schrani,  J.   M 449 

Schulenberg,  J.  W 269 

Schulke,  Adolph    657 

Schulstail,  Ludvig   336 

Sehultz,  Lewis   949 

Schwocbel,   G.   J 746 

Sehwoebel,  W.  C 532 

Seofield,   G.   A 542 

Scott,  Peter    836 

Seott,  W.  B 756 

Seaborn,  Thomas,  Jr 183 

Sears,  J.  S.  B 422 

Seidl,  L.  E 593 

Sellie,   Martin    686 

Severson,  E.  J 403 

Severtson,  S.  G 519 

Shafer,  G.  F 610 

Shaw,   J.   H 121 

Shear,   W.   A 278 

Sheldon,  C.  H 203 

Shepard,  G.  P 6 

Shepherd,  George    380 

Shikany,  John   209 

Shortridge,  W.  R 891 

Simou,  N.  W 602 

Sims,  H.  W 804 

Sinclair,  William   919 

Sinness,  Torger   880 

Skulason,  S.  G 752 

Small,   W.   A 220 

Smith,  C.  O.  P 526 

Smith,  J.   J 309 

Smith,  T.  J * 272 

Smythe,  A.  E 396 

Solberg,  Albert   852 

Soley,   L.   A 797 

Soliday,  H.  A 393 

Sommerfeld,  J.  E 806 

Sorcnson,  H.  A 249 

Sorlien,  C.   J 807 

Soule,  G.  A 62 

Southard,  J.  N 357 

Spafford,   E.   T 517 

Spaulding,  J.  I '• H 

Spiclman,  G.  H 723 

Sprague,  F.  H 690 

Sprague,  H.  G 841 

Squires,  G.  B 225 

Stacy-Judd,  R.  B 475 


Stambaugh,  J.  W 406 

Starling,  H.  L 473 

Steele,    J.    H 673 

Steen,  A.  B 262 

Steen,  John    515 

Steffcck,  F.   J 403 

Steffen,  N.  J 256 

Stcnseth,   H.   L 760 

Stenson,  J.  D 349 

Stensrud,  I.  0 873 

Stevens,   F.   R 309 

Stice,  L.  N 444 

Stickney,  C.  J 429 

Stiekney,  V.  H 64 

Stinson,  Leslie  464 

Storaker,  O.  G 212 

Story,  N.  H 123 

Strand,  J.  E 450 

Stratton,  C.  A 894 

Strauss,   F.   B 767 

Strieker,  M.  E 383 

Stringer,  A.  C 139 

Stromberg,  6.  E 710 

Stutsman,    W.    H 781 

Sundberg,  J.  V.  N 553 

Suter,  J.  C 317 

Swanick,  J.  B 6 

Swanson,  C.  B 102 

Snanson,  C.  N 131 

Swendseid,  A.  R 275 

Sweuson,  A.  W 151 

Swenson,  H.  E 850 

Syverson,  John    105 

Talcott,  F.  S 563 

Taris,  L.  F 338 

Taylor,  James    84 

Taylor,   J.   D 537 

Taylor,  John  Duncan 252 

Taylor,  J.  J 20 

Teigeu,  Martin    418 

Thompson,  A.  C 472 

Thompson,  A.  R 587 

Thompson,  Andrew  783 

Thompson,  E.  T 502 

Thompson,  Knute   597 

Thompson,  T.  G 151 

Thoroson,   J.   C 855 

Thorgrimsen,  H.  B 861 

Thorkelson,   B.   0 197 

Thorsen,   J.   E 425 

Thorsgard,  Thorval  870 

Thorson,  P.  0 288 

Tillotson,  M.  C 599 

Titus,  M.   S 606 

Titus,  S.  S 742 

Tofthagcn,   A.   M 41 


958 


INDEX 


Tollef son,  S.  0 703 

Torgersen,  Ole   247 

Torguson,    T.    B 906 

Tracy,  John   559 

Treat,   A.   M 13 

Treumann,  W.  C 441 

Truelsen,    Henry    651 

Tucker,   H.   N 947 

Tufte,  Benjamin   57 

Turner,   F.   W 608 

Turner,  Malcolm   892 

Twamley,  James   230 

TwicHell,   TreadweU    497 

Ugland,  D.   H 938 

Uggen,  M.  E 277 

Uline,  C.  S 479 

Upton,  F.  C 704 

Urseth,    Andrew    480 

Vail,   J.   B 118 

Vallely,  John   346 

Vance,   H.   E 752 

Varty,  C.  F 202 

Vatsvog,  J.  M 270 

Vennum,  W.  A 166 

Vildmo,   P.    G 926 

Voght,   Charles    872 

Waag,   Robert    187 

Wagner,   J.   B 847 

Wagness,  M.  D 135 

Waldron,  C.  L 920 

Walker,  H.  W 917 

Walker,  J.  J 471 

Walker,  John  568 

Wallace,   J.   S 676 

Wallace,  Victor  910 

Walters,  C.  W 785 

Walz,  F.  F "715 

Wamstad,  B 828 

Wanner,  F.  A.  L 711 

Wanner,  F.  X 848 

Ward,  C.   E 251 

Wardwell,   F.    A 924 

Ware,  W.  F 276 

Warner,  L.   A 195 

Warren,  J.  W 694 

Washburn  Lignite  Coal  Co 804 

Wasson,  W.  T 722 

Waters,  J.  E 250 

Waxwik,  O.  K 419 


Weed,  F.   E 501 

Wehe,  A.  C 99 

Wehe,   L.   J 62C 

Weidman,  Henry  820 

Welch,  G.  A 797 

Welch,  W.  H 138 

Wemett,  W.   M 61 

Weuzel,  R.  E 74 

Westberg,  John  636 

Westeeu,   A.   A 753 

Westford,  J.  E 879 

Westley,  O.  M 219 

Westby,   Simon    384 

Wheeler,  H.  E 663 

Whelau,  James    427 

White,   Alfred    858 

White,  Edmund  541 

White,  Frank  792 

White,  S.  G 574 

Whitman,  W.  S 707 

Wieklund,  C.  A 884 

Widdifield,    J.   W 159 

Wilder,   W.   L 184 

Wildfang,   H.   E 945 

Wilkins,   J.   A 451 

Will,  O.  H 562 

Williams,  M.  S 56 

Williamson,  6.  M 322 

Willis,  H.  W 39 

Wilson,   G.   W 738 

Wiltschko,    William    448 

Wingate,  L.  C 280 

Winsloe,  J.  A.  H 160 

Wishek,  J.  H 124 

Witherstine,  W.  H 654 

Wolpers,  Otto    28 

Wood,   S.   E 455 

Wood,  W.  W 280 

Woodworth,  F.  D 328 

Wylie,  A.  E.  T .  . .  ^ 613 

Yeater,  E.  A 204 

Yegen,  John  130 

Young,  E.  M 351 

Young,  G.  M 722 

Young,    G.    W 509 

Young,  0 51 

Young,   W.   H 352 

Zeller,   J.   C 444 

Zimmerman,  S.  A 313 


'$MM 


"'/M'^M' 


ivy^'MeSi 


;|;iw«tSti;i«i^sii